HMdb.org THE HISTORICAL
MARKER DATABASE
            “Bite-Size Bits of Local, National, and Global History”
  Home  — My Markers  — Add A Marker  — Marker Series  — Links & Books  — Forum  — About Us
Click First to browse through the results shown on this page.   First >> 
Show DirectionsOmit Marker TextClick to map all markers shown on this page.
Sports Markers
807 markers matched your search criteria. The first 250 markers are listed. Next 557
Australia, New South Wales, Manly — Marine Parade1920s
From this lookout, formally attired spectors (sic) watch a surf carnival against a sweeping panorama of thriving pines. Today high-rise buildings dwarf the trees, which were damaged by airborne pollution from North Head sewage works. Since the construction of the deepwater ocean outfall Manly Council has undertaken an extensive replanting and rehabilitation scheme to restore the beauty of the heritage listed beach. In 1898 the promenade to Fairy Bower was constructed above the sewer line . . . — Map (db m70686) HM
British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — "Tomorrow Run 91"
The Elks and Royal Purple of Canada commemorate Al Howie's record setting "Tomorrow Run 91" Began at Mile 0 St. John's Nfld. June 21 and ended September 1, 1991 at Mile 0 Victoria B.C. 72 days - 10 hours later. Our gratitude to all who helped us raise funds for Canadian children with special needs. — Map (db m74134) HM
British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Miss Marilyn Bell
This cairn commemorates the feat of Miss Marilyn Bell who landed in this bay 23rd August 1956 to become the first woman and first Canadian to swim Juan de Fuca Strait from Port Angeles, U.S.A. to Victoria, Canada — Map (db m49247) HM
British Columbia (Greater Vancouver Regional District), Vancouver — Vancouver Rowing ClubCity of Vancouver Heritage Building — Architect: J.W. Keagey
The Vancouver Rowing Club was established in 1899 when the Burrard Inlet Rowing Club joined the Vancouver Boating Club. Throughout it's history the Vancouver Rowing Club has played an important part in the athletic and social life of Vancouver. This building, designed in the Tudor Revival style, was officially opened on September 9, 1911 replacing an earlier clubhouse located at the foot of Burrard Street. Renovations to the clubhouse were completed by Watson-Donald Architects in 1988. His . . . — Map (db m31941) HM
New Brunswick (Charlotte County), Campobello — Summer Activities
The Campobello hotels welcomed socializing between their guests and the summer cottage owners. Summer colonists and hotel guests exchanged visits and participated in hotel activities such as excursions aboard the company's small steamboats, field days, dances, and the use of tennis and croquet courts, billiards tables and bowling alleys. During 1881 and 1882, the Campobello Company built a hotel pier, roads to Glensevern Lake and Raccoon Beach, a bridge across Glensevern and another at Eastern . . . — Map (db m25462) HM
Ontario, Toronto — Toronto's first professional stadium: Sunlight Park 1886 - 1896
"Sunlight Park" was constructed in 1886 as the Toronto Baseball Grounds. The smell of baked potatoes and cigars greeted fans filing in to the park through an avenue of workers' cottages called "Baseball Place". The stands, four storeys high and surrounded by a 4 m wooden fence, sat 2,250 paying customers. Admission was 25 cents. The grounds became known as Sunlight Park after William Hesketh Lever opened Sunlight Soap Works south of the park in 1893. Toronto won its first professional . . . — Map (db m64502) HM
Ontario (Hastings County), Shannonville — Nelson International Raceway
This was the original name of SMP when the track was first built in 1975. After coming to Canada from Ireland in 1954, John Nelson followed his passion for motorcycles and racing. He owned several bike shops in Toronto and became quite an accomplished rider in his own right. In October 1976 the first motorcycle race was held here on a chilly Thanksgiving weekend. Known for his burly laugh, racing stories and legendary repair jobs, John was admired and well liked by everyone in the racing . . . — Map (db m77758) HM
Ontario (Toronto), Toronto — The Royal Canadian Yacht Club
The province's first sailing association, the Toronto Boat Club, was formed in 1852 and two years later became the Royal Canadian Yacht Club. Dedicated to the promotion of yachting and naval interests, it initiated competitions which stimulated widespread interest in sailing and yacht design, and in 1860 instituted the Prince of Wales Cup, freshwater racing's oldest trophy. The Club was housed on Toronto's waterfront until 1881 when it moved to Toronto Island. This moved facilitated the club's . . . — Map (db m37067) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Fingal), Howth — The Lord Killanin
Sixth President of the International Olympic Committee 1972 - 1980 President of the Olympic Council of Ireland 1950 - 1973 This commemorative bronze bust was unveiled by Dr. Jacques Rogge Eight[h] President of the International Olympic Committee May 20th 2009 Sculptor - Paul Ferriter 2009 — Map (db m27050) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Meath), Fordstown — Girley / FordstownMeath Villages
An introduction to Fordstown Fordstown is named after the Norman-Irish Ford family, who lived in the area. One part of the townland is sometimes referred to as Ballaghboy. Today, Fordstown is a growing, vibrant community. ‘Fordstown Street Fair’ is an old world fair, hosted by Fordstown in October each year since 2004. Fordrew Rovers Fordrew Rovers Football Club was formed in 1997 and play in Drewstown. They progressed from Division 4A to Division 1 in four years. They won . . . — Map (db m27318) HM
Switzerland, Bern (Interlaken-Oberhasli (District)), Mürren — Sir Arnold Lunn
1888 – 1974 It was here in Mürren that Arnold Lunn set the first slalom in 1922 and organized the first World Championship in downhill and slalom racing in 1931 (plaque below) Sir Arnold Lunn Centenary Mürren 17./18. Dez. 1988 (plaque on bottom) 1908 2008 Presented in Celebration of 100 years of British ski mountaineering by The Alpine Ski Club Founded by Arnold Lunn On 7th May 1908 — Map (db m67900) HM
Switzerland, Valais (Visp (District)), Zermatt — Bergfuhrerplatz (Mountain Guide Square)Grand Hotel Zermmatterhof, Zermatt
On this marker the text is given in German, English, French, Italian, Russian and Chinese. The Russian and Chinese text is omitted here, but can be viewed by clicking on the picture of the marker. Über 100 Jahren trafen sich auch an diesem Ort die Bergführer von Zermatt, die "vom Morgen früh bis am Abend spät vor den Hotels sitzen und stehen und danach trachten, sich den Reisenden als Führer, Pack- und Sesselträger, Fuhrmann oder Begleiter nützlich zu machen". Von hier aus stiegen sie . . . — Map (db m67992) HM
Switzerland, Valais (Visp (District)), Zermatt — Edward Whymper
Edward Whymper, 1840 – 1911 Am 14. Juli 1865 unternahm er zusammen mit einer Seilschaft von Gefährten und Bergführern die erfolgreiche Erstbesteigung des Matterhorns von diesem Hotel aus. On July 14, 1865, he set forth from this hotel with his companions and guides and completed the first successful ascent of the Matterhorn. — Map (db m67991) HM
Switzerland, Valais (Visp (District)), Zermatt — First Ascent of the MatterhornErstbesteigung Matterhorn
Erstbesteigung Matterhorn über Hornligrat 13./14. Juli 1865 Edward Whymper Reverend Charles Hudson Lord Francis Douglas Douglas Robert Hadow Taugwalder Peter, Vater Taugwalder Peter, Sohn Michel Auguste Croz Erstbesteigung Matterhorn über Liongrat Jean – Antoine Carrel Jean – Baptiste Bisch German-English translation: First Ascent of the Matterhorn via Hornligrat 13-14. July 1865 Edward Whymper Reverend Charles . . . — Map (db m67985) HM
Switzerland, Valais (Visp (District)), Zermatt — Hotel Monte Rosa
Hier stand das Haus, in welchem Josef Lauber seit 1839 die erste Herberge von Zermatt mit drei und später acht Fremdenbetten führte. Alexander Seiler übernahm sie 1853 und errichtete 1855 an dieser Stelle das Hotel Monte Rosa mit urprünglich fünfunddreissig Betten. Das Stammhaus der Seilerschen Hotelbetriebe wurde rasch zu einem Hauptquartier der Alpinisten der Pionierzeit und galt besonders bei den Mitgliedern des Alpine Club als << the mountaineers’ true home >> (C.E. Mathews, 1885). . . . — Map (db m67990) HM
Switzerland, Valais (Visp (District)), Zermatt — Peter Taugwalder
In diesem Hause wohnten Peter Taugwalder Vater und Sohn Die Edward Whymper am 13./14/ Juli 1863 Bei der Erstbesteigung des Matterhorn Begleitet haben Alpine Vereinigung Zermatt Centre Alpin 14. Juli 1955 German-English translation: This was the home of Peter Taugwalder Father and son They accompanied Edward Whymper, July13-14, 1863 on the first ascent of the Matterhorn Alpine Association Zermatt Alpin Center 14th July 1955 — Map (db m67984) HM
Switzerland, Valais (Visp (District)), Zermatt — Rudolf Taugwalder
Rudolf Taugwalder 1867 – 1953 Betreuer des Alpinen Museums 1909 – 1944 und Bergfuehrer Ararat 1893 Himalaya 1898 Nord- Gipfel Hlascaran 1908 In Dankbarkeit Seiler Hotels, Zermatt German-English translation: Rudolf Taugwalder 1867 - 1953 Supervisor of the Alpine Museum 1909 - 1944 and Mountain Guide Ararat 1893 Himalaya 1898 North Summit Hlascaran 1908 In gratitude Seiler Hotels, Zermatt — Map (db m68003) HM
Alabama (Clarke County), Thomasville — Choctaw Corner
Established by Choctaw and Creek Indians about 1808 as the northern limit of boundary line between their lands. This line begins at the cut-off in South Clark County, follows the watershed between Alabama and Tombigbee Rivers without crossing water. The disputed territory boundary was settled by two ball games, one between the warriors and one between the squaws of each tribe. The Choctaws won both games clearing forever their title to the lands. Actual site of corner is 1.7 miles North, N.E.. — Map (db m38586) HM
Alabama (Houston County), Dothan — Johnny Mack Brown
Side A Johnny Mack Brown, an outstanding athlete and western movie star, was born in Dothan on September 1, 1904. Johnny Mack was one of nine children born to John Henry and Hattie McGillivray Brown. The Brown family home was located on South Saint Andrews Street, just a few blocks south of this marker. He excelled as an athlete at Dothan High School and was an All-American halfback at the University of Alabama. It was his performance during Alabama’s 1926 Rose Bowl victory over the . . . — Map (db m41142) HM
Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — Lane Park
In 1822 William Pullen, Revolutionary War veteran, acquired this land from the Federal Government for farming. In 1889 his heirs sold the land to the City of Birmingham for use as the New Southside Cemetery which operated from 1889 to 1909 with 4,767 burials. The name changed to Red Mountain Cemetery, then to Red Mountain Park and finally to Lane Park in honor of Birmingham Mayor A.O. Lane. The land was also used for the Allen Gray Fish Hatchery ( fed by Pullen Springs), a stone quarry , a . . . — Map (db m27096) HM
Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — Rickwood Field
Built by local industrialist A. H. "Rick" Woodward, this park opened on August 18, 1910. It is the oldest surviving baseball park in America. Rickwood served as the home park for both the Birmingham Barons (until 1987) and the Birmingham Black Barons (until 1963). It was also a favorite site for barnstorming Major League teams. Many greats of the game thrilled crowds here, including Babe Ruth, Jackie Robinson, Ty Cobb, Burleigh Grimes, Ted Williams, Stan Musial, Walt Dropo,and Reggie Jackson. . . . — Map (db m22526) HM
Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — Rickwood FieldOpening Day: August 18, 1910
Built by Birmingham industrialist A. H. “Rick” Woodward, Rickwood Field served as home to the Birmingham Barons and Birmingham Black Barons for most of the 20th century. Recognized as “America’s Oldest Baseball Park,” Rickwood Field is now home to Birmingham’s high school teams as well as men’s amateur teams and numerous tournaments. Springtime in Birmingham features the Birmingham Barons’ vintage “Rickwood Classic” game each year between the Barons and a . . . — Map (db m37710) HM
Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — Roebuck Spring
In 1850 George James Roebuck and his wife Ann Hawkins Roebuck built a log cabin at the mouth of Roebuck Spring. His Influence and leadership led to the area around it to be known as Roebuck. In 1900 Alabama Boys Industrial School was located adjacent to the spring, and the spring water was used for the school until city water became available. In 1910 George Miller, a leading landscape architect and industrial town planner, developed the first planned golf course and club house close to the . . . — Map (db m26688) HM
Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — Roebuck Springs Historic District
Roebuck Springs was the first large residential suburb in Birmingham where planning and development were tied to the automobile, and the first community in the city associated with a golf course development. The 1910 land plan was designed to complement the steep, rolling topography, reminiscent of narrow country lanes in rural England. The use of local native stones unified the diverse architectural styles - Craftsman, Tudor Revival, and Colonial Revival - and contributed to the natural, . . . — Map (db m26684) HM
Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — Site of the First Alabama - Auburn Football Game
The first Alabama - Auburn football game was played on this site, formerly known as the Base Ball Park, on February 22, 1893. The Agricultural and Mechanical College's "Orange and Blue" met the University of Alabama's "Tuskaloosa" squad before a crowd of 5,000 cheering fans. A&M College, now Auburn University, triumphed by a score of 32-22, and still proudly displays the victory cup presented that day by a Birmingham belle. That contest, reported as "the greatest football game ever played . . . — Map (db m23500) HM
Alabama (Jefferson County), Homewood — Edgewood Lake (Drained 1940's) Birmingham Motor & Country Club / Edgewood Country Club(Demolished 1930's)
The developers of the Town of Edgewood, Stephen Smith and Troupe Brazelton, built the beautiful 117.4 acre lake and clubhouse in 1913-15. Amenities included a swimming pool, dance pavilion, fishing, boating and parking for hundreds of automobiles. Similar to golf or tennis clubs, this was instead a driving club since the ownership of an automobile was the latest rage. A great race track, designed after the Indianapolis Motor Speedway, was begun and graded but never completed. It's north and . . . — Map (db m26963) HM
Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — Florence Little League Baseball (1951)Coach Presley Robbins Field (1972)
Plans for the Florence Little League Baseball program for youth in ages ranging from eight to twelve years were completed in April 1951. These plans and the layout of this playing field were in accord with those developed by American's first Little League Program of 1939 in Williamsport, Pennsylvania. The four local teams to participate in the Florence 1952 opening season were Indian, Red Socks, Tigers and Yankees. In 1973 this field was re~named Coach Presley Robbins Field in appreciation of . . . — Map (db m28456) HM
Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — Harlon Hill
The NFL Rookie of the Year (1954) and MVP (1955), Harlon Hill starred with the Chicago Bears. The Harlon Hill Trophy is presented annually to the NCAA Division II Football Player of the Year. Inducted 2007 City of Florence Walk of Honor — Map (db m29268) HM
Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — James Jackson
Often referred to as the most successful breeder of thoroughbred horses in America, James Jackson imported Glencoe and Leviathan to the U.S. in the early 1800's, leaving a permanent imprint on both the breed and American racing history. Inducted 2009 City of Florence Walk of Honor — Map (db m38649) HM
Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — The University of North AlabamaFootball Program National NCAA Division II — Championship Titles (1993~1994~1995)
