|Australia, New South Wales (Clive), Tenterfield — Historic Stannum House — circa 1888|
Built in 1888 “Stannum” Latin for tin, hence the owner, Mr. John Holmes Reid made the first of his fortune in tin mining.
Stannum is a Victorian-Italiante villa, triple brick, double airflow system with granite foundations sitting on solid granite rock insuring no movement. The exterior has been rendered to give a stone type appearance.
Marble fireplaces throughout, cedar galore, and artwork fit for a palace. Stannum is 3 . . . — Map (db m70697) HM|
|Australia, Victoria (Campaspe (Shire)), Echuca — The Only Classified Brothel in Victoria|
|This Establishment Built About 1878 Is The Only Classified Brothel in Victoria
The house consists of 3 small rooms on each floor, the upper rooms being reached by a staircase leading into a sheltered lane running off Little Hopwood street, making it possible for even the most respectable citizen to visit the scarlet ladies undetected.
After the nearby Murray Hotel was built in 1879, the Brothel was run in conjunction with the pub and became known for its ‘honky tonk’ dancing and . . . — Map (db m70630) HM|
|Austria, Tyrol, Innsbruck — Bederlunger House — Bederlungerhaus — Hofgasse 2|
Die Geschichte dieses Hauses geht bereits in die früheste Zeit der Stadt zurück. Schon bald nach der Gründung der Stadt südlich der Innbrücke wurden auch die ersten Vorgängergebäude des heutigen Hauses errichtet. Im Erdgeschoss konnten romanische Mauerreste nachgeweisen werden.
Das heutige Gebäude entstand durch die Zusammenlegung mehrerer mittelalterlicher Parzellen. Die Bezeichnung als “Bederlungerhaus” geht auf die Familie Bederlunger zurück welche das Haus vom Beginn des . . . — Map (db m68374) HM|
|Austria, Tyrol, Innsbruck — Hölblinghaus|
|Dieses gotische Bürgerhaus des 15. Jahrhunderts, welches 1725 von Johann Fischer, dem Kassier der Haller Münzstätte, erworben wurde, erheilt damals vermutlich von dem um 1723 nach Innsbruck übersiedelten Stukkateur Anton Gigl aus Wessobrunn seine üppigen barocken Stukkaturen. 1800 bis 1827 im Besitz von Sebastian Hölbling, trägt das Haus seither dessen Namen.
This 15th Century gothic mansion was acquired in 1725 by Johann Fischer, the Treasurer of the . . . — Map (db m68113) HM|
|Austria, Tyrol, Innsbruck — Katzunghaus|
Dieses im 15. Jh. erbaute spätgotische Bürgerhaus tritt vor allem durch seinen Eckerker hervor. Die dortigen Reliefs sind Arbeiten aus der Werkstatt Gregor Türing’s (+1543) und zeigen einerseits Musikanten und Spielleute, andererseits verschiedene Arten von Turnieren. Die Reliefs erinnern daran, dass auch hier am alten Stadtplatz einst ritterliche Kampfspiele stattgefunden haben.
This 15th century late Gothic mansion stands . . . — Map (db m68329) HM|
|Austria, Tyrol, Innsbruck — Kolb Tower — Kolbenturm|
Wahrscheinlich bereits im 13. Jh. wie ein Torturm über die Schlossergasse erbaut, befand sich dieser Wohnturm der Familie Kolb mit den beiderseits anschliessenden Häusern von ca. 1450 bis 1582 in landesfürstlichem Besitz und fungierte 1563/82 als Hofspital. Seine heutige Gestalt mit Renaissance-Freskenschmuck erhielt der Turm 1582/85 unter Karl Schurf zu Schönwer und Mariastein, Erblandjägermeister von Tirol, der auch 1608 die Erhebung zum adeligen Ansitz “Karlsburg” erwirkte. An . . . — Map (db m68293) HM|
|Austria, Tyrol, Innsbruck — Lodron Palace — Palais Lodron|
Josef Nikolaus Graf Lodron hat 1744 zwei an dieser Stelle stehende Bürgerhäuser erworben und sei noch vor 1749 einheitlich als Rokokopalais umbauen lassen. Aus dieser Zeit stammt auch das Medaillon in der Höhe des ersten Stockes mit der Reliefdarstellung des Innsbrucker Mariahilf-Gnadenbildes als Schutzpatronin des Hauses. Nach 1795 wechselte das Palais mehrmals den Besitzer und befand sich ab 1870 im Eigentum der Familie bzw. des bekannten Innsbrucker Bürgermeisters von 1896 . . . — Map (db m68378) HM|
|Austria, Tyrol, Innsbruck — Magistrate Zeller's House — Stadtrichter Zeller-Haus|
Dieses Haus war um 1485 bis 1543 im Besitz der Innsbrucker Bürgerfamilie Zeller. Walter Zeller d.Ä. liess, als er 1495 Stadtrichter war, im Laubengewölbe das bemerkenswerte Quaternionen-oder Reichsadlerfresko anbringen, kombiniert mit den Wappen der “Gesalbten Könige: von Frankreich, England, Sizilien und Schottland. Von Walter Zeller d.J, (gest. 1543) stammt der zum Teil beschädigte Erkerschmuck mit einem seltenen Haussegen.
German-English . . . — Map (db m68295) HM|
|Austria, Tyrol, Innsbruck — Old Government Building — Altes Regierungsgebäude|
|In seinem Kern aus zwei gotischen Häusern bestehend wurde dieses Gebäude 1569 von Erzherzog Ferdinand II. als Amtsgebäude für die “oberösterreichische Regierung” gekauft. Im 2.Stock spätgotischer Kapellenraum erhalten. Der durch ein Erdbeben 1689 zerstörte Südtrakt erhielt seine heutige Barockgestalt beim Wiederaufbau durch Johann Martin Gumpp. Im Nordtrakt befinden sich ein grosser gotischer Pfeilersaal und darüber der nach der Landesregentin Erzherzogin Claudia, einer geborenen . . . — Map (db m68797) HM|
|Austria, Tyrol, Innsbruck — The Golden Roof and New Courtyard — Goldenes Dachl und neuer Hof|
|In diesem Gebäude befand sich von 1420 bis ca. 1460 die Residenz der Tiroler Landesfürsten Friedrich IV. und Sigmund des Münzreichen.
Der mit 2657 feuervergoldeten Kupferschindeln gedeckte Prunkerker, das Wahrzeichen der Stadt, wurde als Auftragswerk unter Kaiser Maximilian I. von Niclas Türing d.Ä. errichtet und laut Inschrift im Jahre 1500 fertiggestellt. Die Fresken stammen von Maximilians Hofmaler Jörg Kölderer.
Die Erkerreliefs zeigen Porträts Maximilians und seiner beiden . . . — Map (db m68114) HM|
|Austria, Tyrol, Innsbruck — The Trautson House — Trautsonhaus|
Gotisches Laubenhaus des 15. Jh. mit Lichtschacht, welches im Jahre 1541 unter seinem damaligen Besitzer Hanns Trautson von Matrei, Sprechenstein und Schrofenstein, Erbland- Marschall von Tirol, seit 1541 Freiherr, durch Meister Gregor Türing seine heutige Gestalt und Höhe sowie die zwei prächtigen Erker erhielt, deren linker sich über einem Bogen (!) erhebt und mit den Wappen des Bauherrn und seiner Gattin aus dem Hause Madruzzo geziert ist.
German-English translation: . . . — Map (db m68325) HM|
|Brazil, Bahia, Salvador — Igr. Basílica de N. Sr. do Bonfim — ["Basilica Church of Our Lord of the Good End"]|
| Igreja de pergrinação do século XVIII, com arcadas laterais. Local de grade devoção popular, possui internamente coleção de ex-votos.
This simple 18th century church with arches on both sides has been the site of pilgrimages for many years and is dearly beloved by the Bahian people. It is believed to have special curative properties, and those seeking divine intervention often leave replicas of body parts or photographs of the infirm inside the church.
Bahia Brasil Terra da Felicidade
VISA — Map (db m26089) HM|
|Brazil, Distrito Federal, Brasilia — Memorial JK — JK Memorial — [President Juscelino Kubitschek de Oliveira, the founder of Brasilia]|
| In Portuguese:
Projeto do arquiteto Oscar Niemeyer foi inaugurado em 12 de setembro de 1981 em homenagem a Juscelino Kubischek de Oliveira, fundador de Brasilia. Abriga biblioteca com trēs mil volumes que pertenceram a JK, atém de objetos pessoais, fotos, videos e vários documentos. Os painéis da recepção e da câmara mortuaria são obras de Althos Bulcão. O vitral que se encontra acima da uma funerária é de autoria da artista francesa Marianne Peretti. A estátua de JK esculpid por . . . — Map (db m26590) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — “The Birdcages”|
|The Legislative Buildings for the Colony of Vancouver Island were built on these grounds in 1859. Nicknamed “The Birdcages” because of their quaint style, they were replaced in 1894-97 by the present buildings. The original Legislative Hall, meeting place of the first House of Assembly west of the Great Lakes, was preserved until 1957 when it was destroyed by fire. — Map (db m9196) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — 713 Johnson — Designed in 1908 by Victorian architects Thomas Hooper and Charles Elwood Watkins|
|This building is a good example of Edwardian commercial architecture. It was built for William James Marble as a carriage factory, replacing the original wooden structure from 1885. Early painted signage is still visible on the east façade. In 1938, the building was sold and run as a furniture store on the main floor and with offices above. In the 1970s, the site became the home of the Salvation Army Thrift Shop and, 20 years later, the 711 Bingo and Snack Bar. It was briefly used by Our Place . . . — Map (db m48748) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Abkhazi Garden House|
City of Victoria
Heritage Building — Map (db m75297) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Craigdarroch|
|Built for coal magnate Robert Dunsmuir, Craigdarroch symbolized the desire of late 19th-century industrialists to assert their social position through conspicuous displays of wealth. Completed in 1890, the eclectic mansion features exquisite detailing in stone, stained glass, wrought iron and fine woods. Designers, craftsmen and materials were drawn from all over North America, marking a new age in construction made possible by transcontinental rail systems. This imposing landmark is among the . . . — Map (db m72876) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Empress Hotel — L’Hotel Empress|
| [English] This hotel was built between 1904 and 1908, and has since been enlarged twice. The architect, Francis M. Rattenbury, followed the practice of the Canadian Pacific Railway in employing the Chateau style, identifiable by the steep slate roof and Gothic Revival gables. Rattenbury modified this style using a symmetrical plan and flanking pavilions which give a strong vertical emphasis to the design. These elements make the Empress Hotel an important transitional building in the . . . — Map (db m49238) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Leiser Building — Built 1896|
|Simon Leiser & Co., Wholesale Grocers, was the largest business of it kind in British Columbia when this warehouse was built. The building featured a central electric elevator with tracks radiating from the elevator on each floor for ease of handling merchandise.|
Designed by architect A.C. Ewart, the building cost $35,000 in 1896. The brick structure has stone dressing and sheet metal decoration. It was renovated in 1972 as the headquarters for Capital Regional District.
This . . . — Map (db m49101) HM
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Log Cabin to Victorian Parlour|
|As the Helmcken family grew, so did this house. You can see three stages in the structure.|
The original 1852 log cabin was built in a fur trade post-in-sill style with hand hewn squared logs and cedar shingles. Hearths in three rooms join into a single chimney.
This house’s middle section, containing a dining room and upstairs bedrooms, was added in 1856.
In 1883 Dr. Helmcken added a framed wing with a second story and front . . . — Map (db m48866) HM
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Oak Bay Grocery — Celebrating Our Heritage|
the oldest building in the Village
Built in 1912, it is the current location of
The Blethering Place — Map (db m75298) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Pendrary House — 309 Belleville Street — Victoria, B.C.|
|Family home of William J. Pendrary
Known as Loretto Hall
Restoration by William and Florence Prior
Topiary gardens replanted by descendants of Mr. Pendrary
[Marker below, French]
Ancienne residence de la famille William J. Pendrary
construite en 1897.
Devint «Lorretto Hall», couvent de la congrégation de Notre-Dame des Anges de Lennoxville, Québec. Les salles de jardins furent loués pour des activities speciales des Canadiens français. . . . — Map (db m49035) HM
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — S.J. Pitts, Importer — Built 1882|
|This is one of the earlier brick warehouse in the area, replacing previous wooden construction.
Sidney Pitts, like other businessmen on Yates Street, operated a wholesale grocery, provision and produce business.|
Stuccoed for may years, the building was restored in 1990 by the Canadian Hostelling Association, revealing windows and other details that had long been covered.
[Photo credits] c1890 Victoria City Archives, c1975 Hallmark Society photograph — Map (db m49102) HM
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Shop/Warehouse — Built 1883|
|This two-story brick building in the Italianate style was one of several shop/warehouses in Victoria’s warehouse district. Originally occupied by W.J. Jeffree, pioneer clothier, the building later housed F.R. Stewart & Co. Provisioners.
The historic photograph shows boxes and local produce waiting on the sidewalk for delivery by F.R. Stewart’s horse-drawn delivery wagon.
Splendid cast iron columns, made at the Albion Iron Works in Victoria support the building and are dated on their . . . — Map (db m49124) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — The Bank Building — First Opened for Business on April 19, 1886 — Project Architect: Mr. W.H. Williams|
|When the building opened, it was the second largest in Victoria with a total area 5,230 square feet. The original drawings came from London, England.
Using brick on a stone foundation, Mr. Williams combined cast iron columns, lintels, and sills with moulded cement renderings; cornices of heavy galvanized iron sheet metal; and elaborate, hand carved entrance doors and interior trim. The roof was edged with a decorative cast iron cresting depicting the floral emblems of the United Kingdom, a . . . — Map (db m48522) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — The Majestic Theatre — Built c1860 — Alterations: 1885; 1909; 1917|
|This building first housed Moore’s Music Hall (Victoria’s earliest existing theatre) upstairs, above Nathanial Moore’s dry goods store.
In 1885, a new facade was constructed to match the new building next door, with identical cast iron columns.
Various commercial uses followed, which included supplying miners preparing for the Klondike. In 1898 miners’ equipment was piled high on this sidewalk.
In 1909 architect Thomas Hooper renovated the building to house the Majestic Theatre, . . . — Map (db m49125) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — The Oriental Hotel — Built 1883;1888|
|William McKeon operated the Oriental Saloon on this site, at the corner of Oriental Alley, prior to 1883. That year, he commissioned architect John Teague to build the Oriental Hotel on the lot next door. Teague doubled the size of the hotel in 1888, adding this corner entrance and an imposing tower.|
The hotel then had about 80 bedrooms, each with a fireplace and closets. On the ground floor were ladies’ and gentlemen’s dining saloons able to seat over 200 diners.
McKeon operated the . . . — Map (db m49103) HM
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Thomas Earle Warehouse — Built 1900|
|Thomas Earle was a local wholesale grocer and provision merchant whose business dated back to 1869.
This building, constructed for $10,000 and designed by architect Thomas Hopper, features a large brick arch and two finials flanking a central pediment and date plaque|
The building was used for many years by Smith, Davidson and Lecky, paper wholesalers. After a major fire, the building was renovated in 1979 for the Capital Regional District.
c. 1900 Victoria City Archives.
British Columbia Heritage Trust — Map (db m49099) HM
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Tiger Company Fire Hall — 1880 - 1899|
|The Tiger Company was one of three volunteer fire companies dedicated to protecting Victoria's growing business district during the late 1800s. By the 1870s, there was a need to replace the Tiger's original fire hall on Johnson Street but it was not until November 1880 that the company moved into a new fire hall built on the southwest corner of Victoria City Hall. The entrance to the fire hall was located at the arched doorway just around the corner from where you are now standing.
On . . . — Map (db m72885) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Victoria City Hall — Hôtel de Ville de Victoria|
|Victoria’s first city hall was designed in 1875. The building was begun three years later and completed in 1890. The designer was John Teague, an Englishman long resident in Victoria, who was responsible for planning many of the city’s early buildings. His city hall was conceived in the Second Empire style popular at the time, with a typical mansard roof tower and rich ornamentation. The building remains one of the best surviving examples of this style in western Canada.
[French] . . . — Map (db m49126) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Victoria, B.C. — 1889|
|Fort Victoria had its start in 1843, centered on Fort Street and present-day Bastion Square. Most of Victoria’s Old Town however was constructed during the great building boom of 1886-1892.
