|British Columbia (Cariboo Regional District), Quesnel — Cottonwood House|
|For over half a century the Boyd family operated this haven for man and beast. Here weary travellers found lodging, food, and drink. Here fresh horses were hitched to stage-coaches and miners bought supplies.
This historic road-house, built in 1864 stood as an oasis of civilization on the frontier of a rich new land. — Map (db m42766) HM|
|British Columbia (Greater Vancouver Regional District), Surrey — Farming History — Part of Surrey’s Cultural Heritage|
| Preparing the Land
When John Stewart acquired this land in 1880, only basic land clearing had occurred. The blackberry bushes and hardhack marsh provided hospitable habitat for birds and small animals, but was not suitable for successful farming.
In the early years, neighbours worked together to share resources, labour and equipment. One of the early problems to be solved was bringing the rich lowlands along tidal rivers under cultivation. John Stewart referred to this effort as . . . — Map (db m61051) HM|
|British Columbia (Greater Vancouver Regional District), Surrey — Historic Stewart Farmhouse — Part of Surrey’s Built Heritage|
| Settlement History
First Nations settlements and seasonal hunting and fishing camps existed at the mouths of rivers and along the coastal shoreline for thousands of years before Europeans reached the West Coast. These sites were near plentiful resources of fish, berries, wild game and cedar forests, which provided food, shelter and transportation.
These same resources eventually attracted explorers, fur traders, loggers, and settlers. As early as 1861, Samuel Handy and Hugh . . . — Map (db m60901) HM|
|Manitoba, Inglis — Inglis Grain Elevators|
|This impressive grouping of five standard-plan wooden grain elevators is a rare survivor of the long rows that once dominated Prairie towns. The row was built between 1922 and 1941, Manitoba's golden age of elevators, by a cross-section of grain-handling firms, including cooperatives and large companies backed by Canadian and American investors. Located in a town typical of many that dot the West, these slope-shouldered sentinels are surrounded by their outbuildings, rail line and fields of . . . — Map (db m8491) HM|
|Ontario (Middlesex County), London — The Founding of London|
|In 1793, here on the River Thames, Lieutenant-Governor John Graves Simcoe selected a site for the capital of Upper Canada. York, however, became the seat of government and the townsite of London lay undeveloped until its selection in 1826 as the judicial and administrative centre of the London District. A court-house and gaol (1829) and homes for the government officials were built, stores and hotels were opened, and by 1834 the community contained over 1100 inhabitants. A British garrison . . . — Map (db m18971) HM|
|Ontario (National Capital Region), Ottawa — Lotta Hitschmanova, C.C. — 1909 • 1990|
Founded USC Canada
10 June 1945
Unitarian Service Committee
Harold Pfeiffer, Sculptor — Map (db m75710) HM|
|Quebec (Brome-Missisquoi MRC), Saint-Ignace-de-Stanbridge (Mystic) — Grange Alexander-Solomon-Walbridge|
|Construite en 1882 par l'entrepreneur Alexander Solomon Walbridge, cette grange-étable est formée de douze murs pignons disposés autour d'un espace central. Le bâtiment comporte deux niveaux: un premier qui servait d'étable et un second, divisé en plusieurs espaces, dont des tasseries, le tout organisé autour d'une plaque tournante destinée à faciliter l'engrangement des récoltes.
Ce bâtiment est la plus ancienne grange polygonale du Québec et la seule qui ait douze côtés. Son astucieux . . . — Map (db m74543) HM|
|Quebec (Brome-Missisquoi MRC), Stanbridge East — In honour of Capt. Caleb Tree|
|In honour of
Capt. Caleb Tree
who came to
Canada in 1796
on this farm and
along with other
des pionniers de
Erected in 1966 — Map (db m74536) HM|
|Quebec (Rosemont–La Petite-Patrie Borough), Montréal — Le Jardin Botanique de Montréal / The Montréal Botanical Gardens|
|Fondé en 1931, ce jardin est l’œuvre du frère Marie-Victorin, botaniste de grand renom qui a amorcé et mené projet d’envergure, et de Henry Teuscher, architecte paysagiste qui en a conçu l’aménagement. La beauté, la variété et la richesse de ses collections témoignent de la vision de ses fondateurs, qui voulaient en faire un « jardin botanique idéal » par ses fonctions esthétiques, scientifiques, éducatives et sociales. Avec ses quelque 22 000 espèces et cultivars de plantes, ses grandes serres . . . — Map (db m73040) HM|
|France, Île-de-France (Paris), Paris — Clos Montmartre — 1933|
|Sur ces coteaux se trouvait un bosquet baptisé «parc de la Belle Gabrielle» ... jusqu’à ce que la vigne vienne recouvrir les flancs de la colline. Ces 2000 pieds de vigne peuvent produire 1 300 kilos de raisin. Le premier cru, vendangé en 1934, fut parrainé par Mistinguett et Fernandel. On y trouve également un stèle à la mémoire du dessinateur montmartrois Francisque Poulbot (1879-1946).|
(Translated by Google Translate with modifications:)
On these hills was a . . . — Map (db m60879) HM
|France, Languedoc-Roussillon (Hérault), Capestang — La maison vigneronne — [The Winemaker's house]|
|Exemple de maison vigneronne: Celle du propriétaire exploitant (première moitié du XIXe). La partie résidentielle est bien séparée de la cave surmontée d’un étage auquel la poulie (la carrela) permettait de monter le matériel viticole et la récoite.|
[Translation by Google Translate (with modifications): The Winemakers Home
Example of a vintner's house: owner-operator (first half of the nineteenth century). The residential portion is separated from the winemaking room which is topped . . . — Map (db m60175) HM
|France, Provence-Alpes-Côte dAzur (Vaucluse), Bonnieux — 14 — Place du Moulin a Huile — (Place of the Olive Mill)|
|Les moulins à huile (appelés «a bras ou a sang», c’est-à-dire à traction animale) étaient nombreux et situés à l’intérieur des remparts. Il est très difficile de les dater, car la technique a peu èvolue au cours des siècles.
Dans plusieurs maisons, on retrouve meule et pressoir. Ceux-ci, très bien conservés dans ce moulin, sont de précieux témoins de leur fonctionement.
La première pression à froid était pour l’usage de la table, la deuxième pression à chaud pour l’usage domestique, la . . . — Map (db m61758) HM|
|Germany, Bavaria (Landkreis Kitzingen), Iphofen — Ilmbacher Hof|
| [Marker text in German:
Aus einer alten Chronik:
„Der nachmalige Kloster Ilmbachische Hof war sonst ein Bürgerhaus mit einer öden Hofstadt dabei. Das Kloster kaufte beides und ließ 1742 ein grösseres Gebaüde da aufführen und kaufte mehrere Weinberge und Felder dazu". Seit der Sakularisation in Privatbesitz.
[Marker text translated into English, more or less:}
From an old chronicle:
"Formerly a house with an abandoned outbuilding. The Ilmbach Monastery purchased both . . . — Map (db m58160) HM|
|Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Mansfeld-Südharz District), Mansfeld-Lutherstadt — Scherren — (original nach / by C. Spangenberg)|
Im Volksmund später auch Murre genannt.
Als Scherren bezeichnete man im Mittelalter
Verkaufsstände an denen frische Lebensmittel gehandelt wurden.
Dies waren vorwiegend Fleisch und Brot.
Daher werden sie in der Chronik auch als Fleisch und Brotbänke bezeichnet.
In the vernacular, later also called Murre.
As one called Scherren in the Middle Ages
Stalls, selling fresh food being traded.
These were mainly . . . — Map (db m70363) HM|
|Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Wittenberg District), Lutherstadt Wittenberg — Thomas Müntzer — (1490 - 1525)|
Theologe und Bauernführer
studierte hier 1518
Theologian and Peasant Leader
studied here in 1518 — Map (db m69780) HM|
|Guatemala, Sacatepéquez, La Antigua — California Avocado Society Thanks Guatemala — Gracias a Guatemala de La Sociedad Aguacatera de California|
|Presentada por La Sociedad Aguacatera De California
en el 1946
En reconocimiento y aprecio por la gran contribución
de Antigua y toda Guatemala por el desarrollo de la
industria de aguacates en California.
Un jóven saludable, saluda a tan generosos padres.
Presented by California Avocado Society 1946
In recognition and appreciation of the great
contributions of Antigua, and of all Guatemala, to
the development of the avocado industry in California.
A Healthy, . . . — Map (db m71194) HM|
|Ireland, Connacht (County Galway), Inishmore, Aran Islands — Welcome to Port Corrúch Seal Colony — Failte go Port Corrúch|
| Welcome to Port Corrúch Seal Colony
[First part of the marker is about the seal colony along the coastline and is not transcribed]
As you look across the North Sound you can see the Coast of Connemare and the Twelve pins of Connemara. Near by the factory ruins represents an out post of Victorian industianlism [sic] in the 19th Century. One of the earliest attempts to mechanige [sic] the kelp industry was sited just here for the topography of the area makes this Aran's most favoured . . . — Map (db m22928) HM|
|Ireland, Connacht (County Mayo), Murrisk — National Famine Memorial — Cuimhneachán Náisiúnta ar an nGorta Mór|
To honour the memory of all who died, suffered and
emigrated due to the Great Famine of 1845 - 1850,
and the victims of all famines.
The Memorial was unveiled by the President of Ireland,
Mary Robinson, on 20 July 1997.
I gcuimhna ar an daoine go léir a fuair bás,
a d'fhulaing agus a chuaigh
ar an imirce de dheasca Ghorta Mór 1845 - 1850
agus ar gach uile dhuine i ngátar de dheasca gorta.
Uachtarán na nÉireann, Máire Mhic Róibín,
a nocht an Cuimhneachán ar an 20 . . . — Map (db m27583) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Longford), Lanesborough — Lanesborough / Béal Átha Liag History 500 - 1900 AD|
| The Mouth of the Ford of Stones
The ancient name of Lanesborough is Béal Átha Liag which means “Mouth of the Ford of Stones”. Situated at the northern tip of Lough Ree, or Loch Rí - meaning the “Lake of Kings” - Béal Átha Liag provided the first crossing point on the Shannon north of Athlone. From 1000 AD, the bridges across the Shannon have been of major military importance, being a main crossing point between the East and West of Ireland.
540 • . . . — Map (db m27424) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Meath), Fordstown — Girley / Fordstown — Meath Villages|
| An introduction to Fordstown
Fordstown is named after the Norman-Irish Ford family, who lived in the area. One part of the townland is sometimes referred to as Ballaghboy. Today, Fordstown is a growing, vibrant community. ‘Fordstown Street Fair’ is an old world fair, hosted by Fordstown in October each year since 2004. Fordrew Rovers
Fordrew Rovers Football Club was formed in 1997 and play in Drewstown. They progressed from Division 4A to Division 1 in four years. They won . . . — Map (db m27318) HM|
|Ireland, Munster (County Kerry), Dunquin — The Blaskets|
| This group, the most westerly off the Irish coast, comprises 7 sizeable islands and isolated rocks spread in a line west by south over 2½ miles of the Atlantic, the largest (Great Blasket) 2 miles off shore.
Antiquities of the early Christian period include oratories, crosses and “beehive” cells on Inis Mhicileáin and Inis Tuaisceart, and church ruins on the Great Blasket.
The economy of the islands, based mainly on fishing with some farming, in 1839 supported 13 . . . — Map (db m24096) HM|
|Ireland, Ulster (County Donegal), Slieve League — Farming on Sliabh Liag / Feirmeoireacht ar Shliabh Liag — Walking Through Donegal — Ag Siúl Tríd Dhún na nGall|
Local farmers use the cliffs of Sliabh Liag as a grazing area for sheep. Hardy varieties of sheep suited to harsh mountain environments are raised to produce wool which was traditionally woven locally to produce the world famous Donegal Tweeds.
Baineann ne feirmeoirí áitiúla úsáid as Shlaibh Liag mar thalamh innilte do chaoire. Tógtar caoire de chineáil crua atá fóirsteanach do thimpeallacht sléibhe garbh le olann a shaothrú. Bhíodh an olann seo a sníodh le bréidín cháiliúil Dhún na . . . — Map (db m71630) HM|
|Israel, Haifa District, Megiddo — A Public Grain Silo|
|A public grain silo from the time of King Jeroboam II (8th century BCE). The silo had a capacity of 450 cubic meters. Straw found between the stones attests to the function of the installation. — Map (db m65196) HM|
|Israel, Northern District, Tiberias — The Crusader-Ottoman Building / Millstones|
|[Text at the top of the marker]: The Crusader-Ottoman Building
This was built in the 12th century CE and remained in use until the Ottoman period. The hall has typical pointed vaults and embrasures in the walls, with remains of another two perpendicular halls. These halls were part of the Tiberias fort that was the capital of the Crusader 'Galilee Principality', and was integrated into Daher el-Omar's fortifications in the 18th century CE.
[Text at the bottom of the . . . — Map (db m65331) HM|
|Israel, Southern District (Mehoz HaDarom), Arad — Columbarium Tower (dovecot)|
|Why did the king raise doves on the mountain?
There were three columbarium towers on Masada. The one in front of us was used as a dovecot in its ground floor, and as a watchtower in its upper story. In the walls of the dovecot are several hundred niches in which the doves roosted. They supplied meat for Masada's inhabitants and guests, and probably also fertilizer for agricultural crops. — Map (db m64068) HM|
|Alabama (Autauga County), Prattville — Old Plank Road — Circa 1840's|
|The plank road was constructed of large pine logs, sawed lengthwise and laid round-side down. Daniel Pratt built the road for public benefit and to provide transportation from the Pratt Cotton Gin Factory to Washington on the Alabama River. Over four-miles long, the road cost between eight-and ten-thousand dollars to construct.
Cotton gins from Pratt's factory were shipped all over the globe. Under the name "Continental Eagle," this factory remains the largest cotton gin manufacturer in . . . — Map (db m27983) HM|
|Alabama (Coffee County), Enterprise — Boll Weevil Monument — December 11, 1919|
|In profound appreciation of the Boll Weevil and what it has done as the Herald of Prosperity this monument was erected by the Citizens of Enterprise, Coffee County, Alabama — Map (db m30306) HM|
|Alabama (Dallas County), Cahaba — Perine Well|
|This artesian well was drilled to serve a factory which did not materialized. It was then used to water the grounds, a garden and pastures. In addition, by forcing water through pipes into his $50,000 home, E. M. Perine, a merchant prince, had the first air conditioning in Alabama. Fry's history relates that when drilled, this was the deepest known well in the world. Flow is now estimated at 1250 gallons per minute from a depth of 700-900 feet. — Map (db m23290) HM|
|Alabama (Dallas County), Cahaba — The Duke of Cahaba|
|In 1889, Samuel and Sarah Kirkpatrick moved to Selma, leaving their farm and house in the capable hands of their son Clifton (1863-1930). He turned the abandoned remains of Alabama's first capital into a showcase farm of diversified, scientific agriculture, departing from the South's one crop cotton system. In 1902, he began planting the pecan trees you see all around you.
