|Australia, Victoria (Campaspe (Shire)), Echuca — The Only Classified Brothel in Victoria|
|This Establishment Built About 1878 Is The Only Classified Brothel in Victoria
The house consists of 3 small rooms on each floor, the upper rooms being reached by a staircase leading into a sheltered lane running off Little Hopwood street, making it possible for even the most respectable citizen to visit the scarlet ladies undetected.
After the nearby Murray Hotel was built in 1879, the Brothel was run in conjunction with the pub and became known for its ‘honky tonk’ dancing and . . . — Map (db m70630) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Brentwood Bay — Organ Pavillion|
The Aeolian Pipe Organ played at The Butchart Gardens is an early twentieth century residence instrument equipped with its own pneumatic player. Built by the Aeolian Company of New York this model, once owned by Vancouver department store owner, Chris Spencer, is identical to the one owned by R.P. Butchart and installed in his residence here at Benvenuto. Fully playable manually this organ boasts just under one thousand individual pipes, a set of twenty tubular chimes and a forty-nine note . . . — Map (db m74479) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Brentwood Bay — Rose Garden History|
The present Rose Garden was built in 1929 and 1930 on the site of the Butchart's vegetable garden. The design was developed by Butler Sturtevant, a Seattle landscape artist, and adapted by Jennie Butchart. The head gardener at the time, Bob Ballantyne, was in charge of its installation. His perfectionist methods added greatly to its improvement and expansion over the next thirty years until his retirement in 1959.
Between the Rose Garden and the nursery field, now the Concert Lawn, the . . . — Map (db m74483) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Sidney — Mayor's Community Builder Awardees at Beacon Park Pavilion|
Town of Sidney
BC Spirit Squares
Beacon Park Pavilion
Opened June 28, 2009
by the Honourable Steven Point,
Lt. Gov. of BC
A legacy of the 150th anniversary of the founding of the Crown Colony of British Columbia
Joan E. Ballenger
1939 - 2005
The Town of Sidney and Peninsula Celebrations Society celebrate Joan Ballenger, an incredibly active community volunteer. In 1994, Joan saw an opportunity . . . — Map (db m75464) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Order of Canada / Ordre du Canada|
In commemoration of the 25th anniversary of the founding of the Order of Canada and the 125th anniversary of Canada as a nation
this plaque has been erected by the recipients of the Order resident in the Province of British Columbia. The Order recognizes accomplishments that have influenced the economic, cultural, scientific and community life of the nation and are representative of the characteristics and qualities that define a Canadian.
Unveiled October 27th, 1992 by His Excellency . . . — Map (db m75023) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Royal Theatre — Le Théâtre Royal|
|Constructed in 1912-1913 during the Victoria building boom, this structure originally opened as the Royal Victoria Theatre, owned by a group of local entrepreneurs. Theatres of this type, presenting live dramatic, musical and vaudeville performances, were constructed across Canada between 1913 and 1930. While they were among the grandest theatres ever built in this country, few now exist. This theatre's impressive bricK and terra cotta facade and ornate classically-inspired interior have . . . — Map (db m72881) HM|
|British Columbia (Greater Vancouver Regional District), Vancouver — Sadie Marks — City of Vancouver, 1886-1986|
|In 1922 Ferrera Court was the home of Vancouver tailor David Marks, where vaudeville comedian Benny Kubelsky met thirteen-year-old Sadie Marks. They dated in 1926 and married the next year. As Jack Benny and Mary Livingstone they often returned to the city of her birth. — Map (db m46691) HM|
|New Brunswick (Charlotte County), Campobello — Campobello's Resort Hotels|
|In 1881, a group of American businessmen (called themselves the Campobello Company) purchased most of Campobello Island. In an era of summer-long vacations and great summer resorts, the company hoped, by promoting Campobello's charms, to attract, well-to-do people with extensive leisure time to its hotels. Both the Canadian and American press promoted Campobello as a summer resort. Built in 1881 on the northern end of Friar's Bay, the Owen was the first and most luxurious of the company's three . . . — Map (db m25467) HM|
|New Brunswick (Charlotte County), Campobello — Summer Activities|
|The Campobello hotels welcomed socializing between their guests and the summer cottage owners. Summer colonists and hotel guests exchanged visits and participated in hotel activities such as excursions aboard the company's small steamboats, field days, dances, and the use of tennis and croquet courts, billiards tables and bowling alleys. During 1881 and 1882, the Campobello Company built a hotel pier, roads to Glensevern Lake and Raccoon Beach, a bridge across Glensevern and another at Eastern . . . — Map (db m25462) HM|
|New Brunswick (Charlotte County), Welshpool — Campobello Company and Hotels — Le Campobello Company et les Hôtels|
Although visitors had been coming to the island since 1855, Campobello's summer trade did not really prosper until the 1880s - years of long summer vacations and great resorts. A group of Boston and New York businessmen bought most of the island in 1881. The new owners called themselves the Campobello Company; their plan was to promote the island as a summer resort. They hoped to lure a wealthy clientele with extensive leisure time to the island, let them enjoy the area's many charms, . . . — Map (db m63639) HM|
|New Brunswick (Charlotte County), Welshpool — Passamaquoddy Tribe / La Tribu Passamaquoddy|
Passamaquoddy Bay takes its name from the Native American Passamaquoddy Tribe. The word means People of the Pollock-Spearing Place. The Passamaquoddy have a rich heritage, once occupying much of what is now eastern Maine and western New Brunswick. They lived inland, seasonally, where during the colder months they subsisted mainly by hunting and fishing. During the warmer months, they moved to the shore (where there were cooler temperatures and fewer biting flies) to harvest abundant . . . — Map (db m63617) HM|
|Ontario, Niagara Falls — On June 15, 2012|
|On June 15, 2012, the world watched as professional tightrope walker Nik Wallenda crossed the Niagara Gorge on a wire. Table Rock complex marked the Canadian end point for this high wire walk, which began at Terrapin Point, directly across the Gorge at the Niagara Falls State Park, in New York.
The Niagara Parks Commission granted one-time permission for this event in order to recognize the role that daredevil performances and stunting have played in the rich history and promotion of . . . — Map (db m64660) HM|
|Ontario (Essex County), Amherstburg — Boblo Island|
| Boblo Island
For many centuries the island you see in front of you was used for hunting and fishing by First Nations people. Called Île aux Bois Blancs by the French, Boblo Island's key location made it a site for blockhouses during the War of 1812 and the Upper Canada Rebellion. In 1837 a lighthouse was erected on the southern end; about sixty years later the island became the site of a popular amusement park that lasted for nearly a century.
The Detroit . . . — Map (db m71185) HM|
|Yukon Territory, Dawson City — Palace Grand Theatre/Le théâtre Grand Palace|
“Arizona” Charlie Meadows, showman and self-made heroic figure built a lavish structure in 1899 to prospect gold directly from the miner’s pokes. Hugely successful over its first winter, the theatre offered vaudeville acts, comedy, music and melodrama – all on the same bill. Dance hall girls came next, at a dollar-a-dance from midnight until breakfast, while drinking and gambling went on the whole time. As the heady gold rush days subsided, so did the theatres . . . — Map (db m44890) HM|
|Yukon Territory, Dawson City — Ruby’s Place/La maison de Ruby|
Opened as a boarding house and laundry in 1902, the building was taken over by Mathilde “Ruby” Scott in 1935. For over 27 years, this former Paris Madame operated a brothel here, finding a ready clientele in the seasonal workers from the gold dredge camps. She operated with the tacit approval of local officials until 1961. With both gold mining and her business in decline, Ruby was charged with keeping a bawdy house. For the next 8 years, Ruby’s was simply a boarding . . . — Map (db m44887) HM|
|Yukon Territory, Watson Lake — Welcome to the Sign Post Forest|
|In 1942, during the construction of the Alaska Highway, the United States Army Corps of Engineers erected mileage posts at their camps that listed places, distances and directions in the Yukon, other Canadian cities, cities within the United States of America and also other parts of the world. One of these posts was erected at the Wye, the corner of the Alaska Highway and the road to the Watson Lake Airport, where the Sign Post Forest stands today. The original post is the only mileage post of . . . — Map (db m72697) HM|
|France, Île-de-France (Paris), Paris — La maison de Rose de Rosimond — Histoire de Paris|
|Né en 1645, Claude de La Rose, dit en Rosimond, écrivain à ses heures, est choisi pour succéder à Molière dans troupe des comédiens de roi, et comme lui, il meurt en scène, à l’issue d’une représentation du “Malade imaginaire”. Depuis 1680, il possèdait ici une maison de villégiature, entourée de cinq quartiers de terre labourable. Au XIXe siècle, elle est aménagée en ateliers pour artistes: Auguste Renoir en quête d’espace y loue deux pièces et l’ancienne écurie; lui succèdent Léon . . . — Map (db m60878) HM|
|France, Île-de-France (Paris), Paris — Le Lapin Agile — Histoire de Paris|
|Vers 1860, le “Cabaret de Assassins” offre aux parisiens en mal de pittoresque sa terrasse accueillante, ombragée d’un grand acacia, et son petit vin clairet: transformé en auberge en 1886 par une ancienne danseuse fin cordon bleu, il reçoit parmi ses habitués Alphonse Allais, Caran d’Ache ou André Gill. Ce dernier décore la façade d’un lapin facétieux bondissant d’une casserole, et l’habitude se prend de designer l’établissement sous le nom de “Lapin à Gill”, vite . . . — Map (db m60880) HM|
|France, Île-de-France (Paris), Paris — Le Moulin-Rouge — [The Moulin Rouge] — Histoire de Paris|
|Sur l’emplacement du bal de la Reine Blanche, Oler et Zidler ouvrent le Moulin-Rouge le 5 octobre 1889. Dans le jardin se promènent des singes en liberté, un énorme éléphant de bois à flancs mobiles abrite un orchestre, et sur une scène de théâtre, évoluent des danseuses mauresques. Cha-U-Kao, Jane Avril, et surtout le “quadrille réaliste” dirigé par la Goulue assurent à l’éstablissement un succcés considérable, immortalisé par les toiles et les affiches de Toulouse-Lautrec. Le 3 . . . — Map (db m60806) HM|
|Ireland, Connacht (County Roscommon), Cloonyquin — Percy French — 1854 - 1920|
| This memorial is erected on the site
of the birthplace of
William Percy French
Born 1st May 1854
and commemorates his life as
engineer, song-writer, entertainer,
artist and journalist.
“Remember me is all I ask,
and yet if the remembrance
prove a task - forget!” W.P.F.
Erected by Co. Roscommon Historical
and Archaeological Society in 1984.
This plaque was erected by
Co. Roscommon Percy French Society
to commemorate the
150th anniversary of
the . . . — Map (db m28177) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — First Performance of Handel's Messiah|
| This bronze commemorates
the first performance of
George Frideric Handel's
Oratorio Messiah, given
in the Old Musick Hall in
Fishamble Street at noon
on Tuesday April 13th 1742 — Map (db m22450) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — William Butler Yeats — (1865 - 1939)|
| “He may be regarded as the pivot around which Irish literature turned from instinctive to conscious art.” (George W. Russell).
The memorial, erected in [October] 1967, is a tribute in bronze by Henry Moore, the sculptor. — Map (db m27039) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Meath), Fordstown — Girley / Fordstown — Meath Villages|
| An introduction to Fordstown
Fordstown is named after the Norman-Irish Ford family, who lived in the area. One part of the townland is sometimes referred to as Ballaghboy. Today, Fordstown is a growing, vibrant community. ‘Fordstown Street Fair’ is an old world fair, hosted by Fordstown in October each year since 2004. Fordrew Rovers
Fordrew Rovers Football Club was formed in 1997 and play in Drewstown. They progressed from Division 4A to Division 1 in four years. They won . . . — Map (db m27318) HM|
|Israel, Haifa District, Caesarea — King Herod's Hippodrome|
|"Herod built (...) on the south quarter, behind the port, an amphitheater also capable of holding a vast number of men and conveniently situated for a prospect to the sea" Josephus
This edifice, whose location perfectly matches Flavius Josephus's description, was built for the inauguration of the city in 10/9 B.C. This hippodrome (circus, in Latin), was the venue for the Actian Games instituted by King Herod in honor of the Roman emperor Augustus. . . . — Map (db m65176) HM|
|Israel, Haifa District, Caesarea — The Chariot-Races — The Meta Prima|
|The chariot races thrilled the crowds. The counterclockwise seven-lap race commenced at the starting gates (carceres) (1) and ended at a finishing line situated in front of the dignitaries' tribune (2). At each end of the axial rib (spina) were the two turning points (meta prima and meta secunda). Their sharp curves posed a major challenge to the skilled charioteers and the galloping horses. — Map (db m64537) HM|
|Israel, Haifa District, Caesarea — The Theater — התיאטרון|
|The only remnants left from the Theater of Caesarea are rows of seats, the orchestra, the stage and the scene-frons which is an ornamental wall behind the stage. How did it look like? Comparisons show that it might resemble the facade of a two or three-story building with elegant doorways decorated with columns, niches and sculptures. — Map (db m64498) HM|
|Israel, Northern District, Tsipori — The Theater|
|The Roman theater was built in the late first or early second century C.E. Carved into the bedrock on the steep northern slope of the hill. It's diameter is 72 m., and it seated 4000.
The rows of seats constructed on the hewn bedrock were robbed in antiquity. The lowest three rows are partly reconstructed with original stones.
Behind the orchestra (place of the choir during the Greek period, and reserved for honored guests in Roman times) stood a stage. It's floor was made of wooden . . . — Map (db m65405) HM|
|Italy, Campania (Naples Province), Pompei — Teatro Grande e Quadriportico/ — Great Theatre and Quadriporticus — Pompeiviva|
| Il Teatro Grande fu costruito nel II secolo II a.C., addossando la struttura ad una collina lavica e ristrutturato in epoca augustea. La cavea costituita da gradini in tufo o calcare, ospitava circa 5000 persone in tre zone separate da corridoi anulari: l’inferiore (ima cavea), l’intermia (media cavea) e la superior (suma cavea). Alle estremita della gradinata vi erano I palchi d’onore, I tribunalia; al centro l’orchestra e alle spalle il proskenion (podio del palcoscenico) con sullo sfondo . . . — Map (db m47980) HM|
|Italy, Lazio (Rome Province), Rome — Anfiteatro Flavio/The Flavian Amphitheatre|
| L’Anfiteatro Flavio, grande edificio pubblico destinato a spettacoli di enorme popolarita, quali le cacce e I combattimenti gladiatori, fu edificato, in luogo del lago atificiale dela Domus Aurea neronicana, dagli imperatori della dinastia Flavia. Il nome originale, Amphitheatrum o Amphitheatrum magnum, fu sostituito nell’Alto Medioevo da Colysaeum, probabilmente per la contiguita co il celeberrimo Colosso eretto da Nerone.
La costruzione dell’Anfiteatro inizio ne 72 d.C. e fu . . . — Map (db m47676) HM|
|Switzerland, Bern (Interlaken-Oberhasli), Mürren — James Bond: Curling on the Terrace/Attack on Piz Gloria — James Bond: Curling auf der Terrasse/Angriff auf Piz Gloria|
|This marker is consists of two plaques located on the back of James Bond figures.
