HMdb.org THE HISTORICAL
MARKER DATABASE
            “Bite-Size Bits of Local, National, and Global History”
  Home  — My Markers  — Add A Marker  — Marker Series  — Links & Books  — Forum  — About Us
Click First to browse through the results shown on this page.   First >> 
Show DirectionsOmit Marker TextClick to map all markers shown on this page.
Notable Persons Markers
7586 markers matched your search criteria. The first 250 markers are listed. Next 7336
Argentina, Misiones Province, Iguazu National Park — Bernabe Mendez BridgeSalto: Guardaparque Bernabe MendezParque Nacional Iguazú
En homenaje a quien fuera muerto el 14 de April de 1968 por cazadores furtivos en el Alto Iguazú cuando defendia el patrimonio natural de la humanidad. Cuerpo de Guadaparques Nacionales, 09 de Octubre de 1991. (English Translation) In honor of he who was killed on April 14, 1968, by stealthy poachers in Iguazu Heights while defending humanity’s natural heritage. National Park Guard Corps, October 9, 1991. — Map (db m26254) HM
Argentina, Misiones Province, Iguazú National Park — Alvar Núñez Cabeza de VacaSalto Alvar Núñez — Parque Nacional Iguazú
A Alvar Núñez Cabeza de Vaca. Homenaje de la Administración General de Parques Nacionales y Turismo a la memoria del descubridor de estas Cataratas, Don Alvar Núñez Cabeza de Vaca, quién tras de cruentas luchas con la naturaleza y lo ignoto, en su temerario viaje desde las selvas Brasileñas Atlánticas en busca de una vía al Rio de la Plata descubrió esta maravilla del mundo en el año 1541. (English translation) To Alvar Núñez Cabeza de Vaca. A tribute from the . . . — Map (db m37605) HM
Brazil, Bahia, Salvador — Monumento a Stefan ZweigAll Saints' Bay
Stefan Zweig nasceu em Viena, Áustria, em 1881. Escritor cosmopolita, tornou-se conhecido por suas analises do comlexo psíquico e pela defesa dos ideais humanitarios. Foi o autor mais traduzido do seu tempo. Pacifista, escrevia reinventando a vida. Iniciou sua peregrinação pelo mundo em 1934, com residencia na Inglaterra. Mudou-se, em 1941, com sua esposa Lotte, para a Cidade de Petrópolis, Brasil, onde escreveu, o seu livro mais conhecido, “Brasil, Pais do Futuro” e . . . — Map (db m31877) HM
Brazil, Bahia, Salvador — Zumbi dos Palmares Monument
Panel 1: Zumbi dos Palmares “É chegada a hora de tirar nossa nação das trevas da injustica racial.” Nasceu livre, em 1655, na Serra da Barriga, união dos Palmares, Alagoas. Neto de Aqualtune, não permitiu a submissão de seu povo ao jugo da corda portuguesa, pois queria a liberdade para todos, dentro ou fora do Quilombo. Persistiu na luta e tornou-se líder do Quilombo, sento ferido em 1694, quando a capital Palmares foi destruída. Em 20 de Novembro de 1695, . . . — Map (db m26125) HM
Brazil, Distrito Federal, Brasilia — Memorial JKJK Memorial[President Juscelino Kubitschek de Oliveira, the founder of Brasilia]
In Portuguese: Projeto do arquiteto Oscar Niemeyer foi inaugurado em 12 de setembro de 1981 em homenagem a Juscelino Kubischek de Oliveira, fundador de Brasilia. Abriga biblioteca com trēs mil volumes que pertenceram a JK, atém de objetos pessoais, fotos, videos e vários documentos. Os painéis da recepção e da câmara mortuaria são obras de Althos Bulcão. O vitral que se encontra acima da uma funerária é de autoria da artista francesa Marianne Peretti. A estátua de JK esculpid por . . . — Map (db m26590) HM
Brazil, Rio de Janeiro — Augusto Ferreira Ramos
Engenheiro Brasilero que idealisou e realisou o Caminho Aéreo 1912 - 1913 English Translation: The Brazilian Engineer who envisioned and created the aerial tramway. — Map (db m26350) HM
Brazil, Rio de Janeiro — Cristovão Leite de Castro
Engeneheiro Cristovão Leite de Castro idealizou e realizou o teleférico do Pão de Açucar Inaugurado em 29 de outubro de 1972 English Translation: Engineer Cristovão Leite de Castro masterminded and carried out the {modernization} of the Sugar Loaf cable cars. Inaugurated October 29, 1972. — Map (db m26376) HM
Brazil, Rio de Janeiro — João Cândido Felisberto Memorial"O Almirante Negro"
[Panel 1] João Cândido Felisberto nasceu em 1880, na Vila Sâo José, Encruzilhada do Sul, Distrito de Rio Pardo, Rio Grande do Sul. De 22 a 26 de Novembro do 1910 liderou a Revolta Dos Marinheiros contra as péssimas condiçôes de trabalho e o castigo corporal abolido pela Lei Âurea de 1888. João Cândido demonstrou liderança e maestria irretocâveis à frente das guarniçôes e nas manobras da Baia Da Guanabara. Desde então ficou conhecido como o ‘Almirante Negro,’ líder da . . . — Map (db m26028) HM
Brazil, Rio de Janeiro — Praça 15 de NovembroPrefeitura da Cidade do Rio De Janeiro
Esta região guarda a memória do período colonial Brasileiro. No Século XVII, o núcleo original da cidade desloca-se do morro do Castelo para a várzea e consolida-se ao longo da Rua Direita, hoje Primeiro de Março. Junto à rua, na praia de N.S. do Ó, aterrado surge o Terreiro do Carmo, depois chamado Largo do Paço, por se ter instalado ali o Paço dos Governadores (1743), atual Paço Imperial. O velho largo recebe o nome de Praça 15 de Novembro por ocasião da Proclamação da República em 1889, . . . — Map (db m26313) HM
Brazil, Rio de Janeiro (Rio de Janeiro) — CCAPACompanhia Camaniho Aéreo Pão de Açúcar
No dia 27 de Octubro de 2002, a Companhia Camaniho Aéreo Pão de Açúcar - CCAPA - compleou 90 anos de serviços ininteruptos do teleférico. Esta tecnologia de ponta de engemharia transformou o Pão de Açucar em um icone nacional de grande orgulho par o carioca. A diretoria da CCAPA homenageia seu pioneiro fundador, engenheiro Augusto Ferreira Ramos, pela implantação do primeiro sistema teleferico Brasileiro, que funcionou durante 60 anos, como também o Engenheiro Cristóvão Leite de Castro, . . . — Map (db m26365) HM
British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Amor De Cosmos, 1825-1897
[English] Amor De Cosmos (Lover of the Universe) was the name adopted by William Smith of Windor, Nova Scotia, while in the California goldfields. In 1858 he arrived in Victoria and founded the opposition journal, the Colonist. For over two decades his irrepressible pen and exuberant oratory championed the causes of responsible government and Confederation. He sat for Victoria in the Legislative Assembly (1863-74) and in the House of Commons (1871-82), and served briefly (1872-4) as provincial . . . — Map (db m49079) HM
British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Cecilia Helmcken
Born on October 24, 1834, Cecilia was the eldest daughter of James and Amelia Douglas. “The room of Mr. Douglas, partly an office and partly domestic, stood open and there I saw Cecilia his eldest daughter flitting about, active as a little squirrel and one of the prettiest objects I have ever seen; rather short but with a very pretty graceful figure of dark complexion and lovely black eye – petite and nice... I was more or less captivated.” They married in a snowstorm in . . . — Map (db m48928) HM
British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Doctor John Sebastian Helmcken
John Sebastian Helmcken was born in London in 1924. He trained to be a doctor at Guys Hospital, London. He arrived in Victoria as a surgeon and clerk for the Hudson Bay Company on March 24, 1850.

Dr. Helmcken entered politics in 1856, becoming the first Speaker of the Legislative Assembly on Vancouver Island. Though re-elected on a campaign against Confederation, Helmcken helped negotiate the entry of British Columbia into Canada in 1871. He then returned to medicine and the raising of his . . . — Map (db m48865) HM

British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Dr John Sebastian Helmcken(1824-1920)
Dr Helmcken earned acclaim for his work as a physician, colonial legislator and negotiator of British Columbia’s entry into Canada. This statue, created by Armando Barbon and Gabriele Vicari, was donated to the Royal BC Museum by the family of Yole and Armando Barbon. May 19, 2011 — Map (db m48992) HM
British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Le Legs De La Famille CôtéThe Legacy of the Côté Family
[French] Les ancêtres de la famille Côté son arrives au Québec en 1634. En 1945, Joseph Napoléon Côté et son épouse Ida Camille Demers, accompagnés de leur fils Joseph Henri Côté et son épouse Anne-Marie Forcade s’establissent à Victoria.

Le famille Côté conserve son patrimoine québécois de par son engagement envers la langue française et sa participation à la culture francophone de Victoria. À titre de membres actifs de la paroisse St-Jean Baptiste à Fairfield, les Côté contribuent à . . . — Map (db m49228) HM

British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Modeste Demers1809-1871
Born near Levis, Demers was trained at the Seminary of Quebec, ordained in 1836 and sent in 1838 as a missionary to the Columbia. His ministry extended from the interior of British Columbia to Oregon. First pastor of St. John's Church of Oregon City, he was appointed in 1846 first Bishop of Vancouver Island with responsibility for New Caledonia and the Queen Charlotte Islands. In the following decades Bishop Demers oversaw the transition of his diocese from the fur trade era to that of a . . . — Map (db m72879) HM
British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Percy Leonard James1878 – 1970
[English] Percy Leonard James was born in London, England, where he trained and first practiced as an architect. In 1908, he settled in Victoria, British Columbia, where he obtained his first commission and practiced his profession until 1954.

Mr. James was a charter member of both the national and provincial architectural institutes. In 1931, he was the first architect in British Columbia to be elected to the College of Fellows of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada. In 1956, Mr. . . . — Map (db m48480) HM

