|Australia, Victoria, Guildford — Guilford Honor Row — War Memorial|
|Guilford Honor Row List of Guilford veterans — Map (db m45802) HM|
|Australia, Victoria, Warrnambool — Aboriginal Soldiers|
|This memorial is dedicated to all Aboriginal men and women from South West Victoria who served their country proudly along with fellow Australians since World War 1. — Map (db m52646) HM|
|Brazil, Bahia, Salvador — Monumento a Stefan Zweig — All Saints' Bay|
| Stefan Zweig nasceu em Viena, Áustria, em 1881. Escritor cosmopolita, tornou-se conhecido por suas analises do comlexo psíquico e pela defesa dos ideais humanitarios. Foi o autor mais traduzido do seu tempo. Pacifista, escrevia reinventando a vida.
Iniciou sua peregrinação pelo mundo em 1934, com residencia na Inglaterra. Mudou-se, em 1941, com sua esposa Lotte, para a Cidade de Petrópolis, Brasil, onde escreveu, o seu livro mais conhecido, “Brasil, Pais do Futuro” e . . . — Map (db m31877) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Esquimalt — The Canadian Women's Army Corps (CWAC) — Le Corps Féminin de l'Armée Canadienne (CFAC)|
|Canadian Women's Army Corps (CWAC) Women's service in the military during the Second World War challenged the tradition of all-male armed forces. Between 1941 and 1946, close to 22,000 volunteers enlisted in the CWAC and were posted to bases at home and abroad. Working in such unconventional settings transformed their life and ambitions. Joan Kennedy, later its commander, opened the first CWAC office on the Esquimalt base on 29 August 1941. The Corps contributed to Allied victory, paved the way . . . — Map (db m72873) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Sidney — War Memorial|
Dedicated in proud memory
of the ultimate sacrifice
given for their countrymen
by all of Canada's Armed Forces
by the first recipient of the
Star of Military Valour
Sergeant Patrick Tower, S.M.V., C.D.
June 30, 2007 — Map (db m75469) HM WM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Sidney — War Memorial|
In memory of the men
of this district
who gave their lives
in the Great War
1914 - 1918
——— • ———
W.I. Apps • James Arden • H.H. Bedford • V. Cleaves • G.J. Coward • G.C. Cruse • Dean Arnold • H.A. Dennis • C.R. Gillan H. Grainger • T. Holliday • T. Ibrotson • F.C. John • W.S.J. Lalt John McNally • L.H. Norris • P. Robertson • C.F. Stutchbury
C. Toogood • F. Toogood • F. Wilkinson
Their Name Liveth For Evermore . . . — Map (db m75480) WM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — 90 mm Anti-Aircraft Gun — Canon Antiaérien de 90 mm|
During the 1950s this type of anti-aircraft gun was part of the Victoria-Esquimalt defences, although it was not used here at Fort Rodd Hill.
This American-made weapon had begun to replace the British-designed 3.7-inch gun as the Canadian Army’s heavy AA defence after the Second World War. It had a maximum vertical range of 30,000 feet and fired 22 rounds a minute.
——————————————— . . . — Map (db m75031) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — British Columbia Indians World Wars Memorial|
This tablet in memory of the
British Columbia Indians
who gave their lives in the
World Wars 1914 • 1918 - 1939 • 1945 — Map (db m74139) WM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Coast Defence Artillery Positions: 1878-1956 — Positions de l’artillerie côtière: 1878-1956|
| The harbours at Victoria and Esquimalt, and the adjacent coastline were defended by temporary gun emplacements from 1878. International crises during the latter part of the century led to an agreement between the Canadian and British governments to improve and expand these defences with permanent fortifications and modern guns. Fort Rodd Hill was one part of this new development and continued in service until 1956.
À partir . . . — Map (db m75210) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Japanese Internment|
|On April 22, 1942, 273 men, women and children of Japanese ancestry were exiled from their homes in the Greater Victoria area. None of the survivors of this event ever returned to Victoria to re-establish a home.
On August 4, 1992, 67 survivors of this devastating event returned to Victoria to commemorate the 50th anniversary of the exile. This plaque has been placed here, a location central to where a number of us had our homes, to commemorate our return. — Map (db m49127) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Kakehashi — In Honour and Memory of Pioneers from Japan|
This memorial commemorates the 150 Victorians of Japanese descent who are buried in this historic cemetery, beginning in 1887.
During the 1940's, when no person of Japanese descent was allowed to remain within 100 miles of the West Coast, many grave markers deteriorated or were vandalized.
This monument is dedicated to the early immigrants from Japan whose courage and endurance made our lives in Canada possible.
[Japanese script on reverse]
August 1999 — Map (db m74695) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — The Guardhouse / Corps de garde|
This structure was designed to accommodate the guard when the battery was fully manned.
Consisting of three or four soldiers commanded by a non-commissioned officer, the guard provided sentries to control the gate and patrol the battery perimeter.
There was a small kitchen, a living room and a bedroom that could also be used to hold short-term prisoners. The bedroom extended beyond the defensible wall and served as a concrete blockhouse. Loopholes in the bedroom permitted soldiers . . . — Map (db m75775) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — To Our Glorious Dead — 1914 – 1919 — 1939 – 1945|
|“They died the noblest death a man may die, fighting for god, and right and liberty, and such a death is immortality.”|
1950 – 1953
[On the back]
In Recognition of the Services of the Canadian Forces and Canadian Citizens
In The Service of Peace — Map (db m48933) WM
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Upper Battery / Batterie supérieure|
A coast artillery battery consists of one or more gun emplacements and supporting structures and equipment. Its role was defensive; to prevent attack by enemy warships through the use of artillery.
The layout of Upper Battery is typical of a coast defence battery of this period:
High ground and a commanding position...
+ a clear field of fire for the gun...
+ a secure magazine to safely store ammunition close to the gun...
+ a communication system to control gun . . . — Map (db m75248) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Upper, Lower, Belmont Batteries — Batteries supérieure, inférieure et Belmont|
These batteries were constructed at Fort Rodd Hill between 1895 and 1900, as part of the defences of Esquimalt Harbour.
Upper and Lower Batteries, with their three large 6 inch guns, were designed to counter bombard enemy warships. Belmont Battery was equipped to engage fast torpedo boats, with smaller quick firing guns.
Ces batteries furent construites au fort Rodd Hill entre 1895 et 1900 pour faire partie du système . . . — Map (db m75216) HM|
|British Columbia (Greater Vancouver Regional District), Vancouver — Ferguson Point|
This area was the site of a coast defence fort manned during WW II
by The Royal Canadian Artillery
85th Heavy — Map (db m54578) HM|
|British Columbia (Greater Vancouver Regional District), Vancouver — Ram Mk II|
|Crew 5, Wt 30 tonnes, Speed 40 km/hr, armament - 57 mm main gun, 2 x 30 cal mg, in service 1941-1945.
The Ram tank was designed and built in Canada as part of Canada's contribution to the allied war effort in WW II. A total of 1949 Ram tanks were at the Montreal Locomotive Works in Montreal, Quebec.
This tank is dedicated to all those who have served or are serving in the Royal Canadian Armoured Corps. — Map (db m54263) HM|
|British Columbia (Greater Vancouver Regional District), Vancouver — Sherman|
|M4A3E8, Crew 5, Wt 32 tonnes, speed 48 km/hr armament - 76 mm main gun, 2 x 30 cal mg in service 1943-1970
On 8/9 August 1944, the British Columbia Regiment (Duke of Connaught's Own), then designated Canadian 28th Armoured Regiment, was commanded by LCOL D.G. Worthington in his tank "Boss". In Sherman tanks similar to this one, they fought a heroic 14 hour battle on Hill 140 north of the town of Falaise, France. When the battle ended the "Dukes" had suffered great losses, including their . . . — Map (db m53942) HM|
|British Columbia (National Capital Region), Victoria — Gun Emplacement / Emplacement du canon|
One 6-inch gun on a disappearing carriage was mounted in this emplacement. The wall and sunken emplacement helped to conceal and protect the gun and crew from enemy bombardment. The concrete apron and earth glacis extending away from the top of the wall was designed to deflect incoming shells.
Cet emplacement comprenait un canon de 6 pouces monté sur un affût à éclipse. Le mur et la fosse aidaient à dissimuler le canon et servaients à les protéger contre les bombardements ennemis. Le . . . — Map (db m76336) HM|
|New Brunswick (Charlotte County), St. Andrews — Lest We Forget — They died that we may be free|
Anning, William • Bartlett, George Leonard • Boone, George • Cork, Alfred • Crichton, Clarence M. • Greenlaw, Ernest • Grimmer, Harold Mackie • Jack, Edward • Key, William James • Markee, Percy • McMullin, Herbert • MacQuoid, Charles Loren • MacQuoid, Fraser • Raymond Paul, Alexander Thompson • Polis, Joseph • Purton, Frank • Quinn, Thomas • Reid, Otis • Richie, Clifford • Rogers, Thomas • Storr, Melbourne Roy • Stuart, Robert Albert • Williamson, Frederick S. • Woodbury, Frederick A. . . . — Map (db m77394) WM|
|New Brunswick (Charlotte County), Welshpool — President Franklin Delano Roosevelt — 1933 - 1945|
| The Great Depression 1929-1941
The depression was world-wide. In the U.S., the banking system collapsed and 12.8 million people were unemployed. Hardest hit were youth, minorities, the elderly, and workers in the consumer durables industries. There was widespread hunger and suffering as communities ran out of charitable and government relief. FDR's "New Deal" programs, some more successful than others, helped to stem national despair and boost public confidence.
La Crise économique . . . — Map (db m54783) HM|
|New Brunswick (Charlotte County), Wilson's Beach — World War II Memorial — 1939 - 1945|
To the Glory of God
and the memory of our
Howard Mallock • Lawson Searles
Those who served our King and Country
Alison Alexander • Ronald Anthony • Wesley Anthony • George Babcock • Lydie Brown • Manning Brown • Raye Brown • Whitney Brown • Alexander Calder • Emerson Calder • Hilton Calder • Ryder Cline • Durrell Fitzgerald • Herbert Fitzsimmons • John Fitzsimmons • Clayton Fletcher • William Galley • Stanley Henderson • Andrew Hooper • Calvin Mallock • Elwood . . . — Map (db m54938) HM|
|Newfoundland and Labrador (Division No. 1 (Avalon Peninsula)), Blackhead — World War II Battery — Batterie del a IIième Guerre mondaile — Fort Cape Spear / Le fort du cap Spear|
In 1940, the American and Canadian Joint Board of Defence decided to protect the approaches to St. John’s harbour by installing heavy artillery at Cape Spear. Gun emplacements, magazines, and shelters were constructed by 1941 as well as barracks, messhalls, canteens, and administration buildings. “A” troop of the 103rd Coast Defence Battery of Royal Canadian Artillery was stationed at Fort Cape Spear and a small detachment of Americans manned the anti-aircraft . . . — Map (db m79463) HM|
|Nova Scotia (Halifax Regional Municipality), Halifax — Canadian Sailor's Monument|
|The sailor statue represents those valiant young Canadians who served in both war and peace is symbolic of the thousands of sailors who were instrumental in the victory at sea and a fitting acknowledgement to those who continue to maintain the peace. — Map (db m77597) WM|
|Nova Scotia (Halifax Regional Municipality), Halifax — France and Canada — La France et le Canada — Theirs is a story of enduring friendship./ C’est l’histoire d’une longe amitié.|
|France and Canada share a long history. Theirs is a story of enduring friendship.
It began 400 years ago, in Nova Scotia, the birthplace of Acadie, with the arrival of the first French settlers and of Samuel de Champlain at Port-Royal in 1605.
Halifax had its first contact with France at the beginning of the 18th century. In 1711, the French engineer Delabat drew fortification plans for Chebucto Bay (present day Halifax harbour).
In autumn of 1746, the Duc D’Anville led an ill-fated . . . — Map (db m77622) HM|
|Nova Scotia (Halifax Regional Municipality), Halifax — Norway|
|In memory of members of
the Norwegian Merchant Navy,
Royal Norwegian Navy
and Royal Norwegian Army
who were lost at sea or were buried
in Nova Scotia during the Second World War
We will remember them — Map (db m77596) WM|
|Nova Scotia (Halifax Regional Municipality), Halifax — Pier 21 — Canada’s National Immigration Museum — Musée national de l’immigration au Canada|
When the Canadian immigration complex known as Pier 21 closed its doors in March of 1971, it marked the end of a more than forty-year saga of human hope, vision, courage and resilience. From its opening on the Halifax waterfront in 1928 to its final months of operation, Pier 21 served as a bridge to new beginnings. More than a million immigrants, refugees, displaced persons and war brides passed through its transit shed on their way to becoming Canadian citizens. During the . . . — Map (db m77616) HM|
|Nova Scotia (Halifax Regional Municipality), Halifax — Pier 21 / Le Quai 21 — Postwar Immigration / L’immigration de L’aprés-guerre — War Brides / Les Epouses de Guerre|
|There are three plaques on this monument.
Pier 21 / Le Quai 21 English
This site witnessed the arrival of approximately one million immigrants, who have enriched the cultural mosaic of Canada. Opened in 1928, Pier 21 served as one of Canada’s principal reception centres for immigrants until it closed in 1971. It typifies the large, self-contained immigrant facilities that the Government of Canada had begun to establish at major ports near the turn of the 20th century. . . . — Map (db m77718) HM|
|Nova Scotia (Halifax Regional Municipality), Halifax — Ships and Men of the Royal Canadian Navy|
|This memorial was erected
Atlantic Chief and Petty Officies Association
to commemorate the
Ships and Men of the Royal Canadian Navy
who failed to return through enemy action,
stress of weather and accidents during
The Battle of the Atlantic
to remind future generations of
The Price of Victory
They are one with the tides of the sea
They are one with the tides of our hearts
Dedicated in the fifty seventh year
of the reign of Queen Elizabeth II and
the . . . — Map (db m77646) WM|
|Nova Scotia (Halifax Regional Municipality), Halifax — The View from the Citadel / Le panorama vu de la citadelle — The Halifax Explosion / L’explosion d’Halifax — The Convoys / Les Convois|
|This marker is composed of five plaques on the same mounting. The marker stands on north wall of the Citadel overlooking Halifax Harbor. The markers are presented left to right.
The Halifax Explosion / L’explosion d’Halifax
From where you are standing, you can see Ground Zero for the Halifax Explosion, the largest man-made explosion prior to the first atomic bomb. On December 6, 1917, as the First World War raged around the globe, the Norwegian relief . . . — Map (db m78257) HM|
|Ontario, Hamilton — HMCS Haida - NCSM Haida — Tribal Class Destroyer — National Historic Site of Canada|
| HMCS Haida is the last of the Tribal class destroyers which saw heavy action with the Australian, British and Canadian navies during World War II. Built for the Royal Canadian Navy at Newcastle, England, , in 1942, this ship served on the frigid Murmansk run and in clearing the English Channel for the Normandy invasion. She helped sink 14 enemy vessels. Haida was re-commissioned in 1952 and served two tours of duty with the United Nations in Korea, taking part in shore bombardment, blockades . . . — Map (db m67343) WM|
|Ontario, Toronto — Canadian Airmen Monument|
| Panel 1:
Per Arua Ad Astra
In Memory of our Canadian
Airmen who fought in the
Skies to preserve freedom
and order in the world.
