|Argentina, Ciudad Autónoma de Buenos Aires, Buenos Aires — El Obelisco de Buenos Aires|
a la República
En el IV Centenario de la fundación
de la ciudad por
Don Pedro de Mendoza.
II de Febrero de MDXXXVI.
to the Republic
On the fourth centenary of the foundation
of the city by
Don Pedro de Mendoza.
II of February of MDXXXVI.
Side South (not pictured):
Segunda Fundación por
Juan de Garay
XI de junio de MDLXXX.
Second Foundation . . . — Map (db m79235) HM|
|Argentina, Mendoza — Monument to Hispanic-Argentine Brotherhood — Monumento a la Hermandad Hispano-Argentina|
Fragmentos del mensaje de la ley 1.638.
Creadora de la plaza Espana. Mendoza.
No existe pueblo alguno de los innumerables que se alzan en los paises Americanos de habla espanola que no guarde con la madres partia una profunda afinidad spiritual ni aun las ponderosas influencias autoctonas. Que han gravitado y siguen gravitando sobre los grupos ethicos de formacion eminentemente Americana. Han podido desdibujar esos rasgos de hispanidad caracteristica que les da . . . — Map (db m79835) HM|
|Australia, New South Wales (Beresford), Cooma — Cooma 1890 / Cooma 1925|
| This marker is made up of two panels placed back to back.
During the 1880s Cooma was expanding rapidly and Sharp Street had become the town’s main thoroughfare, although settlement was still quite scattered. Some very substantial buildings had been constructed, some of which have now been demolished while others have been modified so they are hardly recognisable (sic) as Victorian buildings. The large white building in the centre of the picture stands on the . . . — Map (db m70674) HM|
|Australia, New South Wales (Beresford), Cooma — Lambie Street|
|This marker consists of two plaques placed back to back.
In the 1850s Cooma was developing in two areas, one around Lambie and Mulach Street, the other over the hill where Centennial Park and Sharp Street are now. Nevertheless for the first twenty years Lambie Street was the commercial centre of Cooma.
Lambie Street is registered by the National Trust as a heritage precinct. This is because many of Cooma’s oldest buildings are there and as modern development virtually passed it . . . — Map (db m70675) HM|
|Australia, Tasmania, Hobart — Risdon Landing Centenary|
erected to commemorate the Centenary
of the landing at this spot of
Lieut Bowen, RN
on 13th September 1803,
was unveiled by His Excellency the Governor
Sir A. E. Havelock, G.C.S.I.,
22nd February 1904. — Map (db m81891) HM|
|Australia, Victoria, Port Fairy — Captain John Griffiths — 1801-1881|
|In Memory of Captain John Griffiths 1801 - 1881 This island is named after him and he was responsible for bringing the first White settlers from Launceston, Tasmania to Portland Bay and Port Fairy Victoria.|
He established the first major whaling station at Portland in 1833 and later established a larger whaling station on this island, in 1836.
An entrepreneur, his activities included ship-builder, ship-owner, intercolonial trader, merchant, farmer, whaler, sailor, brewer, flour-miller, and landowner. — Map (db m52472) HM
|Australia, Victoria, Rosebud — Rosebud|
|The schooner “Rosebud" from which the town Rosebud gets its name was blown ashore on this site on 2nd June, 1855. Press reports of weather conditions on this date indicate strong westerly gales, with several boats in distress on Port Phillip Bay.
The "Rosebud" was built in Whitby in Yorkshire, England, in 1841 by boat builder Harry Barrick, and registered in the port of London in June 1842.
Technical Details. Two masted ship, square rigged forward and schooner rigged aft. One . . . — Map (db m81588) HM|
|Australia, Victoria, Sorrento — Collins Settlement 1803-04|
| The people of the Bunerong lived in the Mornington Peninsula region for many thousands of years.
On 9 October, 1803 HMS "Calcutta" under the command of Captain Daniel Woodriff entered Port Phillip Bay carrying David Collins the Lieutenant Governor to the proposed first officîal European settlement in Victoria. Collins was accompanied by 11 civil officers, 49 officers and men of the Royal Marines, 300 convicts with a total of 41 family members. A contingent of 54 free settlers . . . — Map (db m81596) HM|
|Australia, Victoria, Warrnambool — Warrnambool 150th Anniversary 1847-1997|
|This stone commemorating the Foundation of Warrnambool
Gazetted on 17 February 1847
was unveiled by
His Excellency The Honourable Richard E. McGarvie A,C.
Governor of Victoria
in the presence of His Worship the Mayor Cr Gerald Shanley — Map (db m52643) HM|
|Australia, Victoria, Wedderburn — Major Mitchell Explorer|
Passed Here 7th July 1836
Erected by Shire of Korong
1930 — Map (db m53080) HM|
|Australia, Victoria (Campaspe (Shire)), Echuca — The Only Classified Brothel in Victoria|
|This Establishment Built About 1878 Is The Only Classified Brothel in Victoria
The house consists of 3 small rooms on each floor, the upper rooms being reached by a staircase leading into a sheltered lane running off Little Hopwood street, making it possible for even the most respectable citizen to visit the scarlet ladies undetected.
After the nearby Murray Hotel was built in 1879, the Brothel was run in conjunction with the pub and became known for its ‘honky tonk’ dancing and . . . — Map (db m70630) HM|
|Belize, Cayo, Belmopan — Founding of Belmopan|
|Dedicated to Belizeans
Secretary of State
October 9 1965 — Map (db m81212) HM|
|Brazil, Bahia, Salvador — Zumbi dos Palmares Monument|
Zumbi dos Palmares
“É chegada a hora de tirar nossa nação das trevas da injustica racial.”
Nasceu livre, em 1655, na Serra da Barriga, união dos Palmares, Alagoas. Neto de Aqualtune, não permitiu a submissão de seu povo ao jugo da corda portuguesa, pois queria a liberdade para todos, dentro ou fora do Quilombo. Persistiu na luta e tornou-se líder do Quilombo, sento ferido em 1694, quando a capital Palmares foi destruída. Em 20 de Novembro de 1695, . . . — Map (db m26125) HM|
|Brazil, Distrito Federal, Brasilia — Memorial JK — JK Memorial — [President Juscelino Kubitschek de Oliveira, the founder of Brasilia]|
| In Portuguese:
Projeto do arquiteto Oscar Niemeyer foi inaugurado em 12 de setembro de 1981 em homenagem a Juscelino Kubischek de Oliveira, fundador de Brasilia. Abriga biblioteca com trēs mil volumes que pertenceram a JK, atém de objetos pessoais, fotos, videos e vários documentos. Os painéis da recepção e da câmara mortuaria são obras de Althos Bulcão. O vitral que se encontra acima da uma funerária é de autoria da artista francesa Marianne Peretti. A estátua de JK esculpid por . . . — Map (db m26590) HM|
|Alberta, Glendon — The Pyrogy – Pyrohy — Best Made in Glendon|
|A European food that was brought to Western Canada in the early 19th century by the working and poor people. It originated as a boiled dumpling, and later people added whatever they desired inside, and it became a pyrogy – pyrohy, sometimes called varenyky. — Map (db m8813) HM|
|Alberta, Waterton — Dream Town — Ville de Rêve|
Western Canada’s first producing oil was drilled in this valley at the turn of the 20th century. This success spurred further activity in this area, attracting more drilling and workers. A.P. Patrick, an investor in the first well and a Dominion Land Surveyor, decided to create a community to support them.
You are standing in the area he surveyed, then registered in 1908 as Oil City. His ambitious plan showed a main street and 450 fifty-foot lots . . . — Map (db m82965) HM|
|British Columbia (Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District), Port Alberni — Bicentennial of the Spanish Expeditions to the Northwest Coasts of America — 1771–1991|
Pedro de Alberni, Captain of the Catalan Volunteers and Commander of the Spanish Establishment at Santa Cruz de Nootka, 1790-1792.
Offered by the Government of Spain on the occasion of the visit of the Spanish training ship “Juan Sebastian el Cano” to the province of British Columbia, April 1991.
Generalitat de Catalunya
The Autonomous Government of Catalonia joins this bicentennial celebration in remembrance of . . . — Map (db m9155) HM|
|British Columbia (C), Victoria — Isabella Mainville Ross — Born Jan. 10, 1808 • Died in Victoria April 23, 1885 — Here Lies|
She came here in 1843 with her husband, Chief Trader Charles Ross, who was in charge of building Fort Victoria. After his death she bought the land upon which you are standing for a farm. By so doing she became the first woman to own land in what is now British Columbia. — Map (db m74825) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Central Saanich — Black Pioneers in British Columbia — Les Pionniers Noirs de la Colombie-Britannique|
|In 1858, nearly 800 free Blacks left the oppressive racial conditions of San Francisco for a new life on Vancouver Island. Governor James Douglas had invited them here as promising settlers. Though still faced with intense discrimination, these pioneers enriched the political, religious and economic life of the colony. For example, Mifflin Gibbs became a prominent politician; Charles and Nancy Alexander initiated the Shady Creek Methodist Church; John Deas established a salmon cannery; and the . . . — Map (db m72868) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Sidney — Mayor's Community Builder Awardees at Beacon Park Pavilion|
Town of Sidney
BC Spirit Squares
Beacon Park Pavilion
Opened June 28, 2009
by the Honourable Steven Point,
Lt. Gov. of BC
A legacy of the 150th anniversary of the founding of the Crown Colony of British Columbia
Joan E. Ballenger
1939 - 2005
The Town of Sidney and Peninsula Celebrations Society celebrate Joan Ballenger, an incredibly active community volunteer. In 1994, Joan saw an opportunity . . . — Map (db m75464) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Sidney — Port of Entry Beacon|
was seen in early days
by ships at sea
Hence, Beacon Avenue — Map (db m75341) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Sidney — Waterfront Industries|
|Before town planning and notions of the picturesque, waterfronts were convenient for industrial development. As a transportation hub, Sidney's waterfront boasted a sawmill, a cannery, boatworks and roofing plant, besides rail and ship facilities.
Sidney sawmill began in 1892 to cut lumber for the V&S Railway. After initial success it flagged and was in receivership by 1913. Closed until 1917, it was revived by GH Walton. By 1920 it employed about 150 men, the largest workforce in the . . . — Map (db m75465) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — "Summerdyne" — Celebrating Our Heritage|
The Burrell family home, "Summerdyne", on Oak Bay Avenue at Monterey looking west - circa 1906
The Burrell family walking east along Oak Bay Avenue near their home - circa 1900 — Map (db m75299) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — A Natural Harbour — Fisherman's Wharf Park|
[Photo caption reads] A detail of the View of Victoria, 1860.
Major Bay is largely undeveloped.
BC Archives POP01538
[Photo caption reads] Bird's-Eye View of Victoria, Vancouver Island, B.C. 1878, detail.
Drawn by E.S. Glover, Published by M.W. Waitt & Co., Victoria, B.C.
The shores around Shoal Point and Major Bay offered a protected landing point and by the 1890's the development of the Outer Wharves changed the look of the untouched . . . — Map (db m74383) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Chinese Cemetery|
Before 1903 the remains of early Chinese immigrants were buried in the low-lying, southwestern corner of Ross Bay cemetery. This area was often flooded after a heavy rainstorm. In the early 1900s, high winds and waves eroded a few waterfront Chinese graves, exposing coffins and sweeping away their remains. In 1903 the Chinese Consolidated Benevolent Association (CCBA) purchased this site for a cemetery.
Traditional Chinese burial practices had the remains exhumed after seven years, the . . . — Map (db m75449) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Elliot Street Square|
|This area, designed and laid out by the landscape branch of the Provincial Department of Public Works in 1975, has been named Elliot Street Square, in memory of Andrew Charles Elliot, barrister, judge, gold commissioner, police magistrate, and fourth Premier of the Province of British Columbia, and as a reminder of the street, which bore his name. Before its closure in 1974 many prominent citizens had their homes within the limited length of Elliot Street.
On the north or city side were the . . . — Map (db m48765) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Figures and Medallions of the Library Wing of Parliament Building|
|[Medallions, top row]
Milton – Sophocles – Shakespeare – Socrates – Dante – Homer
[Statues, anti-clockwise from the top left]
Colonel R.C. Moody
Commander of Royal Engineers in 1858, erected New Westminster as capital of B.C., planned the Cariboo Road.
1770 – 1857
Greatest of fur trade explorers. In 1812 traversed Kootenay area, descended the Columbia from source to mouth.
Sir Anthony Musgrave
1828 – . . . — Map (db m49045) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Fort Victoria|
|was erected by Hudson’s Bay Company
Here Colony of Vancouver’s Island was inaugurated by Richard Blanshard 1850
Vancouver’s Island and British Columbia united 1866
Two years later Victoria became the capital of British Columbia — Map (db m48547) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — George and Isabella Pottinger|
Came with their five children from Papa Westray, Orkney Isl[ands]. aboard the sailing ship Knight Bruce via Cape Horn. Arrived at Victoria on 24 Dec 1864 after 180 days at sea. — Map (db m74706) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Helmchen House Historic Site|
|John Sebastian Helmcken arrived in Fort Victoria in 1850 to work as a physician for the Hudson’s Bay Company.
He remained here for the rest of his life, marrying Cecilia Douglas, the eldest daughter of Governor James Douglas. The young couple has a small log cabin built here in 1852, next to their in-laws home. Over the years as the family grew the house also grew larger. It is one of the oldest housed in western Canada.|
Dr. Helmcken practiced medicine during the fur trade, the gold rush . . . — Map (db m48752) HM
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Kakehashi — In Honour and Memory of Pioneers from Japan|
This memorial commemorates the 150 Victorians of Japanese descent who are buried in this historic cemetery, beginning in 1887.
During the 1940's, when no person of Japanese descent was allowed to remain within 100 miles of the West Coast, many grave markers deteriorated or were vandalized.
This monument is dedicated to the early immigrants from Japan whose courage and endurance made our lives in Canada possible.
[Japanese script on reverse]
August 1999 — Map (db m74695) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Kwakiutl Bear Pole|
Project of Native Indians' Participation Centennial Sub-Committee
the Union in 1866 of the colonies
on Vancouver Island and the mainland as
Kwakiutl Bear Pole
Mr. Henry Hunt of Kwawkewlth Indian Band at Victoria, B.C.
Log donated by MacMillan, Bloedel and Powell River, Limited. — Map (db m74399) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Lorne Lewis — Here Lies|
Born in New Bedford
Massachussets [sic] in 1814
Died in Victoria in 1912
while a resident of
the Old Men's Home
He came to Victoria from California in 1858 and was appointed by Governor James Douglas as a police constable but racial prejudice made his job difficult. Later he served for many years as district constable on the Songhees Indian Reserve and afterwards was a member of the British Columbia Provincial Police. — Map (db m74829) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Right Reverend George Hills, D.D.|
First Bishop of British Columbia
who resigned after completing
nearly 34 years of untiring and
laborious work in this colony
He died at Parham Vicarage,
on December 10th 1895
and was buried 14th December
in the churchyard of that parish.
'Blessed are the pure of heart;
for they shall see God.'
Matt. V. — Map (db m74752) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Rockland Cairn|
This monument was erected by residents of Rockland, with the support of the City of Victoria, to commemorate the past, celebrate the millennium and look to the future.
Rockland was carved out of the 500 acre Douglas Estate “Fairfield Farm” in the mid 1800’s. The foremost architects of Victoria reflected the image and lifestyle of their day in the grand homes of Rockland.
Residents of Rockland have sought to maintain the heritage character of the neighbourhood for the . . . — Map (db m75028) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — The Birthplace of Victoria|
|We would like to take a moment to share with you the history that you are standing over, around and next to.
