|Australia, New South Wales, Lithgow — The Great Zig Zag — Lithgow|
|A railway zig zag is a series of reversing ramps used to avoid very steep grades. John Whitton, Engineer in Chief NSW Government Railways 1856-90, chose this as the economical method for the descent from Clarence to Lithgow. Built during 1866-69 by contractor Patrick Higgins, it involved massive rock excavations, a tunnel and three stone arch viaducts. During its 41 years of operation it accelerated the development of western New South Wales and achieved world renown as a major engineering work. — Map (db m59808) HM|
|Australia, New South Wales (Claredon), Gundagai — Prince Alfred Bridge Viaduct — Gundagai Town of Historic Bridges|
|The old town of Gungafai was built on the flats where these bridges now cross. The town was first gazetted and surveyed in 1838. The town flooded about 1 metre in 1844 and 1851.
On the 25th June 1852 the old town was destroyed by a flood 4 to 5 metres deep across the flats. There were 78 recorded deaths. This was Australia’s worst natural disaster. An even greater flood followed in 1853. There after the present town site was developed.
Prince Alfred was Queen Victoria’s second son. . . . — Map (db m71067) HM|
|Austria, Tyrol, Innsbruck — The Inn River Bridge — Innbrücke|
Benannt nach der 1180 erstmals urkundlich erwähnten Brücke über den Inn, die der Stadt auch ihren Namen gab und sich im Stadtwappen wieder findet.
The Inn River Bridge
Named after the first bridge across the River Inn, first mentioned in 1180, which also gave its name to the city. It also is part of the town coat-of-arms. — Map (db m68148) HM|
|New Brunswick (Charlotte County), Welshpool — Mulholland Point / La Pointe Mulholland|
Built in 1885, the Mulholland Point Lighthouse (photo 1) served as a guide for the many small coasters and freighters taking the shorter and more foul weather-protected route through the Lubec Narrows. Steamships, such as the Penobscot (photo 2), sailing between Boston, Portland, and Eastport in the 1890s could only travel through the Narrows when the tide was high. Otherwise, they had to steam around the eastern side of Campobello.
The first automobiles brought to the island . . . — Map (db m63593) HM|
|Ontario, Niagara Falls — Rainbow Bridge|
|The Rainbow Bridge, owned and operated by the Niagara Falls Bridge Commission, was built in 1940-41 to replace the Upper Steel Arch Bridge. Its abutments are 15.1m (50 ft.) above the level of river ice jams. When it was built its 286m (950 ft.) arch was the longest hingeless arch in the world. — Map (db m64661) HM|
|Ontario, Niagara Falls — Upper Steel Arch Bridge|
|An abutment of the Upper Steel Arch Bridge built on this site 1897-98, is visible on the U.S. shore of the river. Also known as the Falls View Bridge and the Honeymoon Bridge, it stood until January 27, 1938, when an ice jam pushed the bridge off its abutments and it collapsed onto the ice in the river. — Map (db m64669) HM|
|Ontario, Niagara Falls — Upper Suspension Bridge|
|This plaque marks the entrance to the Upper Suspension Bridge, opened in July 1869, then the longest suspension bridge in the world. The iron cables were hung from timber towers. In 1884-87, this wooden bridge was changed to steel. In 1898, this steel bridge was replaced by the Upper Steel Arch Bridge. — Map (db m64670) HM|
|France, Île-de-France (Paris), Paris — Porte de la Conference — (Porte de la Conference) — Histoire de Paris|
|La porte de la Conférence marque la limite ouest de Paris jusqu’a la veille de la Révolution. En 1593, lors du siège de Paris par Henri IV redevenu huguenot, les Ligueurs utilisent cette sortie pour se rendre à Suresnes négocier avec les représentants du roi. A la suite de cette Conférence, le monarque abjure définitivement le protestantisme: “Paris vaut bien une messe!”. La paix revenue, Marie de Medicis fait aménager le quai, qui prend le nom de “Cours-la-Reyne”. Sous . . . — Map (db m61631) HM|
|France, Midi-Pyrénées (Tarn), Albi — Le «pont Neuf» — ou pont du 22 août 1944 — The “New Bridge”, or the Bridge of August 22, 1944|
|Prévu dès le XVIIIe siècle, dans le prolongment des lices, ce pont ne sera réalise qu’un siècle plus tard sous le second Empire pour permettre à la route royale de franchir le Tarn. Achevé en 1866, deux ans après le pont de chemin de fer qui lui fait pendant, it témoigne du développement des moyens de communication à l’époque industrielle.
Il porte tour à tour les noms de pont Napoléon, pont de Strasbourg, pont Neuf avant de devenir le pont du 22 août 1944, en souvenir de passage d’une . . . — Map (db m60334) HM|
|France, Midi-Pyrénées (Tarn), Albi — Le pont Vieux — [The Old Bridge]|
|Costruit vers 1040, «pour le profit commun de la ville et l’utilitéé de l’Albigerois» , ce pont permit de développer le quartier de la rive droite, appelé faubourg de Bout-du-Pont ou de la Madeleine et de multiplier les échange.
Pont à péage, il comportait un tour-porte fortifiée au centre la chapelle, et à l’extrémité droite le pont-levis et le “ravelin”.
Du XIVe au XVIIIe siècle, il porta des maisons sur ses piles qui furent démolies après la terrible crui de 1766. En 1820, pour . . . — Map (db m60336) HM|
|Ireland, Connacht (County Mayo), Cloonlaur — Bunlahinch Clapperbridge — Clew Bay Archaeological Trail site 14 — Slí Seandálaíochta Chuan Módh|
| Bún na hInes - Bottom of the River Meadow
This clapperbridge is a very unusual feature in the West of Ireland. The word clapper originally meant plank in the Sussex area of England, where there are many examples. Clapperbridges are a pre-historic form of stone-built bridge. The basic structure consists of small stone piers or pillars, which are spanned by flat stone slabs or planks. They were designed to cross wide, flat streams and rivers, as seen here, and used as footbridges. . . . — Map (db m28058) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Longford), Lanesborough — Lanesborough / Béal Átha Liag History 500 - 1900 AD|
| The Mouth of the Ford of Stones
The ancient name of Lanesborough is Béal Átha Liag which means “Mouth of the Ford of Stones”. Situated at the northern tip of Lough Ree, or Loch Rí - meaning the “Lake of Kings” - Béal Átha Liag provided the first crossing point on the Shannon north of Athlone. From 1000 AD, the bridges across the Shannon have been of major military importance, being a main crossing point between the East and West of Ireland.
540 • . . . — Map (db m27424) HM|
|Ireland, Ulster (County Donegal), Letterkenny — Gallaghers Cottage|
At this point once stood the home place of the late Jimmy Gallagher, his wife and family. Jimmy who was an employee of the County Donegal Railway, was a guard on the Letterkenny to Strabane train, when on 11th August 1941, he was fatally injured in a rail accident about 2 miles from Letterkenny. His son Patrick started to work on the railway after his father died, starting as an engine cleaner, then to fireman and finally engine driver. He had the distinction of driving the last steam train . . . — Map (db m71478) HM|
|Switzerland, Lucerne (Lucerne (District)) — Chapel Bridge — Kapellbrücke|
|The Chapel Bridge and Water Tower were built in the 14th century. The bridge served as a rampart, as well as part of the town fortification. Originally 285 metres long, the bridge was shortened several times during the 19th century. Water Tower served as a dungeon, archive and treasury vault.
In the 17th century the Chapel Bridge was adorned with a set of paintings. The triangular panels were designed by town secretary Renward Cysat, a universal scholar, and painted in Renaissance style by . . . — Map (db m67327) HM|
|Switzerland, Lucerne (Lucerne (District)) — The Spreuer Bridge — Spreuerbrücke|
|Als Teil der äusseren Stadtbefestigung (Wehrgang) um 1400 erbaut, 1408 erstmals erwähnt.
Der Name entstand im mit den benachbarten Stadtmühlen.
1566 von der Reuss weggerissen und neu gebaut.
Gemäldezyklus << Totentanz >> von Kaspar Meglinger 1626 – 1635.
German-English translation by Google translate.
Built around 1400 as part of the outer city wall (parapet), first mentioned in 1408. The name originated in connection to the neighboring mills.
In 1566 swept away . . . — Map (db m67485) HM|
|Switzerland, Lucerne (Lucerne (District)) — The Spreuer Bridge Paintings — Bildtafeln der Spreuerbruecke|
| . . . — Map (db m67483) HM|
|Alabama (Barbour County), Blue Springs — Pea River Electric Membership Corporation|
|The Pea River Electric Membership Corporation was energized on this site on June 8, 1939. This rural electric cooperative was organized under an executive order signed by President F. D. Roosevelt on May 11, 1935.
Rural members of Barbour, Dale and Henry counties gathered on this bridge to witness the beginning of electric service into their rural areas when 301 homes and businesses received power for the first time. The organizing directors were S.K. Adams, J.G. Sanders, Lloyd Smith, J.Y. . . . — Map (db m71804) HM|
|Alabama (Colbert County), Sheffield — Old Railroad Bridge|
In 1832, the Alabama legislature authorized the Florence Bridge Company to construct this bridge across the Tennessee River. In 1840, it opened as a toll bridge. Twice damaged by storms, it was reopened in 1858 as a double-decked bridge by the Memphis and Charleston Railroad. Additional piers were added to support the large wooden superstructure with trains using the upper deck while the lower deck served as a toll bridge. In April 1862, the Confederate army burned the . . . — Map (db m40596) HM|
|Alabama (Cullman County), Cullman — Clarkson Covered Bridge — Sometimes Called Legg Bridge|
|This 270 foot bridge was constructed in 1904, destroyed by a flood in 1921 and rebuilt the following year. The only remaining covered bridge in Cullman County, it was restored by the Cullman County Commission in 1975 as an American Revolution Bicentennial Project.
Named to National Register of Historic Places on 6-25-74. — Map (db m33833) HM|
|Alabama (Dale County), Ariton — Veterans Memorial Bridge - 1921 / Grist Mill - Indian Battle - Recreation|
|(Front):Veterans Memorial Bridge - 1921This reinforced concrete river bridge, thought to be the first in Alabama. Was erected over Pea River in 1920-21 at a cost of $92,108.97. It was dedicated on August 3, 1921 as a memorial to the 57 men from Dale County who lost their lives in World War 1. Engineers were Mitcham, Keller, Smith and Land. County officials were Windham, Sessions, Roberts, Ziglar, Mullins and Archer. In 1977, through the efforts of the Dale County Historical Society, The . . . — Map (db m36511) HM|
|Alabama (Dallas County), Selma — Site of Selma-Dallas County’s 1st Bridge 1884-1940|
10¢ Peddlers, Horseman
25¢ 1 Horse Buggy
50¢ 2 Horse Buggy
75¢ 4 Horse Buggy
High Truss Bridge
1- 228’ Swing Span
2- 200’ Fixed Spans
1- 265’ Approach
Cost: $55,000 (1885)
The corner stone of the 1st bridge across the Alabama River in Dallas County was laid in Nov. 1884 and the bridge opened in 1885. There were three spans, the north span would turn to allow river . . . — Map (db m37670) HM|
|Alabama (Elmore County), Wetumpka — Wetumpka Historical Marker|
The land area which now comprises the City of Wetumpka was inhabited by various Indian cultures prior to the inward migration of the white man at the turn of the 19th century. The largest Indian village near here was located on the east bank of the Coosa River one mile south of this point. This village was known as “Oche-au-po-fau” (Hickory Ground) and was composed mainly of Muscogees. After the 1814 surrender of the Creek Confederacy at Fort Toulouse, there came . . . — Map (db m67936) HM|
|Alabama (Elmore County), Wetumpka — Wetumpka's Bridges|
In 1834, the Wetumpka Toll Bridge Co. built the first of four bridges spanning the Coosa River at this site. It was destroyed in a flood in 1844. A second toll bridge was completed the same year by John Godwin whose slave, Horace King, designed and supervised construction of this covered bridge. Emancipated in 1846, King built numerous bridges in the South and his services were much in demand by the CSA during the Civil War. After the war, he was elected to the state . . . — Map (db m69449) HM|
|Alabama (Henry County), Shorterville — Chattahoochee River Crossing|
|First settler crossings were made here prior to 1817 on a log ferry operated by Robert Irwin. First bridge built by Prescott and Bemis and destroyed by flood of 1855. Second wooden covered bridge was completed in 1869 by ex-slave Horace King. Third was the Henry-Clay cantilever bridge opened in 1925. Fourth is the present McKemie Bridge opened in 1973. This river was the number one highway for local prehistorical man long before Christ. — Map (db m71843) HM|
|Alabama (Jackson County), Bridgeport — Bridgeport|
| Vital Memphis-Charleston Railroad, "backbone of Confederacy", spanned Tennessee River here. Bridge burned several times, 1862-3.
Gen. Mitchell (US), occupying Huntsville after Battle of Shiloh, seized Bridgeport in April 1862 and held it until August.
Federals recaptured town in July 1863 as Rosecrans (US) took Chattanooga (up river).
As end of usable railway from Nashville, town became key base of operations in U.S. victory at Chickamauga and lifting siege of Chattanooga. — Map (db m12283) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — The Rainbow Viaduct — Dedicated to the Brave Men of the 167th Infantry who fought to Preserve Our Freedom|
|On May 10, 1919, soon after its completion, this 21st Street Viaduct was named the Rainbow Viaduct in tribute to Alabama's famous 167th Infantry of the Rainbow Division, renowned for Bravery and Honor. The 167th was the Nation's only regiment in World War 1 referred to by its home state -- "The Alabama," made up of men from throughout Alabama, including a large number from Birmingham, this regiment had to its credit the following brave deeds, among countless others:
* Advanced farthest . . . — Map (db m26991) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Hoover — Ross Bridge|
|In 1858 James Taylor Ross, a Scotchman, migrated to the South, acquired land and homesteaded in what is now Shades Valley. He provided land for the construction of a railway, including a bridge spanning Ross Creek. After the Ross family moved westward, his property was purchased in 1907 by TCI, a predecessor of U.S. Steel. In 2002, U.S. Steel, Daniel Corp. and the Retirement Systems of Ala. combined to develop the community of Ross Bridge. — Map (db m27302) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — Ezra Lee Culver|
|With a fourth grade education, Ezra Culver employed his own innovative concrete process in major 20th century projects. His construction experience included work on Yankee Stadium, Lincoln Tunnel and the Florida Keys bridges.
