|Brazil, Rio de Janeiro — Augusto Ferreira Ramos|
| Engenheiro Brasilero
que idealisou e realisou
o Caminho Aéreo
1912 - 1913
The Brazilian Engineer who envisioned and created the aerial tramway. — Map (db m26350) HM|
|British Columbia (Greater Vancouver Regional District), Semiahmoo — Peace Arch — The Signing of the Columbia River Treaty|
This unfortified boundary line between the
Dominion of Canada
United States of America
should quicken the remembrance of the more than century old friendship between these countries
A lesson of peace to all nations.
In commemoration of
One hundred and fifty years of peace, 1814 - 1864, between Canada and the United States of America.
The signing of the Columbia River Treaty on September 16th, 1964, at this international . . . — Map (db m27450) HM|
|British Columbia (Greater Vancouver Regional District), Surrey — Historic Port Elgin — Transportation & Communication — Part of Surrey’s Built Heritage|
| River Routes
Located near the intersection of the King George VI Highway and the Nicomekl River, the Port Elgin area has been a crossroads for various forms of traffic for thousands of years. For centuries prior to the arrival of the first European settlers, Natives regularly canoed up the Nicomekl River and down the Salmon River as they made their way to the salmon-fishing platforms in the Frasier Canyon.
The Hudson’s Bay Company’s chief trader James McMillan and his party of men . . . — Map (db m63715) HM|
|British Columbia (Greater Vancouver Regional District), Surrey — The Semiahmoo Trail|
|This trail was an ancient Indian travel-way linking tribal villages in the south to salmon grounds of the Fraser River.
The first white explorers, lead by Chief Trader James McMillan of the Hudson’s Bay Company passed here in December of 1824.
Using the Nicomekl and Salmon Rivers, they reached the Fraser and located the site of Fort Langley.
Erected by the This trail was an ancient Indian travel-way linking tribal villages in the south to salmon grounds of the Fraser River.
The first . . . — Map (db m60820) HM|
|Yukon Territory, Whitehorse — Alaska Highway|
At this site on 1 April 1946
the United States Army
officially handed over
the Alaska Highway and
associated facilities to
the Canadian Army
This plaque is dedicated
to the those who built and cared
for the Alaska Highway
by the members of the
Northwest Highway System
At this site on 1 April 1964
the Canadian Army
handed over responsibility
for the Alaska Highway and
the Northwest Highway . . . — Map (db m42832) HM|
|France, Aquitaine (Gironde), Saint Emilion — La Maison de la Cadene/La Porte de la Cadene — [The House of the Chain/The Gate of the Chain]|
|La Maison de la Cadene
Une charte de 1291 concéda à Guillaume Renaud de la Cadene un emplacement situé à la port du même non. La maison gothique qu’il y fit construire fut remplacée au début du XVIème siècle par une masion à pans de bois et en torchis appelée encoure aujourd’hui Maison de la Cadène.|
La Porte de la Cadene
Postérieure aux 6 portes Romanes de remparts extérieurs, cette arcade ogivale gothique était l’unique port de l’enceinte fortifiée intérieure. Son nom viendrait du . . . — Map (db m60520) HM
|France, Languedoc-Roussillon (Hérault), Colombiers — [Roman Milepost]|
|Tibère César Auguste
Fils du divin Auguste
Revêtu de la puissance
Pour la 33ème fois
A refait (la voie)
Milliare restitué par le
Parc Culturel Du Biterrois
Inauguré le 05.09.2009
Michel BARBE, éntant maire|
[Translation by Google Translate (with modifications):
Tiberius Caesar Augustus
Son of the divine Augustus
In the power
For the 33rd time
A redone (the way)
Milepost returned by . . . — Map (db m60193) HM
|France, Midi-Pyrénées (Tarn), Albi — Les berges du Tarn — The Tarn riverbanks|
|La rive gauche du Tarn correspond à un quartier peuplé dès le Haut Moyen Âge: le secteur des «Combes» .
Ce nom évoque une topographie en forme de gouttière descendant vers le Tarn. Les Combes établissaient un lien véritable avec la rivière marquée alors par une activité commerciale importante.
Témoin de l’essor urbain, le pont Vieux, construit au XIe siècle pour répondre à l’accroissement de la circulation et favoriser le commerce, permet le développement du faubourg «du Bout-du-Pont» sur la . . . — Map (db m60352) HM|
|France, Provence-Alpes-Côte dAzur (Vaucluse), Bonnieux — Rue Droite|
|Tout au long de la rue, vous pourrez observer sur les façades les traces des anciennes boutiques d’artisans, échoppes d’artisans, estaminets du Moyen Age.
Le prétoire, la prison et la maison commune se trouvaient un peu plus bas.
La fontaine à rose (ou à godets) desservie par un ingénieux système de récupération d’eau, la dernière cuve se situant au niveau de la rue de la République, fonctionnait encore dans les années 50/60. Lorsqu’elle n’etait plus alimentée, on allait s’approvisionner à la . . . — Map (db m61754) HM|
|France, Provence-Alpes-Côte dAzur (Vaucluse), Bonnieux — 5 — Rue Voltaire|
|Anciennement rue des Marchands, c’était l’artère commerçante du village.
-Fontaine du cafe, encore un! Il paraît que l’eau (ou l’absinthe...) y était meilleure! La fontaine est adossée à une belle demeure bâtie sur voûte autour des XIVeme et XVeme siècles.
-Passage de la juiverie: restauration en 2009. Ce petit espace, dans lequel on confinait les Juifs au Moyen Age, était fermé le soir, ce qui montre qu’ils étaient soumis à une juridiction ecclésiastique spéciale, et seulement tolérés. En . . . — Map (db m61978) HM|
|Germany, Bavaria, Munich — Georg Lankensperger|
|[Marker text in German]:
Hier stand das Haus des
Kgl. Bayr. Hofwagners
*1779 • † 1847
der 1816 die Achsschenkellenkung erfand
Für Gespannwagen erdacht, ist diese Lenkungsart von entscheidender Bedeutung fr den Bau aller heutigen Vierradkraftzeuge geworden
Gestiftet vom der
Audi NSU Auto Union AG
[Marker text translated into English, more or less]:
Here stood the house of the Royal Bavarian Wagonmaster, Georg Lankensperger, who in 1816 . . . — Map (db m57723) HM|
|Germany, Bavaria, Munich — The Expansion of the Church of Our Lady Lane|
|Durch hochherzige Spenden seiner königlichen hoheit des Prinzregenten Luitpold von Bayern, des Domkapitels zu Unserer Lieben Frau und opferwilliger Münchener Bürger wurde es ermöglicht, im Jahre 1888 das enge Liebefrauengässchen zu dieser Strasse zu erweitern und sogleich die hiesige Domfreiheit zu schaffen.
Translated, the marker reads:
Through the generous donations of His Royal Highness, Luitpold, the Prince Regent of Bavaria, the Ecclesiastical Chapter of the Church of Our . . . — Map (db m22603) HM|
|Germany, Bavaria (Landkreis Schweinfurt), Gerolzhofen — Spital Gate — Spitaltor|
| [Marker text in German:]
Das Torhaus mit einer Rundbogen Durchfahrt und einem seitlich in den inneren Stadtgraben vorspringenden Flankiersturm wurde von Bischof Rudolf von Scherenberg um 1472 als Verstärkung des inneren Tors gebaut. Von Bischof Julius Echter 1597 erweitert, fiel es 1871 der Spitzhacke zum Opfer.
Geschichte für alle -
historischer Verein in Gerolzhofen, e.V.
Dr. Ottmar Wolf – Kulturstiftung
[Marker text translated into English, more or less:] . . . — Map (db m57951) HM|
|Germany, Bavaria (Landkreis Schweinfurt), Gerolzhofen — The Beadle’s Tower — Bettelturm|
[Marker text in German:]
Hier stand der innere Torturm der südlichen Doppeltor-Anlage, im Volksmund Bettelturm genannt(Büttel = Gerechtsknecht). Erstmals 1340 erwähnt, wurde der Turm schon im 1756 wegen Steinfraß und morschem Fundament wieder abgebrochen.
Geschichte für alle - historischer Verein in Gerolzhofen, e.V.
Dr. Ottmar Wolf – Kulturstiftung
[Marker text translated into English, more or less:]
Here stood the inner gate tower, part of the double-tower . . . — Map (db m57956) HM|
|Greece, Thera Municipality (Santorini), Fira — Santorini Cable Car|
ΛOYΛAΣ KAI EYAΓΓEΛOY NOMIKOY
TEΛEΦEPIK ΣANTOPINH Σ
ΔΩPEA TOY IΔPYTH
ΣTIΣ 14 KOINOTHTEΣ TOY NHΣIOY
Loulas and Evangelos Nomikos
Santorini’s Cable Car
Gift of the founder to the 14 communities of the island — Map (db m43315) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Meath), Kells — Suffolk Street — Kells Heritage Trail|
| Suffolk Street is an anglicisation of the ancient name Siofac, the meaning of which is today uncertain. The Annals of the Four Masters mentions a fire in 1156 burning the area of Kells from the cross of the gate to Siofoic. The name may be derived from the existence of a suidhe, a fairy mound, possibly a prehistoric tumulus, at the junction of Suffolk and Farrell Streets. A hillock at this site was cleared away in the early 19th century with the widening of Farrell Street. — Map (db m26424) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Offaly), Birr — The world's first automobile fatality — happened here on 31 August 1869|
| Shortly after 8:00pm that evening a pioneering steam carriage designed and built by William Parsons, the Third Earl of Rosse, left the castle gates and drove at walking pace along Oxmantown Mall before turning the corner into Cumberland (now Emmet) Street. The Kings County Chronicle of the following day records what then befell:
DEATH OF THE HON. MRS. WARD
On yesterday the people of Parsonstown were much excited and grieved at a sad accident which occurred in the . . . — Map (db m33198) HM|
|Israel, Central District, Rosh Ha'ayin — The Roman Cardo — הקארדו הרומי|
|A remnant of the main street of the Roman city of Antipatris. "Cardo" is the name for the main north-south street of a Roman-era city. Shops lined the Cardo, and at its center it was connected to the Forum, the city's central square. Grooves can be seen in the paving stones, carved over the years by the wheels of vehicles rolling along the street. The lookout tower on the Cardo was constructed during the Ottoman period, long after the street had fallen into complete disuse. — Map (db m64445) HM|
|Israel, Jerusalem District, Jerusalem — Jaffa Gate — Old City Jerusalem|
| [Text in Hebrew …]
[Text in English:] Jaffa Gate is the westernmost of the gates in the walls of Jerusalem. It is so named as the starting point of the road to Jaffa port. Its Arabic name, Bab al-Khalil, meaning “Hebron Gate,” indicates that the road to Hebron, the ancient city of the Patriarchs, also started there. An Arabic inscription in the gate structure commemorates its construction: “In the name of Allah, the merciful and the compassionate, our lord . . . — Map (db m44853) HM|
|South Africa, Eastern Cape, Grahamstown — Andrew Geddes Bain, Road Builder and Geologist — 1797 - 1864|
|Bain built the queen's road to Fort Beaufort via the Ecca Pass and the road through Pluto's Vale as military roads in 1837-45. His house was then near here on the Ecca Heights. He became interested in Geology in 1837 during the construction of the Queen's Road and in the area visible from this spot he worked out the stratigraphy of the Karoo System, and discovered that fossil reptiles occur in it. Bain was the father of South African Geology. — Map (db m62618) HM|
|Turkey, İzmir Province (Selçuk District), Ephesus — Processional Way|
Dini Alay Yolu [text in Turkish…]
Processional Way [text in English]
Annual festivals named ‘Artemisia’ or ‘Ephesia’ in antiquity were undertaken in honour of Artemis, the city goddess of Ephesos. The festivities, which lasted for several days, were framed by sportive and musical competitions, although the focus was the procession accompanied by sacrifices. The procession, in which a festively adorned and bedecked cult figure of Artemis was carried, also served . . . — Map (db m44269) HM|
|United Kingdom, Angus (Scotland), Arbroath — David Dunbar Buick — September 17 1854 – March 5 1929|
|American motoring pioneer & founder of
the Buick motor company of America.
David Dunbar Buick was born at No. 26
Green Street, Arbroath, which lay approx
90 metres north of this, the only remaining
building to show the line of the original
street. — Map (db m34452) HM|
|Alabama (Autauga County), Prattville — Old Plank Road — Circa 1840's|
|The plank road was constructed of large pine logs, sawed lengthwise and laid round-side down. Daniel Pratt built the road for public benefit and to provide transportation from the Pratt Cotton Gin Factory to Washington on the Alabama River. Over four-miles long, the road cost between eight-and ten-thousand dollars to construct.
Cotton gins from Pratt's factory were shipped all over the globe. Under the name "Continental Eagle," this factory remains the largest cotton gin manufacturer in . . . — Map (db m27983) HM|
|Alabama (Barbour County), Eufaula — General Grierson’s March|
|This road marks the entrance into Eufaula of Federal Troops on April 29, 1865. Lee had surrendered at Appomattox, Virginia on April 9. General Benjamin H. Grierson was advancing with four thousand cavalry from Mobile and was then about at Louisville. He had not heard of Lee’s surrender. Masters Edward Young and Edward Stern, mounted on horses and bearing flags of truce, were at once dispatched out this road, the direct route from Clayton, to meet General Grierson. They met General Grierson at . . . — Map (db m27990) HM|
|Alabama (Calhoun County), Anniston — Freedom Riders|
|On May 14, 1961, a Greyhound bus left Atlanta, GA carrying among its passengers seven members of the Congress of Racial Equality (CORE), a.k.a. the “Freedom Riders,” on a journey to test interstate bus segregation. The bus was met by an angry mob at the bus station in Anniston, AL where tires were slashed and windows broken. Upon leaving Anniston, the bus was followed by the mob to this site where the driver stopped to change the tire. The crowd set the bus on fire and attacked . . . — Map (db m35737) HM|
|Alabama (Clarke County), Whatley — Old Indian Trail|
|Here passed the Old Indian Trail used as a dividing line between the Choctaw and Creek Tribes.
