|Ontario, Toronto — Mary Ann Shadd Cary — 1823 – 1893|
| Mary Ann Shadd Cary was an anti-slavery activist, an advocate for the rights of women, and a pioneering woman newspaper editor and publisher. The daughter of a free African American shoemaker and abolitionist, Shadd began a life of teaching at age 16 by founding a school for African American children in the slave state of Delaware. Following the passing of the Fugitive Slave act (1850), many escaped and free African Americans (like Shadd) sought refuge in Canada. Shadd moved to Windsor, . . . — Map (db m57756) HM|
|Ontario (Chatham-Kent County), Chatham — John Brown's Convention 1858|
| English Text:
On May 10, 1858, American abolitionist John Brown held the last in a series of clandestine meetings here at First Baptist Church. Brown planned to establish an independent republic within the United States and wage guerrilla war to liberate the South from slavery. He came to Upper Canada to recruit blacks who had fled here in the wake of the Fugitive Slave Law (1850). On October 16, 1859, Brown and 21 supporters seized the government arsenal at Harpers Ferry, . . . — Map (db m71386) HM|
|Ontario (Middlesex County), London — The British Garrison in London|
|In one of several concentrations of British troops in Upper Canada various infantry and artillery units were stationed on a military reserve here during the mid-19th century. The garrison, which contributed significantly to the economic growth of London, was first established in 1839 to guard against border raids following the Rebellion of 1837. Although its troops were withdrawn in 1853 to serve in the Crimean War and military duties were assumed by pensioners, it was re-occupied by British . . . — Map (db m18918) HM|
|Ireland, Connacht (County Sligo), Ballymote — Irish of the American Civil War Monument|
| We sent you our starving and our evicted
you gave them freedom and opportunity
You sounded the call of arms
We answered with loyalty and courage
We gave service, limb and life
To the honour and lasting memory of Irish emigrants
and People of Irish heritage
who served and died during the American Civil War
Dedicated on May 9th 2015 the 150th anniversary of the end of the War
An Taoiseach, Enda Kenny, T.D.
In the presence of
His Excellency, Kevin F. . . . — Map (db m85946) WM|
|Ireland, County Sligo, Ballymote — Ireland's National Monument to the Fighting 69th Regiment — & Brigadier General Michael Corcoran|
|Ireland's National Monument
to the Fighting 69th Regiment &
Brigadier General Michael Corcoran
The Honourable Major Michael R. Bloomberg
New York City
22 August 2006
John Perry T.D
Ballymore Community Enterprise Ltd.
Sligo Benevolent Association
Monument sculpted by Phillip Flanagan
Project managed by Ruairl O Culv — Map (db m85947) WM|
|Ireland, Munster (County Cork), Killumney — Bride Park Cottage — Birthplace of Major General Patrick Ronayne Cleburne|
BRIDE PARK COTTAGE
PATRICK RONAYNE CLEBURNE
Confederate States of America
Born March 17, 1828
Killed Nov. 30, 1864
BATTLE OF FRANKLIN, TENNESSEE
Erected by Cleburne's Brigade
March 17, 1994 — Map (db m85650) HM
|United Kingdom, City of Edinburgh (Scotland), Edinburgh — In Memory of Scottish-American Soldiers|
|(Front): In memory of Scottish-American soldiers
To preserve the jewel of liberty in the framework of freedom - Abraham Lincoln (North Side):Sergeant Major John M'Ewan
Co.H, 65th Regt Illinois Vol Infantry
William L Duff,
Lt Col., 2nd Illinois Regt of Artillery
Co.E, 5th Regt Maine Infantry Volunteers
Co.C, 1st Michigan Cavalry
Co.F, 57th Regt New York Infantry Volunteers (South Side):Alexander Smith . . . — Map (db m34260) HM|
|Alabama (Autauga County), Prattville — Mulbry Grove Cottage — McWilliams - Smith - Rice House|
|Built circa, 1840s by A.K. McWilliams, this story and one-half Federal-style raised cottage with Greek Revival elements was the residence of Amos Smith, who name the town of Prattville.
The west front parlor was the meeting place where the Prattville Dragoons, a Civil War unit, was organized in 1861. Occupied for many years by George L. and Abbie Holt Smith, the house remained in the hands of their descendants until 1995. Charles Rice, a nephew by marriage of George and Abbie Smith’s son, . . . — Map (db m27982) HM|
|Alabama (Autauga County), Prattville — Pratt Gin Factory — 1 mile|
|Once the world's largest plant manufacturing cotton gins.
Founded 1833 by Daniel Pratt, the greatest industrialist of Alabama prior to 1860. Pratt's many industries were of great aid to Confederacy during Northern blockade. — Map (db m70799) HM|
|Alabama (Autauga County), Prattville — Sidney Lanier/Prattville Male and Female Academy Site|
The poet and musician, born in Macon, Georgia, was Academy principal in 1867-68. He married Mary H. Day of Macon in December 1867. In Prattville, they lived at the Mims Hotel and later in Dr. S.P. Smith's home.
Following a brief legal career in Georgia, Lanier became first flutist in 1873 with the Peabody Orchestra in Baltimore and in 1879 was appointed as lecturer in English Literature at Johns Hopkins University.
He wrote the words . . . — Map (db m70802) HM|
|Alabama (Autauga County), Prattville — The Prattville Dragoons|
|This boulder erected by
The Merrill E. Pratt Chapter U.D.C.
April 26, 1916,
marks the spot where
The Prattville Dragoons
assembled in April, 1861,
on the eve of their departure
to the war,
and is commemorative of their
patriotism in the Confederate service. — Map (db m70819) HM WM|
|Alabama (Baldwin County), Blakeley — Alabama|
In memory of the Alabama
Confederate States of America
who served at Fort Blakeley
Mobile Bay District
United Daughters of the Confederacy
Bonnie Blue Flag
Charles S. Stewart
Electra Semmes Colston
Pvt. Gibeon J. Sullivan — Map (db m87295) WM|
|Alabama (Baldwin County), Blakeley — Battle of Blakeley — April 9, 1865|
|Missouri Brigade (CSA)
1st & 4th Missouri Infantry Regiment
2nd & 6th Missouri Infantry Regiment
3rd & 5th Missouri Infantry Regiment
1st & 3rd Missouri Cavalry Battalion (Dismounted)
3rd (St Louis) Missouri Battery
30th Missouri Infantry Regiment (4 COS.) (1st Div., XIII Corps)
21st Missouri Infantry Regiment (2nd Div., XVI Corps)
Dedicated to those who served
by those who remember
Presented by the 3rd Missouri Inf. Regt. (CSA) . . . — Map (db m87292) WM|
|Alabama (Baldwin County), Blakeley — The Battle of Fort Blakely|
The Battle of Fort Blakely April 9, 1865 was the last major battle of the Civil War. This 67 acre part of the Blakeley Battlefield was acquired in 2002 with assistance of grants from the Land & Water Conservation Fund administered by the National Park Service, the Civil War Preservation Trust, and Historic Blakeley Foundation together with the aid of the owner, Alan H. Belcher DVM. — Map (db m87296) HM|
|Alabama (Baldwin County), Bon Secour — Stop 3 — Vicinity of Salt Works and Camp Anderson — “Salt Is Eminently Contraband” — Civil War Trail Battle for Mobile Bay|
| Both people and animals need salt to remain healthy. Before the Civil War the people of Alabama consumed about 50 pounds of salt per person per year, most of which came from England and the West Indies. One quarter of all the salt imported into the United States came into the country through the Port of New Orleans.
During the war, though salt was smuggled into Mobile by blockade runners from Havana, the blockade and transportation problems constricted the supply of salt throughout much . . . — Map (db m68503) HM|
|Alabama (Baldwin County), Fort Morgan — Noble Leslie DeVotie|
|(Obverse): First Alabama soldier to lose life in Civil War.
DeVotie graduated in 1856 from University of Alabama; Presbyterian Theological Seminary at Princeton in 1859. In 1856 at the University of Alabama, he was chief founder of Sigma Alpha Epsilon Fraternity, the only national social fraternity founded in the Deep South.
(Reverse): First Alabama soldier to die in Civil War.
Drowned Feb. 12, 1861 while on duty as chaplain of Alabama troops here. Before enlisting he was . . . — Map (db m4219) HM|
|Alabama (Baldwin County), Fort Morgan — The Pride of Seven Flags|
Tribute dedicated to the memory of the soldiers who gave their lives in the defense of our country here at Fort Morgan.
Here lies the pride of seven flags entombed in our ancestor’s worth, who heard the thunder of the fray break o’er the field beneath knew the watchword of the day was “Victory or Death.”
Dates of battles and some events relative to Fort Morgan.
1711 – Battle, France – England
1719 – Battle, . . . — Map (db m4649) HM|
|Alabama (Baldwin County), Gulf Shores — "Damn The Torpedoes!" The Campaigns for Mobile, 1864 - 1865|
"Damn the Torpedoes!" is a familiar battle cry, but there's more to the story! The Mobile Civil War Trail is your guide to military movements and the way of life on and around Mobile Bay in the closing two years of the Civil War. Stand in the very spots where the action occurred during the Battle of Mobile Bay (August 1864) and the later overland effort to capture Mobile, called the Campaign for Mobile (March - May, 1865). The complete Trail stretches from the Gulf of . . . — Map (db m87247) HM|
|Alabama (Baldwin County), Gulf Shores — Stop C4 — "The Shells Were Bursting All Around Us" — The Siege of Fort Morgan: — Stop C4|
After the surrender of Fort Gaines, U.S. General Gordon Granger prepared to besiege Fort Morgan. On August 9, 1864, he moved by transport to Navy Cove and debarked 2,000 men and his siege equipment at the Pilot Town wharf. By 2:00 p.m. he had occupied a line 2,000 yards from the fort. That afternoon Farragut bombarded Morgan for several hours from a distance of one thousand yards, and, under a flag of truce, demanded its unconditional surrender. C.S. General Richard Page, though he had no . . . — Map (db m87246) HM|
|Alabama (Baldwin County), Gulf Shores — 32 Pounder Sea Coast Defense Gun — On Barbette Carriage|
This smoothbore, muzzle-loading cannon was one of the
main coast defense weapons in the United States' arsenal when Fort Morgan was completed in 1834. With an eight pound charge of powder the gun could fire a 32 pound solid iron shot about one mile.
At the start of the Civil War in 1861 the 32 pounder was still widely used in coastal forts, but it was being replaced by more powerful and more accurate guns. When the war began there were 78 of these guns at Fort Morgan, but when the fort . . . — Map (db m87245) HM|
|Alabama (Baldwin County), Gulf Shores — 6.4” (100 pounder) Parrott Rifle / 7” Brooke Rifle|
| 6.4” (100 pounder) Parrott Rifle
Designed by Robert Parker Parrott at the outbreak of the Civil War, the Parrott Rifle became one of the most used rifled artillery pieces during the war. With shells that exploded on impact, rifled guns such as the Parrott Rifle spelled the end of masonry fortifications. In the 1870’s, the U.S. Army attempted to modernize Fort Morgan by shipping several 6.4” (100pdr.) Parrott Rifles to the fort to improve its armament.
7” Brooke . . . — Map (db m69898) HM|
|Alabama (Baldwin County), Gulf Shores — Citadel (1825-1865)|
| The Citadel, a large ten sided brick and wood structure, once dominated the Fort’s parade ground. Completed in 1825 as a defensive barracks, it was capable of housing 400 soldiers.
During the Union bombardment on August 22, 1864, the pine beams used in the construction of the citadel’s roof caught fire and burned out of control. The fire forced the Confederates to dump approximately 60,000 pounds of cannon powder into the fort’s water cistern to prevent it from exploding. On the morning . . . — Map (db m68751) HM|
|Alabama (Baldwin County), Gulf Shores — The Battery Lincoln — Position of Company “C” of the 20th Iowa Infantry|
| Completed on August 18th, Battery Lincoln was located near the northern end of the Federal siege lines of Fort Morgan. Company “C” of the 20th Iowa Infantry Regiment, under the command of Captain Mark L. Thomson, was detailed to serve as sharpshooters on the siege line.
Near daybreak on August 22nd, the last great bombardment of Fort Morgan commenced. Private Samuel Crawford of the 20th Iowa detailed the accurate shelling of the mortars in a diary he penned during the . . . — Map (db m81809) HM|
|Alabama (Baldwin County), Gulf Shores — Stop C1 — The Battle of Mobile Bay — “A Deadly Rain of Shot and Shell” — Civil War Trail, Battle for Mobile Bay|
| Eager to attack Mobile Bay since 1862, U. S. Admiral David Farragut knew he could not capture control of the lower bay without the support of the army and without a flotilla of ironclad monitors to confront the Confederate ironclad CSS Tennessee. In July 1864, U. S. General Edward Canby sent 1,500 men under General Gordon Granger on army transports from New Orleans. Granger landed on Dauphin Island on August 3. By August 4 all of Farragut’s monitors had joined the fleet. Farragut was . . . — Map (db m68815) HM|
|Alabama (Baldwin County), Gulf Shores — Stop C3 — The Battle of Mobile Bay — “Damn the Torpedoes!” — Civil War Trail, Battle for Mobile Bay|
At 7:25 a.m., August 5, 1864, Admiral Farragut’s lead monitor Tecumseh steered into the torpedo field at the mouth of Mobile Bay. The admiral had ordered Commander Tunis Craven, the Tecumseh’s captain, to engage the ram Tennessee. Then west of the black buoy marking the eastern limit of the torpedo field, the Tennessee was steaming further west. Craven was too close to the black buoy to steer east of it; if he was to catch the Ram, he would have to move west of . . . — Map (db m69412) HM|
|Alabama (Baldwin County), Gulf Shores — Stop C2 — The Battle of Mobile Bay — “Now I Am In The Humor, I Will Have It Out!” — Civil War Trail, Battle for Mobile Bay|
| As the Hartford and Brooklyn steamed into the lower bay, the Tennessee tried to ram both in succession but was too slow and had to let them pass. Admiral Buchanan then exchanged broadsides with the rest of Admiral Farragut’s ships as they ran into the Bay.
At the same time, the Rebel gunboats Selma, Gaines, and Morgan, retreating up the Bay before the advancing ships, imposed a galling fire upon the enemy for fifteen minutes.
When the Federals won . . . — Map (db m69617) HM|
|Alabama (Baldwin County), Gulf Shores — The Overland Campaign — Storm Clouds Gather — Civil War Trail, Battle for Mobile Bay|
| To Wait and Watch
In late August 1864 the Federals controlled Mobile Bay but could not attack Mobile. Admiral Farragut could not reach the city even with his light draft vessels, because the channels in the upper Bay had been obstructed. Nor was U.S. General Edward Canby’s force big enough to take Mobile by an overland route. The soldiers that would otherwise have been available to him were tied down in other places. All Canby could do was make occasional demonstrations from the Bay to . . . — Map (db m69909) HM|
|Alabama (Baldwin County), Magnolia Springs — The Springs|
| Old tales have it that early explorers and even pirate vessels obtained potable water from springs scattered throughout the community of Magnolia Springs. This park is located at the largest of dozens of springs in the area.
In 1865 The Springs played a part in history by refreshing and restoring battle worn Federal troops traveling from the fallen Fort Morgan to Spanish Fort and Old Blakeley.