Canadian Airmen Awarded the Victoria Cross
World War I:
William Avery Bishop
Alan Arnett McLeod
William George Barker
World War II:
Andrew Charles Mynarski
David Ernest Hornell
Ian Willoughby Bazalgette
Robert Hampton Gray
This Monument was dedicated by
Her Majesty Queen . . . — Map (db m57901) HM|
|Ontario (Brant County), Ohsweken — The Six Nations War Memorial|
Lest We Forget
1914 - 1918
Lt. Brant, Cameron D. • Lt. Moses, James D. • Arron, William • Claus, Issac • Curley, Lloyd • Fish, Reuben • Garlow, James • Goosey, David • Groat, Samuel B. • Hill, Hiram • Hill, Roy • Homer, Harrison • Isaac, Frank • Isaac, Jacob • Jamieson, Arthur • John, Paul • Johnson, James W. • Johnson, Percy • Lickers, Roy • Licker, Thomas • Lickers, William • Lottridge, Welby • Martin, Walter • Miller, Huron S. • Montour, William • Newhouse, Henry • Peters, . . . — Map (db m83744) WM|
|Ontario (Chatham-Kent), Chatham — Chatham Armoury — 100th Anniversary — 1905-2005|
| chatham Armoury
The Chatham Armoury was constructed in 1905 as a result of reform and expansion of the volunteer militia. The first unit to occupy the Armoury was the 24th Kent Regiment that was formed in 1901. It was the centre for local recruitment and training for the 186th Kent Overseas Battalion, CE.F. during the First World War, 1914-1918. In 1920 the Armoury became the home of the renamed Kent Regiment and, in 1936, the Kent Regiment, Machine Gun. During the Second . . . — Map (db m71382) HM|
|Ontario (Durham Region), Whitby — Camp X — 1941 - 1946|
| Upper Plaque On this site British Security Co-Ordination operated Special Training School No. 103 and Hydra. S.T.S. 103 trained allied agents in the techniques of secret warfare for the Special Operations Executive (SOE) Branch of the British Intelligence Service. Hydra Network communicated vital messages between Canada, the United States and Great Britain. This commemoration is dedicated to the service of the men and women who took part in these operations. Lower Plaque In . . . — Map (db m61880) HM|
|Ontario (Leeds and Grenville Counties), Prescott — Prescott War Memorial|
| World War I
Arthur E. Baker • Howard Baker • Philip V. Blacklock • Cecil Bovaird • Ward W. Burke • John H. Davy • Jacob S. Doyle • G. Harvey Ewart • Ira H. Glasgow • Albert Hurlbert • Royal W. Kingston • Roy Lindsay • John A. MacDonald • Harold P. MacGregor • Charles H. O’Leary • Guy C. O’Shea • George Patterson • Edward Patterson • James Peterson • William Robinson • William F. Sharpe • Harry J. Smith • John R.W. Tyner • Stanley W. Ward • Wilfred L. White
World War . . . — Map (db m83466) WM|
|Ontario (Middlesex County), London — "Holy Roller"|
Presented to the City of London
by 1st Hussars, 4th June 1950
in memory of the First Hussars who fell
in two World Wars
The only tank of 6th Canadian Armoured
Regiment (1st Hussars) to complete campaign
in North-West Europe
D-Day 6th June 1944
VE-Day 8th May 1945 — Map (db m18922) HM|
|Ontario (Middlesex County), London — 50th Anniversary of the Allied Invasion of Normandy — 1944 - 1994 — "Hodie Non Cras"|
|This plaque is placed here to commemorate
the 50th anniversary of the Allied Invasion
of Normandy on D Day, 6th June 1944.
It is dedicated to the soldiers of the
First Hussars, to those who took part in the
assault, to those who fought in the European
Campaign, and to those who gave their lives to
liberate France, Belgium, and Holland. — Map (db m18923) HM|
|Ontario (Middlesex County), London — Harold A. Rogers, O.C., O.B.E. — 1899 - 1994|
|The founder of Kinsmen & Kinette Clubs of Canada was born and raised at 324 Dundas Street, directly across from the armouries. Seeking the camaraderie he had experienced in the army during the First World War, “Hal” Rogers began the first Kinsmen Club in Hamilton in 1920. Under his guidance other clubs soon formed, each dedicated to “serving the community's greatest need.” Ongoing contributions from women prompted the formation of the Kinettes in 1942. During the Second . . . — Map (db m18933) HM|
|Ontario (Middlesex County), London — London War Cenotaph|
The Glorious Dead
1950 - 1953
Bronze plaque on West facade:
In honour of those who died in war and conflict
Erected 1934 by the Imperial Order Daughters of the Empire (IODE)
Rededicated 1999 by the London Municipal Chapter IODE
United Nations Peacekeepers
We Will Remember Them
Nearby usage informational sign:
This Cenotaph is reserved for . . . — Map (db m18966) WM|
|Ontario (Middlesex County), London — The 1st Hussars|
To the everlasting memory
of the members of
THE 1ST HUSSARS
both the living and the dead, who together with
other Canadian and Allied servicemen
participated in the glorious campaign of 1944-1945
that led to the liberation of the Netherlands.
The Grateful Dutch Canadians of London
Re-dedicated June 6, 1998 by:
The Dutch Canadians Remember
Committee of 1995 — Map (db m18921) HM|
|Ontario (Middlesex County), London — Veterans' Memorial Carillon — 2005 - Year of the Veteran — "We Will Never Forget"|
|With deepest gratitude to those who so generously
contributed to this visible and resonant
remembrance of our Canadian Veterans
Separate Stone marker nearby:
Thank You Canada
Thank You Veterans
1940 - 1945
This musical tribute is a gift to all
Canadians from the Dutch community
and friends out of gratitude for
the Liberation of the Netherlands
during 1944 - 1945
Dedicated Sept. 22, 2006
A map on the stone marker depicts the following Canadian War . . . — Map (db m18968) HM|
|Ontario (National Capital Region), Ottawa — Canadian Airmen Lost Over Poland|
“To live in the hearts we leave behind is not to die”
“Survivre dans les coeurs de ceux qu’on aura quittes ce n’est pas mourir”
This is to express the gratitude and admiration which lives in the hearts of former soldiers of the Polish Home Army for the valiant Canadian Airmen:
En temoignage de gratitude et d’admiration, du fond du coeur anciens soldats de l’Armee de la Resistance polonaise aux vaillants aviateurs canadiens:
F/L . . . — Map (db m82249) WM|
|Ontario (Toronto), Toronto — Little Norway — Lille Norge|
|[First Panel:] 9 April 1940 Norway was attacked by overwhelming forces. King Haakon VII, Crown Prince Olav and the government left Tromso 7 June for Great Britain in order to continue the fight for freedom in exile. Negotiations had started 2 June and a base for training air force personnel was erected in Toronto using Island Airport. A camp was built on the harbour front and officially opened 10 November 1940.
The national emblems of Canada and Norway have been flying side by side . . . — Map (db m20989) HM|
|Prince Edward Island (Kings County), Georgetown — Georgetown War Memorial|
|To the glorious memory of
our native sons who paid the supreme
sacrifice in the two World Wars.
1914 — 1918
Our Honoured Dead
Stephen F. Cherry • John P. Dalton • Martin P. Dalton • John W. Lavers • Temple W. Macdonald, M.C. • Guy MacPhee • John W. MacPhee
1939 — 1945
Our Honored Dead
Oliver J. Babieau • Newman J. Batchilder • Rudolph J. Fouchere • Walter X. Jamieson • James D. Keenan • Hugh A. Macdonald • Francis A. McEachern • Fredrick W. Walker . . . — Map (db m80294) WM|
|Prince Edward Island (Queens County), Charlottetown — Prince Edward Island War Memorial|
Erected by the Citizens of Charlottetown in memory of those
from Prince Edward Island who gloriously laid down their
lives in the Great War in honour forevermore
of all who served therein
1914 - 1918
1939 - 1945
Korea 1950 - 1953
Lest We Forget
1914 - 1918
1939 - 1945
Korea 1950 - 1953 — Map (db m80280) WM|
|Prince Edward Island (Queens County), Charlottetown — Sherman M4A2 Medium Battle Tank|
|294 Sherman tanks were purchased by Canada after World War II and used by the Canadian Army (both Regular and Reserve) from 1946-1972.
This is a late production model of the orignal Sherman tank introduced in 1943 that incorporated many improvements implemented from lessons learned during World War II.
There are only 50 tanks remaining on display throughout Canada, either as “gate guardians” or in military museums.
County of Origin: . . . — Map (db m80224) HM WM|
|Quebec (Capitale-Nationale (region)), Québec — In Memory of Our Fallen Soldiers — La mémoire des combattants|
Unveiled on July 1, 1924, the Cross of Sacrifice originally honoured the memory of the Canadian soldiers killed during the Great War of 1914-1918. Over 66,000 lost their lives in the conflict. A handful of earth from Vimy, the site of Canada’s most decisive involvement in the war, was placed under the base of the monument.
As subsequent conflicts arose over the years, more inscriptions were added to the monument to commemorate the sacrifice of soldiers lost in the Second . . . — Map (db m80846) HM WM|
|Quebec (Capitale-Nationale (region)), Québec — Les Conferences de Québec de 1943 et 1944 — The Québec Conferences of 1943 and 1944|
En 1943 et 1944 le president des États-Unis Franklin Delano Roosevelt et le premier ministre de Grande Bretagne Winston Spencer Churchill dirigèrent à Quebec les deux conferences qui déterminèrent lisse de la deuxième Guerre mondiale en Europe et dans le Pacifique.
Ne serait ce pas magnifique si l’histoire pouvait raconter que c’est à Québec que l’on a assure la liberation de la France?»
William Lyon MacKenzie King
Premier ministre du Canada
Québec 1943 . . . — Map (db m80758) HM|
|Quebec (Capitale-Nationale (region)), Québec — The Quebec Conferences — Conferences de Quebec — 1943 and/ et 1944|
During the Second World War, on the invitation of the Prime Minister of Canada, W.L. Mackenzie King, the President of the United States, Franklin D. Roosevelt, and the Prime Minister of the United Kingdom, Winston S. Churchill, met in conference at this Citadel on two occasions (August 10 to 24, 1943 and September 11 to 16, 1944) to consider the strategy of allied victory.
Au cours de la seconde guerre mondiale, sur l'invitation du Premier-Ministre du . . . — Map (db m80821) HM|
|Quebec (Gaspésie– Îles-de-la-Madeleine (region)), Percé — Percé World War II Monument — 1939-1945|
This plaque commemorates the heroism of the men and women of Percé who served voluntarily in the Canadian Armed Forces.
Cette plaque rappelle l’héroroîsme des hommes et des femmes de Percé qui son servi volontairement dans les Forces Armées Canadiennes.
Killed in Action / Tombés au Champ d’Honneur
Lenfestry, Francis • LeBlanc, Moîse • Mahan, Ralph • Pidgeon, Joseph
Prisoners at Hong Kong / Prisonniers à Hong Kong . . . — Map (db m80644) WM|
|Yukon Territory, Carcross — Carcross during World War II — Alaska-Canada Highway, 50 Years: 1942-1992|
| During World War II, Carcross played an important role in Alaska Highway construction. The connection here between the White Pass rail and water transportation systems gave the U.S. Army access to the Yukon’s interior.
By early 1942, Carcross residents were well aware of the war. Many young men had joined the armed forces, and their families anxiously followed the news from Europe. That spring, however, the war moved much closer to home when 1200 Black troops of the 93rd Engineers stepped . . . — Map (db m68899) HM|
|Yukon Territory, Watson Lake — Welcome to the Sign Post Forest|
|In 1942, during the construction of the Alaska Highway, the United States Army Corps of Engineers erected mileage posts at their camps that listed places, distances and directions in the Yukon, other Canadian cities, cities within the United States of America and also other parts of the world. One of these posts was erected at the Wye, the corner of the Alaska Highway and the road to the Watson Lake Airport, where the Sign Post Forest stands today. The original post is the only mileage post of . . . — Map (db m72697) HM|
|Czech Republic, Ústecký (Okres Litoměřice), Terezín — Columbarium|
Do choheb tohoto opevnění byly ukládaný lepenkové urny s popelem mrtvých vĕzňů. Všechny urny – bylo jich na 25 tisíc – esesáci koncem roku 1944 odvezli vĕtšinu popela vysypali do Řeky Ohře, část zakopali do zemĕ poblíž Litomĕřického Koncentračního Tábora.
В . . . — Map (db m22744) HM|
|Czech Republic, Ústecký (Okres Litoměřice), Terezín — 15 — The Food Storeroom — Proviantní Sklad|
| In Czech:
Budova s jedním obdélníkovým nádvořím byla postavena v letech 1786 až 1789. V objektu se skladovala mouka, cukr, sůl, a pečivo. Spolu s Kavalírem č. II zde mohly být v připadě válečného konfliktu uskladněny zásoby potravin pro 70-ti tisícove vojsko na dobu 3,5 měsíce.
The Food Storeroom
This building, with one rectangular courtyard, was built between 1786 and 1789. Flour, sugar, . . . — Map (db m22626) HM|
|Estonia, Harjumaa MaakondTallinn — Polish Submarine "ORZEŁ" - September 1939 — [Estonian Maritime Museum]|
| Text in Estonian: ...
Text in Polish: 15. Septembril 1939. Aastal
Interneeriti saksa riigi survel Tallinnas
Poola Sõjalaevvastiku allveelaev
Mereväekapten Jan Grudziński juhtimisel võttis relvitu
Laev ööl vastu 18 Septembrit 1939 ette Hulljulge põgenemise
Suurbritanniasse, et sealt Jätkata Voitlust merel.
See Sündmus Oli üheks Ettekäändeks Nõukogude
Sõjaväebaaside Rajamisele eesti territooriumil ja
Eesti Hilisemale . . . — Map (db m57484) HM|
|France, Aquitaine (Dordogne Départment), Carsac-Aillac — Perigord Noir — 1943|
Dans le bois de Turnac, face a ces rochers, des rèsistants de toutes origines décidèrent de se battre ensemble contre l’occupant nazi et, avec l’appui de la population créèrent le premier maquis de Perigord Noir
[Translated by Google Translate (with modifications):
In the wood Turnac, facing these rocks, resistance fighters of all origins decided to fight together against the Nazi occupation, and with the support of the people created the first underground of Perigord Black
We remember] — Map (db m60517) HM
|France, Basse-Normandie (Calvados Département), Honfleur — Mémoire des Soldats Alliés Tombés|
en Mémoire des Soldats
pour Leur Liberté
"Gloire à l'Angleterre,
les U.S.A, la Russie,
la vaillante Belgique
et tous les alliés"
Extrait du discours
du Maire Mr Patin, à
la Libération de Honfleur
le 25 août 1944
The people of Honfleur honor the memory of the allied soldiers who fought for our freedom.
"Glory to England, the USA, Russia, Belgium and all the valiant allies"
From the speech of the Mayor, . . . — Map (db m86085) WM|
|France, Basse-Normandie (Calvados Départment), Courseulles-sur-Mer — Fourth Light Anti-Aircraft Regiment — 4e Régiment d’artillerie antiaérinne légère — 40mm Bofors Gun|
|[French, on left side]
Ce canon Bofors de 40mm est dédi à la mémoire des hommes du 4e Régiment d’artillerie antiaérinne légère. ARC. Qui sont débarqués à Courseuilles-sur-Mer tard dans l’après midi du 6 juin 1944 afin de fournir une défense antiaérienne aux troupes Canadiennes ayant commencé de combat pour la libération de l’Europe â partir de la plage Juno.
Ce cannon arbore les couleurs de la 32e Batterie d’artillerie antiaérienne légère du 4e Regiment, ARC, laquelle fut la première à . . . — Map (db m62232) HM|
|France, Basse-Normandie (Calvados Départment), Courseulles-sur-Mer — In Memory of All Canadian Gunners — En souvenir des artilleurs canadiens|
|(Two plaques, in English and French) are mounted on the shield of a field gun.)
In Memory of All Canadian Gunners who from this place on 6 June 1944 began the fight to liberate France and to honor our fallen who sacrificed everything for freedom.
Lest We Forget
This gun was placed here by the Royal Regiment of Canadian Artillery
6 June 2010|
En souvenir des artilleurs canadiens qui depuis en endroit le 6 juin 1944 ont commencé le combat pour libérer la France et . . . — Map (db m62230) WM
|France, Basse-Normandie (Calvados Départment), Courseulles-sur-Mer — Juno Beach — D-Day — Jour-J|
|(This marker is composted of several pillars (vertical) with text inscribed upon them and several benches (horizontal) with photograph and illustration. Text is provided in both French and English.)
Le Mur de L’Atlantique
The Atlantic Wall
Une ligne défensive allemande impressionnante
Pour protéger les territoires conquis par ses armées, Hitler lanca l’édification d’un Mur de Défense sur la côte Atlantique.
