|Brazil, Rio de Janeiro — 01246020 — Copacabana Fort — Army History Museum|
Together with the Arpoador Rock and Cape, the Fort is part of an important landscape group located between two highly populated neighbourhoods: Copacabana and Ipanema.
Date: inaugurated in 1914 by President Marechal Hermes da Fonseca.
Last Restoration: in 1987, with the coastal artillery batteries phased out, the fort with its 12-meter thick walls, became the Army History Museum.
Features: at the entrance of the Fort is a grotto with a statuette of Santa Barbara, . . . — Map (db m25962) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — 100th Anniversary of the Canadian Navy|
|Prior to 1910. the Royal Navy provided maritime defence of British North America and for the Dominion of Canada from 1867. With World War I brewing in Europe early in the 20th century, Great Britain redistributed the British fleet and reduced its stations in Halifax and Esquimalt. The Government of Canada move to assume full responsibility to protect Canada’s major seaports and the longest coastline in the world. On May 4, 1910, under authority of the Naval Service Act, the Navy was created. On . . . — Map (db m49075) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Fifth Regiment of Garrison Artillery|
|The Fifth Regiment of Garrison Artillery marches down Government Street in December 1915 on their way to the Inner Harbour, where they boarded a steamer to Vancouver. They would join other Canadian troops fighting in Europe in World War I. The tall building in the back of is photo is the Pantages Theatre, now the McPherson Playhouse. The other building stood until the redevelopment of Centennial Square in the early 1960s.
[Photo credit] Image # B-04181 courtesy of British Columbia Archives. — Map (db m49153) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — The “Veteran Sailor”|
|Founded in 1910, Canada’s Naval Service wore the same uniform as the Royal Navy. The traditional “sailor suit” included bell bottom trousers, jumper, flannel ‘gun shirt”, and square collar. The uniform was completed with a lanyard, silk and a round cap with a ribbon that during peacetime identified the sailor’s ship. In 1968 Canada adopted a single uniform for both officers and non-commissioned members of the Canadian Forces.|
The “Veteran Sailor”
The . . . — Map (db m49076) HM
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — The 75th Anniversary of the Canadian Navy|
|This tree and anchor dedicated to the City of Victoria celebration of the 75th Anniversary of the Canadian Navy by HMCS Malahat 21 April 1985.
Rededicated on 3 May 1998 in celebration of the Naval Reserves’s 75th Anniversary
This historic Admiralty pattern anchor, salvaged from Esquimalt Harbour, was donated by the CFB Esquimalt Naval and Military Museum for the rededication ceremony. It has retained its strenth [sic] of purpose as does the bond between HMCS Malahat and the City of Victoria. — Map (db m49078) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — The Mackenzie Papineau Battalion of the International Brigades — Spanish Civil War 1936-1939|
|This monument commemorates the gallant men and women of British Columbia and Canada who offered their lives to defend the principles of democracy and served as the Mackenzie-Papineau Battalion of the International Brigades in defence of the Republic of Spain.
In July 1936, the opening shots of the Second World War were fired in Spain. Insurgent forces led by General Franco staged a rebellion to crush the democratically elected Government of the Spanish Republic. This treason was met with armed . . . — Map (db m49040) HM|
|British Columbia (Greater Vancouver Regional District), Vancouver — 64 Pounder Guns|
|In 1878 on the approach of an enemy cruiser squadron these 64 pounder muzzle-loading naval guns were hastily shore mounted to protect Esquimault. Subsequently they were issued to No. 5 Battery B.C. Brigade of Garrison Artillery, the first citizen militia unit in Vancouver. That historic battery became the present British Columbia Regiment (Duke of Connaught's Own) — Map (db m53894) HM|
|British Columbia (Greater Vancouver Regional District), Vancouver — Drill Hall — City of Vancouver Heritage Building — Architect: Department of Public Works|
|This fortress-like building has served as the drill hall and armoury for the British Columbia Regiment since its opening by HRH the Duke of Cornwall and York in 1901. The solid building with three-foot thick walls, was constructed of Gabriola Island sandstone and brick. The two central towers, crenellated roofline, rusticated stonework, and recessed windows provide an attractive frontispiece to the large drill hall at the rear. — Map (db m54225) HM|
|Ontario, Toronto — South African War Memorial — ("2nd Boer War")|
| . . . — Map (db m57959) WM|
|Ontario (Frontenac County), Kingston — Fort Henry|
An earlier fort was built here on Point Henry during the War of 1812 primarily to defend the nearby naval dockyard. When the Rideau Canal was built as part of a military route connecting Kingston with Montreal, the strategic importance of this site increased. The old fort was therefore replaced by the present structure of stronger and more advanced design which was completed in 1836 at a cost of over £70,000. Garrisoned by units of the British and then the Canadian Army . . . — Map (db m39363) HM|
|Ontario (Middlesex County), London — "Holy Roller"|
Presented to the City of London
by 1st Hussars, 4th June 1950
in memory of the First Hussars who fell
in two World Wars
The only tank of 6th Canadian Armoured
Regiment (1st Hussars) to complete campaign
in North-West Europe
D-Day 6th June 1944
VE-Day 8th May 1945 — Map (db m18922) HM|
|Ontario (Middlesex County), London — Crimean War Cannons|
|These cannon were used at the seige of Sebastopol, and were brought to this country after the capture of that city by the British in 1855. Sir John Carling was instrumental in procuring these three pieces for this city. This gun is a British piece. The other two are Russian. This tablet was erected by the London and Middlesex Historical Society, 1907
Restored 1987 — Map (db m18928) HM|
|Ontario (Middlesex County), London — London Armouries|
|Completed in 1905, the London Armouries is attributed to Department of Public Works architect, T. E. Fuller. It was the home of the militia units of the Royal Canadian Regiment, the First Hussars, the Royal Canadian Artillery, Royal Canadian Army Service Corps, the Royal Canadian Engineers and the Army Medical Corps.
Erected by the Historic Sites Committee of the London Public Library Board, April, 1997 — Map (db m18929) HM|
|Ontario (Middlesex County), London — London South African War Memorial — 1899 - 1902|
|“In Honour of the Men from the London District who Fought for the Empire in South Africa, and in Memory of Those Who Fell.”
1899 - 1902
Pte. D. L. Moore, R.C.R.- Feb 14th, 1900
Pte. J. A. Donegan, 26th M.Lt.I.- Feb 18th, 1900
Pte. R. Smith, 26th M.Lt.I.- Feb 18th, 1900
Pte. W. G. Adams, 7th Regt. Fus.- April 16th, 1900
Pte. F.G.W. Floyd, 7th Regt. Fus.- May 10th, 1900
Pte. E. Mullins, R.C.R.I.- June 11th, 1900
Royal . . . — Map (db m18927) HM|
|Ontario (Middlesex County), London — London War Cenotaph|
The Glorious Dead
1950 - 1953
Bronze plaque on West facade:
In honour of those who died in war and conflict
Erected 1934 by the Imperial Order Daughters of the Empire (IODE)
Rededicated 1999 by the London Municipal Chapter IODE
United Nations Peacekeepers
We Will Remember Them
Nearby usage informational sign:
This Cenotaph is reserved for . . . — Map (db m18966) WM|
|Ontario (Middlesex County), London — The 1st Hussars|
To the everlasting memory
of the members of
THE 1ST HUSSARS
both the living and the dead, who together with
other Canadian and Allied servicemen
participated in the glorious campaign of 1944-1945
that led to the liberation of the Netherlands.
The Grateful Dutch Canadians of London
Re-dedicated June 6, 1998 by:
The Dutch Canadians Remember
Committee of 1995 — Map (db m18921) HM|
|Ontario (Middlesex County), London — The British Garrison in London|
|In one of several concentrations of British troops in Upper Canada various infantry and artillery units were stationed on a military reserve here during the mid-19th century. The garrison, which contributed significantly to the economic growth of London, was first established in 1839 to guard against border raids following the Rebellion of 1837. Although its troops were withdrawn in 1853 to serve in the Crimean War and military duties were assumed by pensioners, it was re-occupied by British . . . — Map (db m18918) HM|
|Ontario (Middlesex County), London — Veterans' Garden — 2005 - Year of the Veteran|
|Dedicated November 4, 2005
to remember, honour, and celebrate
our Canadian Veterans.
May the memory of their
achievements and sacrifices
be kept alive.
This garden was made possible thanks to the generous donation by Angus and Mabe McLennan - for the love and enjoyment of Victoria Park. — Map (db m18969) HM|
|Quebec, Québec City — Champlain Monument — Vieux-Québec|
| Samuel de Champlain: Born at Brovace in Saintonce about 1567. Served in the French Army as Marechal des Locis under Henri IV. Explored the West Indies from 1599 to 1601 and also Acadia from 1604 to 1607.
Founded Québec in 1603. Discovered the region of the Great Lakes. Led several expeditions against the Iroquois from 1609 to 1615. Was successively Lieutenant Governor and Governor of New France. Died at Québec 24th December 1635. — Map (db m49965) HM|
|Estonia, Harjumaa MaakondTallinn — Mustpeade Maja — [Tallinn House of Black Heads] — PIKK 26|
| Text in Estoninan: ...
Text in English:
The Tallinn Brotherhood of Black Heads, established in 1399, leased the Pikk Street building in 1517 and added a big festive hall to it in 1531-32, the initial ornament paintings of which can still be seen in the windows.
In 1597, the façade was renovated by the builder-stonecutter Arent Passer. In addition to the coat of arms of the brotherhood that bears the picture of St. Mauritius, the stone décor also represents the portraits . . . — Map (db m57007) HM|
|Estonia, Harjumaa MaakondTallinn — British Royal Navy in the Estonian War of Independence — [Estonian Maritime Museum]|
| IN MEMORY
of the officers and seamen of the British Royal Navy
who served and gave their lives in the cause of freedom
in the Baltic during the Estonian War of Independence
1918 - 1920
MALESTUSEKS Briti Kuningliku Merevae ohvitseridele ja meremeestele kes voitle sid ja andsid oma elu Balti rikide vabaduse eest Eesti Vabqdussmas 1918-1920 The following Admirals were decorated with the Estonian Cross of Liberty for their distinguished services: Merevaeohvitserid.keda . . . — Map (db m61360) HM|
|France, Île-de-France (Paris), Paris — The Students of France|
|Le 11 Novembre 1940
devant la tombe de l’Inconnu
Les Etudiants de France
manifestant en masse
résistèrent à l’occupant|
(Translated by Google Translate with modifications:)
11 November 1940 before the tomb of the Unknown [Soldier] the students of France demonstrated the first mass resistance the occupant — Map (db m60915) HM
|Germany, Berlin — Soviet War Memorial — Tiergarten|
| Вечный славу
героев, которые входят
в борьбе против немецко
-фашистских . . . — Map (db m57182) HM|
|Honduras, Goascoran — Monument to the Honduran Soldier During the "100 Hours War" — Monumento al Soldado Hondureño|
A los bravos combatientes, militares y civiles, que en los campos de La Arada dejaron constancia de su ejemplar arrojo en defensa de nuestra soberania.
Frontera sur de Honduras, Julio 15 de 1971
To the brave military and civilian combatants that in the fields of La Arada gave proof of their exemplary daring in defense of our sovereignty.
Southern Border of Honduras, 15 July 1971 — Map (db m70047) WM|
|Iraq, Baghdad — Duck Memorial|
|Dedicated to the Memory of all the displaced ducks who gave up their home in the hopes of a better Iraq. — Map (db m50642) HM|
|Ireland, Connacht (County Galway), Kilronan, Inishmore, Aran Islands — A Fighting Chance|
| John Ridgeway [sic] & Chay Bylth
rowed the Atlantic in English Rose III
from Orleans to Kilronan, Aran,
Ireland 4th June 1966 - 3rd Sept. 1966
Na laga dia iad — Map (db m22850) HM|
|Ireland, Connacht (County Mayo), Murrisk — Squadron Leader R. F. C. Garvey|
In loving memory of
R.F.C. Garvey D.F.C. & Bar
Only son of J.C. & Gladys Garvey
Born at Murrisk Abbey 11th July 1918
Killed in a flying accident
at Shawbury, England,
on 14th January 1948 & buried there
Dearly loved — Map (db m28259) HM|
|Ireland, Connacht (County Mayo), Westport — Major John Mac Bride / Seán Mac Giolla Bríde|
IgCuimhne ar an maor
Seán Mac Giolla Bríde
Major John Mac Bride
Irish Republican Army,
Major in the Army of the South
Organizer of the Transvaal
who died for Ireland
5th May, 1916.
Go nDéana dia trócaire ar a anam. — Map (db m27564) HM|
|Ireland, Connacht (County Roscommon), Ballinlough — Glynn - Glavey - Keane Memorial|
This memorial was erected to
commemorate the memory of
Comdt. Patrick Glynn
Lieut. Michael Glavey
Vol. Michael Keane
who gave their lives for
the cause of freedom
during an attack on
Ballinlough R.I.C. Barracks
on Sept. 14th 1920.
“They rose in dark and evil days
to free our native land
They started here a living flame
that nothing can withstand”
Tógadh an leacht cuimhneacháin seo
i mbuan chuimhne ar an . . . — Map (db m27768) HM|
|Ireland, Connacht (County Roscommon), Strokestown — The Sharkey Sisters|
The Sharkey Sisters
Una and Lena
resided here. Leading
members of Cumann na mBan
War of Independence — Map (db m27553) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — Fusiliers’ Arch|
| In memory of the officers, non-commissioned officers and men of the Royal Dublin Fusiliers who fell in the South African War A.D.1899·1900
Fortissimis suis militibus hoc monumentum eblana dedicavit MCMVII
Tulega Heights•Laings Nek
Fusiliers' Arch [Inscription is from the Monuments of St. Stephen's Green
marker found in the park]
The form of this arch, 12 feet in width, is that of a Roman Triumphal Arch. It stands 32 feet 6 inches high. . . . — Map (db m22470) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — National Memorial to members of the Defence Forces — who died in the service of the State — "An Dún Cuimhneacháin"|
| The National Memorial to members of the Defence Forces is a place of contemplation and remembrance, providing a focal point where families, relatives and members of the public can reflect on the contribution and sacrifice made by members of the Defence Forces who died in the service of the State.
The pyramid shape of the memorial, which was designed by Brian King, captures historic references to burial and is a standing testament to the dead. It also reflects the shape of a military tent. . . . — Map (db m26868) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — Thomas M. Kettle — 1880 - 1916|
| Born in County Dublin
9th February 1880
Killed at Guinchy
9th September 1916
Killed at Guinchy during the Great War, September 1916.
