HMdb.org THE HISTORICAL
MARKER DATABASE
            “Bite-Size Bits of Local, National, and Global History”
  Home  — My Markers  — Add A Marker  — Marker Series  — Links & Books  — Forum  — About Us
Click First to browse through the results shown on this page.   First >> 
Show DirectionsOmit Marker TextClick to map all markers shown on this page.
Arts, Letters, Music Markers
1916 markers matched your search criteria. The first 250 markers are listed. Next 1666
Argentina, Buenos Aires — La Librería de Avila
English: This ancient bookstore settled here on the corner across from San Ignacio Church and the Secular College, during the early days of the Republic, and prospered in tune with the country's cultural growth. It offers a wide range of antique and out-of-print books in several subjects, from History and Antropology, to Linguistics and Literature. A cultural space called Almacen y Bar Literario (Literary Bar and Storehouse) operates in the basement. Spanish: La antigua . . . — Map (db m80289) HM
Argentina, Mendoza — Monument to Hispanic-Argentine BrotherhoodMonumento a la Hermandad Hispano-Argentina
First Part: Fragmentos del mensaje de la ley 1.638. Creadora de la plaza Espana. Mendoza. No existe pueblo alguno de los innumerables que se alzan en los paises Americanos de habla espanola que no guarde con la madres partia una profunda afinidad spiritual ni aun las ponderosas influencias autoctonas. Que han gravitado y siguen gravitando sobre los grupos ethicos de formacion eminentemente Americana. Han podido desdibujar esos rasgos de hispanidad caracteristica que les da . . . — Map (db m79835) HM
Austria, Tyrol, Innsbruck — Goethe Stayed HereHier weilte Goethe
Hier weilte Goethe, diese Tatsache wird wohl jeden Fremden, der Innsbruck besucht, in die Goethe-Stube sühren. Hier weilte Kaiser Josef II. Hier weilte Andreas Hofer: Mehr zu sagen ist unnötig. In der Goethe Stube verkehren die Tiroler Künstler und Schriftsteller. In der Goethe Stube ist manch alt Bild, Geschrift und Gewassen sowie ein Künstlerbuch zu sehen. Auch eine Quittung von Andrä Hofer ist hier zu erschauen Des Etschlands edle Weinlein fliessen hier und Goethe schaut auf die Zechenden . . . — Map (db m68182) HM
Austria, Tyrol, Innsbruck — Gumpp HouseHaus der Künstlerfamilien Gumpps
Dieses Haus war von 1653 – 1765 die Wohnstätte der Künstlerfamilie Gumpp der die bedeutendsten barocken Baumeister Innsbrucks angehörten: Christof 1600 – 1672 Joh. Martin d.Ä. 1643 – 1729 Georg Anton 1687 – 1754 Joh. Martin d.J. 1686 – 1765 German-English translation: From 1653-1765 this was the home of the Artist Family Gumpp of which the most significant baroque architects of Innsbruck were members: . . . — Map (db m68291) HM
Austria, Tyrol, Innsbruck — Leopold Mozart
. . . — Map (db m68296) HM
Austria, Tyrol, Innsbruck — Marc Antonio Cesti(1623 Arezzo – 1669 Florenz)
Marc Antonio Cesti (1623 Arezzo – 1669 Florenz) Seit 1645 Kapellmeister am Dom zu Volterra, kam er 1652 als Hofkapellmeister an den Hof Erzherzog Ferdinand Karls. Ursprünglich nur als Komponist für Auftragswerke, übersiedelte er um 1654 nach Innsbruck und sollte Leiter eines geplanten Komödienhauses werden Er bekam vom Fürsten das Haus Pfarrgasse 5 geschenkt. Im Jahre 1665 wurde er Vizekapellmeister am Hof Leopolds I. in Wien, für dessen Hochzeit er die Prunkoper “Il pomo . . . — Map (db m68372) HM
Austria, Tyrol, Innsbruck — Precht HousePrechthaus — Pfarrgasse 4
Pfarrgasse 4 Prechthaus Das Prechthaus stammt aus dem 15. Jahrhundert. Unter Dr. Basilius Precht wurde es 1540 durch Gregor Türing umgebaut. 1588 erwarb es Dr. J. Moser, der Gründer der Hofbuchhandlung und Universitätsdruckerei, die sich bis 1875 in diesem Hause befand. German-English translation: Pfarrgasse 4 Precht House The Precht house dates from the 15th Century. Under Dr. Basil Precht it was rebuilt in 1540 by Gregory Türing. It was acquired in 1588 bt . . . — Map (db m68331) HM
Austria, Tyrol, Innsbruck — The Court or Franciscan ChurchHof- bzw. Franziskanerkirche
Hof- bzw. Franziskanerkirche Die Innsbrucker Hofkirche (1553/63) beherbergt das bedeutendste Kaisergrab des Abendlandes. Das Grabmal wurde zum Gedenken an Kaiser Maximilian I. (1459 – 1519) errichtet. Die bedeutendsten Künstler der Zeit wie etwa Albrecht Dürer, Peter Vischer d. Ä., Alexander Colin waren daran beteiligt. Berühmt sind vor allem die 28 überlebensgrossen Bronzefiguren, die im Volksmund “Schwarzmander” genannt werden. Sie stellen die tatsächlichen wie auch die . . . — Map (db m68439) HM
Austria, Tyrol, Innsbruck — To Mantua in Chains (The Song of Andreas Hofer)Zu Mantua in Banden (Andreas Hofer Lied)
Julius Mosen Geb. 1803 Dichter aus dem Vogtland Leopold Knebelsberger Komponist aus dem Zillertaler Rainer Kreis, die Schöpper des Andreas Hofer liedes, Unserer Landeshymne. Emmerich Kedle Fec. German-English translation: To Mantua in Chains Julius Mosen, Born in 1803 Poet from the Vogtland Leopold Knebelsberger Composer from the Zillertal Rainer Kreis, the creator of the The Song of Andreas Hofer Our national anthem. . . . — Map (db m68142) HM
Brazil, Amazonas, Manaus — Praça São SebastiãoMonumento Comemorativo a Abertura dos Portos — Monument to the Opening of the [Amazon] Ports
[Panel 1] Mandado Construir em MDCCCXCIX pelo Exmo Senr. Jose Cardoso Ramalho Júnior, Governador do Estado do Amazonas. [In English: Construction Ordered, 1899, by His Excellency, Mr. Jose Cardoso Ramalho Junior, Governor of the State of Amazonas.] "ASIA" [Panel 2] 15 de Novembro de MDCCCLXXXIX. [November 15, 1889.] "AMERICA" [Panel 3] Monumento Levanta do em substitução ao que foi erguido n’esta praça em XII de Setembro de . . . — Map (db m26407) HM
Brazil, Bahia, Salvador — Monumento a Stefan ZweigAll Saints' Bay
Stefan Zweig nasceu em Viena, Áustria, em 1881. Escritor cosmopolita, tornou-se conhecido por suas analises do comlexo psíquico e pela defesa dos ideais humanitarios. Foi o autor mais traduzido do seu tempo. Pacifista, escrevia reinventando a vida. Iniciou sua peregrinação pelo mundo em 1934, com residencia na Inglaterra. Mudou-se, em 1941, com sua esposa Lotte, para a Cidade de Petrópolis, Brasil, onde escreveu, o seu livro mais conhecido, “Brasil, Pais do Futuro” e . . . — Map (db m31877) HM
Brazil, Rio de Janeiro — APA das Pontas de Copacabana e ArpoadorEnvironmental Protection Area of Copacabana and Arpoador Promontories
[The text on the right of the marker is in English]: The Environmental Protection Area (APA) of Copacabana and Arpoador Promontories was created by Municipal Law No. 2.087/94 to protect its rocky coast and native plant life species. The APA has the Copacabana Fort and the “Girl from Ipanema” Park as its limits. The Copacabana Fort had its construction finished in 1914 with a mission to protect Rio de Janeiro’s coast. Today the fort shelters . . . — Map (db m25894) HM
British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Brentwood Bay — Coast Salish Totem Poles
Eagle with Salmon, Orca, Bear with Salmon This Totem Pole, carve in Contemporary Coast Salish style by master carver Doug LaFortune of the Tsawout First Nation, was dedicated on September 9th, 2004 in celebration of the 100th anniversary of The Butchart Gardens. ———————— Raven, Beaver with Grouse, Otter with pups & clam, Frog This Totem Pole, carved in Classic Coast Salish style by master carver Charles Elliott of the Tsartlip . . . — Map (db m74456) HM
British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Brentwood Bay — Concert Lawn
Under the sponsorship of Mr. and Mrs. Ian Ross, the Victoria Symphony Orchestra performed summer concerts on the main lawn between 1953 and 1967. Conducted by Hans Gruber they featured many international artists such as Teresa Stratas, Bernard Turgeon and Grace Bumbry. On occasion guest conductors were invited to lead the orchestra. — Map (db m74461) HM
British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Brentwood Bay — Organ Pavillion
The Aeolian Pipe Organ played at The Butchart Gardens is an early twentieth century residence instrument equipped with its own pneumatic player. Built by the Aeolian Company of New York this model, once owned by Vancouver department store owner, Chris Spencer, is identical to the one owned by R.P. Butchart and installed in his residence here at Benvenuto. Fully playable manually this organ boasts just under one thousand individual pipes, a set of twenty tubular chimes and a forty-nine note . . . — Map (db m74479) HM
British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Brentwood Bay — The Butchart Boar
The original Porcellino, or little pig, sits on the south side of the Straw Market in Florence, Italy. For generations his nose has been affectionately rubbed to bring good luck, so that today his snout is finely burnished. About 1620 Pietro Tacca cast the "little pig" in bronze from the marble boar "Cinghiale", now displayed at the Uffizi Gallery in Florence. He completely changed the simple base of the earlier statue by adding a small pool surrounded by plants, frogs, snakes and a . . . — Map (db m74552) HM
British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Cast Iron Panels
The cast iron panels on this fence are from the Driard Hotel, built in 1892 and designed by architect John Teaque. It was Victoria’s most prestigious hotel prior to the construction of the Empress Hotel. A reconstructed portion of the original hotel facade was incorporated into the bay Centre at the corner of View and Broad Streets. The terra cotta “frozen fountain” to the right of the entrance gate is from the former Kresge’s Department Store, a 1930 Art Deco style building which . . . — Map (db m48477) HM
British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Emily Carr1871-1945
[English] Artist and author Emily Carr was born here and lived most of her life in this neighbourhood of Victoria where she died. Her compelling canvases of British Columbia landscape offer a unique vision of the forest an shore, while her documentation of Indian villages provides a valuable anthropological record. Lively accounts of Emily Carr’s travels in the province are collected in Klee Wyck, for which she won the Governor General’s Award for non-fiction in 1941. Six other . . . — Map (db m49241) HM
British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Emily CarrBorn December 13, 1871 • Died March 2, 1945 — "Our Emily"
Victoria-born Emily Carr is British Columbia's most famous artist. Her art and writings are recognized across Canada. Emily grew up with a passion for art and a love of nature, especially animals. After high school she studied art in San Francisco. Later she travelled to England and France to refine her style. A trip to the native village of Ucluelet in 1899 opened the world of Aboriginal culture that inspired her to paint images of the vanishing totem poles in their natural setting. An . . . — Map (db m74400) HM
British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Figures and Medallions of the Library Wing of Parliament Building
[Medallions, top row] Milton – Sophocles – Shakespeare – Socrates – Dante – Homer [Statues, anti-clockwise from the top left] Colonel R.C. Moody 1813-1887 Commander of Royal Engineers in 1858, erected New Westminster as capital of B.C., planned the Cariboo Road. David Thompson 1770 – 1857 Greatest of fur trade explorers. In 1812 traversed Kootenay area, descended the Columbia from source to mouth. Sir Anthony Musgrave 1828 – . . . — Map (db m49045) HM
British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Market Square’s Main Gate Fountain
This historic fountain was originally erected near the turn of the century at the “edge of town” known as the Five Corners: Government, Douglas, Gorge and Hillside Streets.

The three-level fountain provided water for parched travellers [sic] and their thirsty horses, as well as smaller animals such as dogs, and pigs on their way to market.

The fountain was removed to the City workyards in 1950 where it languished until it was restored when these nine heritage building were . . . — Map (db m48478) HM

British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — McPherson PlayhouseDedicated 26th, February 1965
Named in Honour of Thomas Shanks McPherson Born Airdrie, Scotland, prominent business man, philanthropist and citizen of Victoria for fifty-three years, who died at the age of 89 years on 3rd, December 1962, and under whose will a bequest including this theatre was made to the City of Victoria — Map (db m49129) HM
British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Order of Canada / Ordre du Canada
In commemoration of the 25th anniversary of the founding of the Order of Canada and the 125th anniversary of Canada as a nation this plaque has been erected by the recipients of the Order resident in the Province of British Columbia. The Order recognizes accomplishments that have influenced the economic, cultural, scientific and community life of the nation and are representative of the characteristics and qualities that define a Canadian. Unveiled October 27th, 1992 by His Excellency . . . — Map (db m75023) HM
British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — The Majestic TheatreBuilt c1860 — Alterations: 1885; 1909; 1917
This building first housed Moore’s Music Hall (Victoria’s earliest existing theatre) upstairs, above Nathanial Moore’s dry goods store. In 1885, a new facade was constructed to match the new building next door, with identical cast iron columns. Various commercial uses followed, which included supplying miners preparing for the Klondike. In 1898 miners’ equipment was piled high on this sidewalk. In 1909 architect Thomas Hooper renovated the building to house the Majestic Theatre, . . . — Map (db m49125) HM
British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — The Netherland Carillon / History of the Carillon
The Netherland Carillon The carillon was a gift fro British Columbia’s Dutch community to honour Canada’s 100th birthday in 1967. Her Majesty Queen Juliana of the Netherlands unveiled the cornerstone of this tower on May 23, 1967; it now sits in the garden below.

