|Brazil, Distrito Federal, Brasilia — Memorial JK — JK Memorial — [President Juscelino Kubitschek de Oliveira, the founder of Brasilia]|
| In Portuguese:
Projeto do arquiteto Oscar Niemeyer foi inaugurado em 12 de setembro de 1981 em homenagem a Juscelino Kubischek de Oliveira, fundador de Brasilia. Abriga biblioteca com trēs mil volumes que pertenceram a JK, atém de objetos pessoais, fotos, videos e vários documentos. Os painéis da recepção e da câmara mortuaria são obras de Althos Bulcão. O vitral que se encontra acima da uma funerária é de autoria da artista francesa Marianne Peretti. A estátua de JK esculpid por . . . — Map (db m26590) HM|
|Brazil, Rio de Janeiro — 01246020 — Copacabana Fort — Army History Museum|
Together with the Arpoador Rock and Cape, the Fort is part of an important landscape group located between two highly populated neighbourhoods: Copacabana and Ipanema.
Date: inaugurated in 1914 by President Marechal Hermes da Fonseca.
Last Restoration: in 1987, with the coastal artillery batteries phased out, the fort with its 12-meter thick walls, became the Army History Museum.
Features: at the entrance of the Fort is a grotto with a statuette of Santa Barbara, . . . — Map (db m25962) HM|
|Brazil, Rio de Janeiro (Rio de Janeiro) — CCAPA — Companhia Camaniho Aéreo Pão de Açúcar|
| No dia 27 de Octubro de 2002, a Companhia Camaniho Aéreo Pão de Açúcar - CCAPA - compleou 90 anos de serviços ininteruptos do teleférico. Esta tecnologia de ponta de engemharia transformou o Pão de Açucar em um icone nacional de grande orgulho par o carioca.
A diretoria da CCAPA homenageia seu pioneiro fundador, engenheiro Augusto Ferreira Ramos, pela implantação do primeiro sistema teleferico Brasileiro, que funcionou durante 60 anos, como também o Engenheiro Cristóvão Leite de Castro, . . . — Map (db m26365) HM|
|Alberta, Devon — Leduc-Woodbend Oil Field — Le Site Pétrolifière Leduc-Woodbend|
|The development of this field in 1947 marked a turning point in the history of the Alberta petroleum industry. After the drilling of Leduc No. 1, the geographical focus of the industry shifted from Turner Valley northward to the central plains area, where vast oil reserves were uncovered. Oil production, which has been in decline, expanded dramatically and the Edmonton area became a petrochemical and distributing centre. The boom in output enable Alberta to become, for the first time, a major . . . — Map (db m8856) HM|
|Alberta, Turner Valley — Turner Valley Oilfield|
|Turner Valley is Alberta’s first great oilfield. Initially the field, which began production in 1914, yielded mainly natural gas. Local plants, which provided the only extensive gas-processing system in the province, extracted the marketable petroleum products. The discovery of deeper deposits in 1924 at Royalite No. 4 made Turner Valley the leading producer in Canada. In 1936, the crude-oil pool underlying the gas reserves was discovered and Turner Valley reached peak output. While production . . . — Map (db m9204) HM|
|British Columbia (Bulkley-Nechako Regional District), Southbank — Ootsa Lake Nechako Reservoir|
|In 1952, the Kenney Dam was constructed on the Nechako River to service the new Alcan aluminum smelter at Kitimat, resulting in the creation of the Nechako Reservoir and the relocation of over 75 families. The damming also linked the rivers and lakes of Ootsa, Intata, Whitesail, Chelaslie, Tetachuck, Tahtsa and Natalkuz into the reservoir with a surface area of over 90,000 hectares. — Map (db m8855) HM|
|Manitoba, Inglis — Inglis Grain Elevators|
|This impressive grouping of five standard-plan wooden grain elevators is a rare survivor of the long rows that once dominated Prairie towns. The row was built between 1922 and 1941, Manitoba's golden age of elevators, by a cross-section of grain-handling firms, including cooperatives and large companies backed by Canadian and American investors. Located in a town typical of many that dot the West, these slope-shouldered sentinels are surrounded by their outbuildings, rail line and fields of . . . — Map (db m8491) HM|
|Manitoba, Lockport — St. Andrews Caméré Curtain Dam|
|This is the only Caméré curtain bridge-dam built in North American, and by far the largest ever constructed. H.E .Vautelet, the Canadian engineer responsible for its design, adapted a French technological advancement to deal with the destructive and unpredictable floodwaters of the Red River. It has wooden curtains that dam the river for navigation and roll up to pass the spring freshets. The Canadian government constructed the dam, lock and machine shop/electrical powerhouse in 1907-1910 as . . . — Map (db m9205) HM|
|Ontario, Toronto — South African War Memorial — ("2nd Boer War")|
| . . . — Map (db m57959) WM|
|Ontario (Middlesex County), London — "Holy Roller"|
Presented to the City of London
by 1st Hussars, 4th June 1950
in memory of the First Hussars who fell
in two World Wars
The only tank of 6th Canadian Armoured
Regiment (1st Hussars) to complete campaign
in North-West Europe
D-Day 6th June 1944
VE-Day 8th May 1945 — Map (db m18922) HM|
|Ontario (Middlesex County), London — Birthplace of Insulin|
|In 1920, while living and practicing medicine here, Dr. F. G. Banting conceived the idea which eventually led to the discovery of insulin and the saving of millions of lives worldwide. This statue, created by sculptor John Miecznikowski, depicts Dr. Banting at the age of 29. It was unveiled on July 7, 1989 by Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth the Queen Mother as a lasting tribute to the great Canadian medical scientist and Nobel laureate. — Map (db m18994) HM|
|Ontario (Middlesex County), London — Birthplace of the Flame of Hope|
|The Flame of Hope was conceived by His Honour Judge John M. Seneshen, and stands as a symbol for all persons suffering from diabetes around the world. This flame will burn continuously and only be extinguished when it can be declared that a cure for diabetes has been found. Just as Banting's House is the “Birthplace of Insulin,” Sir Frederick G. Banting Square is the “Birthplace of the Flame of Hope.” Dedicated to diabetics throughout the world on the occasion of the . . . — Map (db m18996) HM|
|Ontario (Middlesex County), London — London Armouries|
|Completed in 1905, the London Armouries is attributed to Department of Public Works architect, T. E. Fuller. It was the home of the militia units of the Royal Canadian Regiment, the First Hussars, the Royal Canadian Artillery, Royal Canadian Army Service Corps, the Royal Canadian Engineers and the Army Medical Corps.
Erected by the Historic Sites Committee of the London Public Library Board, April, 1997 — Map (db m18929) HM|
|Ontario (Middlesex County), London — London South African War Memorial — 1899 - 1902|
|“In Honour of the Men from the London District who Fought for the Empire in South Africa, and in Memory of Those Who Fell.”
1899 - 1902
Pte. D. L. Moore, R.C.R.- Feb 14th, 1900
Pte. J. A. Donegan, 26th M.Lt.I.- Feb 18th, 1900
Pte. R. Smith, 26th M.Lt.I.- Feb 18th, 1900
Pte. W. G. Adams, 7th Regt. Fus.- April 16th, 1900
Pte. F.G.W. Floyd, 7th Regt. Fus.- May 10th, 1900
Pte. E. Mullins, R.C.R.I.- June 11th, 1900
Royal . . . — Map (db m18927) HM|
|Ontario (Middlesex County), London — London War Cenotaph|
The Glorious Dead
1950 - 1953
Bronze plaque on West facade:
In honour of those who died in war and conflict
Erected 1934 by the Imperial Order Daughters of the Empire (IODE)
Rededicated 1999 by the London Municipal Chapter IODE
United Nations Peacekeepers
We Will Remember Them
Nearby usage informational sign:
This Cenotaph is reserved for . . . — Map (db m18966) WM|
|Ontario (Middlesex County), London — London Women's Monument|
|The London Women's Monument was dedicated on December 6, 1994. The 5th anniversary of the Montreal Massacre. It is a place to remember and reflect on violence, particularly violence against women, and all women and men who work to end it. — Map (db m18932) HM|
|Ontario (Middlesex County), London — The 1st Hussars|
To the everlasting memory
of the members of
THE 1ST HUSSARS
both the living and the dead, who together with
other Canadian and Allied servicemen
participated in the glorious campaign of 1944-1945
that led to the liberation of the Netherlands.
The Grateful Dutch Canadians of London
Re-dedicated June 6, 1998 by:
The Dutch Canadians Remember
Committee of 1995 — Map (db m18921) HM|
|Ontario (Middlesex County), London — Veterans' Garden — 2005 - Year of the Veteran|
|Dedicated November 4, 2005
to remember, honour, and celebrate
our Canadian Veterans.
May the memory of their
achievements and sacrifices
be kept alive.
This garden was made possible thanks to the generous donation by Angus and Mabe McLennan - for the love and enjoyment of Victoria Park. — Map (db m18969) HM|
|Ontario (Middlesex County), London — Veterans' Memorial Carillon — 2005 - Year of the Veteran — "We Will Never Forget"|
|With deepest gratitude to those who so generously
contributed to this visible and resonant
remembrance of our Canadian Veterans
Separate Stone marker nearby:
Thank You Canada
Thank You Veterans
1940 - 1945
This musical tribute is a gift to all
Canadians from the Dutch community
and friends out of gratitude for
the Liberation of the Netherlands
during 1944 - 1945
Dedicated Sept. 22, 2006
A map on the stone marker depicts the following Canadian War . . . — Map (db m18968) HM|
|Germany, Berlin — Baudenkmal Berliner Mauer — [Berlin Wall Monument]|
| German Text: …
The Berlin Wall became an international symbol of the division of Germany after the Second World War and also of the Cold War between East and West.
The construction of the Berlin Wall began on August 13, 1961. The government of the German Democratic Republic (GDR) built this more than 150-km-long barrier to hermetically seal off East Berlin and the rest of the GDR. More than 2.7 million people had fled the GDR between October 1949 and . . . — Map (db m57785) HM|
|Guatemala, Sacatepéquez, La Antigua — Pedro Cofiño and Ramon Palencia Shot by Firing Squad|
|Aqui fueron fusilados injustamente el 23 de abril de 1908 a las 7 de la noche Pedro G. Cofiño y Ramon Palencia. Rogad por ellos.
On April 23, 1908 at 7 pm Pedro G. Cofiño and Ramon Palencia were unjustly shot here by firing squad. Pray for them. — Map (db m71294) HM|
|Honduras, Goascoran — Monument to the Honduran Soldier During the "100 Hours War" — Monumento al Soldado Hondureño|
A los bravos combatientes, militares y civiles, que en los campos de La Arada dejaron constancia de su ejemplar arrojo en defensa de nuestra soberania.
Frontera sur de Honduras, Julio 15 de 1971
To the brave military and civilian combatants that in the fields of La Arada gave proof of their exemplary daring in defense of our sovereignty.
Southern Border of Honduras, 15 July 1971 — Map (db m70047) WM|
|Ireland, Connacht (County Galway), Kilronan, Inishmore, Aran Islands — A Fighting Chance|
| John Ridgeway [sic] & Chay Bylth
rowed the Atlantic in English Rose III
from Orleans to Kilronan, Aran,
Ireland 4th June 1966 - 3rd Sept. 1966
Na laga dia iad — Map (db m22850) HM|
|Ireland, Connacht (County Mayo), Murrisk — Squadron Leader R. F. C. Garvey|
In loving memory of
R.F.C. Garvey D.F.C. & Bar
Only son of J.C. & Gladys Garvey
Born at Murrisk Abbey 11th July 1918
Killed in a flying accident
at Shawbury, England,
on 14th January 1948 & buried there
Dearly loved — Map (db m28259) HM|
|Ireland, Connacht (County Mayo), Westport — Major John Mac Bride / Seán Mac Giolla Bríde|
IgCuimhne ar an maor
Seán Mac Giolla Bríde
Major John Mac Bride
Irish Republican Army,
Major in the Army of the South
Organizer of the Transvaal
who died for Ireland
5th May, 1916.
Go nDéana dia trócaire ar a anam. — Map (db m27564) HM|
|Ireland, Connacht (County Roscommon), Ballinlough — Glynn - Glavey - Keane Memorial|
This memorial was erected to
commemorate the memory of
Comdt. Patrick Glynn
Lieut. Michael Glavey
Vol. Michael Keane
who gave their lives for
the cause of freedom
during an attack on
Ballinlough R.I.C. Barracks
on Sept. 14th 1920.
“They rose in dark and evil days
to free our native land
They started here a living flame
that nothing can withstand”
Tógadh an leacht cuimhneacháin seo
i mbuan chuimhne ar an . . . — Map (db m27768) HM|
|Ireland, Connacht (County Roscommon), Strokestown — The Sharkey Sisters|
The Sharkey Sisters
Una and Lena
resided here. Leading
members of Cumann na mBan
War of Independence — Map (db m27553) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — Chris Reid Oral History Artwork Project|
| Chris Reid completed a public artwork
consisting of 20 bronze plaques and a
printed book. The texts are based on
recordings the artist made from
2004 to 2008 with residents and people
associated with Nicholas Street,
Ross Road, Bride Street and Bride
Road. Chris Reid was commissioned
through Dublin City Council's Public
Art programme, arising from the
refurbishment of these buildings
and funded by the Department
of the Environment, Heritage
and Local Government. . . . — Map (db m22480) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — James Joyce — (1882 - 1941)|
| Acknowledged as a world figure in literature. He dismantled the English language and put it together again so that it became music. The sculpture in bronze was unveiled on June 16, (Bloomsday) 1982. — Map (db m27047) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — The "Three Fates"|
| This fountain, erected in 1956, is situated near the Leeson Street entrance to the park. It consists of a group of three bronze figures – Nornenbrunnen, representing the Three Fates, who weave and measure the thread of man's destiny.
The monument was the gift of the German Federal Republic to mark its appreciation of the help and generosity of the Irish people during the time of distress and hardship after the Second World War. The work was designed by the Bavarian Sculptor, Professor . . . — Map (db m25306) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — Thomas M. Kettle — 1880 - 1916|
| Born in County Dublin
9th February 1880
Killed at Guinchy
9th September 1916
Killed at Guinchy during the Great War, September 1916.
“Died not for Flag nor King nor Emperor
But for a dream born in a herdsman's shed
And for the sacred scripture of the poor.”
The bronze bust erected in 1937, is by A.G. Power and was cast by Compagnie des Bronzes, Brussels.
