|British Columbia (Greater Vancouver Regional District), Semiahmoo — Peace Arch — The Signing of the Columbia River Treaty|
This unfortified boundary line between the
Dominion of Canada
United States of America
should quicken the remembrance of the more than century old friendship between these countries
A lesson of peace to all nations.
In commemoration of
One hundred and fifty years of peace, 1814 - 1864, between Canada and the United States of America.
The signing of the Columbia River Treaty on September 16th, 1964, at this international . . . — Map (db m27450) HM|
|New Brunswick (Charlotte County), St. Andrews — Blockhouse 101 — Introduction aux blockhaus|
|English on left
What kind of house?
A blockhouse is a modest fortified building with a distinctive overhanging upper level. In 18th- and 19th-century North America, both Britain and the United States built many blockhouses for defence purposes. They were usually constructed of local material such as wood and could be put up relatively quickly and cheaply. This blockhouse is one of three built in St. Andrews to defend the batteries of guns that protected the harbour and river, . . . — Map (db m77366) HM|
|New Brunswick (Charlotte County), St. Andrews — St. Andrews Blockhouse — Le Blockhaus de St. Andrews — (West Point Blockhouse)|
|This marker consists of two side-by-side plaques, one in English and the other in French. English:
The West Point Blockhouse and a battery were erected by the townspeople of St. Andrews at the outbreak of the War of 1812-14 in anticipation of a seaborne attack from the United States. Along with other defensive positions they were manned by local militia and British regulars throughout the War. Later the Blockhouse served as a barracks and as a storehouse. It is one of the few examples . . . — Map (db m77240) HM|
|New Brunswick (Charlotte County), St. Andrews — Two hundred years and counting — Jeune de deux cents ans|
|English on left
Against the odds
Many blockhouses were built in North America, but few have survived. Why is this one still here? Throughout the 19th century the St. Andrews Blockhouse was used for storage and occasionally as a barracks by the militia. In the 1860s, during a brief period of tension with the United States, it again became an important component of civic defenses, but its military role declined soon after.
Part of who we are
By the late 1800s, St. . . . — Map (db m77241) HM|
|New Brunswick (Charlotte County), St. Andrews — War of 1812: Defending St. Andrews — Guerre de 1812: La defense de St. Andrews|
|English on left
No hard feelings
Have a look across the St. Croix River to the land on the other side of Navy Island; that’s the United States you can see! When the War of 1812 broke out, the citizen of St. Andrews had little to fear from their neighbors in Maine. Not everyone in New England was in favor of the war: trade with Atlantic Canada was brisk and around here the main threat to security was from privateering, not invasion. Despite the conflict, resolutions were passed . . . — Map (db m77363) HM|
|New Brunswick (Charlotte County), St. Andrews — Wartime legacies — L’heritage de la guerre|
|English on left
St. Andrews’ citizens step up
In 1812, St. Andrews was a young town, founded not long before by Loyalists from New England fleeing the American Revolution. A modest fortification - Fort Tipperary - had been built in 1808 above the town. Citizens were concerned that the fort did not provide enough protection for the harbour and river from privateering raids. The town quickly built three batteries, which military engineers believed ineffective - and indeed possibly . . . — Map (db m77362) HM|
|New Brunswick (Charlotte County), St. Andrews — Welcome, Enjoy your visit! — Bienvenue, Bonne visite!|
|English on left
Welcome to St. Andrews Blockhouse National Historic Site, part of Parks Canada’s diverse and ever-growing system of national park, national historic sites and national marine conservation area.
Wartime building spree
The War of 1812 was fought between Great Britain and the United States from 1812 to 1815, mostly on battlefields in present-day Ontario, Quebec, and several American states. In Atlantic Canada, the war brought about increased economic prosperity . . . — Map (db m77361) HM|
|New Brunswick (Saint John County), Saint John — Carleton Martello Tower|
|Construction of this tower was begun by the British Army during the War of 1812 as one of the projected series of fortifications intended to block the western land approach to Saint John. Subsequent to its completion in 1815 the tower was largely neglected, seeing only occasional use in times of emergency, including service as a fire control headquarters in the second world war. The original structure typifies the English martello tower design, a popular form of coastal defence in the British . . . — Map (db m539) HM|
|Nova Scotia (Halifax Regional Municipality), Halifax — Deadman's Island|
|These men died in captivity while serving the United States of America on land and sea during the War of 1812. They lie in unmarked graves here on Deadman's Island.|
Followed by a list of 188 men identified by Name, Rank, Ship/Unit, and Date of Death. — Map (db m44062) HM
|Nova Scotia (Halifax Regional Municipality), Halifax — Major General / Major-Général Robert Ross 1766-1814|
Major General Ross sailed to North America in the summer of 1814 from the Peninsular War against France to command the British army on the east coast of the United States, opening a second front to relieve the pressure on the Niagara Peninsula. He personally lead the British troops ashore and marched through Maryland to attack the Americans at Bladensberg on August 24, 1814. From Bladensberg Ross captured Washington D.C. and burned the public buildings of the city, . . . — Map (db m77877) HM|
|Nova Scotia (Halifax Regional Municipality), Halifax — Mr. John Samwell — Mr. William Stevens|
|On your left near this spot lie the remains of … / À votre gauche, près d’ici se trouvent les restes de ….
Mr. / M. John Samwell
Midshipman / Aspirant de marine • 1797-1813
Mr. / M. William Stevens
Boatswain / Maître de manoeuvre • 1757-1813
Sacred to the Memory
Of Mr John Samwell Midshipman of HMS Shannon who red at the nav(e)l hospital on the 13 of June 1813 aged 18 years Also Mr William Stevens boatswain of . . . — Map (db m77897) HM|
|Nova Scotia (Halifax Regional Municipality), Halifax — Why Aren’t We Americans? • Pourquoi ne sommes-nous pas des Américains? — The Old Burying Ground Remembers The War of 1812-1814 • Le vieux cimetière souvient de la guerre de|
| This marker may be conveniently divided into three section; left, center and right. The center sections is presented first.
We are not Americans because of the service men like the sailors and soldiers, casualties of the War of 1812, buried in this historic burying ground. They fought and died at sea and ashore to prevent the United States’ invasion and annexation of our country.
Grâce aux hommes comme les marins et . . . — Map (db m78073) HM|
|Ontario, Hamilton — "The Burlington Races" 1813|
|On the morning of September 28, 1813, a powerfully-armed United States fleet comprising ten ships under the command of Commodore Isaac Chauncey appeared off York (Toronto). The smaller British fleet of six vessels, commanded by Commodore Sir James L. Yeo, was in the harbour, but on the approach of the enemy set sail to attack. After a sharp engagement, the British squadron was forced to withdraw toward Burlington Bay where it could take refuge under the batteries on the adjacent heights. A . . . — Map (db m56759) HM|
|Ontario, Hamilton — Burlington Heights 1813 - 1814|
Here in June, 1813, General John Vincent assembled troops that made the successful night attack on the invaders at Stoney Creek. From this point of vantage, in December, 1813, the force which retook Fort George and carried Fort Niagara by assault, began its march. On these heights stood the strong point of reserve and depot of arms for the defence of the Niagara Peninsula and support of the navy on Lake Ontario.
Ici, en juin 1813, le . . . — Map (db m56725) HM|
|Ontario, Hamilton — Defensive Outwork|
|About this spot
was an outwork of
the first line of defense
1812 - 1815 — Map (db m56758) HM|
|Ontario, Hamilton — First Line of Defense|
|This Stone Marks
The Line of Earthworks
In First Line of Defense
1812 - 1815 — Map (db m56740) HM|
|Ontario, Hamilton — Hamilton - Scourge Project — War of 1812 Naval Memorial Garden|
|We honour here fifty-three sailors who lost their lives when their ships, HAMILTON and SCOURGE, capsized during a storm in the early morning hours of Sunday, 8th August 1813. These two armed merchant schooners lie in 90 metres of water, 30 kilometres northeast of this site, intact and perfectly preserved with their guns and equipment still in place. A replica of the foremast of SCOURGE is flanked by fifty-three markers similar to those in Allied military cemeteries throughout the world. — Map (db m56928) HM|
|Ontario, Hamilton — March to Stoney Creek|
|These ramparts were
erected by the British troops
during the War of 1812-15.
From this place on the night
of June 5th 1813,
700 men under the command
of Lieut. Colonel Harvey,
marched to Stoney Creek
where they surprised and routed
an American force of 3750 men
ridding the Niagara Peninsula
of the invaders. — Map (db m56756) HM|
|Ontario, Hamilton — Sir John Harvey 1778 - 1852|
|From these heights, Lieutenant-Colonel John Harvey set out with about 700 men on the night of June 5, 1813, to launch a surprise attack on an invading United States force of some 3,000 men camped at Stoney Creek. His rout of the troops commanded by Brigadier-General John Chandler under cover of darkness in the early hours of June 6, is generally credited with saving Upper Canada from being overrun by the enemy. Harvey was knighted in 1834, served as Lieutenant-Governor of New Brunswick 1834-41, . . . — Map (db m56743) HM|
|Ontario (Brant County), Oakland — The Battle of Malcolm’s Mills — 1814|
|In October, 1814, an invading American force of about 700 men under Brigadier-General Duncan McArthur advanced rapidly up the Thames Valley. He intended to devastate the Grand River settlements and the region around the head of Lake Ontario which supplied British forces on the Niagara frontier. McArthur reached the Grand, and after an unsuccessful attempt to force a crossing, attacked a body of some 150 militia here at Malcolm’s Mills (Oakland) on November 6th. Canadian forces, comprising . . . — Map (db m78341) HM|
|Ontario (Brant County), Ossweken — Ahyouwaeghs - John Brant — 1794 - 1832|
John Brant was born in the Mohawk Village (Brantford), the youngest son of the renowned Joseph Brant. He was educated at Ancaster and Niagara, and fought with distinction during the War of 1812. Brant devoted his life to improving the welfare of his people. He initiated the establishment of schools ad from 1828 served as superintendent of the Six Nations, the first native person appointed to that post. Around 1830 his mother Catharine (Ohtowa? kéhson), clan mother of the Turtle . . . — Map (db m78340) HM|
|Ontario (Essex County), Amherstburg — Amherstburg Navy Yard|
|[West Historic Marker]:Amherstburg Navy Yard
A Navy Yard was built here in 1796 to replace Detroit as the base and supply depot for the Provincial Marine on Lakes Erie and Huron. In 1812 the GENERAL HUNTER and QUEEN CHARLOTTE, built here, took part in the capture of Detroit. The next year, his supply lines cut, Robert Barclay's poorly equipped fleet, including the DETROIT, was defeated by Oliver Perry, U.S.N., in the battle of Lake Erie. This reverse led the British to burn the . . . — Map (db m37552) HM|
|Ontario (Essex County), Amherstburg — Boblo Island|
| Boblo Island
For many centuries the island you see in front of you was used for hunting and fishing by First Nations people. Called Île aux Bois Blancs by the French, Boblo Island's key location made it a site for blockhouses during the War of 1812 and the Upper Canada Rebellion. In 1837 a lighthouse was erected on the southern end; about sixty years later the island became the site of a popular amusement park that lasted for nearly a century.
The Detroit . . . — Map (db m71185) HM|
|Ontario (Essex County), Amherstburg — Colonel Matthew Elliott — 1739 - 1814|
|Near this site stood the house erected in 1784 by Matthew Elliott. Born in Ireland, he emigrated to the American Colonies in 1761, and during the Revolution served with the British forces as a captain in the Indian Department. He was an Indian agent for the western tribes 1790-95 and deputy superintendent of the Indian Department 1795-98. Elliott represented Essex in the legislative assembly 1801-12. As colonel of the 1st Essex Militia he took part in the capture of Detroit , August 16, 1812, . . . — Map (db m37286) HM|
|Ontario (Essex County), Amherstburg — Detroit River Heritage|
| Detroit River Heritage
This river not only forms the border between two great nations, but is also a vital transportation artery into the upper Great Lakes. Imagine the vessels that have travelled on it … First National canoes, sailing vessels loaded with furs, British and American warships, steamers bringing holidayers to Boblo Island, and giant freighters filled with iron ore.
British war vessels used the Detroit River during the War of 1812. After the war, an . . . — Map (db m71160) HM|
|Ontario (Essex County), Amherstburg — Fort Amherstburg (Fort Malden)|
|The post was begun by the Royal Canadian Volunteers in 1796 to replace Detroit and to maintain British influence among the western Indians. As the principal defense of the Detroit frontier in 1812, it was here that Isaac Brock gathered his forces for the attack on Detroit. The next year with supply lines cut and control of Lake Erie lost to the Americans, the British could not hold the fort, which they evacuated and burned. Partially rebuilt by the invading Americans, it was returned on 1 July . . . — Map (db m34353) HM|
|Ontario (Essex County), Amherstburg — Fort Defences|
| Fort Defences
In front of you is a recreated piece of the fort's palisade, a vertical wall of sharpened logs. This wall surrounded the fort, linking the four diamond-shaped corner projections, called bastions. Around each bastion, the palisade ran in the bottom of a ditch that served as an additional defence against attacking soldiers.
The diamond shape of the bastions allowed cannons to fire on soldiers approaching adjacent areas of the palisade.
This . . . — Map (db m71173) HM|
|Ontario (Essex County), Amherstburg — Indian Council House|
| Indian Council House
Two hundred years ago a small building stood about 100 metres north of here, close to the water's edge. This was where meetings took place between the representatives of the British government and those of the First Nations. These meetings were a crucial factor in creating an alliance between the two groups during the War of 1812. No images survive of this important structure, except a small rectangle on this map.
In this 20th-century . . . — Map (db m71170) HM|
|Ontario (Essex County), Amherstburg — Lt. - Colonel William Caldwell|
|Born about 1750 in Fermanagh County, Ireland, Caldwell emigrated to Pennsylvania in 1773. During the American Revolution he served with the British forces as a captain in Butler's Rangers at Niagara and Detroit. In 1784 he obtained land near the mouth of the Detroit River and became one of this area's earliest settlers. Caldwell's exceptional influence with the local Indians enabled him to obtain control of some 11,000 additional acres on the north shore of Lake Erie where he encouraged former . . . — Map (db m37291) HM|
|Ontario (Essex County), Amherstburg — Major John Richardson — (1796 - 1852)|
|Born at Queenston in Upper Canada, John Richardson served as a volunteer at Fort Malden during the War of 1812 and was taken prisoner by the Americans at Moraviantown. He was released at war's end, retired on half-pay in 1818, and spent most of the next 20 years in Europe. There he won a certain literary reputation with works such as the poem Tecumseh and Wacousta, a historical novel. Returning to Canada as a journalist, he founded the New Era in Brockville where, in 1842, . . . — Map (db m76737) HM|
|Ontario (Essex County), Amherstburg — Skirmishes at the Canard River|
|In the War of 1812, the first engagement in Canada involving British and American forces in significant numbers occurred here on the Canard River. On July 12, 1812, Brigadier-General William Hull invaded Canada and encamped near Sandwich. British commander, T.B. St. George, consolidated his forces consisting of regulars of the 41st Regiment, Indians, and Canadian militia at Fort Malden, south of the Canard and stationed at picquet at the bridge. This outpost was attacked on July 16th by Colonel . . . — Map (db m34336) HM|
|Ontario (Essex County), Amherstburg — The "Tecumseh Stone"|
|Tradition has it that the Indian leader Tecumseh stood upon this stone to deliver a final address to the British at Amherstburg after the Battle of Lake Erie. Donated in 1939, it originally stood near the corner of Dalhousie and Gore Streets. In his speech Tecumseh asserted, in part:
Father, listen...You always told us to remain here and take care of our lands. It made our hearts glad to hear that was your wish; our great father the king is the head, you represent him. You always told . . . — Map (db m34412) HM|
|Ontario (Essex County), Amherstburg — The Battle of Lake Erie|
|In September 1813 the British squadron under R. Barclay sailed from Amherstburg to collect desperately needed food supplies. They were met by the larger, more heavily armed American squadron commanded by O. Perry. The British had the initial advantage of the wind and used their long range guns to disable the American flag ship LAWRENCE.
