|Australia, New South Wales, Manly — Marine Parade — 1920s|
|From this lookout, formally attired spectors (sic) watch a surf carnival against a sweeping panorama of thriving pines. Today high-rise buildings dwarf the trees, which were damaged by airborne pollution from North Head sewage works. Since the construction of the deepwater ocean outfall Manly Council has undertaken an extensive replanting and rehabilitation scheme to restore the beauty of the heritage listed beach.
In 1898 the promenade to Fairy Bower was constructed above the sewer line . . . — Map (db m70686) HM|
|Australia, Victoria, Guildford — The Big Tree — 'River Red Gum' — Eucalyptus camaldulensis (fam Myrtaceae)Debnb|
| Guildford The Big Tree is thought to be one of the largest examples of the species in Victoria. It has been recorded as having a height of 30m, a canopy spread of 34m, and trunk circumference of 9.35m. Estimates of the age of the tree range between 500 - 100- years.|
It is listed as a tree of State significance on the National Trust Register of Significant Trees of Victoria for its
"outstanding size, curious fusion of branches, as an outstanding example of the species and as an . . . — Map (db m45968) HM
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Brentwood Bay — Above The Sunken Garden|
The mound in the centre of the quarry was of an inferior grade of limestone and therefore not quarried. Left intact, it provided a natural viewpoint amid the developing garden beds. Jennie Butchart planted a pair of arbor vitae (trees of life) on either side of the walkway in 1920. They have become a distinguishing part of the Sunken Garden and have been replaced three times. — Map (db m74451) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Brentwood Bay — Concert Lawn|
Under the sponsorship of Mr. and Mrs. Ian Ross, the Victoria Symphony Orchestra performed summer concerts on the main lawn between 1953 and 1967. Conducted by Hans Gruber they featured many international artists such as Teresa Stratas, Bernard Turgeon and Grace Bumbry. On occasion guest conductors were invited to lead the orchestra. — Map (db m74461) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Brentwood Bay — Fountain of the Three Sturgeons|
Once the location of a large Japanese teahouse, the view from the fountain is a commanding one of the Butchart Residence across the Main Lawn. — Map (db m74485) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Brentwood Bay — Rose Garden History|
The present Rose Garden was built in 1929 and 1930 on the site of the Butchart's vegetable garden. The design was developed by Butler Sturtevant, a Seattle landscape artist, and adapted by Jennie Butchart. The head gardener at the time, Bob Ballantyne, was in charge of its installation. His perfectionist methods added greatly to its improvement and expansion over the next thirty years until his retirement in 1959.
Between the Rose Garden and the nursery field, now the Concert Lawn, the . . . — Map (db m74483) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Brentwood Bay — Ross Fountain Lookout|
This smaller quarry was a source of limestone in the 1860s. It was here that Ian Ross, grandson of Mr. and Mrs. Butchart, devised his spectacular fountain with the assistance of his plumber, Adrian Butler and his electrician, Vic Dawson. The Ross Fountain commemorated the 60th Anniversary of The Butchart Gardens when it was installed in 1964. — Map (db m74441) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Brentwood Bay — Ross Fountain Lookout|
Directly behind the Ross Fountain lies Tod Inlet and the site of the Vancouver Portland Cement Company established in 1904. Adjacent to the plant at Tod Inlet was a village that housed the employees. — Map (db m74444) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Brentwood Bay — Seed & Fireworks Fields|
In 1903, the land now occupied by the Butchart Gardens was purchased from a local dairy farmer, Mr. Fernie. Reservoirs were excavated in 1969 to ensure a water supply for irrigation. The single jet fountain was installed to aerate the water supply in the largest reservoir, now the focal point of the fireworks display. — Map (db m74459) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Brentwood Bay — Soda Fountain Sit-In|
The factory buildings have been demolished and the land is now designated as provincial parkland. The one remaining chimney is within The Butchart Gardens and stands as a beacon to the cement industry it once served. — Map (db m74447) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Brentwood Bay — Star Pond|
This pond was designed by Mr. Butchart for his collection of ducks in 1931. Beyond is the entrance to the Italian Garden through a Lawson cypress hedge. — Map (db m74549) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Brentwood Bay — Sunken Garden Lake Sit-in|
Limestone was also quarried up the hill from the Sunken Garden. It was transported in ore buckets suspended on cables high above ground from some half a mile away. — Map (db m74432) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Brentwood Bay — The Butchart Gardens / Les Jardins Butchart|
Jennie Butchart began to shape this magnificent landscape in 1904. She established, in the style of the grand estates of the period, several distinct gardens to evoke a range of aesthetic experiences. An abandoned limestone quarry was transformed into the dramatic Sunken Garden, a reflection of the early 20th-century beautification movement and an exceptional achievement in Canadian gardening history. Through successive generations of the Butchart family, this site has retained much of its . . . — Map (db m74419) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Brentwood Bay — The Italian Garden|
The Italian Garden is the most formal of Mrs. Butchart's gardens. Created in 1926 on the site of the family tennis court, the well known architect Samuel Maclure worked from Mr. Butchart's ideas to create the garden. — Map (db m74551) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Brentwood Bay — The Japanese Garden|
The first of Jennie Butchart's formal gardens, the Japanese Garden was started in 1906. A Japanese landscape artist, Isaburo Kishida, assisted her with the design. Under the supervision of Hugh Lindsay the first of Mrs. Butchart's head gardeners, labourers from the cement works implemented Kishida's plan. Jennie installed a torii gate to mark the entrance to the garden. The magnificent purple beech on each side of the gate and the Japanese maples at the head of the stone stairs down into . . . — Map (db m74513) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Brentwood Bay — The Quarry Walls|
The barren rock face of the quarry presented Jennie Butchart with a challenge. She hung in a bosun's chair to plant ivy in the crevices in the rock walls. — Map (db m74437) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Brentwood Bay — The Sunken Garden|
The Limestone deposit was exhausted in 1908 and the quarry abandoned. Mrs. Butchart conceived the idea of transforming the barren pit into a garden and thus the Sunken Garden came into being. In 1910 she planted Lombardy poplar trees in an attempt to block the view of the cement factory. By 1912 the development of the garden was underway and it was completed in 1921. — Map (db m74428) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Brentwood Bay — The Sunken Garden Lake|
The deepest part of the quarry floor was sealed, lined and allowed to fill with water from a natural spring forming a lake 40 ft deep in places. Mr. Butchart stocked the pool with trout which would rise to the surface to be fed when he clapped his hands. — Map (db m74438) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Abkhazi Garden — The Garden that Love Built|
Peggy Pemberton-Carter met Prince Nicholas Abkhazi, in Paris in 1922. Prince Nicholas, the last surviving son of an ancient line of kings of Abkhazia on the Black Sea, had been living there in exile since escaping the Bolshevik Revolution. They found themselves "amiable", taking walks together, visiting galleries and conversing in their common language of French. They kept in touch through correspondence and met occasionally over the next few years. Peggy and her mother lived in . . . — Map (db m75253) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Giants Rooted Among Us|
Gaze up into a Giant sequoia. Let your imagination soar. Fully grown, they are the largest living things on the planet. Their ancestors stood among dinosaurs. Today, the Giant sequoia is found naturally in fewer than 100 groves in the Sierra Nevada Mountains of California. Giant sequoias were planted in Beacon Hill Park. Look for them along Circle Drive (behind you) and just off the Goodacre Lake path.
Shaped by Fire
Lightning-sparked forest fires are common in the mountains of . . . — Map (db m74141) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — The Old Man’s Garden|
|Dr. Helmcken loved tending the family garden throughout his long live. In his memoirs, he described his passion for gardening in the 1850s:
“At this time I was a great gardener – worked hard – up at 5 or 6 o’clock digging & c. Indians cleared out the stumps and so forth – grew our own vegetables & c. In process of time the land was got into some sort of shape – and I planted with sods the grass plot as it now stands.”
The Helmcken garden originally . . . — Map (db m48929) HM|
|New Brunswick (Charlotte County), St. Andrews — The 200 Million Year Wait is Over!|
|Kingsbrae Garden welcomes on of the world’s oldest and rarest trees, Wollemia nobilis; the only one in Canada. An epic journey for a historic little tree, across 90 million years and 10,000 miles. from Wollemi National Park’s Blue Mountains of Australia - “down under” - to the great white north.
The wollemis have outlived their prehistoric cousins, aunts and uncles for millions of years. Since dinosaurs roared about the Earth to the present electronic era, a few wollemi . . . — Map (db m77397) HM|
|Ontario, Niagara Falls — Niagara Park Greenhouses|
|These greenhouses were erected in the year 1946 as a part of the design of the Niagara Parks Commission to develop the natural magnificence of this historic district and to display its charms for the benefit not only of those who are residents of the province of ontario but of those to whom, as our welcome guests, we extend our warmest hospitality. The Niagara Parks Commission Chairman: The Honourable Charles Daily Vice-Chairman: Fred M. Cairns Commissioners Wm. B. Rollason • Cecil . . . — Map (db m66411) HM|
|Ontario, Whitney — Algonquin Provincial Park — Le Parc Provincial Algonquin|
|Established in 1893, Algonquin was the first provincial park in Canada and the forerunner of Ontario’s extensive park system. Many methods now used across Canada to administer multi-purpose parks and explain nature to the public were developed here. Algonquin also became a focus for discussion of seemingly conflicting objectives, such as wilderness protection versus recreation promotion; forest conservation versus logging activity. Its rugged lakeshores and wooded slopes have long attracted . . . — Map (db m59998) HM|
|Ontario (Municipality of Chatham-Kent), Dresden — Sawmill — Scierie|
This area was once covered in a thick, growth of trees including black walnut, maple, beech, elm and white oak. To make use of these natural resources, Josiah Henson and his sons used donations from benefactors in Boston to build a sawmill along the Sydenham River in Dawn for the British American Institute (B.A.I.). Trees were removed from the land as it was cleared for farming and other purposes and taken to the sawmill to be sawn into boards. The lumber was used for . . . — Map (db m78402) HM|
|France, Île-de-France (Paris), Paraza — Square du Vert-Galant|
|Square du Vert-Galant
Jusqu’à la construction du Pont-Neuf, l’île de la Cité se terminait par le Jardin du Roi, où fut édifiée la place Dauphine. La pointe actuelle de l’île est constituée de la réunion de trois îlots à la Cité, assise centrale du nouveau pont. L’îlot du nord, nommé île du Patriarche, se prolongeait à l’est par un minuscule îlot portant un moulin, dit de la Gourdaine puis de la Monnaie, car son énergie hydraulique était utilisée pour battre le monnayage royal. Celui du sud, le . . . — Map (db m61580) HM|
|France, Midi-Pyrénées (Tarn), Albi — Les jardins de la Berbie — Gardens of the Berbie Palace|
|Entre 1687 et 1703, Hyacinthe Serrori, premier archévêque d’Albi, aménage un lieu d’a rement dans l’ancienne basse cour de Berbie et transforme la muraille en promenoir. La Berbie perd ainsi son côté défensif et la vie du palais s’oriente vers les rive du Tarn, en accord avec le qoût pour la nature et le pittoresque qui se répardait à celle époque. Les buis finement taillés qui composent le jardin classique dessinent des broderies vegétales qui sont agreméntées de plantations . . . — Map (db m60353) HM|
|Germany, Baden-Württemberg (Tübingen District), Bebenhausen — Gewürz- und Kräutergarten / Spice and Herb Garden|
1987 in Anlehnung an klösterliche Heilkräutergärten des Mittelalters, die von den Mönchen bearbeitet wurden, mit Staudengewächsen, ein- und zweijährigen Pflanzen und Gehölzen angelegt, die in erster Linie zu Heilzwecken genutzt wurden und im 13./14. Jahrhundert bereits bekannt waren.
Das Nebeneinander von Kräutern und Blumen spiegelt die Verwobenheit medizinisch-naturwissenschaftlicher, kultisch-magischer und ästhetischer Vorstellungen. Heilwert, Duft und Schönheit einer Pflanze waren . . . — Map (db m77522) HM|
|Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Mansfeld-Südharz District), Mansfeld-Lutherstadt — Lutherlinde / Luther Linden|
Der ca. 240 Jahre alte Baum war krank und mußte gefällt werden.
Die Grundstückseigentümerin Frau Renate Fischer pflanzte als Ersatz am 05.04.2011 diese Sommerlinde.
Aus Verbundenheit & Dankbarkeit
Das Kirchspiel Mansfeld Heimatverein e.V.
The 240 year old tree was sick and had to be felled.
The land owner Renate Fischer planted as a replacement on 04/05/2011 this summer Linden.
Out of solidarity and . . . — Map (db m70483) HM|
|Guatemala, Sacatepéquez, La Antigua — California Avocado Society Thanks Guatemala — Gracias a Guatemala de La Sociedad Aguacatera de California|
|Presentada por La Sociedad Aguacatera De California
en el 1946
En reconocimiento y aprecio por la gran contribución
de Antigua y toda Guatemala por el desarrollo de la
industria de aguacates en California.
Un jóven saludable, saluda a tan generosos padres.
Presented by California Avocado Society 1946
In recognition and appreciation of the great
contributions of Antigua, and of all Guatemala, to
the development of the avocado industry in California.
A Healthy, . . . — Map (db m71194) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — Lord Ardilaun|
| Prior to 1877 St. Stephen's Green was a private square for the use of the residents of the Green. In that year, through the generosity of Sir Arthur Edward Guinness (Lord Ardilaun) negotiations were concluded for converting it into a public park.
Lord Ardilaun paid off debts against the park and invested an additional £20,000 in laying out the grounds as a park and garden. The bronze statue of Lord Ardilaun was erected by public subscriptions in 1892.
The Right . . . — Map (db m25311) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Meath), Fordstown — Girley / Fordstown — Meath Villages|
| An introduction to Fordstown
Fordstown is named after the Norman-Irish Ford family, who lived in the area. One part of the townland is sometimes referred to as Ballaghboy. Today, Fordstown is a growing, vibrant community. ‘Fordstown Street Fair’ is an old world fair, hosted by Fordstown in October each year since 2004. Fordrew Rovers
Fordrew Rovers Football Club was formed in 1997 and play in Drewstown. They progressed from Division 4A to Division 1 in four years. They won . . . — Map (db m27318) HM|
|Alabama (Autauga County), Prattville — Pratt Homesite — Circa 1842|
|Daniel Pratt, Prattville’s founding father,
constructed an imposing home and garden
within a quarter-mile of this site on
Autauga Creek, near his industrial complex.
