HMdb.org THE HISTORICAL
MARKER DATABASE
            “Bite-Size Bits of Local, National, and Global History”
  Home  — My Markers  — Add A Marker  — Marker Series  — Links & Books  — Forum  — About Us
Click First to browse through the results shown on this page.   First >> 
Show DirectionsOmit Marker TextClick to map all markers shown on this page.
Notable Events Markers
3008 markers matched your search criteria. The first 250 markers are listed. Next 2758
Austria, Tyrol, Innsbruck — The House of Archduke Sigismund of TyrolHaus von Erzherzog Sigismund von Tirol
Dieses Haus liess Erzherzog Sigismund von Tirol um 1480 für seinen Burgriesen Nickolaus Haidl erbauen und mit dessen Bildnis zieren. Dasselbe wurde von verschiedenen historischen Persöulichkeiten bewohnt und diente u. a. dem Feldherrn Prinz Eugen von Savoyen, mehrmals als Absteigequartier, so 1711 vom 22 November bis 2 Dezember. Im Jahre 1809 besorgte die Küche dieses Gasthauses die Tafel Andreas Hofer’s und seines Stabes in der Hofburg. Innsbrucker-Verschönerungsverein. . . . — Map (db m68112) HM
Bahamas, New Providence, Nassau — The Bahamas Grant1629 1929
To commemorate the grant of these islands by His Majesty King Charles the First to Sir Robert Heath Attorney General of England on the 30th day of October 1629 — Map (db m32434) HM
Brazil, Amazonas, Manaus — Praça São SebastiãoMonumento Comemorativo a Abertura dos Portos — Monument to the Opening of the [Amazon] Ports
[Panel 1] Mandado Construir em MDCCCXCIX pelo Exmo Senr. Jose Cardoso Ramalho Júnior, Governador do Estado do Amazonas. [In English: Construction Ordered, 1899, by His Excellency, Mr. Jose Cardoso Ramalho Junior, Governor of the State of Amazonas.] "ASIA" [Panel 2] 15 de Novembro de MDCCCLXXXIX. [November 15, 1889.] "AMERICA" [Panel 3] Monumento Levanta do em substitução ao que foi erguido n’esta praça em XII de Setembro de . . . — Map (db m26407) HM
Brazil, Rio de Janeiro — Cristovão Leite de Castro
Engeneheiro Cristovão Leite de Castro idealizou e realizou o teleférico do Pão de Açucar Inaugurado em 29 de outubro de 1972 English Translation: Engineer Cristovão Leite de Castro masterminded and carried out the {modernization} of the Sugar Loaf cable cars. Inaugurated October 29, 1972. — Map (db m26376) HM
Alberta, Devon — Leduc-Woodbend Oil FieldLe Site Pétrolifière Leduc-Woodbend
The development of this field in 1947 marked a turning point in the history of the Alberta petroleum industry. After the drilling of Leduc No. 1, the geographical focus of the industry shifted from Turner Valley northward to the central plains area, where vast oil reserves were uncovered. Oil production, which has been in decline, expanded dramatically and the Edmonton area became a petrochemical and distributing centre. The boom in output enable Alberta to become, for the first time, a major . . . — Map (db m8856) HM
Alberta, Turner Valley — Turner Valley Gas Plant
This plant, which was critical to the development of the Turner Valley oil field, is the earliest gas processing facility built in Canada and the only survivor of its type. The present complex was begun in 1921 after a fire destroyed the original plant, built in 1914. The many modifications and additions made to it since the 1920s reflect the evolution of refining technology. The buildings. Machinery and equipment together illustrate the production process required to extract marketable gas and . . . — Map (db m8825) HM
British Columbia (Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District), Port Alberni — Bicentennial of the Spanish Expeditions to the Northwest Coasts of America1771–1991
[Upper Marker]: Pedro de Alberni, Captain of the Catalan Volunteers and Commander of the Spanish Establishment at Santa Cruz de Nootka, 1790-1792. Offered by the Government of Spain on the occasion of the visit of the Spanish training ship “Juan Sebastian el Cano” to the province of British Columbia, April 1991. [Lower Marker]: Generalitat de Catalunya The Autonomous Government of Catalonia joins this bicentennial celebration in remembrance of . . . — Map (db m9155) HM
British Columbia (Cariboo Regional District), 150 Mile House — To the Goldfields!
In the 1860s, the fabulous Cariboo goldfields were a lure to thousands. Miners, traders, and adventurers, many afoot, some with wheelbarrows, shared the pioneer route with mule trains, plodding oxen, freight wagons, and swaying stage-coaches. Havens for man and beast were the road-houses and stables every 12-14 miles along the way. — Map (db m8857) HM
British Columbia (Cariboo Regional District), Quesnel — Collins’ Overland International Telegraph
Promoted by Perry Collins, the U.S. Commercial Agent in Russia, and dependent on the Western Union Telegraph Company’s money, men and technology for its execution, this early telegraph line roused the enthusiasm of the white residents of British Columbia. At no expense to them the colony was to be a vital link in a line joining Europe and America via Russia. In 1867, after completion of the more economical Trans-Atlantic cable, construction ceased at Fort Stager at the confluence of the Kispyap . . . — Map (db m8853) HM
British Columbia (Strathcona Regional District), Campbell River — Seymour Narrows
Treacherous currents, swirling eddies, and turbulent tide-rips still harass vessels, despite the blasting away in 1958 of the twin peaks of Ripple Rock. Charted in 1792 by Captain George Vancouver, the Narrows has claimed numerous ships and lives and is considered by many seamen the worst hazard to marine navigation on the British Columbia coast. — Map (db m9077) HM
Nova Scotia (Halifax Regional Municipality), Peggys Cove — Swissair Flight 111 MemorialWhalesback
English text only shown The communities of Peggys Cove and Blandford were central to the recovery operation following the crash of Swissair Flight 111. The Whalesback and Bayswater Beach sites were chosen for their proximity to those communities because they have view lines to the crash site and each other. The three sites combined - Whalesback, Bayswater, and the actual crash site - make a triangular shape, which is reflected in the design of the memorials. Whalesback is at the . . . — Map (db m45717) HM
Nova Scotia (Lunenburg County), Bayswater — Swissair Flight 111 MemorialBayswater
English text only shown The communities of Peggys Cove and Blandford were central to the recovery operation following the crash of Swissair Flight 111. The Whalesback and Bayswater Beach sites were chosen for their proximity to those communities and because they have view lines to the crash site and each other. The three sites combined — Whalesback, Bayswater and the actual crash site — make a triangular shape, which is reflected in the design of the memorials. . . . — Map (db m47255) HM
Ontario, Toronto — South African War Memorial — ("2nd Boer War")
. . . — Map (db m57959) WM
Ontario (Essex County), Windsor — The Battle of Windsor - 1838
Early on December 4, 1838 a force of about 140 American and Canadian supporters of William Lyon MacKenzie crossed the river from Detroit and landed about one mile east of here. After capturing and burning a nearby militia barracks, they took possession of Windsor. In this vicinity they were met and routed by a force of some 130 militiamen commanded by Colonel John Prince. Five of the invaders taken prisoner were executed summarily by order of Colonel Prince. This action caused violent . . . — Map (db m37172) HM
Ontario (Middlesex County), London — Crimean War Cannons
These cannon were used at the seige of Sebastopol, and were brought to this country after the capture of that city by the British in 1855. Sir John Carling was instrumental in procuring these three pieces for this city. This gun is a British piece. The other two are Russian. This tablet was erected by the London and Middlesex Historical Society, 1907 Restored 1987 — Map (db m18928) HM
Ontario (Middlesex County), London — The 1st Hussars
To the everlasting memory of the members of THE 1ST HUSSARS both the living and the dead, who together with other Canadian and Allied servicemen participated in the glorious campaign of 1944-1945 that led to the liberation of the Netherlands. Presented by: The Grateful Dutch Canadians of London May 1970 Re-dedicated June 6, 1998 by: The Dutch Canadians Remember Committee of 1995 — Map (db m18921) HM
Quebec (Brome-Missisquoi MRC), Frelighsburg — Battle of Eccles Hill
The Canadian volunteers and home guards here repulsed the Fenian invaders on the 25th May 1870. — Map (db m74541) HM
Quebec (de Roussillon MRC), La Prairie — Second Battle of La Prairie
French text on marker appears above English text below On August 11th, 1691, a few hours after the attack on Fort La Prairie, Major Peter Schuyler and his Indians suffered a severe defeat at the hands of the French and their indian allies, under the command of Captain De Valrennes. The French lost the following officers: Lieutenants Le Varlet, Le Ber, Duchesne, Denys De La Bruère and Depeiras. Ce site est le don de David Daigneault (translation: This land was donated by David . . . — Map (db m75315) HM WM
Yukon Territory, Dawson City — Tribute to the Miner
Dedicated to the Klondike Gold Miners past, present and future in recognition of their contributions to Dawson City and the Klondike Region.

In 1896, gold was discovered on Rabbit Creek (later known as Bonanza Creek) by Skookum Jim, George Carmack and Dawson Charlie, on the advice of fellow prospector Robert Henderson.

This event sparked the Great Klondike Gold Rush of 1898, and Dawson City and the Yukon Territory were born.

Monument designed for the Klondyke Centennial Society by . . . — Map (db m49349) HM

Czech Republic, Hlavní město Praha (Malá Strana), Prague — The 25th of February, 194825.Února 1948
{Marker text in Czech:} Bylí v téchto místech a na Hradčanském Námĕstí brutálnĕ napadeni ozbrojenou komunistickou policií vysokoškoláci, kteří v mnohatisícovém pochodu na hrad šli podpořit Prezidenta Beneše v úsilí zachovat svobodou a democracii. Na pamět odvážných studentů, kteří se v osudových chvílích našeho národa nebáli vzepřít nastupujícímu bezpráví. Pražský Akademický Klub 48     Senát Parlamentu ČR {Directly to the . . . — Map (db m40930) HM
Estonia, Harjumaa MaakondTallinn — Mälestusmärk “Katkenud Liin” / “Broken Line”M/S Estonia Memorial
Malestusmark “Katkenud Liin” Parvlaeva ESTONIA katastroofis 28. septembril 1994.aastal Hukkunud 852 inimesele. “Broken Line” In memory of the 852 people who lost their lives in the ESTONIA passenger ferry catastrophe on 28 September 1994. — Map (db m61331) HM
France, Île-de-France (Paris), Paris — Le Drapeau Tricolore[The French Flag]
Ici, le 25 Août 1944 Aux ordertaine du Capitaine Sarniguet, les sergents Henri Duriauz, Pierre Noël, le caporal Charles Rouard, les sapeurs Marcel Conversy, André Taillefer, du Regiment de Sapeurs-Pompiers de Paris ont hissé le drapeau tricolore dans la capitale encore occupée.

(Translated by Google Translate with modifications:) Here, August 25, 1944 Ordered by Captain Sarniguet, sergeants Duriauz Henri, Pierre Noël, Corporal Charles Rouard, firefighters Conversy Marcel, André . . . — Map (db m60917) HM

France, Languedoc-Roussillon (Hérault), Beziers — Béziers Se Souvient1907 - 2007 — [Béziers Remembers]
En 1907, Béziers a été le théâtre d’evénements exceptionnels liés à la crise de la viticulture. Le 12 mai, plus de 120000 personnes défilent en ville et le 21 juin, pour protester contre les fusillades de Narbonne, un demi-millier de soldats du 17e régiment d’infanterie, mutinés, campent sur les allées Paul Riquet, accueillis avec sympathie par la population. Après leur reddition, ces mutins sont transférés à Gafsa dans le sud Tunisien. 1907 - 2007

Translation by Google Translate (with . . . — Map (db m60210) HM

France, Provence-Alpes-Côte dAzur (Var), Aups — Declaration des Droits de l’Homme et du Citoyen1789 -1989
Article 1er Les hommes naissent et demeurent libres et egaux en droits les distinctions sociales ne peuvent etre fondees que sur l’utilite commune. Decretes par l’Assemblee nationale dans les seances des 20, 21, 23 et 24 aout 1789. Accepte par le Roi

(English: Article 1. Men are born and remain free and equal in rights. Social distinctions may be founded only upon the general good. Approved by the National Assembly in the sessions of August 20, 21, 23 and 24, 1789. Accepted by the king.) — Map (db m61642) HM

