|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — "Tomorrow Run 91"|
The Elks and Royal Purple
Al Howie's record setting
"Tomorrow Run 91"
Began at Mile 0 St. John's Nfld.
June 21 and ended September 1, 1991 at
Mile 0 Victoria B.C.
72 days - 10 hours later.
Our gratitude to all who helped us
raise funds for
Canadian children with special needs. — Map (db m74134) HM|
|British Columbia (Cariboo Regional District), Barkerville — Chee Kung Tong Building|
|This rare example of a 19th century Chinese benevolent society hall conformed to a Chee Kung Tong tradition that placed services to members on the ground floor and formal functions above. With its hostel, kitchen, and meeting and ceremonial spaces, this hall offered members a refuge where they could find support, work, and shelter. The benevolent services, ceremonies and celebrations, and membership rules of the Chee Kung Tong fostered a sense of belonging in many Chinese and helped promote . . . — Map (db m42533) HM|
|British Columbia (Greater Vancouver Regional District), Vancouver — Chinese Freemasons Building — City of Vancouver Heritage Building — Architect: Samuel Buttrey Birds (1913)|
|The Chi Kung Tong, later the Chinese Freemasons, purchased this building in 1907. It included meeting rooms, a male dormitory and a Chinese school - uses common to Chinese Society Buildings. The Chi Kung Tong assisted early immigrants from China who took part in the Cariboo gold rush. The Freemasons were also intensively involved in the politics of China, including Dr. Sun-Yat Sen's efforts to bring democracy to his native country. Built in 1901, the building blends Victorian style along the . . . — Map (db m53798) HM|
|Newfoundland and Labrador (Division No. 1 (Avalon Peninsula)), St. John's — Masonic Temple — 1894-1897|
|Built to replace the Long’s Hill Temple destroyed by fire in 1892, the cornerstone of this building was laid by Sir William Whitewall on August 23, 1894. The Temple is the largest brick fraternal lodge in the province, and with its classical revival and Masonic motifs is an important example fo Victorian Lodge design. — Map (db m79057) HM|
|Nova Scotia (Annapolis County), Annapolis Royal — Major Erasmus James Philipps|
|Major Erasmus James Philipps
Founder of the first masonic lodge in
Canada at Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia
June - 1738
First Provincial Grand Master
Erected by the Grand Lodge of
A.F. & A.M. of Nova Scotia, 1938 — Map (db m78700) HM|
|Nova Scotia (Annapolis County), Annapolis Royal — Masonic Stone of 1606|
| 1738 - 2013 This replica of the Masonic stone of 1606 was presented to the Masons of Nova Scotia as a gift from the Most Wor. Bro. Roy F. Lively past Grand Master of Nova Scotia 2008-2009 commemorating the 275th Anniversary of Masonry in Nova Scotia which is the birth place of Masonry in this great nation of Canada. May we on this 275th Anniversary dedicate ourselves to carrying forward the work which those of 275 years ago so nobly began. Let us firmly resolve to be worthy of the heritage . . . — Map (db m78668) HM|
|Ontario (Lennox & Addington Counties), Greater Napanee — Bay of Quinte Loyalist Settlement — L’Etablissement des Loyalistes dans la Baie d Quinte|
|English: This region was among the first in present day Ontario to receive loyalist settlers following the American Revolution. Surveying began in 1783, and by the following year five townships had been laid out between the Cataraqui River and the east end of the Isle of Quinte (Kingstown, Ernestown, Fredericksburgh, Adolphustown, and Marysburgh). Loyalist refugees and discharged soldiers arrived to take up land grants in these five Cataraqui townships in 1784. That same year, Iroquois . . . — Map (db m83649) HM|
|Ontario (Lennox & Addington Counties), Greater Napanee — The Royal Union Flag — 1707-1801|
|Originally designed in 1606, this flag was officially adopted in 1707 by England and Scotland as their royal standard at the time of the union of the thrones and parliaments of both countries. It consists of the blue background and white diagonal cross of St. Andrew, Patron Saint of Scotland, with superimposed the red cross of St. George, Patron Saint of England. The white piping is a heraldic device used to separate the blue and red portions. When the American Revolution began in 1775, many . . . — Map (db m83647) HM|
|Ontario (Middlesex County), London — Harold A. Rogers, O.C., O.B.E. — 1899 - 1994|
|The founder of Kinsmen & Kinette Clubs of Canada was born and raised at 324 Dundas Street, directly across from the armouries. Seeking the camaraderie he had experienced in the army during the First World War, “Hal” Rogers began the first Kinsmen Club in Hamilton in 1920. Under his guidance other clubs soon formed, each dedicated to “serving the community's greatest need.” Ongoing contributions from women prompted the formation of the Kinettes in 1942. During the Second . . . — Map (db m18933) HM|
|Ontario (Middlesex County), London — London South African War Memorial — 1899 - 1902|
|“In Honour of the Men from the London District who Fought for the Empire in South Africa, and in Memory of Those Who Fell.”
1899 - 1902
Pte. D. L. Moore, R.C.R.- Feb 14th, 1900
Pte. J. A. Donegan, 26th M.Lt.I.- Feb 18th, 1900
Pte. R. Smith, 26th M.Lt.I.- Feb 18th, 1900
Pte. W. G. Adams, 7th Regt. Fus.- April 16th, 1900
Pte. F.G.W. Floyd, 7th Regt. Fus.- May 10th, 1900
Pte. E. Mullins, R.C.R.I.- June 11th, 1900
Royal . . . — Map (db m18927) HM|
|Ontario (Niagara Region), St. Catharines — International Shipmasters' Association|
|The maritime professionals who sail the ships on the Great Lakes are celebrating the 100th anniversary of their fraternal organization, the I. M. S. A. whose purpose is stated in the Association's constitution, "The purpose of this association's constitution shall be to unite all shipmasters and licensed merchant marine officers of the Great Lakes and tributary waters of good moral character, to elevate the character of its members and their profession, and to promote the safety of the Great . . . — Map (db m76124) HM|
|Yukon Territory, Dawson City — Arctic Brotherhood Hall — 1901-2001|
|The Arctic Brotherhood was a fraternal organization formed onboard the steamer Seattle while anchored at Skagway. In 1901 Camp #4 Dawson City built a fraternity hall, known as the Arctic Brotherhood Hall to host their meetings as well as uphold their mandates to promote sociability and the interests of the members and the northland. Over the years the building was the centre of Dawson’s most important social gatherings. The City of Dawson obtained title to the building in 1951 and operated it . . . — Map (db m49348) HM|
|Estonia, Harjumaa MaakondTallinn — Mustpeade Maja — [Tallinn House of Black Heads] — PIKK 26|
| Text in Estoninan: ...
Text in English:
The Tallinn Brotherhood of Black Heads, established in 1399, leased the Pikk Street building in 1517 and added a big festive hall to it in 1531-32, the initial ornament paintings of which can still be seen in the windows.
In 1597, the façade was renovated by the builder-stonecutter Arent Passer. In addition to the coat of arms of the brotherhood that bears the picture of St. Mauritius, the stone décor also represents the portraits . . . — Map (db m57007) HM|
|Philippines, Manila, Ermita — Associacion Feminista Filipina — Philippine Feminist Association|
|Founded on 30 June 1905 in Manila at the Initiative Concepcion Felix and with the collaboration of Trinidad Rizal, Clemencia Lopez, Bonifacia Delgado de Barretto, Maria Arevalo, Sofia Reyes, Helen C. Wilson, Paz Natividad VDA. de Zulueta, Maria F. de Villamor, Teresa Solis and Agueda and Jacoba Paterno. It was the first woman's club in the Philippines dedicated to the promotion of social welfare and the encouragement of the participation of women in public affairs. The first president was . . . — Map (db m25095) HM|
|Alabama (Baldwin County), Fort Morgan — Noble Leslie DeVotie|
|(Obverse): First Alabama soldier to lose life in Civil War.
DeVotie graduated in 1856 from University of Alabama; Presbyterian Theological Seminary at Princeton in 1859. In 1856 at the University of Alabama, he was chief founder of Sigma Alpha Epsilon Fraternity, the only national social fraternity founded in the Deep South.
(Reverse): First Alabama soldier to die in Civil War.
Drowned Feb. 12, 1861 while on duty as chaplain of Alabama troops here. Before enlisting he was . . . — Map (db m4219) HM|
|Alabama (Covington County), Florala — Downtown Square and Veterans Memorial Park|
|The name Florala came from combining the names of Florida and Alabama. Lake Jackson, located in Florala, is the state's largest natural lake. It is named for Andrew Jackson, who in 1818 camped on the lake with his soldiers while en route to Pensacola. James Edwin Hughes, best known as the "Father of Florala," arrived in the area in December 1865. He created a homestead and began settling this community. Since 1870, the City of Florala, through Florala's Fidelity Masonic Lodge No. 685 and . . . — Map (db m83457) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Hoover — Lover’s Leap — 1827 - 1973|
|The poetic lines inscribed on the boulder below is a replica of those carved in 1827 by Thomas W. Farrar.
Thomas W. Farrar was the Founder and first Grand Master of the Masonic Lodge in Alabama 1821-22-24.
This historical site donated to the public by Jones W. Schwab in 1935.
The work was done and fence provided by Thomas W. Martin and George B. Ward. — Map (db m28490) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — The American Legion — 1919|
|Side A The American Legion, an organization of U.S. War Veterans was founded in Paris, France, March 15~17, 1919 by delegates from combat and service units of the American Expeditionary Force assembled in response to a call by a committee headed by Lieutenant Colonel Theodore Roosevelt, Jr. A national charter was granted by Congress on September 16, 1919. The charter has been amended over the years to admit veterans of all American Wars to its membership. Nonsectarian and nonpolitical, . . . — Map (db m35220) HM|
|Alabama (Lawrence County), Courtland — American Legion - Post 58|
| Side A
On April 20, 1934, a temporary charter was issued for Gen. Joe Wheeler Post 58, Courtland, Alabama.
On November 12, 1946, a permanent charter was granted and the name changed to Wiley Horton Post 58 in honor of the deceased son of State Department Commander C.C. Horton.
(Continued on other side)
(Continued from the side)
The American Legion is the largest veterans' organization in the United States. It seeks to advance the aims and interest of all . . . — Map (db m84303) HM|
|Alabama (Lee County), Auburn — Sigma Alpha Epsilon|
|The Alpha Mu chapter of Sigma Alpha Epsilon was founded on June 15, 1878 at the Agricultural & Mechanical College of Alabama (now Auburn University). John E.D. Shipp came to Auburn as a student determined to organize a chapter at a time when fraternities were forbidden on campus. Working in secrecy with SAE brothers in Georgia, Shipp had two members of Mercer University's chapter, William H. Felton and Frank H. Greaves, travel to Auburn to install the chapter behind Old Main in a cornfield . . . — Map (db m66726) HM|
|Alabama (Limestone County), Athens — Confederate Circle|
|The Confederate Circle in Athens City Cemetery contains graves of over 50 soldiers killed in or around Athens during the WBTS, 8 unknown. Around 1898 ladies of the local UDC were working in the cemetery when bones, believed to be soldiers, were found. The ladies felt these soldiers deserved a proper burial. In 1901 the local UDC chapter placed markers with initials of the soldiers on each grave. In 1994 the Chapter researched and ordered new markers with full names and Military Service. The . . . — Map (db m94159) HM|
|Alabama (Limestone County), Athens — Scenes From Hobbs & Market Streets|
|The First Baptist Church, organized in 1824, built a meeting house in 1826. A brick structure was erected in 1831 but was replaced with the above building in 1909. This church located on the north west corner of Clinton and Hobbs streets, was later razed and a family life center was built there. The church's present worship center built in 1995, is located on the opposite corner of Clinton and Hobbs streets.
The Athens Masonic Lodge, patterned after the Huntsville lodge of 1823, is . . . — Map (db m93883) HM|
|Alabama (Madison County), Huntsville — Helion Lodge No. 1|
|First Masonic Lodge in Alabama. Chartered Aug. 29, 1811, under the Masonic Jurisdiction of Kentucky. Original building on this site erected in 1820. — Map (db m37907) HM|
|Alabama (Marshall County), Grant — Becker Hall|
|Constructed in 1937, the Florence H. Becker Recreation Hall was named in honor of Florence Hague Becker, President General of the National Society Daughters of the American Revolution from 1935 to 1938. The vertically placed pine logs used in the construction of the building were cut from the forests of Gunter Mountain. Mr. A.M. Alred was the contractor for the original building. Thomas Hampton Smith was the contractor for the restoration of the building in 2004-2005. Becker Hall was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2003. — Map (db m33312) HM|
|Alabama (Mobile County), Mobile — The Mobile Bar Association — Alabama's First Bar Association|
|On March 29, 1869, 32 attorneys organized the Mobile Bar Association, the first bar association in Alabama and the 14th oldest bar association in the entire nation. They filed the Association's Declaration of Incorporation on April 12, 1869, having contributed $5,000.00 in capital, and established a law library in the City of Mobile.
P. Hamilton • Thos. A. Hamilton • Henry St. Paul • Thos. N. Macartney • H. Austill • Robt. H. Smith • Wm. G. Jones • Thos. H. Price • . . . — Map (db m40666) HM|
|Alabama (Monroe County), Perdue Hill — Masonic Lodge No. 3|
|Oldest Building in Monroe County
Erected in 1824 with funds from a public lottery. Lower floor served as a Baptist Church and a Court Room in which William B Travis, then a resident of Claiborne, practiced law. Visited by General LaFayette April 6, 1825
Moved to its present location in 1884.
Preserved by the Perdue Hill’s Womans Club — Map (db m39203) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — George Washington — 1776 - 1976|
|Presented to the citizens of the State of Alabama honoring our brother George Washington our first Masonic President and in commemoration of 200 years of freedom under our constitutional form of government. — Map (db m36644) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — Here Stood Mrs. Rosa Parks — Mother of the Civil Rights Movement|
Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated
Mrs. Rosa Parks
Mother of the Civil Rights Movement
honorary member of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.
where she boarded the Montgomery Public Bus
December 1, 1955
Dr. Barbara A. McKinzie Centennial International President
Dr. Juanita Sims Doty, Centennial South Eastern Regional Director
Marker dedicated March 2008 — Map (db m85986) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — Marshall J. Moore House|
|In 1900, Marshall Moore and his wife, Agnes V. McClain commissioned Joseph G. Nesbitt, Sr., an African-American contractor/builder, to construct this Victorian period cottage. The Moores, among the first graduates and early faculty members of Lincoln Normal School in Marion (Perry County), moved to Montgomery in 1887 when the school was relocated here. It was re-named the State Normal School for Colored Students (now Alabama State University).
