|Austria, Tyrol, Innsbruck — The Teutonic Order House — Deutschordenshaus|
|Um während der Hof- und Landtage in der Residenzstadt eine eigene Wohnstätte zu besitzen, hat Heinrich v. Kneringen, Landkomtur des Deutschen Ordens “an der Etsch und im Gebirge” mit Sitz in Bozen dieses Haus erworben.
Die Erker wurden 1532 von Gregor Türing mit den prächtigen Wappen Heinrichs v. Kneringen, des damaligen Inhabers des Hoch- und Deutschmeisteramtes sowie der Komturei zu Schlanders und Lengmoos, geschmückt.
Schon 1539 hat der Orden das Haus wieder verkauft. Im . . . — Map (db m68137) HM|
|Brazil, Bahia, Salvador — Monumento a Stefan Zweig — All Saints' Bay|
| Stefan Zweig nasceu em Viena, Áustria, em 1881. Escritor cosmopolita, tornou-se conhecido por suas analises do comlexo psíquico e pela defesa dos ideais humanitarios. Foi o autor mais traduzido do seu tempo. Pacifista, escrevia reinventando a vida.
Iniciou sua peregrinação pelo mundo em 1934, com residencia na Inglaterra. Mudou-se, em 1941, com sua esposa Lotte, para a Cidade de Petrópolis, Brasil, onde escreveu, o seu livro mais conhecido, “Brasil, Pais do Futuro” e . . . — Map (db m31877) HM|
|Brazil, Distrito Federal, Brasilia — Memorial JK — JK Memorial — [President Juscelino Kubitschek de Oliveira, the founder of Brasilia]|
| In Portuguese:
Projeto do arquiteto Oscar Niemeyer foi inaugurado em 12 de setembro de 1981 em homenagem a Juscelino Kubischek de Oliveira, fundador de Brasilia. Abriga biblioteca com trēs mil volumes que pertenceram a JK, atém de objetos pessoais, fotos, videos e vários documentos. Os painéis da recepção e da câmara mortuaria são obras de Althos Bulcão. O vitral que se encontra acima da uma funerária é de autoria da artista francesa Marianne Peretti. A estátua de JK esculpid por . . . — Map (db m26590) HM|
|Brazil, Rio de Janeiro — 01246020 — Copacabana Fort — Army History Museum|
Together with the Arpoador Rock and Cape, the Fort is part of an important landscape group located between two highly populated neighbourhoods: Copacabana and Ipanema.
Date: inaugurated in 1914 by President Marechal Hermes da Fonseca.
Last Restoration: in 1987, with the coastal artillery batteries phased out, the fort with its 12-meter thick walls, became the Army History Museum.
Features: at the entrance of the Fort is a grotto with a statuette of Santa Barbara, . . . — Map (db m25962) HM|
|Brazil, Rio de Janeiro — Praça 15 de Novembro — Prefeitura da Cidade do Rio De Janeiro|
| Esta região guarda a memória do período colonial Brasileiro. No Século XVII, o núcleo original da cidade desloca-se do morro do Castelo para a várzea e consolida-se ao longo da Rua Direita, hoje Primeiro de Março. Junto à rua, na praia de N.S. do Ó, aterrado surge o Terreiro do Carmo, depois chamado Largo do Paço, por se ter instalado ali o Paço dos Governadores (1743), atual Paço Imperial.
O velho largo recebe o nome de Praça 15 de Novembro por ocasião da Proclamação da República em 1889, . . . — Map (db m26313) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Creation of the Province of British Columbia — Création de la Province de Columbie-Britannique|
The province of British Columbia was created on July 20, 1871. Formerly a crown colony established by the union in 1866 of Vancouver Island with the mainland colony of British Columbia, the addition of the Pacific coast province made Canada truly a nation “from sea to sea”. With provincial status came success for the movement toward self-government. The first Lieutenant-Governor of British Columbia was Joseph W. Trutch and the first premier was John Foster . . . — Map (db m49038) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Estate of the Lieutenant Governor of British Columbia — Le Domaine du Lieutenant-Gouverneur de la Colombie-Britannique|
|This magnificent estate, residence of the Crown's representatives in British Columbia, is a cultural landscape that boasts a long and remarkable association with this high office. In 1865 the government of the colony purchased Cary Castle, a house located on this site, to serve as the residence of the governor of Vancouver Island. When British Columbia entered Confederation in 1871, Cary Castle became the home to the province's lieutenant governors. The present structure, built in 1957-1959, is . . . — Map (db m72878) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Government House|
This plaque was unveiled by
The Honourable Frank Mackenzie Ross,
C.M.G., M.C., LL.D.
Lieutenant Governor of the
Province of British Columbia
on May 19th, 1959, to mark the official opening of the 10th Government House built to replace the former residence destroyed by fire
April 15th, 1957.
Planned and constructed under the authority of
the Hon. W. N. Chant, Minister of Public Works, Province of British Columbia.
Built by John Laing and Son, (Canada) Limited. — Map (db m74991) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Royal and Distinguished Visitors|
As the representative of the Crown, the Lieutenant Governor plays an important ceremonial role that includes hosting royal visitors, heads of state, the Governor General, and other dignitaries. Members of the royal family have toured Canada since 1860 to maintain close ties between Canadians and the Crown. Canada’s Royal family continues to tour regularly and stays at Government House while in Victoria.
[Photo captions read]
1. Princess Margaret, the younger sister of Queen . . . — Map (db m75026) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — The People and the Lieutenant Governor|
In addition to carrying out constitutional responsibilities, the Lieutenant Governor plays an important role in celebrating, inspiring and connecting British Columbians. Many organizations invite the Lieutenant Governor to act as their patron. The Lieutenant Governor travels across the province to meet British Columbians and to recognize their achievements in public service, volunteerism, and bravery.
The Lieutenant Governor has a busy schedule of attending cultural events and . . . — Map (db m74878) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — The Role of the Lieutenant Governor|
The Lieutenant Governor is the Queen's representative in British Columbia, appointed by the Governor General for a term of at least five years. The Lieutenant Governor plays an important constitutional role, opening and closing sessions of the legislature, appointing and swearing-in Cabinet, and giving Royal Assent to all bills passed by the Legislative Assembly.
To ensure that there is always a First Minister, or premier, Lieutenant Governors have, on occasion, had to make the . . . — Map (db m74940) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Twinning of Morioka, Japan and Victoria|
Placed here May 23, 1985
commemorating the twinning of
Morioka, Japan and Victoria
and to the memory of
Dr. Inazo Nitobe
Mayor Daizo Ota [and] Mayor Peter Pollen
10th Anniversary of Twinning
Mayor Ohta • Mayor Cross
May 23, 1995
[Also in Japanese] — Map (db m74135) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — William Edgar Oliver — In Loving Memory of|
First Reeve of Oak Bay Municipality 1906
Born in Edinburgh, Scotland, January 19, 1867
Died at Cowichan Lake, August 9, 1920
Beloved Husband of
Mary Eleanor Ward Oliver (1869-1959)
Installed 2006 - Oak Bay Centennial — Map (db m74750) HM|
|New Brunswick (Charlotte County), Welshpool — President Franklin Delano Roosevelt — 1933 - 1945|
| The Great Depression 1929-1941
The depression was world-wide. In the U.S., the banking system collapsed and 12.8 million people were unemployed. Hardest hit were youth, minorities, the elderly, and workers in the consumer durables industries. There was widespread hunger and suffering as communities ran out of charitable and government relief. FDR's "New Deal" programs, some more successful than others, helped to stem national despair and boost public confidence.
La Crise économique . . . — Map (db m54783) HM|
|New Brunswick (Charlotte County), Welshpool — Roosevelt Campobello International Park — Le Parc International Roosevelt de Campobello|
The Roosevelt Campobello International Park is a unique example of international cooperation - jointly administered, staffed, and funded by the peoples of Canada and the United States. Established by international treaty in 1964, the 1,134-hectare (2800-acre) park remains a symbol of the close relationship between our two countries. When she declared the Park Visitor Center open in 1967, the Queen Mother Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth expressed the sentiments of both countries with these . . . — Map (db m63591) HM|
|Ontario, Ottawa — Nicholas Sparks|
Irish Nicholas Sparks (b.1792) was from Darragh, County Wexford. He came "up river" 1816 to work for the founding Wrights of Hull. In 1826 he acquired Philemon Wright Jr.'s widow (Sarah Olmstead) and her nine children (he and she were to have one son and two daughters): crossed to the south shore, and for £ 95 bought the 200 acres, and log cabin thereon, from the first patentee, John Burrows Honey. His household thus became the first in the swale which Col. John By made his campsite for the . . . — Map (db m75711) HM|
|Ontario, Ottawa — Parliament Clocktower Bell|
|This bell was taken from the ruins of the clock tower destroyed by fire February 3, 1916. "The fire raged fiercely for hours. The main tower was not touched until about 11 p.m., and one of the most pathetic incidents of the night, which moved the spectators, was the striking of the midnight hour by the old tower clock. There seemed almost a human touch as its familiar tones boomed out from the mass of flames." From the 1916 report of the deputy minister of public works. — Map (db m39748) HM|
|Ontario, Ottawa — Thomas D'Arcy McGee — 1825 - 1868|
Journalist, poet, Irish patriot, Canadian statesman and Father of Confederation, McGee was born in Ireland, where he was involved in nationalist politics. Forced to flee to America in 1848, he worked for several years in the United States before settling in Montréal in 1857. In 1858 he was first elected to the legislature for Montréal West. An eloquent orator in support of Confederation, McGee attended the Charlottetown and Québec Conferences, and later represented Montréal West in the . . . — Map (db m75714) HM|
|Ontario, Ottawa — Women Are Persons! — Les Femmes Sont Des Personnes!|
|The Persons' Case of 1929 is a celebrated landmark victory in the struggle of Canadian women for equality. For years, groups had repeatedly requested that a woman be appointed to the Senate, often naming Judge Emily Murphy as their candidate. However, five successive federal governments maintained that women were ineligible to serve in the Senate on the basis that they were not "qualified persons" according to Section 24 of the British North America Act of 1867.|
In 1927, Judge Murphy . . . — Map (db m39749) HM
|Ontario, Toronto — South African War Memorial — ("2nd Boer War")|
| . . . — Map (db m57959) WM|
|Ontario (Leeds and Grenville Counties), Brockville — Ogle Robert Gowan, 1803-1876|
|A prominent provincial politician, Gowan was born in County Wexford, Ireland. He came to Upper Canada in 1829 and immediately immersed himself in political affairs. Drawing upon his experience in the Irish Orange Order, Gowan established the Grand Orange Lodge of British North America in 1830 and , as the first Canadian grand master, ably guided the organization during its formative years. In 1836 he was elected to the Legislative Assembly, representing this area intermittently until 1861. A . . . — Map (db m83479) HM|
|Ontario (Middlesex County), London — The East London Town Hall|
|Completed in 1884, restored in 1969 as Aeolian Town Hall, served as a centre for political and social life in London East until 1947. — Map (db m18963) HM|
|Ontario (Niagara Region), St. Catharines — This Statue of the Honourable William Hamilton Merritt|
|has been erected by his grandson William Hamilton Merritt of the City of Toronto, son of William Hamilton Merritt Jr. of St. Catharines, as a tribute to the father of Canadian transportaion who through initiatory steps in first waterways and railways earned that title.
He projected and carried to a successful completion the bridging of the cataract of Niagara by the Welland Canal 1824-29, the first railway suspension bridge in the world spanning the gorge of the same river 1846-55, and the . . . — Map (db m76186) HM|
|Ontario (Niagara Region), St. Catharines — William Hamilton Merritt 1793 - 1862|
|A pioneer in the field of transportation, Merritt was born in Bedford, New York and settled at Twelve Mile Creek (St. Catharines) with his Loyalist family in 1796. He served with the provincial cavalry during the War of 1812, then operated mercantile and milling enterprises here. Primarily responsible for the construction of the first Welland Canal (1824-33). Merritt worked tirelessly to promote this ambitious venture, both by raising funds and by enlisting government support. During his long . . . — Map (db m76184) HM|
|Ontario (Ottawa), Carp — The Central Emergency Government Headquarters — Le Siège Central du Gouvernement d'Urgence|
Irreverently known as the "Diefenbunker," this structure is a powerful symbol of Canada's response to the Cold War. Designed in the 1950s to withstand all but a direct his by a nuclear weapon, it was intended to shelter key political and military personnel during a nuclear attack. Fortunately, it never served its intended purpose, although the Diefenbaker government made plans to retreat to its protection during the Cuban missile crisis of 1962. The bunker functioned as the hub of a . . . — Map (db m75715) HM|
|Prince Edward Island (Queens County), Charlottetown — Andrew Archibald Macdonald — 1829 - 1912|
Born at Three Rivers, Brudenell Point, Macdonald, a merchant and shipbuilder, served as a member of the Legislative Assembly (1853-58) and of the Legislative Council (1867-72). He attended the Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864 and on the latter occasion compiled notes which provide one of the few original sources of information on that conference. After the entrance of the Island into Confederation in 1873 he became provincial Post Master General and later . . . — Map (db m80271) HM|
|Prince Edward Island (Queens County), Charlottetown — Colonel John Hamilton Gray — 1811 - 1887|
Born in Charlottetown, a Father of Confederation, Gray served in the Imperial cavalry (1831-52) before entering politics. Elected in 1858 to represent Queen's County, he served as Premier of the province (1863-65) and played a prominent role in the Confederation debates. An ardent confederate, he presided over the Charlottetown Conference and attended the Quebec Conference. When the Island legislature rejected the Quebec Resolutions he left politics and reverted to military . . . — Map (db m80269) HM|
|Prince Edward Island (Queens County), Charlottetown — Edward Palmer — 1809 - 1889|
Born in Charlottetown and called to the bar in 1831, Palmer was a member of the legislature (1835-60), and of the Legislative Council (1860-73). Between 1848 and 1873 he held several cabinet posts, including that of President of the Council (1859-63). A delegate to the Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences, he opposed Confederation at the outset but, in 1873, threw his support behind the Union movement. Appointed Judge of the Queen's County Court in 1873, he became Chief . . . — Map (db m80270) HM|
|Prince Edward Island (Queens County), Charlottetown — Edward Whelan — 1824 - 1867|
Born in Ireland, Whelan immigrated to Halifax c. 1836 and became a protégé of Joseph Howe. As a journalist in Charlottetown be published the short- lived Palladium in 1845, became editor of the Morning News in 1846, and founded the Examiner in 1847. A co-founder, with George Coles, of the Liberal Party, and an ardent advocate of Responsible Government for Prince Edward Island, he entered the Executive Council in 1851 and was appointed Queen's Printer . . . — Map (db m80266) HM|
|Prince Edward Island (Queens County), Charlottetown — George Coles — 1810 - 1875|
A native Prince Edward Islander, Coles, first elected in 1842, represented the constituency of Queen's in the House of Assembly of the Island until his retirement because of ill health in 1868. Co-founder, with Edward Whelan, of the Liberal Party, and an ardent advocate of Responsible Government, which was granted in 1851, he became Premier in that same year and served in that office for three terms (1851-4, 1855-9, and 1867-8). A Father of Confederation, he attended the . . . — Map (db m80273) HM|
|Prince Edward Island (Queens County), Charlottetown — Heralded Arrival… of the Circus — L’arrivée tant attendue… du cirque|
When a large steamer anchored in Charlottetown Harbour in 1864, few took notice of it or the politicians aboard. Charlottetown was preoccupied with another visitor to its little town: the circus. Drawing huge crowds and filling the city’s few hotels, the circus stole center stage from the visiting delegates - robbing them of a formal welcome, suitable accommodation, and proper publicity.