“Died not for Flag nor King nor Emperor
But for a dream born in a herdsman's shed
And for the sacred scripture of the poor.”
The bronze bust erected in 1937, is by A.G. Power and was cast by Compagnie des Bronzes, Brussels.
[From the Monuments of St. Stephen's Green marker found in . . . — Map (db m22489) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Longford), Longford — County Longford Great War Memorial — 1914 - 1918|
| [Northeast Face]
To Perpetuate the Memory
of the 284 Gallant Soldiers
of the County Longford
who fell in the Great World War.
This Cross was erected by
the generous subscriptions of
their sorrowing relatives,
comrades and sympathisers.
R. I. P.
[Handwritten note hanging below reads:]
In memory of the 325 Longford men and women
who died in World Wars One and Two
and other conflicts
R. I. P.
Those loving Heroes
good and . . . — Map (db m27355) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Meath), Culmullen — Culmullen & 1798 — They Gave Their Lives For Their Cause|
| Erected by the People of
Culmullen and District
to the memory of the Men and Women
of Wexford and Meath
who died for their Country
and lie buried in the surrounding area
There were two periods of intense
Rising activity around Culmullen in 1798
Thursday May 24, 1798
Dunshaughlin was the rallying point for the United Irishmen of Meath, Dublin and North Kildare where a Tree of Liberty was planted. The following day, the rebels moved to one side of the Bog of Culmullen . . . — Map (db m33354) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Meath), Duleek — Duleek 1916 - 1981 Hunger Strike Monument — and Memorial Garden|
| The Memorial Garden
is named after
Vol. Joe Coombes, Platin Road.
Vol. Noel Gallagher, Mountfield, Co. Tyrone
Vol. Harry McCormick, Prioryland, Duleek
and is in memory of
all those who dedicated their lives
to and for the cause of Irish freedom.
This monument was unveiled by
Paddy Sheils (Snr), Garballagh
and Jimmy Lynch, Kentstown
The Memorial Garden
Was Officially Opened
On 15th June 2008
By Ex-Portlaoise Hungerstriker . . . — Map (db m27220) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Meath), Kells — Market Cross — Kells Heritage Trail|
| This 9th century high cross, the cross of the gate of the Kells monastery, is one of five high crosses still surviving in Kells. The cross of the gate, currently at or near its original site, was a termon cross and signified that a fugitive could claim sanctuary once inside the boundary of the monastic area.
The carved faces of the high crosses depict scenes from the Old and New Testament and were used primarily for the religious instruction of the faithful. These scenes may originally have . . . — Map (db m27341) HM|
|Italy, Lazio (Rome Province), Rome — Arch of Constantine|
| IMP • CAES • FL • CONSTANTINO • MAXIMO • P • F • AVGUSTO • S • P • Q • R • QVOD • INSTINCTV • DIVINITATIS • MENTIS • MAGNITVDINE • CVM • EXERCITV • SVO • TAM • DE • TYRANNO • QVAM • DE • OMNI • EIVS • FACTIONE • VNO • TEMPORE • IVSTIS • REM-PVBLICAM • VLTVS • EST • ARMIS • ARCVM • TRIVMPHIS • INSIGNEM • DICAVIT [English trans.:]
To the Emperor Caesar Flavius Constantinus, the greatest, pious, and blessed Augustus: because he, inspired by the divine, and by the greatness of his . . . — Map (db m47768) HM|
|Kiribati, Tarawa, Betio — Battle of Tarawa Memorial — U.S. Marines War Memorial|
|Marker front, upper plaque:
2nd Marine Division
United States Marine Corps
Battle of Tarawa
November 20, 1943
To our fellow Marines who gave their all!
The world is free because of you!
God rest your souls
1,113 killed 2,290 wounded
The Central Pacfic spearhead
To world victory in World War II
Marker front, lower plaque:
To the People of Kiribati
“During World War II, many lives were . . . — Map (db m25737) HM|
|Philippines, Cavite Province, Corregidor Island — "Tribute to the Brave Heroes" — Japanese Memorial Garden|
| [Text in Japanese Kanji]
In remembrance of the 4,500 fallen comrades in arms of the Japanese defense battalion commanded by Captain Akira Tagaki, the senior commander, composed of : 0-4 Squadron Troop 330 31st Naval Special Resistance Combat Team 1st Special Infantry Battalion 17th Volunteer Naval Battalion 10th Aerial Information Regiment 32nd Field Artillery Regiment
And in tribute to the gallantry of the Filipinos, Americans, and Japanese soldiers who fought and died for a . . . — Map (db m64039) HM WM|
|Philippines, Cavite Province, Corregidor Island — Corregidor — Monument to Peace, Human Valor and International Understanding|
| Corregidor derived its name from Corregimiento or “Municipal District”. About 1225 the island became a stronghold for Chinese pirates until the latter were driven by the Moros. Became Spanish possession, 1570, when Spaniards arrived in Manila from Panay. Occupied by the Dutch, 1600. Recaptured by the Spaniards as a fortification besides being used as lighthouse, dockyard, naval convalescent hospital, penal colony, and checking point for ships to have their papers corrected. . . . — Map (db m63652) HM WM|
|Philippines, Leyte (Palo), Palo City — Leyte Landing/Paglunsad sa Leyte|
| Panel 1 (Text in Filipino):
Sa pook na ito sa Palo, Leyte nagbalik sa Filipinas si Heneral Douglas MacArthur noong 20 Oktubre 1944 at personal na nanguna sa mabilisang pagtataboy sa hukbong Hapones na nasa Pilipinas. Ang Pangulong Sergio Osmeña at ilang kagawad ng nagdestiyerong pamahalaan ay dumating kasamg ni Hen. MacArthur at kumilos para sa muling pagtatatag, pagpapanumbalik, at pangangasiwa sa pamahalaang Komonwelt ng Filipinas. Ipinahayag ng pambansang tandang . . . — Map (db m63620) HM WM|
|Philippines, Manila, Intramuros — No. 1 Victoria St.|
|On this site once stood the headquarters of General Douglas MacArthur commanding general of the United States Army Forces in the Far East (USAFFE)
Popularly known as "No. 1 Victoria St." it was located opposite the USAFFE headquarters at the Reducto San Pedro.
No. 1 Victoria was abandoned during the retreat of Filipino-American forces to Bataan and Corregidor in 1941. Used as Barracks by the Japanese occupation forces, it was destroyed during the Battle of Manila in 1945. — Map (db m25241) HM|
|Philippines, Manila, Intramuros — The Jesuit Compound|
|This block was occupied by the Jesuits upon their arrival in 1581 until their expulsion in 1768. The Church of Santa Ana (1587), Colegio Maximo de San Ignacio (1595), Colegio de San Jose (1601), and the first church and convent of San Ignacio (1626) were built on this site. Built in 1590 and opened in 1596, Santa Ana was the first stone church in the Philippines. Destroyed in an earthquake. Another church constructed in 1626 in honor of St. Ignatius of Loyola.
The Colegio Maximo de San . . . — Map (db m25232) HM|
|South Africa, Eastern Cape, Grahamstown — Drostdy Gateway|
|Built about 1842 as the main entrance to the military establishment. — Map (db m62648) HM|
|South Africa, Eastern Cape, Grahamstown — The Old Provost|
|Constructed as a military prison in 1838. — Map (db m62647) HM|
|Thailand, Chonburi, Pattaya — Admiral Krom Luang Jumborn Khet Udomsakdi — The Father of the Royal Thai Navy|
|Admiral Krom Luang Jumborn Khet Udomsakdi or the Prince of Jumborn. Formerly H.R.H. Prince Abhakara Kiartiwongse during the reign of King Chulalongkorn (RAMA V) was best known for his great contribution to the development of the Royal Thai Navy.
H.R.H. Prince Abhakara Kiartiwongse was born on the 19th December 1880 in the Grand Palace. He was the 28th child of King Rama V. His mother being Chao Chom Manda Mode of the Bunnag family.
H.R.H. Krom Luang Jumborn Khet Udomsakdi was born . . . — Map (db m69227) HM|
|United Kingdom, Kent, Walmer — Caesar’s Invasion of Britain|
|The first Roman invasion of Britain led by Julius Caesar landed near here LV BC. — Map (db m24553) HM|
|Alabama (Baldwin County), Gulf Shores — Fort Bowyer War of 1812|
|At, or near, this site, the United States, after seizing this point of land from the Spanish in 1813, built Fort Bowyer, a structure of wood and sand.
A small garrison of men courageously fought to defend the fort against two British attacks, one in September, 1814, again in February, 1815. — Map (db m28692) HM|
|Alabama (Baldwin County), Gulf Shores — Officer’s Row|
| As the U.S. Army modernized at the turn of the 20th century, so too did its military posts. In the stratified society of this period, separate and distinct areas for the various classes of individuals were developed. The Army was little different, officers and their families sat at the top of the ladder. Provided with all possible modern conveniences, including electricity, the officers were quartered in ten large houses facing Mobile Bay. In addition, the Army provided them such diversions as . . . — Map (db m70104) HM|
|Alabama (Blount County), Blountsville — Blountsville|
1820-1889 seat of Blount County a county older than the State.
Named for Tennessee Governor W. G. Blount who sent Andrew Jackson to aid Alabama settlers in Creek Indian War, 1812-1814.
Indian Chief Bear Meat lived here at crossing of old Indian trading paths.
1816 - Tennesseans began trading post here and called village Bear Meat Cabin.
1820 - named changed to Blountsville and made county seat.
1889 - County seat moved to Oneonta. — Map (db m28038) HM|
|Alabama (Blount County), Locust Fork — Gabriel Hanby, 1786-1826 — ← Grave and Homesite 300 Yards|
|Member Constitutional Convention 1819
First Senator of Blount County
County road and court
at his house 1820. — Map (db m32484) HM|
|Alabama (Chambers County), LaFayette — Chambers County War Memorial|
|In memory of Chambers Co. veterans who gave their lives in following wars:
World War I [west face] (list of names)
World War II [east and south faces](list of names)
Korean and Vietnam Conflicts [north face] (lists of names) — Map (db m18163) WM|
|Alabama (Clay County), Ashland — Clay County Veterans Memorial|
|Dedicated to the veterans of Clay County who so unselfishly served and to those who died in defense of their country Let it be said “We will never forget” Left Panel List of World War I, World War II and Korean War veterans Right Panel List of World War II and Vietnam War veterans — Map (db m14302) WM|
|Alabama (Covington County), Florala — Downtown Square and Veterans Memorial Park|
|The name Florala came from combining the names of Florida and Alabama. Lake Jackson, located in Florala, is the state's largest natural lake. It is named for Andrew Jackson, who in 1818 camped on the lake with his soldiers while en route to Pensacola. James Edwin Hughes, best known as the "Father of Florala," arrived int he area in December 1865. He created a homestead and began settling this community. Since 1870, the City of Florala, through Florala's Fidelity Masonic Lodge No. 685 and . . . — Map (db m39776) HM|
|Alabama (DeKalb County), Fort Payne — Fort Payne’s Fort|
|The fort, consisting of a log house and large stockade, was built in 1838 by order of General Winfield Scott, commander of military forces responsible for the removal of Cherokee Indians.
Soldiers occupying the fort were commanded by Captain John C. Payne, for whom the fort was named.
Indians in the DeKalb County area who refused to move westward voluntarily were gathered and held in the stockade pending their forceful removal to the Indian territory.
Chimney still standing on . . . — Map (db m28030) HM|
|Alabama (Etowah County), Attalla — Camp Sibert — World War II: 1942-1945|
|On 6/18/1942 the U.S. took possession of 36,300 acres in Etowah and adjoining St. Clair County to establish Alabama's first Chemical Warfare Center. The area was dedicated on 12/25/1942 and named for U.S. Army M/G William Luther Sibert, first Chief of Chemical Warfare Service and a native of Etowah County. The camp served as a Unit Training Center and a Replacement Training Center for the CWS and could accommodate up to 30,000 troops. Forty-seven percent of all CWS units of WW II were trained here. The camp was deactivated on 12/31/1945. — Map (db m33304) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — Disabled American Veterans|
Disabled American Veterans Formed December 25, 1920.
Birmingham Chapter No. 4 Chartered January 25, 1926.
This Memorial Dedicated To Our Military Forces And To All Who Have Given Their Blood And Lives That The Republic Might Live Forever.
How Sleep The Brave Who Sink To Rest By All Their Country's Wishes Blest!
This Tenth Day Of November Nineteen Hundred Eighty One.
United States Army
Authorized By The Continental Congress June 14, 1775
* . . . — Map (db m24347) WM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — History of the 117th Tactical Reconnaissance Wing|
|January 1922 Federal Recognition 135th Observation Squadron
May 1923 Redesignated 114th Observation Squadron
January 1924 Redesignated 106th Observation Squadron
October 1943 Redesignated 100th Bombardment Squadron
November 1946 Federally Recognized 106th Bombardment Squadron
February 1951 Redesignated 106th Tactical Reconnaissance Squadron
May 1960 Assigned to 117th Tactical Reconnaissance Wing — Map (db m27388) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — The Rainbow Viaduct — Dedicated to the Brave Men of the 167th Infantry who fought to Preserve Our Freedom|
|On May 10, 1919, soon after its completion, this 21st Street Viaduct was named the Rainbow Viaduct in tribute to Alabama's famous 167th Infantry of the Rainbow Division, renowned for Bravery and Honor. The 167th was the Nation's only regiment in World War 1 referred to by its home state -- "The Alabama," made up of men from throughout Alabama, including a large number from Birmingham, this regiment had to its credit the following brave deeds, among countless others:
* Advanced farthest . . . — Map (db m26991) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Anderson — Hugh Pate Harris — General, U.S. Army|
Approximately one-half mile north of this location is the birthplace of Hugh Pate Harris. He was born there on June 15, 1909. At a young age, Hugh and his family moved to Lawrence County, Tennessee. After graduating from Columbia Military Academy (Columbia, Tennessee) he entered the U.S. Military Academy at West Point. Harris graduated in 1931, receiving his commission as a second lieutenant in the U.S. Army Infantry.