With his own ship crippled, Perry was rowed to the NIAGARA which had held back from the fighting. With the wind now to his advantage, Perry bore down on . . . — Map (db m37707) HM|
|Ontario (Essex County), Windsor — Hull's Landing 1812|
|On July 4, 1812, Brigadier-General William Hull, commander of the North Western Army of the United States, landed with about 2,000 men near this site. He issued a proclamation stating that he came here to liberate Canada from oppression. The British garrison at Amherstburg was too weak to oppose the invasion, but it later fought several skirmishes at the River Canard. On July 26, British reinforcements under Colonel Henry Proctor arrived and, on August 7-8, Hull withdrew to Detroit, leaving a . . . — Map (db m34302) HM|
|Ontario (Essex County), Windsor — The Capture of Detroit|
|Confident of victory, General Hull had invaded Canada in July 1812, but failed to take advantage of his early success and the demoralization of the defenders. Fear of the Indians then rallying to the British cause and an inability to maintain supply lines dictated Hull's withdrawal to Detroit. In a daring move on 16 August General Brock embarked his troops at McKee's Point, crossed the river and forced the surrender of the Americans. This important victory raised the spirits of the Canadians . . . — Map (db m34321) HM|
|Ontario (Essex County), Windsor — The Francois Baby House|
|This house and adjacent farmland were the property of François Baby (1763-1856), first member for Kent in the Legislative Assembly of Upper Canada (1792-96), militia officer and Assistant Quarter Master General during the War of 1812. When the Americans invaded Canada in July 1812, Brigadier General William Hull set up his headquarters in François Baby's house and camped his troops on the farm. After Hull's withdrawal, British guns mounted here covered Isaac Brock's advance across the river to capture Detroit on 16 August 1812. — Map (db m34303) HM|
|Ontario (Frontenac County), Kingston — Fort Henry|
| The first Fort Henry was built during the War of 1812 to protect the British dockyards in Navy Bay. The present limestone citadel, constructed between 1832 and 1837, replaced the old fort as part of a larger plan for the defence of the recently completed Rideau Canal. Commissariat stores were built to join the advanced battery with the main fort in 1841-42. Fort Henry was garrisoned by British troops until 1871, when Canadian Gunnery Schools (forerunner of the Royal Canadian Artillery) took . . . — Map (db m39364) HM|
|Ontario (Hamilton), Stoney Creek — Battle of Stoney Creek|
|[English Text]: Battle of Stoney Creek
During 1813 the Americans planned to invade Upper Canada from Detroit and the Niagara Peninsula. In late May, an American force crossed the Niagara River, seized Fort George, and with about 3500 troops moved inland in pursuit of the British who retreated to Burlington Heights. At Stoney Creek, a surprise night attack by about 700 regulars of the 8th and 49th Regiments of Foot under Lt.-Col. John Harvey halted the American advance and . . . — Map (db m56762) HM|
|Ontario (Hamilton), Stoney Creek — Battle of Stoney Creek 1813|
|On June 5, 1813, an invading United States army of about 3,000 men, commanded by Brigadier - General John Chandler, camped in this vicinity. That evening some 700 British regulars of the 8th and 49th Regiments, under the command of Lieutenant - Colonel John Harvey, left their encampment on Burlington Heights to attack the enemy. The assault was launched early the following morning under cover of darkness. In the fierce fighting which followed, heavy losses were suffered on both sides, but the . . . — Map (db m56720) HM|
|Ontario (Hamilton), Stoney Creek — Battlefield House|
|[Text on First Historic Marker]:
Fifteen and one-half acres of
The women's Wentworth Historical Society
Given by this society to the
Niagara Parks Commission
as a National Historic Site
January 19, 1962
[Text on Second Historic Marker]:
Battlefield House (circa 1796)
Battlefield Monument (1913)
Designated under the Ontario Heritage Act
City of Stoney Creek Council . . . — Map (db m56805) HM|
|Ontario (Hamilton), Stoney Creek — Billy Green Monument|
|[Text on West Side of Monument]:
In Memory Of
Who led British troops
in surprise night
attack winning decisive
Battle of Stoney Creek.
Born Feb. 4, 1794
Died Mar. 15, 1877
[Text on North Side of Monument]:
In Memory Of
Who gave the password
to Billy Green who in
turn gave it
to Gen. Harvey
Burlington Heights . . . — Map (db m56822) HM|
|Ontario (Hamilton), Stoney Creek — The Battlefield of Stoney Creek|
|The Battlefield of Stoney Creek
6th June 1813
In memory of 20 good and true King's Men who,
in fighting in defence of their country, died
and were buried on this knoll.
This revised inscription and stone re-dedicated
June 6th 1956
Her Majesty's Army & Navy Veteran's Society of
Hamilton — Map (db m56798) HM|
|Ontario (Hamilton), Stoney Creek — The Nash-Jackson House|
|Originally located at the north-east corner of king Street East and Nash Road in the city of Hamilton, the house known as the Nash=Jackson House was built in 1818. The property on which the house stood, part of William Gage's original land grant, was deeded to his eldest daughter, Susannah (Gage) Nash, in 1815. William Gage was uncle to James Gage, original owner of what is now Battlefield House Museum.
The Nash-Jackson House, once named Grandview, with its Loyalist Neo-Classic style of . . . — Map (db m56859) HM|
|Ontario (Hamilton), Stoney Creek — Their Fame Liveth|
Lieutenant Samuel Hooker,
Sergeant Joseph Hunt, Pri-
vates James Daig, Thomas
Fearnsides, Richard Hugill,
George Longley, Laurence
Meade, John Pegler, John Smith,
and John Wale of the First
Battalion of the Eighth
(King's) Regiment of Foot; and
Sergeant Charles Page, Pri-
vates James Adams, Alexander
Brown, Michael Burke, Henry
Carroll, Nathaniel Catlin,
Martin Curley, Martin Don-
nolly, Peter Henley, John
Hostler, Edward . . . — Map (db m56819) HM|
|Ontario (Southwest Middlesex County), Glencoe — Battle Hill|
Here was fought the Battle of Longwoods, 4th March, 1814. United States troops were entrenched on this hill. The British losses were Captain D. Johnson and Lieutenant P. Graeme and twelve men of the Royal Scots Light Company and the 89th Light Company, fifty-two officiers and men of these companies of these companies and of the Loyal Kent Volunteers, wounded.
Ici se déroula la bataille de Longwoods, le 4 mars 1814. Des troupes des États-Unis s’étaient . . . — Map (db m78370) HM|
|Ontario (Southwest Middlesex County), Glencoe — Battle of Longwoods — March 4, 1814|
|The view from the British side (left side)
Commanded by Captain James Basden
Royal Scots Light • Western (Caldwell) Rangers • 89th Foot Light • Kent and Middlesex Militia • British Indian Department
On March 3, 1814, the Western (Caldwell) Rangers observed an American military camp on the western edge of Twenty Mile Camp (20 miles west of Delaware), straddling the Longwood’s Road. Captain William Caldwell sent word to the British detachment in Delaware. The next . . . — Map (db m78369) HM WM|
|Ontario (The Municipality of Chatham-Kent), Chatham — British Army River Crossing to Dolsen's Landing — Friday, October 1, 1813 — Tecumseh Parkway|
|Upon sighting American war ships at the mouth of the Thames River on October 1, 1813, the British Army boarded scows and bateaux near this site. One by one, the boats and their cargo were pulled across the river to their next encampment site at Dolsen's Landing, a small but important commercial site in Dover Township established by Matthew and Hannah Dolsen. The settlement consisted of the Dolsen's log home, a store, a blacksmith shop, a distillery, and other outbuildings. Dolsen's Landing had . . . — Map (db m78346) HM|
|Ontario (The Municipality of Chatham-Kent), Chatham — British Encampment: Forks of the Thames — Sunday, October 3, 1813 — Tecumseh Parkway|
|While British Army was encamped at Dolsen's, Procter travelled to Fairfield to investigate the site as a defensive position. At Tecumseh's urging, and learning that the Americans were closing rapidly, Colonel Warburton, Procter's second-in-command, ordered the army to break camp and move up-river. The British departure from Dolsen's caused a rift among the warriors because many of them wanted to engage the Americans at Dolsen's despite Tecumseh's desire to fight at the Forks. By militia officer . . . — Map (db m71360) HM|
|Ontario (The Municipality of Chatham-Kent), Chatham — Burning of British Ships / American Encampment — Monday, October 4, 1813 — Tecumseh Parkway|
|East of the Forks, the Thames River becomes shallower and not navigable for larger ships. With the American forces close behind, the British vessels were threatened with capture. One cargo ship, probably the Miamis, had already been set on fire closer to the Forks. Near this site, two other ships, the Mary and the Ellen, were moored perpendicular to the shore and much of their contents dumped into river. They were then set on fire to block the river to any American gunboats.
The American . . . — Map (db m71398) HM|
|Ontario (The Municipality of Chatham-Kent), Chatham — Casualties of the Skirmish — Monday, October 4, 1813 — Tecumseh Parkway|
|There were many casualties at the skirmish at the Forks. Although we do not presently know the identities of the warriors who were killed, we do know that two Kentucky men in Colonel Johnson's Mounted Infantry lost their lives at this site on that day:
• Private Foster Bartlett of Captain William Rice's Company who enlisted on August 15, 1813.
• Private William (or Wilham) Hardwick of Captain Samuel Combs' company who enlisted on May 20, 1813. — Map (db m71379) HM|
|Ontario (The Municipality of Chatham-Kent), Chatham — First Nations Encampment: Thomas McCrae Farm — Friday, October 1, 1813 — Tecumseh Parkway|
|Thomas McCrae was an early settler, innkeeper, and political figure in Raleigh Township along the Thames River. He served as a captain and company commander in the Kent Militia and was present at the capture of Fort Detroit. Family tradition relates that McCrae used the prize money he received from the capture of the fort to complete his Georgian brick home in 1813.
On October 1, with the British now encamped across the river and to the east at Dolsen's Landing, the First Nations . . . — Map (db m71308) HM|
|Ontario (The Municipality of Chatham-Kent), Chatham — Skirmish at McCrae's House|
|Following the defeat of the British at the Battle of the Thames on October 5, 1813, American forces controlled the Thames Valley west of Moraviantown. In early December a detachment of 3 officers and 36 men of the American 26th Regiment established a post near here at the house of Thomas McCrae. Before daybreak on December 15, 1813, they were surprised by Lieutenant Henry Medcalf and 32 members from the Norfolk and Middlesex Militia, the Kent Volunteers and the Provincial Dragoons. After a . . . — Map (db m71292) HM|
|Ontario (The Municipality of Chatham-Kent), Chatham — Skirmish at McCrae's House — Wednesday, December 15, 1813 — Tecumseh Parkway|
|During the American occupation of the lower Thames, this house was used as a base for U.S. troops. In mid-December 1813, the house was occupied by 39 officers and men of the 26th Regiment led by Lieutenant Larwill.
At the same time, a group of 27 men of the Canadian militia from Norfolk and Middlesex Counties under the command of Lieutenant Henry Medcalf, had marched, through heavy snow, to Rondeau to collect cattle that were grazing in the area before they were found by the Americans. . . . — Map (db m71310) HM|
|Ontario (The Municipality of Chatham-Kent), Chatham — Skirmish at the Forks — Monday, October 4, 1813 — Tecumseh Parkway|
|On October 2, 1813, Tecumseh moved his warriors up-river to the Forks where he had been led to believe that fortifications would be prepared for a full-scale confrontation with harrison's army. When Tecumseh arrived, he was enraged to find no fortifications and only three or four dismounted cannon and a log cabin containing small arms.
Despite his dismay, Tecumseh convinced his warriors to stage a rearguard action at the Forks on October 4 to slow the American advance. That morning, the . . . — Map (db m71335) HM|
|Ontario (The Municipality of Chatham-Kent), Chatham — Skirmish at the Forks — Monday, October 4, 1813 — Tecumseh Parkway|
|Robert McAfee, a member of Colonel Johnson's Kentucky Mounted Regiment, described the skirmish in his journal. He wrote:
Oct 4: …a woman … informed us that about six miles above the River forked, that there was a large bridge across the mouth of the Right hand fork and a mill and a bridge about about about a mile and a half up the fork where the Indians were encamped [sic] and she expected that they would make a stand and fight … about twelve o'clock the firing commenced on our left and . . . — Map (db m71378) HM|
|Ontario (The Municipality of Chatham-Kent), Chatham — Tecumseh|
|On this site, Tecumseh, a Shawnee Chief, who was an ally of the British during the War of 1812, fought against American forces on October 4, 1813. Tecumseh was born in 1768 and became an important organizer of native resistance to the spread of white settlement in North America. The day after the fighting here, he was killed in the Battle of the Thames near Moraviantown. Tecumseh Park was named to commemorate his strong will and determination. — Map (db m71322) HM|
|Ontario (The Municipality of Chatham-Kent), Chatham — The Forks — Tecumseh Parkway|
|The Forks of the Thames are formed by the joining of the Thames River and McGregor Creek creating a peninsula that is present day Tecumseh Park in Chatham, Ontario. The strategic importance of the site was recognized by Lieutenant Governor John Graves Simcoe when he visited the region in 1793.
The first settlement at the Forks occurred in 1794 when Simcoe commissioned Captain William Baker to establish a shipyard. Baker constructed a log blockhouse, a 72 foot-long frame workshop, forges, . . . — Map (db m71331) HM|
|Ontario (The Municipality of Chatham-Kent), Chatham — The Legend of the Paw Paw — Tecumseh Parkway|
|The Paw Paw tree (Asimina triloba) is native to the southern, eastern, and mid-western United States and extends to Canada only in the extreme southern part of Ontario. It has the largest edible fruit native to North America. The fruit looks somewhat like a small banana and has a custard taste.