This harbour was originally the sole domain of the Lekwungen First Nation who plied its protected waters and fished in their dugout canoes. When James Douglas arrived here in 1843, he chose it as the site for a new Hudson’s Bay Company trading post, eventually called Fort Victoria. It wooden walls stood along the rocky shore overlooking this site (behind you along Wharf Street).|
At . . . — Map (db m48749) HM
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — The Victoria Centennial Fountain — Activated 2 August 1968 by Hon. W.A.C. Bennett, L.E.D.. Premier.|
|British Columbia was formed from four British Colonies and territories:
The Crown Colony of Vancouver Island 1845
The Dependency of the Queen Charlotte Islands 1852
The Crown Colony of British Columbia 1856
The Stickeen Territory 1862
Plaques on the fountain tell the origin of their union to become the British Columbia of today. The animal symbols are those from which all Indian Societies obtained their main totems of the four areas. The first impetus to exploration and . . . — Map (db m49074) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Vancouver Island Wallmap Mural|
|[Three 'markers' a part of this mural. They are entitled: Pemberton Family, Vancouver Island, and Fort Victoria.]|
J.D. Pemberton, engineer and surveyor for the H.B.C., arrived in 1851 by canoe in the last stages of his journey from England when this settlement numbered about 300. He built the first schoolhouse, was the first settler to cross the Island, and was the first Surveyor General of the colonies of Vancouver Island and British Columbia. As population swelled . . . — Map (db m48543) HM
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — William (Billy) Barker — 1817 - 1894|
Baptized: March, Cambridgeshire, England
June 7 1817
Died: Victoria, B.C., Canada
July 11, 1894
On August 17 of 1862, Barker struck gold at 52 feet on Williams Creek, Cariboo. The town of Barkerville bears his name. Like many miners he was soon broke, but Barker continued to mine and prospect throughout the Cariboo for the rest of his life.
The fabulous wealth of the Cariboo mines laid the foundation for British Columbia. With this monument, Billy Barker is honoured as a builder . . . — Map (db m74827) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — William Edgar Oliver — In Loving Memory of|
First Reeve of Oak Bay Municipality 1906
Born in Edinburgh, Scotland, January 19, 1867
Died at Cowichan Lake, August 9, 1920
Beloved Husband of
Mary Eleanor Ward Oliver (1869-1959)
Installed 2006 - Oak Bay Centennial — Map (db m74750) HM|
|British Columbia (Cariboo Regional District), Barkerville — Cariboo Gold Fields — Districts Aurifères de Cariboo — Barkerville - Historic Town|
A search for the source of placer gold found on lower parts of the Fraser River led to discoveries of lode mines in the Cariboo, of which Williams Creek, is said to have yielded $19,000,000. As a centre of population in the 1860’s, the gold fields were the catalyst for the economic and political development of colony of British Columbia. They attracted miners from around the world and stimulated the growth of trade and agriculture. Economic difficulties resulting from the . . . — Map (db m42712) HM|
|British Columbia (Greater Vancouver Regional District), Semiahmoo — Peace Arch — The Signing of the Columbia River Treaty|
This unfortified boundary line between the
Dominion of Canada
United States of America
should quicken the remembrance of the more than century old friendship between these countries
A lesson of peace to all nations.
In commemoration of
One hundred and fifty years of peace, 1814 - 1864, between Canada and the United States of America.
The signing of the Columbia River Treaty on September 16th, 1964, at this international . . . — Map (db m27450) HM|
|British Columbia (Greater Vancouver Regional District), Surrey — Historic Elgin — Part of Surrey’s Heritage Resources|
The first permanent structure in Elgin was the Elgin Hotel (1870). It was built as a convenient stop-over point for travellers between New Westminster and Blaine.
In 1875, four years before the incorporation of the District Municipality of Surrey, the first public church service was held in a simple log cabin built by John Brewer, who had settled in the area in 1870.
William Brewer is attributed with building the first community hall in 1878. Built on the . . . — Map (db m60900) HM|
|British Columbia (Greater Vancouver Regional District), Surrey — Historic Stewart Farmhouse — Part of Surrey’s Built Heritage|
| Settlement History
First Nations settlements and seasonal hunting and fishing camps existed at the mouths of rivers and along the coastal shoreline for thousands of years before Europeans reached the West Coast. These sites were near plentiful resources of fish, berries, wild game and cedar forests, which provided food, shelter and transportation.
These same resources eventually attracted explorers, fur traders, loggers, and settlers. As early as 1861, Samuel Handy and Hugh . . . — Map (db m60901) HM|
|British Columbia (Greater Vancouver Regional District), Vancouver — "Gassy Jack" — 1830-1875 — The Founding Father of Gastown|
|John Deighton was born in Hull, England. He was an adventurer, river boat pilot and captain, but best known for his "gassy" monologues as a saloonkeeper. His Deighton House Hotel, erected here on the first subdivided lot, burned in the Great Fire of June 13, 1886.
On December 25, 1986, this statue was dedicated to the City of Vancouver by the owner of this historic site, Howard Meakin, a third generation Vancouver realtor. — Map (db m40204) HM|
|British Columbia (Greater Vancouver Regional District), Vancouver — Here Stood Hamilton|
| Here stood
First Land Commissioner
Canadian Pacific Railway
in the silent solitude
of the primeval forest
He drove a wooden stake
in the earth and commenced
to measure an empty land
into the streets of
Vancouver — Map (db m40645) HM|
|British Columbia (Greater Vancouver Regional District), Vancouver — The Old Maple|
Here stood the old maple
tree under whose branches
the pioneers met in 1885 and
chose the name "Vancouver"
for this city. — Map (db m41554) HM|
|British Columbia (Kitimat-Stikine Regional District), Hazelton — Hazelton|
|Head of sternwheeler navigation on the Skeena. The town grew at the landing close to the Indian village of Gitenmaks. Crews from the Collins Telegraph arrived in 1866. Following them Omineca gold miners, Hudson’s Bay pack strings and “gandy dancers” of the Grand Truck all tramped these streets. Each is a chapter in the history of “the town on the hazel flats.” — Map (db m9073) HM|
|British Columbia (Skeena-Queen Charlotte Regional District), Port Edward — North Pacific Cannery|
|Salmon canning stimulated economic development on this coast. North Pacific is the oldest West Coast cannery still standing. From here the Bell-Irving family shipped high quality salmon directly to England before 1900. Typical of most canneries in its isolation and operations, North Pacific relied more on native labour than those close to urban centres, was slower to adopt new technology, and had lower production costs. Ethnically-segregated living and work areas divided Chinese, Indian, . . . — Map (db m9203) HM|
|Manitoba, Gardenton — St. Michael’s Ukrainian Orthodox Church|
|Constructed in 1899, this church is a fine early example of Ukrainian ecclesiastical architecture in Canada. Its distinctive massing, plan and bulbous cupolas reflect the Byzantine-influenced architectural heritage of the homeland of the settlers in the region. The traditional free-standing bell tower was built in 1906, and like the church, is distinguished by the high quality of its wooden craftsmanship. Built by the first generation of Ukrainians to arrive in Canada, St. Michael’s served as . . . — Map (db m8421) HM|
|Manitoba, Gimli — New Iceland|
|New Iceland represents a distinctive episode in the early settlement of the Canadian West. In 1875 and 1876, more than a thousand Icelandic immigrants settled a large tract of land reserved for them by the federal government along the western shore of Lake Winnipeg. Before 1887, the reserve was essentially self-governing under its own constitution, and the setters were primarily of Icelandic origin. New Iceland enabled them to preserve their language and cultural identity. Numerous descendants . . . — Map (db m8453) HM|
|Manitoba, Headingley — Dominion Lands Survey System|
|The first marker of the Dominion Lands Survey was placed 10 July, 1871, on the Principal Meridian, about half a mile south of this site. The system, then inaugurated by Lieutenant Colonel J.S. Dennis, Surveyor-General, extends across the prairies and to the Pacific coast, embracing more than 200 million acres of surveyed lands in Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta, and parts of British Columbia.
Réseau Topographique du Dominion Le 10 juillet 1871, la première borne du réseau . . . — Map (db m8489) HM|
|Manitoba, St. Andrews — St. Andrew’s Rectory|
|Erected between 1852 and 1854, this large limestone dwelling housed the rector of nearby St. Andrew’s church and complemented the massive construction of that building. The rectory, built for the Reverend William Cockran was one of the first stone houses in the Red River Settlement. Like a number of substantial homes built here for retired officers of the Hudson’s Bay Company, it reflects the style and character of important dwellings at company posts. In this way the rectory provides a good . . . — Map (db m8449) HM|
|Manitoba, St. Andrews — St. Andrews Anglican Church|
|Beginning in 1828 the Rev. W. Cockran held religious services in the homes of settlers in this area. In 1829 he established a permanent residence at Grand Rapids on the Red River and by 1831 had built a small wooden church. His growing congregation required a larger church building and the present stone church , the oldest in Western Canada, was begun in 1845 and completed in 1849. This simple but beautiful building became the center of missionary activity in Rupert's Land and continues to be . . . — Map (db m8445) HM|
|Manitoba, St. Andrews — Twin Oaks|
|Built in the mid-1850s, this house was the residence for a private girls’ school run by Matilda Davis until 1873. The school was supported by families of the Red River Settlement and by officers of the Hudson’s Bay Company from across western Canada who sent their daughters here to be educated as English ladies. The residence could board up to 40 girls. Along with two log classrooms it was used to teach French, music, drawing, dancing, needlework and deportment. The building survives as a fine . . . — Map (db m8450) HM|
|New Brunswick (Charlotte County), St. Andrews — St. Andrews Historic District — Arrondissement Historique de St. Andrews|
Founded by Loyalists in 1783, St. Andrews is a fine and rare surviving example of a Canadian town whose plan and character clearly reflect its 18th-century origins. The town retains the four key elements of a British colonial settlement of that period; a gridiron plan, provision for public spaces, well-defined sites for defensive works, and a common area surrounding the original townsite to provide a clear delineation between settled and non-settled area. St. Andrews is further . . . — Map (db m77398) HM|
|New Brunswick (Charlotte County), Welshpool — Campobello Company and Hotels — Le Campobello Company et les Hôtels|
Although visitors had been coming to the island since 1855, Campobello's summer trade did not really prosper until the 1880s - years of long summer vacations and great resorts. A group of Boston and New York businessmen bought most of the island in 1881. The new owners called themselves the Campobello Company; their plan was to promote the island as a summer resort. They hoped to lure a wealthy clientele with extensive leisure time to the island, let them enjoy the area's many charms, . . . — Map (db m63639) HM|
|New Brunswick (Charlotte County), Welshpool — Friar's Head / Le Cap Friar|
Friar's Head takes its name from the stone pillar or stack (photo 1) that rises from the beach directly below the observation deck. While occupying Eastport, the British navy was said to have used the stone pillar for target practice, altering its outline to that of a hooded monk or Friar in deep contemplation.
Native American Passamaquoddy legend referred to this rock as the Stone Maiden. The legend speaks of a young brave leaving on a long journey, telling his lover to sit . . . — Map (db m63629) HM|
|New Brunswick (Charlotte County), Welshpool — Lubec, Maine|
| About 1840, a canal connecting Johnson and South Bays was dug in North Lubec and a dam constructed there to harness tidal energy to power plaster mills. Gypsum (the raw product used to make plaster) and grindstones from the Maritimes were important trade goods. Lubec’s mills manufactured plaster as late as 1858. In 1874, shipping traffic to and from Lubec was so extensive that the U.S. Coast Guard constructed a life-saving station at West Quoddy Head.
About that time, passenger ferries . . . — Map (db m54995) HM|
|New Brunswick (Charlotte County), Welshpool — Lubec, Maine|
| Lubec's known history began at a Passamaquoddy Indian encampment at Mill Creek in what came to be called Seward's Neck (now North Lubec). French settlers later came to those shores in the early 1700s, but shortly afterward were driven away by the British. Resettlement occurred around 1776 when squatters settled Seward's Neck and Moose Island, both incorporated into the town of Eastport in 1798 and having a population of 244. Many of the settlers were Massachusetts, New Hampshire, and western . . . — Map (db m55023) HM|
|New Brunswick (Charlotte County), Welshpool — Mulholland Point / La Pointe Mulholland|
Built in 1885, the Mulholland Point Lighthouse (photo 1) served as a guide for the many small coasters and freighters taking the shorter and more foul weather-protected route through the Lubec Narrows. Steamships, such as the Penobscot (photo 2), sailing between Boston, Portland, and Eastport in the 1890s could only travel through the Narrows when the tide was high. Otherwise, they had to steam around the eastern side of Campobello.
The first automobiles brought to the island . . . — Map (db m63593) HM|
|New Brunswick (Charlotte County), Welshpool — Panoramic View of Cottages — Vue Panoramique des Résidences d'Éte|
Two of the Campobello Company's founders, Alex S. Porter and Samuel Wells, and several of the luxury hotel visitors, including James Roosevelt and families by the name of Sturgis, Cochrane, Prince, and Pell purchased land and refurbished or built large cottages. Five cottages remain today: the Prince, Roosevelt, Hubbard, Wells-Shober, and Johnston cottages in what is now the Roosevelt Campobello International Park's historic core.
This circa 1914 photo identifies the various . . . — Map (db m63641) HM|
|New Brunswick (Charlotte County), Welshpool — Roosevelt Campobello International Park — Le Parc International Roosevelt de Campobello|
The Roosevelt Campobello International Park is a unique example of international cooperation - jointly administered, staffed, and funded by the peoples of Canada and the United States. Established by international treaty in 1964, the 1,134-hectare (2800-acre) park remains a symbol of the close relationship between our two countries. When she declared the Park Visitor Center open in 1967, the Queen Mother Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth expressed the sentiments of both countries with these . . . — Map (db m63591) HM|
|New Brunswick (Saint John County), Saint John — Founding of New Brunswick — La Fondation du Nouveau-Brunswick|
The increase of population consequent upon the large influx of Loyalists in 1783 and 1784 convinced the British government of the desirability of creating the Province of New Brunswick. This was done on 16 August 1784. Brigadier General Thomas Carleton, who had provided invaluable service in transplanting the United Empire Loyalists, was chosen as the province’s first governor. He arrived at Saint John on 21 November 1784, and on the following day held his first council and . . . — Map (db m77519) HM|
|New Brunswick (Saint John County), Saint John — Scottish Strength — La puissance écossaise|
Saint John has a strong Scottish presence. The breakup of the clan system in the late 18th century caused massive emigration from the Highlands. As a result, some 25 percent of the population has Scottish ancestry. Scottish influence is found throughout Greater Saint John in the names of streets and neighbourhoods such as MacKay Highway, McLaren Boulevard, ad the community of Upper Loch Lomond.
Saint John is home to Canada’s oldest Saint Andrew’s Society, which held it . . . — Map (db m77458) HM|
|New Brunswick (Saint John County), Saint John — The Landing of the Loyalists — Débarquement des Loyalistes|
On 10 May 1783 the Spring Fleet, carrying over 2,000 Loyalists, arrived at the Saint John River mouth. The exiles, mostly civilians from the Middle Colonies, established themselves in the newly-surveyed townsites of Parr and Carleton. A second fleet in June, a third in September carrying troops of the Loyalist corps, and numerous individual vessels swelled the number crowded at the river mouth. Preparations for the arrivals was inadequate and many wintered in tents and huts . . . — Map (db m77432) HM|
|Newfoundland and Labrador (Division No. 1 (Avalon Peninsula)), Ferryland — Colony of Avalon — La colonie d’Avalon — Sir David Kirke, c. 1597-1654|
|Two plaques are mounted on this monument.
Near this site stood the “Mansion House” built between 1621 and 1625 by Captain E. Wynne, resident governor of the Colony of Avalon, for the proprietor, Sir George Calvert (later Lord Baltimore), who took up residence here in 1628. The active hostility of transient fishermen and costly raids by French privateers and warships led Calvert to abandon his colony in 1629. Ferryland, however, continued to be an . . . — Map (db m79466) HM|
|Newfoundland and Labrador (Division No. 1 (Avalon Peninsula)), Ferryland — Ferryland — Population 717 (1996) — Settled 1621 • Inc. 1971|
| A “Fishing Capital” and Colony
This was one of the first harbours in the New World to be frequented by European fishing ships. From the early 1500s The Pool was well known to the Portuguese, Spanish and French fleets. Ferryland is probably the English pronunciation of early (an) early Portuguese name, “Farilham,” although a French name, “Forillon,” has also been suggested as the original form. By the late 1500s Ferryland was exclusively an English . . . — Map (db m79471) HM|
|Newfoundland and Labrador (Division No. 10, Newfoundland and Labrador (Labrad), Red Bay — (The Moores Family Home)|
|Tracey has been home to several generations of the Moores Family since the mid-1800s.
