HMdb.org THE HISTORICAL
MARKER DATABASE
            “Bite-Size Bits of Local, National, and Global History”
  Home  — My Markers  — Add A Marker  — Marker Series  — Links & Books  — Forum  — About Us
Click First to browse through the results shown on this page.   First >> 
Show DirectionsOmit Marker TextClick to map all markers shown on this page.
Communications Markers
639 markers matched your search criteria. The first 250 markers are listed. Next 389
British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Amor De Cosmos, 1825-1897
[English] Amor De Cosmos (Lover of the Universe) was the name adopted by William Smith of Windor, Nova Scotia, while in the California goldfields. In 1858 he arrived in Victoria and founded the opposition journal, the Colonist. For over two decades his irrepressible pen and exuberant oratory championed the causes of responsible government and Confederation. He sat for Victoria in the Legislative Assembly (1863-74) and in the House of Commons (1871-82), and served briefly (1872-4) as provincial . . . — Map (db m49079) HM
British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Fisgard Lighthouse National Historic SiteLe Phare Fisgard, Lieu Historique National
Fisgard Lighthouse was built in 1860 as the first permanent light on the west coast of Canada. Although administered together with Fort Rodd Hill, it is a separate national historic site. There is no historic connection between the two structures. The lighthouse now contains exhibits on shipwrecks, navigation and the growth of the west coast lighthouse system. Various lenses and lightkeeping tools are also on display. Your most direct route to Fisgard is by the path that leads . . . — Map (db m75218) HM
British Columbia (Cariboo Regional District), Quesnel — Collins’ Overland International Telegraph
Promoted by Perry Collins, the U.S. Commercial Agent in Russia, and dependent on the Western Union Telegraph Company’s money, men and technology for its execution, this early telegraph line roused the enthusiasm of the white residents of British Columbia. At no expense to them the colony was to be a vital link in a line joining Europe and America via Russia. In 1867, after completion of the more economical Trans-Atlantic cable, construction ceased at Fort Stager at the confluence of the Kispyap . . . — Map (db m8853) HM
British Columbia (Greater Vancouver Regional District), Surrey — Historic Port ElginTransportation & Communication — Part of Surrey’s Built Heritage
River Routes Located near the intersection of the King George VI Highway and the Nicomekl River, the Port Elgin area has been a crossroads for various forms of traffic for thousands of years. For centuries prior to the arrival of the first European settlers, Natives regularly canoed up the Nicomekl River and down the Salmon River as they made their way to the salmon-fishing platforms in the Frasier Canyon. The Hudson’s Bay Company’s chief trader James McMillan and his party of men . . . — Map (db m63715) HM
British Columbia (Greater Vancouver Regional District), Vancouver — Nine O'Clock Gun
This gun is a naval type twelve pound muzzle-loader. Cast in 1816 at Woolwich, England, it was brought to Vancouver around 1894. The crests of King George III and of the Earl of Mulgrave, Master General of Ordnance are on the barrel. Gun restoration and pavilion were centennial gifts in 1986 to the City of Vancouver from: EBCO Industries Ltd.; Chester F. Millar; First Generation Capital Corporation; Hudson's Bay Company — Map (db m33868) HM
Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Niagara-on-the-Lake — The Canada Constellation1799-1800
On July 20, 1799, the first edition of the "Canada Constellation", Upper Canada's earliest independent newspaper, was published at Niagara by Gideon and Silvester Tiffany, two brothers who had come from the United States. Gideon had at first held the post of King's Printer of Upper Canada and, with Silvester, edited the government-sponsored "Upper Canada Gazette". Suspected of American sympathies, the Tiffanys lost their government support in 1797 and were succeeded by Titus Geer Simons. Their . . . — Map (db m75864) HM
Quebec (Memphrémagog MRC), Austin — Reginald Aubrey Fessenden1866 - 1932
Ce pionnier de la radiocommunication est ne a Bolton-Est. En 1884, il quitta le Canada et, pendant qu’il dirigeait une école aux Bermudes, il se donna une formation en télécommunications. Sa compétence l’amena aux États-Unis ou il fit de la recherche et d’importantes découvertes, notamment dans le domaine de la réception radiophonique. Apres 1912, il se spécialisa dans les questions de navigation. Il inventa une sonde sonore, puis, durant la Première Grande Guerre, un instrument pour repérer . . . — Map (db m74540) HM
Yukon Territory, Dawson City — Dawson Daily NewsLe Dawson Daily News
[English] The Dawson Daily News moved into this building in 1910, the sole survivor among 7 gold rush newspapers. It provided Dawson City with a window to the outside world and remained a profitable business until the early 1920s. Thereafter, it was essentially a one-person operation and shut down for good in 1954. By then valueless as a business, its true value was as a repository of Klondike history, faithfully recorded since 1899.

[French] Le Dawson Daily News s’est installé dans cet . . . — Map (db m49301) HM

Yukon Territory, Dawson City — Post Office/Le bureau de poste
[English:] Prime Minister Laurier himself recognized the need to link the Klondike with the rest of the country. In 1900, he urged that the building of a Post Office “...be proceeded with at once.” As the first substantial building erected by the government in Dawson City, the Post Office (which included a land registration and telegraph office) was the link to the rest of the country and to the goldfields. From the first, it was a source of civic pride, symbolizing Dawson City’s . . . — Map (db m44936) HM
France, Île-de-France (Paris), Paris — La Premiere Liaison Radioelectrique[The First Radio Transmission]
Cette plaque commemore la premiere liaison radioelectrique realisee le 5 november 1898 par Ducretet entre cette plateforme et le Pantheon (Distance: 4 km) La T.S.F. Passait ce jour – la du domaine de la recherche pure dans celue des realisations pratiques Dès l’origine la fontction d’antenne de télécommunication sauva la Tour d’une destruction programmée et n’a cessé de se developper jusqua’à aujourd’hui.

(English) From the very beginning, the Tower’s telecommunication antenna . . . — Map (db m60919) HM

Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Wittenberg District), Lutherstadt Wittenberg — Wilhelm Eduard Weber(1804 - 1891)
Erfinder des electromagnet. Telegraphen Geburtshaus —————————— Inventor of the electro-magnetic telegraph Birthplace — Map (db m69820) HM
Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Wittenberg District), Lutherstadt Wittenberg — 4 — Wilhelm-Weber-Haus
Education on the Campus The alterations to the Wilhelm Weber House as part of International Building Exhibition Urban Redevelopment 2010 are creating a place for dialogue between academia, business, politics and the public. The building dates back to the 16th century. In 1556, the town council installed a system of water pipes, to which the property was connected. The archway forming the entrance was also built at this time, although the doors were added in the 18th century. Since . . . — Map (db m69829) HM
Guatemala, Sacatepéquez, La Antigua — First Printing Press in Central AmericaPrimera Imprenta en Centro América
Esta es la casa donde se establecio la primera imprenta que hubo en Centro America año de 1660. El Reyno de Coathemala fue la tercer colonia Hispano Americana que tuvo imprenta. English translation: This is the house where the first printing press was established in Central America in 1660. The Kingdom of Coathemala was the third Spanish colony in the Americas to have a printing press. — Map (db m70414) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — Veronica Guerin1959 - 1996
Sunday Independent journalist, was murdered on 26th June 1996. Be Not Afraid Greater justice was her ideal and it was her ultimate achievement Her courage and sacrifice saved many from the scourge of drugs and other crime. Her death has not been in vain. Unveiled by the Taoiseach, Mr. Bertie Ahern T.D. 27th June 2001 — Map (db m24078) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Fingal), Howth — Howth The Village / Binn Éadair ______The Fingal Way / Sli Fhine Gall
A Fishing Village References to the fishing industry in Howth can be found from the twelfth century, although in the seventeenth century the port was also known in the area as a base for pirates roaming Dublin Bay. In Elizabethan times a wooden quay was built but as vessel size increased the importance of Howth for goods and passenger traffic declined. In the nineteenth century various plans were put forward for a harbour at Howth and in 1807 construction commenced using stone quarried . . . — Map (db m27057) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Fingal), Portmarnock — The Southern Cross MonumentBy Rachel Joynt & Remco DeFouw
This sculpture celebrates Portmarnock's unique role in world aviation history. This beach, known as the Velvet Strand, was used as a runway for the first successful East-West Transatlantic flight, on 24th June 1930. After a gruelling 33 hours the ‘Southern Cross’ landed at Harbour Grace, Newfoundland. It was the final leg of the first circumnavigation of the globe by aircraft. The pilot was Australian Aviator Sir Charles Kingford Smith, Co-pilot Evert Van Dyk, Irish Navigator Capt. Paddy . . . — Map (db m25788) HM
Ireland, Ulster (County Donegal), Slieve League — Signal Towers / Túir ComharthaíochtaWalking Through Donegal — Ag Siúl Tríd Dhún na nGall
Signal Towers can be found all around the coast of Ireland and date from the period around 1800. They were built as an early warning system to guard against invasion by France during the reign of Napoleon Bonaparte. Located on headlands, which had good views of the surrounding sea, they were in sight of similar installations to allow signaling between them. The tower visible here at Carrigan Head was built around 1805. Tá Túir Comharthaíochta le fail thart ar chósta uile na h-Éireann . . . — Map (db m71669) HM
Italy, Lazio (Rome Province), Castel Gandolfo — World’s First Mailbox
Città di Castel Gandolfo Il 23 Novembre 1820 Il Consiglio Comunale di Castel Gandolfo Composto da Paolo Mallozzi - Luogotenente Marco Troiani - Capo Pretore Candido Marazzi - Pretore Filippo Albenzi - Pretore E dai consiglieri Stefano Evangelisti · Giuseppe Togni · Giuseppe Bernini Giuseppe di Lucia · Francesco Marroni · Vincenzo Stazi Giuseppe Manufelli · Giuseppe Gasperini · Domenico Lolli Luca Campodonico · Francesco Alberti · Angelo Antonio . . . — Map (db m32347) HM
Philippines, Cavite Province, Corregidor Island — Corregidor Lighthouse
Corregidor Lighthouse is a functioning historic lighthouse located 6,972 miles west-southwest of San Francisco, 3,044 miles north-northeast of Sydney, Australia, 692 miles south of Hong Kong and 628 feet above sea level, on the topside of Corregidor Island, Philippines. Delight in the breathtaking view of the Manila Bay, the South China Sea, Bataan and a bird’s eye-view of the island from atop the lighthouse. The tower is 14.5 m (48 ft.) high. It consists of an octagonal whitewashed . . . — Map (db m64518) HM
Philippines, Manila, San Nicolas — Where “Ang Kalayaan” Was Printed
This house was occupied by Dr. Pio Valenzuela together with Ulpiano Fernandez and Faustino Duque, Filipino printers who turned out for Dr. Valenzuela and Emilio Jacinto 2,000 copies of the newspaper entitled “Ang Kalayaan,” giving Yokohama as the place of publication to evade suspicion. The first issue was dated January 18, 1896, but was not circulated until the middle of March. The second issue, in preparation, was seized by the Spanish authorities when the revolution broke out . . . — Map (db m25221) HM
United Kingdom, Northern Ireland (County Antrim), Bushmills — Alphabet Angel
Symbols and Meanings Backpack with Hearts Contains forgotten words and meanings of the Ulster Scots tongue. Heart 1 Represents the heart of the land and the soul of the place. Heart 2 Represents the heart of the people, the spirit of the language. Flying Goggles The protection of vision for the insight of dialect. Belt Pouch Symbol of renewed currency of an ancient spoken tongue. Thistle Icon Represents the shared cultural . . . — Map (db m70763) HM
Alabama (Calhoun County), Jacksonville — JacksonvilleCalhoun County, Alabama
Postoffice established July 20, 1833 as Drayton, Benton County, Alabama. Name changed to Jacksonville Aug. 6, 1834 and county changed to Calhoun Jan. 29, 1858. Office maintained by Confederate Government 1861-1865. Postmasters and dates of appointment are: James Lawson     July 20, 1833 John Lawson    May 30, 1834 John Lawson    Aug. 6, 1834 John D. Hoke    Sept. 9, 1836 Anderson Wilkins    July 1, 1841 Edward L. Woodward   Nov. 11, 1841 George Hoke   Nov. 2, 1842 John . . . — Map (db m36449) HM
Alabama (Etowah County), Gadsden — Gadsden Times-News Building
This Italianate brick commercial structure with a cast-iron storefront on the first floor is significant for its 24 year association with Gadsden’s principal newspaper. It was constructed in 1904 to house The Gadsden Times-News, which was established in 1867 under the ownership of two Confederate veterans, Leonidas Grant and T. J. Cox. In 1871 it was purchased by William M. Meeks and merged with rival The Gadsden News in 1887. The Meeks family published the paper until 1927 when the . . . — Map (db m39217) HM
Alabama (Madison County), Huntsville — Norwegian Light Beacon And Fog Bell
The light beacon and fog bell in Big Springs International Park were presented as a gift from Norway in 1973. The light beacon served as on of the guiding lights to the mariner from 1903 to 1966 being situated on the west coast of Norway at Langbakneset. It is typical of some 1800 beacons which have been erected on the rugged Norwegian coast with all its fjords and islands. The first beacons of this type were put in 1883. In the year 1973 Norway still uses about 1300 of these "oil . . . — Map (db m27905) HM
Alabama (Marengo County), Dixons Mills — Office of Joel Desaker Jones
Born January 15, 1861 - Died June 28, 1948 Marengo Co. Surveyor, Historian, and Journalist Author of Democrat Reporter Newspaper Column “Old Times” "He was a Baptist, A Mason, A Surveyor, an Old Timer" Epitaph by Joel D. Jones Sponsored by Linden Wood, Inc. — Map (db m73005) HM
Alabama (Perry County), Marion — The Alabama Baptist
The first issue of The Alabama Baptist was published in Marion, Alabama. General Edwin D. King, a Judson trustee, offered his office for use in printing and distributing the paper from 1843-1852. The building was owned by Milo P. Jewett, president of Judson College. The paper returned to Marion from 1873-1877. Since 1919, The Alabama Baptist has been published in Birmingham as an entity of the Alabama Baptist Convention. The original office of The Alabama Baptist, . . . — Map (db m70070) HM
Alabama (Winston County), Arley — The Party Line - The “Talking Machine”Historic Corner
Here was located the switchboard known as “Central”, of Winston Telephone, Arley’s Grand Old Party Line. Built about 1909 by Mimm Wright, with an estimated maximum of 25 phones, she was the pulse of the community. When one phone rang, they all rang; and everybody “listened in”. The system died piece-meal, as she was built, and breathed her last about 1920. Also housed here was one of the earliest known phonographs in the community, owned by Ed Baldwin. People walked for . . . — Map (db m42857) HM
Arizona (Coconino County), Flagstaff — Telephone Exchange1909
This building was constructed in 1909 by John W. Weatherford, the man who earlier built the adjacent Weatherford Hotel. It was the headquarters for the Arizona Overland Telephone Company, housing its offices and physical plant. Construction started in July 1909 and was finished that fall. Locally produced materials were used, including lumber, Moenkopi sandstone and red brick. The Overland Company replaced the Flagstaff Mutual Telephone Company, which had been a strictly in town . . . — Map (db m59966) HM
Arizona (Coconino County), Grand Canyon National Park — Trans-Canyon Telephone Line
Trans-Canyon Telephone Line, built in 1935 by CCC workers, maintained by Mountain Bell, has been placed on the National Register of Historic Places by the United States Department of Interior. — Map (db m4484) HM
Arizona (Coconino County), Walnut Canyon National Monument — A Community Sharing the Land
This was a community of relatives and neighbors. Its members worked together to haul water, hunt animals, and gather plants. They likely assisted each other with large fields on the rims. They shared walls and resources, joy and sorrow, success and failure. While cross-canyon dwellings may seem difficult to reach, a network of paths quickly closed the gaps. Close communication between households would have been common and necessary to a cooperative lifestyle. At least five cliff . . . — Map (db m61366) HM
Arizona (Gila County), Payson — Historic Mail TrailCamp Verde Arizona to Payson Arizona Mail Trail
This historic mail trail is dedicated to the memory of the mail riders named below and unknown mail carriers that braved weather, rough terrain and the Verde River to deliver mail 52 miles from Camp Verde to Payson, Arizona from 1884 to 1914. [Column 1:] Ashton Nebecker • Newton Tipton • Clarence Hann • William Johnson • William Lowthian • Mick Wright • Juan Portillo • Doc Lay • Richard Hopkins • James Farrell • Abner Heath • Will Heath • Gene Holder • Abner Greer • Henry Hunter . . . — Map (db m36063) HM
Arizona (Maricopa County), Scottsdale — Passing the Legacy
The western spirit of adventure is captured in a moment of connection between two Pony Express riders. A legendary American tradition established in 1860 was revived in 1958 by Arizona's Hashknife Pony Express-who have continued to deliver the U.S. mail on galloping horseback with their annual 200-mile relay from Holbrook to Scottsdale. This monument commemorates Hashknife's 50th anniversary in 2008. Commissioned through the Scottsdale Public Art Program 2008.001 Sculptor Herb Mignery (b. 1937) Bronze, 2008 — Map (db m49937) HM
Arizona (Mohave County), Kingman — A.T. & T. BuildingBuilt 1930
This building has been placed on The National Register of Historic Places By the United States Department of the Interior. A.T.&T. Building Built 1930 A good example of Spanish Colonial Revival style with Federal Modern influences, the stucco exterior and red Spanish tile roof highlight the unique windows and doors which have Art Deco detailing. The building was constructed on the original outer boundaries of Kingman's business district. — Map (db m29395) HM
Arkansas (Mississippi County), Osceola — Old Bell Telephone Building
Built in 1911 by a local attorney, R.C. Rose, as Osceola's first telephone office, the building features two louver-covered windows, a cornice dividing the two floors and two square pilasters with corbelled brick separating the upper 8-over-8 windows. The Episcopal Church converted the building to a parish hall in the 1950s. — Map (db m36707) HM
Arkansas (Mississippi County), Osceola — The Osceola Times Building
This 1901 office was the first building in "New Town," having been used continuously as a newspaper office since that time and remains the oldest and tallest commercial building in the city. The "Osceola Times," reporting on life along the Cotton Highway since its inception in 1870, is the oldest newspaper in eastern Arkansas. — Map (db m36408) HM
Arkansas (Washington County), Fayetteville — Butterfield Stage Route
This tablet marks a part of the Butterfield Stage Route from St. Louis to San Francisco 1857 – 1860 — Map (db m59888) HM
Arkansas (Washington County), Springdale — Fitzgerald's Station
Here on this, the Old Wire Road, was located Fitzgerald's Station on the Butterfield Overland mail route from St. Louis to San Francisco. First trip 1858. Last 1861. Longest and best conducted mail route in the world. 2795 miles. Service twice weekly. Fare $200.00. Time 25 days. 140 stations for exchange of horses and passengers. — Map (db m59950) HM
California (Alameda County), Fremont — Site of First Post Office
Site of the First Post Office In Niles Established 1873 William Synder Postmaster Annual Salary $12.00 — Map (db m63809) HM
California (Alpine County), Kirkwood — Snowshoe Thom(p)son(John Tostensen) — A True Pioneer
“…there ought to be a shaft raised to Snow-Shoe Thompson: Not of marble; Not carved and not planted in the valley, but a rough shaft of basalt or of granite, massive and tall, with top ending roughly as if broken short, to represent a life which was strong and true to the last. And this should be upreared on the summit of the mountains over which the strong man wandered so many years, as an emblem of that life which was worn out apparently without an object…” Attributed to: Dan . . . — Map (db m12028) HM
California (Alpine County), Woodfords — The Pony Express - Woodfords
During the initial five weeks of its operation in 1860, an important remount station of the famous Pony Express was located a few feet from here at Cary’s Barn. This monument erected by the Historical Society of Alpine County. National Pony Express Centennial Association; Dwight D. Eisenhower—Chairman, Waddell R. Smith—President, Sherrill Halbert—Director at Large. — Map (db m612) HM