Popular attributes relates the presence of several groves of this thicket-forming understory tree along this section of the Thames River to American soldiers who carried the fruit with them from . . . — Map (db m71405) HM|
|Ontario (The Municipality of Chatham-Kent), Thamesville — Assault on Backmetack Marsh — Tuesday, October 5, 1813, 4:00 p.m. — Tecumseh Parkway|
|As Lieutenant Colonel James Johnson's horsemen were charging the British front line, his brother, Colonel Richard Johnson led an attack against the First Nations warriors in Backmetack Marsh. The mounted infantry charged the Native left flank led by 20 riders, called "The Forlorn Hope," who were intended to draw the warriors' fire and empty their guns. Tecumseh's allies fired a devastating volley at close range that cut down 15 of the riders. The casualties included Colonel Johnson who was . . . — Map (db m72397) HM|
|Ontario (The Municipality of Chatham-Kent), Thamesville — Battle of Moraviantown, 1813 — Bataille de Moraviantown, 1813 — (Battle of the Thames) / (Bataille de la Thames)|
In September 1813, during the second year of the War of 1812, the United States won control of Lake Erie, cutting British supply lines with the east and forcing the British to withdraw from the Detroit River region. Then, on October 5, 1813, 3,000 Americans, including their Aboriginal allies, defeated 950 British, Canadians, and Natives at this site. Among those killed was the famous Shawnee leader, Tecumseh, who had worked to unite the First Nations in neighbouring American . . . — Map (db m78367) HM|
|Ontario (The Municipality of Chatham-Kent), Thamesville — Fairfield — Tecumseh Parkway|
|The Moravians or "Bohemian Brethren" were a protestant sect that originated in the 1400s in Moravia and Bohemia, the present day Czech Republic. They faced persecution in their homeland and in 1722 many moved to Saxony (now part of Germany) where they were given security and land on the estate of Nikolaus Ludwig Von Zinzendorf. There they built a community called Hernhut and subsequently sent missionaries to North America where they established settlements in Pennsylvania (Bethlehem and . . . — Map (db m72448) HM|
|Ontario (The Municipality of Chatham-Kent), Thamesville — Participants in the Battle of the Thames — Tuesday, October 5, 1813 — Tecumseh Parkway|
|Jacques (James) Baby 1763-1833: A member of the Legislative and Executive Council for Upper Canada, judge for the Western District, and in command of the 1st Kent Militia, Baby was captured by the Americans at the Battle of the Thames.
Billy Caldwell 1780-1841: The son of William Caldwell and his Mohawk wife, Billy was a captain in the Indian Department and became a Potowatomi chief after the war.
William Caldwell 1750-1822: Of Scots-Irish descent, Caldwell fought in Butler's Rangers . . . — Map (db m71415) HM|
|Ontario (The Municipality of Chatham-Kent), Thamesville — Participants in the Battle of the Thames — Tuesday, October 5, 1813 — Tecumseh Parkway|
|Makataimeshekiakiak, Black Hawk, 1767-1838: A Sauk war leader and experienced warrior, Blackhawk was a veteran of the Battles of Fort Meigs and Fort Stephenson. Although he left the war for a period of time, he rejoined the British, and scholars feel that he was probably at the Battle of the Thames. Following the war, Black Hawk continued to oppose American encroachment on native lands that culminated in "The Black Hawk War" in 1832.
Naiwash: Ottawa chief
Naw Kaw: Winnebago chief. . . . — Map (db m71418) HM|
|Ontario (The Municipality of Chatham-Kent), Thamesville — Participants in the Battle of the Thames — Tuesday, October 5, 1813 — Tecumseh Parkway|
|Shabbona 1775-1859: A Potawatomi chief, grand nephew of Pontiac, and veteran of Tippecanoe, Shabbona was an accomplished warrior and strong supporter of Tecumseh. He persuaded many natives to join the confederacy.
Sou-veh-hoo-wah, Split Log, 1765-1825: Huron chief and veteran of the River Raisin and Fort Meigs, Split Log helped defeat Brigadier General McArthur's American force at the Grand River in October 1814.
Tecumseh 1768-1813: Leader of the First Nations confederacy. . . . — Map (db m71419) HM|
|Ontario (The Municipality of Chatham-Kent), Thamesville — Participants in the Battle of the Thames — Tuesday, October 5, 1813 — Tecumseh Parkway|
|John Adair 1757-1840: Pioneer, soldier, and statesman, Adair was a veteran of the American Revolution, was 8th governor of Kentucky, and represented that state in both the U.S. House of Representatives and the Senate. He fought at the Battle of the Thames and was subsequently rewarded for his service, being appointed adjutant general of Kentucky.
Lewis Cass 1782-1866: A military officer and politician, Cass was governor of the Michigan Territory and, later, U.S. senator representing . . . — Map (db m72381) HM|
|Ontario (The Municipality of Chatham-Kent), Thamesville — Participants in the Battle of the Thames — Tuesday, October 5, 1813 — Tecumseh Parkway|
|James Johnson 1774-1826: The brother of Richard Johnson, James was elected as a Kentucky State senator in 1808. He served as a lieutenant colonel in Johnson's Mounted Infantry and led the charge on the British lines at the Battle of the Thames along with his two sons. Following the war, he served in the U.S. House of representatives.
Richard Mentor Johnson 1780-1850: From Kentucky, Johnson was elected to the House of Representatives in 1806. He served as a colonel in the American Army . . . — Map (db m72385) HM|
|Ontario (The Municipality of Chatham-Kent), Thamesville — Participants in the Battle of the Thames — Tuesday, October 5, 1813 — Tecumseh Parkway|
|Isaac Shelby 1750-1826: Shelby was the 1st and 5th governor of Kentucky and a veteran of the American Revolution. As governor and at 63years of age, Shelby personally led the Kentucky Militia at the Battle of the Thames.
Tarhe 1742-1816: A Wyandot chief and loyal American, he marched with his warriors throughout General Harrison's campaign in Canada and fought at the Battle of the Thames despite being 72 years old.
William Whitley 1749-1813: Veteran of the Indian Wars, militia leader, . . . — Map (db m72388) HM|
|Ontario (The Municipality of Chatham-Kent), Thamesville — Prelude to Battle — Tuesday, October 5, 1813 — Tecumseh Parkway|
|By the early morning of October 5, 1813, the American Army had forded the Thames River and was advancing quickly. The British rearguard was able to destroy Cornwall's mill, west of Sherman's farm (present-day Thamesville, Ontario) but not the mill dam over which the road ran, which aided the American pursuit.
In Procter's absence, Colonel Warburton decided to move the British troops as far as Fairfield. At 1:00 p.m., however, Procter, who had met them en route, ordered battle lines to be . . . — Map (db m71413) HM|
|Ontario (The Municipality of Chatham-Kent), Thamesville — Tecumseh — 1768-1813|
|Born in a Shawnee village in what is now Ohio, Tecumseh became in the 1770s co-leader with his brother, the Prophet, of a movement to restore and preserve traditional Indian values. He believed a union of all the western tribes to drive back white settlement to be the one hope for Indian survival and spread this idea the length of the frontier. Seeing the Americans as the immediate threat, he allied himself with the British in 1812, assisted in the capture of Detroit and was killed near here at . . . — Map (db m71410) HM|
|Ontario (The Municipality of Chatham-Kent), Thamesville — The Bugles Sound — Tuesday, October 5, 1813, 4:00 p.m. — Tecumseh Parkway|
|Many of the men of the 41st Regiment had been stationed in Canada for 13 years. By October 5, 1813, they had not been paid for 6 to 9 months; they lacked tents and blankets; their uniforms were in rags; they were plagued by a variety of diseases; and they had not had proper food for days. British Ensign James Cochran observed, "The attack was silently awaited, each determined to do his duty, but few with any doubt as to the result."
The British, numbering about 450, faced 3000 American . . . — Map (db m72393) HM|
|Ontario (The Municipality of Chatham-Kent), Thamesville — The Burning of Fairfield — Tecumseh Parkway|
|Robert McAfee, a soldier in Colonel Johnson's Mounted Regiment, kept a journal of his experiences, and wrote on October 7, 1813:
Spent the day in collecting in plunder ... Colonel Owings Regiment of Regulars came up and took charge of the plunder and the whole army marched off and we sett [sic] fire to the town, putting the first torch to the Moravian Church and consumed the whole to ashes and we continued our march down the river to the large plantation where the bake ovens were and . . . — Map (db m72414) HM|
|Ontario (The Municipality of Chatham-Kent), Thamesville — The Death of Tecumseh — Tuesday, October 5, 1813, Approximately 4:20 p.m. — Tecumseh Parkway|
|At some point during the attack on Backmetack Marsh, Tecumseh was fatally shot. As word spread of their leader's death, one American account tells of the warriors giving, "the loudest yells I ever heard from human beings and that ended the fight."
Who killed Tecumseh is a matter of debate. Many accounts claim that the badly-wounded Colonel Richard Johnson shot Tecumseh just before he lost consciousness although, until much later in his political career, Johnson only claimed to have shot an . . . — Map (db m72405) HM|
|Ontario (The Municipality of Chatham-Kent), Thamesville — Why Choose This Site? — Tecumseh Parkway|
|Some British officers involved reported that, due to the proximity of the enemy and the fact that the troops were exhausted and hungry, they were unable to outpace the American mounted units to Fairfield. Another theory is that Procter sought to avoid a military confrontation at Fairfield due to the number of civilian refugees and wounded still at the village. — Map (db m71414) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Chippawa — Battle of Chippawa|
|[Text on the West Side]:
Battle of Chippawa
5 July 1814
In memory of all those who fought on this ground, many of whom are buried nearby,
and to commemorate the peace that has prevailed between Canada and the United States
since that time.
This monument was erected and dedicated by
The Niagara Parks Commission.
Brian E. Merrett, Chairman
The Niagara Parks Commission
[Text on the South Side]: . . . — Map (db m49393) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Chippawa — Chippawa Battlefield Panel 1 — Background to a Battle|
|On these fields and the surrounding woods 4,000 American, British, Canadian and Native forces fought the first major battle of the Niagara campaign of 1814. When the last shots died away on Samuel Street's farm, more than 800 lay dead and wounded. Since 18 June 1812, when the United States declared war on Great Britain, a small force of British Regulars, Canadian Militia and Native Warriors had turned back seven American invasions of Canada.
On 3 July 1814, Major General Jacob Brown, . . . — Map (db m49398) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Chippawa — Chippawa Battlefield Panel 2 — Opening Strikes — July 5, 1814 3:00 p.m.|
|At dawn 5 July 1814, parties of Canadian-Militia and British allied Native Warriors scouted the American camp. They began sniping from the bushes on the north side of Street's Creek and this continued throughout the morning. Around noon, General Brown ordered General Porter to take some of his men and end this harassing fire.
At about 2pm, Porter led his New York and Pennsylvania Militia and allied Warriors into the woods to the west, crossed the creek and drove the scouting parties . . . — Map (db m49399) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Chippawa — Chippawa Battlefield Panel 3 — Advance to Contact — July 5, 1814 3:30 p.m.|
|Major General Phineas Riall, the British commander, had repaired the bridge over the Chippawa and ordered his own Regular light infantry, the local Canadians of the 2nd Lincoln Militia and a force of Native Warriors, to clear out the now scattered American skirmishers. The remainder of Riall's brigade 1st, 8th and 100th Regiments of Foot (1,400 men) marched south along the river road toward General Brown and his outpost. Brown could not see the British troops through the strip of trees just . . . — Map (db m49400) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Chippawa — Chippawa Battlefield Panel 4 — Battle on the Plain — July 5, 1814 4:30 p.m.|
|British General Riall was convinced that the greater part of Brown's army was still surrounding Fort Erie. He did not know the Fort had surrendered and he was facing the entire U.S. division. Still, the number of men deployed on both sides was virtually the same: 6 British guns verses 7 U.S., with each side mustering about 1400 regulars, 200 militia and 300 warriors.
Confident in the abilities of his regulars, Riall advanced towards the waiting grey-coated line. The Redcoats pushed to . . . — Map (db m49402) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Chippawa — Chippawa Battlefield Panel 5 — Final Stages — July 5, 1814 5:30 p.m.|
|As the battle raged, more American artillery deployed to the middle of the plain between the 11th U.S. and the lone 25th U.S. company, less than 100 meters (109 yards) from the British line. General Brown then led Ripley's brigade across Street's Creek to the west in an effort to envelop the entire British Force. However, the creek was chest deep, the undergrowth thick and Ripley's men never did join the fight on the plain. Meanwhile, with point blank canister raking his line, the enemy's . . . — Map (db m49403) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Chippawa — Chippawa Battlefield Panel 6 — The Aftermath|
|The Aftermath. In the days following the battle, General Brown's victorious troops advanced another 25 kilometers (18 miles) north to Fort George before retiring back to Niagara Falls when more British troops arrived in the area. They met the British forces again on 25 July along another farmer's lane where 1,800 more men were killed and wounded. Following the bloody Battle of Lundy's Lane the American forces passed the field and graves of the Battle of Chippawa as they withdrew to Fort Erie. . . . — Map (db m49404) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Chippawa — Fort Chippawa 1791|
|The fortifications which stood on this site were built in 1791 to protect the southern terminus of the Niagara portage road, and serve as a forwarding depot for government supplies. Known also as Fort Welland, the main structure consisted of a log blockhouse surrounded by a stockade. During the War of 1812 several bloody engagements were fought in this vicinity including the bitterly contested Battle of Chippawa, July 5, 1814, and possession of the fort frequently changed hands. A barracks, . . . — Map (db m49164) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Chippawa — The Battle of Chippawa — La Bataille de Chippawa|
|Here, on 5 July 1814, an American army under Major-General Jacob Brown launched the last major invasion of Canada during the War of 1812. The Americans defeated a British and Canadian force commanded by Major-General Phineas Riall consisting of regulars, militia and Aboriginal warriors. During the engagement, about 200 men were killed and over 500 hundred wounded. After four months of heavy fighting, with major action at Lundy's Lane, Fort Erie and Cook's Mills, the invaders were forced back to . . . — Map (db m49050) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Chippawa — The Battle of Chippawa|
|On this site was fought
The Battle of Chippawa
July 5, 1814.