General Andrew Jackson and his troops rested here for the night in 1813. — Map (db m47633) HM|
|Alabama (Clarke County), Whatley — Old Line Road|
|Commences at the Cut-Off, or the first high ground in that vicinity, follows the watershed between the Alabama and Tombigbee Rivers, and ends at Choctaw Corner. Established in 1808 by the Creek and Choctaw Indians as the dividing line between their lands. — Map (db m47628) HM|
|Alabama (Colbert County), Muscle Shoals — Howell & Graves School|
Muscle Shoals City was incorporated on April 24, 1923. Among the leading developers were New York realtors A.L. Howell and C.T. Graves. Their interest in Muscle Shoals was inspired by the vision of Henry Ford to use power from Wilson Dam and the Nitrate Plants to "employ one million workers and build a city 75 miles wide." Although Ford's vision remained unfulfilled, Howell & Graves helped develop the town by building the first City Hall, bungalows, a service station, and . . . — Map (db m28580) HM|
|Alabama (Colbert County), Sheffield — Old Railroad Bridge|
In 1832, the Alabama legislature authorized the Florence Bridge Company to construct this bridge across the Tennessee River. In 1840, it opened as a toll bridge. Twice damaged by storms, it was reopened in 1858 as a double-decked bridge by the Memphis and Charleston Railroad. Additional piers were added to support the large wooden superstructure with trains using the upper deck while the lower deck served as a toll bridge. In April 1862, the Confederate army burned the . . . — Map (db m40596) HM|
|Alabama (Colbert County), Sheffield — Village One|
| Front In 1918, during World War I, the U.S. Government built this unique village of 85 bungalows, school, and officers barracks to house personnel at nearby Nitrate Plant No. 1. Prefabricated and standard size materials were used in construction along with red tile roofs and stucco exteriors. Streets were laid out in an unusual "Liberty Bell" design.
Reverse The Village was owned by TVA from 1933~1949. Its employees occupied the houses and their children attended a . . . — Map (db m28577) HM|
|Alabama (Colbert County), Tuscumbia — Jackson's Military Road|
| Side 1
After the Battle of New Orleans in 1815, General Andrew Jackson proposed this road as a shorter and improved route for military movements between Nashville and New Orleans. The U.S. War Department authorized Jackson to appoint an engineer and procure equipment on August 15, 1816 and Congress appropriated $5,000 to begin construction. The Military Road was built by about 300 American soldiers over a three-year period at a construction cost of $300,000. When completed on May . . . — Map (db m28582) HM|
|Alabama (Conecuh County), Pine Orchard — Old Federal Road — Fort Warren|
|Site of Fort Warren, built in 1816 by Colonel Richard Warren, who owned considerable land in this vicinity. This facility was used as a refuge for settlers who feared for their lives in the early days of the aftermath of the Creek Indian Wars of 1812-1814. — Map (db m47689) HM|
|Alabama (Covington County), Andalusia — Three Notch Road / Hank and Audrey Williams|
| [Side A:]
Three Notch Road
The Three Notch Road was a 90-mile section of a 230-mile military road to connect Pensacola with Fort Mitchell in Russell County on the Chattahoochie River. Capt. Daniel E. Burch marked the route using three notches on trees for a crew under Lt. Elias
Phillips to follow. Soldiers from the U. S. 4th Infantry Division cleared the route in June, July, and August, 1824, at a cost of $1,130. The road runs through the present cities of . . . — Map (db m39034) HM|
|Alabama (Dallas County), Cahaba — Vine Street|
|Vine Street was Cahawba Business district. Stores, offices and hotels were tightly packed together along these three blocks. Homes were scattered over an entire square mile. Nearly every house had a yard of one or two acres. — Map (db m23289) HM|
|Alabama (Etowah County), Attalla — “The Junction” — Attalla|
|For thousands of years, two important Indian trade routes ran across what was to become Etowah County. The “High Town Path” ran from Charlestown, S.C. west to the Mississippi River, near Memphis, TN. The “Creek Path” begins at Pensacola, Fl. and runs northwest into the Ohio Country.
Two miles west of this spot, on Big Wills Creek, the two routes formed a “Junction,” and became a combined path across Racoon (Sand) Mountain, where it again divided.
By . . . — Map (db m39226) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — Roebuck Spring|
|In 1850 George James Roebuck and his wife Ann Hawkins Roebuck built a log cabin at the mouth of Roebuck Spring. His Influence and leadership led to the area around it to be known as Roebuck. In 1900 Alabama Boys Industrial School was located adjacent to the spring, and the spring water was used for the school until city water became available. In 1910 George Miller, a leading landscape architect and industrial town planner, developed the first planned golf course and club house close to the . . . — Map (db m26688) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — Roebuck Springs Historic District|
|Roebuck Springs was the first large residential suburb in Birmingham where planning and development were tied to the automobile, and the first community in the city associated with a golf course development. The 1910 land plan was designed to complement the steep, rolling topography, reminiscent of narrow country lanes in rural England. The use of local native stones unified the diverse architectural styles - Craftsman, Tudor Revival, and Colonial Revival - and contributed to the natural, . . . — Map (db m26684) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Homewood — Edgewood Lake (Drained 1940's) Birmingham Motor & Country Club / Edgewood Country Club — (Demolished 1930's)|
|The developers of the Town of Edgewood, Stephen Smith and Troupe Brazelton, built the beautiful 117.4 acre lake and clubhouse in 1913-15. Amenities included a swimming pool, dance pavilion, fishing, boating and parking for hundreds of automobiles.
Similar to golf or tennis clubs, this was instead a driving club since the ownership of an automobile was the latest rage. A great race track, designed after the Indianapolis Motor Speedway, was begun and graded but never completed. It's north and . . . — Map (db m26963) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Homewood — Union Hill Cemetery, Union Hill Methodist Episcopal Church, Union Hill School|
|This cemetery is the final resting place of many of Shades Valley's pioneer residents. A few of the earliest headstones date from the mid-1850s. Descendants of these settlers helped mold the cities of Mountain Brook and Homewood. Located on property to the east of the cemetery was the Union Hill Methodist Episcopal Church building which was completed in 1874 on property donated by Pleasant H. Watkins. This church was founded in 1867 near the Irondale Furnace and moved to Union Hill in 1873. . . . — Map (db m26294) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Hoover — Shades Crest Road Historical District|
|Indian, Wagon Trail, now Shades Crest Road, led to popular chalybeate springs. Summit, now Bluff Park, was a resort known for its view, cool air and healing mineral water. In 1899 school / church was built. In 1909 Bluff Park Hotel, built on land settled by Hale Family, lost to fire in 1925. In 1996 Alabama Register of Landmarks and Heritage. — Map (db m27311) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Hoover — Shades Crest Road Historical District|
|Indian, Wagon Trail, now Shades Crest Road, led to popular chalybeate springs. Summit, now Bluff Park, was a resort known for its view, cool air and healing mineral water. In 1899 school / church was built. In 1909 Bluff
Park Hotel, built on land settled by Hale Family, lost to fire in 1925. In 1996 Alabama Register of Landmarks and Heritage. — Map (db m28517) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — Andrew Jackson's Military Road — -1817-|
|Construction of this road, as ordered by General Andrew Jackson, began in May 1817 by troops of the U.S. Army for national defense purposes. Beginning near Nashville, Tennessee and continuing to Madison, Louisiana, it shortened the distance from Nashville to New Orleans by 200 miles. This road followed early Native American trails that were uses by Jackson's Army during the War of 1812. The military road served as a major transportation route for early settlers of North Alabama, Mississippi, Louisiana, and the Old Southwest Territory. — Map (db m28563) HM|
|Alabama (Lawrence County), Courtland — Early Roads / One of the South's First Railroads 1832|
| Side A
Tennessee Street along the north side of the square was originally part of Gaines’ Trace, a horse path laid out in 1807 under the direction of Capt. Edmund Pendleton Gaines of the U. S. Army. From Melton’s Bluff on the Tennessee River, the trace ran westward to Cotton Gin Port on the Tombigbee, in present-day Mississippi. Another important early thoroughfare was the Byler Road (1819), which ran southward through Courtland and linked the Tennessee Valley to Tuscaloosa and lower . . . — Map (db m29056) HM|
|Alabama (Lawrence County), Moulton — Cheatham Road|
|Wyatt Cheatham (1769-1856) was one of the early settlers of Lawrence County and bought land near Wren in 1818. The Alabama Legislature on 14 Dec 1824 authorized him, "to open out and make a road leading from at or near the Gum Pond in said county to Tuscaloosa". The act authorized him to erect turnpike gates and collect tolls for passage. The Gum Pond near the Leola Road was located on Payne’s Road about 7 miles south of Moulton. The Cheatham Road was to be 18 feet wide with 12 feet cleared of . . . — Map (db m37450) HM|
|Alabama (Madison County), Huntsville — Hotel Monte Sano — “Monte Sano” – Spanish for “Mountain of Health”|
|Site of Hotel Monte Sano, built in 1887 by the North Alabama Improvement Company with the assistance of Michael and James O’Shaughnessy. The 233-room hotel opened on June 1, 1887 and served as a health resort and haven for famous visitors including Helen Keller, the Vanderbilts, and the Astors. Guests arrived via the “Tally Ho” stagecoach or the Monte Sano Railway, which served the mountain community. The hotel closed in 1900, and the W.W. Garth family later purchased it for their . . . — Map (db m27796) HM|
|Alabama (Marshall County), Arab — Bear Meat Cabin Road|
|Starting as an ancient Indian trail, the north–south road through Arab in 1816 was known as Bear Meat Cabin Road. By 1818, it had become an important Federal trade route through the Alabama Territory known as the St. Stephens – Huntsville Road. Designated as a post road in 1822, it became the main mail route between New Orleans and Cincinnati over which Alabama’s first stage line traveled. Philip Clack received a State charter to operate the section through Arab as Clack’s Turnpike. . . . — Map (db m40134) HM|
|Alabama (Monroe County), Burnt Corn — Old Federal Road — Burnt Corn|
|Burnt Corn, Monroe County's earliest settlement, became the crossroads of the Great Pensacola Trading Path and The Federal Road. Settler Jim Cornells returned from Pensacola in 1813, finding his home destroyed and his wife kidnapped by a Creek Indian war party. As the Creeks returned from procuring arms in Pensacola, Cornells and volunteers ambushed the Indians. Thus began the Creek Indian War of 1813-1814. — Map (db m47687) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Pintlala — 5 — Federal Road, 1805|
|Between Milledgeville, Ga.
and St. Stephens, Ala.
was two miles west. — Map (db m39770) HM|
|Alabama (Morgan County), Decatur — 7 — Two Bridges Across The Tennessee River — “A Hard Nut To Crack” — The Battle For Decatur|
|In 1860, the Memphis and Charleston Railroad was the only east-west route through the United States south of the Mason-Dixon Line. Maintaining control of this rail line was essential to Confederate strategy. Union Brigadier General Ormsby Mitchell occupied Decatur on April 13, 1862. Confederate defenders attempted to destroy this bridge, but failed. Union troops would destroy the bridge themselves on April 27, 1862. Union troops would occupy Decatur briefly in the summer of 1862 and the fall of . . . — Map (db m28262) HM|
|Alabama (Shelby County), Vandiver — Sidney Word Lee — (1864-1944)|
|Founder of Buffalo Rock Company (1901) in Birmingham and creator of Buffalo Rock Ginger Ale, a medicinal tonic first used in the Civil War. Lee's vision and influential support inspired the construction of this road across Double Oak Mountain connecting Coosa Valley to more developed land in the Cahaba Valley.
Work began on Highway 25 in 1914 and was completed in 1921. At the time no other roads existed on the mountain and early settlers called the path the Winding Stair Trail. Highway 25 . . . — Map (db m52693) HM|
|Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — Willys Jeep|
|In 1940, the U.S. Army put out a call to automobile manufacturers to produce a fast, lightweight, all terrain vehicle. The answer came in the form of the Willys MB. The Jeep was instrumental in World War II, the Korean War, and Vietnam.
This jeep is decorated in the colors of the U.S. Air Force. The Department of the Air Force was established on September 17, 1947, shortly after taking office, the first Secretary of the USAF, W. Stuart Symington said “In this day when a powerful . . . — Map (db m35515) HM|
|Alabama (Wilcox County), Catherine — Postal Routes of 1820|
|Two miles north of this point was the intersection of two important postal routes of early Alabama, the Saint Stephens-Cahawba Road and the Tuskaloosa-Prairie Bluff Road. — Map (db m38495) HM|
|Alaska (Fairbanks North Star Borough), Faribanks — Cushman Street|
|“Instead of row after row of empty houses (Dawson), they are building new stores. The place is alive and busy-a little too crowded when we got there.” – a tourist in Fairbanks, 1928 — Map (db m47406) HM|
|Alaska (Southeast Fairbanks Borough), Delta Junction — Delta Junction, Alaska — Northern Terminus of the "Alcan" Highway|
|This highway was constructed during World War II as a military supply route for interior Alaska Military and Airfields in 1942. 7 Army regiments and 42 Contractors and Public Roads Administrators working from Delta Junction South and Dawson Creek North completed it when they met at Soldiers’ Summit at Kluane Lake Yukon Territory in November 1942. At the peak of construction, 77 Contractors employed 15,000 men and 11,000 pieces of road building equipment. The total construction cost for 1422 miles was $115,000,000. — Map (db m59840) HM|
|Alaska (Southeast Fairbanks Borough), Tok — Taylor Highway|
|The Taylor Highway leads through some of the earliest and richest gold mining country in Alaska to the City of Eagle on the Yukon River. Gold was discovered by Franklin in 1886 and the old town of Forty Mile was located on the Yukon River at the mouth of the Forty Mile River. A river boat trip from Eagle will take you to this historic town. The Chicken Creek area was also a rich gold mining area at about the same time. Wade Creek was another rich area and the remains of an old dredge still . . . — Map (db m49596) HM|
|Alaska (Valdez Cordova Borough), Valdez — Goat Trail|
|The U.S. Army arrived at Valdez during the Gold Rush to build a trail into the interior. They found the Valdez Glacier impassable much of the year. To bypass the glacier, they cut a narrow trail along the walls of rugged Keystone Canyon. The “Goat Trail” quickly became a popular route to the interior.
