HMdb.org THE HISTORICAL
MARKER DATABASE
            “Bite-Size Bits of Local, National, and Global History”
  Home  — My Markers  — Add A Marker  — Marker Series  — Links & Books  — Forum  — About Us
Click First to browse through the results shown on this page.   First >> 
Show DirectionsOmit Marker TextClick to map all markers shown on this page.
Waterways & Vessels Markers
3337 markers matched your search criteria. The first 250 markers are listed. Next 3087
Argentina, Misiones Province, Iguazu National Park — Bernabe Mendez BridgeSalto: Guardaparque Bernabe MendezParque Nacional Iguazú
En homenaje a quien fuera muerto el 14 de April de 1968 por cazadores furtivos en el Alto Iguazú cuando defendia el patrimonio natural de la humanidad. Cuerpo de Guadaparques Nacionales, 09 de Octubre de 1991. (English Translation) In honor of he who was killed on April 14, 1968, by stealthy poachers in Iguazu Heights while defending humanity’s natural heritage. National Park Guard Corps, October 9, 1991. — Map (db m26254) HM
Argentina, Misiones Province, Iguazú National Park — Alvar Núñez Cabeza de VacaSalto Alvar Núñez — Parque Nacional Iguazú
A Alvar Núñez Cabeza de Vaca. Homenaje de la Administración General de Parques Nacionales y Turismo a la memoria del descubridor de estas Cataratas, Don Alvar Núñez Cabeza de Vaca, quién tras de cruentas luchas con la naturaleza y lo ignoto, en su temerario viaje desde las selvas Brasileñas Atlánticas en busca de una vía al Rio de la Plata descubrió esta maravilla del mundo en el año 1541. (English translation) To Alvar Núñez Cabeza de Vaca. A tribute from the . . . — Map (db m37605) HM
Australia, Victoria, Peterborough — Historic Shipwreck Trail
The Newfield Three masted iron barque 1306 tons gross Built Dundee Scotland 1889 Wrecked Newfield Bay 29 August 1892 The Newfield", with a crew of 26, left Sharpness, Scotland, on 28 May 1889, with a cargo of fine salt for Brisbane. Near midnight on 29 August, in squally weather, the Captain mistook the Cape Otway light for that of King Island, and headed the ship straight towards the coast. The vessel struck rocks about 100 metres from shore. Nine men drowned . . . — Map (db m52642) HM
Australia, Victoria, Port Fairy — SS Casino
Top Marker This memorial was unveiled July 8 1934 by Mrs. C.A. Melhuish daughter of Captain Thomas Boyd first master of the S.S. Casino. Middle Marker Borough of Port Fairy This commemorative plaque is to mark the 100th anniversary of the registration of the S.S. Casino as part of the Belfast and Koroit Steam Navigation Company and the 50th anniversary of the sinking of the S.S. Casino at Apollo Bay on 1oth July, 1932. Unveiled by his Worship the Mayor . . . — Map (db m52484) HM
Brazil, Amazonas, Manaus — Praça São SebastiãoMonumento Comemorativo a Abertura dos Portos — Monument to the Opening of the [Amazon] Ports
[Panel 1] Mandado Construir em MDCCCXCIX pelo Exmo Senr. Jose Cardoso Ramalho Júnior, Governador do Estado do Amazonas. [In English: Construction Ordered, 1899, by His Excellency, Mr. Jose Cardoso Ramalho Junior, Governor of the State of Amazonas.] "ASIA" [Panel 2] 15 de Novembro de MDCCCLXXXIX. [November 15, 1889.] "AMERICA" [Panel 3] Monumento Levanta do em substitução ao que foi erguido n’esta praça em XII de Setembro de . . . — Map (db m26407) HM
Brazil, Bahia, Salvador — Monumento a Stefan ZweigAll Saints' Bay
Stefan Zweig nasceu em Viena, Áustria, em 1881. Escritor cosmopolita, tornou-se conhecido por suas analises do comlexo psíquico e pela defesa dos ideais humanitarios. Foi o autor mais traduzido do seu tempo. Pacifista, escrevia reinventando a vida. Iniciou sua peregrinação pelo mundo em 1934, com residencia na Inglaterra. Mudou-se, em 1941, com sua esposa Lotte, para a Cidade de Petrópolis, Brasil, onde escreveu, o seu livro mais conhecido, “Brasil, Pais do Futuro” e . . . — Map (db m31877) HM
Brazil, Paraná, Foz do Iguaçu — Alberto Santos-Dumont MemorialParque Nacional do IguaçuPatrimonio Natural da Humanidade
As alturas não me intimidam. —Santos-Dumont, Foz do Iguaçu, 24 Abril 1916. Posso dizer-ihe, Frederico Engel, que estas maravilhas em torno das cataratas não podem continuar a pertencer a um particular (Santos–Dumont) Foz, 25 de Abril de 1916. Com esta estátua o sonho de Elfrida E. N. Rios, pioneira da cidade, tornou-se realidade. —Foz, 25 de Abril de 1979. (English translation) “Heights do not intimidate me.” . . . — Map (db m26178) HM
Brazil, Rio de Janeiro — João Cândido Felisberto Memorial"O Almirante Negro"
[Panel 1] João Cândido Felisberto nasceu em 1880, na Vila Sâo José, Encruzilhada do Sul, Distrito de Rio Pardo, Rio Grande do Sul. De 22 a 26 de Novembro do 1910 liderou a Revolta Dos Marinheiros contra as péssimas condiçôes de trabalho e o castigo corporal abolido pela Lei Âurea de 1888. João Cândido demonstrou liderança e maestria irretocâveis à frente das guarniçôes e nas manobras da Baia Da Guanabara. Desde então ficou conhecido como o ‘Almirante Negro,’ líder da . . . — Map (db m26028) HM
Brazil, Rio de Janeiro — Praça 15 de NovembroPrefeitura da Cidade do Rio De Janeiro
Esta região guarda a memória do período colonial Brasileiro. No Século XVII, o núcleo original da cidade desloca-se do morro do Castelo para a várzea e consolida-se ao longo da Rua Direita, hoje Primeiro de Março. Junto à rua, na praia de N.S. do Ó, aterrado surge o Terreiro do Carmo, depois chamado Largo do Paço, por se ter instalado ali o Paço dos Governadores (1743), atual Paço Imperial. O velho largo recebe o nome de Praça 15 de Novembro por ocasião da Proclamação da República em 1889, . . . — Map (db m26313) HM
Alberta, Athabasca — Athabasca Landing
This was once the "jumping off point" for the vast northland. Here in 1887 the first steamboat "Athabasca" was built to ply the river between Mirror Landing and Grand Rapids. Steamboats superceded the canoe, York boat, and scow, and were replaced themselves a few decades later by the railway. — Map (db m8837) HM
Alberta, Fort McMurray — Methye Portage
The earliest trade route between eastward and northward flowing waters followed the Clearwater River and the Methye Portage. Discovered by Peter Pond in 1778 and used continuously for more than a century for more than a century by fur-traders and explorers, including Sir Alexander Mackenzie, Sir John Franklin, and Sir George Simpson. — Map (db m8814) HM
British Columbia (Bulkley-Nechako Regional District), Southbank — Ootsa Lake Nechako Reservoir
In 1952, the Kenney Dam was constructed on the Nechako River to service the new Alcan aluminum smelter at Kitimat, resulting in the creation of the Nechako Reservoir and the relocation of over 75 families. The damming also linked the rivers and lakes of Ootsa, Intata, Whitesail, Chelaslie, Tetachuck, Tahtsa and Natalkuz into the reservoir with a surface area of over 90,000 hectares. — Map (db m8855) HM
British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Brentwood Bay — Seed & Fireworks Fields
In 1903, the land now occupied by the Butchart Gardens was purchased from a local dairy farmer, Mr. Fernie. Reservoirs were excavated in 1969 to ensure a water supply for irrigation. The single jet fountain was installed to aerate the water supply in the largest reservoir, now the focal point of the fireworks display. — Map (db m74459) HM
British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Colwood — Fisgard LighthouseLe Phare Fisgard
The first permanent lighthouse on the Pacific coast of Canada, Fisgard was erected in 1859-60 by the British and Colonial Governments to guide mariners into Esquimalt Harbour. Brought from England with the first lightkeeper, the lantern became operational on November 16, 1860, and in 1928 it was made automatic. Captain G. H. Richards, R. N., recommended this site on the island names for H.M.S. FISGARD, on station in the Pacific from 1844 to 1847. Ce phare fut le premier permanent sur la . . . — Map (db m70876) HM
British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Colwood — Royal Roads
To seaward lies an anchorage or roadstead first used in 1790 by the Spanish and named in 1846 for its location between Albert Head and Victoria. Unloading place for large vessels serving Victoria in days of sail, it was once a scene of disaster. On April 1, 1883, a southeasterly gale swept the haven, beaching the ships Southern Chief, Gettysburg, Connaught, and Tiger. — Map (db m72871) HM
British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Sidney — Port of Entry Beacon
was seen in early days by ships at sea Hence, Beacon Avenue — Map (db m75341) HM
British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Sidney — Waterfront Industries
Before town planning and notions of the picturesque, waterfronts were convenient for industrial development. As a transportation hub, Sidney's waterfront boasted a sawmill, a cannery, boatworks and roofing plant, besides rail and ship facilities. Sidney sawmill began in 1892 to cut lumber for the V&S Railway. After initial success it flagged and was in receivership by 1913. Closed until 1917, it was revived by GH Walton. By 1920 it employed about 150 men, the largest workforce in the . . . — Map (db m75465) HM
British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Sidney — Year of the Ocean
If the Oceans of the world perish, so shall we. This mural was painted in celebration of the "International Year of the Ocean", and is a brief glimpse into the story of ocean science on the west coast. A mere fraction of the story is depicted here. The mural is a dream of the Ocean, and like a dream it flows across a montage of images floating through space and time. Beginning in the distant past, with an Ancient Navigator lovingly holding our Ocean planet, it ends with a . . . — Map (db m75463) HM
British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — A Natural HarbourFisherman's Wharf Park
ca. 1860 [Photo caption reads] A detail of the View of Victoria, 1860. Major Bay is largely undeveloped. BC Archives POP01538 1878 [Photo caption reads] Bird's-Eye View of Victoria, Vancouver Island, B.C. 1878, detail. Drawn by E.S. Glover, Published by M.W. Waitt & Co., Victoria, B.C. 1880's The shores around Shoal Point and Major Bay offered a protected landing point and by the 1890's the development of the Outer Wharves changed the look of the untouched . . . — Map (db m74383) HM
British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Fisgard Lighthouse National Historic SiteLe Phare Fisgard, Lieu Historique National
Fisgard Lighthouse was built in 1860 as the first permanent light on the west coast of Canada. Although administered together with Fort Rodd Hill, it is a separate national historic site. There is no historic connection between the two structures. The lighthouse now contains exhibits on shipwrecks, navigation and the growth of the west coast lighthouse system. Various lenses and lightkeeping tools are also on display. Your most direct route to Fisgard is by the path that leads . . . — Map (db m75218) HM
British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — From Mudflat to Rain GardenFisherman's Wharf Park
A sports field served James Bay for many years until the Community envisioned a new park space. On August 27th, 2009 City Council adopted the Fisherman's Wharf Management Plan. The plan was completed in two phases and the Mayor celebrated the grand opening with residents on October 2nd, 2012. [Inset photos and text follow] A small shanty-town was also born during this era with houses in the bay. 1940's. 1940 - Today The map underlay shows the shoreline of 1940. Major Bay's . . . — Map (db m74385) HM
British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — George and Isabella Pottinger
Came with their five children from Papa Westray, Orkney Isl[ands]. aboard the sailing ship Knight Bruce via Cape Horn. Arrived at Victoria on 24 Dec 1864 after 180 days at sea. — Map (db m74706) HM
British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Mizzen Mast – H.M.S. Algerine
Presented to the City of Victoria by the Maritime Museum of British Columbia 28th July, 1966 H.M.S. Algerine was the last ship of the Royal Navy to be based in Esquimalt, 1908-1914. Transferred to the Royal Canadian Navy, she served as Depot Ship at Esquimalt, until sold out of the Service in 1919. — Map (db m49081) HM
British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Royal Canadian Navy
To commemorate the contribution made by ships and men to the naval service of Canada for seventy year since it was founded on 4th May, 1910. Since November, 1910 when H.M.C.S. Rainbow arrived in Esquimalt, ships and men of the R.C.N. have been part of the maritime life of Canada’s West Coast. Ships sailed from here to fight in boat World Wars and in Korea. Between maritime tasks they protect Canada’s sovereignty and show the flag in the Pacific Placed here on 30th June, 1980 by Commander, . . . — Map (db m48716) HM
British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Spewhung
Turkey Head was known by the indigenous people as Spewhung. A large shell-midden along this shoreline indicates that this was an ancient village site to which first peoples brought many fish, bird, mammal and plant resources. Food was gathered from Chatham and Discovery Islands (Stsnaang and Tlchess) in the distance and from Jimmy Chicken-Mary Tod Island (Kohweechella island, "where there are many fish"), nearer shore. Artwork by Charles Elliott, Temoseng BC 150 Years, 2008 — Map (db m75329) HM
British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — The 75th Anniversary of the Canadian Navy
This tree and anchor dedicated to the City of Victoria celebration of the 75th Anniversary of the Canadian Navy by HMCS Malahat 21 April 1985. Rededicated on 3 May 1998 in celebration of the Naval Reserves’s 75th Anniversary This historic Admiralty pattern anchor, salvaged from Esquimalt Harbour, was donated by the CFB Esquimalt Naval and Military Museum for the rededication ceremony. It has retained its strenth [sic] of purpose as does the bond between HMCS Malahat and the City of Victoria. — Map (db m49078) HM
British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — The Parade of Ships
These plaques commemorate famous vessels in the history of Victoria and pay tribute to pioneers they brought to this new land, the men and women who fought the good fight and built Victoria and British Columbia. This key plaque presented by Horace J. Sims Victoria’s Centennial Year, 1968 [Northern Group, presented left to right] James K. Nesbit, 1908-1981 Newspaperman – Historian, Native son of Victoria, Originator of the “Parade of . . . — Map (db m48891) HM
British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Tlikwaynung
This small islet and the adjacent shore were once an indigenous encampment connected with the village at McNeill Bay, Chikawich, to the west. The people living here ate over 20 species of fish and 15 species of birds, as well as deer, sea mammals, raccoon and marten. Across the water lies Trial Island, Tlikwaynung, a place where there were lots of seals. Artwork by Charles Elliott, Temoseng BC 150 Years — Map (db m75340) HM
British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Tsukuba1880-1980
13 gun – 1034 ton Naval Cadet Training 3 masted screw corvette Commanded by Capt. Norimichi Aiura Imperial Japanese Navy First Japanese naval vessel to visit Canadian water 10 June 1880 Erected on the occasion of the visit of the Japan Training Squadron J.D.S. Katori – J.D.S. Akigumo Commanded by Rear-Admiral Osuke Fukai, J.M.S.D.F. Presented by the Canadian Navy Unveiled by Mayor W. Tindall and Admiral M. Martin 10 June 1980 — Map (db m48715) HM
British Columbia (Greater Vancouver Regional District), Surrey — Historic Port ElginTransportation & Communication — Part of Surrey’s Built Heritage
River Routes Located near the intersection of the King George VI Highway and the Nicomekl River, the Port Elgin area has been a crossroads for various forms of traffic for thousands of years. For centuries prior to the arrival of the first European settlers, Natives regularly canoed up the Nicomekl River and down the Salmon River as they made their way to the salmon-fishing platforms in the Frasier Canyon. The Hudson’s Bay Company’s chief trader James McMillan and his party of men . . . — Map (db m63715) HM
British Columbia (Kitimat-Stikine Regional District), Hazelton — Hazelton
Head of sternwheeler navigation on the Skeena. The town grew at the landing close to the Indian village of Gitenmaks. Crews from the Collins Telegraph arrived in 1866. Following them Omineca gold miners, Hudson’s Bay pack strings and “gandy dancers” of the Grand Truck all tramped these streets. Each is a chapter in the history of “the town on the hazel flats.” — Map (db m9073) HM
British Columbia (Skeena-Queen Charlotte Regional District), Tyee — “K-Shian” – The Skeena
The Skeena, “river of mists,” makes a major cleft through the Coast Mountains. To Coastal Tsimshian Indians and Interior tribes it was vital to trade and travel. In later years, Port Essington, near the river’s mouth, became the main port of this swift, treacherous waterway – a route serving pioneers from the 1860s to 1914 when the railway was built. — Map (db m9074) HM
British Columbia (Strathcona Regional District), Campbell River — Seymour Narrows
Treacherous currents, swirling eddies, and turbulent tide-rips still harass vessels, despite the blasting away in 1958 of the twin peaks of Ripple Rock. Charted in 1792 by Captain George Vancouver, the Narrows has claimed numerous ships and lives and is considered by many seamen the worst hazard to marine navigation on the British Columbia coast. — Map (db m9077) HM
Manitoba, Lockport — St. Andrews Caméré Curtain Dam
This is the only Caméré curtain bridge-dam built in North American, and by far the largest ever constructed. H.E .Vautelet, the Canadian engineer responsible for its design, adapted a French technological advancement to deal with the destructive and unpredictable floodwaters of the Red River. It has wooden curtains that dam the river for navigation and roll up to pass the spring freshets. The Canadian government constructed the dam, lock and machine shop/electrical powerhouse in 1907-1910 as . . . — Map (db m9205) HM
New Brunswick (Charlotte County), St. Andrews — St. Croix RiverLa Rivière Sainte-Croix
English From the Chiputneticook Lakes, the waters of the St. Croix River tumble through rolling Appalachian scenery to one of the most historic estuaries in Canada, at Passamaquoddy Bay. Here, French colonization in North America began in 1604 on St. Croix Island. The river was travelled for millennia by native fishermen and traders and as an international border, British Loyalist and others later crossed these waters to contribute to the founding of Canada. Today, the St. Croix’s . . . — Map (db m77395) HM
New Brunswick (Charlotte County), Welshpool — Campobello Company and HotelsLe Campobello Company et les Hôtels
Although visitors had been coming to the island since 1855, Campobello's summer trade did not really prosper until the 1880s - years of long summer vacations and great resorts. A group of Boston and New York businessmen bought most of the island in 1881. The new owners called themselves the Campobello Company; their plan was to promote the island as a summer resort. They hoped to lure a wealthy clientele with extensive leisure time to the island, let them enjoy the area's many charms, . . . — Map (db m63639) HM
New Brunswick (Charlotte County), Welshpool — Friar's Head / Le Cap Friar