Des l’été 1941, l’organisation TODT (du . . . — Map (db m62234) HM|
|France, Basse-Normandie (Calvados Départment), Courseulles-sur-Mer — Message to the French Resistance — La chanson d’automne - Fall Song|
|Les sanglots longs
Blessent mon coeur
Extraits de “La chanson d’automne”, poème de Paul Verlaine
La première partie fut radiodiffusée sur la BBC dans la nuit du 1er au 2 juin 1944 pour annoncer l’éventualité d’un débarguement allié en France.
Le seconde partie fut radiodiffusée dans le soirée du 5 juin 1944. Elle confirmait, auprès de La Résistance, l’imminence de Débarquement.|
The . . . — Map (db m62231) HM
|France, Basse-Normandie (Calvados Départment), Courseulles-sur-Mer — Royal Canadian Navy Memorial — Marine Royale Canadienne Memorial|
En hommage a tous les morts our disparus de la Marine Royale Canadienne lours du conflit 1939-1945 et de l’Operation Overlord de juin 1944
In honor of all those who died or disappeared while serving in the Royal Canadian Navy during the conflict of 1939-1945 and in Operation Overlord, June 1944
Juin 2009 – comité Juno Canada Normandy — Map (db m62229) WM
|France, Basse-Normandie (Calvados Départment), Cricqueville-en-Bessin — Pointe du Hoc — Heroic Ranger Commandoes — Colonel James E. Rudder|
|To the Heroic Ranger Commandoes
D2RN E2RN F2RN
Of the 116th Inf
Who under the command of
Colonel James E. Rudder
Of the First American Division
Attacked and took possession of the Point du Hoc|
Aux heroiques Commados
D2RN E2RN F2RN
du 116eme d’Infanterie
qui prirent d’assaut la
Pointe du Hoc
Les 6.7.8 juin 1944
sous le commadement du
Colonel James E. Rudder
de la 1ere Division Americaine — Map (db m60539) HM
|France, Basse-Normandie (Calvados Départment), Saint-Laurent-sur-Mer — Omaha Beach|
|Les forces Alliées
débarquent sur cette
plage qu’elle nomment
Omaha Beach et libérent
l’Europe — 6 juin 1944
The Allied forces
landing on this
shore which they call
Omaha Beach liberate
Europe — June 6th 1944
1st US Infantry Division
—No mission too difficult
—No sacrifice too great . Duty first
Forced Omaha Beach at dawn 6 June
The 116th RCT 29th . . . — Map (db m59751) HM|
|France, Basse-Normandie (Calvados Départment), Saint-Laurent-sur-Mer — Omaha la Sanglante - Bloody Omaha|
Le 6 Juin 1944, sur Omaha Beach, les Américains avaient prévu d'occuper une espace 25 km (16 miles) de long sur 10 km (6 miles) de profondeur, mais le soir, seule une zone de 8 km de long sur 2 km de large était tenue au prix d'un sacrifice humain très lourd : environ 1 200 GIs tués ou disparus, des milliers de véhicules perdus (chars, half-track, jeep, canards, camions…).
Côté allemand, le nombre de morts est difficile à évaluer : peut-être 400 pour environ 2 000 . . . — Map (db m85962) HM WM|
|France, Basse-Normandie (Manche Départment), Sainte-Mère-Église — 82nd and 101st Airborne on D-Day|
|5–6 juin 1944 — les 82e et 101e Divisions U.S.A. de parachutistes libérent ce canton
5th–6th June 1944 — The 82nd and 101st Div. U.S.A. of paratroops liberate the district — Map (db m59770) HM|
|France, Basse-Normandie (Manche Départment), Sainte-Mère-Église — Clifford A. Maughan P.F.C.|
|Clifford A. Maughan P.F.C.
F. Co., 505 PIR, 82nd Airborne
Born 1920 — Died 1990
This plaque is to commemorate
P.F.C. Clifford Maughan
who parachuted into the garden of this
house at approximately 01.45 hours
on the morning of 6th June 1944
He was taken prisoner by a German soldier
billeted in this house, who then in turn
surrendered to him. P.F.C. Maughan went
on to fight in Normandy, Holland and to
survive the war.
This is also to perpetuate the memory of . . . — Map (db m59753) HM|
|France, Basse-Normandie (Manche Départment), Sainte-Mère-Église — General Gavin’s Foxhole|
le 6 juin 1944
James M. Gavin
June 6, 1944 — Map (db m59750) HM|
|France, Basse-Normandie (Manche Départment), Sainte-Mère-Église — House on Fire at Sainte-Mère-Église|
|Ici emplacement de la maison
incendiée le 5–6 juin 1944
Here stood the house that
was afire on 5–6 June 1944 — Map (db m59769) HM|
|France, Basse-Normandie (Manche Départment), Saint-Lô — Thomas D. Howie — Le Major de Saint-Lô — 12 Abril 1908 – 17 Juillet 1944|
|Commandant le 3e Battalion, 116e Régiment D'Infanterie, 29e Division U.S.A.
Tombé a la téte de ses troupes en libérant notre ville au cri de ralliement... a Saint-Lô!
Thomas D. Howie, The Major of Saint-Lo, April 12, 1908 – July 17, 1944.
Commander of the 3rd Battalion, 116th Infantry Regiment, 29th Division, U.S.A.
He fell at the head of his troops during the liberation of our city. The rallying cry ... “to Saint-Lo!” — Map (db m9461) HM|
|France, Champagne-Ardenne (Marne Département), Reims — Edmond Marin la Meslée|
|Ici, au numéro 9 de cette rue, a vécu Edmond Marin la Meslée. As des as de la Campagne de France 1939-1940, affecté en 1937 sur la base aérienne 112, au Group de Chasse 1/5. Mort au Champ d'Honneur en Alsace le 4 Février 1945. Il fut choisi en 1953 pour donner son nom à l base Aérienne de Reims.
Here at number 9 in this street lived Edmond Marin la Meslée. Fighter pilot a of the French 1939-1940 campaign. In 1937 he was assigned to Air Base 112, in fighter pilot section 1/5. A war hero, he . . . — Map (db m85691) HM WM|
|France, Haute-Normandie (Seine-Maritime Départment), Étretat — Étretat|
Où pendant la guerre 1914 - 1918
fonctionnèrent un hôpital britannique,
puis un hôpital américain,
où reposent pour toujours
549 combattants britanniques
de la première guerre mondiale,
où, le 2 septembre 1944,
arriva en libératrice
la 51e division de Highlanders
des armées du Général Eisenhower,
et où fut installé, en 1945,
le “Pall Mall Camp” américain,
a la Grande-Bretagne
et les États-Unis d’Amérique . . . — Map (db m58948) HM|
|France, Île-de-France (Paris), Paris — A la Memoire des Cheminots de la Region du Nord — Paris North Station Railwaymen War Memorial|
|Left panelA la Memoire
des 1210 Cheminots
Region du Nord
Victimes de la Guerre
1914 – 1918
Morts au Champ d'Honneur
Morts en Pays Envahi
Morts en Captivite
Tues par Faits de Guerre
In memory of the 1210 Railwaymen from the Paris North Station, victims of World War I in battle and during captivity.
Right panelA la Memoire
des 1908 Cheminots
Region du Nord
Victimes de la Guerre . . . — Map (db m85006) WM|
|France, Île-de-France (Paris), Paris — A Tous Les Français — (To All the French )|
|La France a perdu un bataille!
Mais la France n’a pas perdu la guerre!
Des gouvernants de rencontre ont pu capituler, cédant à la panique, oubliant l’honneur, livrant le pays à le servitude. Cependant, rien n’est perdu!
Rien n’est perdu, parce que cette guerre est une guerre mondiale. Dans l’univers libre, des forces immenses n’ont pas encore donne. Un jour, ces forces écraseront l’ennemi. Il faut que le France, ce jour-la, soit présente à la victoire. Alors, elle retrouvera sa liberte et sa . . . — Map (db m61542) HM WM|
|France, Île-de-France (Paris), Paris — André Perrin|
|Ici fut tue par les S.S, le 19 aout 1944 le gardien de la paix Perrin, André|
(English translation by Google Translate with modifications:)
Here was killed by the SS, August 19, 1944 the Peacekeeper André Perrin — Map (db m61540) WM
|France, Île-de-France (Paris), Paris — Centre français de rapatriement|
|Entre avril et août 1945, un grand nombre de rescapés des camps de prisonniers, des camps de concentration, des camps de travail forcé, tous victimes du nazisme, furent a leur retour accueillis dans la gare d’Orsay, le plus important centre français de rapatriement.|
(English translation by Google Translate with modifications:)
Center of French Repatriation
Between April and August 1945, a large number of survivors of prison camps, concentration camps, forced labor camps, all victims . . . — Map (db m61633) HM
|France, Île-de-France (Paris), Paris — Jewish Student Memorial|
|A la mémoire des élèves du cette école, déportés de 1942 a 1944 parce que nés juifs, victimes innocentes de la barbarie nazie et du gouvernement de vichy.
Plus de 300 enfants du 9ème Arrondissement on été exterminés dans les camps de la mort.
In memory of the students of this school, deported between 1942 and 1944 because they were born Jews, innocent victims of Nazi barbarity and the Vichy government.
More than 300 children of the 9th Arrondissement . . . — Map (db m85289) WM|
|France, Île-de-France (Paris), Paris — Le Drapeau Tricolore — [The French Flag]|
|Ici, le 25 Août 1944
Aux ordertaine du Capitaine Sarniguet, les sergents Henri Duriauz, Pierre Noël, le caporal Charles Rouard, les sapeurs Marcel Conversy, André Taillefer, du Regiment de Sapeurs-Pompiers de Paris ont hissé le drapeau tricolore dans la capitale encore occupée.|
(Translated by Google Translate with modifications:)
Here, August 25, 1944
Ordered by Captain Sarniguet, sergeants Duriauz Henri, Pierre Noël, Corporal Charles Rouard, firefighters Conversy Marcel, André . . . — Map (db m60917) HM
|France, Île-de-France (Paris), Paris — Libération de Paris — 15 août - 28 août 1944|
|Ce bâtiment, siège de la Préfecture de police, a été, le samedi 19 août 1944, le lieu du déclenchement de l'insurrection des Parisiens contre l'armée d'occupation allemande à l'initiative des mouvements de résistance de la police. Pendant plusieurs jours, des combats meurtriers se déroulent autour de cet immeuble et dans les rues de Paris où policiers, sapeurs-pompiers et gardes républicains, avec leurs camarades FFI et FTP, combattent l'occupant. 167 policiers perdent la vie lors de ces . . . — Map (db m85028) HM|
|France, Île-de-France (Paris), Paris — Ludovic Jacquinot|
|Dans cette maison l'Adjudant Ludovic Jacquinot du groupe des anges est tombe glorieusement le 26 aout 1944
In this house. Adjutant Ludovic Jacquinot, one of the “group of angels,” fell gloriously on August 26, 1944 — Map (db m85310) WM|
|France, Île-de-France (Paris), Paris — Marcel Rey|
|Le 19 août 1944 le brigadier des gardiens de la paix Rey Marcel est tombé ici pour la liberation de Paris|
(English translation by Google Translate with modifications:)
August 19, 1944 the Brigadier of Guardians of the Peace Marcel Rey fell here for the Liberation of Paris — Map (db m61539) WM
|France, Île-de-France (Paris), Paris — The Students of France|
|Le 11 Novembre 1940
devant la tombe de l’Inconnu
Les Etudiants de France
manifestant en masse
résistèrent à l’occupant|
(Translated by Google Translate with modifications:)
11 November 1940 before the tomb of the Unknown [Soldier] the students of France demonstrated the first mass resistance the occupant — Map (db m60915) HM
|France, Languedoc-Roussillon (Hérault Départment), Beziers — [Gare du Beziers] — 1942 – 1945|
|D’ici plus de 3000 ressortissants de notre department ont été contraints de partir pour le travail force en Allemagne
En souvenir des deportes du travail morts en exil
Victimes du Nazisme
L’association des D.T. de Béziers
23 mars 1947|
[Translation by Google Tranlate (with modifications):
1942 - 1945
From here more than 3000 citizens of our department were forced to leave for forced labor in Germany
In memory of the deported workers who died in exile work
Victims of Nazism
The . . . — Map (db m60254) HM
|France, Languedoc-Roussillon (Hérault Départment), Beziers — Beziers Citizens Murdered|
|Ici le 20 Aout 1944 avant-veille de libération de Béziers dix biterrois paisibles furent assassines par les hordes Nazies en fuite|
Translation by Google Translate (with modifications):
Here, on August 20, 1944, two days before the liberation of Béziers, ten peaceful Beziers citizens were murdered by the fleeing Nazi hordes. — Map (db m60209) HM
|France, Languedoc-Roussillon (Hérault Départment), Capestang — Rafle Du 9 Juin 1944 — [Roundup of 9 June 1944]|
|Sur cette place, le 9 Juin 1944, 179 hommes de 18 à 40 ans furent rassemblés puis transférés en Allemagne par des SS qui avaient investi le village en représailles et déjà abattu Pierre Marty près de la route basse de Poilhes.
Parmi eus, Joseph Leibowitz n’en revint pas.
Le 6, un convoi de résistants du secteur Poilhes-Capestang avait été intercepté à Fontjun (5 tués, 5 blessés côté français)
Le 7, 18 patriotes arrêtés, interrogés, torturés, avaient été fusillés sur le Champ de Mars à . . . — Map (db m60054) HM|
|France, Midi-Pyrénées (Haute-Garonne Départment), Toulouse — Train Fantôme — [Ghost Train]|
|Le juillet 1944, alors que la France se libérait, 580 internés du camp du Vernet d’Ariège et de la prision Saint-Michel – la plupart résistants originaires de toute l’Europe – partirent de Toulouse, sous escorte nazie, dans le tristement célèbre Train Fantôme.
Entassés dans des wagons à bestiaux, regroupés à Bordeaux le 9 août 1944 avec 155 autres résistants du Sud-Ouest, ces déportés arrivèrent au camp de concentration de Dachau le 28 août 1944, au terme de deux mois de transport . . . — Map (db m60288) HM|
|France, Midi-Pyrénées (Haute-Garonne Départment), Toulouse — Un Convoi de Déportation de Résistants — Le 30 juillet 1944|
|Le 30 juillet 1944
Un convoi de déportation de résistants Et d’au moins 166 juifs, dont 26 enfants, a quitté la caserne cafarelli à Toulouse a destination des camps de concentration De Buchenwald pour les hommes, De Ravensbrück pour les femmes et les enfants, Souvenez-vous des victimes De la barbarie nazie
l’Association des Fils et Filles des Déportés Juifs de France.
30 juillet 2004|
[Translation by Google Translates (with modifcations):
July 30, 1944
A . . . — Map (db m60289) HM
|France, Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur (Var Département), Aups — Aux Enfants d’Aups Mort pour la France|
|Aux Enfants d’Aups
Mort pour la France
(English: The children of Aups, died for France)
Abeille, Francois • Archier, Jules • Armelin, Jules • Auzende, Marius • Aymes, Frederic • Bagarry, Francois • Bagarry, Gustave • Bernard, Henri • Bernard, Louis • Blanc, Eugene • Boeuf, Jules • Boniot, Margelin • Borme, Gasimir • Bounic, Louis • Bonic, Lucien • Bourjac, Edouard • Bourjac, Leon Ed • Cablat, Jean • Carvonnel, Jn Bte • Chauvin, Albert • Chauvin, Marius • Chiapello, Leonge • Constantin, . . . — Map (db m61680) WM|
|France, Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur (Var Département), Aups — L’insurrection de 1851 — The Insurrection of 1851 — On the Heritage Path|
|(This marker and monument has three parts; The L'insurrection de 1851 marker, the monument to the insurrectionists, and a monument to the local Aups' victims of WWII.)