A carillon is a musical instrument with a set of 23 or more bronze bells. This carillon, the largest in Canada, has 62 bells. It is housed at the top of this tower, which stands 27 meters (89 feet) tall. The largest bell . . . — Map (db m48932) HM

British Columbia (Greater Vancouver Regional District), Vancouver — Sadie MarksCity of Vancouver, 1886-1986
In 1922 Ferrera Court was the home of Vancouver tailor David Marks, where vaudeville comedian Benny Kubelsky met thirteen-year-old Sadie Marks. They dated in 1926 and married the next year. As Jack Benny and Mary Livingstone they often returned to the city of her birth. — Map (db m46691) HM
New Brunswick (Saint John County), Saint John — Canada’s Original CityLa ville originale du Canada
English What do you do for a 225th anniversary The answer in Canada’s first incorporated city was celebrate! Saint John 225: The Original City/La ville originale was a year-long celebration of the city’s heritage, creativity and cultures. Neighbourhoods and community organizations, regional and local businesses and all levels of government helped Saint John live up to its title as a 2010 Cultural Capital of Canada. Saint John 225 was a year of festivals: the . . . — Map (db m77568) HM
New Brunswick (Saint John County), Saint John — Imperial TheatreLe Théâtre Imperial
English Constructed in 1912-1913 to the designs of Philadelphia architect A.E. Westover, this structure was built by the Keith-Albee chain of New York City and its Canadian subsidiary, the Saint John Amusements Company. Dramatic, musical and vaudeville performances were highlighted in the early years. Theatres of this kind, constructed between 1912 and 1930, were among the grandest built in Canada, and acted as a transition between traditional 19th century theatres and the movie . . . — Map (db m77506) HM
New Brunswick (Saint John County), Saint John — King Edward VII Memorial BandstandKiosque À Musique Commémoratif Roi Edouard VII
English The Memorial Bandstand was designed and built in 1908 for the City Coronet Band by Neil Brodie, a local architect. One year later, it was donated to the City of Saint John in the name of Edward VII of England. The bandstand is made of various materials. The supporting columns are steel with wrought iron detail. The floor and ceiling are constructed of wood while copper formes the roof and intermediate cornice. A coronet, similar to those used by the City Coronet Band, has . . . — Map (db m77531) HM
New Brunswick (Westmoreland County), Shediac — Men of LettersHommes de Lettres
English: Born in or near Shediac, Pascal Poirier (1852-1933), historian and first Acadian senator; Placide Gaudet (1850-1930), historian and genealogist; John Clarence Webster (1863-1950), historian, Professor, and eminent surgeon, all enriched the cultural life of their compatriots, in particular the Acadians, whose first newspaper, Le Moniteur Acadien, founded in 1867 at Shediac by Israel Landry, was edited for half a century by Ferdinand Robidoux (1849-1921), and faithfully served . . . — Map (db m80578) HM
Newfoundland and Labrador (Division No. 8 (Notre Dame Bay)), Twillingate — TwillingatePopulation 3,366 (1996)
Slade’s Room In the early 1700s a few English fishermen began to settle at Twillingate Harbour, as the French fishery began to concentrate on the area north of Cape S. John (referred to locally as Cape John). In about 1750 John Slade of Poole, England settled on the harbour as his Newfoundland headquarters. Over the next 25 years the Slade business grew, employing Twillingate as a base to exploit the resources of the northern Newfoundland (cod, furs, salmon and seals). A second . . . — Map (db m79478) HM
Nova Scotia (Halifax Regional Municipality), Halifax — Philippe Aubert de Gaspé (fils)1814 - 1841
English Author of the first Canadian novel of French expression, L’influence du’ livre (1837), written in Saint-Jean-Port-Joli, Philippe-Ignace-Françoise Aubert de Gaspé was born in Quebec City on April 8th, 1814. He worked from 1840 until his death on March 7th, 1841 in Halifax where he was interred. It is believed he was buried in the Poor House cemetery. French Auteur du premier roman canadien d’expression française, L’influence d’un livre (1837), rédige . . . — Map (db m77825) HM
Nova Scotia (Kings County), Grand Pré — 01 — Statue of EvangelineLa statue d’Évangéline — Longfellow’s Heroine / Héroïne de Longfellow
English This statue of Evangeline, heroine of Longfellow’s epic poem, Evangeline: A Tale of Acadie, is a powerful emotive symbol of the Deportation. It connects the story of Evangeline to the history of Grand Prê. Two famous sculptors from Quebec were associated with this statue. The Dominion Atlantic Railway (DAR) commissioned Henri Hébert to create the statue. Henri said his composition was inspired from a statuette, entitled L’Acadie, produced by his father, . . . — Map (db m78723) HM
Ontario (Lambton County), Petrolia — Robert M. Nicol Library
The original Grand Trunk Railway Station was built in 1903. It was later bought by CN and the station closed in 1927. The Town of Petrolia opened its first official library here in 1937. A commitment to maintain this designated heritage building is shared by the Town of Petrolia and through a generous trust fund granted by Robert M. Nicol in memory of his mother, Helen Kavanagh Nicol. — Map (db m78422) HM
Ontario (Lambton County), Petrolia — Victoria Hall
English When Victoria Hall was built in 1889, Petrolia, in the midst of an oil boom, was one of the wealthiest towns in Canada. The opulent town hall reflects this stage in the town’s growth. While its first floor housed municipal offices, court rooms, fire department and armory, the entire second floor was an opera house capable of seating 1,000 people. The design, by London (Ontario) architect George Durand, uses a diverse combination of forms and a variety of decorative motifs to . . . — Map (db m78421) HM
Ontario (National Capital Region), Ottawa — Oscar Peterson1925 - 2007
English: Oscar Peterson emerged from the Montréal working class neighbourhood known as Little Burgundy to become one of the world’s greatest piano virtuosos. His place in the international jazz pantheon is universally recognized. With this sculpture by Ruth Abernethy, Canada’s National Arts Centre proudly commemorates the masterful contribution Oscar Petersen made during his 65-year career as a musician, recording artist, composer and mentor. Commissioned by the Oscar . . . — Map (db m83311) HM
Ontario (Niagara Region), Niagara Falls — José María Heredia(1803–1839) — Niágara
Cuban poet and patriot who sang to Niagara and, as José Martí said, awakened “an ever-burning passion for freedom” in the hearts of all Cubans.                               Niagara                            (fragments) Thou flowest, on in quiet, til thy waves grow broken midst the rocks; thy current then shoots onward like the irresistible course of destiny. Ah, terrible the rage,— the hoarse and rapid whirlpools there! My brain grows wild, my senses . . . — Map (db m78068) HM
Ontario (Niagara Region), Niagara-on-the-Lake — William Kirby1817-1906
In English: Born in England, Kirby came to Canada in 1839 and began work as a tanner in the vicinity of Niagara-on-the-Lake. There he developed his literary talents and soon after moving into the town in 1848 embarked on a long and prolific career as a journalist and writer. Keenly aware of the region's past, he celebrated its traditions in poetry and a history, Annals of Niagara (1896), but it was his interest in French Canadian legends which inspired his most famous work . . . — Map (db m34915) HM
Ontario (Stormont, Dundas & Glengarry Counties), Maxville — The Rev. Charles W. Gordon1860-1937
Born at Indian Lands (St. Elmo), Gordon was ordained a Presbyterian minister in 1890. He served as a missionary in the North West Territories until 1893 and the following year was called to St. Stephens in Winnipeg. A chaplain during the War of 1914-18, he was Moderator of the Presbyterian Church in Canada 1921-22. Under the pen name of Ralph Connor, Gordon became one of Canada's leading authors and wrote such books as "The Man From Glengarry", "The Sky Pilot" and "Glengarry School Days". The . . . — Map (db m76736) HM
Ontario (Toronto), Toronto — Charles William Jefferys1869 - 1951
{Marker Text in English:} Writer, artist, and illustrator of historical novels and textbooks, Charles Jefferys emigrated to Canada from England in 1879. After studying at the Toronto Art Students League, he joined the New York Herald as an illustrator in 1892, but returned to Canada in 1900 to work as a freelance artist for the Globe and the Daily Star. From 1911 to 1939 he taught drawing and painting at the University of Toronto. He painted landscapes and . . . — Map (db m37092) HM
Prince Edward Island (Queens County), Cavendish — Lucy Maud Montgomery(1874 - 1942)
English: Internationally renowned author, Lucy Maud Montgomery was born in New London, Prince Edward Island. After her mother's death in 1876, she lived with her maternal grandparents in Cavendish until 1911, when she married and moved to Ontario. While residing in Cavendish she wrote her first novel, Anne of Green Gables (1908). A series of popular sequels and other successful novels followed, but the enduring fame of Lucy Maud Montgomery had been firmly established with her creation . . . — Map (db m80283) HM
Prince Edward Island (Queens County), Charlottetown — Confederation Centre of the ArtsCentre de Arts de la Confédération
English: Opened by Her Majesty the Queen in 1964 as Canada's National Memorial to the Fathers of Confederation, the Centre is an outstanding example of an institution dedicated to the arts. The extensive cultural complex includes a theatre, an art gallery, a library and a memorial hall. One of a number of arts centres erected in Canada in the 1960s and 1970s, the building was distinguished by innovations in its acoustics and stage design. With its monolithic outward appearance and . . . — Map (db m80264) HM
Prince Edward Island (Queens County), Charlottetown — Edward Whelan1824 - 1867
English: Born in Ireland, Whelan immigrated to Halifax c. 1836 and became a protégé of Joseph Howe. As a journalist in Charlottetown be published the short- lived Palladium in 1845, became editor of the Morning News in 1846, and founded the Examiner in 1847. A co-founder, with George Coles, of the Liberal Party, and an ardent advocate of Responsible Government for Prince Edward Island, he entered the Executive Council in 1851 and was appointed Queen's Printer . . . — Map (db m80266) HM
Quebec (Capitale-Nationale (region)), Québec — Calixa Lavallée(1842-1891)
English: Calixa Lavallée was one of the first Canadian musicians to win an international reputation. He studied in Montréal and Paris and was, at various times, an itinerant musician, military bandsman, choral and orchestra conductor, teacher and composer in both his homeland and the United States. While resident in this house, Lavallée was asked to write an anthem for the Saint Jean-Baptiste Day celebrations of 1880. His composition, to words by Judge Adolphe-Basile Routhier, was . . . — Map (db m81345) HM
Quebec (Capitale-Nationale (region)), Québec — Do You Know Joan of Arc?Connaissez-vous Jeanne d’Arc?
English: Who has not heard of this young girl who left her village at the age of 17, guided by mysterious voices? Her mission was nothing less that to drive the English out of France and bring about the coronation of Charles VII, Two years later, just as her goal was within reach, she was taken prisoner by the by the English and condemned to burn at the stake on May 30, 1431. A heroine and martyr, she became the symbol of patriotism. The First World War rekindled French nationalism, . . . — Map (db m80877) HM
Quebec (Capitale-Nationale (region)), Québec — Maison François-Xavier Garneau
English: In this house, François-Xavier Garneau, the historian of Canada, lived for several years and here he died on the 3rd of February, 1866. French: En cette maison résida plusieurs années, et mourut le 3 février 1866, François-Xavier Garneau, l’historien du Canada. — Map (db m81346) HM
Quebec (Capitale-Nationale (region)), Québec — O Canada!
