|Australia, Victoria, Moyhu — Hume and Hovell|
|Hume and Hovell passed nearby Nov. 26 and on return Dec. 30 - 1824. — Map (db m82085) HM|
|Australia, Victoria, Sorrento — Collins Settlement 1803-04|
| The people of the Bunerong lived in the Mornington Peninsula region for many thousands of years.
On 9 October, 1803 HMS "Calcutta" under the command of Captain Daniel Woodriff entered Port Phillip Bay carrying David Collins the Lieutenant Governor to the proposed first officîal European settlement in Victoria. Collins was accompanied by 11 civil officers, 49 officers and men of the Royal Marines, 300 convicts with a total of 41 family members. A contingent of 54 free settlers . . . — Map (db m81596) HM|
|Australia, Victoria, Warrnambool — Warrnambool 150th Anniversary 1847-1997|
|This stone commemorating the Foundation of Warrnambool
Gazetted on 17 February 1847
was unveiled by
His Excellency The Honourable Richard E. McGarvie A,C.
Governor of Victoria
in the presence of His Worship the Mayor Cr Gerald Shanley — Map (db m52643) HM|
|Bahamas, New Providence, Nassau — The Bahamas Grant — 1629 1929|
|To commemorate the grant of these islands by His Majesty King Charles the First to Sir Robert Heath Attorney General of England on the 30th day of October 1629 — Map (db m32434) HM|
|Brazil, Bahia, Salvador — Igr. Basílica de N. Sr. do Bonfim — ["Basilica Church of Our Lord of the Good End"]|
| Igreja de pergrinação do século XVIII, com arcadas laterais. Local de grade devoção popular, possui internamente coleção de ex-votos.
This simple 18th century church with arches on both sides has been the site of pilgrimages for many years and is dearly beloved by the Bahian people. It is believed to have special curative properties, and those seeking divine intervention often leave replicas of body parts or photographs of the infirm inside the church.
Bahia Brasil Terra da Felicidade
VISA — Map (db m26089) HM|
|Brazil, Bahia, Salvador — Zumbi dos Palmares Monument|
Zumbi dos Palmares
“É chegada a hora de tirar nossa nação das trevas da injustica racial.”
Nasceu livre, em 1655, na Serra da Barriga, união dos Palmares, Alagoas. Neto de Aqualtune, não permitiu a submissão de seu povo ao jugo da corda portuguesa, pois queria a liberdade para todos, dentro ou fora do Quilombo. Persistiu na luta e tornou-se líder do Quilombo, sento ferido em 1694, quando a capital Palmares foi destruída. Em 20 de Novembro de 1695, . . . — Map (db m26125) HM|
|Brazil, Rio de Janeiro — 01056031 — Ordem Terceira do Carmo Church — [Church of the Third Order of Carmel]|
| The Venerable and Archiepiscopal Third Order of Our Lady of Mount Carmo [sic]was founded on July 19, 1648.
In 1749, the Order decided to have a new chapel built to practice spiritual exercises more comfortably. But it was only in 1752 that the marble cut stone was ordered for the high chapel. In 1755, the foundations of the new Church were built, and finally on July 22, 1770, the new temple was consecrated in a solemn procession with the images that adorned the old chapel, to the . . . — Map (db m31759) HM|
|Brazil, Rio de Janeiro — Praça 15 de Novembro — Prefeitura da Cidade do Rio De Janeiro|
| Esta região guarda a memória do período colonial Brasileiro. No Século XVII, o núcleo original da cidade desloca-se do morro do Castelo para a várzea e consolida-se ao longo da Rua Direita, hoje Primeiro de Março. Junto à rua, na praia de N.S. do Ó, aterrado surge o Terreiro do Carmo, depois chamado Largo do Paço, por se ter instalado ali o Paço dos Governadores (1743), atual Paço Imperial.
O velho largo recebe o nome de Praça 15 de Novembro por ocasião da Proclamação da República em 1889, . . . — Map (db m26313) HM|
|Newfoundland and Labrador (Division No. 1 (Avalon Peninsula)), Ferryland — Colony of Avalon — La colonie d’Avalon — Sir David Kirke, c. 1597-1654|
|Two plaques are mounted on this monument.
Near this site stood the “Mansion House” built between 1621 and 1625 by Captain E. Wynne, resident governor of the Colony of Avalon, for the proprietor, Sir George Calvert (later Lord Baltimore), who took up residence here in 1628. The active hostility of transient fishermen and costly raids by French privateers and warships led Calvert to abandon his colony in 1629. Ferryland, however, continued to be an . . . — Map (db m79466) HM|
|Nova Scotia (Halifax Regional Municipality), Halifax — France and Canada — La France et le Canada — Theirs is a story of enduring friendship./ C’est l’histoire d’une longe amitié.|
|France and Canada share a long history. Theirs is a story of enduring friendship.
It began 400 years ago, in Nova Scotia, the birthplace of Acadie, with the arrival of the first French settlers and of Samuel de Champlain at Port-Royal in 1605.
Halifax had its first contact with France at the beginning of the 18th century. In 1711, the French engineer Delabat drew fortification plans for Chebucto Bay (present day Halifax harbour).
In autumn of 1746, the Duc D’Anville led an ill-fated . . . — Map (db m77622) HM|
|Ontario, Hamilton — Sir John Harvey 1778 - 1852|
|From these heights, Lieutenant-Colonel John Harvey set out with about 700 men on the night of June 5, 1813, to launch a surprise attack on an invading United States force of some 3,000 men camped at Stoney Creek. His rout of the troops commanded by Brigadier-General John Chandler under cover of darkness in the early hours of June 6, is generally credited with saving Upper Canada from being overrun by the enemy. Harvey was knighted in 1834, served as Lieutenant-Governor of New Brunswick 1834-41, . . . — Map (db m56743) HM|
|Ontario, Hamilton — United Empire Loyalists|
|In Lasting Memory
Who preferred to remain loyal British
subjects and came to canada
in large numbers immediately
following the American Revolution
of 1776 and the signing of the
Treaty of Peace in 1783.
On this site in 1785 was erected
one of the first log houses in this
district by a loyalist pioneer Col.
Richard Beasley who on June 11th
and 12th 1796 here . . . — Map (db m66131) HM|
|Ontario (Chatham-Kent), Chatham — Burning of British Ships / American Encampment — Monday, October 4, 1813 — Tecumseh Parkway|
|East of the Forks, the Thames River becomes shallower and not navigable for larger ships. With the American forces close behind, the British vessels were threatened with capture. One cargo ship, probably the Miamis, had already been set on fire closer to the Forks. Near this site, two other ships, the Mary and the Ellen, were moored perpendicular to the shore and much of their contents dumped into river. They were then set on fire to block the river to any American gunboats.
The American . . . — Map (db m71398) HM|
|Ontario (Chatham-Kent), Chatham — Chatham Blockhouse — — 1794 —|
|On this site a blockhouse was constructed in 1794 by order of Lieutenant-Governor John Graves Simcoe. He planned to establish here a small naval arsenal which would form a link in the defences of Upper Canada's western frontier and also draw the Indian trade from Detroit. The post was garrisoned by a detachment of the Queen's Rangers, and two gunboats were built; but by 1797 it was abandoned. In 1798 the province's Administrator, Peter Russell, had the blockhouse moved to Sandwich to serve as the Western District's court-house and gaol. — Map (db m71313) HM|
|Ontario (Chatham-Kent), Chatham — Skirmish at the Forks — Monday, October 4, 1813 — Tecumseh Parkway|
|On October 2, 1813, Tecumseh moved his warriors up-river to the Forks where he had been led to believe that fortifications would be prepared for a full-scale confrontation with harrison's army. When Tecumseh arrived, he was enraged to find no fortifications and only three or four dismounted cannon and a log cabin containing small arms.
Despite his dismay, Tecumseh convinced his warriors to stage a rearguard action at the Forks on October 4 to slow the American advance. That morning, the . . . — Map (db m71335) HM|
|Ontario (Chatham-Kent), Chatham — Skirmish at the Forks — Monday, October 4, 1813 — Tecumseh Parkway|
|Robert McAfee, a member of Colonel Johnson's Kentucky Mounted Regiment, described the skirmish in his journal. He wrote:
Oct 4: …a woman … informed us that about six miles above the River forked, that there was a large bridge across the mouth of the Right hand fork and a mill and a bridge about about about a mile and a half up the fork where the Indians were encamped [sic] and she expected that they would make a stand and fight … about twelve o'clock the firing commenced on our left and . . . — Map (db m71378) HM|
|Ontario (Chatham-Kent), Chatham — The Abolition Movement in British North America|
|From 1783 until the 1860s, abolitionists in British North America took part in the fight to end slavery both at home and in the United States. Thanks to the determination of colonial officials, anti-slavery organizations, and the thousands of African Americans who took refuge in Upper and Lower Canada and the Maritimes during this period, the colonies became a centre of abolitionist activity, as evidenced by the convention held here at this church by John Brown in 1858. This struggle for human . . . — Map (db m71391) HM|
|Ontario (Chatham-Kent), Chatham — The Forks — Tecumseh Parkway|
|The Forks of the Thames are formed by the joining of the Thames River and McGregor Creek creating a peninsula that is present day Tecumseh Park in Chatham, Ontario. The strategic importance of the site was recognized by Lieutenant Governor John Graves Simcoe when he visited the region in 1793.
The first settlement at the Forks occurred in 1794 when Simcoe commissioned Captain William Baker to establish a shipyard. Baker constructed a log blockhouse, a 72 foot-long frame workshop, forges, . . . — Map (db m71331) HM|
|Ontario (Chatham-Kent), Thamesville — Assault on Backmetack Marsh — Tuesday, October 5, 1813, 4:00 p.m. — Tecumseh Parkway|
|As Lieutenant Colonel James Johnson's horsemen were charging the British front line, his brother, Colonel Richard Johnson led an attack against the First Nations warriors in Backmetack Marsh. The mounted infantry charged the Native left flank led by 20 riders, called "The Forlorn Hope," who were intended to draw the warriors' fire and empty their guns. Tecumseh's allies fired a devastating volley at close range that cut down 15 of the riders. The casualties included Colonel Johnson who was . . . — Map (db m72397) HM|
|Ontario (Chatham-Kent), Thamesville — Participants in the Battle of the Thames — Tuesday, October 5, 1813 — Tecumseh Parkway|
|Makataimeshekiakiak, Black Hawk, 1767-1838: A Sauk war leader and experienced warrior, Blackhawk was a veteran of the Battles of Fort Meigs and Fort Stephenson. Although he left the war for a period of time, he rejoined the British, and scholars feel that he was probably at the Battle of the Thames. Following the war, Black Hawk continued to oppose American encroachment on native lands that culminated in "The Black Hawk War" in 1832.
Naiwash: Ottawa chief
Naw Kaw: Winnebago chief. . . . — Map (db m71418) HM|
|Ontario (Chatham-Kent), Thamesville — Participants in the Battle of the Thames — Tuesday, October 5, 1813 — Tecumseh Parkway|
|Shabbona 1775-1859: A Potawatomi chief, grand nephew of Pontiac, and veteran of Tippecanoe, Shabbona was an accomplished warrior and strong supporter of Tecumseh. He persuaded many natives to join the confederacy.
Sou-veh-hoo-wah, Split Log, 1765-1825: Huron chief and veteran of the River Raisin and Fort Meigs, Split Log helped defeat Brigadier General McArthur's American force at the Grand River in October 1814.
Tecumseh 1768-1813: Leader of the First Nations confederacy. . . . — Map (db m71419) HM|
|Ontario (Chatham-Kent), Thamesville — Participants in the Battle of the Thames — Tuesday, October 5, 1813 — Tecumseh Parkway|
|John Adair 1757-1840: Pioneer, soldier, and statesman, Adair was a veteran of the American Revolution, was 8th governor of Kentucky, and represented that state in both the U.S. House of Representatives and the Senate. He fought at the Battle of the Thames and was subsequently rewarded for his service, being appointed adjutant general of Kentucky.
Lewis Cass 1782-1866: A military officer and politician, Cass was governor of the Michigan Territory and, later, U.S. senator representing . . . — Map (db m72381) HM|
|Ontario (Chatham-Kent), Thamesville — Participants in the Battle of the Thames — Tuesday, October 5, 1813 — Tecumseh Parkway|
|James Johnson 1774-1826: The brother of Richard Johnson, James was elected as a Kentucky State senator in 1808. He served as a lieutenant colonel in Johnson's Mounted Infantry and led the charge on the British lines at the Battle of the Thames along with his two sons. Following the war, he served in the U.S. House of representatives.
Richard Mentor Johnson 1780-1850: From Kentucky, Johnson was elected to the House of Representatives in 1806. He served as a colonel in the American Army . . . — Map (db m72385) HM|
|Ontario (Chatham-Kent), Thamesville — Participants in the Battle of the Thames — Tuesday, October 5, 1813 — Tecumseh Parkway|
|Isaac Shelby 1750-1826: Shelby was the 1st and 5th governor of Kentucky and a veteran of the American Revolution. As governor and at 63years of age, Shelby personally led the Kentucky Militia at the Battle of the Thames.
Tarhe 1742-1816: A Wyandot chief and loyal American, he marched with his warriors throughout General Harrison's campaign in Canada and fought at the Battle of the Thames despite being 72 years old.
William Whitley 1749-1813: Veteran of the Indian Wars, militia leader, . . . — Map (db m72388) HM|
|Ontario (Chatham-Kent), Thamesville — Prelude to Battle — Tuesday, October 5, 1813 — Tecumseh Parkway|
|By the early morning of October 5, 1813, the American Army had forded the Thames River and was advancing quickly. The British rearguard was able to destroy Cornwall's mill, west of Sherman's farm (present-day Thamesville, Ontario) but not the mill dam over which the road ran, which aided the American pursuit.