City of Florence
Walk of Honor — Map (db m29269) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — Alabama River: The Grand Avenue|
|Twelve miles above Montgomery the Coosa and Tallapoosa rivers unite to form the Alabama which meanders over four hundred miles on its way to Mobile Bay. This river has played major role in region's history, being a thoroughfare for Native Americans, European explorers, and Americans who settled along its fertile shores and used it as a means of getting cotton to Mobile and world markets. Ferries served the population until the building of Tyler Goodwyn and Reese's Ferry bridges in the first . . . — Map (db m26591) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — Union Station & Riverfront Park|
|Transportation center of Montgomery located in this area for many years. First steamboat, the "Harriet," landing nearby 1821. City wharf Constructed at landing place 1823. First railroad, Montgomery & West Point R.R., developed ca. 1840. By 1900 most major railroads in Central Alabama had connections here. Union Station and Tunnel connection to river landing built 1897. Because of decline in river traffic, Tunnel closed 1930. With development of Riverfront Park 1970's, Tunnel reopened. Ramp reopened 1981. — Map (db m22523) HM|
|Alabama (Russell County), Phenix City — Before The Battle / Battle Of Girard|
Before The Battle
All day that Easter Sunday the Confederate forces commanded by Col. Leon von Zinken awaited the Union Army they knew was on the way from Tuskegee. Lacking the men needed to hold it, they were forced to leave the line they had prepared on the hills to the west and man an inner line from the mouth of Holland Creek northward through this position. Left undefended, the Dillingham Street bridge was packed with oil-soaked cotton waste and burned about 2 . . . — Map (db m69058) HM|
|Alabama (Russell County), Phenix City — Confederates Set Fire To Lower Bridge|
|Early in the afternoon of April 16, 1865 the first major act in the Battle of Girard-Columbus took place. Union General Emory Upton sent the First Ohio cavalry charging down old Crawford Road to capture the Dillingham Bridge, then known as the lower or wagon bridge. Confederates on the Georgia side had prepared for the Union tactic by removing the bridge's flooring and placing turpentine-soaked cotton along the length of its superstructure. Confederate Colonel C. C. McGehee crawled out on the . . . — Map (db m69060) HM|
|Alabama (Russell County), Phenix City — Horace King|
Horace King a slave of John Godwin was construction foreman for the First Dillingham Street Bridge in 1832, when he and Godwin introduced the “town lattice” bridge design into the Chattahoochee Valley. King built most of the early wooden bridges spanning the river, including those at West Point, Eufaula and Fort Gaines-Franklin. After Godwin’s death in 1859, he raised a monument inscribed: “In lasting remembrance of the love and gratitude felt for his lost . . . — Map (db m69064) HM|
|Alabama (Sumter County), Demopolis — The Rooster Bridge|
| Side A In 1919 a rooster sale organized by Frank Derby raised money to begin construction of a bridge over the Tombigbee River at Moscow Ferry. This was the last link in the completion of the Dixie Overland Highway between Savannah and San Diego.
The idea was “to bridge the ‘Bigbee with cocks”: Roosters would be solicited from world-famous persons and an auction and barbeque held in the city of Demopolis for the benefit of the bridge.
Congressmen “Buck” . . . — Map (db m38074) HM|
|Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Northport — Home Guard Defended Covered Bridge / Bridging The Black Warrior River|
|(Front):Home Guard Defended Covered Bridge3 April 1865 - Brig Gen John T. Croxton’s Cavalry Brigade departed camp at Johnson’s Ferry (Old Lock 17 area) to the Watermelon Road ending in Northport. As the Union troops entered Northport, the Methodist Church bell was rung as a prearranged warning alarm. Armed with 7-shot carbines, 150 troopers of the 2nd Michigan Cav Regt rushed the covered bridge which was defended by about a dozen old men and young boys led by 53-year-old Capt . . . — Map (db m35679) HM|
|Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — Burns’ Shoals|
|The remains of Burns' Shoals now lie nearly 40 feet underwater. This rock outcropping was the first of the shoals known as the "Falls of Tuscaloosa" and represents the "Fall Line" or contact point of the Coastal Plain and the Appalachian Plateau, which extends nearly 2000 miles to Canada. From here upstream the riverbed is primarily rock while downstream is is sand, silt and gravel. It was head of navigation on the river and thus a primary reason for the founding of Tuscaloosa. It was used as . . . — Map (db m28904) HM|
|Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — Horace King|
|Born a slave in South Carolina in 1807, Horace King became a master bridge builder while working with John Godwin. With the aid of Tuscaloosa Robert Jemison, King was freed by act of the Alabama legislature in 1846. He went on to build many bridges and other structures across the South. Revered and respected for his organizational abilities, building skills and personal integrity, he formed the King Brothers Bridge Company with his family after the Civil War. After serving two terms in the . . . — Map (db m28913) HM|
|Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — The M & O Railroad Trestle|
|This wooden and steel truss bridge was constructed for the Mobile and Ohio Railroad in 1898 by civil engineer Benjamin Hardaway, and 1887 graduate of The University of Alabama and former Tuscaloosa City Engineer. Originally 135-feet high with a 110-foot clearance, it was once considered by many to be the country's longest trestle at 3600 feet. This bridge, along with Old Locks One, Two and Three, greatly improved transportation in West Alabama and heralded an era of economic development in the . . . — Map (db m28992) HM|
|Alaska (Fairbanks North Star Borough), Faribanks — Cushman Street|
|“Instead of row after row of empty houses (Dawson), they are building new stores. The place is alive and busy-a little too crowded when we got there.” – a tourist in Fairbanks, 1928 — Map (db m47406) HM|
|Arizona (Coconino County), Marble Canyon — Navajo Bridge Erection Toggle Screw/Navajo Bridge — State of Arizona — 1927/1928|
|This Erection Toggle Screw was used in the construction of the historic Navajo Bridge to maintain bridge vertical elevations and as a means of lowering bridge sections in place.
[Plaque Mounted on Bridge]:
State of Arizona
Arch 616 feet • Total Length 834 feet • Height 467 feet
Arizona State Highway Commission
Geo W.P. Hunt, Governor
L.P. Mcbride, Chairman - H. Thompson, Vice Chairman - F.C. Steger, Commissioner
J.F. McDonald, Commissioner - Floyd . . . — Map (db m38469) HM|
|Arizona (Gila County), Roosevelt — The Bridge — 1987-1990|
|Before dam modifications could begin, a $21.3 million bridge was built to relocate traffic off the top of Roosevelt Dam. Roosevelt Lake Bridge is the longest two-lane, single-span, steel-arch bridge in North America. The bridge, spanning 1,080 feet across Roosevelt Lake, was painted blue to blend in with the lake and sky, letting the form speak. Map (db m34112) HM|
|Arizona (Maricopa County), Arlington — Historic Gillespie Dam Bridge|
| Main Marker - Side A:
The Historic Gillespie Dam Bridge spans the Gila River on Old US 80 Highway, between the communities of Arlington and Gila Bend. Built in 1927 as a Federal Aid Project, the bridge is a unique and elegant reminder of Arizona's rich past and America's transportation history. The bridge is listed on both the Arizona State and National Register of Historic Places and is referred to in the Historic American Engineering Record as a significant technological . . . — Map (db m54936) HM|
|Arizona (Maricopa County), Arlington — Original 1927 Bridge Roller Bearing — Gillespie Dam Bridge Rehabilitation — 2012 Arizona Centennial Legacy Project|
|In December 2011, as the Historic Gillespie Dam Bridge approached its 85th year of service, the Maricopa County Department of Transportation began a major bridge rehabilitation and repair effort to save one of Arizona's earliest and most significant commerce and transportation treasures.
Bridge rehabilitation activities included the heat straightening of bent steel members damaged over the years by automobiles and large farm vehicles; pipe rail and sway bracing repairs; installation of . . . — Map (db m69445) HM|
|Arizona (Maricopa County), Carefree — The Old Verde River Sheep Bridge|
Marker 1 - (Main Marker):
The original Verde River Sheep Bridge, also known as the Red Point Sheep Bridge, was constructed at this location in 1943 by Flagstaff Sheep Company, which had been grazing sheep in the area under a Forest Service permit since 1926. As early as the turn of the century, other sheep ranchers also used the Bloody Basin, which supposedly took its name from numerous fights between Indians and settlers that occurred there. After the bridge was constructed, the . . . — Map (db m53966) HM|
|Arizona (Maricopa County), Mesa — Prehistoric Irrigation in the Salt River Valley|
|Approximately 300 B.C. Prehistoric Indians entered the Salt River Valley. They developed an extensive canal system and raised corn, beans, squash, agave and cotton.
Over 500 miles of Hohokam canal have been recorded in the Salt River Valley. Estimates suggest that the canals may have supported between 30,000 and 60,000 people with up to 100,000 acres under cultivation. Some of the canals extended over 12 miles in length. For reasons still unknown, the Hohokam abandoned their canal system . . . — Map (db m49877) HM|
|Arizona (Mohave County), Lake Havasu City — British – American Friendship|
|"We are now friends with England and with all Mankind."
Written by Benjamin Franklin, American Peace
Commissioner in Paris, following the signing of the peace treaty ending the American Revolution
With American and British flags flying overhead, a Quit Rent Ceremony is reenacted each October under the London Bridge, located since 1971 at the English Village in Lake Havasu City. The ceremony symbolizes London, England's friendship with Lake Havasu City. On this . . . — Map (db m31843) HM|
|Arizona (Mohave County), Lake Havasu City — City Founders — Lake Havasu City, Arizona|
|Robert P. McCulloch, Sr, Founder
C.V. Wood, Jr., Master Planner
London Bridge was purchased from the city of London on April 18, 1968 for $2,460,000.00. It took three years and another $4,500,000.00 to transport and build the bridge. The Grand Opening took place October 10, 1971.
This sculpture was created by local artist Lou Hunt with the help of her good friend and assistant Reese Mead — Map (db m31841) HM|
|Arizona (Mohave County), Lake Havasu City — London Bridge|
The Right Honorable The Lord Mayor Of London
Alderman Sir Peter Studd G.B.E.M.A.D.Sc.
In The Presence Of
The Honorable Jack Williams
Governor Of Arizona
October 10, 1971
Robert P. McCulloch Sr C.V. Wood Jr.
Founder Master Planner
Lake Havasu City Lake Havasu City — Map (db m4328) HM|
|Arizona (Mohave County), Lake Havasu City — Robert P. McCulloch, Sr.|
In grateful memory
Robert P. McCulloch, Sr.
Whose purchase of London Bridge
saved it for the enjoyment and use
October 10, 1981
on this 150th Anniverary
was formally dedicated to the
citizens of Lake Havasu City — Map (db m6974) HM|
|Arizona (Navajo County), Pinedale — The Mauretta B. Thomas Pinedale Memorial Bridge|
|In recognition of her unselfish participation and example in community beautification. Serving on the town bicentennial committee, she proposed the covered bridge and the planting of pine trees along the lane north to the highway as being worth while community bicentennial projects. — Map (db m36665) HM|
|Arizona (Navajo County), Winslow — The Winslow Bridge|
|This date medallion is from the Winslow Bridge that once spanned the Little Colorado River on historic Route 66 just east of Winslow. Because the river had always proved a daunting impediment to travelers, this bridge crossing became a strategic juncture in the flow of travel and commerce. Traversing the river by wagon in the late 1800's required a harrowing journey with wheels often bogged down by quicksand. In 1939, when an older bridge had become obsolete, the 26 foot-wide 2 girder Winslow . . . — Map (db m32781) HM|
|Arizona (Pima County), Tucson — Fourth Avenue Underpass — Constructed 2009|
| Tucson City Engineer ― Jim Clock
Design Engineer ― Cannon & Associates, Inc. TranSystems Corp.
Contractor ― Sundt Construction, Inc.
Long known as the Gateway to the East End of Downtown, the Fourth Avenue Underpass in a vital link between the University of Arizona, the Fourth Avenue merchants and the Downtown Tucson Business District. In 1988, as part of a movement to revitalize the Downtown area, the City of Tucson moved to reconstruct the historic underpass to . . . — Map (db m31527) HM|
|Arizona (Pima County), Tucson — Garcés Footbridge|
|Memorial to Francisco Garcés, explorer and first Franciscan missionary to the Pima village at the foot of Sentinel Peak. In 1770 Garcés and the Pimas constructed at that site the first substantial building in Tucson, a mission residence with two rounded towers for defense. On August 20, 1775, he led Lt. Col. Hugo Oconor to this present site, designated for the founding of the Royal Spanish Presidio of Tucson. Garcés and the Pimas helped in the construction of the new presidio. A principal . . . — Map (db m55224) HM|
|Arizona (Pima County), Tucson — Historic Fourth Avenue Underpass — Constructed 1916 – Demolished in 2008|
| Tucson City Engineer ― J. Mos Ruthrauff
Design Engineer ― L. R. Walker
Contractor ― Bent Brothers
In 1913, in an effort to separate pedestrians, vehicles, bicycles and wagons from trains, the City of Tucson embarked on a major grade separation project to have Fourth Avenue, a major thoroughfare in Downtown Tucson, travel beneath the Southern Pacific Railroad.
The original underpass consisted of two 12-foot-wide lanes and 6-foot-wide raised pedestrian walkways on . . . — Map (db m31526) HM|
|Arizona (Pima County), Vail — Cienega Bridge — Built 1921|
Has been listed in the
of Historic Places
By the United States
Department of the Interior
September 30, 1988 — Map (db m67763) HM|
|Arizona (Yuma County), Wellton — Red Top Wash Bridge|
|Constructed 1931, Widened 1949
Federal Highway Administration
Arizona State Highway Department
Owner: Yuma County
Designer: TransSystems Corporation
Contractor: Bison Contracting Co.
The Arizona State Highway Department placed a 4-span, 160 feet long, reinforced concrete T-beam bridge over Red Top Wash in 1931 as part of its efforts to improve the main road between Phoenix and Yuma. Its route approximates the old Gila Trail, a military and wagon road and the . . . — Map (db m62009) HM|
|Arizona (Yuma County), Yuma — Ocean-to-Ocean Bridge Highway Bridge — Constructed - 1915 & Rededicated - 2002|
|In 1913 after strong campaigning from the citizens of Yuma, Representative Carl Hayden secured funding for this bridge. When completed, it was the only highway bridge across the Colorado River for 1,200 miles. It was partially funded by the Office of Indian Affairs, with the State of Arizona and Imperial County, California each contributing $25,000.
Government engineers designed the bridge in Washington without knowledge of the site. Because the engineers were unfamiliar with the . . . — Map (db m46786) HM|
|California (Alameda County), Oakland — 40 — Leimert Bridge|
|The Sausal Creek Arch Bridge, commonly known as the Leimert Bridge since its completion in 1926, is a graceful example of a fixed arch bridge. George Posey, Alameda County Surveyor and engineer of the Posey Tunnel connecting Alameda and Oakland, designed the concrete and steel bridge, which is 357 feet long and 117 feet high. The Park Boulevard Company, owned by Walter and Harry Leimert, was responsible for building the bridge and running the Key System streetcar line across it, so that . . . — Map (db m71767) HM|
|California (Butte County), Chico — Gianella Bridge|
|Built cooperatively by Butte and Glenn Counties, 1908-1911. Designed by John B. Leonard (1864-1945), civil engineer, San Francisco. Built by Cotton Bros. and Co. Oakland. Recorded for the Historic American Engineering Record, 1984. Replaced and removed 1987. — Map (db m62233) HM|
|California (Butte County), Chico — Honey Run Covered Bridge / Gold Dredge|
|Honey Run Bridge
By George Miller
The first bucket line gold dredge to operate below the covered bridge used this tumbler – 1898. — Map (db m29682) HM|
|California (Butte County), Oroville — Bidwell Bar Bridge and Tollhouse|
|Originally constructed on a site one and a half miles northeast of this location in 1856
Rededicated on July 30, 1977
on this Kelly Ridge site
to avoid inundation by the waters of
State of California - Edmund G. Brown Jr., Governor
Resources Agency – Claire T. Dedrick, Secretary
Department of Parks and Recreation – Herbert Rhodes, Director
Department of Water Resources – Ronald B. Robie, Director — Map (db m61597) HM|
|California (Butte County), Oroville — CHL 314 — The Mother Orange Tree of Butte County — Bidwell Bar Bridge|
The Mother Orange Tree
of Butte County
planted at this spot by Judge Joseph Lewis in 1856
The Bidwell Bar Bridge
First suspension bridge of California
Transported from New York via Cape Horn 1853. Completed 1856 — Map (db m61594) HM|
|California (Calaveras County), Copperopolis — Copperopolis Historical Plaza|
| (There are five markers and one dedication plaque affixed to the flagpole pedestal.)