The University of North Alabama became the first school in the history of NCAA scholarship football to win three consecutive national championships (1993,1994,1995). Under Coach Bobby Wallace, UNA posted a 41~1 record over the same three ~ year period to become the first collegiate football team at any level to win as many as 40 games over a three ~ year period. UNA also became the first Division II school to win a football national championship on its home field in three consecutive games at Florence's Braly Municipal Stadium. — Map (db m32765) HM
Alabama (Lawrence County), Courtland — American Legion - Post 58
Side A On April 20, 1934, a temporary charter was issued for Gen. Joe Wheeler Post 58, Courtland, Alabama. On November 12, 1946, a permanent charter was granted and the name changed to Wiley Horton Post 58 in honor of the deceased son of State Department Commander C.C. Horton. (Continued on other side) Side B (Continued from the side) The American Legion is the largest veterans' organization in the United States. It seeks to advance the aims and interest of all . . . — Map (db m29055) HM
Alabama (Lawrence County), Danville — James Cleveland "Jesse" Owens
Born near this site 12 September 1913 to Henry Cleveland and Emma (Fitzgerald)Owens, who were sharecroppers and the offspring of freed slaves, Jesse was destined to attain immorality in the 1936 Olympic Games at Berlin, Germany. Although he moved to Cleveland, Ohio, at age 9, his early years here in Lawrence County, Alabama, helped mold his noble character. After high school, he enrolled at Ohio State where on 25 May 1935 at a Big Ten Conference meet, he broke and tied various world track and . . . — Map (db m37465) HM
Alabama (Lee County), Auburn — Max Adams Morris / Max Adams Morris Drill Field
(Side 1) Max Adams Morris Max Adams Morris b. December 7, 1918, of Blountsville, Alabama, entered Alabama Polytechnic Institute (API) in 1938, was a varsity football player and became a member of "A"club, Scabbard & Blade, and Blue Key honor societies. In July 1941, while attending ROTC camp at Fort Benning, Georgia, Morris rescued Wayne B. Nelson, Jr., and attempted to rescue H. Daughtry Perritt, API cadets, from electrocution from a fallen radio tower. For that act, . . . — Map (db m74460) HM
Alabama (Morgan County), Decatur — Site of Benson FieldDecatur’s Football Stadium 1931 - 47
Named in honor of W. W. “Barney” Benson, Supt. Ed. 1927 - 38 H. L. “Shorty” Ogle, Coach 1934 - 64 Aubrey Fuller, Asst. Coach 1929 - 58 The “T” formation was introduced to Alabama here in 1941 On this field a generation of Decatur’s youth became men. — Map (db m28268) HM
Alabama (Pike County), Troy — Green Davis Tailgate Terrace
“Tailgating" on the Troy campus was initiated during the 1990’s through the example and leadership of Green Davis. In 1993 the area outside of Memorial Stadium was named in honor of Green Davis for his enduring efforts to boost Trojan spirit and promote enthusiastic pre-game activities and camaraderie. Green Davis was a Troy University alumnus and career officer in the U.S. Marine Corps. — Map (db m38929) HM
Alabama (Pike County), Troy — Riddle-Pace Field
Originally constructed as the home field for the university’s football and baseball teams. Pace field, home of the Troy Trojans and the Troy baseball team in the late 1930s and 1940s, stood at the location of the current Riddle - Pace Field. It is one of the original locations were the Alabama-Florida Class D Deep South Baseball League teams played. They provided players to the Cleveland Indians (1939), the Cincinnati Reds (1940) and the Detroit Tigers (1947-49). — Map (db m38935) HM
Alabama (Russell County), Fort Mitchell — Indian Ball Ground
The most popular game among the Indians of this region was "stick ball." This field has been constructed so that the game may be enjoyed again in the Chattahoochee Valley where it was played for hundreds of years. Sometimes known as "little brother to war," the game was played with an intensity second only to war. Hand crafted sticks with small loops on the end were used to catch and throw a small deer skin ball often filled with squirrel fur to make it "lively." One of the last games played . . . — Map (db m26020) HM
Alabama (Russell County), Fort Mitchell — John Crowell
Marker Front: Near here is the site where John Crowell lived, died, and is interred. Colonel Crowell was born in Halifax County, North Carolina, on September 18, 1780; moved to Alabama in 1815, having been appointed as Agent of the United States to the Muscogee Indians. In 1817, he was elected as Alabama's first and only Territorial Delegate to the 15th Congress, where he served from January 29, 1818, until March 3, 1819. Upon Alabama's admission as a State, he was elected its first . . . — Map (db m26116) HM
Alabama (Shelby County), Pelham — Pelham, Alabama / Ballantrae Golf Course
Side 1 Pelham, Alabama Pelham, located in Shelby County, Alabama, acquired its name in approximately 1867. It was named for “Gallant Pelham” who fought in the Confederate Army and was killed in action at Kelly’s Ford, Virginia on March 17, 1863 at the young age of 24.Major John Pelham gallantly fought and protected the Confederacy Prison Camp located at Cahawba. The town was officially incorporated on July 10, 1964, at which time it has a population of 654. . . . — Map (db m76260) HM
Alabama (Talladega County), Lincoln — Lincoln, Alabama
(Side A) Historical records indicate that DeSoto and his men, as they traveled the South in search of gold, were the first white men to see the Lincoln area. With the ceding of the Creek Indian Territory in 1837, the population of the area increased. The community was known as Kingsville until 1856 when the name was changed to Lincoln. the name Lincoln came from Revolutionary War General Benjamin Lincoln who accepted the sword of surrender from the British at Yorktown, Virginia in . . . — Map (db m33282) HM
Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — Site of Queen City Park Softball Field1936-1967
Built on this site in 1936, Queen City Park Softball Field served as the cornerstone for the first successful community effort to promote the organized play of amateur softball in Tuscaloosa County. Its construction followed nationwide efforts to organize softball in 1933. Soon thereafter, Tuscaloosa men's and women's softball teams emerged as state and national powers, and the sport itself gained recognition as true wholesome family recreation. — Map (db m28788) HM
Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — The Jemison Home
Built by Robert Jemison Jr. Completed 1862, the 26 room Italian Villa style mansion is distinguished by its octagonal cupola and delicate carved fretwork. Jemison, a member of Alabama Legislature for 20 years (1840-63), 1861 Secession Convention (he voted against secession), Confederate States Senate 1863-65, helped establish Alabama Insane Hospital. Boyhood home Robert Jemison Van de Graaff, inventor of generator used in splitting the atom and of William “Bully Van de Graaff, first All . . . — Map (db m35321) HM
Arizona (Cochise County), Bisbee — The Warren Ball Park
Originally constructed of wood in 1908, the Warren Ball Park is the oldest in the state of Arizona and stands as testimony to Bisbee's rich heritage. The Warren Company, a subsidiary of the Calumet & Arizona and Pittsburgh & Superior Mining Companies, built the park at a cost of $5,000.00. The first backfield wall was inside the bleachers and stood at 380 feet. In 1930, the WPA re-built the park comprised of a cast-in-place concrete grandstand and wooden fence surrounding the outfield. The . . . — Map (db m48573) HM
Arizona (Coconino County), Wupatki National Monument — The BallcourtA Mexican Idea at Wupatki
Ballcourts were common in southern Arizona from A.D. 750 to 1200, but relatively rare here in the northern part of the state. This suggests that the people of Wupatki intermingled with their southern Arizona neighbors - the Hohokam - who may have borrowed and modified the ballcourt idea from earlier contact with the Indian cultures of Mexico. There is continued speculation about the uses of the ballcourts. Because of the work involved in building a ballcourt and the numbers that have been . . . — Map (db m41696) HM
Arizona (Pima County), Tucson — AQHHMP #2 — Hacienda MoltacquaAmerican Quarter Horse Historical Marker
The first World's Championship Quarter Horse Speed Trials were held just north of this site in 1941 at the newly-constructed Hacienda Moltacqua Racetrack. Bob Locke, owner of the track, was a member of the Southern Arizona Horse Breeders Association. He, along with other SAHBA members J. Rukin Jelks, Jake Meyer, Clancy Wollard and Joe Flieger, hosted the trials in conjunction with the Tucson Horse Show. As a five-year-old, Clabber, owned by A.A. (Ab) Nichols of Gilbert, Arizona, defeated . . . — Map (db m40473) HM
Arizona (Pinal County), Florence — Bear Down
Near this site on the evening of October 3, 1926, John "Button" Salmon, student body president and quarterback of the University of Arizona football team, was critically injured in a car accident while returning from a weekend in Phoenix with two classmates. The day before his death on October 18, he was visited in the hospital in Tucson by head coach J.F. "Pop" McKale, who asked him if he had a message for the team, Salmon told McKale: "Tell them…tell the team to bear down." . . . — Map (db m26664) HM
Arizona (Santa Cruz County), Sonoita — AQHHMP #27 — Sonoita Quarter Horse Show and RacesAmerican Quarter Horse Historical Marker
Seeing whose horse was fastest or who had the best working ranch horse was a natural form of competition for early settlers in Arizona cattle country. So began the race and show tradition at Sonoita. The Sonoita Quarter Horse Show began at the Santa Cruz County Fair and Rodeo Association fairgrounds in 1939. Many exhibitors isolated by distance viewed it as a good place to compete with horses from the region such as the versatile Lightning Bar, sire of Doc Bar, one of the most influential . . . — Map (db m46881) HM
Arizona (Yavapai County), Prescott — City Park and Ballfield
Since 1908, the area of Prescott now known as Ken Lindley Field has been used as a public park and ballfield. The land was deeded to the City of Prescott by Charles T. and Ada M. Joslin in 1922. As Mrs. Joslin requested, the City later donated part of the land to the Smoki People for their museum and pueblo and to the Arizona National Guard for the Armory, now the Prescott Activity Center. In 1931, during the Great Depression, the grandstand was constructed as a City public works project . . . — Map (db m21161) HM
Arkansas (Washington County), Fayetteville — The Razorbacks
Following a 16-0 victory over LSU in Memphis on Nov. 13, 1909, the University of Arkansas football team was greeted at the Fayetteville train station across the street by a crowd of fans and students. Arkansas was 5-0 after the win and would finish 7-0. Head coach Hugo Bezdek delivered a speech to the crowd, saying the team played “like a wild band of razorback hogs.” The name was a hit with the student body, which voted in 1910 to change the official mascot from Cardinals to . . . — Map (db m59912) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Indian RockBerkeley History
Outcroppings of weathered rock are a prominent feature of the Berkeley Hills, providing evidence of this area’s complex geological past. Composed of Northbrae rhyolite, Indian Rock is an ancient volcanic remnant. Native Ohlone communities gathered at these outcroppings. Here they ground acorns into meal with stone pestles, eventually wearing bowl-like depressions in the rock. In the early 20th century the Mason-McDuffie Real Estate Company developed the surrounding Northbrae subdivision. . . . — Map (db m53852) HM
California (Alameda County), Emeryville — Oakland Ball Park
This plaque marks the site of Oakland Ball Park From 1913 to 1955 the home of four time Pacific Coast League Champions The Oakland Oaks Whose ranks included baseball legends Casey Stengel and Billy Martin — Map (db m72399) HM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — Oakland’s ChinatownsWa Sung Community Service Club
This marker is made up of two markers and two plaques on the same monument. One Community, Many Locations Chinese first settled in Oakland in the 18502 during the California Gold Rush. Unlike San Francisco’s Chinatown, Oakland’s Chinese community remained relatively small in the 1800s. Faced with the same challenges and obstacles as other Chinese settlements of the time, the Chinese were constantly being relocated outside of desirable neighborhoods. In 1880, the site of . . . — Map (db m72762) HM
California (Alameda County), Pleasanton — Rancho El Valle de San Jose
This grandstand is located on a portion of the historic Rancho El Valle de San Jose, granted to Pico, Sunol and Bernal by Mexico in 1839 forming part of Mission San Jose lands. Early settlers trained and raced horses here over 100 years ago. — Map (db m65971) HM
California (Alameda County), San Leandro — Of Fins and FlippersLake Chabot Historical Walk
How do you climb the wall of a dam using fins? The dam blocked the natural migratory route of the steelhead trout, prohibiting them from swimming up San Leandro Creek to spawn in their natural habitat, what is now upper San Leandro Reservoir and tributary creeks. To sustain the fish population and stock the lake, Anthony Chabot constructed a fish hatchery in 1874 near the dam. The hatchery became the California State Fish and Game Hatchery 1878-1883. The hardiness of fish, like the land-locked . . . — Map (db m71713) HM
California (Amador County), Plymouth — Benny Brown Arena
A lifelong fourth generation rancher from Ione with summer ranges in the mountains near Kirkwood, Benny Brown made his first appearance in this arena in 1951 at the age of 13. The event was cattle penning. His mother was his partner, and he won it. For nearly fifty years thereafter, as Amador County’s hometown rodeo cowboy, Benny made numerous winning appearances all across the west in professional rodeo cowboy events and later as a distinguished competitor on the senior pro rodeo circuit . . . — Map (db m42453) HM
California (Contra Costa County), Martinez — Joe DiMaggio's BirthsiteOld Town Martinez - Site of Historic Interest — Right Next Door —»
Joe DiMaggio was born here 11/25/1914. The 8th of 9 children to parents Giuseppe and Rosalia. Later moved to San Francisco, but returned often to this neighborhood to visit family. The home burned down in 1948. — Map (db m53000) HM
California (Contra Costa County), Rodeo — Lefty Gomez Field
In Memory of Vernon Lefty Gomez, born Nov. 26, 1908, in Rodeo. New York Yankees pitching great from 1930-1942. Set World Series record with 6 victories and no defeats leading team to 7 pennants and 6 World Series Championships. Inducted into the Baseball Hall of Fame in 1972. Dedicated March 25, 1990 — Map (db m18033) HM
California (El Dorado County), Coloma — Metropolitan Saloon and Bowling AlleySite of
At this site was one of California’s first bowling alleys. It was actually three buildings, with single-lane bowling alleys in each of the side buildings. The establishment, also known as the Metropolitan Saloon and Sporting Hall, featured gambling and related activities. In 1860, the largest building, which fronted on Main Street, housed the exhibits for the El Dorado County Fair. — Map (db m17598) HM
California (Fresno County), Fresno — Billy Vukovich Memorial
This Monument is dedicated May 30, 1956, by the citizens of Fresno to the memory of Fresno's own Billy Vukovich, who met his death while leading the Indianapolis 500 Mile race May 30, 1955. Billy Vukovich, who lived all his life in Fresno, won almost every major automobile racing championship in the United States. Among his racing accomplishments are the following: 1954 Indianapolis 500 winner 1953 Indianapolis 500 winner 1950 National Midget Race Champion 1947 Pacific Coast . . . — Map (db m47249) HM
California (Fresno County), Fresno — Frank Chance Field 1935-1941
Located at this corner was a 20-acre baseball field named for the legendary Frank Chance. Constructed in 1935, the park served as the spring training grounds for the San Francisco Seals as well as for games played by Fresno's Twilight League. Frank Chance was born in Salida, California in 1876 and was raised in Fresno here he played for the Fresno Tigers. In 1898 he joined the Chicago Cubs. In 1905 he became the Cubs Manager and also continued to play first base. Chance led the Cubs to two . . . — Map (db m47337) HM