In Procter's absence, Colonel Warburton decided to move the British troops as far as Fairfield. At 1:00 p.m., however, Procter, who had met them en route, ordered battle lines to be . . . — Map (db m71413) HM|
|Ontario (Chatham-Kent), Thamesville — Tecumseh — 1768-1813|
|Born in a Shawnee village in what is now Ohio, Tecumseh became in the 1770s co-leader with his brother, the Prophet, of a movement to restore and preserve traditional Indian values. He believed a union of all the western tribes to drive back white settlement to be the one hope for Indian survival and spread this idea the length of the frontier. Seeing the Americans as the immediate threat, he allied himself with the British in 1812, assisted in the capture of Detroit and was killed near here at . . . — Map (db m71410) HM|
|Ontario (Chatham-Kent), Thamesville — The Bugles Sound — Tuesday, October 5, 1813, 4:00 p.m. — Tecumseh Parkway|
|Many of the men of the 41st Regiment had been stationed in Canada for 13 years. By October 5, 1813, they had not been paid for 6 to 9 months; they lacked tents and blankets; their uniforms were in rags; they were plagued by a variety of diseases; and they had not had proper food for days. British Ensign James Cochran observed, "The attack was silently awaited, each determined to do his duty, but few with any doubt as to the result."
The British, numbering about 450, faced 3000 American . . . — Map (db m72393) HM|
|Ontario (Chatham-Kent), Thamesville — The Burning of Fairfield — Tecumseh Parkway|
|Robert McAfee, a soldier in Colonel Johnson's Mounted Regiment, kept a journal of his experiences, and wrote on October 7, 1813:
Spent the day in collecting in plunder ... Colonel Owings Regiment of Regulars came up and took charge of the plunder and the whole army marched off and we sett [sic] fire to the town, putting the first torch to the Moravian Church and consumed the whole to ashes and we continued our march down the river to the large plantation where the bake ovens were and . . . — Map (db m72414) HM|
|Ontario (Chatham-Kent), Thamesville — The Death of Tecumseh — Tuesday, October 5, 1813, Approximately 4:20 p.m. — Tecumseh Parkway|
|At some point during the attack on Backmetack Marsh, Tecumseh was fatally shot. As word spread of their leader's death, one American account tells of the warriors giving, "the loudest yells I ever heard from human beings and that ended the fight."
Who killed Tecumseh is a matter of debate. Many accounts claim that the badly-wounded Colonel Richard Johnson shot Tecumseh just before he lost consciousness although, until much later in his political career, Johnson only claimed to have shot an . . . — Map (db m72405) HM|
|Ontario (Essex County), Windsor — 1748|
|The original cross
Was erected in
By the Jesuit
— • —
Was re-enacted at the Old Boys re union Aug., 1909
Re-enacted and this permanent cross erected by the
Border Cities Old Boys in Aug., 1922 — Map (db m37519) HM|
|Ontario (Essex County), Windsor — Jesuit Mission to the Hurons|
|In 1728 a mission to the Huron Indians was established near Fort Pontchartrain (Detroit) by Father Armand de la Richardie, S.J. The mission was moved to Bois Blane Island and the adjacent mainland in 1742. In 1747 it was destroyed by disaffected Hurons and a party of Iroquois, and the next year re-established in this vicinity. The Huron Mission became the Parish of Assumption in 1767 and was entrusted with the spiritual care of the French settlers on this side of the river as well as the . . . — Map (db m37386) HM|
|Ontario (Essex County), Windsor — The Siege of Detroit 1763|
|Shortly after the founding of Detroit in 1970 a village of Ottawa Indians was established on the south shore of the river in this vicinity and its inhabitants lived on friendly terms with the French garrison and settlers. However after the British took control of Detroit and other western posts in 1760, relations with the Indians deteriorated. In 1763 the great Ottawa chief, Pontiac, raised a strong confederacy of Indian tribes and attacked several British posts. Detroit was besieged from May . . . — Map (db m36944) HM|
|Ontario (Frontenac County), Kingston — Louis de Buade Comte de Frontenac et de Palluau — 1622-1698|
|One of the most influential and controversial figures in Canadian history, Frontenac was born at St-Germain-en-Laye, France. As a member of the noblesse d'epee he was able in 1672 to secure the appointment as Governor-General of New France. Devoted largely because of self-interest to promoting the colony's territorial expansion, Frontenac established a series of fortified fur-trading posts extending into the interior of North America, the first of which, Fort Frontenac, was constructed near . . . — Map (db m39978) HM|
|Ontario (Frontenac County), Kingston — The King's Royal Regiment of New York|
|The largest Loyalist Corps in the Northern Department during the American Revolution, the King's Royal Regiment of New York was raised on June 19, 1776 under the command of Sir John Johnson. Originally composed of one battalion with ten companies, it was authorized to add a second battalion in 1780. The regiment, known as the "Royal Yorkers," participated in the bitter war fought on the colonial frontier. It conducted raids against settlements in New York and was also employed in garrison duty. . . . — Map (db m39977) HM|
|Ontario (Frontenac County), Kingston — The Market Battery|
|Stood on this site from 1848 to 1875. With Shoal Tower opposite it defended Kingston Harbour and the Rideau Canal. From 1875 this was a public park. In 1885 the Kingston and Pembroke railway station was built. — Map (db m39979) HM|
|Ontario (Niagara Region), Allanburg — The Old Welland Canal|
|Originally conceived in 1818 by its promoter, William Hamilton Merritt, to divert trade from the Erie Canal and New York and built under private auspices, the canal was opened to traffic in 1829. After additional work in 1833, the canal with its 40 wooden locks linked Port Colborne on Lake Erie and Port Dalhousie on Lake Ontario and brought prosperity to its environs by permitting the export of Upper Canadian staples through New York. In 1841 reconstruction was begun by the Canadian government . . . — Map (db m75850) HM|
|Ontario (Niagara Region), Chippawa — Battle of Chippawa|
|[Text on the West Side]:
Battle of Chippawa
5 July 1814
In memory of all those who fought on this ground, many of whom are buried nearby,
and to commemorate the peace that has prevailed between Canada and the United States
since that time.
This monument was erected and dedicated by
The Niagara Parks Commission.
Brian E. Merrett, Chairman
The Niagara Parks Commission
[Text on the South Side]: . . . — Map (db m49393) HM|
|Ontario (Niagara Region), Chippawa — Chippawa Battlefield Panel 1 — Background to a Battle|
|On these fields and the surrounding woods 4,000 American, British, Canadian and Native forces fought the first major battle of the Niagara campaign of 1814. When the last shots died away on Samuel Street's farm, more than 800 lay dead and wounded. Since 18 June 1812, when the United States declared war on Great Britain, a small force of British Regulars, Canadian Militia and Native Warriors had turned back seven American invasions of Canada.
On 3 July 1814, Major General Jacob Brown, . . . — Map (db m49398) HM|
|Ontario (Niagara Region), Chippawa — Chippawa Battlefield Panel 2 — Opening Strikes — July 5, 1814 3:00 p.m.|
|At dawn 5 July 1814, parties of Canadian-Militia and British allied Native Warriors scouted the American camp. They began sniping from the bushes on the north side of Street's Creek and this continued throughout the morning. Around noon, General Brown ordered General Porter to take some of his men and end this harassing fire.
At about 2pm, Porter led his New York and Pennsylvania Militia and allied Warriors into the woods to the west, crossed the creek and drove the scouting parties . . . — Map (db m49399) HM|
|Ontario (Niagara Region), Chippawa — Chippawa Battlefield Panel 3 — Advance to Contact — July 5, 1814 3:30 p.m.|
|Major General Phineas Riall, the British commander, had repaired the bridge over the Chippawa and ordered his own Regular light infantry, the local Canadians of the 2nd Lincoln Militia and a force of Native Warriors, to clear out the now scattered American skirmishers. The remainder of Riall's brigade 1st, 8th and 100th Regiments of Foot (1,400 men) marched south along the river road toward General Brown and his outpost. Brown could not see the British troops through the strip of trees just . . . — Map (db m49400) HM|
|Ontario (Niagara Region), Chippawa — Chippawa Battlefield Panel 4 — Battle on the Plain — July 5, 1814 4:30 p.m.|
|British General Riall was convinced that the greater part of Brown's army was still surrounding Fort Erie. He did not know the Fort had surrendered and he was facing the entire U.S. division. Still, the number of men deployed on both sides was virtually the same: 6 British guns verses 7 U.S., with each side mustering about 1400 regulars, 200 militia and 300 warriors.
Confident in the abilities of his regulars, Riall advanced towards the waiting grey-coated line. The Redcoats pushed to . . . — Map (db m49402) HM|
|Ontario (Niagara Region), Chippawa — Chippawa Battlefield Panel 5 — Final Stages — July 5, 1814 5:30 p.m.|
|As the battle raged, more American artillery deployed to the middle of the plain between the 11th U.S. and the lone 25th U.S. company, less than 100 meters (109 yards) from the British line. General Brown then led Ripley's brigade across Street's Creek to the west in an effort to envelop the entire British Force. However, the creek was chest deep, the undergrowth thick and Ripley's men never did join the fight on the plain. Meanwhile, with point blank canister raking his line, the enemy's . . . — Map (db m49403) HM|
|Ontario (Niagara Region), Chippawa — Chippawa Battlefield Panel 6 — The Aftermath|
|The Aftermath. In the days following the battle, General Brown's victorious troops advanced another 25 kilometers (18 miles) north to Fort George before retiring back to Niagara Falls when more British troops arrived in the area. They met the British forces again on 25 July along another farmer's lane where 1,800 more men were killed and wounded. Following the bloody Battle of Lundy's Lane the American forces passed the field and graves of the Battle of Chippawa as they withdrew to Fort Erie. . . . — Map (db m49404) HM|
|Ontario (Niagara Region), Chippawa — Fort Chippawa 1791|
|The fortifications which stood on this site were built in 1791 to protect the southern terminus of the Niagara portage road, and serve as a forwarding depot for government supplies. Known also as Fort Welland, the main structure consisted of a log blockhouse surrounded by a stockade. During the War of 1812 several bloody engagements were fought in this vicinity including the bitterly contested Battle of Chippawa, July 5, 1814, and possession of the fort frequently changed hands. A barracks, . . . — Map (db m49164) HM|
|Ontario (Niagara Region), Chippawa — Navy Island — Ile Navy|
|The British used Navy Island from 1761 to 1764 as a shipyard in which to build the first British decked vessels to sail the upper lakes. These were essential in maintaining the supply lines westward during Pontiac's uprising, 1763-4. Thereafter the island remained undisturbed until 14 December 1837 when William Lyon Mackenzie, after being defeated at Toronto, led a "Patriot" army from Buffalo to occupy it. Swift reaction by local militia and British regulars prevented his moving to the mainland . . . — Map (db m49052) HM|
|Ontario (Niagara Region), Fort Erie — Capture of the "Ohio" and "Somers" — Prise des Goelettes "Ohio" et "Somers"|
|On the night of 12 August 1814, as a prelude to a British attack on Fort Erie, an expedition was mounted against three armed American schooners anchored off the fort. Captain Alexander Dobbs, R.N., embarked with 70 seamen and marines in six batteaux which had been portaged from Frenchman's Creek, and by a ruse got close enough to cut the hawsers and board and capture the OHIO and SOMERS. The third vessel, PORCUPINE, escaped. Dobb's victory was the last naval action fought on the Great Lakes in . . . — Map (db m48913) HM|
|Ontario (Niagara Region), Fort Erie — Conestoga Wagon Trek|
|The border between Canada and the United States of America has witnessed many migrations of people. At two times, however, the migration was primarily from south to north. That was in the troubled days just prior to the American Revolutionary War and during the uneasy decades when the new republic was being formed.
During the last two decades of the eighteenth century, many people, motivated by loyalty to the British Crown and fearing some aspects of the course being set by the new United . . . — Map (db m75851) HM|
|Ontario (Niagara Region), Fort Erie — Fort Erie|
|Three fortifications occupied this site. The first (1764-1779) and second (c. 1783-1803), located at lower levels, were abandoned when ice and water inundated the works. The third Fort Erie, built between 1805 and 1808, was repaired in January 1814 but was captured by an invading American army in July of that same year. The Americans used it as a base for subsequent operations, retreated here after their defeat at Lundy's Lane, survived a siege by the British in August and September, and . . . — Map (db m48912) HM|
|Ontario (Niagara Region), Niagara Falls — Charles Green — 1740 - 1827 — United Empire Loyalist|
|“If the captain wants me, he may come himself and if he does I will shoot him.”
With these words, Charles Green refused induction into the N. Jersey rebel militia. Imprisoned, he escaped and joined the “King’s Rangers” a loyalist unit. He “suffered very considerably both in person and property”. At war’s end he walked from N. Jersey leading his wife and two children on horseback. His wife Rebekah, buried next to him, gave birth eight days later to a . . . — Map (db m75879) HM|
|Ontario (Niagara Region), Niagara Falls — Edgeworth Ussher, Esq.|
|Edgeworth Ussher, Esq.
November 16, 1838
Here rests, in the hope of a joyful
resurrection, the mortal remains of
Edgeworth Ussher, Esq., whose devotion
to his sovereign and exertions in the
cause of his country at a critical period
of the history of Canada, marked him out
as an object for the vengeance of the
enemies of peace and good order by
whom he was cruelly assassinated in the
night of 16th November, 1838, in his own
house near Chippawa at the early age . . . — Map (db m75852) HM WM|
|Ontario (Niagara Region), Niagara Falls — Holding the High Ground|
|Early on the morning of July 26th, 1814, Lieutenant-General Sir Gordon Drummond awaited another attack on the Lundy's Lane hill near Niagara Falls. Throughout the previous night, this hill had been taken and retaken in the bloodiest, most hard fought battle of the War of 1812-14.
The expected attack did not occur. The Americans, exhausted, withdrew to Fort Erie. In November, they abandoned Fort Erie and retired across the Niagara River.
Drummond and his troop's had successfully . . . — Map (db m49693) HM|
|Ontario (Niagara Region), Niagara Falls — Laura Secord|
|[Front Side of the Monument]:
the name and fame of
who walked alone nearly 20
miles by a circuitous difficult
and perilous route, through woods
and swamps and over miry roads
to warn a British outpost at
DeCew’s Falls of an intended attack
and thereby enabled Lt. FitzGibbon
on the 24th June 1813, with less
than 50 men of H.M. 49th Regt.,
about 15 militiamen and a small
force of Six Nations and other . . . — Map (db m49694) HM|
|Ontario (Niagara Region), Niagara Falls — Soldier's Monument — Lundy's Lane|
|[Front Side of Monument]:
Erected by the
in honour of the victory
gained by the
British & Canadian Forces
on this field on the
25th day of July, 1814
and in grateful remembrance
of the brave men
who died on that day
fighting for the unity
of the Empire.