Preservation of the Battleground
was made possible by
The Niagara Parks Commission
with the cooperation of
Frank and Mildred Branscombe,
River Realty Development (1976) inc.
and Group 2 Development Limited
of Niagara Falls, Ontario — Map (db m49460) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Chippawa — The Founding of Chippawa|
|In 1792-94 a village grew up near Fort Chippawa on Chippawa Creek at the end of the new portage road from Queenston. In 1793 the creek was renamed the Welland River, but the village, where a post-office was opened before 1801, remained "Chippawa". It was largely destroyed 1813-14 when British and American forces fought for control of the Welland River. Portage traffic revived after the war and continued until Chippawa became an outlet for the original Welland Canal from 1829 to 1833. A . . . — Map (db m54124) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Chippiwa — Raid on Fort Schlosser 1813|
|At daybreak on July 5, 1813, a British and Canadian force, consisting of some 35 militia and a small detachment of the 49th Regiment, embarked in this vicinity to attack Fort Schlosser. This American depot (now within Niagara Falls, New York) was situated at the southern terminus of the Lewiston Portage, and was an important military trans-shipment point. The attacking force, commanded by Lieut.-Col. Thomas Clark of the 2nd Regiment, Lincoln Militia, surprised the U.S. garrison and encountered . . . — Map (db m49163) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Crystal Beach — Capture of the "Somers" and "Ohio"|
|On the night of August 12, 1814 seventy seamen and marines, led by Captain Alexander T. Dobbs, R.N.,embarked in this vicinity to attempt the capture of three armed U.S. schooners lying off American-held Fort Erie. One of the six boats used had been carried some 25 miles from Queenston, while the others were brought overland from Frenchman's Creek. Masquerading as supply craft, the force boarded and seized the "Somers" and "Ohio," the "Porcupine" alone escaping. Two of the attackers, including . . . — Map (db m53441) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Fort Erie — Capture of the "Ohio" and "Somers" — Prise des Goelettes "Ohio" et "Somers"|
|On the night of 12 August 1814, as a prelude to a British attack on Fort Erie, an expedition was mounted against three armed American schooners anchored off the fort. Captain Alexander Dobbs, R.N., embarked with 70 seamen and marines in six batteaux which had been portaged from Frenchman's Creek, and by a ruse got close enough to cut the hawsers and board and capture the OHIO and SOMERS. The third vessel, PORCUPINE, escaped. Dobb's victory was the last naval action fought on the Great Lakes in . . . — Map (db m48913) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Fort Erie — Fort Erie|
|Three fortifications occupied this site. The first (1764-1779) and second (c. 1783-1803), located at lower levels, were abandoned when ice and water inundated the works. The third Fort Erie, built between 1805 and 1808, was repaired in January 1814 but was captured by an invading American army in July of that same year. The Americans used it as a base for subsequent operations, retreated here after their defeat at Lundy's Lane, survived a siege by the British in August and September, and . . . — Map (db m48912) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Fort Erie — Fort Erie, Pro Patria Mori Cairn|
|[Text on the base of the Cairn];
Here are buried
150 British Officers and Men
Who fell in the attack on Fort Erie
On the 26th day of August, 1814, and three
of the defenders, men of the United States
Infantry, whose remains were discovered
during the restoration of Fort Erie,
1938 & 1939
[Text on first of 2 plaques mounted on the Cairn]:
In Memory of the
Officers and Seamen of
the Royal Navy, The Off-
icers, Non commissioned
Officers and . . . — Map (db m54139) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Fort Erie — Frenchman's Creek|
|In an effort to regain the initiative lost at Queenston, the Americans planned a general invasion for 28 November 1812. Before dawn advance parties crossed the Niagara River to cut communications between Fort Erie and Chippawa and to silence the British shore guns. The attackers failed to destroy the bridge over Frenchman's Creek and the batteries they had overrun were soon retaken by British reinforcements. After confused fighting the advance parties returned to the American shore. The main . . . — Map (db m49049) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Grimsby — Engagement at the Forty|
|[English Text]: Engagement at the Forty
Here at the Forty Mile Creek, on 8th June, 1813, American forces, retreating after the Battle of Stoney Creek, were bombarded by a British flotilla under Sir James Lucas Yeo.
Indians and groups of the 4th and 5th Regiments Lincoln Militia joined in the attack and created such confusion in the enemy ranks that they abandoned this position and retreated to Fort George.
[French Text]: L'Engagement de Forty Mile Creek . . . — Map (db m56704) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Grimsby — Grimsby 1812 Bicentennial Flagpole|
|We dedicate this flagpole to the
Grimsby 1812 Bicentennial peace garden
in honour of the "Encounter at the Forty"
at this site on June 8, 1813, a turning point in
the War of 1812 by the United States and the British.
Also, to celebrate 200 years of peace and
prosperity that has existed between
Canada and the United States. — Map (db m56993) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Grimsby — Grimsby 1812 Bicentennial Gazebo|
|We dedicate this gazebo to the Grimsby 1812 Bicentennial Peace Garden and to the residents of Grimsby, In commemoration of 200 years of peace between Canada and the United States.
The design of the gazebo was inspired by elements of Fort George in Niagara. The north "Bastion" of the gazebo points towards Lake Ontario and the location of the British fleet during the "Engagement at the Forty". The American cannon ball mounted on the Bastion wall was found near this site by Erwin Phelps, . . . — Map (db m57034) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Niagara Falls — 3. The Capture of the Redan and the Death of Brock|
|On the river banks below here, the Americans were trapped. To the right the Americans scaled the river cliff and seized the Heights above. To the left the British held the Village of Queenston. A British 18-pounder cannon situated here within an earthwork called a "redan". On October 13, 1812, this cannon hindered the reinforcement of the American troops trapped below. Arriving from Fort George, Major-General Brock came here to direct the defence of Queenston and await reinforcements, however . . . — Map (db m75875) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Niagara Falls — Battle of Lundy's Lane — Bataille de Lundy's Lane|
|This was the site of the bloodiest battle of the War of 1812. On the afternoon of 25th July, 1814, Lieutenant-General Gordon Drummond with about 2800 men engaged the invading American army which had recently been victorious at Chippawa. The armies were evenly matched and the six-hour battle lasted until darkness and heavy losses put an end to the fighting. Each force had lost over 800 men. Although each claimed victory, the Americans had failed to dislodge Drummond from his position. They . . . — Map (db m49053) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Niagara Falls — Bridgewater Mills|
|In the late 1790's the river flowed swiftly around these islands. The Bridgewater Mills, a water powered saw and grist mill and an iron foundry, where the first bar iron was made in Canada, were located here. The Mills were burned by the retreating American Army after the Battle of Lundy's Lane on July 26, 1814, and were not rebuilt. — Map (db m53402) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Niagara Falls — Holding the High Ground|
|Early on the morning of July 26th, 1814, Lieutenant-General Sir Gordon Drummond awaited another attack on the Lundy's Lane hill near Niagara Falls. Throughout the previous night, this hill had been taken and retaken in the bloodiest, most hard fought battle of the War of 1812-14.
The expected attack did not occur. The Americans, exhausted, withdrew to Fort Erie. In November, they abandoned Fort Erie and retired across the Niagara River.
Drummond and his troop's had successfully . . . — Map (db m49693) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Niagara Falls — Laura Secord|
|[Front Side of the Monument]:
the name and fame of
who walked alone nearly 20
miles by a circuitous difficult
and perilous route, through woods
and swamps and over miry roads
to warn a British outpost at
DeCew’s Falls of an intended attack
and thereby enabled Lt. FitzGibbon
on the 24th June 1813, with less
than 50 men of H.M. 49th Regt.,
about 15 militiamen and a small
force of Six Nations and other . . . — Map (db m49694) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Niagara Falls — Lundy's Lane Battlefield Commemorative Wall — Celebrating 100 Years — July 25, 2004|
|In celebration of the City of Niagara Falls Centennial, and the 190th Anniversary of the Battle of Lundy's Lane, fought on July 25, 1814. These limestone panels were created to pay tribute to those who lost their lives in the battle. Let us remember and honour those that have come before us and celebrate the peace that now exists between the two nations. — Map (db m49739) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Niagara Falls — One Hundredth Anniversary of the Battle of Lundy's Lane|
– is –
Erected to Commemorate
the celebration of the
Anniversary of the
Held here July 25th 1914
Under the Auspices
– of –
The Lundy's Lane
Historical Society — Map (db m54045) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Niagara Falls — Ruth Redmond — 1903 - 1999|
|Ruth Redmond was a teacher at nearby Stamford Collegiate from 1926 to 1967.
In 1954, Miss Redmond began purchasing properties that were adjacent to her home here on the north side of Lundy's Lane. This valuable land was part of the Lundy's Lane Battleground from the War of 1812. Her sole objective was to protect this historic ground from commercial development. Miss Redmond beautified much of her property with lovely flower gardens in memory of "her boys" - those who had perished in the . . . — Map (db m57035) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Niagara Falls — Site of Redan Battery|
|Near this spot Lieut-Col. John MacDonnell Attorney General of Upper Canada was mortally wounded 13th October 1812. — Map (db m75855) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Niagara Falls — Soldier's Monument — Lundy's Lane|
|[Front Side of Monument]:
Erected by the
in honour of the victory
gained by the
British & Canadian Forces
on this field on the
25th day of July, 1814
and in grateful remembrance
of the brave men
who died on that day
fighting for the unity
of the Empire.
[Left Side of Monument]:
In enduring memory of . . . — Map (db m49790) WM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Niagara-on-the-Lake — A Fort Evolves — Fort Mississauga|
By 1813, the British were planning to build "a tower in small redoubt to command the entrance of the River...at Mississauga Point." Begun in the Spring of 1814, this tower rests on the remains of the first Capital of Upper Canada (today's Ontario). After the Americans burned the town of Newark in 1813, the British tore down the remaining brick walls and chimneys to provide a foundation. The tower was only two feet high in July when an American force under General . . . — Map (db m52200) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Niagara-on-the-Lake — A Strategic Location|
|A Strategic Location
You are standing at Mississauga Point where the Niagara River flows into Lake Ontario. Long ago the lakes and rivers were military supply and transportation routes and forts were built to protect them.
The large stone fort across the river is Fort Niagara. The French built a fort here in 1687, and the present one was begun in 1720. In August 1759 the British captured the fort after a lengthy seige. Prideaux and Johnston streets in Niagara-on-the-Lake . . . — Map (db m52610) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Niagara-on-the-Lake — A Strategic Site|
|Fort Niagara was only 1200 metres from Fort
George, well within artillery range. In May, 1813, combined artillery fire from Fort Niagara, its detached batteries, and American warships at the river's mouth completely destroyed Fort George
and forced the British to abandon it to the
invading Americans. Only the powder magazine
survived. By the end of the war, the British had re-
occupied Fort George and captured Fort Niagara. — Map (db m53604) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Niagara-on-the-Lake — Action at Butler's Farm — Engagement a Butler's Farm|
|On the 8th of July, 1813, an outpost of the invading force, encamped near Fort George, was defeated by a band of Six Nations and Western Indians led by Chiefs John Norton and Blackbird and interpreters Michel Brisebois, Louis Langlade and Barnet Lyons. Lieutenant Samuel Eldridge and 22 soldiers of the 13th United States Infantry were killed and 12 taken prisoners.
Le 8 juillet 1813, une bande d'Indiens des Six-Nations et d'Indiens de l'Ouest, conduite par les chefs John Norton et Blackbird . . . — Map (db m48747) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Niagara-on-the-Lake — Brown's Point|
|Brown's Inn was located here. Both the Canadian York Militia and the American Army bivouacked near here on separate occasions during the War of 1812. Adam Brown later added a store to his inn, and built a wharf on the river shore below, where sailing ships loaded settlers' produce, potash and lime destined for Montreal and overseas. — Map (db m49166) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Niagara-on-the-Lake — Brown's Point|
Here Gen. Sir Isaac Brock
called out on his way to
13th October 1812
York Volunteers." — Map (db m49482) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Niagara-on-the-Lake — Capture of Fort Niagara — 1813|
|In the early morning of December 19th, 1813, a force under Colonel John Murray, consisting of detachments of the 100th and 41st Regiments. Royal Scots, Royal Artillery and Canadian Militia embarked in bateaux at the foot of this ravine. Crossing silently to a point above Youngstown, New York, they attacked Fort Niagara killing or capturing its American garrison. — Map (db m49158) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Niagara-on-the-Lake — Fort George — Ie Fort George|
|Constructed by order of Lieutenant-Governor Simcoe 1796-99, Fort George served as the headquarters for Major-General Brock in 1812. In May, 1813, it was bombarded and captured by the Americans who constructed fortifications of their own on the site. These in turn were retaken by the British in December 1813. In 1815 Fort George was described as "tumbling into ruins" and ordered abandoned. The present works are a reconstruction done in 1937-40, and represents the fort as it was in 1799-1813. . . . — Map (db m48743) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Niagara-on-the-Lake — Fort Mississauga — Le Fort Mississauga|
|This tower and earthwork are all that survive of the barracks, guardroom, and cells of Fort Mississauga. Built between 1814 and 1816 to replace Fort George as the counterpoise to the American Fort Niagara immediately opposite, it was garrisoned until 1826. Repaired and rearmed following the Rebellion of 1837, it continued to be maintained until 1854 in response to border disputes with the United States. It was manned during the tense years of the American Civil War and the Fenian scare of 1866, . . . — Map (db m48745) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Niagara-on-the-Lake — Fort Mississauga is a National Historic Site — an impotant part of Canada's story!|
|• Mississauga Point was the location of a Neutral First Nation fishing settlement by the 15th century.
• The area was under the control of the Seneca Nation during the late 17th century, and it became home to the Mississauga Nation by the 18th century.
• Fort Mississauga was begun during the War of 1812, and helped the British and Canadians defend the Niagara frontier against a powerful invading American army in 1814.
• It was completed after the War, and was a part of a defense . . . — Map (db m52236) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Niagara-on-the-Lake — Fort Mississauga Trail — Sentier du fort Mississauga|
|Explore a part of our heritage - visit a fort almost 200 years old and discover part of the Lake Ontario shoreline.
Explorez un volet de notre patrimoine - visitez un fort qui a presque 200 ans d'histoire et decouvrez une partie du rivage du lac Ontario. — Map (db m48632) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Niagara-on-the-Lake — Fort Niagara|
|Across the Niagara River is the imposing American stronghold, Fort Niagara. Originally built by the French, then occupied by the British, and finally by the Americans, this fort for nearly 150 years stood guard over the traditional supply route to the Upper Great Lakes. — Map (db m53630) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Niagara-on-the-Lake — Guns Gins and Devil Carts|
|Garrison guns were heavy and awkward to move. To be transported, the barrel had to be taken off the carriage with the help of a tripod hoist or gun gin. The gin was equipped with a pulley system that made it possible for two men to lift the barrel. The barrel was then attached to a horse-drawn carriage known as a sling or devil cart. The gun gin was also used to hoist a barrel when the carriage had to be replaced. — Map (db m54006) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Niagara-on-the-Lake — McFarland House 1800|
|This Georgian style house was built in 1800 by John McFarland (1757-1815) and his sons, on land granted by the Crown. It is one of the oldest surviving structures in the Niagara district. During the War of 1812 it was used as a hospital by both British and American forces and a British battery, located behind the house, protected the river. In 1813, John McFarland was taken prisoner by the Americans following their capture of Fort George. When he returned in 1815, much of his property had been . . . — Map (db m49480) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Niagara-on-the-Lake — Navy Hall|
|The facilities of this strategic location have served British and later Canadian troops stationed at Niagara from 1765 to the 1920's. — Map (db m49477) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Niagara-on-the-Lake — Niagara National Historic Sites|
|Brock's Monument and
This striking commemoration and final resting place of Major General Brock marks the site of the Battle of Queenston Heights. Visitors can climb the 235 stairs to take in spectacular views, or set off on a self-guided tour which covers every major scene of the historic battle
Navy Hall survives as the last building of what was once a large military complex and key supply depot for British forts on the Upper . . . — Map (db m54037) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Niagara-on-the-Lake — Point Mississauga Lighthouse — Le Phare de Point Mississauga|
|The first lighthouse on the Great Lakes was built of stone at Point Mississauga in 1804 by John Symington, under orders from Lieutenant-Governor Peter Hunter. Demolished in 1814 to make room for this fort, its materials with debris from the ruined town of Niagara, were incorporated into this tower.
