|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Twinning of Morioka, Japan and Victoria|
Placed here May 23, 1985
commemorating the twinning of
Morioka, Japan and Victoria
and to the memory of
Dr. Inazo Nitobe
Mayor Daizo Ota [and] Mayor Peter Pollen
10th Anniversary of Twinning
Mayor Ohta • Mayor Cross
May 23, 1995
[Also in Japanese] — Map (db m74135) HM|
|British Columbia (Greater Vancouver Regional District), Semiahmoo — Peace Arch — The Signing of the Columbia River Treaty|
This unfortified boundary line between the
Dominion of Canada
United States of America
should quicken the remembrance of the more than century old friendship between these countries
A lesson of peace to all nations.
In commemoration of
One hundred and fifty years of peace, 1814 - 1864, between Canada and the United States of America.
The signing of the Columbia River Treaty on September 16th, 1964, at this international . . . — Map (db m27450) HM|
|Ontario (National Capital Region), Ottawa — Lotta Hitschmanova, C.C. — 1909 • 1990|
Founded USC Canada
10 June 1945
Unitarian Service Committee
Harold Pfeiffer, Sculptor — Map (db m75710) HM|
|Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), St. Catharines — Niagara District United Empire Loyalists Memorial|
This boulder was on the half-way mark, between Niagara-on-the-Lake and Queenston
This memorial is erected in proud memory of pioneer ancestors and to commemorate the one hundred and fiftieth anniversary of their arrival in the Niagara District as United Empire Loyalists 1784 • 1934 — Map (db m76095) HM WM|
|Guatemala, Sacatepéquez, La Antigua Guatemala — Home of Brother Pedro — Casa del Hermano Pedro de San José de Betancourt|
| Aqui vivio
Fray Pedro de San Jose Betancourt
Apostol de la Caridad
Nacio en Tenerife en Marzo de 1626
Murio en Esta el 25 de Abril de 1667
Here lived Father Pedro of Saint Joseph of Betancourt, Apostle of Charity, Born in Tenerife in March 1626, Died here on April 25, 1667. — Map (db m70121) HM|
|Ireland, Connacht (County Mayo), the Doo Lough Valley — 1849 Famine Walk|
| . . . — Map (db m27687) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — The "Three Fates"|
| This fountain, erected in 1956, is situated near the Leeson Street entrance to the park. It consists of a group of three bronze figures – Nornenbrunnen, representing the Three Fates, who weave and measure the thread of man's destiny.
The monument was the gift of the German Federal Republic to mark its appreciation of the help and generosity of the Irish people during the time of distress and hardship after the Second World War. The work was designed by the Bavarian Sculptor, Professor . . . — Map (db m25306) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — Veronica Guerin — 1959 - 1996|
| Sunday Independent journalist,
was murdered on 26th June 1996.
Be Not Afraid
Greater justice was her ideal and it was her ultimate achievement
Her courage and sacrifice saved many from the scourge of drugs and other crime.
Her death has not been in vain.
Unveiled by the Taoiseach,
Mr. Bertie Ahern T.D.
27th June 2001 — Map (db m24078) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Fingal), Howth — The Lord Killanin|
Sixth President of the
International Olympic Committee
1972 - 1980
President of the
Olympic Council of Ireland
1950 - 1973
This commemorative bronze bust was unveiled by
Dr. Jacques Rogge
Eight[h] President of the
International Olympic Committee
May 20th 2009
Sculptor - Paul Ferriter 2009 — Map (db m27050) HM|
|Philippines, Cavite Province, Corregidor Island — "For the Repose of Souls" — Japanese Memorial Garden — 鎮魂|
| [Text in Japanese Kanji:]
This monument is dedicated to the souls of the Filipino, American and Japanese, soldiers whose lives were given in a battle which occurred here on May 5, 1942, when our regiment of the 4th Division landed on this island. We ardently pray for the eternal repose of their souls and everlasting peace throughout the world. May 5, 1991.
Wakayama 61st Infantry Regiment War Comrades Union, Japan. — Map (db m64111) HM WM|
|Philippines, Cavite Province, Corregidor Island — "Tribute to the Brave Heroes" — Japanese Memorial Garden|
| [Text in Japanese Kanji]
In remembrance of the 4,500 fallen comrades in arms of the Japanese defense battalion commanded by Captain Akira Tagaki, the senior commander, composed of : 0-4 Squadron Troop 330 31st Naval Special Resistance Combat Team 1st Special Infantry Battalion 17th Volunteer Naval Battalion 10th Aerial Information Regiment 32nd Field Artillery Regiment
And in tribute to the gallantry of the Filipinos, Americans, and Japanese soldiers who fought and died for a . . . — Map (db m64039) HM WM|
|Philippines, Cavite Province, Corregidor Island — Spanish Historical Marker — Corregidor Island|
| Spanish text:
La isla de Corregidor paso a formar parte de la Corona de España el 19 de Mayo de 1571, al ser ocupada por el intrépido navegante Miguel López de Legaspi, fundador de la Ciudad de Manila.
Debido a su posición estratégica, Corregidor sivió como Fortaleza protectora guardian de la Bahía de Manila durante 327 años, hasta el 2 de Mayo de 1898. Durante esos años presenció gloriosas escenas de heroism, en las que la historia de Filipinas y la de España se . . . — Map (db m64787) HM|
|United Kingdom, Northern Ireland (County Londonderry), Derry-Londonderry — Church Bastion|
The watchers and the watched
There have been watchers on the walls for centuries. In 1627 two watch towers were built near the Cathedral after the guards complained about having to do duty in the rain. In the 19th century the bastions became gardens and most watch towers were demolished: one still survives near here. During the Troubles the British army erected sangars close to the walls to watch over the city. The towers combined accommodation for soldiers with high technology . . . — Map (db m71053) HM|
|United Kingdom, Northern Ireland (County Londonderry), Derry-Londonderry — Death of Innocence — Annette McGavigan|
Shot dead by the British Army
6 September 1971
Here the innocence of a child's world contrasts vividly with the chaotic violence with which others have surrounded her. The mural commemorates fourteen year old Annette McGavigan who was shot by a British soldier in 1971, the 100th victim of the Troubles and one of the first children to be killed. The little coloured stones at her feet are objects that . . . — Map (db m71155) HM WM|
|United Kingdom, Northern Ireland (County Londonderry), Derry-Londonderry — The Bloody Sunday Commemoration|
This mural was painted to commemorate the 25th anniversary of Bloody Sunday. A circle frames the faces of the 14 victims with the youngest in the centre. The circle is the symbol of wholeness, the goal of the healing process. Fourteen oak leaves, the symbol of the city, surround the circle. The soft red colours convey sadness rather than anger.
In the evening light with the sun shining directly on it, it can be very moving, even for us who painted it. — Map (db m71158) HM WM|
|United Kingdom, Northern Ireland (County Londonderry), Derry-Londonderry — The Peace Mural|
| This mural shows a dove and an oak leaf, as symbols of hope for the city’s future. The dove is the name of St Columba, the city’s founder, who is said to have built his monastery in an oak grove. The background mosaic of the colours of the spectrum expresses what the Artists mean by peace.
The colours of the mural say that peace without freedom is no peace at all. — Map (db m71440) HM|
|United Kingdom, Northern Ireland (County Londonderry), Derry-Londonderry — The Peace Process|
After the 1981 hunger strikes the republican movement embarked on a political process that resulted in the IRA ceasefire in August 1994. Loyalist paramilitaries declared their ceasefire in October 1994. In 1998 local politicians and the British and Irish governments signed the Good Friday Agreement, which paved the way for the current locally elected assembly at Stormont.
An Próiséas Síochána
Tar éis stailceanna ocrais 1981 ghabh gluaiseacht na poblachta do phróiséas polaitiúil a . . . — Map (db m71218) HM|
|United Kingdom, Northern Ireland (County Londonderry), Derry-Londonderry — War Memorial|
In memory of all those from and
within the city and district
who have lost their lives
as a result of war and conflict
In Memory of all those
killed by weapon systems
produced within this
City & District — Map (db m70926) WM|
|Alabama (Henry County), Screamer — Indian Treaty Boundary Line|
|The Treaty of Fort Jackson on August 9, 1814 by Major General Andrew Jackson on behalf of the President of the United States of America and the Chiefs, Deputies and Warriors of the Creek Indian Nation, established a boundary line between the Mississippi Territory and the Creek Nation. The line ran across present-day Henry County from the mouth of Hardridge Creek to south of Chester Chapel Church. The Creek Treaty of 1832 ceded this reservation line allowing Henry County's northeast boundary to . . . — Map (db m71836) HM|
|Alabama (Henry County), Screamer — Indian Treaty Boundary Line|
|The Treaty of Fort Jackson on August 9, 1814 by Major General Andrew Jackson on behalf of the President of the United States of America and the Chiefs, Deputies and Warriors of the Creek Indian Nation, established a boundary line between the Mississippi Territory and the Creek Nation. The line ran across present-day Henry County from the mouth of Hardridge Creek to south of Chester Chapel Church. The Creek Treaty of 1832 ceded this reservation line allowing Henry County's northeast boundary to . . . — Map (db m71838) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — Montgomery’s Slave Markets / First Emancipation Observance - 1866|
| Side A The city’s slave market was at the Artesian Basin (Court Square). Slaves of all ages were auctioned, along with land and livestock, standing in line to be inspected. Public posters advertised sales and included gender, approximate age, first name (slaves did not have last names), skill, price, complexion and owner’s name. In the 1850s, able field hands brought $1,500; skilled artisans $3,000. In 1859, the city had seven auctioneers and four slave depots: one at Market Street . . . — Map (db m28187) HM|
|Arizona (Maricopa County), Phoenix — Eastlake Park|
Eastlake Park has served the inhabitants of Phoenix since the late 1880's. Originally known as Patton's Park, it was developed by the Phoenix Railway Company to serve as a recreational area for patrons of the city's trolley system. The park eventually became a place where people of color could meet to relax and celebrate special events without violating separatist laws which existed in the nation and state during the first half of the 20th century.
Eastlake Park's history is one . . . — Map (db m55058) HM|
|California (Alameda County), Livermore — Sister City Program|
“The Sister City Program is an important resource to the negotiations of
governments in letting the people themselves give expression of their common desire for friendship, goodwill and cooperation for a better world for all”
President Dwight D. Eisenhower (circa 1956)
On Monday, August 23, 1999, the City of Livermore’s City Council dedicated
Sister City Park as a gesture of friendship and goodwill to its sister cities.
“The flags from our sister cities . . . — Map (db m19970) HM|
|California (Los Angeles County), Long Beach — 10th Anniversary|
|In commemoration of the 10th Anniversary of the sister-city relations between Long Beach and Qingdao
with the complimets of Qingdao Municipal People's Government, P.R. China — Map (db m72459) HM|
|California (Los Angeles County), Long Beach — Long Beach-Yokkaichi Sister City Association — Building Leaders for a Global Community — Peace through Personal Diplomacy|
|This plaque was dedicated on the 50th Anniversary of the establishment of the
Long Beach-Yokkaichi Sister City Association to honor the citizens of both cities
who are dedicated to peach through personal diplomacy.
November 8, 2013
Mayor, City of Long Beach
Mayor, City of Yokkaichi
Jeanette Schelin, President
Long Beach-Yokkaichi Sister City Association
Yokkaichi Friendship Garden
Rededicated in 2013 to the . . . — Map (db m73101) HM|
|California (Los Angeles County), San Pedro — Friendship Bell — Korean Bell of Friendship and Bell Pavilion, Angels Gate Park|
| The friendship bell, overlooking the Pacific Ocean, was presented as a gift from the people of the Republic of Korea to the people of the United States of America on the occasion of the American Bicentennial Jubilee to further the friendship and trust between the two nations. Cast with and alloy of tin, copper, cold, silver and phosphorus, the bell reflects the distinct characteristics and beauty of traditional Korean bells.
The knob of the bell comprises a dragon-shaped figure and a . . . — Map (db m51064) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — Liberty Bell Replica|
Dedicated To You, A Free Citizen In A Free Land
This reproduction of the Liberty Bell was presented to the people of
by direction of
The Honorable John W. Snyder
Secretary of Treasury
As the inspirational symbol of the
United States Savings Bonds Independence Drive
from May 15 to July 4, 1950. It was displayed in
every part of the State
The Dimensions and tone are identical
with those of the original Liberty Bell when it
rang out our . . . — Map (db m14837) HM|
|California (Santa Clara County), Santa Clara — 260 — Armistice Oak Tree Site|
|Here, on January 8, 1847, Francisco Sanchez, leader of a California band surrendered himself and some American prisoners and arms to Lieut. Grayson thus ending the “Battle of Santa Clara” or the “Battle of the Mustard Stalks” of January 2, 1847. This armistice ended the last uprising against the tide of American conquest in the Santa Clara Valley. — Map (db m2627) HM|
|California (Santa Clara County), Santa Clara — 260 — Santa Clara Campaign Treaty Site|
|After armed confrontation nearby on January 2, 1847, and a truce meeting the following day, Marine Capt. Ward Marston, commander of the United States expeditionary force, and Francisco Sánchez, leader of the Mexican-Californian ranchers, agreed to a treaty here on January 7. United States forces were to recognize rights of Californians and to end seizures of their personal properties. — Map (db m57844) HM|
|Connecticut (Hartford County), Hartford — Confucius|
|ConfuciusConfucius (551 B.C. to 479 B.C.), with the given name Qiu and stylized name Zhongni, was a native of Lu State (now Qufu city of Shandong Province) in the Spring and Autumn Period of Chinese history. He was a great thinker, educator and statesman in ancient China and the initiator of Confucianism.
Based on the circumstances of his era, Confucius advocated a school of thought with benevolence as its core value and the rites as its code of conduct, which was mostly documented in the . . . — Map (db m52259) HM|
|Connecticut (Hartford County), New Britain — To Elihu Burritt|
[ back ]
To Elihu Burritt
Scholar Linguist Phil
anthropist to Whose
Love For Humanity
The World Owes the
Peace Congress and
Ocean Penny Postage
This Memorial Is Erect
ed by His Fellow Citizens
MCMXVI — Map (db m41514) HM|
|Connecticut (Hartford County), New Britain — Zlo Dobrem Zwyciezaj|
|Zlo Dobrem Zwyciezaj
This human rights monument of common field stone and steel is built in memory of Father Jerzy Popieluszko who gave his life to God and to the goals of Solidarosc – human rights, justice, peace and freedom for Poland and for all mankind. May this eternal flame of liberty and the memory of his courage and sacrifice burn forever in the hearts of all freedom loving people.