California (Fresno County), Fresno — Young Corbett IIIRalph Giordano — Welterweight Champion of the World
Born Ralph Capabianca Giordano on May 27, 1905, in Rionero In Vulture, Italy. Young Corbett III embarked on his successful boxing career in Fresno, California in 1919, winning the Welterweight Championship of the world on February 22, 1933. — Map (db m47250) HM
California (Humboldt County), Ferndale — Joseph C. Oeschger Field
Dedicated to Joseph Carl Oeschger in Recognition of his contribution to sports and to the youth who participate. An all around athlete who began his career in Ferndale, he went on to professional baseball where he distinguished himself as a major league pitcher for 12 years. On May 1, 1920, he set a record never equaled by pitching the longest game ever played. He, and the opposing pitcher, pitched a full 26 innings before the game was called because of darkness. Longest Major League . . . — Map (db m71956) HM
California (Kern County), Arvin — Arvin-Sierra Glider Port1937-1941
Located on the hills in front of you, on the historic Tejon Ranch, the Arvin-Sierra Glider Port was the site for the West Coast Soaring Championships. Many of America’s famous glider pilots made record flights from here, soaring over the mountains and into the desert. The contests were popular events to pilots and public alike and the site became the most important glider port in California. When World War II shut down activity here, those star pilots became key to the war effort — as . . . — Map (db m51677) HM
California (Los Angeles County), Arcadia — Santa Anita During World War II
Early in 1942 the US government designated Santa Anita Park for special usage during the war years. Pursuant to Executive Order 9066 signed by President Franklin D. Roosevelt, from March 30, 1942 until October 27, 1942 the facility was used as an assembly and processing center for approximately 20,000 Japanese Americans prior to their displacement to interment camps in other areas of the country. From 1942 until 1945, the government utilized the property as an Army Base – Camp . . . — Map (db m68088) HM
California (Los Angeles County), Arcadia — Seabiscuit1933-1947
Won 1940 Santa Anita Handicap to become world's greatest money winner at that time. Owned by Charles S. Howard 1877-1950 — Map (db m52754) HM
California (Los Angeles County), Avalon, Catalina Island — The Leaping Tuna(The Thunnus Thynnus or Bluefin Tuna)
The sport of big game fishing originated in Avalon when Charles Frederick Holder caught a 183 pound Blue Fin Tuna with sport fish tackle on June 1, 1898. This angling milestone inspired him to form the Tuna Club of Santa Catalina Island, an organization dedicated to promoting conservation of our marine recourses and good sportsmanship among anglers. It was once common for vast schools of tuna to arrive in early summer within view of the island, often amazing onlookers with their ability to make . . . — Map (db m49856) HM
California (Los Angeles County), Avalon, Catalina Island — 997 — The Tuna Club of Avalon
The Tuna Club of Avalon marks the birthplace of modern big game sportfishing. In 1898, led by Dr. Charles Frederick Holder, the club's founding members adopted the rules of conduct stressing conservationist ethics and sporting behavior. Today, their work remains the basis for the sport's internationally accepted principles. — Map (db m49678) HM
California (Los Angeles County), Long Beach — 1014 — Long Beach Marine Stadium
Created in 1932 for the rowing events of the Xth Olympiad, the Stadium was the first manmade rowing course in the United States. Its width allowed four teams to race abreast, eliminating additional heats and allowing oarsmen to enter the finals at the peak of their form. Later it served as the venue for the 1968 and 1976 United States men’s Olympic rowing trials and the 1984 United States women's Olympic rowing trials. The site remains an important training and competitive center for rowers, including our National and Olympic teams. — Map (db m2614) HM
California (Los Angeles County), Long Beach — Transpacific Yacht Race - Long Beach to Honolulu
The Transpacific Yacht Race, 2,225 nautical miles to Honolulu, is one of the great ocean races of the world. First launched in 1906, the race now features as many as 80 yachts, all completing for a place on the Transpac Walk of Fame. Past winners include such celebrities as Frank Morgan, the "Wizard of Oz," in 1947, and Roy E. Disney in 1999. Over the years, other crew members have included Ted Kennedy, Olympic swimming star, Mark Spitz, and Johnny (Tarzan) Weismuller. But, for the most part, . . . — Map (db m72450) HM
California (Los Angeles County), Pasadena — Pasadena Robinson MemorialJackie and Mack Robinson — Bronze Scultpures, 9 ft by 6 ft by 7 ft, 2,700 lbs each
The Pasadena Robison Memorial sculptures were created through a community effort spearheaded by the Board of Directors of Pasadena Robinson Memorial and the City of Pasadena. The monumental bronze portraitures of Mack and Jackie Robinson focus on the brothers’ lifelong accomplishments. Mack Robison won the silver medal for the 200-meter dash in the 1936 Berlin Olympics. He attended John Muir High School, Pasadena Junior College and University of Oregon. Jackie Robinson lettered in all four . . . — Map (db m71143) HM
California (Marin County), Tiburon — Bowling and Dollars
A great morale builder, Fort McDowell’s bowling alley opened in 1944, sporting six lanes. Fort McDowell’s bowling teams – the “Jail Birds,” “Brass Hats,” and the "McDowell Mermaids” competed against teams from Fort Mason and Camp Stoneman. The wooden building near the bowling alley’s foundation housed the finance department, where soldiers were paid – also a great morale builder. — Map (db m69299) HM
California (Marin County), Tiburon — Play Games
If you listen carefully, you can hear the crack of a bat and soldiers cheering as a Fort McDowell “Indian” rounds third base and heads for home – Cole Field. The ball park was home to the men’s baseball team, the “Indians,” and the women’s softball team, the” McDowell Stowaways.” The games provided soldiers, who were waiting to be shipped overseas, an entertaining recreational break from World War II. — Map (db m69275) HM
California (Marin County), Tiburon — Samuel Blake ChapmanGenuine Hometown Hero
Samuel was born to Catherine and Charles Chapman of Mar West Street in Tiburon on April 11, 1916. He worked in his father’s merchandise store on Main Street and delivered mail for his father who also served as Tiburon’s Postmaster from 1915 to 1941. Sam attended Tiburon’s one-room schoolhouse and played baseball on a Main Street lot where he earned his nickname “The Tiburon Terror”. Later, at Tamalpais High School, he excelled in athletics and earned letters in five different . . . — Map (db m69305) HM
California (Mono County), June Lake — Carson’s Camp
Carson’s Camp, first private resort in the June Lake Loop, was established by Roy Carson in 1916. The initial camp was in a tent “where fishing is always good”. In 1919 his wife Nancy became camp cook and housekeeper. The first building on this site, adjoining Alger Creek, was completed in 1920. The main building was finished in 1921. This same building now serves as the Silver Creek Store. — Map (db m50143) HM
California (Mono County), Mammoth — Dave McCoy
Pioneering Eastern Sierra skier, visionary and entrepreneur, Dave McCoy's passion for skiing began in high school and soon thereafter he joined the Eastern Sierra Ski Culb. In 1936, Dave was hired by Ladwp as a hydrographer, conducting snow surveys while skiing across the Eastern Sierra. Realizing the region had abundant snowfall, Dave began to dream of developing a ski area in the Eastern Sierra. In 1938, he built the region's firs permanent rope tow at McGee Mountain. In 1941, Dave and . . . — Map (db m59340) HM
California (Mono County), Mammoth Lakes — McGee Mountain Rope Tow #34
The first permanent rope tow in the Eastern Sierra was built west of this site on the east slope of McGee Mountain. This predecessor of Mammoth Mountain ski area was constructed here in 1938 because of its dependable snow and nearness to a highway. Prior to this facility most down hill skiing was done by use of a portable rope tow system (a working gasoline engine, rope, and pullies.) Dave McCoy—world class skier, entrepreneur, and visionary, was instrumental in organizing and promoting . . . — Map (db m2951) HM
California (Monterey County), Monterey — Trains and CanneriesHistoric Cannery Row
The railroad A major landmark in the history of the Monterey Peninsula was the Southern Pacific Railroad. Built in 1880, the rail line was intended to bring tourism to this scenic area. In addition to transporting tourists, however, it delivered an influx of new immigrants and provided a way of shipping the fishing industry’s products to the outside world. World War I World War I transformed Monterey’s archaic fish-canning operations. In 1918 fewer than a dozen canneries could . . . — Map (db m55213) HM
California (Nevada County), Soda Springs — HEV-003 — Western America Skisport MuseumCalifornia Point of Historical Interest HEV-003
Downhill ski racing history in the Western Hemisphere first began in California circa 1857, and in this famous Donner Pass of the Sierra Nevada the Auburn Ski Club presents a full exhibition of pioneered manpower transportation and skisport history as prepared by Historian William B. Berry. — Map (db m60888) HM
California (Orange County), Dana Point — Don Hansen, Dana Wharf Sportfishing40th Anniversary 1971-2011
In dedication to Don Hansen and Dana Wharf Sportfishing, the first business operating out of Dana Point Harbor. Dana Wharf Sportfishing originated Whale Watching for Orange County and founded the Dana Point Festival of Whales and Dana Point Boat Parade of Lights. Don Hansen has been a great example of strong business leadership in Dana Point Harbor, and is appreciated for his dedication and service to the Harbor community over the past 40 years. Dana Wharf Sportfishing - May 1971 — Map (db m60798) HM
California (Orange County), Huntington Beach — Duke KahanamokuAugust 24, 1890 - January 22, 1968
Duke Kahanamoku, three time Olympic gold medalist swimmer, public servant, goodwill ambassador of the State of Hawaii, and considered by many to be the father of modern surfing. In the early 1920's, the Duke surfed under Huntington's Pier. In his 70's, he returned to Huntington Beach to help promote the U.S. Surfboard Championships. For many years the championships were dedicated in honor of Duke's contributions to the sport of surfing. He will long be remembered for his principles of fair play, good sportsmanship and his gracious aloha spirit. — Map (db m51964) HM
California (Placer County), Olympic Valley — 724 — Pioneer Ski Area of AmericaSquaw Valley, California
One thousand competitors from 34 nations came to Squaw Valley to compete in the VIII Olympic Winter Games of 1960. The Games, brought here by Alexander C. Cushing, commemorated a century of sport skiing in America. By 1860 mining towns in the Sierra Nevada, particularly Whiskey Diggings, Poker Flat, Port Wine, Onion Valley, La Porte, and Johnsville, saw the first organized ski clubs and competition in the western hemisphere. California Registered Historical Landmark No.724 Plaque placed . . . — Map (db m23504) HM
California (Placer County), Tahoe City — Olympic Silver, 1956 to 1971The Olympics Are Coming!
News that the 1960 Winter Olympics were coming to tiny Squaw Valley and to Lake Tahoe’s West Shore marked a milestone in Tahoe City development. All at once Lake Tahoe became known world-wide. Many new facilities were built for the Olympics, with the area benefiting from the boom. Since 1960, Lake Tahoe has become a training ground for many Olympic athletes and world-renowned sports figures. Following the Olympics, area development went unchecked through 1971. A building moratorium . . . — Map (db m37441) HM
California (Plumas County), Blairsden-Graeagle — Longboard Ski Races
Gold Mountain, now Eureka Peak, is the site of some of the first organized ski races in the western hemisphere. Ski clubs organized in the 1850’s rode 10-14 foot “longboards snowshoes” down “Lost Sierra” slopes in Plumas and Sierra counties. Here on Eureka Peak, ore car buckets doubled as the world’s first ski lift. “Dope is King” referred to secret ski waxes concocted by dopemakers who split the prizes with the winners. In the 1930’s Johnny Redstreake and . . . — Map (db m56614) HM
California (Plumas County), Blairsden-Graeagle — CHL 723 — Pioneer Ski Area of America
The first sport ski area in the western hemisphere was in the Sierra Nevada. By 1860, races were held in the Plumas-Sierra region. The mining towns of Whiskey Diggings, Poker Flat, Port Wine, Onion Valley, La Porte, Jamison City, and Johnsville organized the earliest ski clubs and annual competitions. — Map (db m56451) HM
California (Plumas County), La Porte — “Quick Silver Charley”Charles W. Hendel — Chronicler of the Long Board
Snow-shoe Race beginning 1854 Sierra County Surveyor 1870 Deputy U.S. Surveyor 1871 Plumas County Surveyor 1879 Plumas County Supervisor 1910 Snow-shoed to Quincy for meetings past the age of 80 — Map (db m56365) HM
California (Plumas County), La Porte — Lexington Ski Hill
Snow skiing was introduced to Plumas County in 1858. Skis were called “snow shoes” at the time. Skis were first used to travel to and from the mining camps. Sport skiing soon followed, and by 1863 became a “mania”. The first organized downhill ski races in the Sierra Nevada were held at this location, and many of the mining towns had teams that competed nearly every week during the winter months. The first skis were made of wood, were 12 feet long, and had a single . . . — Map (db m65904) HM
California (Plumas County), La Porte — The Alturas Snowshoe Club“Dope is King” — La Porte, Plumas County, California
This plaque commemorates the origins of the world’s first downhill snowshoe racing events which began in Plumas and Sierra Counties in the 1850’s. The Alturas Snowshoe Club was the world’s first organized ski club, having originated between Gibsonville and the Port Wine Snowshoe Club. By 1867 downhill ski racing had become a major sport with teams of riders from the “Lost Sierra” mining camps competing for prize money and prestige on the historical “long boards” of the . . . — Map (db m56368) HM
California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — Anthony J. “Tom” LoPresti1962 National PGA Pro of the Year
Head PGA GOLF PROFESSIONAL at HAGGIN OAKS GOLF COURSE 1932 – 1994 In recognition of Tom LoPresti – otherwise known as “Mr. Golf of the West Coast” for his 62 years of dedicated service to the Sacramento Golf Community. — Map (db m14979) HM
California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — Dr. Alister MacKenzieGolf Course Designer
On August 19, 1931, famous Golf Course Designer Dr. Alister MacKenzie was selected by the City of Sacramento to lay out the new Sacramento Municipal 18-Hole Golf Course, which opened for play on October 1, 1932. The course name was changed to Haggin Oaks Municipal 18-hole G.C. in 1952. On May 17, 1997, the City of Sacramento officially dedicated the Haggin Oaks Municipal Golf Courses (now a 36-hole golf facility) as the…Alister MacKenzie G.C. at Haggin Oaks and the Arcade Creek G.C. at Haggin Oaks. — Map (db m14938) HM
California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — Edmonds Field1910 – 1960
This was the site of home plate at Edmonds Field, home of the Pacific Coast League’s Sacramento Solons Baseball Team for fifty years. More than 4,200 games were played here over those years and Solon fans set several PCL attendance records. The Solons won the pennant in 1942. Their fans were some of the best in baseball. — Map (db m17071) HM
California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — Frank C. Freer
This plaque is dedicated to Frank C. Freer by the City of Sacramento in recognition of his commitment of over 50 years to improving the game of golf in Sacramento, California. • Member-Sacramento Golf Club at Haggin Oaks • Member-Sacramento Golf Council • Tournament Director-California State Fair Championship • Chairman-1983 National Mens’ Public Links Championship • NCGA Board of Directors (1962-1968) • USGA Sectional Qualifying Committeeman, National Public Links (1964-1995) . . . — Map (db m14907) HM
California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — Ken Morton, Sr.