[Left Side of Monument]:
In enduring memory of . . . — Map (db m49790) WM|
|Ontario (Niagara Region), Niagara-on-the-Lake — A Fort Evolves — Fort Mississauga|
By 1813, the British were planning to build "a tower in small redoubt to command the entrance of the River...at Mississauga Point." Begun in the Spring of 1814, this tower rests on the remains of the first Capital of Upper Canada (today's Ontario). After the Americans burned the town of Newark in 1813, the British tore down the remaining brick walls and chimneys to provide a foundation. The tower was only two feet high in July when an American force under General . . . — Map (db m52200) HM|
|Ontario (Niagara Region), Niagara-on-the-Lake — A Strategic Location|
|A Strategic Location
You are standing at Mississauga Point where the Niagara River flows into Lake Ontario. Long ago the lakes and rivers were military supply and transportation routes and forts were built to protect them.
The large stone fort across the river is Fort Niagara. The French built a fort here in 1687, and the present one was begun in 1720. In August 1759 the British captured the fort after a lengthy seige. Prideaux and Johnston streets in Niagara-on-the-Lake . . . — Map (db m52610) HM|
|Ontario (Niagara Region), Niagara-on-the-Lake — Action at Butler's Farm — Engagement a Butler's Farm|
|On the 8th of July, 1813, an outpost of the invading force, encamped near Fort George, was defeated by a band of Six Nations and Western Indians led by Chiefs John Norton and Blackbird and interpreters Michel Brisebois, Louis Langlade and Barnet Lyons. Lieutenant Samuel Eldridge and 22 soldiers of the 13th United States Infantry were killed and 12 taken prisoners.
Le 8 juillet 1813, une bande d'Indiens des Six-Nations et d'Indiens de l'Ouest, conduite par les chefs John Norton et Blackbird . . . — Map (db m48747) HM|
|Ontario (Niagara Region), Niagara-on-the-Lake — Brown's Point|
|Brown's Inn was located here. Both the Canadian York Militia and the American Army bivouacked near here on separate occasions during the War of 1812. Adam Brown later added a store to his inn, and built a wharf on the river shore below, where sailing ships loaded settlers' produce, potash and lime destined for Montreal and overseas. — Map (db m49166) HM|
|Ontario (Niagara Region), Niagara-on-the-Lake — Butler's Rangers|
|In 1777 John Butler of New York raised a force of Rangers who, with their Iroquois allies, raided the frontiers of New York, Pennsylvania and New Jersey throughout the American Revolutionary War. From their base at Fort Niagara they successfully maintained British military power on the frontiers and seriously threatened rebel food supplies. When Fort Niagara became overcrowded in the autumn of 1778, Butler built near here a group of barracks to house his Rangers and their families. Disbanded in . . . — Map (db m75857) HM|
|Ontario (Niagara Region), Niagara-on-the-Lake — Capture of Fort Niagara — 1813|
|In the early morning of December 19th, 1813, a force under Colonel John Murray, consisting of detachments of the 100th and 41st Regiments. Royal Scots, Royal Artillery and Canadian Militia embarked in bateaux at the foot of this ravine. Crossing silently to a point above Youngstown, New York, they attacked Fort Niagara killing or capturing its American garrison. — Map (db m49158) HM|
|Ontario (Niagara Region), Niagara-on-the-Lake — Fort George — Ie Fort George|
|Constructed by order of Lieutenant-Governor Simcoe 1796-99, Fort George served as the headquarters for Major-General Brock in 1812. In May, 1813, it was bombarded and captured by the Americans who constructed fortifications of their own on the site. These in turn were retaken by the British in December 1813. In 1815 Fort George was described as "tumbling into ruins" and ordered abandoned. The present works are a reconstruction done in 1937-40, and represents the fort as it was in 1799-1813. . . . — Map (db m48743) HM|
|Ontario (Niagara Region), Niagara-on-the-Lake — Fort Mississauga — Le Fort Mississauga|
|This tower and earthwork are all that survive of the barracks, guardroom, and cells of Fort Mississauga. Built between 1814 and 1816 to replace Fort George as the counterpoise to the American Fort Niagara immediately opposite, it was garrisoned until 1826. Repaired and rearmed following the Rebellion of 1837, it continued to be maintained until 1854 in response to border disputes with the United States. It was manned during the tense years of the American Civil War and the Fenian scare of 1866, . . . — Map (db m48745) HM|
|Ontario (Niagara Region), Niagara-on-the-Lake — Fort Mississauga is a National Historic Site — an impotant part of Canada's story!|
|• Mississauga Point was the location of a Neutral First Nation fishing settlement by the 15th century.
• The area was under the control of the Seneca Nation during the late 17th century, and it became home to the Mississauga Nation by the 18th century.
• Fort Mississauga was begun during the War of 1812, and helped the British and Canadians defend the Niagara frontier against a powerful invading American army in 1814.
• It was completed after the War, and was a part of a defense . . . — Map (db m52236) HM|
|Ontario (Niagara Region), Niagara-on-the-Lake — Fort Mississauga Trail — Sentier du fort Mississauga|
|Explore a part of our heritage - visit a fort almost 200 years old and discover part of the Lake Ontario shoreline.
Explorez un volet de notre patrimoine - visitez un fort qui a presque 200 ans d'histoire et decouvrez une partie du rivage du lac Ontario. — Map (db m48632) HM|
|Ontario (Niagara Region), Niagara-on-the-Lake — Navy Hall|
|The facilities of this strategic location have served British and later Canadian troops stationed at Niagara from 1765 to the 1920's. — Map (db m49477) HM|
|Ontario (Niagara Region), Niagara-on-the-Lake — Niagara Harbour and Dock Company|
|Formed by local businessmen in 1831, the Niagara Harbour and Dock Company created a shipping basin here on the Niagara River by hiring hundreds of labourers to excavate a riverside marsh. By the late 1830s the company employed close to 400 workers and was operating one of the busiest ports and shipyards in Upper Canada. The local economy boomed as the business prospered, then lapsed into recession after financial problems crippled the company in the late 1840s. The company's industrial complex . . . — Map (db m54049) HM|
|Ontario (Niagara Region), Niagara-on-the-Lake — Niagara Land Purchases|
|To obtain land on which to settle Loyalists and dispossessed members of the Six Nations of the Iroquois, Guy Johnson in May 1781 and John Butler in May 1784 negotiated treaties with representatives of the Mississauga and Chippewa of this region. The Crown thereby acquired title to a tract of land 6.4 km wide along the west bank of the Niagara River between Lakes Erie and Ontario. These two cessions were later confirmed by a third treaty negotiated by John Graves Simcoe, Lieutenant-Governor of . . . — Map (db m75863) HM|
|Ontario (Niagara Region), Niagara-on-the-Lake — Niagara National Historic Sites|
|Brock's Monument and
This striking commemoration and final resting place of Major General Brock marks the site of the Battle of Queenston Heights. Visitors can climb the 235 stairs to take in spectacular views, or set off on a self-guided tour which covers every major scene of the historic battle
Navy Hall survives as the last building of what was once a large military complex and key supply depot for British forts on the Upper . . . — Map (db m54037) HM|
|Ontario (Niagara Region), Niagara-on-the-Lake — Point Mississauga Lighthouse — Le Phare de Point Mississauga|
|The first lighthouse on the Great Lakes was built of stone at Point Mississauga in 1804 by John Symington, under orders from Lieutenant-Governor Peter Hunter. Demolished in 1814 to make room for this fort, its materials with debris from the ruined town of Niagara, were incorporated into this tower.
En 1804, John Symington, sur l'ordre du lieutenant-gouverneur Peter Hunter, construisit le premier phare des Grand lacs à Point Mississauga. Ce phare, qui était en pierre, fut démoli en 1814 . . . — Map (db m48746) HM|
|Ontario (Niagara Region), Niagara-on-the-Lake — Six Pounder Field Gun|
|Field artillery was designed for mobility. Cannons mounted on carriages with large wheels could be moved quickly, even over rough terrain. This six pounder has a limber to carry ammunition and supplies and would be harnessed to a team of horses. Field guns like this were used by the Royal Artillery on battlefields around the world.
After the defeat of the British forces at the Battle of Fort George, field guns manned by the Royal Artillery and the local militia were critical in delaying . . . — Map (db m54000) HM|
|Ontario (Niagara Region), Niagara-on-the-Lake — The Canada Constellation — 1799-1800|
|On July 20, 1799, the first edition of the "Canada Constellation", Upper Canada's earliest independent newspaper, was published at Niagara by Gideon and Silvester Tiffany, two brothers who had come from the United States. Gideon had at first held the post of King's Printer of Upper Canada and, with Silvester, edited the government-sponsored "Upper Canada Gazette". Suspected of American sympathies, the Tiffanys lost their government support in 1797 and were succeeded by Titus Geer Simons. Their . . . — Map (db m75864) HM|
|Ontario (Niagara Region), Niagara-on-the-Lake — The Field House|
|One of the oldest brick houses in Ontario, this handsome Georgian structure was built about 1800. Originally a farm house, it was the home of Gilbert Field (1765-1815), a United Empire Loyalist who was in possesion of the land by 1790. During the War of 1812 the house was used by British forces and was subjected to a brief bombardment from an American battery. Though damaged, it was one of the few homes in the area to survive the hostilities. It remained in the Field family until about 1925, . . . — Map (db m56718) HM|
|Ontario (Niagara Region), Niagara-on-the-Lake — Ubique|
Artillery was vitally important to the defense of Upper Canada. Due to a shortage of heavy cannons available in the province, there were only five garrison guns mounted inside Fort George in May of 1813.
Moving large cannons weighing several tons was a challenge. The easiest way to move guns was by water. Movement by land was slow and labour intensive and could expose the men moving them to enemy fire. Bad weather and poor roads could also make the . . . — Map (db m53989) HM|
|Ontario (Niagara Region), Niagara-on-the-Lake — Vrooman's Battery — La Batterie Vrooman|
|Manned by Captain Samuel Hatt's 5th Lincoln (Militia) Regiment and a small party of the Lincoln Militia Artillery under Lieutenant John Ball, and consisting of one 24-pounder cannon mounted within a crescent-shaped earthwork, this Battery was engaged in the Battle of Queenston Heights on the 13th of October, 1812. Commanding the Niagara river, its continuous fire harassed the Americans crossing from Lewiston, provided cover for the British when they were first repulsed from the heights, and . . . — Map (db m48750) HM|
|Ontario (Niagara Region), Niagara-on-the-Lake — Welcome to Fort George|
|Built in 1796, Fort George was the scene of fierce engagements during the War of 1812. It was captured and destroyed then refortified by the Americans in 1813. It was re-taken by the British later that same year. The fort was abandoned in the 1820's, and only the original stone powder magazine survives today. Fort George was reconstructed between 1937-40.
Today we invite you to pass through the fort gates and re-live this exciting era in history. — Map (db m54038) HM|
|Ontario (Niagara Region), Queenston — 1. Attack — The Battle of Queenston Heights Walking Tour — Stop 1 of the 5-stop walking tour|
|If you go to the lookout behind the Laura Secord monument you will see across the river and slightly to your right the area where a huge American force assembled for the invasion of Canada. In the early hours of October 13, 1812, six hundred American soldiers crossed the river and landed on the Canadian shore somewhere above the present docks. Queenston was chosen as the target because it was an important point on the British supply line and because the only other possible landing spot was the . . . — Map (db m55029) HM|
|Ontario (Niagara Region), Queenston — 5. The Decisive Battle — The Battle of Queenston Heights Walking Tour — Stop 5 of the 5-stop walking tour|
|On the plateau before you, the British and Americans met for battle. The British formed a line to your right, the Americans to your left. General Sheaffe formed a British counter-offensive force of nine hundred men in a line shoulder to shoulder. The Americans were slightly greater in number but had not been reinforced with troops or arms since the arrival of the Indians. They had to meet the British with their backs to the river precipice. The British combined force advanced with fixed . . . — Map (db m55028) HM|
|Ontario (Niagara Region), Queenston — Brock's Monument|
|Upper Canada has dedicated this monument
to the memory of the late
Major-General Sir Issac Brock K.B.
Provisional Lieut.Governor and commander of the forces
in this province whose remains are deposited in the vault beneath.
Opposing the invading enemy he fell in action near these heights
on the 13th of October 1812, in the 43 year of his age.
Revered and lamented by the people whom he governed
and deplored by the sovreign
to whose service his life had . . . — Map (db m49926) HM|
|Ontario (Niagara Region), Queenston — Brock's Monument - Queenston Heights Battlefield|
|The monument towering above you is a memorial to Major-General Sir Isaac Brock commander of British forces in Upper Canada at the beginning of the War of 1812. Brock died on the slopes below Queenston Heights on October 13, 1812, during an engagement between British and American forces. It was a battle that had great significance for Canada. This monument was constructed between 1853-56. It is 56 metres (184 feet) high and is constructed entirely of cut stone. Parks Canada maintains the . . . — Map (db m52137) HM|
|Ontario (Niagara Region), Queenston — Home of Laura Ingersoll Secord|
|[Text inscribed on stone monument]:
[Text on lower plaque]:
This stone marker was placed in 1901 by the Women's Literary Club of St. Catharines
to honour Laura Secord and was re-
dedicated in 1972 by members of the
Club on the occasion of their 80th
annual pilgrimage. — Map (db m51612) HM|
|Ontario (Niagara Region), Queenston — Indians at Queenston Heights — October 13, 1812|
|Warriors of the Six Nations of Iroquois (Mohawks, Oniedas Onondagos, Cayugas, Senecas, Tuscaroras), mainly from the Grand River, fought as allies of the British in this historic battle with the Americans. Speaking distinctive dialects and with different religious beliefs, these Indians were drawn together for the battle by John Norton, a resourceful and courageous commander. Norton, a man of Cherokee and Scottish ancestry, was a Mohawk (Teyoninhokarawen) by adoption. With John Brant . . . — Map (db m49168) HM|
|Ontario (Niagara Region), Queenston — Laura Secord (1775-1868)|
The celebrated heroine of the war of 1812 is a renowned figure in Canadian History. Determined to warn the British of an impending attack on Beaver Dams, Secord set out from her home on June 22, 1813, on a dangerous mission. She traveled alone for over 30 kilometers, behind enemy lines, struggling to make it to the De Cew farmhouse, where she informed Lieutenant Fitzgibbon about the American plan. Later in the 19th century, a first generation of women historians . . . — Map (db m51613) HM|
|Ontario (Niagara Region), Queenston — Sir Roger Hale Sheaffe — 1763 - 1851|
|On October 13, 1812, following Isaac Brock's death in a preceding assault, Major-General Sheaffe assumed command and led a successful attack which dislodged an invading American force from Queenston Heights. Born in Boston, Mass., Sheaffe was commissioned in the British army in 1778 and fought in the American Revolution and the Napoleonic Wars. Arriving in Upper Canada in 1812, he served as Administrator of the province 1812-13, and returned to England in the latter year. He was created a . . . — Map (db m49161) HM|
|Ontario (Niagara Region), Queenston — The "Colored Corps" 1812 - 1815|
|[Side of Marker Using English Text]:
When the War of 1812 began, people of African descent in the Niagara peninsular feared an American invasion. They were anxious to preserve their freedom and prove their loyalty to Britain. Many joined the militia; others offered to raise their own militia company. Authorities responded by forming a "Colored Corps" of about thirty men commanded by white officers. Based in the Niagara region throughout the war, it fought at Queenston Heights in . . . — Map (db m49162) HM|
|Ontario (Niagara Region), Queenston — The Battle of Queenston Heights — La Batatille des Hauteurs de Queenston|
|In the early morning of 13 October 1812, American troops under Major-General Stephen Van Rensellaer crossed the Niagara River and took possession of Queenston Heights. Major-General Isaac Brock hurried from Fort George to lead a small force against the invaders and was killed in an attempt to regain the heights. In the afternoon, Major-General Roger Hale Sheaffe with his force of British regulars, militia and Indians from Fort George strengthened by reinforcements from Chippawa, took the hill . . . — Map (db m48908) HM|
|Ontario (Niagara Region), Queenston — The Battle of Queenston Heights — The Battle of Queenston Heights Walking Tour|
|The Battle of Queenston Heights
The village below you and the heights on which you are standing were the stage for the famous Battle of Queenston Heights.