History of Copperopolis
Copper (for ore) + opolos (for city)
Originally known as Copper Canyon, Copperopolis was established in 1860 when copper was discovered here. Known as “Copper” to the locals, Copperopolis was a thriving copper mining town during the Civil War and the second largest copper producing area in the U.S. and provided most of the copper needs for the Union Army. . . . — Map (db m62356) HM|
|California (Calaveras County), Copperopolis — 281 — O'Bryne Ferry|
|In 1852 a chain cable bridge replaced the ferries that once crossed here, to be supplanted in its turn by a covered truss structure in 1862. Some writers claimed this was the locale of Bret Harte's Poker Flat. In late “49” there was a large camp here, with miners washing gold out on both banks of the Stanislaus River. — Map (db m13013) HM|
|California (Calaveras County), San Andreas — 258 — Fourth Crossing|
|Located on the Stockton-Murphy Road at the fourth crossing of the Calaveras River, this early mining settlement, once called Foremans, was famous in the 1850's for its rich placer ores. Later, it became an important stage and freighting depot and served the Southern Mines until after the turn of the century. — Map (db m11969) HM|
|California (Colusa County), Colusa — Center Section of the Former Colusa Bridge — Historical Landmark|
|Center section of the former Colusa Bridge across the Sacramento River at the end of Bridge Street. Constructed 1899-1901 and replaced 1979-80. Nominated for inclusion on Federal Register 1978. — Map (db m63416) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Auburn — GPY 135-10 — Mountain Quarries Railroad Bridge|
|In 1910, the Mountain Quarries Company contracted for the construction of a railroad bridge over the North Fork of the American River to haul limestone from their upstream quarry. The bridge and 17 wooden trestles were part of Mountain Quarries Railroad (MQRR) which went seven miles up to Auburn.
The MQRR Bridge, designed by John B. Leonard, was completed and placed in service on March 23, 1912 at a cost of $300,000. The bridge was reported to be the "longest span concrete arched bridge for . . . — Map (db m67659) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Auburn — Mountain Quarries Railroad Bridge|
|The Mountain Quarries Railroad Bridge, also known a "No Hands Bridge", was completed on March 23, 1912. At the time of its construction the span bore the distinction of being one of the largest reinforced concrete railroad bridges in the United States and the largest such bridge "owned by private capitol." Since 1912, the bridge has withstood the fluctuations of the American River, and managed to stay on its footings when the Hell Hole dam failed in December 1964 destroying two more modern . . . — Map (db m67664) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Coloma — Mining Ditches|
|Mining ditches were dug by ditch companies to carry vast amounts of water needed for placer mining. Thousands of miles of ditches and flumes were built in the gold country; some brought immense profits to their owners. As mining declined in the 1860s, the same ditches were used for irrigating orchards, vineyards and pastures in the foothills. This ditch is seven miles long, and now carries irrigation water to local farmers. The hillside terraces you see here were used to grow fruit trees and grape vines. Some of them were dug by James Marshall. — Map (db m17484) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Kyburz — Riverton Bridge|
|These stone obelisks are all that’s left of the original four that once stood on the corners of the stone arch bridge spanning the American River from 1900 to 1930.
This monument erected by Caltrans District 3 History Committee and the California Transportation Commission, 1990. — Map (db m23183) HM|
|California (Humboldt County), Fernbridge — Fernbridge|
|Dedicated on November 16, 1911 and affectionately known as the "Queen of Bridges", it was the longest reinforced concreted arch structure in the world at the time of its construction. The bridge was designed by John B. Leonard, Civil Engineer, license No. 12, with assistance from county surveyor George W. Conners.
The bridge is 24 feet wide with seven 195-foot arches and is 1,451 feet in length. Originally it had a gravel driving course with 500-foot timber trestle approaches. These were . . . — Map (db m71907) HM|
|California (Inyo County), Aspendell — Power for the Diggins|
|With the discovery of gold and silver in Nevada at Goldfield and Tonopah, the need for electric power for mining operations was fulfilled in September, 1905, by construction of a hydro-electric plant on Bishop Creek, which supplied 1,300 kilowatts of energy over a 113 mile long transmission line.
The Nevada Power, Mining & Milling Co. which built the project later became the Nevada-California Power Co., and four additional plants were built using the water from North, Sabrina, and South . . . — Map (db m629) HM|
|California (Marin County), Ross — Historic Dedication of the Lagunitas Road Bridge — Corte Madera Creek — Ross, California - March 20, 2011|
|This structure replaces Bridge No. 27C0071, a contributing element to the Ross Historic Bridges District, eligible for inclusion in the National Register of Historic Places. The original bridge was completed on January 13, 1910 as part of a $12,500 bond issue approved by Ross voters 75-7 for the construction of five "concrete bridges to replace the present wooden bridges" throughout the Town. John Buck Leonard, a pioneer and leading designer of reinforced concrete bridges, was the engineer. The . . . — Map (db m63939) HM|
|California (Mariposa County), Coulterville — 6011 — Bagby|
|From a vista point near the 1,156 long, 130 foot high bridge, completed in 1966, the site of Bagby lies east under, and sometimes exposed beside, the back waters of Lake McClure. Bagby's history passed through three definite development eras. From 1850 to 1859 it was the site for Thomas E. Ridley's ferry. Then a dam and Fremont's water-powered stamp mills were built there, and the place renamed Benton Mills for his father-in-law. Later Benjamin A, Bagby built a hotel, store, saloon, and . . . — Map (db m5957) HM|
|California (Mariposa County), Mariposa — Bridgeport|
|In 1852 Andrew Church established a trading post where a road from the San Joaquin Valley, crossed the Agua Fria Creek. The site, known as Bridgeport, was on the Fremont Grant, about five miles south of Aqua Fria, first county seat of Mariposa County. Church’s store prospered as he sold supplies to travelers, farmers, and miners including 3000 local Chinese. The Washburn brothers of Wawona fame began their California endeavors as clerks in the trading post. As mining declined, Bridgeport faded, . . . — Map (db m46846) HM|
|California (Mariposa County), Mariposa — William Sell Jr. Memorial Bridge — First Place Award Winner|
|In the 1972 Federal Highways Administration Contest as the outstanding example of a bridge, overpass, tunnel or other highway structure in the United States.
“This is the way a bridge should look.” — Map (db m46773) HM|
|California (Nevada County), Nevada City — Pine Street Bridge — 1996|
|Third span of Deer Creek at this location. It is a replica of the single arch steel Gault Bridge (1908-1996) which replaced the suspension bridge (1862-1903) built by Andrew S. Hallidie, who later built the San Francisco Cable Car system. — Map (db m40275) HM|
|California (Nevada County), Nevada City — Purdon Bridge — 1895|
|Built by Cotton Brothers of Oakland, this steel bridge replaced several wooden bridges washed away in floods. It is the only bridge of the half-through truss design remaining in California. Purdon Crossing was a vital link of the main road from Nevada City to Downieville and the Northern Mines. — Map (db m45068) HM|
|California (Nevada County), Penn Valley — 390 — Bridgeport (Nyes Crossing) Covered Bridge|
|Built in 1862 by David Isaac John Wood with lumber from his mill in Sierra County, this bridge was part of the Virginia Turnpike Company toll road which served the northern mines and the busy Nevada Comstock Lode. Utilizing a combination truss and arch construction, it is one of the oldest housed spans in the west and the longest single-span wood-covered bridge in the United States.
California Registered Historical Landmark No. 390
Plaque placed by the California State Park Commission in . . . — Map (db m8540) HM|
|California (Nevada County), Penn Valley — Bridgeport Bridge|
|This covered bridge across the South Fork of the Yuba River at Bridgeport, Nevada Co., Calif. was built by David I. Wood in 1862 with lumber from his mill in Plum Valley, Sierra Co., Calif. Erected by Columbia Parlor No. 70, N.D.G.W., French Corral, Calif. October 17, 1948. — Map (db m8528) HM|
|California (Nevada County), Penn Valley — Bridgeport Bridge — "Wood’s Crossing"|
|Bridgeport Bridge, or “Wood’s Crossing”, is the longest single span covered bridge in existence. Used since 1862, built by David I. Wood. This plaque is dedicated to those pioneer Americans who came to California in search of a new life and passed this way to establish their homes in the Northern Mine Country. — Map (db m8539) HM|
|California (Nevada County), Smartsville — The Yuba River Bridge at Parks Bar — 1913 - 1994|
|William M. Thomas of Thomas and Post Consulting Engineers designed the 685-foot-long Parks Bar Bridge in 1912 for Yuba County. The original 16-foot-wide bridge with four 140-foot-long arch spans was constructed by the Portland Concrete Pile Company in 1912-13. The bridge was widened to 22 feet in 1924. It was removed in 1994 after a new bridge was built downstream.
William Thomas established himself as a leader in early reinforced concrete bridge design by developing the "Thomas System." . . . — Map (db m54222) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Folsom — Folsom Dam Improvements — Promoting Public Safety for the Sacramento Region|
Folsom Dam and Reservoir are a component of the Central Valley Project, owned and operated by the Bureau of Reclamation, Mid-Pacific Region, Central California Area Office
Construction of Folsom Dam by the Corps began in October 1948 and was completed in May 1956. Folsom Dam was then transferred to Reclamation for operation.
Folsom Dam is a concrete gravity dam 340 feet high and 1,400 feet long flanked by left and right earthfill wing dams. “The Folsom . . . — Map (db m17644) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — The Northern Electric Bridge|
|In 1911, the Northern Electric Railway Company, along with Sacramento and Yolo counties, built the Northern Electric Bridge. The bridge carried a single railroad track with twin motor-vehicle roadways. Pedestrian walks cantilevered from the central support structure. It had two fixed-approach spans, each 125 feet long, with a center draw of 400 feet. The 12-foot square operator’s house, constructed of 4-inch thick concrete, was placed over the center of the structure.
Two 60 HP-D.C. motors . . . — Map (db m16492) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — The Tower Bridge|
|The Tower Bridge, a vertical-lift span, was opened for traffic on December 15, 1935 and was built at a cost of $994,000. The State Department of Public Works, the City and the County of Sacramento and the Federal Government built the bridge.
It is 737 feet long. The central lift span is a 209-foot truss supported by two vertical towers 160 feet tall.
The bridge originally featured an interurban railroad separating the two directions of travel. The track was removed from the bridge in 1962. — Map (db m16489) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — Tower Bridge: Gateway to the Capital|
Identifying A Need
By the early 1930’s, Americans were moving away from trains and ships and turning to automobiles as their mode of transporation. As a result, traffic on roadways increased dramatically. In Sacramento, M Street (now Capital Mall), one of the city’s busiest routes during his period, served as a major link to U.S. Highway 40 (now West Capital Avenue and State Route 275). The Sacramento Northern Railroad Bridge spanned the Sacramento River directly north of the . . . — Map (db m16490) HM|
|California (San Diego County), San Diego — Derby Dike|
|Until 1853 the erratic San Diego River dumped tons of debris into the harbor or poured into False Bay, now Mission Bay. At times it threatened to destroy Old Town San Diego. Lieutenant George Horatio Derby, U.S. Topographical Corps, built a dike that diverted the waters into False Bay. This was the first effort to tame the river, and one of the first U.S. Government projects in California. The river was not fully harnessed until the 1950s. — Map (db m11136) HM|
|California (San Francisco City and County), San Francisco — The Golden Gate Bridge: Vision, Genius and Expert Care|
|"The Golden Gate!" Army explorer John Charles Fremont named the entrance to San Francisco Bay in 1846. His Majesty Emperor Joshua Abraham Norton decreed in 1869 that a bridge be built “…across the Golden Gate to Sausalito Ridge.” Work finally began 64 years later.
The vision and genius of Engineer Joseph Strauss together with the dedicated and fearless bridge workers, began construction 5 January1933. They completed the longest suspension bridge in the world in 1937. Innovative . . . — Map (db m31685) HM|
|California (San Mateo County), Burlingame — Eugene A. Doran Memorial Bridge — 1922 – 1959 — One-Half Mile South|
|An officer for the Town of Hillsborough from April 1, 1956 until his untimely death on August 5, 1959, who made the supreme sacrifice at the hands of a criminal suspect whom he had apprehended. — Map (db m18330) HM|
|California (San Mateo County), Half Moon Bay — First Concrete Bridge Erected in San Mateo Co — 1900|
|J. Debendetti Supervisor
D. Bromfield & C. Tobey Jr. Engineers
R.C. Mattingly & W. Heafey Contractors — Map (db m10713) HM|
|California (San Mateo County), San Mateo — History of San Mateo’s Bridges|
|In 1923, the cities of San Mateo, Burlingame, and Hillsborough began planning for a bridge to link the San Francisco Bay peninsula cities with East Bay and Central Valley communities. Even after the Dumbarton Bridge opened, in 1927, these municipalities continued pursuing construction of a bridge for the San Mateo area.
In 1928, bridge construction began. Cement for the piles and deck slabs for the bridge came from Redwood City. Oyster shells dredged from the Bay in the Redwood City area . . . — Map (db m28727) HM|
|California (Santa Cruz County), Felton — 583 — Felton Covered Bridge|
|Built in 1892-93 and believed to be the tallest covered bridge in the country, it stood as the only entry to Felton for 45 years. In 1937 it was retired from active service to become a pedestrian bridge and figured prominently in many films of that period. After suffering damage in the winter storms of 1982, it was restored to its original elegance in 1987 using native materials and local talent.
Originally Registered May 17, 1957.
— Map (db m2348) HM|
|California (Shasta County), Anderson — Balls Ferry|
1868 – 1897
Bridge then built — Map (db m70351) HM|
|California (Shasta County), Anderson — SHA-013 — The Flume — Point of Historical Interest — Dept. of Parks and Recreation – Reg. No. SHA-013|
|This aqueduct was built in 1918 as connecting link of main canal of Anderson Cottonwood Irrigation Dist., to carry water across Anderson Gulch to irrigate lands in southern Shasta Co. Aqueduct is 1249 ft. long, 8 ft. wide, 5 ft. deep and 20 ft. from the ground.