The large home was designed and erected by
Pratt himself, a noted architect / builder.
The white frame house featured New England
architectural elements characteristic of
Pratt’s style and incorporated a narrow,
two-story portico and balcony. Pratt also added
An art gallery to the home displaying paintings by
George . . . — Map (db m27985) HM|
|Alabama (Baldwin County), Stockton — Bartram’s Trail|
|William Bartram, America’s first native born artist - naturalist, passed through Baldwin County during the Revolutionary era, making the first scientific notations of its flora, fauna and inhabitants. As the appointed botanist of Britain’s King George III, he traveled 2,400 miles in three journeys into the southern colonies in 1775-1776, collection rare plants and specimens and making detailed drawings of plants and animals.
Erected by Baldwin County Commission And Alabama Bicentennial Commission — Map (db m66388) HM|
|Alabama (Butler County), Greenville — The Camellia City/Greenville|
The Camellia City
Mr. J. Glenn Stanley, an ardent camellia enthusiast, dreamed of Greenville becoming “The Camellia City” and loyally promoted this slogan as editor of The Greenville Advocate. The city’s first Camellia Show was held at his antebellum Henry-Beeland-Stanley home in 1937. City officials, civic groups, garden clubs and individuals joined Mr. Glenn’s campaign by planting camellias in abundance. Local gardeners including Stanley, . . . — Map (db m70754) HM|
|Alabama (Colbert County), Tuscumbia — Petrified Conifer Tree / Petrified Lycopod Tree Stump|
| Plaque A 85-90 Million Years Old
Possibly a Bald Cypress
from the Cretaceous Period
or the Age of Dinosaurs Plaque B
325 Million Years Old
A Member of the Giant Club Mosses
from the early Coal Age — Map (db m29287) HM|
|Alabama (Covington County), Opp — The Depot / Opp, Alabama|
| The Depot In 1900, the L&N Railroad won the right to establish the railroad through this area. The town is named for Henry Opp, who represented L&N in successful legal negotiations. The coming of the railroad consolidated the surrounding areas and brought people and businesses from Poley, Opine, Cool Springs and other nearby areas. The first depot was a railcar parked on a sidetrack. As the town developed, a wooden building was constructed. The present structure was constructed in 1928 . . . — Map (db m39777) HM|
|Alabama (Dallas County), Cahaba — Perine Well|
|This artesian well was drilled to serve a factory which did not materialized. It was then used to water the grounds, a garden and pastures. In addition, by forcing water through pipes into his $50,000 home, E. M. Perine, a merchant prince, had the first air conditioning in Alabama. Fry's history relates that when drilled, this was the deepest known well in the world. Flow is now estimated at 1250 gallons per minute from a depth of 700-900 feet. — Map (db m23290) HM|
|Alabama (DeKalb County), Valley Head — Site of Cherokee Council Tree|
The giant Black Spanish Oak
Taught his newly invented
Tree felled by a storm
1934 — Map (db m28036) HM|
|Alabama (Elmore County), Wetumpka — William Bartram — 1739 - 1823|
|William Bartram, the first native-born American artist-naturalist, of Philadelphia, visited this site on Christmas Day, 1776.
This arboretum commerates the man, his visit to Fort Toulouse, and his travels through the southeastern colonies from 1773-1777.
His search for specimens blazed an epochal new trail in nature appreciation and his observations and sketches obtained during his four year trip are priceless records of 18th century American natural history.
Bartram studied and . . . — Map (db m69440) HM|
|Alabama (Houston County), Cottonwood — Cottonwood, Alabama|
|In April 1903, the Town of Cottonwood was incorporated, making it the first town established in Houston County. The town's name may have come from either Mr. Wood, an influential land owner, or from the softwood trees growing in the area. General stores, a bank, mills (turpentine, grist, timber, etc.) sprang up. At least two lumber companies constructed logging railroads through the town. One remained in service into the 1940s as a freight service from the Cowarts area to Bascom, FL. The early . . . — Map (db m73381) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Clay — The Cahaba Heart River of Alabama|
|On Cahaba Mountain to the NW, springs form a fragile stream that grows as it carves through the steep, rocky terrain of Birmingham suburbs, flowing south on the Gulf Coastal Plain to the Alabama River, at the site of Alabama's first capital, Cahawba. The Cahaba has sustained human life at least 10,000 years and remains a major drinking water source. It is known nationally for biological diversity and beauty and, at 191 miles, is Alabama's longest free flowing river. It nurtures 69 rare, . . . — Map (db m25110) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Hoover — Overseer’s House — Built in 1889|
|This house was provided for the overseer of the 560-acre A. B. Howell Peach Orchard. William Morgan and William and Evan Hale were overseers. The house was purchased by John and Marie Taylor in 1989 and was placed on the Alabama Register of Landmarks and Heritage in 2000. — Map (db m28494) HM|
|Alabama (Lee County), Auburn — Chewacla State Park — (CCC)|
Under President Franklin D. Roosevel'ts New Deal (1933-1942), the Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) was established to provide work for single young men. The CCC's Company 4448, Camp Alabama SP-12, began work in September 1935 to construct Chewacla Park. By March 1941, they had built a dam and 26-acre lake, roads, trails, cabins, bathhouse, manager's house, arch bridge, and office. Barracks, mess hall, and canteen were also built on site to house the men who were from Alabama . . . — Map (db m73546) HM|
|Alabama (Lee County), Auburn — Founders' Oak|
|This post oak started growth in 1850 and was 6 years old when East Alabama Male College was established. It was 33 years old when the Alabama Agricultural Station was established, 91 when the nation entered World War II, and over 100 when this site was made an arboretum. In 1975, Hurricane Eloise wreaked havoc in the arboretum but the Founders’ Oak withstood the storm. It was 150 years old at the start of the twenty-first century and is expected to be here at the start of the next century. — Map (db m74430) HM|
|Alabama (Lee County), Auburn — The Cullars Rotation / The Alvis Field and Cotton Rust|
| Side 1
The Cullars Rotation
The Cullars Rotation is the oldest, continuous soil fertility study in the South and the second oldest cotton study in the world. It was started in 1911 by the Alabama Agricultural Experiment Station on the farm of J.A. Cullars and John P. Alvis. In 1938, the "Alvis Field" was sold to Alabama Polytechnic Institute which became Auburn University in 1960. The experiment consists of 14 soil fertility variables in three blocks that are rotated with . . . — Map (db m74463) HM|
|Alabama (Lee County), Auburn — The Old Rotation|
|Established in 1896 by Professor J.F. Duggar, the Old Rotation at Auburn University is: (1) the oldest, continuous cotton experiment in the U.S.; and (2) the 3rd oldest continuous field crop experiment in the U.S.; and (3) the 1st experiment to demonstrate the benefits of rotating cotton with other crops to improve yields & utilize nitrogen-restoring legumes in a cotton-production system. It continues to document the long-term effect of these rotations in the same soil.
The Old Rotation . . . — Map (db m74429) HM|
|Alabama (Marshall County), Albertville — Liberty Tree Memorial|
This American Liberty Elm was named after “The Liberty Tree: Our Country’s first Symbol of Freedom.” On the morning of August 14, 1765, the people of Boston awakened to discover two effigies suspended from an elm tree in protest of the hated Stamp Act. From that day forward, that elm became known as “The Liberty Tree.” It stood in silent witness to countless meetings, speeches and celebrations, and became the rallying place for the Sons of Liberty. In August of 1775, . . . — Map (db m72931) HM WM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — Camellia Designated Alabama State Flower|
The Alabama Legislature approved a bill sponsored by Rep. T.E. Martin of Montgomery County in 1927 that designated the Goldenrod the official state flower. It became law on Sept. 6, 1927, the same day that the Yellowhammer became the official state bird.
In 1959, camellia growers in Butler County argued that the goldenrod was a weed and convinced State Representative Folsom LaMont Glass of Greenville (The Camellia City) to introduce a bill naming the Camellia as the official state . . . — Map (db m70783) HM|
|Arizona (Cochise County), Tombstone — 35 — Rose Tree — Museum|
|In 1934, Robert Ripley
declares the Rose Bush
the World's Largest in the
"Believe it or Not".
The fire of May 26th, 1882, destroyed the dwellings located here. In 1885, Mrs. Amelia Adamson built the Cochise House Hotel. That same year, Mrs. Adamson and Mrs. Mary Gee, a hotel guest, planted the rose bush in the hotel patio. The Rose bush had been sent to Mrs. Gee by a relative in Scotland. By 1909, the Cochise House was renamed as the Arcade Hotel and Annex. It was . . . — Map (db m53406) HM|
|Arizona (Coconino County), Flagstaff — Flagstaff's Founding|
| Flagstaff was a name on a map before the area had any significant population. The first permanent settler was Thomas F. McMillan who arrived sometime in 1876. On July 4, 1876, a party of emigrants traveling from Boston to California was camped at Antelope Springs, near McMillan's homestead and in the vicinity of present-day Marshall Elementary School. In honor of the nation's Centennial, the emigrants stripped the limbs from a tall Ponderosa Pine tree and hoisted Old Glory. This event gave . . . — Map (db m41717) HM|
|Arizona (Coconino County), Flagstaff — Logging Wheels|
|Logging wheels were originally an integral part of the early lumber industry in Northern Arizona. Originally designed in 1870 by Silas Overpack, a Manistee, Michigan wheelwright, the wheels were used by a local farmer to help him clear his land. When logging operations began in the early 1880's, they became a vital part of the process. The wheels, originally pulled by horses, were used into the early 1900's and were even pulled by early steam tractors.
When lumberjacks felled the large . . . — Map (db m33331) HM|
|Arizona (Coconino County), Flagstaff — Two Spots — Arizona Lumber and Timber Company Steam Engine|
| Arizona Lumber and Timber Company purchased this Baldwin steam engine in 1917 for lumbering operations in and around Flagstaff, where the engine spent its entire working life. The City of Flagstaff purchased No. 25 in 1995.
Canvas water bags hung out the engine's window & eventually rubbed off the Number 5 on each side, resulting in Two Spot's affectionate nickname.
This display is dedicated to those who worked in the Flagstaff timber industry over the last 110 years.
June 1999 — Map (db m41720) HM|
|Arizona (Gila County), Payson — C.C.C. Co. 807 — Texas-Arizona — 1933|
J.M. DeWeese T.T. Swift
Capt.F.A.U.S.A.,C.O. Supr. T.N.F.
Capt.M.C.U.S.A.,C.S. Camp Supt. — Map (db m67426) HM|
|Arizona (Gila County), Payson — Mogollon Rim Country Firefighters Memorial|
who made the
to protect our magnificent
Mogollon Rim Country
Date - Fire Name - Victim's Name - Remarks
6/15/61 - Roberts - Chuck Cochane - Pilot TBM Air Tanker
6/21/61 - Hatchery - Constantine (Corky) Kodz* - Forest Service Employee Aircraft Crash
6/21/61 - Hatchery - Arthur Goodnow* - Pilot Aircraft Crash
7/10/89 - Horton - Ernie Cachini - Zuni Crew Struck by Lightning
6/26/90 - Dude - Sandra J. Bachman - . . . — Map (db m67406) HM|
|Arizona (Gila County), Payson — Ranger Station|
|The Rim Country Museum complex is the site of the first headquarters for the Payson Ranger District, Tonto National Forest. The original buildings were placed here in 1907. The Ranger's family house is the second one, built in 1933. The ranger office building was built in 1932. — Map (db m67407) HM|
|Arizona (Gila County), Payson — The Dude Fire|
|On June 25, 1990 a lightning caused fire entrapped ten members of the Perryville fire crew in this canyon. Resulting in six fatalities. Before the fire was contained it had burned more than 24,000 acres and destroyed over 70 structures.
This tragic event inspired Paul Gleason to formulate L.C.E.S. (Lookout, Communication, Escape Route, Safety Zones) now a minimum safety standard for wildland firefighting. Lessons learned from this incident continue to influence fire suppression around the world today. — Map (db m28210) HM|
|Arizona (Gila County), Payson — These Trees Planted in Memory of the Firefighters Who Died in the Dude Fire June 26, 1990|
|These Trees Planted in Memory of the Firefighters Who Died in the Dude Fire June 26, 1990
Sandra J. Bachman • Joseph Chacon • Alex S. Contreras • James L. Denny • James E. Ellis • Curtis E. Springfield — Map (db m28211) HM|
|Arizona (Maricopa County), Glendale — Fruit Packing Shed — at Sahuaro Ranch...|
| This packing shed, constructed in 1891, is one of the oldest farm buildings on the ranch. It was designed by James M. Creighton, a prominent architect in territoral Arizona.
Exactly how the shed was used is not known, but presumably it was here that the figs, grapes, apricots, and peaches grown by the ranch were prepared for shipping.
In 1895 the first Thompson grapes were planted at Sahuaro Ranch, and soon the ranch had 130 acres of this variety, which is preferred for drying as . . . — Map (db m40702) HM|
|Arizona (Maricopa County), Glendale — Orchards — at Sahuaro Ranch|
| The most important crops in the early years of Sahuaro Ranch were fruits and nuts. These commanded high prices, which meant they could profitably be raised here and sold to buyers across the country despite the high cost of shipping from such a remote location.
The first trees to be planted on the ranch were figs and dates. They were soon followed by olives, apricots, peaches, almonds, and oranges. By 1891, according to a Phoenix newspaper, Sahuaro Ranch had the largest fig orchard in the . . . — Map (db m40705) HM|
|Arizona (Navajo County), Overgaard — Travel on a Journey Through Time... — Stop 1|
From 1915 to 1949 the Heber Ranger Station Stood at this site.
The year is 1910 and you decide you'd like to be a Forest Service Ranger. To pass the test you'll need to know the local country, be able to take care of yourself and your horses, stand up to severe physical hardships, live under any condition, make your own food, and engage in combat when needed. You take on the job knowing that most Rangers who came before you only made it for a couple of years, and some for only a few . . . — Map (db m68676) HM|
|Arizona (Pima County), Summerhaven — Lemmon Rock Lookout Tower — Coronado National Forest|
|Lemmon Rock Lookout Tower was erected in 1928. It is the oldest lookout still in use on the Forest. This general locale has been used as a fire lookout since the Coronado Forest Reserve was established in 1902. The current lookout structure was constructed according to 1920's standard plans. It contains a work area, kitchen, sleeping area, and fire finder in the same room. This lookout played a role in the first aerial fire patrols which flew over the Santa Catalinas beginning in 1921.