Good shall vanquish evil.
1947 1984 — Map (db m41435) HM|
|District of Columbia (Washington), Chinatown — Friendship Archway|
|This friendship archway was erected by the District of Columbia and the Municipality of Beijing, 1986.
Marion Barry, Jr.
Mayor of Washington, D.C.
Mayor, Beijing Municipal Government — Map (db m9161) HM|
|District of Columbia (Washington), Columbia Heights — 17 of 19 — Social Justice — Cultural Convergence — Columbia Heights Heritage Trail|
| Straight ahead is All Souls Church, Unitarian, long known for its social activism, starting with abolitionism in the 1820s and ranging through nuclear disarmament and interracial cooperation. During the segregation era, All Souls was one of the few places in DC open to integrated meetings. During the 1980s and '90s it (and other neighborhood churches) even hosted concerts by DC's influential punk bands Bad Brains, Fugazi, Minor Threat, and others.
In the 1960s, the church launched the . . . — Map (db m24152) HM|
|District of Columbia (Washington), Downtown — Carnegie Endowment for International Peace|
|700 Jackson Place has been designated a National Historic Landmark This site possesses national significance in commemorating the history of the United States of America National Park Service 1974 From 1910 to 1948 it served as the first headquarters of The Carnegie Endowment for International Peace. It was endowed by Andrew Carnegie to "Hasten the abolition of international war." The townhouse was built in 1860 for Dr. Peter Parker founder of medical missions in China who occupied the . . . — Map (db m32879) HM|
|District of Columbia (Washington), Downtown — The Peace Convention|
|The old Willard Hotel was the scene of the last major effort to restore the Union and prevent the Civil War. At Virginia's invitation, delegates from twenty-one of the then thirty-four states met in secret session from February 4 to 27, 1861, in a vain attempt to solve the differences between the North and South. To honor those who worked for peace and unity, this memorial is erected by the Virginia Civil War Commission, February 1961. — Map (db m6541) HM|
|District of Columbia (Washington), Downtown — W.5 — The United States Treasury — Civil War to Civil Rights — Downtown Heritage Trail|
|Billions for the war, and a bunker for the president The grand, pillared United States Treasury building that stands before you, its first section designed by Robert Mills in 1836, was the financial command center for the Union. It was here between 1861 and 1865 that the Secretary of the Treasury Salmon P. Chase raised the unprecedented sum of $2.7 billion to finance the government and the war. Chase issued bonds, instituted internal revenue taxes, printed paper money called "greenbacks" . . . — Map (db m29578) HM|
|District of Columbia (Washington), National Mall — German-American Friendship Garden — Celebrating 300 Years of Friendship — National Mall and Memorial Parks, Washington, D.C.|
“One magnificent symbol of the bonds that tie our two great peoples together is the German-American Friendship Garden. This symbol of eternally renewing growth and strength will be dedicated this autumn here in the Capital. In its growth, our own commitments to the well-being of America and Germany shall be cultivated and nurtured.”
– President Ronald Reagan, October 6, 1988.
On October 6, 1683, the first organized group of German immigrants arrived on these . . . — Map (db m38849) HM|
|District of Columbia (Washington), Penn Quarter — .2 — Ceremony at the Crossroads — Civil War to Civil Rights — Downtown Heritage Trail|
|“Imagine a great avenue [with] solid ranks of soldiers, just marching steady all day long, for two days. ...” Walt Whitman. It took two days for the grand parade of 200,000 victorious Union soldiers described by the great American poet and Civil War nurse Walt Whitman to march down Pennsylvania Avenue past this spot, headed for review by President Andrew Johnson at the White House. Whitman might have been standing right here on May 23 or 24, 1865. This had been the ceremonial and . . . — Map (db m14875) HM|
|District of Columbia (Washington), Southeast — "The Healing Poles" — 9-11 Memorial — [Historic Congressional Cemetery]|
| Peace – War
[Rendering of the Healing Totem Poles]
Liberty - Freedom
The cross piece at the top carries two eagles: Peace, a female, faces east; War, a male, faces west. The eagles are symbols of courage and great vision, held up by the strength and endurance of the bears, reminding us that as we move forward with courage as a united people, we must use our great vision to make the right choices to protect our liberty and freedom.
A male bear . . . — Map (db m39960) HM|
|District of Columbia (Washington), The Ellipse — The National Christmas Tree|
| At 5:00 p.m. on Christmas Eve, 1923, President Calvin Coolidge walked from the White House to the Ellipse and “pushed the button” to light the first National Christmas Tree. A crowd of 3,000 witnessed the inaugural lighting of the 48-foot, cut Balsam fir, donated by Middlebury College, Vermont. For the next thirty years, live trees were lit at various locations on or near the White House grounds. Finally, in 1954, the ceremony returned to the Ellipse.
Cut trees served as . . . — Map (db m61678) HM|
|District of Columbia (Washington), The Tidal Basin — Japanese Stone Lantern|
|The Gift of Light. Presented to the city of Washington on March 30, 1954, this stone lantern symbolizes the enduring cultural partnership that re-emerged between Japan and the United States after World War II. The lantern is one of two memorializing Tokugawa Iemitsu, the third shogun, or military lord, of the Tokugawa Dynasty, under his posthumous name Daiyuinden. Carved about 1651, it stood for over 300 years on the grounds of the Toeizan Kan'eiji Temple which contained the remains of the . . . — Map (db m37515) HM|
|District of Columbia (Washington), The Tidal Basin — Japanese Stone Lantern - Lighting the Way — National Mall and Memorial Parks|
| Each year, the National Park Service and the National Council of State Societies conduct the Lantern Lighting Ceremony. The Embassy of Japan appoints a Cherry Blossom Princess for the occasion. As the audience counts down from five, the lantern is lit in an exciting, traditional event that signals the arrival of Spring in the Nation’s Capital.
Originally offered in 1921 to complement Japan’s 1912 gift of flowering cherry trees, this 20-ton, 17th century stone lantern soon fell victim . . . — Map (db m29559) HM|
|District of Columbia (Washington), The Tidal Basin — Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial — National Mall and Memorial Parks, Washington, D.C.|
| “With this faith we will be able to hew out of the mountain of despair a stone of hope. With this faith, we will be able to transform the jangling discords of our nation into a beautiful symphony of brotherhood. With this faith, we will be able to work together, to pray together, to struggle together, to go to jail together, to stand up for freedom together, knowing that we will be free on day.” – Martin Luther King, Jr., "I Have a Dream,” August 28, 1963. . . . — Map (db m46398) HM|
|District of Columbia (Washington), The Tidal Basin — The Gift of Friendship — Japanese Pagoda — National Mall and Memorial Parks|
| This 3,800 pound, 17th century Japanese Pagoda arrived in the Nation’s Capital in 1957 as a gift from Mayor Ryozo Hiranuma of Yokohama, Japan. Its parts packed in five shipping crates with no assembly instructions, the pagoda required the staff of the Library of Congress to determine how to reconstruct it accurately. Former District of Columbia Commissioner Renah Camalier arranged for its placement here among the flowering cherry trees Japan donated in 1912.
On April 18, 1958, the pagoda . . . — Map (db m61900) HM|
|District of Columbia (Washington), Tidal Basin — The Gift of Trees - The 1910 Shipment — National Mall and Memorial Parks|
| The Gift of Trees Flowering cherry trees – which bloom profusely but do not bear edible fruit – were not common in the United States in 1900. American visitors to Japan found their beauty remarkable and journalist Eliza Scidmore was inspired to have these trees planted in Washington, D.C. She and David Fairchild, a botanist at the Department of Agriculture and plant explorer, were interested in beautifying the city’s landscape. In 1909, the project was endorsed at the highest . . . — Map (db m61837) HM|
|Florida (Leon County), Talahassee — Florida Sri Chinmoy Peace State|
|The State of Florida today joins the Sri Chinmoy International Peace Blossoms, a family of over 800 landmarks in 50 nations dedicated to the universally cherished goal of peace. May we, the people of Florida, forever embrace this lofty goal in our own hearts, and thus spread peace to our communities, to our nation and to all humankind.
May all who stand on the soil of our beautiful, progressive and peace treasuring State be inspired by its shining achievements---especially its spirit of . . . — Map (db m73044) HM|
|Florida (Saint Johns County), St. Augustine — 112 M.L. King Avenue|
|This house was built between 1904 and 1910 on what was then called Central Avenue. The name was changed in 1986. There are many streets in America named to honor Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., but this one is special because he actually walked on it in the course of changing history.
In 1964 this was the home of Robert Victor Bell, who worked for the Post Office, and his wife Willie Mae Bell. The family was active in the civil rights movement, and their daughter, Veronica, was one of the . . . — Map (db m17915) HM|
|Florida (Saint Johns County), St. Augustine — 156 M.L. King Avenue|
|The house at 156 Central Avenue was built in the 1950's for Mrs. Janie Price, a nurse at Flagler Hospital. She had taken her nurse's training at Grady Hospital in Atlanta in the 1940s and while there had attended dances with students from Morehouse College--one of them a teenager named Martin Luther King, Jr.
When Dr. King came to St. Augustine during the campaign that led to the passage of the landmark Civil Rights Act of 1964, this was one of the houses where he stayed. Mrs. Price . . . — Map (db m7627) HM|
|Florida (Seminole County), Sanford — Civil War — 1861-1865|
|In 1861, following years of increasing hostility over the issues of slavery and states' rights, slave holding states separated from the United States and formed the Confederate States of America. The Civil War (War Between the States) began April 12, 1861 with a Confederate attack on Fort Sumter in South Carolina. President Abraham Lincoln called for the creation of a Union military force made up of volunteers from the states north of the Mason-Dixon Line. In September 1861, he issued the . . . — Map (db m57548) HM|
|Georgia (Hancock County), Sparta — 070-6 — Shoulder-bone Creek Treaty|
|Near the mouth of Shoulder-bone Creek on the banks of the Oconee River a treaty of "amity, peace and commerce" was signed by eight commissioners representing the State of Georgia and 59 head men of the Creek Confederation, November 3, 1786. Among the terms of the treaty was one ceding all lands east of the Oconee River to the White men. To insure faithful performance the Indians left in the hands of the Georgians 5 of their men. These were: Chuwocklie Mico of the Cowetas; Cuchas and his . . . — Map (db m48972) HM|
|Georgia (Oconee County), Watkinsville — 108-6 — Jeannette Rankin's Georgia Home|
|Jeannette Rankin (1880-1973) was the first woman to serve in Congress: being elected from Montana in 1916 before women had the right to vote in other states. She was active in women's suffrage and was a peace advocate who opposed all war. She was one of only fifty persons in Congress who voted against entry into WW I. Her position was unpopular and she did not return to Congress. She purchased land near the Oconee-Clarke County line in the twenties and lived there on a seasonal basis. She . . . — Map (db m14079) HM|
|Georgia (Sumter County), Plains — 129-9 — President Jimmy Carter|
|From this depot in 1975, James Earl Carter, Jr. launched a two-year campaign for the presidency of the United States. At first an unknown referred to as “Jimmy Who,” Carter was inaugurated as America’s 39th President on January 20, 1977. James Earl Carter, Jr. was born October 1, 1924, in Plains. He graduated from the U.S. Naval Academy and married Rosalynn Smith in 1946. After seven more years of naval service he returned to run a family agribusiness. In 1962, Jimmy Carter was . . . — Map (db m21351) HM|
|Hawaii (Honolulu County), Pearl Harbor — U. S. S. Missouri — Instrument of Surrender, WWII|
|The instrument of surrender terminating the Second World War was signed on this ship, 2 September 1945 east longitude date while she lay at anchor in Tokyo Bay.
The Allied representatives were • General of the Army Douglas MacArthur, The Supreme Commander for the Allied Powers • Fleet Admiral Chester W. Nimitz, United States of America • General Hsu Yung-Ch’ang, Republic of China • Admiral Sir Bruce A Fraser, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland • Lieutenant General Kuzma . . . — Map (db m49677) HM|
|Illinois (Coles County), Charleston — Coles County War Memorial|
|This Memorial is dedicated to the men and women of the Armed Forces in all wars for the United States of America. — Map (db m11000) HM|
|Illinois (Dewitt County), Clinton — DeWitt County War Memorial — DeWitt, Illinois|
Dedicated to the men and women of DeWitt County who served in the Cause of Freedom. — Map (db m10961) HM|
|Illinois (Peoria County), Peoria — Military Services Memorial Plaza|
| Main Text in Center Brass Plaque
In Honor of the men and women who have served their country in the armed services of The United States
Duty Honor Country
With the exception of the above inscription, the brass plaques list those who contributed to developing the plaza. — Map (db m9323) HM|
|Illinois (Peoria County), Peoria — Waterborn Services Memorial|
|Dedicated to the men whom have given their lives in the Waterborn services.
Navy, Marine Corps, & Coast Guard — Map (db m9527) HM|
|Illinois (Vermilion County), Danville — Major Kenneth D. Bailey — Congressional Medal of Honor|
|In memory of Major Kenneth D. Bailey, U.S.M.C., Congressional Medal of Honor Winner for bravery in World War II.
A 1930 Danville High School graduate, he was Commanding Officer of Company C, First Raiders Battalion, which attacked Japanese fortifications on Tulagi, Soloman Islands, in August 1942. He dynamited a cave containing 35 of the enemy.
On Sept. 12, 1942 he was credited with saving Henderson Field, a vital U. S. Airbase on Guadalcanal. On Sept. 27, 1942, Bailey returned to . . . — Map (db m31963) HM|
|Illinois (Vermilion County), Georgetown — Georgetown Parade of Patriots Monument — Patriot Park|
|In Honor of
Who Have Served
Who Are Serving
Who Will Serve
In Honor of Our Veterans
In Honor of All Patriots
Within glass cases are names of local veterans who have served or are serving our country's military. — Map (db m11358) WM|
|Indiana (Allen County), Fort Wayne — Jail Flats|
|Because of the often soggy conditions that discouraged use as either residential or commercial property, the area of Headwaters Park became known as the Jail Flats. The first jail in Allen County was a two-story hewn-log structure that was enclosed by a board fence, located on the southwest corner of the courthouse square in downtown Fort Wayne. When it burned in 1849, it was promptly replaced. However, after several prisoners escaped, it was determined that a better jail was needed. In 1852, a . . . — Map (db m16998) HM|
|Indiana (Benton County), Fowler — Indian Boundary Line — 1818 to 1832|
This boulder marks a boundary line between United States territory and Indian lands which existed for fourteen years.