British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Robert Dunsmuir(1825-1889)
Born into a family of Ayrshire coalmasters, Robert Dunsmuir achieved renown as a leading Canadian businessman. He developed the Wellington Mine near Nanaimo, which soon made him one of the richest men in Canada and, through his labour practices, one of the most controversial. Dunsmuir's commercial empire expanded to include railways, shipping, lumbering and iron works. Dunsmuir was elected to the British Columbia legislature for Nanaimo in 1882, and named president of the Executive Council in . . . — Map (db m72880) HM
British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Sir Anthony Musgrave1828-1888
A career Imperial civil servant, Anthony Musgrave served as governor of Newfoundland (1864 - 69) and British Columbia (1869 - 71). Both terms of office were marked by a strong personal effort to encourage the two colonies to unite with the new Canadian confederation, and it was under his direction that British Columbia entered the Dominion on July 20, 1871, Musgrave was knighted in 1875, subsequently held vice-regal office in Natal, South Australia, Jamaica and Queensland where he died. . . . — Map (db m72882) HM
British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Sir James Douglas1803-1877
[English] Justifiably described as “the father of British Columbia”, Douglas was born in Demerara. He joined the North West Company in 1819, serving at Fort William and Ile a la Crosse where he was taken into the Hudson’s Bay Company. Rising rapidly in that service he became a member of the Columbia District Board in 1845, company agent at Vancouver Island in 1849 and second Governor of the colony two years later. His firm and wise rule, particularly during the gold rush of 1858, . . . — Map (db m48769) HM
British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Sir Matthew Baillie Begbie1819 – 1894
[English] Begbie practised [sic] law in England for fourteen years before his appointment in 1858 as the first judge of the mainland Colony of British Columbia. During the gold rush, he won the respect of lawless miners of the Fraser River and Cariboo regions. In 1869, after the union of Vancouver Island and British Columbia, he was named Chief Justice of the mainland; in 1870, of the whole Colony; and in 1871, of the Province. He presided in this building, erected in 1889. His 36 years of . . . — Map (db m49082) HM
British Columbia (Greater Vancouver Regional District), Semiahmoo — Peace ArchThe Signing of the Columbia River Treaty
Upper marker: This unfortified boundary line between the Dominion of Canada and the United States of America should quicken the remembrance of the more than century old friendship between these countries A lesson of peace to all nations. Lower marker: In commemoration of One hundred and fifty years of peace, 1814 - 1864, between Canada and the United States of America. The signing of the Columbia River Treaty on September 16th, 1964, at this international . . . — Map (db m27450) HM
New Brunswick (Charlotte County), Campobello — James and Sara Roosevelt Cottage
On this site, in 1885, James Roosevelt, businessman and country gentleman of Hyde Park, New york, built the cottage shown below. The Cottage was intended to be a summer retreat for his wife, Sara Delano, and their son Franklin Delano Roosevelt. Franklin spent many of his boyhood summers at this cottage. Miss Eleanor Roosevelt was a guest here in 1904. In 1905, Franklin and Eleanor were married. In 1907, Mrs. Sara Roosevelt purchased the Kuhn cottage and gave it to the married couple. The Kuhn . . . — Map (db m25456) HM
New Brunswick (Charlotte County), Campobello — Roosevelt Campobello Park
Mrs. Lyndon B. Johnson and Mrs. Lester B. Pearson Together opened the Roosevelt Campobello Park on the twenthieth day of August 1964 Lyndon Baines Johnson President of the United States of America and Lester Bowles Pearson Prime Minister of Canada Together laid the cornerstone of this Reception Centre on the twenty-first day of August, 1966 Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth The Queen Mother declared the building open on the thirteenth day of July, 1967 — Map (db m25394) HM
Ontario, Hamilton — Sir Allan Napier MacNab1798 - 1862
Politician, businessman, land speculator and soldier, Allan MacNab enjoyed a very public life. He was a successful lawyer and was appointed Upper Canada's first Queen's Counsel. In 1838 he was knighted for his role in suppressing the rebellion in Upper Canada. The profits from his extensive land speculation were fed into a variety of projects, including construction of his monument, Dundurn. He was influential in establishing the Gore Bank and in promoting the Great Western Railway. During a . . . — Map (db m66130) HM
Ontario, Ottawa — Terry Fox 1958 -1981The Greatness of the Human Spirit — L'eminence du courage de l'homme
"I was lucky to do what I did. How many people ever get a chance to do something that they really believe in." Terry Fox On April 12, 1980, Terry Fox began his dream to run across Canada in support of cancer research by dipping his artificial leg into the Atlantic waters off St. John's, Newfoundland. Terry's run, which he called the 'Marathon of Hope', would do so much more by uniting Canadians in support of his heroic desire to better the lives of others. On September 1, near . . . — Map (db m63937) HM
Ontario (Essex County), Windsor — Hiram Walker1816 - 1899
Massachusetts born, Hiram Walker had by the 1850s become a successful general merchant, distiller and grain dealer in Detroit. After Michigan adopted prohibition in 1855 he acquired land across the river in Canada where he established a distillery and mill which became the nucleus of the company town of Walkerville. Soon the Walker enterprises had expanded to include cattle finishing (using distillery wastes), a river ferry, and a railway to transport the company's products. Although Walker . . . — Map (db m37377) HM
Ontario (Essex County), Windsor — The Rt. Hon. Herb Gray, PC., C.C., Q.C.
The Rt. Hon. Gray represented the west side of Windsor in the House of Commons from June 1962 to January 2002. He was elected thirteen consecutive times - a record - and set another record for continuous days of service in the House of Commons - 39 years, six months and 26 days. He served as Deputy Prime Minister, from 1997.06.11 - 2002.01.14 and in 10 other Cabinet positions. Herb Gray was born in Windsor, on May 25th, 1931 and grew up in Windsor. — Map (db m37496) HM
Ontario (Middlesex County), London — Eldon House
Built in 1834 by Capt. John Harris, R.N., treasurer of the London District, this is London's oldest remaining house. With his wife Amelia, daughter of Samuel Ryerse, Harris came to London after the District offices were moved here from Vittoria. For many years Eldon House was a centre of London's cultural and social life, and four generations of the Harris family dwelt in it during more than 125 years. In 1960 the family gave the house with most of its furnishings and eleven acres of land, to the City of London for a museum and park. — Map (db m18970) HM
Ontario (Middlesex County), London — Middlesex Court HouseLe Palais de Justice de Middlesex
[English Translation] Erected in 1830, this building was modelled after Malahide Castle, near Dublin, Ireland, the ancestral home of Colonel Thomas Talbot, founder of the Talbot Settlement. The site was a part of the town plot set aside by Lieutenant-Governor John Graves Simcoe after his visit to The Forks in February, 1793. Here he proposed to locate the provincial capital. [French Translation] En 1830, le colonel Talbot, fondateur de la colonie Talbot, fit erige cet . . . — Map (db m18962) HM
Ontario (Middlesex County), London — The Gaol and Courthouse, London, c.1843Painting by George Russell Dartnell
“More change has been caused to the views around London by the cutting down of hills and the building of gullies.”           --Harriet Priddis, in her “Reminiscences” (1902) In the 1840s George Russell Dartnell depicted the London District Courthouse sitting on a rise, with the ground dropping toward a ravine to the south and toward a bog near the site of Robinson Hall, on the east side of Ridout Street. Robinson hall is shown at the far right of Dartnell's . . . — Map (db m18973) HM
Ontario (Middlesex County), London — The Petition of John Ewart
The Petition of John Ewart of the Town of York: Humbly Shewith: That while your Petitioner was performing his contract for building the Court House and Gaol in the town of London, in the London District, he was located by Colonel Talbot upon two lots in the said Town of London liable to settlement Duties and upon which he has made the following...improvements -- that is to say, a framed House, 50 feet long by 30 feet wide, and 23 feet high, with a wing, 30 by 16 feet, and a back Kitchen . . . — Map (db m18974) HM
Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Niagara Falls — Sir Casimir S. Gzowski 1813-1898
First chairman of the Niagara Parks Commission (1885-93) Gzowski was born in Russia of Polish parents. Forced to emigrate, following participation in the Polish Rising of 1830, he came to Canada in 1841. An exceptionally able engineer, he first served as a government construction superintendent. He later organized a company which built the Grand Trunk Railway from Toronto to Sarnia, 1853-7, and the International Bridge across the Niagara River at Fort Erie in 1873. He was a founder of the . . . — Map (db m37119) HM
Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Niagara-on-the-Lake — Janet Carnochan 1839 - 1926
For more than thirty years Janet Carnochan, a native of Stamford, Ontario, taught elementary and secondary school at Niagara-on-the Lake, but she made her greatest contribution to the community as a historian rather than as an educator. A distinguished historical preservationist, Carnochan founded and was first president of the Niagara Historical Society, 1895-1925, and laboured tirelessly to safeguard and promote the rich heritage of Niagara. She wrote and edited numerous historical works . . . — Map (db m75859) HM
Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Niagara-on-the-Lake — John Graves SimcoeFirst Lieutenant-Governor of Upper Canada 1791-1796
Here at Niagara on September 17, 1792 he presided over the first representative assembly of this province. His genius foresaw the greatness of this country and he threw himself into its building with ardour and enthusiasm. By his exalted aims, his conspicuous integrity, his tireless industry and unflagging fortitude he brought courage to the hearts of the early settlers and led them to carve a civilization out of a wilderness. In all this he was . . . — Map (db m49475) HM
Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Niagara-on-the-Lake — John Graves Simcoe1752-1806
Simcoe was born in Northamptonshire and educated at Oxford. He joined the British army in 1771, and from 1777-81 commanded the Queen's Rangers, a Loyalist corps in America. After the Loyalist influx had led to the creation of a separate province of Upper Canada in 1791, Simcoe was named its first lieutenant-governor. During his five years of office the province's basically British and monarchical character and institutions took shape. After he left Canada in 1796 he held a succession of . . . — Map (db m75860) HM
Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Niagara-on-the-Lake — Joseph-Geneviere, Comte de Puisaye
Soldier, politician, diplomatist and colonizer, de Puisaye was born at Mortagne-en-Perche, France, about 1755 and enlisted in the French Army at 18. Elected to the States General in 1789, he supported reform but, alarmed by the course of the Revolution, later organized resistance on behalf of the Royalists. Outlawed, he sought refuge in England and in 1795, as Lieutenant-General, led an ill-fated expedition to Quiberon, Brittany. Three years later, with some fourty other emigres, he arrived in . . . — Map (db m49159) HM
Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Niagara-on-the-Lake — Thomas Moore(1779 - 1852)
One of Ireland's best loved and renowned poets and lyricists, Thomas Moore visited Niagara during July 1804. Captivated by the scenic splendour of the area and as guest of Col. Isaac Brock, Commander at Fort George, Moore frequently found rest and creative inspiration under a large Oak tree here on the McFarland farm. His poems and other writings about Ontario helped to give the Irish and British a better picture of this region and subsequently, played a role in . . . — Map (db m49481) HM
Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Queenston — Major John Richardson1796-1852
This pioneer historian, author and soldier was born in Queenston. His family moved to Amherstburg about 1802, and at the outbreak of the War of 1812 Richardson joined the British army. Retired on half pay in 1818 in London, England, he published the epic poem "Tecumseh" and the celebrated historical novel "Wacousta" which established his literary reputation. In 1838 Richardson returned to Upper Canada where he published two weekly newspapers, "The New Era" (1841-42) and "The Canadian Loyalist" . . . — Map (db m54135) HM
Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Thorold — Arthur S. Whelan
British by birth - January 13, 1910, Canadian by conviction, World War II veteran, noted photographer. Over 25 years dedicated municipal service on the Board of Education, Public Utilities Commission and Municipal Council with one term as Reeve. His leadership spearheaded the campaign to create, construct and pay for this beautiful Battle of Beaverdams Park begun in 1975 - completed in 1980. — Map (db m54109) HM
Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Thorold — In Memory of John Bean, Ph.D., M.D.
John Bean was born in Attercliffe, Ontario, on September 8, 1901. He attended Stratford Collegiate Institute in Ontario and Northwestern College before transferring to the University of Michigan, where he earned his degrees and spent the rest of his life doing research and teaching for twenty-eight years. His example inspired many students to continue in the field of physiology. John did extensive research, and became a world leader in the field of oxygen poisoning, particularly during . . . — Map (db m54119) HM
Quebec (Bellechasse MRC), Sainte-Claire — Sainte-Claire (Dorchester)
The parish of Sainte-Claire is in the seigniory granted to Louis Jolliet, the discoverer of the Mississipi, by Frontenac, as Governor, and Bochart Champigny, as Intendant, on the 30th of April, 1697. French translation is to the left of the English text above. Map (db m74883) HM
Quebec (Coaticook MRC), Compton — Louis Stephen St-Laurent1882 - 1973
Né à Compton, reçu avocat en 1905, St-Laurent fut a maintes reprises conseiller de grandes compagnies et représenta le gouvernement federal devant le Conseil Prive de Londres. Ministre de la justice (1941-1946), secrétaire d’état aux affaires extérieures (1946-1948), premier ministre du Canada (1948-1957), il prêcha l’unité nationale et joua un rôle capital dans l’évolution constitutionnelle et judiciaire du pays. Architecte d’un nouveau Commonwealth, signataire de Charte des Nations Unies et . . . — Map (db m74537) HM
Quebec (La Cité Borough), Québec City — Champlain MonumentVieux-Québec
Samuel de Champlain: Born at Brovace in Saintonce about 1567. Served in the French Army as Marechal des Locis under Henri IV. Explored the West Indies from 1599 to 1601 and also Acadia from 1604 to 1607. Founded Québec in 1603. Discovered the region of the Great Lakes. Led several expeditions against the Iroquois from 1609 to 1615. Was successively Lieutenant Governor and Governor of New France. Died at Québec 24th December 1635. — Map (db m74547) HM
Quebec (Memphrémagog MRC), Austin — Reginald Aubrey Fessenden1866 - 1932
Ce pionnier de la radiocommunication est ne a Bolton-Est. En 1884, il quitta le Canada et, pendant qu’il dirigeait une école aux Bermudes, il se donna une formation en télécommunications. Sa compétence l’amena aux États-Unis ou il fit de la recherche et d’importantes découvertes, notamment dans le domaine de la réception radiophonique. Apres 1912, il se spécialisa dans les questions de navigation. Il inventa une sonde sonore, puis, durant la Première Grande Guerre, un instrument pour repérer . . . — Map (db m74540) HM
Quebec (Sherbrooke MRC), Sherbrooke — Sir Alexander Tilloch Galt1817-1893
French text appears above English text Born in England, Galt came to Sherbrooke in 1835, and played a key role in the development of the Eastern Townships as Commissioner of the British American Land Company, as entrepreneur, railway promoter and member of the legislature. When Minister of Finance in 1858 he initiated an autonomous tariff policy. An early advocate of Confederation, he represented the English of Lower Canada and was responsible for the financial provisions of the . . . — Map (db m75634) HM
Quebec (Ville-Marie Borough), Montréal — Antoine Laumet de La Mothe, sieur de Cadillac
[The coat of arms of Quebec] “Je Me Souvien” Ici vécut -- Here lived Antoine Laumet de Lamothe Sier de Cadillac (1658-1730), Fondateur de -- Founder of Détroit, -- Detroit, Governeur de -- Governor of La Louisiane -- Louisiana Commission des Monuments Historiques — Map (db m33976) HM
Quebec (Ville-Marie Borough), Montréal — Joseph Papineau
Joseph Papineau (1752 – 1841), notaire et député, habitait cette maison. Son fils Louis-Joseph Papineau (1786-1871), avocat, homme d’état et chef de l’insurrection de 1837, y vécut également ainsi que ses descendants. — Map (db m73144) HM
Yukon Territory, Dawson City — Palace Grand Theatre/Le théâtre Grand Palace
[English:] “Arizona” Charlie Meadows, showman and self-made heroic figure built a lavish structure in 1899 to prospect gold directly from the miner’s pokes. Hugely successful over its first winter, the theatre offered vaudeville acts, comedy, music and melodrama – all on the same bill. Dance hall girls came next, at a dollar-a-dance from midnight until breakfast, while drinking and gambling went on the whole time. As the heady gold rush days subsided, so did the theatres . . . — Map (db m44890) HM
Czech Republic, Hlavní město Praha, Prague — Birthplace of Jaroslav Heyrovský
In Czech: V tomto domě se 20. prosince 1890 narodil academik Jaroslav Heyrovský. Nositel nobelovy ceny za chemii. Translated, the marker reads: In this house was born on December 20, 1890 the academic Jaroslav Heyrovský. Holder of the Nobel Prize for Chemistry. — Map (db m40763) HM
Czech Republic, Hlavní město Praha, Prague — Ema DestinnováEmmy Destinn
In Czech: Zde žila 1908-1914 Ema Destinnová česká pěvkyné Translated, the marker reads: From 1908-1914 the Czech singer, Emmy Destinn, lived here. — Map (db m23108) HM
Czech Republic, Hlavní město Praha, Prague — Josef Charvát
In Czech: V tomto domě žil a zemřel Profesor MuDr. Josef Charvát 1897-1984 Zakladatel České Endocrinologie Translated, the marker reads: In this house lived and died Professor Dr. Josef Charvát 1897-1984 founder of Czech Endocrinology. — Map (db m22552) HM
Czech Republic, Hlavní město Praha, Prague — Ladislav Zelenka
In Czech: Zde žil národní umělec Ladislav Zelenka 1881-1957 violoncellista slavného českého kvarteta Translated, the marker reads: Here lived the national artist, Ladislav Zelenka (1881-1957), cellist for the famed Czech Quartet. — Map (db m22987) HM
Czech Republic, Hlavní město Praha, Prague — Rudolf Kremlička
In Czech: V tomto domě pracoval český malíř Rudolf Kremlička Translated, the marker reads: In this house worked the Czech painter Rudolf Kremlicka. — Map (db m22972) HM
Czech Republic, Hlavní město Praha, Prague — T.R. Field Šumavansky
In Czech: Zde se narodil satirik T.R. Field Šumavansky 1891-1969 Translated, the marker reads: Here was born the satirist, T.R.Field Šumavansky (1891-1969). — Map (db m22763) HM
Czech Republic, Hlavní město Praha, Prague — Vojtěch Hynais1854-1925
In Czech: Zde žil a zemřel slavný český malíř Vojtěch Hynais Tvůrce opony národního divadla Svemu čestnemu předsedovi jednota umělců výtvar. v praze. Translated, the marker reads: Here lived and and died the famous Czech artist Vojtech Hynais Creator of the curtains of the National Theater. Honorary President of the Union of Fine Artists in Prague. — Map (db m22657) HM
Czech Republic, Hlavní město Praha, Prague — Vojta Náprstek
In Czech: V tomto domĕ žil a zemřel Vojta Náprstek 1826-1894 Bojovník za kulturní a společenský pokrok R 1862 položil základy Náprstokova Muzea Translated, the marker reads: In this house lived and died Vojta Náprstek (1826-1894). A champion of cultural and social progress. In the year 1862 he laid the foundations for the Náprstokova Museum. — Map (db m23067) HM
Czech Republic, Hlavní město Praha (Malá Strana), Prague — Michael the Brave (1558-1601)Mihai Viteazul (1558-1601) — , Michal Chrabrý (1558-1601)
{Marker text in Romanian:} În casa numită “U Divého Muže”, care se afla pe aceste locuri, a poposit, în anul 1601, Mihai Viteazul (1558-1601), apărător al crestinătăţii, primul unifacator al ţărilor Române (Valahia, Moldova şi Transilvania). Această placă memorială a fost realizată în anul 2001, din iniţiativa Asociaţiei Cehia-România, cu sprinijal Fundaţiei Ghibu. . . . — Map (db m40804) HM
Estonia, Harjumaa MaakondTallinn — Mustpeade Maja[Tallinn House of Black Heads] — PIKK 26
Text in Estoninan: ... Text in English: The Tallinn Brotherhood of Black Heads, established in 1399, leased the Pikk Street building in 1517 and added a big festive hall to it in 1531-32, the initial ornament paintings of which can still be seen in the windows. In 1597, the façade was renovated by the builder-stonecutter Arent Passer. In addition to the coat of arms of the brotherhood that bears the picture of St. Mauritius, the stone décor also represents the portraits . . . — Map (db m57007) HM
Estonia, Harjumaa MaakondTallinn — Polish Submarine "ORZEŁ" - September 1939 — [Estonian Maritime Museum]
Text in Estonian: ... Text in Polish: 15. Septembril 1939. Aastal Interneeriti saksa riigi survel Tallinnas Poola Sõjalaevvastiku allveelaev “ORZEŁ” Mereväekapten Jan Grudziński juhtimisel võttis relvitu Laev ööl vastu 18 Septembrit 1939 ette Hulljulge põgenemise Suurbritanniasse, et sealt Jätkata Voitlust merel. See Sündmus Oli üheks Ettekäändeks Nõukogude Sõjaväebaaside Rajamisele eesti territooriumil ja Eesti Hilisemale . . . — Map (db m57484) HM
Estonia, Harjumaa MaakondTallinn — Residence of Konstantin Päts — [Finnish Embassy]
Text in Finnish: ... Text in Estonian:... Text in English: Konstantin Päts, first President of Estonia, lived in this building from 1922 to 1940. The Finnish Embassy was located here from 1923 to 1940, and has been again since 1996. — Map (db m57227) HM
Finland, Uusimaa Region, Helsinki — The Senate SquareVanhaa HelsinkiäGamla Helsingfors
Seaatintori: Text in Finnish ... : Senatstorget: Text in Swedish ... : CEHATCKA: Text in Russian ... : Text in English: Helsinki was moved to its current location from the mouth of the River Vantaanjoki in 1640. These blocks have formed the historical centre of the city ever since. There are three streets that give us a faint idea of life in Helsinki centuries ago. The location of Sofiankatu, Katariinankatu and Helenankatu has remained unchanged since the . . . — Map (db m57703) HM
France, Aquitaine (Dordogne), Domme — Jacques de Maleville
Jacques de Maleville Mis et Pair de France Grand Officier de l’Ordré Royal de la Légion d’Honneur Un des Rédacteurs du Project de Code Civil Il était né à Domme le 19 juin 1741 Il y est décédé le 29 novembre 1824