Sponsors: Historic Preservation Comm., Cascade Dist., Calif. Garden Clubs, Inc., Anderson Valley Garden Club and Cottonwood Garden Club. — Map (db m70339) HM|
|California (Shasta County), Castella — 1 — Sims Bridge: A CCC First|
|It took a bit of grit and determination for the Forest Service and Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) crew to build this sturdy bridge...
Raymond Huber, who supervised the project remembers... “I was given a pickup and a plan of a 160-foot suspension bridge... and no real book of regulations... Well, we made our regulations as we went along. We finally worried our way through a completed bridge in September 1933.”
Sims Bridge was renowned as the first major construction . . . — Map (db m69821) HM|
|California (Shasta County), Redding — Diestelhorst Auto Camp / Reid’s Ferry|
|Two separate markers have been mounted on the same rock.
Marker on the Right:
Diestelhorst Auto Camp
Gotlieb Justus Diestelhorst came to Shasta in 1852, to grow produce and vegetables to sell. He found the soil impossible. This 84 acre parcel became available, in 1859. With his wife Caroline, he settled in to raise a family and farm. Upriver from his home, Gotlieb planted an extensive orchard. Downriver from his home was a huge vegetable garden. On the high ground . . . — Map (db m70331) HM|
|California (Shasta County), Whiskeytown — Toll Bridge|
|To cross Clear Creek in 1865 it would have cost you 10 cents to walk across, 25 cents to ride over on horseback, and $1.25 to cross by wagon. Charles Camden, the bridge owner, spent $20,000 to improve the road between here and the town of Shasta. He widened the road, built a bridge over Whiskey Creek, and improved the and covered the bridge over this creek.
The investment paid off. With a franchise obtained from the state of California, Camden collected tolls for 50 years from travelers going between Shasta and Weaverville. — Map (db m12565) HM|
|California (Siskiyou County), Fort Jones — John F. Williams Memorial Bridge|
|U S Forest Ranger
John F. Williams
Gave his life to save
the life of a drowning
girl at this location
June 24, 1940 — Map (db m70257) HM|
|California (Siskiyou County), Weed — The Weed Arch — To the City of Weed from the People of Its Community|
| The Arch is the strongest form of architecture known to Man.
This steel arch replaces the original concrete arch first erected on this site in 1922. Due to the lack of maintenance over the years, surface cracks appeared. Because there were no blueprints of it the City felt it unsafe. The arch was torn down in 1963. It took over three weeks to remove by torch as the arch was built with steel railroad track throughout!
This landmark is our community's commitment in welcoming those who . . . — Map (db m62809) HM|
|California (Stanislaus County), Knights Ferry — 347 — Knights Ferry|
|Picturesque mining center and trading post, 1849, once called Dentville. Early ferry to the southern mines; county seat 1862-72; rare wooden covered bridge reputedly designed by U. S. Grant, brother-in-law of the Dent brothers, 1854; old flour mill, 1854. — Map (db m6367) HM|
|California (Stanislaus County), Knights Ferry — Knights Ferry Covered Bridge|
|Built in 1864, to replace the original bridge washed away by the flood of 1862. Fastened together with locust pins. A toll bridge until purchased by Stanislaus County in 1885.
Dedicated May 30, 1948
Rededicated May 2, 1988 — Map (db m12013) HM|
|California (Stanislaus County), Newman — Hills Ferry — Historic Landmark|
|Founded 1849 by Judge O D Dickerson.
Named for Jesse Hill
Operator of the Ferry Boat that landed just upstream under the present bridge site. — Map (db m58204) HM|
|California (Trinity County), Douglas City — Steel Bridge|
|The Union Hill Mines, which began in 1862, were located up the western slope of Union Hill from the mouth of Weaver Creek, at the head of Union Gulch. It was one of the largest placer mines in Trinity County. Water was ditched from Weaver Creek and Little Brown’s Creek. In 1904, Peter M. Paulsen acquired control of enough claims, that he constructed a 15 mile long ditch from Grass Valley Creek, collecting water from Sawmill and Tom Lang Gulches. Paulsen constructed a 165’ bridge on two concrete . . . — Map (db m70306) HM|
|California (Tuolumne County), Moccasin — 4 — Stevens Bar Bridge|
|Beneath this bridge lies the site of the historic Gold Rush mining camp of Stevens Bar (or Stephens Bar) founded in 1849.
The first bridge to span the upper Tuolumne River was constructed just above this point in 1857. Following its destruction in the Great Flood of January, 1862, travelers were served by a ferry boat until 1885 when a new bridge was constructed below Jacksonville.
In 1902 the 1857 site was again bridged. As the span would be submerged by the waters impounded by the . . . — Map (db m53342) HM|
|California (Yolo County), Davis — Davis Subway — Richards Blvd. Underpass|
|Built in 1917-18, this entrance to Davis is among the oldest surviving examples of I-beam construction on a railroad grade separation. The underpass was part of the Lincoln Highway. The bicycle bore was added in 1978. Listed in the National Register of Historic Places. — Map (db m57189) HM|
|California (Yolo County), West Sacramento — Pony Express Bridge|
|[Front of Marker:]
Dedicated April 23, 2000
First Northern Bank
Daniel F. Ramos Family
Frank C. Ramos Family
Dr. & Mrs. James O. Farley
West Sacramento Land Company
West Sacramento Chamber of Commerce
Pony Express Trail Association
[A list of sponsors is on bottom of base]
[Back of Marker:]
The first bridge to span the Sacramento River was built by the Sacramento and Yolo Bridge Company. It was a wooden spring span . . . — Map (db m15708) HM|
|California (Yolo County), West Sacramento — Tower Bridge — West Sacramento River Walk|
|Sacramento’s graceful Tower Bridge has spanned the river since 1936. It is the only historically significant vertical-lift bridge in California and was placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1982. Lights added in 1986 in honor of its golden anniversary provide a stunning nighttime view of the bridge and Old Sacramento’s waterfront.
The Tower Bridge shares its streamline Moderne architectural style with San Francisco’s Golden Gate Bridge. This style reflects strong, clean vertical lines and smooth surfaces. — Map (db m15711) HM|
|California (Yuba County), Camptonville — Marysville to Virginia City in 32 Hours — 49 Miles Along Highway 49|
|In 1859 the rich Comstock Silver Lode was discovered in Washoe Territory, Nevada, causing many miners to quickly pack up and head east. Immediately a company was formed to construct a road connecting this area of California to the Comstock finds. The Henness Pass Road was completed in 1861. A journalist described the road as “...a mixture of excellence and abominations.”
Thomas Freeman financed the Oregon Creek Covered Bridge in 1871 to replace a former one. The bridge was . . . — Map (db m65968) HM|
|California (Yuba County), Camptonville — Oregon Creek Covered Bridge|
|Built in 1860, the Oregon Creek Covered Bridge was floated from its foundations by the flood waters from the breaking of English Dam in 1883. It was restored to place by using ox teams and log rollers, but turned end for end in the process. — Map (db m65967) HM|
|Colorado (Fremont County), Canon City — Royal Gorge Bridge|
|Highest suspension bridge in the world
Completed in seven months - Dedicated Dec. 7, 1929
Chief Engineer George Cole
Consulting Engineer O.K. Peck
This property has been placed on
National Register of Historic Places
U.S. Department of Interior
Modernization of bridge to present day
safety and engineering standards by
Wilolamb International - 1983
Muskogee, Oklahoma U.S.A. — Map (db m39304) HM|
|Colorado (Fremont County), Cañon City — 141 — Royal Gorge|
|Lt. Zubulon M. Pike and his men, who traveled through this area in November and December 1806, were the first American explorers to view the Arkansas River Canyon now known as the Royal Gorge. A small party from the Maj. Stephen H. Long expedition visited the mouth of the canyon in 1820, as did members of Lt. John C. Fremont's expedition in 1845.
In 1878 a right of way through Royal Gorge became the focal point of a bitter struggle between The Denver and Rio Grande and the Atchison, Topeka . . . — Map (db m34858) HM|
|Colorado (Jefferson County), Golden — Billy Drew Bridge|
| (left side)
Bridging Our History
This bridge is the second Billy Drew Bridge erected on this site. The original Billy Drew Bridge was built in 1976 as part of Golden’s celebration of the Centennial-Bicentennial, the nation’s 200th anniversary and Colorado’s 100th anniversary as a State. A few Golden citizens, led by Billy Drew, called for the building of a bridge to provide an essential pedestrian and bikeway link between Golden and the city offices, parks, and residential . . . — Map (db m70396) HM|
|Colorado (Jefferson County), Golden — Bridge Load Ordinance Background|
|Colorado Transcript, September 13, 1882: “Washington Avenue Bridge was badly damaged last Saturday evening by some ignoramus driving and crowding a big drove of cattle on to it. The damage has since been repaired.”|
Golden Globe, September 23, 1882: “A Grand Breakdown. Mutton Goes Down, While Taxes Go Up — The Avenue Bridge Falls with 200 sheep on board. A flock of sheep, numbering between two or three hundred head, and which was being driven thro’ Golden . . . — Map (db m49897) HM
|Colorado (Jefferson County), Golden — Ferrell/Berthoud Home (Miners Hotel)|
|John M. Ferrell came to the Golden valley from upstate New York in June of 1859. He camped on the southeastern banks of Clear Creek and created the Washington Avenue crossing for the gold rushers. When Golden was organized, Ferrell became one of its 16 original founders and agreed to sell his bridge to the community. |
Ferrell was accompanied by his wife Jeanette and sons Frank and Charles. They were soon followed by his daughters Helen and Prunette (Nettie), with husbands Edward L. . . . — Map (db m49895) HM
|Colorado (Morgan County), Fort Morgan — Rainbow Arch Bridge|
|Spanning the South Platte River, the Rainbow Arch Bridge carried vehicular traffic from its completion in 1923 until its closure in 1988. Engineer James B. Marsh of Des Moines, Iowa, designed the structure in 1922. Denver bridge contractor Charles G. Sheely built it in 1922-23 for just over $69,000. With its eleven 90-foot concrete arches, the bridge extended over 1,100 feet. A year after it was finished, light standards were installed that linked the bridge visually with Fort Morgan's Main . . . — Map (db m47194) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), Newtown — Washington – Rochambeau Revolutionary Route — Housatonic Crossing|
|French General Jean Baptiste Donatien de Vimeur, comte de Rochambeau, and thousands of French ground and naval forces arrived in Newport in July of 1780 to assist the Americans in the War for Independence. After wintering in Newport, Rochambeau’s troops marched through Connecticut to join General George Washington’s Continental Army just over the New York border. The combined forces moved down the eastern seaboard and confronted Lieutenant General Earl Cornwallis and the British army in . . . — Map (db m26915) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), Shelton — Commodore Isaac Hull Bridge|
| Commodore Isaac Hull
Named for the Heroic Commander
Of the U.S. Frigate “Constitution”
During Its Great Naval Victories
In the War of 1812
Born in Derby March 9, 1773
Resided in Shelton 1785 – 1794
This Memorial Tablet Placed by The
Derby Historical Society
1951 — Map (db m25381) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), Westport — The Post Road Bridge|
| The Post Road Bridge
1807 Westport was a prosperous shipping community with wharves, docks, and shipyards along both sides of the Saugatuck River. The first Post Road Bridge was owned and built by the Connecticut Turnpike Company, a public service corporation chartered in 1806 by the General Assembly to build a highway from Fairfield to Greenwich with four toll Gates. The Westport portion was called State Street. The bridge toll charge ranged from 25 cents for two-horse stages and . . . — Map (db m30644) HM|
|Connecticut (Hartford County), Hartford — The Founders Bridge|
Commemorating the men and women
who traveled here in 1636
with the Rev. Thomas Hooker
to found the City of Hartford
This plaque placed by
The Society of the Descendants Of the Founders of Hartford
in the year 2000 — Map (db m52620) HM|
|Connecticut (Litchfield County), New Milford — Falls Bridge|
| By the 1890’s New Milford’s old wooden bridges had outlived their usefulness, considering their age, the increasing amount of traffic and the coming of the horseless carriage. A sturdy and very ornate iron bridge, built by the Berlin Iron Bridge Company, had replaced the covered wooden bridge at Boardman’s crossing in 1888, and it’s performance and appearance pleased town officials. In early 1895, Granville M. Breinig, President of the Bridgeport Wood Finishing Company approached the town . . . — Map (db m22740) HM|
|Connecticut (New Haven County), Hamden — A. Frederick Oberlin Bridge|
The Memory Of
A. Frederick Oberlin
An Eminent Soldier
This Bridge Which Was Erected
Under His Supervision, Is Dedicated
By The Town of Hamden As
" A. Frederick Oberlin
Bridge" — Map (db m28747) HM|
|Connecticut (New Haven County), Meriden — Red Bridge|
| Length 78 feet – width 16 feet
Listed on the Register of
by the U.S. Department of
National Park Service
Erected in 1891
the Berlin Iron Bridge Company
Red Bridge is of lenticular pony truss design. It replaced a high sided wooden bridge at this location and remained in constant use until 1964 when the concrete and steel bridge just to the east was constructed. For many years Red Bridge and Oregon Road was the main route between the . . . — Map (db m26587) HM|
|Connecticut (New Haven County), Milford — Jefferson Bridge|
| Jefferson Bridge
Over Mill (Wepawaug) River
First Bridge 1802
Presidency of Thomas Jefferson
As a Part Of
Milford – New Haven Turnpike
Freelove Baldwin Stow Chapter
N S D A R
Milford, Conn. July 4, 1976 — Map (db m26441) HM|
|Connecticut (New Haven County), Milford — King’s Bridge — 1711|
| Site of
King’s Bridge - 1711
Peacocke Lane (Maple Street)
to Governor’s Lane (Avenue)
Freelove Baldwin Stow Chapter
July 4, 1962 — Map (db m26331) HM|
|Connecticut (New Haven County), Milford — Memorial to Three Milford Men — 1639 1939|
| [ east side of the column ]
This Bridge Dedicated
On the 300th Anniversary
Of the Settlement Of
The Town of Milford
A Memorial to Three
Milford Men Who Were
Governors of the Colony
State Of Connecticut
[ north side of the column ]
Born 1672 Died 1750
Served the Colony Of
For 25 Years
Deputy Governor 1725 1742
Governor 1742 1750
[ south side of the column ]
Charles Hobby Pond
Born 1781 Died 1861 . . . — Map (db m26445) HM|
|Connecticut (New Haven County), New Haven — Hillhouse Avenue Bridge|
|The original Hillhouse Avenue Bridge was one of fourteen bridges provided by the Farmington Canal Company to carry city streets across the canal. The wooden bridge at this site rested on abutments of unmortared rubble. The New Haven construction firm of Punderson & Atwater built the bridge in 1829.|
In 1848 the canal was replaced by a railroad. Portions of the canal rubble abutments were rebuilt and raised using stepped square cut stone. The railroad era bridge was maintained by the New . . . — Map (db m57663) HM
|Delaware (New Castle County), Hockessin — Ashland Bridge — Red Clay Creek — Listed on National Register of Historic Places – 1973|
| Original Town Lattice Truss Covered Bridge – ca. 1850
Bridge Deck Rehabilitated – 1964
Listed on National Register of Historic Places – 1973
Complete Rehabilitation & Steel Beams Added – 1982
Rehabilitated Stone Foundation and
Replaced Timber Roof, Siding and Deck – 2008
—————— • ——————
Engineering & Project Management – Delaware DOT
General Contractor – Eastern . . . — Map (db m62043) HM|
|Delaware (New Castle County), New Castle — Delaware Memorial Bridge — 1951 - 1968 — Dedicated to the Delaware & New Jersey Veterans of WWII|
| Delaware Memorial Bridge
1951 - 1968
South Span Dedicated August 18, 1951
North Span Dedicated September 12, 1968
Vice President Hubert H. Humphrey dedicated these Bridges on September 12, 1968 to the Men and Women of the State of Delaware and the State of New Jersey who gave their lives in the Armed Forces of the United States of America during World War II and its subsequent military conflicts.