This monument marks the location of Ellis & Lillian Moores’s family house. — Map (db m79543) HM|
|Newfoundland and Labrador (Division No. 10, Newfoundland and Labrador (Labrad), Red Bay — Basque Whalers in the Strait of Belle Isle — Les baleiners Basques dans la détroit de Belle Isle|
In the 16th century, the Labrador side of the Strait of Belle Isle emerged as the world's largest producer of whale oil. At its peak, whaling on this coast attracted nearly 2000 Basques annually from Spain and France, and Red Bay became a major centre for seasonal hunting and processing. The whale oil and other products were sold in Europe for lighting and manufacturing. Archival evidence and remains of shore facilities and vessels found here make a significant contribution . . . — Map (db m79527) HM|
|Newfoundland and Labrador (Division No. 8 (Notre Dame Bay)), Twillingate — Twillingate — Population 3,366 (1996)|
| Slade’s Room
In the early 1700s a few English fishermen began to settle at Twillingate Harbour, as the French fishery began to concentrate on the area north of Cape S. John (referred to locally as Cape John). In about 1750 John Slade of Poole, England settled on the harbour as his Newfoundland headquarters. Over the next 25 years the Slade business grew, employing Twillingate as a base to exploit the resources of the northern Newfoundland (cod, furs, salmon and seals).
A second . . . — Map (db m79478) HM|
|Newfoundland and Labrador (Division No. 9 (North Peninsula)), St Lunaire-Griquet — L’Anse aux Meadows|
Discovered in 1960, this is the first authenticated Norse site found in North America and could be Leif Ericsson's short-lived Vinland camp. Some time about AD 1000 Norse seafarers established a base here from which they explored southwards. The traces of bog iron found - the first known example of iron smelting in the new world - in conjunction with evidence of carpentry suggest that boat repair was an important activity. The distance from their homelands and conflict with . . . — Map (db m79611) HM|
|Newfoundland and Labrador (Division No. 9 (North Peninsula)), St Lunaire-Griquet — The End of a Quest: L’aboutissement d’une quête — Fishing for the Past: À la recherche du passé|
Following clues in the ancient Icelandic sagas, and the writings of Viking scholars and enthusiasts, Norwegian writer and explorer Helge Ingstad arrived at L’Anse aux Meadows in 1960. When he asked whether there were any unusual mounds or low turf wall nearby, community elder and fisherman George Decker led him to the site that local people called “the Old Indian Camp”.
Here the long search for the Norse foothold in North America ended, and the painstaking . . . — Map (db m79650) HM|
|Newfoundland and Labrador (Division No. 9 (North Peninsula)), St. Anthony — St. Anthony — Population 2,996 (1996)|
| St. Anthony Haven
By tradition St. Anthony harbour was named by French explorer Jacque Cartier in 1534. Indeed, it is probable that the long, deep and sheltered harbour was already well-known to fishermen of the French province of Brittany for some time before Cartier made his historic voyages. The harbour provided Breton fishing vessels with the best sheltered base for fishing the grounds of the Straits of Belle Isle and the Grey Islands. This harbour was one of the primary . . . — Map (db m79668) HM|
|Nova Scotia (Annapolis County), Annapolis Royal — Acadian Dykeland — Les terres endiguées des Acadiens|
When the French settled at Port-Royal in the early 1600s, the shores of the Annapolis River were bordered with tidal salt marsh. In the 1630s, the French at Port-Royal started reclaiming this fertile land by building dykes.
The settlement spread up the Bay of Fundy to the Minas Basin and the Isthmus of Chignecto. Over generations, the French settlers developed their own cultural identity; they became the Acadian people. They dyked and cultivated salt marshes throughout this . . . — Map (db m78488) HM|
|Nova Scotia (Annapolis County), Annapolis Royal — Annapolis Royal Historic District — L’arrondissement historique d’Annapolis Royal|
From its strategic setting, Annapolis Royal has witnessed pivotal events in the history of European settlement in Canada. Located on a former Mi’kmaq meeting place, the townsite and its environs were known as Port-Royal by the French, who occupied the area in 1605. The distinctive Acadian settlement and agricultural patterns later developed on the surrounding marshlands. As the capital of the French colony of Acadia, Port-Royal experienced a tumultuous first century. Its . . . — Map (db m78670) HM|
|Nova Scotia (Annapolis County), Annapolis Royal — Charles Fort / Le fort Charles — Charles de Menou d’Aulnay — (ca. 1604-1650) / (v.1604-1650)|
|Two markers are located on these monument. Charles Fort / Le fort Charles English
A group of about 70 Scottish settlers began a colony here in 1629, eight years after King James I granted ‘Nova Scotia’ to Sir William Alexander. Led by Alexander’s son, the Scots built a small fort, the remains of which lie beneath Fort Anne. Despite many deaths during the first winter, the surviving colonists thrived on agriculture, fishing, and trade with the Mi’kmaq. Most returned to . . . — Map (db m78486) HM|
|Nova Scotia (Annapolis County), Annapolis Royal — Early Use of Site — L’utilisation de l’endroit à l’origine|
Before you, the Allain and Annapolis rivers meet, creating a stopping place used by travelers for many centuries. The Annapolis River makes access to the site easy, while the natural rise of land provides a good view downstream.
The Mi’kmaw (sic) people used this site for over 3,000 years. Men from the Port-Royal Habitation, located downriver, grew wheat here and built a gristmill on the Allain River in the early 1600s. In 1629, Sir William Alexander chose this site for a . . . — Map (db m78483) HM|
|Nova Scotia (Annapolis County), Annapolis Royal — Jean Paul Mascarene — c. 1694-1760|
A French Huguenot in the British army, Mascarene served here from 1710 to 1750. He was a member of the Council of Nova Scotia (1720-50), lieutenant-colonel of Philipps’ Regiment (1742-50), and administrator and commander in chief of the province (1740-49). Hampered by insufficient troops, a decaying fort and a lack of guidance from the authorities in England, he tried by persuasion and conciliation to ensure the neutrality of the Acadians. With the help of New England . . . — Map (db m78491) HM|
|Nova Scotia (Annapolis County), Annapolis Royal — Port-Royal|
When the French first came to the Annapolis Basin, Samuel de Champlain called it “Port-Royal” in recognition of its great size.
Eventually, the area surrounding the basin and along the Annapolis River became known as Port-Royal.
Lorsque les Français arrivent pour le première fois dans le bassin de l’Annapolis, Champlain l’appelle «Port-Royal» pour souligner sa grand étendue. Par la suite, c’est la région entourant le bassin et le long de la . . . — Map (db m78449) HM|
|Nova Scotia (Annapolis County), Annapolis Royal — Sieur de Monts|
|To the illustrious memory of Lieut. Gen’l Timothé Pierre du Guast,
Sieur de Monts,
the pioneer of civilization in North America, who discovered and explored the adjacent river, A.D. 1604, and founded on its banks the first settlement of Europeans north of the Gulf of Mexico.
The government of Canada reverently dedicates this monument within sight of that settlement, A.D, 1904. — Map (db m78443) HM|
|Nova Scotia (Cape Breton Regional Municipality), Sydney — J.F.W. DesBarres — 1722 - 1824|
|Founder of Sydney, 1785
Lieutenant Governor of Cape Breton — Map (db m78743) HM|
|Nova Scotia (Halifax Regional Municipality), Dartmouth — 02 — A Village of the Most Primitive Description|
You are looking at a part of the remains of what was known as the “Canal Camp.” The row of stones in this area represent the largest feature found to day at Port Wallace. An archeological investigation was carried out in 1997 by Archaeology students from St. Mary’s University but unfortunately nothing was discovered to indicate the use made of this particular building. However, it is in the area known as the Canal Camp where the workers and their families lived . . . — Map (db m77987) HM|
|Nova Scotia (Halifax Regional Municipality), Halifax — Charles Morris — 1711 (Boston, MA) - 1781 (Windsor, NS)|
|Charles Morris was Nova Scotia’s Chief Surveyor and one of he first residents of Halifax.
In 1750, on order from the founder of Halifax, Edward Cornwallis, Morris began surveying the entire peninsula, laying out new suburbs and 240 acres of “common land” to be used for firewood and pasturage. A 1762 plan by Morris defined the original Halifax Common, which was officially granted by King George III to the town’s inhabitants in 1763.
Morris’s role in the establishment of Halifax . . . — Map (db m77647) HM|
|Nova Scotia (Halifax Regional Municipality), Halifax — France and Canada — La France et le Canada — Theirs is a story of enduring friendship./ C’est l’histoire d’une longe amitié.|
|France and Canada share a long history. Theirs is a story of enduring friendship.
It began 400 years ago, in Nova Scotia, the birthplace of Acadie, with the arrival of the first French settlers and of Samuel de Champlain at Port-Royal in 1605.
Halifax had its first contact with France at the beginning of the 18th century. In 1711, the French engineer Delabat drew fortification plans for Chebucto Bay (present day Halifax harbour).
In autumn of 1746, the Duc D’Anville led an ill-fated . . . — Map (db m77622) HM|
|Nova Scotia (Halifax Regional Municipality), Halifax — Passage to a New Beginning • Passage à un nouveau monde|
Celebrating Canada’s Immigrants
In the 1940s and 1950s, Canada opened its doors wide to European immigrants. With haunting wartime memories still fresh in their minds, men, women and children from diverse countries and cultures arrived at Halifax, Saint John and Quebec City.
After a voyage of a week or more across the North Atlantic many disembarked confused and exhausted, clutching their worldly possessions. Some were eager to explore their new country, while others . . . — Map (db m77876) HM|
|Nova Scotia (Halifax Regional Municipality), Halifax — Pier 21 — Canada’s National Immigration Museum — Musée national de l’immigration au Canada|
When the Canadian immigration complex known as Pier 21 closed its doors in March of 1971, it marked the end of a more than forty-year saga of human hope, vision, courage and resilience. From its opening on the Halifax waterfront in 1928 to its final months of operation, Pier 21 served as a bridge to new beginnings. More than a million immigrants, refugees, displaced persons and war brides passed through its transit shed on their way to becoming Canadian citizens. During the . . . — Map (db m77616) HM|
|Nova Scotia (Halifax Regional Municipality), Halifax — Pier 21 / Le Quai 21 — Postwar Immigration / L’immigration de L’aprés-guerre — War Brides / Les Epouses de Guerre|
|There are three plaques on this monument.
Pier 21 / Le Quai 21 English
This site witnessed the arrival of approximately one million immigrants, who have enriched the cultural mosaic of Canada. Opened in 1928, Pier 21 served as one of Canada’s principal reception centres for immigrants until it closed in 1971. It typifies the large, self-contained immigrant facilities that the Government of Canada had begun to establish at major ports near the turn of the 20th century. . . . — Map (db m77718) HM|
|Nova Scotia (Halifax Regional Municipality), Halifax — The Grand Dérangement — Georges Island - Halifax / Île Georges - Halifax|
|This monument/marker is made up of four panels, two in English and two in French. Each language has a panel dealing with The Grand Dérangement and Georges Island. On top is a large, round medallion featuring a map showing Acadian deportation routes.
The Grand Dérangement
L’Acadie, established by France in 1604, was a strategically located and highly coveted colony. In 1713, it was handed over to England and renamed Nova Scotia. The foundation of Halifax, in . . . — Map (db m77625) HM|
|Nova Scotia (Halifax Regional Municipality), Peggy's Cove — Peggy's Cove|
|This picturesque village and lighthouse are among the most photographed places in Canada. A romantic folk tale is told about how the Cove got its name. Young Peggy was traveling to Halifax to meet her fiance when the ship she was in foundered on the rocks. She was rescued by local folk, and when visitors went to see her they would say they were going to see “Peggy of the Cove.”
Collision of crustal plates beneath the ocean floor forced molten material to the surface, which . . . — Map (db m77937) HM|
|Nova Scotia (Halifax Regional Municipality), Peggy's Cove — Peggy's Cove|
|Peggy’s Cove Lighthouse
Built in 1868, the first lighthouse at Peggy’s Cove consisted of a wooden house topped by a beacon, Each evening, the lighthouse keeper lit a kerosene oil lamp magnified by a catoptric reflector (a silver-plated mirror) creating the red light, which marked the eastern entrance to St. Margaret’s Bay. In 1914, an octagon-shaped lighthouse built of concrete and reinforced steel, standing nearly 15 m (50 ft.) high, replaced the old structure and is the very lighthouse . . . — Map (db m77939) HM|
|Nova Scotia (Kings County), Grand Pré — Grand-Pré Rural Historic District — Arrondissement Historique Rurual de Grand-Pré|
The villages of Grand-Pré and Hortonville, and the fertile farmlands which surround them, comprise one of the oldest settlement and land use patterns of European origin in Canada. Acadians began settling near Grand-Pré in the 1680s, attracted by the vast stretches of tidal marshes. Employing ingenious dyke-building techniques developed at Port-Royal, Acadian farmers enclosed over one thousand acres of marshlands which, when desalinated, created superior cropland. The houses of . . . — Map (db m78721) HM|
|Nova Scotia (Kings County), Grand Pré — The Expulsion of the Acadians — La déportation des Acadiens — (1755-1762)|
The expulsion of the Acadians began in 1755, on the eve of the Seven Years’ War. Frustrated with the neutrality of the Acadians who refused to swear an unconditional oath of allegiance to the Crown, British forces began the “grand dérangement.” Over the next eight years, more than 10,000 Acadians were dispersed throughout the American colonies, England and France. After the end of the war in 1763, many returned. They joined the small number of Acadians who had . . . — Map (db m78722) HM|
|Nova Scotia (Lunenburg County), Lunenburg — Foreign Protestant Settlement in Lunenburg — L’arrivée des protestants étrangers à Lunenburg|
In 1750, British authorities, mistrustful of the colony’s large Acadian population, began encouraging immigration by settlers of more obvious loyalties. These settlers became known as the “Foreign Protestants.” They came from the German Palatinate, Switzerland and the French principality of Montbéliard drawn by the promis of free land, tools and rations and a wish to escape the religious persecution, taxation and over population of their homeland.
In the early . . . — Map (db m78296) HM|
|Nova Scotia (Lunenburg County), Lunenburg — Foreign Protestants & the Settlement of Lunenburg — La colonisation de Lunenburg par les protestants étrangers.|
On June 8, 1753, a small flotilla of ships carried 1453 settlers protected by 150 troops and militia, arrived at the harbour which the Mi’kmaq called Merligueche after the whitecaps that topped the waves in the harbour. This group was drawn from 2000 “Foreign Protestants” who had arrived in Nova Scotia over the previous three years from farming districts along Germany’s Upper Rhine river. They had come mostly from the German Palatinate, the adjoining Swiss cantons, . . . — Map (db m78318) HM|
|Nova Scotia (Lunenburg County), Lunenburg — Merligueche|
This site known as the Old French Cemetery, is one of the few links to the Town’s Mi’kmaq and Acadian past. Known by the Mi’kmaq as Merligueche meaning whitecaps which topped the waves in the harbour, the name continued to be used by the French in the 17th and 18th centuries. Before the arrival of the French, the Mi’kmaq likely hunted food, fished and harvested wild berries in the area. The 1604 explorations of the south coast of what is now Nova Scotia by French explorers . . . — Map (db m78260) HM|
|Nova Scotia (Lunenburg County), Lunenburg — Old Town Lunenburg Historic District — L’arrondissement Historique du Vieux Lunenburg|
A remarkable historical community is found in the streets, public spaces, buildings and daily life of Old Town Lunenburg. Set on a hill overlooking the harbour, Lunenburg was founded in 1753. Its gridiron layout, with a parade square half-way up the hill, is one of the earliest and most intact British model plans in Canada. On this compact site, pioneer German, French and English speaking settlers constructed a variety of wood-frame buildings that set the tone for a colorful . . . — Map (db m78209) HM|
|Nova Scotia (Lunenburg County), Lunenburg — The Early Acadian History of Lunenburg — L’histoire des premiers Acadiens de Lunenburg|
More than a century before the founding of Lunenburg, these lands were inhabited by French-speaking settlers, known as Acadians. Their settlements, including one at Lunenburg, then known by its Mi’kimaq name, Merligueche, began in the 1630’s after French explorer Isaac de Razilly established a fort in nearby LaHave, as the capital of New France.