While building a log and timber bridge over Magnolia River, many of the Yankee soldiers . . . — Map (db m68486) HM|
|Alabama (Baldwin County), Spanish Fort — “Damn The Torpedoes!” — The Campaigns for Mobile, 1864-1965|
|“Damn The Torpedoes!” is the familiar battle cry, but there’s much more to the story! The Mobile Bay Civil War Trail is your guide to military movements and the way of life on and around Mobile Bay in the closing two years of the Civil War. Stand in the very spots where the action occurred during the Battle of Mobile Bay (August 1864) and the later overland effort to capture Mobile, called the Campaign for Mobile (March - May, 1865). The complete Trail stretches from the Gulf of . . . — Map (db m81853) HM|
|Alabama (Baldwin County), Spanish Fort — Stop 7 Fort McDermott: — "The Men Dig,Dig,Dig" — Civil War Trail|
|Late on March 26, C.S. General St. John Liddell withdrew into the relative safety of Fort Blakeley and Spanish Fort, Liddell, assisted by General Francis Cockrell, assumed personal responsibility for the defense of Blakeley and put the defense of Spanish Fort in General Randall Gibson's capable hands. On the morning of the 27th, A.J. Smith, leaving an entrenched division at Sibley's Mills, wheeled around and closed in on Spanish Fort's left flank, near Bay Minette. Granger and Bertram . . . — Map (db m50597) HM|
|Alabama (Baldwin County), Spanish Fort — Stop 8 The Eighth Iowa Line: — “The Very Air Was Hot”|
|Canby brought up his heavy guns from Stark’s Landing a process that took several days, beginning on the 28th. Supported by the Federal monitors, Chickasaw and Winnebago, Canby tried to pound the enemy into submission The Confederates naturally attempted to slow the progress of the Federal engineers and artillerists with cannon fire from Spanish Fort, Forts Huger and Tracey, and their gunboats on the river. The most deadly artillery duels occurred on April 2, 4, and 8. At first, Gibson’s command . . . — Map (db m50602) HM|
|Alabama (Barbour County), Batesville — Fort Browder/15th Alabama Infantry|
Approximately one mile south-southwest of here stood Fort Browder, a small wooden fortification built in 1836 for protection in the last war with the Creek Indians and named for Isham Browder, a prominent local planter. In 1861, the fort witnessed the formation of a Confederate infantry company known as the Fort Browder Roughs initially commanded by Captain Moses Worthington. The Roughs were subsequently enrolled as Company D, 15th Alabama Infantry. Of . . . — Map (db m60895) HM|
|Alabama (Barbour County), Eufaula — Confederate Hospital|
1861 - 1865
“Sanctuary for valiant and courageous men”
Built for a river tavern 1836
Placed by Barbour County Chapter United Daughter of the Confederacy. — Map (db m27986) HM|
|Alabama (Barbour County), Eufaula — General Grierson’s March|
|This road marks the entrance into Eufaula of Federal Troops on April 29, 1865. Lee had surrendered at Appomattox, Virginia on April 9. General Benjamin H. Grierson was advancing with four thousand cavalry from Mobile and was then about at Louisville. He had not heard of Lee’s surrender. Masters Edward Young and Edward Stern, mounted on horses and bearing flags of truce, were at once dispatched out this road, the direct route from Clayton, to meet General Grierson. They met General Grierson at . . . — Map (db m82872) HM|
|Alabama (Bibb County), Brierfield — Absalom Pratt House|
|Absalom Pratt built this house 8 miles west of here circa 1835 though a section was constructed earlier. It was moved to this site in 1994 by the Cahaba Trace Commission, restored by the Alabama Historic Ironworks Commission, 1997-98, and dedicated by both organizations on November 15, 1998.
Born in Stokes County, North Carolina, Absalom Pratt settled in River Bend with his brothers, Hopkins, Joab and John, 1816-1818. Parents Richard and Rebecca Pratt soon followed. In 1822, Absalom . . . — Map (db m37078) HM|
|Alabama (Bibb County), Brierfield — Bibb Furnace|
|The Bibb County Iron Company under the direction of C. C. Huckabee of Newbern, Alabama, constructed a furnace here and poured the first iron in November 1862. Within a year, the Confederate government purchased the works and completed a second and larger furnace alongside whose stack exists today. Known as the Bibb Naval Works, the facility was a major contributor of iron used for Confederate ordnance especially the Brooke cannon.
On the morning of 31 March 1865, Union General James H. . . . — Map (db m37090) HM|
|Alabama (Bibb County), Brierfield — Bibb Naval Furnaces Brierfield Furnaces — — ½ mile →|
|Principal iron producer for Confederate foundry at Selma where naval guns and iron-clads were made.
1865 - Furnaces destroyed by Wilson’s Raiders, U. S. A.
1866 - Furnaces rebuilt and operated by Gen. Gorgas, former Ordnance Chief, C. S. A. — Map (db m37055) HM|
|Alabama (Blount County), Blountsville — Battle Royal — May 1, 1863|
|Nathan Bedford Forrest attacked Col. Streight’s column as it crossed Locust’s swift waters, causing the Federals to make tremendous exertions to complete the movement, contributing thereby to Streight’s eventual surrender of his entire command to Forrest some forty hours later and seventy-five miles distant from Battle Royal. — Map (db m28320) HM|
|Alabama (Blount County), Blountsville — None — Blountsville Court Square Timeline|
|1813: Colonel John Coffee and 800 Tennessee Volunteers see Bear Meat Cabin Cherokee Settlement near Blountsville
1816: Town settles around square
1820: Newly named Blountsville becomes county seat
1827: Town incorporated with Trustee System
1833: First courthouse built
1853: Town incorporated with new system; immediately un-incorporated
1863: Forrest-Streight Civil War Raid
1864: Rousseau Civil War Raid
1865-71: Reconstruction unrest
1880: Croquet dominates Court Square . . . — Map (db m49176) HM|
|Alabama (Blount County), Blountsville — Exploit of Murphree Sisters — Incident of May 1, 1863 during Streight (U.S.A.) - Forrest (C.S.A.) Campaign.|
|Three prowling Union soldiers invaded home of sister-in-law of Celia and Winnie Mae Murphree taking food, drink; killing two colts.
When soldiers fell asleep, these two young girls took rifles, marched soldiers to headquarters of General Forrest, bivouacked at Royal Crossing on Warrior River. — Map (db m83226) HM|
|Alabama (Blount County), Blountsville — Federal Raid — May 1, 1863 — 1 mile south|
|Gen. N.B. Forrest (CSA) Captured wagon train and supplies of Col. Streight's raiders (USA).
Forrest continued his relentless pursuit eastward toward final capture of Streight. — Map (db m24363) HM|
|Alabama (Bullock County), Union Springs — Log Cabin Museum/Old City Cemetery|
| Log Cabin Museum
Early settlers of this area cleared land and built their first homes of logs in the early 1830s. This cabin was built by Reuben Rice Kirkland (1829-1915) about 1850. He and his first wife had ten children while living in the log home.|
At one time an additional bedroom and chimney were on the right side, and the back porch was closed in for cooking and eating. A small log kitchen stood a few feet from the back and was later converted to a smoke house. The milk . . . — Map (db m60969) HM
|Alabama (Butler County), Greenville — Confederate Park/Greenville City Hall-Site of Public School|
Confederate Park was created in 1897 as a joint effort of the Father Ryan Chapter of the United Daughters of the Confederacy and the City of Greenville, with First United Methodist Church providing the Park site. The sixteen-foot marble statue of a Confederate soldier was erected in the center of the park in 1903 and is a well known landmark. The Park serves the community as an outdoor center for concerts and festivals. Sponsored by the Sasanqua Garden . . . — Map (db m70749) HM|
|Alabama (Butler County), Greenville — Our Confederate Dead|
| Front: Our Confederate Dead
Back: To the memory of Butler Co's Confederate Soldiers
West: Erected 1903 by the Father Ryan Chapter of the United Daughters of the Confederacy.
East: Dead, but his spirit breathes;
Dead, but his heart is ours;
Dead, but his sunny and sad land wreathes
His crown with tears for flowers.
Father Ryan — Map (db m70768) WM|
|Alabama (Calhoun County), Anniston — Major John Pelham — Was born here → — September 7, 1838|
|Commanded Horse Artillery of
Army of Northern Virginia, C.S.A.
Killed at Kelly’s Ford, Va.
March 17, 1863
Styled “The Gallant Pelham”
By Robert E. Lee — Map (db m36546) HM|
|Alabama (Calhoun County), Anniston — The Birthplace of the “Gallant Pelham”|
|Major John Pelham C.S.A.
Born September 14, 1838
at the home of his Grand Parents
William McGehee and Elizabeth Clay McGehee
Erected by Forney District U.D.C.
May 5, 1937 — Map (db m36547) HM|
|Alabama (Calhoun County), Jacksonville — 10th Alabama Volunteers — Army of Northern Virginia, C.S.A.|
|This regiment took part for four years in major battles of Virginia theater. It served with distinction for dash and courage, suffering heavy casualties.
Officers at regiment’s organization June 4, 1861 at Montgomery, Alabama;
Colonel John H. Forney Jacksonville
Lt. Col. James B. Martin Jacksonville
Major Taul Bradford Talladega
Co. Captain County
A John H. Caldwell St. Clair
B Alburto Martin Jefferson
C Rufus W. Cobb Shelby
D Franklin Woodruff . . . — Map (db m36465) HM|
|Alabama (Calhoun County), Jacksonville — Beauregard's Headquarters|
|This house, "Ten Oaks", was headquarters for Gen. P.G.T. Beauregard, Oct. 15-23, 1864, when he coordinated the movement of Gen. J.B. Hood's army, then marching across northeast Alabama enroute to Nashville. He and his retinue, including Gov. I.G. Harris of Tenn. and Gen. M.L. Smith, were the guests of Mr. and Mrs. James Crook who erected "Ten Oaks" in 1850, the largest house in Calhoun County. Beauregard stood on the front balcony to be serenaded by the townspeople who were assembled in the . . . — Map (db m29919) HM|
|Alabama (Calhoun County), Jacksonville — Confederate Hospital|
|This Church was used for a
During the War
Between The States
General John H. Forney
Chapter U.D.C. Sept 27, 1937 — Map (db m36539) HM|
|Alabama (Calhoun County), Jacksonville — Forney’s Corner|
|Jacob Forney III lived and operated a thriving mercantile establishment at Jacksonville from 1835-56 on the south-east corner of the square. He and his wife Sabina Swope Hoke were the parents of nine children.
1. Daniel Peter - b. Feb. 24, 1819, d. Sept. 10, 1880.
2. Joseph Bartlett - b. Feb. 19, 1821, d. Aug. 14, 1881.
3. William Henry - b. Nov. 9, 1823, d. Jan. 18, 1894.
4. Barbara Ann - b. Dec. 11, 1826, d. Dec. 26, 1907.
5. John Horace - b. Aug. 12, 1829, d. Sept. 13, 1902.
6. . . . — Map (db m36450) HM|
|Alabama (Calhoun County), Jacksonville — General Leonidas Polk C.S.A.|
|Bishop of Louisiana
Held service in this church 1864
Erected by General John H. Forney
April 26, 1937 — Map (db m36535) HM|
|Alabama (Calhoun County), Jacksonville — Jacksonville, Alabama — “Gem of the Hills”|
|Life here has long centered on education beginning in 1834 when a one-acre plot of land was reserved for a schoolhouse. Through the years, various institutions of higher learning developed that culminated into present-day Jacksonville State University. Land that was to become Jacksonville was purchased from Creek Indian Chief Ladiga in 1833. Originally called Drayton, its name was changed to Jacksonville in 1836. Jacksonville experienced a rich heritage as the county seat of Calhoun County. Its . . . — Map (db m36429) HM|
|Alabama (Calhoun County), Jacksonville — John Horace Forney — 1829-1902 — Major General, C.S.A.|
|Graduate of West Point,
resigned from U.S. Army
to volunteer services
to State of Alabama.
Ably led Confederate forces
at Manassas, Pensacola,
Vicksburg, Mobile, Texas. — Map (db m36482) HM|
|Alabama (Calhoun County), Jacksonville — John Tyler Morgan — 1824-1907|
| Lawyer, Soldier, Senator
← Lived here in 1838
1862-63 Colonel of
51st Alabama Cavalry
Raised by him in this county
1863-65 Brigadier General C.S.A.
with Wheeler’s Cavalry
1876-1907 United States Senator
of Alabama. — Map (db m36468) HM|
|Alabama (Calhoun County), Jacksonville — Maj. John Pelham — 1838-1863|
|"The Gallant Pelham" as called by Robert E. Lee Commanded Artillery, Army of Northern Virginia. Cited for conspicuous valor many times. Killed in action in Virginia. — Map (db m29920) HM|
|Alabama (Calhoun County), Jacksonville — Pelham|
Maj. John Pelham
killed at the battle of Kelly's Ford
March 17, 1863
Erected by the General John H. Forney Chapter U.D.C. Jacksonville, Alabama 1905.
How shall we rank thee upon glory's page than more than soldier — Map (db m23588) HM|
|Alabama (Calhoun County), Jacksonville — The Depot — Chief Ladiga Trail|
|The Depot was constructed in 1860 by the Selma, Rome and Dalton (GA) Railroad. It was used as a transfer and storage point for Confederate troops and materials during the War Between the States. — Map (db m36443) HM|
|Alabama (Calhoun County), Jacksonville — Thomas A. Walker — 1811-1888|
|Prominent citizen of Jacksonville who served Alabama as Brigadier General, State Militia; member Legislature and Pres. of Senate; Circuit Court Judge; and Pres. Ala. and Tenn. Railroad
He owned extensive cotton plantations and mining interests throughout the state
His home, "The Magnolias", built in 1850, is an outstanding example of Southern architecture — Map (db m29921) HM|
|Alabama (Calhoun County), Jacksonville — William Henry Forney — 1823-1894|
|Brigadier General C.S.A.
With Army of Virginia 1861-1865.
Wounded in battle five times.
He was one of four distinguished sons
of Jacob Forney and Sabina Swope Hoke
of Jacksonville who held commissions
in the Confederate Army.
Member U.S. Congress 1875-1893
National Military Park Commission
Veteran Mexican War 1846. — Map (db m36480) HM|
|Alabama (Calhoun County), Ohatchee — Janney Furnace|
|The furnace was constructed by Montgomery businessman Alfred A. Janney, reportedly using slaves brought from Tennessee by a "Dr. Smith." The furnace was completed and ready to produce pig iron when, on July 14, 1864, a Union cavalry raiding force of 2,300 men, led by Major General Louvell H. Rousseau, crossed the Coosa River at Ten Islands Ford in route to destroying the railroad between Montgomery and West Point, Georgia. Learning of the location of the furnace, Rousseau dispatched his . . . — Map (db m25544) HM|
|Alabama (Chambers County), Lafayette — LaFayette Cemetery — Chambers County|
|LaFayette Cemetery, also known as Westview, began in 1934 with the death of Miss Sarah Gipson. Many early pioneers and veterans of East Alabama are buried here including Revolutionary War Patriot Capt. Alexander Dunn, Col. Charles McLemore, Confederate soldier Elliott H. Muse, Senator Thomas Heflin, and Edmonia, a servant to the Allen family. The pavilion was constructed in 1903 in the oldest section of the cemetery for the Confederate Memorial Day programs. The Owen K. McLemore Chapter of the . . . — Map (db m83263) HM|
|Alabama (Cherokee County), Cedar Bluff — Cornwall Furnace|
|The Confederate States of America in 1862 commissioned the Noble Brothers of Rome, Georgia to erect a cold blast furnace to produce needed pig iron for the war effort.
The skilled labor was detailed from Confederate army personnel. It is estimated that 1000 laborers were employed in building the canal, tunnel and mining brown hematite rock used in building the furnace in less than a year.
The furnace output was small (6 tons daily) but an important asset to the Confederacy in building . . . — Map (db m83267) HM|
|Alabama (Cherokee County), Lawrence — Gen. N.B. Forrest Captured Col. A.D. Streight Monument|
|This marks the place where Gen. N.B. Forrest with 322 men captured Col. A.D. Streight with 466 men May 3, 1863. Erected by Forney District Ala. United Daughters of The Confederacy June 3, 1939 — Map (db m12306) HM|
|Alabama (Chilton County), Stanton — Ebenezer Church — April 1, 1865|
|Cavalry engagement here among fiercest of war.