The Delaware River and Bay Authority
Governor of Delaware: . . . — Map (db m68255) HM WM|
|Delaware (New Castle County), New Castle — Delaware River and Bay Authority Veterans Dedication|
| Dedicated to our Veterans
Whose Loyalty and Service during times of war and peace define the character of this great Nation — Map (db m68462) WM|
|Delaware (New Castle County), Newark — Battle of Cooch's Bridge|
|American light infantry and cavalry under General William Maxwell encountered advance guard of British and Hessian troops under Generals Howe, Cornwallis and Knyphausen in this vicinity September 3, 1777. American troops were expert marksmen drafted by General Washington from the several brigades of his army then encamped near Wilmington. Only battle of American Revolution on Delaware soil and claimed to have been the first in which the Stars and Stripes were carried. Erected by the Patriotic . . . — Map (db m9774) HM|
|Delaware (New Castle County), Newark — The Battle of Cooch's Bridge|
|On September 3, 1777 over 800 Americans forming the Light Infantry Corps of Brigadier General William Maxwell engaged about 2,000 British Light Infantry and Hessian and Anspach "Jägers" (light infantry) in a series of skirmishes ending at Cooch's Bridge.
Maxwell's newly-formed corps was composed of Continentals from New Jersey, North Carolina, Pennsylvania and Virginia, as well as militia from New Castle and Chester counties. For one week Maxwell's Corps had harassed and scouted the . . . — Map (db m10055) HM|
|District of Columbia, Washington — The ›Duke‹ Ellington Memorial Bridge|
Named in honor of
Edward Kennedy Ellington
Composer - Performer - Playwright
International Statesman of Goodwill — Map (db m67913) HM|
|District of Columbia (Washington), Brookland — Charles Richard Drew Memorial Bridge|
|Named in honor of Dr. Charles Richard Drew, 1904-1950 esteemed citizen of the District of Columbia athlete, scholar, surgeon, and scientist whose discoveries in blood preservation saved thousands of lives. — Map (db m6262) HM|
|District of Columbia (Washington), Georgetown — Francis Scott Key Park|
|A Place With Its Own History.
Before 1620 the area of the Francis Scott Key Park was inhabited by members of the Algonquian, Nacostine, Nacotchatank, Piscatoway and Patawomeke tribes. In 1634 it became part of the English Colony of Maryland.
Beginning in the 18th Century, Falls or M Street (1) was the trail to the Potomac river falls, and Frederick or 34th Street (2) was the access to the west landing of the port of George Town and Hite's Ferry (3) to Virginia. George Washington . . . — Map (db m119) HM|
|District of Columbia (Washington), Southeast — Whitney M. Young, Jr. Memorial Bridge|
|Named in honor of
Whitney Moore Young, Jr.
Humanitarian-scholar and venerable leader of the National Urban League whose work produced landmark changes in civil rights laws and notable progress towards social and economic justice in America. — Map (db m15606) HM|
|Florida (Brevard County), Melbourne — Eau Gallie Bridge to the Beach|
|The first wooden bridge from Eau Gallie to "Eau Gallie Beach" was started in 1924. The bridge was formally opened in February 1926. Soon after John R. Mathers began plans to build a bridge from the barrier island to the tip of Merritt Island. That bridge, spanning the Banana River was completed in 1927.
The Eau Gallie bridge frequently caught fire. Joe Wickham, who was chief of the volunteer fire department, recalled that during one period the bridge caught fire 16 times in a two week . . . — Map (db m52543) HM|
|Florida (Columbia County), High Springs — Bellamy Road|
|Florida Historic Civil Engineering Landmark. Near this point, the Bellamy Road crossed the Santa Fe River. The road was named for its builder, John Bellamy, a civil engineer. Approved by Congress in 1824 and completed in 1826, it was the first Federally funded road in Florida, connecting St. Augustine and Tallahassee. — Map (db m3381) HM|
|Florida (Hillsborough County), Tampa — Hillsborough River Ferry — — 1846~1888 —|
|At the nearby junction of Jackson Street and the Hillsborough River was the east bank docking site of the Tampa Ferry, the only means of crossing the river in pioneer days. The ferry was an open deck, flat barge, hand pulled by means of a steel cable. It operated until 1888, when construction of the first bridge terminated its usefulness.
Appointed by the County Commissioners, the first ferryman was Thomas Piper, 1846; followed by Benjamin J. Hagler, 1848; Gen. Jesse Carter, 1854; Domenico Ghira, 1864; Jesse J. Hayden 1869. — Map (db m33800) HM|
|Florida (Levy County), Fanning Springs — Fanning Springs Bridge|
|The Fanning Springs Bridge was built by the State of Florida.
In 1934 it was officially named the Benjamin Chaires Bridge in honor of a prominent pioneer settler of Dixie County.
Located 29 miles north of the Gulf of Mexico, it held the distinction of being the southernmost Suwannee River crossing.
When the bridge was completed residents from surrounding areas were so jubilant that they staged a square dance on the structure to celebrate the occasion.
Because the bridge does hold . . . — Map (db m17709) HM|
|Florida (Monroe County), Marathon — Seven-Mile Historic Bridge|
|Constructed between 1908 & 1912 as a railway bridge. The bridge was modified in 1935 for the use of automobiles until 1982. — Map (db m59076) HM|
|Florida (Pasco County), Dade City — Lanier Bridge|
| Front The first bridge crossing the Withlacoochee River at this site was built in the 1850's by slaves belonging to James Lanier. Replaced several times during the following century, the bridge served lumber, turpentine and cattle operations along with several short-lived small towns including Ashley and Titanic. Some timbers from one of the early bridges remain in the river about 100 yards downstream. During the Second Seminole War, Old Tiger Tail, a prominent War Chief, had his camp . . . — Map (db m66331) HM|
|Florida (Pinellas County), Clearwater — Magnolia Drive Dock|
|Originally built circa 1925, the Magnolia Drive Dock was a Harbor Oaks landmark for many years as a neighborhood gathering spot for picnics, weddings, fishing, block parties, and relaxing evenings watching the sunsets. After standing for 68 years it was destroyed by the “Storm of the Century” on March 13-14, 1993. Following many delays, reconstruction began on September 13, 1997. Work was completed and the dock opened April 8, 1998. — Map (db m3253) HM|
|Florida (Pinellas County), Clearwater — The Seminole Bridge|
|The Seminole Bridge was the original link to Clearwater Beach. Completed in 1917, the wooden bridge opened up access to the beach and paved the way for its first development. The bridge terminated where the Palm Pavilion stands today. It became known as the “Rickety Bridge” because the unforgiving Florida sun warped the boards, popping out the nails at either end. Automobiles would “clippity-clop” along at a slow, noisy pace. A turnstile allowed boats to pass through. . . . — Map (db m3252) HM|
|Florida (Saint Johns County), St. Augustine — The Francis and Mary Usina Bridge|
|Named in honor of the St. Augustine and North Beach civic leaders, Francis E. and Mary Borum Usina. Just as the bridge spans the North River to connect the St. Augustine mainland with Vilano and North Beach, so too the Usinas were strong links between the communities. For half a century Captain Usina skippered the sightseeing vessel, Victory II, on Matanzas Bay; with his wife Mary he pioneered in development and improvement of North Beach as St. Augustine expanded to include that area. . . . — Map (db m47557) HM|
|Florida (Sarasota County), Venice — Colonel George Kumpe Bridge|
of Florida — Map (db m4878) HM|
|Florida (Seminole County), Sanford — Lake Monroe Bridge|
| Front The Lake Monroe Bridge was the first electrically operated swing bridge in Florida. In 1932-33 the State used federal assistance to build this bridge, which replaced a wooden toll bridge that was manually operated. The construction of the bridge provided economic relief for an area hurt by the economic collapse of the Depression era. The bridge was fabricated by Ingall's Iron Works of Birmingham, Alabama; the swing machinery manufactured by Earle Gear and Machine Co., . . . — Map (db m45490) HM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Cartersville — 003-8 — Milam's Bridge|
|The covered structure over the Etowah here, was burned by Jackson´s [CS] Cav. May 21, 1864, the day after Johnston´s [CS] passage of the river at State R.R. Bridge. May 23rd, the 2 pontoon bridges intended for the passage of Schofield´s 23d A.C. [US] were usurped by the 20th A.C. [US] (mistakenly diverted from Gillem´s bridge) and the 23d A.C. did not cross until the 24th. This and crossings lower down were on Federal routes from Kingston & Cassville toward Dallas, Paulding Co. Sherman [US] . . . — Map (db m13840) HM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Euharlee — 8-1 — Euharlee Creek Covered Bridge|
|In 1886 the county contracted with Washington W. King, son of freed slave and noted bridge builder Horace King, and Jonathan H. Burke for the construction of this 138-foot bridge. It was adjacent to a mill owned by Daniel Lowry, of which the foundation is still evident. This bridge replaced several previous structures, the last having been built two years prior. Constructed in the Town lattice design, the bridge’s web of planks
crisscrossing at 45-to 60-degree angles are fastened with wooden pegs, or trunnels, at each intersection. — Map (db m8478) HM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Kingston — 008-11 — Woolley's Bridge|
|In 1864, this covered structure spanned the Etowah River on the plantation of Andrew F. Woolley, 0.5 mi. S. Next to the river was the Rome - Kingston R.R. discontinued, 1943. May 19, McPherson´s Army of the Tenn. (15th & 16th Corps) [US] arched from Barnsley´s and camped on the Woolley Plantation. This right wing of Sherman´s advance, Kingston to Dallas, -- crossed the river, May 23d. October 11, while encamped on the Woolley Plantation, the Ohio soldiers of the 23d [US] Corps, voted in a State Election. — Map (db m13925) HM|
|Georgia (Chatham County), Savannah — 11 — Crossing the Savannah|
|Although the Savannah River provided an avenue to the sea, it also presented a barrier to overland travel and transportation. Rochester Ferry, later named Screven's Ferry, was established in 1762 and connected Savannah with a roadway in South Carolina. This location was the main river crossing site in Savannah for over 160 years. Ferries provided a method of transporting goods from South Carolina to the shipping center of Savannah. They also provided regular service for employees who worked the . . . — Map (db m19450) HM|
|Georgia (Clay County), Fort Gaines — The Old Lattice Bridge|
The second covered bridge across the Chattahoochee River, connecting Clay County, Georgia and Henry County. Alabama was constructed between 1867-69. Bonner and Walden, a New York construction company, were the original contractors but the bridge was completed by Horace King. After the three span bridge collapsed during the flood of March 1875, the original stockholders relinquished control of the structure to the City of Fort Gaines on the condition that the city should . . . — Map (db m48057) HM|
|Georgia (Cobb County), Atlanta — 033-84 — Site: Hardy Pace’s Res. Howard’s Headquarters|
|Hardy Pace (1785-1864), operated the Chattahoochee River ferry at site of bridge where Pace’s Ferry rd. crosses. Federal forces occupied Vining’s Station, July 5-17, 1864, while preparing to cross at Pace’s & Power’s for the move on Atlanta. Gen. O. O. Howard, 4th A. C., had headquarters at the Pace res., July 5-10. Vining’s temporary terminal of the R. R., was the subsistence & ammunition dump of the Federal army during the siege & capture of Atlanta. Wounded from the Atlanta front were sent . . . — Map (db m29944) HM|
|Georgia (Cook County), Adel — 037-5 — Reed Bingham State Park Bridge|
|This bridge, which connects the Cook County side of Reed Bingham State Park with the Colquitt County side, was completed in 1974 and was dedicated on July 13, 1974 by Governor Jimmy Carter.
Serving as an outstanding state park facility for South Georgia since 1958, this park located on Little River was separated by the river and needed a bridge to connect the two heavily used areas of the park and facilitate public usage.
Many improvements to Reed Bingham State Park were made . . . — Map (db m17867) HM|
|Georgia (Dekalb County), Stone Mountain — Covered Bridge|
|"Covered bridges" or "lattice bridges" were
common throughout the Eastern U.S, during the
nineteenth century. This bridge formerly
spanned the North Fork of the Oconee River in
the city of Athens, Ga.. connecting College
Avenue and Hobson Avenue.
Clarke County Ordinary S.M. Herrington let a
building contract 26 March, 1891, for $2,470.
to W.W. King. It cost $18,000 to move the
bridge from Athens, 60 miles, to this point.
Bridges like this were refuge for travelers
during storms, . . . — Map (db m11054) HM|
|Georgia (Dooly County), Vienna — The Luther Story Bridge|
|The Luther Story Bridge honoring Luther Story and other veterans from Sumter County and the following named veterans from Dooly County, all of whom gave their lives in World War II or the Korean War:
Blue, John Augusta
Bryant, Walter L.
Culberth, George W.
Dennard, Henry L.
Ellison, E. Boyd
Everett, James M.
Folds, Charles W.
Gazaway, Glenn G.
Godfrey, Edgar R.
Goodroe, Leonard B.
Greene, Burwell . . . — Map (db m53353) WM|
|Georgia (Early County), Blakely — Covered Bridge 2 Mi. — <-----<<<|
|The covered bridge over Coheelee Creek, two miles north on the Old River Road, was ordered built by the Early County Board of Commissioners in 1883. It was erected by J. M. Baughman. Commissioners were J. S. Moseley, W. C. Sheffield, H. C. Fryer, and J. P. Lane. The Peter Early Chapter, Daughters of the American Revolution, were made custodians of this bridge by order of the Board of Commissioners of Roads and Revenue of Early County, on August 6, 1957. C.E. Martin, Chairman; Mrs. George Nelson, Regent, DAR. — Map (db m48327) HM|
|Georgia (Early County), Hilton — 49-1 — Coheelee Creek Covered Bridge|
|The construction of this 121-foot bridge at McDonald’s Ford was first authorized by the county in 1883, though construction was delayed until 1891. It was completed in four months by J.W. Baughman and thirty-six workers as a modification of the queen post
truss design. The trusses have a horizontal cross piece extending across a center post flanked by two compression timbers slanting down and outwards with a set of iron rods slanting down and inwards. The concrete abutments were added in 1958. . . . — Map (db m14850) HM|
|Georgia (Early County), Hilton — Coheelee Creek Covered Bridge / Fannie Askew Williams Park|
|Coheelee Creek Covered Bridge
According to the May 2, 1883 minutes of the Early County Board of Commissioners, a commission was appointed "to inquire into the practicability of construction a bridge across Coheelee Creek at McDonald Ford." However, the construction contract was not let until July 7, 1891. Cost of labor was $490.41 with J. W. Baughman serving as supervisor and W. C. Sheffield, Chairman of the 1891 Commissioners.