At Merligueche, Acadian families, notably Claude and Marguerite (Petitpas) Guédry and their children, along with Claude Petitpas . . . — Map (db m78294) HM|
|Nova Scotia (Richmond County), St. Peter's — The French Settlement of Saint-Pierre — L’établissement français de Saint-Pierre|
Nicolas Denys, a merchant from Tours, France, arrived here in 1650 to restore an abandoned Portuguese fort called San Pedro. He renamed it Saint-Pierre, and set out to pursue fishing and trading - primarily in furs. Fort Saint-Pierre, his 17th century fortified trading post was located here, adjacent the late 19th century Lockmaster’s House which is now standing on the site.
This was a busy place at the time, having served for thousands of years as a portage and a meeting . . . — Map (db m78727) HM|
|Nova Scotia (Victoria County), Baddeck — History of Baddeck|
|English: Derived from the Mi’kmaq name, ‘Abadak’, meaning “place with island near”, Baddeck’s first European settler was British officier James Duffus in 1819. He made his home on the “island near” and it was known as Duffus Island. An enterprising man, Duffus operated a general store here, servicing the Scottish immigrants and Loyalist in the area until his death twenty years later. When Duffus’s widow married William Kidston he assumed title to her property . . . — Map (db m80077) HM|
|Nova Scotia (Victoria County), Baddeck — William Kidston|
|arrived in Baddeck in 1835. It is believed he was sent from Halifax by the executors of the estate of the late James Duffus in order to settle up his business affairs. Young Mr. Kidston, it is said, fell “madly in love” with the widow Duffus & they were married in 1836. The Kidstons had three children, William Jr., Isabella, and Archibald.
It was William Kidston who made the Village of Baddeck. He had all the property surveyed and divided into building lots which he sold as the . . . — Map (db m80006) HM|
|Nova Scotia (Victoria County), Englishtown — Sainte-Anné|
Settled, 1629, by Captain Charles Daniel, and site of an early Jesuit Mission. Selected, 1713, as a naval base and one of the principal places in Isle Royale, named Port Dauphin and strongly fortified. Its importance declined with the choice, 1719, of Louisbourg as the capital.
Fondeé en 1629 par le capitaine Charles Daniel, Sainte-Anné fut l’une des premières missions Jésuites. Base navale fortifiée sous le nom de Port-Dauphin (1713) et chef-lieu de . . . — Map (db m80005) HM|
|Nova Scotia (Victoria County), Saint Ann's — Reverend Norman McLeod — 1780 - 1866|
As clergyman, schoolmaster and magistrate, he moulded the character of this community for a generation. Born at Stoer Point, Assynt, Scotland, he emigrated to Pictou in 1817, led his band of Scots to St. Ann in 1820 and remained here until 1851, when he again led his followers first to Australia and finally to New Zealand.
Threòraucg a a shkuagh ’s an àite so ’n a linn fhéin mar mhinistear, maighistir-sgoile, is fear-lagha. Rugadh e an Rudha Stòrr, an . . . — Map (db m80004) HM|
|Ontario, Hamilton — United Empire Loyalists|
|In Lasting Memory
Who preferred to remain loyal British
subjects and came to canada
in large numbers immediately
following the American Revolution
of 1776 and the signing of the
Treaty of Peace in 1783.
On this site in 1785 was erected
one of the first log houses in this
district by a loyalist pioneer Col.
Richard Beasley who on June 11th
and 12th 1796 here . . . — Map (db m66131) HM|
|Ontario, Ottawa — By Ward Market Heritage Conservation District — District de Conservation du Patrimoine du Marché By|
The dense cedar bog that became the site of the By Ward Market was drained and cleared in 1827 by Lieutenant-Colonel John By of the Royal Engineers to accommodate the workers building the Rideau Canal. The area rapidly became the commercial core of Bytown and later served the region's farming communities and the Ottawa Valley lumber industry, whose itinerant lumbermen gave the town its rowdy reputation. Over the next century the By Ward Market housed the businesses and institutions that . . . — Map (db m63692) HM|
|Ontario, Ottawa — Nicholas Sparks|
Irish Nicholas Sparks (b.1792) was from Darragh, County Wexford. He came "up river" 1816 to work for the founding Wrights of Hull. In 1826 he acquired Philemon Wright Jr.'s widow (Sarah Olmstead) and her nine children (he and she were to have one son and two daughters): crossed to the south shore, and for £ 95 bought the 200 acres, and log cabin thereon, from the first patentee, John Burrows Honey. His household thus became the first in the swale which Col. John By made his campsite for the . . . — Map (db m75711) HM|
|Ontario (Brant County), Brantford — Mohawk Village — Le village des Mohawks|
|English: Allies of the British during the American War of Independence, the Six Nations Iroquois received extensive lands along the Grand River in 1784. Mohawks, led by Joseph Brant, established a village of some 400 individuals here by 1788. The community was situated at an important crossing point on the river ("Brant's Ford") and prospered as a resting place for travellers on the "Detroit path", a trail linking the Niagara and Detroit Rivers. Increasingly European settlers encroached . . . — Map (db m83697) HM|
|Ontario (Chatham-Kent), Chatham — British Army River Crossing to Dolsen's Landing — Friday, October 1, 1813 — Tecumseh Parkway|
|Upon sighting American war ships at the mouth of the Thames River on October 1, 1813, the British Army boarded scows and bateaux near this site. One by one, the boats and their cargo were pulled across the river to their next encampment site at Dolsen's Landing, a small but important commercial site in Dover Township established by Matthew and Hannah Dolsen. The settlement consisted of the Dolsen's log home, a store, a blacksmith shop, a distillery, and other outbuildings. Dolsen's Landing had . . . — Map (db m78346) HM|
|Ontario (Chatham-Kent), Chatham — Chatham Blockhouse — — 1794 —|
|On this site a blockhouse was constructed in 1794 by order of Lieutenant-Governor John Graves Simcoe. He planned to establish here a small naval arsenal which would form a link in the defences of Upper Canada's western frontier and also draw the Indian trade from Detroit. The post was garrisoned by a detachment of the Queen's Rangers, and two gunboats were built; but by 1797 it was abandoned. In 1798 the province's Administrator, Peter Russell, had the blockhouse moved to Sandwich to serve as the Western District's court-house and gaol. — Map (db m71313) HM|
|Ontario (Chatham-Kent), Chatham — First Nations Encampment: Thomas McCrae Farm — Friday, October 1, 1813 — Tecumseh Parkway|
|Thomas McCrae was an early settler, innkeeper, and political figure in Raleigh Township along the Thames River. He served as a captain and company commander in the Kent Militia and was present at the capture of Fort Detroit. Family tradition relates that McCrae used the prize money he received from the capture of the fort to complete his Georgian brick home in 1813.
On October 1, with the British now encamped across the river and to the east at Dolsen's Landing, the First Nations . . . — Map (db m71308) HM|
|Ontario (Chatham-Kent), Chatham — The Forks — Tecumseh Parkway|
|The Forks of the Thames are formed by the joining of the Thames River and McGregor Creek creating a peninsula that is present day Tecumseh Park in Chatham, Ontario. The strategic importance of the site was recognized by Lieutenant Governor John Graves Simcoe when he visited the region in 1793.
The first settlement at the Forks occurred in 1794 when Simcoe commissioned Captain William Baker to establish a shipyard. Baker constructed a log blockhouse, a 72 foot-long frame workshop, forges, . . . — Map (db m71331) HM|
|Ontario (Chatham-Kent), Dresden — Harris House — Maison Harris|
This house belonged to James Harris and his family, who are believed to be descendants of Weldon Harris, an African American who came to Canada and in 1825 purchased 50 acres on Lot 3, Concession 3 in Camden Township. Weldon Harris made his living as a farmer and lived in a one-storey log house with his family before moving into a larger, two-storey house such as this.
The Harris House, built circa 1890, is representative of the type of modest dwelling in which many Black . . . — Map (db m78404) HM|
|Ontario (Chatham-Kent), Dresden — Josiah Henson — (1789 - 1883)|
After escaping to Upper Canada from slavery in Kentucky, the Reverend Josiah Henson became a conductor of the Underground Railroad and a force in the abolition movement. The founder of the Black settlement of Dawn, he was also an entrepreneur and established a school, the British-American Institute. His fame grew after Harriet Beecher Stowe stated that his memoirs published in 1849 had provided “conceptions and incidents” for her extraordinarily popular novel, . . . — Map (db m78377) HM|
|Ontario (Chatham-Kent), Dresden — The Dawn Settlement — La Colonie de Dawn|
In the 1830s, the Reverend Josiah Henson and other abolitionists sought ways to provide refugees from slavery with the education and skills they needed to become self-sufficient in Upper Canada. They purchased 200 acres of land here in 1841 and established the British American Institute, one of the first schools in Canada to emphasize vocational training. The community of Dawn developed around the institute. Its residents farmed, attended the institute, and worked at sawmills, . . . — Map (db m78376) HM|
|Ontario (Chatham-Kent), Dresden — The Founding of Dresden|
|In 1846 Daniel van Allen, a Chatham merchant, laid out a town plot on land purchased from Jared Lindsley, the first settler (1825) on the site of Dresden. By 1849 the erection of a steam sawmill, and the operation a grist-mill in the neighbouring Dawn Institute Settlement founded by Josiah Henson, provided the basis for a thriving community in this area. A post office named “Dresden” was opened in 1854. The region’s timber resources and the navigation facilities afforded by the . . . — Map (db m78416) HM|
|Ontario (Chatham-Kent), Thamesville — Fairfield — Tecumseh Parkway|
|The Moravians or "Bohemian Brethren" were a protestant sect that originated in the 1400s in Moravia and Bohemia, the present day Czech Republic. They faced persecution in their homeland and in 1722 many moved to Saxony (now part of Germany) where they were given security and land on the estate of Nikolaus Ludwig Von Zinzendorf. There they built a community called Hernhut and subsequently sent missionaries to North America where they established settlements in Pennsylvania (Bethlehem and . . . — Map (db m72448) HM|
|Ontario (Chatham-Kent), Thamesville — Participants in the Battle of the Thames — Tuesday, October 5, 1813 — Tecumseh Parkway|
|Jacques (James) Baby 1763-1833: A member of the Legislative and Executive Council for Upper Canada, judge for the Western District, and in command of the 1st Kent Militia, Baby was captured by the Americans at the Battle of the Thames.
Billy Caldwell 1780-1841: The son of William Caldwell and his Mohawk wife, Billy was a captain in the Indian Department and became a Potowatomi chief after the war.
William Caldwell 1750-1822: Of Scots-Irish descent, Caldwell fought in Butler's Rangers . . . — Map (db m71415) HM|
|Ontario (Chatham-Kent), Thamesville — Participants in the Battle of the Thames — Tuesday, October 5, 1813 — Tecumseh Parkway|
|James Johnson 1774-1826: The brother of Richard Johnson, James was elected as a Kentucky State senator in 1808. He served as a lieutenant colonel in Johnson's Mounted Infantry and led the charge on the British lines at the Battle of the Thames along with his two sons. Following the war, he served in the U.S. House of representatives.
Richard Mentor Johnson 1780-1850: From Kentucky, Johnson was elected to the House of Representatives in 1806. He served as a colonel in the American Army . . . — Map (db m72385) HM|
|Ontario (Chatham-Kent), Thamesville — The Burning of Fairfield — Tecumseh Parkway|
|Robert McAfee, a soldier in Colonel Johnson's Mounted Regiment, kept a journal of his experiences, and wrote on October 7, 1813:
Spent the day in collecting in plunder ... Colonel Owings Regiment of Regulars came up and took charge of the plunder and the whole army marched off and we sett [sic] fire to the town, putting the first torch to the Moravian Church and consumed the whole to ashes and we continued our march down the river to the large plantation where the bake ovens were and . . . — Map (db m72414) HM|
|Ontario (Essex County), Amherstburg — Connection to Town|
| Connection to Town
Fort Malden (originally called Fort Amherstburg) was the anchor of the town, which grew to the south. In this view, you are looking past the parade grounds of the fort (now a park) down Dalhousie Street towards the location of the naval dockyard. Over the years, much of the economic activity of the town of Amherstburg was generated by the need to feed, supply and amuse several hundred soldiers and their families.
Entries from an 1810 account . . . — Map (db m71192) HM|
|Ontario (Essex County), Amherstburg — Fort Malden Points of Interest|
| Fort Malden Points of Interest • Fort Malden Points d'intérêt
(1) Visitor Centre
(2) Military Pensioner's Cottage
circa 1851 (Restoration)
Maison des pensionnés militaires
vers 1851 (bâtiment restauré)
1813 & 1838-1840 (Remnants)
1813 et 1838-1840 (vestiges)
(4) Brick Guardhouse
circa 1821 . . . — Map (db m71278) HM|
|Ontario (Essex County), Amherstburg — Pensioner's Cottage|
| Pensioner's Cottage
This cottage was built in the early 1850s for a retired soldier and his family. About 85 of these homes were constructed just east of the Fort, and leased at a modest rate to veteran soldiers in return for light military duties. This one, belonging to Charles O'Connor, was moved here from its original location about 500 metres away.
For a growing family this cottage would have been very cramped, since it has only two rooms … a combined kitchen/sitting . . . — Map (db m71167) HM|
|Ontario (Essex County), Windsor — 1748|
|The original cross
Was erected in
By the Jesuit
— • —
Was re-enacted at the Old Boys re union Aug., 1909
Re-enacted and this permanent cross erected by the
Border Cities Old Boys in Aug., 1922 — Map (db m37519) HM|
|Ontario (Essex County), Windsor — French Settlement on the South Shore|
| Front - In English
Windsor is the oldest known site of continuous settlement in Ontario. The government of New France, anxious to increase its presence on the Detroit River, offered land agricultural settlement on the south shore in 1749. That summer families from the lower St. Lawrence River relocated to lots which began about 6.5 km downstream from here. Along with civilians and discharged soldiers from Fort Pontchartrain (Detroit), they formed the community of La Petite Cote. . . . — Map (db m37343) HM|
|Ontario (Essex County), Windsor — Jesuit Mission to the Hurons|
|In 1728 a mission to the Huron Indians was established near Fort Pontchartrain (Detroit) by Father Armand de la Richardie, S.J. The mission was moved to Bois Blane Island and the adjacent mainland in 1742. In 1747 it was destroyed by disaffected Hurons and a party of Iroquois, and the next year re-established in this vicinity. The Huron Mission became the Parish of Assumption in 1767 and was entrusted with the spiritual care of the French settlers on this side of the river as well as the . . . — Map (db m37386) HM|
|Ontario (Frontenac County), Kingston — Louis de Buade Comte de Frontenac et de Palluau — 1622-1698|
|One of the most influential and controversial figures in Canadian history, Frontenac was born at St-Germain-en-Laye, France. As a member of the noblesse d'epee he was able in 1672 to secure the appointment as Governor-General of New France. Devoted largely because of self-interest to promoting the colony's territorial expansion, Frontenac established a series of fortified fur-trading posts extending into the interior of North America, the first of which, Fort Frontenac, was constructed near . . . — Map (db m39978) HM|
|Ontario (Frontenac County), Kingston — The King's Royal Regiment of New York|
|The largest Loyalist Corps in the Northern Department during the American Revolution, the King's Royal Regiment of New York was raised on June 19, 1776 under the command of Sir John Johnson. Originally composed of one battalion with ten companies, it was authorized to add a second battalion in 1780. The regiment, known as the "Royal Yorkers," participated in the bitter war fought on the colonial frontier. It conducted raids against settlements in New York and was also employed in garrison duty. . . . — Map (db m39977) HM|
|Ontario (Hamilton), Stoney Creek — The Nash-Jackson House|
|Originally located at the north-east corner of king Street East and Nash Road in the city of Hamilton, the house known as the Nash=Jackson House was built in 1818. The property on which the house stood, part of William Gage's original land grant, was deeded to his eldest daughter, Susannah (Gage) Nash, in 1815. William Gage was uncle to James Gage, original owner of what is now Battlefield House Museum.