Clifton Kirkpatrick believed in public service and worked to promote the welfare of all farmers. From 1927 until his . . . — Map (db m23005) HM|
|Alabama (Henry County), Headland — Head's Land Yielded Fruits of Success|
|Begun on 160 acres of land owned by Dr. Joshua Head, "Head's Land," or Headland, was established in 1871, incorporated as a town in 1884 and a city in 1893. The land itself yielded the city's first industry. Due to the abundance of pine trees, timber and turpentine became big business. With this industry, the town began to grow as dry goods, hotels, grocery stores, blacksmith shops, and sawmills began to spring up, many around Headland's now popular square. The timber business later yielded to . . . — Map (db m71816) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Leeds — Rowan House|
|Thomas Rowan, son of Irish immigrants who settled in St. Clair County, Alabama, purchased his first 130 acres at auction and built a house here by c. 1854 that probably forms the core of the two northeast rooms. Heir John Thomas Rowan and his wife, Ada Scott Rowan, enlarged the house to its present turn-of-the-century farmhouse form about 1904. The Rowans were prominent farmers and landowners in the Cahaba Valley for three generations, at one time owning much of the land on this section of the . . . — Map (db m24716) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — John Thomas Bulls, Jr|
|For 21 years following the end of World War II, John Bulls served as Agricultural Extension Advisor for the U.S. Dept. in India, Nigeria, Tunisia and Uganda, assisting farmers and organizing community development programs. — Map (db m38642) HM|
|Alabama (Lawrence County), Courtland — A Cotton Kingdom|
| Side A
A combination of rich soil, mild climate and ready access to market via river and later railroad made Courtland an early center of cotton production. From surrounding plantations with colorful names like Bonnie Doone, Oak Grove, Rocky Hill, Albemarle, Hard Bargain, Pond Spring, Dixie, Summerwood, Egypt, Flower Hill and Ingleside thousands of bales were annually shipped to Memphis and New Orleans during the 19th and early 20th centuries. Though production methods have changed, . . . — Map (db m71285) HM|
|Alabama (Lee County), Auburn — Noble Hall|
The Greek Revival rock and mortar house was built by Addison Frazer (1809-1873) between 1852 and 1854 and served as the center for a 2,000 acre cotton plantation. Frazer owned 100 slaves and was on the Board of Trustees of Auburn Masonic Female College and East Alabama Male College. The contractor from Kentucky used slave labor to build the eight rooms with 12 foot high ceilings and 18 inch exterior walls, two cantilever balconies and eight Doric columns. In the rear . . . — Map (db m25988) HM|
|Alabama (Lee County), Auburn — The Cullars Rotation / The Alvis Field and Cotton Rust|
| Side 1
The Cullars Rotation
The Cullars Rotation is the oldest, continuous soil fertility study in the South and the second oldest cotton study in the world. It was started in 1911 by the Alabama Agricultural Experiment Station on the farm of J.A. Cullars and John P. Alvis. In 1938, the "Alvis Field" was sold to Alabama Polytechnic Institute which became Auburn University in 1960. The experiment consists of 14 soil fertility variables in three blocks that are rotated with . . . — Map (db m74463) HM|
|Alabama (Lee County), Auburn — The Old Rotation|
|Established in 1896 by Professor J.F. Duggar, the Old Rotation at Auburn University is: (1) the oldest, continuous cotton experiment in the U.S.; and (2) the 3rd oldest continuous field crop experiment in the U.S.; and (3) the 1st experiment to demonstrate the benefits of rotating cotton with other crops to improve yields & utilize nitrogen-restoring legumes in a cotton-production system. It continues to document the long-term effect of these rotations in the same soil.
The Old Rotation . . . — Map (db m74429) HM|
|Alabama (Lee County), Opelika — Top Rock Millstone|
This "Top Rock" Millstone
was in a grist mill
owned and operated by W.S.A. Bence
on Sweetwater Creek in Clay County, AL
Donated by H.S. Bence — Map (db m75160) HM|
|Alabama (Limestone County), Mooresville — Cottonport / Mooresville|
| Front The town of Cottonport flourished in the early years of Limestone County. It was settled in 1818 and chartered in 1824. It was located approx. 1½ miles S.E. near the point where Limestone Creek flowed into the Tennessee River and was a prime boat landing.
Steamboats from E. Tennessee brought much needed goods to this area. During high water, flatboats loaded with bales of cotton departing Cottonport, could cross the river's rocky shoals and float to New Orleans. . . . — Map (db m28152) HM|
|Alabama (Macon County), Shorter — Prairie Farms Resettlement Community|
Beginning in the mid-1930s during the Great Depression, the federal New Deal promoted Land Resettlement to move farmers across the nation off worn out soil to new farmland. The Resettlement Administration, and its successor the Farm Security Administration, established one of these experimental planned communities here in west Macon County, the all-African American “Prairie Farms.” With more than 3,100 acres from two plantations purchased by the federal . . . — Map (db m68000) HM|
|Alabama (Madison County), New Market — Town of New Market|
|Settled by Pioneers early as 1806. Voting Precinct established 1827. Town incorporated 1837.
George Smith, major landowner of town site, built first log house and established mercantile business, 1814. John Miller excavated millrace, erected gristmill and sawmill, 1819. William Hayter, first Postmaster, 1827-1839.
Town became a thriving commercial center for a prosperous agricultural community, once known as "The Watercress Capital of the World;" greatly respected for development of . . . — Map (db m31657) HM|
|Alabama (Madison County), Triana — Triana, Alabama|
|Originally called “The Prairie” by the Chickasaw Indians who settled here, Triana was incorporated November 13, 1819 as the second town in Madison County. The community purportedly was named after Rodrigo de Triana, the crewman who first sighted land while sailing with Christopher Columbus on his first voyage to the Americas. Located on the Tennessee River at the terminus of Indian Creek Canal, Triana was a thriving port through which cotton and other Madison County produce moved to . . . — Map (db m70237) HM|
|Alabama (Marshall County), Arab — Farmer's Exchange|
|The Farmer’s Exchange was a focal point of commerce during the early years of the young town of Arab. Farmers exchanged their corn, eggs, butter, hides and other agricultural products for a barrel of flour, a stand of lard or other “groceries”. William “Bill” Harrison operated the Exchange in this building beginning about 1933, although the structure may be older. Basil Cobb began working here while still in high school during the early 1930s. His uncle, L.D. Cobb, . . . — Map (db m40627) HM|
|Alabama (Marshall County), Boaz — City of Boaz|
| Side A Informally called Sparkstown for a period of time, the city of Boaz was officially named after the husband of Ruth, a Biblical character in the Old Testament. Incorporated in March 1897, Boaz quickly began to "set a pace for her neighbors that could not be closely followed without some extra exertion on their part", stated the editor of a nearby town's newspaper in 1905. Boaz, Alabama sits in southern Marshall county atop the Sand Mountain plateau, which is named for its sandy . . . — Map (db m39156) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — Teague Road|
|This 2.8-mile road connecting U.S. highways 331 and 31 first appeared on Montgomery County road maps in 1928. Land for the road was deeded to Montgomery County in September 1926 by local landowners from the Teague, Bellingrath and Matthews families. The road took the Teague name from brothers William Martin and Robert S., prominent pioneers in county agriculture and commerce. Teague Road's name was changed in January 2004 when Hyundai automotive built its 1,720-acre plant on the road. — Map (db m70932) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Pintlala — Pintlala Grange Hall / Grange Hall School|
| (Side 1)
Pintlala Grange Hall
The National Grange of the Patrons of Husbandry was organized in 1867 to provide economic, social and cultural improvements for farmers and their families. Pintlala's Grange Hall was erected circa 1875 on land adjacent to this marker. By the 1890s the popularity of the Grange began to wane. On July 21-23, 1891 the last meeting of the Alabama Granges took place in Pintlala. The Federal Land Bank was organized as the National Farm Loan Association . . . — Map (db m71433) HM|
|Alabama (Morgan County), Decatur — Health and Civic Welfare — Restoring the Vision ... Preserving the Legacy|
|"The opportunies which were at hand in the development of the river and the region were being seized upon by our people with renewed courage and confidence.
We now kow that we couldn't be licked again, that what had been preached to us by TVA was the economic truth."
Barrell C. Shelton in "The Deactur Story" 1949
Early leaders envisioned a healthy and prosperous New Decatur, and their city plan included elements to promote health and civic welfare.
The Town's easy access to both the . . . — Map (db m53682) HM|
|Alabama (Pike County), Brundidge — City of Brundidge and the Bass House / Brundidge's Peanut Butter Heritage|
| Side 1
City of Brundidge and the Bass House
Brundidge was founded in 1851 and incorporated in 1890. Brundidge City Hall has been located in the former Bass House on South Main Street in downtown Brundidge since November 1992. The entire house was restored to become one of the most beautiful structures in the county. The Bass Home was built for Fletcher C. Bass (1864-1935) in 1906 by a master carpenter, Ben Andrews. The Bass family, who lived the typical life of a well-to-do . . . — Map (db m71796) HM|
|Alabama (Pike County), Orion — Orion Institute|
|Founded 1848 by legislative act and donations of citizens. Excellent instruction made it only school of kind for youth in area. Later used as public school until 1929 school consolidation.
Orion settled about 1815, by 1830 saw arrival of wealthy planters. Here on Chunnenuggee Ridge they built homes and cultivated valley plantations. — Map (db m71791) HM|
|Arizona (Apache County), Eagar — 14 — Joseph Udall Barn|
|Built in the early 1900's by one of Eagar's prominent civic, religious & business leaders, this barn was constructed with wooden pegs & retains remarkable architectural integrity. The 2-story brick farmhouse no longer stands. — Map (db m36640) HM|
|Arizona (Apache County), Springerville — 5 — Old Grist Mill Site — 1876|
|Just west on the river, W.R Milligan built the first grist mill & sawmill in Round Valley, later a brick kiln was added. Subsequent owners included the Udall Bros. & J.P. Rothlisberger who built the barn just ahead. — Map (db m36597) HM|
|Arizona (Coconino County), Grand Canyon National Park — Mules and the Canyon|
| Behind you is the Bright Angel mule corral, where each morning mules greet riders and another adventure begins. Mules have carried people into Grand Canyon since sightseeers first visited here in the 1890s. For many people - including those who cannot hike - mules provide access to the inner canyon.
What is a mule?
Mules are hybrids, a cross between a male burro and a female horse.
How long do mules live? How old are the ones visitors ride?
Mules live about . . . — Map (db m39551) HM|
|Arizona (Coconino County), Mormon Lake — Mormon Dairy|
Between 1876 and 1886, Hyrum Judd, under the direction of Lot Smith, supervised a Mormon Dairy one
mile northeast near Dairy Spring.
Beginning with a herd of 115 cows, large quantities of butter and cheese were produced. During the 1880's the herd almost doubled in number and dairy products were delivered to residents of distant
Brigham City, Sunset and St. Joseph, Arizona.
Judd closed the dairy in 1886 and moved his family to the Mormon colony at Chuichupa, Chihuahua, Mexico. — Map (db m35187) HM|
|Arizona (Coconino County), Sedona — Indian Gardens — Homesite of the First Settler in Oak Creek Canyon|
|In 1876 or 1877, Jim Thompson built a log cabin here and began cultivating the old Indian Gardens where the Indians had grown corn and squash long before Oak Creek was known to white men. Thompson remained here at his Indian Gardens Ranch until his death in 1917. — Map (db m33203) HM|
|Arizona (Coconino County), Walnut Canyon National Monument — Departure|
Despite all it had to offer, in time Walnut Canyon became a difficult place for farmers to live. Drier, colder conditions meant crop failures. More people and diminished resources meant nutritional stress, disease, and conflict.
However, these stressful time brought new means of coping. By 1250, people joined others in bigger villages to the south and east where archeological evidence suggests new beliefs and rituals arose.
"Many reasons are given for clan migration in Hopi . . . — Map (db m61370) HM|
|Arizona (Coconino County), Wupatki National Monument — Where Were The Fields?|
| Farming then did not mean vast fields like we use today. Anasazi and Sinagua people modified these small terraces to grow hand-tended corn, cotton, beans, and squash. We know the climate was about what it is now, very dry for farming. The terraces caught vital run-off from rain.
Behind you are rock circles that appear to be ruins of individual, separate rooms. These are common, but we do not know what they were used for. — Map (db m41715) HM|
|Arizona (La Paz County), Cibola — 100 — Cibola Arizona|
|Gold and silver strikes in the 1860's created growth in the area. It is said Wyatt Earp served as sheriff of Cibola for one year in the 1890's. The town of Cibola formed in 1898 and construction began on a 16 mile canal to bring water from the river to the town. A post office operated here from 1903 to 1933, serving the farms, but the irrigation project failed. Floods were a yearly event until dams were built on the Colorado River. All the remnants of Cibola are now located on nearby private property. — Map (db m72464) HM|
|Arizona (Maricopa County), Chandler — Arizona Cotton Land|
|The land surrounding this cemetery represents the beginning of commercial cotton growing in Arizona.
In January 1917, during World War I, the Goodyear Tire and Rubber Company founded the Southwest Cotton Company to begin producing long-staple cotton for domestic and military use.
People came from across the United States and Mexico to start a new life in the cotton fields. Migrant workers and their labor laid the agricultural foundation of the East Valley. — Map (db m34554) HM|
|Arizona (Maricopa County), Glendale — Blacksmith and Machine Shop — at Sahuaro Ranch . . .|
| Farm and ranch work have always been hard on machinery, making frequent repairs necessary. Throughout Sahuaro Ranch's history, most of these repairs were made here by the ranch's own employees.
This building, which is believed to have been erected in the 1890s, started as a blacksmith shop. The blacksmith, who was one of the ranch's most valuable employees, repaired - and sometimes made - tools, farm implements, and wagon parts. He also was responsible for fitting and nailing horseshoes on . . . — Map (db m40676) HM|
|Arizona (Maricopa County), Glendale — Corrals and Tack House — at Sahuaro Ranch . . .|
| The corrals here are the remnants of the sprawling complex of corrals and pastures needed to raise the livestock that was always important to the operations of Sahuaro Ranch.
In early years, horses and mules were the primary source of power for transportation, plowing, and other work. During the 1920s they were replaced by mechanized equipment, but the number of livestock actually increased as the Smith family began raising dairy cows, beef cattle, and later thoroughbred horses.
The . . . — Map (db m40686) HM|
|Arizona (Maricopa County), Glendale — Fruit Packing Shed — at Sahuaro Ranch...|
| This packing shed, constructed in 1891, is one of the oldest farm buildings on the ranch. It was designed by James M. Creighton, a prominent architect in territoral Arizona.
Exactly how the shed was used is not known, but presumably it was here that the figs, grapes, apricots, and peaches grown by the ranch were prepared for shipping.
