HMdb.org THE HISTORICAL
MARKER DATABASE
            “Bite-Size Bits of Local, National, and Global History”
  Home  — My Markers  — Add A Marker  — Marker Series  — Links & Books  — Forum  — About Us
Click First to browse through the results shown on this page.   First >> 
Show DirectionsOmit Marker TextClick to map all markers shown on this page.
Science & Medicine Markers
1075 markers matched your search criteria. The first 250 markers are listed. Next 825
British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Doctor John Sebastian Helmcken
John Sebastian Helmcken was born in London in 1924. He trained to be a doctor at Guys Hospital, London. He arrived in Victoria as a surgeon and clerk for the Hudson Bay Company on March 24, 1850.

Dr. Helmcken entered politics in 1856, becoming the first Speaker of the Legislative Assembly on Vancouver Island. Though re-elected on a campaign against Confederation, Helmcken helped negotiate the entry of British Columbia into Canada in 1871. He then returned to medicine and the raising of his . . . — Map (db m48865) HM

British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Dr John Sebastian Helmcken(1824-1920)
Dr Helmcken earned acclaim for his work as a physician, colonial legislator and negotiator of British Columbia’s entry into Canada. This statue, created by Armando Barbon and Gabriele Vicari, was donated to the Royal BC Museum by the family of Yole and Armando Barbon. May 19, 2011 — Map (db m48992) HM
British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Helmchen House Historic Site
John Sebastian Helmcken arrived in Fort Victoria in 1850 to work as a physician for the Hudson’s Bay Company. He remained here for the rest of his life, marrying Cecilia Douglas, the eldest daughter of Governor James Douglas. The young couple has a small log cabin built here in 1852, next to their in-laws home. Over the years as the family grew the house also grew larger. It is one of the oldest housed in western Canada.

Dr. Helmcken practiced medicine during the fur trade, the gold rush . . . — Map (db m48752) HM

British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Log Cabin to Victorian Parlour
As the Helmcken family grew, so did this house. You can see three stages in the structure.

[Right section] The original 1852 log cabin was built in a fur trade post-in-sill style with hand hewn squared logs and cedar shingles. Hearths in three rooms join into a single chimney.

[Middle section] This house’s middle section, containing a dining room and upstairs bedrooms, was added in 1856.

[Left section] In 1883 Dr. Helmcken added a framed wing with a second story and front . . . — Map (db m48866) HM

Ontario (Hastings County), Tweed — The Hungerford Smallpox Epidemic of 1884
The viral disease of smallpox - widespread in 19th century Ontario - flared up in a severe epidemic in Hungerford Township in 1884. The outbreak claimed at least 45 lives in 202 reported cases and disrupted economic activity and family life for many more. Local efforts by municipal authorities and private physicians were initially unable to halt the disease, and its wider spread throughout the province seemed likely. The newly established Provincial Board of Health and its hired officers . . . — Map (db m74023) HM
Ontario (Middlesex County), London — Banting House
Here, in the early morning hours of October 31, 1920, Dr. Frederick Banting conceived an idea for research that led to the discovery of insulin. He believed that diabetes, then a fatal disease, could be treated by a substance extracted from a dog's atrophied pancreas. Banting was the pivotal member of the Toronto team that isolated and refined this extract, now known as insulin. In January 1922, insulin showed spectacular test results and became a lifesaving therapy worldwide. Banting House, . . . — Map (db m18975) HM
Ontario (Middlesex County), London — Birthplace of Insulin
In 1920, while living and practicing medicine here, Dr. F. G. Banting conceived the idea which eventually led to the discovery of insulin and the saving of millions of lives worldwide. This statue, created by sculptor John Miecznikowski, depicts Dr. Banting at the age of 29. It was unveiled on July 7, 1989 by Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth the Queen Mother as a lasting tribute to the great Canadian medical scientist and Nobel laureate. — Map (db m18994) HM
Ontario (Middlesex County), London — Birthplace of the Flame of Hope
The Flame of Hope was conceived by His Honour Judge John M. Seneshen, and stands as a symbol for all persons suffering from diabetes around the world. This flame will burn continuously and only be extinguished when it can be declared that a cure for diabetes has been found. Just as Banting's House is the “Birthplace of Insulin,” Sir Frederick G. Banting Square is the “Birthplace of the Flame of Hope.” Dedicated to diabetics throughout the world on the occasion of the . . . — Map (db m18996) HM
Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), Niagara Falls — Nikola TeslaInventor — 1856-1943
The St. George Serbian Orthodox Church, Niagara Falls, in partnership with the Niagara Parks Commission, have erected this monument to Nikola Tesla. Physicist, inventor, electrical engineer. Tesla developed the world's first hydroelectric system used here at Niagara Falls. — Map (db m40101) HM
Ontario (The Regional Municipality of Niagara), St. Catharines — Richard Pierpoint c.1744-c.1838
One of the first Black settlers in this region, Pierpoint was born in Senegal. At the age of about 16 he was imprisoned and shipped to America where he became the slave of a British officer. During the American Revolution he enlisted in the British forces, thereby gaining his freedom, and served with Butler's Rangers. Disbanded at Niagara, "Captain Dick" settled near here. At the outbreak of the War of 1812 he joined the Coloured Corps and in 1821, recalling his militia service, he petitioned . . . — Map (db m75872) HM
Ontario (Toronto), Toronto — The Discovery of InsulinDecouverte De L'Insuline
{The marker has a both an English and French version. In English:} In one of the most important advances in modern medicine, a team of investigators isolated and purified insulin in a building which stood on this site. On May 17, 1921, Frederick Banting, a young surgeon, and Charles Best, a recent graduate in physiology and biochemistry, began a series of experiments on pancreatic secretions in an attempt to find a treatment for "diabetes mellitus". Working under the general . . . — Map (db m36194) HM
Quebec (Rosemont–La Petite-Patrie Borough), Montréal — Le Jardin Botanique de Montréal / The Montréal Botanical Gardens
Fondé en 1931, ce jardin est l’œuvre du frère Marie-Victorin, botaniste de grand renom qui a amorcé et mené projet d’envergure, et de Henry Teuscher, architecte paysagiste qui en a conçu l’aménagement. La beauté, la variété et la richesse de ses collections témoignent de la vision de ses fondateurs, qui voulaient en faire un « jardin botanique idéal » par ses fonctions esthétiques, scientifiques, éducatives et sociales. Avec ses quelque 22 000 espèces et cultivars de plantes, ses grandes serres . . . — Map (db m73040) HM
China, Beijing, Hǎidiàn Qū — Nuclei as Heavy as BullsThrough Collision Generate New States of Matter
In 1986, inspired by the famous scientist Dr. Tsung-Dao Lee’s theory of Relativistic Heavy Ion Collision, the famous Chinese painter, Professor Li Keran created an ink painting masterpiece “Nuclei as Heavy as Bulls, Through Collision Generate New States of Matter.” This leads to a beautiful story about the combination of science and art, along with great friendship between the two intellectuals. This sculpture was created by Sculptress Zou Peizhu (Professor Li Keran’s wife), . . . — Map (db m38772) HM
Czech Republic, Hlavní město Praha, Prague — Albert Schweitzer
{Text in Czech:} ALBERT SCHWEITZER * 1875 Kaysersberg †1965 Lambaréné Zde koncertoval v letech 1923 a 1928 {Text translated into English:} Albert Schweitzer Born 1875 in Kaysersberg, died 1965 in Lambaréné Performed here in 1923 and 1928 — Map (db m38193) HM
Czech Republic, Hlavní město Praha, Prague — Birthplace of Jaroslav Heyrovský
In Czech: V tomto domě se 20. prosince 1890 narodil academik Jaroslav Heyrovský. Nositel nobelovy ceny za chemii. Translated, the marker reads: In this house was born on December 20, 1890 the academic Jaroslav Heyrovský. Holder of the Nobel Prize for Chemistry. — Map (db m40763) HM
Czech Republic, Hlavní město Praha, Prague — Here Albert Einstein Played the Violin
{Marker text in Czech:} V tomto domĕ „U Jedworožce,“ v salonu Berty Fantové, v letech 1911 až 1912 hrával na housle a setnával se zde s přǎteli, spisovateli Maxem Brodem a Franzem Kafkou, Profesor Teureticke Fyziky na Pražkĕ Univerzitě, tvŭrce Teurie Relativity, nositel nubeluvy ceny, Albert Einstein {Marker text in English:} Here, in the salon of Mrs. Berta Fanta, Albert Einstein, Professor at Prague University in 1911 to 1912, . . . — Map (db m37595) HM
Czech Republic, Hlavní město Praha, Prague — Josef Charvát
In Czech: V tomto domě žil a zemřel Profesor MuDr. Josef Charvát 1897-1984 Zakladatel České Endocrinologie Translated, the marker reads: In this house lived and died Professor Dr. Josef Charvát 1897-1984 founder of Czech Endocrinology. — Map (db m22552) HM
Czech Republic, Hlavní město Praha, Prague — Tycho Brahe Lived Here
{Marker text in Czech:} Leta Pane MDCCCCI zasazena jest na tomto domě zvaném od starodávna “U Zlatého Nohá”, nákladem obce Prazké pametní deska ku poctě slavného Dana Tychona Braheho, císařkého matematika a hvézdáře, který léta MDC v tomto domě přebýval a XXIV. října .MDCI v nedalekém odtud domě, jenž stával druhdy na místĕ, Nynĕjšího Paláce Cernísnkého zemřel a byl pochován v chrámu Matky Boží před Tynem. . . . — Map (db m40632) HM
Czech Republic, Hlavní město Praha (Staré Město), Prague — Johannes Kepler
{Marker text in Czech:} Zde žil v letech 1607 až 1612 Johannes Kepler v té dobé objevil první dva zákony o pohybu planet kolem slunce {The marker text, translated into English:} Here from 1607-1612 lived Johannes Kepler, who during that time discovered the first two laws of planetary motion around the sun. — Map (db m40962) HM
France, Île-de-France (Paris Département), Paris — Bureau de Gustave EiffelGustave Eiffel’s office
Gustave Eiffel, en compagnie de sa fille Claire, s’était aménagé un petit appartement au sommet de la Tour où il accueillait de hôtes de marque dans le cadre de réceptions intimes. Cette scène évoque la viste que lui fit Thomas Edison le 10 septembre 1889. A cette occasion, le physicien et inventeur américan, offre à Gustave Eiffel un modèle de son fameux phonographe qu’il vient présenter é l’Exposition Universelle de 1889.

Gustave Eiffel’s office Accompanied by his daughter Claire, . . . — Map (db m60918) HM

France, Languedoc-Roussillon (Hérault), Capestang — L’Hôpital[The Hospital]
Il est mentionné des 1262 dans un faubourg de la ville sur la route de Béziers. Un hôpital est alors un lieu de charité plus que de soins. Celui-ci est aussi un asile sur le chemin de Saint Jacques. Sa présence fut précieuse pendant les crises malariennes des XVIIe et XVIIIe siècles, provoquées par la proximeté de l’étang. Le bâtiment actuel a été reconstruit entre 1746 et 1749.

[Translation by Google Translate (with modifications): The Hospital It is mentioned in 1262 in a suburb of . . . — Map (db m60172) HM