From 1936 until 1993, the house remained in the . . . — Map (db m86130) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — Montgomery Freemasonry|
Freemasonry is a fraternal order which promotes a spirit of brotherhood, devotion to family, and service to God and country. Local Masonic Lodges and affiliated organizations, such as the Eastern Star, Scottish and York Rite bodies, the Shrine, Rainbow Girls, and Order of DeMolay, support many beneficial charities, medical facilities, and educational foundations.
1821: Nine Masonic Lodges formed Grand Lodge of Alabama F. & A.M and Montgomery Lodge No. 11 . . . — Map (db m71374) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — Murphy House|
| Greek Revival Home built, 1851 by John H. Murphy, cotton broker and an incorporator and director of the Montgomery Water Works Company, chartered 1854. Union Army Provost Marshal's Headquarters 1865. Elks Club 1902-1967 Restored by Montgomery Water Works and Sanitary Sewer Board, 1970 — Map (db m36569) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Pintlala — Pintlala Grange Hall / Grange Hall School|
| (Side 1)
Pintlala Grange Hall
The National Grange of the Patrons of Husbandry was organized in 1867 to provide economic, social and cultural improvements for farmers and their families. Pintlala's Grange Hall was erected circa 1875 on land adjacent to this marker. By the 1890s the popularity of the Grange began to wane. On July 21-23, 1891 the last meeting of the Alabama Granges took place in Pintlala. The Federal Land Bank was organized as the National Farm Loan Association . . . — Map (db m71433) HM|
|Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — Alpha Delta Pi — Organized May 15, 1851 — ETA Chapter March 21, 1907|
|Alpha Delta Pi, the first college secret sisterhood, was organized at Wesleyan Female College, Macon, Georgia, the first women's college to grant academic degrees. Originally identified as Adelpheans, the group had three thousand alumnae and sixty active members in 1905 when it change its name to Alpha Delta Phi (Pi in 1913) and began to expand nationally. Eta Chapter at the University of Alabama was the first chapter established in the state. Pi Kappa Kappa, the first local sorority at the . . . — Map (db m28783) HM|
|Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — Delta Kappa Epsilon|
|marker Front: Psi Chapter of Delta Kappa Epsilon fraternity first Greek letter fraternity at The University of Alabama. Organized by Louis J. DuPre, chapter installed June 20, 1847. First members initiated at Indian Queen Hotel by Charles Foote of Phi Chapter at Yale College.
ΔKE house built 1916. Because of its location is known as "The Mansion on the Hill."
Psi Chapter of Delta kappa Epsilon fraternity installed at The University of Alabama . . . — Map (db m30676) HM|
|Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — Kappa Delta|
|Zeta Chapter of Kappa Delta first national Greek letter sorority at the University of Alabama Chapter installed March 12, 1904. First members initiated in the Sigma Nu Hall by Katherine Lovejoy of Theta Chapter at Randolph-Macon Woman's College. First sorority to have Chapter in State of Alabama. Now oldest continuous Kappa Delta Chapter. — Map (db m28782) HM|
|Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — Oliver-Barnard Hall — College of Arts and Sciences|
Named for professor, scientist, and photographer F.A.P. Barnard who pioneered the study of astronomy at The University of Alabama and established its chapter of Phi Beta Kappa in 1851.
On August 26, 2000, rededicated Oliver-Barnard Hall in honor of alumni and friend John T. Oliver Jr., trustee of The University of Alabama, and established as a Blount Undergraduate Initiative Academic House.
During his 28 years on the Board of Trustees (1971-1999), . . . — Map (db m29402) HM|
|Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — Sigma Alpha Epsilon|
|Founded in Tuscaloosa on the campus of the University of Alabama on March 9, 1856. Its chapter designation, Alabama Mu, identifies it as the mother chapter of the national collegiate fraternity.
Noble Leslie DeVotie •
Nathan Elams Cockrell •
Thomas Chappell Cook •
Samuel Marion Dennis •
Wade Foster •
John Webb Kerr •
Abner Edwin Patton •
John Barratt Rudulph — Map (db m29607) HM|
|Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — Site Of Franklin Hall — (The Mound)|
|Franklin Hall, an early University dormitory designed by Capt. William Nichols, was erected on this site in 1835. Was one of the buildings destroyed by the Union raid on April 4, 1865. After Civil War the remains of structure were shaped into present mound. By early 20th century this mound had become traditional site for honorary tappings by The University.
Marker donated by Phi Mu Sorority in commemoration of its 50th anniversary at the University of Alabama. — Map (db m30677) HM|
|Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — The Little Round House|
|Constructed as a guard house for the Alabama Corps of Cadets during the early 1860's, the Little Round House provided shelter from inclement weather for cadets on sentry duty. Until 1865, it also housed the University Drum Corps, which was composed of rented slaves. One of the few University buildings not destroyed by Union forces when the campus was burned in 1865, this building became the office of the University surgeon in 1871, and was used later by non-military students as a residence. In . . . — Map (db m25387) HM|
|Alabama (Washington County), St. Stephens — Old St. Stephens Masonic Lodge No. 9 (1821-1834)/St. Stephens Lodge No. 81|
Old St. Stephens Masonic Lodge No. 9
CHARTER AND EARLY MEMBERS WERE:
Gov. Israel Pickens, Col. Silas Dinsmore, Thomas Eastin, R. Chamberlain, Thomas Malone, J.F. Ross, Daniel Coleman, John Womack, W.D. Gaines, James Roberts, James K. Blount, Ptolemy Harris, F.S. Lyon, Micajah Brewer, and John F. McGrew.
One of the nine Lodges that organized the Grand Lodge of Alabama at Cahaba in 1821, but Masonry existed here as early was 1811.
(See . . . — Map (db m70599) HM|
|Alaska (Skagway Borough), Skagway — Arctic Brotherhood Camp Skagway|
|Built in 1899 as headquarters for the Arctic Brotherhood Camp Skagway No. 1. The Brotherhood was established February 26, 1899 for the purpose of fraternal enjoyment and mutual aid. Over 30 camps were established throughout Alaska and the Yukon and Northern British Columbia.
Alaska Centennial 1867 – 1867
State of Alaska
Governor Walter J. Hickel
Alaska Centennial Commission — Map (db m72784) HM|
|Arizona (Cochise County), Tombstone — Grand Army of the Republic Memorial — Tombstone, Arizona|
Dedicated May 30, 1887
In Memory of
the Comrades of
G.A.R. — Map (db m33141) HM|
|Arizona (Coconino County), Flagstaff — Verkamp Building — 1899|
|John G. Verkamp came to Flagstaff in the 1890s. He first worked for the Babbitts (three of his sisters were married to Babbitt brothers), then succeeded in a number of businesses on his own, including lumber, livestock and merchandising. He is best known today for the Verkamp curio store at the Grand Canyon.
In 1899, Verkamp and T.A. Rickel constructed this brick building. The men rented the upper floor to the Elks, so it was known as the Elks Hall.
The ground floor was occupied most of . . . — Map (db m59505) HM|
|Arizona (Coconino County), Williams — Pollock Building|
|Built of locally quarried volcanic rock in 1901, this edifice housed a bank and many businesses displaced by the 1901 fire. These included the local newspaper, telegraph office, and eventually Arnold's, a famous Route 66 eatery. In 1928, the Masonic Lodge added the brick second story. — Map (db m33382) HM|
|Arizona (Graham County), Fort Thomas — Melvin Jones International Memorial|
|Melvin Jones was born on January 13, 1879, near this site in Fort Thomas. He lived here for the first eight years of his life, during the Indian Wars here. In 1917, Melvin Jones formed Lions Clubs International with 20 delegates representing 27 clubs in the United States. There are now Lions Clubs through out the world, providing improved vision and hearing to thousands of people each year. — Map (db m28051) HM|
|Arizona (Graham County), Safford — Womans Club of Safford — Dedicated - 1937|
of Historic Places
By the United States
Department of the Interior — Map (db m61512) HM|
|Arizona (Maricopa County), Glendale — Glendale Woman's Club Clubhouse — Built 1913|
|This property is listed in the
of Historic Places
By the United States Department of the Interior
Listed July 7, 1989
In 1901, a small group of pioneer women organized the Self Culture Club of Glendale with the primary focus being the betterment of themselves and the community through literary endeavors. The Club federated in the General Federation of Women's Clubs in 1902, and later became known as The Glendale Women's Club. As the population continued to . . . — Map (db m30478) HM|
|Arizona (Maricopa County), Mesa — Mesa Woman's Club House|
|On March 9, 1917, fifty-three women, inspired by Margaret Wheeler Ross, past president, 1914-1916, of the General Federation of Women's Clubs of Arizona, chartered the "Woman's Club of Mesa". Since 1901, Federated Women's Clubs, an international organization, has supported cultural and social activities, working for the betterment of family life. The Mesa group affiliated with the Federation and began in 1918 to raise funds for a club house. Distinguished by a corner turret capped with a red . . . — Map (db m27554) HM|
|Arizona (Maricopa County), Peoria — GFWC Peoria Woman's Club|
|In 1919, this building was constructed as a meeting place for the General Federation of Women's Clubs – Peoria Woman's Club.
Originally located at the northwest corner of 83rd Avenue and Washington Street, the Clubhouse was restored and relocated to its present location in 2008.
Throughout the years, the industrious club members put the building to use as a movie theater, dance hall, public library, and general gathering place to help meet the cultural and social needs of Peoria's . . . — Map (db m30401) HM|
|Arizona (Maricopa County), Tempe — Tempe Hardware Building|
|Known as the Odd Fellows Hall when it was built in 1898, this building is the oldest surviving three story brick commercial building in Maricopa County. Its 2-story high ballroom, located on the second floor, has hosted several fraternal organizations, Tempe's City Council, and served as a meeting hall for Tempe's first Mormon congregation. It was also the scene of dances, political rallies, and town meetings. Its second and third floor offices housed such diverse tenants as the State National . . . — Map (db m49913) HM|
|Arizona (Mohave County), Kingman — Elks Lodge No. 468 — Built 1903 to 1904 — modified 1913|
|This building has been placed on
The National Register of
By the United States Department of the Interior
Elks Lodge No.468
Built 1903 to 1904; modified 1913
The oldest lodge building in Kingman, this 1903-4 building was originally financed and cooperatively used by the Elks, the International Order of Odd Fellows, and the Knights of Pythias. The first story was used as an opera house. The Richardsonian Romanesque revival style is compatible with rusticated . . . — Map (db m29405) HM|
|Arizona (Navajo County), Taylor — Daughters of the Utah Pioneers — Jane Hatch Camp dedicated in 1932|
|Construction began in 1930 by Jane Hatch, Lizzie Willis and Emma Kartchner. The building was neglected for several years and in the early 1950's seven couples agreed to save the home, which became the clubhouse for the 20-30 Club. On November 2, 1987, the LDS Church deeded the Pioneer Home to the 20-30 Club. On July 5, 1997, it was opened as the Taylor Pioneer Museum. — Map (db m36695) HM|
|Arizona (Yavapai County), Prescott — Knights of Pythias Building|
|With the exception of the Courthouse, the Knights of Pythias Building, also known as the Tilton Building, has always been the tallest building on the Plaza at 46 feet. It was dedicated on November 27, 1895, and is one of the few buildings that survived the fire of 1900. The building originally housed retail on the first floor, office space on the second floor, and a large open hall on the third floor as the meeting room of the Knights of Pythias, an early social fraternal organization attended . . . — Map (db m21625) HM|
|Arizona (Yavapai County), Prescott — VFW Bucky O'Neill Post No. 541|
|Founded in Jan. 1921 and named after the famous Rough Rider William "Bucky" O'Neill, the post is the oldest active VFW post in Arizona. Born Feb. 2, 1860 in St. Louis, Missouri, his many accomplishments include being a Lawyer, Judge, Sheriff, Editor of 3 newspapers and Mayor of Prescott, Az. He was killed in action July, 1, 1898 in the battle for San Juan, Cuba. On his grave at Arlington it is written "Who would not die for a new star on the flag" — Map (db m68732) HM|
|Arizona (Yuma County), Yuma — Masonic Temple – Lodge #17 — 1931 — National Register of Historic Places|
|Designed in the Modernistic/Art Deco style, it retains its original design and use as a lodge. Freemasonry in Yuma began in 1900. Lodge #17 was formed in November, 1901.
Dedicated December 1999, by the City of Yuma for the preservation of our heritage.
Mayor Marilyn R Young
Bobby Brooks – Karen Hill – Louise Renault
Art Everett – Frank Irr – Ema Lea Shoop
Joyce Wilson – City Administrator
Michael Steel – Director of . . . — Map (db m29022) HM|
|Arkansas (Carroll County), Eureka Springs — Eureka Springs Historical Museum — Established 1971 in Calif House|
This three-story limestone building with metal-clad roof enclosing the top story was constructed in 1889 by Samuel L. Calif. For fifty years it served as a residence, general merchandise store, and boarding house. About 1948 the building was converted for use as a meeting hall for the B.P.O.E., and was known as the Elks Lodge until 1970 when the organization relocated.
Since 1947 the original Ozark Folk Festival is held annually in Eureka Springs, directed by a non-profit corporation . . . — Map (db m90699) HM
|Arkansas (Carroll County), Eureka Springs — Spanish-American and World War Veterans Memorial|
In memory of our deceased
World War Veterans
of Carroll County
United Spanish War
1898 — Map (db m59973) HM|
|Arkansas (Sebastian County), Fort Smith — Our Confederate Dead — 1861 - 1865|
[Title is text] — Map (db m92351) WM
|Arkansas (Sebastian County), Fort Smith — Purple Heart Memorial — Combat Wounded Veterans|
Dedicated to all men and women
wounded in all our wars.
My stone is red for the blood they shed.
The medal I bear is my country’s way
to show they care.