In 1895 the first Thompson grapes were planted at Sahuaro Ranch, and soon the ranch had 130 acres of this variety, which is preferred for drying as . . . — Map (db m40702) HM|
|Arizona (Maricopa County), Glendale — Irrigation — at Sahuaro Ranch...|
| The water for Sahuaro Ranch came by gravity flow from the Arizona Canal, located about two miles to the north. It was carried from the canal by a ditch on 59th Avenue known as Lateral 18 and then flowed onto the ranch through smaller ditches such as the ones seen here.
Originally these ditches were dirt, and it was not until the 1950s that they were lined with concrete. Gates, and later valves, were used to control the flow of water from one field or orchard to the next. Some of these . . . — Map (db m40706) HM|
|Arizona (Maricopa County), Glendale — Manistee Ranch|
of Historic Places
Listed April 9, 1998
Department of the Interior
Manistee Ranch a treasured Glendale landmark and was the long-time home of Louis M. Sands, a pioneer of modern Arizona cattle ranching. Sands purchased the ranch in 1907 and named it after his Michigan hometown. Here he developed techniques for rotating cattle pastures to work within the limits of the land. The Queen Anne Victorian style house, built in 1897, is . . . — Map (db m30500) HM|
|Arizona (Maricopa County), Glendale — Orchards — at Sahuaro Ranch|
| The most important crops in the early years of Sahuaro Ranch were fruits and nuts. These commanded high prices, which meant they could profitably be raised here and sold to buyers across the country despite the high cost of shipping from such a remote location.
The first trees to be planted on the ranch were figs and dates. They were soon followed by olives, apricots, peaches, almonds, and oranges. By 1891, according to a Phoenix newspaper, Sahuaro Ranch had the largest fig orchard in the . . . — Map (db m40705) HM|
|Arizona (Maricopa County), Glendale — Sahuaro Ranch|
|National Register of Historic Places
Listed March 7, 1980
United States Department of the Interior
Sahuaro Ranch was one of the first farms in the Glendale area and a reminder of Glendale’s agricultural beginnings. Started by wealthy Illinois businessman William H. Bartlett in 1886, the ranch was a commercial operation and became known as the "Showplace of the Valley." Ranch owners, including Bartlett, produced fruit, grains and cotton, ranched cattle, raised horses and operated a . . . — Map (db m28088) HM|
|Arizona (Maricopa County), Glendale — Stable / Granary — at Sahuaro Ranch . . .|
| Little is known about the history of this building, which started out as a horse stable, but it almost certainly was one of the earliest work buildings to be erected at Sahuaro Ranch.
The eastern half, with the vertical wood siding, was built first - possibly before 1890. This was where the horses used by the Bartlett family, their guests, and employees - for riding and pulling carriages or wagons - were housed.
The western half, which has the horizontal siding, was built in 1935. By . . . — Map (db m40685) HM|
|Arizona (Maricopa County), Glendale — The Barnyard — at Sahuaro Ranch . . .|
| The barnyard was the center of activity as Sahuaro Ranch. Horses and mules were stabled, trained, and shoed here. Cattle were brought to the corrals for branding, treatment and shipment. Farm implements and wagons were stored and repaired here.
The oldest structures in the barnyard - all built under William Bartlett's ownership - are the horse stable, blacksmith shop, tack house and some of the corrals. Well into the 1920s, horses and mules provided most of the hauling and transport power . . . — Map (db m40674) HM|
|Arizona (Maricopa County), Glendale — Water & Power — at Sahuaro Ranch . . .|
| When Sahuaro Ranch was built, and for some years afterward, water and electricity had to be provided by the owners themselves, often at great expense.
Drinking water was obtained from a groundwater well located in the back yard of the Main House, underneath what is now the wood-frame rear addition. In 1898, when the addition was built, the well was enclosed and storage tanks and a windmill were erected atop the roof. This gave the Main and Guest Houses indoor plumbing well before most other . . . — Map (db m40638) HM|
|Arizona (Maricopa County), Glendale — Welcome to Sahuaro Ranch — at Sahuaro Ranch . . .|
| Sahuaro Ranch was established in 1886, when William H. Bartlett filed a claim to 640 acres of public land at this site. Using irrigation water delivered by the Arizona Canal, which reached the Glendale area in early 1885, Barlett and his ranch managers built Sahuaro Ranch into a large, diversified farm that produced dried and fresh fruit, olives, nuts, and livestock.
Bartlett, a wealthy grain broker from Peoria, Illinois, never lived full-time at Sahuaro Ranch, and in 1913 he sold the . . . — Map (db m40656) HM|
|Arizona (Maricopa County), Glendale — Well House — SRP Well House Re-creation — at Sahuaro Ranch . . .|
| This building, which houses a groundwater well pump, is a re-creation of a Salt River Project (SRP) pump house from the 1920s. In the original pump houses, a wooden derrick was erected first and used to drill the well. Once the well was working, an electric pump was installed and the lower half of the derrick enclosed with wood siding.
The Project's first groundwater wells, drilled in 1919, pumped water into ditches for drainage into the nearest river or wash. This was done to lower the . . . — Map (db m40660) HM|
|Arizona (Maricopa County), Phoenix — 344 — Arizona's Pioneer Women|
|Before 1875 hundreds of heroic women came to Arizona from the East and South. From this group came Arizona's first schoolteachers and the publisher of the first newspaper.
In 1876 a group of pioneer women and their families came from the north, ferried their covered wagons across the Colorado River. With indomitable bravery and strength they helped make the desert blossom
into a green oasis. Their descendents pioneered in many settlements throughout Arizona. They displayed great courage . . . — Map (db m27385) HM|
|Arizona (Maricopa County), Phoenix — F.Q. Story Addition|
|Land that was to become the Story Neighborhood (bounded by McDowell Road, Roosevelt Street, 7th Avenue, and Grand Avenue) was purchased in 1887 and 1906 by Francis Q. Story, a horticulturist known as the "father of the Sunkist Orange." Serious development began in 1923, after the construction of Kenilworth School and Cave Creek Dam. The architectural character of the district is dominated by bungalows, Spanish Colonial Revival, and Tudor Revival houses. Other styles include English Cottage, . . . — Map (db m39413) HM|
|Arizona (Maricopa County), Phoenix — S. (Frenchy) Sawyer|
|At this site
in the Spring of 1868
S. (Frenchy) Sawyer
Built the first farm dwelling and harvested the first cultivated crop (barley) in the Anglo-American occupation of the Salt River Valley. These same fertile acres had been irrigated centuries before by Indians who later abandoned their canals and lands. — Map (db m30402) HM|
|Arizona (Pima County), Tucson — Bicentennial Moon Tree|
|This seeding was grown from the very seeds that journeyed to the moon and back on board Apollo 14. It symbolizes the major role forests played in developing our American Heritage and the vital role forests have in our future.
This planting made possible by:
State Forester of Arizona,
U.S. forest Service and NASA — Map (db m43302) HM|
|Arizona (Pima County), Tucson — The Tucson Plant Materials Center|
|The Tucson Plant Materials Center
Has been placed on the
National Register of Historic Places
By the United States
Department of Agriculture
1997 — Map (db m31525) HM|
|Arizona (Pima County), Vail — Historic Empire Ranch|
|Behind you are many of the original buildings of the historic Empire Ranch, established in the 1870s by Edward Nye Fish on 160 acres with a four-room adobe ranch house and corral.
In 1876, Walter L. Vail and Herbert R. Hislop purchased the ranch and expanded the original land holdings, livestock and buildings. The Vail family operated the ranch until 1928 when it was purchased by a partnership of the Boice, Gates and Johnson families. Frank Boice and his family lived on and managed the . . . — Map (db m41418) HM|
|Arizona (Yavapai County), Camp Verde — Pecan Lane Rural Historic Landscape|
Pecan Lane Rural Historic Landscape
Pecan Lane Rural Historic Landscape was added to the National Register of Historic Places on May 2, 2000.
Pecan Lane played a significant part in the aricultural history of Camp Verde. During
the late 19th century and early twentieth centuries the community served as the breadbasket for
the major towns in Yavapai and Coconino Counties, including Jerome, Prescott, and Flagstaff.
Once a principle . . . — Map (db m27855) HM|
|Arizona (Yavapai County), Dewey — Historic Site of Orchard Ranch — Home of Sharlot Mabridth Hall — (1870-1943)|
|In 1890 James and Adeline Hall purchased 130 acres here above the junction of the Agua Fria River and Lynx Creek. The Halls named their homestead "Orchard Ranch" and, with the help of their children, Sharlot and Ted, produced apples and beef.
Life on the ranch instilled in Sharlot a love of Arizona's pioneer ways. She wrote about early Arizonans and collected documents and artifacts. In 1927, after the deaths of her parents, she sold the ranch and moved her collections into the 1864 log . . . — Map (db m33059) HM|
|Arizona (Yavapai County), Sedona — Orchards (1890 - 1970)|
|Fruit growing played a significant role in the early Sedona economy. Over time, settlers constructed ditches, flumes, pipelines, reservoirs, and water wheels to provide irrigation to their gardens and eventually to their larger orchards.
Apples and peaches became the primary orchard crops. The Jordan orchard flanked both sides of this street and grew to almost 1500 fruit trees. Flagstaff and the mining town of Jerome provided markets for fruit, as did far away places. Oak Creek fruit was . . . — Map (db m54228) HM|
|Arizona (Yavapai County), Sedona — Van Deren Ranch|
|Lee Van Deren, cattleman, arrived to put his children in the new Sedona school opened in 1910. Ranching was a major part of Sedona’s early economy. Round ups and cattle drives were a twice a year occurrence for ranchers when moving their herds from winter to summer grazing allotments.
About 1924, Lee’s son, Earl, bought 40 acres along the west side of this road and with hard work soon paid off the property and became a successful rancher.
Earl occasionally added to his income by . . . — Map (db m54229) HM|
|Arkansas (Mississippi County), Osceola — Sans Souci|
|The 10,000-acre Sans Souci plantation established in 1854 by John Harding McGavock, served as a Civil War hospital as the Union fleet docked across from the home. In addition to farming cotton, much acreage was devoted to hunting deer, bear, and other wild game. In French, "sans souci" means "without care" or "no worries." — Map (db m36298) HM|
|California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Site of John Hinkel Livery Stable, 1900 — Berkeley Farm Creamery Complex — F.E. Armstrong, Contractor, 1910|
|City of Berkeley Landmark
designated in 1998
By 1900, downtown Berkeley had developed around Shattuck Avenue, its main street. On this site, owned by John Hinkel, stood a brick livery stable run by John Fitzpatrick, the early operator of the Ocean View Trolley. In an era of horse-drawn transportation, the centrally located livery stable was advertised to
Furnish at all hours Hack, Carriages and Coupes.” The stable had 16-foot-high brick walls and an arched entry.
A complex of . . . — Map (db m54346) HM|
|California (Alameda County), Fremont — Ardenwood Historic Farm / George Washington Patterson Ranch|
The George Washington
Has been placed on the
of Historic Places
By the United States
Department of the Interior
November 29, 1985 — Map (db m28825) HM|
|California (Alameda County), Fremont — 642 — Leland Stanford Winery|
|This winery was founded in 1869 by Leland Stanford. Railroad builder, Governor of California, United States Senator, and founder of Stanford University. The vineyard, planted by his brother Josiah Stanford, helped to prove that wines equal to any in the world could be produced in California. The restored buildings and winery are now occupied and operated by Weibel Champagne Vineyards.
California Registered Historical Landmark No. 642 — Map (db m31398) HM|
|California (Alameda County), Livermore — 641 — Concannon Vineyards|
|Here, in 1883, James Concannon founded the Concannon Vineyard. The quality it achieved in Sacramental and commercial wines helped establish Livermore Valley as one of America’s select wine growing districts. Grape cuttings from this vineyard were introduced to Mexico between 1889 and 1904 for the improvement of its commercial viticulture. — Map (db m31397) HM|
|California (Alameda County), Livermore — 586 — Cresta Blanca Winery|
|Here, Charles A. Wetmore planted his vineyard in 1882. The Cresta Blanca wine he made from its fruit won for California the first international award. The highest honor at the 1889 Paris Exposition. First bringing assurance to California wine growers that they could grow wines comparable to the finest in the world. — Map (db m52090) HM|
|California (Alameda County), Livermore — 241 — Robert Livermore — First Settler of Livermore Valley|
|Born in England 1799 – Died Rancho Las Positas 1858; Arrived in Monterey 1822. Married Josepa Hicutera y Puentas 1830. Settled on Rancho Las Positas 1835.
“Next to the Mission Padres, he was the first man to engage himself in the culture of grapes, fruit and grain.”
The Livermore Hacienda was a short distance north of this spot. — Map (db m31410) HM|
|California (Alameda County), Livermore — 957 — Wente Bros. Winery|
|Here the first Wente Vineyards of 47 acres was established by C.H. Wente in 1883. In 1935 his sons, Ernest and Herman, introduced California’s first varietal wine label, Sauvignon Blanc. The efforts of the Wente family have helped to establish the Livermore Valley as one of the premier wine-growing areas of California. In their centennial year, Wente Bros. is the oldest continuously operating, family-owned winery in California.
California Registered Historical Landmark No.957
Plaque . . . — Map (db m31408) HM|
|California (Alameda County), Pleasanton — 510 — Alviso Adobe — Alviso Adobe Community Park|
|Built in 1854, the Alviso Adobe is one of the few adobe structures remaining in the Bay Area. Declared a California Historic Landmark in 1954, the building stands relatively unmodified since the 1920s.
The adobe was in continuous use from 1854 until the Meadowlark Dairy closed in 1969. During the dairy period, workers took their meals in the kitchen and dining room of this building. — Map (db m24616) HM|
|California (Alameda County), Pleasanton — Meadowlark Dairy - The Dairy Silo — Alviso Adobe Community Park|
|At roughly 45 feet high, the Meadowlark Dairy silo was a distinctive visual landmark. This circular paving marks the silo’s approximate location. The original silo and barn were much larger. Silage, fodder for animals, is created by partially fermenting agricultural products, such as corn stalks, to enhance their nutritional value and preserves them for winter feed. — Map (db m24663) HM|
|California (Alameda County), Pleasanton — Meadowlark Dairy – Dairy Bunkhouse — Alviso Adobe Community Park|
|There were once many buildings on the Meadowlark Dairy complex. One important building was a place for the ranch hands and workers to sleep and socialize. This bunkhouse is a smaller version of the one that was at the dairy. The current Foothill Road runs through the original location of the building. — Map (db m24665) HM|
|California (Alameda County), Pleasanton — Meadowlark Dairy – Dairy Manager’s House — Alviso Adobe Community Park|
|These low boundary walls show the approximate location of the Meadowlark Dairy manager’s house. The dairy manager played an important role in day-to-day operations. His house had a kitchen, living room, office and bedrooms. A half-cellar under the northeast corner of the house was used for canning and as a laundry for the white dairy uniforms. — Map (db m24671) HM|
|California (Alameda County), San Leandro — San Leandro – Cherry Festivals|
West side of marker:
San Leandro’s farmers expected a bumper crop of cherries in 1909. Why not celebrate and promote the city and one of its wonderful crops? The first cherry festival took place that spring. The Oakland Enquirer reported that it was the greatest carnival ever attempted in the county, and the host city was “as full of carnival spirit and joy as her orchards were full of cherries.” Festivities included a 21-gun salute, a parade, a grand ball, . . . — Map (db m26458) HM|
|California (Alameda County), Union City — 768 — Site of the Nation’s First Successful Beet Sugar Factory|
|The factory was built in 1870 by E. H. Dyer, “Father of the American Beet Sugar Industry.” Located on a corner of Dyer’s farm, the small factory began processing sugarbeets on November 15, 1870 and produced 293 tons of sugar during its first operating season. The plant has since been completely rebuilt on the original site.