At St. Mary's Ohio on October 2, 1818, a treaty was made and concluded between Jonathan Jennings, Lewis Cass, and Benjamin Parke, Commissioners of the United States, and 35 of the Sachem's Chiefs and Warriors of the Potawatomie Tribe of Indians ceding the following territory,-
"Beginning at the mouth of the Tippecanoe River, and running up the . . . — Map (db m71919) HM|
|Indiana (Decatur County), Greensburg — Decatur County All Wars Memorial|
| Note: When this Memorial was documented and photographed (Sunday: 7-17-2011), it was being yet constructed (and/or reconstructed.) There were skids of building material setting about in the parking lot, ground opened, concrete just finished, and other work in evidence.
(( Up-right - Panel ))
( On both sides - only One Word )
““ sacrifice ”“
(( Side-walk Inlays ))
( From Up-right Panel to Flag Pole Display )
( See Photos - ‘Wars . . . — Map (db m45063) WM|
|Indiana (Fayette County), Connersville — Twelve Mile Line|
|This plaque marks the western border of the twelve mile cession negotiated by Governor William Henry Harrison with the Miami, Potawatomi, and Delawares, Treaty of Fort Wayne, September 30, 1809. — Map (db m44770) HM|
|Indiana (Fountain County), Attica — The Spirit of the American Doughboy|
|Erected 1927 by
Francis M. Dodge
Wilbert M. Allen
and other citizens
in grateful recognition
of the patriotic service
men and women
during the World War
1917–1918 — Map (db m7988) HM|
|Indiana (Fountain County), Attica — World War I Memorial|
John Feuristien - Co. D - 113 Eng.
Robert L. Goans - Battery C - 150 F.A.
Edward Harty - 306 U.S. Inf.
Earle Ireland - 131 U.S. Inf.
Lloyd Ireland - Battery B - 70 F.A.
Frank J. Kight - Battery C - 6 F. A.
Chas. W. McKinney - Co. K - 16 Inf.
Edward Merriman - Co. H - 23 Inf.
Clinton O’Brien - U.S. Medical Corps.
Harry F. Springman - 310 Q.M.C.
David M. Wilhite
Clarence W. Young - Co. D - 327 M.G.B. — Map (db m22801) HM|
|Indiana (Fountain County), Covington — Fountain County Centennial Memorial — In Honor of our Heroes Who Have Defended us in All Wars|
|1826 - - 1926
Fountain County Centennial Memorial
Erected by The Richard Henry Lee Chapter Daughters of the American Revolution in Memory of The Pioneers and Illustrious Dead of Fountain County and In Honor of our Heroes Who Have Defended us in All our Wars. — Map (db m7907) HM|
|Indiana (Fountain County), Hillsboro — Hillsboro Service Memorial|
|World War - I
Orel A. Smith, Born 1898, 32nd Co. 6th Marine Vol., Killed In Action, Nov. 2, 1918 • Lieut. W. E. G. Cooper, Born March 29, 1888, Killed In Action at Chateau Thierry, July 20, 1918 • Claude L. Wilkinson, Born June 9, 1893, Killed in Action at Verdun Sector, April 20, 1918 • John F. Conner, Born Dec. 1, 1890, Died in France Oct. 28, 1918 • Harry Robert Williams, Born April 1, 1897, Died from wounds in Battle of Verdun Sector April 2, 1918.
World War - II
Billy L. . . . — Map (db m7884) WM|
|Indiana (Harrison County), Corydon — Dedicated In Everlasting Tribute — Corydon War Memorial|
World War II
to the Enduring
Memory of our
Lest we forget, they died
that we may live
(Immediate Left of Center Panel - W.W. II):
Ralph Eugene Atz •
Charles D. Arnold •
Clifford E. Baker •
Claude E. Beanblossom •
Lynn Bowman •
Kenneth W. Briscoe •
Carl E. Bussabarger •
Lewis A Baylor •
Jackson Bowling •
Gordon E. Carrell •
James Cole . . . — Map (db m9677) WM|
|Indiana (Harrison County), Corydon — World War I Memorial — For God and Country|
|April 6, 1917 Nov. 11, 1918
William C. Albin • Roscoe Bennett • Charles H. Bird • Charles W. Bliss • William McK. Brewer • Pleasant Brown • George Browning • James R. Caughlin • Raymond Chaffin • Charles W. Coombs • Preston L. Davis • Raymond C. Davis • Charles E. Day • Claude Girdley • Benjamin R. Hannel • Clarence Heintz • Edwin C. Kitterman • Roy T. Morgan • Lewis Kopp • William H. Louden • Bentley Mauck • Frank E. Meyer • Jonathan L. Miller • Jesse G. Pearson • Jasper L. Pease . . . — Map (db m9678) HM|
|Indiana (Knox County), Vincennes — Chief Tecumseh — 1768 - 1813|
The great Shawnee leader lives on as a symbol of Native pride and pan-Indian identity. In the years 1810 and 1811 Tecumseh defended the rights of his people in meetings in Vincennes with William Henry Harrison, Governor of the Indiana Territory.
"The Trail of the Whispering Giants"
By sculptor Peter "Wolf" Toth
to the City of Vincennes — Map (db m61831) HM|
|Indiana (LaPorte County), Michigan City — 46.2010.1 — The Lincoln Funeral Train|
| Front Assassinated President Abraham Lincoln’s funeral was April 19, 1865 at the White House. The funeral train left for Springfield, Illinois April 21 directed by military; stops en route allowed the public to pay homage. From Indianapolis, train passed mourners lighted by bonfires and torches along the way; arrived in Michigan City by 8:35 a.m., May 1.|
Residents decorated depot north of here with memorial arches adorned with roses, evergreens, flags, and images of . . . — Map (db m60670) HM
|Indiana (Marion County), Indianapolis — 49.2005.1 — Robert F. Kennedy Speech on Death of Martin L. King|
|Here on the evening of April 4, 1968, Kennedy came to address a large crowd of mostly African Americans in his bid for Democratic Party nomination for president of U.S. Instead, visibly shaken, he gave an impromptu speech about the assassination of Martin Luther King, Jr. that day in Memphis, Tenn.
Kennedy urged the crowd to follow Rev. King’s lead and respond with understanding and prayer. Citing the need to avoid division, hatred, and violence, he called for love, wisdom, compassion, . . . — Map (db m236) HM|
|Indiana (Orange County), Orleans — Orleans Area War Memorial — Veterans of All Wars|
|Dedicated to those who served
(Leftmost Panel of Brick Memorials)
Grant C. Cornwell - (USAAC - S/SGT) - (2-1942 to 10-1945) -•- Lester R. Cornwell - (USN - GM3/C) - (8-1944 to 2-1946) -•- Leland W. Cornwell - (USA - CPL) - (7-1942 to 2-1946) -•- Roger L. Cornwell - (USN - BM 1/C) - (6-1943 to 4-1946) -•- Ralph L. Cornwell - (USAF - AMN 1/C) - (10-1952 to 8-1956) -•- Marvin E. Cornwell - (USAF - S/SGT) - (10-1951 to 8-1957) -•- Floyd L. Cornwell - (USA - PFC) - . . . — Map (db m22392) HM|
|Indiana (Parke County), Rockville — Honor Roll — Defenders of Freedom|
|For God and Country
This votive tablet is dedicated to the honor of the men and women of Parke County, Indiana who answered the call of our Country in the Great World Wars, and especially to those who died that you and I might live; and to the Eternal Memory and Glory of the American Soldiers, Sailors, and Marines who sleep on the far flung beach-heads of the world’s outposts, in obedience to the Command of the American People in order that the American Way of Life might survive.
1914 . . . — Map (db m3802) WM|
|Indiana (Parke County), Rockville — Korea — 1950 1953|
to those who served
for God and Country
that the eternal verities,
upon which this Nation
is founded, might live
Charles Ray Chaney
Hobert Decker Robert Lee Delp
Wilbert R. Harper
Robert Dean Hutson
James A Lawson
Robert Lewis Ross
William Wittenmyer — Map (db m3804) HM|
|Indiana (Parke County), Rockville — World War Memorial — "War Mothers Memorial"|
|1917 HONOR ROLL 1919
In commemoration of the patriotism of our boys who went forth at the call of their Country to serve in the World War and in memory of those who died that liberty might live.
William Owen Isham, Adams • Isaac Carl Thompson, Adams • William A. Edminsten, Florida • August Hamm, Florida • Tony Koshon, Florida • William Settles, Greene • Lonnie Clore, Howard • Earl A. Litsey, Howard • Forrest K. Hobson, Liberty • Gordon Jackson, Liberty • Vivian B. . . . — Map (db m4784) HM|
|Indiana (Scott County), Scottsburg — Scott County War Memorial|
(Front Center Panel:)
Dedicated to Scott County Veterans
Who Honorably Served Their Country
In Time Of War And Conflict
God - Duty - Honor - Country
(Back Center Panel:)
POW * * * MIA
“You Are Not Forgotten”
For those who have
fought for it, freedom has
a taste the protected
shall never know.
(Back - First Panel - (From Left):)
4,435 - Lives Lost
War of 1812 . . . — Map (db m22525) WM|
|Indiana (Tippecanoe County), Lafayette — Camp Tippecanoe - - - 1861 - 1865|
|May 1861 saw this high 30-acre bluff over-looking Lafayette quickly become an induction center for enlistees in the Civil War until its end in 1865. Ample water, good drainage and access to the railroad at its west end served the purpose well, however rough its shelters. Serving regional counties, several Indiana Regiments were organized here including the 10th, 15th, 20th, 40th, 72nd (a part of Wilder's famous "Lightning Brigade") and the 86th, as well as the 10th, 11th, and 16th Light Artillery Batteries attached to other units. — Map (db m8697) HM|
|Indiana (Vermillion County), Newport — Vermillion County Indiana - - War Memorial|
|Dedicated to all veterans during war and peace time.
(Lower - Middle: panel):
Nothing hurts like being forgotten. Nothing helps like being remembered. For those who fight for it, life has a special flavor the protected never know.
(Left side panel):
Revolutionary War 1776 - 1783
Indian Wars 1788 - 1891
Fought Indians for . . . — Map (db m8930) WM|
|Indiana (Vigo County), Terre Haute — 84.1982.1 — Charles Gene Abrell|
|This bridge commemorates the memory of Charles Gene Abrell, Corporal, First Marines of the United States First Marine Division, posthumous holder of the Congressional Medal of Honor. Born August 12, 1931. Died June 10, 1951. — Map (db m8922) HM|
|Indiana (Vigo County), Terre Haute — Eddie Taylor - - "Mayor of 7th and Wabash"|
|On these side walks, Eddie Taylor - Mayor of 7th and Wabash - peddled newspapers from 1916 to 1957, advancing freedom of the press one American at a time.
May those who walk these same Terre Haute streets value that freedom in Eddie's memory. — Map (db m8926) HM|
|Indiana (Wayne County), Richmond — Richmond Police Department Memorial|
| In honor of those
who gave their lives
for their community
Amos Markle, Mar. 13, 1884
George Little, July 8, 1916
Elmer Stephenson, July 8, 1916
John Hennigar, Oct. 21, 1924
Police Officer's Prayer
“Lord I ask for courage
Courage to face and
conquer my own fears.
Courage to take me
Where others will not go.
I ask for strength
Strength of body to
And strength of spirit
to lead others.
I ask for dedication
Dedication to my job, . . . — Map (db m22017) HM|
|Iowa (Polk County), Des Moines — Combat Wounded Veterans|
Military Order of the Purple Heart
Dedicated to all men and women
wounded in all our wars
My stone is red for
the blood they shed.
The medal I bear
is my Country's way
to show they care.
If I could be seen
by all mankind
Maybe peace will
come in my lifetime. — Map (db m42145) HM|
|Kansas (Barber County), Medicine Lodge — 69 — Medicine Lodge Peace Treaties|
At Medicine Lodge Creek in 1867, as many as 15,000 Apaches, Kiowas, Comanches, Arapahos, and Cheyennes gathered with a seven-member peace commission escorted by U.S. soldiers to conduct one of the nation’s largest peace councils. The American Indian nations selected this traditional ceremonial site for the nearly two-week council. Chiefs Satanta, Little Raven, and Black Kettle gave speeches, held ceremonies, and entered negotiations. They produced three treaties that reduced the size of . . . — Map (db m65195) HM|
|Kansas (Barber County), Medicine Lodge — Peace Treaty Memorial|
To commemorate the signing of the peace treaties between the United States Government and the Five Tribes of Plains Indians at Medicine Lodge, Kans.
Oct. 21-28, 1867. — Map (db m65128) HM|
|Kansas (Cowley County), Arkansas City — 1996 Olympic Torch Relay — Arkansas City — Heart of the Flame|
May 18, 1996
Charles Dow, Local Community Hero
Emily Bergkamp • Michael Goff
Amanda Crouse • Shaunta Lolar
Greg Gann • Trisha Morgan
Jenny Graham • Brooke Snowden
Nick Gilliland • Chad Taylor
100th Anniversary of the Olympic Flame
Gordon-Piatt Energy Group.
Designer and Manufacturer
of the Olympic Cauldron Burners — Map (db m60510) HM|
|Kansas (Crawford County), Pittsburg — Pittsburg State University Veteran's Amphitheater|
"Pittsburg State University
honors sons and daughters
who answered the call
of the nation.
We are ever grateful
for their many sacrifices
in peace and war
that freedom would prevail."