[From the Monuments of St. Stephen's Green marker found in . . . — Map (db m22489) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Fingal), Howth — The Lord Killanin|
Sixth President of the
International Olympic Committee
1972 - 1980
President of the
Olympic Council of Ireland
1950 - 1973
This commemorative bronze bust was unveiled by
Dr. Jacques Rogge
Eight[h] President of the
International Olympic Committee
May 20th 2009
Sculptor - Paul Ferriter 2009 — Map (db m27050) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Fingal), Portmarnock — The Velvet Strand / An Trá Chaoin — Portmarnock / Port Mearnóg|
| What's in a name?
Portmarnock is names after St Marnock, a prominent missionary who founded a church in the area.
The Velvet Strand and Aviation History
It was from the Velvet Strand, on 24th of June 1930, that the famous Australian aircraft Southern Cross departed on a pioneering Atlantic flight to Harbour Grace, Newfoundland, where it landed safely some 31.5 hours later. The plane was piloted by the legendary Charles Kingsford Smith and navigated by Dubliner Captain . . . — Map (db m25663) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Longford), Longford — County Longford Great War Memorial — 1914 - 1918|
| [Northeast Face]
To Perpetuate the Memory
of the 284 Gallant Soldiers
of the County Longford
who fell in the Great World War.
This Cross was erected by
the generous subscriptions of
their sorrowing relatives,
comrades and sympathisers.
R. I. P.
[Handwritten note hanging below reads:]
In memory of the 325 Longford men and women
who died in World Wars One and Two
and other conflicts
R. I. P.
Those loving Heroes
good and . . . — Map (db m27355) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Meath), Duleek — Duleek 1916 - 1981 Hunger Strike Monument — and Memorial Garden|
| The Memorial Garden
is named after
Vol. Joe Coombes, Platin Road.
Vol. Noel Gallagher, Mountfield, Co. Tyrone
Vol. Harry McCormick, Prioryland, Duleek
and is in memory of
all those who dedicated their lives
to and for the cause of Irish freedom.
This monument was unveiled by
Paddy Sheils (Snr), Garballagh
and Jimmy Lynch, Kentstown
The Memorial Garden
Was Officially Opened
On 15th June 2008
By Ex-Portlaoise Hungerstriker . . . — Map (db m27220) HM|
|Ireland, Munster (County Kerry), Anascaul — Tom Crean — Antarctic Explorer — 1877 - 1938|
| Expeditions to Antarctica
Terra Nova, 1910-1013
In recognition of his invaluable
contribution to these expeditions
and of his many acts of
selfless heroism on behalf
of his companions
The Tom Crean Memorial Garden
Gardens Donated by the Crean Family.
Sculptor Eamonn O'Doherty July 2003 — Map (db m23045) HM|
|Ireland, Munster (County Kerry), Listowel — "River Fort"|
| This sculpture was designed by
local councillor and craftsman
The “Standing Stone” illustrates
the River Feale
which flows around our town.
The “Ring” depicts an earthen fort
situated in the vicinity of the town
from which the town got its name
Lios Tuathail (Listowel).
— Map (db m23989) HM|
|Ireland, Munster (County Limerick), Abbeyfeale — Reverend William Casey|
| His grateful fellow countrymen at home and beyond the seas have erected this monument to the memory of Rev. William Casey, for a quarter of a century prior to his death, the parish priest of this parish. He found his people struggling in the toils of landlordism: he left them owners of the soil and freemen. By his death, religion lost a shining light; the cause of temperance a strenuous advocate; the poor without distinction of creed, an ever helpful friend; and Ireland a devoted son. But . . . — Map (db m24739) HM|
|Philippines, Zambales (Subic Bay Metropolitan Authority), Olongapo City — Subic Bay Metropolitan Authority|
| Five years ago today, this 24th day of November 1997, the U.S. Navy in solemn ceremonies relinquished administration, control and possession of the former Subic Naval Base, after 94 years to the sovereign Philippine government. Presiding over the ceremony was his excellency, President Fidel V. Ramos, Present in the historic turnover were:
For the Philippine Government:
Hon. Roberio R. Romulo, Secretary of Foreign Affairs
Hon. Richard J. Gordon, Mayor, City of . . . — Map (db m68150) HM|
|Turks and Caicos Islands, Grand Turk, Cockburn Town — #13 — St. Mary’s Anglican Pro-Cathedral Church|
|This church was first built as a ‘chapel of ease’ in 1900 to accommodate the parishioners of Cockburn Town. At that time, St. Thomas’ Church, which was the first church in Grand Turk, was quite a distance from the town and made it particularly difficult for evening worship. The Church was designated a Pro-Cathedral of the diocese of the Bahamas and Turks & Caicos Islands in the 1990s. Every diocese has a Cathedral, and as the Turks & Caicocs [sic] Islands are politically separated from . . . — Map (db m30674) HM|
|Turks and Caicos Islands, Grand Turk, Cockburn Town — #16 — Todds|
|Todds, which was built in the 1880's, not only is the oldest variety store in the island, but also the only one still trading under its almost-original name and owned by the same family. The store was first owned by the Stubbs family who were the largest landowners in the Caicos Islands and also one of the foremost salt families in the territory. Freddie Todd purchased it in the early 20th century for his daughter, Eva Todd. When she died in the 1960's, her cousins, Olive Wood and Minnie Tatem, . . . — Map (db m31453) HM|
|United Kingdom, Angus (Scotland), Arbroath — David Dunbar Buick — September 17 1854 – March 5 1929|
|American motoring pioneer & founder of
the Buick motor company of America.
David Dunbar Buick was born at No. 26
Green Street, Arbroath, which lay approx
90 metres north of this, the only remaining
building to show the line of the original
street. — Map (db m34452) HM|
|Alabama (Chambers County), LaFayette — Chambers County War Memorial|
|In memory of Chambers Co. veterans who gave their lives in following wars:
World War I [west face] (list of names)
World War II [east and south faces](list of names)
Korean and Vietnam Conflicts [north face] (lists of names) — Map (db m18163) WM|
|Alabama (Clay County), Ashland — Clay County Veterans Memorial|
|Dedicated to the veterans of Clay County who so unselfishly served and to those who died in defense of their country Let it be said “We will never forget” Left Panel List of World War I, World War II and Korean War veterans Right Panel List of World War II and Vietnam War veterans — Map (db m14302) WM|
|Alabama (Coffee County), Enterprise — Enterprise Depot|
|This building was built in 1903 with additions in 1916 and 1997. The first freight shipments and passengers came here on the Alabama Midland railroad in 1898 immediately after construction of the roadbed. That was also the year when most of the brick business buildings downtown were completed. By 1903 a depot was needed as the transportation focus of this town. Along with the new Rawls Hotel, the depot became a gathering place for our citizens. In 1974 the Pea River Historical Society purchased the depot and began operating the Depot Museum. — Map (db m30307) HM|
|Alabama (Coffee County), Enterprise — Rawls Hotel|
|Original two-story brick structure built 1903 by Japheth Rawls, developer of some of earliest turpentine plants in Coffee County. Building remodeled 1928 and three-story wings added by Jesse P. Rawls, founder of first electric power system in Enterprise. Hotel was center for business and social gatherings until its closing in early 1970's. Listed on National Register of Historic Places 1980. — Map (db m30308) HM|
|Alabama (Colbert County), Muscle Shoals — History of Muscle Shoals, Alabama|
|The city of Muscle Shoals began with the construction of U.S. Nitrate Plant No.2 and Wilson Dam for defense purposes in 1918. The name came from the great stretch of rapids in the Tennessee River that contained rocky shoals and an abundance of mussels. (Muscle is an archaic spelling of mussel.) In 1921, automobile manufacture Henry Ford became interested in buying the idle nitrate plant and the unfinished dam. He offered the government $5 million for the properties and promised to "build a city . . . — Map (db m50648) HM|
|Alabama (Etowah County), Gadsden — Paul Harvey Loyalty Day|
|On Loyalty Day this 30th day of April, 1967, we do pay honors and tribute to a great American
- Paul Harvey -
a man who has contributed much toward making this nation and especially Gadsden a better place to live. We salute a true champion of freedom. "God bless you" — Map (db m12301) HM|
|Alabama (Franklin County), Red Bay — The Calaboose|
|You are standing near the site of “The Calaboose”, Red Bay's only jail until 1949 when the city hall was built.
The Calaboose was a small brick building, approximately 10 feet by 20 feet, built over a small ditch. At that time, plumbing was almost non-existent. The ditch was a "built in" convenience for the occupants.
A partition divided the Calaboose into two spaces, one for the ladies and the other for the gentlemen. There was two small windows with bars. Family and . . . — Map (db m68983) HM|
|Alabama (Jackson County), Scottsboro — Jackson County Courthouse And The Scottsboro Boys|
Constructed in 1911-1912 and designed by architect Richard H. Hunt, the Jackson County Courthouse is a Neo-Classical, brick building situated on a town square in Scottsboro, the county seat of Jackson County. The front, two-story portico is supported by four stone columns of the Doric order. A cupola on the top contains a Seth Thomas clock.
This courthouse was the site of the first of the Scottsboro Boys trials. Two white women accused nine black teenagers of rape on . . . — Map (db m22264) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — 4th Avenue District|
|The Fourth Avenue "Strip" thrived during a time when downtown privileges for blacks were limited. Although blacks could shop at some white-owned stores, they did not share the same privileges and services as white customers, so they created tailor shops, department stores, cafeterias, billiard parlors, fruit stands, shoe shine shops, laundry service, jewelry and record shops, and taxicab stands. These businesses were distinctively geared toward and managed by blacks. When darkness fell, the . . . — Map (db m26985) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — Belview Heights Neighborhood|
|The Corey Land Company, a group of prominent local businessmen headed by Robert Jemison, Jr., developed Belview Heights as a neighborhood for the professional employees of U.S. Steel in the 1910's. Extending the grid system being used in Ensley over the topography of the 30 square block area, Jemison created a neighborhood of rolling streets and avenues, occasional steeply pitched lots, and captivating views. In 1915, the city of Birmingham set the architectural tone for Belview Heights when it . . . — Map (db m24351) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — Clark Building|
|This building was constructed in 1908 by Louis V. Clark (1862-1934), who also built the historic Lyric Theater located nearby on 18th Street. The Clark Theater on Caldwell Park is named in honor of Mr. Clark’s generosity to the Birmingham Little Theater.
The Clark Building housed multiple businesses until 1986, when it became vacant. In 1996, plans had been made to demolish the building when John Lauriello of Southpace Properties and Bob Moody of Moody & Associates recognized its potential . . . — Map (db m27515) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — Fraternal Hotel Building|
|The Fraternal Hotel Building was built in 1925. Some of the businesses that were located in this building included:
1925 - 1980 Fraternal Hotel
1925 - 1970 Fraternal Café
1950 - 1966 Monroe Steak House
1985 - 1994 Grand Lodge Knights of Pythians
1928 - 1931 Mabry Brothers Department Store
1952 - 1985 Hill Photo Studio
1950 - 1985 Central Barber Shop
Famous persons such as: Dr. Martin L. King, Jr., Rev. Jesse Jackson, Jackie Robinson, Monroe Kennedy and many others were . . . — Map (db m27518) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — Glen Iris Park|
|Founded in 1898 by Robert Jemison, this 30-acre historic district is a private residential park containing an almost intact collection of some of Birmingham's finest 20th century houses. It was the first professionally landscaped residential community in the city and the first where residents adhered to strictly self-imposed rules and covenants.
National Register of Historic Places 8-30-1984. — Map (db m27520) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — Rickwood Field|
|Built by local industrialist A. H. "Rick" Woodward, this park opened on August 18, 1910. It is the oldest surviving baseball park in America. Rickwood served as the home park for both the Birmingham Barons (until 1987) and the Birmingham Black Barons (until 1963). It was also a favorite site for barnstorming Major League teams. Many greats of the game thrilled crowds here, including Babe Ruth, Jackie Robinson, Ty Cobb, Burleigh Grimes, Ted Williams, Stan Musial, Walt Dropo,and Reggie Jackson. . . . — Map (db m22526) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — Temple Wilson Tutwiler, II / Tutwiler Hotel — March 22, 1923 - March 1, 1982|
|Temple Wilson Tutwiler, II
“Tutwiler Green”, this section of Birmingham Green was so named in a resolution passed by the Birmingham City Council to honor the life and work of Temple Tutwiler II, who contributed greatly to the welfare and progress of this City. Mr. Tutwiler was a driving force in greening of Twentieth Street and through his leadership and determination saw this significant landmark to fruition.
This prestigious hotel was erected on this . . . — Map (db m27525) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — The Alabama Theatre — Built 1927|
|Built by the Publix Theater division of Paramount Studios. This movie palace opened on December 26th, 1927. The theatre, in Spanish / Moorish design by Graven and Mayger of Chicago, seated 2500 in a five story, three-tiered auditorium. Paramount's president, Adolph Zukor, named it the "Showplace Of The South". The famous "Mighty Wurlitzer" pipe organ, with 21 sets of pipes, was played for many years by showman Stanleigh Malotte. The Alabama hosted many events including the Miss Alabama Pageant . . . — Map (db m27337) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — The Coe House — 1908|
|John Valentine Coe, president of Birmingham Lumber and Coal Company, commissioned this two-story Craftsman-Tudor Revival style house in 1908. Coe, who had previously been a lumber merchant in Selma, moved his family and business to Birmingham at the turn of the 20th century. As the business thrived, he built this house in the Rhodes Park area of the Highland Park neighborhood. At the time, Highland Park's gracious homes and trolley network made it one of Alabama's most exclusive residential . . . — Map (db m27356) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — The Heaviest Corner On Earth|
|At the turn of the 20th century, Birmingham was a small town of two and three story buildings with a few church steeples punctuating the skyline. During the industrial boom from 1902 to 1912 which made Birmingham the largest city in the state. Four large buildings were constructed at the intersection of the City's main streets. The Woodward building (now National Bank of Commerce), constructed in 1902 on the Southwest corner, was the City's first steel-frame skyscraper. A good example of the . . . — Map (db m27500) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — The Iron Man: Vulcan|
|The giant, cast iron statue you see towering above you is Vulcan, the Roman god of metalwork and the forge. The 56-foot tall statue was commissioned by Birmingham leaders to represent their new, growing city at the 1904 St. Louis World's Fair. After a smashing success at the fair, he was brought home to Birmingham. — Map (db m26297) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — The Little Theater Clark Memorial Theatre Virginia Samford Theatre|
|Built in 1937 by Gen. Louis Verdier Clark from a design by architect William T. Warren as a community playhouse for cultural activities. It was recognized as one of the best of its kind in the nation. Mrs. Vassar Allen - first president, Bernard Szold - first director, Hill Ferguson and John Henley were founders.