The . . . — Map (db m55554) HM|
|Arizona (Pima County), Tucson — Cottonwood Lane|
|Planted shortly after Fort Lowell was established in 1873. The trees were irrigated by acequias or open ditches with water diverted from Pantano Wash. The beautiful shade trees made Fort Lowell an oasis in an otherwise barren area. After the fort was abandoned in 1891 the trees died and were cut up for firewood. Now they have been replanted as they originally were in the heyday of Fort Lowell.
Presented by The Conservation Dept.
Tucson Womens Club
Mrs. H.M. Merritt, President 1964-65 — Map (db m26197) HM|
|Arizona (Pima County), Tucson — Desert Laboratory|
Has been designated a
This site possesses national significance
In commemorating the history of the
United States of America
National Park Service
United States Department of the Interior
— Map (db m63672) HM|
|Arizona (Yavapai County), Camp Verde — Pecan Lane Rural Historic Landscape|
Pecan Lane Rural Historic Landscape
Pecan Lane Rural Historic Landscape was added to the National Register of Historic Places on May 2, 2000.
Pecan Lane played a significant part in the aricultural history of Camp Verde. During
the late 19th century and early twentieth centuries the community served as the breadbasket for
the major towns in Yavapai and Coconino Counties, including Jerome, Prescott, and Flagstaff.
Once a principle . . . — Map (db m27855) HM|
|Arizona (Yavapai County), Prescott — The International Society of Arboriculture and the National Arborist Association|
|The International Society of Arboriculture and the National Arborist Association jointly recognize this significant tree in this bicentennial year as having lived here during the American Revolutionary Period. 1776 1976.
[Added brass plate:]
"Arizona White Oak estimated 340 years old" — Map (db m18861) HM|
|Arkansas (Benton County), Bentonville — Big Tree — Largest Sycamore in Arkansas|
|Circumference 21.45 ft. height 106 ft. diameter BH 82 in. spread 120 ft. To insure protection during its lifetime, owner Bill Bradford on April 11, 1975, legally willed to itself this tree and all land within a radius of 10 feet from its trunk and donated its use to the city of Bentonville as a mini-oark in celebration of the heritage '76 phase of the bicentennial. — Map (db m50368) HM|
|Arkansas (Carroll County), Eureka Springs — The Basin Park Sycamore|
I stood here growing so many years,
I shared your laughter, I shared your tears.
My life was good, beginning to end,
and this is a wish I'd like to send.
Be happy and kind to all around,
and let not sorrow be ever found.
The spirit of me is in this park,
I watch over you in light and dark.
This little old bench is just a part.
I love you all with all my heart.
So please hold back your tears for me,
and just go out and plant a tree.
The Basin Park Sycamore
Bench . . . — Map (db m59971) HM|
|California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Berkeley Municipal Rose Garden — City of Berkeley Landmark - Designated in 1995 — Vernon M. Dean, Landscape Architect - 1933-1937|
|The Rose Garden was a joint creation of the City of Berkeley and the Federal Works Progress Administration (WPA), whose public works provided employment during the Depression. Vernon M. Dean, the City's landscape architect, designed the garden in a rustic style, with a redwood pergola and semi-circular stone-walled terraces facing San Francisco Bay. Hundreds of tons of native rock were quarried by in the Berkeley hills to construct the terraces. The garden was sculpted into the hillsides west . . . — Map (db m18618) HM|
|California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Mortar Rock|
|Mortar Rock takes its name from the many holes worn in these hard lavas by Native American women pounding and grinding acorns and other seeds into meal. This staple food could be stored and later cooked into cakes or porridge.
Native Americans also used many of the other plants in this park. California bay trees (Umbellularia californica), relatives of avocados, provided oily, nutritious nuts. Their pungent leaves, like those of mugwort (Artemisia californica) helped keep . . . — Map (db m53850) HM|
|California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Rose Walk — Bernard Maybeck, Designer and Architect; 1913 — Henry Higby Gutterson, Architect, 1924-36|
|City of Berkeley Landmark
designated in 1991
Rose Walk was designed by Bernard Maybeck and completed in 1913 with donations from the neighbors. The walkway linked the Euclid Avenue streetcar line with residences higher on the hill.
After the 1923 Berkeley Fire swept through the neighborhood, the property bordering the walk was developed by Dr. Frank Gray and his wife, Florence Dickens Gray. The complex of houses, duplexes and cottages, built between 1924 and 1936, was designed by Henry . . . — Map (db m53859) HM|
|California (Alameda County), Berkeley — The Kelsey Ranch — Berkeley History|
|On a once rural site now bordered by Russell Street, College Avenue, and Stuart Street, the Kelsey family planted orchards and grew ornamental plants on land they purchased in 1860. The 24-acre Kelsey Ranch supplied trees and plants for the grounds of the new University of California campus as well as the elms which later gave the Elmwood neighborhood its name.
The land was subdivided after John Kelsey’s death in 1880 and new streets, including Cherry, Kelsey, and Hazel (now a part of . . . — Map (db m54691) HM|
|California (Alameda County), Berkeley — The Poetry Garden — Berkeley Garden|
|This garden honors Berkeley’s many innovative poets, poetry presses and publications, and their creative legacy. It was dedicated in 1999 on the second anniversary of “Beat” poet Allen Ginsberg’s death. Through their writings, the nonconformist Beat poets sought liberation from traditional social, political, artistic, and personal conventions. Ginsberg lived across the street in a now-demolished house at 1624 Milvia Street while writing, among other poems, parts on his once-banned . . . — Map (db m54191) HM|
|California (Alameda County), Oakland — 962 — Site of Blossom Rock Navigation Trees|
|Until at least 1851, redwood trees on this site were used as landmarks to avoid striking the treacherous submerged Blossom Rock in San Francisco Bay west of Yerba Buena Island. Although by 1855 the original stems had been logged, today's trees are sprouts from their stumps.
California Registered Historical Landmark No. 962
Plaque placed by the State Department of Parks and Recreation in cooperation with the East Bay Regional Park District, August 23, 1986. — Map (db m64485) HM|
|California (Alameda County), Piedmont — The Maze — English Hedge Maze Popular in Early 1900s|
|One of the first improvements made by Frank Havens to Piedmont Springs Park was the construction of a living hedge maze modeled on those like Hampton Court in England. An article in the Oakland Herald in December 1904 shows a winding drive leading to a natural bowl and the new maze. Missing from the picture is a red roofed pagoda and fields of roses that would be added later.
The maze was demolished when a new School Board purchased part of the park land in 1920 for its new high school . . . — Map (db m72376) HM|
|California (Alameda County), San Leandro — Roots From Another Land — Lake Chabot Historical Walk|
|Many of the trees surrounding you have foreign roots, each with its own tale. In 1868 the Hayward Journal described Chabot’s plans to encircle the reservoir with “walnut, hickory nuts, butternuts, and other eastern and foreign nut trees.” These transplants may have included the exotic palms before you.
The tree enclosed by the fences is a cork oak (Quercus suber), native to southwest Europe and northwest Africa. In 1892 Portuguese “vaquero: Frank Silva worked for . . . — Map (db m71650) HM|
|California (Amador County), Jackson — University of California Foothill Field Station — 1888 – 1903|
|The Foothill Station became the first University of California qualifying outlying station funded jointly by federal, state and local county sources in March 1888. The station was developed under the patronage of Senator A. Caminetti of Jackson. Over $5,000 was contributed by Amador County residents to clear the land, built irrigation systems, road, and buildings.
Land was selected by E. W. Hilgard, Professor of Agriculture and Director of Experiment Stations. Four and one half miles east of . . . — Map (db m72065) HM|
|California (Amador County), Plymouth — 762 — D'Agostini Winery|
|D’Agostini Winery was started in 1856 by Adam Uhlinger, a Swiss immigrant. The original wine cellar, with walls made from rock quarried from nearby hills, hand hewn beams, and oak casks, is still in use and part of the present winery. Some original vines are still in production.
California Registered Historical Landmark Number 762
Plaque placed by the California State Park Commission in cooperation with the James W. Marshall Chapter No. 49, E Clampus Vitus. September 16, 1961. — Map (db m70454) HM|
|California (Butte County), Chico — 840-2 — Chico Forestry Station and Nursery|
|In 1888, the State Board of Forestry established an experimental forestry station and nursery, a companion to the Santa Monica Station established in 1882. The two were the first such stations in the nation. Exotic and native trees were tested and produced for scientific and conservation purposes. The station was operated by the Board of Forestry until 1893.
Historical Landmark No. 840-2 — Map (db m29720) HM|
|California (Butte County), Chico — 313 — Hooker Oak|
|The massive and majestic Hooker Oak, which occupied this site, was named in honor of renowned British Botanist Sir Joseph Dalton Hooker. The Hooker Oak was acclaimed to be the largest Valley Oak in the world before it fell on May 1, 1977.
Age 326 Years
Height 105 Feet
Perimeter 481 Feet
Longest Limb 112 Feet
Trunk Circumference 28 Feet
Area Under The Tree 18,000 Sq. Feet
Preservation of the Hooker Oak Tree Stump, The Children’s Play Area and the Bidwell Park Guide Map are . . . — Map (db m29649) HM|
|California (Butte County), Stirling City — Stirling City|
|This peaceful community, gateway to the remote regions of the High Lakes of Butte and Plumas Counties, owes its origin and subsequent development to the entrance of the Diamond Match Company to California. With the purchase of about 40,000 acres of virgin timber lands in the Ransey Bar – Kimshaw areas, Diamond, between the years 1901 - 1904, financed the survey and construction of the Butte County Railroad from Chico to here. It had already acquired some 1200 acres at this place, upon . . . — Map (db m61764) HM|
|California (Calaveras County), Arnold — California Big Trees State Park — The Discovery Stump — The Calaveras North Grove|
|In the spring of 1852, Augustus T. Dowd, while hunting, discovered a grove of truly immense trees, now known as the Calaveras North Grove. Several stockholders of the Union Water Company (who employed Augustus as a hunter) developed a plan to display in New York and other cities, a piece of the largest of these trees. Many people, however, were outraged at the cutting of the tree, Dowd among them. The tree was felled, sections of bark and a slab were shipped to New York City, and the entire . . . — Map (db m34120) HM|
|California (Calaveras County), White Pines — White Pines History|
|White Pines was constructed by American Forest Properties, Inc. at the site of former White Pines operation of Blagen Lumber Co.
The community of White Pines, which was founded by Frank Blagen, the company president, came into being during the construction stages of the mill which was begun in the fall of 1938.
Construction of the sawmill was completed during the summer of 1940. At which time American Forest Products acquired a controlling interest. Subsequently to become 100%. . . . — Map (db m34571) HM|
|California (Contra Costa County), Martinez — 312 — John Muir Home|
|Ranch home of John Muir 1838- 1914, explorer, naturalist, author and foremost advocate of forest protection and of national parks. The John Muir Trail through the High Sierra, Muir Woods National Monument and Muir Glacier in Alaska are named for him. — Map (db m51132) HM|
|California (Del Norte County), Crescent City — The Metcalf Grove|
|This grove is given to the State of California for the preservation of these ancient trees by Mr. and Mrs. Jesse H. Metcalf of Rhode Island. — Map (db m1510) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Placerville — Swift Berry — “Mr. Clamper”|
|Born Nebraska 1887. Educated Biltmore Forest School, North Carolina. Began career 1908 in California with U.S.F.S.
Major U.S. Army A.E.F. 1917 – 1919
Michigan California Lumber Co. 1925 – 1949
California State Senator 1952 – 1960
We salute our esteemed Clampatriarch and Clamproctor,
Historian, Forester, Banker and Tireless Civic Leader
A “MAN TO MATCH OUR MOUNTAINS.” — Map (db m57974) HM|
|California (Fresno County), Coalinga — Harry S. Watanabe — (1896 – 1987)|
|Harry Watanabe was 19 years old when he came to Coalinga from Japan in 1915. Watanabe first worked at Ayers Drug Store and the Sullivan Hotel. It was in 1928 that Watanabe found his niche in life and the vocation that left his mark on Coalinga. Watanabe had a natural instinct for gardening and was destined to play a considerable part in making Coalinga a gem – an oasis in what was nearly a hostile desert. The first settlers were faced with a brackish, hard water from local wells and . . . — Map (db m64107) HM|
|California (Fresno County), Dunlap — Converse Basin Grove|
|One of the largest stands of Giant Sequoias, it contained some of the finest Big Trees. The grove was logged as a private land between 1897 and 1907, first by the Sanger Lumber Company and later by Hume-Bennett Lumber Company, which in 1909 developed Hume Lake for a mill. Converse Basin, two miles northeast of this monument, had its own mill and narrow gauge rail connection to the logging town of Millwood, from which lumber was sent to Sanger in the valley by flume. Although they never realized . . . — Map (db m52239) HM|
|California (Fresno County), Easton — 35 — Easton / Washington Union High School District|
In 1878, O.W. Easton and J.P. Whitney, San Francisco entrepreneurs, bought a total of 12 sections of land in this area (7680 acres), formed the Washington Irrigated Colony and began selling 20-acre farms. Allen T. Covell was the superintendent and resident manager of the Colony, established the townsite that came to be called Covell. The town was composed of lots, each of which came as a bonus to the purchaser of a 20-acre farm. As the community grew and the . . . — Map (db m28011) HM|
|California (Fresno County), Sanger — 25 — Kings River|
|Its waters made possible the irrigation of a million fertile acres, despite a 39 year battle over water rights. From 1882 forward, 150 lawsuits were filed and early irrigators often used armed force to open headgates to water their crops. L. A. Nares proposed the first diversion plan in 1897. Broader agreements in 1921 and 1927 brought peace. Completion of Pine Flat Dam in 1956 by the U.S. Corps of Engineers for flood control and irrigation finally insured maximum use of the river's water, . . . — Map (db m27996) HM|
|California (Fresno County), Selma — Libby, McNeill and Libby Cannery|
|On this 6 1/4 acre site, Libby, McNeill and Libby opened the San Joaquin Valley's largest cannery on July 18, 1911, less than four hectic months after the site was acquired and construction plans were announced. The initial construction cost was 25,895.