"Honor to the soldier and sailor everywhere who bravely bears his Country's cause." - Abraham Lincoln
"God grants liberty to only to those who live it and are always ready to guard and defend it." - Daniel Webster . . . — Map (db m20299) HM|
|Kansas (Ford County), Dodge City — H.B. (Ham) Bell|
Deputy U.S. Marshal,
Mayor of Dodge City
and Grand Old Man
of the Southwest
National Youth Administration
Work Project A-D-1939 — Map (db m65364) HM|
|Kansas (Ford County), Dodge City — Wyatt Earp|
Deputy Sheriff of Ford County - 1876
Assistant Marshal of Dodge City - 1877
Deputy Marshal of Dodge City - 1876-1879 — Map (db m65279) HM|
|Kansas (Ford County), Dodge City — Wyatt Earp|
Called to Dodge City in 1876 and established law and order in a few years. He did the same thing for other cities and became known as the best law officer in the West. He was a quiet and decent man and caused considerable publicity for Dodge City. Wyatt Earp died in California at the age of 81 in 1921. — Map (db m65386) HM|
|Kansas (Labette County), Oswego — Osage Indian Village — Circa 1841|
| Depicting when the Osage dwelled east of the bluff near Horseshoe Lake and Chief White Hair was their Chief. John Mathews, a fur trader and blacksmith, lived on the summit, intermingling with the tribe, both cultures benefiting from the relationship.
The mural was painted by signed artists Joan Allen, with Larry Allen and Jerg Frogley, reproduced from "The Village of White Hair" painted by E. Marie Horner and exhibited in the Oswego Historical Museum. — Map (db m42284) HM|
|Kansas (Marion County), Goessel — Banman Wheat Threshing Stone|
This wheat threshing stone is the symbol of pioneer life and was used by the Elder Heinrich Banman. — Map (db m61076) HM|
|Kansas (Marion County), Goessel — 31 — The Mennonites in Kansas|
Beginning in 1874, hundreds of peace-loving Mennonite immigrants settled in central Kansas. They had left their former homes in Russia because a hundred-year-old immunity from established religious orthodoxy and military service was being threatened.
The Alexanderwohl community, so named because of a solicitous visit by Czar Alexander I with Prussian Mennonites in 1821, had lived happily in southern Russia for more than 50 years before coming to America. Originating in the Netherlands in . . . — Map (db m61058) HM|
|Kansas (McPherson County), Lindsborg — Dag Hammarskjöld — 1905 - 1961 — Swedish Diplomat, Peacemaker, UN Secretary General|
For all that has been, thanks.
For all that will be, yes! — Map (db m57004) HM|
|Kansas (McPherson County), Moundridge — III — Anabaptist - Mennonite Faith & Life|
Anabaptism originated in Switzerland in 1525 during the Reformation under the leadership of Conrad Grebel, Felix Manz, Georg Blaurock, and others. Most Anabaptists were later named "Mennonites" in recognition of the leadership of Menno Simons, Dutch priest who joined them in 1536.
The Anabaptists sought a total commitment to God as revealed in the New Testament by Jesus Christ and attempted uncompromisingly to restore a New Testament brotherhood. They shared the Apostolic Creed . . . — Map (db m57138) HM|
|Kansas (McPherson County), Moundridge — IV — Centennial Memorial|
| The Memorial symbolizes our heritage of the Christian faith and expresses gratitude to God for His faithful leading.
The Pillar directs us Godward and suggests a tower of strength.
The Globe symbolizes the world populated by diverse and interdependent people. It represents the field of a Christ-centered world-wide program of evangelism carried on by Mennonites and other Christians. Examples of Mennonite efforts "In the Name of Christ" include: extensive missionary work, . . . — Map (db m57139) HM|
|Kansas (McPherson County), Moundridge — VI — Growth of This Pioneer Group|
| Elder Jacob Stucky and Rev. Jacob D. Goering laid the foundation for orderly church life that centered in the Immigrant House and later in the Hopefield Church, Moundridge, Kansas. After some time the group began to disperse. Today, the following sister congregations share a common heritage:
First Mennonite Church of Christian, Moundridge, Kansas -- originally located at the Village of Christian one mile south of Moundridge, 1875.
First Mennonite Church, Pretty . . . — Map (db m57144) HM|
|Kansas (McPherson County), Moundridge — In Memory of the Swiss Mennonite Congregation|
of Kotosufka, Volhynia, Russia whose members left Russia in search of religious liberty, sixty-two families sailing on the "City of Richmond," landing in New York September 3, 1874, and in October arriving on this Quarter Sectin (S.W. Quarter Sec. 19-21-2W) which was donated by the Santa Fe Railroad Company for church purposes, and with a few more families arriving later, settled this neighborhood.
And in gratitude
to them and to our beloved country, the United States of America, . . . — Map (db m57149) HM|
|Kansas (McPherson County), Moundridge — Original Site of Hoffnungsfeld-Eden Church — 1898 to 1924|
| Drawing of church — Map (db m57150) HM|
|Kansas (McPherson County), Moundridge — VII — The Challenge & Hope of the Future|
| The Mennonites came here because of their Anabaptist vision of the Christian faith and established Christian communities. Some wept as they said farewell to Russia and later, as they saw the endless miles of raw prairie, and encountered prairie fires, grasshoppers, droughts, floods, blizzards, or experienced personal tragedy. At times there were differences but also spiritual renewals. Through it all, they grew in Christian faith and worked diligently to achieve a better life.
What of . . . — Map (db m57145) HM|
|Kansas (McPherson County), Moundridge — II — The Swiss (Yolhynian) Mennonites|
Seventy-three families, the Mennonite Congregation of Kotosufka, left Russia on Aug. 6, 1874, under the leadership of Elder Jacob Stucky and Rev. Jacob D. Goering, at Liverpool, England. They embarked on the "City of Richmond," arriving in New York on August 31, 1874. Fourteen families went to South Dakota. Others stayed briefly with eastern Mennonites to repay travel loans. Fifty three families were brought by the AT&SF to Peabody, Kansas (a journey of 12 days). After a three-week . . . — Map (db m57132) HM|
|Kansas (Montgomery County), Caney — “Walking Stick” Cannon|
| Manufactured 1822 at
Fort Pitt Foundry, Pitts. Pa (FPF)
6 pound shell, 3 5/8 bore, weight 742 lbs.
The impractical slender design caused the barrel to burst. Only 100 were manufactured. Only 14 of this style survive in the United States. Eight men were needed to fire one shell.
First served Sinclair Tank farm east of Caney, later obtained by city as War Memorial and a monument to peace as it never fired a shot in anger. — Map (db m57888) HM|
|Kansas (Montgomery County), Coffeyville — Charles Brown — In Memory Of|
Who gave his life
at this spot
October 5, 1892 — Map (db m60826) HM|
|Kansas (Montgomery County), Coffeyville — Charles T. Connelly — In Memory Of|
Who gave his life
at this spot
October 5, 1892 — Map (db m60830) HM|
|Kansas (Montgomery County), Coffeyville — Dalton Gang and Defenders Graves|
On October 5, 1892, the five-member Dalton Gang rode into Coffeyville planning to rob the two banks. George Cubine and Charles Brown, two of Coffeyville's citizens killed while defending their town against the notorious gang, are buried here in Elmwood Cemetery.
Other defenders killed were City Marshal Charles Connelly, buried in Independence, KS, and Lucius Baldwin, buried in Burlington, KS. Three other citizens were wounded.
The family of Dick Broadwell, the remaining gang member, . . . — Map (db m60835) HM|
|Kansas (Montgomery County), Coffeyville — George B. Cubine — In Memory Of|
Who gave his life
at this spot
October 5, 1892 — Map (db m60823) HM|
|Kansas (Montgomery County), Coffeyville — Lucius M. Baldwin — In Memory Of|
Who gave his life
at this spot
October 5, 1892 — Map (db m60812) HM|
|Kansas (Morris County), Council Grove — Pioneer Cowboy Jail — City Calaboose Since 1849|
| "Only jail in early days on the Santa Fe Trail. Within its walls desperados, border ruffians, and robbers were held. During the Indian Raid of 1859 two Indians were taken out and hanged by a mob. A bad man, Jack McDowell, was hanged from the Neosho River Bridge after being guarded in the building. Jack the Peeper was shot while trying to escape after terrifying the town for months. This building has housed many bootleggers since 1880. Also some who ran stills producing moonshine whiskey..." . . . — Map (db m44992) HM|
|Kansas (Nemaha County), Wetmore — The Wetmore Calaboose|
The Wetmore Calaboose was started November 20, 1882 and completed July 7, 1883 for a total cost of $263.40 which included the price for purchase of Block 22, Lot 20, from Elvis Campfield. The walls are 15" thick native stone. The inside ceiling and wooden door are covered with metal sheeting. The original jail had an earthen floor, but a concrete floor was laid many years ago after a prisoner attempted to dig his way out. The first prisoner in the newly erected calaboose was John Martin who . . . — Map (db m63853) HM|
|Kansas (Sedgwick County), Park City — 64 — Indian Treaties of 1865|
In October 1865 hundreds of Plains Indians camped on these prairies to negotiate peace with U.S. government officials. Among them were Chiefs Black Kettle and Seven Bulls (Cheyennes), Little Raven and Big Mouth (Arapahos), Rising Sun and Horse's Back (Comanches), Poor Bear (Apache), and Satanta and Satank (Kiowas). Federal commissioners with great prestige among the Indians were General William S. Harney, Jesse H. Leavenworth, Christopher "Kit" Carson, and William Bent.
Both sides wanted . . . — Map (db m61099) HM|
|Kansas (Sedgwick County), Wichita — Ceremonial Pipes — The Ceremonial Pipe — Plains Indians Life, Beliefs and Practices|
| The pipe was central to tribal social and ceremonial life. A shared pipe sealed a friendship, a trade agreement, a treaty.
The solemn act of smoking a pipe was usually part of a group ritual or observance, such as in council, in which the pipe would be passed around the circle of participants. In many tribes, it was customary to take four puffs from the pipe before passing it on.
Because tobacco and its smoke were throught of as having great power, they were not used carelessly. Pipes . . . — Map (db m56789) HM|
|Kansas (Sedgwick County), Wichita — Keeper of the Plains — Blackbear Bosin — American Indian Trail Walk Path|
I have a song to sing,
To our Mother, the Earth,
To our Father, the Sun...
To sing this song
We are all here;
We are all here, as one
The one that makes us all
In the hands of the Great Spirit.
For more information on other great American Indians visit www.theindiancenter.org — Map (db m56750) HM|
|Kansas (Seward County), Liberal — International Pancake Day — Official Starting Line of the International Pancake Race|
R. J. Leete, Liberal, Kansas Jaycee President in 1950, issued a challenge to Vicar Ronald Collins of Olney, England to turn his 500-year-old race into an international event....thus beginning a Shrove Tuesday tradition of peace, goodwill and friendship.
Dedicated June 20, 1992 — Map (db m65682) HM|
|Kansas (Wyandotte County), Kansas City — Delaware & Wyandot Reserve — 14 December 1843|
The Indian Removal Act of 1830 forced certain eastern tribes westward into Kansas. In recognition of past acts of friendship by the Wyandots, the Delaware agreed to sell them 36 sections of their holdings. The Delaware also graciously donated 3 additional sections for churches and schools, totaling 24,960 acres.
This monument marks the boundary between the two tribes & commemorates the generosity of the Delaware Nation. . . . — Map (db m69400) HM|
|Kentucky (Carroll County), Carrollton — The Price of Freedom — All Kentucky Veterans|
The Price of Freedom
In honor and memory of all
Kentucky Veterans who served
our Country in times of Peace
and War, and to those who paid
the Supreme Sacrifice so that
we might enjoy freedom.
Their spirit, devotion, and love of
Country will be forever Remembered.
God - Duty - Honor - Country
Est. June 14, 1775
Responsible for military land
operations. The Army is prepared
to use swift . . . — Map (db m22321) HM|
|Kentucky (Carroll County), Carrollton — World War I & World War I I Memorial - - Carroll County, Kentucky|
| In Memory of the Men 0f CARROLL COUNTY
who gave their lives
Serving Their Country
+ + + World War I + + +
Otis Arvin • Golden Bowie • Frank L. Grimes • Lester Williams Howard • Guy Kirkland • Walter Lewis • Joseph B. Schirmer • Chester Shirley • Homer Joseph Slocum • Earl E. Smith • Millard Trinkle • Jesse Harsin
+ + + World War II + + +
Norman J. Lewellyn • Theodore Blackburn • Riley Junior McIntire • Paul Sutherland • Laverne Craig • Elizie McQuithy • Blan Stout • . . . — Map (db m22160) HM|
|Kentucky (Fayette County), Lexington — 2235 — Ashland / Clay & Abraham Lincoln|
|Ashland Home of Henry Clay, born April 12, 1777, died June 29, 1852. Served as a state legislator, US rep. & senator, house speaker, secretary of state. He ran for president in 1824, 1832, & 1844. Also an attorney, he practiced law for more than 50 years. He imported and bred fine livestock here, including champion thoroughbreds. Clay & Abraham Lincoln
Lincoln called Clay "my beau ideal of a statesman, for whom I fought all my humble life." Lincoln voted for Clay in 1832 & 1844. . . . — Map (db m35845) HM|
|Maine (Waldo County), Prospect — A Question of Boundaries|
| The United States planned Fort Knox to prevent another attempt by the English to control Maine lands east of the Penobscot, as they had successfully done in the American Revolution and War of 1812.
Fort Knox's construction had not yet begun when a conflict over the location of Maine's border with Canada briefly brought England and the U.S. to war again in 1839 (the so-called "Bloodless" Aroostook War). The boundary dispute was finally settled three years later. The new boundary placed . . . — Map (db m55136) HM|
|Maine (York County), Portsmouth Naval Shipyard — Building 86 [Peace Treaty Building]|
| Building 86 is currently the Shipyard’s Main Administrative Building housing the offices of the Shipyard Commander. In August/September 1905 it was the site of the signing of a treaty ending the Russo-Japanese War. The envoys of Russia and Japan were invited by President Theodore Roosevelt, an ardent naval enthusiast, to Portsmouth in an attempt to bring peace to the two warring nations. The Treaty of Portsmouth was signed on September 5, 1905, and in recognition of his leadership, President . . . — Map (db m77756) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Pride of Baltimore|
|On May 14, 1986, the Pride of Baltimore, her captain, and three members of her crew were lost at sea.
The Pride now rests at the end of a goodwill journey that covered 150,000 miles and touched 125 cities around the world.
Yet her precious cargo - the spirit of the people who sent her forth and of those who received her - will never be lost.