In 1955, the building was donated by Gen. Clark's family to the University of Alabama at Birmingham, and became known as the Clark Memorial Theatre. Professor James Hatcher . . . — Map (db m27513) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — Title Building|
|Designed by William C. Weston and erected in 1902, the Title Building was the second skyscraper built in Birmingham. It was the first building to supply its tenants with electric power with its own power-generating plant and the water supply was pumped from a well beneath the foundations.
In 1983 the investment partnership of John N. Lauriello, Neal L. Andrews, Jr. and David Cromwell Johnson rescued the Title Building from Bankruptcy proceedings. Certified in 1984 as a historic property in . . . — Map (db m27501) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — Tuxedo Junction|
|"Tuxedo Junction" was the street car crossing on the Ensley-Fairfield line at this corner in the Tuxedo Park residential area. It also refers to the fraternal dance hall operated in the 1920's and 1930s on the second floor of the adjacent building, and to the 1939 hit song "Tuxedo Junction", written by Birmingham musician-composer Erskine Hawkins, who grew up nearby and became a well known big band leader in New York City.
"Co-ome on down, forget your care,
Co-ome on . . . — Map (db m25623) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Homewood — Edgewood Lake (Drained 1940's) Birmingham Motor & Country Club / Edgewood Country Club — (Demolished 1930's)|
|The developers of the Town of Edgewood, Stephen Smith and Troupe Brazelton, built the beautiful 117.4 acre lake and clubhouse in 1913-15. Amenities included a swimming pool, dance pavilion, fishing, boating and parking for hundreds of automobiles.
Similar to golf or tennis clubs, this was instead a driving club since the ownership of an automobile was the latest rage. A great race track, designed after the Indianapolis Motor Speedway, was begun and graded but never completed. It's north and . . . — Map (db m26963) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Hoover — Founding Of Hoover|
|The City of Hoover has grown rapidly since its incorporation in 1967 from a small four block area west of this site. A metal shed behind Employers Ins. Co. became the first fire station and “city hall.” A bank, grocery, hardware, drug store and a shopping center were some of the first commercial ventures. — Map (db m28448) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Hoover — The Park Avenue Historical District|
|51 Structures, 70% residential, built early 20th century to post World War II period.
The 1885 sale of Gardner Hale’s land began the housing development. The 33 acre 1924 Independent Presbyterian Church Children’s Fresh Air Farm, 1923 Bluff Park Elementary School were the most significant buildings.
of Landmarks / Heritage 1998 — Map (db m28518) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Trussville — Cahaba Project — "Slagheap Village" — A government project under President Franklin D. Roosevelt|
|A total of 243 houses and 44 duplex units were constructed from 1936 - 1938 at an overall cost of $2,661,981.26. Cahaba residents rented from the government until 1947, when the houses and duplexes were sold to individuals at prices ranging from $4,400 to $9,000 each. — Map (db m26227) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — 115th Signal Battalion — Organized 1940|
|At this site where once stood Fort Willingham (Armory) the 115th Signal Battalion was organized December 1, 1940. Originally the 2nd Battalion, 151st Engineers, it was organized a number of times from 1940 to 1959 as its mission was changed to meet the Nation's military requirements. In World War II it was designated as an Engineer Combat Requirement (later Battalion). During the Korean War it was on active duty as the 104th Antiaircraft Artillery Automatic Weapons Battalion. The 115th Signal . . . — Map (db m28562) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — McFarland Park and Recreation Area|
|This bottom land serves as a reservoir for TVA's flood control program.
Florence leases it for recreational purposes when not being used by TVA.
Major Robert McFarland, a native of Ireland, his wife, Kate Armstead McFarland, and their seven children resided in the ante~bellum mansion now called Mapleton that overlooked this river bottom. Strawberries were once grown here.
Jobless families were encouraged to plant vegetables gardens here during the Great Depression. Major McFarland rode . . . — Map (db m28453) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — Wood Avenue Historic District|
|A Residential neighborhood primarily developed between 1880 and 1930.
The district contains elaborate Queen Anne, classic Georgian Revival and the more modest Bungalow styles of architecture as well as two homes of the Plantation Cotton style dating from the 1820's.
Notable residents of Wood Avenue, formerly Market Street, were, Tom Sirbing, Pulitzer Prize winning author, George Geothals, Chief engineer of the Panama Canal and Helen Keller who resided on Wood Avenue while attending public . . . — Map (db m28953) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Lexington — Grassy Memorial Chapel and Cemetery|
|Established in 1894 as New Salem Presbyterian Church. Originally afflicted with the Cumberland Presbyterian Church, the first recorded meeting was held 1897, William White, Pastor.
The Church became affiliated with Presbyterian U.S.A. in 1907. In 1976, it became the property of the Grassy community under the direction of New Salem Cemetery Inc. Grassy Memorial Cemetery Inc. was formed in 1998 by the Grassy community to direct the operation of the Chapel and Cemetery. May this Chapel continue . . . — Map (db m29800) HM|
|Alabama (Lawrence County), Courtland — Harris-Simpson Home|
| Side A
This circa 1820 house is thought to be one of the oldest houses in Courtland. Occupying a lot platted by the Courtland Land Company in 1818. The house faces North toward what was once the main Tuscumbia Road. Dr. Jack Shackelford (1790-1857) an early settler and legislator, is believed to have lived in this house in the mid 1800s. After a nearby Civil War skirmish, the house served as military hospital. In 1895 Mrs. Susan Jackson Harris, granddaughter of James Jackson of the . . . — Map (db m28988) HM|
|Alabama (Madison County), Huntsville — Rev. Dr. Joseph E. Lowery Boyhood Home Site — (Dean of Civil Rights Movement)|
| Side A
Dr. Joseph Echols Lowery was born in Huntsville on Oct 6, 1921, to Dora and Leroy Lowery. He grew up in Lakeside (Methodist) church. He began his education in Huntsville, spent his middle school years in Chicago, and returned to complete high school. He attended Alabama A&M University. Knoxville College, Payne College and Theological Seminary. He served as pastor of United Methodist churches in Mobile, Birmingham and Atlanta for 45 years, retiring from the pulpit in 1997. He . . . — Map (db m27901) HM|
|Alabama (Madison County), Huntsville — Tallulah Bankhead / I. Schiffman Building — 1902-1968 / Birthplace of Tallulah Bankhead — Alabama’s Best-Known Actress|
Tallulah Bankhead was the toast of the London theatre in the 1920's, and nationally renowned for her dramatic roles in “The Little Foxes” (1939), “The Skin of Our Teeth” (1942), the movie “Lifeboat” (1944), and as emcee of the “The Big Show“ (NBC Radio, 1950-52). She was born in Huntsville on January 31, 1902, in an apartment of the I. Schiffman Building (see other side). Her father, then Huntsville City Attorney, was later Speaker . . . — Map (db m27850) HM|
|Alabama (Madison County), Huntsville — The First Baptist Church Huntsville, Alabama|
|(Front): The First Baptist Church Huntsville Alabama
Oldest Baptist Church (Missionary) in Alabama organized June 3, 1809 as the West Fork of Flint River Church. Presiding Clergy:
John Canterbury, John McCutchen and John Nicholson.
Renamed Enon Church and called John Canterbury as 1st pastor 1809.
1st meetinghouse completed 1813, 1 mile NE of Meridianville, 2nd meetinghouse completed 1825, 3 miles NE of Meridianville.
Chartered member of Flint River Baptist Association 1814.
This . . . — Map (db m30378) HM|
|Alabama (Madison County), Huntsville — Thrasher Memorial Fountain|
|Tom Goodman Thrasher
August 4, 1916
-Grew up in Birmingham, Alabama
-Studied Engineering at the University of Alabama in Tuscalossa
-Married the former Dorothy Wright of Belmont, Mississippi
-Served in the Army in North Africa and European Theater during WWII and was discharge as a Lieutenant Colonel in March 1946
-Opened Thrasher Oil Company in Huntsville under a Shell Oil company Franchise in 1946
-Served as Executive Officer at Redstone Arsenal from May 1951 . . . — Map (db m30379) HM|
|Alabama (Madison County), New Market — Site of Quick Airplane — Construction And Flight|
|On this site, inventor and early aviation pioneer William Lafayette Quick and his sons designed and built the first airplane to be flown in the State of Alabama. Construction began in 1900. Awaiting an engine, it took nearly eight years to complete. Quick’s “Flying Machine” was among the first monoplanes to be flown in the United States When it went airborne on its first and only flight in April, 1908, in a pasture ½ mile northwest of here, across the Flint River. Restored, it . . . — Map (db m32370) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — Rosa Parks Montgomery Bus Boycott / Hank Williams Alabama Troubadour|
| Side A
At the bus stop on this site on December 1, 1955, Mrs. Rosa Parks refused to give up her seat to boarding whites. This brought about her arrest, conviction, and fine. The Boycott began December 5, the day of Parks’ trial, as a protest by African - Americans for unequal treatment they received on the bus line. Refusing to ride the buses, they maintained the Boycott until the U. S. Supreme Court ordered integration of public transportation one year later. Dr. Martin Luther . . . — Map (db m28176) HM|
|Alabama (Morgan County), Decatur — Carolyn Cortner Smith — Female Architect Pioneer / Designed Delano Park Structures|
|(Front): Born in 1894 in Normandy, Tennessee, Carolyn Cortner was raised in the Courtland area of Lawrence County, Alabama. She attended Ward-Belmont College in Tennessee. She married Wilburn Smith in 1912. She did not attend formal architecture school but studied design textbooks to become Alabama’s first licensed female architect, designing her first home by 1914. Mrs. Smith acquired three area lumber mills and ran them as the Carolyn Lumber Mills. In the 1920’s, the Mars family put . . . — Map (db m27814) HM|
|Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — Navigation and Shipbuilding On The Black Warrior River|
|Navigation improvements to the Black Warrior River (1888-1895) spurred marine commerce throughout the 20th century. Local ship-builders included the Perkins Brothers, Herman & Son, Corp of Engineers Boatyard, and Baker Towboat. Vessel types included barges, government workboats and towboats. Some of the boats built here were the Black Warrior, Dixie, Gold Bug, Mary, Nelma and R. G. Parker. Numerous navigation companies served the area, six had terminals on the river between Tuscaloosa and Holt . . . — Map (db m28924) HM|
|Alaska (Fairbanks North Star Borough), Fox — Pipeline History|
|On November 16, 1973, through Presidential approval of pipeline legilation, Alyeska Pipeline Service Company received
permission to begin construction of the 800-mile trans Alaska pipeline, its pump stations and the Marine Terminal at
Valdez. The 360-mile road from the Yukon River to Prudhoe Bay was built, and construction of the Valdez Terminal was
begun in 1974.At the same time, work started on pump stations and the pipeline work pad.
The lengths of pipe were placed under the . . . — Map (db m20215) HM|
|Arizona (Gila County), Payson — The Dude Fire|
|On June 25, 1990 a lightning caused fire entrapped ten members of the Perryville fire crew in this canyon. Resulting in six fatalities. Before the fire was contained it had burned more than 24,000 acres and destroyed over 70 structures.
This tragic event inspired Paul Gleason to formulate L.C.E.S. (Lookout, Communication, Escape Route, Safety Zones) now a minimum safety standard for wildland firefighting. Lessons learned from this incident continue to influence fire suppression around the world today. — Map (db m28210) HM|
|Arizona (Gila County), Payson — These Trees Planted in Memory of the Firefighters Who Died in the Dude Fire June 26, 1990|
|These Trees Planted in Memory of the Firefighters Who Died in the Dude Fire June 26, 1990
Sandra J. Bachman • Joseph Chacon • Alex S. Contreras • James L. Denny • James E. Ellis • Curtis E. Springfield — Map (db m28211) HM|
|Arizona (La Paz County), Parker — Poston Memorial Monument|
| [ The single 30 foot concrete pillar of the monument symbolizes "unity of spirit". The hexagonal base represents a Japanese stone lantern. The 12 small pillars situated around the monument make it a working sundial. Mounted on the 30 foot pillar base are six plaques and on a nearby kiosk are four additional plaques ]
[ Plaques mounted on Monument Base: ]
[ Photo Number 1 ]
This memorial monument marks the site of the Poston War Relocation Center . . . — Map (db m32258) HM|
|Arizona (Maricopa County), Phoenix — Arizona's U.S.S. Arizona Memorial - In Memory of the Gallant Men — Who Gave Their Lives on December 7, 1941 on the Battleship U.S.S. Arizona — During the Attack on Pearl Harbor|
In memory of the gallant men who gave their lives on December 7, 1941 on the Battleship U.S.S.
Arizona during the attack on Pearl Harbor
Dedicated December 7, 1976
The Honorable Raul H. Castro, Governor of Arizona
The contributions of thousands of school children, The Arizona Republic, many leaders of business and
industry and patriotic citizens made this bicentennial memorial possible. The anchor (A-277) was forged in Chester, PA in 1911. Weight 19,555 pounds and has a full . . . — Map (db m26425) HM|
|Arizona (Maricopa County), Phoenix — Father Albert Braun O.F.M. — Born September 5, 1889 Died March 6, 1983|
|Father Albert was a young missionary and teacher to the Mescalero Apaches in New Mexico and other tribes in Arizona.
Father Braun was an Army chaplain in World War I and World War II receiving the Purple Heart and two Silver Stars for his heroic service. He was a prisoner of war for 40 months in the Phillipines.