Attracted to Selma by many orchards of cling peaches and early success of a much smaller cannery a few blocks away on Whitson Street, Libby's grew quickly and a year later doubled its production capacity. In 1914, this large warehouse . . . — Map (db m52240) HM|
|California (Fresno County), Squaw Valley — Millwood|
|Two miles northwest of here astride Mill Flat Creek is the site of old Millwood. A sawmill town established in 1891. Railroads brought logs here for milling and later lumber from other nearby mills including that which cut the privately owned redwoods in Converse Basin.
The lumber was dried and placed in a fifty four mile wooden flume terminating in Sanger, Sequoia Lake was formed to provide flume water. The operation continued until 1910 when it was moved to Hume.
Millwood once had . . . — Map (db m2979) HM|
|California (Humboldt County), Orick — Madison Grant Forest and Elk Refuge — Dedicated to the Memory of Madison Grant — 1865-1937|
|Conservationist, author, anthropologist, a founder of the Save-the-Redwoods League.
This area of 1600 acres, habitat of the last surviving herd in California of Roosevelt Elk is established as a memorial by
· De Forest Grant
· John D. Rockefeller, Jr.
· Archer M. Huntington
· New York Zoological Society
· Boone and Crockett Club
· National Audubon Society
· American Wildlife Foundation
· Save-the-Redwoods League
· California State Park Commission
1948 — Map (db m32569) HM
|California (Humboldt County), Samoa — Samoa Cookhouse Circa 1893|
|This is the last lumber camp style cookhouse in operation in North America. This cookhouse was originally opened as part of Samoa, one of the last company owned towns in the United States, established by the Vance Lumber Company. The original building is the four left-most dormer windows. The major additions were made to house the kitchen staff. Meals have been served here continuously for over 105 years. Only employees were served here until the late 1960's when it was opened to the public by . . . — Map (db m65422) HM|
|California (Humboldt County), Scotia — The Pacific Lumber Company — Established 1869 in Humboldt County|
|Their first sawmill was built in 1887 at their current location and employed 150 men to turn the giant redwoods into shingles and other products.
Originally named Forestville, the town name was changed to Scotia in 1888. Scotia is one of the last company-owned towns. With a population of 1200, almost everyone works for the Pacific Lumber Co. Today there are two sawmills in Scotia, including Mill B, the world's largest redwood lumber manufacturing facility, built in 1910. The Pacific Lumber . . . — Map (db m71988) HM|
|California (Inyo County), Big Pine — The Roosevelt Tree — Planted July 23, 1913|
|This Giant Sequoia is reported to have been planted to commemorate the opening of Westgaard Pass to automobile traffic. The tree was named in honor of President Theodore "Teddy" Roosevelt. — Map (db m54428) HM|
|California (Inyo County), Tecopa — China Ranch|
|In the 1890's a Chinese man named Ah Foo came to this canyon from the Borax Works in Death Valley. He developed a successful ranch, raising livestock, hay, fruits and vegetables to help feed the local silver miners and their draft animals. The "China Man's Ranch" became a favorite resting spot, with it's cool running stream and beautiful trees.
In 1900 Ah Foo disappears somewhat mysteriously, though the name has stuck. After many changes of owners and financially unsuccessful ranching . . . — Map (db m72929) HM|
|California (Lake County), Upper Lake — Diamond Match Lumber Co.|
|The original building was destroyed in the fire of 1924. Six months later the present building opened as a hardware store. It has the pressed concrete walls and pressed tin ceiling typical of fire measures taken when the town was rebuilt.
As early as 1870 lumber mills were built in the Mendocino National Forest. Forty-two mills were located in or adjacent to the National Forest contributing to to the wealth of the community. By the 1970's, the main stand of timber had been removed or lost to fire and little was left to be harvested. — Map (db m49116) HM|
|California (Los Angeles County), Glendale — Miss American Green Cross — Re-creation of the American Green Cross Monument|
|Miss American Green Cross was originally dedicated on May 4, 1928 to represent the American Green Cross Society. The early environmental organization was dedicated to the "saving of American's greatest asset-trees". The first chapter of the Society was awarded to Glendale. The monument first stood on the grounds of old Glendale High School at the corner of Broadway and Verdugo Road.
Miss American Green Cross represents an early awareness of the earth's fragile environment. Inscriptions . . . — Map (db m56198) HM|
|California (Los Angeles County), Mission Hills, Los Angeles — Mission Dam|
|Rubble masonry water storage dam built by San Fernando Mission Indians in 1808. Water Flowed to the mission via a tiled pipe. Marked by El Camino Real Parlor No. 324 Native Daughters of the Golden West March 11, 1972 — Map (db m72610) HM|
|California (Los Angeles County), Whittier — 681 — Paradox Hybrid Walnut Tree|
|Planted in 1907 as an experiment for the
University of California. — Map (db m50978) HM|
|California (Los Angeles, County), Sylmar — Loop Fire|
|This park and memorial stand as a tribute to the young men who lost their lives on the Loop Fire, to those who survived, and to firefighters everywhere.
Forever Honored - Those Who Lost Their Lives
Raymond Chee - Age 23
• James Moreland - Age 22
• Michael White - Age 20
• John Figlo - Age 18
• William Waller - Age 21
• Joel Hill - Age 19
• Steven White - Age 18
• Carl Shilcutt - Age 26
• John Verdugo - Age 19
• Daniel Moore - Age 21
• Kenneth Barnhill - Age 19 . . . — Map (db m72716) HM|
|California (Madera County), Oakhurst — Giant Sequoia Cutting|
|This slab of a Giant Sequoia was cut from a 2,000 yr old Sequoia toppled by a winter storm in 1979 in Eastern Tulare County. 200 feet in length and 50 feet in circumference, the tree weighed 900,000 lbs. In 1981, LDG Logging Co of Oakhurst purchased the tree from CDF and harvested the lumber in it. — Map (db m60308) HM|
|California (Mendocino County), Fort Bragg — Charles Russell Johnson — Founder of Fort Bragg, CA|
|This section of the largest Redwood Tree known to have grown in Mendocino County is dedicated this day, September 6, 1943 by the citizens of the City of Fort Bragg to the memory of
Charles Russell Johnson
who founded their city Aug. 5, 1889 — Map (db m11085) HM|
|California (Modoc County), Willow Ranch — Willow Ranch|
|This monument was erected in honor of all the people who were part of what once was a thriving community when the Crane Creek and Willow Ranch Lumber Companies were in operation here from 1929 to 1959. The land was given to Modoc County by the family of Mary Louise Dougherty in her memory. — Map (db m10367) HM|
|California (Mono County), Walker — The C-130 Crew — Lost During the Cannon Fire - June 17, 2002|
|In Loving and Grateful Memory of
The C-130 Crew
Steve Wass, Craig Labare and Mike Davis
Who gave their lives to save
our community on June 17, 2002 — Map (db m23036) HM|
|California (Monterey County), Carmel — Lone Cypress — Perched over the Pacific for Hundreds of Years|
|Even though Monterey cypress trees prefer this area's rugged bare granite headlands, the Lone Cypress is a testament to the hardiness of these trees. It has withstood Pacific storms and winds for roughly 250 years. Fences and cables now offer added protection in the hopes it will live to be 300.
Due to Samuel F.B. Morse, the preservation-minded founder of Pebble Beach, the Del Monte Forest now consists of nature trails and reserves, spectacular 17 Mile Drive, resorts and golf courses, and . . . — Map (db m8476) HM|
|California (Monterey County), Monterey — Moon Tree|
This "Moon Tree" is a Coast Redwood grown from a seed that in January 1971 was carried to the moon and brought back to earth by Major Stuart Roosa, Command Module Pilot for Apollo 14.
The seed was planted and nurtured into a seedling at the United States Forest Service Genetics nursery in Placerville, California.
Planted here in July 1976 and dedicated to the: People of Monterey to commemorate the Bicentennial of the United States of . . . — Map (db m63500) HM|
|California (Nevada County), Rough and Ready — Rowe Saw Mill — 1865|
|In the 1860’s there were four saw mills in this area. This display, in honor of his founding fathers, is from the Tom Rowe Saw Mill, and displays how the mill works. The foreman stood in the cage and called out the beam size (8x8, 12x12, etc.) then the cutter set the blade which was on a track, and rode the blade down the track until the beam cut was complete. The beam then went to the mines to build the shafts. — Map (db m39895) HM|
|California (Nevada County), Truckee — George Schaffer — 1828 – 1903|
|One of Truckee’s earliest settlers. Schaffer in 1866 built the first lumber mill in the town. He freighted the locomotive San Mateo to Truckee in a winter crossing of the Sierra prior to the laying of Central Pacific tracks. This building “The Star Hotel” was built by Schaffer probably for his family. When mill operations were relocated up Martis Creek in 1871, this building was converted to a hotel and has remained in continuous operation until this day. For 24 years, the Truckee . . . — Map (db m60580) HM|
|California (Nevada County), Washington — The History of This Area|
The Native People
The cultural history of people inhabiting the western slope of the Sierras spans a period of at least 3,500 years. It is known that the Nisenan, a Native California tribe, occupied the geographic region between the Sierra Buttes, those rugged peaks outlined on the horizon, and the Consumnes River drainage to the south. As experienced hunters and gatherers, the Nisenan possessed considerable knowledge of the plants and animals of the region and utilized this . . . — Map (db m44642) HM|
|California (Orange County), Anaheim — The Steam Donkey|
|How the Dolbeer Donkey steam engine got its name is one of the real mysteries of the West. Some folks say it was called a "donkey" because loggers thought it was too puny to merit a horsepower rating invented by John Dolbeer, this portable steam engine first appeared in the redwoods near Eureka, California in 1881. The tiny, but mighty machine could be hauled to remote mountaintops and equaled the power of many horses, mules and oxen to reel in huge logs. A few steam donkeys still stand in . . . — Map (db m55365) HM|
|California (Orange County), Los Alamitos — This Big Saw|
|This nine-foot band saw is among the largest log saw ever used in the sawmill industry. It weighs over 38,000 pounds and has a blade that stretches over 56 feet in length. This saw was used to cut Douglas Fir and Ponderosa Pine logs up to ten feet in diameter and fifty-six feet in length. The lumber from just one of these giant logs would be enough to build two houses of about 1,500 square feet.
The machine was manufactured by the Filer & Stowell Company in 1900 and put into service by the . . . — Map (db m66262) HM|
|California (Orange County), Placentia — 34 — Macadamia Tree|
|These Australian nut-producing trees are the oldest Macadamia tetraphylla in California. They were planted prior to 1890 by a local spiritualist health colony, the Societas Fraternia. Members experimented with many varieties of fruits and nuts to enhance their strict vegetarian diet. The colony remained active until the 1920's. — Map (db m50018) HM|
|California (Placer County), Auburn — Travelers’ Rest (Bernhard Complex)|
|Travelers’ Rest Stage Roadhouse constructed 1851. Benjamin Bernhard, native of Hesse-Cassel, Germany, arrived Auburn 1852, purchased surrounding 30 acres 1868. Developed high level vineyard and orchard cultivation and pioneered experimental silkworm production. Some 17,000 vines produced wine and brandy of quality. Stone wine cellar constructed 1874, blacksmith shop 1881. Bernhard died 1902, winery closed 1905. Premises restored by local citizens under direction of Placer Historical Museum . . . — Map (db m690) HM|
|California (Placer County), Tahoe City — Tahoe City’s “Big Tree”|
|For over 125 years a grand pine tree known as the “Big Tree” stood in the centerline of Highway 28 in the heart of Tahoe City.
In 1940 the Federated Women’s Club literally joined hands around the tree when the California Division of Highways’ road improvement plan threatened to fell it. Their protests won the right to preserve the “Big Tree” in perpetuity.
The Tahoe City Rotary Club’s annual Christmas tradition of decorating the “Big Tree” with . . . — Map (db m34524) HM|
|California (Plumas County), Chester — In Memory of the Lumberjack|
|They were fallers, buckers, swampers, barkers, skidders, snipers, doggers, greasers, bull punchers, skinners, hook tenders, choker setters, rigging slingers, high climbers, donkey men, whistle punks, river pigs, and more. Once they were lumberjacks, as unique and hardy a legion as any page of history can produce. At work they were prodigious, at play preposterous, and although their skid road became skidrow, they gave the forest to our nation. In its strength we find their legacy. — Map (db m56737) HM|
|California (Plumas County), Quincy — Mt. Ingalls Lookout — Elev. 8372|
| Donated by: Plumas Nat. Forest
Built by: Company 989 C.C.C, 1935
Dismantled & Rebuilt by Reserve Navy Mobile Construction Battalion – 2 “Sea Bees” — Map (db m56501) HM|
|California (Riverside County), Temecula — The Great Oak|
|This is the place of the Great Oak or Wi’ia$ha (We-awsh-ah). The great oak is a member of the wi’ia$al or Coast Live Oak Family (Quercus Agrifolia). Estimates range anywhere from 500 to 2000 years old. The Great Oak continues to attract people to share its unique and endearing qualities, as it has done with its Luiseño friends for centuries. — Map (db m36210) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — California Firefighters Memorial|
|Honoring men and women of uncommon courage who paid the ultimate price to protect our lives, our families and our dreams — Map (db m14836) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — California State Capitol Park|
When Spanish governors ruled the California territory, its capitol was moved from town to town between San Diego and Monterey.
San Jose had already been designated the capitol by the time California was granted statehood in 1850. In the next four years, Vallejo and Benicia took turns at that honor. In 1854 Sacramento became the home of the legislature.
Though several cities were vying to become the permanent capitol, Sacramento’s claim was made secure in 1860 when the . . . — Map (db m15017) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — Civil War Symbol Yields To Time|
|A STUMP IS ALL THAT REMAINS of a Silver Maple transplanted from the Battlefield of Chattanooga. In 1897 the sapling was planted here as part of a Memorial Grove dedicated to Union soldiers who fought in the Civil War. The first war memorial to grace Capital Park, the Grove was conceived by Mrs. Eliza Holloway Waggoner of Sacramento, who led her sisters from the local chapter of the Ladies of the Grand Army of the Republic in bringing more than forty trees from battlefields of the Civil War. . . . — Map (db m14984) HM|
|California (San Bernardino County), Arrowhead — 34 — Mormon Lumber Road|
|In the spring of 1852, over one hundred Mormon men donated a full thousand man-days of arduous labor, to construct a road up Waterman Canyon, past this spot, and into the prime timber, where some of their enterprising bethren established six sawmills by 1854.