[English translation by Google Translate (with modifications): Jacques Maleville Minister and Peer of France Grand Officer of the Royal Order of the Legion of Honor One of the Editors of the Civil Code Project He was born in Domme June 19, 1741 He died November 29, 1824] — Map (db m60388) HM

France, Basse-Normandie (Manche Départment), Sainte-Mère-Église — General Gavin’s Foxhole
Ici combattit Le Général James-M-Gavin le 6 juin 1944 Translation: Here fought General James M. Gavin June 6, 1944 — Map (db m59750) HM
France, Île-de-France (Paris), Paris — A Tous Les Français(To All the French )
La France a perdu un bataille! Mais la France n’a pas perdu la guerre! Des gouvernants de rencontre ont pu capituler, cédant à la panique, oubliant l’honneur, livrant le pays à le servitude. Cependant, rien n’est perdu! Rien n’est perdu, parce que cette guerre est une guerre mondiale. Dans l’univers libre, des forces immenses n’ont pas encore donne. Un jour, ces forces écraseront l’ennemi. Il faut que le France, ce jour-la, soit présente à la victoire. Alors, elle retrouvera sa liberte et sa . . . — Map (db m61542) HM WM
France, Île-de-France (Paris), Paris — Jacques de Molay
A cet endroit Jacques De Molay dernier Grand Maître de l’Order du Temple A été brûlé le 18 Mars 1314

(English translation by Google Translate with modifications:) At this point Jacques De Molay last Grand Master Order of the Temple was burned March 18, 1314 — Map (db m61629) HM