To defend arsenal at Selma Forrest (CSA) charged with 1500 into Wilson (USA) moving south with 7500.
Forrest was seeking to delay Wilson pending arrival of scattered (CSA) units.
Forrest in heavy fighting to inspire men suffered sabre wound but killed opponent.
Swollen streams and intercepted orders blocked aid for Forrest, forced his retreat. — Map (db m37617) HM|
|Alabama (Cleburne County), Heflin — Cleburne County|
|Cleburne County was created December 6, 1866, and was named for Confederate Major General Patrick R. Cleburne. He was born March 17, 1828 in Ireland. He was the South's highest-ranking foreign-born officer and one of the best of any nationality. General Cleburne was killed November 30, 1864 in the Battle of Franklin, Tennessee. — Map (db m83273) HM|
|Alabama (Coffee County), Fairview — Battle Branch — September 2, 1864|
|The only battle fought in Coffee County during The War Between the States.
Just east of this spot, at the branch head, a battle occurred between the Coffee County Home Guards and Ward’s Raiders, a group of Confederate deserters who had terrorized southeast Alabama and burned the Coffee County court house in Elba. One raider was killed and two were captured. Four Home Guard heroes were killed: William F. Beard, Robert P. Brooks, Make Carmichael, and Thomas P. Larkins. — Map (db m83328) HM|
|Alabama (Colbert County), Barton — Civil War Skirmish at The Barton Cemetery|
|Bullet - marked tombstones in this cemetery show evidence of a brisk skirmish here Oct. 26, 1863, when Gen. P.J. Osterhaus's first division of Sherman's Corps came under fire from Gen. S.D. Lee's Confederate troops. CSA artillery on a hill near a frame church (Zion No. 1) opened fire at dawn and Union artillery replied from the cemetery. CSA forces retreated to Little Bear Creek. USA forces briefly occupied Tuscumbia, then retreated to Cherokee and abandoned attempt to advance along the . . . — Map (db m83329) HM|
|Alabama (Colbert County), Leighton — LaGrange College|
|This is the site of LaGrange College Chartered in 1830 by act of the Legislature of Alabama An Institution of High Order for men attended chiefly by students from the southern states.
The college was burned April 28, 1863 by Federal Cavalry Commanded by Colonel Florence M. Cornyn under General Granville Dodge.
Bishop Robert Paine 1830-1846
Dr. Edward Wadsworth 1846-1852
James W. Hardy 1852-1853
Rev. Smith Moore 3 months 1853
Dr. R. H. Rivers 1854-1855
Rev. Felix . . . — Map (db m83333) HM|
|Alabama (Colbert County), Littleville — History of Littleville, Alabama|
Capt. Benjamin F. Little, a former Confederate soldier, opened a store here after the railroad from Tuscumbia to Russellville was built in 1887. A train station and several houses were soon erected. A rail spur provided access to nearby iron ore mines. Capt. A.H. Keller owned a sandstone quarry and summer resort called Fern Quarry near Keller Springs just north of the town in the 1880s and 1890s. The stone was used in construction of a blast furnace and commercial buildings in . . . — Map (db m68954) HM|
|Alabama (Colbert County), Sheffield — Old Railroad Bridge|
In 1832, the Alabama legislature authorized the Florence Bridge Company to construct this bridge across the Tennessee River. In 1840, it opened as a toll bridge. Twice damaged by storms, it was reopened in 1858 as a double-decked bridge by the Memphis and Charleston Railroad. Additional piers were added to support the large wooden superstructure with trains using the upper deck while the lower deck served as a toll bridge. In April 1862, the Confederate army burned the . . . — Map (db m40596) HM|
|Alabama (Colbert County), Tuscumbia — History of Tuscumbia, Alabama|
The area around the Big Spring was inhabited by prehistoric Native Americans as early as 10,000 years ago. The first settlement was a French trading post and Indian village about 1780 on Cold Water Creek (Spring Creek) near the river. The first permanent white settlers were Michael Dickson and family, who arrived by keel boat about 1817, followed shortly by four brothers-in-law, Isaiah McDill, James McMann, Hugh Finley and David Matthews. Jackson's Military Road was . . . — Map (db m83396) HM|
|Alabama (Colbert County), Tuscumbia — St. John's Episcopal Church|
|This congregation was organized in the 1830's, with services being held in private homes and the Methodist meeting house. The present building was first used in October 1852 and completed the following year. During the Civil War, Union troops occupied the church and destroyed some of the parish records. St. John's is an early example of the "carpenter's Gothic" style popular for many Episcopal churches during the mid-19th century. Damaged by a tornado in 1874, the church afterward was . . . — Map (db m28422) HM|
|Alabama (Colbert County), Tuscumbia — Tuscumbia Railway|
west of Alleghenies
1832 ~ begun here; completed to Decatur, 45 miles east, in 1834.
Cotton shipped by this line around nearby Muscle Shoals, then by boat down Tennessee ~ Mississippi R to world markets.
1851 ~ expanded to Memphis ~ Charleston RR.
A vital line in Civil War, it changed hands several times.
1898 ~ became part of Southern Railways. — Map (db m28413) HM|
|Alabama (Colbert County), Tuscumbia — Tuscumbia's Oakwood Cemetery|
|This burial ground was designated on General John Coffee's 1817 survey and original map "Plan of a Town at the Coldwater Spring." The oldest tombstone carries the burial date 1821 and the cemetery contains graves of veterans from all wars beginning with the American Revolution, including graves of approximately 100 unknown Confederate soldiers. Captain Arthur Keller, CSA, father of Helen Keller, and Brig. General James Deshler, CSA, are buried here. — Map (db m28567) HM|
|Alabama (Conecuh County), Evergreen — Alabama Baptist Children’s Home Site|
|The Louise Short Baptist Widows’ and Orphans’ Home, consisting of a 10-room brick residence and related buildings on 80 acres of land fronted on Main Street, Evergreen, for more than ¼ mile.
It was established by the Alabama Baptist State Convention in 1891 and was chartered by the Legislature of Alabama in the same year.
The idea had been approved by the Alabama Baptist State Convention in 1863 as a haven for children of soldiers killed in the War Between the States.
The Home . . . — Map (db m81293) HM|
|Alabama (Cullman County), Cullman — Battle of Hog Mountain — April 30, 1863|
|Here Gen. Forrest (C.S.A.) overtook Col. Streight’s raiders (U.S.A.). In hand-to-hand battle after dark 3 horses shot from under Forrest, Union forces fled southward with Forrest in relentless pursuit. — Map (db m33802) HM|
|Alabama (Cullman County), Hanceville — General Forrest’s|
|Pursuit and Union Col. Streight’s defense, from Battle Ground (26M. -NW) to capture at Lawrence (80 M. -East) - said to be greatest cavalry fight in modern warfare. It passed here May 1, 1863. — Map (db m33801) HM|
|Alabama (Cullman County), Vinemont — Battle of Day’s Gap — April 30, 1863 — ---- 6 miles west -->|
|Here Gen. Forrest (C.S.A.) overtook larger force of Col. Streight (U.S.A.)
Forrest attacked three times. Streight fled toward Rome to destroy Confederate railroads. — Map (db m33808) HM|
|Alabama (Cullman County), Vinemont — Battleground|
|Named after a Civil War Battle fought April 30, 1863, between Confederate troops commanded by General Nathan Bedford Forrest and Union troops commanded by Colonel Abel D. Streight. Confederates lost 50 to 75 men killed or wounded. Union lost 30 men. Shortly after the battle Union forces fled to Hog Mountain pursued by the Confederates. — Map (db m33807) HM|
|Alabama (Dale County), Ariton — Veterans Memorial Bridge - 1921 / Grist Mill - Indian Battle - Recreation|
|(Front):Veterans Memorial Bridge - 1921This reinforced concrete river bridge, thought to be the first in Alabama. Was erected over Pea River in 1920-21 at a cost of $92,108.97. It was dedicated on August 3, 1921 as a memorial to the 57 men from Dale County who lost their lives in World War 1. Engineers were Mitcham, Keller, Smith and Land. County officials were Windham, Sessions, Roberts, Ziglar, Mullins and Archer. In 1977, through the efforts of the Dale County Historical Society, The . . . — Map (db m36511) HM|
|Alabama (Dale County), Newton — Newton — Town on the Hill 1834 / Third County Seat of Dale County|
Town on the Hill - 1843
Newton was hub of Dale County activities from 1843 until 1870. During War Between the States (1861-1865), Newton was center of recruiting, including the Home Guards. In March 1865, local militia repulsed attack by band of irregulars. Board of Physicians established 1856 to issue licenses. The Southern Star first published here in 1867. Newton was port for river boats (until railroad built in 1890). Home of Killebrew's Mill, Kill Kare Kamp, . . . — Map (db m71586) HM|
|Alabama (Dale County), Ozark — Confederate Memorial|
| North Face Confederate Dead West Face In memory of the Dale County Confederate soldiers, who fought in the War Between the States from 1861 to '65. South Face These were men who, by the simple manhood of their lives, by their strict adherence to the principles of right, by their sublime courage and unspeakable sacrifices, even to the heroism of death, have preserved for us, through the gloom of defeat, a priceless heritage of honor. East Face Erected by Stonewall . . . — Map (db m36564) HM|
|Alabama (Dallas County), Beloit — Cahawba|
|Site of Alabama's first permanent capital 1820-26. County seat Dallas County, 1820-66. Prison for Union soldiers during the War Between the States 1863-65. Indians were the first inhabitants over 4000 years ago. Their large fortified village could have been visited by DeSoto in 1540. Located 5½ miles south on the Alabama and Cahaba Rivers. — Map (db m75779) HM|
|Alabama (Dallas County), Cahaba — A Prison Chimney?|
|This engraving of the Union Prison at Cahaba was published in 1877 by Benson J. Lossing. The stockade had already been removed, so the details of the brick structure are visible. The artist apparently was in a boat in the Alabama River, behind you to your right. He did record a chimney in this area.
Experts believe that the chimney standing before you today was built at a much later date. What do you think?
Caption: Union Prison at Cahawba.1 — Map (db m83506) HM|
|Alabama (Dallas County), Cahaba — Castle Morgan & Jesse Hawes|
|The Union soldiers held captive in Cahaba's Civil War Prison, called the place Castle Morgan in honor of a daring Confederate raider. In 1888 Jesse Hawes published a book about his imprisonment in Castle Morgan. He drew this diagram from memory.
The water closet was located in the depressed area to the right of this sign. Hawes illustrates it as a six hole outhouse that was constantly flushed into the Alabama River by artesian well water. Jesse Hawes and two other prisoners escaped through . . . — Map (db m22668) HM|
|Alabama (Dallas County), Cahaba — Civil War Prison|
|In 1858, the railroad company graded away an Indian mound that stood here. A brick warehouse was built in its place. From 1863 - 1865 the Confederate government used this warehouse to hold captured Federal Soldiers. You are standing on a pile of brick rubble from this structure.
This official 1864 diagram helped archaeologists identify the actual prison site. Carefully excavated clues revealed that a proposed extension to the stockade was actually built.
If you follow the brick rubble . . . — Map (db m22666) HM|
|Alabama (Dallas County), Cahaba — Kirk-View Farm|
|In 1866, shortly after the Civil War and a severe flood, the county seat was moved from Cahaba to Selma. Residents rapidly abandoned the town. Many homes were dismantled and reassembled elsewhere.
Despite this trend, returning Confederate veteran Samuel McCurdy Kirkpatrick and his wife Sarah purchased a large brick house and outlying structures here on the northern edge of town. They acquired many of the vacated town lots and consolidated them into a large farm. For nearly seventy years, . . . — Map (db m83516) HM|
|Alabama (Dallas County), Cahaba — Major Hiram Solon Hanchett — 16th Illinois Cavalry - U.S. Volunteers|
|On January 20th, 1865, Major Hanchett lead a daring, but unsuccessful escape from the military prison that was located on this spot.
He was then moved to the dungeon of the county jail, located on First North Street. In March the other Union Soldiers were sent to a parole camp in Vicksburg. Hanchett was detained because the post commandant, Lt. Col. Sam Jones believed he was a spy.
In April when Federal soldiers attacked nearby Selma, the post commandant fled Cahaba, and the citizens . . . — Map (db m22669) HM|
|Alabama (Dallas County), Selma — “Fairoaks”|
|This Greek revival mansion was built c. 1853 for William B. King and named “Fairoaks” for the many trees found about the place. King was the nephew of Vice President William Rufus King. Ann B. Wilson, a half-sister of the builder, inherited it and in 1862 sold it to Judge Franklin W. Siddons.
During the Civil War and following the Battle of Selma the property was occupied by Wilson’s Raiders and used as a hospital for Union soldiers. The Siddons family was allowed to occupy two . . . — Map (db m83521) HM|
|Alabama (Dallas County), Selma — Arsenal Anvil|
|Anvil used in Selma’s Confederate Arsenal to make armament for Southern forces.
Presented to Sturdivant Museum Association April 1, 1961 by the Southern Railway Company which as the Selma, Rome and Dalton Railroad Company purchased the anvil among scrap disposed of at the arsenal, in 1866. The anvil was in use in the railroad blacksmith shop until 1936. — Map (db m37690) HM|
|Alabama (Dallas County), Selma — Arsenal Place — 1862 CSA 1865|
|This memorial marks the site of the Arsenal, a unit of the Great Ordnance Works in Selma destroyed by the Union Army April 6, 1865.
These ordnance works stood second only to those of Richmond in the manufacture of war materials for the Confederate States of America.
The work of the several thousand men, women, and children who served at the Arsenal has passed into History.
May this Memorial kindle anew in succeeding generations a patriotism founded on the knowledge of the deeds . . . — Map (db m37661) HM|
|Alabama (Dallas County), Selma — Burning of Downtown — St. Paul's Episcopal Church — Battle of Selma|
|"Of all the nights of my experience, this is most like the horrors of war — a captured city burning at night, a victorious army advancing, and a demoralized one retreating. ...this Sunday night nearly gone, will be remembered. If there is a merciful God in the heavens. He must be looking down upon this scene in pity." ~E.N. Gilpin 3rd Iowa Cavalry, Winslow's Brigade, Upton's Division, Selma, April 2, 1865.
The city's defensive lines have been breached, the air filled with dust and with . . . — Map (db m82744) HM|
|Alabama (Dallas County), Selma — Defense of Selma Memorial|
Here fell brave men
in defense of their homes
April 2, 1865.
Col. William T. Minter
Rev. Arthur M. Small
Robert N. Philpot
and other valiant soldiers
“They fought and fell
they served us well" Lest We Forget — Map (db m83576) HM|
|Alabama (Dallas County), Selma — Edmund Winston Pettus House Site|
|Edmund Winston Pettus, lawyer, General C.S.A., U.S. Senator, was born Limestone County, Alabama, 1821.
Admitted to bar, 1842.
Moved to Cahaba, 1858.
Major, C.S.A., 1861.
Brigadier General, 1863.
U.S. Senator, 1897-1907.
Resided here from 1866 until death, 1907.