He came to Arizona in 1949 and assisted the poor in McNary, Parker on the Colorado River and St. John's Indian Mission. He was also a teacher at St. Mary's
High School in . . . — Map (db m26830) HM|
|Arizona (Maricopa County), Phoenix — Navajo Code Talkers — United States Marine Corps - World War II|
"Were it not for the Navajos, the Marines would never have taken Iwo Jima" Major Howard Connor, USMC 5th Marine Division
In recognition of the Navajo Code Talkers who
distinguished themselves in developing a Navajo
language code - the only unbreakable code in
modern military history. As members of the United
States Marine Corps these young Navajo men
performed a unique and exemplary military service
that saved countless lives and hastened the end of . . . — Map (db m26823) HM|
|Arizona (Maricopa County), Phoenix — The Arizona Korean War Veterans Memorial|
|The Arizona Korean War Veterans Memorial
is dedicated to those Arizona men and women
who served during the Korean War
June 25, 1950 - July 27, 1953
Arizona Korean War Veterans Memorial Commissioners
MG Donald L. Owens, AZ ANG (Adjutant General of Arizona), Chairman
Donald A. Parks Ph.D.*,
Vice Chairman Donald A. Bliss. • State Sen. Jones Osborn • Norman O. Gallion • Budd L. Peabody • State Rep. James A. Hardegan • State Rep. James B. Ratliff • Pamela Moore . . . — Map (db m27350) WM|
|Arizona (Maricopa County), Phoenix — U.S.S. Arizona Signal Mast — In Memory of the Crew of the U.S.S. Arizona (BB39)|
|The upper 26 feet of the mast before you is the top
portion of the main mast of the USS Arizona and is
known as the signal mast or "pigsticker"
The battleship USS Arizona (BB 39) was sunk at Pearl
Harbor on December 7, 1941. The superstructure above
the waterline was removed soon after the attack.
Admiral Earnest H. King, Chief of Naval Opertations,
sent the signal mast to his hometown of Lorain, Ohio.
Commander Edwin C. Keyes, a close friend of Adm. King
commanded tht naval . . . — Map (db m26610) HM|
|Arizona (Mohave County), Kingman — Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Railroad Depot — Built 1907|
|This building has been placed on
The National Register of
By the United States Department of the Interior.
Atchinson, Topeka & Sante Fe
Kingman's early existence depended upon the railroad. The town's role as a shipping and commerce center was enhanced by the building of a modern, large depot during the first decade of the 20th century. The depot was built in the Mission Revival style of concrete and stucco. The curvilinear . . . — Map (db m29412) HM|
|Arizona (Mohave County), Lake Havasu City — Robert P. McCulloch, Sr.|
In grateful memory
Robert P. McCulloch, Sr.
Whose purchase of London Bridge
saved it for the enjoyment and use
October 10, 1981
on this 150th Anniverary
was formally dedicated to the
citizens of Lake Havasu City — Map (db m6974) HM|
|Arizona (Pima County), Tucson — 1991 — Coronado Hotel|
1928 — Built by the T.C. Triplett Company for Harold M. Brooks as a 46-room hotel.
1928-1974 — Remained in operation as an active hotel.
1982 — Listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
1991 — Restored and re-dedicated by the Downtown Development Corporation of Tucson, Arizona as low income elderly and handicapped housing. — Map (db m27078) HM|
|Arizona (Pima County), Tucson — Hotel Congress|
|The venerable Hotel Congress, designed by well-known architect, Roy Place, is the last surviving historic hotel in downtown Tucson. This three-story landmark was built in 1919 with exposed masonry construction and marble details. The hotel, south of the railroad depot, was convenient to railroad passengers arriving in Tucson. The elegant lobby and dining room provided a degree of refinement for winter visitors on their western adventure. A January 1934 fire destroyed the original third floor . . . — Map (db m27248) HM|
|Arizona (Pima County), Tucson — The Stork's Nest|
|The Sanborn Fire Maps for the City of Tucson first recorded this building in 1883 as an adobe dwelling with an attached ramada. Between 1901 and 1930 additions were made to the main building and construction was completed on the outbuilding behind you.
The original building was constructed in the idigenous Sonoran style characterized by a flush-fronted adobe facade, a flat mud roof with parapet walls, stone foundations, canales (projecting roof-drains) and a horizontal mass with recessed . . . — Map (db m31200) HM|
|Arizona (Pima County), Tucson — U.S.S. Arizona 1916 - Wilber L. "Bill" Bower U of A Outstanding Achievement Awards|
|The bell in this clock tower is one of the two original ship's bells salvaged from the battleship U.S.S. Arizona following the attack on Pearl Harbor, December 7, 1941. In 1944, Wilber L. "Bill" Bowers, UA Class of 1927, discovered the bell about to be melted down at the Puget Sound Naval Yard in Bremerton, Washington. Bowers was instrumental in saving the bell from destruction and in acquiring the bell for the University of Arizona.
On November 17, 1951 the bell was rung for the first . . . — Map (db m31199) HM|
|Arizona (Pinal County), Coolidge — Stephen Tyng Mather — July 4, 1867 — Jan. 22, 1930|
|He laid the foundation of the National Park Service. Defining and establishing the policies under which its areas shall be developed and conserved unimpaired for future generations. There will never come an end to the good that he has done. — Map (db m27206) HM|
|Arizona (Pinal County), Sacaton — Dedicated to Ira H. Hayes USMC|
Ira H. Hayes USMC
February 23rd 1992
by the Memorial Committee
Lance Lewis Director,
Shirley Lewis Coordinator
JR Currea Artist
In Country Vietnam Veterans
Post 2 Tempe Arizona
Ira H. Hayes American Legion
Post 84, Sacaton Arizona — Map (db m32845) HM|
|Arizona (Pinal County), Sacaton — Dedicated to the Memory of Matthew B. Juan — Co K 28th Infantry — First Arizonan Killed in the World War|
|Dedicated to the Memory of
Matthew B. Juan
Co K 28th Infantry
First Arizonian Killed in the World War
Battle of Cantingy
May 28th 1918 — Map (db m42026) HM|
|Arizona (Yavapai County), Prescott — 8 — Arizona Pioneer Home|
|To those responsible for the Arizona pioneer's home
A. J. Doran
Introduced enabling legislation - 1907
Supervised construction - 1910
first superintendent – 1911
George D. Morris
Successful enabling legislation – 1909
Joseph h. Kibbey - Governor
Signed legislation March 11, 1909
Frank M. Murphy & T.G. Norris
Donators of the land for the home
W.S. Elliott - Architect
Norman L. Griffin - 1833-1916
Louis B. St. James - . . . — Map (db m32903) HM|
|Arizona (Yavapai County), Prescott — Hassayampa Inn|
|After ten years of planning, community leaders of Prescott finally raised sufficient funds to build a modern hotel which catered to the "auto tourist" in downtown Prescott -- The Hassayampa Inn. On February 28, 1927, at the site of the former Conner Hotel which burned in 1923, ground was broken for the construction of Prescott's first "community" hotel. Designed by Trost and Trost of El Paso in collaboration with Prescott architect Chris Totten, the Mission/Spanish Revival style hotel was built . . . — Map (db m20621) HM|
|Arizona (Yavapai County), Prescott — Hotel Vendome|
|The Hotel Vendome, referred to in a contemporary newspaper article as an "apartment house", was built on South Cortez Street in 1917 by J. B. Jones. An article in Yavapai Magazine in November 1917 refers to it as the "Hotel Vendome" and states "its construction will fill a need for housing in the town which was crucial even when the summer visitors were induced to return home." The hotel is constructed of dark red wire-cit brick with a traditional brick cornice. A two-story veranda extends . . . — Map (db m18862) HM|
|Arizona (Yavapai County), Prescott — Prescott|
|Prescott, Yavapai County Seat, founded 1864 on Granite Creek, source of Placer gold. Named for William Hickling Prescott, Historian, first Gov. JN. N. Goodwin, Appointee of Abraham Lincoln. Established first territorial capital of Arizona here. At Governor's Mansion, two blocks west, the first legislature met July 18, 1864. Site of first graded school in Arizona. Disastrous fire started by miner's candle destroyed four blocks about this square in 1900. — Map (db m18805) HM|
|Arizona (Yavapai County), Prescott — The International Society of Arboriculture and the National Arborist Association|
|The International Society of Arboriculture and the National Arborist Association jointly recognize this significant tree in this bicentennial year as having lived here during the American Revolutionary Period. 1776 1976.
[Added brass plate:]
"Arizona White Oak estimated 340 years old" — Map (db m18861) HM|
|Arizona (Yuma County), Yuma — Robert G. Fowler|
Robert G. Fowler Alighted on this spot
Marking first airplane flight
over Arizona soil
en route on first flight
Pacific to Atlantic Ocean.
Dedicated by Rotary Club Yuma Arizona. October 29, 1938. — Map (db m29046) HM|
|California (Alameda County), Livermore — Duarte Garage — Built 1915|
Service Station and Car Dealership
Situated on the Original Route
of the Lincoln Highway
City of Livermore
Historic Preservation Site
Dedicated July 1996
The Livermore Heritage Guild — Map (db m19994) HM|
|California (Alameda County), Pleasanton — Meadowlark Dairy - The Dairy Silo — Alviso Adobe Community Park|
|At roughly 45 feet high, the Meadowlark Dairy silo was a distinctive visual landmark. This circular paving marks the silo’s approximate location. The original silo and barn were much larger. Silage, fodder for animals, is created by partially fermenting agricultural products, such as corn stalks, to enhance their nutritional value and preserves them for winter feed. — Map (db m24663) HM|
|California (Alameda County), Pleasanton — Meadowlark Dairy – Dairy Bunkhouse — Alviso Adobe Community Park|
|There were once many buildings on the Meadowlark Dairy complex. One important building was a place for the ranch hands and workers to sleep and socialize. This bunkhouse is a smaller version of the one that was at the dairy. The current Foothill Road runs through the original location of the building. — Map (db m24665) HM|
|California (Alameda County), San Leandro — San Leandro – Industry|
West side of marker:
San Leandro’s first industries served the needs of farmers. In 1886, Daniel Best bought San Leandro Plow and formed Daniel Best Agriculture Works to manufacture tractors, combines, and harvesters. Best’s son later merged the company with Holt to form Caterpillar, Inc. Another large industry, a cannery, was established in 1899. It would later become the California Packing Company (Del Monte label).
Still, agriculture was the mainstay of the economy until . . . — Map (db m26437) HM|
|California (Alameda County), Sunol — Sunol Water Temple|
Civil Engineering Landmark
Alameda Creek Water System
San Francisco Section A802 1975
Restoration of the Sunol Water Temple
Started May 27, 1997
Willie L. Brown – Mayor • E. Dennis Normandy – Commission President • Victor G. Makras – Commission Vice-President • Robert K. Werbe – Commissioner •
Frank L. Cook – Commissioner • Ann Moller Caen – . . . — Map (db m24499) HM|
|California (Amador County), Ione — Ione City Hall and Police Offices|
Michael C. Bohl, Mayor • Bobbie Potts, Mayor Pro Tem • Gary Beck, Councilman • Jim Brazil, Councilman • Loreta Tillery, Councilwoman
Randy L. Johnsen, City Administrator • Janic Traverso, City Clerk • Guy Reynolds, City Attorney • Watson Clifford, City Engineer • John Duncan, Chief of Police
This plaque commemorates the rededication of this City Hall and Police Offices building on the 40th anniversary of the city's incorporation. Extensive upgrading and . . . — Map (db m2376) HM|
|California (Amador County), Ione — Iron Ivan|
|Old No. 7 was the last steam locomotive to operate over the Amador Central Railroad between Ione and Martell. The twelve mile long railroad lies entirely within Amador County and is one of the shortest railroads in this country. Iron Ivan is a fine example of one of the early steam locomotives produced by the Baldwin Locomotive Works. This engine was manufactured in January 1901 and was brought to the Amador Central Railroad from the McCloud River Railroad in 1937. The last trip was made by . . . — Map (db m2371) HM|
|California (Amador County), Jackson — Archimandrite Sebastian Dabovich|
|Very Reverend Archimandrite Sebastian Dabovich
The First Administrator of the Serbian Church In America – Born in San Francisco on June 21, 1863 – Died November 30, 1940 in the Monastery of Zitcha at the Age of Seventy-Seven. — Map (db m13966) HM|
|California (Amador County), Sutter Creek — Central Eureka Mine|
|Was begun here in the early 1850’s as the Badger and later the Summit Mine. It consolidated with Hayward’s old Eureka Mine in 1924 as the Central Eureka Company, Amador Consolidated Mines. The main shaft reached a depth of 4,965’. It was the last of the mines to close operations in Amador County in 1954. Its combined earnings being over $36, 000,000 from 1,800,000 ounces of gold. — Map (db m13084) HM|
|California (Amador County), Volcano — Carlo Andrea Dondero|
Discoverer and Founder
California Carrara Marble Quarry
Located 3.49 miles southwest of this location on Sutter Creek Volcano Road several hundred feet above the river. This quarry produced high quality marble used in the construction of Stanford University as well as many of San Francisco’s civic buildings including City Hall. — Map (db m27809) HM|
|California (Butte County), Oroville — 809 — The Last Yahi Indian|
|For thousands of years the Yahi Indians roamed the foothills between Mt. Lassen and the Sacramento Valley. Settlement of this region by the White Man brought death to the Yahi by gun, by disease, and by hunger. By the turn of the century only a few remained. Ishi, the last known survivor of these people, was discovered at this site in 1911. His death in 1916 brought an end to stone age California. — Map (db m17743) HM|
|California (Butte County), Paradise — Town of Paradise Memorial Trailway — SPRR Milepost 198.2 – Site of the Paradise Rail Yard|
|The rail yard housed the depot, a water tank, a stockyard, as well as a siding and spur. A motorcar house was located further up the track. The depot was retired on January 19, 1960.
The coming of the railroad was the major event that sparked the growth of Paradise and generated the development of property on a grand scale. The railroad began operation in November 1903 and the depot was constructed in 1904. Stores and offices were built near the depot. Residential subdivisions sprang up, . . . — Map (db m29674) HM|
|California (Calaveras County), Copperopolis — Copperopolis Armory|
|Copperopolis Armory, built by public subscription in 1866 for 8,000 dollars, was used by the Union Guard for enlisting and training troops. In 1866 it was sold to the Copperopolis Armory Hall Association for 800 dollars in gold and was used for Congregational and Methodist Church services, public meetings, balls and rallies.
The property was purchased by the Mineral Lodge, I.O.O.F. in 1874 and used as a lodge until 1903. Copperopolis Community Center purchased the Armory in 1948. — Map (db m13003) HM|
|California (Calaveras County), Tamarack — Camp Tamarack|
|For more than 80 years, the area was known as Onion Valley due to the profusion of wild onions growing here. It was mainly used as a summer stock range. In the late 1860-70’s a sawmill was operated by C. Brown. Later a man called “Turkey” Johnson came every summer with sheep, pigs, chickens and turkeys. Once, during an early snowstorm, the turkeys took to the pines and Johnson could not get them down.