That’s what John A. Macdonald and the other delegates from the . . . — Map (db m80199) HM|
|Prince Edward Island (Queens County), Charlottetown — Thomas Heath Haviland — 1822 - 1895|
Born in Charlottetown, Haviland was called to the Prince Edward Island bar in 1846. He represented Georgetown in the legislature (1847-70), serving successively as Colonial Secretary, as Speaker, and as Solicitor-Genera1. As a Legislative Councillor, he again served as Colonial Secretary (1870-2 and 1873-6). He was a delegate to the Quebec Conference of 1864 and was one of the three who, in 1873, arranged for the entry of Prince Edward Island into Confederation. Called to the . . . — Map (db m80268) HM|
|Prince Edward Island (Queens County), Charlottetown — William Henry Pope — 1825 - 1879|
Born at Bedeque, Prince Edward Island, Pope was admitted to the bar in 1847, became Colonial Secretary in 1859, was elected to the Legislative Assembly representing Queen's County in 1863 and continued to serve in the Assembly until 1867. An ardent advocate of Confederation, he was a delegate to the Charlottetown and Québec Conferences of 1864. In 1873 he was appointed Judge of Prince County. He died at Summerside.
L'un des Pères de la Confédération, . . . — Map (db m80272) HM|
|Quebec (Capitale-Nationale (region)), Québec — Augustin-Norbert Morin — 1803-1865|
Au cours des années 1850 vécut ici Augustin-Norbert Morin, né le 13 octobre 1803 à Saint-Michel-de-Bellechasse. Avocat, journaliste et homme politique, il fut tour à tour fondateur du journal La Minerve en 1826, orateur à l’Assemblée législative de la province du Canada de 1848 à 1851, puis chef du gouvernement de 1851 à 1855, conjointement avec Francis Hincks, puis Allan MacNab.
Fervent patriote, Augustin-Norbert Morin fut, avec Louis-Joseph Parineau, le principal . . . — Map (db m80761) HM|
|Quebec (Coaticook MRC), Compton — Louis Stephen St-Laurent — 1882 - 1973|
|Né à Compton, reçu avocat en 1905, St-Laurent fut a maintes reprises conseiller de grandes compagnies et représenta le gouvernement federal devant le Conseil Prive de Londres. Ministre de la justice (1941-1946), secrétaire d’état aux affaires extérieures (1946-1948), premier ministre du Canada (1948-1957), il prêcha l’unité nationale et joua un rôle capital dans l’évolution constitutionnelle et judiciaire du pays. Architecte d’un nouveau Commonwealth, signataire de Charte des Nations Unies et . . . — Map (db m74537) HM|
|Quebec (Gaspésie– Îles-de-la-Madeleine (region)), Percé — Edmund James Flynn — (1847-1927) — 10ᵉ Premier Ministre du Québec|
| À la memoire d’un illustre enfant de Percé
Edmund James Flynn
10ᵉ Premier Ministre du Québec
Fils de James Flynn, pêcheur, et d’Elizabeth Tostevin, originaire de Guernesey, Edmund James Flynn et né à Percé en 1847.
Secrétaire-trésorier de Percé, puis avocat et professeur à l’Université Laval, il est élu deputé de Gaspé en 1878 et siège à l’Assemblée législative de Québec jusqu’en 1904. Ministre dans les gouvernements conservateurs . . . — Map (db m80649) HM|
|Quebec (Memphrémagog MRC), East Bolton — Former Bolton Township Hall|
| French text appears above English text. Passage of the Municipal and Road Act for Lower Canada in 1855 resulted in the construction of many public halls in the English-speaking communities of rural Quebec during the second half of the 19th century. This township hall was erected in 1867 by community members using wood obtained locally. It served as a council chamber and social meeting place as well as accommodating a school on the ground floor. A fine example of regional building . . . — Map (db m75771) HM|
|Quebec (Sherbrooke MRC), Sherbrooke — Sir Alexander Tilloch Galt — 1817-1893|
| French text appears above English text Born in England, Galt came to Sherbrooke in 1835, and played a key role in the development of the Eastern Townships as Commissioner of the British American Land Company, as entrepreneur, railway promoter and member of the legislature. When Minister of Finance in 1858 he initiated an autonomous tariff policy. An early advocate of Confederation, he represented the English of Lower Canada and was responsible for the financial provisions of the . . . — Map (db m75634) HM|
|Quebec (Ville-Marie Borough), Montréal — Le Château Ramezay / Château Ramezay|
| [Royal Coat of Arms of Canada] Le gouverneur de Montréal Claude de Ramezay fit ériger ici en 1705, par Pierre Couturier, un édifice pour lui servir de demeure. La Compagnie des Indes occidentales, qui le posséda de 1745 à 1763, le fit rebâtir et élargir en 1756 selon les plans de Paul Tessier dit Lavigne. Les gouverneurs généraux résidèrent au Château de 1773 à 1844, les envahisseurs américains s’y logèrent en 1775-1776, et le Conseil exécutif y siégea en 1839. Il abrita après 1849, des . . . — Map (db m36937) HM|
|El Salvador, San Salvador — Father Nicolas Aguilar — Padre Nicolas Aguilar|
Tonacatepeque, Dic. 16 1742
San Salvador, Sept. 12 1818
Con gran vocacion para la carrerra elesiastica; ejemplo que siguieron posteriormente sus hermanos Vicente y Manuel, Proceres de la Independencia, de quienes era hermano mayor, en 1824 mientras su hermano Manuel se encontraba encarcelado y Don Vicente reconcentrado en Guatemala; Don Nicolas, si bien libre por consideracion a sus años, era vigilado pues aunque viejo y decrepito, era un formidable enemigo, siempre dispuesto a defender . . . — Map (db m83872) HM|
|Estonia, Harjumaa MaakondTallinn — Toompea Loss — [Toompea Castle]|
| Aerial photo of the castle and surroundings
Text in Estonian : …
Text in English:
Toompea Castle is the seat of the Parliament of the Republic of Estonia – the Riigikogu
The castle complex is made up of several parts: the west wall and the Tall Hermann tower belongs to the medieval fortress of the Order of the Brothers of the Sword, the Government Administration building represents the Czarist era and is classic in style, and the building of the . . . — Map (db m57027) HM|
|Estonia, Harjumaa MaakondTallinn — Polish Submarine "ORZEŁ" - September 1939 — [Estonian Maritime Museum]|
| Text in Estonian: ...
Text in Polish: 15. Septembril 1939. Aastal
Interneeriti saksa riigi survel Tallinnas
Poola Sõjalaevvastiku allveelaev
Mereväekapten Jan Grudziński juhtimisel võttis relvitu
Laev ööl vastu 18 Septembrit 1939 ette Hulljulge põgenemise
Suurbritanniasse, et sealt Jätkata Voitlust merel.
See Sündmus Oli üheks Ettekäändeks Nõukogude
Sõjaväebaaside Rajamisele eesti territooriumil ja
Eesti Hilisemale . . . — Map (db m57484) HM|
|Estonia, Harjumaa MaakondTallinn — Tallinn Town Hall - Anno 1404|
The only surviving Gothic Town Hall in Northern Europe, the Town Hall in Tallinn was first mentioned in 1322. When the present day building was completed in 1402-1404, Tallinn was a flourishing Hanseatic city. The upper floor with its impressive halls, the arcade and the tower were built in that period.
The Town Hall is traditionally the centre of European municipal government from 1248 Tallinn was governed by Lubeck law, according to which the magistracy elected from the Hansa . . . — Map (db m57129) HM|
|Finland, Uusimaa Region, Helsinki — The Senate Square — Vanhaa Helsinkiä — Gamla Helsingfors|
Seaatintori: Text in Finnish ... :
Senatstorget: Text in Swedish ... :
CEHATCKA: Text in Russian ... :
Text in English:
Helsinki was moved to its current location from the mouth of the River Vantaanjoki in 1640. These blocks have formed the historical centre of the city ever since. There are three streets that give us a faint idea of life in Helsinki centuries ago. The location of Sofiankatu, Katariinankatu and Helenankatu has remained unchanged since the . . . — Map (db m57703) HM|
|France, Champagne-Ardenne (Marne Département), Reims — 1 — Cathédral Notre-Dame — World Heritage Site|
|La cathédral actuelle a été précédée par une basilique paléochrétienne (Ve siècle) et une grande église carolingienne (IXe siècle). Commencée en 1211, la construction a été achevée pour l'essentiel dans les anées 1270-80. Les parties hautes datent des XIVe et XVe siècle. La Galerie des Rois perpétue la mémoire du baptême de Clovis en ce lieu. Depuis cet événement, trente-et-un rois de France ont été sacrés dans la cathédrale. Au-dessus du portail central, la grande statuaire célèbre la royauté . . . — Map (db m86013) HM|
|France, Champagne-Ardenne (Marne Département), Reims — Cavalcade du sacre des rois de France|
|Au lendemain de leur sacre, la tradition voulait que les Rois de France, devenus "le bras armé de l'Eglise" se rendent en un brillant cortège militaire de la Cathédrale à Saint-Remi en empruntant la rue Saint-Denis puis la rue Neuve (aujourd'hui rues Chanzy et Gambett); cette parade était appelée "cavalcade de Saint-Remi". Le souverain était entouré de ses Gardes du Corps en grande tenue et des délégations de nombreux régiments de cavalerie et d'infanterie, défilant entre deux haies de troupes . . . — Map (db m85956) HM|
|France, Île-de-France (Paris), Paris — The Conference Gate — Porte de la Conference — Histoire de Paris|
|La porte de la Conférence marque la limite ouest de Paris jusqu’a la veille de la Révolution. En 1593, lors du siège de Paris par Henri IV redevenu huguenot, les Ligueurs utilisent cette sortie pour se rendre à Suresnes négocier avec les représentants du roi. A la suite de cette Conférence, le monarque abjure définitivement le protestantisme: “Paris vaut bien une messe!”. La paix revenue, Marie de Medicis fait aménager le quai, qui prend le nom de “Cours-la-Reyne”. Sous . . . — Map (db m61631) HM|
|Germany, Bavaria (Ansbach District), Rothenburg ob der Tauber — Rabbi Meir ben Baruch von Rothenburg|
Rabbi Meir ben Baruch von Rothenburg einem der bedeutendsten Talmudgelehrten zum gedenken
Geboren um 1220 in Worms,
lebte und wirkte er von etwa 1250 bis 1286 in der Synagoge und in der Talmudschule,
die auf diesem Platze standen,
dem ersten Judenviertel Rothenburgs.
Er starb 1293 in Ensisheim und wurde 1307 in Worms begraben.
Synagoge und Talmudschule wurden 1404 in eine Marienkapelle und in ein Seelhaus ungewandelt.
Die Marienkapelle wurde 1805 abgebrochen. . . . — Map (db m80871) HM|
|Germany, Berlin — Baudenkmal Berliner Mauer — [Berlin Wall Monument]|
| German Text: …
The Berlin Wall became an international symbol of the division of Germany after the Second World War and also of the Cold War between East and West.
The construction of the Berlin Wall began on August 13, 1961. The government of the German Democratic Republic (GDR) built this more than 150-km-long barrier to hermetically seal off East Berlin and the rest of the GDR. More than 2.7 million people had fled the GDR between October 1949 and . . . — Map (db m57785) HM|
|Germany, Berlin — Checkpoint Charlie Site|
| [Panel 1:] During the time Germany and Berlin were divided by THE WALL, the sign which symbolizes world history was standing here: The victorious powers of World War II and the two Germanies confronted each other here, and the Western powers defended the fundamental rights of the special Berlin-Status until the confrontation between USA/USSR tanks. This sign is a copy. The original sign still exists and can be seen in the Haus am Checkpoint Charlie – 40 meters from here. . . . — Map (db m56213) HM|
|Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Mansfeld-Südharz District), Allstedt — Castle & Chateau Allstedt — Burg & Schloss Allstedt|
The impressive facility was built primarily in the period from the 15th-18th centuries. It was built instead of the former imperial palace Allstedt that nearly all early German rulers used as a temporary residence and governmental center from 935-1200. The significant main castle was extensively renovated in 1975 and expanded as a museum. In addition to exhibitions on the work of Thomas Müntzer and Johann Wolfgang von Goethe in Allstedt, there is cast Harz iron art and historically designed . . . — Map (db m73041) HM|
|Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Mansfeld-Südharz District), Allstedt — North Wing / Ground Floor — Nordflügel / Erdgeschoß|
The outer walls of the trench and the courtyard are probably from the 15th century, likewise is the pointed arch doorway.
The oldest part is a tower-like building in the northeast corner. It is completely covered today and the only visible remnants are in the basement and ground floor (13th-14th centuries).
The medieval structural fabric remains to the height of the upper floor.
Cellar fixtures date from the mid-16th century, as the stonemasons' marks at the door of the cellar . . . — Map (db m73057) HM|
|Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Mansfeld-Südharz District), Lutherstadt Eisleben — Markt 54 Birthplace of Alwin Sörgel — Markt 54 Geburtshaus von Alwin Sörgel|
Spokesman for the Democrats 1848/1849 and co-founder of cooperative banking
• 26 May 1815
Alwin Sörgel was the son of merchant Ernst August Sörgel. He immigrated to Texas in 1845, but returned after two years and took over his father's business in Eisleben.
In the wake of the German Revolution in 1848/49 he was the spokesman of the Eislebener Democrats and co-founder of the Liberal People's Association. As editor of the "People's sheet for the county of Mansfeld," . . . — Map (db m70244) HM|
|Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Wittenberg District), Lutherstadt Wittenberg — Johann Schneidewin — (1519 - 1568)|
Jurist, kurfürstl. Rat
Lawyer, Electoral Council
University Professor — Map (db m69782) HM|
|Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Wittenberg District), Lutherstadt Wittenberg — Lucas Cranach d. Ältere — (1472 - 1553)|
Maler und Unternehmer
1537 - 1544 Bürgermeister
Artist and Entrepreneur
1537 - 1544 Mayor — Map (db m69739) HM|
|Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Wittenberg District), Lutherstadt Wittenberg — Lucas Cranach d. Jüngere — (1515 - 1586)|
Maler und Porträtist
Painter and Portraitist
1565 Mayor — Map (db m69779) HM|
|Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Wittenberg District), Lutherstadt Wittenberg — Nikolaus Ludwig, Graf v. Zinzendorf — (1700 - 1760)|
gründete Herrnhuter Brüdergemeine
studierte hier von 1716-1719
studied here from 1716-1719 — Map (db m69785) HM|
|Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Wittenberg District), Lutherstadt Wittenberg — Thomas Müntzer — (1490 - 1525)|
Theologe und Bauernführer
studierte hier 1518
Theologian and Peasant Leader
studied here in 1518 — Map (db m69780) HM|
|Germany, Thuringia (Weimarer Land Kreis (District)), Buchenwald Memorial — Bulgarian Political Prisoners / Bulgarische politische Häftlinge|
Memorial stone (placed) 1970
The translation of the Cyrillic inscription reads:
Bulgarian political prisoners of the concentration camps. From the Dachau, Radeberg, Buchenwald camps. Former students from Dresden and Bratislava.
