|Argentina, Misiones Province, Iguazu National Park — Bernabe Mendez Bridge — Salto: Guardaparque Bernabe Mendez — Parque Nacional Iguazú|
| En homenaje a quien fuera muerto el 14 de April de 1968 por cazadores furtivos en el Alto Iguazú cuando defendia el patrimonio natural de la humanidad.
Cuerpo de Guadaparques Nacionales, 09 de Octubre de 1991.
(English Translation) In honor of he who was killed on April 14, 1968, by stealthy poachers in Iguazu Heights while defending humanity’s natural heritage.
National Park Guard Corps, October 9, 1991. — Map (db m26254) HM|
|Australia, Victoria, Melbourne — Pillar of Stone|
|This pillar of stone quarried from Stawell was placed here on the insistence of
The Hon. John Woods, M.P.
(born Liverpool England November 5th 1822, died Brighton Victoria April 2nd 1892; engineer, politician and inventor, commissioner International Exhibition 1880 and exhibition trustee 1881-1892) to express his indignation of the choice of New South Wales stone for Parliament House and to show the enduring qualities of local stone. — Map (db m70636) HM|
|Brazil, Rio de Janeiro — APA das Pontas de Copacabana e Arpoador — Environmental Protection Area of Copacabana and Arpoador Promontories|
|[The text on the right of the marker is in English]:
The Environmental Protection Area (APA) of Copacabana and Arpoador Promontories was created by Municipal Law No. 2.087/94 to protect its rocky coast and native plant life species. The APA has the Copacabana Fort and the “Girl from Ipanema” Park as its limits.
The Copacabana Fort had its construction finished in 1914 with a mission to protect Rio de Janeiro’s coast. Today the fort shelters . . . — Map (db m25894) HM|
|Alberta, Banff — Banff Park Museum|
|Opened in 1895, the Banff Park Museum was moved into this building in 1903. Its cross-log motif exemplifies an architectural style common in the town at the time. Norman Bethune Sanson, the museum’s curator from 1896 to 1932, energetically developed the collections, initially put together by the Geological Survey of Canada. Throughout its early years the museum dealt with natural and human history but by the late 1950s was limited to natural history. While this building was refurbished in 1985, . . . — Map (db m8836) HM|
|Alberta, Turner Valley — Turner Valley Oilfield|
|Turner Valley is Alberta’s first great oilfield. Initially the field, which began production in 1914, yielded mainly natural gas. Local plants, which provided the only extensive gas-processing system in the province, extracted the marketable petroleum products. The discovery of deeper deposits in 1924 at Royalite No. 4 made Turner Valley the leading producer in Canada. In 1936, the crude-oil pool underlying the gas reserves was discovered and Turner Valley reached peak output. While production . . . — Map (db m9204) HM|
|British Columbia (Alberni-Clayoquot Regional District), Port Alberni — Forest Industry in British Columbia — L’Industrie Forestiere en Colombie-Britannique|
|Harvesting of the forest has long been an important aspect of life on the Pacific Coast. The native people were the first to utilize this valuable resource in the construction of dwellings, canoes, and implements. In the nineteenth century, spars masts, and timber were exported. In 1860 the first export sawmill was constructed near this site. From these beginnings the forest industry has expanded to become a very important element of the economy of British Columbia. In this century considerable . . . — Map (db m9192) HM|
|British Columbia (Cariboo Regional District), Barkerville — Cariboo Gold Fields — Districts Aurifères de Cariboo — Barkerville - Historic Town|
A search for the source of placer gold found on lower parts of the Fraser River led to discoveries of lode mines in the Cariboo, of which Williams Creek, is said to have yielded $19,000,000. As a centre of population in the 1860’s, the gold fields were the catalyst for the economic and political development of colony of British Columbia. They attracted miners from around the world and stimulated the growth of trade and agriculture. Economic difficulties resulting from the . . . — Map (db m42712) HM|
|British Columbia (Greater Vancouver Regional District), New Westminster — The Great Fire — New Westminster|
On September 10 & 11, 1898,
fire destroyed the
downtown portion of
the City. After the
conflagration only these two
major buildings in this area remained:
the Burr Block
and the Queens Hotel.
This marker is placed in
recognition of the fire
and to honour the spirit
of those citizens of the
Royal City, from
all walks of life,
who worked together
to rebuild this town.
Dedicated September 10, 1998 — Map (db m32209) HM|
|British Columbia (Kitimat-Stikine Regional District), Moricetown — Moricetown Canyon|
|This site, once the largest village of the Bulkley Valley Indians, later was named after the pioneer missionary, Father Morice. Salmon, staple food of the Indian, concentrated in the canyon and were caught with basketry traps, dip-nets, and harpoons. Indians still catch salmon with long gaff nooks and smoke them at this historic native fishery. — Map (db m9072) HM|
|British Columbia (Skeena-Queen Charlotte Regional District), Port Edward — Inverness Cannery|
|The developing provincial salmon industry spread northward when the Inverness Cannery opened here in 1876. The first cannery in northern British Columbia, it took advantage of the abundant sockeye runs up the Skeena River to challenge the dominance of the canneries along the lower Fraser. Finally closed in 1950, the plant was destroyed by fire in 1973. — Map (db m9075) HM|
|British Columbia (Skeena-Queen Charlotte Regional District), Port Edward — North Pacific Cannery|
|Salmon canning stimulated economic development on this coast. North Pacific is the oldest West Coast cannery still standing. From here the Bell-Irving family shipped high quality salmon directly to England before 1900. Typical of most canneries in its isolation and operations, North Pacific relied more on native labour than those close to urban centres, was slower to adopt new technology, and had lower production costs. Ethnically-segregated living and work areas divided Chinese, Indian, . . . — Map (db m9203) HM|
|Yukon Territory, Dawson City — Discovery Claim — Concession de la Découverte|
The names Robert Henderson, Skookum Jim, Tagish Charlie and George Carmack are inextricably linked to the discovery of gold on Bonanza Creek. Henderson was first to systematically explore the gold bearing potential of the region, only to have the major find elude him. Then on 17 August 1896 Jim struck gold, and with his companions Charlie and Carmack staked the first claims. A few day later at Forty Mile, Carmack in his own name registered the Discovery Claim where this monument . . . — Map (db m44702) HM|
|Yukon Territory, Whitehorse — Copper Nugget|
| This immense slab of native copper weighs 2590 pounds or 1175 kilograms. In 1905, prospectors found the copper on the upper White River, 250 miles northwest of Whitehorse. This is the Yukon’s largest copper nugget, possibly a Canadian record.
Six men ventured into the wilderness in April 1958 to fetch the trophy nugget. Using a Canadian Army caterpillar, the slab was hoisted 400 feet to the riverbank. Guided by dog teams, the group hauled their copper cargo through wilderness, around . . . — Map (db m42727) HM|
|El Salvador, San Salvador — Bicentennial Park — Parque Bicentenario|
| Alcaldía Municipal de Antiguo Cuscatlán
Milagro Navas Alcaldesa
Alcaldía Municipal de San Salvador
Norman Quijano Alcalde
En ocasión de celebrar
El Bicentenario del Primer Grito de Independencia
Las Alcaldías Municipales de San Salvador y Antigua Cuscatlán con la colaboración de Salvanatura entregan a la ciudadanía el
Parque del Bicentenario
Este es el mayor legado a la población del Área Metropolitano de San Salvador en materia de preservación de nuestros recursos . . . — Map (db m83774) HM|
|Ireland, Connacht (County Mayo), Moneen — Lime Kiln, Moneen, — Clew Bay Archaeological Trail site 11 — Slí Seandálaíochta Chuan Módh|
| Móinín - Small Bog
Lime Kilns date from the 18th century and were used until the 1940s in some areas. By lighting fires in these kilns and adding crushed limestone, lime was produced for use as fertiliser in the fields and also for whitewashing cottages. Most of the lime kilns around the country have been destroyed and only rare examples survive. This site survives in its entirety and is as fine an example of its type to be found in the area.
Tornóg Aoil - Móinín
Tosaíodh ag . . . — Map (db m27989) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Fingal), Howth — Howth The Village / Binn Éadair ______ — The Fingal Way / Sli Fhine Gall|
| A Fishing Village
References to the fishing industry in Howth can be found from the twelfth century, although in the seventeenth century the port was also known in the area as a base for pirates roaming Dublin Bay. In Elizabethan times a wooden quay was built but as vessel size increased the importance of Howth for goods and passenger traffic declined. In the nineteenth century various plans were put forward for a harbour at Howth and in 1807 construction commenced using stone quarried . . . — Map (db m27057) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Longford), Kenagh — fáilte go Kenagh|
| Brief History of Longford
Longford is a focal point of the northern midlands where the provinces of Leinster, Ulster and Connaught all converge. Longford, where history and literature, tradegy and triumph are all woven together, takes its name from the ancient stronghold of the O'Farrell family (Long Fort - Fort of the O'Farrells) who ruled from the 11th Century. Bordered to the west by the majestic River Shannon, Longford is a county of rolling plains and picturesque stretches of water. . . . — Map (db m27946) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Meath), Duleek — The Lime Tree — Duleek Heritage Trail|
| William of Orange and Mary accepted the throne of England in 1698, supplanting King James II who took refuge with his ally and sponsor Louis XIV of France. The tensions between James and William would reach their highpoint in 1690 at the battle of the Boyne in Meath, where James was defeated.
In Duleek at the time there was a very significant colony of Huguenots (French Protestants) who had fled persecution in France.
Subsequently to the Battle of the Boyne the people of Duleek planted . . . — Map (db m24802) HM|
|Ireland, Munster (County Kerry), Dunquin — The Blaskets|
| This group, the most westerly off the Irish coast, comprises 7 sizeable islands and isolated rocks spread in a line west by south over 2½ miles of the Atlantic, the largest (Great Blasket) 2 miles off shore.
Antiquities of the early Christian period include oratories, crosses and “beehive” cells on Inis Mhicileáin and Inis Tuaisceart, and church ruins on the Great Blasket.
The economy of the islands, based mainly on fishing with some farming, in 1839 supported 13 . . . — Map (db m24096) HM|
|Switzerland, Lucerne (Lucerne (District)) — "At the White Cross" Inn — zum Wissen Krütz|
|Das Wirtshaus “Zum Weissen Kreuz” wird erstmals 1495 in den städtischen Akten Luzerns erwähnt. Am 27. Juni 1495 bezahlte der Luzerner Rat dem “hansen zum wissen krütz” Wein. Kein anderes heute noch existierendes Wirtshaus kann eine Erwähnung bereits im 15. Jahrhundert nachweisen; das Weisse Kreuz ist das älteste Wirtshaus der Stadt Luzern, das bis heute unter seinem historischen Namen existiert.
The "At the White Cross" Inn was . . . — Map (db m67698) HM|
|Alabama (Autauga County), Prattville — Doster Road Artesian Well House|
|Prattville is often referred to as “The Fountain City” for the numerous free-flowing artesian wells found here. A 1933 edition of the Prattville Progress noted that there were more than 400 of these artesian wells in Prattville and its immediate vicinity, some of which supplied the town's water system. Although many of the wells have been capped, or ceased to flow when relocated, quite a few remain, including several public wells in the Daniel Pratt Historic District. . . . — Map (db m70805) HM|
|Alabama (Blount County), Blount Springs — Blount Springs|
|Famous Health Resort
Here fashionable ladies and
gentlemen of the South
their families. — Map (db m33782) HM|
|Alabama (Choctaw County), Gilbertown — First Oil Well In Alabama|
|On January 2, 1944, the State of Alabama granted Hunt Oil Company a permit to drill the A.R. Jackson Well No. 1 at this location near Gilbertown. Hunt Oil Company was owned by the famous oil man, H.L. Hunt of Dallas, Texas. Drilling commenced on January 10, 1944, and was completed approximately one month later. The well struck oil at a depth of 2,580 feet in fractured Selma chalk. The discovery of this well led to the creation of the State Oil and Gas Board of Alabama in 1945, and to the . . . — Map (db m80351) HM|
|Alabama (Colbert County), Tuscumbia — Cold Water Falls|
|World's Largest Man-Made Natural Stone Waterfall
to be known in existence
80 feet wide, 48 feet tall
1,780 tons of Colbert County Sandstone
4,320,000 gallons of water per day passes over falls
Largest stone weights 77,000 pounds
120 days in construction — Map (db m83394) HM|
|Alabama (Colbert County), Tuscumbia — Petrified Conifer Tree / Petrified Lycopod Tree Stump|
| Plaque A 85-90 Million Years Old
Possibly a Bald Cypress
from the Cretaceous Period
or the Age of Dinosaurs Plaque B
325 Million Years Old
A Member of the Giant Club Mosses
from the early Coal Age — Map (db m29287) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — King's Spring|
| Avondale Park, dedicated in 1886, is one of Birmingham's earliest parks. The park site was chosen because of its natural spring, which was a popular attraction with the local people, as well as a favorite stopping point for weary travelers along the old Huntsville stagecoach road.
