HMdb.org THE HISTORICAL
MARKER DATABASE
            “Bite-Size Bits of Local, National, and Global History”
  Home  — My Markers  — Add A Marker  — Marker Series  — Links & Books  — Forum  — About Us
Click First to browse through the results shown on this page.   First >> 
Show DirectionsOmit Marker TextClick to map all markers shown on this page.
Political Subdivisions Markers
1025 markers matched your search criteria. The first 250 markers are listed. Next 775
Manitoba, Headingley — Dominion Lands Survey System
The first marker of the Dominion Lands Survey was placed 10 July, 1871, on the Principal Meridian, about half a mile south of this site. The system, then inaugurated by Lieutenant Colonel J.S. Dennis, Surveyor-General, extends across the prairies and to the Pacific coast, embracing more than 200 million acres of surveyed lands in Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta, and parts of British Columbia. Réseau Topographique du Dominion Le 10 juillet 1871, la première borne du réseau . . . — Map (db m8489) HM
Ontario (Middlesex County), London — The East London Town Hall
Completed in 1884, restored in 1969 as Aeolian Town Hall, served as a centre for political and social life in London East until 1947. — Map (db m18963) HM
Ontario (Middlesex County), London — The Founding of London
In 1793, here on the River Thames, Lieutenant-Governor John Graves Simcoe selected a site for the capital of Upper Canada. York, however, became the seat of government and the townsite of London lay undeveloped until its selection in 1826 as the judicial and administrative centre of the London District. A court-house and gaol (1829) and homes for the government officials were built, stores and hotels were opened, and by 1834 the community contained over 1100 inhabitants. A British garrison . . . — Map (db m18971) HM
Ireland, Connacht (County Roscommon), Ballyconboy — 988:1272 — Cruachan / Cruachain (Rathmore)
Cruachan is traditionally said to be the inauguration place of the Kings of Connacht. There are a number of monuments spread over an area of about two square miles. These include a large mound, a number of differently-shaped enclosures and some ring-forts. One of these contains a standing stone alleged to mark the resting place of the last pagan king of Ireland. De réir an tseanchais is ag Cruachain a dhéantaí Ríthe Chonnacht a ghairm. Tá roinnt séadchomharthaí scaipthe ar fud achar dhá . . . — Map (db m28192) HM
Ireland, Connacht (County Roscommon), Strokestown — The Sharkey Sisters
The Sharkey Sisters Una and Lena resided here. Leading members of Cumann na mBan during War of Independence — Map (db m27553) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — Jeremiah O'Donovan Rossa / Ó Donnabháin Rosa(1831 - 1915)
Ni dhéanfaidh gáeil bhearmao orc go brách [Gaelic transcription is best effort] ——— Erected in 1954. An uncut rock of Wicklow granite symbolises the patriot's unbreakable spirit. Into the rock is set a plaque bearing an impression of O'Donovan Rossa's head. — Map (db m25316) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — Robert Emmet(1778 - 1803)
Presented to the People of Ireland by The Robert Emmet Statue Committee of the United States of America April 13, 1966 Francis J. Kane, Chairman Ambassador Scott McLeod Devlin W. Dormer, Esq. Hon. Michael J. Kirwan, M.C. Hon. Thomas P. O'Neill, M.C. Hon. Daniel J. Flood, M.C. Hon. John E. Fogarty, M.C. N. Mike Devlin, Esq. The statue, erected in 1968, in a small enclave on the west side of the park faces the house in which Robert Emmet was born (now . . . — Map (db m25304) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — Theobald Wolfe Tone(1763-98)
An Irish patriot convicted of treason. He died mysteriously in prison in November 1798. The memorial consists of a ten-foot figure of Wolfe Tone backed by a wall of rough granite columns of varying width and rising to 16 feet in height. Behind the granite columns is a group of bronze figures that symbolize the past unhappy subjugation of the Irish people. This group represents the cause for which Tone sacrificed his life. He was thirty-five years old. The memorial was unveiled by President de Valera in 1967. — Map (db m25303) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Meath), Culmullen — Culmullen & 1798They Gave Their Lives For Their Cause
Erected by the People of Culmullen and District to the memory of the Men and Women of Wexford and Meath who died for their Country and lie buried in the surrounding area There were two periods of intense Rising activity around Culmullen in 1798 Thursday May 24, 1798 Dunshaughlin was the rallying point for the United Irishmen of Meath, Dublin and North Kildare where a Tree of Liberty was planted. The following day, the rebels moved to one side of the Bog of Culmullen . . . — Map (db m33354) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Meath), Duleek — Duleek CourthouseDuleek Heritage Trail
Duleek Courthouse was built in 1838 by John Trotter as a sessions house for the Meath Grand Jury. It was designed by Francis Johnston. The main architectural features are the Doric door-case and fanlight, a simplified eaves pediment and corner quoins. The building was used as a courthouse until 1960 when it was converted to a library and environmental offices. Its best-known magistrate was Judge Stephen Trotter who was responsible for the erection of Duleek House. — Map (db m24803) HM
Israel, Jerusalem District, Jerusalem — Western WallTemple Mount — [Old City of Jerusalem]
The Divine presence never moves from the Western Wall. Jewish tradition teaches that the Temple Mount is the focal point of Creation. In the center of the mountain lies the “Foundation Stone” of the world. Here Adam came into being. Here Abraham, Isaac and Jacob served God. The First and Second Temples were built upon this mountain. The Ark of the Covenant was set upon the Foundation Stone itself. Jerusalem was chosen by God as the dwelling place of the . . . — Map (db m44722) HM
Turks and Caicos Islands, Grand Turk, Cockburn Town — #13 — St. Mary’s Anglican Pro-Cathedral Church
This church was first built as a ‘chapel of ease’ in 1900 to accommodate the parishioners of Cockburn Town. At that time, St. Thomas’ Church, which was the first church in Grand Turk, was quite a distance from the town and made it particularly difficult for evening worship. The Church was designated a Pro-Cathedral of the diocese of the Bahamas and Turks & Caicos Islands in the 1990s. Every diocese has a Cathedral, and as the Turks & Caicocs [sic] Islands are politically separated from . . . — Map (db m30674) HM
Alabama (Barbour County), Eufaula — EufaulaIncorporated, December 19, 1857 — Bluff City on the Chattahoochee.
Lower Creek village of the Eufaula Indians antedating 1733. Early white settlers began moving into the village called Yufala in 1823. Irwinton chartered 1832, and renamed Eufaula in 1843. Hub of a prosperous plantation region with thriving river trade, many ante bellum homes remain as signs of its wealth and culture. After becoming an inland port in 1963, industries began locating here. — Map (db m48432) HM
Alabama (Chambers County), LaFayette — Chambers County
Chambers County, created December 18, 1832 from Creek Indian cession. Named for Dr. Henry C. Chambers of Madison County, member of Constitutional Convention 1819, legislature of 1820, elected U.S. Senator 1825 but died enroute to Washington. County government organized 1833 by Judge James Thompson of Jefferson County. First officers were: Nathaniel Greer, Sheriff; William House, Clk. Cir. Ct.; Joseph J. Williams, Clk. Co. Ct.; Booker Lawson, John Wood, William Fannin, John A. Hurst, . . . — Map (db m18162) HM
Alabama (Houston County), Cottonwood — Southern Boundary of the United States1795-1819
On October 27, 1795, the United States concluded the Treaty of San Lorenzo with Spain, establishing 31 north latitude as the boundary between its southern territory and West Florida. Despite Spanish delays, commissions representing the two countries began the eastward survey at the Mississippi River. They passed this point in August 1799, and continued to the Chattahoochee River. They later abandoned the boundary survey east of the river due to persistent Indian attacks. The 381 mile survey . . . — Map (db m73359) HM
Alabama (Houston County), Dothan — Houston County
After much politicking, on February 9, 1903, delegates from this area, T.M. Espy, Byrd Farmer, and George H. Malone, were successful in getting a bill passed in the State Legislature to form a new county from parts of Henry, Dale, and Geneva counties. The new county was named Houston after former Governor George S Houston. On March 16, 1903 an election was held to choose a new county seat and Dothan won. In 1905 the Houston County courthouse was dedicated on this corner. In 1960 the first . . . — Map (db m41135) HM
Alabama (Jefferson County), Hoover — HooverA Great Place to Live
The City of Hoover was founded in 1967 by William H. Hoover and consisted of four city blocks and only 410 citizens. Hoover grew rapidly in the following 43 years to more than 75,000 residents within 50 square miles, making it the sixth largest city in Alabama. As described by Mayor Tony Petelos, who was elected in 2004, “Hoover’s Happening!” The city received recognition from MONEY magazine as one of the best places to live in America, was listed in Lee and Saralee Rosenberg’s . . . — Map (db m52179) HM
Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — City of Florence
Florence was surveyed for the Cypress Land Company in 1818 by Ferdinand Sannoner and named for the famous capital of Tuscany. The county seat of Lauderdale County, it was first incorporated in 1826. Located at the foot of Muscle Shoals, it became a thriving agricultural and commercial center with light industry and significant religious, educational, and medical institutions. During the Civil War, Florence was occupied by both armies at various times. The Tennessee Valley Authority with Wilson . . . — Map (db m35173) HM
Alabama (Limestone County), Athens — A County Older Than the StateLimestone County
created Feb. 6, 1818 by Alabama Territorial Legislature from lands ceded by Cherokee Nation 1806 and by Chickasaw Nation in 1816. Named for creek (and its limestone bed), which runs through county. Few settlers here until Indian treaties. Athens became county seat in 1818. Limestone was the first Alabama county to be occupied by Federal troops during the Civil War. — Map (db m29109) HM
Alabama (Madison County), Fisk — 2F3 — Tennessee / AlabamaLincoln County
(Tennessee) Established 1809; named in honor of MAJOR GEN. BENJAMIN LINCOLN of the Revolutionary Army. After service at Saratoga, he was put in Chief Command in the Southern Colonies. Later, he was Secretary of War under the Confederation, 1781-83. (Alabama) Derived from Creek Indian phrase meaning "Here We Rest." In the early 1700s, several Spanish expeditions visited the state. In 1702 the French founded Mobile and settled near Tallapoosa. Alabama became a territory in 1817, a state in . . . — Map (db m30570) HM
Alabama (Russell County), Seale — Old Russell County Courthouse
During the Federal occupation of the former Confederate States of America, the Alabama Legislature created Lee County primarily from the northern half of Russell County in 1866 and ordered the selection of the county seat "more centrally located." Government in Russell County was practically non-existent at the time; few records were kept and taxes levied only for favored political purposes. An election was called; Seale won. Simeon O'Neal and Cicero McBride selected this commanding site. John . . . — Map (db m53160) HM
Alabama (Saint Clair County), Pell City — None — A County Older Than The StateSt. Clair County
Created in 1818 by territorial legislature. Named for Revolutionary hero, Gen. St. Clair. First settlers from Tennessee, Georgia – veterans of Creek Indian War, 1813-14. Pell City established as industrial town in 1890 by George H. Pell of New York. Growth of population south of Backbone Mt. and difficulty of crossing mountain led to branch county seat here in 1902. County seat at Ashville since 1822. Old Indian trails thru this county used by: DeSoto’s Spanish conquistadors . . . — Map (db m49666) HM
Alabama (Saint Clair County), Pell City — None — Pell City, Alabama
The town charter for Pell City was granted in 1887. The town was named for George Hamilton Pell, a prominent New York industrialist and president of the East and West Railroad. In 1901, the town was almost deserted when a young man named Sumter Cogswell passed through the area. After seeing the potential for growth here, he set out to rebuild the town. In 1902, he secured a cotton mill named Pell City Manufacturing Company. Later PCMC was purchased by Avondale Mills. The young town began to . . . — Map (db m49656) HM
Alabama (Talladega County), Lincoln — Lincoln, Alabama
(Side A) Historical records indicate that DeSoto and his men, as they traveled the South in search of gold, were the first white men to see the Lincoln area. With the ceding of the Creek Indian Territory in 1837, the population of the area increased. The community was known as Kingsville until 1856 when the name was changed to Lincoln. the name Lincoln came from Revolutionary War General Benjamin Lincoln who accepted the sword of surrender from the British at Yorktown, Virginia in . . . — Map (db m33282) HM
Arizona (Yavapai County), Prescott — Prescott
Prescott, Yavapai County Seat, founded 1864 on Granite Creek, source of Placer gold. Named for William Hickling Prescott, Historian, first Gov. JN. N. Goodwin, Appointee of Abraham Lincoln. Established first territorial capital of Arizona here. At Governor's Mansion, two blocks west, the first legislature met July 18, 1864. Site of first graded school in Arizona. Disastrous fire started by miner's candle destroyed four blocks about this square in 1900. — Map (db m18805) HM
Arkansas (Clay County), St. Francis — Chalk Bluff
Named for the white clay which resembles chalk, this magnificent bluff is one of the most important historical landmarks in Arkansas. At this point the St. Francis River cuts through Crowley's Ridge from west to east and forms the boundary between Arkansas and Missouri. In 1857 David Dale Owen began the first geological survey of the state here. — Map (db m18136) HM
California (Amador County), Sutter Creek — 1854 · Amador County · 1954
Amador County, carved from Calaveras and El Dorado, was organized July 3, 1854, at the crossroads of Sutter Hill. Act of Legislature, May 11, 1854, set June 17, 1854, as election date for people to vote on such a division, and appointed five organization commissioners: W.L. McKimm, Chairman; E.W. Gemmill; A.J. Sneath; A.Boileau; and A. Platt, Secretary. They transacted business at Tucker’s Ranch as follows: 1. Established election precincts; 2. Set July 17, 1854, as election . . . — Map (db m11222) HM
California (Los Angeles County), San Dimas — La Cienega Mud Springs, Birthplace of San Dimas
La Cienega—Mud Springs, Los Angeles - San Bernardino - Sonora Road Stage Station and campground. A place favored by the Indians. Near here in 1774 and 1776 Juan Bautisa de Anza—trailblazer, colonizer—and his followers passed on their way from Sonora, Mexico to Monterrey, California. And on November 12 1826 Jedediah Strong Smith, trader, trapper, pathfinder, one of the most heroic pioneers of the nation, and the first American to make his way overland to . . . — Map (db m241) HM
California (Riverside County), Corona — 738 — Corona Founders
R. B. Taylor, George L. Joy, Samuel Merrill, A. S. Garretson, and Adolph Rimpau, having purchased lands of the La Sierra Rancho of Bernardo Yorba and the El Temescal Grant of Leandro Serrano on May 4, 1886, founded the citrus colony and town of Corona. — Map (db m242) HM
California (San Bernardino County), Upland — George Chaffey, Jr.1848–1932
Man of Vision Land, Water and Power Father of The Model Colony Sponsored by Upland Sister Cities Association. Upland's Sister City Mildura, Australia, was founded by George and W.B. Chaffey. John Edward Svenson, FNSS Sculptor — Map (db m168) HM
California (Solano County), Benicia — 153 — Old State Capitol
Erected in 1852, this historic building was ostensibly intended for Benicia City Hall, offered as the State Capitol and promptly accepted, it had that honor from February 4, 1853 to February 25, 1854. Deeded to state in 1951, it was one of the four locations of the “Capitol on Wheels.” — Map (db m16375) HM
Colorado (Douglas County), Castle Rock — Douglas
The reasons for Douglas County’s popularity in the late twentieth century-rolling landscapes, pastoral scenery, and the proximity to a big city-also attracted late-nineteenth century settlers. In November 1861, territorial legislators created Douglas County as one of Colorado’s original seventeen counties. It stretched 5,160 square miles between the South Platte River on the west and the Kansas border on the east.

Strategically located south of Denver, Douglas County welcomed fortune . . . — Map (db m46117) HM

Colorado (Elbert County), Kiowa — 272 — Kiowa
Frontier Communication. Kiowa was originally named after its postmaster, Henry Wendling. Such identifications were common among Colorado’s frontier hamlets, where the post office often was the town. Widely dispersed settlers would congregate at these stations (usually housed in a ranch or general store) to stay in touch with each other and the outside world. As communities grew, residents kept informed via the local newspaper, which recorded hometown births, deaths, calvings, paintings, . . . — Map (db m45754) HM
Colorado (Morgan County), Fort Morgan — 224 — Fort Morgan
Junction Station, the first settlement at this site, suffered numerous Indian attacks similar to those that raged all along the South Platte during the mid 1860s. To protect the crucial crossroads, which joined the South Platte River Trail with its Denver cutoff, the U.S. Army established Camp Junction in 1864. In 1866 Fort Morgan, roughly the size of a city block, was completed. The post defended the trail, but traffic soon shifted north to the transcontinental rail corridor, and Fort Morgan . . . — Map (db m47322) HM
Colorado (Sedgwick County), Julesburg — Fourth Julesburg
In the 1880's, a fourth Julesburg developed at the junction of the Transcontinental Railroad and the Denver Branch of the Union Pacific. Originally known as Denver Junction, the town was soon renamed Julesburg, presumably the last of Jules Beni's namesakes.