Die Übersetzung der kyrillischen Inschrift lautet: Block 45
Bulgarische politische Häftlinge der Konzentrationslager. Aus den Lagern Dachau, Radeberg, Buchenwald. . . . — Map (db m76730) HM|
|Germany, Thuringia (Weimarer Land Kreis (District)), Buchenwald Memorial — National Buchenwald Memorial — Nationale Mahn- und Gedenkstätte Buchenwald|
Die vernichtung des Nazismus mit seinen wurzeln ist unsere losung
Der aufbau einer neuen welt des friedens und der freiheit ist unser ziel
The destruction of Nazism and its roots
is our slogan
The construction of a new world of
peace and freedom is our goal — Map (db m76953) HM|
|Germany, Thuringia (Weimarer Land Kreis (District)), Buchenwald Memorial — Soviet Prisoners of War Memorial — Sowjetische Kriegsgefangene Denkmal|
Block 1 • 7 • 13 • 19 • 25 • 30
Lager sowjetischer kriegsgefangener. Allem völkerrecht zum hohn wurden sowjetische soldaten in Buchenwald gefangengehalten. Neben schwerster arbeit wurden sie grausam gequalt und viele starben. trotz solidarischer hilfe durch die politischen gefangenen an erschöpfung und hunger.
Block 1 • 7 • 13 • 19 • 25 • 30
Soviet prisoners of war camp. All international law was scorned for Soviet . . . — Map (db m76865) HM WM|
|Guatemala, Guatemala DepartmentGuatemala City — The Central American Act of Independence — Acta de Independencia de Centroamerica — Independencia de Guatemala|
El Acta de La
se firmo aqui el
The Act of the Independence of Central America was signed here the 15th of September 1821. — Map (db m68561) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — Jeremiah O'Donovan Rossa / Ó Donnabháin Rosa — (1831 - 1915)|
| Ni dhéanfaidh gáeil bhearmao orc go brách
[Gaelic transcription is best effort]
Erected in 1954. An uncut rock of Wicklow granite symbolises the patriot's unbreakable spirit. Into the rock is set a plaque bearing an impression of O'Donovan Rossa's head. — Map (db m25316) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Meath), Bective — Bective Abbey / Mainistir Bheigtí|
| Bective Abbey — from Mainistir Bheigthí (Abbey of Beigtheach)
This Cistercian abbey was founded in 1147 as a “daughter house” of Mellifont Abbey.
The community here was Anglo-Norman. In 1386 men of Irish birth were effectively barred from entering the monastery. The cloister (a covered walkway for contemplation and prayer) and the domestic buildings where the monks lived and worked, were rebuilt on a smaller scale in the 15th century. Two sections of this . . . — Map (db m24752) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Meath), Crossakiel — Jim Connell|
| Author of “The Red Flag”
which became the anthem of the
International Labour Movement
Born Rathniska, Kilskyre 1852
Died Lewisham, London 1929
Oh, grant me an ownerless corner of earth,
Or pick me a hillock of stones,
Or gather the wind wafted leaves of the trees
To cover my socialist bones,
This monument was unveiled on 26th April, 1998 by
Peter Cassells, general secretary, ICTU, before an
international gathering from the trade unions and . . . — Map (db m27347) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Meath), Duleek — Duleek 1916 - 1981 Hunger Strike Monument — and Memorial Garden|
| The Memorial Garden
is named after
Vol. Joe Coombes, Platin Road.
Vol. Noel Gallagher, Mountfield, Co. Tyrone
Vol. Harry McCormick, Prioryland, Duleek
and is in memory of
all those who dedicated their lives
to and for the cause of Irish freedom.
This monument was unveiled by
Paddy Sheils (Snr), Garballagh
and Jimmy Lynch, Kentstown
The Memorial Garden
Was Officially Opened
On 15th June 2008
By Ex-Portlaoise Hungerstriker . . . — Map (db m27220) HM|
|Ireland, Ulster (County Donegal), Donegal Town — 175 — The Franciscan Friary of Donegal|
Founded 1474 and richly endowed by the Lady Nuala O'Connor and the Lady Nuala O'Brien, wives of successive O'Donnell chieftains.
The Friary followed the usual Franciscan layout of church on the south side, with cloisters and conventual buildings to the north. Its present ruinous state dates from 1601 when it was turned into a fortress by Niall Garbh O'Donnell and his English allies and besieged by Red Hugh.
Donegal Friary and its possessions were confiscated in 1607 following the . . . — Map (db m71600) HM|
|Italy, Lazio (Rome Province), Rome — Altar of Caesar / Ara di Cesare|
Altar of Caesar
... deposed (beyond bare Caesar) in the Forum, where the palace the ancient Romans is, and you piled on tables, seats and the other timber was there ... ro lit the fire and all the people stood to the axes bonfire at night. In that place first was erected an altar, now there is the temple of Caesar himself, in which he is revered as a god
Ara di Cesare
...deposero (là spoglia di Cesare) nel Foro, la dove è l'antica reggia dei Romani, e vi accumularono sopra . . . — Map (db m84379) HM
|Italy, Lazio (Rome Province), Rome — Arch of Constantine|
| IMP • CAES • FL • CONSTANTINO • MAXIMO • P • F • AVGUSTO • S • P • Q • R • QVOD • INSTINCTV • DIVINITATIS • MENTIS • MAGNITVDINE • CVM • EXERCITV • SVO • TAM • DE • TYRANNO • QVAM • DE • OMNI • EIVS • FACTIONE • VNO • TEMPORE • IVSTIS • REM-PVBLICAM • VLTVS • EST • ARMIS • ARCVM • TRIVMPHIS • INSIGNEM • DICAVIT [English trans.:]
To the Emperor Caesar Flavius Constantinus, the greatest, pious, and blessed Augustus: because he, inspired by the divine, and by the greatness of his . . . — Map (db m47768) HM|
|Italy, Lazio (Rome Province), Rome — Domus Flavia. So-called Basilica / Cd. Basilica|
Domus Flavia. So-called Basilica
The so-called Basilica takes its name from the architecture of its interior, typical of basilicas: it was divided into three halls by coloured marble columns with an apse at the end closed by a balustrade. Traces of the marble veneer survive on the walls and part of the floor made of large slabs of coloured marble was preserved until the 19th century. A modern staircase leads to a room beneath, covered by the palace, known as the "Hall of Isis" and . . . — Map (db m84255) HM
|Italy, Lazio (Rome Province), Rome — Regia|
Located near the temple of Vesta, the Regia is believed to have been built by king Numa Pompilius as the place where the kings of Rome exercised their political and religious power. The plan resembles that of archaic houses and its royal nature is attested by the rich architectural terracottas found here. Excavations have identified five different construction phases dating to between the 7th and 6th century BC when the building took on its definitive appearance. Consisting of three rooms . . . — Map (db m84370) HM
|Italy, Lazio (Rome Province), Rome — Roman Forum|
The Roman Forum lies in the valley surrounded by the Palatine, Capitoline and Esquiline hills. In the Republican period (5th-1st centuries BC) this was the political, economic, religious and commercial heart of ancient Rome. In the 9th-8th centuries BC when the city was made up of independent villages, the area was occupied by the cemeteries of the various settlements. Later, the villages began to merge and the Forum valley naturally became the place where their inhabitants met for . . . — Map (db m84375) HM
|Italy, Lazio (Rome Province), Rome — Roman Forum|
The Roman Forum retained its importance especially during the Republican period (5th-1st centuries BC), when the valley gradually filled with public buildings whose remains are still preserved. These buildings, which almost always originally had a timber frame and brick facing, were reconstructed on various occasions, in part because they were frequently destroyed by fire or civil strife. It was this unplanned continuity of its buildings over time which gave the Roman Forum its typically . . . — Map (db m84377) HM
|Italy, Lazio (Rome Province), Rome — Vittorio Emanuele II — [Capitoline Hill]|
| Monumento a Vittorio Emanuele II
Architetti: G. Sacconi, P. Piacentini, G. Koch, M. Manfredi
Renderings of the Monument:
Pianta * Sezione longitudianle * Prospeto
[Left column - Text in Italian…]
Right column - Text in English:
The Monument to Vittorio Emanuele IInd is situated in the Campitelli district which was the site of many great undertakings throughout the centuries. Nowadays, not many people actually live here, for . . . — Map (db m47437) HM|
|New Zealand, Auckland, Auckland CBD — Lord Freyberg Statue|
|Lord Freyberg V.C., G.C.M.G., K.C.B., K.B.E., D.S.O.
1889 – 1963
Commander of the Second New Zealand Division 1939 – 1945
Governor-General of New Zealand 1946 – 1952
This memorial has been donated by returned servicemen to the citizens of metropolitan Auckland in appreciation of their continuing generosity. — Map (db m83526) HM|
|Palestinian Territories, West Bank, Bethlehem — Nativity Church|
| (Arabic inscription preceedes English inscription)
The oldest church in use, the Nativity Church is home to the birthplace of Jesus Christ. The Byzantine Queen Helena inaugurated the construction of a Basilica at the Nativity in 339 A.D. at the site where the Roman Emperor Hadrian had built a shrine dedicated to Adonis. The Basilica was destroyed and rebuilt by Emperor Justinian in 531 A.D. and reinforced to its present fortress shape by Tancrea in 1169 A.D. During Ottoman rule, the . . . — Map (db m44631) HM|
|Philippines, Cavite Province, Corregidor Island — Malinta Tunnel|
| Begun in 1922 and substantially completed in 1932, the tunnel complex consisted of east-west passage measuring 836 ft. long by 24 ft. wide 13 laterals on its north side and 11 laterals on the south side. Reinforced with concrete walls. Floor and overhead arches with blowers to furnish fresh air and a double-track electric car line along the main tunnel, Malinta provided bombproof shelter for the 1000 bed hospital, MacArthur’s USAFFE headquarters, shops and vast labyrinth storehouse during the . . . — Map (db m63648) HM WM|
|Philippines, Laguna, Calamba — José Rizal Monument|
|Panel 1: (Text in Tagalog/Pilipino:)José Rizal (1861-1896)
Pambansang Bayani ng Pilipinas, doctor, agrimensor, dalubwika, manunulat, makata, eskultor at pintor. Isinilang sa Calamba, Laguna, 19 Hunyo 1861. May-akda ng Noli Me Tangere (1887) at El Filibusterismo (1887), mga nobelang higit pang nagpaalab sa mga Filipino na maghimagsik laban sa Espanya. Dinakip at ipinatapon sa Dapitan, hilagang Mindanao, 6 Hulyo 1892. Nagboluntaryo bilang manggagamot ng puwersang Espanyol sa Cuba, . . . — Map (db m63619) HM|
|Philippines, Leyte (Palo), Palo City — Leyte Landing/Paglunsad sa Leyte|
| Panel 1 (Text in Filipino):
Sa pook na ito sa Palo, Leyte nagbalik sa Filipinas si Heneral Douglas MacArthur noong 20 Oktubre 1944 at personal na nanguna sa mabilisang pagtataboy sa hukbong Hapones na nasa Pilipinas. Ang Pangulong Sergio Osmeña at ilang kagawad ng nagdestiyerong pamahalaan ay dumating kasamg ni Hen. MacArthur at kumilos para sa muling pagtatatag, pagpapanumbalik, at pangangasiwa sa pamahalaang Komonwelt ng Filipinas. Ipinahayag ng pambansang tandang . . . — Map (db m63620) HM WM|
|Philippines, Manila, Ermita — Cosmopolitan Church|
In Tagalog: Itinatag bilang Cosmopoilta Student Church sa ilalim ng Pihlippine Methodist Church, Marso 1933. Itinalaga sa pook na ito, 1936. Kanlungan at sentro ng gawain ng mga kasapi ng simbahang lihim na kabilang sa kilusang gerilya, 1942-1944. Inokupahan ng mga hapon, Setyembre 1944. Muling ipinatayo matapos masunong noong Labanan ng Maynila, 1945. Isa sa mga simbahang nagtatag ng United Church of Christ in the Philippines (UCCP), 1948. Inialay ang bagong santuaryo, 14 Disyembre . . . — Map (db m25103) HM|
|Philippines, Zambales (Subic Bay Metropolitan Authority), Olongapo — Inang Laya Monument — "The Hands That Freed the Nation" — Inang Laya - Mother Country|
| Let the Dozen Hands pay tribute to the Magnificent Twelve Senators of the Republic of the Philippines who on September 16, 1991, stood up and declared “NO” to the RP US Military Bases Treaty, thus finally ending more than four centuries of foreign military presence in the country.
Let the image of INANG LAYA – MOTHER COUNTRY now unbound and standing proudly be the embodiment of the generation of Filipinos who kept the flames of freedom ablaze during the bleakest moments in . . . — Map (db m68214) HM|
|Philippines, Zambales (Subic Bay Metropolitan Authority), Olongapo City — Subic Bay Metropolitan Authority|
| Five years ago today, this 24th day of November 1997, the U.S. Navy in solemn ceremonies relinquished administration, control and possession of the former Subic Naval Base, after 94 years to the sovereign Philippine government. Presiding over the ceremony was his excellency, President Fidel V. Ramos, Present in the historic turnover were:
For the Philippine Government:
Hon. Roberio R. Romulo, Secretary of Foreign Affairs
Hon. Richard J. Gordon, Mayor, City of . . . — Map (db m68150) HM|
|South Africa, Eastern Cape, Grahamstown — Schönland Building|
|Originally a military hospital, this building was used for the sitting of the house of assembly when the Cape parliament met in Grahamstown in 1864. — Map (db m62646) HM|
|Switzerland, Zurich (Zurich) — Fountain from Paris|
|Fountain from Paris, 1870 to initiate the
1982 World Convention of Water Experts in Zurich.
The four nymphs personify simplicity, purity, sobriety and charity.
They symbolise international co-operation in providing people
everywhere with pure and salubrious water.
(Plaques in French and German are also found on the fountain) — Map (db m67089) HM|
|Turkey, Istanbul Province (Fatih district), Istanbul — German Fountain — Alman Çeşmesi|
|English: German Fountain is a monument dedicated to the second visit of the Prussian King and German Emperor Wilhelm II in 1898. The monument, which was presented in the name of Turkish-German friendship, extending its function of being a fountain with its political meaning and content, is today mostly known for its monumental value.
The plans for the fountain were drawn by the private consultant of the Kaiser, Architect Spitta and its construction was overseen by the architect . . . — Map (db m84692) HM|
|United Kingdom, Aberdeenshire (Scotland), Aberdeen — The Scottish Parliament|
The Rt Hon Sir David Steel KBE MSP
Presiding Officer of the Scottish Parliament
The City of Aberdeen
To commemorate the occasion of the
Scottish Parliament sitting in Aberdeen
during the period Tuesday 28 to Thursday 30 May 2002 — Map (db m34056) HM|
|United Kingdom, England (Central London), London — Tower Hill Execution Site|
|To Commemorate the tragic history and in many cases the martyrdom of those who for the sake of their faith country or ideals staked their lives and lost. On this site more than 125 were put to death. The names of some of whom are recorded here.
• Simon of Sudbury, Archbishop of Canterbury 1381
• Sir Robert Hales, 1381
• Sir Simon de Burley, K.G. 1388
• Richard Fitzalan, 3rd Earl of Arundel 1397
• Rev. Richard Wyche, Vicar of Deptford 1440
• John De Vere, 12th Earl of Oxford 1462 . . . — Map (db m78678) HM|
|United Kingdom, Northern Ireland (County Londonderry), Derry-Londonderry — Bernadette|
|The Artists' first coloured mural is a tribute to the women of Derry and their role in the civil rights campaign. Bernadette Devlin, Britain's youngest MP, addresses the crowd during the Battle of the Bogside: her actions resulted in a six month jail sentence for inciting and taking part in a riot. The woman to her left bangs a dustbin lid on the ground to alert neighbours to the arrival of the authorities. The triangle motif inspired by the gable end is repeated throughout the painting. . . . — Map (db m71187) HM|
|United Kingdom, Northern Ireland (County Londonderry), Derry-Londonderry — Bloody Sunday|
This mural depicts the events of 30th January 1972 when the British Army opened fire on a civil rights demonstration, killing 14 people. A local priest waves a bloodstained handkerchief at the soldiers as he leads a group of men, carry the body of the youngest victim, away from the scene of the shooting. A soldier stands on a civil rights banner: this speaks of the price that people pay for democratic freedom.