• 1998 National PGA Golf Professional of the Year • 1998 National PGA Merchandiser of the Year (Public Course) • 1994 National PGA Horton-Smith Award Winner • 1990 National PGA Merchandiser of the Year (Public Course) Ken Morton, Sr. gained his appreciation of the game of golf as a caddie working at Del Paso Country club in Sacramento, California. Ken came to Haggin Oaks Golf Complex in 1958 as an employee working in the Club repair shop under Head Golf Professional Tom LoPresti. . . . — Map (db m14857) HM
California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — Michael “Mac” McDonaghBorn in Tuam Co. Galway on December 29, 1900
In recognition of Michael “Mac” McDonagh for his 32 years of service as Superintendent of Golf for the City of Sacramento from 1932 – 1964. Mac McDonagh went to England in 1923 to become an apprentice in golf course construction and design with Dr. Alister MacKenzie. In 1926, McDonagh came to California and joined Dr. MacKenzie in the building of such fine golf courses as Cypress Point, The Meadow Club, and our very own Sacramento Municipal Golf Course – now officially . . . — Map (db m14939) HM
California (San Francisco City and County), San Francisco — Cadillac HotelUptown Tenderloin Historic District — c. 1907
Designed by Frederick H. Mayer in 1907. First structure built in the Uptown Tenderloin after San Francisco's 1906 earthquake and fire. San Francisco Landmark No. 176. Boxer Muhammed Ali (known as Cassius Clay at the time) trained in the Hotel's Newman's Gym in 1960 after winning an Olympic gold medal. Jerry Garcia, Grateful Dead founder/musician, lived here in 1961. This building is listed in the National Register of Historic Places. — Map (db m63863) HM
California (San Francisco City and County), San Francisco — George Sterling Park and the Alice Marble Tennis Courts
George Sterling 1869 – 1926 George Sterling represented California in the world of poetry for a generation. His works included “A Wine of Wizardry.” “Testimony of the Suns,” and “The House of Orchids.” Sometimes called ‘the last bohemian’, he was an eccentric beloved by Ambrose Bierce, Jack London, and Ina Coolbrith. His most memorable lines are his salute to San Francisco: “And great is thy tenderness, O cool, gray city of love!” . . . — Map (db m69986) HM
California (San Francisco City and County), San Francisco — King of the Road!The Golden Gate’s Golden Age of Cycling
More than one hundred years ago, the bicycle was king of the road in San Francisco. The streets were filled with scorchers, bloomer girls, bone shakers, and wheelmen. More than one hundred years ago, the bicycle was king of the road in San Francisco. It was the Golden Age of Cycling – everybody rode a bike. The whole city, the state, the country – it seemed even the whole world had gone bicycle mad. The streets were filled with scorchers, bloomer girls, boneshakers and . . . — Map (db m72526) HM
California (San Francisco City and County), San Francisco — Metropolitan Club
This Property has been placed on the National Register of Historic Places by the United States Department of the Interior Metropolitan Club Incorporated in 1915 as the Woman’s Athletic Club of San Francisco Bliss & Faville, Architects The first woman’s athletic club in the western United States — Map (db m71912) HM
California (San Francisco City and County), San Francisco — San Francisco Lawn Bowling Clubhouse and Greens
A San Francisco City Landmark No. 181 California's First Municipal Lawn Bowling Greens Established 1901 — Map (db m28756) HM
California (San Francisco City and County), San Francisco — The Dolphin Swimming and Boating Club
The Dolphin Club, in cooperation with the San Francisco Recreation and Park Department, maintains this facility to accomodate it program of open water swimming and rowing in San Francisco Bay. It was founded in 1877 as a small boat club at the water's edge at Bay and Leavenworth. In 1895 it moved into a new boathouse, now a portion of this building, at the foot of Van Ness. In 1938 it was moved, along with its neighbor the South End Rowing Club, to its present location, to make room for . . . — Map (db m65562) HM
California (San Francisco City and County), San Francisco — The South End Rowing ClubSince 1873 - San Francisco
The South End Rowing Club was founded on San Francisco Bay in 1873 by a group of rowing enthusiasts who gathered at Jimmy Farrell's Saloon at the southern end of the City near 3rd and Berry Streets. The Club became a dominant power in the Pacific Coast rowing regattas and attracted many great West Coast athletes. The original clubhouse was a rough redwood structure, built near the Belt Line Railroad that serviced all the shipping piers of the old San Francisco waterfront. In 1884, club . . . — Map (db m61359) HM
California (San Luis Obispo County), Paso Robles — Pittsburg Pirates
Presented to the city of El Paso de Robles to preserve the memory of the winter home of the Pittsburgh Pirates 1924-1934 — Map (db m66413) HM
California (San Luis Obispo County), San Luis Obispo — Mustang Memorial Plaza
On October 29, 1960, a chartered aircraft carrying the Cal Poly Mustang Football Team crashed on takeoff at the Toledo, Ohio Airport. Sixteen Mustang football players, the team manager, and a Mustang booster were killed in the crash and twenty-two others were injured. Mustang Memorial Plaza is dedicated to their memory. [Second Marker at the Memorial] The 1960 Cal Poly Football Team First Row (L-R): Don O’Meara, Don Adams, Russ Woods, Benny Martin, Coach LeRoy Hughes, . . . — Map (db m38511) HM
California (San Mateo County), Redwood City — Al Terremere1930-1951
Al Terremere is a member of the Sequoia Sports Hall of Fame as both an athlete and a coach. Al was All-League in both football and baseball during his Sequoia playing career, and captured multiple championships in both baseball and football as a Sequoia coach. Al was a very popular coach, mentor, motivator, and role model for the teams he coached. He is also a member of the Santa Clara University and San Mateo County Sports Hall of Fame. — Map (db m62605) HM
California (Santa Clara County), San Jose — Asahi Baseball
They built a baseball diamond with the homeplate on the Jackson and Sixth Street corner and the outfield towards the railroad tracks. Rightfield was shorter and leftfield went on across Seventh Street. The centerfield was much lower than homeplate, so the centerfielder was playing in a hole! If there was a train going by, they’d have to stop the game. It was too small actually. They had a granstand too, you know. Dr. Tokio Ishikawa — Map (db m52513) HM
California (Santa Clara County), San Jose — Hard Rock Miners
Drilling contests were the miners’ own distinctive event. The contest pitted individuals or teams of two miners against one another. They centered on hand-drilling, an essential aspect of the hard-rock miners’ work. Drilling contests tested the participants’ skill at this particular task; the men bored into a boulder, usually Colorado or Vermont granite. This piece of granite was used for one of these contests and came from the Delores Taranga Tunnel Site in the park. The competition required courage, skill, strength and endurance. — Map (db m41324) HM
California (Santa Clara County), San Jose — Rockin’ M Ranch
“Following indigenous American Indian occupation, this land was part of Spain and then Mexico. Under Mexican rule it was known as Rancho Yerba Buena de Socayre, a land grant deeded to Antonio Chaboya in 1833. It was the site of the historic Evergreen wagon stop and trading post. A long tradition of ranching took place here, as the property changed hands; Renaud Ranch, William Frederick Ranch, H.W. Golds Ranch, John Aborn Ranch, and John Prusch Ranch. This was the homestead of Emma Prusch . . . — Map (db m54663) HM
California (Santa Clara County), San Jose — Sumo Ring Site
People also made a sumo wresting ring in the baseball grounds and had tournaments. Dr. James Dobashi was the strongest then. Nobody could even be compared with him. Dr. Isamu Kawamura — Map (db m52511) HM
California (Santa Clara County), San Jose — The Natatorium
This area was once the site of one of Alum Rock Park’s most popular attractions, the Natatorium, a large indoor swimming pool. Built about 1912, it attracted over 35,000 swimmers each summer season. For about 20 cents, park visitors could swim in the heated waters of the 45-foot-wide and 90-foot-long pool. The pool also boasted a long, straight slide, a one-meter diving board, and three diving platforms for those who were looking for more excitement with their swim. The Natatorium was a . . . — Map (db m63790) HM
California (Santa Clara County), Santa Clara — Parade of Champions
Bicentennial 1845 – 1995 In recognition of the efforts of the citizens of the City of Santa Clara and the members of the Santa Clara Council #84. This event started with the Drum & Bugle Corps of Y.M.I. in 1945, and expanded to feature the Vanguards and also honor athletic champions of the City of Santa Clara. — Map (db m64940) HM
California (Santa Cruz County), Santa Cruz — Before the Boardwalk
The Santa Cruz Beach was changed forever in 1904 when promoter and entrepreneur Fred Swanton hosted the grand opening of the Neptune Casino, a Moorish-style wonder and wedding cake of a building. The Casino was destroyed by fire in June of 1906. Almost before the smoke had cleared, Swanton, was making plans for building a new Casino. The popularity of beaches grew in the late 1800’s as people came to believe that “taking the waters” was good for their health. Bathhouses . . . — Map (db m62796) HM
California (Santa Cruz County), Santa Cruz — Surfing Was First Brought Here By Hawaiian Princes
During the summer of 1885, three young Hawaiian princes rode the waves at the mouth of the San Lorenzo River on Redwood planks the ordered cut in the shape of olo surfboards by the local timber mill. H.M. Queen Kapi’olani’s nephews: H.R.H. Prince Jonah Küniö Kalaniana’ole H.R.H. Prince David La’amea Kahalepouli Käwananakoa H.R.H Prince Edward Abnel Keliianhonui While attending St. Matthew’s Hall Military School in San Mateo, stayed during their vacation with the Swan . . . — Map (db m71541) HM
California (Santa Cruz County), Santa Cruz — The PlungeNeptune’s Kingdom
Less than a year after fire destroyed the original Casino and Plunge, construction began on new buildings to include an indoor natatorium. The original ceiling arches can be seen today. The main pool measured 144 feet by 64 feet and featured a 40-foot slide. It was one of the largest heated, salt water swimming pools on the West coast. The pool’s two tanks, with a combined capacity of 408,000 gallons, were replenished daily from the Pacific Ocean. The chilly water was heated from a breathtaking . . . — Map (db m62792) HM
California (Siskiyou County), Dunsmuir — Babe Ruth Played Here
Dunsmuir Centennial Committee Baseball legend 'Babe' Ruth and his New York Yankee team mate Bob Meusel played in an exhibition game with local teams here on October 22, 1924. Dedicated by Grand Parlor, Native Sons of the Golden West June 14, 1986 Everett White Jr., Grand President — Map (db m40198) HM
California (Siskiyou County), Yreka — Charles Bibend BuildingTurner Hall — 329 W. Miner St.
Between 1956 and 1866 this building housed a general merchandise store, tin shop, and grocery business. Sometime before the turn-of-the-century, however, it became known as Turner Hall, meeting place for Yreka social and business groups. This included the Turnverien Club organized in the 1860s by a group of early pioneers who came to the area during the gold rush. (Turnerien is a German word for ‘athletic’ or ‘gymnastic.’) The Club arched the ceiling, put a new roof on the “Hall” . . . — Map (db m70169) HM
California (Trinity County), Weaverville — Race Track – Airport – Golf Course
Once known as China Graveyard Ridge, by late August, 1871, Alex Love developed a racetrack on this site 550 yards in length. This popular quarter mile track saw the names of horses like “Hayfork Kitty” and “Hollywood” owned by John Van Matre. Mart Van Matre was famous on this track with his winning horses. Charlie Daniels, a local Indian, was popular with his palomino. Horse fanciers and enthusiasts came out for decades to watch the races. By the 1920’s racing had been . . . — Map (db m56190) HM
California (Tuolumne County), Pinecrest — Earl Purdy
In recognition of Earl Purdy The builder, developer and manager of the Dodge Ridge Ski Area from 1950 to 1976. — Map (db m58877) HM
Colorado (Conejos County), Manassa — "The Manassa Mauler"
This monument is dedicated to Mary Celia Dempsey mother of William Harrison "Jack" Dempsey born June 24, 1895 He fought his way to become world heavyweight champion on July 4, 1919 and became known as the legendary "Manassa Mauler" — Map (db m22696) HM
Colorado (Jefferson County), Golden — Fun on Courthouse Hill
“Courthouse Hill,” which is Washington Avenue south of 14th Street, was a favorite location of settler children. In the winter, sleds packed with eager youth picked up sufficient speed on the Hill to be able to coast across the Washington Avenue Bridge. Some traveled as far as the Railroad Depot on 8th Street. This site was not just for winter entertainment; one newspaper had an account of children joy-riding in a wagon down Courthouse Hill. Not only children enjoyed Courthouse . . . — Map (db m50092) HM
Colorado (Jefferson County), Golden — Play in the Wind
Windy Saddle Park is named for the nearly constant wind currents that can be felt blowing through the foothills. Winds traveling across the plains are forced upward when they hit the Rocky Mountains, and as the air rises, it has enough force to lift objects into the sky.