When in Senate, with John T. Morgan, Selma was home of both U.S. Senators from Alabama. — Map (db m38273) HM|
|Alabama (Dallas County), Selma — Highlights of Selma History / William Rufus DeVane King 1786-1853|
| [Side A:]
Highlights of Selma History
Dallas County was created by Territorial Legislature Feb. 9, 1818. Selma Land Company formed Mar. 19, 1819 by George Phillips, William Rufus King, Jesse Beene, Gilbert Shearer and Caleb Tate. Selma incorporated Dec. 4, 1820. LaFayette visited 1825. First newspaper established 1827. Dallas County Male and Female Academy incorporated 1845 - was forerunner of public school system. Selma Arsenal and Confederate Naval Yard established 1862. Battle . . . — Map (db m37679) HM|
|Alabama (Dallas County), Selma — Interior Redoubt No. III — Wilson's Cavalry Charge|
|By 6pm General James H. Wilson had moved the 4th U.S. Cavalry, down Summerfield Road through the outer works and had ordered Captain Robinson of the Chicago Board of Trade Battery to do the same. After the main assault most of the regiments of Long's 2nd Division had lost unit cohesion. Their commanders lay wounded or dead. Mixed Confederate units fell back to a second defense line along the Alabama and Mississippi Railroad track. One stronghold on this line was Interior Redoubt III. Wilson . . . — Map (db m81930) HM|
|Alabama (Dallas County), Selma — John Tyler Morgan House|
|This was the residence of John Tyler Morgan (1824-1907), one of Alabama’s most honored political and military leaders. Constructed in 1859 by Thomas R. Wetmore, it was purchased by Morgan in 1865, and served for many years as his principal residence.
Morgan was a leader in the Secession Convention, ranking second only to William Lowndes Yancey in influence and power of debate. During the war he enlisted in the Confederate Army as a private and was promoted through the ranks to Brigadier . . . — Map (db m37676) HM|
|Alabama (Dallas County), Selma — Joseph T. Smitherman Historic Building|
|Central Masonic Institute of Alabama acquired property 1847 and erected building. Confederate Hospital during War Between the States. Dallas County Courthouse (1866-1901) on removal of County Seat from Cahaba. Presbyterian High School for Boys in early 1900’s. Acquired by Vaughan Estate 1904. Vaughan Memorial Hospital (1911-1960) in memory of Samuel Watkins Vaughan, M.D. City of Selma under Mayor Joseph T. Smitherman purchased property 1969. Dallas County & City restored original structure . . . — Map (db m37656) HM|
|Alabama (Dallas County), Selma — Last Stronghold Falls — Alabama & Mississippi Railroad Depot — Battle of Selma|
Hardie's Reserve Cavalry Battalion, about 500 strong were ordered to Selma from Talladega. They were placed along the railroad track to the right and Left of the Depot. This makeshift defensive line was made of the railroad bed, the Depot, cotton bales and other buildings. With the fall of the Interior Redoubt III to the west and General Upton's forces crossing the railroad track to the East. Major Hardie's Battalion was flanked on both sides. About 7 pm Major Greeno and troopers of the 7th . . . — Map (db m82756) HM|
|Alabama (Dallas County), Selma — Live Oak Cemetery|
|East portion reserved for graveyard, 1829; west part purchased City of Selma, 1877.
Here are buried:
William Rufus King, 1786-1853, Vice President of U.S. 1853.
John Tyler Morgan, 1824-1907, U.S. Senator, Brig. Gen. C.S.A.
Edmund Winston Pettus, 1821-1907, U.S. Senator, Brig. Gen. C.S.A.
Nathaniel H. R. Dawson, 1829-1895, U.S. Commissioner of Education.
William J. Hardee, 1815-1873, Lt. Gen. C.S.A., author “Hardee’s Tactics.”
Catesby ap Roger . . . — Map (db m37653) HM|
|Alabama (Dallas County), Selma — Mabry - Jones Home|
|This Greek Revival dwelling was built c. 1850 by Dr. Albert Gallatin Mabry, a prominent physician and member of the Alabama Legislature. Dr. Mabry was a leader in organizing the Alabama State Medical Association and instrumental in passing legislation which established the State’s first hospital for the insane. This home was the residence during and after the War Between the States of Dr. Mabry’s step-daughter, Gertrude Tartt Jones, and her husband, Captain Catesby ap Roger Jones, a Confederate . . . — Map (db m83580) HM|
|Alabama (Dallas County), Selma — Redoubt No. 15 — 1st Mississippi Cavalry — Battle of Selma|
Redoubt No. 15 located just to the west of Summerfield Road was defended by Colonel Pinson's 1st Mississippi Cavalry Regiment of Anderson's Brigade. Their 400 men held positions on the west side of the road and the rest of Armstrong's present; Ballentine's 7th Mississippi Cavalry, and Dillon's 2nd Mississippi Cavalry held the east of the road. These 1,000 men, Forrest's veterans, would bear the brunt of Long's attack.
"Ballentine's regiment was in the works on the right of . . . — Map (db m81925) HM|
|Alabama (Dallas County), Selma — Redoubt No. 24 — Selma Fortifications 1863-1865 — Battle of Selma|
At prominent positions, earthen forts were built with artillery in position to cover the ground over which an assault would have to be made.
Redoubt No. 24 anchored the City's defenses at the junction of Valley Creek & the Alabama River. The Fortifications ran northerly up the current Satterfield Street about 1,300 feet to Redoubt No. 23 and then continuing around the City like a horseshoe. The line turned at No. 24 and ran easterly about 1,000 feet along the current . . . — Map (db m83581) HM|
|Alabama (Dallas County), Selma — Selma Army Arsenal — 1862~1865 — Battle of Selma|
|Confederate Army Captain James White was ordered to relocate the old Federal Arsenal from Mt. Vernon, Alabama. By 1865 it consisted of 24 buildings and had over 500 workers including men, women, boys, girls, FMofC and slaves. It made or contracted for all manner of war materials including 30,000 rifle cartridges a day. These materials were then shipped from the C.S. Depot to all parts of the shrinking Confederacy. By 1865 Selma was producing 2/3 of all C.S. war materials and made the . . . — Map (db m82750) HM|
|Alabama (Dallas County), Selma — Selma Navy Yard and Ordnance Works|
|This boulder marks the site of the Selma Navy Yard and the Ordnance Works destroyed by the Federals 1865This tablet is placed in honor of the memory
of hundreds of faithful men who made these
great works a base for war material for the
entire Confederate Army and Navy.
Captain Catesby ap Roger Jones, Commandant
Capt. David De Haven
Lieut. C. C. Sims
Lieut. N. H. VanZant
Chas. F. Fahs M.D.
James Thomas M.D.
W. M. Ladd
Simeon B Reardon
A. . . . — Map (db m37688) HM|
|Alabama (Dallas County), Selma — Sgt Robert Weakley Patton — Born 1844 - Died 1865 — Battle of Selma|
|Patton, a member of Shockley's Escort Company of the University of Alabama, was killed in a clash with the 4th Iowa Cavalry at the corner of Washington Street and Alabama Avenue. In November 1865 his father, Robert Miller Patton, was elected the 20th Governor of Alabama.
Shockley's Cadets: In 1864, there were 296 students at the University and they formed the "Corps of Cadets." While attempts were made to keep to the usual academic courses then taught, the University was also a military . . . — Map (db m83587) HM|
|Alabama (Dallas County), Selma — St. James Hotel — Headquarters of General James H. Wilson — Battle of Selma|
|following the Battle of Selma, April 2, 1865. This occupation protected the hotel from the arson and looting in the first 24 hours that destroyed much of downtown. In the next week Wilson methodically burned the huge military/industrial complex that had sustained the Confederate War effort. By April 10th he had built his pontoon bridge and he was off to capture Montgomery.
The Gee House Hotel, as the St. James was then known, was owned by Major W. H. Gee. However, the hotel and adjoining . . . — Map (db m80792) HM|
|Alabama (Dallas County), Selma — St. Paul’s Episcopal Church Est. 1838|
| Side A The original church, built one block south of the present site, was consecrated in 1843 by Bishop Leonidas Polk. In 1861, the second Bishop of Alabama, the Rt. Rev. Richard H. Wilmer, was elected there. During the Battle of Selma, St. Paul’s rector, the Rev. James Ticknor, was wounded and the senior warden, Robert Philpot, was killed. Union troops under Gen. James H. Wilson burned the original church April 2, 1865.
The cornerstone for the present building was laid in 1871. . . . — Map (db m37691) HM|
|Alabama (Dallas County), Selma — Union Troops Charge — The Main Assault of the Outer Works — Battle of Selma|
The Lightening Brigade of the 2nd Division would spearhead the attack between Redoubts No. 13 - No. 16. Artillery covered all the approaches. At 5 p.m. General Long ordered the Second Division forward. "As Long's Second Division charged forward, bands of freed slaves who had joined the Federals during the march rushed ahead of the soldiers with axes and ignoring the hail of enemy bullets, chopped holes through the abatis and the palisade wall. Slowly the dismounted line of about fifteen . . . — Map (db m83682) HM|
|Alabama (Dallas County), Selma — VII In. Brooke Rifle — # S-5|
|Cast Aug 24, 1863 in Selma at the
Confederate Naval Gun Foundry under
direction of Commander Catesby ap R. Jones.
Was the first gun shipped from the Selma
Foundry. Served as stern pivot gun on the
Selma-built ironclad ram CSS Tennessee.
During the Battle of Mobile Bay the
wounding of Admiral Franklin Buchanan
and the deaths of both men killed aboard
the Tennessee occurred at this gun.
This is the only surviving naval gun from the
Battle of Mobile Bay located in what was . . . — Map (db m37678) HM|
|Alabama (Dallas County), Selma — Water Avenue|
|Selma’s Water Avenue is one of the finest surviving examples of a 19th century riverfront street in the south. Located here are structures which reflect the architectural trends in commercial buildings from 1830 to 1900.
This was the main business artery of one of central Alabama’s major commercial centers. During the War Between the States Selma was the Confederacy’s most important military depot in the lower south. The arsenal and naval foundry were located here and the St. James Hotel . . . — Map (db m37669) HM|
|Alabama (Dallas County), Selma — White - Force Cottage|
|This Italianate style cottage was built in 1859 by C. B. and Martha Todd White. Mrs. White, half sister of Mrs. Abraham Lincoln, was an outspoken Southern patriot, who subjected the Lincolns to severe criticism, when the Northern press accused her of using a Presidential pass to smuggle medicine and other needed supplies “through the lines” to the Confederacy. Another sister, Elodie Todd, met her future husband, Col. N. H. R. Dawson, while visiting here.
Dr. Charles F. Force, . . . — Map (db m38274) HM|
|Alabama (Elmore County), Millbrook — Robinson Springs Camp Confederate Monument|
Robinson Springs Camp
These lent our cause it's Holy Consecration
Volunteers from Robinson Springs Community,
Abercrombie, Leonard ∙ Allen, James M. Co. D. 21 Ala. Regt. ∙ Averhearz, Evans L. Co. (unreadable) Regt. ∙ Bibb, Peyton D. 30, Ala. Inf. ∙ Baltegar, Daniel H. ∙ Blakeley, Samuel ∙ Brown, George, W. Semple (unreadable) ∙ Browning, Peyton ∙ Clepper, James ∙ Cloniger, Adam . . . — Map (db m83692) WM|
|Alabama (Elmore County), Tallassee — Tallassee Armory|
|Only Confederate armory not destroyed during the Civil War.
Col. Gorgas, ordnance chief, had carbine shop moved here into Tallassee Mfg. Co. mill in spring, 1864 as war threatened Richmond, Va. armory.
War ended before plant neared goal of 6,000 carbines per year.
In 1864 Rousseau's raid bypassed it.
1865: forces under Gen. Wilson misled by faulty map, marched 10 miles east; threat of Forrest barred their return. — Map (db m83722) HM|
|Alabama (Elmore County), Wetumpka — First Presbyterian Church — Founded 1836|
|Built, 1856, dedicated 1857, combining exterior Gothic style with Greek Revival interior. Original part designed as a rectangular block. Wings were added on eastern and western sides in the middle 1900's. At that time a choir rail replaced original balustraded corner section. The balcony and chandeliers are outstanding. The church has served its members continuously and has been used for civic and patriotic assemblies significant in Wetumpka's history. In 1861 it served as a departure point for . . . — Map (db m67943) HM|
|Alabama (Elmore County), Wetumpka — The Wetumpka Light Guard — 1861 - 1865|
|To the memory of
The Wetumpka Light Guard
And Other Confederate Soldiers
from this vicinity who shouldered arms and
marched to the front in 1861 in defense of
their rights, their homes and their Southland. — Map (db m67948) WM|
|Alabama (Elmore County), Wetumpka — Wetumpka's Bridges|
In 1834, the Wetumpka Toll Bridge Co. built the first of four bridges spanning the Coosa River at this site. It was destroyed in a flood in 1844. A second toll bridge was completed the same year by John Godwin whose slave, Horace King, designed and supervised construction of this covered bridge. Emancipated in 1846, King built numerous bridges in the South and his services were much in demand by the CSA during the Civil War. After the war, he was elected to the state . . . — Map (db m69449) HM|
|Alabama (Elmore County), Wetumpka — Williams Lowndes Yancey|
One half mile from this site
is the home of
William Lowndes Yancey
Southern Secession Leader
Silver Tongued Orator — Map (db m71550) HM|
|Alabama (Escambia County), Atmore — Canoe Station|
|Settled by A.J. Hall in 1852 and occupied by Confederate troops because of its value as a railroad stop during the War Between the States (1861-65), Canoe was the site of a March 27, 1865 encampment of Union forces. The 1870s brought expansion through the A.M. Lowery sawmill. The Farrar, Lowrey, Stanton, Watson, and other stores prospered (1890s-1950s). Schools educated the young and the L&N Railroad provided passenger service (1890-1960s).
The mineral springs was a social center and water . . . — Map (db m72265) HM|
|Alabama (Escambia County), Pollard — Pollard Methodist Church|
|A pre Civil War structure, this is the oldest church building remaining in Escambia County, Alabama. Confederate veterans related stories that mules and horses were sheltered inside during harsh winter months. Circuit riders served the church in the early days and in 1869 Robert F. Mountain was pastor. The bell was a gift from a riverboat captain named Kelley in gratitude for the aid church members gave his crew and passengers when his vessel wrecked and burned on the nearby Conecuh River. . . . — Map (db m84388) HM|
|Alabama (Escambia County), Pollard — Site of Pollard|
|Located 1½ miles south, town of Pollard established 1861 at juncture of Alabama & Florida and Mobile & Great Northern railroads. Named for Charles T. Pollard, builder of Alabama & Florida Railroad.
One of largest military training camps of Confederacy located here during Civil War. Also site of major Confederate stores depot. Town suffered much destruction in Federal raids of December 1864 and March 1865.
Served as first county seat of Escambia County from 1868 until 1883 when county government moved to Brewton. — Map (db m84371) HM|
|Alabama (Etowah County), Gadsden — Emma Sansom — May 2, 1863|
|Here girl heroine led Forrest’s (CSA) men across Black Creek on way to capture Streight’s (USA) raiders.
This saved the railroad supplying Confederate Army of Tennessee. — Map (db m39131) HM|
|Alabama (Etowah County), Gadsden — Emma Sansom|
|Here on the morning of May 2, 1863 Emma Sansom braved the fire of Colonel Streight’s sharpshooters as she guided General Nathan Bedford Forrest and his gallant cavalrymen to the ford at this spot where they crossed Black Creek, at that time a raging torrent. Her brave act enabled General Forrest to relentlessly pursue Colonel Streight and his army of raiders and force their surrender twenty one miles southwest of Rome. GA.
This marker is lovingly dedicated to a woman worthy of being . . . — Map (db m39340) HM|
|Alabama (Etowah County), Gadsden — Emma Sansom Monument|
| In memory of the Gadsden Alabama girl heroine Emma Sansom, who when the bridge across Black Creek had been burned by the enemy, mounted behind Gen. Forest and showed him a ford where his command crossed. He pursued and captured that enemy and saved the city of Rome, GA. A grateful people took the girl into their love and admiration, nor will this marble outlast the love and pride that her deed inspired.
Our heroes 1861-1865
The Confederate soldiers.