The Nash-Jackson House, once named Grandview, with its Loyalist Neo-Classic style of . . . — Map (db m56859) HM|
|Ontario (Lambton County), Petrolia — The Founding of Petrolia|
|Following the discovery of oil at Oil Springs in 1857 prospectors extended their search to the entire township of Enniskillen. At the site of Petrolia, which contained two small settlements with post offices named Durance and Ennis, a well was brought into production in 1860. The following year a small refinery was opened and the Durance post office renamed “Petrolea.” At first, eclipsed by Oil Springs, the community developed slowly. But in 1865-66 a series of discoveries . . . — Map (db m78417) HM|
|Ontario (Leeds and Grenville Counties), Brockville — Gen. Sir Isaac Brock. K.C.B. — (1769-1812)|
|Brockville was named after the Provisional Civi Administrator of Upper Canada and the Commanding Officier of the British forces in Upper Canada during the War of 1812-1814.
The government of Upper Canada first named this community “Elizabethtown” after moving the site of district administration here in 1809. The building of the first Court House and Gaol in the village was completed in 1810. The surrounding township was also named Elizbethtown, so the local citizens were . . . — Map (db m83527) HM|
|Ontario (Leeds and Grenville Counties), Brockville — William Buell’s 1816 Map of Brockville|
|This is one of the earliest maps of the Village of Brockville and shows many of the early details upon which the later Town, and then City of Brockville have been superimposed.
The war of 1812-15 has just been over for a short time. The area around the first Court House shows the wartime accommodations for soldiers, with barracks, cook house, and hospital still in place.
The waterfront shows the original shoreline characterized by “Oak Point” on the left, a natural landmark . . . — Map (db m83484) HM|
|Ontario (Leeds and Grenville Counties), Prescott — Col. Edward Jessup — 1735-1816|
|Born in Stamford, Connecticut, he forfeited 500,000 acres near Albany, New York, by taking up arms for the King on the outbreak of the American Revolution. He raised the Loyal (Jessup’s) Rangers and served under Burgoyne. This corps was disbanded at the end of the war, its members settling in the present Leeds and Grenville Counties, and on the Bay of Quinte. In return for his services, Jessup received extensive lands from the Crown. In 1810 a townsite was surveyed on this grant which he named . . . — Map (db m83429) HM|
|Ontario (Lennox and Addington Counties), Greater Napanee — Bay of Quinte Loyalist Settlement — L’Etablissement des Loyalistes dans la Baie d Quinte|
|English: This region was among the first in present day Ontario to receive loyalist settlers following the American Revolution. Surveying began in 1783, and by the following year five townships had been laid out between the Cataraqui River and the east end of the Isle of Quinte (Kingstown, Ernestown, Fredericksburgh, Adolphustown, and Marysburgh). Loyalist refugees and discharged soldiers arrived to take up land grants in these five Cataraqui townships in 1784. That same year, Iroquois . . . — Map (db m83649) HM|
|Ontario (Lennox and Addington Counties), Greater Napanee — The Royal Union Flag — 1707-1801|
|Originally designed in 1606, this flag was officially adopted in 1707 by England and Scotland as their royal standard at the time of the union of the thrones and parliaments of both countries. It consists of the blue background and white diagonal cross of St. Andrew, Patron Saint of Scotland, with superimposed the red cross of St. George, Patron Saint of England. The white piping is a heraldic device used to separate the blue and red portions. When the American Revolution began in 1775, many . . . — Map (db m83647) HM|
|Ontario (Middlesex County), London — Middlesex Court House — Le Palais de Justice de Middlesex|
Erected in 1830, this building was modelled after Malahide Castle, near Dublin, Ireland, the ancestral home of Colonel Thomas Talbot, founder of the Talbot Settlement. The site was a part of the town plot set aside by Lieutenant-Governor John Graves Simcoe after his visit to The Forks in February, 1793. Here he proposed to locate the provincial capital.
En 1830, le colonel Talbot, fondateur de la colonie Talbot, fit erige cet . . . — Map (db m18962) HM|
|Ontario (Middlesex County), London — The Founding of London|
|In 1793, here on the River Thames, Lieutenant-Governor John Graves Simcoe selected a site for the capital of Upper Canada. York, however, became the seat of government and the townsite of London lay undeveloped until its selection in 1826 as the judicial and administrative centre of the London District. A court-house and gaol (1829) and homes for the government officials were built, stores and hotels were opened, and by 1834 the community contained over 1100 inhabitants. A British garrison . . . — Map (db m18971) HM|
|Ontario (Middlesex County), London — The Ridout Street Complex|
|This streetscape includes several of London's earliest buildings and provides a capsule view of the appearance of mid-19th century Ontario cities. These buildings, the earliest of which was begun in 1835, include residential, industrial and commercial premises all intermingled on one of the city's main streets. The group of structures soon became known as “Bankers' Row” because of the presence of five branch offices here. After years of neglect and deterioration, they were . . . — Map (db m18972) HM|
|Ontario (Niagara Region), Chippawa — The Founding of Chippawa|
|In 1792-94 a village grew up near Fort Chippawa on Chippawa Creek at the end of the new portage road from Queenston. In 1793 the creek was renamed the Welland River, but the village, where a post-office was opened before 1801, remained "Chippawa". It was largely destroyed 1813-14 when British and American forces fought for control of the Welland River. Portage traffic revived after the war and continued until Chippawa became an outlet for the original Welland Canal from 1829 to 1833. A . . . — Map (db m54124) HM|
|Ontario (Niagara Region), Fort Erie — Conestoga Wagon Trek|
|The border between Canada and the United States of America has witnessed many migrations of people. At two times, however, the migration was primarily from south to north. That was in the troubled days just prior to the American Revolutionary War and during the uneasy decades when the new republic was being formed.
During the last two decades of the eighteenth century, many people, motivated by loyalty to the British Crown and fearing some aspects of the course being set by the new United . . . — Map (db m75851) HM|
|Ontario (Niagara Region), Niagara Falls — Ebenezer Community|
|In 1852 this was the site of the Ebenezer religious community of 800 people. It had log houses, a wharf, store, blacksmith shop, sawmill, woolen mill, flour mill, cannery, cabinet shop and a communal dining hall. Their best known product was high quality cotton denim dyed Ebenezer Blue. In 1859 the community moved to Amana, Iowa. — Map (db m64653) HM|
|Ontario (Niagara Region), Niagara-on-the-Lake — Butler's Rangers|
|In 1777 John Butler of New York raised a force of Rangers who, with their Iroquois allies, raided the frontiers of New York, Pennsylvania and New Jersey throughout the American Revolutionary War. From their base at Fort Niagara they successfully maintained British military power on the frontiers and seriously threatened rebel food supplies. When Fort Niagara became overcrowded in the autumn of 1778, Butler built near here a group of barracks to house his Rangers and their families. Disbanded in . . . — Map (db m75857) HM|
|Ontario (Niagara Region), Niagara-on-the-Lake — Niagara Land Purchases|
|To obtain land on which to settle Loyalists and dispossessed members of the Six Nations of the Iroquois, Guy Johnson in May 1781 and John Butler in May 1784 negotiated treaties with representatives of the Mississauga and Chippewa of this region. The Crown thereby acquired title to a tract of land 6.4 km wide along the west bank of the Niagara River between Lakes Erie and Ontario. These two cessions were later confirmed by a third treaty negotiated by John Graves Simcoe, Lieutenant-Governor of . . . — Map (db m75863) HM|
|Ontario (Niagara Region), Queenston — The Founding of Queenston|
|Following the loss, after the American Revolution of the Niagara River's east bank, a new portage around Niagara Falls was established in the 1780s' with Queenston its northern terminous. Wharves, storehouses and a block-house were built. Robert Hamilton, a prominent merchant considered the village's founder, operated a thriving trans-shipment business. Known as the "Lower Landing" it was named "Queenston" by Lieut.-Governor Simcoe. During the war of 1812 the village was badly damaged. Here . . . — Map (db m51621) HM|
|Ontario (Niagara Region), Queenston — The Queenston Baptist Church|
|By 1808 the Rev. Elkanah Holmes, a missionary from the United States, had organized the first Baptist congregation in Queenston. Following the war of 1812 the congregation declined, was reorganized in 1831 and between 1842 and 1845 erected the rough-cut limestone structure as its church. It is an early and interesting example of the Gothic Revival style in this province. The church had closed by 1918 and in 1928 was sold to the Women's Institute, which occupied the building until 1954. In 1970 . . . — Map (db m51627) HM|
|Ontario (Niagara Region), St. Catharines — Anglican Church, St. Catharines — (1795 - 1836)|
|On this site stood the Anglican chapel, St. Catharines (1795 - 1836), the first public building in the community. The name St. Catharines became associated with the community and the church. By 1797 a log school house was situated just east of this spot. The Parish included a cemetery and a parsonage. An assignment to the church dated Feb. 17, 1796 is the first documented use of the City's name and records the names of the 44 heads of the community's founding families and others from the . . . — Map (db m76085) HM|
|Ontario (Niagara Region), St. Catharines — St. Catharines — Also Known As — St. Catharines Heritage Corridor|
|St. Catharines has been known by a number of names in its history. The city is believed to have been one of the largest Native Settlements in North America. Shortly after the American Revolution, it was settled by Loyalists, the first of these known as John Halner and Jacob Ditrick.
Around the late 1700s the area underwent a full scale township survey and lands were made available by Royal Proclamation. At this time the city was commonly known as "The Twelve" because of its location close . . . — Map (db m77056) HM|
|Ontario (Niagara Region), St. Catharines — The Founding of St. Catharines|
|Before this region was settled, several Indian trails intersected here at a ford in Twelve Mile Creek. They were improved by early settlers and a church was erected at the crossroads by 1798. A tavern soon followed and a settlement, known as St. Catharines or Shipman's Corners, developed. After the War of 1812 the community expanded largely through the efforts of William Hamilton Merritt. He was the chief promoter of the First Welland Canal, built in 1824-33, which made St. Catharines a centre . . . — Map (db m76092) HM|
|Ontario (Niagara Region), Thorold — The Founding of Thorold|
|During the construction of the original Welland Canal, 1824-1829, a number of communities sprung up along its length. Here, on land belonging to George Keefer, a village known as Thorold had developed by 1828. A large flouring mill was built on the canal and the Thorold Township post office was moved from Beaverdams to the new settlement by Jacob Keefer. By 1831 two sawmills were in operation and in 1835 the village contained 370 inhabitants. During the 1840's the building of the Welland Mills, . . . — Map (db m54088) HM|
|Ontario (Niagara Region), Vineland — Ball's Grist-Mill|
|By 1809 John and George Ball had constructed a four-storey grist-mill here on Twenty Mile Creek. Equipped with two run of stones, the mill provided flour for British Troops during the War of 1812. It was expanded during the 1840's and by the end of the decade was part of a complex which included sawmills and woollen factories. About that time George Peter Mann Ball laid out a village plot named Glen Elgin. His plans for an industrial community were thwarted, however, when the Great Western . . . — Map (db m57064) HM|
|Ontario (Nipissing District), Whitney — Algonquin Provincial Park — Le Parc Provincial Algonquin|
|Established in 1893, Algonquin was the first provincial park in Canada and the forerunner of Ontario’s extensive park system. Many methods now used across Canada to administer multi-purpose parks and explain nature to the public were developed here. Algonquin also became a focus for discussion of seemingly conflicting objectives, such as wilderness protection versus recreation promotion; forest conservation versus logging activity. Its rugged lakeshores and wooded slopes have long attracted . . . — Map (db m59998) HM|
|Ontario (Oxford County), Thamesford — St. John's Anglican Church — 1861 - 2011|
This plaque commemorates the 150th Anniversary of St. John's Church, which was constructed with local field stones and the labour of the parishioners. This original carriage alighting stone has welcomed all visitors through the years. — Map (db m75952) HM|
|Ontario (Stormont, Dundas and Glengarry Counties), Dalkeith — MacLeod Settlement|
| In 1793 some forty families, including members of several clans, emigrated from Glenelg, Scotland, under the leadership of Alexander MacLeod and landed at St. John's Island (now Prince Edward Island). The following year they came to Glengarry County and petitioned for land. In August, 1794, the majority were authorized to occupy 200 acres each in the vicinity of Kirkhill, which was for many years known as Glenelg. Alexander MacLeod, who was located on this property in 1794, was instrumental in . . . — Map (db m76853) HM|
|Ontario (Stormont, Dundas and Glengarry Counties), South Dundas — Loyalist American Regiments / Loyalists of the Indian Nations / Sir John Johnson|
|[ Front of Monument ]
Loyalists American Regiments 1775-84
This monument has been erected by a grateful province to commemorate the services of His Majesty's Forces in North America, 1775-84 In particular the following which were disbanded as units and settled along the St. Lawrence River in the new province of Upper Canada.
The 84th Regiment (Royal Highland Emigrants)
The King's Royal Regiment of New York (Royal Greens)
The King's Rangers (Rogers' Corps)
The Loyal . . . — Map (db m39747) HM|
|Prince Edward Island (Queens County), Charlottetown — Charlottetown — Prince Edward Island|
| Samuel Holland Report Sept 14, 1767
The Capital is to be called Charlotte Town is proposed to be built on a point of the harbor of Port Joy, betwixt York and Hillsborough Rivers, as being one of the best, and nearly central Parts of the Island, has the advantage of an immediate and easy Communication with the interior Past by means of three fine Rivers of the Hillsborough, York and Elliot. The Ground designed for the Town and Fortifications is well situated upon a regular Ascent . . . — Map (db m80229) HM|
|Prince Edward Island (Queens County), Charlottetown — Great George Street Historic District — L’arrondissement Historique de la rue Great George|
Great George Street is richly evocative of both its 18th-century origins and its subsequent development as one of Charlottetown's principal streets. Clearly focused to Province House, the seat of Island government and the birthplace of Confederation, the street has traditionally been lined with homes and public buildings. In 1864 the Fathers of Confederation attending the Charlottetown Conference landed on the wharf at the bottom of this street, and some delegates stayed in . . . — Map (db m80200) HM|
|Quebec (Brome-Missisquoi MRC), Stanbridge East — In honour of Capt. Caleb Tree|
|In honour of
Capt. Caleb Tree
who came to
Canada in 1796
on this farm and
along with other
des pionniers de
Erected in 1966 — Map (db m74536) HM|
|Quebec (Capitale-Nationale (region)), Québec — Les filles du roy — (‘Daughters of the King’)|
Entre 1663 et 1973, plus de 770 filles du roy, venues de France, débarquèrent à Québec.
Marguerite Bourgeoys, fondatrice de la Congrégation de Notre-Dame, désigne sous ce nom les jeune filles, bénéficiaires d’une dot royale, qui viennent en Novelle-France pour y «prendre mari ]» et contribuer au peuplement de la colonie.
Elles y sont attendues.