Fannie Askew Williams Park
The Fannie Askew Williams . . . — Map (db m8503) HM|
|Georgia (Forsyth County), Cumming — 58-1 — Poole's Mill Covered Bridge|
|Cherokee Chief George Welch constructed a grist mill here on his extensive homeplace c. 1820. An uncovered bridge was later added. With the 1838 removal of the Cherokees, the land was sold to Jacob Scudder. Dr. M. L. Pool purchased it from Scudder´s family in 1880. Abandoned in 1947, the mill burned in 1959. The original bridge washed away in 1899 and was replaced with the present 96-foot structure in 1901. Constructed in the Town lattice design by Bud Gentry, the bridge´s web of planks . . . — Map (db m14944) HM|
|Georgia (Franklin County), Franklin Springs — 59-3 — Cromer's Mill Covered Bridge|
|The Cromers settled on Nails Creek in Franklin County in 1845. Prior to the Civil War, the family operated a woolen mill near this site. Subsequently, the area maintained a cotton gin, flour mill and saw mill, though all operations had ceased by 1943. In 1907, the
county contracted with James M. Hunt to build the present 110-foot bridge. Constructed in the Town lattice design, the bridge´s web of planks crisscrossing at 45-to 60-degree angles are fastened with wooden pegs, or trunnels, at each . . . — Map (db m14932) HM|
|Georgia (Harris County), Fortson — 072-10 — Bartlett's Ferry Dam; Antioch Baptist Church — <-- 1 ½ MI. --<|
|Rev. Simpson Wilson Barley (1827-1884), minister and doctor, operated a ferry, known as Bartley’s Ferry, 1 ½ miles west on the Chattahoochee River. He preached at the nearby Antioch Baptist Church, one of the earliest in this section, and is buried in the churchyard. The first known pastor (1839) was Rev. Jacob White David (1790-1871) and first Clerk, Fortunatus Webb.
In 1926, Barley’s Ferry Dam (misspelled Bartlett), largest in the middle Chattahoochee group, was built and a . . . — Map (db m36165) HM|
|Georgia (Harris County), Pine Mountain — 072-8 — Franklin D. Roosevelt Memorial Bridge|
|Pine Mountain Scenic Highway & this bridge, spanning historic King’s Gap, are living monuments to President Roosevelt’s abiding interest in the natural features of Warm Springs’ environs. He, personally, selected the location of this road atop Pine Mtn. & with Federal funds available, forwarded construction.
King’s Gap, a natural break in the Pine Mtn. barrier, was the site of an early settlement on the stage route between Newnan & Columbus. King’s Gap Post Office functioned from May 16, . . . — Map (db m22020) HM|
|Georgia (Hart County), Hartwell — Louie Morris Memorial Bridge — January 17 , 1893 - May 10 , 1955|
Formerly located upsteam 2 miles at
Old Brown's Ferry
Louie Morris Bridge
Erected by the Highway Departments of South
Carolina and Georgia, in co-operation with
the U.S. Bureau Of Public Roads.
Named in honor of Louie Morris, Editor of the
Hartwell Sun in recognition of his untiring
efforts in securing its erection.
Dedicated October 11, 1940. — Map (db m21562) HM|
|Georgia (Long County), Ludowici — 091-6 — The Defense of the Altamaha Bridge|
|On Dec 1, 1864, while General Sherman's army was on its destructive march to the Sea, the Fourth Brigade, Georgia Militia, Brig. Gen. H. K. McKay, reached Morgan's Lake (0.7 mile SE) to defend the Savannah and Gulf (ACL) RR bridge over the Altamaha River at Doctor Town (1.5 miles S). Earthworks were built on the north bank and two 32-pounder rifled guns were mounted at Doctor Town to sweep the bridge. A light gun mounted on an engine supported two companies of infantry at Morgan's Lake. On the . . . — Map (db m4853) HM|
|Georgia (Meriwether County), Edman — 99-2 — Red Oak Creek Covered Bridge|
|This bridge was built in the 1840s by freed slave and noted bridge builder Horace King (1807-1885). Constructed on the Town lattice design, the bridge’s web of planks crisscrossing at 45- to 60-degree angles are fastened at each intersection with a total of approximately 2,500 wooden pegs, or trunnels. Although King is credited with the construction of many covered bridges throughout west Georgia, this is his only surviving bridge of this design. At 391 feet, including the approaches, this . . . — Map (db m57329) HM|
|Georgia (Monroe County), Dames Ferry — 102-9 — Dames Ferry|
|In 1808, widow Mary Green Dame and her six children settled in Jones County. Two sons, George and John, builders by trade, built a house on the east side of the Ocmulgee River. Zachariah Booth owned and operated the first ferry here. It was probably built by George and John Dame. John Brooking Dame married two of Booth's daughters. First Polly in 1811, then Mildred in 1815. He also bought Booth`s Ferry in 1838. A community grew up around this ferry and was called "Dames Ferry." Dames Ferry . . . — Map (db m10087) HM|
|Georgia (Muscogee County), Columbus — Leonard Spring — Columbus’ Original Source of Water|
|In 1839 citizens first called for the development of a water works system. On this site is located the original source of water for drinking and general household use for Columbus. Beginning in 1844, Leonard Spring, with a discharge of 200,000 gallons a day, provided water to the City through a series of wooden pipes. Water was piped to Broad Street by way of Randolph Street, now known as 12th Street. In the 1880's city water was obtained from Lee County, Alabama. The present water plant on . . . — Map (db m22484) HM|
|Georgia (Oconee County), Watkinsville — 108-1 — Elder Mill Covered Bridge|
|Built in 1897 by Nathaniel Richardson, this 99-foot-long bridge originally carried the Watkinsville-Athens Road over Calls Creek. It was moved here to
Rose Creek in 1924 and the road was relocated to its present site. The nearby c. 1900 grist mill ceased operation in 1941. Constructed in the Town lattice
design, the bridge's web of planks crisscrossing at 45- to 60-degree angles are fastened with wooden pegs, or trunnels, at each intersection. It is one of the few covered bridges in Georgia . . . — Map (db m14945) HM|
|Georgia (Oglethorpe County), Comer — 109-8 — Watson Mill Bridge|
|Built by W.W. King in 1885, Watson Mill Bridge is Georgia’s longest existing covered bridge. Of the Town lattice type it has four spans and is 236 feet long.|
Covered primarily to protect the structural timbers, the bridge served local traffic, the workers of the now missing grist mill and saw mill and even for picnics and square dances.
The bridge was restored in 1973, by the Georgia Department of Transportation to serve as a nucleus for the surrounding state park. — Map (db m47310) HM
|Georgia (Oglethorpe County), Smithonia — 109-2 — Howard's Covered Bridge|
|Built in 1904-05 to replace an earlier structure, this bridge bears the name of a pioneer family who settled near Big Cloud’s Creek in the late 1700s. Constructed in the Town lattice design using convict labor, the 164-foot bridge’s web of planks crisscrosses at 45-to 60-degree angles and are fastened with wooden pegs, or trunnels, at each intersection. The south Georgia timber used in the bridge was transported to Smithonia via the Smith and Dunlap Railroad, a standard gauge steam railroad . . . — Map (db m8989) HM|
|Georgia (Richmond County), Augusta — Archibald Willingham Butt Memorial Bridge|
|In Honor Of
Archibald Willingham Butt
Born in Augusta Sept. 26, 1865.
Graduated in the University
of the South, 1880
Major in the United States Army.
of two presidents.
Major Butt went to his death
on the steamer Titanic after
the rescue of the women and
children from that ill-fated
vessel, April 15, 1912.
In memory of his noble and lovable
qualities as a man, his courage and
high sense of duty as a soldier
WH Taft . . . — Map (db m34993) HM|
|Georgia (Sumter County), Leslie — The Luther Story Bridge|
|The Luther Story Bridge honoring Luther Story and veterans from Dooly County and the following named veterans from Sumter County, all of whom gave their lives in World War II or the Korean War:
Autry, James A., Jr.
Bankston, Howard D., Jr.
Bolin, William T.
Bowers, Harry G.
Bridges, Steve P.
Copeland, Paul L.
Cranford, James W.
Deloach, Samuel G.
Dupree, William A.
Eldridge, Griffith M.
Ethridge, William F.
Ferguson, Roy B. . . . — Map (db m53356) WM|
|Georgia (Troup County), LaGrange — Horace King Bridge Builder|
|Born a slave September 8, 1807, Horace King became a noted builder of covered bridges and public buildings. His talents developed under the instruction of his master and friend, John Godwin. In 1846, Godwin secured King’s freedom through the Alabama Legislature. King used the Town lattice truss design on bridges throughout the South. With his sons, he built at least four bridges across the Chattahoochee River in Troup County. King served two terms in the Alabama Legislature before moving to . . . — Map (db m22254) HM|
|Georgia (Walker County), Pond Spring — Gowan’s (Gower’s) Ford And Widow Glenn’s Grave — Chickamauga Campaign Heritage Trail|
|In mid-September 1863, General John M. Palmer’s division of the 21st Army Corps was assigned to the duty of guarding the fords on West Chickamauga Creek. A primary Federal objective was keeping the Confederates on the east side of the creek while the federal army moved up to position. Two of the most important of these crossing places were Owen’s and Gower’s Fords. “On September 15, [I] started at daylight for Chickamauga Valley,” General Palmer reported. “Marched by way of . . . — Map (db m11986) HM|
|Georgia (White County), Sautee — 154-1 — Stovall Mill Covered Bridge|
|Fred Dover constructed a bridge and nearby grist, saw and shingle mill complex here in the late 1800s. The original bridge washed away in the early 1890s and Will Pardue replaced it in 1895 with the present 38-foot structure. Dover sold the operation to Fred Stovall, Sr. in 1917. The mill and dam washed away in 1964. Constructed as a modification of the queen post truss design, the bridge’s trusses have two vertical posts (with iron rods) separated by a horizontal crosspiece. The bridge was . . . — Map (db m8984) HM|
|Idaho (Bonneville County), Idaho Falls — 224 — Eagle Rock Ferry|
|On June 20, 1863, Bill Hickman started a ferry 9 miles up Snake River for thousands of gold hunters headed for mines that now are in Montana.
Named for an eagle that had a nest on a rock there, his ferry flourished until James Madison Taylor replaced it two years later with a bridge across a narrow lava gorge here. Idaho Falls eventually grew up around Taylor’s bridge. — Map (db m70584) HM|
|Idaho (Bonneville County), Idaho Falls — 183 — Snake River Bridge|
|On December 10, 1864 a franchise was granted to Edward M. Morgan, James M. (Matt) Taylor, and William F. Bartlett to operate a ferry one and one-half miles below Cedar Island and build a bridge over Snake River at Black Canyon. Mr. Taylor selected the bridge site and in 1864-65 erected an 83 foot wooden span with solid rock anchorage on both sides. It was a modified queens truss type. The first bridge to cross Snake River was located 1320 feet south of this spot. A replica of the bridge tops this monument. — Map (db m70571) HM|
|Idaho (Bonneville County), Idaho Falls — 223 — Taylor's Bridge|
|Idaho’s earliest toll bridge spanned Snake River at this rocky site in 1865, replacing Eagle Rock Ferry, 9 miles upstream.
James Madison Taylor (a relative of Presidents Madison and Taylor and a founder of Denver, Colorado) settled here in 1864 to develop an improved route for his freight line from Salt Lake to Montana’s new gold mines. After his bridge was built, telegraph service reached here, July 16, 1866 an Eagle Rock (as Idaho Falls was known until 1890) became a regional . . . — Map (db m70583) HM|
|Idaho (Franklin County), Preston — 236 — Pioneer Ferry and Bridge|
|Concrete shaft located one-half mile west on Bear River marks the site of the Nathan Williams Packer Toll Ferry and Bridge, one of the first on the river. The ferry operated with rope and carried equivalent of one team and wagon. In 1869 a bridge was built for use of mail and stage coaches en route to Montana mines, but was washed out. Rebuilt of cribs and log piling. Again destroyed by high waters. Across the river is the site of Bridge Port, an overland station consisting of dugouts and log . . . — Map (db m48977) HM|
|Idaho (Shoshone County), Avery — Bridging the Gaps|
Wood to Steel
The Milwaukee Road built temporary wood trestles at all but Kelly Creek and Clear Creek. Fire danger prompted the railroad to immediately begin replacing the wooden structures with earth-filled embankments or building steel bridges inside and over them.
The Milwaukee used a relatively new steel design—“deck girder bridges” with solid concrete floors. Large “I” beams on top of steel towers supported “U” shaped concrete . . . — Map (db m45614) HM|
|Idaho (Shoshone County), Avery — Temporary Trestles|
Get the Line Open Quickly!
That was the policy of the Milwaukee Road. To do this in 1907 and 1908, the Chicago, Milwaukee & Puget Sound Railroad built numerous sturdy, but short-lived, wood trestles to prepare the new line for track as soon as possible.
Over the Bitterroot Mountains alone, the railroad constructed twenty-nine of these temporary trestles with a combined length of over 10,000 feet and an average height of about 110 feet.
These structures required the use of . . . — Map (db m45579) HM|
|Idaho (Shoshone County), Avery — The Traveler|
An astonishing contraption called “The Traveler”, a giant rolling crane, erected Kelly and Clear Creek Trestles in record time.
The Milwaukee decided to build Kelly and Clear Creek Trestles out of steel right From the beginning.
Horse and mule teams had already hauled in the concrete for the foundations of the two bridges during the early construction period in 1908.