Early in his career, Harris was involved in the . . . — Map (db m69499) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — 115th Signal Battalion — Organized 1940|
|At this site where once stood Fort Willingham (Armory) the 115th Signal Battalion was organized December 1, 1940. Originally the 2nd Battalion, 151st Engineers, it was organized a number of times from 1940 to 1959 as its mission was changed to meet the Nation's military requirements. In World War II it was designated as an Engineer Combat Requirement (later Battalion). During the Korean War it was on active duty as the 104th Antiaircraft Artillery Automatic Weapons Battalion. The 115th Signal . . . — Map (db m28562) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — 16” Projectile|
|The 1,900 lb. HC (High Capacity) Mark 13 shore-bombardment projectile is fired from the Mark 7, 16” .50-caliber gun. The HC round can create a crater 50’ wide and 20’ deep. The 16” gun turret weights 1,708 tons. The barrel weighs 267,904 lbs. Iowa-class battleships could store 1,210 of the 16” projectiles aboard ship.
Specifications of the 16” Gun
Gun length: 816” breech to muzzle
Bore length: 800”
Rifling length: 682.86”
Grooves: 96 at . . . — Map (db m69660) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — AGM-28 Hound Dog Missile|
|The AGM-28 Hound Dog Missile was the United States’ first Air Launched Cruise Missile (ALCM). It was made to deliver W28, 4-megaton nuclear warheads. North
American Aviation was contracted in 1956 to build the protoype. The AGM-28 was put into service in 1960. Pratt & Whitney J52-P-3 turbojets provided the propulsion with 7,500 lbs. of thrust. A total of 722
of these missiles were produced from 1961 through 1975. In 1976, all AGM-28 Hound Dog missiles were taken out of service and replaced by . . . — Map (db m69655) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — Anti-Tank Gun|
|This is a T-3 (T-78) Experimental anti-tank gun. It fired a 76mm round of ammunition. Being a towed weapon
limited it to being used defensively, and its lack of mobility meant it could be easily outflanked. Towed anti-tank artillery disappeared from the U.S. Army’s inventory in 1952. This gun is one of only a few in existence. — Map (db m69661) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — General Arthur E. Brown, Jr.|
|A 1953 graduate of West Point, Gen. Brown culminated a 36-year military career as Director of the Army Staff (1983-1987) and Vice-Chief of Staff of the U.S. Army (1987-1989).
City of Florence Walk of Honor — Map (db m29267) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — General John Coffee|
|Through his personal and business relationship with Andrew Jackson, Gen. Coffee led Jackson's cavalry in the Battle of New Orleans in 1815 and became a celebrated American hero.
City of Florence
Walk of Honor — Map (db m28896) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — Lt. Col. R. Edward Yeilding|
|After flying more than 90 worldwide reconnaissance missions, in 1990 Lt. Col. Ed Yeilding set a coast to coast aircraft speed record of 67 minuets 54 seconds flying an SR-71 spy plane, which is now at the Smithsonian.
Inducted 2007 — Map (db m29101) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — Michael Hall Mobbs|
|Representing the Secretary of Defense at the Strategic Arms Reduction Talks in the 1980's, Michael Mobbs was a leader in negotiations between the U.S. and the U.S.S.R., resulting in the most complex arms control treaty in history.
City of Florence
Walk of Honor — Map (db m38644) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — Rear Admiral Fran McKee|
|In 1976, Fran McKee became the first woman line officer promoted to Rear Admiral in the U.S. Navy. A wide range of opportunities for women in the Navy is a result of her personal example and her work on the Navy's Equal Rights Committee.
City of Florence
Walk of Honor — Map (db m38648) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — The “Honest John” Rocket|
|The M50 Honest John was the U.S. Army’s first nuclear-armed surface-to-surface rocket. It was an unguided 762mm artillery rocket, powered by an M6 solid-fuel rocket engine.
The Honest John was developed at Redstone Arsenal in Huntsville, Alabama, in 1950, and first fired at White Sands Missile Range in 1951.
Later versions carried a high-explosive warhead instead of an atomic payload. The Honest John weighted in at 5,800 pounds and had a range of 25 miles. Production ended in 1965, . . . — Map (db m69656) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — The Hawk Missile|
|The Hawk Missile was the first mobile medium-range, guided, anti-aircraft missile deployed by the U.S. Army in August 1959. The Hawk is a surface-to-air missile powered by a solid-propellant rocket motor and controlled in flight by its large tail fins. The Hawk is 16’-8” long, weighs 1,400 lbs., and has a speed of
Mach 2.5. The Hawk has a ceiling of 58,000 and carries a 163 lb. blast-fragmentation warhead.
The Hawk was deactivated in 1994 and replaced by the Patriot Missile. — Map (db m69652) HM|
|Alabama (Lawrence County), Courtland — Early Roads / One of the South's First Railroads 1832|
| Side A
Tennessee Street along the north side of the square was originally part of Gaines’ Trace, a horse path laid out in 1807 under the direction of Capt. Edmund Pendleton Gaines of the U. S. Army. From Melton’s Bluff on the Tennessee River, the trace ran westward to Cotton Gin Port on the Tombigbee, in present-day Mississippi. Another important early thoroughfare was the Byler Road (1819), which ran southward through Courtland and linked the Tennessee Valley to Tuscaloosa and lower . . . — Map (db m29056) HM|
|Alabama (Lawrence County), Courtland — The Red Rovers / Red Rovers Roster|
| Side A Volunteer military company organized at Courtland 1835 to aid Texas in struggle for independence. Commanded by Dr. Jack Shackelford, local physician, company derived its name from color of home spun uniforms, made by citizens of Courtland. In first battle Rovers were assigned to regiment cut off, captured at Coleta, March 20, 1836. Surrendered on promise of return to U. S. On March 27, company and others, 365 men, executed at Goliad by order of Gen. Santa Anna. Shackelford and . . . — Map (db m29054) HM|
|Alabama (Limestone County), Athens — Athens College Veteran's Memorial|
|Dedicated to those who gave their lives in defense of their country by the veteran students of Athens College — Map (db m46362) HM|
|Alabama (Madison County), Brownsboro — Trail of Tears — Drane/Hood Overland Route|
|In May 1838 soldiers, under the command of U.S. Army General Winfield Scott, began rounding up Cherokee Indians in this area who had refused to move to Indian Territory in Oklahoma. About 16,000 Cherokees were placed in stockades in Tennessee and Alabama until their removal. Roughly 3,000 were sent by boat down the Tennessee River and the rest were marched overland in the fall and winter of 1838-1839. This forced-removal under harsh conditions resulted in the deaths of about 4,000 Cherokees. . . . — Map (db m33318) HM|
|Alabama (Madison County), Huntsville — Major General H.N. Toftoy, USA.|
|This plaque was placed here by
Citizens of Huntsville and
Madison County, Alabama,
In Honor Of
Major General H.N. Toftoy, USA.
Who was Commanding General
of Redstone Arsenal
from September 1, 1954, to March 31, 1958.
It was unveiled here on August 1, 1958,
on the occasion of his transfer to the
command of Aberdeen Proving Ground.
during his stay at Redstone
made a significant contribution
to this community,
and he will forever be enshrined
in the hearts of local people as
"Mr. Missile." — Map (db m27906) HM|
|Alabama (Madison County), Huntsville — Memorial Fountains|
|The Memorial Fountain System begins with a flow of water cascading over the continuous weir, which is punctuated by 8 Black Granite Markers. This flow symbolizes the blood which has been spilled defending our nation's freedom and flows into the Sacrifice Pool, the Courage Pool, and the Defender Fountain. The
small white headstones in the Defenders Fountain are replicas of those in Arlington National Cemetery and represent all of our fallen warriors. Water feeds through the Defender Fountain . . . — Map (db m68728) WM|
|Alabama (Madison County), Madison — Madison County Veterans|
|Dedicated to the men and women of the community of Madison who devotedly served their country in the wars. — Map (db m36493) HM|
|Alabama (Marshall County), Guntersville — History of Guntersville|
|(Side A) This area's proximity to the Tennessee River and Indian trails made it a crossroads for early habitation, settlement, and trade. Archaeological studies reveal it was first inhabited about 12,000 years ago by Paleo-Indians. They were followed by various tribes of Native Americans. The Cherokees arrived in the late 1700s and called the area Kusa-Nunnahi, meaning Creek Path. In 1785, John Gunter became the first white man to settle here. He married the daughter of the local . . . — Map (db m33305) HM|
|Alabama (Mobile County), Mobile — Horace O. Davis|
|This building is named for Horace O. David whose dedication and estimable service to the USS Alabama Battleship Commission enhanced the memories of the personnel, who served aboard the USS Alabama and the honor of the people of the Great State for which she is named. Mr. Davis was appointed to the commission in 1963 and served as vice chairman and chairman dedicated this 7th Day of October, 1981.
Lewis E. McCray Chairman,
Jack Tatum Vice Chairman,
Henri M. Albridge,
W. Terrance . . . — Map (db m50427) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — 37th Division The Buckeye Division — World War I / World War II & Korea|
| World War I
Camp Sheridan was the site of the August 1917 organization of the Buckeye Division, made up of Ohio National Guardsmen who previously had been serving on the Mexican Border.
After training, the 37th went to France in June 1918, fighting in the Lorraine, Ypres - Lys, and Meuse - Argonne Campaigns. It took 5,387 casualties and won a Medal of Honor before returning to the U.S. in March 1919 to be demobilized.
2nd Lieutenant Albert E. Baesel, 148th Infantry, was awarded the . . . — Map (db m38895) WM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — 9th Infantry Division / “The Old Reliables”|
|The 9th Division was organized on 18 July 1918 at Camp Sheridan for service in World War I. When the War ended, 11 November 1918, deployment of the Division to France was canceled and it was demobilized on 15 February 1919. Reactivated on 1 August 1940, 9th Infantry Division soldiers fought valiantly in 8 crucial World War II campaigns in North Africa, Sicily, France, Belgium, and Germany. After a short inactivation, the 9th returned to the active force on 15 July 1947 as a training division at . . . — Map (db m38898) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — Camp Sheridan|
|From Division Headquarters, located at this point from August 1917 to May 1918, was directed the training of the Thirty Seventh Division, National Guard Troops of Ohio, for Service in the World War.
The Relief map below indicates the locations of the various units of the Division while in Camp Sheridan.
Index To Map
1• HDQRS. 37th. Div.
2• TN. HDQRS. & M.P.
3• 112th FLD. SIG. BN.
4• 112th. SAN. TN.
A• 145th. INF.
B• 146th. INF.
C• 134th. M.G. BN.
D• 135th. M.G. . . . — Map (db m38899) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Pike Road — Town of Pike Road Veterans Memorial|
|Dedicated to all who have
served in the Armed Forces of
the United State of America
Never to be forgotten for
giving the ultimate sacrifice
for our freedom
Duty Honor Country — Map (db m68268) WM|
|Alabama (Perry County), Marion — Perry County Veterans Memorial|
of All Wars — Map (db m70103) WM|
|Alabama (Pike County), Brundidge — "Lest We Forget"|
|To honor the memory and valor of our soldiers Civil War W.W.I W.W.II Korean Vietnam Operation Desert Storm — Map (db m36514) HM|
|Alabama (Russell County), Fort Mitchell — Fort Mitchell — <----- 5 miles -----|
|Built during Creek War 1813 by Georgia Militia on main Indian trade route to Tombigbee River.
U.S. Troops stationed here until 1837. 1836 Lower Creeks corralled here for forced removal to the West. — Map (db m26069) HM|
|Alabama (Russell County), Fort Mitchell — Fort Mitchell Military Cemetery|
|This military graveyard was established soon after Fort Mitchell was built by General John Floyd of the Georgia Militia. Located just south of the stockade, the cemetery was used between 1813 and 1840 during the fort's occupation by Georgia and United States soldiers. The first burial was that of John Ward, an interpreter on the staff of General Floyd. Ward died of pneumonia in November 1813. A line of approximately 25 soldiers' graves is located adjacent to the site of the fort's dispensary. A . . . — Map (db m26122) HM|
|Alabama (Saint Clair County), Ashville — The Dean / Inzer House — Home of Lt. Col. / Judge John Washington Inzer|
|Greek revival antebellum home built by Moses Dean in 1852, acquired by John W. Inzer in 1866. Home occupied by Inzer family from 1866 to 1987. In July 1987 home and its contents, including extensive law library, deeded by family heirs to St. Clair Camp 308, Sons of Confederate Veterans, to become museum in honor of Lt. Col. & Judge John W. Inzer. Museum is maintained for educational purposes and public awareness. Museum incorporated December 1988 as a non-profit corporation.
John . . . — Map (db m28092) HM|
|Alabama (Saint Clair County), Ohatchee — Fort Strother|
|Creek Indian War Headquarters of Gen. Andrew Jackson 1813 - 1814 Erected By St. Clair County — Map (db m28144) HM|
|Alabama (Talladega County), Talladega — Battle Of Talladega — Nov. 9, 1813|
|Here Andrew Jackson led Tennessee Volunteers and friendly Indians to victory over hostile “Red Sticks.”
This action rescued friendly Creeks besieged in Fort Leslie.
Creek Indian War 1813 - 1814. — Map (db m28205) HM|
|Alabama (Talladega County), Talladega — USS Talladega (APA-208) — Talladega County — "The Tremblin' T"|
|Seven Battle Stars
* * * * * * *
World War II
* Iwo Jima Operation
* Okinawa Gunto Operation
First of the 31 ship convoy with occupation troops
to dock at Yokohama on VJ Day, September 2, 1945
* 3rd Korean Winter
* Korea, Summer-Fall (1953)
* Vietnam Defense Campaign
* Vietnamese Counteroffensive Phase II
* Vietnamese Counteroffensive Phase III
Commissioned October 31, 1944
Struck from Naval Register September 1, 1976 . . . — Map (db m12212) HM|
|Alabama (Tallapoosa County), Camp Hill — Lyman Ward Military Academy|
|Lyman Ward Military Academy was founded in 1898 as the Southern Industrial Institute by Dr. Lyman Ward, a Universalist minister from New York. Dr. Ward established SII to educate the poor children of Alabama, many of whom had few opportunities due to the devastation caused by the Civil War and subsequent Reconstruction. With donations received from the citizens of Camp Hill and assistance from fellow reformers like Booker T. Washington, founder of Tuskegee Institute, Ward began his school with . . . — Map (db m25501) HM|
|Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — Bell UH-1 Iroquois (Huey)|
|Manufacturer: Bell Aircraft
Engine: Lycoming T-53-L13 single turbine
Length: 41’ - 10.5’
Gross weight: 9,500 lbs
Cruise speed: 127 mph
Range: 318 miles
Armament: two M-60D 7.62 mm door mounted machine guns
The UH-1, or Huey, is one of the most recognized aircraft of the Vietnam era. This chopper had a wide variety of uses ranging from medical evacuation to troop transport to gunship. The UH-1H which is displayed went into service in September 1967. . . . — Map (db m35480) HM|
|Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — French 75 Millimeter Feldhase|
|This 1916 gun was used by the American Expeditionary Forces in World War 1 as part of a horse drawn caisson. During the war, American forces were loaned guns, planes, and other equipment from the French arsenal.