It took place during the Anglo-American conflict 1812-1815 known as the War of 1812. During the early morning hours of October 13, 1812 an American invasion force camped at Lewiston crossed the Niagara river and gained control of the heights of Queenston. After many hours of fierce combat, they were crushed by a combined . . . — Map (db m51682) HM|
|Ontario (Niagara Region), St. Catharines — Lock 24 - First Welland Canal|
|A timber lock with inside dimensions of 33.7m (108 ft.) by 6.6m (22 ft.) was constructed on this site between 1824 and 1827. The lock walls consisted of earth filled cribs 5.2m (16 ft) thick and 7.6m (25 ft) deep. This was the 24th lock of 39 that lifted ships from Port Dalhousie on Lake Ontario up the Niagara Escarpment to Port Robinson on the Chippawa Creek. From there they proceeded into the Niagara River and on to Lake Erie. Each lock lifted a ship an average of 3m (10ft). This canal opened . . . — Map (db m75871) HM|
|Ontario (Niagara Region), Thorold — Beaver Dams|
|Following their repulse at Stoney Creek the Americans sent a force from Fort George to destroy a British advanced post at Beaver Dams. Warned of their approach by an Indian scout and by Laura Secord, a force of Indians from Caughnawaga and the Grand River, led by Captains Dominique Ducharme and William Kerr, ambushed the attackers near here on 24 of June 1813, and compelled them to surrender to Lieutenant James Fitzgibbon of the regular British army. After this defeat the Americans did not . . . — Map (db m48909) HM|
|Prince Edward Island (Queens County), Rocky Point — The Grand Dérangement — Île Saint-Jean|
The Grand Dérangement
L’Acadie, established by France in 1604, was a strategically located and highly coveted colony. In 1713, it was handed over to England and renamed Nova Scotia. The foundation of Halifax, in 1749, led part of the Acadian population to move to French territory. The remaining Acadians were still perceived as a threat, and in 1755, the British authorities launched their systematic deportation, splitting up families and communities, seizing all . . . — Map (db m80437) HM|
|Quebec (Bellechasse MRC), Sainte-Claire — Sainte-Claire (Dorchester)|
|The parish of Sainte-Claire is in the seigniory granted to Louis Jolliet, the discoverer of the Mississipi, by Frontenac, as Governor, and Bochart Champigny, as Intendant, on the 30th of April, 1697.
French translation is to the left of the English text above. — Map (db m74883) HM|
|Quebec (Ville-Marie Borough), Montréal — Antoine Laumet de La Mothe, sieur de Cadillac|
[The coat of arms of Quebec]
“Je Me Souviens”
Ici vécut -- Here lived
Antoine Laumet de Lamothe
Sieur de Cadillac (1658-1730),
Fondateur de -- Founder of
Détroit, -- Detroit,
Governeur de -- Governor of
La Louisiane -- Louisiana
Commission des Monuments Historiques — Map (db m78185) HM|
|Quebec (Ville-Marie Borough), Montréal — Le Château Ramezay / Château Ramezay|
| [Royal Coat of Arms of Canada] Le gouverneur de Montréal Claude de Ramezay fit ériger ici en 1705, par Pierre Couturier, un édifice pour lui servir de demeure. La Compagnie des Indes occidentales, qui le posséda de 1745 à 1763, le fit rebâtir et élargir en 1756 selon les plans de Paul Tessier dit Lavigne. Les gouverneurs généraux résidèrent au Château de 1773 à 1844, les envahisseurs américains s’y logèrent en 1775-1776, et le Conseil exécutif y siégea en 1839. Il abrita après 1849, des . . . — Map (db m36937) HM|
|Guatemala, Guatemala DepartmentGuatemala City — The Central American Act of Independence — Acta de Independencia de Centroamerica — Independencia de Guatemala|
El Acta de La
se firmo aqui el
The Act of the Independence of Central America was signed here the 15th of September 1821. — Map (db m68561) HM|
|Guatemala, Sacatepéquez, Antigua — Francisco Marroquín and the San Pedro Hospital — 1563 - Abril 18 - 1968|
Homenaje de la Municipalidad de esta Ciudad al 1r Obispo de Guatemala Ilmo Lic. Dn Francisco Marroquín, Fundador del Hospital de San Pedro, en el 4o centenario de su muerte
Tribute from the Municipality of this City to the First Bishop of Guatemala the Illustrious Francisco Marroquín, founder of the Hospital of San Pedro, on the four hundredth anniversary of his death. — Map (db m83536) HM|
|Guatemala, Sacatepéquez, Antigua — Santiago Hospital and Francisco Marroquín — 1563 - Abril 18 - 1963|
Homenaje de la Legión de Santiago de los Caballeros de Guatemala al 1r Obispo de Guatemala Ilmo Lic. Dn Francisco Marroquín, Fundador del Hospital de Santiago, en el 4o centenario de su muerte
Tribute from the Legion of the Knights of Santiago of Guatemala to the First Bishop of Guatemala the Illustrious Francisco Marroquín, founder of the Hospital of Santiago, on the four hundredth anniversary of his death. — Map (db m82284) HM|
|Guatemala, Sacatepéquez, La Antigua — First Printing Press in Central America — Primera Imprenta en Centro América|
|Esta es la casa donde se establecio la primera imprenta que hubo en Centro America año de 1660. El Reyno de Coathemala fue la tercer colonia Hispano Americana que tuvo imprenta.
This is the house where the first printing press was established in Central America in 1660. The Kingdom of Coathemala was the third Spanish colony in the Americas to have a printing press. — Map (db m70414) HM|
|Guatemala, Sacatepéquez, La Antigua — Palace of the Captaincy General — Palacio de los Capitanes Generales|
|Palacio de los Capitanes Generales del Reyno de Goathemala
Durante 231 años esta ciudad fue la metropoli de Centro America
Palace of the Captaincy General of the Kingdom of Goathemala
During 231 years this city was the metropolis of Central America — Map (db m71316) HM|
|Guatemala, Sacatepéquez, La Antigua — Sculptor Quirio Cataño|
|En esta ilustre ciudad vivio el maestro de la colonia
1595 "Quirio Cataño" 1995
Escultor del milagroso Cristo Negro de Esquipulas. Para eterna memoria rinden tributo: El Comite del IV Centenario con sede en Esquipulas y la revista: Nuestra Cuaresma
La Antigua Guatemala 12 de Marzo de 1995
In this illustrious city lived the master of the colony
1595 "Quirio Cataño" 1995
Sculptor of the miraculous Black Christ of Esquipulas. To his eternal memory . . . — Map (db m71290) HM|
|Guatemala, Sacatepéquez, La Antigua Guatemala — Home of Brother Pedro — Casa del Hermano Pedro de San José de Betancourt|
| Aqui vivio
Fray Pedro de San Jose Betancourt
Apostol de la Caridad
Nacio en Tenerife en Marzo de 1626
Murio en Esta el 25 de Abril de 1667
Here lived Father Pedro of Saint Joseph of Betancourt, Apostle of Charity, Born in Tenerife in March 1626, Died here on April 25, 1667. — Map (db m70121) HM|
|Ireland, Connacht (County Roscommon), Strokestown — Strokestown Brewery|
Brewery here in
early 18th century — Map (db m27548) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Meath), Fordstown — Girley / Fordstown — Meath Villages|
| An introduction to Fordstown
Fordstown is named after the Norman-Irish Ford family, who lived in the area. One part of the townland is sometimes referred to as Ballaghboy. Today, Fordstown is a growing, vibrant community. ‘Fordstown Street Fair’ is an old world fair, hosted by Fordstown in October each year since 2004. Fordrew Rovers
Fordrew Rovers Football Club was formed in 1997 and play in Drewstown. They progressed from Division 4A to Division 1 in four years. They won . . . — Map (db m27318) HM|
|Philippines, Cavite Province, Corregidor Island — Spanish Historical Marker — Corregidor Island|
| Spanish text:
La isla de Corregidor paso a formar parte de la Corona de España el 19 de Mayo de 1571, al ser ocupada por el intrépido navegante Miguel López de Legaspi, fundador de la Ciudad de Manila.
Debido a su posición estratégica, Corregidor sivió como Fortaleza protectora guardian de la Bahía de Manila durante 327 años, hasta el 2 de Mayo de 1898. Durante esos años presenció gloriosas escenas de heroism, en las que la historia de Filipinas y la de España se . . . — Map (db m64787) HM|
|Philippines, Cebú Province, Cebu City — Fort San Pedro|
| The Fort of San Pedro, described in an official report of 1739, is triangular in shape and made of stone and mortar. The three bastions are La Concepcion, San Ignacio de Loyola, and San Miguel - Powder Magazine.
[Inscriptions in the stone above the fort’s main [west side] gateway:]
Fuerza de San Pedro, 1565
Sereformo, Año, 1833
[Coat of Arms of the Spanish monarch]
Note also, a statuette of the Santo . . . — Map (db m64435) HM|
|Philippines, Manila, Intramuros — Plaza de España|
|Named Plaza de los Mártires de la Integridad Nacional in 1897 in memory of Spanish Soldier who died in the encounters of August 1896, was rebuilt by the Intramuros Administration and opened on July 1982.
Manuel C. Elizalde Jr. donated the stone paving. — Map (db m25288) HM|
|Saint Lucia, Castries — 27th Inniskilling Regiment|
|27th Inniskilling Regt
On the 24th May 1796 the 27th Regt stormed and captured Morne Fortune. As a mark of the Regiment’s gallant conduct Sir Ralph Abercrombie ordered the French garrison to lay down their arms to the 27th Regt and directed that the King’s Colour of the 27th Regt be hoisted at the fort for 1 hour prior to hoisting the Union flag.
Unveiled by Captain C.H. Knox-Little, R.N. of H.M.S. “Danae” on 31∙8∙32 — Map (db m82926) WM|
|Saint Lucia, Castries — Inniskilling Fusiliers: 27th (Inniskilling) Regiment of Foot|
|In 1688 the inhabitants of Enniskillen in Co Fermanagh, Ireland took up arms in defense of their town against the threat of occupation by the forces of James II. The troops so raised, The Inniskillingers, Foot and Dragoons, made repeated expeditions into the surrounding district to seek out and destroy the enemy. So successful was this force it was incorporated into the army of William III, in which the Foot became “The Inniskilling Regiment”.
In 1751 the system of numbering . . . — Map (db m82930) HM WM|
|Saint Lucia, Gros Islet, Pigeon Island — C.O.'s Quarters|
| C.O.’s Quarters 1782, rebuilt 1824
These quarters were never used by Admiral Rodney; he preferred to stay on his flagship “in comfort”.
Traces of a kitchen garden were found above to the left, behind the water tank, and two patios in a B-shape were discovered when the road was built. The quarters used part of the same water catchment system coming from the barracks above. The tower structure is a twentieth-century addition, used by Josset Legh as a wind generator. — Map (db m82716) HM WM|
|Saint Lucia, Gros Islet, Pigeon Island — Fort Rodney|
|Fort Rodney 1778
Pigeon Island, only some 40 kilometres (25 miles) south of the French base at Fort Royal, Martinique, had long been recognized by the British Admiral Rodney as an important observation and defensive site. In 1780 he wrote ”…this is the post the Governor of Martinique had set his eye on and if possessed by the enemy would deprive us of the best anchorage place in these islands and from which Martinique is always attackable…”
Fort Rodney was built in 1778 . . . — Map (db m82693) HM WM|
|Saint Lucia, Gros Islet, Pigeon Island — Gunslide|
Looking down the canyon you can see the deep bay where Admiral Rodney’s ships anchored during the years 1778-1782. The ships were able to lie at anchor in the deep water close to the island, and seamen where employed in hauling cannon and heavy equipment up this gunslide.
A line was run up from the top of the mast to the top of the gunslide on land. The cannon were winched up using anchor winches, and large spars served as triposds to help hoist the heavy guns and carriages up . . . — Map (db m82694) HM|
|Saint Lucia, Gros Islet, Pigeon Island — Lime Kiln|
| Lime Kiln
The most intensive period of British occupation on Pigeon Island was from 1779 to 1783. The lime kiln was one of the first structures built.
Lime was used as a binding agent for all masonry work. White lime was made from coral and shell which was piled up and set on fire. The lime turned to powder and mixed with the ash. The mixture was then pulled out with a hoe, and mixed with sand, water, egg and straw to form the binding agent.