Germany, Bavaria, Munich — Miesbach to Munich Power Transmission
Im Oktober 1882 wurde hier anlässlich der internationalen Elektrizitätsaustellung von Miesbach nach München erstmals in der Welt eine Kraftűbertragung mit hoch gespannten Strőmen durchgefuhrt. Die Schőpfer des Werkes Oskar von Miller und Marcel Deprez bahnten da mit den Weg zur Ausnűtzung entlegener Energiequellen. Der Verband Deutscher Elektrotechniker im September 1952. Leitung Telegraphendraht 2x57 km. Spannung 1350 bis 2000 Volt Gleichstrom. Translated, the . . . — Map (db m22477) HM
Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Mansfeld-Südharz District), Lutherstadt Eisleben — The Eisleber Mining School in the Katharinenstift 1817 - 1844Die Eisleber Bergschule im Katharinenstift 1817 – 1844
• The development of mining in the town of Eisleben is connected closely with the “Bergschule”, or Mining School. At the start of the 18th century new scientific discoveries necessitated the education of specialists to ensure the long-term sustainability of mining in the area. • In 1719 at a “General Meeting of the Trades of Eisleben and Hettestedt” it is decided that young miners should be taught higher mining and engineering knowledge. This . . . — Map (db m70311) HM
Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Wittenberg District), Lutherstadt Wittenberg — Olga Gebauer(1858 - 1922)
Gründete deutschen Hebammenverband studierte hier im Hebammenlehrinstitut —————————— Founded the German Confederation of Midwives studied here in the Midwifery Training Institute — Map (db m69848) HM
Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Wittenberg District), Lutherstadt Wittenberg — The Augusteum / Das Augusteum
The Augusteum was built between 1564 and 1586 under the auspices of August I., Elector of Saxony. This building fulfilled various purposes for the Leucorea, Wittenberg's University. It was used as the medical faculty's institute for anatomy, as university library and for student accommodation, as well as an assembly hall. The Protestant Seminary, established in 1817, has always been located in this building and still today serves the practical education of pastors for their work in the . . . — Map (db m69999) HM
Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Wittenberg District), Lutherstadt Wittenberg — Wilhelm Eduard Weber(1804 - 1891)
Erfinder des electromagnet. Telegraphen Geburtshaus —————————— Inventor of the electro-magnetic telegraph Birthplace — Map (db m69820) HM
Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Wittenberg District), Lutherstadt Wittenberg — 4 — Wilhelm-Weber-Haus
Education on the Campus The alterations to the Wilhelm Weber House as part of International Building Exhibition Urban Redevelopment 2010 are creating a place for dialogue between academia, business, politics and the public. The building dates back to the 16th century. In 1556, the town council installed a system of water pipes, to which the property was connected. The archway forming the entrance was also built at this time, although the doors were added in the 18th century. Since . . . — Map (db m69829) HM
Ireland, Connacht (County Galway), Inishmore, Aran Islands — Welcome to Port Corrúch Seal ColonyFailte go Port Corrúch
Welcome to Port Corrúch Seal Colony [First part of the marker is about the seal colony along the coastline and is not transcribed] As you look across the North Sound you can see the Coast of Connemare and the Twelve pins of Connemara. Near by the factory ruins represents an out post of Victorian industianlism [sic] in the 19th Century. One of the earliest attempts to mechanige [sic] the kelp industry was sited just here for the topography of the area makes this Aran's most favoured . . . — Map (db m22928) HM
Ireland, Connacht (County Roscommon), Strokestown — Dr. Dudley Forde House
Fine example of town's Georgian architecture. Home of Dr. Dudley Forde popular medical practitioner in this area for many years Died 1945 — Map (db m27557) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — Countess Constance Markievicz1869 - 1927 — Major, Irish Citizen Army, 1916
A valiant woman who fought for Ireland in 1916 _________________________ In the 1916 Rising she was Second-in-Command to Michael Mallin in the College of Surgeons. She was sentenced to death for her activities but was released from prison in 1917 in the general amnesty. The bronze bust show Countess Markievicz in the uniform tunic of the Irish Citizen Army. The work was unveiled in 1956. [From the Monuments of St. Stephen's Green marker found in the park.] — Map (db m22504) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — Margaret Anna Cusack1829 - 1899
Margaret Anna Cusack was born on this site on May 6th 1829. At the time York Street was a centre of medicine. She was the daughter of Sara and Dr. Samuel Cusack. Her uncle was the interationally renowned surgeon James William Cusack, 3-times President of the Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland. She became an Anglican Sister but in 1861 converted to Catholicism and moved to Kenmare in County Kerry. Here, under the pseudonym of the “Nun of Kenmare”, she wrote on all aspects of . . . — Map (db m22454) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — Sir William Robert Wills Wilde1815 - 1876
aural and ophthalmic surgeon, archaeologist, ethnologist, antiquarian, biographer, statistician, naturalist, topographer, historian, folklorist, lived in this house from 1855 to 1876 — Map (db m24755) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Offaly), Birr — The world's first automobile fatalityhappened here on 31 August 1869
Shortly after 8:00pm that evening a pioneering steam carriage designed and built by William Parsons, the Third Earl of Rosse, left the castle gates and drove at walking pace along Oxmantown Mall before turning the corner into Cumberland (now Emmet) Street. The Kings County Chronicle of the following day records what then befell: APPALLING ACCIDENT DEATH OF THE HON. MRS. WARD On yesterday the people of Parsonstown were much excited and grieved at a sad accident which occurred in the . . . — Map (db m33198) HM
Italy, South Tyrol, Bolzano — First World War Military Hospital
Questo edificio, già convento dei padri Domenicani dal 1276 al 1790, venne adibito durante la prima guerra mondaile ad imperial-regio ospedale militare. Il Capitano Medico Dr. Lorenz Böhler, VI fondo nell’agosto del 1916 la moderna traumatologia. Dieses Gebäude, von 1276 bis 1790 Dominikanerkloster, diente im 1. Weltkrieg als K.u.K. Kriegslazarett. Hier bergündete im August 1916 der Regimentsarzt Dr. Lorenz Böhler die moderne unfallchirurgie. Italian/German – English . . . — Map (db m68733) HM
Netherlands Antilles, Sint Maarten, Philipsburg — Sint Rose HospitalGone but not Forgotten — Sint Rose Arcade
On November 9, 1908, Father B. Gijlswijk of the Roman Catholic Church opened the Sint Rose Hospital on Backstreet. It consisted of 2 tiny wooden houses and it comprised a room for patients, an operating room and space for the doctor. All patients of the islands Sint Maarten, Sint Eustatius and Saba, without discrimination of religion, were admitted to the hospital. The name of the hospital was taken from Sint Rose of Lima, recognized by the Vatican as the first saint of the New World to be . . . — Map (db m13836) HM
Philippines, Cavite Province, Corregidor Island — To the AngelsU.S. Army Nurse Corps – U.S. Navy Nurse Corps — THE ANGELS OF BATAAN AND CORREGIDOR
In honor of the valiant American military women who gave so much of themselves in the early days of World War II, they provided care and comfort to the gallant defenders of Bataan and Corregidor, they lived on a starvation diet, shared the bombing, strafing, sniping, sickness and disease while working endless hours of heartbreaking duty, these nurses always had a smile, a tender touch and a kind word for their patients, they truly earned the name: THE ANGELS OF BATAAN AND CORREGIDOR . . . — Map (db m64032) HM WM
Philippines, Manila, Binondo — William J. Burke(1873-1946)
Cardiologist, Philanthropist. Born February 17,1873, San Miguel, Manila. Obtained the degree of Doctor of Medicine at the University of Dublin, Ireland. Returned to practice his profession in Manila, 1900. Introduced and installed the first Electrocardiograph in the Philippines. Recipient of several Pontifical Orders for his Philanthropic Endeavors from various hospitals, convents, and religious orders in the country. Died July 23,1946. In his honor the city council of Manila enacted Ordinance . . . — Map (db m25027) HM
Philippines, Manila, Ermita — Philippine General HospitalPGH
In Tagalog: Itinatag sa bisa ng Kautusan bilang 1688 ng Komisyon ng Pilipinas bilang dibisyon ng Kagawaran ng Kalusugan, 1907 sa pamamagitan ni Dean C. Worcester, inilagay ang Panukulang bato Disyembere 8, 1908; Natapos, Nobyembere 30,1909. Pinasinayaan Setyembre 10, 1910. Napasailalim ng Pampublikong Pagtuturo, 1933. Tanggapan ng Pangulo, Hulyo 1939. Ibinalik sa ilalim ng Pagtuturong Pampubliko noong panahon ng pananakop ng mga Hapones; Inilipat sa Philippine Civic affairs Unit noong . . . — Map (db m25078) HM
Philippines, Manila, Intramuros — Hospital de San Juan de Dios
Here once stood the Hospital de San Juan de Dios. First known as the "Hospitalito de Santa Ana". Built in 1578 by Franciscan lay brother, Juan Clemente. Managed by the Hermandad de la Santa Misecordia with spiritual administration handled by Franciscan Order from 1596 to 1656. Became known as "Hospital de la Misericordia del Padres Franciscanos". Supervised by Brothers of San Juan de Dios from 1656 to 1865. Became popularly known by present name. Administerd by the Daughters of Charity in . . . — Map (db m25243) HM
Philippines, Manila, Intramuros — Plaza de Roma
Formerly called Plaza Mayor. Converted into a park in 1797. Renamed Plaza McKinley after U.S. President William McKinley in 1901. Renamed Plaza de Roma in 1961 to honor Sacred College of Cardinals in Rome following the elevation of first Filipino cardinals, Rufino J. Santos. Bronze monument to Carlos IV of Spain erected in 1824 as a tribute for the introduction of the smallpox vaccine in the Philippines. Fountain built in 1886. Statue replaced by Gomburza monument in the 1960s. Statue returned in 1981. — Map (db m25154) HM
South Africa, Eastern Cape, Grahamstown — Andrew Geddes Bain, Road Builder and Geologist1797 - 1864
Bain built the queen's road to Fort Beaufort via the Ecca Pass and the road through Pluto's Vale as military roads in 1837-45. His house was then near here on the Ecca Heights. He became interested in Geology in 1837 during the construction of the Queen's Road and in the area visible from this spot he worked out the stratigraphy of the Karoo System, and discovered that fossil reptiles occur in it. Bain was the father of South African Geology. — Map (db m62618) HM
South Africa, Western Cape, Aurora — B.S 1838 — Arc of the Meridian
This is the site of the Maclear beacon positioned in 1838 Near the original North terminal of the Arc of Meridian positioned by Abbe de la Caille, the first surveyor to introduce Geodetic Surveying into South Africa. — Map (db m63632) HM
Switzerland, Geneva — Swiss Family de Candolle
— Ici — Ont vécu et travaillé Pendant un siècle Les botanistes Genevois Augustin-Pyramus de Candolle — 1778 – 1841 — Alphonse de Candolle — 1806 – 1893 — Casimir de Candolle — 1836 – 1918 — Augustin de Candolle — 1868 – 1920 — Translation: — Here — Lived and worked For a century Genevan botanists Augustin-Pyramus de . . . — Map (db m34868) HM
Switzerland, Valais (Visp (district)), Zermatt — Horace Benedict de Saussure
Im Jahre 1792 bestieg Horace Benedict de Saussure Schweizerischer Naturforscher von Genf (1740 – 1799) Das Klein-Matterhorn (3883 m. u. M.) Mit Führer Coutetaus Chamonix. Mit dieser Erstbesteigung begann in Zermatt das Zeitalter Des Alpinismus Sie machte unser Dorf zur Metropolis Alpina und zum Kurort von Weltruf Anlässlich des 200 Jahrestages und der Einsegnung des Parkes bei der Kapelle Winkelmatten gedenken Wir mit grosser Wertschätzung . . . — Map (db m67996) HM
Switzerland, Zurich (Zurich) — Urania ObservatoryUraniasternwarte
1905-1907 von Gustav Gull (1858-1942) errichtet. Bauherrschaft des wohnund geschäftshauses war die private genossenschaft << Urania >>, welche auch die volkssternwarte betrieb. Seit 1936 wird die sternwarte von der volkshochschule des kantons Zürich betreut. Unter denkmalschutz seit 1989 German–English translation by Google Translate Urania Observatory 1905-1907 erected by Gustav Gull (1858-1942). Building owner of the residential and commercial building was the . . . — Map (db m67313) HM
Turks and Caicos Islands, Grand Turk, Cockburn Town — U.S. Naval Facility— Grand Turk —
In 1954 the U.S. Navy established a hydrographic research station on this northern promontory of Grand Turk, overlooking the strategic passage from the Atlantic Ocean. Quonset huts were erected to accommodate eleven officers and one-hundred enlisted men. The large water catchment can be seen within the confines of the base Known officially as the U.S. Facility for Oceanographic Research, the base was established to improve knowledge of oceanographic and acoustic conditions. The U.S. had . . . — Map (db m40833) HM
U.S Virgin Islands, St Croix, Christiansted — Millennium MonumentUnited States Virgin Islands — January 1, 2000
Since the dawn of consciousness, time has been measured by the movement of the sun. This marker, in the year 2000, is a continuum between all who have come before and all who are yet to come. The design concept starts with the Roman numeral “M”= 1000, “MM”=2000. The stone piers represent the abstraction of the two “M”s crossing at 90 degrees to each other. The alignment of the shadow pole and marker pin designates the azimuth of the sun on January 1, 2000. . . . — Map (db m60837) HM
Alabama (Calhoun County), Jacksonville — Confederate Hospital
This Church was used for a Confederate Hospital During the War Between The States Erected by General John H. Forney Chapter U.D.C. Sept 27, 1937 — Map (db m36539) HM
Alabama (Colbert County), Tuscumbia — Yellow Fever Epidemic 1878 / The 31 Victims of Yellow Fever Who died in Tuscumbia
Side AYellow Fever Epidemic 1878 Taking 31 Lives in Tuscumbia Citizen's Relief Committee: F.H. Aydlett, H.M. Finley, J.J. Davis, James Jackson, Chm. J.W. Rand Jr., F.A. Ross, J.N. Sampson, Sec. and C. A. Womble. This committee, together with volunteers of both white and black~~ assisted by trained nurses brought from Memphis~~ nursed the sick, carried supplies, prepared the bodies, dug graves, and buried the dead. Doctors, Serving around the . . . — Map (db m29263) HM
Alabama (Cullman County), Cullman — Weiss CottageCullman’s Oldest House
Preservation of this Weiss Cottage was initiated by the Cullman County Historical Society and implemented by the Cullman County Federation of Women’s Clubs, City of Cullman Bicentennial Commission and the City of Cullman Community Development Agency. The landscaping was directed by the Cullman Federation of Garden Clubs. Dr. Aldo Weiss, practical physician and accoucheur, purchased the property from the Louisville & Nashville Railroad Company in 1875, lived in this house, had his office in . . . — Map (db m33836) HM
Alabama (Dallas County), Selma — Mabry - Jones Home
This Creek Revival dwelling was built c. 1850 by Dr. Albert Gallatin Mabry, a prominent physician and member of the Alabama Legislature. Dr. Mabry was a leader in organizing the Alabama State Medical Association and instrumental in passing legislation which established the State’s first hospital for the insane. This home was the residence during and after the War Between the States of Dr. Mabry’s step-daughter, Gertrude Tartt Jones, and her husband, Captain Catesby ap Roger Jones, a Confederate . . . — Map (db m38490) HM
Alabama (Elmore County), Wetumpka — Bartram's Trail
William Bartram, America’s first native born artist-naturalist, passed through Elmore County during the Revolutionary era, making the first scientific notations of its flora, fauna and inhabitants. In 1776 the appointed botanist of Britain’s King George III described the area at Fort Toulouse as “one of the most eligible situations for a city in the world; a level plain between the conflux of two majestic rivers…" — Map (db m69431) HM
Alabama (Etowah County), Attalla — Camp SibertWorld War II 1942-1945
On 6/18/1942 the U.S. took possession of 36,300 acres in Etowah and adjoining St. Clair County to establish Alabama's first Chemical Warfare Center. The area was dedicated on 12/25/1942 and named for U.S. Army M/G William Luther Sibert, first Chief of Chemical Warfare Service and a native of Etowah County. The camp served as a Unit Training Center and a Replacement Training Center for the CWS and could accommodate up to 30,000 troops. Forty-seven percent of all CWS units of WW II were trained here. The camp was deactivated on 12/31/1945. — Map (db m75194) HM
Alabama (Etowah County), Gadsden — Sisters Missionary Servants Of The Most Blessed Trinity
On January 25, 1925 the Sisters acquired the 25 - bed Gadsden General Hospital on Chestnut Street and renamed it Holy Name of Jesus Hospital. The Hospital grew under the leadership of the Founders, Father Thomas A. Judge, C. M. and Mother Mary Boniface Keasey, M. S. B. T. In 1931 a new 120 - bed hospital was constructed on this site on land purchased from the Moragne family. Other additions were made during the 1960s and 1970s and the capacity was increased to 281 beds. In 1991 the Sisters . . . — Map (db m39141) HM
Alabama (Hale County), Greensboro — Gayle - Tunstall House
Built in 1828 by John Gayle, sixth governor of Alabama. Birthplace of Amelia Gayle Gorgas, wife of Gen. Josiah Gorgas, Chief of Ordnance, CSA, mother of Wm. Crawford Gorgas, US Surgeon General who freed Canal Zone of yellow fever. For many years was the home of the Hobson - Tunstall family: Wiley C. Tunstall, member of first Alabama R. R. Commission; his son, Alfred Moore Tunstall, Alabama legislator for 39 years and twice Speaker of House. — Map (db m33744) HM
Alabama (Hale County), Prairieville — Dr. Benjamin M. Duggar1872-1956
Discover of the antibiotic, Aureomycin Son of a beloved country doctor, he carried a dedicated spirit to the frontiers of science Having won degrees at Alabama, Auburn, Missouri, Harvard and Cornell, he taught at Cornell, Missouri, Wisconsin, completing his researches and discoveries at Lederle Laboratories His discoveries opened a new era in medicine helping physicians save the lives of millions. Site of birthplace and boyhood home - 300 yards. — Map (db m38191) HM
Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — Jordan Home2834 Highland Avenue
Dr. Mortimer Harvie Jordan and his wife, Florence E. Mudd, constructed their home between 1906 and 1908. After service in the Confederate army, Jordan studied medicine in Cincinnati and New York (under Alabama's famous gynecologist, Dr. J. Marion Sims). As a doctor in Jefferson County, he is especially remembered for his tireless work in the 1873 cholera epidemic. He served on the State Board of Health (1879-83), as president of the State Medical Association (1884), and as chair of materia . . . — Map (db m26743) HM
Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — Pauline Bray Fletcher1878 - 1970
In Tribute to Pauline Bray Fletcher 1878 - 1970 The First Black Registered Nurse of Alabama Through self-sacrifice, perseverance founded in 1926 Camp Pauline Bray Fletcher. Renewing the faith and the good health of all black children. — Map (db m27393) HM
Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — School of Medicine