Many large birds use these currents to conserve energy. Being lifted into the sky by this wind, called a thermal, is much easier than flapping wings that can span eight feet from tip to tip. Using thermals saves energy and . . . — Map (db m46157) HM

Colorado (Jefferson County), Golden — Recreation: Past to Present
Windy Saddle Park has a long history of being a favorite place for recreation. When Lookout Mountain Road was opened in 1914, it was a destination for the first automobile tours. The Lariat Loop Scenic and Historic Byway now passes through Windy Saddle Park, which offers many recreational opportunities. The steep trails and winding road are a challenge to those looking for a workout, while the wind makes this an ideal spot for paragliders to sail like birds on the breeze. — Map (db m46155) HM
Colorado (La Plata County), Durango — Jack Dempsey
In 1915, here at 10th and Main 20 year old Colorado native Jack Dempsey the “Manassa Mauler” knocksdown [sic] Andy Malloy in a ten round fight winning $50 and going on to become world heavyweight champion in 1919. — Map (db m51813) HM
Colorado (Summit County), Vail Pass — 246 — 10th Mountain DivisionCamp Hale
The 10th Mountain Division, created for alpine and winter combat during World War II, girded for battle on the steep, inhospitable terrain of Camp Hale (about twenty-five miles southwest of here). Built at an old railroad sheep-loading stop, the base opened in 1942 with 8,000 recruits, many of them veteran mountaineers. Their specialize training kept them above 10,000 feet for days on end, poling cross-country under ninety-pound loads. These exercises increased endurance and taught important . . . — Map (db m58466) HM
Colorado (Summit County), Vail Pass — 246 — Vail / Vail Pass Country
Marker Front: Vail Mountain stood bare just days before the resort’s 1962 grand opening. As luck would have it, a late December storm blanketed the area, dumping several feet of powder on the untracked slopes. Fortune just kept smiling on the newly born ski area, which 10th Mountain veteran Pete Seibert, rancher Earl Eaton, and others built from scratch in an undeveloped valley. Conceived as an intimate European-style resort, Vail paired winter recreation with shopping, dining, and . . . — Map (db m58485) HM
Colorado (Teller County), Colorado Springs — Race to the Clouds — The Pikes Peak International Hill Climb rich with racing tradition
Can you imagine racing up a mountain that has 1,000 foot drop-offs? That’s exactly what daring drivers have been doing since 1916. That was the year mining magnate Spencer Penrose announced the first Pikes Peak National Hill Climbing Contest to publicize his new mountain auto highway. The first sinner, Rea Lentz, sped to the summit in 20 minutes and 55.6 seconds. The Hill Climb is the second oldest race in the United States behind only the Indianapolis 500. Many of the races champions have . . . — Map (db m45839) HM
Connecticut (Fairfield County), Bridgeport — Roberto Clemente
Roberto Clemente 1939 – 1973 The test of mankind's progress is not whether we add more to the abundance of those who have much; it is whether we provide enough for those who have too little. By: the 200,000 Spanish citizens of Conn. through the efforts of station WLVH – La Grande Jose Grimalt Mestre President — Map (db m27800) HM
Connecticut (Fairfield County), Danbury — 24 — The Sporting Life– The Museum in the Streets – — Danbury, Connecticut
historic newspapers reveal that sports have long been an outlet for both competitive and recreational gatherings in our city. Local coverage of amateur, club, factory, and school competitions were a regular feature. Early baseball games were held at White Street fields. In 1913, an 1,800 seat stadium was built at the corner of South Street and Shelter Rock Road next to the trolley depot. Admission was 25 cents. For five cents more, fans could sit in the grandstand. During the late . . . — Map (db m71245) HM
Connecticut (Fairfield County), Stamford — Michael F. Lione Memorial Park
Michael F. Lione Memorial Park Large, soft-brown eyes, reverently expressing the simple faith of a little boy; determined countenance and rugged body that bespoke the athlete who never quit; tenderness and compassion without softness and indulgence; fiery enthusiasm for victory with equal dedication to honor, that was "Mickey" Lione, to whom this field is dedicated that all who play hereon may learn that only evil is flabby and that manliness is goodness, here and everywhere. Dedicated September 26, 1954 — Map (db m38769) HM
Connecticut (Hartford County), New Britain — Joseph J. "Joe" Buzas
Joseph J. "Joe" Buzas In Grateful Appreciation For Bringing Minor League Baseball To New Britain In 1983 — Map (db m41516) HM
Connecticut (Litchfield County), North Canaan — John F. Bianchi
In Memory Of John F. Bianchi 1921 - 1976 In Recognition Of His 26 years of Service To the Little League — Map (db m42042) HM
Connecticut (New Haven County), New Haven — Walter Camp
Walter Camp " The Father of American Football" Walter Camp. Outstanding Yale athlete and coach became the single most important figure in the development of American Football. Recognized as the primary authority on football rules in his lifetime. He was a successful businessman. Dedicated family man. And a prominent New Haven civic leader. He selected his first All-American team in 1889. A tradition we are proud to continue today. The Walter Camp Football Foundation May 1992 — Map (db m49710) HM
Connecticut (New Haven County), West Haven — George Trevor
1892 George Trevor 1951 Of the Yale Class of 1915 His appreciation and expression of the drama and color of college football was an inspiration to countless teams and players, and a tribute to the craft of sportswriting Wherever George Trevor sits is the 50-yard line This memorial is given by his friends, classmates, fellow sportswriters and the followers of American football — Map (db m40925) HM
Connecticut (New Haven County), West Haven — Robert Gardner Anderson Award
In appreciation of what Bob Anderson, Y'33, has meant to Yale football over the past several decades, each year an individual from the Yale Varsity Football Team shall have his name added to this plaque. That individual shall most exemplify Bob's intense interest in the sport by combining athletic skill with team spirit and pride in accomplishment. 1977 James J. McDonnell • 1978 Robert A. Krystyniak • 1978 Timothy M. Tumpane • 1980 John J. Nitti • 1981 John Patrick Rogan • 1982 Greg . . . — Map (db m40923) HM
Connecticut (New Haven County), West Haven — West Haven Twilight League 1933
Dedicated To The Founders Of The West Haven Twilight League 1933 Herbert Metcalfe • Theodore Metcalfe • Robert Metcalfe • John King • James McDermott • Frank Harlan • Edward Canavan • Hugh O'Neil, Jr. • Edward Flynn • Dudley Meyers Dedicated On April 28, 1981 By The Greater New Haven Diamond Club — Map (db m28998) HM
Delaware (New Castle County), Newark — Iron Hill School #112CPreserving History: The African-American Community of Iron Hill
The Iron Hill Museum is dedicated to the study of human and natural history of the Iron Hill Area. The Museum is currently engaged in a project to restore the Iron Hill School #112C and document the experiences of African-American students who attended the school between 1923 and 1965. In order to achieve this, the Museum has embarked on an oral history project to formally interview and record the memories of former students who are now between the ages of 40 and 80. Oral historian Roberta . . . — Map (db m10053) HM
Delaware (New Castle County), Newport — NC-95 — The Home of William Julius "Judy" JohnsonBorn October 26, 1899 - Died June 14, 1989
In 1975 William Julius “Judy” Johnson became the first Delawarean elected to the National Baseball Hall of Fame. During his career, 1921 through 1936, Johnson was considered the best third baseman in the Negro Leagues. In 1935, Johnson served as captain of the Pittsburgh Crawfords, a team that also featured Hall of Famers Satchel Paige, Oscar Charleston, Josh Gibson and Cool Papa Bell. Later he served as a scout for the Philadelphia Athletics, the Philadelphia Phillies, and the . . . — Map (db m72633) HM
Delaware (New Castle County), Port Penn — Wetland WaysBob Beck: Preserver of Port Penn Traditions
Port Penn is a community connected to its wetland landscape. Seasonal changes bring about changes in the lifestyles of Port Penners themselves. Autumn waterfowl hunting and winter muskrat trapping lead into spring shad runs and summer sturgeon fishing. The livelihoods of local families have been dependent upon these cycles on the river and marsh habitats for three centuries. This sense of kinship with the environment is characterized by the traditions of people like Bob Beck. Bob's family has . . . — Map (db m10438) HM
Delaware (New Castle County), Wilmington — Bill McGowan — 1992 ~ Baseball Hall of Fame Inductee
William Aloysius McGowan Born: January 18, 1896 in Wilmington, DE Died: December 9, 1954 in Silver Spring, MD Elected to Hall of Fame by Committee on Baseball Veterans: 1992 He introduced a colorful umpiring style with vigorous, aggressive gestures which bordered on the pugnacious – yet ejected very few players. He was an iron man among umpires, not missing an inning for 16 years (2,541 consecutive games). — Map (db m72835)
Delaware (New Castle County), Wilmington — Vic Willis“The Delaware Peach” — 1995 ~ Baseball Hall of Fame Inductee
Victor Gazaway Willis Born: April 12, 1876 in Wilmington, DE Died: August 3, 1947 in Elkton, MD Bats/Throws: Right/Right Elected to Hall of Fame by Committee on Baseball Veterans: 1995 With a 249-205 record, he posted 50 shutouts A 2.63 ERA and completed 388 of 471 starts. His 45 complete games in 1902 are still the most in the National League in The 20th Century — Map (db m72836)
District of Columbia, Washington — 12 — Automobiling on The AvenueBattleground to Community — Brightwood Heritage Trail
This busy section once was a "Country Road" to Washingtonians looking for peace and recreation. If you drove by here a century ago, you would have passed woods and large estates, and might even have seen fox hunters. Across Georgia was the private Villa Flora Club, with live music and fine dining amid "spacious lawn, rich with the perfume of roses." Among its attractive modern conveniences: telephone service and electric lighting. By 1907 the club's 1,000 members frequently made the society . . . — Map (db m72813) HM
District of Columbia (Washington), Adams-Morgan — 3 of 18 — The Roots of Reed-CookeRoads to Diversity — Adams Morgan Heritage Trail
In 1947, the building on your left opened as the National Arena, a public roller rink and bowling alley. It also hosted professional wrestling, roller derbies, and rock concerts. In 1986 it became the Citadel Motion Picture Center, where portions of Peggy Sue Got Married, Gardens of Stone, and other movies were filmed. In 1994 MTV recorded its town hall meeting with President Bill Clinton in the studio here in Reed-Cooke. Reed-Cooke’s earliest African American settlers moved . . . — Map (db m17031) HM
District of Columbia (Washington), Deanwood — 5 of 15 — A Whirl on the Ferris WheelA Self Reliant People — Greater Deanwood Heritage Trail
To your right it is the former Merritt Educational Center which operated from 1943 to 2008. However, if you were standing here in the 1920s or '30s, in its place you would have seen exuberant crowds of fashionably dressed African Americans enjoying Suburban Gardens Amusement Park. The park was built in 1921 by architectural engineer Howard D. Woodson, writer John H. Paynter, theater magnate Sherman H. Dudley, and other investors of the black-owned Universal Development and Company. It was . . . — Map (db m24519) HM
District of Columbia (Washington), Navy Yard — Frank Oliver Howard"Hondo"
Frank Howard played for the Washington Senators from 1965 through 1971. One of the most physically intimidating hitters in baseball history Howard was named the National League Rookie of the Year in 1960. He led the American League in home runs twice and in slugging average, runs batted in and walks once. His 237 home runs as a Washington Senator is a team record. — Map (db m20612) HM
District of Columbia (Washington), Navy Yard — Joshua (Josh) Gibson
Josh Gibson is considered one of the greatest power hitters in the history of baseball. The powerful catcher led the Washington Homestead Grays to eight of nine Negro National titles from 1937 through 1945. Gibson utilized a powerful swing, and tales of his mammoth home runs have become legend. Over his 17 year career, he hit almost 800 home runs. In 1972, Josh Gibson was inducted into The National Baseball Hall of Fame. — Map (db m20613) HM
District of Columbia (Washington), Navy Yard — Walter Perry Johnson"The Big Train"
Walter Johnson might have been the fastest pitcher in baseball history. With his sweeping sidearm delivery, the "Big Train" led the league in strikeouts 12 times during a 21 year career with the Washington Nationals from 1907 to 1927. Johnson won 417 games, including 10 straight seasons of 20 or more, and his 10 shutouts remains the major league record to this day. He led Washington to the World Championship of 1924. In 1936, Walter Johnson was inducted into The National Baseball Hall of Fame. — Map (db m20611) HM
District of Columbia (Washington), Near Northeast — 9 — Brickyards to BuildingsHub, Home, Heart — Greater H Street NE Heritage Trail
The Trinidad neighborhood, named for W.W. Corcoran's original estate, got its start in the 1890s after the Washington Brick Machine Company used up the clay here making bricks. With H Street filling in with houses and businesses, the company sold land for housing lots. The sturdy rowhouses that followed originally sold to white families, many of whom walked to work on H Street. Once Washington Brick closed, the American Baseball League built a short-lived ballpark on its site. The streets to . . . — Map (db m71686) HM
District of Columbia (Washington), Near Northeast — 6 — The Iceman's ArenaHub, Home, Heart — Greater H Street NE Heritage Trail
Uline Arena was built in 1941 by ice maker Mike Uline to present ice skating, hocky, basketball, and tennis. The Dutch immigrant, originally named Migiel Uihlein, had made a fortune patenting ice production equipment and selling ice from his plant next door. For years Washingtonians rode the streetcar here for sports, worship services, concerts, and cook-offs. Judge Kaye K. Christian recalled that during the 1950s and '60s her mother Alice Stewart Christian won the Afro-American . . . — Map (db m71683) HM
District of Columbia (Washington), Northeast — "Ole Jim"Peikoff Alumni House — Gallaudet University
Panel 1 “Ole Jim” Fondly known by Gallaudet alumni as “Ole Jim,” this building was the first Gallaudet College gymnasium. Designed by Frederick Withers and built in 1881, it was the nation’s second gymnasium with an indoor swimming pool. Designated as one of the National Historical Landmarks on campus, it was restored in 1982 as the Alumni House with funds raised largely by the Gallaudet alumni and their friends. This plaque donated by the Class . . . — Map (db m40440) HM
District of Columbia (Washington), Northwest — 5 of 19 — Griffith Stadium"Lift Every Voice" — Georgia Ave./Pleasant Plains Heritage Trail
“I used to come home every night, get a quarter from my mother, run to Griffith Stadium, and sit in the bleachers,” Abe Pollin once said. “I would look out at these good seats and say, ‘Some day, maybe I will get a good seat.’ “When Pollin’s MCI Center opened downtown in 1997, the respected real estate developer got himself – and gave his city – thousands of good seats. Griffith Stadium occupied this block until it was razed in 1965. (Howard University . . . — Map (db m51732) HM
District of Columbia (Washington), Southeast — Clark Calvin Griffith
[south face of monument]: {Rendering of Clark Calvin Griffith with the title}            "The Old Fox" Clark Calvin Griffith Born Clear Creek, Missouri November 20, 1869 Pitcher - Manager - Owner Member of Hall of Fame Won 237 — Lost 140 Devoted 69 years to baseball Died Washington, D.C. October 27, 1955. An expression of love and admiration by his friends and the fans of Washington. [east face of monument]: Manager First manager . . . — Map (db m15615) HM
District of Columbia (Washington), Southeast — George Preston Marshall
(west face): [image of George Preston Marshall] Founder of the Washington Redskins Pioneer in the National Football League (east face): [image of Washington Redskins logo] The Washington Redskins organized in nation's capital, 1937. This memorial is a tribute to George Preston Marshall and the Washington Redskins by the Redskin alumni and friends. — Map (db m15751) HM
District of Columbia (Washington), Union Station — 2 — Gateway to The Nation's CapitalHub, Home, Heart — Greater H Street NE Heritage Trail