If I could be seen by all mankind
maybe peace will come in my lifetime. — Map (db m92352) WM
|Arkansas (Sebastian County), Fort Smith — United Spanish War Veterans Memorial — In Memoriam|
[Title is text] — Map (db m92357) WM
|Arkansas (Sebastian County), Fort Smith — Veterans Memorial Carillon|
AMVETS in conjunction with the
Citizens of the area
dedicated this carillon as a
living memorial to
who served their country honorably
for the Cause of Freedom
November 11, 1986
Fort Smith National Cemetery
Fort Smith, Arkansas
"...As these bells ring
...honored dead rest...freedom lives..." — Map (db m92342) WM
|Arkansas (Washington County), Fayetteville — Archibald Yell — In Memory Of|
Born near Salisbury, North Carolina, Aug. 1797
Volunteer in Battle of New Orleans, 1815
Member of Tennessee Legislature, 1827
Grand Master of Masons in Tennessee, 1831
District Judge of Arkansas Territory, 1832-1836
Charter Member of Washington Lodge F.&A.M., 1835
Charter Member of Far West Chapter No. 1, R.A. [Royal Arch] Masons, 1841
Member of Congress from Arkansas, 1836-1840, 1844-1846
Governor of Arkansas, 1840-1844
Colonel of Arkansas Volunteers
In War with Mexico, . . . — Map (db m59891) HM|
|California (Alameda County), Alameda — Alameda Lodge No. 1015|
|Alameda Lodge No. 1015 of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks was formed by 25 Alameda residents who were members of Oakland Lodge No. 171. The Lodge was instituted on March 17, 1906 and it received its charter from the Grand Lodge on July 20, 1906. The original Lodge building which the members built on September 27, 1908, still stands behind the southeast corner of this building. This current Lodge building was designed by Lodge member Charles E.J. Rogers, Exaulted (sic) Ruler W.O. . . . — Map (db m79864) HM|
|California (Alameda County), Berkeley — 908 — Berkeley City Club|
|The Berkeley City Club, organized in 1927, was one of the area’s earliest attempts by women to social, civic and cultural progress. The building, constructed in 1929, is one of the outstanding works of noted California architect Julia Morgan, whose successful interpretation of Moorish and Gothic elements in this monumental structure created a major landmark of California design. — Map (db m15885) HM|
|California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Elks Club Building — Walter H. Ratcliff, Architect — 1913|
|City of Berkeley Landmark
designated in 1991
Berkeley’s Elks Club, the 1002nd Chapter of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, was founded in 1905, just in time for members to assist those displaced by the 1906 San Francisco Earthquake. Later they helped wartime survivors and needy children.
This is one of many Ratcliff buildings in Berkeley. Classical Revival style pilasters at corner bays, the projecting cornice, and oversized oak doors are in the tradition of men’s clubs of . . . — Map (db m54262) HM|
|California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Framåt Lodge #405 — Sanford G. Jackson, Architect 1927 — City of Berkeley Landmark, designated in 1997|
|Berkeley’s large immigrant population in the late 19th and early 20th centuries included many natives of Sweden. The local chapter of the Swedish-American Vasa Order constructed this building as a lodge hall and cultural center. On November 8, 1927, Prince William of Sweden laid the cornerstone, proclaiming, “Through the magic of the melting pot you are becoming Americans and I can only admonish you to be good Swedes but even better Americans,” Framåt, the name of both the chapter . . . — Map (db m52386) HM|
|California (Alameda County), Hayward — I.D.E.S. Council Hayward #14 — Irmandade do Divino Espirito Santo — Brotherhood of the Divine Holy Spirit|
| A Portuguese-American fraternal benefit society receiving members of all nationalities established in the State of California in 1889 to assist widows and orphans. This local chapter, Council #14, was organized on April 23, 1898, by its founder and first president, J.D. Oliveira, a native of Pico, Azores, a Hayward resident and proprietor of the Farmer's Saloon on "B" Street from the 1890's until Prohibition. J.S. Oliveira donated this property to I.D.E.S. for the purchase price of a ten . . . — Map (db m94557) HM|
|California (Alameda County), Hayward — NSGW Hall - Eden Parlor No. 113 — Former Site|
|This is the former site of
Eden Parlor No. 113 N.S.G.W. Hall
1890 to 1936 — Map (db m94223) HM|
|California (Alameda County), Oakland — Live Oak Lodge U.D|
|This Monument marks the
approximate location of a building
in the loft of which
Live Oak Lodge U.D.
Free and Accepted Masons of Calif.
was instituted on Aug. 19. 1854
That meeting was the beginning of
Masonic activities in Alameda County — Map (db m71213) HM|
|California (Alameda County), San Leandro — Masonic Temple|
|On August 21, 1909, the cornerstone (containing the lists of the Grand Officers and past Masters of Eden Lodge, documents relating to the new temple, copies of local newspapers, old coins and a Bible that had been carried by John Hamilton through three years of the Civil War) was laid by the Most Worshipful Grand Master, William Frank Pierce, who was assisted by a staff of Grand Officers.
The three story building, built of pressed brick with marble fronts for stores, was completed April . . . — Map (db m54746) HM|
|California (Alameda County), San Leandro — Masonic Temple Building — 1910|
|The Masonic Temple Building was dedicated on April 15, 1910 and still serves as the home of Eden Lodge #113 of the Freemasons. The Eden Lodge was instituted in San Leandro in 1857, the first fraternal order established here. This three-story two-part commercial block building has an asymmetrical design and a rounded corner that serves as the building’s focal point. It is an example of a historic Masonic Temple and of commercial architecture in downtown San Leandro.
Fraternal organizations . . . — Map (db m54747) HM|
|California (Amador County), Ione — Ione Parlor No. 33, N.S.G.W.|
|This building, built in the year of 1854, was originally a hardware store on the ground floor and a dance hall on the upper floor.
Ione Parlor No. 33, N.S.G.W. bought the building in the year 1884 and has continuously owned it and met here ever since.
Grand Parlor Native Sons of the Golden West
March 11, 1971
David S. Mason III, GP and President
In memory of James D. Phelan, Senator — Map (db m2380) HM|
|California (Amador County), Jackson — 2010-08 — Excelsior Parlor 31 — Native Sons of the Golden West|
|Excelsior Parlor #31 was organized near this site on June 28, 1884. The building was the site of See & Marshall’s Circus lot in 1851, the Fireman’s Hall from 1850 through 1862 and Mat Ryan’s Saloon until purchased by the Native Sons of the Golden West. The conversion of the parlor into this two story building began in 1914. Construction was completed by the Native Son John Gubbins at a final cost of $7,715.67.
The new parlor building was dedicated on June 28, 1915, which was the 31st . . . — Map (db m71556) HM|
|California (Amador County), Jackson — 1 — Masonic Hall & Court House — No. 1 — Historic Main (Water) Street -Jackson|
|Oldest Jackson building used as Court House after '62 fire. Long home of Masonic Lodge #65 F&AM. 1854 — Map (db m85625) HM|
|California (Amador County), Jackson — 34 — Pioneer Hall|
The Order or Native Daughters
of the Golden West
was organized on these premises
The site of the
on September 1, 1886.
This tablet is placed
In memory of
the founding of the order
Ursula Parlor No. 1, N.D.G.W.
The Mother Parlor
April 12, 1932
The thirteen original signers (Sept. 11, 1886)
Lilly O. Reichling (Dyer), Founder
Ellen Boarman (Farrington) • Maggie Stasal • Rose Stasal • Nellie Fontenrose • Emma Boarman (Wright) . . . — Map (db m28039) HM|
|California (Amador County), Jackson — 20 — Union Hotel & Odd Fellows Hall Lodge #36 — No. 20 — Historic Main Street -Jackson|
|Civil War political rallies staged here. Longtime site of Wells Fargo Agency. 1863, 1904 — Map (db m81787) HM|
|California (Amador County), Jackson — Wells Fargo & Co. Express and Banking Office — Erected 1855|
Dedicated to the pioneers
of California by the
Kit Carson Mountain Men
of Jackson, Amador County
June 18, 1949
An estimated $100,000,000 in
gold was handled
by this office.
Plaque provided by
Wells Fargo Bank
Union Trust Co.
Established 1852 — Map (db m27859) HM|
|California (Amador County), Sutter Creek — Levaggi Opera House|
|The front building built in 1860. The opera house was built on back in 1892 by John and Michael Levaggi, early pioneers and stone masons from Italy. Bricks used were kilned east of Sutter Creek and hauled to the site by twelve mule team. Amapola Parlor No. 80 N.D.G.W.was instituted here on April 27, 1894. The building served as an opera house for 35 years. — Map (db m29814) HM|
|California (Amador County), Volcano — Volcano Masonic Cave|
|In Memory of the Bryant Brothers
Clemens E. Bryant, Thomas L. Bryant,
Roy Bryant and Walter F. Bryant
Whose surviving relatives deeded this property
to Volcano Lodge No. 56 F. & A. M. on June 20, 1962.
Our pioneer brethren held five meetings in this
cave in 1853 when they were organizing the
Volcano Masonic Lodge.
Dedicated May 6, 1967 — Map (db m15824) HM|
|California (Butte County), Forbestown — Forbestown Lodge No. 50 F.& A.M|
|St. Louis No. 86, Polar Star No. 90
Jefferson No. 97, Gibsonville No. 151
Forbestown Lodge No. 50 F.& A.M.
chartered May 3, 1854
The slab below relic of
St. Louis Lodges, St. Louis, Sierra County, California
A.L. 5857 – A.D. 1857 — Map (db m61684) HM|
|California (Butte County), Oroville — Oroville Masonic Temple|
On the 8th day of May
In the year 2006
Oroville Lodge No. 103 F.&A.M.
In the State of California
Did celebrate 150 years
In Oroville, California
Dispensation: April 4, 1856
Chartered: May 8, 1856 — Map (db m17781) HM|
|California (Butte County), Oroville — Site of First Oroville Bank|
|McWilliams & Tymeson
Wells Fargo & Company
First Brick Bldg in Oroville
Fraternal Order of Eagles No. 196
(Seal of the American Revolution Bicentennial 1776-1976) — Map (db m65906) HM|
|California (Calaveras County), Angels Camp — Independent Order of Odd Fellows Building — 1887|
Hope Lodge No. 33
Gold Quartz Rebekah No. 219
Calaveras Encampment No. 18
Ladies Encampment No. 18
Princess Parlor No. 84
Native Daughters of the Golden West
Est. 1895 — Map (db m19325) HM|
|California (Calaveras County), Copperopolis — Congregational Church|
|The church was purchased from J. M. Pike at a cost of 12,000 dollars and dedicated on June 23rd 1866 by the Rev. Mr. Beckwith of San Francisco. The first minister was the Rev. M. A. Starr; however, the church experienced a decline in membership due to the shutting down of the mines, and it was leased to the Presbyterian Church for several years. It was again used by the Congregational Church from 1874 – 1895. In 1903, the Mineral Lodge I. O. O. F. purchased the building and re-fitted the . . . — Map (db m56523) HM|
|California (Calaveras County), Copperopolis — Copperopolis Armory|
|Copperopolis Armory, built by public subscription in 1866 for 8,000 dollars, was used by the Union Guard for enlisting and training troops. In 1866 it was sold to the Copperopolis Armory Hall Association for 800 dollars in gold and was used for Congregational and Methodist Church services, public meetings, balls and rallies.
The property was purchased by the Mineral Lodge, I.O.O.F. in 1874 and used as a lodge until 1903. Copperopolis Community Center purchased the Armory in 1948. — Map (db m13003) HM|
|California (Calaveras County), Milton — Milton Masonic Hall|
|Keystone Lodge No.161, F. & A. M, instituted in Copperopolis, Dec. 19, 1862, at the height of the copper mining boom. Moved 1881, to Milton, the terminal of the Stockton & Copperopolis Railroad, which, because of the collapse of copper mining, never reached its intended goal. Dedicated to those who sought to perpetuate the moral teachings of Freemasonry. To them we gratefully acknowledge out debt.
Grand Lodge F. & A.M. of . . . — Map (db m19758) HM|
|California (Calaveras County), Mokelumne Hill — Mokelumne Hill|
|Beneath this spot in 1851, Joe H. Zumwalt established the first chapter of the Ancient and Honorable Order of E Clampus Vitus. On his way West, Zumwalt discovered an amusing ritual in the newspaper office at Bowling Green, Mo. Arriving in Moke Hill in 1851, he observed that the miners needed a humorous outlet. Chapter #1001 was chartered in an unoccupied community jail. From here the idea of E.C.V. spread like wildfire in the diggins. Let all Clampers, Frolicking Friars and Vituscan . . . — Map (db m45976) HM|
|California (Calaveras County), Murphys — E Clampus Vitus — ECV Wall of Comparative Ovations|
|During the Gold Rush Days of California the organization known as E Clampus Vitas flourished throughout the gold diggings. It was sort of a parody of the solemn and mysterious fraternal orders then so popular in the states. Every member held an office of equal indignity. It was said that E Clampus Vitus existed for the purpose of promoting the welfare of widows and orphans, especially the widows. Early newspaper articles prove their deeds actually did aid needy families. Primarily, however, it . . . — Map (db m31275) HM|
|California (Calaveras County), Murphys — Independent Order of Odd Fellows Hall|
|Built 1901, on land donated by Joseph Heinsdorff, Sr., for use by the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. The two-storied shiplap-sided structure was constructed with locally milled lumber, using large stones as foundation. In 1991, the stones were replaced with a concrete foundation. The Odd Fellows met in the upstairs room until 1972. The Lutheran Church of America then used the hall for a period of time. Around 1977, it was sold to Tom Karsh. In 1978, it was purchased by Historic Building . . . — Map (db m32860) HM|
|California (Calaveras County), Murphys — Masonic Hall|
|Under dispensation Ophir Lodge No. 33 Free and Accepted Masons was permitted to meet at “early candle light” in private homes within a radius of five miles. The Lodge was instituted in January and chartered May 6th 1853. Original, one-storied building erected early in 1862. Present hall built in 1902. The is one of the oldest lodges in California. It has had but four treasurers in its first 99 years of existence. B.B. Wilkins 2 years, A.H. Putney 5 years, Riley Senter 42 years, and M.H. Manuel 50 years. — Map (db m16055) HM|
|California (Calaveras County), Murphys — Native Sons of the Golden West|
|Chispa Parlor No. 139 was chartered April 10, 1889, dissolved April 25, 1896, and reorganized March 14, 1905.