Curling auf der Terrasse
Das Schilthorn war 1968 Hauptdrehort für den Bond-film "Im Geheimdienst ihrer Majestät". Nach fünf Filmen mit Sean Connery schlüpfte der Australier George Lazenby für dieses eine Mal in die Rolle des britischen Geheimagenten. Die Panoramaterrasse war damals ein Helikopter-Landeplatz, der eigens für den Dreh errichtet wurde.
Im Film ist der "Piz Gloria" das Versteck . . . — Map (db m67938) HM|
|Switzerland, Bern (Interlaken-Oberhasli (District)), Interlaken — Casino Interlaken - Fun and Games since 1859 — Casino Interlaken - Spiel und Spass seit 1859|
Spiel und Spass seit 1859
Das Wechselhafte Spiel mit dem Glück ist eng mit der Geschichte des Kursaals verbunden. Verbote und Erschränkungen sorgten für finanzielle Engpässe. Erst 2002 - der Bundesrat erteilt Interlaken die Konzession für ein Casino - wird der Weg frei für ein ruhiges Spiel in gepflegtem Ambiente.
Bei Menschen aller Kulturen sorgen Glückspiele seit Jahrtausenden für knistern des Vergnügen. Öffentliche Casinos bietet auf der der ganzen Welt spannende Spielen in . . . — Map (db m67946) HM|
|Switzerland, Bern (Interlaken-Oberhasli (District)), Interlaken — From Spa Hall to Congress Centre — Vom Kursaal Zum Congress Centre|
|Seit über 150 Jahren bildet der Kursaal das kulturelle und gesellschaftliche Zentrum Interlakens. "Als Haus des Gastes" hat sich der Kursaal stets den aktuellen Bedürfnissen der Gäste angepasst und -
mit Respekt auf die historischen Gebäude und die Parkanlagen - zum modernen Congress Centre entwickelt, ohne den besonderen Charme der Gründerzeit zu verlieren.
Gesundheit und Vergnügen unter ein Dach zu bringen, dies hatte sich der "Gemeinnützige Verein Interlaken" 1857 zum Ziele gesetzt. . . . — Map (db m67953) HM|
|Switzerland, Lucerne (Lucerne (District)) — Spiegellabyrinth «Alhambra» — Labyrinthe des glaces — Hall of Mirrors|
|Set up for the amusement park at the Swiss National Exhibition of 1896 in Geneva.
Created by Heinrich Ernst, a Zurich architect, the «Alhambra labyrinth of mirrors» was one of the main attractions at the «Parc de Plaisance» during the Swiss National Exhibition in Geneva in 1896. Marie Amrein-Troller, the widow of the Glacier Garden’s founder, who had died young, acquired the labyrinth of mirrors in 1899.
The Alhambra in the southern Spanish city of Granada is one . . . — Map (db m67331) HM|
|Switzerland, Vaud, Montreux — Freddie Mercury|
Lover of Life — Singer of Songs
1946 – 1991
Born Farrokh Bulsara on the East African island of Zanzibar, Freddie Mercury became one of the world’s greatest rock music performers. His career as lead singer of the band Queen spanned twenty years and together they sold over 150 million albums worldwide.
Innovator, showman, musician extraordinaire, he left a compelling legacy and had an enormous influence on the next generation of . . . — Map (db m34825) HM|
|United Kingdom, Northern Ireland (County Londonderry), Derry-Londonderry — Arthur Joyce Lunel Cary — 1888 - 1957 — Ulster History Circle|
was born here — Map (db m71124) HM|
|United Kingdom, Northern Ireland (County Londonderry), Derry-Londonderry — Artillery Bastion|
A night at Talbot's theatre
Actor/manager Michael Atkins opened the city's first purpose-built theatre at the top of Artillery Street in 1774. It soon became the fashionable place to be seen especially at grand social occasions when the Assize judges were in town. Dashing young military officers scanned the audience to pick out the belles. By 1830, however, polite society had deserted the theatre on the grounds that audiences were rowdy and made up of 'the lower orders'. The building . . . — Map (db m71080) HM|
|United Kingdom, Northern Ireland (County Londonderry), Derry-Londonderry — Water Bastion|
The river Foyle lapped against the Water Bastion until the late 18th century. The name Foyle probably arose because English-speaking settlers had difficulty saying the Irish 'Feabhail', used traditionally to describe the stretch of water from the sea to Strabane. Some say that it took its name from the legendary chieftain Feabhail who was drowned by a giant wave. The truth is simpler. The word comes from the Welsh for a 'lip', describing the shape of the estuary.
Lundy's . . . — Map (db m71122) HM|
|Alabama (Autauga County), Prattville — Wilson Pickett, Jr. — March 18, 1941 - January 19, 2006|
|A native of Prattville, Wilson Pickett was raised singing gospel in local churches. Upon moving to Detroit as a teenager, he began to blend gospel-style with rhythm and blues, resulting in some of "the deepest, funkiest soul music" to come from the Deep South.
In 1966, he began working with musicians in Muscle Shoals, Alabama, and it was there that he cut some of his biggest hits, including “Land of a Thousand Dances,” “Mustang Sally” and “Funky . . . — Map (db m70804) HM|
|Alabama (Baldwin County), Orange Beach — Orange Beach, Alabama|
Orange Beach was named for the oranges that were grown here and exported until the hard-freezes of 1916. The orange groves are gone, but the name remained. Drawn here by the game they hunted, the early Indians discovered the seafood bounty of the Gulf of Mexico. The shell mounds and archeological digs give evidence of thousands of years of Indian visits. The Spanish land grants of Samuel Suarez and William Kee were the beginnings of area development. Logging and pine sap . . . — Map (db m66335) HM|
|Alabama (Dallas County), Cahaba — Saltmarsh Hall|
|In the late 1850s, Cahaba experienced a building boom. Everyone expected the town to prosper because of the new railroad. One of the first large brick structures built in this prosperous period was completed in 1856 by Dr. Saltmarsh.
He wanted the town to have a large hall for public occasions. The second floor was fitted up as a concert or exhibition hall. Many fancy dress balls were held here.
A small cellar from this structure is still visible today. — Map (db m23009) HM|
|Alabama (DeKalb County), Fort Payne — Alabama — "The Boys From Fort Payne" — 2006 Country Music Hall of Fame Inductee|
|In the late '60s, cousins Randy Owen and Teddy Gentry discovered they shared a common interest in music. Joined by Jeff Cook, they started playing on a regular basis. Working their day jobs and playing any place they could locally in the evenings, "The Boys In The Band" used what limited spare time they had to compose and practice their unique style of harmony.
In 1973, in tandem with Randy Owen's graduation from Jacksonville State University, The Band said goodbye to their daytime jobs . . . — Map (db m25277) HM|
|Alabama (DeKalb County), Fort Payne — Fort Payne Opera House|
|Opened Sept. 1890. Built during local boom period. Converted into theatre during era of silent movies. Closed as a theatre in October, 1935. Purchased by Landmarks of DeKalb County, Inc. 169. Renovated, restored and reopened to public in 1970. The oldest theatre in Alabama located in a building originally constructed as a theatre.
Listed in National Register of Historic Places and the National Register of 19th Century Theatres in America. — Map (db m28028) HM|
|Alabama (Elmore County), Alexander City — The Hank Williams Kowaliga Cabin — 1952|
|At this site stands the cabin where country music legend Hank Williams composed the song “Kaw-liga” in August, 1952. The song’s title was derived from the name of a Creek Indian town located on the banks of the Kowaliga Creek until 1836.
Hank’s September 23, 1952 recording of “Kaw-liga” reached number one on the country music charts in 1953 and has since been recorded by numerous country and popular music artists.
Built in 1946 by Darwin and Nell Dobbs, the . . . — Map (db m68038) HM|
|Alabama (Escambia County), Brewton — Ritz Theater|
|The Ritz Theater opened its doors on this site
September 14, 1936, and for more than fifty (50) years prided itself as the “Hub of the Brewton
Community.” Between its first feature, “YOURS
FOR THE ASKING” and its last, “CROCODILE DUNDEE,” shown January 22, 1987, the Ritz served as stage for fashion shows, beauty pageants, dances, and various other community events. Stars of the “Grand Ole Opry” and “Hollywood” made live . . . — Map (db m39206) HM|
|Alabama (Etowah County), Gadsden — Gadsden Municipal Amphitheatre — (Legion Park Bowl)|
|Built of local sandstone in 1935 on land obtained from the American Legion Post No. 5 this municipal amphitheatre seating about 1600 was constructed for staging theatrical and sporting events. Gadsden architect Paul W. Hofferbert designed the open-air arena which is a significant example of the rustic stone construction work of the Works Progress Administration in the 1930s. The amphitheatre, the adjacent auditorium, and the swimming pool, all W.P.A. projects, comprised the Gadsden Civic Center . . . — Map (db m39140) HM|
|Alabama (Franklin County), Red Bay — Bay Theater|
|T. A. Wilson built the theater in 1927. Since Red Bay had no electricity at that time, he used a Delco System. Shortly after, electricity became available and he had to switch from Delco to Alabama Power. When he first started in the business, he rented the back of a store on back street. He then built a building near the location of the Community Spirit Bank today.
When the school burned in 1926, some classes were held there. The Red Bay Church of Christ congregation also met in the theater . . . — Map (db m68984) HM|
|Alabama (Franklin County), Russellville — Historic Roxy Theatre|
|The Roxy Theatre was built in 1949. It has served as the center of entertainment and a landmark for Russellville and Franklin County for many years. It is the only one of its kind in Alabama. As movie theatres around the country fell victim to television and other forms of home entertainment, The Roxy Theatre was closed in 1976. It remained unoccupied until it was donated to the Franklin County Arts and Humanities Council on December 31, 1987. The non-profit/volunteer organization has worked . . . — Map (db m41131) HM|
|Alabama (Houston County), Dothan — Johnny Mack Brown|
| Side A Johnny Mack Brown, an outstanding athlete and western movie star, was born in Dothan on September 1, 1904. Johnny Mack was one of nine children born to John Henry and Hattie McGillivray Brown. The Brown family home was located on South Saint Andrews Street, just a few blocks south of this marker. He excelled as an athlete at Dothan High School and was an All-American halfback at the University of Alabama. It was his performance during Alabama’s 1926 Rose Bowl victory over the . . . — Map (db m41142) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — 4th Avenue District|
|The Fourth Avenue "Strip" thrived during a time when downtown privileges for blacks were limited. Although blacks could shop at some white-owned stores, they did not share the same privileges and services as white customers, so they created tailor shops, department stores, cafeterias, billiard parlors, fruit stands, shoe shine shops, laundry service, jewelry and record shops, and taxicab stands. These businesses were distinctively geared toward and managed by blacks. When darkness fell, the . . . — Map (db m26985) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — East Lake Park|
|East Lake was planned in 1886 by the East Lake Land Company to help sell home sites to the men who came in the 1870's to work in Birmingham's steel industry. First named Lake Como, after the lake in the Italian Alps, it soon came to be called East Lake. Using water from Roebuck Springs and Village Creek this 45 acre man - made lake, within a 100 acre park, enhanced the area by providing a year round pleasure resort.
In a short time East Lake Park became a major recreational center of the . . . — Map (db m26678) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — Eddie James Kendrick — December 17, 1937 - October 5, 1992|
|Eddie James Kendrick, nicknamed "cornbread", was born the eldest of five children to Johnny and Lee Bell Kendrick in Union Springs, Alabama.
After attending Western-Olin High School in Ensley, Alabama, Eddie was persuaded by his childhood friend Paul Williams to move to Detroit, Michigan. It was there they formed a singing group called "The Primes". While in Detroit, the duo met Otis Williams of the music group "The Distants". The two groups merged forming the legendary "Temptations". . . . — Map (db m26724) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — Fourth Avenue Historic District.|
Prior to 1900 a "black business district" did not exist in Birmingham. In a pattern characteristic of Southern cities found during Reconstruction, black businesses developed alongside those of whites in many sections of the downtown area.
After the turn of the century, Jim Crow laws authorizing the distinct separation of "the races" and subsequent restrictions placed on black firms forced the growing black business community into an area along Third, Fourth, and Fifth . . . — Map (db m26702) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — The Alabama Theatre — Built 1927|
|Built by the Publix Theater division of Paramount Studios. This movie palace opened on December 26th, 1927. The theatre, in Spanish / Moorish design by Graven and Mayger of Chicago, seated 2500 in a five story, three-tiered auditorium. Paramount's president, Adolph Zukor, named it the "Showplace Of The South". The famous "Mighty Wurlitzer" pipe organ, with 21 sets of pipes, was played for many years by showman Stanleigh Malotte. The Alabama hosted many events including the Miss Alabama Pageant . . . — Map (db m27337) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — The Little Theater Clark Memorial Theatre Virginia Samford Theatre|
|Built in 1937 by Gen. Louis Verdier Clark from a design by architect William T. Warren as a community playhouse for cultural activities. It was recognized as one of the best of its kind in the nation. Mrs. Vassar Allen - first president, Bernard Szold - first director, Hill Ferguson and John Henley were founders.
In 1955, the building was donated by Gen. Clark's family to the University of Alabama at Birmingham, and became known as the Clark Memorial Theatre. Professor James Hatcher . . . — Map (db m27513) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — Tuxedo Junction|
|"Tuxedo Junction" was the street car crossing on the Ensley-Fairfield line at this corner in the Tuxedo Park residential area. It also refers to the fraternal dance hall operated in the 1920's and 1930s on the second floor of the adjacent building, and to the 1939 hit song "Tuxedo Junction", written by Birmingham musician-composer Erskine Hawkins, who grew up nearby and became a well known big band leader in New York City.
"Co-ome on down, forget your care,
Co-ome on . . . — Map (db m25623) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Homewood — Edgewood Lake (Drained 1940's) Birmingham Motor & Country Club / Edgewood Country Club — (Demolished 1930's)|
|The developers of the Town of Edgewood, Stephen Smith and Troupe Brazelton, built the beautiful 117.4 acre lake and clubhouse in 1913-15. Amenities included a swimming pool, dance pavilion, fishing, boating and parking for hundreds of automobiles.
Similar to golf or tennis clubs, this was instead a driving club since the ownership of an automobile was the latest rage. A great race track, designed after the Indianapolis Motor Speedway, was begun and graded but never completed. It's north and . . . — Map (db m26963) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — Ezra Lee Culver|
|With a fourth grade education, Ezra Culver employed his own innovative concrete process in major 20th century projects. His construction experience included work on Yankee Stadium, Lincoln Tunnel and the Florida Keys bridges.
City of Florence
Walk of Honor — Map (db m29269) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — Samuel Cornelius Phillips|
|Known as the "Father of Rock and Roll,"
Sam Phillips established Sun Records in 1952, helping Elvis Presley and other well-known artist launch their careers. He received a Grammy for Lifetime Achievement in music.