[inner table 1] Pride of Baltimore - Lost at Sea - May 14, 1986. Captain Armin Elsaesser, III. Nina Schack. Barry Duckworth. . . . — Map (db m20484) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Annapolis — Maryland State House|
Capitol of the United States November 26, 1783 – August 13, 1784
In this state house, oldest in the nation still in legislative use, General George Washington resigned his commission before the Continental Congress December 23, 1783. Here, January 14, 1784, Congress ratified the Treaty of Paris to end the Revolutionary war and May 7, 1784 appointed Thomas Jefferson plenipotentiary. From here, September 14, 1786, the Annapolis convention . . . — Map (db m2864) HM|
|Maryland (Anne Arundel County), Pasadena — So We Will Not Forget|
|With God's blessing, we dedicate this emblem of liberty to the men and women of this community who served and those who gave their all so that we, their children, and our childrens children can live in freedom, peace and harmony with our fellow men under the laws and protection of this great land.
The United States of America
Give not one inch of our sacred land to the enemies of freedome but give all of our lifes precious blood if need be to preserve it.
Samuel G. Kemp
Erected July 4, 1993 — Map (db m9281) HM|
|Maryland (Prince George's County), College Park — "May Peace Prevail on Earth" — University of Maryland|
| Spoken in the many languages of the University of Maryland, this was our collective prayer on September 12, 2001 when thousands gathered with flowers on McKeldin Mall to mourn the loss of innocent lives at the Pentagon, the World Trade Center, and on a field in Pennsylvania on September 11, 2001. This garden marks the spot where those flowers were buried. It is a place of community, hope, and remembrance. It is lovingly planted to honor those students, faculty, staff, alumni, parents, . . . — Map (db m65179) HM|
|Maryland (St. Mary's County), St. Mary’s City — Commemorating Maryland’s Pride and Glory — “Freedom of Conscience”|
|In the early 1880s, Marylanders began to commemorate the “lost city” of St. Mary’s as a place of special significance. The 300th anniversary of Maryland’s founding in 1934 brought renewed attention and enthusiasm. The State House replica was built, a huge celebration drawing over 100,000 people was held, and this statue was commissioned. It honors religious toleration, a right secured to all citizens of Maryland by “An Act Concerning Religion,” passed by the General . . . — Map (db m959) HM|
|Maryland (Wicomico County), Delmar — Transpeninsular Line|
|Transpeninsular line between Maryland and three lower counties of Pennsylvania (now Delaware)
Middle Point 8 miles
First run 1751, agreed upon 1760 and finally ratified 1769 by King George III. Thus ending almost a century of controversy between the proprietors of the two provinces. — Map (db m3834) HM|
|Michigan (Wayne County), Detroit — S0464 — Ste. Anne Church|
|On July 26, 1701, two days after his arrival, Antoine de la Mothe Cadillac, founder of Detroit, built a chapel dedicated to Ste. Anne, patron saint of New France. Father Francois Vaillant, a Jesuit, and Father Nicholas Constantine Delhalle, a Franciscan, were instrumental in the founding of the parish. The church records, which date from 1704, are now the second oldest continuous Roman Catholic parish records in the nation. From 1833 to 1844, Ste. Anne's was the Cathedral Church for the diocese . . . — Map (db m14878) HM|
|Minnesota (Lac qui Parle County), Montevideo — LP-CAM-003 — Camp Release|
|On September 26, 1862, 91 whites and about 150 mixed-blood captives, some of whom had been prisoners of the Dakota Indians for more than a month, were returned to Colonel Henry H. Sibley's military camp, later joyfully known as Camp Release. In the next few days, additional captives were freed, bringing the total to 107 whites and 162 mixed-bloods – 269 in all.
When the 1862 U.S.-Dakota conflict moved into its final weeks in mid-September, attention on both sides had focused on the . . . — Map (db m69118) HM|
|Minnesota (Renville County), Morton — Solid Friendships|
Made of solid granite, the “Friendly Indian Monument” was dedicated in 1899 in honor of six Dakota Indians who befriended and protected government employees, immigrant settlers, missionaries, or aided soldiers during the United States – Dakota Conflict of 1862, most often at the risk of their own lives.
Simon Ana'wang ma' ni
Ana'wang ma'ni assisted a woman and child to safety during the Conflict. He also served as . . . — Map (db m70864) HM|
|Missouri, St. Louis — Nimíipuu (Nez Perce)|
[Traveling?] approximately 2,000 miles from present-day Idaho, four Nimíipuu (Nez Perce) came to St. Louis in the fall of 1831 to the home of William Clark. Feeling pressure from an encroaching white presence in their homeland, these men sought information on the white man's culture and a greater understanding of the "Book of Heaven." Knowledge was power - power to assure their families thrived and that their way of life continued. Black Eagle and Speaking Eagle fell ill and died . . . — Map (db m62061) HM|
|Missouri (Buchanan County), Saint Joseph — Peace Officers Memorial|
[Numerous memorials to
fallen officers, including]
Joseph H. Killion
Patrolman - SJPD
Crushed By A Train In The
Line of Duty
Died June 14, 1917
Greater Love Hath No Man Than This,
That a Man Lay Down His Life For His Friends
— Map (db m55836) HM|
|Missouri (Cass County), Belton — Smoot Peace Park and Veterans Memorial|
Love + Labor + Leisure + Light + Law=
A memorial to
Mr. & Mrs. G. W. Smoot
given to City of Belton by daughter
Cynthia Smoot Jones
Dedicated to those who served
Dedicated Veteran's Day
Nov. 11, 2004
We salute the courage, honor,
patriotism, and sacrifice of
all men and women who serve in the
Armed Forces of the United States
We mourn the loss of those who have
given their lives to preserve and
defend our precious liberty . . . — Map (db m50860) HM|
|Missouri (Clay County), North Kansas City — War Memorial|
Since recorded history, one of the tragedies of man's existence is war. Wars are started by leaders and finished by citizens of the country they represent - and always at a terrible cost in human lives.
These memorials will help you appreciate the sacrifices made so Americans can enjoy the freedoms of today. Figures inscribed on the memorials include both combat-related deaths and non-hostile (accident, disease, etc.) deaths.
It is the intent that the reader who moves to . . . — Map (db m73566) HM WM|
|Missouri (Franklin County), Washington — Wir Sind Freunde - We Are Friends — Sister Cities — Marbach am Neckar • Washington|
The citizens of Washington hereby commemorate the Sister City partnership between the City of Marbach am Neckar, Germany and the City of Washington, Missouri. Recognizing the value of mutual understanding to world peace, we unite in contributing our efforts to this goal.
Marbach am Neckar
November 11, 1990
May 25, 1991 — Map (db m61644) HM|
|Missouri (Vernon County), Fair Haven — Changing Life Styles|
| American Attitudes Toward The Osage
In March 1804, the United States took possession of the Louisiana Territory, almost doubling the size of the United States. This provided growing space for an expanding population. The Lewis and Clark expedition left that year to explore the Missouri River. The U.S. government rejected the trade monopolies of the Spanish and Lisa's monopoly with the Osage ended.
At first, the American attitude toward Indians was similiar to that of the French and . . . — Map (db m61396) HM|
|Missouri (Vernon County), Fair Haven — Osage Sites in the Area|
The small area (about 12 by 10 miles) where Osage Village State Historic Site is located, contains almost all of the Osage sites and early French and American sites relating to the Osage in Missouri.
1. Osage Village Site
The site on which you are now standing is the earliest known Osage Indian village in western Missouri. It was the home of the Little Osage and the Big Osage from before the time of their first European recording until 1717 when the Little Osage moved north to the . . . — Map (db m61407) HM|
|New Hampshire (Rockingham County), Portsmouth — Treaty of Portsmouth 1905|
| September 5, 1905 - A day now commemorated statewide as Portsmouth Peace Treaty Day - marks the signing of the Portsmouth Peace Treaty at the Portsmouth Naval Shipyard. The Treaty brought to a close the first great war of the twentieth century, which was fought between Japan and Russia over control of Korea and Manchuria.|
Citizen diplomacy - the effect of the New Hampshire hosts on the diplomats - significantly contributed to the successful negotiations. Throughout the proceedings, and . . . — Map (db m76455) HM
|New Jersey (Burlington County), Crosswicks — Crosswicks Quaker Meeting — Religious Society of Friends|
|Quakers settled Crosswicks in 1677 and purchased this land toward the end of that century. Friends have worshiped on this site continuously since that time. The smaller building was erected in the mid 1780's for use as a Quaker school and is now used as a First Day (Sunday) school and gathering place.
During the Revolutionary War, the meetinghouse was occupied by both Colonial and British forces, though meetings for worship were still held. Use as a wartime barracks was a challenge to the . . . — Map (db m36084) HM|
|New Jersey (Burlington County), Crosswicks — Friends Meeting|
|Built, 1773, replacing 1706
house. North wall holds
cannon ball which struck
in 1778 skirmish between
British and Americans — Map (db m36082) HM|
|New Jersey (Burlington County), Tabernacle Township — Carranza Memorial|
|This monument commemorates the legacy and tragic accident of Captain Emilio Carranza Rodriguez, a Mexican aviator. Born in Ramos Arizpe, Coahuila, Mexico, Carranza was returning from a goodwill mission on a nonstop flight from New York to Mexico City when he crashed here during a thunderstorm. His goodwill mission marked the longest flight flown by a Mexican Aviator up until that time. Though his accomplishments earned him the nickname the "Lindbergh of Mexico." he was most often regarded among . . . — Map (db m35139) HM|
|New Jersey (Burlington County), Tabernacle Township — Monument|
|Captain Emilio Carranza
fell to his death
while returning to Mexico
on good will flight 1928.
Mexican children. — Map (db m35121) HM|
|New Jersey (Morris County), Chester — Chester Area Veterans Monument|
|Dedicated to Those From the Chester Area Who Served in the Armed Forces of the United States of America.
With faith and courage they left their homes and committed themselves to the horrors of armed conflict, many sacrificing their lives as part of the cost to achieve peace. Through their actions they leave a legacy that is our responsibility to preserve. That legacy is a free nation, where liberty and justice are more than just words, where anyone's hopes and dreams can become reality, . . . — Map (db m23021) HM|
|New Jersey (Passaic County), Woodland Park — Martin Luther King, Jr.|
|On September 11, 1966, Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. visited this site, the home of Rev. Dr. and Mrs. Deual Rice, after speaking at the celebration of Dr. Rice's retirement as Pastor of Union Baptist Church in Montclair. — Map (db m78037) HM|
|New York (Erie County), Cheektowaga — Buffalo Creek Indian Reservation North Boundary|
|The defeated Indian League of the Iroquois received a large reservation across Erie County, at the end of the American Revolution. William Street forms part of the north boundary of this Buffalo Creek Indian Reservation. The final sale treaty, signed in 1842, ended the 65 year Indian occupation of the reservation in southern Cheektowaga. Erected by Town Board, Town of Cheektowaga, 1964. — Map (db m74063) HM|
|New York (Genesee County), Pembroke — General Ely Samuel Parker 1828-1895 — "Do-Ne-Ho-Ga-Wa" Grand Sachem Chief — "Keeper of the Western Door of the Long House of the Iroquois"|
|Son of William and Elizabeth Parker, born in a log cabin overlooking the water-falls, at Indian Falls, N.Y., then part of the Tonawanda Indian Reservation. Volunteered into the army, and became General Grant's Military Secretary. He was instrumental in drafting the final terms of the Confederate Surrender at Appomattox Court House in Virginia on April 9, 1865. On March 2, 1867, he was commissioned a Brigadier General in the regular army.|
President Grant appointed him the first . . . — Map (db m76082) HM
|New York (New York County), New York — First Presidential Mansion — No. 1 Cherry St.|
|Occupied by George Washington from April 26 1789 to February 25 1790.
— Map (db m43173) HM|
|New York (Niagara County), Youngstown — In Commemoration of the Rush - Bagot Treaty|
|[Text from the Center Tablet]:
This Agreement Between the United States and Great Britain in Eighteen Hundred Seventeen has Assumed the Force of an International Treaty
The Naval Force to be maintained upon the American Lakes by His Majesty and the Government of the United States shall henceforth be confined to the following vessels on each side that is -
On Lake Ontario to one vessel not exceeding one hundred tons burden and armed with one eighteen pound . . . — Map (db m67410) HM|
|New York (Orange County), Newburgh — The Disbandment of the Armies|
|This monument was erected under the authority of the Congress of the United States and of the State of New York in commemoration of The Disbandment under proclamation of the Continental Congress of Oct 18, 1783 of the Armies by whose patriotic & military virtue our National Independence & Sovereignty were established. — Map (db m8205) HM|
|New York (Orange County), West Point — The Hand of the Aggressor|
|The hand of the aggressor is stayed by strength - and strength alone. Dwight David Eisenhower [ Lower Marker : ] The words inscribed on the tablet above are from a speech made in London in 1951. Presented by the Class of 1942 in memory of this great American under whom many of the Class served in World War II. — Map (db m50149) HM|
|New York (Rockland County), Tappan — Washington and Carleton Meeting|
|Commemorating the 200th anniversary of the meetings between General George Washington and General Sir Guy Carleton at Tappan and aboard H.M.S. Perseverance. Jointly by the Historical Society of Rockland County and Tappantown Historical Society.
Dedicated May 15, 1983 — Map (db m7291) HM|
|New York (Wyoming County), Genesee Falls — Nancy Jemison Log Cabin|
|This log house which originally stood on the Gardeau Flats by the Genesee River was built about 1800 by Mary Jemison, "The White Woman of the Genesee," for her second daughter, Nancy. In a nearby cabin, also built by her, she lived about 35 years.
She lived 78 years of her life as a captive and adopted member of the Senecas, during which time she became the wife of Chief Hiokatoo, and gained great influence in their councils. — Map (db m76137) HM|
|New York (Wyoming County), Genesee Falls — To the Memory of Mary Jemison|
To the Memory of Mary Jemison, Whose home during more than seventy years of a life of strange vicissitude was among the Senecas upon the banks of this river, and whose history, inseparately connected with that of this valley has caused her to become known as "The White Woman of the Genesee."
The remains of "The White Woman" were removed from the Buffalo Creek Reservation and reinterred at this place with appropriate ceremonies, on the 7th day of March, 1871.