No matter what its location, Julesburg has always been an important waystation on the great Overland Route. From its early days as an 1850's trading post, a Pony Express home station, end of track for the Union Pacific Railroad, start of . . . — Map (db m47367) HM

Colorado (Sedgwick County), Julesburg — Nearby Things to See and DoJulesburg, Colo.
1. DePoorter Lakeis located off U.S. 385, just south of Julesburg. It offers fishing, picnic tables, restrooms and a wheelchair accessible pathway around the lake.

2. Hippodrome Theatre is newly restored and a source of community pride. This historic theatre, originally built in 1919, is once again providing films and other entertainment.

3. The Depot Museum is a relocated and remodeled Union Pacific Depot. It showcases Indian artifacts, relics from the four Julesburgs and . . . — Map (db m47371) HM

Connecticut (Fairfield County), Old Greenwich — Old Greenwich
Under the jurisdiction of the New Haven Colony, the first settlers in 1640 purchased land from the Siwanoy Indians. Under New Amsterdam’s protection, this settlement was a dutch manor during 1642–56. In the years 1656–65, it was combined with the town of Stamford. In 1665, Greenwich was recognized as a distinct and separate town in the Colony of Connecticut. A tax-supported church (First Congregational Church) was established. By 1690, this village was frequently called . . . — Map (db m2484) HM
Connecticut (Fairfield County), Ridgefield — Ridgefield
This town was founded in 1708 by a group of families from Norwalk who purchased twenty thousand acres from the Ramapoo Indians for one hundred pounds sterling. They were aided by John Copp, a surveyor, who explored the land now lying between High Ridge and East Ridge and recommended it as a promising agricultural area, suitable for settlement. In 1777 at the Battle of Ridgefield, Colonial militia fought British and Hessian troops returning from a raid on American military stores in Danbury. . . . — Map (db m23409) HM
Connecticut (Litchfield County), Woodbury — Woodbury
In 1659 citizens of Stratford purchased from the Pegasset Indians the land, then called Pomperaug Plantation, that is now occupied by Woodbury, Southbury, Roxbury, Bethlehem and parts of Washington, Middlebury and Oxford. It was re-named Woodbury in 1673 and became the twenty-third town of Connecticut. The first congregation was gathered to a church near this marker, and townspeople were called to worship by the town drummer stationed on the rock to the east. The streams of Woodbury provided . . . — Map (db m17607) HM
Delaware (Kent County), Dover — East Dover Hundred
Originally part of St. Jones Hundred renamed Dover Hundred 1823, the boundaries being Little Creek on north and St. Jones Creek on south, extending from Delaware River to Maryland line. Dover Hundred was divided 1877 into two hundreds, called East Dover Hundred, and West Dover Hundred. — Map (db m51114) HM
Delaware (Kent County), Marydel — West Dover Hundred
Originally part of St. Jones Hundred, renamed Dover Hundred 1823, the boundaries being Little Creek on the north and St. Jones Creek on the south, extending from Delaware River to Maryland Line. Dover Hundred was divided 1877 into two Hundreds, called West Dover Hundred and East Dover Hundred. — Map (db m74137) HM
Delaware (Kent County), Viola — K-15 — North Murderkill Hundred
Formerly part of Murderkill Hundred, originally called Motherkill Hundred, kill meaning creek in Dutch. Original boundaries were St. Jones Creek on north, and Murderkill Creek on south, extending from Delaware River to Maryland line. In 1867, Murderkill Hundred was divided into two hundreds named North Murderkill Hundred and South Murderkill Hundred. — Map (db m51113) HM
Delaware (New Castle County), Middletown — Welsh Tract
Approximate southern boundary of tract of thirty thousand acres granted by William Penn to the Welsh in 1701. It included what is now Pencader Hundred, Delaware, and a part of Cecil County, Maryland. — Map (db m3769) HM
Delaware (New Castle County), New Castle — N.C. 13 — New Castle Common
This land is part of a tract of one thousand acres set apart by William Penn in 1701 for the inhabitants of the town of New Castle. Trustees were appointed and incorporated by Penn’s heirs in 1764, whose successors still hold and manage the land. — Map (db m3212) HM
Delaware (New Castle County), Newark — NC-36 — The Wedge
The wedge-shape tract, west of the Maryland and Delaware curve, consists of approximately 800 acres of land. For more than a century, the property was claimed by Pennsylvania but governed by Delaware. In 1889, a joint committee appointed from both states awarded it to Delaware. This decision was ratified by Pennsylvania in 1897, by Delaware in 1921, and by the Congress of the United States in 1921. — Map (db m9961) HM
Delaware (New Castle County), Wilmington — NC-121 — Cool Spring Park
With the completion of Cool Spring Reservoir in 1877, an adjoining parcel of unused land was reserved for park purposes. Formally designated as Cool Spring Park, the grounds were managed by the Wilmington Water Department until 1967, when the City Parks Department assumed responsibility. The reservoir and park were named for the natural springs of the area. Cool Spring was also the name of the nearby home of Caesar A. Rodney, a member of Congress and United States Attorney General in the . . . — Map (db m10917) HM
Delaware (Sussex County), Georgetown — SC-86 — “Pettijohn’s Old Field”
The future home of Sussex County’s seat of government was a sparsely populated rural area when the 76 acres which would become the Town of Georgetown were purchased on May 9, 1791. Located “near the centre” of the country at a place known as “James Pettijohn’s Old Field,” the land was surveyed by Rhoads Shankland, who divided it into lots which were sold to defray costs associated with the establishment of the town. The most prominent feature of his design was this Public Square, known today as The Circle. — Map (db m423) HM
Delaware (Sussex County), Georgetown — SC-88 — Relocation of the County Seat
The conflicting claims of the proprietors of Maryland and Pennsylvania resulted in a lengthy and sometimes violent dispute concerning the ownership and boundaries of Sussex County. Residents who had been Marylanders before the controversy was resolved in 1775, found themselves to be inconvenienced when traveling to Lewes, the original seat of government. Hundreds of persons signed petitions requesting removal of the county seat to a more central location. On January 29, 1791, the Delaware . . . — Map (db m424) HM
Delaware (Sussex County), Georgetown — SC-87 — Sussex County Courthouse
In 1835 a lottery was authorized to raise funds to replace the frame structure which had served as Courthouse since 1791. Construction of the new building began in 1837 following the sale and relocation of the original Courthouse to its present site on South Bedford Street. The Brick Hotel across the square was designated as the temporary seat of justice. Completed in 1839, the new Courthouse was designed by nationally known architect William Strickland, and constructed by Layton & Sipple. A . . . — Map (db m425) HM
Delaware (Sussex County), Lewes — S-31 — Lewes
Under orders from Peter Stuyvesant, the Dutch erected Fort at Hoorn Kil (Lewes Creek) 1659 but were soon dispossessed by Marylanders. Here was also a communistic settlement established in 1662 by Mennonites from Holland under Peter Cornelius Plockhoy. Sir Robert Carr, 1664, “Destroyed the quaking colony of Plockhoy to a Naile.” — Map (db m19404) HM
Delaware (Sussex County), Lewes — Lewes
The Dutch in 1673 established a court in Hoorn Kil for the inhabitants “on the east and west sides of Cape Henlopen unto Bomties (Bombay) Hook.” Governor Andros of New York in 1676 established an English court at Whorekill, the jurisdiction of which was reduced in 1681 by the creation of Kent County. County Seat of Sussex County until 1791. — Map (db m19408) HM
Delaware (Sussex County), South Fenwick Island — S.C.-74 — Transpeninsular Line
This stone monument, erected April 26, 1751, marks the eastern end of the Transpeninsular Line surveyed 1751-1751 by John Watson and William Parsons of Pennsylvania and John Emory and Thomas Jones of Maryland. This line established the east-west boundary between Pennsylvania’s “Three Lower Counties” (now Delaware) and the Colony of Maryland. It established also the middle point of the peninsula, 35 miles to the west. The stone bears the coat of arms of the Calverts on the south side . . . — Map (db m1234) HM
District of Columbia, Washington — Original Federal Boundary Stone East
Original Federal Boundary Stone District of Columbia Placed 1791-1792 Protected by Dist. of Co. Chapter Daughters of the American Revolution 1916 — Map (db m5281) HM
District of Columbia (Washington), Columbia Heights — Washington Meridian"The Stone" — 1804 - 1923
The stone marking the Washington Meridian was formerly located 52 feet, nine inches west of this tablet which was presented by the Army and Navy Chapter, Daughters of the American Revolution. — Map (db m17438) HM
District of Columbia (Washington), Deanwood — Original Federal Boundary Stone NE 9
Original Federal Boundary Stone District of Columbia Placed 1791-1792 Protected by Capt Molly Pitcher Chapter Daughters of the American Revolution 1916 — Map (db m5283) HM
District of Columbia (Washington), Downtown — Carnegie Endowment for International Peace
700 Jackson Place has been designated a National Historic Landmark This site possesses national significance in commemorating the history of the United States of America National Park Service 1974 From 1910 to 1948 it served as the first headquarters of The Carnegie Endowment for International Peace. It was endowed by Andrew Carnegie to "Hasten the abolition of international war." The townhouse was built in 1860 for Dr. Peter Parker founder of medical missions in China who occupied the . . . — Map (db m32879) HM
District of Columbia (Washington), Downtown — Webster-Ashburton Treaty
Friendship between the United States and Canada was developed and strengthened by the signing of the Webster-Ashburton Treaty, on August 9, 1842, in the old State Department building which stood on this site. This treaty established the north- eastern boundary between the two countries. This tablet paced by the Kiwanis Club of Washington in Cooperation with the committee on marking points of historic interest April 30, 1929 — Map (db m17617) HM
District of Columbia (Washington), North Portal Estates — Original Federal Boundary Stone North
Original Federal Boundary Stone District of Columbia Placed 1791-1792 Protected by Maryland Chapter Daughters of the American Revolution 1916 — Map (db m5110) HM
District of Columbia (Washington), Northeast — Original Federal Boundary Stone NE 3
Original Federal Boundary Stone District of Columbia Placed 1791-1792 Protected by Our Flag Chapter Daughters of the American Revolution 1916 — Map (db m5284) HM
District of Columbia (Washington), Northeast — Original Federal Boundary Stone NE 4
Original Federal Boundary Stone District of Columbia Placed 1791-1792 Protected by Elizabeth Jackson Chapter Daughters of the American Revolution 1916 — Map (db m5149) HM
District of Columbia (Washington), Northeast — Original Federal Boundary Stone NE 5
Original Federal Boundary Stone District of Columbia Placed 1791-1792 Protected by Constitution Chapter Daughters of the American Revolution 1916 — Map (db m5148) HM
District of Columbia (Washington), Northeast — Original Federal Boundary Stone NE 6
Original Federal Boundary Stone District of Columbia Placed 1791–1792 Protected by Livingston Manor Chapter Daughters of the American Revolution 1916 — Map (db m5109) HM
District of Columbia (Washington), Northwest — Independence of Kazakhstan
The Monument of Independence of Kazakhstan This monument, depicting a young warrior soaring on a winged snow leopard, symbolizes many centuries of the nation’s history and a modern Kazakhstan striving for its future. Dedicated by His Excellency Nursultan Nazarbayev, the first President of the Republic of Kazakhstan. September 2006 [Seal of the Republic of Kazakhstan] — Map (db m39921) HM
District of Columbia (Washington), Northwest — Taras Shevchenko Memorial
[Inscription on south face of the Shevchenko statue base:] Taras Shevchenko 1814-1861 Bard of Ukraine [Inscription on north face of statue base:] Dedicated to the Liberation, Freedom and Independence of all Captive Nations This monument of Taras Shevchenko, 19th century Ukrainian poet and fighter for the independence of Ukraine and the freedom of all mankind, who under foreign Russian imperialist tyranny and colonial rule appealed for “The New and . . . — Map (db m31136) HM
District of Columbia (Washington), Shepherd Park — Original Federal Boundary Stone NE 1
This plaque marks the site of the District of Columbia North-East Boundary Stone No. 1 originally placed here 1791 - 1792 Presented by The Mary Washington Chapter Daughters of the American Revolution and United States Department of the Interior The National Park Service 1960 — Map (db m5285) HM
Florida (DeSoto County), Arcadia — F-61 — DeSoto County
Named after the great Spanish conquistador and Florida explorer Hernando De Soto, the county was created out of Manatee County in 1887. The area's original inhabitants were Caloosa Indians. In early Florida history the region was the scene of numerous Indian battles. The county's 416,640 acres offer a diversified economy of citrus, cattle, agriculture and industry. Arcadia is the county seat. — Map (db m72534) HM
Florida (Hillsborough County), Tampa — Cradle of Cuban Liberty
On this corner was located El Liceo Cubano, a tobacco stripping house converted into a Cuban social center in 1886. This is the cradle of Cuban independence. Here, on Nov. 26-27, 1891, Jose Marti delivered the two speeches, "Con Todos y Para Todos" and "Los Pinos Nuevos", and drafted "Las Resoluciones" which became the program of the united Cuban Revolutionary Party and eventually secured the independence of Cuba from Spain in 1898. — Map (db m15157) HM
Florida (Jackson County), Marianna — F-195 — Jackson County
On August 12, 1822, the year after the United States received possession of the Floridas, an Act of the Territorial Legislative Council divided West Florida into two counties -- Jackson and Escambia. At that time, Jackson County included all territory between the Choctawhatchee and Suwannee Rivers, and area which now encompasses land in seventeen North Florida Counties. Jackson County is named in honor of Andrew Jackson, Governor of the Territories of East and West Florida. The county seat is Marianna, incorporated November 5, 1828. — Map (db m74194) HM
Florida (Lafayette County), Mayo — F-221 — Lafayette County
Lafayette County was created December 23, 1856, from Madison County. The county was named in honor of the Marquis de Lafayette, the French citizen who rendered invaluable assistance to the Colonies during the Revolutionary War. The famed Suwannee River forms the entire eastern boundary of the county. The county courts first met at the house of Ariel Jones near Fayetteville. The county seat was moved from New Troy to Mayo in 1893. Dixie County was created from the lower part of the county in 1921. — Map (db m17725) HM
Florida (Okeechobee County), Okeechobee — F-59 — Okeechobee County
Okeechobee County was formed Aug. 7, 1917, from St. Lucie, Osceola and Palm Beach Counties. Long a haunt of the Seminoles, the area saw almost no white penetration until the 2nd Seminole War, 1835-42. Much fighting occurred in the county during the war including the Battle of Lake Okeechobee on Dec. 24, 1837. The county has become a major truck crop area. The vicious 1928 hurricane led to flood control on the Lake. — Map (db m72601) HM
Florida (Sarasota County), Venice — Venezia Park
[South Side of Marker] John Nolen, world-renowned city planner from Philadelphia, created the overall design for the City of Venice. Venezia Park Subdivision helped illustrate Nolen's concept for a model city. Dr. Fred Albee, early developer, commissioned Nolen's original plan for the area, which included a golf course. When the Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers, a Cleveland based union, bought Albee's undeveloped property in 1923 as part of a $4 million real estate . . . — Map (db m32558) HM
Florida (Seminole County), Longwood — Seminole County
  The importance of Seminole County in the history of the area lies in its location at the navigable headwaters of the St. Johns River and the elevated forest land south of the three large lakes within its boundaries: Monroe, Harney, and Jesup. Ancient Indian mounds along these waters indicate its importance before recorded history. The perfection of the steamboat in the early part of the 19th century opened the river waterways to commerce, and the banks of these lakes became the staging points . . . — Map (db m52360) HM