During that period the red-brick character of Victoria became firmly established. Small wooden buildings were replaced by substantial structures suited to the largest city in the province.
Victoria’s status as a busy seaport gave rise to a large area of warehouses, saloons, hotels, manufacturing . . . — Map (db m49225) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Windsor Hotel|
|The Windsor Hotel was originally called the Victoria Hotel when it opened in 1858, and boasted the city’s first brick building. It still stands across the street from here, with bricks now covered in stucco, at the corner of Government and Courtney. The ground floor was entirely occupied by a saloon. Its thick walls withstood an explosion in 1876 when owner George Richardson investigated a gas leak with a lit candle!
Image # A-02716 courtesy of British Columbia Archives — Map (db m48717) HM|
|British Columbia (Cariboo Regional District), Barkerville — Cornish Wheel & Pump|
|This overshot water wheel is 16 feet in diameter. It is modeled after wheels and pumps used in the tin mines of Cornwall. The early miners found that the pay gravel often lay 40 to 100 feet under the surface. The wheels were used to pump the water from these deep workings and also lift gravel to the surface. — Map (db m42710) HM|
|British Columbia (Cariboo Regional District), Barkerville — Richfield Courthouse|
|Built in 1882, this is British Columbia’s oldest surviving courthouse, replacing one which stood here from 1862-1882. By 1918, declining population in Richfield led to the building’s closure. Designated a Provincial historic object in 1945, it was restored by the Provincial Government in 1982.
Hon. A.J. Brummet
Minister of Lands, Parks and Housing
Hon. Nathan T. Nemetz
Chief Justice of British Columbia
June 18, 1983 — Map (db m42763) HM|
|British Columbia (Cariboo Regional District), Quesnel — Cottonwood House|
|For over half a century the Boyd family operated this haven for man and beast. Here weary travellers found lodging, food, and drink. Here fresh horses were hitched to stage-coaches and miners bought supplies.
This historic road-house, built in 1864 stood as an oasis of civilization on the frontier of a rich new land. — Map (db m42766) HM|
|British Columbia (Greater Vancouver Regional District), New Westminster — Carnegie Library — 1905 - 1958|
|This plaque was unveiled on October 21, 2000 as part of the New Westminster Public Library's celebration of 135 years of service to the community. It commemorates the Carnegie Library which opened on March 5, 1905 on this site and continued to operate until November, 1958.
Industrialist and philanthropist Andrew Carnegie funded the construction of over 2,500 libraries around the world. The New Westminster Library was one of these and stood as a landmark in the community for 53 years. The . . . — Map (db m32130) HM|
|British Columbia (Greater Vancouver Regional District), New Westminster — The New Westminster Court House and Land Registry Office|
The New Westminster Court House
The Court House was designed by architect George William Grant and opened on June 3, 1891 by the first colonial judge and Chief Justice for British Columbia, Sir Matthew Baillie Begbie.
On September 10, 1898, the entire New Westminster downtown business area was destroyed by fire, including the Court House. The Court House was rebuilt within existing walls by G.W. Grant and reopened on June 19, 1899.
The Land Registry Office
The Land Registry . . . — Map (db m33185) HM|
|British Columbia (Greater Vancouver Regional District), North Vancouver — Pacific Great Eastern Railway Station — Protected Heritage Building - 1913|
|The Pacific Great Eastern Railway Station was built to service a rail link between North Vancouver westward along Howe Sound to the interior of the province. The foot of Lonsdale became a busy transportation hub in the early days of the community as the meeting place for the railway, the ferry to Vancouver, and streetcars from Upper Lonsdale, Lynn Valley, and Capsilano.
Delay in completing the railway line up Howe Sound, and a decision to redirect the line under Esplanade towards the . . . — Map (db m31979) HM|
|British Columbia (Greater Vancouver Regional District), Surrey — Historic Elgin — Part of Surrey’s Heritage Resources|
The first permanent structure in Elgin was the Elgin Hotel (1870). It was built as a convenient stop-over point for travellers between New Westminster and Blaine.
In 1875, four years before the incorporation of the District Municipality of Surrey, the first public church service was held in a simple log cabin built by John Brewer, who had settled in the area in 1870.
William Brewer is attributed with building the first community hall in 1878. Built on the . . . — Map (db m60900) HM|
|British Columbia (Greater Vancouver Regional District), Vancouver — 326 West Pender Street — City of Vancouver Heritage Building — Architect: J.S.D. Taylor|
|This building is an integral part of the Victory Square area dating back to 1929. The facade was renovated in 1948 by architect W.H. Birmingham. It was given Neo-classical treatments including a decorative cornice installed below the original corbelled brick parapet. The facade was protected by designation in 1997 as part of a new mixed use development on this site and the site to the east designed by Nigel Baldwin Architects. The new building features complementary materials and massing and a glazed connection to the historic facade. — Map (db m54517) HM|
|British Columbia (Greater Vancouver Regional District), Vancouver — B.C. Electric Building — City of Vancouver Heritage Building — Architects: Sharp and Thompson Berwick Pratt|
|This landmark building, completed in 1957 as the head office for BC Electric Company, is a significant example of the Internationalist style of modern architecture. Floors are cantilevered from a central load bearing concrete core and supported by slender perimeter columns. The lobby, plaza and elevator penthouse feature richly coloured glass mosaic tiles by local artist B.C. Binning. Conversion of the building to residential use required replacement of the exterior curtain wall. Renovation of . . . — Map (db m32348) HM|
|British Columbia (Greater Vancouver Regional District), Vancouver — Canadian Bank of Commerce Building — Architects: Darling and Pearson — City of Vancouver Heritage Building|
|In the early 20th century, bank buildings were designed to recall classical temples and evoke a sense of permanence and dignity. The Neo-Classical design, imposing Ionic columns, decorative stonework, and prominent roof cornice of this building make it a fine example of revival architecture. It was built between 1906 and 1908 to serve as the local head office for the Canadian Bank of Commerce, later known as the Canadian Imperial Bank of Commerce. The building was converted to retail use by . . . — Map (db m33025) HM|
|British Columbia (Greater Vancouver Regional District), Vancouver — Carnegie Library — City of Vancouver Heritage Building — Architect: George William Grant|
|This eclectic 1903 building was one of 2,507 public libraries paid for by the Scottish-American industrialist Andrew Carnegie, the richest person in the world when he retired in 1901. Carnegie believed in the "Gospel of Wealth" and gave away 90% of his fortune. This commanding building is built of Gabriola Island sandstone and features and Ionic corner portico and dome. Romanesque-inspired arched windows, a French mansard roof and and unusual stained glass window by the spiral staircase. . . . — Map (db m32318) HM|
|British Columbia (Greater Vancouver Regional District), Vancouver — Dominion Building — City of Vancouver Heritage Building — Architects: J.S. Helyer & Son|
|This ornate Beaux-Arts skyscraper was commissioned by Imperial Trust in 1906 but opened in 1910 as the Dominion Trust Building after this company assumed the debt and completed construction. It was the tallest building in the British Empire at that time, topped out at 18 storeys. The striking red and yellow terracotta exterior is capped by a three-storey Mansard roof reminiscent of late 19th Century Parisian townhouses. It was the finest building of the architects' careers and a major city . . . — Map (db m54360) HM|
|British Columbia (Greater Vancouver Regional District), Vancouver — Drill Hall — City of Vancouver Heritage Building — Architect: Department of Public Works|
|This fortress-like building has served as the drill hall and armoury for the British Columbia Regiment since its opening by HRH the Duke of Cornwall and York in 1901. The solid building with three-foot thick walls, was constructed of Gabriola Island sandstone and brick. The two central towers, crenellated roofline, rusticated stonework, and recessed windows provide an attractive frontispiece to the large drill hall at the rear. — Map (db m54225) HM|
|British Columbia (Greater Vancouver Regional District), Vancouver — Vancouver Rowing Club — City of Vancouver Heritage Building — Architect: J.W. Keagey|
|The Vancouver Rowing Club was established in 1899 when the Burrard Inlet Rowing Club joined the Vancouver Boating Club. Throughout it's history the Vancouver Rowing Club has played an important part in the athletic and social life of Vancouver. This building, designed in the Tudor Revival style, was officially opened on September 9, 1911 replacing an earlier clubhouse located at the foot of Burrard Street. Renovations to the clubhouse were completed by Watson-Donald Architects in 1988. His . . . — Map (db m31941) HM|
|Manitoba, Gardenton — St. Michael’s Ukrainian Orthodox Church|
|Constructed in 1899, this church is a fine early example of Ukrainian ecclesiastical architecture in Canada. Its distinctive massing, plan and bulbous cupolas reflect the Byzantine-influenced architectural heritage of the homeland of the settlers in the region. The traditional free-standing bell tower was built in 1906, and like the church, is distinguished by the high quality of its wooden craftsmanship. Built by the first generation of Ukrainians to arrive in Canada, St. Michael’s served as . . . — Map (db m8421) HM|
|Manitoba, Inglis — Inglis Grain Elevators|
|This impressive grouping of five standard-plan wooden grain elevators is a rare survivor of the long rows that once dominated Prairie towns. The row was built between 1922 and 1941, Manitoba's golden age of elevators, by a cross-section of grain-handling firms, including cooperatives and large companies backed by Canadian and American investors. Located in a town typical of many that dot the West, these slope-shouldered sentinels are surrounded by their outbuildings, rail line and fields of . . . — Map (db m8491) HM|
|Manitoba, St. Andrews — St. Andrew’s Rectory|
|Erected between 1852 and 1854, this large limestone dwelling housed the rector of nearby St. Andrew’s church and complemented the massive construction of that building. The rectory, built for the Reverend William Cockran was one of the first stone houses in the Red River Settlement. Like a number of substantial homes built here for retired officers of the Hudson’s Bay Company, it reflects the style and character of important dwellings at company posts. In this way the rectory provides a good . . . — Map (db m8449) HM|
|Manitoba, St. Andrews — Twin Oaks|
|Built in the mid-1850s, this house was the residence for a private girls’ school run by Matilda Davis until 1873. The school was supported by families of the Red River Settlement and by officers of the Hudson’s Bay Company from across western Canada who sent their daughters here to be educated as English ladies. The residence could board up to 40 girls. Along with two log classrooms it was used to teach French, music, drawing, dancing, needlework and deportment. The building survives as a fine . . . — Map (db m8450) HM|
|New Brunswick (Charlotte County), Campobello — Campobello's Resort Hotels|
|In 1881, a group of American businessmen (called themselves the Campobello Company) purchased most of Campobello Island. In an era of summer-long vacations and great summer resorts, the company hoped, by promoting Campobello's charms, to attract, well-to-do people with extensive leisure time to its hotels. Both the Canadian and American press promoted Campobello as a summer resort. Built in 1881 on the northern end of Friar's Bay, the Owen was the first and most luxurious of the company's three . . . — Map (db m25467) HM|
|New Brunswick (Charlotte County), Campobello — James and Sara Roosevelt Cottage|
|On this site, in 1885, James Roosevelt, businessman and country gentleman of Hyde Park, New york, built the cottage shown below. The Cottage was intended to be a summer retreat for his wife, Sara Delano, and their son Franklin Delano Roosevelt. Franklin spent many of his boyhood summers at this cottage. Miss Eleanor Roosevelt was a guest here in 1904. In 1905, Franklin and Eleanor were married. In 1907, Mrs. Sara Roosevelt purchased the Kuhn cottage and gave it to the married couple. The Kuhn . . . — Map (db m25456) HM|
|New Brunswick (Charlotte County), Campobello — Roosevelt Campobello Park|
|Mrs. Lyndon B. Johnson and Mrs. Lester B. Pearson Together opened the Roosevelt Campobello Park on the twenthieth day of August 1964 Lyndon Baines Johnson President of the United States of America and Lester Bowles Pearson Prime Minister of Canada Together laid the cornerstone of this Reception Centre on the twenty-first day of August, 1966 Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth The Queen Mother declared the building open on the thirteenth day of July, 1967 — Map (db m25394) HM|
|New Brunswick (Saint John County), Saint John — Centerbeam Place|
|This historic city block of attached late-Victorian buildings was designed and constructed immediately after the Great Fire of 1877 that swept away much of Saint John. Prominent architects from Canada and the United States vied for the honour of creating a new business district. During the 20th century this block was neglected, and the structures fell into serious disrepair and decay.
Between 2004 and 2008 Commercial Properties Limited undertook the rehabilitation of this block as a viable . . . — Map (db m77457) HM|
|New Brunswick (Saint John County), Saint John — No. 2 Mechanics’ Volunteer Company Engine House — Caserne No 2 des Mécaniciens Pompiers Volontaires|
The cry “Fire!” so terrified Canadians in the early 19th century that communities began to construct permanent fire stations. Erected in 1840, this elegant Neoclassical building is a pioneer example of a firehall designed to house a volunteer brigade using manually drawn and operated pumper fire engines. These organizations served as the best line of defense against devastating conflagrations and played an important role in Victorian urban life. The work of local . . . — Map (db m77508) HM|
|Newfoundland and Labrador (Division No. 1 (Avalon Peninsula)), St. John's — St. John’s Court House — Le Palais de justice de St. John’s|
The St. John’s Court House, built 1900-1094, is by far the most striking and elaborate courthouse in the province. Set into a steep hill it commands a dramatic view of the harbour. The Romanesque Revival building was designed by W.T. Whiteway and constructed of local sandstone and granite. The site, scale and design all give an impression of solidity and power, considered appropriate for its legal and other functions. The building has housed the supreme court, jail, police . . . — Map (db m79032) HM|
|Nova Scotia (Halifax Regional Municipality), Halifax — Black-Binney House — Résidence Black-Binney|
Built about 1819 by John Black, successful merchant and Executive Councillor (1813-23), this house is a notable example of the finest Halifax residences of its day - the first important era of stone construction in the town. James Boyle Eniacke, Premier of Nova Scotia (1848-54), lived here for some years until about 1855. From then until 1887 the house was occupied by the Anglican Bishop of Nova Scotia, the Rt. Rev. Hibbert Binney.
Construite vers 1819 par . . . — Map (db m77657) HM|
|Nova Scotia (Halifax Regional Municipality), Halifax — Halifax Waterfront Buildings|
|English From the founding of Halifax in 1749 until the early twentieth century, this portion of the waterfront was associated with men and events in the civic and commercial life of the city. These seven typical warehouses and offices, erected between 1815 and 1905, housed individual merchants as well as international trading and shipping companies. This ironstone building housed the office of the shipping firm, Pickford & Black (1876-1968). The building opposite was the head quarters . . . — Map (db m77826) HM|
|Nova Scotia (Halifax Regional Municipality), Halifax — Province House|
Province House is an architectural monument and the setting for signifiant events in Canadian political life. Begun in 1811 and opened in 1819 as the seat of government for Nova Scotia, it is one of the finest Palladian-style buildings in Canada. Its symmetrical composition, harmonious proportions and refined interior detailing are distinguishing features of the classical architecture of Georgian England. Before Confederation, epic orations within these walls contributed to . . . — Map (db m77858) HM|
|Ontario, Ottawa — Grand Central Hotel / Hôtel Grand Central — 1877|
Built as a grocery store by Thomas Coffey, Sr., this building was the Grand Central Hotel from 1889 to 1907, and a Salvation Army hostel from 1908 to 1949.
Designated Heritage Property
Construit au départ comme l'épicerie de Thomas Coffey, pére. L'immueble a abrite l'hôtel Grand Central de 1889 à 1907, puis d'auberge de l'Armee du Salut de 1908 à 1949.
Classé Monument Historique . . . — Map (db m63693) HM|
|Ontario (Essex County), Windsor — Original Home of Major F.A. Tilston V.C. Armoury|
|This armoury was named after Major Fred Tilston, a true military hero of this community. Maj. Tilston, a member of the Essex Scottish, was awarded the Victoria Cross, the highest award for bravery, for his exploits at the Battle of Hochwald Forest in 1945.