En 1804, John Symington, sur l'ordre du lieutenant-gouverneur Peter Hunter, construisit le premier phare des Grand lacs à Point Mississauga. Ce phare, qui était en pierre, fut démoli en 1814 . . . — Map (db m48746) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Niagara-on-the-Lake — Sir Isaac Brock's First Burial Site|
|Placed Here by the Niagara
The Spot Where
Gen. Sir Isaac
was buried from
1812 To 1824 — Map (db m53535) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Niagara-on-the-Lake — Six Pounder Field Gun|
|Field artillery was designed for mobility. Cannons mounted on carriages with large wheels could be moved quickly, even over rough terrain. This six pounder has a limber to carry ammunition and supplies and would be harnessed to a team of horses. Field guns like this were used by the Royal Artillery on battlefields around the world.
After the defeat of the British forces at the Battle of Fort George, field guns manned by the Royal Artillery and the local militia were critical in delaying . . . — Map (db m54000) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Niagara-on-the-Lake — The Battle of Fort George — La Bataille de Fort George|
|On the 25th May, 1813, the American Fleet and the Batteries at Fort Niagara across the river began a devastating two-day bombardment of Fort George. On the 27th a large American force was landed and after a brief engagement in which his outnumbered garrison sustained heavy casualties, Brigadier-General John Vincent made an orderly withdrawl towards Burlington. The capture of Fort George left the Americans in control of the Niagara Frontier, but Vincent's troops a week later won a decisive . . . — Map (db m48628) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Niagara-on-the-Lake — The Early Years|
|[Text on Marker]:
Navy Hall originally consisted of a small shipyard, storehouses, residences and docks which served as a depot for local supplies; it also served as a trans-shipment point for the posts on the upper Great Lakes. From 1792 to 1796 Lieutenant Governor Simcoe had offices and his residence in the complex. These buildings were later converted to military use until destroyed by American artillery fire during the War of 1812.
[Caption for Background Picture]: . . . — Map (db m49476) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Niagara-on-the-Lake — The Field House|
|One of the oldest brick houses in Ontario, this handsome Georgian structure was built about 1800. Originally a farm house, it was the home of Gilbert Field (1765-1815), a United Empire Loyalist who was in possesion of the land by 1790. During the War of 1812 the house was used by British forces and was subjected to a brief bombardment from an American battery. Though damaged, it was one of the few homes in the area to survive the hostilities. It remained in the Field family until about 1925, . . . — Map (db m56718) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Niagara-on-the-Lake — The Fortified Mouth of the Niagara River|
|The St.Lawrence and Great Lakes system was the most efficient route to the interior of the continent of North America. Large waterways allowed for substantial sailing vessels to trade and maintain contact with Native allies from Montreal to the Mississippi with minimal portages and transhipment in smaller boats. The one great obstacle along the chain of waterways was Niagara Falls whose dramatic height required some control of the land to allow for a portage around the escarpment and the falls . . . — Map (db m53624) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Niagara-on-the-Lake — The Remains of Three Soldiers|
|Here was found in
The remains of three
Soldiers who fell on
27th May 1813
In defense of our country — Map (db m48629) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Niagara-on-the-Lake — Ubique|
Artillery was vitally important to the defense of Upper Canada. Due to a shortage of heavy cannons available in the province, there were only five garrison guns mounted inside Fort George in May of 1813.
Moving large cannons weighing several tons was a challenge. The easiest way to move guns was by water. Movement by land was slow and labour intensive and could expose the men moving them to enemy fire. Bad weather and poor roads could also make the . . . — Map (db m53989) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Niagara-on-the-Lake — Vrooman's Battery — La Batterie Vrooman|
|Manned by Captain Samuel Hatt's 5th Lincoln (Militia) Regiment and a small party of the Lincoln Militia Artillery under Lieutenant John Ball, and consisting of one 24-pounder cannon mounted within a crescent-shaped earthwork, this Battery was engaged in the Battle of Queenston Heights on the 13th of October, 1812. Commanding the Niagara river, its continuous fire harassed the Americans crossing from Lewiston, provided cover for the British when they were first repulsed from the heights, and . . . — Map (db m48750) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Niagara-on-the-Lake — Welcome to Fort George|
|Built in 1796, Fort George was the scene of fierce engagements during the War of 1812. It was captured and destroyed then refortified by the Americans in 1813. It was re-taken by the British later that same year. The fort was abandoned in the 1820's, and only the original stone powder magazine survives today. Fort George was reconstructed between 1937-40.
Today we invite you to pass through the fort gates and re-live this exciting era in history. — Map (db m54038) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Queenston — 1. Attack — The Battle of Queenston Heights Walking Tour — Stop 1 of the 5-stop walking tour|
|If you go to the lookout behind the Laura Secord monument you will see across the river and slightly to your right the area where a huge American force assembled for the invasion of Canada. In the early hours of October 13, 1812, six hundred American soldiers crossed the river and landed on the Canadian shore somewhere above the present docks. Queenston was chosen as the target because it was an important point on the British supply line and because the only other possible landing spot was the . . . — Map (db m55029) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Queenston — 2. The Treacherous River Cliff — The Battle of Queenston Heights Walking Tour — Stop 2 of the 5-stop walking tour|
|"An unguarded trail up this steep cliff was the only route which the Americans had to the heights of Queenston. The trail was to your right but does not exist any longer. Trapped on the river shore by unrelenting gunfire, the Americans contemplated a desperate action: the ascent of this cliff. The British, positioned on a ledge between here and the Village of Queenston did not detect the movement and the attackers took the Heights by surprise. However, later in the battle this cliff became a . . . — Map (db m55030) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Queenston — 4. The Counter-Offensive Takes Shape — The Battle of Queenston Heights Walking Tour — Stop 4 of the 5-Stop Walking Tour|
|The Niagara escarpment rises above you. The British reinforcements arriving here from Fort George, in battle dress and exhausted from a "double quick march", struggled up this slope some distance to your right. While the Americans controlled Queenston Heights they were prevented from properly establishing their position by the harassment of 120 Indians under Chief Norton. In the meantime, Regular British troops and Canadian militia were arriving from Fort George and other outposts. Under the . . . — Map (db m55533) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Queenston — 5. The Decisive Battle — The Battle of Queenston Heights Walking Tour — Stop 5 of the 5-stop walking tour|
|On the plateau before you, the British and Americans met for battle. The British formed a line to your right, the Americans to your left. General Sheaffe formed a British counter-offensive force of nine hundred men in a line shoulder to shoulder. The Americans were slightly greater in number but had not been reinforced with troops or arms since the arrival of the Indians. They had to meet the British with their backs to the river precipice. The British combined force advanced with fixed . . . — Map (db m55028) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Queenston — 'Alfred'|
|Early in the morning of October 13, 1812, after galloping seven miles from Fort George, General Brock tethered his gray horse ‘Alfred’ here in the Village of Queenston in order to lead a charge on foot to repel the invading enemy. Brock was killed leading the attack.
Colonel Macdonell then took command until General Sheafe could arrive from Fort George with reinforcements. Macdonell rode ‘Alfred’ to lead another charge; he was mortaly wounded and ‘Alfred’ was killed, part of the price of . . . — Map (db m49167) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Queenston — Brock Dead House — The first of five places where Sir Isaac Brock's body rested after the Battle of Queenston Heights|
|During the War of 1812, the Brock Dead House was owned by Patrick McCabe. The façade was oriented in an easterly direction, facing the Niagara River.
Courtesy Brock University Library,
Special Collections and Archives
Brock Dead House
On 13th of October 1812, Major-General Sir Isaac Brock was killed at the Battle of Queenston Heights. In the midst of a deadly gunfire, his body was carried off the field and hidden in a nearby house. This improvised mortuary, or dead house. was . . . — Map (db m75882) HM WM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Queenston — Brock's Cenotaph|
|[Text on North Side of Marker]:
Near the spot
Sir Isaac Brock, K.C.B.
Governor of Upper Canada
fell on 13 - October, 1812
while advancing to repel
the invading enemy.
[Text on South Side of Marker]:
Was placed by His Royal Highness
Albert Edward, Prince of Wales
on 18th September, 1860. — Map (db m49483) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Queenston — Brock's Monument|
|Upper Canada has dedicated this monument
to the memory of the late
Major-General Sir Issac Brock K.B.
Provisional Lieut.Governor and commander of the forces
in this province whose remains are deposited in the vault beneath.
Opposing the invading enemy he fell in action near these heights
on the 13th of October 1812, in the 43 year of his age.
Revered and lamented by the people whom he governed
and deplored by the sovreign
to whose service his life had . . . — Map (db m49926) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Queenston — Brock's Monument - Queenston Heights Battlefield|
|The monument towering above you is a memorial to Major-General Sir Isaac Brock commander of British forces in Upper Canada at the beginning of the War of 1812. Brock died on the slopes below Queenston Heights on October 13, 1812, during an engagement between British and American forces. It was a battle that had great significance for Canada. This monument was constructed between 1853-56. It is 56 metres (184 feet) high and is constructed entirely of cut stone. Parks Canada maintains the . . . — Map (db m52137) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Queenston — Fort Drummond|
|[English Text]: Fort Drummond
This small redoubt, or square fortification, and the U-shaped advance battery, named in honour of Sir Gordon Drummond, were built in the late spring of 1814 to defend the main portage road from Chippawa to Queenston. The earthworks enclosed a blockhouse which sheltered 100 men. After the British defeat at the battle of Chippawa, these men abandoned Fort Drummond and joined Major-General Riall's forces retiring to Fort George on 10 July 1814. For . . . — Map (db m56658) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Queenston — Home of Laura Ingersoll Secord|
|[Text inscribed on stone monument]:
[Text on lower plaque]:
This stone marker was placed in 1901 by the Women's Literary Club of St. Catharines
to honour Laura Secord and was re-
dedicated in 1972 by members of the
Club on the occasion of their 80th
annual pilgrimage. — Map (db m51612) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Queenston — Indians at Queenston Heights — October 13, 1812|
|Warriors of the Six Nations of Iroquois (Mohawks, Oniedas Onondagos, Cayugas, Senecas, Tuscaroras), mainly from the Grand River, fought as allies of the British in this historic battle with the Americans. Speaking distinctive dialects and with different religious beliefs, these Indians were drawn together for the battle by John Norton, a resourceful and courageous commander. Norton, a man of Cherokee and Scottish ancestry, was a Mohawk (Teyoninhokarawen) by adoption. With John Brant . . . — Map (db m49168) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Queenston — Laura Ingersoll Secord|
|[Front side of Monument]:
This monument has been
erected by the
Government of Canada
Laura Ingersoll Secord
who saved her husband's life
in the battle on these heights,
October 13th, 1812,
and who risked her own
in conveying to Capt. Fitzgibbon,
information by which he won
the victory of Beaver Dams
[Back side of Monument]:
United Empire Loyalist
Born July 7th, 1773
Died . . . — Map (db m75866) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Queenston — Laura Ingersoll Secord 1775-1868|
|Born in Great Barrington, Massachusetts, Laura Ingersoll came to Upper Canada with her father in 1795, and settled in this area. About two years later she married James Secord, a United Empire Loyalist, and within seven years they had moved to this site from nearby St. David's. From here during the war of 1812, Laura Secord set out on an arduous 19-mile journey to warn the local British commander, Lieutenant James Fitzgibbon, of an impending American attack. The courage and tenacity displayed . . . — Map (db m49160) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Queenston — Laura Secord (1775-1868)|
The celebrated heroine of the war of 1812 is a renowned figure in Canadian History. Determined to warn the British of an impending attack on Beaver Dams, Secord set out from her home on June 22, 1813, on a dangerous mission. She traveled alone for over 30 kilometers, behind enemy lines, struggling to make it to the De Cew farmhouse, where she informed Lieutenant Fitzgibbon about the American plan. Later in the 19th century, a first generation of women historians . . . — Map (db m51613) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Queenston — Sheaffe's Path to Victory|
Path to Victory
1812 — Map (db m53530) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Queenston — Sir Roger Hale Sheaffe — 1763 - 1851|
|On October 13, 1812, following Isaac Brock's death in a preceding assault, Major-General Sheaffe assumed command and led a successful attack which dislodged an invading American force from Queenston Heights. Born in Boston, Mass., Sheaffe was commissioned in the British army in 1778 and fought in the American Revolution and the Napoleonic Wars. Arriving in Upper Canada in 1812, he served as Administrator of the province 1812-13, and returned to England in the latter year. He was created a . . . — Map (db m49161) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Queenston — The "Colored Corps" 1812 - 1815|
|[Side of Marker Using English Text]:
When the War of 1812 began, people of African descent in the Niagara peninsular feared an American invasion. They were anxious to preserve their freedom and prove their loyalty to Britain. Many joined the militia; others offered to raise their own militia company. Authorities responded by forming a "Colored Corps" of about thirty men commanded by white officers. Based in the Niagara region throughout the war, it fought at Queenston Heights in . . . — Map (db m49162) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Queenston — The Battle of Queenston Heights — La Batatille des Hauteurs de Queenston|
|In the early morning of 13 October 1812, American troops under Major-General Stephen Van Rensellaer crossed the Niagara River and took possession of Queenston Heights. Major-General Isaac Brock hurried from Fort George to lead a small force against the invaders and was killed in an attempt to regain the heights. In the afternoon, Major-General Roger Hale Sheaffe with his force of British regulars, militia and Indians from Fort George strengthened by reinforcements from Chippawa, took the hill . . . — Map (db m48908) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Queenston — The Battle of Queenston Heights — The Battle of Queenston Heights Walking Tour|
|The Battle of Queenston Heights
The village below you and the heights on which you are standing were the stage for the famous Battle of Queenston Heights.
It took place during the Anglo-American conflict 1812-1815 known as the War of 1812. During the early morning hours of October 13, 1812 an American invasion force camped at Lewiston crossed the Niagara river and gained control of the heights of Queenston. After many hours of fierce combat, they were crushed by a combined . . . — Map (db m51682) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Queenston — The Founding of Queenston|
|Following the loss, after the American Revolution of the Niagara River's east bank, a new portage around Niagara Falls was established in the 1780s' with Queenston its northern terminous. Wharves, storehouses and a block-house were built. Robert Hamilton, a prominent merchant considered the village's founder, operated a thriving trans-shipment business. Known as the "Lower Landing" it was named "Queenston" by Lieut.-Governor Simcoe. During the war of 1812 the village was badly damaged. Here . . . — Map (db m51621) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), St. Catharines — Richard Pierpoint c.1744-c.1838|
|One of the first Black settlers in this region, Pierpoint was born in Senegal. At the age of about 16 he was imprisoned and shipped to America where he became the slave of a British officer. During the American Revolution he enlisted in the British forces, thereby gaining his freedom, and served with Butler's Rangers. Disbanded at Niagara, "Captain Dick" settled near here. At the outbreak of the War of 1812 he joined the Coloured Corps and in 1821, recalling his militia service, he petitioned . . . — Map (db m75872) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), St. Catharines — This Statue of the Honourable William Hamilton Merritt|
|has been erected by his grandson William Hamilton Merritt of the City of Toronto, son of William Hamilton Merritt Jr. of St. Catharines, as a tribute to the father of Canadian transportaion who through initiatory steps in first waterways and railways earned that title.