English: This glorious national anthem, verse by Sir Adolphe Routhier, music by Calixa Lavallée, was sung at the First Congrès Catholique des Canadiens-Français, on the Fête de Saint-Jean-Baptiste, 24th June, 1880. French: Célèbre hymne national, paroles de Sir Adolphe Routhier, musique de Calixa Lavallée, fut exécuté pour la première fois lors du premier Congrès Catholique des Canadiens-Français, le jour de la Saint-Jean-Baptiste, le 24 juin 1880. — Map (db m80849) HM
Quebec (Capitale-Nationale (region)), Québec — The Literary and Historical Society of Quebec
English: Founded on the initiative of Lord Dalhousie in 1824 to preserve the documentary record of Canadian history, this was the first Canadian learned society. For 120 years, the Society made important contributions to higher learning as a museum and reference library, through the publication of scholarly works and original documents, and as a platform for lectures on historical and scientific subjects. It also fostered the establishment of the Geological Survey, the Public . . . — Map (db m80775) HM
Quebec (Montréal (region)), Lachine — Frances Anne Hopkins
Two adjacent panels provide information on the life of Frances Anne Hopkins Frances Anne Hopkins, an Unrecognized Woman Do you know this woman? She once walked the ground under you feet. In fact, she lived in Lachine from 1858 to 1860 and spent the next eight years in Montreal. Frances Anne was born in England under the name of Beechey. At age 20, she married Edward Marin Hopkins, who held an important position in the Montreal Department of the Hudson’s Bay Company. . . . — Map (db m82108) HM
Yukon Territory, Dawson City — Robert Service's Cabin / La cabane de Robert Service
English: Within 5 years of Robert Service's departure in 1912, the local press referred to his rented cabin as a “shrine”. It became Yukon’s foremost tourist attraction virtually from the day it was abandoned. Maintained, altered and embellished by local service groups, the Klondike Bard’s cabin has come to symbolize the legacy of the Klondike Gold Rush: “Have you suffered, starved and triumphed, grovelled down, yet grasped at glory. Grown bigger in the . . . — Map (db m42695) HM
Czech Republic, Hlavní město Praha, Prague — Albert Schweitzer
{Text in Czech:} ALBERT SCHWEITZER * 1875 Kaysersberg †1965 Lambaréné Zde koncertoval v letech 1923 a 1928 {Text translated into English:} Albert Schweitzer Born 1875 in Kaysersberg, died 1965 in Lambaréné Performed here in 1923 and 1928 — Map (db m38193) HM
Czech Republic, Hlavní město Praha, Prague — Ema DestinnováEmmy Destinn
In Czech: Zde žila 1908-1914 Ema Destinnová česká pěvkyné Translated, the marker reads: From 1908-1914 the Czech singer, Emmy Destinn, lived here. — Map (db m23108) HM
Czech Republic, Hlavní město Praha, Prague — Francis Skaryna
{Marker text in Belarusian:} 1517-1519, у старым месце Праҗскім выдатны веларускі асветнік Францішак Скарына . . . — Map (db m40762) HM
Czech Republic, Hlavní město Praha, Prague — Here Albert Einstein Played the Violin
{Marker text in Czech:} V tomto domĕ „U Jedworožce,“ v salonu Berty Fantové, v letech 1911 až 1912 hrával na housle a setnával se zde s přǎteli, spisovateli Maxem Brodem a Franzem Kafkou, Profesor Teureticke Fyziky na Pražkĕ Univerzitě, tvŭrce Teurie Relativity, nositel nubeluvy ceny, Albert Einstein {Marker text in English:} Here, in the salon of Mrs. Berta Fanta, Albert Einstein, Professor at Prague University in 1911 to 1912, . . . — Map (db m37595) HM
Czech Republic, Hlavní město Praha, Prague — Jan Neruda
{Marker text in Czech:} Jan Neruda Zde žil a svoji literární činnost započal. * 1834 † 1891 Péčí Spolků Menšího Města Pražského. R. 1895. {Marker text translated into English:} Jan Neruda Here he lived and began his literary activity. Born 1834, Died 1891 The Prague Lesser Town Beneficial Association 1895 — Map (db m40517) HM
Czech Republic, Hlavní město Praha, Prague — Ladislav Zelenka
In Czech: Zde žil národní umělec Ladislav Zelenka 1881-1957 violoncellista slavného českého kvarteta Translated, the marker reads: Here lived the national artist, Ladislav Zelenka (1881-1957), cellist for the famed Czech Quartet. — Map (db m22987) HM
Czech Republic, Hlavní město Praha, Prague — Rudolf Kremlička
In Czech: V tomto domě pracoval český malíř Rudolf Kremlička Translated, the marker reads: In this house worked the Czech painter Rudolf Kremlicka. — Map (db m22972) HM
Czech Republic, Hlavní město Praha, Prague — T.R. Field Šumavansky
In Czech: Zde se narodil satirik T.R. Field Šumavansky 1891-1969 Translated, the marker reads: Here was born the satirist, T.R.Field Šumavansky (1891-1969). — Map (db m22763) HM
Czech Republic, Hlavní město Praha, Prague — Vojtěch Hynais1854-1925
In Czech: Zde žil a zemřel slavný český malíř Vojtěch Hynais Tvůrce opony národního divadla Svemu čestnemu předsedovi jednota umělců výtvar. v praze. Translated, the marker reads: Here lived and and died the famous Czech artist Vojtech Hynais Creator of the curtains of the National Theater. Honorary President of the Union of Fine Artists in Prague. — Map (db m22657) HM
Czech Republic, Hlavní město Praha (Staré Město), Prague — Bohuslav Balbín
{Marker text in Czech:} Zde žil a v roce 1688 zemřel Bohuslav Balbín vlastenec a historik českého baroka {Marker text translated into English:} Here lived, and in 1688, died, Bohuslav Balbin, patriot and historian of the Czech Baroque period. — Map (db m40985) HM
Czech Republic, Hlavní město Praha (Staré Město), Prague — Franz Kafka
{Marker text in Czech:} Zde se 3.7.1884 narodil Franz Kafka (Marker text translated into English:) Here Franz Kafka was born on July 3, 1884. — Map (db m41319) HM
Czech Republic, Hlavní město Praha (Staré Město), Prague — Josef Mysliveček
{Marker text in Czech:} V těchto místech prožil sve mladí český skladatel Josef Mysliveček 1737 • 1781 {Marker text translated into English, more or less:} At this location the Czech composer Josef Myslivecek spent his youth. — Map (db m41066) HM
El Salvador, San Salvador — Agustín Barrios“Mangoré”
(Paraguay, 1885 – San Salvador, 1944) Tras abandonar su tierra natal en 1910, se dedicó a compartir su genio de compositor y su prodigioso talento de guitarrista por toda Latinoamérica, periplo intenso que llegó a su fin el la capital del mas pequeño país del continente, El Salvador, donde tuvo un selecto grupo de discípulos. Su extensa obra musical es la unión perfecta de inspiración grandiosa y total dominio de la técnica. Escribió alrededor de 300 piezas, muchas de corte . . . — Map (db m81136) HM
El Salvador, San Salvador — Allegory to the Constitution of 1950Alegoría a la Constitución de 1950
Este grupo escultórico erigido en 1956, forma parte del Monumento a La Revolución y constituye una alegoría a la Constitución de 1950. Se levanta sobre un pedestal de 1.41 metros de alto y la piedra con la cual se elaboró proviene de la cantera volcánica “El Roble” de Ahuachapán. Está compuesto por nueve figuras: al frente se encuentra un obrero, una mujer y su hijo, representando al trabajador y la familia, base de la sociedad; a los costados se encuentran un soldado, representando . . . — Map (db m80866) HM
El Salvador, San Salvador — Claudia Lars(1899-1974)
Claudia Lars Poeta de cualidades excepcionales y una de las voces liricas más insignes de la literatura latinoamericana. Su obra, extensa y variadísima, la ubica entra grandes figuras femeninas de las letras continentales, honor que comparte, entre otras, con la chilena Gabriela Mistral, la uruguaya Juana de Ibarboubou, la argentina Alfonsina Storni, la mexicana Rosario Castellanos y la costarricense Eunice Odio. El Salvador le rinde este homenaje de permanente admiración a su genio . . . — Map (db m81015) HM
El Salvador, San Salvador — Felipe Soto
Homenaje del pueblo salvadoreño al inspirado valsista nacional Felipe Soto patrocinado por la Sociedad de Obreros de El Salvador Federada El Comite 30 enero 1943 English translation: Salute from the Salvadoran People to the inspired composer of waltzes Felipe Soto — Map (db m81449) HM
El Salvador, San Salvador — Francisco Andrés Escobar BuildingEdificio Francisco Andrés Escobar
Edificio Francisco Andrés Escobar 1942 2010 Escritor y maestro de gran trayectoria literaria y calidad humana. Recordado por esa pasión que caracteriza a los poetas, por ese sencillo silencio de los hombres que trascienden. Desde el recuerdo, sigue siendo ejemplo para la nuevas generaciones. Universidad Centroamericana “José Simeón Cañas” San Salvador, 9 de mayo de 2011 English translation: Francisco Andrés Escobar Building 1942 2010 A writer . . . — Map (db m84127) HM
El Salvador, San Salvador — Inca Garcilaso de la Vega1539-1616
En honor al Inca Garcilaso, Que acrisolo la culturas Indigena y española, Forjandose asi La nacion peruana. English translation: In honor of Inca Garcilaso, who personified the indigenous and Spanish cultures, forging the Peruvian nation. — Map (db m83852) HM
El Salvador, San Salvador — Juan Ramon MolinaPrince of the Honduran Poets
“Principe de los Poetas Hondureños” Nació en Comayaguela, Honduras, 17 de abril 1875 Falleció Ciudad Delgaldo, El Salvador, 1 de noviembre, 1908 Homenaje de ciudadanos hondureños residentes en El Salvador del Comité Gestor de este monumento Alcadia Municipal de San Salvador y Concultura San Salvador, Julio 25 de 2007 English translation: “Prince of the Honduran Poets” Born in Comayaguela, Honduras, April 17, 1875 Died in Ciudad . . . — Map (db m80458) HM
El Salvador, San Salvador — Mural of the Martyrs of the UCAMural Mártires de la UCA
Obra en relieve de concreto y cerámica, desarrollada a partir de la técnica de moldeado en barro ideada por Ricardo Carbonell Autoría del arquitecto y artista visual Josué Villalta Coordinado por los arquitectos Ayansi Avendaño y Alex Renderos, con la asesoría técnica del Arq. Arturo Cisneros y el apoyo del Departamento de Organización del Espacio Realizado gracias al trabajo, colaboración y entusiasmo de la Unidad de Mantenimiento y de un grupo de estudiantes de las facultades de . . . — Map (db m84285) HM
El Salvador, San Salvador — Pancho Lara
( de Diciembre de 1900 – 5 de Mayo de 1999) Músico, compositor y poeta, autor de las canciones salvadoreñas mas populares y entrañables de todos los tiempos: “El Carbonero”, “El Pregón de los Nísperos”, “Jayaque”, “Chiltiupan”, entre otras. “Solo prosperan los pueblos que recogen sus semillas, nunca los que esperan las ajenas”. Pancho Lara Busto donado por el destacado escultor y arquitecto Camilo Bonilla A . . . — Map (db m81144) HM
El Salvador, San Salvador — Plaza Brasilia
Este monumento, de autoria del arquitecto de Brasilia Oscar Niemeyer Construido por el arquitecto salvadoreño Hugo Barrientos Como simbolo de la amistad entre los pueblos brasileño y salvadoreño, fue inaugurado, juntamente con la Plaza Brasilia, por los excelentisimos señores: Marco Marciel, Vicepresidente de la Republica Federativa del Brasil Hector Silva, Alcalde de San Salvador Siendo el Embajador de Brasil, Luiz Henrique Fonseca 29 de enero de 1998 English . . . — Map (db m83133) HM
El Salvador, San Salvador — SalarruéSalvador Salazar Arrué
(1899-1975) Uno de lo mas grandes intelectuales y artistas salvadoreñas del siglo XX. Fue poeta, narrador, ensayista, pintor, critico de arte, periodista y diplomatico. Personificacion del talento creador nacional: expansivo y autodidacta, sensible e iconoclasta, candoroso y rebelde. Buena parte de su obra – la narrativa particularmente – constituye un verdadero compendio, del “alma nacido”, misma que Salarrué se atrevió a describir, promover y reinterpretar como . . . — Map (db m81143) HM
El Salvador, San Salvador — Three Decades of Alberto Masferrer University
[Universidad Alberto Masferrer símbol y lema: Tres decadas formando ganadores] La junta central de directores de la Universidad Salvadoreña Alberto Masferrer USAM En conmemoración del trigésimo aniversario de su fundación, y con la colaboración del honorable Concejo Municipal de San Salvador presidido por el Sr. Alcalde Dr. Norman Quijano, erige este monumento como testimonio permanente de gratitud y reconocimiento a uno de los mejores hijos de nuestro querido El Salvador: . . . — Map (db m71225) HM
El Salvador, San Salvador — Valero Lecha
Valero Lecha Nace el 4 de marzo de 1894, en la Villa de Alcorisa, provincia de Teruel, España. A los 17 años se embarca para Buenos Aires en donde trabaja como pintor de escenarios teatrales. En 1931 retorna a España y realiza estudios con el gran pintor Cecilio Pla y Gallardo. En 1935 fija su residencia en El Salvador y crea su Academia de dibujo y pintura, Formando durante 30 años (1937-1969) a un sinnúmero de pintores que, bajo su fecunda Guía e inspiración, alcanzar un nivel . . . — Map (db m81012) HM