California (Alpine County), Woodfords — 805 — Woodfords Station
Historic Woodfords Station, the Eastern Sierra gateway to the goldfields of California, way station of the famed Pony Express, and entrance to Carson Pass on the Emigrant Trail to the Sacramento Valley. Beginning in 1849 with the building of the “Sign of the Elephant” hotel by Daniel Woodsfords, it was the first settlement in what is today Alpine County. In 1854 Willis P. Merrill opened a trading post in the area and later a hotel and store. Dedicated in truth, liberty and . . . — Map (db m611) HM
California (Amador County), Martell — Amador Ledger
This newspaper was started in Volcano October 27, 1855. It was moved to Jackson in April, 1857. The Amador Ledger is the fourth oldest weekly newspaper in California and the oldest in Amador County. This building became the new home of the Amador Ledger in October, 1967. — Map (db m44139) HM
California (Calaveras County), Copperopolis — Calaveras Telephone
Present site of one of the last family - founded and - still - operated - by - that - family phone companies in America. Founded by Jim Tower, who strung his first telephone wires in 1895 tacked along posts of barb wire fences, earning himself the colorful nickname, “Barbed Wire Jim.” In 1900, Jim was franchised with Alexander Graham Bell to do business with the Bell system. Barb Wire Jim was born in nearby Salt Springs Valley in 1879, having been midwifed by Madame Felix herself. . . . — Map (db m57982) HM
California (Contra Costa County), Clayton — The Clayton Post Office
The Clayton Post Office, established on October 4, 1861, is one of the oldest post offices in continuous operation in California. Ensuring its continuation in Clayton was one reason for incorporating the city in 1964. During the past 140 years, the post office served from various locations in Clayton. The post office building on this site opened June 4, 2001. Clayton Historical Society, 2001 — Map (db m24534) HM
California (Contra Costa County), Lafayette — Dedicated to the Pony Express
In 1860-1861 Pony Express riders stopped in Lafayette 19 times to change horses en route to San Francisco from St. Joseph, Missouri Lafayette Historical Society 1992 — Map (db m24461) HM
California (Contra Costa County), Lafayette — Lafayette House
Dedicated April 23, 1998 Lafayette House Added Station By Diablo Foods Better Homes Realty - Lafayette Diamond K. Supply, Ltd. Lafayette Chamber of Commerce Lafayette Historical Society Pony Express Trail Association {reverse side reads:} The station site was located on the southwest corner of Mt. Diablo Boulevard and Moraga Road. It was called the "Lafayette House" and was operated by N.P. Lake. He ran an advertisement on April 28, 1860 that stated "There are good . . . — Map (db m24916) HM
California (Contra Costa County), Martinez — XIV — 736 Ferry Street1906
Built after the Fire of 1904 that consumed the entire block Occupied in 1881 by Contra Costa Telephone Company founded in 1881 by J. Borland which was sold to Pacific Bell Telephone Company in 1892 with R. Borland as superintendent for 40 years Law offices of Bray & Bray since 1961 Historic Marker No. XIV Martinez Historical Society October 8, 1999 — Map (db m53919) HM
California (Contra Costa County), Martinez — Morgan House
Dedicated April 23, 2000 Morgan House Pony Express Route Apr. 23, 1860 - Sep. 8, 1861 Home Station Apr. 16, 1869 - Sep.8, 1861 By James Stretesky Supervisor Gayle B. Uilkema Martinez Area Chamber of Commerce Pony Express Trail Association {Text on the reverse side reads:} The first Pony Express Rider through Martinez was Thomas Bedford on April 23, 1860, heading for Pacheco. Benecia was the home station where the rider from Sacramento exchanged the mail with a new . . . — Map (db m24369) HM
California (Contra Costa County), Martinez — Pony Express Ferry "Carquinez"
Dedicated April 23, 2005 Martinez By James Stretestky · Julian M. Frazer · Martinez Historical Society · Mayor Rob & Carole Schroder · Supervisor Gayle B. Uilkema · Vice Mayor Mark & Dianne Ross · Tesoro's Golden Eagle Refinery · Bart, Jane, Pete, Paul · Pat & Pam Bisio · Pony Express Trail Association Sponsors: Wells Fargo Since 1852 · Ray & Denis Fowler · Haute Stuff Restaurant · Robert & Susan Chandler · A.T. Bray Family · Thomas & Catherine Greerty · Romeo Family · . . . — Map (db m19224) HM
California (Contra Costa County), Moraga — 5 — Moraga Barn
Built in 1914 as a hotel by the Moraga Company for its townsite development. It later became the Moraga Mercantile and included the telephone exchange and post office. Since 1933 it has been a bar. Moraga Historical Society Marker 5 1994 — Map (db m49762) HM
California (Contra Costa County), Orinda — The Pony Express
Pony Express Trail This plaque commemorates the passage in 1860 and 1861 of the Pony Express riders from Sacramento to San Francisco through what is now Orinda. Sponsored by the City of Orinda's Historical Landmark Committee and the Pony Express Trail Association. — Map (db m29913) HM
California (Contra Costa County), Pittsburg — Pittsburg Post Dispatch Building
Built in 1923, this brick building was the home of the Coast Counties Gas and Electric Company which provided utilities to the City of Pittsburgh. The company closed its office in the 1950s and the building became a newspaper publishing and distribution center for the Pittsburg Post Dispatch. After merging with the Contra Costa Times, the newspaper closed operations here. In 1997, the Pittsburg Historical Society purchased the building from the Lesher Foundation and created a museum and . . . — Map (db m37423) HM
California (El Dorado County), Meyers — John (Snowshoe) Thompson
Send me men to match my mountains. These are words a great poet said speaking for the brave young nation that needed strong and brave men’s aid. In memory of John (Snowshoe) Thompson who, for twenty successive winters, 1856-1876, carried the mail on skis, over the Sierra Nevada Mountains from Placerville California to Carson City Nevada. Born 1827 in Telemark, Norway, he came to California in 1851. Died 1876 at the age of 49, and was buried in Diamond Valley, Nevada. — Map (db m434) HM
California (El Dorado County), Meyers — Yank’s Added Station
(back) The Hawley Grade from April 3, 1860 to November 17, 1860 was used by the Pony Express. On November 18, 1860 the new toll road down Johnson Pass (Echo Summit), today’s Old Meyers Grade, was opened to horse traffic and was now used by the Pony Express. It was built by David Demmen Kingsbury and John McDonald. This new route was opened to wagons on February 5, 1861. At the foot of the new grade was the Osgood Toll House run by Neamiah “Nemi” Osgood. The former . . . — Map (db m435) HM
California (El Dorado County), Meyers — 708 — Yank’s Station
This was the site of the most eastern remount station of the Central Overland Pony Express in California. Established as a trading post in 1851 by Martin Smith, it became a popular hostelry and stage-stop operated by Ephraim “Yank” Clement on the Placerville-Carson Road. Pony Rider Warren Upson first arrived here on the evening of April 28, 1860. Changing ponies he galloped on to Friday’s in Nevada to deliver his mochila to Bob Haslam for the ride to Genoa. Used as a pony remount . . . — Map (db m433) HM
California (El Dorado County), Placerville — Davis and Roy News Depot / Shelley Inch Building / Placerville News Company
Fisher’s Oasis Coffee House and Wadsworth’s Chicago Dining Saloon occupied this site from 1851- 1855. In 1853 F.A. Bee, founder of the Placerville Herald, printed his short-lived newspaper here. Early pioneer doctors, Harvey and Sholer and businessman, Davis and Roy purchased the property in 1855 and built a wooden two-story edifice composed of two portions. The building’s western half served as a post office while Davis and Roy ran their periodical depot to the east. Davis and Roy . . . — Map (db m65253) HM
California (El Dorado County), Placerville — Snowshoe Thompson
A Viking Son of Norway who fulfilled California’s motto: “BRING ME MEN TO MATCH MY MOUNTAINS” For twenty winters from 1858 to 1878 he was the lifeline between Utah Territory across the Sierras, and the new state of California. On skies he carried mail, medicine, supplies and information between Placerville, California and Genoa, Nevada, and mining camps of the Mother Lode and Washoe areas. He was a true pioneer of early California.... A legend in his own time. 1827 – 1879 — Map (db m12750) HM
California (El Dorado County), Pollack Pines — The Pony Express - Sportsman’s Hall
California’s only Home Station where riders changed on the Pony Express trail. Here, at 8:01 A.M. on April 4, 1860, Sam Hamilton, first eastbound rider, was relieved by Warren Upson who carried the initial mail over the then storm swept Sierras. Sacramento — Friday’s — Salt Lake City — Ft. Laramie — Julesburg — Ft. Kearny — Marysville — St. Joseph. — Map (db m613) HM
California (El Dorado County), Pollock Pines — 704 — Sportsman’s Hall
This was the site of Sportsman’s Hall, also known as Twelve-Mile House. The hotel operated in the late 1850’s and 1860’s by John and James Blair, a stopping place for stages and teams of the comstock. It became a relay station of the Central Overland Pony Express. Here, at 7:40 A.M., April 4, 1860, Pony Rider William (Sam) Hamilton, riding in from Placerville, handed the express mail to Warren Upson, who, two minutes later, sped on his way eastward. California Registered Historical . . . — Map (db m609) HM
California (El Dorado County), Shingle Springs — Du Roc HouseIn Search of the Pony Express — Historical Marker
Dedicated July 1, 2000 Du Roc House Added Station July 1, 1861 – Nov. 20, 1861 by PW Pipe James Stretesky Norman & Ann Root County of El Dorado American Suzuki Motor Corporation Pony Express Trail Association Sponsors are listed at the bottom of the base. [Rear Side of Marker:] The “Du Roc House” was only 175 feet due south from this monument on the road from Sacramento to Placerville. Starting on April 3, 1860 the Pony Express . . . — Map (db m50321) HM
California (Humboldt County), Eureka — Buhne BuildingItalianate Architecture - 1884 — Eureka Historic Landmark
Built for Captain H.H. Buhne; Humboldt County Bank, other businesses, residences, public hall, rooftop signal service station. This program made possible through a partnership with property owners Kelly and Kala Martin, Eureka Main Street, and the Eureka Heritage Association. — Map (db m61275) HM
California (Humboldt County), Ferndale — GPY 136-09 — "The Victorian Inn"
The Victorian Inn was built in 1890 with completion in 1891, and known as the Russ Building. The structure was originally built to house the Ferndale Bank with the Ferndale Enterprise Newspaper following. There were 33 rooms on the second floor; single rooms and suites. The amenities of the era included bathrooms, water closets and fireplaces. There were many stores including the Humbolt County Bank, the Ferndale Bank, and later the Russ-Williams Bank which became a part of the Bank of America . . . — Map (db m65289) HM
California (Kern County), Tehachapi — 24 — Former Post OfficeSite of Early Historic Buildings & Former Post Office
The current building, which was built to house the post office, replaced two older houses. It is now privately owned and houses offices of local businesses. Across the alley behind the building, there was once a small, tin building that housed firefighting equipment, including a hand-drawn care with hoses. That building can now be seen at the northeast corner of the Errea House Garden (Walking Tour Stop # 2). www.tehachapimuseum.org Maps for the walking tour are available at . . . — Map (db m71108) HM
California (Los Angeles County), Carson — Robert A. Cinader
Robert A. Cinader's involvement with the Los Angeles County Fire Department began in 1971 when he filmed a pilot television movie about the county's fledgling paramedic program. "Emergency" aired in 1972 and ran as a prime time show for five years with a weekly audience of 13 million people. The show brought attention and acclaim to the Los Angeles County Fire Department. More importantly, it showed public officials across the nation that lives could be saved by local paramedic programs. . . . — Map (db m50349) HM
California (Los Angeles County), Culver City — 4 — The Citizen Publishing Building
"Dedicated in perpetuity to the service of the people that no good cause shall lack a champion and that evil shall not thrive unopposed." The Citizen Publishing and Printing Company, established in 1923 by Eugene Donovan was the oldest independent newspaper under continued family ownership in the Bay District. This site on which the Citizen Building was erected in 1929 is a portion of the original Spanish landgrant Rancho La Ballona. — Map (db m50078) HM
California (Los Angeles County), Hollywood — Award of Excellence KTLA-TV
Award of Excellence KTLA-TV The first television station west of the Mississippi, KTLA-5 has been a part of Los Angeles broadcasting since January 22, 1947. — Map (db m32469) HM
California (Los Angeles County), Hollywood — The Hollywood Reporter
The first entertainment trade paper founded in Hollywood, California September 3, 1930 — Map (db m32462) HM
California (Los Angeles County), Los Angeles — Special DeliveryAutry National Center — Griffith Park
The Pony Express was an ultra-fast but short-lived mail service that ran between the East and West from 1860 to 1861. The roughly 1,900-mile route began in Missouri and passed through Wyoming and Utah before crossing the Sierra Nevada mountain range to reach its destination in Sacramento. Riders exchanged horses at more than 180 stations during this journey, which took between nine and ten days, and for which they were paid around $25 a week (compared to the going rate of $1 a week for skilled . . . — Map (db m76323) HM
California (Los Angeles County), Rancho Palos Verdes — Point Vicente Lighthouse
The site was explored by Juan Rodriguez Cabrillo on Oct. 9, 1542, and named Pointe Vicente Bante Maria by Captain George Vancouver in 1793. Placed in service by the U.S. Lighthouse Service on May 1, 1926, it was renamed Point Vicente by the Pacific Geographical Society in 1933. Operation was transferred to the U.S. Coast Guard in 1939. Radio distress monitoring capability was added in 1942. — Map (db m42108) HM
California (Marin County), Marshall — Beryl and Leonard Buck Hall
Originally constructed for the American Marconi Company, the powerhouse, a 2900 square foot concrete structure, housed the stations transformer, boiler, batteries and workshop. The Marshall Station, in conjunction with the Bolinas Station, made instant global communications possible for the first time. The Marconi property was purchased in 1981 by the San Francisco Foundation with funds from the Buck Trust. The California State Parks Foundation completed the initial development of the . . . — Map (db m73755) HM
California (Marin County), Tiburon — The “Harbor Light”