There Must be a Better Way
In 1898 the Army found a route though Keystone Canyon as an alternative to Valdez Glacier. Despite dense vegetation, high walls, and a fast, icy . . . — Map (db m49611) HM|
|Alaska (Valdez Cordova Borough), Valdez — Horse and Sled Trail|
|On the far side, just above the water are the remains of the old sled trail, used in the early days. It was cut out of the rock, just wide enough for 2 horses abreast. 200 ft. above can be seen the old goat trail. This road was used till 1945. — Map (db m49610) HM|
|Arizona (Apache County), Springerville — 28 — Madonna of the Trail|
|This 10 foot high, 5 ton statue cast by St. Louis sculptor August Leimbach is one of 12 identical monuments to the bold spirit of the pioneers erected in 1928-29 along the National Old Trails Road from Maryland to California. — Map (db m36380) HM|
|Arizona (Cochise County), Bisbee — Mule Pass|
| Front of obelisk
Road Constructed by
Prison Labor 1913-14
Board of Control
Geo. W.P. Hunt Governor
C. Callaghan Auditor
U.R. Osburn Member
R.E. Sims Supt of Prison
Right side of obelisk
Left side of obelisk
Board of Supervisors
A. Hickey Chrmn
J. Rock — Map (db m48552) HM|
|Arizona (Cochise County), San Simon — The San Simon Rest Area - Percy Jones, Jr.|
|Dedicated to the
Engineering Achievements of
Percy Jones, Jr.
Chief locating engineer who by sheer genius personally located more miles of Arizona highways than any other person. His college training in mining and geology combined with instincts as a pioneer desert traveler to give him uncanny abilities at pushing roads across virgin country.
The spectacular drive through Salt River Canyon on U.S. 60 is considered a high point of this "born locator's" career. . . . — Map (db m37899) HM|
|Arizona (Cochise County), San Simon — The San Simon Rest Area - Percy Jones, Jr.|
|Dedicated to the
Engineering Achievements of
Percy Jones, Jr.
Chief locating engineer who by sheer genius personally located more miles of Arizona highways than any other person. His college training in mining and geology combined with instincts as a pioneer desert traveler to give him uncanny abilities at pushing roads across virgin country.
The spectacular drive through Salt River Canyon on U.S. 60 is considered a high point of this "born locator's" career. . . . — Map (db m37900) HM|
|Arizona (Cochise County), Willcox — Railroad Avenue|
|Railroad Avenue became the Commercial center for the growth of Willcox and the Sulpher Springs Valley from the time of the construction of the Southern Pacific Railroad through the area in 1880. — Map (db m28174) HM|
|Arizona (Coconino County), Flagstaff — Beale Road|
|In 1857 Congress authorized Navy Lieutenant Edward F. Beale to survey a wagon road along the 35th parallel from Fort Defiance, New Mexico Territory, to the Colorado River. A secondary mission was to test the feasibility of using camels in the Southwest. In the fall of 1857, the Beale survey party passed through what is now Flagstaff, Arizona, with approximately 50 men, 100 mules, 10 wagons, 22 camels, and over 300 sheep. The eventual route passed by this location, and later became Fort Valley . . . — Map (db m33348) HM|
|Arizona (Coconino County), Flagstaff — Beale Wagon Road — 1857 - 1882|
|From 1857-60, Lt. Edward F. Beale and crew of 100 men completed the first federal highway in the southwest from Fort Smith, Ark. to Los Angeles, Calif. at a cost of $200,000. The wagon road was used extensively by immigrants en route to California and livestock men with large herds of cattle and sheep until 1882. — Map (db m33346) HM|
|Arizona (Coconino County), Grand Canyon National Park — Bright Angel Trail|
| Each year thousands of hikers enter Grand Canyon on the Bright Angel Trail. They follow a tradition - and a trail route - established by prehistoric people. For centuries humans have used this route for two key reasons: water and access. Water emerges from springs at Indian Garden, and erosion along the Bright Angel Fault creats a break in the cliffs, providing access to the springs.
When prospectors arrived here in the late 1800s, Havasupai Indians were using the route. Prospectors . . . — Map (db m39563) HM|
|Arizona (Coconino County), Grand Canyon National Park — Mules and the Canyon|
| Behind you is the Bright Angel mule corral, where each morning mules greet riders and another adventure begins. Mules have carried people into Grand Canyon since sightseeers first visited here in the 1890s. For many people - including those who cannot hike - mules provide access to the inner canyon.
What is a mule?
Mules are hybrids, a cross between a male burro and a female horse.
How long do mules live? How old are the ones visitors ride?
Mules live about . . . — Map (db m39551) HM|
|Arizona (Coconino County), Marble Canyon — 350 — Lee's Ferry|
|John D. Lee settled here in Dec. 1872 and established ferry service thirteen months later. After her husband's death, Warren M. Johnson ran the oar-driven ferry for Emma Lee, 1875 to 1879, when the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints purchased her interest. Johnson served until 1895. He was followed by James S. Emett who sold to the Grand Canyon Cattle Company in 1909. Coconino County operated the ferry from 1910 to 1928. — Map (db m41997) HM|
|Arizona (Coconino County), Marble Canyon — Navajo Bridge Erection Toggle Screw/Navajo Bridge — State of Arizona — 1927/1928|
|This Erection Toggle Screw was used in the construction of the historic Navajo Bridge to maintain bridge vertical elevations and as a means of lowering bridge sections in place.
[Plaque Mounted on Bridge]:
State of Arizona
Arch 616 feet • Total Length 834 feet • Height 467 feet
Arizona State Highway Commission
Geo W.P. Hunt, Governor
L.P. Mcbride, Chairman - H. Thompson, Vice Chairman - F.C. Steger, Commissioner
J.F. McDonald, Commissioner - Floyd . . . — Map (db m38469) HM|
|Arizona (Gila County), Globe — Becker Butte Lookout|
|Dedicated to the memory of
1856 – 1940
Pioneer Merchant, Trail Blazer, Road Builder
A father of U.S. Highway 60
'His was a long life, founded on the Golden Rule' — Map (db m36904) HM|
|Arizona (Gila County), Globe — El Capitan Pass|
|This pass was used by Kearny's Army of the West in a march to California in 1846. Guided by Kit Carson it was described in a journal of the trip as "Carson's Old Trail”. The pass led around the impassable canyon on the Gila River where Coolidge Dam has been constructed. — Map (db m28045) HM|
|Arizona (La Paz County), Quartzsite — 060-019 — Tyson's Well — Old Stage Station|
|This was a stage stop between Ehrenberg and Wickenburg and points east. Travelers in the 1870's and 80's made their first stop here on eastward journeys from the Colorado River. "No grass, but good water," an early desert guide indicated accommodations for passengers were crude. — Map (db m7004) HM|
|Arizona (Maricopa County), Apache Junction — Welcome to the Apache Trail Historic Road|
| "The Apache Trail combines the grandeur of the Alps, the Glory of the Rockies, the magnificence of the Grand Canyon and then adds an indefinable something that none of the others have. To me, it is the most awe-inspiring and most sublimely beautiful panorama nature has ever created."
President Theodore Roosevelt, 1858-1919
Connecting communities in the Salt River Valley and Roosevelt Lake, the historic Apache Trail (Arizona Highway 88) winds its way through some of the state's . . . — Map (db m34066) HM|
|Arizona (Mohave County), Kingman — Wagon Route|
|Surveyed by Lt. Edward F. Beale 1857 - 1858. Followed by railroad survey, 1858 – 1859. Route of Atlantic and Pacific Railroad built across Arizona 1882 – 1883. Tracks reached Kingman, spring, 1883. U. S. Highway 66 closely follows Beale's survey. — Map (db m29357) HM|
|Arizona (Mohave County), Lake Havasu City — Robert P. McCulloch, Sr.|
In grateful memory
Robert P. McCulloch, Sr.
Whose purchase of London Bridge
saved it for the enjoyment and use
October 10, 1981
on this 150th Anniverary
was formally dedicated to the
citizens of Lake Havasu City — Map (db m6974) HM|
|Arizona (Mohave County), Littlefield — The Old Spanish Trail — 1829 - 1848|
|The Old Spanish Trail, the main trade route between Santa Fe and Los Angeles, passed this way beginning in 1829. At the end of the Mexican-American War this portion of the route evolved into what was variously known as the Salt Lake Road, the Mormon Trail, the California Road, and eventually U.S. Hwy. 91. The original pack trail descended Utah Hill, passed through Beaver Dam, then followed the Virgin River toward Las Vegas. As wagon traffic increased in the 1850s the route veered westward near . . . — Map (db m22729) HM|
|Arizona (Navajo County), Winslow — Winslow – Toreva Highway|
|Dedicated to the Honorable Carl Hayden, United States Senator and to the Honorable Frank R. Goodman, former State Highway Engineer. Both being good roads advocates who by their close application and untiring efforts contributed much to the establishment and construction of the Winslow-Tovera Highway — Map (db m36275) HM|
|Arizona (Pima County), Oro Valley — Cañada Del Oro|
|For early travelers the road through this canyon was one of the most dangerous in Arizona. Indians attacked lone riders and wagon trains along this route from Tucson to Old Camp Grant on the San Pedro River. Despite the canyon's name, very little gold was ever found here.
Source: Historical Markers within the Arizona Department of Transportation Right of Way. Prepared by: Roadside Development Section, April 1, 1997 — Map (db m48999) HM|
|Arizona (Pima County), Tucson — Catalina Federal Honor Camp — Gordon Hirabayashi Recreation Site|
| Why Put A Prison On A Mountain?
Honor Camp prisoners built the Mt. Lemmon Highway
In the early 20th century, the only road to Mt. Lemmon began at the town of Oracle and snaked up the north face of the mountain.
Construction of the Mt. Lemmon Highway, a much shorter route from Tucson, began in 1933. To cut cost, prisoners supplied most of the labor, and a "Federal Honor Camp" was built here in 1939 to replace the temporary prison camps along the route.
At first, . . . — Map (db m34595) HM|
|Arizona (Pima County), Tucson — Honorable Frank Harris Hitchcock|
|This beautiful highway was made possible by his sincere interest and unceasing efforts. It is dedicated to him and shall be known as"Hitchcock Highway" — Map (db m30020) HM|
|Arizona (Pima County), Tucson — Pennington Footbridge|
|Memorial to Elias Pennington, pioneer rancher, farmer, miner, freighter and lumberman. In 1857, he came from Texas with his twelve children settling in various locations around southern Arizona for several years. Near this site, in 1863, Pennington set up a pit for whipsawing timber in the arroyo just south of the old presidio wall. Tragically, by 1870, Elias and five members of his family were dead – victims of the hardships and dangers of frontier life. "Calle del Arroyo" was later . . . — Map (db m26431) HM|
|Arizona (Pima County), Vail — Vail Sonoita Highway|
Located and constructed in 1918 by
First State Engineer of Arizona
Member of the Constitutional Convention
Born 1870 -- Athens, Georgia
Died 1926 -- Phoenix, Arizona
Erected to his memory
George P. Hunt – Governor — Map (db m27293) HM|
|Arizona (Yavapai County), Ash Fork — Ash Fork Maintenance Camp #1|
Built circa 1926-27
by the Arizona Department
This building constructed of Moenkopi Sandstone, has been listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
The Ash Fork Camp location was selected because it is a junction point of the Old Trails and Grand Canyon-Nogales Highways leading south, and also a junction of the Santa Fe Railroad.
Ash Fork Camp played a significant role maintaining Route 66 during the great westward migration. — Map (db m33443) HM|
|Arizona (Yavapai County), Camp Verde — "0" Mile Post General Crook Trail|
|The Crook Road begins at this point
with the first in a series of mile markers
across the Mogollon Rim segment of the
military supply trail connecting Forts
Whipple, Verde and Apache. Reconnoitered
in 1871 by General George Crook with a
small detachment of cavalry, the route was
100 miles shorter than earlier trails and
opened the rugged Rim country to tactical
operations. The Boy Scouts of America,
Grand Canyon Council, re-marked the road in
1975-76 as a Bicentennial . . . — Map (db m28561) HM|
|Arizona (Yavapai county), Prescott — Simmons, Arizona|
|This is the site of ‘the crossing' on the Mojave-Prescott "Hardyville" toll road. The road was authorized by the first territorial legislature and was built by W. H. Hardy, connecting Prescott with Hardyville on the Colorado River.
William John Simmons built a home, bar, hotel, dance hall, post office, store, corrals, blacksmith, and storage buildings here. — Map (db m33134) HM|
|Arizona (Yavapai County), Seligman — Beale Wagon Road — Seligman, Arizona|
|From 1857 to 1860 Lt. Edward F. Beale and a crew of 100 men built the first federal highway in the southwest. The 1857 Beale Expedition used 22 camels and dromedaries for pack animals. This road went from Fort Smith, Arkansas to Los Angeles, California at a cost of $210,000. The Beale Wagon Road was used by military troops and emigrants en route to California. Herds of cattle and sheep were driven over the route until 1883.
Information compiled by Jack Beale Smith — Map (db m32206) HM|
|Arizona (Yuma County), Wellton — Red Top Wash Bridge|
|Constructed 1931, Widened 1949
Federal Highway Administration
Arizona State Highway Department
Owner: Yuma County
Designer: TransSystems Corporation
Contractor: Bison Contracting Co.