Friar's Head takes its name from the stone pillar or stack (photo 1) that rises from the beach directly below the observation deck. While occupying Eastport, the British navy was said to have used the stone pillar for target practice, altering its outline to that of a hooded monk or Friar in deep contemplation. Native American Passamaquoddy legend referred to this rock as the Stone Maiden. The legend speaks of a young brave leaving on a long journey, telling his lover to sit . . . — Map (db m63629) HM
New Brunswick (Charlotte County), Welshpool — Lubec, Maine
About 1840, a canal connecting Johnson and South Bays was dug in North Lubec and a dam constructed there to harness tidal energy to power plaster mills. Gypsum (the raw product used to make plaster) and grindstones from the Maritimes were important trade goods. Lubec’s mills manufactured plaster as late as 1858. In 1874, shipping traffic to and from Lubec was so extensive that the U.S. Coast Guard constructed a life-saving station at West Quoddy Head. About that time, passenger ferries . . . — Map (db m54995) HM
New Brunswick (Charlotte County), Welshpool — Lubec, Maine
Lubec's known history began at a Passamaquoddy Indian encampment at Mill Creek in what came to be called Seward's Neck (now North Lubec). French settlers later came to those shores in the early 1700s, but shortly afterward were driven away by the British. Resettlement occurred around 1776 when squatters settled Seward's Neck and Moose Island, both incorporated into the town of Eastport in 1798 and having a population of 244. Many of the settlers were Massachusetts, New Hampshire, and western . . . — Map (db m55023) HM
New Brunswick (Charlotte County), Welshpool — Mulholland Point / La Pointe Mulholland
Built in 1885, the Mulholland Point Lighthouse (photo 1) served as a guide for the many small coasters and freighters taking the shorter and more foul weather-protected route through the Lubec Narrows. Steamships, such as the Penobscot (photo 2), sailing between Boston, Portland, and Eastport in the 1890s could only travel through the Narrows when the tide was high. Otherwise, they had to steam around the eastern side of Campobello. The first automobiles brought to the island . . . — Map (db m63593) HM
New Brunswick (Charlotte County), Welshpool — Passamaquoddy Tidal Power ProjectProjet de Centrale Électrique Marée Motrice
During the years FDR summered on Campobello, the daughter of one of Campobello's summer colonists married Dexter P. Cooper, an eminent American engineer. Cooper studied the tremendous rise and fall of Passamaquoddy Bay's tides and became obsessed with the potential of generating electricity from the 2 billion cubic metres (70 billion cubic feet) of seawater that entered and left the bay twice each day. Passamaquoddy tides are among the highest in the world, and range from a maximum . . . — Map (db m63611) HM
New Brunswick (Charlotte County), Welshpool — Passamaquoddy Tribe / La Tribu Passamaquoddy
Passamaquoddy Bay takes its name from the Native American Passamaquoddy Tribe. The word means People of the Pollock-Spearing Place. The Passamaquoddy have a rich heritage, once occupying much of what is now eastern Maine and western New Brunswick. They lived inland, seasonally, where during the colder months they subsisted mainly by hunting and fishing. During the warmer months, they moved to the shore (where there were cooler temperatures and fewer biting flies) to harvest abundant . . . — Map (db m63617) HM
New Brunswick (Charlotte County), Welshpool — Roosevelt Campobello International ParkLe Parc International Roosevelt de Campobello
The Roosevelt Campobello International Park is a unique example of international cooperation - jointly administered, staffed, and funded by the peoples of Canada and the United States. Established by international treaty in 1964, the 1,134-hectare (2800-acre) park remains a symbol of the close relationship between our two countries. When she declared the Park Visitor Center open in 1967, the Queen Mother Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth expressed the sentiments of both countries with these . . . — Map (db m63591) HM
New Brunswick (Saint John County), Saint John — First Marine Compound EngineLa Première Machine Compound de Marine
English The first vessel in the world propelled by a compound steam engine was the REINDEER launched for service on the Saint John, in 1845. Both the vessel and engine were designed by Benjamin Tibbets, a native of Queen’s County, New Brunswick. The engine was in service for more than fifty years French Le premier navire propulsé par une machine à vapeur compound fut le REINDEER, mis en service sur la rivière Saint-John en 1845. Le bateau et la machine avaient tous deux été . . . — Map (db m77428) HM
New Brunswick (Saint John County), Saint John — First Steam Fog HornLa Premiere Corne de Brume a Vapeur
English In 1854, Robert Foulis of St. John, N.B., first advocated the use of a steam horn or whistle to give warning to vessels in foggy weather. An apparatus devised by him was installed on Partridge Island in 1859. This was the first steam fog horn ever constructed or operated in the world. French En 1854, Robert Foulis, de Saint-Jean (N.B.), prèconisa pour la première fois l’usage d’une corne ou d’un sifflet à vapeur pour guider les navires par temps brumeux. L’appareil . . . — Map (db m77430) HM
New Brunswick (Saint John County), Saint John — The Marco PoloLe Marco Polo
English A three-masted full-rigged ship with a modified clipper hull, the Marco Polo earned a reputation as the “fastest ship in the world” and drew international attention to New Brunswick shipyards. Built in 1851 by James Smith in Saint John, it was sold to British interests and refitted to carry emigrants. Its captain, “Bully” Forbes, achieved a record passage from Liverpool the goldfields of Australia in 1852 by using the “Roaring . . . — Map (db m77456) HM
New Brunswick (Saint John County), Saint John — The Troop Fleet in the Days of Sail
This plaque is in commemoration of the firm of Messrs. Troop and son, shipowners in the city of Saint John, New Brunswick, where the business of the firm was carried on during the years 1847-1912. Founded by Jacob V. Troop, the business was continued by his son, Howard D. Troop, the firm at one time owned the largest fleet of wooden sailing vessels in Canada. The white-winged craft carrying the famous diamond “T” house flag were renowned for their excellence in design. Beauty . . . — Map (db m77459) HM
Newfoundland and Labrador (Division No. 1 (Avalon Peninsula)), Blackhead — Cape Spear LighthouseLe Phare du Cap Spear
English Cape Spear, Newfoundland’s oldest surviving lighthouse, has served as the chief approach light for St. John’s harbour since 1836. Constructed by local builders Nicholas Croke and William Parker, it consists of a stone towner surrounded by a frame residence, a common lighthouse design on Canada’s east coast. The light mechanism in use in the 19th century came from Inchkeith lighthouse in Scotland. Modern equipment was installed in 1912 and remains in use in the concrete tower . . . — Map (db m79112) HM
Newfoundland and Labrador (Division No. 1 (Avalon Peninsula)), Ferryland — FerrylandPopulation 717 (1996) — Settled 1621 • Inc. 1971
A “Fishing Capital” and Colony This was one of the first harbours in the New World to be frequented by European fishing ships. From the early 1500s The Pool was well known to the Portuguese, Spanish and French fleets. Ferryland is probably the English pronunciation of early (an) early Portuguese name, “Farilham,” although a French name, “Forillon,” has also been suggested as the original form. By the late 1500s Ferryland was exclusively an English . . . — Map (db m79471) HM
Newfoundland and Labrador (Division No. 1 (Avalon Peninsula)), St. John's — FisheryLe pêche
Captions, clockwise from the top right. (English / French): St. John’s is both a fishing port and a supply base for the fleets of many countries. / Saint- Jean est à la fois un part de pêche et un centre d’approvisionnement pour les flottes de nombreux pays. The majestic fishing vessels of the Portuguese White Fleet were annual visitors to St. John’s until the early 1970’s. / Les impressionnants navires de pêche de la Flotta blanche portugaise avaient coutume de visiter la port . . . — Map (db m78972) HM
Newfoundland and Labrador (Division No. 10, Newfoundland and Labrador (Labrad), L'Anse-au-Loup — The DiaphoneLighthouse Trail
The concrete foundations near the beach are the remains of a huge diaphone - a fog signal which produces a blast of two distinct tones. When it was installed (in) 1906 the diaphone was the latest in technology. It was operated by compressed air and produced a haunting seven-second blast every minute. — Map (db m79554) HM
Newfoundland and Labrador (Division No. 3 (South Coast)), Channel-Port aux Basques — Port aux Basques - North Sydney1898 - 100 - 1998
English: A century of ferry service between Newfoundland and Nova Scotia SS. Bruce first sailed from this port to North Sydney on 30 June 1898. French: En commemoration d’un siècle de service traversier entre Terre-Neuve et la Novelle. Le vapeur Bruce a quitte ce port à destination de North Sydney, pour la première fois le 30 juin 1898. — Map (db m79677) HM
Newfoundland and Labrador (Division No. 9 (North Peninsula)), St. Anthony — Fox Point Lightouse(Fishing Point)
In 1912, a light was established at the south entrance of St. Anthony Harbour replacing the original harbour light placed there in 1906. The white occulting light was installed in a cast-iron light tower. It exhibited 20.5 meters (67 feet) above sea level and was visible for 10 miles. A fog alarm was installed at the site in 1936 house(d) in a flat -roofed wooden building. The light tower and the fog alarm building were painted with red and white vertical stripes. W. Patey was the first . . . — Map (db m79667) HM
Nova Scotia (Annapolis County), Annapolis Royal — Queen’s WharfLe Quai de la Couronne
English Since the 1740s, three wharves have been built where the ruins of the Queen’s Wharf now lie. Everything the fort needed was landed on the wharf: troops, provisions, weapons and much more. It served the needs of the military until the garrison was withdrawn in 1854. Over the years, the wharf was redesigned and reconstructed as required and continued to be used by local residents into the 1900s. The ruins before you date to around 1906, when the wharf was last rebuilt. . . . — Map (db m78445) HM
Nova Scotia (Annapolis County), Annapolis Royal — Wharf & WaterfrontHistoric Lower Saint George Street
In the early hours of July 4, 1724, a combined force of Mi’kimaq and Maliseet warriors attacked Annapolis Royal, slipping into the town as its residents slept. They attacked the fort from the cover of the hollow near the east bastion. Although the assault was repulsed by artillery fire, two soldiers were killed, some wounded, and several people were captured before the attackers retreated. Two British buildings were burned in the raid. In reprisal, and by order of the governing council, . . . — Map (db m78702) HM
Nova Scotia (Halifax Regional Municipality), Dartmouth — 06 — A Changing Lake-scape
Lake Micmac was smaller Lake Micmac was considerably smaller before the Canal was begun. Evidence for this can be found in the cove to the west where the remains of a forest and marsh area can be seen under the surface of the Lake. To the east is the entrance to the canal and a point of land once referred to as Indian Point. When the lake was lowered in the 1970s a Mi’kmaq camp site was discovered and the large number of artifacts which were found are now in the NS Museum. This lake is . . . — Map (db m78081) HM
Nova Scotia (Halifax Regional Municipality), Dartmouth — 08 — A Testament to Hard Work
Man-made Bank You are now walking on a man made bank which forms one side of the canal cut. This wall of earth and stone was necessary to contain the depth of water needed to float the barges. During the first phase of the canal construction there would have been a minimum of approx. 2.4 meters (8 feet) of water but this was reduced to approx. 1.2 meter (4 feet) when it was decided to construct a smaller waterway in the 1850s. It is a testament to the work of the Irish and Scottish . . . — Map (db m78100) HM
Nova Scotia (Halifax Regional Municipality), Dartmouth — 02 — A Village of the Most Primitive Description
Canal Camp You are looking at a part of the remains of what was known as the “Canal Camp.” The row of stones in this area represent the largest feature found to day at Port Wallace. An archeological investigation was carried out in 1997 by Archaeology students from St. Mary’s University but unfortunately nothing was discovered to indicate the use made of this particular building. However, it is in the area known as the Canal Camp where the workers and their families lived . . . — Map (db m77987) HM
Nova Scotia (Halifax Regional Municipality), Dartmouth — 07 — Barges, Steamboats and Scows
Lock 2 You are now looking at the upper sill of Lock 2. The chambers of the first five Locks on the Canal are approximately 21 meters long and 5.5 meters wide. Therefore the boats and barges used on the system had to be able to fit within these chambers. The watercraft used on the Canal included three steamboats, twelve scows and an 80 ton barge. These craft were used to transport freight and passengers to and from Dartmouth and the interior of the Province. Bricks, pottery and . . . — Map (db m78083) HM
Nova Scotia (Halifax Regional Municipality), Dartmouth — 01 — Before the Canal
Cutting the Canal You are now standing about one third of the way between Lake Micmac to the South (left) and Lake Charles to the North (right). Before canal construction began in 1826 there was no flow of water between these two lakes. The Mi’kmaq and early settlers wishing to go from one lake to the other had to portage or carry their boats through the 1.5 kilometres of forested area. The man made canal cut with its two locks took three years to construct and was the most difficult . . . — Map (db m77986) HM
Nova Scotia (Halifax Regional Municipality), Dartmouth — 16 — Benching - An early construction technique
Benching As you look down the Cut you will see, on the left or East bank, stone walls separated by narrow, flat terraces. This construction technique was used by the canal workers to prevent the earth from sliding down the bank. It was obviously an efficient construction method as the sides of the canal cut remain almost intact two centuries later. Stop Gates If you look below and on either side of the channel you will see large cut stones which are the remains of a mitred . . . — Map (db m78117) HM
Nova Scotia (Halifax Regional Municipality), Dartmouth — Canal Shubenacadie CanalNational Historic Civil Engineering Site / Site Historique National de Génie Civil
Constructed 1826-1861 Charles William Fairbanks Francis Hall Angus McDougall Engineers / Ingénieurs — Map (db m77984) HM
Nova Scotia (Halifax Regional Municipality), Dartmouth — 13 — Deep Cut
Hard Digging! From this location you can begin to appreciate the enormous task which faced the canal workers. Prior to 1826 this canal cut or trench did not exist and all of the earth and rock had to be removed. Unlike the lower part of the canal - where you saw the banks which had to be built up - in this area the channel had to be dug out. Simple hand tools, gun powder and raw strength were all that was available for this back breaking task. As you walk along the trails you will see . . . — Map (db m78105) HM
Nova Scotia (Halifax Regional Municipality), Dartmouth — Historic Shubenacadie Canal SystemLock 3 — 1824-31 ——— 1856-70
At the point you are approximately 26 meters above sea level, almost at the height of Lake Charles from which the water flows in two directions - south to the Harbour and north to the Bay of Fundy. To get to this point vessels would have traveled from the Harbour to Sullivan’s Pond (lift of 15m) via the inclined plain which no longer exists and passed through Locks 1, 2 and 3. This area of the canal provides an excellent opportunity to view all the components of a lock system - lock, dam and . . . — Map (db m78147) HM
Nova Scotia (Halifax Regional Municipality), Dartmouth — Historic Shubenacadie Canal SystemLock 2 — 1824-31 ——— 1856-70
Vessels entering Lock two, traveling northward, were approximately 19 meters above the level of the Harbour. This lock would raise them another three or four meters enabling them the make their way along the canal to Lock three. This present lock was completed in 1857. However the first lock at this site was constructed by Irish and Scottish canal workers in the late 1820’s. It was built totally of granite and was much larger than the present one - six meters longer and over a meter wider. The . . . — Map (db m78148) HM
Nova Scotia (Halifax Regional Municipality), Dartmouth — 03 — Lightning Strikes at Canal Camp
Navvies The most concentrated number of features belonging to the Canal Camp are located in this area beneath the trees and along the roadway. You can still make out the remains of several stone foundations. A plan of this area prepared in 1826 shows a line of small cottages or huts. Approximately three hundred navvies (from the word “navigator” or canal labourer) worked and lived here with their families from 1826 to 1831. A newspaper article of the time reports that on one . . . — Map (db m77988) HM
Nova Scotia (Halifax Regional Municipality), Dartmouth — 12 — Navvies Dwelling
A Dwelling for Two Families Imagine this structure on top of the stone foundation in front of you. This home would be similar to the one at Site No. 9. However this structure is larger and contains two small stone hearths. When excavated in 1985 by Dr. Stephen Davis of Saint Mary’s University, a knife was found beneath the hearth stones - this is believed to be an Irish tradition. — Map (db m78104) HM
Nova Scotia (Halifax Regional Municipality), Dartmouth — 09 — Of Bough and Bark
Dwelling Cabin This feature represents an example of cultural transfer by emigrants to Canada from their homeland. This dwelling cabin strongly resembles the description of the cabins of the working poor in Northern Scotland and Ireland, as recorded there in the 1830s. The common elements of this and the cabins in Europe are small dimensions, set into an embankment or hillside, earth floors, no flue or chimney, the fire built on the floor. Here at Port Wallace, the roof was of boughs and . . . — Map (db m78101) HM
Nova Scotia (Halifax Regional Municipality), Dartmouth — 05 — Official Groundbreaking 1829
Location of prominent historical characters at the ground breaking ceremony General location of the official ground breaking ceremony, July 25th, 1826. Looking south from the walking bridge you are viewing the general location of the official ground breaking ceremony. In a very formal manner, Lord Dalhouse, Governor General of British North America and Sir James Kempt, Lt. Governor of Nova Scotia, broke the first ground for the Shubenacadie Canal. The ceremony was attended by the . . . — Map (db m78078) HM
Nova Scotia (Halifax Regional Municipality), Dartmouth — 14 — One of the mysteries yet to be solved…
Possibly a Storage Building for Powder This is the only example of this style of structure found anywhere along the canal. While the Archaeologists are uncertain about its use, it may have been a storage area for black powder used to blast the bedrock found in the Deep Cut. However, an analysis of the surrounding soil did not reveal any evidence of this. It is likely this round stone base would have had a roof of logs and bark. — Map (db m78106) HM