Front of Marker: Opened as Alabama Medical College in 1859 in Mobile by Josiah C. Nott and other physicians as part of the University of Alabama. Closed by the Civil War in 1861 it reopened in 1868. Reorganized in 1897, it became the Medical Department and in 1907 the School of Medicine of the University of Alabama. The Mobile School was closed and moved to Tuscaloosa in 1920 as a two year basic medical science program, which was offered through 1941 Reverse Side: . . . — Map (db m34052) HM
Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — St. Vincent’s HospitalBirmingham’s Oldest Hospital
Named for St. Vincent de Paul, founder of the Daughters of Charity in France in 1633, the hospital opened December 20, 1898 in the temporarily rented Henry F. DeBardelaben mansion at 206 15th Street South. Father Patrick A. O’Reilly founded the hospital together with Sisters Antonia, Benedicta, Patricia and Placida. Filling Birmingham’s desperate need for a hospital, the magnificent original building was dedicated on this site on November 29, 1900 at a cost of $223,000. The State’s first School . . . — Map (db m27523) HM
Alabama (Jefferson County), Mountain Brook — First Tuberculosis Sanatorium
1,000 feet East a small group of tents erected May, 1910 by the Anti Tuberculosis Association of Jefferson County constituted the first effort to aid victims of tuberculosis in North Alabama. — Map (db m26964) HM
Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — Dr. Hicks Boulevard
This boulevard was named in honor of Dr. Leonard Jerry Hicks by the City of Florence in 1981. Dr. Hicks was a prominent Black leader of the community and was recognized for his skills as a physician across the State of Alabama. He was born September 20, 1899, at Plant City, Florida, and died September 27, 1973, at Florence. Dr. Hicks' medical office was located near this site. — Map (db m35257) HM
Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — Pesthouse and Cemetery / Pestilences1866 / "Prior to 20th Century"
Side 1 Following an outbreak of the dreaded plaque, smallpox (Variola), at Florence during the winter of 1865-66, the Board of Alderman adopted a resolution on January 2, 1866, that a Pesthouse be “erected at the vineyard as soon as possible.” According to tradition, this Pesthouse, believed to have been a simple two-room log structure, was located in this area where people with infectious diseases could be isolated from community. Also located nearby is a small cemetery . . . — Map (db m28464) HM
Alabama (Lawrence County), Moulton — Judge Thomas M. Peters
A scientist of national fame, Peters (1810-1888) lived for many years in Moulton with his wife Naomi (Leetch), a relative of President James K. Polk, who possibly visited here. A man of many talents, Peters was a noted linguist, early civil rights and women's suffrage activist, and lawyer. At various times, he was a newspaper publisher, educator, state representative and senator, Alabama Supreme Court Chief Justice, Alabama Constitutional Convention delegate, and a pro-Union Republican leader. . . . — Map (db m69670) HM
Alabama (Lee County), Auburn — Cary HallBuilt 1940 — A Memorial to Dr. Charles Allen Cary (1861-1935)
(Side 1) Dr. Charles Cary, a native of Iowa and graduate of Iowa State in 1887, came to Auburn in 1892 and taught the first class of veterinary medicine at Alabama Polytechnic Institute. He has been called the Father of Veterinary Medicine in the South. In 1896, he helped to establish the first meat and milk inspection system in the United States. Named the first Alabama State Veterinarian in 1905, Dr. Cary became the dean of the newly formed College of Veterinary Medicine at Auburn . . . — Map (db m74436) HM
Alabama (Lee County), Opelika — African-American Rosemere CemeteryLee County
Side 1 On February 9, 1876, the City of Opelika paid D.B. Preston $80 for two acres of land to establish an African-American section of Rosemere Cemetery. This rectangular area of the cemetery contains 176 blocks, with 16 being partial blocks. A full block has 32 grave spaces. Dr. John Wesley Darden (1876-1949) settled in Opelika in 1903. He became the first African-American doctor within a 30 mile radius. He married Miss Maude Jean Logan. After they were married, Dr. and Mrs. Darden . . . — Map (db m75139) HM
Alabama (Lee County), Opelika — Darden House
Dr. John Wesley Darden, was the first African American physician to treat patients within a 30-mile radius of Opelika. He built the Darden House in 1904, and later married Maude Jean Logan of Montgomery. Dr. and Mrs. Darden shaped many lives through their commitment to the community by providing better health care and education. The Darden House became the social and political center of the African American community in Opelika. Dr. Darden sometimes saw patients in a clinic on the main floor . . . — Map (db m75131) HM
Alabama (Macon County), Notasulga — Camp WattsNamed for Thomas H. Watts — CSA Attorney General (1862-63) and Alabama Governor (1863-65)
The camp on this site served as a military hospital, a camp of conscription and instruction, a supply depot, and a cemetery during the War Between the States. At one time, there were hundreds of headstones and rocks marking the final resting place of soldiers who were buried here. The Camp Watts conscription camp was ordered closed after the fall of Vicksburg on July 4, 1863. The hospital remained open, staffed by volunteers under the guidance of Juliet Opie Hopkins who relied on charitable . . . — Map (db m73529) HM
Alabama (Madison County), Huntsville — Burritt Museum
Situated on 167 acres of some of the most scenic land in North Alabama, the museum and its grounds contain items of local and national interest. This property was willed to the City of Huntsville in 1955 by Dr. William Henry Burritt (1869-1955), physician and philanthropist. Open to the Public — Map (db m27876) HM
Alabama (Madison County), Huntsville — Historic Viduta / Hotel Monte Sano
(Front):Historic Viduta "Viduta"-derived from Spanish "vida" meaning "life" In a time when yellow fever, malaria, and cholera threatened, Dr. Thomas Fearn and his brothers Robert and George were drawn by the cool air and medicinal springs to establish a small colony on the northern section of Monte Sano Mountain in 1827. In 1833 the town of Viduta was officially established. This area contains a variety of architectural styles dating from the late 1800's. (Back): Hotel . . . — Map (db m27795) HM
Alabama (Madison County), Huntsville — Saturn V
Used during the Apollo Lunar Landing Program of the 1960's and 1970's, the Saturn V rocket remains the largest, most powerful rocket ever built. This full scale mock up was completed in July 1999 to serve as the local point for the 30th anniversary celebration of the first manned lunar landing. The U.S. Space & Rocket Center dedicated this replica to the memory of Dr. Wernher von Braun and to the brave men and women who helped make the dreams of spaceflight a reality. The Apollo . . . — Map (db m69676) HM
Alabama (Mobile County), Mobile — Office of Dr. Henry S. LeVert, 1804-1864.
Mobile Physician, 1829-1864. Son of Dr. Claudeus LeVert, who came to Virginia as fleet surgeon under General Rochambeau. This Italianate style building served as a doctor's office for one hundred years, 1858-1954. Preserved by the action of the Mobile County Commission, May 1971. — Map (db m40667) HM
Alabama (Mobile County), Mt. Vernon — Mount Vernon Arsenal and Barracks/Searcy Hospital
(obverse) Mount Vernon Arsenal and Barracks Established 1828 by Congress to store arms and munitions for U. S. Army. Original structures completed 1830's. Arsenal appropriated by Confederacy 1861; equipment moved to Selma facilities. After Civil War used as U. S. Army barracks; from 1887-1894 served as holding ground for Apache Indian prisoners. Deeded to State of Alabama 1895. Josiah Gorgas, later Chief of Ordnance of Confederacy, stationed here 1850's; Dr. Walter . . . — Map (db m70593) HM
Alabama (Montgomery County), Maxwell Air Force Base — Monument to Powered Flight
In tribute to the perseverance and achievements of the Wright Brothers and the leadership and foresight of the Citizens of Montgomery, Alabama. Together they established the nation's first school of civil aviation in March, 1910, launching America on her journey to the stars. 18 September 1985 — Map (db m64567) HM
Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — City of St. Jude/The Selma to Montgomery March
(side 1) City of St. Jude Founded by Father Harold Purcell in the 1930s, the City of St. Jude included church, school, medical facilities, social center and rectory. Its mission was to provide spiritual, educational, social and health services for Montgomery's black citizens. Distinguished for its Romanesque architecture and landscaping, site was designed by architects William Calham and Joseph Maschi. Leading the way in nondiscriminatory health care, the institution helped . . . — Map (db m71091) HM
Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — Dr. J. Marion Sims
This tablet marks the site of the office and infirmary of DR. J. MARION SIMS Here, in 1845, he performed the first closure of a vesico-vaginal fistula with wire suture, using a pewter spoon as speculum. This operation made him famous throughout the world. — Map (db m36576) HM
Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — Forest Avenue's Medical Facilities / Oak Park Montgomery's First Public Park
Side A Forest Avenue's Medical Facilities With the growth of the Highland Park suburb in the 1890s, a medical community developed along Forest Avenue. In 1895, Dr. Isaac Watkins opened Highland Park Sanatorium in three frame houses in the 500 block. In early 1920s, Watkins sold to Dr. T. Brannon Hubbard who practiced in one and conducted a nursing school in another. Later, he built Hubbard Hospital adjacent to them. Dr. Hubbard closed his hospital in 1956, but continued to . . . — Map (db m71264) HM
Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — John Allan WyethM.D., L.L.D.
Confederate Soldier Surgeon and Author Born Marshall County, Ala. 1845 Died New York City 1922 Founder of the New York Polyclinic Medical School and Hospital and of Graduate Medical and Surgical Teaching in America. — Map (db m36639) HM
Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — Office of Dr. Luther Leonidas HillOffice Site of Dr. J. Marion Sims
(Side A):Office of Dr. Luther Leonidas HillThis early 20th-century building was office of Dr. L.L. Hill who, in 1902, performed first open heart surgery in the Western Hemisphere when he sutured stab wound in young boy's heart. A Montgomerian, Hill graduated in medicine from Jefferson Medical College and the University of the City of New York by the time he was 21. He then studied in London with the world renowned Dr. Joseph Lister. Hill practiced from 1884 until 1932, pioneering new . . . — Map (db m36575) HM
Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — Percy Lavon JulianScientist and Humanitarian — 1899-1975
Born on the west side of Holt Street, April 11, 1899, Percy Lavon Julian entered Depauw University in 1916; graduated in chemistry with Phi Beta Kappa honors. Earned master's from Harvard, Ph.D. at the University of Vienna. His studies led to a synthetic drug for glaucoma. Experiments with soybean oils resulted in Compound S, an affordable synthetic form of cortisone for arthritis treatment. Julian's work included developments in production of artificial hormones and a foam for fighting fires . . . — Map (db m71087) HM
Alabama (Morgan County), Valhermoso Springs — Valhermoso Springs"Vale of Beauty"
The restorative qualities of the mineral springs here attracted settlement in the early 1800s. Variously known as Chunn Springs (after Lancelot Chunn) and Manning Springs (after Robert Manning), the spot was named for early developers of the resort where a hotel and surrounding cabins were erected between 1818 and 1823. By 1834, when the first post office was established, it was called White Sulphur Springs. Jean Joseph Giers acquired the hotel and surrounding property in 1856, renaming it . . . — Map (db m37208) HM
Alabama (Shelby County), Calera — James Daniel HardyMay 14, 1918 – February 19, 2003
Side 1 James Hardy and his twin brother, Julian, were born and reared in Newala, Alabama, 3 miles east of Montevallo. He attended the consolidated grammar school nearby which had 3 rooms for the 6 grades, then attended high school in Montevallo. James received his BA from the University of Alabama in 1938, and his MD in 1942 from the University of Pennsylvania, and continued there for his surgical residency and junior faculty experience. In 1951, he became Director of Surgical . . . — Map (db m76244) HM
Alabama (Tallapoosa County), Dadeville — Grafenberg Medical Institute1852 - 1861
Alabama’s first medical school. Trained physicians who rendered great service to the State and Confederacy. Closed by war and death of its founder, Philip M. Shepard, M.D. — Map (db m28741) HM
Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — Amelia Gayle Gorgas1826-1913
Daughter of John Gayle, Governor of Alabama. Wife of Josiah Gorgas, Brigadier General, C. S. A. Mother of William Crawford Gorgas, Surgeon General, U. S. A. Untiring nurse in Confederate Hospitals, 1861-1865. First Historian Alabama Division, U. D. C. 1897-1899. Matron of University Hospital, 1879-1907. Librarian, University of Alabama, 1883-1907. In commemoration of this noble record, and of her exalted personal character, this memorial tribute is erected by the Alabama Division, . . . — Map (db m33653) HM
Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — Bryce Hospital
Alabama state hospitals inspired by Dorothea Dix in 1849. Opened 1861. Peter Bryce, J. T. Searcy and W. D. Partlow were the superintendents during the next 87 years. — Map (db m40480) HM
Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — Bryce Hospital Cemetery #2
One of four historic cemeteries located on the campus of Bryce Hospital, Alabama's oldest mental health facility, this cemetery was established in 1922 and was closed for burials in 1953. It contains approximately 1550 burials mostly marked with simple, chronologically numbered concrete grave markers that correspond to cemetery ledger books in the possession of the Alabama Department of Mental Health. Bryce Hospital is one of the most historic and architecturally significant public institutions . . . — Map (db m40449) HM
Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — Druid City Hospital School Of Nursing
Constructed in 1923 through gift of J. T. Horne, this building occupied by Druid City Hospital School of Nursing from 1923 to 1947. Used by University of Alabama from 1951 to 1954 to first state supported collegiate school of nursing in Alabama. — Map (db m29608) HM
Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — Gorgas House
Built 1829 as University dining hall. Remodeled as a residence 1840. Occupied by Gorgas family 1879-1953 (Reverse): Preserved as a memorial to: General Josiah Gorgas (1818-1883) Chief of Ordnance, C. S. A. 1861-1865 President of the University 1878-1879 Mrs. Amelia Gayle Gorgas (1826-1913) University Librarian 1883-1906 General William Crawford Gorgas (1854-1920) Surgeon General, United States Army Sanitary engineer whose work in eliminating Yellow . . . — Map (db m29301) HM
Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — Maxwell Hall
Here, on the highest point of the original campus, stands the first celestial observatory at The University of Alabama and one of the oldest observatory buildings in the United States. Through the efforts of Professor F. A . P. Barnard, the first section of this building was completed in 1844. Prominently visible today are both the eighteen-foot dome and the north-south ceiling aperture above the west wing. Under the dome, Barnard installed an eight-inch refracting telescope, and for the . . . — Map (db m34842) HM
Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — Old Bryce Cemetery
This is the oldest of four historic cemeteries located on the campus of Bryce Hospital, Alabama's oldest mental health facility. The first recorded burial dates to 1861. While only a few graves are currently marked, it is estimated that thousands of individuals are buried here. Bryce Hospital is one of the most historic and architecturally significant public institutions in the U.S. Established in 1852 at the height of the psychiatric reform movement known as "moral treatment," the hospital was . . . — Map (db m40450) HM
Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — Oliver-Barnard HallCollege of Arts and Sciences
Erected: 1889 Reconstructed: 2000 Named for professor, scientist, and photographer F.A.P. Barnard who pioneered the study of astronomy at The University of Alabama and established its chapter of Phi Beta Kappa in 1851. On August 26, 2000, rededicated Oliver-Barnard Hall in honor of alumni and friend John T. Oliver Jr., trustee of The University of Alabama, and established as a Blount Undergraduate Initiative Academic House. During his 28 years on the Board of Trustees (1971-1999), . . . — Map (db m29402) HM
Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — Replicas gates for Northington General Hospital
These gates are replicas of the gates for Northington General Hospital, a U.S. Army Hospital that operated on this site during World War II. From 1947 to 1952, Northington General Hospital was the temporary home of DCH Regional Medical Center while DCH was under construction. The original gates are located at the south entrance of Snow Hinton Park. Sponsored by DCH Health System in honor of its employees and West Alabama veterans. — Map (db m35517) HM
Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — Smith Hall, 1908
Named for Eugene Allen Smith (1841-1927), University Professor and State Geologist, who served the State in this dual capacity for fifty-four years. Smith rebuilt the collections of the Alabama Museum of Natural History, which had been destroyed by Federal Troops in 1865. As State Geologist he made an unparalleled contribution to knowledge of the State's mineral resources. — Map (db m29403) HM
Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — The Jemison Home
Built by Robert Jemison Jr. Completed 1862, the 26 room Italian Villa style mansion is distinguished by its octagonal cupola and delicate carved fretwork. Jemison, a member of Alabama Legislature for 20 years (1840-63), 1861 Secession Convention (he voted against secession), Confederate States Senate 1863-65, helped establish Alabama Insane Hospital. Boyhood home Robert Jemison Van de Graaff, inventor of generator used in splitting the atom and of William “Bully Van de Graaff, first All . . . — Map (db m35321) HM
Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — The Little Round House
Constructed as a guard house for the Alabama Corps of Cadets during the early 1860's, the Little Round House provided shelter from inclement weather for cadets on sentry duty. Until 1865, it also housed the University Drum Corps, which was composed of rented slaves. One of the few University buildings not destroyed by Union forces when the campus was burned in 1865, this building became the office of the University surgeon in 1871, and was used later by non-military students as a residence. In . . . — Map (db m25387) HM
Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — Tuomey HallCollege of Arts and Sciences
Erected: 1888 Reconstructed: 2002 Designed by Montgomery architect W. A. Crossland and named for noted professor and state geologist Michael Tuomey. Tuomey's survey resulted in the landmark 1849 geological map of Alabama and his work began the Geological Survey of Alabama. Tuomey Hall originally housed the University of Alabama's chemistry laboratories and offices for the Geological Survey. From 1926 to 1999, it housed the University's Army Reserve Officer Training Corps program. . . . — Map (db m29400) HM
Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — Tuscaloosa County Veterans Memorial
Provided by local veterans and other dedicated citizens, this memorial pays tribute to all veterans of Tuscaloosa County who were engaged in the nine major American wars, 1776-1976. Rising centrally is the mainmast of World War II heavy cruiser USS Tuscaloosa, which fought gallantly in five crucial campaigns. Surrounding the mast are nine granite tablets depicting the wars, within a broken circle, hopefully symbolizing the end of warfare. On this site stood the chapel of the 140 acre . . . — Map (db m35475) HM
Alaska (Denali Borough), Denali National Park — Mountains in Motion / Hot Rocks
Mountains in Motion Though the visible glaciers appear remote - gleaming between distant peaks - the valley below is strewn with signs of masses glaciation: stranded boulders, gouged-out ponds, and gravel outwash plains. The last big glacial advance plowed through this valley about 10,000 years ago. To a geologist’s eye, the landscape is still active with glaciers. Denali’s wandering meltwater rivers, cloudy with glacial silt and rock fragments, are evidence of ongoing glaciation and . . . — Map (db m71362) HM
Alaska (Fairbanks North Star Borough), Fairbanks — James A. MapleP. E. Arctic Pipeline Pioneer — 1937 - 2001
Dr. Maple was a structural engineer and principal designer of the trans-Alaska pipeline. He holds three patents for his development of innovative pipe supports that enabled the warm oil pipeline to safely traverse areas of permafrost. He pioneered the use of sophisticated structural analysis for pipelines, now used on arctic pipelines worldwide. A graduate of Purdue University, he was a major contributor not only during design and construction but also continued to provide engineering expertise . . . — Map (db m58949) HM
Alaska (Kenai Peninsula Borough), Moose Pass — Gold Discoveries Trigger Stampede
Prospectors found gold in 1895 under the present Canyon Creek Highway Bridge and on Mills Creek. Those discoveries launched a rush to Turnagain Arm more than a year before the Klondike Gold Rush. Prospectors Poke Around After gold was discovered near Hope in 1890, prospectors organized the Turnagain Arm Mining District. The number of gold seekers grew to 300 by 1895. Some searched along Sixmile Creek, and its tributaries. Sanford J. Mills and Benedict C.[bullet hole] found gold . . . — Map (db m49599) HM
Arizona (Apache County), Springerville — 18 — White Mountain Hospital
Built during the great depression using native stone & W.P.A. labor, this twenty-bed facility finally opened in 1939 when a doctor agreed to come to Round Valley to finish, lease & run the hospital for 10 years. — Map (db m36649) HM
Arizona (Maricopa County), Fort McDowell — Grave of Dr. Carlos Montezuma(Wassaja) — 1855-1923
Greatest of the educated Apaches, this Mohave-Apache Indian was taken captive at the age of Six by Pima Indians. He was sold to a white man who educated him as a physician. Dr. Montezuma had a splendid practice in Chicago and became a champion of Indian rights, but he died of tuberculosis in a brush hut near here, refusing all medical care. — Map (db m27680) HM
Arizona (Pima County), Tucson — Cannon-Douglas Residence
Dr. William Austin Cannon had this house built during 1904-1905. He was the first resident botanist with the Carnegie Desert Laboratory in 1902, and worked there until 1926. Dr. Cannon sold the house in 1913 to Dr. Andrew Ellicott Douglass, an astronomer, who in 1896 had located the site for Lowell Observatory in Flagstaff. Dr. Douglass, founder of dendrochronology, also built the Steward Observatory at the University of Arizona. Due to his early leadership, the University of Arizona is one of . . . — Map (db m31529) HM
Arizona (Pima County), Tucson — The Stork's Nest
The Sanborn Fire Maps for the City of Tucson first recorded this building in 1883 as an adobe dwelling with an attached ramada. Between 1901 and 1930 additions were made to the main building and construction was completed on the outbuilding behind you. The original building was constructed in the idigenous Sonoran style characterized by a flush-fronted adobe facade, a flat mud roof with parapet walls, stone foundations, canales (projecting roof-drains) and a horizontal mass with recessed . . . — Map (db m31200) HM
Arkansas (Carroll County), Eureka Springs — The Springs
"It is sometimes called The Basin Springs, and is invariably the first resort for visitors. If there is any one in the city you desire to find, if no other way, go to the Basin Springs, seat yourself comfortable, and await his coming." Prof. L.J. Kalklosch, The Healing Fountain, 1881. [Inset photo captions read] The earliest visitors to this place in the wilderness that would become Eureka Springs were here in desperate need of better health. Long known as a healing spring . . . — Map (db m63300) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Edward A. Brakenridge HouseIra A. Boynton Designer & Builder (attributed), 1892
City of Berkeley Landmark designated in 1992 Arriving in Berkeley from Massachusetts, Edward Brakenridge bought property that extended to Rose Street for this large Queen Anne-style residence, a stable, and a carriage house. Ira Boynton, like many late nineteenth-century East Bay builders who lacked formal architectural training, created vigorous, sturdy structures without refined ornamentation that followed a “carpenters esthetic.” Parts of the estate were subsequently sold, but . . . — Map (db m54512) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Gilman HallUniversity of California — Berkeley, California, 1916-1917
Gilman Hall was built in 1916-17 to accomodate an expanded College of Chemistry under the leadership of Gilbert Newton Lewis. This building provided research laboratories and teaching facilities for faculty and students specializing in physical, inorganic, and nuclear chemistry. Work here by G. N. Lewis and K. S. Pitzer helped advance the field of chemical thermodynamics and molecular structure. Research performed in Gilman Hall has resulted in two Nobel Prizes: to William F. Giauque in 1949 . . . — Map (db m15870) HM
California (Alameda County), Livermore — Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
The Laboratory opened September 2, 1952 at this site, initially as a branch of the University of California Radiation Laboratory. Prior to the Lab's opening, this 630-acre parcel was the site of Livermore Naval Air Station, a World War II pilot training facility. Founded by Ernest O. Lawrence and Edward Teller, the Atomic Energy Commission opened the Laboratory to help maintain America's superiority in nuclear deterrence and ensure national security. Throughout its history, the Lab has . . . — Map (db m25251) HM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — Chabot ObservatoryFounded 1883
This marker, dedicated June 21, 2008, celebrates Chabot Space & Science Center's 125 years of inspiring Bay Area star gazers and curious minds of all ages. From 1883-1915, an observatory on this site housed Chabot's first telescope, "Leah," an 8-inch refractor donated by Anthony Chabot. {Marker continues on next tile:} Chabot Observatory Today "Leah," Chabot's original 8-inch refractor, is still in use today at the new Space & Science Center, located in Joaquin Miller . . . — Map (db m18875) HM
California (Alameda County), Piedmont — Sulphur Springs GrottoThe Healing Powers of Mineral Springs
The first recorded visitor to the sulphur springs grotto is Isaac Holmes, a retired U.S. Senator from South Carolina, who reportedly installed a bathtub in Bushy Dell canyon in the early 1860s in order to take alfresco baths for his rheumatism. Walter Blair hoped to capitalize on the curative powers of the water when he bought the park property. According to the newspaper, ”The waters of these springs contain sulphur, magnesia, iodine and iron and are claimed by those who have . . . — Map (db m72378) HM
California (Alpine County), Markleeville — Grover Hot Springs
Telltale signs of geologic activity surround Grover Hot Springs State Park. Bold granite peaks to the northwest are the work of immense mountain building forces. Old lava flows cover hundreds of square miles to the east, giving the Markleeville area its distinctly volcanic appearance. Ice Age glaciers carved this valley into the rugged form that visitors admire today. The hot-springs here are a by-product of similar processes – the interplay of rock and fire and ice. Water melted from . . . — Map (db m13239) HM
California (Amador County), Fiddletown — Chew Kee Store
Rammed Earth "Adobe" Built 1850 Home-Office-Store of Dr. Yee, Chinese Herb Doctor — Map (db m42483) HM
California (Amador County), Sutter Creek — Sutter Creek Sanitarium1895 - 1927
Medical Offices, Surgery and Hospital of Dr. Philip Sheridan Goodman. (1867 – 1927). Office and surgery on ground floor, hospital upstairs. Miraculous and unconventional, a true Sutter Creek Character. — Map (db m29780) HM
California (Butte County), Oroville — First Pharmacy
Randall & McDermott 1855 B.S.A. Troop 29 (Seal of the American Revolution Bicentennial 1776-1976) — Map (db m65909) HM
California (Calaveras County), Murphys — Albert A. MichelsonDec. 19, 1852 – May 9, 1931
First American scientist awarded the Nobel Peace Prize (Physics – 1907); Dean of American Optics; Measured velocity of light, ether drift, standard meter, steller diameters. Lived here during childhood. — Map (db m32818) HM
California (Contra Costa County), Martinez — Birthplace of The Martini
On this site in 1874, Julio Richelieu, bartender, served up the first martini when a miner came into his saloon with a fistful of nuggets and asked for something special. He was served a "Martinez Special." After three or four drinks, however, the "Z" would get very much in the way. The drink consisted of 2/3 gin, 1/3 vermouth, a dash of orange bitters, served over crushed ice and served with an olive. Humorist James Thurber once said, "One is alright, two is too many, and three is not . . . — Map (db m57975) HM
California (Fresno County), Coalinga — “Dr. Bill”Born August 4, 1904 – Passed September 27, 1963
Dr William H. Gilliatt was born in Sommerville, Massachusetts He graduated from Aurora College, Illinois and Boston University Medical School. Dr. Gilliatt or “Dr. Bill” as he was generally called, came to Coalinga as a young doctor in 1933, the year he finished his internship at Fresno General Hospital. He served the citizens of Coalinga until his death in 1963. In his service to the Coalinga community, he supervised the births of an estimated 2,000 infants, and during a five-month . . . — Map (db m64060) HM
California (Kern County), Bakersfield — Dentist's Office
Tooth decay was a common and greatly feared ailment in earlier days. People either had to make do with a painful tooth or find someone to pull it. If a trained dentist could not be found or afforded, a blacksmith or another person who was adept at tongs was often called upon to extract the tooth. Al Kruger donated this residence in 1957. It was originally located on farmland about four miles west of downtown Bakersfield. One room homes, such as this one, were a common . . . — Map (db m25929) HM
California (Kern County), Bakersfield — Doctor's Office
Until modern medicine, contagious diseases afflicted both young and old and many died at a young age. In 1875, there were fifteen physicians in Kern County, which had a widely scattered population of approximately 2,700 people. These fifteen doctors and the many that followed could be summoned day or night, during floods and storms, to the bedside of those in need. There were many times when all a doctor could do for the suffering patient was to relieve pain, bind up wounds, . . . — Map (db m25921) HM
California (Kern County), Bakersfield — Hospital
Only the most impoverished people sought treatment at a hospital. The first county hospital in Bakersfield opened its doors to the public in January 1875. The hospital was constructed at 13th and G Streets for $1,400.00. It was a plain one-story frame building with the “most primitive facilities for the treatment of patients.” During the late 1800s, the right to feed, nurse, and even bury patients was awarded to the lowest bidder. As a result, care was often . . . — Map (db m27061) HM
California (Kern County), Bakersfield — Undertaker's Office
Life in the mid 1800s was difficult. The average age of death in the United States of America was around 40 years old. Disease, accidents and hard work took its toll on people lives. This exhibit displays artifacts, dating from the 1890s to the 1920s, utilized in an undertaker’s office to prepare a body for burial. This building, constructed at Kern River Park, now known as Hart Memorial Park, housed park employees and visitors. The Kern County Board of Supervisors purchased the land for the park in 1921. — Map (db m26141) HM
California (Kern County), Tehachapi — 9 — Tehachapi Hospital
Originally built by Jean Capdeville as a rooming house, it was later sold to Drs. Madge and Harold Schlotthauer in 1934. It was then used as a hospital until the 1952 earthquake. Although badly damaged, no lives were lost in the hospital. The large trees were planted before the Capdevilles built the rooming house. When the Schlotthauers rebuilt the hospital after the earthquake, they stipulated that the trees were not to be cut down. — Map (db m52819) HM
California (Los Angeles County), Carson — Robert A. Cinader
Robert A. Cinader's involvement with the Los Angeles County Fire Department began in 1971 when he filmed a pilot television movie about the county's fledgling paramedic program. "Emergency" aired in 1972 and ran as a prime time show for five years with a weekly audience of 13 million people. The show brought attention and acclaim to the Los Angeles County Fire Department. More importantly, it showed public officials across the nation that lives could be saved by local paramedic programs. . . . — Map (db m50349) HM
California (Los Angeles County), Culver City — 5 — American Legion Building
A portion of the original Spanish landgrant Rancho La Ballona The American Legion Post #46 clubhouse was dedicated on August 9, 1930. Contractor Don S. Ely erected the building on this site over the first swimming pool in the area, on land donated for this purpose by Harry H. Culver. The structure was restored by new owner, Brotman Medical Center, and re-opened in 1984. — Map (db m49954) HM
California (Los Angeles County), Culver City — 2 — The Hull Building
The Hull Building was built on this site in 1925. Dr. Foster Hull, having the interest of his profession at heart, built the most modern medical offices and hospital possible for that time. Early in the 1930's, Louis Freeman acquired the building which served Culver City in its various uses and to this date has retained its original character. — Map (db m49950) HM
California (Los Angeles County), Palmdale — The San Andreas Fault
One of the most outstanding geological feautures in California, extending for over 650 miles from Point Arena, North of San Francisco, to south of San Corconio Pass. Between twenty and thirty miles deep and more than a mile wide in some locations. The faulted sandstone and shale, contorted and sheared may be seen by looking northward from this point, where the Antelope Valley Freeway cuts through the upthrusted ridge to the north. This fault is responisble for two of the greatest earthquakes in . . . — Map (db m55474) HM
California (Los Angeles County), Pasadena — Benjamin Davis WilsonDon Benito
To the memory of Benjamin Davis Wilson Don Benito 1811 – 1878 Pioneer trapper and settler who came to California in 1841 and in 1864 blazed the trail up this mountain which bears his name — Map (db m57271) HM
California (Los Angeles County), Pasadena — Harvard’s Mount Wilson Station
Station of Harvard College Observatory 1889–1890 — Map (db m57273) HM
California (Los Angeles County), Pasadena — Michelson Pier on Mount Wilson
On this pier in 1926 Albert Abraham Michelson measured the velocity of light by means of a beam of light transmitted to Mount San Antonio and reflected back to this station — Map (db m57274) HM
California (Los Angeles County), San Pedro — Anna Lee Fisher - Astronaut — Los Angeles Maritme Museum
San Pedro’s First Woman in Space Aboard Space Shuttle Discovery Nov. 8, 1984 Presented by an Admiring Community Dec. 11, 1984 — Map (db m52529) HM
California (Marin County), Tiburon — Ayala Cove
Lieut. Juan de Ayala of the Royal Spanish Navy sailed through the Golden Gate on Aug. 5, 1775. He commanded the packet-boat San Carlos, which was the first known ship in the waters of San Francisco Bay. On the 13th day of August, Ayala anchored this vessel in the cove of an island he named ‘Isla de los Angeles’, or Angel Island and from here directed the first survey of the bay. In commemoration of these events this cove is hereby dedicated as Ayala Cove on the 6th day of September, 1969. — Map (db m69206) HM
California (Marin County), Tiburon — Caring for Soldiers
This brick hospital, built in 1904, was the third hospital to be built for Camp Reynolds. The Army located hospitals treating ill and injured soldiers away from buildings housing healthy troops to prevent the spread of disease and fear. — Map (db m69249) HM
California (Marin County), Tiburon — Protecting the Public Health
In 1891 the U.S. Marine Hospital Service, now the U.S. Public Health Service, opened a Quarantine Station in Ayala Cove. Marine Hospital Service officers inspected ships looking for signs of illness among the passengers and crew. If contagious diseases such as smallpox, black plague, or cholera were discovered, everyone aboard the ship was quarantined at the station for 14 days and treated. The ship’s cargo and passenger baggage were disinfected and fumigated using steam and a cocktail of . . . — Map (db m69248) HM
California (Marin County), Tiburon — Treating the Troops
Construction for this 70-bed hospital began in 1911. The hospital treated soldiers returning from overseas for discharge. In 1918, the hospital annex was added to care for men with lingering illnesses. During the Nike Missile period (1954-1962), this building was converted to a barracks. You can still see caduceus (medical emblem) behind the crossed cannon artillery insignias near the roof. — Map (db m69301) HM
California (Merced County), Los Banos — Guglielmo Marconi1874 - 1937
Who giving voice to silence benefitted the world irradiating a new glorious light upon Italy I Figli D'Italia of Los Banos Devoted to their great country of adoption but unforgetful of their mother country, in perpetual memory of their admiration and great love Dedicated Dec. 19, 1937 Done by G. B. Ghilotti, Modesto Cal. — Map (db m41187) HM
California (Mono County), Bridgeport — Poor Farm
It began as the county hospital in Bodie in 1879. With the decline of Bodie in the mid 1880’s, the hospital was moved eventually to a site east of this monument and Highway 395 to the rear of the small meadow that you see. At that time it became known as the “Poor Farm”, a refuge for the aged, ill, and penniless. It continued to operate for several years, but the high cost of maintaining the facility forced its closure and the building and property were put up for bid and sold to a local rancher. — Map (db m11347) HM
California (Monterey County), Monterey — Ed Ricketts’s BackyardHistoric Cannery Row
You are looking at the backyard of Ed Ricketts’s lab, Pacific Biological Laboratories, where Ricketts lived and worked during the 1930 and 1940s. He collected and preserved tide pool plants and animals and sold them to schools around the world. What do you think that curious grid of concrete containers was used for? The containers held the larger animals Ricketts collected; sharks, ray and octopuses.