The lumber hauled over this road, thereafter, was used, not only to build San Bernardino, but also throughout Southern California, where the boards were sometimes called, "Mormon Banknotes." — Map (db m51260) HM|
|California (San Bernardino County), Lake Arrowhead — Memorial to Pauliena LaFuze|
|"I never thought I would outlive the trees"
A century old herself in 2005, and seeing many of her beloved trees bow to beetle and flame, Pauliena Lafuze had done just that. She has been a Lake Arrowhead Woman's Club member since the 1930's, and has helped restore Switzer Park many times after fires and other natural events. She planted trees on April 9, 2005, to help Switzer Park recover from the 2003 Old Fire. This plaque recognizes her inspiring, lifelong efforts to conserve and restore this forest. — Map (db m30409) HM|
|California (San Bernardino County), Ontario — Nine Young Pepper Trees|
|This is one of nine young pepper trees purchased and planted on Euclid Avenue by the students of Ontario's nine public elementary schools in observance of Arbor Day, March 8, 1954.
The young trees were planted as replacements for mature trees of lost in the severe windstorm that struck this area in December, 1953. — Map (db m375) HM|
|California (San Bernardino County), Twentynine Palms — 20 — Minerva Hamilton Hoyt|
|Her tireless efforts to establish Joshua Tree National Monument contributed to a heightened appreciation, not only of the Joshua Tree, but of the total desert environment. — Map (db m50641) HM|
|California (San Diego County), Coronado — Christmas Tree — Hotel del Coronado|
|Here stands the world's first electrically-lighted outdoor Christmas tree, unveiled at the Hotel del Coronado on December 24, 1904 — Map (db m70553) HM|
|California (San Diego County), Coronado — Dragon Tree — Dracaema Draco, agavaceae — Hotel Del Coronado|
|Native to the Canary Islands this unusual tree was planted at The Del prior to the turn of the century where it thrives in our temperate southern California coastal climate.
The Dragon Tree was used as a backdrop in the Marilyn Monroe movie Some Like It Hot, which was filmed at The Del in 1958. — Map (db m70552) HM|
|California (San Diego County), San Diego — Balboa Park|
|The city’s haven for culture and leisure
San Diego’s Cultural Oasis
Located just minutes away from downtown San Diego, Balboa Park provides an enriching experience for more than 14 million visitors from near and far each year. Referred to as “the Smithsonian of the West,” it is home to more than 85 cultural attractions including 15 museums, the Globe Theatres, and the world-famous San Diego Zoo. Balboa Park is equally as famous, however, as a horticultural paradise, where . . . — Map (db m73907) HM|
|California (San Diego County), San Diego — 764 — Kate Olivia Sessions' Nursery Site — 1857 - 1940|
|This plaque commemorates the life and influence of a woman who envisioned San Diego beautiful. On this site she operated a nursery and gained world renown as a horticulturist. She was the first woman to receive the International Meyer Medal in genetics. — Map (db m51098) HM|
|California (San Diego County), San Diego — Moreton Bay Fig|
|Moreton Bay Fig
(Ficus Macrophylla native to Australia)
In 1904 the House of Representative legislated protection of this tree. Requested by President Theodore Roosevelt after a visit of the area.
This tree is now over 200 years old. — Map (db m70319) HM|
|California (San Francisco City and County), San Francisco — Huntington Park/Fountain of the Tortoises|
On this site in 1872, General David D. Colton, a railroad attorney, built one of the most elaborate residences ever seen in San Francisco. The classic white wooden mansion featured an entry flight of marble steps leading to a portico of Corinthian columns. General Colton, his wife, and his two daughters entertained in the mansion with style and splendor. General Colton died in 1878 and shortly thereafter his widow, Ellen, closed the mansion and moved to Washington, D.C. . . . — Map (db m63532) HM|
|California (San Francisco City and County), San Francisco — CHL 840 — The Conservatory|
|California’s first municipal greenhouse was completed in 1879. It was patterned after the Conservatory, Kew Gardens, England. A distinguished example of late-Victorian style using techniques of mass production and assembly of simple glass units, it was a gift to the City of San Francisco by public spirited citizens. — Map (db m71446) HM|
|California (San Mateo County), San Mateo — Central Park and The Kohl Pumphouse|
|The site of the Central Park is possibly the sole surviving example of the late nineteenth century estates once so numerous on the Peninsula.
Charles B. Polhemus, Director of the San Francisco & San Jose Railroad and founder of Central San Mateo, purchased this land in 1852.
William Kohl, founding partner of the Alaska Commercial Company, acquired the property in 1880.
In 1922, the City purchased these 16 acres for $80,000. The Central Park boundaries are unchanged from the . . . — Map (db m28712) HM|
|California (Santa Barbara County), Lompoc — Italian Stone Pines — Pinus Pinea|
|Planted in the 1930's, this magnificent stand of pines is a treasure in Lompoc's landscape. Rare and historic, these trees receive global recognition for their beauty. — Map (db m67214) HM|
|California (Santa Clara County), Campbell — Black Walnut Trees — Campbell Historical Location|
| Black Walnut Trees planted about 1885 by William A. Swope, Son-In-Law of Benjamin Campbell, and daughters Alda Swope Blaine, Ethel Swope Davis, and Lena Swope French. — Map (db m24234) HM|
|California (Santa Clara County), San Jose — 945 — First Honeybees in California|
|Here, on the 1,939-acre Rancho Potrero de Santa Clara, Christopher A. Shelton in early March 1853 introduced the honeybee to California. In Aspinwall, Panama, Shelton purchased 12 beehives from a New Yorker and transported them by rail, “Bongo” pack mule, and steamship to San Francisco. Only enough bees survived to fill one hive, but these quickly propagated, laying the foundation for California’s modern beekeeping industry. — Map (db m3627) HM|
|California (Santa Clara County), San Jose — SCL-056 — Keesling’s Shade Trees|
|The Northern California Black Walnut trees seen along this highway owe their existence to horticulturist Horace G. Keesling of San José. While passing this way by camp wagon on a blistering summer day in 1900, Keesling could find no roadside tree offering enough shade to relieve his sweltering family and horses. Where-upon, he resolved to “plant shade” - at his own expense.
The result was a 30-mile row of trees on each side of the road from San José to Gilroy, a project that . . . — Map (db m52138) HM|
|California (Santa Clara County), San Jose — 15 — Pellier Park|
|Pellier Park is all that remains of the City Gardens Nursery, established by Louis Pellier in 1850. Here with, his brothers, Pierre and Jean, Louis introduced “la petite D’Agen,” the French Prune, during the winter of 1856-1857. I was this variety that became the mainstay of the California prune industry – the backbone of San Jose’s economy for more than 70 years. — Map (db m52613) HM|
|California (Santa Clara County), San Jose — The Chiechi House|
|A late Victorian example of simplified Italianate architecture, the Chiechi House was built in approximately 1876 by John and Jane Campbell. In 1913 the house, at 820 Northrup Avenue, was purchased by Michele Chiechi. Prominent valley orchardists, the Chiechi family occupied the house for sixty years. In 1973 the old family home was donated and moved to the Historical Museum.
In 1986 proceeds realized from Living History Days, co-sponsored by the San Jose Historical Association, the City . . . — Map (db m52181) HM|
|California (Santa Clara County), Saratoga — 733 — Paul Masson Mountain Winery|
|From the winery that bears the name of Paul Masson, premium wines and champagne have flowed continuously since 1852, even during Prohibition under a special government license. Twice partially destroyed by earthquake and fire, the original sandstone walls still stand. The 12th-century Spanish Romanesque portal came around the Horn.
— Map (db m2625) HM|
|California (Santa Cruz County), Scotts Valley — POHI-005 — Mountain Charlie Big Tree|
|Named for Charles Henry “Mountain Charlie” McKiernan, who was one of the first white settlers in the Santa Cruz Mountain area. One of the largest trees of its species, this Sequoia sempervirens was originally over 300 feet high. The tree stands today at 260 feet from the ground, having been broken off in a storm years ago. It is 18 feet in diameter at the base, 60 feet in circumference, and over 5 feet in diameter at the top. In 1880 when Mountain Charlie began to timber this area, . . . — Map (db m53479) HM|
|California (Shasta County), Burney — Fountain Fire Vista Point|
| . . . — Map (db m13741) HM|
|California (Shasta County), Castella — 3 — The Sawmill|
|It’s hard to imagine the roar of a sawmill in this quiet valley...
But the foundations and saw wheel in front of you are testament to a small sawmill at Sims. If you look closer, you can even make out a log pond barely visible in the brush to the left of the foundations.
Over a span of 20 years, the Sims sawmill changed hands at least four times and was rebuilt at least once. Despite these ups and downs the fact remains that the sawmill was the beginning of a little community at . . . — Map (db m69841) HM|
|California (Shasta County), Castella — 2 — Water Tank|
|This water tank is one of only a few historic remains that help tell the Sims story...
The story starts around 1902 when the first sawmill at Sims was built. During this time, logs were transported to the sawmill by horses and steam donkeys. In order to increase productivity, a small logging railroad was built at Sims in 1913. They used a small steam locomotive with flat cars to transport logs to the mill.
Water, kept in a tank like the one in front of you, was heated up by burning . . . — Map (db m69842) HM|
|California (Sierra County), Calpine — Sierra Valley History|
|Sierra Valley was discovered in 1851 by James P. Beckwourth, a mountain man and entrepreneur who was searching for a northern route across the Sierra Nevada. The valley had been sighted a year earlier by prospectors exploring the nearby Sierra Buttes; however, Beckwourth was the first non-Indian to enter the valley.
Sierra Valley’s history revolved around its abundant natural resources. During the California gold rush Sierra Valley produced hay for livestock in Downieville, Sierra City and . . . — Map (db m65990) HM|
|California (Sierra County), Loyalton — Loyalton|
|The earliest settlers arrived in the Loyalton area in the late 1850s, where they stopped in the lush valley on their way to the Sacramento Valley. Founded in the 1850s as Smithneck, the community had raised a great amount of money for the Union cause during the Civil War so the name was changed to reflect union sympathies to Loyal (town). With the construction of the transcontinental railroad, mail came in greater amounts, so in 1867 a postoffice opened.
Farming and dairy were the primary . . . — Map (db m66035) HM|
|California (Siskiyou County), Etna — Hallie Daggett: Sophisticated Lady and Hardy Pioneer|
|Hallie Morse Daggett was a refined woman educated in San Francisco, however, her deep love for her childhood home at the Black Bear Mine near Sawyers Bar drew her back to the mountains. She knew how to hunt, fish, ride, trap and shoot early in life – skills that came in handy at the lookout high above the Salmon River.
Hallie was the first woman in the nation to serve as a U.S. Forest Service Fire lookout. She was hired by the Klamath National Forest in 1913 and served at the Eddy . . . — Map (db m57944) HM|
|California (Siskiyou County), Etna — Hallie Morse Daggett — Dec. 19, 1878 – Oct. 19, 1964 — Forest Service|
|First woman U.S. Forest Service Fire Lookout
Eddy Gulch Lookout on Klamath Peak
Klamath National Forest 1919-1927 — Map (db m70271) HM|
|California (Siskiyou County), Macdoel — Tennant — Founded: 1921 - Elev. 4808.5|
|Named after John D. Tennant, an official of the Long Bell Lumber Co. Besides the store that is still here, the town had a church, post office, library, hotel, skidsshacks, schools, and a roundhouse at the height of logging operations. Trains were needed to move 3.5 billion board feet of logs to the Weed sawmill during logging operations. The town has a population of about 800 people. The logging operations ended in the 1050’s. — Map (db m69868) HM|
|California (Siskiyou County), Sawyers Bar — Eddy Gulch Lookout — Reflections of the Past|
|In 1913, Hallie Daggett accepted the job at the Eddy Gulch Lookout, entering history books as the Forest Service’s first woman lookout (1913-1927). At a time when men dominated the workplace, this act took special courage, self-confidence, and a true love for her country. Those qualities opened the door for other women to follow. One in particular was Nancy Culbertson. From 1960-1991, Nancy sat atop this mountain with the same devotion and selflessness as did Hallie. This plaque is placed in . . . — Map (db m70294) HM|
|California (Solano County), Winters — 804 — Wolfskill Grant — University of California Experimental Farm|
|In 1842 John R. Wolfskill arrived here loaded with fruit seeds and cuttings. He was a true horticulturist and became the father of the fruit industry in this region. In 1937 Mrs. Frances Wolfskill Taylor Wilson, his daughter, bequeathed 107.28 acres to the University of California for an experimental farm. From this portion of Rancho Rio de los Putos the University's research has since enriched the state's horticultural industry.
California Registered Historical Landmark No. 804
Plaque . . . — Map (db m40132) HM|
|California (Sonoma County), Santa Rosa — Luther Burbank Home|
|Luther Burbank was born in Massachusetts on March 7, 1849 and arrived in Santa Rosa in October 1875. In 1884 he purchased four acres surrounding this site as a place for horticultural experiments. Here he lived and worked until his death on April 11. 1926. Burbank’s work led quickly to international fame and thousands of visitors came to see the “Plant Wizard” at work. Within the rich horticultural legacy left by Burbank are the Burbank Russett Potato and the Shasta Daisy. — Map (db m12590) HM|
|California (Tehama County), Manton — Forward Brothers Sawmill — Site of|
|The original Forward Brother’s, Alfred T. and Frank, established the mill in 1908. The mill was moved from the original site which was where the Mt. Lassen Vineyards are now.
Alfred died in 1931 and Frank went on with the raising of livestock. At this time, Alfred’s two sons Lorin A. and Alva L. took over the mill and greatly expanded the operation which remained Forward Brothers. The average daily output of the mill was 65,000 bf. The one day record was 88,000 bf.