Florida (Seminole County), Longwood — Seminole County
The importance of Seminole County in the history of the area lies in its location at the navigable headwaters of the St. Johns River and the elevated forest land south of the three large lakes within its boundaries: Monroe, Harney, and Jesup. Ancient Indian mounds along these waters indicate its importance before recorded history. The perfection of the steamboat in the early part of the 19th century opened the river waterways to commerce, and the banks of these lakes became the staging points . . . — Map (db m54051) HM
Georgia (Atkinson County), Pearson — 002-1 — Atkinson Court House>>>----- >
Atkinson County was created by an act of the Georgia legislature in 1917, out of lands previously in Clinch and Coffee Counties. The county was organized Jan. 1, 1918. The first officers were J.W. Roberts, Ordinary; Wiley M. Sumner, Clerk Superior Court; E.D. Leggett, Sheriff and Charles E. Stewart, Representative in legislature. Members of the first Board of Commissioners, created in 1919, were Jeff Kirkland, David Weathers and J.M. Roberts Sr. The first Clerk to the Commissioners . . . — Map (db m53177) HM
Georgia (Bacon County), Alma — 3-1 — Bacon County
This County, created by Act of the Legislature July 27, 1914, is named for Augustus O. Bacon, four times U.S. Senator, who died in office Feb. 15, 1914. An expert on Mexican affairs, his death was a great loss coming at a time of critical relations with that nation. Born in 1839, Senator Bacon served as Adjutant of the 9th Georgia Regiment during the War of 61-65. Among the first County Officers were: Ordinary T.B. Taylor, Clerk of Superior Court Victor Deen, Sheriff J.S. Googe, Tax Collector . . . — Map (db m24292) HM
Georgia (Baker County), Newton — 004-1 — Baker County
This County, created by Acts of the Legislature Dec. 12 & 24, 1825, is named for Col. John Baker of Revolutionary fame. The original County Site was at Byron but an Act of Dec. 26, 1831, established a new Site which was named Newton for Sgt. John Newton, a Revolutionary soldier. One of the hardest battles of the Creek Indian War was fought in Baker County at Chickasawhachee Creek in 1836. Among the first County Officers were: Sheriff Stafford Long, Clerk of Superior & Inferior Courts Thomas F. . . . — Map (db m26981) HM
Georgia (Banks County), Homer — 006-7B — Banks County
Banks County was created by Act of Dec. 11, 1858 from Franklin and Habersham Counties. It was named for Dr. Richard Banks (1784-1850), whose reputation as physician and surgeon extended over north Ga. and S.C. Especially noted for treating Indians for smallpox, he practiced medicine in Gainesville from 1832 until his death. First officers of Banks County, commissioned March 19, 1859, were: William P. Richards, Sheriff; James Anderson, Clk. Sup. Ct.; William H. Means, Clk. Inf. Ct.; Archibald . . . — Map (db m40684) HM
Georgia (Barrow County), Statham — Statham House
Built circa 1850. Owned by M. John C. Statham. He provided homes for widows of Civil War Veterans; donated land for right-of-way of railroad; streets for town, and a lot for a Methodist Church -- now the city cemetery. Statham, incorporated Dec. 20, 1892, named in honor of its founder, M.J.C. Statham. First Post Office known as Barber’s Creek, 1846; then DeLay, 1854; and changed to Statham in 1892. Statham was originally known as Calamit Village, part of the Talasee Colony on the Ocoloco Trail, . . . — Map (db m17348) HM
Georgia (Barrow County), Winder — 007-2 — Barrow County
Barrow County was created by Act of July 7, 1914 from Gwinnett, Jackson and Walton Counties. It was named for David Crenshaw Barrow, Chancellor of the University of Georgia for many years. Born in Oglethorpe County, October 18, 1852, he died in Athens January 11, 1929. Affectionately known to thousands as "Uncle Dave," he spent most of his life teaching. First officers of Barrow County, commissioned January 11, 1915 were: H.G. Hill, Ordinary; Geo. N. Bagwell, Clk. Sup. Ct.; H.O. Camp, Sheriff; . . . — Map (db m19070) HM
Georgia (Bartow County), Cartersville — 008-43 — Bartow County
Originally Cass, Bartow County was created by Act of Dec. 3, 1832 from Cherokee County. The name was changed Dec. 6, 1861 to honor Gen. Francis S. Bartow (1816-1861), Confederate political leader and soldier, who fell mortally wounded at the First Battle of Manassas, while leading the 7th and 8th Ga. Vols. of his brigade. His last words were said to be, “They have killed me, boys, but never give up.” First officers of this county, commissioned March 9, 1833, were: Benjamin F. Adair, . . . — Map (db m40585) HM
Georgia (Bartow County), Emerson — 008-4 — Emerson
Named for Joseph Emerson Brown, Gov. of Ga., 1857-1865, U.S. Senator, 1880-1891. Known as Stegall`s Station prior to 1889; site of the Bartow Iron Works. May 20, 1864: Gen. Joseph E. Johnston`s forces camped here after retreating from Cassville and burning the highway and R.R. bridges over the Etowah. Having heard that Sherman`s forces had moved southward from Kingston toward Dallas, Johnston resumed his march on roads that converged there, May 23d, 24th. Allatoona, scene of Oct. 5, 1864, battle, is 2 mi. E. — Map (db m10907) HM
Georgia (Ben Hill County), Fitzgerald — 009-2 — Ben Hill County
Ben Hill County, created by Act of July 31, 1906 from Irwin and Wilcox Counties, was named for Benjamin Harvey Hill (1823-1882), “one of America’s greatest orators.” A staunch supporter of the administration in the Confederate Senate, after the War Between the States he was an influential member of the U.S. House of Representatives and Senate. First officers of Ben Hill County, commissioned Jan. 5, 1907, were: C.M. Wise, Ordinary; D.W.M. Whitley, Clerk Superior Court; W.H. Fountain, . . . — Map (db m40263) HM
Georgia (Berrien County), Nashville — 010-3 — Berrien County
Berrien County, created by Act of Feb. 25, 1856, was named for John MacPherson Berrien, “the American Cicero,” who was born Aug. 23, 1781 and died Jan. 1, 1856. He was Judge of the Eastern Circuit, U.S. Senator and U.S. Attorney General. The county seat, Nashville, was named for Gen. Francis Nash of N.C., distinguished soldier of the Revolution. First county officers, commissioned April 21, 1856, were: Sher., John Studstill; Clk. of Courts, Richard A. Peeples; Tax Rec., John A. . . . — Map (db m40122) HM
Georgia (Bibb County), Macon — 011-9 — Bibb County
Bibb County was created by Act of Dec. 9, 1822 from Houston, Jones, Monroe and Twiggs Counties. It was named for Dr. William Wyatt Bibb (1781-1820) of Elbert County. Dr. Bibb, physician, legislator, Congressman, Senator, was appointed Governor of the Territory of Alabama by Pres. Madison and was the first elective Governor of the State of Alabama. First officers of Bibb County, commissioned Feb. 12, 1823, were: Nicholas W. Wells, Clerk of Superior Court; James Flewellen, Clerk of Inferior . . . — Map (db m44892) HM
Georgia (Bleckley County), Cochran — GHM012-1 — Bleckley County
This County, created by an act of the Georgia Legislature July 30, 1912, is named for Chief Justice Logan E. Bleckley, of the Georgia Supreme Court, one of the greatest jurists in the history of this State. Born in Rabun County in 1827, he served as a Confederate soldier, resumed his law practice after the war, was an Associate Justice of the Supreme Court 1875-1880 and Chief Justice 1887-1894. Among the first Bleckley County officers were Sheriff J.A. Floyd, Superior Court Clerk J.T. . . . — Map (db m47553) HM
Georgia (Brantley County), Nahunta — 013-1 — Brantley County
This County, created by Act of the Legislature Aug. 14, 1920, is named for Benjamin D. Brantley. It is said that the old B. & W. Railroad, which was partly destroyed, marked the most southern point of advance of Sherman`s Army. Among the first County Officers were: Sheriff W.H. Howard, Ordinary Wm. M. Roberson, Clerk of Superior Court John R. James, Tax Receiver Isaac E. Highsmith, Tax Collector M.H. Robinson, Treasurer W.T. Purdom, Coroner Dr. D.L. Moore and Surveyor D.H. Raulerson. — Map (db m24045) HM
Georgia (Brooks County), Quitman — 14-1 — Brooks County
This county created by Act of the Legislature Dec. 11, 1858, is named for Preston Smith Brooks, zealous defender of States Rights. Born in S.C. Aug. 6, 1819, Brooks served in the Mexican War & in Congress. He died June 27, 1857. The first County Officers included: Ordinary Angus Morrison, Sheriff Enoch Hall Pike, Clerk of Superior & Inferior Courts D.W. McRae. Tax Collector George Alderman, Tax Receiver John Delk, Treasurer William F. Speight, Surveyor Jeremiah Wilson, Coroner John T. Devane, . . . — Map (db m26977) HM
Georgia (Bryan County), Pembroke — 015-1 — Bryan County
This County created by Act of the Legislature Dec. 19, 1793, is named for Jonathan Bryan, Revolutionary patriot and member of the Executive Council in 1777. The `lost town` of Hardwick on the Ogeechee River was the first temporary County Site. Laid out in 1755, it was named for Lord Hardwick, Lord Chancellor of England, a relative of the then Gov. Reynolds. Two Royal Governors recommended that it be the Capital of Georgia. An Act of 1797 designated a new County Site at . . . — Map (db m14952) HM
Georgia (Bryan County), Pembroke — Bryan County
Named for the Honorable Jonathan Bryan, Esq. 1708- 1788 Founder, Father, and Patriot of Georgia. — Map (db m14954) HM
Georgia (Bulloch County), Statesboro — 016-2B — Bulloch County
Bulloch County was created by Act. of Feb. 8, 1776 from Bryan and Screven Counties. Originally, it contained part of Evans, Candler, Emanuel and Jenkins Counties. It was named for Archibald Bulloch (1730-1777), Revolutionary leader, elected Pres. of the Executive Council of Georgia, Jan. 20, 1776. He was first Provisional Governor of Georgia, Jan. 22, 1776 until his death, Feb. 22, 1777. First County officers, commissioned March 25, 1796, were: Charles McCall, Jr., Sheriff; Andrew E. Wells, . . . — Map (db m10401) HM
Georgia (Burke County), Waynesboro — 017-6 — Burke County
Burke County, an original county, was created by the Const. of Feb. 5, 1777, from Creek Cession of May 30, 1733. In 1758, it had been organized as the Parish of St. George. Originally, it contained parts of Jefferson, Jenkins and Screven Counties. Burke County was named for Edmund Burke (1729-1797), writer, member of Parliament and eloquent defender of the cause of the colonies in America. Lemuel Lanier was commissioned Sheriff, Jan. 27, 1778. Thos. Burton, David Lewis, Nathan Hooker, Dan. . . . — Map (db m7856) HM
Georgia (Butts County), Jackson — 018-1 — Butts County
This County, created by Act of the Legislature December 24, 1825, is named for Capt. Sam Butts killed in the Indian War of 1814 at the Battle of Chalibbee. At Indian Springs, now a State Park, were signed the Treaties with the Creeks giving Georgia respectively all lands between the Flint and Ocmulgee Rivers north to the Chattahoochee, and all the remaining Indian lands in the state. Among the first County Officers were: Sheriff Isaac Nolen, Clerk of Superior Court Abel L. Robinson, Clerk of . . . — Map (db m21385) HM
Georgia (Calhoun County), Morgan — 019-1 — Calhoun County
This county, created by Act of the Legislature Feb. 20, 1854, is named for John C. Calhoun, famed South Carolina Statesman, who resigned as Vice President of the United States in 1832 to return to the U.S. Senate and defend States Rights in debates with Daniel Webster. He served as Secretary of War (1817-25) and Secretary of State (1844-45) First Calhoun County Officers were: Sheriff Wm. H. Pierce, Clerk Joseph W. Roberts, Ordinary Wm. S. Harris, Tax Receiver H.W. Wilkins, Tax Collector . . . — Map (db m27052) HM
Georgia (Camden County), St. Marys — 020-10 — City of St. Marys
This town was built on the north bank of the St. Marys River at a place called Buttermilk Bluff. The original tract of land, containing 1620 acres, was purchased by the proprietors for laying out the Town of St. Marys for Jacob Weed for thirty eight dollars each on Dec. 12, 1787. The city was first laid out by James Finley, County Surveyor, in August 1788 and recorded Jan. 5, 1789. The twenty proprietors were: Isaac Wheeler, William Norris, Nathaniel Ashley, Lodowick Ashley, James Seagrove, . . . — Map (db m14180) HM
Georgia (Candler County), Metter — 021-1 — Candler County
Candler County was created by an Act of the Georgia Legislature July 17, 1914,out of portions of Bulloch, Emanuel and Tattnall Counties, and named for Gov. Allen D. Candler (1834-1910). Gov. Candler is famed for the preservation of Colonial and Confederate records and being the first compiler of State records. Among the first officers of Candler County were Ordinary George R. Trapnell, Sheriff Charles M. Harpen, Superior Court Clerk Joshua Everett, Tax Receiver O.L. Patterson, Tax Collector . . . — Map (db m18229) HM
Georgia (Carroll County), Carrollton — 022-1 — Charles Carroll of Carrollton
Carroll County, created by an act of the Georgia legislature in December, 1826, proudly bears the name of Charles Carroll, of Carrollton. Charles Carroll was born in Annapolis, Maryland, in 1737. He attended preparatory schools in this country but completed his education in France and England. At the age of 28 he returned home to settle down and his father gave him a large estate near Frederick, Md., known as Carrollton Manor. From then on he became known as 'Charles Carroll of . . . — Map (db m12872) HM
Georgia (Carroll County), Whitesburg — Council Bluffs Treaty11 December 1821
Here at the home of Creek Chief Wm McIntosh, a treaty establishing a new boundary between the CHEROKEE and CREEK Indian Nations was drafted and signed. The north boundary was later used in the first survey of Carroll County in 1826-27. — Map (db m12547) HM
Georgia (Catoosa County), Ringgold — 023-1 — Catoosa County
Created December 5, 1853, the county has an Indian name. Ringgold bears the name of Major Samuel Ringgold, who died of wounds received at the Mexican War battle of Palo Alto in 1846. Taylor’s Ridge, visible for miles, is named for the Indian chief Richard Taylor. Catoosa Springs, four miles to the east, and Gordon Springs, ten miles south, were colorful ante-bellum summer resorts. The bloody Chickamauga battle was fought seven miles to the west, the battlefield now being a National Military Park. — Map (db m19268) HM
Georgia (Charlton County), Folkston — 024-1 — Charlton County
Created by an Act of February 18, 1854 out of Camden County, Charlton County was named for Judge Robert M. Charlton of Savannah. Trader`s Hill (Fort Alert), an important shipping point and head of navigation on St. Marys River, was the first County Site. In 1901, Folkston became the County Site after the Savannah, Florida & Western RR was in operation. The first County Officers, elected in April, 1854, were: Daniel R. Dedge, Sheriff; J.H. Oliver, Clerk of both Courts; Francis M. Smith, . . . — Map (db m12951) HM
Georgia (Charlton County), Folkston — 024-9 — Trader's Hill (Fort Alert)
About 2 miles East, on this road, is the site of "Fort Alert, usually called Trader's Hill." Established in the 18th century, and defended by a stockade garrisoned by U.S. Troops, Trader's Hill was a refuge for settlers during the Indian Wars. At the head of navigation on the St. Marys River, it was also one of the most important trading centers in the Southeast. In 1854, it became the County Site [sic] of Charlton County, and served in this capacity until 1901. The Methodist Church on . . . — Map (db m14472) HM
Georgia (Charlton County), Moniac — 94 A-3 — Ellicott's Mound
Ellicott`s Mound, 5 miles north, at the head of the St. Marys River, was erected February 27, 1800, to mark the boundry between the United States and Spanish Florida, as set fourth in the Treaty of 1795 with Spain. Major Andrew Ellicott noted surveyor of Pennsylvania had been appointed U.S. Commissioner to survey the boundary. Prevented by Indians from running the line west from the Chattahoochee, he sailed around Florida and up the St. Marys to the edge of Okefenokee Swamp where he erected the mound. — Map (db m9186) HM
Georgia (Chattahoochee County), Cusseta — 026-4 — Chattahoochee County
Chattahoochee County, created by Act of February 13, 1854, was cut off from Muscogee and Marion Counties. It was named for the Chattahoochee River. Its courthouse, constructed in 1854, was built of select heart lumber from the Long Leaf Pine by slave labor. First county officers, commissioned March 11, 1854, were: William W. Bussey, Sheriff; N.N. Howard, Clerk Superior Court; Ezekiel Walters, Clerk Inferior Court; Abner Smith, Ordinary; William H. Askew, Tax Receiver; Stephen Parker, Tax . . . — Map (db m38841) HM
Georgia (Chattooga County), Summerville — 027-2 — Chattooga County