This gun was moved to Veterans Memorial Park in 1993 when Capitol Park was renovated. — Map (db m35506) HM|
|Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — Gorgas House|
|Built 1829 as University dining hall.
Remodeled as a residence 1840.
Occupied by Gorgas family 1879-1953
Preserved as a memorial to:
General Josiah Gorgas (1818-1883)
Chief of Ordnance, C. S. A. 1861-1865
President of the University 1878-1879
Mrs. Amelia Gayle Gorgas (1826-1913)
University Librarian 1883-1906
General William Crawford Gorgas (1854-1920)
Surgeon General, United States Army
Sanitary engineer whose work in eliminating Yellow . . . — Map (db m29301) HM|
|Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — Gun from the U.S.S. Tuscaloosa|
| 5 inch / 25 caliber
“Dual Purpose” secondary artillery gun
The U.S.S. Tuscaloosa was equipped with eight such guns, located in single turrets, four on either side of the ship. Developed in the 1920’s, its purpose was for both antiaircraft and surface fire. The gun weighed 4,720 lbs and was served by a crew of eight men. It was capable of firing a 54 lb shell out to a range of 14,500 yards. — Map (db m35507) HM|
|Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — M60A3 TTS Medium Tank|
|Initially Manufactured by Chrysler Corporation
Maximum Speed: 30mph
Weight: 57 tons
Maximum range: 260 miles
Armament: Main 105mm gun, Secondary 50 caliber machine gun, M240 coaxial machine gun.
The first M60 tanks were issued to U.S. Army units during the fall of 1960 as a replacement for the M48 Patton tank. The M60A3 was introduced in 1978 and was the first production line tank to be outfitted with the tank thermal sight (TTS). The TTS provided the tank crew with . . . — Map (db m35512) HM|
|Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — Replicas gates for Northington General Hospital|
|These gates are replicas of the gates for Northington General Hospital, a U.S. Army Hospital that operated on this site during World War II. From 1947 to 1952, Northington General Hospital was the temporary home of DCH Regional Medical Center while DCH was under construction. The original gates are located at the south entrance of Snow Hinton Park.
Sponsored by DCH Health System in honor of its employees and West Alabama veterans. — Map (db m35517) HM|
|Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — Tuscaloosa County Veterans Memorial|
|Provided by local veterans and other dedicated citizens, this memorial pays tribute to all veterans of Tuscaloosa County who were engaged in the nine major American wars, 1776-1976. Rising centrally is the mainmast of World War II heavy cruiser USS Tuscaloosa, which fought gallantly in five crucial campaigns. Surrounding the mast are nine granite tablets depicting the wars, within a broken circle, hopefully symbolizing the end of warfare.
On this site stood the chapel of the 140 acre . . . — Map (db m35475) HM|
|Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — U.S.S. Tuscaloosa (CA 37)|
|Built: New York Shipbuilding Co. - Camden, NJ
Commissioned August 17, 1934
Type: New Orleans Class Heavy Cruiser
Displacement: 9,975 ton
Propulsion: 107,000 HP Stream Turbines
Speed: 32.7 knots
Length: 588 feet
Crew size: 708
Armament: nine 8 inch / 55 caliber guns, eight 5 inch / 25 caliber “dual purpose” guns.
From the beginning of U.S. involvement in WW II through 1944 the U.S.S. Tuscaloosa operated in the European Theater participating in convoy . . . — Map (db m35511) HM|
|Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — Vought A-7E Corsair II|
|Manufactured by LTV Corporation
Type: Carrier-based attack-bomber
Crew: Pilot only
Maximum Speed: 693 mph
Power Plant: One 14,250 lb S.T. Allison TF41-A-2 turbofan
Weight: 21 tons
Tactical Range: 490 miles
Armament: One 20mm M61-A1 multi-barrel gun, two mounts for sidewinder AAM’s, 6 wing stations for 10,000 lbs of bombs or AGM’s
LTV corporation was contracted in March 1964 to manufacture the Corsair II, and the first A-7A flew on September 27, 1965, VA-147 was . . . — Map (db m35514) HM|
|Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — Willys Jeep|
|In 1940, the U.S. Army put out a call to automobile manufacturers to produce a fast, lightweight, all terrain vehicle. The answer came in the form of the Willys MB. The Jeep was instrumental in World War II, the Korean War, and Vietnam.
This jeep is decorated in the colors of the U.S. Air Force. The Department of the Air Force was established on September 17, 1947, shortly after taking office, the first Secretary of the USAF, W. Stuart Symington said “In this day when a powerful . . . — Map (db m35515) HM|
|Alaska (Juneau Borough), Juneau — Alaska Native Veterans Memorial|
| Monument against east wall of house off Whittier Way:
This memorial is dedicated to all
Alaska Native Veterans,
Southeast who served in the
United States Armed Forces. Let us not dwell on their passing
but remember their shining Spirits that will live on forever.
World War I, World War II, Korea
Vietnam, Gulf War era, Panama,
Granada, Bosnia, and Afghanistan
We honor all Veterans who served their country
US Army, US Marine Corps, US Navy, US Air Force, US . . . — Map (db m69127) WM|
|Alaska (Southeast Fairbanks Borough), Delta Junction — Delta Junction, Alaska — Northern Terminus of the "Alcan" Highway|
|This highway was constructed during World War II as a military supply route for interior Alaska Military and Airfields in 1942. 7 Army regiments and 42 Contractors and Public Roads Administrators working from Delta Junction South and Dawson Creek North completed it when they met at Soldiers’ Summit at Kluane Lake Yukon Territory in November 1942. At the peak of construction, 77 Contractors employed 15,000 men and 11,000 pieces of road building equipment. The total construction cost for 1422 miles was $115,000,000. — Map (db m59840) HM|
|Alaska (Valdez Cordova Borough), Valdez — Goat Trail|
|The U.S. Army arrived at Valdez during the Gold Rush to build a trail into the interior. They found the Valdez Glacier impassable much of the year. To bypass the glacier, they cut a narrow trail along the walls of rugged Keystone Canyon. The “Goat Trail” quickly became a popular route to the interior.
There Must be a Better Way
In 1898 the Army found a route though Keystone Canyon as an alternative to Valdez Glacier. Despite dense vegetation, high walls, and a fast, icy . . . — Map (db m49611) HM|
|Arizona (Apache County), Alpine — The Old Bushvalley Fort|
The Old Bushvalley Fort
For protection against
Renegade Apaches — Map (db m36274) HM|
|Arizona (Apache County), Window Rock — In Remembrance of Our Warriors / Navajo Warrior Memorial|
In Remembrance of Our Warriors
Who Made the Ultimate Sacrifice and/or
Missing in Action,
They will never be forgotten
and to us they will always be young in our thoughts.
Nelson Lewis • Walter Nelson • Willie A. Notah • Edie Charlie Begaye • Lee D. Tsosie • John C. Nelson • Calvin D. Largo • Bobby J. Martinez • Wilson Begaye Kee • Edmund Smith • Hosteen Plum* • Leonard Tellowhair • Lee Duane Todacheene • Norman Graham • Ralford J. Jackson • Paul Kinlacheeny • Raymond ***lie • . . . — Map (db m27911) HM|
|Arizona (Cochise County), Huachuca City — Fort Huachuca — (1877)|
|Situated on the southern route to the Pacific Ocean, it brought law and order to the Arizona Territory, protecting settlers, miners, travelers and immigrants. Its troops won the surrender of Geronimo. Generals Pershing and Wood served here.
As the Army's electronic proving ground Huachuca alone of all our military posts remains on active status. — Map (db m27897) HM|
|Arizona (Cochise County), Sierra Vista — "Unknown Soldiers"|
|In Memory of those who stood and fought,
But names have been forgotten.
May they rest in peace. — Map (db m28252) HM|
|Arizona (Cochise County), Sierra Vista — Alvarado Hall|
Built 1979 – 1980
1893 – 1974
In memory of all Americans who served their country with valor and gallantry during World War I and World War II in the pursuit of freedom and liberty for all. — Map (db m49433) HM|
|Arizona (Cochise County), Sierra Vista — Apache Scout Memorial|
|Eyes of the Army
Presented by the
Huachuca Museum Society
Sculpted by Dan Bates — Map (db m28231) HM|
|Arizona (Cochise County), Sierra Vista — Fort Huachuca|
Landmark — Map (db m28232) HM|
|Arizona (Cochise County), Sierra Vista — Ice Hall|
|Dedicated 9, July 1993
In honor of
Command Sergeant Major
Clovis D. Ice
United States Army
1933 – 1991
CSM Ice was a pioneer in military intelligence, airborne and special forces operations. He was a principal developer of direct support tactical SIGINT operations and instrumental in the design of the MANPACK intercept equipment, which revolutionized SIGINT support to tactical commanders. A soldier's soldier, CSM Ice possessed tactical and technical proficiency . . . — Map (db m28234) HM|
|Arizona (Cochise County), Sierra Vista — RC – 12G Crazyhorse|
|The Crazyhorse system was fielded in 1985 to meet the need for a capability to locate unique electronic emissions in Central America. It consisted of three RC – 12G airframes converted from C – 12D aircraft by Sanders Associates, Inc. It was deployed to Honduras in 1986 to support U. S. Southern Command and Task Force BRAVO in counterinsurgency and counterdrug operations for the next nine years. The system was retired from service in 1998. — Map (db m29587) HM|
|Arizona (Coconino County), Parks — Beale Wagon Road — America’s Great Camel Experiment 1857-1858|
|In the summer of 1857 former Navy Lt. Edward F. Beale was chosen by the Buchanan Administration to develop a wagon road from Fort Defiance, New Mexico Territory (now Arizona) to the Colorado River along the 35th parallel. Secretary of War John B. Floyd also charged Beale with conducting a test to determine the suitability of camels for use by the U.S. Army in the deserts of the American Southwest. To this end, the army issued Beale 25 camels from its herd stationed at Camp Verde, Texas. Syrian . . . — Map (db m48347) HM|
|Arizona (La Paz County), Bouse — 736th Tank Battalion (M) SP|
September 1943 to March 1944
"The Kid Battalion"
From Normandy to the Elbe:
•Central Europe — Map (db m52372) HM|
|Arizona (La Paz County), Bouse — 738th Medium Tank Battalion, Special — World War II — 1943 – 1945|
|Dedicated to the men who gave time in their lives to serve honorably and courageously for our country. We take this moment in time to recognize their achievements which were done with pride and dignity.
* * *
Ardennes - Alsace - Rhineland
Central Europe — Map (db m29160) HM|
|Arizona (La Paz County), Bouse — 739th Tank Battalion (SP) (ME)|
Ardennes, Rhineland and Central Europe
The 739th Tank Battalion was activated in March 1943 at Fort Lewis, Washington. The officers were from various states, the enlisted personnel from Oklahoma, Texas and Louisiana.
The battalion participated in maneuvers in Oregon, the firing range at Yakima, Washington and special training at Fort Knox, Kentucky.
From January to April, 1944 the unit trained at Camp Bouse, Arizona with the CDL (Gizmo) Tanks, then returned to Fort . . . — Map (db m29156) HM|
|Arizona (La Paz County), Bouse — 740th Tank Battalion — Daredevil Tankers|
|The 740th tank battalion was activated at Fort Knox, Ky. on March 1, 1943. It trained at Fort Knox and at Camp Bouse, Az. as a canal defense light (CDL) unit and as a standard medium tank battalion from October 15, 1943 to April 24, 1944 then sailed to England on July 26, 1944. It landed at Utah Beach, Normandy, France on November 1, 1944 and entered combat on December 19, 1944 during the Battle of the Bulge. In it's first half hour of combat, it stopped the furthest advance of the German 1st . . . — Map (db m29145) HM|
|Arizona (La Paz County), Bouse — Camp Bouse — The 526th A. I. B. - Canal Defense Light Project — Desert Training Center - California – Arizona Maneuver Area|
|Camp Bouse was established in Butler Valley 30 miles behind this monument in Sept. of 1943. It was one of twelve such camps built in the southwestern deserts to harden and train United States troops for service on the battlefields of World War II. The desert training center was a simulated theater of operations that included portions of California and Arizona. The other camps were Young, Coxcomb, Granite, Iron Mountain, Ibis Clipper, Pilot Knob, Laguna, Horn, Hyder and Rice.
Camp Bouse . . . — Map (db m29149) HM|
|Arizona (La Paz County), Bouse — Camp Bouse — The 701st Tank Battalion|
Central Europe Northern France Rhineland
The 701st tank battalion was activated 3/28/43 at Camp Campbell, KY. Here 553 young men and officers began their journey into history. These men began their basic training and for many saw a tank for the first time.
The 701st relocated to Fort Knox, for further training. The battalion received orders on 12/8/43 to relocate to Camp Bouse, the mysterious secret camp. The men were introduced to the Grant Tank, a WW I designed tank . . . — Map (db m29152) HM|
|Arizona (La Paz County), Bouse — Camp Bouse — The 554th Ordnance - Heavy Maintenance Company (Tanks) — 9th Tank Group CDL Project|
|Activated 1 April, 1943 at Camp Perry, OH. Completed basic training and then sent to Ft. Knox, KY. Unit then assigned to Camp Bouse, AZ arriving there 9 November, 1943. Maintaining operation of special tanks named "Leaflets" was specific assignment.
Unit left Camp Bouse 27th April, 1944 for Ft. Hamilton, NY. Boarded the Troop ship, Queen Elizabeth 21 June, 1944 arriving at Grennock, Scotland, 28 June and then departed for Puncheston, Wales.