With its view of the Capitol and Senate office buildings, and with the Library of Congress and the Supreme Court just a short stroll away, Union Station truly is the gateway to the heart of the nation's government. The station is also where official Washington mixes with the local city. Before air travel became common in the 1950s, Union Station attracted enormous crowds to salute arriving presidents, watch protesters, or shriek at the Beatles disembarking for their first live American concert. . . . — Map (db m71679) HM
Florida (Hillsborough County), Tampa — Babe's Longest Homer
At Tampa's Plant Field on April 4, 1919, "Babe" Ruth, playing for the Boston Red Sox against the N.Y. Giants, smacked a 587- foot home run that set a record in a pre-season game. 4,300 screaming fans saw the feat. Famed Evangelist Billy Sunday, an ex-major leaguer himself, who was conducting a tent revival on the Florida Fair Grounds nearby, had pitched the first ball of the game, and The Bambino's pace-setting ball was presented to him. Ruth played from 1915 to 1935. He is . . . — Map (db m46601) HM
Florida (Hillsborough County), Tampa — F-384 — German-American Club
Organized in 1901, the German-American Club was one of the few non-latin ethnic clubs in Tampa. Club members laid the cornerstone for a building on the northeast corner of Nebraska Avenue and 11th Avenue on February 23, 1908, followed by a grand opening on January 1, 1909. Fine classical details and proportions marked the three-story building, with concrete block molded to appear as tooled stone masonry. With a stage for speakers or theatrical productions, a swimming pool and a bowling . . . — Map (db m32372) HM
Florida (Hillsborough County), Tampa — Great 1909 Auto Race
From this point in front of The Tampa Daily Times Building on Nov. 23 1909, was started the Tampa-to-Jacksonville "endurance run" to promote good roads for Florida. Sixteen vehicles, plus the "confetti" pathfinding car and a press car, made the grueling four-day round trip. There were many breakdowns, an accident or two and numerous other tribulations as the early models made their way through the mud and the woods and across streams. The promotion did, indeed, spark bond issues and . . . — Map (db m68398) HM
Florida (Miami-Dade County), Miami Beach — F-468 — Haulover Beach Sport Fishing Docks(1926-1951)
(side 1) The originally known Lighthouse Dock, once at this site, marked the beginnings of this area's fame as a sportsman's paradise. Folklore and history relate that a man named Baker (c. 1810) “hauled over” fishing boats from the bay to the ocean. In 1926, Captain Henry Jones (1883-1968) built the first dock with a permit from the War Department. By 1937-1939, the Lighthouse Restaurant and the Ocean Bay Trailer Park shared this property. These early docks served as . . . — Map (db m75994) HM
Florida (Pinellas County), Dunedin — F-672 — Dunedin Isles Golf Club
At the peak of the 1920s “land boom,” Dunedin Isles Golf Club was built to attract new residents to the City of Dunedin. Scotsman Donald Ross, one of the world’s foremost golf course architects, visited the site and designed the golf course which opened on January 1, 1927. During the Great Depression, the Club fell on hard times and in 1938, the course was deeded to the City with the stipulation that it be used for “recreational purposes.” The City was able to renovate . . . — Map (db m67685) HM
Florida (Pinellas County), St. Petersburg — World RecordFor 10 Miles — 45 Minutes 37 Seconds
In commemoration of the World Record For 10 Miles 45 Minutes 37 Seconds Set At This Location By Ondoro Osoro of Kenya at the Inaugural Southtrust Running Festival October 18, 1997 St. Petersburg, Florida — Map (db m49432) HM
Florida (Saint Johns County), St. Augustine — 57 Chapin Street
57 Chapin Street was once the home of Willie Galimore (1935-1964), the most famous athlete to come from St. Augustine. A three-time Pittsburgh Courier All-American football player at Florida A & M University under the legendary coach Jake Gaither, Galimore is now a member of the College Hall of Fame. He played professionally for the Chicago Bears under coach George Halas from 1957 until his tragic death in an auto accident in 1964. He was nicknamed "Galloping Gal" and renowned for his speed. . . . — Map (db m7732) HM
Florida (Seminole County), Sanford — Hotel Forrest Lake
Known by local residents as the "Mayfair," this three-story Mediterranean Revival hotel was built in 1925. It was named after Forrest Lake, at the time the mayor of the City of Sanford, who commissioned its construction for one-half million dollars. The 158-room hotel was designed by Sanford architect Elton J. Moughton. It was part of the waterfront beautification plan that included construction of the bulkhead and Seminole Boulevard. Additionally, East First Street had to be extended from its . . . — Map (db m55379) HM
Georgia (Chatham County), Savannah — 1996 Olympic Yachting Cauldron
This cauldron was lit with the original Olympic flame from Olympia, Greece at the Savannah Opening Ceremony, July 20, 1996, and burned throughout the Centennial Olympic Games in Savannah, Georgia, site of the Olympic Yachting events. The five fluted columns on round bases represent the five Olympic rings and the fluted slice of a classic column symbolizes the Olympic Greek heritage. The six sails represent the Olympic yachting events and the copper flame replaces the billowing real flame. . . . — Map (db m5568) HM
Georgia (Chatham County), Savannah — 025-33 — American Grand Prize Races1910 and 1911 Vanderbilt Cup Race, 1911
On each side of Waters Avenue at this site stood the grandstands built for the famous Savannah automobile races in 1910 and 1911. The starting and finishing line was located in front of the stands. On November 12, 1910, David Bruce-Brown won the American Grand Prize Race of 415 miles by only one and a half seconds, averaging 70.55 miles per hour in a Benz car. The Grand Prize Race held on November 30, 1911, was also won by Bruce-Brown driving a Fiat, with an average speed of 74.45 miles . . . — Map (db m5953) HM
Georgia (Chatham County), Savannah — 25-103 — Mercer Auto Camp
In 1910 and 1911 the Mercer Automobile Company of Trenton, New Jersey made entries in the Great Savannah races. Washington Roebling II , the only company owner who drove in the races, and driver Hughie Hughes led teams in several light car and grand prix events. Hughes won the 222.82 mile 1911 Savannah Challenge Race, running at an average speed of 70 mph. The camp,built on this site along the race course, provided housing for team members; garage space; and storage space for spare parts, fuel . . . — Map (db m5976) HM
Georgia (Chattahoochee County), Columbus — Gowdy FieldDedicated 31 March 1925
Named in honor of Sgt Hank Gowdy who put his major league career on hold to join the infantry and serve the nation in WWI Rededicated 29 April 2005 Fort Benning Soldiers and family members Cal Ripken,Jr. BG Benjamin Freakley       Gary Hensley — Map (db m15003) HM
Georgia (Cherokee County), Canton — 028-5 — Crescent Farm Rock Barn
The Crescent Farm Rock Barn was constructed in 1906 by Augustus (Gus) Lee Coggins. One of a rare number of rock barns constructed in Georgia, the Rock Barn, together with the nearby Georgian Revival style main house, constitutes the core of the original Crescent Farm. Originally a race horse stable, the rock barn was one of three barns on Coggins' cotton and horse farm. It was built to replace a wooden barn destroyed in a fire which killed valuable race horses. The Rock Barn is made of . . . — Map (db m11491) HM
Georgia (Clarke County), Athens — 029-17 — Herty Field
This marker overlooks the site of the first intercollegiate football game played in the state of Georgia and one of the first to be played in the deep south. On January 30, 1892 Georgia defeated Mercer College 50 to 0 on the stubbly grounds that served as an athletic field. Several hundred spectators watched from the sidelines, some of them spilling out on the playing ground. Students living in New College close by the field had a splendid view of the action from their dormitory windows. . . . — Map (db m11709) HM
Georgia (Clarke County), Athens — Olympic Games in Athens
In summer 1996, Athens, Georgia, shone as the largest Olympic venue site outside Atlanta, as the state hosted the Centennial Olympic Games July 19 - August 4. Some 650,000 visitors bought tickets to events at three University of Georgia venues: soccer in Sanford Stadium, and volleyball and rhythmic gymnastics in Stegeman Coliseum. Competition here was highlighted August 1 by the first gold medal match in women's soccer, won by the United States team before a crowd of 76,481, to that date the . . . — Map (db m11870) HM
Georgia (Clinch County), Homerville — Guest Mill PondHome of the World’s Record Jack Fish
9lbs. 6oz. 31 inches long Landed by Baxley McQuaig, Jr. February 17, 1961 On a Johnson’s Spoon — Map (db m53283) HM
Georgia (Cobb County), Marietta — S. V. Sanford
The greatest friend Univ. of Ga. ever had" began his academic career in Marietta: principal, Supt. City Schools 1892-1903. At Georgia (1903-1945) promoted academics and sports: Faculty chrm. athletics from 1908; first head School of Journalism in 1921. President 1932 to 1935; Chancellor of Consolidated University 1935-1945. 1929 Stadium named in his honor. — Map (db m17028) HM
Georgia (DeKalb County), Atlanta — Brookhaven Historic DistrictNational Register of Historic Places
Historic Brookhaven is the first planned golf club community in Georgia, having been built around the Capital City Country Club between 1910 and 1940. — Map (db m14356) HM
Georgia (Franklin County), Royston — 059-10 — Ty CobbThe Georgia Peach
Tyrus Raymond Cobb (1886-1961) moved to Royston as a youth when his father got a teaching position here. He was playing “Town Ball” for the Royston Reds at age 14 and was in the minors at 17. He first played with the Augusta Tourists then with the Anniston, Alabama Noblemen before signing with the Detroit Tigers at age 18. In his 24 year career, (1905-1926 with Detroit and 1927-1928 with Philadelphia) he amassed 90 records and was a charter member of the Baseball Hall of Fame at . . . — Map (db m10636) HM
Georgia (Franklin County), Royston — Tyrus Raymond Cobb"The Georgia Peach" — 1886 - 1961
Ty Cobb Lifetime Record 1904 - 1928 Games 3,033 At Bat 11,429 Runs 2,244 Hits 4,191 Put Outs 6,294 Errors 274 Home Runs 118 Stolen Bases 892 Runs Batted In 1,901 Batting Average 367 Assists 406 Fielding Average 961 Named the "Georgia Peach" by the legendary sportswriter, Grantland Rice. Cobb was American League batting champion twelve times, nine times in succession (1907 - 1915, 1917 - 1919). He created or equalued more major league records than any player in . . . — Map (db m61745) HM
Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — Brookhaven Historic DistrictNational Register of Historic Places
Historic Brookhaven is the first planned golf club community in Georgia, having been built around the Capital City Country Club between 1910 and 1940. — Map (db m14357) HM
Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — Brookhaven Historic DistrictNational Register of Historic Places
Historic Brookhaven is the first planned golf club community in Georgia, having been built around the Capital City Country Club between 1910 and 1940. — Map (db m14358) HM
Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — Ponce de Leon Ball Park1908 – 1966
Here on these grounds at Ponce de Leon Ball Park, The Atlanta Crackers and the Atlanta Black Crackers began a tradition of baseball championship and athletic excellence which set the high standard for the baseball we enjoy in Atlanta now.

The Atlanta Crackers, known as “The Yankees of the Minors,” were led by Luke Appling, Eddie Mathews, Bob Montag, Ralph “Country” Brown, and many others. For many years, they were owned and operated by “Mr. Atlanta . . . — Map (db m47795) HM
Georgia (Grady County), Cairo — 65-1 — Birthplace of Jackie RobinsonFirst African American in Major League Baseball
Robinson was born here on January 31, 1919 before he and his family moved to California in 1920. After attending U.C.L.A., serving in the U.S. Army, and playing in the Negro American Baseball and International Leagues, Robinson joined the Brooklyn Dodgers in 1947, breaking major league baseball’s color barrier. Adding to his many sports accomplishments, he served as special assistant to New York Governor Nelson Rockefeller, established the first African American Modern Bank/Freedom National . . . — Map (db m27306) HM
Georgia (Habersham County), Demorest — 068-11 — Home of Johnny Mize“The Big Cat”
National Baseball Hall of Fame member John Robert Mize was born in this house in 1913. While only 15 years old and still in high school, Mize launched his distinguished baseball career playing for Piedmont College. He began his major league career with the St. Louis Cardinals (1936-41) and played for the New York Giants (1942-43 and 1946-49) with a three year interruption for service in the Navy during World War II. In 1949, he joined the New York Yankees, helping the team win five straight . . . — Map (db m23665) HM
Georgia (Habersham County), Demorest — John Robert Mize" The Big Cat "
Born and raised in Demorest, Mr. Mize was a keen-eyed slugger who smashed 359 home runs and batted 312 in 15-year career while topping 300 mark nine seasons in a row. Set major loop records by hitti8ng three homers 8n a game six times and trio in succession on four occasions. Won N. L. batting title once. Led or shared lead in homers and slugging pot, four times, runs batted in and total bases thrice. Finished first, second or third in offense 54 times during his career- 1936-53. Led league in . . . — Map (db m56250) HM
Georgia (Newton County), Mansfield — 107-10 — Mansfield's Famous Southpaw
Sherrod Malone Smith (1891-1949) played 23 years of professional baseball including 14 seasons in the major leagues. Babe Ruth, another left-hander, said that he was, "the greatest pick-off artist who ever lived." He played in Pittsburgh, Brooklyn and Cleveland and in the 2,052 innings he pitched, only two bases were stolen. Smith posted a 115/118 won/lost record in the majors with 21 saves, and a record of 67/39 in the minors. He pitched 30-1/3 innings in three World Series games with a 0.89 . . . — Map (db m12260) HM
Georgia (Richmond County), Augusta — 121-1 — Bobby Jones and the Beginning of the Grand Slam
On the golf links of the Forrest Hills-Ricker Hotel, Bobby Jones won the Southeastern Open of 1930. He went on to victory that year in the British Amateur, British Open, U.S. Open, and U.S. Amateur –- golf’s Grand Slam and a feat yet to be repeated. A lifelong amateur, Jones won four U.S. Opens, five U.S. Amateurs, three British Opens, and one British Amateur, but called his thirteen-shot victory in the 1930 Southeastern Open, “the best-played tournament I ever turned out in my . . . — Map (db m21288) HM
Georgia (Richmond County), Augusta — Dr. John M. Tutt1886 - 1968
Revered as a teacher and a coach, "Professor Tutt" began his career under the leadership of Miss Lucy C. Laney at Haines Institute, where he remained from 1906 to 1949, longer than anyone else. From Lincoln University (Pennsylvania), he recieved the Bachelor of Science and the Bachelor of Arts degrees; the Bradley Natural Science Medal, the highest honor a Lincoln scholar could achieve; and the Doctor of Pedagogy (1946) He did further study at Paine College and Columbia University . . . — Map (db m36138) HM
Georgia (Richmond County), Augusta — 121-13 — John McClinton Tutt1886-1968
For over six decades, John Tutt educated Augusta's youth at the Haines Normal and Industrial Institute and Lucy Craft Laney High School. After graduating from Lincoln University in 1905, Tutt returned to Augusta to teach Mathematics. Coach Tutt's teams amassed hundreds of wins in football, basketball, baseball, and track and field-many against college and semi-professional teams. He was a founding member of the Southern Coaches and Officials Association (est. 1922) and was instrumental in . . . — Map (db m36621) HM
Georgia (Stephens County), Toccoa — Paul Anderson Memorial Park
Gold Medalist Weightlifting 1956 Olympic Games Melbourne, Australia ——————— "The Greatest Weight Ever Raised by a Human Being 6,270 pounds in a backlift." Listed in The Guinness Book of World Records and Famous First Facts ——————— World Champion World Record Holder U.S. National Champion U.S. National Record Holder U.S.A. Goodwill Ambassador Georgia Athletic Hall of . . . — Map (db m63434) HM
Georgia (Telfair County), Jacksonville — 134-4 — World Record Bass
Approximately two miles from this spot, on June 2, 1932, George W. Perry, a 19-year old farm boy, caught was to become America`s most famous fish. The twenty-two pound four ounce largemouth bass (Micropterus salmoldes) exceeded the existing record by more than two pounds has has retained the world record for more than fifty years. Perry and his friend, J.E. Page, were fishing in Montgomery Lake, a slough off the Ocmulgee River, not for trophies but to bring food to the table during those days . . . — Map (db m57147) HM
Georgia (Toombs County), Vidalia — 138-2 — Paul Anderson1932~1994 World's Strongest Man