Dave Filipini received the first land patent. Later he sold to Will & Chas. . . . — Map (db m40974) HM|
|California (Contra Costa County), Antioch — The Cannery Lady|
|In the early 19th century many canneries operated throughout California. The rich agricultural and fishing areas of east Contra Costa County hosted a number of canneries and packing sheds. The picturesque Antioch waterfront was home to two canneries and one packing shed.
Hickmott Canning Company, also known as Hickmott Foods, was on the river on the East side of town. Western California Canners, later known as Tullie Lewis Foods, occupied the waterfront on the West side of town. Between the . . . — Map (db m18292) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Coloma — Beer Garden|
|This beer garden, a recent addition to Coloma, was built by Jim Bridgham in the mid 1950s. Jim and his sister Margaret operated a business called the “Hitching Rack” and built the beer garden so the “locals” could sit around, drink a few beers, and discuss the world situation. Today the site is used as a group picnic area, available by reservation. — Map (db m17429) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Coloma — Mining Ditches|
|Mining ditches were dug by ditch companies to carry vast amounts of water needed for placer mining. Thousands of miles of ditches and flumes were built in the gold country; some brought immense profits to their owners. As mining declined in the 1860s, the same ditches were used for irrigating orchards, vineyards and pastures in the foothills. This ditch is seven miles long, and now carries irrigation water to local farmers. The hillside terraces you see here were used to grow fruit trees and grape vines. Some of them were dug by James Marshall. — Map (db m17484) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Coloma — Monroe Family Homestead|
|The home of the pioneer Monroe family stood here for more than a century. The family matriarch, Nancy Gooch, came across the plains from Missouri as a slave in 1849. She gained her freedom in 1850 when California joined the Union as a “free” state. Later, she bought the freedom of her son, Andrew Monroe and his family, who joined her in Coloma.
Begun as a cabin, the home was enlarged as the family grew. Andrew and his son Pearley raised fruit and other crops. Their 80 acres of . . . — Map (db m17455) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Coloma — Monroe House|
|Perly Monroe was the grandson of Peter and Nancy Gooch, who were freed from slavery here when California became a state in 1850. The Monroe family became successful fruit farmers and prominent property holders in Coloma. Built in 1925, this house is tangible evidence of their success. The Monroe orchard, located elsewhere in the park, still produces pears and apples. — Map (db m17205) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Coloma — Papini House|
|This home is located near the site of an 1853-1864 bakery and confectionery store and owned and operated by Luther Davis. The impressive Davis home was located on the hill, some 100 feet behind the bakery. Both were dismantled after 1885. This structure was built after 1891 as a home for Davis’ granddaughter, Dorcus Hooper Papini, and her husband, Joseph Papini. It is believed that materials from the original bakery building were used to construct it. The Papinis lived on this site until 1903. The residence was then used as a rental. — Map (db m17164) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Coloma — Schulze House|
|This house was built in 1916 by Charles Schulze for his daughter Daisy, who visited Coloma occasionally. Schulze had been a miner, blacksmith, teamster and mason. In 1886 he fell heir to the Sierra Nevada House and became a hotelkeeper. He died in 1921. After Daisy Schulze’s death, this house was used as a residence by her heirs. — Map (db m17170) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), El Dorado — Hiram No.43 Masonic Building|
|Hiram Lodge No.43: Free and Accepted Masons, was chartered in the town of Mud Springs, as it was ten called, May 16, 1854. The Lodge met in rented buildings until the completion of this brick edifice in 1862.
On September 17, 1923 a fire destroyed most of the town, including this building. The building was rebuilt using the original bricks. The Masons met in the I.O.O.F. Hall in Diamond Springs at no charge until moving back here on March 26, 1925.
This building is dedicated to the memory . . . — Map (db m12396) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Placerville — County of El Dorado Courthouse Restoration|
|Board of Supervisors
John M. Caswell – District 1, William V.D. Johnson – District 2, Thomas M. Goodloe, Jr. – District 3, Raymond E. Lawyer, Chairman – District 4, Gerald E. Martin – District 5.
Robert Mason, Architect
Buettner-Carter, Denton & Assoc., General Contractor — Map (db m12755) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Placerville — Placerville Hardware|
|Oldest continuously operating
hardware store west of the Mississippi River
One hundred forty years in business — Map (db m13154) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Placerville — Swift Berry — “Mr. Clamper”|
|Born Nebraska 1887. Educated Biltmore Forest School, North Carolina. Began career 1908 in California with U.S.F.S.
Major U.S. Army A.E.F. 1917 – 1919
Michigan California Lumber Co. 1925 – 1949
California State Senator 1952 – 1960
We salute our esteemed Clampatriarch and Clamproctor,
Historian, Forester, Banker and Tireless Civic Leader
A “MAN TO MATCH OUR MOUNTAINS.” — Map (db m57974) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Placerville — The Old Vet’s Building|
|In 1852 Phillip L. Platt preempted a ½ quarter section here. He erected a log building for the lodging of miners. He named his hotel The Kossuth House. Dr. Platt died in 1853. His widow sold the property to Anna W. Clark for $200 in 1856. She was still owner of record on the town site map of 1872. In 1923, the County of El Dorado purchased the property from Marcus P. Bennett, a very notable and highly respected Superior Court Judge for the sum of $1100. The property was purchased by the . . . — Map (db m13165) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Placerville — Thomas Maul — Superior Judge — 1885 – 1954|
This plaque is a memorial
To our beloved citizen
Who sponsored this park
and many other civic improvements — Map (db m13172) HM|
|California (Humboldt County), Patrick's Point — William Z. Hegy — 1915 - 1986|
|A native of Plunkett, Saskatchewan, Canada. Graduated from Stanford University with a degree in Civil Engineering, began work with the Division of Highways in 1936. He worked in many positions and locations throughout his career, becoming State Maintenance Engineer prior to serving as Caltrans District Director in Eureka.
He was active in the community as President of the Eureka Rotary Club and the United Way; commissioner of the Boy Scouts of America; Board Chairman of Humboldt Area . . . — Map (db m1509) HM|
|California (Humboldt County), Shelter Cove — Mario Machi|
A founder of Shelter Cove with brothers Tony and Babe Machi. A ready smile, a friendly wave, a faraway look waiting for his fishermen to return—we’re thankful we’ve known this gentle man.
A hero in war. Survivor of the Bataan Death March and over three years of brutal captivity in World War II.
Bronze Star • Service to Others
A Hero in Peace.
Courageous ocean rescues • respected teacher, author, historian.
The spirit of Shelter Cove. — Map (db m1057) HM|
|California (Los Angeles County), Los Angeles — Angel’s Flight|
|Built in 1901 by Colonel J. W. Eddy, lawyer, engineer, and friend of President Lincoln, Angel's Flight is said to be the world's shortest incorporated railway. The counterbalanced cars, controlled by cables, travel a 33 percent grade for 315 feet.
It is estimated that Angel's Flight has carried more passengers per mile than any other railway in the world, over a hundred million in its first fifty years. This incline railway is a public utility operating under a franchise granted by the city of . . . — Map (db m32455) HM|
|California (Los Angeles County), Los Angeles — James Dean — 1931 - 1955|
|Key scenes from the
classic motion picture "Rebel Without a Cause"
were filmed at the Griffith Observatory
in Spring 1955. Although many movies
have been filmed at Griffith Observatory,
"Rebel Without a Cause"was the first to
portray the Observatory as what it is and to contribute positively to the
Observatory's International reputation.
This monument acknowledges Griffith Observatory's long and continuous
involvement with Hollywood film
production by remembering the young
star of . . . — Map (db m20240) HM|
|California (Los Angeles County), Los Angeles — William Mulholland — 1855 - 1935|
|A penniless Irish immigrant boy who rose by the force of his industry, intelligence, integrity and intrepidity to be a sturdy American citizen, a self-educated engineering genius, a whole-hearted humanitarian, the father of the city's water system, and the builder of the Los Angeles City Aqueduct:
This memorial is gratefully dedicated by those who are the recipients of his unselfish bounty and the beneficiaries of his prophetic vision. — Map (db m32188) HM|
|California (Los Angeles County), San Pedro — Friendship Bell — Korean Bell of Friendship and Bell Pavilion, Angels Gate Park|
| The friendship bell, overlooking the Pacific Ocean, was presented as a gift from the people of the Republic of Korea to the people of the United States of America on the occasion of the American Bicentennial Jubilee to further the friendship and trust between the two nations. Cast with and alloy of tin, copper, cold, silver and phosphorus, the bell reflects the distinct characteristics and beauty of traditional Korean bells.
The knob of the bell comprises a dragon-shaped figure and a . . . — Map (db m51064) HM|
|California (Los Angeles County), Saugus — 919 — St. Francis Dam Disaster Site|
|The 185-foot concrete St. Francis Dam, part of the Los Angeles aqueduct system, stood 1½ miles north of this site. On March 12, 1928, the 185-foot high concrete dam collapsed just before midnight, sending 12½ billion gallons of water roaring down the Santa Clara River Valley 54 miles to the ocean. This was one of California’s greatest disasters: Over 450 lives were lost. — Map (db m30666) HM|
|California (Los Angeles County), Signal Hill — 580 — Discovery Well - Signal Hill Field|
| Shell Oil Company – Alamitos No. 1 •
June 25, 1921.
One of the world’s most famous wells, Alamitos No. 1, was started on March 23, 1921, and completed June 25, 1921, at a depth of 3,114 feet, flowing 590 barrels of oil a day.
This discovery well led to the development of one of the most productive oil fields in the world and helped to establish California as a major oil producting state.
This monument commemorating Alamitos No. 1 is a tribute to the petroleum pioneers . . . — Map (db m2476) HM|
|California (Los Angeles County), Sylmar — 653 — “The Cascades”|
|This is the terminus of the Los Angeles-Owens River Aqueduct, which brings water 338 miles from the eastern slopes of the Sierra Nevada to the City of Los Angeles. Begun in 1905, the great aqueduct was completed November 5, 1913. The Mono Craters Tunnel project, completed in 1940, extended the system 27 miles to its present northernmost intake near Tioga Pass.
California Registered Historical Landmark No.653
Plaque placed by the California State Park Commission in cooperation with the Los . . . — Map (db m20089) HM|
|California (Los Angeles County), Valencia — The Ridge Route|
|The super highway of its day when opened in 1915. The Ridge Route, California’s first mountain highway, has been credited by some (for better or worse) as saving the state from being divided into two separate states. Constructed, graded, and paved at a cost of about $1,500,000, it was considered one of the most scientifically constructed mountain roads in the world. From Castaic in the south to Grapevine in the north The Ridge Route was 48 miles long and had 39,441 degrees of curves. Roughly . . . — Map (db m30783) HM|
|California (Marin County), Novato — Burdell Frame House|
|This two-story, clapboard structure, known as the Burdell Frame House, was built in 1874 for Mary Burdell’s cousin, Mary Joynsen.
Originally a rectangle building, it has been modified with a projecting, two story addition on the end facing the parking lot, a two-story shed on the opposite end, and a single story garage at the rear. Along with the mansion this building’s interior was modified into a dormitory facility when Rancho Olompali was acquired by the University of San Francisco . . . — Map (db m13246) HM|
|California (Marin County), San Rafael — 999 — Marin County Civic Center|
|The Civic Center Complex was designed by Frank Lloyd Wright (1869-1959) near the end of his long career. The Administration Building was completed in 1962 and the Hall of Justice in 1970. They are the only government buildings designed by the distinguished architect that were ever actually constructed. The project fully embodied Wright's ideal of organic architecture--a synthesis of buildings and landscape, in Wright's words, the structures were planned to "melt into the sunburnt . . . — Map (db m32748) HM|
|California (Mono County), Coleville — Mountain Warfare Training Center — U.S. Marine Corp|
|Was established in 1951, in cooperation with the U.S. Forest Service. One of the Corps most remote and isolated posts. The mission was providing cold weather training for Korea bound replacement personnel. The name changed to “Marine Corp Cold Weather Training Center” after the Korean conflict. In 1963, because of its expanded role, the center was re-named “Marine Corp Mountain Warfare Training Center,” operating on a full-time basis until 1967 when it was placed on . . . — Map (db m11919) HM|
|California (Mono County), Lee Vining — Upside-Down House|
|A distinctive local landmark and nationally renowned tourist attraction. It was the creation of - Nellie Bly O’Bryan (1893–1984), visionary, entrepreneur and long time resident of the Mono Basin.
Originally, located along US-395 north of the Tioga Lodge, it was inspired by two children’s stories—“Upside Down Land” and “The Upsidedownians.” Upon her death in 1984 The Upside-Down House fell into disrepair until....October 9, 2000 when it was rescued and . . . — Map (db m10167) HM|
|California (Mono County), Mammoth Lakes — McGee Mountain Rope Tow #34|
|The first permanent rope tow in the Eastern Sierra was built west of this site on the east slope of McGee Mountain. This predecessor of Mammoth Mountain ski area was constructed here in 1938 because of its dependable snow and nearness to a highway. Prior to this facility most down hill skiing was done by use of a portable rope tow system (a working gasoline engine, rope, and pullies.) Dave McCoy—world class skier, entrepreneur, and visionary, was instrumental in organizing and promoting . . . — Map (db m2951) HM|
|California (Mono County), Walker — The C-130 Crew — Lost During the Cannon Fire - June 17, 2002|
|In Loving and Grateful Memory of
The C-130 Crew
Steve Wass, Craig Labare and Mike Davis
Who gave their lives to save
our community on June 17, 2002 — Map (db m23036) HM|
|California (Monterey County), Salinas — N2098 — The Steinbeck House — 132 Central Avenue — Salinas, California|
|This beautiful Victorian was built by merchant J. J. Conner in 1897, and sold at the turn of the century to John Ernst and Olive Hamilton Steinbeck. On February 27,1902 John Steinbeck was born in what is now the reception room. He remained a resident of the house until he left for Stanford University at age 17, returning home at various times. He wrote his first short stories and the novels "The Red Pony" and "Tortilla Flat" from behind the upstairs front window.