Boarded an L. S. T. craft at Swansea, . . . — Map (db m29155) HM|
|Arizona (La Paz County), Bouse — Camp Bouse|
|General George Patton established Camp Bouse in 1943 in the Butler Valley as, the site for training over 5,500 carefully screened and qualified volunteers. These soldiers were trained to use a highly secret weapon called the Canal Defense Light. Dubbed the "Gizmo" by the soldiers who operated it, the CDL was a 13-million candlepower searchlight mounted on specialized tank for the purpose of illuminating the area at night to dazzle the enemy with its flickering light. Troop trains brought the . . . — Map (db m29165) HM|
|Arizona (La Paz County), Bouse — George L Wendt — Headquarters Company — 526 Armored Infantry Battalion|
|United States Army
World War II
1924 – 2002
Whose dedication to the memory of his brothers in
arms, who fell in the Battle of the Ardennes, made this
historical park possible. — Map (db m50775) HM|
|Arizona (La Paz County), Bouse — In Memory of Eight Ball - Morale Officer — Equus asinus — Camp Bouse|
|He was our drinking buddy
While on duty
He drank our beer
Full of good cheer
And went to the nurses' quarters around the bend
And came to an untimely end,
Of the Colonel, he was unaware
That it would be the crime of all time
If he ate the nurses' underwear
And was slain by
The jealous rival
Rest in peace — Map (db m41391) HM|
|Arizona (La Paz County), Bouse — Monument Row|
|We bring to a close
We tried to fine
We must now impose
Units not found
748th Tank Battalion
105th Station Hospital
538th Ordnance Company
629th Quartermaster — Map (db m29161) HM|
|Arizona (La Paz County), Bouse — The 526th Armored Infantry Battalion — World War II|
|In honored memory of those soldiers of the battalion who trained here at Camp Bouse and gave their lives in combat to preserve the freedom of the United States and to set the Peoples of Europe free.
Donald D. Hauger, Harry J. Moyles, Robert R Sullivan
Harland S Bittinger, Raymond R. Dukes (Kia, Korea), Jack W. Ellery, James A. Evans, Lloyd E Fisher, Dale B. Nelson, Ralph Quesenberry
Donald J . . . — Map (db m29211) HM|
|Arizona (La Paz County), Quartzsite — Hi Jolly|
|The famous camel herd with which the name of Hi Jolly is linked constitutes an interesting sidelight of Arizona history....Jefferson Davis (afterward president of the Southern Confederacy), as Secretary of War, approved a plan to experiment with camels for freighting and communication in the arid southwest....Major Henry C. Wayne of the U.S. Army and Lt. D.D. Porter (later a distinguished admiral in the Civil War) visited the Levant with the storeship "Supply" and procured 33 camels which were . . . — Map (db m70566) HM|
|Arizona (La Paz County), Quartzsite — The Last Camp of Hi Jolly — Camel Driver, Packer, Scout|
| Last Camp
Born somewhere in Syria
Died at Quartzsite
December 16, 1902
Came to this country
February 10, 1856
Camel Driver - Packer Scout -
Over Thirty Years a faithful aid
to the US Government — Map (db m32201) HM|
|Arizona (Maricopa County), Fort McDowell — Fort McDowell|
|This important military post protected central Arizona settlements from the Tonto Apaches during the Indian wars 1865-1886. Its function as a military post ended in 1890 and it became a reservation by executive order, September 15, 1909 as home of the Mohave-Apache and Yavapai-Apaches. It was the home and burial place of Dr. Carlos Montezuma, a Mohave Apache Indian. Scouting parties from Fort McDowell regularly patrolled the Tonto Basin area beyond Four Peaks. — Map (db m27681) HM|
|Arizona (Maricopa County), Phoenix — Arizona's U.S.S. Arizona Memorial - In Memory of the Gallant Men — Who Gave Their Lives on December 7, 1941 on the Battleship U.S.S. Arizona — During the Attack on Pearl Harbor|
In memory of the gallant men who gave their lives on December 7, 1941 on the Battleship U.S.S.
Arizona during the attack on Pearl Harbor
Dedicated December 7, 1976
The Honorable Raul H. Castro, Governor of Arizona
The contributions of thousands of school children, The Arizona Republic, many leaders of business and
industry and patriotic citizens made this bicentennial memorial possible. The anchor (A-277) was forged in Chester, PA in 1911. Weight 19,555 pounds and has a full . . . — Map (db m26425) HM|
|Arizona (Maricopa County), Phoenix — Navajo Code Talkers — United States Marine Corps - World War II|
"Were it not for the Navajos, the Marines would never have taken Iwo Jima" Major Howard Connor, USMC 5th Marine Division
In recognition of the Navajo Code Talkers who
distinguished themselves in developing a Navajo
language code - the only unbreakable code in
modern military history. As members of the United
States Marine Corps these young Navajo men
performed a unique and exemplary military service
that saved countless lives and hastened the end of . . . — Map (db m26823) HM|
|Arizona (Maricopa County), Phoenix — U.S.S. Arizona Signal Mast — In Memory of the Crew of the U.S.S. Arizona (BB39)|
|The upper 26 feet of the mast before you is the top
portion of the main mast of the USS Arizona and is
known as the signal mast or "pigsticker"
The battleship USS Arizona (BB 39) was sunk at Pearl
Harbor on December 7, 1941. The superstructure above
the waterline was removed soon after the attack.
Admiral Earnest H. King, Chief of Naval Opertations,
sent the signal mast to his hometown of Lorain, Ohio.
Commander Edwin C. Keyes, a close friend of Adm. King
commanded tht naval . . . — Map (db m26610) HM|
|Arizona (Mohave County), Kingman — Lt. Edward Fitzgerald Beale — 1822 - 1893|
|Pioneer in the path of empire hero of the War with Mexico, lieutenant in United States Navy. Appointed general by the Governor of California. Commanded exploration of wagon route to the Colorado River, with the only camel train in American History 1857 - 1858. — Map (db m32208) HM|
|Arizona (Mohave County), Kingman — United States Army|
|Established Camp Beale's Springs about one mile north, March 25, 1871. For the protection of settlers and travelers on northern route. Served as Hualapais Indian Agency. Military Camp abandoned April 6, 1874. — Map (db m29358) HM|
|Arizona (Pima County), Green Valley — Titan II Intercontinental Ballistic Missile Museum|
Tucson Air Museum Foundation
of Pima County
Titan II Intercontinental Ballistic Missile Museum
Established May 8, 1986
571st SMS, 390th SMW
Strategic Alert July 1963 – November 1982
National Historic Landmark
April 6, 1994
October 14, 1994 — Map (db m26926) HM|
|Arizona (Pima County), Tucson — N. W. Corner Adobe Wall of Spanish Presidio of Tucson|
N. W. Corner
Adobe Wall of Spanish
Presidio of Tucson
Marked 1926 by D.A.R. — Map (db m26462) HM|
|Arizona (Pima County), Tucson — N.E. Corner Adobe Wall of Spanish Presidio of Tucson|
Adobe Wall of Spanish Presidio of Tucson
Marked 1926 by D.A.R. — Map (db m26460) HM|
|Arizona (Pima County), Tucson — Presidio Wall & Pithouse|
|This marker locates the northeast corner of the adobe wall which surrounded the Royal Spanish Presidio San Agustin del Tucson. It is thought that a bastion, used as a lookout and as a defensive position, stood here. The site was excavated in 1954 by archaeologists who discovered beneath the wall a prehistoric Hohokam Indian dwelling, part of a village which existed here about 800 A.D. This pithouse, so named because the floor is below the level of the ground, provides evidence that Tucson is . . . — Map (db m26463) HM|
|Arizona (Pima County), Tucson — S. E. Corner Adobe Wall of Spanish Presidio of Tucson|
|This disc marks the southeast corner of the old adobe wall that protected Tucson from the Indians in the early days - prior to 1845
Moved to this location in 1955 — Map (db m26461) HM|
|Arizona (Pima County), Tucson — U.S.S. Arizona 1916 - Wilber L. "Bill" Bower U of A Outstanding Achievement Awards|
|The bell in this clock tower is one of the two original ship's bells salvaged from the battleship U.S.S. Arizona following the attack on Pearl Harbor, December 7, 1941. In 1944, Wilber L. "Bill" Bowers, UA Class of 1927, discovered the bell about to be melted down at the Puget Sound Naval Yard in Bremerton, Washington. Bowers was instrumental in saving the bell from destruction and in acquiring the bell for the University of Arizona.
On November 17, 1951 the bell was rung for the first . . . — Map (db m31199) HM|
|Arizona (Pinal County), Bapchule — In Memory of the Men of St. Peter's Mission|
|Erected Nov. 11, 1945
In Memory of the Men
of St. Peter's Mission
Who served in World War II
* Anthony Jose USA • Felix Kayyittan USA • Leo B. Manuel USA • Leonard Pangott USA • Roger Osife USA •
Albert J Moreno USMC • Chester J Miles USA • Herman Satoyent USA • William Lewis USA • Francisco Lewis USA • Juan Nacho USA • Victor B Williams USA • Ignatius Burnette USN • Francis Idseph USA • Edward Carmen USA • Ambrose Nacho USA • Anthony Osife USMC •
Albert Burnette USN • . . . — Map (db m33700) HM|
|Arizona (Pinal County), Florence — Camp Florence|
|This memorial is dedicated to the men and women who served our county in war and peace and to a significant era of rich local history.
Camp Florence, an army training facility, once occupied the grounds now known as "Four Parks".
Beginning in 1943 it housed Italian and German prisoners from WWII.
This bell hung in a stone chapel built by Italian prisoners. When the camp was dismantled, Jerry Thompson preserved the bell. His widow Marge donated the bell to the Florence Gardens . . . — Map (db m32440) HM|
|Arizona (Pinal county), Kerny — Kearny, Arizona — Named in Honor of Stephen Watts Kearny — Brevet Major General U.S. Army|
|At the outbreak of the Mexican War in 1846, President Polk directed Colonel Kearny to organize the so-called "Army of the West" and to lead it to Santa Fe and thence on to secure California. On August 18, 1846, Kearny claimed the area of Santa Fe for the United States and organized a civil government.
Dividing his forces near Socorro, New Mexico, and with Kit Carson serving as guide, Kearny proceeded on the long march to California with 100 dragoons.
The official log of this trip, . . . — Map (db m34134) HM|
|Arizona (Pinal County), Sacaton — Dedicated to Ira H. Hayes USMC|
Ira H. Hayes USMC
February 23rd 1992
by the Memorial Committee
Lance Lewis Director,
Shirley Lewis Coordinator
JR Currea Artist
In Country Vietnam Veterans
Post 2 Tempe Arizona
Ira H. Hayes American Legion
Post 84, Sacaton Arizona — Map (db m32845) HM|
|Arizona (Pinal County), Sacaton — Dedicated to the Memory of Matthew B. Juan — Co K 28th Infantry — First Arizonan Killed in the World War|
|Dedicated to the Memory of
Matthew B. Juan
Co K 28th Infantry
First Arizonian Killed in the World War
Battle of Cantingy
May 28th 1918 — Map (db m42026) HM|
|Arizona (Pinal County), Sacaton — Military Order Purple Heart of the U.S.A.|
|Military Order Purple Heart of the U.S.A.
1782 - 1932
In memory of tribal members
Military Order of Purple Heart Sun Lakes, Arizona Chapter 1958
in the year 2000
[ Lower Plaque: ]
This memorial is dedicated by a grateful nation of many nationalities and its veterans, to all of the men and women who have been awarded the Purple Heart Medal. Your courage and heroism under the most adverse conditions in times of war deserve our . . . — Map (db m40341) HM|
|Arizona (Santa Cruz County), Sonoita — Camp Crittenden|
|Established August 10, 1867. Named Camp Crittenden by Generals Orders No. 57 Department of California, September 30, 1867, in honor of Thomas S. Crittenden, Col.32nd U.S. Infantry Major General U.S. Volunteers. Camp abandoned June 1, 1873. Established to protect settlements of Babocomari, Sonoita, and Santa Cruz Valleys against Indians. Leading a detachment of troops from Camp Crittenden, Lieut. H. B. Cushing was killed in a skirmish on May 5, 1871 by an Apache war leader from Cochise's band. — Map (db m27114) HM|
|Arizona (Yavapai County), Camp Verde — "0" Mile Post General Crook Trail|
|The Crook Road begins at this point
with the first in a series of mile markers
across the Mogollon Rim segment of the
military supply trail connecting Forts
Whipple, Verde and Apache. Reconnoitered
in 1871 by General George Crook with a
small detachment of cavalry, the route was
100 miles shorter than earlier trails and
opened the rugged Rim country to tactical
operations. The Boy Scouts of America,
Grand Canyon Council, re-marked the road in
1975-76 as a Bicentennial . . . — Map (db m28561) HM|
|Arizona (Yavapai County), Camp Verde — The Congressional Medal of Honor - Apache Campaign 1872 - 1873|
|The following named individuals were assigned, either permanently or temporarily, to Camp Verde, Arizona Territory. While stationed here their personal action in combat was above and beyond the call of duty, earning them the nation's highest award.
The Congressional Medal of
Winter Campaign 1872-1873
Awarded March 1875
Pvt. Chiquito • Pvt. Blanquet
Awarded April 12, 1875
Sgt. Jim • Pvt. Nannasaddie • . . . — Map (db m28593) HM|
|Arizona (Yavapai County), Prescott — John Towhey|
14 Inf. N.Y.
Plaque Attached to Stone:
-- January 1970 --
This stone with inscription of incident was originally located on the Yavapai Indian Reservation approximately 1000 yards northwest of this site.
It was donated to the Veterans Administration Center by the Yavapai Indian Tribe for viewing by the republic. — Map (db m21966) HM|
|Arizona (Yavapai County), Prescott — Prescott National Guard Armory|
|Prescott was one of the first towns in Arizona to have a National Guard Unit. Companies B and C of the First Territorial Rifles were organized in Prescott in 1865 and Company M of the First Arizona Infantry was organized in 1910. Company M of the 158th Infantry of the National Guard of Arizona received Federal recognition February 3, 1930. This Company originally used a church on South Montezuma Street as their Armory, but it was described as "totally inadequate".
The Prescott National . . . — Map (db m33136) HM|
|Arizona (Yuma County), Dateland — Boeing B-50A The "Long Ranger"|
|On the morning of March 23, 1950, an Air Force B-50 Bomber on a routine training mission, exploded and crashed north of the communities of Dateland and Hyder AZ. Two of the 14 crewman on board, Capt. John H. Lee and 1st. Lt. William T. Gentry, managed to escape the disintegrating aircraft and parachuted to safety. The 12 remaining crew members all perished in the crash.