El Salvador, Santa Ana — David Granadino
Homenaje postumo a Don David Granadino Compositor del vals Bajo el Almendro 1923 Nacio 13 junio 1876 Fallecio 22 agosto 1933 Club Rotario de Santa Ana 1986 English translation: Posthumous tribute to David Granadino Composer of the waltz Bajo el almendro (Under the Almond Tree) 1923 Birth 13 June 1876 Death 22 August 1933 Santa Ana Rotary Club 1986 — Map (db m80228) HM
France, Aquitaine (Dordogne Départment), Domme — Jacquou le Croquant
Jacquou le Croquant n’est pas seulement le personnage principal du roman èponyme d’Eugene Le Roy (1836-1907), Ecrivain régional péridourdin ayant vècu quelques annees à la Perception de Domme. Jacquou c’est le Petit Chose des années sombres de la Restauration en Périgord, David en lutte contre tous les Goliath de l’oppression et de la reaction, bataillant contre les puissants du jour, mérite contre naissance. Des Croquats, il y en a toujours eu en Périgord, terre radicale s’il en est. En ce . . . — Map (db m62288) HM
France, Basse-Normandie (Calvados Département), Honfleur — Albert Sorel1842 - 1906
Marker front: A Albert Sorel Ses eleves et ses amis 1842 - 1906 Marker reverse: Professeur a l'Ecole Libre des Sciences Politiques : 1872 - 1906 : Membre de l'Academie des Sciences Morales et Politiques : 1880 : De l'Academie Française : 1894 : Histoire Diplomatique de la Guerre Franco-Allemande : 1875 : L'Europe et la Revolution Française : 1874 - 1904 : English translation: Professor of the Free School of Political Science, 1872-1906; . . . — Map (db m86088) HM
France, Basse-Normandie (Calvados Département), Honfleur — La Cité des Peintres / La Côte de Grâce
La Cité des Peintres Aujourd'hui Honfleur reçoit plus de 3,5 millions de visiteurs chaque année. C'est la 13ème ville française la plus visitée. Ell a toujours attiré les artistes, et tout particulièrement les peintres, sensibles à la lumière de l'estuaire qui dès la fin du XVIIIème siècle se promènent à Honfleur. Mais c'est au début du XIXème qu'ils s'y rendent plus nombreux. C'est en Normandie et surtout le long de la Seine que va naître . . . — Map (db m86583) HM
France, Basse-Normandie (Calvados Département), Honfleur — Le quartier Saint-LéonardUn peu d'histoire
Ce quartier s'est formé autour de l'église de laquelle il tient son nom. Il est particulièrement vaste. Son territoire faisait jadis partie de la vicomté de Pont-Audemer. Il était limité à l'ouest par la Claire et s'étendait dans la campagne qui l'environnait au sud. L'église et la paroisse de Saint Lénard existaient au XIIème siècle. Le quartier a donc été habité très anciennement. Tout au long de la seconde partie du XIXe siècle, il a connu un grand développement en raison de . . . — Map (db m86425) HM
France, Basse-Normandie (Calvados Département), Honfleur — Les Greniers à Sel / Le Jardin des Personnalités
Les Greniers à Sel Les Greniers à Sel situés Rue de la Ville sont de vastes bâtiments de pierre constuits à la fin du XVIIème siècle. La plupart de ses pierres proviennent des anciens remparts de la ville. Ils servaient d'entrepôt de stockage pour les 10 000 tonnes de sel utilisaient notamment pour la pêche à la morue sur les bancs de Terre Neuve. Ils sont classés Monuments Historiques et accueillent toute l'année des évènements culturels: expositions, concerts, festivals… . . . — Map (db m86619) HM
France, Champagne-Ardenne (Marne Département), Reims — 4 — Chevet de la Cathédral Notre-Dame — World Heritage Site
L'urbanisme d'après-guerre a dégagé la cathédrale, le palais archiépiscopal (1690) et la chapelle palatine gothique, oratoire du prélat et de sa curie. Edifié dans le premier tiers du XIIIe siècle, le chevet témoigne, avec ses doubles volées d'arcs-boutants, de la maîtrise des architectes pour équilibrer le chœur, voûté à 38 mètres et percé de hautes fenêtres. Les statues d'anges abondent et déploient leurs ailes jusqu'en haut du clocher (82.5 mètres); les bâtisseurs traduisent ainsi l'image de . . . — Map (db m85682) HM
France, Champagne-Ardenne (Marne Département), Reims — 19 — Musée des Beaux-Arts
Le musée des beaux-arts, installé dans les combles de l'Hôtel de Ville, fut transféré en 1913 dans l'abbaye Saint-Denis, édifice du XVIIIe siècle remanié au XIXe siècle Peu touché par la Première Guerre mondiale, le musée a pu rester dans ses dispositions d'origine. Ses collections provenant, entre autres, d'importants dons de familles rémoises, le placent parmi les plus grands musées de France. Il conserve et expose des peintures, sculptures, dessins et objets d'art du XVIe au XXe siècle: . . . — Map (db m85700) HM
France, Île-de-France (Paris), Paris — Accès Guimard1900 — 100 ans de métro (1900-2000)
Architecte phare de l'Art nouveau, Hector Guimard a été choisi en 1899 pour dessiner les accès des stations. Mais en 1900, lors de l'ouverture du métro, ses décoratives choquent les Parisiens. La graphie « Métropolitain » manque, dit-on, de lisibilité, et les mâts tulipes qui servent à signaler les accès de nuit sont des yeux de monstres. Dès 1902, on commande donc les accès de stations à des architectes moins contestés. En 1913, on cesse d'installer des bouches de métro Guimard et, . . . — Map (db m85328) HM
France, Île-de-France (Paris), Paris — Dante rédige la Divine Comédie(Dante wrote the Divine Comedy)
Depuis 1293, Florence est en proie à la lutte incessante des partis guelfe et gibelin. Dante Alighiere, issu en 1265 d’une famille noble sans fortune, est proscrit en 1302, voué au bûcher s’il vient à être pris sur le territoire de la commune. Tous ses biens ont été confisqués, sa demeure brûlée: le poète mène alors jusqu’a sa mort, en 1321, un vie errante, et s’attache à la rédaction de son grand oeuvre. De passage à Paris, it célèbre dans ses écrits le “vico degli strami: (rue du . . . — Map (db m61459) HM
France, Île-de-France (Paris), Paris — La maison de Rose de RosimondHistoire de Paris
Né en 1645, Claude de La Rose, dit en Rosimond, écrivain à ses heures, est choisi pour succéder à Molière dans troupe des comédiens de roi, et comme lui, il meurt en scène, à l’issue d’une représentation du “Malade imaginaire”. Depuis 1680, il possèdait ici une maison de villégiature, entourée de cinq quartiers de terre labourable. Au XIXe siècle, elle est aménagée en ateliers pour artistes: Auguste Renoir en quête d’espace y loue deux pièces et l’ancienne écurie; lui succèdent Léon . . . — Map (db m60878) HM
France, Île-de-France (Paris), Paris — Le Bateau-LavoirHistoire de Paris
“Nous retournerons tous au Bateau-Lavoir, nous n’aurons vraiment été heureux que là...” Jusqu’à sa mort, Picasso (1881-1973) garde la nostalgie du Montmartre rural de sa jeunesse, avec ses fermes, se vergers et ses cabarets pittoresques. Arrivé sur la Butte à 19 ans, il prend ici en 1904 un atelier où il exécute les dernières oeuvres de la période bleue, celles de la période rose, inspirées par ses amours avec Fernande Olivier, et les “Demoiselles d’Avignon” (1907), . . . — Map (db m60807) HM
France, Île-de-France (Paris), Paris — Le Golf Drouot
Ici se trouvait Le Golf Drouot "Temple du Rock" Fondé par Henri Leproux où de 1955 a 1981 se firent connaître de nombreux talents de la scène Francaise English translation: Here was the Golf Drouot, the "Temple of Rock," founded by Henri Leproux. Where, from 1955 to 1981, many famous talents performed for the French scene. — Map (db m85309) HM
France, Île-de-France (Paris), Paris — Le Lapin AgileHistoire de Paris
Vers 1860, le “Cabaret de Assassins” offre aux parisiens en mal de pittoresque sa terrasse accueillante, ombragée d’un grand acacia, et son petit vin clairet: transformé en auberge en 1886 par une ancienne danseuse fin cordon bleu, il reçoit parmi ses habitués Alphonse Allais, Caran d’Ache ou André Gill. Ce dernier décore la façade d’un lapin facétieux bondissant d’une casserole, et l’habitude se prend de designer l’établissement sous le nom de “Lapin à Gill”, vite . . . — Map (db m60880) HM
France, Île-de-France (Paris), Paris — Le pavillon de la Bibliothèque et l'aile nord du LouvreHistoire du domaine, Palaise du Louvre
Lorsque Napoleon III décida d'agrandir le Louvre au nord, le chantier commença par la construction de cette aile et de ce pavillon, de 1852 à 1855, sous la direction de deux architectes : Louis Visconti, jusqu'à la fin de 1853, puis Hector Lefuel. Les colonnes baguées rappellent celles qui ornaient la façade du château des Tuileries. La décoration sculptée est due à plusieurs sculpteurs, dont Bosio le jeune pour les caryatides de l'étage, inspirées de celles de la Cour Carrée, et Préault pour . . . — Map (db m85074) HM
France, Île-de-France (Paris), Paris — Place du TrocaderoHistoire de Paris
Il y a 200 ans, la colline de Chaillot n'était qu'un désert escarpé, hérissé de rochers, et percé de carrières. Napoléon, frappé par la beauté du site, décide d'y bâtir un palais pour son fils, "un kremlin cent fois plus beau que celui de Moscou". Les plans sont commandés dès 1810 à Percier et Fontaine, qui dessinent un projet grandiose, embrassant le coteau sur 400 m. On nivelle, on exproprie, on jette en 1813 le pont d'léna sur la Seine. La chute de l'Empire entraîne l'arrêt de travaux. Un . . . — Map (db m85286) HM
France, Île-de-France (Paris), Paris — Saint-Benoît le BétournéHistoire de Paris
En 1431, maître Guillaume de Villon, répétiteur de droit canonique, devient chapelain de cette église aujourd’hui disparue, dont le choeur, orienté à l’ouest, justifie le surnom de «mal tournee» . Cette année-là naît François de Montcorbier: orphelin pauvre, entré à six ou sept ans un service du bon chapelain, le futur poète en garde le souvenir attendri d’un père adoptif, dont il rendra le nom célèbre. D’abord enfant de choeur, reçu bachelier à 18ans, et licencié es-arts en 1452, il passe ici . . . — Map (db m61462) HM
France, Île-de-France (Paris), Paris — Square Aristade Caviaillé-Coll1862 — Mairie de Paris
Ce square se trouve sur l'un des points les plus élevés de l'arrondissement (52 m) : une butte baptisée autrefois la « Vieille-Montagne ». L'église Saint-Vincent-de-Paul, édifiée sous la Restauration, est une réalisation des architectes Hittorff et Lepère et s'inspire des basiliques romano-byzantines. Anciennement square Saint-Vincent-de-Paul, le square porte désormais le nom de l'organiste Aristide Cavaillé-Coll. English translation: This square is located on one of the highest . . . — Map (db m86082) HM
France, Île-de-France (Paris), Paris — Square Louise-Michel1927 — Mairie de Paris
Imaginé par Charles Alphand et orchestré par Jean-Camille Formigé, l'aménagement du square date de 1880. L'ouverture fut retardée par des glissements de terrains dus à la présence de carrières de gypse. Il porte le nom de Louise Michel, dite la Vierge Rouge, figure de la Commune de Paris. Il est orné de deux fontaines, l'une du sculpteur Derré: la fontaine des Innocents (1907), l'autre de Paul Gasq, dédiée aux dieux marins (1932). On y trouve pommiers et poiriers à fleurs, érables, . . . — Map (db m85330) HM
France, Île-de-France (Paris), Paris — The Bells of Notre DameLes Cloches de Notre-Dame de Paris
D'avant le période révolutionnaire, il ne subsiste qu'une seule cloche, le bourdon Emmanuel fondu en 1686 par Florentin Le Gay, toujours en dans la tour sud et que le public peut encore admirer. Lors de la grande restauration de la cathédrale au milieu du XIXe siècle, quatre cloches nouvelles furent bénites en 1856: Angélique-Françoise, Antoinette-Charlotte, Hyacinthe-Jeanne et Denise-David. Elles furent réalisées par la fonderie Guillaume et Besson à Angers. Mais elles ne s'accordaient ne . . . — Map (db m85325) HM
France, Île-de-France (Val-d'Oise Départment), Auvers-sur-Oise — Van Gogh at the Ravoux Inn
Le peintre Vincent van Gogh vécut dans cette maison et y mourut le 29 juillet 1890 Translation: The painter Vincent van Gogh lived in this house and died in it the 29th of July, 1890 — Map (db m60409) HM
France, Languedoc-Roussillon (Hérault Départment), Beziers — Pepezuc
Statue Romaine que l’on pense représenter l’empereur Tetricus fils (fin du IIIe siècle). réparateur de la voie domitienne dans la légende Biteroise, cette statue symbolise le héros mythique sauveur de la cité. Antérieurement au XIIIe siècle, elle etait erigée a proximité de cet emplacement.