With its natural beauty, rolling topography, and natural spring, the park quickly became a gem for residents all over Birmingham and the region. The original spring, known as "King's Spring", emerged from a . . . — Map (db m55951) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — Lane Park|
|In 1822 William Pullen, Revolutionary War veteran, acquired this land from the Federal Government for farming. In 1889 his heirs sold the land to the City of Birmingham for use as the New Southside Cemetery which operated from 1889 to 1909 with 4,767 burials. The name changed to Red Mountain Cemetery, then to Red Mountain Park and finally to Lane Park in honor of Birmingham Mayor A.O. Lane. The land was also used for the Allen Gray Fish Hatchery ( fed by Pullen Springs), a stone quarry , a . . . — Map (db m27096) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — Roebuck Spring|
|In 1850 George James Roebuck and his wife Ann Hawkins Roebuck built a log cabin at the mouth of Roebuck Spring. His Influence and leadership led to the area around it to be known as Roebuck. In 1900 Alabama Boys Industrial School was located adjacent to the spring, and the spring water was used for the school until city water became available. In 1910 George Miller, a leading landscape architect and industrial town planner, developed the first planned golf course and club house close to the . . . — Map (db m26688) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Clay — The Cahaba Heart River of Alabama|
|On Cahaba Mountain to the NW, springs form a fragile stream that grows as it carves through the steep, rocky terrain of Birmingham suburbs, flowing south on the Gulf Coastal Plain to the Alabama River, at the site of Alabama's first capital, Cahawba. The Cahaba has sustained human life at least 10,000 years and remains a major drinking water source. It is known nationally for biological diversity and beauty and, at 191 miles, is Alabama's longest free flowing river. It nurtures 69 rare, . . . — Map (db m25110) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Hoover — Shades Crest Road Historical District|
|Indian, Wagon Trail, now Shades Crest Road, led to popular chalybeate springs. Summit, now Bluff Park, was a resort known for its view, cool air and healing mineral water. In 1899 school / church was built. In 1909 Bluff Park Hotel, built on land settled by Hale Family, lost to fire in 1925. In 1996 Alabama Register of Landmarks and Heritage. — Map (db m27311) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Hoover — Shades Crest Road Historical District|
|Indian, Wagon Trail, now Shades Crest Road, led to popular chalybeate springs. Summit, now Bluff Park, was a resort known for its view, cool air and healing mineral water. In 1899 school / church was built. In 1909 Bluff
Park Hotel, built on land settled by Hale Family, lost to fire in 1925. In 1996 Alabama Register of Landmarks and Heritage. — Map (db m28517) HM|
|Alabama (Madison County), Huntsville — John Hunt|
|For whom Huntsville was named lived in a cabin near this spring about the year 1805. — Map (db m27847) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — Alabama River: The Grand Avenue|
|Twelve miles above Montgomery the Coosa and Tallapoosa rivers unite to form the Alabama which meanders over four hundred miles on its way to Mobile Bay. This river has played major role in region's history, being a thoroughfare for Native Americans, European explorers, and Americans who settled along its fertile shores and used it as a means of getting cotton to Mobile and world markets. Ferries served the population until the building of Tyler Goodwyn and Reese's Ferry bridges in the first . . . — Map (db m26591) HM|
|Alabama (Morgan County), Lacey's Spring — Lacey's Spring|
|Abundant water and fertile land in this area south of the Tennessee River attracted pioneer settlement in the early 1800s. The community established here by three Virginia-born brothers, Hopkins, John, and Theophilus Lacy, took on their name and became the site for a U.S. post office in February 1831. "Lacy's Spring" became "Lacey's Spring" when the postal seal furnished by Washington officials inserted an "e" into the name. Hopkins Lacy had been active in Tennessee politics prior to his . . . — Map (db m27611) HM|
|Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — Burns’ Shoals|
|The remains of Burns' Shoals now lie nearly 40 feet underwater. This rock outcropping was the first of the shoals known as the "Falls of Tuscaloosa" and represents the "Fall Line" or contact point of the Coastal Plain and the Appalachian Plateau, which extends nearly 2000 miles to Canada. From here upstream the riverbed is primarily rock while downstream is is sand, silt and gravel. It was head of navigation on the river and thus a primary reason for the founding of Tuscaloosa. It was used as . . . — Map (db m28904) HM|
|Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — Masons Marks|
|To identify their work masons often carved special marks into the bottom, sides, or back of the stones. Their supervisors were thus able to distinguish between the quality and quantity of each mason's work. Blocks for the building were quarried from local sandstone from the banks of the nearby Black Warrior River.
Over a dozen different masons marks and directional signs appear throughout the ruins. Such identifying marks had been used by stone masons since the European Middle Ages. — Map (db m29116) HM|
|Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — The Black Warrior River|
|Plied for thousands of years by Indians, then by early explorers and American settlers, this river extends 169 miles from the Sipsey and Mulberry Forks near Birmingham to its confluence with the Tombigbee at Demopolis. It drains 6228 square miles of one of the world's most ancient watersheds and has 130 species of fish and many rare plants and animals. Part of a navigable waterway system, this point is 339 river miles above Mobile. About 5 billion gallons of water flow past here each day. In . . . — Map (db m28901) HM|
|Alaska (Fairbanks North Star Borough), Fairbanks — Alaska's Gold Rush Era|
|Gold discoveries brought Alaska and the Yukon to the attention of the world. A series of stampedes occurred over more than three decades. Drawn by dreams of gold, men and women from many places and all walks of life participated in an adventure that would change their lives. Only a few would become wealthy.
Prospectors made the first significant gold discovery in Alaska at Juneau in 1880. This discovery encouraged others to look throughout Alaska and the Yukon for . . . — Map (db m59836) HM|
|Alaska (Fairbanks North Star Borough), Fairbanks — Tanana Valley Gold|
|The gold deposit found in 1902 north of present-day Fairbanks proved to be the richest in Alaska. Prospector Felix Pedro and trader E.T. Barnette played key roles in the discovery and initial rush. A second strike made the following summer catapulted a temporary trading post into the largest city in the territory.
A Prospector and Trader Meet
Felix Pedro, an Italian immigrant, claimed he made a rich gold strike in 1898 in the Tanana Valley foothills. While trying to find it again in . . . — Map (db m59826) HM|
|Alaska (Juneau Borough), Juneau — 3 — Alaska Juneau Mill|
|At the Alaska Juneau mill from 1917-1944, ore was sorted, crushed, and treated to extract gold. Electric-powered engines hauled trains of 40 ore cars along the main haulage route form the mine two miles away in Silver Bow Basin to the AJ mill, steepest in the world. Ore fell between levels. Water came via flume from Gold Creek; in winter, the steam power plant pumped sea water from Gastineau Channel. Mill tailings or waste rock built the airport, Egan Drive, and one-third of downtown Juneau. . . . — Map (db m42823) HM|
|Alaska (Juneau Borough), Juneau — Hard Rock Miners|
|This bronze sculpture was commissioned by the city and borough of Juneau during its centennial anniversary year, and is dedicated to the mine whose work provided the lifeblood of Juneau during it first six decades.
In the late 1800’s, compressed – air machine drills replaced hand drills as the principle tools of hard rock miners. This development enabled miners to handle great quantities of ore at an acceptable low cost. As a result, lodes containing low-grade ore deposit, such as . . . — Map (db m42809) HM|
|Alaska (Kenai Peninsula Borough), Moose Pass — Gold Discoveries Trigger Stampede|
|Prospectors found gold in 1895 under the present Canyon Creek Highway Bridge and on Mills Creek. Those discoveries launched a rush to Turnagain Arm more than a year before the Klondike Gold Rush.
Prospectors Poke Around
After gold was discovered near Hope in 1890, prospectors organized the Turnagain Arm Mining District. The number of gold seekers grew to 300 by 1895. Some searched along Sixmile Creek, and its tributaries. Sanford J. Mills and Benedict C.[bullet hole] found gold . . . — Map (db m49599) HM|
|Arizona (Cochise County), Bisbee — The Lavender Pit|
This open pit mine is named
The Lavender Pit
In honor of
Harrison M. Lavender
1890 – 1952
Who as vice president and general manager of Phelps Dodge Corporation conceived and carried out this plan for making the hitherto unprofitable low grade copper bearing rock of the area into a commercial copper producing ore.
His dynamic leadership, his comprehensive knowledge of all phases of mining will continue to be an inspiration to his fellow engineers. — Map (db m28281) HM|
|Arizona (Cochise County), Cochise — Sulphur Springs|
|This valley owes its name to the two springs located one mile north of this monument. From 400 A.D. to 1450 A.D. Indigenous Indians farmed the region. Their bedrock mortar pits remain on the nearby hill. Later Chiricahua Apaches, Spaniards, Mexicans, Anglo-American immigrants and U.S. soldiers used the Springs as a camping ground. Between 1857 and 1878 several stage lines, including the Butterfield Overland Stage Company, operated a relay station here. In 1872, with Tom Jeffords as agent, the . . . — Map (db m37768) HM|
|Arizona (La Paz County), Cibola — 104 — Cibola Arizona|
|Gold and silver strikes in the 1860's created growth in the area. It is said Wyatt Earp served as sheriff of Cibola for one year in the 1890's. The town of Cibola formed in 1898 and construction began on a 16 mile canal to bring water from the river to the town. A post office operated here from 1903 to 1933, serving the farms, but the irrigation project failed. Floods were a yearly event until dams were built on the Colorado River. All the remnants of Cibola are now located on nearby private property. — Map (db m78552) HM|
|Arizona (La Paz County), Quartzsite — 060-019 — Tyson's Well — Old Stage Station|
|This was a stage stop between Ehrenberg and Wickenburg and points east. Travelers in the 1870's and 80's made their first stop here on eastward journeys from the Colorado River. "No grass, but good water," an early desert guide indicated accommodations for passengers were crude. — Map (db m7004) HM|
|Arizona (La Paz County), Quartzsite — Tyson's Well|
|Dug by hand around 1864 by a miner named Tyson. This 40-foot-deep well marked the spot around which grew the town of Quartzsite. Originally known as "Tyson's Well," "Tyson Wells," or "Tyson's Wells," the small community served as an important watering and resupply point along the Old Ehrenberg-Prescott freight-hauling and stagecoach route. — Map (db m39416) HM|
|Arizona (La Paz County), Salome — Harrisburg|
|Harrisburg was established on this site in 1886 by Captain Charles Harris, and his partner Governor Fredrick Tritle, as a mill town to process ore from the Socorro and other mines in the area. By 1887 two mills were operating here.
The post office was established April 29th, 1887 and discontinued September 29th, 1906. Harrisburg was a ghost town by World War I. — Map (db m31821) HM|
|Arizona (Maricopa County), Apache Junction — Apache Lake|
|Apache Lake is the deepest on the entire chain of reservoir lakes on the Salt River. It was created by the construction of Horse Mesa Dam in 1927.
Apache Lake Marina will help you enjoy the Lake. Food, lodging and marina services are available. The marina is operated under a Special Use Permit from the Tonto National Forest.
Horse Mesa Dam:
Completed - 1927
Height - 300 feet
Length - 660 feet
Length - 17 miles
Depth - 266 feet
Shoreline - . . . — Map (db m34063) HM|
|Arizona (Maricopa County), Fort McDowell — Canyon Lake|
|Canyon Lake was formed following the construction of Mormon Flat Dam from 1923-25 by USDI, Bureau of Reclamation. Salt River Project manages the dam for water storage and power generation. Water stored in this reservoir is collected from the 13,000 square mile Salt River watershed. The Tonto National Forest was established in 1905 to protect much of this watershed, and also rehabilitate it. — Map (db m34062) HM|
|Arizona (Maricopa County), Gilbert — Pump House — Heritage District|
|In 1925 the well for Gilbert’s domestic water was drilled to the depth of 475 feet where a large flow of pure water was found. A six-inch pipe was sunk to bring the water to the surface. The tower and pumping station were constructed during the latter part of the year.
Did you know that the pump house also served occasionally as a temporary jail to hold “rowdy citizens” while they sobered up? Gilbert sent their law-breakers to Chandler or Mesa prior to the construction of the . . . — Map (db m90238) HM|
|Arizona (Maricopa County), Wickenburg — Vulture Gold Mine|
|In 1863 Austrian Henry Wickenburg discovered gold, legend has it, while retrieving a vulture he had shot. The vulture mine went on to become one of Arizona's richest gold mines and sparked the development of Arizona and the city of Phoenix. In the 1880s and 1890s Vulture City's population grew to almost 5000 people and featured a large stone Assay Office, miners' dormitories, houses for company officials, a mess hall, a school, a post office, and an 80-stamp mill. It is estimated that the . . . — Map (db m40319) HM|
|Arizona (Maricopa County), Wickenburg — Vulture Mine|
|Discovered in 1863 by
Henry Wickenburg and his Burro
To supply the needs of the mines and protecting military camps, the Salt River Valley irrigated agricultural industry was developed. The Vulture Mine produced 10 millions in gold and was the greatest single factor in the settlement of central Arizona. Its discoverer died by his own hand in 1905 at the age of 86. — Map (db m29477) HM|
|Arizona (Mohave County), Chloride — Chloride — "Oldest Silver Mining Town in Arizona"|
|Founded in 1862 with the discovery of silver, Chloride became the first mining town of the Cerbat Mountains. During it's heyday, 1900 to 1920, the population swelled to over 2000 with 75 mines in operation. Chloride was the first incorporated town in Arizona; the home of the state's oldest all-volunteer fire department and the state's oldest continuously operating US Post Office, established in 1871.
Chloride was served by the Butterfield Stage from 1898 to 1919 and the Santa Fe Railroad . . . — Map (db m31845) HM|
|Arizona (Mohave County), Kingman — Camp Beale Springs Arizona|
|This camp, established March 25, 1871 by Company F, 12th Infantry commanded by Capt. Thomas Bryne, was located at a spring used by Indians for centuries. It was named for Navy Lt. Edward F Beale who established a wagon road along the 35th parallel.
In 1865 William Hardy created a stop on his toll road from Prescott to Hardyville. It was an Army outpost during the Hualapai War of 1866-1870.
The location became a temporary reservation for Hualapai Indians from 1871 to 1874. The spring . . . — Map (db m29411) HM|
|Arizona (Mohave County), Kingman — Cerbat|
|Site of Cerbat third historical Mohave County seat. Three miles from this highway in Cerbat Mountains and in canyon of the same name. It came to existence in 1860's as mining camp, and had mill, smelter, post-office, school, stores and saloons. Only mine sites remain now. — Map (db m20808) HM|
|Arizona (Mohave County), Kingman — 31805 — Chloride|
|Four miles east is former mining town of Chloride which was started in 1864 with discovery of few mines. In 1900, it had two thousand population. Fifty or more mines were in operation around Chloride, including Tennessee – Schuykill, large producer of gold, silver, copper, lead and zinc. Post-Office in continuous operation from 1873. Now small community with blend of old and new. — Map (db m20737) HM|
|Arizona (Mohave County), Kingman — Mineral Park|
|Five miles northeast is site of Mineral Park mining town, county seat in 1873 – 1887 with courthouse and jail; stores, hotels, saloons, shops, doctor, lawyer, assay offices, and two stagecoach stations; all lined up few streets. It is now abandoned. — Map (db m20809) HM|
|Arizona (Mohave County), Kingman — White Hills|
|Formerly known as Indian Secret Mining District or Silverado, the White Hills Mining Camp started in the 1890's. The mines were rich producers of silver, especially horn silver, also called chloride silver. This large community was devastated by a flash flood on the morning of August 5, 1899 from which the town never recovered. After the closure of the mines, the remaining buildings slowly disappeared. Now nothing is left of the once prosperous mining camp. The ghost town of White Hills continues to be marked on travel maps. — Map (db m31880) HM|
|Arizona (Mohave County), Mohave Valley — Oatman|
|Fifteen miles east in the Black Mountains, is the historic Oatman mining district. Many original buildings still exist in the ghost town site. The Tom Reed United Eastern Gold Road and other mines produced more than thirty million dollars of gold from the early 1900's into the 1930's. — Map (db m31903) HM|
|Arizona (Mohave County), Oatman — Gold Road Mine|
In 1900 Jose Jerez discovered gold here in a
chunk of quartz. It was assayed out 40 ounces to
the ton! The claim was resold for $275,000. By
1907 the mine milled 140,625 ounces of gold
worth $2,250,000. Addwest Minerals acquired
the mine in 1992 producing 16,000 ounces in 1995; 40,000 in 1996; and 36,500 in 1997. Low gold prices forced the mine to temporarily close in 1998.