This memorial is erected and dedicated to the memory of the crew of the "Long Ranger" who, while serving their country, . . . — Map (db m28936) HM|
|Arizona (Yuma County), Yuma — Camp Laguna — Desert Training Center — California – Arizona Maneuver Area|
|Camp Laguna operated from April 1942 to April 1944. It was one of twelve such camps built in the southwestern deserts to train United States troops during World War II.
The Desert Training Center, a simulated theater of operations, included portions of Arizona, California and Nevada. The other camps were Young, Coxcomb, Iron Mountain, Ibis, Clipper, Pilot Knob, Bouse, Granite, Horn, Hyder, and Rice. Over one million soldiers from approximately 400 units were trained at the center. These . . . — Map (db m29061) HM|
|Arkansas (Mississippi County), Manila — Herman Davis — Pvt. Co. I 113th Inf. — Sharpshooter and Company Runner|
|Enlisted March 14th 1918; Honorably discharged May 29th 1919
Cited for bravery for extraordinary heroism in action and decorated with:
U.S. Distinguished Service Cross: Oct. 10th 1918
French Croix de Guerre with Palm: Apr. 19th 1919
Gilt Star for Croix de Guerre: Apr. 23rd 1919
French Medaille Militaire: May 10th 1919
"A most courageous runner who singlehanded attacked a machine gun nest which was preventing the advance of his platoon and killed the four gunners." From Citation . . . — Map (db m30388) HM|
|Arkansas (Pulaski County), Little Rock — Arkansas Medal of Honor Monument|
|(Marker consist of over 20 panels as displayed below) — Map (db m62978) WM|
|Arkansas (Sebastian County), Fort Smith — Defending Freedom|
|I never saw such fighting done as was done the negro regiment…The question that negroes will fight is settled; besides they make better soldiers in every respect than any troops I have ever had under my command. ~General Blunt after the Battle of Honey Springs, July 17, 1863.
Black infantry drilled on the parade ground in front of you. At various times during the Civil War, Fort Smith housed four regiments of U.S. Colored Troops (USCT). One was organized locally. Drills increased after . . . — Map (db m59021) HM|
|Arkansas (Sebastian County), Fort Smith — Fort Wall|
|Security has always been a concern for the U.S. military. The army designed the second Fort Smith (1838-1871) as part of line of forts from Minnesota to Louisiana to separate the territory occupied by Native American tribes from that settled by American citizens. To provide protection in the event of an attack, military engineers called for the construction of a fort with five bastions (gun emplacements), and a massive stonewall that was 12 feet high and 2 feet thick.
Fort Smith . . . — Map (db m59020) HM|
|Arkansas (Sebastian County), Fort Smith — Officer’s Garden|
|"The walls were almost hidden by a wealth of vines and foliage, and the enclosed space was as green as nature and care could make it. Beautiful flower beds were kept well tended by the soldiers and added greatly to the beauty of the grounds." Mary Rutherford Cravens recalling Fort Smith in the 1850s A garden provided many benefits to the soldiers and their families at Fort Smith. Fresh vegetables in the garden behind the officer’s quarters provided a healthy addition to their daily . . . — Map (db m58615) HM|
|Arkansas (Sebastian County), Fort Smith — Old Commissary|
|This building, on the N.W. Bastion of the wall, was the commissary of the Fort build in 1839. Used until 1871 when the fort was abandoned as a military post from 1861-65. It served as a hospital, guard house, and refuge, now a museum.
Erected as a public service by
The Noon Civic Club — Map (db m57921) HM|
|Arkansas (Sebastian County), Fort Smith — Old Federal Building|
|The old part of the building was the Barracks of the Fort 1840-1871, Federal Court and Jail 1872-1887 presided over by Judge I.C. Parker, 1875-1887.
Erected as a public service by
The Noon Civic Club — Map (db m57922) HM|
|Arkansas (Sebastian County), Fort Smith — The Bastion That Never Was|
|When army engineers originally designed the second Fort Smith in 1838, they planned for it to withstand attack. A key feature in achieving this goal was a stone wall about twelve feet high and from two to three feet thick. This wall surrounded the buildings of the second fort. At the five corners of the wall the army intended to construct bastions, two-story fortified firing positions for cannons. Construction on this bastion began in March of 1839; by 1842 the foundation of the structure was . . . — Map (db m58434) HM|
|Arkansas (Sebastian County), Fort Smith — The Commissary Storehouse|
|This is the oldest building still standing in Fort Smith. Originally built as part of a larger fortification, over the years its appearance and use changed dramatically. The building held supplies used by explorers and soldiers, played a crucial role in two wars, and served as an office for Federal Judge Isaac C. Parker.
Today the commissary is furnished with reproductions of supplies that the U.S. Army stored here in the 1850s. A number of post located farther west benefited from these . . . — Map (db m58493) HM|
|Arkansas (Sebastian County), Fort Smith — The Flagstaff|
|The U.S. Army built the original flagstaff at the second Fort Smith in 1846. As with many western military posts, the flagstaff stood tall so that its flag could be seen for miles. To attain a height of nearly 100 feet, the army joined two poles in the same way that ship masts were built. Historically, shroud lines attached to cross trees supported the area where the poles were joined, while guidelines and an underground wooden structure stabilized the base.
When the army closed Fort . . . — Map (db m58432) HM|
|Arkansas (Sebastian County), Fort Smith — The Guardhouse, 1849-1871|
|The guardhouse, constructed in 1849, was a focal point of daily activity at the second Fort Smith. Not only did the men assigned to guard detail operated out of this building, but the officer of the day, who was responsible guardhouse was also the place of confinement for soldiers under arrest for such offenses as drunkenness, desertion, or fighting.
The Guard Mount, or changing of the guard ceremony, occurred here once a day usually about 9:00 a.m. At the time, the old guard detail would . . . — Map (db m58132) HM|
|Arkansas (Sebastian County), Fort Smith — The Officer’s Quarters|
|You are now standing on what was once Officer’s Row at the second Fort Smith. From 1846 to 1865, two large buildings stood on the western edge of the parade ground and provided housing for officers and their families. Unlike the cramped quarters of the enlisted men’s barracks, there was a degree of privacy here. Large front and back porches, yards, and gardens surrounded by picket fences provided further domestic comforts.
Fire destroyed both Officer’s Quarters in 1865 and 1870. In 2000, . . . — Map (db m58618) HM|
|Arkansas (Sebastian County), Fort Smith — The Parade Grounds|
|For more than thirty years during the mid-1800s, soldiers drilled on the large parade ground before you. Flanked by the officer’s quarters to the right and the enlisted men’s barracks on the left, the parade ground was the center of life at the fort.
“A broad gravel driveway around the grounds encompassed an inner circle and this was the parade ground… In the center… stood a tall flagstaff, from which dizzy height, “Old Glory,” flung its protecting folds to the breeze. . . . — Map (db m58125) HM|
|Arkansas (Sebastian County), Fort Smith — Welcome to Fort Smith|
|Founded in 1817 by the U.S. Army to contain a volatile Indian feud, Fort Smith later served as a major supply depot for western military posts, and finally as headquarters of the Federal Court for the Western District of Arkansas. For over 80 years, the federal government used Fort Smith to establish and maintain law and order in the Indian Territory (present day Oklahoma).
Fort Smith National Historic Site preserves the remains of these two military posts and the federal court. During . . . — Map (db m59027) HM|
|Arkansas (Washington County), Fayettevile, — Purple Heart Memorial|
|Purple Heart Memorial
Combat Wounded Veterans
Dedicated May 20, 2005 — Map (db m62895) HM|
|Arkansas (Washington County), Fayetteville, — 936 Field Artillery Battalion|
|Dedicated to those who served and those who waited
(Names Listed - Two Panels)
In the center is a second smaller marker that reads:
Veterans of the Korean War 1950-1953
Dedicated 19 August 2000 — Map (db m62976) WM|
|California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Jos. H. McCourt / Bruno L. Putzker|
Jos. H. McCourt
1877 – 1900
Co. F. 8th Cal Inf. U.S.V. – Co. I. 35th Inf. U.S.V.
Bruno L. Putzker
1880 – 1899
Btry. K. 3rd U.S. Army
Berkeley men killed in action in Philippines Insurrection — Map (db m52400) HM|
|California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Veterans Memorial Building — Henry H. Meyers, Architect, 1928 — City of Berkeley Landmark,designated in 1985|
|In the early 1920s Alameda County voters approved a special tax to construct buildings that would honor war veterans and provide a meeting place for their organizations. The City of Berkeley contributed the land for this building. Designed in the Classic Moderne style by county architect Henry Meyers, it is an important part of the large and harmonious array of civic facilities around the park in Berkeley’s Civic Center. Display cases in the lobby contain mementos of veterans’ organizations. . . . — Map (db m52399) HM|
|California (Alameda County), Oakland — Rear Admiral R.J. "Bear" Arnold, U.S.N.|
|Point Arnold is named after Rear Admiral R.J. "Bear" Arnold, U.S.N.. During World War II, Arnold earned the Navy Cross for extraordinary heroism as the supply officer on the USS YORKTOWN at the Battle of Midway. Chief of the Bureau of Supplies and Accounts from 1954 to 1958, Arnold served as commanding officer of the Naval Supply Center, Oakland, from October 1958 until he retired in June 1960. — Map (db m62994) HM|
|California (Calaveras County), Angels Camp — Veterans Memorial Hall|
Dedicated to the memory of the men and women who made the supreme sacrifice in the service of the United States of America.
February 25, 1967 — Map (db m19333) HM|
|California (Calaveras County), Copperopolis — Copperopolis Armory|
|Copperopolis Armory, built by public subscription in 1866 for 8,000 dollars, was used by the Union Guard for enlisting and training troops. In 1866 it was sold to the Copperopolis Armory Hall Association for 800 dollars in gold and was used for Congregational and Methodist Church services, public meetings, balls and rallies.
The property was purchased by the Mineral Lodge, I.O.O.F. in 1874 and used as a lodge until 1903. Copperopolis Community Center purchased the Armory in 1948. — Map (db m13003) HM|
|California (Calaveras County), Copperopolis — The Copperopolis Bell and Cannon|
[Displayed at the Copperopolis Elementary School are a bell and a cannon along with their accompanying markers:]
This bell cast in 1860, the first school in Copperopolis in 1862. The bell yoke shows repair, break probably from school fire of 1906.
Six pound cannon cast by Cyruss Alger & Co. in 1837. Probably came from an abandoned ship in San Francisco. Presented to the Union Guard by citizens of Copperopolis. Fired at funerals and on holidays . . . — Map (db m19793) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Coloma — Coloma Greys|
|This building, perhaps originally a livery stable, was the armory for the Coloma Greys, a local volunteer militia company. After the Greys disbanded in 1862, the building was used as a carriage house by Elias Weller, who lived in the large white house to your left. — Map (db m17222) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Georgetown — Georgetown Blues|
|A Military Company Was Organized
At Georgetown In August 1859, Called
The Georgetown Blues
This Is In Honor Of Them, And
Dedicated To All United States
Veterans Who Have So Honorably
Answered Their Nation’s Call To Duty
America Thanks You! — Map (db m55078) HM|
|California (Humboldt County), Arcata — Camp Curtis — 1862-1865|
|In Memory of
Co. E & I 2nd. California Volunteer Infantry 1862 - 1863
Co. B 1st. Battalion Mountaineers California Volunteers 1863 - 1864
Co. A. 1st Battalion Native California Volunteer Calvary 1864
Marie Brizard Todd
A pioneer of 1847
Erected by the Pioneer Society of Humboldt County — Map (db m32567) HM
|California (Humboldt County), Shelter Cove — Cape Mendocino Lighthouse|
|Lit Dec. 1, 1868, the light from its first order Fresnel lens swept 30 miles to sea. Decommissioned in 1951, the structure slowly began to inch toward the 422’ cliff. The light was dismantled in 1998 and moved to Point Delgada, Shelter Cove by the Cape Mendocino Lighthouse Preservation Society. The lantern roof portion was airlifted by the Army National Guard. Funded during the Lincoln administration, the lighthouse is now a monument to those hardy and long-suffering keepers of the light and to . . . — Map (db m1093) HM|
|California (Imperial County), Felicity — 985 — Site of Camp Pilot Knob|
|Camp Pilot Knob was a unit of the Desert Training Center, established by General George S. Patton Jr., to prepare American troops for battle during World War II. It was the largest military training ground ever to exist. At the peak of activity here at Pilot Knob, June - December, 1943, the 85th Infantry Division, and the 36th and 44th Reconnaissance Squadrons of the 11th (Mechanized) Cavalry trained for roles in the liberation of Europe, 1944-45. — Map (db m50590) HM|
|California (Inyo County), Big Pine — Big Pine Veterans Memorial|
The Big Pine Veterans Memorial was established by the Big Pine Civic Club in the year 2000 to honor all veterans of the Owens Valley. The 80-foot tall pole proudly displays the "Stars and Stripes" with the California State flag and the POW/MIA flag bordering either side. The Veterans Memorial stands in tribute to those who have made sacrifices to ensure our freedom and to remind visitors of our great American heritage.
Donations are used to repair the flags when . . . — Map (db m54427) HM|
|California (Inyo County), Independence — 349 — Camp Independence|
|At the request of settlers, Colonel George Evans led a military expedition to this site on July 4, 1862. Hence its name “Independence”. Indian hostilities ceased and the camp closed. War again broke out in 1865 and the camp was reoccupied as Fort Independence until its abandonment in 1877. This fort made possible the early settlements in the Owens Valley.
California Registered Historical Landmark No. 349
Dedicated June 13, 1981
Slim Princess Chapter No. 395
E Clampus Vitus — Map (db m2954) HM|
|California (Kern County), Arvin — Arvins Veterans|
|Dedicated with Pride and Appreciation to All
Military Personnel from the Arvin and Lamont Area
"Operaton Desert Storm"
Janice Acree • Jose A. Garza • Javier Almaguer • Steven M. Gutierrez • John Alverez • Ted Johnson • Joe Baltierra • Russell Halterman • Timothy Been • Charles W. Hull • Nathaniel Bratton • Antonio Martinez • Victor H. Cardenas • Regino Medina •
Eddie Cervantes • Lance Renteria • Pedro Chavez • Dexter Scott • Bruce Coates • William Shears • Edward Decker • . . . — Map (db m59203) HM|
|California (Kern County), Arvin — Bakersfield National Cemetery|
|Dedicated to the Memory of
All the Patriotic Men and Women
Who Answered Their Country's Call to Service
George W. Bush
President of the United States
James B. Peake
U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs
William F. Tuerk
Under Secretary for Memorial Affairs
National Cemetery Administration — Map (db m59200) HM|
|California (Kern County), Bakersfield — Enternal Flame|
Who Lie In
or Beneath His
Murmuring Waves — Map (db m55746) HM|
|California (Kern County), Edwards — Jackie Cochran — "F-104 Starfighter Record Setter"|
|During her extraordinary 40-year flying career, aviation pioneer Jacqueline "Jackie" Cochran established more speed, altitude and distance records than any other pilot, male or female, in aviation history. While flying a USAF F-88A Sabre here at Edwards, she became the first woman to exceed the speed of sound in May 1953.