The original steps . . . — Map (db m82695) HM WM|
|Saint Lucia, Gros Islet, Pigeon Island — Musket Redoubt|
Musket Redoubt 1782
This outpost to Fort Rodney was built in 1782 to protect the ridge top from surprise attack from sea. The soldiers could be hidden in the sunken area and they could stand on the platform and look down on both sides of the glacis or slopes.
Directly above is Signal Peak, and below is the whole of Rodney Bay. Morne Pimant is to the south, and on a clear day you can see Martinique, 40 kilometers (25 miles) to the north. — Map (db m82691) HM WM|
|Saint Lucia, Gros Islet, Pigeon Island — Officers' Kitchen|
|1778, rebuilt 1824 Although the heyday of Pigeon Island as a British base in the Caribbean was in the late eighteenth century during the Rodney period, the garrison continued to be manned until 1861.
Built originally in 1778, this kitchen consisted of four or five rooms and was rebuilt in 1824 after being damaged in the hurricane of 1817. The original eighteenth-century stone coursing remains, and the old fireplaces can be seen in the rooms. — Map (db m82875) HM|
|Saint Lucia, Gros Islet, Pigeon Island — Officers' Quarters and Mess|
| Officers’ Quarters and Mess 1824
Pigeon Island National Landmark Interpretation Centre 1993
The only existing structural elements from the original Officers’ Quarters and Mess, built in 1824, are the foundation walls and arches below the main floor level, and three structural walls on the main level, two to the east and one to the west of the Interpretation Centre.
The present-day building incorporates these structures and is based on the original plans. The hall which houses the . . . — Map (db m82719) HM WM|
|Saint Lucia, Gros Islet, Pigeon Island — Ridge Battery|
The heaviest gun on Pigeon Island was sited here. It was a 32-pounder which could be turned from north to south to cover the St. Lucia Channel and Gros Islet Bay. The gun was used effectively in 1781 to repel the French invasion of Gros Islet.
Look for Martinique to the north, visible on clear days. — Map (db m82692) HM|
|Saint Lucia, Gros Islet, Pigeon Island — Soldiers' Quarters|
Soldiers’ Barracks 1808, rebuilt 1824
The colonial struggle between Britain and France and her allies continued into the 1800s, although fighting was interrupted by short-lived treaties and peace settlements. British troops were still sent to garrison the far-flung outposts in the West Indies.
These barracks were built to hold 60 men. The two sets, built side by side, were damaged in the hurricane of 1817 and rebuilt in 1824. A kitchen between the two completed the complex.
To the . . . — Map (db m82717) HM WM|
|Saint Lucia, Gros Islet, Pigeon Island — Two-Gun Battery|
In 1780 HMS Cornwall was damaged and Admiral Rodney requested that her deck timbers be used in construction of the two-gun battery on Pigeon Island.
This gun battery was to protect the island from a sea attack from the north and to prevent a landing at De Longueville Bay, directly across the bay. The powder magazine to the left has been damaged, possibly by the brigands in 1795.
Look for Martinique in the distance. Also look for the rock out in the bay with . . . — Map (db m83231) HM WM|
|Turks and Caicos Islands, Grand Turk, Cockburn Town — #14 — Victoria Public Library|
|The Library was built in 1887 - the year of Queen Victoria's Golden Jubilee - on the old parade ground used by the local militia, yet it was not completed until 1889. It was reputed to have cost UK £568. Public events such as cultural concerts are held on the library grounds, commonly referred to as the Library Tennis Court. — Map (db m30354) HM|
|Alabama (Baldwin County), Fort Morgan — The Pride of Seven Flags|
Tribute dedicated to the memory of the soldiers who gave their lives in the defense of our country here at Fort Morgan.
Here lies the pride of seven flags entombed in our ancestor’s worth, who heard the thunder of the fray break o’er the field beneath knew the watchword of the day was “Victory or Death.”
Dates of battles and some events relative to Fort Morgan.
1711 – Battle, France – England
1719 – Battle, . . . — Map (db m4649) HM|
|Alabama (Baldwin County), Stockton — Bartram’s Trail|
|William Bartram, America’s first native born artist - naturalist, passed through Baldwin County during the Revolutionary era, making the first scientific notations of its flora, fauna and inhabitants. As the appointed botanist of Britain’s King George III, he traveled 2,400 miles in three journeys into the southern colonies in 1775-1776, collecting rare plants and specimens and making detailed drawings of plants and animals.
Erected by Baldwin County Commission And Alabama Bicentennial Commission — Map (db m81855) HM|
|Alabama (Baldwin County), Stockton — Major Robert Farmar Plantation|
|Here on the banks of the Tensaw River -- named for the Tensa Indian tribe whose principal village was located at this place -- Major Robert Farmar developed a plantation c. 1772. Farmar was one of the most prominent and controversial Alabamians of the British period, being commander of the regiments at Mobile from 1763-1765. He resigned his commission in 1768 and was elected to every Commons House of Assembly for the District of West Florida from 1769 until his death in 1778. Artist-Naturalist, . . . — Map (db m66380) HM|
|Alabama (Chambers County), Lafayette — Muscogee Indians|
Indian villages nearby
were affiliated with either
Upper or Lower Confederacies
of the Creek Nation.
In colonial times
Spain, France and England
contended for this section.
Indian title ceded in 1832. — Map (db m71639) HM|
|Alabama (Chambers County), Lanett — 141-10 — Ocfuskooche Tallauhassee|
|A flourishing, ancient town of the Muscogee Indians known as Ocfuskooche Tallahassee (Old Town) stood on this site. English traders from Charles Town visited it about 1685. A trail known as "Old Horse Path" led from this village to the Tallapoosa. Ocfuskooche
is known to have existed through Colonial and Revolutionary times but, soon after 1790, the town was abandoned and its inhabitants moved westward to settle on the Tallapoosa River. The westward surge of settlers and bitter frontier fighting forced the move. — Map (db m36315) HM|
|Alabama (Conecuh County), Midway — Old Federal Road|
|For a few months between 1811—1818 the nationally infamous highwayman, Joseph Thompson Hare, operated with his gang along the Federal Road. They headquartered at Turk's Cave near Brooklyn in Conecuh County. In his confession he referred to the road as the "Gold Mines" and in one robbery took $3728. — Map (db m81282) HM|
|Alabama (Dallas County), Selma — British West Florida, 1764-83|
| Colony’s north boundary
Alabama - Mississippi
at this point on 32° 28’
by edict of British king.
Colony extended south to Gulf.
France had ceded area in 1763.
Spain invaded, seized area in 1780.
Britain ceded it to Spain in 1783.
Spain ceded part to U.S. in 1795. — Map (db m37644) HM|
|Alabama (Dallas County), Selma — Ecor Bienville — 1702-1743 — The first recorded name of Selma|
|This tablet commemorates the engagement between
Jean Baptiste Le Moyne Sieur de Bienville,
Governor of the Province,
The Alibamo Indians.
In 1714 Bienville made a friendly visit to this section. — Map (db m37658) HM|
|Alabama (Elmore County), Wetumpka — Bartram's Trail|
William Bartram, America’s first native born artist-naturalist, passed through Elmore County during the Revolutionary era, making the first scientific notations of its flora, fauna and inhabitants. In 1776 the appointed botanist of Britain’s King George III described the area at Fort Toulouse as “one of the most eligible situations for a city in the world; a level plain between the conflux of two majestic rivers…" — Map (db m69431) HM|
|Alabama (Elmore County), Wetumpka — Here Stood Fort Toulouse|
A defense against
The Alabama Society
of Colonial Dames
preserves the memory
of faithful service
1912 — Map (db m69567) HM|
|Alabama (Elmore County), Wetumpka — William Bartram — 1739 - 1823|
|William Bartram, the first native-born American artist-naturalist, of Philadelphia, visited this site on Christmas Day, 1776.
This arboretum commerates (sic) the man, his visit to Fort Toulouse, and his travels through the southeastern colonies from 1773-1777.
His search for specimens blazed an epochal new trail in nature appreciation and his observations and sketches obtained during his four year trip are priceless records of 18th century American natural history.
Bartram . . . — Map (db m83726) HM|
|Alabama (Henry County), Shorterville — Franklin - First Beachhead into East Alabama|
|The frontier village of Franklin was established here by Colonel Robert Irwin in 1814 on the site of the Indian town of Cheeska Talofa. It was the first colonial village in east Alabama. Fort Gaines, Georgia, was constructed in 1816 to protect the early settlers in this former Creek Indian Nation, West. Twenty-one blocks were laid off for this promising river port of Abbeville. This prospective early city never recovered from the destructive flood of 1888. — Map (db m71844) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Hoover — Hale - Joseph Home — Built in 1910|
|William M. and Evan Hale built this home on the 400 acres purchased by Gardner Hale in 1862. The Hales descended from two signers of the Mayflower compact, 1620. Purchased in 1993 by Carlo and Dianne Joseph, it was placed on the Alabama Register of Landmarks and Heritage in 1994. — Map (db m28487) HM|
|Alabama (Lawrence County), Oakville — Cherokee Council House Museum|
|The Oakville Indians Mounds Museum is based on a seven sided Cherokee council house. This type of council house was used during the cooler months and an open sided rectangular pavilion during warmer weather. The descriptions used for the museum's construction came from Lt. Henry Timberlake, who visited the Cherokee capitol at Chota in 1761 and William Bartram who visited Cowe in 1765. Timberlake's description " The townhouse, in which are transacted all public business and diversions, is raised . . . — Map (db m36033) HM|
|Alabama (Lee County), Smiths Station — Line 32° 28´ North Latitude|
Northern Boundary of:
British W. Florida 1764-83
Spanish W. Florida 1783-95
Mississippi Territory: 1798-1804
Washington County 1800-12
Clarke County 1812-15
Southern Boundary of:
British Illinois 1764-83
United States 1783-95
Line fixed in 1764 by British king across present Alabama-Mississippi.
France had ceded area to Britain in 1763. — Map (db m73532) HM|
|Alabama (Marengo County), Demopolis — St. Leo’s Catholic Church|
|Catholicism was first introduced to this
region in 1540 by the priests who accompanied
Hernando DeSoto. Napoleonic exiles of the
Vine and Olive Colony held religious services
and attempted to establish a Catholic mission
in Demopolis in 1817. Services were held in
homes and in a small frame structure before
the present building was constructed in
1905. This church remained a mission until
St. Leo’s Parish was permanently established
in 1936. — Map (db m37994) HM|
|Alabama (Mobile County), Creola — Site of Old Mobile|
Fort Louis de la Louisiane
Founded 1702 by
Pierre Le Moyne d’Iberville
Under orders of Louis XIV
First Capital of French Louisiana
Fort Louis de la Louisiane Premiere
Capitale de la Louisiane Francaise
Pierre Le Moyne d’Iberville
par ordre de Louis XIV, Roi de France — Map (db m70588) HM|
|Alabama (Mobile County), Le Moyne — Ellicott's Stone — Erected April 9th, 1799|
|Marks 1st Southern Boundary of the United States and the Mississippi Territory created in 1798
-----900 feet East-----
Stone marked 31° North Latitude separating the U.S. & Spanish Florida.
This line of demarcation ran from the Mississippi east, along the 31° parallel to the Chattahoochie River, thence down that river to the mouth of the Flint River, thence on a line to the headwaters of the St. Mary’s River, thence down that river to the Atlantic Ocean.
Major Andrew . . . — Map (db m70589) HM|
|Alabama (Monroe County), Perdue Hill — Piache|
| Piache, an Indian town visited by DeSoto in 1540 was near here.
DeLuna made a settlement here, Nanipacna in 1560.
Fort Claiborne was erected on the south bluff, in 1813.
LaFayette was entertained here, 1825.
Erected by the Alabama Society of Colonial Dames.
March 1939 — Map (db m47639) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — Encanchata|
|Here at the Indian village of Encanchata, future site of Montgomery, Col. John Tate, last British agent to the Muscogee Nation, recruited and drilled Creek warriors in 1780 to relieve Tories in Augusta, Ga. being besieged by American patriots. — Map (db m71373) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — Struggle For Colonial Empire|
|Here on May 24, 1703, Alabama Indians ambushed the first French explorers from Mobile, killing three and wounding two critically. The Indians were armed and were used as pawns by British agents from Carolina in the European struggle for dominion over North America. — Map (db m67999) HM|
|Alabama (Talladega County), Lincoln — Lincoln, Alabama|
|(Side A) Historical records indicate that DeSoto and his men, as they traveled the South in search of gold, were the first white men to see the Lincoln area. With the ceding of the Creek Indian Territory in 1837, the population of the area increased. The community was known as Kingsville until 1856 when the name was changed to Lincoln. the name Lincoln came from Revolutionary War General Benjamin Lincoln who accepted the sword of surrender from the British at Yorktown, Virginia in . . . — Map (db m33282) HM|
|Alabama (Tallapoosa County), Jacksons Gap — Fort Okfuskee — ←— 6 mi. west —«|
|Built in 1735 by British from Carolina in futile attempt to gain trade of the Creek Indians from the French, located at Fort Toulouse, 40 miles south. Okfuskee was the largest town in Creek Confederacy. — Map (db m22232) HM|
|California (Butte County), Oroville — Liberty Pole|
|In 1767, when our yet to be united nation felt the stirrings of revolution, freedom-loving colonists carved and erected the first “Liberty Pole”. It served as a rallying point for those who opposed the British imposed Stamp Act.