Replacing wooden barracks that earlier stood in what is now City Hall Square, this building was constructed in 1901 from plans drawn up by David Ewart, architect for the federal Department of Public Works. it is typical of a large number . . . — Map (db m42292) HM|
|Ontario (Hamilton County), Hamilton — Dundurn Castle|
|This villa was completed in 1835 for Allan Napier MacNab. Incorporating an existing farmhouse, it was designed by the local architect, Robert Wetherell, as a statement of its owner's place in Hamilton society. The house features an eclectic blend of classical and Italianate motifs, French windows, broad verandahs and a panoramic view of Burlington Bay. With its outbuildings and grounds, Dundurn Castle stands as an important example of the Picturesque Movement in Canada. After years in private . . . — Map (db m66126) HM|
|Ontario (Hamilton County), Hamilton — Dundurn Castle — — 1832 —|
|This mansion was built 1832-35 by Allan Napier MacNab (1798-1862) and named after the family ancestral seat in Scotland. Enlisting at fifteen, MacNab distinguished himself by his bravery in the War of 1812. He subsequently entered politics and was noted for his support of the Family Compact. During the Rebellion of 1837 he was one of the government's most active military supporters and was knighted for his services. Leader of the Tory-Conservatives, MacNab was speaker of the Legislative . . . — Map (db m66129) HM|
|Ontario (Lambton County), Petrolia — Victoria Hall|
|English When Victoria Hall was built in 1889, Petrolia, in the midst of an oil boom, was one of the wealthiest towns in Canada. The opulent town hall reflects this stage in the town’s growth. While its first floor housed municipal offices, court rooms, fire department and armory, the entire second floor was an opera house capable of seating 1,000 people. The design, by London (Ontario) architect George Durand, uses a diverse combination of forms and a variety of decorative motifs to . . . — Map (db m78421) HM|
|Ontario (Leeds & Grenville Counties), Brockville — Former Brockville Post Office|
| Completed in 1886 this structure was designed under the direction of Thomas Fuller, Chief Architect of the Department of Public Works from 1881 to 1896. The Brockville Post Office shows the sensitivity often displayed by Fuller and his staff. The basic design with the double entrance and steep roof was adapted to many small post offices across Canada, but varied here by the presence of superb stonework and a central pedimented gable with flanking gables. Each post office was unique but . . . — Map (db m87064) HM|
|Ontario (Leeds & Grenville Counties), Brockville — Fulford Place|
| Built in 1899 – 1900, this eclectic mansion evokes the opulent lifestyle of Canada's industrial elite at the turn of the century. Designed by American architect A. W. Fuller, it was the spacious residence of Senator George T. Fulford (1852–1905), who made his fortune in patent medicines. The remarkably fine period interior includes most of the original furniture, fixtures, dinnerware, linens, and objets d'art. The grounds, of which significant elements survive, were landscaped by the prestigious Olmsted Brothers' firm. — Map (db m87017) HM|
|Ontario (Leeds & Grenville Counties), Brockville — Johnstown District Court House and Gaol|
| In 1808 the provincial government authorized the erection of a court house and gaol in Elizabethtown (Brockville) to serve the District of Johnstown created ten years earlier. By 1811 a brick structure had been built here on land donated by William Buell, the founder of Brockville. It was replaced in 1824 by a larger building which remained the judicial and administrative centre of the region until the present court house was completed in 1843. Prominently situated at the head of the public . . . — Map (db m83480) HM|
|Ontario (Leeds & Grenville Counties), Brockville — Leeds-Grenville County Court House|
| Symbols of law and authority to a new and changing society, the district court houses of Upper Canada were architecturally prominent buildings in the colony. Of these, one of the most grandiose is the former Johnstown District court house which was erected in the early 1840s and at present houses the county courts for Leeds-Grenville. Planned by the noted Toronto architect, John Howard, the building easily incorporates the diverse facilities of a court room, offices and jail while presenting . . . — Map (db m87027) HM|
|Ontario (Leeds & Grenville Counties), Gananoque — Gananoque Town Hall|
| Built about 1831-32, and designed in the late phase of the Neo-Classic style, this structure is among the best of its type remaining in Ontario. Constructed as a dwelling for John McDonald, a local landowner, merchant, postmaster and later a member of the Legislative Council of Canada, it remained in the family until 1911. The earliest settlement at the site of Gananoque took place in the late 1790's, and the first major survey of a village site was carried out in 1842. First incorporated in . . . — Map (db m83532) HM|
|Ontario (Leeds & Grenville Counties), Prescott — Prescott Barracks and Hospital|
| The front portion of this structure one of the earliest surviving military buildings in Ontario, was constructed as a residence about 1810 by Colonel Edward Jessup, the founder of Prescott. Following the outbreak of the War of 1812, the stone house was appropriated for use as a barracks by local militia and, later, British regulars. It was soon enclosed within a stockade with other buildings, including a log schoolhouse also converted for barracks. Although a fort was completed nearby in 1814, . . . — Map (db m86950) HM|
|Ontario (Leeds and Grenville Counties), Maitland — Dumbrille's Store|
| Built as a house in the 1850s, this sturdy stone building was altered in 1877 by John Dumbrille, when he relocated his general store from across the street in front of his residence "Sprucelawn". In 1879 he was appointed Maitland's postmaster and that office was moved here as well. Four generations of the Dumbrille family remained as shopkeepers and postmasters in this building until 1969 when a new post office was built elsewhere. — Map (db m89979) HM|
|Ontario (Leeds and Grenville Counties), Maitland — Homewood|
| Construction of Homewood was begun in 1800 by Dr. Solomon Jones, a prominent Loyalist, local officeholder and early resident of this region. With its balanced five-bay façade, centre hallway plan and classical detailing, it reflects the influence of British Palladianism, while its fieldstone construction and deeply pitched roof echo the Québec traditions of its builder, the Montréal Mason Louis Brillière. In spite of several additions, Homewood retains much of its original character and . . . — Map (db m89978) HM|
|Ontario (Middlesex County), London — Eldon House|
|Built in 1834 by Capt. John Harris, R.N., treasurer of the London District, this is London's oldest remaining house. With his wife Amelia, daughter of Samuel Ryerse, Harris came to London after the District offices were moved here from Vittoria. For many years Eldon House was a centre of London's cultural and social life, and four generations of the Harris family dwelt in it during more than 125 years. In 1960 the family gave the house with most of its furnishings and eleven acres of land, to the City of London for a museum and park. — Map (db m18970) HM|
|Ontario (Middlesex County), London — Middlesex Court House — Le Palais de Justice de Middlesex|
Erected in 1830, this building was modelled after Malahide Castle, near Dublin, Ireland, the ancestral home of Colonel Thomas Talbot, founder of the Talbot Settlement. The site was a part of the town plot set aside by Lieutenant-Governor John Graves Simcoe after his visit to The Forks in February, 1793. Here he proposed to locate the provincial capital.
En 1830, le colonel Talbot, fondateur de la colonie Talbot, fit erige cet . . . — Map (db m18962) HM|
|Ontario (Middlesex County), London — The East London Town Hall|
|Completed in 1884, restored in 1969 as Aeolian Town Hall, served as a centre for political and social life in London East until 1947. — Map (db m18963) HM|
|Ontario (Middlesex County), London — The Gaol and Courthouse, London, c.1843 — Painting by George Russell Dartnell|
|“More change has been caused to the views around London by the cutting down of hills and the building of gullies.”
--Harriet Priddis, in her “Reminiscences” (1902)
In the 1840s George Russell Dartnell depicted the London District Courthouse sitting on a rise, with the ground dropping toward a ravine to the south and toward a bog near the site of Robinson Hall, on the east side of Ridout Street. Robinson hall is shown at the far right of Dartnell's . . . — Map (db m18973) HM|
|Ontario (Middlesex County), London — The Petition of John Ewart|
| The Petition of John Ewart of the Town of York:
That while your Petitioner was performing his contract for building the Court House and Gaol in the town of London, in the London District, he was located by Colonel Talbot upon two lots in the said Town of London liable to settlement Duties and upon which he has made the following...improvements -- that is to say, a framed House, 50 feet long by 30 feet wide, and 23 feet high, with a wing, 30 by 16 feet, and a back Kitchen . . . — Map (db m18974) HM|
|Ontario (Middlesex County), London — The Ridout Street Complex|
|This streetscape includes several of London's earliest buildings and provides a capsule view of the appearance of mid-19th century Ontario cities. These buildings, the earliest of which was begun in 1835, include residential, industrial and commercial premises all intermingled on one of the city's main streets. The group of structures soon became known as “Bankers' Row” because of the presence of five branch offices here. After years of neglect and deterioration, they were . . . — Map (db m18972) HM|
|Ontario (Niagara Region), Niagara Falls — Stamford Cottage|
|200 yards north east of this point stood
"Stamford Cottage" later known as
"Stamford Park" the home of
Sir Peregrine Maitland, Lieutenant Governor
of Upper Canada from 1818 to 1828.
The property was purchased in 1822 and
consisted of a 'cottage' and gate house,
The 22 room 'cottage' was destroyed by
fire in 1828. — Map (db m75856) HM|
|Ontario (Niagara Region), Niagara Falls — Toronto Power Generating Station — La centrale Électrique de la Toronto Power|
|Opened in 1906 to supply the Toronto market, this generating station was the first wholly Canadian-owned hydro-electric facility at Niagara Falls. Engineers adapted advanced European and American technologies to a difficult site in a bold and enterprising way. The station’s palatial powerhouse was designed by the eminent Toronto architect E. J. Lennox to complement the scenic setting. Symmetrical, colonnaded and faced in limestone, it is an early and unusual application of Beaux-Arts design to . . . — Map (db m79737) HM|
|Ontario (Niagara Region), Niagara on the Lake — Niagara on the Lake Historical District|
|(Left side is in English)
In 1778, Loyalist refugees began crossing from Fort Niagara to settle the west bank of the Niagara River. A town was laid out in a grid pattern of four-acre blocks and grew quickly, gaining prominence as the first capital of Upper Canada from 1792 to 1796. Following Niagara’s destruction during the war of 1812, the citizens rebuilt, mainly in the British Classical architectural tradition, creating a group of structures closely related in design, materials, and . . . — Map (db m24585) HM|
|Ontario (Niagara Region), Niagara-on-the-Lake — Later Years — Inoculation at Old Navy Hall, Niagara Camp|
|[Text on Marker]:
Immediately after the War of 1812, a new wooden storehouse was built on this site. It was converted into barracks for British troops during the border troubles of 1838. The building remained in use until the 20th century serving as a medical commissary for Canadian troops during World War I. During the 1930s it was moved to the location in front of you by the Niagara Parks Commission and encased in stone.
[Caption for Background Picture]:
Canadian . . . — Map (db m49478) HM|
|Ontario (Niagara Region), Niagara-on-the-Lake — Memorial Hall, 1906|
|This building, the first in Ontario to be constructed for use solely as an historical museum, was begun in 1906 and completed the following year. Its erection was due largely to the dedicated efforts of Miss Janet Carnochan, founder, and for thirty years curator of the Niagara Historical Society. Previously the Society had used a room in the Town Hall to preserve objects of this early Loyalist region. Donations were received from the federal and provincial governments, local municipalities, . . . — Map (db m75861) HM|
|Ontario (Niagara Region), Niagara-on-the-Lake — Niagara Apothecary — La Pharmacie De Niagara|
|Acquired by the Ontario Heritage Foundation in 1969, the Niagara Apothecary is a fine example of a Confederation era commercial establishment and pharmacy. Although the building probably dates to the 1820's. It was extensively renovated in 1866 when it was taken over by an apothecary. At this time the Italianate windows weer installed and the interior fitted up as a drug store. Until it was closed in 1964 it was one of the oldest and one of the longest continuously operating pharmaceutical . . . — Map (db m24609) HM|
|Ontario (Northumberland County), Cobourg — Victoria Hall|
| One of the finest public buildings in Canada, this imposing structure was built as an expression of civic pride and confidence in the future. It was begun in 1856 and opened by the Prince of Wales four years later. Designed by the renowned architect Kivas Tully, Victoria Hall is classical in form and is distinguished by elaborately carved ornamentation, an elegant pediment supported by four Corinthian columns and a massive, column-ringed cupola. The building's interior with its traditional, . . . — Map (db m90084) HM|
|Ontario (Northumberland County), Cobourg — Victoria Hall|
| This building, designed by the architect Kivas Tully in a Victorian version of the Palladian style, is representative of the finer public buildings of mid-nineteenth century Canada. One of the most impressive town halls in Ontario, it reflects the economic optimism of the 1850's. It was constructed by the local firm of Burnett Brothers at a cost of $110,000. The cornerstone was laid by Sir Allan MacNab on December 30, 1856, and the building was officially opened by the Prince of Wales on September 7, 1860. — Map (db m90086) HM|
|Ontario (Toronto), Toronto — The Macdonald-Mowat House — 1872|
|Sir John A. Macdonald, Canada's first prime minister, purchased this house in 1876 and lived here 1876-78. It was built in 1872 in the French Second Empire style by Nathaniel Dickey, a Toronto iron founder. Macdonald owned the property until 1886 and it was occupied by his son, Hugh John, 1879-82. The Hon. Oliver Mowat, prime minister of Ontario, bought and occupied the house in 1888 and retained ownership until 1902. The property was leased, 1897-98, to the Hon. Arthur Sturgis Hardy who . . . — Map (db m36978) HM|
|Ontario (Toronto, Municipality of Metropolitan), Toronto — The Royal York Hotel — L’hôtel Royal York|
Built on the site of the Queen's Hotel by the Canadian Pacific Railway in 1928-29, the Royal York Hotel was part of its coast-to-coast chain of grand hotels. The skyscraper hotel, designed by Montreal architects Ross and Macdonald in association with Sproatt and Rolph of Toronto, was the largest hotel in the British Commonwealth and dramatically altered the Toronto skyline. Inside, attractive rooms - from the classicism of the 1928-29 interior to the 1957-59 extension . . . — Map (db m83660) HM|
|Prince Edward Island (Queens County), Charlottetown — Canadian National Hotels — Rodd Hotels & Resorts|
|This marker is composed of two plaques on either side of the entrance.
In 1930, the Canadian National Railway (CNR) decided to build a hotel in Charlottetown, Railway hotels were the standard of comfort and service, but the new Canadian National was more than a hotel. When it opened in April. 1931 it joined the family of highly-regarded CNR hotels across Canada and was hailed in the media of the day as “the beginning of a new era in the province.” It stood for everything . . . — Map (db m80227) HM|
|Prince Edward Island (Queens County), Charlottetown — Dundas Terrace|
This apartment building, completed in 1890, is a handsome example of the Queen Anne Revival in Canada. Admired for its picturesque qualities, this style was popular in Canadian domestic architecture from the 1880s to the 1910s. As this charming residence illustrates, the use of varied volumes and rooflines, projecting and receding masses, and textured surfaces creates a lively architectural composition. Named for a nearby waterfront esplanade, Dundas Terrace was designed by . . . — Map (db m80207) HM|
|Prince Edward Island (Queens County), Charlottetown — Province House|
Completed in 1847, this neo-classical building was designed and built by local architect Isaac Smith to accommodate the provincial legislature and administrative offices. It also housed the Island's Supreme Court until 1872. Province House retains its central role in Island public life, with the Assembly holding sessions here. In September 1864 it was the scene of the first conference on colonial union. Delegates from the colonies of Prince Edward Island, New Brunswick, Nova . . . — Map (db m80282) HM|
|Quebec (Brome-Missisquoi MRC), Saint-Ignace-de-Stanbridge (Mystic) — Grange Alexander-Solomon-Walbridge|
| Construite en 1882 par l'entrepreneur Alexander Solomon Walbridge, cette grange-étable est formée de douze murs pignons disposés autour d'un espace central. Le bâtiment comporte deux niveaux: un premier qui servait d'étable et un second, divisé en plusieurs espaces, dont des tasseries, le tout organisé autour d'une plaque tournante destinée à faciliter l'engrangement des récoltes.
Ce bâtiment est la plus ancienne grange polygonale du Québec et la seule qui ait douze côtés. Son astucieux . . . — Map (db m77846) HM|
|Quebec (Capitale-Nationale (region)), Québec — Hôtel Chevalier|
En 1752, le négociant Jean-Baptiste Chevalier fit construire ce hôtel particulier qui lui servit de domicile, de maison d’affaires et d’entrepôt.
L’hôtel fut converti en auberge, vers la fin du XVIIIᵉ siècle, sous le nom de “London Coffee House”. En 1960, l’état entreprit sa restauration et celle de deux maisons voisines datant du XVIIᵉ siècle.
In 1752, the merchant Jean-Baptiste Chevalier built this mansion . . . — Map (db m81539) HM|
|Quebec (Capitale-Nationale (region)), Québec — Kent House — Maison du Duc de Kent|
D’Ailleboust, Governor of New France, occupied this house in 1648. De Ramezay here signed the capitulation of Quebec in 1759. The Duke of Kent, father of Queen Victoria, resided here from 1792 to 1794.