What makes our work unique is that, both as artists and as citizens, we are . . . — Map (db m71215) HM WM|
|United Kingdom, Northern Ireland (County Londonderry), Derry-Londonderry — Church Bastion|
The watchers and the watched
There have been watchers on the walls for centuries. In 1627 two watch towers were built near the Cathedral after the guards complained about having to do duty in the rain. In the 19th century the bastions became gardens and most watch towers were demolished: one still survives near here. During the Troubles the British army erected sangars close to the walls to watch over the city. The towers combined accommodation for soldiers with high technology . . . — Map (db m71053) HM|
|United Kingdom, Northern Ireland (County Londonderry), Derry-Londonderry — Civil Rights|
This mural captures the mood of a typical civil rights march in the years up to 1972. Inspired by the civil disobedience campaign of Martin Luther King in the United States, young and old, Catholics and Protestants, politicians and mothers took to the streets to march for their democratic rights.
Our intention was to describe it as it was, a happy, almost festive occasion conducted by people who were content that they were standing up, at long last, against prolonged injustice. — Map (db m71434) HM|
|United Kingdom, Northern Ireland (County Londonderry), Derry-Londonderry — H Block Hunger Strike Memorial|
IRA. Vol. Bobby Sands,
Born 9th March 1954
Died 5th May 1981
Age: 27 (66 Days).
IRA. Vol. Francis Hughes,
Born 28th Feb 1956
Died 12th May 1981
Age: 25 (59 Days)
INLA. Vol. Patsy O'Hara,
Born 11th July 1957
Died 21st May 1981
Age: 23 (61 Days)
IRA. Vol. Raymond McCreesh,
Born 25th Feb 1957
Died 21st May 1981
Age: 24 (61 Days)
IRA. Vol. Joe McDonnell,
Born 14th Step 1951
Died 8th July 1981
Age: 30 [sic - 29] (61 Days)
Let Our Revenge Be The . . . — Map (db m71219) WM|
|United Kingdom, Northern Ireland (County Londonderry), Derry-Londonderry — Mc Nutt, Phelan, and Mc Shane Memorial|
In proud and loving memory of
I.N.L.A. Volunteer Colm Mc Nutt
Killed in Action 12th Decembert 1977
Comrade Patrick “Hessy” Phelan
Murdered in New York, 21st January 1996
Comrade Dermot “Tonto” Mc Shane
Murdered by British Army, 13th July 1996
“thig leo an reabhlóideach a mharú,
Ach ní thig leo an réabhlóid a mharú choiche” — Map (db m71442) WM|
|United Kingdom, Northern Ireland (County Londonderry), Derry-Londonderry — Motorman|
Free Derry ended at 4am on 30th July 1972 when thousands of British troops in tanks and armoured cars invaded the Bogside and Creggan 'no-go' areas. During Operation Motorman, they tore down the barricades with bulldozers. The Artists chose the image of a soldier battering down a door to express the sheer ferocity of the onslaught. With its contrasting light and shadow, the mural becomes a powerful statement against war.
Our work commemorates the real price paid by a naïve and . . . — Map (db m71284) HM|
|United Kingdom, Northern Ireland (County Londonderry), Derry-Londonderry — Seán Keenan / Ó Cianáin|
In proud and loving memory of
Seán Keenan 1914 - 1993
Volunteer. Óglaigh na h-Éireann
Derry Citizens' Defence Association
Republican Sinn Fein
Fluent Irish Speaker
and active G.A.A. Supporter
He spent 15 years interned without trial
His life-long struggle against oppression
and for the All-Ireland Republic
continues to inspire his people
His wife Nancy died 1st October 1970
Also his son Colm
Died in active service on 14th . . . — Map (db m71208) HM WM|
|United Kingdom, Northern Ireland (County Londonderry), Derry-Londonderry — The Peace Mural|
| This mural shows a dove and an oak leaf, as symbols of hope for the city’s future. The dove is the name of St Columba, the city’s founder, who is said to have built his monastery in an oak grove. The background mosaic of the colours of the spectrum expresses what the Artists mean by peace.
The colours of the mural say that peace without freedom is no peace at all. — Map (db m71440) HM|
|United Kingdom, Northern Ireland (County Londonderry), Derry-Londonderry — The Peace Process|
After the 1981 hunger strikes the republican movement embarked on a political process that resulted in the IRA ceasefire in August 1994. Loyalist paramilitaries declared their ceasefire in October 1994. In 1998 local politicians and the British and Irish governments signed the Good Friday Agreement, which paved the way for the current locally elected assembly at Stormont.
An Próiséas Síochána
Tar éis stailceanna ocrais 1981 ghabh gluaiseacht na poblachta do phróiséas polaitiúil a . . . — Map (db m71218) HM|
|Alabama (Barbour County), Clayton — George Corley Wallace, Lurleen Burns Wallace Governors of Alabama|
|George and Lurleen Wallace spent much time at Memorial Hall with their involvement in community events and the education of their children. They served 17 years as Governor and were the only husband and wife to serve as Alabama’s Governor. Wallace served an unprecedented four terms as Governor – Jan. 14, 1963 – Jan. 16, 1967, Jan. 18, 1971 – Jan. 15, 1979, Jan. 17, 1983 – Jan. 19, 1987. When he could not succeed himself Lurleen ran and was inaugurated Jan. 16, 1967. She . . . — Map (db m62807) HM|
|Alabama (Barbour County), Clayton — Jere Locke Beasley — Acting Governor of Alabama June 5 – July 7, 1972|
|Jere Locke Beasley was born in Tyler, Texas on December 12, 1935. At a young age, Beasley and his family moved to Clayton, Alabama very near the Pratt’s Station Community in which his great-great-grandfather had settled in 1819. He served as the 22nd Lieutenant Governor of Alabama from January 18, 1971 to January 15, 1979. Beasley was in his first term when Governor George Wallace was severely wounded in an assassination attempt on May 15, 1972. Since Wallace was out-of-state for more than 20 . . . — Map (db m82871) HM|
|Alabama (Barbour County), Comer — Election Riot of 1874|
|Near here is old Spring Hill, the site of one of the polling places for the November 3, 1874 local, state and national elections. Elias M. Keils, scalawag and judge of the Circuit Court of Eufaula, was United States Supervisor at the Spring Hill ballot box. William, his 16 year old son, was with him. After the polls closed, a mob broke into the building, extinguished the lights, destroyed the poll box and began shooting. During the riot, Willie Keils was mortally wounded. The resulting . . . — Map (db m60894) HM|
|Alabama (Calhoun County), Piedmont — Cross Plains - Piedmont|
|Cross Plains citizens voted for incorporation March 10, 1871. A second vote was cast for reincorporation May 15, 1882. By the acts of the Alabama Legislature of 1888, Cross Plains became Piedmont September 30, 1888. Mayors for both Cross Plains and Piedmont are Listed.
J. F. Dailey 1871-1874
J. N. Hood 1874-1882
J. A Woolf 1882-1883
John H. Hall 1883-1884
J. A Woolf 1884-1885
S. D. McClelen 1885-1887
J. W. Harris 1887-1888
J. N. Hood 1888-1890
A. D. McCollister . . . — Map (db m27992) HM|
|Alabama (Colbert County), Tuscumbia — Belle Mont|
|Built between 1828 and 1832, Belle Mont is a foremost example of Jeffersonian Palladian Architecture in the deep south and one of Alabama's first great plantation houses.
It was build for Dr. Alexander W. Mitchell, a native of Virginia, and a graduate of the University of Edinburgh, Scotland, and one of the first large scale~ planters and slaveholders in this area.
In 1833 this 1,680~ acre plantation was sold by Mitchell to another Virginian Native, Isaac Winston.
Winston, also a . . . — Map (db m29561) HM|
|Alabama (Colbert County), Tuscumbia — Howell Thomas Heflin — 1921~2005|
|Howell Thomas Heflin retired from a lifetime of distinguished public service in 1997, having served Alabama in the U.S. Senate for three consecutive terms. There he was known as a national leader on judicial, agricultural, defense, and space issues. As Chief Justice of the Alabama Supreme Court from 1971 to 1977, he modernized the state's court system. Heflin was a Marine Corps officer during World War II, attaining the rank of major and awarded the Silver Star and Purple Heart. Howell T. . . . — Map (db m28586) HM|
|Alabama (Colbert County), Tuscumbia — Sacred Tears — By Branko Medenica — September 19, 2003|
| Panel 1
Tuscumbia and much of the Shoals area played an integral part in the "Trail of Tears" with the Tennessee River route and the overland routes. In 1825, the U.S. Government formally adopted a removal policy, which was carried out extensively in the 1830's by Presidents Andrew Jackson and Martin Van Buren. The result was particularly overwhelming for the Indians of the southeast, primarily the Cherokee, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Creek and Seminole. While some resisted removal by . . . — Map (db m83403) HM|
|Alabama (Conecuh County), Burnt Corn — Dr. John Watkins — 1785 - 1853|
One of the framers of the
constitution of the State
of Ala, represented Monroe
Co. in the first legislature
of the new state in 1819, rep-
resented Butler, Conecuh &
Monroe Cos. in the State Sen-
ate 1820-1842-1845. He was the
only physician between the
Ala. & Chattahoochee Rivers
during that period. — Map (db m81321) HM|
|Alabama (Conecuh County), Burnt Corn — Dr. Watkins House|
|This two and a half story structure with unusual lower front extension was the home of Dr. John Watkins. Dr. Watkins was one of the first and few physicians in this part of the Mississippi Territory. Before coming to Burnt Corn, he lived in Claiborne. In addition to being a doctor, he served in the Alabama House of Representatives and Senate and was trustee of the Burnt Corn Male Academy. — Map (db m81297) HM|
|Alabama (Conecuh County), Burnt Corn — First School in Conecuh County|
|The first known school in Conecuh County, "Students Retreat," was located near this site. The land was owned by John Green, who also was the school’s first teacher. Green served the county in the state House of Representatives and the 1861 Secession Convention. He was elected, too, to the 1875 Constitutional Convention, at the age of 85. — Map (db m81295) HM|
|Alabama (Conecuh County), Burnt Corn — John Green Cemetery — Conecuh County|
War of 1812 veteran John Green (1790-1882) settled in Burnt Corn in 1816. He held many public offices, established the first school, and represented Conecuh County in the state legislature in 1824 and 1829. He was the Conecuh delegate to the 1861 (Secession) Convention of the People of Alabama and the 1875 Constitutional Convention. ‘He is allowed to be, even by those who oppose his sentiments, a man of unimpeachable character, a worthy citizen, and a kind obliging neighbor’ (The . . . — Map (db m81285) HM|
|Alabama (Conecuh County), Burnt Corn — Longmire Stagecoach Stop & First Post Office in Conecuh County|
|Garrett Longmire had an early trading center, tavern and stage stop near here. He served as the postmaster when his store became a post office in 1818, one of the earliest in what was then the Alabama Territory. The Burnt Corn Post Office served as a distribution point for mail to many early post offices in south Alabama. In December of 1820, Longmire became Justice of the Conecuh County Court. — Map (db m81298) HM|
|Alabama (Dale County), Midland City — Richmond - First County Seat Henry County / Richmond - First County Seat Dale County|
Richmond - First County Seat
Henry County was created December 13, 1819; David Caldwell first Probate Judge, held court in homes of early settlers. Richmond was selected in 1822 for first county seat. Creation of Dale County (in 1824, from western part of Henry County and other lands), resulted in removal of Henry County seat to Columbia. In 1826, Henry County was authorized to levy a tax to help pay Robert Irwin and Pelatiah Whitehurst for building a . . . — Map (db m71585) HM|
|Alabama (Dale County), Newton — Newton — Town on the Hill 1834 / Third County Seat of Dale County|
Town on the Hill - 1843
Newton was hub of Dale County activities from 1843 until 1870. During War Between the States (1861-1865), Newton was center of recruiting, including the Home Guards. In March 1865, local militia repulsed attack by band of irregulars. Board of Physicians established 1856 to issue licenses. The Southern Star first published here in 1867. Newton was port for river boats (until railroad built in 1890). Home of Killebrew's Mill, Kill Kare Kamp, . . . — Map (db m71586) HM|
|Alabama (Dallas County), Selma — 'Bloody Sunday' Attack at Edmund Pettus Bridge / U.S. Congress Approves Voting Rights Act of 1965|
'Bloody Sunday' Attack at Edmund Pettus Bridge
A voting registration campaign in 1965 turned tragic Feb. 17 when an Alabama state trooper fatally shot Jimmie Lee Jackson in Marion. It prompted a protest march from Selma to Montgomery that triggered a milestone event in the Civil Rights Movement.
On March 7, John Lewis and Hosea Williams led a group of 600 African Americans from Brown Chapel AME Church six blocks and across the Edmund Pettus Bridge. State . . . — Map (db m81944) HM|
|Alabama (Dallas County), Selma — Sgt Robert Weakley Patton — Born 1844 - Died 1865 — Battle of Selma|
|Patton, a member of Shockley's Escort Company of the University of Alabama, was killed in a clash with the 4th Iowa Cavalry at the corner of Washington Street and Alabama Avenue. In November 1865 his father, Robert Miller Patton, was elected the 20th Governor of Alabama.