Koppers Co. — Map (db m65843) HM|
|California (San Diego County), San Diego — Buque Escuela Juan Sebastian de Elcano|
| Commemorating the visit of the officers and men
Buque Escuela Juan Sebastian De Elcano
in homage to their comrades-at-arms who at this place raised and defended the flag of Spain - 1797 to 1821
Dedicado en pax y amistad
San Diego, California, April 1983 — Map (db m81237) HM|
|California (San Luis Obispo County), Atascadero — Your American Heritage Monument|
|The purpose of this monument is to forever stand as a tribute to our nation's Founding Fathers who created the two most important documents that laid the foundation of our country: the Declaration of Independence and the U.S. Constitution. This monument also honors our nation's veterans, who from the time of George Washington, when that first Minuteman fired "The Shot Heard 'Round the World" (which echo still rings of freedom), have forged the fiber that has been woven into the fabric of our . . . — Map (db m67581) HM|
|California (Santa Barbara County), Lompoc — Lompoc's Mission Vieja|
|Mission La Concepcion Purisima de Maria Santisima (Mission of the Immaculate Conception of most Holy Mary) was founded by Father Presidente Fermn de Lasuen on Dec. 8, 1787 at what is now Locust Avenue and F Street. It was the eleventh of 21 Franciscan Missions in California. During the mission's early years, several thousand Chumash Indians were baptized into the Catholic Church, over 100 large and small adobe buildings were built; a water system developed, crops planted and as many as 19,000 . . . — Map (db m70318) HM|
|California (Santa Cruz County), Santa Cruz — 469 — Branciforte|
|These school grounds were the center of Villa de Branciforte founded in 1797 by Governor Diego de Borica of California on orders from Spain through Viceroy Branciforte in Mexico. The settlement existed as political entity until American occupancy of California. Remained as township until 1905, when it was annexed to the city of Santa Cruz. — Map (db m2347) HM|
|Colorado (Alamosa County), Alamosa — ... Los Caminos Antiguos Scenic & Historic Byway|
|You have entered the land of the Rio Bravo del Norte, the northernmost outpost of sixteenth century Spain. To the Spanish people, the San Luis Valley was a wild and unexploited place known only to the Native people. Amidst the beauty and towering peaks of the valley, the area became the center of conflict and wars born of a clash of cultures.
”We arrived in the San Luis Valley with our religion and culture looking for fertile ground to raise our families. We laid out our . . . — Map (db m71878) HM|
|Colorado (Alamosa County), Alamosa — On Sacred Ground|
|Majestic Mount Blanca that stands bgefore you is surrounded by history and legend from the first people who inhabited this valley. Many Native American groups believe that this valley is the source of life where humans and spirit enter and leave this world.
”We are the ‘Dine’ (pronounced dee neh); the Spanish called us the Navajo. We call the mountain that stands before you ‘Sisnaajinii’. This mountain is one of our four sacred peaks in the Navajo Land. You may now know this . . . — Map (db m71875) HM|
|Colorado (Alamosa County), Alamosa — Welcome "Caminante" to ...|
Come! Take a walk with us. We know an old song, El Caminante, which tells of taking a long walk along the ancient roads. Like the first prehistoric inhabitants, you too are a ‘caminante’, or one who walks upon this land.”
The People of the San Luis Valley
“Almost five hundred years ago, the Navajos began hearing stories from our Pueblo neighbors about the strange men they had seen. These men had thick beards and were dressed in metal helmets . . . — Map (db m71877) HM|
|Colorado (La Plata County), Hesperus — Dominguez - Escalante Expedition|
|On August 10, 1776, there passed by here the expedition of Fathers Francisco Atanasio Dominguez and Silvestre Velez de Escalante with eight companions. They were seeking a route to link the long established missions of New Mexico with Monterey, the recently founded capital of California. — Map (db m71613) HM|
|Colorado (La Plata County), Hesperus — Dominguez and Escalante|
|In 1776, Franciscan Fathers, Francisco Atanasio Dominguez and Silvestre Velez de Excalante and eight companions, explored what is now southern Colorado, Utah, and northern Arizona, as men of peace.
Between August and December, 1776, Dominguez and Escalante and a small group of men attempted to find an overland route between the Spanish villages in New Mexico and the Spanish missions in California.
The expedition crossed the La Plata River near what is now Hesperus. On August 10 and . . . — Map (db m71615) HM|
|Colorado (Pueblo County), Vineland — 161 — San Carlos de los Jupes|
|By 1700 Comanches moved south from the northern Rockies onto the plains of southern Colorado and northern New Mexico. They raided the Apaches and Spanish settlements from the late 1600s until 1779 when the Governor of New Mexico, Don Juan Bautista de Anza, decisively defeated a large group, led by Cuerno Verde in a battle near the mountains to the southwest of here. The Comanches signed a peace treaty in 1786, and a year later the asked for Spanish assistance to build a permanent farm village. . . . — Map (db m64775) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), Brookfield — Brookfield|
Parish of Newbury
The land which comprises the geographical area of Brookfield belonged to the towns of Danbury, Newtown, and New Milford. In 1754 the Parish of Newbury was incorporated by decree of the General Assembly with boundaries and area similar to those of the town as it is today. In October, 1755 the Assembly approved as a site for the Newbury meeting house the location of the present Congregational Church. In 1788 the Parish of Newbury was incorporated as the Town of . . . — Map (db m35170) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), Brookfield — First Settlement 1710|
|First Settlement 1710
Newbury Parish Incorporated 1754
Town of Brookfield Incorporated 1788
Dunning • Peck • Hawley • Smith • Northrop • Ruggles • Dibble • Merwin • Baldwin • Blackmanstarr • Wheeler
Presented By E.A. Rousman 1910 — Map (db m70962) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), Cos Cob — Second Oldest Cemetery in Greenwich|
|The Second Oldest Cemetery
Laid out by the Selectmen
1723 – 24
Town of Greenwich 1982 — Map (db m38745) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), Danbury — Danbury|
Eight families came from Norwalk in 1685 to settle this area which the Indians called Pahquioque. They built their first homes a half mile south of here and made this green their common. The General Court in October 1687 decreed the name “Danbury” although the settlers had chosen “Swampfield.” Beans and other crops helped make Danbury an inland trading center by 1750 with a population of two thousand.
At the start of the American Revolution this . . . — Map (db m22836) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), Danbury — Oldest Cemetery 1684|
| Oldest Cemetery 1684 Danbury Erected by Mary Wooster Chapter N.S.D.A.R. — Map (db m23050) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), Danbury — 1 — The Settling of Danbury — – The Museum in the Streets – — Danbury, Connecticut|
| In the spring of the year 1685, the first permanent settlement of Danbury was made. The eight determined families of Samuel Benedict, James Benedict, Thomas Barnum, Judah Gregory, Thomas Taylor, John Hoyt, Francis Bushnell and James Beebe settled near the Still River between two hills, now known as Town Hill on the east and Deer Hill on the west.
Forty-eight square miles of land, in an area called “Pahquioque,” meaning “open plain,” was purchased for “30 . . . — Map (db m71240) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), Darien — Darien|
Originally part of Stamford, this area became Middlesex Parish in 1737. It was incorporated as the Town of Darien in 1820. Settlement had begun about 1700 when the first roads were cut “in the woods.” In 1703 a school district was set up in Noroton. Five years later Scofield’s Mill (afterward called Gorham’s Mill) was built on Good Wife’s River. By 1744 a meetinghouse was completed and the Reverend Moses Mather became first minister. During the American Revolution, Middlesex . . . — Map (db m80136) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), Darien — Ring’s End Landing|
Earlier Called Clock’s Landing
Of Middlesex Parish
Part of Stamford from 1641 until
Incrporated as Town of Darien
May 20, 1826
Presented by Kiwanis Club of Darien
As part of 150th Anniversary Celebration 1970 — Map (db m80305) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), East Norwalk — A Calf Pasture Primer|
| Norwalk’s first European settlers grazed their cattle on this property – hence the name “Calf Pasture.” Among these earliest arrivals was Matthew Marvin, who moved to Norwalk in 1651 (the year the town was founded). His son, Matthew Jr., bought a parcel between the Norwalk and “Saketuck” rivers from the native Americans in 1669. Seven generations later, in December 1836, William and Amanda Marvin settled into a 19-room farmhouse on the family property. William . . . — Map (db m53465) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), East Norwalk — Roger Ludlow|
|This stone, erected December, 1895, commemorates the purchase from the aboriginal inhabitants, made February 26, 1640-1, by Roger Ludlow, Deputy-Governor of the Colony of Connecticut, framer of its first Code of Laws, and Founder of Norwalk, of “All the lands, meadows, pasturinge, trees, whatsoever there is, and grounds betweene the twoe rivers, the one called Norwalke, the other Soakatuck, to the middle of sayed rivers, from the sea a days walke into the country.” — Map (db m53440) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), Easton — Easton|
| [ front ]
North Fairfield, a part of the town of Fairfield, was purchased from the Aspetuck Indians in 1670 for thirty pounds and an amount of trucking cloth. In 1762 the Connecticut General Assembly established the parish of North Fairfield. The Legislature in 1787 combined the parishes of North Fairfield and Norfield into the town of Weston. In 1845 the former parish of North Fairfield was divided from Weston and became Easton. It is still governed by the town meeting.
. . . — Map (db m30939) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), Fairfield — Andrew Roland House|
And His Wife Elizabeth
Daughter of Governor Fitch
Their Son Saw the British Land
And Gave the Alarm — Map (db m65124) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), Fairfield — Andrew Ward Memorial|
|In memory of
Born in England 1597
One of the founders of
Wethersfield and Stamford
An honored citizen of
where he died in 1659
Member of a Commission graunted to
sev'al p'sons to governe the people att
Conecticott by the General Court
of Massachusetts Bay under
John Winthrop Jr. Governor, 1635 – 1636
Erected by the Association of Descendants
of Andrew Ward 1907 — Map (db m27172) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), Fairfield — Burr Homestead|
Thaddeus And Eunice Dennie Burr
Dorothy Quincy and John Hancock
Of The Continental Congress
Were Married in 1775
Burned By British in 1779
Rebuilt in 1790 — Map (db m27371) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), Fairfield — David Ogden House|
Erected Prior to 1750
Is a Gift
The Fairfield Historical Society
In Memory of Her Husband
Dudley Leland Wadsworth
In whom the vision and self-reliance of
The early settlers lived again — Map (db m27419) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), Fairfield — Dr. Hosea Hurlburt House|
Dr. Hosea Hurlburt
Surgeon in Connecticut
Continental Line — Map (db m27565) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), Fairfield — Fairfield|
In 1639 Roger Ludlow and five companions, after serving in the Pequot War, purchased from the Indians a rich and abundant expanse of land which they called by the Indian name "Uncowaye." Shortly thereafter the name "Fairfield" replaced "Uncowaye." Originally this land consisted of present-day Fairfield, Greens Farms, Weston, Redding, Easton, and the western section of Bridgeport.
The following years brought rapid development, and Fairfield with its fine harbors became . . . — Map (db m27176) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), Fairfield — Fairfield Boulder|
|This boulder commemorates
the settlement of Fairfield
by Roger Ludlow in 1639
and the burning of the Town
by the British July 8, 1779.
From the founding of the Town
the religious, military and civic life
of the people
has centered around this Green — Map (db m27227) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), Fairfield — George Hull Home Lot|
|Site Of Original
Home Lot Of
1590 – 1659
And Legislator — Map (db m27373) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), Fairfield — Moorlands — c. 1836|
|Former site of the
Buckley Tavern, c.1750 — Map (db m27157) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), Fairfield — Nathan Bulkley House|
|Built 1750 By
Spared By British
When Town Was Burned — Map (db m27153) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), Fairfield — Pequot Swamp Fountain|
This Fountain Commemorates The
Valor And Victory
Of The Colonist Forefathers At
[ on the west side ]
Dorothy Ripley Chapter
D. A. R.
And Friends — Map (db m27377) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), Fairfield — Reverend John Jones Memorial|
Revd John Jones
was born in
in 1595 and was a graduate of
Queens College Cambridge
A Puritan divine of the
Church of England he was
the first pastor of the
First Church of Christ
which he faithfully served
from 1644 until his death
"A Valiant Leader of
A Holy Man of God" — Map (db m27174) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), Fairfield — Roger Ludlow|
| Roger Ludlow
Father of Connecticut, Author of the Fundamental Orders, Compiler of the Code of 1650, and Pioneer in the Development of American Constitutional Law.
Founded Fairfield and Made His Home Here from 1639 to 1654
Erected 1939 — Map (db m27141) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), Fairfield — Site of "Verna"|
|Site of "Verna"
Home of Timothy Dwight
Chaplain in Continental Army
Pastor of Greenfield
Founder of Academy
Poet of "Greenfield Hill"
President of Yale 1795 - 1815 — Map (db m27421) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), Fairfield — Site of Old Tavern of Greenfield|
|Site of Old Tavern Of Greenfield
1792 – 1812
At the Sign of The Black Horse
Here Rufus Putnam, Tallyrand,
Don Juadenes, Rufus King,
Joel Barlow and Tapping Reeve
Were Guests — Map (db m27563) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), Fairfield — Site of Trinity Church|
1790 – 1844
Rev. Philo Shelton
Rector For Forty Years
First To Be Ordained By
First American Bishop
Samuel Seabury — Map (db m27376) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), Fairfield — Thomas Sherwood Memorial|
1586 – 1655
Puritan – Pioneer – Ancestor
A founder of New England
A first settler of Fairfield
Deputy to the General Court
Soldier of the Pequot War
and his wives
Alice Seabrooke 1587 – 1639
Mary Fitch 1619 – 1693 — Map (db m27173) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), Greenwich — Founders and Proprietors Monument — 1640 - 1935|
|In memory of the courageous men
who founded the first settlement of
the Town of Greenwich
in the Connecticut Colony
Everardus Bogardus •
John Bowers •
Robert Feaks •
Jeffre Ferris •
Angell Husted •
Robert Husted •
Andrew Messenger •
Daniel Patrick •
Robert Williams •
27 Proprieters of 1672
John Asten •
John Bowers •
Walter Butler •
Thomas Close •
James Ferris •
Joseph Ferris •
Joseph Finch •
Angell Husted •
William . . . — Map (db m18669) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), Greenwich — Old Greenwich Yacht Club|
|On July 18, 1640, Daniel Patrick and Robert Feaks landed on these shores in the name of the New Haven Colony to start a new settlement, later called Greenwich. This neck of land is called Elizabeth’s Neck after Mrs. Feaks.