France, Languedoc-Roussillon (Hérault), Beziers — Thomas Jefferson
13 Avil 1743 À Shadwell en Virginie 4 Juillet 1826 À Monticello En Virginie Symbole de l’amitié Franco-Américaine Ambassadeur des Etats-Unis en France 1785-1789 3eme Président des Etats-Unis 1801-1809 Auteur principal de la Rédaction de l’Indépendence Américaine, 4 Juillet 1776. Amoureux de la France. Il voyage, parcourt nos territoires et promeut aux Etats-Unis notre patrimoine – Architecture, terroirs, culture. Humaniste, il partage nos valeurs de liberté. Avec son ami . . . — Map (db m60195) HM
Germany, Bavaria, Munich — Franz Marc
Hier wurde am 8.Februar 1880 der Maler Franz Marc geb. Gest. am 4.1.1916 bei Verdun. Er war mitbegründer der Künstlervereinigung „Der Blaue Reiter“. Translated, the marker reads: The painter Franz Marc was born here on February 8, 1880. Died at Verdun on March 4, 1916. He was the co-founder of the 'Blue Rider' art circle. — Map (db m22360) HM
Germany, Bavaria, Munich — Gottfried Keller
Hier wohnte 1840 der schweizer Dichter Gottfried Keller Translated, the marker reads: In 1840 the Swiss poet Gottfried Keller lived here. — Map (db m22081) HM
Germany, Bavaria, Munich — Maximilian Joseph - Earl of MontgelasMaximilian Joseph - Graf von Montgelas — 1759-1838
[Marker text in German:] Von 1799 bis 1816 lenkte Maximilian Joseph Graf von Montgelas als Minister die Geschicke Bayerns. Nach den Grundsätzen der Aufklärung formte er durch umwälzende Reformen das moderne Bayerische Staatswesen. Die Skulptur wurde 2005 von Karin Sender nach überlieferten Abbildern digital errechnet und computergesteuert aus Aluminium gefräst. [Marker text translated into English, more or less:] As minister from 1799 to 1816, . . . — Map (db m58660) HM
Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Wittenberg District), Lutherstadt Wittenberg — Johann Faust(um 1480 - um 1540)
Astrologe, Alchimist soll zwischen 1525 u. 1532 hier gelebt haben —————————— Astrologer, Alchemist [believed] to have lived here between 1525 and 1532 — Map (db m69921) HM
Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Wittenberg District), Lutherstadt Wittenberg — Lucas Cranach
Maler zu Wittenberg, wie er sich selbst stets geschrieben, wurde 1472 zu Kronach in Franken geboren, kam 1504 nach Wittenberg, kaufte 1520 diese Apotheke, war von 1537 bis 1544 Burgermeister und starb am 16. October 1553 in Weimar. —————————— Painter in Wittenberg, as he always described himself, was born in 1472 to Kronach in Franconia, came to Wittenberg in 1504, bought in 1520 this pharmacy, was mayor from 1537 to 1544 and died on 16 October 1553 in Weimar. — Map (db m69718) HM
Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Wittenberg District), Lutherstadt Wittenberg — Martin Luther
Glaubet an das Evangelium ——— Believe in the gospel St Mark 1:15 ———————————— Ein feste Burg ist unser Gott ——— A mighty fortress is our God — Map (db m70200) HM
Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Wittenberg District), Lutherstadt Wittenberg — Maxim Gorki(1868 - 1936)
Russischer Dichter wohnte hier 1903 —————————— Russian Poet lived here 1903 — Map (db m69850) HM
Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Wittenberg District), Lutherstadt Wittenberg — Michel Ney(1769 - 1815)
Marschall unter Napoleon I. befehligte hier 1813 die französ. Truppen —————————— Marshal under Napoleon I commanded French troops here in 1813 — Map (db m69847) HM
Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Wittenberg District), Lutherstadt Wittenberg — Napoleon I.(1769 - 1821)
Kaiser der Franzosen quartierte hier 1806 und 1813 —————————— French Emperor quartered here in 1806 and 1813 — Map (db m69849) HM
Greece, Kalymnos (peripheral unit) (Pátmos municipality), Chorá — Historic Centre (Chorá)Monastery of Saint John the Theologian — World Heritage Site
[Marker text printed in Greek and English script:] 1999 The Historic Centre (Chorá) with the Monastery of Saint John the Theologian and the Cave of the Apocalypse World Heritage Site The Historic Centre (Chorá) with the Monastery of Saint John the Theologian and the Cave of the Apocalypse are inscribed in the List of World Heritage Sites of the Convention for the Protection of World Heritage of the UNESCO. Inclusion in the list recognizes the exceptional value of a cultural . . . — Map (db m43647) HM
Greece, Kalymnos (peripheral unit) (Pátmos Municipality), Skala Village — Liberation of PatmosCapt. Terence Bruce Mitford
[Marker text printed in both Greek and English scripts:] Erected by the Community of Patmos to commemorate the 60th anniversary of the Liberation of the Island, 10 February 1944 by Terence Bruce Mitford Captain, Special Boat Services February 2004 — Map (db m43136) HM
Greece, Kalymnos peripheral unit (Patmos municipality), Chorá — Historic Centre (Chorá)Cave of the Apocalypse — World Heritage Site
1999 The Historic Centre (Chorá) with the Monastery of Saint John the Theologian and the Cave of the Apocalypse World Heritage Site The Historic Centre (Chorá) with the Monastery of Saint John the Theologian and the Cave of the Apocalypse are inscribed in the List of World Heritage Sites of the Convention for the Protection of World Heritage of the UNESCO. Inclusion in the list recognizes the exceptional value of a cultural site so that it may be protected for the benefit of all Humanity. — Map (db m43646) HM
Greece, Thera Municipality (Santorini), Fira — Santorini Cable Car
IΔPYMA ΛOYΛAΣ KAI EYAΓΓEΛOY NOMIKOY TEΛEΦEPIK ΣANTOPINH Σ ΔΩPEA TOY IΔPYTH ΣTIΣ 14 KOINOTHTEΣ TOY NHΣIOY Loulas and Evangelos Nomikos Foundation Santorini’s Cable Car Gift of the founder to the 14 communities of the island — Map (db m43315) HM
Ireland, Connacht (County Galway), Kilronan, Inishmore, Aran Islands — A Fighting Chance
John Ridgeway [sic] & Chay Bylth rowed the Atlantic in English Rose III from Orleans to Kilronan, Aran, Ireland 4th June 1966 - 3rd Sept. 1966 Na laga dia iad — Map (db m22850) HM
Ireland, Connacht (County Galway), Kinvara — Francis A. Fahy1854 - 1935
Poet, Writer, Life-Long Worker in the Irish Cause was born in this house Sept. 29. 1854. ——•—— “For peace of mind I'll never find until my own I call that little Irish cailín in her ould plaid shawl” — Map (db m28091) HM
Ireland, Connacht (County Mayo), Louisburg — Famine Museum and Granuaile Centre, LouisburghClew Bay Archeaological Trail site 12Slí Seandálaíochta Chuan Módh
Cluain Cearbhán - Meadow of the Buttercups The Famine Museum in Louisburgh recounts local memories of the famine, presents coverage of the famine in the media, nationally and locally, and shows how links have been established between Louisburgh and other parts of the world, culminating in the local famine walk along Doo Lough Valley. The Granuaile Centre recounts the life and times of the 16th century O'Malley Chief and Sea Captain, Granuail (Grace O'Malley or Gráinne . . . — Map (db m28044) HM
Ireland, Connacht (County Mayo), Murrisk — Murrisk Abbey / National Famine Monument / Statue of St PatrickClew Bay Archaeological Trail sites 6, 7, 8Slí Seandálaíochta Chuan Módh
Murrisk Abbey • site 6 Muraisc - Sea Marsh Murrisk Abbey was founded circa 1456 by the Augustinian Friars because “the inhabitants of those parts have not hitherto been instructed in their faith.” It quickly became the preferred starting point for pilgrimages up Croagh Patrick. Before then, pilgrims approached the mountain from AnTóchar Phádraig, which starts in Aughagower. The ruins consist of an L-shaped building representing the long and narrow . . . — Map (db m27757) HM
Ireland, Connacht (County Mayo), Murrisk — Murrisk Friary / Mainistir Mhuraisce
Murrisk - from Muraisc (Sea-marsh) Murrisk Friary This small house of Augustinian friars, located here on the south shore of Clew Bay in the shadow of Croagh Patrick, was founded in 1457 by Hugh O'Malley. It was dedicated to St Patrick, some of whose relics were preserved here. The only surviving buildings are the small church and the range of domestic buildings which bordered the cloister on its east side - the chapter house below, where the friars met to . . . — Map (db m27587) HM
Ireland, Connacht (County Mayo), Westport — Major John Mac Bride / Seán Mac Giolla Bríde
IgCuimhne ar an maor Seán Mac Giolla Bríde Major John Mac Bride Vice-Commandant Irish Republican Army, Major in the Army of the South African Republic, Organizer of the Transvaal Irish Brigade, who died for Ireland 5th May, 1916. Go nDéana dia trócaire ar a anam. — Map (db m27564) HM
Ireland, Connacht (County Roscommon), Ballyconboy — 988:1272 — Cruachan / Cruachain (Rathmore)
Cruachan is traditionally said to be the inauguration place of the Kings of Connacht. There are a number of monuments spread over an area of about two square miles. These include a large mound, a number of differently-shaped enclosures and some ring-forts. One of these contains a standing stone alleged to mark the resting place of the last pagan king of Ireland. De réir an tseanchais is ag Cruachain a dhéantaí Ríthe Chonnacht a ghairm. Tá roinnt séadchomharthaí scaipthe ar fud achar dhá . . . — Map (db m28192) HM
Ireland, Connacht (County Roscommon), Cloonyquin — Percy French1854 - 1920
This memorial is erected on the site of the birthplace of William Percy French Born 1st May 1854 and commemorates his life as engineer, song-writer, entertainer, artist and journalist. “Remember me is all I ask, and yet if the remembrance prove a task - forget!” W.P.F. Erected by Co. Roscommon Historical and Archaeological Society in 1984. This plaque was erected by Co. Roscommon Percy French Society to commemorate the 150th anniversary of the . . . — Map (db m28177) HM
Ireland, Connacht (County Roscommon), Rathmoyle — Rathmoyle Cemetery
Rathmoyle Cemetery is unique in that it is the property of the parish and is maintained solely by the local population. The site appeas on the 1st edition of the 6 inch O.S. series of maps for Co. Roscommon as a Mortuary Chapel with surrounding graveyard. It is mentioned in the 1837 O.S. Map. The site was presented as a gift to the area by the local gentry, the Irwin's, in 1921 and has since been used as a local cemetery. The surrounding wall was constructed in the 1930's through . . . — Map (db m28204) HM
Ireland, Connacht (County Roscommon), Strokestown — The Sharkey Sisters
The Sharkey Sisters Una and Lena resided here. Leading members of Cumann na mBan during War of Independence — Map (db m27553) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — Countess Constance Markievicz1869 - 1927 — Major, Irish Citizen Army, 1916
A valiant woman who fought for Ireland in 1916 _________________________ In the 1916 Rising she was Second-in-Command to Michael Mallin in the College of Surgeons. She was sentenced to death for her activities but was released from prison in 1917 in the general amnesty. The bronze bust show Countess Markievicz in the uniform tunic of the Irish Citizen Army. The work was unveiled in 1956. [From the Monuments of St. Stephen's Green marker found in the park.] — Map (db m22504) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — Dublin Millenium Literary Parade988 - 1988 — Dublin Corporate Parks Dept.
One of Dublin's major contributions to European civilisation has been in the area of literature. It is remarkable that so many writers of world renown were born here including three winners of the Nobel Prize for Literature. This Literary Parade honours some of our distinguished sons of literature. St. Patrick's Park has been restored thanks to the generosity of Jameson Irish Whiskey, and the Publicans of Dublin. — Map (db m22472) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — First Performance of Handel's Messiah
This bronze commemorates the first performance of George Frideric Handel's Oratorio Messiah, given in the Old Musick Hall in Fishamble Street at noon on Tuesday April 13th 1742 — Map (db m22450) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — Haslam Memorial Seat
In 1925 a finely sculptured garden seat of Kilkenny limestone was placed in the park and inscribed on the back - “Anna Marie, 1829 - 1922 and Thomas Haslam, 1825 - 1917. This seat is erected in commemoration [sic - ‘honour’] of their long years of public service, chiefly devoted to the enfranchisement of women." [From Monuments of St. Stephen's Green marker found in the park] — Map (db m22485) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — James Clarence Mangan(1803 - 1849)
He has been described as the greatest poet of the nineteenth century. He died of cholera in 1849. The bronze bust by Oliver Sheppard was unveiled in 1909 on behalf of the National Literary Society. In a niche in the pedestal is a marble head representing Róisín Dubh, the last work of Willie Pearse. [From the Monuments of St. Stephen's Green marker found in the park.] — Map (db m22488) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — James Joyce(1882 - 1941)
Acknowledged as a world figure in literature. He dismantled the English language and put it together again so that it became music. The sculpture in bronze was unveiled on June 16, (Bloomsday) 1982. — Map (db m27047) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — Jeremiah O'Donovan Rossa / Ó Donnabháin Rosa(1831 - 1915)
Ni dhéanfaidh gáeil bhearmao orc go brách [Gaelic transcription is best effort] ——— Erected in 1954. An uncut rock of Wicklow granite symbolises the patriot's unbreakable spirit. Into the rock is set a plaque bearing an impression of O'Donovan Rossa's head. — Map (db m25316) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — Lord Ardilaun
Prior to 1877 St. Stephen's Green was a private square for the use of the residents of the Green. In that year, through the generosity of Sir Arthur Edward Guinness (Lord Ardilaun) negotiations were concluded for converting it into a public park. Lord Ardilaun paid off debts against the park and invested an additional £20,000 in laying out the grounds as a park and garden. The bronze statue of Lord Ardilaun was erected by public subscriptions in 1892. ——— The Right . . . — Map (db m25311) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — Margaret Anna Cusack1829 - 1899
Margaret Anna Cusack was born on this site on May 6th 1829. At the time York Street was a centre of medicine. She was the daughter of Sara and Dr. Samuel Cusack. Her uncle was the interationally renowned surgeon James William Cusack, 3-times President of the Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland. She became an Anglican Sister but in 1861 converted to Catholicism and moved to Kenmare in County Kerry. Here, under the pseudonym of the “Nun of Kenmare”, she wrote on all aspects of . . . — Map (db m22454) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — Oscar Wilde House
Oscar Wilde 1854 - 1900 Poet, Dramatist, Wit Lived Here 1855 to 1878 — Map (db m24754) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — Robert Emmet(1778 - 1803)
Presented to the People of Ireland by The Robert Emmet Statue Committee of the United States of America April 13, 1966 Francis J. Kane, Chairman Ambassador Scott McLeod Devlin W. Dormer, Esq. Hon. Michael J. Kirwan, M.C. Hon. Thomas P. O'Neill, M.C. Hon. Daniel J. Flood, M.C. Hon. John E. Fogarty, M.C. N. Mike Devlin, Esq. The statue, erected in 1968, in a small enclave on the west side of the park faces the house in which Robert Emmet was born (now . . . — Map (db m25304) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — Saint Patrick’s ParkPáirc Naomh Pádraig
Tradition has it that Saint Patrick baptised the first Irish Christians in a well, situated here in St. Patrick's Park, with water from the River Poddle, which still flows underground. A small wooden church was erected here to commemorate the event. The parish church on this site was known as Saint Patrick's in Insula (on the island) because it was located on an island between two branches of the River Poddle. In 1191 John Comyn, the first Anglo-Norman Archbishop of Dublin, gave the church the . . . — Map (db m22468) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — Sir William Robert Wills Wilde1815 - 1876
aural and ophthalmic surgeon, archaeologist, ethnologist, antiquarian, biographer, statistician, naturalist, topographer, historian, folklorist, lived in this house from 1855 to 1876 — Map (db m24755) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — St. Patrick's CathedralMalton Trail
This majestic view of St. Patrick's Cathedral, Dublin is a colour reproduction from a series of original aquatints etched by James Malton, whose work, A Picturesque and Descriptive View of the City of Dublin, gives us a glimpse of Dublin at the close of the 18th-century. Malton was “struck with admiration at the beauty of the capital of Ireland and was anxious to make a display of it to the world”. It is here that St. Patrick was said to have baptised converts to Christianity . . . — Map (db m22465) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — St. Stephen's Green Bandstand
Erected in 1887 from funds subscribed by the Dublin Metropolitan Police to commemorate Queen Victoria's Jubilee. [From the Monuments of St. Stephen's Green marker found in the park.] — Map (db m22483) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — Theobald Wolfe Tone(1763-98)
An Irish patriot convicted of treason. He died mysteriously in prison in November 1798. The memorial consists of a ten-foot figure of Wolfe Tone backed by a wall of rough granite columns of varying width and rising to 16 feet in height. Behind the granite columns is a group of bronze figures that symbolize the past unhappy subjugation of the Irish people. This group represents the cause for which Tone sacrificed his life. He was thirty-five years old. The memorial was unveiled by President de Valera in 1967. — Map (db m25303) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — Veronica Guerin1959 - 1996
Sunday Independent journalist, was murdered on 26th June 1996. Be Not Afraid Greater justice was her ideal and it was her ultimate achievement Her courage and sacrifice saved many from the scourge of drugs and other crime. Her death has not been in vain. Unveiled by the Taoiseach, Mr. Bertie Ahern T.D. 27th June 2001 — Map (db m24078) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — William Butler Yeats(1865 - 1939)