John Steinbeck was honored . . . — Map (db m25107) HM|
|California (Napa County), St. Helena — Larkmead Winery / Kornell Cellars|
|Felix Salmina arrived from Switzerland in the 1860’s and in 1892 purchased this winery that had been established in 1884 by Lillian Hitchcock Coit. Felix converted the winery into a larger facility using stone quarried from nearby hills and expanded the vineyards. Initially grapes sold for $5.00 per ton and wine for 5 cents a gallon. After prohibition, Larkmead developed a reputation as “one of the outstanding wine processing plants” in the Napa Valley. It was here that Hans Kornell . . . — Map (db m18601) HM|
|California (Nevada County), Grass Valley — Lyman Gilmore, Jr. — 1874 – 1951|
|Lyman Gilmore, Jr. established the first commercial airport on this site in 1907. To him and his memory the people of this community dedicate this school as the:
Lyman Gilmore School
Grass Valley School District
Board of Trustees
Brian A. Bennallack - President • Dr. Robert L. Ross, Jr.- Clerk • Harrel W. Ammon Mrs. Lou Kennedy • Jack Montre
Vernon C. Bond – Superintendent
George C. Higgins and Associates – Architect
Joe W. Ruess – Landscape Architect
Dorville, . . . — Map (db m13289) HM|
|California (Nevada County), Grass Valley — 855 — Mount Saint Mary’s Convent and Academy|
|Built by the Reverend Thomas J. Dalton and dedicated May 2, 1865 by Bishop Eugene O’Connell as Sacred Heart Convent and Holy Angels Orphanage. Under the Sisters of Mercy it served from 1866 to 1932 as the first orphanage of the Northern Mines. It functioned as an Academy (1868 – 1965) and a convent (1866 – 1968). — Map (db m12898) HM|
|California (Nevada County), Nevada City — Malakoff Diggins Clampicnic Area|
|This picnic area, sponsored by Wm. Bull Meek-Wm. Morris Steward Chapter Number 10, E Clampus Vitus, is for the enjoyment of all. The redwood lumber for the tables came from Nevada City's Christmas Tree, a Sequoiadendron Giganteum and continues to serve the residents and visitors of Nevada County.
Dedicated October 1, 1966 — Map (db m857) HM|
|California (Placer County), Auburn — Auburn Post Office — Historical Landmark|
|P.O. First Mail Service – 1849
First P.O. Established July 21, 1853
Daily Mail Service June 1888
P.O. Consolidated Dec. 30, 1919
Station A – Here Since Late 1870’s
Community Project — Map (db m12358) HM|
|California (Placer County), Auburn — Gietzen Fire Station|
|In honor of Henry Gietzen,
Member of the Auburn Volunteer Fire Department since September 12, 1922;
Fire Chief from 1946 to present.
Dedicated in July 1974.
William Chaix, Trustee; Egar E. Ganow, Trustee; Henry Gietzen, Fire Chief; J. A. Kaufman, Trustee; Earl Kriegel, Trustee; Sam McLain, Trustee; Ray Meyers, Trustee; Harry Rosenberry, Trustee; Harry Yue, Trustee. — Map (db m687) HM|
|California (Placer County), Colfax — Nevada County Narrow Gauge Railroad — 1876 – 1942 — Placer County Terminus|
|Depot was 100 yards N.E. of this spot. Built by John Flint Kidder between 1874-76. It ran 22 miles from Colfax to Nevada City via Grass Valley. Rails taken up on 1942. Sarah Kidder, widow of builder , world’s first woman railroad president 1901 – 13. — Map (db m14438) HM|
|California (Placer County), Lincoln — Fleming Building|
|Erected in 1863 – 1864
By John Ziegenbein as a general store
Sold to Herman Lohse 1879; to George Aldrich 1881;
To A.C. Fleming (& Alex Hemphill) in 1888
Bank of Lincoln, Lincoln’s first bank, here 1902 – 1911
U.S. Post Office here 1914 – 1924
First Lincoln library here 1906 – 1909
Other well-known long term occupants:
A.B. Crook & Son, Groceries, 1896 – 1917
Goodenough Jewelry, 1916 – 1960
Wyatt Hardware, 1925 – 1933
Hellewell . . . — Map (db m17784) HM|
|California (Riverside County), Chiriaco Summit — 985 — Desert Training Center — California Arizona Maneuver Area|
|The D.T.C was established by Major General George S. Patton Jr. in response to a need to train American combat troops for battle in North Africa during World War II. The camp, which began operation in 1942 covered 18,000 square miles. It was the largest military training ground ever to exist. Over one million men were trained at the eleven sub-camps (seven in California. — Map (db m50700) HM|
|California (Riverside County), Chiriaco Summit — The Desert Training Center|
[This is a four sided monument displaying three different markers:]
Front - Facing West:
Desert Training Center
* Camp Young *
Maj. Gen. George S. Patton Jr., U.S. Army, selected Camp Young as headquarters site for the Desert Training Center in March 1942. Camp Young was the administrative center for a simulated theater of operations that would eventually extend from Pomona, CA. to Phoenix, AZ., from Yuma, AZ to Boulder City, NV., and would include a network of training . . . — Map (db m32139) HM|
|California (Riverside County), Desert Center — 9 — Gus Lederer 1868-1932|
"Mayor of Corn Springs" — Map (db m63839) HM|
|California (Riverside County), Temecula — #3 — First National Bank|
|Built in 1912 by Eli Barnett.
Completed in 1914, the Temecula bank was locally owned and known as the "Pawn Shop" by its
rancher directors. The bank was robbed on August 13th, 1930. The robber was promptly captured by townspeople and the loot was recovered in full. The bank's doors remained open during the depression and was eventually closed in 1941. For many years the second floor served as the community center and dance hall. — Map (db m26202) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Elk Grove — 817 — Site of the First County Free Library Branch in California|
|In 1908 Elk Grove acquired through the efforts of Miss Harriet G. Eddy, then principal of Elk Grove Union High School, the first county free library branch in California. Subsequently, California's county free library branch system has become one of the most outstanding in America. — Map (db m11868) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Elk Grove — The Lincoln Highway|
|The Lincoln Highway, a coast to coast all weather road from Times Square in New York to San Francisco’s Lincoln Park, was an idea whose birthday was the 10th of September 1912. This road which freed America from the clutches of changeable weather was completed finally in the mid 1920’s. Autos now could travel twelve months of the year.
The Lincoln Highway is recognized as the first graveled road highlighted with markers from the East Coast to its terminus in San Francisco. This roadway truly . . . — Map (db m18026) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Fair Oaks — Jim’s Bridge|
|Named in honor of Jim Jones whose love for the American River and fervor to protect its fisheries and flow levels greatly enhanced the river and parkway.
When this bridge was no longer needed for mining activities, Jim fought to save it so that it could provide a recreational link across the river for the enjoyment of Parkway visitors.
The bridge was named "Jim's Bridge" by action of the Sacramento County Board of Supervisors in August 1989. — Map (db m377) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Folsom — J. Clifton Toney|
|In Memory of J. Clifton Toney
Publisher of the Folsom Telegraph
1962 – 1976
His vision resulted in the
Development of the Sutter Street Mall — Map (db m14378) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Gold River — The Treasured American River|
|The river before you is not the same river that flowed through here 200 years ago when the Nisenan Indians caught salmon and collected acorns along its bank. The river has been mined, dammed and surrounded by our cities, yet it still supports healthy runs of Chinook salmon and steelhead. The American River remains a vital part of our region and its protection is in your hands. — Map (db m15836) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Locke — Locke Memorial Park|
In memory of the industrious Chinese pioneers of California whose strength and sacrifice helped build the transcontinental railroad, construct the levees of the Sacramento San Joaquin Delta, and develop agriculture in the Central Valley. With determination and perserverance the Chinese built the town of Locke and continue to shape California.
Dedicated October 13, 2007
Through the Inspiration of
Connie King, Locke Resident Since 1948 — Map (db m18234) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — Anthony J. “Tom” LoPresti — 1962 National PGA Pro of the Year|
|Head PGA GOLF PROFESSIONAL at
HAGGIN OAKS GOLF COURSE
1932 – 1994
In recognition of Tom LoPresti – otherwise known as “Mr. Golf of the West Coast” for his 62 years of dedicated service to the Sacramento Golf Community. — Map (db m14979) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — 967 — California Almond Growers Exchange — Almond Processing Facility|
|The California Almond Growers Exchange founded in 1910, was first successful grower-owned co-operative for marketing California almonds. It pioneered in many fields, including almond production, mechanization and marketing. The first structure on this property was built in 1915 and was designed to mechanize almond processing. This shelling plant was one of the earliest structures of its type, and contained the world’s first mechanical cracker. — Map (db m11862) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — California Firefighters Memorial|
|Honoring men and women of uncommon courage who paid the ultimate price to protect our lives, our families and our dreams — Map (db m14836) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — California State Capitol|
| ORIGINAL CONSTRUCTION – 1860 – 1874
Miner F. Butler – Won Design Competition, 1860
Ruben Clark, Supervising Architect, 1860 – 1865
Gordon P. Cummings, Supervising Architect, 1865 – 1870
Kenitzer & Bennett, Supervising Architect, 1870 – 1871
Gordon P. Cummings, Supervising Architect, 1872 – 1874
RESTORED AND STRUCTURALLY STRENGHTENED – 1975 – 1982
AB 2071, Assemblyman Leon Ralph, . . . — Map (db m14834) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — Dr. Alister MacKenzie — Golf Course Designer|
|On August 19, 1931, famous Golf Course Designer Dr. Alister MacKenzie was selected by the City of Sacramento to lay out the new Sacramento Municipal 18-Hole Golf Course, which opened for play on October 1, 1932. The course name was changed to Haggin Oaks Municipal 18-hole G.C. in 1952. On May 17, 1997, the City of Sacramento officially dedicated the Haggin Oaks Municipal Golf Courses (now a 36-hole golf facility) as the…Alister MacKenzie G.C. at Haggin Oaks and the Arcade Creek G.C. at Haggin Oaks. — Map (db m14938) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — Dr. Benjamin F. Pendery|
|BORN August 11, 1846
DIED April 26, 1905
This monument is dedicated to
Dr. Pendery, his family, and all the
men and women of medicine who were
moved here from the New Helvetia
Cemetery in 1955 – 1956.
Erected June 12, 1999 by the
Sacramento-El Dorado Medical Society
with the generous support of
East Lawn Memorial Parks & Mortuaries
The Pfund Family Fund and the
Ruhkala Monument Company, Inc. — Map (db m18946) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — Edmonds Field — 1910 – 1960|
|This was the site of home plate at Edmonds Field, home of the Pacific Coast League’s Sacramento Solons Baseball Team for fifty years. More than 4,200 games were played here over those years and Solon fans set several PCL attendance records.
The Solons won the pennant in 1942. Their fans were some of the best in baseball. — Map (db m17071) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — First United Methodist Church — Founded October 28, 1849 — Sacramento’s Third Organized Church|
|The original building was located on land at the S. E. corner of 7th and L Sts. Donated by Capt. John Sutter. It was known as The Baltimore Chapel. Prefabricated in Baltimore and shipped around The Horn, it became the first house of worship in Sacramento and the Great Valley. A new building; Designated First Methodist Episcopal Church, erected in 1859 on 6th St. between K and L. In 1918 a merger occurred between that church and The Central M.E. Church at 11th and I Sts. which had been organized . . . — Map (db m11885) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — Frank C. Freer|
|This plaque is dedicated to Frank C. Freer by the City of Sacramento in recognition
of his commitment of over 50 years to improving the game of golf in Sacramento, California.
• Member-Sacramento Golf Club at Haggin Oaks
• Member-Sacramento Golf Council
• Tournament Director-California State Fair Championship
• Chairman-1983 National Mens’ Public Links Championship
• NCGA Board of Directors (1962-1968)
• USGA Sectional Qualifying Committeeman, National Public Links (1964-1995)
. . . — Map (db m14907) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — 823 — Governor’s Mansion|
|This mansard-styled Victorian house was built for Albert Gallatin in 1877. Acquired by the State, it served as the first official Governor's residence. Governor George C. Pardee and his family moved in during November, 1903. It ultimately served as home for 13 Governors over a span of 64 years. — Map (db m13882) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — Historic Street Lights|
| . . . — Map (db m16521) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — James Logan Butler — The Silver Baron of Tonopah, Nevada|
|FEB. 2, 1855
JAN. 22, 1923
His Mizpah Mine Produced
Nearly Half of the
$250,000,000 Gold and Silver
Taken in the Tonopah Rush
of the Early 1900’s. — Map (db m13950) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — Ken Morton, Sr.|
• 1998 National PGA Golf Professional of the Year
• 1998 National PGA Merchandiser of the Year (Public Course)
• 1994 National PGA Horton-Smith Award Winner
• 1990 National PGA Merchandiser of the Year (Public Course)
Ken Morton, Sr. gained his appreciation of the game of golf as a caddie working at Del Paso Country club in Sacramento, California. Ken came to Haggin Oaks Golf Complex in 1958 as an employee working in the Club repair shop under Head Golf Professional Tom LoPresti. . . . — Map (db m14857) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — Kenneth L. Maddy|
| . . . — Map (db m15028) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — 614 — Leland Stanford House|
|The house originally designed in 1857 by Seth Babson and was purchased by Leland Stanford in 1861. It served as the State Executive Office from 1861 to 1867, before the completion of the State Capital. It was later extensively remodeled and enlarged. In 1900 Jane Lathrop Stanford gave the house to the Roman Catholic Diocese of Sacramento to create the Stanford-Lathrop Memorial Home for Friendless Children. — Map (db m11842) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — Liberty Bell Replica|
Dedicated To You, A Free Citizen In A Free Land
This reproduction of the Liberty Bell was presented to the people of
by direction of
The Honorable John W. Snyder
Secretary of Treasury
As the inspirational symbol of the
United States Savings Bonds Independence Drive
from May 15 to July 4, 1950. It was displayed in
every part of the State
The Dimensions and tone are identical
with those of the original Liberty Bell when it
rang out our . . . — Map (db m14837) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — Luella Buckminster-Johnston — 1861 – 1958|
|An outspoken proponent of suffrage for women, she became the first of her gender elected to a municipal office in Sacramento, being swept into office by an all male electorate before women attained the right to vote. Widow of a politician and schoolteacher by avocation, she became a leader of the Progressive Republican Women and Sacramento’s first Commissioner of Education in 1912. — Map (db m15621) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — Merchant Marine Monument|
|Dedicated to all Merchant Marine Seaman
Members of the U.S. Merchant Marines serving world wide aboard
U.S. Flag cargo ships during World War II suffered a greater
percentage of war-related deaths than did all of the
nation’s regular armed forces combined.
The Merchant Marine Seaman suffered losses of 3.4%
Of the over 200,000 serving, with 6,798 killed.
The total of all other armed services suffered losses of 1.78%.