— Map (db m50762) HM|
|Arizona (Mohave County), Oatman — Oatman — Gold Mining Town|
|Named for a migrating pioneer family attacked and killed by Indians near Gila Bend, Arizona, in 1851.
Some fifty mines operated in the Oatman area. From its beginning in 1904 and through 1931, the Oatman district produced $36,000,000 in ore.
Population of Oatman at its peak was estimated to be more than 10,000. — Map (db m29464) HM|
|Arizona (Mohave County), Oatman — 80 — Oatman Arizona and its Burros|
|Oatman was founded around 1906 as part of Arizona's richest gold mining area. Oatman was reborn in the late 1960's and early 1970's as a tourist town. The main attraction was the wild burro herd. The burros roaming the Oatman area are descendants of the burros from the mining ventures of earlier times.
If it were not for these burros in all probability, neither you nor this plaque would be standing here today. People from all over the world come to visit, feed, and take pictures of the burros. — Map (db m78570) HM|
|Arizona (Navajo County), Holbrook — From Wood to Stone|
|Approximately 225 million years ago, during the Triassic Period, a floodplain existed here – littered with fallen trees. Periodic flooding buried the logs beneath layers of silt. Over time, silica-laden waters filtered through these deposits and petrified the wood by encasing the trees’ organic material with minerals.
Iron oxides give petrified wood its distinctive red, yellow, and orange hues; manganese oxides produce blues, purples and deep blacks, while the original carbon . . . — Map (db m68870) HM|
|Arizona (Navajo County), Holbrook — Jasper Forest|
|The petrified wood strewn in the valley below was once encased in the bluffs around you. When erosional forces removed the softer rocks, the petrified wood tumbled and accumulated on the valley floor. Once filled with fallen logs, Jasper Forest was plundered in the late 19th and early 20th centuries by commercial collectors seeking petrified wood to sell as souvenirs.
Completion of the nearby railway line in 1882 provided early travelers – and relic hunters – easy access to . . . — Map (db m68871) HM|
|Arizona (Navajo County), Holbrook — Pioneers of Paleontology|
|Petrified Forest is a laboratory where scientists study not only the fossil record, but the records of earlier discoveries by naturalists and paleontologists.
Interest in the area’s fossils goes back to 1853, when a U.S. Army expedition discovered the Black Forest in what would become the park’s northern section. Later, at the request of General William Tecumseh Sherman, two petrified logs from that area were acquired for the Smithsonian Institution.
Conservationist John Muir . . . — Map (db m68873) HM|
|Arizona (Navajo County), Holbrook — Triassic Landscape|
|The dry plateau lands of this region today are far different from the tree-littered floodplains of 225 million years ago during the geologic period called the Triassic. Imagine a forested Triassic land where crocodile-like phytosaurs inhabited the shores, and other carnivorous reptiles hunted on land. Visualize stormy floodwaters carrying Triassic trees here to the floodplains, where, over time, the trees would petrify.
What happened to the animals of the Triassic? Did their disappearance . . . — Map (db m68868) HM|
|Arizona (Pima County), Ajo — The Ajo Mining District|
|Americans first worked the copper deposits at Ajo in 1854, one year after the Gadsden Purchase. These early American miners found abandoned workings and crude mining tools as mute evidence of earlier mining in the district.
During the next half century mining was confined to veins and other small bodies of high grade copper ore. Some ore was transported by mule train across the desert to Yuma for shipment to smelters in Swansea, Wales. Much of the mineralized ground in the district was . . . — Map (db m30802) HM|
|Arizona (Pima County), Ajo — The City of Ajo|
|Ajo was first located on the ground that later became the open pit mine.
The modern city was founded in its present location in 1917 coincident with the beginning of large scale mining of the copper deposits.
Ajo is the home of the New Cornelia Mine of the Phelps Dodge Corporation which is one of the great copper mines of the world.
The open pit mine is located one mile south of the city and the concentrator, smelter and shops are adjacent to the town site on the east.
1917 . . . — Map (db m30759) HM|
|Arizona (Pima County), Lukeville — Kris Eggle|
|On August 9, 2002
While protecting visitors from harm,
United States Park Ranger
Was slain in the line of duty.
His service and sacrifice
To the National Park Service
And the people of this country
Will never be forgotten. — Map (db m7003) HM|
|Arizona (Pima County), Tucson — Agua Caliente Ranch and Hot Springs|
|Agua Caliente Ranch
In 1873, Peter B. Bain filed the first formal claim to the land surrounding Agua Caliente Spring. Bain and a partner, Marion T. Beckwith, began a dairy cattle operation by bringing cows north from Sonora. Bain built a house, several outbuildings and corrals at the spring. In 1875 he sold Agua Caliente Rancho to James P. Fuller, a produce salesman from Hermosillo, Mexico for $300.
James Fuller planted an orchard, constructed ditches and ponds to harvest water for . . . — Map (db m34592) HM|
|Arizona (Pinal County), Apache Junction — Dons's Camp|
The Dons of Arizona
Dedicated to the preservation of southwestern legend and lore. Each year from this base camp The Don's launch an expedition into the Superstition Mountains in search of the Lost Dutchman Mine. — Map (db m48355) HM|
|Arizona (Pinal County), Apache Junction — Goldfield Mining District — Arizona|
|Originally called the Superstition Mining District, this district had its heyday from 1893 to 1898.
The greatest producing mines were the Mammoth, Black Queen and Bull Dog. Their output was around a million dollars in gold and silver based on 1890's valuation. — Map (db m34059) HM|
|Arizona (Pinal County), Apache Junction — Jacob Von Walzer — 1808 – 1891 — Lost Dutchman Gold Route|
|Dedicated October 1961
To the Memory of
Jacob Von Walzer
1808 – 1891
One of America's most famed legendary figures, whose exploits have stimulated the imagination of peoples everywhere by his contribution to the heritage of his adopted country in which he found the freedom to search for his mine of gold.
In his honor, U. S. Highway 70 which passes through the great states of North Carolina, Tennessee, Arkansas, Oklahoma, Texas, New Mexico, Arizona and California . . . — Map (db m74394) HM|
|Arizona (Pinal County), Kerny — Sonora, Arizona|
|Immigrant Mexican miners working for the Ray Consolidated Copper Company named the town of Sonora, built near here in 1911. It boomed as a thriving, dynamic community, rich in Mexican culture, language and traditions. In the mid-1950's, the company began to expand its open pit operation, gradually advancing upon the town from the east. By 1965, it became necessary to close Sonora and relocate the miners to a new town named Kearny. Sonora was demolished in 1966.
Sonora's close-knit . . . — Map (db m34133) HM|
|Arizona (Yavapai County), Bagdad — Bagdad Copper Mine|
|Cypress Copper ― Bagdad Corporation
In memory of
WJ. Pace and J.M. Murphy
Who filed the Bagdad claim January 1, 1882;
John Lawler who patented the claim in
1889; and the Lincoln family who developed
the mine. — Map (db m31552) HM|
|Arizona (Yavapai County), Camp Verde — Pecan Lane Rural Historic Landscape|
Pecan Lane Rural Historic Landscape
Pecan Lane Rural Historic Landscape was added to the National Register of Historic Places on May 2, 2000.
Pecan Lane played a significant part in the agricultural history of Camp Verde. During
the late 19th century and early twentieth centuries the community served as the breadbasket for
the major towns in Yavapai and Coconino Counties, including Jerome, Prescott, and Flagstaff.
Once a . . . — Map (db m27855) HM|
|Arizona (Yavapai County), Clarkdale — United Verde Copper Company Smelter|
|The U.V.C.C. Clarkdale smelter was built through the vision of William A. Clark, owner of the United Verde Mine in Jerome. The Smelter was constructed between 1912-1915 to replace the outdated Jerome smelter.
On May 26, 1915 the first furnace was blown in, belching sulfur-laden smoke from the 400' steel stack. In 1922 the Cottrell Plant with a new 430' brick stack was added. For the peak year of 1929, hundreds of workers handled the 1.75 million tons of ore, producing 12 million pounds of . . . — Map (db m33199) HM|
|Arizona (Yavapai County), Jerome — Jerome Blast Furnace|
|This is one of the two old furnaces found in place on The Hampton Lode, United Verde Copper Company Mines, at Jerome Arizona on March 5, 1888 when I first visited the property. I started operation on this furnace and also the other one on May 22, 1888.
Maximum capacity of about 60 tons of ore per day.
New Clarkdale plant blown in on May 28, 1915 — Map (db m33147) HM|
|Arizona (Yavapai County), Jerome — Jerome, Arizona — Too Strong to Die|
|The first mining claims were filed in 1876, within 20 years Jerome was a billion dollar copper mecca and one of the wildest, wickedest mining towns in the west. Drinking, gambling, brawls and frolicking with ladies of the night occurred around–the-clock in two dozen magnificent saloons.
By the time mining shut down in 1952, enough copper had been produced to put 13 pounds in the hands of every citizen in the world. Gold and silver production covered mining expenses.
Through the . . . — Map (db m33149) HM|
|Arizona (Yavapai County), Prescott — Granite Creek|
|American History in Arizona is quite recent, although the history of the Native American, Spanish and Mexican occupation periods are much older. Encampments of Native Americans were drawn to the creeks, which offered a fairly reliable source of fresh water, and the Anglo settlers followed suit. The first known Anglo-Americans to camp in the vicinity of Prescott were the Walker and Weaver parties in 1863. The Walker Party camped on the banks of Granite Creek in what is now downtown Prescott. . . . — Map (db m33064) HM|
|Arizona (Yuma County), Roll — In Memory of Harold and Ethelind Woodhouse|
|who carved this farm out of the desert. We, the Wellton-Mohawk Valley Kiwanis Club, dedicate this spot. Here on May 1, 1952 Michael W. Straus, United States Commissioner of Reclamation turned the first water on to lands of the Wellton-Mohawk Division of the Gila Project. — Map (db m28967) HM|
|Arizona (Yuma County), Yuma — Castle Dome Mining District — 1864 - 1979|
|In 1863 Jacob Snively, founder of Gila City, and right hand to Sam Houston, avenger of the Alamo, following blazes left on the saguaros by Mexican and Conquistador predecessors, came to Castle Dome, and within 15 years, Castle Dome City’s population rivaled that of nearby Yuma.
In 1871, the Floral Temple mine within the district had the distinction of being the second patented mine in Arizona. The Castle Dome Mine with 7 shafts was patented in 1876. In 1878, Castle Dome Mine built the . . . — Map (db m48924) HM|
|California (Alameda County), Fremont — Leal Tank House|
|Joseph Silviera Leal and Julia Perry Leal built this tank house on their ranch in the Mission San Jose area of Fremont in 1925. The lower floor was a storage room and the upper floor a bedroom. The tank on top stored 5,000 gallons of water pumped from a 100' deep well. It was the only source of water for the Leal home and livestock for 57 years.
The tank house was reconstructed at Ardenwood in 2004 by community volunteers from local Rotary Clubs and spearheaded by members of Mission San . . . — Map (db m29090) HM|
|California (Alameda County), Pleasanton — Alviso Adobe Community Park — 5,000 Years of History in Seven Acres|
Pleasanton’s past and the rich stories of the people that have come before can be discovered in the landscape and features of this park. Three periods of occupation trace regional settlement from prehistory to the present day.
Native American Occupation
From as early as 3240 B.C., the valley was part of a permanent settlement of Indians. In the late 1700s, Spanish missionaries established nearby Mission San Jose, claiming this land and using it for cattle . . . — Map (db m24685) HM|
|California (Alameda County), Pleasanton — Gold Creek — The Great Gold Discovery of 1871|
|On Feb. 8, 1871 two men, the names of Neal F. Taylor and Timothy Cox, were looking for coal in the area and found more than they were looking for. On this creek which comes down through the then Dougherty Ranch the two men found a gold nugget. They prospected the area finding more nuggets and gold flakes and gold dust. Soon others heard of this and there was a grand rush to Gold Creek.
There were 20 claims staked and some 30 men working the creek for gold, which never produced much and was . . . — Map (db m69728) HM|
|California (Alameda County), Sunol — Sunol Water Temple|
Civil Engineering Landmark
Alameda Creek Water System
San Francisco Section A802 1975
Restoration of the Sunol Water Temple
Started May 27, 1997
Willie L. Brown – Mayor • E. Dennis Normandy – Commission President • Victor G. Makras – Commission Vice-President • Robert K. Werbe – Commissioner •
Frank L. Cook – Commissioner • Ann Moller Caen – . . . — Map (db m24499) HM|
|California (Alpine County), Markleeville — Alpine County Historical Complex|
|The construction of this historical complex was initiated in 1964, "Alpine County's Centennial Year", by the Historical Society of Alpine County. With concerted effort and fortitude it was completed and duly dedicated as a historical landmark on June 17, 1972 by the Grand Parlor of The Native Sons of the Golden West.
Raymond P. Johnson, Grand President
In memory of U.S. Senator James D. Phelan — Map (db m3088) HM|
|California (Alpine County), Markleeville — Beautiful Hot Springs Valley — draws people now as it has for thousands of years|
|Summer after summer the Washoe Indian people visited the valley. Eventually their idyllic retreat was discovered.
During the winter of 1844 Captain John Fremont may have seen this place during his crossing of the Sierra. Fremont’s diary of his crossing west over the Sierra has been interpreted by some historians with his route passing through Hot Springs Valley.
Just ten years later John Hawkins, the first white settler in the valley, began his cattle ranch here. His ranch house was . . . — Map (db m11001) HM|
|California (Alpine County), Markleeville — Grover Hot Springs|
|Telltale signs of geologic activity surround Grover Hot Springs State Park. Bold granite peaks to the northwest are the work of immense mountain building forces. Old lava flows cover hundreds of square miles to the east, giving the Markleeville area its distinctly volcanic appearance. Ice Age glaciers carved this valley into the rugged form that visitors admire today.