City of Florence
Walk of Honor — Map (db m29271) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — Stewart Ernest Cink|
|Winner of both national and international golfing championships, in 2009 Stewart Clink became the first native Alabamian to claim the coveted claret jug as the champion of the British Open in Turnberry, Scotland. — Map (db m56374) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — The Father of Rock ’N’ Roll / Sam Phillips in Florence|
| Side A
Sam Phillips fell in love with the miracle of sound and the unifying power of music. Moving to Memphis, Tennessee, he embraced the beauty of the blues with his early recordings of Howlin Wolf, B.B. King and other delta artists. In 1951 the maverick producer cut the first “Rock ’N’ Roll” record, “Rocket 88.” Three years later he revolutionized American music with his discovery of the dynamic Elvis Presley. His credo was passionate conviction, originality, . . . — Map (db m29270) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — Thomas Sigismund Stribling|
|In 1934, T.S. Stribling won the Pulitzer Prize for The Store, part of a trilogy set in Florence. His story "Birthright" was produced in Hollywood as a silent movie and, later, with sound.
Inducted 2007 — Map (db m29102) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — William Christopher Handy|
|Born in Florence in 1873, W.C. Handy wrote some of the country's most recognizable blues music such as the "St. Louis Blues." He became internationally known as the "Father of the Blues."
City of Florence
Walk of Honor — Map (db m28890) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — William D. "Buddy" Killen|
|Buddy Killen earned international renown as a music publisher, songwriter, record producer and recording artist. He help launch the careers of a host of well-known musicians during the last half of the 20th century.
City of Florence
Walk of Honor — Map (db m28905) HM|
|Alabama (Madison County), Huntsville — Tallulah Bankhead / I. Schiffman Building — 1902-1968 / Birthplace of Tallulah Bankhead — Alabama’s Best-Known Actress|
Tallulah Bankhead was the toast of the London theatre in the 1920's, and nationally renowned for her dramatic roles in “The Little Foxes” (1939), “The Skin of Our Teeth” (1942), the movie “Lifeboat” (1944), and as emcee of the “The Big Show“ (NBC Radio, 1950-52). She was born in Huntsville on January 31, 1902, in an apartment of the I. Schiffman Building (see other side). Her father, then Huntsville City Attorney, was later Speaker . . . — Map (db m27850) HM|
|Alabama (Marengo County), Demopolis — The Demopolis Opera House / Lillian Hellman And — The Little Foxes|
| The Demopolis Opera House In 1876, the town of Demopolis leased the former
Presbyterian Church, a classic brick structure
built in 1843 and occupied by federal troops during
Reconstruction, to the Demopolis Opera Association.
The association revitalized the building as a theater
for live performances and civic lectures. Though
heavily dependent upon local talent, the Opera
House also featured professional actors and entertainers from places such as New York and New
Orleans until . . . — Map (db m38009) HM|
|Alabama (Marengo County), Demopolis — The Demopolis Theater District|
| Side A Establishing a history of theaters in this district, the Braswell Theater introduced its ornate interior to
Demopolis on October 23, 1902, with a performance of
the melodrama Unorna. Built by Frederick Henry Braswell in galleries above his hardware store on Strawberry Avenue, the theater provided a local stage for operas, plays and minstrel shows into the 1920s. A popular silent screen star from Alabama, Henry B. Walthall, appeared live in the drama Taken In at . . . — Map (db m38064) HM|
|Alabama (Mobile County), Bayou La Batre — Bayou La Batre, Alabama|
|The stream near the site, known as Bayou la Batre, was known during the period of French occupation as "Riviere d'Erbane," then as "Rivere la batterie" because of the French artillery battery located on it's banks. The towns name consists of bayou, the Gallicized form of "bok" the Choctaw word for "creek," and "la batre," derived from "la batterie." Clarence Mallet, who was born in St. Martinville, Louisiana moved to Bayou La Batre in 1925. Mallet brought with him a strong belief that God's . . . — Map (db m30359) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Maxwell Air Force Base — The Thunderbirds — The Epitome of Teamwork|
All discipline for the moment seems not to be joyful, but sorrowful, yet, for those who are trained by it, afterwards, it yields the peaceful fruit of righteousness.
Maj. Norman L. Lowry III
Capt. Willie T. Mays
Capt. Joseph "Pete" Peterson
Capt. Mark E. Melancon
We salute your commitment to duty, honor, and country. — Map (db m64484) WM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — Birthplace of Nat "King" Cole|
|Nat King Cole was a jazz pianist, composer, and singer celebrated as an American popular music artist in the 1940s and 1950s.
He was born March 17, 1919 in Montgomery, Alabama as one of five children to Edward James Coles, a minister at Beulah Baptist Church in Montgomery, and Perlina Adams Coles, who sang in the choir. He began formal lessons at the age of 12, eventually learning not only jazz and gospel but also classical music. By age 17, he wrote songs and played jazz piano in his . . . — Map (db m71228) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — Lincoln Cemetery / Rufus Payne, 1884-1939|
In 1907 the American Securities Company opened Lincoln Cemetery for African Americans and Greenwood Cemetery for whites, the first commercial cemeteries in the city. Landscape design indicates Olmstead influences with curving drives and two circular sections. Space allotted for 700 graves with first interment in 1908. Most graves are simple concrete slabs with evidences of African-American funerary art and late-Victorian motifs. Marble markers . . . — Map (db m71342) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — Montgomery City Hall / Funeral for Hank Williams|
| (Front) Built 1936-37 Following a fire in 1932 that destroyed a 19th century City Hall, architect Frank Lockwood designed a replacement for the same site. With the Depression affecting all construction projects during the period, the city received federal assistance through the Works Progress Administration. Completed in 1937, the City Hall included offices for city officials and an auditorium to accommodate large crowds for public programs, debutante balls and social gatherings. . . . — Map (db m36571) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — Montgomery Theatre|
|Opened in Oct. 1860 as the South moved closer to secession, the theatre was significant in the social, cultural and political life of the city. In the early months, John Wilkes Booth performed here, Bryant Minstrels introduced "Dixie," which was transcribed for the Montgomery Brass Band. Southern leaders Robert Toombs, Alexander Stephens and William L. Yancey addressed packed houses. Later the city's location on route between New Orleans and Atlanta brought performers Edwin Forrest, Joseph . . . — Map (db m36572) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — Pickett Springs / “The Best Public Resort”|
| Pickett Springs
Railroad building and amusement park development flourished in the post-bellum South. In 1880s, Western Railroad of Alabama opened Pickett Springs on site of William Harris’s plantation, “Forest Farm;” Harris’s daughter, Sarah, married A. J. Pickett, Alabama’s first historian, and they had their home here until Pickett’s death in 1858.
Pickett Springs occupied portion of land as community of Chisholm developed nearby.
During World War I Camp Sheridan, . . . — Map (db m38900) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — Rosa Parks Montgomery Bus Boycott / Hank Williams Alabama Troubadour|
| Side A
At the bus stop on this site on December 1, 1955, Mrs. Rosa Parks refused to give up her seat to boarding whites. This brought about her arrest, conviction, and fine. The Boycott began December 5, the day of Parks’ trial, as a protest by African - Americans for unequal treatment they received on the bus line. Refusing to ride the buses, they maintained the Boycott until the U. S. Supreme Court ordered integration of public transportation one year later. Dr. Martin Luther . . . — Map (db m28176) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Pike Road — Marks House — Circa 1825|
|Built by William Matthews Marks, who immigrated from Oglethrope County, GA, on acreage purchased from the U.S. land office in Cahaba, AL for $1.25 per acre.
Foundation is pegged-together heart pine; framing is 3" by 9" timbers; mantles, dados, and all the bricks are hand made. Kitchen, baths, a rose garden and pavilion for dancing were added by the Churchill Marks family in the 1920s. The house was purchased by Dr. Haywood B. (Woody) Bartlett in 1957.
In 1967, the movie of Truman's . . . — Map (db m71287) HM|
|Alabama (Morgan County), Decatur — Beauty and Hope — Restoring the Vision...Preserving The Legacy|
|"This section lying between Sixth Avenue and Eight Avenue will provide the central beautification theme as it will evolve into a beautiful elevated rose garden with 2,000 selected roses planted at vantage points... the color ensemble, when complete is expected to be one of rare beauty."
The Decatur Daily December 30, 1933
During the difficult years of the Great Depression, Franklin Delano Roosevelt used park projects to provide a vision of hope in the future. As part of the New Deal . . . — Map (db m53664) HM|
|Alabama (Morgan County), Decatur — Recreation and Refreshment — Restoring the Vision ... Preserving the Legacy|
|"We are definitely in an era of building the best kind of buildings the building of a great projects for the benefit of the public and with the definite objectives of building human happiness".
Franklin Delano Roosevelt
Delano park was created with the democratic vision of a space that provides, recreation and refreshment for all. As part of the "City Beautiful" movement of the late 19th century, parks and greenspaces were important components of sound civic planning. Early known . . . — Map (db m53681) HM|
|Alabama (Morgan County), Decatur — Social and Cultural Opportunites — Restoring the Vision...Preserving The Legacy|
|"It is intended that the city shall be not only a first class business and manufacturing place but at the same time it shall be a delightful place for the home and family."
-Promotional brochure from the Decatur Land Improvement and Furnace Company
While the Industrial Revolution transformed the country, the vision of "Home Sweet Home" was increasingly important. In addition to economic advantages, the town's planners made sure that cultural, social, recreational, educational, and . . . — Map (db m53667) HM|
|Alabama (Perry County), Uniontown — Green Gables — 1928-1983|
|Site of the road-house, Green Gables, built in 1928, which became the social center of the Black Belt. It was known for its lively but restrained atmosphere provided by a dance floor, juke box, and excellent T-bone steaks. Mr. Walter Kemp was the Manager for many years.
The facade of the white board-and-batten building featured a very large gable as its center section. The roof tile and shutters were green. Two cabins built on the premises were later attached as rear rooms to the main . . . — Map (db m70064) HM|
|Alabama (Shelby County), Pelham — Pelham, Alabama / Ballantrae Golf Course|
Pelham, located in Shelby County, Alabama, acquired its name in approximately 1867. It was named for “Gallant Pelham” who fought in the Confederate Army and was killed in action at Kelly’s Ford, Virginia on March 17, 1863 at the young age of 24.Major John Pelham gallantly fought and protected the Confederacy Prison Camp located at Cahawba. The town was officially incorporated on July 10, 1964, at which time it has a population of 654. . . . — Map (db m76260) HM|
|Alabama (Winston County), Arley — The Party Line - The “Talking Machine” — Historic Corner|
|Here was located the switchboard known as “Central”, of Winston Telephone, Arley’s Grand Old Party Line. Built about 1909 by Mimm Wright, with an estimated maximum of 25 phones, she was the pulse of the community. When one phone rang, they all rang; and everybody “listened in”. The system died piece-meal, as she was built, and breathed her last about 1920. Also housed here was one of the earliest known phonographs in the community, owned by Ed Baldwin. People walked for . . . — Map (db m42857) HM|
|Alaska (Fairbanks North Star Borough), Fairbanks — "The Line"|
|Noticeable among the earliest pioneers settling in Fairbanks were prostitutes, women of the demimonde who stampeded to the new Fairbanks gold camp from Dawson, Circle City, Rampart and points beyond. In a city where men far outnumbered women, earnings from prostitution were normally higher than wages for other, more respectable jobs available to women. Still the prostitute’s life and work were hard. Pimps and hangers-on lived off some of the women and squandered their money.|
Tales of the . . . — Map (db m47404) HM
|Alaska (Fairbanks North Star Borough), Fairbanks — Lacey Street Theater (1939) — 504 Second Avenue — (the corner of 2nd & Lacey St)|
|Construction of the Lacey Street Theater began in 1939, and this Art Deco style building opened in 1940. Austin E. “Cap” Lathrop, Fairbanks businessman and financier, was its owner. The Lacey Street Theater, with its distinguished neon sign, ornamental concrete details, and architectural style is a prominent building in downtown Fairbanks. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places on June 14, 1990, the theater is a popular social center in town, showing movies into the . . . — Map (db m58989) HM|
|Alaska (Ketchikan Gateway Borough), Ketchikan — Creek Street — ‘Cat’houses & Sporting Women|
|Ketchikan’s notorious Creek Street, early Alaska’s most infamous red-light district, still retains traces of the gaudy rouge of a half-century of speakeasies and sporting women. Here the fame of Black Mary, Thelma Baker and Dolly Arthur outlived the turnover of many of the girls with “stage” names such as Frenchie, Prairie Chicken, Deep Water Mary and Dirty Neck Maxine. The glow of their porch light globes—inscribed with their names—lured the crews of the North . . . — Map (db m42631) HM|
|Arizona (Coconino County), Grand Canyon National Park — El Tovar Hotel — Begun 1903, Completed 1905|
| Named for Don Pedro de Tovar, the first European to visit the Hopi Indian villages in 1540, the hotel was constructed by Hopi Indian craftsmen at a cost of $250,000 employing logs shipped by train from Oregon and native Kaibab Limestone. The El Tovar Hotel has been host to thousands of visitors since its dedication in 1905 and is operated by the National Parks Division of Fred Harvey, Inc. The El Tovar Hotel has been listed in the Historical Registry of the United States since September 6, 1974. — Map (db m39477) HM|
|Arizona (Coconino County), Grand Canyon National Park — Grandview, 1898|
| "No language can fully describe, no artist paint the beauty, grandeur, immensity and sublimity of this most wonderful production of Nature's great architect. [Grand Canyon] must be seen to be appreciated."
C.O. Hall, Grand Canyon visitor, 1895.
Reports like this from early tourists aroused curiosity and stimulated Grand Canyon tourism.
The year is 1898, and you have come to decide whether the lofty reports you've heard about Grand Canyon are true. Pete Berry, . . . — Map (db m39659) HM|
|Arizona (Coconino County), Grand Canyon National Park — Hopi House — Mary Elizabeth Jane Colter|
| Hopi House opened on January 1, 1905, the first Grand Canyon work of architect Mary Colter. To complement El Tovar, their new hotel, the Fred Harvey Company commissioned Colter to design a building to display and sell Indian arts and crafts. Colter designed Hopi House to resemble a true Indian dwelling, modeling it after structures in the Hopi village of Old Oraibi.
When it opened, Hopi House contained sales areas and a museum. Upper floors housed Hopi families who worked here. Visitors . . . — Map (db m39478) HM|
|Arizona (Coconino County), Wupatki National Monument — The Ballcourt — A Mexican Idea at Wupatki|
| Ballcourts were common in southern Arizona from A.D. 750 to 1200, but relatively rare here in the northern part of the state. This suggests that the people of Wupatki intermingled with their southern Arizona neighbors - the Hohokam - who may have borrowed and modified the ballcourt idea from earlier contact with the Indian cultures of Mexico.
There is continued speculation about the uses of the ballcourts. Because of the work involved in building a ballcourt and the numbers that have been . . . — Map (db m41696) HM|
|Arizona (Pinal County), Oracle — La Casa Del High Jinks — National Register of Historic Places — Historic Site|
|On this site on April 14, 1912, Colonel William F. "Buffalo Bill" Cody – Pony Express rider, plainsman, Indian Wars scout, and Wild West showman – staked the High Jinks gold mine, after investing in Oracle mining for ten years. He sometimes stayed and entertained at a cabin here until his death in 1917.