Built ca. 1922 after an earlier building was destroyed in the 1921 fire that burned most of downtown Tiburon. This two-story structure originally held a billiards hall and soft drink parlor which is believed to have operated as an illegal saloon at the time of prohibition. By 1955 the building had taken the configuration as seen in the above etching and had added a small “Harbor Light” sign. In 1970 the sign was enlarged as seen above with additional alterations to the . . . — Map (db m69201) HM
California (Mendocino County), Boonville — Boontling: The Lingo of Boonville
Storekeeper, W.W. Boone settled in Southern Anderson Valley among families that brought the Scottish and Midwestern patterns of speech in the mid 1890’s. Young men picked hops, sheared sheep, and displayed marvelous whit, cleverness, and intelligence to create a forceful descriptive 1,500 – word language harped by 500 residents. The versatility of Boontling is apparent; “Bucky Waltered my abeqled to a tidricks for bake chiggle and zeese.” Derivations : A pay phone cost . . . — Map (db m64259) HM
California (Merced County), Los Banos — Guglielmo Marconi1874 - 1937
Who giving voice to silence benefitted the world irradiating a new glorious light upon Italy I Figli D'Italia of Los Banos Devoted to their great country of adoption but unforgetful of their mother country, in perpetual memory of their admiration and great love Dedicated Dec. 19, 1937 Done by G. B. Ghilotti, Modesto Cal. — Map (db m41187) HM
California (Mono County), Bridgeport — Bridgeport Chronicle-Union
On this site stood the original office of the Bridgeport Chronicle - Union newspaper. In 1880, while still publishing the "Bodie Chronicle", the Folger Brothers, Robert and Alex, started the "Bridgeport Union". The first number of the Bridgeport paper appeared on May 15, 1880, and with the completion of the new courthouse, they were assured of plenty of county printing, so they moved their Bodie plant to Bridgeport, merged the two papers, and created the "Bridgeport Chronicle-Union." — Map (db m37622) HM
California (Mono County), Topaz — Topaz Post Office
Near this location, records show establishment of a post office at Topaz, Mono County, California, February 20, 1885. Discontinued in 1922, it was re-established in June, 1926. Nearby could also be found a school, way-station, blacksmith shop, and other facilities of the Rickey Land and Cattle Company operations of northern Mono County. — Map (db m50086) HM
California (Monterey County), Monterey — First Newspaper in California
Walter Colton and Robert Semple began publication of The Californian August 15, 1846 in the old Cuartel on this site — Map (db m63480) HM
California (Monterey County), Monterey — Griffin Plaza
Honoring Allen Griffin, 1893-1981, founder and publisher of the Monterey Peninsula Herald for his outstanding contributions to the City of Monterey. Allen Griffin was the vital force in founding the History and Art Association, the Community Foundation for Monterey County, and Monterey Peninsula College. He used his editorial skills and influence to preserve Monterey’s historic adobes, to advocate beautiful architecture and landscaping, to promote education, and to improve race . . . — Map (db m63509) HM
California (Monterey County), Pacific Grove — Point Pinos Lighthouse Oil House
“The Oil House” ***************************** The structure you see before you is a fuel storage house commonly referred to as an ‘oil house’. This oil house was constructed in 1899. In the 1880’s, before the conversion to electricity in 1919, the lighthouse signal lanterns were lighted by burning very volatile fuels such as kerosene. The high volatility caused several accidents and eventually forced the Lighthouse Board to build fuel storage houses away from the . . . — Map (db m63689) HM
California (Nevada County), French Corral — 247 — The First Long Distance Telephone
Commemorating The First Long Distance Telephone In the World Built in 1877, by the Ridge Telephone Co, it connected French Corral with French Lake 58 miles away. It was operated by the Milton Mining Co from this building which was built about 1853. — Map (db m40210) HM
California (Placer County), Auburn — Placer Press
Historical Landmark Nearby in this area 1850’s Placer Press paper 1855 to 1858 Above the pioneer livery stable Temple Saloon & Post-Office 1853 — Map (db m44088) HM
California (Placer County), Colfax — Colfax RecordLot 14 Bl 4 Crocker to Kohn & Kind -22 July 1865
Established Nov. 26, 1908 This office built 1930 ————— Plaque in Memory of Pat Jones, Historian Writer – Colfax Record 1961-1983 Author – The Colfax Connection Donor – Printing Press Flywheel Pat.— Oct. 25, 1881 — Map (db m45167) HM
California (Plumas County), Quincy — Feather Publishing Co.
Marker on Left: Feather Publishing Co. A tradition of newspapers serving Plumas County since 1866 Dedicated September 15, 1978 Marker on Right: Commemorating 125 Years of Journalism Serving Plumas County — Map (db m56551) HM
California (Sacramento County), Folsom — 702 — Folsom Pony Express Terminus
Gold Rush and Railroad town Folsom became the Western Terminus of the Central Overland Pony Express on July 1, 1860. The express mail had been run by pony to and from Sacramento. Beginning on July 1, 1860, the Sacramento Valley Railroad carried it between Sacramento and Folsom until Placerville was made the Terminus during July 1 - October 26, 1861. — Map (db m5090) HM
California (Sacramento County), Rancho Cordova — Pony Express Riders Memorial
To the memory of the riders of the Pony Express, 1860-1861 First relay station out of Sutter's Fort. Dedicated April 19, 1936 by the Native Sons and Daughters of the Golden West. — Map (db m61348) HM
California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — The Pony Express
This statue commemorates the glory of The Pony Express, which started here at 2:46a.m. on April 4,1860, when Sam Hamilton galloped into a blinding rainstorm on the first lap of the 1,966 mile trip to St. Joseph, Missouri. During its 18-month existence, its riders and 500 ponies carried 35,000 pieces of mail with the loss of but one pouch. This venture, founded by Russell, Majors and Waddell, ended California’s isolation from the rest of the Union. This memorial was made possible by a gift . . . — Map (db m11326) HM
California (Sacramento County), Walnut Grove — Delta Transmission Towers/Delta Cross Channel Gates
Delta Transmission Towers The Delta area is home to four separate transmission towers which provide reception for television and radio stations serving the residents of Northern California. Three of the towers rival some of the tallest structures in the world. The four towers are known as: Twin Cities Tower, McCormick Tower, Walnut Grove Tower and Sacramento Tower. Each of the towers can be seen directly to the northeast and southeast of this site. Twin Cities Tower – 2000 . . . — Map (db m37390) HM
California (San Bernardino County), Upland — George Chaffey, Jr.1848–1932
Man of Vision Land, Water and Power Father of The Model Colony Sponsored by Upland Sister Cities Association. Upland's Sister City Mildura, Australia, was founded by George and W.B. Chaffey. John Edward Svenson, FNSS Sculptor — Map (db m168) HM
California (San Diego County), Julian — 304 — Vallecito Stage Station
A reconstruction (1934) of Vallecito Stage Station built in 1852 at the edge of the Great Colorado Desert. It was an important stop on the first official transcontinental route, serving the San Diego-San Antonio ('Jackass') mail line (1857-1859), the Butterfield Overland Stage Line, and the southern emigrant caravans. — Map (db m51579) HM
California (San Diego County), Oak Grove — 502 — Oak Grove Stage Station
Occupied in 1858 by Warren Hall, Divison Superintendent, Butterfield Overland Mail which operated between San Francisco and the eastern termini, St. Louis and Memphis, from September 15, 1858 to March 2, 1861. The first mail stage from the east driven from Fort Yuma by Warren Hall and Jacob Bergman passed here October 6, 1858 — Map (db m51093) HM
California (San Diego County), San Diego — Birthplace of The San Diego Union
A pioneer newspaper of California Founded October 10, 1868 — Map (db m11661) HM
California (San Diego County), San Diego — Birthplace of The San Diego Union
This birthplace of the San Diego Union October 10, 1868 Oldest daily in Southern California, is declared to be a HISTORIC SITE IN JOURNALISM by San Diego Professional Chapter SIGMA DELTA CHI — Map (db m11664) HM
California (San Diego County), Santee — KCBQ “Top 40” Personalities1958 to 1978
[ Upper Plaque: ] In 1958, here at 9416 Mission Gorge Road, then owner Lee Bartell built the KCBQ AM 1170 radio broadcast facility with its 50,000 watt transmitter and six two-hundred foot towers. For many years, KCBQ AM 1170 was San Diego's only 50,000 watt AM radio station. From this location, between 1958 and 1978, many legendary radio personalities broadcast the best "Top 40" music, news, and entertainment to all of San Diego County. During this period, KCBQ AM 1170 was one of . . . — Map (db m35120) HM
California (San Diego County), Warner Springs — 311 — Warner Ranch House
In 1844, Gov. Manuel Micheltorena granted 44,322 acres to Juan Jose Warner who built this house. Gen. Kearny passed here in 1846; Mormon Battalion in 1847. First Butterfield Stage stopped at this ranch on Oct. 6, 1858 enroute from Tipton, Mo. to San Francisco; 2600 miles. Time 24 days. This was the southern overland route into California. — Map (db m51084) HM
California (San Francisco City and County), San Francisco — Brannan Street
This marker consists of six plaques arranged in a 2 X 3 pattern. The top left plaque is the title plaque and may contain some text. The top right plaque displayed an arrow which points in the direction of the named street. Other plaques contain biographical information on the person for whom the street is named, appropriate quotation(s) and relevant illustrations, cast in bronze. In February of 1853, the United States Topographical Engineers published their first detailed survey of . . . — Map (db m72551) HM
California (San Francisco City and County), San Francisco — California Star
On this site January 9, 1847 the California Star, the first newspaper in San Francisco, was published by Samuel Brannan — Map (db m71460) HM
California (San Francisco City and County), San Francisco — 941 — Farnsworth's Green Street Lab
In a simple laboratory on this site, 202 Green Street, Philo Taylor Farnsworth, U.S. pioneer in electronics,invented and patented the first operational all-electronic "television system" on September 7, 1927. The 21 year-old inventor and several dedicated assistants successfully transmitted the first all-electronic television image, the major breakthrough that brought the practical form of this invention to mankind. Further patents formulated here covered the basic concepts essential to modern . . . — Map (db m20900) HM
California (San Francisco City and County), San Francisco — 141 — Home Telephone Company
This historic building originally served as the headquarters of the Home Telephone Company, San Francisco’s first telephone exchange site. Built 1908 Original Architect Coxhead and Coxhead Renovated 2004 Renovation Architect Huntsman Architectural Group — Map (db m71944) HM
California (San Francisco City and County), San Francisco — Marina Air FieldStanley Hiller Jr.
There are two markers mounted on opposite sides of the flagpole base in the Marina Green This plaque marks the site of the Marina Air Field The first terminus of the United States Post Office Dept. Trans-Continental Air Mail Service The first scheduled mail-plane landed here September, 9, 1920 Presented by the Air Mail Pioneers Inc. At this site on August 30, 1944 Stanley Hiller, Jr. Pioneer helicopter designer, made the first sustained and . . . — Map (db m70028) HM
California (San Francisco City and County), San Francisco — Navigating the Golden Gate - Bonfires, buoys, and foghorns
Deep channels make San Francisco’s remarkable harbor accessible to immense ships. On the other hand, a narrow entrance, swift currents, high winds, rocks, and fog make navigating the Golden Gate treacherous. Early mariners looked for on-shore bonfires, painted rocks, and natural landmarks to find their way. Today, navigators rely on buoys, beacons, foghorns, charts, sonar, and satellite-based global positioning systems. Distinctive characteristics make some individual navigation aids . . . — Map (db m48641) HM
California (San Francisco City and County), San Francisco — Pacific States BuildingBuilding 1905
Headquarters of Pacific Telephone and Telegraph Company Category I Historically Significant — Map (db m71945) HM
California (San Francisco City and County), San Francisco — Pony Express
The first Pony Express rider to reach San Francisco on the final relay carrying mail from St. Joseph, Missouri to California, arrived in this city Apr. 14, 1860 aboard the River Str. ‘Antelope’. Led by a band and several engine companies, a concourse of citizens escorted the rider, mounted on his gayly decorated pony, to the office of the Alta California Telegraph Company, headquarters of the Pony Express, which stood on this spot. The Pony Express in operation from Apr. 3, 1860 to Oct, 26, 1861. — Map (db m58489) HM
California (San Francisco City and County), San Francisco — Pony Express Wharf
Nearby was the location of the Broadway Wharf. The wharf extended from Broadway and Davis Streets east to this location. All of the Pony Express mail that was delivered to and from San Francisco used this wharf. The Pony Express ran from April 3, 1860 to November 20, 1861. The Pony Express mail was carried by either the "River Steamers" of the California Steam Navigation Company that operated between here and Sacramento or the ferry "Oakland" that operated between Oakland and here. . . . — Map (db m63717) HM
California (San Francisco City and County), San Francisco — CHL 91 — Telegraph Hill
During Gold Rush days a look-out stationed in a structure on this spot observed and signalled (sic) the arrival of incoming vessels. By adjusting movable arms high on a tall pole and by hoisting national colors, he identified the nature of the ship arriving and alerted the town below. After four years, in 1953, this novel signalling (sic) system became obselete (sic) through use of electrical telegraph. This monument erected by California Historical Society July 20, 1961, on the occasion of . . . — Map (db m69998) HM
California (San Francisco City and County), San Francisco — 696 — Western Headquarters of Russell, Majors, and Waddell
This was the site of the western business headquarters of Russell, Majors, and Waddell -- founders, owners, and operators of the Pony Express, 1860-1861. The firm's main office was in Leavenworth, Kansas. W.W. Finney was the western representative in San Francisco. California Registered Historical Landmark No. 696 Plaque placed by the California State Park Commission in cooperation with the Society of California Pioneers, April 1, 1960. — Map (db m33775) HM