Paul Anderson was born October 17, 1932 in Toccoa and attended Furman University where he began lifting weights. In 1955 he traveled as a goodwill ambassador from the United States to the Soviet Union and there his lifting surpassed many world records. Later that year he won the World Championships. He brought home the gold medal from the 1956 Olympics in Melbourne, Australia. To date, he was the last American to win a gold medal in the super heavyweight division. On June 12, 1957, he lifted a . . . — Map (db m59111) HM
Georgia (Whitfield County), Dalton — Johnny Marcus Memorial Loop
This plaque honors the memory of Johnny Marcus, a local running enthusiast who died in an automobile accident, April 7, 1995. His dedication and commitment to the sport of running was inspiring to those who now follow in his footsteps. — Map (db m12913) HM
Hawaii (Honolulu County), Honolulu — 16 — Duke Kahanamoku — Waikīkī Historic Trail
Olympic swimming champion Duke Kahanamoku (1890–1986) spent much of his youth here in Kālia with his mother’s family, the Paoas. The family owned most of the 20 acres which the Hilton Hawaiian Village now occupies. It is said that it was here in Kālia that a husband waited patiently for the return of his wife who had been wooed away by a rival chief on Maui; hence, the name Kālia or “waited for.” Duke’s grandfather, Ho`olae Paoa, a descendant of royal . . . — Map (db m13188) HM
Hawaii (Honolulu County), Honolulu — 17 — Kālia Bay — Waikīkī Historic Trail
Fish were easily netted from the ponds near Pi‘inaio Stream. In ancient times, the area was home to many Hawaiian families, who enjoyed the offerings in its bountiful waters. It was not unusual to see native men and women fishing, diving, and gathering seaweed here. Originally, the Pi‘inaio was Waikīkī’s third stream, which entered the ocean here where the ‘Ilikai Hotel now stands. Unlike the Kuekaunahi and ‘Apuakēhau streams, the mouth of the Pi‘inaio was a large, . . . — Map (db m13127) HM
Hawaii (Honolulu County), Honolulu — 2 — WaikikiWaikiki Historic Trail
Waikiki means “spouting water” because it was a vast marshland fed by many streams. You are in fact standing on what was the mouth of an old stream, the Kuekaunahi. From ancient times Waikiki has been a popular surfing spot which is one of the reasons why the chiefs made their homes and headquarters here for hundreds of years. Though it’s been called “the sport of kings,” everyone surfed. Surf spots had their special names and the most famous in Waikiki was Kalehuawehe . . . — Map (db m73119) HM
Idaho (Shoshone County), Avery — “Wintering” Roland
Bitterroot winters are frigid and long-lasting, with the snow staying on the ridges and packed into the draws and gullies well into the spring. Roland and East Portal can receive up to a foot of snow an hour during a big storm. The snowpack can be twelve or fifteen feet deep at winter’s peak, piled up in countable layers, marking each storm just as a tree’s rings show the passing years. The bitter cold drained off the heat from even the largest steam locomotive’s boiler, leaving it . . . — Map (db m45561) HM
Idaho (Shoshone County), Mullan — History of Lookout Pass
Lookout Pass is one of the original U.S. Ski areas. The area was first utilized by local Scandinavians who hopped off Northern Pacific freight cars to enjoy a day of alpine skiing at the Pass. A rope tow was installed in 1936 through use of parts from an abandoned car wreck that was found along the old Yellowstone Hwy which is now I-90. The Idaho Ski Club officially opened Lookout Pass Ski Area on February 24, 1938. A highway maintenance shed was nicknamed “Buzzard's Roost” and . . . — Map (db m45200) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — Jack BrickhouseHall of Fame Broadcaster — 1917-1998
[Front:] [Artwork motif of Wrigley Field, Soldier Field and Comiskey Park.] 'Hey Hey' [Left Side:] Inducted into Media Wing of Baseball Hall of Fame, Cooperstown, NY, in 1983, and 13 other Halls of Fame throughout the nation. Broadcasted for Chicago Cubs – 40 years; Chicago White Sox – 27 years; Chicago Bears - 24 years; 1st TV voice for Chicago Bulls. 1962 – play by play announcer for 1st satellite telecast. Recipient of . . . — Map (db m47668) HM
Illinois (Kane County), Dundee — Billy and Ma Sunday
Evangelist William "Billy" Sunday and his wife Helen "Ma" Sunday owned this farm, 1899-1913, and spent their summers here. Ma was born on the farm. Billy was born in Ames, Iowa, in 1862. He played outfield for Chicago and other National League Baseball Clubs, 1883-1890. From 1896 until his death in 1935 he conducted religious revivals in cities and towns across the nation. His wife shared his work. In May-June 1900 Billy led a month-long revival in West Dundee Park. — Map (db m55486) HM
Illinois (Kane County), Elgin — Elgin Road Races
This marker is along the “south leg” of the Elgin road races. Beginning in 1910, many leading drivers and mechanics competed here in grueling tests of speed and endurance that contributed to the development of the modern automobile. Manufacturers were attracted to these races because the course had no cross roads, steep hills, railroad tracks, or population centers to reduce the car’s speed. The race’s success was enhanced by proximity to Chicago and the cooperation of area . . . — Map (db m55454) HM
Illinois (Lake County), Great Lakes — Great Lakes Athletics
Throughout WWI and WWII, athletic opportunities for recruits included swimming, basketball, hockey, water polo, boxing, wrestling and track and field. But, it was in football that Great Lakes achieved national prominence. Among the thousands of recruits streaming through the gates were players from Notre Dame, Northwestern, Iowa, Washington, Detroit, Ohio State and a host of others. One of the players who would achieve fame in professional football was George Halas (“Papa Bear” of . . . — Map (db m37922) HM
Illinois (Lake County), Great Lakes — The Great Lakes Football TeamGreat Lakes History Trail Stop 9
Throughout WWI and WWII, athletic opportunities for recruits included swimming, basketball, hockey, water polo, boxing, wrestling and track & field. But, it was in WWI football that Great Lakes achieved national prominence. Among the thousands of recruits streaming through the gates were players from Notre Dame, Northwestern, Iowa, Washington, Detroit, Ohio State and a host of others. One of the players who would achieve fame in professional football was George Halas (“Papa Bear” . . . — Map (db m38077) HM
Illinois (Lake County), Great Lakes — World War I / Between the Wars
World War IOn April 6, 1917, less than six years after Great Lakes was opened, the U.S. declared war on the Central Powers. By August, the number of trainees grew from 618 to 50,000. Vast tent cities sprang up to house the flood of volunteers. Captain Moffett, Commanding Officer of Great Lakes at the time, organized the huge, influx into “Regiments.” Each Regiment of 1,726 men was a self-contained unit incorporating its own administration building, galley, mess halls, . . . — Map (db m37996) HM
Indiana (Allen County), Fort Wayne — League Park
The first professional organized league baseball game was played here on May 4, 1871 ending in a victory for the Fort Wayne Kekiongas over the Cleveland Forest Citys by a score of 2-0. A wooden structure was built in 1883 and rebuilt numerous times over the next several decades. In 1908, Claude Varnell, whose Fort Wayne “Billikins” was a minor league team associated with the St. Louis Cardinals, rebuilt the park. This included the then unique idea of a grass infield. The field, . . . — Map (db m59686) HM
Indiana (Elkhart County), Elkhart — Lou Criger
This memorial is dedicated to the life of Lou Criger Born in Elkhart, Ind., Feb. 6, 1872 to Charles J. and Lovina Stutsman Criger, the city's first major leaguer was known as one of the best catchers of his day and caught most of Cy Young's 511 victories from 1897-1908. Criger led the American League in assists in 1903 and 1905. He led the AL in games caught, double plays, and total fielding chances. Lou was on the winning side for Boston (AL) in the first World Series in 1903. The . . . — Map (db m67096) HM
Indiana (Franklin County), Brookville — 24.2002.1 — Brookville's Grandstand
Side one This grandstand built 1922 to seat 1, 000 and serve fans of new Brookville semi-pro team. Twenty box seats included to help pay for construction. Central platform included for community activities. Facility later used for youth sports. Structure renovated 1992 for continuing use by community. Side two Baseball has been played in Brookville since at least 1867 when local amateur teams played out-of-town teams. A local team joined semi-pro Southern Indiana Baseball . . . — Map (db m44693) HM
Indiana (Harrison County), Corydon — Harrison County (Indiana) Fair
Oldest continuous County Fair existing in Indiana. First fair held Sept. 11 - 14, 1860. Citizens met jan. 1860, organized Harrison County Agricultural Society, adopted constitution which with amendments governs yet today. Ground purchased Mar. 1860 from Benj. Aydelott, half mile track constructed for pacing or trotting, racing against time. In 1904, mare Bertha W won race and dropped dead at grandstand, buried north center field. Near mouth of spring Edw. Smith, first Corydon white settler . . . — Map (db m9634) HM
Indiana (Hendricks County), Amo — 32.2007.1 — Arthur L. Trester
(Side One) Born 1878 in Pecksburg (which was 2.1 miles east). Elected to Board of Controls of Indiana High School Athletic Association (IHSAA) 1911, appointed Permanent Secretary 1913, continued after 1929 as Commissioner of High School Athletics. Under Trester, showcase of IHSAA became high school basketball, reflected in term "Hoosier Hysteria," still used today. (Side Two) Under Trester, widely referred to as czar of IHSAA and high school athletics, IHSAA excluded . . . — Map (db m69349) HM
Indiana (Hendricks County), Danville — 32.2006.1 — Samuel Luther Thompson
(Side One) He was born in Danville March 5, 1860 and educated in Danville Graded School. He played for Danville Browns baseball team in 1883 and for Evansville and Indianapolis minor league ball clubs 1884 and 1885. He played for National League Detroit Wolverines (1855-1888) and Philadelphia Phillies (1889-1898) and with American League Detroit Tigers 1906. (Side Two) Thompson and his wife retired to Detroit, where he died November 7, 1922; buried there in Elmwood . . . — Map (db m69351) HM
Indiana (Marion County), Indianapolis — 49.1975.2 — Indianapolis Motor Speedway
Constructed in 1909, the Speedway has contributed significantly to the advancement of automotive technology and development of safety devices. It is unchallenged as the world's oldest continuously operated race course and the site of the largest one-day sports event anywhere. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places and dedicated on the 59th running of the "500," May 25, 1975. — Map (db m228) HM
Indiana (Montgomery County), Crawfordsville — Cradle of Basketball
Side “A” In 1892 the game of basketball was brought to Crawfordsville from its birthplace in Massachusetts by Rev. Nicholas McCay, General Secretary of the Crawfordsville YMCA that was located on this site in what would become known as the Terminal Building. Teams from Crawfordsville and Montgomery County schools and Wabash College first played the game here. Over the years, the game of basketball evolved into “Hoosier Hysteria” culminating every year . . . — Map (db m41945) HM
Indiana (Parke County), Nyesville — Birthplace of Mordecai Brown — " Three Finger Brown "
Front Birthplace of Mordecai Brown Born in this Mining Community of Nyesville, Indiana. The first Indiana player inducted into the Baseball Hall of Fame His 14 year Major League career Boast the following Records: Total Games —————– 481 Games Started —————332 Games Completed ———–271 Games Won —————– 239 Games Lost . . . — Map (db m59771) HM
Indiana (Porter County), Ogden Dunes — 64.1997.1 — Ogden Dunes Ski Jump
Steel and wood ski jump with adjustable height and length was built here for Ogden Dunes Ski club, incorporated in 1927 to promote winter sports. Five annual events with international competitors were held 1928-1932, with 7,000 to 20,000 spectators. Reputed to be the largest artificial ski jump at the time. Dismantled after 1932 event. — Map (db m64162) HM
Indiana (St. Joseph County), South Bend — Coach Frank Leahy1908 - 1973
[Front]: This sculpture was presented to the University of Notre Dame on September 19, 1997 by his former players, the Leahy Family, ND Alumni and his many admirers. [Reverse]: Frank Leahy coached at Notre Dame a total of 11 years (1941 - 1943, 1946 - 1953), winning four undisputed National Championships in 1943, 1946, 1947, 1949 and a split National Championship in 1953. His teams were unbeaten six of eleven years he coached -- undefeated in 39 straight games Coach Frank . . . — Map (db m12257) HM
Indiana (St. Joseph County), South Bend — Knute RockneHead Coach — 1918-1930
105 wins, 12 losses, 5 ties National Champions: 1924, 1929, 1930 — Map (db m36974) HM
Indiana (St. Joseph County), South Bend — Lou HoltzHead Coach — 1986-1996
100 wins, 30 losses, 2 ties National Championship: 1988 "Trust, Love, Commitment" — Map (db m37009) HM
Indiana (St. Joseph County), South Bend — Michael A. BerticelliApril 26, 1951 - January 25, 2000
1990-2000 University of Notre Dame Head Men's Soccer Coach 104 Victories 3 Conference Championships 3 NCAA Tournament Appearances So much more than a winning record, Mike Berticelli established a high level of pride, commitment and integrity within the men's soccer program at Notre Dame. For countless student athletes "Coach B" was the one true and fixed landmark upon which they always could rely. Similar to a large rock, firm and solid, durable and steady, Mike Berticelli was a . . . — Map (db m12258) HM
Indiana (St. Joseph County), South Bend — Notre Dame Fieldhouse
. . . — Map (db m12174) HM
Indiana (St. Joseph County), South Bend — Riehle Playing Field
Named in honor of Rev. James I. Riehle, C.S.C., a graduate of Notre Dame, a priest of the Congregation of Holy Cross and a friend and a minister of Notre Dame athletes. Father Riehle was a residence hall rector before and after his service as Dean of Students (1967-73), and he held lengthy tenures as chaplain for the Department of Athletics and as executive director of the National Monogram Club. June 7, 2001 — Map (db m37003) HM
Indiana (St. Joseph County), South Bend — The Sons of Israel Synagogue
"Make for me a sanctuary and I will dwell in their midst." Exodus 25:8 The Sons of Israel Synagogue (B'nai Israel) was constructed in 1901 in the Romanesque Revival style, designed by South Bend architects Freyemuth and Maurer. The first permanent place of worship for the vibrant and growing Jewish community in the nearby area, it remained an active congregation for more than 90 years. In 2003 the building was deeded to Indiana Landmarks, who now holds historic covenants . . . — Map (db m76400) HM
Indiana (Vigo County), Terre Haute — Gold Medal Plaza
Dedicated to these three Garfield High School athletes who took our community to ‘A Level Above’. Terre Haute - parks & recreation Gold Medal Sponsors City of Terre Haute A Friend of Union Hospital First Financial Bank Garfield High School Alumni Private Donors A special thanks to Gary Fears and Brian Miller for the vision to create this plaza. 2009 — Map (db m58420) HM
Indiana (Warren County), Pine Village — 86.2002.1 — Pine Village Football
side one Local team was important Indiana precursor to modern professional football organizations. Clinton Beckett introduced football to Pine Village High School 1898. Town and high school teams played on bottomland, northwest of here, starting local football tradition. Town team, the Villagers, managed by C. J. Shackleton and later by Clair Rhode. side two Team became "professional" 1915, claiming state and regional Championships. Jim Thorpe, All-American, played for . . . — Map (db m8559) HM
Kansas (Allen County), Humboldt — George Alexander Sweatt
George A. Sweatt Park is named for Humboldt native, George Sweatt, born December 12, 1893. He graduated from Humboldt High School in 1912. Following military service in World War I, he attended Pittsburg State University from 1920 to 1922. A good student and all-around athlete, Sweatt earned a teacher's certificate and became that school's first black athlete to receive a letter in football, basketball, and track. In 1922, Sweatt began a seven-year professional baseball career in the Negro . . . — Map (db m57489) HM
Kansas (Allen County), Humboldt — Walter Johnson Birth Site
On November 6, 1887, Hall of Fame baseball pitcher Walter Perry Johnson was born on this farm site. In 1901, he moved with his family into the town of Humboldt. During a career with the Washington Senators from 1907 to 1927, he became famous for his fastball and his sterling character. Hank Thomas Grandson and Author —————— [Concrete baseball diamond pad] [Pitchers mound] Frank & Minnie Johnson family farm Effie, Walter, Earl, & Leslie . . . — Map (db m57497) HM