[rear] . . . — Map (db m76359) HM|
|New York (Wyoming County), Genesee Falls — Welcome to the Seneca Council Grounds|
|William Pryor Letchworth first became interested in Native American culture after hearing his father's stories about Cornplanter, the Seneca Chief, meeting with Letchworth's great-uncle, John Letchworth, a Quaker preacher in Philadelphia. Sensitive to the injustices that Native Americans suffered on reservations and their fast-disappearing cultural heritage, Letchworth became determined to collect and preserve Native American artifacts. One of his most significant acquisitions was the . . . — Map (db m76005) HM|
|North Carolina (Cumberland County), Fayetteville — I-60 — Frank P. Graham — 1886 - 1972|
| First president of Consolidated U.N.C., 1932-1949. U.S. senator; U.N. mediator, India & Pakistan. Birthplace was 50 yds. W. — Map (db m30894) HM|
|Ohio (Auglaize County), Saint Johns — Catahecassa — Blackhoof Memorial|
|Nearby sleeps Chief (Blackhoof) Catahecassa, last principle chief of the Shawnees prior to their removal to Kansas in 1832. This was Blackhoofs town where he lived and died in Sept. 1831, at the age of 109. He fought with the French against Braddock at Ft. Pitt in 1755, opposed Col. Lewis at the Battle of Point Pleasant in 1774, served under British Capt. Bird in 1780. He lead his people against the campaigns of Harmer 1790, Saint Clair 1791, and Wayne in 1794. He signed the Greenville Treaty . . . — Map (db m16971) HM|
|Ohio (Butler County), Bethany — 45-31 — First Jain Temple in Ohio / History of Jainism in Ohio|
| Side A: First Jain Temple in Ohio
"Souls render service to one another"
The Jain Center of Cincinnati and Dayton was established on April 22, 1979 as a non-profit tax-exempt organization under the laws of the United States and the State of Ohio. The foundation stone of the Jain temple, the first of its kind in Ohio, was laid down on August 21-22, 1994. The temple was dedicated on September 2-4, 1995 when more than one thousand people from all over Ohio and many other states . . . — Map (db m24073) HM|
|Ohio (Butler County), Hamilton — 25-9 — Soldiers, Sailors, and Pioneers Monument — "Victory, the Jewel of the Soul"|
| Side A: Soldiers, Sailors, and Pioneers Monument
The Soldiers, Sailors, and Pioneers Monument was planned and promoted by Butler County Civil War veterans and financed by a county levy in 1899. The monument, built of Indiana Limestone, is near the center of the site of Fort Hamilton, built in 1791 and named in honor of Alexander Hamilton, Secretary of the Treasury in President George Washington's cabinet. Featured, are two large, colorful windows that recognize the contributions of . . . — Map (db m30705) HM|
|Ohio (Butler County), Okeana — 26-9 — 1858 Morgan Township House / Copperheadism in Butler County|
| Side A:
1858 Morgan Township House
On April 20, 1857, the trustees of Morgan Township met in Okeana to obtain a lot for the township house. From a quarter mill tax levy, $850 was budgeted for a house and lot. Money expended on the project included $50 for the lot, $650 for the construction of the building, $41 for fencing, $12.60 for twelve chairs, and $10.25 for a table. Since its completion in 1858, this meeting house has been used for trustee meetings, a voting precinct, village . . . — Map (db m24000) HM|
|Ohio (Clinton County), Wilmington — "Who Sends Thee?"|
“One day while plowing I heard a voice,”
whether inside me or outside of me I knew not,
but I was awake.
It said, ‘Go thou and see the president.’
I answered, ‘Yea, Lord, thy servant heareth.’
and unhitching my plow, I went at once to the house and
said to mother,
‘Wilt thou go with me to Washington to see the president?’
‘Who sends thee?’ she asked.
‘The Lord,’ I answered.”
In September of 1862, Isaac Harvey, Quaker farmer,
and his wife, Sarah . . . — Map (db m28002) HM|
|Ohio (Darke County), Greenville — 4-19 — Treaty of Greene Ville 1795|
Following General Anthony Wayne's victory at Fallen Timbers, members of the western tribes assembled at Fort Greene Ville to settle on terms of peace. Representatives of the Wyandot, Delaware, Shawnee, Ottawas, Chippewa, Ottawa, Pattawatimi, Miami, Eel River, Wea, Piankeshaw, Kickapoo, and Kaskaskia signed the treaty on August 3, and agreed to cede claims to lands east of the Cuyahoga River to Fort Laurens in Tuscarawas County and south of a line running west to Fort . . . — Map (db m17497) HM|
|Ohio (Darke County), Greenville — Treaty of Greeneville — Anthony Wayne Treaty Memorial|
to Commemorate the
Treaty of Greeneville
Signed August 3, 1795 by
General Anthony Wayne
United States Government
and the chiefs and agents of the
Allied Indian Tribes
of the Ohio River
MCMVI — Map (db m19883) HM|
|Ohio (Defiance County), Defiance — Little Turtle (Me-she-kin-o-quah) — 1752 - 1812|
|[Text on the south side of the Marker]:
Little Turtle (Me-she-kin-o-quah)
1752 - 1812
Little Turtle, a war chief of the Miami People, was born near
present-day Fort Wayne, Indiana. From 1790 to 1794, he lived in a
Miami village three miles west of this site on the Tiffin River.
As a warrior, he led Native American confederations in battles at
Kekionga (Fort Wayne) and the present Fort Recovery.
As a peacemaker, he counseled local Native Americans to . . . — Map (db m52992) HM|
|Ohio (Delaware County), Hyatts — 12-21 — Bharatiya Hindu Temple|
In 1985, Hindu immigrants from India formed a celestial organization, The Bharatiya Temple Society of Central Ohio, and through its membership adopted the Constitution and Bylaws and named the place of worship Bharatiya Hindu Temple. Later they bought a house at 3903 Westerville Road in Columbus for prayer and worship. In 1994, the membership moved to the current location and built this temple to serve the religious, spiritual, educational, and cultural needs of those . . . — Map (db m12819) HM|
|Ohio (Franklin County), Columbus — Council Site Between William Henry Harrison and Indians|
|Near this spot, June 21, 1813
was held a council between
William Henry Harrison
and the Indians comprising
Shawnees and Senecas with
Tarhe the Crane
as spokesman resulting in
with the Indians of Ohio. — Map (db m59300) HM|
|Ohio (Franklin County), Columbus — Native Americans|
| Central Ohio was home to Native Americans as early as 10,000 years ago. While we don't know what they called themselves, archaeologists call a group of the earliest peoples, “Mound Builders”. Their society left nearly 200 burial and ceremonial mounds around Franklin County, and thousands more throughout the Ohio and Mississippi River Valleys.
Several mounds originally rose above the confluence of the Scioto and Olentangy rivers, just west of North Bank Park. Most of the Franklin . . . — Map (db m30023) HM|
|Ohio (Franklin County), Columbus — Peace|
|Commemorating the heroic sacrifices of Ohio’s soldiers of the Civil War 1861–65 and the loyal women of that period.
When our country sent out the call to arms for the preservation of the Union Ohio sent more than three hundred thousand of her sons · · · They had the faith that right makes might and in that faith dared to do their duty · · · This memorial is erected in grateful tribute to their devotion and self-sacrifice.
Men win glory in the fierce heat of conflict but the . . . — Map (db m9956) HM|
|Ohio (Hamilton County), Cincinnati — Lytle At Christmas — Lytle Park Series|
| Lytle Park was a showplace at Christmas time for 28 years from 1939 to 1967. Thousands crowded here to view the annual Nativity Crib of the Western and Southern Life Insurance Company complete with live animals. The crib has been moved to Eden Park. — Map (db m24927) HM|
|Ohio (Marion County), Marion — 14-51 — Camp Marion, World War II Prisoners of War — 1944 - 1946|
This site was once a twenty-four acre camp for Prisoners of War established on the grounds of the Marion Engineer Depot. The Depot was a major supply and logistics site of the U.S. Army Engineers during World War II. The first contingent of POWs arrived in December 1944, consisting of two hundred and fifty men, many of them Germans who had served in the Afrika Korps Panzer Division. POWs served in many capacities during their time at Camp Marion. Some worked in construction, . . . — Map (db m29115) HM|
|Ohio (Marion County), Marion — 5-51 — Norman Mattoon Thomas|
| Was born on this site Nov. 20, 1884. He graduated from Marion High School in 1901, Princeton University in 1905, and from Union Theological Seminary. Thomas, a clergyman, and the son of Marion's Presbyterian minister, was a tireless worker for social security, civil rights, and human justice. Six time Socialist Party presidential candidate, he was a leader in the effort toward disarmament and world peace. He died Dec. 19, 1968, in Huntington, N.Y. — Map (db m27030) HM|
|Ohio (Marion County), Prospect — Greenville Treaty Boundary Line|
Treaty Signed And
Ratified 1795 By
The Indians And
General Anthony Wayne.
By This Treaty
The Land To The North
To The Indians
And To The South
To The White Settlers. — Map (db m44308) HM|
|Ohio (Mercer County), Fort Recovery — Greene Ville Treaty Line — Surveyed by Israel Ludlow, 1797-1799|
|At this spot was found the original surveyor's stake which marked the western terminus of that part of the Greene Ville Treaty line running from near Fort Laurens, in the eastern part of the state, to Fort Recovery. From this point the line ran southwesterly to a point on the Ohio River opposite the mouth of the Kentucky River. By the terms of the treaty, signed on August 3, 1795, the Indian tribes gave up their claims to the lands south and east of this line.
When found in 1934 Ludlow's . . . — Map (db m20265) HM|
|Ohio (Montgomery County), Dayton — Wright-Patterson AFB — 1927 — (Inventing Flight: The Centennial Celebration Series #8)|
| Oh! I have slipped the surly bonds of earth, and danced the skies on laughter-silvered wings... -John Gillespie Magee
Wright-Patterson Air Force Base has led the nation throughout the evolution of U.S. military air superiority. When the original Wright Field was dedicated in 1927, it developed all aircraft and aeronautical equipment for the Army Air Corp [sic]. This work continued into World War II when U.S. air fleet capabilities vastly improved. For the 1991 Gulf War, . . . — Map (db m29557) WM|
|Ohio (Morgan County), Chesterhill — 15-58 — Quaker Meeting House|
|Despite the fugitive slave laws that prohibited harboring runaway slaves, fugitives found refuge in the Quaker village of Chesterfield, now Chesterhill. Legend tells that no runaway slaves were ever captured here, although many were hidden and helped on their way to freedom in Canada. A well-organized branch of the Underground Railroad ran through Morgan County with Elias Bundy as a principal conductor. Bundy sometimes concealed fugitive slaves in the woods east of Chester Hill. Historian W.H. . . . — Map (db m16718) HM|
|Ohio (Pickaway County), Circleville — Capt. Michael Cresap — In Memoriam|
|A Colonial and Revolutionary Hero of Ohio, Virginia, and Maryland, whose military services assisted in gaining the “Dunmore Treaty,” after the Battle of Point Pleasant, in which he fought in the Hampshire County, Virginia, regiment. Captain Michael Cresap was present here and a signer of the “Dunmore Treaty,” in October 1774.
Captain Michael Cresap's companions in arms, Ebenezer Zane, General George Rogers Clarke, Colonel Benjamin Wilson, Benjamin Tomlinson and . . . — Map (db m13660) HM|
|Ohio (Pickaway County), Circleville — Cornstalk|
|Two miles northwest of this site, on Scippo Creek, was the town of the Shawnee chief, Cornstalk, celebrated for his leadership of an Indian army against Virginia volunteers under Colonel Andrew Lewis, in the Battle of Point Pleasant, Virginia, October 10, 1774. Although they destroyed one-fifth of Lewis' forces, the Indians retreated and made peace with Lord Dunmore, Governor of Virginia, at Camp Charlotte, a few miles east of Cornstalk's town. — Map (db m13669) HM|
|Ohio (Pickaway County), Circleville — Grenadier Squaw (Non-hel-e-ma)|
|Grenadier Squaw was chief of the largest Shawnee Indian village, located on the south bank of Scippo Creek, upon the Pickaway Plains in 1774. Born about 1720, Non-hel-e-ma, sister of Chief Cornstalk, was named “Grenadier Squaw” by white traders because of her imposing stature, regal bearing and unflinching courage. She spoke three languages, serving as peacemaker and interpreter between Indians and whites. Because of her friendship, she accepted Christianity. After the peace treaty . . . — Map (db m13670) HM|
|Ohio (Pickaway County), Circleville — 7-65 — Grenadier Squaw Village / Cornstalk Town|
|Side A: Grenadier Squaw Village
The Grenadier Squaw Village was located between this area and Scippo Creek, upon the Pickaway Plains, the primary Shawnee settlement in Ohio. Non-hel-e-ma, born circa 1722, was the sister of the Shawnee Cornstalk and Silver Heels. Known as Grenadier Squaw because of her imposing stature, she spoke four languages, serving as peacemaker and interpreter. After the peace treaty with Lord Dunmore in 1774, and in spite of Cornstalk's murder, she remained allied . . . — Map (db m13652) HM|
|Ohio (Pickaway County), Leistville — Camp Charlotte|
|Near this spot the famous treaty was made between Lord Dunmore, Governor of Virginia and Chief Cornstalk of the Shawnees and Allied Tribes in October 1774.
This camp was named “Charlotte” after the Queen of England. — Map (db m13500) HM|
|Ohio (Pickaway County), Leistville — 6-65 — Treaty of Camp Charlotte|
In an effort to maintain peace with Native Americans, the British imposed the Proclamation Line of 1763, which prohibited colonial settlement west of the Appalachian Mountains. Some settlers did not recognize British authority and continued to move westward. Virginia Governor Lord Dunmore, realizing that peace with Native Americans was improbable, amassed troops and headed west, camping at the Hocking River to meet with a unit commanded by Andrew Lewis. En route, Lewis's troops were . . . — Map (db m13499) HM|
|Ohio (Richland County), Mansfield — Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial|
“Now it doesn't matter.
(go ahead! go ahead! Sounding from the audience.)
It really doesn't matter what happens now.
I don't know what will happen now.
We've got some difficult days ahead, (yeah! oh yes!)
But it really doesn't matter with me now. (oh, yes!)
Because I've been to the mountaintop.
(cries and applause)
Like anybody I would like to live a long life.
Longevity has its place.
But I am not concerned about that now.