He projected and carried to a successful completion the bridging of the cataract of Niagara by the Welland Canal 1824-29, the first railway suspension bridge in the world spanning the gorge of the same river 1846-55, and the . . . — Map (db m76186) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), St. Catharines — William Hamilton Merritt 1793 - 1862|
|A pioneer in the field of transportation, Merritt was born in Bedford, New York and settled at Twelve Mile Creek (St. Catharines) with his Loyalist family in 1796. He served with the provincial cavalry during the War of 1812, then operated mercantile and milling enterprises here. Primarily responsible for the construction of the first Welland Canal (1824-33). Merritt worked tirelessly to promote this ambitious venture, both by raising funds and by enlisting government support. During his long . . . — Map (db m76184) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), St. Davids — Headquarters of DeRottenberg|
1812 — Map (db m58109) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), St. Davids — The Burning of St. Davids 1814|
|On July 18th, 1814, during the final American campaign on the Niagara frontier, Major-General Peter B. Porter sent a detachment of militia from the United States encampment at Queenston to attack St. Davids. This force, commanded by Lieutenant-Colonel Isaac W. Stone, was joined later by a small group of American regulars. Despite opposition from the 1st Lincoln Militia, the enemy captured the village, looted it and burned most of the buildings. Stone was severely censured for this destruction . . . — Map (db m58172) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Thorold — Beaver Dams|
|Following their repulse at Stoney Creek the Americans sent a force from Fort George to destroy a British advanced post at Beaver Dams. Warned of their approach by an Indian scout and by Laura Secord, a force of Indians from Caughnawaga and the Grand River, led by Captains Dominique Ducharme and William Kerr, ambushed the attackers near here on 24 of June 1813, and compelled them to surrender to Lieutenant James Fitzgibbon of the regular British army. After this defeat the Americans did not . . . — Map (db m48909) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Thorold — DeCou House Monument|
|DeCou's Stone House
This house of Captain John DeCou (the name was variously spelled by his relatives and descendants and latterly as DeCew) was the Headquarters of the British outpost under Lieut. James Fitzgibbon to which came Laura Secord through the woods and swamps below the Niagara Escarpment from Queenston on June 24, 1813 to warn of the American advance. Thus warned, the small British force with its Indian allies captured, by bold strategy, at . . . — Map (db m56826) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Thorold — In Memory of Unknown American Soldiers|
|In Memory of Unknown
Who Died in the
War of 1812 — Map (db m54120) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Thorold — Laura Ingersoll Secord — 1775 - 1868|
|Who set out from her home in Queenston early in the morning of June 22, 1813, to walk an arduous nineteen miles to warn the British outpost at DeCew Falls of an impending American attack. The information enabled the local British commander, Lieutenant James Fitzgibbon, and his detachment, to surprise and capture the entire enemy force at the Battle of Beaver Dams on June 24, 1813, thereby marking the turning point in the War of 1812.
To perpetuate her memory. — Map (db m53392) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Vineland — Ball's Grist-Mill|
|By 1809 John and George Ball had constructed a four-storey grist-mill here on Twenty Mile Creek. Equipped with two run of stones, the mill provided flour for British Troops during the War of 1812. It was expanded during the 1840's and by the end of the decade was part of a complex which included sawmills and woollen factories. About that time George Peter Mann Ball laid out a village plot named Glen Elgin. His plans for an industrial community were thwarted, however, when the Great Western . . . — Map (db m57064) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Welland — Battle of Cook's Mill|
|[English Text]: Battle of Cook's Mills
In October 1814 an American army advanced from Fort Erie toward the British line along the Chippawa River. Lieutenant-General Drummond ordered a reconnaissance towards Cook's Mills on his right flank in hopes of finding the Americans vulnerable to attack. On the 19th a heavy skirmish took place, involving men of the Glengarry Light Infantry and the 82nd, 100th and 104th Regiments, supported by a gun and rockets. The British-Canadian force . . . — Map (db m56657) HM|
|Ontario (United Counties of Stormont, Dundas and Glengarry), Dalkeith — MacLeod Settlement|
| In 1793 some forty families, including members of several clans, emigrated from Glenelg, Scotland, under the leadership of Alexander MacLeod and landed at St. John's Island (now Prince Edward Island). The following year they came to Glengarry County and petitioned for land. In August, 1794, the majority were authorized to occupy 200 acres each in the vicinity of Kirkhill, which was for many years known as Glenelg. Alexander MacLeod, who was located on this property in 1794, was instrumental in . . . — Map (db m76853) HM|
|Quebec (Haut-Richelieu MRC), Lacolle — Bataille du Moulin de Lacolle / Battle of the Lacolle Mill|
|Sur ce site, le 30 mars 1814, le major R.B. Handcock, avec quelque 500 soldats du 13e régiment des Royal Marines, de Canadian Fencibles, des Voltigeurs ainsi que des Indiens, a combattu vigoureusement contre 4,000 soldats américains commandes par le général Wilkinson. Epuise par cette résistance, celui-ci replia sur la frontière américaine. La bataille du moulin de Lacolle mit fin a la dernière invasion américaine du Bas-Canada durant la Guerre de 1812
Here, on 30 . . . — Map (db m74538) HM|
|Alabama (Baldwin County), Fort Morgan — The Pride of Seven Flags|
Tribute dedicated to the memory of the soldiers who gave their lives in the defense of our country here at Fort Morgan.
Here lies the pride of seven flags entombed in our ancestor’s worth, who heard the thunder of the fray break o’er the field beneath knew the watchword of the day was “Victory or Death.”
Dates of battles and some events relative to Fort Morgan.
1711 – Battle, France – England
1719 – Battle, . . . — Map (db m4649) HM|
|Alabama (Baldwin County), Gulf Shores — Fort Bowyer War of 1812|
|At, or near, this site, the United States, after seizing this point of land from the Spanish in 1813, built Fort Bowyer, a structure of wood and sand.
A small garrison of men courageously fought to defend the fort against two British attacks, one in September, 1814, again in February, 1815. — Map (db m28692) HM|
|Alabama (Clarke County), Whatley — Kimbell - James Massacre — ←½ mile—|
| Sept. 1, 1813
Creek Indian War. 1813-14
Part of War of 1812. British used Pensacola as base to arm, incite Indians against U.S..
Prophet Francis led Indians in this raid on Kimbell home. They Killed and scalped 12 of 14 (two survivors left for dead); pillaged house, Killed livestock. — Map (db m47635) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Clay — Pioneer Massey Cemetery|
|Samuel Massey and his brother - in - law, Duke William Glenn, first came to this Territory in February 1814 with Lt. Col Reuben Nash's Regt. South Carolina Volunteer Militia to help defeat the Creek Indians in the War of 1812. Samuel Massey returned to settle this land months before Alabama became a state on December 14, 1819. Samuel's son, William Duke Massey, married Ruth Reed, daughter of William 'Silver Billy' Reed. Born October 28, 1817, she was the first white girl born in Jefferson County. — Map (db m25088) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Clay — Wear Cemetery|
|Established about 1850, Wear Cemetery is located off Old Springville Road to the northeast at Countryside Circle. In the 1800's the Wear family was among the first settlers of the community later known as Clay. Twenty-three remaining graves were identified and documented in 2008. The earliest known burial is that of Samuel Wear (1766-1852), an American Revolutionary War soldier who fought the British in the Battle of King's Mountain at 14 years of age. Other military veterans buried here . . . — Map (db m25113) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — Andrew Jackson's Military Road — -1817-|
|Construction of this road, as ordered by General Andrew Jackson, began in May 1817 by troops of the U.S. Army for national defense purposes. Beginning near Nashville, Tennessee and continuing to Madison, Louisiana, it shortened the distance from Nashville to New Orleans by 200 miles. This road followed early Native American trails that were uses by Jackson's Army during the War of 1812. The military road served as a major transportation route for early settlers of North Alabama, Mississippi, Louisiana, and the Old Southwest Territory. — Map (db m28563) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — General John Coffee|
|Through his personal and business relationship with Andrew Jackson, Gen. Coffee led Jackson's cavalry in the Battle of New Orleans in 1815 and became a celebrated American hero.
City of Florence
Walk of Honor — Map (db m28896) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — General John Coffee — Home Site and Grave|
|Cavalry Commander under Andrew Jackson throughout War of 1812:
(Creek War, Pensacola, New Orleans).
Negotiated many treaties ceding Indian lands to U.S.
Made original surveys of Tennessee Valley. — Map (db m35259) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — Lauderdale County|
|A County Older Than the State
created Feb. 6, 1818
by Alabama Territorial Legislature (Alabama became a state in 1819).
Named for Col. James Lauderdale, cavalryman under Gen. John Coffee and Andrew Jackson, War of 1812; Killed in battle of New Orleans.
Coffee planned Florence, the county seat.
Jackson, President Madison owned lots. — Map (db m35185) HM|
|Alabama (Lawrence County), Moulton — A County Older Than The State — Lawrence County|
|Created by Territorial Legislature
in 1818 from lands ceded by
Cherokee and Chickasaw Indians
Named for U.S, Navy hero of War of 1812
Capt. James Lawrence
Fatally wounded, his famous command was
"Don't Give Up The Ship"
County seat since 1820 has been
at Mouton which was named for
hero of Creek Indian War. 1813-14. — Map (db m69672) HM|
|Alabama (Limestone County), Capshaw — Nicholas Davis|
|Born April 23, 1781 in Hanover Co. Virginia, married there to Martha Hargrave of a wealthy Quaker family. He served as U.S. Marshall and in other positions. Moved to Kentucky in 1808. Was a Captain in the WAR OF 1812 and became a political and personal ally of Henry Clay.
He settled here on several hundred acres and built his large log home "WALNUT GROVE" in 1817. Here he entertained large numbers of guests for days at a time, raced his blooded horses and lived the life of a much admired . . . — Map (db m29284) HM|
|Alabama (Madison County), Huntsville — Andrew Jackson|
|On this spot, camped his army, October 11, 1813, after marching from Fayetteville, Tenn.,~"32 miles without halting,"~ enroute to the Battle of Horseshoe Bend. — Map (db m30382) HM|
|Alabama (Madison County), Huntsville — Barbary Coast Wars — 1801 - 1805, 1815|
|I am Sergeant Michael Dunn of the 1st Marine Battalion. I fought in the First Barbary War, also known as the Tripolitan War, because we battled pirates off the coast of Tripoli. The Mediterranean coast of North Africa had been a hotbed of piracy for a long time. Our country and many others had to pay bribes to the rulers of the Barbary States of Morocco, Algiers, Tripoli and Tunisia to keep pirates from attacking our ships and ransoming captured sailors. We sent Navy ships in 1801-1804 to fight . . . — Map (db m71426) WM|
|Alabama (Madison County), Huntsville — The Leroy Pope Mansion 1814|
|During the original Madison County Land Sales of 1809, LeRoy Pope of Petersburg, GA, secured among other purchases a majority of Section 36, Township 3, Range 1 West, the site of the future town of Twickenham, as Huntsville was originally known. Pope created Poplar Grove Plantation on this site and erected his home in 1814 in time to entertain Gen. Andrew Jackson on his return from the Battle of Horseshoe Bend. The residence was among the earliest brick structures in Alabama. Inherited by his . . . — Map (db m32480) HM|
|Alabama (Madison County), Huntsville — War of 1812 — 1812 - 1815|
|I am Private Darbin Abolt of the 7th US Infantry Regiment, part of which is commanded by Captain Zachary Taylor, our future president. I was already in the Army when he declared war on the British in June 1812. We were fed up with the British interfering with our trade with France, whom they were already at war with, attacking and boarding our ships and impressing our sailors into their Navy, and supporting the Indians against our settlements. It was insulting to our national honor and we were . . . — Map (db m71428) WM|
|Alabama (Monroe County), Perdue Hill — Fort Claiborne — Creek Indian War 1813-1814|
|Built by Gen. Ferdinand L. Claiborne as a base for his invasion of the Alabama country with U.S. Regulars, Lower Tombigbee Militia, and friendly Choctaws. Claiborne’s campaign culminated in the American victory over the Creeks at the Holy Ground. — Map (db m47641) HM|
|Alabama (Morgan County), Decatur — A County Older Than The State, Morgan County|
|Alabama Territorial Legislature created this county in 1818 from lands ceded by Cherokee Indians in 1816. County first named Cotaco, for large creek in county. Named Morgan County in 1821 for Maj. Gen. Daniel Morgan, Revolutionary hero, winner over British at Battle of Cowpens. County was often invaded by both armies in War between the States. Until 1891 county seat at Somerville. Then county seat moved to Decatur. Named for Stephen Decatur, naval hero against Tripoli pirates and in War of 1812. — Map (db m27759) HM|
|Alabama (Russell County), Fort Mitchell — Fort Mitchell — <----- 5 miles -----|
|Built during Creek War 1813 by Georgia Militia on main Indian trade route to Tombigbee River.
U.S. Troops stationed here until 1837. 1836 Lower Creeks corralled here for forced removal to the West. — Map (db m26069) HM|
|Alabama (Saint Clair County), Pell City — None — A County Older Than The State — St. Clair County|
|Created in 1818 by territorial legislature. Named for Revolutionary hero, Gen. St. Clair. First settlers from Tennessee, Georgia – veterans of Creek Indian War, 1813-14.
Pell City established as industrial town in 1890 by George H. Pell of New York.
Growth of population south of Backbone Mt. and difficulty of crossing mountain led to branch county seat here in 1902. County seat at Ashville since 1822.
Old Indian trails thru this county used by: DeSoto’s Spanish conquistadors . . . — Map (db m49666) HM|
|Alabama (Shelby County), Chelsea — Old Quinn Burying Ground|
|Established June 2, 1849 by
Veteran of War of 1812
In Consideration of His Love for the Church, He Conveyed the Burying Ground to the Trustees of Liberty Church And Their Successors.
Listed on the Alabama Historic Cemetery Register
Erected by Friends of Old Quinn Burying Ground — Map (db m28519) HM|
|Alabama (Talladega County), Fayetteville — To The Memory of General Jackson|
|To The Memory of General Jackson and his Tennessee Volunteers while camped here 1814. He fought the Battle of Horseshoe Bend and discharged his Volunteers. — Map (db m45706) HM|
|Alabama (Talladega County), Sylacauga — Sylacauga|
|Settled in 1748 by Shawnee
Indians from Ohio.
They joined Creek Confederacy,
fought against U.S. in War of 1812,
were moved west in 1836.
Settled before 1836 by men
who had fought in this area
under Andrew Jackson.
Indian name: Syllacogga or Chalakagay. — Map (db m40595) HM|
|Alabama (Tallapoosa County), Alexander City — Menawa, War Chief — About 1766 - 1837|
|Indian farmer - merchant chose to resist whites' advance on Indians' lands. In Creek War he led Creeks at Battle of Horseshoe Bend. His warriors were beaten by Jackson's superior force but Menawa escaped. — Map (db m66680) HM|
|Alabama (Tallapoosa County), Dadeville — Battle Of Horseshoe Bend — One hundredth anniversary — 1814 - 1914|
|This tablet is placed by
in commemoration of the
one hundredth anniversary
Battle Of Horseshoe Bend,
fought within its limits
on March 27, 1814.