These were men whom power could . . . — Map (db m12297) HM|
|Alabama (Etowah County), Gadsden — John H. Wisdom|
|His courageous ride of warning from Gadsden to Rome, Ga. on May 2, 1863 is unsurpassed in history. — Map (db m39218) HM|
|Alabama (Etowah County), Gadsden — Turkey Town Monument — Chief Turkey-Turkey Town Valley Expedition-May We Never Forget|
|The surrounding area and this well was part of Turkey’s Town, once a capital of the proud Cherokee Nation. Chief Turkey was the principal chief during the late 1700’s.
On October 25, 1864, the Turkey Town Valley Expedition of the XV Corps Union Army led by Major General Peter J. Osterhaus was stopped by the Confederate Calvary led by Joseph Wheeler at this site. Total casualties: US 287 CS 92.
May we never forget the men and women of Turkey Town Valley who labored and fought to . . . — Map (db m83740) HM|
|Alabama (Etowah County), Hokes Bluff — John Henry Wisdom — (The Paul Revere Of The Confederacy)|
|On the night of May 2nd and the morning of May 3rd, 1863, John Wisdom rode 67 miles, from Gadsden, Ala. To Rome, Ga. Under very harassing conditions, to warn the citizens of Col. A. D. Streight’s proposed march to burn and sack the city, Rome being a stronghold of the Confederacy, having an iron works and supply depot. Through this man’s efforts barricades were erected leading to the eventual surrender of Col. Streight to Gen. Bedford Forrest. John Wisdom lived his last day here and is buried nearby. — Map (db m41001) HM|
|Alabama (Hale County), Greensboro — Gayle - Tunstall House|
|Built in 1828-29 by John Gayle,
sixth governor of Alabama.
Amelia Gayle Gorgas,
wife of Gen. Josiah Gorgas,
Chief of Ordnance, CSA,
mother of Wm. Crawford Gorgas,
US Surgeon General who freed
Canal Zone of yellow fever.
For many years was the home
of the Hobson - Tunstall family:
Wiley C. Tunstall, member of
first Alabama R. R. Commission;
his son, Alfred Moore Tunstall,
Alabama legislator for 39 years
and twice Speaker of House. — Map (db m83754) HM|
|Alabama (Hale County), Greensboro — St. Paul’s Episcopal Church|
|This parish established 1830.
Third oldest in Alabama diocese.
Church consecrated in 1843 by
Leonidas Polk, Bishop of Louisiana,
(later a Confederate general).
Here Nicholas H. Cobbs was chosen
first Bishop of Alabama in 1844.
First vestrymen: Dr. Richard E. Meade,
Dr. R. C. Randolph, Dr. R. W. Withers, J. Bell,
J. B. Stickney, Dr R. Inge, Frank Inge,
William Murphy, Col. Samuel Pickens. — Map (db m33747) HM|
|Alabama (Henry County), Headland — Headland World War I Monument|
| South side
To those who made
the supreme sacrifice
1917 - World War - 1918
Till the day breaks and
the shadows flee away
Erected by Headland Chapter, U.D.C.
To the soldiers of the Confederacy
"Lest We Forget" — Map (db m71871) WM|
|Alabama (Henry County), Headland — Henry County Confederate Memorial|
|To the glory of God
and in memory of
those boys who went from
Henry County, Alabama
to the battlefields of the
1861-1865 — Map (db m71840) WM|
|Alabama (Henry County), Newville — Old Center Methodist Church/Old Center Cemetery|
|Old Center Methodist Church
The church was organized in 1859. The first building was a log structure located just NW of the present building. In the 1870's it was part of the Newton Circuit and was served by a minister who lived in the parsonage at Newton. He came by horseback and preached once a month. The second church was a wood structure. It was built from hand sawn timber. Mr. Taylor Harrison was head carpenter. In 1956, the current brick structure was built.
Old Center . . . — Map (db m71831) HM|
|Alabama (Jackson County), Bridgeport — Bridgeport|
| Vital Memphis-Charleston Railroad, "backbone of Confederacy", spanned Tennessee River here. Bridge burned several times, 1862-3.
Gen. Mitchell (US), occupying Huntsville after Battle of Shiloh, seized Bridgeport in April 1862 and held it until August.
Federals recaptured town in July 1863 as Rosecrans (US) took Chattanooga (upriver).
As end of usable railway from Nashville, town became key base of operations in U.S. victory at Chickamauga and lifting of siege of Chattanooga. — Map (db m83788) HM|
|Alabama (Jackson County), Hollywood — Bellefonte Cemetery / Town of Bellefonte|
|(Front): Before the courthouse was completed, the community selected a location for a cemetery. The highest elevation in Bellefonte's corporate limits was chosen as the town's burial place. The earliest inscribed marker in Bellefonte Cemetery bears the date 1826.
The Civil War exacted a heavy toll on Bellefonte. The Federal Army burned the courthouse and the town never recovered. The town square was sold at public auction in 1878. Only the Bellefonte Cemetery remains of the bustling . . . — Map (db m83790) HM|
|Alabama (Jackson County), Paint Rock — The History of Paint Rock, Alabama / Paint Rock Arrests in 1931 Began 'Scottsboro Boys' Cases|
The History of Paint Rock, Alabama
Originally Camden circa 1830, the post office was renamed Redman in 1846 and became Paint Rock on May 17, 1860. After the Memphis and Charleston Railroad Co. built a depot and water tower in 1856, the village thrived as a farm to market center. Four battles were waged nearby during the Civil War and Union troops guarded the railroad.
Early industries included a mill to grind corn and wheat, a pencil mill, and two mills made . . . — Map (db m69756) HM|
|Alabama (Jackson County), Scottsboro — Scottsboro Railroad Depot|
|The Memphis and Charleston Railroad Company constructed the Scottsboro Railroad Depot in 1860-1861 as a passenger and freight facility. The rail line ran throughout the Confederacy and the Union considered its capture vital to cutting off supplies to the south. On January 8, 1865, the Depot was the site of an intense battle between 101st U.S. Colored Infantry and the 110th U.S. Colored Infantry, who held the Depot, and Confederate soldiers led by Brigadier-General H. B. Lyon. The out-numbered . . . — Map (db m22258) HM|
|Alabama (Jackson County), Stevenson — Fort Harker|
|Constructed by the Union Army in the summer of 1862 and expanded in 1864, using soldiers and freed slaves, Ft. Harker was built on a broad hill a quarter mile east of town. It overlooked Crow Creek and was well within firing range of Stevenson's strategic railroad lines, supply depots and warehouses.
Ft. Harker was an earthen redoubt, 150 feet square, with walls 14 feet high, surrounded by an 8 foot deep dry moat. It contained 7 cannon platforms, a bomb-proof powder magazine, a draw-bridge . . . — Map (db m83795) HM|
|Alabama (Jackson County), Stevenson — Stevenson Depot and Hotel|
|A one-story depot building was constructed here in 1853, when the railroad was first laid through Stevenson. That building burned after the Civil War and was replaced by the present brick depot and hotel in 1872.
During the Civil War, Stevenson was a hub of activity. Union and Confederate troops skirmished here and the town changed hands more than once, though Stevenson mostly lay under Union control. Troops occupied the town and a large refugee camp sprang up between the depot and Ft. . . . — Map (db m22271) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — Forrest Camp No. 1435|
|We salute the Confederate soldier with affection, reverence, and undying devotion to the cause for which he fought. — Map (db m12240) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — Jordan Home — 2834 Highland Avenue|
|Dr. Mortimer Harvie Jordan and his wife, Florence E. Mudd, constructed their home between 1906 and 1908. After service in the Confederate army, Jordan studied medicine in Cincinnati and New York (under Alabama's famous gynecologist, Dr. J. Marion Sims). As a doctor in Jefferson County, he is especially remembered for his tireless work in the 1873 cholera epidemic. He served on the State Board of Health (1879-83), as president of the State Medical Association (1884), and as chair of materia . . . — Map (db m26743) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — Oxmoor Iron Furnaces — 1863 - 1928|
|First blast furnace in Jefferson County erected near this site (1863) by Red Mountain Coal and Iron Co. Destroyed (1865) by Federal troops: rebuilt (1873) and second furnace added. Successful experimental run made in Furnace No. 2 (1876) using local coke and Red Mountain iron ore: this assured future growth of coal and iron industry in Birmingham area. Owned by a succession of companies, the furnaces were acquired by U.S. Steel Corp. (1907) and later dismantled (1928). — Map (db m27280) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — United Confederate Veterans|
|In Memory of the Confederate Soldiers.
In Memory of the Women of the Confederacy.
In God we trust. — Map (db m12241) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — United Confederate Veterans — Camp Hardee No. 39|
|(front): United Confederate Veterans Camp Hardee No. 39 Camp Hardee No. 39 was organized as a camp of the United Confederate Veterans on August 7, 1891. This cemetery plot was acquired by the camp to provide a final resting place for the men whose valiant service had earned the undying gratitude of the South.
Past Camp Commander J. C. Abernathy led the committee which oversaw the erection of the monument which was dedicated on April 21, 1906.
In addition to the men buried here, . . . — Map (db m12487) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — Wilson's Raiders — Headquarters March 28-31, 1865|
|Gen. James H. Wilson, USA, having crossed the Tennessee River with a large force of well equipped cavalry, grouped them here at Elyton.
Their mission: to destroy Alabama's economic facilities for supporting the War.
From these headquarters he sent;
(a) cavalry unit to burn the military school, foundries and bridges at Tuscaloosa.
(b) soldiers to destroy mines and furnaces in Jefferson, Bibb and Shelby Counties.
(c) cavalry to dash south to destroy railroads and factories at Selma. — Map (db m24358) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Clay — Wear Cemetery|
|Established about 1850, Wear Cemetery is located off Old Springville Road to the northeast at Countryside Circle. In the 1800's the Wear family was among the first settlers of the community later known as Clay. Twenty-three remaining graves were identified and documented in 2008. The earliest known burial is that of Samuel Wear (1766-1852), an American Revolutionary War soldier who fought the British in the Battle of King's Mountain at 14 years of age. Other military veterans buried here . . . — Map (db m25113) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Homewood — Union Hill Cemetery|
|Union Hill Cemetery is the burial ground of many pioneers and early settlers of the Shades Valley area. It was established in the 1870s, but includes gravestones dating back to the early 1850s due to the relocation of two earlier, smaller cemeteries to Union Hill - the Daniel Watkins Cemetery in 1946 and the Enoch Anderson Watkins Cemetery in 2004. Union Hill Cemetery is also the final resting place of many veterans who served in the Civil War, Spanish - American War, WWI, WWII, and the Korean . . . — Map (db m83873) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Leeds — Jonathan Bass House Museum — Circa 1863|
|Jonathan Bass was born January 30, 1837, in Jefferson County. His father arrived in Jefferson County in 1816, and Jonathan was a life-long resident. Although the Bass House was under construction as early as 1863, Jonathan left the farm to join the Confederate Army in 1861. He finished the front two rooms when he returned from the war. Ruteria Watson married Jonathan on December 6, 1865. They built their home and left their descendants an uncommon example of architecture with unusual decorative . . . — Map (db m24697) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Mountain Brook — Mountain Brook|
|In 1821 the first settlers came to this area, later called Waddell. Large numbers of people first migrated here in 1863 with the construction of the Irondale Furnace. Destroyed in the Civil War, the furnace was rebuilt and operated from 1867 to 1873. The first school was established in 1857 and the first church in 1867. The area later became known for its many dairies. In 1926 Robert Jemison, Jr. began development of modern day Mountain Brook, which became one of the most beautiful residential . . . — Map (db m26769) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Mountain Brook — Wallace S. McElwain / Irondale Furnace Ruins|
|Wallace S. McElwain (1832-1888)McElwain trained in a gun factory in New York and in a foundry in Ohio before moving to Holly Springs, MS, where he operated Jones, McElwain and Company Iron Foundry. He was well known in the Southeast for his beautiful cast iron designs, which still adorn many buildings in the French Quarter in New Orleans. After the Civil War began, he received the first order for the production of rifles and cannons from the Confederacy. He moved his operations to Jefferson . . . — Map (db m26266) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Pinson — Jefferson Warriors|
|In honor of the men from Mt. Pinson who formed the "Jefferson Warriors" in mid-July, 1861. Marching to Huntsville, they were mustered into the Confederate army on August 12th as Company C of the Nineteenth Alabama Infantry Regiment under the command of Colonel Joseph Wheeler. Engaged in momentous battles at Shiloh, Murfreesboro, Chickamauga, Missionary Ridge, Atlanta, Nashville, and Bentonville, N.C., the 19th suffered such losses that only 76 members of the Regiment were present at the surrender in April, 1865. — Map (db m26988) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Pinson — Pinson, Alabama|
|Pinson, one of Alabama’s oldest communities, was settled by General Andrew Jackson’s soldiers in the early 1800s, after victory at Horseshoe Bend during the War of 1812. The community was originally known as Hagood’s Crossroads for settler Zachariah Hagood and his family. It was renamed Mount Pinson, presumably after Pinson, Tennessee, and later called Pinson. Pinson’s first post office was established in 1837. Andrew Jackson Beard, a black American who became a renowned inventor and the first . . . — Map (db m37829) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Trussville — Confederate Storehouse Burned By Federal Troops — April 20, 1865|
|On this site stood the stone warehouse of Captain Thomas Truss and Marcus Worthington. Stored here were meats, grains and clothing collected by the Confederate government as a war tax. Disabled C.S.A. veteran Felix M. Wood was receiver of the tax at Trussville. The building was burned by a detachment of Wilson's Raiders under the command of John T. Croxton, Brigadier General U.S. Volunteers. — Map (db m25819) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Center Star — Center (Centre) Star|
Center Star was spelled Centre Star into the 1900s. The name evolved from the US Postal Service, which served remote areas by "star routes." The Post Office here, which existed from 1850 to 1914 (except between 1902 and 1913), was the center of a star route for this section of the county, thus Centre Star. This area is one of the oldest settlements in Lauderdale County. Settlers arriving in the early 1800s found both Chickasaw and Cherokee Indians. At one time, their . . . — Map (db m82398) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Elgin — Elgin/Elgin Crossroads|
Settlement of this area began in the early 1800s. Gabriel Butler settled approximately two miles northwest of here on Bluewater Creek. His name is found on the 1810 petition for removal of white settlers leasing land on Chief Doublehead’s Reserve. Gabriel Butler built a Baptist Church on his property which is believed to be the first church in the area. Other early landowners were John Bradford, Daniel White, Walter West, Robert Jackson, Aristides Jackson, Benjamin Ingram, . . . — Map (db m83934) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — Colonel Pickett Place — 1833|
|This "double- pile cottage" is a rare Alabama example of Tidewater architecture that originated along the Southern seaboard during the colonial period. This house was built in 1833 by Thomas J. Crowe, proprietor of the early National Hotel in Florence, as a wedding gift for his bride, Elizabeth Hooks of Tennessee. It later became the home of Richard Oric Pickett, who arrived in 1843 to become one of the town's leading attorneys. Pickett was Colonel of the 10th Alabama Infantry under General . . . — Map (db m83962) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — Courtview, Rogers Hall 1855|
|George Washington Foster, planter, built this Greek Revival Mansion. An Act of the legislature was required to close Court Street, In fall of 1864 it was headquarters of Nathan B. Forrest, General, CSA. Foster's daughter, Sarah Independence McDonald and her family, lived here until 1900 when it became the home of Governor Emmet O'Neal. In 1922 it was acquired by Thomas M. Rogers Sr., and in 1948 by the University of North Alabama.