Nova Scotia (Halifax Regional Municipality), Dartmouth — Shubenacadie Canal, Port Wallace
From 1826 to 1831, canal labourers constructed two locks and the “deep cut” between Lake Charles and Lake Micmac. During these years, upwards of 250 workers and their families lived here. The locks were rebuilt and operated between 1858 and 1870. — Map (db m77956) HM
Nova Scotia (Halifax Regional Municipality), Dartmouth — 15 — Summit of the Canal
Highest point of the Canal Ahead you will see Lake Charles which is the highest body of water in the Canal system. From this lake, water flows south to the Halifax Harbour and north to the Bay of Fundy. You are now approx. 29 meters (95 feet) above the level of the harbour and vessels reaching this point have been lifted up this distance by an incline railway and three locks. In the distance you have walked from Lake Micmac, you have climbed approx. 9 meters (30 feet) in elevation. — Map (db m78115) HM
Nova Scotia (Halifax Regional Municipality), Dartmouth — 10 — The Fairbanks Solution
Lock 3 When first built this lock was made entirely of granite blocks, as represented by the end walls. Like the other structures of the Canal, this lock fell into disrepair between 1831 and 1854. It was completely rebuilt by Charles Fairbanks using the less expensive North American method. When operating the inner walls of the Lock would have had wooden plank surfaces. The lock raised and lowered vessels 3.7 meters (12 feet). — Map (db m77985) HM
Nova Scotia (Halifax Regional Municipality), Dartmouth — 17 — The Forge
The Blacksmith’s Shop Excavated by Dr. Davis in 1985, this forge operated during both the first construction period (1820s) and the second (1850s). It was here that workers and masons would have their tools repaired and stone picks sharpened. On June 10th, 1862 Henry Findlay, Superintendent of the canal wrote in his log book: “found the fastening on the forge door had been forced off. I then started for the workshop and when half way up to it saw a man at the end of it. I gave . . . — Map (db m77982) HM
Nova Scotia (Halifax Regional Municipality), Dartmouth — 04 — Unique Construction
Lock 2 Looking north from the walking bridge you see Lock 2. This lock was the first to be constructed on the Canal. Initially the lock was built totally of granite blocks (British construction method), as seen on the east wall. After the first Canal Company ceased operating in 1831 the workings of the Canal fell into disrepair. When the Canal was redesigned in 1854 by Charles William Fairbanks, a Dartmouth native, he introduced a composite stone and brace method (North American . . . — Map (db m78077) HM
Nova Scotia (Halifax Regional Municipality), Dartmouth — 11 — Waste Weir and Holding Pond
A water control structure The man-made holding pond in front of you helped to maintain the level of the canal when the lock was in operation. The water in this holding pond had two purposes. It helped maintain the water level in the dry summer months and minimized the drop in water level when the lock was being filled. Each time Lock 3 was used, roughly 400,000 litres of water were sent down to the next level of the canal system. Beneath the boardwalk you are standing on is what is . . . — Map (db m78102) HM
Nova Scotia (Halifax Regional Municipality), Halifax — Fairview Lawn CemeteryTitanic
Established in 1893, this non-denominational burial ground was originally known as the Green Lawn Cemetery. In 1894, the Fairview Lawn Cemetery Ltd. took over management of the cemetery which it operated for 50 years. Unable to fulfill its commitments with regard to the care and upkeep, the company handed over the cemetery responsibilities to the City of Halifax. On January 13, 1944, it was incorporated into the City of Halifax as the Fairview Lawn Cemetery. A number of famous Canadians are . . . — Map (db m77857) HM
Nova Scotia (Halifax Regional Municipality), Halifax — Halifax and RMS TitanicHalifax et le RMS Titanic
English Here, in Halifax, lie the remains of 150 victims of one of history’s most tragic maritime disasters. Just before midnight on 14 April 1912, the White Star liner RMS Titanic struck an iceberg in the North Atlantic. The majestic ship sank in less than three hours with the loss of close to 1,500 lives. In the aftermath of the sinking, White Star chartered three ships from Halifax and one from St. John’s to search for the dead. Of the 328 recovered, many were buried at sea. . . . — Map (db m77852) HM
Nova Scotia (Halifax Regional Municipality), Halifax — Halifax’s Cable Wharf
The Cable Wharf was purpose built in 1913 by the Western Union Telegraph Company and measures 108 x 17 metres (355 x 54 feet). It is where the company’s cable ships, Minia, Lord Kelvin and Cyrus Field docked and underwent minor repairs. Also serving as a supply and maintenance depot for the vessels and their equipment, The Cable Wharf was a prominent feature of the city’s waterfront and a thriving enterprise for over 50 years. Cable Ready The bottom floor of the 91 x 9 . . . — Map (db m77595) HM
Nova Scotia (Halifax Regional Municipality), Halifax — Mr. John SamwellMr. William Stevens
On your left near this spot lie the remains of … / À votre gauche, près d’ici se trouvent les restes de …. Mr. / M. John Samwell Midshipman / Aspirant de marine • 1797-1813 Mr. / M. William Stevens Boatswain / Maître de manoeuvre • 1757-1813 HMS Shannon English Sacred to the Memory Of Mr John Samwell Midshipman of HMS Shannon who red at the nav(e)l hospital on the 13 of June 1813 aged 18 years Also Mr William Stevens boatswain of . . . — Map (db m77897) HM
Nova Scotia (Halifax Regional Municipality), Halifax — Pier 21Canada’s National Immigration Museum — Musée national de l’immigration au Canada
English When the Canadian immigration complex known as Pier 21 closed its doors in March of 1971, it marked the end of a more than forty-year saga of human hope, vision, courage and resilience. From its opening on the Halifax waterfront in 1928 to its final months of operation, Pier 21 served as a bridge to new beginnings. More than a million immigrants, refugees, displaced persons and war brides passed through its transit shed on their way to becoming Canadian citizens. During the . . . — Map (db m77616) HM
Nova Scotia (Halifax Regional Municipality), Halifax — Samuel Cunard1787-1865
A native son and a great Nova Scotian, he received his early training in this city and became a highly regarded merchant, humanitarian and ship owner. All this was a prelude to his most successful venture, the founding of the British and North American Royal Mail Steam-packet Company and its successor the Cunard Steam-ship Company. Aware of the need for a regular Transatlantic passenger and mail service, Cunard established a fortnightly sailing from Liverpool to Halifax, Boston and return, . . . — Map (db m77879) HM
Nova Scotia (Halifax Regional Municipality), Halifax — Ships and Men of the Royal Canadian Navy
This memorial was erected by the Atlantic Chief and Petty Officies Association to commemorate the Ships and Men of the Royal Canadian Navy who failed to return through enemy action, stress of weather and accidents during The Battle of the Atlantic and to remind future generations of The Price of Victory They are one with the tides of the sea They are one with the tides of our hearts Dedicated in the fifty seventh year of the reign of Queen Elizabeth II and the . . . — Map (db m77646) WM
Nova Scotia (Halifax Regional Municipality), Halifax — The Tall Ships Parade 2000Les Grands Voiliers 2000
English For five days beginning on July 20, 2000, Halifax harbour and waterfront was like no other place - wet or dry - on earth. The city was the sole Canadian host of the largest gathering ever of the world’s Tall Ships - majestic world-class symbols of a bygone Age of Sail. The visit marked the the North American terminus of an international, four-month transatlantic race that began in Southhampton (sic), England on April 19th and concluded in Amsterdam on August 24th. Vessels from . . . — Map (db m77741) HM
Nova Scotia (Halifax Regional Municipality), Halifax — There Was Once a Very Special Ship
The ex-Admiralty ocean salvage tug FOUNDATION FRANKLIN sailed from the Foundation Maritime piers from the early 1930’s to 1948 on rescue and salvage missions in all kinds of weather, in peace and war to assist ships in distress on the great Western Ocean. This plaque is placed here by the Atlantic Chief and Petty Officiers Association to honor the memory of the vessel, her colourful Masters and crew an with respect to our brethren of Canada’s Merchant Navy. “Ah, me son” as on . . . — Map (db m77598) HM
Nova Scotia (Lunenburg County), Lunenburg — “…for those in peril on the sea.”
English Seafaring of all kinds, and fishing especially, is one of most dangerous occupations. Lunenburgers have lived with the dangers associated with making a living from the sea. Fishermen in dories would get lost in the fog, unable to make their way back to their schooner, in the face of a sudden squall or storm. The power of the sea would often overwhelm an older, less seaworthy schooner or a vessel laden low with a hold full of fish. A rogue wave or a swinging boom could wash a . . . — Map (db m78204) HM
Nova Scotia (Lunenburg County), Lunenburg — Lunenburg - Home of the Bluenose & Bluenose IILunenburg - Port d’attache du Bluenose et du Bluenose II
English On March 26, 1921, Smith & Rhuland’s launched hull number 121, the fishing schooner Bluenose. Built from a design by William J. Roué, Bluenose at 258 tons, was the largest schooner ever launched at Lunenburg. Although built primarily to challenge the Americans who had won the first series for the International Fishermen’s Trophy, she also has to pay her own way as a working fishing vessel. In 1921, under the command of Captain Angus Walters of Lunenburg, she . . . — Map (db m78158) HM
Nova Scotia (Lunenburg County), Lunenburg — Lunenburg’s Fishing Industry 1870’s - 1940’sL’industrie de la pêche à Lunenburg de 1870 aux années 1940
English By 1870, Lunenburg schooners abandoned the Labrador fishery and concentrated on the fishing banks off of Nova Scotia and Newfoundland. Instead of handlining from the schooner’s deck, fishermen set out in dories - double-ended, flat bottomed boats - which could be easily stackers on deck when not in use. Handlining soon gave way to the use of trawls or long lines. This consisted of a length of line almost a mile long with smaller lines and baited hooks every six feet. Trawls . . . — Map (db m78207) HM
Nova Scotia (Lunenburg County), Lunenburg — Lunenburg’s Fishing Industry Since 1940’sL’industrie des pêches de Lunenburg depuis les années 1940
English Although efforts were made to use large vessels known as otter trawls in the offshore fishery in the 1920’s, they were not used extensively until after the Second World War. Unlike the long line which used baited hooks to attract the fish, otter trawls were dragged along the ocean floor taking everything in their wake. The auxiliary schooners which tended to be privately owned, were soon replaced by side trawlers and draggers owned by large fishing companies like Lunenburg’s . . . — Map (db m78206) HM
Nova Scotia (Lunenburg County), Lunenburg — Lunenburg’s Fishing Industry to the 1870’sL’industrie de la pêche à Lunenburg avant les années 1870
English Lunenburg’s early settlers, the “Foreign Protestants,” came from a rich agricultural area in Europe and it was planned that they should establish farms which could supply both their own needs and those of the colony’s capital at Halifax. The land could not sustain them and although they lacked experience in fishing, Lunenburgers soon became accomplished fishermen. At first they pursued the shore fishery and later began exploiting the rich fishing grounds along the . . . — Map (db m78259) HM
Nova Scotia (Lunenburg County), Lunenburg — Lunenburg’s Shipbuilding TraditionLa tradition de la construction navale à Lunenburg
English Lunenburg’s success in the fishery stimulated the construction of many fishing vessels. Almost all of the schooners fishing out of Lunenburg during the Town’s first 200 years were built in the Town or in other Lunenburg County ports. Local shipbuilders also built vessels which were involved in the carrying trade along the eastern seaboard of North America and south to the West Indies and South America. Many builders specialized in smaller boats such as whalers, dories, . . . — Map (db m78154) HM
Nova Scotia (Lunenburg County), Lunenburg — Rum RunningLa contrebande de l’alcool
English From 1920 until 1933, the sale of alcohol was prohibited due to the strong “Temperance Movement” in the United States. This prompted a demand for smuggled liquor which proved to be a lucrative business for organized chrome in the United States and for Nova Scotian fishing vessels an their crews. They would load barrels of liquor at the French port of Saint Pierre off the south coast of Newfoundland or from larger ships off shore and transport their valuable cargo . . . — Map (db m78303) HM
Nova Scotia (Lunenburg County), Lunenburg — The Labrador Whaler Anderson Bros.
The Labrador whaler Anderson Bros. is the type of boat that was used extensively in the Labrador fishery of the 19th century. Lunenburg County had a large fleet of 40 to 60 ton schooners known as “Labradormen” that went to the bays of the Labrador coast to fish in the summer months. Each schooner carried four to six of these two-man whalers on deck. The whalers set out each morning to handling for cod and returned throughout the day with their catch which was cleaned and . . . — Map (db m78205) HM
Nova Scotia (Richmond County), St. Peter's — St, Peter’s and Its CanalSt. Peter’s et son canal
English The community of St. Peter’s is situated on the neck of land that separates the Bras d’Or Lake from the Atlantic Ocean. Up until the introduction of road and rail travel, the lake was the highway of the interior of Cape Breton and the ocean link with the rest of the world. The first survey for a canal was done in 1825. Construction started in 1854 and finished in 1869. Further improvements occurred in 1875-81, 1912-17, and 1984-85. >br> Today the St. Peter’s Canal and the . . . — Map (db m78729) HM
Nova Scotia (Richmond County), St. Peter's — St. Peter’s Canal / Le Canal Saint-PierreSt. Peters / Saint-Pierre
There are two plaques on this monument St. Peter’s Canal / Le Canal Saint-Pierre English Connecting St. Peter’s Bay on the Atlantic Ocean with the Bras d’Or Lakes, St. Peter’s Canal follows substantially the portage of the old French trading days. The route was first surveyed in 1825 but construction did not commence until 1854, was suspended in 1856, renewed in 1865, and not completed until 1869. Since that time the canal has been twice enlarged and can now accommodate . . . — Map (db m78726) HM
Ontario, Hamilton — Hamilton - Scourge ProjectWar of 1812 Naval Memorial Garden
We honour here fifty-three sailors who lost their lives when their ships, HAMILTON and SCOURGE, capsized during a storm in the early morning hours of Sunday, 8th August 1813. These two armed merchant schooners lie in 90 metres of water, 30 kilometres northeast of this site, intact and perfectly preserved with their guns and equipment still in place. A replica of the foremast of SCOURGE is flanked by fifty-three markers similar to those in Allied military cemeteries throughout the world. — Map (db m56928) HM
Ontario, Hamilton — HMCS Haida - NCSM HaidaTribal Class Destroyer — National Historic Site of Canada
HMCS Haida is the last of the Tribal class destroyers which saw heavy action with the Australian, British and Canadian navies during World War II. Built for the Royal Canadian Navy at Newcastle, England, , in 1942, this ship served on the frigid Murmansk run and in clearing the English Channel for the Normandy invasion. She helped sink 14 enemy vessels. Haida was re-commissioned in 1952 and served two tours of duty with the United Nations in Korea, taking part in shore bombardment, blockades . . . — Map (db m67343) WM
Ontario (Chatham-Kent), Chatham — Burning of British Ships / American EncampmentMonday, October 4, 1813 — Tecumseh Parkway
East of the Forks, the Thames River becomes shallower and not navigable for larger ships. With the American forces close behind, the British vessels were threatened with capture. One cargo ship, probably the Miamis, had already been set on fire closer to the Forks. Near this site, two other ships, the Mary and the Ellen, were moored perpendicular to the shore and much of their contents dumped into river. They were then set on fire to block the river to any American gunboats. The American . . . — Map (db m71398) HM
Ontario (Chatham-Kent), Chatham — The Forks — Tecumseh Parkway
The Forks of the Thames are formed by the joining of the Thames River and McGregor Creek creating a peninsula that is present day Tecumseh Park in Chatham, Ontario. The strategic importance of the site was recognized by Lieutenant Governor John Graves Simcoe when he visited the region in 1793. The first settlement at the Forks occurred in 1794 when Simcoe commissioned Captain William Baker to establish a shipyard. Baker constructed a log blockhouse, a 72 foot-long frame workshop, forges, . . . — Map (db m71331) HM
Ontario (Essex County), Amherstburg — Detroit River Heritage
Detroit River Heritage This river not only forms the border between two great nations, but is also a vital transportation artery into the upper Great Lakes. Imagine the vessels that have travelled on it … First National canoes, sailing vessels loaded with furs, British and American warships, steamers bringing holidayers to Boblo Island, and giant freighters filled with iron ore. British war vessels used the Detroit River during the War of 1812. After the war, an . . . — Map (db m71160) HM
Ontario (Essex County), Amherstburg — Shoreline Breakwall
Shoreline Breakwall Over time, the force of water and ice has eroded the river bank, creating the need to stabilize the shore. Parks Canada, the Essex Region Conservation Authority (ERCA) and Environment Canada partnered to stabilize the shoreline using limestone mined in Amherstburg, and created small islands with submerged spawning reefs. These features provide habitat, and shelter fish and other aquatic life from the current and wake created by passing freighters. . . . — Map (db m71161) HM
Ontario (Essex County), Amherstburg — Strategic Location
Strategic Location A deepwater channel between here and Boblo Island brings ships close to shore, a fact dramatically illustrated when a north-bound lake freighter passes by. This was why Fort Amerstburg was originally located here - cannon on its walls would have no difficulty in hitting any ship sailing up or down the channel, allowing the fort to control this key waterway. Two hundred years ago, all shipping had to pass within cannon shot of this fort. Today, . . . — Map (db m71191) HM
Ontario (Essex County), Amherstburg — The Battle of Lake Erie
In September 1813 the British squadron under R. Barclay sailed from Amherstburg to collect desperately needed food supplies. They were met by the larger, more heavily armed American squadron commanded by O. Perry. The British had the initial advantage of the wind and used their long range guns to disable the American flag ship LAWRENCE. With his own ship crippled, Perry was rowed to the NIAGARA which had held back from the fighting. With the wind now to his advantage, Perry bore down on . . . — Map (db m37707) HM