There the Creek Indians, led by
Menawa and other chiefs, were
defeated by the American and
allied indian forces under
Gen. Andrew Jackson.
This battle broke the power
of the fierce Muscogee, brought
peace to the Southern frontier,
and made possible the speedy
opening up of a large part of the
State of . . . — Map (db m28751) HM|
|Alabama (Tallapoosa County), Dadeville — Horseshoe Bend Battle Ground — 12 Miles North|
|There on March 27, 1814 General Andrew Jackson commanding U. S. forces and friendly Indians, broke the power of the Creek Confederacy. — Map (db m39812) HM|
|Alabama (Tallapoosa County), Daviston — Futile Escape — Horseshoe Bend National Military Park|
| I ordered [Lt. Jesse] Bean to take possession of the Island below, with forty men, to prevent the enemy's taking refuge there...as many of the enemy did attempt their escape...but not one were landed-they were sunk by [Lt.] Beans command ere they reached the bank.
Gen. John Coffee, Tennessee Militia
Maj. Gen. Andrew Jackson sent Gen. John Coffee and 1,300 men to surround Horseshoe Bend here on the banks of the Tallapoosa River. Jackson hoped Coffee's 700 Tennessee mounted . . . — Map (db m46389) HM|
|Alabama (Tallapoosa County), Daviston — Gun Hill|
|Here at 10:30 on the morning of March 27, 1814, general Jackson quickly emplaced his single battery, one 3-pounder and one 6-pounder. He immediately opened a lively but ineffective fire on the center of the sturdy log barricade. After his Indian allies entered the peninsula stronghold form the rear, he ordered a frontal assault on the stubborn wall. — Map (db m51671) HM|
|Alabama (Tallapoosa County), Daviston — Horseshoe Bend Battleground Monument|
|Here on the Horseshoe Battleground General Andrew Jackson and his brave men broke the power of the Creek Indians under Chief Menawa March 29, 1814 — Map (db m51673) HM|
|Alabama (Tallapoosa County), Daviston — Jackson Trace|
|This stone marks the terminus of the route traced through the wilderness by Jackson's army during the Horseshoe Bend campaign. — Map (db m51670) HM|
|Alabama (Tallapoosa County), Daviston — Major Lemuel P. Montgomery — "He Acted With The Greatest Gallantry" — March 27, 1814|
|Leading the charge on the Indian defenses, Major Montgomery fell while storming the log barricade, Horseshoe Bend was his first battle. But the 28 year old Tennessean already a distinguished lawyer, was among the most promising of Jackson's officers. — Map (db m51667) HM|
|Alabama (Tallapoosa County), Daviston — They Fought to the Last — Horseshoe Bend National Military Park|
| By dark, more than 800 Red Stick warriors were dead and at least 350 women and children were prisoners. Jackson's army suffered 154 men wounded and 49 killed. The Battle of Horseshoe Bend effectively ended the Creek Indian War. Five months later, with the Treaty of Fort Jackson, the Creeks ceded to the United States nearly 23 million acres of land in what is now Alabama and Georgia.
No other evening will come, bringing to [my] eyes the rays of the setting sun upon the home [I have] left . . . — Map (db m51665) HM|
|Alabama (Wilcox County), Camden — Lieutenant Joseph Morgan Wilcox|
|Joseph Morgan Wilcox was born on March 15, 1790 in Killingsworth, Middlesex County, Connecticut. He was the son of Revolutionary War officer, Joseph Wilcox and Phoebe Morgan. On June 15, 1808, Cadet Wilcox entered the U.S. Military Academy where he graduated and was promoted to 1st Lieutenant in the 3rd Infantry. Lt. Wilcox fought against the Creeks in the War of 1812. On January 15, 1814, Wilcox engaged in a heroic fight with a Creek war party and was tomahawked and scalped on the banks of the . . . — Map (db m68159) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), Ridgefield — Ridgefield Veterans Monument|
| [ west side ]
To the Memory of The
Citizens of Ridgefield
Who Served Their Country
In the Wars of the Republic
1775 – 1918
Erected by the People of Ridgefield MCMXXIV
[ east side ]
War of the Revolution
Patrick Ambrose • Amos Baker • Bartholomew Baker • Seth Baker • John Baldwin • John Barns • Wakeman Barrett • Stephen Beers • Abijah Benedict • Daniel Benedict • Darius Benedict • Gamaliel Benedict • Jesse Benedict • John Benedict • Benjamin Bennett • . . . — Map (db m31972) WM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), Stamford — Stamford Veterans Monument|
| [ inscription around the top ]
In Everlasting Memory of Stamford's Patriots 1641 – 1918
[ battle names inscribed in the panel between the fluted columns ]
1689 – 1763
Port Royal • Schenectady • Haverhill • Louisburg • Braddock's Defeat • Duquesne • Quebec
1775 – 1783
Lexington • Concord • Bunker Hill • Ticonderoga • Trenton • Saratoga • Bennington • Yorktown
1812 – 1814
Constitution Guerriere • Lake Erie • Chippewa • Lundy's Lane • Lake . . . — Map (db m38430) HM|
|Connecticut (Hartford County), Southington — Southington Veterans Memorial|
| [ south side ]
This Tablet Is Dedicated To Those Brave Men From
The Town Of Southington Who Served The United
States In The Revolutionary War, The War Of 1812,
The Mexican War And The
Revolutionary War 1775 – 1783
Oliver Adams • Charles Adkins • Chauncey Adkins • Samuel Adkins • Thomas Adkins • Amos Andrews Jr. • Capt. Obadiah Andrews • Ezekial Andrews • Gideon Andrews • Ichabod Andrews • Jonathan Andrews • Lieut. David Andrews • Ozias Andrews • Samuel . . . — Map (db m33755) WM|
|Connecticut (Litchfield County), Barkhamsted — Barkhamsted Soldiers Memorial|
| [ north side ]
People Of Barkhamsted
Memory Of Her Sons
Who Fought To
Establish Defend And Preserve
[ lower plaque ]
World War II
Jespersen, Donald • Jones, Edward E. • Kaiser, Herbert J. • Kelly, Harold M. • Lauff, John • Lavender, Charles • Lavieri, Carmine E. • Lavieri, Carmine R. • LeGeyt, Charles H. Jr. • LeGeyt, Henry A. • Lemioux, Edgar • Lemioux, Girard • . . . — Map (db m29847) WM|
|Connecticut (Litchfield County), Bethlehem — Bethlehem War of 1812 Memorial|
| Dedicated to
the men of Bethlehem
who by their devotion and loyalty
preserved our country
in the War of 1812
Allen, James • Baldwin, Amos • Barnum, Eli • Beebe, Issac • Beecher, Lyman • Burton, Oliver • Coe, Daniel • Church, Samuel • Canfield, Austin • Fairfield, David • French, Ezra • Frisbie, Benjamin • Gibbs, Spencer • Hannah, George • Hine, Austin • Hine, Elijah • Hubbell, Talman • Hyde, Abijah • Jackson, Levi • Kasson, Adam C. • Kimball, Horace • Kimball, Horatio • Knapp, . . . — Map (db m26562) WM|
|Connecticut (Litchfield County), East Canaan — East Canaan Veterans Monument|
| [ north side ]
Was Erected By The
Citizens & Friends
East Canaan Conn
[ west side ]
In Memory Of
Those Who Answered
Their Country's Call
1917 – 1918
[ east side ]
In Memory Of
Those Who Defended
1776 – 1812
1865 - 1898 — Map (db m41853) HM|
|Connecticut (Litchfield County), Goshen — Goshen French and Indian War & Revolutionary War Memorial|
| [ front ]
Dedicated To Our Comrades Of Goshen
Who Established And Maintained Freedom For Our Country
French And Indian War 1754 - 1763
Dibble, Joel • Doud, John • Gaylord, Timothy • Humphrey, Ashbel • Humphrey, Manna • Humphrey, Unknown • Lee, Daniel • Munson, John • North, Elisha • Reeve, Benjamin • Richards, Charles • Royce, Josiah • Stanley, Nathaniel, Jr. • Tuttle, Stephen • Wilcox, John Jr. • Wilcox, Moses • Wilcox, Thomas • Winchell, Munson • Wright, John
Revolutionary . . . — Map (db m30231) HM|
|Connecticut (Litchfield County), North Canaan — North Canaan Veterans Monument|
| [ east side ]
This Tablet Is Reverently
Inscribed to the Memory Of
Those Who Went From That Part
Of The Town of Canaan Which
Later Became North Canaan, And
Who, With Valor and Patriotism,
Defended the Flag of Our Country
In The Colonial Wars
The War of The Revolution
The War of 1812
Although time has dimmed the record of their
Names, their deeds are held in everlasting
[ west side ]
1861 In Memory 1865
Of These Men of North Canaan . . . — Map (db m42098) HM|
|Connecticut (Litchfield County), Sharon — Sharon Veterans Monument|
Abel David • Abel Sluman • Abel William • Ackley Ariel • Ackley David • Ackley Jude • Ackley Thomas Jr • Ady Thomas • Allen Amos • Allen Ichabod • Ames Samuel • Andrews Abraham • Avery Daniel • Avery William • Bailey Joseph • Baker Joseph • Baley Joseph • Bardslee John • Barnes Daniel • Barnes Jacob • Barnes Jonas • Barnes Thomas • Barrows Amos • Barrows Joseph • Barto John • Basley Joseph • Bates Charles • Bates John • Beatts Hezekiah • Bemon Mathew • Benjamin Phineas • . . . — Map (db m58331) WM|
|Connecticut (New Haven County), Madison — Captain Frederick Lee — 1776-1831 — Citizen of Madison and Hero of War of 1812|
|Commissioned in 1809 by U.S. President Madison, Frederick Lee served in the U.S. Revenue Cutter Service until 1829, providing security for the New Haven port and protection of American Ships on Long Island Sound. On October 10, 1814, while the East Coast was under a British Navy blockade, Capt. Lee was called to protect an American vessel engaged in trade out of New Haven. When the British brig HMS Dispatch intervened, the Eagle was forced to go around on the south shore of Long Island where . . . — Map (db m66474) HM WM|
|Connecticut (New Haven County), Madison — Frederick W. Lee, Esq — Patriot-Statesman|
|Born April 3, 1766 Married Anna Fowler Captain Lee’s Portrait-painted by General Kosciusko 1797 Captain of U.S. Revenue Cutter “Eagle” War 1812 Lee Academy built 1821 Hosted Marquis De Lafayette 1824 Named our town ‘Madison’ 1826 First town meeting moderator 1826 Died May 27, 1833 — Map (db m66476) HM|
|Connecticut (New Haven County), Middlebury — Middlebury Veterans Memorial|
|Middlebury Honors Those Who Have Served
In The Wars Of Their Country
French – Indian War
David Abbott, Benjamin Bemont, Aaron Benedict, Enos Benham, Samuel Benham, Edward Blackman, Michael Bowers, Asahel Bronson, Elijah Bronson, Isaac Bronson, Andrew Clark, Daniel Clark, Benjamin Fenn, Samuel Fenn, Israel Frisbie, Stephen Hawley, Reuben Hickox, Timothy Higgins, Benjamin Hine, Justus Johnson, Simeon Manvil, Augustus Peck, Gideon Platt, James . . . — Map (db m29503) WM|
|Connecticut (New Haven County), New Haven — Col. Decius Wadsworth|
To The Memory Of
Col. Decius Wadsworth
A Native Of
Farmington In This State
And Late Chief
In The Army Of The
Having Served His Country
And Without Reproach
Died In This City On The
8th November, 1821
In The 34th Year Of His Age. — Map (db m50913) HM|
|Connecticut (New Haven County), New Haven — Soldiers and Sailors Monument|
| [ inscription on the west face of the base ]
Gettysburg • Port Hudson • Fort Fisher • 1861-1865
[ inscription on the east face of the base ]
Bunker Hill • Bennington • Saratoga • 1775-1783
[ inscription on the south face of the base ]
Lake Erie • Lake Champlain • New Orleans • 1812-1815
[ inscription on the north face of the base ]
Palo Alto • Molino Del Rey • Chapultepec • 1846-1848
[ west plaque ]
Soldiers . . . — Map (db m34723) WM|
|Connecticut (New Haven County), Orange — Orange Veterans Monument|
|Amerigion Legion Post 127
In Memory Of
The Veterans Of
The War of Independence
War of 1812
Spanish American War
World War I
World War II
Vietnam War — Map (db m27723) WM|
|Connecticut (New Haven County), Wolcott — Kenea Soldiers Monument|
|Presented to The Town of Wolcott by Leverett Dwight Kenea In Memory of the Soldiers Who Fought In The War of the Revolution The War of 1812 and The Civil War A.D. 1916 — Map (db m22369) WM|
|Connecticut (New London County), New London — War of 1812|
| In 1808, Congress again approved funds to fortify the coastline, prompted by the prospect of another war with England. England was at war with France, which was ruled by Napoleon Bonaparte at the time, and although the United States had not taken sides in that conflict, in June 1807 the British attacked the U.S. ship Chesapeake, violating America’s neutral status. The Chesapeake incident created serious tensions between the United States and Britain. Although the United States . . . — Map (db m48283) HM|
|Connecticut (New London County), Stonington — Battle of Stonington Monument|
|This Is To Remember
Here the Brave Men of Stonington
Defeated a Landing Force From
His Majesty’s ship “Ramillies”
Bent on Burning the Town and its Shipping
August 10, 1814
The Warden and Burgesses of the
Borough of Stonington
Deeded by U.S. Govt. 1932 Erected 1956 — Map (db m68420) WM|
|Connecticut (New London County), Stonington — Stonington Land Battery|
|½ Mile South
Repulsed a British
Naval Force, 1814 — Map (db m68658) HM|
|Connecticut (New London County), Stonington — The Defenders Of The Fort|
Aug. 10, 1814.
Geo. Howe Fellowes.
Who Nailed the Flag to the Mast.
Amos Denison, Jr.
Seth C. Leonard.
Hotatio G. Lewis
( north face )
In Perpetuam Memoriam
These Two Guns
Used In Repelling
The Attack On
Of The English
Ramilles 74 Guns
Nimrod 20 . . . — Map (db m68421) WM|
|Delaware (Kent County), Smyrna — Commodore Jacob Jones|
|Born 1768, near this site. Commanded U.S. Sloop Wasp in notable victory over superior British sloop Frolic, October, 1812, off Cape Hatteras. Commanded frigate Constitution 1818-1829. Died August, 1850. Buried at Cecilton, Maryland. Reinterred in Wilmington and Brandywine Cemetery, with distinguished honors. — Map (db m39031) HM|
|Delaware (New Castle County), Middletown — NC-16 — Commodore Thomas Macdonough|
|Early home of Commodore Thomas Macdonough. Hero of Battle of Lake Champlain 1814. Born 1783. Died 1825. Commodore 1813. Assisted Commodore Decatur in capturing and burning the "Philadelphia" off the coast of Tripoli, 1804. Original name of village "The Trap," changed to "Macdonough" 1814. His parents lie in old burying ground nearby. — Map (db m10305) HM|
|Delaware (Sussex County), Lewes — SC-167 — The Bombardment of Lewes|
|In March of 1813, the Royal Navy established a blockade of the Delaware Bay and River. The British squadron, under the command of Commodore John P. Beresford, RN, took up stations off Lewes and the Delaware Capes, and began to conduct raids along the coast in and effort to disrupt maritime commerce and shipping. Many small actions resulted with numerous vessels being captured and destroyed. On this location was one of two fortifications that were built to protect the town of Lewes. These . . . — Map (db m19308) HM|
|Delaware (Sussex County), Lewes — The Bombardment of Lewes|
|This stone is to
Bombardment of Lewes
by the British
April 6th and 7th 1813.