Listed Historic American Buildings Survey National Resister of Historic Places. — Map (db m28868) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — Florence Cemetery — -1818-|
|When the city was surveyed this land described as "outside the city limits" was designated as the burying grounds for the new town. It contains the graves of early settlers, including a son and brother of Ferdinand Sannoner, Surveyor of Florence, and served as the principal cemetery for over 130 years. Two former Governors in the O'Neal family, as well as many prominent community leaders and families are interred here. "Soldier's Rest", a Confederate Cemetery, is located near the south property line. — Map (db m83968) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — General Hood's Narrow Escape — December 26, 1864|
|Following his tragic defeat at Franklin and Nashville, General John B. Hood managed to escape over the Tennessee River at Bainbridge Ferry, a few miles south of here on December 26, 1864. Two corps under General Benjamin Cheatham and Stephen D. Lee were the first to cross, followed by men under General Alexander P. Stewart. General Nathan B. Forrest and Edward C. Walthall were the last to escape over this treacherous pontoon crossing which narrowly missed becoming one of history's bloodiest fields of slaughter. — Map (db m35258) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — Jackson's Military Road|
|Built by Andrew Jackson, 1816~1820. Shortened by 200 miles the route from Nashville to New Orleans for movement of supply wagons and artillery.
Built with U.S. funds and troops.
Followed in part Doublehead's Road from Columbia, Tenn., to Muscle Shoals.
After 1819 mail route was transferred from Natchez Trace to pass through Florence via Military Road.
A portion of Hood's army followed the road to Franklin and Nashville in 1864. In later years called Jackson Highway. — Map (db m65290) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — McFarland Park and Recreation Area|
|This bottom land serves as a reservoir for TVA's flood control program.
Florence leases it for recreational purposes when not being used by TVA.
Major Robert McFarland, a native of Ireland, his wife, Kate Armstead McFarland, and their seven children resided in the ante~bellum mansion now called Mapleton that overlooked this river bottom. Strawberries were once grown here.
Jobless families were encouraged to plant vegetables gardens here during the Great Depression. Major McFarland rode . . . — Map (db m28453) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — Simpson House~Irvine Place~Coby Hall|
|Built by John Simpson in 1843, on the site of his earlier home, this residence was occupied at various times by both armies during the Civil War. Purchased in 1867 by George W. Foster, builder of Courtview, for his daughter, Virginia, and her husband, James B. Irvine. Their daughter, Virginia, left the home to her great-niece Harriett Rogers King in 1939. Mrs. King and her husband, Madding restored Irvine Place in 1948. Acquired in 1990 by David Brubaker, and donated to the University of North . . . — Map (db m45808) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — Soldier's Rest — -1862-|
|This area is the military cemetery for Confederate Soldiers. After an 1862 skirmish in the streets of Florence, it was used to bury casualties until the end of the Civil War. Many unknown Confederates and a few unknown Union soldiers rest here. After the war it was reserved for Confederate veterans and their families. In 1977, the historic plot was deeded by the United Daughters of the Confederacy to insure its preservation and perpetual care. — Map (db m28402) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — Sweetwater — 1828|
|Home of Major John Brahan, veteran War of 1812.
Major General, Alabama Militia, who owned 4,000 acres here. Built of bricks made on the place, marble mantels imported from Italy, boxwood hedge from London. Named for spring nearby.
Federal and Confederate quarters here at various times during the Civil War.
Home of Brahan’s son–in–law Robert M. Patton,
Governor of Alabama, 1865–1868. — Map (db m28404) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — Wesleyan Hall 1855|
|Chartered 1856 as Florence Wesleyan University, R.H. Rivers, President. Regarded as North Alabama's most eminent landmark, this Gothic Revival Structure was designed by Adolphus Heiman, Nashville, And built by Zebulon Pike Morrison, Florence, as new home for LaGrange College (organized 1830 by Methodists). Used by both armies at various times during Civil War. Deeded to State of Alabama, 1872, as first coeducational teacher training institution south of Ohio River. School expanded to become . . . — Map (db m28864) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — Wheeler Rifles — ~Organized 1888~|
|Prior to the repeal of the Militia Act in 1902, states maintained their own militia. One of the last militia in Florence and Lauderdale County was the Wheeler Rifles.
Organized in 1888, under the command of Captain Julian Fields, it was named for U.S. Congressman Joseph Wheeler, a Confederate hero who later commanded the U.S. Cavalry in Cuba. The Wheeler Rifles, under the command of Captain William Martin, was the first militia company in Alabama to volunteer for service in the . . . — Map (db m32774) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Rogersville — General Joseph Wheeler — Soldier • Statesman • Patriot|
"Trusted, honored, and loved by the people of Alabama for his splendid character and distinguished service as a citizen and soldier." Born September 10, 1836, in Augusta, Georgia, Joseph Wheeler graduated from West Point in 1859, and was commissioned a 2nd Lt., U.S. Army. In 1861, he resigned his commission and offered his services to the Confederate States of America. His devotion to duty and tireless efforts resulted in rapid promotion from 1st Lt. to Colonel of the 19th . . . — Map (db m84295) HM WM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Waterloo — Wilson's Headquarters and Camp — Gravelly Springs, Alabama|
|At this site from mid-January to mid-March 1865, Maj. Gen. James Harrison Wilson, U.S. Army, assembled the largest cavalry force ever massed in the western hemisphere. Five divisions totaling 22,000 camped from Gravelly Springs westward to Waterloo. Wilson made headquarters a mile east of the springs at Wildwood plantation, the boyhood home of Alabama senator and governor, George Houston. After intensive training Wilson's Cavalry crossed the Tennessee to invade South Alabama and Georgia, a . . . — Map (db m32770) HM|
|Alabama (Lawrence County), Courtland — Courtland Cemetery — -1819-|
| Side A
One of Alabama's oldest and most picturesque town cemeteries, this site was set aside as a burying ground by the Courtland Land Company in its original survey made prior to the incorporation of the town in 1819. Many of the area's earliest settlers and prominent leaders are buried here, including three Revolutionary War veterans. There are a number of unmarked graves of Confederate soldiers. Three Union soldiers were interred here following an 1863 skirmish at the nearby . . . — Map (db m84304) HM|
|Alabama (Lawrence County), Hillsboro — Home of Gen. Joe Wheeler|
|The record of his service shines in letters of living light in the annals of his country's history. — Map (db m76926) HM|
|Alabama (Lawrence County), Moulton — Confederate Veterans Memorial|
Dedicated to the men of Lawrence County, Alabama,
from all walks of life, who left kith and kin,
hearth and home, and lost their lives in military service
for the Confederate States of America during
the War for Southern Independence. 1861-1865
Lawrence County raised a Company or more
for these Regiments
Lawrence County Invincibles
4th Alabama Cavalry (Roddy's Cavalry)
4th Alabama Cavalry (Russell's Cavalry)
5th Alabama Cavalry
9th Alabama Cavalry . . . — Map (db m84311) WM|
|Alabama (Lawrence County), Moulton — General Leroy Pope Walker|
|General Leroy Pope Walker was born 7 Feb 1817 in Madison County, Al., son of John W. Walker (1784~1823). John was House Speaker of the AL Territory, the first constitutional convention president, the first US AL senator, and namesake of Walker County, AL. After attending the Universities of AL and VA and admission to the bar, Leroy P. Walker began his political career in Lawrence County. He served in the General Assembly from 1843 to 1849 and again from 1853 to 1857. He also served as speaker . . . — Map (db m69669) HM|
|Alabama (Lawrence County), Moulton — General Phillip Dale Roddy|
|Born on this site about 1820 to Phillip and Sarah Roddy, Phillip Dale Roddy grew up in poverty. His father a saddle maker and War of 1812 veteran, was one of the earliest murder victims in Moulton. Phillip Dale was raised by his mother and received little education. He married Margaret McGaughey 6 Nov 1845. Phillip worked as a tailor, served as Lawrence County Sheriff (1849-1852), and steamboat captain (1860) in Franklin County. In Oct 1862, at Tuscumbia, Roddy raised a company that became part . . . — Map (db m69674) HM|
|Alabama (Lawrence County), Oakville — Streight's Raid|
|On 26 Apr 1863, a Union raiding party of 1500 including the 51st and 73rd IN, 3rd OH, 18th IL, and local men from two companies of the 1st AL Calvary left Tuscumbia for Russellville. Led by Col. Abel Streight, their objective was to cut Confederate Gen. Braxton Bragg's railroad supply lines at Rome, GA. As a diversion, Gen. G.M. Dodge with some 8000 Union troops moved into northern Lawrence County to occupy the attention of Gen. Nathan B. Forrest. While Dodge distracted Forrest, Streight . . . — Map (db m84318) HM|
|Alabama (Lawrence County), Wheeler — Home of Gen. Joseph Wheeler — 1836~1906|
|"Fighting Joe Wheeler"
Confederate Cavalry Commander of Army of Tennessee.
Major~General, Cavalry,U.S.A. in Spanish American War
One of Alabama's representatives in the Statuary Hall in Washington. — Map (db m76952) HM|
|Alabama (Lee County), Auburn — Auburn 1865~Present / The "Loveliest Village"|
Only one house was built in the village in the decade after the Civil War, and though the state took over the bankrupt college in 1872, the institution received no state appropriation until 1883. Nevertheless, in 1892, the poorly-funded college pioneered in Alabama by admitting females and fielding the first football team in the region. Other milestones included the introduction of electric lights (1886), telephone (1904), running water from a . . . — Map (db m79947) HM|
|Alabama (Lee County), Auburn — Auburn University Chapel|
| Side A:
The University Chapel is the oldest public building in the city of Auburn. Built as a Presbyterian Church, the first service was held in the original Greek Revival-style building on September 13, 1851. Edwin Reese, spiritual leader of the tiny congregation, had the bricks made by slaves on his plantation. The founder of the town, Judge John J. Harper, gave the land. The first minister was the Rev. Albert Shotwell. The small church has seen several renovations over the years, . . . — Map (db m39831) HM|
|Alabama (Lee County), Auburn — Ebenezer Baptist Church — Baptist Hill — East Thach Avenue|
This simple frame structure was built by newly freed black men and women before 1870. The property on which the building stands was given to a member of the Ebenezer congregation in 1865, the year the War Between the States ended, by a white landowner, Lonnie Payne. The church is built of hand hewn logs, felled on the Frazer plantation, northeast of Auburn, and were hauled by mule to this site. Members of the congregation constructed the building. The Church and its early . . . — Map (db m74450) HM|
|Alabama (Lee County), Auburn — The Auburn Guards Reviewed by Jefferson Davis|
|At the Auburn train depot on February 16, 1861, Jefferson Davis reviewed the Auburn Guards, the first Confederate military company thus honored. Davis was en route to his inauguration as President of the Confederacy. The Auburn Guards were comprised of cadets of the East Alabama Male College (now Auburn University). Forty-two members of the Guards went by rail from Montgomery to Pensacola on January 16, 1861, under orders from Alabama Governor Moore, to fortify the fort there. The officers of . . . — Map (db m74455) HM|
|Alabama (Lee County), Auburn — The Lathe|
|Built in Selma, Alabama, during the early part of the Civil War for the manufacture of military supplies for the Confederate Army. During the war an attempt was made to move it to Columbus, Georgia to prevent its being seized by Federal troops. En route, it was buried for a time near Irondale, Alabama. When the danger of capture had passed, it was dug up and moved to Columbus, where it was used for boring cannon until the end of the war. After the war, the lathe was used by the Birmingham . . . — Map (db m39815) HM|
|Alabama (Lee County), Opelika — Railroad Avenue Historic District — Opelika, Alabama|
The Railroad Avenue Historic District was the downtown nucleus of Opelika when the city was incorporated as part of Russell County, Alabama in February, 1854. The city limits extended a mile in every direction from the Montgomery and West Point Railway Station. In 1864 another railroad was built from Opelika to Columbus, thus establishing the city as a transportation center. During 1864 and 1865, Opelika's government supply warehouses, its depot, rolling stock and railroad were . . . — Map (db m85336) HM|
|Alabama (Lee County), Opelika — Rosseau's Raid to East Alabama|
|With orders from Gen. Sherman, Gen. Lovell Rousseau left Decatur with 2,700 cavalry, beginning his raid into East-Central Alabama. That raid ended successfully in Opelika July 19, 1864, after miles of track were destroyed along with other railroad equipment, two depots, and several warehouses brimming with supplies for Confederate forces defending Atlanta. They then turned northeast to join Sherman's Army advancing towards Atlanta. — Map (db m75126) HM|
|Alabama (Limestone County), Athens — A County Older Than the State — Limestone County|
|created Feb. 6, 1818 by Alabama Territorial Legislature from lands ceded by Cherokee Nation 1806 and by Chickasaw Nation in 1816. Named for creek (and its limestone bed), which runs through county.
Few settlers here until Indian treaties.
Athens became county seat in 1818.
Limestone was the first Alabama county to be occupied by Federal troops during the Civil War. — Map (db m29109) HM|
|Alabama (Limestone County), Athens — Athens First Presbyterian Church|
|This church was organized in 1829 as a Cumberland Presbyterian church by the Revs. Robert Donnell, John Morgan and Allen Gipson.
After first using an interdenominational building, a church was built on West Washington street in 1852.
This was badly damaged during the Civil War and worshippers met at the Baptist Church. Sufficient money was raised to begin the building of the present church, "On the Square", which was completed in 1895, less than ten years before this church joined the . . . — Map (db m85386) HM|
|Alabama (Limestone County), Athens — Athens Sacked and Plundered|
|On May 2, 1862, Union troops of the 19th and 24th Illinois and the 37th Indiana Regiments commanded by Col. John Basil Turchin went on a rampage through the town. They looted and plundered stores and homes, stealing clothing, jewelry and anything of value, destroying what they didn't want. For months afterward, the soldiers stabled their horses in some of the town's churches, burned the pews for firewood and destroyed the interiors. Col. Turchin, born Ivan Vasillevitch Turchinoff in Russia, was . . . — Map (db m85387) HM|
|Alabama (Limestone County), Athens — Athens, Alabama|
| (Side A): Athens was incorporated in 1818, one year prior to the admission of Alabama as the 22nd state. It is the seat of Limestone County, created by an act of the Alabama Territorial Legislature. Athens has a legacy of providing quality education for residents. In 1822, citizens purchased land for the establishment of the Athens Female Academy. Now Athens State University, the campus continues to serve the community. The fertile lands around the town were cleared by early settlers . . . — Map (db m85388) HM|
|Alabama (Limestone County), Athens — Coleman Family — Coleman Hill|
|Wealthy and influential Virginia family settled here in 1820's. Daniel Coleman (1801-1857) built his stately home a block west about 1826. During the Civil War, home was occupied by Yankee troops who took Elizabeth Coleman's teeth for their gold content. Home was destroyed in early 1900's. Coleman Hill was subdivided about 1904.