[Translation by Google Translate (with modifications): Pépézuc Roman statue, which is believed to represent the Emperor Tetricus’ son (late third century), repairer of the Via Domitia in . . . — Map (db m60253) HM

France, Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur (Vaucluse Département), Bonnieux — 12 — Escaliers Emile Gardon
Emile Gardon (1898 – 1980) a toujours vécu dans la maison familiale qui fait l’angle de cette montée d’escaliers, parfois taillés dans le rocher, et qui vous ramènent a la Vieille Eglise. Il a maintes et maintes fois parcouru ces chemins à pied Vieille Eglaise, Belvédère, rue Droite, les Croix et ...le Luberon à la recherche de son inspiration, de la paix, du silence, de la limpidité qui transparaissent dans son oeuvre. Il est classé parmi les peintres naifs. Il a souvent été considéré . . . — Map (db m61756) HM
Germany, Bavaria, Munich — Franz Marc
Hier wurde am 8.Februar 1880 der Maler Franz Marc geb. Gest. am 4.1.1916 bei Verdun. Er war mitbegründer der Künstlervereinigung „Der Blaue Reiter“. Translated, the marker reads: The painter Franz Marc was born here on February 8, 1880. Died at Verdun on March 4, 1916. He was the co-founder of the 'Blue Rider' art circle. — Map (db m22360) HM
Germany, Bavaria, Munich — Franz Marc
Der grösste Bayerische maler des 20. jahrhunderts. Der begründer des "Blauen reiters" hat in diesem hause von 1892-1895 gelebt ———————— The greatest Bavarian painter of the 20th century. The founder of the "Blue Rider" lived in this house from 1892-1985 — Map (db m77475) HM
Germany, Bavaria, Munich — Gottfried Keller
Hier wohnte 1840 der schweizer Dichter Gottfried Keller Translated, the marker reads: In 1840 the Swiss poet Gottfried Keller lived here. — Map (db m22081) HM
Germany, Bavaria, Nuremberg — Johann Neudörfer
[Marker text in German:] Hier stand bis zum Jahre 1945 das Wohnhaus des Schreib- und Rechnenmeisters Johann Neudörfer Geb. 1497, Gest. 1563 [Marker text translated into English:] Here until 1945 stood the residence of the writing- and computational-master, Johann Neudoerfer. Born 1497, died 1563. — Map (db m58442) HM
Germany, Bavaria, Nuremberg — Johann Phillip Palm
[Marker text in German:] Hier stand das Wohn- und Geschäftshaus des Buchhandlers Joh. Phillip Palm * 18.12.1766 † 26.07.1806 [Marker text translated into English:] Here stood the home and business of Johann Phillip Palm, bookseller. Born December 18, 1766 Died July 26, 1806 — Map (db m57910) HM
Germany, Bavaria, Nuremberg — Leopold Einstein
[Marker text in German:] Hier wohnte Leopold Einstein Geb. 1833 — Gest. 1890 Nürnberger Pionier der Internationalen Sprache Esperanto [Marker text translated into English:] Here lived Leopold Einstein, born 1833 and died 1890, Nuremberg pioneer of the international language of Esperanto. — Map (db m58002) HM
Germany, Bavaria (Kreis Schweinfurt), Gerolzhofen — Baroque Crucifixion SculptureBarocke Kreuzigungsgruppe
Errichtet 1740 vom Bierbrauer-Ehepaar Johann Georg und Maria Barbara Stephan zur Erinnerung an drei ihrer 13 Kinder, die bereits im Kindesalter starben. Bei der Kirchenerweiterung um 1900 entfernt, 1985 wieder errichtet und 2008 renoviert durch Altbürgermeister Franz Stephan und Ehefrau Hildegard zum Gedenken an ihre Vorfahren. Geschichte für alle - historischer Verein in Gerolzhofen, e.V. Dr. Ottmar Wolf – Kulturstiftung Marker text translated into English: Erected . . . — Map (db m77628) HM
Germany, Bavaria (Kreis Schweinfurt), Gerolzhofen — Chapel of St. JohnJohanniskapelle
Im Jahr 1497 als Friedhofskapelle erbaut, vermutlich auf den Fundamenten älteren Taufkirche. Das untere Gewölbe diente bis 1816 als Aufbewahrungsort für die exhumierten Gebeine. In oberen Gottesdienstraum stand der Riemenschneider-Altar. Heute Museum. Geschichte für alle - historischer Verein in Gerolzhofen, e.V. Dr. Ottmar Wolf – Kulturstiftung Marker text translated into English: Built in 1497 as a cemetery chapel, probably on the foundations of an older baptistry. The . . . — Map (db m78019) HM
Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Mansfeld-Südharz District), Allstedt — Castle & Chateau AllstedtBurg & Schloss Allstedt
The impressive facility was built primarily in the period from the 15th-18th centuries. It was built instead of the former imperial palace Allstedt that nearly all early German rulers used as a temporary residence and governmental center from 935-1200. The significant main castle was extensively renovated in 1975 and expanded as a museum. In addition to exhibitions on the work of Thomas Müntzer and Johann Wolfgang von Goethe in Allstedt, there is cast Harz iron art and historically designed . . . — Map (db m73041) HM
Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Mansfeld-Südharz District), Lutherstadt Eisleben — Martin Luther
[East Panel - An angel crushes Satan with the Shield of Truth - note the Luther Rose] [South Panel - Luther translates the Bible] [West Panel - Luther and his family sign hymns] [North Panel - The Leipzig Disputation between Luther and Johann Eck] [Dedicated 11 November 1883] — Map (db m70215) HM
Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Mansfeld-Südharz District), Lutherstadt Eisleben — Residence of Richard WagnerAufenthalt von Richard Wagner
In this home, Richard Wagner stayed with his step-uncle, Master Goldsmith Carl Geyer, from 19 September 1822 for some time. —————————— In diesem Hause hielt sich Richard Wagner ab 19. September 1822 bei seinem Stiefonkel Goldschmiedemeister Carl Geyer eine Zeitlang auf. — Map (db m70213) HM
Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Mansfeld-Südharz District), Lutherstadt Eisleben — Residence of Richard WagnerAufenthalt von Richard Wagner
In this house there was the goldsmith's workshop by Carl Geyer, the step-uncle of Richard Wagner, in which the great German composer stayed from early October 1821 until September 1822. —————————— In diesem Haus befand sich die Goldschmiedewerkstatt von Carl Geyer, dem Stiefonkel Richard Wagners, bei dem sich der groß deutsche Komponist von Anfang Oktober 1821 bis September 1822 aufhielt. — Map (db m70240) HM
Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Wittenberg District), Lutherstadt Wittenberg — Christian Döring(unbek. - 1533)
Goldschmied, Verleger, Stadtkämmerer verlegte 1522 das Neue Testament —————————— Goldsmith, Publisher, City Treasurer in 1522 published the New Testament — Map (db m69783) HM
Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Wittenberg District), Lutherstadt Wittenberg — Johann Schneidewin(1519 - 1568)
Jurist, kurfürstl. Rat Universitätsprofessor —————————— Lawyer, Electoral Council University Professor — Map (db m69782) HM
Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Wittenberg District), Lutherstadt Wittenberg — Karl Ludwig Nitzsch(1751 - 1831)
Theologe, Schriftsteller Gründungsdirektor des Predigerseminars —————————— Theologian, Writer Founding director of the Seminary — Map (db m70007) HM
Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Wittenberg District), Lutherstadt Wittenberg — Lucas Cranach d. Ältere(1472 - 1553)
Maler und Unternehmer 1537 - 1544 Bürgermeister —————————— Artist and Entrepreneur 1537 - 1544 Mayor — Map (db m69739) HM
Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Wittenberg District), Lutherstadt Wittenberg — Lucas Cranach d. Jüngere(1515 - 1586)
Maler und Porträtist 1565 Bürgermeister —————————— Painter and Portraitist 1565 Mayor — Map (db m69779) HM
Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Wittenberg District), Lutherstadt Wittenberg — Lucas Cranach der Ältere (1472-1553)
Zur Erinnerung an die Ankunft des Malers 1505 in Wittenberg Frijo Müller-Belecke, Hemmoor Bildhauerlehrling 1948 im Cranach-Hof Wittenberg Bronze, 2005 —————————— To commemorate the arrival of the painter in 1505 in Wittenberg Frijo Müller-Belecke, Hemmoor Sculptor Apprentice 1948 Cranach-Hof Wittenberg Bronze, 2005 — Map (db m69737) HM
Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Wittenberg District), Lutherstadt Wittenberg — Martin Luther House
Hier lebte und wirkte Dr. Martin Luther von 1508 bis 1546. —————————— Here lived and worked Dr. Martin Luther from 1508 to 1546. — Map (db m70061) HM
Germany, Thuringia, Erfurt — Childhood Home of Friedrich Wilhelm Ritschl
Hier steht das Elternhaus des großen Philologen Friedrich Wilhelm Ritschl (1806 - 1876) ———————— Here is the childhood home of the great philologist Friedrich Wilhelm Ritschl (1806 - 1876) — Map (db m76968) HM
Germany, Thuringia, Erfurt — Christoph Martin Wieland
Hier wohnte Christoph Martin Wieland Professor an der Philosophischen fakultät der Universität Erfurt - von 1769 - 1772 ———————— Here lived Christoph Martin Wieland Professor on the Philosophy faculty of the University of Erfurt, 1769 - 1772 — Map (db m77018) HM
Germany, Thuringia, Erfurt — Johann Christian Kittel(1732 - 1809)
Hier stand das Geburtshaus von Johann Christian Kittel (1732 - 1809) Komponist und Schüler J. S. Bachs ———————— Here was the birthplace of Johann Christian Kittel (1732 - 1809) Composer and student of J. S. Bach — Map (db m77389) HM
Greece, Kalymnos (peripheral unit) (Pátmos municipality), Chorá — Historic Centre (Chorá)Monastery of Saint John the Theologian — World Heritage Site
[Marker text printed in Greek and English script:] 1999 The Historic Centre (Chorá) with the Monastery of Saint John the Theologian and the Cave of the Apocalypse World Heritage Site The Historic Centre (Chorá) with the Monastery of Saint John the Theologian and the Cave of the Apocalypse are inscribed in the List of World Heritage Sites of the Convention for the Protection of World Heritage of the UNESCO. Inclusion in the list recognizes the exceptional value of a cultural . . . — Map (db m43647) HM
Greece, Kalymnos peripheral unit (Patmos municipality), Chorá — Historic Centre (Chorá)Cave of the Apocalypse — World Heritage Site
1999 The Historic Centre (Chorá) with the Monastery of Saint John the Theologian and the Cave of the Apocalypse World Heritage Site The Historic Centre (Chorá) with the Monastery of Saint John the Theologian and the Cave of the Apocalypse are inscribed in the List of World Heritage Sites of the Convention for the Protection of World Heritage of the UNESCO. Inclusion in the list recognizes the exceptional value of a cultural site so that it may be protected for the benefit of all Humanity. — Map (db m43646) HM
Guatemala, Sacatepéquez, Antigua Guatemala — First Printing Press in Central AmericaPrimera Imprenta en Centro América
Esta es la casa donde se establecio la primera imprenta que hubo en Centro America año de 1660. El Reyno de Coathemala fue la tercer colonia Hispano Americana que tuvo imprenta. English translation: This is the house where the first printing press was established in Central America in 1660. The Kingdom of Coathemala was the third Spanish colony in the Americas to have a printing press. — Map (db m70414) HM
Guatemala, Sacatepéquez, Antigua Guatemala — Sculptor Quirio Cataño
En esta ilustre ciudad vivio el maestro de la colonia 1595 "Quirio Cataño" 1995 Escultor del milagroso Cristo Negro de Esquipulas. Para eterna memoria rinden tributo: El Comite del IV Centenario con sede en Esquipulas y la revista: Nuestra Cuaresma La Antigua Guatemala 12 de Marzo de 1995 English translation: In this illustrious city lived the master of the colony 1595 "Quirio Cataño" 1995 Sculptor of the miraculous Black Christ of Esquipulas. To his eternal memory . . . — Map (db m71290) HM
Hungary, Belváros, Budapest — Marastoni Jakab1804-1860
. . . — Map (db m82363) HM
Ireland, Connacht (County Galway), Kinvara — Francis A. Fahy1854 - 1935
Poet, Writer, Life-Long Worker in the Irish Cause was born in this house Sept. 29. 1854. ——•—— “For peace of mind I'll never find until my own I call that little Irish cailín in her ould plaid shawl” — Map (db m28091) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — Chris Reid Oral History Artwork Project
Chris Reid completed a public artwork consisting of 20 bronze plaques and a printed book. The texts are based on recordings the artist made from 2004 to 2008 with residents and people associated with Nicholas Street, Ross Road, Bride Street and Bride Road. Chris Reid was commissioned through Dublin City Council's Public Art programme, arising from the refurbishment of these buildings and funded by the Department of the Environment, Heritage and Local Government. . . . — Map (db m22480) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — Dublin Millenium Literary Parade988 - 1988 — Dublin Corporate Parks Dept.
One of Dublin's major contributions to European civilisation has been in the area of literature. It is remarkable that so many writers of world renown were born here including three winners of the Nobel Prize for Literature. This Literary Parade honours some of our distinguished sons of literature. St. Patrick's Park has been restored thanks to the generosity of Jameson Irish Whiskey, and the Publicans of Dublin. — Map (db m22472) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — First Performance of Handel's Messiah
This bronze commemorates the first performance of George Frideric Handel's Oratorio Messiah, given in the Old Musick Hall in Fishamble Street at noon on Tuesday April 13th 1742 — Map (db m22450) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — Haslam Memorial Seat
In 1925 a finely sculptured garden seat of Kilkenny limestone was placed in the park and inscribed on the back - “Anna Marie, 1829 - 1922 and Thomas Haslam, 1825 - 1917. This seat is erected in commemoration [sic - ‘honour’] of their long years of public service, chiefly devoted to the enfranchisement of women." [From Monuments of St. Stephen's Green marker found in the park] — Map (db m22485) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — James Clarence Mangan(1803 - 1849)
He has been described as the greatest poet of the nineteenth century. He died of cholera in 1849. The bronze bust by Oliver Sheppard was unveiled in 1909 on behalf of the National Literary Society. In a niche in the pedestal is a marble head representing Róisín Dubh, the last work of Willie Pearse. [From the Monuments of St. Stephen's Green marker found in the park.] — Map (db m22488) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — James Joyce(1882 - 1941)
Acknowledged as a world figure in literature. He dismantled the English language and put it together again so that it became music. The sculpture in bronze was unveiled on June 16, (Bloomsday) 1982. — Map (db m27047) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — Oscar Wilde House
Oscar Wilde 1854 - 1900 Poet, Dramatist, Wit Lived Here 1855 to 1878 — Map (db m24754) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — Saint Patrick’s ParkPáirc Naomh Pádraig
Tradition has it that Saint Patrick baptised the first Irish Christians in a well, situated here in St. Patrick's Park, with water from the River Poddle, which still flows underground. A small wooden church was erected here to commemorate the event. The parish church on this site was known as Saint Patrick's in Insula (on the island) because it was located on an island between two branches of the River Poddle. In 1191 John Comyn, the first Anglo-Norman Archbishop of Dublin, gave the church the . . . — Map (db m22468) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — Sir William Robert Wills Wilde1815 - 1876
aural and ophthalmic surgeon, archaeologist, ethnologist, antiquarian, biographer, statistician, naturalist, topographer, historian, folklorist, lived in this house from 1855 to 1876 — Map (db m24755) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — The "Three Fates"
This fountain, erected in 1956, is situated near the Leeson Street entrance to the park. It consists of a group of three bronze figures – Nornenbrunnen, representing the Three Fates, who weave and measure the thread of man's destiny. The monument was the gift of the German Federal Republic to mark its appreciation of the help and generosity of the Irish people during the time of distress and hardship after the Second World War. The work was designed by the Bavarian Sculptor, Professor . . . — Map (db m25306) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — William Butler Yeats(1865 - 1939)
“He may be regarded as the pivot around which Irish literature turned from instinctive to conscious art.” (George W. Russell). The memorial, erected in [October] 1967, is a tribute in bronze by Henry Moore, the sculptor. — Map (db m27039) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Fingal), Howth — Balscadden House
W. B. Yeats Poet Lived Here • 1880-1883 “I have spread my dreams under your feet; Tread softly because you tread on my dreams” — Map (db m24771) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Fingal), Howth — The Ready Boat PillarSculpted by Seán O'Dwyer
Seeing the meaning When viewing a piece of sculpture one can see many different layers of meaning. The clues given here are only the first layer of meaning and are meant only as a gateway through which you can go on your way to see meanings of your own. All local stories, myths and legends are preserved to carry a message. Howth has a wonderful past and from it certain themes emerge.... exploration, conflict, healing and preservation. I have depicted figures in the Ready Boat Pillar . . . — Map (db m25301) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Meath), Crossakiel — Jim Connell
Author of “The Red Flag” which became the anthem of the International Labour Movement Born Rathniska, Kilskyre 1852 Died Lewisham, London 1929 Oh, grant me an ownerless corner of earth, Or pick me a hillock of stones, Or gather the wind wafted leaves of the trees To cover my socialist bones, Jim Connell This monument was unveiled on 26th April, 1998 by Peter Cassells, general secretary, ICTU, before an international gathering from the trade unions and . . . — Map (db m27347) HM
Ireland, Munster (County Kerry), Anascaul — Jerome ConnorDealbhoir Cumdubh Abhanascaul — 1876 - 1943
The Irish sculptor of international stature was born in Coumduff, Annascaul in 1876. His family emigrated to the USA in 1888 where he developed his artistic skills. He returned to Dublin in 1925, worked there until his death in 1943. Among Jerome Connor's outstanding works are the Robert Emmet in St. Stephen's Green, Dublin, the Smithsonian Ins, Washington USA, the Lusitania Monument, Cobh, and the Merriot Sq, Dublin. — Map (db m23075) HM
Ireland, Munster (County Kerry), Dunquin — The Blaskets
This group, the most westerly off the Irish coast, comprises 7 sizeable islands and isolated rocks spread in a line west by south over 2½ miles of the Atlantic, the largest (Great Blasket) 2 miles off shore. Antiquities of the early Christian period include oratories, crosses and “beehive” cells on Inis Mhicileáin and Inis Tuaisceart, and church ruins on the Great Blasket. The economy of the islands, based mainly on fishing with some farming, in 1839 supported 13 . . . — Map (db m24096) HM
Ireland, Munster (County Kerry), Listowel — "River Fort"
This sculpture was designed by local councillor and craftsman Tony O'Callaghan The “Standing Stone” illustrates the River Feale which flows around our town. The “Ring” depicts an earthen fort situated in the vicinity of the town from which the town got its name Lios Tuathail (Listowel). — Map (db m23989) HM
Ireland, Ulster (County Donegal), Carrick — Carrick / An Charraig
In 1907 a young woman from Carrick, who had emigrated to America was at the centre of a national controversy. Mary Cunningham worked as a domestic servant for the famous sculptor Augustus Saint-Gaudins in New Hampshire. It was claimed that Saint-Gaudins used Mary as the model for the new ten-dollar gold coin. At a time when there was still prejudice against the Irish, this caused a national uproar. The critics seemed to have ignored the fact that Saint-Gaudins was himself an Irishman. . . . — Map (db m72266) HM
Israel, Galilee, Tabgha — Church of HeptapegonThe Seven Springs
History 28–350 AD The Judeo-Christians of Capharnaum venerated a large rock upon which Jesus is said to have laid the bread and fish before he fed the five thousand (Mk 6:30-44) ca. 350 AD Used as an altar, the rock was the very center of the first church at this site, built be a Jewish nobleman from Tiberias. Oriental communities venerated him as Saint Josipos. The church was built in close alignment with the ancient Via Maris. ca. 480 AD A Byzantine . . . — Map (db m44034) HM
Italy, Lazio (Rome Province), Rome — Church of Our Lady of VictoryChiesa di Santa Maria della Vittoria — Architetti: C. Maderno, G. L. Bernini, G. B. Soria, G. B. Contini

Church of Our Lady of Victory The Church of Santa Maria della Vittoria stands in the former Via Pia (now Via XX Settembre); its name comes from an image of the Madonna found among the remains of the Castello di Pilsen, thought to have determined the victory of Ferdinand IInd of Habsburg over the Lutherans of Frederick of Saxony in 1620. It was built in the early XVIIth cent., after the Barefoot Carmelites had settled where the ancient hermitage had stood; it was commissioned by . . . — Map (db m84465) HM

Italy, Lazio (Rome Province), Rome — House of the Griffins / Casa Dei Grifi

House of the Griffins A steep staircase, part of which is ancient, leads from the back of the so-called Lararium to the underground floor of a house dating to the 2nd-1st century BC. Though partly destroyed by the foundations of the palace above, it gives some idea of the type of aristocratic residence which stood on the Palatine in the Republican period. The house had two storeys: on the ground floor a few remains of the atrium with its pool in peperino and coloured mosaics survive; . . . — Map (db m84245) HM

Italy, Lazio (Rome Province), Rome — Palatine Museum / Museo Palatino

Palatine Museum The Palatine Museum displays precious finds from excavations on the hill from the 19th century until the present. It was opened in around 1930, re-adapting the 19th-century Convent of the Sisters of the Visitation, in turn built on part of the imperial palace. On the underground storey of the museum the various phases of the palace foundations can be seen, whilst the upper floor hosts an exhibition of finds belonging to the sculptural decorations of the palaces, whose . . . — Map (db m84230) HM