“He may be regarded as the pivot around which Irish literature turned from instinctive to conscious art.” (George W. Russell). The memorial, erected in [October] 1967, is a tribute in bronze by Henry Moore, the sculptor. — Map (db m27039) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Fingal), Howth — Balscadden House
W. B. Yeats Poet Lived Here • 1880-1883 “I have spread my dreams under your feet; Tread softly because you tread on my dreams” — Map (db m24771) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Fingal), Howth — Howth Abbey, St. Marys / "Mainistir" Bhinn Éadair
Howth Abbey, St. Marys Sigtrygg, King of Dublin, founded the first church here in 1042. When this church was amalgamated with another on Ireland's Eye in 1235, it was re-founded by Luke, Archbishop of Dublin. Much of the present church dates from the 15th and 16th centuries. In the southeastern corner is a chantry containing the tomb of Christopher St. Laurence, carved around 1470, with the effigy of the Knight and his wife on top. Surrounding the tomb can be seen representations of the . . . — Map (db m27205) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Fingal), Howth — St Mary's Church / Eaglais Mhuire
Howth from Old Norse Hofuth (a promontory); Binn Éadair (the hill of Éadar) is the Irish name. This church, dedicated to the Blessed Virgin Mary, was collegiate; that is, it was served by a college or community of clerics, one of whom had responsibility for liturgy within the church as well as for matters of business. The house where the community lived stands to the south of the church. The earliest church here was built by Sitric, King of Dublin, in 1042. It . . . — Map (db m27183) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Fingal), Howth — The Lord Killanin
Sixth President of the International Olympic Committee 1972 - 1980 President of the Olympic Council of Ireland 1950 - 1973 This commemorative bronze bust was unveiled by Dr. Jacques Rogge Eight[h] President of the International Olympic Committee May 20th 2009 Sculptor - Paul Ferriter 2009 — Map (db m27050) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Fingal), Portmarnock — The Southern Cross MonumentBy Rachel Joynt & Remco DeFouw
This sculpture celebrates Portmarnock's unique role in world aviation history. This beach, known as the Velvet Strand, was used as a runway for the first successful East-West Transatlantic flight, on 24th June 1930. After a gruelling 33 hours the ‘Southern Cross’ landed at Harbour Grace, Newfoundland. It was the final leg of the first circumnavigation of the globe by aircraft. The pilot was Australian Aviator Sir Charles Kingford Smith, Co-pilot Evert Van Dyk, Irish Navigator Capt. Paddy . . . — Map (db m25788) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Fingal), Portmarnock — The Velvet Strand / An Trá ChaoinPortmarnock / Port Mearnóg
What's in a name? Portmarnock is names after St Marnock, a prominent missionary who founded a church in the area. The Velvet Strand and Aviation History It was from the Velvet Strand, on 24th of June 1930, that the famous Australian aircraft Southern Cross departed on a pioneering Atlantic flight to Harbour Grace, Newfoundland, where it landed safely some 31.5 hours later. The plane was piloted by the legendary Charles Kingsford Smith and navigated by Dubliner Captain . . . — Map (db m25663) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Louth), Monasterboice — Monasterboice / Mainistir Bhuithe
Monasterboice — from Mainistir Bhuithe (the Monastery of Buithe) This is the only early Irish monastery whose name incorporates the Irish word mainistir. Monasterboice was founded by St Buite, who died around 520. The monastery was an important centre of spirituality and learning for many centuries until the Cistercians arrived at nearby Mellifont in 1142. The two churches which stand on the site today were probably built no earlier than the end of the 14th . . . — Map (db m24628) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Meath), Crossakiel — Jim Connell
Author of “The Red Flag” which became the anthem of the International Labour Movement Born Rathniska, Kilskyre 1852 Died Lewisham, London 1929 Oh, grant me an ownerless corner of earth, Or pick me a hillock of stones, Or gather the wind wafted leaves of the trees To cover my socialist bones, Jim Connell This monument was unveiled on 26th April, 1998 by Peter Cassells, general secretary, ICTU, before an international gathering from the trade unions and . . . — Map (db m27347) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Meath), Duleek — St Mary's AbbeyDuleek Heritage Trail
One of the great churches of the 12th century, St. Mary's Abbey, was built by the Augustinians on lands presented to them by Hugh de Lacy, Overlord of Meath. In the 1500s a massive square tower was built alongside the earlier round tower. The latter is no longer standing but the ‘scar’ where it was joined onto the square tower is clearly visible on its north side. Within the church are some early cross-slabs, a Romanesque pilaster-capital and the base and head of the South Cross, and . . . — Map (db m26384) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Meath), Duleek — The Lime TreeDuleek Heritage Trail
William of Orange and Mary accepted the throne of England in 1698, supplanting King James II who took refuge with his ally and sponsor Louis XIV of France. The tensions between James and William would reach their highpoint in 1690 at the battle of the Boyne in Meath, where James was defeated. In Duleek at the time there was a very significant colony of Huguenots (French Protestants) who had fled persecution in France. Subsequently to the Battle of the Boyne the people of Duleek planted . . . — Map (db m24802) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Meath), Kells — Catherine Dempsey
Here rest the remains of Silvester O'Dempsey Esq. Who departed this life the 31 Dec. 1817 In the 70 year of his age A Man of the most steady Friendship Unblemished Integrity extensive charity And Universal Benevolence This frail Memorial of imperishable regard is inscribed as a record of the tenderest Affection to his Memory by his Daughter Catherine ODempsey Catherine Dempsey died 22nd August 1837 In her charity she bequeathed her entire property to further . . . — Map (db m26423) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Meath), Kells — Market CrossKells Heritage Trail
This 9th century high cross, the cross of the gate of the Kells monastery, is one of five high crosses still surviving in Kells. The cross of the gate, currently at or near its original site, was a termon cross and signified that a fugitive could claim sanctuary once inside the boundary of the monastic area. The carved faces of the high crosses depict scenes from the Old and New Testament and were used primarily for the religious instruction of the faithful. These scenes may originally have . . . — Map (db m27341) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Meath), Kells — St Columba's ChurchKells Heritage Trail
Diarmuld MacCarroll, High King of Tara, is said to have granted the dun of Cenannus to St Columcille in the 6th century for the purpose of establishing a monastery. This may explain why in 804 the Columban community on the island of Iona (Hebrides), then the principal Columban monastery, moved to Kells to escape the reaches of Norse raiding parties. St Columba's church stands on the site of the original Columban monastery. It became a cathedral church 1152 when the diocese of Kells was . . . — Map (db m26444) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Meath), Loyd — Spire of LoydKells Heritage Trail
The tower, a mock lighthouse, was erected in 1791 by the First Earl of Bective in memory of his father Sir Thomas Taylor. The architect was Henry Baker who completed the design of the Kings Inns in Dublin after Gandon. The tower has an internal spiral stone staircase and was used in the 19th century to view the horseracing and the hunt. A section of land adjoining the tower was given to the Kells Union Workhouse in 1851 to be used as a paupers' graveyard. A famine road existed between the . . . — Map (db m27324) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Meath), Slane — Saint Patrick on the Hill of Slane
Long established tradition tells that St. Patrick lit the Easter Fire on this Hill of Slane in 433. In doing so, he unwittingly disobeyed King Laoghaire at nearby Tara. The inevitable confrontation had a happy outcome: Laoghaire's druid, Erk, became a Christian (later, first Bishop of Slane) and the King was pacified. The Easter Fire is still lighted, each year, on the Hill of Slane. — Map (db m22538) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Meath), Slane — Slane AbbeyMainistir Shláine
Slane Abbey It is believed that in 433 AD, the first Christian missionary to Ireland, later known as St. Patrick, lit a large celebration fire here on the Hill of Slane. Soon after St Patrick, a monastery associated with St Earc was built on the site. But we know little of its history until the church was rebuilt in its present form in 1512, when Sir Christopher Fleming founded a Franciscan friary. The church was built to a simple plan but it has a fine bell tower; the aisle to the . . . — Map (db m22533) HM
Ireland, Munster (County Kerry), Anascaul — Jerome ConnorDealbhoir Cumdubh Abhanascaul — 1876 - 1943
The Irish sculptor of international stature was born in Coumduff, Annascaul in 1876. His family emigrated to the USA in 1888 where he developed his artistic skills. He returned to Dublin in 1925, worked there until his death in 1943. Among Jerome Connor's outstanding works are the Robert Emmet in St. Stephen's Green, Dublin, the Smithsonian Ins, Washington USA, the Lusitania Monument, Cobh, and the Merriot Sq, Dublin. — Map (db m23075) HM
Ireland, Munster (County Kerry), Anascaul — Tom CreanAntarctic Explorer — 1877 - 1938
Expeditions to Antarctica Discovery, 1901-1904 Terra Nova, 1910-1013 Endurance, 1914-1917 In recognition of his invaluable contribution to these expeditions and of his many acts of selfless heroism on behalf of his companions The Tom Crean Memorial Garden Gardens Donated by the Crean Family. Sculptor Eamonn O'Doherty July 2003 Map (db m23045) HM
Ireland, Munster (County Kerry), Kilmalkedar — Kilmalkedar Church / Cill Mhaoilchéadair
Kilmalkedar — from Cill Mhaoilchéadair (the Church of Mhaoilchéadair) Kilmalkedar Church Kilmalkedar, one of the most important early church sites on the Dingle peninsula, is traditionally associated with St. Brendan but it was probably founded by St. Maolcethair who died in 636. The present church, built in the middle of the 12th century, is a fine example of Irish Romanesque architecture. This style was introduced from England and the continent in the early . . . — Map (db m24299) HM
Ireland, Munster (County Kerry), Listowel — Maid of Erin
Work of local man Pat McAuliffe 1846-1921 — Map (db m23698) HM
Ireland, Munster (County Limerick), Abbeyfeale — Reverend William Casey
His grateful fellow countrymen at home and beyond the seas have erected this monument to the memory of Rev. William Casey, for a quarter of a century prior to his death, the parish priest of this parish. He found his people struggling in the toils of landlordism: he left them owners of the soil and freemen. By his death, religion lost a shining light; the cause of temperance a strenuous advocate; the poor without distinction of creed, an ever helpful friend; and Ireland a devoted son. But . . . — Map (db m24739) HM
Italy, Lazio (Rome Province), Rome — Arch of Constantine
IMP • CAES • FL • CONSTANTINO • MAXIMO • P • F • AVGUSTO • S • P • Q • R • QVOD • INSTINCTV • DIVINITATIS • MENTIS • MAGNITVDINE • CVM • EXERCITV • SVO • TAM • DE • TYRANNO • QVAM • DE • OMNI • EIVS • FACTIONE • VNO • TEMPORE • IVSTIS • REM-PVBLICAM • VLTVS • EST • ARMIS • ARCVM • TRIVMPHIS • INSIGNEM • DICAVIT [English trans.:] To the Emperor Caesar Flavius Constantinus, the greatest, pious, and blessed Augustus: because he, inspired by the divine, and by the greatness of his . . . — Map (db m47768) HM
Italy, Lazio (Rome Province), Rome — Vittorio Emanuele II — [Capitoline Hill]
Monumento a Vittorio Emanuele II secc. XIX-XX Architetti: G. Sacconi, P. Piacentini, G. Koch, M. Manfredi Renderings of the Monument: Pianta * Sezione longitudianle * Prospeto [Left column - Text in Italian…] Right column - Text in English: The Monument to Vittorio Emanuele IInd is situated in the Campitelli district which was the site of many great undertakings throughout the centuries. Nowadays, not many people actually live here, for . . . — Map (db m47437) HM
Netherlands Antilles, Sint Maarten, Philipsburg — Historic Sint Maarten Remembered"Peg Leg Pete"
Pieter Stuyvesant was the last Governor of the Dutch colony of New Netherland (now New York), from 1646 until its surrender to the English in 1664. He was born in the Dutch province of Friesland in 1611 or 1612. After studying languages and philosophy for two years at the University of Franeker, he joined the Dutch W.I.C. (West India Company). In 1638 he was sent to Curacao. He was appointed commercial director in 1642. In 1644 Stuyvesant recieved orders to recapture Sint Maarten which had . . . — Map (db m40330) HM
Netherlands Antilles, Sint Maarten, Philipsburg — Vance Theophilus Jamesa.k.a. Captain David
Vance Theophilus James, known as "Captain David," was born June 20, 1918 in the fishing village of Dieppe Bay, St. Ketts. After having worked as a cane cutter and fisherman, he first started sailing on the Lady Kate, and later on the inter island sloop the Cassaloma. He went on to become captain of the Calina, and then became known as "Captain David." The vessels he captained carried both cargo and passengers. Sailing from the island of St. Kitts, his ports of call were St. Eustatius, St. . . . — Map (db m40372) HM
New Zealand, Auckland, Auckland CBD — Lord Freyberg Statue
Lieutenant-General Bernard Cyril Freyberg, 1st Baron Freyberg VC, GCMG, KCB, KBE, DSO & Three Bars, was a British-born New Zealand Victoria Cross recipient and soldier who later served as the seventh Governor-General of New Zealand. — Map (db m61296) HM
Philippines, Cebú Province, Cebu City — 400 Years of Continuing OAR Presencein the Philippines and Asia — 1696 to 2006
Panel 1: Fray Rodrigo de San Miguel Pioneering Missionary Indistinctly known in history books as Fr. Rodrigo Aganduru (1584-1626), the intrepid missionary from Villadolid, Spain, arrived with the first Recollects in 1606. Bataan and Zambales – where he founded the towns of Bagac, Morong, Mariveles and Subic - witnessed his initial apostolic endeavors. As vicar provincial, he sent missions to Palawan and northern Mindanao and canonically erected in 1621 the convents of Cebu . . . — Map (db m64224) HM
Philippines, Cebú Province, Cebu City — Antonio Pigafetta — 1496 - 1535
Patrician of Vicenza, Italy and Knight of Malta chronicler of the Magellan expedition that first circumnavigated the globe from 1519 to 1522. He fought in Mactan and was one of the 22 survivors who returned to Spain. This tribute was erected by the Philippine-Italian Association. — Map (db m64200) HM
Philippines, Manila, Binondo — Ang Tahanan ng Kaanak ni Rizal 1903 Daang San Fernando, MaynilaHouse of Rizal's Relatives — 1903 San Fernando Street, Manila
In Tagalog: Si Teodora Alonzo, ina in Rizal, ay namatay noong ika-16 ng Agosto ng 1911 sa isang bahay na nakatayo sa pook na ito (ngayo'y blg, 476-478) at ari ni Gng. Luisa Lichauco. Translated, the marker reads: Teodora Alonzo, mother of Rizal died in August 16, 1911 in a house that stands here, which is now building 476-478, owned by Mrs. Luisa Lichauco. — Map (db m25025) HM
Philippines, Manila, Binondo — Roman Ongpin(1847 - 1912)
In Tagalog: Makabayan at pilantropo. Isinilang sa Binondo, Maynila, 28 Pebrero 1847. Nahalal bilang Teniente Primero de Mestizos ng Binondo, 1883-1885. Itinatag ang El '82, unang tindahang gumamit sa paraang "fixed price" sa kalye Colon ngyo'y bahagi ng kalye Kilusang Propaganda. Ipiniit ng mga Espanyol dahil sa kanyang pagtulong sa mga rebolusyonaryo, 1896. Ikinulong muli ng mga Amerikano, 6 Disyembre 1900 hanggang 23 marso 1901. Naglingkod bilang ingat-yaman ng Union Obrera . . . — Map (db m25021) HM
Philippines, Manila, Binondo — Sinilangang Pook ni Heneral Antonio Luna(1866-1899) — Birthplace of General Antonio Luna
In Tagalog: Sa bahay na ito, 843 Urbiztondo, Isinilang si Antonio Luna noong ika-29 ng Oktubre, 1866. Anak nina Joaquin Luna de San Pedro at Laureana Novicio at kapatid ni Juan Luna, ang pintor. Parmasyutiko at kimiko. Bantog na manunulat ng "La Solidaridad," isang pahayagang Pilipino. Napaghinalaan ng mga Kastilang kasapi sa Katipunan, kaya ipinatapon sa Madrid noong 1897. Sa kanyang pagbabalik sa Pilipinas noong 1898, ay Hinirang siyang Katulong na Kalihim ng Digma; Hinirang na . . . — Map (db m25029) HM
Philippines, Manila, Binondo — William J. Burke(1873-1946)
Cardiologist, Philanthropist. Born February 17,1873, San Miguel, Manila. Obtained the degree of Doctor of Medicine at the University of Dublin, Ireland. Returned to practice his profession in Manila, 1900. Introduced and installed the first Electrocardiograph in the Philippines. Recipient of several Pontifical Orders for his Philanthropic Endeavors from various hospitals, convents, and religious orders in the country. Died July 23,1946. In his honor the city council of Manila enacted Ordinance . . . — Map (db m25027) HM
Philippines, Manila, Ermita — Plaza Olivia SalamancaPlaza Salamanca
In memory of Olivia Salamanca, M.D., pioneer woman physician of the Philippines. Born in San Roque, Cavite on 1 July 1889; appointed government scholar in 1905; Studied in Drexel Institute, Philadelphia. Died on 11 July 1913. A devoted and compenent practicioner, she was a credit to the medical profession and an inspiration to her fellow women. — Map (db m25077) HM
Philippines, Manila, Intramuros — Mother Francisca del Espiritu Santo