D’Ailleboust, gouverneur de la Nouvelle-France, habita cette maison 1748. De Ramezay ye signa la capitulation de Québec in 1759. Le duc de Kent, père de la reine Victoria y vécut de 1792 à 1794. — Map (db m81260) HM|
|Quebec (Capitale-Nationale (region)), Québec — Le Vielle Prison de Québec — (The Old Quebec Prison) — (Morrin College)|
This is the first prison in Canada to reflect the principles of John Howard, a British reformer who believed that cellular confinement, work, and education could rehabilitate criminals. Designed by local architect François Baillairgé and constructed between 1808 and 1814, the building was among the first in Québec to be inspired by the design principles of British classicism. With the completion of a new prison in 1861, this building was sold to Dr. Joseph Morrin and . . . — Map (db m80776) HM|
|Quebec (Capitale-Nationale (region)), Québec — Maison Baillargeon|
Habitée par trois générations d’une même famille, cette maison a été construite en 1860 selon les plans de l’architecte Charles Baillairgé pour le docteur Pierre Baillargeon (1812-1891), médecin, dentiste et sénateur.
Il était le frère de Mgr. Charles-François Baillargeon (1798-1870), seizième évêque et troisième archevêque de Québec. Tous deux étaient natifs de l’Île-aux-Grues.
Le fils de Pierre Baillargeon, Jules (1856-1945), importateur de vins, et son épouse, . . . — Map (db m81333) HM|
|Quebec (Capitale-Nationale (region)), Québec — Maison Jean-Demers|
|French: Jean Demers ou Dumets, de Dieppe, entreprit la construction de cette maison en 1689. Les maçons Le Rouge, Reonault et Charpentier y travaillèrent. Elle a été habitée par la famille Demers jusqu’en 1764.
Le carré de la maison a résisté aux bombardements de la flotte anglaise en 1759. La charpente à pannes de la toiture date de 1764. La maison contient encore quatre foyers d’origine et des plafonds anciens à poutres cordonnées.
De Jean Demers et de Jeanne Védie, son . . . — Map (db m80801) HM|
|Quebec (Capitale-Nationale (region)), Québec — Pavillon Charles-Baillairgé|
This building was constructed between 1861 and 1871 according to plans by architect Charles Baillairgé (1826-1906), whose name it now bears. Until 1970, it served as Quebec City’s prison. The building’s outstanding restoration was completed in 1991, when it became part of the museum. The Charles Baillairgé pavillon was classified as a historical monument in 1997.
Ce bâtiment a été construite de 1861 à 1871 d’après les plans de l’architecte Charles . . . — Map (db m81229) HM|
|Quebec (Capitale-Nationale (region)), Québec — The Jacquet House — La Maison Jacquet|
One of the oldest houses in Quebec, built by François Jacquet in 1675-76. Prominent citizen of Quebec City lived here, of whom Philippe Aubert de Gaspé, author of “Les Anciens Canadiens”, from 1815 to 1824.
Construite en 1675-76 par François Jacquet, plusieurs notables Québec l’habitèrent, notamment Philippe Aubert de Gaspé, l’auteur de roman “Les Anciens Canadiens”, de 1815 à 1824. Elle est l’une des plus anciennes maisons de Québec. — Map (db m80802) HM|
|Quebec (Capitale-Nationale (region)), Québec — The Maillou House — La Maison Malliou|
Built as a one-storey house about 1736 by Jean Maillou, architect, it was raised before 1775 to its present height by Antoine Duchesnay, Executive Councillor and extended in 1799 by John Hale, Deputy Paymaster General of the British Forces. Here, the military council, district of Quebec, held its meetings 1760-64, and Commissariat, Pay and Army Bill offices were quartered 1815-71. A good example of Québec town architecture, it was restored in 1959 by the federal government . . . — Map (db m80799) HM|
|Quebec (Capitale-Nationale (region)), Québec — The Têtu House — La maison Têtu|
In 1852 Cirice Têtu, a merchant, asked Charles Baillairgé, one of the finest architects in Québec, to draw up the plans for his home and to oversee its construction. The Têtu house is one of the most remarkable examples of the neoclassical town houses built at that time. Its elegant masonry is richly decorated with Greek Revival motifs which blend perfectly with the traditional architecture of the layout and facade. The Greek Revival influence continues inside, in the finely . . . — Map (db m81324) HM|
|Quebec (La Cité Borough), Québec City — Le Château Frontenac — Vieux-Québec|
| Construit en sept étapes à partir de 1892-1893, cet édifice offre un excellet exemple des hotels de style Chateau etablis par les companies ferroviaires au Canada. Rehaussé par la splendeur du site, il évoque la romantisme des château de la Loir des XIV et XV siècles. Bruce Price, qui en a conçu le plan, a toutefois délaissé la symétrie classique de ces modèles au profit de l’eclectisme pittoresque en vogue à la fin du XIX siècle. Les interventions subséquentes des architects Painter et . . . — Map (db m74546) HM|
|Quebec (Memphrémagog MRC), East Bolton — Former Bolton Township Hall|
| French text appears above English text. Passage of the Municipal and Road Act for Lower Canada in 1855 resulted in the construction of many public halls in the English-speaking communities of rural Quebec during the second half of the 19th century. This township hall was erected in 1867 by community members using wood obtained locally. It served as a council chamber and social meeting place as well as accommodating a school on the ground floor. A fine example of regional building . . . — Map (db m75771) HM|
|Quebec (Montréal (region)), Montréal — Cartier Residences — Les Résidences Cartier|
These two semi-detached houses were constructed about 1837, and each served as the home of one of Canada’s most distinguished statesmen, Sir George-Étienne Cartier (1814-1873), who occupied the east home from 1848 until 1855, and the west house from 1862 to 1872. Cartier shared the leadership of the Province of Canada with Sir John A. Macdonald for most of the decade after 1857, and was one of the principal architects of Confederation (1867). He became a leading member of the . . . — Map (db m82112) HM|
|Quebec (Montréal (region)), Montréal — Visitors Center|
This house built around 1800 on land granted in 1658 to Lambert Closse by Paul de Chomedey Sieur de Maisonneuve, was restored and converted into an art center in 1964 by the Safeguard Life Ass. Co.
Cette maison, bâtie vers 1800 sur une terre concédée en 1658 à Lambert Closse par Paul de Chomedey de Maisonneuve, fut restaurée et convertie en centre d’art en 1965 par le Compagnie d’Assurance sur la Vie la Sauvegarde. — Map (db m82013) HM|
|Quebec (Ville-Marie Borough), Montréal — Château de Vaudreuil|
|Ici s’élevait – Here stood
le Château de – the Château
Vaudreuil – de Vaudreuil
Construit en 1723 – Built in 1723,
occupé de le – occupied by the
College de – College of
Montréal de – Montreal from
1773 en 1803. – 1773 to 1803. — Map (db m73102) HM|
|Yukon Territory, Dawson City — Bank of British North America/La Bank of British North America|
The BNA, which opened Dawson City’s first bank in a tent in 1898, moved into these premises in 1899. By providing the essential services of assaying, buying and shipping gold, it helped integrate the local currency of dust and nuggets into a cash economy. As larger gold companies with their own assayers and capital took over mining, the bank (since 1918 the Bank of Montreal) became a more peripheral service, providing a payroll service for the dredges. It closed in 1968 after the . . . — Map (db m44857) HM|
|Yukon Territory, Dawson City — Dr. Brown’s Residence — Résidence du docteur Brown|
| [English] Built for Dr. Brown, a dentist, in 1902, this attractive little bungalow was tangible proof that affluent residents had confidence in the future of Dawson City and were willing to put down roots. While this may have been somewhat misplaced, the building’s future was assured. Considerably altered by subsequent owners, it functions today as housing for Canada Parks Service staff members.|
Construit pour le dentiste John Brown en 1902, ce joli petit bungalow montre bien . . . — Map (db m49345) HM
|Yukon Territory, Dawson City — Macaulay’s Residence — Résidence Macaulay|
| [English] This fine two storey house, built in 1901, was owned by Henry C. Macaulay, Dawson City’s first mayor. Subsequently, it housed such affluent individuals as a merchant, a Territorial Commissioner, a surveyor, and senior management of the Yukon Consolidated Gold Corporation. It was a residence for those whose instructions, salaries and life-style came from outside.|
Cette belle maison de deux étages, construite en 1901, a été la propriété de Henry C. Macaulay, premier . . . — Map (db m49343) HM
|Yukon Territory, Dawson City — Palace Grand Theatre/Le théâtre Grand Palace|
“Arizona” Charlie Meadows, showman and self-made heroic figure built a lavish structure in 1899 to prospect gold directly from the miner’s pokes. Hugely successful over its first winter, the theatre offered vaudeville acts, comedy, music and melodrama – all on the same bill. Dance hall girls came next, at a dollar-a-dance from midnight until breakfast, while drinking and gambling went on the whole time. As the heady gold rush days subsided, so did the theatres . . . — Map (db m44890) HM|
|Yukon Territory, Dawson City — Post Office/Le bureau de poste|
Prime Minister Laurier himself recognized the need to link the Klondike with the rest of the country. In 1900, he urged that the building of a Post Office “...be proceeded with at once.” As the first substantial building erected by the government in Dawson City, the Post Office (which included a land registration and telegraph office) was the link to the rest of the country and to the goldfields. From the first, it was a source of civic pride, symbolizing Dawson City’s . . . — Map (db m44936) HM|
|Yukon Territory, Dawson City — Robert Service's Cabin / La cabane de Robert Service|
Within 5 years of Robert Service's departure in 1912, the local press referred to his rented cabin as a “shrine”. It became Yukon’s foremost tourist attraction virtually from the day it was abandoned. Maintained, altered and embellished by local service groups, the Klondike Bard’s cabin has come to symbolize the legacy of the Klondike Gold Rush:
“Have you suffered, starved and triumphed, grovelled down, yet grasped at glory. Grown bigger in the . . . — Map (db m42695) HM|
|Yukon Territory, Dawson City — The B.Y.N. Co. Ticket Office/La billettetereie de la compagnie B.Y.N.|
|[English:] This structure, built in 1900, is all that remains of a larger complex that included a warehouse and dock. At the time of the gold rush and for years afterwards, the riverfront was the transition point between Dawson City and the rest of the world. Riverside facilities were developed until they stretched in a solid line across the city’s length. For most people, it was the first thing that greeted them as the arrived in Dawson City – and the last thing they saw as the . . . — Map (db m44859) HM|
|Yukon Territory, Dawson City — Yukon Saw Mill Office Historic Site|
|The Yukon Saw Mill Company was one of the first to cut timber in the Klondike, registering its first timber lease in March of 1898. At its peak, the company’s machine shop was the largest north of Vancouver, and its lumberyard stretched over three city blocks. The economic impact from these operations was far-reaching, not only for local workers, but also for the First nations and non-First Nations contractors who cut the timber and rafted huge log booms down the Yukon River to the Dawson . . . — Map (db m44761) HM|
|China, Beijing, Hǎidiàn Qū — Hall of Dispelling Clouds — (Paiyun Dian) - 排 云 殿|
|The original construction here was the Hall of the Great Buddha of the Temple of Immense Gratitude and Longevity in the Garden of Clear Ripples. It was burned down by the Anglo-French Allied Forces in 1860 and reconstructed on its original site in 1886 as a place to celebrate Empress Dowager Cixi's birthdays. On display inside the hall are some of the birthday presents offered by princes, dukes and high-ranking officials. — Map (db m53920) HM|
|China, Beijing, Hǎidiàn Qū — Purple Heaven Hall — 紫 霄 殿 (Zixiao Dian)|
|Built in 1886, the hall was a lounge for princes, patriarchs and cabinet ministers when in the Summer Palace to celebrate Empress Dowager Cixi's birthdays. The cultural relics on display here are birthday presents from the princes, patriarchs and cabinet ministers to Cixi. — Map (db m53944) HM|
|Czech Republic, Ústecký (Okres Litoměřice), Terezín — Columbarium|
Do choheb tohoto opevnění byly ukládaný lepenkové urny s popelem mrtvých vĕzňů. Všechny urny – bylo jich na 25 tisíc – esesáci koncem roku 1944 odvezli vĕtšinu popela vysypali do Řeky Ohře, část zakopali do zemĕ poblíž Litomĕřického Koncentračního Tábora.
В . . . — Map (db m22744) HM|
|Czech Republic, Ústecký (Okres Litoměřice), Terezín — 15 — The Food Storeroom — Proviantní Sklad|
| In Czech:
Budova s jedním obdélníkovým nádvořím byla postavena v letech 1786 až 1789. V objektu se skladovala mouka, cukr, sůl, a pečivo. Spolu s Kavalírem č. II zde mohly být v připadě válečného konfliktu uskladněny zásoby potravin pro 70-ti tisícove vojsko na dobu 3,5 měsíce.
The Food Storeroom
This building, with one rectangular courtyard, was built between 1786 and 1789. Flour, sugar, . . . — Map (db m22626) HM|
|Dominican Republic, Santo Domingo — The House of the Rectory — Casa de la Rectoría|
| Conjunto original de tres casas del siglo XVI, con intervenciones continuas hasta convertirlas en un solo edificio, modificado a principio del siglo XX. Sirvió de hospital militar desde finales del siglo XIX. Fue parte de la sede de la Universidad de Santo Domingo. Se adecuó en el año 2003 a su uso actual. English translation: Originally this was a group of three houses from the 16th century, which were modified continuously until converted into one building around the beginning of . . . — Map (db m92722) HM|
|El Salvador, La Libertad, Santa Tecla — Santa Tecla Culture and Arts Center — El Palacio Tecleña de la Cultura y las Artes|
|Símbolo de la reconstrucción del municipio, es una obra realizada durante la gestión del Alcalde Oscar Ortiz y su Concejo quienes la entregan a la gran familia tecleña
Oscar Samuel Ortiz Ascencio - Alcalde ∙ Nery Arely Díaz de Rivera – Sindica Municipal ∙ Isidoro Martínez Pérez – 1º Regidor Propietario ∙ Doris Elizabeth Acosta de Rodríguez – 2º Regidora Propietaria ∙ Jorge Alberto Pérez Quezada – 3º Regidor Propietario ∙ Carlos Alberto . . . — Map (db m80905) HM|
|Estonia, Harjumaa MaakondTallinn — Suurgildi Hoone — [The Great Guild] — PIKK 17|
| Estonian Text : …
English Text :
The Great Guild, which was an organisation for major merchants and dealt with international trade, had an official building built in 1407-17. The basements and walls of the dwelling that was situated there in the 14th century was partially used. A double-naved festive hall was vaulted in 1410. The hall had air heating and a balcony for musicians, as well as a staircase that led to the bridal chamber. The front door knockers are lion heads . . . — Map (db m56996) HM|
|Estonia, Harjumaa MaakondTallinn — Residence of Konstantin Päts — [Finnish Embassy]|
| Text in Finnish: ...
Text in Estonian:... Text in English:
first President of Estonia,
lived in this building from 1922 to 1940.
The Finnish Embassy
was located here from 1923 to 1940,
and has been again since 1996. — Map (db m57227) HM|
|Estonia, Harjumaa MaakondTallinn — Tallinn Town Hall - Anno 1404|
The only surviving Gothic Town Hall in Northern Europe, the Town Hall in Tallinn was first mentioned in 1322. When the present day building was completed in 1402-1404, Tallinn was a flourishing Hanseatic city. The upper floor with its impressive halls, the arcade and the tower were built in that period.