Chattooga County was created by Act of Dec. 28, 1838 from Floyd and Walker Counties. It was named for the river which flows through county, called Chattooga by the Cherokee Indians. Sequoyah (George Guess or Gist), inventor of the Cherokee Alphabet, was born and lived for some time near Alpine in Chattooga County. First County Officers, commissioned February 5, 1839, were: G.T. Hopkins, Clerk Superior Court; I.N. Bibb, Clerk Inferior Court; W.T. Kellet, Sheriff; I. McNeally, Coroner. — Map (db m16374) HM
Georgia (Cherokee County), Canton — 028-2 — Cherokee County
Created December 3, 1832, from Cherokee Indian Lands, and named in memory of the Cherokees. Early settlers tried to start silk production, but were not successful, and today there remains no trace of this except Canton, hopefully named for the Chinese silk center. The Marietta and North Georgia Railroad reached Canton in 1879, providing a considerable stimulus to development. The locally financed and managed textile mill, which began operations in 1900, has provided a payroll of much local importance. — Map (db m21824) HM
Georgia (Cherokee County), Canton — 028-4 — Cherokee County Gold
Cherokee County, located along Georgia’s gold belt, figured prominently in the gold rush of the 1830’s and 40’s. Several mines operated along a five mile area near the Etowah River in the northeastern part of the county, including the Franklin-Creighton, Sandow, and Latham Mines. More than 30 other small placer mines extended southwesterly across the county and included the Sixes Mine, worked earlier by the Cherokees. After the 1860’s, most gold mining operations in the county either slowed or . . . — Map (db m21821) HM
Georgia (Clarke County), Athens — 029-4 — Clarke County
Clarke County, created by Act of Dec. 5, 1801 from Jackson County, originally contained Oconee and part of Madison and Greene Counties. It was named for Gen. Elijah Clarke who came to Wilkes County, Ga., from N.C. in 1774 and fought through Ga., and S.C. during the Revolutionary War. He engaged in several battles with the Indians and signed treaties with the Cherokees in 1783 and Creeks in 1783 and 1785. He died Dec. 15, 1799. First officers of Clarke County, commissioned Dec. 31, 1801, were: . . . — Map (db m36187) HM
Georgia (Clay County), Fort Gaines — 030-1 — Clay County
This County created by Act of the Legislature Feb. 16, 1854, is named for Henry Clay, famous statesman who died in 1852. Near fort Gaines, the County Site, stood the actual Fort built in 1816 for defense in the Creek Indian Wars and named for Gen. Edmond P. Gaines who ordered its construction. Among the first County Officers were: Sheriff George R. Holloway, Clerk of the Superior & Inferior Courts Warren Sutton, Ordinary John H. Jones, Tax Receiver John H. Gilbert, Tax Collector Peter Lee, . . . — Map (db m47761) HM
Georgia (Clayton County), Jonesboro — 031-7 — Clayton County
Clayton County was created by Act of Nov. 30, 1858 from Fayette and Henry Counties. It was named for Augustine Smith Clayton, born at Fredericksburg, Va., Nov. 27, 1783, who moved to Georgia before 1800. A graduate of the U. of Ga., he was a lawyer, legislator, judge. During two terms in Congress he opposed tariff and U.S. bank measures. He died in Athens, June 21, 1839. First officers of Clayton County, commissioned Jan. 13, 1859, were: Robert K. Holliday, Clk. Sup. Ct.; A.J. Hayes, Clk. Inf. . . . — Map (db m18956) HM
Georgia (Clayton County), Jonesboro — Heritage Place1981
Historic Jonesboro, named in honor of Samuel Goode Jones in 1845, was founded in 1823 as Leaksville. Later Clayton County was created by the Act of November 30, 1858 from Fayette and Henry Counties, and Jonesboro became the County Seat. The town was rebuilt in 1864 after being razed by Sherman’s troops on their March to the Sea. Later the area was immortalized in Margaret Mitchell’s epic, “Gone With The Wind”. — Map (db m18815) HM
Georgia (Clinch County), Homerville — 032-1 — Clinch Court House»—→
Clinch County was created by an Act of the Legislature approved Feb. 14, 1850 out of lands formerly in Lowndes and Ware Counties and was named for General Duncan L. Clinch, a hero of the War of 1812 and the Indian wars. At the first election held in April, 1850, J.C. Kirkland was elected clerk of the Superior and Inferior Courts; Charles Cowart, sheriff; Benjamin Cornelius, tax receiver; Ezekiel J. Sirmans, tax collector, David J. Blackburn, surveyor; Joseph L. Rogers, coroner; David Johnson, . . . — Map (db m23848) HM
Georgia (Clinch County), Homerville — 032-5 — First Court in Clinch County1 mi.→
About 1 mile south of here, the first Court and Election in Clinch County were held in 1850, in the home of Jonathan Knight. Pursuant to the Act creating Clinch, Commissioners appointed met in the Knight house to perfect the organization of the County, and elected County officers. Courts were held in the Knight home during the first six months of 1850. — Map (db m14649) HM
Georgia (Cobb County), Marietta — 033-37 — Cobb County
Created December 3, 1832, and named for Judge Thomas W. Cobb, a former U.S. Senator, Marietta was named for his wife. Fertile lands gave impetus to farming; ample water power encouraged industries. People from further south sought Marietta as a summer resort due to delightful climate and society. Cobb County sacrificed much for the Southern Confederacy; ravaged by war, it fought slowly upward through reconstruction. In recent years industry has brought wealth and growth to the area. — Map (db m1660) HM
Georgia (Cobb County), Smyrna — Smyrna’s First MayorJohn C. Moore — Aug. 16, 1830 - May 10, 1897
Front Ulysses S. Grant was President of the U.S., and the South was still suffering from the effects of abusive Reconstruction when Smyrna was first incorporated August 23, 1872. One theory is that in the post-war era, citizens feared the town would be named for Neal Dow, a Yankee abolitionist, for whom the railroad station was named. They preferred instead to name it Smyrna after the religious Back campground which had been established here in the 1830’s. Incorporating . . . — Map (db m17072) HM
Georgia (Colquitt County), Moultrie — 035-1 — Colquitt County
This County, created by Act of the Legislature February 25, 1856, is named for Hon. Walter T. Colquitt who had recently died. A famous lawyer and Methodist preacher, he served in Congress in 1839-40 and 1842-43, and in the Senate from 1843 to ‘48. “As an advocate Judge Colquitt stood alone in Georgia.” Among the first County Officers were: Sheriff Jacob F. Reichert, Clerk of Superior Court William McLeod, Ordinary Hardy Chastain, Tax Receiver John A. Alderman, Tax Collector Job . . . — Map (db m40202) HM
Georgia (Cook County), Adel — 037-1 — Cook County
This County, created by Act of the Legislature July 30, 1918, is named for Gen. Philip Cook who fought in the States and Seminole Wars. He served in Congress from 1872 to '82, was Secretary of State for Georgia 1890-94 and 1898-1918. He served as one of five Commissioners to erect the present State Capitol. Among the first County Officers were: Sheriff W. T. Dougherty, Ordinary C. O. Smith, Clerk of Superior Court F. R. Booth, Tax Receiver J. A. Kinnard, Tax Collector J. B. Wright, Treasurer W. . . . — Map (db m40446) HM
Georgia (Coweta County), Newnan — 038-4 — Coweta County
Coweta, an original county, was created by Acts of June 9, 1825 and Dec. 11, 1826 from Creek cessions of Jan. 24, 1826 and Mar. 31, 1826. It was named Coweta to perpetuate the fame of the head chief of the Coweta Towns, Gen. William McIntosh, half-blood Creek Indian. Gen. McIntosh, daring soldier and useful ally during the War with the British, was killed in his home by some of his own people after he signed the Treaty at Indian Springs, ceding land to the Whites. First officers of Coweta, . . . — Map (db m10497) HM
Georgia (Crawford County), Knoxville — 039-1 — Crawford County
This County created by Acts of the Legislature Dec. 9 & 23, 1822, is named for William H. Crawford, Georgia statesman who was Secretary of the Treasury at the time the County was established. At the County Site, Knoxville, lived Joanna E. Troutman (Mrs. Vinson) who is credited with designing the Lone Star Flag of the Republic of Texas. When a company of Macon Volunteers under Col. William A. Ward marched through on the way to Texas Miss Troutman presented them with a white silk flag bearing a . . . — Map (db m21435) HM
Georgia (Crisp County), Cordele — 040-6 — Crisp County
Crisp County was created by Act of Aug. 17, 1905 from Dooly County. It was named for Charles Frederick Crisp (1845-1896), Georgia lawyer, judge, Congressman, who was born in Sheffield, England, of actor parents touring the British Isles. Judge Crisp served as Speaker of the House of Representatives, 1891-1893. First officers of Crisp County, commissioned October 10, 1905, were: S.W. Coney, Ordinary; J.A. Littlejohn, Clk. Sup. Ct.; G.W. Sheppard, Sheriff; J.M. Davis, Tax Rec.; John C. Fenn, Tax . . . — Map (db m53210) HM
Georgia (Dade County), Trenton — 041-1 — Dade County
Often called the “State of Dade,” because, as legend has it, the county seceded from the Union ahead of Georgia, and only returned to the Union July 4, 1945. Created December 25, 1837, and named for Major Francis Langhorne Dade, killed by Indians in Florida, December, 1835. The county seat was first named Salem, then changed to Trenton in 1840. Outstanding picturesque mountain scenery accounts for the creation of Cloudland State Park. Rich coal and iron deposits have been worked since Ante-Bellum times. — Map (db m57731) HM
Georgia (Dawson County), Dawsonville — 042-1 — Dawson County
This County, created by Act of the Legislature Dec. 3, 1857, is named for William C. Dawson who died in 1856, having served in Congress from Dec. 1836 to Nov. 1842, and in the U.S. Senate from 1849 to 1855. He also commanded a brigade in the Creek Indian War of 1836. Among the first County Officers were: Sheriff Samuel R. Fendley, Ordinary Henry K. Mikel, Clerk of Superior Court Daniel P. Monroe, Clerk of Inferior Court John Matthews, Tax Receiver David H. Logan, Tax Collector John Bruce, . . . — Map (db m33546) HM
Georgia (DeKalb County), Atlanta — Brookhaven Historic DistrictNational Register of Historic Places
Historic Brookhaven is the first planned golf club community in Georgia, having been built around the Capital City Country Club between 1910 and 1940. — Map (db m14356) HM
Georgia (Dodge County), Eastman — 045-1 — Dodge County
This County created by Act of the Legislature Oct. 26, 1870, is named for William E. Dodge, a New York lumberman who owned large areas of the forest lands and who persuaded Congress to remove taxation from “the great staple of our state.” He built and gave to the new county its first Courthouse, which was replaced in 1908. The first County Officers included: Superior Court Judge J.R. Alexander, Clerk of Superior Court Ruben A. Harrell, Sheriff Jordan Brown, Tax Collector T. P. . . . — Map (db m57197) HM
Georgia (Dooly County), Vienna — 046-1 — Dooly County
This County, created by Acts of the Legislature May 15 & Dec. 24, 1821, is named for Col. John Dooly of Revolutionary fame who was murdered in his home by Tories in 1780. The original County Site was at Berrien on the Flint River in 1823, the name being changed to Drayton in 1833. In the early ’40’s the Legislature voted to move the Site to another town named Berrien but this was not done. In the late ‘40’s the Site was moved to Vienna which is famed as the home of “elder statesman” . . . — Map (db m53224) HM
Georgia (Dougherty County), Albany — 047-1 — Dougherty County
This County, created by Act of the Legislature December 15, 1853, is named for Charles Dougherty of Athens, noted ante-bellum lawyer and jurist and strong advocate of states rights. In the Creek War in 1836 the Indians were driven out at the Battle of Chickasawhachee Swamp. Among the first County Officers were: Sheriff John H. Phillips, Ordinary William E. Smith, Clerk of Superior Court Samuel D. Irvin, Clerk of Inferior Court Thos. J. Johnston, Tax Receiver Bennett Adams, Tax Collector Redding . . . — Map (db m40792) HM
Georgia (Douglas County), Douglasville — 048-1 — Douglas County
This county, created by Act of the Legislature October 17, 1870, is named for Stephen A. Douglas, the “Little Giant,” a Vermonter who was Congressman from Illinois 1843 to ‘47, Senator from ‘47 to ‘61, and Democratic candidate for President in 1860 on the ticket with Gov. Herschel V. Johnson, of Georgia, for Vice President. Among the first County Officers were: Sheriff T.H. Sellman, Clerk of Superior Court A.L. Gorman, Ordinary Wm. Hindman, Tax Receiver Jno. M. James, Tax Collector . . . — Map (db m30727) HM
Georgia (Echols County), Statenville — 050-1 — Echols County
This County, created by Act of the Legislature Dec. 13, 1858, is named for Col. Robert M. Echols, for 24 years a member of the General Assembly. He was a President of the Georgia Senate and a Brigadier General in the Mexican War during which he died. Among the first County Officers were: Sheriff James S. Carter, Ordinary James P.Y. Higdon, Clerk of Superior & Inferior Courts Jesse P. Prescott, Tax Receiver John E. McMullen, Tax collector Samuel E. Prescott, Treasurer James Carter, Surveyor Duncan McLeon and Coroner John Sellers. — Map (db m27038) HM
Georgia (Effingham County), Springfield — 051-1 — Effingham County
This is one of the eight original Counties created by the Georgia Constitution in 1777 and is named for Lord Effingham who was an ardent supporter of Colonial Rights. By Act of Feb. 26, 1784, the first County Site was located at Tuckasee-King near the Screven Co. line. From 1787 to `96 the Site was at Elberton on the North side of the Ogeechee near Indian Bluff. The Legislature meeting at Louisville Feb. 7, 1799 appointed five Commissioners to lay out a new Site which became the town of . . . — Map (db m7505) HM
Georgia (Fayette County), Fayetteville — 56-1 — Fayette County
This County, created by Acts of the Legislature May 15 and December 24, 1821, is named for the Marquis de LaFayette, famous French General who came to this country to fight under General George Washington in the Revolutionary War. After returning to France he revisited Georgia in 1825. Fayetteville was incorporated and made the County Site in 1823. Among the first County Officers were: Sheriff John Welch, Clerk of Superior Court Thomas A. Dobbs, Clerk of Inferior Court Jonathan Dobbs, Coroner John Calhoun and Surveyor James Adams. — Map (db m42534) HM
Georgia (Floyd County), Rome — 057-10 — Floyd County
Floyd County was created by Act of Dec. 3, 1832 out of Cherokee County. Originally, it included parts of Chattooga, Polk and Gordon Counties. Early settlers came from Tenn., S.C., and older parts of Ga. The county was named for Maj. Gen. John Floyd (1794-1829), Legislator, Congressman, Gen. of Ga. Militia, Commander of Ga. troops against the Creeks in 1813 and Commander of troops at Savannah. First officers of Floyd County, commissioned March 18, 1833, were: Andrew H. Johnston, Sheriff; Edwin . . . — Map (db m30671) HM
Georgia (Forsyth County), Cumming — 058-3 — Colonel William Cumming
The town of Cumming (incorporated 1834) is named in honor of Col. William Cumming, distinguished Georgian, born July 27, 1788, son of Thomas Cumming and Ann Clay, daughter of Joseph Clay, of Savannah. William Cumming graduated from the College of New Jersey at Princeton and studied law at Gould's Law School, Litchfield, Connecticut. The War of 1812 brought him military prominence. Captain of the Augusta Independent Blues in 1812, he was commissioned Major, USA, in 1813, and appointed Adjutant . . . — Map (db m33581) HM
Georgia (Franklin County), Carnesville — 059-1 — Franklin County
This County, created by Act of the Legislature Feb. 25, 1784, is named for Benjamin Franklin, Revolutionary patriot and statesman. It was formed from lands obtained from the Indians by the Treaty of Augusta, 1783. Capt. James Terrell of the Revolution was an early settler. Volunteers from Franklin Co. under Capt. Morris distinguished themselves at the Battle of Pea River Swamp, Mar. 25, 1837, in the Creek Indian War. The present County Site was established by Act of Nov. 29, 1806, at . . . — Map (db m27043) HM
Georgia (Fulton County), Alpharetta — 060-25A — Old Milton County
This was the Courthouse of Milton County at the time it was merged with Fulton County Jan. 1, 1932. When the County was created by Act of the Legislature Dec. 18, 1857, it was named for Homer V. Milton, General in the War of 1812, though some claim the name was for his ancestor John Milton, first Secretary of State of Georgia. Among the first County Officers were: Sheriff James C. Mitchell; Clerk of Superior Court Joseph W. Johnston; Clerk of Inferior Court John L. Moore; Ordinary Oliver P. . . . — Map (db m21434) HM
Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — Brookhaven Historic DistrictNational Register of Historic Places
Historic Brookhaven is the first planned golf club community in Georgia, having been built around the Capital City Country Club between 1910 and 1940. — Map (db m14357) HM
Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — Brookhaven Historic DistrictNational Register of Historic Places
Historic Brookhaven is the first planned golf club community in Georgia, having been built around the Capital City Country Club between 1910 and 1940. — Map (db m14358) HM
Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-83 — Land Lot 104
The area E. (L. L. 104, 17th Dist.), long known as Collier’s Woods, was part of the ante-bellum plantation of George W. Collier (1813-1903). Clear Creek P.O. (1831-1839), probably in this land lot, was named for the stream flowing across it; old Montgomery Fy. Rd. traversed it. July 18, 1864. Near its S. boundary, Confederate forces intrenched the outer Atlanta defense line from which, July 20, the troops of Walker’s & Bate’s divisions of Hardee’s Corps [CS] advanced N. to attack Federal . . . — Map (db m16545) HM
Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-127 — Old Pace’s Ferry Road
This is the original trace of the Pace’s Ferry Road which ran from Decatur, via Buckhead, to Pace’s Ferry on the Chattahoochee River, about 50 feet upstream from the present bridge. While the date of its establishment is unknown, on May 5, 1834, several years before the founding of Atlanta, the DeKalb County Inferior Court ordered a bridge built across Nancy’s Creek “On the Road to Pace’s Ferry.” Obviously, the ferry had been established some years earlier and this road was in . . . — Map (db m10855) HM
Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — The Sandy Springs
This community is named for the natural springs bubbling up through clear white sand in the meadow below. The Springs were a Cherokee and Creek Indian campsite which became the property of the orphans of John Medows of Henry County in the 1821 Land Lottery. Wilson Spruill purchased the property in 1842. He and his neighbors built a log cabin church on the ridge above in 1848 and Methodist camp meetings were held here for over 100 years. The Springs also served as a resting point along a . . . — Map (db m9544) HM
Georgia (Fulton County), Campbellton — Site of the Campbell County Court House
Where, in June 1867 the widow of Captain T.C. Glover called a reunion of the survivors of Company A, 21st Georgia, C.S.A. who agreed to hold annual meetings. — Map (db m21432) HM
Georgia (Fulton County), Fairburn — 060-24A — Old Campbell County←—«
This was the Courthouse of Campbell County at the time it was merged with Fulton County Jan. 1, 1932. When the County was created by Acts of the Legislature Dec. 20 & 22, 1828, the Site was at Campbellton on the Chattahoochee but it was moved to Fairburn in 1870. The county was named for Col. Duncan G. Campbell, one of the signers of the Treaty made at Indian Springs in 1825 by which the Creeks ceded much of the land that later made up Campbell County. Among the first County Officers were: . . . — Map (db m32709) HM
Georgia (Fulton County), Hapeville — Hapeville, Georgia
Hapeville is situated on the Central Railroad of Georgia, eight miles from Atlanta, upon a water-shed extending from Atlanta to Macon. When chartered on September 16, 1891, Hapeville was considered the most attractive suburban town around Atlanta because of her society, location an educational advantages. May of the first settlers made Hapeville their summer home. Hapeville was named for Dr. Samuel Hape, who was in the dental supply business in Atlanta. In 1879, Dr. Hape moved out to his . . . — Map (db m10906) HM
Georgia (Fulton County), Palmetto — 29 I-B — Palmetto
Palmetto was named by a member of the Palmetto Guards, a Regiment from South Carolina enroute to the Mexican War. This was in appreciation of the hospitality shown them by the community while encamped here in January, 1847 — Map (db m26267) HM
Georgia (Fulton County), Sandy Springs — 060-114 — Hightower (Etowah) Trail<------->
Hightower (Etowah) Trail, one of the best marked Indian trails in Georgia, and a main road along which many settlers built their homes until the 1840’s, crossed this highway near here on its way to a nearby ford on the Chattahoochee River. A crossover between two noted Trading Paths from Augusta, it was recognized as an early boundary between Cherokee and Creek lands. A part of it became, in 1823, the boundary between Gwinnett and DeKalb Counties. Segments of the trail are abandoned but much of . . . — Map (db m33435) HM
Georgia (Fulton County), Sandy Springs — The History of the City of Sandy Springs, Georgia
Sandy Springs, Georgia, the unincorporated community just north of Atlanta, began a 30-year campaign for incorporation when the City of Atlanta tried to annex the area in the 1970s. The Committee for Sandy Springs formed in 1975 to incorporate Sandy Springs into its own city. The Committee introduced bills into the Georgia General Assembly calling for a referendum on incorporation. Year after year, the bill died in the Georgia House of Representatives. In 2000, the Committee filed suit in . . . — Map (db m53430) HM
Georgia (Gilmer County), Ellijay — 061-4 — Gilmer County
Gilmer County was created by Act of Dec. 3, 1832 out of Cherokee. Originally, it contained parts of Fannin, Dawson and Pickens Counties. The county was named for George Rockingham Gilmer (1790-1859), who served with distinction as a soldier, lawyer, legislator, Congressman and twice as Governor of Georgia. 1829-1831 and 1837-1839. First officers, commissioned March 9, 1833, were: Levi A. Hufsteller, Sheriff: Thomas M. Burnett, Clerk Superior Court: Henry K. Quillian, Clerk Inferior Court. . . . — Map (db m24335) HM
Georgia (Glascock County), Gibson — 062-1 — Glascock County
This County, created by Act of the Legislature Dec. 19, 1857, is named for Gen. Thomas Glascock who served in the War of 1812 and the Seminole War. He was a Speaker of the Georgia House of Representatives and a Member of Congress from 1835 to '39. Among the first County Officers were: Sheriff Augustus C. Reece, Ordinary Francis M. Kelly, Clerk of Superior Court Richard Walden, Clerk of Inferior Court Daniel Glover, Tax Receiver Abraham Brassell, Tax Collector Tobias Logue, Surveyor Seaborn Kitchens and Coroner Seaborn Glover. — Map (db m55549) HM
Georgia (Glynn County), Brunswick — 063-21 — Glynn County
Glynn County, one of the eight original Counties of Georgia, was organized under the 1777 Constitution of the State of Georgia. It was named in honor of John Glynn, a member of the British House of Commons who defended the cause of the American Colonies in the difficulties which led to the Revolutionary War. Glynn County contains the lands formerly included in the Colonial Parishes of St. David, St. Patrick, and St. James, which had been organized in 1785. Among the early officials . . . — Map (db m12226) HM
Georgia (Gordon County), Calhoun — 064-14 — Gordon County
This county was named for William Washington Gordon, of Savannah (1796-1842). The first Georgian to graduate at West Point, he entered the practice of law and was a pioneer in the railroad field in this State. He was the founder and first President of the Central Railroad and Banking Company, now the Central of Georgia System. Gordon county was created by act of the Georgia Legislature Feb. 13, 1850. Area 375 square miles. 1950 population 18,957. — Map (db m19295) HM
Georgia (Grady County), Cairo — 065-1 — Grady County
This County, created by Act of the Legislature Aug. 17, 1905, is named for Henry W. Grady, nationally famous editor and “silver tongued orator” of the New South. Born in Athens, Ga., in 1850 and educated at the Universities of Georgia & Virginia, he died in 1889. Among the first County Officers were: Sheriff D.W. Tyus, Ordinary P.H. Herring, Clerk of Superior Court W.T. Crawford. Tax Receiver W.R. Wynn, Tax Collector R.W. Ponder, Treasurer M.G. McManus, Surveyor D.A. Jones, Coroner . . . — Map (db m27123) HM
Georgia (Grady County), Cairo — 065-2 — Grady County
"Original Diversified Farming County of Southeast” Established January 1, 1906 The Courthouse and County Jail were built in 1908 and the county was organized under the general supervision of the following first Board of County Commissioners: Walter B. Roddenbery, Chairman; L.L. Barwick, Henry Mitchell, J.L. Peebles and J.M. Sasser; M.L. Ledford, County Attorney; Alexander Blair, Architect; J.B. Carr Co., Contractor. Elevation above sea level, 265 feet Latitude 30.53; Longitude . . . — Map (db m27125) HM
Georgia (Greene County), Greensboro — 066-1 — Greene County
This County, created by Act of the Legislature Feb. 3, 1786, is named for Maj. Gen. Nathanael Greene, the strategist who ranked second only to Gen. Washington. Born in Rhode Island in 1742, he died at his Georgia plantation in 1786. Seven miles north of Greensboro lies Penfield named for Josiah Penfield of Savannah who started the Fund to establish Mercer Institute there in 1833. The Institute was named for Jesse Mercer, leading Baptist divine of Georgia at that time. It received a Legislative . . . — Map (db m42718) HM
Georgia (Gwinnett County), Lawrenceville — 067-1 — Button Gwinnett
Button Gwinnett, for whom this county was named, was born in Gloucestershire, England, in 1735, the son of a Church of England minister. He worked in the store of his father-in-law in Dexter for two years, then as an importer and exporter for three years. In 1765 he came to Georgia, opening a store in Savannah. The same year he sold his store, bought St. Catherines Island and moved onto it, becoming a familiar figure at Sunbury and Midway Church. Button Gwinnett was elected Justice of the . . . — Map (db m16904) HM
Georgia (Gwinnett County), Lawrenceville — 067-4 — Gwinnett County
Created in 1818 from Cherokee and Creek cessions, Gwinnett is an original county. Courts, elections, and sheriff sales were held, first, in the home of Elisha Winn, 1 mile east of the Appalachee River. Selected to buy a permanent site for the county town, Winn purchased Lot 146, consisting of 250 acres in the Fifth Land District, for $200 from John Breedlove of Hancock County who had drawn it in the lottery. First County Officers, commissioned in March, 1819, were: William Blake, Sheriff; . . . — Map (db m16916) HM
Georgia (Gwinnett County), Norcross — Thrasher ParkNamed for the Founder of Norcross
Norcross was chartered in 1870 through its founder, J.J. "Cousin John" Thrasher, and named for his good friend, Jonathon Norcross, the fourth mayor (1851) of Atlanta. "Cousin John" purchased tracts of land which he subdivided and sold as lots along the developing Richmond and Danville Railroad Line in Gwinnett County. The first train on this line ran to Atlanta in June 1870. Norcross was made an incorporated town by act of the State Legislature on October 26, 1870, and "Cousin John" was elected . . . — Map (db m12880) HM
Georgia (Hall County), Gainesville — HCHS-1 — Hall County Sesquicentennial
In memory of the pioneer citizens who gave a great heritage to this area, this plaque was presented December 19, 1968 to commemorate the 150th anniversary of the creation of Hall County, 44th county of Georgia. Named for Lyman Hall, one of the three signers of the Declaration of Independence from Georgia, Hall County was created from territory originally a part of the Cherokee nation and from land in Franklin and Jackson Counties by Act of the General Assembly of Georgia dated December 19, . . . — Map (db m23154) HM
Georgia (Hancock County), Powelton — 070-9 — Gov. William Rabun3 mi. →
The home of William Rabun, Governor of Georgia 1817-1819. Born in Halifax County, N.C., April 8, 1771, Governor Rabun moved to Wilkes Co., Ga., in 1785. Having the usual backwoods schooling of his day, he acquired by reading and observation, extensive learning. For many years Gov. Rabun served Hancock County in both houses of the Legislature. As President of the Senate in 1817, he became Governor upon the resignation of Gov. David B. Mitchell. He died while in office, Oct. 24, 1819. Rabun County, Ga., is named for Governor Rabun. — Map (db m13347) HM
Georgia (Hancock County), Sparta — 070-3 — Hancock County
Hancock County, created by Act of Dec. 17, 1793, was named for John Hancock of Mass., President of Continental Congress and the first man to sign the Declaration of Independence. It has been the home of 4 Governors of Ga. -- William Rabun, Charles James McDonald, William Jonathan Northen, Nathaniel Edwin Harris. Among the first officers of Hancock County were: Thomas Lamar, Sheriff; William Pentecost, Clerk Inferior Court; Henry Graybill, Clerk Superior Court; Daniel Conner, Coroner; John . . . — Map (db m24332) HM
Georgia (Hancock County), Sparta — 070-4 — Sparta
Sparta, Seat of Justice for Hancock County in 1795, became a chartered town, Dec. 3, 1803. Situated at an Indian trading post, in constant danger of border trouble, the town was named Sparta to indicate the bravery of its pioneer citizens. In 1864 when Gen. Sherman neared Sparta on his march to the sea, Capt. Harry Culver, C.S.A., home on leave, gathered what men he could find. Shouting orders as if he had an army behind him, Capt. Culver met the Federal outpost who turned their troops toward . . . — Map (db m24343) HM
Georgia (Haralson County), Buchanan — 071-1 — Haralson County
This County, created by Act of the Legislature Jan. 26, 1856, is named for Gen. Hugh A. Haralson, Member of Congress and Chairman of the Committee on Military Affairs during the Mexican War. The County Site is named for James Buchanan, last Democratic President before the War. Among the first County Officers were: Sheriff John K. Holcombe, Clerk of Superior Court Van A. Brewster, Clerk of Inferior Court Jesse M. Jeams, Tax Receiver Hiram Ray, Tax Collector Alfred H. Green, Ordinary George H. . . . — Map (db m11177) HM
Georgia (Haralson County), Tallapoosa — 071-3 — Historic Tallapoosa
Tallapoosa was a place of great ceremonial importance to the Indians. Here in 1826 settlers discovered “Charles Town,” an Indian Village named for one of their great warriors. Several Indian trails intersected here and the Choctaw, Creek and Cherokee tribes frequently assembled here in a grove of “Seven Chestnuts” to trade or make war. A local farmer, William Owens, found gold here in 1842, and some 100,000 pennyweights were mined. Tallapoosa achieved international . . . — Map (db m11142) HM
Georgia (Harris County), Hamilton — 72-1 — Harris County
This county, created by Acts of the Legislature Dec. 14 & 24, 1827, is named for Charles Harris, eminent Savannah jurist. Born in England and educated in France, he served Savannah as Alderman or Mayor for 20 years, refusing higher offices. The first Court House was built in 1831 and the present one in 1908. First election was held in Feb. 1828. First county officers were: Sheriff Lewis Wynn, Superior Court Clerk Clark Blandford, Inferior Court Clerk Josiah W. Batchelder, Surveyor Absalom . . . — Map (db m22825) HM
Georgia (Harris County), Pine Mountain — Chipley - Pine Mountain, Georgia
Chipley was incorporated on December 9, 1882, following the extension of the Columbus and Rome Railroad one mile north of the Village of Hood. Old Hood was the predecessor of Chipley. Chipley was named after Colonel W. D. Chipley, a partner in the promotion of the railroad. The name was changed to Pine Mountain on February 19, 1958, after publicity generated by nearby Callaway Gardens established the location of this vacation resort at Pine Mountain. — Map (db m59012) HM
Georgia (Harris County), Pine Mountain Valley — 072-13 — Pine Mountain Valley Resettlement Project
The Resettlement Administration was founded on May 1, 1935 as part of the second phase of President Roosevelt's New Deal. FDR took a personal interest in the planning of this project with Under Secretary of Agriculture, Dr. Rex Tugwell, Administrator. The goal of the R.A. was the relocation of impoverished farm families and poor city families who were suffering during the Great Depression. Focus was also the prevention of unprofitable farming techniques, land use, and the preservation of . . . — Map (db m11269) HM
Georgia (Harris County), Pine Mountain Valley — Valley of Hope
Pine Mountain Valley, Georgia was begun in November 1934 under the administration of Franklin D. Roosevelt and his New Deal plan. It was conceived as a pilot community relief project to provide an escape from the effects of the Great Depression. Situated on this land was the administration building for the coordination of the Pine Mountain Valley Development Project. Victims of the Great Depression were resettled here in an effort to develop a sense of security, while providing facilities to . . . — Map (db m11271) HM
Georgia (Heard County), Franklin — 074-1 — Heard County