California Registered Historical
Landmark No. 768
Plaque placed by the California State Park Commission in cooperation with the Holly Sugar Corporation . . . — Map (db m31402) HM|
|California (Amador County), Ione — Scully Ranch|
|Property settled by J. P. Martin in 1848. Home built circa 1852. Purchased in 1882 by William Scully, who arrived from Ireland in 1854. The Scully family has owned and operated the ranch for five generations. Present owners are Robert and Etta Scully.
Place on the National Register of Historic Landmarks - November 1978 — Map (db m42398) HM|
|California (Amador County), Jackson — University of California Foothill Field Station — 1888 – 1903|
|The Foothill Station became the first University of California qualifying outlying station funded jointly by federal, state and local county sources in March 1888. The station was developed under the patronage of Senator A. Caminetti of Jackson. Over $5,000 was contributed by Amador County residents to clear the land, built irrigation systems, road, and buildings.
Land was selected by E. W. Hilgard, Professor of Agriculture and Director of Experiment Stations. Four and one half miles east of . . . — Map (db m72065) HM|
|California (Amador County), Pine Grove — Chaw'se — The Grinding Rock|
|Chaw’se is the Miwok word for a mortar hole. The cup-shaped depression in a grinding rock was used to process acorns and other seeds into food by pounding and grinding with a cobblestone pestle.
The hole or chaw’se began as a slight natural depression in the rock that became deeper through years of use. The deep mortar holes were used when the objective was to crack the shells of seeds without crushing the meats. Shallow depressions were used for acorn grinding and when a . . . — Map (db m71895) HM|
|California (Amador County), Plymouth — Shenandoah Valley — Since 1852|
|Dedicated to the early Shenandoah Valley pioneers & their descendants. They mined gold & produced grain, livestock, orchards & vineyards in these rolling hills. Nearby are the old school, used for 100 years, and now a social center, and the cemetery begun circa 1852. The new settlers continue the agriculture tradition. — Map (db m10639) HM|
|California (Butte County), Chico — 329 — Rancho Del Arroyo Chico|
|A vast expanse covering 26,000 acres, Rancho Chico was purchased in 1849-50 by John Bidwell. In 1865 he began construction of the mansion nearby, which in time became the social and cultural center of the upper Sacramento Valley. It was through his advancement of agriculture, however, that Bidwell made his greatest contribution. The introduction here of plants from all over the world opened the door to California’s present agricultural treasure house.
Landmark No.329 — Map (db m29615) HM|
|California (Butte County), Oroville — CHL 1043 — Mother Orange Tree of Butte County|
|Judge Joseph Lewis planted this Mediterranean Sweet Orange seedling near the toll bridge at Bidwell’s Bar, Butte County, California in 1856. It has survived hard times and is the oldest living orange tree in California. “From its example and largely from its offspring, a new industry was started in a new section hundreds of miles north of a known citrus region. It was a true pioneer,” – Dr. H.J. Webber, Director, Citrus Experiment Station, Riverside, 1927. The Mother Orange . . . — Map (db m61600) HM|
|California (Butte County), Oroville — 1043 — Northern California's Oldest Citrus Tree — Sweet Mother Orange and Her Seeds|
|Imported from Mazatlan, Mexico, the Mother Orange Tree was purchased on the streets of Sacramento when it was only a 2 to 3 year-old seedling in a tub. She was planted in 1856 and quickly grew into a California legend. The leafy greens of her robust canopy have flourished with fruit ever since.
Early-day miners traveled from far and wide to eat her sweet oranges, gather the seeds, and plant them in yards of their homes. The tree has withstood being moved, floods, freezes and windstorms. . . . — Map (db m62787) HM|
|California (Butte County), Oroville — CHL 314 — The Mother Orange Tree of Butte County — Bidwell Bar Bridge|
The Mother Orange Tree
of Butte County
planted at this spot by Judge Joseph Lewis in 1856
The Bidwell Bar Bridge
First suspension bridge of California
Transported from New York via Cape Horn 1853. Completed 1856 — Map (db m61594) HM|
|California (Calaveras County), Jenny Lind — 266 — Jenny Lind|
|Settled in the 1840’s as a flourishing gold mining, cattle ranching and farming community. — Map (db m13040) HM|
|California (Colusa County), Arbuckle — Arbuckle|
|In 1859 Tacitus Ryland Arbuckle located a homestead in the Sacramento Valley, and in 1875 had the land plotted for a town site. The legendary Arbuckle founded the town, deeded the lots, furnished the nails, and helped build the first houses in what has since become the city of Arbuckle. Known far and wide as “the home of the almond”. — Map (db m54548) HM|
|California (Contra Costa County), Clayton — Clayton|
|Miwok Indians inhabited this valley at the base of Mt. Diablo when Spanish explorers came in the 1770’s. Scouts, trappers, prospectors and settlers followed.
In 1857 Clayton was founded by Joel Clayton, a miner, farmer, and wagonmaster from England. Coal, copper and quicksilver mines developed nearby, creating a bustling downtown with stage service and a post office established in 1861. When mining declined, farming and ranching prospered, with orchards, vineyards, horses and cattle. . . . — Map (db m59954) HM|
|California (Contra Costa County), Clayton — De Martini Winery|
|Paul De Martini built Clayton Vineyards Winery in 1885 on land formerly owned by Joel Clayton, the area’s first vintner. An Austrian stone mason directed construction, using stone quarried on Mount Diablo and hauled here by wagon teams. This was the second largest winery in Contra Costa County.
De Martini port, sherry, white claret, and zinfandel won state, national and international recognition.
De Martini sherries and ports won first prizes at the 1904 St. Louis Exposition.
Wine . . . — Map (db m60033) HM|
|California (Contra Costa County), Martinez — 511 — The Vicente Martinez Adobe - 1849|
|Vicente Martínez was born in Santa Barbara on August 18, 1818, the second son of Don Ygnacio and Martina de Arellano Martínez who were married in the Presidio Chapel at Santa Barbara 1802. Don Ygnacio Martínez was a Spanish officer at San Diego and Santa Barbara 1788-1819 and became Comandante of the Presidio of San Francisco 1822-1831 and in 1837 was the third mayor of San Francisco. Rancho Pinole was granted to him in 1823 and he moved his family there in 1836 naming his home Nuestra Senora . . . — Map (db m50827) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Coloma — Mining Ditches|
|Mining ditches were dug by ditch companies to carry vast amounts of water needed for placer mining. Thousands of miles of ditches and flumes were built in the gold country; some brought immense profits to their owners. As mining declined in the 1860s, the same ditches were used for irrigating orchards, vineyards and pastures in the foothills. This ditch is seven miles long, and now carries irrigation water to local farmers. The hillside terraces you see here were used to grow fruit trees and grape vines. Some of them were dug by James Marshall. — Map (db m17484) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Coloma — Monroe Family Homestead|
|The home of the pioneer Monroe family stood here for more than a century. The family matriarch, Nancy Gooch, came across the plains from Missouri as a slave in 1849. She gained her freedom in 1850 when California joined the Union as a “free” state. Later, she bought the freedom of her son, Andrew Monroe and his family, who joined her in Coloma.
Begun as a cabin, the home was enlarged as the family grew. Andrew and his son Pearley raised fruit and other crops. Their 80 acres of . . . — Map (db m17455) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Gold Hill — 815 — Wakamatsu Tea and Silk Farm Colony|
Site of the only tea and silk farm established in California. First agricultural settlement of pioneer Japanese immigrants who arrived at Gold Hill on June 8, 1869. Despite the initial success, it failed to prosper. It marked the beginning of Japanese influence on the agricultural economy of California. — Map (db m76181) HM|
|California (Fresno County), Coalinga — Crescent Meat Co. — 1905 – 1968|
|Jacob Zwang was born in Sennefeld, Baden Germany and migrated to the United States in 1896 at the age of 16 years. He arrived at 2:00 o’clock in the morning and was met by his uncle Moses Levy, and cousin Albert Levy. This was the start of a partnership that lasted more that (sic) sixty-eight years. They ran a butcher shop in Visalia until 1900 when they moved their business to Laton to take advantage of growing trade afforded by the settlers of a large Spanish land grant. In 1905, Jake Zwang . . . — Map (db m64061) HM|
|California (Fresno County), Easton — 35 — Easton / Washington Union High School District|
In 1878, O.W. Easton and J.P. Whitney, San Francisco entrepreneurs, bought a total of 12 sections of land in this area (7680 acres), formed the Washington Irrigated Colony and began selling 20-acre farms. Allen T. Covell was the superintendent and resident manager of the Colony, established the townsite that came to be called Covell. The town was composed of lots, each of which came as a bonus to the purchaser of a 20-acre farm. As the community grew and the . . . — Map (db m28011) HM|
|California (Fresno County), Fresno — 916 — Forestiere Underground Gardens|
| Here, beneath the hot, arid surface of the San Joaquin Valley, Baldasare Forestiere (1879-1946) began in the early 1900's to sculpt a fantastic retreat. Excavating the hardpan by hand, he created a unique complex of underground rooms, passages and gardens which ramble throughout a ten-acre parcel. His work is being preserved as a living monument to a creative and individualistic spirit unbounded by conventionality.
California Registered Historical Landmark No. 916
Plaque placed here...October 12, 1979. — Map (db m41003) HM|
|California (Fresno County), Fresno — Fresno|
| "Fresno" is the Spanish word for "Ash Tree." The first settlement to which the name was applied was "Fresno City," a station on the old Butterfield Stage Route located on Fresno Slough about one and one-half miles northwesterly from the present town of Tranquillity. This part of the San Joaquin Valley became known as the "Fresno Country." When the county was created in 1856 it was named Fresno although the county seat was established at Millerton, the site of which is now covered by the waters . . . — Map (db m41007) HM|
|California (Fresno County), Fresno — Honoring the Ex-Braceros and Their Contributions — Honoramos los Ex-Braceros y Sus Contribuciones — 1942 - 1964|
During and after World War II, nearly 5,000,000
contracted braceros came to work in agriculture
and on the railroads, the majority in California and
the San Joaquin Valley, under U.S. and Mexican Treaty,
demonstrating their patriotism during the great labor shortage.
"Soldiers of Democracy" "Soldados de Democracia"
Braceros de los Ferrocarilles WWII - Valle de San Joaquin
Railroad Braceros WWII - San Joaquin Valley - 2,733
——————— . . . — Map (db m41067) HM|
|California (Fresno County), Fresno — 20 — Moses J. Church|
|The Father of Fresno Irrigation. He was born in New York State in 1819, became a blacksmith and emigrated to California in 1852. He came to Fresno County in 1868 and employed by A. Y. Easterby, built the first irrigation system for lush fields of wheat, which in 1872 prompted Central Pacific to survey a townsite here called Fresno. Directing the Fresno Canal and Irrigation Co., he built hundreds of miles of canals, located hundreds of settlers on farms, expanded cultivation and forged Fresno's . . . — Map (db m71793) HM|
|California (Fresno County), Sanger — 25 — Kings River|
|Its waters made possible the irrigation of a million fertile acres, despite a 39 year battle over water rights. From 1882 forward, 150 lawsuits were filed and early irrigators often used armed force to open headgates to water their crops. L. A. Nares proposed the first diversion plan in 1897. Broader agreements in 1921 and 1927 brought peace. Completion of Pine Flat Dam in 1956 by the U.S. Corps of Engineers for flood control and irrigation finally insured maximum use of the river's water, . . . — Map (db m27996) HM|
|California (Fresno County), Sanger — 38 — William "Yank" Hazelton — 1824 -1906|
|"Yank" Hazelton, son of Joseph, a blacksmith, and Sophia Cleveland, was born in Coeyman, N.Y., in 1824. He emigrated to California through San Diego in 1853. He settled on this site and homesteaded this land in November, 1857, with his wife of 2 months, Mary Jane, daughter of Henry and Delilah (Miller) Akers. In 1861, Yank went to Mexico on one of his last cattle buying trips. He brought back some oranges, in his saddlebags, as a surprise for his family. Mary Jane planted the seeds from these . . . — Map (db m28069) HM|
|California (Fresno County), Selma — 30 — Groundwater Irrigation Beginnings|
| [Marker Front:]
Groundwater Irrigation Beginnings
The San Joaquin Valley's groundwater reservoir was first tapped with a practical pumping plant 4 miles northeast of here on Dec. 12, 1894. William De La Grange of Selma, tired of upstream irrigationists draining Kings River water from the canal he used, drilled a pioneering open bottom well. Using steam power, he pumped 350 gallons of water per minute onto his ranch at the southeast corner of Manning and Bethel Ave's. The plant . . . — Map (db m28594) HM|
|California (Fresno County), Selma — Libby, McNeill and Libby Cannery|
|On this 6 1/4 acre site, Libby, McNeill and Libby opened the San Joaquin Valley's largest cannery on July 18, 1911, less than four hectic months after the site was acquired and construction plans were announced. The initial construction cost was 25,895.
Attracted to Selma by many orchards of cling peaches and early success of a much smaller cannery a few blocks away on Whitson Street, Libby's grew quickly and a year later doubled its production capacity. In 1914, this large warehouse . . . — Map (db m52240) HM|
|California (Humboldt County), Ferndale — 883 — Ferndale|
|This pioneer agricultural community, settled in 1852, helped feed the booming population of mid-century San Francisco. Long known as “Cream City,” Ferndale made innovative and lasting contributions to the dairy industry. Local creameries, and the town’s role as a transportation and shipping center in the late 19th and early 20th centuries, fostered prosperity which produced Ferndale’s outstanding Victorian-Gothic residential and false-front commercial architecture.
California . . . — Map (db m1557) HM|
|California (Humboldt County), Ferndale — The First California Central Creamery|
|This site, originally R.A. Simpson's Ferndale Mechanical Shop, and shared by A. Monroe Cider and Vinegar Company, was chosen in 1904 by Aage Jensen as the founding location of the Central Creamery with first production of butter in September, uniting several small independent plants. In 1905 the company adopted the name of California Central Creameries and eventually became the mother plant of the Golden State Company, Ltd., where numerous steps in western dairy production, including dry milk . . . — Map (db m65235) HM|
|California (Imperial County), Imperial — Imperial Irrigation District|
|The largest gravity fed irrigation district in the western hemisphere, established in 1911. They later assumed control of several water companies and were instrumental in getting the Hoover Dam and the All American Canal built.