The Arizona State Highway Department placed a 4-span, 160 feet long, reinforced concrete T-beam bridge over Red Top Wash in 1931 as part of its efforts to improve the main road between Phoenix and Yuma. Its route approximates the old Gila Trail, a military and wagon road and the . . . — Map (db m62009) HM|
|Arizona (Yuma County), Yuma — El Camino Del Diablo — (The Devils Highway)|
|Early day route from Sonora to California over the path taken by Father Eusebio Kino in 1700 when he sought to discover if California was part of the American mainland the parched desert along this route has claimed hundreds of lives particularly during the California Gold Rush of 1849. — Map (db m28968) HM|
|Arkansas (Baxter County), Mountain Home — Old Military Road|
|About 1800 near this spot white man established the first trail from East to West across Baxter County. Later some of the Cherokee Indians were moved to Oklahoma using this route which was known as the Trail of Tears. — Map (db m62248) HM|
|Arkansas (Benton County), Avoca — Sesquicentennial Trail of the Centuries — Benton County Arkansas Sesquicentennial Monument 1836 - 1986 — Arkansas Sesquicentennial 1836 - 1986|
800 AD • Trace of the Rock People
1808 • Osage Boundary
1815 • Lawrence County
1827-28 • Lovely County
1838 • Trail of Tears
1840 • Trott's Stand
1858 • Old Wire Road
1858-61 • Butterfield Stage Route
1861 • Troop Trails
1862 • Civil War Earth Works
1882 • St. Louis and San Francisco Railroad
1896 • Birthplace of Field Kindley, WWI Ace
1913 • Coin Harvey's Ozark Trail
1926 • U.S. Highway 62
1956 • Poet Edsel Ford's "Sunday Creek"
— Map (db m62485) HM|
|Arkansas (Benton County), Garfield — Lifeline for Two Armies|
|Elkhorn Tavern overlooks a highway of vital importance for Arkansas and Missouri during the Civil War. Union and Confederate leaders both wanted this 20-foot-wide dirt road to move men and supplies. Alongside the road ran 3-year-old telegraph wires, the latest way to send information and fast. In the week before battle broke out here, both armies had hurriedly marched southward past this crossroads and tavern. The night before the shooting started, Union troops from Missouri set up a small . . . — Map (db m35660) HM|
|Arkansas (Clay County), St. Francis — Chalk Bluff Crossing and Town|
|Since Crowley's Ridge provided the only natural route for north-south travel across the lowlands of northeastern Arkansas, an Indian trail and later a military road crossed the river here. About 1840 Abraham Seitz established a ferry which was later operated by Timothy Dalton. The town which grew up near the crossing faded away after 1882 when the railroad bridged the river downstream at the new town of St. Francis. — Map (db m4912) HM|
|Arkansas (Grant County), Leola — Red River Campaign — Battle of Jenkins' Ferry|
| Tablet #1 Jenkins' Ferry State Park Act 10 of 1961 authorized this 37-acre state park as a commemorative site and recreation area. The park includes the ferry site where you are standing. The ferry was operated by the Jenkins' family prior to the Civil War and aided travelers on the Camden Road - a major travel route in pioneer Arkansas. In April of 1864, this site gained Civil War fame. Retreating from Camden to the safety of Little Rock, the Union Army was attacked by Confederate . . . — Map (db m37304) HM|
|Arkansas (Washington County), Fayetteville — Butterfield Stage Route|
This tablet marks a part of the
Butterfield Stage Route
from St. Louis to San Francisco
1857 – 1860 — Map (db m59888) HM|
|Arkansas (Washington County), Fayetteville — Will Rogers — To The Memory Of|
| Whose heartfelt understanding
of his fellowman
made possible the planning
of this avenue
February 1931 — Map (db m59914) HM|
|Arkansas (Washington County), Springdale — Fitzgerald's Station|
| Here on this, the Old Wire Road, was located Fitzgerald's Station on the Butterfield Overland mail route from St. Louis to San Francisco. First trip 1858. Last 1861. Longest and best conducted mail route in the world. 2795 miles. Service twice weekly. Fare $200.00. Time 25 days. 140 stations for exchange of horses and passengers. — Map (db m59950) HM|
|California (Alameda County), Dublin — Amador Valley Hotel — (Later the Dublin Hotel)|
|For 86 years a favorite congregating spot. Built by John Green in 1860, with a balcony over the porch and a gabled roof. A famous cross-roads stop and transfer point on the Oakland-Stockton and Martinez-San Jose stagecoach routes intil the 1890's and then for buses until demolished in January 1946.
This marker stands on the site of the front doors. — Map (db m59944) HM|
|California (Alameda County), Livermore — Duarte Garage — Built 1915|
Service Station and Car Dealership
Situated on the Original Route
of the Lincoln Highway
City of Livermore
Historic Preservation Site
Dedicated July 1996
The Livermore Heritage Guild — Map (db m19994) HM|
|California (Alameda County), Oakland — El Camino Rancho San Antonio|
|About 1820, along this route ran the earliest known road from Mission San Jose over Rancho San Antonio to the ranchos north.
Erected by Oakland Chapter,
Daughters of the American Revolution,
1939 — Map (db m54112) HM|
|California (Alpine County), Bear Valley — Old Emigrant Road|
|This Sierra Crossing used by Jedediah Smith 1821 - Major John Ebbetts 1850 - Snowshoe Thompson 1856-76 - Gold Seekers 1850's. Old road left Carson Pass Road in Hope Valley, crossed Border Ruffian Pass to Hermit Valley, Pacific Summit and through Bear Valley to Big Trees. Big Trees Carson Valley Turnpike Co. built toll road over Ebbetts Pass to Silver Mountain in 1860's. Harvey Blood collected tolls at this point from 1864-1910. — Map (db m10730) HM|
|California (Alpine County), Kirkwood — First Summit|
|Below this ridge is what some pioneers dubbed the “Devils Ladder.” A name reflecting the steepness and extreme difficulty that pioneers experienced as they began their ascent over the Sierra Nevada. This climb was usually referred to as the “first summit” or “three quarter mountain.” It was called “three quarter mountain” because it was only three quarters of a mile from Red Lake to the summit.
A staging area was set up at the base of the . . . — Map (db m21284) HM|
|California (Alpine County), Kirkwood — 378 — Memorial to Pioneer Odd Fellows|
|At this point in August 1849, a group of Odd Fellows nearing their goal, the California gold mines,
paused in their struggle up these granite walls to
paint on this and adjacent boulders their names
and the three links of the Great Order
They so dearly loved.
Pioneers of California
Pioneers of the Brotherhood of Man
We Salute You. Your bodies have blended with the dust of the West. Your spirit lives and inspires.
Dedicated to their memory, by the Grand Lodge of California . . . — Map (db m21293) HM|
|California (Alpine County), Kirkwood — Naming of Carson Pass|
|In February of 1844, John C. Fremont led a group of men over these mountains as they struggled to reach Sutter’s Fort. Little did they know that the pass, which lay 20 to 30 feet under the snow beneath them, would be a major route for the Gold Rush in just a few years. Kit Carson, for whom the pass eventually be named, was among the group. Payroll records show that he was hired as a hunter and Indian Fighter and that Thomas Fitzpatrick was the official guide for the expedition.
On this . . . — Map (db m21278) HM|
|California (Alpine County), Kirkwood — 661 — Old Emigrant Road|
|Here the Old Emigrant Road of 1848 swung down across the meadow now covered by Caples Lake (Twin Lakes) and climbed along the ridge at the right to the gap at the head of the valley. From this summit (9,460 feet) it descended to Placerville. This rough and circuitous section became obsolete in 1863 when a better route was blasted out of the face of the cliff at Carson Spur.
California Registered Historical Landmark No. 661
Plaque placed by the California State Park Commission in . . . — Map (db m45025) HM|
|California (Alpine County), Markleeville — 318 — Ebbetts Pass — Historical Landmark|
|Named after Major John Ebbett and pointed out in 1853 to surveyor G.H. Goodard who referred to it as a “route of great promise – probably the best one for a transcontinental railway.”
No emigrant train used this route but a stage road was completed here in 1864 to serve mining region of Silver City. — Map (db m11444) HM|
|California (Alpine County), Markleeville — Hermit Valley — Historical Landmark|
|In 1856 a road was completed following the present sign route 4 from Murphys to this point, and thence northward via Faith and Charity Valleys to Hope Valley where it joined the Carson Pass Road. This connection was used by emigrants in 1856 and 1857. Remnants of the route are still visable to the north of this sign and along State Route 4 to the west. — Map (db m10316) HM|
|California (Alpine County), Woodfords — The Pony Express - Woodfords|
|During the initial five weeks of its operation in 1860, an important remount station of the famous Pony Express was located a few feet from here at Cary’s Barn.
This monument erected by the Historical Society of Alpine County.
National Pony Express Centennial Association;
Dwight D. Eisenhower—Chairman,
Waddell R. Smith—President,
Sherrill Halbert—Director at Large. — Map (db m612) HM|
|California (Alpine County), Woodfords — 805 — Woodfords Station|
|Historic Woodfords Station, the Eastern Sierra gateway to the goldfields of California, way station of the famed Pony Express, and entrance to Carson Pass on the Emigrant Trail to the Sacramento Valley. Beginning in 1849 with the building of the “Sign of the Elephant” hotel by Daniel Woodsfords, it was the first settlement in what is today Alpine County. In 1854 Willis P. Merrill opened a trading post in the area and later a hotel and store.
Dedicated in truth, liberty and . . . — Map (db m611) HM|
|California (Amador County), Kit Carson — Mormon-Carson Pass Emigrant Trail|
|Mormon-Carson Pass Emigrant Trail, the heavily-travelled gateway to California gold fields, was blazed in 1848 by discharged members of the Mormon battalion traveling east to join their families.
Five hundred Mormon volunteers, recruited in Iowa, served one year in the Army of the West under command of Col. P. St. George Cooke during the war with Mexico. After their discharge in Los Angeles in July 1847, about 100 men worked in the Sacramento area for John Sutter over the winter to obtain . . . — Map (db m10824) HM|
|California (Amador County), Kit Carson — Peddler Hill Overlook|
| This marker is made up of three separate panels.
From a narrow dirt wagon road to a scenic byway, the Carson Route has evolved over time to meet the needs of generations of travelers and our changing means of transportation.
1844 - On their way to Sutter’s Fort in Sacramento, John C. Fremont and Kit Carson, followed and ancient Indian trading route over Carson Pass.
Discharged members of the Mormon Battalion crossed the route from . . . — Map (db m45050) HM|
|California (Amador County), Kit Carson — 338 — Tragedy Spring — No 338 — Erected 1967|
|This campsite on the Kit Carson Emigrant Trail was a resting place for California settlers. It was named by members of the Mormon Battalion enroute to Salt Lake Valley. Three of their men, serving as advance trail scouts, were murdered here by unknown persons June 27, 1848. Battalion friends, arriving a few days later, buried them in a common grave and carved their names (Henderson Cox, Ezra Allen, Daniel Browett) on a nearby tree, thus preserving the grave’s location. — Map (db m21273) HM|
|California (Amador County), Martell — To The Memory of Mike Tovey — Wells Fargo Messenger|
|Michael (“Mike”) Tovey, Wells Fargo Messenger was killed and DeWitt Clinton Radcliff, stage driver injured on this spot, June 15, 1893, by a lone bandit who attempted to hold up the regular six-horse stage on the old Ione - Jackson Stage Road.
A line of stages was established in 1850, running between Sacramento and Sonora via Q Ranch (near Ione) Jackson, Mokelumne Hill, Angels and Columbia. Over $256,000,000 in gold bullion is said to have been carried in the early days over . . . — Map (db m41555) HM|
|California (Amador County), Plymouth — Forest Home — 1850's — Stage and Freight Stopover|
|Copper mines patented 1873:
Peak Outputs: Early 1860’s, 1895-1917, 1943-1947,
Township organized 1854.
A Methodist center for many years
U.S. Postoffice: 1862-1905 — Map (db m11361) HM|
|California (Butte County), Berry Creek — B047 — Beckworth Trail – Berry Creek|
|“We left here at half past four intending to go as far as Bidwell Bar. We passed on a bridge which crosses a pond made by damming a stream for the purpose of running (a) sawmill which is situated here” – James Woodworth, Aug. 19, 1853 — Map (db m61682) HM|
|California (Butte County), Forest Ranch — 14 Mile House|
|In June, 1864, the Chico and Humboldt Wagon Road Company began to construct a road to connect Chico with the Idaho mines. A toll station for the Chico and Humboldt Wagon Road stood nearby to the left.
A Georgian, Nick Spires, is said to have built the first accommodation here on the rim of Little Chico Creek Canyon for travelers and their livestock. The name longest associated with the popular inn is Paul Lucas, who bought the land from Spires. His son John built a fine two-story hotel. A . . . — Map (db m61766) HM|
|California (Calaveras County), Angels Camp — Archie D. Stevenot — “Mr. Mother Lode”|
|September 25, 1882 – August 1, 1968
Founder of Mother Lode Association in 1919, which created colorful Highway 49 – California’s first highway association.
Plaque and 100 year capsules placed on July 23, 1976 by Golden Chain Council of the Mother Lode and Grand Council of E Clampus Vitus — Map (db m6876) HM|
|California (Calaveras County), Avery — Avery Hotel — Formerly Half-Way House|
|Hotel and stagecoach relay station, halfway between Murphys and Big Trees. Settled in the 1850’s by Joseph and Sarah Goodell. Purchased by Peter Avery, then operated by three generations of Averys - Peter and Nancy, George and Henrietta and Morton and Louise. Overnight stops for logging, freight teams and stockmen with herds to and from summer ranges. Later a resort for guests, hunting and fishing parties. — Map (db m10615) HM|
|California (Calaveras County), Copperopolis — Copperopolis Historical Plaza|
| (There are five markers and one dedication plaque affixed to the flagpole pedestal.)
History of Copperopolis
Copper (for ore) + opolos (for city)
Originally known as Copper Canyon, Copperopolis was established in 1860 when copper was discovered here. Known as “Copper” to the locals, Copperopolis was a thriving copper mining town during the Civil War and the second largest copper producing area in the U.S. and provided most of the copper needs for the Union Army. . . . — Map (db m62356) HM|
|California (Calaveras County), Copperopolis — 281 — O'Bryne Ferry|
|In 1852 a chain cable bridge replaced the ferries that once crossed here, to be supplanted in its turn by a covered truss structure in 1862. Some writers claimed this was the locale of Bret Harte's Poker Flat. In late “49” there was a large camp here, with miners washing gold out on both banks of the Stanislaus River. — Map (db m13013) HM|
|California (Calaveras County), Dorrington — Board's Crossing|
|Board’s Crossing was first used as a cattle crossing in the early 1870’s. Brothers David and William Board moved here from Missouri in 1854. They settled in Salt Springs Valley and raised cattle. This shallow ford across the river was a favorite with local ranchers as the cattle were moved to the mountains each summer. The family built their small cabin here, which still stands. The Boards continued this operation for nearly 30 years then sold to the pioneer family Nichols in 1906.
Dedicated . . . — Map (db m58791) HM|
|California (Calaveras County), San Andreas — 258 — Fourth Crossing|
|Located on the Stockton-Murphy Road at the fourth crossing of the Calaveras River, this early mining settlement, once called Foremans, was famous in the 1850's for its rich placer ores. Later, it became an important stage and freighting depot and served the Southern Mines until after the turn of the century. — Map (db m11969) HM|
|California (Contra Costa County), Clayton — Black Diamond Way|
|In 1892 Contra Costa County named Black Diamond Way, and maintained it as a road until 1982. (Locally it was also known as "Nortonville Road".) Black Diamond Way became part of Black Diamond Mt. Diablo Regional Trail in 1985.