Francisca de Fuentes, was born to Don Simon de Fuentes and Ana Maria Tamayo del Castillo in the City of Manila in 1647. Widowed and childless herself after a brief marriage, she dedicated herself to helping the sick, the needy and the young. In 1682, she received the habit of a Dominican tertiary and took the name Mother Francisca del Espiritu Santo. She was joined by a small group, and a family of religious founded in the Philippines had its beginning. Final approval came later, but the . . . — Map (db m25291) HM
Philippines, Manila, Intramuros — Padre Jose A. Burgos
In Tagalog: Sa pook na ito nanirahan si Padre Burgos mula noong 1865 hanggang 1872 at nagtrabaho para sa mga pagbabago sa simbahan sa ilalim ng Espanya, naging Kura Paroko ng Parroquia del Sagrario, Fiscal Eclesiastico at pansamantalang canonigo magistral ng Katedral ng Maynila sa Intramuros. Tungkol sa kanya si Kardinal Gonzales, isang kastila, ay nagwika: "Ang Pilipinas ay mangangailangan pa marahil ng isan-daang taon upang magkaroon ng isang anak na may katalinuhang tulad ni P. Jose . . . — Map (db m25158) HM
Philippines, Manila, Intramuros — Tomas Mapua(1888-1965)
Educator and first registered architect. Born in Manila, December 21,1888. Studied at Ateneo de Manila and Liceo de Manila, completed secondary education at Boones Preparatory School in Berkeley, California, 1907. Obtained the degree of bachelor in architecture Cornell University, 1911. Started as draftsman, 1912-1913, and then became supervising architect, 1917-1928, at Bureau of Public Works. Supervised construction of several government buildings. Established Mapua Institute of Technology, . . . — Map (db m25293) HM
Philippines, Metro Manila, Binondo — Our Lady of the Most Holy Rosary Parish ChurchPilipino Parish — Plaza San Lorenzo Ruiz, Binondo, Manila
His Eminence, Jaime Cardinal Sin. D.D. Archbishop of Manila commissioned Very Rev. Msgr. Federico V. Navarro to start the restoration and reconstruction of this church on January 1977, which was finished in January 1984. In May 9, 1985, the Cardinal blessed this church together with the new 3 story concrete parish center building and convent at the back of this church at Ongpin Street. The restoration of this grand and beautiful antique church was made possible through the courage and . . . — Map (db m64588) HM
Philippines, Metro Manila, Binondo — The New Plaza San Lorenzo Ruiz
The new Plaza San Lorenzo Ruiz was formerly known as Plaza Calderon de la Barca, a noted Spanish playwright. In 1981 it was renamed after the first Filipino saint, Lorenzo Ruiz, where his statue stands, in honor of this Binondo native who was executed on September 27, 1637 for refusing to renounce his Catholic faith. The plaza also includes the monument of Joaquin Santa Marina who founded the La Insular Cigar and Cigarette factory in 1863. In 1979, the monument of the . . . — Map (db m72413) HM
Philippines, Metro Manila, Sampaloc, Manila — Santo Tomas Internment Camp — Main Building, University of Santo Tomas
Through these portals passed up to ten thousand Americans and other nationals of the free world who were interned within these walls by the Japanese military. Suffering great physical privation and national humiliation from January 4, 1942, until liberated February 3, 1945, by the American Forces under General Douglas MacArthur. — Map (db m72731) HM WM
Sweden, Södermanland Province (Stockholm County), Stockholm — The Zetterström FountainVasa Museum
Text in Swedish: Zetterström-Fontänen Mustycke som användes för att spola tunnlar under Vasa vid bargningen 1961. Konstructör: Dykarpionjären Arne Zetterstöm (1917-1945) Donatorer: Flygt AB och Marinen Text in English: The Zetterström Fountain Nozzle used for making tunnels under the warship Vasa when it was salvaged in 1961. Constructor: The Swedish diving pioneer Arne Zetterström (1917-1945) Fountain sponsors: Flygr . . . — Map (db m56837) HM
Switzerland, Lucerne (Lucerne (District)) — Dr. Jur. Kasimir Pfyffer
In diesem Hause wohnte u. starb Dr. Jur. Kasimir Pfyffer 1794 – 1875 Erster Stadtpräsident von Luzern Mitglied des grossen Rates Nationalratspräsident Obergerichtspräsident Bundesgerichtspräsident Führer der Liberalen Luzerner English translation In this house lived and died Dr. Jur. (of Law) Kasimir Pfyffer 1794 - 1875 First president of the Lucerne city council and a member of the Lucerne Canton Upper House, President of the National Parliament Supreme . . . — Map (db m67497) HM
Switzerland, Lucerne (Lucerne (District)) — The von Silenen HomeHaus von Silenen
Hier Wohnten: Jost von Silenen 1435 – 1497 Propst von Beromuenster Koeniglicher Rat Ludwig XI, von Frankreich / Bischof von Grenoble und Sitten Ritter Albin von Silenen Um 1440 – 1500 Hauptmann der Besatzung Von Yverdon und der Luzerner bei Murten und Nancy Kaspar von Silenen 1467 – 1517 Erster Hauptmann der Papstlichen Schweizergarde German-English translation: Here resided: Jost von Silenen 1435 - 1497 . . . — Map (db m67728) HM
Switzerland, Zurich (Zurich (District)) — (Goethe Stayed Here)
In diesem hause weilte Goethe mit Herzog Karl August von Weimar bei Joh. Caspar Lavater im Jahr 1779 German–English translation by Google Translate Goethe stayed in this home with Duke Karl August of Weimar. John Caspar Lavater lived here in 1779 — Map (db m67119) HM
Switzerland, Zurich (Zurich (District)) — Lenin
Heir wohnte V.21.Febr.1916 bis 2.April.1917 Lenin Der führer der Russischen Revolution Translation Here lived from 21 February to 2 April 1917 Lenin the leader of the Russian Revolution. — Map (db m67225) HM
Turkey, İzmir Province (Selçuk District), Ephesus — Last Home of the Blessed Virgin, the Mother of Jesus Christ
Notice About The Shrine This place is considered to be the last home of the Blessed Virgin, the Mother of Jesus Christ. The Facts According to the Scriptures: St. John, in his Gospel, tells us that Jesus, before dying on the Cross, entrusted to him the care of His Mother when He said: “Here is your Mother,” and from that hour St. John took Her to his own. The “Acts of the Apostles” relate how, after the death of Christ, His followers were persecuted . . . — Map (db m44049) HM
Turks and Caicos Islands, Grand Turk, Cockburn Town — #22 — Sunnyside
This house, which always has been known as Sunnyside, was originally located on a cay off South Caicos called Sail Rock Cay. It was built in the 1870s and has the distinction of being one of the most famous houses on Front Street. It was moved board by board to its present location on Grand Turk by Mrs. Mary Jones, wife of the late Father Clifford Jones of St. Thomas Parish Church. Now, the house is owned by Mitch Rolling of Blue Water Divers and the leader of "High Tide," Grand Turk's own Ripsaw Blues Band. — Map (db m30404) HM
Turks and Caicos Islands, Grand Turk, Cockburn Town — #16 — Todds
Todds, which was built in the 1880's, not only is the oldest variety store in the island, but also the only one still trading under its almost-original name and owned by the same family. The store was first owned by the Stubbs family who were the largest landowners in the Caicos Islands and also one of the foremost salt families in the territory. Freddie Todd purchased it in the early 20th century for his daughter, Eva Todd. When she died in the 1960's, her cousins, Olive Wood and Minnie Tatem, . . . — Map (db m31453) HM
U.S Virgin Islands, St John, Cruz Bay — Laurance RockefellerPhilanthropist
In 1956 Laurance S. Rockefeller, financier and conservationist, donated over 5,000 acres through the Jackson Hole Preserve for the establishment of Virgin Islands National Park. While sailing the Caribbean in 1952, he became enchanted with the people and the unspoiled beauty of St. John. The unique natural, cultural and historic resources of the park are protected in perpetuity, thanks to his vision and generosity. — Map (db m60713) HM
U.S. Virgin Islands, St Thomas, Enighed Community — Arthur S. Fairchild
This Plaque Expresses Appreciation and Perpetuates the Memory of Arthur S. Fairchild Long time friend and president of St. Thomas who on December 27, 1946 donated the major portion of Magens Bay Beach and 56 acres of land in perpetuity to the municipality of St. Thomas and St. John. " The natural beauty and benefits to be preserved for the enjoyment of the inhabitants of the Virgin Islands without discrimination of any kind by reason of race, color, or creed." . . . — Map (db m40461) HM
U.S. Virgin Islands, US Virgin Islands, Charlette Amalie — St. Thomas Community Bandmaster
1904  1969 This Bandstand is Dedicated to the memory of David E. Monsanto Bandmaster St. Thomas Community Band 1935 - 1969 Pursuant to the Act. No. 2804 Bill No. 4534 8th Legislature of the V.I. of the U.S. His was a life of unselfish effort and generosity. He was a leader. A gentleman, and a friend ...... His memory is cherished. — Map (db m40457) HM
United Kingdom, Staffordshire, Lichfield — Edward Wightman Memorial
Edward Wightman of Burton-on-Trent was burnt at the stake in this Market Place for heresy 11th April 1612 being the last person in England so to die. — Map (db m22661) HM
Alabama (Baldwin County), Fort Morgan — Noble Leslie DeVotie
(Obverse): First Alabama soldier to lose life in Civil War. DeVotie graduated in 1856 from University of Alabama; Presbyterian Theological Seminary at Princeton in 1859. In 1856 at the University of Alabama, he was chief founder of Sigma Alpha Epsilon Fraternity, the only national social fraternity founded in the Deep South. (Reverse): First Alabama soldier to die in Civil War. Drowned Feb. 12, 1861 while on duty as chaplain of Alabama troops here. Before enlisting he was . . . — Map (db m4219) HM
Alabama (Baldwin County), Stockton — Bartram’s Trail
William Bartram, America’s first native born artist - naturalist, passed through Baldwin County during the Revolutionary era, making the first scientific notations of its flora, fauna and inhabitants. As the appointed botanist of Britain’s King George III, he traveled 2,400 miles in three journeys into the southern colonies in 1775-1776, collection rare plants and specimens and making detailed drawings of plants and animals. Erected by Baldwin County Commission And Alabama Bicentennial Commission — Map (db m66388) HM
Alabama (Baldwin County), Stockton — Major Robert Farmar Plantation
Here on the banks of the Tensaw River -- named for the Tensa Indian tribe whose principal village was located at this place -- Major Robert Farmar developed a plantation c. 1772. Farmar was one of the most prominent and controversial Alabamians of the British period, being commander of the regiments at Mobile from 1763-1765. He resigned his commission in 1768 and was elected to every Commons House of Assembly for the District of West Florida from 1769 until his death in 1778. Artist-Naturalist, . . . — Map (db m66380) HM
Alabama (Barbour County), Eufaula — Fendall HallThe Young - Dent Home
Marker Front: Built between 1856 and 1860 by Edward Brown Young and his wife, Ann Fendall Beall, this was one of the first of the great Italianate style homes constructed in Eufaula. It later became the home of the builders’ daughter, Anna Beall Young, and her husband, Stouten Hubert Dent. The Dents renovated the house in the 1880s in the styles and colors then popular, and hired a Mr. LaFranc to stencil and paint the ceilings and walls of the hall, parlor, and dining room. These three . . . — Map (db m33759) HM
Alabama (Barbour County), Eufaula — Old Negro Cemetery / Fairview Cemetery
Front Interred on this gently sloping hillside are the remains of many of Eufaula’s early black citizens. Their names are known only to God because the wooden grave markers which located the burials have long since vanished. This burying ground was used until about 1870 when black interments were moved to Pine Grove Cemetery. In addition to the “Old Negro Cemetery”, there are at least five other graveyards including the Jewish, Presbyterian, Masonic Odd Fellows and Public . . . — Map (db m27987) HM
Alabama (Bibb County), Brierfield — Absalom Pratt House
Absalom Pratt built this house 8 miles west of here circa 1835 though a section was constructed earlier. It was moved to this site in 1994 by the Cahaba Trace Commission, restored by the Alabama Historic Ironworks Commission, 1997-98, and dedicated by both organizations on November 15, 1998. Born in Stokes County, North Carolina, Absalom Pratt settled in River Bend with his brothers, Hopkins, Joab and John, 1816-1818. Parents Richard and Rebecca Pratt soon followed. In 1822, Absalom . . . — Map (db m37078) HM
Alabama (Blount County), Locust Fork — Gabriel Hanby, 1786-1826← Grave and Homesite 300 Yards
Member Constitutional Convention 1819 First Senator of Blount County Brigadier General, Alabama Militia County road and court systems organized at his house 1820. — Map (db m32484) HM
Alabama (Calhoun County), Alexandria — Lincoyerand The Battle of Tallasehatchee
At this site, on Nov. 3, 1813, after the Battle of Tallasehatchee, known then as Talluschatches, during the Creek Indian War, Gen. Andrew Jackson found a dead Creek Indian woman embracing her living infant son. Gen. Jackson, upon hearing that the other Creek Indian women were planning to kill the infant, as was their custom when all relations were dead, became himself the protector and guardian of the child. Because of his compassion, Gen. Jackson took the infant to Fort . . . — Map (db m36551) HM
Alabama (Calhoun County), Anniston — Governor Thomas E. Kilby1865-1943
Outstanding local industrialist as President, Kilby Steel Company; Chairman, Board of Directors, Alabama Pipe Company; President, City National and Anniston National Banks. Served as Mayor of Anniston (1905-09); State Senator (1911-15); Lieutenant Governor (1915-19); Governor of Alabama (1919-23). His administration as Governor of Alabama notable for sound business principles, for prison reform, for advancement and expansion of charitable institutions, and for constitutional amendments . . . — Map (db m35758) HM
Alabama (Calhoun County), Anniston — Major John PelhamWas born here → — September 7, 1838
Commanded Horse Artillery of Army of Northern Virginia, C.S.A. Killed at Kelly’s Ford, Va. March 17, 1863 Styled “The Gallant Pelham” By Robert E. Lee — Map (db m36546) HM
Alabama (Calhoun County), Anniston — The Birthplace of the “Gallant Pelham”
Major John Pelham C.S.A. Born September 14, 1838 at the home of his Grand Parents William McGehee and Elizabeth Clay McGehee Erected by Forney District U.D.C. May 5, 1937 — Map (db m36547) HM
Alabama (Calhoun County), Jacksonville — "The Magnolias"Home of Clarence William Daugette — B. Sc., M. Sc., LL. D. 1873-1942
Dean of American College Presidents President of Jacksonville State Normal-State Teachers College 1899-1942 During an Educational Renascence in the South he was in the forefront of the Alabama Educational System President 1st National Bank 1934-1942 He married Anne Rowan Forney (1897) Daughter of General John H. Forney and Septima Sexta Middleton Rutledge — Map (db m29922) HM
Alabama (Calhoun County), Jacksonville — Forney’s Corner
Jacob Forney III lived and operated a thriving mercantile establishment at Jacksonville from 1835-56 on the south-east corner of the square. He and his wife Sabina Swope Hoke were the parents of nine children. 1. Daniel Peter - b. Feb. 24, 1819, d. Sept. 10, 1880. 2. Joseph Bartlett - b. Feb. 19, 1821, d. Aug.  14, 1881. 3. William Henry - b. Nov. 9, 1823, d. Jan. 18, 1894. 4. Barbara Ann - b. Dec. 11, 1826, d. Dec. 26, 1907. 5. John Horace - b. Aug. 12, 1829, d. Sept. 13, 1902. 6. . . . — Map (db m36450) HM
Alabama (Calhoun County), Jacksonville — General Leonidas Polk C.S.A.
Bishop of Louisiana Held service in this church 1864 Erected by General John H. Forney Chapter U.D.C. April 26, 1937 — Map (db m36535) HM
Alabama (Calhoun County), Jacksonville — John Horace Forney1829-1902 — Major General, C.S.A.
Graduate of West Point, resigned from U.S. Army to volunteer services to State of Alabama. Ably led Confederate forces at Manassas, Pensacola, Vicksburg, Mobile, Texas. — Map (db m36482) HM
Alabama (Calhoun County), Jacksonville — John Tyler Morgan1824-1907
Lawyer, Soldier, Senator ← Lived here in 1838 1862-63 Colonel of 51st Alabama Cavalry Raised by him in this county 1863-65 Brigadier General C.S.A. with Wheeler’s Cavalry 1876-1907 United States Senator Distinguished Statesman of Alabama. — Map (db m36468) HM
Alabama (Calhoun County), Jacksonville — Joseph William Burke1835-1900
Lawyer, Industrialist, Patriot Brigadier General, U.S.A. Gen. Burke helped rebuild Alabama’s mining & manufacturing interests after the Civil War. He helped establish the Catholic Church at Jacksonville. His home, “Bellevue,” occupied the present site of Jacksonville State College. — Map (db m36424) HM
Alabama (Calhoun County), Jacksonville — Presidents of Jacksonville State
James G. Ryals, Jr. 1883-1885 J. Harris Chappell 1885-1886 Carleton B. Gibson 1886-1892 J. B. Jarrett 1892-1893 Jacob Forney, IV 1893-1899 Clarence William Daugette 1899-1942 Houston Cole 1942-1971 Ernest Stone 1971-1981 Theron E. Montgomery 1981-1986 Harold J. McGee 1986-1999 William A. Meehan 1999 — Map (db m36427) HM
Alabama (Calhoun County), Jacksonville — The First National Bank of Jacksonville
Since 1890 the financial interests of this area have been served by The First National Bank and its predecessor The Tredagar National Bank (an institution of the "Boom" days of Jacksonville) Organizers were Peyton Rowan, President, Jos. W. Burke (Brig. Gen. USA), Vice Pres., and George P. Ide, Cashier. Horace Lee Stevenson, Pres. 1900-1913. Name changed to First National Bank March 25, 1913 Presidents Maximillian Bethune Wellborn, 1913-1914 Henry A. Young, 1914-1918 . . . — Map (db m29480) HM
Alabama (Calhoun County), Jacksonville — William Henry Forney1823-1894
Brigadier General C.S.A. With Army of Virginia 1861-1865. Wounded in battle five times. He was one of four distinguished sons of Jacob Forney and Sabina Swope Hoke of Jacksonville who held commissions in the Confederate Army. Member U.S. Congress 1875-1893 Member Gettysburg National Military Park Commission Veteran Mexican War 1846. — Map (db m36480) HM
Alabama (Chambers County), Cusseta — Pat Garrett and Billy the Kid / Pat Garrett, "The Man Who Shot Billy the Kid"