They commenced power service in 1936 and now supply power to the Imperial and Eastern Coachella Valleys. They aggressively guard the Imperial Valley's long established water rights to insure that the Imperial Valley remains one of the most productive agricultural areas in the world. — Map (db m62035) HM|
|California (Inyo County), Keeler — Owens Lake Dust Mitigation Program|
|Owens Lake was once over 300 feet deep and part of a large ancient freshwater lake. As the climate changed over centuries, the lake began to dry up leaving behind concentrated minerals and salts. By 1905, diversion of water by farmers in the Owens Valley, coupled with drought in the region, had shrunk the lake even further to approximately 60% of what it was in the mid 1800's. In 1913, the City of Los Angeles purchased most of the water rights in the Owens Valley and completed the first Los . . . — Map (db m72575) HM|
|California (Inyo County), Tecopa — China Ranch|
|In the 1890's a Chinese man named Ah Foo came to this canyon from the Borax Works in Death Valley. He developed a successful ranch, raising livestock, hay, fruits and vegetables to help feed the local silver miners and their draft animals. The "China Man's Ranch" became a favorite resting spot, with it's cool running stream and beautiful trees.
In 1900 Ah Foo disappears somewhat mysteriously, though the name has stuck. After many changes of owners and financially unsuccessful ranching . . . — Map (db m72929) HM|
|California (Kern County), Bakersfield — Kern River Flour Mills|
|In 1871 Horatio P. Livermore and William Muehe built the Kern River Flour Mills on the Kern Island Canal. Muehe sold his interest to Fordyce Roper in 1874 and Livermore to James B. Haggin in 1879, who also acquired Roper's interest in 1884. The business became a corporate holding of the Kern County Land Company in 1890, flour production continued until 1923, and grain was processed and stored until a destructive earthquake in 1952. — Map (db m53243) HM|
|California (Kern County), Bakersfield — Miller and Lux Survey Office|
| Large scale farming and ranching was needed to supply the restaurants and grocery stores in fast-growing cities like San Francisco and Los Angeles in the late 1800s.
Henry Miller and Charles Lux purchased large areas of land throughout the western states to control the supply of cattle for their San Francisco butchering operation. By the late 1880s, Miller & Lux had acquired more than one million acres in California, Nevada, and Oregon. Most of their land was located in the San . . . — Map (db m25309) HM|
|California (Kern County), Bakersfield — The Barn|
This barn, used to feed and harness teams of horses, was originally located at 1606 “R” Street in Bakersfield.
Four horses could be fed and harnessed inside this barn. Chopped hay, stored in the barn’s loft, was lowered through a door into a trough located along the wall. Horses were fitted with a leather harness and bridle while they ate. Once harnessed, the horses were hitched to a buggy or wagon to transport people or goods.
The slatted structure adjacent to . . . — Map (db m25642) HM|
|California (Kern County), Shafter — 1022 — Shafter Cotton Research Station|
|The Shafter Cotton Research Station, established here in 1922 by the U.S. Department of Agriculture, developed the "Acala" varieties which were exceptionally well suited to the San Joaquin Valley. The quality of the acala cottons and the marketing advantage of the one variety cotton district, created in 1925, resulted in premium cottons with a world-wide demand. Through the continued vision and cooperative efforts of growers and researchers, production of acala cotton became one of California's largest agricultural enterprises. — Map (db m52055) HM|
|California (Lake County), Clearlake Oaks — Ranch House|
|Considered by some to be the oldest dwelling in Lake County, the Ranch House was built in the 1850’s to 1860’s. It was associated with the earliest settlement of High Valley and beginnings of agriculture in Lake County. It is a one and one half story version of a Greek revival home. Swiss immigrants, Joachin and Anna Durst were the first known owners of the property in the 1860’s. They were among the earliest settlers in Lake County. Samuel T. Weston occupied the ranch in late 19th and early . . . — Map (db m26738) HM|
|California (Los Angeles County), Rancho Palos Verdes — Site of the First Japanese American Farm on the Palos Verdes Peninsula|
|This site was designated a Point of Historical Interest at a meeting in regular session on May 1, 1992 in Sacramento. It particularly honors Kumekichi Ishibashi, who built the first Japanese-American farmhouse in 1906. He was born in Japan and came to San Francisco in 1905. Taking odd jobs, he worked his way through great difficulties to the Palos Verdes Peninsula, saving gold coins until he could lease land. When he reached Portuguese Bend, he felt that he found the perfect area. However, the . . . — Map (db m31245) HM|
|California (Los Angeles County), San Fernando — César Chávez Memorial — March 31, 1927 - April 23, 1993|
| Panel 1:
“Show me the suffering of the most miserable
So I will know my people’s plight.”
“Free me to pray for others
For you are present in every person.”
“Help me take responsibility for my own life
So that I can be free at last.”
“Grant me courage to serve others
For in service there is true life.”
“Give me honesty and patience
So that I can work with other workers.”
“Bring forth . . . — Map (db m73575) HM|
|California (Los Angeles County), Whittier — 681 — Paradox Hybrid Walnut Tree|
|Planted in 1907 as an experiment for the
University of California. — Map (db m50978) HM|
|California (Marin County), Novato — Camilo Ynitia’s Adobe|
|A shingled shed now protects the ruins of Camilo Ynitia’s adobe home from further weather damage. Dating from the late 1830’s this structure represents a period when the Wiwok were abandoning their traditional dwellings in favor of more sheltered adobe houses.
Encouraged by his friend, Mariano Vallejo, Ynitia sought and was granted title to 8,800 acres around Olompali village by the Mexican government in 1843. In addition to raising over 600 head of cattle, he cultivated grain fields and a . . . — Map (db m12105) HM|
|California (Marin County), Novato — Galen and Mary Burdell|
|In 1852, Camilo Ynitia sold most of the Olompali land grant for $5,200 to James Black, Marin County’s Assessor. Eleven years later, Black gave the property to his daughter, Mary, when she married prominent San Francisco dentist Galem Burdell. By 1866, having amassed a small fortune from his dental practice and sales of a tooth powder he invented, Dr. Burdell and his wife left San Francisco and made their permanent home on the land they called Rancho Olompia
Within a short time, the Burdells . . . — Map (db m12169) HM|
|California (Marin County), Tomales — Warren Dutton House - Tomales Community Park|
|Warren Dutton, (1823-1903) co-founder of Tomales, came here from the gold fields in 1852, staked a claim to what is now known as Upper Town, and became partners with John Keys. Within a few years the relationship deteriorated, but the bitter rivalry between the two marked the progress of the town. The fence between the park and the field next to the Catholic Church marks the original line between Keys’ and Dutton’s properties.
In 1857 Mr. Dutton had a 14-room house built on this site, and . . . — Map (db m54784) HM|
|California (Mariposa County), Cathey's Valley — Cathey's Valley|
|[This marker is composed of several panels]
Origin of the Name of Cathey’s Valley
In 1739, the Catheys immigrated from Clones, Ireland to America. Andrew D. Cathey a native of North Carolina, his wife Mary Mariah Deaver and their seven children were the first settlers of Cathey’s Valley. Their eighth son John was believed to be the first white baby born in the valley.
By 1849, during the gold rush, Andrew, (age 45) son Daniel and son-in-law Benjamin Wills . . . — Map (db m46839) HM|
|California (Merced County), Los Banos — Henry Miller — July 21, 1827 - October 14, 1916|
| There is one description of Henry Miller, California's cattle king, that sums up his contributions to this community: Henry Miller - Founding Father of Los Banos.
Born 1827 in Brackenheim, Kingdom of Wurtemberg, Germany, Miller left the family farm at age 14 to make his way in the world. He arrived in New York City in 1847, just as California's Gold Rush was getting underway. Lured by the promise of treasure, Miller joined a myriad of others heading West, arriving in San Francisco in 1850 . . . — Map (db m41164) HM|
|California (Monterey County), King City — Wind Power|
|“The mouth of this valley opens into Monterey Bay, like a funnel, and the northwest wind from the Pacific draws up through this heated flue with terrible force. Sometimes the wind would nearly sweep us from our mules – it seemed nothing could stand its force."
William Brewer, 1860
Hot, dry afternoons are a Salinas Valley hallmark. However, it was this same wind that enabled early farmers to transform the parched earth into green fields. Windmills were used to harness the wind’s . . . — Map (db m64414) HM|
|California (Monterey County), Soledad — Cesar Chavez Park — In Commemoration and Appreciation — Dedicated on March 31, 2008|
|"Preservation of one's own culture does not require contempt or disrespect of other cultures."
Cesar E. Chavez (1927-1993)
Cesar Chavez was a Mexican American Labor leader & cofounder of the United Farm Worker (UFW). Cesar Chavez was born in Yuma, Arizona. Cesar was raised in migrant worker camps and left school after 8th grade to work in the fields. He joined the U.S. Navy from 1939-1945.
From 1952 until 1962, Chavez worked for the Community Service Organization and in 1962 . . . — Map (db m26874) HM|
|California (Napa County), Calistoga — 359 — Bale Grist Mill|
|This historic grist mill known as the “Bale Mill” was erected by Dr. E.T. Bale, Grantee Carne Humana Rancho, in 1846. The mill with its surrounding land was deeded to the Native Sons of the Golden West by Mrs. W.W. Lyman. Restored through the efforts of the Native Son Parlors of Napa County. Under the leadership of past Grand President Bismark Bruck, a grandson of Dr. Bale, and by the Historic Landmarks Committee of the Native Sons of the Golden West. The restored mill was dedicated . . . — Map (db m18672) HM|
|California (Napa County), Calistoga — 561 — Schramsberg|
|Founded in 1862 by Jacob Schram. This was the first hillside winery of the Napa Valley. Robert Louis Stevenson, visiting here in 1880, devoted a chapter of his “Silverado Squatters” to Schramsberg and its wines. Ambrose Bierce and Lilly Hitchcock Coit were other cherished friends. The original house and winery have been excellently preserved. — Map (db m52168) HM|
|California (Napa County), Napa — Cutting's Wharf|
|Francis Cutting was born in Lowell, Massachusetts in 1834 and arrived in San Francisco in 1858. After establishing himself in the fruit packing business he sought to expand operations to fruit growing as well and looked here for a wharf site and orchard land. In 1893 a wharf site and land for a road to it was acquired. From this wharf, paddled-wheeled steamboats carried fruit from Cutting’s orchards, and for a wharfage fee, the fruit of area farmers to bay area canneries. Cutting’s operations . . . — Map (db m54605) HM|
|California (Napa County), St. Helena — 814 — Beringer Brothers Winery|
|Built by Frederick and Jacob Beringer, natives of Mainz, Germany. This winery has the unique distinction of never having ceased operations since its founding in 1876. Here, in the European tradition, were dug underground wine tunnels hundreds of feet in length. These maintain a constant temperature of 58 degrees. A factor considered necessary in the maturing and aging of fine wines.
California Registered Historical Landmark No.814
Plaque placed by the State Department of Parks and Recreation . . . — Map (db m18734) HM|
|California (Napa County), St. Helena — Cesare Mondavi 1883 – 1959|
|Cesare Mondavi, an Italian immigrant, settled first in Minnesota in 1908. After a brief career in the iron mines, he opened a saloon. In 1922 he moved his family to California’s Central Valley, where he became an independent fruit shipper, sending wine grapes to his former saloon customers, Italian-born wine makers. In 1943 he purchased Charles Krug Winery for $75,000. He and his sons, Peter and Robert parted ways, with Peter remaining at Charles Krug. Today, Peter and his sons, Marc and Peter, . . . — Map (db m18701) HM|
|California (Napa County), St. Helena — Charles Krug 1825 - 1892|
|Charles Krug, a Prussian immigrant with controversial political beliefs for which he was briefly jailed, finally arrived in San Francisco in 1852. He likely came with no grape-growing or winemaking experience, but his insight, thirst, and inherent understanding that premium wines are made from European grape varieties inspired him to take the lead in advances in winemaking. Innovations such as using a cider press to efficiently crush the grapes, planting insect-resistant rootstock, and . . . — Map (db m54535) HM|
|California (Napa County), St. Helena — 563 — Charles Krug Winery|
|Founded in 1861 by Charles Krug (1825 – 1892). This is the oldest operating winery in Napa Valley. The pioneer wine maker of this world famous wine region, Krug made the first commercial wine in Napa County in 1858, at Napa. — Map (db m18693) HM|
|California (Napa County), St. Helena — Larkmead Winery / Kornell Cellars|
|Felix Salmina arrived from Switzerland in the 1860’s and in 1892 purchased this winery that had been established in 1884 by Lillian Hitchcock Coit. Felix converted the winery into a larger facility using stone quarried from nearby hills and expanded the vineyards. Initially grapes sold for $5.00 per ton and wine for 5 cents a gallon. After prohibition, Larkmead developed a reputation as “one of the outstanding wine processing plants” in the Napa Valley. It was here that Hans Kornell . . . — Map (db m18601) HM|
|California (Napa County), St. Helena — Nichelini Vineyard|
|Placed to commemorate the founding of the Nichelini Winery in 1890 by Anton Nichelini. Here on the southern slope of Sage Canyon he and his wife Caterina built their home and winery and raised twelve children. Ownership passed to eldest son, William, in 1937 and to his son James Edward, in 1963. James was winemaker, owner, and operator until his death, April 22, 1985.
Jo-Anne Nichelini Meyer, James' daughter, carries on the family tradition for the fourth generation. — Map (db m54839) HM|
|California (Orange County), Anaheim — Helena Modjeska|
|This statue is the oldest public works of art project of its type in Orange County. Sponsored by the State Emergency Relief Administration, the Anaheim Rotary Club and the City of Anaheim, it was originally dedicated on September 15, 1935.