Germany, Bavaria, Munich — Miesbach to Munich Power Transmission
Im Oktober 1882 wurde hier anlässlich der internationalen Elektrizitätsaustellung von Miesbach nach München erstmals in der Welt eine Kraftűbertragung mit hoch gespannten Strőmen durchgefuhrt. Die Schőpfer des Werkes Oskar von Miller und Marcel Deprez bahnten da mit den Weg zur Ausnűtzung entlegener Energiequellen. Der Verband Deutscher Elektrotechniker im September 1952. Leitung Telegraphendraht 2x57 km. Spannung 1350 bis 2000 Volt Gleichstrom. Translated, the . . . — Map (db m22477) HM
Germany, Bavaria (Landkreis Schweinfurt), Gerolzhofen — The Decline of the Jewish Community of Gerolzhofen from January 30, 1933Niedergang der Jüdische Gemeinde Gerolzhofen ab 30. Januar 1933
[Marker text in German:] Urkundlich nachweisbar genehmigte im Jahr 1425 Fürstbischof Johann II v. Brunn die Ansässigmachung von Juden in Gerolzhofen. Viele jüdische Mitbürger engagierten sich im öffentlichen Leben und genossen Vertrauen und Anerkennung bei Ihren Mitbürgern. Nach ca. 500 Jahren horte die jüdische Gemeinde von Gerolzhofen auf zu existieren. [Marker text translated into English, more or less:] The first known mention of the presence of Jews in Gerolzhofen is . . . — Map (db m58963) HM
Germany, Berlin — Pariser Platz
[English text] Pariser Plaz (Paris Square) is one of Berlin’s most distinctive squares and occupies a unique place within the groundplan of the city. Its planning is attributed to Philipp Gerlach (1697-1738), the architect commissioned by Frederick William I to extend the city’s development westward, which had begun in 1688. In 1732, at the request of the “Soldier King”, Gerlach extended Friedrichstrasse to intersect with Lindenstrasse, where he laid out a circus (now . . . — Map (db m56361) HM
Germany, Berlin — Soviet War MemorialTiergarten
Вечный славу героев, которые входят в борьбе против немецко -фашистских . . . — Map (db m57182) HM
Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Wittenberg District), Lutherstadt Wittemberg — The Luther Oak / Die Luthereiche
During Luther's life time it was common to burn the clothes of those who had died because of epidemics near the Holy Cross Hospital which was in front of the Elster Gate. On December 10th, 1520 Dr. Martin Luther burned the papal excommunication warning in front of the Elster Gate. It is told that a day later an oak was planted on that place. The oak that you see there now was planted in 1830, on the occasion of the anniversary of the Augsburg Confession. . . . — Map (db m70142) HM
Greece, Kalymnos (peripheral unit) (Pátmos Municipality), Skala Village — Liberation of PatmosCapt. Terence Bruce Mitford
[Marker text printed in both Greek and English scripts:] Erected by the Community of Patmos to commemorate the 60th anniversary of the Liberation of the Island, 10 February 1944 by Terence Bruce Mitford Captain, Special Boat Services February 2004 — Map (db m43136) HM
Ireland, Connacht (County Galway), Kilronan, Inishmore, Aran Islands — A Fighting Chance
John Ridgeway [sic] & Chay Bylth rowed the Atlantic in English Rose III from Orleans to Kilronan, Aran, Ireland 4th June 1966 - 3rd Sept. 1966 Na laga dia iad — Map (db m22850) HM
Ireland, Connacht (County Mayo), Murrisk — National Famine MemorialCuimhneachán Náisiúnta ar an nGorta Mór
To honour the memory of all who died, suffered and emigrated due to the Great Famine of 1845 - 1850, and the victims of all famines. The Memorial was unveiled by the President of Ireland, Mary Robinson, on 20 July 1997. I gcuimhna ar an daoine go léir a fuair bás, a d'fhulaing agus a chuaigh ar an imirce de dheasca Ghorta Mór 1845 - 1850 agus ar gach uile dhuine i ngátar de dheasca gorta. Uachtarán na nÉireann, Máire Mhic Róibín, a nocht an Cuimhneachán ar an 20 . . . — Map (db m27583) HM
Ireland, Connacht (County Mayo), the Doo Lough Valley — 1849 Famine Walk
. . . — Map (db m27687) HM
Ireland, Connacht (County Roscommon), Ballinlough — Glynn - Glavey - Keane Memorial
This memorial was erected to commemorate the memory of Comdt. Patrick Glynn Lieut. Michael Glavey Vol. Michael Keane who gave their lives for the cause of freedom during an attack on Ballinlough R.I.C. Barracks on Sept. 14th 1920. ————— “They rose in dark and evil days to free our native land They started here a living flame that nothing can withstand” Tógadh an leacht cuimhneacháin seo i mbuan chuimhne ar an . . . — Map (db m27768) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — Countess Constance Markievicz1869 - 1927 — Major, Irish Citizen Army, 1916
A valiant woman who fought for Ireland in 1916 _________________________ In the 1916 Rising she was Second-in-Command to Michael Mallin in the College of Surgeons. She was sentenced to death for her activities but was released from prison in 1917 in the general amnesty. The bronze bust show Countess Markievicz in the uniform tunic of the Irish Citizen Army. The work was unveiled in 1956. [From the Monuments of St. Stephen's Green marker found in the park.] — Map (db m22504) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — First Performance of Handel's Messiah
This bronze commemorates the first performance of George Frideric Handel's Oratorio Messiah, given in the Old Musick Hall in Fishamble Street at noon on Tuesday April 13th 1742 — Map (db m22450) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — Fusiliers’ Arch
In memory of the officers, non-commissioned officers and men of the Royal Dublin Fusiliers who fell in the South African War A.D.1899·1900 Fortissimis suis militibus hoc monumentum eblana dedicavit MCMVII Hartshill•Ladysmith•Talana•Colenso• Tulega Heights•Laings Nek Fusiliers' Arch [Inscription is from the Monuments of St. Stephen's Green marker found in the park] The form of this arch, 12 feet in width, is that of a Roman Triumphal Arch. It stands 32 feet 6 inches high. . . . — Map (db m22470) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — Saint Patrick’s ParkPáirc Naomh Pádraig
Tradition has it that Saint Patrick baptised the first Irish Christians in a well, situated here in St. Patrick's Park, with water from the River Poddle, which still flows underground. A small wooden church was erected here to commemorate the event. The parish church on this site was known as Saint Patrick's in Insula (on the island) because it was located on an island between two branches of the River Poddle. In 1191 John Comyn, the first Anglo-Norman Archbishop of Dublin, gave the church the . . . — Map (db m22468) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — St. Stephen's Green Bandstand
Erected in 1887 from funds subscribed by the Dublin Metropolitan Police to commemorate Queen Victoria's Jubilee. [From the Monuments of St. Stephen's Green marker found in the park.] — Map (db m22483) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — The "Three Fates"
This fountain, erected in 1956, is situated near the Leeson Street entrance to the park. It consists of a group of three bronze figures – Nornenbrunnen, representing the Three Fates, who weave and measure the thread of man's destiny. The monument was the gift of the German Federal Republic to mark its appreciation of the help and generosity of the Irish people during the time of distress and hardship after the Second World War. The work was designed by the Bavarian Sculptor, Professor . . . — Map (db m25306) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Fingal), Howth — Lost At Sea
The monument was erected by The Howth Fishermens Association and commemorated the lives of all persons lost at sea, no matter where or no matter how. [Representative memorial plaques follow] Fishermen Brian Faherty and Michael McDonogh of The Lively Lady, Inís-More, Aran Islands Lost at Sea, March 1st 1982 in Rossaveal. Sadly missed by their families & friends Ar dheis dé go raibh a nanam In loving memory of the crew of ‘The . . . — Map (db m26806) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Fingal), Portmarnock — The Southern Cross MonumentBy Rachel Joynt & Remco DeFouw
This sculpture celebrates Portmarnock's unique role in world aviation history. This beach, known as the Velvet Strand, was used as a runway for the first successful East-West Transatlantic flight, on 24th June 1930. After a gruelling 33 hours the ‘Southern Cross’ landed at Harbour Grace, Newfoundland. It was the final leg of the first circumnavigation of the globe by aircraft. The pilot was Australian Aviator Sir Charles Kingford Smith, Co-pilot Evert Van Dyk, Irish Navigator Capt. Paddy . . . — Map (db m25788) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Fingal), Portmarnock — The Velvet Strand / An Trá ChaoinPortmarnock / Port Mearnóg
What's in a name? Portmarnock is names after St Marnock, a prominent missionary who founded a church in the area. The Velvet Strand and Aviation History It was from the Velvet Strand, on 24th of June 1930, that the famous Australian aircraft Southern Cross departed on a pioneering Atlantic flight to Harbour Grace, Newfoundland, where it landed safely some 31.5 hours later. The plane was piloted by the legendary Charles Kingsford Smith and navigated by Dubliner Captain . . . — Map (db m25663) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Louth), Monasterboice — 98 — Round Tower / An Cloigtheach
Round Tower The round tower was the Irish reaction to the Norse raids on monasteries in the 10th/11th century A.D. These tapering buildings, over 100 feet high, served as watch-towers, belfries, repositories for church valuables and as refuges for the community. The door, normally 15-20 feet above ground was reached by a movable ladder and the interior was divided into four or more storeys. The present height of the tower is 110 feet. The level of the surroundings has been raised by . . . — Map (db m24693) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Meath), Culmullen — Culmullen & 1798They Gave Their Lives For Their Cause
Erected by the People of Culmullen and District to the memory of the Men and Women of Wexford and Meath who died for their Country and lie buried in the surrounding area There were two periods of intense Rising activity around Culmullen in 1798 Thursday May 24, 1798 Dunshaughlin was the rallying point for the United Irishmen of Meath, Dublin and North Kildare where a Tree of Liberty was planted. The following day, the rebels moved to one side of the Bog of Culmullen . . . — Map (db m33354) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Meath), Duleek — Connell's HouseDuleek Heritage Trail
Close to the Courthouse along the western perimeter of the village green is Connell's House, the oldest house in Duleek. This building was in existence at the time of the famous Battle of the Boyne in 1690. — Map (db m24793) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Meath), Duleek — Duleek 1916 - 1981 Hunger Strike Monumentand Memorial Garden
The Memorial Garden is named after Vol. Joe Coombes, Platin Road. Vol. Noel Gallagher, Mountfield, Co. Tyrone Vol. Harry McCormick, Prioryland, Duleek and is in memory of all those who dedicated their lives to and for the cause of Irish freedom. This monument was unveiled by Paddy Sheils (Snr), Garballagh and Jimmy Lynch, Kentstown The Memorial Garden Was Officially Opened On 15th June 2008 By Ex-Portlaoise Hungerstriker . . . — Map (db m27220) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Meath), Duleek — The Lime TreeDuleek Heritage Trail
William of Orange and Mary accepted the throne of England in 1698, supplanting King James II who took refuge with his ally and sponsor Louis XIV of France. The tensions between James and William would reach their highpoint in 1690 at the battle of the Boyne in Meath, where James was defeated. In Duleek at the time there was a very significant colony of Huguenots (French Protestants) who had fled persecution in France. Subsequently to the Battle of the Boyne the people of Duleek planted . . . — Map (db m24802) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Meath), Loyd — Kells Union Workhouse Paupers' Graveyard
Erected to the memory of the poor interred here during the operation of the English Poor Law System. 1838 - 1921. R. I. P. In the immediate aftermath of the Great ‘Famine’, this mass burial place was opened in 1851 for the poor people of the Kells District. Their memory challenges us to end the scandal of hunger in today's world of plenty. AFrI Great “Famine” Project Erected 9th October 1993 “Famine is a lie” Brian . . . — Map (db m27326) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Meath), Slane — Saint Patrick on the Hill of Slane
Long established tradition tells that St. Patrick lit the Easter Fire on this Hill of Slane in 433. In doing so, he unwittingly disobeyed King Laoghaire at nearby Tara. The inevitable confrontation had a happy outcome: Laoghaire's druid, Erk, became a Christian (later, first Bishop of Slane) and the King was pacified. The Easter Fire is still lighted, each year, on the Hill of Slane. — Map (db m22538) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Meath), Slane — Slane AbbeyMainistir Shláine
Slane Abbey It is believed that in 433 AD, the first Christian missionary to Ireland, later known as St. Patrick, lit a large celebration fire here on the Hill of Slane. Soon after St Patrick, a monastery associated with St Earc was built on the site. But we know little of its history until the church was rebuilt in its present form in 1512, when Sir Christopher Fleming founded a Franciscan friary. The church was built to a simple plan but it has a fine bell tower; the aisle to the . . . — Map (db m22533) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Offaly), Birr — The world's first automobile fatalityhappened here on 31 August 1869
Shortly after 8:00pm that evening a pioneering steam carriage designed and built by William Parsons, the Third Earl of Rosse, left the castle gates and drove at walking pace along Oxmantown Mall before turning the corner into Cumberland (now Emmet) Street. The Kings County Chronicle of the following day records what then befell: APPALLING ACCIDENT DEATH OF THE HON. MRS. WARD On yesterday the people of Parsonstown were much excited and grieved at a sad accident which occurred in the . . . — Map (db m33198) HM
Ireland, Munster (County Kerry), Anascaul — Tom CreanAntarctic Explorer — 1877 - 1938
Expeditions to Antarctica Discovery, 1901-1904 Terra Nova, 1910-1013 Endurance, 1914-1917 In recognition of his invaluable contribution to these expeditions and of his many acts of selfless heroism on behalf of his companions The Tom Crean Memorial Garden Gardens Donated by the Crean Family. Sculptor Eamonn O'Doherty July 2003 Map (db m23045) HM
Ireland, Munster (County Kerry), Listowel — Teampaillín Bán(The Little White Churchyard)
Where very many nameless victims of the Irish Famine of 1845-47 lie buried Also buried here are others who died in the nearby workhouse built 1840 Saibhreas na bhflaitheas dóibh! — Map (db m23042) HM
Israel, Haifa District, Caesarea — I Appeal Unto Caesar
"For if I be an offender, or have committed any thing worthy of death, I refuse not to die; but if there be none of these things whereof these accuse me, no man may deliver me unto them. I appeal unto Caesar. Then Festus, when he had conferred with the council, answered, Hast thou appealed unto Caesar? Unto Caesar shalt thou go". (Acts 25: 11-12) "And on the morrow, when Agrippa was come, and Bernice, with great pomp, and was entered into the place of hearing, with the chief . . . — Map (db m64534) HM
Israel, Northern District, Nazareth — Mount of PrecipiceThe Leaping Mountain
Rising above the southern part of the Nazareth Mountain Mt. of Precipice (397 meters) Look out over Nazareth, Mt. Tabor and The Yizrael Valley at its foot. Mt. of Precipice is also known as "The Leaping Mountain" - according to old tradition, Jesus jumped from this mountain when fleeting his pursuers. At the foot of the mountain is the "Oafzer" cave where neolithic remains were found (7000 - 10000 B.C) into the remains of the Mosterian Piriod (80000 - 10000 years . . . — Map (db m65395) HM
Italy, Campania (Naples Province), Pompei — Pompei Giubileo [Pompeii Jubilee] 2000Edifici Privati/Private Buildings