Farther back at the ocean’s edge lie tide pools that recall Ricketts’s belief in the . . . — Map (db m55143) HM

California (Monterey County), Monterey — Edward Ricketts1897-1948
Marine biologist, philosopher, writer, ecologist, and friend to many. Immortalized as “Doc” of John Steimbeck’s Cannery Row, the real man had a profound influence on the thinking of writers, artists, and scientists through his non-teleological approach to the study of life. Steinbeck described him as a man whose “mind had no horizons, he has an interest in everything.” At his laboratory on Cannery Row, he built up the most comprehensive file of marine tidal . . . — Map (db m54904) HM
California (Monterey County), Monterey — Monterey Bay Aquarium / Hovden CanneryThere was a cannery here before the aquarium
The Monterey Bay Aquarium stands on the site of the old Hovden Cannery. In its heyday, the cannery processed tons of sardines every day. But by the 1960s the sardines had disappeared, and the cannery closed its doors in 1972. Now you can see shimmering schools of silvery sardines - and many other local animals - alive and thriving in the aquarium's world-renowned exhibits. — Map (db m41620) HM
California (Monterey County), Monterey — One Man, Two WorldsHistoric Cannery Row
Doc, the legend John Steinbeck used his close friend and collaborator, Edward Ricketts, as a model for the famous fictional character Doc. In the novels Cannery Row and Sweet Thursday, set in the 1930s and 1940s, the kindly Doc is a gentle, insightful and observant philosopher-scientist who lives and works on the street that has become the world-famous Cannery Row.