Upon her return to Edwards in 1961, she set eight major world records in a T-38 Talon, including a top speed of 844.2 mph over a 15 km course on 24 August and a peak . . . — Map (db m53124) HM|
|California (Kern County), Edwards AFB — F-101B • “Voodoo” — McDonnell|
|Originally developed from the McDonnell XF-88 penetration fighter, the F-101 was designed as a long-range bomber escort for the Strategic Air Command. The prototype made its first flight at Edwards AFB in September 1954. When high-speed, high-altitude jet bombers such as the B-52 entered active service, escort fighters were not needed. Therefore, before production began, the F-101’s design was changed to fill both tactical and air defense roles. First flown on 27 Mar 57, 480 of the two-seat, . . . — Map (db m62135) HM|
|California (Kern County), Edwards AFB — F-104A • “Starfighter” — Lockheed|
|The first XF-104 made its initial flight here at Edwards AFB in February 1954. In May 1958, a YF-104A set a world speed record of 1,404.19 mph over Edwards, and in December 1959, an F-104C set a world altitude record of 103, 395 feet here. The Starfighter was the first aircraft to hold simultaneous official world records for speed, altitude and time-to-climb, most of which were established at Edwards AFB. The USAF procured about 300 Starfighters in one-and two-seat versions and another 1700 . . . — Map (db m62133) HM|
|California (Kern County), Edwards AFB — F-105D • “Thunderchief” — Republic|
|The YF-105 completed its maiden flight at Edwards AFB in October 1955, easily exceeding Mach One, even though it was powered by a J57 engine - much less powerful than its projected power plant, the J75. The D-model “Thud” added water injection to the J75 engine, along with updated avionics, attack equipment, and improved refueling features. It first flew in June 1959. A total of 833 Thunderchiefs of all types were built, including 610 F-105Ds. All models of the F-105 were flight . . . — Map (db m62132) HM|
|California (Kern County), Edwards AFB — F-106B • “Delta Dart” — Convair|
|The F-106 Delta Dart had a long and illustrious career at Edwards AFB. The prototype A-model made its first flight here on 26 Dec 56. On 15 Dec 59, Col Joe Rogers piloted as F-106 A to a world speed record of 1,525.695 mph (Mach 2.41) here. In Apr 58, the first two-seat F-106B completed its maiden flight here and later served as an ejection seat test vehicle at the AFFTC’s 6511th Test Group at El Centro NAS, Ca. During the 1960s, F-106s were stationed at Edwards as a detachment of the 329th . . . — Map (db m62130) HM|
|California (Kern County), Edwards AFB — F-16B — "Fighting Falcon"|
|When first flown at Edwards AFB on January 20, 1974, the YF-16 was the most advance fighter in the world. The F-16B is a combat-capable two-seat version of the production F-16A. To date, over 4,000 F-16s have been manufactured worldwide and 122 B models were delivered to the USAF. Just under 200 F-16Bs are in service with foreign countries, many of them build on foreign assembly lines.
This particular airplane was flown extensively in the test support role while assigned to the Test Wing. . . . — Map (db m63609) HM|
|California (Kern County), Edwards AFB — F-86F — "Sabre"|
|The F-86, the Nation’s first swept-wing jet fighter, made its initial flight at what is now Edwards AFB on October 1, 1947. The first production model flew on May 20, 1948 and on September 15, 1948 an F-86A streaked to a world-record 670.9 mph.
The Sabre saw combat in Korea in three successive series (F-86A, E, and F) to counter the Russian-built MiG-15. By the end of hostilites, Air Force fighter pilots flying their Sabres into “MiG Alley” had shot down 792 MiGs at a loss of . . . — Map (db m63607) HM|
|California (Kern County), Edwards AFB — Leaps in Technology|
|The United States Air Force has always relied upon the application of leading-edge technologies to fulfill its mission of airpower projection. From the XP-59 of 1942 to the B-2, C-17, and F-22 of today, the Flight Test Center has been essential to the USAF strategy of developing and deploying the worlds’ most advanced and effective military aircraft. The F-86 and F-16 (displayed here) represent stellar milestones in this technological continuum and share many similarities. Both were . . . — Map (db m63608) HM|
|California (Kern County), Edwards AFB — TF-102A • “Delta Dagger” — Convair|
|The F-102 was developed from the Convair XF-92 delta wing research aircraft of the late 1940s and the prototype made its initial flight in October 1953 at Edwards AFB. It became operational with the Air Defense Command in 1956. At the peak of deployment in the late 1950s, F-102s equipped more than 25 ADC squadrons. Convair built 1,000 F-102s, 889 of which were F-102As. The USAF also bought 111 TF-102As as combat trainers with side-by-side seating. The TF-102A completed its maiden flight at . . . — Map (db m62134) HM|
|California (Kern County), Edwards AFB — YC-15 — McDonnell Douglas|
|Two built by McDonnell Douglas (now Boeing) as Advanced Medium STOL Transport (AMST) with Short Take Off and Landing ability.
First flight 26 Aug 1975, landing at Edwards AFB. Pioneered supercritical wing on large aircraft; advanced airlift state of the art; could carry outsized vehicles; lift 27,000-lb. payload from 2,000-ft. runway. Prototype adapted DC-10 cockpit, DC-8 nosewheel, C-141 main landing gear. Display is first aircraft, number 70-1875, later fitted with larger wing. Though not . . . — Map (db m62137) HM|
|California (Kern County), Edwards AFB — YF-100A “Super Sabre” — North American|
|The F-100 was the USAF’s first operational aircraft capable of flying faster than the speed of sound (760 mph) in level flight. The prototype YF-100A made its initial flight on 25 May 1953 and the first production aircraft was completed on October 1953. Several world records for speed were set by F-100s flying from Edwards AFB. In October 1953, the prototype set a world speed record of 755 mph at low altitude and in 1955 an F-100C set a high altitude world speed record of 822.135 mph. Designed . . . — Map (db m62136) HM|
|California (Kern County), Lebec — Camel Trail Terminus — Fort Tejon|
|Jefferson Davis, “Father of National Highways,” as Secretary of War 1853-57 sponsored the importation of 33 camels for transporting military supplies to the west coast. The camel trail survey ran from San Antonio, Texas to Fort Tejon which marks the western terminus, part of the Jefferson Davis Highway.
The army camel corps arrived at this fort in November, 1857, with Lt. Edward F. Beale in command.
United Daughters of the Confederacy
May 11, 1956 — Map (db m32823) HM|
|California (Kern County), Lebec — 283 — Don Pedro Fages|
|In 1772, Don Pedro Fages, leaving the first written record of explorations in the south San Joaquin Valley, passed this site, traveling from San Diego to San Luis Obispo via Cajón Pass, Mojave Desert, Hughes Lake, Antelope Valley, Tejón Pass, Cañada de los Uvas (Grapevine Canyon), and Buena Vista Lake.
October 9, 1938
Bakersfield Parlor No.42 N.S.G.W.
El Tejon Parlor No.39, N.D.G.W.
Kern County Historical Society
Kern County Chamber of Commerce
Department of . . . — Map (db m20132) HM|
|California (Kern County), Lebec — 129 — Fort Tejon|
|This military post was established by the United States Army on June 24, 1854, to suppress stock rustling and for the protection of Indians in the San Joaquin Valley. As regimental headquarters of the First Dragoons, Fort Tejón was an important military, social, and political center. Camels for transportation were introduced here in 1858. The fort was abandoned September 11, 1864. — Map (db m2605) HM|
|California (Kern County), Lebec — The Camels of Fort Tejon|
|In 1856 the U.S. Army started an experiment using camel for supply transport in the southwest. The camels proved ill suited to the American southwest.
In November 1859 a civilian contractor turned over 28 camels to the Army at Fort Tejon.
The post quartermaster cared for the camel herd until 1861 when the herd was transferred to the Los Angeles Depot. With the possible exception of an unsuccessful messenger service in September 1860, the camels were never used in military operations. . . . — Map (db m32821) HM|
|California (Kern County), Lebec — The First and Only "Camel Brigade" of the United States Army|
|The first and only "Camel Brigade" of the United States Army commanded by Lt. Edward E. Beale 1857-1864. San Antonio, Texas to Fort Tejon, California. — Map (db m32820) HM|
|California (Los Angeles County), Arcadia — Santa Anita During World War II|
|Early in 1942 the US government designated Santa Anita Park for special usage during the war years.
Pursuant to Executive Order 9066 signed by President Franklin D. Roosevelt, from March 30, 1942 until October 27, 1942 the facility was used as an assembly and processing center for approximately 20,000 Japanese Americans prior to their displacement to interment camps in other areas of the country.
From 1942 until 1945, the government utilized the property as an Army Base – Camp . . . — Map (db m68088) HM|
|California (Los Angeles County), Avalon — Avalon Veterans Memorial|
|This Memorial is Dedicated
to All Veterans - Men and
Women - Who Have Served
Their Country in Harm's Way
In All Branches of
The Armed Forces
United States of America
VFW Post #4682
Avalon, California — Map (db m69087) WM|
|California (Los Angeles County), Lancaster — Joshua Memorial Park Veterans Monument|
|This monument is dedicated to
the brave men and women that honorable served
in the Armed Forces of the United States of America
in time of peace, wars and conflict.
The freedom of this great nation is only possible
because of the sacrifice of those that served
U.S. Army 14 June 1775 * U.S. Navy 13 August 1775 * U.S. Marines 10 November 1775 * U.S. Coast Guard 4 August 1790 * U.S. Air Force 18 September 1947 — Map (db m66336) WM|
|California (Los Angeles County), Los Angeles — Headquarters of Commander Robert Field Stockton — Avila Adobe|
Com. Robert Field Stockton
January 1847 — Map (db m51245) HM|
|California (Los Angeles County), North Hollywood — Pierce Brothers Valhalla Dignity Memorial — Vietnam Wall Experience|
| “Solders rest thy warfare O’er.
Dream of fighting fields no more
sleep the sleep that knows not breaking
morn of toil, nor night of waking.”
~Sir Walter Scott — Map (db m55760) HM|
|California (Los Angeles County), Palmdale — B-2 Spirit — Nicknamed "Stealth Bomber" — General Information|
| Manufacturer: Northrop Grumman Corporation
Production Period: 1993 to 1997
Number Produced: 21
Production Series: Production Blocks 10, 20, and 30
Roles: Originally designed as a land-based all-weather intercontinental heavy-bomber for the US Air Force for nuclear weapons delivery, able to penetrate the most sophisticated air defenses with its low-observable (stealth) characteristics for the Cold War; later modified to also deliver conventional and guided weapons. . . . — Map (db m47722) HM|
|California (Los Angeles County), Palmdale — F-86F-30|
| [Right Panel:]
A/C SN: 23231
FAA Registration N91FS
Date Acquired: August, 1998
From: Own, donated by Tractor Corp
Displayed: October, 1998
23 April 54 - First Flight
11 May 54 - Assigned to the RCAF and assigned to 421 Sq, RCAF at Grostenquin, France
1960 - Assigned to Maritime Aircraft Repair and Overhaul, Moncton, Canada
1972 - Sold to Bankers Leasing Inc, Washington DC and registered as N231X
1978 - Sold to Ronald . . . — Map (db m47721) HM|
|California (Los Angeles County), Palmdale — James J. Stegman 1920 - 2009 / A-4C Skyhawk|
|James J. Stegman
1920 - 2009
Born Aug 23, 1920, in Offerle, Kansas. He was the 6th son of 18 children. In 1940, he joined the U.S. Marine Corps as a Private. As he worked up in rank to Sergeant, he also was sent to pilot school. He received his wings in 1943. A few months later, he was sent to the South Pacific for 14 months duty in World War II flying dive bombers. In 1951, he was recalled to active duty in Korea where he flew missions in jets for 10 months and attained the rank of . . . — Map (db m47729) HM|
|California (Los Angeles County), Palmdale — Stanley P Butchart 1928 - 2008 / C-140 Jetstar|
|Stanley P Butchart
1928 - 2008
After receiving primary and secondary civilian pilot training. Butchart enlisted in the U.S. Navy in July 1942. Upon his completion of flight training at Corpus Christi, Tex., he joined torpedo-bomber Air Group VT-51 and flew the Grumman-General Motors TBM Avenger from the aircraft carrier San Jacinto in South Pacific during World War II. He earned a Distinguished Flying Cross and a Presidential Unit Citation among other service medals. While continuing . . . — Map (db m47723) HM|
|California (Los Angeles County), San Gabriel — San Gabriel Veterans War Memorial|
|Be it known by all who read these words that this Veterans War Memorial is dedicated to those men and women from San Gabriel who so gallantly served their country in times of national peril.
City of San Gabriel 50th Anniversary Seal
Dedicated April 24, 1963, The Fiftieth Anniversary of the Incorporation of the City of San Gabriel
Mrs. Alick Barlow • Mrs. Amos Dubois • Mrs. Karl Lunt — Map (db m66584) WM|
|California (Los Angeles County), San Pedro — Fort MacArthur / 500 Varas Square Historic District — [Port of Los Angeles]|
| Juan Rodriquez Cabrillo, exploring for Spain, discovered Alta California and named San Pedro Bay, “Bahia de los Fumos” (Bay of Smokes, October 1542. The smoke on the Bay shore came from the native Suang-Na Indian Fires. Sebastian Vizcaino named San Pedro Bay in honor of Saint Peter of Alexandria (a 4th Century Christian Martyr of Egypt), November 1632.