California (San Francisco City and County), San Francisco — William Randolph Hearst1863 – 1951
Founder of Hearst Newspapers began his newspaper publishing career with the San Francisco Examiner on March 4, 1887. Announcing:“The Examiner with this issue, has become the exclusive property of William R. Hearst, the son of its former proprietor. It will be conducted in the future on the same lines and policies which characterized its career under the control of Senator Hearst.” — Map (db m71869) HM
California (San Mateo County), San Carlos — San Carlos Depot
Erected 1888 Deeded as use as a railroad depot by John W. Brittan Site of the first San Carlos Telegraph Post Office and Library An Historical Site Dedicated 1976 — Map (db m41451) HM
California (Santa Clara County), Hollister — Bell Station
A toll road was built over Pacheco Pass in 1857 by Andrew D. Firebaugh. Later in that same year he built a tavern near this site, which became a Butterfield transcontinental stage stop. In 1859 the Pacific and Atlantic Company built a telegraph line over the pass and a telegraph station was established here. Lafayette F. Bell purchased the toll road, stage stop, tavern, and telegraph office for $4,000 in 1863. When a post office was added in 1873, the tavern and stage stop became known as . . . — Map (db m54036) HM
California (Santa Clara County), Palo Alto — 976 — Birthplace of “Silicon Valley”
This garage is the birthplace of the world’s first high-technology region, “Silicon Valley.” The idea for such a region originated with Dr. Frederick Terman, a Stanford university professor who encouraged his students to start up their own electronics companies in the area instead of joining established firms in the East. The first two students to follow his advice were William R. Hewlett and David Packard, who in 1938 began developing their first product, an audio oscillator, in this garage. — Map (db m3402) HM
California (Santa Clara County), Palo Alto — 836 — Electronics Research Laboratory
Original site of the laboratory and factory of Federal Telegraph Company, founded in 1909 by Cyril F. Elwell. Here, with two assistants, Dr. Lee de Forest, inventor of the three-element radio vacuum tube, devised in 1911-13 the first vacuum tube amplifier and oscillator. World-wide developments based on this research led to modern radio communication, television, and the electronics age. — Map (db m2604) HM
California (Santa Clara County), San Jose — Coyote Post Office
Now a relic from the days when Monterey road served as cattle trail; stage route, and Mission road between San Francisco, Santa Clara, and Monterey, Coyote Post Office was once the oldest surviving and functioning post office in Santa Clara County before its move to the museum in 1974. From its establishment in 1862 until 1882, Coyote Post Office was initially called Burnett Post Office after the surrounding township. It was originally located in Twelve-Mile House, one of the several . . . — Map (db m42293) HM
California (Santa Clara County), San Jose — Herrold Radio Broadcasting Station
Charles Herrold, a pioneer in radio, was the first person to transmit radio programs of music and news to a listening audience. Beginning in 1909, three years before Congress’ Radio Act of 1912, Herrold broadcast from his College of Engineering and Wireless located in the Garden City Bank Building at First and San Fernando Streets. His first wife, Sybil, was the first woman disc jockey in the country; together they initiated commercial radio advertising. A tireless experimenter, Charles Herrold . . . — Map (db m30335) HM
California (Santa Clara County), San Jose — 8 — San Jose Mercury News
The San Jose Mercury News was first published, on this site, on June 20, 1851. Known as the San Jose Weekly Visitor, it was the city’s fist permanent newspaper. The paper changed owners and mastheads several times before becoming the San Jose Weekly Mercury in 1861. In 1901, E.A. and J.O. Hayes bought the paper merging it with the San Jose Herald. Brothers whose vast wealth derived from their Ashland iron mine, they saw the press as a vehicle for political reform. The Hayes family controlled . . . — Map (db m52657) HM
California (Santa Clara County), San Jose — 952 — Site of Worlds First Broadcasting Station / World’s First Broadcasting Station
First Marker: Site of World’s First Broadcasting Station On this corner stood the Garden City Bank Building, where Charles D. Herrold established Station FN, the first radio broadcasting station in the world. As a pioneer in wireless telephony (radio), Herrold established the first station in 1909 to transmit radio programs of music and news to a listening audience on a regular basis. California Registered Historical Landmark No.952 Second Marker: World’s . . . — Map (db m30327) HM
California (Santa Clara County), San Jose — The Print Shop
This building, originally a residence, was built in 1884 in downtown San Jose at 91 North San Pedro Street near the corner of St. John Street. The neighborhood was an Italian American commercial district for one hundred years and the center of the Italian American community in San Jose. Beginning in 1926, the MenMuir family lived in the house for almost forty-years. The house was moved to the History Park in 1972 and transformed into a nineteenth century print shop. It is typical of a . . . — Map (db m52161) HM
California (Santa Clara County), San Jose — The Printing Office
Originally a residence, this building was constructed in the early 1880s and stood at 91 N. San Pedro Street near the corner of St. John Street. The popular Italianate style of architecture is seen in the top brackets and the decorative quoins at the corners. The “false front” gives the building a more imposing appearance. In 1972 the James Perazzo family donated this building to the San Jose Historical Museum. The interior was modified during restoration. Open to the public in . . . — Map (db m52160) HM
California (Santa Cruz County), Santa Cruz — Arthur A. Taylor
Founder Publisher and Editor Santa Cruz Surf Brilliant in mind, just in judgment, valiant in spirit, for forty years leader in initiative thought and action for the public welfare. He rests here in the place of his choice under the shadows of the trees and hills he loved. — Map (db m62436) HM
California (Santa Cruz County), Santa Cruz — Santa Cruz Main Post Office1912
James Knox Taylor, Architect Italian Renaissance Style State’s Oldest In-Use P.O. Bldg. Historic Landmark Santa Cruz Museum of Art & History — Map (db m62529) HM
California (Shasta County), Shasta — “Stage Drivers’ Plaque”
In Loving Memory to These Pioneers Who “Held the Ribbons” but Have Turned the Bend in this Road One of the best known and beloved men in California Williamson Lyncoya Smith • Aug 6. 1830. Born on a plantation on the James River, Bedford Co. Va. Named “Lyncoya” by President Andrew Jackson. 1822, family settled in Pike Co. Mo. Apr. 25, 1850, left Pike Co. Mo. with McPike & Strothers Express Line for California. Aug. 6, 1950, arrived in Placerville Calif. 1851, . . . — Map (db m1177) HM
California (Sierra County), Downieville — Mackerman & Company Building
Constructed circa 1852. Joseph Mackerman used the building as home and brewery. Since that time the building housed a drug store, meat market and California’s oldest weekly newspaper - - - The Mountain Messenger. This fireproof building, with iron doors, three foot thick walls and a four foot thick mud and brick ceiling is a fine example of Gold Rush architecture. — Map (db m43913) HM
California (Siskiyou County), Mount Shasta — Mt. Shasta Herald
Established Sept. 13, 1887 — Map (db m69862) HM
California (Siskiyou County), Mount Shasta City — Berryvale Post Office
Site of Berryvale Post Office. It operated from 1870 to 1887. Postmasters were JH Sisson, GL Lamphere, ET Keyser, Sophia J Fellows. The post office moved to the railroad station in 1887 and became known as Sisson in 1924. It was renamed Mt. Shasta. This marker dedicated by E Clampus Vitus Humbug Chapter 73 April 19, 1980 — Map (db m62786) HM
California (Siskiyou County), Yreka — Charles Peters Building328 W. Miner St.
The presence of this on an early Yreka map indicates that it was constructed on or before 1856. In was home to Charles Peters’ Yreka Brewery and Saloon, with the saloon occupying the front portion of the building and the brewery the back. Peters was one of Yreka’s foremost citizens dedicated to the community’s growth and development and served many years as the city treasurer. Extensive remodeling was done to both the interior and exterior of this building distorting its original configuration and “false-front” look. — Map (db m70095) HM
California (Siskiyou County), Yreka — Colton’s Block(Colton/Lauer/Wetzel Building) — 225, 227, 229 W. Miner St.
David D. Colton arrived in Yreka in 1851, mined for a time, established the Mountain News Herald, and at age 21 became the second Siskiyou County sheriff. His original 1853 hewed-log house on this site was replaced the same year by a brick structure known as the D.D. Colton Building. Although considerably altered in front, it stands today having survived the 1871 fire. E. Laurer (sic) and A. Wetzel were subsequent owners who operated clothing and general merchandise stores at different . . . — Map (db m70135) HM
California (Solano County), Benicia — Solano HotelIn Search of the Pony Express - Station Marker
[Obverse:] Dedicated April 23, 1997 SOLANO HOTEL Pony Express Route Apr. 23, 1860 - Sep. 8, 1861 Home Station Apr. 23, 1860 - Apr. 15, 1861 By Benicia Historical Society Benicia (N.G.S.W.)Native Sons Benicia Volunteer Fire Department Pony Express Trail Association [Reverse:] Sacramento to San Francisco Solano Hotel Station Site Passing Cordelia Pony Express rider Sam Hamilton could see Suisun Bay as he approached Benicia. Riding down First . . . — Map (db m29711) HM
California (Solano County), Dixon — Halfway HouseIn Search of the Pony Express - Station Marker
{Obverse:} Dedicated April 23, 1998 Halfway House Added Station Apr. 23, 1860 - Sep. 8, 1861 By Sidney & Diane Schroeder Family Ron Dupratt Family John & Patty Greiner Family Dixon Historical Society American Legion Dixon Post #208 Pony Express Trail Association {Reverse:} The station was located 90 feet southwest and called Halfway House or Silvey's Hotel. There was a telegraph and some other businesses here. The first Pony Express trip here was . . . — Map (db m29940) HM
California (Solano County), Fairfield — Rockville StationIn Search of the Pony Express - Station Marker
{Obverse:} Dedicated April 23, 1998 Rockville House Added Station Apr. 3, 1860 - Sep. 8, 1861 By Rockville Inn Floyd & Lillian Hembree Joseph C. Wolfskill Family Ramirez Towing - Rudy's Auto Body Solano #39 (NGSW) Native Sons Pony Express Trail Association {Reverse:} The "Rockville House" site was located on the northwest corner of Rockville and Suisun Valley Roads. This was a settlement and stage stop along the road between Sacramento and Benicia. . . . — Map (db m30619) HM
California (Solano County), Fairfield — Vezér Family Vineyard
This site was originally constructed in 1860 as the Suisun Valley General Mercantile & original Pony Express station. The Vezer Family provides this facility for the enjoyment of the families of this wonderful valley and gives special recognition to its pioneers. We dedicate this facility in loving memory of our son "John John". August 7, 2007 A special thanks to: Issam Mizirawi, General Manager Ron Nicoli, Project Manager Castle Rock Construction, General . . . — Map (db m25058) HM
California (Solano County), Vallejo — First Wireless Station
On a hill 300 feet south of this point, the first naval wireless station on the Pacific Coast was erected in 1904. Plaque erected in Sept 1954 — Map (db m26010) HM
California (Tuolumne County), Sonora — Original Site of the Sonora DailyVol. 1 to 20 Oct. 10, 1938 to July 1, 1958 No, 1 to 6104
First issue published Oct.10, 1938 and last issue published June 30, 1958. Incorporated in The Union Democrat on July 1, 1958. First offset-lithographic newspaper adjudicated by the California Supreme Court, April 15, 1950. Admitted to the California Newspaper Publishers Association in May. 1958. Printed by mimeograph from October, 1938 to December, 1949. Total number of copies produced: 12,104,372. O.K. Peckham, Editor, Publisher, Founder Evelyn L. Peckham, Associate — Map (db m53329) HM
California (Tuolumne County), Sonora — Site of the First Office of The Union Democrat
Established in July, 1854, the pioneer newspaper was published at this location continuously until 1954. First publisher was Albert N. Francisco followed by a colorful group of editors that included Prentice Milford, John and Ferdinand Van Harlingen, Judge C.H. Randall and Wm. H. Roberts, Judge Robert Ferrel, William Arthur and Lotus Greenwood. Printer Charles Blackburne spent most years on staff in terms of service. A most eminent columnist was Arthur C. Hender, whose items appeared . . . — Map (db m31909) HM
California (Yolo County), Davis — Solano House
Dedicated April 23, 1999 SOLANO HOUSE Added Station Apr. 23, 1860 - Sept. 8 1861 By First Northern Bank William & Linda Bernheim The Rotary Clubs of Davis UC Davis - Cal Aggie Alumni Association Davis Enterprise - McNaughton Family Pony Express Trail Association {The reverse side reads:} The river steamers for San Francisco left Sacramento at 2:00 P.M. every day with no trips on Sunday. The first Pony Express westbound mail was arriving in Sacramento at 5:25 P.M. on . . . — Map (db m24606) HM
Colorado (Denver County), Denver — 32 — The Rocky Mountain News
This tablet is the Property of the State of Colorado On this site stood the original home of Rocky Mountain News First newspaper established in the Pike's Peak Gold Region Founded by Wm. N.Byers, April 23, 1859, Champion of Law and Order in Jefferson Territory; "Advocate of Faith in emerging Colorado. Located on neutral ground between pioneer towns, Denver and Auraria. Building and press lost in Great Cherry Creek Flood, May 19, 1864. — Map (db m5780) HM
Colorado (Jefferson County), Golden — 1115 Washington AvenueCity of Golden, Downtown Landmark, Historic Preservation Board
The Colorado Transcript, Colorado’s second oldest newspaper, began here on November 24, 1866. General Gorge West, a Civil War veteran, and one of the founders of Golden and the Colorado School of Mines, started the paper. Constructed in 1870, it is one of the oldest commercial structures in Golden. The newspaper occupied the second floor while the first floor was used by Dr. James Kelly. This structure housed the paper for nearly 100 years. Originally, the building was brick with a corbelled . . . — Map (db m49892) HM
Colorado (Sedgwick County), Julesburg — Neither Rain Nor Sleet
The Pony Express mail service between St. Joseph, Missouri and Sacramento, California only lasted a short time in 1860-61, but its romantic image continues to captivate the hearts of the American public. In only 19 months, its riders covered over 600,000 miles and carried nearly 35,000 pieces of mail.