Ontario (Essex County), Windsor — The Detroit River
The Detroit River is unique in Canada, the United States and indeed, the world. Its shores embrace the largest metropolitan area on any international border - but rather than separating communities, the river connects them culturally and economically. Archaeological finds date First Nations communities at the river as early as 400 A.D. while French settlers reached the area by the mid-1600's. The river and its watersheds represent the history of North America in a way that is not . . . — Map (db m37378) HM
Ontario (Frontenac County), Kingston — Fort Henry
The first Fort Henry was built during the War of 1812 to protect the British dockyards in Navy Bay. The present limestone citadel, constructed between 1832 and 1837, replaced the old fort as part of a larger plan for the defence of the recently completed Rideau Canal. Commissariat stores were built to join the advanced battery with the main fort in 1841-42. Fort Henry was garrisoned by British troops until 1871, when Canadian Gunnery Schools (forerunner of the Royal Canadian Artillery) took . . . — Map (db m39364) HM
Ontario (Niagara Region), Allanburg — The Old Welland Canal
Originally conceived in 1818 by its promoter, William Hamilton Merritt, to divert trade from the Erie Canal and New York and built under private auspices, the canal was opened to traffic in 1829. After additional work in 1833, the canal with its 40 wooden locks linked Port Colborne on Lake Erie and Port Dalhousie on Lake Ontario and brought prosperity to its environs by permitting the export of Upper Canadian staples through New York. In 1841 reconstruction was begun by the Canadian government . . . — Map (db m75850) HM
Ontario (Niagara Region), Chippawa — The Destruction of The Caroline, 1837
On the night of December 29-30, 1837, some 60 volunteers acting on the orders of Col. Allen Napier MacNab, and commanded by Capt. Andrew Drew, R.N., set out from Chippawa in small boats to capture the American steamer "Caroline". That vessel, which had been supplying William Lyon Mackenzie's rebel forces on Navy Island, was moored at Fort Schlosser, N.Y. There she was boarded by Drew's men, her crew killed or driven ashore, and after an unsuccessful attempt to start the engines, her captors set . . . — Map (db m64651) HM
Ontario (Niagara Region), Fort Erie — Bertie Street Ferry Landingc. 1796 - 1950
Over the centuries there have been many ferry landings along the Niagara River. Some were built by local merchants and some as government licenced landing points. The longest operating ferry dock was here, near the foot of present-day Bertie Street. It was licenced to Henry Windecker c. 1796. This hub of activity was not only a crossing point to and from the United States, but was also the location of customs, immigration, vehicle registration, and a railroad terminus. During the . . . — Map (db m75876) HM
Ontario (Niagara Region), Fort Erie — Fort Erie Ferry Landings
Throughout the 1800s there were many ferry landings competing for business along the Niagara River. The map below is a compilation of some of these locations. Ferry leases were granted to: Col. John Warren Sr., John Warren Jr., Nelson Forsyth, Kenneth Mackenzie and Col. James Kerby. Colonel James Kerby was also Collector of Customs during the mid 1800s and reported his frustration to the government that “ferry boats landed her and there and everywhere as might best suit them.” — Map (db m75877) HM
Ontario (Niagara Region), Fort Erie — Freedom Park
From around 1830 to 1860, thousands of freedom seekers used the Underground Railroad to reach sanctuary in Canada - the “promised land”. Many crossed the Niagara River from the United State to Fort Erie, including Josiah Henson and his family, who arrived on the 28th of October 1830. The book Uncle Tom’s Cabin, by Harriet Beecher Stowe, was patterned after his life. This park has been created to celebrate their lives and to remind present and future generations of their . . . — Map (db m75878) HM
Ontario (Niagara Region), Niagara Falls — Niagara Falls Park and River Railway Powerhouse
The Niagara Falls Park and River Railway Powerhouse, built on this site in 1892, was the first hydraulic powerhouse to use water from the Canadian side of the Niagara River. It generated 2100 hp of direct current electricity for the electric railway. Power generation ceased in 1932 and the building was demolished in 1985. — Map (db m66409) HM
Ontario (Niagara Region), Niagara Falls — The Boundary Waters Treaty
"It is further agreed that the waters herein defined as boundary waters and waters flowing across the boundary shall not be polluted on either side to the injury of health or property of the other." Widely regarded as the first environmental agreement, the 1909 Boundary Waters Treaty was the first international treaty to articulate principles of boundary water resource development, to address cross-boundary pollution and to prohibit the diversion of boundary waters. Further, in . . . — Map (db m64648) HM
Ontario (Niagara Region), Niagara Falls — Zimmerman Fountain Pond
This beautiful fountain takes its name from Samuel Zimmerman who came to Canada from Pennsylvania in 1842. He amassed a fortune through a series of lucrative contracts involving the building of the second Welland Canal and various Railway Lines, allowing him to begin construction of a large estate in what is now Queen Victoria Park. The estate was unfinished when he was killed in a railway accident in March of 1857. This fountain pond, which dates back to 1856, is the last remaining remnant of his estate. — Map (db m75881) HM
Ontario (Niagara Region), St. Catharines — Bollard
Bollards, used to secure ropes from a ship, are found all along the canal. Most were plain and serviceable. This bollard, made from polished carved limestone and placed on a base, was a prototype for possible use along the present canal. Though never actually used, this one rested at the home of Chief Engineer J.L. Weller on Queenston Street. Port Weller was named in his honor. — Map (db m76086) HM
Ontario (Niagara Region), St. Catharines — Bollards & FairleadsMooring
Bollards and Fairleads are used to control the lines (rope and cables) used to tie up a ship. Bollards are steel or concrete posts, on land and on a ship, used to secure a vessel. Vessels travelling through the Welland Canal are tied up in each lock before the water level is raised or lowered. This reduces the risk of damage both to the lock and the ship. When moving upbound, as the ship enters the lock, line handlers send down the heaving line (thin yellow ropes) to the deckhands . . . — Map (db m76088) HM
Ontario (Niagara Region), St. Catharines — Cannon Barrel
In 1960, the Lincoln Historical Society (now the St. Catharines Historical Society) recovered this cannon barrel from the banks of Twelve Mile Creek, formerly the route of the First and Second Welland Canals. It had been buried in the area under the Burgoyne Bridge below Yates Street. The barrel displays no crests or markings to indicate its country or place of origin, not its maker or date of manufacture. The bent barrel and broken pintles (the 'pins' on either side of the barrel upon which . . . — Map (db m76089) HM
Ontario (Niagara Region), St. Catharines — Early Welland Canals
The modern Welland Canal is actually the fourth version to be built since 1829. Unlike the later government-operated canals, the First Welland Canal was built by a private company. The outline on the ground represents a typical lock from the First Canal. Compare the outline to Lock 3. How have the locks changed? [Caption for drawing:] Typical locks, balance beam gates, and barge traffic on the Erie Canal. Dressed stone was used to build the Second Canal (1845) and Third . . . — Map (db m76090) HM
Ontario (Niagara Region), St. Catharines — Lock 24 - First Welland Canal
A timber lock with inside dimensions of 33.7m (108 ft.) by 6.6m (22 ft.) was constructed on this site between 1824 and 1827. The lock walls consisted of earth filled cribs 5.2m (16 ft) thick and 7.6m (25 ft) deep. This was the 24th lock of 39 that lifted ships from Port Dalhousie on Lake Ontario up the Niagara Escarpment to Port Robinson on the Chippawa Creek. From there they proceeded into the Niagara River and on to Lake Erie. Each lock lifted a ship an average of 3m (10ft). This canal opened . . . — Map (db m75871) HM
Ontario (Niagara Region), St. Catharines — Louis Shickluna 1808-1880
A prominent Canadian shipbuilder, Shickluna was born in Malta, where he worked before emigrating to North America. By 1835 he was engaged in ship construction at Youngstown, NY. Three years later, attracted by the traffic stimulated by the Welland Canal's completion in 1833, he purchased a shipyard on the Canal at St. Catharines. Shickluna steadily expanded his operations, which contributed significantly to the commercial prosperity of the region. Between 1838 and 1880 he directed the . . . — Map (db m76272) HM
Ontario (Niagara Region), St. Catharines — Shipbuilding in Niagara
Shipbuilding has a long association with the Niagara Peninsula, and is especially linked to the Welland Canals. Russell Armington established this important industry with the launching in 1828 of the WELLAND CANAL. St. Catharines quickly became the major shipbuilding centre in Niagara. Shipbuilders such as Abbey, Beatty, Muir, Shickluna and Simpson practiced their trade in several communities along the Welland Canal. They were respected throughout the Great Lakes for the quality design . . . — Map (db m76279) HM
Ontario (Niagara Region), St. Catharines — Shipbuilding in St. Catharines 1845Our Heritage — St. Catharines Heritage Corridor
St. Catharines became an important part of the shipping industry due to te building of the Welland Canals and its location between two Great Lakes. Louis Shickluna, a shipbuilder who emigrated to St. Catharines to Malta, began working as a builder in the Russell Armington Shipyard, located at the 6th Lock of the yard in 1845 and began constructing and repairing ships, establishing himself as a premier builder. Shickluna Shipyards had an international reputation for building some of the biggest . . . — Map (db m76284) HM
Ontario (Niagara Region), St. Catharines — The First Welland Canal 1824-1833
Lock number 6 of the original Welland Canal lies in the adjacent watercourse about 213 metres southwest of here. This first or "wooden" canal, constructed 1824-33 by the Welland Canal Company, ran from Port Dalhousie on Lake Ontario to Port Colborne on Lake Erie. William Hamilton Merritt was its chief promoter. With the opening of the canal as far as Port Robinson in 1829, lake boats reached Lake Erie via the Welland and Niagara Rivers. When completed in 1833, the 45 km canal enabled vessels to . . . — Map (db m75874) HM
Ontario (Niagara Region), St. Catharines — The Fourth Welland CanalAn Outstanding Canadian Engineering Achievement
A tribute to Canadian engineering design and construction, the Fourth Welland Canal was built to permit passage of ships between Lakes Ontario and Erie, bypassing Niagara Falls. Constructed in the period 1913 - 1932 at a cost of $130 million, it incorporates systems of locks, weirs, moveable bridges, and a power house. The Canal which is 43.4 km (27 miles) in length, overcomes a difference in elevation between the two lakes of 99.5 m (326 feet) by means of seven lift locks and one control lock. . . . — Map (db m76084) HM
Ontario (Niagara Region), St. Catharines — The Welland Canals and the St. Lawrence Seaway System
The Welland Ship Canal is the fourth in a series of successively larger canals that were built to join Lakes Ontario and Erie - the first being completed in 1829. The present Canal was opened in 1932. It forms part of the St. Lawrence Seaway/Great Lakes navigation route, 2160km (1342 miles) from the head of the lakes at Duluth, Minnesota to tidewater at Montreal, Quebec. The jointly operated Seaway was officially opened in 1959 by Queen Elizabeth II and President Dwight D. Eisenhower. This . . . — Map (db m76328) HM
Ontario (Niagara Region), St. Catharines — This Statue of the Honourable William Hamilton Merritt
has been erected by his grandson William Hamilton Merritt of the City of Toronto, son of William Hamilton Merritt Jr. of St. Catharines, as a tribute to the father of Canadian transportaion who through initiatory steps in first waterways and railways earned that title. He projected and carried to a successful completion the bridging of the cataract of Niagara by the Welland Canal 1824-29, the first railway suspension bridge in the world spanning the gorge of the same river 1846-55, and the . . . — Map (db m76186) HM
Ontario (Niagara Region), St. Catharines — Vertical Lift Bridges
Twenty vertical lift bridges were constructed to cross the Welland Canal at the time of its opening in 1932. Of the eleven original vertical lift bridges, only three remain in use. This sheave (a grooved wheel that forms part of a pulley) was removed in January 1998 from Bridge 10 in Thorold. It is he same size as the sheaves on Bridge No, 5 at Glendale Avenue, visible to the south of Lock 3. How it works. The operator and motors to move the span are located in the enclosure at the . . . — Map (db m76326) HM
Ontario (Niagara Region), St. Catharines — Welland Ship Canal
This plaque erected to mark the 40th anniversary of the opening of the Welland Ship Canal to world shipping on August 6, 1932, commemorates the significant role this historic waterway and our inland fleet play in Canadian national life. This canal ranks among the great engineering achievements of this century. It forms part of the Great Lakes - St. Lawrence Seaway System, being the fourth to connect Lake Ontario and Lake Erie since the completion in 1829 of the original Welland Canal. — Map (db m76344) HM
Ontario (Niagara Region), St. Catharines — William Hamilton Merritt 1793 - 1862
Born of a Loyalist family in the State of New York, Merritt became a pioneer merchant and industrialist on Upper Canada's Niagara frontier. In 1818 he began to promote construction of the Welland Canal, of which he became the first general manager (1824-41). Active in provincial politics from 1832 to 1862 as MLA, President of the Executive Council (1848-50) and Commissioner fo Public Works (1850-51), he devoted his considerable energies to the economic development of the province through . . . — Map (db m76182) HM
Ontario (Niagara Region), St. Catharines — William Hamilton Merritt 1793 - 1862
A pioneer in the field of transportation, Merritt was born in Bedford, New York and settled at Twelve Mile Creek (St. Catharines) with his Loyalist family in 1796. He served with the provincial cavalry during the War of 1812, then operated mercantile and milling enterprises here. Primarily responsible for the construction of the first Welland Canal (1824-33). Merritt worked tirelessly to promote this ambitious venture, both by raising funds and by enlisting government support. During his long . . . — Map (db m76184) HM
Ontario (Niagara Region), Thorold — The Founding of Thorold
During the construction of the original Welland Canal, 1824-1829, a number of communities sprung up along its length. Here, on land belonging to George Keefer, a village known as Thorold had developed by 1828. A large flouring mill was built on the canal and the Thorold Township post office was moved from Beaverdams to the new settlement by Jacob Keefer. By 1831 two sawmills were in operation and in 1835 the village contained 370 inhabitants. During the 1840's the building of the Welland Mills, . . . — Map (db m54088) HM
Ontario (Toronto), Toronto — The Lake Light
This lighthouse, one of the earliest on the Great Lakes, was completed in 1808 as an hexagonal tower 52 feet high, topped by a wooden cage with a fixed whale-oil lantern. In 1832 it was raised to 82 feet and later equipped with a revolving light. The mysterious disappearance of its first keeper, J.P. Rademuller, in 1815 and the subsequent discovery nearby of part of a human skeleton enhanced its reputation as a haunted building. Erected by the Ontario Archaeological and Historic Sites Board. Map (db m40779) HM
Quebec (Argenteuil MRC), Saint-André-d'Argenteuil — Carillon Canal
French text appears above English text. Designed and constructed by the Royal Engineers. Commenced in 1826, completed in 1833, enlarged from 1871 to 1882. One of the canals which, by way of the St. Lawrence and the Ottawa, Rideau, and Cataraqui rivers, connect Montreal with Ottawa and Kingston. — Map (db m75655) HM
Quebec (Gaspésie-Îles de la Madeleine MRC), Cap-des-Rosiers — Carricks Monument
Sacred to the memory of 187 Irish Immigrants from Sligo wrecked here on April 28th 1847 Ship Carricks of Whitehaven 87 are buried here Pray for their souls Erected by Parishioners of St Patricks Parish Montreal                     Rev. J. Quinlivan P.P. Map (db m22854) HM
Quebec (Haut-Richelieu MRC), Saint-Jean — Fort Saint-Jean
L'état de guerre avec les Iroquois incita les Français à bâtir un fort à Saint-Jean en 1666. Un nouveau fort fut érigé en 1748 afin de protéger la colonie française contre les expéditions militaires britanniques qui remontaient la rivière Richelieu. En 1775, deux redoutes furent construites pour défendre contre l'invasion américaine la colonie passée aux mains des Anglais. La même année, le fort soutint un siège de 45 jours dirigé par le général américain Montgomery. A la suite du . . . — Map (db m77015) HM
Quebec (Longueuil MRC), Boucherville — Jacques Marquette, S.J.
(French text appears above English text) Né en France le 10 Juin, 1637. Découvrit le Missippi, avec Louis Jolliet, le 17 Juin 1673. Mourut dans l'Etat du Michigan le 18 mai 1675. Visita cette seigneurie en mai 1668. Born in France, 10th June, 1637. Discovered the Mississippi River with Louis Jolliet, 17th June, 1673. Died in Michigan, 18th May, 1675. Visited this seigniory, May, 1668. — Map (db m78180) HM
Quebec (Ville-Marie Borough), Montréal — L’Ancien Édifice de la Douane / The Old Custom House
Construite entre 1836 et 1838, l’ancienne douane est l’œuvre de John Ostell, l’un des plus importants architectes de ces années à Montréal. L’édifice de style palladien se distingue par son élégante façade ornée de pilastres et d’un large fronton. Situé face au fleuve, sur la vieille place du Marché, il soulignait l’essor commercial de Montréal et le nouveau rôle de la métropole. Le bâtiment abrita le service des douanes jusqi’en 1871 et conserva son harmonieuse apparence d’origine après . . . — Map (db m72899) HM
Quebec (Ville-Marie Borough), Montréal — The Nelson Column, Montreal
North face : In memory of the Right Honorable Lord Viscount Nelson Duke of Bronte who terminated his career of Naval Glory in the memorable Battle of Trafalgar on the 21st of Oct 1806 after inculcating by signal a maxim that can never be forgotten by his country: “England expects every man will do his duty.” This monumental pillar was erected by a subscription of the inhabitants of Montreal in the year 1808. West face : On the 1st and 2nd of August 1798, Rear . . . — Map (db m33963) HM
Yukon Territory, Carcross — White Pass & Yukon RouteGolden Spike Centennial
The golden spike was driven to mark the completion of the White Pass & Yukon Route Railway on July 29, 1900. It was the beginning of a fully integrated rail transportation system – which grew to include lakes & river steamboats, stage lines, aircraft, bus lines, trucks and container ships.