Italy, South Tyrol, Bolzano — Neptune’s FountainFontana del Nettuno — Neptun-Brummen
The text of this marker is in three languages; Italian (top), German (middle) and English (bottom). Fusione in bronzo di Joachim Reiss, su modello dello scultore Georg Mayr. Collacata nel 1777 sul luogo dell’antica berlina, veniva popolarmente chiamata “Gabelwirt” (oste del forchettone). Bronzefigur von Joachim Reiss, gegossen nach einem Modell des Bildhaueers Georg Mayr d.J. Das im Volksmund als „Gabel wirt“ bezeichnete Werk wurde 1777 an der Stelle des . . . — Map (db m68726) HM
Liechtenstein, Schaan — 19 — Theater
Das heutige Theatergebäude diente schon ursprünglich dem Jünglingsverein und später auch der Jungfrauenkongregation in Schaan als Vereinshaus, um Theater zu spielen. Es entstand in den Jahren 1913 /1914 an prominenter Lage in der Nachbarschaft der Pfarrkirche St. Laurentius und des Pfarrhauses. Neben dem Theaterspielen war später auch das Turnen eine wichtige Vereinstätigkeit, die in diesem Haus ausgeübt wurde. Im Mehrzweckgebäude fanden öffentliche Veranstaltungen und Versammlungen . . . — Map (db m78885) HM
Philippines, Cebú Province, Cebu City — Antonio Pigafetta — 1496 - 1535
Patrician of Vicenza, Italy and Knight of Malta chronicler of the Magellan expedition that first circumnavigated the globe from 1519 to 1522. He fought in Mactan and was one of the 22 survivors who returned to Spain. This tribute was erected by the Philippine-Italian Association. — Map (db m64200) HM
Philippines, Laguna, Calamba — José Rizal Monument
Panel 1: (Text in Tagalog/Pilipino:)José Rizal (1861-1896) Pambansang Bayani ng Pilipinas, doctor, agrimensor, dalubwika, manunulat, makata, eskultor at pintor. Isinilang sa Calamba, Laguna, 19 Hunyo 1861. May-akda ng Noli Me Tangere (1887) at El Filibusterismo (1887), mga nobelang higit pang nagpaalab sa mga Filipino na maghimagsik laban sa Espanya. Dinakip at ipinatapon sa Dapitan, hilagang Mindanao, 6 Hulyo 1892. Nagboluntaryo bilang manggagamot ng puwersang Espanyol sa Cuba, . . . — Map (db m63619) HM
Switzerland, Bern (Interlaken-Oberhasli), Mürren — James Bond: Curling on the Terrace/Attack on Piz GloriaJames Bond: Curling auf der Terrasse/Angriff auf Piz Gloria
This marker is consists of two plaques located on the back of James Bond figures. Curling auf der Terrasse Das Schilthorn war 1968 Hauptdrehort für den Bond-film "Im Geheimdienst ihrer Majestät". Nach fünf Filmen mit Sean Connery schlüpfte der Australier George Lazenby für dieses eine Mal in die Rolle des britischen Geheimagenten. Die Panoramaterrasse war damals ein Helikopter-Landeplatz, der eigens für den Dreh errichtet wurde. Im Film ist der "Piz Gloria" das Versteck . . . — Map (db m67938) HM
Switzerland, Bern (Interlaken-Oberhasli (District)), Interlaken — From Spa Hall to Congress CentreVom Kursaal Zum Congress Centre
Seit über 150 Jahren bildet der Kursaal das kulturelle und gesellschaftliche Zentrum Interlakens. "Als Haus des Gastes" hat sich der Kursaal stets den aktuellen Bedürfnissen der Gäste angepasst und - mit Respekt auf die historischen Gebäude und die Parkanlagen - zum modernen Congress Centre entwickelt, ohne den besonderen Charme der Gründerzeit zu verlieren. Gesundheit und Vergnügen unter ein Dach zu bringen, dies hatte sich der "Gemeinnützige Verein Interlaken" 1857 zum Ziele gesetzt. . . . — Map (db m67953) HM
Switzerland, Geneva, Cologny — Byron’s Meadow
Le Pré Byron English text: Dear Visitors from all over the world, and Residents of Cologny, we are happy to welcome you to this very beautiful site from which both the city of Geneva and the international organizations can be admired. On this very spot the story of “Frankenstein” was born. During the summer of 1816, the weather was atrocious, cold and rainy spells alternating with violent thunder storms. At that time Byron, a 28 year old poet, was renting the . . . — Map (db m35111) HM
Switzerland, Lucerne (Lucerne (District)) — Balthasar HouseBalthasar-Haus
Das heutige Gebäude wurde gegen Ende des 16. Jahrhundert erbaut. Wohnhaus von Schultheiss Jacob Balthasar (1658 – 1733). Fassadenmalerei aus der Spätrenaissance, um 1656. Portal um 1730 von Stadtwerkmeister Hans Georg Urban. Im Innern bemerkenswertes Treppenhaus und Festsaal mit Stuckdecke aus der Zeit des späten Régence, um 1740. Unter Denkmalschutz seit 1983 Aussenrestaurierung 1987 und 1989 German-English translation: The present building was built towards . . . — Map (db m67697) HM
Switzerland, Lucerne (Lucerne (District)) — Johann Baptist Marzohl
Hier wirkte Landschaftsmaler und Backermeister Johann Baptist Marzohl Von Luzern 1792 – 1863 German-English translation: Here worked landscape painter and master baker Johann Baptist Marzohl from Lucerne 1792 - 1863 — Map (db m67731) HM
Switzerland, Lucerne (Lucerne (District)) — The Lion MonumentDer Löwendenkmal — Le Monument du Lion
The Lion Monument is dedicated to the memory of the Swiss mercenaries who, in the service of Louis XVI, King of France, were killed during the French Revolution in Paris when the Tuileries were invaded on August 10, 1792, or who were guillotined on September 2nd/3rd, 1792. The inscription “Helvetiorum fidei ac virtute” mean “To the loyalty and bravery of the Swiss”. It is important to know that, in addition to agriculture and town-crafts, the mercenaries’ service . . . — Map (db m67330) HM WM
Switzerland, Lucerne (Lucerne (District)) — The Spreuer Bridge PaintingsBildtafeln der Spreuerbruecke
. . . — Map (db m67483) HM
Switzerland, Vaud, Montreux — Freddie Mercury
Left marker: Freddie Mercury Lover of Life — Singer of Songs 1946 – 1991 Born Farrokh Bulsara on the East African island of Zanzibar, Freddie Mercury became one of the world’s greatest rock music performers. His career as lead singer of the band Queen spanned twenty years and together they sold over 150 million albums worldwide.

Innovator, showman, musician extraordinaire, he left a compelling legacy and had an enormous influence on the next generation of . . . — Map (db m34825) HM
Switzerland, Zurich (Zurich (District)) — (Goethe Stayed Here)
In diesem hause weilte Goethe mit Herzog Karl August von Weimar bei Joh. Caspar Lavater im Jahr 1779 German–English translation by Google Translate Goethe stayed in this home with Duke Karl August of Weimar. John Caspar Lavater lived here in 1779 — Map (db m67119) HM
Switzerland, Zurich (Zurich (District)) — Joh. Caspar Lavater
In diesem hause wohnte als Helfer und Pfarrer an der Kirche St. Peter Joh. Caspar Lavater 1784 – 1801 (on the door lintel) Kirch Gemeindehaus St. Peter German–English translation by Google Translate Lived in this home as an assistant pastor of the church of St. Peter Johann Caspar Lavater 1784 - 1801 (on the door lintel) Parish hall of St. Peter — Map (db m67118) HM
Switzerland, Zurich (Zurich (District)) — Musikpavillon Am Bürkliplatz
Schalenkonstruktion aus beton. Erstellt im jahre 1908 von Robert Maillart (1872-1940), ingenieur und bauunternehmer, schweizer pionier des eisenbetonbaues. German–English translation by Google Translate Bandstand on Bürkliplatz Shell construction made of concrete. Created in the year 1908 by Robert Maillart (1872-1940), engineer and construction contractor, Swiss pioneer of the iron-concrete construction. — Map (db m67241) HM
Switzerland, Zurich (canton) (Zurich (district)), Zurich — Zum Neuhaus
Ab 1811 wohnhaus von Anna Barbara Schlthess, der freundin Goethes und Lavaters. Der mittelalterliche bau wurd im 16. und 17. Jh. umgestaltet, die innenausstattung stammt aus dem 18.Jh. Unter denkmalschutz seit 1956 German–English translation by Google Translate For the Neuhaus From 1811 the residential house of Anna Barbara Schlthess, the girlfriend of Goethe and Lavater. The medieval building was transformed in the 16th and 17 Century, the interior decoration dates from . . . — Map (db m67239) HM
Turkey, İzmir (Selçuk District), Ephesus — The Celsus Library
Celsus Kutuphanesi [text in Turkish…] The Celsus Library [text in English]: The Celsus Library, certainly the most well-known monument in Ephesos, was built between A.D. and 110 by Gaius Iulius Aquila for his father, the senator Tiberius Iulius Celsus Polemaeanus. The library can actually be interpreted as a heroon which was built over the burial chamber of the deceased. A flight of nine steps at the façade, flanked by statue bases, led to a . . . — Map (db m43992) HM
Turkey, İzmir (Selçuk District), Ephesus — The Great Theatre — [Ephesus]
Büyük Tiyatro [text in Turkish...] The Great Theatre [text in English] The Great Theatre goes back to a preceding structure of the Hellenistic period (3rd-1st century B.C.). In the Roman period there was an extensive rebuilding under the Emperors Domitian (A.D. 81-96) and Trajan (A.D. 98-117) with at first a two-, later three-storeyed impressive facade. In addition to theatre performances, assemblies also took place there; in the later Imperial period, . . . — Map (db m84362) HM
Turkey, Antalya (Serik (district)), Serik — Aspendos
English: In antiquity, central part of Antalya was known as “Pamphylia”, the land of all tribes, and is thought to have been settled originally by migrating people from Anatolia. Pamphylia grew into a populous region and many fine cities were established. None was more impressive, however, than the city of Aspendos. Aspendos was divided into two areas; upper and lower. The lower city provided access for busy river traffic, and contained mainly the shipping and commercial . . . — Map (db m84193) HM
Turkey, Antalya Province (Serik (district)), Serik — The Theatre of AspendosAspendos Tiyatmsu
Theatre of Aspendos is the best preserved ancient theatre in Asia Minor and the most Magnificent Roman building of the province of Pamphylia as well. It was designed by the architect Zeno, son of Theodorus. This theatre by Zeno shows the final culmination of the practical as well as representative ideas of Roman theatre architecture. Two-storied scaenae front is the most impressive part of the theatre. It was covered by marble and luxuriously decorated with forty free-standing columns and . . . — Map (db m84194) HM
Turkey, Istanbul Province (Fatih district), Istanbul — Mimar SinanKayseri. Agornas 1492- İstanbul 1588
English: Mimar Sinan was the head-architect during the periods of Kanuni Sultan Suleyman, Selim II and Murad Ill. He had a very important role on designing and building the architectural masterpieces those were symbolizing the power of the empire. According to the sources, Sinan was sent to Conscript Military Forces from Kayseri to İstanbul in 1912 (sic) permuted. After the Çaldiran War in 1514, he was taken to Janissary Corps. Then, he was promoted as a Sekban Rider, . . . — Map (db m84876) HM
Turkey, Istanbul Province (Fatih district), Istanbul — Serpent ColumnBurmalı Sütun Veya Yılanlı Sütun (Sultanahmet)
English: It is a Bronze monument which is well-known under the name of Serpentine Column survived to the present day from the Roman Hippodrome. While I. Constantine's establishing the Constantinople; i.e. the new capital of Rome, he brought some of the monumental obelisks established in order to commemorate important historical events previously and with the aim to celebrate to the Hippodrome in order to decorate the new city. One of these obelisks is the Serpent Column. . . . — Map (db m84712) HM
Turkey, Istanbul Province (Fatih district), Istanbul — The Ruins of the Triumphal Arch of TheodosiusTheodosius Zafer Takı Kalıntıları
English: The marble pieces that are located here belong to the Triumphal Arch and the Forum built by and named after the last emperor of the Roman Empire; Theodosius the Great (4th Cent. A.D.). The Triumphal Arch was situated on the corner of the Theodosius Forum (today's Beyazit Square). This area used to be called "Forum Tauri" (The Bull Square) but in the 4th century A.D. the name was changed into the "Forum of Theodosius". During this period. the forum was surrounded by marble . . . — Map (db m84952) HM
Turkey, Izmir Province (Selçuk (district)), Selçuk — The Inscriptions MuseumYazıtlar Galerisi — Das Inschriftenmuseum
English: The Inscriptions Museum is housed ın the vaulted substructure of the Temple of Domıtıan. In the corridors, more than 3,000 complete or partial inscriptions are currently preserved. A selected exhibition contains approximately 60 exceptionally instructive examples, including a death sentence against sacriligious persons, Hellenistıc citizenship rights, Imperial letters, honourific inscriptions for the members of the imperial and cıvıc aristocracy, . . . — Map (db m84343) HM
Turks and Caicos Islands, Grand Turk, Cockburn Town — #22 — Sunnyside
This house, which always has been known as Sunnyside, was originally located on a cay off South Caicos called Sail Rock Cay. It was built in the 1870s and has the distinction of being one of the most famous houses on Front Street. It was moved board by board to its present location on Grand Turk by Mrs. Mary Jones, wife of the late Father Clifford Jones of St. Thomas Parish Church. Now, the house is owned by Mitch Rolling of Blue Water Divers and the leader of "High Tide," Grand Turk's own Ripsaw Blues Band. — Map (db m30404) HM
Turks and Caicos Islands, Grand Turk, Cockburn Town — #14 — Victoria Public Library
The Library was built in 1887 - the year of Queen Victoria's Golden Jubilee - on the old parade ground used by the local militia, yet it was not completed until 1889. It was reputed to have cost UK £568. Public events such as cultural concerts are held on the library grounds, commonly referred to as the Library Tennis Court. — Map (db m30354) HM
United Kingdom, CamdenLondon — Pre-Raphaelite Brotherhood
In this house the Pre-Raphaelite Brotherhood was founded in 1848 — Map (db m68122) HM
United Kingdom, Greater LondonLondon — George Orwell House
George Orwell 1903 – 1950 writer lived here — Map (db m68124) HM
United Kingdom, Greater LondonLondon — House of John Keats