This site was first occupied circa 1860 by the Independent Order of Good Templars, a group dedicated to the prohibition of liquor and tobacco. The original hall was deeded to the Literary and Dramatic Association in 1894 and to Chrispa Parlor in 1905. That structure was destroyed by fire on March 11, 1989 and rebuilt and completed December 1991. — Map (db m33008) HM|
|California (Calaveras County), Murphys — Site of E.C.V. Saloon|
|Near this spot the “E.C.V. Saloon” stood in 1853. Believed to be the only E. Clampus Vitus (miners’ fun fraternal order) saloon officially recorded. — Map (db m32875) HM|
|California (Calaveras County), Murphys — William Gordon Huff — E Clampus Vitus Wall of Comparative Ovations|
|William Gordon Huff
1903 ~ 1993
Sublime Nobel Grand Patriarch
Grand Clamp Artist
Visionary • Artist • Sculpture
Bill conceived, named, and created
E Clampus Vitus Wall of Comparative Ovations
as a memorial to portray early legends of the Grand Council and to recognize its early leaders. All plaques (memorial portraits and inscriptions) were handcrafted in ceramic and were affixed to the wall by Clampartist Huff. Many of his earliest non-Clamper commissions (from Maine . . . — Map (db m31195) HM|
|California (Colusa County), Colusa — 2 — I.O.O.F. Building|
Colusa Heritage Marker 2
May 6, 1977 — Map (db m27648) HM|
|California (Contra Costa County), Antioch — F & AM - Antioch-Brentwood Lodge #175 Building|
|This plaque commemorates 140 continuous years of Masonry in Antioch and the 100th anniversary of this building. The building was constructed as the Belshaw Theater in 1905. It was purchased by the Antioch Masonic Lodge in 1923 and modified to serve as a traditional Masonic meeting place. It continues to serve in that capacity. Brentwood Masonic Lodge #345 F & A M merged with the Antioch Lodge in 1989 to become Antioch-Brentwood Lodge #175 F & A M. This facility is shared with several concordant . . . — Map (db m37579) HM|
|California (Contra Costa County), Antioch — The Woman's Club of Antioch|
|Eleven women founded the Woman's Club of Antioch in February, 1902. They pledged to "improve and beautify the town, to do any business which shall promote the educational, industrial, benevolent, social or political welfare of its members or the community at large."
These women spearheaded the first high school, first library, city park, paved streets and municipal water-sewer system. This lot was purchased in 1904; cardboard shingle sales for a dime built the permanent clubhouse in 1910. . . . — Map (db m93605) HM|
|California (Contra Costa County), Danville — The Grange and Fraternal Hall (1874) — 233 Front Street — Danville Heritage Resource No. 8|
|The Danville Grange was a farmers' association and the hub of the community in the late 1800's and early 1900's. The Grange was instrumental in bringing many improvements to the valley over the years, such as San Ramon Valley High School, a public library, streetlights, and the railroad. The Grange provided social life for farm families isolated on their farms. There were potlucks and dances on Saturday nights. Harvest feasts were held at the Grange Park located in front of the hall. The . . . — Map (db m93671) HM|
|California (Contra Costa County), Richmond — Women's Westside Improvement Club|
|Established July 7, 1908, for the purpose of improving the quality of life in Point Richmond, the Women's Westside Improvement Club is responsible for the original Indian statue fountain, a reading room that became the Westside Branch Library, this rose garden and the Janis Playground at the corner of Nicholl and Washington Avenues.
This plaque commemorates its centennial year of 2008 and more than one hundred years of continuous community service including this at Washington School. — Map (db m94711) HM|
|California (Contra Costa County), Walnut Creek — 172 — Masonic Temple — 1604 Mt. Diablo Blvd. — 1916|
|Walnut Creek Masonic Lodge - founded around 1873 - built its Masonic Temple in 1916. Previously, the group met on Main Street. The building was expanded in 1953. It closed as a Temple in 1984 and was remodeled for commercial use. — Map (db m93945) HM|
|California (Contra Costa County), Walnut Creek — 163 — Women's Club of Walnut Creek Clubhouse — Lincoln Avenue at Carmel Drive — 1937|
|Two blocks east is the clubhouse of the Women's Club - the town's first service club, founded in 1911. Among the Club's accomplishments, the group secured the Carnegie Library Foundation grant for the 1916 library. The Women's Club sold its clubhouse in 1997 and disbanded in 2000. — Map (db m93811) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Coloma — Odd Fellows Hall|
|Built in 1854 by the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, this hall was also shared with religious organizations of the Coloma community. The I.O.O.F. was only one of the many fraternal lodges that were active during the 1850s in Coloma and in most mining towns. Today, Coloma Lodge No.27, is the second oldest Odd Fellows lodge operating in El Dorado County. Rebekah Lodge No.114 shares in the operation of the hall for community events and weekly meetings. — Map (db m17143) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Diamond Springs — Diamond Springs I.O.O.F. No. 09 Lodge Hall|
|The oldest fraternal edifice in continuous use on the West Coast. Built on this hillside, not on the main street as in the usual practice for the era. It avoided the ravages of fire which razed the town of Diamond Springs on several occasions. Dedicated to the fraternal spirit of the ‘49ers who truly embodied the precepts of friendship, loyalty, and charity, by Placerville Parlor No. 9.
Native Sons of the Golden West
Joseph L. Neitzel, Grand President
March 16, 1991
In Memory of James D. Phelan — Map (db m19263) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Diamond Springs — Odd Fellows Hall|
|Erected in 1852 by
Diamond Springs Lodge No.9
Oldest building in constant use
By the Odd Fellows in California
Dedicated to the memory of the
Pioneer Odd Fellows
Of El Dorado County by
Marguerite Parlor No.12
Native Daughters of the Golden West
May 28, 1939 — Map (db m19264) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), El Dorado — Hiram No.43 Masonic Building|
|Hiram Lodge No.43: Free and Accepted Masons, was chartered in the town of Mud Springs, as it was ten called, May 16, 1854. The Lodge met in rented buildings until the completion of this brick edifice in 1862.
On September 17, 1923 a fire destroyed most of the town, including this building. The building was rebuilt using the original bricks. The Masons met in the I.O.O.F. Hall in Diamond Springs at no charge until moving back here on March 26, 1925.
This building is dedicated to the memory . . . — Map (db m12396) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Georgetown — 17 — Balsar House / I.O.O.F Hall|
[Three small markers are mounted on the front of the building:]
A hotel built in 1850 by
Remodeled for an opera house in 1870. Restored by the Independent Order Odd Fellows and used as a meeting place by fraternal orders.
Erected 1859 by a butcher Joseph Olmstead
Erected at a cost of $15,000
In 1889 it was bought by I.O.O.F.
Balsar . . . — Map (db m54812) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Georgetown — Georgetown - Pride of the Sierra / Growlersburg / E Clampus Vitus|
Pride of the Sierras
Georgetown was founded in 1849 by George Phipps, a member of a party of sailors prospecting for gold, who first pitched his tent near the head of what is now known as Empire Canyon. George's town quickly developed into a center of commerce, providing supplies to gold miners working the many claims in the region.
Within Georgetown a small community in the lower area of town became known as Growlersburg, and was inhabited by those . . . — Map (db m54773) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Pilot Hill — 551 — California’s First Grange Hall|
|Pilot Hill Grange No.1, of 29 charter members: Master, F. D. Brown; Secretary, A. J. Bayley; was organized August 10, 1870. The Grange Hall, dedicated at this site November 23, 1880, was built by Alcander A. Bayley — Map (db m11607) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Placerville — History of Old Town Center|
|The Masonic Building was built by S.G. Beach and Company in the fall of 1893 for the Placerville Masonic Hall Association, using 85,000 first quality bricks shipped from Sacramento. It housed some of the finest legal talent in the county, attorneys such as Charles Swisler who served in the state legislature beginning in 1895 and George H. Blanchard, a legislature and the foremost mining attorney in the area. The lodge rooms were upstairs.
1853 – 1856- The site of the . . . — Map (db m35590) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Placerville — Morning Star #20 I.O.O.F Lodge Building|
|Morning Star Lodge #20 was instituted February 9, 1854. The Lodge met for several years on the second floor of a 48 x 24 foot hillside building near here. In 1859, the members erected a building on this site. On May 15th, 1910, a fire started in the woodshed behind the County Court House and both buildings were destroyed.
The members rebuilt this current edifice which was completed December 6th, 1911. That evening, the members hosted a Grand Ball on the newly installed spring floor, the . . . — Map (db m35518) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Placerville — Swift Berry — “Mr. Clamper”|
|Born Nebraska 1887. Educated Biltmore Forest School, North Carolina. Began career 1908 in California with U.S.F.S.
Major U.S. Army A.E.F. 1917 – 1919
Michigan California Lumber Co. 1925 – 1949
California State Senator 1952 – 1960
We salute our esteemed Clampatriarch and Clamproctor,
Historian, Forester, Banker and Tireless Civic Leader
A “MAN TO MATCH OUR MOUNTAINS.” — Map (db m57974) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Placerville — The Druid Monument|
|The Druids of California
in this State
A. D. 1859
Presented to the City of Placerville
Sept. 5, 1926 — Map (db m16460) HM|
|California (Fresno County), Coalinga — Cheney Bros. Building — 1906 – 1983 — Founders: Frank, Tom Walter and Jonathan Guy Cheney|
|In 1906, Coalinga was a boom town and there was a great need for blacksmithing and transporting. So the Cheney family decided to move to Coalinga from Cheney’s Grove, Illinois by way of Petaluma and Maricopa, Calif.
The Cheney Bros. started with a small building at 138 West Elm St. The business specialized in blacksmithing, a livery stable, and “teaming.” That is, moving and transporting of heavy equipment. In a few months they moved to 231 W. Elm to enlarge their business. . . . — Map (db m63889) HM|
|California (Fresno County), Coalinga — Coalinga Woman’s Club — Zenith Hall|
|January 1905, Mrs. Anria Kerr invited ten lay friends to meet at her home to form the “Coalinga Ladies Improvement Club.” Their goal was to “promote harmony and improve social and civic needs.” In 1907 they joined the General and California Federation of Womans Clubs.
The club was active in planting trees, naming streets, supporting the library, city parks and Coalinga schools. The Halpensis Pine, known as “Coalinga’s Christmas Tree” was planted as one of . . . — Map (db m64020) HM|
|California (Humboldt County), Eureka — N.S.G.W. Hall|
|This historic building was erected in 1887 by L.T. Kinsey and sold to the Society of Humboldt County Pioneers in 1890. On June 15, 1897 it was purchased by Humboldt Parlor No. 14 N.S.G.W. — Map (db m71970) HM|
|California (Humboldt County), Ferndale — 2009-8 — "Poppa Joe's"|
|Erected in the early 1870s, this magnificent structure was a drug store. In 1877 it became known as the Alford Drug Store until 1886. In 1879, Wells Fargo and Co. established an express station in the Alford Drug Store and maintained it through 1884. From 1886 until 1897 it was the Ferndale Lodge #220 IOOF, Michel’s Drug Store and the Bonetti Jewelry Store.
It became a saloon in 1897 through 1919 when it changed to a billiard and pool parlor due to prohibition. In 1925 it became known as . . . — Map (db m71959) HM|
|California (Humboldt County), Ferndale — 137-07 — "The Danish Hall"|
|Originally constructed as a warehouse in July of 1902; known as the A. Berding Warehouse and housed many businesses. In 1919 Hampton C. Blum acquired the warehouse. In January 1929, The Danish Hall Committee started considerations for pu(r)chase. The purchase price was set at $2,250.00 not including furnishings or remodel costs. On August 6, 1929, the Fjeldronning Lodge #131 Danish Sisterhood Society Dannebrog Lodge #10 Ydun acquired the property. The Danish Hall was officially dedicated on . . . — Map (db m71939) HM|
|California (Humboldt County), Ferndale — Danish Hall|
|The original building was constructed in the late 1800’s as a warehouse for A. Berding, pioneer merchant. Remodeled in 1929, it became the meeting hall for the various Danish lodges. It also serves as the meeting hall of the Native Sons and Daughters of the Golden West.
Valhalla Lodge #11 Dania…..June 2, 1893
Gimle Lodge #95……..June 23, 1896
Ydun Lodge #10……November 2, 1912
Fjelddronning Lodge #131…..January 7, 1913
Ferndale Parlor Native Sons Golden West #93…September 15, 1886 . . . — Map (db m71942) HM|
|California (Humboldt County), Ferndale — 1 — Ferndale Masonic Hall|
|Dedicated March 19, 1891
Organized October 2?, 1868 with fifteen members Ferndale Lodge #193 F. & A.M. received its charter the following year. Meetings were held upstairs over the Dodge Store until 1870 when the first lodge hall was built on the west side of Main Street. Later, this building was shared with the Odd Fellows. In 1891, it was sold to the Odd Fellows and the present hall erected.
Ferndale Lodge #193 F. & A.M.
October 14, 1869
Ferndale Chapter #23 Order of the Eastern . . . — Map (db m71931) HM|
|California (Imperial County), Holtville — Imperial Valley Swiss Club|
|From their arrival in Fall, 1901, Swiss and their "Americans of Swiss Descent" have contributed greatly to the ethnic diversity of this valley. Their Schwingfests since 1921 and this club since 1924 have celebrated both their ancestral traditions and their pride in American accomplishments. — Map (db m42435) HM|
|California (Inyo County), Lone Pine — Lone Pine Film Museum|
|This Plaque Presented to The Beverly and Jim Rogers Lone Pine Film Museum to Honor Masons and Shriners.
Dedicated to all Masons and Shriners who appeared in movies filmed in the Alabama Hills, Lone Pine and surrounding areas. Presented by Kerak Shrine and Inyo Mono Shrin Club. Steve Sanders, Potentate & Bob Hayner, President
October 2007 — Map (db m72578) HM|
|California (Kern County), Bakersfield — Fraternal Hall|
To entertain men seeking their fortunes in mining boom towns, social clubs and fraternal organizations held meetings and offered other diversions in Kern County’s mining communities.