Shockley's Cadets: In 1864, there were 296 students at the University and they formed the "Corps of Cadets." While attempts were made to keep to the usual academic courses then taught, the University was also a military . . . — Map (db m83587) HM|
|Alabama (Elmore County), Wetumpka — Williams Lowndes Yancey|
One half mile from this site
is the home of
William Lowndes Yancey
Southern Secession Leader
Silver Tongued Orator — Map (db m71550) HM|
|Alabama (Escambia County), Brewton — The Leigh Place|
The Leigh Place
The First Escambia County Courthouse
Used as the County Seat from 1885 to 1890. After
various other uses, remodeled as an office in 1969. — Map (db m84392) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — Bennett Walker Smith — City of Florence Walk of Honor|
Rev. Dr. Bennett W. Smith, as president of the Progressive National Baptist Convention, expanded the organization internationally. Active in Civil Rights in America and South Africa, he counseled President Bill Clinton on racial equality. — Map (db m38645) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — Edward Asbury O'Neal, III — City of Florence Walk of Honor|
Serving 16 years as president of the American Farm Bureau Federation (1931-1947), Mr. O'Neal developed major New Deal farm policies in the Franklin D. Roosevelt Administration. — Map (db m28906) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — General Arthur E. Brown, Jr. — City of Florence Walk of Honor|
A 1953 graduate of West Point, Gen. Brown culminated a 36-year military career as Director of the Army Staff (1983-1987) and Vice-Chief of Staff of the U.S. Army (1987-1989). — Map (db m29267) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — James Thomas Rapier — City of Florence Walk of Honor|
Lawyer and statesman James T. Rapier, a son of free African-American parents in Florence, holds the distinction of being just the second African-American from Alabama to be elected, in 1873, to the U.S. Congress. — Map (db m28887) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — John McKinley Associate Justice, U.S. Supreme Court|
|John McKinley (1780~1852), native of Virginia, prominent attorney, member of Cypress Land Company, built a large three story mansion near this site in 1820's which later burned. McKinley served in Alabama Legislature, U.S. Senate (1826~31); was appointed Associate Justice, United States Supreme Court, by President Van Buren; served 1837~52. Died in Louisville, Ky. — Map (db m28926) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — Justice John A. McKinley — City of Florence Walk of Honor|
First serving as a member of the U.S. Senate (1826-1830), John McKinley was appointed to the U.S. Supreme Court by President Van Buren, becoming the first justice from Alabama. — Map (db m29265) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — Justice John McKinley Federal Building|
| Side A
Named for Alabama's first United States Supreme Court Justice, John McKinley made his home in Florence, Alabama from about 1821 to 1842. Born May 1, 1780 in Culpepper County, Virginia, he died July 19, 1852 and is buried in Louisville, Kentucky. McKinley was an early setter of Huntsville, Alabama and resided in the Howard Weeden Home. As a member of the Cypress Land Company, he was one of the seven founders of Florence in 1818. McKinley helped establish one of Florence's first . . . — Map (db m28930) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — Maj. Gen. George W. Goethals — City of Florence Walk of Honor|
In 1891, G.W. Goethals, in his role as supervisor of public works on the Tennessee River, reported directly to the Secretary of War. Later, he was Chief Engineer for the construction of the Panama Canal. — Map (db m29099) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — Michael Hall Mobbs — City of Florence Walk of Honor|
Representing the Secretary of Defense at the Strategic Arms Reduction Talks in the 1980's, Michael Mobbs was a leader in negotiations between the U.S. and the U.S.S.R., resulting in the most complex arms control treaty in history. — Map (db m38644) HM|
|Alabama (Lawrence County), Courtland — The African ~ American Experience|
African~Americans played a very significant role in the early history of Courtland. Most came as slaves from the older southern states to help clear the land, to plant crops of cotton and corn, and to serve as household domestics. President Thomas Jefferson’s great~grandson, William S. Bankhead, brought his personal servant and valet, Jupiter, from Monticello when he settled near Courtland in the 1840s. Skilled slave craftsmen also assisted in constructing many Courtland . . . — Map (db m29009) HM|
|Alabama (Lawrence County), Courtland — The Town of Courtland / Early Settlers — 1819|
|Side A Federal lands in this area were first sold in 1818 and quickly purchased by settlers and speculators. A group of investors calling themselves the “Courtland Land Company” and consisting of William H. Whitaker, James M. Camp, William F. Broadnax, John M. Tifford, Benjamin Thomas and Bernard McKiernan acquired the future town site and had it laid off in a gridiron street pattern containing 300 lots. These were immediately put up for sale. In hopes that Courtland would . . . — Map (db m28989) HM|
|Alabama (Lawrence County), Moulton — Cheatham Road|
|Wyatt Cheatham (1769-1856) was one of the early settlers of Lawrence County and bought land near Wren in 1818. The Alabama Legislature on 14 Dec 1824 authorized him, "to open out and make a road leading from at or near the Gum Pond in said county to Tuscaloosa". The act authorized him to erect turnpike gates and collect tolls for passage. The Gum Pond near the Leola Road was located on Payne’s Road about 7 miles south of Moulton. The Cheatham Road was to be 18 feet wide with 12 feet cleared of . . . — Map (db m84310) HM|
|Alabama (Lawrence County), Moulton — General Leroy Pope Walker|
|General Leroy Pope Walker was born 7 Feb 1817 in Madison County, Al., son of John W. Walker (1784~1823). John was House Speaker of the AL Territory, the first constitutional convention president, the first US AL senator, and namesake of Walker County, AL. After attending the Universities of AL and VA and admission to the bar, Leroy P. Walker began his political career in Lawrence County. He served in the General Assembly from 1843 to 1849 and again from 1853 to 1857. He also served as speaker . . . — Map (db m69669) HM|
|Alabama (Lawrence County), Moulton — Judge Thomas M. Peters|
|A scientist of national fame, Peters (1810-1888) lived for many years in Moulton with his wife Naomi (Leetch), a relative of President James K. Polk, who possibly visited here. A man of many talents, Peters was a noted linguist, early civil rights and women's suffrage activist, and lawyer. At various times, he was a newspaper publisher, educator, state representative and senator, Alabama Supreme Court Chief Justice, Alabama Constitutional Convention delegate, and a pro-Union Republican leader. . . . — Map (db m69670) HM|
|Alabama (Lawrence County), Wheeler — Home of Gen. Joseph Wheeler — 1836~1906|
|"Fighting Joe Wheeler"
Confederate Cavalry Commander of Army of Tennessee.
Major~General, Cavalry,U.S.A. in Spanish American War
One of Alabama's representatives in the Statuary Hall in Washington. — Map (db m76952) HM|
|Alabama (Limestone County), Athens — Coleman Family — Coleman Hill|
|Wealthy and influential Virginia family settled here in 1820's. Daniel Coleman (1801-1857) built his stately home a block west about 1826. During the Civil War, home was occupied by Yankee troops who took Elizabeth Coleman's teeth for their gold content. Home was destroyed in early 1900's. Coleman Hill was subdivided about 1904.
Daniel, at age 19, was appointed County Judge in 1821, served Alabama House of Representatives 1829-30, Alabama Supreme Court Justice 1851-52. He and brother . . . — Map (db m85389) HM|
|Alabama (Limestone County), Athens — Governor George S. Houston Home|
This house was purchased by George S. Houston in 1845 and was his home until his death here on 31st December 1879. Houston served the people of Alabama in public office for thirty six years. His long and distinguished political career began in 1832 and included; one term in the Alabama state legislature, three terms as circuit solicitor, nine terms in the U. S. House of Representatives, two terms as Governor of Alabama and he was twice elected to the U. S. Senate. Due to his . . . — Map (db m85420) HM|
|Alabama (Limestone County), Capshaw — Nicholas Davis|
|Born April 23, 1781 in Hanover Co. Virginia, married there to Martha Hargrave of a wealthy Quaker family. He served as U.S. Marshall and in other positions. Moved to Kentucky in 1808. Was a Captain in the WAR OF 1812 and became a political and personal ally of Henry Clay.
He settled here on several hundred acres and built his large log home "WALNUT GROVE" in 1817. Here he entertained large numbers of guests for days at a time, raced his blooded horses and lived the life of a much admired . . . — Map (db m29284) HM|
|Alabama (Limestone County), Elkmont — Sims Settlement|
| Side A (North side) In the fall of 1806 a group of settlers led by William and James Sims, traveled from east Tennessee on flatboats down the Tennessee River and up the Elk River to this area. They landed near Buck Island and spread out into the surrounding countryside, seeking homesites in what they thought was "government" land that would soon be for sale to settlers. The area they settled, covering several square miles, from Elk River to New Garden became known as "Sims Settlement." . . . — Map (db m85454) HM|
|Alabama (Madison County), Gurley — "Wildwood"|
|Home of Virginia Clay Clopton (1825-1915)
Author and Social Leader who was known in Washington society as "The Belle of the Fifties"
Whose first husband, Clement Claiborne Clay (1817-1882), was United States Senator from Alabama (1853-1861) and Confederate Leader (1861-1865) and Whose second husband, David Clopton (1820-1892), was a United States Congressman from Alabama (1859-1861) and later Associate Justice of the Supreme Court of Alabama. — Map (db m31010) HM|
|Alabama (Madison County), Huntsville — Alabama’s Constitution And Statehood|
|Before statehood, the Alabama Territory had only limited rights of self government. Between July 5 and August 2, 1819, forty-four delegates from across the Territory convened in Huntsville to draft a constitution for statehood. Lawyers, merchants, ministers, planters, farmers, and physicians gathered here to produce a legal framework for self-government to protect the sovereignty of the people. A firm belief in the separation of powers among the legislative, executive, and judicial branches led . . . — Map (db m26592) HM|
|Alabama (Madison County), Huntsville — Tallulah Bankhead / I. Schiffman Building — 1902-1968 / Birthplace of Tallulah Bankhead — Alabama’s Best-Known Actress|
Tallulah Bankhead was the toast of the London theatre in the 1920's, and nationally renowned for her dramatic roles in “The Little Foxes” (1939), “The Skin of Our Teeth” (1942), the movie “Lifeboat” (1944), and as emcee of the “The Big Show“ (NBC Radio, 1950-52). She was born in Huntsville on January 31, 1902, in an apartment of the I. Schiffman Building (see other side). Her father, then Huntsville City Attorney, was later Speaker . . . — Map (db m27850) HM|
|Alabama (Madison County), Madison — "The Roundhouse"|
|This building is a replica of Madison's first city hall and is constructed on the original site of the Madison Depot, it was build in the late 1800's while Capt. John Buchanan Floyd, a Confederate veteran, was mayor.
"The Roundhouse" served as the official city hall for town meetings, elections, and town activities such as weddings, hair cutting (when the barber made his weekly visit), and frequent card games. The original "Roundhouse" was dismantled in approximately 1938. The foundation is . . . — Map (db m85835) HM|
|Alabama (Madison County), Madison — Trail of Tears — Drane Overland Route|
|Early in the 1800's gold was found from Virginia to Alabama including a rich belt on Cherokee Indian land in what is now Dahlonega, GA.
causing a huge influx of miners and a land grab by new settlers.
Pressure and greed from politicians led to the removal of Indians from their homeland by force, fraudulent treaties, and settler hostilities. The U.S. Government sanctioned forced removal by passing the Indian Removal Act of 1830 affecting Cherokee from AL, GA, FL, MS, TN and the Carolina's. . . . — Map (db m85838) HM|
|Alabama (Madison County), Madison — White Hall — 1878|
|This site was the farm of Gilbert G. White Jr., his wife Nancy L. White, and family from 1947 to 2005. Mr. White lived here until his death in 1978. Gilbert G. White Jr. was a descendant of John White, Speaker of the US House of Representatives circa 1838. Gilbert G. White Jr. was the great grandson of Colonel James White, entrepreneur and frontier industrialist from Abington, VA. On December 24, 1824 Col. James White founded the town of Whitesburg, AL south of Huntsville on the Tennessee . . . — Map (db m44268) HM|
|Alabama (Mobile County), Mobile — Cadillac Homesite|
Here stood the home of Antoine de la Mothe Cadillac, soldier of fortune under Louis XIV. Founder of Detroit, 1701; prominent person-age in Canada until 1710. He lived here during his residence in Mobile (1713-1717) as Royal Governor of Louisiana. — Map (db m86328) HM|
|Alabama (Mobile County), Mobile — John L. LeFlore — Non-Partisan Voters League|
|After the NAACP was outlawed in 1956, LeFlore and the Non-Partisan Voters League took a more active role in civil rights in Mobile. LeFlore served as its director of casework. He was a plaintiff in Bolden vs. Mobile and the judgement changed Mobile's city government to a mayor-council system. In 1974, he was elected as a state representative. The office of the NPVL was located upstairs in the Masonic building. — Map (db m86391) HM|
|Alabama (Mobile County), Mobile — On this Spot Woodrow Wilson Said: — October 27, 1913 — 1913 - 1924|
|"I want to take this occasion to say that the United States will never again seek one additional foot of territory by conquest. She will devote herself to showing that she knows how to make honorable and fruitful use of the territory she has and she must regard it as one of the duties of friendship to see that from no quarter are material interests made superior to human liberty and national opportunity.
This is not America because it is rich. This is not America because it has set up for a . . . — Map (db m86381) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Maxwell Air Force Base — Lister Hill Center — Named in honor of Senator Lister Hill — 1894-1984|
This facility is dedicated to the memory of Senator Lister Hill who faithfully served his state and the nation for forty-five years as a member of the House of Representatives and the United States Senate. An Infantry Officer during World War I, Senator Hill's commitment to a strong national defense and an independent Air Force contributed significantly to the development and continued existence of Maxwell AFB and Air University. Considered to be the godfather of Maxwell, he was instrumental . . . — Map (db m79082) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — A County Older Than the State — Montgomery County — 1816|
| Created by Mississippi Territorial Legislature from lands ceded by Creek Indian Nation in Treaty of Fort Jackson, 1814. Named for Major Lemuel Purnell Montgomery, killed at Horseshoe Bend, 1814, while leading charge on Indian fortifications. During Colonial times many Indians lived in this area which was claimed by Spanish Florida and French Louisiana, British Carolina, Georgia and West Florida, and Spanish West Florida. The City of Montgomery, incorporated 1819 by Alabama Territorial . . . — Map (db m36579) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — Camellia Designated Alabama State Flower|
The Alabama Legislature approved a bill sponsored by Rep. T.E. Martin of Montgomery County in 1927 that designated the Goldenrod the official state flower. It became law on Sept. 6, 1927, the same day that the Yellowhammer became the official state bird.
In 1959, camellia growers in Butler County argued that the goldenrod was a weed and convinced State Representative Folsom LaMont Glass of Greenville (The Camellia City) to introduce a bill naming the Camellia as the official state . . . — Map (db m86066) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — First White House of the Confederacy|
|Designated Executive Residence by the
Provisional Confederate Congress
February 21, 1861. President Jefferson Davis
and his family lived here until the Confederate
Capitol moved to Richmond summer 1861.
Built by William Sayre 1832-35 at Bibb and
Lee Streets. Moved to present location
by the First White House Association and
dedicated June 3, 1921. — Map (db m7581) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — Fred David Gray — Civil Rights Attorney and Legislator / Advocate for Victims and History|
| Side 1
Born in 1930 in Montgomery, Gray was among the foremost civil rights attorneys of the 20th century. Forced by segregation to leave Alabama to attend law school, he vowed to return and "destroy everything segregated I could find." Over a six-decade career, his cases desegregated transportation, education. housing, law enforcement, public accommodations, and government. In the U.S. Supreme Court, Browder v. Gayle won the Montgomery Bus Boycott and Gomillion v. . . . — Map (db m80842) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — Governor Jones House|
|Thomas Goode Jones, governor of Alabama from 1890-1894, occupied this house during his long political career which took him from the Montgomery City Council to a federal judgeship. During his two terms as governor, his home was the Executive Mansion and later frequently used as a federal courtroom. Originally a four room cottage, the house was enlarged by Jones in the early '90s. His son, the noted jurist Walter B. Jones, continued to live in his family home and inaugurated Jones Law School in . . . — Map (db m36585) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — Governor Shorter House — 503 S. Lawrence St.|
|Residence of Civil War Governor John Gill Shorter, 1861-63. A strong supporter of Confederacy, Shorter built up defenses of state during war. Growing "Peace Movement" led to his defeat for re-election 1863.
House acquired by Jacob Greil 1878. Held by Greil family until 1910. A former Confederate officer, Greil became prominent Montgomery businessman and civic leader.