Depicted is Polish actress Madame Helena Modjeska, who established an artist's colony in Anaheim in 1876. On the reverse side are four vineyard workers representing the agricultural nature of the original Anaheim colony. — Map (db m51967) HM|
|California (Orange County), Anaheim — 201 — Mother Colony House|
|First house built in Anaheim, 1857, by George Hanson, founder "The Mother Colony", group selecting name given settlement. This German group left San Francisco to form grape growing colony. Southern California Vineyards became largest in California until destroyed, 1885, by grape disease. Colony started producing Valencia oranges. Here once resided Madame Helena Modjeska, and Henry Sienkiewicz, author of "Quo Vadis". — Map (db m50119) HM|
|California (Orange County), Fountain Valley — 18 — Callens Home|
|Rene and Virginie Callens came here in 1910. He developed and farmed 60 acres. Present home of son Joseph R. Callens and family. — Map (db m59757) HM|
|California (Orange County), Fountain Valley — 20 — Gisler Home|
|Robert and Anna Gisler came here in 1903. On 220 acres, he started a dairy herd, cleared the land, and then farmed it. A home was built near here in 1912. — Map (db m59758) HM|
|California (Orange County), Fountain Valley — 28 — Rancho Lucero|
|In 1944, Frank and Dolores Lucero purchased 40 acres at this intersection. They previously farmed in Seal Beach. Dolores didn't want to leave the house so it was moved to this location while Dolores and a few kids were inside. — Map (db m59554) HM|
|California (Orange County), Fountain Valley — 19 — Talbert Drainage District|
|Local landowners gave Sam Talbert the job of draining "Gospel Swamp." He built a river levee, and dredged huge ditches on the east side of all major roads that ran south to the ocean. — Map (db m59489) HM|
|California (Orange County), Fountain Valley — 10 — Talbert Home|
|Sam and Hattie Talbert came here in 1897. He built a river levee and huge ditches so that the land would drain to permit regular farming. — Map (db m59740) HM|
|California (Orange County), Fountain Valley — 8 — The Bluff|
|Site of home of Roch and Magdalena Courreges who came here in 1878. He farmed 80 acres of bluff and lower land. Present Home of grandson, Joe and his Family. — Map (db m59058) HM|
|California (Orange County), Westminster — Warne Family Barn|
|John H. and Sarah McGarvin Warne
Sons: John, Henry and Thomas
Built 1915 - S.E. Corner, Bolsa at Bushard
Donated to Westminster Historical Society - 1989
Relocated to 8612 Westminster Blvd., Westminster, California — Map (db m59908) HM|
|California (Orange County), Yorba Linda — 40 — Irrigation in Orange County|
|Water from the Santa Ana River was largely responsible for the transformation of this arid valley into productive agricultural land. Irrigation companies in Orange County were in operation as early as the 1860s. The two largest were the Santa Ana Valley Irrigation Company and the Anaheim Union Water Company, operating into the 1970s. This headgate was used by the SAVI to divert water from canal to orchard. — Map (db m59529) HM|
|California (Placer County), Auburn — Claude Chana|
|Adventurer and first fruit rancher in Placer County. In 1848 he found gold in the Auburn Ravine, which led to the settlement of a mining camp that later became Auburn.
Lord Sholto Douglas Ch. 3
E Clampus Vitus
1975. — Map (db m686) HM|
|California (Placer County), Auburn — Travelers’ Rest (Bernhard Complex)|
|Travelers’ Rest Stage Roadhouse constructed 1851. Benjamin Bernhard, native of Hesse-Cassel, Germany, arrived Auburn 1852, purchased surrounding 30 acres 1868. Developed high level vineyard and orchard cultivation and pioneered experimental silkworm production. Some 17,000 vines produced wine and brandy of quality. Stone wine cellar constructed 1874, blacksmith shop 1881. Bernhard died 1902, winery closed 1905. Premises restored by local citizens under direction of Placer Historical Museum . . . — Map (db m690) HM|
|California (Plumas County), Beckwourth — Sierra Valley History|
| This marker is made up of four panels. They are presented left to right.
Agriculture in Sierra Valley
A few years after James Beckwourth settled on what he called the War Horse Ranch just west of here in 1852, more ranches and farms were established throughout the Sierra Valley. By the following decade, these ranches were supplying significant amounts of beef and dairy products to the mines of Plumas and Sierra counties, as well as the Comstock Lode in Nevada. After the valley . . . — Map (db m66179) HM|
|California (Plumas County), Chester — Baccala Ranch|
|Baccala Ranch located here in Soldier Meadows was homesteaded in 1858 by Baptiste Baccala. A dairy where butter and cheese were produced from 1882 – 1915, and the ranch, are still intact and owned by the Italian – Swiss Family Baccala. — Map (db m66115) HM|
|California (Plumas County), Chester — Stump Ranch|
|Stump Ranch, a stage stop on the Red Bluff – Susanville Wagon Road, was also the road’s caretaker. It may have changed hands in an 1890’s poker game. The name arose after 1880’s logging left a field of stumps. So it could be recorded as swamp land in 1869, surveyors worked from a horse drawn wooden boat. J.C. Tyler, the road’s agent, charged tolls: $1 for a horseman, $10 per 8 horse hitch, 16¢ per head of cattle and 10¢ for sheep and hogs. The road and ranch have seen many a cowboy, . . . — Map (db m56746) HM|
|California (Plumas County), Cromberg — Jackson, Ross, Tefft and Dempsey Memorial|
|Dedicated to the Memory of
General Jackson, a ‘49er, after whom Jackson Peak and Jackson Creek were named, and first owner of the Haddick Ranch. Also, Ephiram Ross and L.V. Tefft, later owners of the Tefft Ranch, now the Haddrick Ranch.
Also, James Dempsey, who drove stage when the stage road went through the ranch at this point. — Map (db m56613) HM|
|California (Plumas County), East Shore — Hamilton Dairy|
|The Hamilton Dairy opened in Big Meadows in 1860. In 1910 Canyon Dam was built, then filled in 1914, creating Lake Almanor. This milkhouse was then moved here out of the meadows above lake level. The Hamilton and Holmes families used the milk to produce butter sold in Chico. The present owner of this property is Jennifer Davis Cesarin, who is the great, great, great granddaughter of Joseph Zumwalt, founder of E Clampus Vitus. — Map (db m66080) HM|
|California (Plumas County), Meadow Valley — CHL 481 — Spanish Ranch|
|Named for two Mexicans who began a horse ranch here in 1850. — Map (db m56550) HM|
|California (Riverside County), Blythe — 948 — Blythe Intake|
|On July 17, 1877, Thomas Blythe, a San Francisco financier, filed the first legal claim for Colorado River water rights. Oliver Callaway planned a diversion dam and canal which opened in 1877 to irrigate the Palo Verde Valley. This made possible the settlement and development of the valley. — Map (db m50678) HM|
|California (Riverside County), Blythe — Palo Verde Irrigation District Diversion Dam — 1957 – 2007|
|Dedicated to the many pioneers that recognized the potential and value to our Valley of a gravity irrigation system, and the sacrifices made obtaining it.
In particular, to honor the following three persons, whose contributions uniquely contributed to the construction of our Dam, and to the early development of the Palo Verde Valley:
O.P. Calloway (1820-1880)
The adventurer-explorer who had the original vision of a vibrant Palo Verde Valley, fed by the waters of the Colorado . . . — Map (db m39444) HM|
|California (Riverside County), Fontana — 93 — Fontana Farms Company — Camp No. 1, Foreman's Ranch House — In Operation, 1905-1941|
|Joe McKamie alerted Fontana Historical Society about Camp. Ora Scott provided interest free loan of $10,000 and City of Fontana gave down payment of $3,000 to save house. Society acquired ownership title to house on November 22, 1978. Restoration performed thru donations and federal block grants from 1977 to 1980.
National Register of Historic Places & Monuments
November 1, 1982
State of California Point of Historical Interest
No. SBR-093, 6-9-82 — Map (db m50717) HM|
|California (Riverside County), Mira Loma — 66 — Galleano Winery|
|The Galleano Winery is the oldest winemaking operation in Riverside County. In 1927 Domenico Galleano pruchased the ranch from Col. Esteban Cantu, Governor of Baja California (1915-1920), including this house which dates from the 1890s. The barn, one of the last remainig examples of local barn raising, dates from the early 1900s. In 1933 Galleano, a winegrower from Italy, founded the winery following the repeal of prohibition. This family winery, at one time part of the 35,000-acre Cucamonga . . . — Map (db m50714) HM|
|California (Riverside County), Riverside — 943 — Jensen-Alvarado Ranch|
|Danish sea captain Cornelius Jensen sailed to San Francisco during the Gold Rush to sell his cargo. In 1854 he settled in Agua Mansa, established a store, and married Mercedes Alvarado, a descendant of a pioneer Californio family. The Jensens purchased this ranch in 1865 and began planting vineyards and orchards. They used local materials to build their house which is of Danish vernacular design. The Jensens made this ranch an important civic, social, business and agricultural center. — Map (db m50685) HM|
|California (Riverside County), Riverside — 20 — Parent Washington Navel Orange Tree|
Mrs. Eliza Tibbets,
and to commend her good work
in planting at Riverside in 1873
The First Washington
Navel Orange Trees
native to Bahia Brazil,
proved the most valuable
fruit introduction yet made by
the United States Department
of Agriculture — Map (db m50991) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Folsom — Leidesdorff Plaza|
|Dedicated to the memory of
WILLIAM ALEXANDER LEIDESDORFF
Early California pioneer, civic
leader, merchant, trader, and
owner of 35,000 acre rancho
“Rio de los Americanos” in the
Born 1810 in Danish West Indies
of Negro and Danish parents
Died 1848 in San Francisco — Map (db m15617) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Folsom — Natomas Consolidated of California|
|Natomas Company activities started in this area in 1857 with the acquisition of 9,000 acres from the Joseph L. Folsom estate.
Early partners engaged in water, granite quarrying, agriculture, vineyards, gold mining, hydro-electric power and helped build Folsom Prison and historic Folsom Powerhouse. After 1900, Natomas began gold dredging operations. Estimates are that one hundred million dollars in gold were taken from this Folsom field. The last of seven working dredgers was dismantled in . . . — Map (db m705) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Folsom — 633 — Original Folsom Hydroelectric Plant|
|In the 1850's, Horatio Gates Livermore and later his sons, Horatio P. and Charles E. pioneered the development of ditches and dams on the American River for industry and agriculture. One historic result was Folsom Power House, which began operations in July 1895. Power was delivered to Sacramento at 11,000 volts, which was a new achievement in long distance high voltage transmission. The capital celebrated by a grand electric carnival September 9, 1895.
The original generating plant, . . . — Map (db m706) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Rancho Cordova — American River Grange #172|
Organized March 1874
Dedicated October 1882
Presented by Native Daughters of the Golden West
San Juan Parol #315
Rededicated 5-15-98 — Map (db m2033) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — Blue Diamond Building|
|This building, the former California Packing Corporation Plant #11, was added to the NATIONAL REGISTER OF HISTORIC PLACES in 1984 for its architecture and its place in California’s agriculture history.
It was one of the last operating canneries in the City of Sacramento the canning center of the West in the early 1900’s. About the same time, California Almond Growers Exchange began building what was to become the world’s largest almond processing and marketing organization at 18th and C . . . — Map (db m11865) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — 967 — California Almond Growers Exchange — Almond Processing Facility|
|The California Almond Growers Exchange founded in 1910, was first successful grower-owned co-operative for marketing California almonds. It pioneered in many fields, including almond production, mechanization and marketing. The first structure on this property was built in 1915 and was designed to mechanize almond processing. This shelling plant was one of the earliest structures of its type, and contained the world’s first mechanical cracker. — Map (db m11862) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — Frasinetti’s Winery|
|James Frasinetti, an Italian immigrant, founded this winery in 1897. Frasinetti’s is the oldest family owned and operated wine producer in the Sacramento Valley. At its peak, the winery had over 400 acres of grapes.
Today, grapes have disappeared from this area and the winery is back to the original six acres. This winery produces varietal wines that combine old world traditions with the improved methods of today.
New Helvetia Chapter #5
E Clampus Vitus
NGH Jesse Salinas
February 17, 2007 — Map (db m19410) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — New England Seed Store|
|On this site stood the store of James L. L. Warren, an influential center of agriculture during the Gold Rush. Here at the New England Seed Store, the camellia was first introduced into California in February, 1852
Official Flower of the City and County of Sacramento — Map (db m11193) HM|
|California (San Bernardino County), Fontana — 950 — Site of U.S. Rabbit Experimental Station|
|In March 1928, the Federal Government established the first and only experimental station in the United States devoted solely to research on the breeding and raising of rabbits on a five-acre property donated by A. B. Miller of Fontana. The station successfully pioneered new techniques of rabbit care and breeding until 1965 when the City of Fontana acquired the property for use as a senior citizens facility. — Map (db m50670) HM|
|California (San Bernardino County), Hesperia — 1 — Las Flores Ranch / Mojave Trail|
| [This is a four sided monument with four different markers:]
Las Flores Ranch
Near this spot on March 25, 1866, Edwin Parrish, Nephi Bemis and Pratt Whiteside, young cowboys employed on this ranch, were ambushed, killed and mutiliated by Piute Indians, who then burned several ranch buildings and fled down the Mojave River to the rocky narrows below Victorville.
At or near this place was once located a Vanyume Indian village called . . . — Map (db m50609) HM|
|California (San Bernardino County), Hesperia — Las Flores Ranch Barn|
|Largest old barn in Southern California. Erected in 1872 by ranch owners, Amos P. Houlton and James F. Houghton, with lumber cut and transported from Sawpit Canyon by oxen. — Map (db m50649) HM|
|California (San Bernardino County), Loma Linda — 95 — Guachama Rancheria|
|"Guachama Rancheria, lying along this road, was named San Bernardino May 20, 1810, by Francisco Dumetz. In 1819 it became the San Bernardino Rancho of Mission San Gabriel. The adobe administration building stood about 70 yds. north of this spot, an enramada serving as chapel. The Zanja was constructed to convey water from the mountains for irrigation. Control by mission fathers ended in 1834." — Map (db m51015) HM|
|California (San Bernardino County), Trona — Austin Hall|
|Austin Hall, the much loved focal point of the Trona community, once stood on this site. Built in 1912 the unique structure, with its one-foot thick concrete walls, boasted 45 arches on three sides, the building provided a cooling shelter from the blazing heat with its patio center and oleander trees. Early employees were housed and fed in its spacious rooms and eventually all the town’s businesses were housed here. The patio became an open-air theatre with adjoining pool hall, a barber shop, . . . — Map (db m51859) HM|
|California (San Diego County), Carlsbad — Agua Hedionda Lagoon|
|Why is it endangered?
The lagoon before you, Agua Hedionda, is one of the few remaining coastal wetlands along the Southern California coastline. All of the lagoons are threatened by the pressures of development, agriculture, and industry.
Imprints of the past
8,000 BC Traces of the earliest people inhabiting the area are left behind.
1769 AD The Spanish expedition of Don Gaspar de Portola arrives along the shores of Agua Hedionda . . . — Map (db m71190) HM|
|California (San Diego County), Julian — 412 — Julian|
|Following the discovery of gold nearby during the winter of 1869-70, this valley became the commercial and social center of a thriving mining district. Ex-Confederate soldier Drury D. Baily laid out the town on his farmland and named it for his cousin and fellow native of Georgia, Michael S. Julian. By 1906 most mines were unprofitable. Since then the area as become more famous for the variety and quality of its apple crop. — Map (db m51089) HM|
|California (San Diego County), Oceanside — Walled Garden — Mission San Luis Rey|
The Mission grew a wide variety of fruits, vegetables, and grains in a number of vast gardens for the use of their community. This garden, located west of the Mission, was walled with adobe bricks to protect it from grazing cattle, and possibly to provide a warmer microclimate for its crops. Grapes, an especially important fruit crop made into acclaimed sacramental wines and bradies, may have been grown here.