Sur les Chemins du Patrimoine
L’attachement des Varois pour la république et la démocratie s’illustre dans ce monument, édifié en 1881. Il commémore l’épisode crucial de la résistance varoise au coup d’état du 2 décembre 1851, lorsque Louis Napoléon Bonaparte, président non rééligible de la république française depuis 1848, a . . . — Map (db m61676) HM WM|
|France, Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur (Var Département), Pontevès — Passants, Recueillez-vous — Aux Heros et Martyrs Tombes au Bessillon 27 Juillet 1944|
|(This marker/monument has two panels)
Ici, le 27 Juillet 1944, dix patriotes Résistants enfermés à la prison de Brignoles furent emmenés et maltraités par les nazis qui les chargèrent d’explosifs dans le but de faire sauter le «Jas du Bessillon» pensant qu’il abritait le masquisards. Leur tâche terminées, sur le chemin du retour, ils furent lâchement assassinés a 2 km d’ici au lieu dit «Ste Catherine».
Ce même jour dans le maquis du Bessillon les F.T.P.F du camp «Battaglia» 1ère compagnie de . . . — Map (db m61776) HM WM|
|France, Rhône-Alpes (Drôme Département), Allan — On August 27th, 1944, at Allan... — Le 27 Aout 1944, a Allan...|
Le 27 Aout 1944, a Allan neuf soldats americains de la 3eme Division D'Infanterie des Etats-Unis ont donne leur vie pour la liberte
B Company, 756th Tank Battalion
1st Lt. Edgar R. Danby
Cpl. Steve Vargo
Pbt. Dual F. Dishner
L Company, 15th Infantry Regiment
T/Sgt. Donald M. Bowman
Cpl. William F. Leaman
Pfc. James T. Doolin
Pfc. James J. Lovascio
Pfc. Norval A. Monroe
Pfc. Louis Polonsky
Leur sacrifice n'est pas oublie par ceux qui passent ici . . . — Map (db m68910) HM WM|
|Germany, Bavaria, Bamberg — Bamberg's World War II Fallen and Missing — Bamberg Gedenktafel Tote des 2. Weltkriegs|
|[Marker text in German:]
Im Weltkrieg 1939-1945 fielen aus der Stadt Bamberg 1992 getreue deutsche Soldaten an den Fronten Europas u. Afrikas. Durch Bombenangriff gaben ihr Leben für die Heimat 242 Männer, Frauen, und Kinder. Vermisst blieben 1642 Brüder und Schwestern. Wir gedenken ihrer in unauslösbarer Dankbarkeit.
[Marker text translated into English, more or less:]
In World War II, 1939-1945, from the city of Bamberg fell 1,942 faithful German soldiers at the fronts of . . . — Map (db m57829) HM|
|Germany, Bavaria, Bamberg — The Old Tollhouse — Alte Mauth|
[Marker text in German:]
Hier stand die
1944 - 1945
[Marker text translated into English:]
Here stood the Old Tollhouse. Destroyed by the effects of war, 1944-1945. — Map (db m58411) HM|
|Germany, Bavaria, Munich — Dachau Bomb Disposal Unit|
|Zum Gedenken an das Bombensuchkommando des KZ Dachau, das in der Zeit vom Juli 1944 bis April 1945 hier untergebracht war. Die SS zwang die Häftlinge unter Einsatz ihres Lebens, Bomben in München zu bergen und zu entschärfen. Zahllose Gefangene fanden dabei den Tod. Ihr Opfer ist uns Mahnung und Verpflichtung.
Landeshauptstadt München, Verein „zum Beispiel Dachau”
Translated, the marker reads:
In commemoration of the Dachau concentration camp bomb disposal unit, which was . . . — Map (db m22415) HM|
|Germany, Bavaria (Landkreis Schweinfurt), Gerolzhofen — The Decline of the Jewish Community of Gerolzhofen from January 30, 1933 — Niedergang der Jüdische Gemeinde Gerolzhofen ab 30. Januar 1933|
[Marker text in German:]
Urkundlich nachweisbar genehmigte im Jahr 1425 Fürstbischof Johann II v. Brunn die Ansässigmachung von Juden in Gerolzhofen. Viele jüdische Mitbürger engagierten sich im öffentlichen Leben und genossen Vertrauen und Anerkennung bei Ihren Mitbürgern. Nach ca. 500 Jahren horte die jüdische Gemeinde von Gerolzhofen auf zu existieren.
[Marker text translated into English, more or less:] The first known mention of the presence of Jews in Gerolzhofen is . . . — Map (db m58963) HM|
|Germany, Berlin — Checkpoint Charlie Site|
| [Panel 1:] During the time Germany and Berlin were divided by THE WALL, the sign which symbolizes world history was standing here: The victorious powers of World War II and the two Germanies confronted each other here, and the Western powers defended the fundamental rights of the special Berlin-Status until the confrontation between USA/USSR tanks. This sign is a copy. The original sign still exists and can be seen in the Haus am Checkpoint Charlie – 40 meters from here. . . . — Map (db m56213) HM|
|Germany, Berlin — Soviet War Memorial — Tiergarten|
| Вечный славу
героев, которые входят
в борьбе против немецко
-фашистских . . . — Map (db m57182) HM|
|Germany, Berlin — The Legend of Hitler’s Bunker — Mythos und Geschichtszeugnis »Führerbunker«|
| [English text:]
The Legend of Hitler’s Bunker
Some of the greatest legends of our time are intertwined with the so-called Fuehrer’s Bunker. At the same time, this bunker was just one of many in the government quarter around Wilhelmstraße and did not even have the capacity of a typical public air raid shelter. In hindsight its size has quite often been mis- or overrepresented.
Chronology 1935 – 1942
During the rebuilding of a diplomats reception hall in the Old . . . — Map (db m83473) HM|
|Germany, Rhineland-Palatinate (Landkreis Ahrweiler), Remagen — In Recognition 99th Infantry Division United States Army|
99th Infantry Division
United States Army
"Checkerboard" • "Battle Babies"
The first complete Infantry Division to cross the Rhine
Remagen - Erpel
March 10-11, 1945
This plaque Erected By 99th Infantry Division Association — Map (db m82585) HM WM|
|Germany, Thuringia (Weimarer Land Kreis (District)), Buchenwald Memorial — "Blood Road" / „Blutstraße”|
Access to Buchenwald Concentration Camp was initially gained by way of a narrow forest road which had served traffic over Ettersberg Mountain for centuries. Its reconstruction as an eight-metre-wide concrete road began in the summer of 1938. The road construction firm Zindt in Gotha was in charge of the project planning and realization. As many as two hundred inmates worked under the company's supervision at a time. Hundreds of inmates - chiefly Jews - hauled stones for the subbase from . . . — Map (db m76930) HM|
|Germany, Thuringia (Weimarer Land Kreis (District)), Buchenwald Memorial — "Goethe's Oak" / „Goethe-Eiche”|
Position of the "Goethe's Oak"
Standort der „Goethe-Eiche”
[French and Russian text not translated] — Map (db m76562) HM|
|Germany, Thuringia (Weimarer Land Kreis (District)), Buchenwald Memorial — Barrack / Baracke — built after 1945 / nach 1945|
This barrack has been mistaken for the seat of the "Political Department" for a long time.
"Political Department" was the name of the Gestapo branch office (secret state police) located in a wooden barrack behind this building and destroyed during the air-raid in August 1944.
Lange fãlschlich für den Sitz der „Politischen Abteilung” gehalten.
Die Zweigstelle der Geheimen Staatspolizei (Gestapo), Politische Abteilung . . . — Map (db m76521) HM|
|Germany, Thuringia (Weimarer Land Kreis (District)), Buchenwald Memorial — British and Canadian Military Victims of Buchenwald|
In honour of the memory of the members of the British and Canadian Forces murdered in Buchenwald Concentration Camp. The lives of four British patriots were saved by the solidarity of German antifascists.
They were all imprisoned in Block 17.
[German and Russian text not transcribed] — Map (db m76558) HM WM|
|Germany, Thuringia (Weimarer Land Kreis (District)), Buchenwald Memorial — Bulgarian Political Prisoners / Bulgarische politische Häftlinge|
Memorial stone (placed) 1970
The translation of the Cyrillic inscription reads:
Bulgarian political prisoners of the concentration camps. From the Dachau, Radeberg, Buchenwald camps. Former students from Dresden and Bratislava.
Die Übersetzung der kyrillischen Inschrift lautet: Block 45
Bulgarische politische Häftlinge der Konzentrationslager. Aus den Lagern Dachau, Radeberg, Buchenwald. . . . — Map (db m76730) HM|
|Germany, Thuringia (Weimarer Land Kreis (District)), Buchenwald Memorial — Camp Fence and the Watchtowers 3, 4 and 5, April 1945 — Lagerzaun und Wachtürme 3, 4 und 5, April 1945|
[Title is text]
[French and Russian text not transcribed] — Map (db m76920) HM|
|Germany, Thuringia (Weimarer Land Kreis (District)), Buchenwald Memorial — Camp Headquarters / Lagerkommandantur — built in 1937 / erbaut 1937 — Fragment of the central part / Fragment des Mittelteils|
Camp Headquarters was the office of the camp commandants Karl Koch (1937-1941) and Hermann Pister (1942-1945) and of the commandant's staff. The wooden barrack of the adjutant's office originally formed the western wing of the building. The extensions were built at the beginning of the 1950s.
Sitz der Lagerkommandanten Karl Koch (1937-1941) und Hermann Pister (1942-1945) und des Kommandanturstabes. Den westlichen Flügel bildete . . . — Map (db m76529) HM|
|Germany, Thuringia (Weimarer Land Kreis (District)), Buchenwald Memorial — Camp Road / Lagerstraße|
Camp road between blocks (stone barracks), SS photograph, 1943
Lagerstraße zwischen Steinblocks, SS-Foto 1943
[French and Russian text not transcribed] — Map (db m76729) HM|
|Germany, Thuringia (Weimarer Land Kreis (District)), Buchenwald Memorial — Crematorium / Krematorium — built 1940-1942 / erbaut 1940-1942|
In view of the growing numbers of dead, the SS had a crematorium built in 1940 and extended in 1942. The company Topf & Söhne from Erfurt, developed and delivered the crematorium ovens. About 1,110 people were strangled in the Corpse Cellar.
Angesichts wachsender Totenzahlen ließ die SS 1940 ein Krematorium errichten und 1942 ausbauen. Die Erfurter Firma Topf & Söhne entwickelte und lieferte die Verbrennungsöfen. Im Leichenkeller . . . — Map (db m76539) HM WM|
|Germany, Thuringia (Weimarer Land Kreis (District)), Buchenwald Memorial — Depot / Kammergebäude — built in 1939/40 • erbaut 1939/40|
This depot as used by the SS to store the civilian clothing and personal possessions of the inmates, as well as the uniforms, shoes and metal eating utensils used in the camp. The inmates were sent by the tens of thousands from the railway station through the camp gate to the disinfection building and the depot. Most of them then landed in the "Little Camp", to be sent on from there to one of the arms production commandos. There were thousands of adolescents and children among them. One of . . . — Map (db m76565) HM|
|Germany, Thuringia (Weimarer Land Kreis (District)), Buchenwald Memorial — Dog Compound / Hundezwinger|
Dog compound of the SS military command headquarters, built in 1938
Hundezwinger des SS-Kommandanturstabes, erbaut 1938
[French and Russian text not transcribed] — Map (db m76927) HM|
|Germany, Thuringia (Weimarer Land Kreis (District)), Buchenwald Memorial — Ernst Thälmann|
The great son of the German people,
the leader the German working class
on 18th August 1944
at this point of fascism
dem grossen sohn des Deutschen volkes,
dem führer der Deutschen Arbeitklasse
der am 18. august 1944
an dieser stelle vom faschismus
This . . . — Map (db m76540) HM WM|
|Germany, Thuringia (Weimarer Land Kreis (District)), Buchenwald Memorial — Female Victims of Buchenwald|
No one said farewell
No one erected a cross or a stone
but they live
as long as people remember
the more than 27,000 women and girls
from over 30 countries who in 1944 and 1945
were detainees in 27 outside
sub-camps of Buchenwald
used as slave labor victims of Nazi violence
and the death marches
Non omnis moriar [Not all die]
Niemand nahm abschied
niemand errichtete ein kreuz oder
einen stein doch ihr . . . — Map (db m76557) HM|
|Germany, Thuringia (Weimarer Land Kreis (District)), Buchenwald Memorial — Gate building / Torgebäude|
Title is text
[French and Russian text not translated] — Map (db m76531) HM|
|Germany, Thuringia (Weimarer Land Kreis (District)), Buchenwald Memorial — Guard Path of the SS Guard Detail — Postenweg der SS-Wachmannschaften|
Measuring three kilometres in length, the asphalt-covered guard path was an important element of the concentration camp surveillance system. At night, after the SS had left the camp, guards patrolled between the twenty-two watchtowers located along the path at intervals of about one hundred metres. Every morning before the work gangs marched out through the camp gate, the guard path was expanded to form a "big sentry line" comprising over fifty double sentries and surrounding the camp, the . . . — Map (db m76921) HM|
|Germany, Thuringia (Weimarer Land Kreis (District)), Buchenwald Memorial — Inmates' Laundry and "Goethe Oak" — Häftlingswäscherei und „Goethe-Eiche" — Photograph, June 1944 / Foto Juni 1944|
Photo taken secretly by the French inmate Georges Angeli
Insgeheim von dem französischen Häftling Georges Angeli aufgenommen
[French and Russian text not transcribed] — Map (db m76559) HM|
|Germany, Thuringia (Weimarer Land Kreis (District)), Buchenwald Memorial — Inmates’ living quarters / Häftlingsunterkünfte|
photograph, April 1945 / Foto April 1945
[French and Russian text not transcribed] — Map (db m76537) HM WM|
|Germany, Thuringia (Weimarer Land Kreis (District)), Buchenwald Memorial — Jewish Memorial / Jüdisches Mahnmal|
[Title is text - French and Russian text not transcribed]
“So that the generation to come might know, the children, yet to be born, that they too may rise and declare to their children.” (Psalm 78:6) — Map (db m80867) HM WM|
|Germany, Thuringia (Weimarer Land Kreis (District)), Buchenwald Memorial — National Buchenwald Memorial — Nationale Mahn- und Gedenkstätte Buchenwald|
Die vernichtung des Nazismus mit seinen wurzeln ist unsere losung
Der aufbau einer neuen welt des friedens und der freiheit ist unser ziel
The destruction of Nazism and its roots
is our slogan
The construction of a new world of
peace and freedom is our goal — Map (db m76953) HM|
|Germany, Thuringia (Weimarer Land Kreis (District)), Buchenwald Memorial — Polish Patriots / Polischen Patrioten|
In October 1939, 2098 Polish patriots came to this special camp. 1650 died in 5 months. 123 were locked in a barbed wire cage where after 12 days they froze and starved to death. They suffered and died for the freedom of Poland.
Im Oktober 1939 kamen 2098 Polnische patrioten in dieses sonderlager. 1650 starben in 5 monaten. 123 wurden in einen stacheldrahtkäfig gesperrt, in dem sie nach 12 tagen erfroren und verhungerten. Sie . . . — Map (db m76538) HM WM|
|Germany, Thuringia (Weimarer Land Kreis (District)), Buchenwald Memorial — Sinti and Roma Memorial / Sinti und Roma Denkmal|
Memorial to murdered Sinti and Romany Gypsies
Denkmal für die ermordete Sinti und Roma
[French and Russian text not transcribed]
In memory of Sinti and Roma victims of Nazi Holocaust
Zum gedenken an die Sinti und Roma, die Opfer des NS-Völkermords wurden — Map (db m76813) HM|
|Germany, Thuringia (Weimarer Land Kreis (District)), Buchenwald Memorial — Soviet Prisoners of War / Sowjetische Kriegsgefangene|
Site of the camp for Soviet prisoners of war, 1941-1945
Gelände des lagers für sowjetische Kriegsgefangene, 1941-1945
[French and Russian text not transcribed] — Map (db m76862) HM WM|
|Germany, Thuringia (Weimarer Land Kreis (District)), Buchenwald Memorial — Soviet Prisoners of War Memorial — Sowjetische Kriegsgefangene Denkmal|
Block 1 • 7 • 13 • 19 • 25 • 30
Lager sowjetischer kriegsgefangener. Allem völkerrecht zum hohn wurden sowjetische soldaten in Buchenwald gefangengehalten. Neben schwerster arbeit wurden sie grausam gequalt und viele starben. trotz solidarischer hilfe durch die politischen gefangenen an erschöpfung und hunger.