En 1663, li y a plus de 700 hommes célibataires pour 65 filles à marier. En quelques années, la population de la colonie . . . — Map (db m81532) HM|
|Quebec (Capitale-Nationale (region)), Québec — Les Premiers Colons de Québec — (The first colonists of Québec)|
| Ils ont été à la peine; qu’ils soient à l’honneur:
English translation: They lived in hardship, and are now in the place of honor:
Louis Hébert 1617 Marie Rollet • Guillaume Couillard 1618 Marie-Guillemette Hébert • Abraham Marin — Marguerite Langlois • Nicolas Marsolet — Marie Le Barbier • Nicolas Pivert — Marguerite Lesage • Pierre Desportes — Françoise Langlois • Etienne Jonquest — Anne Hébert • Olivier Le Tardif — Louise Couillard • . . . — Map (db m81495) HM|
|Quebec (Capitale-Nationale (region)), Québec — Pierre Dugua de Mons — v. 1560 - 1628|
Nomme lieutenant général de la Nouvelle France en 1603, le sieur de Mons est chargé par Henri IV de fonder une colonie permanente en Amérique du Nord en échange du privilège exclusif de la traite des fourrures.
Après deux tentatives infructueuses en Acadie en 1604 et 1605, de Mons se tourne vers la vallée du Saint-Laurent. En 1608, il donne à Samuel de Champlain le mandat de fonder Québec et lui fournit tous les pouvoirs et le soutien matériel et financier nécessaire . . . — Map (db m81528) HM|
|Quebec (Capitale-Nationale (region)), Québec — Site historique et archéologique de l’Habitation-Samuel-De Champlain|
C’est sur cet emplacement stratégique, fréquenté par les Amérindiens depuis environ 3000 ans, que Samuel de Champlain fonde le comptoir de Québec, le 3 juillet 1608. Il y fait ériger une habitation en bois qui est reconstruite en pierre à partir de 1724. De 1633 à 1682, ce bâtiment sert de magasin avant d’être détruit par un incendie. L’église de Notre-Dame-des-Victoires est élevée sur une partie des vestiges de l’habitation, vers 1688.
Ce lieu symbolique rappelle le . . . — Map (db m81527) HM|
|Quebec (Chaudière-Appalaches (region)), Berthier-sur-Mer — Cholera arrives in the Americas — Le choléra arrive en Amérique — 1832|
To prevent the disease from spreading to the general population, a military detachment hurriedly set up quarantine facilities on Grosse Île.
Temporary wooden buildings were constructed: initially a 40 patient hospital with two nearby structures. One of these for healthy individuals, had a capacity of 300. The other was used for monitoring suspicious cases. A simple fence separated the sick from those under observation.
Today, no visible trace of these buildings . . . — Map (db m80683) HM|
|Quebec (Chaudière-Appalaches (region)), Berthier-sur-Mer — Doukhobor Immigrants — Des immigrants doukhobors — 1899|
On June 6, 1899, some 2,275 Doukhobor immigrants were forced to disembark at Grosse Île. Several cases of smallpox had been observed aboard the Lake Huron since its departure 23 days previously, thus compelling the complete disinfection of the steamer as well as the vaccination and medical surveillance of all passengers.
More than 7,500 Doukhobors arrived in Canada that same year, followed by other small groups until 1912. These immigrants fled the political and . . . — Map (db m80682) HM|
|Quebec (Chaudière-Appalaches (region)), Berthier-sur-Mer — Grosse Île and Immigration to Canada — Grosse-Île et l’immigration au Canada|
Grosse Île and the Irish Memorial National Historic Site commemorates the significant waves of immigration welcomed to Canada between the opening of the 19th century and the First World War. During this period Québec was Canada's chief port of entry, receiving more than four million immigrants. Deadly infectious diseases and a rudimentary scientific understanding of how they could be controlled required that, between 1832 and 1937, Grosse Île serve the vital function of a . . . — Map (db m80672) HM|
|Quebec (Chaudière-Appalaches (region)), Berthier-sur-Mer — The Celtic Cross — La croix celtique — 1909|
Raised in 1909 by members of the Ancient Order of Hibernians, this monument honours the memory of the thousands of Irish immigrants who died on Grosse Île in 1847. Inscriptions in Irish, French and English recall their tragic destiny during the Great Famine.
Érigé en 1909 par des membres de l’Ancient Order of Hibernians, ce monument honore la mémoire des milliers d’immigrants irlandais décédés à la Grosse-Île en 1847. Des inscriptions en gaélique, . . . — Map (db m80684) HM|
|Quebec (Coaticook MRC), Waterville — École HYATT School|
|The settlement of Milby dates back to the 1790s. This Hyatt One-Room Schoolhouse was built on land originally granted to Loyalist Abraham Hyatt Sr., located in the Hyatt Settlement, now known as Milby. Two brothers, Cornelius and Abraham Jr. settled here while another brother Gilbert settled first at Capelton and later moved to Lower Forks in 1796, then called Hyatt's Mills, known to-day as Sherbrooke.|
Loyalist Cornelius Hyatt operated the Grist Mill and Saw Mill at the river, just across . . . — Map (db m74544) HM
|Quebec (Côte-Nord), Blanc-Sablon — Blanc-Sablon National Historic Site — Lieu historique national de Blanc-Sablon — Naishipiunt utenau shashish aitashtakanit|
The Blanc-Sablon National Historic Site of Canada, also recognised as Cultural Property in Québec, holds a signifiant place in the history of the Quebec- Labrador coast. Artefacts found at this site represent 9,000 years of Aboriginal history up until the first contact with Europeans in the early 16th century. The high concentration of archaeological sites attests to the fact that the Blanc-Sablon region, and especially the mouth of the Blanc-Sablon River, was an important . . . — Map (db m79605) HM|
|Quebec (Le Plateau-Mont-Royal Borough), Montréal — Hochelaga|
|Près d’ici état le site de la ville fortifiée ďHochelaga visitée par Jacques Cartier en 1535, abandonnée avant 1600 elle renfermait cinquante grandes maisons logeant chacune plusieurs familles vivant de la culture du sol et de la pêche.
Near here was the site of the fortified town of Hochelaga visited by Jacques Cartier, in 1535, abandoned before 1600. It contained fifty large houses, each lodging several families who subsisted by cultivation and fishing. — Map (db m72726) HM|
|Quebec (Montréal (region)), Montréal — Montréal’s Founders and First Colonists Monument|
| This obelisk honors the founders and first colonists of the City of Montréal. There are four panels at the base of the monument.
Le XVIII Mai MDCCCXCIII
Ce monument a été erige
La Société Historique de Montrèal
a la memoire
des généreux fondateurs de cette ville
Des premiers colons arrives ici
Ce que vous voyez ici, Messieurs, n’est qu’ un chain de sénevé, mais… je ne doute nullement que ce petit grain ne produise . . . — Map (db m82159) HM|
|Quebec (Ville-Marie Borough), Montréal — Antoine Laumet de La Mothe, sieur de Cadillac|
[The coat of arms of Quebec]
“Je Me Souviens”
Ici vécut -- Here lived
Antoine Laumet de Lamothe
Sieur de Cadillac (1658-1730),
Fondateur de -- Founder of
Détroit, -- Detroit,
Governeur de -- Governor of
La Louisiane -- Louisiana
Commission des Monuments Historiques — Map (db m78185) HM|
|Quebec (Ville-Marie Borough), Montréal — Aux origines de Montréal / The origins of Montréal|
|C’est ici que le sieur de Maisonneuve fonda Montréal en mai 1642. Situé au confluent du Saint-Laurent et de l’ancienne petite rivière Saint-pierre, l’endroit était bien connu des Autochtones qui s’y rassemblaient depuis des siècles, de même que sur le site de l’actuelle place Royale. Dès leur arrivée, les Français construisirent le fort Ville-Marie. Vers 1688, le gouverneur de Montréal, Louis-Hector de Calliėre, obtint une partie du terrain et y érigea sa résidence, d’où le nom de pointe . . . — Map (db m78186) HM|
|Saskatchewan, Canora — Ukrainian Settlers of Canora|
|The first block Ukrainian settlement in Saskatchewan was established in 1897 when 180 families arrives in the Canora district from western Ukraine. Ottawa had specified that earlier Ukrainian immigrants first settle in Alberta and Manitoba. Canora became a center where the Ukrainian culture and language are still kept alive. Thus, many people know Canora as a Ukrainian town. The distinctive dome on many churches in the area are a lasting feature of this settlement. — Map (db m8492) HM|
|Saskatchewan, Rosthern — Rosenort Mennonite Church|
|Mennonite settlers who arrived in this area in 1892 held church services in private homes until 1896, when the first church of the conference of Mennonites in the North-West Territories was built on this site. The Mennonite community had organized the Rosenort Mennonite Church in 1894, named for the community in West Prussia from which their elder, Peter Regier, and others had come. In 1902 the original log structure was replaced by the present church, which was remodelled in 1954. — Map (db m8531) HM|
|Yukon Territory, Dawson City — West Dawson|
|West Dawson was settled c.1899 by people wanting to avoid overcrowding and typhoid outbreaks in Dawson. Farms also became established and later, as mining in the sixtymile area increased, a link with Dawson became necessary. In 1902 a ferry guided by a cable began operating. This cable was supported on the opposite bank by a 37 metre tower which provided clearance for the riverboats. — Map (db m44711) HM|
|El Salvador, La Libertad, San Juan Opico — Joya de Cerén|
| Gobierno de la República de El Salvador
Joya de Cerén
Patrimonio de la Humanidad
Este sitio arqueológico Joya de Cerén, fue solemnemente declarado Patrimonio de la Humanidad en la XVII sesión del Comité del Patrimonio Mundial de UNESCO el día 8 de diciembre de 1993, en Cartagena, Colombia, siendo Presidente de la República el Licenciado Alfredo Felix Cristiani.
Ministerio de Educación
San Salvador, El Salvador, C.A.
Government of the Republic of El . . . — Map (db m81468) HM|
|El Salvador, La Libertad, Santa Tecla — One Hundred Years Since the Founding of Santa Tecla|
|24 y 25
1854-1954 La ciudad de Nueva San Salvador, al cumplirse el
Primer centenario de su fundación
Consagra agradecida este monumento a la memoria de
Autorizó su erección el acuerdo de 8 de agosto de 1854
Sancionó su fundación el Decreto Legislativo de 5 de febrero de 1855
Que la tituló de ciudad y capital
24 and 25 of December
1854 - 1954
The city of Nueva San Salvador, at the
First century since . . . — Map (db m80908) HM|
|France, Île-de-France (Paris), Paris — Samuel Champlain — le 26 juin 1604|
|de Brouage en Saintonge
Avec Pierre Dugua de Mons et ses Compagnons fondent en Acadie le premier éstablissement Français permanent au Canada et ensuite s’établira à Québec en 1608.|
[English translation] The June 26, 1604
of Brouage en Saintonge
With Pierre Du Gua de Monts and his companions founded in Acadia the first permanent French settlement in Canada and then drew plans for Quebec City in 1608. — Map (db m60538) HM
|France, Languedoc-Roussillon (Bouches-du-Rhône), Arles — Le Forum Romain et Les Cryptoportiques — The Roman Forum and the Cryptoportiques|
|L’implantation du Forum romain contre le flanc Ouest de la colline d’Arles a necéssité la construction d’importantes substructions destinées à établir solidement une vaste terrasse.
La partie Nord de ces galeries sousterraines, appelées Cryptoportiques passe sous la place du Forum actuelle, la partie Sud sous l’Hôtel de Ville.
Autour l’esplanade ainsi constituée, fut édifié dès l’installation de la colonie romaine, fondée en 46 av. J.C. par Jules César, un grand portique de colonnes encadrant . . . — Map (db m60964) HM|
|Germany, Baden-Württemberg (Tuttlingen District), Frittlingen — Frittlingen — 797 - 1997|
1200 Years — Map (db m77730) HM|
|Germany, Bavaria (Ansbach District), Rothenburg ob der Tauber — Granary/Jewish Cemetery — Schrannenplatz/Judenkirchhof — (ca 1339 - 1520)|
Der „Judenkirchhof” war der Bestattungsplatz der jüdischen Einwohner und lag ursprünglich außerhalb der ersten Stadtmauer.
Bereits seit 1339 bezeichnete man den Platz als „coemeterium Judaeorum” (Begräbnisplatz der Juden).
In der Nähe wurde 1406/07 eine neue Synagoge gebaut.
Die judenfeindliche Hetze des Predigers Johann Teuschlein brachte den Stadtrat 1519 dazu, die Juden aus Rothenburg zu vertreiben. Daraufhin plünderte die Bevölkerung die Synagoge.
Sie wurde in . . . — Map (db m77690) HM|
|Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Mansfeld-Südharz District), Mansfeld-Lutherstadt — Mansfeld Brunnen / Well|
Dieser brunnen wurde bei Straßenbauarbeiten der Stadtkernsanierung im Jahr 2003 freigelegt und saniert. Er wurde im frühen 17. Jahrhundert angelegt. Die oberen 7m sind aus Sandsteinblocken gemauert. Darunter wurde der Brunnen in anstehenden Buntsandstein gehauen.
Gesamttiefe: 23 m
Wassertiefe: 15 m
This well was uncovered during road construction work in the town center redevelopment in 2003 and renovated. It . . . — Map (db m70377) HM|
|Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Mansfeld-Südharz District), Mansfeld-Lutherstadt — Mansfeld um / in 1560|
nach einer Handskizze
von Cyriakus Spangenberg
[Stadtplan und Schlüssel]
Material und Putzarbeiten gesonsert von Firma KNORR Bau GmbH
Entwurf und Ausführung Günter Bormann und Siegfried Bösel
after a hand sketch
by Cyriacus Spangenberg
[map and key]
Material and plaster work provided by KNORR Bau GmbH
Design and execution by Günter Bormann and Siegfried Bösel — Map (db m70367) HM|
|Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Mansfeld-Südharz District), Mansfeld-Lutherstadt — Scherren — (original nach / by C. Spangenberg)|
Im Volksmund später auch Murre genannt.
Als Scherren bezeichnete man im Mittelalter
Verkaufsstände an denen frische Lebensmittel gehandelt wurden.
Dies waren vorwiegend Fleisch und Brot.
Daher werden sie in der Chronik auch als Fleisch und Brotbänke bezeichnet.
In the vernacular, later also called Murre.
As one called Scherren in the Middle Ages
Stalls, selling fresh food being traded.
These were mainly . . . — Map (db m70363) HM|
|Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Wittenberg District), Lutherstadt Wittenberg — 1556 Wittenberg Water System|
Wir danken den hier senannten grundern des alten jungfern-rohr wassers fur ihr noch heute bestehendes uneigennutziges werk
Hieronymus Krapp • Christoph Kellner • Christoph Schramm • Lucas Cranach • Kaspar Pfreundt • Konrad Ruehel • Hans Lufft
We thank the mentioned founders for their selfless efforts in developing the old maiden-tube water system existing today
Hieronymus Krapp • Christoph Kellner • . . . — Map (db m69736) HM|
|Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Wittenberg District), Lutherstadt Wittenberg — Christian Döring — (unbek. - 1533)|
Goldschmied, Verleger, Stadtkämmerer
verlegte 1522 das Neue Testament
Goldsmith, Publisher, City Treasurer
in 1522 published the New Testament — Map (db m69783) HM|
|Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Wittenberg District), Lutherstadt Wittenberg — Lucas Cranach d. Ältere — (1472 - 1553)|
Maler und Unternehmer
1537 - 1544 Bürgermeister
Artist and Entrepreneur
1537 - 1544 Mayor — Map (db m69739) HM|
|Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Wittenberg District), Lutherstadt Wittenberg — Lucas Cranach d. Jüngere — (1515 - 1586)|
Maler und Porträtist
Painter and Portraitist
1565 Mayor — Map (db m69779) HM|
|Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Wittenberg District), Lutherstadt Wittenberg — Lucas Cranach der Ältere (1472-1553)|
Zur Erinnerung an die Ankunft des Malers 1505 in Wittenberg
Frijo Müller-Belecke, Hemmoor
Bildhauerlehrling 1948 im Cranach-Hof Wittenberg
To commemorate the arrival of the painter in 1505 in Wittenberg
Frijo Müller-Belecke, Hemmoor
Sculptor Apprentice 1948 Cranach-Hof Wittenberg
Bronze, 2005 — Map (db m69737) HM|
|Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Wittenberg District), Lutherstadt Wittenberg — The Elbe Gate / Das Elbtor|
When Martin Luther came to Wittenberg in 1508 he saw three mighty gates around the heavily fortified town. At this place in 1508 was the Elbe Gate. In front of this gate was the Elbe suburb.