There were 65 families . . . — Map (db m58584) HM|
|California (Trinity County), Weaverville — Jumper Sawmill|
|In the 1880’s George Jumper established a steam powered sawmill 300' east of this monument, above the confluence of Little Brown’s Creek and China Gulch. An 80’ long building housed the mill. Oxen teams of ten or more were used to pull long, four wheel carts loaded with logs to the mill. Timber close in was “skidded” directly to the mill by oxen. Circular saws were used to cut the lumber. Much of the work in a mill like this was hard, physical labor. This mill, like so many others, . . . — Map (db m56136) HM|
|California (Tulare County), Grant Grove Village — The Centennial Stump — Diameter – 24 ft.|
|This tree was cut in 1875, and a 16 ft. section sent to the Philadelphia Centennial Exhibition of 1876. Only the outer shell was exhibited, the parts being reassembled after shipment. Eastern people refused to accept the exhibit as part of a single tree and called it the “California Hoax.” It took 2 men 9 days to chop down the tree. Its upper trunk is the scarred log down slope from the Grant Tree. Ladies from a nearby logging camp used to conduct Sunday school services for their children upon the stump. — Map (db m44327) HM|
|California (Tulare County), Lodgepole Village — For the Good of the Giants|
|Try to imagine yourself standing here in the 1950’s. You would have been surrounded by cars. Engine noise and exhaust would have overridden your impressions of the giant trees. Almost 100 cabins and motel units would have faced you from across the road.
Development in the Giant Forest began long ago. As early as the 1890’s people began building here. Campgrounds, hotels, shops, a post office, park headquarters, parking lots, a gas station, and a sewage treatment plant all stood on the roots . . . — Map (db m44311) HM|
|California (Tuolumne County), Groveland — In Memory of David Erickson|
|A U.S. Forest Service crew leader from Siskiyou County, Calif. lost his life while fighting the Stanislaus Complex Fire which destroyed 147,000 acres. For the love of the forest he gave the ultimate sacrifice September 11, 1987.
Sit and rest awhile • listen to the pines whisper in the light wind • gaze at the trees and look upward where branches reach the sky • where clouds pass by and day turns to night • where memories are everlasting. — Map (db m905) HM|
|California (Tuolumne County), Tuolumne — Westside Flume & Lumber Company — 1889 - 1962|
|May 31, 1889 Henry J. Crocker, Wellington Gregg, Thomas Bullock and Charles Gardner formed the Westside Flume and Lumber Company, for a total cost of 361,000.00 dollars. The mill was built, and by the end of the year was in operation, and by 1900 was producing 18,000 board feet of lumber per day.
In 1925 Westside was sold to Pickering Lumber Co. and after the Depression in 1934 Westside was back in control and continued to operate until April 19, 1962 when a strike and a devastating fire shut the mill down for the last time. — Map (db m7560) HM|
|California (Ventura County), Newbury Park — 30 & 44 — Stagecoach Inn and Sycamore Tree|
|"The hotel was built by James Hammell as the Grand Union Hotel in 1876 and was often called the "Conejo" or "Big" Hotel. In 1885, the site was purchased by Cecil Haigh. In 1965, his grandson, H. Allen Hays, donated 4 acres and the hotel to the community and it was moved to its present site because of the construction of the freeway. The hotel has also functioned as a school, post office, steak house, church, gift shop and movie set. The sycamore tree was cited due to its great "age, size and formation." — Map (db m78003) HM|
|Colorado (El Paso County), Colorado Springs — A Plentiful Harvest|
|The abundant seeds of piñon and juniper trees draw wildlife to this ecosystem like a magnet. Chipmunks, foxes, piñon mice and squirrels munch the blue or copper-colored juniper berries. The berries last through the winter. They provide food for hungry robins, waxwings and Townsend’s solitares.
Scrub Jays and Clark’s nucrackers collect the large piñon nuts and store, or caches, them for winter use. Piñon jays can transport up to 60 seeds at one time in their throats!
Humans also enjoy piñon . . . — Map (db m45982) HM|
|Colorado (El Paso County), Colorado Springs — Rock Ledge Ranch Historic Site|
Rock ledge Ranch Historic Site is a living history museum that allows visitors to experience the lives of the people who dwelled, worked, hunted, herded and raised families here from the 1700s to the early 20th century. This beautiful landscape comes to life through the eyes and actions of historical interpreters dressed in clothing of the times, telling stories, demonstrating the work, play, food, music, culture and lifestyles of the early residents of the people of the Pikes . . . — Map (db m46002) HM|
|Colorado (El Paso County), Colorado Springs — Take a Closer Look...Alpine/Subalpine Life Zone|
|Alpine and subalpine tundra is the low-growing vegetation found in the “land above the trees.” At this high elevation, the climate is harsh with searing winds, intense sunlight and frigid temperatures that limit the growing season. In spite of these conditions, an amazing array of hardy, yet fragile, wildflowers thrive at elevations above 11,000 feet. Look for bright blue alpine forget-me-nots, bold yellow sunflowers, and other tundra plants that are well-adapted to the weather . . . — Map (db m45927) HM|
|Colorado (Jefferson County), Golden — Farming|
|Since 1859 Clear Creek has provided water through irrigation ditches to farmers east of Golden. Many such ditches were dug in the 1800s, including the Welch Ditch (originally Vasquez Ditch), Church Ditch (originally Golden City & Ralston Creek Ditch), Agricultural Ditch, Rocky Mountain Ditch (originally Table Mountain Ditch, Wanamaker Ditch, Swadley Ditch, Wadsworth Ditch, Croke Canal, and Oulette Ditch.|
These irrigation ditches turned what had been called the “Great American . . . — Map (db m51912) HM
|Colorado (La Plata County), Durango — Lime Creek Burn 1879|
|This man-caused forest fire burned 26,000 acres consuming approximately 150,000,000 board-feet of timber. Reforestation by direct seeding and planting of seedling trees was started in 1911 and continues today.
The project was financed by federal funds and contributions from the conservation-minded Colorado Federation of Women's Clubs. — Map (db m58966) HM|
|Connecticut (Hartford County), Hartford — Charter Oak Monument|
|Near This Spot
Memorable in the History
Colony of Connecticut
As The Hiding Place Of The
October 31, 1687
The Tree Fell
August 21, 1856
[ back ]
Erected by The
Society of Colonial Wars
The State of Connecticut
1633 1775 — Map (db m52339) HM|
|Connecticut (Hartford County), Hartford — Scion of the Charter Oak|
|Scion of the Charter Oak
Planted 19 October 1871 by
First Company Governor's Foot Guard
White Oak (Quercus atba L)
In the earliest days the great oak served both as a council tree and agricultural guide for Native Americans. The annual spring planting of corn would not begin until the great tree's leaves were the size of a mouse's ear thus ensuring proper soil temperature and germination. The venerable oak was considered both sacred and sagacious.
Connecticut received its charter from . . . — Map (db m64924) HM|
|Connecticut (Hartford County), Hartford — Theodore Wirth|
Superintendent Hartford Parks
1896 - 1905
Elizabeth Park Rose Garden
To whom this rose bed is dedicated
and for whom it will be maintained
as long as the park is here and people
love roses . . . forever
Conrad L. Wirth 1992 — Map (db m44111) HM|
|Connecticut (Hartford County), New Britain — Frederick Law Olmstead|
|Frederick Law Olmstead 1822 – 1903
Landscape architect Frederick Law Olmstead, the nineteenth century visionary who founded the profession of landscape architecture, is responsible for the overall design of Walnut Hill Park. Influenced by the parks of Europe and his native New England landscape, the design for Walnut Hill Park was typical of his work, creating a rural experience in the city. Although many components of the design were not carried out, the park owes its overall character . . . — Map (db m41759) HM|
|Connecticut (Hartford County), Wethersfield — Wethersfield Elm|
The Wethersfield Elm
Largest Of Its Kind — Map (db m46121) HM|
|Connecticut (Litchfield County), Cornwall — Scion of the Charter Oak|
|In Memory Of
Lewis S. Gannett
Scion Of The
April 23, 1966
Historical Society — Map (db m41825) HM|
|Connecticut (Litchfield County), Roxbury — The Orzech Family Preserve|
|This 112-Acre Parcel Has Been Preserved
Since Sept. 11, 2002
By The Roxbury Land Trust
Edward F. and Elizabeth M. Orzech
Whose Family Established Their Farm Here
In 1924 — Map (db m42529) HM|
|Connecticut (New Haven County), Ansonia — Charter Oak Seedling|
| In observance of the U.S. Bicentennial, Elizabeth Clarke Hull Chapter NSDAR marks the site of a Charter Oak seedling given to the City of Ansonia Oct. 27, 1966, by former Mayor Frank P. Fitzpatrick
May 15, 1976 — Map (db m25407) HM|
|Connecticut (New Haven County), East Haven — Site of the Theodore Roosevelt Oak|
|This is the Site Of
The Theodore Roosevelt Oak
Given by The
President of The United States
To the Town of East Haven
On May 1, 1908
The East Haven Women's Club
1965 — Map (db m35580) HM|
|Connecticut (New Haven County), New Haven — Pardee Rose Garden|
|Pardee Rose Garden
Planted and Maintained under
the Will and Bequest of
William Scranton Pardee
of this City as a
lasting Memorial of his Mother
Nancy Maria English Pardee
MCMXXII — Map (db m34721) HM|
|Delaware (Kent County), Dover — An Army of Restoration (CCC)|
|To provide employment and vocational training for youthful citizens of the United States…through the performance of useful public work in connection with the conservation and development of the natural resources of the United States and its possessions. (CCC Federal Enacting Legislation, 1933)
During the dark days of the Great Depression, the Civilian Conservation Corps conserved some of America’s most precious natural resources—its land and young men. Between 1933 and 1942, this . . . — Map (db m4491) HM|
|Delaware (New Castle County), Middletown — This Tree Was Living When William Penn Came to Pennsylvania|
|1682 - 1932
This tree was living when
came to Pennsylvania
White Oak, Quercus Alba
Girth Breast High, 1932, 14ft. 4 ins. — Map (db m73845) HM|
|Delaware (New Castle County), Wilmington — NC-121 — Cool Spring Park|
|With the completion of Cool Spring Reservoir in 1877, an adjoining parcel of unused land was reserved for park purposes. Formally designated as Cool Spring Park, the grounds were managed by the Wilmington Water Department until 1967, when the City Parks Department assumed responsibility. The reservoir and park were named for the natural springs of the area. Cool Spring was also the name of the nearby home of Caesar A. Rodney, a member of Congress and United States Attorney General in the . . . — Map (db m10917) HM|
|Delaware (Sussex County), Milton — SC-165 — The Holly Industry|
|Since ancient times the holly tree has been a decorative symbol of the winter holiday season. The abundant growth of this colorful evergreen in Delaware resulted in the establishment of a major export industry during the first half of the 20th century. Considered the last cash crop of the growing season, the harvest and sale of holly and other seasonal greenery provided many rural families with much-needed income. By the 1930s, Delaware was the leading producer in the nation. The importance of . . . — Map (db m37399) HM|
|District of Columbia, Washington — Bradford Pear Tree|
|(Pyrus calleryana Bradford)
An ornamental shade tree developed by
Planted May 2, 1966
Mrs. Lyndon B. Johnson
Orville L. Freeman, Secretary of Agriculture
Va. & Md. 4-H Clubs
In behalf of National Beautification
Replaced May 2, 1987 — Map (db m70457) HM|
|District of Columbia, Washington — 8 — Early Entrepreneurs — Battleground to Community — Brightwood Heritage Trail|
|Apple and Peach Trees once covered the slopes to your left, some 40 acres' worth, all planted by noted horticulturalist John Saul (1819-1897). In the 1870s Saul was one of Brghtwood's largest landowners. In addition to these orchards, he operated nurseries for ornamental trees and greenhouse plants near old Brightwood racetrack and on Seventh Street, and developed a nationally renowned seed catalogue business.
Saul originally came to Washington in 1841 from County Cork, Ireland, to . . . — Map (db m72822) HM|
|District of Columbia, Washington — Klingle Mansion — Rock Creek Park|
|This Pennsylvania Dutch style structure was built in 1823 by Joshua Pierce. The west side was added in 1843. It encloses ten rooms within its three stories. A utility house and potting shed flank the rear.
Joshua was an avid horticulturist, and soon cultivated this barren hillside into a beautiful garden area with many rare and exotic trees and shrubs.
When Joshua died in 1869, he left the estate to his nephew, Joshua Pierce Kingle. The property was acquired in 1890 as a part of Rock . . . — Map (db m70684) HM|
|District of Columbia, Washington — Smokey Bear Blue Spruce|
| Blue Spruce
Planted April 11, 1984
To honor the 40th birthday of
John R. Block, Secretary of Agriculture
R. Max Peterson, Chief, USDA Forest Service
Forester's Wives Club of Washington, D.C. — Map (db m70456) HM|
|District of Columbia, Washington — Tupelo Tree — (Nyssa Sylvatica)|
| This & neighboring trees were
From all parts of the country
Camp Fire Girls
At a National Conservation Rally
April 12, 1936 in memory of
Dr. Luther H. Gulick
First President — Map (db m65020) HM|
|District of Columbia (Washington), Downtown — White House Kitchen Garden|
| ”. . . Now I shall plant, if at all, more for the public than for myself.”
John Quincy Adams, diary entry for July 5, 1826, shortly before beginning the first major planting program at the White House. Massachusetts Historical Society
During his eight years as president (1801-09), Thomas Jefferson hired the White House’s first gardener, whose duties included the cultivation of a kitchen garden. However, it was not until 1825, when John Quincy Adams . . . — Map (db m61677) HM|
|District of Columbia (Washington), National Mall — Cedar of Lebanon — Cedrus libani — National Museum/National Museum of Natural History|
| This tree commemorates the 100th anniversary of the 1904 groundbreaking of the new National Museum. A wooded park, with a variety of trees including these cedars, previously stood here.