Block 1 • 7 • 13 • 19 • 25 • 30
Soviet prisoners of war camp. All international law was scorned for Soviet . . . — Map (db m76865) HM WM|
|Germany, Thuringia (Weimarer Land Kreis (District)), Buchenwald Memorial — SS Guard Detachment Barracks — Kaserne der SS-Wachmannschaften|
The barracks of the SS guard detachment, built in 1937/38
Temporary infirmary, April/May 1945
On April 15, 1945, the 120th Evacuation Hospital of the 3rd United States Army arrived in Buchenwald Concentration Camp. Their mission was to give medical assistance to the approximately 20,000 prisoners left here after the liberation of the camp.
The presence of piles of dead bodies and the lack of sanitation were just a few of the problems to be addressed as they began to treat the . . . — Map (db m76929) HM|
|Germany, Thuringia (Weimarer Land Kreis (District)), Buchenwald Memorial — SS Guard Detail Splinter Protection Trench — Splitterschutzgraben der SS-Wachmannschaften|
[Title is text]
[French and Russian text not transcribed] — Map (db m76916) HM|
|Germany, Thuringia (Weimarer Land Kreis (District)), Buchenwald Memorial — Stake and Cart / Pfahl und Karren — (reconstruction) / (Rekonstruktion)|
Means of punishment and work
Straf- und Arbeitsmittel
[French and Russian text not transcribed] — Map (db m76556) HM|
|Germany, Thuringia (Weimarer Land Kreis (District)), Buchenwald Memorial — Storage Cellar / Vorratskeller|
Storage cellar of the inmates' kitchen,
built in 1938/39
Vorratskeller der Häftlingsküche,
[French and Russian text not translated] — Map (db m76560) HM|
|Greece, Kalymnos (peripheral unit) (Pátmos Municipality), Skala Village — Liberation of Patmos — Capt. Terence Bruce Mitford|
| [Marker text printed in both Greek and English scripts:] Erected by the Community of Patmos
to commemorate the 60th anniversary of the Liberation of the Island, 10 February 1944
by Terence Bruce Mitford
Captain, Special Boat Services
February 2004 — Map (db m43136) HM|
|Ireland, Connacht (County Mayo), Murrisk — Squadron Leader R. F. C. Garvey|
In loving memory of
R.F.C. Garvey D.F.C. & Bar
Only son of J.C. & Gladys Garvey
Born at Murrisk Abbey 11th July 1918
Killed in a flying accident
at Shawbury, England,
on 14th January 1948 & buried there
Dearly loved — Map (db m28259) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — The "Three Fates"|
| This fountain, erected in 1956, is situated near the Leeson Street entrance to the park. It consists of a group of three bronze figures – Nornenbrunnen, representing the Three Fates, who weave and measure the thread of man's destiny.
The monument was the gift of the German Federal Republic to mark its appreciation of the help and generosity of the Irish people during the time of distress and hardship after the Second World War. The work was designed by the Bavarian Sculptor, Professor . . . — Map (db m25306) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Longford), Longford — County Longford Great War Memorial — 1914 - 1918|
| [Northeast Face]
To Perpetuate the Memory
of the 284 Gallant Soldiers
of the County Longford
who fell in the Great World War.
This Cross was erected by
the generous subscriptions of
their sorrowing relatives,
comrades and sympathisers.
R. I. P.
[Handwritten note hanging below reads:]
In memory of the 325 Longford men and women
who died in World Wars One and Two
and other conflicts
R. I. P.
Those loving Heroes
good and . . . — Map (db m27355) HM|
|Israel, Jerusalem District, Jerusalem — Gethsemane|
Garden of Olives
Jesus went out with his disciples across the Kidron valley to a place where there was a garden, which he and his disciples entered. (Gospel of John 18:1)
“Gethsemane, a place where the Savior prayed before the passion. It is at the foot of the Mount of Olives, and today the faithful eagerly go to pray there.” (Eusebius of Caesarea: end of 3rd Cent. A.D.)
Campus Florum (since 13th Cent. A.D.) – ‘Flower Garden’
Old Olive Trees . . . — Map (db m44596) HM|
|Italy, South Tyrol, Ortisei — Ortisei War Memorial|
|This marker is in three languages; Ladin, the local language of South Tyrol, German and Italian.
La capela di turnei foya unida fata su do la Prima Gran Viera sciche luech de lecort per i 96 saudeies dla pluania de Urtijëi turnei o nia plu ruvei a cësa. Do la Segonda Gran Viera fova unic juntei pro i 83 inuemes de saudeies tumei o nia plu ruvei de reviers danter l 1939 y l 1945. La ciampana sun chësta capela ie na copia dl „cuse da Sacun”, coche chëi de Ghërdeina ti a . . . — Map (db m69172) HM WM|
|Kiribati, Tarawa, Betio — Battle of Tarawa Memorial — U.S. Marines War Memorial|
|Marker front, upper plaque:
2nd Marine Division
United States Marine Corps
Battle of Tarawa
November 20, 1943
To our fellow Marines who gave their all!
The world is free because of you!
God rest your souls
1,113 killed 2,290 wounded
The Central Pacfic spearhead
To world victory in World War II
Marker front, lower plaque:
To the People of Kiribati
“During World War II, many lives were . . . — Map (db m85150) WM|
|New Zealand, Auckland, Auckland CBD — Lord Freyberg Statue|
|Lord Freyberg V.C., G.C.M.G., K.C.B., K.B.E., D.S.O.
1889 – 1963
Commander of the Second New Zealand Division 1939 – 1945
Governor-General of New Zealand 1946 – 1952
This memorial has been donated by returned servicemen to the citizens of metropolitan Auckland in appreciation of their continuing generosity. — Map (db m83526) HM|
|Philippines, Cavite Province, Corregidor Island — "For the Repose of Souls" — Japanese Memorial Garden — 鎮魂|
| [Text in Japanese Kanji:]
This monument is dedicated to the souls of the Filipino, American and Japanese, soldiers whose lives were given in a battle which occurred here on May 5, 1942, when our regiment of the 4th Division landed on this island. We ardently pray for the eternal repose of their souls and everlasting peace throughout the world. May 5, 1991.
Wakayama 61st Infantry Regiment War Comrades Union, Japan. — Map (db m64111) HM WM|
|Philippines, Cavite Province, Corregidor Island — "Tribute to the Brave Heroes" — Japanese Memorial Garden|
| [Text in Japanese Kanji]
In remembrance of the 4,500 fallen comrades in arms of the Japanese defense battalion commanded by Captain Akira Tagaki, the senior commander, composed of : 0-4 Squadron Troop 330 31st Naval Special Resistance Combat Team 1st Special Infantry Battalion 17th Volunteer Naval Battalion 10th Aerial Information Regiment 32nd Field Artillery Regiment
And in tribute to the gallantry of the Filipinos, Americans, and Japanese soldiers who fought and died for a . . . — Map (db m64039) HM WM|
|Philippines, Cavite Province, Corregidor Island — 503rd Airborne- "The Rock Force" -Memorial|
| Marker panel 1 on top of monument:
”I see the old flagpole still stands. Have your troops hoist the colors to its peak, and let no enemy ever haul them down.”
These historic words were spoken by General Douglas MacArthur near the site of this memorial on 2 March 1945 after the recapture of Corregidor by the 503rd Parachute Regimental Combat Team. The “Rock Force” commander, Colonel George M. Jones in the presence of his regiment saluted and said in a clear . . . — Map (db m66173) WM|
|Philippines, Cavite Province, Corregidor Island — Corregidor — Monument to Peace, Human Valor and International Understanding|
| Corregidor derived its name from Corregimiento or “Municipal District”. About 1225 the island became a stronghold for Chinese pirates until the latter were driven by the Moros. Became Spanish possession, 1570, when Spaniards arrived in Manila from Panay. Occupied by the Dutch, 1600. Recaptured by the Spaniards as a fortification besides being used as lighthouse, dockyard, naval convalescent hospital, penal colony, and checking point for ships to have their papers corrected. . . . — Map (db m63652) HM WM|
|Philippines, Cavite Province, Corregidor Island — General Jonathan M. Wainwright Memorial|
[Portrait of General Wainwright]
General Jonathan M. Wainwright
1883 to 1953
HERO OF BATAAN
Medal of Honor Citation
“General Jonathan M. Wainwright, 02131, commanding United States
Army Forces in the Philippines from 12 March to 7 May 1942.
He distinguished himself by intrepid and determined leadership against greatly
superior enemy forces. At the repeated risk of life above and beyond the call of duty
in his position he frequented . . . — Map (db m63575) WM|
|Philippines, Cavite Province, Corregidor Island — Malinta Tunnel|
| Begun in 1922 and substantially completed in 1932, the tunnel complex consisted of east-west passage measuring 836 ft. long by 24 ft. wide 13 laterals on its north side and 11 laterals on the south side. Reinforced with concrete walls. Floor and overhead arches with blowers to furnish fresh air and a double-track electric car line along the main tunnel, Malinta provided bombproof shelter for the 1000 bed hospital, MacArthur’s USAFFE headquarters, shops and vast labyrinth storehouse during the . . . — Map (db m63648) HM WM|
|Philippines, Cavite Province, Corregidor Island — To the Angels — U.S. Army Nurse Corps – U.S. Navy Nurse Corps — THE ANGELS OF BATAAN AND CORREGIDOR|
In honor of the valiant American military women who gave so much of themselves in the early days of World War II, they provided care and comfort to the gallant defenders of Bataan and Corregidor, they lived on a starvation diet, shared the bombing, strafing, sniping, sickness and disease while working endless hours of heartbreaking duty, these nurses always had a smile, a tender touch and a kind word for their patients, they truly earned the name:
THE ANGELS OF BATAAN AND CORREGIDOR . . . — Map (db m64032) HM WM|
|Philippines, Laguna, Los Baños — Pook ng Bilangguang Kampo sa Los Baños — "Los Baños Internment Camp"|
| Panel 1: Pook ng Bilangguang Kampo sa Los Baños Ginamit ng mga Hapones bilang bilangguang kampo para sa mga bihag na Amerikano at ibang banyaga noong 1943. Nilusob ng pinagsanib na pangkat ng gerilyang Filipino mula sa mga kasapi ng ROTC Hunters, Hukbalahap ika-48 iskwadron tsino. Sariling Pangkat ni Pangulong Quezon, Pangkat Marking, at iba pang di-regular na tropa noong 23 Pebrero 1945. Ang pinagsanib na puwersa ay inorganisa ni Tinyente Koronel Gustavo Ingles na kasapi ng Hunters at . . . — Map (db m63618) HM WM|
|Philippines, Leyte (Palo), Palo City — Leyte Landing/Paglunsad sa Leyte|
| Panel 1 (Text in Filipino):
Sa pook na ito sa Palo, Leyte nagbalik sa Filipinas si Heneral Douglas MacArthur noong 20 Oktubre 1944 at personal na nanguna sa mabilisang pagtataboy sa hukbong Hapones na nasa Pilipinas. Ang Pangulong Sergio Osmeña at ilang kagawad ng nagdestiyerong pamahalaan ay dumating kasamg ni Hen. MacArthur at kumilos para sa muling pagtatatag, pagpapanumbalik, at pangangasiwa sa pamahalaang Komonwelt ng Filipinas. Ipinahayag ng pambansang tandang . . . — Map (db m63620) HM WM|
|Philippines, Manila, Ermita — In Memory of the Victims of Military Sexual Slavery during the Second World War|
|This historical marker is being offered in memory of the Filipina victims of Japanese Military sexual slavery during the Second World War.
During the Japanese occupation of the Philippines approximately 1,000 women became victims of military sexual slavery by the Japanese imperial army.
All over the country, in these "Comfort Stations" or sites were the institutional and organized rape and abuse of women by the Japanese military were committed.
Through this historical marker. A . . . — Map (db m62969) HM|
|Philippines, Manila, Ermita — Manila Metropolitan Theater|
|In Tagalog: Nagsimula bilang isang pambansang tanghalan ayon sa disenyo ni arkitekto Juan Arellano. Pinasinayaan noong 1931. Naging tanghalan ng mga artistanf Pilipino at banyaga. Nagpalabas ng mga opera, pageant, at dulang Kastila at Ingles na isinalin sa Tagalog para sa mga Pilipino noong Ikalawang digmaang pandaigdig. Nasira nang bahagya, noong 1945. Ang gumuhong gusali ay naging tirahan ng mga squatter at pingalanang Besa boxing Arena. Ibinalik sa dating maringal na anyo noong 1978 . . . — Map (db m25090) HM|
|Philippines, Manila, Ermita — Philippine General Hospital — PGH|
|In Tagalog: Itinatag sa bisa ng Kautusan bilang 1688 ng Komisyon ng Pilipinas bilang dibisyon ng Kagawaran ng Kalusugan, 1907 sa pamamagitan ni Dean C. Worcester, inilagay ang Panukulang bato Disyembere 8, 1908; Natapos, Nobyembere 30,1909. Pinasinayaan Setyembre 10, 1910. Napasailalim ng Pampublikong Pagtuturo, 1933. Tanggapan ng Pangulo, Hulyo 1939. Ibinalik sa ilalim ng Pagtuturong Pampubliko noong panahon ng pananakop ng mga Hapones; Inilipat sa Philippine Civic affairs Unit noong . . . — Map (db m25078) HM|
|Philippines, Manila, Ermita — U.S. Forces Liberate Manila — To the Heroes of Manila|
|Late in the afternoon of February 3, 1945 two groups of the flying column of the 1st Cavalry Division, including the attached 44th Tank Battalion, entered Manila, with the first group taking possession of Malacanang Palaca and the second group liberating the American and other Allied civilian internees at the University of Santo Tomas. They were followed by the 37th Infantry Division, which rescued Allied civilian internees and prisoners of war at Bilibid prison. From the south the 11th . . . — Map (db m25228) HM|
|Philippines, Manila, Intramuros — Memorare-Manila 1945|
|This monument is erected in memory of the more than 100,000 defenseless civilians who were killed during the Battle for the Liberation of Manila between February 3 and March 3,1945. They were mainly victims of heinous acts perpetrated by the Japanese Imperial Forces and the casualties of the heavy artillery barrage by the American Forces. The Battle for Manila at the end of World War II was one of the most brutal episode in the history of Asia and the Pacific. The non-combatant victims of that . . . — Map (db m25517) HM|
|Philippines, Manila, Intramuros — No. 1 Victoria St.|
|On this site once stood the headquarters of General Douglas MacArthur commanding general of the United States Army Forces in the Far East (USAFFE)
Popularly known as "No. 1 Victoria St." it was located opposite the USAFFE headquarters at the Reducto San Pedro.
No. 1 Victoria was abandoned during the retreat of Filipino-American forces to Bataan and Corregidor in 1941. Used as Barracks by the Japanese occupation forces, it was destroyed during the Battle of Manila in 1945. — Map (db m25241) HM|
|Philippines, Manila, Intramuros — Plazuela de Santa Isabel — Plaza Sampalucan|
|Made part of Santa Isabel College which lacked an open space characteristic of Spanish buildings. Empty lot called Sampalucan along Calle Anda joined to enlarge plazuela in the 18th century.
Restored in 1983. Monument dedicated to the non-combatant victims of the last war erected in 1995 by Memorare Manila 1945. — Map (db m25164) HM|
|Philippines, Manila, Intramuros — The Jesuit Compound|
|This block was occupied by the Jesuits upon their arrival in 1581 until their expulsion in 1768. The Church of Santa Ana (1587), Colegio Maximo de San Ignacio (1595), Colegio de San Jose (1601), and the first church and convent of San Ignacio (1626) were built on this site. Built in 1590 and opened in 1596, Santa Ana was the first stone church in the Philippines. Destroyed in an earthquake. Another church constructed in 1626 in honor of St. Ignatius of Loyola.