John Keats, poet, — lived in this house. — B: 1795. D: 1821. — Map (db m68125) HM
United Kingdom, LothianEdinburgh — Adam Smith1723-1790
(The historical portion of the marker text is presented first, so as not to be lost beneath the statue donor information:) Adam Smith lived in Panmure House in Lochend Close and is buried in the Cannongate Churchyard, further down the Royal Mile. This statue was made possible by the support of The Adams Smith Institute- Aequus Institute- Trustees and Scholars of the American Enterprise Institute- Rose-Marie and Jack Anderson- Henry Angest- Atlas Economic Research Foundation- . . . — Map (db m85860) HM
United Kingdom, Northern Ireland (County Fermanagh), Belleek — The Enamel Grindstone
Enamel colours have always been used to decorate pottery wares. Today they come processed but in early years of the Belleek Pottery they, along with most raw materials, were processed at the Pottery. This particular grindstone was used to crush and mix the raw enamel colours. Enamel colours are made from the oxides of metals. Each metal's oxide gives a different colour, e.g. browns and blacks from Iron oxide, greens from Copper oxide, and blues from Cobalt oxide. — Map (db m72561) HM
United Kingdom, Northern Ireland (County Londonderry), Derry-Londonderry — Arthur Joyce Lunel Cary1888 - 1957 — Ulster History Circle
Novelist was born here — Map (db m71124) HM
United Kingdom, Northern Ireland (County Londonderry), Derry-Londonderry — Artillery Bastion
A night at Talbot's theatre Actor/manager Michael Atkins opened the city's first purpose-built theatre at the top of Artillery Street in 1774. It soon became the fashionable place to be seen especially at grand social occasions when the Assize judges were in town. Dashing young military officers scanned the audience to pick out the belles. By 1830, however, polite society had deserted the theatre on the grounds that audiences were rowdy and made up of 'the lower orders'. The building . . . — Map (db m71080) HM
United Kingdom, Northern Ireland (County Londonderry), Derry-Londonderry — Death of InnocenceAnnette McGavigan
Annette McGavigan Aged 14 Shot dead by the British Army 6 September 1971 ——————— Here the innocence of a child's world contrasts vividly with the chaotic violence with which others have surrounded her. The mural commemorates fourteen year old Annette McGavigan who was shot by a British soldier in 1971, the 100th victim of the Troubles and one of the first children to be killed. The little coloured stones at her feet are objects that . . . — Map (db m71155) HM WM
United Kingdom, Northern Ireland (County Londonderry), Derry-Londonderry — Double Bastion
The city has always expressed its soul in verse. Derry mine! My small oak grove Little cell, my home, my love! Attributed to St. Colmcille The saint's story is told as St Columb in the Cathedral and as St Colmcille in Long Tower Church. The purple headed mountains, The river running by, The sunset and the morning That brightens up the sky.' Mrs Cecil Frances Alexander The 19th century hymn writer was inspired by the view of the Creggan Hills. 'My heart . . . — Map (db m71005) HM
United Kingdom, Northern Ireland (County Londonderry), Derry-Londonderry — George Farquharc. 1677 - 1707 — Ulster History Circle
Playwright attended the Free School near this site — Map (db m70992) HM
United Kingdom, Northern Ireland (County Londonderry), Derry-Londonderry — Guildhall Square
The roaring cannon The city claims Europe's largest collection of cannon whose precise origins can be traced. These are the earliest surviving cannon. Some were shipped over for Sir Henry Docwra's campaign of 1600-3: others were sent to defend the Plantation city. Look for the marks stamped on the cannon - the rose and crown of the Tudor English kings, club and arrow marks, the date '1590' and the initials T.J. for Thomas Johnston, Queen Elizabeth I's gun founder. 'Wish you were . . . — Map (db m71131) HM
United Kingdom, Northern Ireland (County Londonderry), Derry-Londonderry — Shipquay Street
Living above the 'shop' Many banks and offices started life as 18th and 19th century family houses. The building at the corner of Shipquay Street and Bank Place was both home and place of business for the manager of the Belfast Bank. On 7th December 1888 there was much excitement when the manager's daughter gave birth to a son in one of the bedrooms. The son became the famous 20th century novelist Joyce Cary. Childhood holidays in Inishowen inspired his prize-winning 'House of . . . — Map (db m71140) HM
United Kingdom, Northern Ireland (County Londonderry), Derry-Londonderry — The Platform
The Apprentice Boys From the early 18th century clubs have celebrated the role of the 13 apprentices who locked the gates of the city in December, 1688 rather than admit the new Jacobite garrison. Local architect, John Guy Ferguson, designed The Apprentice Boys' Memorial Hall in the mid 1870s. The 1937 extension in Society Street was dedicated to those who died in the First World War. The Hall houses the headquarters of the Apprentice Boys of Derry Association. Every December the . . . — Map (db m70974) HM
United Kingdom, Northern Ireland (County Londonderry), Derry-Londonderry — Verbal Arts Centre
The Former First Derry Primary School was established on the city walls as a Blue Coat School in 1773 and moved to this site in 1894. The (listed) building was purchased in 1996 and then renovated by the Verbal Arts Centre: it has been designed to provide Ireland's first home for the literary arts. The Centre offers a range of unique resources in its support of verbal creativity - library; children's storytelling theatre; debating chamber; exhibition, lecture and performance spaces; . . . — Map (db m70998) HM
United Kingdom, Northern Ireland (County Londonderry), Limavady — Jane Ross and "Danny Boy"1810 - 1879
It was in Limavady that the famous melody "Danny Boy" was noted down by Jane Ross from a tune played by a blind street fiddler named Jimmy McCurry Oh Dan-ny Boy, the pipes, the pipes are calling from glen to glen and down the mountain side... Map (db m70913) HM
United Kingdom, Scotland (Argyllsockshire), Stirling — The Holy Grail
Defeat at the castle seems to have utterly disheartened King Arthur ... The ferocity of the French taunting took him completely by surprise and Arthur became convinced that a new strategy was required if the quest for the Holy Grail were to be brought to a successful conclusion. Arthur, having consulted his closest knights, decided that they should separate, and search for the Grail individually. Now, this is what they did. No sooner.... {Blah-blah blah blah blah. Does anybody actually . . . — Map (db m82100) HM
United Kingdom, Scotland (Dumfrieshire), Dumfries — Robert BurnsBurns' Mausoleum
Robert Burns 25 January 1759 - 21 July 1796 Robert Burns is widely regarded as Scotland's national poet. He was born of a farmer in Alloway, Ayrshire. He received little regular schooling and was educated mostly by his father and a teacher, John Murdoch. As a youth he started to write poetry whilst working as a labourer on his father's farm. He achieved national success following the publication of the Kilmarnock Edition of his poems in 1786. He was married to Jean Armour from . . . — Map (db m86667) HM
United Kingdom, Scotland (Lothian), Edinburgh — Adam Smith Grave
Here Are Deposited The Remains of ADAM SMITH Author of the "Theory of Moral Sentiments" And "Wealth of Nations;" & He was born 5th June, 1723. And he died 17th July, 1790. — Map (db m85862) HM
Alabama (Autauga County), Prattville — Daniel Pratt Cemetery / George Cooke
(Front): Daniel Pratt CemeteryFinal resting place of early Alabama industrialist Daniel Pratt, 1799-1873, and wife Esther Ticknor Pratt, 1803-1875. He was from New Hampshire and she, Connecticut. Married 1827 at Fortville, Jones County, Georgia. The former carpenter’s apprentice practiced his craft in Milledgeville, Ga. Where he gained skill in building and design. In 1832 Pratt came to Alabama to build cotton gins. Esther encouraged Pratt to remain in Alabama in order for him . . . — Map (db m27957) HM
Alabama (Autauga County), Prattville — Pratt HomesiteCirca 1842
Daniel Pratt, Prattville’s founding father, constructed an imposing home and garden within a quarter-mile of this site on Autauga Creek, near his industrial complex. The large home was designed and erected by Pratt himself, a noted architect / builder. The white frame house featured New England architectural elements characteristic of Pratt’s style and incorporated a narrow, two-story portico and balcony. Pratt also added An art gallery to the home displaying paintings by George . . . — Map (db m27985) HM
Alabama (Autauga County), Prattville — Sidney LanierMusician - Poet - Patriot - Seer
Beloved teacher of Prattville Academy 1867 • on this site • 1868 whose memory will be forever cherished by people of Prattville, Ala. whom he loved and served — Map (db m70820) HM
Alabama (Autauga County), Prattville — Sidney Lanier/Prattville Male and Female Academy Site
Side 1 Sidney Lanier 1842-1881 The poet and musician, born in Macon, Georgia, was Academy principal in 1867-68. He married Mary H. Day of Macon in December 1867. In Prattville, they lived at the Mims Hotel and later in Dr. S.P. Smith's home. Following a brief legal career in Georgia, Lanier became first flutist in 1873 with the Peabody Orchestra in Baltimore and in 1879 was appointed as lecturer in English Literature at Johns Hopkins University. He wrote the words . . . — Map (db m70802) HM
Alabama (Autauga County), Prattville — Wilson Pickett, Jr.March 18, 1941 - January 19, 2006
A native of Prattville, Wilson Pickett was raised singing gospel in local churches. Upon moving to Detroit as a teenager, he began to blend gospel-style with rhythm and blues, resulting in some of "the deepest, funkiest soul music" to come from the Deep South. In 1966, he began working with musicians in Muscle Shoals, Alabama, and it was there that he cut some of his biggest hits, including “Land of a Thousand Dances,” “Mustang Sally” and “Funky . . . — Map (db m70804) HM
Alabama (Butler County), Georgiana — Hank Williams' Boyhood Home / Thigpen’s Log Cabin Popular Dance Hall
Side 1 Hank Williams' Boyhood Home Hiram Williams lived in Georgiana from age 7 to 11. In 1931, Mrs. Lillie Williams moved Hiram and his sister Irene from rural Wilcox County to this house owned by Thaddeus B. Rose. When he was 8, his mother bought him a guitar for $3.50. Black street musician Rufus (Tee-Tot) Payne became his teacher. Hiram practiced guitar under the raised-cottage house and sang on the streets for tips. The family moved to Greenville in the fall of 1934 . . . — Map (db m81276) HM
Alabama (Chilton County), Verbena — Verbena, Alabama
The only community in the U.S. so designated, Verbena was named for the profuse wild flowers growing in the area. Settlers arrived in the area as early as 1832. Completion of the North-South Railroad and a train depot at Verbena in 1870 enabled Montgomery citizens to escape yellow fever epidemics, the worst being in 1873. Because of the healthier climate, many prominent citizens built summer homes here and the village grew to include two hotels, doctor's offices, a bank, general stores, mineral . . . — Map (db m68286) HM
Alabama (Colbert County), Sheffield — Percy Sledge/Producer Quin Ivy Norala and Quinvy Studios"When A Man Loves A Woman"
(side 1) Percy Sledge "When A Man Loves A Woman" Hospital orderly Percy Sledge recorded 'When a Man Loves a Woman' at Quin Ivy's studio in 1966. Sledge's breakup with a girlfriend inspired the lyrics credited to songwriters Calvin Lewis and Andrew Wright. The release featured Marlin Greene (guitar), Spooner Oldham (Farfisa organ), Albert 'Junior' Lowe (bass), Roger Hawkins (drums), Jack Peck (trumpet), Bill Cofield (tenor sax), and Don Pollard (alto sax). Greene and Ivy . . . — Map (db m83390) HM
Alabama (Covington County), Andalusia — Three Notch Road / Hank and Audrey Williams
[Side A:] Three Notch Road Established 1824 The Three Notch Road was a 90-mile section of a 230-mile military road to connect Pensacola with Fort Mitchell in Russell County on the Chattahoochee River. Capt. Daniel E. Burch marked the route using three notches on trees for a crew under Lt. Elias Phillips to follow. Soldiers from the U. S. 4th Infantry Division cleared the route in June, July, and August, 1824, at a cost of $1,130. The road runs through the present cities of . . . — Map (db m83456) HM
Alabama (DeKalb County), Fort Payne — Alabama"The Boys From Fort Payne" — 2006 Country Music Hall of Fame Inductee
In the late '60s, cousins Randy Owen and Teddy Gentry discovered they shared a common interest in music. Joined by Jeff Cook, they started playing on a regular basis. Working their day jobs and playing any place they could locally in the evenings, "The Boys In The Band" used what limited spare time they had to compose and practice their unique style of harmony. In 1973, in tandem with Randy Owen's graduation from Jacksonville State University, The Band said goodbye to their daytime jobs . . . — Map (db m25277) HM
Alabama (Elmore County), Alexander City — The Hank Williams Kowaliga Cabin1952
At this site stands the cabin where country music legend Hank Williams composed the song “Kaw-liga” in August, 1952. The song’s title was derived from the name of a Creek Indian town located on the banks of the Kowaliga Creek until 1836. Hank’s September 23, 1952 recording of “Kaw-liga” reached number one on the country music charts in 1953 and has since been recorded by numerous country and popular music artists. Built in 1946 by Darwin and Nell Dobbs, the . . . — Map (db m68038) HM
Alabama (Houston County), Dothan — Dothan Opera House
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places by the Department of the Interior, December 16, 1977, through the efforts of the Dothan Landmarks Foundation, Incorporated.