The Town Hall is traditionally the centre of European municipal government from 1248 Tallinn was governed by Lubeck law, according to which the magistracy elected from the Hansa . . . — Map (db m57129) HM|
|France, Aquitaine (Dordogne Département), Sarlat-la-Canéda — Hôtel de Carbonnier de Marzac — [Hall of Carbonnier] Marzac] — Histoire de Sarlat|
La famille hérita du château de Puymartin au XVIIIe siècle. Ce bâtiment servit de caserne de gendarmerie jusqu’en 1819.|
[English translation by Google Translate , with modifications:
Hall of Carbonnier Marzac
The family inherited the castle Puymartin the eighteenth century. This building served as a police barracks until 1819. — Map (db m60442) HM
|France, Aquitaine (Dordogne Département), Sarlat-la-Canéda — Hôtel de Cervalè|
Bâti par la famille de Marqueyssac, il passa à la famille de Cerval au XVIIIe siècle.|
[English translation by Google Translate , with modifications:
Built by the family of Marqueyssac, it passed to the family of Cerval in the eighteenth century. — Map (db m60440) HM
|France, Aquitaine (Dordogne Département), Sarlat-la-Canéda — Hôtel de Goudin — [Hotel Goudin] — Histoire de Sarlat|
Ancienne famille de Chevaliers, seigneurs de la Roussie (Proissans).|
[English translation by Google Translate , with modifications:
Ancient family of knights, lords of the Roussie (Proissans). — Map (db m60419) HM
|France, Aquitaine (Dordogne Départment), Sarlat-la-Canéda — Hôtel de Grézel — [Grézel Hotel ] — Histoire de Sarlat|
Hôtel du XIIIe siècle, embelli après la guerre de Cent Ans par un belle tour d’escalier marquant la noblesse du son propriétaire.|
[English translation by Google Translate , with modifications:
Hotel thirteenth century, embellished after the Hundred Years War by a beautiful staircase tower marking the nobility of its owner.] — Map (db m60418) HM
|France, Aquitaine (Dordogne Départment), Sarlat-la-Canéda — Hôtel de Mirandol|
Le Comte de Mirandol fut député de la Dordogne en 1815.|
[English translation by Google Translate , with modifications:
Count Mirandol was a member of the Dordogne in 1815. — Map (db m60436) HM
|France, Aquitaine (Dordogne Départment), Sarlat-la-Canéda — Hôtel de Vassal — Histoire de Sarlat|
|Hôtel de Vassal
Marqué par deux innovations: sa tour carrée et la tourelle jumelée en façade.|
[English translation by Google Translate , with modifications:
Hotel de Vassal
Marked by two innovations: its square tower and twin turret in front. — Map (db m60435) HM
|France, Aquitaine (Dordogne Départment), Sarlat-la-Canéda — Manoir de Gisson — [Gisson Manor] — Histoire de Sarlat|
Originellement du XIIIe siècle, it fut embelli après la guerre de Cent Ans, et doté d’une bell tour dite de nobléésse|
[English translation by Google Translate , with modifications:
Originally thirteenth century, it was embellished after the Hundred Years War, and has a bell tower, sign of nobility.] — Map (db m60420) HM
|France, Aquitaine (Dordogne Départment), Vézac — Géologie, écologie et histoire de La Malartrie — [Geology, ecology and history of the Malartrie] — Vezac|
|La falaise de La Malartrie est en calcaire du Crétacé (environ 85 millions d’années), formé par l’accumulation de débris vegétaux et minéraux au fond de la mer chaude que recouvrait alors le Périgord.
Après le retrait définitif de cette dernière, et pendant des millions d’années, ce calaire subit la dissolution par l’eau de pluie qui creuse des galeriers souterraines. L’érosion beaucoup plus récente, en particulier par le rivière Dordogne, mit au jour grottes et cavités, occupées ici dès . . . — Map (db m60503) HM|
|France, Aquitaine (Gironde Départment), Saint Emilion — L’ancienne Halle — [The old Covered Market]|
|Ce bâtiment du XVIIIème siècle abrite, jusque bien après la Révolution Française, l’Hôtel de Ville, sa prision et sa halle où se tenaient certains marchés.|
[English translation by Google Translate with modifications:
The old covered market
This 18th century building housed, until well after the French Revolution, the Town Hall, its prison, its covered market or stood some markets.] — Map (db m60518) HM
|France, Aquitaine (Gironde Départment), Saint Emilion — La Maison de la Cadene/La Porte de la Cadene — [The House of the Chain/The Gate of the Chain]|
|La Maison de la Cadene
Une charte de 1291 concéda à Guillaume Renaud de la Cadene un emplacement situé à la port du même non. La maison gothique qu’il y fit construire fut remplacée au début du XVIème siècle par une masion à pans de bois et en torchis appelée encoure aujourd’hui Maison de la Cadène.|
La Porte de la Cadene
Postérieure aux 6 portes Romanes de remparts extérieurs, cette arcade ogivale gothique était l’unique port de l’enceinte fortifiée intérieure. Son nom viendrait du . . . — Map (db m60520) HM
|France, Basse-Normandie (Calvados Département), Bayeux — Un édifice du Xe siècle — A 10th Century Building — Bayeux, la Qualité a ses Racines|
La fouille archéologique pratiquée dans ce secteur a permis de mettre au jour un bâtiment rectangulaire date des IXe-Xe siècles, situé perpendiculairement au rempart et utilisant ce dernier comme pignon à l’est. Etudié sur trois cotes seulement, l’édifice mesure 9,70 mètres de longueur sur au moins 5 mètres de largeur. A l’intérieur, son sol était constitué d’un dallage de petites pierres plates (ici évoqué par une restitution moderne), des enduits . . . — Map (db m89005) HM|
|France, Île-de-France (Paris), Paris — La Conciergerie|
|La Conciergerie tient son nom du concierge, à qui le roi confie les droits de justice sur la demeure royale et ses dépendances. Du palais capétien de Philippe le Bel subsistent de rares salles gothiques, témoins des fastes royaux du XIVe siècle. Les salles dites «revolutionaries» évoquent le régime de la Terreur avec, en partictulier, le cellule reconstituée des la reine Marie Antoinette.|
The Conciergerie, originally part of the former royal palace of the French kings, it takes . . . — Map (db m61578) HM
|France, Île-de-France (Paris), Paris — La maison de Rose de Rosimond — Histoire de Paris|
|Né en 1645, Claude de La Rose, dit en Rosimond, écrivain à ses heures, est choisi pour succéder à Molière dans troupe des comédiens de roi, et comme lui, il meurt en scène, à l’issue d’une représentation du “Malade imaginaire”. Depuis 1680, il possèdait ici une maison de villégiature, entourée de cinq quartiers de terre labourable. Au XIXe siècle, elle est aménagée en ateliers pour artistes: Auguste Renoir en quête d’espace y loue deux pièces et l’ancienne écurie; lui succèdent Léon . . . — Map (db m60878) HM|
|France, Île-de-France (Paris), Paris — Le Moulin de la Galette — Histoire de Paris|
|Plus qu’une institution, l’ancien “Blute-fin” est un monument, avec sa légende héroique; en 1814, lors du siege de Paris par les Cosaques, le dernier de quatre frères d’une dynastie de meuniers attestée depuis 1621, les Debray, finit dépecé et cloué sur les ailes de son moulin au terme d’une défense désespérée. Sous la Restauration, son fils transforme le bâtiment en salle de bal, à la décoration essentiellement composée de treillis de jardin peints en vert. L’ambiance y est . . . — Map (db m60876) HM|
|France, Languedoc-Roussillon (Hérault Département), Capestang — Porte de Béziers — [The Bezier Gate]|
|L’enceinte du XIVème siècle, ponctuée de tours de diverses formes, disposait de cinq ports dont certaines avec « tour et maison attenante ».
En 1775, les portes dites de Carcassonne, de Saïsses et de Béziers sont remises en état : elles sont en bois de sapin « peint a l’huile d’une couleur brun-rouge » , chacune se compose de deux vantaux, une travers, un guichet au milieu, deux serrures de deux verrous.
[Translation by Google Translate (with modifications):
The Bezier Gate
The rampart of . . . — Map (db m60088) HM|
|France, Languedoc-Roussillon (Hérault Départment), Beziers — Hôtel de Ville — [City Hall]|
|Hier Agora, Forum, Maison communale... aujourd’hui Hôtel de Ville.
Au XIII siècle, les Consuls de Béziers, bénéficiant de l’une des plus anciennes chartes communales consenties en Languedoc (1185), édifient une première maison commune.
Suivront acquisitions successsive et aménagements : grande porte (1360), salle pour le clavaire (1373), pièce pour conservation du Compoix, pavage du parvis autour de la fontaine (1553), élévation d’une tour avec cloche et horloge (1647).
En 1728, on procède à . . . — Map (db m60252) HM|
|France, Languedoc-Roussillon (Hérault Départment), Capestang — La maison Lignon — [The Lignon house]|
|La bâtisse actuelle est la version villageoise de cháteau pinardier. Ce bel exemple de maision bourgeoise de l’Age d’or de la viticulture de masse : toit d’ardoises, tourelle (1888) été restauré avec soin par Roger LILLLE.
Sur cet emplacement se trouvait encore en 1823 un hôtel particulier XVe en dans son prolongement, jusqu’en 1838, la tour de setier (XIe), principal élément de fortification du village primitif.
[Translation by Google (with modifications)
The Lignon house
The current . . . — Map (db m60057) HM|
|France, Languedoc-Roussillon (Hérault Départment), Capestang — La maison romane — [The Romanesque house]|
|La maison romane
Construite probablement au XIIe siècle, elle a pu être la demeure d’un chanoine (ancienne rue de Chapitre).
Au dessus du portall, I’inscription PAX DOMUI...M...AT, sûrement inspirée de l’évangile de Luc, renvoie à sa bénédiction.
[Translation by Google (with modifications):
The Romanesque house
Probably built in the twelfth century, it could be the remains of a canon (former street of Chapitre).
Above portal, the inscription PAX DOMUI ... M. .. AT, surely inspired by the Gospel of Luke, refers to his blessing.] — Map (db m60056) HM|
|France, Midi-Pyrénées (Tarn Département), Albi — Hôtel de Fenasse|
|La maison romane ou Hôtel de Fenasse
Ce bel hôtel de la seconde moitié du XIIe siècle fait partie des quelques édifices civils romans de la région Midi-Pyrénées.
Il appartenait, à l’origine, à une riche famille albigeoise, les Fenasse. Vers 1300, Guillaum Fenasse fut condamnéé pour catharisme et son hôtel confisqué, devint propriété d’un frère de l’évéque, Béraud de Fargues. Il passa ensuite aux mains du sénéchal de Toulouse avant de devenir propriété d’Etienne Lacombe, riche . . . — Map (db m60350) HM|
|France, Midi-Pyrénées (Tarn Département), Albi — Hôtel Reynes — (XVIe siecle)|
|Fleuron de la Renaissance albigeoise, cet hôtel fut contruit pour Roger Reynès, marchand enrichi par le commerce du pastel au début XVIe siecle.
À l’intérieur. Une belle cout associe briques et pierres; elle est bordée d’un côté, d’une galerie-loggia à l’italienne et de l’autre, par les bustes de François 1er et de sa seconde épouse, Eléonore d’Autriche.
La tour qui surplombe la cour appartenait à l’orignine à l’hôspital Saint-Jacques, situé à l’emplacement de l’actuelle . . . — Map (db m60290) HM|
|France, Midi-Pyrénées (Tarn Département), Albi — L’hôtel Séré de Rivières|
|L’hôtel Séré de Rivières, remanié aux XVIIe et XVIIIe siècles, conserve une belle porte et duex tours d’angle «en echauguette» , caractéristuques de la Renaissance.
La famille Séré de Rivières, liée à l’histoire de la ville et au commerce du pastel depuis le XVIe siècle, fut anoblie au XVIIIe siècle. La personnalité la plus illustre de la famille, fut le géneral Raymond-Adolphe Séré de Rivières (1815-1895). Surmonné le «Vauban du XIVe siecle» , il réalisa les place fortes de l’Est de la France . . . — Map (db m60371) HM|
|France, Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur (Vaucluse Département), Bonnieux — 7 — Ancien Hotel de Ville ou Hotel de Rouvil|
|L’hôtel de Rouvil appartenait à une vieille famille de Bonnieux. Cet hôtel particulier est devenu la nouvelle maison commue en 1859, maison commune initialement installée rue Droite «rue étroite et escarpée qui n’est plus convenable au service de la population et aux besoins des services . Pour des raisons similaires, la mairie sera transférée en bas du village en 2006.
Une tour devait être construite place de la justice pour y recevoir la nouvelle horloge. Ce projet est abandonné au profit de . . . — Map (db m61977) HM|
|Germany, Baden-Württemberg (Tübingen District), Bebenhausen — Klostermühle / Monastery Mill|
Untere mühle · erbaut 1447
aufgestockt 1780 · umbau zu
e-werk 1900 unter König
Wilhelm II · renoviert 1977
Lower mill · built in 1447
increased in 1780 · converted to
e-factory in 1900 under King
Wilhelm II · renovated in 1977
Cityscape competition — Map (db m77478) HM|
|Germany, Bavaria, Bamberg — The Old Main Watch — Ehem. Hauptwache|
[Marker text in German:]
1774 unter Fürstbischof
Adam Friedrich von Seinsheim
nach Plänen von J.E. Roppelt erbaut
militärische Embleme von
Johann Bernhard Kamm
Repräsentationsgebäude der fürstbischöfliche Infantrie
[Marker text translated into English, more or less:]
Constructed in 1774 under Prince Bishop Adam Friedrich von Seinsheim according to the plans by J.H. Roppelt. Military emblems by Johann Bernhard Kamm. A representational building of the Prince . . . — Map (db m58812) HM|
|Germany, Bavaria, Munich — Dachau Bomb Disposal Unit|
|Zum Gedenken an das Bombensuchkommando des KZ Dachau, das in der Zeit vom Juli 1944 bis April 1945 hier untergebracht war. Die SS zwang die Häftlinge unter Einsatz ihres Lebens, Bomben in München zu bergen und zu entschärfen. Zahllose Gefangene fanden dabei den Tod. Ihr Opfer ist uns Mahnung und Verpflichtung.
Landeshauptstadt München, Verein „zum Beispiel Dachau”
Translated, the marker reads:
In commemoration of the Dachau concentration camp bomb disposal unit, which was . . . — Map (db m22415) HM|
|Germany, Bavaria, Nuremberg — Schürstab Mansion — Schürstabhaus - Mittelaltlicher Geschlechtersitz|
[Marker text in German:]
Bis 1328 Unholder Ministeriale
1328-1478 Schürstab Patrizierfamilie
1406 Prägende Baugestaltung
durch Erhart d ä Schürstab
1482 Carl Schwerzer baulich Prägung
und Einbau der Hauskapelle
1508-1518 Anton Tetzel Losunger
1645-1791 Fetzer Ratskonsulenten
1943 Zerstörung des Daches
1997 Wiederaufbau u. Restaurierung
[Marker text translated into English, more or less:]
Until 1328 owners as "Unholder Ministeriale"
1328-1478 owned . . . — Map (db m58731) HM|
|Germany, Bavaria, Würzburg — The Lower Main Mill|
|Hier stand erbaut von Fürstbischof Iohann Philipp von Schönborn die Untere Mainmühle 1644-1921. An ihrer Stelle wurde in den Jahren 1921-1923 dieser Bau errichtet als erstes Kraftwerk der Grosschiffahrtstrasse Rhein-Main-Donau.
Translated, the marker reads: From 1644-1921 here stood the Lower Main Mill, built by Prince-bishop Johann Philipp von Schoenborn. In its place this building was built in the years 1921-1923 as the first power plant of the Greater Rhine-Main-Danube Navigational Route. — Map (db m22827) HM|
|Germany, Bavaria (Ansbach District), Rothenburg ob der Tauber — Altes Rathaus / Old Town Hall|
um 1250 event. erste Bauphase
Erweiterung Ende des 14. Jahrh. (Kaisersaal)
1501 großer Brand
1551-1558 Wiederaufbau und Instandsetzung einschl. Turm (48m) in der heute vorhandenen Form
First building phase begun in 1250
Expansion (Emperor's Hall), at end of the 14th century.
1501 Great Fire
1551-1558 Rebuilding and repair, including the tower (48m)
in its present day form — Map (db m77606) HM|
|Germany, Bavaria (Ansbach District), Rothenburg ob der Tauber — Büttelhaus / Bailiff's House|
Um 1250 Wahrscheinlich Erstanlage enge Verbindung mit älterem Markusturm
Gefängniszellen in Haus und Turm
1945 Zerstört, Wiederaufbau 1959
Ab 1960 Stadtarchiv
Initially built around 1250
Probably close relationship with older Markus Tower
Prison cells in House and Tower
1510 New construction
1945 Destroyed, reconstruction 1959
From 1960 City Archives — Map (db m77620) HM|
|Germany, Bavaria (Kreis Schweinfurt), Gerolzhofen — The Former Adminstrative Building — Ehemaliges Amtshaus|
1580 wurde unter Fürstbischof Julius Echter dieser repräsentative Steinbau errichtet als Sitz der bischöflichen Verwaltung des Amtes Gerolzhofen. Neben den Bürostuben gab es im 2. Stockwerk auch Privatgemächer und eine kleine Kapelle, die der Bischof bei seinen Besuchen in der Stadt bewohnte. Im 20. Jahrhundert dann Nutzung als Landratsamt, heute Sitz der Verwaltungsgemeinschaft.