Dedicated on June 15, 2004 Photo caption: Smithsonian Secretary Samuel Langley (holding spade) breaks ground as other Smithsonian staff, including the Smithsonian's first African American employee, Solomon G. Brown, participate in the June 14, 1914, ceremony. Smithsonian National Museum of . . . — Map (db m70231) HM|
|District of Columbia (Washington), Northeast — “The President’s Trees”|
|Dedicated by Maryland State Society, Daughters of the American Revolution, April 21, 1934. Growing on land that was once a part of Maryland and was in 1790 her gift to the United States of America for the national capitol, the 31 trees in this group have been dedicated to our 31 presidents by the 31 chapters of the Maryland D. A. R. as a part of the tercentenary celebration of the founding of the state. Soil from Maryland’s historic spots have been placed at the base of each tree. — Map (db m4893) HM|
|District of Columbia (Washington), Northeast — Morrison Azalea Garden|
|Assembled in this garden is a permanent collection of the Glenn Dale Hybrid Azaleas, originated, selected, and named by B. Y. Morrison, first Director of the U.S. National Arboretum. — Map (db m966) HM|
|District of Columbia (Washington), Northwest — All Hallows Guild — Washington National Cathedral|
| In recognition of the contributions made by generations of All Hallows Guild members since 1916 to the gardens, oak grove, and grounds of Washington National Cathedral a haven of peace and refreshment a revelation of God’s beauty and a gateway to paradise 1991 — Map (db m71205) HM|
|District of Columbia (Washington), Southwest — Enid A. Haupt Garden|
| Panel 1: Enid A. Haupt Garden. A popular urban oasis since its completion in 1987, the 4.2-acre Enid A. Haupt Garden comprises three distinct gardens. The design of each reflects the cultural and aesthetic influences celebrated in the Smithsonian Castle and the surrounding museums.
The Moongate Garden (1) next to the Arthur M. Sackler Gallery, draws design inspiration from the Temple of Heaven, a 15th century religious complex in China. The Victorian–style Parterre . . . — Map (db m46666) HM|
|District of Columbia (Washington), The Ellipse — The National Christmas Tree|
| At 5:00 p.m. on Christmas Eve, 1923, President Calvin Coolidge walked from the White House to the Ellipse and “pushed the button” to light the first National Christmas Tree. A crowd of 3,000 witnessed the inaugural lighting of the 48-foot, cut Balsam fir, donated by Middlebury College, Vermont. For the next thirty years, live trees were lit at various locations on or near the White House grounds. Finally, in 1954, the ceremony returned to the Ellipse.
Cut trees served as . . . — Map (db m61678) HM|
|District of Columbia (Washington), The National Mall — Andrew Jackson Downing|
|[Inscription on urn pedestal, 1856]:
This vase was erected by his friends in memory of
ANDREW JACKSON DOWNING
who died July 28, 1852, aged 37 years.
He was born, and lived, and died upon the Hudson River. His life was devoted to the improvement of the national taste in rural art, an office for which his genius and the natural beauty amidst which he lived had fully endowed him.
His success was as great as his genius, and for the death of few public men was public . . . — Map (db m46600) HM|
|District of Columbia (Washington), The National Mall — Bald Cypress — [Native American Agriculture] — [U.S. Department of Agriculture]|
This tree commemorates the many contributions Native Americans have made to American agriculture, plants domesticated and harvested by Native Americans in the New World still make up a significant proportion of all vegetables produced worldwide.
November 18, 1988
Richard E. Lyng
Secretary of Agriculture — Map (db m47743) HM|
|District of Columbia (Washington), The National Mall — Petrified Wood — Araucarioxylon Arizonicum Knowlton — Triassic Period|
|about 200 million years old Found near Petrified Forest National Park, Arizona Contributors: Mr. and Mrs. James M. Gray Mr. and Mrs. Herbert Zuhl City of Holbrook, Arizona — Map (db m54063) HM|
|District of Columbia (Washington), The Tidal Basin — Japanese Pagoda|
|Admired by thousands each year, the Japanese Pagoda arrived in Washington, not as a gift from one nation to another, but as a gift from one man to another. In 1957, Ryozo Hiranuma, the Mayor of Yokohama and a visitor to Washington, DC four years prior, gave this pagoda to former District Commissioner Renah Camalier. However, Camalier felt the gift belonged to the people of the District of Columbia and placed it among the Japanese cherry trees. A year later, on April 21, 1958, the pagoda was . . . — Map (db m309) HM|
|District of Columbia (Washington), The Tidal Basin — The 1912 Cherry Tree Plantings|
|Historic Trees. You are standing near two of the most important cherry trees in Washington, D.C. These Yoshino Cherries (Prunus x yedoensis) are among the 3,700 trees of various species that grow in East and West Potomac Park and on the Washington Monument grounds. On March 27, 1912, First Lady Helen Taft joined Viscountess Chinda, wife of the Japanese Ambassador to the United States, on this spot to plant these two trees. Located nearby, a stone bearing a bronze plaque commemorates . . . — Map (db m215) HM|
|District of Columbia (Washington), The Tidal Basin — The First Japanese Cherry Trees|
|The first Japanese Cherry Trees, presented to the City of Washington as a gesture of friendship and good will by the City of Tokyo, were planted on this site, March 27, 1912. — Map (db m54912) HM|
|District of Columbia (Washington), Tidal Basin — The Gift of Trees - The 1910 Shipment — National Mall and Memorial Parks|
| The Gift of Trees Flowering cherry trees – which bloom profusely but do not bear edible fruit – were not common in the United States in 1900. American visitors to Japan found their beauty remarkable and journalist Eliza Scidmore was inspired to have these trees planted in Washington, D.C. She and David Fairchild, a botanist at the Department of Agriculture and plant explorer, were interested in beautifying the city’s landscape. In 1909, the project was endorsed at the highest . . . — Map (db m61837) HM|
|Florida (Alachua County), Micanopy — F-75 — William Bartram Trail — 1739 ~ 1823|
|The great Quaker naturalist of Philadelphia made a long journey through the southeastern states in the 1770's collecting botanical specimens. In May, 1774, he visited the Seminole Chief, Cowkeeper, at the Indian village of Cuscowilla located near this spot. His book, "Travels...", provided the earliest reliable account of North Florida landscape, flora, fauna, and Indian life and his vivid images of local scenes inspired Coleridge, Wordsworth, and Emerson. — Map (db m48676) HM|
|Florida (Alachua County), near Fairbanks — F- 516 — Turpentine Industry Community and Family|
The naval stores industry was important to maritime power worldwide. Pine tar and pitch were used to seal wooden ships and protect sails and rigging. When settlers came to America - in Florida (1565), in Virginia (1607) and in Massachusetts (1620) - they found vast pine forests with resinous tar and pitch, a scarce commodity for European competitors with
wooden fleets. Settlers at first produced pine pitch and tar by distilling resin-soaked fat pine wood from dead tree . . . — Map (db m42012) HM|
|Florida (Alachua County), Newberry — William Bartram Trail — Traced 1773 - 1777 — Deep South Region|
| Blue Sink
Visited by William Bartram, America's first naturalist, in 1774.
Erected by Newberry Garden Club in cooperation with Dist. V. FFGC National Council of State Garden Clubs, Inc.
Fla. Dept. of Transportation — Map (db m65202) HM|
|Florida (Columbia County), near Mikesville — "CCC Boy" Statue|
This "CCC Boy" Statue
was erected by
Chapter 143, NACCCA,
In 2007. Chapter 143 was organized by
CCC veterans of the area on
October 1, 1988.
This statue was donated to Chapter 143 and O'Leno
State Park by George and Peggy Lecouris of
Tarpon Springs, Florida. George joined the CCC in
1934 and served in Co. 1439, Camp F-9,
Vilas, Florida, in the Apalchicola National Forest.
This statue is dedicated to the 50,000 Florida "CCC
Boys" who replanted . . . — Map (db m66128) HM|
|Florida (Columbia County), near Mikesville — Civilian Conservation Corps — April 5, 1933 June 30, 1942|
2,876,638 American youth
served in 4500 CCC Camps
restoring ravaged lands of a
2 to 3 billion trees planted, 800
parks built, 3980 historical sites
restored, and 6 million days
"We Can Take It" — Map (db m65804) HM|
|Florida (Dixie County), Cross CIty — F-515 — Putnam Lodge|
Putnam Lodge, built in 1927-28 by the Putnam Lumber Company, is part of a bygone era in Florida's forestry history. Here, beside the old Dixie Highway, Putnam Lodge, part of the "company town" of Shamrock, accommodated tourists, transients and company executives and clients. The lobby and the dining room of the 36-room lodge were decorated exclusively with the still preserved, artfully stenciled "pecky cypress," a now virtually extinct lumber product. In its day, the Putnam Lumber Company, . . . — Map (db m77791) HM|
|Florida (Escambia County), Century — Century, Florida / Alger Railroad|
| Century, Florida Founded in 1900 to house mill employees of the Alger-Sullivan Lumber Company, formed in 1900 by General Russell A. Alger - Governor of Michigan, U.S. Senator, and President McKinley's Secretary of War - and by Martin H. Sullivan of Pensacola. Edward A. Hauss led the company from 1901 to 1957 and pioneered in reforestation to perpetuate timber resources. Century and Alger recall the names Colonel Frank Hecker, Henry Glover, George E. Glover, A.W. Ranney, John Millen, . . . — Map (db m46693) HM|
|Florida (Escambia County), Pensacola — Garden Street — (La Calle Jardin)|
|So~named because under British, each purchaser of lots in the Old City (South of here) was given a plot with the corresponding number (North of here) on Conway Street for garden purposes. Lots were 80' x 278'. Section included present Garden Street between Spring Street (Washerwoman's Bayou) and Seventh Avenue (Cadet Bayou). — Map (db m72269) HM|
|Florida (Highlands County), Venus — F-643 — Archbold Biological Station at Red Hill|
|These buildings were designed and built during 1930-1935 by Alexander Blair for the Red Hill Estate of John A. Roebling II, son of Washington A. Roebling, who built the Brooklyn Bridge. The industrial vernacular buildings (structures meant to house industrial activities) were constructed of poured concrete to withstand hurricanes and the humid sub-tropical conditions. The largest building, with its distinctive saw-tooth roof, features an original seven-unit storehouse and attached two-story . . . — Map (db m72522) HM|
|Florida (Levy County), Gulf Hammock — Patterson-McInnis Train|
| This locomotive, known locally as "Three Spot", often pulled 30 to 40 cars as it transported logs from area woodlands to the Patterson-McInnis Sawmill. Originally a wood burning engine thought to be built around 1915, it was converted to steam during its service, which ended about World War II. The locomotive was donated to Levy County by the Paterson-McInnis Lumber Company in 1969 and maintained by the Florida Department of Transportation in the Gulf Hammock Wayside Park. — Map (db m19402) HM|
|Florida (Liberty County), Bristol — F-46 — Torreya Tree|
|In this vicinity on the Apalachicola River, Hardy Bryan Croom, pioneer Florida planter and botanist, discovered one of the rarest of coniferous trees, Torreya taxifolia circa 1835, and named it for Dr. John Torrey, prominent American botanist. Only four other species exist, but they are in the widely separated areas of China, Japan, and California. Croom’s promising botanical career ended in 1837 when he perished in the wreck of the steamship “Home” off Cape Hatteras. — Map (db m17753) HM|
|Florida (Madison County), Madison — Steam Engine of the Florida Manufacturing Company|
|Across Range Street, this Unit was used in Cotton and Peanut processing until 1919 and later carried to Taylor County for use in the Lumber Industry. With a 5-foot Piston Stroke and a 16-foot Drive Wheel, this 500 HP Engine pulled 65 Gins in the World's Largest Sea Island Cotton Processing Plant. It was given to the Society by Earl Lee Loughridge and installed by Jesse Hughey and Paul McClune. — Map (db m17752) HM|
|Florida (Miami-Dade County), Coral Gables — State of Florida Historic Roadway|
|Originally eight feet wide, Le Jeune Road was built by James D. Girtman (1874-1960). In addition to being a road builder, Mr. Girtman was also a successful grocer, fur trader, expert on Seminole culture, and fruit and vegetable grower. In 1902, Mr. Girtman raised $250 to build Le Jeune Road. The effort was regarded as highly successful. The road is named for Charles Le Jeune, a wealthy Belgian, who settled here in 1899. Born in 1878, he was educated at the best schools in Europe, attending . . . — Map (db m74932) HM|
|Florida (Miami-Dade County), Homestead — Palm Lodge|
|Palm Lodge was built in 1912 for Colonel Henry Wallace Johnston, a hardware merchant from Lebanon, Kentucky. Col. Johnson planted an avocado grove and experimented with specimens of tropical fruits and flowers. One of his specialties was the cultivation of the aloe vera plant. A packing house and canning facility were added to the complex and eventually 267 varieties of jams, jellies, marmalades and preserves were made and shipped from Palm Lodge Tropical Groves. The grove grew as a showcase . . . — Map (db m76497) HM|
|Florida (Miami-Dade County), Miami — 70000181 — Vizcaya|
|This property has been placed on the National Register of Historic Places by the United States Department of the Interior — Map (db m63817) HM|
|Florida (Miami-Dade County), Palmetto Bay — F-215 — The Perrine Land Grant|
| (side 1)
In 1838, the United States Congress granted a township of land in the southern extremity of Florida to noted horticulturist Dr. Henry Perrine and his associates. This land was to be used in experiments aimed at introducing foreign tropical plants and seeds into Florida. Although Dr. Perrine did not select a township before his death in 1840, he indicated the areas he preferred and his family later selected the land which came to be called the Perrine Land Grant. Born in 1797, . . . — Map (db m73442) HM|
|Florida (Nassau County), Fernandina Beach — William Bartram Trail — Traced 1773-1777 — Deep South Region|
|In 1774, William Bartram, famed
Colonial Naturalist, visited
Amelia Island and recorded the
flora and fauna of the area. — Map (db m58405) HM|
|Florida (Orange County), Orlando — Mathew Robinson Marks|
|In Memory of Mathew Robinson Marks Mayor of Orlando 1889-1890 through whose vision the planting of our magnificent shade trees was inaugurated. A.D. 1925 — Map (db m6914) HM|
|Florida (Osceola County), Yeehaw Junction — F-369 — Desert Inn|
|The Desert Inn was founded as a trading post in the late 1880s. The present building dates before 1925 and served as a supply and recreational center for cattle drovers, lumber men and tourists during the era when much of Osceola County was still undeveloped wilderness. Cowmen working the free ranging cattle on the palmetto prairie and lumber men cutting timber in the nearby pine lands came to the Desert Inn to eat, drink, and dance at this “oasis” where they could enjoy some relief . . . — Map (db m3256) HM|
|Florida (Pasco County), Lumberton — The Tucker Cemetery|
|This oldest cemetery in Pasco County has existed since before 1855. Thomas and Sarah Tucker settled in the area about 1842 and in 1845 planted the county's first orange grove. Family history records an earlier generation of Tuckers lived in the vicinity about 1790. The surrounding community was called Tuckertown until the railroad came through and the name was changed to Richland. The entire front section of the cemetery property was deeded to Pasco County as a burying place for indigents in . . . — Map (db m13677) HM|
|Florida (Pinellas County), Safety Harbor — “The Baranoff Oak”|
|This tree is reportedly the oldest living Live Oak Tree in Pinellas County and is estimated to be between 300 to 500 years old. This grand oak tree is registered with The Live Oak Society of the Louisiana Garden Club Federation, Inc. — Map (db m3244) HM|
|Florida (Pinellas County), Safety Harbor — Odet Philippe — Born Lyon, France, 1787 — Died at this Site 1869|
|As the first European settler in Pinellas County he established St. Helena Plantation, now Philippe Park Philippe was the first to cultivate grapefruit in Florida and introduced cigar-making to Tampa His descendants populated this frontier. He was said to be a doctor and of noble birth. — Map (db m13637) HM|
|Florida (Pinellas County), Safety Harbor — Philippe Park|
|On this promontory Count Odet Philippe, a native of Lyon, France, and surgeon in the French Armed Forces under Napoleon Bonaparte settled in 1842, arriving at this point in his sailing vessel "The Ney." In this area he established St. Helena, his plantation, and upon it he was the first to adapt the grapefruit to Florida culture. Here he raised a large family, many descendants of which now reside in Pinellas County. He pioneered in the development of this area and endowed this site with a . . . — Map (db m13639) HM|
|Florida (Polk County), Mulberry — Historical Citrus Planting|
|Historical Citrus Planting March 14, 1959. Site of first experimental planting of citrus on reclaimed phosphate mining land. The project was originated and executed by William James Menear, land manager, Virginia-Carolina Chemical Corporation. — Map (db m4980) HM|
|Florida (Polk County), Mulberry — The Mulberry Tree|
|This tree replaces the original hundred year old tree that was the "mail drop" for the Bone Valley area before the city of Mulberry, "The Phospate Center of the World" was incorporated in 1901. — Map (db m4981) HM|
|Florida (Putnam County), Palatka — William Bartram Trail — Traced 1773-1777 — Deep South Region|
|William Bartram, botanist, artist, naturalist, humanist, explored this area and headquartered near here in 1774. — Map (db m3248) HM|
|Florida (Saint Johns County), Green Cove Springs — F-514 — William Bartram's Plantation|
|In 1766 on the banks of the St. Johns River at Little Florence Cove, William Bartram attempted to farm a 500-acre land grant. Bartram had spent much of the previous year exploring the new British Colony of East Florida with his father, John Bartram, the Royal Botanist for America under King George III. When John Bartram returned home, near Philadelphia, the younger Bartram stayed in Florida. He hoped like many other settlers to make a fortune exporting cash crops such as indigo and rice. Using . . . — Map (db m48683) HM|
|Florida (Saint Johns County), Picolata — William Bartram Trail — Traced 1773-1777 — Deep South Region|
|At Fort Picolata, Nov. 18, 1765,
William Bartram and his father John
saw Creek Indian Treaty signed and
began their Florida plants survey.