One hundred years later – on July 29, 2000 a new ceremonial spike was driven to honor the courage and dedication that built the first northern railway and to pledge a commitment to a second century of service. — Map (db m72917) HM

Yukon Territory, Dawson City — The B.Y.N. Co. Ticket Office/La billettetereie de la compagnie B.Y.N.
[English:] This structure, built in 1900, is all that remains of a larger complex that included a warehouse and dock. At the time of the gold rush and for years afterwards, the riverfront was the transition point between Dawson City and the rest of the world. Riverside facilities were developed until they stretched in a solid line across the city’s length. For most people, it was the first thing that greeted them as the arrived in Dawson City – and the last thing they saw as the . . . — Map (db m44859) HM
Yukon Territory, Dawson City — West Dawson
West Dawson was settled c.1899 by people wanting to avoid overcrowding and typhoid outbreaks in Dawson. Farms also became established and later, as mining in the sixtymile area increased, a link with Dawson became necessary. In 1902 a ferry guided by a cable began operating. This cable was supported on the opposite bank by a 37 metre tower which provided clearance for the riverboats. — Map (db m44711) HM
Yukon Territory, Haines Junction — The Tatshenshini RiverLa rivière Tatshenshini
{English} The Tatshenshini River, known as Shawshe Chu in the Southern Tutchone language, begins in northwestern British Columbia and flows nearly 200 kilometers through the traditional territory of the Champagne and Aishihik First Nations into the Gulf of Alaska. The Tatshenshini is a traditional travel route with great cultural and spiritual significance to Southern Tetchome and Tlingit First Nations. Flowing down rugged canyons carved through coastal mountains, post glacier-filled valleys, . . . — Map (db m49612) HM
Yukon Territory, Whitehorse — SS Klondike
English: The largest vessel ever to ply the Canadian portion of the Yukon River, this sternwheeler was built by the British Yukon Navigation Co. and launched at Whitehorse in 1937 to replace her namesake, which sank the year before. Klondike No. 2 was designed to expedite the movement of silver-lead ore on the Yukon River. A combination freight and passenger boat, she operated primarily between Whitehorse and Dawson. In 1954-55 the vessel was placed in cruise service after an . . . — Map (db m42699) HM
Estonia, Harjumaa MaakondTallinn — Mälestusmärk “Katkenud Liin” / “Broken Line”M/S Estonia Memorial
Malestusmark “Katkenud Liin” Parvlaeva ESTONIA katastroofis 28. septembril 1994.aastal Hukkunud 852 inimesele. “Broken Line” In memory of the 852 people who lost their lives in the ESTONIA passenger ferry catastrophe on 28 September 1994. — Map (db m61331) HM
Estonia, Harjumaa MaakondTallinn — British Royal Navy in the Estonian War of Independence — [Estonian Maritime Museum]
IN MEMORY of the officers and seamen of the British Royal Navy who served and gave their lives in the cause of freedom in the Baltic during the Estonian War of Independence 1918 - 1920 MALESTUSEKS Briti Kuningliku Merevae ohvitseridele ja meremeestele kes voitle sid ja andsid oma elu Balti rikide vabaduse eest Eesti Vabqdussmas 1918-1920 The following Admirals were decorated with the Estonian Cross of Liberty for their distinguished services: Merevaeohvitserid.keda . . . — Map (db m61360) HM
Estonia, Harjumaa MaakondTallinn — Polish Submarine "ORZEŁ" - September 1939 — [Estonian Maritime Museum]
Text in Estonian: ... Text in Polish: 15. Septembril 1939. Aastal Interneeriti saksa riigi survel Tallinnas Poola Sõjalaevvastiku allveelaev “ORZEŁ” Mereväekapten Jan Grudziński juhtimisel võttis relvitu Laev ööl vastu 18 Septembrit 1939 ette Hulljulge põgenemise Suurbritanniasse, et sealt Jätkata Voitlust merel. See Sündmus Oli üheks Ettekäändeks Nõukogude Sõjaväebaaside Rajamisele eesti territooriumil ja Eesti Hilisemale . . . — Map (db m57484) HM
Finland, Uusimaa Region (Helsinki), Suomenlinna — KirkkopuistoKyrkparken - Church Park — [Suomenlinna Sea Fortress]
[Text in Finnish:] … [Text in Swedish:] … [Text in English:] The crownwork (1) comprises the southern flank of an ambitious plan for a public square originally drawn up by Augustin Ehrensvard. The foundation stone was laid on June 8, 1775, by King Gustav III of Sweden. On its external side, the crownwork was designed to form an imposing greystone defensive wall, but its casemates and wings were used for naval shipyard workshops, a sail-making shop, storerooms . . . — Map (db m57779) HM
France, Aquitaine (Dordogne), La Roque-Gageac — Les GabaresLa Roque-Gageac
Vous voici, place de Tarde! Cet aplomb situé au mileiu de jardin exotique vous permet de repérer à votre gauche la bastide de Domme et à votre droite le Château de Castlenaud. Entre ces deux sites d’exception, un méandre de la Dordogne sur lequel vour pouvez apercevoir, à la belle saison, les gabares naviguer. Cette rivière peu amenagèe (par rapport à sa voisine la Garonne) était navigable surtout par fortes eaux pour éviter les pièges qu’elle pouvait dissimuler (arbres, rochers, courants, . . . — Map (db m60504) HM
France, Aquitaine (Dordogne), Vézac — La Dordogne et la navigation[The Dordogne and navigation]
[This marker is composed of four panels.] Jusqu’à l’arrivée du chemin de fer en 1884, la Dordogne a connu une intense activité marchande. Les flottilles venues, d’Argentat transportaient du bois, des fromage et des peaux brutes. Les bateliers de La Rogue-Gageac et de Castlenaud allaient s’approvisionner en merrain (bois de chéne débité en planche pour la tonnellerie) jusqu’en Limousin et en acheminaient une partie à Bergerac. Ils descendaient jusqu’à Libourne les vins de Domme et de Daglan, . . . — Map (db m60497) HM
France, Languedoc-Roussillon (Aude), Paraza — Premier Pont-CanalFirst Canal Bridge — Torreat du Repudre
Torreat du Repudre Premier Pont-Canal Invention due au genie ie P.P Riquet 1676