The exhibits on display in this building contain artifacts from various fraternal organizations in Kern County. The upstairs portion of this building is refurbished as a Masonic Lodge Hall with the cooperation of local organizations. The cubicles on the lower floor house exhibit regalia from Elks, . . . — Map (db m26006) HM|
|California (Lake County), Lower Lake — Clearlake Lodge #130 I.O.O.F.|
|In January of 1867 the Clearlake Lodge #30 I.O.O.F. was organized in Lower Lake. The hall was built in 1868. The Lodge originally has 7 members, D.M. Hanson being the first Noble Grand. — Map (db m42337) HM|
|California (Lake County), Upper Lake — The IOOF Hall|
|The International Order of Odd Fellows Lodge #241 established themselves in Upper Lake in 1876. The present structure was completed in 1898 at a cost for land and building of $3,109.02. This mutual aid society hosted numerous activities through the years serving as bowling alley, theatre and center for the annual Strawberry Ice Cream Social. This is the longest continuously running Odd Fellows Hall in Lake County. — Map (db m55398) HM|
|California (Lassen County), Susanville — Lassen Lodge No. 149 F.&A.M|
|Commemorating the centennial of Lassen Lodge No. 149 F.&A.M., March 21, 1961 and in memory of Isaac N. Roop, ardent Free Mason, founder of Susanville, first Governor of the provisional Territory of Nevada, civic leader and friend of Man, and John S. Ward, first Master of Lassen Lodge, who was wounded in this place during the "Sagebrush War." — Map (db m87783) HM|
|California (Lassen County), Susanville — Migration of Peter Lassen|
|“We do not know the exact date on which Peter Lassen arrived in America. Let us suppose that he landed in the early spring of 1831. Most reports say that Lassen arrived in Boston, Massachusetts. Also his passport had Boston written as the destination. Besides, this town was at that time one of the most important immigrant gateways.
“In Boston, Lassen got his first impression of his newly adopted country, America. He must of felt confused by hearing all the different tongues: . . . — Map (db m31741) HM|
|California (Lassen County), Westwood — Westwood Masonic Lodge|
|This building was built in 1925 by George Peltier and was funded by The Red River Logging Company. The building housed the Free and Accepted Masons and was known as Westwood Lodge #502 F.&A.M. It has been a gathering place of friends and families for 80 years. It was sold in December 2003 and is now home of the Dyer Mountain Associates. — Map (db m66082) HM|
|California (Los Angeles County), Culver City — 5 — American Legion Building|
|A portion of the original Spanish landgrant Rancho La Ballona
The American Legion Post #46 clubhouse was dedicated on August 9, 1930. Contractor Don S. Ely erected the building on this site over the first swimming pool in the area, on land donated for this purpose by Harry H. Culver. The structure was restored by new owner, Brotman Medical Center, and re-opened in 1984. — Map (db m49954) HM|
|California (Los Angeles County), Norwalk — American Legion Norwalk Post 359|
Historical Landmark — Map (db m65828) HM|
|California (Mariposa County), Hornitos — MRP - 001 — Hornitos Masonic Hall — Point of Historical Interest|
|This building was constructed C. 1855 of native schist rock. It was purchased in August 1873 by the Freemasons of Hornitos Lodge No. 98, and since early 1875, continue to meet here. The Lodge was originally chartered as Quartzburg Lodge No. 98 on May 8, 1856, and met in Quartzburg. This building is the smallest Masonic Hall in California. Its lodgeroom is only 17’-6” by 29’-6’’, and has seem visitors from around the world. — Map (db m46900) HM|
|California (Mariposa County), Hornitos — NRHP 05000 — Hornitos Masonic Hall No. 98 — National Register of Historic Places|
|This restored Masonic Hall is recognized for the significant community involvement of its members from 1873 to 1930. The Freemasons owned stores and hotels, served as town and county officials, worked as miners and engineers and supported Hornitos from their farms and ranches. Their Masonic philosophy of personal improvement and community betterment created a positive influence in Hornitos.
Listed August 3, 2005 — Map (db m46899) HM|
|California (Mariposa County), Mariposa — Mariposa Independent Order Odd Fellows Hall|
|Built 1867 to replace original building. Used by Mariposa County fraternal organizations since then. — Map (db m46442) HM|
|California (Mendocino County), Ukiah — IOOF Lodge #174|
| This wonderful example of Italianate style was built in 1882 and expanded in 1906, adding more offices, a dining room, kitchen and bathrooms.
The Ukiah chapter of IOOF was formed in 1870 and their building was the grandest structure of its time. It is one of the oldest and most original structures in the downtown.
These lodges were open to any man, hence the name Odd Fellows. The provided burials for their members, family insurance and socialization. IOOF became an important cultural . . . — Map (db m80696) HM|
|California (Mono County), Bodie — Return to Bodie|
|During the California gold rush, E Clampus Vitus was a fraternal order and benevolence society for miners. It was rumored to be one of the secret societies in the town of Bodie during its heyday.
Today, ECV is dedicated to the preservation of California history and accordingly, members of the present day Bodie chapter were instrumental in preserving the town as a historical landmark. With their help in 1956, legislation was drafted to add Bodie to the state park system. By 1962 the process . . . — Map (db m8493) HM|
|California (Mono County), Bridgeport — Mono County Memorial Hall — Alta Lodge No. 333|
|Alta Lodge No. 333, Free and Accepted Masons was chartered on October 15. 1897.
The original lodge hall was in the brick building at the corner of Hwy. 395 and Hayes Street. The Lodge moved to this location in 1955. An ever changing society caused Alta Lodge to consolidate with Winnedumah Lodge No. 287 in Bishop in 1986. — Map (db m49958) HM|
|California (Monterey County), Monterey — Grand Procrastination|
|This simple bronze plaque honoring the work of John Steinbeck was sculptured in 1938 by William Gordon Huff. It was dedicated that same year by noted Western historian Dr. Charles L. Camp with all the unwavering oratorical profundity which traditionally distinguishes this ancient and honorable order.
It took 47 years, however, to get around to mounting it. Credo Quia Absurdum.
Rededicated and mounted at last on this 13th day of July, 1985
Chapter No. 1
Monterey . . . — Map (db m54906) HM|
|California (Monterey County), Pacific Grove — J. H. King Memorial|
| Last member of
Lucius Fairchild Post
G.A.R. 179 — Map (db m41614) HM|
|California (Napa County), St. Helena — NSGW & Historic District|
|The Native Sons of the Golden West Hall has served for more than a century as a gathering place and social center of community activity within St. Helena. It is situated just outside the SW edge of the St. Helena Historic Commercial District, which begins to the north and east of this building and encompasses the entire commercial downtown on both sides of Main Street. Main Street is set off by three-globed cast-iron street lamps from the 1915 Panama-Pacific Exposition, adding to the classic small-town feel of St. Helena. — Map (db m55661) HM|
|California (Napa County), St. Helena — Richie Block|
A fine example of Victorian architecture, this building was erected in 1892 by M. G. Richie. For many years it has served the city’s business community. In 1893 the hall and banquet rooms upstairs were leased to Saint Helena Lodge No. 93 Free & Accepted Masons.
The Lodge purchased the building in 1972. — Map (db m54543) HM|
|California (Nevada County), Grass Valley — Madison Lodge No. 23 F. & A.M. — 1852 [Logo] 2002 — Masonry in Grass Valley|
|Madison Lodge #23 was established under dispensation from the Grand Lodge of California on May 4th 1852. Its permanent charter was issued on May 5th 1853. Madison Lodge held its first two meetings at the old Columbus School on the present site of Hennessy School. The Lodge moved to a building on the south side of Main St. where it now meets Auburn St. This wooden building was destroyed along with most of Grass Valley in the great fire of September 12 and 13, 1855. A few days later, the Masons . . . — Map (db m48685) HM|
|California (Nevada County), Nevada City — Malakoff Diggins Clampicnic Area|
|This picnic area, sponsored by Wm. Bull Meek-Wm. Morris Steward Chapter Number 10, E Clampus Vitus, is for the enjoyment of all. The redwood lumber for the tables came from Nevada City's Christmas Tree, a Sequoiadendron Giganteum and continues to serve the residents and visitors of Nevada County.
Dedicated October 1, 1966 — Map (db m857) HM|
|California (Nevada County), Nevada City — Masonry in the Gold County|
|The year was 1850 at a location not far from here. The first Masonic Lodge meeting was held under a Charter from state of Wisconsin. Lafayette Lodge #29 was born, the years following in 1851 & 1863 a major part of which was to be known as Nevada City was destroyed by fires. By this time California was a State and a new Lodge of California Charter was established as Nevada #13 F&AM in 1851. At this location the first masonry structure was built in 1852 as a store. The 1863 fire destroyed this . . . — Map (db m40272) HM|
|California (Nevada County), Nevada City — North Pine & Commercial — Site of Former Nevada City Elks Lodge|
|After constructing a second-story meeting hall above two existing 19th century commercial buildings, the Nevada City Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks #518 dedicated its first lodge at this location on June 14, 1913. The lodge hall and street-level storefronts served the community until a devastating fire broke out on the morning of March 20, 2002.
Property owners Ken & Kay Baker and Gary & Patti Tintle then initiated a reconstruction program that has resulted in the current . . . — Map (db m40269) HM|
|California (Orange County), Buena Park — 43 — Buena Park Woman's Clubhouse|
|Since its establshment in a newly created Orange County (1889), the Buena Park Woman's Club has influenced the civic life of its community. The club helped establish a volunteer fire department in 1915, a library district in 1919, and the town's first electric street lights in 1910. This Spanish Revival clubhouse was built in 1931 with funds raised by members. From that time, it has served as a local social and cultural center. — Map (db m50036) HM|
|California (Orange County), Huntington Beach — Scout Cabin — City of Huntington Beach Historical Site|
|This rustic cabin was erected in 1924 by the Lions Club, local carpenters union and Edison Company as a center for scouting in Huntington Beach and has been in continuous use by Troop 1, Boy Scouts of America, ever since.
The cabin was completely renovated by the adults and friends of Troop 1 in 1974, and upon recognition of its historical significance to the community has been designated as a historical site by the City of Huntington Beach and preserved for scouting forever. — Map (db m59874) HM|
|California (Placer County), Auburn — GPY 135-9 — Auburn Native Sons Hall|
|Rebuilt in 1860 after a fire, George Willment resumed his mercantile business on the lower floor of this new fireproof building. The second floor was added at this time which was owned and operated by the Eureka Lodge #16 F&AM. In 1871, Willment sold his part of the building to David and Julia Lubeck and the business continued as a dry goods store. The downstairs usage was changed to an undertaker's parlor from 1896 to 1935. After the Masons moved to their uptown location, the upstairs was sold . . . — Map (db m67551) HM|
|California (Placer County), Auburn — G. Willment General Store|
Site G. Willment General Store
Second floor was Mason Lodge
Built 1852 – Burned 1855
Rebuilt & Dedicated Dec.,27, 1860
— Map (db m44075) HM|
|California (Placer County), Auburn — Odd Fellows Hall, Auburn Lodge #7 — Point of Historical Interest|
|Instituted in 1852, the first Odd Fellows Lodge organized in Placer County, seventh in California. Meetings were held in several different locations until this building was erected in 1894. Bricks used in construction were made and fired on this site. This hall is a notable architectural feature in Auburn. It continues to serve its original function as a lodge hall upstairs, with rental spaces below. — Map (db m31842) HM|
|California (Placer County), Auburn — Old Masonic Hall Erected 1860|
|Occupied by Eureka Lodge No. 16 F.A.M.
Much of the material and furnishings came to Auburn via Cape Horn S.A.
This plaque is dedicated to the Pioneers of Auburn by Auburn Parlor No. 232 Native Daughters of the Golden West
June 11, 1933 — Map (db m44071) HM|
|California (Placer County), Auburn — The Auburn Masonic Hall|
|The Auburn Masonic Hall was completed in 1917. Since completion it has been home to Eureka Lodge No.16, F. & A. M. The building is clad in beautiful terra cotta manufactured by the Placer County firm of Gladdin McBean. It is the last remaining historic building located on Auburn’s “Central Square”, which was built between 1900 and 1920. Now called The John H. Robinson Memorial Masonic Temple, the Temple is one of Auburn’s finest examples of the Beaux Arts style of architecture. — Map (db m31811) HM|
|California (Placer County), Colfax — Illinoistown Lodge No. 51|
|Free and Accepted Masons
Chartered by Grand Lodge of California
On May 6, 1854 at Illinoistown (about a half mile South of Colfax)
A special Central Pacific train brought the Sacramento Coronet Band and fifty guests for the Dedication of this building June 24, 1868.
This Plaque commemorates 150 years of Masonic fraternity in Colfax. — Map (db m45277) HM|
|California (Placer County), Colfax — IOOF Hall|
|Independent Order of Odd Fellows
Colfax Lodge No. 132
Instituted 18 April, 1867
This brick building
acquired and used by IOOF
since 26 August, 1889 — Map (db m45279) HM|
|California (Placer County), Lincoln — I O O F Building|
|Erected in 1864
By International Order of Odd Fellows
Originally 24 feet (front) by 80 feet (along alley)
Two stories high; outside stairway on alley side
expanded east to present size in 1905,
adding four windows and inside stairway
Many lodges met upstairs; Eastern Star,
IOOF, Native Daughters, Native Sons, Pythians,
Pocahantas, Rebekas, Redmen and others
Retail businesses were downstairs.
Well-known long term occupants
Dallman’s Drygoods, up to 1900
Beerman’s . . . — Map (db m17876) HM|
|California (Placer County), Newcastle — Newcastle Portuguese Hall|
Newcastle Portuguese Hall
has been placed on the
National Register of Historic Places
by the United States Department of the Interior. — Map (db m684) HM|
|California (Placer County), Rocklin — The Finnish Temperance Hall|
|This Hall Dedicated to:
The People From Finland
The Finnish Temperance
Society Who Built The
Hall in 1905
The United Finnish Kaleva
Brothers And Sisters
Lodge No. 5 Of Rocklin
California — Map (db m23388) HM|
|California (Placer County), Roseville — Eagles Hall|
Built in 1912, various businesses have occupied this building over the years, including Placer Savings, the Rainbow Club, Schmidt's Delicatessen and Dutra Liquors.