Black Diamond District coal mines operated from 1861 until circa 1900. Between 1867 and 1883 they produced over 100,000 tons annually. Coal was hauled to river landings by teams and rail.
Miners and families from Mt. Diablo coalfield towns crossed Mt. Diablo Creek . . . — Map (db m27431) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Coloma — 748 — The Coloma Road|
|Here in the Valley of the Cul-lum-mah Indians, James W. Marshall discovered gold on January 24, 1848, in the tailrace of Sutter’s sawmill. The Old Coloma Road, opened in 1847 from Sutter’s Fort to Coloma, was used by Marshall to carry the news of the discovery to Captain John A. Sutter. During the Goldrush it was used by thousands of miners going to and from the diggings. In 1849 it became the route of California’s first stage-line, established by James E. Birch. — Map (db m12272) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), El Dorado — 486 — El Dorado|
|El Dorado, meaning “The Gilded One”, was first known as Mud Springs from the boggy quagmire the cattle and horses made of a nearby watering place.
Originally a important camp along the old Carson Emigrant Trail. By 1849 – 50 it had become the center of a mining district and the crossroads for freight and stage lines. At the height of the Rush its large gold production supported a population of several thousand. — Map (db m13148) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), El Dorado Hills — 699 — Mormon Tavern — Overland Pony Express Route - California|
|At this site on the old Clarksville-White Rock Emigrant Road was Mormon Tavern. Constructed in 1849, this popular stage stop was enlarged and operated by Franklin Winchell in 1851. It became a remount station of the Central Overland Pony Express and on April 4, 1860, pony rider Sam (Bill) Hamilton changed horses here on the first eastbound trip. — Map (db m12056) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), El Dorado Hills — Sterlingshire — Historical Site|
|The Central Overland Pony Express passed this site many times. Green Valley Road was the gateway to the gold region, and was the center of activities in the 1850’s & 60’s, where many early California Inns were located. In the late 1800’s a stagecoach, driven by 13 year old Fred Dixon, a member of the Dixon family who were former owners of the property, also passed this way. — Map (db m11311) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Kyburz — 705 — Moore’s (Riverton)|
|This was the site of a change station of the Pioneer Stage Company in the 1850’s and 1860’s. During 1860-1861, the Central Overland Pony Express maintained here the first pony remount station east of Sportsman’s Hall. — Map (db m57977) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Kyburz — Riverton Bridge|
|These stone obelisks are all that’s left of the original four that once stood on the corners of the stone arch bridge spanning the American River from 1900 to 1930.
This monument erected by Caltrans District 3 History Committee and the California Transportation Commission, 1990. — Map (db m23183) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Kyburz — 706 — Webster’s — (Sugar Loaf House)|
|This was the site of Webster's Sugar Loaf House, well-known stopping place during the Comstock rush. Beginning in April 1860, it was used as a remount station of the Central Overland Pony Express. In 1861 it became a horse change station for pioneer stage companies and the Overland Mail. — Map (db m14177) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Placerville — Placerville|
| . . . — Map (db m16024) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Placerville — 701 — Placerville Pony Express — Station and Terminus|
|Gold Rush town and Western Terminus of the Placerville – Carson Road to the Comstock. Placerville was a relay station of the Central Overland Pony Express, April 4, 1860 – June 30, 1861. Here on April 4, 1860 the first east-bound pony rider, William (Sam) Hamilton changed horses, added one express letter to his mochila, and sped away for Sportsman’s Hall. On July 1, 1861, Placerville became the Western Terminus of the Pony Express, until its discontinuance on October 26, 1861. — Map (db m57973) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Pollack Pines — The Pony Express - Sportsman’s Hall|
|California’s only Home Station where riders changed on the Pony Express trail. Here, at 8:01 A.M. on April 4, 1860, Sam Hamilton, first eastbound rider, was relieved by Warren Upson who carried the initial mail over the then storm swept Sierras.
Sacramento — Friday’s — Salt Lake City — Ft. Laramie — Julesburg — Ft. Kearny — Marysville — St. Joseph. — Map (db m613) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Pollock Pines — 704 — Sportsman’s Hall|
|This was the site of Sportsman’s Hall, also known as Twelve-Mile House. The hotel operated in the late 1850’s and 1860’s by John and James Blair, a stopping place for stages and teams of the comstock. It became a relay station of the Central Overland Pony Express. Here, at 7:40 A.M., April 4, 1860, Pony Rider William (Sam) Hamilton, riding in from Placerville, handed the express mail to Warren Upson, who, two minutes later, sped on his way eastward.
California Registered Historical . . . — Map (db m609) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Rescue — Old Coloma Road|
|With the discovery of gold on January 24, 1848, Coloma Road became one of the primary routes to the gold fields of El Dorado County. The road started at Sutter’s Fort (New Helvitia), then proceeded to Willow Springs (near Folsom), Mormon Island, Green Valley (near Rescue), Rose Springs, turned north at Tennessee Creek, crossed Dry Creek and then Weber Creek, and continued on to Coloma. Soon thereafter, a connection to Uniontown (Lotus) was built and the present-day general road alignment for Green Valley Road and Lotus Roads completed. — Map (db m11282) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Rescue — 747 — The Coloma Road|
|Past this point on the Old Coloma Road, running between Sutter’s Fort and his sawmill on the American River, James W. Marshall rode with the first gold discovered at Coloma on Jan. 24, 1848. Traveled by thousands to and from the diggings, this road became the route of California’s earliest stage line, established in 1849 by James E. Birch. — Map (db m11268) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), South Lake Tahoe — Tahoe By Car — Automotive Adventures|
|Imagine what an adventure it must have been for Tahoe’s early motorists. Traveling in open-air Model Ts and Oldsmobiles, vacationers began driving as roads connected the Lake’s recreation spots. Completed in 1913, a rough road around Emerald Bay linked Tahoe’s south and west shores. Today the highway is known as Highway 89.
Workers spent months dynamiting the route out of granite to complete the road. A popular steamer excursion brought vacationers to the bay to witness the rocks being . . . — Map (db m35112) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Strawberry — 707 — Strawberry Valley House|
|This popular resort and stopping place for stages and teams of the Comstock, established by Swift and Watson in 1856, became a remount station of the Central Overland Pony Express on April 4, 1860. Here on that date division superintendent Bolivar Roberts waited with a string of mules to help pony rider Warren Upson through the snowstorm on Echo Summit.
California Registered Historical Landmark No. 707 — Map (db m436) HM|
|California (Fresno County), Clovis — 9 — Academy|
|One Quarter mile NW of here in a grove of oak tress on the south bank of Dog Creek was established "The Academy" in 1872. It was the first secondary school in Fresno County. J.D. Collins, later Sheriff was the first teacher. Just easterly of The Academy stood the small M. E. South Church built in 1869, and still in use. The stage route from Visalia to Millerton passed nearby and soon a small village sprang up including a hotel, store, stables, and a Post Office to which the name "Academy" . . . — Map (db m28014) HM|
|California (Fresno County), Coalinga — Bob’s 76 Service — 296 E. Elm Street – 1939-1960 — “Bob’s 76 Service, Robert Schatt, owner”|
|Mr. Robert “Bob” Schatt purchased a lot at this location in 1938. The lot was bought from a Mr. Tom Glenchur for the purpose of building a “Union Oil” service station. Bob opened the station in 1939. During World War II, Bob wouldn’t drive his own car so he could save his ration stamps for the G.I.’s to use when they came home on leave. Bob ran the service station with the help of his daughter “Anna Louise” until his death in 1950. — Map (db m64161) HM|
|California (Fresno County), Coalinga — Richfield Service Station|
Built in Coalinga
On the corner of
Fifth and Glenn St.
Restored in 2003
Moved to this location 2004
The R.C. Baker Museum
Plaque donated by
Vincent and Lois Motte
Family Trust — Map (db m63890) HM|
|California (Fresno County), Firebaugh — 10 — Andrew Davidson Firebaugh - Firebaugh's Ferry|
|Andrew Davidson Firebaugh was born in Virginia in 1823. He served with the Texas Mounted Riflemen in the Mexican War. Coming to Californian in 1849, he fought in the Mariposa Indian War under Major James D. Savage on the expedition that discovered Yosemite in 1854. He established a trading post and ferry on the San Joaquin River one quarter mile due north of here. Known as Firebaugh's Ferry, it was a station on the great Butterfield Overland Stage Route. He built the first road over Pacheco . . . — Map (db m28015) HM|
|California (Fresno County), Humphreys Station — Humphrey Station|
|This site was originally called Mechanicsville, gradually changing to Humphrey Station after Miles Humphreys' store. Miles Humphreys came to California to join his brother John after the Civil War and saw an opportunity by opening his store at this crossroads. Although not an official stage stop, the Butterfield Stage dropped off passengers at Humphrey's store to get "refreshed". Passengers included for the most part working class men from the lumber industry.
Thus, Humphreys is the only . . . — Map (db m28272) HM|
|California (Fresno County), Reedley — 29 — Poole's Ferry — Smith's Ferry|
Side A - North
Most important of Kings River's earliest crossings, it was operated from 1851 - 1857 by William Campbell and John Poole 3 miles above this point. The ferry and its trading post served travelers and miners. In July, 1852, it became the focus of violence when an armed party led by Walter Harvey, Tulare County's first judge, raided a Choinumni Yocuts Indian Village. Yosemite discoverer Major James D. Savage, famed Indian trader and peacemaker, tried . . . — Map (db m28844) HM|
|California (Fresno County), Tollhouse — 11 — Tollhouse|
|In the early 60's Elijah Sarvers, a solitary goatherd, was the first non-Indian here. In 1866 the Woods Bros. began making shakes on Pine Ridge, hiring Indians to carry them down the mountain. In 1867 the county granted them a franchise to build a toll road and fixed the rates. As more mills sprang up a village grew around the toll house. The county bought the road in 1878 and its use became free. It was so steep that despite the great skill of the long line teamsters, an occasional outfit . . . — Map (db m28016) HM|
|California (Humboldt County), Eureka — Harold G Larsen / Vista Point|
|1925 — 1972
Hal, a native of San Diego, was graduated from San Diego State College with a degree in Civil Engineering, and subsequently started work with the California Division of Highways in that area.
As a person dedicated to serving the needs of others, Hal served as a Planning Commissioner with the Walnut Creek Planning Commission, was instrumental in formation of the Humboldt County United Crusade, was an active member of the Calvary Lutheran Church, the Eureka Rotary . . . — Map (db m1556) HM|
|California (Humboldt County), Patrick's Point — William Z. Hegy — 1915 - 1986|
|A native of Plunkett, Saskatchewan, Canada. Graduated from Stanford University with a degree in Civil Engineering, began work with the Division of Highways in 1936. He worked in many positions and locations throughout his career, becoming State Maintenance Engineer prior to serving as Caltrans District Director in Eureka.
He was active in the community as President of the Eureka Rotary Club and the United Way; commissioner of the Boy Scouts of America; Board Chairman of Humboldt Area . . . — Map (db m1509) HM|
|California (Humboldt County), Redcrest — Sam Helwer|
|1913 — 1991
Sam Helwer, the son of German-Russian immigrants, began his life on a small dairy farm in Russell, Kansas. In 1936 he began his career with the California Division of Highways as an Engineering Aid. By the 1940's he was Project Engineer for the world's first four-level freeway interchange in Los Angeles; and became nationally recognized as State expert on freeway interchange design. Although eventually promoted to Deputy State Highway Engineer, Sam Helwer is best . . . — Map (db m1558) HM|
|California (Imperial County), Jacumba — 194 — Mountain Springs Station Site|
|From 1862-70, Peter Larkin and Joe Stancliff used a stone house about a mile north of here as a store from which ox teams pulled wagons up a 30% grade. The San Diego and Fort Yuma Turnpike Co. used the site as a toll road station until 1876. The crumbling house was replaced in 1917 by another still visible to its east. But road changes, beginning in 1878 and culminating in today's highway, have left the older stone house ruins inaccessible. — Map (db m50232) HM|
|California (Imperial County), Winterhaven — Ben Hulse Highway — Dedicated for Public Use — March 21, 1964|
|This highway parallels the old Indian trail, still visible from here, connecting the Imperial and Palo Verde Valleys.
The grateful people of Imperial County honor the memory of our beloved Senator Ben Hulse, who worked untiringly for the people of the State of California.
Ben Hulse Highway completes the four state system from Canada to Mexico which culminates twenty five years of work by countless civic minded citizens. — Map (db m57702) HM|
|California (Imperial County), Winterhaven — 845 — Plank Road — 1914 - 1927|
|This unique plank road seven miles long was the only mens early motorists had for crossing the treacherous Imperial Sand Dunes. The eight by twelve foot sections were moved with a team of horses whenever the shifting sands covered portions of the road. Double sections were placed at intervals to permit vehicles to pass. — Map (db m50682) HM|
|California (Imperial County), Winterhaven — The Plank Road — Planks, Mules, and Model Ts|
|The Plank Road once provided the only means of crossing the treacherous Imperial Sand Dunes. This historic road spurred settlement of Imperial County and development of San Diego at the start of the automobile age. — Map (db m50618) HM|
|California (Inyo County), Big Pine — Westgaard Pass Toll Road|
|Camp Independence soldiers needed a road to Waucoba-Deep Springs. In 1873 J. S. "Scott" Broder completed this road and collected tolls until 1900. In 1913 A. L. Westgaard led an American Automobile Assn. tour across here, seeking a new Transcontinental Route, state took over road in 1925. — Map (db m54425) HM|
|California (Inyo County), Cartago — "Cottonwood Charcoal Kilns"|
[Upper Main Marker:]
In June 1873 Colonel Sherman Stevens built a sawmill and flume on Cottonwood Creek high in the Sierra’s directly west of this spot. The flume connected with the Los Angeles Bullion Road. The lumber from the flume was used for timbering in the mines, and buildings, and the wood was turned into charcoal in these kilns, then hauled to Stevens Wharf east of here on Owens Lake. There it was put on the steamer, The "Bessie Brady," or the "Molly Stevens" hauled . . . — Map (db m52104) HM|
|California (Inyo County), Furnace Creek — 20 Mule Team Wagon Train — 1885|
|Used in hauling borax from Death Valley to
Mojave, 165 miles - 10 days. The borax weighed
24 tons. The entire weight totaled 36½ tons. — Map (db m32077) HM|
|California (Inyo County), Furnace Creek — 442 — Death Valley 49ers Gateway|
|Through this natural gateway the Death Valley Forty-niners. More than one hundred emigrants from the middle west seeking a shortcut to gold fields of central California, entered Death Valley in
December,1849. All suffered from thirst and starvation. Two contingents went southwest from here, the others proceeded northward seeking an escape from region. — Map (db m31911) HM|
|California (Kern County), Bakersfield — Cook Wagon|
| During the 1880s, this wagon was used by a cook as a portable kitchen to prepare meals for field hands employed by the Kern County Land Company.