[English translation: Torreat of Répudre First Canal Bridge Invention of the genius P.P Riquet 1676] — Map (db m60960) HM

France, Languedoc-Roussillon (Gard), Vers-Pont-du-Gard — Pont du Gard
Cet aqueduc construit par les Romains pour conduire a Nimes les eaux de la fontaine d’Eure Reparé par les Etats de Languedoc en MDCCII a été consolidé et restauré en MDCCCLV par les ordres de l’Empereur Napoleon III et par les soins du Ministre d’Etat Ch Questel et Ch Laisné — Architectes

(English translation:) This aqueduct built by the Romans to carry water to Nimes the fountain of Eure Repaired by the States of Languedoc MDCCII was consolidated and restored MDCCCLV by the . . . — Map (db m60961) HM

France, Languedoc-Roussillon (Hérault), Beziers — Écluses de FonseranesLe Canal du Midi — [The Fonseranes Locks]
Les écluses de Fonseranes constituent certainement l’un de plus majestueux et formidables ouvrages issus de génie creatif de Riquet. Véritable chef-d’oeuvre architectural et esthétique, ce remarquable ensemble monumental fut considéré lors de sa construction comme l’une des merveilles du monde. Après s’être affranchi de la problématique traversée du Malpas, Riquet se heurta à une nouvelle difficulté. Une dénivellation de plus de 21 m séparait en effet Fonseranes de l’Orb qui coule au pied de . . . — Map (db m60263) HM
France, Languedoc-Roussillon (Hérault), Beziers — Ici Naquit BeziersVII Siècle Avant J.C. — Beziers decouvre son acte de naissance.
Durant plusieurs siècles, les alluvions abandonnées par l’Orb dans ses débordements avaient pu laire oublier que site commandait le gué qu’utiliserent les population migrantes et les troupes en armes carthaginoises ou romaines. En 1856, les archéologues de XIX eme siècle mettant a profit l’ouverture du chantier du pont-canal, pouvaient alors estimer la datation du premier habitat organisé qui allait donner naissance à Beziers, il y a 27 siècles. Ils venaient de mettre à jour le squelette d’un . . . — Map (db m60292) HM
France, Languedoc-Roussillon (Hérault), Beziers — Pierre Paul Riquet(1604 ou 1609 – 1680)
Biterrois, constructeur du Canal due Midi, il trouve la solution permettant d’unir par un canal l’Ocean a la Mediterranee. En 1667, il entreprend les travaux qu’il financera lui meme. Chantier grandiose représentant 15 ans travail et 12000 ouvriers à la tâche. Il meurt mene un an avant la mise en eau du canal... Sa statue lournée vers l’Ouest, con temple son oeuvre.

[Translation by Google Translate (with modifications): Pierre Paul Riqet (1604 or 1609 - 1680) Native of Béziers, . . . — Map (db m60208) HM

France, Languedoc-Roussillon (Hérault), Capestang — L’aqueduc de Saïsses[The Saïsses aqueduct]
1688/1689. Ouvrage de Vauban, construit par Colin et Launay. Le canal a été creusé ici à flanc de coteau. Les terres de déblais portent le chemin de halage et servant de digue. En 1715 et 1766, de fortes précipitations ont provoqué des brèches et la désolation en aval de l‘aquaduc. La digue a dû être renforcée et maconnée. La brèche de Capestang survenue lors d’un violent orage le 15 November 1766.

[Translation by Google Translate (with modifications): The Saïsses Aqueduct 1688/1689. . . . — Map (db m60192) HM

France, Languedoc-Roussillon (Hérault), Capestang — L’épanchoir de PietatThe Pietat Flood Diversion
Ouvrage de basalte, construit après la catastrophe de 1766. Il a été complété en 1776 par l’épanchoir à siphon du fer à mulet du à l’ingénieur Garupuy (monument inscrit). Avec les aqueducs de l;Ale et de Pietart, ils participent à la mise en sécurité du village.