The garden wall extended along what . . . — Map (db m63512) HM|
|California (San Diego County), Poway — 5 — DJ Ranch Formerly: Kent Farm — Built - 1900|
|Original home and peach orchards of Walter Kent and Family. Purchased by present owners in 1963. Became horse and cattle ranch known as DJ Ranch. — Map (db m74698) HM|
|California (San Diego County), Poway — 4 — Flint Farm — Built -1882|
|Constructed by fruit farmer Horace Kent and son Lewis. Family grew peaches, grapes and other fruits. Home was given to daughter Mary. Farm was willed to her husband, Ed Flint. — Map (db m74242) HM|
|California (San Diego County), San Diego — 74 — Casa de Carrillo|
|Presidio Comandante Francisco Maria Ruiz built this house next to his 1808 pear garden late in 1821 for his close relative and fellow soldier, Joaquin Carrillo, and his large family. From this adobe dwelling, in April 1829, daughter Josefa Carrillo eloped to Chile with Henry Delano Fitch. When Ruiz died in 1839 and Joaquin soon afterwards, son Ramon Carrillo sold this property to Lorenzo Soto. It was transferred several times before 1932, deteriorating gradually, until George Marston and . . . — Map (db m51082) HM|
|California (San Francisco City and County), San Francisco — 861 — Site of First California State Fair|
|California’s first state fair was held on this site on October 4, 1854. Sponsored by the California State Agricultural Society, the exhibition of “horses, cattle, mules and other stock, and agricultural, mechanical and domestic manufacture and productions” promoted the new state’s growing agricultural industry. A different city held the fair each year, until Sacramento became the permanent location in 1861.
California Registered Historical Landmark No. 861.
Plaque placed by . . . — Map (db m637) HM|
|California (San Joaquin County), Lathrop — 437 — The Comet – 1846 – First Sail Launch|
|First known sail launch to ascend San Joaquin River from San Francisco landed here autumn 1846. Carried 20 Mormon pioneers who founded New Hope agricultural project on the Stanislaus. Yoke of oxen and span of mules driven from Marsh’s Landing (Antioch) by two men who followed crude map drawn by Merritt the trapper. Two years later Doak and Bonsell operated here the first ferry on the San Joaquin River. — Map (db m11385) HM|
|California (San Joaquin County), Ripon — 436 — New Hope – 1846 — First Wheat|
|Approximately six miles west, 20 Mormon pioneers from ship Brooklyn founded first known agricultural colony in San Joaquin Valley. Planting first wheat; also crops they irrigated by the pole and bucket method. Erected three log houses, operated sawmill and ferry across Stanislaus. Settlement later known as Stanislaus City.
STATE REGISTERED HISTORICAL LANDMARK No. 436
Tablet placed by California Centennials Commission
Base furnished by Alameda County Camps,
Daughters Utah Pioneers . . . — Map (db m19516) HM|
|California (San Luis Obispo County), Harmony — The Town of Harmony|
| ....grew up around a dairy, founded in 1869. Until 1907 the creamery changed hands several times. In these early days rivalries and feuding among the dairy farmers caused chaos in the valley. After one shooting death a truce was called. All agreed to live henceforth in harmony, and from this the name of the towne was derived.
In 1907 M.D. Salmina established the Harmony Valley Cooperative Dairy. The town of Harmony prospered with this business. In its heyday the village boasted a large . . . — Map (db m68508) HM|
|California (San Luis Obispo County), San Luis Obispo — 720 — Dallidet Adobe|
|This was the home of Pierre Hyppolite Dallidet, a native of France, who settled in San Luis Obispo in 1853 and became a vineyardist. His son, Paul Dallidet, gave it to the San Luis Obispo County Historical Society in 1953, in memory of the Dallidet family that had occupied it for a century. — Map (db m27561) HM|
|California (San Luis Obispo County), San Miguel — Mission Fields|
|On Aug. 27, 1795, Padre Buenaventura Sitjar reported to Padre Fermin de Lasuen, Presidente of the California Missions, that the low land on both sides of the river at the proposed site of Mission San Miguel was sufficient to grow 300 fanegas of wheat. After the founding of the mission on July 25, 1797, this tract became one of the first wheat fields in California. 4700 bushels of wheat were harvested in 1800. This tract lies east of the mission. — Map (db m64681) HM|
|California (San Mateo County), Redwood City — Solari Family Windmill|
|This windmill was built in the 1880’s on the Solari farm, located at Whipple Avenue and Old County Road in Redwood City.
It was move in the 1930’s to the new family farm located on Manzanita Street near Middlefield Road and the railroad tracks, two blocks east of its present day location. It was again moved in 1990 as the property had been sold. To save the windmill from being demolished, it was disassembled and reconstructed on the grounds of the Garfield School and later disassembled . . . — Map (db m62671) HM|
|California (San Mateo County), Redwood City — Solari Windmill|
|This reconstructed windmill was originally built in the 1890's on the George Solari family farm which was located near Whipple Avenue and Old County Road in Redwood City. When the area was subdivided in the 1930's, the windmill was moved to the new family farm located near Woodside Road and Middlefield Road.
In 1990, the windmill was relocated to Garfield School as part of a new agricultural program. In order to save the windmill from demolition, Jean Cloud and Jeri Joseph-Hover encouraged . . . — Map (db m25570) HM|
|California (Santa Clara County), Campbell — Agricultural Heritage Plaques|
|The Agricultural Heritage Plaques located throughout Historic Downtown Campbell were installed in 1992 as part of the Downtown Streetscape Project. The fruits and blossoms commemorating Campbell’s agricultural heritage were selected as most representative of the community’s orchard past from among dozens of agricultural products that were grown during the early years of Campbell’s development. — Map (db m24742) HM|
|California (Santa Clara County), Campbell — Ainsley House|
|This Property Has Been
Placed on the
By the United States
Department of the Interior
John Colpitts Ainsley, an Englishman, immigrated to California in 1886 and made his fortune in the canning of fresh fruit, which was almost exclusively exported to England. In 1925, he and his wife, Alcinda, built this retirement home in the English Tudor style.
The house is both a symbol of his success and a time capsule of the 1920s. The house and most . . . — Map (db m24136) HM|
|California (Santa Clara County), Gilroy — Bonesio Winery|
|This land was originally part of the El Rancho Solis granted in 1828. The main home is one of the oldest wooden structures in the county. Part of the present residence dates back to 1833 and the redwood timbers were hauled from Mt. Madonna for its construction. Vineyards were in production here prior to 1887 and for three generations the Bonesio family produced wines under the Uvas label. The winery was sold in 1976. — Map (db m54056) HM|
|California (Santa Clara County), Gilroy — Franklin Family Ranch — Santa Clara County Historical Site|
|Bernard and Mabel Franklin moved to this property after its purchase in 1895. The home at this location had been built approximately 20 years prior, from Mt. Madonna Redwood. It has been home to four generations of Franklins. Bernard helped build Rucker School in 1895. This was the beginning of the "Rucker Township" which hosted a post office and a train depot. Bernard and Mabel had two sons, William and Robert, who worked with their father to establish a prune growing and dehydration business . . . — Map (db m54059) HM|
|California (Santa Clara County), Los Gatos — 458 — Forbes Flour Mill|
| This is all that remains of the four-story stone flour mill built in 1854 by James Alexander Forbes. The town that grew around this building was first called Forbes Mill, then Forbestown, and finally Los Gatos. — Map (db m3295) HM|
|California (Santa Clara County), Morgan Hill — The Granary — Our History|
What is a Granary?
A granary is a storage facility for grains. Granaries have been built from ancient times, with the oldest granaries dating back to 9500BC! Originally, they were carved into the ground or rock, or made of clay. Modern granaries were invented in the late 19th century with the invention of the silo. Today, the world’s tallest silos are almost 400 feet tall!
The Isaacson Granary
The Isaacson Granary provided feed to the many cattle ranchers . . . — Map (db m46725) HM|
|California (Santa Clara County), Mountain View — The Spirit of the Times — Wild Marshes, Handy Scows & Mr. Henry Rengstorff|
|The Victorian Beauty
The 16 room house that Henry Rengstorff built in 1867 is a fine example of the Bay Area’s late Victorian Italianate architecture. The facade of the house is symmetrical, with the central entrance defined by a pillared portico and large pediments. It is flanked by bay windows decorated with balustrades, which are echoed by those on the second flour (sic) and on the “widow’s walk” on the roof. One of the most magnificent houses in Mountain View, it was . . . — Map (db m69151) HM|
|California (Santa Clara County), Palo Alto — 524 — Site of Juana Briones de Miranda Home on Rancho La Purisima Concepcion|
|In 1844 Juana de Briones de Miranda, a pioneer Latina property owner, businesswoman and humanitarian, purchased the 4,439 acre Rancho La Purisima Concepcion from Indian grantee Jose Gorgornio. The grant extended two miles south, encompassing Foothill College and most of Los Altos Hills. The site of the home that was constructed of earth inside a wooden crib is located up this street at 4155 Old Adobe Road. In addition to raising her seven children, Juana managed a large cattle ranch and was a noted curandera. — Map (db m54016) HM|
|California (Santa Clara County), San Jose — 9 — Farmers Union Building|
|The Farmers Union Corporation, established in this building in 1874, was once indispensible to San Jose’s farming community. It served as an agricultural cooperative and bank and throughout the late 19th and early 20th centuries was the chief general merchandiser to rural Santa Clara County. The hardware store weathered the Depression by expanding it scope, selling "everything for the home, garden and farm." In 1961, with the waning of agriculture in the valley, Farmers Union President John P. . . . — Map (db m52658) HM|
|California (Santa Clara County), San Jose — 945 — First Honeybees in California|
|Here, on the 1,939-acre Rancho Potrero de Santa Clara, Christopher A. Shelton in early March 1853 introduced the honeybee to California. In Aspinwall, Panama, Shelton purchased 12 beehives from a New Yorker and transported them by rail, “Bongo” pack mule, and steamship to San Francisco. Only enough bees survived to fill one hive, but these quickly propagated, laying the foundation for California’s modern beekeeping industry. — Map (db m3627) HM|
|California (Santa Clara County), San Jose — 15 — Pellier Park|
|Pellier Park is all that remains of the City Gardens Nursery, established by Louis Pellier in 1850. Here with, his brothers, Pierre and Jean, Louis introduced “la petite D’Agen,” the French Prune, during the winter of 1856-1857. I was this variety that became the mainstay of the California prune industry – the backbone of San Jose’s economy for more than 70 years. — Map (db m52613) HM|
|California (Santa Clara County), San Jose — Pellier Park — Site of Historic City Gardens Nursery|
[This markers in composed of three photographs with captions. Reading from left to right:]
San Jose City Gardens Nursery
People traveled far and wide to visit Louis Pellier’s City Gardens Nursery and purchase orchard and vineyard fruit varieties from Europe.
Louis Pellier is credited with the introducing la petite prune d’Agen, the little French prune to the Valley of Heart’s Delight. This fruit make Santa Clara County the largest fruit producing and . . . — Map (db m52614) HM|
|California (Santa Clara County), San Jose — Remembering Agriculture|
| [The Remembering Agriculture marker is composed of seven panels.]
Creation itself seemed to plan a garden where you now stand. This place came to be called “Valley of Heart’s Delight” because of its mild climate, rich soil, and abundant orchards nurtured by the work of many hands.
San Jose was born from agriculture in 1777 when Spanish soldiers and padres picked the site to grow food. Cattle raised on the large ranchos were the . . . — Map (db m52670) HM|
|California (Santa Clara County), San Jose — Rockin’ M Ranch|
|“Following indigenous American Indian occupation, this land was part of Spain and then Mexico. Under Mexican rule it was known as Rancho Yerba Buena de Socayre, a land grant deeded to Antonio Chaboya in 1833. It was the site of the historic Evergreen wagon stop and trading post. A long tradition of ranching took place here, as the property changed hands; Renaud Ranch, William Frederick Ranch, H.W. Golds Ranch, John Aborn Ranch, and John Prusch Ranch. This was the homestead of Emma Prusch . . . — Map (db m54663) HM|
|California (Santa Clara County), San Jose — Stevens Ranch Fruit Barn|
|Around 1890, Orvis Stevens built this fruit barn to store fruit. He was one of the first orchardists in Coyote Valley, located in South San José. Born in Vermont, Stevens came to California in 1852 to try his hand at mining before settling in the Santa Clara Valley. In 1868, he purchased 108 acres of Rancho Laguna Seca and began working the land. His sons took over the Ranch in 1906.
By the 1970s the 101 Freeway was being planned, and it was determined that the Stevens Ranch was in the . . . — Map (db m52139) HM|
|California (Santa Clara County), San Jose — The Umbarger House — Late Nineteenth Century Homelife in a San José Farmhouse|
|In 1851 David Umbarger, a “forty-niner” from West Virginia, bought 136.5 acres in the Santa Clara Valley. Umbarger built this house on his homestead in the 1870s.
Like many ex-miners who remained in California, Umbarger started farming in order to make a living. He dedicated his land to wheat and grain production.
After Umbarger died in 1891, his land was divided and sold. The house remained on a six and one-half acre lot which changed owners several times. The Umbarger . . . — Map (db m52178) HM|
|California (Santa Clara County), San Jose — The Zanker House|
|The Zanker House is a mid-19th Century example of an informal Victorian Italianate farmhouse. The house, built of California redwood, was originally located north of the Alviso-Milpitas Road on the west side of Zanker Road.
The outhouse is the Zanker family outhouse. This two-holer, c. 1906, is constructed of redwood siding and was located at the back of the house.
F. William (1833-1909) and Catherine (Walter) Zanker (1838-1919) moved into the house they built in 1868. Additions to . . . — Map (db m52180) HM|
|California (Santa Clara County), San Jose — Yasunaga Produce and Transfer Company|
|Occupying the entire south side of Taylor Street between 5th and 6th was a truck transfer company owned by Mr. K. Yasunage. Farmers had to sell their produce in San Francisco and Oakland markets and needed someone to transport the produce. Most farmers had Mr. Yasunaga’s trucks come to their farm to pick up the produce and take it to the market. Once in a while, if the farmer had a truck, they would bring the produce to the truck transfer company yard so it can be carried to the market.