Daniel, at age 19, was appointed County Judge in 1821, served Alabama House of Representatives 1829-30, Alabama Supreme Court Justice 1851-52. He and brother . . . — Map (db m85389) HM|
|Alabama (Limestone County), Athens — Fort Henderson / Trinity School - 1865-1970|
| Fort Henderson Built on this site in 1863 by federal forces occupying Athens. It was a five-sided earthen fort with some frame buildings and underground bomb-proofs. Abatis lined the fifteen-foot deep perimeter ditch, a small portion of which is still visible. On September 24, 1864 after a brief fight and a clever ruse orchestrated by Confederate General Nathan B. Forrest, the fort and its 900 man garrison of mostly the 110th U.S. colored infantry were surrendered. After moving the . . . — Map (db m41787) HM|
|Alabama (Limestone County), Athens — Pleasant Hill — Home of Rev. Robert Donnell (1784-1855)|
Built abt. 1849 by Rev. Robert Donnell, a native of North Carolina, and his second wife Clara Lindley Donnell. He was greatly inspired by the Great Spiritual Revival of 1800 and became a Presbyterian circuit rider, one of the "flaming fires," so called because of their spiritual intensity. Donnell held the first camp meeting in the settlement that became Huntsville, started new churches in North Alabama and Tennessee, and retired as minister of the Athens Cumberland . . . — Map (db m72159) HM|
|Alabama (Limestone County), Athens — Trinity School Cistern|
|This cistern is the last remnant of Trinity School located here 1865-1907. The cistern was used to store rainwater collected from the roof. No physical evidence remains of the Ross Hotel, the Chapman Quarters, and other buildings on this block, which played an important role in Athens history. Trinity, a school for the children of former slaves, was established here, on the old Richardson property, in 1865, primarily through the efforts of Miss Mary Frances Wells, the school's principal and . . . — Map (db m72219) HM|
|Alabama (Limestone County), Elkmont — Battle of Sulphur Creek Trestle|
|On Sept. 25, 1864 Gen. N.B. Forrest's Confederate cavalry, with Morton's battery of 4 guns, attacked and captured the Union fort near here. The fort consisted of a square redoubt, rifle pits, two blockhouses, and some frame buildings. It protected a large railroad trestle about a mile E. of here. After a demand for surrender was refused by Col. Lathrop, the Union commander, the Confederates attacked, supported by 800 rounds of artillery fire. Over 200 Union officers and men, including Col. . . . — Map (db m60870) HM|
|Alabama (Limestone County), Elkmont — Elkmont, Alabama / Tenn. & Ala. Central Railroad|
| Front The earliest settlers to this area moved across the Chickasaw boundary before 1810 and established the Sims and New Garden settlements. The area came to be known as Elkmont, for the once abundant elk, the Elk River and the "mount" on which it sat. It began to flourish with the completion of the Tennessee and Alabama Central Railroad in 1859. The name of the Fort Hampton post office, established in 1859, was changed to Elkmont in 1866. Elkmont grew to be a commerce center for . . . — Map (db m85426) HM|
|Alabama (Limestone County), Elkmont — Old New Garden Cemetery / New Garden Cumberland Presbyterian Church|
Old New Garden Cemetery
This cemetery is one of the oldest in Limestone County and is listed on the Alabama Historic Cemetery Register. Many of the areas earliest settlers are buried here including Patsy Elmore, widow of a Rev. War veteran, along with War of 1812 veterans: Thomas Martindale, William Levesque, Andrew McWilliams and William Malone. The headstone of Barbara Fisher, who died in 1831, is the oldest dated stone in the cemetery, but other undated and in some . . . — Map (db m73836) HM|
|Alabama (Limestone County), Salem — Dupree Cemetery — Limestone County|
| The first known burial here is Nancy Vinson Christopher who died May 16, 1852. Many unmarked fieldstones are present that could mark older graves. The cemetery contains 52 identifiable burials with headstones. Five Confederate soldiers and one WWII veteran are buried here along with other notable citizens including Dr. William J. Dupree and Dr. O.P. Dupree. Family names found here include Christopher, Dunivant, Dunnavant, Dupree, Hare, Hawkins, Jackson, Johnson, Lovell, McCracken, Patterson, . . . — Map (db m71991) HM|
|Alabama (Limestone County), Tanner — Gen. N.B. Forrest, C.S.A. — North Alabama Raid — September 23-30, 1864|
|Hemmed in by superior forces Forrest's fast~moving cavalry raided and destroyed Union supply lines and strong points, captured 2,360 men, valuable Stores.
By swift action, surprise and bluff Forrest disrupted Union military plans from Decatur to Columbia. — Map (db m29104) HM|
|Alabama (Lowndes County), Hayneville — The Soldier Dead of Lowndes — 1861 - 1865|
The Soldier Dead
No men died there
with more glory.
Yet many died,
And there was much glory.
Devotion and Valor.
to Faithful Hearts.
— Map (db m68342) WM|
|Alabama (Lowndes County), Lowndesboro — Lowndesboro|
|Settled before 1820 by planters from South Carolina and Virigina. First called McGill's Hill, it was incorporated, 1832, as Lowndesboro in honor of William Lowndes. There was a brief skirmish here between Forrest's troops and Wilson's raiders, April 10, 1865. — Map (db m70933) HM|
|Alabama (Lowndes County), Lowndesboro — Our Confederate Soldiers — 1861 1865|
|In Honor of
Our Confederate Soldiers
Jno Alexander • Wm. Alexander • Wm. H. Alexander • Ed Alexander • Capt. M.F. Bonham • Maj. Bright • Capt. T.B. Brown • Alberta Caffee • Irvin Crocheron • J.P. Caffee • Jim Crocheron • Jno. Campbell • L.C. Davidson • G.L. Davidson • Mal Douglass • Tom Douglass • Clarence Douglass • Hill Daniel • Ransom Meadows • Ben Edwards • T.L. Farris • Ves Farris • Jno. Frey • N.A. Graham • Andrew Graves • David Graves • Peyton Graves • Geo. Hadley . . . — Map (db m85472) WM|
|Alabama (Macon County), Notasulga — Camp Watts — Named for Thomas H. Watts — CSA Attorney General (1862-63) and Alabama Governor (1863-65)|
|The camp on this site served as a military hospital, a camp of conscription and instruction, a supply depot, and a cemetery during the War Between the States. At one time, there were hundreds of headstones and rocks marking the final resting place of soldiers who were buried here. The Camp Watts conscription camp was ordered closed after the fall of Vicksburg on July 4, 1863. The hospital remained open, staffed by volunteers under the guidance of Juliet Opie Hopkins who relied on charitable . . . — Map (db m73529) HM|
|Alabama (Madison County), Gurley — Town of Gurley|
|Located on land owned by John Gurley, pioneer settler, and named for him. His son, Capt. Frank B. Gurley, became a Confederate hero as a member of the 4th Ala. Cavalry. The settlement that developed around the water tank on Memphis and Charleston R.R. was known as Gurley's Tank. Post office established in 1866 as Gurleysville and town incorporated as Gurley in 1891. Madison County High School located here in 1907. Last hometown of Senator and Mrs. C.C. Clay, Jr. — Map (db m30574) HM|
|Alabama (Madison County), Huntsville — Birthplace of General Morgan — the Rebel Raider|
|In this house John Hunt Morgan was born June 1, 1825. This dashing cavalry leader of the Confederacy was killed at Greeneville, Tenn., Sept. 4, 1864. This house, built in 1823, was the home, 1849-1949, of the heirs of Stephen Neal, Madison County's first Sheriff. — Map (db m32556) HM|
|Alabama (Madison County), Huntsville — Buffalo Soldiers — Huntsville, AL|
After the Civil War, the future of African-Americans in the United States Army was in doubt. In July 1866, Congress passed legislation establishing two cavalry and four infantry regiments to be made up of African-American soldiers. The mounted regiments (9th and 10th Cavalries) conducted campaigns against Native-American tribes on the Western Frontier, where they were nicknamed “Buffalo Soldiers” by Native-Americans. Their service also included subduing Mexican . . . — Map (db m75092) HM WM|
|Alabama (Madison County), Huntsville — Civil War — (War Between the States) — 1861-1865|
|I am Private Patrick O’Hara of the 20th Maine Volunteer Infantry Regiment. Before the war I was a fisherman working on a boat out of Bar Harbor, Maine. I didn’t volunteer for the Army until well into the second year of the war because it was way down south and frankly I figured if they didn’t want to be in the Union, let’em go. However, my friends convinced me it would be the adventure of a lifetime. I trained with what would become Company C of the 20th Maine when it was mustered into Federal . . . — Map (db m85490) WM|
|Alabama (Madison County), Huntsville — Confederate Monument|
|Erected on November 21, 1905, a handsome monument was dedicated to the Confederate dead by the Virginia Clay Clopton Chapter #1107 United Daughters of the Confederacy of Huntsville, and was unveiled with proper ceremonies in which many veterans of North Alabama participated. The unveiling of the Confederate monument attracted the largest gathering of veterans that has been seen here since the reunion of 1891. The monument depicted a Confederate private with his musket at parade rest. The . . . — Map (db m27784) HM|
|Alabama (Madison County), Huntsville — Methodism brought into area 1807 First United Methodist Church — Huntsville, Alabama|
|Methodist Society organized at Hunt’s Spring prior to formation of Madison County, served 1808-1820 by Flint Circuit traveling ministers. First Church built 1821 NW corner Clinton and Gallatin Streets. Present site acquired 1832, church completed 1834, occupied and accidentally burned by Federals 1864. Cornerstone laid 1867 for present sanctuary, dedicated 1874. — Map (db m27790) HM|
|Alabama (Madison County), Huntsville — Passenger Depot — Huntsville, Alabama — Built 1860|
|Memphis and Charleston Railroad Company Eastern Division headquarters in this passenger depot, adjoining yards and ships captured by Union Army April 11, 1862. Vital east-west Confederate rail link severed; C.S.A. soldiers imprisoned here. Depot later used by Federals as base for gathering supplies for Western Theater military operations. After Civil War returned to M.&C.R.R. Co.; acquired by Southern Railway System 1898; since 1971 preserved by City of Huntsville. National Register of Historic Places 1971. — Map (db m85547) HM|
|Alabama (Madison County), Huntsville — Site of Green Academy|
|Chartered in 1812. Leading educational Institution. Long prominent in training leaders of North Alabama. Occupied by Federal troops, 1862. Building burned, 1864. Site of city schools since 1882. Location used only for school purposes. Alabama Historical Association 1955 — Map (db m55724) HM|
|Alabama (Madison County), Huntsville — The Leroy Pope Mansion 1814|
|During the original Madison County Land Sales of 1809, LeRoy Pope of Petersburg, GA, secured among other purchases a majority of Section 36, Township 3, Range 1 West, the site of the future town of Twickenham, as Huntsville was originally known. Pope created Poplar Grove Plantation on this site and erected his home in 1814 in time to entertain Gen. Andrew Jackson on his return from the Battle of Horseshoe Bend. The residence was among the earliest brick structures in Alabama. Inherited by his . . . — Map (db m32480) HM|
|Alabama (Madison County), Huntsville — Trough Springs|
|Well known spring in the 1800's where travelers watered horses and livestock before crossing Monte Sano on Big Cove Pike. In late 1863, Captain Lemuel Mead's Partisan Rangers attacked railroads, wagon trains, and forage parties behind enemy lines in North Alabama and Tennessee. On March 11, 1865, they reorganized as a regiment with the 25th Alabama Cavalry Battalion under Milus E. "Bushwhacker" Johnston. On May 11, 1865, Lt. Colonel Johnston surrendered the combined command to Union Army . . . — Map (db m80774) HM|
|Alabama (Madison County), Madison — Affair at Madison Station / Affair at Indian Creek Ford — May 17, 1864 / December 23, 1864|
|[Front] The largest engagement of the Civil War in Madison County was fought during a driving rainstorm here at the site of the railroad depot. Under the command of Col. Josiah Patterson, the Confederate forces (~1000 cavalry and a battery of artillery) crossed the Tennessee River near Triana and attacked a garrison of ~350 men of the 13th Illinois Infantry. Union forces fell back along the railroad toward Huntsville to Indian Creek. They counterattacked after being reinforced by . . . — Map (db m85836) HM|
|Alabama (Madison County), Madison — White Hall — 1878|
|This site was the farm of Gilbert G. White Jr., his wife Nancy L. White, and family from 1947 to 2005. Mr. White lived here until his death in 1978. Gilbert G. White Jr. was a descendant of John White, Speaker of the US House of Representatives circa 1838. Gilbert G. White Jr. was the great grandson of Colonel James White, entrepreneur and frontier industrialist from Abington, VA. On December 24, 1824 Col. James White founded the town of Whitesburg, AL south of Huntsville on the Tennessee . . . — Map (db m44268) HM|
|Alabama (Madison County), New Hope — Vienna (New Hope)|
Originally known as Cloud's Town, this community was incorporated in 1832 as Vienna. It prospered as a market town before the Civil War. On May 29, 1864, the 12th Indiana Cavalry, commanded by Lt. Col. Alfred Reed, seized the town. They built a stockade and named it for General Peter J. Osterhaus. The hit-and-run tactics of Confederate Col. Lemuel Mead and Lt. Col. Milus E. (Bushwhacker) Johnston caused Union officers to retaliate by burning Vienna to the ground on December 15, 1864. Only . . . — Map (db m71347) HM|
|Alabama (Madison County), New Hope — Walnut Grove Cumberland Presbyterian Church|
On July 19, 1847, Chistopher and Mary Harless Sears deeded two acres (with meeting house, brush-arbor, and camp-stand) to the Elders of the Walnut Grove Society of the Cumberland Presbyterian Church for one penny. The Union Army burned the original church in 1862. A walnut tree with scars from the fire still bears walnuts. A ring used to tether horses during services has grown into the tree and is still visible. The original bell, hand-dug well, and pre-Civil War cemetery . . . — Map (db m71343) HM|
|Alabama (Madison County), New Market — Buckhorn Tavern|
|(Front): Located in Section 18, Township 2, Range 2 East, this site was an early wayside stop for pioneer settlers as they traveled the road from Winchester, Tennessee into Madison County. The tavern predates the creation of the county, Dec. 13, 1808. During the Creek Indian War (1813-1814), the Deposit Road was created at this point and stretched southeastward through Cherokee lands to Fort Deposit near Gunter's Landing. This became the supply route for General Andrew Jackson's . . . — Map (db m85840) HM|
|Alabama (Madison County), Plevna — Old Limestone Road Skirmish|
|2 miles N.W. on old Limestone Road during a skirmish August 5, 1862 Federal General Robert L. McCook was killed by men of Capt. Frank Gurley's Confederate unit. In retaliation, the Federal forces burned and pillaged the area. — Map (db m31644) HM|
|Alabama (Marion County), Hamilton — Confederate Veterans Bicentennial Memorial — Hamilton - Marion County, Alabama|
|In Memory of Re-Union 6th and 7th August 1904
Managers: Probate Judge Wm. R. White and Hon. Mack Pearce
Ex-rept. Wm. C. Davis, Hamilton - later Lieut. Gov. Ala.
Ex-Rept. Wm. W. Brandon, Tuscaloosa - later Governor, Ala.
Miss. Lillie Pearce, Hamilton
Captain J.P. (Jem) Pearce, commandant, Marion County Unit Confederate Veterans
Barnes, James Sr. • Boyette, W.J. • Brown, W.A. • Britton, G.A. • Byrd, J.J. • Campbell, J. • Carnes, William R. • Cantrell, Huse • . . . — Map (db m80883) HM WM|
|Alabama (Marion County), Hamilton — The First Alabama Cavalry — U.S. Army|
|The First Alabama Cavalry U.S. Army
Organized July 12, 1862 - Deactivated October 20, 1865
Colonel George E. Spenser, Commander
Organized by special order No. 100 by Major General Don Carlos Buell of U.S. Army. Over 2000 enlisted during the existence from Blount, Fayette, Franklin, Marion, Walker, Winston, and others. Over 600 did not give home counties. The only regiment from Alabama. Other U.S. Army regiments were Arkansas 10, Florida 2, Louisiana 10, Mississippi . . . — Map (db m80884) HM WM|
|Alabama (Marshall County), Albertville — Birthplace of Albertville|
The City of Albertville traces its origin here to 406 East Main Street, where on Jan. 13, 1860, James C. Miller (1833-1862) established a post office in his log cabin home, which also doubled as the community’s first store. Miller, who was later killed during the War Between the States, named the post office “Albertville” in honor of his father-in-law, Thomas A. Albert (1796-1876). — Map (db m78710) HM|
|Alabama (Marshall County), Guntersville — Events in Marshall County — During War Between The States|
|28-29, July, 1862 Guntersville shelled-burned by Union Artillery, Cavalry and Infantry.