Geschichte für alle
historischer Verein in Gerolzhofen, e.V.
Dr. Ottmar Wolf - Kulturstiftung . . . — Map (db m77599) HM|
|Germany, Bavaria (Landkreis Kitzingen), Iphofen — Iphofen City Hall — Rathaus Iphofens|
| [Marker text in German:]
1716-1718 erbaut von dem Würzburger Hofbaumeister Josef Greising. Unter der doppelläufigen Freitreppe Eingang zum Rathauskeller und zwei vergitterte Schandhäuschen anstelle eines Prangers. Über dem Portal das fürstbischöfliche und das städtische Wappen. Im Innern Kündhalle, Ratsaal, Stadtarchiv und Kulturhistorische Sammlung.
[Marker text translated into English, more or less:] City Hall
Built 1716-18 by the Würzburg court . . . — Map (db m57924) HM|
|Germany, Berlin — Charlottenburg Palace — Schloß Charlottenburg|
| Text in German...
Text in English:
The baroque Lietzenburg palace completed in 1699 was built by Arnold Nehring as a summer residence for Sophie Charlotte, the wife of Elector Friedrich III. After her death in 1705, the palace was renamed Charlottenburg in her honor. When the elector became first Prussian king in 1701 (as Friedrich I), he had the palace enlarged and ordered the construction of a representative three-wing structure. George Wenzeslaus von Knobelsdorff, one of . . . — Map (db m56273) HM|
|Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Mansfeld-Südharz District), Lutherstadt Eisleben — Martin Luther Birthplace|
In diesem hause wurde geboren
Dr. M. Luther
den 10. November 1483.
In this house was born
Dr. M. Luther
on 10 November 1483. — Map (db m70146) HM|
|Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Mansfeld-Südharz District), Mansfeld-Lutherstadt — History of the [Luther] House — Geschichte des Hauses|
1n 1507, Luther's father, Hans Luder, purchased the house - now known as the Parents' House [Elternhaus] - and owned it until the time of his death in 1530. Afterwards, ownership was transferred to Hans Luder's son Jacob. In a note dating from 1542, a second dwelling is mentioned. A second house would explain the size of the house and the adjoining farm complex.
The house remained in the family until it was sold in late 1578. In 1807, the central section of the building was demolished in . . . — Map (db m70607) HM|
|Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Wittenberg District), Lutherstadt Wittenberg — 7 — Cranach-Hof|
| Workshop on the Campus
The courtyard complex at Schlossstraße 1 is a place of art, culture and education.
Lucas Cranach the Elder acquired the property in 1518, which was described as the largest within the city walls, for use as his home and workshop. In 1540, he had the whole property renovated according to his own designs. The eastern side wind and the rear building to the south housed his famous painting workshop.
He also operated a pharmacy here. The property passed to Lucas . . . — Map (db m69719) HM|
|Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Wittenberg District), Lutherstadt Wittenberg — 8 — Cranach-Hof|
Workshop on the Campus
The renovation of the Cranach-Hof was continued and completed as part of the International Building Exhibition Urban Redevelopment 2010.
Lucas Cranach the Elder acquired the property in 1512, along with a license to serve wine and the property at Markt 3. Lucas Cranach the Younger was born here in 1515. After selling and then acquiring the property again, Lucas Cranach the Elder leased it to the book printer Melchior Lotter. The building at the front was . . . — Map (db m69893) HM|
|Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Wittenberg District), Lutherstadt Wittenberg — 3 — Jugendherberge|
Youth on the Campus
The renovation of the former deanery and its conversion into a youth hostel is part of the International Building Exhibition Urban Redevelopment 2010 in Lutherstadt Wittenberg.
The deanery was built at the same time as the castle between 1489 and 1525. It was originally connected to the castle church by a six-storey gate tower and was located at the front of the castle. The ground floor housed stables and service room, with living rooms and offices on the floors . . . — Map (db m69846) HM|
|Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Wittenberg District), Lutherstadt Wittenberg — Philipp Melanchthon House|
Hier wohnte, lehrte und starb
Here lived, taught and died
Philipp Melanchthon. — Map (db m69976) HM|
|Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Wittenberg District), Lutherstadt Wittenberg — The Beyer Courty — Der Beyerhof|
In 1512, the Electoral Chancellor and Wittenberg mayor Christian Beyer built a two-story house here. Around the middle of the 16th Century, the summer courtyard garden which can be reached through the arched gate was created. A third story was added to the house in the second half of the 18th Century.
After the destruction of the eastern arcade during the Wars of Liberation against Napoleon around 1814, the southern and eastern wings were erected in their current form.
In a niche of . . . — Map (db m69895) HM|
|Germany, Thuringia, Erfurt — [Haus] zum Schwarzen Horn / The Black Horn|
Fassade 1549 im Renaissance-Stil
Wolfgang Schenck (seit 1499)
Mathis Maler (bis 1536)
Hier wurden Martin Luthers
Schriften und Adam Rieses
Facade built in 1549 in
Print workshop of
Wolfgang Schenck (since 1499)
Mathis Maler (to 1536)
Here were printed Martin Luther's
writings and Adam Ries'
arithmetic books — Map (db m76992) HM|
|Germany, Thuringia, Erfurt — Collegium Maius — 1379 — Old University / Alte Universität Erfurt 1392-1816|
Ehem. grosses kolleg
und sitz des rektors der
alma mater erfordiensis
um 1500 - 1550
Durch bomben zerstört 9.Feb.1945
Former large lecture hall
and seat of the president
around 1500 - 1550
Destroyed by bombs 9 February 1945
Partial reconstruction in 1983 — Map (db m76979) HM|
|Germany, Thuringia, Erfurt — Fish Market 22 / Coffee Mountain House — Fischmarkt 22 / Haus zum Kaffenberg|
1310 Erste schriftliche Erwähnung als „das Anwesen, durch das man zur Synagoge geht” Besitzer ist der Jude Abraham, Sohn des David. Einen Teil des Grundstückes hatte bereits von dieser Zeit die Erfurter jüdische Gemeinde als Zugang zur Synagoge gekauft.
1349 Nach dem Pogrom an den Erfurter Juden eignete sich die Stadt das Anwesen and und erhob in der Folge von den jeweiligen Besitzern eine jährliche Zinsabgabe.
1430 Aus der Zeit nach 1430 stammen die ältesten Hölzer . . . — Map (db m82773) HM|
|Germany, Thuringia, Erfurt — Functional Housing Prototype at Johannes Tower — Funktionsmusterbau am Johannesturm — Erected 1983 - 1985 errichtet|
Musterbau der flächenhaften Stadterneuerung im Rahmen einer differenzierten architektonischen und städtebaulichen Gestaltung im industriellen Wohnungsbau. Auftakt zur Umgestaltung der nördlichen innerstadtbereiche in den letzten Jahren der DDR.
Zu hause in Erfurt
Prototyping of urban renewal area in the context of a differentiated architectural and urban design in industrial housing. Prelude to the transformation of the . . . — Map (db m76960) HM|
|Germany, Thuringia, Erfurt — General Medical Insurance Building (AOK) — Gebäude der Allgemeinen Ortskrankenkasse (AOK)|
Funktionalbau im Stil der Neuen Sachlichkeit
Architekt Theo Kellner
Bildhauer Hans Walther
Built in 1930
Functionally built in the New Objectivity style
Architect Theo Kellner
Sculptor Hans Walther — Map (db m76964) HM|
|Germany, Thuringia, Erfurt — House for the Great Ark of Noah and Engelsburg — Zur Grossen Arche Noah und Engelsburg — Old University / Alte Universität Erfurt 1392-1816|
Um 1392 Wohnhaus des
1565 im Stil der Renaissance
Melchior Sachse seit 1525
Hier wurde Luthers Bibel-
übersetzung und der
Haus zur grossen arche Noah
To 1392 was house of
1565 rebuilt in the
Renaissance . . . — Map (db m76977) HM|
|Germany, Thuringia, Erfurt — Rathaus / City Hall|
1275 Vorgängerbau erstmals erwähnt
1869-82 neogotischer Neubau
mit Gemälden zur Geschichte
Erfurts und Thüringens
Predecessor mentioned in 1275
for the first time
1869-82 neo-Gothic building
with paintings on the history of
Erfurt and Thuringia
Deutsche Stiftung . . . — Map (db m77764) HM|
|Germany, Thuringia, Erfurt — Sparkasse am Fishmarkt / Savings on Fish Market|
Sparkasse am Fischmartk
Bau im Stil der neuen
Reliefgestaltung zum Thema
„Die Laster und die Tugenden”
Bildhauer Hans Walther
Savings on Fish Market [Plaza]
Building in the style of the
Relief designed on the topic
"The Vices and Virtues"
Sculptor Hans Walther — Map (db m77071) HM|
|Germany, Thuringia, Erfurt — Zum Güldenen Krönbacken|
1534 und 1561
im Renaissance - Stil umgebaut
Im Innern gotische Architekur -
Waidheimulerhaus mit großen
Waidspeicher im Hof
1534 and 1561
Renaissance - style remodeled
Interior Gothic architectural elements;
Dyer's House with large
Dye storage building in the yard — Map (db m82806) HM|
|Germany, Thuringia, Erfurt — Zum Roten Ochsen / The Red Ox|
Um 1250 erwähnt
1562 im Hochrenaissance - Stil
wird seit 1978
als Kunstgalerie genutzt
Mentioned around 1250
Re-built 1562 in the High Renaissance - style
used as an art gallery — Map (db m77042) HM|
|Greece, Attica Region (Central Athens Regional Unit), Athens — The Parthenon|
The Parthenon was a temple dedicated to Athena Parthenos (Virgin). It is built in the Doric order and made of white Pentelic marble with a width of 30.86 meters, a length of 69.51 meters and a height of 15 meters. It has an outer colonnade (pteron) of 8 columns on the short and 17 columns on the long sides, as well as an inner colonnade (prostasis) of 6 columns on the short sides. The interior of the temple was divided into the pronaos, the . . . — Map (db m85214) HM|
|Guatemala, Guatemala, Guatemala City — Miltary Academy of Guatemala — La Escuela Politecnica|
A sus fundadores:
General Miguel Garcia Granados
General Justo Rufino Barrios
Comte. Bernardo Garrido y Agustino
1873 1o. de Septiembre 1948
To its founders:
General Miguel Garcia Granados
General Justo Rufino Barrios
Commandant Bernardo Garrido y Agustino
1873 1st of Septiembre 1948 — Map (db m80201) HM|
|Guatemala, Sacatepéquez, Antigua Guatemala — Palace of the Captaincy General — Palacio de los Capitanes Generales|
|Palacio de los Capitanes Generales del Reyno de Goathemala
Durante 231 años esta ciudad fue la metropoli de Centro America
Palace of the Captaincy General of the Kingdom of Goathemala
During 231 years this city was the metropolis of Central America — Map (db m71316) HM|
|Ireland, Connacht (County Galway), Inishmore, Aran Islands — Dún Aonghus|
This, one of the finest prehistoric fortresses in Western Europe, consists of three dry-stone ramparts, and the remains of a fourth, the outermost of which encloses an area of 11 acres.
Outside the second rampart there is a 30 foot band of upright stones forming a defensive band or “chevaux de frise.” Considerable alterations were made in the 19th century when the buttresses in the inside wall were erected.
Tá sé seo ar cheann de na dúnta réamh-stairiúla is breátha in . . . — Map (db m25053) HM|
|Ireland, Connacht (County Mayo), Murrisk — Murrisk Abbey / National Famine Monument / Statue of St Patrick — Clew Bay Archaeological Trail sites 6, 7, 8 — Slí Seandálaíochta Chuan Módh|
Murrisk Abbey • site 6
Muraisc - Sea Marsh
Murrisk Abbey was founded circa 1456 by the Augustinian Friars because “the inhabitants of those parts have not hitherto been instructed in their faith.” It quickly became the preferred starting point for pilgrimages up Croagh Patrick. Before then, pilgrims approached the mountain from AnTóchar Phádraig, which starts in Aughagower.
The ruins consist of an L-shaped building representing the long and narrow . . . — Map (db m27757) HM|
|Ireland, Connacht (County Mayo), Murrisk — Murrisk Friary / Mainistir Mhuraisce|
Murrisk - from Muraisc (Sea-marsh)
This small house of Augustinian friars, located here on the south shore of Clew Bay in the shadow of Croagh Patrick, was founded in 1457 by Hugh O'Malley. It was dedicated to St Patrick, some of whose relics were preserved here.
The only surviving buildings are the small church and the range of domestic buildings which bordered the cloister on its east side - the chapter house below, where the friars met to . . . — Map (db m27587) HM|
|Ireland, Connacht (County Roscommon), Strokestown — Dr. Dudley Forde House|
of town's Georgian
Home of Dr. Dudley Forde
popular medical practitioner
in this area for many years
Died 1945 — Map (db m27557) HM|
|Ireland, Connacht (County Roscommon), Strokestown — Mahon Dower House|
Mahon Dower House
in 1740's later used as
Scoil Mhuire Secondary
School until 1967 — Map (db m27538) HM|
|Ireland, Connacht (County Roscommon), Strokestown — Strokestown Brewery|
Brewery here in
early 18th century — Map (db m27548) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — Castle Hall — Halla an Chaisleáin|
| Castle Hall
The causeway entrance to the 13th century Dublin Castle lies under this building on the North/South axis. The Bedford Tower was built on the medieval entrance towers. This building, comprising of the former Genealogical Office and Guard House, together with their extension, on the site of the former La Touche Bank, has been renamed Castle Hall.
Halla an Chaisleáin
Tá an cabhsa go dti Calsleán 13ú haois Bhaile Atha Cliath suite faoin bhfoirgneamh seo ar an als . . . — Map (db m22435) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — Leinster House — Malton Trail|
| Since 1924, Leinster House has been the seat of the two houses of the Oireachtas, Dail and Seanad (Irish Parliament and Senate), who meet here a total of 90 days a year.
Designed in 1745 by the architect Richard Cassels, who also designed the Lying-In Hospital off Parnell Square, it was built as a town residence for the duke of Leinster on what was then known as Molesworth Fields, adding a character to the area that has remained to this day.
This view is one of many superb quality . . . — Map (db m22459) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — Oscar Wilde House|
1854 - 1900
Poet, Dramatist, Wit
1855 to 1878 — Map (db m24754) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — Saint Patrick’s Park — Páirc Naomh Pádraig|
| Tradition has it that Saint Patrick baptised the first Irish Christians in a well, situated here in St. Patrick's Park, with water from the River Poddle, which still flows underground. A small wooden church was erected here to commemorate the event. The parish church on this site was known as Saint Patrick's in Insula (on the island) because it was located on an island between two branches of the River Poddle. In 1191 John Comyn, the first Anglo-Norman Archbishop of Dublin, gave the church the . . . — Map (db m22468) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — Sir William Robert Wills Wilde — 1815 - 1876|
| aural and ophthalmic surgeon, archaeologist, ethnologist, antiquarian, biographer, statistician, naturalist, topographer, historian, folklorist, lived in this house from 1855 to 1876 — Map (db m24755) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — St. Patrick's Cathedral — Malton Trail|
| This majestic view of St. Patrick's Cathedral, Dublin is a colour reproduction from a series of original aquatints etched by James Malton, whose work, A Picturesque and Descriptive View of the City of Dublin, gives us a glimpse of Dublin at the close of the 18th-century.
Malton was “struck with admiration at the beauty of the capital of Ireland and was anxious to make a display of it to the world”.
It is here that St. Patrick was said to have baptised converts to Christianity . . . — Map (db m22465) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Fingal), Howth — Balscadden House|
| W. B. Yeats
Lived Here • 1880-1883
“I have spread my dreams under your feet;
Tread softly because you tread on my dreams” — Map (db m24771) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Fingal), Howth — St Mary's Church / Eaglais Mhuire|
| Howth from Old Norse Hofuth (a promontory);
Binn Éadair (the hill of Éadar) is the Irish name.
This church, dedicated to the Blessed Virgin Mary, was collegiate; that is, it was served by a college or community of clerics, one of whom had responsibility for liturgy within the church as well as for matters of business. The house where the community lived stands to the south of the church.