In the 1920s, Mexican stonemasons helped Cody's foster son Lewis H. "Johnny" Baker, wife Olive Burgess Baker, her sister Marie Burgess Way and husband Forest Ranger Lewis Claude . . . — Map (db m70305) HM|
|Arizona (Yuma County), Yuma — Gandolfo Theater — 1917 — National Register of Historic Places|
|Built by John Gandolfo, this brick landmark served as a 635 seat theater and vaudeville house, a WW II USO canteen and was a center of community activity from 1917 to 1950. The third floor ballroom was destroyed by fire in 1925.
Dedicated December 1999, by the City of Yuma
for the preservation of our heritage.
Mayor Marilyn R. Young
Bobby Brooks – Karen Hill – Louise Renault
Art Everett – Frank Irr – Ema Lea Shoop
Joyce Wilson – . . . — Map (db m28987) HM|
|Arkansas (Phillips County), Helena — KFFA 1360 Helena — Sound from the Soil & Soul|
|The music of the Arkansas Delta is the music of America. With roots in gospel or "church music,"
the blues, jazz, country, and rock n'roll flowed from the rich, fertile landscape bordering the lower Mississippi River and spread out across the country and the world. Follow the Arkansas Delta Music Trail to experience the sounds that shaped the land, its people, and the nation.
KFFA 1630 HELENA
King Biscuit Time
"King Biscuit Time" first aired live on November 21, 1941, on Helena, . . . — Map (db m51908) HM|
|California (Alameda County), Berkeley — American Photoplayer Co. — Cooper Woodworking Buildings — 1912-1920|
|City of Berkeley Landmark
designated in 1986
Over the years this complex housed Cooper Woodworking, the Sperry Flour Company, the American Photoplayer Company, and other industrial and manufacturing enterprises. American Photoplayer manufactured a musical instrument that produced mechanical music “like an orchestra” for use in movie theaters. The company went out of business in the late 1920s when “talkies” were introduced. An elevated sawdust hopper (removed in . . . — Map (db m53818) HM|
|California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Berkeley Y.M.C.A. — City of Berkeley Landmark - designated in 1990 — Benjamin G. McDougall, Architect - 1910|
|Originating among working class Englishmen in 1844, the Young Men's Christian Association was brought to North America in 1851 to promote a "full and balanced life" through religious devotion and athletic activity. Berkeley's charter organization was established in 1903.
Business and service organizations raised the substantial sum of $118,003 to construct this Georgian Revival style building, designed by the architect of the nearby Shattuck Hotel, on land donated by Rosa M. Shattuck and her . . . — Map (db m50295) HM|
|California (Alameda County), Berkeley — John Hinkel Park — Clubhouse: John Gregg, Designer, 1918 — Amphitheater: Vernon Dean, Designer, 1934|
|City of Berkeley Landmark
designated in 2001
In 1919 John and Ada Hinkel donated seven hillside areas to the City of Berkeley in appreciation of the Boy Scouts’ service to the nation during the First World War. Before making their gift, the Hinkels added a playground, trails, a massive stone fireplace, and clubhouse. John Gregg, University of California landscape professor and president of the city’s park commission, contributed to the park design and designed the rustic redwood . . . — Map (db m53849) HM|
|California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Spenger’s Fish Grotto — c. 1890 — City of Berkeley Landmark - Designated in 2001|
|Clam chowder, baked beans and 10¢ beer – these and fish dinners drew crowds to fabled Spenger’s. It all began in the 1860s when Johann Spenger from Bavaria started fishing in the Bay. The gabled structure he built here housed his business and family. In the 1930s, son Frank opened a ground floor restaurant, gradually adding dining rooms and bars as the establishment’s popularity grew. Celebrities from Ernest Hemingway and Clack Gable to Jack Dempsey and Joe DiMaggio rubbed elbows with . . . — Map (db m52303) HM|
|California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Strand (Elmwood) Theater — Albert W. Cornelius, Architect — 1914|
|City of Berkeley Landmark
designated in 1982
Built as the Strand Theater in the Art Nouveau architectural style, this was one of the neighborhood’s first commercial structures. Admission was ten cents for adults, five for children and the theater advertised as “catering to the family.” After closing in 1941, it reopened as the Elmwood in 1947, with a new zigzag Moderne decor. The opening movies were “The Macomber Affair,” starring UC Berkeley alumnus Gregory Peck, and . . . — Map (db m54813) HM|
|California (Alameda County), Fremont — Essanay Film Studio|
|The western branch studio of the Essanay Film Manufacturing Company stood on this site from 1913 to 1933. It was the first movie studio built for that purpose in Northern California.
The Essanay company of 52 people led by movie star cowboy Gilbert M. “Broncho Billy” Anderson arrived in Niles in April 1912, attracted to this community by its favorable weather and Niles Canyon scenery.
Over 100 films were made from their headquarters in a barn on Second Street by the time the . . . — Map (db m63811) HM|
|California (Alameda County), Fremont — Essanay Studio Site — America’s First Hollywood|
|Francis X. Bushman, Charlie Chaplin, Wallace Beery, Marie Dressler, Ben Turpin, Vic “Slippery Sam” Pottel and “Alkalie (sic) Ike” starred here 1910/1912. Earliest films starred Gilbert Anderson (Max Aronson) alias “Bronco Billy,” 1958 Oscar winner. What colorful secrets echo thru Niles Canyon, these streets and bungalows of Niles glorious past. — Map (db m64009) HM|
|California (Alameda County), Oakland — Jefferson Square Park|
Oakland was shaped
by seven GREEN SQUARES
Downtown’s living rooms
now only five
Parks bring out the
Goodness of good people — Map (db m72832) HM|
|California (Alameda County), Oakland — 884 — Paramount Theatre|
|This is a superior rendering of the "Art Deco" or "Moderne" style of movie palace built during the rise of the motion picture industry. The Paramount, which opened on December 16, 1931, is the most ambitious theatre design of architect Timothy L. Pflueger. Restored in 1973, it has retained an exceptional unity of style.
California Registered Historical Landmark No. 884
Plaque placed by State Department of Parks and Recreation in cooperation with the Theatre Historical Society, December 16, 1976 — Map (db m54073) HM|
|California (Alameda County), Pleasanton — Rancho El Valle de San Jose|
|This grandstand is located on a portion of the historic Rancho El Valle de San Jose, granted to Pico, Sunol and Bernal by Mexico in 1839 forming part of Mission San Jose lands. Early settlers trained and raced horses here over 100 years ago. — Map (db m65971) HM|
|California (Amador County), Ione — Ione's Annual Picnic|
|In 1876 Ione’s Annual Picnic moved from Shakeley Hill to this location. The 100 acre park is part of an 1840 land grant and was leased to the city by the Howard Estate May 11, 1967. The park during it’s early years hosted many of the important horse events of the day. Today horse shows and horse racing are still part of the celebration held the first weekend in May. — Map (db m42400) HM|
|California (Butte County), Oroville — Oroville State Theatre|
|Oroville State Theatre
has been placed on the
of Historic Places
by the United State
Department of the Interior
Built 1928 — Map (db m61555) HM|
|California (Butte County), Oroville — The American|
|Site of First Theater in Oroville
(Seal of the American Revolution Bicentennial 1776-1976) — Map (db m65838) HM|
|California (Contra Costa County), Lafayette — Lafayette Town Hall|
|Community spirit led to construction of this hall by the Lafayette Improvement Club. Land was donated by Frank and Rose Ghiglione with funds and labor provided by the townspeople. A grand opening ball and midnight supper were held on May 1, 1914. Since then the town has been a center of community life.
Town Hall was declared a city landmark in 1978.
Lafayette Historical Society 1978 — Map (db m49861) HM|
|California (Contra Costa County), Port Costa — The Burlington Hotel — Established 1883|
|Port Costa's old timers are quite certain that the rumor of the Burlington Hotel being a bordello is untrue. Their reasoning is that the respected owners and their families lived nearby, therefore it could not have been a bordello.
However, the archives of the Ancient and Honorable Order of E Clampus Vitus will once and for all put to rest these rumors. Our records indicate that not only was the Burlington Hotel a bordello, but it was highly ranked among the California bordellos of the era. . . . — Map (db m57971) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Placerville — The Forum Café / Union Hotel / United States Trio Hall / The Forum Café / The Blue Bell Café — The Bookery|
Saloons and gambling halls provided the main form of entertainment for miners during the gold rush. One of Old Hangtown’s largest gaming halls, The United States Trio, once stood on this site. Owner and entrepreneur, Benjamin Nickerson, first engaged in the business of promoting the short-lived bloody sport of bull and bear and donkey fighting on Circus Hill. When public opinion shut his bull ring down, Nickerson turned his marketing skills toward liquor and cards. The gaming tables of his . . . — Map (db m65251) HM|
|California (Fresno County), Coalinga — Bordagaray’s — One of the “Oldest Bars in the West”|
|Dominique Bordagaray was born in St. Jean Pied de Port, Basses Pyrenees, France. Immigrated to the United States in 1893. Moved to Fresno Co. in 1895 and worked as a sheepherder until 1908. He established a sheep shearing camp at “Turk”, 9 miles east of Coalinga. Here he became the first man to use modern sheep shearing clippers. He homesteaded 140 acres 11 miles east of Coalinga. He also bought 6 lots on “C” street near Fifth. In 1904 he built a row of store buildings . . . — Map (db m64062) HM|
|California (Fresno County), Coalinga — Coalinga Opera House — Opened Nov. 22, 1907 – Burned July 29, 1910|
|During its short life, the Coalinga Opera House presented the top entertainers of the time. Coalinga was a boomtown with considerable wealth and the town’s people could afford the very best. Located directly across the street was the Grand Central Hotel. No doubt it housed many fine performers. Explosion of gasoline in the rear of the “Seaman Bros. Dyeing and Cleaning Establishment” caused a fire that burned a quarter of Coalinga’s busiest business section. Some seventeen business . . . — Map (db m64163) HM|
|California (Fresno County), Coalinga — Coalinga’s Notorious Whiskey Row “1909”|
|F St., sometimes Front St., now Forest St. Established after the railroad was built in 1888 on one-half city block directly across from the Depot. Parts of the row burned many times over the years, always to be rebuilt. The final demise of the Row’s buildings came with the Earthquake of 1983.
(The list of Whiskey Row businesses does not appear to be coordinated with the illustration on the marker.)
1. The Cornet Saloon. Coalinga’s First Saloon was located at 101 E. F. St. on the . . . — Map (db m64081) HM|
|California (Fresno County), Coalinga — Liberty “Airdome Theater” — Built in 1904 – Terminated with the advent of “talkies” and evaporating coolers.|
|Built by Dominique Bordagaray, who emigrated from St. Jean Pied de Port, Basses Pyrenees France. Soon after Coalinga began building he bought six lots on “C” St. and fifth, where he built a row of store buildings. In one of these he ran a French laundry. Some years later they were destroyed by fire and he built the “Liberty Airdome Theater.” Not to be confused with the “Liberty Theater” it stood in the spot later to become the J.C. Penney Co. building (Corner . . . — Map (db m63969) HM|
|California (Humboldt County), Arcata — 28 — Minor Theatre — Classic Commercial Style - 1914 — Architect: Franklin Georgeson|
|The nation's oldest theatre built for feature films was opened on December 3, 1914, by Isaac Minor with a silent film based on Charles Dickens' "The Chimes" directed by Herbert Blaché starring Tom Terriss.
Arcata Historic Landmark #28
This program is possible through a partnership with property owners, City of Arcata, Arcata Main Street and Historical Sites Society of Arcata — Map (db m60930) HM|
|California (Humboldt County), Eureka — Weaver Building — Stick-Eastlake Architecture - 1892 — Eureka Historic Landmark|
|Two cantilevered square bays; saloon downstairs; brothel upstairs; later Bluebird Cabaret with dime a dance.
This program made possible through a partnership with property owner Diane Barmore, Eureka Main Street, and the Eureka Heritage Society. — Map (db m61222) HM|
|California (Humboldt County), Ferndale — Ferndale Palace Saloon|
|Circa 1890. Furthest westernly bar in the continental United States.
Dedicated February 13, 1993 by the Native Sons of the Golden West. Harley M. Harty, Grand President
In memory of Joseph G. Oeschger PGP — Map (db m65266) HM|
|California (Inyo County), Death Valley — Amargosa Opera House|
|This building was originally built by the Pacific Coast Borax Company in 1924. The original name of the facility was Corkill Hall, and was the social center for Death Valley Junction between 1924 to 1948.
Between the years 1948 to 1967, Corkill Hall was abandoned as Death Valley Junction began to decline.
In 1967 Marta Becket discovered the abandoned building, and transformed it into the Amargosa Opera House which officially opened February 10, 1968. — Map (db m51545) HM|
|California (Inyo County), Lone Pine — Lone Pine Film Museum|
|This Plaque Presented to The Beverly and Jim Rogers Lone Pine Film Museum to Honor Masons and Shriners.
Dedicated to all Masons and Shriners who appeared in movies filmed in the Alabama Hills, Lone Pine and surrounding areas. Presented by Kerak Shrine and Inyo Mono Shrin Club. Steve Sanders, Potentate & Bob Hayner, President
October 2007 — Map (db m72578) HM|
|California (Inyo County), Lone Pine — Movie Flats|
|Since 1920, hundreds of movies and TV episodes, including Gunga Din, How The West Was Won, Khyber Rifles, Bengal Lancers, and High Sierra, along with, The Lone Ranger and Bonanza, with such stars as Tom Mix, Hopalong Cassidy, Roy Rogers, Gary Cooper, Gene Autry, Glen Ford, Humphrey Bogart, and John Wayne, have been filmed in these rugged Alabama Hills with their majestic Sierra Nevada background. Plaque dedicated by Roy Rogers, whose first starring feature was filmed here in 1933. — Map (db m52103) HM|
|California (Kern County), Johannesburg — 15 — Red Mountain|
|One of the richest silver strikes occurred in the community of Red Mountain. The Kelly and Grady claims started a silver boom which brought prosperity to this region in the 1900's. In one 60 day period over $170,000 in silver was mined from a hole less than 75 feet deep. — Map (db m50636) HM|
|California (Kern County), Red Mountain — 6 — The Owl Hotel|
|The Owl Hotel
where the action was!
Dedicated to Hattie, Little
Eva and the girls of the line.
While the men mined silver,
they dug for gold. — Map (db m50218) HM|
|California (Lassen County), Westwood — Westwood Club|
|Built in 1914 by the Red River Lumber Co. as a mens club. The club had a pool room, card room, cafe, tobacco shop and a bar. It burned in 1944 and was rebuilt in 1945. Bought by George & Vera Young in 1957 & was turned into a market. Their son Mike now runs the store continuing a 50 year service to the community. — Map (db m66083) HM|
|California (Los Angeles County), Altadena — 990 — Christmas Tree Lane|
|The 135 Deodar Cedar trees were planted in 1885 by the Woodbury Family, the founders of Altadena. First organized by F.C. Nash in 1920, the "Mile of Christmas Trees" has been strung with 10,000 lights each holiday season through the efforts of volunteers and the Christmas Tree Lane Association. It is the oldest large-scale Christmas lighting spectacle in Southern California. — Map (db m50989) HM|
|California (Los Angeles County), Carson — Robert A. Cinader|
|Robert A. Cinader's involvement with the Los Angeles County Fire Department began in 1971 when he filmed a pilot television movie about the county's fledgling paramedic program.