We were granted U.S. Armed Forces Veteran status January 19, . . . — Map (db m16493) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — Michael “Mac” McDonagh — Born in Tuam Co. Galway on December 29, 1900|
|In recognition of Michael “Mac” McDonagh for his 32 years of service as Superintendent of Golf for the City of Sacramento from 1932 – 1964. Mac McDonagh went to England in 1923 to become an apprentice in golf course construction and design with Dr. Alister MacKenzie. In 1926, McDonagh came to California and joined Dr. MacKenzie in the building of such fine golf courses as Cypress Point, The Meadow Club, and our very own Sacramento Municipal Golf Course – now officially . . . — Map (db m14939) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — Re-Internment Site For New Helvetia Cemetery|
| In memory of the persons
Laid to rest between
1849 and 1912 by the
County of Sacramento at
New Helvetia Cemetery
Dedicated by the
Board of Supervisors
Sacramento County Cemetery Advisory Commission
2003 — Map (db m18967) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — Sacramento’s Maritime Heritage|
|The second world war found river transportation companies continuing service on the Sacramento River while under the restrictions of wartime conditions. In the 1950’s, river commerce consisted of the transportation of barges of bulk grain, petroleum, and crushed rock between Bay Area points and upriver as far north as Colusa. In 1954, Sacramento River traffic amounted to 2,172,451 tons of cargo, largely rice. River commerce in the 1960’s continued to be primarily tug boats and barges including . . . — Map (db m16467) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — Sisters of Mercy|
|During the Gold Rush Days of 1857, the Sisters of Mercy came to Sacramento to care for the children of the miners and to serve the sick and the homeless.
In those early days, the Sisters purchased land in the heart of the city to build a school. Passage of the “Capital Bill”, in 1860 resulted in the sale of that property to the State for its original price of $4,850. This is now the site of the State Capital Building.
The Sisters of Mercy have made significant contributions to . . . — Map (db m14839) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — 869 — Site of First and Second State Capitals at Sacramento|
|Sacramento’s first county courthouse, formerly located on this site, served as California’s State Capital from January 16, 1852 to May 4, 1852 for the third session of the legislature and from March 1, 1854 to May 15, 1854 for the fifth session. Destroyed by fire on July 13, 1854, it was rebuilt in less than six months. The second courthouse served as the Capital from 1855 – 1869 when a transition began to the current Statehouse. A third courthouse occupied this site and remained until replaced by the County Jail in 1989. — Map (db m14803) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — The California Peace Officers Memorial — In Tribute|
|Since statehood, the people of California have sought and cherished a quality of life unsurpassed in this great nation. There have been among us those who chose to serve as peace officers and when called upon unselfishly gave more than we have the right to ask. A passionate desire among their brother and sister peace officers and concerned Californians to commemorate those fallen heros is evidenced here. This moving memorial is a tribute to the dedicated men and women of the California Law . . . — Map (db m14814) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — The Docks|
|“The Docks” has had a remarkably varied occupational history. Gold Rush immigrants camped along the riverbank. In the following years, a limited number of individuals and families lived in the area in private residences and lodging houses. From the beginning of Euro-American occupation, however, the area was dominated by commercial and industrial activity because of its location adjacent to a navigational river. Speculators; small businesses including saloons, fish wholesalers, . . . — Map (db m16511) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — The Guy West Bridge|
Named in honor of
Dr. Guy A. West
Founding President of
Sacramento State College
(1947 – 1966)
Under his guidance and dedicated
leadership, the university grew from
four faculty and fewer than two
hundred students to a comprehensive
regional institute of higher
learning with a national reputation
for excellence — Map (db m19578) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — The Interurban Railroad Lines|
|Another distinctive era in the demographic history of the southern waterfront occurred when the construction of several interurban railroad lines along Front Street revitalized the area. In the first decade of the 20th century, several interurban railroads were constructed in downtown Sacramento. The Northern Electric Railway to Sacramento, which served the northern Sacramento Valley in the early 20th century, was completed in 1907. The line extended from Chico to Sacramento’s waterfront. At . . . — Map (db m16544) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — The Northern Electric Bridge|
|In 1911, the Northern Electric Railway Company, along with Sacramento and Yolo counties, built the Northern Electric Bridge. The bridge carried a single railroad track with twin motor-vehicle roadways. Pedestrian walks cantilevered from the central support structure. It had two fixed-approach spans, each 125 feet long, with a center draw of 400 feet. The 12-foot square operator’s house, constructed of 4-inch thick concrete, was placed over the center of the structure.
Two 60 HP-D.C. motors . . . — Map (db m16492) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — The Tower Bridge|
|The Tower Bridge, a vertical-lift span, was opened for traffic on December 15, 1935 and was built at a cost of $994,000. The State Department of Public Works, the City and the County of Sacramento and the Federal Government built the bridge.
It is 737 feet long. The central lift span is a 209-foot truss supported by two vertical towers 160 feet tall.
The bridge originally featured an interurban railroad separating the two directions of travel. The track was removed from the bridge in 1962. — Map (db m16489) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — The United States Merchant Marine|
|Throughout history, two categories of ships, merchants and naval combatants, have carried out the world’s seagoing activities. Those of the merchant marine, known as merchantmen, carry cargo, passengers, and perform special functions during times of war. Navies have the mission of maintaining sea lanes to enable the nation’s merchant marine to move freely and safely and to prevent an enemy from doing so. In times of war, the distinction between merchantmen and fighting ships can be narrow. . . . — Map (db m16468) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — Tower Bridge: Gateway to the Capital|
Identifying A Need
By the early 1930’s, Americans were moving away from trains and ships and turning to automobiles as their mode of transporation. As a result, traffic on roadways increased dramatically. In Sacramento, M Street (now Capital Mall), one of the city’s busiest routes during his period, served as a major link to U.S. Highway 40 (now West Capital Avenue and State Route 275). The Sacramento Northern Railroad Bridge spanned the Sacramento River directly north of the . . . — Map (db m16490) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — U.S.S. Sacramento – 1964 — [AOE-1]|
|Constructed during the early years of the Vietnam War, she was commissioned as a “Combat Supply and Auxiliary Support Ship” (AEO-1). At 793’ and 53,000 tons, she is by far the largest ship in the U.S. Fleet to be named ”Sacramento.” With a crew of 600, she has been assigned to the Seventh Fleet and awarded fifteen Battle Stars. She has been dubbed a floating supermarket, holding in a single load eight million gallons of fuel, 1600 tons of ammunition, 250 tons . . . — Map (db m72896) WM|
|California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — U.S.S. Sacramento 1914 – 1942 — The Galloping Ghost of the China Coast|
|Brought into service in 1914 to join the United States “Great White Fleet”, dubbed such for the sparkling white paint used on naval ships at the time, she was in service 28 years and two world wars. A 226-foot gleaming white steam gunboat with a crew of 160, she earned her many names and associations.
In Japan she was called the “Sacramento Moru”, and in Central America she was part of the “Banana Fleet.” In 1919, she served in Murmansk, Russia, . . . — Map (db m16475) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — USS Sacramento (PG-19) — “The Galloping Ghost of the China Coast” — 1914 – 1946|
|As part of our nation’s maritime history, USS Sacramento steamed more than one-half million miles during her proud service in the United States Navy.
She logged 64,000 miles convoying 483 ships through submarine-infested European waters during World War I. Moved to the Pacific in 1922, the gun boat’s presence was witnessed during the Russian and Chinese revolutions.
Called the “Galloping Ghost of the China Coast”, USS Sacramento was a positive symbol of America’s concern for . . . — Map (db m16483) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — You Are Remembered – Rest In Peace|
This marker has been dedicated in memory of more than six hundred persons of Japanese ancestry reinterred here in 1956 with several thousand others, whose remains were removed from New Helvetia Cemetery, the present site of Sutter Middle School at Alhambra Boulevard and J Street. Most of those of Japanese ancestry resting here were buried at New Helvetia Cemetery from 1849 to 1912.
This beautiful final resting place was made available through the heartfelt generosity of East Lawn . . . — Map (db m18938) HM|
|California (San Benito County), San Juan Bautista — El Camino Real Bell|
| . . . — Map (db m15335) HM|
|California (San Benito County), San Juan Bautista — Safety Follows Wisdom|
|Portland Cement Association
Safety Trophy Award
Ideal Cement Compamy
San Juan Bautista, California for a
Perfect Safety Record in 1960 — Map (db m15322) HM|
|California (San Benito County), San Juan Bautista — The San Andreas Fault Exhibit & El Camino Real Earthquake Walk|
|In Celebration of the
U.S.Geological Survey's Centennial
1879 - 1979
Dedicated July 4, 1979
SAN JUAN BAUTISTA CHAMBER OF COMMERCE
In Cooperation With
Old Mission San Juan Bautista-Diocese of Monterey,
U.S.Geological Survey-Department of the Interior,
California State Historical Park-San Juan Bautista
and the Citizens of San Juan Bautista, California — Map (db m15340) HM|
|California (San Bernardino County), Ontario — WCTU Fountain|
|This fountain was built by the Women's
Christian Temperance Union and dedicated
to this City of Ontario on July 4th 1908, to
provide the town with "a drinking fountain
where only the pure, sparkling water
can be had at any time by the thirsty one."
It was originally located on the
northwest corner of the Holt ("A" St.) and
Euclid Avenue and was relocated on this
site to commemorate the Bicentennial Year on September 6th 1975 by the Ontario Parkway Kiwanis Club. — Map (db m37513) HM|
|California (San Diego County), Lakeside — 425 — Mexican Grant — Commemorating Cañada de Los Coches Rancho, — Smallest Mexican Land Grant in Calif.|
Cañada de Los Coches Rancho
Smallest Mexican Grant in Calif.
Granted in 1843 to Apolinaria Lorenzana
-- by --
Governor Manuel Micheltorena
-- Site of Old - Gristmill -- — Map (db m25923) HM|
|California (San Diego County), San Diego — Clifton A. F. Sprague, Vice Admiral, USN — Born 8 January 1896 - Died 11 April 1955|
Navy Cross for the 25 October 1944 action off Samar. Admiral Sprague was aboard the escort carrier, USS Fanshaw Bay during this engagement.
Legion of Merit Medal for his command of the USS Wasp.
Gold Star in lieu of second Legion of Merit for the Morotai landings.
Gold Star in lieu of third Legion of Merit for the Iwo Jima and Okinawa operaitons.
Gold Star in lieu of fourth Legion of Merit for Operation Crossroads.
Presidential Unit Citation to Task Unit . . . — Map (db m8521) HM|
|California (San Diego County), San Diego — United States Aircraft Carrier Memorial|
| West face:
[Seals of the Department of the Navy: U.S. Navy and U.S. Marine Corps]
“The air fleet of an enemy will never get within striking distance of our coast as long as our aircraft carriers are able to carry the preponderance of airpower to sea," Rear Admiral W. A. Moffett, USN, 1922
The advent of the aircraft carrier revolutionized modern naval warfare. This memorial was conceived by aircraft carrier veterans to honor this nation’s carriers and the . . . — Map (db m61543) HM WM|
|California (San Joaquin County), Ripon — Ripon World War II Memorial|
| In Honor of
Ripon High School Students
KIA World War II
Radomir Kilak • Henry Bouma • Raymond Clifton • Lyman Fulton • Billy Haller • Jack Harp • John Kamps • Paul Madsen • Oscar Poelstra • Carl Peterson • Viggo Peterson • John Smit • John Van Andel • Harmon Tornga
In Memory of all
World War II Veterans
Ched K. Kolak
Sculptor — Map (db m19522) HM|
|California (San Joaquin County), Stockton — Remember Pearl Harbor|
|On December 7, 1941,
this country’s unpreparedness
invited a surprise attack
on Pearl Harbor.
Which plunged us into a costly war
and taught us that
the price of peace is preparedness.
REMEMBER PEARL HARBOR — Map (db m15968) HM|
|California (San Joaquin County), Stockton — 34 — Stockton City Hall|
|Built in the spirit of the “City Beautiful” movement, the Stockton City Hall provides an outstanding example of 1920’s construction techniques and design. The building’s Renaissance Revival Style was determined by a collaboration of Stockton and San Francisco architects. The site, Lindsay Point, is a California Registered Historical Landmark. — Map (db m15966) HM|
|California (San Joaquin County), Stockton — The Sister City Story|
|Sister city affiliations between the United States and other nations began shortly after World War II, and developed into a national initiative when President Dwight D. Eisenhower proposed the “people-to-people” program at a White House conference in 1956. President Eisenhower’s intention was to involve individuals and organized groups at all levels of society in citizen diplomacy, with the hope that personal relationships, fostered through Sister City, county and state . . . — Map (db m24224) HM|
|California (San Joaquin County), Stockton — We Shall Never Forget — “September 11, 2001”|
|Americans heal, not by forgetting, but by remembering.
It is with this in mind that we dedicate this Memorial
City of Stockton
September 11, 2007 — Map (db m15969) WM|
|California (San Joaquin County), Stockton — World War II Memorial|
Dedicated to all men and women
of Stockton, many of whom paid
the ultimate sacrifice, who
served their country overseas
and on the home front during
World War II, December 1941
through September 1945. May
their devotion to duty and love
of country never be forgotten. — Map (db m15973) HM|
|California (San Luis Obispo County), Cambria — 939 — Nitt Witt Ridge|
|Nitt Witt Ridge, one of California's remarkable Twentieth Century Folk Art Environments, is the creation of Arthur Harold Beal (Der Tinkerpaw or Capt. Nitt Witt), a Cambria Pines pioneer who sculpted the land using hand tools and indigenous materials, remarkable inventiveness, and self-taught skills. A blend of native materials and contemporary elements, impressive in its sheer mass and meticulous placement, it is a revealing memorial to art's unique cosmic humor and zest for life. — Map (db m50545) HM|
|California (San Mateo County), Burlingame — 864 — Burlingame Railroad Station|
|This first permanent building in the Mission Revival style of architecture was designed by George H. Howard and J. B. Mathison and financed by local residents and the Southern Pacific Railroad. It opened for service on October 10, 1894. The roof used 18th-century tiles from the Mission San Antonio de Padua at Jolon and the Mission Dolores Asistencia at San Mateo. — Map (db m2623) HM|
|California (San Mateo County), Colma — Colma City Hall — Erected 1936 – 1940|
Resing & Mc Ginnes
Contractor H.H. Smith
Incorporated as Lawndale
In Aug. 1924. The Town’s name
was changed to Colma in Nov. 1941
Originally the Town Hall
served as a traffic court,
post office, health dept. and
City Hall. It was leased to
The Army Corps of Engineers
from Oct. 1943 to Oct. 1944.