This County, created by Act of the Legislature December 22, 1830, is named for Hon. Stephen Heard, elected President of the Council Feb. 18, 1781, thus, in the absence of Gov. Howley, becoming Governor de facto. An Englishman who moved to Wilkes Co. from Virginia, Heard fought in the Revolution and distinguished himself at Kettle Creek. Among the first County Officers were: Clerk of Superior Court William Wood, Clerk of Inferior Court Paschal H. Taylor, Coroner David Cox and Surveyor Jackson . . . — Map (db m33031) HM
Georgia (Henry County), McDonough — 075-1 — Henry County
This County, created by Acts of the Legislature May 15 & December 24, 1821, is named for Patrick Henry, Revolutionary patriot, orator and statesman, largely responsible for the Bill of Rights and known best for his words “Give me liberty or give me death.” At Sharon Church seven miles east of here, founded Feb. 28, 1824, occurred the split between the Primitive and Missionary Baptists in Georgia. Among the first County Officers were: Sheriff James Fletcher, Clerk of Superior Court . . . — Map (db m21340) HM
Georgia (Irwin County), Ocilla — 077-1A — Irwin County
This County, created by Acts of the Legislature December 15, 1818 and December 21, 1819, is named for Gov. Jared Irwin who served from 1806 to ‘09. He helped revised the State Constitution in 1789 and ‘98 and was famed for his uncompromising opposition to the Yazoo fraud. Jefferson Davis, President of the Confederacy, was captured by Union soldiers near Irwinville, where his party had camped for the night May 10, 1865. Among the first County Officers were: Sheriff James Allen, Clerk of Superior . . . — Map (db m40578) HM
Georgia (Jackson County), Braselton — 78-3 — The Braselton Family
In 1876 William H. Braselton, Sr. and his wife, Susan Hosch Braselton, established a 796-acre farm in western Jackson County . The Braseltons’ children, Henry, Green, John Oliver, Belle, and Lena , grew up working on the family farm, developing several support businesses such as a store and fertilizer operation. The arrival of first the railroad in 1902 and then a state highway in 1927 allowed expansion of farming operations. In 1916 the town of Braselton was incorporated. In addition to the . . . — Map (db m24176) HM
Georgia (Jackson County), Braselton — The Braselton School Bell
Originally located in the bell tower of the Braselton High School, the bell was commissioned by Senator Isaac Frank Duncan for all students from 1920 until 1957. The school was built by the Town of Braselton’s founders, and when it closed in 1957, the bell was returned to Senator Duncan’s family. The bell was later donated to the Town by the children of Green and May Braselton who were the Senator’s grandchildren. The restored school bell is a symbol of pride for Braselton, where . . . — Map (db m18270) HM
Georgia (Jackson County), Hoschton — 78-1 — Hoschton Train Depot
The four Hosch brothers founded Hoschton in 1881 in the hope of influencing the proposed route of the Gainesville, Jefferson and Southern Railroad. In 1833 this depot was built on land donated by the brothers. The railroad transformed the town and surrounding areas, serving as a catalyst for the development of commerce, agriculture, education, industry, communications, and transportation. The railroad provided a link with other Georgia communities, opened the market for the region’s . . . — Map (db m18272) HM
Georgia (Jefferson County), Louisville — 081-3 — "Yazoo Fraud"
The notorious "Yazoo Fraud" act was passed and later repealed in the old State Capitol that stood here 1794-1807. The 1794 Georgia legislature sold 35,000,000 acres of land along the Yazoo River in what is now Alabama and Mississippi at 1½ cents per acre. James Jackson resigned as U.S. Senator to run for the Georgia legislature and urge repeal of the Yazoo act. He succeeded in 1796. The act itself and all records of it were burned on the grounds here "with fire from heaven" aided by a . . . — Map (db m58365) HM
Georgia (Jefferson County), Louisville — Louisville, Georgia1786 - 1986
Chartered in 1786, the City of Louisville was named in honor of King Louis XVI in appreciation for the help he gave the colonies during the American Revolution. From 1796 to 1805, Louisville served as the first permanent capital of Georgia: the present county courthouse (Louisville is the county seat of Jefferson County) is built on the site of the old state Capitol. The old Market House, perhaps Louisville’s most famous landmark, still stands in the center of town. This marker erected in . . . — Map (db m15898) HM
Georgia (Johnson County), Wrightsville — 83-1 — Johnson County
This County, created by Act of the Legislature Dec. 11, 1858, is named for Gov. Herschel V. Johnson. The County Site is named for John B. Wright, pioneer resident. Johnson, Governor from 1853 to `57, ran for the Vice Presidency in 1860 on the ticket with Stephen A. Douglas of Illinois. Among the first County Officers were: Sheriff Joshua Hightower, Ordinary Theophilus Christian, Clerk of Superior Court James W. Walker, Clerk of Inferior Court Richard Walker, Tax Receiver Madison H. Mason. Tax . . . — Map (db m20912) HM
Georgia (Jones County), Gray — 084-5 — Jones County
This County, created by Act of the Legislature Dec. 10, 1807, is named for James Jones of Savannah, a legislator at 23 and member of the State Constitutional Convention in 1798 in which year he was elected to Congress. The first County Site was at Clinton but it was changed to Gray in 1905. Among the first County Officers were: Sheriff James Riley, Clerk of Superior Court John R. Gregory, Clerk of Inferior Court James Bond, Tax Receiver Daniel Candler, Tax Collector Hillery Pratt, Coroner . . . — Map (db m26024) HM
Georgia (Lamar County), Barnesville — 085-2 — Lamar County
Lamar County was created by Act of State Assembly August 17, 1920. It was named for Lucius Quintus Cincinnatus Lamar, lawyer, Colonel in the Confederate Army, U.S. Senator, Secretary of the Interior and Justice of the U.S. Supreme Court. The first officers of Lamar County included: B.H. Hardy, Ordinary; S.J. Childers, Clerk of Court; Z.T. Elliott, Sheriff; E. Luther Butler, Tax Receiver; Gus Smith, Tax Collector; W. C. Jordan, Treasurer; B.K. Crouch, Coroner; Roger H. Taylor, Surveyor; J.F. . . . — Map (db m25975) HM
Georgia (Lamar County), Goggins — Goggans, Georgia
Goggans was named for the family of John F. Goggans. He donated the land for the railroad station, general store, where the post office was located, and access land to the Union Primitive Baptist Church. At different times, the town was also known as Goggins Station and Goggansville. John F. Goggans was born in South Carolina in 1802. He married Rebecca Pitts in 1824. They founded Goggans in November, 1834 and lived there until their deaths. John, Rebecca and many descendants are buried in . . . — Map (db m11325) HM
Georgia (Lanier County), Lakeland — 086-1 — Lanier County
This County created by Acts of the Legislature of Aug. 11, 1919 & Aug. 7, 1920 is named for Sidney Lanier, poet of Georgia. Lanier was born in Macon Feb. 3, 1842 and practiced law there with his father after graduating from Oglethorpe Univ. then at Milledgeville. He married Mary Day of Macon in ‘67 after serving in the Confederate Army and being captured while commanding a blockade runner. In ‘73 he moved to Baltimore and lectured at Johns Hopkins. He died at Lynn, N.C. Sept. 7, 1881. Among his . . . — Map (db m27186) HM
Georgia (Laurens County), Dublin — 087-2 — Laurens County
Laurens County was created by Act of Dec. 10, 1807 from Wilkinson County. Originally, it contained all of Pulaski and part of Johnson Counties. Among prominent residents of Laurens County were Gov. Geo. M. Troup and Gen. David Blackshear. It was named for Col. John Laurens (1755-1782), aide-de-camp to Gen. Washington. He fought with gallantry at Brandywine, Germantown, Monmouth, Savannah and Charleston. First officers of Laurens County, commissioned Jan. 14, 1808, were: James Thompson, Sheriff; . . . — Map (db m49538) HM
Georgia (Lee County), Leesburg — 088-4 — Lee County
Lee County was created by Acts of June 9, 1825 and Dec. 11, 1826 from Creek cessions of Jan. 24, 1826 and March 31, 1826. Originally, it contained all land in Randolph, Stewart, Quitman, Sumter, Terrell, Webster and part of Marion and Clay Counties. Lee County was named for Richard Henry Lee (1732-1794), Virginia Congressman, who on June 7, 1776 moved “that the colonies declare themselves free and independent.” First officers, commissioned May 14, 1827, were: Nathan Powell, Sheriff; . . . — Map (db m40125) HM
Georgia (Lowndes County), Hahira — 092-3 — Site: Franklinville
When Lowndes County was created December 23, 1825, Lawrence Folsom, Sion Hall, William Blair, John J. Underwood and Daniel McCauly were appointed Commissioners to select the capital of Lowndes County. The site which they chose, named Franklinville, was designated County Seat in 1828, and was located near the center of the Lowndes County area of 1825. In 1833, the County Seat was moved to Troupville, a small settlement about four miles west of present-day Valdosta. — Map (db m12171) HM
Georgia (Lowndes County), Valdosta — 092-1 — Lowndes County
Lowndes County was created by an act of the Georgia Legislature December 23, 1825, from lands previously in Irwin County. It was named for William J. Lowndes, a South Carolina statesman. The first count officers commissioned May 29, 1826, were Henry Blair, Clerk of the Superior Court; William Smith, Ordinary; Norman Campbell, Tax Collector; William Hancock, Sheriff; Malachi Monk, Coroner and Samuel M. Clyatt, Surveyor. The first state senator was William A. Knight and the first representative . . . — Map (db m40166) HM
Georgia (Lumpkin County), Dahlonega — 19 B-7 — Lumpkin Court House
This court house, built in 1836, replaced the small log structure used since the establishment of Lumpkin County in 1832. The town was named Dahlonega in October, 1833, for the Cherokee word “Talonega” meaning “golden.” From its steps in 1849, Dr. M.F. Stephenson, assayor at the Mint, attempted to dissuade Georgia miners from leaving to join the California gold rush. His oration gave rise to the sayings: "There’s millions in it," and “Thar’s gold in them thar hills.” — Map (db m30859) HM
Georgia (Macon County), Oglethorpe — 096-1 — Macon County
This County, created by Act of the Legislature Dec. 14, 1837, is named for Nathaniel Macon of North Carolina, President Pro-Tem of the U.S. Senate. The first County Site at Lanier was moved to Oglethorpe in 1854 to be on the railroad. Lanier became a “lost town” as did Travelers Rest whose people moved to the railroad at Montezuma two miles away. There was an unsuccessful effort in 1893 to move the County Site to Montezuma. At Willow Lake in this County Sam Rumph and his son Sam . . . — Map (db m40011) HM
Georgia (Marion County), Buena Vista — 098-3 — New Courthouse - 1850
Built in 1850 of locally made brick, this is one of two courthouses standing in Marion County. The other built in 1848 is at Tazewell. The first courthouse was at Horry. When the county seat was moved here the town was called Pea Ridge. Wishing a new name the citizens chose Taylor, for Gen. Zach Taylor, but found there was already a Taylor, Ga. Then came news of a Mexican War victory at Buena Vista and this name was chosen. Pea Ridge was one mile from the ancient Indian village of King’s Town . . . — Map (db m27234) HM
Georgia (McDuffie County), Thomson — 094-2 — McDuffie County
McDuffie County was created by Act of Oct. 18, 1870 from Columbia and Warren Counties. It was named for George McDuffie (1788-1851). Born in Columbia (now Warren County, Ga.), he became a political leader in S.C. He was a Maj. Gen. of Militia, Congressman, Governor and Senator. A political sponsor of Calhoun, he was a notable orator. First Officers of McDuffie County, commissioned Feb. 11, 1871, were: A.B. Thrasher, Ord.; J.T. Stovall, Sheriff; R.H. Pearce, Clk. Sup. Ct.; J.D. Montgomery, Tax . . . — Map (db m42688) HM
Georgia (McIntosh County), Darien — 095-5 — McIntosh County
This county, created Dec. 19, 1793 from Liberty County, was named for the McIntosh family, early settlers, whose name was associated with most events in Georgia history for many years. John McIntosh, with 170 Highlanders, came to Georgia in January 1735 and founded Darien. George N. Ragan was made Tax Collector of McIntosh County Dec. 23, 1793. County officers, commissioned March 25, 1794, were William Middleton, Sheriff; John Baillie, Clerk of Superior and Inferior Courts; John Richey, . . . — Map (db m10455) HM
Georgia (Meriwether County), Greenville — 099-3 — Meriwether County
Meriwether County, “Second Home” of Pres. Franklin D. Roosevelt and birthplace of three Ga. Governors -- Joseph M. Terrell, William Y. Atkinson and John M. Slaton -- was created by Act of Dec. 14, 1827 from Troup County. It was named for Gen. David Meriwether (1755-1823), Revolutionary soldier, legislator, Congressman. Representing the government in various negotiations with the Indians, he had unusual influence with their Chiefs. First officers of Meriwether County, commissioned . . . — Map (db m22179) HM
Georgia (Miller County), Colquitt — 100-1 — Miller County
This County, created by Act of the Legislature February 26, 1856, is named for Judge Andrew J. Miller who died in 1856. A Commander of the Oglethorpe Infantry, he served in the legislature for more than twenty years and was several times President of the Senate. He long championed a bill to give married women separate property rights. Among the first County Officers were: Sheriff Delmar Averett, Clerk of Superior & Inferior Courts Thomas S. Floyd, Ordinary Isaac Bush, Tax Receiver John Fiveash, . . . — Map (db m55508) HM
Georgia (Mitchell County), Camilla — 101-1 — Mitchell County
The county was created by an Act of the Georgia Legislature on Dec. 21, 1857. Some historians say that the county was named for David B. Mitchell, Governor of Georgia in 1809-13 and again in 1815-17, and that Camilla was named for his daughter. However, the Georgia Laws of 1857 (pages 38-40), creating Mitchell county, say the county was named in honor of Gen Henry Mitchell, who was born in 1760 and died in 1839. He was a State Senator from Warren County, President of the Senate in 1809, . . . — Map (db m27094) HM
Georgia (Monroe County), Forsyth — 102-4 — Forsyth
Forsyth, County Seat of Monroe County, was incorporated by Act of Legislature in 1823. It is in almost the exact geographical center of the State. First commissioners were James S. Phillips, Henry H. Lumpkin, John E. Bailey, Anderson Baldwin and Samuel Drewry. Forsyth was named for John Forsyth who, as U.S. Minister to Spain, negotiated the final treaty by which Florida and other lands held by Spain were ceded to the U.S. He served as Governor, Senator and U.S. Secretary of State under Presidents Jackson and Van Buren. — Map (db m25945) HM
Georgia (Monroe County), Forsyth — 102-3 — Monroe County
Created by Act of May 15, 1821, Monroe County, an original county containing all of Pike and parts of Bibb, Butts and Lamar Counties, was ceded by the Creek Indians in early 1821. Laid out by the Lottery Act, it was rapidly occupied by large numbers of small landowners. The county was named for James Monroe, President of the U.S. (1817-1825) . First officers, commissioned Apr. 1, 1822 were: John Cureton, Sheriff; Wilkins Hunt, Clk. Sup. Ct.; Isaac Welch, Clk. Inf. Ct.; John Tomlinson, Coroner; . . . — Map (db m25941) HM
Georgia (Montgomery County), Mt. Vernon — 103-4 — Montgomery County
Montgomery County, created Dec. 19, 1793 out of Washington, originally contained all of Wheeler and Tattnall and parts of Treutlen, Toombs, Emanuel and Dodge Counties. It was named for Maj. Gen. Richard Montgomery (1736- 1775), "an early martyr to the cause of liberty." Commanding an expedition to Canada in 1775, he was killed at the Siege of Quebec. First County officers, commissioned Feb. 17, 1794, were: March McKessak, Sheriff; Thos. Pugh, Clk. Inf. Ct.; Jonathan Eammons, Clk. Sup. Ct.; . . . — Map (db m21842) HM
Georgia (Morgan County), Bostwick — Mallory
On the occasion of its Bicentennial, Morgan County placed this marker here to commemorate the community of MALLORY The early tax records of Morgan County identify the family of "Malry" in the Harris Militia District as early as the 1840s. By the turn of the twentieth century, the community of Mallory existed in the area owned by this family. By 1897, the Mallory community boasted a church, Mallory Chapel, and a school, Mallory School. By 1911, a second school, Longs Academy, . . . — Map (db m20459) HM
Georgia (Morgan County), Buckhead — Park's Mill