[Text in Italian …] Text in English: The destructive fury of Vesuvius raged the 24th August in 79 a.C. Buried under three metres of ash, Pompeii suddenly stopped living. From the Forum to the Temple of Iside; from the House of the Faun to the Barracks of the Gladiators; thousands of bodies lay on the ground: slaves and merchants, women, children and rich landowners. After sleeping for centuries, the buried city sees light again: the dawning of the most exciting archaeological . . . — Map (db m48081) HM
Italy, Lazio (Rome Province), Rome — Anfiteatro Flavio/The Flavian Amphitheatre
L’Anfiteatro Flavio, grande edificio pubblico destinato a spettacoli di enorme popolarita, quali le cacce e I combattimenti gladiatori, fu edificato, in luogo del lago atificiale dela Domus Aurea neronicana, dagli imperatori della dinastia Flavia. Il nome originale, Amphitheatrum o Amphitheatrum magnum, fu sostituito nell’Alto Medioevo da Colysaeum, probabilmente per la contiguita co il celeberrimo Colosso eretto da Nerone. La costruzione dell’Anfiteatro inizio ne 72 d.C. e fu . . . — Map (db m47676) HM
Philippines, Cavite Province, Corregidor Island — Spanish Historical MarkerCorregidor Island
Spanish text: La isla de Corregidor paso a formar parte de la Corona de España el 19 de Mayo de 1571, al ser ocupada por el intrépido navegante Miguel López de Legaspi, fundador de la Ciudad de Manila. Debido a su posición estratégica, Corregidor sivió como Fortaleza protectora guardian de la Bahía de Manila durante 327 años, hasta el 2 de Mayo de 1898. Durante esos años presenció gloriosas escenas de heroism, en las que la historia de Filipinas y la de España se . . . — Map (db m64787) HM
Philippines, Cebú Province, Cebu City — The Cross of MagellanSanto Niño de Cebú — Sinulog
Panel 1: From time immemorial this spot has been set aside to commemorate the erection of a Cross in Cebu by the expedition of Magellan. When King Humabon of Cebu and his Queen, son and daughters, together with some 800 of their subjects were baptized by Father Pedro Valderrama. This hallowed site was improved in 1735 by Rev. Juan Albarran. Prior of San Agustin and in 1834 by Rt. Rev. Santos Gomez Maroñon, Bishop of Cebu. The image of the Santo Niño found by the expedition of Legaspi . . . — Map (db m65459) HM
Philippines, Manila, Ermita — U.S. Forces Liberate ManilaTo the Heroes of Manila
Late in the afternoon of February 3, 1945 two groups of the flying column of the 1st Cavalry Division, including the attached 44th Tank Battalion, entered Manila, with the first group taking possession of Malacanang Palaca and the second group liberating the American and other Allied civilian internees at the University of Santo Tomas. They were followed by the 37th Infantry Division, which rescued Allied civilian internees and prisoners of war at Bilibid prison. From the south the 11th . . . — Map (db m25228) HM
Philippines, Metro Manila, Sampaloc, Manila — Santo Tomas Internment Camp — Main Building, University of Santo Tomas
Through these portals passed up to ten thousand Americans and other nationals of the free world who were interned within these walls by the Japanese military. Suffering great physical privation and national humiliation from January 4, 1942, until liberated February 3, 1945, by the American Forces under General Douglas MacArthur. — Map (db m72731) HM WM
Sweden, Södermanland Province (Stockholm County), Stockholm — The Zetterström FountainVasa Museum
Text in Swedish: Zetterström-Fontänen Mustycke som användes för att spola tunnlar under Vasa vid bargningen 1961. Konstructör: Dykarpionjären Arne Zetterstöm (1917-1945) Donatorer: Flygt AB och Marinen Text in English: The Zetterström Fountain Nozzle used for making tunnels under the warship Vasa when it was salvaged in 1961. Constructor: The Swedish diving pioneer Arne Zetterström (1917-1945) Fountain sponsors: Flygr . . . — Map (db m56837) HM
Switzerland, Zurich (Zurich (District)) — Turteltäubi
Die ältesten bauteile im erdgeschoss und ersten obergeschoss gehören zu einer schweren bohlenständer-konstruktion aus dem späten mittelalter. 1542 wurde das schmale haus gleichzeitig mit seinem nachbarhaus <> umgebaut und auf 4 geschosse aufgestockt. Das mansard-walmdach wurde 1800 aufgesetzt. In einem zimmer des dritten stocks eine um 1600 datierte wandmalerei in grisailletechnik, mit darstellung eines trinkgelages in einer waldlandschaft. Unter denkmalschutz seit 1986 . . . — Map (db m67125) HM
Turks and Caicos Islands, Grand Turk, Cockburn Town — Grand Turk: The Original Columbus Landfall ?
The exact location of Christopher Columbus' first landfall in the New World in 1492 has been debated for centuries. Columbus' original journal of his first voyage to the New World is lost, and we will likely never know for sure. Recent theories and recreations of what is known of the first voyage may have landed in present-day San Salvador in the Bahamas, Samana Cay in the Bahamas, Cat Island in the Bahamas, or, possibly Grand Turk. Proponents of the Grand Turk theory point to . . . — Map (db m40544) HM
Turks and Caicos Islands, Grand Turk, Cockburn Town — Trouvadore Shipwreck
In 1841 a Brigantine ship sailing under Spanish papers left Africa with an illegal cargo of 193 Africans. The ship was the Trouvadore and it was sailing for Cuba, where the Africans were to be enslaved and put to work on sugar plantations. Slavery was illegal in the British Empire at that time, and the British Navy would have to capture the illegal slave ship if it encountered her. Fortunately for the Africans, after a month at sea, the Trouvadore wrecked off the Caicos Bank. One of the . . . — Map (db m40764) HM
U.S. Virgin Islands, St Thomas, Charlette Amalie — America's First Lady Addressed the People of St. Thomas(Emancipation Park)
In Commemoration of the visit to the Virgin Islands — of — Mrs. Lyndon Baines Johnson Here in Emancipation Park on June 2, 1965 America's First Lady addressed the people of St. Thomas — Map (db m40458) HM
U.S. Virgin Islands, St Thomas, Charlette Amalie — St. Thomas' Liberty Bell Reproduction:
Dedicated To You, A Free Citizen In A Free Land This reproduction of the Liberty Bell was presented to the People of the Virgin Islands By the direction of The Honorable John W. Snyder Secretary of the Treasury It was the inspirational symbol of the United States Savings Bonds Independence Drive from May 15 to July 4, 1950 The dimensions and tone are identical with those of the original Liberty Bell when it rang out our independence in 1776. In . . . — Map (db m40456) HM
United Kingdom, Kent, Dover — Blériot's 1909 Landing Site
After making the first Channel flight by aeroplane Louis Blériot landed at this spot on Sunday 25th July 1909. — Map (db m23521) HM
United Kingdom, Kent, Walmer — Caesar’s Invasion of Britain
The first Roman invasion of Britain led by Julius Caesar landed near here LV BC. — Map (db m24553) HM
United Kingdom, Staffordshire, Lichfield — Edward Wightman Memorial
Edward Wightman of Burton-on-Trent was burnt at the stake in this Market Place for heresy 11th April 1612 being the last person in England so to die. — Map (db m22661) HM
Alabama (Baldwin County), Fort Morgan — The Pride of Seven Flags
(East Face): Tribute dedicated to the memory of the soldiers who gave their lives in the defense of our country here at Fort Morgan. Here lies the pride of seven flags entombed in our ancestor’s worth, who heard the thunder of the fray break o’er the field beneath knew the watchword of the day was “Victory or Death.” (North Face): Dates of battles and some events relative to Fort Morgan. 1711 – Battle, France – England 1719 – Battle, . . . — Map (db m4649) HM
Alabama (Baldwin County), Gulf Shores — Fort Bowyer War of 1812
At, or near, this site, the United States, after seizing this point of land from the Spanish in 1813, built Fort Bowyer, a structure of wood and sand. A small garrison of men courageously fought to defend the fort against two British attacks, one in September, 1814, again in February, 1815. — Map (db m28692) HM
Alabama (Colbert County), Sheffield — President Franklin Delano Roosevelt
On Jan. 21, 1933 President-elect Franklin Delano Roosevelt addressed an immense crowd a this crossing from his railroad car and promised "to put Muscle Shoals back on the map." He then toured the idle U.S,. Nitrate Plant No. 2 and Wilson Dam with Senator George Norris. The new Congress approved Norris's plans for development of the entire Tennessee River and FDR signed the Tennessee Valley Authority Act on May 15, 1933, thereby ending years of bitter controversy about the future of the Muscle . . . — Map (db m35630) HM
Alabama (Colbert County), Tuscumbia — American Indian History
Side 1 Oka Kapassa (Ococoposa), meaning "Cold Water", was the Chickasaw name given to Spring Creek and to a trading post established near the Tennessee River about 1780. About 1817, Michael Dickerson and others were greeted at what by then was called Big Spring by Chief Tuscumbia, a Chickasaw rainmaker. The settlers named the new town in his honor in 1822. Colbert County, formed in 1867 from the Northern half of Franklin County, was named for Chickasaw Chieftains George Colbert, . . . — Map (db m28585) HM
Alabama (Colbert County), Tuscumbia — Sacred TearsBy Branko Medenica — September 19, 2003
Panel 1 Tuscumbia and much of the Shoals area played an integral part in the "Trail of Tears" with the Tennessee River route and the overland routes. In 1825, the U.S. Government formally adopted a removal policy, which was carried out extensively in the 1830's by Presidents Andrew Jackson and Martin Van Buren. The result was particularly overwhelming for the Indians of the southeast, primarily the Cherokee, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Creek and Seminole. While some resisted removal by . . . — Map (db m29285) HM
Alabama (Colbert County), Tuscumbia — The Blues Trail: Mississippi to Alabama
Musicians have long crossed the Alabama -Mississippi border to perform and record. Mississippians such as Albert King, Little Milton, and Pops Staples recorded at studios in Muscle Shoals and Sheffield, including those owned by Mississippi natives Rick Hall and Quin Ivy, Alabamians Jerry "Boogie" McCain, Frederick Knight and Roscoe Robinson recorded for labels in Jackson, Mississippi, while Florence native W.C. Handy encountered the blues while working in the Mississippi Delta. . . . — Map (db m50652) HM
Alabama (Colbert County), Tuscumbia — Tuscumbia Big Spring
Tuscumbia Big Spring Big Spring (average daily flow 35,000,000 gallons) provided water for town founded on its banks. Michael Dickson of Tennessee was first settler (about 1817). Town laid out in 1819 and incorporated as Ococoposo (Cold Water, 1820). Name changed to Tuscumbia (1822) for a Chickasaw Indian. Confederate and Union soldiers camped here intermittently during wartime. (1861~1865). Site of Tennessee Valley Fair in the 1800's, later Colbert County Fair until 1930's. Spring park . . . — Map (db m28581) HM
Alabama (Colbert County), Tuscumbia — Yellow Fever Epidemic 1878 / The 31 Victims of Yellow Fever Who died in Tuscumbia
Side AYellow Fever Epidemic 1878 Taking 31 Lives in Tuscumbia Citizen's Relief Committee: F.H. Aydlett, H.M. Finley, J.J. Davis, James Jackson, Chm. J.W. Rand Jr., F.A. Ross, J.N. Sampson, Sec. and C. A. Womble. This committee, together with volunteers of both white and black~~ assisted by trained nurses brought from Memphis~~ nursed the sick, carried supplies, prepared the bodies, dug graves, and buried the dead. Doctors, Serving around the . . . — Map (db m29263) HM
Alabama (Etowah County), Gadsden — Eleventh Street School
The Eleventh Street School, built in 1907, was one of the earliest elementary schools in Gadsden. It is the only local surviving school building of that era. This two-story red brick structure has solid masonry exterior walls and an entrance which feature limestone columns, an entablature of the Ionic order, and a Palladian-style window. In 1926 the original architect, Alexander Duncan Simpson, designed an addition of eight classrooms and a lunchroom. After closing in December 1962, the . . . — Map (db m39133) HM
Alabama (Etowah County), Gadsden — The North Alabama Conference of the United Methodist Church
The North Alabama Conference of the United Methodist Church was organized on this site in the Methodist Episcopal Church, South of Gadsden, Alabama November 16, 1870 Bishop Robert Pain, presiding The Centennial Convocation of the Conference was held here on November 16, 1970 Bishop W. Kenneth Goodson, presiding — Map (db m15436) HM
Alabama (Houston County), Ashford — Ashford Centennial
Ashford was incorporated on June 22, 1891. Citizens, friends, and families of Ashford gathered here on June 22, 1991, to remember Ashford's durable and progressive history. This commemoration also affirmed their faith in Ashford's future by placing in this park a time capsule which is to be opened June 22, 2091. In memory of those who have brought Ashford to this point and with hope for those who will, in the present and future contribute to Ashford, the Centennial Committee dedicates this . . . — Map (db m73411) HM
Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — The Iron Man: Vulcan
The giant, cast iron statue you see towering above you is Vulcan, the Roman god of metalwork and the forge. The 56-foot tall statue was commissioned by Birmingham leaders to represent their new, growing city at the 1904 St. Louis World's Fair. After a smashing success at the fair, he was brought home to Birmingham. — Map (db m26297) HM
Alabama (Jefferson County), Leeds — John HenryLedgendary 'Steel Drivin' Man'
The story of "steel driving' man" John Henry is one of America's most enduring legends. The strong ex-slave became a folk hero during construction of the Columbus & Western Railroad between Goodwater and Birmingham. He drilled holes for explosives used to blast tunnels. According to legend, he was involved in a race against a steam-powered drill that its manufacturer claimed could do the job faster than a man. Witnesses said after the all-day contest that he and his heavy hammer cleared . . . — Map (db m22207) HM
Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — "Mountain" Tom ClarkHanged September 4, 1872
The notorious outlaw gang leader who boasted that no one would ever run over Tom Clark lies buried near the center of Tennessee Street where now all who pass by do run over him. In 1872, Clark, who terrorized helpless citizens during the Civil War, confessed to at least nineteen murders, including a child, and was hanged with two companions. Although graves were already dug in a nearby field, outraged townspeople interred Clark beneath Tennessee Street thus bring his boast to nought. — Map (db m28158) HM
Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — Andrew Jackson's Military Road-1817-
Construction of this road, as ordered by General Andrew Jackson, began in May 1817 by troops of the U.S. Army for national defense purposes. Beginning near Nashville, Tennessee and continuing to Madison, Louisiana, it shortened the distance from Nashville to New Orleans by 200 miles. This road followed early Native American trails that were uses by Jackson's Army during the War of 1812. The military road served as a major transportation route for early settlers of North Alabama, Mississippi, Louisiana, and the Old Southwest Territory. — Map (db m28563) HM
Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — Ante-Bellum Cotton Mills 1840
About one mile west of here is the site of the Globe Cotton Factory which was erected on Cypress Creek in 1840, By 1857 its operations included three cotton mills, a flour mill, and two corn mills, all powered by the use of three dams. By 1860 the factory employed 310 people,, including a large number of women and children, at average salaries of $2.50 per week. These mills were burned by the Union Army in May 1863. One factory called Cypress Mill, was re-built after the war, but its operation was never successful. — Map (db m35232) HM
Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — Cherokee Chief Doublehead's village around 1800
About 1800 Doublehead located his village at this site, where his brother-in-law Tahonteeskee had previously lived. Doublehead's log house was built along the same style of those of the white settlers. Chief Doublehead had previously led raids against Tennessee settlers from Moneetown, located southwest of here. In 1806 a reserve was set aside for Doublehead between Elk River and Cypress Creek. He leased large tracts of land to white settlers who were later evicted by the U.S. Army. His own . . . — Map (db m28958) HM
Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — Dr. Ethelbert Brinkley Norton
Dr. E. B. Norton was a member of the U.S. Education Mission sent to Japan after World War II to advise Gen. McArthur on the complete reorganization of the Japanese School System, which is still in place today. — Map (db m29266) HM
Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — Dred Scott(In Florence 1820 -1830)
Dred Scott, whose name is associated with the landmark U.S. Supreme Court Dred Scott Decision of 1857, was born in Virginia between 1795~1809. In 1818 he was in Madison County, Alabama. He came to Florence with the Peter Blow family in 1820. About 1827 the Peter Blow Inn was established at this site, Scott served as the hostler here until the Blows relocated to St. Louis, Missouri, in 1830. Afterwards, Scott was sold to Dr. John Emerson. It was under Emerson’s service that Scott based his legal . . . — Map (db m35183) HM
Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — Edward Asbury O'Neal, III
Serving 16 years as president of the American Farm Bureau Federation (1931-1947), Mr. O'Neal developed major New Deal farm policies in the Franklin D. Roosevelt Administration. Inducted 2007 City of Florence Walk of Honor — Map (db m28906) HM
Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — Florence State Teachers College
Oldest state~supported teacher college south of Ohio R. 1830 ~opened as LaGrange College (Methodist) at nearby Leighton. First charted college in state. 1855 ~ moved here and re~named Florence Wesleyan University. Flourished untiled closed by war 1865. 1872~deeded to State by church; became Florence State Normal School 1926~present name adopted — Map (db m28865) HM
Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — General John CoffeeHome Site and Grave
Cavalry Commander under Andrew Jackson throughout War of 1812: (Creek War, Pensacola, New Orleans). Negotiated many treaties ceding Indian lands to U.S. Made original surveys of Tennessee Valley. — Map (db m35259) HM
Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — Justice John McKinley Federal Building
Side A Named for Alabama's first United States Supreme Court Justice, John McKinley made his home in Florence, Alabama from about 1821 to 1842. Born May 1, 1780 in Culpepper County, Virginia, he died July 19, 1852 and is buried in Louisville, Kentucky. McKinley was an early setter of Huntsville, Alabama and resided in the Howard Weeden Home. As a member of the Cypress Land Company, he was one of the seven founders of Florence in 1818. McKinley helped establish one of Florence's first . . . — Map (db m28930) HM
Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — Lt. Col. R. Edward Yeilding
After flying more than 90 worldwide reconnaissance missions, in 1990 Lt. Col. Ed Yeilding set a coast to coast aircraft speed record of 67 minuets 54 seconds flying an SR-71 spy plane, which is now at the Smithsonian. Inducted 2007 — Map (db m29101) HM
Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — Prehistoric Native Americans / Historic Native Americans(Circa 8,000 B.C. ~1500 A.D.) / (Circa 1550 A.D.~ 1816 A.D.)
Side A This area near the mouth of Cypress Creek was inhabited by Archaic People as early as 8,000 B.C. Their main food consisted of freshwater mollusks from the river. (These mussels were the origin of the name "Muscle Shoals.") The Woodland and Copena Cultures, associated with the nearby large Florence Mound, arrived around 2,000 B.C. and remained almost 3,000 years. About 800 A.D. the Mississippian Civilization established villages here and on adjoining islands. Many of the . . . — Map (db m28454) HM
Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — Samuel Cornelius Phillips
Known as the "Father of Rock and Roll," Sam Phillips established Sun Records in 1952, helping Elvis Presley and other well-known artist launch their careers. He received a Grammy for Lifetime Achievement in music. Inducted 2007 City of Florence Walk of Honor — Map (db m29271) HM
Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — The Father of Rock ’N’ Roll / Sam Phillips in Florence
Side A Sam Phillips fell in love with the miracle of sound and the unifying power of music. Moving to Memphis, Tennessee, he embraced the beauty of the blues with his early recordings of Howlin Wolf, B.B. King and other delta artists. In 1951 the maverick producer cut the first “Rock ’N’ Roll” record, “Rocket 88.” Three years later he revolutionized American music with his discovery of the dynamic Elvis Presley. His credo was passionate conviction, originality, . . . — Map (db m29270) HM
Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — The University of North AlabamaFootball Program National NCAA Division II — Championship Titles (1993~1994~1995)
The University of North Alabama became the first school in the history of NCAA scholarship football to win three consecutive national championships (1993,1994,1995). Under Coach Bobby Wallace, UNA posted a 41~1 record over the same three ~ year period to become the first collegiate football team at any level to win as many as 40 games over a three ~ year period. UNA also became the first Division II school to win a football national championship on its home field in three consecutive games at Florence's Braly Municipal Stadium. — Map (db m32765) HM
Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — Wilson Family Cemetery 19th Century / Slave Cemetery 19th Century
Side A In 1818 three Wilson brothers John, Matthew and Samuel, came from Virginia to purchase large farms in this area. The plantations of John and Matthew joined near this cemetery. All three brothers and their families are buried here. Inscriptions on two gravestones tell of a Civil War atrocity when, on April 30, 1865 two local Union guerrilla gangs tortured and murdered John Wilson and his nephew, Matthew Jr. Two others in the house were shot, yet lived to tell the story. The . . . — Map (db m28160) HM
Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — Wood Avenue Historic District
A Residential neighborhood primarily developed between 1880 and 1930. The district contains elaborate Queen Anne, classic Georgian Revival and the more modest Bungalow styles of architecture as well as two homes of the Plantation Cotton style dating from the 1820's. Notable residents of Wood Avenue, formerly Market Street, were, Tom Sirbing, Pulitzer Prize winning author, George Geothals, Chief engineer of the Panama Canal and Helen Keller who resided on Wood Avenue while attending public . . . — Map (db m28953) HM
Alabama (Lauderdale County), Rogersville — Heritage Park
Side A The settlement of what is now eastern Lauderdale County (known as "Over Elk)" by non-Native Americans commenced by 1807. Federal land sales were held in Huntsville during the spring of 1818. Although much of the land was described as a "howling wilderness," there was a rush to buy. Records of these sales show purchasers were Samuel Burney, Andrew Rodgers, Archibald Fuqua and dozens more. Andrew Rodgers bought 79 acres in what became the downtown business district and as a . . . — Map (db m32473) HM
Alabama (Lauderdale County), Waterloo — Trail of Tears
Thousands of Cherokee Indians passed through Waterloo in the 1830s when they were forced by the U.S. government to move West on the "Trail of Tears". Most came by boat from Tuscumbia and camped here to await transfer to larger steamboats. During the encampment several births, deaths, and escapes occurred. One party of 1,070 Cherokees traveled overland from Ross Landing in Tennessee due to low water in the upper river. Following the general route of U.S. Hwy. 72 to Florence, they arrived here . . . — Map (db m29277) HM
Alabama (Lauderdale County), Waterloo — WaterlooSettled 1819~Incorporated 1832
One of Alabama's oldest incorporated towns. Waterloo was an important Tennessee river ports during the steamboat ear. In low~ water season after large boats from Louisville, Cincinnati and other places downriver unloaded here: smaller craft transported goods and passengers upriver to Florence at the foot of the Muscle Shoals. Following a disastrous flood in 1847, the town was moved from its location on the riverbank, now under Pickwick Lake, to present higher ground. Union gunboats shelled it . . . — Map (db m28461) HM
Alabama (Lawrence County), Courtland — American Legion - Post 58
Side A On April 20, 1934, a temporary charter was issued for Gen. Joe Wheeler Post 58, Courtland, Alabama. On November 12, 1946, a permanent charter was granted and the name changed to Wiley Horton Post 58 in honor of the deceased son of State Department Commander C.C. Horton. (Continued on other side) Side B (Continued from the side) The American Legion is the largest veterans' organization in the United States. It seeks to advance the aims and interest of all . . . — Map (db m29055) HM
Alabama (Lawrence County), Courtland — Early Roads / One of the South's First Railroads 1832
Side A Tennessee Street along the north side of the square was originally part of Gaines’ Trace, a horse path laid out in 1807 under the direction of Capt. Edmund Pendleton Gaines of the U. S. Army. From Melton’s Bluff on the Tennessee River, the trace ran westward to Cotton Gin Port on the Tombigbee, in present-day Mississippi. Another important early thoroughfare was the Byler Road (1819), which ran southward through Courtland and linked the Tennessee Valley to Tuscaloosa and lower . . . — Map (db m29056) HM
Alabama (Lawrence County), Courtland — The Red Rovers / Red Rovers Roster
Side A Volunteer military company organized at Courtland 1835 to aid Texas in struggle for independence. Commanded by Dr. Jack Shackelford, local physician, company derived its name from color of home spun uniforms, made by citizens of Courtland. In first battle Rovers were assigned to regiment cut off, captured at Coleta, March 20, 1836. Surrendered on promise of return to U. S. On March 27, company and others, 365 men, executed at Goliad by order of Gen. Santa Anna. Shackelford and . . . — Map (db m29054) HM
Alabama (Lawrence County), Courtland — The Town of Courtland / Early Settlers1819
Side A Federal lands in this area were first sold in 1818 and quickly purchased by settlers and speculators. A group of investors calling themselves the “Courtland Land Company” and consisting of William H. Whitaker, James M. Camp, William F. Broadnax, John M. Tifford, Benjamin Thomas and Bernard McKiernan acquired the future town site and had it laid off in a gridiron street pattern containing 300 lots. These were immediately put up for sale. In hopes that Courtland would . . . — Map (db m28989) HM
Alabama (Lawrence County), Hillsboro — Home of Annie Wheeler
Born July 31, 1868 ~ Died April 10, 1955 Daughter of General Joseph Wheeler Gallantly served her country three times on foreign soil. Volunteer nurse, Santiago, Cuba~1898. Spanish~American War and Manila, P.I. ~1899 during Philippine Insurrection. Red Cross Worker with A.E.F. France, World War I ~1918. Beloved as a humanitarian and benefactor of mankind. — Map (db m29558) HM
Alabama (Lawrence County), Oakville — Historic Indians
Five Historic Indian tribes lived in this area. By 1701, The Yuchi were living at the shoals on the Tennessee River. In early 1700s the Yuchi left, some moving to the Cherokee Nation on the Hiwassee River, TN and others to Chattahoochee River, GA. After a dispute with the Cherokee, some Yuchi moved south to the AL - GA border. Although some Creeks lived in the area by the late 1700s, their lands lay south of the Tennessee Divide. The treaty of Fort Jackson took Creek lands in southern Lawrence . . . — Map (db m36040) HM
Alabama (Lawrence County), Town Creek — Trail of Tears
Form the late 1700's to 1807 a Cherokee Chief named Doublehead guarded this area, that was claimed by both the Cherokee and Chickasaw Nations as sacred hunting grounds against encroachment of white settlers. Chief Doublehead had the reputation of eating flesh from his victims and was a fierce warrior. Greed for land by the states and encroachment of the early European settlers led to distention between the Native Americans and U.S. Government. This led to President Andrew Jackson's the Indian . . . — Map (db m29264) HM
Alabama (Lee County), Loachapoka — Boom and Change
Coming of the railroad from Montgomery in 1845 started a new era, with Loachapoka's name revived. It became the trade center for Waverly, Roxana, Rome, Camp Hill, Dudleyville, and Dadeville. Rousseau's Raiders hit Loachapoka at sun down, Sunday, July 17, 1864, and stayed one day. Census of 1870 indicated a population of 1,254, but reconstruction, migration, 1873 panic and railroad extension from Opelika to Dadeville in the early 1870's destroyed the town's pre-eminence, Loachapoka was . . . — Map (db m31356) HM
Alabama (Limestone County), Belle Mina — Belle Mina / Woodside
Marker Front Thomas Bibb built this grand house in 1826 and named it Belle Manor beautiful home but local pronunciation altered it to Belle Mina. The home which stayed in the Bibb family until 1940 was the seat of Bibb's large plantation and furnished the name of the small town nearby. The town of Belle Mina developed around a railroad station intended for the nearby town of Mooresville, the residents of which didn't want it built too close to their homes and business. While . . . — Map (db m29283) HM
Alabama (Madison County), Brownsboro — Trail of TearsDrane/Hood Overland Route
In May 1838 soldiers, under the command of U.S. Army General Winfield Scott, began rounding up Cherokee Indians in this area who had refused to move to Indian Territory in Oklahoma. About 16,000 Cherokees were placed in stockades in Tennessee and Alabama until their removal. Roughly 3,000 were sent by boat down the Tennessee River and the rest were marched overland in the fall and winter of 1838-1839. This forced-removal under harsh conditions resulted in the deaths of about 4,000 Cherokees. . . . — Map (db m33318) HM
Alabama (Madison County), Huntsville — Alabama’s Constitution And Statehood
Before statehood, the Alabama Territory had only limited rights of self government. Between July 5 and August 2, 1819, forty-four delegates from across the Territory convened in Huntsville to draft a constitution for statehood. Lawyers, merchants, ministers, planters, farmers, and physicians gathered here to produce a legal framework for self-government to protect the sovereignty of the people. A firm belief in the separation of powers among the legislative, executive, and judicial branches led . . . — Map (db m26592) HM
Alabama (Madison County), Huntsville — Andrew Jackson
On this spot, camped his army, October 11, 1813, after marching from Fayetteville, Tenn.,~"32 miles without halting,"~ enroute to the Battle of Horseshoe Bend. — Map (db m30382) HM
Alabama (Madison County), Huntsville — The Chamber of Commerce Huntsville/Madison CountyEstablished January 12, 1894
Side A Organized to enhance the economic growth and well~being of the community in order to provide employment opportunities and a superior quality of life for local residents. First known as the Huntsville Chamber of Commerce, the organization included Madison County in 1954 to more effectively promote the general prosperity of Huntsville/Madison County. (continue on other side) Side B (continued from other side) Between 1894 and 1916, the Chamber met at various . . . — Map (db m30383) HM
Alabama (Madison County), Madison — Trail of TearsDrane Overland Route
Early in the 1800's gold was found from Virginia to Alabama including a rich belt on Cherokee Indian land in what is now Dahlonega, GA. causing a huge influx of miners and a land grab by new settlers. Pressure and greed from politicians led to the removal of Indians from their homeland by force, fraudulent treaties, and settler hostilities. The U.S. Government sanctioned forced removal by passing the Indian Removal Act of 1830 affecting Cherokee from AL, GA, FL, MS, TN and the Carolina's. . . . — Map (db m28784) HM
Alabama (Mobile County), Mobile — Memorial to USS Herring (SS-233) — Submarines and the Battleship Park