Pre-fabricated steel bridge pieces, shipped from the eastern United Slates, arrived just as the . . . — Map (db m45618) HM|
|Idaho (Twin Falls County), Hansen — 393 — Hansen Bridge|
|Until 1919, when a high suspension bridge was completed here, this 16-mile long river gorge could be crossed only in a rowboat. With 14 cables, each more than 900 feet long, a $100,000 suspension bridge was wide enough to accommodate two lanes of farm wagons or early cars that had begun to gain popularity then. From it's deck, nearly 400 feet above Snake River, travelers had a spectacular view that still can be seen from it's replacement, built in 1966. — Map (db m62131) HM|
|Idaho (Twin Falls County), Twin Falls — Ira Burton Perrine — May 7, 1861-Oct 2, 1943 — Sculpted by Ralph Lehrman|
|I. B. Perrine was an early Twin Falls settler and developer who made his home — Blue Lakes Ranch — in the Snake River Canyon. His vision, planning and dedication led to Twin Falls growth from a desert outpost to a flourishing city. — Map (db m62964) HM|
|Idaho (Twin Falls County), Twin Falls — Perrine Memorial Bridge|
| Lower marker:
The structure you now see spanning the Snake River Canyon was completed in July 1976 at a cost of $9,700,000. It is 1500 feet in length with the roadway approximately 480 feet above the Snake River. This arch structure replaced the truss bridge depicted in the above etching. The original structure, built as a toll facility in 1927 at a cost of $650,000, was purchased by the state of Idaho in 1940. The plaque above commemorates the May 31, 1940 dedication of the bridge to . . . — Map (db m62965) HM|
|Idaho (Twin Falls County), Twin Falls — Robert Evel Knievel — Explorer, Motorcyclist and Daredevil|
|Attempted a mile long leap of the Snake River Canyon on Sept. 8, 1974 employing a unique skycycle. The large dirt ramp is visible approx. 2 miles east of this point on the south ridge of the canyon. Donated to the community by Sunset Memorial — Map (db m62966) HM|
|Illinois (Alexander County), Cairo — The Ohio River Bridge — Cairo, Illinois - Wickliffe, Kentucky|
|Completed November 11, 1933 Freed of Tolls November 11, 1948 by The Cairo Bridge Commission The Ohio River Bridge was conceived and built in the public interest by the Cairo Bridge Commission with the cooperation of the Federal Emergency Administration of Public Works and the Highway Departments of Illinois and Kentucky. The Bridge was operated and maintained by the commission and as a result of the untiring efforts of many public spirited citizens, the commission was able to repay all costs . . . — Map (db m19421) HM|
|Illinois (Bureau County), Wyanet — The Hennepin Canal|
|Hennepin Canal Parkway
Anatomy of a Canal: Canals like the Hennepin are manmade waterways for boats to travel on. Many canals are built to make shortcuts between two existing bodies of water. The Hennepin Canal was built to carry cargo barges between the Illinois and Mississippi Rivers. It cut out over 400 miles off the river route from Chicago to Rock Island. The Hennepin Canal links up with the Rock River for eight miles between Green Rock and Milan. Vital Features: A . . . — Map (db m44828) HM|
|Illinois (Carroll County), Lanark — A Stone Arch Bridge on the Galena Road|
|The Stone Arch Bridge that stands to the east of the present highway was on the Galena Road, once the most important trail in northern Illinois. Along this route innumerable people streamed northward to the lead mines near Galena every spring and many returned southward in the fall. The movement was likened to that of the fish called Sucker, from which the State received its nickname.
This portion of the road from Dixon was surveyed in 1830 as the road from Woodbine Springs to Ogee's . . . — Map (db m55806) HM|
|Illinois (Clark County), Marshall — Fancher Pony Truss Bridge|
| Hiram B. Trout and his brother, Everett Trout, were born on a farm about five miles north of this location. They operated a machine shop in Shelbyville, Illinois in the late 1800’s at which in time they invented and patented the unique design for this Pony Truss bridge. They built about 150 of these bridges between 1892 and 1897 which were erected in Shelby and neighboring counties. The design feature which makes this bridge unique is the use of round pipe in the top chords, end posts, and . . . — Map (db m59336) HM|
|Illinois (Clark County), Marshall — Old Stone Arch Bridge|
|This Bridge was completed by Army Engineers sometime between 1834 and 1837 as part of the Old National Road, between Cumberland, Maryland and Vandalia, Illinois, was authorized by the enabling act of 1803 and was the Nation's first federally financed highway. The Bridge is a prime example of the Stone-building art and early American Engineering. Stones were precisely cut and fitted together without bond or mortar. Many stone arch bridges were built along the Cumberland Road, but this was the . . . — Map (db m71127) HM|
|Illinois (McLean County), Normal — Historic Camelback Bridge|
|The town of Normal was created at the junction of the Illinois Central and the Chicago and Alton Railroads. The Camelback Bridge is the last surviving structure in Normal associated with the railroad. Its location was chosen because here the railroad builders had been forced to excavate a deep cut through the crest of the Normal Moraine. Even so, the bridge had to be built with a distinctive "camelback" shape in order to permit early wood burning locomotives, with their tall stacks, to pass . . . — Map (db m58105) HM|
|Illinois (Vermilion County), Danville — Robert E. Wurtsbaugh — 1930 - - 1950|
Korean War Hero
Dedicated May 30, 1989 — Map (db m32574) WM|
|Indiana (Carroll County), Burnettsville — Burnett's Creek Arch|
|Built in 1840 for Burnett's Creek to pass under Wabash and Erie Canal — Map (db m35488) HM|
|Indiana (Carroll County), Cutler — Adams Mill|
|In 1831 John Adams, Pennsylvania, built a saw mill here. In 1832 he entered land, in 1835-36 added a flouring mill. The present building was erected in 1845, restored by M. & Mrs. Claude Sheets in 1840. Boliver Village was platted around the mill in 1837 and Wild Cat P.O., 1850-1894 was in the mill. Warren Adams ran the mill after 1861. Masonic lodge organized at the mill 1864. The covered bridge built 1872. — Map (db m42694) HM|
|Indiana (Carroll County), Delphi — Carrollton on the Wabash|
|90 lots platted in 1836 on both sides of Wabash - Erie Canal lock.
A Post office in 1838 - 39. The lock passed canal boats into the river on the pool of the Great Dam at Pittsburg five miles below. The mules carried the towline across the covered bridge to the towpath on the south bank and rehitched. The Mentzer Tavern stood here until 1915. Speece Bros. Warehouse and the Fort Dearborn Trail were ½ mile east. — Map (db m35413) HM|
|Indiana (Carroll County), Delphi — Mentzer Tavern — Grantham's Overlook|
|Carrollton on the Wabash
The Mentzer Tavern was built in 1840 at the north end of the Carrollton Towing Path Bridge that crossed the Wabash River. Erected by Ignatius Mentzer and George Friday, it opened as a cooper shop where barrels were made and later the building was converted to an inn.
Packet or passenger boats served meals and were equipped with sleeping berths. Other canal travelers, on Line Boats or anyone who had reached their destination, needed a hotel or inn often called a . . . — Map (db m35438) HM|
|Indiana (Carroll County), Delphi — The Carrollton Bridge|
The Wabash & Erie Canal meets the Wabash River
Carroll County Wabash & Erie Canal
See Photo #2:
1844 Timber Truss Bridge
The Wabash and Erie Canal authorities built the first bridge here in 1844 to accommodate the Canal’s only main line crossing of the Wabash River. The bridge superstructure consisted of five fixed and one draw timber spans. A walkway on the west side carried a track for a small mule-powered tramcar which towed canal . . . — Map (db m35445) HM|
|Indiana (Carroll County), Delphi — The Wabash & Erie Canal — Operating The Canal|
The Longest Canal in North America
Carroll County Wabash & Erie Canal
The Wabash & Erie Canal extended 468 miles
from Toledo, Ohio to Evansville, Indiana
On March 2, 1827, a Congressional land grant made possible a continuous waterway connecting the Eastern Seaboard through Lake Erie to the Gulf of Mexico. The grant provided for the construction of a 168 mile long canal from the mouth of Ohio’s Auglaize River on the Maumee River across a land portage . . . — Map (db m35449) HM|
|Indiana (Dearborn County), Lawrenceburg — James Buchanan Eads|
|Born in Lawrenceburg, became a famous engineer who built the Eads Bridge arched over the Mississippi at St. Louis and jetties at New Orleans. During the Civil War President Lincoln commissioned him to design and build ironclad gunboats for the Union forces. He is the only Hoosier and the only engineer in the Hall of Fame in New York.
Born May 23, 1828 Died March 8, 1887 — Map (db m66910) HM|
|Indiana (Decatur County), Greensburg — Decatur County (Indiana) Bridge 140 — Bridge Moved|
|Built by the Pan-American Bridge Company of New Castle, Indiana, in 1915. This bridge originally carried County Road 700 South over Sand Creek, 2.5 miles East of Letts, Indiana. This bridge was disassembled, rehabilitated, and reconstructed at this location in 2006. Below is a Plaque that was mounted on the bridge when it was at its oribinal location.
Force Construction Company, Inc.
Decatur County Commissioners:
Jerome . . . — Map (db m22028) HM|
|Indiana (DeKalb County), Spencerville — 17.1996.1 — Spencerville Covered Bridge|
|Built 1873, by John A. McKay, spanning Saint Joseph River; a Smith Truss, Variant Four, by Smith Bridge Company, Toledo, Ohio; has remained in use with regular maintenance, repairs, and extensive 1981 restoration. Listed in National Register of Historic Places, 1981. — Map (db m52971) HM|
|Indiana (Elkhart County), Goshen — The Old Stone Bridge — Millrace Canal Trail|
|Several bridges have been built across the Millrace Canal at various stages throughout its history. Most of these bridges were built for transportation purposes (first horse and carriage, then railroads and automobiles), although some were built solely for pedestrians.
The Old Stone Bridge at Jefferson Street is one of the oldest and most unique bridges spanning the Millrace. Built in the 1880's by the Hawks Furniture Company, its purpose was to carry people and goods between the company's . . . — Map (db m64231) HM|
|Indiana (Fountain County), Veedersburg — Wabash Township — " Union Mill " - — " William B. White Home "|
|Scott, Hultz, and Sigler commissioners appointed by State Legislature to form the newly formed Fountain County Seat of Justice, met here at William B. White Home.
He erected the County's first mill here near the covered bridge, the County's first to be built with public funds in 1850. — Map (db m20411) HM|
|Indiana (Franklin County), Metamora — Duck Creek Aqueduct|
|An aqueduct is a bridge carrying one body of water over another. The Duck Creek Aqueduct was originally built in 1843 to convey the canal over Duck Creek 16 feet below. Flood waters in 1847 destroyed the aqueduct, which was soon replaced by the present 70-foot, Burr arch truss structure.|
The aqueduct is the only known covered wooden aqueduct still operating in the United States. In 1973 it was listed on the National Register of Historic Places, and in 1992 it was designated as a National Historic Civil Engineering Landmark. — Map (db m55560) HM
|Indiana (Franklin County), Rockdale — 24.2005.1 — Snow Hill Covered Bridge|
Built 1894-1895 over Johnson's Fork Creek by John H. Horn and William H. Butts to a Howe truss design by John Burkhart. All men were local residents. Bridge was important passageway to Cincinnati markets. Rests on stone abutments with wingwalls; includes X-braced framing. Bridge braced with iron bolts and vertical iron rods.
Bridge honors landowner Lemuel Snow, a Revolutionary War veteran. Deemed unsafe 1986 and closed to traffic. . . . — Map (db m66868) HM|
|Indiana (Grant County), Matthews — Covered Bridge|
|Built at New Cumberland in 1877 by William Parks of Marion at a cost of $722. The 1913 flood floated the bridge a half mile downstream. It was returned to its foundations by rollers and horsepower. New Cumberland was the second community in Grant County - founded in 1833 — Map (db m7479) HM|
|Indiana (Grant County), Matthews — Cumberland Covered Bridge|
|The Cumberland Covered Bridge was built in 1877. During the Great Flood of 1913, it was washed downstream.
On March 26th 1913, the Mississinewa River floodwaters rose high enough (Fig. 2, 3) to push the Cumberland Covered Bridge from its abutments as local citizens watched helplessly. The bridge listed to a 70 degree angle on its way downstream, with the north end leading the way.
After drifting past the cemetery, it struck a large Sycamore tree on the embankment, causing it to turn . . . — Map (db m71494) HM|
|Indiana (Hamilton County), Noblesville — 29.2007.1 — Potter's Covered Bridge|
First bridge spanning White River at Potter's Ford was commissioned 1860 and named after the landowner, William Potter. In 1870, Hamilton County Commissioners voted for construction of this "Howe Truss" bridge. It was finished 1871 and repaired 1937, 1959, 1961. Plans to replace this structure with a concrete bridge were introduced in 1969.
After 100 years of use, County Commissioners voted to close the bridge to traffic 1971 and lease it to . . . — Map (db m8165) HM|
|Indiana (Jackson County), Seymour — Shieldstown Bridge|
|Built in 1876 by J.J. Daniels
Length 331 Ft. + 12 Ft. overhang/ends.
Width 16 ft. height 12ft.6in.
Cut stone abutments and pier. — Map (db m39335) HM|
|Indiana (Kosciusko County), Warsaw — 43.2007.1 — Chinworth Bridge|
|Built 1897 across Tippecanoe River by Bellefontaine Bridge and Iron Company of Ohio. Single-span 140-foot iron bridge is last remaining Pratt through truss bridge in county. U.S. Highway 30 bypassed it in 1924. Closed to vehicle traffic 1975. Leased by Kosciusko County Historical Society 1975. Listed in National Register of Historic Places 1997. — Map (db m44919) HM|
|Indiana (Marion County), Indianapolis — 49.1995.2 — Joseph W. Summers Memorial Bridge|
|Built in 1917, this Neo-Classical, reinforced concrete arch bridge was designed by nationally prominent landscape architect, George Kessler. In 1991 the bridge was named in honor of State Representative Joseph Summers, who served with distinction as a bridge between diverse racial and cultural groups. — Map (db m1854) HM|
|Indiana (Montgomery County), Darlington — 54.1993.1 — Darlington Covered Bridge|
|Local donations helped build this important transportation link. Completed 1868; closed to vehicular traffic, 1976. Listed in National Register of Historic Places, 1990. Approximately 166 feet long; Howe Truss design; built of oak and poplar with limestone abutments. Construction superintendent, Richard M. Epperson; builder, Joseph Kress. — Map (db m69392) HM|
|Indiana (Montgomery County), Waveland — 61.1998.1 — Portland Mills Covered Bridge|
|Built 1856 by Henry Wolfe to Burr arch truss design. Moved here 1961 to replace Dooley Station Bridge. Restored and reopened 1996. Horizontal yellow poplar siding replaced with pine; oak arches; new cedar shingles; concrete abutments. Listed in National Register of Historic Places with Parke County covered bridges 1978. — Map (db m69399) HM|
|Indiana (Ohio County), Aurora — A Historic Road Less Traveled|
|Who would think that a country road would hold so much history? Old State Highway 56 takes you past the historic Speakman-Tallentire house and to a famous bridge.
Elderly Stephen S. Speakman was in love with a young Kentucky belle who agreed to marry him if he built her a magnificent house. With the help of slave labor borrowed from his bride's Kentucky home, the elegant Greek Revival-style Speakman-Tallentire house was completed in 1845. It sits on a rise near the Laughery Creek. Although . . . — Map (db m66899) HM|
|Indiana (Parke County), Marshall — 61.1968.4 — Turkey Run|
|Little Ned Garland, son of the first family to settle in Indiana North of the 10 O’clock Line, is said to have named the stream below this cliff because wild turkeys roosted in trees within this chasm. — Map (db m3673) HM|
|Indiana (Parke County), Rockville — 61.1968.2 — 10 O'Clock Line — Treaty with Potawatomi, Delaware, and Miami Indians|
|The famous Indian Reserve Line of 1809 which began at the mouth of Big Raccoon Creek and ended on the Ohio boundary crossed this point. — Map (db m18888) HM|
|Indiana (Parke County), Rockville — 1883 Railroad Depot|
|This 1883 Railroad Depot serves as Parke County's Tourist Information Center. All covered bridge tours begin here.