"Emergency" aired in 1972 and ran as a prime time show for five years with a weekly audience of 13 million people. The show brought attention and acclaim to the Los Angeles County Fire Department.
More importantly, it showed public officials across the nation that lives could be saved by local paramedic programs. . . . — Map (db m50349) HM|
|California (Los Angeles County), Culver City — 7 — The Culver Studios|
|On this site in 1919, the Colonial Administration Building of what was to become one of Culver City's three major motion picture studios was completed. Built by and first producing film as the Thomas H. Ince Studios, it later became known as DeMille Studios, RKO, Pathe, RKO-Pathe, Selznick, Desilu, Culver City Studios, and most recently Laird International. On the back lot, such famous scenes as the "Burning of Atlanta" for Gone with the Wind were filmed. — Map (db m49955) HM|
|California (Los Angeles County), Hawthorne — 1041 — Site of the Childhood Home of The Beach Boys|
|It was here in the home of parents Murry and Audree that Brian, Dennis, and Carl Wilson grew to manhood and developed their musical skills. During Labor Day weekend 1961, they, with cousin Mike Love and friend Al Jardine, gathered here to record a tape of their breakthrough song "Surfin'." This marked the birth of the rock group known worldwide as The Beach Boys, and the beginning of an historic musical legacy that would change the recording industry. The music of the Wilsons, Love, Jardine, . . . — Map (db m59320) HM|
|California (Los Angeles County), Hollywood — Award of Excellence KTLA-TV|
|Award of Excellence KTLA-TV
The first television station west of the Mississippi, KTLA-5 has been a part of Los Angeles broadcasting since January 22, 1947. — Map (db m32469) HM|
|California (Los Angeles County), Hollywood — The Hollywood Reporter|
|The first entertainment trade paper
founded in Hollywood, California
September 3, 1930 — Map (db m32462) HM|
|California (Los Angeles County), Los Angeles — Apex / Club Alabam — Historic Central Avenue Jazz Corridor — 42nd St. [sic] and Central Av.|
| Curtis Mosby, the conductor of the Dixieland Blue Blowers, opened the Apex on Thanksgiving 1928. The classy nightclub was home to revues featuring beautiful showgirls in extravagant costumes. Johnny Otis led the house band, but Alabam was the most popular stage for known jazz musicians who were on Central Avenue. — Map (db m51175) HM|
|California (Los Angeles County), Los Angeles — 535 — Hollywoodland's Granite Retaining Walls and Interconnecting Granite Stairs|
Retaining Walls and
Built 1923 Declared 1991
Historic-Cultural Monument No. 535 — Map (db m31537) HM|
|California (Los Angeles County), Los Angeles — James Dean — 1931 - 1955|
|Key scenes from the
classic motion picture "Rebel Without a Cause"
were filmed at the Griffith Observatory
in Spring 1955. Although many movies
have been filmed at Griffith Observatory,
"Rebel Without a Cause"was the first to
portray the Observatory as what it is and to contribute positively to the
Observatory's International reputation.
This monument acknowledges Griffith Observatory's long and continuous
involvement with Hollywood film
production by remembering the young
star of . . . — Map (db m20240) HM|
|California (Los Angeles County), Los Angeles — Merced Theatre — El Pueblo de Los Angeles|
|The Merced Theatre was built in 1870 and is one of the oldest structures erected in Los Angeles for the presentation of dramatic performances. It served as the center of theatrical activity in the city from 1871 to 1876. The theatre was built by William Abbot, the son of Swiss immigrants who settled in Los Angeles in 1854. In 1858, he married the woman for whom he would name the theatre, Maria Merced Garcia, the daughter of Jose Antonio Garcia and Maria Guadalupe Uribe, who were long-time . . . — Map (db m50952) HM|
|California (Los Angeles County), Los Angeles — Site of the Vine Street Brown Derby — 1628 Vine Street — #22|
|The most famous Hollywood restaurant of its day, the Brown Derby opened Valentine's Day, 1929. Owner Robert Cobb was also the inventor of the Cobb Salad. He originated furnishing telephones at tables during mealtime. celebrities popularity was gauged by the number of phone pages they received. Clark Gable proposed to Carole Lombard here in booth 54. Caricatures of movie stars decorated the walls. Damaged by fire and later by earthquake, it was demolished in 1994. — Map (db m17517) HM|
|California (Los Angeles County), Los Angeles — The Downbeat Club — Historic Central Avenue Jazz Corridor — 4201 Central Avenue|
| The Down Beat was part of what was known during the War years as “Little Harlem”. It was a popular destination for Hollywood celebrities and the upper-class residents of Beverly Hills. Buddy Collete created his Stars of Swing in 1946 at the Down Beat. The show featured Collette on saxophone and clarinet, Charles Mingus (bass), John Anderson (trumpet), Oscar Bradley (drums), Spaulding Givens (piano), Lucky Thompson (tenor saxophone), and Britt Woodman (trombone). — Map (db m51234) HM|
|California (Los Angeles County), Pacoima — 716 — The Griffith Ranch|
| Originally part of the San Fernando mission lands, this ranch was purchased by David Wark Griffith, revered pioneer of silent motion pictures in 1912, it provided the locale for many western thrillers, including "Custer's Last Stand", and was the inspiration for the immortal production, "Birth of a Nation." It was acquired by Fritz B. Burns in 1948, who has perpetuated the Griffith name in memory of the great film pioneer. — Map (db m54717) HM|
|California (Los Angeles County), Santa Monica — The Santa Monica Pier Carousel|
|The Hippodrome (also known as the "Carousel Building") was built in 1916 by famous carousel carver Charles I.D. Looff. Its unique combination of Byzantine, Moorish, and California design made it easily identifiable among the festive, eclectic architecture of Santa Monica Bay in the early 20th century.
Among the last of its kind, the building was inaugurated into the National Register of Historic Places in 1987. The carousel housed inside a 1922 Philadelphia Toboggan Company Carousel (PTC . . . — Map (db m54160) HM|
|California (Marin County), San Rafael — The Belrose Theater|
| In 1976
the Cultural Affairs Commission
designated this building,
by virtue of its Gothic window,
historically & culturally
of major significance.
In 1913 St. Matthew's
German Evangelical Church
built this structure
at a cost of $5,000.
The Trinity Lutheran Church
bought it in 1942.
The Belrose Family purchased
the building in 1962 to serve
as a community theater,
a theatrical school, & as
the Belrose home.
A theatrical shop was added in 1981. "The . . . — Map (db m63858) HM|
|California (Marin County), Tiburon — 1925 Victorian Saloon — 35 Main Street|
|Bay access provided a source of illegal spirits during Prohibition. — Map (db m69360) HM|
|California (Mono County), June Lake — Legend of June Lake Slot Machines|
|During the 1930's in central Mono County, demand for gaming entertainment skyrocketed with the influx of hundreds of employees working on the Mono Basin Project. To accommodate the workers, many local bars and cafes installed slot machines. Although illegal, there use in Mono County thrived for many years. Unfortunately, upon completion of the aqueduct in 1941 and transfer of all workers, demand for this activity diminished. Within a few years most slot machines were voluntarily removed. It was . . . — Map (db m37585) HM|
|California (Mono County), Lee Vining — Mono Lake|
| These Plaques Featuring Little Known
and Forgotten Facts About Mono Lake
E Clampus Vitus
Bodie Chapter No. 64
September 13, 2013
Mono Lake - Land of Many Uses
Except for fishing, this "inland sea" has been a lake of many uses over the years. (commercial, industrial, recreational, military, medicinal, etc.) starting in the 1800s and by the 1910s, in and around this body of water, oil drilling and mineral extraction activities took place. By the 1900s it became the . . . — Map (db m72569) HM|
|California (Mono County), Lee Vining — Upside-Down House|
|A distinctive local landmark and nationally renowned tourist attraction. It was the creation of - Nellie Bly O’Bryan (1893–1984), visionary, entrepreneur and long time resident of the Mono Basin.
Originally, located along US-395 north of the Tioga Lodge, it was inspired by two children’s stories—“Upside Down Land” and “The Upsidedownians.” Upon her death in 1984 The Upside-Down House fell into disrepair until....October 9, 2000 when it was rescued and . . . — Map (db m10167) HM|
|California (Mono County), Mammoth — Dave McCoy|
|Pioneering Eastern Sierra skier, visionary and entrepreneur, Dave McCoy's passion for skiing began in high school and soon thereafter he joined the Eastern
Sierra Ski Culb. In 1936, Dave was hired by Ladwp as a hydrographer, conducting snow surveys while skiing across the Eastern Sierra. Realizing the region had abundant snowfall, Dave began to dream of developing a ski area in the Eastern Sierra. In 1938, he built the region's firs permanent rope tow at McGee Mountain.
In 1941, Dave and . . . — Map (db m59340) HM|
|California (Monterey County), Gonzales — The Stag Saloon|
| (There are two markers mounted on the monument.)
Built in 1873, it is the oldest structure in Gonzales. It became a saloon in 1890 and has never strayed from such an honorable enterprise since that time.
It was right behind you.
Close your eyes and imagine sounds
From the past, swinging doors, the
Clink of glasses, a toast to someone.
Gone, But Not Forgotten — Map (db m64257) HM|
|California (Monterey County), Marina — Stilwell Hall: A Fond Memory — Fort Ord Dunes State Park|
|For the two million servicemen and women who passed through Fort Ord, the entertainment center that once occupied this site provided welcome relief from rigorous military training. The Soldier’s Club, later renamed Stilwell Hall, featured a huge ballroom, elegant reading rooms and what many have been California’s longest bar. The time spent here is a favorite memory for veterans and the local residents who socialized with them. — Map (db m68882) HM|
|California (Monterey County), Monterey — Golden State Theatre|
| Built in 1926 and designed by Reid Brothers, architects of many California landmarks, this theatre was the first to show sound movies on the Monterey Peninsula.
Old Monterey Hotel * Across Street
Casa Sanchez * Across Street
See map on reverse * www.historicmonterey.org — Map (db m63518) HM|
|California (Monterey County), Monterey — Hurray for Hollywood — Historic Cannery Row|
|Ever since Thomas Edison’s movie camera captured those first quick, flickering moments of time, Hollywood has been coming to Monterey. More than 60 feature films have been shot in Monterey, and Cannery Row has been one of Hollywood’s favorite locations. In 1932 Zita Johnson and a young Edward G. Robinson starred in Tiger Shark, a dark tale of a tuna fisherman who marries the daughter of a crewman killed by a tiger shark (top).
Actor Ben Lyon is seen photographing the cameraman on a . . . — Map (db m55194) HM|
|California (Monterey County), Pacific Grove — 839 — Chautauqua Hall|
|The first Chautauqua in the west. Organized at Pacific Grove in June 1879, for the presentation of “moral attractions” and “the highest grade of concerts and entertainment.” Known world wide as “Chautauqua-by-the-Sea,” it made Pacific Grove an unequalled (sic) cultural center.
Historical Landmark No. 839
Plaque placed by the State Department of Parks and Recreation in cooperation with the City of Pacific Grove, July 20, 1970 — Map (db m63664) HM|
|California (Monterey County), Pacific Grove — Glass Bottom Boat — The Swan Boats of Pacific Grove|
| These boats were first introduced here at Lovers Point in the early 1890s. Launched from the narrow cove's wooden pier, the boats offered passengers a canopied window to the underwater flora and fauna around Lovers Point.
Nathaniel Roscoe "Dad" Sprague owned and operated a small fleet of these boats for more than 50 years. His son Russell took over the concession in 1948. Later, the boats operated under a variety of owners until the mid 1970s.
This replica boat was designed by Monterey . . . — Map (db m41574) HM|
|California (Monterey County), Pacific Grove — John Denver — Henry John Deutschendorf, Jr.|
|In Commemoration of
Henry John Deutschendorf, Jr.
Dedicated September 23, 2007
at the site of crash of John’s plane, Long EZ N555JD
“... So welcome the wind and the wisdom she offers,
Follow her summons when she calls again,
In your heart and your spirit let the breezes surround you,
Lift your heart and your spirit then sing with the wind ...”
- “Windsong” by John Denver and Joe Henry –
Love from the . . . — Map (db m63662) HM|
|California (Napa County), St. Helena — White Sulphur Springs|
|Situated on what was once a Mexican Land Grant to Dr. Edward Bale, White Sulphur Springs was discovered in 1848 and a resort was opened in 1852, making this California’s oldest. Wealthy San Franciscans traveled here in the latter half of the 19th century by steamer across the Bay to Soscol Landing 4 miles south of Napa, and then by train and stage. The resort lost at least three grand hotels to fire during those years and in its prime was able to accommodate 1000 guests. For over 140 years this . . . — Map (db m54610) HM|
|California (Napa County), Yountville — Yountville Community Hall|
|Built in 1926 on land donated to the Catholic archbishop by the DeBenadetti Family. The hall opened April 17, 1926 and soon became the focal point of social life throughout the Valley.
In 1956 use of the hall was restricted to church functions and called the St. Joan of Arc Hall.
The City of Yountville purchased the hall in 1965 and used a small portion for city hall. The building was again used for social functions and recreation.
Remodeled and dedicated to "The People of . . . — Map (db m49365) HM|
|California (Nevada County), Nevada City — Kidd & Knox Building — 1856|
|Major commercial building since Gold Rush. Early offices of Judges, lawyers, statesmen including U.S. Senators A.A. Sargent, Wm. Morris Stewart, Calif. Supreme Court Chief Justices Niles Searls, Lorenzo Sawyer were here. Site of dramatic hall where Edwin Booth, Lola Montez, Kate Hayes performed. — Map (db m40278) HM|
|California (Nevada County), Nevada City — 863 — Nevada Theater|
|California’s oldest existing theater building. The Nevada opened September 9, 1865. Celebrities such as Mark Twain, Jack London and Emma Nevada have appeared on its stage. Closed in 1957. The theater was later purchased through public donations and reopened May 17, 1968, to again serve the cultural needs of the community. — Map (db m10828) HM|
|California (Nevada County), Nevada City — Powell Home|
|Built in 1855 as the edifice of the Baptist Church, it was here that famed soprano Emma Nevada (Emma Wixom Palmer) made her debut at the age of three. In 1886 the church was remodeled as the residence of the E.T.R. Powell family — Map (db m14824) HM|
|California (Nevada County), Nevada City — The Flagg Building — The Eternal Saloon|
|Built in 1856 on the site of the U.S. Hotel, this brick edifice has served Nevada City as the Council Chamber, Schreiber’s and since 1957 Eddie Furano’s Bank Club. Here at Schreiber’s Felix, the marvelous mysterious music box thundered Strauss waltzes and ‘Carmen’ to generations with custom and good cheer. — Map (db m40273) HM|
|California (Orange County), Buena Park — 20 — Knotts Berry Farm|
|Founded as a 10-acre farm in 1920 by Cordella and Walter Knott, developer of the boysenberry. From berry fields came a tea room, berry market, nursery and one of the Nation's oldest themed amusement partks now on 150 acres with authentic replicas of a ghost town, gold mine, and our Independence Hall. — Map (db m50002) HM|
|California (Orange County), Fountain Valley — 26 — Fountain Valley Drive-In|
|Opened on July 12, 1967 and was part of the Pacific Theater Group. The Nations largest Drive-In and it contained the only fountains in town. Demolished in 1984 — Map (db m59759) HM|
|California (Orange County), Fountain Valley — 2, 4 & 16 — Original Circus Site / First Post Office / Country Stores|
|Original Circus Site
The Escalante Circus placed its tent here for its annual performance. The circus parade started here, moved east to Ward, north to Warner, west to Wintersberg (now in Huntington Beach) and returned.