Panel 1: Anderson, Fred H., RT1 Anderson, John L., Jr., MoMM2 Armstrong, James E., RM1 Balestrieri, S., ENS Blair, Jack L., S2 Blevins, J.T., S1 Boucher, Leo J., S1 Brennan, James J., TM2 Bronder, John J., SC2 Brown, Weldson, S2 Burkett, Timothy, CK1 Burton, Charles E., MoMM2 Campbell, Nathaniel, STM2 Carroll, Malcolm D., CMoMM Carter, Robert A., TM3 Chouinard, Robert A., TM1 Christopherson, R. W., TM1 Compton, John N., LTjg Cook, Arnold J., MoMM2 . . . — Map (db m74810) WM
Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — Georgia GilmoreFebruary 5, 1920 - March 3, 1990
Georgia Gilmore, cited as a “solid energetic boycott participant and supporter.” Lived in this house during the days of the Montgomery Bus Boycott. Once arrested on a bus, Gilmore was ardent in her efforts to raise funds for the Movement and organized “Club From Nowhere” whose members baked pies and cakes for sale to both black and white customers. Opening her home to all, she tirelessly cooked meals for participants including Dr. Martin Luther King and Dr. Ralph . . . — Map (db m28197) HM
Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — Harris House
Front Between May 20-24, 1961 Dr. Harris opened this home to a group of 33 students from Nashville, Tennessee, who were challenging interstate bus segregation. Known as the Freedom Riders, the group was attacked at the historic Montgomery Greyhound Bus Station upon arrival and harassed by rioters. In the days following attack, martial law was declared and Harris' home served as a haven for the Freedom Riders. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.,Dr. Ralph D. Abernathy, James Farmer, John Lewis, . . . — Map (db m28134) HM
Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — History of the Alabama State Bar
On December 13, 1878, a meeting was held in Montgomery for the purpose of forming a bar association, and on January 15, 1879, delegates from each county met for five days at a preliminary conference in the Hall of the House of Representatives. The Constitution and By-laws were adopted and officers elected to serve until the first annual meeting. W.L. Bragg of Montgomery was elected president. An act incorporating the State Bar Association was approved by the governor on February 12, 1879, and . . . — Map (db m36588) HM
Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — Montgomery’s Slave Markets / First Emancipation Observance - 1866
Side A The city’s slave market was at the Artesian Basin (Court Square). Slaves of all ages were auctioned, along with land and livestock, standing in line to be inspected. Public posters advertised sales and included gender, approximate age, first name (slaves did not have last names), skill, price, complexion and owner’s name. In the 1850s, able field hands brought $1,500; skilled artisans $3,000. In 1859, the city had seven auctioneers and four slave depots: one at Market Street . . . — Map (db m28187) HM
Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — Rosa Parks Montgomery Bus Boycott / Hank Williams Alabama Troubadour
Side A At the bus stop on this site on December 1, 1955, Mrs. Rosa Parks refused to give up her seat to boarding whites. This brought about her arrest, conviction, and fine. The Boycott began December 5, the day of Parks’ trial, as a protest by African - Americans for unequal treatment they received on the bus line. Refusing to ride the buses, they maintained the Boycott until the U. S. Supreme Court ordered integration of public transportation one year later. Dr. Martin Luther . . . — Map (db m28176) HM
Alabama (Saint Clair County), Ashville — Assassination Site of Sgt. E. Frank Harrison
In 1870 St. Clair Co. was still under Radical Republican Reconstruction. On August 20, 1870 honorable men of the County (former Confederates) had decided to hold the first Democratic Convention after the War Between the States. The meeting would be held at the Courthouse in Ashville. Former Sgt. E. Frank Harrison, Co. F. 10th Ala. Infantry Regiment was selected as one of the delegates. As Sgt. Harrison and a number of Confederate Veterans approached the Courthouse, they were ambushed by the . . . — Map (db m28142) HM
Alabama (Talladega County), Oak Grove — Stars Fell On Alabama / Hodges Meteorite
Stars Fell On Alabama November 30, 1954. It was cold, clear early afternoon when Dr. Moody Jacobs left his office for lunch, in the sky, he saw a trail of dark smoke and heard an explosion before white smoke shot out in several directions. “I thought a plane had exploded,” Moody said. Back by 1 p.m. he received a call to an Oak Grove home to treat Mrs. Ann Hodges who’d been struck by a “comet.” The descending fireball had actually been seen by many people across . . . — Map (db m44229) HM
Alabama (Talladega County), Talladega — Battle Of TalladegaNov. 9, 1813
Here Andrew Jackson led Tennessee Volunteers and friendly Indians to victory over hostile “Red Sticks.” This action rescued friendly Creeks besieged in Fort Leslie. Creek Indian War 1813 - 1814. — Map (db m28205) HM
Alabama (Talladega County), Talladega — USS Talladega (APA-208)Talladega County — "The Tremblin' T"
Seven Battle Stars * * * * * * * World War II * Iwo Jima Operation * Okinawa Gunto Operation First of the 31 ship convoy with occupation troops to dock at Yokohama on VJ Day, September 2, 1945 Korean War * 3rd Korean Winter * Korea, Summer-Fall (1953) Vietnam War * Vietnam Defense Campaign * Vietnamese Counteroffensive Phase II * Vietnamese Counteroffensive Phase III Commissioned October 31, 1944 Struck from Naval Register September 1, 1976 . . . — Map (db m12212) HM
Alabama (Tallapoosa County), Alexander City — The Savannah And Memphis Railroad 1874
The transformation of Youngsville from a country hamlet to a market town can be traced from the arrival of the railroad. The Savannah and Memphis Railroad was completed from Opelika to the east side of the Tallapoosa River at Sturdivant in 1872. Anticipating the extension of the railroad to Youngsville, the grateful citizens in 1873 changed the village’s name to Alexander City in honor of Edward Porter Alexander, president of the S & M. On June 24, 1874 an excursion train pulled by an engine . . . — Map (db m28653) HM
Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — “The Indian Fires Are Going Out”
The Trail of Tears led thousands of Creek Indians through Tuscaloosa, capital of Alabama in 1836. Chief Eufaula addressed the legislature with these words: "I come here, brothers, to see the great house of Alabama and the men who make laws and say farewell in brotherly kindness before I go to the far west, where my people are now going. In time gone by I have thought that the white men wanted to bring burden and ache of heart among my people in driving them from their homes and yoking them . . . — Map (db m28995) HM
Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — Arthur P. BagbyGovernor 1837 - 1841
He inherited the financial woes brought on by the collapse of the "Flush Times". Despite chaotic banking conditions during the Panic of 1837, chancery courts and a penitentiary system were both created, and Alabama settled its boundary dispute with Georgia. — Map (db m29030) HM
Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — Site Of The Stand In The Schoolhouse Door / Foster Auditorium, 1939
Foster Auditorium is the site of the June 11, 1963, “stand in the schoolhouse door” by Governor George C. Wallace in defiance of a court order requiring The University of Alabama to admit African-American students Vivian Malone and James Hood. President John F. Kennedy placed the Alabama National Guard under federal control to enforce the court order as Wallace refused to obey. Wallace then stepped aside and the students registered for class. That night, President Kennedy went on . . . — Map (db m37917) HM
Alabama (Walker County), Jasper — First United Methodist Church Jasper/President Franklin Delano RooseveltAttends Funeral of William Brockman Bankhead — Speaker of the U.S. House of Representatives
Side 1 Methodism came to Jasper with the city's founder, Dr. Edward Gordon Musgrove, who donated land for the courthouse and for most of downtown Jasper. In 1826, he and others constructed a building of large hewn logs that was used as both a Methodist church and a school. Around 1858, a two-story frame church building was constructed. Unsubstantiated local accounts state the church was burned to the ground in March of 1865 by General James H. Wilson's cavalry corps. Another frame . . . — Map (db m29981) HM
Alabama (Walker County), Jasper — William Brockman Bankhead Home1874-1940 — Speaker of the United States House of Representatives
William Brockman Bankhead served Alabama in the U.S. Congress from 1917 until 1940. For the last four years of his life, during Franklin D. Roosevelt's presidency, he served as the 47th Speaker of the House. He was the son of U.S. Senator John Hollis Bankhead, and the brother of U.S. Senator John Hollis Bankhead, Jr. An 1893 graduate of the University of Alabama, where he played fullback on the school's first football team. Bankhead earned his law degree from Georgetown University. He was . . . — Map (db m29980) HM
Alaska (Sitka Borough), Sitka — 250th Anniversary of the Bering- Chirikov Expedition1741-1991
[Top rim]: К 250 летию экспедиции В. И. Беринга и А.И. Чирикова Commemorating the 250th Anniversary of the Bering-Chirikov Expedition (English version on left): May the wheel of change forever turn with peace, justice and opportunity (Russian . . . — Map (db m8448) HM
Alaska (Skagway Borough), Skagway — Fatal Duel
Frank Reid, guarding the approach to Sylvester's Wharf, where the vigilantes were meeting to restore law and order, shot "Soapy Smith" who failed to stop when challenged, July 8, 1898. — Map (db m72790) HM
Alaska (Skagway Borough), Skagway — Inspector Charles Constantineand Staff Sergeant Charles Brown — Northwest Mounted Police
[Seal of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police] In Commemoration of Inspector Charles Constantine and Staff Sergeant Charles Brown North West Mounted Police First members of this historic Canadian police force who landed at Skagway, Alaska on June 29th, 1894. These two men entered Canada by the Chilkoot Pass and traveled over 500 miles down the Yukon River to the area of Forty Mile. Their orders were to establish Canadian sovereignty and determine law enforcement requirements in view . . . — Map (db m69014) HM
Alaska (Yukon Koyukuk Borough), Nenana — Golden Spike
A Golden Spike was driven at this point by President Harding on completion of the Alaska Railroad July 15 1923 — Map (db m4286) HM
Arizona (Apache County), Springerville — 17 — Bertha Wahl Shooting
In 1899, 14 year old Bertha Wahl was murdered here by a shepherd. Just south of here was the original Becker Store. Beyond lie the graves of the Becker family. Due west stood Henry Springer's Mercantile. — Map (db m36647) HM
Arizona (Apache County), Springerville — 19 — James Hale Shooting
On Dec. 25, 1886, James Hale was gunned down here in front of the Brighton Saloon. His accused was never brought to trial. In 1894 this site, then called Hunter's Hall, held the first Presbyterian services in the Round Valley. — Map (db m36651) HM
Arizona (Cochise County), Douglas — Douglas International Airport
At this location on June 5, 1933, First Lady Eleanor Roosevelt, wife of President Franklin Delano Roosevelt, dedicated Douglas International Airport as the first international airport in the United States. Designed by J. P. Sexton as the first and only truly international airport in the America's, Douglas International Airport began operations in 1929. The Douglas airfield was connected with the Auga Prieta, Mexico, airport by a common north-south runway. Early air travel between the . . . — Map (db m28357) HM
Arizona (Cochise County), Douglas — Mormon BattalionLDS Church
Longest infantry march on record Dec 6, 1846 — Map (db m28299) HM
Arizona (Cochise County), Douglas — Mormon BattalionLDS Church
San Bernardino Ranch Rest Camp Dec 5 1846 — Map (db m28300) HM
Arizona (Cochise County), Hereford — The Coronado Expedition, 1540-42
[The first section of marker is in Spanish:] En el año 1539, recordando aún el anuncio de la conquista del imperio inca que occurrió en 1533, el virrey Antonio de Mendoza receloso pero con te a la vez, envoí a un sacerdote para comprobar los rumres sobre ricas ciudades no descubiertas. Casi diez años mas antes, un indio llamadó lejo informo de la existencia de siete ciudades tan grandes como la ciudad de Mexico, con talleres de platería en cada calle. Pero había que hacer un . . . — Map (db m28255) HM
Arizona (Cochise County), Tombstone — 18 — Campbell & Hatch Saloon and Billiard Parlor1881
Bob Hatch and John Campbell opened a billiard parlor in 1880. Bob Hatch was a colorful character and an amateur thespian. It was said he kept a jar of frogs on the counter as their croaking helped him predict the weather. He followed the Earps to the famous gunfight, assisted in removing the gun from dying Billy Clanton's hand, and testified at the hearing. A few months later, he was playing a game of billiards with Morgan Earp when the back window was shattered by a gunshot and Morgan fell, . . . — Map (db m48516) HM
Arizona (Cochise County), Tombstone — City Marshall Virgil Earp
Virgil Earp was ambushed here and crippled for life as an aftermath of the OK battle-Dec 28, 1881 — Map (db m61873) HM
Arizona (Cochise County), Tombstone — 33 — Curly Bill Brocius
Curly Bill Brocius killed Marshal Fred White here on October 28th, 1880. — Map (db m53408) HM
Arizona (Cochise County), Tombstone — 36 — Tombstone Engine Co. No. 1
The devastating fires of 1881 and 1882 brought major changes to the Tombstone Fire Department. A new fire station was completed in 1881, a new Rescue Hook and Ladder Co. was formed, and a new water source was obtained. Thirty six miles of fifteen inch pipe was laid to bring water from the Huachuca Mts. to Tombstone resulting in water pressure that would "blow down an adobe wall". Over the years, this building has had many uses including a museum, a theatre and a Senior Center. This is the original 1881 structure, worn, but still standing. — Map (db m53403) HM
Arizona (Coconino County), Flagstaff — Beale Wagon Road1857 - 1882
From 1857-60, Lt. Edward F. Beale and crew of 100 men completed the first federal highway in the southwest from Fort Smith, Ark. to Los Angeles, Calif. at a cost of $200,000. The wagon road was used extensively by immigrants en route to California and livestock men with large herds of cattle and sheep until 1882. — Map (db m33346) HM
Arizona (Coconino County), Flagstaff — Flagstaff
Named for a pine tree stripped of its branches by a party of immigrants and used as a flagpole for a patriotic celebration on July 4, 1876. Nearby Antelope or Old Town Spring provided water and led to the establishment of a railroad construction camp when the Atlantic & Pacific pushed west in 1882. — Map (db m33330) HM
Arizona (Coconino County), Flagstaff — Walkway of Flags1994
Flags have been important to the history of Flagstaff. It was a pine tree used as a flag staff that gave the town its name when Old Glory was flown at a spring (that later became the site of Flagstaff) on the occasion of the nation's centennial—July 4, 1876. When the city celebrated its own centennial during the year 1994, the City Council and Centennial Commission decided to fly the flags of every state, and the flags of Flagstaff's sister cities as a way of showing how Flagstaff . . . — Map (db m33338) HM
Arizona (Coconino County), Page — Bureau of Reclamation Memorial Fountain
This fountain is dedicated to the memory of our fellow employees who died October 8, 1997 in a plane crash near Montrose, Colorado. Their names encircle the fountain just as the accomplishments of their careers and lives encircle us. Dedicated on behalf of all employees of the Bureau of Reclamation November 7, 1997 [Honor Roll of Employees] James L. Bloomfield, Electrical Engineer, Glen Canyon Field Division William H. Duncan Jr., Branch Manager, Glen Canyon Division . . . — Map (db m40325) HM
Arizona (Gila County), Payson — The Dude Fire