Dr. Tokio Ishikawa — Map (db m52493) HM|
|California (Santa Clara County), Santa Clara — 904 — Charles Copeland Morse Residence|
|“The house that seeds built” was constructed in 1892 by Charles Copeland Morse, co-founder of one of the largest vegetable and flower seed companies in the world, the Ferry-Morse Seed Company. This outstanding Queen Anne residence is the most elaborate remaining Victorian structure in the City of Santa Clara. — Map (db m52857) HM|
|California (Santa Clara County), Santa Clara — The Walnut Growers Association|
|This is the site of the former Santa Clara Walnut Growers Association. The main plant was constructed here in late 1926/1927 on land purchased from the Town of Santa Clara. Hard shell walnuts in the state of California can be dated as early as 1854. By the 1870’s fruit and nut orchards had begun to replace grain crops in the surrounding region. The Walnut Growers Association was formed in 1920 with 100 members. By 1943 the association numbered 1,300 growers who would bring truckloads of nuts to . . . — Map (db m54027) HM|
|California (Santa Clara County), Saratoga — Garrod Farms|
|Established November 13, 1893
Garrad Farms was founded by David Garrod with the purchase of sixty-five acres. For over seventy years the family run farm was active in fruit production. In the following years the farm has been devoted to equestrian sports and vineyards. — Map (db m41493) HM|
|California (Santa Cruz County), Scotts Valley — Charles Martin Winery|
|This site was built around 1880 as a brandy aging barn for the Charles Martin Winery. Later it became a saloon with a small general store next door. — Map (db m62766) HM|
|California (Santa Cruz County), Watsonville — The Apple Annual — Main Street in the Early 1900s|
|The Apple Annual was held in downtown Watsonville from 1910 to 1913. For the first event in 1910, William H. Weeks, renowned Watsonville architect, designed a pavilion to house the show exhibits which was located on Second Street, now the site of the Fire Station. Included in the week-long festivities were box-making contests, band concerts, vaudeville attractions, speeches, and parades with horns, bells, and confetti. The first apple show was a huge success with some 30,000 people attending . . . — Map (db m54881) HM|
|California (Santa Cruz County), Watsonville — Where Strawberries are Sweeter — Bienvenido! Welcome! — Mural by Alvaro 6/96|
|Watsonville, where strawberries are sweeter, apples are crisper and produce plentiful, is a friendly place of diverse people who share a strong sense of community and optimism.
Don Sebastian Rodriquez owned the grant, Bolsa de Pajaro, on which the city of Watsonville now rests. Watsonville was settled in 1852, incorporated in 1868 and came under charter in 1903. The city was named after Judge John H. Watson who lived in the area from 1851 to 1862.
Just as workers cultivate the land . . . — Map (db m54880) HM|
|California (Shasta County), Shasta — Coyle-Foster Barn|
|This barn was built in the late 1850’s by Thomas and Mary Coyle. It originally stood in the old Trinity Center and, for a time, was used to shelter guest’s horses at the Holland House Hotel on the road to Oregon. In 1859, when flooding of old Trinity Center was imminent with the building of Trinity Dam, the owner of the barn, William Foster Jr., donated it to the state.
The barn was carefully dismantled and reassembled on this site. Note the long single-piece beams and mortise and tenon joints secured with wooden pegs. — Map (db m70581) HM|
|California (Shasta County), Shasta — The Coyle-Foster Barn in its Heyday|
|A Traditional American Barn
This barn was built in the late 1850s by Thomas and Mary Coyle. It originally stood in the old Trinity Center and was used to shelter horses at the Holland House Hotel, on the road to Oregon.
Rescued From Destruction
In 1959, when flooding of old Trinity Center was imminent with the building of Trinity Dam, the owner of the barn, William Foster, Jr., donated it to the state. The barn was carefully dismantled and reassembled on this site. Go . . . — Map (db m70580) HM|
|California (Sierra County), Calpine — Sierra Valley History|
|Sierra Valley was discovered in 1851 by James P. Beckwourth, a mountain man and entrepreneur who was searching for a northern route across the Sierra Nevada. The valley had been sighted a year earlier by prospectors exploring the nearby Sierra Buttes; however, Beckwourth was the first non-Indian to enter the valley.
Sierra Valley’s history revolved around its abundant natural resources. During the California gold rush Sierra Valley produced hay for livestock in Downieville, Sierra City and . . . — Map (db m65990) HM|
|California (Solano County), Winters — 804 — Wolfskill Grant — University of California Experimental Farm|
|In 1842 John R. Wolfskill arrived here loaded with fruit seeds and cuttings. He was a true horticulturist and became the father of the fruit industry in this region. In 1937 Mrs. Frances Wolfskill Taylor Wilson, his daughter, bequeathed 107.28 acres to the University of California for an experimental farm. From this portion of Rancho Rio de los Putos the University's research has since enriched the state's horticultural industry.
California Registered Historical Landmark No. 804
Plaque . . . — Map (db m40132) HM|
|California (Sonoma County), Healdsburg — 893 — Walters Ranch Hop Kiln|
|This structure served the important hop industry of California’s North Coast Region, once the major hop-growing area in the west. Built in 1905 by a crew of Italian stonemasons, it represents the finest existing example of its type, consisting of three stone kilns for drying hops, a wooden cooler, and a two-story press for baling hops for shipment.
California Registered Historical Landmark No. 893 — Map (db m10352) HM|
|California (Sonoma County), Jenner — The Call Family Residence — 1878 - 1972|
|George Washington Call (1829-1907) and his Chilean wife, Mercedes Leiva (1850-1933), bought 2,500 acres including Fort Ross in 1873. While maintaining a house in San Francisco, the family developed a dairy ranch and expanded the transport of local goods by sea. The Calls built this residence in 1878, as a headquarters for the ranch and shipping operations, and a home for their family, which eventually included nine children. They soon made Fort Ross a thriving community center and shipping port for neighboring farms, ranches, and lumber mills. — Map (db m16357) HM|
|California (Sonoma County), Petaluma — 18 — Vallejo’s Petaluma Adobe — ← 6 Miles|
|Built by General M.G. Vallejo, 1834–1844, and known as Casa Grande. According to General Vallejo, “building was of immense proportions with different departments for factories and warehouses.” — Map (db m2564) HM|
|California (Sonoma County), Santa Rosa — Isaac De Turk 1843 - 1896|
|Isaac De Turk came to Santa Rosa from Indiana in 1858. The son of a viticulturist, he was one of the first to appreciate the favorable conditions for growing wine grapes in this area and in 1862 established Belle Mount Vineyards at the foot of Bennet Peak. He was also prominent in horse breeding and racing circles and constructed this round barn across the street from his winery as part of his business ventures. In 1884 he was one of a consortium of civic leaders who constructed the 2000 seat . . . — Map (db m55049) HM|
|California (Sonoma County), Sonoma — 4 — Lachryma Montis — Home of General M.G. Vallejo|
State Park Commission
Through Funds Furnished by
The General Vallejo Memorial Association
And the People of the State of California
Donors Names Within Building
Plaque donated by Historic Landmarks Committee,
Native Sons of the Golden West
1933 — Map (db m57667) HM|
|California (Stanislaus County), Knight's Ferry — Rancheria del Rio Estanislao|
|Mexican land grant. 11 Sq. leagues, - 48,887 acres - made to Francisco Rico and A. Castro on Dec. 29, 1843 by Gov. Micheltorena. Patent signed by Pres. A. Lincoln on Jan. 21, 1863. Abraham Schell bought 3½ leagues in 1863 and with George H. Krause founded the famous Red Mountain Vineyard and Winery.
Erected April 20, 1968
Estanislao Chapter No. 58
E Clampus Vitus — Map (db m42103) HM|
|California (Sutter County), Yuba City — 929 — Site of Propagation of the Thompson Seedless Grape|
|William Thompson, an Englishman, and his family settled here in 1863. In 1872 he sent to New York for three cuttings called Lady de Coverly of which only one survived. The grape, first publicly displayed in Marysville in 1875, became known as Thompson's seedless grape. Today, thousands of acres have been planted in California for the production of raisins, bulk wine, and table grapes. — Map (db m12008) HM|
|California (Sutter County), Yuba City — 346 — Sutter's Hock Farm — * 1 Mile * ←—|
|First white settlement in Sutter County on banks of the Feather River. Established 1844. General John A. Sutter retired to this farm in 1850. Partially destroyed by debris from mines in flood. — Map (db m49448) HM|
|California (Trinity County), Lewiston — Wilson Ranch Granary|
|This granary, known as the Frick and Davis Granary, was built in 1853, as part of “Mud Ranch,” named from its rich black alluvial soil. First settled by George W. Davis and Christian Frick in 1850. The house was built in 1855. The ranch was one of the oldest, finest and valuable ranches of Trinity County. The ranch was purchased by James Wilson, in 1914. The granary is still owned by the Wilson family. — Map (db m56197) HM|
|California (Trinity County), Trinity Center — The Bowerman Barn|
|This barn was built by the Bowerman family in 1878 as part of their ranch operation. Much of the barn was handcrafted and it serves as a fine example of the skills of that time.
The Bowerman’s are an early pioneer family in Trinity County. Jacob Bowerman came to the area seeking gold in 1856 and stayed to become a rancher.
The ranch house was just across the road but it was destroyed by fire. This used to be the main road between Weaverville and Trinity Center. The ranch served as a stage stop for weary travelers. — Map (db m56260) HM|
|California (Trinity County), Weaverville — Lee Family Ranch House|
|This house built in 1917 by family members on land purchased from Mrs. J. Putnam is located adjacent to the 32 acre Lorenz Ranch farmed by the Lee family since 1906. Acquired from the Lee family in 1989 by Trinity County. — Map (db m56193) HM|
|California (Tulare County), Lodgepole Village, Sequoia National Park — Cattle Cabin|
|This cabin was built by cattlemen who had acquired much of the Giant Forest land for grazing purposes prior to the establishment of Sequoia National Park in 1890. After the park’s establishment, the land was leased to men who supplied meat and milk to visitors and to the soldiers who guarded the park from 1891 through 1913. Circle Meadow, adjacent to the cabin, was the site of the slaughtering corral. By 1917 the last private holdings in Giant Forest had been purchased and deeded back to the government. — Map (db m44338) HM|
|California (Tuolumne County), Columbia — A Bountiful Place to Live — Recollections of Gardens Past|
As a reminder of their homelands, people brought familiar plants to Columbia during the gold rush and in the years that followed. The plants were used to establish family gardens and orchards, providing seasonal vegetables and fruits, and welcome shelter during the heat of summer.
Historic varieties of fruit and nut trees from those early years may still be seen in the park. They include olives, figs, grapes, apples, pears, and plums. Most of the common vegetables of today were . . . — Map (db m53279) HM|
|California (Yolo County), Davis — Briggs Reservoir|
|A relic of an early agricultural experiment - the first underground irrigation system in the Central Valley.
The structure was built by Davisville pioneer George Gregg Briggs to irrigate several hundred acres of orchards and vineyards.
By 1880 the system included ten miles of twelve-inch main line concrete pipe and 200 miles of distributing pipe, fed by water pumped with gasoline engines from the concrete reservoirs.
The pipes silted up and that system was abandoned by . . . — Map (db m61371) HM|
|California (Yolo County), Davis — Dresbach-Hunt-Boyer Mansion — 604 Second Street|
|Built in 1871-75 for William Dresbach, Davisville's first postmaster. The mansion was home to the Hunts and Boyers from 1899-1973. Listed in the National Register of Historic Places, the large mansion property originally included a tankhouse, cistern and orchard. — Map (db m57159) HM|
|California (Yolo County), Davis — Site of the Jerome C. and Mary Chiles Davis Homestead|
|Two olive and two fig trees survive from the Davis’ prize-winning farm of the 1850’s. Nearby also stand some of the original shingled buildings of the University State Farm, located here in 1906. From this nucleus, the University Farm has grown to become a diversified campus of the University of California. — Map (db m57220) HM|
|California (Yolo County), Woodland — Site of Byron Jackson’s First Machine Shop|
|Byron Jackson (1841-1921) was an inventor and manufacturer of farm equipment and pumps. His name endures on pumps used in agriculture, petroleum, mining, power generations and water supply. Born in Ohio, Jackson moved to Woodland with his parents in 1860. He first worked on his father’s farm, and in 1872 established his first machine shop in the Yolo Planing Mill on the west side of First Street next to Hesperian College.
Here Jackson invented and manufactured tools for local farmers. In . . . — Map (db m24291) HM|
|California (Yuba County), Olivehurst — Marysville Migrant Labor Campsite|
|1935 – 1937
Arboga Japanese Relocation Center
April 16, 1942 - June 29, 1942
<--------<<<< — Map (db m65969) HM|
|Colorado (El Paso County), Colorado Springs — The United States Air Force Academy|
|Directly in front of you is the Academy which is dedicated to producing highly qualified and motivated officers for your U.S. Air Force. Its four year program combines Military and academic instruction and athletic competition. The airfield in the foreground is a focal point for soaring, parachuting and powered flight activities. To your right at the foot of the mountains is the Cadet area where 4,400
men and women Cadets live and study. The Academy welcomes visitors daily from 9 A.M. to 3 P.M.
The entrance is Two miles ahead. — Map (db m4884) HM|
|Colorado (Jefferson County), Golden — Farming|
|Since 1859 Clear Creek has provided water through irrigation ditches to farmers east of Golden. Many such ditches were dug in the 1800s, including the Welch Ditch (originally Vasquez Ditch), Church Ditch (originally Golden City & Ralston Creek Ditch), Agricultural Ditch, Rocky Mountain Ditch (originally Table Mountain Ditch, Wanamaker Ditch, Swadley Ditch, Wadsworth Ditch, Croke Canal, and Oulette Ditch.|
These irrigation ditches turned what had been called the “Great American . . . — Map (db m51912) HM
|Colorado (Jefferson County), Golden — First Resident/Agriculturalist|
|David King Wall, one of Golden’s early permanent settlers, arrived from South Bend, Indiana on April 30, 1859. He brought a great deal of garden seed and tools with him. King defied the common belief that growing a garden would be impossible due to the high altitude and arid conditions. He had experience during the California Gold Rush in the use of irrigation. Wall dug a ditch from Tucker Gulch to irrigate his two-acre farm in the area of the rail yards at Depot Street. He successfully grew . . . — Map (db m50595) HM|
|Colorado (Jefferson County), Golden — Irrigation and Farming|
Clear Creek irrigation ditches provide water to farmers east of Golden. Many irrigation ditches were dug in the 1800s, making the Clear Creek valley the breadbasket of early Colorado. Golden’s first resident, David King Wall, introduced irrigation following his arrival from South Bend, Indiana on April 30, 1859. Wall had caught a different “gold fever” than everyone else at the time, bringing with him a wagonload of seed. With a farmer’s keen observance for soil quality he noted . . . — Map (db m49902) HM|
|Colorado (Jefferson County), Golden — Settler Farm Wife’s Initiative|
|Here is a story from the Colorado Transcript of August 12, 1885:
“We like to hear a good story, and here is one on Jim Boyd: Last spring Jim’s wife wanted to peddle vegetables in Denver. Jim laughed at her, believing she could not even drive a horse let alone sell garden sass; but to keep peace in the family he let her have her own way. He told her to skip out, and that she could have all she made; he would get up the loads but with the understanding that he was to have all she . . . — Map (db m49910) HM|