Constructed in 1915, this three-story masonry structure remains basically unaltered from its original plan.

It has had an important cultural influence on Dothan, attracting from its early days, a wide variety of performing groups.

It was completely renovated and restored in 1971. This splendid building, long . . . — Map (db m83780) HM

Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — Building The ParkVisiting the Park — Restoring Vulcan Park
Side 1 - Building the Park In the mid-1930’s, civic leaders worked to move Vulcan to a place of honor on Red Mountain. The park was built through the combined efforts of several groups: the Kiwanis Club of Birmingham, the Birmingham Parks and Recreation Board, the Alabama Highway Department, Tennessee Coal, Iron and Railroad Company, and local workers. These groups worked together to raise money from the WPA and other sources, acquire the land, and plan and build the park. The . . . — Map (db m83807) HM
Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — Eddie James KendrickDecember 17, 1937 - October 5, 1992
Eddie James Kendrick, nicknamed "cornbread", was born the eldest of five children to Johnny and Lee Bell Kendrick in Union Springs, Alabama. After attending Western-Olin High School in Ensley, Alabama, Eddie was persuaded by his childhood friend Paul Williams to move to Detroit, Michigan. It was there they formed a singing group called "The Primes". While in Detroit, the duo met Otis Williams of the music group "The Distants". The two groups merged forming the legendary "Temptations". . . . — Map (db m26724) HM
Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — Jefferson County Courthouses
Side A Territorial legislature designated home of Maj. Moses Kelly (in Jones Valley) as site of first court in this area of Alabama, 1818. After creation of Jefferson County, 1819, court held at Carrollsville (Powderly) until county seat established at Elyton, 1820. County seat moved to Birmingham, 1873. Two story brick Courthouse completed 1875 on NE corner 3rd Ave. and 21st St., North. Replaced 1887 by elaborate three story structure which served county until 1931. Separate . . . — Map (db m25743) HM
Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — The Alabama TheatreBuilt 1927
Built by the Publix Theater division of Paramount Studios. This movie palace opened on December 26th, 1927. The theatre, in Spanish / Moorish design by Graven and Mayger of Chicago, seated 2500 in a five story, three-tiered auditorium. Paramount's president, Adolph Zukor, named it the "Showplace Of The South". The famous "Mighty Wurlitzer" pipe organ, with 21 sets of pipes, was played for many years by showman Stanleigh Malotte. The Alabama hosted many events including the Miss Alabama Pageant . . . — Map (db m27337) HM
Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — The Birmingham Public Library / The Linn - Henley Research Library
Birmingham’s first library was organized in 1886 and in 1891 became a subscription library for the general public. In 1908 the Birmingham Public Library Association established a free public library, and the City created an independent Library Board in 1913. For decades the library was housed in various locations including the old City Hall where it was destroyed by fire in 1925. Libraries throughout the U. S. sent books and local citizens contributed for a new building. It opened April 11, . . . — Map (db m83856) HM
Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — The Iron Man: Vulcan
The giant, cast iron statue you see towering above you is Vulcan, the Roman god of metalwork and the forge. The 56-foot tall statue was commissioned by Birmingham leaders to represent their new, growing city at the 1904 St. Louis World's Fair. After a smashing success at the fair, he was brought home to Birmingham. — Map (db m26297) HM
Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — The Little Theater Clark Memorial Theatre Virginia Samford Theatre
Built in 1937 by Gen. Louis Verdier Clark from a design by architect William T. Warren as a community playhouse for cultural activities. It was recognized as one of the best of its kind in the nation. Mrs. Vassar Allen - first president, Bernard Szold - first director, Hill Ferguson and John Henley were founders. In 1955, the building was donated by Gen. Clark's family to the University of Alabama at Birmingham, and became known as the Clark Memorial Theatre. Professor James Hatcher . . . — Map (db m27513) HM
Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — Tuxedo Junction
"Tuxedo Junction" was the street car crossing on the Ensley-Fairfield line at this corner in the Tuxedo Park residential area. It also refers to the fraternal dance hall operated in the 1920's and 1930s on the second floor of the adjacent building, and to the 1939 hit song "Tuxedo Junction", written by Birmingham musician-composer Erskine Hawkins, who grew up nearby and became a well known big band leader in New York City.         "Co-ome on down, forget your care,         Co-ome on . . . — Map (db m25623) HM
Alabama (Jefferson County), Hoover — Lover’s Leap1827 - 1973
The poetic lines inscribed on the boulder below is a replica of those carved in 1827 by Thomas W. Farrar. Thomas W. Farrar was the Founder and first Grand Master of the Masonic Lodge in Alabama 1821-22-24. This historical site donated to the public by Jones W. Schwab in 1935. The work was done and fence provided by Thomas W. Martin and George B. Ward. — Map (db m28490) HM
Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — Caroline Lee HentzCity of Florence Walk of Honor
Educator and author Caroline Hentz was among the first female novelists in America. Her 13 volumes were some of the most popular in the U.S. during the mid-1800s, and her three dramas were produced in major cities. — Map (db m29100) HM
Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — Henry S. "Hank" KlibanoffCity of Florence Walk of Honor
A keen observer and researcher of the Civil Rights Movement in the South, Hank Klibanoff won the Pulitzer Prize in 2007 for The Race Beat: The Press, the Civil Rights Struggle, and the Awakening of a Nation. — Map (db m38643) HM
Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — Samuel Cornelius PhillipsCity of Florence Walk of Honor
Known as the "Father of Rock and Roll," Sam Phillips established Sun Records in 1952, helping Elvis Presley and other well-known artists launch their careers. He received a Grammy for Lifetime Achievement in music. — Map (db m84046) HM
Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — The Father of Rock ’N’ Roll / Sam Phillips in Florence
Side A Sam Phillips fell in love with the miracle of sound and the unifying power of music. Moving to Memphis, Tennessee, he embraced the beauty of the blues with his early recordings of Howlin Wolf, B.B. King and other delta artists. In 1951 the maverick producer cut the first “Rock ’N’ Roll” record, “Rocket 88.” Three years later he revolutionized American music with his discovery of the dynamic Elvis Presley. His credo was passionate conviction, originality, . . . — Map (db m29270) HM
Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — The Rolling Stones in the Shoals in 1969/Sticky Fingers Ranks Among Greatest Albums
(side 1) The Rolling Stones in the Shoals in 1969 The Rolling Stones stayed at the Florence Holiday Inn on this site for several nights while recording at the Muscle Shoals Sound Studio in Sheffield. When a hired engineer failed to arrive, studio co-owner "Swamper" Jimmy Johnson engineered the sessions on Dec. 2, 3, and 4, 1969. They recorded original songs "Wild Horses" and "Brown Sugar" and covered "You Gotta Move." The band flew to San Francisco and debuted "Brown . . . — Map (db m79565) HM
Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — Thomas Sigismund StriblingCity of Florence Walk of Honor
In 1934, T.S. Stribling won the Pulitzer Prize for The Store, part of a trilogy set in Florence. His story "Birthright" was produced in Hollywood as a silent movie and, later, with sound. — Map (db m29102) HM
Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — William Christopher HandyCity of Florence Walk of Honor
Born in Florence in 1873, W.C. Handy wrote some of the country's most recognizable blues music such as the "St. Louis Blues." He became internationally known as the "Father of the Blues." — Map (db m28890) HM
Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — William D. "Buddy" KillenCity of Florence Walk of Honor
Buddy Killen earned international renown as a music publisher, songwriter, record producer and recording artist. He help launch the careers of a host of well-known musicians during the last half of the 20th century. — Map (db m28905) HM
Alabama (Lee County), Auburn — Robert Wilton Burton1848-1917
(Side 1) Near this site once stood "Four-Story Cottage," the home of Robert Wilton Burton. A one-story house with wide porch and bay window, Burton built it in 1885 with proceeds from the sale of four stories to children's magazines. Born in Camden County, Georgia, Burton grew up in Lafayette, Alabama, where he began writing stories for the newspaper, on various subjects. In the early 1870’s, with his brother, he opened a bookstore in Opelika, Alabama. In 1878, at the request of the . . . — Map (db m74440) HM
Alabama (Lee County), Loachapoka — Dr. Alexandar Nunn / Lee County Historical Society
Side 1 Dr. Alexandar Nunn Dr. Nunn was born in Loachapoka on September 17, 1904. Beginning in 1924 he contributed to and edited the Progressive Farmer Magazine for 43 years. He helped to start Southern Living Magazine, retiring in 1967 as executive editor and executive vice president. In 1968 he was a founding member of the Lee County Historical Society and was appointed Lee County's first official historian. He wrote two books and numerous articles about . . . — Map (db m73537) HM
Alabama (Madison County), Huntsville — Confederate Monument
Erected on November 21, 1905, a handsome monument was dedicated to the Confederate dead by the Virginia Clay Clopton Chapter #1107 United Daughters of the Confederacy of Huntsville, and was unveiled with proper ceremonies in which many veterans of North Alabama participated. The unveiling of the Confederate monument attracted the largest gathering of veterans that has been seen here since the reunion of 1891. The monument depicted a Confederate private with his musket at parade rest. The . . . — Map (db m27784) HM
Alabama (Madison County), Huntsville — Howard Weeden Home
Built 1819 by H. C. Bradford, this home was later owned by John Read, John McKinley, Associate Justice of the Supreme Court (1837-1852), Bartley M. Lowe, M. C. Betts and Marie Howard Weeden (1846-1905) whose poetry and paintings preserve nineteenth century Southern Culture. Marker by D.A.R. 1910; H.A.B.S. 1935 National Register of Historic Places, 1973 — Map (db m27841) HM
Alabama (Marengo County), Dixons Mills — Office of Joel Desaker Jones
Born January 15, 1861 - Died June 28, 1948 Marengo Co. Surveyor, Historian, and Journalist Author of Democrat Reporter Newspaper Column “Old Times” "He was a Baptist, A Mason, A Surveyor, an Old Timer" Epitaph by Joel D. Jones Sponsored by Linden Wood, Inc. — Map (db m73005) HM
Alabama (Mobile County), Mobile — Dr. H. Roger Williams(1869-1929)
Dr. Williams opened one of the early African-American drugstores- Live and Let Live on this site in 1901. Born on a sugar plantation in Louisiana, he graduated from Meharry Medical School in 1900 and was the second black physician to practice medicine in Mobile. He served as president of numerous medical and civic associations including the General Chairman of the Mobile Emancipation Association. He was a published writer and poet. — Map (db m86393) HM
Alabama (Mobile County), Mobile — Saenger Theatre
Opening night, January 19, 1927, saw crowds gather to hear local dignitaries praise Mobile's "Place of Entertainment". Today the Saenger Theatre remains the entertainment center of downtown. Designed by Emile Weil in the French Renaissance style, it's ornate decorations recall the mythology of ancient Greece blended with coastal ornaments such as seahorses and shells. Constructed as a home to vaudeville and silent movies, the Theatre was one of several hundred movie houses owned by Julian . . . — Map (db m86503) HM
Alabama (Mobile County), Mobile — Site of Mobile's First Theater
Erected in 1824 N. M. Ludlow whence Theater Street derives its name — Map (db m86437) HM
Alabama (Mobile County), Mobile — Site of Sixth Mobile Theatre1841-1860
Here played the great of the American and British stage, among them: James Wallack, Fanny Kemble, Ole Bull, Joseph Field, Joseph Jefferson, James H. Hackett, William Macready, Charlotte Cushman, Edwin Forrest, Julia Dean, Junius Booth, Anna Mowatt, Charles Kean, Ellen Tree, Edwin Booth, and Lola Montez. Henry Clay and President Fillmore attended performances here as the guests of Madame Le Vert. — Map (db m86352) HM
Alabama (Monroe County), Monroeville — Atticus Finch: Lawyer - Hero
"Lawyers, I suppose, were children once." These words of Charles Lamb are the epigraph to Harper Lee's "To Kill A Mockingbird", a novel about childhood and about a great and noble lawyer, Atticus Finch. The legal profession has in Atticus Finch, a lawyer-hero who knows how to see and to tell the truth, knowing the price the community, which Atticus loves, will pay for that truth. The legal profession has in Atticus Finch, a lawyer-hero who knows how to use power and advantage for moral . . . — Map (db m47700) HM
Alabama (Monroe County), Monroeville — Monroeville, Alabama"From one store in 1822 to Alabama's Literary Capital in 1997"
Front: Originally a part of the Mississippi Territory purchased from Spain in 1795, this area was inhabited and controlled by Indian Nations until 1814. Now safe from Indian uprisings, settlers migrated down the Old Federal Road as far as Burnt Corn and thence westward across the Old Stage Road that traversed through Monroeville and connected with Claiborne. Other settlers came from Mobile on the Alabama River. First known as The Crossroads, then Walker's Mill and Store, and . . . — Map (db m86000) HM
Alabama (Monroe County), Monroeville — Old Monroe County Courthouse
The Old Monroe County Courthouse, designed by prominent Southern architect Andrew Bryan, was built between 1903 and 1904 during the tenure of Probate Judge Nicholas Stallworth. One of two buildings of this type designed by Bryan (a sister courthouse in LaGrange, Georgia was destroyed by fire), the architectural style is Romanesque with a Georgian influence. It was constructed by Louisville, Kentucky contractor M.T. Lewman. The courthouse was the seat of most county offices and the site of court . . . — Map (db m47688) HM
Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — Birthplace of Nat "King" Cole
Nat King Cole was a jazz pianist, composer, and singer celebrated as an American popular music artist in the 1940s and 1950s. He was born March 17, 1919 in Montgomery, Alabama as one of five children to Edward James Coles, a minister at Beulah Baptist Church in Montgomery, and Perlina Adams Coles, who sang in the choir. He began formal lessons at the age of 12, eventually learning not only jazz and gospel but also classical music. By age 17, he wrote songs and played jazz piano in his . . . — Map (db m71228) HM
Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — Dexter AvenueFormerly Market Street
This street was named to honor Andrew Dexter one of the founders of Montgomery Along this street moved the inaugural parade of Jefferson Davis when he took the oath of office as President of the Confederate States of America February 18, 1861 Dixie was played as a band arrangement for the first time on this occasion. — Map (db m36589) HM
Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — Fitzgerald Home(ca. 1910)
(side 1) F. Scott Fitzgerald, his wife Zelda and daughter Scottie lived in this house from October 1931 to April 1932. During this period Fitzgerald worked on his novel Tender Is the Night and Zelda began her only novel, Save Me the Waltz. “Now once again the belt is tight and we summon the proper expression of horror as we look back at our wasted youth. Sometimes, though, there is a ghostly rumble among the drums, an asthmatic whisper in the trombones.... . . . — Map (db m69187) HM
Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — Juliette Hampton Morgan / Montgomery City-County Public Library
(side 1) Juliette Hampton Morgan Juliette Hampton Morgan was a white Montgomery, Alabama librarian whose privileged upbringing seemed unlikely to produce the determined civil rights activist that she became. Her letters to the Montgomery Advertiser supporting the 1956 Bus Boycott, integration of the University of Alabama, and national compliance with public school integration drew fire from traditionalists who demanded her resignation. People boycotted the Carnegie . . . — Map (db m71258) HM
Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — Lilly Baptist Church"The Lilly" — 820 Hill Street
Lilly Baptist Church, established November, 1900 as a missionary church of Bethel Missionary Baptist. Originally located on St. Clair Street in a small frame building. Moved May 27, 1973, into new 1500-seat sanctuary at present location. Education Complex added April, 1985. Known as "The Lilly," church was active in Montgomery Bus Boycott (1955-56). Noted for its music, the church has seven choirs which recorded albums in 1974 and 1984. 500 members of congregation participated in nationally . . . — Map (db m71088) HM
Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — Lincoln Cemetery / Rufus Payne, 1884-1939
Side 1 Lincoln Cemetery 1907 In 1907 the American Securities Company opened Lincoln Cemetery for African Americans and Greenwood Cemetery for whites, the first commercial cemeteries in the city. Landscape design indicates Olmstead influences with curving drives and two circular sections. Space allotted for 700 graves with first interment in 1908. Most graves are simple concrete slabs with evidences of African-American funerary art and late-Victorian motifs. Marble markers . . . — Map (db m71342) HM
Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — Montgomery City Hall / Funeral for Hank Williams
(Front) Built 1936-37 Following a fire in 1932 that destroyed a 19th century City Hall, architect Frank Lockwood designed a replacement for the same site. With the Depression affecting all construction projects during the period, the city received federal assistance through the Works Progress Administration. Completed in 1937, the City Hall included offices for city officials and an auditorium to accommodate large crowds for public programs, debutante balls and social gatherings. . . . — Map (db m36571) HM
Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — Montgomery Theatre
Opened in Oct. 1860 as the South moved closer to secession, the theatre was significant in the social, cultural and political life of the city. In the early months, John Wilkes Booth performed here, Bryant Minstrels introduced "Dixie," which was transcribed for the Montgomery Brass Band. Southern leaders Robert Toombs, Alexander Stephens and William L. Yancey addressed packed houses. Later the city's location on route between New Orleans and Atlanta brought performers Edwin Forrest, Joseph . . . — Map (db m36572) HM
Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — Rosa Parks Branch Library / Bertha Pleasant Williams
Side 1 Rosa Parks Branch Library Second public library for blacks in City of Montgomery, this building opened in 1960 as Montgomery Branch Library on Cleveland Avenue. Designed by architect James Miller Davis, it served the black population at a time the main facility on High Street prohibited their patronage. Planned to contain 15,000 volumes, this structure has meeting rooms and areas for adults, teen-agers and children. Judge Frank Johnson ordered desegregation of . . . — Map (db m71388) HM
Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — Rosa Parks Montgomery Bus Boycott / Hank Williams Alabama Troubadour
Side A At the bus stop on this site on December 1, 1955, Mrs. Rosa Parks refused to give up her seat to boarding whites. This brought about her arrest, conviction, and fine. The Boycott began December 5, the day of Parks’ trial, as a protest by African - Americans for unequal treatment they received on the bus line. Refusing to ride the buses, they maintained the Boycott until the U. S. Supreme Court ordered integration of public transportation one year later. Dr. Martin Luther . . . — Map (db m86422) HM
Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — The Montgomery Theater
On a wall in this building, "The Montgomery Theater" Dan Emmett first inscribed the score of Dixie for his minstrel orchestra. H.F. Arnold arranged it for band music and used it at the inauguration of Jefferson Davis President of the Confederacy. February 18, 1861 — Map (db m36574) HM
Alabama (Montgomery County), Pike Road — Marks HouseCirca 1825
Built by William Matthews Marks, who immigrated from Oglethrope County, GA, on acreage purchased from the U.S. land office in Cahaba, AL for $1.25 per acre. Foundation is pegged-together heart pine; framing is 3" by 9" timbers; mantles, dados, and all the brick are hand made. Kitchen, baths, a rose garden and pavilion for dancing were added by the Churchill Marks family in the 1920s. The house was purchased by Dr. Haywood B. (Woody) Bartlett in 1957. In 1967, the movie of Truman's . . . — Map (db m86472) HM
Alabama (Pike County), Troy — “The Thinker”
Donated to Troy University by Huo Bao Zhu During the visit of Chancellor Jack Hawkins, Jr. to Xian, China in April 2002. The gift was made in celebration of the Sino-American 1-2-1 Joint Degree Program and as a lasting symbol of friendship between China and the United States. — Map (db m38930) HM
Alabama (Pike County), Troy — Hawkins-Adams-Long Hall Of Honor
Built in 1997, the Hall of Honor is named to honor three key leaders of Troy University: two Chancellors - Dr. Jack Hawkins, Jr. and Dr. Ralph W. Adams and the longtime leaders of the “Sound of the South” Marching Band and Director Emeritus, Dr. Johnny M. Long. This building is the home of the National Band-masters Hall of Fame. — Map (db m38942) HM
Alabama (Russell County), Phenix City — The Tie-Snake
The Creek Indians believed this section of the river was inhabited by a giant Tie-Snake, a mythical monster that snared the unwary and dragged them down into the watery underworld. The Tie-Snake was but one of many strange creatures and natural forces featured in the myths and folk tales of the native people of this region. Among these were the Winds, the Thunder Helper, the Orphan, the Trickster Rabbit, and the Tarbaby. LaGrange lawyer W.O. Tuggle recorded many of these tales in the late . . . — Map (db m69067) HM
Alabama (Tallapoosa County), Dadeville — Johnson J. Hooper1815 - 1861
Author, Editor, Lawyer Secretary of Congress, C.S.A. As a writer he created Captain Simon Suggs of the Tallapoosa Volunteers, fictional character whose humorous, rascally escapades of pioneer days in Alabama became world famous. — Map (db m28745) HM
Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — Denny Chimes
Marker Front: This bell tower, an enduring symbol of Alabama's first university, was erected in honor of President George H. Denny, under whose leadership (1911 to 1936) The University of Alabama gained national prominence. Conceived by Jerome M. Britchey and his classmates, this free-standing campanile carillon was built by Skinner, Maxwell, and Company and dedicated May 27, 1929, with Governor Bibb Graves presiding. Converted in 1945 from a bell carillon to an electronic system and . . . — Map (db m29610) HM
250 markers matched your search criteria.
Click to map all markers shown on this page.
Click First to browse through the results shown on this page.   First >> 


•••
More Search Options
 
Markers
Near You

 
Categories

 
States & Provinces

 
Counties
Click to List


 
Countries

Page composed
in 578 ms.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
To search within this page, hold down the Ctrl key and press F.
On an Apple computer,
hold down the Apple key and press F.