House built 1854, in Italianate style by John P. Dickerson. Neo-classical portico, frieze, and interior details added early 1900's. — Map (db m74386) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — Governor William Calvin Oates / Colonel W. C. Oates, CSA at Gettysburg|
| (Side 1)
Governor William Calvin Oates
Born in Pike County into a poor Alabama family in 1835, Oates practiced law in Abbeville when the War began. Elected Captain of the "Henry Pioneers," Co. G, 15th Alabama Infantry. He saw service in Jackson's Corps and was appointed Colonel of the 15th Regiment in 1863. Given command of the 48th Alabama infantry in July 1864, Oates' right arm was shattered by a minie ball at Petersburg in August 1864. He later served Alabama as a . . . — Map (db m86116) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — Jefferson Davis — June 3, 1808- December 6, 1889 — Soldier Scholar Statesman|
|A graduate of West Point Military Academy, he served the United States as Colonel of Mississippi Volunteers, Mexican War; member of House of Representatives, Senator, and as Secretary of War. Inaugurated President of the provisional government, Confederate States of America, February 18, 1861. — Map (db m36677) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — Jonathan Coggswell Farley / Montgomery's First Election|
| Side A Jonathan Coggswell Farley 1798-1864Farley acquired two lots on this site in 1817. Here he built both the town's first frame store and first frame two-story building, his house. In Farley's store, an election was held January 3, 1820 to create Montgomery's first governing body. Farley and three others were named in an act of the Alabama General Assembly to conduct and manage this first election. Farley was born in Ipswich, Massachusetts in 1798. About 1816, he sailed from . . . — Map (db m86124) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — Joseph Lister Hill — 1894 - 1984|
| U. S. Congress 1923 - 1938 U. S. Senate 1938-1969 — Map (db m73043) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — Montgomery City Hall / Funeral for Hank Williams|
| (Front) Built 1936-37 Following a fire in 1932 that destroyed a 19th century City Hall, architect Frank Lockwood designed a replacement for the same site. With the Depression affecting all construction projects during the period, the city received federal assistance through the Works Progress Administration. Completed in 1937, the City Hall included offices for city officials and an auditorium to accommodate large crowds for public programs, debutante balls and social gatherings. . . . — Map (db m36571) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — Montgomery Theatre|
|Opened in Oct. 1860 as the South moved closer to secession, the theatre was significant in the social, cultural and political life of the city. In the early months, John Wilkes Booth performed here, Bryant Minstrels introduced "Dixie," which was transcribed for the Montgomery Brass Band. Southern leaders Robert Toombs, Alexander Stephens and William L. Yancey addressed packed houses. Later the city's location on route between New Orleans and Atlanta brought performers Edwin Forrest, Joseph . . . — Map (db m36572) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — Site of the Warren Reese House|
|This was the site of the home of Warren Stone Reese (1842-1898) --planter, cotton merchant, soldier, and mayor of Montgomery.
Reese, promoted to the rank of colonel in the Confederacy for gallantry at Chickamauga, became commander of the Twelfth Alabama Cavalry. He was reputed to have been the youngest colonel in the Army of Tennessee and to have been recommended for Brigadier-General during the closing days of the war.
He served Montgomery as mayor 1885-87 and 1887-89 and during . . . — Map (db m81807) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — Smith - Joseph - Stratton House|
|Only surviving residence of former Mayor E.B. Joseph. The Italianate cottage was built c. 1855 by Pickett Chauncey Smith, a merchant in antebellum Montgomery, and father-in-law of E.B. Joseph, who occupied the house from 1880 to 1885. Joseph served on the City Council for six years and was Mayor from 1899 to 1903. He helped develop Highland Park, Montgomery's first suburb, and was president of Montgomery's first streetcar system, the first electric system in the United States. From 1913 to 1921 . . . — Map (db m86426) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — William Lowndes Yancey|
|In the house just north
Statesman, Orator, Secessionist,
Died July 28, 1863 — Map (db m71364) HM|
|Alabama (Randolph County), Wedowee — Site of the Home of William Hugh Smith — Legislator, Governor|
|An opponent of secession, he fled north in 1862. Returning after the Civil War, he was elected first governor under the Constitution of 1868 and served one two-year term. He was one of three Republican governors. — Map (db m19015) HM|
|Alabama (Russell County), Fort Mitchell — John Crowell|
Near here is the site where John Crowell lived, died, and is interred. Colonel Crowell was born in Halifax County, North Carolina, on September 18, 1780; moved to Alabama in 1815, having been appointed as Agent of the United States to the Muscogee Indians. In 1817, he was elected as Alabama's first and only Territorial Delegate to the 15th Congress, where he served from January 29, 1818, until March 3, 1819. Upon Alabama's admission as a State, he was elected its first . . . — Map (db m26116) HM|
|Alabama (Russell County), Phenix City — Albert Love Patterson — January 27, 1891 - June 18, 1954|
Born at New Site, Alabama, he grew up working on his parents’ farm. In 1916 he worked in the oil fields in Texas and joined the Texas National Guard. He married Agnes Benson of Alabama in 1917. In 1918 he was commissioned an officer in the 36th Infantry Division. He was wounded by machine gun fire at St. Etienne, France, during World War I and awarded the French Croix de Guerre with gilt star for bravery. He later received the Purple Heart. His wounds left him crippled for . . . — Map (db m69114) HM|
|Alabama (Russell County), Seale — Old Russell County Courthouse|
|During the Federal occupation of the former Confederate States of America, the Alabama Legislature created Lee County primarily from the northern half of Russell County in 1866 and ordered the selection of the county seat "more centrally located." Government in Russell County was practically non-existent at the time; few records were kept and taxes levied only for favored political purposes. An election was called; Seale won. Simeon O'Neal and Cicero McBride selected this commanding site. John . . . — Map (db m53160) HM|
|Alabama (Saint Clair County), Ashville — The Dean / Inzer House — Home of Lt. Col. / Judge John Washington Inzer|
|Greek revival antebellum home built by Moses Dean in 1852, acquired by John W. Inzer in 1866. Home occupied by Inzer family from 1866 to 1987. In July 1987 home and its contents, including extensive law library, deeded by family heirs to St. Clair Camp 308, Sons of Confederate Veterans, to become museum in honor of Lt. Col. & Judge John W. Inzer. Museum is maintained for educational purposes and public awareness. Museum incorporated December 1988 as a non-profit corporation.
John . . . — Map (db m28092) HM|
|Alabama (Walker County), Jasper — First United Methodist Church Jasper/President Franklin Delano Roosevelt — Attends Funeral of William Brockman Bankhead — Speaker of the U.S. House of Representatives|
|Side 1 Methodism came to Jasper with the city's founder, Dr. Edward Gordon Musgrove, who donated land for the courthouse and for most of downtown Jasper. In 1826, he and others constructed a building of large hewn logs that was used as both a Methodist church and a school. Around 1858, a two-story frame church building was constructed. Unsubstantiated local accounts state the church was burned to the ground in March of 1865 by General James H. Wilson's cavalry corps. Another frame . . . — Map (db m29981) HM|
|Alabama (Walker County), Jasper — William Brockman Bankhead Home — 1874-1940 — Speaker of the United States House of Representatives|
|William Brockman Bankhead served Alabama in the U.S. Congress from 1917 until 1940.
For the last four years of his life, during Franklin D. Roosevelt's presidency, he served as the 47th Speaker of the House.
He was the son of U.S. Senator John Hollis Bankhead, and the brother of U.S. Senator John Hollis Bankhead, Jr. An 1893 graduate of the University of Alabama, where he played fullback on the school's first football team. Bankhead earned his law degree from Georgetown University. He was . . . — Map (db m29980) HM|
|Arizona (Coconino County), Grand Canyon National Park — Mission 66|
| Responding to mounting political and public pressure, Congress authorized a ten-year program in 1955 to regenerate and modernize the national parks dubbed "Mission 66" for the target date of 1966, the National Park Service's 50th anniversary. The Albright Training Center is among the hundreds of new facilities built to accomodate the needs of the public and the National Park Service in the post World War II years.
[Drawing below text is of the Fort Necessity National Battlefield visitor center, 1964] — Map (db m39587) HM|
|Arizona (Gila County), Globe — From Globe to Governor|
|George W.P. Hunt, Arizona's first Governor, arrived in Globe as a poor prospector. His first job was sweeping out a Saloon, but he eventually served four terms as Governor, beginning at Statehood in 1912. He campaigned on the back of a burro and gave away jars of his wife's homemade jams. His house considerably changed still stands here in Globe.
Rose Mofford grew up here, and graduated from Globe High School. She was an excellent athlete and scholar, but her father refused to send her to . . . — Map (db m67465) HM|
|Arizona (Maricopa County), Tempe — George W. P. Hunt / Arizona's First Governor — Born 1859 Died 1934|
| [Main Marker]Entombment of
George W. P. Hunt
Born 1859 Died 1934
Colorful Arizona pioneer and statesman. Member of various territorial legislatures. President, Arizona Constitutional Convention 1910. Elected Arizona's 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 6th, 7th, 8th and 10th Governor to set a national record. Also entombed here are his wife, Duette, her parents, the J. W. Ellisons, and her sister Lena Ellison.
[Second Marker]Arizona's First Governor,
George Wylie Paul Hunt . . . — Map (db m30405) HM|
|Arizona (Pima County), Tucson — Site of Arizona's Second Territorial Capitol|
|An adobe building at this site housed Arizona's Government from 1868 – 1877, when Tucson was capitol of the territory. One of the meeting rooms of this second territorial capitol became the home of the pioneer Drachman family.
Source: Historical Markers within the Arizona Department of Transportation Right of Way. Prepared by: Roadside Development Section, April 1, 1997 — Map (db m51454) HM|
|Arizona (Pima County), Tucson — The Tucson Tragedy|
|Honoring the victims of the event of
January 8, 2011
The Tucson Tragedy - - -
we shall never forget — Map (db m51467) HM|
|Arizona (Pinal County), Florence — Walker – Oury House|
|Originally a Sonoran adobe row house built C. 1877 for John D. Walker friend, agent, and physician to the Pima Indians at Sacaton. This building was used as courtroom and county offices during his terms as justice of the peace, county surveyor and probate judge. Walker was an early investor in the Vekol Mine and wrote the first Pima grammar text. Here Pauline Cushman, noted Union Civil War Spy and actress, wed Jere Freyer. The building was purchased (1886) by Granville Oury, delegate to the . . . — Map (db m68386) HM|
|Arizona (Pinal County), Superior — Robert Taylor 'Bob' Jones — February 8, 1884 – June 11, 1958|
|Born in Rutledge, Tennessee, he became a self-taught construction engineer and builder of railroads. In 1909, he settled in the mining town of Superior, site of the Magma Copper Company. He opened his first drug store in Superior in 1913, later expanding into Phoenix and Tucson. He began his commitment to public service in 1916.
1916 – 1921 Postmaster • 1931 – 1939 State Senator
1939 – 1940 Sixth Governor – State of Arizona — Map (db m34104) HM|
|Arkansas (Carroll County), Eureka Springs — Clayton-Becker House|
on the National Register of Historic Places
Built in 1881
Home of Powell Clayton,
the first governor of Arkansas
after the state was readmitted
to the Union following
the War Between the States
Ray & Elise Dilfield
has been placed on the
of Historic Places
by the United States
Department of the Interior . . . — Map (db m80139) HM
|Arkansas (Carroll County), Eureka Springs — Law Offices of F. O. Butt|
Festus Orestes Butt was born in 1875 in Illinois just before his family moved to Carroll County, Arkansas. He became a licensed attorney before he was of legal age. The Arkansas General Assembly set aside his "disability of minority", and he set up a practice in Eureka Springs in 1894. Elected to the legislature, Butt served four years, then two successive terms in the state senate before 1910. He was elected mayor of Eureka Springs in 1911, 1916 and 1920. During a second term in the . . . — Map (db m79735) HM
|Arkansas (Carroll County), Eureka Springs — The Western District Courthouse|
| Eureka Springs was incorporated on Valentine's Day in 1880. At that time, the only courthouse was in the county seat of Berryville, some 12 miles to the east. This was a great distance at the time, the roads were bad, and the King's River had to be forded if it was passable. As a result, the citizens of Eureka Springs petitioned for their own courthouse, and in 1883, the Arkansas General Assembly enacted legislation to create the Western Judicial District of Carroll County. In 1906 Claude A. . . . — Map (db m59962) HM|
|Arkansas (Lonoke County), Lonoke — Lonoke Landmarks|
| Joseph Taylor Robinson Home - 204 NE Front St. Practiced law in Lonoke - 1893-1912 U.S. Congressman - 1902-1913. Governor of Arkansas - January - March 1913. U.S. Senator - 1913-1937. Lonoke was named for lone oak tree, surveyors landmark for Memphis-Little Rock Railroad - 1858. The tree grew at 106 McKinley. Eberts Field, U.S.Signal Corps Aviation Training School on 640 acres Hwy 89N, donated by citizens, was named for Lt. M.M. Eberts, aviator killed - 1917. — Map (db m65710) HM|
|Arkansas (Lonoke County), Lonoke — F 25 — Senator Joe T Robinson — Lonoke County|
|Senator Joseph Taylor Robinson, Arkansas' outstanding statesman was born six miles northwest of this place in 1872. He lived in Lonoke and practiced law; was elected to Congress and served ten years; moved to Little Rock in 1912; served as Governor in 1913 until he resigned to qualify as United States Senator in the same year. Served as Chairman of the Minority Conference 1922 until 1933, when he became Chairman of the Democratic Majority in the Senate, which position he still holds this centennial year of 1936. — Map (db m65713) HM|
|Arkansas (Mississippi County), Osceola — William J. Driver|
|In memory of the honorable William J. Driver.Former Circuit Judge and Congressman, a lifelong citizen of Osceola, Arkansas. Born March 2, 1873. Died October 1, 1948. As a member of the Rivers and Harbors and Flood Control Committees of the Congress of the United States, he shaped and, by his superb leadership, caused the enactment of laws which curbed the mighty Mississippi, the St. Francis, and the other rivers of this area and minimized the danger of devastating floods. Recognized as the . . . — Map (db m36532) HM|
|Arkansas (Washington County), Fayetteville — James William Fulbright|
President of University of Arkansas 1939-1941.
U.S. Representative 1943-1944.
U.S. Senator 1945.
Delegate to the United Nations 1954.
Author of Fulbright Resolution for International Cooperation 1943.
Originator of Fulbright International Exchange Scholarship Program.
Attended University Training School Primary through High School.
Student in University of Arkansas 1921-1925.
B.A. 1925. Letterman 1921, 22, 23, 24.
Rhodes Scholar Oxford U. B.A. M.A. 1928.
L.L.B. George . . . — Map (db m59915) HM|
|Arkansas (Washington County), Fayetteville — The State and Land-Grant University of Arkansas|
| The University of Arkansas came into being under the Morrell Land-Grant College Act of 1862, through which federal land sales established colleges devoted to “agriculture and mechanic arts,” scientific and classical studies, and military tactics for the “liberal and practical education of the industrial classes.” It also satisfied the provision in the Arkansas Constitution of 1868 that the General Assembly “establish and maintain a State University.” . . . — Map (db m59913) HM|
|California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Workingman’s Hall — 1879 — Berkeley History|
|Originally located at Sixth and Delaware streets, this simple wooden building was constructed by volunteers from the Workingman’s Club, a west Berkeley political organization. Built as a reading room for laborers, it was used briefly as Berkeley’s town hall shortly after completion. In 1882, a Methodist congregation moved the building to this location. It later was home to a succession of churches, schools, and fraternal organizations.
The rustic gabled structure without ornamentation is . . . — Map (db m53836) HM|
|California (Alameda County), Oakland — The Pardee House|
| Built in 1868 by Enoch H, Pardee (1827-96), physician, Mayor of Oakland, State Assemblyman, and Senator, it was the home of the families E. H. Pardee and his son, George C. Pardee (1857- 1941) physician, Mayor of Oakland, Governor of California (1903-07), and President of the East Bay Municipal Utility District. — Map (db m71298) HM|
|California (Amador County), Fiddletown — 35 — Fiddletown-Oleta|
|California Historical Landmark
—— Fiddletown-Oleta ——
Settled in 1849 by a party from Missouri. According to tradition they were always fiddling, especially while waiting for the rainy season—hence the name..... It was changed by state legislature in 1878 to Oleta, an Indian name said to mean “Old Home Spring.”