I just want . . . — Map (db m20859) HM|
|Ohio (Shelby County), Fort Loramie — Greene Ville Treaty Line — Anthony Wayne Parkway|
|This marker is located on the boundary line which was established at the end of the Indian wars to separate the American settlers and the Indians. It was agreed upon by the United States and the defeated confederated Indian tribes at the Treaty of Greene Ville. August 3, 1795. Except for the reserved sections shown on the map, including Loramie's Store, and seven other strategic areas in the Northwest Territory. The lands north and west of the treaty line were left to the Indians. South and . . . — Map (db m20587) HM|
|Ohio (Summit County), Akron — 37-77 — Treaty of Fort McIntosh Boundary Line|
| In 1785, American Indian tribal leaders from the Chippewa, Delaware, Ottawa, and Wyandot met with representatives sent by the United States Congress to sign the controversial Treaty of Fort McIntosh. The treaty surrendered control of Native American lands in southern and eastern Ohio to the United States government. Most Indians rejected the validity of the treaty and rather than improving relations, the Treaty of Fort McIntosh only intensified the tensions that existed between the United . . . — Map (db m43512) HM|
|Ohio (Union County), West Mansfield — 11-80 — Greeneville Treaty Line / Greeneville Treaty Line in Union County|
|[Front Side of Marker]: "Greeneville Treaty Line"
The Treaty of Greeneville created the Greeneville Treaty Line. It was the boundary between lands in the original possession of the Indians and those they ceded to the United States, which were south and east of the boundary. Major General "Mad" Anthony Wayne negotiated the treaty with the tribes his army defeated at the Battle of Fallen Timbers on August 20, 1794. Leaders of 12 tribes, including Wyandots, Delawares, Shawnees, . . . — Map (db m43895) HM|
|Ohio (Warren County), Lebanon — 2-83 — Union Village — (1805 - 1912)|
| Side A:
Union Village, the first and largest Shaker (United Society of Believers) community west of the Allegheny Mountains, was established in 1805. Nearly 4,000 Shakers lived in Union Village, the last living here until 1920. They owned 4,500 acres of land with more than 100 buildings. Union Village was parent to other communities in Ohio, Kentucky, Indiana, and Georgia. Shakers were among the most successful religious communal societies in the United States. Believe in equality of men and . . . — Map (db m24074) HM|
|Ohio (Warren County), Springboro — 8-83 — Jonathan Wright Homestead — circa 1815|
| Jonathan Wright (1782-1855) and his wife Mary Bateman Wright (1787-1866) moved with their five children from Menallen, Adams County, Pennsylvania, in 1814 and built this Federal style house. Using skills acquired from his father, Joel Wright, a surveyor who platted the city of Columbus, Jonathan platted the village of "Springborough," named for the many springs in the vicinity. The Wright family established and operated a woolen factory, two flour mills, a general store, and a 320-acre farm in . . . — Map (db m26547) HM|
|Ohio (Warren County), Waynesville — Friends Burial Ground|
| In 1804, Miami Monthly Meeing purchased this land to use as a graveyard. Burials were made without regard to status or family association, but rather by date of death. Some of the earliest graves are marked with a plain rock obtained from a nearby creek while later markers are typically small limestone headstones, often carved with only the individuals' names (sometimes only initials) and date of death. There is also a Revolutionary War soldier buried here, showing that the early Friends were . . . — Map (db m26524) HM|
|Ohio (Wood County), Hull Prairie — Fort Miamis Reserve/Miltonville — Anthony Wayne Parkway|
|[North side of Marker]:Fort Miamis Reserve
“River tracts 46 and 47 in Township No. 1 United States Reserve” is the official description of the Miltonville location.
The “United States Reserve” was the twelve mile square area established by the Treaty of Greene Ville, 1795, which ended the Indian Wars. It was one of sixteen such reserves in the Northwest Territory and one of four in the Maumee Valley which gave the United States control of strategic . . . — Map (db m25871) HM|
|Oklahoma (Comanche County), Fort Sill — 280mm Heavy Motorized Gun M65 — (Gun Nr. 21 on Carriage Nr. 3)|
| (left plaque)
At 8:31 a.m. on 25 May 1953 this gun fired the world's first atomic artillery round, at Camp Desert Rock, Nevada. 19 seconds later and 7¾ miles distant, the shell that could wipe out an enemy division exploded on target with a roaring violence equal to 15,000 tons of TNT. 3,100 participating military officers and men crouched some 5,000 yards from the churning mass of heat and flame that surrounded the core of the atomic fireball. The event was a milestone in military . . . — Map (db m60886) HM|
|Oklahoma (Lincoln County), Stroud — Trooper Kenneth "Kenny" Osborn — July 7, 1947 - July 13, 1978 — In Memory Of|
Oklahoma Highway Patrol
Trooper Osborn was killed on July 13, 1978 after stopping to investigate an abandoned vehicle on the Turner Turnpike. He was struck and killed by an out-of-control semi-trailer rig loaded with steel. — Map (db m59940) HM|
|Oklahoma (Lincoln County), Stroud — Trooper Larry Crabtree — Dec. 3, 1943 - Apr. 4, 1977 — In Memory Of|
Oklahoma Highway Patrol
Trooper Crabtee was killed on April 4, 1977 by a single shotgun blast fired by a sixteen year-old driver at Mile Fifty Eight. Trooper Crabtee had stopped the driver for illegally entering the Turner Turnpike. — Map (db m59942) HM|
|Oklahoma (Muskogee County), Haskell — 72 — La Harpe's Council|
First peace council and alliance in Oklahoma between a European nation and Indian tribes held here at a Tawakoni village by Comdt Bernard De La Harpe on his first visit to the Arkansas River. He erected a post here carved with the coat-of-arms of the French king, on Sept. 10, 1719. This date marks the beginning of French place names and trade activities in Oklahoma. — Map (db m77867) HM|
|Oklahoma (Oklahoma County), Oklahoma City — As Long As The Waters Flow — Dedication Ceremonies|
Honoring the centuries-old presence and contribution of
Native Americans to Oklahoma
State Capitol Rotunda Sunday, June 4, 1989
Master of Ceremonies
State Senator Enoch Kelly Haney, Seminole Creek
Allan Houser (Haozous),
[List of Participants]
Unveiling Ceremony - Flag Plaza
Traditional Cedar Smoke Blessing
George 'Woogee' Watchetaker,
Comanche Medicine Man
The ceremony was attended by more than one thousand guests, . . . — Map (db m60269) HM|
|Oklahoma (Wagoner County), Wagoner — Melvin "Buck" Garrison — February 18, 1946 • December 26, 1971 — Game Warden|
We enjoy the bountiful wildlife and rich natural resources in Oklahoma because of the many officers who have dedicated their lives to wildlife law enforcement.
Ranger Garrison gave his life, the ultimate sacrifice, while attempting to arrest a ring of illegal commercial fish poachers in the Hoffman Bottom area of Lake Eufaula.
May we never forget our loss and the words written on his tombstone:
"Buck loved God. He loved His creation. Thus, he chose a Game Ranger's life as his vocation." — Map (db m68078) HM|
|Pennsylvania (Adams County), Gettysburg — "The Great Peace Jubilee"|
|On July 1-4, 1913, the 50th Anniversary of the Battle of Gettysburg was celebrated with the first joint reunion for all Union and Confederate veterans, many of whom fought here in 1863.
53,407 veterans attended. 44,713 Union and 8,694 Confederate. A huge encampment of 6,600 tents, spread over 280 acres, was erected to hyour and feed them.
The "grand reunion" attracted press correspondents from all over the nation and Europe, and more than 100,000 visitors.
It was anticipated that . . . — Map (db m19063) HM|
|Pennsylvania (Beaver County), Baden — Legion of the United States Encampment|
|On the plateau, southwest of this spot, was
situated the camp of the army of General Anthony Wayne. This army, known as the Legion of the United States, encamped at this place when on the expedition against the Indians west of the Ohio from November 1792 until April 1793. The expedition resulted in the Treaty of Greenville, which was signed in the summer of 1795. — Map (db m40299) HM|
|Pennsylvania (Berks County), Birdsboro — William Penn|
On his first visit to America
1682 - 1684
came farthest north
on Schuylkill River
fifty miles up
from the Falls of Schuylkill
to or near the mouth of Monocacy Creek
three fourth of a mile
south-[direction erased] of this marker
October 6, 1945 — Map (db m25202) HM|
|Pennsylvania (Berks County), Douglassville — Anthony Sadowski|
| Polish pioneer, Indian trader, settled along Schuylkill River in this area, 1712. He served the Provincial government as a messenger-interpreter during negotiations with Indian tribes in 1728. He was buried, 1736, in graveyard of St. Gabriel's Church. — Map (db m25273) HM|
|Pennsylvania (Berks County), Douglassville — Anthony Sadowski|
| . . . — Map (db m25276) HM|
|Pennsylvania (Berks County), Reading — Col. Conrad Weiser|
| In memory of
Col. Conrad Weiser,
Pioneer, soldier, diplomat, judge. As interpreter and Indian agent he negotiated every treaty from 1732 until near the close of the French and Indian War.
The Weiser building where he often met the Indians in conference was erected by him on this site in 1751.
Born in Germany in 1696. Arrived in Berks in 1729. Died in 1760 near Womelsdorf, where his remains are buried. . . . — Map (db m25272) HM|
|Pennsylvania (Berks County), Womelsdorf — Conrad Weiser|
| Pioneer, Indian interpreter, treaty maker, 1732-1760. The Indians called him the "Holder of the Heavens." He lived, died, and is buried on this property, now a State Park devoted to his memory. — Map (db m38777) HM|
|Pennsylvania (Berks County), Womelsdorf — Home of Conrad Weiser, 1729-1760|
| Churchman, Counsellor, Soldier, Indian-Interpreter, Agent, Diplomat and First Judge of Berks County.
Here were held many conferences with Indian chiefs, missionaries, colonial governors and leaders.
Here were reared his children of whom the eldest daughter Anna Maria, married Rev. Henry Melchoir Muhlenberg, the "Patriarch of the Lutheran Church in America."
Here he died July 13, 1760 and lies buried in the family plot nearby, together with his father, his wife, several children and a . . . — Map (db m39286) HM|
|Pennsylvania (Bucks County), Doylestown — Community Service and Veterans Memorial|
| This monument honors the citizens of Doylestown Township and surrounding Central Bucks municipalities who through public service and volunteerism have devoted themselves to the betterment and welfare of their communities as well as those who have fought in wars from the American Revolution to the present in order to protect our freedoms.
[Dedicated May 17, 2008] — Map (db m23458) HM|
|Pennsylvania (Bucks County), Fallsington — Falls Monthly Meeting of Friends — 1683 - 1933|
The first Falls Meeting House
built here in 1690
on 6 acres given by
The second House, 1728
The third, present, house, to left, 1789
The fourth, present, house, to right, 1841
attended and preached
when residing at his countryseat
Pennsbury, 5 miles southeast
1699-1701 — Map (db m30601) HM|
|Pennsylvania (Bucks County), Fallsington — Moon Williamson Log House — Historic Fallsington|
| Quaker Samuel Moon resided here in the late 1700s and early 1800s. As a well known carpenter, he was particularly skilled in making Windsor chairs. This celebrated and prized antique originally served a functional role in public buildings and taverns. The chair requires no screws or nails, with the distinctive stick legs and spindle backs driven into the plank seating. The Windsor chairs of Samuel Moon continue to live on in the museum and private collections of southeastern Pennsylvania. — Map (db m30610) HM|
|Pennsylvania (Bucks County), Feasterville — Playwicky Indian Town — 1682|
| was located
to the south in the vale
by the run and springs.
of the Unami Group
• their totem • the tortoise •
of the Lenni Lenape or Delawares
the land between
Neshaminy and Pennypack Creeks
June 23, 1683 — Map (db m31193) HM|
|Pennsylvania (Bucks County), Newtown — Edward Hicks — (1780 - 1849)|
| Famed primitive artist. His subjects included farmscapes & Biblical scenes; he painted more than fifty versions of The Peaceable Kingdom, based on a prophecy of Isaiah. Also a coach & sign painter; a Quaker preacher. Lived here on Penn Street, 1821-49. — Map (db m32066) HM|
|Pennsylvania (Bucks County), Newtown — Edward Hicks House — Newtown Heritage Walk No. 3|
| Edward Hicks (1780-1849), son of Isaac and Catherine Hicks, was a Quaker minister, sign painter and folk artist, most famous for over sixty versions of his Peaceable Kingdom paintings. Born in Langhorne, his mother died when he was young, and Hicks was raised by David and Elizabeth Twining on their farm in Newtown Township. After an apprenticeship in Attleborough (now Langhorne) and an eleven-year stint as junior partner of a coach maker in Milford (now Hulmeville), Hicks moved to . . . — Map (db m32316) HM|
|Pennsylvania (Bucks County), Newtown — Friends Meeting — Newtown Heritage Walk No. 5|
| Newtown Friends Meeting is an active place of worship for approximately 250 area Quakers. Newtown Meeting was co-founded by Quaker minister, sign painter and folk artist Edward Hicks, now highly acclaimed for his renditions of The Peaceable Kingdom. In 1815, Hicks gathered nearby Friends (Quakers) to meet in the empty Court House on Court Street after the county seat moved to Doylestown in 1813. Previously, these local Friends, members of either Falls, Middletown, or Wrightstown . . . — Map (db m32212) HM|
|Pennsylvania (Chester County), West Chester — The Peace Garden at Birmingham|
|During the Battle of the Brandywine on September 11, 1777, the American Army used the walls of this Quaker Burial Ground in their first line of defense. Both armies used this meetinghouse of Quaker pacifists as a hospital. Behind the wall is the common grave of British and American soldiers killed in the battle. The Peace Garden at Birmingham surrounding this grave is a place to contemplate a world without war. This site is dedicated to the imperative need to employ peaceful alternatives to deadly conflict. — Map (db m8244) HM|
|Pennsylvania (Dauphin County), Harrisburg — “Never Again”|
| This memorial to the Holocaust, once a dream for survivors who settled in this community, became a reality in 1994 and was rededicated in 2007.