Ed Ricketts, the scientist Ed Ricketts was a serious and dedicated scientist. He researched the tide pools of the . . . — Map (db m55142) HM

California (Monterey County), Monterey — ScienceHistoric Cannery Row
Edward F. Ricketts, owner-operator of Pacific Biological Laboratories, was described by a biographer as “a devoted and rational biologist who sought to uncover scientific truth.” A true renaissance man, Ricketts wrote extensively on a wide variety of subjects ranging from Bach to Buddhism.

Ricketts’s book Between Pacific Tides, coauthored with Jack Calvin in 1939, is still considered a classic of intertidal marine ecology. In 1941 he coauthored with John Steinbeck The Sea . . . — Map (db m55145) HM

California (Monterey County), Monterey — The Real “Docs”Historic Cannery Row
Pictured at the right are scientists Frances Clark, W.I. Scofield, Richard Croker, M.J. Linar and J.B. Philips. Working out of Hopkins Marine Station, this group monitored the growing sardine industry by collecting samples from the canneries and keeping catch records of the local fishing fleet. Frances Clark was the first person to be awarded a doctorate in fish and game management. She ultimately headed all of the California Department of Fish and Game sardine programs.

California . . . — Map (db m55140) HM

California (Monterey County), Pacific Grove — Hopkins Marine StationHopkins scientists study the biology of the bay
The building across the cove is Hopkins Marine Station. It was the first marine laboratory on the West Coast, founded in 1892. Part of Stanford University, its facilities are dedicated to the study of marine life. What biologists at Hopkins learn about marine life can benefit us all, because the better we understand life in the bay, the better we can protect it. — Map (db m41618) HM
California (Napa County), Napa — Napa State Hospital
Situated on 192 acres of Rancho Tulocay land purchased from Don Cayetano Juarez, this hospital opened its doors in November 1875. The central building was constructed of native stone and millions of bricks made on this site. Over the years the property eventually increased to a total of 2062 acres to supply fruits, vegetables, poultry, meat and dairy products to the largely self-supported hospital. Streams to the east were dammed to provide the basis of a water system. The building survived the . . . — Map (db m54613) HM
California (Nevada County), Nevada City — 400 Broad Street
It was at this location on the afternoon of June 5, 1880 that a fire erupted in John White’s Upholstery Shop. More than fifty buildings – including the nearby New York Hotel and most of the Chinese Quarter – were destroyed within an hour, but from the ashes of that conflagration a new business district emerged and York Street was created to ensure better downtown fire protection. Then, early in the 20th Century, a doctor’s office was established here. The longest-serving physician . . . — Map (db m70882) HM
California (Orange County), Anaheim — Michelle Carew Community Courtyard
This courtyard was dedicated September 17th 1999 in loving memory of Michelle Carew. Her spirited battle against leukemia raised awareness of the National Marrow Donor Program throughout this country. In the process, her legacy has saved countless lives. “When she went to sleep, she woke up the world.” Map (db m311) HM
California (Orange County), La Habra — West Coyote Field, The La Habra Research Laboratory
This site is on the northern edge of the West Coyote oil field, one of the largest fields in the Los Angeles Basin. This field produced about 250 million barrels of oil from sandstone at a depth of about 3,000'. West Coyote was active from 1903 to 1996, and it was one of the foundations of the oil industry in Southern California. This field played a significant role in the early history of both the city of La Habra and of Chevron Corporation. On the flat land south of here Chevron operated . . . — Map (db m58909) HM
California (Orange County), Mission Viejo — FossilWhale Exhibit
The main exhibit displays a fossil right whale skull in profile. It was recovered from the marine siltstone member of the Capistrano Formation (3.5 to 5 million years old) in the 1970's right here in Mission Viejo. It is a fossil skull from the family Balaenidea (Bowhead Whales and Right Whales). The vertebral column on exhibit behind the whale skull although not associated with the skull, was also discovered in the city of Mission Viejo. This fossil, which unearthed by the Mission . . . — Map (db m72036) HM
California (Orange County), Mission Viejo — Whale Fossil
Originally dedicated on June 4, 1977 by the Mission Viejo Cultural and Heritage Association. The Fossil was unearthed in the southern part of the city in 1976, and is a partial skull of a Baleen whale belonging to the Bowhead or right whale family. Alive over 3.5 to 5 million years ago, this whale would have been over 58 feet long and weighed 50 tons with a skull 9 feet across and 14.5 feet long. This is the only fossil skull of this type on scientifically display in California. — Map (db m72035) HM
California (Plumas County), Chester — Dave Stratford 1945 – 2001
This is dedicated to Dave Stratford & his contributions to the Emergency Medical Services, without which many lives would have been lost. For 22 years, Dave worked everything from the ambulance to the O.R., from EMT to Paramedic. He recruited many others to serve in the EMS, spreading help throughout the area. His legacy will endure long after this simple plaque is gone. Thanks Dave — Map (db m56744) HM
California (Riverside County), Chuckwalla — 132 — 36th Evacuation Hospital (SM)
During the opening days of the World War II, more than 18,000 square miles of the Arizona and California desert were designated by the U.S. Army as a military training facility. The facility, conceived by General George Patton and referred to as the Desert Training Center (DTC), was designed to prepare troops for the rigors of desert warfare in the invasion of North Africa. Operating from 1942-1944, the DTC expanded far beyond its original scope, and became known as the California-Arizona . . . — Map (db m73098) HM
California (Riverside County), Desert Center — 992 — Site of Contractors General Hospital
In 1933, Dr. Sidney R. Garfield opened Contractors General Hospital six miles west of here. His modest facility successfully delivered health care to Colorado River Aqueduct workers through a prepaid insurance plan. Later, in association with industrialist Henry J. Kaiser, Dr. Garfield applied the lessons he first learned at the hospital to create his enduring legacy; Kaiser Permanente, the nation's largest nonprofit prepaid health care program. — Map (db m63601) HM
California (Riverside County), Indio — 111 — Dr. June Robertson McCarroll
Dr. June Robertson McCarroll was born June 30, 1867 in the Adirondacks and began her medical career in Chicago. She left a promising practice for Indio in 1904. Becoming the sole practicing physician for the entire Coachella Valley. She traveled by horseback, horse and buggy, and automobile to provide medical care throughout the valley under very primitive conditions. An encounter with a large truck on a narrow road in 1917 resulted in her Model T abandoning the road for a sandy ditch. . . . — Map (db m54985) HM
California (Riverside County), Indio — 65 — Smiley Place
In 1926 Smiley Place was built by Dr. Harry W. Smiley. It served as the first medical office in Indio, as well as a residence for he and his wife, Frances. The Smiley's made significant contributions to the social and medical development of the Indio community. — Map (db m50728) HM
California (Riverside County), Pine Cove — 26 — Speed-of-Light Experiment
From this location instruments reflected light in 1926 to Mount Wilson, 82 miles northwest. The work was one of a series of experiments conducted by Nobel Prize-winning scientist Dr. Albert A Michelson to refine the value of the speed of light. Although smoke generated in the valley below prevented measurements from being taken, the experiment encouraged Dr. Michelson to devise more accurate means of measuring the speed of light. — Map (db m50697) HM
California (Sacramento County), Folsom — 633 — Original Folsom Hydroelectric Plant
In the 1850's, Horatio Gates Livermore and later his sons, Horatio P. and Charles E. pioneered the development of ditches and dams on the American River for industry and agriculture. One historic result was Folsom Power House, which began operations in July 1895. Power was delivered to Sacramento at 11,000 volts, which was a new achievement in long distance high voltage transmission. The capital celebrated by a grand electric carnival September 9, 1895. The original generating plant, . . . — Map (db m706) HM
California (San Benito County), San Juan Bautista — The San Andreas Fault Exhibit & El Camino Real Earthquake Walk
In Celebration of the U.S.Geological Survey's Centennial 1879 - 1979 Dedicated July 4, 1979 by SAN JUAN BAUTISTA CHAMBER OF COMMERCE In Cooperation With Old Mission San Juan Bautista-Diocese of Monterey, U.S.Geological Survey-Department of the Interior, California State Historical Park-San Juan Bautista and the Citizens of San Juan Bautista, California — Map (db m15340) HM
California (San Bernardino County), Fort Irwin — Deep Space Station - 14Commemorating 40 Years of Service to the Deep Space Network — 1966 - 2006
As a communication platform: Supporting space exploration beginning with the Mariner 4 mission to Mars, and through the years providing a vital link to NASA's robot explorers across the solar system, including Voyager, Mars Exploration Rovers, Casini and Mars Reconnaissance Orbiter. As a radio/radar telescope: Studying the nearest asteroids and planets to the distant quasars and objects in the universe. "From the Desert to the Stars...Exploring our Solar System and Beyond" Map (db m50371) HM
California (San Bernardino County), Landers — 118 — The Integratron
The Integratron is the creation of George Van Tassel, and is based on the design of Moses' Tabernacle, the writings of Nikola Tesla, and telepathic directions from extraterrestrials. The domed structure 35 feet high and 55 feet in diameter, was originally constructed of wood and fiberglass without the aid of metal fasteners. In 1947 Van Tassel began operating the Giant Rock Airport a short distance northeast of here, and in 1953 initiated communications with extra terrestrials. He subsequently . . . — Map (db m53740) HM
California (San Bernardino County), Ludlow — 134 — Project Carryall
...and they shall beat their swords into plowshares, and their spears into pruning hooks: nation shall not lift up sword against nation, neither shall they learn war any more. Micah 4:3 With the end of World War II and the onset of the Cold War, America embarked on an ambitious program to ensure the nation's preeminence in the nuclear arms race. To this end Edward Teller and the Atomic Energy Commission detonated hundreds of nuclear devices underwater, underground, and in the atmosphere. . . . — Map (db m51451) HM
California (San Bernardino County), Mentone — Henry Harbinson Sinclair1858-1914
In memory of Henry Harbinson Sinclair 1858-1914 A testimonial to his high and useful service as a pioneer in the establishment and development of the hydro electric industry in California — Map (db m58597) HM
California (San Diego County), Campo — Hatfield – The Rainmaker
Charles M. Hatfield agreed with San Diego City Council members, after a four year draught, to “make it rain” sufficiently to fill Lake Morena Reservoir for $10,000. His “rain enhancing” tower and pans were erected south of this monument. Hatfield and brother Paul worked diligently burning chemicals into the sky. Suddenly it began to rain, dumping 35 inches in one month on San Diego County. Two rainstorms in January 1916 caused great devastation, destroying Sweetwater . . . — Map (db m49824) HM
California (San Francisco City and County), San Francisco — 941 — Farnsworth's Green Street Lab
In a simple laboratory on this site, 202 Green Street, Philo Taylor Farnsworth, U.S. pioneer in electronics,invented and patented the first operational all-electronic "television system" on September 7, 1927. The 21 year-old inventor and several dedicated assistants successfully transmitted the first all-electronic television image, the major breakthrough that brought the practical form of this invention to mankind. Further patents formulated here covered the basic concepts essential to modern . . . — Map (db m20900) HM
California (San Francisco City and County), San Francisco — Mint HillA Trip Through Local History — Clyde Wahrhaftig
In 1936 almost half of Mint Hill was removed to create a flat base for the Mint. In 1947 Duboce Avenue east of the Sunset Tunnel was crowded with automobiles as shoppers thronged to the farmers’ market. The area near Market and Church Streets was an Ohlone village site. This was near a stream that flowed from Twin Peaks, along 14th Street to Church Street, 15th Street and into Dolores Lagoon. To this day, heavy rains sometime flood the intersection of 14th, Church, and Market . . . — Map (db m72658) HM
California (San Francisco City and County), San Francisco — Townsend Street
This marker consists of six plaques arranged in a 2 X 3 pattern. The top left plaque is the title plaque and may contain some text. The top right plaque displayed an arrow which points in the direction of the named street. Other plaques contain biographical information on the person for whom the street is named, appropriate quotation(s) and relevant illustrations, cast in bronze. Pioneer physician in California, Dr. John Townsend and his wife came overland from Missouri in 1844, as a . . . — Map (db m72550) HM
California (San Joaquin County), Stockton — 30 — Medico-Dental BuildingSutter Office Center — 1927
Designed and built by renowned Stockton architect Frank V. Mayo, FAIA, and Howard Bissell, AIA, this is an excellent example of a commercial Gothic Style skyscraper. The steel-framed structure features a terraced façade typical of eastern urban designs. The exterior is finished in “Coat of Joseph” face brick and trimmed in sandstone colored terra cotta made in Lincoln, California. Stockton Historic Landmark No. 30 Designated by Stockton City Council 1982 — Map (db m49458) HM
California (San Luis Obispo County), Avila Beach — Pier Into The PastHistory of the Cal Poly Research Pier
Cal Poly’s Pier has undergone change throughout its history, shifting purpose from industrial use to a center for marine research & education. For thousands of years the Chumash Native Americans made their home on the Central Coast, including the Avila Beach area. 1867 The town of Avila is established when the Miguel Avila family subdivides Rancho San Miguelito. 1873 John Harford erects the Harford Pier, to facilitate shipping and trading on the Central Coast. 1908 . . . — Map (db m70381) HM
California (San Mateo County), Redwood City — Redwood City Arch
Redwood City Climate Best by Government Test This archway sign and slogan is based on the design of two earlier archway signs that once spanned the El Camino Real, designating the northern and southern entryways into Redwood City. A smaller scale replica of the original sign is located on Broadway near Spring Street. In 1925, a slogan contest was held to promote Redwood City. Wilbur H. Doxsee submitted the winning entry: “By Government Test, Our Climate is Best” which . . . — Map (db m41623) HM
California (Santa Clara County), Palo Alto — 976 — Birthplace of “Silicon Valley”
This garage is the birthplace of the world’s first high-technology region, “Silicon Valley.” The idea for such a region originated with Dr. Frederick Terman, a Stanford university professor who encouraged his students to start up their own electronics companies in the area instead of joining established firms in the East. The first two students to follow his advice were William R. Hewlett and David Packard, who in 1938 began developing their first product, an audio oscillator, in this garage. — Map (db m3402) HM
California (Santa Clara County), Palo Alto — 836 — Electronics Research Laboratory
Original site of the laboratory and factory of Federal Telegraph Company, founded in 1909 by Cyril F. Elwell. Here, with two assistants, Dr. Lee de Forest, inventor of the three-element radio vacuum tube, devised in 1911-13 the first vacuum tube amplifier and oscillator. World-wide developments based on this research led to modern radio communication, television, and the electronics age. — Map (db m2604) HM
California (Santa Clara County), Palo Alto — 1000 — First Commercially Practicable Integrated Circuit
At this site in 1959, Dr. Robert Noyce of Fairchild Semiconductor Corporation invented the first integrated circuit that could be produced commercially. Based on “planar” technology, an earlier Fairchild breakthrough, Noyce’s invention consisted of a complete electronic circuit inside a small silicon chip. His innovation helped revolutionize “Silicon Valley’s” semiconductor electronics industry, and brought profound change to the lives of people everywhere. — Map (db m54014) HM
California (Santa Clara County), Palo Alto — Semiconductor Planar Process and Integrated Circuit, 1959IEEE Milestone in Electrical Engineering and Computing
The 1959 invention of the Planar Process by Jean A. Hoerni and the Integrated Circuit (IC) based on planar technology by Robert N. Noyce catapulted the semiconductor industry into the silicon IC era. This pair of pioneering inventions lead to the present IC industry which today supplies a wide and growing variety of advanced semiconductor products used throughout the world. — Map (db m54015) HM
California (Santa Clara County), Palo Alto — 524 — Site of Juana Briones de Miranda Home on Rancho La Purisima Concepcion
In 1844 Juana de Briones de Miranda, a pioneer Latina property owner, businesswoman and humanitarian, purchased the 4,439 acre Rancho La Purisima Concepcion from Indian grantee Jose Gorgornio. The grant extended two miles south, encompassing Foothill College and most of Los Altos Hills. The site of the home that was constructed of earth inside a wooden crib is located up this street at 4155 Old Adobe Road. In addition to raising her seven children, Juana managed a large cattle ranch and was a noted curandera. — Map (db m54016) HM
California (Santa Clara County), San Jose — Amamiyla Midwife House
Our family had ten siblings. Eight of us were born at this house between 1919 and 1933. - Jimi Yamaichi — Map (db m64943) HM
California (Santa Clara County), San Jose — Dr. Warburton’s OfficeHome to an Early Santa Clara Valley Physician
Doctor Henry Hulme Warburton was one of the first physicians in the Santa Clara Valley. Born in Staffordshire, England in 1819, he emigrated to the United States in 1844. Warburton was a surgeon aboard a whaling ship when it docked in San Francisco in 1847. Like many others, he tried his hand at gold mining, but eventually settled in Santa Clara where he established his medical practice in 1848. Dr. Warburton opened his office in the 1870s. After his death in 1903 the office was occupied . . . — Map (db m52165) HM
California (Santa Clara County), San Jose — Herrold Radio Broadcasting Station
Charles Herrold, a pioneer in radio, was the first person to transmit radio programs of music and news to a listening audience. Beginning in 1909, three years before Congress’ Radio Act of 1912, Herrold broadcast from his College of Engineering and Wireless located in the Garden City Bank Building at First and San Fernando Streets. His first wife, Sybil, was the first woman disc jockey in the country; together they initiated commercial radio advertising. A tireless experimenter, Charles Herrold . . . — Map (db m30335) HM