By order of • Reg. No. 35
Department of Natural Resources
• State of California • — Map (db m2539) HM|
|California (Amador County), Jackson — Anthony Caminetti|
|Erected by the Citizens of
Amador County California in
A native of Jackson,
Born July 30 1854
Died November 17 1923
District Attorney, State Senator, United States Congressman, United State Commissioner General of Immigration,
The first native Californian to be elected to Congress, author of bills creating California Debris Commission, Preston School of Industry at Ione, California Junior Colleges, Father of Alpine State Highway, A . . . — Map (db m72067) HM|
|California (Amador County), Sutter Creek — 1854 · Amador County · 1954|
|Amador County, carved from Calaveras and El Dorado, was organized July 3, 1854, at the crossroads of Sutter Hill.
Act of Legislature, May 11, 1854, set June 17, 1854, as election date for people to vote on such a division, and appointed five organization commissioners:
W.L. McKimm, Chairman; E.W. Gemmill; A.J. Sneath; A.Boileau; and A. Platt, Secretary.
They transacted business at Tucker’s Ranch as follows:
1. Established election precincts;
2. Set July 17, 1854, as election . . . — Map (db m11222) HM|
|California (Butte County), Thermalito — Hamilton — 1917|
Argonaut Parlor No. 8
Native Sons of the Golden West
Butte County Board of Supervisors
to designated the site of the first
county seat of Butte County.
1851 – 1858
Site of Court House was 600 yds. East
of this point. — Map (db m65839) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Placerville — Thomas Maul — Superior Judge — 1885 – 1954|
This plaque is a memorial
To our beloved citizen
Who sponsored this park
and many other civic improvements — Map (db m13172) HM|
|California (Inyo County), Independence — 850 — Manzanar|
|In the early part of the World War II, 110,000 persons of Japanese ancestry were interned in relocation centers by Executive Order No. 9066, issued on February 19, 1942.
Manzanar, the first of ten such concentration camps, was bounded by barbed wire and guard towers, confining 10,000 persons, the majority being American citizens.
May the injustices and humiliation suffered here as a result of hysteria, racism and economic exploitation never emerge again.
California Registered . . . — Map (db m2971) HM|
|California (Kings County), Hanford — 245 — Mussel Slough Tragedy|
|Here on May 11, 1880, during a dispute over land titles between settlers and railroads. A fight broke out during which seven men lost lives -- two deputy U.S. Marshals and five ranchers. Legal struggle over titles finally compromised. — Map (db m40949) HM|
|California (Los Angeles County), Long Beach — 10th Anniversary|
|In commemoration of the 10th Anniversary of the sister-city relations between Long Beach and Qingdao
with the complimets of Qingdao Municipal People's Government, P.R. China — Map (db m72459) HM|
|California (Los Angeles County), San Pedro — 1021 — Liberty Hill|
|In 1923 the Marine Transport Industrial Workers Union 510, a branch of the Industrial Workers of the World (IWW), called a strike that immobilized 90 ships here in San Pedro. The Union protested low wages, bad working conditions, and imprisonment of union activists under California's criminal syndicalism law. Denied access to public property, strikers and supporters rallied here at this site they called "Liberty Hill." Writer Upton Sinclair was arrested for reading from the Bill of Rights to a . . . — Map (db m42107) HM|
|California (Los Angeles County), Universal City — 151/29 — Campo De Cahuenga — Original Adobe|
| Beneath this park rest the stone foundations and floor tiles of the historic adobe where Mexican General Andres Pico and U.S. Lieutenant Colonel John C. Fremont signed the Treaty of Cahuenga on January 13, 1847. Signing the Treaty ended the hostilities in California between the United States and Mexico, and led to the Treaty of Guadalupe-Hidalgo, which ceded California to the U.S. and formally ended the Mexican-American War. The adobe, then owned by a Spaniard, Eulogio de Celis, may have been . . . — Map (db m51366) HM|
|California (Nevada County), Nevada City — 6 — Robinson Plaza|
|Nevada City |
Commemorative Marker #6
Named for Beryl P. Robinson, Jr.
Born in Nevada City
September 13, 1935
City Councilman-City Manager
On July 1, 1999, Beryl Robinson Jr. became the longest-serving city manager in state history. A native of the town he has so ably served, Beryl was appointed city manager on June 21, 1965. In addition to being Nevada City's Chief administrative and financial . . . — Map (db m37149) HM
|California (Orange County), Yorba Linda — Birthplace of Richard Milhous Nixon|
|President of the United States of America. Inaugurated January 20, 1969. Inaugurated for second term January 20, 1973. We are proud of our native son, a man who has spared nothing of himself to help build a great nation. — Map (db m82467) HM|
|California (Riverside County), Indian Wells — Dwight David Eisenhower — October 14, 1890 - March 28, 1969 — Early Years|
|Dwight David Eisenhower, born on October 14, 1890, the third of six sons to a modest family in Denison, Texas, was raised in Abilene, Kansas. He excelled in baseball and football in high school. Eisenhower saw education as a way to better himself and became as much a scholar as he was an athlete.
Eisenhower grew up demonstrating core values of determination, honesty, self-reliance and hard work that would eventually earn him an appointment to the United States Military Academy at West . . . — Map (db m82137) HM WM|
|California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — California State Capitol|
| ORIGINAL CONSTRUCTION – 1860 – 1874
Miner F. Butler – Won Design Competition, 1860
Ruben Clark, Supervising Architect, 1860 – 1865
Gordon P. Cummings, Supervising Architect, 1865 – 1870
Kenitzer & Bennett, Supervising Architect, 1870 – 1871
Gordon P. Cummings, Supervising Architect, 1872 – 1874
RESTORED AND STRUCTURALLY STRENGHTENED – 1975 – 1982
AB 2071, Assemblyman Leon Ralph, . . . — Map (db m14834) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — California State Capitol Park|
When Spanish governors ruled the California territory, its capitol was moved from town to town between San Diego and Monterey.
San Jose had already been designated the capitol by the time California was granted statehood in 1850. In the next four years, Vallejo and Benicia took turns at that honor. In 1854 Sacramento became the home of the legislature.
Though several cities were vying to become the permanent capitol, Sacramento’s claim was made secure in 1860 when the . . . — Map (db m15017) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — Jesse M. Unruh State Office Building|
|Designated on the 19th day of August 1987
Honorable George Deukmejian
Governor of California
In honor of
Jesse Marvin Unruh
September 30, 1922 – August 4, 1987
Member of the Assembly, 1955 – 1970
Speaker of the Assembly, 1961 – 1968
Treasurer of California, 1974 – 1987 — Map (db m14852) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — John Bigler — (1806 – 1871) — California’s Third Governor|
|Born in Cumberland County, Pennsylvania, January 8, 1806, John Bigler was the eldest of what was said to be “a numerous family of children.” As a young man, he was apprenticed to the printing trade and became one of the youngest editors of the Pittsburg Post. In 1826 Bigler became publisher of the paper he started with, the Centre Democrat and later entered the study of law in Ohio, and ultimately was drawn into politics.
John Bigler came overland across the plains . . . — Map (db m13069) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — Kenneth L. Maddy|
| . . . — Map (db m15028) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — Liberty Bell Replica|
Dedicated To You, A Free Citizen In A Free Land
This reproduction of the Liberty Bell was presented to the people of
by direction of
The Honorable John W. Snyder
Secretary of Treasury
As the inspirational symbol of the
United States Savings Bonds Independence Drive
from May 15 to July 4, 1950. It was displayed in
every part of the State
The Dimensions and tone are identical
with those of the original Liberty Bell when it
rang out our . . . — Map (db m14837) HM|
|California (San Diego County), San Diego — 70 — Casa de Pedrorena de Altamirano|
|Miguel Pedrorena Jr. built this adobe structure in 1869. It was the final adobe built in Old Town. In January 1871 Pedrorena gave the building to his sister Isabel de Altamirando, joining together two pioneer California families. Isabel and her husband Jose Antonio Altamirano raised their large family in this home. Isabel’s father, Miguel Pedrorena, was a prominent merchant in Mexican California, and represented the San Diego area at the California State Constitutional Convention held in 1849. . . . — Map (db m11777) HM|
|California (San Francisco City and County), San Francisco — CHL 119 — Portsmouth Plaza — An Historic Shrine|
|Named for U.S.S. Portsmouth commanded by Capt. John B. Montgomery, after whom Montgomery Street was named. It was here on the plaza that Capt. Montgomery first raised the American flag near the Mexican adobe custom house on July 9, 1846. This plaza was the center of many early day activities among which were the following:-
First public school building erected 1847, S.W. corner of plaza, where religious services and many public meetings were held.
Dramatic and authoritative announcement . . . — Map (db m71674) HM|
|California (San Mateo County), Pacifica — 24 and 394 — Discovery of San Francisco Bay|
|Captain Gaspar de Portola camped, October 31, 1769, by the creek at the south side of this valley, and to that camp scouting parties brought news of a body of water to the east. On November 4 the expedition advanced. Turning inland here, they climbed to the summit of Sweeney Ridge and beheld for the first time the Bay of San Francisco.
State Registered Landmarks Nos. 24 and 394
Tablet placed by California Centennials Commission. Base furnished by County Board of Supervisors in . . . — Map (db m1095) HM|
|California (Sierra County), Downieville — Sierra County, California|
|California gained statehood on September 8, 1850. It did so comprised of 27 counties with this area a part of Yuba County.
“The disadvantages of belonging to Yuba County were early felt; Marysville was too distant and a county government located at that place was to the citizen’s here as useless as one in Kamtchatka. The trouble, expense and the time required to send criminals to Marysville were so great that many escaped the punishments for their acts, while others were severely . . . — Map (db m43846) HM|
|California (Tulare County), Visalia — Tulare County Election Tree|
|Under a nearby tree a party commanded by Major James D. Savage, on July 10, 1852, conducted an election by which Tulare County was organized. Woodsville, Site of Wood's Cabin, the first small town settled by white men in Tulare County, and first county seat, was located about one-half mile sough of this marker. This general area, the delta of the Kaweah River, was also known as the "Four Creek Country." — Map (db m51573) HM|
|California (Ventura County), Simi Valley — Ronald Wilson Reagan|
|I know in my heart that man is good
at what is right will always eventually triumph
and there is purpose and worth to each and every life. — Map (db m82161)|
|Connecticut (Hartford County), Hartford — Confucius|
|ConfuciusConfucius (551 B.C. to 479 B.C.), with the given name Qiu and stylized name Zhongni, was a native of Lu State (now Qufu city of Shandong Province) in the Spring and Autumn Period of Chinese history. He was a great thinker, educator and statesman in ancient China and the initiator of Confucianism.
Based on the circumstances of his era, Confucius advocated a school of thought with benevolence as its core value and the rites as its code of conduct, which was mostly documented in the . . . — Map (db m52259) HM|
|Connecticut (Hartford County), Hartford — Orville Hitchcock Platt|
|Orville Hitchcock Platt
Senator of the United States
MDCCCLXXIX - MCMV — Map (db m52194) HM|
|Connecticut (Hartford County), Hartford — Stephen A. Douglas|
|Stephen A. Douglas
1813 – 1861
The "Little Giant" From Illinois
And A Presidential Candidate
Campaigned On This Site
July 6, 1860 — Map (db m43738) HM|
|Connecticut (New Haven County), Meriden — Abraham Lincoln|
In Search of the Nomination for the
Presidency Addressed a Rally in the
Town Hall of Meriden – March 7, 1860
" – and that government of the people,
by the people and for the people,
Shal not perish from the earth."
In Memory of the Civil War veterans
Of Meriden, May 30, 1948 — Map (db m27288) HM|
|Connecticut (New Haven County), New Haven — Nathan Smith|
Woodbury, Conn. 1770
At Washington D.C.
Dec. 6, 1835
An Eminent Citizen
A Sound Statesman
An Eloquent Advocate
[ east side ]
Nov. 8, 1849
A wife of Youth
And a mother in Israel
"Give her of the fruit of her
hands and let her own works
praise her in the gates" — Map (db m52023) HM|
|Connecticut (New Haven County), New Haven — Roger Sherman Baldwin|
|Roger Sherman Baldwin
Born Jan 4, 1793
Died Feb. 19, 1863
Graduated at Yale College
Admitted to the Bar
in this city in 1814
Senator of the State
in 1837 & 1838
in the General Assembly
in 1840 & 1841
Governor of Connecticut
in 1844 & 1845
United States Senator
from 1847 to 1851
Member of the National
Peace Convention in 1861bn
[ east side ]
Enoch and Anna . . . — Map (db m52022) HM|
|Connecticut (New Haven County), Waterbury — John Fitzgerald Kennedy|
| "I must say, having been here at three o'clock in the morning and now at six-thirty in the evening, that Waterbury is either the easiest city in the United States to get a crowd in, or it has the best democrats in the United States. In any case, our meeting here two years ago at three in the morning was the high point of the 1960 campaign, and we will meet at three o'clock in the morning the last week of the 1964 campaign and see what's going to happen then." John Fitzgerald Kennedy October . . . — Map (db m36066) HM|
|Delaware (Kent County), Dover — The First State Heritage Park of Dover|
|The First State Heritage Park of Dover is Delaware’s first urban “park without boundaries.” It includes the many historical and cultural attractions within Dover’s historical districts. Linking the diverse sites throughout Delaware’s capital city, the park paints a comprehensive picture of the heritage of Dover and the State of Delaware.
the capitol building for the State of Delaware.
Before you stands Legislative Hall, the capitol building . . . — Map (db m3557) HM|
|Delaware (New Castle County), Middletown — NC-135 — Locust Grove — Home of Governor Joshua Clayton|
|This home was once the residence of Joshua Clayton (1744-1798), an eminent physician and distinguished government leader in post-Revolutionary Delaware. After attending the University of Pennsylvania he established a successful local practice and was later one of the founders of the Medical Society of Delaware. At the outset of the Revolution he was commissioned as an officer in the Bohemia Manor Militia. Clayton's career as a statesman began with his election to the Delaware House of Assembly . . . — Map (db m10699) HM|
|Delaware (New Castle County), Newark — The Judge Morris Estate — The Former Home of a Delaware Attorney and Judge|
|Built in the 1790s, this 2½ story gray fieldstone house is the former home of Judge Hugh M. Morris. Morris was a Delaware native, respected attorney and distinguished federal judge. He purchased the house and a large parcel of land here in 1933.|
Besides serving as a federal judge, Morris built one of the most important law practices in the state and kept closely involved with the University of Delaware. Yet, he still found time to run his farm, buy more land, and turn the farmhouse . . . — Map (db m39506) HM
|Delaware (New Castle County), Smyrna — NC-89 — Clearfield Farm|
|Built in the mid-eighteenth century by Captain David Clark, Clearfield Farm was the home of his grandson John Clark (1761 -1821), Governor of Delaware from 1817 -1820. John Clark served as Colonel in the Delaware Militia and as Justice of the Peace before being elected Governor in 1816. After his term expired, Clark moved into the town of Smyrna to become President of the Commercial Bank of Smyrna. Following his death, the property was inherited by his granddaughters. Local folklore identifies . . . — Map (db m69112) HM|
|Delaware (New Castle County), Wilmington — Thomas Francis Bayard|
| Thomas Francis Bayard
Born October 29th – 1828
Died September 28th – 1898
“Bayard is the Purest and Most Patriotic man I know”
Grover Cleveland (Back of monument) United States District Attorney
1853 – 1854
United States Senator from Delaware
1869 – 1885
Member United States Electoral Commission
President Pro-Tem United States Senate
Secretary of State of the United . . . — Map (db m67366) HM|
|Delaware (Sussex County), Georgetown — SC-85 — Return Day|
|This event draws thousands as winning and losing candidates joining in celebration on the Thursday following each general election. Poor traveling conditions and interest in the outcome of political contests may have resulted in an extended stay when all elections were held here. Creation of voting districts in 1811 required the meeting of a Board of Canvass on Thursdays to determine “returns” for the county. Proclamation of results continues to highlight this festive occasion. . . . — Map (db m426) HM|
|Delaware (Sussex County), Laurel — Nathaniel Mitchell|
|Nathaniel Mitchell 1753-1813 First native son of Laurel to be
Governor of Delaware
Hero of the Revolution
1775-1781 Member Continental Congress 1786-1788.