The earliest church here was built by Sitric, King of Dublin, in 1042. It . . . — Map (db m27183) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Laois), Borris In Ossory — Millenium Fountain|
| The threshold and other rough stone
was salvaged from one of the last
thatched houses in the village.
It was demolished in the year 2000. — Map (db m24721) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Longford), Kenagh — fáilte go Kenagh|
| Brief History of Longford
Longford is a focal point of the northern midlands where the provinces of Leinster, Ulster and Connaught all converge. Longford, where history and literature, tradegy and triumph are all woven together, takes its name from the ancient stronghold of the O'Farrell family (Long Fort - Fort of the O'Farrells) who ruled from the 11th Century. Bordered to the west by the majestic River Shannon, Longford is a county of rolling plains and picturesque stretches of water. . . . — Map (db m27946) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Louth), Monasterboice — 98 — Round Tower / An Cloigtheach|
| Round Tower
The round tower was the Irish reaction to the Norse raids on monasteries in the 10th/11th century A.D. These tapering buildings, over 100 feet high, served as watch-towers, belfries, repositories for church valuables and as refuges for the community. The door, normally 15-20 feet above ground was reached by a movable ladder and the interior was divided into four or more storeys.
The present height of the tower is 110 feet. The level of the surroundings has been raised by . . . — Map (db m24693) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Louth), Monasterboice — 98 — The North Church / An Teampall Thuaidh|
| A 13th century reconstruction on the foundations of an earlier monastic building, used as a small parochial church after the monastery at Monasterboice had come to an end. It remains little of architectural interest. The east windows and most of that gable have disappeared.
Hatógadh an teampall seo ar fhothaí sean-mhainistreach, agus húsáideadh mar theampall paróiste é tar éis an mhainistir dul i léig. — Map (db m24694) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Meath), Bective — Bective Abbey / Mainistir Bheigtí|
| Bective Abbey — from Mainistir Bheigthí (Abbey of Beigtheach)
This Cistercian abbey was founded in 1147 as a “daughter house” of Mellifont Abbey.
The community here was Anglo-Norman. In 1386 men of Irish birth were effectively barred from entering the monastery. The cloister (a covered walkway for contemplation and prayer) and the domestic buildings where the monks lived and worked, were rebuilt on a smaller scale in the 15th century. Two sections of this . . . — Map (db m24752) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Meath), Donaghmore — Donaghmore Church and Round Tower — Domhnach Mór agus Cloightheach|
| Donaghmore Church and Round Tower
A monastery was reputedly founded here in the 5th century by St Patrick, who placed it in the care of St Cassán, whose relics were venerated here. The Round Tower was not built until the 11th or 12th century. It is well-preserved, but its upper part was badly restored in 1841 - the four windows which normally face North, South, East and West from the top of Round Towers are not found here, and the stone at the top of its roof is missing. . . . — Map (db m22542) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Meath), Duleek — Connell's House — Duleek Heritage Trail|
| Close to the Courthouse along the western perimeter of the village green is Connell's House, the oldest house in Duleek. This building was in existence at the time of the famous Battle of the Boyne in 1690. — Map (db m24793) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Meath), Duleek — Duleek Courthouse — Duleek Heritage Trail|
| Duleek Courthouse was built in 1838 by John Trotter as a sessions house for the Meath Grand Jury. It was designed by Francis Johnston. The main architectural features are the Doric door-case and fanlight, a simplified eaves pediment and corner quoins. The building was used as a courthouse until 1960 when it was converted to a library and environmental offices. Its best-known magistrate was Judge Stephen Trotter who was responsible for the erection of Duleek House. — Map (db m24803) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Meath), Duleek — Parochial House — Duleek Heritage Trail|
| The original house was built in 1795. It was built in three stages and was acquired by Fr John Kearney to accommodate the parish priest and the curate. It was re-roofed in 1993 and presides over the very elegant village green.
At the back of the house are substantial stables and other outoffices which in earlier times were used for parish animals. These were built in 1898 and in more recent times have been refurbished as meeting rooms for parish groups and community activity. — Map (db m24801) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Meath), Kells — Kells Courthouse|
| The courthouse, built in 1801, was designed by the prominent Irish architect Francis Johnston. Johnston also designed the General Post Office and Nelson's Pillar in Dublin, and Townley Hall, County Louth.
A Vantage Point to the Past
Several important landmarks of Kells recent history can be seen from this vantage point in front of the courthouse. Located to the west of the courthouse we find Headfort Place - a wide, tree-lined avenue of Georgian houses - the Headfort estate agent's . . . — Map (db m27340) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Meath), Kells — Kells Round Tower — Kells Heritage Trail|
| This tower is located on the grounds of St Columba's church and was built in the 10th century as part of the early Christian monastery. Such towers were referred to as a cloigteach meaning bell tower. Modelled on early Italian belfries, they were used as lookout towers and as places of refuge during attack, particularly from Norse invaders.
The tower is ninety feet high from the original street level to the base of its roof and has six floors but no internal staircase. Access to the upper . . . — Map (db m26440) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Meath), Kells — St Columba's Church — Kells Heritage Trail|
| Diarmuld MacCarroll, High King of Tara, is said to have granted the dun of Cenannus to St Columcille in the 6th century for the purpose of establishing a monastery. This may explain why in 804 the Columban community on the island of Iona (Hebrides), then the principal Columban monastery, moved to Kells to escape the reaches of Norse raiding parties. St Columba's church stands on the site of the original Columban monastery. It became a cathedral church 1152 when the diocese of Kells was . . . — Map (db m26444) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Meath), Trim — Newtowntrim Cathedral / Ardeaglais an Bhaile Nua — Cathedral of Saints Peter and Paul — Ardeaglais nPheadair agus nPhóil|
| The priory of Newtowntrim was founded in 1202 by Simon de Rochfort, Bishop of Meath, for a community of Augustinian canons (priests). As well as functioning as part of the monastery, the church became the cathedral for the diocese of Meath after Simon petitioned the Pope to transfer his cathedral from Clonard to this site, where it could be protected by the great Norman castle at Trim.
The Cathedral of Saints Peter and Paul was one of the largest and most sophisticated churches built in . . . — Map (db m27240) HM|
|Ireland, Munster (County Clare), Kilfenora — Historic Kilfenora / Cill Fhionnúrach Stairiúil|
| Historic Kilfenora
The monastery of Kilfenora or Chill Fhionnúrach (the church of the white brow) is said to have been founded in the 6th century by St. Fachnan. The outline of the early monastic circular enclosure can still be traced in the curve of the roads to the south and west of the cathedral.
The early history of the site is obscure, with the first historical reference occurring in 1055 when the stone church at the site was burned. The material remains, in particular the group . . . — Map (db m23694) HM|
|Ireland, Munster (County Clare), Kilfenora — Kilfenora Cathedral and High Crosses — Ardeaglais agus Ardchrosanna Chill Fhionnúrach|
| Kilfenora was the diocese of the Kingdom of Corcomroe and was the smallest diocese in medieval Ireland.
Although a monastery was founded here more than 500 years earlier by St Fachtna, Kilfenora only became significant when it was officially recognised as a diocese (a district with its own bishop) in 1152. Because it was a diocese, the church at Kilfenora was called a cathedral. The chancel (the site of the altar at the east end of the church) is now roofless, but . . . — Map (db m22990) HM|
|Ireland, Munster (County Kerry), Fahan — Dunbeg Promontory Fort / An Dún Beag|
| Dunbeg Promontory Fort
This Promontory Fort consists of four fosses (ditches) and five mounds. Behind this we have the terraced dry-stone masonry rampart, originally straight but which became curved during later construction work. The entrance is roofed and flanked by two guardrooms. The inner part of the wall is the older, the outer portion being added later to strengthen it. Inside the Fort are the remains of a large Clochaun, internally square on plan. There is a water drain around . . . — Map (db m24780) HM|
|Ireland, Munster (County Kerry), Gallarus — Gallarus Oratory / Séipéilín Ghallarais|
| Built around the 7th or 8th century this Oratory resembles an inverted boat. This is the only perfect remaining example of a number of small corbel-built Oratories on a rectangular plan. The outward inclination of the bed joints of the stonework directs the rain to the outside. There are two openings, the western doorway and the eastern window. The doorway has a double lintel, above which project two stones each pierced with a round hole; these may have served for the attachment of a door. The . . . — Map (db m23499) HM|
|Ireland, Munster (County Kerry), Kilmalkedar — Kilmalkedar Church / Cill Mhaoilchéadair|
| Kilmalkedar — from Cill Mhaoilchéadair (the Church of Mhaoilchéadair)
Kilmalkedar, one of the most important early church sites on the Dingle peninsula, is traditionally associated with St. Brendan but it was probably founded by St. Maolcethair who died in 636.
The present church, built in the middle of the 12th century, is a fine example of Irish Romanesque architecture. This style was introduced from England and the continent in the early . . . — Map (db m24299) HM|
|Ireland, Munster (County Kerry), Listowel — Maid of Erin|
| Work of local man
1846-1921 — Map (db m23698) HM|
|Ireland, Munster (County Limerick), Abbeyfeale — Thatched Chapel Cross|
from thatched chapel
where many generations
of Abbeyfeale people
worshipped until St. Mary's
Church was built in 1846 — Map (db m24738) HM|
|Israel, Jerusalem District, Jerusalem — Double Gate Monumental Stairs and Observation Plaza|
|The Restoration Project
of the Second Temple Period
Double Gate Monumental Stairs
and Observation Plaza — Map (db m63963) HM|
|Israel, Jerusalem District, Jerusalem — Ritual Baths and Water Conduits|
|The Restoration Project of the Second Temple period
Ritual Baths and Water Conduits
in the area south of the Temple Mount Enclosure — Map (db m63951) HM|
|Israel, Jerusalem District, Jerusalem — The Pool of Shiloah (Siloam) — Second Temple Splendor|
|"The other events of Hezekiah's reign, and all his exploits, and all his exploits, and how he made the pool and the conduit and brought the water into the city, are recorded in the Annals of the Kings of Judah" (II Kings 20:20)
Remains from the pool that King Hezekiah built in the First temple period have yet to be found. However, in the summer of 2004 remains of a very large pool (covering an area of three dunams, or three-quarters of an acre) from the Second Temple . . . — Map (db m63905) HM|
|Italy, Campania (Naples Province), Pompei — Teatro Grande e Quadriportico/ — Great Theatre and Quadriporticus — Pompeiviva|
| Il Teatro Grande fu costruito nel II secolo II a.C., addossando la struttura ad una collina lavica e ristrutturato in epoca augustea. La cavea costituita da gradini in tufo o calcare, ospitava circa 5000 persone in tre zone separate da corridoi anulari: l’inferiore (ima cavea), l’intermia (media cavea) e la superior (suma cavea). Alle estremita della gradinata vi erano I palchi d’onore, I tribunalia; al centro l’orchestra e alle spalle il proskenion (podio del palcoscenico) con sullo sfondo . . . — Map (db m47980) HM|
|Italy, Lazio (Rome Province), Rome — Anfiteatro Flavio/The Flavian Amphitheatre|
| L’Anfiteatro Flavio, grande edificio pubblico destinato a spettacoli di enorme popolarita, quali le cacce e I combattimenti gladiatori, fu edificato, in luogo del lago atificiale dela Domus Aurea neronicana, dagli imperatori della dinastia Flavia. Il nome originale, Amphitheatrum o Amphitheatrum magnum, fu sostituito nell’Alto Medioevo da Colysaeum, probabilmente per la contiguita co il celeberrimo Colosso eretto da Nerone.
La costruzione dell’Anfiteatro inizio ne 72 d.C. e fu . . . — Map (db m47676) HM|
|Italy, Lazio (Rome Province), Rome — Hotel Tiziano|
The building hosting the Hotel Tiziano was reconstructed in Corso Vittorio Emanuele II between the years 1886 and 1888 by an architect native of the Ticino region but Roman of birth and culture, Gaetano Koch (1849-1910). The elegant building was once property of the marchese Francesco Lavaggi of the noble Sicilian family, subsequently related with the Pacelli, to whom it belonged during the 19th century reconstruction. The palazzetto overlooks Corso Vittorio Emanuele, i.e. the main . . . — Map (db m89063) HM
|Italy, Lazio (Rome Province), Rome — St. Regis Grand — Architetto: Guilio Podesti (1857 - 1909)|
The Grand Hotel of Rome has recently been bought and refurbished by a multinational company which has named it the St. Regis Grand. Conceived by the renowned hotelier César Ritz at the suggestion of the then Italian Prime Minister, Marquis Rudinì, the Hotel was built in 1890 in the area bordered by the central Termini Station, Via XX Settembre and Piazza Esedra (now Piazza della Repubblica), in a[n] area of prime importance for urban planning. Here many different transport routes . . . — Map (db m85951) HM
|Italy, South Tyrol, Bolzano — Residence of the Troilo Family — Residenza Troilo — Troyburg|
|The text of this marker is in three languages; Italian (top), German (middle) and English (bottom).
Edificio di impianto tardo-medievale amplliato nel tardo Cinquecento, originaria dimora dell’omonima famiglia di mercanti roveretani.
Conserva in facciata decorazioni sovrapposte dei secoli XV, XVII e XVIII.
Ansitz de Kaufmannsfamilie Troilo aus Rovereto.
Spätmittelalterliches, gegen Ende des 16. Jh. erweitertes Gebäude.
An der Fassade mehrere Schichten mit Malereien aus . . . — Map (db m68725) HM|
|Mexico, Chihuahua, Puerto Palomas de Villa — City Hall|
Siendo Gobernador Del Estado El
C.C.P. Patricio Martinez Garcia
Y Presidente Municipal El
C. Fernando Castañeda Barraza
Fue Construido e Inaugurado
H. Ayuntamiento 2001-2004
Puerto Palomas De Villa
Mpio. de Ascension Chih.
Being Governor of the state
C. C. P. Patricio Martínez García
and Municipal President
C. Fernando Casteñeda Barraza
built and . . . — Map (db m37822) HM|
|Mexico, Chihuahua, Puerto Palomas de Villa — Presidency Building|
| . . . — Map (db m37823) HM|
|Mexico, Distrito Federal, Ciudad de Mexico — Hernán Cortés´ Residences — Casas de Cortés|
| Desde esta esquina hasta las del Empedradillo y Plateros estuvieron las casas de Cortes 1524 Catálogo de la Insp. Gral. de Monumentos Artísticos e Históricos English translation: Cortés had houses that reached from this corner to the streets of Empedradillo and Plateros in 1524 — Map (db m90823) HM|
|Mexico, Distrito Federal, Ciudad de Mexico — Palace of Axayacatl — Palacio de Axayácatl|
| Aqui estuvo el palacio de
Axayacatl en donde fué alojado Cortés a su llegada 1519 Catálogo de la Insp. Gral. de Monumentos Artísticos e Históricos English translation: Here was the Palace of Axayácatl where Cortés stayed after his arrival in 1519 — Map (db m90245) HM|
|Mexico, Distrito Federal, Ciudad de Mexico — The Dolphin House/House of the Marquess of Sierra Nevada — La Casa del los Delfines/La Casa de la Marquesa de Sierra Nevada|
| La Casa del los Delfines Fue el antiguo rancho de las Palmas. Data del siglo XVIII. Su fachada está adornada con delfines hechos de piedra y otros ornamentos tallados. La Casa de la Marquesa de Sierra Nevada Casa de una planta de estilo barroco con reminiscencia mudéjar. Una de sus ventanas está enmarcada por ajaracas en sus laterales, y rematada con un frontón mixtílineo con roleos en los extremos, nicho al centro y escultura. English translation: The Dolphin House This was the old . . . — Map (db m91154) HM|
|Mexico, Distrito Federal, Ciudad de Mexico — The Military College of Mexico — Colegio Militar de Mexico|
| En este edificio se alojo el Colegio Militar de 1845 ∙ 1847, 1849 ∙ 1858, 1861 ∙ 1863 y de 1883 ∙ 1914. 1920 ∙ 1970 Cincuentenario de su reapertura 5 de febrero de 1970 English translation: In this building was housed the Military College from 1845 - 1847, 1849 - 1858, 1861 - 1863 and from 1883 - 1914. 1920 - 1970 50th Anniversary of its reopening February 5, 1970 — Map (db m92029) HM|
|Netherland Antilles, Sint Maarten, Philipsburg — The Old Police Station — Historic Sint Maarten Remembered|
|Until it was demolished in 1937, this warehouse building, bearing a remarkable resemblance to a modern-day army barracks, was a home to the Island police force. Police officers stationed on St. Maarten were trained and recruited on the sister island of Curacao.