The hot-springs here are a by-product of similar processes – the interplay of rock and fire and ice. Water melted from . . . — Map (db m13239) HM|
|California (Alpine County), Markleeville — Historic Silver Mountain City — (Kongsberg)|
|Silver Boom Town in 1866
Remains of City Jail — Map (db m44990) HM|
|California (Amador County), Amador City — 15 — Bunker Hill Mine|
|The mine was first worked as the Rancheria Mine in 1853. Was renamed the South Mayflower in 1893. It was organized in 1899 as the Bunker Hill Consolidated Mine and operated till 1922, producing $5,154,382 in gold. The shaft reached 3440’ on an incline with a winze. It had a 40 stamp mill. — Map (db m44619) HM|
|California (Amador County), Amador City — 14 — Original Amador Mine|
|Opened in 1852 from six claims. Renamed Original Amador Consolidated working till 1918. Reopened in 1935 till 1937. Shaft reached 1238’. Total production was $3,500,000. — Map (db m10329) HM|
|California (Amador County), Amador City — 12 — South Spring Hill Mine|
|Founded in 1851 working continuously till 1893. Purchased by Keystone Company in 1920 and connected to it. Closed in 1942. Contained 3 shafts: South Spring Hill 1200’, Tallisman 600’, and Medean at 600’ deep. Produced $1,092,472 from 1888-1902.
Amador — Map (db m44608) HM|
|California (Amador County), Amador City — 16 — Treasure Mine|
|Owned by the Treasure Mining Company of San Francisco. Founded prior to 1867. Sometimes called the Hazard Mine. Shaft reached 3030’ on the incline with winzes. Was connected to the Bunker Hill Mine to the south at the 1600; level. Produced $1,000,000 in gold and closed in 1922. — Map (db m44620) HM|
|California (Amador County), Drytown — New Chicago — Est. 1877|
|Subdivision for the Grover Mine
Appox. 50 mines north to Plymouth
Peerless, California, New London — Map (db m44621) HM|
|California (Amador County), Jackson — Jackson|
|In 1848, was a village of huts and tents called
by the Mexicans from the bottles strewn about by those who tarried here.
In 1849, it was named
for Colonel Jackson an early day resident.
In 1853, Amador County was carved out of
Calaveras County and Jackson
became its County Seat.
In 1886, The Order of
Native Daughters of the Golden West
was founded here and to commemorate
the semi-centennial year of the order
this monument is erected and . . . — Map (db m72060) HM|
|California (Amador County), Jackson — 3 — Kennedy Mine — Argonaut-Muldoon|
|Viewpoint: 50 yards west, Two of the richest gold mines in Amador County, both reached depths of over one mile. Worked until 1942. Kennedy produced $28.5 million, the Argonaut $ 25 million. Notice headframes west toward Highway 49 and tailing wheels to the northeast. — Map (db m44586) HM|
|California (Amador County), Jackson — Kennedy Mining and Milling Company — 1860 - 1942|
|In the late 1850’s, Andrew Kennedy discovered gold in an outcropping of quartz. The mine produced over $34.2 million in gold, making it one of the richest gold mines in the world. With a depth of 5,912 feet, it was the deepest mine in North America when it was closed by the War Production Board in 1942. The mine office building was constructed in 1908 and contained as assay room with bullion furnace, administrative offices and guest rooms on the third floor.
This plaque is in memory of the . . . — Map (db m19797) HM|
|California (Amador County), Jackson — 1 — Moore Mine|
|Founded and active in the 1880’s. 10 stamp mill and a 640’ shaft. Re-opened 1921 till 1929. 20 stamp mill and a 2,291’ incline shaft. Tailing dam north to Raley’s. Produced $564,624 in gold.
Nearby Mines: South Jackson, Fern, Kearsling, Hubbard, Aetna and Anita. Vein and mines continue southwest to Middle Bar. Moore Site west on Fuller Lane. — Map (db m44582) HM|
|California (Amador County), Jackson — The Court House Well|
Under This Tablet Is
The Court House Well
Dug in 1851, 52 feet in depth
For generations it was a main
source of domestic water
for the community.
“Gone is the ancient equipment
but still the living water flows.”
Tablet dedicated June 29, 1940 by
Ursula Parlor No. 1
Native Daughters of the Golden West
The Board of Supervisors of
Amador County — Map (db m27908) HM|
|California (Amador County), Jackson — 2 — Zeile Mine and Mine House — Mine location to the southeast.|
|Founded in the 1860’s as the Coney Mine, operated continuously from 1875-1914. Later sold to Kennedy. Incline shaft 1865’ deep. Total production $5 million. Note powder house on road to the east. — Map (db m44585) HM|
|California (Amador County), Plymouth — Forest Home — 1850's — Stage and Freight Stopover|
|Copper mines patented 1873:
Peak Outputs: Early 1860’s, 1895-1917, 1943-1947,
Township organized 1854.
A Methodist center for many years
U.S. Postoffice: 1862-1905 — Map (db m11361) HM|
|California (Amador County), Plymouth — 18 — Plymouth Consolidated Mines|
|Founded in 1852 from several claims and consolidated in 1883. Sold to the Argonaut company in 1925 and closed in 1943. Empire workings reopened 1946-47. Pacific shaft 4450’ deep. Total production $13,500,000. Mines north to Cosumnes River: Aden, Alpine, Green, Bay State. — Map (db m44622) HM|
|California (Amador County), Sutter Creek — Central Eureka Mine|
|Was begun here in the early 1850’s as the Badger and later the Summit Mine. It consolidated with Hayward’s old Eureka Mine in 1924 as the Central Eureka Company, Amador Consolidated Mines. The main shaft reached a depth of 4,965’. It was the last of the mines to close operations in Amador County in 1954. Its combined earnings being over $36, 000,000 from 1,800,000 ounces of gold. — Map (db m13084) HM|
|California (Amador County), Sutter Creek — 8 — Emerson Shaft|
|Eastern Shaft of the Wildman Mine located at the Post Office site. Used as an air chute and hoist shaft to dispose of waste rock later used to pave roads. The mine founded by William T. Wildman, circa 1851 — Map (db m12601) HM|
|California (Amador County), Sutter Creek — In Memory of General John A. Sutter — Benefactor of the Great State of — California|
|Who mined here and gave Sutter Creek its name and under whose regime gold was discovered.
Also to those pioneer mothers, fathers and miners of the Mother Lode, which has produced millions is gold.
This rock used in Mother Lode Champion hand drilling contests. — Map (db m13407) HM|
|California (Amador County), Sutter Creek — Leland Stanford, Jr. — 1824 – 1893|
|A man of tremendous ambition, Leland Stanford, Sr., was one of California’s most distinguished businessmen, politicians, philanthropists, and proponents of education. Lured to California by the Gold Rush in 1852, he became an owner of Sutter Creek’s Union-Lincoln Mine. Stanford went on to become California’s governor, a U.S. Senator, member of the Central Pacific Railroad, “Big Four” and founder of Stanford University, a living memorial to his son, Leland Stanford, Jr. — Map (db m12610) HM|
|California (Amador County), Sutter Creek — Lincoln Mine|
|First (1851) quartz mine & mill in Sutter Creek on Amador Road. Leland Stanford financier, politician and benefactor controlled this mine (1859-1872). Under Supt. R. C. Downs it proved a bonanza, aided Stanford to join the builders of the Central Pacific Railroad. Mahoney & Wildman Mines merged with the Lincoln in 1906. — Map (db m42409) HM|
|California (Amador County), Sutter Creek — 11 — Lincoln Mine|
|Founded in 1851 as Amador #2. Renamed the Union Mine and finally the Lincoln Mine by new owner Leland Stanford. Worked until 1924, producing $2 million. Consolidated with Wildman- Mahoney Mines. Foundations and dump remain. — Map (db m44607) HM|
|California (Amador County), Sutter Creek — Mahoney Mine|
|On Top of the Hill
Founded by Jerry Mahoney from Killarney, Ireland in 1851. Claim purchased from Alvinza Hayward. Merged with the Wildman Mine and reached a depth of 1200 feet. Produced $5 million in gold. Later part of Lincoln Consolidated Co. — Map (db m12606) HM|
|California (Amador County), Sutter Creek — 7 — Old Eureka Mine|
|Founded in early 1850’s by Alvinza Hayward, owner of the Badger and Wolverine Mines. Earned $65,000 a month, reaching a depth of 2,250 in late 1800’s. Shaft sunk to 3,500 feet in 1916. In 1924 was purchased by Central Eureka Company. Closed in 1942 and reopened in 1946 to 1954. Combined production was $36,000,000. The largest total of any Amador County mine or consolidation. — Map (db m44606) HM|
|California (Amador County), Sutter Creek — Wildman Mine — Powder House|
|Founded by William T. Wildman in 1851. Merged with Mahoney Mine and reached a depth of 1500 feet. Combined mines operated a 70 stamp mill and produced a total of $5 million in old by 1924. Powder house used to store explosives. Became part of Lincoln Consolidated. Co. — Map (db m12598) HM|
|California (Amador County), Volcano — 29 — Volcano|
Started 1848 by soldiers of Colonel Stevenson’s Regiment. Named by miners because of apparent volcanic appearance. Here the first California rental library, 1850, was established. And one of the first “Little Theaters” founded by the “Volcano Thespian Society”, 1854
Interesting Civil War History.
Volcano - Right Here!
1934 plaque placed in Pine Grove as "obituary" when planned dam would flood Volcano. . . . — Map (db m11336) HM|
|California (Amador County), Volcano — Volcano|
|Discovered in 1848 by Colonel Stevenson’s men who mined Soldiers’ Gulch in ’49. First covered wagon party sluiced rich gravel beds. By ’53, men swarmed flats and gulches naming them picturesquely. Hydraulic operations, begun in ’55, brought thousands of fortune seekers to form town of 17 hotels, library, theaters and courts of justice. During Civil War, Volcano gold served the Union. “Volcano Blues” smuggled cannon “Old Abe” in, by hearse, to quell rebels. Mellow with . . . — Map (db m11365) HM|
|California (Butte County), Magalia — 771 — The Dogtown Nugget|
|This marker symbolizes the discovery of the first large gold nugget in California. It was found across this canyon in Willard Gulch April 12, 1859. Weight 54 pounds. — Map (db m29663) HM|
|California (Butte County), Oroville — Cherokee|
|Led from Indian Territory by their New England schoolmaster, a band of young Cherokee Argonauts discovered gold here 1850. Town established 1853 when first stores erected by Welsh miners. During heyday of 1875, Cherokee boasted its own theatre, race track, and brewery; 2 churches, 3 lodges, 8 hotels, 17 saloons, and a population over 1,000.
First diamonds in U.S. discovered here 1858. Hundreds found since. Largest weighing 6 carats.
Site of world's greatest hydraulic gold mine, the . . . — Map (db m234) HM|
|California (Butte County), Oroville — County Community Well|
Renovated Oroville Rotary
(Seal of the American Revolution Bicentennial 1776-1976) — Map (db m65844) HM|
|California (Butte County), Oroville — Edison Building|
|Edison Ore Mining & Miocene Mining Co. Oct. 1879 to May 1881 by Major Frank McLaughlin searched for platinum to use in Edison’s electric light globe. Used a process to remove gold from black sands found in mine tailings.
Miocene Mining Co. operated a hydraulic mine on Thompson Flat and extended Davis Ditch from Pentz to Thompson Flat. — Map (db m61556) HM|
|California (Calaveras County), Altaville — 288 — Altaville Foundry & Machine Works — Founded by J.M. Wooster — Est. 1854|
|Is the site of the longest running continuously operated foundry west of the Mississippi River. All quartz machinery needed for the numerous mines surrounding the Altaville, Angels Camp area was cast here. It was previously known as Altaville Foundry and Machine Works, Calavaras Iron & Steel Co., and lastly California Electric Steel Co. Previous owners: D.D. Demarest & T.H. Fullen, 1860, Lawrence Monte Verde & Demarest Family 1892, Lawrence Monte Verde Family 1928. — Map (db m13005) HM|
|California (Calaveras County), Angels Camp — 287 — Angels Camp — Home of the Jumping Frog — Romance - Gold - History|
|Founded in 1849 by George Angel, who established a mining camp and trading store 200 feet below this marker. A rich gravel mining area and one of the richest quartz mining sections of the Mother Lode. Production records of over $100 million for Angels Camp and vicinity. Prominent in early day California history. Townsite established in 1873. Locale of Mark Twain's famous story, The Jumping Frog of Calaveras. Frequented by Joaquin Murietta, Black Bart and other early day bandits. — Map (db m14460) HM|
|California (Calaveras County), Angels Camp — Gold Furnace|
|A gold furnace was commonly used to separate mercury from the gold. In gold placer mining, in which small specks and veins of gold were often found in quartz, mercury was used to separate the gold from the quartz. This bonding of the mercury and gold is known as amalgam. After processing in the mill and concentrators, the recovered amalgam of mercury and gold was heated to vaporize the mercury and recover the gold. In a small furnace like this, it would take about seven hours for . . . — Map (db m57172) HM|
|California (Calaveras County), Angels Camp — GPY-135-2 — Hogarth Stamp Mill|
|In 1895 Harry Hogarth, James Candy and Naylor Williams filed a claim for the Relief Quartz Mine on a hillside above Six Mile Creek near Angels Camp. In 1920, after working the claim by hand for many years, the Hogarths; Harry Sr, Harry Jr, and Alvin, moved an old five-stamp mill onto the property, operating it through the 1950s when it was abandoned.
In 2009, the city of Angels Camp purchased the mill from Hogarth Family descendants Don Fletcher, Richard Serra, Wilber Eberhardt, and his . . . — Map (db m56553) HM|
|California (Calaveras County), Angels Camp — James H. Carson|
|James H. Carson (1821 - 1853)
- - Soldier, gold prospector and miner, writer, sportsman. Discovered gold at Carson’s Creek. He inspired a mutual confidence between man and man.
Matuca Chapter, E.C.V.