Side 1 Pat Garrett and Billy the Kid As sheriff of Lincoln County, Pat Garrett was charged with tracking down and arresting Billy the Kid, a friend from Garrett's saloon keeping days in Fort Sumner, New Mexico. He was captured in December 1880 and was subsequently convicted of murder. However Billy the Kid escaped from jail on April 18, 1881. Garrett tracked him to Fort Sumner on July 14 where he was shot and killed. In 1889 Garrett moved to Uvalde, Texas where he was . . . — Map (db m73710) HM
Alabama (Chambers County), LaFayette — Chambers County
Chambers County, created December 18, 1832 from Creek Indian cession. Named for Dr. Henry C. Chambers of Madison County, member of Constitutional Convention 1819, legislature of 1820, elected U.S. Senator 1825 but died enroute to Washington. County government organized 1833 by Judge James Thompson of Jefferson County. First officers were: Nathaniel Greer, Sheriff; William House, Clk. Cir. Ct.; Joseph J. Williams, Clk. Co. Ct.; Booker Lawson, John Wood, William Fannin, John A. Hurst, . . . — Map (db m18162) HM
Alabama (Clarke County), Gosport — John MurphyFourth Governor of Alabama
Born 1785 in Robeson County, N.C. Came in 1818 to Monroe County, Alabama. Represented Monroe County in Alabama Constitutional Convention in 1819 and in State Legislature 1819-1822. Served as Governor of Alabama 1825-1829. Elected 1833 to Congress for one term. Died 1841 and is buried in Gosport 2 miles from here on his Clarke County Plantation. — Map (db m47637) HM
Alabama (Clarke County), Whatley — Reverend Timothy Horton Ball, A. M.
February 16, 1826, November 8, 1913. Minister, Teacher, Historian, Author. His love of history, natural resources and mankind led him to record events, past and present, writing many of his notes on the pommel of his saddle and also walking County in search of information. He preserved for future generations, the history of Clarke County in written from, a vital resource record for the present and future. He is buried in the Creighton Cemetery one quarter mile north west. — Map (db m47636) HM
Alabama (Colbert County), Muscle Shoals — Howell & Graves School
Marker Front: Muscle Shoals City was incorporated on April 24, 1923. Among the leading developers were New York realtors A.L. Howell and C.T. Graves. Their interest in Muscle Shoals was inspired by the vision of Henry Ford to use power from Wilson Dam and the Nitrate Plants to "employ one million workers and build a city 75 miles wide." Although Ford's vision remained unfulfilled, Howell & Graves helped develop the town by building the first City Hall, bungalows, a service station, and . . . — Map (db m28580) HM
Alabama (Colbert County), Sheffield — President Franklin Delano Roosevelt
On Jan. 21, 1933 President-elect Franklin Delano Roosevelt addressed an immense crowd a this crossing from his railroad car and promised "to put Muscle Shoals back on the map." He then toured the idle U.S,. Nitrate Plant No. 2 and Wilson Dam with Senator George Norris. The new Congress approved Norris's plans for development of the entire Tennessee River and FDR signed the Tennessee Valley Authority Act on May 15, 1933, thereby ending years of bitter controversy about the future of the Muscle . . . — Map (db m35630) HM
Alabama (Colbert County), Tuscumbia — American Indian History
Side 1 Oka Kapassa (Ococoposa), meaning "Cold Water", was the Chickasaw name given to Spring Creek and to a trading post established near the Tennessee River about 1780. About 1817, Michael Dickerson and others were greeted at what by then was called Big Spring by Chief Tuscumbia, a Chickasaw rainmaker. The settlers named the new town in his honor in 1822. Colbert County, formed in 1867 from the Northern half of Franklin County, was named for Chickasaw Chieftains George Colbert, . . . — Map (db m28585) HM
Alabama (Colbert County), Tuscumbia — Belle Mont
Built between 1828 and 1832, Belle Mont is a foremost example of Jeffersonian Palladian Architecture in the deep south and one of Alabama's first great plantation houses. It was build for Dr. Alexander W. Mitchell, a native of Virginia, and a graduate of the University of Edinburgh, Scotland, and one of the first large scale~ planters and slaveholders in this area. In 1833 this 1,680~ acre plantation was sold by Mitchell to another Virginian Native, Isaac Winston. Winston, also a . . . — Map (db m29561) HM
Alabama (Colbert County), Tuscumbia — Colbert County Courthouse Square District
22 structures, first Northwest Alabama historic district placed on National Register of Historic Places (1973): Courthouse, erected 1881, shows Italianate and Greek Revival influences. Fifth Street, Commercial Row, seven adjoining brick structures (late 1840's) housed commission merchants and later "The North Alabamian" Railroad Depot (1888, Tuscumbia Railroad chartered 1830); four churches (Baptist, Episcopal, Methodist, Presbyterian); and eight homes of prominent early citizens ~ some of . . . — Map (db m28584) HM
Alabama (Colbert County), Tuscumbia — Howell Thomas Heflin1921~2005
Howell Thomas Heflin retired from a lifetime of distinguished public service in 1997, having served Alabama in the U.S. Senate for three consecutive terms. There he was known as a national leader on judicial, agricultural, defense, and space issues. As Chief Justice of the Alabama Supreme Court from 1971 to 1977, he modernized the state's court system. Heflin was a Marine Corps officer during World War II, attaining the rank of major and awarded the Silver Star and Purple Heart. Howell T. . . . — Map (db m28586) HM
Alabama (Colbert County), Tuscumbia — Ivy GreenBirthplace of Helen Keller
The Family Home of Captain Arthur M. & Kate Adams Keller was build 1820, being the second house erected in Tuscumbia. Here on June 27, 1880 was born America's First Lady of Courage Helen Adams Keller — Map (db m29089) HM
Alabama (Colbert County), Tuscumbia — Jackson's Military Road
Side 1 After the Battle of New Orleans in 1815, General Andrew Jackson proposed this road as a shorter and improved route for military movements between Nashville and New Orleans. The U.S. War Department authorized Jackson to appoint an engineer and procure equipment on August 15, 1816 and Congress appropriated $5,000 to begin construction. The Military Road was built by about 300 American soldiers over a three-year period at a construction cost of $300,000. When completed on May . . . — Map (db m28582) HM
Alabama (Colbert County), Tuscumbia — Sacred TearsBy Branko Medenica — September 19, 2003
Panel 1 Tuscumbia and much of the Shoals area played an integral part in the "Trail of Tears" with the Tennessee River route and the overland routes. In 1825, the U.S. Government formally adopted a removal policy, which was carried out extensively in the 1830's by Presidents Andrew Jackson and Martin Van Buren. The result was particularly overwhelming for the Indians of the southeast, primarily the Cherokee, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Creek and Seminole. While some resisted removal by . . . — Map (db m29285) HM
Alabama (Colbert County), Tuscumbia — Tuscumbia Big Spring
Tuscumbia Big Spring Big Spring (average daily flow 35,000,000 gallons) provided water for town founded on its banks. Michael Dickson of Tennessee was first settler (about 1817). Town laid out in 1819 and incorporated as Ococoposo (Cold Water, 1820). Name changed to Tuscumbia (1822) for a Chickasaw Indian. Confederate and Union soldiers camped here intermittently during wartime. (1861~1865). Site of Tennessee Valley Fair in the 1800's, later Colbert County Fair until 1930's. Spring park . . . — Map (db m28581) HM
Alabama (Colbert County), Tuscumbia — William Winston Home
Construction on the home which became the center building of Deshler High School was begun in 1824 by Clark T. Barton. William Winston purchased and completed the Georgian-style dwelling in 1833. The largest remaining antebellum house in Tuscumbia, it features a winding staircase, eight fireplaces, and ten original closets along with an inscription on the cellar wall written during the Union occupation saying: "It is a damn shame to destroy this mansion." Original log kitchen placed at N.W. . . . — Map (db m28565) HM
Alabama (Colbert County), Tuscumbia — Winston Cemetery
Front – Side A: The Winston family settled this area in the early 1820s. Andrew Jackson purchased the property at the U.S. government land sale and conveyed it to Col. Anthony Winston (1782-1841) who lived nearby in a two-story brick Federal-style house (razed 1945). It later became a part of William H. Winston's plantation. Capt. Anthony Winston (1750-1827) and his wife, Kezia Jones (1760-1826), were the first burials. Other early families buried here include Abernathy, . . . — Map (db m28566) HM
Alabama (Colbert County), Tuscumbia — Yellow Fever Epidemic 1878 / The 31 Victims of Yellow Fever Who died in Tuscumbia
Side AYellow Fever Epidemic 1878 Taking 31 Lives in Tuscumbia Citizen's Relief Committee: F.H. Aydlett, H.M. Finley, J.J. Davis, James Jackson, Chm. J.W. Rand Jr., F.A. Ross, J.N. Sampson, Sec. and C. A. Womble. This committee, together with volunteers of both white and black~~ assisted by trained nurses brought from Memphis~~ nursed the sick, carried supplies, prepared the bodies, dug graves, and buried the dead. Doctors, Serving around the . . . — Map (db m29263) HM
Alabama (Conecuh County), Burnt Corn — James Salter
James Salter N. C. 1760-1835 Comsy. 2 Regt. Continental Troops, Rev. War. Member State Legislature Ala 1823-1828 Memorial Erected By Conecuh Chapter 1972 D.A.R. and Decendants Hon. Wiley Salter, Judge Frank T. Salter — Map (db m47979) HM
Alabama (Cullman County), Cullman — Colonel John G. CullmannFounder of Cullman, Alabama 1873 — 1823 - 1895
Col. John G. Cullmann July 2, 1823 - December 3, 1895 Thrifty German Colonists led by Col. John G. Cullmann in 1873 settled this thinly populated plateau of Alabama. This plaque and Restoration Sponsored by Cullman Federated Garden Club 1973 — Map (db m35629) HM
Alabama (Cullman County), Cullman — Evangelical Protestant Church
The first church in the City of Cullman was established on this block of land donated by the North and South Railroad in February 1874. Lots 154, 155, and 181 were granted to Henry Dietz, August Henning, and George Stoback as trustees of the Evangelical Protestant Church for the sole purpose of constructing a church building. Col. John Cullman, land agent, was a charter member of the church. The church building was made into a dwelling house after the congregation moved to a new location, 512 . . . — Map (db m33841) HM
Alabama (Cullman County), Cullman — Sand Mountain Plateau
Thrifty German colonists, led by Col. John G. Cullman, in 1873 settled this thinly populated plateau. This section, previously thought unproductive, became famous for its diversified crops. — Map (db m29976) HM
Alabama (Cullman County), Cullman — The Ave Maria Grotto
The work of Brother Joseph Zoettl, O.S.B. Has been recorded in the National Register of Historic Places by the United States Department of Interior 1984. — Map (db m37452) HM
Alabama (Dale County), Ozark — Dowling - Steagall House
Constructed in c. 1900 by G. P. Dowling, the Dowling-Steagall House is a Classical Revival dwelling featuring a full-height portico with Ionic columns and an elaborate door surround. A judge and prominent businessman, G. P. Dowling organized Ozark's first waterworks, ran a hardware store and served as president of the Ozark Cotton Mill and the First National Bank. In 1926, Dr. Malcolm O. Grace purchased the Dowling House, operating Grace Hospital, Ozark's first hospital, out of the building . . . — Map (db m36510) HM
Alabama (Dallas County), Cahaba — The Duke of Cahaba
In 1889, Samuel and Sarah Kirkpatrick moved to Selma, leaving their farm and house in the capable hands of their son Clifton (1863-1930). He turned the abandoned remains of Alabama's first capital into a showcase farm of diversified, scientific agriculture, departing from the South's one crop cotton system. In 1902, he began planting the pecan trees you see all around you. Clifton Kirkpatrick believed in public service and worked to promote the welfare of all farmers. From 1927 until his . . . — Map (db m23005) HM
Alabama (Dallas County), Selma — Ecor Bienville1702-1743 — The first recorded name of Selma
This tablet commemorates the engagement between Jean Baptiste Le Moyne Sieur de Bienville, Governor of the Province, and The Alibamo Indians. In 1714 Bienville made a friendly visit to this section. — Map (db m37658) HM
Alabama (Dallas County), Selma — Edmund Winston Pettus House Site
Edmund Winston Pettus, lawyer, General C.S.A., U.S. Senator, was born Limestone County, Alabama, 1821. Admitted to bar, 1842. Moved to Cahaba, 1858. Major, C.S.A., 1861. Brigadier General, 1863. U.S. Senator, 1897-1907. Resided here from 1866 until death, 1907. When in Senate, with John T. Morgan, Selma was home of both U.S. Senators from Alabama. — Map (db m38273) HM
Alabama (Dallas County), Selma — Highlights of Selma History / William Rufus DeVane King 1786-1853
[Side A:] Highlights of Selma History Dallas County was created by Territorial Legislature Feb. 9, 1818. Selma Land Company formed Mar. 19, 1819 by George Phillips, William Rufus King, Jesse Beene, Gilbert Shearer and Caleb Tate. Selma incorporated Dec. 4, 1820. LaFayette visited 1825. First newspaper established 1827. Dallas County Male and Female Academy incorporated 1845 - was forerunner of public school system. Selma Arsenal and Confederate Naval Yard established 1862. Battle . . . — Map (db m37679) HM
Alabama (Dallas County), Selma — I Had A DreamDr. Martin L. King Jr.
The demonstration that led to the most important advance in civil rights for millions of Black Americans began here March 21, 1965. It was the 50-mile march from Selma to Montgomery, Alabama, the State Capital. Defying threats of death, Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., led 400 Black and White Americans on the longest, largest, most dramatic march of his 13-year career. It gave southern Blacks the right as citizens to cast a ballot and help determine and help operate the government under . . . — Map (db m73865) HM
Alabama (Dallas County), Selma — In Honor of James Joseph Reeb1927-1965 — “This Good Man”
Rev. James J. Reeb, an Army Veteran and Unitarian minister from Casper, Wyoming, was working in Boston when Rev. Martin Luther King, Jr. appealed for clergymen of all faiths to come to Selma to protest the violence that occurred at the Edmund Pettus Bridge on March 7, 1965, “Bloody Sunday.” Reeb responded by flying south for the protest march in Selma on March 9. A few hours after the march, Reeb and two fellow ministers were attacked while walking along Washington Street near the . . . — Map (db m37683) HM
Alabama (Dallas County), Selma — John Tillman MelvinUnited States Navy R.F.
Erected by the Citizens of Selma to Commemorate the Heroism of Lieutenant John Tillman Melvin United States Navy, R.F. Born Selma, Alabama Oct. 16, 1887 Among the first to volunteer and the first American Naval officer killed in action in our war with Germany. Lost his life by a torpedo from a German submarine while aboard the U.S. Ship Alcedo off the coast of France Nov. 5, 1917. He gave his life that Democracy and Liberty might live. — Map (db m37660) HM
Alabama (Dallas County), Selma — John Tyler Morgan House
This was the residence of John Tyler Morgan (1824-1907), one of Alabama’s most honored political and military leaders. Constructed in 1859 by Thomas R. Wetmore, it was purchased by Morgan in 1865, and served for many years as his principal residence. Morgan was a leader in the Secession Convention, ranking second only to William Lowndes Yancey in influence and power of debate. During the war he enlisted in the Confederate Army as a private and was promoted through the ranks to Brigadier . . . — Map (db m37676) HM
Alabama (Dallas County), Selma — Temple Mishkan Israel
Side A The earliest Jewish settlers came to Selma prior to the Civil War, some as early as the 1830’s. A group of Jewish citizens assembled as the Mishkan Israel Congregation and began meeting in private homes in 1867. The congregation was formally organized on July 10, 1870. In June of 1899, ground was broken for the temple, and the building was completed on December 20, 1899, Members of Mishkan Israel’s congregation were vital to the early economic growth of the city. Many of the . . . — Map (db m37677) HM
Alabama (Dallas County), Selma — The Sleeping Prophet
Edgar Cayce (1877-1945), was internationally accepted as an extremely gifted psychic. An humble man, he never profited materially from his psychic ability, but used it to help “make manifest the lover of God and man.” Operated his photography studio and lived in this building from 1912 until 1923. Many psychic readings were given here during that time. — Map (db m37672) HM
Alabama (Dallas County), Selma — This Tablet Commemorates the Visit of Lafayette
Soldier of France Volunteer in the cause of American Liberty Guest of the Nation Entertained in Selma On his way to Cahaba 1825 Placed by the Cherokee Chapter Daughters of the American Revolution Selma, Alabama June 14, 1931 — Map (db m37671) HM
Alabama (Dallas County), Selma — White - Force Cottage
This Italianate style cottage was built in 1859 by C. B. and Martha Todd White. Mrs. White, half sister of Mrs. Abraham Lincoln, was an outspoken Southern patriot, who subjected the Lincolns to severe criticism, when the Northern press accused her of using a Presidential pass to smuggle medicine and other needed supplies “through the lines” to the Confederacy. Another sister, Elodie Todd, met her future husband, Col. N. H. R. Dawson, while visiting here. Dr. Charles F. Force, . . . — Map (db m38274) HM
Alabama (Dallas County), Selma — William Rufus de Vane King1786-1853
Native Sampson County, North Carolina. Admitted to bar, 1806. North Carolina House of Commons 1807-1809. U.S. Congressman 1811-16. Secretary U.S. Legation Naples and St. Petersburg 1816-1818. Moved to Dallas County, Alabama, 1818. A founder of Selma; named city. Delegate Alabama Constitutional Convention 1819. U.S. Senator 1819-1844, 1848-1853. U.S. Minister to France 1844-1846. President pro tempore U.S. Senate 1836-1840, 1850-1852. Vice President of United States . . . — Map (db m37654) HM