In 1829 the Princess Auguste of Saxony-Weimar came through this gate into the town. She was a guest of the commander of the fortress and on her way to her marriage with Prince Wilhelm of Prussia. In 1873 the destruction of the gate started. . . . — Map (db m70145) HM|
|Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Wittenberg District), Lutherstadt Wittenberg — The Elster Gate / Das Elstertor|
When Martin Luther came to Wittenberg in 1508 he saw three mighty gates around the heavily fortified town. At this place in 1508 was the Elster Gate. In front of this gate was the Elster suburb.
On February 22, 1546, the body of Martin Luther was met by his wife Katharina and his children, the professors of the university, the council of the town and the citizens of Wittenberg. From here in a festive procession to his funeral at the Castle Church was accompanied by the ringing of bells. . . . — Map (db m70143) HM|
|Germany, Thuringia, Erfurt — Krämerbrücke / Merchant's Bridge|
Älteste urkundliche erwähnung als holzbrücke im Jahre 1117, durch Brand mehrere Male zerstört. In Stein erbaut im Jahre 1325. Die Brücke lag auf der Wegstrecke der ost-west-handelsstrasse Kiew-Breslau-Erfurt-Frankfurt/Main.
Oldest written mention of wooden bridge in 1117, destroyed by fire several times. Built in stone in 1325. The bridge was on the path of the east-west trade road Kiev-Wroclaw-Erfurt-Frankfurt/Main. — Map (db m77017) HM|
|Germany, Thuringia, Erfurt — Lehmannsbrücke / Lehmanns Bridge|
Älteste Erfurter Brücke, erstmalig im Jahre 1108
erwähnt, 1342 als steinerne Brücke mit 4 Bögen
errichtet, 1977 durch einen Neubau ersetzt.
Former Lehmanns Bridge
Erfurt's oldest bridge, first built in 1108
Mentioned in 1342 as a stone bridge
with four arches
Replaced by new build in 1977 — Map (db m77808) HM|
|Guatemala, Sacatepéquez, Antigua — Santiago Hospital and Francisco Marroquín — 1563 - Abril 18 - 1963|
Homenaje de la Legión de Santiago de los Caballeros de Guatemala al 1r Obispo de Guatemala Ilmo Lic. Dn Francisco Marroquín, Fundador del Hospital de Santiago, en el 4o centenario de su muerte
Tribute from the Legion of the Knights of Santiago of Guatemala to the First Bishop of Guatemala the Illustrious Francisco Marroquín, founder of the Hospital of Santiago, on the four hundredth anniversary of his death. — Map (db m82284) HM|
|Ireland, Connacht (County Mayo), Cloonlaur — Bunlahinch Clapperbridge — Clew Bay Archaeological Trail site 14 — Slí Seandálaíochta Chuan Módh|
| Bún na hInes - Bottom of the River Meadow
This clapperbridge is a very unusual feature in the West of Ireland. The word clapper originally meant plank in the Sussex area of England, where there are many examples. Clapperbridges are a pre-historic form of stone-built bridge. The basic structure consists of small stone piers or pillars, which are spanned by flat stone slabs or planks. They were designed to cross wide, flat streams and rivers, as seen here, and used as footbridges. . . . — Map (db m28058) HM|
|Ireland, Connacht (County Mayo), Cong — Monk's Fishing House / Teach Iascaigh na Manach|
| Monk's Fishing House
Fish was a staple in the diet of the mediaeval monastery, and this small building, probably built in the 15th or 16th century, is believed to have been used by the monks of Cong to make the task of catching fish a little easier.
It is built on a platform of stones over a small arch water from the river to flow underneath the floor. A trapdoor in the floor may have been used for a net, and monks could sit by the small fireplace in cold weather waiting for their . . . — Map (db m28068) HM|
|Ireland, Connacht (County Mayo), Killeen — Killeen Graveyard and Cross Slab — Clew Bay Archaeological Trail site 15 — Slí Seandálaíochta Chuan Módh|
| This graveyard is now in the area known as Killeen. There is no trace of the early Christian church but there is a circular raised platform within the graveyard which could indicate where the original church stood. Tradition has it that if a person found guilty of any crime placed a finger in the keyhole of the church door, he/she would be let go free.
In the graveyard, there is a large standing stone, leaning precariously, which was christianised during the seventh century with a Maltese . . . — Map (db m28056) HM|
|Ireland, Connacht (County Mayo), Murrisk — Murrisk Abbey / National Famine Monument / Statue of St Patrick — Clew Bay Archaeological Trail sites 6, 7, 8 — Slí Seandálaíochta Chuan Módh|
Murrisk Abbey • site 6
Muraisc - Sea Marsh
Murrisk Abbey was founded circa 1456 by the Augustinian Friars because “the inhabitants of those parts have not hitherto been instructed in their faith.” It quickly became the preferred starting point for pilgrimages up Croagh Patrick. Before then, pilgrims approached the mountain from AnTóchar Phádraig, which starts in Aughagower.
The ruins consist of an L-shaped building representing the long and narrow . . . — Map (db m27757) HM|
|Ireland, Connacht (County Mayo), Murrisk — Murrisk Friary / Mainistir Mhuraisce|
Murrisk - from Muraisc (Sea-marsh)
This small house of Augustinian friars, located here on the south shore of Clew Bay in the shadow of Croagh Patrick, was founded in 1457 by Hugh O'Malley. It was dedicated to St Patrick, some of whose relics were preserved here.
The only surviving buildings are the small church and the range of domestic buildings which bordered the cloister on its east side - the chapter house below, where the friars met to . . . — Map (db m27587) HM|
|Ireland, Connacht (County Mayo), the Doo Lough Valley — 1849 Famine Walk|
| . . . — Map (db m27687) HM|
|Ireland, Connacht (County Roscommon), Ballyconboy — 988:1272 — Cruachan / Cruachain (Rathmore)|
| Cruachan is traditionally said to be the inauguration place of the Kings of Connacht. There are a number of monuments spread over an area of about two square miles. These include a large mound, a number of differently-shaped enclosures and some ring-forts. One of these contains a standing stone alleged to mark the resting place of the last pagan king of Ireland.
De réir an tseanchais is ag Cruachain a dhéantaí Ríthe Chonnacht a ghairm. Tá roinnt séadchomharthaí scaipthe ar fud achar dhá . . . — Map (db m28192) HM|
|Ireland, Connacht (County Roscommon), Rathmoyle — Rathmoyle Cemetery|
| Rathmoyle Cemetery is unique in that it is the property of the parish and is maintained solely by the local population.
The site appeas on the 1st edition of the 6 inch O.S. series of maps for Co. Roscommon as a Mortuary Chapel with surrounding graveyard. It is mentioned in the 1837 O.S. Map.
The site was presented as a gift to the area by the local gentry, the Irwin's, in 1921 and has since been used as a local cemetery.
The surrounding wall was constructed in the 1930's through . . . — Map (db m28204) HM|
|Ireland, Connacht (County Roscommon), Strokestown — Mahon Dower House|
Mahon Dower House
in 1740's later used as
Scoil Mhuire Secondary
School until 1967 — Map (db m27538) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Fingal), Howth — Howth Abbey, St. Marys / "Mainistir" Bhinn Éadair|
| Howth Abbey, St. Marys
Sigtrygg, King of Dublin, founded the first church here in 1042. When this church was amalgamated with another on Ireland's Eye in 1235, it was re-founded by Luke, Archbishop of Dublin. Much of the present church dates from the 15th and 16th centuries. In the southeastern corner is a chantry containing the tomb of Christopher St. Laurence, carved around 1470, with the effigy of the Knight and his wife on top. Surrounding the tomb can be seen representations of the . . . — Map (db m27205) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Fingal), Howth — Howth The Village / Binn Éadair ______ — The Fingal Way / Sli Fhine Gall|
| A Fishing Village
References to the fishing industry in Howth can be found from the twelfth century, although in the seventeenth century the port was also known in the area as a base for pirates roaming Dublin Bay. In Elizabethan times a wooden quay was built but as vessel size increased the importance of Howth for goods and passenger traffic declined. In the nineteenth century various plans were put forward for a harbour at Howth and in 1807 construction commenced using stone quarried . . . — Map (db m27057) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Fingal), Howth — St Mary's Church / Eaglais Mhuire|
| Howth from Old Norse Hofuth (a promontory);
Binn Éadair (the hill of Éadar) is the Irish name.
This church, dedicated to the Blessed Virgin Mary, was collegiate; that is, it was served by a college or community of clerics, one of whom had responsibility for liturgy within the church as well as for matters of business. The house where the community lived stands to the south of the church.
The earliest church here was built by Sitric, King of Dublin, in 1042. It . . . — Map (db m27183) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Fingal), Howth — The Ready Boat Pillar — Sculpted by Seán O'Dwyer|
| Seeing the meaning
When viewing a piece of sculpture one can see many different layers of meaning. The clues given here are only the first layer of meaning and are meant only as a gateway through which you can go on your way to see meanings of your own.
All local stories, myths and legends are preserved to carry a message. Howth has a wonderful past and from it certain themes emerge.... exploration, conflict, healing and preservation. I have depicted figures in the Ready Boat Pillar . . . — Map (db m25301) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Fingal), Malahide — Malahide / Mullach Íde|
[Excerpt from marker]
There has been a settlement at Malahide (Mullach Íde in Gaelige meaning the Hill of the Hydes) since ancient times. The Vikings landed in 795 AD and the Danes were settled here from 897 AD. In 1185 the Normans were in control of Dublin and from the 12th century the castle at Malahide was developed by the Talbot family who remained in residence until the 1970's.
The village developed in the early 19th century and the small harbour was used to import . . . — Map (db m72714) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Laois), Borris In Ossory — Millenium Fountain|
| The threshold and other rough stone
was salvaged from one of the last
thatched houses in the village.
It was demolished in the year 2000. — Map (db m24721) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Longford), Lanesborough — fáilte go Lanesborough|
Brief History of Longford
Longford is a focal point of the northern midlands where the provinces of Leinster, Ulster and Connaught all converge. Longford, where history and literature, tradegy and triumph are all woven together, takes its name from the ancient stronghold of the O'Farrell family (Long Fort - Fort of the O'Farrells) who ruled from the 11th Century. Bordered to the west by the majestic River Shannon, Longford is a county of rolling plains and picturesque stretches of . . . — Map (db m27498) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Longford), Lanesborough — Lanesborough / Béal Átha Liag History 500 - 1900 AD|
| The Mouth of the Ford of Stones
The ancient name of Lanesborough is Béal Átha Liag which means “Mouth of the Ford of Stones”. Situated at the northern tip of Lough Ree, or Loch Rí - meaning the “Lake of Kings” - Béal Átha Liag provided the first crossing point on the Shannon north of Athlone. From 1000 AD, the bridges across the Shannon have been of major military importance, being a main crossing point between the East and West of Ireland.
540 • . . . — Map (db m27424) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Louth), Monasterboice — Monasterboice / Mainistir Bhuithe|
| Monasterboice — from Mainistir Bhuithe (the Monastery of Buithe)
This is the only early Irish monastery whose name incorporates the Irish word mainistir.
Monasterboice was founded by St Buite, who died around 520.
The monastery was an important centre of spirituality and learning for many centuries until the Cistercians arrived at nearby Mellifont in 1142.
The two churches which stand on the site today were probably built no earlier than the end of the 14th . . . — Map (db m24628) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Louth), Monasterboice — 98 — Round Tower / An Cloigtheach|
| Round Tower
The round tower was the Irish reaction to the Norse raids on monasteries in the 10th/11th century A.D. These tapering buildings, over 100 feet high, served as watch-towers, belfries, repositories for church valuables and as refuges for the community. The door, normally 15-20 feet above ground was reached by a movable ladder and the interior was divided into four or more storeys.
The present height of the tower is 110 feet. The level of the surroundings has been raised by . . . — Map (db m24693) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Louth), Monasterboice — 98 — The North Church / An Teampall Thuaidh|
| A 13th century reconstruction on the foundations of an earlier monastic building, used as a small parochial church after the monastery at Monasterboice had come to an end. It remains little of architectural interest. The east windows and most of that gable have disappeared.
Hatógadh an teampall seo ar fhothaí sean-mhainistreach, agus húsáideadh mar theampall paróiste é tar éis an mhainistir dul i léig. — Map (db m24694) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Louth), Monasterboice — 98 — The South Church / An Teampall Theas|
| At one time a church consisting of nave and chancel stood on this site. In the 13th century re-edification the west gable was moved back to add over two feet to the nave. The chancel having by this time disappeared, the plain round arch in the east gable was built up to give a single-roomed building.
Bhí tráth ar an láthair seo teampall ina raibh méánlann agus caingeal. Nuair a hathógadh é sa 13ú aois bogadh an bhinn thiar amach le 2'4" a chur leis an meánlann. — Map (db m24717) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Meath), Culmullen — Culmullen & 1798 — They Gave Their Lives For Their Cause|
| Erected by the People of
Culmullen and District
to the memory of the Men and Women
of Wexford and Meath
who died for their Country
and lie buried in the surrounding area
There were two periods of intense
Rising activity around Culmullen in 1798
Thursday May 24, 1798
Dunshaughlin was the rallying point for the United Irishmen of Meath, Dublin and North Kildare where a Tree of Liberty was planted. The following day, the rebels moved to one side of the Bog of Culmullen . . . — Map (db m33354) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Meath), Duleek — St Mary's Abbey — Duleek Heritage Trail|
| One of the great churches of the 12th century, St. Mary's Abbey, was built by the Augustinians on lands presented to them by Hugh de Lacy, Overlord of Meath.
In the 1500s a massive square tower was built alongside the earlier round tower. The latter is no longer standing but the ‘scar’ where it was joined onto the square tower is clearly visible on its north side.
Within the church are some early cross-slabs, a Romanesque pilaster-capital and the base and head of the South Cross, and . . . — Map (db m26384) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Meath), Duleek — The Lime Tree — Duleek Heritage Trail|
| William of Orange and Mary accepted the throne of England in 1698, supplanting King James II who took refuge with his ally and sponsor Louis XIV of France. The tensions between James and William would reach their highpoint in 1690 at the battle of the Boyne in Meath, where James was defeated.
In Duleek at the time there was a very significant colony of Huguenots (French Protestants) who had fled persecution in France.
Subsequently to the Battle of the Boyne the people of Duleek planted . . . — Map (db m24802) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Meath), Fordstown — Girley / Fordstown — Meath Villages|
| An introduction to Fordstown
Fordstown is named after the Norman-Irish Ford family, who lived in the area. One part of the townland is sometimes referred to as Ballaghboy. Today, Fordstown is a growing, vibrant community. ‘Fordstown Street Fair’ is an old world fair, hosted by Fordstown in October each year since 2004. Fordrew Rovers
Fordrew Rovers Football Club was formed in 1997 and play in Drewstown. They progressed from Division 4A to Division 1 in four years. They won . . . — Map (db m27318) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Meath), Kells — Headfort Place — Kells Heritage Trail|
| Headfort Place was purposely widened and lined with trees in the 18th century to make it a suitable setting for its attractive Georgian houses. It is also here that a site for a parish church was donated to the Roman Catholic community by Lord Bective. The original site of the church is in the area near the present church's carpark. — Map (db m27339) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Meath), Kells — Kells Round Tower — Kells Heritage Trail|
| This tower is located on the grounds of St Columba's church and was built in the 10th century as part of the early Christian monastery. Such towers were referred to as a cloigteach meaning bell tower. Modelled on early Italian belfries, they were used as lookout towers and as places of refuge during attack, particularly from Norse invaders.