Known as Gordon Hall, the upstairs became a popular gathering place used by various community organizations.
The Roseville Chapter of the Fraternal Order of Eagles #1582 has continued that community tradition since purchasing the building in 1921.
Founded in 1907 the F.O.E. is a community and philanthropic organization . . . — Map (db m91386) HM|
|California (Plumas County), Beckwourth — Hope Lodge No. 234 F & AM|
|Originally built in 1875 and twice destroyed by fire, 1898 & 1909, this edifice continues a century of Masonic service to Sierra Valley.
Dedicated in the spirit of brotherhood Sept. 6, 1975 by Las Plumas del Oro Chapter, E Clampus Vitus — Map (db m56654) HM|
|California (Plumas County), Greenville — Sincerity Lodge 132 F.&A.M.|
|This historic building was built in 1878 by John McBeth and D.D. Compton, merchants, for use as a warehouse. As such it played an important role when Greenville’s two foundries, flour mill, sarsaparilla works, brickyard, wagon shop, and sawmill supplied the area.
Dedicated in the spirit of brotherhood, June 1971 by the Las Plumas Del Oro Chapter of E Clampus Vitus in recognition of the building’s long use by, and importance to, the fraternal orders of Indian Valley. — Map (db m56648) HM|
|California (Plumas County), La Porte — Reilly’s Saloon|
|Originally Burrel-Buckley, barn lot circa 1860, Jumbo Merian’s Grocery & Gas Station, 1930-1945, purchased by Frank C. Reilly, operator from 1945-1965. Frank C. Reilly was the first Humbug of FCR 5978, E Clampus Vitus and one of the very few that was still alive with a chapter carrying his name. — Map (db m56323) HM|
|California (Plumas County), Quincy — Forest Stationers — The Huskinson Block — 1850 - 1870|
|Built in 1876, it is one of the first permanent structures in the Quincy Business District. Businesses of this site included Cohn Bros. Dry Goods, U.S. Post Office, I.O.O.F. Lodge, E.C.V. Hall, National Forest Supervisors office, Quincy Hardware and Wells Fargo Bank, whose safe is still here. — Map (db m56386) HM|
|California (Plumas County), Quincy — Plumas Club|
|Built in 1914 as “Harvey’s Place” by Harvey Egbert. During Prohibition Ed Dory ran the Quincy Dairy Store & some slot machines here. Zola & Plumas “Plumie” Stokes bought the saloon from Egbert in 1947. In 1989 Plumie sold the building to Melody and Bob Zernich. Ancient photos indicate that ECV No. 8 has made it their “offishul” waterin’ hole. — Map (db m56529) HM|
|California (Plumas County), Quincy — Plumas Lodge No. 60 F&AM|
|This historic Masonic Temple built in 1855 is the oldest building in Quincy. — Map (db m56747) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Citrus Heights — Citrus Heights Community Club — Established 1928|
|This property was donated by Adolph and Catherine Van Maren to accommodate this one-room Sylvan School House constructed in 1862 and relocated to this site in 1927. This property was on the northeast side of the former Van Maren Ranch, which covered more than 1000 acres and was farmed continuously from 1854 to the 1980’s. The present building has undergone few changes from its original construction.
The property was donated so that The Citrus Heights Community Club could better serve the . . . — Map (db m46664) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Elk Grove — Independent Order of Odd Fellows — Elk Grove|
|The first I.O.O.F. meeting was held on
May 2, 1878. The first Rebekah meeting
was held on May 2, 1888. On July 7, 1892
The original building burned and was
rebuilt with the I.O.O.F taking ownership.
A rededication of the hall was
held on March 3, 1893.
Dedicated October 6, 2007
New Helvetia Chapter #5
E. Clampus Vitus — Map (db m18031) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Folsom — Folsom History Museum|
|Site of stables at Western terminus of Pony Express (1860-61), later used by blacksmith shops. Adjacent after 1892 fire, was built two - story Burke's Hall, a community center. Meeting place of Granite Parlor No.83, NSGW (1886-1958).
Dedicated February 23, 1991, to our pioneer fathers and mothers by Sunset Parlor No.26. — Map (db m77653) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Rancho Cordova — American River Grange #172|
Organized March 1874
Dedicated October 1882
Presented by Native Daughters of the Golden West
San Juan Parol #315
Rededicated 5-15-98 — Map (db m2033) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — Charles Duncombe, M.D. (1787 – 1862)|
|Dr. Duncombe was the first physician on record to come to Sacramento. A Native of Stanford, Connecticut, he moved to Upper Canada (now Ontario) to become a landowner and member of Parliament. Ontario’s first medical school, the Talbot Dyspensary at St. Thomas, was established by Dr. Duncombe and a Dr. Rolf. Both Dr. Duncombe and Dr. Rolf became leaders in the William Lyon Mackenzie Rebellion of 1837. This group of reformers tried unsuccessfully to unseat the system wherein the British . . . — Map (db m14105) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — General Albert M. Winn|
|This park is named in honor of
General Albert M. Winn
Founder of the Order of Native Sons of the Golden West
Born in Loudon County, Virginia, April 27th, 1810
Died in Sonoma, California, August 26th, 1883 — Map (db m13886) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — General Albert Maver Winn|
Gneral Albert Maver Winn
Founder of the Fraternal Order of
The Native Sons of the Golden West
To the California Pioneers
Rededicated and Restored
September 1969-April 1977-July 2004 — Map (db m12455) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — John Bigler — (1806 – 1871) — California’s Third Governor|
|Born in Cumberland County, Pennsylvania, January 8, 1806, John Bigler was the eldest of what was said to be “a numerous family of children.” As a young man, he was apprenticed to the printing trade and became one of the youngest editors of the Pittsburg Post. In 1826 Bigler became publisher of the paper he started with, the Centre Democrat and later entered the study of law in Ohio, and ultimately was drawn into politics.
John Bigler came overland across the plains . . . — Map (db m13069) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — Old Masonic Cemetery|
|Plot Size: 67” by 68’
In purchasing this site from the Board of Trustees, Sacramento City Cemetery, July 30, 1859, the Order of Free and Accepted Masons became the first fraternal organization in Sacramento to provide a private burial plot for its members – a cemetery within a cemetery. The Old Masonic was acquired in two sections, the last of which was purchased April 30, 1860, increased the plot to its present size and brought the total cost to the Masonic . . . — Map (db m14075) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — Old Odd Fellows Plot — The Independent Order of Odd Fellows|
|They were an order that inscribed upon their banners, “Visit the sick, relieve the distressed, and bury the dead.”
“To the benevolent – If there is any of that commodity called charity in this community, we earnestly call upon those possessing it to exercise it forthwith.”
So went out the plea to the Brotherhood in an editorial appeal that appeared in the Placer Times, August 18, 1849.
General Albert V. Winn was the first to move in this . . . — Map (db m12489) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — Pioneer Hall|
|Constructed in 1868. Headquarters of Sacramento Society of California Pioneers Founded 1854 Sacramento Pioneer Foundation Incorporated 1966
Plaque dedicated April 19, 1967 by Sacramento Historic Landmarks Commission Rededicated June 30, 1988 — Map (db m68630) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — Rededication of El Centro Mexicano Plaque — September 16, 2011|
| First panel:
The Comité Centro Mexicano commemorates the same respect and sense of equality dictated by this historical plaque. With great honor we re-dedicate it in honor of all humanity on this date.
From 1948 to 1975, El Centro Mexicano, adjacent to Southside Park at 2216 6th Street, was the primary community center for Sacramento's population of Mexican descent.
El Comité Centro Mexicano conmemora el mismo respeto y sentido de igualidad dictados en esta placa histórica. . . . — Map (db m91735) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — GPY 135-7 — Sacramento Pioneers Society|
|The Pioneer Hall was built in 1868 as headquarters of the Sacramento Society of California Pioneers, which was organized February 6, 1853. It has been owned and cared for since its construction by the California Pioneer Association, descendants of the original organizers who were among those who arrived in California prior to January 1, 1850. Nathaniel Goodell was the architect for many significant local buildings, most notably the Governor's Mansion on H Street. The Pioneer Hall was . . . — Map (db m68629) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — Sacramento Turn Verein|
|In 1854 Sacramento was prospering notably in spite of the floods, fires and epidemics that had besieged her. German-born citizens and men of German ancestry decided to organize a “Turn Verein”, as was the custom in their homeland. They circulated a proclamation and assembled on June 2, 1854 to establish the Sacramento Turn Verein.
In 1859 the Sacramento Turn Verein purchased a piece of property on K Street between 9th and 10th Streets where the first Turn Verein Hall was built . . . — Map (db m12527) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — The G.A.R. Memorial Plot|
|Sacramento City CemeteryThe GRAND ARMY OF THE REPUBLIC Memorial Plot was originally located in the New Helvetia Cemetery at the corner of 31st and J Streets, a plot donated to the Sumner Post No.3 by the owner and proprietor John Wesley Reeves. It was duly dedicated in 1865. Upon the death of Reeves in 1867, and the City’s acquisition of the New Helvetia facility, a plot of more appreciable size was offered to the G.A.R. in City Cemetery in exchange. The remains of Civil War veterans buried . . . — Map (db m12411) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Walnut Grove — Charles “Chuck” Tison — October 8, 1930 – September 24, 2002|
|Charles “Chuck” Tison and his wife Betty moved to Walnut Grove in 1956 where they raised four children who all attended local schools. In 1969 the couple formed the Ti-Gas Company, a LP Gas sales & service distributor which is still a vital part of the community. Known for his kindness and generosity, Chuck was very active in all of the local Delta communities, including local churches, schools and other community activities from Charlesburg to Rio Vista, Chuck Tison joined the . . . — Map (db m37402) HM|
|California (San Bernardino County), Ontario — WCTU Fountain|
|This fountain was built by the Women's
Christian Temperance Union and dedicated
to this City of Ontario on July 4th 1908, to
provide the town with "a drinking fountain
where only the pure, sparkling water
can be had at any time by the thirsty one."
It was originally located on the
northwest corner of the Holt ("A" St.) and
Euclid Avenue and was relocated on this
site to commemorate the Bicentennial Year on September 6th 1975 by the Ontario Parkway Kiwanis Club. — Map (db m37513) HM|
|California (San Diego County), Julian — F.L. Blanc Warehouse — 1906|
|Built by F.L.Blanc, Parson, Carpenter, Lumberman to store apple box "shook" for drying. When box making failed to pay, he turned it into his first store selling lumber, paint & "A small stock of luxuries." It was used as a rental in the 30's and moved 90˚ on the lot in early 40's. The Julian Woman's Club purchased it in 1942 for $350. Alice Blanc, Myrtle Botts & Mildred Redding signed the loan note. Wall reinforcement was done before country allowed it's use as a club house. A kitchen and more meeting space were added later. — Map (db m84775) HM|
|California (San Diego County), Poway — 1 — Templars Hall — Built 1886|
|Meeting place for the
of Good Templars
Served as Poway's
first high school
A place for social
and community events
Once was a thrift store and tack
and feed store — Map (db m74090) HM|
|California (San Diego County), San Diego — 77 — I.O.O.F. Building, 1882|
|A joint effort of the Masonic and Odd Fellows Lodges, this Classical Revival-style building required nearly a decade to complete due to a lack of money and materials. A parade kicked off the long awaited laying of the cornerstone, into which was placed a casket containing valuable coins, historic documents, and even a stone from Solomon’s Temple. The lodges shared the second floor until the Mason’s moved to a new hall in 1910. — Map (db m51620) HM|
|California (San Francisco City and County), San Francisco — "The Family"|
|“The Family”, one of San Francisco’s oldest and most distinctive social clubs, was founded on this site on April, 1902
This plaque dedicated on the Club’s centennial — Map (db m58397) HM|
|California (San Francisco City and County), San Francisco — B'nai Brith — Uptown Tenderloin Lost Landmarks|
B'nai Brith was one of the most vibrant Jewish institutions in San Francisco. It operated seven lodges by 1900. Regional headquarters on this site once housed an extensive library especially strong in Judaica. The Building was destroyed in the 1906 earthquake and fire.
Uptown Tenderloin Historic District — Map (db m91511) HM|
|California (San Francisco City and County), San Francisco — Native Sons Building|
|Originally dedicated Sept. 15, 1912
Rededicated on the 100th anniversary Sept. 16, 2012 in memory of those who had the foresight to construct this building.
James D. Phelan • Chas. M. Belshaw • Lewis F. Byington • Louis Nonnenmann • Adolph Eberhart • H.G.W. Dinkelspiel • Chas. D. Steiger • Joseph B. Keenan • Edward J. Lynch • Daniel F. Murden • William D. Hynes • William J. Wynn • T.B. Evans • George W. Lippmann • Angelo J. Rossi • Richard D. Barton • C.F. Buttle • . . . — Map (db m71900) HM|
|California (San Joaquin County), Farmington — Farmington Odd Fellows Lodge #296|
|Built in 1881, the building was bought by the newly instituted Lodge on July 11, 1882. The upstairs has served continuously as a meeting hall since then.
Dedicated on October 8, 1994 Tuleburgh Chapter #69, E Clampus Vitus — Map (db m16623) HM|
|California (San Joaquin County), Lodi — Woman's Club of Lodi|
|On May 20, 1988 this unique 1923 Roman style building was placed on the National Register of Historic Places.
In celebration we honor those women of vision who in 1906 started this club, first known as the Lodi Improvement Club. Their efforts helped to make Lodi the livable place it is today.