This 27th Day of April 1974 — Map (db m7502) HM|
|California (Calaveras County), Angels Camp — Lightner Mine|
|This mine site was located in 1855 by Peter Cameron, A.M. Wood, Will Powell and C.G. Lake. Lightner Mining Company organized and operated from 1896-1915. A 40 stamp mill crushed 500,000 tons of ore from vein which widened to 120’. Ore stopped at 700’ and cave in occurred. A new 900’ shaft failed to locate vein. Total production from the mine was $6,000,000. — Map (db m10633) HM|
|California (Calaveras County), Angels Camp — The Hogarth Family|
|The Hogarth Family has had a long involvement with the mining industry in Angels Camp. Patriarch Henry ("Harry") Hogarth, Sr. was born in Scotland in 1831. He immigrated to the United States at an early age and soon settled on a career as a miner, moving to Yuba County, California, where he was naturalized in 1867. In 1865 Harry and his wife Rose had a son, named Henry (Harry) Hogarth, Jr. For the next few years Harry used his mining skills as the operating head of a number of various . . . — Map (db m56558) HM|
|California (Calaveras County), Angels Camp — The Hogarth Stamp Mill|
|Common in California after 1853, the stamp mill consisted from one to five heavy pillar-like stamps whose bottom, (or shoes), were cylindrical hammers made of iron, each weighing as much as one thousand pounds. Power to operate the stamps was provided by water, steam, or electricity, conveyed by belts to a large wheel. This operated the drive shaft, equipped with machinery that raised each stamp, then released it to drop onto the ore below, crushing it where it was reduced to a size fine . . . — Map (db m56556) HM|
|California (Calaveras County), Angels Camp — The Monitor — California Hydraulic Mining|
| Hydraulic Mining was the largest and most destructive form of mining. Water, brought through flumes and ditches from high up in the mountains, was redirected into an ever-narrowing channel and out through a giant iron nozzle, called a "monitor." This high pressure stream of water was used to wash entire hillsides through enormous sluices to recover the placer gold.
By the early 1880s, it is estimated that 11 million ounces of gold had been recovered by hydraulic mining in . . . — Map (db m56649) HM|
|California (Calaveras County), Angels Camp — The Story Under the Lake — New Melones Lake|
|The body of water you see before you, known as New Melones Lake, is formed by the building of the New Melones Dam. The 625-foot high earth-fill dam was completed in 1979 by the Army Corp of Engineers. A man-made reservoir, the lake hosts a variety of year-round recreational activities from boating, to water-skiing, to fishing.
When full, the lake also covers the former town of Melones with over 100 feet of water. The townsite is located just northeast of the Stevenot Bridge on Highway 49 . . . — Map (db m32433) HM|
|California (Calaveras County), Angels Camp — Utica Mine North Shaft|
|Utica Mine, the most important mine in the Angels District, set national records in the 1890's producing more than 4 million dollars in gold in 30 months. The Utica was also the site of Angels Camp's worst mine disaster when 17 men were buried when the North Shaft collapsed in 1889. Three men escaped through the adjoining South Shaft. The bodies of those who died were recovered over a period of years, the last two remained buried for 12 years. The Utica properties expanded to include the . . . — Map (db m25646) HM|
|California (Calaveras County), Angels Camp — Water Wheel|
|Water wheels were commonplace to the gold mining regions, providing power for mining and milling operations. Powered by water the wheel was attached to a series of belts and gears which turned the machinery to crush the ores. This water wheel was installed around 1902 by the Angels Mining Company. This wheel is set up to operate a stamp mill. The undated photograph above shows this same water wheel as it was operating sometime in the early 20th century. — Map (db m56559) HM|
|California (Calaveras County), Burson — 254 — Camanche|
Named Camanche in 1849 after Camanche, Iowa. Once called Limerick. Peak population 1500. Rich mining at nearby Cat Camp, Poverty Bar, and Sand Hill. Mokelumne River water brought in by Lancha Plana and Poverty Bar ditch. Fire June 21, 1873, destroyed large Chinatown. Buhach manufactured on the nearby Hill Ranch.
Historical Landmark No. 254
Monument and plaque erected by Calaveras County Historical Society and Residents of Camanche, in cooperation with the . . . — Map (db m19752) HM|
|California (Calaveras County), Calaveritas — 255 — Calaveritas|
|Calaveritas, settled in 1849 by Mexicans, was a flourishing mining town complete with stores, saloons, gambling houses, and fandango halls. Joaquin Murieta is reported to have frequently visited its Fandango Halls and gambling houses. Destroyed by fire in 1858. — Map (db m12992) HM|
|California (Calaveras County), Calaveritas — The Costa Store — Constructed by Mr. Luigi Costa in 1852|
|He conducted a butcher shop, a distillery and various other enterprises in these buildings, for a total of 50 years. Descendants of Luigi and Charlotte Costa have preserved this handsome example of the heritage of Calaveritas. — Map (db m12994) HM|
|California (Calaveras County), Copperopolis — 296 — Copperopolis — State Registered Landmark No.296|
|Copper here discovered by W. K. Reed and Thomas McCarty in 1860. Mines utilized during the Civil War and the First and Second World Wars. During Civil War period was the principal copper producing section of the United States. — Map (db m13002) HM|
|California (Calaveras County), Copperopolis — Copperopolis Armory|
|Copperopolis Armory, built by public subscription in 1866 for 8,000 dollars, was used by the Union Guard for enlisting and training troops. In 1866 it was sold to the Copperopolis Armory Hall Association for 800 dollars in gold and was used for Congregational and Methodist Church services, public meetings, balls and rallies.
The property was purchased by the Mineral Lodge, I.O.O.F. in 1874 and used as a lodge until 1903. Copperopolis Community Center purchased the Armory in 1948. — Map (db m13003) HM|
|California (Calaveras County), Copperopolis — Copperopolis Park|
|Although Copperopolis is known for copper mining, gold was discovered here in 1858, copper in 1860. The gold belt was a mile west of the copper belt.
The Madame Felix Mining District produced 200,000 ounces of gold between 1864 and 1974.
The 1986, Meridian Gold Co. consolidated the Madame Felix Mining District into a new gold mining operation, producing more than 300,000 additional ounces of gold.
This equipment, used from the 1880’s through WWI, came from the mines within the . . . — Map (db m58927) HM|
|California (Calaveras County), Copperopolis — 281 — O'Bryne Ferry|
|In 1852 a chain cable bridge replaced the ferries that once crossed here, to be supplanted in its turn by a covered truss structure in 1862. Some writers claimed this was the locale of Bret Harte's Poker Flat. In late “49” there was a large camp here, with miners washing gold out on both banks of the Stanislaus River. — Map (db m13013) HM|
|California (Calaveras County), Douglas Flat — The Italian Store|
|Built is 1861 by Antonio and Caterina Gagliardo. Served as a Post Office and social center for the community of Douglas Flat. A hand dug well located next to the store supplied Douglas Flat with good fresh water and remains in good shape today. James Malespina purchased the store in 1885 where it remained in the family for several years.
A Wells Fargo office also occupied the building with a safe and armed guard to protect the gold from the Table Mountain and along Coyote Creek. The mines . . . — Map (db m58852) HM|
|California (Calaveras County), Jenny Lind — 266 — Jenny Lind|
|Settled in the 1840’s as a flourishing gold mining, cattle ranching and farming community. — Map (db m13040) HM|
|California (Calaveras County), Mokelumne Hill — 265 — Chili Gulch|
|Richest placer mining section, extending five miles, in Calaveras County. Received name from Chileans who worked gulch in 1848 and 1849, and scene of the so-called Chilean War. Largest known quartz crystals recovered from mine on south side of gulch. — Map (db m11515) HM|
|California (Calaveras County), Mokelumne Hill — 269 — Mokelumne Hill|
|Mokelumne is an Indian word, first applied to the nearby river. Earliest settlement was at Happy Valley by French trappers. Gold was discovered by discharged members of Stevenson's Regiment in 1848. Center of the richest placer mining section of Calaveras County and one of the principal mining towns of California. Corral Flat produced over thirty millions in gold. Sixteen feet square constituted a claim. The so-called 'French War' for possession of gold mines occurred in 1851. 'Calaveras . . . — Map (db m12996) HM|
|California (Calaveras County), Murphys — 465 — Site of Brownsville|
|A thriving mining camp on rich Pennsylvania Gulch in the 1850’s and 1860’s. Named for Alfred Brown, former owner of Table Mountain Ranch. Laws of Brownsville Mining District provided that each miner could own one wet and one dry claim, not to exceed 150 square feet. — Map (db m11501) HM|
|California (Calaveras County), Murphys — Thompson Building|
|Built soon after 1856 by John Thompson operator of Lime Kiln on Posky Hill and stone mason, who built adjoining Traver Building, and many other stone buildings.
Occupied, circa 58, by Meyer & Friedlander, General Merchandise. Later Fred Sackett ran a saloon here. Bill Herbert earnestly tried his best to shoot Sackett here in a gambling — Map (db m13027) HM|
|California (Calaveras County), San Andreas — 258 — Fourth Crossing|
|Located on the Stockton-Murphy Road at the fourth crossing of the Calaveras River, this early mining settlement, once called Foremans, was famous in the 1850's for its rich placer ores. Later, it became an important stage and freighting depot and served the Southern Mines until after the turn of the century. — Map (db m11969) HM|
|California (Calaveras County), San Andreas — 252 — San Andreas — Heart of the Southern Mines|
|Settled by Mexicans in 1848. Named after Catholic Parish of St. Andrew. First newspaper published here Sept. 24, 1856. Destroyed by fire June 4, 1858 and in 1863. County seat of Calaveras County since 1866. Rendezvous of Joaquin Murietta. Black Bart, notorious stage robber tried and sent to prison from here. Noted mining camp since early days. Gold from the surrounding ancient river channels and placer mines contributed greatly to the success of the Union during the Civil War. — Map (db m11503) HM|
|California (Calaveras County), Valley Springs — 295 — Paloma (Fosteria)|
|Gwin Mine, Paloma, and Lower Rich Gulch were mined for placer in 1849. Quartz was discovered by J. Alexander in 1851. Property acquired by Wm. M. Gwin, California's first U.S. Senator, in 1851. The Gwin Mine closed, in 1908, yielded millions. — Map (db m14449) HM|
|California (Calaveras County), West Point — 253 — Sandy Gulch|
|This site, in 1849, was a trading center for pioneer miners of Northwestern Calaveras County. It was named after the gulch where William and Dan Carsner found large nuggets imbedded in the course sand.
Water for mining was brought from the Middle Fork of the Mokelumne River. Through the Sandy Gulch and Kadish Ditches. Quartz mining began in the early fifties. The first custom stamp mill was at the head of Sandy Gulch.
The school and elections precincts were established early. Hangman’s . . . — Map (db m11975) HM|
|California (Contra Costa County), Clayton — Clayton|
|Miwok Indians inhabited this valley at the base of Mt. Diablo when Spanish explorers came in the 1770’s. Scouts, trappers, prospectors and settlers followed.
In 1857 Clayton was founded by Joel Clayton, a miner, farmer, and wagonmaster from England. Coal, copper and quicksilver mines developed nearby, creating a bustling downtown with stage service and a post office established in 1861. When mining declined, farming and ranching prospered, with orchards, vineyards, horses and cattle. . . . — Map (db m59954) HM|
|California (Del Norte County), Crescent City — The Metcalf Grove|
|This grove is given to the State of California for the preservation of these ancient trees by Mr. and Mrs. Jesse H. Metcalf of Rhode Island. — Map (db m1510) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Coloma — “Gold Boys Gold”|
|On January 24, 1848, James Marshall set off early and alone to inspect progress in deepening the ditch that channeled water from the sawmill back to the river. Suddenly, he bent over and picked up a few particles gleaming in the icy water. “Hey, boys, by God, I believe I’ve found a gold mine,” he called, walking toward the mill hands.
The men ran to meet him. One seized a flake, bit it, and when the metal did not break, yelled, “Gold, boys, gold!” After they had . . . — Map (db m17241) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Coloma — Cabin of James Marshall|
|This cabin was erected by Marshall and occupied by him from 1856 : 1870. Born in New Jersey October 8, 1810. Came to California in 1845 – Died at Kelsey, this state, August 10, 1885. The discovery of gold by Marshall in the tailrace of John A. Sutter’s Mill at Coloma on January 24, 1848 started the historic migration to California by land and sea. The original sawmill, the building of which Marshall superintended was located 2190 feet north of this cabin on the American River. On an . . . — Map (db m12215) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Coloma — Chinese Miners of the Mother Lode|
|Following the California Gold Rush of ’49, swarms of Chinese miners came to make their mark on the diggings in the Mother Lode, including this Coloma Valley. They were industrious and self-contained and mostly content to thoroughly comb the old diggings. Thus they reclaimed much gold that would have been overlooked. Chinese merchants came to serve their needs, such as Wah Hop who ran the adjoining store.
This plaque dedicated to the memory of the diligent Chinese miners of the gold days. — Map (db m12225) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Coloma — Chinese Stores|
|These two stone buildings known as the Wah Hop and Man Lee Stores were built by Jonas Wilder before 1860and leased to Chinese merchants. Located at the edge of a large Chinese community, they sold traditional foods, clothing and other items. Such stores were also social centers and places for receiving news about other Chinese communities in the state. After a disastrous fire destroyed Coloma’s Chinese quarter in 1883, most of the Chinese left town. — Map (db m12227) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Coloma — Coloma — An Artists View|
|”The principle street of Coloma was alive with crowds of moving men, passing and repassing, laughing, talking, and all appearing in the best of humor. It was a scene that no other country could ever imitate.”
from “A California Journal” by Charles Gillespie
Look over your left shoulder and you will see the view this artist saw in 1853 — Map (db m12274) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Coloma — Coloma Breweries|
|In the 1850’s and 1860’s Coloma had two breweries – the El Dorado and the Coloma – between Brewery Street and the river. An 1853 advertisement in Coloma’s newspaper stated: “Mr. Joseph Wellman would respectfully inform traders, hotelkeepers and the public generally, that he is ready to supply them a superior article of ale and cider by the barrel or otherwise, from his own manufactory. Draft ale on hand for sale, by the glass or gallon.” — Map (db m12324) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Coloma — Coloma’s Largest Brick Store — (Site of)|
|A large brick building measuring 50 feet by 65 feet, was built here in 1856. Two older frame structures were demolished and were sorely missed by the “old-timers” of that day. The brick for this store probably came from a brickyard 2 miles south of here. The store was demolished in 1877 by Robert Chalmers; he used the brick at the Vineyard House and then leased this ground to Chinese miners. — Map (db m12273) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Coloma — Coloma’s Pioneer Cemetery|
|Thousands of people emigrated to California with the dream of riches for themselves and have found their final rest in these hallowed grounds.