The wagon is equipped with a pantry for storing vegetables and bread, a sink, a work space with bins for flour and sugar and a room to hang meat.
The Kern County Land Company, founded by Lloyd Tevis and James Ben Ali Haggin, once owned vast expanses of land in Kern County.
The Kern County Land Company donated this cook wagon, . . . — Map (db m26973) HM|
|California (Kern County), Bakersfield — 137 — Gordons Ferry — California Historic Landmark|
|Gordon’s Ferry was an overhead cable type of ferry operated during the 1850’s by Major Gordon. An adobe station house was located on the south bank of Kern River, just a few yards to the west of this marker. It was also a station on the Butterfield Overland mail stage route from 1858 to 1860. — Map (db m25149) HM|
|California (Kern County), Bakersfield — 588 — Kern River Slough|
Just south of this point stood the Butterfield Overland Stage site known as Kern River Slough. Operating through present Kern County during 1858 – 1861. This famous line ran from St. Louis, Missouri to San Francisco until the outbreak of the Civil War.
Dedicated June 30, 1957
Marker placed by
Kern County Historical Society
El Tejon Parlor No. 239 N.D.G.W.
Kern County Museum
State Registered Historical Landmark No. 588
Re-dedicated Oct. 6, 1996 — Map (db m24946) HM|
|California (Kern County), Bakersfield — 539 — Posey Station of Butterfield Overland Mail Lines|
|Two and one-half miles east of this point stood the Posey Station on the Butterfield Overland Stage route that ran from St. Louis, Missouri through present-day Kern County to San Francisco during 1858-61, until the outbreak of the Civil War. — Map (db m25444) HM|
|California (Kern County), Boron — Twenty Mule Team|
|This is one of the original twenty mule team wagons, built to carry borax out of Death Valley – through 165 miles of desolated mountains and blistering deserts – to the nearest railroad junction in Mojave. It took 20 days to make the round trip and deliver 20 tons of borax. The teams worked steadily from 1883 to 1888. — Map (db m50450) HM|
|California (Kern County), Buttonwillow — 492 — Buttonwillow Tree — California Historical Landmark|
|A lone tree landmark on an old trans-valley trail. It was an ancient Yokuts Indian meeting place, later a location for white stock rodeos. Miller and Lux established their headquarters and store here about 1885. The town of Buttonwillow takes its name from this old tree and rodeo grounds. — Map (db m50251) HM|
|California (Kern County), California City — The Randsburg - Mojave Road|
|The Randsburg Mojave Road was built by Rice & Shippee of Mojave to speed stage transportation from the Southern Pacific railroad station at Mojave, to the rich gold mines in the Randsburg area; service commenced on November 22, 1898. The stage left Mojave at 9 o’clock and arrived at Randsburg at 2 o’clock, just five hours after leaving Mojave. This new route was only 36 miles, versus the 54-mile (and eight hour) route through Garlock. The cost of a one-way ticket was three dollars.
The . . . — Map (db m48893) HM|
|California (Kern County), Edison — 660 — Point On The Jedediah Smith Trail|
|About February 1, 1827, Jedediah Strong Smith, first American to reach Mexican California overland, passed near this spot with his party of fur trappers. From San Gabriel Mission, the group was en route north to a land reported teeming with 'plenty of beaver.' Smith and his men were trailblazers whose exploits soon led to the American conquest of California.
— Map (db m51855) HM|
|California (Kern County), Frazier Park — El Camino Viejo|
El Camino Viejo (The Old Highway) began as an inland trail prior to 1800. It was originally a refugee route running between present day San Pedro in Southern California to the East Oakland area in the north. It was used by Indians, trappers, packers, prospectors, and settlers. Cattle and horse herds were also driven over it. In later years it became a wagon road. — Map (db m52115) HM|
|California (Kern County), Glennville — Lynn’s Bull Road|
|William Lynn completed his Bull Road past this site from Linn’s Valley across Greenhorn Mountain to Keyesville in 1856. This freight route was used until the opening of the McFarlane Toll Road through Glennville en route to the Kern River Mines in 1864. — Map (db m25196) HM|
|California (Kern County), Havilah — Stage Robbery!|
|The last stage coach robbery in Kern County occurred near here on August 26, 1896. The Kernville stage to Caliente was held-up by a lone gunman on horseback who got $1,700 in coin and gold bullion from the Wells Fargo strong box. He did not molest the passengers, however, although the local citizens searched doggedley, the loot was never recovered nor the bandit ever apprehended, as a result of the stick up, the route was discontinued, thus ending an era. — Map (db m51822) HM|
|California (Kern County), Inyokern — 766 — Freeman Junction|
|In 1834 explorer Joseph R. Walker passed this junction of Indian trails after discovering nearby Walker Pass. Death Valley 49er parties here diverged west and south after their escape from Death Valley enroute to the California gold fields. Later this became a junction point where the bandit Tiburcio Vasquez preyed on stages and freighters traveling between the Kern River mines and Los Angeles and the mines of Bodie and the Panamints. — Map (db m50244) HM|
|California (Kern County), Lebec — Camel Trail Terminus — Fort Tejon|
|Jefferson Davis, “Father of National Highways,” as Secretary of War 1853-57 sponsored the importation of 33 camels for transporting military supplies to the west coast. The camel trail survey ran from San Antonio, Texas to Fort Tejon which marks the western terminus, part of the Jefferson Davis Highway.
The army camel corps arrived at this fort in November, 1857, with Lt. Edward F. Beale in command.
United Daughters of the Confederacy
May 11, 1956 — Map (db m32823) HM|
|California (Kern County), Mettler — 540 — Sinks of the Tejon|
|Six miles east of this point was the site of the Butterfield Stage Line station Sinks of Tejón. Operating through present Kern County during 1858-61, this famous line ran from St. Louis, Missouri to San Francisco until the outbreak of the Civil War. — Map (db m51679) HM|
|California (Kern County), Mojave — 652 — Mojave 20-Mule Team Borax Terminus|
|Just west of this point was the Southern Pacific terminus for the 20-mule-team borax wagons that operated between Death Valley and Mojave from 1884 to 1889. The route ran from the Harmony Borax Mining Company works, later acquired by the Pacific Coast Borax Company, to the railroad loading dock in Mojave over 165 miles of mountain and desert trail. A round trip required 20 days. The ore wagons, which hauled a payload of 24 tons, were designed by J. W. S. Perry, Borax Company superintendent in . . . — Map (db m11928) HM|
|California (Kern County), Onyx — 99 — Walker's Pass|
|Discovered by Joseph R. Walker, American trail-blazer who left the San Joaquin Valley through this pass in 1834. This area was traversed by topographer Edward M. Kern, after whom the Kern River was named, while accompanying the Fremont expedition of 1845. After 1860 it became a mining freight route to Owens Valley. — Map (db m50245) HM|
|California (Kern County), Rosamond — 130 — Willow Springs — California Historical Landmark|
|Visited by Padre Garces (1776) while following Old Horse Thief Trace later known as Joe Walker Trail. Fremont stopped here (1844). The famished Jayhawk Party (1850) found water here while struggling from Death Valley to Los Angeles. Still later was station on Los Angeles – Havilah and Inyo Stage Lines.
Dedicated April 1, 1951 — Map (db m50248) HM|
|California (Kern County), Rosamond — 130 — Willow Springs — California Historical Landmark|
|Willow Springs was a stage station on the Los Angeles-Havilah Stage Lines, 1864-1874. From here light traffic went through Oak Creek Pass via Tehachapi to Havilah and Kernville; heavy traffic went northwest to the Inyo mines, or via Jawbone Canyon to the South Fork of the Kern; hence to the Kern mines.
Dedicated June 6, 1937 — Map (db m50249) HM|
|California (Kern County), Tehachapi — 97 — Oak Creek Pass — California Historical Landmark|
|Father Francisco Garces used the Oak Creek Pass in 1776 to return to the Mojave after exploring the San Joaquin Valley, as did Fremont in 1844-45. Until the building of the railroad through the Tehachapi Pass in 1876, Oak Creek Pass was the only route used through the Tehachapi Mountains. — Map (db m50250) HM|
|California (Lake County), Middletown — 467 — Old Bull Trail Road and St. Helena Toll Road|
|The Old Bull Trail Road ran from Napa Valley to Middletown. It was built by volunteers in the 1850’s. A number of grades were 35 percent. It was an official road in 1861 and abandoned in 1868. St. Helena Toll Road also ran from same points. Was completed in 1868. The grades ran to 12 percent. State of California purchased from John Lawley heirs in 1925. — Map (db m11989) HM|
|California (Lake County), Upper Lake — The Livery Stable|
|This was one of three livery stables in Upper Lake in the 1880's. As far back as 1870, Upper Lake was the terminus of both the Cloverdale and Clearlake stage lines, bringing tourists to the famous mineral waters of Witter Springs, Saratoga Springs and the Blue Lake resorts.
Before Highway 20 went through in the late 1920's, the Bartlett Springs-Colusa Road connected Lake County to the Sacramento Valley. Highway 20 was originally called the Tahoe-Ukiah Route.
Because of the terrain, old . . . — Map (db m48989) HM|
|California (Lassen County), Litchfield — 677 — Noble Emigrant Trail|
|This route was first used in 1852 by emigrants to Northern California seeking to avoid the hardships of the Lassen Trail. It crossed the desert from the Humbolt River in Nevada, passed this point, and proceeded over the mountains to the town of Shasta. Later, 1859-1861, it was known as the Ft. Kearney, South Pass and Honey Lake Wagon Road. From this point Peter Lassen and J.C. Bruff on October 4, 1850, saw Honey Lake while on an expedition hunting for Gold Lake. — Map (db m10269) HM|
|California (Lassen County), Susanville — Birth of Peter Lassen|
|“Peter Lassen was born on October 31, 1800 in Farum, Denmark. At the time Farum was a small village about 15 miles northwest of Copenhagen. Peter was a son of humble parents. His mother was Johanne Sophie Westergaard and his father was Lars Nielson. In the church records Lars Nielson was called farm laborer, day laborer or smallholder.
“As it will be seen, Peter’s family name was not Lassen. His father was called Lars Nielson – and it was in honor of him that Peter was . . . — Map (db m14179) HM|
|California (Lassen County), Susanville — Migration of Peter Lassen|
|“We do not know the exact date on which Peter Lassen arrived in America. Let us suppose that he landed in the early spring of 1831. Most reports say that Lassen arrived in Boston, Massachusetts. Also his passport had Boston written as the destination. Besides, this town was at that time one of the most important immigrant gateways.
“In Boston, Lassen got his first impression of his newly adopted country, America. He must of felt confused by hearing all the different tongues: . . . — Map (db m31741) HM|
|California (Lassen County), Susanville — 675 — Noble Emigrant Trail|
|This meadow, now a city park, was a welcome stopping place on the Noble Emigrant Trail, pioneered by William H. Nobles in 1851 and first used in 1852. Here, emigrants en route to the Northern California mines were able to rest, refresh their stocks, and obtain provisions at Isaac Roop's establishment, from which grew the city of Susanville. — Map (db m10268) HM|
|California (Lassen County), Westwood — 678 — Lassen Emigrant Trail|
|Through this draw passed many covered wagons and gold seekers enroute to California over the Lassen Trail during 1848-1851. Approaching this location from the north, the trail passed what is now Bogard Ranger Station. Proceeding southward to Big Springs and Big Meadows (now Lake Almanor), it then turned westward to Deer Creek, which it followed generally to Vina in the Sacramento Valley.
California Registered Historical Landmark No. 678
Plaque placed by the California State Park . . . — Map (db m22027) HM|
|California (Lassen County), Westwood — L - 38 — Lassen Trail - Westwood|
|The east branch of Lassen’s Trail (1848 & later) passed near here to a campsite “near a small lake fed by springs,” — Map (db m56709) HM|
|California (Los Angeles County), El Monte — 975 — El Monte|
|El Monte, on the bank of the San Gabriel River, played a significant part in California's early pioneer history. It was first an encampment on the Old Spanish Trail, and extension of the trail from Missouri to Sante Fe. By the 1850's some began to call El Monte the "End of the Santa Fe Trail." Early in that decade a permanent settlement was esablished here by immigrants from Texas. The first settlement in Southern California founded by citizens of the United States. — Map (db m50987) HM|
|California (Los Angeles County), Los Angeles — Main Street — El Pueblo de Los Angeles|
|Main Street is one of the oldest streets in Los Angeles. Originally called by its Spanish name, Calle Principal, it was included in the first survey map of Los Angeles, drawn by Lt. E. O. C. Ord in 1849. The street ran from south of First Street to the north side of the Plaza. In 1883 the City Council passed an ordinance declaring that Bath Street would be widened to become an extension of Main Street. The work was carried out in 1886. In 1890 the portion of Main Street that ran from . . . — Map (db m64219) HM|
|California (Los Angeles County), Newhall — 1006 — Beale's Cut Stagecoach Pass|
[This site was designated as California Registered Historic Landmark No. 1006 on May 11, 1992.
There are three rock and concrete bases which at one time displayed three different plaques. The plaques are now missing.]
California Office of Historic Preservation Statement of Significance:
Beale's Cut is the only physical and cultural feature of its kind in the entire Los Angeles Basin. At the time of its construction in 1862, the actual creation and maintenance of the Cut was . . . — Map (db m60396) HM|
|California (Los Angeles County), Newhall — Last Horse Drawn Hearse of Los Angeles County|
|This vehicle was manufactured at about the same time the first internments were made in this cemetery – 1860. — Map (db m20097) HM|
|California (Los Angeles County), Newhall — 688 — Lyons Station|
|This site was the location of a combination store, post office, telegraph office, tavern, and stage depot accommodating travelers during the Kern River gold rush in the early 1850s. A regular stop for Butterfield and other early California stage lines, it was purchased by Sanford and Cyrus Lyons in 1855, and by 1868 at least twenty families lived here. Eternal Valley Memorial Park has called their final resting place "The Garden of the Pioneers."