A tidy allowance had to be paid to reluctant officers as an inducement to accept a post on the desolate island of St. Maarten. The old Police Station was a stone's throw from St. Maarten's most popular (still up to present day) and most . . . — Map (db m40644) HM|
|Netherlands Antilles, Sint Maarten, Philipsburg — Frontstreet Merchants — Home and Business — Historic Sint Maarten Remembered|
|The deep roof structures combined with a wood shingle exterior on these buildings typify many of the beautiful and historic homes found in the quaint town of Philipsburg at the turn of the century. Buildings such as these doubled as homes and stores for St. Maarten's well to do merchants.
One by one these masterpieces of bygone architecture were torn down to make way for more modern multistore structures to meet the growing demand for space in the heart of town. New zoning laws introduced . . . — Map (db m40498) HM|
|Philippines, Cavite Province, Corregidor Island — Corregidor Lighthouse|
| Corregidor Lighthouse is a functioning historic lighthouse located 6,972 miles west-southwest of San Francisco, 3,044 miles north-northeast of Sydney, Australia, 692 miles south of Hong Kong and 628 feet above sea level, on the topside of Corregidor Island, Philippines.
Delight in the breathtaking view of the Manila Bay, the South China Sea, Bataan and a bird’s eye-view of the island from atop the lighthouse.
The tower is 14.5 m (48 ft.) high. It consists of an octagonal whitewashed . . . — Map (db m64518) HM|
|Philippines, Manila, Binondo — Ang Tahanan ng Kaanak ni Rizal 1903 Daang San Fernando, Maynila — House of Rizal's Relatives — 1903 San Fernando Street, Manila|
In Tagalog: Si Teodora Alonzo, ina in Rizal, ay namatay noong ika-16 ng Agosto ng 1911 sa isang bahay na nakatayo sa pook na ito (ngayo'y blg, 476-478) at ari ni Gng. Luisa Lichauco.
Translated, the marker reads:
Teodora Alonzo, mother of Rizal died in August 16, 1911 in a house that stands here, which is now building 476-478, owned by Mrs. Luisa Lichauco. — Map (db m25025) HM|
|Philippines, Manila, Ermita — Grand Lodge of Free and Accepted Masons of the Philippines — Plaridel Masonic Temple|
Nagunguna, Independiente at Pambansang Institusyong Masoniko. Itinatag ng tatlong Lohiyang Amerikano sa pahintulot ng Grand Lodge of California ng Estados Unidos ng Amerika, sa kumbensyon sa templo ng masoniko, San Luis (ngayon T.M. Kalaw) Maynila noong Disymebre 19, 1912. Unang punong maestro si Eugene Stafford, kinilala ng 77 Gran Lohiya ng Estados Unidos, Inglatera, Ireland at Scotland, 1917. Sa pagkakaisa ng mga mason, pinagsanib sa pamamagitan ng pagsapi ng Regional . . . — Map (db m25096) HM|
|Philippines, Manila, Ermita — Manila Metropolitan Theater|
|In Tagalog: Nagsimula bilang isang pambansang tanghalan ayon sa disenyo ni arkitekto Juan Arellano. Pinasinayaan noong 1931. Naging tanghalan ng mga artistanf Pilipino at banyaga. Nagpalabas ng mga opera, pageant, at dulang Kastila at Ingles na isinalin sa Tagalog para sa mga Pilipino noong Ikalawang digmaang pandaigdig. Nasira nang bahagya, noong 1945. Ang gumuhong gusali ay naging tirahan ng mga squatter at pingalanang Besa boxing Arena. Ibinalik sa dating maringal na anyo noong 1978 . . . — Map (db m25090) HM|
|Philippines, Manila, Intramuros — Ateneo de Manila|
|Here once stood the Ateneo de Manila. Founded in 1817 as Escuela Pia de Manila. Administered by government in 1831 and renamed Escuela Municipak de Manila. Turned over to the Jesuits in 1859. Renamed Ateneo Municipak de Manila in 1865. Exclusive ownership given to Jesuits in 1901. Named shortened to Ateneo de Manila. Gutted by fire in 1932. Grade school rebuilt in Intramuros while rest of the campus moved to Ermita, Manila. Destroyed during World War II. Moved to Loyola Heights, Quezon City in 1952. — Map (db m25162) HM|
|Philippines, Manila, Intramuros — Ayuntamiento — Casa Consistoriales|
Ipinatayong tahanang ng Cabildo at iba pang pinuno ng pamahalaan ng Lungsod ng Maynila. Inilagay ang panulukang bato, 1735 natapos, 1738. Nasira ng lindol 1863; muling ipinatayo, 1879. Naging luklukan ng Pamahalaang kolonyal na Kastila at Amerikano at unang Asamblea ng Pilipinas. Sa Salón de Mármol ng gusaling ito pinasinayaan si Sergio Osmena bilang ispiker noong Oktubre 16, 1907, katungkulang kanyang hinawakaan hanggang 1922. Nasira nang bombahin ng hukbong Hapon at . . . — Map (db m25157) HM|
|Philippines, Manila, Intramuros — Beaterio de la Compañia de Jesus|
|On this site stood the house of the Beaterio de la Compañia de Jesus, first Filipino congregation of religous women. Founded in 1684 by Ignacia del Espiritu Santo, a Chinese mestiza from Binondo. The Archbishop of Manila approved the rules of the order in 1732. Granted royal protection in 1755 and pontifical status in 1931. Destroyed during the Battle of Manila in 1945. Known as the Religious of the Virgin Mary (RVM) since 1948, the group moved to Sampaloc, Manila after the war then Quezon City in 1950. — Map (db m25230) HM|
|Philippines, Manila, Intramuros — Former Palace of the Governors General — Palacio del Gobernador|
|This site was formerly occupied by the stately residence of Captain Manuel Estacio Venegas, Secretary to Governor General Diego Fajardo. Venegas died on March 7, 1660, a prisoner at Fort Santiago. His residence was confiscated and became the Palace of the Governors of the Philippine Islands until its destruction by the earthquake of June 3, 1863. These foundations, intended for the new Gubernatorial palace, were abandoned when it was decided to make Malacanang the permament residence of the Governors General. — Map (db m25155) HM|
|Philippines, Manila, Intramuros — Manila Cathedral — Roman Catholic Cathedral of Manila|
|First cathedral built in 1581. Damaged by a typhoon, 1582 and destroyed by fire, 1583. Second Cathedral built of stone in 1592 and partially destroyed by earthquake, 1600. Third Cathedral built in 1614 and destroyed by the earthquake of 1645. Fourth Cathedral magnificently built in 1654-1671 by Archbishop Miguel Poblete and destroyed by the earthquake of 3 June 1863. Fifth Cathedral built in 1870-1879 under architects Luciano Oliver, Vicente Serrano Salaverria and Educardo Lopez Navarro and . . . — Map (db m25153) HM|
|Philippines, Manila, Intramuros — Palacio Arzobispal|
|Here once stood the Archbishop's Palace. Acquired by Archbishop Miguel de Poblete (1653-1667) for use as residence. Housed the offices of the Archbishop of Manila and the Catholic Church in the Philippines. Underwent major repairs after damage from earthquakes. Destroyed in 1944. Present building constructed in the 1980's for the offices of the Arzobispado de Manila (Archdiocese of Manila). — Map (db m25160) HM|
|Russia, Northwestern Federal District (Leningrad Oblast), St. Petersburg — Church of the Resurrection of Christ — "Church of Our Savior on the Blood"|
| [Text in Russian] …
Text in English: The Church of the Resurrection of Christ is built on the site where the Emperor Alexander II was mortally wounded on 1 March 1881, to the eternal memory of the Tsar Liberator, with the blessed contributions of the imperial family and all the Russian people. The first stone of the church was laid on 6 October 1883.
[Text in German] … — Map (db m56755) HM|
|Saint Lucia, Castries — Government House Saint Lucia|
| Official Residence of the Governor-General Designed by Mr. C. Messervy Colonial Engineer Foundation stone laid October 15, 1894 Smaller marker: This plaque was unveiled by HRH The Duke of York KCVO, ADC on the 22nd February 2004 in commemoration of the 25th Anniversary of Independence — Map (db m94171) HM|
|South Africa, Eastern Cape, Grahamstown — The Yellow House|
|The erection of this building - the oldest in this town, was commenced in 1813 or 1814. It served as a gaol until 1824. Later it became the Grahamstown Public School, and subsequently the first public library (1842 - 1863). The north wall was taken as the line of the High Street when the town was laid out in 1814. — Map (db m62649) HM|
|Switzerland, Lucerne (Lucerne (District)) — "By the Storks" — Zum Storchen|
|Erbaut in der ersten Hälfte des 16. Jahrhanderts als Wirthaus << St. Anna >>. Mehrmals ungebaut.
Aus dem 16. Jahrhundert ist im ersten Obergeschoss die ehemalige Gaststube mit gotishcher Balkendecke un Relieftafel erhalten.
Fasssadenmalerei 1985 von Eva Pauli
1984 – 1985 teilweise neuerbaut und restauriert.
"By the Storks"
Built in the first half of the 16th Century as the "St. Anna" inn. Rebuilt several times rebuilt.
On the first . . . — Map (db m67537) HM|
|Switzerland, Lucerne (Lucerne (District)) — Louis Pfyffer von Wyher|
| . . . — Map (db m67767) HM|
|Switzerland, Lucerne (Lucerne (District)) — Metzgerrainli 6|
|Bürgerhaus aus dem 16. Jahrhundert. Im Innern Fresken aus der Entstehungszeit. Fassadenmalerei in Sgraffitotechnik 1885, von Seraphin Weingartner, teilweise Neugestaltung 1973 durch Steivan Könz.
Unter Denkmalschutz seit 1968
1973 -1975 restauriert und im Innern umgebaut.
Mansion from the 16th Century. Inside, frescoes from the same time. Sgraffito facade painting in 1885 by Seraphin Weingartner, partially redesigned in 1973 by Steivan Könz.
A . . . — Map (db m67499) HM|
|Switzerland, Lucerne (Lucerne (District)) — Pfyffer-Cloos-House — Pfyffer-Cloos-Haus|
|Erbaut um die Mitte des 16. Jahrhunderts fur Schultheiss Jost Pfyffer-Cloos. Auf der Rückseite spätgotischer Treppenturm und kleiner ummauerter Hof.
Im Innern des Hauses Fresken, wohl von Martin Moser, aus der Mitte des 16. Jahrhunderts.
Fassadenmalerei um 1720.
Im Erdgeschoss des Hinterhauses ein gotischer Saal. Von seinem reichen Bilderschmuck sind drei Holztafeln mit biblischen Szenen, gemalt 1557 von Martin Moser, erhalten (heute im Kunstmuseum).
Unter Denkmalschutz seit 1964. . . . — Map (db m67514) HM|
|Switzerland, Lucerne (Lucerne (District)) — Ritter Palace — Ritterscher Palast|
|Als Wohnsitz für Schultheiss Lux Ritter von Domenico Solbiolo aus Ponte Caprisca entworfen und unter der Leitung von Pietro del Grilio aus Lugano 1556 – 1564 erbaut. Nach dem Tode Ritters sorgte der Rat für die Vollendung des Renaissancebaus und übergab ihn 1577 den Jesuiten als Wohnung, die 1695 den westlichen und 1756 – 1757 den östlichen Kollegiumstrakt bis zur Kirche anfügten.
Nach Aufhebung der Jesuitenniederlassung 1773 Professorenkonvikt, seit 1804 Regierungsgebäude. 1841 . . . — Map (db m67733) HM|
|Switzerland, Lucerne (Lucerne (District)) — Stammhaus Corragioni D’Orelli|
v. Broglio Maggiatal
Letzter Stammhalter † 1944
Family Headquarters of the
from Broglio, Maggiatal
Granted citizenship in 1669
Last heir died in 1944 — Map (db m67501) HM|
|Switzerland, Lucerne (Lucerne (District)) — The Old Armory — Altes Zeughaus — (Seit 1986 Historisches Museum / Historical Museum since 1986)|
|Das Werkhaus an der Spreuerbrücke diente seit 1472 als Zeughaus. Diesen ein Kornmagazin eingerichtet war. 1566 wurde das Haus weggeschwemmt. 1567 – 1569 entstand das heutige Gebäude als Zeughaus, in der Art typischer, spätgotischer Magazinbauten.
Unter Denkmalschutz seit 1963
Restauriert 1977 – 1978
1547 entstand der Zeughausbrunnen. Das heutige Brunnenbecken datiert von 1739, die Säule und Wildmannfigur (in Kopie erneuert) von 1678.
German-English translation: . . . — Map (db m67747) HM|
|Switzerland, Lucerne (Lucerne (District)) — The Pfyffer Student House — Pfyffersches Stipendihaus|
|Erbaut 1579 für Rudolf Pfyffer. 1584 uberlassen die Brüder Rudolf, Ludwig und Jost Pryffer das Haus de Jesuiten zur Unterbringung von Studierenden des nahen Jesuitengymnasiums.
Das Haus blieb bis 1811 im Besitze der Familie Pfyffer.
1824 teilweise Umgestaltung im Innern.
Unter Denkmalschutz seit 1980
Restauriert 1977 - 1978
Built in 1579 for Rudolf Pfyffer. In 1584 the brothers Rudolf, Ludwig and Jost de Pryffer let . . . — Map (db m67744) HM|
|Switzerland, Lucerne (Lucerne (District)) — The Singer House — Singerhaus|
|Im 15. Jahrhundert Standort der ersten luzernischen Münzstatte.
Architekt Jakob Singer baute sich um 1759 dieses Haus als Voraussetzung zur Erlangung des städtischen Burgerrechtes.
Die für die Innerschweiz bedeutende Baumeisterfamilie Singer, Architekten zahlreicher Sakral- und Profanbauten, behielt es bis 1849 in ihrem Besitz.
1897 wurde das Haus von drei auf funf Geschosse erhöht.
In the 15th century this was the location of . . . — Map (db m67743) HM|
|Switzerland, Lucerne (Lucerne (District)) — The Sonnenberg House in Zoepfli — Sonnenberghaus im Zöpfli|
Sonnenberghaus im Zöpfli
Schon in der Diebold-Schilling-Chronik von 1513 erscheint an dieser Stelle ein hölzernes Wohnhaus. Dieses wurde 1662 neuerbaut.
1787 erwarb Marschall Jakob Anton Thüring von Sonnenberg Haus und Liegenschaft für seinen Sohn Alfons, der es noch im gleichen Jahr neu erstellen liess.
Fassadenmalerei, Doppelportal und im Innern Wandtapeten, Taefer und Kachelöfen aus der Bauzeit.
Unter Denkmalschutz seit 1968
1978 umfassend restauriert
German-English . . . — Map (db m67498) HM|
|Switzerland, Lucerne (Lucerne (District)) — The Von Sonnenberg House — Von Sonnenberghaus — (Heute Korporationsgebäude / Now a Municipal Building)|
|Ehemaliger Patriziersitz der Familie Sonnenberg. 1670 bis 1673 von Heinrich von Sonnenberg, Hauptmann in französischen Diensten anstelle zweier älterer Häuser erbaut.
Im Innern reiche Ausstattung aus der Bauzeit: getäferte Zimmer mit Kassettendecken, stuchiertes Kabinett und Festsaal mit mehrfarbigem Marmorplattenboden.
Das Äussere wurde 1842 umgestaltet und 1895 mit dekorativen Stukkaturen bereichert.
1839 ging das Haus an die Korporationsgemeinde über.
Unter Denkmalschutz seit . . . — Map (db m67746) HM|
|Switzerland, Lucerne (Lucerne (District)) — Von Laufenhaus|
|Erbaut 1557 nach Abbruch zweier vorgelagerter Häuser. 1887 – 1888 mit dem südlichen Nachbarhaus vereinigt.
Neugotische Platzfront mit Neurenaissance-Malereien von Louis Weingartner und Albert Benz, 1891.
Unter dem Erker Renaissance kapitell um 1520.
Unter Denkmalschutz seit 1981.
Restauriert 1978 – 1979.
Built in 1557 after the demolition of two houses on the same site. In 1887-1888 the building incorporated the neighboring house . . . — Map (db m67749) HM|