On the occasion of its Bicentennial, Morgan County placed this marker here to commemorate the community of Park’s Mill The construction of Park’s Mill is thought to be contemporary with the creation of Morgan County by act of the Georgia Legislature in 1807. It was created on the banks of the Oconee River on land that was intermittently part of Greene County and Morgan Counties, as the county boundary in this area shifted several times during the 19th century. In 1839, it is . . . — Map (db m17274) HM
Georgia (Morgan County), Madison — Madison
On the occasion of its Bicentennial, Morgan County placed this marker here to commemorate the community of Madison Named in honor of U.S. President James Madison, the town of Madison was established as the permanent seat of Morgan County and incorporated December 12, 1809. Surveyor Lewis MacLean laid out the community using a typical Washington-type plan, characterized by a central public square defined by four principal streets - Monroe (now Main), Jefferson, Washington, and . . . — Map (db m16233) HM
Georgia (Morgan County), Madison — The Town Commons
The Georgia Legislature initially designated 100 acres (Parts of Land Lots No.36, No.35, & No.23) for Madison’s establishment. The Justices of the Inferior Court subdivided the land to create a “publick” square as well as lots for sale – around the square, then to the northwest, and later to the southwest. Unplatted public lands were referred to as the Town Commons. In the 1810-20s, a portion of the southwest commons (now framed by W. Central Ave., Old Post Rd., and . . . — Map (db m49234) HM
Georgia (Muscogee County), Columbus — 106-3 — City of Columbus
This city of Columbus was created as a trading town by an act of the General Assembly of Georgia, December 24, 1827. The location designated was on the Chattahoochee River near the Coweta Falls. This spot was selected because it was at the head of river navigation and at the last of a series of falls which afforded great potential water-power. A reservation of 1200 acres was allotted for the town and commons. Surveying of streets began Feb. 1, 1828 and was completed within three months. Within . . . — Map (db m22802) HM
Georgia (Oconee County), Watkinsville — 108-1 — Oconee County
This County, created by Act of the Legislature February 25, 1875, is named for the Oconee River which forms its eastern boundary. In 1801 Watkinsville was made County Site of Clarke County but in 1875 the Clarke County Site was changed to Athens. As a result indignant local citizens brought about the formation of Oconee County with Watkinsville as County Site. Among the first County Officers were: Sheriff Weldon M. Price, Clerk of Superior Court Jas. M.A. Johnson, Ordinary James R. Lyle, Tax . . . — Map (db m21407) HM
Georgia (Oglethorpe County), Lexington — 109-4 — Oglethorpe County
This County created by Act of the Legislature Dec. 19, 1793, is named for Gen. James E. Oglethorpe, founder of Georgia. Born in London, England, Dec. 22, 1696, Oglethorpe left England in Nov. 1732 with 116 settlers and arrived at Yamacraw in Jan. 1733, where he established the settlement which is now the city of Savannah. He later brought over 150 Scotch Highlanders & some German Protestants from Salzburg. He returned finally to England in 1743 and resigned his Georgia Charter to the British . . . — Map (db m26058) HM
Georgia (Paulding County), Dallas — 110-5 — Paulding County
Created December 3, 1832, and named for John Paulding, one of the captors of Major Andre, accomplice of Benedict Arnold. Van Wert, the first county seat, was named for another of the captors. When Polk County was created in 1851, Dallas became the Paulding county seat. Construction of the Seaboard and Southern Railroads through the county, and introduction of the textile industry, were of much importance to county growth. In 1864 major battles were fought at New Hope and Dallas. — Map (db m21034) HM
Georgia (Peach County), Fort Valley — 111-1 — Peach County
This County, created by Act of the Legislature July 18, 1924, is named for one of Georgia's leading crops, the Georgia Peach known throughout the nation and beyond. The famous Elberta Peach was developed in Georgia by Samuel B. Rumph and is grown widely in this area. Among the first County Offices were: Sheriff George D. Anderson, Clerk of Superior Court Emmett Houser, Ordinary M.C. Moseley, Tax Receiver C.N. Rountree, Tax Collector T.E. Tharpe, Treasurer C.E. Martin, Coroner W.H. Hafer and Surveyor T.F. Flournoy. — Map (db m53097) HM
Georgia (Pickens County), Jasper — 112-1 — Pickens County
Created December 5, 1853, and named for General Andrew Pickens of Revolutionary fame. The first settlements sprang up along the Old Federal Road which followed in general the route of the highway through Tate, Jasper and Talking Rock. Mount Oglethorpe (formerly called Grassy Knob), Burrell Top of Burnt Mountain and Sharp Top Mountain dominate the skyline in the northeastern part of the county; to the southwest is Sharp Mountain. Coming of the railroad in 1883 made possible development of a large and important marble industry. — Map (db m15476) HM
Georgia (Pickens County), Tate — 112-1 — Georgia Marble Company and the Village of Tate
The Georgia Marble Company began in 1884 as one of many small marble quarrying operations in the region. In 1905 Colonel Sam Tate became the company's president, continuing in that position until his death in 1938. Georgia Marble Company stone can be found in monuments and public buildings around the world, including the Lincoln Memorial and the twenty-four columns of the east front of the U.S. Capitol in Washington, D.C. As the Village of Tate's largest employer, Georgia Marble Company . . . — Map (db m15019) HM
Georgia (Pierce County), Blackshear — 113-1 — Pierce County
This County, created by Act of the Legislature December 18, 1857, is named for Franklin Pierce, New Hampshire Democrat and fourteenth President of the United States, 1853 to `57. He was a General in the Mexican War. Blackshear, incorporated December 16, 1859, is named for General David Blackshear, noted Georgia Indian fighter. Among the first County Officers were: Sheriff John Donalson, Clerk of Superior and Inferior Courts David Rowell, Ordinary Aaron Dowling, Tax Receiver John Sugg, Tax . . . — Map (db m24037) HM
Georgia (Pike County), Meansville — 114-1 — Old Newnan
In 1823 the Inferior Court Justices of Pike County selected the center lot in the county near here as the site for the county seat. This land was laid out into town lots and named Newnan to honor Major General Daniel Newnan, a Revolutionary War hero. A temporary court house, a tavern, several stores and many dwellings were built. The town became a place of considerable trade, Indians coming from beyond the Flint River to barter their furs. In 1824 Upson County was cut from Pike and . . . — Map (db m12221) HM
Georgia (Pike County), Zebulon — 114-2 — Pike County
Created by Act of Dec. 9, 1822, from Monroe County, Pike County originally contained part of Spalding, Upson and Lamar Counties. It was named for Zebulon Montgomery Pike (1779-1813), leader, in 1805, of an expedition to trace the Mississippi River to its source. Later he explored the interior of Louisiana. Made a Brig. Gen. in 1813, he was killed at Toronto, Canada, while commanding American forces there. First officers of Pike County, commissioned Feb. 25, 1823, were: Willis Whatley, Sheriff; . . . — Map (db m59609) HM
Georgia (Polk County), Cedartown — 115-1A — Polk County
Created December 20, 1851 and named for President James Knox Polk. Cedartown is fittingly named for the trees which flourish in this beautiful valley. The city is a railroad center, has a thriving textile industry, and a large paper mill. Rockmart, thirteen miles to the east, has textile mills that give the area much employment and a large payroll, and as well is the center of portland cement production. — Map (db m35738) HM
Georgia (Polk County), Rockmart — 115-5 — Old Van Wert Polk County
County seat of Paulding when that county was created in 1832; inc. 1838. Named for Isaac Van Wert & John Paulding, two of the captors of Major Andre. Polk County was organized in 1851 from parts of Floyd and Paulding; this placed Van Wert in Polk Co.; Dallas became the county seat of Paulding -- Cedartown, that of Polk. May 25, 1864. Davis, (2d) div., 14th A.C. [US], having camped the night before at Peek’s Spring, 4.5 mi. N., turned E. here and marched to Dallas in Paulding County. — Map (db m35778) HM
Georgia (Pulaski County), Hawkinsville — 116-1 — Pulaski County
This County, created by Act of the Legislature December 13, 1808, is named for Count Casimir Pulaski, Polish hero of the Revolutionary War who died fighting in Georgia and is buried in Savannah. Court was to be held at the home of Isham Jordan until the County Site was selected at Hartford in 1810. It was moved across the Ocmulgee to Hawkinsville in 1836 when this town was incorporated. Among the first County Officers were: Sheriff Lewis Holland, Clerk of the Superior Court Richard H. Thomas, . . . — Map (db m40329) HM
Georgia (Quitman County), Georgetown — 118-1 — Quitman County
This County, created by Act of the Legislature Dec. 10, 1858, is named for Gen. John A. Quitman, soldier in the Mexican War, Governor of Mississippi and ardent advocate of States Rights. The County Site is named for Georgetown, D.C. Among the first County Officers were: Sheriff James M. Cooper, Clerk of Superior Court John R. M. Neel, Clerk of Inferior Court Joel A. Crawford, Ordinary Joel E. J. Smith, Tax Receiver James M. Granberry, Tax Collector Owen G. Thomas, Treasurer Nicholas T. . . . — Map (db m46586) HM
Georgia (Rabun County), Clayton — 119-1 — Rabun County
This County created by Act of the Legislature Dec. 21, 1819, is named for William Rabun, 11th Governor of Georgia who was elected in 1817 and died in 1819. Self-educated by reading he served as a member of the Legislature and as President of the Senate. Here now is located the famous Rabun Gap-Nacoochee School for the education of entire families. Among the first County Officers were; Justices of the Inferior Court Edward Coffee, John McClure, Samuel Farris, William Kelly, William Gillespie, Andrew Miller, James Dillard and Clerk Thomas Kelly. — Map (db m28007) HM
Georgia (Randolph County), Cuthbert — 120-9 — Randolph County
Randolph County was created by Act of Dec. 20, 1828 from Lee County. Originally Randolph County included all of what is now Stewart and Quitman and part of Terrell and Clay Counties. It was named for “John Randolph of Roanoke” (1773-1833), Virginia statesman, for many years a member of the House of Representatives and Senate. He actively opposed the War of 1812 and the Missouri Compromise. First officers of this County, commissioned Jan. 12, 1830, were: Michael H. Hinch, Sheriff; . . . — Map (db m48626) HM
Georgia (Richmond County), Augusta — 121-27 — Richmond County
Originally designated as the Parish of St. Paul by the Act creating it in 1758, the name was changed in 1777 to Richmond County in honor of the Duke of Richmond, who, as a member of Parliament, was a zealous supporter of the American cause, advocating independence of the Colonies. It originally included a large part of four other counties: Columbia, Jefferson, McDuffie and Warren. Included within its borders are the incorporated towns of Augusta, the county seat; Hephzibah, formerly . . . — Map (db m9706) HM
Georgia (Rockdale County), Conyers — 122-1 — Rockdale County
This County, created by Act of the Legislature October 18, 1870, is named for Rockdale Church, so called for the fine underlying granite strata. Conyers, the County Site, was incorporated in 1854 and named for a prominent physician. Smyrna Camp Ground, first Presbyterian camp ground in Georgia lies in this county. Among the first County Officers were: Sheriff I. W. Almand, Ordinary A. C. McCalla, Clerk of Superior Court F. J. Treadwell, Tax Receiver W. J. Green, Tax Collector F. W. Armistead, . . . — Map (db m35930) HM
Georgia (Schley County), Ellaville — Pond Town
Pond town, named for its proximity to several ponds, had beginnings as a relay station for the stagecoach line which ran from Hamburg to Preston. Some say white men were living in the area as early as 1808, certainly by 1812. Located on the border between Sumter and Marion counties, Pond Town became a lively little community with horse racing and whiskey drinking as favorite amusements. A post office was established in 1833 with Lovett B. Smith as postmaster. In 1840 there was a . . . — Map (db m27112) HM
Georgia (Schley County), Ellaville — 123-1 — Schley County
This county, created by Act of the Legislature Dec. 22, 1857, is named for William Schley, member of Congress 1833-35 and Governor 1835-37. Ellaville is named for Ella Burton, daughter of Robert Burton, who sold the land for the town site. Nearby Pond Town was settled in 1812. First county officers were: Ordinary Wm. J. May, Clerk Hiram L. French, Sheriff A.J. Womach, Tax Receiver Henry Scarborough, Tax Collect Henry D. Holt, Coroner Ben T. Smith, Representative Seaborn Hixon, State Senator . . . — Map (db m27089) HM
Georgia (Screven County), Rocky Ford — 124-1 — First County Seat
Between 1765 and 1770 a group of settlers, mostly from North Carolina, settled and received grants for land in the vicinity of what is now Rockyford. Among these first settlers were, Benjamin Lanier, Lemuel Lanier, Valentine Hollingsworth, Francis Jones, Thomas Mills, Anthony Bonnell, Abraham Mincey, Robert Dickson and Michael Dickson. The first county seat of Screven County was established here on Dec. 14, 1793, and the home of Benjamin Lanier, across Mile Branch from this marker, was the first Court House. — Map (db m13131) HM
Georgia (Seminole County), Donalsonville — City of Donalsonville
According to a map "Plan of Donalson" dated April 1889, the town was laid out by John Earnest Donalson. On December 8, 1897, a charter, signed by Governor William Yates Atkinson, was granted incorporating the town of Donalsonville. Officers appointed were: Thomas Chason, Mayor; John E. Donalson, W. B. King, S. D. Cherry, R. D. Carr, Aldermen. This charter was amended August 12, 1922 and the name changed to City of Donalsonville. — Map (db m9858) HM
Georgia (Seminole County), Donalsonville — 125-1 — Seminole County
This County, created by Act of the Legislature July 8, 1920, is named for the Seminole Indians. Members of the Creek Confederacy, the Seminoles (meaning “separatist”) left the main body in Georgia and settled in Florida. After two bloody wars in 1817-‘18 and 1835-‘42, under Osceola, the majority were moved to western reservations but several hundred escaped to the Everglades where the tribe still dwells. Among the first County Officers were: Sheriff J. M. Richardson, Clerk of . . . — Map (db m55645) HM
Georgia (Spalding County), Griffin — 126-8 — Founding of Griffin>>>>--- 2 Bl. --->
Near the present junction of the Central and Southern Railways, from a stump near the town spring, on June 8,1840, Gen. Lewis Lawrence Griffin sold lots to the highest bidder, thus establishing the City of Griffin. William Leake bought the first lot. Gen. Griffin, an early advocate of the railroad and one of the wealthiest men in Middle Georgia, was the first president of the Monroe Railroad and Banking Co. A General in the Georgia Militia, he fought in the Indian war known as the Florida . . . — Map (db m27589) HM
Georgia (Spalding County), Griffin — 126-9 — Founding of Griffin
From a stump near the town spring, now covered by the embankment of the railroad, on June 8, 1840, Gen. Lewis Lawrence Griffin sold lots to the highest bidder, thus establishing the City of Griffin. The first lot was sold to William Leake. Gen. Griffin, an early advocate of the railroad and one of the wealthiest men in Middle Georgia, was the first president of the Monroe Railroad and Banking Co. A General in the Georgia Militia, he fought in the Indian war known as the Florida Campaign and in . . . — Map (db m27591) HM
Georgia (Spalding County), Griffin — 126-18 — Lewis Lawrence Griffin
Born in South Carolina, October 3, 1794, Lewis Lawrence Griffin moved to Georgia with his widowed mother in the early 1800’s. He fought in the Georgia Militia under General Daniel Newnan in Florida and, later, under Generals John Floyd and Thomas Glascock in the Creek Wars. He was a country merchant, a General in the Militia, a legislator. In 1833 the Legislature chartered the Monroe Railroad Co. and he was made its president. In 1840 General Griffin auctioned off lots in the town which . . . — Map (db m27810) HM
Georgia (Spalding County), Griffin — 126-3 — Spalding County
Spalding County was created by Act of Dec. 20, 1851 from Fayette, Henry and Pike Counties. It was named for Thomas Spalding (1774-1851), native of Frederica. One of the earliest cotton and sugar cane planters in Georgia, he was a legislator, state senator, Congressman, and member of the Constitutional Convention of 1798. First officers of Spalding County, commissioned Feb. 5, 1852, were: Addison A. Wooten, Sheriff; Henry B. Holliday, Clk. Sup. Ct.; James S. Wood, Clk. Inf. Ct.; William L. . . . — Map (db m59619) HM