The exact date that the cemetery was founded is unknown. The earliest known graves date from 1849. In the past it has been known by various names: Sutter Mill, Coloma Protestant, and Vineyard.
More than 600 pioneers and their families are buried here. The graves contain the remains of those drawn to Coloma in search for gold. All races and many . . . — Map (db m12282) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Coloma — James W. Marshall — Discoverer of Gold|
|“Boys I believe I have found a gold mine” so said James W. Marshall to his millworkers on January 24, 1848, after he discovered gold in the tail race of Captain John A. Sutter’s sawmill at Coloma. This discovery started the great Gold Rush to California which resulted in its admission to the Union as the thirty first state on September 9, 1850. This plaque dedicated in his honor by E Clampus Vitus, January 27, 1957 — Map (db m12224) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Coloma — Miner’s Cabin|
|This cabin is an example of he quarters used by miners during the gold rush. The earliest structures were canvas tents, made from recycled sailcloth taken from abandoned ships in San Francisco Bay. In 1849 Coloma had hundreds of “tent” cabins. When the miners found they would be here for longer periods, they began building more permanent homes, such as this log cabin. — Map (db m12270) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Coloma — Mining Ditches|
|Mining ditches were dug by ditch companies to carry vast amounts of water needed for placer mining. Thousands of miles of ditches and flumes were built in the gold country; some brought immense profits to their owners. As mining declined in the 1860s, the same ditches were used for irrigating orchards, vineyards and pastures in the foothills. This ditch is seven miles long, and now carries irrigation water to local farmers. The hillside terraces you see here were used to grow fruit trees and grape vines. Some of them were dug by James Marshall. — Map (db m17484) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Coloma — Partners In History|
| Friday, Aug. 27, 1847…made a contract and entered in partnership with Marshall for a sawmill to be built on the Amer. Fork.
So wrote John Augustus Sutter, methodically recording the agreement that led to California’s astonishing gold rush. Sutter left Germany for the United States in 1834, after several years in the Midwest, reached the Sacramento Valley in 1839. A year later he received a 48,000-acre land grant from the Mexican government and began creating a small empire near the . . . — Map (db m17226) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Coloma — Pioneer Cemetery|
|This cemetery, also called “Coloma Protestant” Cemetery, “Sutter’s Mill” Cemetery, and “Vineyard House” Cemetery, is the final resting place for many ‘49ers. Among these graves are the remains of miners, farmers, merchants, tradesmen and their families, as well as murderers and prostitutes. This cemetery contains an estimated 400 – 500 graves. Many are unmarked; the wooden markers disappeared long ago. The oldest existing gravestone is dated 1850. This . . . — Map (db m12279) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Coloma — Robert Bell's Store|
|Most of Coloma's buildings were wooden, but some were were made of brick or stone to resist fire. This one, known as "Bells Brick Store," was a general merchandise store that also sold feed and grain. The U.S. Post Office was located in this building for many years. — Map (db m12207) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Coloma — Saint John’s Cemetery|
|This is Coloma’s Catholic Cemetery. There were probably some internments here early in the 1850’s. Many of the early burials were marked by wooden markers that have long since disappeared. The oldest existing headstone is dated 1861. This cemetery contains an estimated 80 to 100 graves. Many of the burials are in large family plots, such as the Murphy’s, Kane, Gallagher, Bayne, and Luneman families. Because the cemetery is on a hillside, eight plots are ringed with stone or concrete walls which help to stabilize the terraced ground. — Map (db m12280) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Coloma — Sierra Nevada House — (Site of)|
|The Sierra Nevada House was a handsome two-story building with many windows and a broad balcony. Here guests could always expect fine hospitality, suburb food, excellent ballroom music, fine carriages and comfortable beds. It was opened by Robert Chalmers from 1852 until 1869, when he sold it to begin building the Vineyard House. The fading old hotel continued to serve travelers and boarders until it was destroyed by fire in 1902. A new hotel was built. It burned in 1925. A replica now stands . . . — Map (db m12237) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Coloma — Sutter Mill Cemetery – 1848|
|Originated at time of gold discovery also known as “Coloma Protestant” or “Vineyard House” Cemetery. Still used by local pioneer families. — Map (db m12277) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Coloma — Sutter Mill Replica|
|This replica of Sutter’s Mill was based on research from many sources – a drawing by James Marshall, an old photograph of the mill, and the results of several excavations made on the original mill site. The building is 60 feet long, 20 feet wide, and 39 feet high, and 80,000 board feet of lumber were used in construction. The structure is assembled with wooden pegs – no nails were used. As in the original mill, all timbers were adzed by hand. The replica was placed here because the . . . — Map (db m12206) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Coloma — Sutter Mill Timbers|
|John Sutter’s mill was not used after 1850 and it deteriorated rapidly. The flood of 1862 destroyed the above ground remains of the structure. In 1924 the original mill site was located and the mill monument was built. Major excavations in 1947 found these handhewn timbers still in place. From the mill timbers it was possible to measure the size of the original sawmill, 60 feet long and 20 feet wide. The nearby mill replica was built in 1967 based upon this information and upon James Marshall’s sketches and description. — Map (db m12222) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Coloma — 748 — The Coloma Road|
|Here in the Valley of the Cul-lum-mah Indians, James W. Marshall discovered gold on January 24, 1848, in the tailrace of Sutter’s sawmill. The Old Coloma Road, opened in 1847 from Sutter’s Fort to Coloma, was used by Marshall to carry the news of the discovery to Captain John A. Sutter. During the Goldrush it was used by thousands of miners going to and from the diggings. In 1849 it became the route of California’s first stage-line, established by James E. Birch. — Map (db m12272) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Coloma — The Tailrace|
|Here on a chilly morning in January, 1848, carpenter James Marshall picked up the small pieces gold that touched off one of the largest, most frenzied mass migrations in history. Within a year of Marshall’s discovery, six thousand gold seekers swarmed over the western slope of the Sierra Nevada. Thousands more who followed completely changed the what had been a quiet, remote Mexican province. — Map (db m17608) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), El Dorado — 486 — El Dorado|
|El Dorado, meaning “The Gilded One”, was first known as Mud Springs from the boggy quagmire the cattle and horses made of a nearby watering place.
Originally a important camp along the old Carson Emigrant Trail. By 1849 – 50 it had become the center of a mining district and the crossroads for freight and stage lines. At the height of the Rush its large gold production supported a population of several thousand. — Map (db m13148) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), El Dorado — 700 — El Dorado (Mud Springs)|
|Trading post, emigrant stop, and mining camp of the 1850’s. This became one of the remount stations of the Central Overland Pony Express. Here at the Nevada House on April 13, 1860, pony rider William (Sam) Hamilton changed horses while carrying the first west-bound mail of the Pony Express from St. Joseph, Missouri, to Sacramento, California. — Map (db m11571) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Georgetown — Georgia Slide|
|One and a half miles north of Georgetown sailors from Georgia established claims in 1849. General store and mining camp in 1850 which later produced by seam diggins hydraulic and flood sluicing methods. The famous Blue Rock, Pacific Beattie and Upper Blue Rock mines rich producers for over half a century — Map (db m54943) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Placerville — Gold Bug, A Neighborhood Mine|
|The Gold Bug is like the thousands of small mines that once dotted the Sierra foothills. Surprisingly enough, most of the digging in this mine occurred in the 1920’s and 30’s, and not during the Gold Rush. Mines like this were worked by small partnerships of men with little money, equipment, or formal knowledge of geology or mining. Using picks, shovels, and blasting powder, the miners took what could be easily removed from the enriched quartz veins.
Like other neighborhood mines, work on . . . — Map (db m69863) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Placerville — Hangtown’s Gold Bug Park|
|Did you know that Gold Bug Park has nearly 100 years of gold mining history?
The 61 acres of the park include six mining claims that were once a part of the Poverty Ridge Mining District. Some of the richest deposits of the Mother Lode were found in this area. During one week in the summer of 1848, three men extracted $17,000 in gold when it was valued at $16 - $19 an ounce! By 1852 however, all but the heartiest miners had disappeared along with the easiest pickings along the creek. . . . — Map (db m69861) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Placerville — 475 — Placerville — Originally Known as “Hangtown” — Incorporated May 13, 1854|
|Established on banks of “Hangtown” Creek as rich mining camp in spring of 1848. Millions in gold were taken from its ravines and hills. Supply center for surrounding mining camps and transportation terminus for famous Comstock Lode. John M. Studebaker, Mark Hopkins, Leland Stanford, Phillip Armour, and Edwin Markham were among well-known men who contributed to Placerville’s early history. Also, “Snowshoe” John A. Thompson who carried from 60 to 80 pounds of mail on skies . . . — Map (db m12732) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Placerville — Placerville Hardware|
|Oldest continuously operating
hardware store west of the Mississippi River
One hundred forty years in business — Map (db m13154) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Placerville — The Stamp Mill|
|Local residents remember that the thunderous crashing staccato of the ore stamp mill could be heard for miles in the narrow canyon. The song of the stamps had been a familiar sound in this area for since George Cozens erected the first mill here in the 1890’s for the Silver Pine Mine. Operated as the Schiff Mill through the 1920’s, it was completely rebuilt by Horace P. Moulton in the mid-1930’s and opened up for local and regional use.
Stamp mills were located near mines so that the ore . . . — Map (db m69864) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Shingle Springs — 456 — Camp Site of Boston-Newton Party|
|On this site the Boston-Newton Joint Stock Association encamped on September 26, 1849. The company left Boston April 16 and arrived at Sutter’s Fort September 27. After a remarkable journey across the continent a rich store of written records preserved by these pioneers has left for posterity a fascinating picture of the Gold Rush. — Map (db m11568) HM|
|California (Fresno County), Coalinga — “Wooden Walking Beam”|
|This pumping unit, known as a wooden walking beam, was one of the oldest and last remaining in actual use within the Coalinga oil fields. Put into service in July of 1918, it was in continuous use until November 1979. Initial production was 170 barrels per day with an overall lifetime production of 275,000 barrels of oil.
Originally located about seven miles north of Coalinga, it was donated and relocated to this site by Chevron in September 1988.
In appreciation to those men and women of . . . — Map (db m64108) HM|
|California (Fresno County), Coalinga — Coaling Station A|
|Station A was one of three mines (A. B. & C.) in the Coalinga Hills where coal was mined. The coal was transfered (sic) from mule driven ore wagons. Then by coal cars pulled by old Betsy to the transfer dock at Alcalde in Warthan Canyon, from there the coal cars were hooked to a Southern Pacific engine and pulled to Goshen near Visalia CA. From there the cars were sent to points north and south.
On April 3, 1906 the City of Coalinga was incorporated deriving it’s name from Coaling Station A. — Map (db m63891) HM|
|California (Fresno County), Fresno — 6 — Green Bush Spring|
|On this spot in the early days was a flowing spring beside which stood a large green bush. Wild horses, deer, elk and antelope watered here and it served as a watering place for sheep and cattle.
The presence of this water caused the railroad in 1872 to locate its station and townsite here.
The name shown on the first map proposed town was Green Bush.
Because of its central location in Fresno County, Leland Stanford changed the name to Fresno Station.
In 1873 when the official map . . . — Map (db m28012) HM|
|California (Fresno County), Selma — 30 — Groundwater Irrigation Beginnings|
| [Marker Front:]
Groundwater Irrigation Beginnings
The San Joaquin Valley's groundwater reservoir was first tapped with a practical pumping plant 4 miles northeast of here on Dec. 12, 1894. William De La Grange of Selma, tired of upstream irrigationists draining Kings River water from the canal he used, drilled a pioneering open bottom well. Using steam power, he pumped 350 gallons of water per minute onto his ranch at the southeast corner of Manning and Bethel Ave's. The plant . . . — Map (db m28594) HM|
|California (Humboldt County), Petrolia — 543 — California's First Drilled Oil Wells|
|California's first drilled oil wells producing crude to be refined and sold commercially were located on the north fork of the Mattole River approximately three miles east of here. The old Union Mattole Oil Company made its first shipment of oil from here in June 1865 to a San Francisco refinery. many old well heads remain today. — Map (db m51955) HM|
|California (Imperial County), Imperial — Imperial Irrigation District|
|The largest gravity fed irrigation district in the western hemisphere, established in 1911. They later assumed control of several water companies and were instrumental in getting the Hoover Dam and the All American Canal built.
They commenced power service in 1936 and now supply power to the Imperial and Eastern Coachella Valleys. They aggressively guard the Imperial Valley's long established water rights to insure that the Imperial Valley remains one of the most productive agricultural areas in the world. — Map (db m62035) HM|
|California (Imperial County), Ogilby — Obregon|
|The historic gold mining community of Obregon lies near here in the Cargo Muchacho Mountains. As a frontier town, Obregon marks the location of several attempts to extract ore during the 1890s through the 1930s. Several different milling technologies were used during Obregon's existence. These included a 20 stamp mill, Cornish Rolls, and a Hardinge Mill, all successively employed prior to 1913. Finally, a floatation plant tried to extract gold from the meager ore in 1936 before all mining . . . — Map (db m51577) HM|
|California (Imperial County), Winterhaven — 193 — Picacho Mines|
|Opened by placer miners after 1852, the gold mines expanded into hard rock quarrying by 1872. Picacho employed 700 miners at its peak from 1895 to 1900. Mill accidents, low ore quality, and the loss of cheap river transport with the building of Laguna Dam, led to numerous periods of inactivity. With ores far from worked out, the Picacho mines using modern techniques again resumed operations in 1984. — Map (db m50584) HM|
|California (Inyo County), Cartago — 537 — Cottonwood Charcoal Kilns|
In June 1873 Colonel Sherman Stevens built a sawmill and flume on Cottonwood Creek high in the Sierras directly west of this spot. The flume connected with the Los Angeles Bullion Road. The lumber from the flume was used for timbering in the mine and buildings, and the wood was turned into charcoal in these kilns, then hauled to Steven's Wharf east of here on Owens Lake. There it was put on the Steamer "Bessie Brady," or the "Mollie Stevens," hailed directly across the lake, and from there . . . — Map (db m33877) HM|
|California (Inyo County), Furnace Creek — 773 — Old Harmony Borax Works|
|On the marsh near this point borax was discovered in 1881 by Aaron Winters who later sold his holdings to W. T. Coleman of San Francisco. In 1882 Coleman built the Harmony Borax Works and commissioned his superintendent J. W. S. Perry, to design wagons and locate a suitable route to Mojave. The work of gathering the ore (called cottonball) was done by Chinese workmen. From this point processed borax was
transported 165 miles by twenty mule team to the railroad until 1889. — Map (db m31920) HM|
|California (Inyo County), Furnace Creek — White Gold|
|Though steeped in legend, the frenzied search
for gold and other materials in Death Valley
produced few fortunes. Borax, the "White
Gold of the Desert," ranks as the valley's
most profitable mineral.