California Registered Historical Landmark . . . — Map (db m20098) HM|
|California (Los Angeles County), Santa Monica — Will Rogers Highway|
Humorist - World Traveler - Good Neighbor
This Main Street of America
was the first road he traveled in
a career that led him straight to
the hearts of his countrymen. — Map (db m51957) HM|
|California (Los Angeles County), Valencia — The Ridge Route|
|The super highway of its day when opened in 1915. The Ridge Route, California’s first mountain highway, has been credited by some (for better or worse) as saving the state from being divided into two separate states. Constructed, graded, and paved at a cost of about $1,500,000, it was considered one of the most scientifically constructed mountain roads in the world. From Castaic in the south to Grapevine in the north The Ridge Route was 48 miles long and had 39,441 degrees of curves. Roughly . . . — Map (db m30783) HM|
|California (Madera County), Coarsegold — Willow Glen|
|Willow Glen was first inhabited by the Chukchansi Indians. The grinding holes and other artifacts indicate that they have lived in this area since prehistoric times. In 1870 a stage road was built and in 1897 John McGinity homesteaded at Willow Glen. An adobe way station was built, along with a blacksmith shop and a saloon to serve the travelers. In the 1930's highway 41 was completed and the saloon was moved down to the new road and a gas station was added. After many owners, the property was . . . — Map (db m60346) HM|
|California (Madera County), Oakhurst — Old French Trail — 1878 - 1930|
|Fresno Flats (Oakhurst) was the western end of the Old French Trail (Fresno Flats Trail). Built by J. S. French, it was 54 miles long and a vital east - west route for supplies, mail, equipment and pioneers through the Sierra Mountains.
It connected the mining camps of Mammoth City, Mill City, Mineral Park and Pine City with Fresno Flats. The one way fare was 15 dollars per person and 20 lbs free weight was 8 cents per pound.
After the mines failed in the 1880's, the trail was used as the . . . — Map (db m60307) HM|
|California (Madera County), Raymond — 1 — Yosemite Stage Route|
|In 1886 the Yosemite Stage and Turnpike Co. owned by Henry Washburn started daily stage service from Raymond to Wawona and on to Yosemite Valley. The next day only the wealthy could afford the $45 round trip exiting the train at Wildcat Junction aka Raymond and boarding a stage that would change horses at Summit House, Grub Gulch, and the Gambetta Mine which is directly behind you. Mine tailings are visible on the mountain. Then on to the Ahwahnee Tavern, the midway point of the trip for a cool . . . — Map (db m27854) HM|
|California (Mariposa County), Coulterville — Coulterville Toll Road|
|“This was the first road into Yosemite Valley. Originally a county road it became a toll road and later again a county road. Opened in 1874 as an improved toll road, it has served continuously since that time. Beginning in 1956, the Northern California – Yosemite Highway Association raised and spent $50,000 to rebuild the 14.7 mile portion from this site to Yosemite National Park to make the road more compatible with modern traffic. Raising of private money for public road is . . . — Map (db m45647) HM|
|California (Merced County), Le Grand — The Old Millerton Road Crossed Here|
|From Stockton to Los Angeles via Millerton where the Friant Dam now is, was the first, and for many years the main road used by goldseekers and settlers. The route followed the edge of the hills to be near the mines and to provide a firm roadbed in wet weather and narrow river crossings.
Much of the old road was abandoned when the advent of railroads changed the route of travel but its east line between Phillip's Old Toll Ferry on the Merced and Newton's, on the Chowchilla, as traveled in . . . — Map (db m61343) HM|
|California (Merced County), Santa Nella — 829 — Pacheco Pass|
|On June 18, 1805, Lieutenant Gabriel Moraga, on his first exploratory journey into the San Joaquin Valley traversed this pass and recorded it.
Since then it has been trail, toll road, stagecoach road, and freeway -- the principal route between the coastal areas to the west and the great valley and mountains to the east.
Calfornia Registered Historical Landmark No. 829
Plaque placed by the State Department of Parks and Recreation in cooperation with the Merced County Historical Advisory . . . — Map (db m27261) HM|
|California (Mono County), Benton — Aurora and Owens River Wagon Road|
Established by the Nevada
February 20, 1864
Rates of Toll
Wagon with two animals $1.00
Carriage and one animal $.75
Each additional animal $.25
Empty teams returning half price
Saddle animals each $.25
Pack do do $.15
Loose do do $.10 — Map (db m20732) HM|
|California (Mono County), Bridgeport — East Walker Toll House|
|Henry Hayes lived in the toll house building on this site and collected tolls beginning about 1880 and continued until the county purchased the road in 1915. State ownership occurred August 21, 1833. Tolls were 25¢ for saddle horsed, 75¢ for teams, 75¢ for autos. D. Hayes, J.J. Welxh and A.F. Bryant had the original road built in 1868. — Map (db m49889) HM|
|California (Mono County), Lee Vining — Bennettville|
|One mile west is the site of Bennettville. Originally located as the Sheepherder Mine in 1874 by William Bruskey and relocated by Thomas Bennett, President of the Great Sierra Consolidated Silver Mining Company as the Tioga Mines. The claim and visions of a rich silver lode drew thousands to the site of Bennetville. In 1882, eight tons of mining equipment were brought from Lundy via the Tioga Crest and across Saddlebags Lake to the mine. The need for a better way to get mining equipment to . . . — Map (db m49968) HM|
|California (Mono County), Lee Vining — The Tioga Pass Road — Constructed 1883 & 1910 - Commemorated 2002|
|Tioga Pass at 9945 feet is the highest automobile pass in California. The road to the pass was constructed in two parts. The first part was a wagon road, 56 miles long, going from Crane Flat on the west side to a silver mine on the east slope of the Sierra Nevada. It was constructed in 1883 at the cost of $61,000. This part terminated a short distance east of Tioga Pass. The mine was closed the following year as it was not profitable.
Construction of the second part from Lee Vining on the . . . — Map (db m49970) HM|
|California (Mono County), Lee Vining — Would-Be Miners and Occasional Tourists — Building the Tioga Road|
| “The Road to Broken Dreams”
The Tioga Road began as a rough track up the western slope of the Sierra to the mining town of Bennettville near Tioga Pass. Although built to promote mining in the wild high country, the road never served its intended purpose. By the time it was finished in 1883, the mining boom was over. The route fell into disrepair.
A Road Through the Wilderness
A few decades later, interest in the road was revived as people began visiting the Sierra . . . — Map (db m49973) HM|
|California (Mono County), Mammoth Lakes — Casa Diablo|
|A distinctive landmark and gathering place used by many early inhabitants of the area for bathing, food preparation, ceremonial and medicinal purposes. It was named “House of the Devil”, by early explorers, for it’s boiling hot springs, plumes of rising steam and spectacular geysers.
From 1878 to 1881 it was a stage stop along the Bishop Creek—Bodie state route, a vital relay station for supplies, mail and equipment en route to the mining camps of Mammoth City, Mill . . . — Map (db m2950) HM|
|California (Mono County), Mammoth Lakes — Old French Trail — 1878-1930s|
|West of this site was the eastern end of the Old French Trail (Fresno Flats Trail)/ Built by J.S. French, it was 54 miles long and a vital east-west route for supplies, mail, equipment and pioneers through the Sierra mountains.
It connected the mining camps of Mammoth City, Mill City, Mineral Park and Pine City with Fresno Flats (Oakhurst).
The one way fare was $15.00 per person +20 lbs. free freight. Freight was 8 cts. per pound.
The mines failed in the 1880s, the trail was . . . — Map (db m50056) HM|
|California (Monterey County), Carmel — Lone Cypress — Perched over the Pacific for Hundreds of Years|
|Even though Monterey cypress trees prefer this area's rugged bare granite headlands, the Lone Cypress is a testament to the hardiness of these trees. It has withstood Pacific storms and winds for roughly 250 years. Fences and cables now offer added protection in the hopes it will live to be 300.
Due to Samuel F.B. Morse, the preservation-minded founder of Pebble Beach, the Del Monte Forest now consists of nature trails and reserves, spectacular 17 Mile Drive, resorts and golf courses, and . . . — Map (db m8476) HM|
|California (Monterey County), Gonzales — The Mustard Seed Trail — One Voice Murals Project|
|The legend of “the mustard seed trail” is rooted in the Portola expedition which travelled through the Ohlone tribal lands with a wagon containing sacks of mustard seeds. These seeds were spread behind them as they travelled north in the winter, marking a trail for their return in the spring by a blooming yellow pathway.
Supervising Muralist: Trudy Karl • Asst. Muralist: Eliazar De La Cruz • Youth Muralists: Angelica Delgado, Azuzena Rayo, Claudia Picaso, Gerardo Camerena, Jose . . . — Map (db m64255) HM|
|California (Monterey County), King City — Salinas Valley Cookwagon, c. 1888 / Cookwagon|
|Salinas Valley Cookwagon, c1888
Originally owned by Paul Talbot, this cookwagon was used on the Henry Dunphy Ranch, now the Salinas Land Co. The Smart brothers purchased the wagon in the 1930’s and used it into the 1940’s. Under the direction of Tom Thwaits and Bob Hinzman, the wagon was restored by the Community Service Crew of Soledad Prison with funds donated by the Odd Fellows
This Cook Wagon was used by the late Paul Talbot from the turn-of-century to 1920. Talbot . . . — Map (db m64338) HM|
|California (Monterey County), Soledad — El Camino Real Bell|
|In 1906 guidepost bells were placed along the El Camino Real to guide early travelers and to preserve this historic route which linked California missions beginning in 1769
www. californiabell.com — Map (db m64311) HM|
|California (Napa County), Calistoga — Oat Hill Mine Road|
|Just a stones throw to the north, running through the Palisades, is Oat Hill Mine Road.
A narrow and picturesque trail today, it was once used to carry over 160,000 flasks of quicksilver valued at more than $5,000,000 from the Oat Hill Mine to the railhead in Calistoga. Deep grooves cut in the rock by freight wagons are still visible. Built by the county in 1893, it was used by many travelers who could not afford the high price of passage on nearby Lawly Toll Road. — Map (db m54750) HM|
|California (Napa County), St. Helena — Whiskey Crossing|
|One and one half miles north of here, at the second crossing of Chiles Creek, is the spot known as “Whiskey Crossing”. Although shrouded in folklore, the origin of the name is based upon a probable incident that took place in the early days of Napa County. A man returning from Joseph B. Chiles’ Rancho Catacula, with a cask of whiskey, was fording the creek when the cask toppled from his wagon and burst apart in the creek. Another tale asserts that teamsters from Knoxville to Napa, . . . — Map (db m54591) HM|
|California (Nevada County), Grass Valley — 799 — Overland Emigrant Trail|
|At this point the Old Overland Trail approaches the present highway. More than a hundred years ago the trail resounded to creaking wheels of pioneer wagons and the cries of hardy but footsore travelers buoyed by the realization their long trip to the gold fields was about over. — Map (db m10546) HM|
|California (Nevada County), Nevada City — 001 — Julius Albert Apperson — Born June 1855 - Died May 6, 1858|
|A pioneer who crossed the plains to California who died and was buried here. The Emigrant Trail followed along this ridge and through Nevada City. The marking of this lone grave perpetuates the memory of the lone graves throughout the State of California.
Nevada County Historical Landmark 001
Placed by the Grand Parlor
Native Sons of the Golden West
David S. Mason III, Grand President
October 10, 1971
In memory of Sen. James D. Phelan — Map (db m971) HM|
|California (Nevada County), Nevada City — Pioneer Emigrant Trail|
|This boulder was known to the pioneers as the Indian Medicine Stone. On its top are hollows in which the Indians lay while taking sun baths to cure their ills. One branch of the Emigrant Trail leading from Truckee Pass to the gold mines of Nevada County and to the Valley of the Sacramento passed close beside this stone.
Tablet placed by the Historic Landmarks Committee, |
Native Sons of the Golden West.
Dedicated Oct. 18, 1936. — Map (db m37121) HM
|California (Nevada County), Nevada City — Purdon Bridge — 1895|
|Built by Cotton Brothers of Oakland, this steel bridge replaced several wooden bridges washed away in floods. It is the only bridge of the half-through truss design remaining in California. Purdon Crossing was a vital link of the main road from Nevada City to Downieville and the Northern Mines. — Map (db m45068) HM|
|California (Nevada County), Penn Valley — Mooney Flat Hotel — 1856 – 1958|
|Site of the first 3 story team & stage stop on the Henness Pass route to the Northern Mines & Comstock Lode. Built & operated by George & Veronica Schmidt served miners, travelers & teamsters. — Map (db m45153) HM|
|California (Nevada County), Rough and Ready — Toll Road Stake|
|Across the street from this location is a tree stump in which the original stake exists that was used to close off the passage to travelers from Grass Valley to Penn Valley. Drivers who frequented this road had to stop at this location and pay the toll. Once appropriate compensation was provided, the gate would be opened to allow passage. — Map (db m39821) HM|
|California (Nevada County), Truckee — Donner Pass — Who Passed This Way|
|For thousands of years, people have crossed the Sierra Nevada near this place called Donner Pass.
Traveling by foot, wagon, train or automobile, the journey has always been challenging.
Long before it’s “discovery” by Euro-Americans, this 7,000 foot pass was used as a travel corridor by Native Americans.
The Washoe Indians trekked through the area, from their Great Basin home enroute to the foothills of California, to gather acorns and to trade. They . . . — Map (db m23571) HM|
|California (Nevada County), Truckee — Nev.-01-95 — Schallenberger Cabin Site|
|Near this spot stood a small cabin built by 18 year old Moses Schallenberger and two other men. They were members of the Stephens-Townsend-Murphy party of 1844, the first pioneers to take wagons over the Sierra Nevada, opening the Truckee Route of the California Trail. The three men had volunteered to remain behind and guard six of the wagons left here by the main party.