First Post Office
In 1899 a Post Office was established in Fountain Valley in the Country Store. Renamed Talbert due to duplication. Combined with Santa Ana in 1907. Redesignated Fountain Valley in 1957.
Between 1896 and 1898 a country . . . — Map (db m59053) HM|
|California (Orange County), Newport Beach — 959 — Balboa Pavilion|
|This is one of California's last surviving examples of the great waterfront recreational pavilions from the turn of the century. Built in 1905 by the Newport Bay Investment Company, it played a prominent role in the development of Newport Beach as a seaside recreation area. In 1906, it became the southern terminus for the Pacific Electric Railway, connecting the beach with downtown Los Angeles. The railway's red cars connected the beach with Los Angeles in only one hour. — Map (db m50338) HM|
|California (Orange County), Newport Beach — 35 — Rendezvous Ballroom|
|Built near this site in 1928, the Rendezvous became a showcase for Big Bands, especially during "Bal Week." For 38 years, the sounds of dance music echoed from this block-long ballroom, which was destroyed by fire in 1966. The music and dancing have ended, but the memories linger on. — Map (db m50019) HM|
|California (Plumas County), Chester — Mt. Lassen Club|
|Built in 1911 by Judge Gay, it was the first grocery store between Susanville and Red Bluff. On May 27, 1932 Gordon Purdy turned it into a bar named the Mt. Lassen Club. Margaret and Lee Baker became the club’s owners in August of 1963. Now the official watering hole of ECV Outpost 1911, this saloon has seen many good times, fights, gambling and even a cowboy riding his horse through the bar. This bar is now owned by Margaret and John Zukosky. — Map (db m56736) HM|
|California (Plumas County), La Porte — Lotta Crabtree|
|Charlotte (Lotta) Mignon Crabtree, born November 7, 1847, New York City. Moved to Grass Valley California in late spring of 1853. In the fall of 1854, the Crabtrees moved to Rabbit Creek (La Porte). Mart Taylor, a saloon owner with a small theater, taught Lotta to do the jig and the reel, also sentimental ballads. In 1855, a child of eight, Lotta gave her first public performance in Rabbit Creek and a fairy star was born. Lotta entertained the miners in the gold fields of California. A . . . — Map (db m56298) HM|
|California (Plumas County), Quincy — Oakland Camp|
|Mr. J.B. Nash, often referred to as “The Father of Recreation” was Superintendent of the Oakland Recreation Dept. from 1917-1926. He recognized the value of people working and playing together in a camp setting & loved the outdoors. In 1921, he leased land from the National Forest Service & launched the camping program in Oakland. — Map (db m66158) HM|
|California (San Benito County), Hollister — State Theatre|
|The State Theatre opened on July, 25, 1930, featuring The Social Lion. The terrazzo sidewalk is all that remains on the once “handsome theatre.” — Map (db m55216) HM|
|California (San Benito County), Tres Pinos — Cottage Corners|
|First saloon serving steam beer in this area. Has been here for over 100 years. Owned and operated for many years by Steve Kaelin. Presently owned by Lydia C. and Ray L. Dassel. — Map (db m62925) HM|
|California (San Bernardino County), Pioneertown — 112 — Pioneertown|
|Pioneertown was founded in 1946 by a group of Hollywood personalities led by cowboy actors Dick Curtis and Russell Hayden as a permanent 1880s town for filming western movies. On Sept 1, 1946 Roy Rogers broke ground for the first buildings. Assisted by the Sons of the Pioneers from whom the town takes its name, over 200 movies and TV serials were filmed here as were an unknown number of background shots for other productions. TV westerns including the Gene Autry Show, Cisco Kid, Annie Oakley, . . . — Map (db m50778) HM|
|California (San Bernardino County), Trona — Austin Hall|
|Austin Hall, the much loved focal point of the Trona community, once stood on this site. Built in 1912 the unique structure, with its one-foot thick concrete walls, boasted 45 arches on three sides, the building provided a cooling shelter from the blazing heat with its patio center and oleander trees. Early employees were housed and fed in its spacious rooms and eventually all the town’s businesses were housed here. The patio became an open-air theatre with adjoining pool hall, a barber shop, . . . — Map (db m51859) HM|
|California (San Diego County), Carlsbad — 1020 — Leo Carrillo Ranch — (Rancho de Los Kiotes)|
|Between 1937 and 1940, these adobe and wood buildings were built by actor Leo Carrillo as a retreat, working ranch, and tribute to old California culture and architecture. The Leo Carrillo Ranch, with its Flying "LC" brand, originally covered 2,538 acres and was frequented by Carrillo and his friends until 1960. Leo Carrillo was a strong, positive, and well-loved role model who sought to celebrate California's early Spanish heritage, through a life of good deeds and charitable causes. — Map (db m51105) HM|
|California (San Diego County), Coronado — Dragon Tree — Dracaema Draco, agavaceae — Hotel Del Coronado|
|Native to the Canary Islands this unusual tree was planted at The Del prior to the turn of the century where it thrives in our temperate southern California coastal climate.
The Dragon Tree was used as a backdrop in the Marilyn Monroe movie Some Like It Hot, which was filmed at The Del in 1958. — Map (db m70552) HM|
|California (San Diego County), San Diego — Balboa Park|
|The city’s haven for culture and leisure
San Diego’s Cultural Oasis
Located just minutes away from downtown San Diego, Balboa Park provides an enriching experience for more than 14 million visitors from near and far each year. Referred to as “the Smithsonian of the West,” it is home to more than 85 cultural attractions including 15 museums, the Globe Theatres, and the world-famous San Diego Zoo. Balboa Park is equally as famous, however, as a horticultural paradise, where . . . — Map (db m73907) HM|
|California (San Diego County), San Diego — Balboa Theatre|
|The Balboa Theatre
Has been placed on the
of Historic Places
by the United States
Department of the Interior
1924 — Map (db m51457) HM|
|California (San Diego County), San Diego — Downtown San Diego|
|"Go forth, with spirit, the civic vision, and the courage to build the city of your dreams." —Alonzo E. Horton
A Vibrant New Town
The most striking evidence of the city’s downtown renaissance is its skyline. From the sculptural spires of contemporary office buildings to the preservation of vintage architecture, San Diego is constantly evolving. The history of modern San Diego began in 1867 when Alonzo E. Horton purchased nearly 1,000 acres along the harbor. Today, his vision . . . — Map (db m73906) HM|
|California (San Diego County), San Diego — 10 — Frey Block, 1911|
|The Frey Block Building contains a rich ethnic history. In its first few years, the Frey brothers from France operated a second hand store here. The site later housed several Oriental restaurants. Near one entrance, one can find a tile advertisement for the Kong Nam Cafe. In the 1950s, the corner became Crossroads Jazz Club, one of San Diego's most significant cultural landmarks. A showcase for local African-American talent, it was the birthplace of San Diego's jazz scene. — Map (db m52690) HM|
|California (San Diego County), San Diego — 65 — The Whaley House|
|Built by Thomas Whaley in 1856-57, this is the oldest brick structure in Southern California. In addition to being the home of the Whaley Family, it served variously as granary, store, courthouse and school, and as the town’s first theater. Whaley’s home was the cultural center of San Diego as well as its most luxurious residence. — Map (db m11645) HM|
|California (San Diego County), Santee — KCBQ “Top 40” Personalities — 1958 to 1978|
[ Upper Plaque: ]
In 1958, here at 9416 Mission Gorge Road, then owner Lee Bartell built the KCBQ AM 1170 radio broadcast facility with its 50,000 watt transmitter and six two-hundred foot towers. For many years, KCBQ AM 1170 was San Diego's only 50,000 watt AM radio station. From this location, between 1958 and 1978, many legendary radio personalities broadcast the best "Top 40" music, news, and entertainment to all of San Diego County. During this period, KCBQ AM 1170 was one of . . . — Map (db m35120) HM|
|California (San Francisco City and County), San Francisco — CHL 86 — California Theatre|
|On this site
January 18, 1869
The California Theatre
Built by William C. Ralston
Opened with the following stock company
John McCullough • Lawrence Barrett • Harry Edwards • Willie Edouin • E.B. Holmes • William Mestayer • John T. Raymond • W.F. Burroughs • W.H. Sedley Smith • John Wilson • Edward J. Buckley • Mrs. Judah Emelie Melville • Elizabeth Sanders • Annette Ince • Marie E. Gordon • Sophie Edwin • Minnie Walton • Julia Buckley
This theatre remained a brilliant . . . — Map (db m72137) HM|
|California (San Francisco City and County), San Francisco — Fort Mason Historic District — Revived San Francisco host 1915 world’s fair!|
|The Panama Pacific International Exposition, 635 acres of grand imagination, proclaimed to the world that San Francisco was fully recovered from the 1906 earthquake. Exhibition-filled palaces were built on filled marshlands between Fort Mason and the Presidio (now the Marina district). Enormous replicas of Yellowstone Park and the Grand Canyon were constructed here at Fort Mason – a likely location, given the army’s role as steward of national parks at the time. The nine month fair . . . — Map (db m70001) HM|
|California (San Francisco City and County), San Francisco — 937 — Liberty Bell Slot Machine|
|Charles August Fey began inventing and manufacturing slot machines in 1894. Fey pioneered many innovations of coin operated gaming devices in his San Francisco workshop at 406 Market Street, including the original three-reel bell slot machine in 1898. The international popularity of the bell slot machines attests to Fey's ingenuity as an enterprising inventor whose basic design of the three reel slot machine continues to be used in mechanical gaming devices today.
California Registered . . . — Map (db m29118) HM|
|California (San Francisco City and County), San Francisco — San Francisco Brewing Company|
|This building is the last of the Barbary Coast saloons. Prior to the great earthquake and fire of 1906, this was the site of the infamous Billy Goat Saloon, operated by Pigeon-Toed Sal.
After reconstruction, the original Andromeda Saloon opened here in 1907. World Boxing Champion Jack Dempsey worked the door in 1913 before his historic July 4, 1919 fight in which he took the title from Jess Willard with a TKO. The massive ‘Punkah’ ceiling fan is vintage 1916. The magnificent flame mahogany . . . — Map (db m58491) HM|
|California (San Francisco City and County), San Francisco — CHL 192 — Site of the Jenny Lind Theatre and San Francisco City Hall|
| The third Jenny Lind Theatre was opened by Tom Maquire on October 4, 1851 on the same site as the two preceding it, which were destroyed in the fires of 1851. In 1852 the City of San Francisco purchased this theatre for use as the City Hall. — Map (db m71467) HM|
|California (San Francisco City and County), San Francisco — The First Public Children's Playground in the United States|
The first public children's playground in the United States was established here in 1887 by gift funds received from the Sharon bequest. The east expansion and rehabilitation work of 1977 were funded by Walter and Elise Haas, by Walter and Phyllis Shorenstein, the Fuhrman Bequest, & Friends of Recreation and Parks
Text of second side of marker:
George R. Moscone mayor
Recreation & Park Commission
Eugene L. Friend president
Loris DiGrazia . . . — Map (db m40374) HM|
|California (San Francisco City and County), San Francisco — The Screening Room - 1966-1980's — Uptown Tenderloin Historic District — Uptown Tenderloin Lost Landmarks|
|Alex De Renzy produced "Pornography in Denmark: a New Approach", and billed it as a documentary to avoid legal problems. The film, the first full-length adult oriented hardcore feature legally shown in the U.S., premiered here in 1970 at The Screening Room. With this landmark success, De Renzy helped launch the U.S. adult movie industry. — Map (db m63752) HM|
|California (San Francisco City and County), San Francisco — The Stinking Rose — A Garlic Restaurant — 1991|
|San Francisco’s first restaurant to celebrate the euphoria of garlic.
Ancient Roman soldiers dubbed the pungent herb garlic “the stinking rose”. They believed garlic made them extremely strong and extra virile and rubbed their bodies with garlic oil before going into battle.
The Stinking Rose: A Garlic Restaurant is known for seasoning its garlic with food.
North Beach, Little Italy of the West. — Map (db m58492) HM|
|California (San Francisco City and County), San Francisco — CHL 987 — Treasure Island|
|This artificial island was constructed of bay sand in 1936-7 and was the site of Golden Gate International Exposition, Feb. 18, 1939 – Sept. 29, 1940. Tall towers, gigantic goddesses and dazzling lighting effects turned the island into a “magic city.” The exposition celebrated the ascendancy of California and San Francisco as economic, political and cultural forces in the increasingly important Pacific region. Treasure Island has been a U.S. Naval Station since 1941. — Map (db m68504) HM|
|California (San Francisco City and County), San Francisco — Vernon Alley — Legendary San Francisco Jazzman|
|The legendary jazz bassist Vernon Alley was born May 26, 1915, in Winnemuca, Nevada. His father was a barber, a railroad man, and a laborer. His mother was a hotel worker. He came to San Francisco as a child and has always called The City his home.
As a young man, his parents took him to see the jazz great Ferdinand "Jelly Roll" Morton. From that moment, jazz was to become his first love in a magical life that touched many people and broke many barriers.
Vernon Alley's life as a . . . — Map (db m20985) HM|
|California (San Francisco City and County), San Francisco — Wally Heider Recording - 1969-1980 — Uptown Tenderloin Historic District — Uptown Tenderloin Lost Landmarks|
|The Greatful Dead, Creedence Clearwater Revival, Jefferson Airplane and many other bands created landmark albums at Wally Heider Recording, the City's first modern recording studio. The studio was a center of artistic collaboration. Crosby, Stills, Nash, & Young recorded their historic album, "Deja Vu," with Jerry Garcia on "Teach Your Children". Eric Clapton jammed with the band, Santana, on their album, "Abraxas." Herbie Hancock recorded his best-selling jazz album, "Headhunters" here. — Map (db m63785) HM|
|California (San Luis Obispo County), Cholame — Tribute to a Young Man — James Dean Memorial|
|His name was James Byron Dean. He was an actor. He died just before sundown on September 30, 1955, when his Porsche collided with another car at a fork in the road not 900 yards east of this tree, long known as The Tree of Heaven. He was 24 years old.
Aside from appearing in several Broadway plays, he starred in three motion pictures - East of Eden, Rebel Without a Cause, and Giant. Only "Eden" had been released before his death. Yet, before he was in his grave, James Dean was . . . — Map (db m61372) HM|
|California (San Mateo County), Belmont — 856 — Ralston Hall|
|This redwood structure was completed in 1868 by William Chapman Ralston, San Francisco financier, incorporating Count Cipriani’s earlier villa. This enlarged mansion with its mirrored ballroom became the symbol of the extravagance of California's silver age. It anticipated features later incorporated into Ralston's Palace Hotel of San Francisco. — Map (db m11230) HM|
|California (San Mateo County), Moss Beach — The Moss Beach Distillery — Historical Landmark - California Point of Historical Interest|
|During Prohibition, the San Mateo Coast was an ideal spot for rum running, bootleggers and “speakeasies,” establishments which sold illegal booze to thirsty clients.