California (Santa Clara County), San Jose — Hori Midwife House
My grandmother kept her patients in the house for five days. My mother cooked the meals and grandmother would serve them. My mother was a very good cook. My dad taught her how; he’d learned to cook while working as a houseboy to put himself through dental school. Doris Otagaki, Granddaughter to Mito Hori — Map (db m52214) HM
California (Santa Clara County), San Jose — Japanese Kuwabara Hospital
The Nishiura Brothers built this Colonial Revival structure in 1910. Named after its first resident physician from Japan, Dr. Taisuka Kuwabara, the Kumamoto Kenjin-kai (a prefectural association) established the hospital to serve the Japanese community. In 1934 the Japanese Association, an Issei organization, purchased the building to use as a community center. After World War II it became the office of the Japanese American Citizen’s League. Upon its designation as a historical landmark in . . . — Map (db m52554) HM
California (Santa Clara County), San Jose — 952 — Site of Worlds First Broadcasting Station / World’s First Broadcasting Station
First Marker: Site of World’s First Broadcasting Station On this corner stood the Garden City Bank Building, where Charles D. Herrold established Station FN, the first radio broadcasting station in the world. As a pioneer in wireless telephony (radio), Herrold established the first station in 1909 to transmit radio programs of music and news to a listening audience on a regular basis. California Registered Historical Landmark No.952 Second Marker: World’s . . . — Map (db m30327) HM
California (Santa Clara County), Santa Clara — Dr. Henry Warburton House714-716 Main Street — Point of Historical Interest
Built 1886. First medical doctor in Santa Clara. Arrived 1848. First floor one time used as pharmacy and office. Born Staffordshire England 1819. Died Santa Clara 1903. — Map (db m52898) HM
California (Santa Clara County), Santa Clara — Dr. Saxe Office Building1045 Benton Street — Point of Historical Interest
Built after 1855 to avoid patients using his residence at 1075. Dr. Arthur W. Saxe born New York 1821. Died Monterey County 1892. — Map (db m52901) HM
California (Santa Clara County), Stanford University — 834 — Development of Motion Pictures
In commemoration of the motion picture research conducted in 1878 and 1879 by Eadweard Muybridge, at the Palo Alto Stock Farm, now the site of Stanford University. This extensive photographic experiment portraying the attitudes of animals in motion was conceived by and executed under the direction and patronage of Leland Stanford. Consecutive instantaneous exposures were provided for by a battery of 24 cameras fitted with electro-shutters. — Map (db m2716) HM
California (Shasta County), Shingletown — Loomis Legacy
The enthusiasm, talent, and dedication of Benjamin F. Loomis helped bring a national park into existence. His legacy started with the photographs he took, which today still spark understanding and awe of Lassen Peak’s historic eruptive events. In 1926 he published the Pictorial History of the Lassen Volcano, to “give the sightseer a clearer idea of what has occurred.” And in 1927, in memory of their daughter, he and his wife Estella built the Mae Loomis Memorial Museum and . . . — Map (db m58136) HM
California (Trinity County), Weaverville — Weaverville Drug Store
This property Weaverville Drug Store Established 1853 Has been place on the National Register of Historic Places By the United States Department of the Interior — Map (db m56005) HM
Colorado (Clear Creek County), Idaho Springs — University of DenverMeyer Womble Observatory
Mt. Evans, Colorado Elevation 14,125 ft. “The World’s Highest Operational Observatory” Building Dedication August 19, 1996 “...for educational purposes in astrophysics and astronomy...” — Map (db m3364) HM
Colorado (Larimer County), Fort Collins — Elwood Mead1858 - 1936
As a member of the Colorado Agricultural College faculty between 1883 and 1888, Elwood Mead established the first instruction in irrigation engineering to be offered by an American college or university. This work provided the foundation for Colorado State University's internationally recognized reputation in water-related research, teaching and service. — Map (db m52325) HM
Colorado (Weld County), Grover — Corner Common to Nebraska and Wyoming on the Colorado State Boundary
Oliver N. Chaffee, U.S. astronomer and surveyor, established this corner monument August 17, 1869, at intersection of the forty-first parallel of north latitude with the twenty-seventh degree of west longitude (west of Washington, D.C.). Art Henrickson and Howard Kieler rehabilitated the monument in 1981. Federal, state and local organizations coordinated additional preservation in 1997. — Map (db m68071) HM
Connecticut (Fairfield County), Fairfield — Dr. Hosea Hurlburt House
Home Of Dr. Hosea Hurlburt 1753 Surgeon in Connecticut Continental Line — Map (db m27565) HM
Connecticut (Fairfield County), Monroe — Barton L. Weller
May 27, 1991 This gazebo is presented to the citizens of Monroe by the Weller Foundation, Incorporated in memory of Barton L. Weller (1916 – 1990) Mr. Weller, founder of Vitramon, Incorporated and the Weller Foundation, was a long time supporter of area organizations, students and the community through his personal involvement and generous donations. Board of Trustees Alexander Fraser • Brian E. Skinner • Louis J. LaCroce • Michael J. Smith • Michael P. . . . — Map (db m26097) HM
Connecticut (Fairfield County), Wilton — Joseph Edward Turner, M.D.
Joseph Edward Turner, M.D. 1822 – 1889 Founder And Medical Superintendent Of The First Inebriate Asylum In The World At Binghampton N.Y. 1858 – 1866 The First Physician To Put Unto Practical Operation The Treatment Of Inebriety As A Disease By The Methods He Instituted Thousands Have Been Redeemed Humanity Blessed The Principles Of Christianity Advanced To Perpetuate His Memory And Mark His Resting Place This Stone Is Erected By The American . . . — Map (db m30470) HM
Connecticut (Hartford County), Hartford — Horace Wells
1815   1848 To The Memory Of Horace Wells Dentist Who Upon This Spot December 11 1844 Submitted to a Surgical Operation Discovered Demonstrated and Proclaimed The Blessings Of Anesthesia E S Wood   AD 1894 — Map (db m43741) HM
Connecticut (Litchfield County), New Milford — Space Shuttle Tire
Space Shuttle Discovery Main Landing Gear Tire Mission Duration    10 Days Distance Traveled    4.1 million miles Maximum Altitude    360 statute miles Tire Rollout Distance    7,066 feet Tire Rollout Time    60 seconds Touchdown February 21, 1997 at 3:32:26 am EST on Runway 33 Shuttle Mission STS-82 servicing the Hubble Telescope Flown Space Shuttle Tire on loan from NASA National Aeronautics and Space Administration Manufactured by Michelin in . . . — Map (db m70963) HM
Connecticut (New Haven County), New Haven — Cortlandt Van Rensselaer Creed
Cortlandt Van Rensselaer Creed, MD 1857 1833 – 1900 Physician Son of John and Vashti Duplex Creed Graduate of the New Haven Lancasterian School First African American Graduate of Yale First African American to earn an MD from an Ivy League Medical School 1st Lieutenant and Surgeon of the 31st Regiment US Colored Troops 1864 One of nine African American physicians to serve in the Union Army Physician at the Knight US Army General Hospital, New Haven Member of the . . . — Map (db m49582) HM
Connecticut (New Haven County), New Haven — Ross Granville Harrison
Ross Granville Harrison Teacher – Scientist – Administrator Professor of Zoology at Yale University 1907 – 38 He was the discoverer of the tissue-culture method of studying the develop mentof living organisms. [ back ] 1870 – 1959 Ross Granville Harrison and his wife Ida Lange Harrison 1874 - 1967 — Map (db m52020) HM
Connecticut (New London County), New London — “The Arches”Submarine Antenna Over-Water Arch Facility — Building 101
This unusual structure was specifically designed to test submarine antennas in an environment that replicated conditions at sea. The roof contained a 93-by-66 foot concrete pool filled with seawater. The pool was six inches deep except for a well in the center that was about eighteen feet deep. Researchers conducted tests and collected data in a control room under the pool. The three tall overhead arches were made of wood to minimize radio-frequency reflections, which could cause errors in . . . — Map (db m48380) HM
Connecticut (New London County), New London — Cold War
World War II ended in 1945 with the surrender of Germany and Japan, but it was an uneasy peace that followed. Although the U.S.S.R. had been America’s ally during the war, after the war, the Soviet Union asserted control over eastern Europe, forming a communist bloc of nations hostile to the United States and western Europe. In the postwar years the United States and the Soviet Union emerged as the dominant world powers, locked in a philosophical conflict between democracy and communism. An . . . — Map (db m48405) HM
Connecticut (New London County), New London — Magnetic SilencingBuilding 109
The navy uses the magnetic silencing range to determine if a ship may be vulnerable to detection by magnetic mines, which can blow a hole in a vessel and cause it to sink. The range consists of a series of devices installed underwater that measure the magnetic signatures of all submarines and surface ships entering and leaving New London Harbor. An operator in this building checks these measurements to see if a vessel is at risk of being detected by a mine. The navy requires monitoring . . . — Map (db m48381) HM
Connecticut (New London County), New London — Periscope Test FacilityBuilding 94
An industrial-looking building with few windows stood on this site directly in front of the fort from the 1770s until 1999. It was designed specifically for top-secret work in periscope technology. Originally, periscopes were simple tube-shaped optical devices that permitted a submarine crew to see above the surface when the ship was underwater. The research that took place in this building was instrumental in developing increasingly sophisticated types of periscopes, incorporating cameras . . . — Map (db m48382) HM
Connecticut (New London County), New London — Scientific ResearchWorld War I
World War I broke out in Europe in 1914, and President Woodrow Wilson firmly resolved that the United States would stay neutral. However, public opinion turned to outrage in 1915, when a U-boat (a German submarine) fired two torpedoes at the Lusitania, a British luxury liner on a voyage from New York to Liverpool. The Lusitania sank in 18 minutes off the coast of Ireland, carrying 1,198 people, including 128 Americans, to their deaths. In February 1917 Germany stepped up . . . — Map (db m48391) HM
Connecticut (New London County), New London — Scientific ResearchWorld War II
Before the United States entered World War II, German U-boats again inflicted death and destruction on the seas by sinking Allied ships as they had in World War I. In January 1942, the month after the United States entered the war, the Germans began an effective and ruthless U-boat assault on American shipping along our own Atlantic coast. In this campaign, called Operation Drumbeat (Paukenschlag), the U-boats sometimes sank as many as three ships in a day off the eastern seaboard. Some of the . . . — Map (db m48396) HM
Delaware (New Castle County), Middletown — NC-135 — Locust GroveHome of Governor Joshua Clayton
This home was once the residence of Joshua Clayton (1744-1798), an eminent physician and distinguished government leader in post-Revolutionary Delaware. After attending the University of Pennsylvania he established a successful local practice and was later one of the founders of the Medical Society of Delaware. At the outset of the Revolution he was commissioned as an officer in the Bohemia Manor Militia. Clayton's career as a statesman began with his election to the Delaware House of Assembly . . . — Map (db m10699) HM
Delaware (New Castle County), Newark — In the BeginningFormation of the Delmarva Peninsula
Left Column Delaware is the second smallest state in the country. However, we played an important role in the formation of the nation. Caesar Rodney rode from Lewes to Philadelphia to cast the deciding vote for independence in 1776. We were the first state to ratify the Constitution in 1787. Piedmont Rocks(Crystaline Rocks): Metamorphosed (changed by pressure and heat) sedimentary rocks of the ancient North American Continent and adjacent ocean basin. Wilmington . . . — Map (db m10867) HM
Delaware (New Castle County), Wilmington — Tilton Park — Named for Dr. James Tilton
Tilton Park Named for Dr. James TiltonBorn in Kent County June 1, 1745. A combat officer and director of Military Hospitals during the American Revolution. While a member of the Continental Congress 1783 ~ 1785, He urged that the Capitol of the United States be placed near this site. First Surgeon General of the U.S. Army, 1813 ~ 1822. First president of the Medical Society of Delaware, 1789 ~ 1822. Practiced medicine in Dover until 1792 when he bought a home adjacent to this site . . . — Map (db m63184) HM
Delaware (Sussex County), Lewes — Delaware Breakwater Quarantine Station1884-1926
Many of the European immigrants who came to this country at the end of the nineteenth century brought with them a variety of epidemic diseases including cholera, typhus, smallpox and bubonic plague. This posed a serious threat to urban areas such as Wilmington and Philadelphia. The Delaware Breakwater Quarantine Station was established here at Cape Henlopen by the Federal Government in 1884 to protect these cities by examining all immigrants for contagious diseases. Immigrants who showed signs . . . — Map (db m39387) HM
Delaware (Sussex County), Lewes — Quarantine StationLewes * Maritime History Trail
In 1880, the fear that foreigners were bringing epidemic diseases to the United States led the federal government to create the National Quarantine System. Around the country, from stations like the one that was here, doctors were dispatched to board arriving ships to examine the passengers, sending the sick ashore for treatment or observation. All that's left of the Delaware Breakwater Quarantine Station today are a few ruins. But from 1884 to 1916 it was a busy community where thousands of . . . — Map (db m39385) HM
District of Columbia, Washington — An American Meridian — Meridian Hill Park, National Historic Landmark
Thomas Jefferson Believed the surveyor's of the nation's capital city should set a new American Meridian, a north-south line running through both poles and the American continent. This reference line, longitude 0° 0°, would aid navigation, mapmaking, and the development of property boundaries, all key to settling the capital and new western territories. But most of all, Jefferson wanted to reinforce America's Independence from Britain, where the Prime Meridian was established to serve the . . . — Map (db m63770) HM
District of Columbia, Washington — Charles R. Drew and Lenore Robbins Drew3324 Sherman Avenue, NW, Apartment 1 — African American Heritage Trail, Washington DC
Dr. Charles R. Drew (1904-1950), renowned for his blood plasma research, was associated with Howard University College of Medicine during most of his career. In 1941 Drew joined a national effort to set up a blood banking process but left because U.S. Government policy segregated blood by race of donor. Drew later died after an automobile accident in North Carolina. The story that he died because a white hospital refused to treat him is a myth, although this tragedy did befall others during the . . . — Map (db m65523) HM
District of Columbia, Washington — Samuel F. B. Morse
Artist and inventor opened and operated on this site under the direction of the Post Office Department the first public telegraph office in the United States April 1st 1845 "What Hath God Wrought" — Map (db m66518) HM
District of Columbia, Washington — 17 — The Next WaveLift Every Voice — Georgia Ave./Pleasant Plains Heritage Trail
Caribbean immigrants discovered this stretch of Georgia Avenue in the 1940s, bringing island culture along with jerk chicken, curry, and coco bread. Many, like Eric Williams, who later led Trinidad and Tobago to independence in 1962, came to study or teach at Howard University. Others came seeking better jobs. the 2000 Census showed that Caribbean-born residents formed DC's second-largest immigrant group. For English-speaking immigrants from the former British West Indies, transition . . . — Map (db m66559) HM
District of Columbia (Washington), Anacostia — St. Elizabeths Hospital
has been designated a National Historic Landmark This site possesses national significance in commemorating the history of the United States of America. — Map (db m58305) HM
District of Columbia (Washington), Brookland — Charles Richard Drew Memorial Bridge
Named in honor of Dr. Charles Richard Drew, 1904-1950 esteemed citizen of the District of Columbia athlete, scholar, surgeon, and scientist whose discoveries in blood preservation saved thousands of lives. — Map (db m6262) HM
District of Columbia (Washington), Capitol Hill — 4 — Healing the WoundedTour of Duty — Barracks Row Heritage Trail
In 1866 the Navy completed the hospital you see across the street to treat injured and ailing seamen. With beds for 50, it included the carriage house/stable and cast-iron fence and (around the corner) the gazebo. Its front door originally was on E Street facing the nearby Navy Yard and Marine Barracks; later occupants entered from Pennsylvania Avenue. The hospital’s first patient was 24-year-old African American seaman Benjamin Drummond, admitted in June 1866 with a gunshot wound to his . . . — Map (db m50813) HM
District of Columbia (Washington), Downtown — Alexander Graham Bell
From the to floor of this building was sent on June 3, 1880 over a beam of light to 1325 L Street, the first wireless telephone message in the history of the world. The apparatus used in sending the message was the photophone invented by Alexander Graham Bell, inventor of the telephone This plaque was placed here by Alexander Graham Bell Chapter Telephone Pioneers of America March 3, 1947 The Centennial of Dr. Bell's Birth — Map (db m17569) HM
District of Columbia (Washington), Downtown — Children's Hospital
Here stood the first Children's Hospital of Washington, DC. Opened as a rented rowhouse in 1871, the hospital had a capacity of 12 beds and had only four doctors on staff. Now internationally recognized, Children's National Medical Center is proud to have been part of the DC community for more than a century. — Map (db m59703) HM
District of Columbia (Washington), Downtown — W.2 — Franklin Square - "Going into the country"Civil War to Civil Rights — Downtown Heritage Trail
This urban oasis exists because President Andrew Jackson needed water. The site of excellent springs (a rare commodity in the early city when everyone was dependent on private wells), this square was purchased by the federal government in 1832 so that it could pipe fresh water to the White House. It was an arrangement that lasted until 1898, well after the city had a piped water supply from above Great Falls on the Potomac River. In July of 1861, as the nation prepared for war, soldiers of the . . . — Map (db m29594) HM