Juan Jose Dominguez a retired Spanish soldier, received in 1784 one of the first land grants from Pedro Fages, the Spanish . . . — Map (db m51010) HM|
|California (Los Angeles County), San Pedro — USS Iowa (BB-61) — Turret 2 Explosion|
On April 19, 1989, a powder explosion occurred in Turret 2 while IOWA was conducting peace-time gunnery drills off the island of Viesques, Puerto Rico. Preparing to fire, the center gun's powder bags exploded before the breech was closed. The resultant fire spread throughout Turret 2 all the way down five decks below. Forty-seven Sailors lost their lives IOWA's damage control crews responded quickly. Their efforts in fighting the fire prevented the remaining powder and . . . — Map (db m70263) HM|
|California (Los Angeles County), Wilmington — 21 — Officers' Quarters, Drum Barracks, 1862-1868 — "Drum Barracks, Civil War Period"|
| Panel 1:
1862 * Drum Barracks * 1868
Supply Depot, Department of
the Southwest, U.S. Army.
In memory of the historic past of this
building and the importance of its
association with early American
history in California.
Rudecinda Parlor No. 230, N.D.G.W.
placed this tablet October 2, 1927
Civil War Period
[Seal of the City of Los Angeles]
Historic Cultural Monument No. 21
by the . . . — Map (db m52631) HM|
|California (Marin County), Sausalito — The Lone Sailor|
|This is a memorial to every one who ever sailed out of the Golden Gate in the service of their country - in the Navy, the Marine Corps, the Coast Guard, the Merchant Marine.
A ship heading for sea passes directly by this spot at the northern end of the Golden Gate. Here the sailor feels the first long roll of the sea, the beginning of the endless horizon that leads to the far Pacific.
There is one last chance to look back at the city of San Francisco, shining on its hills, one last . . . — Map (db m69495) WM|
|California (Marin County), Tiburon — 600 Bunkmates|
|Built in 1911, this concrete barracks building could house 686 men. By WW II, Fort McDowell has quarters for about 4,500 soldiers, including fourteen additional wooden barracks that once stood between the baseball field and this 600-man barracks. Sixty soldiers could sleep in each building. Other barracks were located at North Garrison and West Garrison. — Map (db m69276) HM|
|California (Marin County), Tiburon — Fort McDowell’s General Store|
|The Post Exchange, or PX, was built in 1910 to be a “one stop shopping place” for soldiers at Fort McDowell. Soldiers purchased clothing toiletries, and other supplies here. The PX also offered a restaurant, soda fountain, barbershop, taproom (with beer on tap) and, during WW I, a bowling alley and gymnasium. — Map (db m69279) HM|
|California (Marin County), Tiburon — Play Games|
|If you listen carefully, you can hear the crack of a bat and soldiers cheering as a Fort McDowell “Indian” rounds third base and heads for home – Cole Field. The ball park was home to the men’s baseball team, the “Indians,” and the women’s softball team, the” McDowell Stowaways.” The games provided soldiers, who were waiting to be shipped overseas, an entertaining recreational break from World War II. — Map (db m69275) HM|
|California (Marin County), Tiburon — The Post Expands|
|Fort McDowell’s North Garrison was built in 1942 on the area below following the 1941 attack on Pearl Harbor. North Garrison included several barracks, a 1600-man mess hall, an infirmary, a guard house, and a post exchange. It also included the former Immigration Station buildings, some of which functioned as a prisoner of war processing center during WW II. Most of the buildings were demolished in 1973. — Map (db m70259) HM|
|California (Marin County), Tiburon — Treating the Troops|
|Construction for this 70-bed hospital began in 1911. The hospital treated soldiers returning from overseas for discharge. In 1918, the hospital annex was added to care for men with lingering illnesses.
During the Nike Missile period (1954-1962), this building was converted to a barracks. You can still see caduceus (medical emblem) behind the crossed cannon artillery insignias near the roof. — Map (db m69301) HM|
|California (Mendocino County), Fort Bragg — 615 — Fort Bragg|
|Established in this vicinity June 11, 1857 by 1st Lieutenant Horatio Gate Gibson, 3rd Artillery, later Brigadier General, US Army. Named by Gibson in honor of his former company commander, Braxton Bragg, later General, C.S.A. Abandoned in October 1864. — Map (db m10585) HM|
|California (Mendocino County), Fort Bragg — Fort Building|
|The last remaining structure and once the original quartermaster’s storehouse and commissary of Fort Bragg Military Post 1857-1864, then located near Laurel and Redwood Avenues. — Map (db m10586) HM|
|California (Merced County), Gustine/Santa Nella — First Marine Division – FMF|
To those men of the
First Marine Division – FMF
Who gave their lives
in the service of
World War II, Korea, Vietnam
Southwest Asia — Map (db m38742) HM|
|California (Merced County), Gustine/Santa Nella — United States Submariners Memorial|
|These trees are dedicated to the memory
of those United States Submariners who made the
ultimate sacrifice, so that we might live in freedom. — Map (db m38981) HM|
|California (Mono County), Bridgeport — "The Irwin"|
|Presented to the town of Bridgeport by J. S. Cain in 1914. Built in 1881 by J. Renault, machinist for the Standard Co. of Bodie, Calif. This cannon was never fired. — Map (db m10323) HM|
|California (Mono County), Coleville — Mountain Warfare Training Center — U.S. Marine Corp|
|Was established in 1951, in cooperation with the U.S. Forest Service. One of the Corps most remote and isolated posts. The mission was providing cold weather training for Korea bound replacement personnel. The name changed to “Marine Corp Cold Weather Training Center” after the Korean conflict. In 1963, because of its expanded role, the center was re-named “Marine Corp Mountain Warfare Training Center,” operating on a full-time basis until 1967 when it was placed on . . . — Map (db m11919) HM|
|California (Mono County), Lee Vining — Navy Beach|
|During the Cold War, Mono County was home to one of many remote facilities used by the US Military to test new weapons and weapons systems. A "secret military installation" operated by the US Navy was located along the south shoreline of Mono Lake.
During the 1950's and 1960's several branches of the US Armed Forces utilized this test facility to conduct various research. Numerous top-secret exercises were actually performed here during what was called "seismic testing." However with the . . . — Map (db m20739) HM|
|California (Monterey County), Marina — A Coastal Attack the Army Couldn’t Stop — Fort Ord Dunes State Park|
|Soldiers once guarded this shoreline against sea-borne attack, but one force proved too powerful to stop. Coastal erosion, the wearing away of these bluffs and beaches by ocean waves, has been steadily moving the coastline inland here since sea levels began rising after the last ice age. Human activities, such as mining sand and constructing dams on the coastal rivers, and speed up erosion by preventing new sand from replenishing these beaches. — Map (db m68883) HM|
|California (Monterey County), Marina — Former Firing Range Becomes a State Park — Fort Ord Dunes State Park|
|Four miles of beaches and nearly 1000 acres of coastal dunes became part of the California State Parks system in 2007, after superfund cleanup activities were completed on this section of the former Fort Ord Military Reservation. Army use preserved the open space character of the dunes, but left a legacy of exotic plants, abandoned buildings and contaminated soil. Much has been accomplished here since Fort Ord closed in 1994, but years of clean-up and restoration work still lie ahead for park staff and volunteers. — Map (db m68884) HM|
|California (Monterey County), Monterey — 7 — El Castillo Site|
|This old Spanish fort began as eleven guns behind a crude parapet of logs overlooking the anchorage of Monterey Bay in 1972. The battery was strengthen and enlarged over the years and served as the principal fort in Monterey for both the Spanish and the Mexicans. It was later replaced by the larger fort farther up the hill at the beginning of the American Era in 1848. The El Castillo site was excavated by archeologists in 1967 and re-covered with earth to protect it. — Map (db m63107) HM|
|California (Monterey County), Monterey — The Argentine Navy — La Armada Argentina|
La Armada Argentina
A traves de los estudiantes pretenecientes al consejo Argentino de intercambio estudiantil – CADIE recuedrdan el 161 aniverdario en que el capitan de navio Dn. Hipolito Bouchard hizo flamear el pabellon Argentino en San Carlos de Monterrey y el bicentenario del nacimeinto de ese procer.
Noviembre 1979 – Enero 1980
The Argentine Navy
Through the students from the Argentine Council for Students Interchange - CADIE . . . — Map (db m63074) HM|
|California (Monterey County), Salinas — The First and Second Filipino Infantry Regiments U.S. Army|
|The first Filipino Infantry Regiment was activated July 13, 1942 at the Salinas California Rodeo Grounds. The Second Filipino Infantry Regiment was activated November 22, 1942 at Fort Ord. Personnel were Filipinos living in the United States then and American officers who trained in Salinas, Camp San Luis Obispo, Hunter Liggett, Camp Roberts, Camp Cooke and Camp Beale. Departed for New Guinea April 6, 1944, and fought in Leyte and Samar during the Philippine Liberation Campaign. Units supplied . . . — Map (db m28040) HM|
|California (Nevada County), Grass Valley — Columbiad Cannon – 1850|
|Last on duty at Fort Point on San Francisco Bay. Grass Valley Women’s Improvement Club arranged with the U.S. War Department for donation to be placed in City Square, now Dow Alexander Park. Transferred from Benicia Arsenal to here in 1911. Only known example of its type to exist. Weight 9,100 pounds. — Map (db m48675) HM|
|California (Orange County), Costa Mesa — 16 — Santa Ana Army Air Base Site — Memorial Garden — Established 1954|
|The Air Base was one of the largest of its kind in the nation. It was activated in February of 1942. Pilots trained here for Europe and the Pacific during World War II. — Map (db m58598) HM|
|California (Orange County), Fountain Valley — 27 — Helicopter Landing Pad|
|Navy purchased the land in 1943. Fixed wing planes used the airstrip into the 1950's. In 1952 Marine Helicopter pilots practiced take-offs and landings at this site up through the Vietnam era. — Map (db m59761) HM|
|California (Orange County), Mission Viejo — Mormon Battalion Marker|
|Dedicated to the valiant members of the historic Mormon Battalion who stopped here on March 20, 1847, as they marched from San Diego to Los Angeles. A division of the U.S. Army of the West, these brave soldiers, trusting in God, overcame incredible odds and faced unequaled hardships in extending the frontiers of our country to include this land of promise.
The 500 loyal men of the Mormon Battalion, recruited from the camps of the Mormon pioneers who had just been driven from the United . . . — Map (db m50351) HM|
|California (Placer County), Rocklin — Rocklin Veterans Memorial|
This memorial is dedicated in memory
of all the men and women from the
Rocklin area who made the sacrifice
to protect our lives and property
while serving in the Armed Forces
of the United States of America.
We stand in deep appreciation for
the liberty we enjoy and we stand
in honor of their memory.
You shall never be forgotten
We will remember
A Grateful Rocklin Community
Dedicated Nov 11, 1997 — Map (db m22992) HM|
|California (Placer County), Roseville — Roseville Veterans Memorial|
to the memory of
the service men and
women who paid the
in the wars of
The U.S.A. — Map (db m37144) HM|
|California (Riverside County), Blythe — 69 — 390th Bomb Group (H) — Activated at Blythe Army Air Base|
|Blythe Army Air Base was constructed during 1942 to train heavy bomber crews.
127 officers and men recevied orders in February 1943, to form 4 squadrons of the 390th Bombardment Group (H).
The 390th B-17s joined the 8th Air Force in England and completed 301 bombing missions over Europe--August 1943 to May 1945.
The 390th Group received 2 presidential citations & 6 battle streamers for combat against Nazi targets.
Ground crews maintained 75 aircraft at peak strength. 390th gunners . . . — Map (db m50715) HM|
|California (Riverside County), Chiriaco Summit — 985 — Desert Training Center — California Arizona Maneuver Area|
|The D.T.C was established by Major General George S. Patton Jr. in response to a need to train American combat troops for battle in North Africa during World War II. The camp, which began operation in 1942 covered 18,000 square miles. It was the largest military training ground ever to exist. Over one million men were trained at the eleven sub-camps (seven in California. — Map (db m50700) HM|
|California (Riverside County), Chiriaco Summit — The Desert Training Center|
[This is a four sided monument displaying three different markers:]
Front - Facing West:
Desert Training Center
* Camp Young *
Maj. Gen. George S. Patton Jr., U.S. Army, selected Camp Young as headquarters site for the Desert Training Center in March 1942. Camp Young was the administrative center for a simulated theater of operations that would eventually extend from Pomona, CA. to Phoenix, AZ., from Yuma, AZ to Boulder City, NV., and would include a network of training . . . — Map (db m32139) HM|
|California (Riverside County), Riverside — National POW MIA Memorial|
|We honor here the sacrifice of hundreds of thousands of Americans held prisoner of war, and those still listed as Missing In Action since the time of the American Revolution. Some died from disease and starvation, some perished in death marches, some were tortured, and some were lost, gone forever from their families. All were deprived of their liberties so that you may enjoy yours.
This Monument Declared as
Prisoner of War
Missing in Action
by President . . . — Map (db m54380) WM|
|California (Riverside County), Riverside — Veterans Memorial|
|This memorial is dedicated to eulogize
the sacrifices of American Veterans.
It is to commemorate them, their comrades,
their personal and emotional sacrifices,
and to acknowledge those Americans who
have lost loved ones in the service
of their country.
May 27, 2000
Sculptor Thomas Schomberg — Map (db m54379) HM|
|California (Riverside County), Riverside — War Dog Memorial|
|They Protect Us On The Field of Battle.
They Watch Over Our Eternal Rest...
We are Grateful.
The War Dog Memorial is a Tribute To All Dog And Handler Teams That Served Our Country So Proudly
Scuptor: A. Thomas Schomberg — Map (db m54430) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Fair Oaks — In Memory of All American Veterans|
|This memorial honors all American veterans who, although separated by generations, shared a common, undeniable goal – to valiantly protect our country’s freedom.
The memories of these American veterans will continue to live on whenever and wherever democracy exists.
The American veteran – forever a symbol of heroism, sacrifice, loyalty and freedom. — Map (db m57280) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Fair Oaks — Path of Honor|
|Charles A “Bud” Norris
Path of Honor
Honor * Respect * Remember
This path is dedicated to all veterans, past and present. As you walk this path, feel their presence and pay homage. Remember their sacrifice, devotion, and loyalty to this “Republic”. They gave their all so this nation can forever enjoy its freedom. — Map (db m57282) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Fair Oaks — We Will Not Forget...|
|These boots are a lasting memorial to all of our Prisoners of War and those Missing in Action. Those that once wore them can only fill them. Let's not forget their sacrifice and devotion. They will be forever in our hearts and in our prayers. — Map (db m52845) HM|