One of the most successful speakeasies of the era was “Frank’s Place” on the cliffs at Moss Beach. Built by Frank Torres in 1927, “Frank’s” became a popular nightspot for silent film stars and politicians from the City. Mystery writer Dashiell Hammett frequented the place and used it as a . . . — Map (db m64179) HM|
|California (San Mateo County), Redwood City — Alhambra Theater|
|The finest playhouse between San Francisco and San Jose opened here January 20, 1896. In 1921, the building was purchased by Redwood City Masonic Lodge which was instituted August 28, 1863. — Map (db m62625) HM|
|California (San Mateo County), Redwood City — Fox Theater|
|This property has been
Placed on the
of Historic Places
By the United States
Department of the Interior
1928 — Map (db m41621) HM|
|California (San Mateo County), Redwood City — New Sequoia/Fox Theatre — Former site of the Central Grammar School — The Path of History|
|This block of Broadway underwent a number of major changes during the first half of the twentieth century.
It started out as the Central Grammar School in 1895 (legally named “Redwood City Public School”) shown at the left above. Part of a third floor building wing was set aside for the ninth grade, as nucleus for the proposed Sequoia High School. The town took great pride in this majestic building, and its central clock tower was a distinctive Downtown landmark. The building was . . . — Map (db m62580) HM|
|California (Santa Barbara County), Santa Barbara — Jose Lobero's Opera House — 1873|
|On this site, February 22, 1873, Jose Lobero, impressario and musician, opened the first legitimate theatre in southern California. The Lobero continues to serve the cultural interests of Santa Barbara one hundred years later. — Map (db m50920) HM|
|California (Santa Barbara County), Santa Barbara — 361 — Old Lobero Theatre|
|Jose Lobero opened the region's first legitimate theatre on this site February 22, 1873. For many years the old theatre was the center of social life in Santa Barbara. A new Lobero Theatre, opened in 1924 on the same site, continues to serve the cultural interests of the area. — Map (db m50553) HM|
|California (Santa Clara County), Palo Alto — 976 — Birthplace of “Silicon Valley”|
|This garage is the birthplace of the world’s first high-technology region, “Silicon Valley.” The idea for such a region originated with Dr. Frederick Terman, a Stanford university professor who encouraged his students to start up their own electronics companies in the area instead of joining established firms in the East. The first two students to follow his advice were William R. Hewlett and David Packard, who in 1938 began developing their first product, an audio oscillator, in this garage. — Map (db m3402) HM|
|California (Santa Clara County), San Jose — Frontier Village — The Entrance Forts / The One-Room Schoolhouse / Main Street / The Lost Dutchman Mine|
From 1961 to 1980 the park that you are now standing in was home to a one-of-a-kind western themed amusement park called Frontier Village
The Entrance Forts
The main entrance was built to resemble the gates of an early western frontier fort. The bottom of the forts housed the ticket boot and visitor information. Guests could take a stroll up the stairs of the forts and be treated to a wonderful view of the park.
These are some of the birds that will be living in the Frontier Village . . . — Map (db m58990) HM|
|California (Santa Clara County), San Jose — Japantown Theater|
|San Jose Japantown was the center of many amusements. We had theater that performed Kabuki and modern shows, like “love stories.” When I was young, people gathered here with their horse and wagon – just tied their horse up to the post and sometimes kept it there all day and night. It was the only place Japanese could gather.
- Katsusaburo Kawahara — Map (db m65003) HM|
|California (Santa Clara County), San Jose — Old Japantown Garage|
|Card playing was a social outlet. When I was young, my grandfather brought me here when he stopped to see his friends. The windows were soaped to prevent people from peering in. I was only allowed to sit on a stool and watch the card games. The game [t]hey played was “Hana” – using small Japanese woodblock picture cards that were kept in dovetailed boxes.
Carole Murotsune Rast — Map (db m52514) HM|
|California (Santa Clara County), Saratoga — 733 — Paul Masson Mountain Winery|
|From the winery that bears the name of Paul Masson, premium wines and champagne have flowed continuously since 1852, even during Prohibition under a special government license. Twice partially destroyed by earthquake and fire, the original sandstone walls still stand. The 12th-century Spanish Romanesque portal came around the Horn.
— Map (db m2625) HM|
|California (Santa Clara County), Stanford University — 834 — Development of Motion Pictures|
|In commemoration of the motion picture research conducted in 1878 and 1879 by Eadweard Muybridge, at the Palo Alto Stock Farm, now the site of Stanford University. This extensive photographic experiment portraying the attitudes of animals in motion was conceived by and executed under the direction and patronage of Leland Stanford. Consecutive instantaneous exposures were provided for by a battery of 24 cameras fitted with electro-shutters. — Map (db m2716) HM|
|California (Santa Cruz County), Aptos — S.S. Palo Alto|
|Though hopelessly broken and firmly at rest, the cement ship Palo Alto has become an important legacy whose value has not decreased today. As the colorful chapters of her past resonate through her hull she is protected as a historic resource, a recreation destination and a habitat for wildlife.
A Ship of Stone
Plans for a concrete shipping fleet were born in the course of the WWI war effort when steel was in short supply. As fate would have it, the $1.5 million dollar order for the . . . — Map (db m49852) HM|
|California (Santa Cruz County), Davenport — Site of the Historic Foresters Hall — 1910 – 1997|
|Dances, early motion pictures, and social affairs took place in the hall. The building played a significant role as a gathering place for Davenport’s first residents. — Map (db m62416) HM|
|California (Santa Cruz County), Santa Cruz — ACE Roller Coaster Landmark — Giant Dipper|
|American Coaster Enthusiasts (ACE) recognizes Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk's Giant Dipper as an ACE Roller Coaster Landmark, a designation reserved for rides of historic significance.
The 75-foot high wood coaster officially opened on May 17, 1924, replacing the 1908 L.A. Thompson scenic railway. With a track length of over 2,700 feet and an initial drop of 63 feet 6 inches, the innovative track design with articulating trains included tight twists, a thrilling serpentine tunnel, a . . . — Map (db m62826) HM|
|California (Santa Cruz County), Santa Cruz — Beauty and the Beach — Pageants Bring Business|
|The first Miss California Pageant took place at the Boardwalk in 1924, drawing huge crowds. The pageant moved to the Civic Auditorium in 1966. Santa Cruz enjoyed the economic benefits of this popular event until 1985.
Faye Lanpheir, Miss Alameda, won the first Miss California crown at the Boardwalk in 1924. When she was crowned Miss California again in 1925, Faye was criticized by newspaper baron William Randolph Hearst who asked how Lanphier could be a bathing beauty if she couldn't even . . . — Map (db m62812) HM|
|California (Santa Cruz County), Santa Cruz — Before the Boardwalk|
|The Santa Cruz Beach was changed forever in 1904 when promoter and entrepreneur Fred Swanton hosted the grand opening of the Neptune Casino, a Moorish-style wonder and wedding cake of a building. The Casino was destroyed by fire in June of 1906. Almost before the smoke had cleared, Swanton, was making plans for building a new Casino.
The popularity of beaches grew in the late 1800’s as people came to believe that “taking the waters” was good for their health. Bathhouses . . . — Map (db m62796) HM|
|California (Santa Cruz County), Santa Cruz — Boardwalk Goes Hollywood|
|The timeless and picturesque Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk has “starred” in everything from industrial films, commercials, and music videos to made-for-TV movies and feature-length big-screen releases. — Map (db m62825) HM|
|California (Santa Cruz County), Santa Cruz — Burgers at the Beach — for more than 70 years|
|The restaurant now called Surf City Grill has been known by other names and owned by several families over the years. In spite of these changes, it remains a favorite for satisfying the appetites of visitors, ravenous after a day at the Boardwalk. — Map (db m62815) HM|
|California (Santa Cruz County), Santa Cruz — Fun, Fads, and Food — Fitzsimmons & Twisselman Families|
|The Fitzsimmons & Twisselman families have been operating their concessions at the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk since 1934. Over the years, Charles J. Fitzsimmons moved from games to retail food. Today, Charles’s grandson, Matt Twisselman, continues the family business and has expanded it to include favorites such as Boardwok, California Wraps, Hot Dog on a Stick and World Grill. — Map (db m62829) HM|
|California (Santa Cruz County), Santa Cruz — Giant Dipper — Thrilling riders since 1924|
|The Giant Dipper roller coaster, with its trademark red and white structure, spectacular view of the Monterey Bay, and speedy dips and curves, keeps generations of riders coming back for more.
The Giant Dipper has thrilled over 50 million riders.
In 1987, the Giant Dipper was designated a National Historic Landmark.
Planner & builder: Arthur Looff
Length: One-half mile
Speed: Up to 55 MPG
Height of main hill: 70 feet
Ride time: 1 minute & 52 seconds . . . — Map (db m62827) HM|
|California (Santa Cruz County), Santa Cruz — Magical Merry-go-round|
|Whether you call it a merry-go-round, carousel, or whirlgig, visitors have always been enchanted with the Boardwalk’s oldest ride. At the grand opening of the “hippodrome,” as the carousel and its building were called, one hundred rocking chairs were provided so that mothers could sit comfortably to enjoy the music and watch their children ride the brilliant new horses.
Preservation of the carousel is labor of love. Boardwalk artists repair and repaint the horses during the . . . — Map (db m62814) HM|
|California (Santa Cruz County), Santa Cruz — Old Theatre Building — Santa Cruz — MCMXX|
|A Brief History
In the mid-1800’s, the Pacific Garden Mall was simply known as “Pacific.” The corner now occupied by the Old Theatre Building contained a picturesque little pond shaded by a mammoth sycamore. Also under the tree was a huge cider press. Pioneers would pick apples in a nearby orchard and press a supply of cider before heading on.
Created by designers of the original Fairmont Hotel in San Francisco, the New Santa Cruz Theatre opened its doors on February 12, . . . — Map (db m63268) HM|
|California (Santa Cruz County), Santa Cruz — 983 — Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk|
|A local landmark since 1907, this boardwalk was one of the first amusement parks in California. It is now the only oceanside amusement park operating on the west coast. The boardwalk is the site of two rare attractions, the 1911 carousel and the 1924 Giant Dipper roller coaster. Both were manufactured by members of the Looff family, some of the nation’s earliest and most prominent makers of amusement rides. — Map (db m62911) HM|
|California (Santa Cruz County), Santa Cruz — Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk Boards|
|These boards are part of the original Santa Cruz Boardwalk and were saved during a restoration project completed in 1984.
This project was one of many completed under Laurence P. Canfield, President of the Santa Cruz Seaside Company from 1952 to 1984 — Map (db m62813) HM|
|California (Santa Cruz County), Santa Cruz — The Cocoanut Grove — Dancing through the years|
|Early in the Casino’s history a concert band played on the beach bandstand on summer afternoons and changed into tuxedos for evening dances in the ballroom.
In 1924 Isham Jone’s band brought jazz to the Cocoanut Grove.
1932 introduced big-name bands, and the golden age of ballroom dancing had begun. Artie Shaw, Ted Fio Rito, Lawrence Welk, Benny Goodman, Skinny Ennis and the King of Jazz, Paul Whiteman, brought their talents to the Cocoanut Grove.
While big band appeal faded in . . . — Map (db m62791) HM|
|California (Santa Cruz County), Santa Cruz — Theatre Del Mar|
|In Memory of Chuck Volwiler (1956-2002)
Booming theatre business in Santa Cruz led the Golden State Theatre chain to replace the 700-seat Unique with the 1,500-seat Del Mar in 1936. The movie palace was a flagship of the chain, with a stage and 25-piece orchestra pit for vaudeville acts and conventions. From his Del Mar offices, Barney Gurnette also managed the New Santa Cruz and Rio Theatres. Live Del Mar shows continued into the 1970s, with concerts by . . . — Map (db m62489) HM|
|California (Santa Cruz County), Santa Cruz — Whiting’s Games|
|The Ross Whiting family has been part of Boardwalk history since 1927. As superintendent, Joseph “Ross" Whiting was responsible for the first widening and paving of the Boardwalk. After leaving the Seaside Company in 1946, Ross and his family went on to own and operate game concessions in the park. Today his son Ed and his family run some of the most popular games on the Boardwalk. — Map (db m62828) HM|
|California (Santa Cruz County), Watsonville — The Apple Annual — Main Street in the Early 1900s|
|The Apple Annual was held in downtown Watsonville from 1910 to 1913. For the first event in 1910, William H. Weeks, renowned Watsonville architect, designed a pavilion to house the show exhibits which was located on Second Street, now the site of the Fire Station. Included in the week-long festivities were box-making contests, band concerts, vaudeville attractions, speeches, and parades with horns, bells, and confetti. The first apple show was a huge success with some 30,000 people attending . . . — Map (db m54881) HM|
|California (Shasta County), Lakehead-Lakeshore — Klub Klondike|
|Established 1948 and is the oldest bar and restaurant in Lakehead. The property the building is on was first sub-divided in 1917. In 1947 the Jones Dredging Company cleared the land, set up a sawmill and erected a prefabricated building.
In 1948 Kris and Scotty Scott bought the property and opened a gas station and bar and restaurant they named Klub Klondike. The first Lakehead post office and library were located in the building. It is said that in the early 1950’s there was a brothel . . . — Map (db m69819) HM|
|California (Shasta County), Redding — Cascade Theater|
| Date Opened: August 9, 1935
Owner Operator: T & D Jr. Enterprises
Architect: J. Lloyd Conrich / San Francisco, CA
General Contractor: Sath Brothers / San Francisco, CA
Date Reopened : August 14, 2002
Owner Operator: Southern Oregon University / JPR Foundation
Architect: James Theimer, AIA / Trilogy Architecture / Redding, CA
Historic Preservation Direction: George Kramer, MS / Ashland, OR
A.D. Wagner Contracting / Redding, CA
Gifford Construction / . . . — Map (db m70330) HM|
|California (Sierra County), Alleghany — Forest City Dance Hall|
|Built by West and Knowles following the fire of 1883. This then three-story structure housed the Knights of Pythias, a large rubber-sprung dance floor, a barber shop, saloon and billiard hall. In the late 1930s, the top floors were crushed by snow and the dance floor relocated to the bottom story. The hand-grained wainscoting, bar and fixtures reflect the original 1880s decor. The barber shop with its original furnishings was in the room now occupied by the museum. In 1992 the Forest City . . . — Map (db m65946) HM|
|California (Siskiyou County), Mount Shasta — Sullaway Stage Stop|
|Dedicated to William and Mary Parker Sullaway the first family to settle in Strawberry Valley in 1858. Sullaway was founder of the Pioneer State Line from Yreka to Shasta, Shasta County in 1857. Forest Home located on this site was this first overnight stopping place for stage drivers and their animals, later the Sullaway’s conducted a hotel-summer resort which made Forest Home the center of business and social life in south Siskiyou County. — Map (db m69859) HM|
|California (Siskiyou County), Yreka — Bella Union Saloon — 325, 327 W. Miner St.|
|Sam Lockhart owned this property in 1852 and leased it to a gentleman who ran the Bella Union Saloon for a time. When German-born Charles Iunker and Louis Rapi became new owners in 1859, they prided themselves on service, superior liquors, and elegance of appointments. Iunker later operated a brewery on Oregon Street producing around 7,500 barrels of beer annually. He was an energetic and enterprising man dedicated to the advancement and prosperity of Yreka and Siskiyou County. The Bella Union . . . — Map (db m70167) HM|
|California (Siskiyou County), Yreka — Moonlit Oaks Dance Pavillion|
|Near this location on July 3, 1926, Moonlit Oaks Open Air Dance Platform Opened, hosting dances most Saturday Nights. Pints of illicit spirits were obtained From the man in the parking lot with the Many-pocketed long black overcoat. In Those days, dancing was a major social and Entertainment event. World War II and post War lifestyle changes brought an end to the Grand age of open air dance pavilions, and The demise of Moonlit Oaks.