The Colegio Maximo de San . . . — Map (db m25232) HM|
|Philippines, Metro Manila, Binondo — Filipino-Chinese World War II Martyrs Memorial|
| Marker Panels 1 and 2: on the north face of the memorial's base with text in Chinese and English [portions illegible] - listed units include: “Phil-Chinese Volunteer Corps”, “Anti-Jap[anese] & Puppets,"
"... Grand League, Squadrons", etc. Marker Panel 3: This memorial was erected on June 12, 1995 by Confederation of Filipino Chinese Veterans in remembering and honoring the anti-Japanese heroes who died in defense of our country during the Second World War . . . — Map (db m64666) WM|
|Philippines, Metro Manila, Binondo — Our Lady of the Most Holy Rosary Parish Church — Pilipino Parish — Plaza San Lorenzo Ruiz, Binondo, Manila|
| His Eminence, Jaime Cardinal Sin. D.D. Archbishop of Manila commissioned Very Rev. Msgr. Federico V. Navarro to start the restoration and reconstruction of this church on January 1977, which was finished in January 1984.
In May 9, 1985, the Cardinal blessed this church together with the new 3 story concrete parish center building and convent at the back of this church at Ongpin Street.
The restoration of this grand and beautiful antique church was made possible through the courage and . . . — Map (db m64588) HM|
|Philippines, Metro Manila, Sampaloc, Manila — Santo Tomas Internment Camp — Main Building, University of Santo Tomas|
| Through these portals passed up to ten thousand Americans and other nationals of the free world who were interned within these walls by the Japanese military. Suffering great physical privation and national humiliation from January 4, 1942, until liberated February 3, 1945, by the American Forces under General Douglas MacArthur. — Map (db m72731) HM WM|
|Philippines, Metro Manila, Sampaloc, Manila — NHCP No. 5 — University of Santo Tomas — [a.k.a: "U.S.T."; or "Catholic University of the Philppines"] — Archbishop Miguel de Benavides, O. P. - Founder|
| Tagalog text:
Unang itinatag sa Intramuros bilang Seminaryo ng
Colegio de Nuestra Señora del Santisimo Rosario
ni Arsobispo Miguel de Benavides, O.P. 28 Abril 1611.
Pinangalanang Colegio de Santo Tomas bilang
pag-alaala kay Santo Tomas de Aquino, 1625. Naging
Universidad. 1645. Ginawaran ng titulong real ni
Haring Carlos III, 1785, Tagapangasiwa ng mga
paaralan sa Pilipinas, 1865. Isinara noong
pangalawang bahagi ng rebolusyong Pilipino
laban sa Espanya at digmaang . . . — Map (db m72769) HM|
|Philippines, Metro Manila, Taguig — Manila American Cemetery and Memorial — The American Battle Monuments Commission|
| Manila American Cemetery, the largest of 24 cemeteries built and administered by the American Battle Monuments Commission, both in area and number of graves. 16,636 military dead of the United States of America from World War II rest here, alongside 570 Philippine Nationals who were serving with U.S. Forces in the southwest Pacific. Most of those buried here lost their lives in the epic defense of the Philippines and the East Indies in 1941 and 1942 or in the long but victorious return of the . . . — Map (db m73079) HM WM|
|Philippines, Pampanga ("Clark Freeport" a.k.a. "Clark Free Zone"), Angeles — Col. John M. Stotsenburg - Maj. Harold M. Clark — Fort Stotsenberg/Clark Air Base — - Clark Air Base Museum -|
Col. John M. Stotsenburg
Fort Stotsenburg, now the Stotsenburg Area, was named for John M. Stotsenburg, Captain, Sixth U.S. Cavalry, and Colonel, First Nebraska Volunteers. A native of Indiana, and a graduate of the U.S. Military Academy in 1881, he assist [sic] in organizing the First Nebraska Volunteer Regiment immediately after the declaration of war with Spain in 1898 and took it to the Philippines where he became its commander. Colonel Stotsenburg’s regiment saw . . . — Map (db m73353) HM WM|
|Philippines, Zambales (Subic Bay Freeport Zone), Olongapo — The Hellships Memorial|
|Inscription on first monolith:
This memorial honors the thousands of World War II Allied prisoners of war transported under horrific conditions by their Japanese captors on “Hellships” and scattered all across Asia to work as slave laborers in factories, shipyards, and mines to support the Japanese war effort.
Many thousands of men were carried on these ships and thousands of those perished from murder, starvation, sickness and neglect or were killed when friendly forces . . . — Map (db m68846) HM WM|
|Saint Lucia, Gros Islet, Pigeon Island — U.S. Signal Station|
|U.S. Signal Station 1941
Nearly two centuries after Rodney recognized its importance, Pigeon Island was again used as a strategic base, during World War II. This U.S. Signal Station was built over Rodney’s existing mortar battery dating from 1780, and Pigeon Island served as a U.S. naval communications signal station until 1947.
The inclined cable lift, to the east was used to haul up diesel fuel to power the generators. The wireless and transmitter receiving mast was atop Fort Rodney. — Map (db m82690) HM WM|
|Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Saint George, Kingstown — Saint Vincent World War I Monument|
| [Seal of St. Vincent and the Grenadines]
To the Glory of God
And in memory of
The sons of Saint Vincent
Who gave their lives
For King and Country
In the Great War
1914 – 1918
Roll of Honour
Officers, Non-Commissioned Officers
And Men who were killed in action
Or who died from wounds inflicted
Accident occurring or disease
Contracted while on active service
During the Great War
Cap. S. Snagg ∙ Lt. J. H. Browne ∙ Lt. L. Gresham ∙ Lt. R. M. . . . — Map (db m82658) WM|
|Switzerland, Lucerne (Lucerne (District)) — General Henri Guisan|
1874 – 1960
1939 – 1945
General Henri Guisan
1874 - 1960
Supreme Commander of the
1939 - 1945 — Map (db m67490) HM|
|United Kingdom, Dumfries & Galloway (Scotland), Portpatrick — Z4|
|In grateful appreciation for their rescue and recovery of the 301 TCS aircrew and their passengers, we thank the local community and all those who have memorialized our fallen brothers
Dedicated 5 June 2007
By the 301st Aircraft Squadron
Travis AFB, CA — Map (db m34061) HM|
|United Kingdom, England (Cambridgeshire), Molesworth — 303rd Bombardment Group (H) "Hells Angels" — Flew from this airfield — Station 107 Molesworth|
303rd Bomb Group (H) 8th Air Force
Arrived UK - 12 Sep 42
First Combat Mission 17 Nov 42
Last Combat Mission 25 Apr 45
365 Combat Missions
(The most of any 8AF B-17 Group)
10,721 Sorties - 378 Enemy aircraft destroyed
First 8 AF B-17 to reach
25 missions - "Hells' Angels"
First 8AF B-17 to reach
50 and 75 missions - "Knock-Out Dropper"
First 8AF Bomb Group to reach
300 missions - 9 Jan 45
Distinguished Unit Citation
for mission . . . — Map (db m77892) HM WM|
|United Kingdom, Northern Ireland (County Antrim), Bushmills — World Wars Memorial|
To the men of this town & district
who gave their lives
for their country
in the Great War
1914 – 1919
[Rolls of Honored Dead]
Killed in the 1939-1945 War
[Roll of Honored Dead] — Map (db m70773) WM|
|United Kingdom, Northern Ireland (County Fermanagh), Belleek — Donegal Corridor|
During the Second World War (1939-1945) Sunderland and Catalina Flying Boats from RAF Castle Archdale were given permission by the neutral Irish Free State government to fly along the River Erne between Belleek and Ballyshannon. This was known as the Donegal Corridor. Young airmen flew out to the mid-Atlantic to give protection to shipping convoys. A number of planes crashed in the locality.
This plaque is in memory of the airmen and seamen from America, Australia, New Zealand, Canada, . . . — Map (db m72536) HM WM|
|United Kingdom, Northern Ireland (County Fermanagh), Enniskillen — World Wars Memorial|
Our Glorious Dead
1914 - 1918
1939 - 1945
[Roll of Honored Dead] — Map (db m72620) HM|
|United Kingdom, Northern Ireland (County Fermanagh), Irvinestown — Welcome to Irvinestown|
The town takes its name from the Irvine family who were the landlords of the district and came from Bonshaw in Scotland in the 17th century. They lived at Castle Irvine which today is known as Necarne Castle. The town was first known as Lowtherstown but in the 1860's its name was changed to Irvinestown. It is the third largest town in Fermanagh with a population of 2,244. It is famous for its wide Main Street and ample parking facilities. The town is proud of its vision, innovation and . . . — Map (db m72609) HM|
|United Kingdom, Northern Ireland (County Londonderry), Derry-Londonderry — World Wars Memorial|
Those Who Served
1914 - 1918
1939 - 1945
Names of the Fallen
[Panels not transcribed]
Sculptures by Vernon March, 1926 — Map (db m71133) WM|
|United Kingdom, Northern Ireland (County Londonderry), Garvagh — World Wars Memorial|
The Great War 1914 - 1918
Faithful unto death
Black H.C. • Bradley J. • Bradley P. • Caldwell, W. • Caskey M. • Collins R. • Dale T. • Dempsey J. • Faith J. • Gavin R. F. Capt. • Hall T. Cpl. • Hazlett J.B. • Lynch J. Cpl. • Macausland O.B. Lieut. • Maclean J.G. • McCooke J. • McCurdy W. • McElfatrick S. • McIlwrath M. L/C. • McIlrath R. L/C. • Morrison J.D. L/C. • Mulholland J. • O’Kane D. • O’Kane T. • Patton W. • Stewart W. • Thompson W.J. • Torrens J. • Torrens T. . . . — Map (db m70726) WM|
|United Kingdom, Northern Ireland (County Tyrone), Moy — World Wars Memorial|
The Great War 1914-1918
Aird A. • Allen R. • Allen W. • Allen W.J. • Bradley F.E. • Bradley F.H. • Bradley R.I. • Carson R. • Carson W. • Coleman G. • Davies C.C. • Duke W. • Fullerton J. • Gray J. • Hagan T.J. • Harkin C. • Herron C. • Hetherington J.W. • Igoe H. • Jones R.J. • Kilpatrick W.R. • Lutton G. • Morrison J.D. • McGuigan H. • McGuigan J. • Proctor J.C.B. • Reid J. • Rose-Cleland A.M.B. • Stafford J. • Tottenham E.L. M.C. • Tottenham A.H. • Watson E. • . . . — Map (db m70725) WM|
|United Kingdom, Scotland (Kilmonivaig), Spean Bridge — The Commandos — 1940-45|
| In the summer of 1949 when Britain's fortunes in World War II were at their lowest ebb and an enemy invasion was threatened Winston Churchill boldly ordered the raising of an elite force to raid the enemy-held coastline of Europe and regain the initiative. The new units, which initially consisted of volunteers from regiments and corps of the Britain Army, were called 'Commandos'.
Within weeks they were in action in Europe later in the Middle East and the Far East. During the next five . . . — Map (db m85790) WM|
|United Kingdom, Suffolk (Mid Suffolk), Botesdale — In Grateful Memory|
|In grateful Memory of those men from the parishes of Botesdale-Redgrave-Rickinghall Superior and Inferior who fell in The Great War
Also in affectionate memory of those who gave their lives in the 1939-45 War
Peter Le M Andrew •
Sidney C Bailey •
William Doddington •
Kenneth J Erith •
Charles F Francis •
Jasper F Caught •
Edward Kirk •
Edward C A Plarce •
Ronald W Pearce •
Gordon E Ray •
John K Ray — Map (db m52451) HM|
|Alabama (Autauga County), Prattville — Autauga County World War II Memorial|
|Dedicated to the Veterans
of Autauga County who served
their country during WWII — Map (db m70817) WM|
|Alabama (Baldwin County), Fort Morgan — The Pride of Seven Flags|
Tribute dedicated to the memory of the soldiers who gave their lives in the defense of our country here at Fort Morgan.
Here lies the pride of seven flags entombed in our ancestor’s worth, who heard the thunder of the fray break o’er the field beneath knew the watchword of the day was “Victory or Death.”
Dates of battles and some events relative to Fort Morgan.
1711 – Battle, France – England
1719 – Battle, . . . — Map (db m4649) HM|
|Alabama (Baldwin County), Gulf Shores — Panama Mount|
| After World War I, the versatile M1918M1 gun and its M1918A1 carriage were adapted for coast defense. Although the gun could be traversed over a wider range than other large guns of the period, it was still unable to adequately track moving targets. This deficiency was rectified by the development during the 1920’s of circular concrete gun emplacements in the Panama Canal Zone.
When emplaced on these simple, inexpensive, Panama mounts, the 155mm GPF was an effective alternative to older . . . — Map (db m81808) HM|
|Alabama (Baldwin County), Gulf Shores — U.S. Model 1918M1 155mm Gun and Model 1918A1 Carriage|
| The U.S. Model 1918M1 155mm Gun, more commonly known as the “G.P.F.”, was a French heavy artillery piece manufactured in the U.S. for use by the U.S. Army during World War I. Due to the gun’s mobility and hitting power, it was used during the 1920’s and 1930’s as a coast defense weapon. By 1944, the M1918M1 gun and the M1918AA carriage with its solid rubber tires were no longer in front line service and had been relegated to a support role. During World War II, Battery F of the . . . — Map (db m69910) HM|
|Alabama (Butler County), Greenville — World War II Memorial|
to the glory of God
and in grateful memory
of all those Butler Countians
who served their country
in the cause of freedom.
These made the
Barnes Dunn Marines ∙ Thomas H. Fail Air Corps ∙ Dorsey Jordan Marines ∙ Horace M. Kent Air Corps ∙ Thurston M. Lipham Navy ∙ Albert H. Price Army ∙ Ben C. Shavers Army ∙Houston Stinson Army
Jack C. . . . — Map (db m83260) WM|
|Alabama (Calhoun County), Saks — 27th. Division Veterans Memorial|
|Dedicated Oct. 15, 1980 and given in memory of those members who gave their lives in World War I & II by the 27th. Division Association whose members trained on this ground 1940-1941 — Map (db m53009) HM|
|Alabama (Chambers County), LaFayette — Chambers County War Memorial|
In Memory of
Chambers Co. Veterans
Who Gave Their Lives
In Following Wars
World War II
Askew, Arthur L. Pvt. • Austin, George L. Jr. 1st Lt. • Baker, Edwin H. Sgt. • Bassett, Wilma M. Pvt. • Belcher, Guy E. PFC. • Bishop, Ulysses H. Tec. 4 • Brown, John T. Sgt. • Brown, William A. Cpl. • Butler, Cecil C. Pvt. • Crowder, Robert L. Pvt. • Dardy, James Jr. Pvt. • Davis, Charles W. Sgt. • Farrar, James L. PFC. • Fitzpatrick, John W. PFC. • Floyd, Wilbur Pvt. • Ford, Dwight H. . . . — Map (db m18163) WM|
|Alabama (Chambers County), Valley — Armed Forces Tribute|
to the men
Lest We Forget — Map (db m71652) WM|
|Alabama (Chambers County), Valley — Langdale Veterans Memorial|
| In Honor of All Langdale Veterans
World War II
To those who gave
the ultimate sacrifice — Map (db m71654) WM|
|Alabama (Chilton County), Thorsby — Thorsby Remembers Our Veterans|
|For the men and women
of all branches of the military
Thank you for your service
God Bless you all — Map (db m73233) WM|
|Alabama (Clay County), Ashland — Clay County Veterans Memorial|
|Dedicated to the veterans of Clay County who so unselfishly served and to those who died in defense of their country Let it be said “We will never forget” Left Panel List of World War I, World War II and Korean War veterans Right Panel List of World War II and Vietnam War veterans — Map (db m14302) WM|
|Alabama (Conecuh County), Evergreen — Conecuh County War Memorial|
to Veterans of
To the gallant men
and women who
peacetime and war
We shall not forget — Map (db m81348) WM|
|Alabama (Dale County), Ozark — Dale Veterans Memorial|
|Dedicated to the memory of those Dale County veterans who died in defense of our country
World War I
Obie A. Alpin • Sam E. Andrews • Marlin R. Arnett • Robert Arrington • Lester Avant • Ivey Y. Beasley • Jere Brown • Mose Canter • Glen Causlerr • Malcomb Cook • Willie W. Cotten • Willie E. Cotter • Buck Dean • Payton V. Deese • Hubert Dixon • Henry Ezelle • Alto Gibson • Henry C. Godwin • James F. Griggs • John B. Hardwick • James H. Harris • Edgar Lee Jordan • Alexander Kirkland • . . . — Map (db m36561) WM|
|Alabama (Dallas County), Selma — Dallas County World Wars Memorial — Lest· We· Forget — World War I 1917-1918 — World War II 1941-1945|
Greater love hath no man than this, that a man lay
down his life for his friends. St. John, 15-13
Erected in grateful humility to the enduring
memory of those of Dallas County whose
names appear hereon who made the supreme
sacrifice in two World Wars. No more will
they answer the call to arms...no more will
they heroic deeds do! For they slumber on in
eternal peace on sacred American soil...the
poppy fields of Flanders...the vast expanses
of the Pacific and the . . . — Map (db m83522) WM|
|Alabama (Dallas County), Selma — Memorial Stadium — Selma Alabama|
Erected and dedicated to the
memory of those of Dallas
County who fought and died in
two world wars that we may
retain our great heritage of
freedom, justice and democracy
World War I
April 6, 1917–November 11, 1918
World War II
December 7, 1941–September 2, 1945
— Map (db m82029) WM|
|Alabama (Dallas County), Selma — Take Her Down — Gilmore, Howard Walter - Commander, U.S.N. — Born 29 September 1902, Selma, Ala.|
Medal of Honor Citation
For distinguished gallantry and valor above and beyond
the call of duty as Commanding Officer of U. S. submarine
GROWLER (SS-215) during her fourth war patrol in the
Southwest Pacific from 10 January to 7 February 1943
boldly striking at the enemy in spite of continuous
hostile air and anti-submarine patrols, Commander Gilmore
sank one Japanese freighter and damaged another by
torpedo fire, successfully evading severe depth charges
following . . . — Map (db m82036) HM|
|Alabama (Elmore County), Millbrook — World War II Memorial Center|
|A Recreation Center
Millbrook, Robinson Springs, and Coosada
Dedicated as a living memorial to the boys
who lost their lives in the service of their
country during World War II
1941 — 1945
Frank Hilliard Blakey • Calvin James Cobb, Jr. • Perry Adolphus Dunn, Jr. • Robert Edward Gilliam • Charles Edward Gravely • Albert Edward Gresham • Leonard Daniel Gunnells • Albert Holt Price • Thomas H. (Nick) Reid • Rush Spencer Wells, Jr.