On June 25, 1990 a lightning caused fire entrapped ten members of the Perryville fire crew in this canyon. Resulting in six fatalities. Before the fire was contained it had burned more than 24,000 acres and destroyed over 70 structures. This tragic event inspired Paul Gleason to formulate L.C.E.S. (Lookout, Communication, Escape Route, Safety Zones) now a minimum safety standard for wildland firefighting. Lessons learned from this incident continue to influence fire suppression around the world today. — Map (db m28210) HM
Arizona (Gila County), Young — The Pleasant Valley War a.k.a. The Graham-Tewsbury FuedCirca 1882 - 1892
One of the West’s Longest and Bloodiest feuds took place here and around Pleasant Valley. The Grahams and the Tewksburys had been in the cattle business and it seems probable that they first fell out over the division of cattle they jointly owned (some believe stole). “Sheep were introduced into the valley in 1887 and this was an aggravating factor, drawing in cattle and sheep men from Holbrook and Flagstaff. Historians still debate the details of the feud that included brand changing, . . . — Map (db m48352) HM
Arizona (Graham County), Safford — Army of the West
In 1845 General Kearney's Army of the West Guided by Kit Carson followed the Gila River from New Mexico to the occupation of California in the Mexican War, thus opening the southern snowfree route to the Pacific Coast. — Map (db m28061) HM
Arizona (Graham County), Safford — In Memory of Lorenzo and Seth Wright
In Memory of two of the many pioneers who brought law, order and safety to the Gila Valley. Lorenzo and Seth Wright were killed 1 mile north of this spot by Indians who had stolen 45 horses from early settlers. While pursuing the Indians they were ambushed Dec. 1, 1885. — Map (db m28170) HM
Arizona (La Paz County), Bouse — 740th Tank BattalionDaredevil Tankers
The 740th tank battalion was activated at Fort Knox, Ky. on March 1, 1943. It trained at Fort Knox and at Camp Bouse, Az. as a canal defense light (CDL) unit and as a standard medium tank battalion from October 15, 1943 to April 24, 1944 then sailed to England on July 26, 1944. It landed at Utah Beach, Normandy, France on November 1, 1944 and entered combat on December 19, 1944 during the Battle of the Bulge. In it's first half hour of combat, it stopped the furthest advance of the German 1st . . . — Map (db m29145) HM
Arizona (La Paz County), Salome — McMullen Valley 9/11 Memorial
We place this memorial in honor of this great nation and the victims of September 11, 2001. — Map (db m31823) HM
Arizona (Maricopa County), Phoenix — Arizona's U.S.S. Arizona Memorial - In Memory of the Gallant MenWho Gave Their Lives on December 7, 1941 on the Battleship U.S.S. Arizona — During the Attack on Pearl Harbor
In memory of the gallant men who gave their lives on December 7, 1941 on the Battleship U.S.S. Arizona during the attack on Pearl Harbor Dedicated December 7, 1976 The Honorable Raul H. Castro, Governor of Arizona The contributions of thousands of school children, The Arizona Republic, many leaders of business and industry and patriotic citizens made this bicentennial memorial possible. The anchor (A-277) was forged in Chester, PA in 1911. Weight 19,555 pounds and has a full . . . — Map (db m26425) HM
Arizona (Maricopa County), Phoenix — U.S.S. Arizona Signal MastIn Memory of the Crew of the U.S.S. Arizona (BB39)
The upper 26 feet of the mast before you is the top portion of the main mast of the USS Arizona and is known as the signal mast or "pigsticker" The battleship USS Arizona (BB 39) was sunk at Pearl Harbor on December 7, 1941. The superstructure above the waterline was removed soon after the attack. Admiral Earnest H. King, Chief of Naval Opertations, sent the signal mast to his hometown of Lorain, Ohio. Commander Edwin C. Keyes, a close friend of Adm. King commanded tht naval . . . — Map (db m26610) HM
Arizona (Maricopa County), Wickenburg — Wickenburg Massacre
In this vicinity, Nov. 5, 1871, Wickenburg – Ehrenburg Stage ambushed by Apache Mohave Indians. John Lanz - Fred W Loring P. M. Hamel - W. G. Salmon Fredrick Shoholm and C.S. Adams were murdered Mollie Sheppard died of wounds. — Map (db m29478) HM
Arizona (Mohave County), Bullhead City — 9/11 Arizona Heroes Memorial
In honor of our Arizona fire fighting heroes from Phoenix who went to New York City on September 11, 2001 to aid in the recovery efforts at the World Trade Center. Dedicated on Veterans Day — Map (db m29433) HM
Arizona (Mohave County), Kingman — Ha' Qa' Muwe:(Ancestral Home of the Hualapai)
In Memory of Our Hualapai Ancestors Who Fought Against Cultural Genocide With Bravery and Foresight They Sacrificed Their Lives So The Hualapai People's Survival May Continue Today And Forever… This location was a temporary Internment Camp for the Hualapai People until the Infamous Forced March Of The La Paz Trail Of Tears, April 21, 1874 — Map (db m36013) HM
Arizona (Mohave County), Kingman — Mohave Center Plaza of Valor
"O Lord, thou givest us everything at the price of an effort." Leonardo Da Vinci 1452-1519 We remember those who gave their lives in the Holocaust of July 5, 1973, in Kingman John O. Campbell • Allan Hanson • Christopher G Sanders • William L Casson • Frank S Henry • Arthur C. Stringer • Joseph L. Chambers, III • Roger A Hubka • Donald G. Webb • M. B. (Jimmy) Cox • Marvin Mast • Richard Lee Williams On this 11th day of November, 1980, upon the dedication of Mohave . . . — Map (db m29421) HM
Arizona (Mohave County), Lake Havasu City — British – American Friendship
"We are now friends with England and with all Mankind." Written by Benjamin Franklin, American Peace Commissioner in Paris, following the signing of the peace treaty ending the American Revolution September 1783 With American and British flags flying overhead, a Quit Rent Ceremony is reenacted each October under the London Bridge, located since 1971 at the English Village in Lake Havasu City. The ceremony symbolizes London, England's friendship with Lake Havasu City. On this . . . — Map (db m31843) HM
Arizona (Mohave County), Lake Havasu City — London Bridge
Opened By The Right Honorable The Lord Mayor Of London Alderman Sir Peter Studd G.B.E.M.A.D.Sc. In The Presence Of The Honorable Jack Williams Governor Of Arizona October 10, 1971 Robert P. McCulloch Sr          C.V. Wood Jr.           Founder                         Master Planner       Lake Havasu City              Lake Havasu City Map (db m4328) HM
Arizona (Mohave County), Littlefield — The Old Spanish Trail1829 - 1848
The Old Spanish Trail, the main trade route between Santa Fe and Los Angeles, passed this way beginning in 1829. At the end of the Mexican-American War this portion of the route evolved into what was variously known as the Salt Lake Road, the Mormon Trail, the California Road, and eventually U.S. Hwy. 91. The original pack trail descended Utah Hill, passed through Beaver Dam, then followed the Virgin River toward Las Vegas. As wagon traffic increased in the 1850s the route veered westward near . . . — Map (db m22729) HM
Arizona (Navajo County), Holbrook — Jasper Forest
The petrified wood strewn in the valley below was once encased in the bluffs around you. When erosional forces removed the softer rocks, the petrified wood tumbled and accumulated on the valley floor. Once filled with fallen logs, Jasper Forest was plundered in the late 19th and early 20th centuries by commercial collectors seeking petrified wood to sell as souvenirs. Completion of the nearby railway line in 1882 provided early travelers – and relic hunters – easy access to . . . — Map (db m68871) HM
Arizona (Navajo County), Holbrook — Summer Solstice Marker
A solstice is an astronomical event that happens twice annually as the Sun reaches its highest or lowest point in the sky. Here in the Northern Hemisphere, June 20th is usually the longest day of the year and is referred to as the summer solstice. These photographs illustrate how sunlight from the rising summer solstice Sun flows down the cleft in the boulder in front of you. The play of light and shadow on the spiral petroglyph changes as the Sun rises and moves across the sky. From . . . — Map (db m68888) HM
Arizona (Navajo County), Show Low — "show low and you win the ranch".
In 1876, Corydon E. Cooley and Marion Clark, two ranchers who had both laid claim to, and eventually became partners in managing 100,000 acres of land at the northwest edge of the White Mountains determined that the land could not support two families. Neither man was willing to buy the other out. To settle the matter, Cooley and Clark engaged in a friendly game of Seven Up. The game was played at the kitchen table of Cooley's two-story home atop the hill directly south of this monument . . . — Map (db m36664) HM
Arizona (Pima County), Tucson — Commemorating the Raising of the First American Flag within the Walled City of Tucson
Commemorating the raising of the First American Flag within the Walled City of Tucson Dec 16, 1846 — Map (db m74174) HM
Arizona (Pima County), Tucson — Exchange at the PresidioThe Mormon Battalion Enters Tucson, 16 December 1846
Near this site on December 16 – 17, 1846, the U.S. 101st Infantry ("Mormon") Battalion under the command of Colonel Philip St. George Cooke peacefully occupied the Presidio San Agustin del Tucson. Organized in Council Bluffs, Iowa, to reinforce General Stephen Watts Kearny's Army of the West during the Mexican – American War, the battalion marched 2,000 miles to San Diego, probably the longest march in the U.S. military history. By the time the battalion reached Tucson, it . . . — Map (db m73983) HM
Arizona (Pima County), Tucson — Padre-Eusebio-Francisco-Kino, S.J.
Born Segno, Italy, 1645 – Educated at Jesuit Colleges Entered society of Jesus, 1665 – His petition to be sent upon a distant and dangerous mission granted, 1678 – Began missionary labors in Lower California, April 1, 1683 – Among Pimas, March 13, 1687 During 24 years in Pimeria Alta made 50 missionary and exploring expeditions inland - Founded missions – Established ranches – Introduced domestic animals and European plants into Arizona – Made . . . — Map (db m26394) HM
Arizona (Pima County), Tucson — U.S.S. Arizona 1916 - Wilber L. "Bill" Bower U of A Outstanding Achievement Awards
The bell in this clock tower is one of the two original ship's bells salvaged from the battleship U.S.S. Arizona following the attack on Pearl Harbor, December 7, 1941. In 1944, Wilber L. "Bill" Bowers, UA Class of 1927, discovered the bell about to be melted down at the Puget Sound Naval Yard in Bremerton, Washington. Bowers was instrumental in saving the bell from destruction and in acquiring the bell for the University of Arizona. On November 17, 1951 the bell was rung for the first . . . — Map (db m31199) HM
Arizona (Pima County), Tucson — Wyatt Earp Shot Frank Stilwell...
Wyatt Earp joined his four brothers in the silver-boom town of Tombstone in 1879 where brother Virgil was deputy U.S. marshal. Wyatt was a sometimes-lawman himself, and hoped to become sheriff of the newly formed Cochise County in 1881. He withdrew from the race when the other candidate, John Behan, promised to make him chief deputy. Behan was associated with a rowdy element known as the 'cowboys,' who were involved in periodic rustling forays, robberies and similar unscrupulous pursuits. . . . — Map (db m28929) HM
Arizona (Pima County), Vail — The CCC WorkerCamp SP-10-A — Colossal Cave Mountain Park 1934 – 1937
Honoring the young men who served in the Civilian Conservation Corps here and across the nation. With shovel and hammer, trowel and chisel, they moved earth, planted trees, crafted stone, and built structures that shape our landscape and remain a lasting legacy of their service. — Map (db m30614) HM
Arizona (Pinal County), Casa Grande — In Honor of Mormon Battalion
Who camped here Dec 20, 1846 in rout to Cal. War with Mexico. Erected By Aaronic Priesthood Mesa 3rd Ward L.D.S.C. Troop 57 Boy Scouts of America R.C. Hugh Dana Sp.• Joseph Moody S.M. • F.K. Pomeroy 1st Coun • T. Elmer Hastings Asst S.M.• Leland Glazier, 2nd Coun • Lavier Gardner Jr. S.M. • J.W. Bond Clerk • Gail Dana S.Com. • Sen F.T.Pomeroy • Joseph Tate S.Com. • C.W. Glazier • Chas Standage S.Com. • Special Advisor Leo. Aldredse S. Com. — Map (db m27207) HM
Arizona (Pinal County), Gila River — Gadsden Purchase
The Gila River north of this site marked the international border of the United States and Mexico from 1848 to 1854. James Gadsden negotiated to purchase 38,000 Sq. miles of "wild country" for $15 million in gold. Amended to $10 million for 29,640 Sq. miles, the Gadsden Purchase maintained southern railroad and wagon routes but preserved Mexico's link to Baja, California. Today the Gadsden Purchase comprises 24 percent of Arizona's total land area. — Map (db m33689) HM
Arizona (Pinal county), Gila River — Gadsden Purchase
The Gila River north of this site marked the international border of the United States and Mexico from 1848 to 1854. James Gadsden negotiated to purchase 38,000 SQ. Miles of "wild country" for $15 million in gold. Amended to $10 million for 29,640 Sq. miles, the Gadsden Purchase maintained southern railroad and wagon routes but preserved Mexico's link to Baja, California. Today the Gadsden Purchase comprises 24 percent of Arizona's total land area. — Map (db m33692) HM
Arizona (Pinal County), Globe — The Hanging TreeDedicated to Gila County Law Enforcement — Protect and Serve
From a Sycamore near this spot, L.V. Grime and C.B. Hawley were lynched on Aug. 24, 1882 for the hold up – murder of Andrew Hal, Wells Fargo Packer, and Dr. S.T. Vail. The culprits had a fair hearing before JP Allen on Wednesday eve, and at 2 AM Thursday on a clear night they were hanged. Saloons were closed and it was an orderly lynching. — Map (db m34116) HM
Arizona (Pinal County), Sacaton — Dedicated to Ira H. Hayes USMC
Dedicated to Ira H. Hayes USMC February 23rd 1992 by the Memorial Committee Lance Lewis Director, Shirley Lewis Coordinator JR Currea Artist In Country Vietnam Veterans Post 2 Tempe Arizona Ira H. Hayes American Legion Post 84, Sacaton Arizona — Map (db m32845) HM
Arizona (Pinal County), Superior — US 60 History Trail
This historical trail began in 1997 when Broken Hill Proprietary Company Limited ( BHP ) donated local mining artifacts from the 120 year old magma mine to the Superior Historical Society, Inc. due to their age and size, it was determined that these artifacts would be displayed in an outdoor environment along with the natural history of the area. The Superior Historical Society worked with BHP, the town of Superior, architects and planners to develop a layout that would preserve the legacy of . . . — Map (db m67494) HM
Arizona (Santa Cruz County), Madera Canyon — Boy Scout Memorial
Troup 301 and Venture Crew 301 cautions you to Be Prepared before you hike to the summit. In memory of the 50th anniversary of the Boy Scouts lost on November 15, 1958 David Greenberg – 12 years old Mike Early – 16 years old Michael J. La Noue – 13 years old — Map (db m73898) HM
Arizona (Santa Cruz County), Patagonia — John Ward's Ranch
Arizona Pioneer Johnny Ward established a ranch here in 1858. In 1861 Indians kidnapped his Mexican stepson Felix Ward. Army officers assumed that local eastern Chiracahua Apaches were responsible, leading to the infamous conflict between Lt. Bascom and Cochise. In fact, the Pinal Band of the Western Apaches took Felix. John Ward died in 1867. The ranch was also the site of a blacksmith and wheelwright shop, a mining headquarters, a store, finally, a produce farm before it was abandoned in 1903 — Map (db m24436) HM
Arizona (Yavapai County), Prescott — Prescott
Prescott, Yavapai County Seat, founded 1864 on Granite Creek, source of Placer gold. Named for William Hickling Prescott, Historian, first Gov. JN. N. Goodwin, Appointee of Abraham Lincoln. Established first territorial capital of Arizona here. At Governor's Mansion, two blocks west, the first legislature met July 18, 1864. Site of first graded school in Arizona. Disastrous fire started by miner's candle destroyed four blocks about this square in 1900. — Map (db m18805) HM
Arizona (Yavapai County), Prescott — Prescott's Beginnings: The First Mining District in Yavapai County