Due to extreme winter weather conditions and lack of food, the three men agreed to separate. The two older men rejoined . . . — Map (db m11601) HM|
|California (Nevada County), Truckee — World War I Memorial / Victory Highway Monument|
[Located on Front of Monument:]
California’s Sons and Daughters
Who Served Their Country
In the World War 1917 -1918
And to the Memory of
Those Who Gave the
“Last Full Measure of Devotion”
[Located on Back of Monument:]
Victory Highway Monument Rededication
July 24, 1998
This monument was originally sited on old Highway 40 near the California/Nevada State line in 1928 and removed in the mid 1970’s due to vandalism. It was one . . . — Map (db m23519) HM|
|California (Nevada County), Washington — Emigrant Trail to Nevada City|
|In 1850, the year after the fabulous gold strike on Deer Creek in Nevada City, the Overland Emigrant Trail branched off the original Bear River route at Bear Valley, climbed Washington Ridge and passed this point on its way to Nevada City and Sacramento Valley. Soon thereafter the trail became a toll road and later a public road. The deep vehicle ruts can still be seen as they cross and recross Highway 20 many times.
Placed by the Nevada County Historical Landmarks Commission
Funded by Mr. and Mrs. David Fluke — Map (db m43688) HM|
|California (Nevada County), Washington — The History of This Area|
The Native People
The cultural history of people inhabiting the western slope of the Sierras spans a period of at least 3,500 years. It is known that the Nisenan, a Native California tribe, occupied the geographic region between the Sierra Buttes, those rugged peaks outlined on the horizon, and the Consumnes River drainage to the south. As experienced hunters and gatherers, the Nisenan possessed considerable knowledge of the plants and animals of the region and utilized this . . . — Map (db m44642) HM|
|California (Orange County), Anaheim — Cañada De Los Bueyes — Canyon of the Oxen|
|Through this canyon in Mexican days oxen drawn carretas carried hides to the embarcadero at San Juan Capistrano. — Map (db m49945) HM|
|California (Orange County), Mission Viejo — Mormon Battalion Marker|
|Dedicated to the valiant members of the historic Mormon Battalion who stopped here on March 20, 1847, as they marched from San Diego to Los Angeles. A division of the U.S. Army of the West, these brave soldiers, trusting in God, overcame incredible odds and faced unequaled hardships in extending the frontiers of our country to include this land of promise.
The 500 loyal men of the Mormon Battalion, recruited from the camps of the Mormon pioneers who had just been driven from the United . . . — Map (db m50351) HM|
|California (Placer County), Colfax — The Stevens Trail|
|This trail was originally established as a toll road in 1859 by Truman Allen Stevens. The trail went down to the bottom of the American River Canyon and back up the other side to Colfax via a bridge that is no longer in existence. This road was in commercial operation until the existing road was built at the end of the last century. The trail was a tremendous success as the population of Iowa Hill swelled to ten thousand at the height of the Gold Rush. — Map (db m45154) HM|
|California (Placer County), Foresthill — Old Joe|
|On the day of July 3, 1901 a stagecoach, driven by Henry Crockett, was on its way to the town of Foresthill when a hooded man appeared with a shotgun and ordered Crockett to stop, to which he replied, “You are only foolin.” At that the robber shot and killed the wheel horse known as “Old Joe.” He then robbed the stage and its passengers. Although the robber was later identified as Henry Wise, he was never captured. This plaque and monument replaces the wooden sign that . . . — Map (db m667) HM|
|California (Placer County), Granite Bay — 585 — Pioneer Express Trail|
|Between 1849 and 1854, Pioneer Express riders rode this gold rush trail to the many populous mining camps on the American River bars now covered by Folsom Lake. - Beals, Condemned, Dotons, Long, Horseshoe, Rattlesnake, and Oregon - on the route to Auburn and beyond. — Map (db m10202) HM|
|California (Placer County), Michigan Bluff — Michigan Bluff to Last Chance|
|A historic section of the Western States Trail through the Sierra Nevada.
Michigan Bluff–Last Chance Trail.
The Michigan Bluff to Last Change section of the Western States Trail was built in 1850 and later became a maintained toll-trail, perhaps one of only a few toll-trails in the state.
As early as 1850 pack-trains carried supplies down the trail connecting the mining camps of Michigan Bluff, Deadwood, and Last Change. During this period these camps were . . . — Map (db m692) HM|
|California (Placer County), Newcastle — 400 — Virginiatown|
|Founded June 1851 - Commonly called 'Virginia.' Over 2,000 miners worked rich deposits. Captain John Brislow built California's first railroad, 1852, to carry pay to Auburn Ravine, a distance of one mile. Site of Philip Armour's and George Aldrich's butcher shop, said to have led to founding of the famous Chicago Armour Meat Packing Company. — Map (db m10973) HM|
|California (Placer County), Nyack — 403 — Emigrant Gap|
|The spring of 1845 saw the first covered wagons to surmount the Sierra Nevada Mountains. They left this valley, ascended to the ridge and turned westward to Old Emigrant Gap. The wagons were lowered by ropes to the floor of Bear Valley. Hundreds followed, before, during and after the Gold Rush. This was a hazardous portion of the Overland Emigrant Trail.
State Registered Landmark No. 403
Tablet placed by California Centennials Commission.
Base furnished by Placer County Historical Society
Dedicated June 25, 1950. — Map (db m548) HM|
|California (Plumas County), Beckwourth — James P. Beckwourth|
|This monument dedicated to the memory of
James P. Beckwourth
Born in Virginia, the son of a Southern planter and a negro slave, Beckwourth was a trapper, scout and mountain man. He explored the west with Jim Bridger, Kit Carson and Peter Lassen. James discovered the Beckwourth Pass and explored the Feather River to Marysville.
He built this cabin in 1852 — Map (db m56409) HM|
|California (Plumas County), Blairsden-Graeagle — Emigrant Trail|
Marysville - Jamison City
Tablet set in stone from early day arrastra used in Jamison Creek. — Map (db m56455) HM|
|California (Plumas County), Chester — Stump Ranch|
|Stump Ranch, a stage stop on the Red Bluff – Susanville Wagon Road, was also the road’s caretaker. It may have changed hands in an 1890’s poker game. The name arose after 1880’s logging left a field of stumps. So it could be recorded as swamp land in 1869, surveyors worked from a horse drawn wooden boat. J.C. Tyler, the road’s agent, charged tolls: $1 for a horseman, $10 per 8 horse hitch, 16¢ per head of cattle and 10¢ for sheep and hogs. The road and ranch have seen many a cowboy, . . . — Map (db m56746) HM|
|California (Plumas County), Chilcoot — CHL 336 — Beckwourth Pass — Emigrant Trail — Elevation 5221|
|Lowest pass in the Sierra Nevada Mountains
Discovered in 1851 by
James P. Beckwourth
Dedicated to the discoverer and to the pioneers who passed along this trail by the Las Plumas Parlor No. 254 N.D.G.W.
No desert’s waste nor redskins bold could swerve them from this western stand, naught could their courage e’er dismay in onward trudging day by day.
A.W. Wern — Map (db m56449) HM|
|California (Plumas County), Cromberg — Jackson, Ross, Tefft and Dempsey Memorial|
|Dedicated to the Memory of
General Jackson, a ‘49er, after whom Jackson Peak and Jackson Creek were named, and first owner of the Haddick Ranch. Also, Ephiram Ross and L.V. Tefft, later owners of the Tefft Ranch, now the Haddrick Ranch.
Also, James Dempsey, who drove stage when the stage road went through the ranch at this point. — Map (db m56613) HM|
|California (Plumas County), La Porte — Emigrant Trail — 1850|
Rabbit Creek – 1850
La Porte – 1857 — Map (db m56299) HM|
|California (Plumas County), La Porte — La Porte – Quincy Wagon Road|
|On May 1, 1866 a special election was held in Plumas County to issue bonds in the sum of $20,000 for the construction of the La Porte – Quincy Wagon Road. The 34-1/2 mile road was completed in 1867 under the supervision of E.H. Pierce by Conly and Company Bankers of La Porte at a cost of $30,000. — Map (db m56369) HM|
|California (Plumas County), Meadow Valley — B-35 — Beckwourth Trail – Grizzly Creek|
|“Crossed a brook with high banks, where Squire Stephens upset the wagon he was driving in which was Philip Linthicum and he was hurt very badly” – John Dalton, Sep. 2, 1852 — Map (db m56549) HM|
|California (Plumas County), Meadow Valley — B-34 — Beckwourth Trail – Haskins Valley|
|“... camped in order to cut some grass to feed along the road ahead, and also on account of P. Linthicum who was still very sick; not expected to live.” – John Dalton, Sep. 3, 1852 — Map (db m56548) HM|
|California (Plumas County), Meadow Valley — B 33 — Beckwourth Trail – Rich Valley|
|Now under water, Rich Valley and Bucks Ranch (1850) made a superb stopping place for emigrants of 1851 and later. “Good grass, wood and water” – John Dalton, Sep. 1, 1852 — Map (db m56536) HM|
|California (Plumas County), Quincy — B-24A — Beckwourth Trail – American Ranch|
|This marker stands on part of the American Ranch of 1850. A way stop for emigrants of 1851 and later. “Here were obtained some fine vegetables...” Joshua Variel. Sept. 17, 1852 — Map (db m56403) HM|
|California (Plumas County), Quincy — B-23 — Beckwourth Trail – Greenhorn Creek Canyon|
|Trail route, 1851 and later. “Drove... through the canyon crossing the creek five times, two miles over the roughest road I ever saw” – Joshua Variel, Sep 16, 1852. — Map (db m56500) HM|
|California (Riverside County), Blythe — Taylor's Ferry|
|When Jim Taylor acquired his ferry in 1922, he had just completed his connecting, hand-made highway on both sides of the Colorado River. His plan to attract the Los Angeles to Phoenix traffic had faded with the continued success of the Blythe-Ehrenberg Ferry. Taylor's Ferry was a current-driven cable ferry, capable of carrying two vehicles. During its 14 years of service, it was used for automobile, pedestrian, horse and U.S. Mail crossings. "Dad Taylor" found prosperity in using his ferry for . . . — Map (db m60390) HM|
|California (Riverside County), Indio — 111 — Dr. June Robertson McCarroll|
|Dr. June Robertson McCarroll was born June 30, 1867 in the Adirondacks and began her medical career in Chicago. She left a promising practice for Indio in 1904. Becoming the sole practicing physician for the entire Coachella Valley. She traveled by horseback, horse and buggy, and automobile to provide medical care throughout the valley under very primitive conditions.
An encounter with a large truck on a narrow road in 1917 resulted in her Model T abandoning the road for a sandy ditch. . . . — Map (db m54985) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Elk Grove — The Lincoln Highway|
|The Lincoln Highway, a coast to coast all weather road from Times Square in New York to San Francisco’s Lincoln Park, was an idea whose birthday was the 10th of September 1912. This road which freed America from the clutches of changeable weather was completed finally in the mid 1920’s. Autos now could travel twelve months of the year.
The Lincoln Highway is recognized as the first graveled road highlighted with markers from the East Coast to its terminus in San Francisco. This roadway truly . . . — Map (db m18026) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Gold River — 746 — The Coloma Road|
|Alder Springs, South of this point, marks the Old Coloma Road, running between Sutter’s Fort and Culluh-mah (Coloma). Established in 1847, this road was used by James W. Marshall in January 1848 to bring the first gold from Sutter’s Mill to the Fort. Later, travelled by thousands to and from the diggings, it became the route of California’s first stageline, established in 1849 by James F. Birch — Map (db m11901) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Rancho Cordova — 698 — Fifteen Mile House|
|Owned and operated from 1857 as a stage station by Henry F. W. Deterding. This was the site of the second remount station of the Central Overland Pony Express during March-July 1860. Here on April 4, 1860, Sam (Bill) Hamiton with the first eastward mail of the Pony Express changed ponies with Morman Tavern as his next stop.
California Registered Historical Landmark No. 698
Plaque placed by the California State Park Commission in cooperation with the Sacramento County Historical . . . — Map (db m2034) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — El Camino Real Bell|
|This commemorative bell celebrates a combined century of service by the California Federation of Women’s Clubs and California State Automobile Association including the establishment of bell markers along the historical El Camino Real. — Map (db m14819) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — Father Junipero Serra — 1713 – 1784|
|Dedicated to the Memory of
Father Junipero Serra
1713 - 1784
the first Franciscan missionary
to whom California owes an
everlasting tribute – he brought
civilization to our land and in deed
and character he deserves a foremost
place in the history of our state — Map (db m14817) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — 745 — The Coloma Road|
|Sutter’s Fort, established by Capt. John A. Sutter in August 1839, marked the Western end of the Coloma Road. Opened in 1847, this road ran from the Fort to Sutter’s sawmill at Coloma. Used by James W. Marshall in January 1848 to bring the news of the gold discovery to Sutter. It was traversed later by thousands of miners going to and from the diggings in 1849. The Coloma Road became the route of California’s first stage line, established by James E. Birch. — Map (db m11897) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — The Pony Express — Russell, Majors, Waddell — Founders, Owners, Operators|
|1861 ** 1961
120 celebrated riders rode 650,000 miles with only one rider killed by Indians, one schedule not completed and one mail pouch lost. — Map (db m11348) HM|
|California (San Benito County), San Juan Bautista — El Camino Real — (The Kings Highway)|
|The above marker shows the direction of the road that connected the 21 Missions. Expeditions left here to go north to Mission Santa Clara or go south to the head-quarters at Mission San Carlos Borromeo de Carmelo.
This road was used from 1797 to about 1850.
Erected by Boy Scout Troop 233 - Salinas, California, March 3, 1968 as qualification for the Historical Trails Award. — Map (db m15344) HM|
|California (San Benito County), San Juan Bautista — El Camino Real Bell|
| . . . — Map (db m15335) HM|
|California (San Bernardino County), Amboy — Amboy and Roy's Café|
|Amboy, settled as early as 1858, became a water stop when the Southern Pacific Railroad laid its tracks through the Cadiz Valley in 1883-84. Following the course of the railroad and the National Old Trails Highway, Route 66 was opened in 1926. Amboy soon saw heavy traffic along "The Mother Road" as flivvers, dust bowl emigrants, soldiers and vacationers made their way through the Mojave Desert. Facilities included a café, service station, school, motel and post office. Water was hauled by rail . . . — Map (db m33254) HM|