Harmony Borax works, in front of you, was
one of Death Valley's first borax operations.
It operated from 1883-1888. The 3/8-mile
interpretive trail takes you through
Harmony Borax Works. — Map (db m32661) HM|
|California (Inyo County), Keeler — Dolomite Mine|
|In 1862 this high quality deposit of dolomitic limestone was discovered. Its remorte location delayed development until 1883, when the Carson & Colorado Railroad was constructed. In 1885, Drew Haven Dunn filed a mining claim and the Inyo Marble Company began quarrying operations. The property was purchased in 1959 by Premiere Marble Products. They produced dolomite marble in several colors and its final product is widely used in terrazzo flooring, roofing, landscaping and in swimming pool and . . . — Map (db m72577) HM|
|California (Inyo County), Panamint Springs — Charcoal Kilns|
|Designed by Swiss Engineers and built by Chinese laborers in 1879, these kilns produced charcoal for the Modock Mine smelter, about 30 miles west of here. The kilns closed after only three years of use. Because of their brief life and remote location, these may be the best-preserved examples of charcoal kilns in the west.
Workers filled the air-tight kilns with Pinyon logs (relatively abundant in the area) and fired them. The burning, which reduced the wood to charcoal, took 6 to 8 days. . . . — Map (db m89561) HM|
|California (Inyo County), Shoshone — Ashford Mill Ruins|
|In 1914, gold ore from the Golden Treasure Mine, 5 miles to the east, was processed here for shipment to a smelter. Legend has it that the Ashford Brothers sold the mine for $50,000 to a Hungarian Count, who later sold it to B.W. McCausland for $105,000. — Map (db m89558) HM|
|California (Kern County), Bakersfield — Assay Office|
| Kern County experienced a mining boom just like other parts of California. Prospectors arriving from near and far found gold, silver and other valuable ore in Kern County’s mountains beginning in the 1850s.
An assayer tests the purity of gold and other precious metals in a sample of rock and minerals.
This exhibit resembles the assay office at the Yellow Aster Mine in Randsburg, a mining town in eastern Kern County, around 1900. The Yellow Aster Mine is one of the most famous . . . — Map (db m26080) HM|
|California (Kern County), Bakersfield — Cable Tool Drilling Rig|
| Kern County is one of the top oil producing areas in the United States. Four oil fields in Kern County have each produced over one billion barrels of oil.
In 1899, the discovery of oil on land near the Kern River started an oil boom. The oil boom resulted in the construction of hundreds of wooden derricks north of Bakersfield over the next few years.
A cable tool drilling rig uses a cable or rope to raise and lower a large metal drill bit. The drill bit pounds on the ground . . . — Map (db m25692) HM|
|California (Kern County), Bakersfield — 290 — Discovery Well — Kern River Field — California Historical Landmark|
|Oil was discovered at 70 feet in 1899, when Tom Means persuaded Roe Elwood and Frank Wiseman, aided by Jonathan, Bert, Jed, and Ken Elwood, George Wiseman, and John Marlowe, to dig here for oil. On June 1, 1899, 400 feet to the north, Horace and Milton McWhorter drilled this region's first commercial well. — Map (db m25294) HM|
|California (Kern County), Bakersfield — Fairhaven Pump House|
| Access to adequate water supplies was crucial to the settlement of Kern County.
Water from the Kern River was diverted to irrigate farmlands, but most towns relied on wells for drinking water.
The Fairhaven Water Company built this structure in 1921 to house a well and pump located in the middle of the intersection of Fairhaven Drive and East Drive northwest of Bakersfield.
The Fairhaven Water Company provided water to residential and commercial customers until 1981 when . . . — Map (db m25493) HM|
|California (Kern County), Bakersfield — Standard End Pumping Unit|
|This standard end pumping unit was salvaged and erected by the Production Department, Chevron U.S.A., Inc., La Habra to commemorate the 100th anniversary of Standard Oil Company of California
The unit is composed of original parts from the San Joaquin Valley and the Los Angeles Basin. It is one of the few remaining handmade solid redwood units used during the early 1920’s. — Map (db m26118) HM|
|California (Kern County), Boron — Twenty Mule Team|
|This is one of the original twenty mule team wagons, built to carry borax out of Death Valley – through 165 miles of desolated mountains and blistering deserts – to the nearest railroad junction in Mojave. It took 20 days to make the round trip and deliver 20 tons of borax. The teams worked steadily from 1883 to 1888. — Map (db m50450) HM|
|California (Kern County), Maricopa — 485 — Lakeview Gusher No.1 — California Historical Landmark|
|America's most spectacular gusher blew in here on March 14, 1910. Initially 18,000 barrels per day, the flow later reached an uncontrolled peak of 100,000 barrels per day, completely destroying the derrick. This Union Oil Company well produced nine million barrels of oil in 18 months.
— Map (db m54267) HM|
|California (Kern County), McKittrick — 504 — Buena Vista Refinery — California Historical Landmark|
|Eight miles due west of this marker stood one of California's first commercial oil refineries. Between August 1864 and April 1867, approximately 4,000 gallons of illuminating oil produced there was shipped to San Francisco by the Buena Vista Petroleum Company. Refining operations terminated due to excessive transportation rates. — Map (db m78295) HM|
|California (Kern County), Mojave — Golden Queen Mine Cart|
|This display commemorates the Mojave area's rich mining history, which began with the discovery of gold on the Little Buttes north of the present day Silver Queen Road.
That discovery by W.W.Bowers was followed by many others in the region, including the Yellow Dog Mine in 1925 and the Silver Queen (Golden Queen) on Soledad Mountain in 1934.
Other mines followed, and in 2010 gold mining began again on Soledad Mountain by the Golden Queen Mining Company, Ltd.
Mojave also played an . . . — Map (db m53129) HM|
|California (Kern County), Mojave — 652 — Mojave 20-Mule Team Borax Terminus|
|Just west of this point was the Southern Pacific terminus for the 20-mule-team borax wagons that operated between Death Valley and Mojave from 1884 to 1889. The route ran from the Harmony Borax Mining Company works, later acquired by the Pacific Coast Borax Company, to the railroad loading dock in Mojave over 165 miles of mountain and desert trail. A round trip required 20 days. The ore wagons, which hauled a payload of 24 tons, were designed by J. W. S. Perry, Borax Company superintendent in . . . — Map (db m11928) HM|
|California (Kern County), Oildale — Oildale Waits Drilling Company|
|In May 1899, Thomas A. Means owned the land where James and Jonathan Elwood discovered oil on the North Bank of the Kern River. They used a hand auger under the edge of the cliff checking for oil, and later moved to the top to drill. Oil surfaced from 256 feet, on July 26, 1899.
You can see the Discovery Well, capped in red, behind the dedication plaque. The Kern River Field has been the longest producing in the nation - over 100 Years.
As the Standard Oil Company grew in Kern County, . . . — Map (db m64665) HM|
|California (Kern County), Randsburg — Historic Randsburg|
|Rand Camp began as a tent city, erected by eager miners who rushed to the Mojave Desert following a major gold discovery in April 1895. A year later, the town of 1,500 had been renamed "Randsburg." Saloons sprouted, a U.S. Post Office was established, and the community's first newspaper, "The Randsburg Miner," appeared. By 1900, Randsburg's 3,500 inhabitants had a "30 stamp" ore crusher, bank, churches and theaters. Railroad tracks soon connected the nearby town of Johannesburg to Kramer's . . . — Map (db m53869) HM|
|California (Kern County), Randsburg — 938 — Rand Mining District|
|The Yellow Aster, or Rand Mine, was discovered in April, 1895 by Singleton Burcham and Mooers. The town of Randsburg quickly developed followed by the supply town of Johannesburg in 1896. Both names were adopted from the profusion of minerals resembling those of the Rand Mining District in South Africa. In 1907 Churchill discovered tungsten at Atolia, used in steel alloy during World War I. In June 1919 Willams and Nosser discovered the famous California Rand Silver Mine at Red Mountain. — Map (db m50461) HM|
|California (Kern County), Randsburg — 57 — Randsburg, California|
|Gold was discovered on the slope of Rand Mountain in 1895. From this discovery, the town of Randsburg sprang up almost overnight. By 1899, the town had over 3500 residents. Randsburg boasted a 100-stamp mill and conservative estimates are that $60,000,000 in gold was taken out of the mines in the area during the town’s boom years. From 1895 till about 1933, the Yellow Aster Mine produced almost $25,000,000 worth of gold at the old gold prices of about $20.00 per ounce. The jail and White House . . . — Map (db m78578) HM|
|California (Kern County), Randsburg — The Baltic Mine Project|
|Few local miners still burrow underground, lured by the rich yellow gleam of gold. Most gold now recovered from California’s Rand Mining District is microscopic in size, and so finely dispersed that it is invisible to the naked eye. Rock containing as little as .02 ounces of gold per ton is considered “ore” meaning that it can be mined at a profit. From this vantage point, you can watch the Baltic Mine’s excavation of approximately 50,000 total tons per day. When tests reveal that . . . — Map (db m53870) HM|
|California (Kern County), Taft — History of Taft|
|As Taft’s first 100 years is being celebrated in 2010, let’s look back to see from where we came. Taft got its start when the railroad laid tracks to Taft and beyond. Siding Number Two was where it all started along the tracks in the vicinity of 2nd and Supply Row. Railroad cars were being unloaded with supplies for the rapidly expanding oil production for miles along what was called the Midway Sunset Oil Field. Buildings began springing up, followed by houses, businesses, schools, and . . . — Map (db m54388) HM|
|California (Kern County), Taft — West Kern Oil Museum|
|The Jameson # 17 oil derrick, which was drilled in 1917 and produced until
the 1980’s, was scheduled to be torn down. In 1974 the local American
Association of University Women and several dedicated people convinced
Jameson Oil Company to donate the wooden derrick along with three acres
of land to give the West Kern Oil Museum, Inc. a promising start.
The Jameson # 17 was the last standing wooden derrick in California,
outlasting more than 7000 wooden derricks that covered the . . . — Map (db m88603) HM|
|California (Los Angeles County), Los Angeles — 247 — Hancock Park — La Brea Pits|
The Citizens of Los Angeles County
In December 1916 by
Captain Allan Hancock
With a request that the scientific
features be preserved
First historic reference to the tar pools
Recorded in the diary of Caspar dePortola'
In August 3, 1769
Originally a portion of the Rancho LaBrea
Granted by Governor Alvarado 1840 — Map (db m59013) HM|
|California (Los Angeles County), Los Angeles — William Mulholland — 1855 - 1935|
|A penniless Irish immigrant boy who rose by the force of his industry, intelligence, integrity and intrepidity to be a sturdy American citizen, a self-educated engineering genius, a whole-hearted humanitarian, the father of the city's water system, and the builder of the Los Angeles City Aqueduct:
This memorial is gratefully dedicated by those who are the recipients of his unselfish bounty and the beneficiaries of his prophetic vision. — Map (db m32188) HM|
|California (Los Angeles County), Newhall — Oak of the Golden Dream|
In 1839, the Mexican Government granted to
Antonio del Valle some 48,000 acres of
The Santa Clarita Valley known as the Del Valle Rancho.
On March 9, 1842, Francisco Lopez y Arbello, the brother-in-law of Antonio del Valle, visited the Rancho. While napping under a great oak tree, he dreamt that he was surrounded by gold and was very rich. Upon awaking, he picked a bunch of wild onions that were growing around some sycamore trees just north of the great oak tree. Attached to the onion . . . — Map (db m20112) HM|
|California (Los Angeles County), Newhall — 168 — Oak of the Golden Dream|
|Francisco Lopez made California’s first authenticated gold discovery on March 9, 1842. While gathering wild onions near an oak tree in Placerita Canyon he found gold particles clinging to the roots of the bulbs. The San Fernando placers and nearby San Feliciano Canyon were worked by Sonoran miners using panning, sluicing and dry washing methods. Lopez’s find predated James Marshall’s strike at Sutter’s Mill by six years.
California Registered Historical Landmark No.168
First registered . . . — Map (db m51516) HM|
|California (Los Angeles County), Newhall — 136 — Oak of the Golden Dream — * ← 9 Miles *|
|In Placeritas Canyon, March 1842, Francisco Lopez Y Arballo, while gathering wild onions from around an old oak, discovered gold particles clinging to the roots of the bulbs. It is estimated that $80,000 in gold was discovered as a result of this discovery. — Map (db m51669) HM|
|California (Los Angeles County), Newhall — 172 — Pioneer Oil Refinery — ← 3 Miles|
|In 1875 the Star Oil Company, one of the predecessors of the Standard Oil Company of California, drilled its first Pico Canyon well, which yielded about one hundred barrels per day. The discovery resulted in the erection of the first commercial oil refinery in California the following year. — Map (db m30665) HM|
|California (Los Angeles County), Redondo Beach — 373 — Old Salt Lake|
|This marker locates the site near which the Indians and early California settlers came to obtain their salt, which at many times was more valuable than gold. — Map (db m50973) HM|
|California (Los Angeles County), Santa Clarita — 136 — Oak of the Golden Dream — * ← 6 Miles *|
|In Placeritas Canyon, March 1842, Francisco Lopez Y Arballo, while gathering wild onions from around an old oak, discovered gold particles clinging to the roots of the bulbs. It is estimated that $80,000 in gold was discovered as a result of this discovery. — Map (db m31769) HM|
|California (Los Angeles County), Santa Clarita — 168 — Oak of the Golden Dream — * ← 2 Miles *|
|In Placeritas Canyon, March 1842, Francisco Lopez Y Arballo, while gathering wild onions from around an old oak, discovered gold particles clinging to the roots of the bulbs. It is estimated that $80,000 in gold was discovered as a result of this discovery. — Map (db m51668) HM|
|California (Los Angeles County), Signal Hill — 580 — Discovery Well - Signal Hill Field|
| Shell Oil Company – Alamitos No. 1 •
June 25, 1921.