Mary . . . — Map (db m83721) WM|
|Alabama (Elmore County), Wetumpka — World War II Memorial|
Alabama Mills, Inc.
In honor of those who served so gallantly
In World War II 1941-1945
In memory of the following
who made the supreme sacrifice
R.D. Leonard • Herman Johnson
George Brown • W.E. Holcomb — Map (db m70568) WM|
|Alabama (Escambia County), Brewton — Escambia County Veterans Memorial|
| . . . — Map (db m84397) WM|
|Alabama (Etowah County), Attalla — Camp Sibert — World War II: 1942-1945|
|On 6/18/1942 the U.S. took possession of 36,300 acres in Etowah and adjoining St. Clair County to establish Alabama's first Chemical Warfare Center. The area was dedicated on 12/25/1942 and named for U.S. Army M/G William Luther Sibert, first Chief of Chemical Warfare Service and a native of Etowah County. The camp served as a Unit Training Center and a Replacement Training Center for the CWS and could accommodate up to 30,000 troops. Forty-seven percent of all CWS units of WW II were trained here. The camp was deactivated on 12/31/1945. — Map (db m33304) HM|
|Alabama (Etowah County), Attalla — Camp Sibert — World War II 1942-1945|
|On 6/18/1942 the U.S. took possession of 36,300 acres in Etowah and adjoining St. Clair County to establish Alabama's first Chemical Warfare Center. The area was dedicated on 12/25/1942 and named for U.S. Army M/G William Luther Sibert, first Chief of Chemical Warfare Service and a native of Etowah County. The camp served as a Unit Training Center and a Replacement Training Center for the CWS and could accommodate up to 30,000 troops. Forty-seven percent of all CWS units of WW II were trained here. The camp was deactivated on 12/31/1945. — Map (db m75194) HM|
|Alabama (Etowah County), Gadsden — Etowah County War Memorial|
|World War I
Atwood, Joe I.
Benton, Edwin J.
Buffington, Hugh G.
Campbell, Earl C.
Coxwell, Elsie B.
Faucett Lester C.
Fletcher, Newman W.
Garrison, Ed T.
Glenn, James E.
Gray, Earnest E.
Gray, Julius B.
Gregory, Ben T. . . . — Map (db m53844) WM|
|Alabama (Franklin County), Hodges — "Spirit of Hodges"|
|The Town of Hodges held a war bond auction in the month of January 1943. The proceeds amounted to about $47,000. As an award, the war department allowed Hodges to name a P-51 Mustang Fighter aircraft. She was named "The Spirit of Hodges." The plane was built by the North American Aviation Company and was modified in Birmingham, Alabama. The P-51 was a long range, single seated aircraft. It flew most of its wartime missions as a bomber escort in raids over Germany and was used against the . . . — Map (db m83741) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — "Lest We Forget" — Avondale World War II Memorial|
Dedicated to the sacred memory
of the Avondale Boys of
World War II who made the Supreme
Sacrifice for Liberty and Humanity.
Thomas Nelson •
Albert W. Moore •
James A. Williams •
John L. Warner •
Wayne Daily •
Chester Smith •
Ernest Cumb •
LeRoy J. Patterson •
Norman H. Butts •
Donald B. Funderburk •
Weyman Milton •
George Tucker •
Herman Kelly •
Earl W. Franklin •
Oscar L. Cagle, Jr. •
Leon Fulghum •
Fred W. Hosmer, Jr. •
Louis H. Boone, Jr. • . . . — Map (db m55950) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — Alabama Veterans Memorial — Liberty Park|
| Pearl Harbor
May 31, 1941
I hope all is well with you. I am doing well but due to the present state of emergency the Pacific Fleet is held in a place known as Hawaiian Territory.
Would you do me a great favor? Whenever you are in town get me some info on our class ring. I missed out on getting one due to the lack of funds. Now that I am away from everything that reminds me of the good old days I would like very much to have that ring. I would be . . . — Map (db m27409) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — Disabled American Veterans|
Disabled American Veterans Formed December 25, 1920.
Birmingham Chapter No. 4 Chartered January 25, 1926.
This Memorial Dedicated To Our Military Forces And To All Who Have Given Their Blood And Lives That The Republic Might Live Forever.
How Sleep The Brave Who Sink To Rest By All Their Country's Wishes Blest!
This Tenth Day Of November Nineteen Hundred Eighty One.
United States Army
Authorized By The Continental Congress June 14, 1775
* . . . — Map (db m24347) WM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — Julius Ellsberry|
|In dedication to Julius Ellsberry, the first Black Alabama man to die in World War II; born Birmingham, Ala, 1922.
Enlisted in the U.S. Navy, 1940; First Class Mate [sic] Attendant aboard battleship Oklahoma in the Battle of Pearl Harbor, did sacrifice his life to save his shipmates, December 7, 1941. — Map (db m63761) HM WM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — Julius Ellsberry Memorial Park|
| In honor of Julius Ellsberry of Birmingham
World War II Hero
First Jefferson County Citizen
to die for his country at Pearl Harbor while serving aboard the U.S.S. Oklahoma December 7, 1941 — Map (db m70261) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Homewood — Union Hill Cemetery|
|Union Hill Cemetery is the burial ground of many pioneers and early settlers of the Shades Valley area. It was established in the 1870s, but includes gravestones dating back to the early 1850s due to the relocation of two earlier, smaller cemeteries to Union Hill - the Daniel Watkins Cemetery in 1946 and the Enoch Anderson Watkins Cemetery in 2004. Union Hill Cemetery is also the final resting place of many veterans who served in the Civil War, Spanish - American War, WWI, WWII, and the Korean . . . — Map (db m83873) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Leeds — Congressional Medal Of Honor Recipients — SSG Henry E. Erwin - 1 LT William R. Lawley, Jr. - PFC Alford L. McLaughlin|
|Staff Sergeant Henry E. Erwin
Citation: Staff Sergeant Henry Erwin, U.S. Army Air Corps, 52d Bombardment Squadron, 29th Bombardment Group, 314th Bombardment Wing, 20th Air Force. He was the radio operator of a B-29 airplane leading a group formation to attack Koriyama, Japan on 12 April 1945. He was charged with the additional duty of dropping phosphoresce smoke bombs to aid in assembling the group when the launching point was reached. Upon entering the assembly area, aircraft fire and enemy . . . — Map (db m83916) WM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — “Gooney Bird” Propeller|
|This Hamilton-Standard 23E50-505 hydromatic propeller is from Douglas Aircraft C-47 transport plane known as the Gooney Bird.
The C-47s operated in both the European and Pacific theaters of W.W. II as troop and cargo transports, and initiated the Berlin Airlift.
More than 10,000 of these aircraft were produced by the Douglas Aircraft Company for military service. — Map (db m69659) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — 115th Signal Battalion — Organized 1940|
|At this site where once stood Fort Willingham (Armory) the 115th Signal Battalion was organized December 1, 1940. Originally the 2nd Battalion, 151st Engineers, it was organized a number of times from 1940 to 1959 as its mission was changed to meet the Nation's military requirements. In World War II it was designated as an Engineer Combat Requirement (later Battalion). During the Korean War it was on active duty as the 104th Antiaircraft Artillery Automatic Weapons Battalion. The 115th Signal . . . — Map (db m28562) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — 75mm Field Gun|
|This 75mm field gun is a modification of a French gun that was designed in 1917. The 75mm was the most effective light field gun in W.W. I. It was also used
against infantry, tanks, and other armored targets in W.W.II.
This gun is 17’-3” long, and weighs 3,400 lbs. Its range was 13,870 yards, and fired 6 rounds per minute. The 75mm shell weighed 19 lbs., and could be fixed,
high-explosive, chemical, smoke, or armor-piercing.
The 105mm has now replaced the 75mm gun as the light artillery weapon. — Map (db m83937) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — Edward Stanley Robbins — City of Florence Walk of Honor|
Well-known throughout the nation and the world for his innovative work with rubber and vinyl, E. Stanley Robbins supplied rubber inner tubes, retread rubber and, later synthetic rubber for the Armed Forces in WW II. — Map (db m38646) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — W.W. II Anchor|
|This anchor was used on the fleet Submarine U.S.S. Balao (SS-285). The Balao was commissioned in February 1943.
She received 9 battle stars for sinking 7 Japanese ships during her W.W. II service. The Balao was decommissioned in June 1963.
She was used as a target and sunk in September 1963. Her conning tower, which is now on display at the Washington Naval Yard, and this anchor are all that remain of the U.S.S Balao. — Map (db m69658) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — World War II Memorial|
| Side 1 A-D
Dedicated to the memory of the 129 men from Lauderdale County (listed on these four panels) who sacrificed their lives in the defense of our Nation during World War II:
Robert F. Adams •
Aubrey H. Alexander •
Lee Eddy Anderton •
Eugene Barnett •
Grady Bates •
Joseph D. Belue •
Ralph T. Berg •
Raymond Blackwell •
Alvin Brewer •
William M. Brooks •
Dennis O. Brown •
Melvin O. Brown •
Ed Buffler •
Collins O'Neal •
James D. Butler •
James E. . . . — Map (db m71482) WM|
|Alabama (Lawrence County), Courtland — Courtland Army Air Field (CAAF): Beginnings/Flight Schools|
Courtland Army Air Field (CAAF): Beginnings
Following the onset of WWII the Army Air Corps initiated an ambitious pilot training program. During its most active period, this program would train over 100,000 pilots per year. To meet this demand, more than 450 air fields were constructed or improved across the US. North Alabama was considered a desirable location for a large training base because it possessed a climate that permitted year-round flight instruction and . . . — Map (db m74409) HM|
|Alabama (Lawrence County), Courtland — Courtland Army Air Field (CAAF): Facilities/Deactivation|
Courtland Army Air Field (CAAF): Facilities
At its greatest strength, CAAF was home to 4600 officers, enlisted servicemen, and cadets. During the war years it was the largest population center within Lawrence County. Over 370 structures were constructed, including aircraft hangars, operations buildings, warehouses, barracks, mess halls, maintenance facilities, water supply/sewage treatment facilities, a weather station, and a hospital. To help accommodate the sudden . . . — Map (db m74411) HM|
|Alabama (Lee County), Auburn — Max Adams Morris / Max Adams Morris Drill Field|
Max Adams Morris
Max Adams Morris b. December 7, 1918, of Blountsville, Alabama, entered Alabama Polytechnic Institute (API) in 1938, was a varsity football player and became a member of "A" club, Scabbard & Blade, and Blue Key honor societies. In July 1941, while attending ROTC camp at Fort Benning, Georgia, Morris rescued Wayne B. Nelson, Jr., and attempted to rescue H. Daughtry Perritt, API cadets, from electrocution from a fallen radio tower. For that act, . . . — Map (db m85166) HM|
|Alabama (Lee County), Opelika — Camp Opelika — World War II Prisoner of War Facility|
|Located on this 800 acre site was an enemy prisoner of war camp. Construction of Camp Opelika began in September 1942. The first prisoners, captured by the British, were part of General Erwin Rommel’s Africa Corps. The camp prisoner population was maintained at about 3000 until the end of World War II, in May 1945. In September 1945, the camp was deactivated and deeded to the City of Opelika. For a brief period the camp quarters were used for veteran’s housing before the site became an . . . — Map (db m85170) HM|
|Alabama (Limestone County), Decatur — Southeast Air Forces Training Center — (Pryor Field)|
|The Southeast Air Forces Training Center operated by Southern Aviation Training School, also known as Pryor Field, was constructed in 1941. These two aircraft hangars and beacon tower are the remaining artifacts of one of only a few World War II Army Air Forces Training Centers that have remained in continuous use as airplane hangars since 1941. The school provided primary flight training for Army Air Forces pilots. The facility was deactivated on December 28, 1944 and turned over to the Army . . . — Map (db m85425) HM|
|Alabama (Limestone County), Salem — Dupree Cemetery — Limestone County|
| The first known burial here is Nancy Vinson Christopher who died May 16, 1852. Many unmarked fieldstones are present that could mark older graves. The cemetery contains 52 identifiable burials with headstones. Five Confederate soldiers and one WWII veteran are buried here along with other notable citizens including Dr. William J. Dupree and Dr. O.P. Dupree. Family names found here include Christopher, Dunivant, Dunnavant, Dupree, Hare, Hawkins, Jackson, Johnson, Lovell, McCracken, Patterson, . . . — Map (db m71991) HM|
|Alabama (Macon County), Tuskegee Airmen National Historic Site — A Bit to Eat|
Known as the Tea Room, this small lunchroom was built during the initial expansion phase of Moton Field in 1942 and 1943, when amenities such as offices and bathrooms not built into the original hangar were added. Here, personnel stationed at Moton Field could get a bite to eat. Cadets ate at Tuskegee Institute, but they could also buy a snack in the Tea Room if they had the time.
. . . cadets, instructors, and people in the area. . . come and have a snack, a bit to eat, because . . . — Map (db m64362) HM|
|Alabama (Macon County), Tuskegee Airmen National Historic Site — A Typical Day|
Try to imagine how Moton Field looked and sounded when the cadets trained here. Compare the scene today to the photograph below, taken from your vantage point around 1944. As the pace of training accelerated during the war, Moton Field became a very busy place.
Between the two hangars, aircraft were refueled from one of six fuel tanks, which remain in the ground near where you are standing. Planes in need of maintenance taxied to the hangar. Everywhere, there were flight instructors, . . . — Map (db m64366) HM|
|Alabama (Macon County), Tuskegee Airmen National Historic Site — Bath and Locker House|
This building was completed in 1941 as a restroom, shower, and locker room for administrative and support personnel. It had facilities for both men and women. Both black and white may have used the building. If so, it almost certainly would have been the only integrated facility of its kind in the South at that time.