Erected by Laurel Historical Society, Inc.
July 4, 1978. — Map (db m61107) HM|
|Delaware (Sussex County), Seaford — Family Home of William H. H. Ross|
| William Henry Harrison Ross Delaware's 27th and youngest governor from 1851 - 1855 Following his term as governor, Ross began construction of this Italian Villa style house. This was a popular 19th century architectural style.
This structure evolved from the original brick two story Federal style house built by the John Tennent family. Tennent purchased this land about 1776 and sold it to the Governor's father in 1836. A wooden section of the original structure is located in the back . . . — Map (db m71670) HM|
|Delaware (Sussex County), Seaford — S-77 — Governor Ross Mansion|
|This residence was constructed by William Henry Harrison Ross. He was born in Laurel in 1814 and died in 1887. He served as Governor of Delaware (D) between 1851-1855. In 1859, Ross constructed this elaborate brick Italian Villa style structure featuring a three-story center entry tower on his 1,395 acre farm. Currently owned by the Seaford Historical Society, the property also includes a period barn, granary, and carriage house. — Map (db m4818) HM|
|Delaware (Sussex County), Seaford — SC-211 — Governor William H. H. Ross|
|Born on June 2, 1814 in Laurel, Delware, William Henry Harrison Ross was the son of Caleb and Letitia Lofland ross. He was educated in local public schools and later attended Claremont Academy in Pennsylvania. As a young man ross was employed in a variety of business pursuits in his native community including the operation of a general store, mills and a tannery. In 1845 he moved to a farm on the north side of Seaford where he became engaged in extensive agricultural activities. He was among . . . — Map (db m4987) HM|
|District of Columbia, Washington — A Gathering Place for Washingtonians — Meridian Hill Park, National Historic Landmark|
|Since Meridian Hill Park opened in 1936, Washingtonians from diverse neighborhoods surrounding the park have gathered here for performances, community events, and political protest.
When tens of thousands of people flocked to Washington D.C. in the late 1930s and 40s for federal jobs created by the New Deal and World War II, government agencies created a series of "Starlight" concerts in the park. From 1941 to 1944, Washingtonians lined the cascades and reflecting pool on summer evenings . . . — Map (db m63643) HM|
|District of Columbia, Washington — Alva Belmont House|
|Of this House
The oldest part is one of the earliest buildings in this region.
Robert Sewall bought the property and enlarged the house in 1799, and rebuilt and greatly altered it after war damage in 1814.
Residence and office of Albert Gallatin secretary of the treasury, 1801 - 1813. Here he directed the financing of the Louisiana Purchase from France (1803), which nearly doubled the then area of the United States.
Described in the United States Senate as one of the most . . . — Map (db m69271) HM|
|District of Columbia, Washington — Belford V. Lawson and Marjorie M. Lawson Residence — 8 Logan Circle, NW — African American Heritage Trail, Washington D. C.|
|Belford V. Lawson (1909–1985) and Marjorie M. Lawson (1912–2002) were prominent attorneys. Mr. Lawson helped win landmark civil rights cases before the U.S. Supreme Court, including New Negro Alliance v. Sanitary Grocery (1938) and Henderson v. Southern Railway Company (1950). Mrs. Lawson advised John F. Kennedy's 1960 presidential campaign, and he appointed her to the D.C. Juvenile Court bench. President Lyndon Johnson chose her for the U.S. delegation to the United . . . — Map (db m79362) HM|
|District of Columbia, Washington — Billy Simpson's House of Seafood and Steaks — African American Heritage Trail|
| 3515 Georgia Avenue
Billy Simpson's provided DC's African American community with an upscale venue for dining and socializing in the period when segregation was ending and African Americans claimed a larger role in city affairs. The restaurant (open 1956-1978) attracted intellectuals, professionals, entertainers ,and African diplomats. Politicians, government officials, and journalists debated the issues of the day at roundtables hosted here by owner, community activist and . . . — Map (db m66181) HM|
|District of Columbia, Washington — Carl Lutz|
Carl Lutz (1895-1975)
Swiss diplomat, Righteous Among the Nations
Who represented the interests of
the United States of America
in Budapest, Hungary
during World War II
and saved the lives of thousands of Jews. ✯
Carl Lutz Foundation
Government of the Republic of Hungary
Hungarian American Coalition
Lantos Foundation for Human Rights and Justice — Map (db m69110) HM|
|District of Columbia, Washington — Cortelyou House — 1891 — Residence of George B. Cortelyou|
|This residence was designed by architect Appleton P. Clark, Jr. and built in 1891 for Daniel Birtwell. In 1900, George Bruce Cortelyou occupied the house when he became secretary to President McKinley. Cortelyou continued to serve in public office as secretary to president Teddy Roosevelt, the first Secretary of Commerce and Labor, Chairman of the Republican Party, Postmaster General, and Secretary of the Treasury.
In 1909, after his public service in Washington, Cortelyou became the . . . — Map (db m69292) HM|
|District of Columbia, Washington — Embassy of the Republic of Lithuania — Mrs. Henderson's Favorite Embassy — Adams Morgan Heritage Trail|
|You are standing in front of the Embassy of the Republic of Lithuania.
The Spanish Baroque style mansion is all that remains of what was once a duplex, or double, embassy building designed by George Oakley Totten for Mary Foote Henderson's exclusive embassy enclave here. The mansion was constructed in 1907-08. The left-hand portion was demolished and replaced in 1965 by a nine-story apartment house. Fortunately the original two pieces were constructed to be independent, so the removal of . . . — Map (db m82711) HM|
|District of Columbia, Washington — Embassy of the Republic of Poland — A Beaux-Arts Beauty — Adams Morgan Heritage Trail|
|You are now standing in front of the longest-serving embassy building among Washington DC's more than 180 diplomatic missions: the Embassy of the Republic of Poland. Renowned architect George Oakley Totten designed the building for Mary Foote Henderson, who invested a considerable portion of her husband Senator John Henderson's fortune to make this part of 16th Street the most magnificent avenue in the Nation's Capital — and an embassy enclave. The building remains a superb example of . . . — Map (db m83344) HM|
|District of Columbia, Washington — From June to December, 1917 — The Occoquan Steps|
|From June to December 1917 members of the National Woman's Party were imprisoned for picketing the White House to publicize the struggle to win the vote for Women. Those incarcerated in the District of Columbia's workhouse in Occoquan, Virginia suffered horrible conditions and mistreatment, including being given rancid, insect-laden food; to protest some went on hunger strikes and were brutally force-fed. The 72 year campaign for women's suffrage ended in 1920 with the ratification of the . . . — Map (db m71336) HM|
|District of Columbia, Washington — General Peterson Goodwyn|
American Revolutionary Service
General Peterson Goodwyn
General Peterson Goodwyn equipped his own company and was cited for gallantry at the battles of Smithfield and Great Bridge — member of the Virginia House of Delegates 1789 – 1802, elected as a Democrat to the eighth and seven succeeding Congresses and served from March 4, 1803 until his death — February 21, 1818.
Tablet Placed by Mary Washington Chapter, NSDAR
Bicentennial Project 1976 — Map (db m80692) WM|
|District of Columbia, Washington — 14 — It Takes a Village — A Fitting Tribute — Logan Circle Heritage Trail|
|After the Civil Disturbances following the assassination of the Reverend Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., in 1968, 14th Street appeared largely abandoned by day. By night, however, residents witnessed scenes of the “world's oldest profession,” Since the 1950s, when prostitution migrated here from downtown DC, men in cars from around the region seeking women caused traffic jams. This trade flourished because prostitutes were often bailed out of jail within hours and returned to the . . . — Map (db m80103) HM|
|District of Columbia, Washington — José Artigas Memorial — "Statues of the Liberators"|
| inscription, south face of base:
Father of the Independence of Uruguay
inscription, north face of base:
From the people of Uruguay to the people of the United States of America
inscriptions, on basin rim:
“The liberty of America is my design and its attainment my only objective.” — Map (db m67168) HM|
|District of Columbia, Washington — Lithuania's March to Freedom — Keeping a Nation Alive — Adams Morgan Heritage Trail|
|Since 1924 this mansion has housed representatives of the Republic of Lithuania, even during the 50 years when the country was occupied by the Soviet Union.
In the late 1700s, the Russian Empire annexed Lithuania's territory, ending the 500-year-old state known as the Grand Duchy of Lithuania. In 1918, at the close of World War I, Lithuania re-emerged as an independent nation. But once World War II broke out in 1939, Lithuania endured invasions by the Soviet Union, then Nazi Germany, and . . . — Map (db m82751) HM|
|District of Columbia, Washington — National Intelligencer — 1800-1865|
|Founded by Samuel Harrison Smith and later published by Joseph Gales, Jr. The National Intelligencer for 65 years was a leading journal in the nation's capital, a vital force in the country's political life, a principal source of information about the government and for a time provided the only printed record of congressional proceedings. Much of its life, The National Intelligencer occupied this site. This plaque was placed in 1966 by Sigma Delta Chi, Professional Journalistic Society — Map (db m51471) HM|
|District of Columbia, Washington — Peirce Still House — National Register of Historic Places|
|The Peirce Still House, built between 1796 and 1811, was part of a large plantation owned by Isaac Peirce, a Quaker from Pennsylvania and slave owner, who purchased the property in 1795. Much of the Peirce Estate became part of Rock Creek Park when it was created in 1890.
The House is constructed of blue granite quarried from the local area. The House was originally utilized as a distillery, but was converted into a residence in 1924.
In 1955, the House was occupied by Sherman Adams, . . . — Map (db m82098) HM|
|District of Columbia, Washington — Polish-U.S. Diplomatic Relations — History Lives — Adams Morgan Heritage Trail|
|When Poland declared its independence in 1918 after 123 years or foreign partition, the first prime minister of independent Poland — Ignacy Jan Paderewski — sent Prince Kazimierz Lubomirski to Washington as the country's first diplomatic envoy. Prince Lubomirski purchased this building from Senator John B. and Mary Foote Henderson on behalf of the Polish government.
Poland and the United States agreed to elevate their respective diplomatic missions from legations to embassies . . . — Map (db m82636) HM|
|District of Columbia, Washington — 4 — Sacred Heart Academy — Village in the City — Mount Pleasant Heritage Trail|
|Set back from the Street at 1621 Park Road, to your left, is an elegant old house, once the all-girls Sacred Heart Academy. The Sinsinawa Dominican Sisters of Wisconsin founded the Academy in 1905 and went on to operate it with Sacred Heart parish, adding a co-ed grade school in 1930. Lay educators took over in the 1990s. In addition, the school housed GALA Hispanic Theatre from 1985 to 2000.
While the school always served Mount Pleasant's diverse nationalities, African Americans were . . . — Map (db m68719) HM|
|District of Columbia, Washington — The Bernard Baruch Bench of Inspiration|
|The Bernard Baruch Bench of Inspiration
Dedicated in honor of
Mr. Baruch's 90th Birthday -- August 1960
For his inspiring devotion to country
and distinguished service to boyhood
by both the
National Capitol Area Council
and the Boy Scouts of America
The Boy Scout Motto -- Mr. Baruch's Philosophy
"Be Prepared" — Map (db m72951) HM|
|District of Columbia, Washington — The Sewall-Belmont House & Museum|
|one of the oldest residential properties on Capitol Hill, has been the historic headquarters of the National Woman's Party since 1929. Named after Robert Sewall, the original owner of the site, and Alva Belmont, the president and benefactor of the National Woman's Party, this house has been at the center of political life in Washington for more than two hundred years. Today, the Sewall-Belmont House seeks to educate the public by sharing the inspiring story of century of courageous activism by . . . — Map (db m70955) HM|
|District of Columbia, Washington — The Wilson Center|
|To The Glory of God
And in grateful memory of one of his servants
This building devoted to Christian education
Is named for
President of Princeton University 1902 — 1910
Governor of the state of New Jersey 1911 — 1913
President of the United States of America 1913 — 1921
Founder of the League of Nations
An Elder in the Presbyterian Church
A member of this congregation 1913 — 1924 — Map (db m82615) HM|
|District of Columbia, Washington — 2 — Upheaval and Activism — Village in the City — Mount Pleasant Heritage Trail|
|Beginning in the late 1950s, the community leadership of Mount Pleasant changed from the exclusive Citizens Association to an array of new players. Mount Pleasant Neighbors Association was the first alternative group. It presented festivals and grappled with local poverty. The group brought Barney Neighborhood House – a social services agency – here to 3118 16th Street after urban renewal forced it out of Southwest Washington. Neighbors’ Consejo another social services agency, . . . — Map (db m82780) HM|
|District of Columbia (Capitol Hill), Washington — Elbridge Gerry|
|In Honor of
The only signer of the
Declaration of Independence
Interred in the
District of Columbia
Erected by the
District of Columbia Society
Sons of the American Revolution — Map (db m81296) HM|
|District of Columbia (Washington), Adams-Morgan — 4 of 18 — Life on the Park — Roads to Diversity — Adams Morgan Heritage Trail|
|During the Civil War (1861-1865), the Union Army Carver Hospital and barracks occupied Meridian Hill. The facilities attracted African American freedom seekers looking for protection and employment. By war’s end, a Black community had put down rooks. Soon Weyland Seminary opened to train African American clergy and teachers. In the late 1880s, Mary Foote Henderson purchased most of this land and evicted its residents. Many settled in today’s Reed-Cooke neighborhood to your left.
The . . . — Map (db m17032) HM|
|District of Columbia (Washington), Adams-Morgan — 1 of 18 — Mrs. Henderson's Legacy — Roads to Diversity — Adams Morgan Heritage Trail|
|As you look up the hill, you can see Peter C. L’Enfant’s 1791 plan for Washington ended up here in front of you at Boundary Avenue, now Florida Avenue. Back then, when people walked or rode in horse-drawn vehicles, it was hard to climb this steep ridge ridge. Once electric streetcars appeared in the 1880s, climbing hills was easier, so city dwellers began moving up this hill.
Beginning in 1887, Mary Foote Henderson, wife of Missouri Senator John B. Henderson, created a new community here . . . — Map (db m16893) HM|
|District of Columbia (Washington), American University Park — 18 — Live on Our Stage! — Top of the Town — Tenleytown Heritage Trail|
|When NBC radio and television and its local affiliate,
WRC, moved to these new headquarters in 1958, the average TV screen measured 12 inches. The facility opened with six studios—three TV and three radio. Soon history happened here.
On October 7, 1960, some 70 million viewers watched as
NBC broadcast the second televised presidential debate, with
candidates Richard M. Nixon and John F. Kennedy facing four reporters. It was widely reported that Nixon used makeup to cover his 5 . . . — Map (db m47866) HM|