Dedicated August 18, 2012/6017
Humbug . . . — Map (db m70188) HM|
|California (Siskiyou County), Yreka — Peters & DeWitt Building — 330, 332 W. Miner St.|
|332 Godfrey Peters converted the east half of this building into a theater in 1904. The Peter’s Opera House, complete with sloped floor, stage and two balconies, opened to a packed house with the showing of a five-act play. A bandstand was built over the sidewalk for outdoor music and a speaker forum. The Home Market purchased the theater in 1946 and renovated it to expand their grocery business. When the Elks purchased the building in 1960, this half of the downstairs was remodeled into a banquet hall. — Map (db m70098) HM|
|California (Solano County), Cordelia — Thompson's Corner Saloon - 1902|
|Henry "Old Man" Studer and his brother Jim, built this community gathering spot. Studer was the proprietor of the oldest bar in Solano County, which he relocated here. Dancing and entertainment were available upstairs and local lore is that a brothel was included in these offerings. On 11-20-26 the San Francisco Orchestra played for an all night dance. Charles Thompson owned the building sometime after 1940. It is the only commercial establishment still doing business in central Cordelia. This . . . — Map (db m26239) HM|
|California (Solano County), Suisun City — The Hump|
Here between 1942 and
1948, the painted ladies
serviced the needs of
our men from Travis AFB.
Closed by the order of an
unsympathetic sheriff. — Map (db m39344) HM|
|California (Trinity County), Weaverville — Anvil Firing|
|This monument dedicated to the fond remembrance of Archie Arbuckle who from false Armistice Day 1918 until his death July 11th, 1970 fired the anvil each 4th of July.
Anvil firing has been a tradition with the Arbuckle family for 5 generations.
We deem this anvil a fitting tribute to the memory of Archie and to the Arbuckle family and that the sound of the anvil firing shall be heard in Weaverville each 4th of July. — Map (db m56137) HM|
|California (Trinity County), Weaverville — Race Track – Airport – Golf Course|
|Once known as China Graveyard Ridge, by late August, 1871, Alex Love developed a racetrack on this site 550 yards in length. This popular quarter mile track saw the names of horses like “Hayfork Kitty” and “Hollywood” owned by John Van Matre. Mart Van Matre was famous on this track with his winning horses. Charlie Daniels, a local Indian, was popular with his palomino. Horse fanciers and enthusiasts came out for decades to watch the races. By the 1920’s racing had been . . . — Map (db m56190) HM|
|California (Yolo County), Woodland — 851 — The Woodland Opera House|
|The first opera house to serve the Sacramento Valley was built on this site in 1885. The present structure, built in 1895-96, continues to represent an important center for theatrical arts of that period. Erected by David N. Hershey and incorporating the classic American playhouse interior, it served vast agricultural regions of the Sacramento Valley. Motion picture competition hastened its closing in 1913. — Map (db m11726) HM|
|California (Yuba County), Marysville — Mission Building|
|Built at the turn of the 19th Century, originally stood as a stable. Converted to a saloon in the early 1900's, it was also known as a "social club", frequented by ladies of the evening. During the last 40 years it has served as the Twin Cities Rescue Mission, until restored, 1981-1982.
Gerald A. Tittle Georgia Tittle — Map (db m54223) HM|
|Colorado (Boulder County), Boulder — L-02-1 — The Holiday Drive-In Marquee 1953|
| This sign marks the site of The Holiday Drive-In, which operated from 1953 until 1988. Drive-In theaters were popular in the 1950s and 1960s, especially among young families and amorous couples, where films could be viewed from the relative privacy of an automobile. This sign is one of the few extant examples of the "Futuristic" Googie style in Boulder. Common during the same era as drive-ins, Googie signs strived to grab attention with wild shapes, flashy neon and blinking arrows. — Map (db m18299) HM|
|Colorado (Clear Creek County), Idaho Springs — Idaho Springs Opera House — 1535 Miner Street|
| Mrs. Coddington owned a two-story brick double on the corner lot. It was occupied by W.K. Townsend (grocer) and Paul Lanius (hardware). Townsend imported glassware and crockery and was said to have the best selection of cigars in town. "Lets all rejoice-Paul Lanius and company have opened a general hardware store in the Coddington Block", an 1881 newspaper proclaimed and promised that a full supply of "stoves, miners' supplies, powder and fuses" would always be on hand. In a small one-story . . . — Map (db m76856) HM|
|Colorado (Gilpin County), Central City — Central City Opera|
|The Central City Opera House was built in 1878 by Welsh and Cornish miners. This National Historic Landmark, centerpiece of the historic gold mining town of Central City, has hosted performances of the nation’s fifth-oldest opera company since 1932. Central City Opera’s National Summer Festival attracts patrons from all over the country and abroad to enjoy intimate opera in its 550 seat opera house.
Her early glory years following the 1878 grand opening were short-lived. When the Central . . . — Map (db m51831) HM|
|Colorado (Gilpin County), Central City — The Rose Haydee Building|
|The first lady of the early Colorado state was Rose (Brown) Wakely, better known by her stage name, Rose “Haydee”. The dark-eyed beauty came to Colorado in September, 1859 – and the miners fell in love with her at once. She became the most popular entertainer in Central City. Then, suddenly, she disappeared.|
Now among her many admirers was Thomas Evans, a gambling man of rather “satanic good looks.” And it was suspicioned no coincidence that, on Tuesday, . . . — Map (db m51835) HM
|Colorado (Jefferson County), Golden — Fun on Courthouse Hill|
|“Courthouse Hill,” which is Washington Avenue south of 14th Street, was a favorite location of settler children. In the winter, sleds packed with eager youth picked up sufficient speed on the Hill to be able to coast across the Washington Avenue Bridge. Some traveled as far as the Railroad Depot on 8th Street. This site was not just for winter entertainment; one newspaper had an account of children joy-riding in a wagon down Courthouse Hill.
Not only children enjoyed Courthouse . . . — Map (db m50092) HM|
|Colorado (Jefferson County), Golden — Tourism|
Clear Creek Canyon was also a popular tourist area. Resorts such as Beaver Brook Pavilion were built along the creek. Early travel was mostly by train. In the early 1900s automobiles became a viable way to tour. Golden Tourist Park was a popular camping ground. Located in Golden, it provided easy access to Lookout Mountain Drive and to the rest of the Lariat Loop tourist route. This designated Colorado Scenic Byway was, and remains, a renowned tourist attraction.|
Castle Rock . . . — Map (db m51913) HM
|Colorado (Kit Carson County), Burlington — Kit Carson County Carousel|
|Kit Carson County Carousel has been designated a National Historic Landmark. This site possesses national significance in commemorating the history of the United States of America, 1987, National Park Service, United States Department of the Interior. — Map (db m45747) HM|
|Colorado (Sedgwick County), Ovid — Prisoners on the Plains / Ride 'Em Cowboy|
| Prisoners on the Plains During World War II, a seasonal Prisoner of War Camp was located in Ovid. Nearly 400 German prisoners worked in nearby potato and sugar beet fields. Housing was provided in 40 tents and two large downtown buildings.|
Ride 'Em Cowboy Handling livestock while working for area ranches gave Thad Sowder the skills he needed to earn the World Championship for bronc riding in both 1901 and 1902. Sowder rode in Buffalo Bill's Wild West Show and was one of the first to . . . — Map (db m47361) HM
|Colorado (Summit County), Breckenridge — Site of Argyle Dance Hall — Centennial 1880 - 1980|
|This property has been placed on the National Register of Historic Places
Built as a Residence 1898,
site was Argyle Dance Hall 1881
and lost in Main St. Fire of 1896. — Map (db m58203) HM|
|Colorado (Teller County), Colorado Springs — Amazing Pikes Peak Feats|
|Thrill-seekers, fund-raisers, and publicity hounds have been attracted to Pikes Peak for decades. Daring adventurers have hang-glided and skied off the summit, and rock climbers have challenged steep rock faces. Here is the scoop on some of the zanier stunts.
Julia Archibald Holmes climbed for five days to become the first documented white woman to reach the summit of Pikes peak. The determined woman’s-libber walked much of the way from Kansas to Colorado with the Lawrence gold-seeking party . . . — Map (db m45842) HM|
|Colorado (Teller County), Cripple Creek — “The Old Homestead House” of Myers Avenue|
|The town site of Cripple Creek was laid out shortly after the discovery of gold by Horace Bennett, a Denver realtor, with his partner, Julius Myers, naming the street after each of them. Bennett Avenue became the main street of the town and of finance. Unfortunately for Julius Myers, this street became famous as the most notorious street of sin in the West.
The location of “The Old Homestead”, only remaining memorable parlor house, also known as a “Whore” House, on . . . — Map (db m51827) HM|
|Colorado (Teller County), Cripple Creek — Old Homestead Parlour House — 1896|
|Situated just below Cripple Creek’s fashionable business district, the Old Homestead anchored Myers Avenue’s “entertainment trade.” On a street flanked by saloons and one-room “cribs” where individual “ladies” could ply their trade, this brothel was noted for its elegant hostesses and European furnishings.
Pearl DeVere, Hazel Vernon and Lola Livingston were among the mistresses who attended to the Parlour’s wealthy clients. Pearl’s tenure was short . . . — Map (db m51824) HM|
|Colorado (Teller County), Victor — East Victor Avenue|
| Alta Vista Station
The Alta Vista Railroad Depot, pictured below, was originally located on Phantom Canyon Road where it served the Florence and Cripple Creek Railroad line. After the trains quit running in 1912, the building was used as a school. In 1976 it was moved to Victor to serve as a visitor center. Built in a style typical of the period, the structure has a canted hip roof with curved brackets at the soffit, car siding exterior, and a pair of double hung windows on each . . . — Map (db m46760) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), Danbury — 10 — Danbury Fair Days — – The Museum in the Streets – — Danbury, Connecticut|
| The origins of the Danbury Fair began in 1821 when the Fairfield Agricultural Society held gatherings in Elmwood Park on Main Street. The event gave farmers an opportunity to discuss farming methods and showcase the fruits of their labor.
Hat manufacturer Rundle & White organized The Danbury Farmers & Manufacturers Society in 1869. The new organization held its first fair in a “rough board, one-story building and small tent borrowed from the Barnum & Bailey Circus” on the site . . . — Map (db m71186) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), Danbury — 33 — The Circus Comes to Town — – The Museum in the Streets – — Danbury, Connecticut|
| Danbury was home to several early pioneers of the American circus in the mid 1800s. In fact, Aaron Turner, proprietor of one of the earliest American traveling shows, was actually P.T. Barnum’s mentor. From 1836 to 1838, Barnum traveled with Aaron Turner’s wagon circus and worked as a ticket seller.
Turner’s Columbian Circus consisted of trick horseback riding, tumbling and clown acts. He is also noted as the first to erect a canvas tent for performances. At only 50 feet in diameter, . . . — Map (db m71475) HM|
|Connecticut (New Haven County), Middlebury — Lake Quassapaug Station — Town of Middlebury Greenway 2005|
|The trolley bed was located where we now have the Greenway Trail.
The picture was taken in 1910. it was common for trolley companies to build and operate recreation facilities to provide a passenger base for the line. The Amusement Park was such a place. During the era, amusements consisted of fishing, bowling, billiards, dancing, and swings. Patrons also were able to purchase a ticket for a steamboat ride around the lake.
In the area that is now the Little League complex, a turning loop . . . — Map (db m29496) HM|
|Delaware (Kent County), Dover — KC-89 — The Capitol Theater|
|In 1904, the Dover Opera House opened at this location. The theater was built with funds from a public subscription, and included a stage that was used for a variety of purposes including vaudeville, photoplays, magic lantern shows, and in later years, motion pictures. In 1915, the theater carried the World Series between the Philadelphia Phillies and the Boston Red Sox live on stage. Lights were arranged to simulate a baseball diamond, and as plays took place, a telegrapher wired the action to . . . — Map (db m39104) HM|
|Delaware (New Castle County), Newark — NC-106 — Deer Park Hotel|
|Since the mid-18th century an establishment for public hospitality has existed here. The first building, of wood construction, was known as St. Patrick's Inn. Famous visitors included surveyors Mason and Dixon. The property was purchased by James S. Martin in 1847, and the core of the present structure was erected by him circa 1851. The new building was named The Deer Park Hotel. The coming of the railroad to Newark resulted in an increased demand for hotel and tavern accommodations. In the . . . — Map (db m9907) HM|
|Delaware (New Castle County), Newark — Enjoy the Pencader Area Today|
|If you are just "passing through" or are a new resident or even a life-long Delawarean, we hope to spark your interest in the varied activities available in the Pencader Hundred Area. Whether your are experiencing these for the first time or rediscovering your heritage, we hope you enjoy what Pencader has to offer. Left Column Parks The Pencader Hundred Area has many parks for the public to enjoy. Lum's Pond is a state park located on Howell Road just east of Rout 896. Picnic . . . — Map (db m10871) HM|
|Delaware (New Castle County), Newark — Iron Hill School #112C — Preserving History: The African-American Community of Iron Hill|
|The Iron Hill Museum is dedicated to the study of human and natural history of the Iron Hill Area. The Museum is currently engaged in a project to restore the Iron Hill School #112C and document the experiences of African-American students who attended the school between 1923 and 1965.
In order to achieve this, the Museum has embarked on an oral history project to formally interview and record the memories of former students who are now between the ages of 40 and 80. Oral historian Roberta . . . — Map (db m10053) HM|
|Delaware (New Castle County), Wilmington — Bill McGowan — 1992 ~ Baseball Hall of Fame Inductee|
| William Aloysius McGowan
Born: January 18, 1896 in Wilmington, DE
Died: December 9, 1954 in Silver Spring, MD
Elected to Hall of Fame by
Committee on Baseball Veterans: 1992
He introduced a colorful umpiring style with
vigorous, aggressive gestures which bordered on
the pugnacious – yet ejected very few players.
He was an iron man among umpires,
not missing an inning for 16 years
(2,541 consecutive games). — Map (db m72835)|
|Delaware (New Castle County), Wilmington — NC-149 — Knotty Pine Restaurant|
|In 1875 the Delaware General Assembly enacted legislation requiring the racial segregation of public places such as train stations, hotels, and restaurants. For most of the next century this practice was strictly enforced. Established at this location in 1959, the Knotty Pine Restaurant was a refuge for African Americans in a city where access to public facilities was still limited. Noted for its “down home cooking” and friendly atmosphere, the Knotty Pine was popular with residents . . . — Map (db m10920) HM|