Russell, Majors and Waddell established nearly 200 relay and home stations along the route. Horses were exchanged at relay stations located every ten to twelve miles. Riders were expected to . . . — Map (db m47347) HM

Colorado (Sedgwick County), Julesburg — Overland City
Original home station Apr. 3, 1860 - Nov. 20, 1861

Reverse "The Leavenworth & Pike's Peak Express Company" started using the Platte River route from Leavenworth, Kansas to Denver, Colorado by August of 1859. A new station was built here at the Junction serving both Salt Lake City going to the northwest and Denver to the southwest. Located 1,212 feet north, "Julesburg" was named after Jules Beni their first station agent.

In February of 1860 a new company known as "The Central . . . — Map (db m47350) HM

Colorado (Sedgwick County), Julesburg — The Pony Express Trail1860 -1861
The first Pony Express trip between St. Joseph and San Francisco was 1943 miles. This first trip took 10 days. The Pony Express operated from April 3, 1860 to November 20, 1861. The trail was located 1100 feet North and Overland City was 6 miles West.

Original owners and operators: Russell • Majors • Waddell

Presidents: 1860 - Buchanan • 1861 - Lincoln — Map (db m47328) HM

Connecticut (Fairfield County), Danbury — 7 — The News Around Town– The Museum in the Streets – — Danbury, Connecticut
The first newspaper printed in Danbury was called The Farmer’s Journal and the year was 1790. By 1837, The Danbury Times was churning out a weekly paper on a small wooden press that printed one side of a page at a time. During the Civil War, James Montgomery Bailey, a Danbury native and Union War soldier, was hired to send back dispatches for publication. Upon his return to Danbury in 1865, Bailey and fellow soldier Timothy Donovan, a printer by trade, bought The Danbury . . . — Map (db m71135) HM
Connecticut (Hartford County), Hartford — World's First Pay Telephone
World's First Pay Telephone Invented By William Gray And Developed By George A. Long Was Installed On This Corner In 1889 — Map (db m44072) HM
Connecticut (New Haven County), Milford — Early Post Office Site
Site of Store In Which Was Located An Early Post Office 1824 - 1841 — Map (db m54715) HM
Connecticut (New Haven County), Milford — MilestoneOn Original Boston Post Road
Milestone On Original Boston Post Road Set By Order Of Benj Franklin Postmaster General 1735 — Map (db m26327) HM
Delaware (Kent County), Harrington — K-61 — First Rural Free Delivery Route
For many years the National Grange and other organizations interested in the welfare of citizens residing in rural areas advocated the establishment of rural free delivery of mail. In October 1896, the Post Office Department introduced experimental rural delivery in West Virginia. The new service was favorably received, and by June of the following year there were forty-four routes in operation in twenty-nine states. On October 3, 1898, rural free delivery of mail in Delaware was initiated . . . — Map (db m37476) HM
Delaware (Sussex County), Seaford — SC-155 — Old Seaford Post Office
A post office was established in this community in 1827. For many years it did a large shipping business by water. The coming of the railroad in the 1850s resulted in an even greater demand for postal services. For more than a century the post office was housed in a variety of privately owned locations throughout the town. In 1934 the United States Government purchased this site for Seaford's first publicly owned post office. Ground was broken in April 1935, and the new building was formally . . . — Map (db m4991) HM
Delaware (Sussex County), South Fenwick Island — The Fenwick Island Lighthouse
The Fenwick Island Lighthouse Erected 1858 In operation from 1859 to 1978 as an official aid to navigation Transferred to Delaware, 1981 Restored, 1982 – 1983, by The Friends of the Fenwick Island Lighthouse under the leadership of W. Paul Pepper, President With the assistance of: The State of Deleware The Fenwick Island Women’s Club Senator Richard S. Cordrey Richard B. Carter Randy Murray Earl R. Strausbaugh John Cziraki, Steeplejack Oliver . . . — Map (db m3027) HM
District of Columbia, Washington — National Intelligencer1800-1865
Founded by Samuel Harrison Smith and later published by Joseph Gales, Jr. The National Intelligencer for 65 years was a leading journal in the nation's capital, a vital force in the country's political life, a principal source of information about the government and for a time provided the only printed record of congressional proceedings. Much of its life, The National Intelligencer occupied this site. This plaque was placed in 1966 by Sigma Delta Chi, Professional Journalistic Society — Map (db m51471) HM
District of Columbia (Washington), American University Park — 18 — Live on Our Stage!Top of the Town — Tenleytown Heritage Trail
When NBC radio and television and its local affiliate, WRC, moved to these new headquarters in 1958, the average TV screen measured 12 inches. The facility opened with six studios—three TV and three radio. Soon history happened here. On October 7, 1960, some 70 million viewers watched as NBC broadcast the second televised presidential debate, with candidates Richard M. Nixon and John F. Kennedy facing four reporters. It was widely reported that Nixon used makeup to cover his 5 . . . — Map (db m47866) HM
District of Columbia (Washington), Downtown — Linotype Model 31Line-Casting Machine
The Linotype was introduced in Baltimore in 1883 by Ottmar Mergenthaler, a German-born inventor. By replacing hand-set type with machine-set type, the speed of composition was vastly increased by this important advance in printing. This machine saw more than a half century’s service molding lines of type from molten metal in the Washington Post’s composing room. It is representative of the very heart of the “hot type” newspaper production process which was used at the Post from 1888 to 1980. — Map (db m29511) HM
District of Columbia (Washington), Downtown — National Press Club
At this site, at the Willard InterContinental Hotel in March 1908, the National Press Club, now located at 529 14th Street, was formed through the adoption of a constitution and bylaws and the election of the club's first officers. The National Press Club was founded to provide professional contact between news reporters. It has grown into one of the premier journalism organizations of the world with thousands of members and activities to promote freedom of the press. Dedicated to . . . — Map (db m6586) HM
District of Columbia (Washington), Downtown — U. S. Post Office DepartmentAriel Rios Federal Building — Woodrow Wilson Plaza
Inscription above the frieze, center, west side entablature: The Post Office Department, in its ceaseless labors, pervades every channel of commerce and every theatre of human enterprise, and while visiting, as it does kindly every fireside, mingles with the throbbings of almost every heart in the land. In the amplitude of its beneficence, it ministers to all climes and creeds and pursuits with the same eager readiness and with equal fullness of fidelity. It is the delicate ear trump . . . — Map (db m49587) HM
District of Columbia (Washington), Georgetown — Restoration of Georgetown’s Call Boxes
Georgetown’s Call Box restoration project is part of a city-wide effort to rescue the District’s abandoned fire and police call boxes. Known as Art on Call, the project has identified more that 800 boxes for restoration. Neighborhood by neighborhood, they are being put to new use as permanent displays of local art, history and culture. The Georgetown project highlights the anecdotal history of Georgetown and its unique heritage as a thriving colonial port town that predated the District of . . . — Map (db m25313) HM
District of Columbia (Washington), Shaw — Washington Afro-American Newspaper Office Building1800 11th Street, NW — African American Heritage Trail. Washington, DC
The independent weekly Afro-American, one of the most enduring Black newspapers in the country was founded in Baltimore in 1892 by John H. Murphy, Sr. The Washington Afro-American began publication in 1932, and operated from this building from 1937 until the late 1970s. Howard University architect Albert Cassell designed the conversion of this formerly residential building into offices. Under the motto “A Champion of Civic Welfare and the Square Deal,” the . . . — Map (db m55538) HM
District of Columbia (Washington), Tenleytown — 7 — In Touch with the WorldTop of the Town — Tenleytown Heritage Trail
“Tenley Tower,” behind you, dates from the mid-1940s. Western Union Telegraph Co. built it as part of an experimental system using microwaves to transmit telegrams in the mid-Atlantic region. This new technology helped erase telegraph wires and poles from the landscape. In addition, the tower was designed to relay recently invented television signals, which gave Western Union and its partner RCA a decided head start in the television revolution of the 1950s. During the Cold War . . . — Map (db m51838) HM
District of Columbia (Washington), West Potomac Park — Air Mail
The world's first airplane mail to be operated as a continuously scheduled public service started from this field May 15, 1918. The route connected Washington, Philadelphia and New York. Curtiss JN 4-H airplanes with a capacity of 150 pounds of mail flew the 230 miles in about three hours. The service was inaugurated by the Post Office Department in cooperation with the Aviation Section of the Signal Corps of the U. S. Army. On August 12, 1918, the service was taken over in its entirety by the Post Office Department. — Map (db m17619) HM
Florida (Alachua County), Evinston — F-317 — Evinston Community Store and Post Office / History of Evinston, Florida
Evinston Community Store and Post Office The Evinston community store, originally a warehouse, was built of heart pine in 1884 by W.P. Shettleworth. it was bought by Joseph Wolfenden, who first operated it as a store. The post office, established in 1882 was later moved into the building. The present store sits 100 feet south of its original location. It was moved in 1956 because of road paving. Located across from the railroad depot, it was a meeting place then as now. Numerous owners . . . — Map (db m54240) HM
Florida (Hillsborough County), Tampa — "Cuba" The Official Newspaper of the Cuban Revolutionary Party1887    1898
 On this site was published the historic newspaper "Cuba," dedicated to the cause of Cuban Independence.  "Cuba" was the successor of "El Critico De Ybor City." Its editor was Ramon Rivero y Rivero, a great revolutionist.  In 1891 Rivero collaborated with Jose Marti in drafting the Basis for the Cuban Revolutionary Party. — Map (db m31940) HM
Florida (Hillsborough County), Tampa — Florida Sentinel Bulletin
In December, 1945, C. Blythe Andrews re-opened the doors of the Florida Sentinel newspaper at 1511 Central Avenue. The original Florida Sentinel was founded in 1919, in Jacksonville, Florida by Mr. Andrews' father, General William W. Andrews. The newspaper ceased circulation during the Great Depression. In 1959, Mr Andrews bought the Tampa Bulletin, merging the two papers, becoming the Tampa Florida Sentinel Bulletin. With a staff of seven, consisting of his wife, Johna, two sons, C. Blythe, . . . — Map (db m20052) HM
Florida (Hillsborough County), Tampa — Roland M. ManteigaJanuary 16, 1920 – September 25, 1998
Roland Manteiga chronicled events and politics that shaped Tampa and Ybor city and championed human rights for more than 40 years through his weekly column “As we heard it.” From his private table at La Tropicana Restaurant, where he broke bread with presidents and locals alike, this formidable owner and publisher of La Gaceta newspaper served as a conduit between power brokers and the powerless. As the conscience of the community, Manteiga became a legend in his own time. — Map (db m49927) HM
Florida (Martin County), Hobe Sound — F-624 — Camp Murphy Site
In 1942 the federal government opened Camp Murphy. It was the home of the Southern Signal Corps School during World War II and served as a U.S. Army base for instruction in radar operation in the early course of the war. The post was named in honor of Lieutenant Colonel William Herbert Murphy, a pioneer in the development of radio beams and equipment for military aircraft. Camp Murphy consisted of 11,364 acres and accommodated 854 officers and 5,752 enlisted men. The camp had close to 1000 . . . — Map (db m14314) HM
Florida (Miami-Dade County), Miami — Saving the Circle
The Miami Circle site would not exist today if it were not for the support of the community. Public outcry over the impending destruction of the Miami Circle led to additional archaeological research and preservation of the 2.2 acre parcel of land. The joint efforts of the public and private partners, led by Miami-Dade County, resulted in a successful campaign to preserve the precious site. South Floridians and others from around the world rose to the occasion by protesting and campaigning . . . — Map (db m65471) HM
Florida (Seminole County), Sanford — The U.S. Post OfficeErected - 1917 — 230 East First Street
The U.S. Post Office Building was built in 1917 by Algernon Blair of Montgomery, Alabama with James Wetmore serving as the supervising architect. The Post Office opened for business August 1, 1918. It is typical of buildings constructed by the U.S. Government up through the 1930's. When the new Post Office was finished in 1962, only two blocks away, the building became the City Library for Sanford, and in 1975 it became a part of the Seminole County library system. Architecturally it fits into . . . — Map (db m53081) HM
Florida (Volusia County), DeLand — Circa 1883
This site has a long history with the "written word." On April 7, 1883, the first issue of the Orange Ridge Echo was printed here in a wood-frame building. This paper later became the Chronicle, which eventually became the Volusia County Record, published here from 1905 to 1921. A June 17, 1905 article describes the current building being constructed with brick from Lake Helen. From 1922 to 1929 The Sun Publishing Co. occupied the building, printing the DeLand Sun. . . . — Map (db m46137) HM
Florida (Volusia County), DeLand — The First Post Office1877
According to early sources, the first post office in DeLand was in the rear of the Jordan & Lancaster store on West Indiana Avenue somewhere "between Woodland Boulevard and Florida Avenue." Dr. G. W. Lancaster, DeLand's first druggist, was also the first postmaster. In front was a hitching post humorously referred to as "The Buzzard's Roost." Folk gathered there in the afternoon to await the mail carrier who brought the mail by buckboard and on foot from the steamboat landing at Cabbage Bluff. . . . — Map (db m45603) HM
Florida (Volusia County), DeLand — The Opera House1910
This corner was the site of DeLand's first newspaper, The Volusia County Herald, first published on May 10, 1877 by Henry DeLand. It was succeeded in 1878 by The Agriculturalist, edited by Col. C. C. Codrington, Gov. General of the West Indies, who escaped with his family during a native uprising in 1870. With his newspaper, Codrington became important to the development of semi-tropic agricultural in Florida. From these two early newspapers came the E.O. Painter Printing Company, . . . — Map (db m45727) HM
Florida (Volusia County), New Smyrna Beach — Site of Sheldon's New Smyrna Hotel
This coquina foundation rests within a shell midden from the Timucuan Indian era. Mystery still surrounds the origin of this foundation. Jane and John Sheldon built a large hotel on this mound circa 1859. During the Civil War, the structure was destroyed by cannon fire from union ships. After the Civil War, Jane Sheldon built a smaller structure that served as a pioneer general store, port collector's office, boarding house and print shop, which published The Florida Star, one . . . — Map (db m74934) HM
Georgia (Chatham County), Garden City — 25-33 — Robert Sengstacke Abbott Boyhood HomeFounder of the Chicago Defender
From 1878 to 1889, Robert Sengstacke Abbott lived in the parsonage of Pilgrim Congregational Church, once located on this site. His stepfather John H. H. Sengstacke, minister of the church, published the Woodville Times. Abbott learned the printing trade here and developed his commitment to equal rights for African-Americans. In 1905, he founded the Chicago Defender, a newspaper that revolutionized African-American journalism. He fought to abolish Jim Crow laws and establish a . . . — Map (db m15782) HM
Georgia (Chatham County), Savannah — 025-37 — James JohnstonGeorgia's First Newspaper Publisher & Printer
Here repose the remains of James Johnston (1738-1808) - - editor of Georgia's first newspaper. A native of Scotland, Johnston settled at Savannah in 1761. "Recommended as a person regularly bred and well skilled in the Art and mystery of Printing," he was appointed public printer of the Province by legislative Act during the following year. The first issue of the GEORGIA GAZETTE appeared at Savannah on April 7, 1763, and with some interruptions publication continued until . . . — Map (db m5388) HM
Georgia (Chatham County), Savannah — Printing Office of James Johnson
On this site stood the Printing Office of James Johnson Official Printer of Laws and Paper Currency of the province. He was the founder of " The Georgia Gazette" the only newspaper in the colony. The first issue appearing April 7,1763 — Map (db m6488) HM
Georgia (Crawford County), Knoxville — 22 K-4 — Federal Wire Road
This highway, created by an act of Congress in 1810, entered the state at Augusta passing through Warrenton, Sparta, Milledgeville, Macon and Knoxville to Coweta Town (Columbus). It was formerly known as the Stage Coach Road. A telegraph line, the first that connected New Orleans with Washington, D.C., was erected in 1848. The wires paralleled this road between Columbus and Macon, giving to this section of the old highway the name of “The Federal Wire Road.” This telegraph line was . . . — Map (db m17702) HM
Georgia (Glynn County), Jekyll Island — First Transcontinental Call
First Transcontinental Telephone call was submitted by a telephone of this type January 25, 1915. Mr. Theodore N. Vail, President American Telephone and Telegraph Company talked from Jekyll Island, Georgia to Mr. Alexander Graham Bell, inventor of the telephone in New York; Thomas A. Watson, assistant to Mr. Bell in San Francisco; and to President Woodrow Wilson in Washington, D.C. — Map (db m18494) HM
Georgia (Gordon County), Calhoun — Historic Site in Journalism
The Cherokee Nation of Indians established the first Indian-language newspaper, the Cherokee Phoenix, on this site in 1828. Edited by Cherokee Elias Boudinot and later by Elijah Hicks, the Cherokee Phoenix was printed bi-lingually in the Sequoyan Syllabary adopted by the Cherokees, and in English, during the period 1828-1834. Marked this 30th day of October, 1971. — Map (db m65819) HM
Georgia (Harris County), Ellerslie — 072-5 — The Wire Road»—→
This road marks the route of the first telegraph lines from Washington to New Orleans, via Columbus, completed in 1848. The road entered Harris County at Mount Airy (later Ridgeway), 5 miles from here. A stagecoach inn, stores, houses, and schools there were almost swept away by the cyclone of 1875. On this road stood Bethesda Baptist Church, organized in 1828, later moved to Ellerslie. The home of Gen. Henry Lowe, near this junction, entertained Ex-President James K. Polk and other prominent . . . — Map (db m22377) HM
Georgia (Monroe County), Forsyth — 41 K-4 — Where Uncle Remus Came of Age
One block east stood the old office of The Monroe Advertiser, where Joel Chandler Harris, creator of “Uncle Remus,” came in 1867, as a boy of nineteen, to work until 1870. Here he advanced from printer’s devil to accomplished journalist. Of his duties, Harris said: “I set all the type, pulled the press, kept the books, swept the floor and wrapped the papers for mailing.” His typestand is still in use at the present office of The Monroe Advertiser. — Map (db m25354) HM
Georgia (Muscogee County), Columbus — 106-26 — Col. W. L. Salisbury
This park is named for Col. W. L. Salisbury (1830-1878), soldier, editor, banker, distinguished citizen of Columbus whose contribution to progress and culture in his native city was outstanding. His home was on the east side of this block. He was a member of the Georgia Greys, Fifth Georgia Regiment, the second group from Columbus to join the Confederate army. A major from early in the war, he fought with honor in many engagements. Col. Salisbury was a leader of a group of citizens whose . . . — Map (db m22772) HM
Georgia (Muscogee County), Columbus — The Ledger-Enquirer Newspapers
The Columbus Enquirer and The Columbus Ledger have been published from this site since 1930. The Enquirer was founded in 1828 by Mirabeau Bounaparte Lamar, later the second president of the Republic of Texas. The Ledger was founded in 1886 by Edward T. Byington and his wife, Ella G. Byington. In 1893, The Ledger was purchased by Rinaldo William Page. The Page family purchased the Enquirer in 1930 and owned both newspapers until they were sold to Knight Newspapers, Inc., now Knight-Ridder Inc., . . . — Map (db m22873) HM
Georgia (Richmond County), Augusta — Bell System at Augusta, Georgia
[Bell System Logo] The first telephone exchange in the State of Georgia was established at Augusta, Georgia August 1, 1879 With seventy eight subscribers, this was only three years after Alexander Graham Bell invented the telephone. This plaque presented by Dixie Chapter Telephone Pioneers of America March 25,1953 — Map (db m10038) HM
Georgia (Richmond County), Augusta — 121-35 — Birthplace of the Augusta Chronicle
On this site August 30, 1785, Greenburg Hughes published Augusta`s first newspaper, the Augusta Gazette, which continued, after he went to Charleston, until September 30, 1786, when John Erdman Smith, State Printer, began publishing the Georgia State Gazette or Independent Register, which on April 11, 1789, became Augusta Chronicle and Gazette of the State; in 1819 name was changed to Augusta Chronicle and Georgia Gazette; in 1820, to Augusta Chronicle; in 1821, to Augusta Chronicle and Georgia . . . — Map (db m10092) HM
Georgia (Richmond County), Augusta — Historic Site in Journalism
The Augusta Chronicle is the South's oldest surviving newspaper, in continuous publication. The Chronicle was founded on September 30, 1786. It dates its origins back to August 30, 1785 and the founding of The Augusta Gazette which later became part of the Chronicle. Marked this 30th day of August, 1973 by SIGMA DELTA CHI Professional Journalism Society — Map (db m10102) HM
Georgia (Richmond County), Augusta — James Ryder Randall1839 — 1908
"Better the fire upon thee roll, Better the blade, the shot, the bowl, Than Crucifixion of the soul, Maryland! My Maryland!" — Map (db m10106) HM
Georgia (Taylor County), Butler — 133-3A — The Wire Road
The Wire Road, named for a line of telegraph wire once stretched along it, formed a part of the stage highway from Richmond to New Orleans. About 3 miles from the Flint River on this road is the Crowell Methodist Church, founded in 1826, on the site of an Indian Agency. Near the church were stables where fresh horses were kept for stagecoaches. Near Fickling’s Mill was an inn where travelers on coaches spent the night. Many noted guests, including General LaFayette, were entertained at the . . . — Map (db m27181) HM
Georgia (Warren County), Norwood — 149-2 — The Original R.F.D.
In 1868 at Norwood six men along a five mile rural route hired Jerry Parsons, a Negro who could not read, to deliver and collect mail at their homes each day except Sundays and holidays for his food and clothing. The postmaster at Norwood each morning arranged the mail in correct order and “Uncle Jerry” began his ten mile walk covering, in all, 3,110 miles. Sen. Thomas Watson, then a boy clerking for Hon. T.E. Massengale, observed this perfect plan for Rural Free Delivery. In . . . — Map (db m16000) HM
Georgia (Wilkes County), Washington — 157-32 — Home of Sarah Hillhouse
This Federal style house was begun in 1814, by Sarah Porter Hillhouse who came to Washington in 1786, from Connecticut with her husband David. In 1801, David purchased the town’s first newspaper The Monitor, and when he died in 1803, Sarah became the first woman in Georgia to edit and publish a newspaper which she continued to run for more than a decade, along with the print shop her husband had established. Here she also printed the official records of the state legislature. Articles in . . . — Map (db m25575) HM
Hawaii (Hawaii County), Waikoloa Village — The Waikoloa Petroglyph Field
Before you lies one of the major concentrations of ancient rock carvings in the Hawaiian Islands. Boundaries were not crossed casually in old Hawaii, and the thousands of surface carvings here, just north of the border between the ancient kingdoms of Kohala and Kona, suggest that many may have a religious or commemorative meaning to the event of crossing that border. Groups waiting for permission to cross, or armies poised to defend the border or attack it, made simple encampments using . . . — Map (db m4247) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — Jack BrickhouseHall of Fame Broadcaster — 1917-1998
[Front:] [Artwork motif of Wrigley Field, Soldier Field and Comiskey Park.] 'Hey Hey' [Left Side:] Inducted into Media Wing of Baseball Hall of Fame, Cooperstown, NY, in 1983, and 13 other Halls of Fame throughout the nation. Broadcasted for Chicago Cubs – 40 years; Chicago White Sox – 27 years; Chicago Bears - 24 years; 1st TV voice for Chicago Bulls. 1962 – play by play announcer for 1st satellite telecast. Recipient of . . . — Map (db m47668) HM
Illinois (Fayette County), Vandalia — Cumberland Road
Vandalia was the western terminus of the Cumberland or National Road which extended eighty feet wide for 591 miles from Cumberland, Maryland through Pennsylvania, Ohio, and Indiana. Illinois construction by the Federal Government began in 1811 and ceased in 1838, the approximate cost being seven million dollars. — Map (db m42345) HM
Illinois (Fayette County), Vandalia — Mary Hall and son JamesJan. 22, 1799-Aug. 18, 1832 [and] Aug. 10, 1832-Oct. 5, 1832
Wife, born in Kentucky, and son of James Hall, first Man of Letters in Illinois. State Treasurer 1827-31. President of first state historical society 1827-33. Author of first book of literary style in Illinois 1828. Trustee of Illinois College 1829. Editor of first western annual 1828, of "Illinois Intelligencer" 1829-32, of first literary magazine of Illinois 1830-32 and author of "Legends of the West" 1832. — Map (db m42388) HM
Illinois (Fayette County), Vandalia — Public Printer
This is the site of a two-story frame building occupied by Robert Blackwell, State Printer 1818-1832, and publisher of the Laws of the United States. In 1823 he became publisher of the Illinois Intelligencer newspaper. The first periodical in Illinois, the Illinois Monthly Magazine, was printed here in 1826. Colonel Blackwell [1792-1866] was a member of the Illinois House of Representatives 1832-1836 and Senate 1838-1840. — Map (db m42348) HM
Illinois (McHenry County), Union — Early Railroad Signals
In the earliest days of railroading, train movements were controlled by flagmen, station agents, or other workers alongside the tracks, using flag or lantern signals to stop or start trains as needed. The first practical mechanical wayside signals, developed in the mid-1800's, used large colored balls manually moved up or down a tall pole with a rope. A ball at the top of the pole meant "clear to proceed" (even today, railroaders refer to a signal to proceed as a "highball," one of many . . . — Map (db m39267) HM
Illinois (McHenry County), Union — Railroad Standard Time
Before 1883, clocks were set to local "sun time," where noon was the time when the sun was highest in the local sky. Use of sun time meant that each town's time was different; Chicago would be nearly 5 minutes ahead of Rockford, or 15 minutes behind Detroit. Such time differences played havoc with railroad schedules. The General Time Convention of Railroad Managers, meeting in Chicago in November 1883, established four time zones (Eastern, Central, Mountain, and Pacific) for the continental . . . — Map (db m39265) HM
Illinois (McLean County), Bloomington — Asahel Gridley's Bank
"My line of defense is going to be that your tongue is no slanderer...that the people generally know you to be, impulsive and say things that you do not mean, and they do not consider what you say as slander," was Lincoln's defense of Gridley in a slander suit brought by William Flagg. Known for emphatic language and intemperate outbursts. Gridley was a key element in the development of Central Illinois. At Jesse Fell's encouragement, Gridley became a lawyer. As a lawyer, as a . . . — Map (db m57379) HM
Illinois (McLean County), Bloomington — The Phoenix Block
"Herewith is a little sketch...there is not much of it...I suppose, that there is not much of me." Lincoln thus fulfilled Jesse Fell's 1858 request for an autobiography. Catching Lincoln as he emerged from the courthouse, Fell invited Lincoln to meet in his brother's law office on the second floor of the Phoenix Block. Lincoln had gained national attention because of the 1858 Lincoln-Douglas senatorial election debates, a race which he lost. Fell told Lincoln that if his views . . . — Map (db m57553) HM
Illinois (Sangamon County), Springfield — Illinois State Register
November 1858 Register notices published on Election Day and the day after---documenting the end of the heated and hectic Lincoln-Douglas Senatorial contest.