The anchor above this tablet was given to the Club by Clyde B. Ford, a founder. It was taken from the Thames-Sugar boat which sank by the point in April 1930. — Map (db m2048) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), Monroe — Monroe|
| [ front ]
On May 23, 1823 the General Assembly granted the incorporation of this town and named it in honor of the then President, James Monroe. The town’s roots, however, are much deeper as it was an offspring of the mother-town of Stratford settled in 1639. About 1720, descendants of Stratford’s early proprietors, farmers and millers, claimed a share of this North Division and brought their families to new homesites here. To determine their religious and educational . . . — Map (db m26096) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), New Canaan — New Canaan|
|This region was established in 1731 as Canaan Parish, a separate ecclesiastical society of the Congregational Churches of Norwalk and Stamford. Incorporated as a town in 1801. New Canaan encompassed the area of Canaan Parish with additional land annexed on the southern and western boundaries.|
During the early nineteenth century, New Canaan was one of the important shoe making centers of New England. In the latter half of the nineteenth- century, considerable numbers of summer residents . . . — Map (db m46878) HM
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), New Fairfield — New Fairfield|
In the year 1724 twelve men from Fairfield, Connecticut , came to this area to purchase land from the Indians who then inhabited it. They negotiated with Chief Squantz of the Schaghticoke tribe, who lived near the pond in this town which still bears his name. returning in the spring of 1725 with the necessary documents, they learned that Chief Squantz had died, but his four sons and heirs refused to sign any deeds. Four years later, on April 24, 1729 the Indians finally . . . — Map (db m23060) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), Newtown — Newtown|
|This area, then known as Quanneapague, was purchased from the Pohtatuck Indians in 1705. Settled from Stratford and incorporated in 1711, Newtown was a stronghold of Tory settlement during the early Revolutionary War. French General Rochambeau and his troops encamped here in 1781 on their way to the siege of Yorktown, Virginia, which ended the Revolution. An important crossroads throughout its history, the village of Hawleyville briefly emerged as a railroad center and the town’s population . . . — Map (db m21235) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), Newtown — Newtown Meeting House|
| Newtown Meeting House
Has Been Placed On The
Of Historic Places
By The United States
Department Of The Interior
Built 1720 Moved 1792 Rebuilt 1816 & 1845 — Map (db m26813) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), Norwalk — St. Paul’s Historic Graveyard|
| This historic graveyard is one of the oldest in Norwalk. It predates the Revolutionary War and is the resting place of several patriots of the American Revolution. It is situated on the original grant of land given to the professors of the Church of England in 1733-34. It was used as a public sheepfold in the early days of the colony. Anne Kemper, the wife of the first missionary Bishop of the American Church, is buried here. Her husband, Jackson Kemper was rector of St. Paul’s from 1830 – 1835. — Map (db m53461) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), Redding — John Read, Gentleman|
| Home site of
“Lonetown Manor” where
John Read, Gentleman
after whom the town is named
settled in 1711
Title to the original 500 acres
was secured by colony grants
confirmed in 1714 by an Indian
deed from Chief Chickens
This tablet placed by Town of Redding
Connecticuts Tercentenary — Map (db m26870) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), Redding — Redding|
|Originally part of Fairfield and unclaimed land, Redding was settled about 1711, made a parish in 1729, and incorporated in 1767. It was named for John Read, gentleman, lawyer, early landowner, and spokesman for the settlers. One of his land purchases was from the Mohawk Indian sachem Chickens in 1714. In 1777, during the Revolutionary war, General Tryon led British troops over Redding Ridge on their way to burn Danbury. The right wing of the Continental Army under General Israel Putnam . . . — Map (db m26814) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), Ridgefield — Ensign James Benedict House|
Cobbler's Shop and Home — Map (db m32243) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), Ridgefield — Old Hundred|
This Structure Was Originally
The Store of Lts. Joshua King And
James Dole, Later Used As A Resi-
dence Known As "Old Hundred." — Map (db m30464) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), Ridgefield — 13 — Out of the Ashes … — Ridgefield, Connecticut — The Museum in the Streets|
| The Fire District in Ridgefield was organized in 1896 following the devastating fire of 1895. Ex-Governor Phineas Lounsbury was an early benefactor of the Department and the new engine company took his name. The firehouse is also the site of the old Sholes and Smith Shirt factory, later moved to the Big Shop then located at the corner of Main Street and West Lane. The eastern section is the original 1908 Georgian Revival Style building of brick and wood with granite corner quions. . . . — Map (db m32050) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), Ridgefield — 28 — Ridgebury – George Washington Slept Here — Ridgefield, Connecticut — The Museum in the Streets|
| Ridgebury, "The New Patent," was one of the last land purchases made by the Proprietors. Tradition says that the First Congregational Church in Ridgebury had its beginnings in the "New Patent Meeting House" as early as 1738. In 1768 the congregation voted to construct a new church, which was completed in 1769. Services at the Episcopal Church in Ridgebury began at the same time as those in Ridgefield, often sharing the same minister. The building continued to be used, except for the . . . — Map (db m32052) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), Ridgefield — 24 — Ridgefield's Colonial Plans — Ridgefield, Connecticut — The Museum in the Streets|
| The First Recorded Plan for settlement was in 1697 when a group of Congregationalists primarily from Norwalk petitioned "to purchase of the Indians a certain tract of land lying about 14 miles northward of the town of Norwalk to settle a plantation there." On May 13, 1708 a petition for purchase of the land was submitted to the General Assembly in Hartford. On September 30, 1708 the purchase was formalized and plans for settlement were being drawn up. Each of the original Proprietors . . . — Map (db m32048) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), Ridgefield — 6 — Smith Tavern – A Colonial Meeting Place — Ridgefield, Connecticut — The Museum in the Streets|
| The Smith Tavern stood on the site of the present library. Ebenezer Smith arrived from Milford in 1709 and was assigned Lot # 26. He opened a small tavern in his home. By 1797 a new building was erected on the site by Amos Smith, who ran a tavern and inn, as well as a cider mill behind the tavern and a vineyard on the western side of Main Street. Taverns were used for more than eating and drinking; they were important centers for community activities. In 1900 the Smith Family sold the . . . — Map (db m24806) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), Ridgefield — The Gilbert House — Circa 1790|
|Built by Benjamin Stebbins for his daughter Sarah and her husband Amos Baker, a Revolutionary War Hero, the first surgeon in Ridgefield and the originator of the famous Baker Apple. — Map (db m23602) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), Shelton — Fort Hill|
On This Point Of Land
The Pootatuck Indians
Built A Fort In 1673
To Prevent The White Man
From Coming Up
The Ousatonic River — Map (db m28322) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), Shelton — Shelton|
| [ front ]
1639 – Stratford area settled, with present-day Shelton as the northern part.
1717 – Northern settlers established Ripton parish.
1789 – Ripton separated from Stratford and became the town of Huntington, named for Governor Samuel Huntington.
1870 – Derby-Shelton dam built., allowing industrial development along the Housatonic River.
1915 – The borough of Shelton incorporated as a city, named for Edward N. Shelton, . . . — Map (db m25614) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), Sherman — Sherman|
|Originally part of New Fairfield, which was purchased from the Indians in 1729, the area then known as the Upper Seven Miles was separately incorporated as the Town of Sherman in 1802. The town was named for Roger Sherman who, as a young man, had a cobbler shop at the north end. He was to become the only statesman to help draft and sign all of the following documents: the Articles of Association, the Declaration of Independence, the Articles of Confederation, and the United States . . . — Map (db m23070) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), Stamford — First Congregational Church|
First Congregational Church
A crude, square, wooden structure surrounded by a stockade was erected near this site in 1641-2. It was the first meeting house of the Church of Christ. Later the First Congregational Church. Four members of the Wethersfield Church, including the Rev. Richard Denton, withdrew and came to Rippowam (Stamford), bringing the church records with them. Thus the Stamford and Wethersfield churches share the distinction of being the first organized churches in . . . — Map (db m38752) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), Stamford — St. John's Episcopal Church|
St. John's Episcopal Church
In 1774, St John's, the first Episcopal Church in this area, was built here on land granted by the town. Struck by lightning that same year, the original building was repaired and endured for a hundred years.
In 1765, the area around Broad Street and Washington Boulevard was deeded as glebe land to the church whose first rector, the Reverend Ebenezer Dibblee, was to serve for 51 years. Though in sympathy with the loyalist cause, as were many of his . . . — Map (db m38767) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), Stamford — The Settlement of Stamford in 1641|
|This tablet has been placed by Stamford Chapter National Society Daughters of the American Revolution to commemorate
The Settlement of Stamford in 1641
During that year, twenty nine men and their families came from Wethersfield to this place. Imbued with the spirit of the founders of of New England, they built a permanent and enduring settlementof landowners and freemen. The eleventh colony to be founded in Connecticut.
The names of the original settlers are.
Robert Bates • Francis . . . — Map (db m38609) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), Stratford — "Mac’s Harbor"|
Traditional Landing Place of Stratford’s First Settlers
In the spring of 1639 under leadership of the Rev. Adam Blakeman
On the right, at the inner end of the harbor stood the First Meeting House and burial ground, and across the harbor at the stone embankment was erected the first Tide Mill in this the village of Cupheag, in 1643 renamed Stratford after Stratford-on-Avon, England — Map (db m48426) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), Stratford — Academy Hill Historic District|
| Academy Hill
Established April 14, 1988
First known as Watch House Hill, where the first settlers manned a blockhouse and a palisade to guard the town from threats of Dutch and Indian attack.
Renamed Meeting House Hill when the townsmen built a new meeting house on its southeast corner in 1680.
And called Academy Hill since the Stratford Academy opened here in 1805.
This common has been a gathering place for Stratford’s people for over 350 years. — Map (db m25814) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), Stratford — Boothe Homestead|
| Listed on the National Register of Historic Places
By the United States
Department of the Interior
May 1, 1985
This Estate Owned by the Boothe Family
For Many Generations Was Willed
To the Town of Stratford by
David Beach Boothe and
Stephen Nichols Boothe.
In 1914 the brothers initiated
A building and collection program
Resulting in the present
Boothe Memorial Park Museum — Map (db m25907) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), Stratford — Boothe Homestead|
|This 1820’s home was built over the original foundation of the 1683 house and has been altered four times since then. David and Stephen Boothe’s renovations of 1913 added stained glass windows, four safes in the walls, and several “puzzle” floors. — Map (db m25911) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), Stratford — Captain David Judson House|
| The Captain David Judson House
Has been entered into the
National Register of Historic Places
By the United States Department
Of the Interior – 1973
A priceless reminder of Stratford’s cultural heritage — Map (db m25764) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), Stratford — Captain John Carpenter|
| In Memory Of
Captain John Carpenter
Born in London, England, 1628
He commanded the Jamaica Fusiliers
In the Defense of Fort James, New
York, When the Dutch Fleet Of
William of Orange Recaptured
New York From the English
The Connecticut Chapter
Of The National Society
Daughters of Founders and
Patriots of America
Memorial Day 1952 — Map (db m25766) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), Stratford — Home of William Samuel Johnson|
| Home of
One of the Framers
Of the Constitution — Map (db m25899) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), Stratford — Old Congregational Burying Ground|
| [Left Plaque]
In honor of
the men and women
who planted in the wilderness
the early homes of Stratford,
who fought bravely and suffered patiently
in the War of the American Revolution,
and who left to their descendents
a proud memory of courage,
endurance and faith in God.
Erected by The
Mary Silliman Chapter
Daughters of The
American Revolution — Map (db m26099) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), Stratford — Ye Olde King’s Highway — Oldest Mail Route In America|
| This Tablet Marks Ye Olde King’s Highway Which Follows, In General Indian Trails and is the Oldest Mail Route in America The First Post Rider Made The Trip From New York to Boston In January 1673 Placed by Mary Silliman Chapter D.A.R. 1915 — Map (db m25818) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), Trumbull — Jonathan Trumbull|
| Jonathan Trumbull
1710 – 1785
Revolutionary Patriot Statesman Merchant
Governor of Connecticut
1769 – 1784
“The Constitution State” “The Nutmeg State” “The Provisions State”
The securing and delivery of supplies to George Washington’s Continental Army is attributed to Jonathan Trumbull
Donated by The Jennie and Ethel Mallett Memorial Trust
Trustees The Honorable Abram H. Tellalian, Jr. Fleet National Bank
Dedicated November . . . — Map (db m26305) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), Weston — Weston|
| [ front ]
Originally the Nor'field parish of old Fairfield (1639) to the south, present Weston was divided into long lots circa 1670, commencing our agricultural development. By 1757 there were enough families to become a separate ecclesiastical society. During the Revolution British General Tryon's forces passed nearby en route to and from the burning of Danbury. To escape, Weston mothers fled with their children to the Devil's Den, a wilderness landmark since earliest . . . — Map (db m30800) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), Westport — Disbrow Tavern — Jennings Trail|
Here stood the inn where
General Washington stopped
for refreshment June 28, 1775
The church was built in 1862.
Architect – P. L. Moulnier
Westport Historical Society
Westport Young Women's League — Map (db m30789) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), Westport — Jesup Green — Jennings Trail|
Here stood the William H. Jessup House
Later owned by William Taylor.
On the river the Jessups built wharves
and warehouses in the late 18th
century where grain was stored awaiting
export by sail. The Saugatuck River
became a shipping lane resulting
in the incorporation of Westport
in 1835 from parts of Norwalk,
Fairfield and Weston.
Westport Historical Society
Westport Young Women's League — Map (db m30645) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), Westport — Wheeler House|
Orig Date 1795
Westport Historical Society
[ lower medallion ]
The National Register
Of Historic Places
Recorded Property — Map (db m31203) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), Wilton — Captain Clapp Raymond|
Captain Clapp Raymond
Of the Wilton Militia
Who Resided in This House
And All Officers and Men
Who Served During
The War for Independence
From the Parish of Wilton, Conn.