[Translation by Google Translate (with modifications): The Pietat Flood Diversion Built of basalt, constructed following the disaster flood of 1766. It was completed in 1776 [does not translate] engineer Garupuy (listed . . . — Map (db m60191) HM

France, Midi-Pyrénées (Tarn), Albi — Les berges du TarnThe Tarn riverbanks
La rive gauche du Tarn correspond à un quartier peuplé dès le Haut Moyen Âge: le secteur des «Combes» . Ce nom évoque une topographie en forme de gouttière descendant vers le Tarn. Les Combes établissaient un lien véritable avec la rivière marquée alors par une activité commerciale importante. Témoin de l’essor urbain, le pont Vieux, construit au XIe siècle pour répondre à l’accroissement de la circulation et favoriser le commerce, permet le développement du faubourg «du Bout-du-Pont» sur la . . . — Map (db m60352) HM
Germany, Bavaria, Würzburg — Old CranesAlter Kranen
In den Jahren 1767-1773 errichtete Fürstbischof Adam Friedrich von Seinsheim ein Hebewerk am Mainufer, das unter dem Namen “Alter Kranen” bekannt ist. Dieser Kran diente den Binnenschiffern bis 1846 zum entladen ihrer Schiffe. Der ausführende Architekt war Franz Ignaz Neumann, der Sohn des berühmten Barockmeisters Balthasar Neumann. Franz Ignaz Neumann hat mit diesem Bauwerk eine noch heute in der Fachwelt bestaunte Anlage geschaffen. Translated, the marker reads: In the . . . — Map (db m22687) HM
Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Wittenberg District), Lutherstadt Wittenberg — 1556 Wittenberg Water System
1556 Wir danken den hier senannten grundern des alten jungfern-rohr wassers fur ihr noch heute bestehendes uneigennutziges werk Hieronymus Krapp • Christoph Kellner • Christoph Schramm • Lucas Cranach • Kaspar Pfreundt • Konrad Ruehel • Hans Lufft —————————— 1556 We thank the mentioned founders for their selfless efforts in developing the old maiden-tube water system existing today Hieronymus Krapp • Christoph Kellner • . . . — Map (db m69736) HM
Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Wittenberg District), Lutherstadt Wittenberg — Mains Water Well on the Market SquareRöhrwasserbrunnen auf dem "Marktplatz"
The members of the union "New Jungfernröhrwasser", including Caspar Pfreundt und Christoff Niemeck, commissioned the construction of this water main in 1559. At the start there were 19 members. The water was taken from the spring area to the individual courtyards along a 2.7 km pipe, which used the natural downwards gradient of the terrain. The pipes were made of hollowed tree trunks, connected to each other using iron joints. Wells were constructed in different forms and using different . . . — Map (db m69874) HM
Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Wittenberg District), Lutherstadt Wittenberg — Röhrwasserbrunnen in the/im "Lutherhof"
The members of the union "Old Jungfernröhrwasser", including Lucas Cranach the Younger and Hans Lufft, commissioned the construction of these water mains in 1556. There were 20 members at the start. The water was taken from the spring area to the individual courtyards along a 2.7 km pipe, which used the natural downwards gradient of the terrain. The pipes were made of hollowed tree trunks, connected to each other using iron joints. Wells were constructed in different forms and using . . . — Map (db m70033) HM
Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Wittenberg District), Lutherstadt Wittenberg — Wittenberg's Water-Piping SystemWittenberger Röhrwasser
Wittenberg's Water-Piping System a technical monument from the 16th century 1n 1556 a group of distinguished local residents (Hieronymus Krapp, Christoff Kelner, Hans Lufft, Lucas Cranach, Caspar Pfreundt, Conradt Rühel and Christoff Schramm) formed a "Piping Union" in order to have water mains constructed. This water supply system later became known as the "Old Maiden Water Piping System" (Altes Jungfernröhrwasser). The water was piped in hollowed tree trunks connected with iron . . . — Map (db m69913) HM
Greece, Kalymnos (peripheral unit) (Pátmos Municipality), Skala Village — Liberation of PatmosCapt. Terence Bruce Mitford
[Marker text printed in both Greek and English scripts:] Erected by the Community of Patmos to commemorate the 60th anniversary of the Liberation of the Island, 10 February 1944 by Terence Bruce Mitford Captain, Special Boat Services February 2004 — Map (db m43136) HM
Ireland, Connacht (County Mayo), Cong — Monk's Fishing House / Teach Iascaigh na Manach
Monk's Fishing House Fish was a staple in the diet of the mediaeval monastery, and this small building, probably built in the 15th or 16th century, is believed to have been used by the monks of Cong to make the task of catching fish a little easier. It is built on a platform of stones over a small arch water from the river to flow underneath the floor. A trapdoor in the floor may have been used for a net, and monks could sit by the small fireplace in cold weather waiting for their . . . — Map (db m28068) HM
Ireland, Connacht (County Mayo), Louisburg — Famine Museum and Granuaile Centre, LouisburghClew Bay Archeaological Trail site 12Slí Seandálaíochta Chuan Módh
Cluain Cearbhán - Meadow of the Buttercups The Famine Museum in Louisburgh recounts local memories of the famine, presents coverage of the famine in the media, nationally and locally, and shows how links have been established between Louisburgh and other parts of the world, culminating in the local famine walk along Doo Lough Valley. The Granuaile Centre recounts the life and times of the 16th century O'Malley Chief and Sea Captain, Granuail (Grace O'Malley or Gráinne . . . — Map (db m28044) HM
Ireland, Connacht (County Mayo), Murrisk — Murrisk Abbey / National Famine Monument / Statue of St PatrickClew Bay Archaeological Trail sites 6, 7, 8Slí Seandálaíochta Chuan Módh
Murrisk Abbey • site 6 Muraisc - Sea Marsh Murrisk Abbey was founded circa 1456 by the Augustinian Friars because “the inhabitants of those parts have not hitherto been instructed in their faith.” It quickly became the preferred starting point for pilgrimages up Croagh Patrick. Before then, pilgrims approached the mountain from AnTóchar Phádraig, which starts in Aughagower. The ruins consist of an L-shaped building representing the long and narrow . . . — Map (db m27757) HM
Ireland, Connacht (County Mayo), Murrisk — Murrisk Fisherman's Monument
Ag Criost an muir Ag Criost an t-iasc _liontaib de go gcastar sinn This monument was erected to honour the contributions of the traditional seafaring fishing community in Murrisk. We celebrate their memory and ask you to remember all those who lost their lives in Clew Bay Names of boats associated with sea fishing in Murrisk up to mid 1960's Officially unveiled by Cathaoirleach of Mayo County Council Gerry Coyle & Most Rev. Michael Neary DD Archbishop of . . . — Map (db m27575) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Fingal), Howth — Howth The Village / Binn Éadair ______The Fingal Way / Sli Fhine Gall
A Fishing Village References to the fishing industry in Howth can be found from the twelfth century, although in the seventeenth century the port was also known in the area as a base for pirates roaming Dublin Bay. In Elizabethan times a wooden quay was built but as vessel size increased the importance of Howth for goods and passenger traffic declined. In the nineteenth century various plans were put forward for a harbour at Howth and in 1807 construction commenced using stone quarried . . . — Map (db m27057) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Fingal), Howth — Lost At Sea
The monument was erected by The Howth Fishermens Association and commemorated the lives of all persons lost at sea, no matter where or no matter how. [Representative memorial plaques follow] Fishermen Brian Faherty and Michael McDonogh of The Lively Lady, Inís-More, Aran Islands Lost at Sea, March 1st 1982 in Rossaveal. Sadly missed by their families & friends Ar dheis dé go raibh a nanam In loving memory of the crew of ‘The . . . — Map (db m26806) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Fingal), Howth — The Ready Boat PillarSculpted by Seán O'Dwyer
Seeing the meaning When viewing a piece of sculpture one can see many different layers of meaning. The clues given here are only the first layer of meaning and are meant only as a gateway through which you can go on your way to see meanings of your own. All local stories, myths and legends are preserved to carry a message. Howth has a wonderful past and from it certain themes emerge.... exploration, conflict, healing and preservation. I have depicted figures in the Ready Boat Pillar . . . — Map (db m25301) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Longford), Kenagh — fáilte go Kenagh
Brief History of Longford Longford is a focal point of the northern midlands where the provinces of Leinster, Ulster and Connaught all converge. Longford, where history and literature, tradegy and triumph are all woven together, takes its name from the ancient stronghold of the O'Farrell family (Long Fort - Fort of the O'Farrells) who ruled from the 11th Century. Bordered to the west by the majestic River Shannon, Longford is a county of rolling plains and picturesque stretches of water. . . . — Map (db m27946) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Longford), Lanesborough — fáilte go Lanesborough
Brief History of Longford Longford is a focal point of the northern midlands where the provinces of Leinster, Ulster and Connaught all converge. Longford, where history and literature, tradegy and triumph are all woven together, takes its name from the ancient stronghold of the O'Farrell family (Long Fort - Fort of the O'Farrells) who ruled from the 11th Century. Bordered to the west by the majestic River Shannon, Longford is a county of rolling plains and picturesque stretches of . . . — Map (db m27498) HM
Ireland, Leinster (County Longford), Lanesborough — Lanesborough / Béal Átha Liag History 500 - 1900 AD
The Mouth of the Ford of Stones The ancient name of Lanesborough is Béal Átha Liag which means “Mouth of the Ford of Stones”. Situated at the northern tip of Lough Ree, or Loch Rí - meaning the “Lake of Kings” - Béal Átha Liag provided the first crossing point on the Shannon north of Athlone. From 1000 AD, the bridges across the Shannon have been of major military importance, being a main crossing point between the East and West of Ireland. 540 • . . . — Map (db m27424) HM
Ireland, Munster (County Kerry), Dunquin — The Blaskets
This group, the most westerly off the Irish coast, comprises 7 sizeable islands and isolated rocks spread in a line west by south over 2½ miles of the Atlantic, the largest (Great Blasket) 2 miles off shore. Antiquities of the early Christian period include oratories, crosses and “beehive” cells on Inis Mhicileáin and Inis Tuaisceart, and church ruins on the Great Blasket. The economy of the islands, based mainly on fishing with some farming, in 1839 supported 13 . . . — Map (db m24096) HM
Ireland, Munster (County Kerry), Listowel — "River Fort"
This sculpture was designed by local councillor and craftsman Tony O'Callaghan The “Standing Stone” illustrates the River Feale which flows around our town. The “Ring” depicts an earthen fort situated in the vicinity of the town from which the town got its name Lios Tuathail (Listowel). — Map (db m23989) HM
Ireland, Ulster (County Donegal), Slieve League — Fishing /IascaireachtWalking Through Donegal — Ag Siúl Tríd Dhún na nGall
The sea has always been a central part of the lives of the people who live in this area. Fishing once provided an important source of income for many local families. However, today the industry is in steady decline. Donegal Bay, once busy with boats of all sizes, now supports only minimal fishing activity. Is páirt lárnach do shaol na ndaoine a chónaíonn sa cheantar seo an fharraige. Chuidigh an teacht isteach ó thionscal na h-iascaireachta go mór le mórán de na teaghlaigh áitiúla lá den . . . — Map (db m71644) HM
Netherlands Antilles, Sint Maarten, Philipsburg — John Philip Frederick Craanea.k.a. Boechi
This building is dedicated to John P.F. Craane, affectionately known as "Boechi." Born November 24,1913. Boechi spent most of his life working on or around boats. His love for boats was greatly influenced by his father, who was a well-known boat builder on the island of Bonaire. As a young boy, Boechi worked with his father, helping to build boats after school. As a young man, he captained several of the boats his father had built, including the Endeavour and Rainbow. In 1954 Boechi was . . . — Map (db m40591) HM
Philippines, Cavite Province, Corregidor Island — CorregidorMonument to Peace, Human Valor and International Understanding
Corregidor derived its name from Corregimiento or “Municipal District”. About 1225 the island became a stronghold for Chinese pirates until the latter were driven by the Moros. Became Spanish possession, 1570, when Spaniards arrived in Manila from Panay. Occupied by the Dutch, 1600. Recaptured by the Spaniards as a fortification besides being used as lighthouse, dockyard, naval convalescent hospital, penal colony, and checking point for ships to have their papers corrected. . . . — Map (db m63652) HM WM
Philippines, Cavite Province, Corregidor Island — Corregidor Lighthouse
Corregidor Lighthouse is a functioning historic lighthouse located 6,972 miles west-southwest of San Francisco, 3,044 miles north-northeast of Sydney, Australia, 692 miles south of Hong Kong and 628 feet above sea level, on the topside of Corregidor Island, Philippines. Delight in the breathtaking view of the Manila Bay, the South China Sea, Bataan and a bird’s eye-view of the island from atop the lighthouse. The tower is 14.5 m (48 ft.) high. It consists of an octagonal whitewashed . . . — Map (db m64518) HM
Philippines, Cebú Province, Cebu City — Antonio Pigafetta — 1496 - 1535
Patrician of Vicenza, Italy and Knight of Malta chronicler of the Magellan expedition that first circumnavigated the globe from 1519 to 1522. He fought in Mactan and was one of the 22 survivors who returned to Spain. This tribute was erected by the Philippine-Italian Association. — Map (db m64200) HM
Philippines, Leyte (Palo), Palo City — Leyte Landing/Paglunsad sa Leyte
Panel 1 (Text in Filipino): Sa pook na ito sa Palo, Leyte nagbalik sa Filipinas si Heneral Douglas MacArthur noong 20 Oktubre 1944 at personal na nanguna sa mabilisang pagtataboy sa hukbong Hapones na nasa Pilipinas. Ang Pangulong Sergio Osmeña at ilang kagawad ng nagdestiyerong pamahalaan ay dumating kasamg ni Hen. MacArthur at kumilos para sa muling pagtatatag, pagpapanumbalik, at pangangasiwa sa pamahalaang Komonwelt ng Filipinas. Ipinahayag ng pambansang tandang . . . — Map (db m63620) HM WM
Philippines, Zambales (Subic Bay Freeport Zone), Olongapo — The Hellships Memorial
Inscription on first monolith: This memorial honors the thousands of World War II Allied prisoners of war transported under horrific conditions by their Japanese captors on “Hellships” and scattered all across Asia to work as slave laborers in factories, shipyards, and mines to support the Japanese war effort. Many thousands of men were carried on these ships and thousands of those perished from murder, starvation, sickness and neglect or were killed when friendly forces . . . — Map (db m68846) HM WM
Philippines, Zambales (Subic Bay Metropolitan Authority), Olongapo City — Subic Bay Metropolitan Authority
Five years ago today, this 24th day of November 1997, the U.S. Navy in solemn ceremonies relinquished administration, control and possession of the former Subic Naval Base, after 94 years to the sovereign Philippine government. Presiding over the ceremony was his excellency, President Fidel V. Ramos, Present in the historic turnover were: For the Philippine Government: Hon. Roberio R. Romulo, Secretary of Foreign Affairs Hon. Richard J. Gordon, Mayor, City of . . . — Map (db m68150) HM
Sweden, Södermanland Province (Stockholm County), Stockholm — The Zetterström FountainVasa Museum
Text in Swedish: Zetterström-Fontänen Mustycke som användes för att spola tunnlar under Vasa vid bargningen 1961. Konstructör: Dykarpionjären Arne Zetterstöm (1917-1945) Donatorer: Flygt AB och Marinen Text in English: The Zetterström Fountain Nozzle used for making tunnels under the warship Vasa when it was salvaged in 1961. Constructor: The Swedish diving pioneer Arne Zetterström (1917-1945) Fountain sponsors: Flygr . . . — Map (db m56837) HM
Switzerland, Lucerne (Lucerne (District)) — Mühlenplatz (Mill Place)Von Mühlerad zur Turbine (From Mill Wheel to Turbine). — Die Nutzung der Wasserkraft am Mühlenplatz (The Use of Water Power on Mühlenplatz).
Panel 1 Von Mühlerad zur Turbine Die Nutzung der Wasserkraft am Mühlenplatz Lange vor der Stadtgründung wird die Wasserkraft der Reuss genutzt. Das seit dem 8. Jh. nachweisbare Kloster im Hof betreibt hier seine Mühlen. Nach der Mitte des 14. Jn. Gelangen die Mühlen unter die Kontrolle der Stadt. Das Bild aus dem Jahr 1513 zeigt den Schiffbruch von Luzerner Kaufleuten an der im Flussbett verankerten Schwelle. Diese staut das Wasser und leitet es dem Mühlard zu. Die einfache, . . . — Map (db m67569) HM
Turks and Caicos Islands, Grand Turk, Cockburn Town — Grand Turk Historic Lighthouse
During the colonial days, hundreds of shipwrecks occured off Grand Turk due to the shallow reef off its northern coast. Because shipwrecks were so common, vessels began refusing to call for salt cargoes, the mainstay of the Grand Turk economy. Both shippers and the American Government insisted that a lighthouse be constructed. The Grand Turk Lighthouse was built in London in 1852 and shipped to Grand Turk, where it was assembled in hopes of saving the salt trade. Standing sixty feet, it was . . . — Map (db m40367) HM
Turks and Caicos Islands, Grand Turk, Cockburn Town — Grand Turk Historic Lighthouse
During the Lighthouse's first forty years of use, wrecks continued along the northern coast. Ship captains complained that the light was too dim or not lit at all. Some believe that the dimming of the light was done intentionally to cause ship wrecks in order to loot cargo aboard. In March 1878 Captain Huehl of the S.S. Tybee reported that, on approaching Grand Turk at 2 a.m., he found himself in white water off the Northeast Reef, yet saw no light burning. On May 21st, the brig Lydia . . . — Map (db m40454) HM
Turks and Caicos Islands, Grand Turk, Cockburn Town — The History of the West( Grand Turk )
The western side of Grand Turk is the leeward side of the island. This is the side protected from high winds and storms. Because of this, it was the primary anchorage for the sailing vessels that came and went from Grand Turk for hundreds of years. The west coast is littered with artifacts left by these ships. Anchors, cannons, stone ballast, and even bottles lay sometimes within a few feet of shore. These remnants of our maritime past can be seen almost anywhere you snorkel on the west side . . . — Map (db m40351) HM
Turks and Caicos Islands, Grand Turk, Cockburn Town — The Northeast Reef — (Grand Turk)
The Northeast Reef is a shallow reef lying to the northeast of Grand Turk and running 2.8 miles into the sea. The Reef lies in the Turks Island Passage, which has been located along trade routes from Jamaica, Cuba and Hispaniola back to Europe since the finding of the New World. Some estimates indicate that maybe 1,000 shipwrecks in the waters of the Turks and Caicos Islands, and the Northeast Reef is the most infamous cause. It has caused hundreds of shipwrecks. Shipwrecks off the . . . — Map (db m40602) HM
Turks and Caicos Islands, Grand Turk, Cockburn Town — U.S. Naval Facility— Grand Turk —
In 1954 the U.S. Navy established a hydrographic research station on this northern promontory of Grand Turk, overlooking the strategic passage from the Atlantic Ocean. Quonset huts were erected to accommodate eleven officers and one-hundred enlisted men. The large water catchment can be seen within the confines of the base Known officially as the U.S. Facility for Oceanographic Research, the base was established to improve knowledge of oceanographic and acoustic conditions. The U.S. had . . . — Map (db m40833) HM
U.S Virgin Islands, St Croix, Christiansted — Christiansted Wharf1830s-1850s
Along the wharf you would have heard the creaking of rigging and pulleys as ships unloaded foodstuffs, plantation supplies, and building materials. The scent of sugar and molasses sweetened the air. Down the street plodded oxen, snorting with effort, as they delivered cartloads of rum barrels.