Skirmish at Fearn's, Law's, Matthew's Landings and Ft. Deposit.
1, May 1862 - Sand Mountain Cavalry Battle - CSA Gen. Forrest - Union Col. Streight.
24, Aug. 1863 - Ft. Deposit- Gunters Landing Skirmish.
27, Dec. 1863 - Buck Island Massacre.
2, Mar. 1864 - Guntersville attacked and captured by Union Infantry.
14, Mar. 1864 - Claysville Skirmish - Home Guard defeats and captured Union . . . — Map (db m85857) HM|
|Alabama (Marshall County), Guntersville — Federal Troops Burn Guntersville During Civil War|
|January 15, 1865 was perhaps the darkest day in the history of Guntersville. At noon, forty Federal marines from the gunboat U.S.S. General Grant were sent to burn the town. After the mission was completed, only seven buildings remained standing – the Marshall County Courthouse, the city jail, the Guntersville Hotel, a school house, the Masonic Hall and two residences. Miraculously, both residences still exist – the Gilbreath house on Blount Avenue and the Nickles house on Hill . . . — Map (db m85902) HM|
|Alabama (Marshall County), Guntersville — Ravine Used For Protection Against Yankee Shelling|
|The first major attack on Guntersville during the Civil War occurred on the morning of Monday, July 28, 1862. The Federals had marched by night and had reached a hill on the north side of the Tennessee River and from this vantage point aimed their cannons at the small town of Guntersville.
The Federals, led by Major J.W. Paramore of the Third Ohio Cavalry, included a regiment of Union Infantry, and a section of artillery with two 6 pounder Parrott guns.
At 6 a.m., when the Federals . . . — Map (db m22253) HM|
|Alabama (Mobile County), Citronelle — Surrender Site|
|Here on May 4, 1865 Lt. Gen. Richard Taylor, C.S.A. surrendered the last organized Confederate forces, the Department of Alabama, Mississippi and East Louisiana, to Major Gen. E.R.S. Canby, U.S.A. thereby bringing to an official close the War Between the States. — Map (db m42977) HM|
|Alabama (Mobile County), Dauphin Island — Stop E — "Save Your Garrison." — Bombardment of Fort Powell: — Stop E|
The Confederates built Fort Powell on Tower Island, an oyster shell bank fifty feet north of Grant's Pass. The Pass provided an easy route from Mobile Bay to New Orleans through Mississippi Sound. C.S. Lieutenant Colonel James M. Williams, only 25 years old, took command in August 1863. He commanded 140 men. Though Williams worked energetically hauling sand from the mainland, building a bombproof and new earthworks, and mounting guns; the fort was not finished when Farragut forced a passage . . . — Map (db m87239) HM|
|Alabama (Mobile County), Dauphin Island — Stop D — "To Be Blown To Kingdom Come" — Siege of Fort Gaines — Stop D|
Once Farragut was in the Bay, capture of Fort Gaines and Powell would prevent his isolation there. So at 4:00 pm, August 3, 1864, 1,500 soldiers commanded by U.S. General Edward Canby (but under the operational direction of General Gordon Granger) landed near the west end of Dauphin Island. While the artillerymen manhandled their six 3-inch rifled guns ashore, the infantry deployed into a skirmish line across the narrow island. Covered by two gunboats, the foot sloggers pushed forward three . . . — Map (db m87219) HM|
|Alabama (Mobile County), Dauphin Island — Stop D — “Damn the Torpedoes!” — The Battle of Mobile Bay: — Stop D|
At 7:25 a.m., August 5, 1864, Admiral Farragut’s lead monitor Tecumseh steered into the torpedo field at the mouth of Mobile Bay. The admiral had ordered Commander Tunis Craven, the Tecumseh’s captain, to engage the ram Tennessee. Then west of the black buoy marking the eastern limit of the torpedo field, the Tennessee was steaming further west. Craven was too close to the black buoy to steer east of it; if he was to catch the Ram, he would have to move west of . . . — Map (db m87234) HM|
|Alabama (Mobile County), Dauphin Island — Anchor From U.S.S. Hartford|
This anchor came from the U.S.S. Hartford, Admiral Farragut's flagship during the Civil War "Battle of Mobile Bay" in August of 1864. It was there that he uttered the now famous words, "Damn the Torpedoes—Full Speed Ahead!" — Map (db m87244) HM|
|Alabama (Mobile County), Dauphin Island — Fort Gaines|
|Established in 1821 for defense of Mobile Bay and named in honor of General Edmund Pendleton Gaines, 1777-1849 who played an important part in early Alabama History and while Commandant of Fort Stoddard captured Aaron Burr near McIntosh in February 1807. — Map (db m39393) HM|
|Alabama (Mobile County), Dauphin Island — Stop 1 — Storm Clouds Gather — The Overland Campaign — Stop 1: Fort Gaines|
To Wait and Watch
In late August 1864 the Federals controlled Mobile Bay but could not attack Mobile. Admiral Farragut could not reach the City even with his light draft vessels, because the channels in the upper Bay had been obstructed. Nor was U.S. General Edward Canby's force big enough to take Mobile by an overland route. The soldiers that would otherwise have been available to him were tied down in other places. All Canby could do was make occasional demonstrations from the Bay to . . . — Map (db m87243) HM|
|Alabama (Mobile County), Mobile — "Damn The Torpedoes!" The Campaigns for Mobile, 1864 - 1865 — The Museum of Mobile|
"Damn the Torpedoes!" is a familiar battle cry, but there's more to the story! The Mobile Civil War Trail is your guide to military movements and the way of life on and around Mobile Bay in the closing two years of the Civil War. Stand in the very spots where the action occurred during the Battle of Mobile Bay (August 1864) and the later overland effort to capture Mobile, called the Campaign for Mobile (March - May, 1865). The complete Trail stretches from the Gulf of . . . — Map (db m87288) HM|
|Alabama (Mobile County), Mobile — 10" Rifled Sea Coast Columbiad|
Manufactured at Tredegar Iron Works
This cannon was used by Alabama Confederate Forces in the
defense of Mobile during the War for Southern Independence
It was mounted at Ft. Powell, guarding the entrance into
Mobile Bay from the Mississippi Sound. It is one of the very
few such weapons still in existence.
Placed here for . . . — Map (db m86727) HM|
|Alabama (Mobile County), Mobile — 400 Government Street 1860 — (Ketchum House - Cathedral Rectory)|
| Antebellum town mansion
of W. H. Ketchum.
Commandeered as Headquarters of Union Army by General E. R. S. Canby, who occupied Mobile on April 12, 1865.
Since 1906 used as Cathedral Rectory and home of the Bishop of Mobile. — Map (db m86384) HM|
|Alabama (Mobile County), Mobile — Admiral Raphael Semmes, CSA|
|(Front):Commander C.S. Steamer Alabama Rear-Admiral C.S. Navy Sailor, Patriot, Statesman Scholar and Christian Gentleman (Side Plaque): Admiral Raphael Semmes, CSA
Commander of the Most Successful Sea Raider In History
Still after these many years his patriotism and heroic deeds inspire us to cherish our American Liberties! — Map (db m40669) HM|
|Alabama (Mobile County), Mobile — Barton Academy|
|Built 1835-1836. First public school in Alabama. Named for Rep. Willoughby Barton, author of Bill creating public schools of Mobile some 28 yrs. before State system. It was used as a hospital for Union soldiers in 1864. — Map (db m86387) HM|
|Alabama (Mobile County), Mobile — Battle of Coffeeville Memorial|
This memorial marks the burial site of
Union and Confederate soldiers who fought
in the Battle of Coffeeville December 5 1862
some known by name - others known but to God
Pvt J C Barret • Pvt Henry Byers
Co B 26 Miss Regt • Co C 9 Ark Vols
Pvt J G Eaves • Corp Talbot Hart
Co A 23 Miss Regt • Co A 8 Ky Regt
Pvt W L McFarland • Pvt D L Newlin
Co C 26 Miss Regt • Co A 23 Miss Regt
Pvt George Socum
Co C 26 Miss Regt — Map (db m86447) WM|
|Alabama (Mobile County), Mobile — Battle of Fort Blakely Monument|
Ill. 76th Vol. Inf.
of our Heroes
Who Fell at
Fort Blakely, Ala.
April 9, 1865
2nd Brig. 2nd Div.
13th Army Corps.
William T. Duke • Micajah S. Moore • William Crimes • George H. Hopkins • George F. Tremain • Joseph Mailloux • Charles Perkins • Boardman H. Noble • James C. Endsley • Daniel C. Harrison • Chathan Osborne • Michael Kirchner • Harvey B. Longnecker • Eldrick Brounlette • Charles Coldwood Color Bearer • Oren Swan • Joel Lesco • . . . — Map (db m86870) WM|
|Alabama (Mobile County), Mobile — Battle of Mobile Bay Memorial|
This memorial is dedicated to
US Navy, US Marine Corps, and
Confederate States Navy personnel
who lost their lives in the
Battle of Mobile Bay, Civil War
August 5, 1864 — Map (db m86446) WM|
|Alabama (Mobile County), Mobile — Christ Church — (Episcopal)|
Established in 1823, the first Episcopal Congregation in Mobile and in the State of Alabama. Cornerstone of present edifice laid in 1835; building completed and consecrated 1842 by Leonidas Polk, Bishop of Louisiana and Alabama, later General of Artillery in Army of the Confederacy. — Map (db m86580) HM|
|Alabama (Mobile County), Mobile — Confederate Rest — The Confederate Dead|
In 1862, while Alabama was a State among the Confederate States of America suffering invasion by Union forces, the City of Mobile designed this Square 13 of Magnolia Cemetery as "Soldier's Rest" for Confederate Patriots who were casualties of the resulting war.
There are 1,110 victims of war wounds or related disease known to be buried in Confederate Rest. Among them is an unknown sailor of the CSS Alabama whose remains were interred in 2007. Casualties of Regiments from throughout the . . . — Map (db m87210) HM WM|
|Alabama (Mobile County), Mobile — CSS Alabama Memorial|
This memorial is dedicated to the
officers and men of the CSS Alabama
who perished during the attack of the USS Kearsarge
on June 19, 1864
Yeo George Applebee • FN Christian Pust
Stew A G Bartelli • Sea John Roberts
Cox Henry Fisher • 3rd Asst Engr William Robertson
Pay Stew Frederick Johns • Carp William Robinson
Actg Surg David H Llewellyn • Capt of Head H Ustaker
Drummer Martin Miditch • Sea Walter VanASS
• WRB David H — Map (db m86441) WM|
|Alabama (Mobile County), Mobile — Home of Raphael Semmes|
Rear Admiral, Confederate States Navy,
Brigadier General, Confederate States Army,
Commander of the Alabama, the greatest
sea raider of all times.
— — — —
In this house, a gift of the
people of Mobile, Admiral Semmes
spent his late years. — Map (db m86572) HM|
|Alabama (Mobile County), Mobile — Hunley Memorial in Magnolia National Cemetery|
|This memorial is dedicated to the gallant crew of the CSS Horace L Hunley and their commander 1st Lt George E Dixon
Co A 21st Ala Inf CSA who
perished on the attack on
the USS Housatonic Feb 17 1864 — Map (db m86251) WM|
|Alabama (Mobile County), Mobile — In Memory of the Battle of Mobile Bay|
One of the fiercest
and most decisive
battles in naval
on the centennial
August 5 1964 — Map (db m86449) HM|
|Alabama (Mobile County), Mobile — Mobile National Cemetery|
Mobile National Cemetery was established in May 1866 on 3 acres of land in Magnolia Cemetery. The City of Mobile donated the land to the federal government. The Cemetery was divided into four sections with a central flagstaff. It contained more than 900 burials. Remains were brought here from forts Morgan and Gaines, and cemeteries in Conecuh and Pollard in Conecuh County and Claiborne in Monroe County.
In the 1870s, the U.S. Army built a brick wall around the . . . — Map (db m86914) HM|
|Alabama (Mobile County), Mobile — Nicola Marschall Residence|
|This building constructed in 1853,
by Judge Henry V. Chamberlain,
a former mayor of Mobile, was
in 1871 and 1872, the residence of
who, in 1861, designed
the Confederate Flag and uniform.
Building restored by
Shirley and William Appling
1966 – 1969 — Map (db m86504) HM|
|Alabama (Mobile County), Mobile — The Hunley|
|The first submarine successfully used in warfare was completed at this site in 1863. Designed by James McClintock and Baxter Watson, and financed by Horace L. Hunley, it was built by W. A. Alexander at the Mobile machine shop of Park and Lyons. After trials in Mobile River and Bay it was sent by rail to Charleston, where, on February 17th, 1864, it sank the U.S.S. Housatonic. — Map (db m86244) HM|
|Alabama (Mobile County), Mobile — U.S. Marine Hospital|
Built 1838-1841. In Operation 1842-1952. Served Confederate and Union Troops, 1861-1865 — Map (db m86357) HM|
|Alabama (Mobile County), Mobile — Wallace Turnage|
|In 1864, Wallace Turnage, a seventeen year old slave was owned by a merchant, Collier Minge, whose house stood on this site. Turnage escaped wartime Mobile by walking 25 miles down the western shore of Mobile Bay. After surviving three weeks in the Fowl River estuary, he paddled a row boat into the Bay. In late August, 1864, he was take to Fort Gaines and freed. Turnage's heroic emancipation was one of the most dramatic for African Americans in the Civil War. He later lived in New York City . . . — Map (db m86374) HM|
|Alabama (Mobile County), Mt. Vernon — Mount Vernon Arsenal and Barracks/Searcy Hospital|
Mount Vernon Arsenal and Barracks
Established 1828 by Congress to store arms and munitions for U. S. Army. Original structures completed 1830's.
Arsenal appropriated by Confederacy 1861; equipment moved to Selma facilities. After Civil War used as U. S. Army barracks; from 1887-1894 served as holding ground for Apache Indian prisoners. Deeded to State of Alabama 1895.
Josiah Gorgas, later Chief of Ordnance of Confederacy, stationed here 1850's; Dr. Walter . . . — Map (db m70593) HM|
|Alabama (Mobile County), Mt. Vernon — Mt. Vernon Federal Highway|
|In 1811, the Mount Vernon Cantonment, located on a hill about three miles west of the Mobile River, was laid out by Col. Thomas H. Cushing. The cantonment was on the site of a spring called Mount Vernon Springs. In 1814, the garrison at Mt. Vernon was visited by Andrew Jackson. Construction of the Old Federal Road from Milledgeville, Georgia to Fort Stoddert, Alabama began in 1818. 1828, President Andrew Jackson authorized for Mt. Vernon to become a military arsenal. By 1830 the construction of . . . — Map (db m85911) HM|
|Alabama (Monroe County), Monroeville — “Lucas’ Raiders”|
The following eyewitness account was written by T. C. McCorvey of Tuscaloosa in April 1865 during the War Between The States.
"A boy of 13 has a distant recollection of some of the incidents of the raid on Monroeville. The first raid naturally created a wild panic in the village. When couriers arrived announcing the approach of the Federal cavalry along the road from Claiborne, women and children crowded terror-stricken to the village hotel. The probate judge of Monroe . . . — Map (db m85912) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Maxwell Air Force Base — Major General James Harrison Wilson, USV — Wilson's Raiders|
Major General James Harrison Wilson, USV
Exceptional American soldier, born Illinois, West Point Class of 1860, MG at 27. Civil War service: Port Royal 1861-62, Aide to McClellan '62; Vicksburg and Chattanooga Campaigns, Grant's staff '63-64, Chief of Cavalry Bureau '64; Wilderness and Valley Campaigns, Commander Cavalry Division, Sherman's Corps'64; Franklin, Nashville, AL & GA '64-65. Retired from Army 1870; pursued railroading career in U.S., Latin America, . . . — Map (db m64436) HM|