The Wildflower Garden Club of District IV
In loving memory of Lorraine Ridge
In cooperation with
Florida Federation of Garden Clubs, Inc., and
The Woman's Club of St. Augustine, Fla. — Map (db m42235) HM|
|Florida (Saint Johns County), Switzerland — William Bartram Trail — Traced 1773 - 1777 — Deep South Region|
My chief happiness consisted
in tracing and admiring the
infinite power, majesty, and
perfection of the Creator. — Map (db m61818) HM|
|Florida (Sarasota County), Laurel — Laurel Turpentine and Lumber Industry|
|The naval stores industry provided employment for workers leaving the plantation system following the Civil War. Some laborers were leased by private companies from state or county prisons. This leasing system brought about conditions of peonage to many workers. Following public outcry the state legislature prohibited the leasing of convicts. Turpentine processing and lumber milling reached this area around 1910. One of the early stills and prisoner stockades operated by the Hall and Harrison . . . — Map (db m11815) HM|
|Florida (Seminole County), Longwood — William Bartram Trail — Traced 1773-1777 — Deep South Region|
|"In 1774, William Bartram, famed Naturalist, camped near here and identified a wide variety of native plants and wildlife." — Map (db m52356) HM|
|Florida (Seminole County), Sanford — F-5 — Henry Shelton Sanford — Grove and Experimental Gardens|
|In this vicinity Henry Shelton Sanford, pioneer citrus grower, established the St. Gertrude grove in 1871. There, and at his Belair grove and experimental gardens, he advanced the industry through development of some 140 types of citrus. The Sanford gardens experimented with other tropical fruits, planting 30,000 exotic trees from South America and Africa. Much of the labor in the groves was performed by Swedish immigrants who settled at nearby New Upsala. — Map (db m52220) HM|
|Florida (Volusia County), DeLand — The Opera House — 1910|
|This corner was the site of DeLand's first newspaper, The Volusia County Herald, first published on May 10, 1877 by Henry DeLand. It was succeeded in 1878 by The Agriculturalist, edited by Col. C. C. Codrington, Gov. General of the West Indies, who escaped with his family during a native uprising in 1870. With his newspaper, Codrington became important to the development of semi-tropic agricultural in Florida. From these two early newspapers came the E.O. Painter Printing Company, . . . — Map (db m45727) HM|
|Florida (Washington County), Chipley — F-139 — Kudzu Developed Here|
|Kudzu, brought to this country from Asia as an ornamental, was developed near here in the early part of the Twentieth Century and given to the world as a soil-saving, high-protein forage plant by Mr. and Mrs. C.E. Pleas. The fast-growing, deep-rooted leguminous vine has been widely grown in the United States as a drought-resisting, erosion-controlling plant that compares with alfalfa in pasture and hay-making values. — Map (db m73294) HM|
|Georgia (Baldwin County), Milledgeville — 005-10 — Birthplace of Charles Holmes Herty — (1867-1938)|
|Charles Holmes Herty, one of America’s outstanding chemists, was born on this site December 4, 1867. He spent his early life in Milledgeville where he attended the Middle Georgia Agricultural and Military College (now Georgia College). Later he studied at John(sic) Hopkins and at European universities. Aided by his efforts, American chemistry became a giant industrial enterprise, and the Georgia pine became a valuable raw product in this new industry. — Map (db m36294) HM|
|Georgia (Baldwin County), Milledgeville — Dr Charles Holmes Herty Statesman -Chemist|
|Dr Charles Holmes Herty
Born on this spot
Dec 4 ,1867
By his leadership
He had made America
Chemically self sufficient
He has unselfishly
Given his time and
Talent to develop
Georgia's natural resources
This marker placed
By friends of
His native home
January 25,1934 — Map (db m48108) HM|
|Georgia (Bibb County), Macon — 011-11 — First Public Camellia Show|
|After a revival of interest in camellias, the first public Camellia Show in the U.S. was held Feb. 5, 1932 at Burden-Smith & Co. At the suggestion of Henry T. Conner, immediately after the show, the Azalea and Camellia Soc. of America, forerunner of the American Camellia Soc., was formed with 48 charter members. Maconites serving as officers -- all of whom, with the Vineville Garden Club, directed the show -- were T. J. Stewart, James H. Porter. Dr. W. G. Lee, Henry T. Conner. J. G. Bailie of . . . — Map (db m49669) HM|
|Georgia (Bulloch County), Statesboro — 016-2B — Bulloch County|
|Bulloch County was created by Act. of Feb. 8, 1776 from Bryan and Screven Counties. Originally, it contained part of Evans, Candler, Emanuel and Jenkins Counties. It was named for Archibald Bulloch (1730-1777), Revolutionary leader, elected Pres. of the Executive Council of Georgia, Jan. 20, 1776. He was first Provisional Governor of Georgia, Jan. 22, 1776 until his death, Feb. 22, 1777.
First County officers, commissioned March 25, 1796, were: Charles McCall, Jr., Sheriff; Andrew E. Wells, . . . — Map (db m10401) HM|
|Georgia (Bulloch County), Statesboro — 016-8 — Pioneer Turpentining Experiment|
|Dr. Charles Holmes Herty of the University of Georgia Chemistry Department conducted experiments in this forest that revolutionized the naval stores industry in America. Inspired by conservative gum resin gathering methods in Europe, Dr. Herty devised a method using metal gutters and a cup for gathering resin from pine trees. This system was designed to replace the centuries old method of "boxing" or cutting a collection box in the living tree. Boxing had proved disastrous to southern forests. . . . — Map (db m10632) HM|
|Georgia (Butts County), Jackson — 018-8 — Home of Robert Grier — »— 1 mi.—→|
|Robert Grier, astronomer and founder of "Grier’s Almanac", and his family lived about one mile from here and are buried in a family cemetery near the home.
Robert Grier was born in 1780 at his father’s home in Taliaferro Co. He attended Old Union Academy in Greene Co., studying mathematics and astronomy under his uncle.
“Grier’s Almanac” was first published in 1807 as “The Georgia and South Carolina Almanack”. Published continuously since its founding, it . . . — Map (db m21337) HM|
|Georgia (Camden County), Kings Bay — 020-12 — Tabby Sugar Works of John Houston McIntosh|
|These are the ruins of a tabby sugar works built by John Houston McIntosh at New Canaan Plantation soon after 1825. In his sugar house McIntosh installed what was, according to Thomas Spalding, the first horizontal cane mill worked by cattle power.
McIntosh, born in 1773 in what is now McIntosh County, settled in East Florida as a young man and became a leader of a group of American citizens who, during the War of 1812, plotted the annexation of East Florida to the United States. This plot . . . — Map (db m21289) HM|
|Georgia (Camden County), St. Marys — 020-4 — First Pecan Trees Grown Here About 1840 — ←|
|Grown from pecan nuts found floating at sea by Capt. Samuel F. Flood and planted by his wife, nee Rebecca Grovenstine, on Block 47.
The remainder of these nuts were planted by St. Joseph Sebastian Arnow in the north half of Block 26.
These first plantings produced large and heavy-bearing trees, as did their nuts and shoots in turn. Taken from St. Marys to distant points throughout southeastern states they became famous before the Texas pecans were generally known. — Map (db m14398) HM|
|Georgia (Chatham County), Savannah — 25-10 — Forsyth Park|
|In the 1840s, William Brown Hodgson (1801-1871) conceived the idea of setting aside ten acres of wooded land at this site for development of Savannah's first recreational park. It was named for former Georgia Governor John Forsyth (1780-1841). William Bischoff created the original landscape design. In the early 1850s improvements to the park included removal of some pines for walkways and ornamental plantings, benches, and iron fencing around the perimeter. In 1854 the fountain and radiating . . . — Map (db m6092) HM|
|Georgia (Chatham County), Savannah — The Invention of the Cotton Gin|
|This creative development which was responsible for the survival of the cotton industry in the United States occurred on General Nathaniel Greene's plantation near Savannah, 10 miles northeast of this marker. Separation by hand labor of the lint from the seed of the desired upland variety of cotton produced only one pound per day per person.
Eli Whitney, a native of Massachusetts and Yale Law Graduate, came to Georgia to teach school in late 1792, at age 27. Mrs. Catherine Greene, widow of . . . — Map (db m13521) HM|
|Georgia (Chatham County), Savannah — William Bartram Trail — Traced 1773-1777 — Deep South Region|
|In 1765 John and William Bartram, naturalists, began an extended trail from Savannah through Georgia and left a legacy of impressions. — Map (db m5087) HM|
|Georgia (Chatham County), Savannah — Workers' Garden|
|Picture this Central of Georgia complex at its peak. Imagine the haze from coal-burning locomotives, the din of hammers in the Blacksmith Shop, the shrieking of metal milling, and the whining of planers and saws. Why is a garden in the middle of this industrial complex?
The railroad encouraged gardens, which gave workers a respite from their industrial surroundings. There was friendly competition between rail yards, each claiming prized vegetables or flowers. The Workers’ Gardens you stand . . . — Map (db m70280) HM|
|Georgia (Clarke County), Athens — 029-9 — America’s First Garden Club|
|In I891 at this site, the Ladies Garden Club was founded by twelve Athens ladies in the home of Mrs. E. K. Lumpkin. Mrs. Lamar Cobb was the first president. Beginning as a small neighborhood group, the club extended membership to all Athens ladies interested in gardening in 1892.
In the spring of 1892 the group presented its first flower and vegetable exhibition. By 1894 a set of standards, similar to those of today, had been drawn up to make the shows as professional as possible. . . . — Map (db m39083) HM|
|Georgia (Clarke County), Athens — First Garden Club — 1891|
|Founders’ Memorial Garden which commemorates the founders of America’s first garden club. The Ladies Garden Club organized in 1891, Athens, Georgia. This garden was developed on University of Georgia campus by University’s Landscape Architecture Department and the Garden Club of Georgia. — Map (db m35108) HM|
|Georgia (Clarke County), Athens — William Bartram Trail — Traced 1773-1777 — Deep South Region|
|Eminent artist -- naturalist.
Described numerous species of
flora including Franklinia.
Explored local area in 1773. — Map (db m9147) HM|
|Georgia (Clay County), Fort Gaines — 030-3 — Historic Sites|
|DILL HOUSE ~ John Dill (1788-1856) of S.C., military aide to Gen. Gaines, commander of Fort Gaines, and leading pioneer citizen, is said to have built this, “the finest home on the frontier,” with money his wife had saved while a captive of the Indians. Hoarding and hiding paper money, which her captors discarded after raids, she took it with her when she fled to freedom. The original part of the house, now a hotel, contains elaborate mantles and intricate carvings. Gen. Dill . . . — Map (db m47203) HM|
|Georgia (Crawford County), Knoxville — William Bartram Trail — Traced 1773-1777 — Deep South Region|
|In July 1774 William Bartram camped nearby at “a beautiful large brook”, Sweet Water, on a trek from Augusta to Cusetta. — Map (db m12266) HM|
|Georgia (Crawford County), Roberta — William Bartram Trail — Traced 1773-1777 — Deep South Region|
|In 1774 William Bartram passed through what is now Roberta, after camping at Sweetwater and finding a new hydrangea. — Map (db m12265) HM|