Rededicated October 22, 1988 — Map (db m91787) HM|
|California (San Mateo County), Pescadero — Methodist Episcopal Church of Pescadero|
|This Property Has Been
Placed On The
OF HISTORIC PLACES
By The United States
Department Of The Interior
National Register of Historic Places Statement of Significance:
Building/structure dates: 1890 initial construction
Significance: This streetscape illustrates the charming variety of nineteenth century architectural forms and styles which developed during a time of prosperity when the coastside town of Pescadero served as a major produce and lumber . . . — Map (db m12539) HM|
|California (San Mateo County), Redwood City — Alhambra Theater|
|The finest playhouse between San Francisco and San Jose opened here January 20, 1896. In 1921, the building was purchased by Redwood City Masonic Lodge which was instituted August 28, 1863. — Map (db m62625) HM|
|California (Santa Clara County), San Jose — Eagles Hall|
|Local Scottish Rite Masons built their hall on this site in 1909. Designed by George Page, it was a simple rectangular structure with a severe Greek Revival façade. When the Masons moved into the new Scottish Rite Temple in 1925, the vacated building was bought by the California Pioneers of Santa Clara County. It was eventually purchased by the Fraternal Order of Eagles, who occupied it until 1982. The building was demolished in 1984 to make way for new construction, only the entry portico, with its fine Doric columns, remains. — Map (db m30261) HM|
|California (Santa Clara County), San Jose — Gordon House|
|Welcome to the
Home of the Rotary Club of San Jose
Hanford Lennox Gordon was born in 1846 and over his lifetime held a variety of positions as attorney, and officer for the Union Army during the Civil War, a farmer, and a rancher.
Hanford and his wife, Mary, moved to San José from Minnesota in 1887. Upon arrival, the Gordons moved into this house, originally located at 5303 McKee Road. Hanford owned four ranches, including over 100 acres of olive grove on McKee . . . — Map (db m52126) HM|
|California (Santa Clara County), San Jose — Scottish Rite Temple|
|Built as the Scottish Rite Temple in 1925-25, this distinguished structure was designed by architect Carl Werner. The entry portico, with its six Ionic columns and unusual Egyptian ornamentation, lends the buildings special grandeur. In 1981, the building was rehabilitated and reopened as the San José Athletic Club. — Map (db m30285) HM|
|California (Santa Clara County), Santa Clara — 250 — Old Sites of Mission Santa Clara de Assis — and Old Spanish Bridge|
|Second Site 1799–1784
Mission Santa Clara de Asis
January 12, 1777
Founded by the Franciscan Fathers
967 yards north, 334 yards
south of Bayshore Highway
Bridge No. 37–64 — Map (db m3401) HM|
|California (Santa Clara County), Santa Clara — S.E.S. — (Sociedade do Espirito Santo)|
|The Portuguese men and women of Santa Clara founded this building, commonly known as the S.E.S. Hall, in 1896. This fraternal organization was created as a means of communication and socialization. It gave the Portuguese community a place to meet, to discuss current issues and share news from the homeland. It also gave them a place to celebrate the feast of the Holy Spirit which originated over 700 years ago. This feast commemorates a miracle that happened during the reign of Queen Isabela of . . . — Map (db m54026) HM|
|California (Shasta County), Anderson — Masonic Lodge|
|The Masonic Lodge was constructed of locally made brick on this site prior to 1866. Mount Shasta Lodge No. 281 F. & A.M. occupied the building from 1886 to 1895, then again from 1934 until they sold the building to the City of Anderson in 2001. During the interim years, the building served as a furniture and upholstery store, harness shop, photographic studio, real estate office, post office, and general office building. The Masonic Lodge was demolished in 2006. The brick facade on this new . . . — Map (db m70344) HM|
|California (Shasta County), French Gulch — French Gulch Lodge|
|The French Gulch Lodge No. 75, Independent Order of Odd Fellows was established on May 5, 1858. Erastrus Dickinson was first Noble Grand on June 24, 1864. All records of the lodge as well as the original charter were destroyed by fire. The new lodge hall was built in 1913. The total cost of the hall was $7,341.13. The hall was in continuous use by Odd Fellows and Rebekahs. All notes, mortgages and bills are paid and the property stands free and clear. The hall was destroyed by the French Fire on August 14, 2004. — Map (db m70328) HM|
|California (Shasta County), French Gulch — I.O.O.F. Lodge #75 — Cemetery — French Gulch, CA. Founded, May 16, 1868|
|Officers of the International Order of Odd Fellows Lodge, chartered 1858, commissioned the construction of a private and public cemetery in August, 1866. The public section opened May 16, 1868, with the lodge members interred thereafter as their deaths occurred. Many of the town's founders and early lodge members are buried within these fences. Dr. Plumb, one of the town's first doctors is buried here with his wife Catherine. This cemetery is filled with early pioneers and veterans from W.W.1 to Vietnam. — Map (db m89137) HM|
|California (Shasta County), Shasta — Western Star Lodge No. 2|
|Oldest Chartered Masonic Lodge in California
Free and Accepted Masons
Originally chartered by the most worshipful Grand Lodge of Missouri, A F and A M
May 10th AL5848 (1848)
Dedicated in due and ancient form this 10th day of May AL5998 (1998) by the most worshipful Grand Lodge of California F & AM
Anthony P. Wordlow – Grand Master
1998 Western Star Lodge No. 2
Patrick R. Casady – Master
John R. Murry – Senior Warden
Ronald L. Craddock – Junior . . . — Map (db m1137) HM|
|California (Shasta County), Shasta — Western Star Lodge No. 2 — Occupied 1854|
|The oldest Masonic Lodge in the State of California. Chartered by the most worshipful Grand lodge of Missouri on the 10th of May, 1848.
This building was dedicated on Saint John’s day, the 27th of December, 1854 and has been in continuous use by the lodge ever since.
After the Great Fire on June 14th, 1863 when most of the City of Shasta was destroyed, the lodge lost all of its possessions, save its Missouri charter, and continued to meet in the upper floor of Dr. Benjamin Shurtteff’s . . . — Map (db m70429) HM|
|California (Sierra County), Downieville — Masonic Building|
|The Mountain Shade Lodge No. 18 F. & A.M. received it’s charter on May 5, 1852. Prior to that date they operated under a dispensation. The Masons met originally in the Craycroft Building. Then erected their own building on this site in 1852. The original structure was destroyed by fire, and was replaced by the present building in 1864. — Map (db m44242) HM|
|California (Siskiyou County), Hornbook — Founding of the American Legion|
|This plaque commemorates the 60th anniversary of the American Legion. The national charter was signed in Hornbook on Sept. 16, 1919 by President Woodrow Wilson while his train stopped enroute from Portland to San Francisco. — Map (db m88022) HM|
|California (Siskiyou County), Yreka — Clampers Meeting Hall|
|On or near this site between 1854 and 1856 the members of the Ancient and Honorable Order of E Clampus Vitus had a meeting hall. During the day it was used as a court room and clerks office. — Map (db m70186) HM|
|California (Siskiyou County), Yreka — Hugo Miller Building — 217 W. Miner St.|
|The Arcade Saloon once stood on this site in 1856 where Lotta Crabtree began her singing and dancing profession, and John C. Heenan, ‘The Benicia Boy’ started his fighting career. The building was completely destroyed by the Great Fire of 1871, but rebuilt in 1880 by Hugo Miller who operated a hardware store here. The second story was expressly designed by Miller to be used as a lodge hall by the Redmen of the World. — Map (db m70131) HM|
|California (Siskiyou County), Yreka — I.O.O.F. Building — (International Order of Odd Fellows) — 107, 117 W. Miner St.|
|I.O.O.F. Yreka Lodge #19 was instituted in 1853 and has been at this location since that date. Multiple transactions in ownership and lot size and shape occurred before two, one-story brick buildings were erected on this site. These buildings provided the foundations for the I.O.O.F.’s second story meeting hall. After the fire of 1871, the entire building was rebuilt using the undamaged brick walls. The vault in McConnell and McManus’ ground level store provided a safe place to keep several . . . — Map (db m70129) HM|
|California (Siskiyou County), Yreka — Masonic Hall Building — 300-304 W. Miner St.|
|Originally known as the Wetzel Lot, a brick building stood here in 1880 which housed the fire department – Engine & Hose No. 1. A new building with a massive edifice was erected on the site in 1926 by four Masonic orders who sold shares at $50 each to finance the project. The lower level was designed for three business rentals while the top floor catered to lodge activities. The Denny Bar Company (first chain store in California) occupied the building along with Klamath National Forest . . . — Map (db m70081) HM|
|California (Solano County), Benicia — Antonio M. De LaGuerra 1825 – ‘81|
|This tablet dedicated to his memory. He was State Senator 1852-1853; Mayor of Santa Barbara, Captain of California Volunteers serving in Arizona during the Civil War 1861-1865. He was a loyal member of the Ancient and Honorable Order of E. Clampus Vitus. — Map (db m58330) HM|
|California (Solano County), Benicia — 174 — First Masonic Hall Built in California|
|The first Masonic hall built in California was begun in the summer of 1850, occupied by the lodge October 14, 1850, and formally dedicated December 27, 1850. This building served as the Masonic Temple for Benicia Lodge No. 5 until 1888, when the new temple was occupied. It was used by a boys' club prior to World War I and by the American Legion shortly after the war. It was reacquired by Benicia Lodge No. 5 in 1950. — Map (db m16317) HM|
|California (Solano County), Vacaville — The Odd Fellows Hall — Vacaville|
|The Independent Order of Odd Fellows (I.O.O.F.,) Vacaville Lodge No. 83, re-built this structure of brick and cast-iron columns in 1889. The previous two building burned in 1877 and 1884. The earthquake of 1892 seriously damaged the front of the building. The building still rents the stores below to maintain the meeting hall above. The I.O.O.F. is a benevolent, fraternal organization dedicated to the betterment of the community. The Vacaville Lodge No. 83 was chartered in 1859 as one of . . . — Map (db m17636) HM|
|California (Solano County), Vacaville — Walker Opera House|
|Kentucky native Sidney Clay Walker crossed the plains in 1850 and in 1872 settled in the Vaca Valley where he eventually owned 1,200 acres. He was an organizer of the Vacaville Water and Light Company in the 1890's and in 1896 built this brick building complete with electric lights. It originally housed three stores on the ground floor, three offices upstairs as well as a large hall with a stage and seating for 600. Since Walker's death in 1908 the building has housed a lodge hall, a movie . . . — Map (db m17661) HM|
|California (Solano County), Vacaville — William Gordon Huff — In Expression of Gratitude|
|In recognition for his continuous dedication to the preservation of western history through his world – renowned artistic endeavors: for expressing his love of the Order through the sculptured likeness of the men who have labored to preserve and sustain it: and for never failing to spread, by example, kindness, pride, humor and good fellowship throughout the organization. He himself stands as a character portrait of the great and beloved men he has worked so tirelessly to memorialize. — Map (db m54590) HM|
|California (Sonoma County), Sonoma — Ray Adobe — 1847 - 1849|
|Built by 1846 Missouri emigrants John and Harriet Ray in 1847. After his success in the Rose Bar Gold Fields, the large adobe portion was added in 1849 by Indian labor to the wooden house on the east end. It was leased as headquarters for officers of the U.S. Army until 1852. Successive home to and restoration by the families Adler, Black, Heine, Shields, Whitelow and Forrest.
Ned Forrest, Architect, 1995 — Map (db m15253) HM|
|California (Sonoma County), Sonoma — Sonoma Valley Women’s Club|
|Sonoma Valley Women’s Club was founded September 21, 1901 by eleven local women led by Martha Stearns.
In 1911 the lot at 574-First Street East was purchased by S.V.W.C. from Katherine Poppe on which their club house was to be built. Funds for the new clubhouse were raised with the assistance of Sonoma Parlor No. 111, Native Sons of the Golden West. The first meeting was held in the new club house on September 15, 1916. — Map (db m78923) HM|
|California (Stanislaus County), Knights Ferry — The Ancient and Honorable Order of E Clampus Vitus|
|The establishment of Estanislao Chapter 58 occurred on June 21, 1958. The inaugural meeting took place at the historic Tulloch Flour Mill in Knights Ferry under the direction of Noble Grand Humbug W.S. 'Walt' Hargrove. There were forty-eight founding and charter members present. Named after Yokut Chief Estanislao and sponsored by Matuca Chapter 1849, the charter was granted by Grand Council Decree. The territory was limited to Stanislaus County and in 1962 was extended to include Merced County. . . . — Map (db m42128) HM|
|California (Stanislaus County), La Grange — LaFayette Historical Lodge #65|
|This is one of the oldest continuously occupied buildings in LaGrange. In 1857, Lodge #65 of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows of California was formed.
The Odd Fellows purchased the two story jail from the County in 1862 and it was used for meetings until 1880. In 1880 land was purchased from Mrs. Margaret A. Basso for $100 – in gold coin. G. W. Jones, a member was contracted to build a two story structure for $1350. The style was indicative of the Greek Revival architecture. The . . . — Map (db m94798) HM|
|California (Stanislaus County), Modesto — Modesto Pioneer Cemetery|
Formerly Independent Order of Odd Fellows (Wildey Lodge) Cemetery
The flagpole and bricks used in this monument are from the Hughson Hotel built in 1913 by Luella Hughson. This modern hotel had a 36 foot redwood flagpole where the American flag was flown every day. The Hughson Hotel was torn down in 1998. — Map (db m58587) HM|
|California (Sutter County), Yuba City — Masonic Temple Corner Stone|
|The stone which the builders rejected, has become the head of the corner.
This stone appeared on the first Masonic Temple located at the corner of 2nd and Bridge Streets. — Map (db m63238) HM|
|California (Tehama County), Corning — Maywood Woman's Clubhouse — Constructed 1910|
| Placed on the National Register
of Historic Places
October 2, 1992 — Map (db m89196) HM|
|California (Tehama County), Red Bluff — I.O.O.F. Odd Fellows Lodge No. 76|
Instituted May 31, 1858
Building dedicated 1863
Listed in the
National Register of Historical Landmarks
Volume 2, Page 59, 1976
Plaque placed by:
Berendos Parlor No. 23
Red Bluff, California
January 6, 1985 — Map (db m40477) HM|
|California (Tehama County), Vina — Western Star Lodge No. 2 Free and Accepted Masons|
|This monument was erected on the 75th anniversary of the date of its charter May 10-th 1923 by
Western Star Lodge
No. 2 F.& A.M.
of Shasta, Calif.
The oldest Masonic Chapter in Calif.
Granted May 10-th
By the Grand Lodge of
Sashel Woods. W.M.
Peter Lassen. J.W.