Indiana's Historic Parke County The Covered Bridge Capital — Map (db m3675) HM|
|Indiana (Parke County), Rockville — 61.2001.1 — Rockville Chautauqua Pavilion|
|Pavilion was built 1913 by Edgar Jerome (1862–1942) of Rockville. He used wooden bridge building techniques in timber framing which supports entire structure. It was designed to seat 3,000 people under its roof. Repairs made 1976–1978 and 1992. Listed in National Register of Historic Places 1999.
Chautauquas held here 1911–1930, largest crowd estimated at 8,000 in 1915 when former President William H. Taft spoke. Popularized in late nineteenth century at Chautauqua, New . . . — Map (db m3807) HM|
|Indiana (Parke County), Rockville — 61.1966.3 — Roseville|
|The first business in Parke County was a grist mill built near here by Chauncey Rose and associates in 1819. This was the first flatboat landing in the county; territorial court was held here and this was a stop for stagecoaches. — Map (db m18892) HM|
|Indiana (Parke County), Rockville — State Sanatorium Covered Bridge|
|The State Sanatorium Covered Bridge is a single-span Kingpost Truss Burr Arch structure with a span length of 154 feet. It was constructed in 1913 by Joseph A. Britton. The bridge is listed on both the National Register of Historic Places and the Indiana Register of Historic Sites and Structures. The structure was originally located nearly one mile downstream. A decision was made that the structure would be rehabilitated and relocated to this site. Prior to the moving of . . . — Map (db m59773) HM|
|Indiana (Putnam County), Bainbridge — Hillis Bridge|
|This bridge is also known as the Baker's Camp Covered Bridge. It was constructed in 1901 by J.J. Daniels over Big Walnut Creek. It is a single span and measures 128 feet long, 14 feet wide and stands 13 feet high. A short distance to the north is Rolling Stone Bridge and to the east in the Big Walnut Conservation Area is a Great Blue Heron Rookery and Roosing Area — Map (db m6428) HM|
|Indiana (Putnam County), Russellville — Foundation Rock|
Portland Mills Bridge
Relocated 1960 — Map (db m69403) HM|
|Indiana (Spencer County), Fulda — Huffman Mill Bridge 1864-65/Pioneer George Huffman|
| Huffman Mill Bridge 1864-65 William T. Washer was contracted with Spencer & Perry Counties, July 1864 to build a 148 foot yellow poplar Burr Arch-Trust Bridge. (Patented by Theodore Burr 1771-1882). Contract payment called for Ten Thousand Dollars in "Lawful money of the United States." Bridge located north of an early ford on Buffalo Trace leading from Rome to Vincennes, IN. Lumber for bridge was sawed at John Harrison Huffman's saw mill. Water saw mill located 120 yards, up Anderson . . . — Map (db m56774) HM|
|Indiana (St. Joseph County), Mishawaka — 71.1968.2 — First Bridge|
|The first bridge across the St. Joseph River was built at this place in 1837 at a cost of $2499 and was paid for by popular subscription. The bridge replaced a ferry which had operated here from 1834. First bridge replaced by the red, covered bridge in 1846, an iron truss bridge in 1874, and the present concrete bridge in 1907. — Map (db m64085) HM|
|Indiana (Tippecanoe County), Lafayette — Davis Ferry|
|The first white man known to have resided in the
Tippecanoe Township was a Frenchman named
William Burnett who establish a trading post between
the mouth of Burnett's creek and the Tippecanoe River.
Burnett's daughter married John Davis who established a
Wabash River ferry near the outlet of Burnett's creek in 1823.
The bridge you are standing on was built in 1912,
the ferry was in operation up until the bridge's construction. — Map (db m36235) HM|
|Indiana (Tippecanoe County), Lafayette — John T. Myers — Main Street Bridge|
Named July 12, 1997
to honor John T. Myers
U.S. Representative, 7th District, IN
For dedicated service to the Greater Lafayette community. Friend, advocate, champion of constituents. With special thanks for advancing Lafayette Railroad Relocation, which converted the bridge to pedestrian use in 1996. Originally constructed in 1914, this is the third Main Street bridge to cross the Wabash River at this site. — Map (db m34869) HM|
|Indiana (Tippecanoe County), West Lafayette — History - Main Street Bridge — Lafayette -and- West Lafayette|
| Right Panel
First Bridge at this site a three span wooden toll bridge erected in 1865. Purchased by Tippecanoe County in 1871.
Second Bridge, a steel three span bridge erected in 1889. Rendered useless by the flood of March 18, 1913. Low water elevation 1913 501.17 High water elevation march 30, 1913 531.57 33.30 ft. of water.
Lafayette Engineering Co.
President & Chief Engineer
J. W. Jamison
C. M. . . . — Map (db m35224) HM|
|Indiana (Vermillion County), Eugene — 83.1995.2 — Eugene Covered Bridge|
|County commissioners ordered (1873) to replace unsafe bridge over Big Vermillion River at Eugene. Built 1873 by Joseph J. Daniels, Rockville: Burr truss design, 180 foot span, using existing abutments. Closed to vehicle traffic, 1974. Listed in National Register of Historic Places, 1994. — Map (db m3701) HM|
|Indiana (Vermillion County), Newport — 83.1995.1 — Newport Covered Bridge|
|County commissioners ordered (1885) as link across Little Vermillion River at Newport & Quaker Point Free Gravel Road. Built 1885 by Joseph J. Daniels, Rockville: Burr truss design, 180 foot span, sandstone abutments. Floor replaced, 1984. Listed in National Register of Historic Places, 1994. — Map (db m3699) HM|
|Indiana (Vigo County), Terre Haute — 84.1982.1 — Charles Gene Abrell|
|This bridge commemorates the memory of Charles Gene Abrell, Corporal, First Marines of the United States First Marine Division, posthumous holder of the Congressional Medal of Honor. Born August 12, 1931. Died June 10, 1951. — Map (db m8922) HM|
|Iowa (Madison County), Winterset — Cutler - Donahoe Covered Bridge - 1870|
|Designed and built by Eli Cox.
Length: 79 feet Weight: 40 ton.
Covered timber superstructure, towne lattice truss
with overlay queenpost frame, fastened with round
wooden pins and iron bolts.
Originally located 18 miles N.E. of Winterset,
near Bevington, over North River.
Moved to Winterset City Park in 1970.
Clair Rogers, Macksburg, Ia, house mover,
commissioned to move bridge before first
covered bridge festival. Clair gave his time to rebuild
west . . . — Map (db m23170) HM|
|Iowa (Polk County), Des Moines — The First Licensed Ferry|
|This Boulder Commemorates The first licensed ferry at the junction of the Des Moines and Raccoon Rivers
The first Pontoon Bridge at Sycamore Street (Now Grand Avenue)
The First Toll Bridge at Court Avenue
1856 — Map (db m41875) HM|
|Kansas (Chase County), Cottonwood Falls — Connecting the Chase County Community — from the Historic Chase County Courthouse to the — Tallgrass Prairie National Preserve|
| A trail to connect two communities - what a novel idea! This good idea to connect Cottonwood Falls and Strong City was first suggested in 1904. Of course it was to be a limestone sidewalk. Certainly the limestone was available and the equipment and skilled workers were at hand so why not? Like many good ideas it took several years, a hundred in fact, for the idea to become fact.
The south trailhead of the Community Connection Trail is on the front steps of the Chase County Courthouse in . . . — Map (db m45578) HM|
|Kansas (Chase County), Cottonwood Falls — Cottonwood River Bridges at Cottonwood Falls|
| The first major bridge at Cottonwood Falls was a 150 foot long iron truss bridge constructed in 1872. The iron bridge was just west of the present arch bridge.
The present bridge was constructed in 1914 by the Missouri Valley Bridge and Iron Company of Leavenworth, Kansas for $13,700. The bridge is one of three reinforced masonry, earth filled arch bridges still standing in Kansas, that are based on design principles developed and patented by Daniel B. Luten, a consulting engineer from . . . — Map (db m45609) HM|
|Kansas (Cherokee County), Riverton — Marsh Rainbow Arch Bridge|
| Rainbow Curve Bridge constructed in 1923 over Brush Creek. Only remaining Marsh Arch Bridge on Route 66. Listed on the National Registry March 10, 1983. — Map (db m52060) HM|
|Kansas (Doniphan County), Highland — The Wolf River Crossing|
| Before reaching the Iowa, Sac and Fox Mission wagon trains crossed the Wolf River. Travelers often encountered members of local Indian nations. Native Americans thought that some payment should be made to them for the use of their land. Travelers used wood and let their animals graze on native grass.
Crossing rivers and streams was hazardous. In some places Native Americans operated ferries or built bridges. A toll bridge was operated by Iowas on the Wolf River. Being asked to pay a toll . . . — Map (db m47947) HM|
|Kansas (Geary County), Fort Riley — Private Robert T. Henry Bridge|
|Named in honor of Private Robert T. Henry, 16th Infantry, 1st Infantry Division, posthumously awarded the MEDAL OF HONOR for conspicuous gallantry and intrepidity above and beyond the call of duty in action at Luchen, Germany 3 December 1944. Dedicated 29 April 1964 by CYRUS R. VANCE Deputy Secretary of Defense — Map (db m43969) HM|
|Kansas (Jefferson County), Oskaloosa — 9 — Bowstring Bridge|
Built in Cleveland, Ohio in 1875. Originally it crossed Rock Creek north of Meriden. It was relocated in the 1950's to southeast of Valley Falls. It was moved in 1975 to Old Jefferson Town. — Map (db m63734) HM|
|Kansas (Leavenworth County), Leavenworth — 2 — Manufacturing Metropolis of the Midwest — Historic Wayside Tour #2|
| In the late 1800s and early 1900s Leavenworth was the most important manufacturing city in Kansas and one of the largest in the entire United States. It had sixty-seven prosperous and growing industries. It was third in furniture production in the United States, had the second largest mill-machinery plant in the country, second in the manufacturing of stoves, had a large washing machine manufacturing company, had the largest manufacturer of amusement rides and produced over 250 thousand tons . . . — Map (db m42168) HM|
|Kansas (Lyon County), Emporia — Soden's Grove Bridge|
This property has been
placed on the
of Historic Places
by the United States
Department of the Interior
[Builder's Plate reads]
126 Ft Span
Western Bridge Co.
Marsh Engineering Co.
Des Moines, Iowa
C.L. Howe Chairman
C.A. Paine • Fred Fowler
1923 — Map (db m49805) HM|
|Kansas (Montgomery County), Independence — Dewlen - Spohnhauer Memorial Bridge — In Memory Of — Montgomery County Bridge No. 628|
O. Glenn Dewlen
Born Nov. 4, 1896
Killed Sept. 26, 1918
Company "K" 137th Inf.
Harry F. Spohnhauer
Born Oct. 11, 1896
Killed Nov. 2, 1918
Meuse Argonne Offensive
Company "H" 353rd Inf.
89th Division — Map (db m61437) WM|
|Kansas (Neosho County), Chanute — Octave Chanute: Engineer — Chanute - Wright Memorial|
| Born in Paris in 1832, Octave Chanute immigrated to the U.S. at the age of six. Even with no education in engineering, he would become one of the foremost engineers of the 19th Century through involvement in railroading, bridge building, construction, aviation and wood preservation. Chanute may be best known for his work in aviation. — Map (db m57296) HM|
|Kansas (Pottawatomie County), Wamego — 107 — Vieux Cemetery|
|Of Pottawatomie Indian and French ancestry, Louis Vieux was an early resident of this area. Probably born near Lake Michigan, Vieux, with a portion of the Pottawatomies, moved to Iowa and later Indianola, Kan., near Topeka. In 1847 or 1848, Vieux moved to this area of what became Pottawatomie county, located on the Oregon Trail near the Vermillion river crossing. This Vieux family, with its seven children, lived in a log cabin and Vieux built and operated a toll bridge over the river. He . . . — Map (db m32608) HM|
|Kansas (Sedgwick County), Wichita — "Minisa" Bridge — 1932|
"Red Water at Sunset"
from the tribal tongue
of the Zuni Indians
Composer of "Minisa" — Map (db m60545) HM|
|Kansas (Sedgwick County), Wichita — John Mack Bridge|
Built by State Highway Comm. of Kansas
Named in honor of John C. Mack
State Highway Commissioner of
the Fifth District at the time
of its authorization
State Highway Commission of Kansas
Arkansas River Bridge
U.S. Highway 81.
Tomlinson Bridge & Supply Co.
B. J. Berson
John Mack Bridge Rehabilitation
[officials not transcribed] — Map (db m56426) HM|
|Kansas (Wilson County), Neodesha — Soldiers of the World War — Legion Memorial Bridge|
In memory of
Charles Wesley Avars · Percy J Bates · Stanton K Berry · Martin F Bowles · Albert B Carstedt · Ocal Chapman · Jesse E Crisp · Clay Dotson · Paul H Graves · Cass Hale · Louis R Hines · Dexter L Hurlburt · Charles F James · Charles H Martinson · Glenn M Morrow · William R Mosher · Sylvester Newberry · John Opdyke · Henry Clay Rhodes · Joseph R Sargeant · Charles D Seward · Ward Shaffer · Herschell Shue · Floyd Tarr · Roy Wilson · Carl Wormington — Map (db m57636) HM|
|Kentucky (Fayette County), Lexington — 1556 — Town Branch|
|Under Vine Street flows the Town Branch of Elkhorn, the stream upon whose banks Lexington was established in 1779. Used in the early days to bring merchandise to Lexington from Ohio River. On Town Branch was launched Edward West's steamboat in 1793. Heavy floods troubled Lexington until a large underground channel was built in 1930s.
Presented by Lexington-Fayette Co. Historic Commission. — Map (db m58557) HM|
|Kentucky (Franklin County), Switzer — 1571 — Switzer Covered Bridge|
|Franklin County's only covered bridge spans North Elkhorn Creek and is 120 ft. long and 11 ft. wide. It was built by George Hockensmith circa 1855. each entrance has a sawtooth edge; the lattice is pinned with trunnels (treenasil). Restored in 1906 by Louis Bower. Closed to traffic in 1954. This bridge was listed on the National Register of Historic Places, 1974. — Map (db m11614) HM|
|Kentucky (Hart County), Bonnieville — 530 — Bacon Creek Bridge|
|The L & N R.R. bridge near here, a main USA supply line between Louisville and Bowling Green, was destroyed by Confederate troops in late 1861. Before repairs were complete, Morgan's Raiders burned it Dec. 5, 1861. This act brought Morgan's daring to public eye. A year later Morgan again burned the tressle and stockade, taking 93 prisoners of 91st Ill. Vol. — Map (db m38507) HM|