The City of Prescott had its beginnings in the Spring of 1863 when a party of explorers and would-be gold miners led by the famed Joseph R. Walker arrived near the headwaters of the Hassayampa River. On May 10, 1863, at a location some six miles south-southeast of this Plaza, twenty-five members of the Walker Prospecting and Mining Company adopted "Laws and Resolutions" governing members of the first mining district in what would later become Yavapai County. The rules for the "Pioneer Mining . . . — Map (db m20623) HM
Arizona (Yavapai County), Prescott — The Fire of 1900
A disastrous fire on the night of July 14, 1900 changed the face of downtown Prescott. Starting in a room in the Scopel Hotel on the southwest corner of Goodwin and Montezuma Streets, the fire quickly hopped across Goodwin Street and proceeded to consume all of the buildings on "Whiskey Row," leveling the entire block. Though some of the Plaza buildings were built of brick, many were wood, and the destruction was nearly complete. The fire burned almost everything in its path to Granite Creek . . . — Map (db m20811) HM
Arizona (Yavapai County), Seligman — Beale Wagon RoadSeligman, Arizona
From 1857 to 1860 Lt. Edward F. Beale and a crew of 100 men built the first federal highway in the southwest. The 1857 Beale Expedition used 22 camels and dromedaries for pack animals. This road went from Fort Smith, Arkansas to Los Angeles, California at a cost of $210,000. The Beale Wagon Road was used by military troops and emigrants en route to California. Herds of cattle and sheep were driven over the route until 1883. Information compiled by Jack Beale Smith — Map (db m32206) HM
Arizona (Yuma County), Dateland — Boeing B-50A The "Long Ranger"
On the morning of March 23, 1950, an Air Force B-50 Bomber on a routine training mission, exploded and crashed north of the communities of Dateland and Hyder AZ. Two of the 14 crewman on board, Capt. John H. Lee and 1st. Lt. William T. Gentry, managed to escape the disintegrating aircraft and parachuted to safety. The 12 remaining crew members all perished in the crash. This memorial is erected and dedicated to the memory of the crew of the "Long Ranger" who, while serving their country, . . . — Map (db m28936) HM
Arizona (Yuma County), Yuma — Robert G. Fowler1883 – 1966
On October 25, 1911, pioneer aviator Robert Grant Fowler touched down on this site, becoming the first person to land an airplane in Arizona under its own power. A native Californian, he had departed Los Angles October 19, and completed aviation history's first west to east transcontinental flight when he reached San Pable Beach, Florida, February 17, 1912. He flew a Wright Model B, purchased from Orville and Wilbur Wright who taught him to fly. Fowler had given up driving race cars to pursue a . . . — Map (db m29018) HM
Arizona (Yuma County), Yuma — Robert G. Fowler
Robert G. Fowler Alighted on this spot October 25,1911 Marking first airplane flight over Arizona soil en route on first flight Pacific to Atlantic Ocean. Dedicated by Rotary Club Yuma Arizona. October 29, 1938. — Map (db m29046) HM
Arkansas (Benton County), Garfield — Pea Ridge and the Trail of TearsTrail of Tears National Historic Trail — National Trails System
"Decr 23rd 1837, Buried Rainfrogs daughter. Marched at 8 o'c A.M. halted at Reddix, 3 o'c. P.M. encamped and issued corn & fodder & beef, 16 miles today. -B.B. Cannon, Detachment Leader Not Far to Go Here, members of William Ruddick's family witnessed more than 11,000 Cherokee people passing by between 1837 and 1839 on their forced removal to Oklahoma. About 356 Cherokee in the detachment led by B.B. Cannon, camped near here on December 23, 1837 - the first removal contingent to . . . — Map (db m21085) HM
Arkansas (Benton County), Rogers — War Eagle Mills Farm
The Ozark Arts and Crafts Fair was founded on War Eagle Mills Farm by Lester and Blanche Elliott and friends in October 1954 for the purpose of giving recognition to Ozark artists and craftsment who work with their hands and hearts to preserve the rich Ozark heritage. Dedicated to the memory of Lester and Blanche Elliott. The fair was made possible through their devotion to each other and the people they loved. They gave freely of their time, labor and the use of this historic farm for the . . . — Map (db m52066) HM
Arkansas (Phillips County), Helena — Phillips County, Arkansas
Phillips county lies in what is known as the Mississippi alluvia plain, also called The Delta. The earliest known inhabitants were native Indians, noted for building large earthen mounts for ceremonial purposes and to bury their chiefs. By the time Hernando De Soto explored Arkansas in 1541 the area was home to two sophisticated Indian cultures, The Casoui and the Pacaha and included large fortified towns. The point where De Soto crossed the Mississippi River into Arkansas is much debated, . . . — Map (db m51929) HM
Arkansas (Sebastian County), Fort Smith — Executions at Fort Smith
During the twenty-four years the federal executions took place in Fort Smith, eighty-seven men died on the gallows. While Judge Isaac C. Parker sat on the bench, 160 people, including four women, were sentenced to hang. Just over half received a reprieve from execution through pardons, commutations, reversals or acquittals on appeal, or death in jail. The men listed below were hanged in Fort Smith. August 15, 1873 John Childers October 10, 1873 Six Killer, Tunagee alias Tuni Young Wolf . . . — Map (db m59023) HM
Arkansas (Sebastian County), Fort Smith — Old Federal Building
The old part of the building was the Barracks of the Fort 1840-1871, Federal Court and Jail 1872-1887 presided over by Judge I.C. Parker, 1875-1887. Erected as a public service by The Noon Civic Club — Map (db m57922) HM
Arkansas (Sebastian County), Fort Smith — W.J. Murphy - Eads Brothers Building in 1903
The first mention of this property is from 1838 when it was part of the brickyard that manufactured bricks to build the second Fort Smith. In 1877 the City Hotel was built here. In 1897, identical buildings were constructed to house the W.J. Murphy Harness and Saddlery Company at 410-12 Garrison. In 1901, Charles and Louis Eads established Eads Brothers Furniture Company in the former Rodgers-Wade building. In 1923, Eads Brothers purchased the Murphy building, removing the walls and combining . . . — Map (db m57917) HM
California (Alameda County), Alameda — 968 — Pan Am China Clipper
Pan American World Airways fabled China Clipper (Martin M/130 Flying Boat) left Alameda Marina on November 22, 1935 under the command of Captain Edwin G. Musick. The flight would reach Manila via Honolulu, Midway, Wake, and Guam. The inauguration of ocean airmail service and commercial airflight across the Pacific was a significant event for both California and the world. California Registered Historical Landmark No. 968 — Map (db m31409) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — “A People’s History of Telegraph Avenue”
Mural designed by Osha Newmann, painted with O’Brien Thiele, Janet Kranzberg, Daniel Galvez and many others Painted in 1976 Restored and enlarged in 1999 City of Berkeley Landmark designated in 1990 The mural on this wall was painted the year of the Bicentennial of the American Revolution to commemorate a more recent revolutionary period. It depicts the social and political movements that defined Berkeley in the Sixties beginning in 1964 with the Free Speech Movement and . . . — Map (db m54696) HM
California (Alameda County), Hayward — Juan Bautista de Anza Expedition Campsite #98
Lt. Colonel Juan Bautista de Anza by decree of Carlos III of Spain led an expedition to this site – The mission being to colonize the San Francisco Bay Area In the center of the marker is a circular motif, designed by Doris Birkland Beezley, of a rider superimposed upon a sun-like set of compass points, with the "De Anza Expedition 1775 1776" written above the rider. Monument Dedication: This monument was erected on this location where Lt. Colonel Juan Bautista de . . . — Map (db m28815) HM
California (Alameda County), Livermore — Livermore Flagpole
A flagpole has anchored this site since 1905. On July 4, 2005, the citizens of this community dedicated a new flagpole. Sixty feet of the original flagpole stand in nearby Carnegie Park. Both symbolize the strength of our nation and its people. Commemorated by the City of Livermore Historic Preservation Commission May 2008 — Map (db m17872) HM
California (Alameda County), Livermore — Tolliver Airship
Eight miles southwest of this location, in the Spring of 1904, Charles Tolliver built an airship. With an aluminum superstructure covered with 6,000 yards of rongee silk, the craft was to be 250 feet long, 40 feet wide and 44 feet high. Four gasoline powered engines and six propellers - two on each side, one in the front, one rear. There was no need for rudders with this type of construction. Mrs. Phoebe Hearst was the main financial backer, contributing 72,000 dollars to the project. . . . — Map (db m19968) HM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — Pony Express Ferry "Oakland"
Dedicated April 23, 1999 Jack London Square By Port of Oakland, William Campbell Family, Dreyers Grand Ice Cream, Alameda/Oakland Ferry Service, Waterfront Plaza Hotel & Jacks, Sportsman's Hall - Pollock Pines Pony Express Home Station, Pony Express Trail Association Sponsors: Walter R. Harmon • Miller Packing Company • Dealey, Renton and Associates • Piedmont Grocery Company • Employees of Scotts Seafood • Oakland Association of Realtors • Oakland Metropolitan Chamber of . . . — Map (db m19017) HM
California (Alameda County), Pleasanton — Gold CreekThe Great Gold Discovery of 1871
On Feb. 8, 1871 two men, the names of Neal F. Taylor and Timothy Cox, were looking for coal in the area and found more than they were looking for. On this creek which comes down through the then Dougherty Ranch the two men found a gold nugget. They prospected the area finding more nuggets and gold flakes and gold dust. Soon others heard of this and there was a grand rush to Gold Creek. There were 20 claims staked and some 30 men working the creek for gold, which never produced much and was . . . — Map (db m69728) HM
California (Alameda County), San Leandro — San Leandro – Cherry Festivals
West side of marker: San Leandro’s farmers expected a bumper crop of cherries in 1909. Why not celebrate and promote the city and one of its wonderful crops? The first cherry festival took place that spring. The Oakland Enquirer reported that it was the greatest carnival ever attempted in the county, and the host city was “as full of carnival spirit and joy as her orchards were full of cherries.” Festivities included a 21-gun salute, a parade, a grand ball, . . . — Map (db m26458) HM
California (Alameda County), Union City — 768 — Site of the Nation’s First Successful Beet Sugar Factory
The factory was built in 1870 by E. H. Dyer, “Father of the American Beet Sugar Industry.” Located on a corner of Dyer’s farm, the small factory began processing sugarbeets on November 15, 1870 and produced 293 tons of sugar during its first operating season. The plant has since been completely rebuilt on the original site. California Registered Historical Landmark No. 768 Plaque placed by the California State Park Commission in cooperation with the Holly Sugar Corporation . . . — Map (db m31402) HM
California (Alpine County), Kirkwood — 315 — Kit Carson
On this spot, which marks the summit of the Kit Carson Pass stood what was known as the Kit Carson Tree on which the famous scout Kit Carson inscribed his name in 1844 when he guided the then Captain John C. Fremont, head of a government exploring expedition over the Sierra Nevada Mountains. Above is a replica of the original inscription cut from the tree in 1888 and now is in Sutter’s Fort, Sacramento. — Map (db m12032) HM
California (Alpine County), Kirkwood — Snowshoe Thom(p)son(John Tostensen) — A True Pioneer
“…there ought to be a shaft raised to Snow-Shoe Thompson: Not of marble; Not carved and not planted in the valley, but a rough shaft of basalt or of granite, massive and tall, with top ending roughly as if broken short, to represent a life which was strong and true to the last. And this should be upreared on the summit of the mountains over which the strong man wandered so many years, as an emblem of that life which was worn out apparently without an object…” Attributed to: Dan . . . — Map (db m12028) HM
California (Alpine County), Markleeville — 318 — Ebbetts PassHistorical Landmark
Named after Major John Ebbett and pointed out in 1853 to surveyor G.H. Goodard who referred to it as a “route of great promise – probably the best one for a transcontinental railway.” No emigrant train used this route but a stage road was completed here in 1864 to serve mining region of Silver City. — Map (db m11444) HM
California (Amador County), Jackson — - Jackson -The Jumping Seat of Calaveras County
Judge Smith proclaimed Jackson the Seat of Justice after Clerk Collier canvassed the votes of the May 1851 election in which 1224 votes were cast for Moquelumne Hill and 1014 for Jackson. An armed party from Moquelumne Hill pursued Judge Smith to lynch him. Another party stole the records from the clerk’s office. Later Judge Smith shot and killed Collier on Main Street over another disputed election count. A perfect example of Mother Lode politics. - Erected by - Chapter No.49 – E . . . — Map (db m27499) HM
California (Amador County), Jackson — Archimandrite Sebastian Dabovich
Very Reverend Archimandrite Sebastian Dabovich The First Administrator of the Serbian Church In America – Born in San Francisco on June 21, 1863 – Died November 30, 1940 in the Monastery of Zitcha at the Age of Seventy-Seven. — Map (db m13966) HM
California (Amador County), Jackson — In Memoriam: The '49ers
They traveled here from family hearths throughout the world to mine Sierra’s treasures from the Golden Mother Lode. O’er claims where stood raw shacks and sailcloth tents the woodsmoke curled, while pick and shovel, pan and sluice marked where cold waters flowed. One hundred fifty miles of honeyed white quartz vein yielded yellow nuggets, flakes and dust of precious gold. Men came from every walk of life to forge the camptown chain. Where Bret Harte and Mark Twain their struggles . . . — Map (db m42497) HM
California (Amador County), Jackson — Labor Day Celebration
On this site in 1905, a double jack drilling contest took place. A 31 ½ inch hole was drilled in this granite in 15 minutes. The contest was won by Matt Thomas & Pete Vasilovich. — Map (db m10777) HM
California (Amador County), Jackson — 34 — Pioneer Hall
The Order or Native Daughters of the Golden West was organized on these premises The site of the Pioneer Hall on September 1, 1886. This tablet is placed In memory of the founding of the order by Ursula Parlor No. 1, N.D.G.W. The Mother Parlor April 12, 1932 Charter Roll The thirteen original signers (Sept. 11, 1886) Lilly O. Reichling (Dyer), Founder Ellen Boarman (Farrington) • Maggie Stasal • Rose Stasal • Nellie Fontenrose • Emma Boarman (Wright) . . . — Map (db m28039) HM
California (Amador County), Jackson — NR07000507 — William J. Paugh House
The William J. Paugh House, also known as Rosewall, is a very pure example of a Gothic Revival House. The style was most popular during the 1840's and 1850's. It was built in the late 1850's by Charles L. Parish, artist, architect and builder. According to Parish family lore, Charles was in love with a local school teacher and built the house to encourage her to marry him. When he was unable to win her hand in marriage, he decided to hold a raffle, in which the house would be the first . . . — Map (db m28067) HM
California (Amador County), Kirkwood — Maiden's Grave
Broken dreams and hope, carried 2000 miles through scorching deserts and over loft mountains. At last...the sight of the promise land. Those of you who visit this grave carry a torch of love and hope (which this young girl lost), and pass it on, to generations unborn. Rechall Melton was laid to rest here, on a cold and frosty morning, Oct.4,1850. Blessed are the pure of heart for they shall see God. — Map (db m11983) HM
California (Amador County), Martell — To The Memory of Mike ToveyWells Fargo Messenger