Drum Hill Chapter NSDAR
1976 — Map (db m30643) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), Wilton — Wilton|
| [ front ]
Although this region was settled in 1651 as part of Norwalk, the first dwelling house here was built in 1706. The village of Wilton with parish privileges was granted by the general Assembly on May 12, 1726. The Town of Wilton was incorporated by the Assembly as a separate body politic on May 2, 1802. In the American Revolution 223 officers and soldiers who lived in Wilton fought against the British. The enemy troops marched through Wilton in April, 1777 along the . . . — Map (db m32256) HM|
|Connecticut (Hartford County), Avon — Avon|
This area, formerly Northington or the North Parish of Farmington, was settled in 1645non land that had belonged to the Tunxis Indians. It prospered as a farming community and, in 1830, after the construction and opening of the Farmington Canal, Avon was incorporated as a separate town with a population of 1,025. It was named after the Avon River in England. The Albany Turnpike (Route 44) was a heavily traveled thoroughfare, and its junction with the canal gave Avon considerable . . . — Map (db m33019) HM|
|Connecticut (Hartford County), Berlin — Berlin|
This land, granted to settlers in 1661 and 1668 by the General Court of Connecticut, was also purchased from the local Mattabesett Indian tribe. Founders of the community include Sergeant Richard Beckley, who came north on the trail from New Haven before 1660 and built a home in the northeast section; Jonathan Gilbert, owner of a tract of land along the Hartford-New Haven path; and Captain Richard Seymour, who led a group of families from Farmington in 1686 to begin the settlement at . . . — Map (db m46041) HM|
|Connecticut (Hartford County), Bristol — Bristol|
| [ front ]
Bristol was originally a part of Farmington. In 1663 an easterly portion called "Poland" was granted to Thomas Barnes and three others. The area which later became Bristol was allotted in 1721 to Farmington settlers. In 1727 Daniel Brownson built a house on the Pequabuck River near West Street but did not remain long. The first permanent settler was Ebenezer Barnes, son of Thomas, whose home was built in 1728 at the foot of king Street. He was followed soon by . . . — Map (db m33237) HM|
|Connecticut (Hartford County), Bristol — Come Ye To The Waters|
|Come Ye To The Waters
1749 – Old Mill – 1921
Franklin Downs — Map (db m33625) HM|
|Connecticut (Hartford County), Bristol — New Cambridge (now Bristol)|
|New Cambridge (now Bristol)
Was Settled 1727 – 8
Since Early Days
The Federal Hill Green
Has Been Used As A
Training Ground For Soldiers And A
Playground For Children
This Boulder Was Placed
By Katherine Gaylord Chapter
Daughters of The American Revolution
1934 — Map (db m34240) HM|
|Connecticut (Hartford County), Burlington — Burlington|
| [ front ]
The original inhabitants of the part of Farmington known as West Woods were Tunxis Indians. Early settlement by white man was scattered. The first house of record, noted in an estate inventory of 1725, was that of John Wiard, who had bought land in 1721. The settlers petitioned for an ecclesiastical society in 1774, citing their distance from Farmington. It was granted and the Society of West Britain was established. Their first church was built in 1783. A . . . — Map (db m33174) HM|
|Connecticut (Hartford County), East Hartford — East Hartford|
This part of the lands once inhabited by the Podunk Indians saw its first permanent colonists in 1655, when Thomas Hooker and his followers came from Cambridge, Massachusetts, to found Hartford. The east side of the Connecticut River was at that time a part of Hartford, and early settlers here included William Goodwin, Thomas Burnham, and William Pitkin. The first petition by residents to establish a separate Town was rejected by the General Assembly in 1726. Several more . . . — Map (db m74248) HM|
|Connecticut (Hartford County), East Hartford — Historic Center Cemetery|
|Historic Center Cemetery
“Center Cemetery is one of Connecticut’s most interesting and important 18th century burial grounds, and is one of the most striking examples extant of the mixing of Connecticut River Valley sandstones [Portland and Buckland] with the eastern granite schists from Bolton and adjacent regions.” – Dr. James A. Slater
Center Burying Ground, as it was first named, was authorized in 1709 by Hartford Township for east of the Great River . . . — Map (db m74928) HM|
|Connecticut (Hartford County), Farmington — Farmington|
| [ front ]
On January 16, 1640 the Connecticut General Court empowered a committee to "view those parts by Vnxus Sepus wch may be suitable" for settlement. Soon afterward a small group of families traveled nine miles westward over the hills from Hartford and made a settlement beside the Tunxis River. On December 1, 1645 the Court voted "that the Plantation cauled Tunxis shalbe cauled Farmington" and set its boundaries. The original name "Tunxis Sepus" was from the Indian . . . — Map (db m33066) HM|
|Connecticut (Hartford County), Farmington — Farmington|
Laid Out 1640
As Tunxis Plantation
A Trading Center
Of Frontier Area — Map (db m34239) HM|
|Connecticut (Hartford County), Hartford — Abel Buel|
1742 – 1825
Coined the 1786 Fugio Cent
And the Connecticut Cooper,
Had a shop on this site — Map (db m52555) HM|
|Connecticut (Hartford County), Hartford — Adriaen Block|
A short distance from
where you are standing,
Adriaen Block, captain of the ship Restless
sails up a river from the Atlantic Ocean
which native peoples of the region have named
"Quinnehtukqut", meaning the Great Tidal River,
and Block names "DeVersche, " Freshwater River.
His mission is to chart this land for
the Dutch West Indian Company.
The Dutch establish a fort near here in 1633
known as the House of Hope.
This marks the beginning of European . . . — Map (db m53151) HM|
|Connecticut (Hartford County), Hartford — Adventurers|
|In Memory of the Courageous
Who Inspired and Directed by
Thomas Hooker Journeyed Through the
Wilderness from Newtown Cambridge)
In the Massachusetts Bay to
Suckiaug (Hartford) – October 1635
Mathew Allyn • John Barnard • William Butler • Clement Chapin • Nicholas Clarke • Robert Day • Edward Elmer • Nathaniel Ely • Richard Goodman • William Goodwin • Stephen Hart • William Kelsey • William Lewis • Mathew Marvin • James Olmstead • William Pantry • Thomas Scott • . . . — Map (db m52432) HM|
|Connecticut (Hartford County), Hartford — Captain Joseph Wadsworth|
| Captain Joseph Wadsworth
Where You Are Standing
On October 31, 1687
Came Sir Edmund Andros to the
meeting house built on this site,
sent by the British Crown
to revoke Connecticut's Charter
and establish the Dominion of New England.
Captain Joseph Wadsworth, determined to
protect Connecticut's liberties,
stealthily removes the Charter from the room.
He tucks the precious document inside his cloak
and hurries through the night looking
for a safe hiding place. . . . — Map (db m53150) HM|
|Connecticut (Hartford County), Hartford — Center Church|
Founded Hartford in 1636
1633-1647 — Map (db m52439) HM|
|Connecticut (Hartford County), Hartford — Charter Oak Monument|
|Near This Spot
Memorable in the History
Colony of Connecticut
As The Hiding Place Of The
October 31, 1687
The Tree Fell
August 21, 1856
[ back ]
Erected by The
Society of Colonial Wars
The State of Connecticut
1633 1775 — Map (db m52339) HM|
|Connecticut (Hartford County), Hartford — George Wyllys|
| [ south side ]
Born 1590 in Fenny Compton Co Warwick England
Came to Hartford 1638
Deputy Governor of Connecticut 1641
And Governor 1642. Died March 9, 1645
Bridget Young his wife died at Fenny Compton
March 1629 and is there buried
Mary Smith his second wife died in Hartford
[ north side ]
Samuel Wyllys born in Fenny Compton Feb 1651 Died in Hartford May 30, 1709
Member of Governor's Council thirty-six years. Ruth Haynes his wife
Hezekian . . . — Map (db m43771) HM|
|Connecticut (Hartford County), Hartford — Hartford|
Hartford was named in 1637 after the English town of Hertford. The Indian name was Suckiaug. The first colonial settlement, called House of Good Hope, was made by the Dutch in 1633. The Reverend Thomas Hooker arrived overland from Newtown (Cambridge) Massachusetts with his congregation in 1636. At first the settlement was called Newtown. In 1639 the Fundamental Orders were adopted, often considered the first written constitution creating a government.
Hartford served as capital of . . . — Map (db m43708) HM|
|Connecticut (Hartford County), Hartford — In Memory of the First Settlers of Hartford|
|In Memory of the First
Settlers of Hartford
Jeremy Adams • Matthew Allyn • Francis Andrews • William Andrews • John Arnold • Andrew Bacon • John Barnard • Thomas Barnes • Robert Bartlett • John Baysey • Thomas Beale • Nathaniel Bearding • Mary Betts • John Bidwell • Richard Billing • Thomas Birchwood • Peter Blachford • Thomas Blackley • Thomas Bliss, Sr. • Thomas Bliss, Jr. • William Blumfield • James Bridgeman • John Bronson • Richard Bronson • Thomas Bull • Thomas Bunce • Benjamin Burr • . . . — Map (db m83119) HM|
|Connecticut (Hartford County), Hartford — John Haynes|
1594 – 1654
Of Copford Hall. Essex England. Third Governor of Massachusetts. A founder of this commonwealth & its first Governor. A lover of religious liberty. A man trusted and honored.
Near this place he was buried & by this tablet The Connecticut Society of The Colonial Dames of America commemorates his public services.
A.D. 1915 — Map (db m44068) HM|
|Connecticut (Hartford County), Hartford — Latin School — Free School — Hartford Grammar School|
|On this site, from 1869 until 1963, stood the Hartford Public High School, the second oldest secondary school in the United States. Founded in 1638 as a Latin Grammar School. It became, in 1847, the Hartford Public English and Classical High School. This memorial stone was erected by the Girls League of the Hartford Public High School on the school lawn facing Asylum Avenue in 1938 as a tercentenary commemoration of the place where thousands of Hartford's citizens had received their secondary . . . — Map (db m28374) HM|
|Connecticut (Hartford County), Hartford — Rev. Samuel Stone — 1602 – 1663|
|Rev. Samuel Stone 1602 – 1663
First Church Teacher and 2nd Pastor
Co-Founded Hartford with Thomas Hooker
Born in Hertford England — Map (db m43742) HM|
|Connecticut (Hartford County), Hartford — Sacred to the Memory — African Americans|
|Sacred to the Memory of
the Three Hundred or more
Free People, Slaves, and
five Black Governors
Who rest in Unmarked
Graves in Hartford's
Ancient Burying Ground
1640 - 1810
[ back ]
School children in Hartford
conducted the research and
raised the funds to create
this Monument in 1998
[ inscribed on the tablet ]
African Americans Interrred In
Hartford's Ancient Burying Ground
Maid, Mar, 1691 • Child, Apr, 1693 • Negro, Dec, 1693 . . . — Map (db m43803) HM|
|Connecticut (Hartford County), Hartford — Scion of the Charter Oak|
|Scion of the Charter Oak
Planted 19 October 1871 by
First Company Governor's Foot Guard
White Oak (Quercus atba L)
In the earliest days the great oak served both as a council tree and agricultural guide for Native Americans. The annual spring planting of corn would not begin until the great tree's leaves were the size of a mouse's ear thus ensuring proper soil temperature and germination. The venerable oak was considered both sacred and sagacious.
Connecticut received its charter from . . . — Map (db m64924) HM|
|Connecticut (Hartford County), Hartford — The Fundamental Orders of Connecticut|
The Church in Newtown, Massachusetts
Thomas Hooker, Minister
was transplanted to this locality, called
Meeting House Yard,
Old State House Square
City Hall Square.
Near this site on May 31, 1638.
Thomas Hooker preached his
"The Foundation of Authority is Laid
In the Free Consent of the People."
Near this site on January 14, 1639,
representatives of the three river towns adopted
The Fundamental Orders
"The first written . . . — Map (db m52695) HM|
|Connecticut (Hartford County), Hartford — The Safe Arrival|
| In June 1636, about one hundred members of Thomas Hooker's congregation arrived safely in this vicinity. With one hundred and sixty cattle, they had followed old Indian trails from the Massachusetts Bay Colony to the Connecticut River to build a new community. Here they established the form of government upon which the present Constitution of the United States is modeled. Their deeply religious principles found expression in the emblem and motto of the seal which the colony soon adopted. . . . — Map (db m52557) HM|
|Connecticut (Hartford County), Hartford — Thomas Hooker|
1586 – 1647
A leader of the founders in this commonwealth. A preacher of persuasive power. A statesman who based all civil authority on the free consent of the people.
This tablet is placed near the site of his burial by The Connecticut Society of The Colonial Dames of America. A.D. 1915 — Map (db m44070) HM|
|Connecticut (Hartford County), Hartford — Thomas Hooker|
1586 – 1647
Founder of Hartford
Pastor – Statesman
[ east side ]
Leading his people through
the wilderness, he founded
Hartford in June 1636.
On this site he preached
the sermon which inspired
the fundamental orders.
It was the first written
constitution that created
[ west side ]
"The foundation of authority
is laid firstly in the free
consent of the people"
Given by the Society
of the Descendants of . . . — Map (db m52917) HM|
|Connecticut (Hartford County), Hartland — Hartland|
| [ front ]
Proprietors from Hartford, those whose names appeared on the tax lists of 1720, were originally given the western land grants called Hart(ford)land, now known as the Town of Hartland. The first permanent settler in this area was Thomas Giddings, who came here from Lyme, June 12, 1754. The town was incorporated in 1761 and grew rapidly in population. Only a few short years thereafter, 359 troops were raised for Revolutionary War service in the Continental Army.
The streams . . . — Map (db m29853) HM|
|Connecticut (Hartford County), Newington — Newington, Connecticut|
1636 – Newington valley used by Wethersfield settlers as a source for pipe staves, building materials and pasture lands. Pipestave Swamp, Cow Plain and West Farms were early names for the area.
1671 – Land first divided among 76 Wethersfield householders. (The Mile – in – Breadth).
1677 – Permanent settlement in Newington began with the establishment of a sawmill at Mill Pond Falls.
1721 – Town legally named Newington (New . . . — Map (db m46065) HM|
|Connecticut (Hartford County), Rocky Hill — Rocky Hill|
This area was first settled in 1650 as part of Wethersfield and became known as Rocky Hill because of the ridge that rises in the northeast. In 1722 the village became Stepney Parish of Wethersfield but attained separate town status as Rocky Hill in 1843. Early growth was linked with the Connecticut River. The ferry to Glastonbury, still in operation, was begun about 1655. Floods in 1700 changed the course of the river and hindered travel upstream so that Rocky Hill became the head . . . — Map (db m46181) HM|
|Connecticut (Hartford County), Southington — Southington|
| [ front ]
To the fertile valley south of Farmington came Samuel Woodruff in 1698 to hunt and fish. Shortly thereafter Woodruff established a homesite, and with his settlement came other families from surrounding areas. The organization of a parish apart from Farmington led to the incorporation of Southington as a separate township in 1779.
In June, 1781 Lieutenant General Count de Rochambeau, leading an auxiliary French army, camped in Marion for several days prior to . . . — Map (db m33757) HM|
|Connecticut (Hartford County), West Hartford — Goodman Green|
In 1747 this oblong of land was given by Timothy Goodman to the West Hartford Parish of the Congregational Church for use as a parade ground of the local militia company. Still owned by the parish, it is maintained by the town. For nearly two hundred and fifty years it has been the heart of West Hartford, and formerly was surrounded by buildings that sustained the life of an old New England town: the meeting house, town hall, parsonage, academy, district school, general store, . . . — Map (db m53156) HM|