One of the world’s most famous wells, Alamitos No. 1, was started on March 23, 1921, and completed June 25, 1921, at a depth of 3,114 feet, flowing 590 barrels of oil a day.
This discovery well led to the development of one of the most productive oil fields in the world and helped to establish California as a major oil producting state.
This monument commemorating Alamitos No. 1 is a tribute to the petroleum pioneers . . . — Map (db m2476) HM|
|California (Los Angeles County), Stevenson Ranch — 516-2 — Mentryville|
|Mentryville, named after Charles Alexander Mentry, who drilled California's first successful commercial oil well in 1876, was one of the first oil towns in the state. Mentry's restored home, barn and Felton School remain on the site where the California Star Oil Works Co., a predecessor of Standard Oil Co. of California, was founded. — Map (db m30670) HM|
|California (Los Angeles County), Sylmar — 653 — “The Cascades”|
|This is the terminus of the Los Angeles-Owens River Aqueduct, which brings water 338 miles from the eastern slopes of the Sierra Nevada to the City of Los Angeles. Begun in 1905, the great aqueduct was completed November 5, 1913. The Mono Craters Tunnel project, completed in 1940, extended the system 27 miles to its present northernmost intake near Tioga Pass.
California Registered Historical Landmark No.653
Plaque placed by the California State Park Commission in cooperation with the Los . . . — Map (db m20089) HM|
|California (Mariposa County), Coulterville — Whistling Billy|
|This eight-ton, short-wheel base, wood burning locomotive, built by the H. K. Porter Co. of Pittsburg, Pennsylvania, was delivered to the Merced Mining Company of Coulterville in 1897. All of "Billy’s" active life was spent hauling gold-bearing quartz ore over the narrow-guage tracks from the Mary Harrison mine, south of town, to the Potosi stamp mill, west of town – a distance of about four miles. Abandoned in 1904, it was resurrected in the mid 1930's, and placed here for all to see and . . . — Map (db m5956) HM|
|California (Mariposa County), Mariposa — California State Mining and Mineral Museum|
|The California State Geological Society started collecting mineral specimens in 1865. In 1880, the California State Mining Bureau was founded. This plaque is dedicated to the miners and founders for their foresight. Todays collection displays specimens from all over the world. — Map (db m46845) HM|
|California (Mariposa County), Mariposa — La Mineta 1850 - Princeton 1854 - Mount Bullion 1862|
|This site is part of the 44,000 arce [sic] Las Mariposa Land Grant purchased in 1847 by Colonel John C. Fremont for $3,000. In 1850 La Mineta, a mining camp, was established here by Sonoran miners. La Mineta was changed to Princeton in 1854 for the nearby Princeton Mine co-discoverer Prince Steptoe. The Princeton Mine produced almost 4,500,000 of gold in 1860. Carlo Marre opened a general store. In 1862 Princeton was changed to Mount Bullion because a Princeton post office existed in Colusa . . . — Map (db m46407) HM|
|California (Mariposa County), Mariposa — The Ophir Mines|
|The Mount Ophir Mine is one of the most successful and conspicuous of the Mother Lode mines in Mariposa County. It includes the Mount Ophir Mint which was the first of such mints to turn gold into coins. The Mint was built by John Moffitt, who had been appointed to the Office of United States Assayer for California by President Tyler. It minted $50.00 octagonal coins (slugs) in 1850 and 1851 prior to the Mint being established in San Francisco. The mine was worked extensively until 1914. — Map (db m46381) HM|
|California (Mendocino County), Fort Bragg — Charles Russell Johnson — Founder of Fort Bragg, CA|
|This section of the largest Redwood Tree known to have grown in Mendocino County is dedicated this day, September 6, 1943 by the citizens of the City of Fort Bragg to the memory of
Charles Russell Johnson
who founded their city Aug. 5, 1889 — Map (db m11085) HM|
|California (Mendocino County), Ukiah — 980 — Ukiah Vichy Springs Resort|
|Native Americans used these springs for thousands of years before Frank Marble "discovered" them in 1848. William Day established the resort here in 1854. Ukiah Vichy represents one of the oldest continuously operating mineral springs resorts in California. Its waters remain among the most important of the thermal, alkaline-carbonated waters so highly valued by both European and American believers in hydrotherapy. It is the only mineral spring in California that resembles the famed Grand Grille Springs of Vichy, France. — Map (db m78163) HM|
|California (Merced County), Los Banos — 550 — Los Banos|
|Los Baños (The Baths) del Padre Arroyo was a favorite bathing place for padres from San Juan Bautista Mission during their travels to San Joaquin Valley. Visited as early as 1805 by Spanish explorers, its name was changed to Los Banos Creek by later American emigrants. The town of Los Banos was established at its present site in 1889, after the location of the post office of Los Banos near the creek in 1974. — Map (db m46959) HM|
|California (Mono County), Benton — Montgomery City California|
|In October of 1863, rich silver discoveries led to the formation of Montgomery Mining District and Montgomery City which, although short lived, supported a newspaper, The Pioneer. There were no continuous veins found and mining operations soon ceased. Cloudbursts have destroyed the site, located 2½ miles east of U.S. Highway 6 from Benton Station.
Plaque dedicated September 11, 1976
Bodie Chapter of E Clampus Vitus
Mono County Board of Supervisors — Map (db m3492) HM|
|California (Mono County), Coleville — Golden Gate Mine|
|The mine was discovered in 1903 and was owned and operated by various owners until 1939 when it ceased operations.
The total amount of bullion taken from this site is unknown. However, one owner did ship $12,000.00 in 1912. The gold vein was rather illusive and required a great deal of effort to follow. The main workings were on the north side of Golden Gate Peak and a tram brought the ore to the mill. It is said that when the crusher and the ten stamp mill were operating you could hear it . . . — Map (db m50083) HM|
|California (Mono County), June Lake — June Lake Mining District|
|Near this site was located June Lake’s first and only commercial mining venture organized in 1924. The district was composed of ten mines or claims, which produced high-grade ore of zinc, lead and silver.
During its heyday, the mines employed 15 workers and produced 100 tons of ore. The facilities included an assay office, shop, pump and bunk houses. Elaborate electrical and hydraulic systems were constructed to operate the mining equipment and machinery.
By 1929 the mines began to . . . — Map (db m50033) HM|
|California (Mono County), Lee Vining — Bennettville|
|One mile west is the site of Bennettville. Originally located as the Sheepherder Mine in 1874 by William Bruskey and relocated by Thomas Bennett, President of the Great Sierra Consolidated Silver Mining Company as the Tioga Mines. The claim and visions of a rich silver lode drew thousands to the site of Bennetville. In 1882, eight tons of mining equipment were brought from Lundy via the Tioga Crest and across Saddlebags Lake to the mine. The need for a better way to get mining equipment to . . . — Map (db m49968) HM|
|California (Mono County), Lee Vining — Mono Mills|
|To meet the ever increasing demand for lumber and cord wood the Bodie Railway and Lumber Company was formed in February 1881. Timber was harvested from various tracts to the south. It was milled at this site and then shipped to Bodie on the railroad via Warm Springs and Lime Kiln. The sawmill was a two story structure capable of producing 80,000 board feet in a 10 hour shift (when the crew was sober) and was powered by a 16 inch steam engine. With the development of electricity at Green Creek . . . — Map (db m49977) HM|
|California (Mono County), Lundy — Lundy|
|Home of the May Lundy Mine. Site of W. J. Lundy sawmill supplying lumber to Bodie in 1878. Organized as the Homer Mining District in 1879 by Wasson, Nye and Homer. Plagued by snowslides and partially destroyed by fire in 1886, Lundy's page of Mono County's history reads wild, rugged and raw but her gold was rich and yellow.
Dedicated June 10, 1967 Bodie Chapter of E Clampus Vitus Mono County Board of Supervisors — Map (db m37583) HM|
|California (Mono County), Mammoth Lakes — Mammoth City|
|On this site, opposite colorful Mineral Hill (now known as Red Mountain) where the Mammoth mines are located, stood the town of Mammoth City. In this gulch during 1878-79 sprouted a mining camp of perhaps a thousand people. Mammoth City – the center for the nearby, smaller camps of Pine City, Mill City, and Mineral Peak – is said to have had 22 saloons, 13 stores, 2 breweries, 2 livery stables, 5 restaurants and 2 newspapers. Remember that a ten foot square tent or shack plus a . . . — Map (db m50043) HM|
|California (Mono County), Mammoth Lakes — The Mammoth Consolidated Gold Mine|
|Mammoth’s famous gold mining boom began in 1877 and ended abruptly in 1881 when the Mammoth Mining Company’s property was sold at a sheriff’s sale. Miners have continued to prospect and mine Red Mountain on a small scale to this day. In 1927 the Mammoth Consolidated Mining Company began the last significant mining operation here. The Great Depression and bank failure contributed to its closing in 1933.
Arch Mahan, the principal partner in this venture, then changed careers from mining to . . . — Map (db m59473) HM|
|California (Monterey County), Marina — Welcome to Fort Ord Dunes State Park!|
|Around you are the remains of a portion of the U.S. Army’s Fort Ord. In fact, you are standing on what’s left of the parking lot for Stilwell Hall, once an elegant Soldier’s Club.
The Army base, closed in 1994, and surrounding land was eventually given to the state through the Federal Lands to Parks Program, which allowed the transfer of surplus federal lands to state and local governments for public parks. Fort Ord Dunes State Park opened in 2009, and now provides nearly 1,000 ares of land . . . — Map (db m68880) HM|
|California (Monterey County), Monterey — Chestnut Tree|
|This Chestnut tree, form the lawn of the White House, was originally planted in front of Colton Hall on September 20, 1966 by First Lady, Lady Bird Johnson. It was later replanted in Friendly Plaza. — Map (db m63327) HM|
|California (Nevada County), Nevada City — English and New Salmon Mine Stamp Mill|
|This stamp mill was manufactured at the Miners Foundry and Supply Co., Nevada City, California in the late 1800’s. After a circuitous journey, it has returned to its place of crushing hard rock at the English Mine and then the New Salmon Mine, owned by Donald McPherson, at Badger Hill. The stamp mill ceased operation in 1942 when all non-critical gold mines were shut down. After sitting idle through the years overgrown by trees and brush the stamp mill was moved in the 1970’s to the Nevada City . . . — Map (db m12862) HM|
|California (Nevada County), Nevada City — Giant|
|This monitor was used at the now closed La Grange Mine near Weaverville in Trinity County and is similar in size to those used at the Malakoff to wash down the gravel hillsides.
It was obtained through a joint effort of E Clampus Vitus, Trinitarianus Chapter, Weaverville, and Wm. Bull Meek-Wm. Morris Stewart Chapter, Nevada City. — Map (db m861) HM|
|California (Nevada County), Nevada City — Miners Foundry – Allans Machine Shop — Founded 1856|
|This original brick building in continuous usage as a foundry for over 110 years. Famous Pelton Waterwheel developed and manufactured here in 1878. Ingenious double-cupped bucket designed by Lester A. Pelton of Camptonville and Nevada City. It became the basis for Hydro-electric turbin generators throughout the world. — Map (db m12863) HM|
|California (Nevada County), Nevada City — 1012 — Pelton Wheel Manufacturing Site|
|The Pelton Water Wheel, first commercially manufactured here at George Allan’s Foundry & Machine Works in 1879, was a major advancement in water power utilization and greatly advanced hard-rock mining. Its unique feature was a series of paired buckets, shaped like bowls of spoons and separated by a splitter, that divided the incoming water jets into two parts. By the late 1800, Pelton Wheels were providing energy to operate industrial machinery throughout the world. In 1888, Lester Pelton moved . . . — Map (db m12796) HM|
|California (Nevada County), North Columbia — Humbug Creek|
|The 7874 foot tunnel, engineered by Hamilton Smith Jr. from the Malakoff Diggings, has its outlet in Humbug Creek 1 mile up stream. In the late 1870’s, tailings from the Malakoff Diggings filled the river channel to a depth of 60 feet. Remnants of these tailings may still be seen along the banks of South Yuba River downstream from this point. — Map (db m45946) HM|
|California (Nevada County), Truckee — Boca Townsite|
Boca's Railroad Roots
From 1866-68, the Central Pacific Railroad was laying tracks over the Sierra Nevada working to complete its portion of the nation's first transcontinental railroad. The railroad's Construction Camp 17, here, at the junction of the Little Truckee and Truckee Rivers, soon became known as Boca ("mouth" in Spanish).
In 1868, a lumber mill was established at Boca to help supply wood for the railroad. A dam was constructed across the Little Truckee River, creating . . . — Map (db m62048) HM|
|California (Nevada County), Truckee — Rocking Stone|
|A natural glacier formation, or the work of an unknown tribe as a form of altar. It’s exact origin will never be known. The perfectly balanced stone until recently would rock at the touch of a finger.
C.F. McGlashan built the original tower in 1895 and used it to display Donner Party relics and his famous butterfly collection. Site of an overnight stop for the Olympic Torch in 1960. — Map (db m23527) HM|
|California (Nevada County), Washington — 628-629 — Alpha and Omega|
|One mile north of here were the towns of Alpha and Omega, named by gold miners in the early 1850’s. The tremendous hydraulic diggings, visible from near this point, engulfed most of the original townsites. Alpha was the birthplace of famed opera singer Emma Nevada. Mining at Omega continued until 1949; and lumbering operations are carried on there today. — Map (db m45152) HM|
|California (Orange County), Brea — 918 — Olinda|
|The course of oil production was changed in 1899 when the Olinda area became the first site in California to use the technique of drilling with the hole full of water. Having been developed as a source of fuel oil for for the Santa Fe Railroad, Olinda became a bustling boomtown at the turn of the century. Its demise came with construction of Carbon Canyon Dam in 1959. — Map (db m50337) HM|
|California (Orange County), Brea — 50 — Olinda Oil Museum and Trail|
|On this site, Edward L. Doheny drilled the first oil well in the Olilnda field in 1897. Olinda #1, drilled to 806 feet, pumped about 50 barrels per day (bpd). By 1898, ten wells were drilled, some producing up to 100 bpd. In 1899, the Santa Fe Railroad built a branch line to the oil field, and the settlement of Olinda was founded. This historic place is preserved to commemorate the pioneering spirit of the people of Olinda. — Map (db m50045) HM|