When the seat of government left Vandalia in 1839, the former capital;s Democratic newspaper---the Illinois State Register---followed. Its offices were here on the north side of Adams Street. Register editors William Walters and George Weber (and later, George Walker and Charles Lanphier) lived in a time when . . . — Map (db m48901) HM

Illinois (Sangamon County), Springfield — The Lyceum
Lyceums were community associations that sponsored lectures, debates, and discussions. Eastern Protestant missionaries and educators brought the concept to frontier Illinois. Promoters hoped their Lyceums would disseminate knowledge and encourage civic responsibility. Townspeople hoped attendance would help them climb the ladder of middle-class respectability. Aspiring local leaders used them as forums for honing their oratorical and analytic skills. In Lincoln's day there were over . . . — Map (db m57166) HM
Illinois (White County), Grayville — Vincennes to Shawneetown Stage Coach Line
On July 1, 1838, the Vincennes to Shawneetown Stage Coach Line began operations and made regular stops at a log cabin hotel located on this corner. The stage carried passengers and provided mail service for the first time in this area. — Map (db m61787) HM
Indiana (Allen County), Fort Wayne — Fort Wayne ~ Fort Dearborn Trail
An ancient Indian trail, through Pottawattomie country, variably called the Dragoon, White Pigeon, Great Northwestern and Fort Dearborn Road. After 1795 used for mail delivery between Fort Wayne and Fort Dearborn. Captain Wells, Wayne spy, was slain along this route. — Map (db m20782) HM
Indiana (Delaware County), Muncie — 18.2011.1 — Hemingray Glass Company
Side A Founded as Gray & Hemingray in Cincinnati, Ohio in 1848. Incorporated 1870 in Covington, Kentucky; company produced glass bottles, jars, oil lamps, light globes, tableware and insulators. After discovery of natural gas in east-central Indiana, Hemingray Glass Co. located factory here, 1888, and contributed to significant industrial growth of Muncie and state.

Side B By 1900, Hemingray had become a world leader of glass insulator manufacturing. . . . — Map (db m65208) HM