Alabama (DeKalb County), Fort Payne — Alabama"The Boys From Fort Payne" — 2006 Country Music Hall of Fame Inductee
In the late '60s, cousins Randy Owen and Teddy Gentry discovered they shared a common interest in music. Joined by Jeff Cook, they started playing on a regular basis. Working their day jobs and playing any place they could locally in the evenings, "The Boys In The Band" used what limited spare time they had to compose and practice their unique style of harmony. In 1973, in tandem with Randy Owen's graduation from Jacksonville State University, The Band said goodbye to their daytime jobs . . . — Map (db m25277) HM
Alabama (Elmore County), Coosada — William Wyatt Bibb
— grave 300 yards — First governor of Alabama 1819-1820 Only governor of Alabama Territory 1817-1819 Born in Amelia County, Va., Oct. 2, 1781 In U.S. Congress from Georgia 1805-1813 Moved here from Elbert County, Ga., 1817 Buried in private cemetery near home. Succeeded by brother, Thomas Bibb, presiding officer of state senate. — Map (db m71180) HM
Alabama (Elmore County), Millbrook — William Wyatt Bibb1781-1820
First governor of Alabama — Buried 2 miles east — Only governor of Alabama Territory 1817-1819 First governor of state 1819-1820 Died in office after riding accident. Succeeded by brother, Thomas Bibb. — Map (db m71179) HM
Alabama (Escambia County), Brewton — Hart Station
Erected by his friends and the Escambia County Bar Association in memory of James Edward Hart, Jr. (1942 – 1992), who contributed much to his community, his church and his profession. He loved trains. Due to his efforts, passenger service was reestablished in Brewton. — Map (db m39033) HM
Alabama (Etowah County), Alabama City — Howard Gardner Nichols 1871-1896Scholar, Engineer, Industrialist, Naturalist, Humanitarian
Nichols came to Alabama City in 1894 to supervise construction of the Dwight Manufacturing Company. While serving as the mill's first agent, he planned and began a model mill village and was elected Mayor of Alabama City. — Map (db m18578) HM
Alabama (Etowah County), Gadsden — Colonel Hood House
This stately Classic Revival house, built c. 1904, was the residence of Colonel Oliver Roland Hood (1867-1951), eminent Gadsden attorney and civic leaders. Colonel Hood was one of the three incorporators of Alabama Power Company in 1906 and author of its charter. For 35 years Hood was closely associated with William Patrick Lay in the development of electric power in Alabama. In 1954 the Gadsden Woman’s Club purchased the property to house their organization which was founded in 1923. . . . — Map (db m39135) HM
Alabama (Etowah County), Gadsden — Emma SansomMay 2, 1863
Here girl heroine led Forrest’s (CSA) men across Black Creek on way to capture Streight’s (USA) raiders. This saved the railroad supplying Confederate Army of Tennessee. — Map (db m39131) HM
Alabama (Etowah County), Gadsden — John H. Wisdom
His courageous ride of warning from Gadsden to Rome, Ga. on May 2, 1863 is unsurpassed in history. — Map (db m39218) HM
Alabama (Etowah County), Gadsden — Paul Harvey Loyalty Day
On Loyalty Day this 30th day of April, 1967, we do pay honors and tribute to a great American - Paul Harvey - a man who has contributed much toward making this nation and especially Gadsden a better place to live. We salute a true champion of freedom. "God bless you" — Map (db m12301) HM
Alabama (Etowah County), Gadsden — William Luther Sibert Major General U.S. Army (Ret.)1860-1935
This is the site of the family home of Gadsden native General William Luther Sibert who played a major role in the construction of the Panama Canal. While serving in the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, he was appointed chief engineer for the Atlantic Division of the Panama Canal. He designed and built the Atlantic locks, and constructed Gatun Dam, then the largest earthen dam in the world, to create Gatun Lake, the central operating feature of the Canal. During World War I General Sibert . . . — Map (db m39253) HM
Alabama (Etowah County), Hokes Bluff — John Henry Wisdom(The Paul Revere Of The Confederacy)
On the night of May 2nd and the morning of May 3rd, 1863, John Wisdom rode 67 miles, from Gadsden, Ala. To Rome, Ga. Under very harassing conditions, to warn the citizens of Col. A. D. Streight’s proposed march to burn and sack the city, Rome being a stronghold of the Confederacy, having an iron works and supply depot. Through this man’s efforts barricades were erected leading to the eventual surrender of Col. Streight to Gen. Bedford Forrest. John Wisdom lived his last day here and is buried nearby. — Map (db m41001) HM
Alabama (Greene County), Eutaw — A County Older Than The State, Greene County
Named for Revolutionary hero, General Nathaniel Greene, who drove British from Southeast. Area explored by DeSoto, 1540. Claimed as French Louisiana, 1699. Ceded to England, 1763. Ceded by Choctaw Nation, 1816. Made a territorial county, 1819. Eutaw, county seat, is named for Greene’s victory at Eutaw Springs, South Carolina. — Map (db m37962) HM
Alabama (Hale County), Prairieville — Dr. Benjamin M. Duggar1872-1956
Discover of the antibiotic, Aureomycin Son of a beloved country doctor, he carried a dedicated spirit to the frontiers of science Having won degrees at Alabama, Auburn, Missouri, Harvard and Cornell, he taught at Cornell, Missouri, Wisconsin, completing his researches and discoveries at Lederle Laboratories His discoveries opened a new era in medicine helping physicians save the lives of millions. Site of birthplace and boyhood home - 300 yards. — Map (db m38191) HM
Alabama (Houston County), Dothan — Johnny Mack Brown
Side A Johnny Mack Brown, an outstanding athlete and western movie star, was born in Dothan on September 1, 1904. Johnny Mack was one of nine children born to John Henry and Hattie McGillivray Brown. The Brown family home was located on South Saint Andrews Street, just a few blocks south of this marker. He excelled as an athlete at Dothan High School and was an All-American halfback at the University of Alabama. It was his performance during Alabama’s 1926 Rose Bowl victory over the . . . — Map (db m41142) HM
Alabama (Houston County), Dothan — Marvin Holman
A mule trader for 65 years, was known throughout the nation for the slogan,"Tolable' fair dealer" opposite this site, on the southeast corner of East Main and Holman Streets stood one of the south's largest mule stables. Built in 1917, the 27,000 square foot red brick structure was a popular gathering place for farmers and town folks and contained a "Mourners bench" for the Traders' Comfort and consolation. The building was demolished in 1974. Tractors replaced mules, and thus ended an era. — Map (db m48417) HM
Alabama (Jackson County), Scottsboro — Gen. Andrew JacksonSoldier, Statesman, 7th President U.S.A.
Jackson County was created by the State Legislature on December 13, 1819 while in session in Huntsville, Ala. The county was named in honor of Gen. Andrew Jackson who was visiting in Huntsville at the time. This Statue was presented by the Citizens of Jackson County during the year of the Bicentennial 1776 - 1976 — Map (db m22262) HM
Alabama (Jackson County), Scottsboro — Robert Thomas Scott1800-1863
Planter, tavern operator, newspaper editor, legislator, and land developer, he sought in vain to have the Jackson County seat moved from Bellefont to the settlement that bore his name. After his death in 1863, his widow reached an agreement in 1868 with the county government whereby the site for the courthouse and jail was deeded to Jackson County on condition that Scottsboro become the county seat. Incorporated by the state legislature on January 20, 1870, the town became an important . . . — Map (db m22260) HM
Alabama (Jefferson County), Bessemer — Hosea Holcombe1780-1841 — "Alabama's first church historian"
In 1840 he published his study, History of Rise and Progress of the Baptists in Alabama. Also an evangelist and missionary. In 1818 moved to Alabama from Carolinas, organizing five churches in vicinity. President of Alabama Baptist Convention 1833-38, he was delegated to write church history. Lack of cooperation led him to travel over state to get material for book. He died at Jonesboro home in 1841. buried in Sadler Cemetery 1 mile south. — Map (db m27025) HM
Alabama (Jefferson County), Bessemer — Sweet Home / Henry W. Sweet
This house was built in 1906 by architect William E. Benns for H. W. Sweet at a cost of $10,000. The house uniquely blended the Queen Anne and Neo-Classical architectural styles, featuring two identical pedimented entrance porticos supported by fluted Composite-order columns, full-length wrap around porches on the first and second stories, and an octagonal corner tower. H. W. Sweet (1866-1919) a native of South Carolina, was Bessemer's first undertaker and a furniture merchant. Henry W. Sweet . . . — Map (db m27024) HM
Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — "Lest We Forget"Avondale World War II Memorial
Dedicated to the sacred memory of the Avondale Boys of World War II who made the Supreme Sacrifice for Liberty and Humanity. Thomas Nelson • Albert W. Moore • James A. Williams • John L. Warner • Wayne Daily • Chester Smith • Ernest Cumb • LeRoy J. Patterson • Norman H. Butts • Donald B. Funderburk • Weyman Milton • George Tucker • Herman Kelly • Earl W. Franklin • Oscar L. Cagle, Jr. • Leon Fulghum • Fred W. Hosmer, Jr. • Louis H. Boone, Jr. • . . . — Map (db m55950) HM
Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — Arthur D. Shores"Dean of Black Lawyers in The State of Alabama."
During the first 30 years of his 54-year-old practice, Attorney Shores practiced all over the State of Alabama - from the Tennessee line to the Gulf of Mexico at Mobile Bay, and from the Mississippi borders to the Georgia limits. During the period roughly between 1940 and 1950 he was the only lone voice in the wilderness defending the civil rights of black people. Mr. Shores practiced civil rights law all over the state of Alabama during an era in which his life was in constant jeopardy. He . . . — Map (db m26720) HM
Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — Birmingham Water Works Company (1887) / Cahaba Pumping Station (1890)
Side A The Elyton Land Company, which had founded the city of Birmingham in 1871, established a subsidiary, the Birmingham Water Works Company in 1887. Dr. Henry M. Caldwell, President of the Elyton Land Company, contracted with Judge A. O. Lane, mayor of Birmingham, to furnish the new city with not less than five million gallons of water a day. Without water Birmingham could not have grown into the city that the founders had envisioned. (Continued on other side) Side B . . . — Map (db m28445) HM
Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — Carrie A. Tuggle1858 - 1924
In Tribute to Carrie A. Tuggle 1858 - 1924 Scholar, Teacher and Christian. A life of unselfish service to the troubled and the homeless black boys and girls. In 1903, she founded a school and orphanage, the Tuggle Institute. — Map (db m27391) HM
Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — Clark Building
This building was constructed in 1908 by Louis V. Clark (1862-1934), who also built the historic Lyric Theater located nearby on 18th Street. The Clark Theater on Caldwell Park is named in honor of Mr. Clark’s generosity to the Birmingham Little Theater. The Clark Building housed multiple businesses until 1986, when it became vacant. In 1996, plans had been made to demolish the building when John Lauriello of Southpace Properties and Bob Moody of Moody & Associates recognized its potential . . . — Map (db m27515) HM
Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — Donnelly House
This neoclassical structure was built in 1905 for James W. Donnelly, "the father of the Birmingham Library System." Donnelly moved to Birmingham from his native Cincinnati, Ohio after retiring from Proctor and Gamble. A much respected manufacturer, industrialist, real-estate developer and civic leader, he is best remembered for his efforts to organize, fund and develop the Birmingham Public Library System -- one of the finest in the southeast. The Donnelly house, included in the . . . — Map (db m26740) HM
Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — Dr. Ruth J. Jackson1898 - 1982
Dedicated to Dr. Ruth J. Jackson 1898-1982 This woman of strength and vision graduated from the Poro School of Cosmetology, the first black registered school in the State of Alabama. At the vanguard of the Civil Rights Movement, she was unwavering in her devotion to the Birmingham Community. She inspired both children and adults to complete their education. Members of the Southern Beauty Congress and the Alabama Association of Modern Beauticians, Organizations to which she rendered . . . — Map (db m27090) HM
Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — East Birmingham
Marker Front: Founded in 1886 on 600 acres of land, East Birmingham was the agricultural area consisting primarily of dairy farms extending to the present Birmingham airport. The East Birmingham Land Company that developed the area was formed by local industrialist who proposed sites for manufacturing plants, employee housing , and a streetcar line linking them to Birmingham. East Birmingham was annexed to the city in 1910. In the decades after 1886, Industrial enterprises and . . . — Map (db m26633) HM
Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — Eddie James KendrickDecember 17, 1937 - October 5, 1992
Eddie James Kendrick, nicknamed "cornbread", was born the eldest of five children to Johnny and Lee Bell Kendrick in Union Springs, Alabama. After attending Western-Olin High School in Ensley, Alabama, Eddie was persuaded by his childhood friend Paul Williams to move to Detroit, Michigan. It was there they formed a singing group called "The Primes". While in Detroit, the duo met Otis Williams of the music group "The Distants". The two groups merged forming the legendary "Temptations". . . . — Map (db m26724) HM
Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — Emory Overton Jackson1908 - 1975
Emory Overton Jackson was born on September 8, 1908 in Buena Vista, Georgia to Will Burt and Lovie Jones Jackson. E. O. Jackson and his seven siblings were raised in the middle-class Birmingham enclave of Enon Ridge, located on the west side of town near Birmingham-Southern College. He attended Industrial High School, which was later named A. H. Parker High. In 1928 he enrolled in Atlanta’s Morehouse College, where he served as President of the student government and editor of the . . . — Map (db m64736) HM
Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — Forest Park
A residential district extending from the crest of Red Mountain to the floor of Jones Valley with roads built along natural land contours. Birmingham real estate promoter and civic leader, Robert Jemison, Jr., began development as Mountain Terrace in 1906. New York landscape architect Samuel Parsons, Jr., conceived the park theme which the Jemison and Birmingham Realty companies extended in the 1910s and 1920s through developments originally known as Forest Park, Glenwood, Valley View, Altamont . . . — Map (db m26983) HM
Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — Fraternal Hotel Building
The Fraternal Hotel Building was built in 1925. Some of the businesses that were located in this building included: 1925 - 1980 Fraternal Hotel 1925 - 1970 Fraternal Café 1950 - 1966 Monroe Steak House 1985 - 1994 Grand Lodge Knights of Pythians 1928 - 1931 Mabry Brothers Department Store 1952 - 1985 Hill Photo Studio 1950 - 1985 Central Barber Shop Famous persons such as: Dr. Martin L. King, Jr., Rev. Jesse Jackson, Jackie Robinson, Monroe Kennedy and many others were . . . — Map (db m27518) HM
Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — Glen Iris Park
Founded in 1898 by Robert Jemison, this 30-acre historic district is a private residential park containing an almost intact collection of some of Birmingham's finest 20th century houses. It was the first professionally landscaped residential community in the city and the first where residents adhered to strictly self-imposed rules and covenants. National Register of Historic Places 8-30-1984. — Map (db m27520) HM
Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — Green Acres Café1705 - 4th Avenue, North
Businesses that occupied this building between 1908 - 1970 1908 - 1913 Southern Bell Telephone Company Stockroom 1915 - 1926 OK French Dry Cleaning Company 1927 - 1938 George Kanelis Billiards 1940 - 1945 Alex’s Steak House 1946 - 1971 OK Cleaning Company Historically, this building has been identified as the OK Cleaners building. During the early 1970’s until 1989 this building remained vacant. Green Acres Café was established in 1959 and was located at 1600 - 6th Avenue, . . . — Map (db m27521) HM
Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — Pauline Bray Fletcher1878 - 1970
In Tribute to Pauline Bray Fletcher 1878 - 1970 The First Black Registered Nurse of Alabama Through self-sacrifice, perseverance founded in 1926 Camp Pauline Bray Fletcher. Renewing the faith and the good health of all black children. — Map (db m27393) HM
Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — Powell School
Birmingham's first public school was named for Colonel James R. Powell, the city's first elected Mayor. This energetic promoter also served as the first President of the Elyton Land Company (now Birmingham Realty). which founded the city in 1871. Two years later, Colonel John T. Terry led the fund raising to establish a "free school for white children." The school was "free" only of ties to a religious institution for fees were charged according to grade level. Mayor Powell donated his salary, . . . — Map (db m26675) HM
250 markers matched your search criteria.
Click to map all markers shown on this page.
Click First to browse through the results shown on this page.   First >> 


•••
More Search Options
 
Markers
Near You

 
Categories

 
States & Provinces

 
Counties
Click to List


 
Countries

Page composed
in 281 ms.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
To search within this page, hold down the Ctrl key and press F.
On an Apple computer,
hold down the Apple key and press F.