The tower is ninety feet high from the original street level to the base of its roof and has six floors but no internal staircase. Access to the upper . . . — Map (db m26440) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Meath), Kells — Market Cross — Kells Heritage Trail|
| This 9th century high cross, the cross of the gate of the Kells monastery, is one of five high crosses still surviving in Kells. The cross of the gate, currently at or near its original site, was a termon cross and signified that a fugitive could claim sanctuary once inside the boundary of the monastic area.
The carved faces of the high crosses depict scenes from the Old and New Testament and were used primarily for the religious instruction of the faithful. These scenes may originally have . . . — Map (db m27341) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Meath), Kells — Suffolk Street — Kells Heritage Trail|
| Suffolk Street is an anglicisation of the ancient name Siofac, the meaning of which is today uncertain. The Annals of the Four Masters mentions a fire in 1156 burning the area of Kells from the cross of the gate to Siofoic. The name may be derived from the existence of a suidhe, a fairy mound, possibly a prehistoric tumulus, at the junction of Suffolk and Farrell Streets. A hillock at this site was cleared away in the early 19th century with the widening of Farrell Street. — Map (db m26424) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Meath), Loyd — Spire of Loyd — Kells Heritage Trail|
| The tower, a mock lighthouse, was erected in 1791 by the First Earl of Bective in memory of his father Sir Thomas Taylor. The architect was Henry Baker who completed the design of the Kings Inns in Dublin after Gandon. The tower has an internal spiral stone staircase and was used in the 19th century to view the horseracing and the hunt.
A section of land adjoining the tower was given to the Kells Union Workhouse in 1851 to be used as a paupers' graveyard. A famine road existed between the . . . — Map (db m27324) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Meath), Newgrange — Knowth / Cnogbha|
| Within the great mound of Knowth there are two passage-tombs and around it, eighteen satellite tombs. The site remained a focal point for over 4,000 years. There is evidence of occupation from 3,000 B.C. to 1,200 A.D.
This project has been part-financed by the European Regional Development Fund — Map (db m27219) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Meath), Newgrange — The Woodhenge/Pit circle / The Winter Soltice|
| The Woodhenge/Pit circle
If you were here 4000 years ago in the Early Bronze Age you would be standing inside a large wooden enclosure. The passage tomb was no longer in use at this time but the site was still a focal point for ritual and celebration.
Because the enclosure was made of wood, it hasn't survived above ground. However, evidence of it was found by archaeologists. They found postholes where the huge wooden stakes had been. They also found pits where small animals had been . . . — Map (db m22522) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Meath), Slane — Saint Patrick on the Hill of Slane|
| Long established tradition tells that St. Patrick lit the Easter Fire on this Hill of Slane in 433. In doing so, he unwittingly disobeyed King Laoghaire at nearby Tara.
The inevitable confrontation had a happy outcome: Laoghaire's druid, Erk, became a Christian (later, first Bishop of Slane) and the King was pacified.
The Easter Fire is still lighted, each year, on the Hill of Slane. — Map (db m22538) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Meath), Slane — Slane Abbey — Mainistir Shláine|
| Slane Abbey
It is believed that in 433 AD, the first Christian missionary to Ireland, later known as St. Patrick, lit a large celebration fire here on the Hill of Slane.
Soon after St Patrick, a monastery associated with St Earc was built on the site. But we know little of its history until the church was rebuilt in its present form in 1512, when Sir Christopher Fleming founded a Franciscan friary. The church was built to a simple plan but it has a fine bell tower; the aisle to the . . . — Map (db m22533) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Meath), Trim — Newtowntrim Cathedral / Ardeaglais an Bhaile Nua — Cathedral of Saints Peter and Paul — Ardeaglais nPheadair agus nPhóil|
| The priory of Newtowntrim was founded in 1202 by Simon de Rochfort, Bishop of Meath, for a community of Augustinian canons (priests). As well as functioning as part of the monastery, the church became the cathedral for the diocese of Meath after Simon petitioned the Pope to transfer his cathedral from Clonard to this site, where it could be protected by the great Norman castle at Trim.
The Cathedral of Saints Peter and Paul was one of the largest and most sophisticated churches built in . . . — Map (db m27240) HM|
|Ireland, Munster (County Clare), Kilfenora — Historic Kilfenora / Cill Fhionnúrach Stairiúil|
| Historic Kilfenora
The monastery of Kilfenora or Chill Fhionnúrach (the church of the white brow) is said to have been founded in the 6th century by St. Fachnan. The outline of the early monastic circular enclosure can still be traced in the curve of the roads to the south and west of the cathedral.
The early history of the site is obscure, with the first historical reference occurring in 1055 when the stone church at the site was burned. The material remains, in particular the group . . . — Map (db m23694) HM|
|Ireland, Munster (County Kerry), Dunquin — The Blaskets|
| This group, the most westerly off the Irish coast, comprises 7 sizeable islands and isolated rocks spread in a line west by south over 2½ miles of the Atlantic, the largest (Great Blasket) 2 miles off shore.
Antiquities of the early Christian period include oratories, crosses and “beehive” cells on Inis Mhicileáin and Inis Tuaisceart, and church ruins on the Great Blasket.
The economy of the islands, based mainly on fishing with some farming, in 1839 supported 13 . . . — Map (db m24096) HM|
|Ireland, Munster (County Kerry), Fahan — Dunbeg Promontory Fort / An Dún Beag|
| Dunbeg Promontory Fort
This Promontory Fort consists of four fosses (ditches) and five mounds. Behind this we have the terraced dry-stone masonry rampart, originally straight but which became curved during later construction work. The entrance is roofed and flanked by two guardrooms. The inner part of the wall is the older, the outer portion being added later to strengthen it. Inside the Fort are the remains of a large Clochaun, internally square on plan. There is a water drain around . . . — Map (db m24780) HM|
|Ireland, Munster (County Kerry), Gallarus — Gallarus Oratory / Séipéilín Ghallarais|
| Built around the 7th or 8th century this Oratory resembles an inverted boat. This is the only perfect remaining example of a number of small corbel-built Oratories on a rectangular plan. The outward inclination of the bed joints of the stonework directs the rain to the outside. There are two openings, the western doorway and the eastern window. The doorway has a double lintel, above which project two stones each pierced with a round hole; these may have served for the attachment of a door. The . . . — Map (db m23499) HM|
|Ireland, Munster (County Kerry), Kilmalkedar — Kilmalkedar Church / Cill Mhaoilchéadair|
| Kilmalkedar — from Cill Mhaoilchéadair (the Church of Mhaoilchéadair)
Kilmalkedar, one of the most important early church sites on the Dingle peninsula, is traditionally associated with St. Brendan but it was probably founded by St. Maolcethair who died in 636.
The present church, built in the middle of the 12th century, is a fine example of Irish Romanesque architecture. This style was introduced from England and the continent in the early . . . — Map (db m24299) HM|
|Ireland, Munster (County Kerry), Listowel — "River Fort"|
| This sculpture was designed by
local councillor and craftsman
The “Standing Stone” illustrates
the River Feale
which flows around our town.
The “Ring” depicts an earthen fort
situated in the vicinity of the town
from which the town got its name
Lios Tuathail (Listowel).
— Map (db m23989) HM|
|Ireland, Munster (County Kerry), Reask — Reask Monastic Site / Láthair Mhainistreach an Riaisc|
| Reask - from An Riasc (the marsh). This important early monastery was probably founded in the 6th century.
Little is known of the history of the site. The enclosing wall is roughly circular and its interior is divided by a curving wall into two parts. In the eastern part is the oratory (a small church) which was made - like all the other buildings on the site - with dry-stone walls with a corbelled roof; no mortar was used to hold the walls together.
Besides . . . — Map (db m24147) HM|
|Ireland, Munster (County Limerick), Abbeyfeale — Thatched Chapel Cross|
from thatched chapel
where many generations
of Abbeyfeale people
worshipped until St. Mary's
Church was built in 1846 — Map (db m24738) HM|
|Ireland, Ulster (County Donegal), Burt — Grianan Ailligh / Grianán Ailigh|
This large stone-walled fort, located on a hilltop commanding views over Loughs Foyle and Swilly and counties Donegal, Derry and Tyrone, was the royal citadel of the northern Uí Néill from the 5th to the 12th century. It was probably built some time around the birth of Christ. Its builders may have been attracted to this hilltop site by the presence here of a sacred monument - a prehistoric burial mound or tumulus, possibly from the Neolithich period (about 3000 BC).
A lintelled . . . — Map (db m71458) HM|
|Ireland, Ulster (County Donegal), Carrick — Carrick / An Charraig|
In 1907 a young woman from Carrick, who had emigrated to America was at the centre of a national controversy. Mary Cunningham worked as a domestic servant for the famous sculptor Augustus Saint-Gaudins in New Hampshire. It was claimed that Saint-Gaudins used Mary as the model for the new ten-dollar gold coin. At a time when there was still prejudice against the Irish, this caused a national uproar. The critics seemed to have ignored the fact that Saint-Gaudins was himself an Irishman. . . . — Map (db m72266) HM|
|Ireland, Ulster (County Donegal), Donegal Town — Donegal Castle|
Built in 1474 by Hugh O'Donnell. Destroyed in 1595 by Red Hugh O'Donnell to prevent seizure by the British. Rebuilt circa 1614 by Sir Basil Brook.
[Top view drawing showing evolution of the castle in] 15th century, 17th century, Modern — Map (db m71569) HM|
|Ireland, Ulster (County Donegal), Donegal Town — 6 — Donegal Castle / Caisleán Dhún na nGall|
Donegal Castle was built by Red Hugh O'Donnell, the young 'Eagle of the North', in the late 15th Century beside the River Eske. During the Plantation of Ulster that followed 'The Flight of the Earls' in 1607, the Castle, historic home of the O'Donnell's, was granted to Captain Basil Brooke who came to Ireland with the English Army in 1598 and fought in Munster. It is generally accepted that Red Hugh O'Donnell, who was proclaimed "The O'Donnell' in 1592, burned the castle to prevent it . . . — Map (db m71570) HM|
|Ireland, Ulster (County Donegal), Letterkenny — Gallaghers Cottage|
At this point once stood the home place of the late Jimmy Gallagher, his wife and family. Jimmy who was an employee of the County Donegal Railway, was a guard on the Letterkenny to Strabane train, when on 11th August 1941, he was fatally injured in a rail accident about 2 miles from Letterkenny. His son Patrick started to work on the railway after his father died, starting as an engine cleaner, then to fireman and finally engine driver. He had the distinction of driving the last steam train . . . — Map (db m71478) HM|
|Ireland, Ulster (County Donegal), Letterkenny — George Murbury|
Founder of Letterkenny Town
is buried in this graveyard
No. 276 — Map (db m71546) HM|
|Ireland, Ulster (County Donegal), Letterkenny — The Cathedral Square|
St. Eunan's Cathedral
Work began on Saint Eunan and Saint Colmcille's Catholic Cathedral in 1890. It was designed by William Hague. It is built of white stone from Mountcharles and cost £300,000. The ceilings are the work of Amici of Rome, while the wonderful stained glass windows, which illuminate the Sanctuary and the Lady Chapel, are by the Mayer firm of Munich. The carvings show stories from the lives of Saint Eunan and Colmcille. It was dedicated in 1901. The spire stands at 212 . . . — Map (db m71548) HM|
|Ireland, Ulster (County Donegal), Slieve League — Farming on Sliabh Liag / Feirmeoireacht ar Shliabh Liag — Walking Through Donegal — Ag Siúl Tríd Dhún na nGall|
Local farmers use the cliffs of Sliabh Liag as a grazing area for sheep. Hardy varieties of sheep suited to harsh mountain environments are raised to produce wool which was traditionally woven locally to produce the world famous Donegal Tweeds.
Baineann ne feirmeoirí áitiúla úsáid as Shlaibh Liag mar thalamh innilte do chaoire. Tógtar caoire de chineáil crua atá fóirsteanach do thimpeallacht sléibhe garbh le olann a shaothrú. Bhíodh an olann seo a sníodh le bréidín cháiliúil Dhún na . . . — Map (db m71630) HM|
|Ireland, Ulster (County Donegal), Slieve League — Fishing /Iascaireacht — Walking Through Donegal — Ag Siúl Tríd Dhún na nGall|
The sea has always been a central part of the lives of the people who live in this area. Fishing once provided an important source of income for many local families. However, today the industry is in steady decline. Donegal Bay, once busy with boats of all sizes, now supports only minimal fishing activity.
Is páirt lárnach do shaol na ndaoine a chónaíonn sa cheantar seo an fharraige. Chuidigh an teacht isteach ó thionscal na h-iascaireachta go mór le mórán de na teaghlaigh áitiúla lá den . . . — Map (db m71644) HM|
|Ireland, Ulster (County Donegal), Slieve League — The Bog / An Portach — Walking Through Donegal — Ag Siúl Tríd Dhún na nGall|
The principal fuel for heating homes in this area has always been turf, which is cut out of the bog. Cutting the turf begins around April or May when wet sods are spread on the surface to begin drying. These are then 'footed' into small piles to dry thoroughly. Once dried the turf can then be transported home in time for the winter.
The remains of old turf workings are very evident in this area and can be recognized as banks and steps across the landscape.
Ba í móin an príomh ábhar . . . — Map (db m71668) HM|
|Ireland, Ulster (County Monaghan), Clones — Clones Round Tower, Cross and Church — Cros, Eaglais agus Cloigtheach Chluain Eois|
These features were part of a monastery founded by St Tighearnach at the beginning of the 6th century. The 10th or 11th century Round Tower, the monastery's bell-tower, is the oldest surviving building on the site. Close by, in the graveyard, is a stone shrine, shaped like a church, with a worn carving of a bishop at one end. It is known as St Tighearnach's Shrine, and was probably erected in the 12th century. The head and shaft of the High Cross which now stands in the centre of the town . . . — Map (db m72654) HM|
|Ireland, Ulster (County Monaghan), Clones — High Cross / Ardchros Cluain Eois — Clones - Historic Town / Cluain Eois, Baile Scairiúil|
This is a 10th century Ulster Scripture Cross. Cap-stone, Head & Shaft are all from different periods. However, the main shaft is dated as above. Originally a termon or boundary cross marking monastic lands limit.
Also used as a teaching aid by the monks. Picture Panels depict New and Old Testament scenes. Crosses may have been of timber construction before coming of Vikings.
Picture panels. Read from bottom to top.
New Testament - Adoration of Magi, Wedding Feast of Cana, Loaves & . . . — Map (db m73258) HM|
|Ireland, Ulster (County Monaghan), Clones — Remains of St Tiernach|
Here lie the remains of
Of the Royal House of Oriel.
First Abbot of Clones Monastry [sic]
Bishop of Clogher.
500 AD to 4th April 548. — Map (db m73277) HM|
|Ireland, Ulster (County Monaghan), Clones — Round Tower / Cloigtheach Chluain Eois — Clones - Historic Town / Cluain Eois, Baile Scairiúil|
One of the earliest examples of a round Tower. Probably built in the 10th century. The base shows evidence of attempts to destroy by burning.
The Tower lost its conical cap between 1591 and 1741. Four top windows face the cardinal points. Old Irish name "Cloig Teach" meaning Bell House refers to original use.
Present height of Tower approx. 70ft. Circumference 50ft. Wall Thickness 3ft.-6in. Height of door 5ft.-4.5in. Originally 5 floors carried on offsets & joists. Single window . . . — Map (db m73266) HM|
|Ireland, Ulster (County Monaghan), Clones — The Sarcophagus / Sarcofagas Thighearnaigh Naofa — Clones - Historic Town / Cluain Eois, Baile Scairiúil|
Twelfth century representation of an early Christian Church. Carved from a single block of sandstone. Originally made to contain a relic possibly of Saint Tiernach. Carving on surface severely weathered.
Position of Sarcophagus probably in the area of the high Altar of the "Great Church of Clones" which was demolished during the Nine Years War.
More recently the tomb under Sarcophagus used as a burial place for McMahon and McDonald senior family members. Each family disputed others . . . — Map (db m73272) HM|