Kansas (Atchison County), Muscotah — Joe Tinker7-27-1880 • 7-27-1948
Born In Muscotah, KS Inducted Into The Baseball Hall of Fame 1946 Played Shortshop With The Chicago Cubs 1902-1912 Famous For The Double Play Combination Tinker To Evers To Chance — Map (db m63753) HM
Kansas (Cowley County), Arkansas City — 1996 Olympic Torch RelayArkansas City — Heart of the Flame
May 18, 1996 Torch Bearers Charles Dow, Local Community Hero Emily Bergkamp • Michael Goff Amanda Crouse • Shaunta Lolar Greg Gann • Trisha Morgan Jenny Graham • Brooke Snowden Nick Gilliland • Chad Taylor 100th Anniversary of the Olympic Flame 26th Olympiad Atlanta, Georgia Gordon-Piatt Energy Group. Designer and Manufacturer of the Olympic Cauldron Burners — Map (db m60510) HM
Kansas (Crawford County), Pittsburg — Pittsburg State University Gymnasium
On this site stood the first university gymnasium/fieldhouse. Built in 1922, it was torn down in 1972, following the opening of the Garfield W. Weede Physical Education Building. Several bricks and the building plaque from the gymnasium are featured in this site marker. — Map (db m22311) HM
Kansas (Dickinson County), Abilene — 5 — Eisenhower Park
Franklin D. Roosevelt's New Deal and Works Progress Administration was the basis for the construction of Abilene's swimming pool, stadium, rose garden, and other buildings located in this park. This park project under the WPA was one of thirty such projects over the state sponsored by the federal government. Construction of the swimming pool, later labeled by experts as "the finest pool in the state of Kansas," was begun December of 1936 with sixty men working four days a week. These men . . . — Map (db m49551) HM
Kansas (Douglas County), Lawrence — Adolph Frederick Rupp
Born in Halstead, Kansas, of German emigrant parents Sept. 2, 1901, he was quite proud that he was a full-blooded German. Rupp graduated from Halstead High School and then attended the University of Kansas where he played basketball under Coach Phog Allen. Dr. Naismith was also at K.U. at the time. Rupp told the story that as a child he would sack sawdust into what resembled a basketball and then with a barrel hoop nailed to the side of a barn he learned to shoot baskets. Learning to . . . — Map (db m54601) HM
Kansas (Douglas County), Lawrence — Arthur C. "Dutch" Lonborg
Three Sport Letterman, All American 1919 Coach at Northwestern University 23 years Helped organize first NCAA Basketball Tournament University of Kansas Athletic Director 1950-1964 Manager of the 1960 U.S. Olympic Basketball Team, Chairman for 13 years NCAA Basketball Tournament Chairman Inducted into the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame in 1972 [sic 1973] — Map (db m54594) HM
Kansas (Douglas County), Lawrence — Coffin Sports Complex, Tahoma, and Teacher's Quarters
Coffin Sports Complex was built in 1981. It has an Olympic-size swimming pool, racket ball courts and basketball court. It currently is the home for the American Indian Athletics Hall of Fame. Coffin Complex is named after Tony Coffin, Prairie Band Potawatomi. In 1945, he was Haskell’s head football coach and later became the Athletic Director. His son, Doug Coffin, designed the “Medicine Wheel Totem Pole” displayed in front of the Coffin Complex. The Tinker building . . . — Map (db m77301) HM
Kansas (Douglas County), Lawrence — Dean Smith
Emporia, Kansas is Dean Smith's birthplace. After completing school in Emporia and Topeka, he came to the University of Kansas where he played under Coach Phog Allen. Dean played on the National Championship team, the 1952 team which beat St. John's 80-63. The 1953 team went to the National Finals but lost to Indiana in the final game. Smith has coached at North Carolina for over thirty years, his career beginning in 1961. Since that time his team won the 1971 NIT and the NCAA Championship . . . — Map (db m54602) HM
Kansas (Douglas County), Lawrence — Dr. F. C. "Phog" Allen
As a University of Kansas student in 1905, Phog Allen played basketball for the inventor of the game, Dr. James Naismith. His performance produced three Letters from 1905-1907 and earned him a place on the roster of the K. C. Athletic Club. His coaching career at the University of Kansas began in 1907 and continued through 1909. When Allen told Dr. Naismith that he wanted to coach, Naismith replied "You do not coach basketball, you play it." Not only did he fill the coaching position . . . — Map (db m54599) HM
Kansas (Douglas County), Lawrence — Dr. James Naismith
Born November 6, 1861 in Almonte Ontario, Canada and died November 28, 1939 in Lawrence, Kansas. Buried in Lawrence Memorial Park. Dr. Naismith invented the game of basketball as a winter indoor sport for the YMCA at Springfield, Massachusetts in 1891. In 1898 he accepted a position at the University of Kansas. His goal was to develop the University's Physical Education Department. He also agreed to accept the coaching position of K.U.'s first basketball team. K.U.'s first games were . . . — Map (db m54545) HM
Kansas (Douglas County), Lawrence — Forrest "Phog" Clare AllenNovember 18, 1885 - September 16, 1974 — Father of Basketball Coaching
Known as "Phog" for his foghorn umpire calls and "Doc" for his osteopathic skills ("I won more games at the training table than on the sidelines"), Allen was KU's head basketball coach from 1920 until his retirement in 1956. Truly a great teacher, with a career win-loss record of 746-264, Phog coached 14 All-Americans; 24 Conference Championships at Kansas; 3 National Championships teams and was National Coach of the Year in 1950. Before helping establish an NCAA post-season tournament . . . — Map (db m54541) HM
Kansas (Douglas County), Lawrence — Haskell Celebration 1926
During the weekend of October 27th to 30th, 1926, Haskell Institute hosted a celebration and dedication to the newly constructed football stadium and Arch. (Donations for the construction of the stadium came from all over Indian Country. Haskell students provided the majority of the physical labor for the construction of the stadium). Jim Thorpe and John Levi, both well-known Haskell athletes, gave an exhibition. Thorpe did the kicking and Levi the passing. John Levi threw a pass for 83 . . . — Map (db m77303) HM
Kansas (Douglas County), Lawrence — Larry Brown
University of Kansas Basketball Coach 1984-1988. Every team during his tenure advanced to the NCAA Tournament, twice to the Final Four His 1988 team won the National Championship, beating Oklahoma 83-79 His 1986 team's record was 35-4 — Map (db m54596) HM
Kansas (Finney County), Garden City — Ben Grimsley Arches
Built in 1929, the arches framed the doorway into the community's new gymnasium. The gym was named for Ben Grimsley -- coach, teacher, and tireless supporter of community cultural and athletic events. Razed in 1987, the arches were saved and reconstructed in 1989, through the combined efforts of the Finney County Historical Society, Friends of Lee Richardson Zoo, the City of Garden City and the Finnup Foundation as a new entryway into the zoo. They stand as a tribute to both Ben Grimsley . . . — Map (db m65861) HM
Kansas (Finney County), Garden City — The Big Poolis a Finalist for the 8 Wonders of Kansas Customs
The attraction, affectionately called the "Big Pool," is indeed a jaw-dropping mammoth concrete pond. At 320' x 220' it's larger than a football field with a surface area of 72,600 sq. ft. and holds 2.6 million gallons of water. It is so big that even a modest western Kansas wind drives miniature waves across the water's surface. History The real value of the Big Pool is as an historic Garden City landmark, tied to the community's heritage and identity. The pool was originally the . . . — Map (db m65885) HM
Kansas (Geary County), Fort Riley — Sturgis Stadium
Named in honor of the Sturgis family. Colonel Samuel D. Sturgis fought in the Indian Wars for 40 years (1846-1886) to expand the American Frontier in the west. His son, Major General Samuel D. Sturgis Jr., served in the U.S. Army with distinction for 41 years (1884-1925). General Sturgis' son, Samuel D. Sturgis Jr., as a First Lieutenant commanded Troop A 9th Mounted Engineer Squadron which in 1933 converted this draw into the present stadium. Twenty years later, Lieutenant . . . — Map (db m76642) HM
Kansas (Geary County), Fort Riley — West Riding Hall / Polk Hall
(Left of Stairs) West Riding Hall Constructed 1908 Used as an indoor training arena by mounted troops, the Cavalry School, and the U.S. Olympic equestrian team and for horse shows and polo games until 1952 (Right of stairs) Polk Hall in memory of James Hilliard Polk General United States Army 1911-1992 Duty - Honor - Country (Other co-located memorial markers) (Left Side) Henry R. Adair 1st Lieut. 10th Cav. U.S.A. Killed in Battle at Carrizal, Mexico . . . — Map (db m44341) HM
Kansas (Montgomery County), Caney — Caney High School Stadium
Constructed by The United States Government Works Progress Administration August 1938 – October 1939 First Night Game September 29, 1939 Caney 39 Altoona 0 Stadium Dedication October 27, 1939 Caney 19 Sedan 0 Attendance 1600 Total Cost $52,370.64 —————— Sponsored by The Board of Education A Works Progress Administration Project 1938 — Map (db m57877) HM
Kansas (Montgomery County), Coffeyville — Walter Johnson
A champion on and off the field His greatness an enduring contribution to baseball Games Won - 414 Shutouts - 113 Strikeouts - 3497 Opening Game Shutouts 7 Scoreless consecutive innings 56 — Map (db m60836) HM
Kansas (Montgomery County), Independence — First Night Game in Organized Baseball
Played Here Shulthis Stadium April 28, 1930 Western Association League Independence Producers vs Muskogee Chiefs — Map (db m57831) HM
Kansas (Montgomery County), Independence — Kayo's BoysWalter "Kayo" Emmot
The Undefeated 1957 [Photo, Roster, Victories, Trophy] The Undefeated 1958 [Photo, Roster, Victories, Trophy] The Undefeated 1959 [Photo, Roster, Victories, Trophy] The Undefeated 1960 [Photo, Roster, Victories, Trophy] The Undefeated 1961 [Photo, Roster, Victories, Trophy] The Undefeated 1962 [Photo, Roster, Victories, Trophy] — Map (db m61646) HM
Kansas (Reno County), Hutchinson — Gus GorillaPittsburg State University
In 1920, a group of PSU students organized themselves as the Gorillas, a '20s slang term for roughnecks, with the purpose to promote school spirit. In 1925, the student body unanimously adopted the ferocious beast as the school mascot. The Gorilla, which affectionately became known as Gus, underwent numerous transformations over the years. In 1986, Graphic Artist Mike Hailey developed the current split-face Gorilla logo. PSU is the only university in the country with the gorilla as its mascot. — Map (db m40010) HM
Kansas (Reno County), Hutchinson — The Legend of Corky the HornetEmporia State University
In the early 1930s, the Kansas State Teachers College students were known as the "Yaps." Not fond of the name, legendary coach Vic Trusler suggested to Cecil Carle of the Emporia Gazette that the team be called the "Yellow Jackets" because the men wore sweaters with black stripes on their sleeves. The name evolved to "Hornets" because of a lack of newspaper space. Corky the Hornet made his debut in 1933, when sophomore Paul Edwards (BSE 1937) designed him for a campus-wide logo . . . — Map (db m40032) HM
Kansas (Reno County), Hutchinson — The Story of WuShockWichita State University
It was 1904 when Wichita State University was known as Fairmoun[t] College that R.J. Kirk (Class of 1907), a football manager, invented the name "Wheat Shockers" for posters to advertise a game against the Chilocco Indians. It was shortened to "Shockers" as Wichita State teams are known today. Kirk had put the word "Indians" under the name Chilocco and a press agent for the Wichita Fall Festival, helping to publicize the contest, demanded that Kirk should produce a nickname for Fairmount to . . . — Map (db m40004) HM
Kansas (Reno County), Hutchinson — The University of Kansas Jayhawk
The University of Kansas is home to a mythical bird with a fascinating history: the Jayhawk. The legendary KU mascot originated in the 1850s border war in Kansas Territory over the question of slavery. No one knows the true origin of the term "Jayhawker," but it came to be applied to those who favored making Kansas a free state. Lawrence, where KU was founded in the aftermath of the Civil War, was a free state stronghold. The first known connection between KU and the Jayhawk came in 1886, . . . — Map (db m40037) HM
Kansas (Reno County), Hutchinson — Victor E. TigerFort Hayes State University
Our mascot has a mysterious past. The Tiger has existed in various forms since 1914, but there is no conclusive historical record of its creation. Some evidence suggests that it may have been the brainchild of W.A. Lewis, our first president. Through many years there was no officially designated version of the FHSU Tiger, so many varieties came and went -- with two or three or more versions of the Tiger sharing the stage in any given year! Dr. Edward H. Hammond, FHSU president, decided in 1999 . . . — Map (db m40029) HM
Kansas (Reno County), Hutchinson — Wildcat Evolution[Kansas State University]
"Originally known as the Aggies," the term "Wildcats" was first adopted for Kansas State University athletic teams in 1915 when football coach "Jawn" Bender called his players wildcats after they fought to a 0 - 0 tie with Missouri. "Willie the Wildcat" is the oldest active logo, having been introduced in the early 1960's. The Powercat logo arrived in 1989 and was first used by the football team. Today, it is the most popular mark in sales in the history of K-State. — Map (db m40005) HM
Kansas (Sedgwick County), Wichita — ColemanMember of WSU Baseball Founders Club
A beacon of light in the community since 1901, The Coleman Company has provided many products that bring together family and friends for lifelong outdoor memories. "Coleman Hill" is a living example of their commitment to Wichita. Thank you from Shocker Baseball. Dedicated this day, April 8, 2000. — Map (db m56351) HM
Kansas (Sedgwick County), Wichita — Gene Stephenson's Wichita State University All Americans
. . . — Map (db m56286) HM
Kansas (Sedgwick County), Wichita — Gerald and Shannon MichaudMembers of WSU Baseball Founders Club
Nationally renowned trial lawyer, graduate of Washburn University Law School, tremendously successful for over 49 years, together with his wife, Shannon, have graciously given to the community, as well as WSU Baseball. Their concern for others and commitment to excellence are second to none. Thank you from Shocker Baseball. Dedicated this day, April 8, 2000. — Map (db m56350) HM
Kansas (Sedgwick County), Wichita — Harry "Hap" BledsoeMember of WSU Baseball Founders Club — Developer • Civic Leader • Philanthropist
Came to Wichita in 1958 and developed Resthaven Gardens of memory and Resthaven Funeral Home from a wheat field into one of the Midwest's most beautiful Cemeteries; past president of the International Cemetery and Funeral Home Assn. and in 1998 named to the Association's Hall of Honor. This Plaza is dedicated to the many families who had Faith, and supported him in the development of Resthaven which made this Gift possible. Thank you from Shocker Baseball Dedicated this day, April 8, 2000 — Map (db m56329) HM
Kansas (Sedgwick County), Wichita — John Cheney on Wichita State BasketballSports Trail Walk Path
"We've played in tougher places. At Wichita State, those fans would stand up and clap at the beginning of each half, and until their team scores, they don't sit down. We had 'em clapping for four minutes one time...And I think everybody had a knife but us. That was a tough place to play." John Cheney, former Temple head basketball coach from 1982-2006, when asked about a pro-Carolina crowd they would face at a 1988 tournament in Charlotte, N.C. For more infomation on other great . . . — Map (db m56424) HM
Kansas (Sedgwick County), Wichita — Memorial '70To Those Who Died in Colorado October 2, 1970
Marvin G. Brown, Jr. • Donald E. Christian • John W. Duren • Martin E. Harrison • Ronald G. Johnson • Randall B. Kiesau • Malory W. Kimmel • Carl R. Krueger • Stephan A. Moore • Thomas B. Owen, Jr. • Eugene Robinson • Thomas T. Shedden • Richard N. Stines • John R. Taylor • Jack R. Vetter Carl G. Fahrbach • Floyd W. Farmer • Albert C. and Marion Katzenmeyer • Thomas A. Reeves • Ben and Helen Wilson • Ramon P. and Maxine Coleman • John W. and Etta Mae Grooms • Raymond E. and Yvonne King • . . . — Map (db m56277) HM
250 markers matched your search criteria.
Click to map all markers shown on this page.
Click First to browse through the results shown on this page.   First >> 


•••
More Search Options
 
Markers
Near You

 
Categories

 
States & Provinces

 
Counties
Click to List


 
Countries

Page composed
in 212 ms.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
To search within this page, hold down the Ctrl key and press F.
On an Apple computer,
hold down the Apple key and press F.