Michael (“Mike”) Tovey, Wells Fargo Messenger was killed and DeWitt Clinton Radcliff, stage driver injured on this spot, June 15, 1893, by a lone bandit who attempted to hold up the regular six-horse stage on the old Ione - Jackson Stage Road. A line of stages was established in 1850, running between Sacramento and Sonora via Q Ranch (near Ione) Jackson, Mokelumne Hill, Angels and Columbia. Over $256,000,000 in gold bullion is said to have been carried in the early days over . . . — Map (db m41555) HM
California (Amador County), Sutter Creek — 1854 · Amador County · 1954
Amador County, carved from Calaveras and El Dorado, was organized July 3, 1854, at the crossroads of Sutter Hill. Act of Legislature, May 11, 1854, set June 17, 1854, as election date for people to vote on such a division, and appointed five organization commissioners: W.L. McKimm, Chairman; E.W. Gemmill; A.J. Sneath; A.Boileau; and A. Platt, Secretary. They transacted business at Tucker’s Ranch as follows: 1. Established election precincts; 2. Set July 17, 1854, as election . . . — Map (db m11222) HM
California (Amador County), Sutter Creek — Central Eureka Mine
Was begun here in the early 1850’s as the Badger and later the Summit Mine. It consolidated with Hayward’s old Eureka Mine in 1924 as the Central Eureka Company, Amador Consolidated Mines. The main shaft reached a depth of 4,965’. It was the last of the mines to close operations in Amador County in 1954. Its combined earnings being over $36, 000,000 from 1,800,000 ounces of gold. — Map (db m13084) HM
California (Amador County), Sutter Creek — In Memory of General John A. SutterBenefactor of the Great State of — California
Who mined here and gave Sutter Creek its name and under whose regime gold was discovered. Also to those pioneer mothers, fathers and miners of the Mother Lode, which has produced millions is gold. This rock used in Mother Lode Champion hand drilling contests. — Map (db m13407) HM
California (Amador County), Sutter Creek — Leland Stanford, Jr.1824 – 1893
A man of tremendous ambition, Leland Stanford, Sr., was one of California’s most distinguished businessmen, politicians, philanthropists, and proponents of education. Lured to California by the Gold Rush in 1852, he became an owner of Sutter Creek’s Union-Lincoln Mine. Stanford went on to become California’s governor, a U.S. Senator, member of the Central Pacific Railroad, “Big Four” and founder of Stanford University, a living memorial to his son, Leland Stanford, Jr. — Map (db m12610) HM
California (Amador County), Sutter Creek — Mahoney Mine
On Top of the Hill Founded by Jerry Mahoney from Killarney, Ireland in 1851. Claim purchased from Alvinza Hayward. Merged with the Wildman Mine and reached a depth of 1200 feet. Produced $5 million in gold. Later part of Lincoln Consolidated Co. — Map (db m12606) HM
California (Amador County), Sutter Creek — Sutter Creek’s First Fire Bell
Within the bell The following is inscribed "Hung by G. Chisholm, Dan Ramazzotti Oct. 18, 1907 Director – F. N. Soracco, F. Warner E. Deacon – Sutter Creek Fire Co. Cast by A. Fulton’s Son and Company Pittsburg, PA. Ordered by Wm. M. Tucker,” — Map (db m44151) HM
California (Amador County), Sutter Creek — Wildman MinePowder House
Founded by William T. Wildman in 1851. Merged with Mahoney Mine and reached a depth of 1500 feet. Combined mines operated a 70 stamp mill and produced a total of $5 million in old by 1924. Powder house used to store explosives. Became part of Lincoln Consolidated. Co. — Map (db m12598) HM
California (Amador County), Volcano — Soldier Gulch
This plaque is in commemoration of two soldiers of a party from Stevenson’s New York Regiment who discovered Volcano Valley in late 1848 and camped here in Soldier Gulch through a hard winter. Their bodies were discovered in the spring and buried somewhere here by a party of Mexicans. May these pioneer miners rest in peace. — Map (db m11364) HM
California (Amador County), Volcano — Volcano
Discovered in 1848 by Colonel Stevenson’s men who mined Soldiers’ Gulch in ’49. First covered wagon party sluiced rich gravel beds. By ’53, men swarmed flats and gulches naming them picturesquely. Hydraulic operations, begun in ’55, brought thousands of fortune seekers to form town of 17 hotels, library, theaters and courts of justice. During Civil War, Volcano gold served the Union. “Volcano Blues” smuggled cannon “Old Abe” in, by hearse, to quell rebels. Mellow with . . . — Map (db m11365) HM
California (Butte County), Magalia — 771 — The Dogtown Nugget
This marker symbolizes the discovery of the first large gold nugget in California. It was found across this canyon in Willard Gulch April 12, 1859. Weight 54 pounds. — Map (db m29663) HM
California (Calaveras County), Angels Camp — 287 — Angels CampHome of the Jumping Frog — Romance - Gold - History
Founded in 1849 by George Angel, who established a mining camp and trading store 200 feet below this marker. A rich gravel mining area and one of the richest quartz mining sections of the Mother Lode. Production records of over $100 million for Angels Camp and vicinity. Prominent in early day California history. Townsite established in 1873. Locale of Mark Twain's famous story, The Jumping Frog of Calaveras. Frequented by Joaquin Murietta, Black Bart and other early day bandits. — Map (db m14460) HM
California (Calaveras County), Angels Camp — Mark Twain
In Memory Of MARK TWAIN Who found inspiration here for his inspirational story-- “The Celebrated Jumping Frog of Calaveras County” ANGELS CAMP 1865 — Map (db m13006) HM
California (Calaveras County), Copperopolis — Black Bart at Funk HillCopperopolis
July 1875, at Funk Hill 4 miles due east Black Bart, alias Charles E. Bolton or Boles, wearing a flour sack mask and a linen duster, waving a double-barrelled shot gun held up the Wells Fargo Sonora to Milton Stage. The first successful stage robbery in California. For eight years he was the “scourge and terror of California roads.” Often leaving a few lines of doggerel at the scene: I’ve labored long and hard for bread, For honor and for riches, But on my corns’ too long . . . — Map (db m70090) HM
California (Calaveras County), Copperopolis — 296 — CopperopolisState Registered Landmark No.296
Copper here discovered by W. K. Reed and Thomas McCarty in 1860. Mines utilized during the Civil War and the First and Second World Wars. During Civil War period was the principal copper producing section of the United States. — Map (db m13002) HM
California (Calaveras County), Copperopolis — 281 — O'Bryne Ferry
In 1852 a chain cable bridge replaced the ferries that once crossed here, to be supplanted in its turn by a covered truss structure in 1862. Some writers claimed this was the locale of Bret Harte's Poker Flat. In late “49” there was a large camp here, with miners washing gold out on both banks of the Stanislaus River. — Map (db m13013) HM
California (Calaveras County), Mokelumne Hill — 265 — Chili Gulch
Richest placer mining section, extending five miles, in Calaveras County. Received name from Chileans who worked gulch in 1848 and 1849, and scene of the so-called Chilean War. Largest known quartz crystals recovered from mine on south side of gulch. — Map (db m11515) HM
California (Calaveras County), San Andreas — Attempted Stage Robbery
At this place, April 30th 1892, without warning, a lone bandit fired two charges of buckshot into the stage carrying the payroll for the Sheepranch Mine. Miss Johanna Rodesino, a passenger, was instantly killed. Babe Raggio, driver, was severely wounded. Mike Tovey, messenger, was slightly wounded. Miss Agnes Filipini and Mrs. A. Lloyd, passengers, were unhurt. No treasure was taken and the bandit was never apprehended. — Map (db m11683) HM
California (Calaveras County), San Andreas — Pioneer Cemetery
California Pioneers Reinterred From Poverty Bar Cemetery [Left Column] Mr. and Mrs. Calhoun Elva Lucy Drennan Mr. Hussky [Right Column] John Laplasse Christian Kientz Henry Christian Kientz ---Were known to have been buried at Poverty Bar Cemetery now covered by the waters of Comanche Reservoir. They and other persons who were found in unmarked graves, have been reinterred in this plot. — Map (db m13020) HM
California (Calaveras County), Valley Springs — 295 — Paloma (Fosteria)
Gwin Mine, Paloma, and Lower Rich Gulch were mined for placer in 1849. Quartz was discovered by J. Alexander in 1851. Property acquired by Wm. M. Gwin, California's first U.S. Senator, in 1851. The Gwin Mine closed, in 1908, yielded millions. — Map (db m14449) HM
California (Colusa County), Grimes — COL-001 — Grand Island Shrine
Site of the first Catholic mass to be said in Colusa County, May 1856. In 1864, a Catholic mission was conducted and a large wooden cross erected to commemorate the occasion. Masses, pilgrimages and visits were made here continuously thereafter. In order to preserve the identity of the place, Father Michael Wallrath secured a deed from Mrs. Anna Myers to this parcel of land and constructed a small shrine from hand kilned bricks in 1883. State of California Point of Historical Interest No. COL-001 — Map (db m6144) HM
California (Contra Costa County), Martinez — Birthplace of The Martini
On this site in 1874, Julio Richelieu, bartender, served up the first martini when a miner came into his saloon with a fistful of nuggets and asked for something special. He was served a "Martinez Special." After three or four drinks, however, the "Z" would get very much in the way. The drink consisted of 2/3 gin, 1/3 vermouth, a dash of orange bitters, served over crushed ice and served with an olive. Humorist James Thurber once said, "One is alright, two is too many, and three is not . . . — Map (db m57975) HM
California (Contra Costa County), Martinez — Morgan House
Dedicated April 23, 2000 Morgan House Pony Express Route Apr. 23, 1860 - Sep. 8, 1861 Home Station Apr. 16, 1869 - Sep.8, 1861 By James Stretesky Supervisor Gayle B. Uilkema Martinez Area Chamber of Commerce Pony Express Trail Association {Text on the reverse side reads:} The first Pony Express Rider through Martinez was Thomas Bedford on April 23, 1860, heading for Pacheco. Benecia was the home station where the rider from Sacramento exchanged the mail with a new . . . — Map (db m24369) HM
California (Contra Costa County), Martinez — Pony Express Ferry "Carquinez"
Dedicated April 23, 2005 Martinez By James Stretestky · Julian M. Frazer · Martinez Historical Society · Mayor Rob & Carole Schroder · Supervisor Gayle B. Uilkema · Vice Mayor Mark & Dianne Ross · Tesoro's Golden Eagle Refinery · Bart, Jane, Pete, Paul · Pat & Pam Bisio · Pony Express Trail Association Sponsors: Wells Fargo Since 1852 · Ray & Denis Fowler · Haute Stuff Restaurant · Robert & Susan Chandler · A.T. Bray Family · Thomas & Catherine Greerty · Romeo Family · . . . — Map (db m19224) HM
California (El Dorado County), Coloma — “Gold Boys Gold”
On January 24, 1848, James Marshall set off early and alone to inspect progress in deepening the ditch that channeled water from the sawmill back to the river. Suddenly, he bent over and picked up a few particles gleaming in the icy water. “Hey, boys, by God, I believe I’ve found a gold mine,” he called, walking toward the mill hands. The men ran to meet him. One seized a flake, bit it, and when the metal did not break, yelled, “Gold, boys, gold!” After they had . . . — Map (db m17241) HM
California (El Dorado County), Coloma — Cabin of James Marshall
This cabin was erected by Marshall and occupied by him from 1856 : 1870. Born in New Jersey October 8, 1810. Came to California in 1845 – Died at Kelsey, this state, August 10, 1885. The discovery of gold by Marshall in the tailrace of John A. Sutter’s Mill at Coloma on January 24, 1848 started the historic migration to California by land and sea. The original sawmill, the building of which Marshall superintended was located 2190 feet north of this cabin on the American River. On an . . . — Map (db m12215) HM
California (El Dorado County), Coloma — Chinese Miners of the Mother Lode
Following the California Gold Rush of ’49, swarms of Chinese miners came to make their mark on the diggings in the Mother Lode, including this Coloma Valley. They were industrious and self-contained and mostly content to thoroughly comb the old diggings. Thus they reclaimed much gold that would have been overlooked. Chinese merchants came to serve their needs, such as Wah Hop who ran the adjoining store. This plaque dedicated to the memory of the diligent Chinese miners of the gold days. — Map (db m12225) HM
California (El Dorado County), Coloma — Chinese Stores
These two stone buildings known as the Wah Hop and Man Lee Stores were built by Jonas Wilder before 1860and leased to Chinese merchants. Located at the edge of a large Chinese community, they sold traditional foods, clothing and other items. Such stores were also social centers and places for receiving news about other Chinese communities in the state. After a disastrous fire destroyed Coloma’s Chinese quarter in 1883, most of the Chinese left town. — Map (db m12227) HM
California (El Dorado County), Coloma — ColomaAn Artists View
”The principle street of Coloma was alive with crowds of moving men, passing and repassing, laughing, talking, and all appearing in the best of humor. It was a scene that no other country could ever imitate.” from “A California Journal” by Charles Gillespie Look over your left shoulder and you will see the view this artist saw in 1853 — Map (db m12274) HM
California (El Dorado County), Coloma — Coloma Breweries
In the 1850’s and 1860’s Coloma had two breweries – the El Dorado and the Coloma – between Brewery Street and the river. An 1853 advertisement in Coloma’s newspaper stated: “Mr. Joseph Wellman would respectfully inform traders, hotelkeepers and the public generally, that he is ready to supply them a superior article of ale and cider by the barrel or otherwise, from his own manufactory. Draft ale on hand for sale, by the glass or gallon.” — Map (db m12324) HM
California (El Dorado County), Coloma — Coloma Greys
This building, perhaps originally a livery stable, was the armory for the Coloma Greys, a local volunteer militia company. After the Greys disbanded in 1862, the building was used as a carriage house by Elias Weller, who lived in the large white house to your left. — Map (db m17222) HM
California (El Dorado County), Coloma — Coloma’s Largest Brick Store(Site of)
A large brick building measuring 50 feet by 65 feet, was built here in 1856. Two older frame structures were demolished and were sorely missed by the “old-timers” of that day. The brick for this store probably came from a brickyard 2 miles south of here. The store was demolished in 1877 by Robert Chalmers; he used the brick at the Vineyard House and then leased this ground to Chinese miners. — Map (db m12273) HM
California (El Dorado County), Coloma — Coloma’s Pioneer Cemetery
Thousands of people emigrated to California with the dream of riches for themselves and have found their final rest in these hallowed grounds. The exact date that the cemetery was founded is unknown. The earliest known graves date from 1849. In the past it has been known by various names: Sutter Mill, Coloma Protestant, and Vineyard. More than 600 pioneers and their families are buried here. The graves contain the remains of those drawn to Coloma in search for gold. All races and many . . . — Map (db m12282) HM
California (El Dorado County), Coloma — James W. MarshallDiscoverer of Gold
“Boys I believe I have found a gold mine” so said James W. Marshall to his millworkers on January 24, 1848, after he discovered gold in the tail race of Captain John A. Sutter’s sawmill at Coloma. This discovery started the great Gold Rush to California which resulted in its admission to the Union as the thirty first state on September 9, 1850. This plaque dedicated in his honor by E Clampus Vitus, January 27, 1957 — Map (db m12224) HM
250 markers matched your search criteria.
Click to map all markers shown on this page.
Click First to browse through the results shown on this page.   First >> 


•••
More Search Options
 
Markers
Near You

 
Categories

 
States & Provinces

 
Counties
Click to List


 
Countries

Page composed
in 278 ms.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
To search within this page, hold down the Ctrl key and press F.
On an Apple computer,
hold down the Apple key and press F.