Indiana (Fountain County), Attica — 23.2005.1 — Attica’s Carnegie Library
Ladies Library Association of Attica, created 1885, deeded its library building to city; city library opened 1902 with a collection of 1,500 books. Funds from Andrew Carnegie made it possible to build a new library here on land originally owned by Daniel Stump. It opened 1904. Building is Neoclassical design. Tall Crane fountains placed in front. Library underwent major interior renovation 1988; complementary addition completed 1995. Library included in Brady Street Historic District, . . . — Map (db m3317) HM
Indiana (Fountain County), Veedersburg — Curfew Bell
Erected by the town of Veedersburg in memory of Cal Scherer who used old Curfew Bell over 30 years. —Board of Trustees: Leon L. Ewbank, L. R. Owens M.D., Leon Wiggins. — Map (db m34092) HM
Indiana (Hamilton County), Noblesville — Masonic Hall
Built c. 1870, this building once housed the City Theater on the third floor and the local newspaper on the second. Purchased by Masonic Lodge No. 57 in 1884, and updated with a stepped gable, it was home to the Masons until 1915. — Map (db m27865) HM
Indiana (Harrison County), Corydon — The Liar's Bench1929 - 1986
This original Liar's Bench was located under a shade tree on the corner of Chestnut and Capital from 1929 to 1986. It was a popular and cool place for the men to congregate. Many generations of stories have been told on this bench, but it was always understood that what is said here...stays here. — Map (db m9641) HM
Indiana (Knox County), Vincennes — " Let There Be Light " — Indiana Territory's First Newspaper
Site of print shop where Elihu Stout (1782 - 1860), Past Grand Master of Masons in Indiana, established Indiana Territory's first newspaper, summer 1804. Originally The Indiana Gazette, it was renamed The Western Sun July 4, 1807. — Map (db m23277) HM
Indiana (Knox County), Vincennes — Inscription on the Big Bell of the Old Cathedral
(at top of bell) D.O.M. Ad Laud et Glor Domini Nostri et Redepmtoris Jesu Christi Hanc Mariam Annam R.R. D.D. et in Chr Pater Simon G. Brute Qui Primus Vincennopolitanan Sedem Episcopus Tenuis Vovebat Dabat et Consecrabat An Rep Sal MDCCCXXXIX Translation D.O.M. abbreviation for "Deo Optimo Maximo"..."To God the Greatest and the Best" To the Praise and Glory of our Lord and Redeemer Jesus Christ The Most Reverend Lord and Father in Christ, Simon G. Brute, who was the first Bishop . . . — Map (db m61816) HM
Indiana (Orange County), Orleans — 59.2004.1 — Orleans Congress Square
Side A: Orleans was platted March 11, 1815. This town square, called Congress Square, was part of the plat. Orleans Academy was built here 1866, in operation by 1867. In 1870s, the Academy was purchased, and its building was made part of the public schools. The building remained in use until razed October 7, 1963. After 1963, a park was built here. Side B: Orleans Town Park was rededicated June 7, 2001 as part of a downtown revitalization. The restored bandstand . . . — Map (db m22064) HM
Indiana (Parke County), Rockville — 61.2001.1 — Rockville Chautauqua Pavilion
Pavilion was built 1913 by Edgar Jerome (1862–1942) of Rockville. He used wooden bridge building techniques in timber framing which supports entire structure. It was designed to seat 3,000 people under its roof. Repairs made 1976–1978 and 1992. Listed in National Register of Historic Places 1999. Chautauquas held here 1911–1930, largest crowd estimated at 8,000 in 1915 when former President William H. Taft spoke. Popularized in late nineteenth century at Chautauqua, New . . . — Map (db m3807) HM
Indiana (Vermillion County), Dana — Ernie Pyle - - Home
Ernie Pyle State Historic Site — Map (db m8904) HM
Indiana (Vermillion County), Dana — Replica of Ernie Pyle MonumentErnie Pyle Road-Side Park
At this spot the 77th Infantry Division lost a Buddy. Ernie Pyle 18 April, 1945 This is a replica of the original built at Ie Shima by the 1118 Engineer Combat Group United States Army. — Map (db m8900) HM
Indiana (Vigo County), Terre Haute — 84.1966.1 — Birthplace of Paul Dresser1859 - 1906
Composer of Indiana State Song, "On the Banks of the Wabash," and other songs popular in the Gay Nineties. His famous brother, Theodore Dreiser, wrote An American Tragedy and other novels. — Map (db m8924) HM
Indiana (Vigo County), Terre Haute — 84.1994.1 — Birthplace of the Coca-Cola Bottle
World - famous trademark created in 1915 on this site at Root Glass Company, by Chapman J. Root, T. Clyde Edwards, Earl R. Dean, and Alexander Samuelson. Bottle design selected in national competition. — Map (db m8888) HM
Indiana (Vigo County), Terre Haute — Eddie Taylor - - "Mayor of 7th and Wabash"
On these side walks, Eddie Taylor - Mayor of 7th and Wabash - peddled newspapers from 1916 to 1957, advancing freedom of the press one American at a time. May those who walk these same Terre Haute streets value that freedom in Eddie's memory. — Map (db m8926) HM
Kansas (Atchison County), Atchison — Birthplace of the Santa Fe Railway Company
To commemorate the birthplace of The Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Railway Company in Atchison, Kansas February 11, 1859 From this small beginning - a rail line connecting Atchison and Topeka, Kansas - a great transportation system evolved bringing much pride and renown to our city which gave its name to an institution of vital importance to this area & the nation. Dedicated May 15, 1965 — Map (db m44788) HM
Kansas (Atchison County), Atchison — Founding of the Santa Fe Railway
This marker commemorates the founding of The Atchison Topeka and Santa Fe Railway in Atchison, Kansas September 17, 1860 — Map (db m44778) HM
Kansas (Atchison County), Atchison — 5 — Massasoit HouseCompany and Division Headquarters, Added Station — Sep. 14, 1861 - Nov. 20, 1861
On September 14, 1861 the "Central Overland California and Pike's Peak Express Co." who were the original owners and operators of the Pony Express moved their offices from the Patee House in St. Joseph, Missouri to here at the "Massasoit House." It was located 164 feet east at the NW corner of Second and Main. The actual "horse" Pony Express was now operating to California from Ft. Kearny, Nebraska twice a week. The Pony Express mail between here and Ft. Kearny was carried by stagecoach. . . . — Map (db m44626) HM
Kansas (Atchison County), Atchison — Working Men of the Railroads
The backbreaking work building railroads to the West was accomplished by men, like Thomas W. Haverty from Galway, Ireland. Wielding hammers and driving spikes their labor united a country and made Atchison "The Rail Centre of Kansas" beginning with the first rail connections to the city in 1860. Given on May 10, 2008 on behalf of Chairman & CEO Michael R. Haverty in recognition of the KCS [Kansas City Southern Railroad] expansion into Mexico. Sculpture by Kwan Wu, Overland Park, Kansas — Map (db m44634) HM
Kansas (Barton County), Great Bend — Jack Kilby
Tribute to Jack Kilby There was a time when engineers who improved our daily lives and spawned global industries achieved enormous prominence and public attention. Henry Ford and his tin lizzie were recognized everywhere. Alexander Graham Bell was a household name around the planet. But Jack Kilby, a son of Great Bend who changed the world with a good idea, never received that kind of recognition. Outside of the engineering labs, where he is recognized as an immortal, his name . . . — Map (db m66174) HM
Kansas (Cherokee County), Carona — Missouri Pacific Wooden Frame Depot
This wooden frame depot is typical of most small town stations of this era. The depot and water tower was [sic] originally built in the 1880s and was located about ¼ mile south. The depot was torn down and moved in 1941. Due to the shortages caused by World War II the lumber and parts were recycled into the present structure. The railroad sold the depot in 1959 and it was used for hay storage. In 1996 the John Thompson family donated the depot to the Heart of the Heartlands. The depot was . . . — Map (db m34676) HM
Kansas (Coffey County), Burlington — The Coffey County Republican
Coffey County's Oldest Consecutively Published Newspaper Established 1859 John Redmond Publisher, 1898-1953 Bill Batdorf Publisher, 1953-1973 Floyd S. Ecord Publisher, 1953-1973 Glenn German Publisher, 1973-1998 Gene Traylor Master Printer, 1955-2005 Wot gits my goat is that the feller who never gives me any news is always hollerin' about they bein' no news in the paper. - "Bill" — Map (db m50069) HM
Kansas (Crawford County), Crawford State Park — The Fire Devils
The 788th Co. was nicknamed the Fire Devils because of its reputation for putting out prairie fires while stationed at Camp Ruteledge in Minnesota. The nickname remained with the company throughout service. The men were proud of their reputation and used it to name their company newspaper. Camp Remains In this area, the camp kitchen once stood. One can still see part of the concrete foundation and metal food containers left over from the last company mess. — Map (db m50210) HM
Kansas (Crawford County), Franklin — Franklin - Arma Sidewalk
Franklin Sidewalk placed on National Historic Register March 16, 2007 — Map (db m36883) HM
Kansas (Crawford County), Girard — Appeal to Reason
First Girard home of J. A. Wayland's Socialist newspaper the Appeal to Reason 1897 — Map (db m36931) HM
Kansas (Dickinson County), Abilene — Union Pacific DepotBuilt 1928
has been placed on the National Register of Historic Places by the United States Department of the Interior 1991 — Map (db m49527) HM
Kansas (Dickinson County), Abilene — 3 — United BuildingBuilt 1887
Completed in 1903, this building once was owned by T.E. Dewey and was known as the Brady Building. In 1904, following a disastrous flood, the building was sold to Cleyson L. Brown, Abilene entrepreneur whose many enterprises provided employment for one-fourth of the community's breadwinners. The building was known as the Brown Building until 1911 when the Brown Telephone Company, which maintained its switching center at this location, absorbed its local competitor, the Missouri and Kansas . . . — Map (db m49529) HM
Kansas (Dickinson County), Hope — Hope City Bell1887 - 1967
Used for fire, storm warnings, marshall call & council meetings. — Map (db m49657) HM
Kansas (Doniphan County), Troy — 86 — Troy
Two miles west is Troy, named for the famous city of Greek antiquity. Following the organization of Doniphan county in 1855 Troy was named the county seat and business began there in 1856. Initially it played a secondary role to such Missouri river towns as Elwood, Iowa Point and White Cloud, but the coming of the railroad in 1869 made it more important than those communities which depended on the river for their economic life. Presidential aspirant Abraham Lincoln provided a noteworthy day . . . — Map (db m47397) HM
Kansas (Doniphan County), Troy — TroyAdded Station — Jul. 1, 1861 - Sep. 13, 1861
A little over a quarter of a mile to the southwest was a Pony Express Station called Troy. This was due to its close proximity to the town of Troy, Kansas. It was owned and operated by Henry Thompson and had 16 rooms and a tavern. To save money the Pony Express Company contracted with local owners to use their sites for their stations in Kansas. The Pony Express started on April 3, 1860 and ended on November 20, 1861. This site was not an original station. It was an Added Station and first . . . — Map (db m47990) HM
Kansas (Douglas County), Eudora — Eudora's First BellCity Hall & School
Given by John Landon Sr. Erected here by Boy Scout Troop 64 — Map (db m76475) HM
Kansas (Douglas County), Lawrence — Lawrence Visitor Information CenterWelcome
Welcome to historic Lawrence, Kansas, and its Visitor Information Center in the centuy-old Union Pacific Depot. Lawrence was founded in 1854 by antislavery forces determined to see that the newly opened Kansas territory joined the union as a free state. Today, Lawrence is a vibrant community whose culture is enriched by the University of Kansas, Haskell Indian Nations University and a variety of businesses based here. The universities are identified on the adjacent maps, which also provide . . . — Map (db m50819) HM
Kansas (Douglas County), Lawrence — Liberty Hall
The Herald of Freedom, Abolitionist Newspaper published on this site 1855-56 Site of Liberty Hall, Lawrence's first opera house 1870-1911 The Bowersock Opera House (Liberty Hall), built in 1912 Designed by Samuel B. Tarbet & Co. in the Beaux Arts style — Map (db m54573) HM
Kansas (Finney County), Garden City — Santa Fe Depot
Garden City Historic Landmark Built 1907 Renovated 2002 — Map (db m65848) HM
Kansas (Ford County), Dodge City — The Reading Garden
This garden stands as a tribute to J. C. Denious and his family, who owned and operated the "Dodge City Daily Globe" from 1910 to 1988. The newspaper has a history dating back to 1878 as a weekly publication, but Denious is credited as the Father of the Daily Newspaper in Dodge City. He was active in politics, serving the region as State Senator from 1933 to 1941. Denious also served Kansas as Lieutenant Governor under Governor Andrew Schoeppel from 1943 to 1947. Publishers J. C. . . . — Map (db m65330) HM
Kansas (Ford County), Howell — 67 — Santa Fe Trail1822 - 1872
[Title is marker text] — Map (db m65439) HM
Kansas (Ford County), Howell — The Worst Piece of Road
For 60 years, this prairie soil was torn by the hooves of mules, oxen, and horses, and compacted by the weight of the large freight wagons they pulled. The wagons of a caravan traveled four abreast to avoid dust and to quickly form defensive circles. They moved over when tracks became too deep or muddy, creating additional parallel ruts. Today, shouts and cracks of the bullwhackers' whips, and the rattling of the harness and wagons have fallen silent. The depth of the ruts has dwindled . . . — Map (db m65440) HM
Kansas (Franklin County), Ottawa — Old Depot Museum
This building, constructed in 1888, served as Division headquarters of the Southern Kansas Railway. This was a subsidiary and later became a part of the Santa Fe system. When the Santa Fe moved into a new station, the old stone depot which had served the traveling public for three quarters of a century was given by the Santa Fe to the Franklin County Historical Society. — Map (db m46884) HM
Kansas (Franklin County), Ottawa — Old Depot MuseumHistoric Ottawa Tour Stop 1
The Leavenworth, Lawrence & Galveston was the first railroad built south of the transcontinental Union Pacific which passed through Lawrence. Building the 30 miles of track to Ottawa in 1867-8 was difficult. Veterans of the UP construction, including Chinese laborers, struggled with terrible weather during the fall of 1867. The LL&G went into receivership in 1873. The Kansas City, Lawrence and Southern Kansas Railroad emerged from LL&G's failure. The new rail line operated throughout the . . . — Map (db m50753) HM
Kansas (Johnson County), Merriam — 10 — City of FirstsMerriam Historic Plaza Walking Path
A pioneer and leader in the development of the Johnson County area, Merriam has recorded several "firsts." Prior to the incorporation of Overland Park in 1950, Merriam was home to the county's first high school, then known as Shawnee Mission Rural High School. Antioch Park was the first major park to be established in Johnson County. The forty-four acre park, established in 1956, functions today as one of the most popular parks operated by the Johnson County Park and Recreation District. . . . — Map (db m50603) HM
Kansas (Johnson County), Merriam — 03 — The Overland TrailsMerriam Historic Plaza Walking Path
Historic Frontier Trails cut through the territory now known as Merriam. Hundreds of thousands of people emigrated [sic – immigrated] to the western frontiers along the Oregon and California Trails. The Santa Fe, Oregon and California Trails all shared a route in the Kansas City metropolitan area, the only place in the United States where this occurred. In the Kansas City area, the Santa Fe Trail had two routes coming off the Missouri River – one from Westport and one from . . . — Map (db m46856) HM
Kansas (Johnson County), Olathe — Stagecoach DriversDon't Let Your Babies Grow Up To Be...
Stagecoach drivers were an interesting group by many accounts. Good drivers were sought by stagecoach companies for their skills in driving. They exercised authority similar to ship captains over their coaches and the passengers traveling with them. Driving stagecoaches was not without danger. Hollywood usually portrays the greatest threat coming from robbers, or American Indians. In certain times and places, these threats did exist. As great or greater danger came from sources more . . . — Map (db m34507) HM
Kansas (Johnson County), Shawnee — California Road
The California Road Originally a trail through the lands of the Shawnee Indians, running west from Westport through present day Johnson and Douglas Counties, this route was used throughout the 1830's and 1840's by Indians, missionaries, and surveyors. John C. Fremont led one of his famous expeditions to the west down this road. By the mid 1850's the road was known locally as the Westport to Lawrence Road. But from 1856 to the eve of the Civil War in 1860, it was best known as the . . . — Map (db m50612) HM
Kansas (Kearny County), Lakin — 78 — Santa Fe Trail1822 - 1872
[Title is text] — Map (db m65744) HM
Kansas (Kearny County), Lakin — 79 — Santa Fe Trail1822 - 1872
[Title is text] — Map (db m65749) HM
Kansas (Kearny County), Lakin — 72 — Santa Fe Trail Ruts1821 - 1872
Looking east, up and over the bank of the ditch, one can see the wagon ruts of the Santa Fe Trail. You will notice a difference in the color and texture of the grass in the ruts. This is characteristic of the ruts along the trail. Between Pawnee Rock and Santa Fe, New Mexico, it was customary for the wagons to travel four abreast. This allowed for quicker circling in case of attack. In the distance to the south can be seen trees lining the banks of the Arkansas River. During the early years . . . — Map (db m65755) HM
Kansas (Kingman County), Norwich — City of Norwich Fire Bell
This bell was purchased from the C and S Bell Co. by the City of Norwich in 1912 for use as a firebell. It was used until it was replaced by an electric siren in 1939. This monument was erected in 1985 by the Norwich Jaycees in honor of Norwichs [sic] progress in the first 100 years. — Map (db m62699) HM
Kansas (Leavenworth County), Leavenworth — Leavenworth Landing Park
Created to reclaim this historic riverfront for the citizens of Leavenworth and to recall its prominent role in the development of the American West. ———————— When Leavenworth was established in 1854 it was already an important hub on the Santa Fe, Military, and Oregon Trails. Used as a base for military operations, Fort Leavenworth, founded in 1827, gave the City of Leavenworth the advantage of an established landing for steamboats on the . . . — Map (db m42138) HM
Kansas (Leavenworth County), Leavenworth — Lincoln at Stockton Hall
Campaigning for the Presidency of the United States, Abraham Lincoln crossed the Missouri River from St. Joseph to Elwood, Kansas Territory, on December 1, 1859. From there, he was driven in a horse-drawn buggy to Leavenworth. On December 3, 1859, he spoke in Stockton Hall, then occupying this site. This speech was his first major political address that led to his nomination and subsequent election as President of the United States. Here Lincoln first proclaimed the principles incorporated . . . — Map (db m46750) HM
Kansas (Leavenworth County), Leavenworth — Site of Offices of Russell, Majors, and WaddellA Famous Freighting Firm
In the years 1855-1861 this firm was a major factor in the settlement of the West. Using thousands of teams, and both wagons and stagecoaches, it hauled supplies and passengers to Army posts and settlements west of Fort Leavenworth. Members of the firm started the Leavenworth & Pike's Peak Express Company, which later became the Central Overland California & Pike's Peak Express, parent company of the celebrated Pony Express of 1860-1861. — Map (db m46720) HM
Kansas (Leavenworth County), Leavenworth — 13 — The AnthonysHistoric Wayside Tour #13
Daniel Read Anthony, born on February 15, 1820 and his sister, Susan Brownell Anthony, born on August 22, 1824, had tremendous influence over the course of events in Kansas and the nation. Daniel's influence was felt through his newspaper and Susan was internationally known as an advocate of the early campaign for woman suffrage. Daniel Anthony settled in Leavenworth in 1857 and founded the Leavenworth Conservative Newspaper in 1861. In January 1861, Colonel Anthony printed a special report . . . — Map (db m42150) HM
Kansas (Leavenworth County), Leavenworth — 10 — The Great Railroad EraHistoric Wayside Tour #10
The railroad era began in the eastern part of the United States in the 1830's when the Baltimore and Ohio Railroad opened with thirteen miles of track. Most of the lines were built in the Northeast and Old Northwest. The first Kansas Territorial Legislature chartered five railroad companies in 1855. Two were the Leavenworth and Lecompton, and the Leavenworth, Pawnee and Western. Two years later, the legislature approved supplementing the original charter of the Leavenworth, Pawnee and . . . — Map (db m42155) HM
Kansas (Leavenworth County), Leavenworth — 1 — The Port of Leavenworth1854 to 1875 — Historic Wayside Tour #1
In 1854 the river was the freeway of commerce, and every stable landing was a natural stop. The Missouri bends in at the Leavenworth area, and the current runs along a natural limestone bluff for some miles. A small creek cut through that bluff at this point and carved out a perfect, natural riverboat landing. This Landing was the heart of old Leavenworth. The natural landscape, transportation and business combined to made Leavenworth the largest and most important city on the early Western . . . — Map (db m42141) HM
Kansas (Leavenworth County), Leavenworth — The Star of the West
Here stood one of the most famous saloons of the West. The building called Kunz’s Hall and built in 1869 also housed the Kansas Freie Presse a German language newspaper and the H. J. Helmers Barber Shop. The saloon was named “Star of the West” in 1871. Here leading statesmen, military men, plainsmen, and business men met and here they discussed the many issues of the day. In those discussions a city and a state matured. Even after Kansas adopted constitutional prohibition . . . — Map (db m71718) HM
Kansas (Linn County), Trading Post — Sounds along the byway...anxiety and anticipation in the creak of wagon wheels.Frontier Military Historic Byway
Westward bound settlers crossed and traveled the Frontier Military Road as they headed to new land and new lives. These migrants faced the unknown with anxiety and anticipation in search of a better life. The Sante Fe Trail, the Oregon Trail and the California Trail crossed the Frontier Military Road near what is now the Kansas City metropolitan area. — Map (db m33942) HM
Kansas (Lyon County), Emporia — Emporia
Founded Feb. 22nd, 1857 by George W. Brown G. W. Deitzler Lyman Allan Columbus Hornsby Preston B. Plumb Site of First Public Building, The "Emporia House" (Hotel) June 1st, 1857 First Issue of Kanzas News June 6th, 1857 First Public Church Services June 7th, 1857 Bank Site Since 1872 Memorial by Lyon County Old Settlers Association George Plumb, President John E. Hinshaw, Sec'y-Treas. Feb. 22nd, 1924 ————— 1857 - 1921 . . . — Map (db m49782) HM
Kansas (Lyon County), Emporia — Garfield School Bell
Commemorative of the Garfield School Building 1880 1916 Shane Bell Foundry Henry McShane & Co. Baltimore, Md. 1881 Emporia High School 1880 [cornerstone] — Map (db m64030) HM
Kansas (Lyon County), Emporia — Mary White
The Associated Press reports carrying the news of Mary White's death declared that it came as the result of a fall from a horse. How she would have hooted at that! Horses have fallen on her and with her - "I'm always trying to hold 'em in my lap," she used to say. But she was proud of few things, and one was that she could ride anything that had four legs and hair. Her death resulted not from a fall, but from a blow on the head from the limb of a tree overhanging the parking. She had come . . . — Map (db m49911) HM
250 markers matched your search criteria.
Click to map all markers shown on this page.
Click First to browse through the results shown on this page.   First >> 


•••
More Search Options
 
Markers
Near You

 
Categories

 
States & Provinces

 
Counties
Click to List


 
Countries

Page composed
in 587 ms.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
To search within this page, hold down the Ctrl key and press F.
On an Apple computer,
hold down the Apple key and press F.