It remains today as the Colma
City Hall serving the most
unique city-cemetery complex
in the United States.
IT’S GREAT TO BE ALIVE IN COLMA
** . . . — Map (db m18401) HM|
|California (San Mateo County), Half Moon Bay — Joseph Debenedetti Building|
|The decade of the 1870’s saw an influx of European immigrants into the Half Moon Bay area and over to the coast. Irish, German, Italian, and Portuguese made up the majority of the newcomers whose numbers included merchants, business people, dairy and farmers. Joseph Debenedetti, a native of Genoa, Italy, was one of the earliest dry goods merchants in the area. In the late 1860’s Debenedetti traveled on foot down the San Mateo County Coastline with a heavy pack of merchandise on his back, . . . — Map (db m13747) HM|
|California (San Mateo County), Hillsborough — The Last Stagecoach Hold-Up In San Mateo County|
|Near this location on Aug.17, 1905, a masked desperado described as "nine feet high and armed with a small canon" stopped the Half Moon Bay Stagecoach. He angrily demanded driver Ed Campbell to throw down the Wells Fargo Co.'s treasure box, Levy Bros. strongbox, and the U.S. Mail bag. No valuables here but five passengers hid their gold and only gave $4.30.
A Poet Commemorated:
Huzza! romance returns again,
Once more as in the days of old,
Disdaining banks or Chu-chu train,
A . . . — Map (db m34820) HM|
|California (San Mateo County), San Bruno — First Shipboard Landing|
|On 18 January 1911, EUGENE ELY flew a Curtis Pusher biplane from this location, Tanforan Park, and landed on a wooden platform constructed aboard the Navy Cruiser USS Pennsylvania anchored in the San Francisco Bay. The first shipboard landing, an event of international impact, contributed significantly to the development of Naval aviation. — Map (db m18414) HM|
|California (San Mateo County), San Bruno — Seabiscuit|
Sired by Hard Tack – Out of Swing On
Owner – Charles S. Howard
Red Pollard – George Woolf
World’s Champion Money Winner to 1938 — Map (db m18406) HM|
|California (San Mateo County), San Mateo — Pacific City|
|The idea to build an amusement park at this site was conceived by local civic leaders. This park would rival those at Coney Island and Atlantic City.
The Pacific City site was 90 acres, stretching from Peninsula Avenue to Burlingame Avenue and the Bay shoreline to Coyote Point. Construction began in early 1922.
Pacific City cost nearly one million dollars. The park had a 3200-foot boardwalk along the sandy beach, 468 foot pleasure pier, white-maple dance pavilion (largest in the . . . — Map (db m28780) HM|
|California (San Mateo County), Woodside — 907 — Filoli — Fight – Love – Live|
|This country estate was begun in 1915 for Mr. and Mrs. William B. Bourn, II. Architect Willis J. Polk designed a modified Georgian Style country house. Subsequently the carriage house and garden pavilion were executed by Arthur Brown. The formal gardens were created by Bruce Porter. In 1937 the estate was acquired by Mr. and Mrs. William P. Roth.
CALIFORNIA REGISTERED HISTORICAL LANDMARK NO. 907
Plaque placed by the State Department of Parks and Recreation in Cooperation with the National . . . — Map (db m18450) HM|
|California (Santa Clara County), Alviso — 69 — Bayside Cannery — ca. 1906 — City of San Jose – Capital of the Silicon Valley|
|Established ca.1906, Bayside Canning Company expanded to become the third largest cannery in the United States by 1931. Under the leadership of Thomas Foon Chew, Bayside was the first cannery in the world to can green asparagus. The main building seen today was constructed in 1929.
San Jose Historical Landmark No. 69 — Map (db m24364) HM|
|California (Santa Clara County), Alviso — Water Everywhere — Water Seeks Its Own Level|
|Water in Alviso is a complex issue that touches on the environment, economics, and life safety. Already susceptible to flooding, Alviso’s situation was worsened by regional development. Hard paving, which prevented water absorption into the ground, and increased groundwater pumping caused the water table to drop. As a result, the land subsided, and Alviso dropped 13 feet over the last 100 years. Situated below sea level, it became even more vulnerable to flooding.
More recently, Alviso . . . — Map (db m24414) HM|
|California (Santa Clara County), Campbell — Campbell Fire Station|
|The Campbell Volunteer Fire Department officially began in 1912. Keeping track of ladders was a problem and the need for a fire station became apparent. An ad placed in the newspaper urged "all parties to leave ladders belonging to fire dept. in their places." An addendum later stated "...except in case of fire." The first Campbell volunteer fire station (as shown on the right) in 1913 was located on the east side of Campbell Ave. Equipment was kept in the front shed.
Campbell grew . . . — Map (db m24251) HM|
|California (Santa Clara County), Campbell — SCL-041 — Fire House #1 — Campbell Historic Location|
First building owned by city after 1952 incorporation. Served as city offices from 1953 to 1956.
Calif. Registered Point of Historical Interest No. SCL-041 — Map (db m24250) HM|
|California (Santa Clara County), Gilroy — Old City Hall — Gilroy, California|
|This building was constructed in 1905
and restored by the Gilroy Historical Society
to the memory of the pioneers of this area.
Native Daughters of the Golden West
Gilroy Parlor No. 312
April 27, 1968 — Map (db m18495) HM|
|California (Santa Clara County), Morgan Hill — [Morgan Hill] Centennial Project — A History Trail — Dedicated November 10, 2006|
|[The Morgan Hill Centennial Project is a very unusual ‘marker’. It was created to celebrate the 100th anniversary of the incorporation of the City of Morgan Hill. One starts at the center of the marker and then proceeds along an expanding spiral walkway. As one walks, they pass approximately 100 markers describing events in the history of Morgan Hill and the surrounding area. Periodically one crosses a granite paver denoting significant events in United States history. The markers listed . . . — Map (db m46097) HM|
|California (Santa Clara County), Palo Alto — 836 — Electronics Research Laboratory|
|Original site of the laboratory and factory of Federal Telegraph Company, founded in 1909 by Cyril F. Elwell. Here, with two assistants, Dr. Lee de Forest, inventor of the three-element radio vacuum tube, devised in 1911-13 the first vacuum tube amplifier and oscillator. World-wide developments based on this research led to modern radio communication, television, and the electronics age.
— Map (db m2604) HM|
|California (Santa Clara County), Palo Alto — 857 — John Adams Squire House|
|Designed by T. Paterson Ross and constructed by builder George W. Mosher in 1904, this house is a notable example of California's interpretation of the Greco-Roman Classic Revival movement in America. — Map (db m2715) HM|
|California (Santa Clara County), San Jose — New Almaden — (The New Mine) — After Almaden Mine in Spain|
|The first workable quicksilver mine in North America – First mine of any kind in California – First worked 1824 – Denounced November 1845. Has produced more metallic wealth than any individual gold mine in California. Its discovery freed all American gold and silver mines from Spanish domination for until 1887, quicksilver was a pre-requisite in the reduction of precious metals. Favorable adjucation of its title in 1865 protected all Western mining titles and saved California and Nevada for the Union. — Map (db m12924) HM|
|California (Santa Clara County), San Jose — San Jose Buddhist Church Betsuin|
|In 1902 a San Jose Buddhist Church was founded as a recognized branch of the San Francisco Buddhist Church. In 1906 property at 630 North 5th Street was purchased and services conducted by the first resident minister from Japan Reverend Honen Takahashi. Brothers Shinzaburo and Gentaro Nishiura built a new church at this site in 1913 which was renamed the Independent Buddhist Mission. In 1917 this church became known as the Buddhist Church of San Jose. The present Hondo was erected in 1937 at . . . — Map (db m26221) HM|
|California (Santa Clara County), Stanford University — 915 — Lou Henry Hoover House|
|This 1919 residence of a developing international style of architecture embodies Mrs. Herbert Hoover’s innovative architectural concepts. It was executed by architects A. B. Clark, Charles Davis, and Birge Clark, and was maintained as the Hoover family home. It was here in 1928 that Hoover received news of his election as President of the United States. Upon Mrs. Hoover’s death, the house was given to Stanford University.
— Map (db m2717) HM|
|California (Santa Cruz County), Capitola — 860 — Camp Capitola Superintendent’s Office|
|California’s first seaside resort community was established here in 1869 by Mr. F. A. Hihn. The grand opening was held on July 4, 1874, for the 15 acre resort, located in the present Village and Depot Hill areas. The Superintendent’s Office, built from local redwood in the 1880’s, served as the headquarters for Camp Capitola until 1930.
— Map (db m2351) HM|
|California (Santa Cruz County), Santa Cruz — 983 — Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk|
|A local landmark since 1907, this boardwalk was one of the first amusement parks in California. It is now the only oceanside amusement park operating on the west coast. The boardwalk is the site of two rare attractions, the 1911 carousel and the 1924 Giant Dipper roller coaster. Both were manufactured by members of the Looff family, some of the nation’s earliest and most prominent makers of amusement rides. — Map (db m62911) HM|
|California (Shasta County), Burney — Fountain Fire Vista Point|
| . . . — Map (db m13741) HM|
|California (Shasta County), Whiskeytown — A Matter of Progress — Whiskeytown Lake|
In the mid to late 1800’s you would have traveled here by horseback, mule train, stagecoach, or on foot. The rough road that would have led you here continued into the valley, now filled with Whiskeytown Lake. It passed near mining camps along Clear Creek and through the small towns of Whiskeytown, Oak Bottom, and Grizzly Gulch. You might have stayed at Mix’s Hotel, Oak Bottom House, or Brown’s House. There you were certain to find a hearty meal, a strong drink, and a livery stable.
The . . . — Map (db m14412) HM|
|California (Shasta County), Whiskeytown — Kennedy Memorial|
|[President John F. Kennedy dedicated the Clair A. Hill Whiskeytown Dam on September 28, 1963]
Donated by a Committee of Citizens
Redding – California
Artist – R. Ciabani — Map (db m14434) HM|
|California (Siskiyou County), Tule Lake — Civilian Conservation Corps|
|President Franklin Delano Roosevelt established the Civilian Conservation Corps on March 31, 1933, to provide employment for America's youth and promote the nation's economic recovery. The CCC's work involved conservation projects on forest, park and farm lands, resulting in new recreational opportunities for all Americans. Two million enrollees worked in 975 national, state, county and municipal areas, including 198 camps in 94 national parks and monuments. Many of the roads, trails bridges . . . — Map (db m547) HM|
|California (Solano County), Benicia — 1854 – Saint Paul’s Episcopal Church – 1954 — In Honor of the One Hundredth Anniversary|
|Founded September 24, 1854, with the first service conducted by lay reader Major F. D. Townsend, U.S. Army, in the “Old Capital Building”, constructed from plans presented by Colonel Julian McAlister, of the Benicia Arsenal, in April 1859; Consecrated on February 12, 1860 by the Right Reverend William Ingraham Kip, D.D., First Episcopal Bishop of California; The Cathedral of the Missionary District of Northern California, 1874 – 1899. Under the Right Reverend J.H.D. Wingfield, . . . — Map (db m16322) HM|
|California (Solano County), Benicia — Jack London|
this locality in
”Tales of the Fish Patrol” — Map (db m16329) HM|
|California (Solano County), Benicia — Suisun Bay Reserve Fleet — The Fleet|
|Suisun Bay Reserve Fleet is part of the National Defense Reserve Fleet (NDRF), owned and operated by U.S. Department of Transportation, Maritime Administration (MARAD). Established by the Merchant Ship Act of 1946, NDRF serves as a reserve which could be activated to meet shipping requirements during national emergencies. During World War II, over 3000 commercial type ships were built by the Maritime Commission to support the Allied war effort. After the war, those ships that could not be . . . — Map (db m10794) HM|
|California (Solano County), Benicia — 973 — Turner/Robertson Shipyard — 1882 – 1918|
|In 1882, Mathew Turner of San Francisco relocated his shipyard to Benicia. Turner, the most prodigious shipbuilder in North America, constructed 228 vessels, 169 of which were launched here. In 1913, the shipyard was purchased by James Robertson, who operated it until 1918. The yard's ways, and the whaler "Stamboul", used as a shipyard work platform, are visible at low tide. — Map (db m31007) HM|
|California (Solano County), Benicia — World War I Memorial|
Edmund Rudolf Anderson
Karl H. Dauber
Walter E. Erickson
James John Pometta
David Allen Richie
Who gave their lives in the World War — Map (db m16354) WM|
|California (Solano County), Vacaville — The Andrew Carnegie Public Library — 1915-1965|
|The Ulatis Book Club initiated an early effort in 1905 to obtain a Carnegie Library Building Fund Grant. This effort was taken over in 1910 by the Saturday Club, which campaigned to establish a library district under the jurisdiction of the Vacaville High School District. In 1914, the Carnegie Fund offered Vacaville $12,500 towards a library if the town provided the land. Two months later, contractor George Sharpe won the bid at $11,815 and built the reinforced concrete library with its Carnegie façade in six months. — Map (db m16845) HM|
|California (Solano County), Vacaville — William Gordon Huff — In Expression of Gratitude|
|In recognition for his continuous dedication to the preservation of western history through his world – renowned artistic endeavors: for expressing his love of the Order through the sculptured likeness of the men who have labored to preserve and sustain it: and for never failing to spread, by example, kindness, pride, humor and good fellowship throughout the organization. He himself stands as a character portrait of the great and beloved men he has worked so tirelessly to memorialize. — Map (db m54590) HM|
|California (Sonoma County), Santa Rosa — Luther Burbank Home|
|Luther Burbank was born in Massachusetts on March 7, 1849 and arrived in Santa Rosa in October 1875. In 1884 he purchased four acres surrounding this site as a place for horticultural experiments. Here he lived and worked until his death on April 11. 1926. Burbank’s work led quickly to international fame and thousands of visitors came to see the “Plant Wizard” at work. Within the rich horticultural legacy left by Burbank are the Burbank Russett Potato and the Shasta Daisy. — Map (db m12590) HM|
|California (Sonoma County), Sonoma — Duhring Building – 1891|
|This “modern brick building” with its distinctive cupola was built in 1891 by pioneer Sonoma merchant Frederick Duhring. It replaced the old Duhring Store, an adobe built in 1850 which had housed his mercantile established. In 1911 this building was among those saved when water from a basement well was pumped on a disasterous fire. On this site there has been a business serving the citizens of Sonoma for over 130 years.
Plaque dedicated March 23, 1985
Sam Brannan Chapter . . . — Map (db m54760) HM|