Georgia (Spalding County), Griffin — 126-17 — The City of Griffin
The first city government of Griffin, founded in 1840 by General Lewis Lawrence Griffin, was authorized in 1843 when the General Assembly of Georgia granted it a charter. The charter was accepted locally in 1844 and the first municipal government was established in 1845. This consisted of a Board of Commissioners with Major Henry Moor, an attorney, acting as chairman. After serving later as mayor, Major Moor, with William Dewberry, represented Spalding County at the Secession Convention where . . . — Map (db m27811) HM
Georgia (Stephens County), Toccoa — 127-1 — Stephens County
This County, created by Act of the Legislature August 18, 1905, is named for Alexander Hamilton Stephens, Vice President of the Confederacy. A state legislator and Senator he was elected to Congress at 31, serving from 1843 to 1859. Elected to the Senate in 1866 he was refused his seat but again served in Congress from 1873 to ‘82 when he became Governor. He died March 4, 1883. Among the first County Officers were: Sheriff W. A. Stowe, Clerk of Superior Court W. A. Bailey, Ordinary B. P. . . . — Map (db m58733) HM
Georgia (Stewart County), Richland — Historic Richland
First settled in 1827, Richland was named for the home district of several pioneer families from South Carolina. The community became a busy railroad junction when the Savannah. Americus and Montgomery, and the Columbus Southern rail lines met here in 1889. Richland was incorporated in 1890. By 1913, the city had 3 banks, 3 hotels, 25 stores, guano factory, cotton seed oil mill, Coca Cola bottling plant and other enterprises. The older part of the city is a historic district listed in the . . . — Map (db m10152) HM
Georgia (Talbot County), Talbotton — 130-5 — Talbot County
Talbot County was created by Act of Dec. 14, 1827 from Muscogee County. Originally, it included part of Taylor County. It was named for Matthew Talbot (1767-1827), member of legislature, member of the Convention that framed the Constitution of Ga., President of the State Senate, Governor in 1819 after the death of Gov. Rabun until the election of Gov. Clark. First officers of Talbot County, commissioned Feb. 9, 1828, were: Abraham Laurence, Sheriff; Samuel C. Leech, Clk. Sup. Ct.; William S. . . . — Map (db m27364) HM
Georgia (Taylor County), Butler — 133-4 — Taylor County
Taylor County was created by Act of Jan. 15, 1852 from parts of Macon, Marion and Talbot Counties. It was named for Zachary Taylor (1784-1850), 12th President of the U.S., Major-General, Commander of the Army of the Rio Grande. Known as “Old Rough and Ready,” he captured Monterrey, Sept. 24, 1846 and defeated Santa Anna at Buena Vista, Feb. 22-23, 1847. First officers of Taylor County, commissioned July 24, 1852 were: J.M. Thompson, Sheriff; J.M. McCants, Clerk Sup. Ct.; James . . . — Map (db m27232) HM
Georgia (Telfair County), Jacksonville — 134-3 — Jacksonville
The first County Seat of Telfair County, Jacksonville, was named for General Andrew Jackson. From 1807 to 1812 court met in various homes. In 1812 a courthouse was erected on the site of the present Methodist Church. Jacksonville was an important point on the Blackshear Trail which followed the Altamaha and Ocmulgee rivers from Darien to Fort Hawkins. Two miles away a blockhouse, one of three in the county, was built by General David Blackshear as a refuge and a house of thanksgiving. . . . — Map (db m9756) HM
Georgia (Telfair County), McRae — 134-2 — Telfair County
Telfair County was created by Act of Dec. 10, 1807 from Wilkinson County. Originally, it contained parts of Coffee and Dodge Counties. It was named for Gov. Edward Telfair (1735- 1807). Born in Scotland, he settled in Savannah in 1766, was a staunch supporter of the American cause in the Revolution, was a member of the Council of Safety, a delegate to the Continental Congress, Governor 1786-1787 and 1790-1793. First officers of Telfair County, commissioned Dec. 20, 1808, were: Duncan Curry, . . . — Map (db m23638) HM
Georgia (Terrell County), Dawson — 135-1 — Terrell County
This County, created by Act of the Legislature February 16, 1856, is named for Dr. William Terrell who died in 1855. He served in Congress from 1817 to ‘21. Eight miles west of here was fought the Battle of Echo-wa-noth-away Swamp in the Creek Indian War in 1836. Old Herod Town, an important Indian village, stood eight miles south. Among the first County Officers were: Sheriff Andrew I. Baldwin, Clerk of Superior Court Meyron Weston, Clerk of Inferior Court Daniel Lashley, Ordinary Ludwell M. . . . — Map (db m27014) HM
Georgia (Tift County), Tifton — 137-1 — Tift County
This County, created by Act of the Legislature August 17, 1905, is officially named for Nelson Tift, well known businessman, legislator and Mayor of Albany. The organizers also had in mind his nephew Henry Harding Tift, who founded Tifton in 1872 when he built a sawmill and commissary here though the first postoffice was not established until 1887. Among the first County Officers were: Sheriff J.B. Baker, Ordinary W.S. Walker, Clerk J.E. Peoples, Tax Receiver J.A. Marchant, Tax Collector J. . . . — Map (db m39993) HM
Georgia (Toombs County), Lyons — 138-1 — Toombs County
Toombs County was created by Act of Aug. 18, 1905 from Emanuel, Montgomery and Tattnall. It was named for Gen. Robert Augustus Toombs 1810-1885), of Wilkes County, Congressman and Senator. One of the chief organizers of the Confederate government, he was Secretary of State and Brig. Gen. Bitterly opposed to Reconstruction, he never took the oath of allegiance after the war. First County Officers, commissioned Oct. 9, 1905, were: R.F. Scarboro, Sheriff; D.T. Gibbs, Clk. Sup. Ct.; R.J. Partin, . . . — Map (db m18208) HM
Georgia (Towns County), Hiawassee — 139-2 — Towns County
Towns County was created by Act of March 6, 1856 from Rabun and Union Counties. It was named for George Washington Towns, Governor of Georgia from 1847~1851. Gov. Towns was born in Wilkes County, May 4, 1801, of a Virginia family. Self-educated, he was a merchant, lawyer, legislator, state senator, Congressman. He died in 1854. First officers of Towns County, commissioned April 21, 1856, were: Andrew I. Burch, Sheriff; Martin L. Burch, Clerk Superior Court; James H. Moore, Clerk Inferior Court; . . . — Map (db m37370) HM
Georgia (Treutlen County), Soperton — 140-3 — Treutlen County
Treutlen County was created by Act of Aug. 21, 1917 from Emanuel and Montgomery Counties. It was named for Gov. John Adam Treutlen (1726- 1782), "one of the foremost revolutionists." Elected Governor over Button Gwinnett in 1777, he was declared a "rebel governor" by the royal government and is believed to have been murdered by Tories in Orangeburg, S.C. First officers of Treutlen County, commissioned Dec. 9, 1918, were M.B. Ware, Sheriff; N.L. Gillis, Ordinary; J.F. Mullis, Clk. Sup. Ct.; J.E. . . . — Map (db m23644) HM
Georgia (Troup County), Hogansville — William Hogan Plantation
William Hogan, born January 20, 1804, established a plantation in the 1830s encompassing much of the present town of Hogansville. When he gave the right-of-way to the railroad in 1849, he stipulated that a depot be built where the railroad crossed the old Augusta Highway. Following his death in 1861, his son-in-law John Pullin sold the land for business and residential use. Hogansville was chartered in 1870. The Victorian house southwest of the cemetery occupies almost the same spot as the . . . — Map (db m22307) HM
Georgia (Troup County), LaGrange — George Michael Troup
George Michael Troup was born September 8, 1780 and died April 26, 1856. During Troup's tenure as Governor of Georgia (1823-1827), Troup County was created on December 16, 1826. Boundaries of original Troup County extended from the Flint River on the east to the Chattahoochee River on the west. East and southern boundaries were reduced on December 24, 1827, to its approximate present size. Governor Troup was buried in Montgomery County, Georgia. He was twice married and father of six children. — Map (db m11684) HM
Georgia (Twiggs County), Bullard — Arthur Fort, 1750-1833
Arthur Fort, Sr., a representative of Wilkinson County, introduced the Bill in the Georgia Legislature to carve a new county out of Wilkinson County territory which became an Act on December 14, 1809, thus Twiggs County was created. After the division, he resided in Twiggs and died at his residence in 1833. Born January 15, 1750, North Carolina and came to Georgia when a young boy. A Lieutenant in the Revolutionary War and a patriot soldier, a member of the Council of Safety and the Supreme . . . — Map (db m11926) HM
Georgia (Union County), Blairsville — 144-5 — Union County
Union County was created by Act of Dec. 3, 1832 from Cherokee. Originally, it contained part of Fannin and Towns Counties. In 1832 there was much discussion over Union and States’ rights. John Thomas, chosen by the people as a representative for the new County, when asked to suggest a name, is reported to have said, “Name it Union, for none but union-like men reside in it.” First officers of Union County, commissioned March 20, 1833 were: James Crow, Sheriff; Arthur Gilbert, Clerk . . . — Map (db m33498) HM
Georgia (Walton County), Monroe — 147-3 — James Monroe
This City of Monroe, settled in 1818 and incorporated Nov. 30, 1821, was named for James Monroe, fifth President. Born in Virginia in 1758 he fought in the Continental Army. He served in the Virginia legislature, in Congress and the Senate, and as Governor of Virginia twice. He was Minister to France, helped negotiate the Louisiana Purchase and was Minister to England and Spain. He served as Secretary of State, and later of War for President Madison. He was elected President in 1816 and again . . . — Map (db m20718) HM
Georgia (Walton County), Monroe — 147-1 — Walton County
This County created by Acts of the Legislature Dec. 15 & 19, 1818, is named for George Walton, signer of the Declaration of Independence. Walton, born in Va. in 1749 came to Savannah when 20 to study law. Elected Secretary of the first Provincial Congress of Ga. in ‘75 he was also President of the Council of Safety. He served in the Continental Congress from Jan. ‘76 till Oct. ‘81. As a Col. of militia he was wounded and captured at the Battle of Savannah. He was Governor in ‘79 & ‘80, and . . . — Map (db m20703) HM
Georgia (Warren County), Warrenton — 149-1 — Warren County
This County, created by Act of the Legislature Dec. 19, 1793, is named for Gen. Joseph Warren, Massachusetts Revolutionary hero killed at the Battle of Bunker Hill. What is claimed to have been the first iron works and woolen mill in Georgia was established by Col. Richard Bird at Ogeechee Falls near Georgetown. Among the first County Officers were: Sheriffs Peter Hodo & David Neal, Ordinary Septimus Weatherby, Clerks of Superior Court Wyche Goodwin & Isaiah Tucker, Clerk of Inferior Court . . . — Map (db m49372) HM
Georgia (Washington County), Sandersville — Saunder’s Store
The present site of the building, which stands on the corner of South Harris Street and West Haynes Street, was the location of Mr. Mark Sander’s store at the crossing of roads. On December 19, 1793, the Legislature of Georgia authorized that a central place for a county site be chosen for Washington County. In 1796, Mr. Saunders donated a part of his plantation for this purpose and in his honor the town was called Saundersville, later contracted to Sandersville. On November 27, 1812, the . . . — Map (db m24756) HM
Georgia (Washington County), Sandersville — 150-1 — Washington County Courthouse
Washington, Georgia’s ninth county and first in the nation to be named for George Washington, was created in 1784 for granting land to soldiers for Revolutionary War services. Court House Square, located on the old stage coach road from Louisville to Milledgeville, is on the Dixie and Nancy Hart Highways. The present Court House Building, the third, was erected in 1899. The first was burned in “the great fire” March 24, 1855, when only five buildings in the entire town were . . . — Map (db m24690) HM
Georgia (Washington County), Warthen — 150-4 — Warthen
Washington County, which once embraced all the territory from the Cherokee corner North, from the Ogeechee to the Oconee and the Liberty on the South, was surveyed in 1784. Soon the small settlement known as Warthen’s Store was designated as the area in which Court was to be held. The first Superior Court Session sat at the home of Mr. Benjamin Tennille. Court Sessions continued to be held in the vicinity until 1798 when a more central point was selected. The hewn log jail, in which Aaron . . . — Map (db m24393) HM
Georgia (Wayne County), Jesup — 151-1 — Wayne County
This County, created by Acts of the Legislature May 11, 1803 and Dec. 7, 1805, is named for Major General “Mad Anthony” Wayne, so called for his daring exploits in the Revolution. A Pennsylvanian, he fought in the South and was elected to Congress from Georgia in 1791 but after a contest the seat was declared vacant. The first County Site at Waynesville was too close to the border when Charlton County was cut off in 1854 and the Site was moved to Jesup, named for Gen. Jesup of the . . . — Map (db m21349) HM
Georgia (Wheeler County), Alamo — 153-1 — Wheeler County
This County, created by Act of the Legislature Aug. 14, 1912, is named for Gen. Joseph Wheeler, famous Confederate Cavalry leader and Major General of Cavalry in the Spanish War. He twice saved Augusta from Kilpatrick's Union Cavalry, at Waynesboro, Ga., in 1864 and at Aiken, S.C. in `65. For his brilliant work at Santiago Teddy Roosevelt called him "a regular gamecock." First County Officers were: Ordinary Wm. B. Kent, Superior Court Clerk John Durden Brown, Sheriff J.F. Wright, Tax Receiver . . . — Map (db m23634) HM
Georgia (White County), Cleveland — 154-4 — Cleveland
When White County was formed in 1857, Mt. Yonah was selected as the County-seat. The majority of its residents wished to rename it Sheltonville for William H. Shelton, who sponsored the formation of the new county. Shelton asked that it be named Cleveland for his good friend and mentor, Benjamin Cleveland, who served 6 terms as representative, 8 terms as senator from Habersham County and was Brigadier-General from 1820 to 1826. Built of hand-made brick by slave labor, the White County . . . — Map (db m43702) HM
Georgia (White County), Cleveland — 154-3 — White County
White County, created by Act of Dec. 22, 1857, was cut off from Habersham and Lumpkin Counties. Wm. H. Shelton, Repr. from Habersham at the session tried twice to have the county formed but failed. Repr. David T. White of Newton Co. backed the bill and it passed. In gratitude, Repr. Shelton had the county named for Repr. White. First county officers were: Isaac Bowen, Sheriff; Wm. L. Sumpter, Clk. Sup. Ct.; Wm. R. Kimsey, Clk. Inf. Ct.; Willis A. England, Cor.; Wm. Burke, Tax Rec.; Champion . . . — Map (db m21294) HM
Georgia (Whitfield County), Dalton — 151-3 — The McCarty Neighborhood
William Scott and Frances Brown McCarty began laying out a neighborhood here in 1927. By 1950, influential Dalton residents had established one of the city’s earliest subdivisions. McCarty residents pioneered and maintained the Dalton carpet and textile industry whose products are used worldwide. Long-time residents and sons of the neighborhood’s founders, John Brown McCarty co-founded Star Dye Company with Clarence Shaw in the mid-1940s, and Frank Brown McCarty founded McCarty Chenille in the . . . — Map (db m19294) HM
Georgia (Whitfield County), Dalton — 155-1 — The McCarty Subdivision
John B. McCarty began laying out a neighborhood here in 1928. By 1950, influential Dalton residents had established one of the city’s earliest subdivisions using New South landscaping. Tudor Revival, Colonial Revival, and Minimal Traditional architectural styles popular in Georgia at the time. This neighborhood housed residents who pioneered and maintained the Dalton textile and carpet industry whose products are used world-wide. McCarty himself was founder of Dalton Spread Laundry, a key business in the evolution of the carpet industry. — Map (db m15382) HM
250 markers matched your search criteria.
Click to map all markers shown on this page.
Click First to browse through the results shown on this page.   First >> 


•••
More Search Options
 
Markers
Near You

 
Categories

 
States & Provinces

 
Counties
Click to List


 
Countries

Page composed
in 250 ms.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
To search within this page, hold down the Ctrl key and press F.
On an Apple computer,
hold down the Apple key and press F.