The Bath and Locker House was probably not used by cadets, since they were at Moton field only a few hours a day. But mechanics, such as the one shown in this photo, needed . . . — Map (db m64361) HM|
|Alabama (Macon County), Tuskegee Airmen National Historic Site — FIRE!|
The Fire Protection Shed in front of you was used to store equipment such as hoses, fire extinguishers, and tools for fighting fires. Fire was always a danger at the airfield because of the flammable materials used in airplanes and the fuels stored on site.
[Background photo caption reads] In 1941 a fire damaged the Bath and Locker House. Imagine what could have happened if this fire had spread to the fuel tanks nearby.
[Inset photo caption reads] The Physical Plant Director . . . — Map (db m64364) HM|
|Alabama (Macon County), Tuskegee Airmen National Historic Site — Hangar No. 1|
In Hangar No. 1 flying became real for the aviation cadet. The hangar housed the main activities of the airfield, including flight debriefings, flight record-keeping, aircraft maintenance, and military and civilian management. Several smaller rooms surrounding the original space were added as the program grew.
The door to your left originally led to the Machine Shop where metal parts for aircraft were repaired. Through those doors you will now find an orientation and information area, . . . — Map (db m64365) HM|
|Alabama (Macon County), Tuskegee Airmen National Historic Site — The Control Tower|
From Moton Field’s Control Tower, controllers directed flight operations and signaled landing instructions to pilots through a system of flashing colored lights. Dispatchers called cadets for their flights. The tower overlooked the busy – and noisy – flow of aircraft, pedestrian, and vehicle traffic between two hangars.
The tower was where the dispatcher would look out on the field and call the cadets over the loudspeaker to tell them about their flight assignments. Also . . . — Map (db m64363) HM|
|Alabama (Madison County), Huntsville — ETO 1939-1945/PTO 1941-1945|
I am US Army Air Force Sergeant Joe Makowski. I first served in North Africa and Italy as a B-17 Flying Fortress crewmember in the 99th Bomber Group, Twelfth Air Force. After completing 52 missions with the 99th, I could have returned to the States but I volunteered to go to England and was assigned to the Eight Air Force. As a radio operator and often a gunner in a B-17, I saw the teamwork and dedication of the crews as we flew into defended target areas in Sicily and . . . — Map (db m85493) HM WM|
|Alabama (Madison County), Huntsville — Memorial Fountains — Huntsville Madison County Veterans Memorial|
|The Memorial Fountain System begins with a flow of water cascading over the continuous weir, which is punctuated by 8 Black Granite Markers. This flow symbolizes the blood which has been spilled defending our nation's freedom and flows into the Sacrifice Pool, the Courage Pool, and the Defender Fountain. The
small white headstones in the Defenders Fountain are replicas of those in Arlington National Cemetery and represent all of our fallen warriors. Water feeds through the Defender Fountain . . . — Map (db m68728) WM|
|Alabama (Madison County), Huntsville — World War II — Huntsville Madison County Veterans Memorial|
|The most devastating war in history originated from unresolved issues of World War I, the Punitive Peace that ended it, and a worldwide economic depression that provided conditions that allowed the rise of Fascism and Nazism. In addition Imperial Japan envisioned an Asian/Pacific Empire for herself.
The United States remained neutral for the first two years of the war until it was attacked by Japan on 7 December 1941, at Pearl Harbor. As part of the Allied powers, which included the United . . . — Map (db m85622) WM|
|Alabama (Madison County), Huntsville — World War II - European Theater of Operations (ETO) — 1939-1945|
|I am Corporal Leroy Hoekenschnieder serving with D “Dog” Battery, 5th Artillery Battalion. Our battalion was assigned to the 1st Infantry Division and support the 26th Infantry Regiment. The Depression had caused my dad’s business to fail so I enlisted in the Army. In 1940 and 1941, we Regular Army units trained, but we never thought the United States would go to war. Me and my buddies who joined the Army didn’t realize the significance of Japan’s invasion of China in 1937 or . . . — Map (db m85833) HM WM|
|Alabama (Madison County), Huntsville — World War II - Pacific Theater of Operations (PTO) — 1941- 1945|
|I am Private Peter Pirnat from C Company of the 192nd Light Tank Battalion, Ohio National Guard. My unit was stationed in my hometown of Port Clinton, Ohio. We activated for training in August 1940 with our new M3 Light Tanks. I was the Operations Sergeant in the Battalion’s Headquarters. We were deployed to the Philippines in August 1941 and Major General Wainwright attached us to the 26th Cavalry Regiment (Philippine Scouts). This unit was unique in that it was manned by Filipino Troops who . . . — Map (db m85834) HM WM|
|Alabama (Marshall County), Guntersville — Veterans of Foreign Wars Marshall County|
|Honoring those who served in combat - Especially those who made the supreme sacrificeWorld War I
Mashburn, Millard J.
Shuttleworth, Walter F.
Searcy, Charles H.
Parrish, Steve R.
Walker, Thomas P.
Leach, William G.
Sanders, Allie S.
Powers, Ernest A.
Pope, Hershell A.
Wright, Jesse C.
Payne, Orville B.
Poarch, Peter E.
Minor, Thomas L.
Kent, . . . — Map (db m53153) HM|
|Alabama (Mobile County), Mobile — "Take Her Down!" — Howard Walter Gilmore, Commander, U.S.N. — Born 29 September 1902, Selma, Ala.|
| Panel 1: Medal of Honor Citation
For distinguished gallantry and valor above and beyond
The call of duty as Commanding Officer of U. S. submarine
GROWLER (SS-215) during her fourth war patrol in the
Southwest Pacific from 10 January to 7 February 1943
boldly striking at the enemy in spite of continuous
hostile air and anti-submarine patrols, Commander Gilmore
sank one Japanese freighter and damaged another by
torpedo fire, successfully evading severe depth charges . . . — Map (db m74811) WM|
|Alabama (Mobile County), Mobile — Memorial to USS Herring (SS-233) — Submarines and the Battleship Park|
| Panel 1:
Anderson, Fred H., RT1
Anderson, John L., Jr., MoMM2
Armstrong, James E., RM1
Balestrieri, S., ENS
Blair, Jack L., S2
Blevins, J.T., S1
Boucher, Leo J., S1
Brennan, James J., TM2
Bronder, John J., SC2
Brown, Weldson, S2
Burkett, Timothy, CK1
Burton, Charles E., MoMM2
Campbell, Nathaniel, STM2
Carroll, Malcolm D., CMoMM
Carter, Robert A., TM3
Chouinard, Robert A., TM1
Christopherson, R. W., TM1
Compton, John N., LTjg
Cook, Arnold J., MoMM2 . . . — Map (db m74810) WM|
|Alabama (Mobile County), Mobile — The Submarine Lookout Memorial — Submarines and the Battleship Park|
| Panel 1: "The Lookout: the Eyes of the WWII Submarine"
Panel 2: "Submarine Lookout":
Standing his watch on a perch high above the deck,
the lookout was the eyes of the submarine while
surfaced. Often while submerged he was manning the
sonar gear, thus becoming the ears also. Though
always of junior rating, his keen sight and alertness
were vital to the success and survival of his boat. No words could galvanize a crew to action faster than his excited shout, . . . — Map (db m74809) HM WM|
|Alabama (Mobile County), Mobile — United States Ship Alabama (BB-60) — Battleship Memorial Park|
| Named for the State of Alabama. 6th naval fighting ship to bear the name. Built by the Norfolk Navy Yard, Portsmouth, Virginia. Authorized by Congress 27 March 1934. Keel laid 1 February 1940 – Launched 16 February 1942. Sponsored by Mrs. Lister Hill, wife of Senator Lister Hill of Alabama. Commissioned 16 August 1942 – Decommissioned 9 January 1947. Total miles steamed – 217,000. World War II Record Fleet Assignments: U.S. Atlantic Fleet - August 1942 – . . . — Map (db m74366) HM WM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Maxwell Air Force Base — British and Commonwealth Pilots Trained in the U.S.A.|
In 1941, before Pearl Harbour, President Franklin D. Roosevelt agreed with Prime Minister Winston S. Churchill, to provide flight training for British and Commonwealth pilots in the U.S.A. by the U.S. Army Air Corps.
Over 4,000 pilots were trained, some of them at this airfield, and many of them lost their lives in air operations against our common enemies.
This plaque is placed in remembrance by those who by the grace of God survived.
September 1996 — Map (db m64476) HM WM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Maxwell Air Force Base — Former POWs And Those MIA|
In honor of former
Prisoners of War
Missing in Action
2 October 1987 — Map (db m64438) WM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Maxwell Air Force Base — Montgomery Chapter of the American Ex-Prisoners of War — In Honor Of|
September 17, 1999
Non Solum Armis — Map (db m64439) WM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Maxwell Air Force Base — North American B-25 Mitchell|
The North American B-25 Mitchell, named after America's greatest military martyr (Gen Billy Mitchell), made its maiden flight on 19 August 1940 and was ordered in large numbers straight off the drawing board by the Army Air Corps. Internal improvements, armament innovations, and engine changes resulted in several variants, including the B-25G which was armed with a 75mm cannon in the nose - the largest gun ever carried in an aircraft up to that time. The most lethal of all versions was the . . . — Map (db m64449) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Maxwell Air Force Base — The Air Corps Tactical School|
Established here in 1931, was the birthplace and nurturing ground of American air doctrine. In the ferment of a decade of thought and debate, the Air Corps Tactical School gave rise to concepts for the strategic and operational deployment of U.S. air power against two formidable aggressor nations separated by half a world. Validation of this revolutionary approach to warfare came with victory over the Axis with fewer casualties than in advancing a few hundred miles in World War I.
Most . . . — Map (db m79085) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Maxwell Air Force Base — The Air Power Legacy|
In 1931 Maxwell Field began its mission to educate Army Air Corps officers in strategy, tactics, and techniques of air power. Many early Air Force leaders attended Air Corps Tactical School here including Generals Vandenberg, Twining, White, and LeMay.
”If we should have to fight, we should be prepared to do so from the neck up instead of the neck down.”
General Jimmy Doolittle — Map (db m64369) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Maxwell Air Force Base — William R. Lawley, Jr. — Colonel USAF (Ret) — 1920 - 1999|
Recipient of the
Medal of Honor
Intrepidity in Action
20 February 1944
Mission on 20 February 1944
Target: Leipzig, Germany
1st. Lt. William R. Lawley, Jr. & Crew
305th Bomb Group 8th Air Force
United States Army Air Corps
European Theater of Operations
[Dedicated 3 November 2000] — Map (db m64450) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — 167th Infantry / Alabama’s Own — (4th Alabama)|
|An Alabama regiment was formed in 1836 to defend Fort Foster in Florida. Same unit, designated the 1st Alabama Volunteers ten years later, served in Mexican War. Mustered again May 4, 1861 as the 4th Alabama Infantry Regiment, it fought in every major battle in the Eastern Theater of the Civil War. The 4th distinguished itself in Battle of Manassas, the first major battle of the War, when it plugged gap in Confederate lines beside Brig. Gen. T. J. Jackson’s brigade and repulsed several Union . . . — Map (db m38897) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — 37th Division The Buckeye Division — World War I / World War II & Korea|
| World War I
Camp Sheridan was the site of the August 1917 organization of the Buckeye Division, made up of Ohio National Guardsmen who previously had been serving on the Mexican Border.
After training, the 37th went to France in June 1918, fighting in the Lorraine, Ypres - Lys, and Meuse - Argonne Campaigns. It took 5,387 casualties and won a Medal of Honor before returning to the U.S. in March 1919 to be demobilized.
2nd Lieutenant Albert E. Baesel, 148th Infantry, was awarded the . . . — Map (db m38895) WM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — 9th Infantry Division / “The Old Reliables”|
|The 9th Division was organized on 18 July 1918 at Camp Sheridan for service in World War I. When the War ended, 11 November 1918, deployment of the Division to France was canceled and it was demobilized on 15 February 1919. Reactivated on 1 August 1940, 9th Infantry Division soldiers fought valiantly in 8 crucial World War II campaigns in North Africa, Sicily, France, Belgium, and Germany. After a short inactivation, the 9th returned to the active force on 15 July 1947 as a training division at . . . — Map (db m76161) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — Alabama War Veterans Monument|
Dedicated to the gallant
war veterans from the
State of Alabama
whose magnificent valor
was shown in all wars — Map (db m84305) WM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — Flame of Freedom|
* War *
Erected in commemoration
March 15,1969 — Map (db m69308) WM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — Gunter Annex / Gunter Basic Flying Training School|
On 27 Aug. 1940, the AAF leased the Montgomery Municipal Airport for use as a military airfield. During WW II, the field was the home of the AAF Basic Flying Training School and was named in honor of Mayor William A. Gunter. It later housed Extension Course Institute, AU Field Printing Plant, School of Aviation Medicine, and Air Force Senior NCO Academy. Tenants included the Air Defense Sector, HQ 14th Air Force, and Standard Systems Group. The field . . . — Map (db m68111) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — Harris House|
| Front Between May 20-24, 1961 Dr. Harris opened this home to a group of 33 students from Nashville, Tennessee, who were challenging interstate bus segregation. Known as the Freedom Riders, the group was attacked at the historic Montgomery Greyhound Bus Station upon arrival and harassed by rioters. In the days following the attack, martial law was declared and Harris' home served as a haven for the Freedom Riders. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., Dr. Ralph D. Abernathy, James Farmer, John . . . — Map (db m86119) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — Major Charles W. Davis, Infantry United States Army / "Above and Beyond"|
|Major Charles W. Davis A native of Montgomery, graduate of Lanier, alumnus of the Universities of Alabama and Maryland. Major Davis was awarded the Medal of Honor as Executive Officer, 2d Battalion, 27th Infantry Regiment, 25th Infantry Division. "For distinguishing himself conspicuously by gallantry and intrepidity at the risk of his life above and beyond the call of duty on Guadalcanal Island. On 12 January 1943, he volunteered to carry instructions to the leading companies of his . . . — Map (db m86129) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — Sherman W. White, Jr. — (1919 - 1943) — First Lieutenant, 99th Fighter Squadron|
Sherman, Sr. and Nettie White lived at this address on W. Jeff Davis Ave. Both teachers, they taught their children Sherman Jr., Willa, James, and Samson to love their country and value education. Willa, James, and Samson would graduate from college. Sherman, Jr. left school at the U. of Chicago to enlist as an Army Air Forces aviation cadet at Tuskegee, Alabama. At Tuskegee were trained the first African-American military aviators in the history of the U.S. Armed Forces. In the third . . . — Map (db m71084) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Pike Road — Taylor Field|
|Montgomery's first military flying installation was established 200 yards south of this spot in November of 1917. The facility was named for Captain Ralph L. Taylor, who was killed in an airplane crash at Mineola Field, New York in August of 1917. The primary flying school here included 16 hangers, repair shops, warehouses, quarters, a hospital, and nearly 200 JN-4 and DH-4 aircraft on its 800 acres. One hundred and thirty-nine fledgling pilots completed the eight-week course and some served in . . . — Map (db m72016) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Pike Road — The Oaks Plantation|
|House built ca. 1830s by Alexander Carter on small land holding. Increasing fortunes led to a 1780-acre diversified and innovative plantation. Oak trees planted on either side of front drive led to its name. During WWII, an auxiliary landing strip, called Mt. Meigs Field, was built on the land by Army Corps of Engineers, and was used for training by American, French, and British aviation cadets from Gunter Field, as well as by “Tuskegee Airmen” from Moton Field. Prominent families . . . — Map (db m72014) HM|
|Alabama (Morgan County), Vinemont — The "Katy-Did" Crash|
Eight U.S. Army Air Corps officers and enlisted men were killed one-fourth mile east of here near the Roundtop Community on Sunday, April 9, 1944, at 2:20 p.m. when their B-26C Martin Marauder bomber, nicknamed the “Katy-Did”, crashed nose-down, at full throttle, and exploded. The warplane was on a official flight from Hunter Army Airfield in Savannah, Georgia to Memphis, Tennessee when it encountered a severe thunderstorm. Witnesses reported that the plane reappeared from the . . . — Map (db m80562) HM|