The monument represents a spiritual reminder of the darkest chapter of history, when Hitler perpetrated a systematic state persecution and murder of six million Jewish women, men and children and of five million other victims deemed undesirable. It describes the toll of unleashed discrimination and the resilience of the human spirit in . . . — Map (db m6279) HM|
|Pennsylvania (Lancaster County), Ephrata — Brothers' House Complex|
| The Brothers' House (Bethania) was built on this site in the spring of 1746. Although it is difficult to determine the actual height of the building, the Brothers' House was probably a four-and-one-half story half-timber structure that measured seventy-four feet long from east to west and thirty-four feet wide from north to south. The Chronicon, the communal society's diary, tells us: “The house was so durably joined together by posts, beams, and joists that you will hardly find . . . — Map (db m23082) HM|
|Pennsylvania (Montgomery County), Elkins Park — Lucretia C. Mott|
|Nearby stood “Roadside,” the home of the ardent Quakeress, Lucretia C. Mott (1793-1880). Her most notable work was in connection with antislavery, women's rights, temperance and peace. — Map (db m22119) HM|
|Pennsylvania (Montgomery County), Horsham — Horsham Friends Meeting Meeting House|
has been placed on the
of Historic Places
by the United States
Department of the Interior — Map (db m28106) HM|
|Pennsylvania (Northampton County), Bethlehem — Gemein Haus — (Clergy House)|
| Erected in 1741
The first house of worship in
Home for the clergy among whom were
Zinzendorf - Spangenberg
Nitschmann - Ettwein - Seidel
Scene of the Great Wedding July 15, 1749
Place of the only school for the teaching
of Indian languages
The Treaty of Friendship between the
Nanticoke and Shawnee Indians and
the Moravian Brethren was made in
the Saal in 1752
Many notable conferences both in Colonial
and Revolutionary periods were held
in the . . . — Map (db m27144) HM|
|Pennsylvania (Northampton County), Bethlehem — Gemeinhaus — (Clergy House)|
| Erected in 1741. First place of worship in Bethlehem was on the second floor. Count von Zinzendorf had quarters here, 1742. Place of many notable conferences in the Colonial and Revolutionary periods.
Erected A.D. 1741.
Second House of
and the first
place of worship. — Map (db m27138) HM|
|Pennsylvania (Northampton County), Bethlehem — Moravian Community|
| Community organized June 25, 1742. The oldest buildings are on West Church Street. Those marked are; Gemeinhaus, Sisters' House, Bell House, Brothers' House, and Old Chapel. — Map (db m26907) HM|
|Pennsylvania (Northampton County), Bethlehem — The Old Chapel|
| Before and during the American Revolution many noted patriots worshiped here, including George Washington, Martha Washington, Benjamin Franklin, John Adams, Samuel Adams, John Hancock, Count Casimir Pulaski and the Marquis de Lafayette.
In 1792 fifty-one chiefs and warriors from the Iroquois Confederacy visited this chapel. Among the chiefs were Sagoyewatha (Red Jacket) and Gyantwakia (Cornplanter). Bishop John Ettwein greeted them, and girls from the Moravian Seminary for Young Ladies read . . . — Map (db m27189) HM|
|Pennsylvania (Philadelphia County), Philadelphia — Arch Street Friends — 1681|
|The Arch Street Meeting House stands as an enduring symbol of the people who created Pennsylvania as a "Holy Experiment." Built to house the men's and women's Yearly Meetings, the business sessions of the Religious Society of Friends for Philadelphia and Environs, it remains one of the oldest active houses of worship in the city. Begun in 1803, the building was financed by the sale of the Greater Meeting House, which stood at Second and High (now Market) Streets, the site of Quaker Meetings . . . — Map (db m9324) HM|
|Pennsylvania (Philadelphia County), Philadelphia — Philadelphia Beirut Bombing Memorial|
| . . . — Map (db m21518) HM|
|Pennsylvania (York County), Shrewsbury — Spurgeon Milton Keeny — (1893-1988)|
|The humanitarian's boyhood home. Served worldwide, 1917-76. In Asia, directed UNICEF; aided family planning. Chief, UN's Italy relief; assisted Russian relief. A YMCA officer in Mesopotamia, Siberia, Estonia, Poland; later was on its U. S. Council. — Map (db m4546) HM|
|Rhode Island (Providence County), Providence — Repentance for Slavery|
|On this site Providence R.I. July 5th 1999 in conjunction with the 22nd general Synod of the United Church of Christ a group of church and community people gathered in an act of repentance for African American slavery and in celebration of human freedom. — Map (db m56283) HM|
|Tennessee (Blount County), Friendsville — The Underground Railroad — Friendsville Quakers and Cudjo's Cave|
|Members of the Religious Society of Friends (Quakers) came to Blount County in the 1790s looking for a place to worship in peace. Hardworking and industrious, opposing war and slavery, they developed the land and founded the prosperous settlements of Unity (now Unitia) and Friendsville. During the Civil War, Friendsville Quakers participated in the Underground Railroad to help conscientious objectors, Unionists, and runaway slaves flee to the North. The Friends
raised money at their meetings . . . — Map (db m69444) HM|
|Tennessee (Hamilton County), Lookout Mountain — New York Peace Monument|
|[Text from the outer plaque facing north]:
On Nov. 23, 1863, Maj. Gen. Hooker was directed to make a demonstration early the following morning on the Point of Lookout Mountain with the troops in Lookout Valley under his command, aggregating 9,681.
Geary’s Division started at 8:00 A.M., crossed Lookout Creek at Light’s Dam, and, moving by the flank, enveloped in fog and mist, until its right rested under the palisades. Marched northerly by brigades in echelon; Cobham’s Brigade . . . — Map (db m23954) HM|
|Tennessee (Monroe County), Sweetwater — Tennessee Meiji Gakuin High School 1989-2007|
|This monument commemorates Tennessee Meiji Gakuin High School (TMG) which existed here. The school was founded on the Christian principle of service to mankind, with the motto: "Do for others".
During its 18 years, TMG graduated 677 students. These students, the teachers and the staff were part of this community.
The Japanese Sakura symbolizes this community's friendship along with the Tennessee Iris - a further symbol of the bridges built between Japan and Tennessee. Thank you, Sweetwater. We will never forget you! — Map (db m70484) HM|
|Texas (Bexar County), San Antonio — The Storming of Bexar — Vicinity of — (December 5-9, 1835)|
| First of four major engagements of the War for Texas Independence, this sanguinary battle ended a siege of six weeks. The assault began at dawn, Dec. 5. 300 volunteers (Texans, Mexicans, and Americans) under Cols. Frank W. Johnson and Benjamin R. Milam attacked 1,200 Mexican troops commanded by Gen. Martin P. de Cos defending San Antonio, then known as Bexar.
Two columns advanced into the strongley fortified town along Acequia (now Main) and Soledad Streets guided by townsmen John W. Smith . . . — Map (db m30211) HM|
|Texas (Bexar County), San Antonio — The Torch of Friendship — A Gift from the People and Friends of Mexico|
| Symbol that stands for the unity and friendship that exists between Mexico, the United States and Canada
When designing the sculpture, I thought of creating a symbol of light and I came up with the idea of a torch that stands tall to evoke friendship and unity
I envisioned two tall columns rising and joining at the top in a playful dance to form the torch
From all angles, it reflects the different facets of the relationship between our countries: sometimes festive, at times complex, . . . — Map (db m31848) HM|
|Texas (Gillespie County), Fredericksburg — Lasting Friendship — by J. Hester — Pioneer Garden|
| John O. Meusebach, German settler and founder of Fredericksburg, and Penatuka Comanche chief, Santanna share a peace pipe on May 7, 1847, at the signing of the treaty between the People of Fredericksburg and the Comanche Nation. The standing Comanche represents more than twenty other chiefs also participating in the treaty. This treaty is the only known peace treaty with Native Americans in United States history thought never to be broken. The spirit of this treaty continues in Fredericksburg . . . — Map (db m35884) HM|
|Virginia, Lynchburg — Q-6-11 — Lynchburg|
|In 1757 John Lynch opened a ferry here; in 1765 a church was built. In 1786 Lynchburg was established by act of Assembly; in 1791 the first tobacco warehouse was built. Lynchburg was incorporated as a town in 1805. In 1840 the James River and Kanawha Canal, from Richmond to Lynchburg, was opened; the section to Buchanan in 1851. Lynchburg became a city in 1852.
Trains began running on the first railroad, the Virginia and Tennessee, in 1852. Lynchburg was a main military supply center, . . . — Map (db m46461) HM|
|Virginia, Manassas — Peace Jubilee — Friendship and Reconciliation|
|In July, 1911, an amazing event took place here at Manassas, Virginia. The Manassas National Jubilee of Peace brought together Union and Confederate veterans fifty years after the first major battle of the Civil War. For the first time, veterans of both sides came together on the same ground in a ceremony of peace and reconciliation.
The idea for the Peace Jubilee, a week-long celebration of national healing and reunion that took place July 16-22, came in a letter to the Washington . . . — Map (db m2469) HM|
|Virginia, Richmond — SA 46-a — Early Quakers in Richmond|
|Near this site a meetinghouse was built in 1797 to 1798 by members of the Religious Society of Friends. Called Quakers, the earliest had arrived in Virginia from England in 1655. The building was the second house of worship in Richmond after St. John’s Church. Richmond Quakers advocated religious freedom, worked to make the prison system more humane and, as pacifists, usually refused to bear arms. They also joined with the Virginia Society of Friends to pressure the General Assembly for passage . . . — Map (db m32317) HM|
|Virginia, Richmond — Reconciliation Statue — Richmond Slave Trail|
|Dedicated 2007 CE
Identical statues in Liverpool, England; Benin, West Africa; and Richmond, Virginia, memorialize the British, African, and American triangular trade route, now identified as the Reconciliation Triangle. Traders profited from delivering over 114,000 Africans to Virginia between the 1600’s and the American Revolution – and at least 337,800 to other North American places before 1808. The “triangle” extended between Liverpool and other large British cities, . . . — Map (db m41843) HM|
|Virginia (Appomattox County), Appomattox Court House — After the Surrender|
|The depression before you is the trace of the old Richmond-Lynchburg Stage Road. Gen. Robert E. Lee rode this route both to and from his meeting with Grant on April 9, 1865. His return to the army – as he passed towards his headquarters atop the ridge in front of you – turned poignant when hundreds of Confederate soldiers surged around him. “…shouts sank into silence, every hat was raised, and the bronzed faces of the thousands of grim warriors were bathed with tears… . . . — Map (db m6004) HM|
|Virginia (Appomattox County), Appomattox Court House — Appomattox|
|Here on Sunday April 9, 1865, after four years of heroic struggle in defense of principles believed fundamental to the existence of our government, Lee surrendered 9000 men, the remnant of an army still unconquered in spirit. — Map (db m6005) HM|
|Virginia (Appomattox County), Appomattox Court House — Appomattox River|
|Near this site General Lee crossed the Appomattox River and proceeded up the hill to the McLean House where he met General Grant to draft the terms of surrender. April 9, 1865. — Map (db m6006) HM|
|Virginia (Appomattox County), Appomattox Court House — McLean House|
|At midday on April 9, 1865, General Robert E. Lee rode into this yard, dismounted, and disappeared into the McLean House. Grant, surrounded by generals and staff officers, soon followed. Dozens of officers, horses, and onlookers waited outside. After 90 minutes, Lee and Grant emerged. To the silent salutes of Union officers, Lee rode back through the village – to his defeated army. The home that hosted the surrender meeting was one of the best in Appomattox. Built in 1848, it had since . . . — Map (db m5962) HM|
|Virginia (Appomattox County), Appomattox Court House — The Surrender Ceremony|
|“As my decimated and ragged band with their bullet torn banner marched into its place, someone in the blue line…called for three cheers for the last brigade to surrender… [F]or us this soldierly generosity was more than we could bear. Many of the grizzled veterans wept like women, and my own eyes were as blind as my voice was dumb.” Major Henry Kyd Douglas, CSA
Throughout the day on April 12, 1865, shattered Confederate divisions marched into the village to surrender their . . . — Map (db m5965) HM|
|Virginia (Arlington County), Arlington National Cemetery — Spirit of the Elbe|
In recognition of the cooperation of American, Soviet, and Allied armed forces during World War II, this marker symbolizes the link up of Soviet and American elements at the Elbe River on 25 April 1945.
In tribute to the battle against tyranny.
[Russian Cyrillic translation]
Dedicated in honor of the 50th Anniversary of the Link-up. — Map (db m30704) HM|
|Washington (King County), Seattle — Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial Park — The Life of Martin Luther King, Jr.|
| This park honoring Martin Luther King, Jr. was inspired by Dr. King’s last speech entitled “I’ve Been to the Mountaintop.” He delivered the speech in Memphis, Tennessee the night before he was assassinated. He was there in support of striking sanitation workers. Dr. King’s legacy embodied in this memorial will give everyone regardless of racial or ethnic background an opportunity to remember him personally and to reflect on his teachings. Our children and their children will always . . . — Map (db m22557) HM|
|Wisconsin (Dane County), Madison — Global Vision — Bascom Hill Historic District|
|In 1961, more than 100 University of Wisconsin students and graduates applied to spend two years volunteering in some of the world's neediest countries as part of a new program known as the Peace Corps. Their participation began a long relationship between the University of Wisconsin and the Peace Corps, symbolic of the university's deep commitment to helping uncover and solve international problems. This university was one of the first to train these volunteers, and it has traditionally sent . . . — Map (db m31951) HM|
|Wisconsin (Dane County), Madison — Reform and Revolt — Bascom Hill Historic District|
|University of Wisconsin students traditionally have been active in political and social causes, and that was never more apparent than during the turbulent 1960s. During that time, students frequently led rallies and demonstrations, many of which protested U.S. involvement in the Vietnam War. Those activities succeeded in mobilizing thousands for and against the war. The tensions and divisions on campus eventually devolved into violence, culminating with the bombing of Sterling Hall, which . . . — Map (db m31761) HM|
|Wisconsin (La Crosse County), La Crosse — 242 — Spence Park|
|Because of the fertile soil and lush woodlands on the river shores, the Winnebago Indians settled in this area in 1772. Sixty years later they ceded these lands to the U.S. Government. In 1842, Nathan Myrick, the first white settler in La Crosse, built his log cabin and trading post on this site. It was designated a public boat landing in 1851.
This was the most strategic Mississippi River port on the western boundary of Wisconsin. Boats traveling north and south docked here, and wagons . . . — Map (db m8538) HM|