District of Columbia (Washington), Downtown — Patent Office Building
This building was designed by Robert Miles, Architect, pursuant to an Act of Congress, approved July 4, 1836 for a Patent Office Building occupied by Department of Interior 1852-1925 United States Civil Service Commission since 1932 — Map (db m28549) HM
District of Columbia (Washington), Downtown — The Daguerre Monument
[Inscription on Monument's front, 1890]: DAGUERRE [Inscription on 1890 monument's south side]: To commemorate the half century in photography 1839 - 1889. Erected by the photographers association of America Aug. 1890. [Inscription on 1890 monument's north side]: Photography, the electric telegraph, and the steam engine are the three great discoveries of the age. No five centuries in human progress can show such strides as these. [Rededication . . . — Map (db m28545) HM
District of Columbia (Washington), Foggy Bottom — Albert Einstein - The Einstein Memorial
[Panel 1:] Albert Einstein, March 14, 1879 - April 18, 1955. "As long as I have any choice in the matter, I shall live only in a country where civil liberty, tolerance, and equality of all citizens before the law prevail," Albert Einstein. Albert Einstein, probably best known for his theory of relativity, revolutionized scientific thought with new concepts of space, time, mass, motion, and gravitation. His statement that energy and matter are interchangeable was the key to the . . . — Map (db m68433) HM
District of Columbia (Washington), Foggy Bottom — Announcement of the Atomic Age[Niels Bohr]
On this campus, January 26, 1939, Nobel Laureate Niels Bohr reported the splitting of the uranium nucleus with the release of two hundred million electron volts of energy, thus heralding the beginning of the atomic age. This announcement took place in the Hall of Government, Room 209, at the Fifth Washington Conference on Theoretical Physics organized by GWU Professors George Gamow and Edward Teller and jointly sponsored by the Carnegie Institution and the George Washington University. . . . — Map (db m47330) HM
District of Columbia (Washington), Foggy Bottom — Edward TellerProfessor of Physics, 1935 to 1945
This plaque commemorates the seminal research of the renowned Dr. Edward Teller during his tenure at The George Washington University. By agreement with GW Professor George Gamow, President Cloyd Heck Marvin invited the Hungarian-born Teller to join the Physics Department in 1935. During the next six years, while enthusiastically reaching the new quantum theory and before taking a leave of absence for the war effort, Teller lent his wide knowledge and clear thinking to a series of . . . — Map (db m47326) HM
District of Columbia (Washington), Foggy Bottom — George GamowProfessor Of Physics at The George Washington University — from 1934 to 1956
Gamow (1904-1968) is renowned for developing the “Big Bang Theory” of the universe (1948); explaining nuclear alpha decay by quantum tunneling (1928); describing, with Edward Teller, spin-induced nuclear beta decay (1936); pioneering the liquid-drop model in nuclear physics (1928); introducing the “Gamow” factor in stellar reaction rates and element formation (1938); modeling red giants, supernovae, and neutron stars (1939); first suggesting how the genetic code might . . . — Map (db m47320) HM
District of Columbia (Washington), Foggy Bottom — National Academy of Sciences
Marker Panel 1: on the lawn, off the sidewalk, north side of Constitution Avenue, NW: National Academy of Sciences Incorporated 1863 National Academy of Engineering Institute of Medicine National Research Council. Marker Panel 2: on the exterior wall, west side of the south entrance – off the sidewalk, south side of C Street, NW: Inscription on the exterior wall, east side of the south entrance: The National Academy of Sciences . . . — Map (db m65095) HM
District of Columbia (Washington), Foggy Bottom — Pharmacists' War Memorial — American Pharmacists Association
[Inscription on wall at north end of the memorial:] Dedicated to all Pharmacists who served in the Wars of our Country "1950, 1961, 1991" [Inscriptions on flagpole base and platform:] Revolutionary War: 1776-1781 Civil War: 1861-1865 Spanish American War: 1898 World War I: 1917-1918 World War II: 1941-1945 ... Korea: 1950-1954; Vietnam: 1961-1975; Persian Gulf: 1990-1991 Gift of H.A.B. Dunning — Map (db m68521) WM
District of Columbia (Washington), Foggy Bottom — The American Meridian
To your left is the hemisphere of the Atlantic, the hemisphere of Europe and Africa, of Roman numerals and Indian script, of the Silk Road and the rising sun. To your right is the hemisphere of the Pacific and the American West, the hemisphere of Japan and China, of calligraphy and rocketry, of towering volcanoes and the starry night. Beneath your feet is the line that divides the two. From 1848 to 1884, the United States of America marked the center of its world at this line. . . . — Map (db m46880) HM
District of Columbia (Washington), National Mall — Solomon G. Brown
Solomon G. Brown (1829-1906), the Smithsonian’s first African-American employee, retired in 1906 after 54 years of service. Brown, well-known for his lectures on natural history, was also an avid poet and Anacostia community leader. Wisdom from these minds would flow Increasing knowledge more and more; Now younger men can easily learn Just how these great men were concerned In diffusing useful knowledge. . . . By Solomon Brown, 1902, in honor of his 50th year . . . — Map (db m70118) HM
District of Columbia (Washington), Northwest — Army Medical Museum
Army Medical Museum has been designated a registered National Historic Landmark under the provision of the Historic Sites Act of August 21, 1935. This site possesses exceptional value in commemorating and illustrating the history of the United States. — Map (db m17095) WM
District of Columbia (Washington), Northwest — 6 of 19 — Medical Care for All"Lift Every Voice" — Georgia Ave./Pleasant Plains Heritage Trail
During the Civil War (1861-1865), thousands of formerly enslaved people came to Washington in search of new lives. They needed work, education, shelter – and health care. In 1862 the U.S. government responded with Freedmen’s Hospital, located at 12th and R Streets, NW. Less than a decade later, Freedmen’s moved near Fifth and W Streets and became Howard University’s teaching hospital. At a time of strict segregation, Freedmen’s, like the university itself, was open to all, offering . . . — Map (db m51723) HM
District of Columbia (Washington), Northwest — The American Red Cross - Harvard Field Hospital Unit(September 1939 - July 1942)
This plaque acknowledges the public spirit of Harvard University and the dedication of the staff of the American Red Cross - Harvard Field Hospital Unit, who provided and staffed a pre-fabricated hospital sent to Salisbury, England, in the summer of 1941 to deal with the potential outbreak of communicable diseases. In particular, homage is paid to the following - ‘Reported missing and presumed lost’ on the voyage to Britain: Ruth Breckenridge - Housemother Nancie M. Prett, R.N. . . . — Map (db m14997) HM
District of Columbia (Washington), Northwest — Walter Reed Army Medical Center
Named in honor of Major Walter Reed, pioneer in military medicine. Although first envisioned during the Civil War, it was not until 1909 that an army general hospital was built in Washington. Named in honor of Major Walter Reed, famed for conquering yellow fever, the original hospital resulted from determined efforts of colleagues to establish a memorial to Major Reed for his service to mankind. Today's Walter Reed Army Medical Center is a continuation of those earlier visions and . . . — Map (db m14164) HM
District of Columbia (Washington), Northwest — Walter Reed Memorial
[Front]Walter Reed 1851 - 1902 Bacteriologist - Research Scientist In Honor of his great work in the fight for the eradication of yellow Fever. [Back:] [Insignia of the Army Medical Corps] In recognition of the high public service of Major Walter Reed. — Map (db m68990) HM
District of Columbia (Washington), Southwest — Benjamin Banneker Park
“… it is the indispensable duty of those, who maintain for themselves the rights of human nature, ... to extend their power and influence to the relief of every part of the human race...” – Benjamin Banneker, 1792 Benjamin Banneker (1731-1806) was born a free black in Maryland near the headwaters of the Chesapeake Bay. With very little formal schooling, he became America’s first black man of science, an accomplished mathematician, astronomer, and producer of almanacs. . . . — Map (db m20384) HM
District of Columbia (Washington), Southwest — Spencer Fullerton Baird — 1823 - 1887
Second Secretary of the Smithsonian Institution Pioneer in American Natural History [on reverse of statue:] ("Opus, Baskin, 1976") — Map (db m46418) HM
District of Columbia (Washington), Southwest — 12 of 17 — The Law House In Peace and WarRiver Farms to Urban Towers — Southwest Heritage Trail
To your left across Water Street is the Thomas Law House, now a community center for the Tiber Island cooperative. The Federal style house was designed by William Lovering in 1794 for businessman Thomas Law and his bride Eliza Parke Custis, granddaughter of Martha Washington. At first the house stood at the foot of Sixth Street overlooking the Potomac. Since then, time and engineers have changed the shoreline, so the house is now farther from the water. It is one of very few to survive the . . . — Map (db m20430) HM
District of Columbia (Washington), Tenleytown — 7 — In Touch with the WorldTop of the Town — Tenleytown Heritage Trail
“Tenley Tower,” behind you, dates from the mid-1940s. Western Union Telegraph Co. built it as part of an experimental system using microwaves to transmit telegrams in the mid-Atlantic region. This new technology helped erase telegraph wires and poles from the landscape. In addition, the tower was designed to relay recently invented television signals, which gave Western Union and its partner RCA a decided head start in the television revolution of the 1950s. During the Cold War . . . — Map (db m51838) HM
District of Columbia (Washington), Washington Navy Yard — Marine Railway - Experimental Model Basin
Marine Railway In 1822 Commodore John Rogers designed and built the first marine railway in the United States. The purpose of the railway was to haul ships out of the water for repair or preservation of their hull. Before this time, ships needing hull repairs were hauled on shore at high tide and careened on their sides to expose half of the hull at a time. This first railway was demonstrated to a congressional group using 140 sailors to haul the Navy's new frigate Potomac out of the . . . — Map (db m10799) HM
Florida (Brevard County), Melbourne — Crenshaw HotelSite of the First Melbourne Hospital
This is the original building erected by Harry Crenshaw in 1926 and opened as a hotel and apartments in April of that year. On February 2, 1928, the hotel became the Melbourne Hospital, operated by Dr. and Mrs. I.M. Hay who came here from St. Augustine. The building served as the area's hospital for nine years, then reverted back to the Crenshaw Hotel and apartments. The building was completely restored and reopened as a hotel and apartments in May, 1980, by W. C Hersom. — Map (db m48646) HM
Florida (Brevard County), Titusville — F-486 — Windover Archaeological Site
Discovered by accident in 1982, the Windover site is a burial place of Early Native Americans who inhabited this region 7,000 to 8,000 years ago. The burials were placed underwater in the peat of the shallow pond. This peat helped to preserve normally perishable artifacts and human tissues. The site contains the largest skeletal sample in the New World and the oldest bottle gourd found north of Mexico - two features that add to its significance. It also includes the largest and most complex . . . — Map (db m60342) HM
Florida (Duval County), Jacksonville — Florida Pharmacy Association
1887 1987 [100th Anniversary Medallion] On June 8, 1887, a group of Florida pharmacists met in Jacksonville at the Board of Trade rooms located at the corner of Adams & Main Streets for the purpose of organizing a state pharmaceutical association. At this first meeting of the Florida State Pharmaceutical Association, Dr. Henry (Hy) Robinson, a civic leader in Jacksonville who served as mayor and chairman of the Board of County Commissioners, was elected as the first president. Although . . . — Map (db m59096) HM
Florida (Franklin County), Apalachicola — F-413 — Dr. John Gorrie
Dr. John Gorrie (1803-1855) was an early pioneer in the invention of the artificial manufacture of ice, refrigeration, and air conditioning. He was granted the first U.S. patent for mechanical refrigeration on May 6, 1851 (U.S. Patent No. 8080). Dr. Gorrie moved to Apalachicola in 1833 after the completion of his education at the College of Physicians and Surgeons of the Western District of New York in Fairfield, New York. Motivated by a severe yellow fever epidemic in the summer of 1841, Dr. . . . — Map (db m27028) HM
Florida (Highlands County), Venus — F-643 — Archbold Biological Station at Red Hill
These buildings were designed and built during 1930-1935 by Alexander Blair for the Red Hill Estate of John A. Roebling II, son of Washington A. Roebling, who built the Brooklyn Bridge. The industrial vernacular buildings (structures meant to house industrial activities) were constructed of poured concrete to withstand hurricanes and the humid sub-tropical conditions. The largest building, with its distinctive saw-tooth roof, features an original seven-unit storehouse and attached two-story . . . — Map (db m72522) HM
Florida (Hillsborough County), Tampa — F-386 — El Centro Asturiano de Tampa
Spanish immigrants from the province of Asturias formed El Centro Asturiano de Tampa in 1902 as a mutual aid society to meet the recreational, social, educational, and medical needs of its members. In an effort to broaden the concept of cooperative medicine, the club operated a hospital El Sanatorio del Centro Asturiano from 1905 until its closing in 1990. The society built the present three-story yellow brick and stone building on the corner of Palm and Nebraska Avenues in . . . — Map (db m32185) HM
Florida (Leon County), Tallahassee — F-392 — The Knott House
Evidence points to George Proctor, a free black man, as the probable builder of this structure in 1843. The house was a wedding gift for Catherine Gamble, the bride of attorney Thomas Hagner. In 1865 the house was used as temporary Union Headquarters by Brigadier General Edward McCook. On May 20th, 1865, McCook read the Emancipation Proclamation from the front steps of the house, declaring freedom for all slaves in the Florida Panhandle. After the Civil War a locally prominent physician, . . . — Map (db m73056) HM
Florida (Monroe County), Key West — Alfred Goldsboro Mayor
Alfred Goldsboro Mayor, who studied the biology of many seas and here founded a laboratory for research for the Carnegie Institution directing it for XVIII years with conspicuous success, brilliant versatile courageous utterly forgetful of self. He was the beloved leader of all those who worked with him and who erect this to his memory. Born MDCCCLXVIII, died MCMXXII. — Map (db m9304) HM
Florida (Monroe County), Key West — In Memory of Dr. Samuel A. Mudd1833 - 1883 — Imprisoned Fort Jefferson, Florida (July 24, 1865)
“...upon occasion of the prevalence of the yellow fever...Samuel A. Mudd devoted himself to the care and cure of the sick and interposed his courage and skill to protect the garrison...from peril and alarm, and thus...saved many valuable lives and earned the admiration and gratitude of all who observed or experienced his generous and faithful service to humanity.” PRESIDENT ANDREW JOHNSON Pardon, dated February 6, 1869 — Map (db m9305) HM
Florida (Orange County), Orlando — F-401 — Astronaut John Watts Young
John Watts Young, NASA astronaut, Gemini veteran, Apollo moonwalker, and space shuttle commander, was the first American to travel in space six times. As an Orlando High School student, Young lived in this house at 815 West Princeton Street from 1945 until graduation in 1948. In 1965, he co-piloted Gemini-Titan III, a program that directly benefited Project Apollo's development and the first voyage to the moon. In 1972, Young was aboard Apollo XVI, the fifth manned landing on the moon, and was . . . — Map (db m72371) HM
Florida (Osceola County), St. Cloud — F-309 — The Thunderstorm Project
On a typical summer afternoon thunderstorms will be seen in the skies surrounding this site. So common they are often ignored, thunderstorms are nevertheless vital to the State's economy. They provide most of Florida's annual rainfall, but lightening and strong winds from occasional severe storms can be costly. It was here in the summer of 1946 that scientists used weather radar, aircraft penetration flights, balloon soundings and an extensive network of surface instruments to gather - for the . . . — Map (db m54028) HM
Florida (Pinellas County), Safety Harbor — F-381 — Espiritu Santo SpringsWhere Healing Waters Flow
On May 18, 1539, Spanish explorer Hernando de Soto reached the shores of what is now Tampa Bay, landing near these mineral springs used by the native population for nearly 10,000 years. Believing he had found the legendary Fountain of Youth somehow missed by Ponce de Leon, de Soto established a camp here, naming the crystal waters Espiritu Santo Springs - "Springs of the Holy Spirit." Each of the five springs located on this site was identified and said to cure certain ailments, a claim . . . — Map (db m44463) HM
Florida (Pinellas County), St. Petersburg — Bayflite 3 Crew
In memory of our colleagues Bayflite 3 crew Mark Wallace Alicia Betita-Collins Erik Hangartner who lost their lives in service to others April 25, 2000 — Map (db m13648) HM
Florida (Saint Johns County), St. Augustine — 79 Bridge Street
The Rudcarlie Building at 79 Bridge Street was built in the 1950's by Dr. Rudolph N. Gordon (1901-1959) and named for the members of his family. Rudolph, Carlotta, and Rosalie. It was the first medical/dental office constructed in St. Augustine without racially segregated waiting rooms. After Dr. Gordon's death, the office was rented to Dr. Robert B. Hayling, a dentist who became a prominent leader of the civil rights movement in St. Augustine. Many of the planning sessions for the . . . — Map (db m7640) HM
Georgia (Baldwin County), Milledgeville — 005-24 — Milledgeville State Hospital
In 1837, largely through the influence of Tomlinson Fort and William A. White, the legislature appropriated $20,000 for a dormitory near Milledgeville where the state’s mentally ill could receive custodial care. A four-story building was opened on this site in 1842 and together with various later additions became known as the Center Building. Originally serving only pauper patients, services were expanded for all bona fide citizens. Dr. David M. Cooper (serving 1843-1846) was the first . . . — Map (db m13135) HM
250 markers matched your search criteria.
Click to map all markers shown on this page.
Click First to browse through the results shown on this page.   First >> 


•••
More Search Options
 
Markers
Near You

 
Categories

 
States & Provinces

 
Counties
Click to List


 
Countries

Page composed
in 227 ms.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
To search within this page, hold down the Ctrl key and press F.
On an Apple computer,
hold down the Apple key and press F.