To open a lodge at Benton City. Upper California. — Map (db m30329) HM|
|California (Trinity County), Weaverville — Cameron Building Site|
|In1852 the Cameron Bros. built a 2 story building. Madam La Batcheler purchased it in 1853 and operated the Golden Gate Saloon. Later known as the Polka Saloon, by 1855, the town lodges of ECV, Masons and Son of Temperance met in the upper story hall. The site was burned clean in late 1855, 1859 and 1863. — Map (db m56024) HM|
|California (Trinity County), Weaverville — Clifford Hall|
|Built by Richard Clifford in 1855. One of three two story Weaverville structures with outside circular staircases hand made by village blacksmiths. Once home of Mt. Bally Parlor No. 87, Native Sons of the Golden West.
Dedicated by Grand Parlor, Native Sons
of the Golden West, August 9, 1986, marking
centennial of Mt. Bally Parlor No. 87
Everett White Jr., Grand President
Native Sons of the Golden West — Map (db m56004) HM|
|California (Trinity County), Weaverville — E Clampus Vitus 1855 & 1962 — r|
|The first chapter of ECV in Weaverville began in 1855. After a rocky start in the Sierra Nevada Gold County, the organization got a foothold in Mokelumne Hill, in 1851. The first Noble Grand Humbug for the Weaverville Chapter was John C. Burch, a local attorney who later became a state congressman. The chapter flourished for several years but as miners moved along to other diggin’s, so did the interest in ECV. It was never determined when the chapter disbanded. Other chapters in the area . . . — Map (db m70304) HM|
|California (Trinity County), Weaverville — I.O.O.F. Hall|
Dedicated as Historical
Historical Society — Map (db m56016) HM|
|California (Trinity County), Weaverville — Spiral Staircases|
|The spiral staircases of Weaverville have always been a predominant part of this community’s architecture. The structures became a necessity because of the separate ownership of the upper and lower floors.
This stairway, the first of these landmarks, was built in the summer of 1860 by Ira Howe, the owner of the upper floor, shortly after completion. Howe sold is interest to the present owners, North Star Lodge No. 61 IOOF.
The lower floor of this building, erected by John Cole in . . . — Map (db m56015) HM|
|California (Tuolumne County), Big Oak Flat — Joseph E. Lemos — 1892 – 1961|
Ione Lodge 51 & Ione Rebeka Lodge 270 – 1931
Yosemite Lodge 97 – 1941
Big Oak Rebeka Lodge 259 – 1947
District Deputy Grand Master
1943 & 1958
District Deputy Grand Marshall
1948 & 1953
Appointed Grand Herald of Grand Lodge
Appointed to Grand Lodge Youth Committee
1941 & 1961
Past Chief Patriarch Amador Emcampment No.17
Bald Mountain Encampment No.4 Sonora -1944
Captain (R) Sacramento Canton No.1
Yosemite . . . — Map (db m14265) HM|
|California (Tuolumne County), Columbia — Columbia Masonic Temple|
Restored 1949 by the
F.&A.M. of California — Map (db m12019) HM|
|California (Tuolumne County), Columbia — Inspiration Point|
|The inspiration to revive the Ancient and Honorable Order of E Clampus Vitus, a benevolent society prominent in Gold Rush days, occurred fifty years ago to Carl I. Wheat as he traveled from Columbia down to Parrots Ferry on the Stanislaus River. ECV Redivivus, now a fraternal historical society dedicated to preserving Western history and lore has thirty-three active chapters throughout California and Nevada. — Map (db m53303) HM|
|California (Tuolumne County), Jamestown — 8 — Ramirez – Preston Building — Early 1850’s|
|Ignacia Ramirez, female pioneer and native of Mexico, earliest known owner of this Gold Rush building. Upstairs meeting hall of St. James Masonic Lodge #54, acquired 1877 by R.A. Preston. Jamestown Post Office in 1930’s; later medical office of Dr. James A. Hadley. Acquired by Donn Blount in 1994. — Map (db m33781) HM|
|California (Tuolumne County), Sonora — Sonora IOOF Lodge No. 10|
|Organized June 7, 1853
Two members serve as Grand Master
Building erected 1850
Remodeled twice — Map (db m51565) HM|
|California (Yolo County), Woodland — Main and Second Street 1920’s — Woodland|
|Artist: Paul Guyer. 2005
Developed by the Woodland Art Center
Made Possible by a Grant from the
Woodland Stroll Through History
This is the site of the Farmers & Merchants’ Bank/Masonic Lodge
(1894 – 1970) — Map (db m11756) HM|
|California (Yuba County), Camptonville — Capt. Brown House|
|This 1854 A.J. Downing designed "Carpenters Gothic" is among the earliest such wood frame structures in the state. Built by Josiah Prentiss Brown, miner, 49er, local banker, multi-term state legislator and Commander of the Yuba Light Infantry, Co. E, 1st Batt., 4th Brgd. Ca. Nat. Guard with 80 members and local armory. Commissioned by Gen. J.C. Fremont and "familiarly known throughout Northern California as Captain Brown", with 20 years service became the longest standing officer in the Guard. Initiated into ECV May 19th, 1856. — Map (db m39811) HM|
|California (Yuba County), Camptonville — William Bull Meek — Dec. 25, 1858 - Jan. 23, 1936|
|Here lies a Clamper, and the namesake of Chapter 10, E Clampus Vitus; a long time resident of Camptonville, and pillar of community.
The chapter bearing his name was instituted on the second day of April in the year of our Clampatriarch Adam & of our Incomparable order of
five thousand nine hundred forty & first, of the present era the one thousand nine hundred thirty & eight.
In recognition to his contributions to our order, the brothers of E Clampus Vitus, Chapter 10 came to pay . . . — Map (db m39810) HM|
|California (Yuba County), Camptonville — William Bull Meek / ECV Redivivus-1932|
[ Upper Plaque: ]
To Clampatriarch William Bull Meek
Stage Driver - Wells Fargo Agent - Mule Skinner - Treasurer - Merchant
May 6, 1956
[ Center Plaque: ]
First Grand Council pilgrimage. Fifty years ago today, the Accougheurs of E Clampus Vitus, Redivivus, met here with Wm. Bull Meek, XNGH and Adam Lee Moore, XNGH to learn the past glory of E.C.V. All honor to Leon Whitsell, Carl Wheat and D. Ezra Dane. — Map (db m39819) HM|
|California (Yuba County), Loma Rica — 139-5 — Loma Rica Grange Hall #802|
|The National Grange of the Order of the Patrons of Husbandry is a fraternal organization that encourages families to band together to promote the economic and political well-being of the community and agriculture and was founded in 1867. Loma Rica Grange Hall #802 was constructed in 1923 as a community center. The recorded cost to build was $1660.14. It was incorporated as the Loma Rica Community Hall Association in 1948 and designated as a non-profit to be used by the community for local . . . — Map (db m93917) HM|
|California (Yuba County), Marysville — Lord Sholto Douglas|
|Within these walls, on Jan. 22, 1896, Lord Sholto Douglas, theatrical entrepreneur, and son of the Marquis of Queensbury of Pugilistic fame, was initiated into the mysteries of ECV. Though Douglas went on to riches, subsequent publicity of his initiation into ECV virtually shut down the Marysville Lodge. — Map (db m40152) HM|
|Colorado (Gilpin County), Central City — The AOUW Building|
|One of the brick “fire proof” buildings which was destroyed in the fire of 1874 was Abraham Jacobs’ old store, located on this site. By August, a new one story building had been completed here and the old store was back in business for another 20 years. In 1898, the local lodge of the AOUW purchased the old building. The Ancient Order of United Workmen was a fraternal order that provided survivors’ benefits to families of deceased members. At the turn of the century, there were . . . — Map (db m51833) HM|
|Colorado (Jefferson County), Golden — 922 Washington Avenue — Stewart Block Building|
|City of Golden
The Stewart Block building was completed in 1892. It served as a grocery for 52 years under a variety of owners including Caleb E. Parfet, Elvyn E. Stewart, and Leonard Vogel. The motto of the original building owners was “quick sales and small profits.” The upstairs served as a meeting hall for the Knights of Pythias and later, to the chagrin of many Golden residents, the Ku Klux Klan. The mural on the south exterior was painted in the 1920s as a . . . — Map (db m50593) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), Ridgefield — 4 — The Ridgefield Train Station — Ridgefield, Connecticut — The Museum in the Streets|
| In 1870, A Branch Line from the Branchville train station was built to offer service to the wealthy New Yorkers who began arriving to spend their summers in Ridgefield. Many of these "summer people" had their own private railroad cars. Chauffeurs would meet them, driving horse and buggies and other fancy conveyances to carry volumes of luggage to their estates located throughout the town.
Benvenuto Carboni arrived in 1901, one of the earliest Italians to come to Ridgefield. Several . . . — Map (db m31591) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), Ridgefield — 10 — The Village in the 1900s — Ridgefield, Connecticut — The Museum in the Streets|
| The International Order Of Odd Fellows, Pilgrim Lodge No. 45 was established in Ridgefield in 1847, meeting in the Masonic Hall until 1895 when the structure was destroyed in the Great Fire. The Odd Fellows built their own building in 1928 and it soon became a popular meeting place. During the 1930s and 40s many dances and other activities were held there. In 1956 the Lodge sold the building and moved to a carriage house on King Lane where it is now part of the Methodist Church. The . . . — Map (db m31970) HM|
|Connecticut (Hartford County), Newington — First U.S. Girl Scout Day Camp|
|We Proudly Honor
The Site Of The
First U.S. Girl Scout
Girl Scouts of Newington
March 12, 1987 — Map (db m46062) HM|
|Connecticut (Hartford County), Plantsville — Maxwell Noble Drive|
Dedicated to the Memory
Maxwell Westwood Noble
First Deceased Commander
Kiltonic Post No. 72 — Map (db m35973) HM|
|Connecticut (Hartford County), Southington — Gang Scarpa Shoda|
| [ left plaque ]
Gang Scarpa Shoda
In Honor and Memory of All Deceased Members
And Those Whose Time Has Yet To Come.
God Bless Each and Everyone.
Donated by Albert Frascatore
[ center plaque ]
Gang Scarpa Shoda
The Original "Gang" Lived Within
These Boundaries During The Depression Era
Descendants of All Members
Are Included In The Gang
"Gang Scarpa Shoda"
Donated by Sylvester (Harp) Testa
[ the boundaries on the . . . — Map (db m34074) HM|
|Connecticut (Hartford County), Wethersfield — Society of the Cincinnati|
|This Plaque is Dedicated by
The Society of the Cincinnati
General George Washington
Wo Was Its First President.
Samuel Blatchley Webb
Who Grew Up In This Home
The Comte De Rochambeau
Who Visited Here
The Marquis De Lafayette;
All Of Whom Were
Original Members of the Society — Map (db m46146) HM|
|Connecticut (Litchfield County), Thomaston — Fr. Michael J. McGivney|
|In Loving Memory Of
Fr. Michael J. McGivney
1852 – 1890
Founder of the Knights of Columbus
March 29, 18882
Pastor of St. Thomas Church, Thomaston
1884 – 1890
Founder of the Atlantic Council No. 18
April 8, 1885
This Plaque Presented By The Supreme Council On The 100th
Anniversary Of The Founding Of Council 18 By Fr. McGivney
Virgil G. Dechant Supreme Knight
Ralph A. Grandpre Grand Knight • Rev. Bernard J. Flynn Chaplain • Mark Malley . . . — Map (db m28121) HM|
|Connecticut (New Haven County), East Haven — Bronze Bell|
Presented to the Town of East Haven
Commemorating American Bicentennial
1776 – 1976
By the Exchange Club of East Haven
It Served the Christ Church Congregation
From 1848 to 1964
Also Presented By
Masonic Lodge #138 AF & AM — Map (db m35583) HM|
|Connecticut (New Haven County), Meriden — First Masonic Lodge in Meriden|
| Near This Site
Meridian Lodge No. 77
A. F. & A. M.
Was Instituted As
The First Masonic
Lodge In Meriden
On Jan. 1, 1851 — Map (db m26597) HM|
|Connecticut (New Haven County), New Haven — Pierpont Edwards|
Son of the Rev. Jonathan & Sarah Pierpont Edwards
Master of Hiram Lodge #1, 1777-78
First Grand Master of Masons in Connecticut, July 8, 1789
Member of the Continental Congress
Lawyer – Legislator – Soldier – Mason
Brave men and worthy patriots, dear to God, and famous to all ages
Milton, Tractate Of Education
Born April 8, 1750
Died April 5, 1826
[ east side ]
Died July . . . — Map (db m52018) HM|
|Connecticut (New Haven County), New Haven — Society of The Cincinnati Memorial|
The Society of The Cincinnati
In the State of Connecticut
In Memory Of
Captain Judah Alden • Captain Samuel Allyn • Captain Simeon Allyn • Ensign Daniel Avery • Lieutenant Eienezer Avery • Captain Elijah Avery • Captain Esisa Avery • Captain Remember Baker • Lieutenant David Barber • Lieutenant Silas Benham • Captain Stephen Brown • Lieutenant Asahel Buck • Lieutenant Jonathan Buck • Captain Hubbard D. Burrows • Major James Chapman • Lieutenant Richard Chapman • Lieutenant . . . — Map (db m35729) HM|
|Connecticut (New Haven County), Waterbury — Reverend Michael Joseph McGivney|
| Reverend Michael Joseph McGivney 1852 – 1890
Founder of The Knights of Columbus New Haven, Conn. March 29, 1882
[ back ]
Erected March 29, 1957 by the Supreme Council Knights of Columbus at the Birthplace of its Founder — Map (db m24039) HM|
|Connecticut (New Haven County), Waterbury — UNICO National|
Commemorating The 50th Anniversary
Of The Founding Of
Hotel Elton, Waterbury, Connecticut
October 10, 1922
"Service Above Self" — Map (db m36067) HM|
|Delaware (New Castle County), Middletown — NC-214 — Union Lodge No. 5 A.F.&A.M.|
|Chartered on June 24, 1765 by the Grand Lodge of Pennsylvania A.Y.M., Lodge No. 5 at Cantwell's Bridge (later known as Odessa) became the first Masonic lodge established in Delaware. The lodge was admitted to membership under the Grand Lodge of Delaware in January, 1816. Lodge No. 5 moved to Middletown in 1822 and adopted the name "Union" in 1851. With uninterrupted service to the community, Union Lodge No. 5, Ancient Free & Accepted Masons, is distinguished as one of the oldest continuous organizations in the state of Delaware. — Map (db m94182) HM|