This was the music of international commerce. Sailors from Denmark, Great Britain, France, and the United States contributed to the blend of languages. Above the clipped Danish of customs officials . . . — Map (db m60815) HM

United Kingdom, Lancashire, Fleetwood — S T Goth Memorial
This is the funnel of the trawler Goth which disappeared in a fierce storm off the North Cape of Iceland in December, 1948. There were 21 men onboard who had hoped to return from the fishing grounds to spend Christmas with their families. Deckhand Ernest Parker had been married for just two weeks. His best man, John Tandy left behind a wife and baby. Many of the young crewmen had survived wartime service and so had the Goth. Built in 1925, the ship was a coal-fired steam trawler. After . . . — Map (db m73282) HM
United Kingdom, Northern Ireland (County Fermanagh), Belleek — Donegal Corridor
During the Second World War (1939-1945) Sunderland and Catalina Flying Boats from RAF Castle Archdale were given permission by the neutral Irish Free State government to fly along the River Erne between Belleek and Ballyshannon. This was known as the Donegal Corridor. Young airmen flew out to the mid-Atlantic to give protection to shipping convoys. A number of planes crashed in the locality. This plaque is in memory of the airmen and seamen from America, Australia, New Zealand, Canada, . . . — Map (db m72536) HM WM
United Kingdom, Northern Ireland (County Londonderry), Derry-Londonderry — Michael Browning
Near this spot was landed the body of Michael Browning Master of the ship Mountjoy of Londonderry - killed in action at the breaking of the boom, July 28th 1689.o.s. while leading the van of the relieving squadron against the forces of James II & Louis XIV. "He died by the most enviable of all deaths, in sight of the city which was his birth place, which was his home, and which had just been saved by his bravery and self-devotion from the most frightful form of . . . — Map (db m70925) HM
United Kingdom, Northern Ireland (County Londonderry), Derry-Londonderry — Shipquay Gate
'A city fit for war and merchandise' In 1600 Elizabeth I of England instructed Sir Henry Docwra to establish and fortify a new settlement on the Foyle. An explosion in the cathedral in 1567 had largely destroyed the town. Docwra and his 4200 troops re-used the stones and rubbish of the old buildings. He surrounded the main fort with earthen walls to protect it from attack by powerful local chiefs. Plantation city The Plantation city was the first planned town in . . . — Map (db m71123) HM
Alabama (Autauga County), Prattville — Autauga Creek
Side 1 Water has always played a significant role in the history of Prattville. Daniel Pratt chose the location for his new town because of the proximity to Autauga Creek and the Alabama River. This area was referred to as an “unhealthy quagmire” in the earliest records; but the location of Prattville proved to be ideal for Daniel Pratt’s new town. He built his gin mill, saw mill, and grist mill on the banks of Autauga Creek in the early 1830’s. In 1847, an article in De . . . — Map (db m70815) HM
Alabama (Barbour County), Blue Springs — Pea River Electric Membership Corporation
The Pea River Electric Membership Corporation was energized on this site on June 8, 1939. This rural electric cooperative was organized under an executive order signed by President F. D. Roosevelt on May 11, 1935. Rural members of Barbour, Dale and Henry counties gathered on this bridge to witness the beginning of electric service into their rural areas when 301 homes and businesses received power for the first time. The organizing directors were S.K. Adams, J.G. Sanders, Lloyd Smith, J.Y. . . . — Map (db m71804) HM
Alabama (Chambers County), Valley — West Point Manufacturing Company
Cornerstones of Chattahoochee Mfg. Co., Langdale, Ala., and Alabama & Georgia Mfg. Co., River View, Ala., were laid on August 1, 1866. Mills used Chattahoochee River water power for operation of spindles and looms. Planters and businessmen of Chambers County, Ala., and West Point, Ga., invested the capital for these ventures, providing a new way of life to a war stricken people. In 1880, West Point Manufacturing Company was organized from the Chattahoochee mill. The business genius, . . . — Map (db m71637) HM
Alabama (Chilton County), Verbena — Mitchell Dam
Named by the Board of Directors of Alabama Power Company to honor James Mitchell President 1912-1920 Major modifications to this project were completed in 1985. Three new generating units with a total capacity of 150,000 kilowatts were installed in a new powerhouse on the west bank. In addition, the three additional units installed in 1923 with a total capacity of 52,500 kilowatts were removed from service. Unit 4 with a capacity of 20,000 kilowatts that was . . . — Map (db m72486) HM
Alabama (Colbert County), Cherokee — Colbert's Stand
George Colbert operated a ferry across the Tennessee River from 1800 to 1819. His stand or inn offered travelers a warm meal and shelter during their journey on the Old Trace. Colbert looked after his own well-being and once charged Andrew Jackson $75,000 to ferry his Tennessee army across the river. This site of his stand is a short 50-yards up this path. An additional 20- minutes stroll will take you along the Old Trace to the bluff overlook station and back. — Map (db m69630) HM
Alabama (Dallas County), Selma — Redoubt No. 24Selma Fortifications 1863-1865 — Battle of Selma
Side 1 At prominent positions, earthen forts were built with artillery in position to cover the ground over which an assault would have to be made. Redoubt No. 24 anchored the City's defenses at the junction of Valley Creek & the Alabama River. The Fortifications ran northerly up the current Satterfield Street about 1,300 feet to Redoubt No. 23 and then continuing around the City like a horseshoe. The line turned at No. 24 and ran easterly about 1,000 feet along the current . . . — Map (db m75781) HM
Alabama (Hale County), Greensboro — Gayle - Tunstall House
Built in 1828 by John Gayle, sixth governor of Alabama. Birthplace of Amelia Gayle Gorgas, wife of Gen. Josiah Gorgas, Chief of Ordnance, CSA, mother of Wm. Crawford Gorgas, US Surgeon General who freed Canal Zone of yellow fever. For many years was the home of the Hobson - Tunstall family: Wiley C. Tunstall, member of first Alabama R. R. Commission; his son, Alfred Moore Tunstall, Alabama legislator for 39 years and twice Speaker of House. — Map (db m33744) HM
Alabama (Henry County), Shorterville — Chattahoochee River Crossing
First settler crossings were made here prior to 1817 on a log ferry operated by Robert Irwin. First bridge built by Prescott and Bemis and destroyed by flood of 1855. Second wooden covered bridge was completed in 1869 by ex-slave Horace King. Third was the Henry-Clay cantilever bridge opened in 1925. Fourth is the present McKemie Bridge opened in 1973. This river was the number one highway for local prehistorical man long before Christ. — Map (db m71843) HM
Alabama (Houston County), Columbia — Columbia, Alabama
Founded in 1820, Columbia was originally located about a mile south, near where the Omussee Creek flows into the Chattahoochee River. It served as the county seat of Henry County from 1826 to 1833. Bordering the State of Georgia and the Chattahoochee River, Columbia was a major port-of-call for steamboats and was known to many as “Old Columbia.” The town was incorporated in 1880 and was the center of education, culture, commerce, and trade. Located in the southeast corner of . . . — Map (db m73364) HM
Alabama (Houston County), Dothan — The Steamboat EraSize: 82 Feet Long by 24 Feet High — Painting completed January 2000 Artist Wes Hardin
There were few roads in the Wiregrass in 1800s - and the roads that were here were little more than twin rutted paths. The main transportation in the region was the steamboats on the Chattahoochee River on the east, and, to a lesser degree, the boats on the smaller Choctawhatchee, which flows through the center of the Wiregrass region. On their journey upriver, the steamboats would carry supplies for the towns and plantations, and on their downstream journey they would carry produce, mainly . . . — Map (db m73417) HM
Alabama (Jefferson County), Bessemer — Sweet Home / Henry W. Sweet
This house was built in 1906 by architect William E. Benns for H. W. Sweet at a cost of $10,000. The house uniquely blended the Queen Anne and Neo-Classical architectural styles, featuring two identical pedimented entrance porticos supported by fluted Composite-order columns, full-length wrap around porches on the first and second stories, and an octagonal corner tower. H. W. Sweet (1866-1919) a native of South Carolina, was Bessemer's first undertaker and a furniture merchant. Henry W. Sweet . . . — Map (db m27024) HM
Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — Julius Ellsberry
In dedication to Julius Ellsberry, the first Black Alabama man to die in World War II; born Birmingham, Ala, 1922. Enlisted in the U.S. Navy, 1940; First Class Mate [sic] Attendant aboard battleship Oklahoma in the Battle of Pearl Harbor, did sacrifice his life to save his shipmates, December 7, 1941. — Map (db m63761) HM WM
Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — Osmond Kelly Ingram1887 - 1917
. . . — Map (db m63762) HM
Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — Roebuck Spring
In 1850 George James Roebuck and his wife Ann Hawkins Roebuck built a log cabin at the mouth of Roebuck Spring. His Influence and leadership led to the area around it to be known as Roebuck. In 1900 Alabama Boys Industrial School was located adjacent to the spring, and the spring water was used for the school until city water became available. In 1910 George Miller, a leading landscape architect and industrial town planner, developed the first planned golf course and club house close to the . . . — Map (db m26688) HM
Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — W.W. II Anchor
This anchor was used on the fleet Submarine U.S.S. Balao (SS-285). The Balao was commissioned in February 1943. She received 9 battle stars for sinking 7 Japanese ships during her W.W. II service. The Balao was decommissioned in June 1963. She was used as a target and sunk in September 1963. Her conning tower, which is now on display at the Washington Naval Yard, and this anchor are all that remain of the U.S.S Balao. — Map (db m69658) HM
Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — Wilson Dam
Construction of Wilson Dam began in 1918 and was completed in 1924. The Dam is 137 feet high and stretches 4,541 feet across the Tennessee River. Wilson Dam is a hydroelectric facility. It has 21 generating units with a net dependable capacity of 663 megawatts. Net dependable capacity is the amount of power a dam can produce on an average day, minus the electricity used by the dam itself. Wilson Dam is the largest conventional hydroelectric facility on the Tennessee River. Only . . . — Map (db m73997) HM
Alabama (Lauderdale County), Killen — Muscle Shoals Canal1836 - 1918
Lock Six, headquarters of Muscle Shoals Canal, was located 1.3 miles south of here. An 1836 attempt to build a bypass canal around the shoals proved unsuccessful. On November 10, 1890 the canal from Rogersville to Florence was successfully completed. The river fell 85 feet in 14 1/2 miles requiring nine locks. Canal was closed in 1918 and later covered by backwaters from Wilson and Wheeler Dams. Jesse James robbed the U.S. Payroll near Lock Six in 1881. — Map (db m28452) HM
Alabama (Lee County), Auburn — Chewacla State Park(CCC)
Side 1 Under President Franklin D. Roosevel'ts New Deal (1933-1942), the Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) was established to provide work for single young men. The CCC's Company 4448, Camp Alabama SP-12, began work in September 1935 to construct Chewacla Park. By March 1941, they had built a dam and 26-acre lake, roads, trails, cabins, bathhouse, manager's house, arch bridge, and office. Barracks, mess hall, and canteen were also built on site to house the men who were from Alabama . . . — Map (db m73546) HM
Alabama (Lee County), Auburn — Wright’s Mill
Side 1 A popular recreation area for more than 100 years. Original dam located a short distance below Chewacla Lake Dam. Mill located on the west bank and ground both corn and wheat. Earlier mill owners from 1840's were Echols, Hiram Reed, Charles Nelms, and John F. Lewis. W.W. Wright (1825–1905) owned the mill from about 1873 into early 1900’s when it was abandoned. Most of these years his miller was Joe Broome. Just before Town Creek enters the Chewacla is the Gin-Saw Hole. . . . — Map (db m73541) HM
Alabama (Lee County), Opelika — Bean's Mill
Side 1 Here in 1897 the first iron bridge in Lee County was built. In 1903 George W. Bean bought the mill, operating it until his death in 1952. About 1910 Bean installed an iron overshot wheel to replace the old turbine. Later, the dam height was raised two feet. On March 30, 1939, FDR on his way to Warm Springs stopped his motorcade for a visit. In 1989 John M. Ross purchased the deteriorated mill with 80 acres. Ross reconstructed the mill to operating condition in 1997. On October . . . — Map (db m73533) HM
Alabama (Limestone County), Mooresville — Cottonport / Mooresville
Front The town of Cottonport flourished in the early years of Limestone County. It was settled in 1818 and chartered in 1824. It was located approx. 1½ miles S.E. near the point where Limestone Creek flowed into the Tennessee River and was a prime boat landing. Steamboats from E. Tennessee brought much needed goods to this area. During high water, flatboats loaded with bales of cotton departing Cottonport, could cross the river's rocky shoals and float to New Orleans. . . . — Map (db m28152) HM
Alabama (Madison County), Huntsville — Northern Terminus Indian Creek CanalFirst Canal in Alabama
Incorporated 1820 Completed 1831 This canal was constructed to the Tennessee River to facilitate the transportation of cotton to market. Developers were: Thomas Fearn, LeRoy Pope, Stephen S. Ewing, Henry Cook, and Samuel Hazard. — Map (db m27844) HM
Alabama (Madison County), Huntsville — Norwegian Light Beacon And Fog Bell
The light beacon and fog bell in Big Springs International Park were presented as a gift from Norway in 1973. The light beacon served as on of the guiding lights to the mariner from 1903 to 1966 being situated on the west coast of Norway at Langbakneset. It is typical of some 1800 beacons which have been erected on the rugged Norwegian coast with all its fjords and islands. The first beacons of this type were put in 1883. In the year 1973 Norway still uses about 1300 of these "oil . . . — Map (db m27905) HM
Alabama (Madison County), Triana — Triana, Alabama
Originally called “The Prairie” by the Chickasaw Indians who settled here, Triana was incorporated November 13, 1819 as the second town in Madison County. The community purportedly was named after Rodrigo de Triana, the crewman who first sighted land while sailing with Christopher Columbus on his first voyage to the Americas. Located on the Tennessee River at the terminus of Indian Creek Canal, Triana was a thriving port through which cotton and other Madison County produce moved to . . . — Map (db m70237) HM
Alabama (Marengo County), Demopolis — Whitfield Canal
Drainage canal constructed between 1845 and 1863 by slaves of General Nathan Bryan Whitfield, builder of Gaineswood, to prevent water from overflowing and flooding his plantation. The water from 2,070 acres south and east of Gaineswood originally followed a 17 mile course to reach the Tombigbee River. The canal, approximately 1 mile long in some places more than 30 feet deep, quickly diverts this surface water into the river at Demopolis. — Map (db m37993) HM
Alabama (Marshall County), Guntersville — History of Guntersville
(Side A) This area's proximity to the Tennessee River and Indian trails made it a crossroads for early habitation, settlement, and trade. Archaeological studies reveal it was first inhabited about 12,000 years ago by Paleo-Indians. They were followed by various tribes of Native Americans. The Cherokees arrived in the late 1700s and called the area Kusa-Nunnahi, meaning Creek Path. In 1785, John Gunter became the first white man to settle here. He married the daughter of the local . . . — Map (db m33305) HM
Alabama (Mobile County), Bayou La Batre — Bayou La Batre, Alabama
The stream near the site, known as Bayou la Batre, was known during the period of French occupation as "Riviere d'Erbane," then as "Rivere la batterie" because of the French artillery battery located on it's banks. The towns name consists of bayou, the Gallicized form of "bok" the Choctaw word for "creek," and "la batre," derived from "la batterie." Clarence Mallet, who was born in St. Martinville, Louisiana moved to Bayou La Batre in 1925. Mallet brought with him a strong belief that God's . . . — Map (db m30359) HM
Alabama (Mobile County), Mobile — "Take Her Down!"Howard Walter Gilmore, Commander, U.S.N. — Born 29 September 1902, Selma, Ala.
Panel 1: Medal of Honor Citation For distinguished gallantry and valor above and beyond The call of duty as Commanding Officer of U. S. submarine GROWLER (SS-215) during her fourth war patrol in the Southwest Pacific from 10 January to 7 February 1943 boldly striking at the enemy in spite of continuous hostile air and anti-submarine patrols, Commander Gilmore sank one Japanese freighter and damaged another by torpedo fire, successfully evading severe depth charges . . . — Map (db m74811) WM
Alabama (Mobile County), Mobile — Memorial to USS Herring (SS-233) — Submarines and the Battleship Park
Panel 1: Anderson, Fred H., RT1 Anderson, John L., Jr., MoMM2 Armstrong, James E., RM1 Balestrieri, S., ENS Blair, Jack L., S2 Blevins, J.T., S1 Boucher, Leo J., S1 Brennan, James J., TM2 Bronder, John J., SC2 Brown, Weldson, S2 Burkett, Timothy, CK1 Burton, Charles E., MoMM2 Campbell, Nathaniel, STM2 Carroll, Malcolm D., CMoMM Carter, Robert A., TM3 Chouinard, Robert A., TM1 Christopherson, R. W., TM1 Compton, John N., LTjg Cook, Arnold J., MoMM2 . . . — Map (db m74810) WM
Alabama (Mobile County), Mobile — The Submarine Lookout Memorial — Submarines and the Battleship Park
Panel 1: "The Lookout: the Eyes of the WWII Submarine" Panel 2: "Submarine Lookout": Standing his watch on a perch high above the deck, the lookout was the eyes of the submarine while surfaced. Often while submerged he was manning the sonar gear, thus becoming the ears also. Though always of junior rating, his keen sight and alertness were vital to the success and survival of his boat. No words could galvanize a crew to action faster than his excited shout, . . . — Map (db m74809) HM WM
Alabama (Mobile County), Mobile — United States Ship Alabama (BB-60) — Battleship Memorial Park
Named for the State of Alabama. 6th naval fighting ship to bear the name. Built by the Norfolk Navy Yard, Portsmouth, Virginia. Authorized by Congress 27 March 1934. Keel laid 1 February 1940 – Launched 16 February 1942. Sponsored by Mrs. Lister Hill, wife of Senator Lister Hill of Alabama. Commissioned 16 August 1942 – Decommissioned 9 January 1947. Total miles steamed – 217,000. World War II Record Fleet Assignments: U.S. Atlantic Fleet - August 1942 – . . . — Map (db m74366) HM WM
Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — Alabama River: The Grand Avenue
Twelve miles above Montgomery the Coosa and Tallapoosa rivers unite to form the Alabama which meanders over four hundred miles on its way to Mobile Bay. This river has played major role in region's history, being a thoroughfare for Native Americans, European explorers, and Americans who settled along its fertile shores and used it as a means of getting cotton to Mobile and world markets. Ferries served the population until the building of Tyler Goodwyn and Reese's Ferry bridges in the first . . . — Map (db m26591) HM
Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — High Red Bluff(Chunnanugga Chatty in Creek Indian Language)
Also called Hostile Bluff or Thirteen Mile Bluff, this spot located in a deep bend of the Alabama River was once the key to the Southeast and a strategic point in Colonial days. The first steamboat , the Harriet, arrived at this point in 1821, and the first railroad came in 1880, making Montgomery a transportation hub for people and commerce. When cotton was king, millions of bales were shipped from the wharf here by steam boat to Mobile and thence to the mills of England. The tunnel under the . . . — Map (db m38574) HM
Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — Montgomery and Electricity / Hydroelectricity in the River Region
Side 1 Montgomery and Electricity Gaslights in 1854, electric lights in 1883 and the electric trolley in 1886 made Montgomery a state leader in applying modern technology for lighting and motive power. Steam was used first for generation, but in 1902 local businessmen built a dam on the Tallapoosa River to provide electricity for the city. Several companies competed fiercely to supply the growing demand. Montgomery Light and Power and Montgomery Light and Traction struggled . . . — Map (db m71367) HM
Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — The Domestic Slave Trade/Slave Transportation to Montgomery
Side 1 The Domestic Slave Trade Beginning in the seventeenth century, millions of African people were kidnapped, sold into slavery, and shipped to the Americas as part of the Transatlantic Slave Trade. In 1808, the united States Congress banned the importation of slaves from Africa. At the same time, the high price of cotton and the development of the cotton gin caused the demand for slave labor to skyrocket in the lower South. The Domestic Slave Trade grew to meet this demand. . . . — Map (db m70714) HM
Alabama (Morgan County), Decatur — Ingalls Shipyard
Ingalls Iron Works was established in 1910, by Robert Ingalls,in Titusville Alabama. It became the largest steel company in the region. Looking for new opportunities for the steel company fabricated, Ingalls opened Ingalls Shipyard in 1937 to build dredges, tugboats, and barges for coastal and river service. Ingalls Shipyard produced a variety of watercraft for government, including "Liberty" boats, vital for transatlantic supply routes. As World War II approached, the yard's small size forced . . . — Map (db m66398)
Alabama (Russell County), Phenix City — Ancient Fisheries
To the native people of the Chattahoochee River Valley, the Creek or Muskogulgi Indians, the shoals of the river were a source of recreation and food. In the spring, the women and children of Coweta Town came here to fish, using dip nets, spears, bows and arrows and cleverly designed fish traps to harvest shad, bass, catfish and sunfish. Creek boys lassoed the tails of huge sturgeon and wrestled them ashore. Natives from Cusseta Town had a fishery on the Georgia side of the river opposite this . . . — Map (db m69045) HM
Alabama (Russell County), Phenix City — The Tie-Snake
The Creek Indians believed this section of the river was inhabited by a giant Tie-Snake, a mythical monster that snared the unwary and dragged them down into the watery underworld. The Tie-Snake was but one of many strange creatures and natural forces featured in the myths and folk tales of the native people of this region. Among these were the Winds, the Thunder Helper, the Orphan, the Trickster Rabbit, and the Tarbaby. LaGrange lawyer W.O. Tuggle recorded many of these tales in the late . . . — Map (db m69067) HM
Alabama (Shelby County), Helena — Central Iron Works
Side 1 During the final years of the Civil War, Montgomery merchants, Hannon, Offutt & Company, built a rolling mill here along the banks of Buck Creek. Called the Central Iron Works, the plant’s construction was superintended by Thomas S. Alvis, a Virginia ironmaster who had recently completed a rolling mill for the Confederate government at Selma. The Central Iron Works had just begun operation when destroyed by Union cavalry under General James H. Wilson on March 30, 1865. . . . — Map (db m76241) HM
Alabama (Talladega County), Lincoln — Lincoln, Alabama
(Side A) Historical records indicate that DeSoto and his men, as they traveled the South in search of gold, were the first white men to see the Lincoln area. With the ceding of the Creek Indian Territory in 1837, the population of the area increased. The community was known as Kingsville until 1856 when the name was changed to Lincoln. the name Lincoln came from Revolutionary War General Benjamin Lincoln who accepted the sword of surrender from the British at Yorktown, Virginia in . . . — Map (db m33282) HM
Alabama (Talladega County), Talladega — USS Talladega (APA-208)Talladega County — "The Tremblin' T"
Seven Battle Stars * * * * * * * World War II * Iwo Jima Operation * Okinawa Gunto Operation First of the 31 ship convoy with occupation troops to dock at Yokohama on VJ Day, September 2, 1945 Korean War * 3rd Korean Winter * Korea, Summer-Fall (1953) Vietnam War * Vietnam Defense Campaign * Vietnamese Counteroffensive Phase II * Vietnamese Counteroffensive Phase III Commissioned October 31, 1944 Struck from Naval Register September 1, 1976 . . . — Map (db m12212) HM
Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — Burns’ Shoals
The remains of Burns' Shoals now lie nearly 40 feet underwater. This rock outcropping was the first of the shoals known as the "Falls of Tuscaloosa" and represents the "Fall Line" or contact point of the Coastal Plain and the Appalachian Plateau, which extends nearly 2000 miles to Canada. From here upstream the riverbed is primarily rock while downstream is is sand, silt and gravel. It was head of navigation on the river and thus a primary reason for the founding of Tuscaloosa. It was used as . . . — Map (db m28904) HM
Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — Gabriel MooreGovernor 1829 - 1831
During his term our state moved from frontier to urbanity. The University of Alabama was officially opened. Construction was begun on our first canals and railroads, supplementing existing steamboats and unpaved roads. The Choctaws exchanged their territory in West Alabama for lands west of the Mississippi. — Map (db m29023) HM
Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — Gorgas House
Built 1829 as University dining hall. Remodeled as a residence 1840. Occupied by Gorgas family 1879-1953 (Reverse): Preserved as a memorial to: General Josiah Gorgas (1818-1883) Chief of Ordnance, C. S. A. 1861-1865 President of the University 1878-1879 Mrs. Amelia Gayle Gorgas (1826-1913) University Librarian 1883-1906 General William Crawford Gorgas (1854-1920) Surgeon General, United States Army Sanitary engineer whose work in eliminating Yellow . . . — Map (db m29301) HM
Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — Gun from the U.S.S. Tuscaloosa
5 inch / 25 caliber “Dual Purpose” secondary artillery gun The U.S.S. Tuscaloosa was equipped with eight such guns, located in single turrets, four on either side of the ship. Developed in the 1920’s, its purpose was for both antiaircraft and surface fire. The gun weighed 4,720 lbs and was served by a crew of eight men. It was capable of firing a 54 lb shell out to a range of 14,500 yards. — Map (db m35507) HM
Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — Navigation and Shipbuilding On The Black Warrior River
Navigation improvements to the Black Warrior River (1888-1895) spurred marine commerce throughout the 20th century. Local ship-builders included the Perkins Brothers, Herman & Son, Corp of Engineers Boatyard, and Baker Towboat. Vessel types included barges, government workboats and towboats. Some of the boats built here were the Black Warrior, Dixie, Gold Bug, Mary, Nelma and R. G. Parker. Numerous navigation companies served the area, six had terminals on the river between Tuscaloosa and Holt . . . — Map (db m28924) HM
Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — The Black Warrior River
Plied for thousands of years by Indians, then by early explorers and American settlers, this river extends 169 miles from the Sipsey and Mulberry Forks near Birmingham to its confluence with the Tombigbee at Demopolis. It drains 6228 square miles of one of the world's most ancient watersheds and has 130 species of fish and many rare plants and animals. Part of a navigable waterway system, this point is 339 river miles above Mobile. About 5 billion gallons of water flow past here each day. In . . . — Map (db m28901) HM
Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — The Warrior-Tombigbee Waterway
From 1887-1915, seventeen locks and dams were constructed on the Warrior - Tombigbee Rivers. The first 3 were built on the fall line in Tuscaloosa. This was the site of No. 3, later No. 12. The Warrior - Tombigbee Development Association, founded in Tuscaloosa in 1950 by leaders from Birmingham, Mobile and Tuscaloosa, led the effort to modernize the waterway. Six modern locks and dams, replacing the original 17, have been built by the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers between Mobile and Port . . . — Map (db m28786) HM
Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — U.S.S. Tuscaloosa (CA 37)
Built: New York Shipbuilding Co. - Camden, NJ Commissioned August 17, 1934 Type: New Orleans Class Heavy Cruiser Displacement: 9,975 ton Propulsion: 107,000 HP Stream Turbines Speed: 32.7 knots Length: 588 feet Crew size: 708 Armament: nine 8 inch / 55 caliber guns, eight 5 inch / 25 caliber “dual purpose” guns. From the beginning of U.S. involvement in WW II through 1944 the U.S.S. Tuscaloosa operated in the European Theater participating in convoy . . . — Map (db m35511) HM
Alaska (Anchorage Borough), Anchorage — Atlantic Salmon-A Threat to the Chugach National Forest?
Commercial farming of Atlantic salmon using ocean net pens is important to the economy in several areas of the Pacific Northwest, especially along the coast of British Columbia. However, net pen fish farming has been banned in Alaska since 1990 because of concerns about impacts to native salmon and steelhead. As Atlantic salmon escape from pens, primarily during large storms, these fish have the opportunity to colonize where they do not naturally occur. The threats to native fish from . . . — Map (db m70735) HM
Alaska (Anchorage Borough), Anchorage — Captain James CookR.N., F.R.S. — Navigator, Explorer, Chartmaker, Scientist, Humanist / 1728 – 1779
James Cook was born in Yorkshire, England, on October 27, 1728. He was apprenticed to serve on sailing ships built in Whitby, near his birthplace, to carry coal along the English coast. At age 26, he joined the Royal Navy, took part in actions against France and, through his natural flair for mathematics and science, was promoted “King’s Surveyor” and given command of vessels performing survey work on the coast of Newfoundland. Chosen as commander to lead an expedition of discovery . . . — Map (db m72493) HM
Alaska (Anchorage Borough), Anchorage — Coho Salmon Life Cycle
1 to 4 years in fresh water Most coho migrate to sea after one or two years in fresh water. Sept 1-Nov 15 The adult cohos are the last of the Pacific salmon to arrive in the river to spawn. Nov 15-April 1 The eggs incubate over the winter. April 1-May 1 In the spring, the alevins emerge from their eggs, using the remnants of the yolk as a portable food source. May 1-June 1 Even though 90% of the eggs are fertilized, only 20% of the fry survive. June 1-July 1When the smolt go . . . — Map (db m70734) HM
Alaska (Juneau Borough), Juneau — Manila Square
Panel 1: The City and Borough of Juneau Assembly Honors the Contributions of Filipinos in Juneau by naming this downtown location MANILA SQUARE Juneau Assembly Members: Dale Anderson - Don Etheridge, Jr. - Jeannie Johnson - Ken Koelsch Frankie Pillifant - Jim Powell - Randy Wanamaker - Marc Wheeler John Mackinnon, City Manager -- Sally Smith, Mayor Filipino Community of Juneau: Dannie Lazaro, President, 2002 – Morris Carrillo, President, 2003 August 19, 2002 . . . — Map (db m68849) HM
Alaska (Juneau Borough), Juneau — Patsy Ann: her statue
Fifty years after Patsy Ann met her last ship, admirers led by June Dawson organized the Friends of Patsy Ann. The group raised funds and commissioned a statue so Patsy Ann could once again greet visitors on the dock. Sculpted by Ann Burke Harris of Albuquerque, New Mexico, the statue was cast at the Shidoni Foundry in New Mexico. Bits of their own hair and pets’ fur were sent from all over the globe by those who fondly remembered Patsy Ann. Those tokens were pressed into the wax before . . . — Map (db m69663) HM
Alaska (Juneau Borough), Juneau — USS Juneau (CL-52) Memorial'Lest We Forget'
Center Marker Panel: [Rendering of the cruiser USS Juneau(CL-52)] 'Lest We Forget' The Naval Battle of Guadalcanal was as ferocious and decisive as any battle of World War II. It was not won cheaply. The night action of Friday the thirteenth of November, 1942 was the last day of life for eight ships and hundreds of sailors including the USS Juneau CL-52. Juneau was in the thick of the battle until an enemy torpedo knocked her out of action. Retiring from . . . — Map (db m77160) WM
Arizona (Coconino County), Marble Canyon — Lee Ferry
From 1872 to 1929 principal route of travel across the Colorado River to Utah Settlements First crossing made at the mouth of Paria Creek in 1864 by Jacob Hamblin. Regular ferry established by John Doyle Lee in 1872. Purchased by Latter-Day Saints Church after his death in 1877. Maintained continuously by private and public operators until 1929 when Navajo Bridge was completed. — Map (db m41998) HM
250 markers matched your search criteria.
Click to map all markers shown on this page.
Click First to browse through the results shown on this page.   First >> 


•••
More Search Options
 
Markers
Near You

 
Categories

 
States & Provinces

 
Counties
Click to List


 
Countries

Page composed
in 656 ms.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
To search within this page, hold down the Ctrl key and press F.
On an Apple computer,
hold down the Apple key and press F.