Placed by the
National Society U.S.
Daughters of 1812
State of Delaware
1914 — Map (db m38633) HM|
|Delaware (Sussex County), Lewes — SC-168 — The Cannonball House|
|The War of 1812 had a major impact on the town of Lewes and surrounding area. The naval blockade that was initiated by the British in March of 1813 lasted for most of the next two years. With maritime commerce limited, the local economy suffered. The regular presence of troops resulted in the use of many structures in the town for military purposes, and a camp for militia and U.S. Army Regulars was established near Blockhouse Pond. During the bombardment of Lewes on April 6th and 7th, 1813, . . . — Map (db m30358) HM|
|Delaware (Sussex County), Lewes — The War of 1812 — Lewes Maritime History Trail|
|During the War of 1812, British vessels
blockaded the mouth of Delaware Bay in
an effort to disrupt shipping patterns and
supply lines and cause economic hardship
in the Mid-Atlantic. But when crews
attempted to land at Lewes to replenish
their ships, they were repelled by companies
of well-organized local militia. The British
commander tried to negotiate for supplies,
but that too failed. Finally the commander
warned Lewes officials that "whatever
sufferings may fall upon . . . — Map (db m38598) HM|
|District of Columbia, Washington — A Hilltop for Heroes and Horse Thieves — Meridian Hill Park National Historic Landmark|
|It is perhaps no surprise that Commodore David Porter, hero of the War of 1812, chose Meridian Hill on which to build his estate. From this knoll, Porter had a direct line of sight to the President's mansion. Though no match for the grand buildings it looked down upon, Porter's manor house was a handsome brick and stucco structure with a large front portico.
Years later, while in use as an Army hospital, Porter's mansion burned to the ground. It was never rebuilt.
The grand vistas of . . . — Map (db m63740) HM|
|District of Columbia, Washington — Legacy of War|
|On August 24, 1814, the British brought the war to the streets of Washington. After soundly defeating the Americans at nearby Bladensburg, enemy soldiers invaded the Nation's Capital—burning the President's House, U.S. Capitol, and other public buildings.
Anticipating Baltimore would be next, Americans rallied to its defense. When smoke cleared from the British assault there September 14, Francis Scott Key saw the American flag flying over Fort McHenry. The sign of victory inspired Key . . . — Map (db m74939) HM|
|District of Columbia, Washington — Residence of Albert Gallatin|
|Residence of Albert Gallatin, Peace Negotiator and Secretary of the Treasury 1801-1814, who negotiated the treaty of Ghent, 1814. When the British marched on Washington in the summer of 1814, some American patriots with Commodore Joshua Barney and his men from this house offered the only resistance. This property was partly burned as was the Capitol and the White House.
Placed by The National Society United States Daughters of 1812 8th January 1962 Commemorating the 75th anniversary of their society — Map (db m61571) HM|
|District of Columbia (Washington), Capitol Hill — Marine Barracks, Washington, D.C. — "Oldest Post of the Corps"|
|Site selected by President Thomas Jefferson and Lieutenant Colonel Commandant William Ward Burrows on 31 March 1801.
A National Capital Landmark and entered in the National Register of Historic Places.
United States Marine Corps — Map (db m10833) HM|
|District of Columbia (Washington), Capitol Hill — 5 — Oldest Post of the Corps — Tour of Duty — Barracks Row Heritage Trail|
|On your left is Marine Barracks Washington, D.C., the oldest continuously manned post in the U.S. Marine Corps. The installation was originally designed by architect George Hadfield in 1801 with a central parade ground and housing for 500 enlisted and officers in addition to the Commandant's Quarters (in mid-block across the street). This elegant 23-room house, enhanced in 1901 by a mansard roof, is the only remaining original structure.
When the U.S. government moved from Philadelphia to . . . — Map (db m10834) HM|
|District of Columbia (Washington), Capitol Hill — 9 — Washington Navy Yard: Serving the Fleet — Tour of Duty — Barracks Row Heritage Trail|
|In front of you is the main gate of the Washington Navy Yard, established in 1799. It is the U.S. Navy's oldest shore facility in continuous use. Over time, workers here have built and repaired ships and their fittings, designed and developed ordnance (weapons and ammunition), and provided administrative support for the fleet.
Although city designer Pierre L'Enfant planned a commercial center for the site, its access to water and nearby timber made it a natural for ship building. The . . . — Map (db m10835) HM|
|District of Columbia (Washington), Downtown — "Blodgett's Hotel"|
| [The Great Seal of the United States]
In 1800, the building erected on this site by Samuel Blodget was the scene of the first theatrical performance given in Washington.
From 1812 to 1836 it sheltered the city post office and, for part of that period, the Post Office Department and the Patent Office.
And here after the burning of the Capitol, the Congress of the United States was convened, September 19th 1814. — Map (db m28534) HM|
|District of Columbia (Washington), Downtown — Albert Gallatin|
|Secretary of the Treasury
Genius of Finance
Senator and Representative
Commissioner for the Treaty of Ghent
Minister to France and Great Britain
Champion of Democracy
1761–1849 — Map (db m2129) HM|
|District of Columbia (Washington), Downtown — Site of Rhodes Tavern|
Built in 1799, in the hope that the new capital would become a great city.
Opened as a tavern and inn by William Rhodes, 1801.
Washington's first 'town hall,' where White House architect James Hoban and other citizens met to petition Congress for representation and localy elected government, 1801.
Polling place in first city council election, 1802.
Early boarding house used by Members of Congress, 1807 - 1814.
Spared the torch during the . . . — Map (db m39618) HM|
|District of Columbia (Washington), Georgetown — Francis Scott Key|
|1779-1843. The author of our National Anthem was a lawyer, patriot, community leader and poet. His home and law office stood approximately 100 yards west of here. Francis Scott Key lived there from 1803 to about 1833 with his wife, the former Mary Taylor Lloyd of Annapolis, Maryland, and their six sons and five daughters. The house was demolished in 1947 after years of neglect by various owners.
During the war of 1812, British troops had invaded and captured Washington in August of 1814. . . . — Map (db m120) HM|
|District of Columbia (Washington), Georgetown — The Star-Spangled Banner|
|The Flag. The immortal words "star-spangled Banner" refer to the magnificent flag which Francis Scott Key saw "by the dawn's early light" after the British bombardment of Fort McHenry on September 14, 1814. It is the largest flag ever flown in battle in U.S. history.
During preparations to defend Baltimore's vital seaport and center of commerce during the War of 1812, the commander of Fort McHenry, Major George Armistead, wanted a flag so big "that the British will have no difficulty . . . — Map (db m121) HM|
|District of Columbia (Washington), Northwest — Daniel Webster Memorial|
| Danial Webster "Liberty and Union, Now and Forever, One and Inseparable." Expounder and Defender of the Constitution Born at Salisbury, N.H., Jan 18, 1772 Died at Marshfield, Mass., Oct 24, 1852 "Our Country, Our Whole Country, and nothing but Our Country!" (Given by Stilson Hutchins, a native of N.H. Dedicated January 18, 1900. G. Trentanove [sculptor].) — Map (db m29065) HM|
|District of Columbia (Washington), Northwest — The Octagon|
| Built between 1799 and 1802 by Colonel John Tayloe III (1771-1828) and his wife Ann Ogle Tayloe (1772-1855)
Dr. William Thornton (1759-1828)
Occupied by President and Mrs. Madison from August 1814 to March 1815 after the burning of the White House by the British during the War of 1812 The Treaty of Ghent ending the War of 1812 was ratified here by President Madison on February 15, 1815 Headquarters of the American Institute of Architects from 1898-1949 Designated a . . . — Map (db m40225) HM|
|District of Columbia (Washington), Northwest — Winfield Scott — General-in-Chief, U.S. Army|
|SCOTT — Map (db m21943) WM|
|District of Columbia (Washington), Northwest — Winfield Scott|
| In Honor of
Born 13 June 1788 – Died 29 May 1866
General in Chief of the Army
1841 – 1861
Founder of the
United States Soldiers Home — Map (db m52806) HM|
|District of Columbia (Washington), Southwest — 13 of 17 — Military Education at Fort McNair — River Farms to Urban Towers — Southwest Heritage Trail|
|Fort Leslie J. McNair, to your right, honors the commander, Army Ground Forces during World War II who died in battle. It is the U.S. Army’s third oldest installation (after West Point and Carlisle Barracks).
The fort dates back to 1791. Washington City planner Pierre L’Enfant selected this site, where the Potomac and Anacostia Rivers meet, as ideal for a military installation. At first it was known as the Arsenal at Greenleaf’s Point, where the Army stored and distributed weapons. During . . . — Map (db m20389) HM|
|Florida (Escambia County), Pensacola — Fort George|
|Site of Fort George - headquarters of British West Florida - Suwannee to the Mississippi. From 1763 until captured by Spanish Gen. Bernardo de Galvez in 1781 and renamed San Miguel. Seized by Andrew Jackson in 1814 and 1818 and delivered to him as U.S. Territory, 1821. Acquired by the Knights of Columbus 1924. — Map (db m72271) HM|
|Georgia (Barrow County), Jefferson — Jackson Trail|
|This is the same road over witch marched the famous Gen. Andrew Jackson.
This marker erected April 1926
By Georgia Daughters of The American Revolution.
Atlanta Chapter Atlanta and Sunbury Chapter Winder. — Map (db m19769) HM|
|Georgia (Bibb County), Macon — War of 1812 Bicentennial Celebration|
|As U.S. Army and Georgia Militia Headquarters, Fort Hawkins played a significant role in the War of 1812. The fort supplied all command and logistics support for the Southern Theatre and fort personnel participated directly in the Creek War and The Battle of New Orleans. Although a military stalemate, our Second War of Independence settled America’s freedom from British rule. During the burning of Washington, D.C., the plans and records of Fort Hawkins were presumably destroyed. Fort Hawkins is . . . — Map (db m59575) HM|
|Georgia (Camden County), St Marys — 020-8 — Point Peter|
|East of here, at the junction of Peter Creek and the St. Marys river, the British built Fort Tonyn in 1776; controlling the southern part of the colony of Georgia for two years. In 1778, American Revolutionary forces, both land and water, forced evacuation of the exposed position. The English retreated N.W. along North river into Pagan Creek Plantation, home of the Tories, Charles and Jermyn Wright, brothers of Royal Governor James Wright. On high land along Alligator (now Borell) creek, they . . . — Map (db m16321) HM|
|Georgia (Camden County), St Marys — 20-2 — Point Peter Battery and the War of 1812|
|In 1795 a cannon battery constructed on the Point Peter peninsula became the southernmost fortification in the First System of U.S. coastal defenses. Vacated in 1802, it was reoccupied and strengthened in 1808 to provide support for the enforcement of the Embargo Act and the prohibition of the international slave trade. In 1812, former Georgia governor George Matthews led the unsanctioned "Patriot" invasion of Spanish Florida from Point Peter. On January 13, 1815, during the War of 1812, a . . . — Map (db m16320) HM|
|Georgia (Charlton County), Folkston — 024-5 — Oldest Industry in Charlton|
|This mill pond marks the site of Major Archibald Clark's sawmill, the oldest industry in what is now Charlton County. Built about 1802, this mill with upright saws was operated by water power, and lumber shipped down the St. Marys River.
Major Clark was Collector of the Port of St. Marys, and during the War of 1812 refused the demand of the British to turn over to them all Government funds. In reprisal, British forces ascended the St. Marys to burn Major Clark's mill. They were turned back . . . — Map (db m14476) HM|
|Georgia (Chatham County), Savannah — 025-32 — Col. James S. McIntosh (1784-1847)|
|James S. McIntosh achieved an immortal record of gallantry in the War of 1812 and in the War with Mexico. In 1814 he saw considerable action on the Canadian border, he was severely wounded at Buffalo. In the Mexican War, Col. McIntosh was desperately wounded by bayonets at Resaca de ka Palma in 1846. When a fellow officer, who found him on the field, asked if he might be of any service. McIntosh replied, “Yes, give me some water and show me my regiment.” Returning to combat the . . . — Map (db m5403) HM|
|Georgia (Chatham County), Savannah — Construction of Fort Jackson|
In the early years of the 19th century, the
United States was a fledgling nation with
a population of 7,700,000, a standing army
of 6,700, and a navy of only 12 ships. The
Americans were vastly outnumbered by
the major powers of the time, France with
an army of well over 600,000 and Great
Britain with a navy of nearly 600 ships.
Presidents Washington, Adams, and
Jefferson had pursued neutral policies
making every effort to avoid becoming
embroiled in the . . . — Map (db m25014) HM|
|Georgia (Chatham County), Savannah — Garrison of Fort Jackson|
|Starting in the Summer of 1812, Fort
Jackson was garrisoned by various
units of the United States Army and
Georgia Militia. These troops included
the 8th U.S. Infantry, 4th U.S. Artillery,
and the Chatham Artillery. — Map (db m24999) HM|
|Georgia (Chatham County), Savannah — 25-41 — Old City Exchange Bell|
|This bell, which is believed to be the oldest in Georgia, bears the date 1802. Imported from Amsterdam, it hung in the cupola of the City Exchange from 1804 until a short time before that building was razed to make way for the present City Hall.
In its day, the bell signaled the closing time for shops and was rung by a watchman when fire broke out. Its rich tones were heard in celebration of American victories during the War of 1812.
It pealed a welcome to such distinguished visitors to . . . — Map (db m4913) HM|
|Georgia (Chatham County), Savannah — Republican Blues|
|During the early months of the Civil War,
Fort Jackson's Garrison was composed
of local militia units which served rotating
tours of duty at the fort. One of these
units was the Republican Blues commanded
by John Wayne Anderson.
The Blues were first organized in 1808 and
had previously served at Fort Jackson
during the War of 1812. The Blues, typical
of Savannah's old military units, were a
fraternal social organization as well as a
well trained military unit. Their Civil War . . . — Map (db m25097) HM|
|Georgia (Chatham County), Savannah — Savannah Volunteer Guards|
| Organized 1802 As infantry the Corps fought in the War of 1812, Indian Wars and as a battalion in 1861, serving with distinction in defense of Savannah and Charleston. In the spring of 1864 joined Lee's Army at Petersburg. On April 3, 1865 serving in the rear guard on the retreat to Appomattox having been reduced to 85 men, 23 were killed, 35 wounded and remainder captured. Reorganized in 1872. Served as infantry battalion in the Spanish-American War, as a battalion of the 61 C.A.C in . . . — Map (db m5767) HM|