|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Brentwood Bay — Concert Lawn|
Under the sponsorship of Mr. and Mrs. Ian Ross, the Victoria Symphony Orchestra performed summer concerts on the main lawn between 1953 and 1967. Conducted by Hans Gruber they featured many international artists such as Teresa Stratas, Bernard Turgeon and Grace Bumbry. On occasion guest conductors were invited to lead the orchestra. — Map (db m74461) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Brentwood Bay — The Butchart Gardens / Les Jardins Butchart|
Jennie Butchart began to shape this magnificent landscape in 1904. She established, in the style of the grand estates of the period, several distinct gardens to evoke a range of aesthetic experiences. An abandoned limestone quarry was transformed into the dramatic Sunken Garden, a reflection of the early 20th-century beautification movement and an exceptional achievement in Canadian gardening history. Through successive generations of the Butchart family, this site has retained much of its . . . — Map (db m74419) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Sidney — Mayor's Community Builder Awardees at Beacon Park Pavilion|
Town of Sidney
BC Spirit Squares
Beacon Park Pavilion
Opened June 28, 2009
by the Honourable Steven Point,
Lt. Gov. of BC
A legacy of the 150th anniversary of the founding of the Crown Colony of British Columbia
Joan E. Ballenger
1939 - 2005
The Town of Sidney and Peninsula Celebrations Society celebrate Joan Ballenger, an incredibly active community volunteer. In 1994, Joan saw an opportunity . . . — Map (db m75464) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — "Tomorrow Run 91"|
The Elks and Royal Purple
Al Howie's record setting
"Tomorrow Run 91"
Began at Mile 0 St. John's Nfld.
June 21 and ended September 1, 1991 at
Mile 0 Victoria B.C.
72 days - 10 hours later.
Our gratitude to all who helped us
raise funds for
Canadian children with special needs. — Map (db m74134) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — “Journey For Lives” — Stephen Fonyo|
|In commemoration of Stephen Fonyo’s run across Canada to raise money on behalf of the Canadian Cancer Society, for cancer education, patient care and research.|
His “Journey For Lives” covered nearly 8,000 kilometers, starting in St. John’s, Newfoundland, March 31st, 1984, and was completed here, May 29th, 1985.
Province of British Columbia. — Map (db m49230) HM
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — 713 Johnson — Designed in 1908 by Victorian architects Thomas Hooper and Charles Elwood Watkins|
|This building is a good example of Edwardian commercial architecture. It was built for William James Marble as a carriage factory, replacing the original wooden structure from 1885. Early painted signage is still visible on the east façade. In 1938, the building was sold and run as a furniture store on the main floor and with offices above. In the 1970s, the site became the home of the Salvation Army Thrift Shop and, 20 years later, the 711 Bingo and Snack Bar. It was briefly used by Our Place . . . — Map (db m48748) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — From Mudflat to Rain Garden — Fisherman's Wharf Park|
A sports field served James Bay for many years until the Community envisioned a new park space. On August 27th, 2009 City Council adopted the Fisherman's Wharf Management Plan. The plan was completed in two phases and the Mayor celebrated the grand opening with residents on October 2nd, 2012.
[Inset photos and text follow]
A small shanty-town was also born during this era with houses in the bay. 1940's.
1940 - Today
The map underlay shows the shoreline of 1940. Major Bay's . . . — Map (db m74385) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Government House|
This plaque was unveiled by
The Honourable Frank Mackenzie Ross,
C.M.G., M.C., LL.D.
Lieutenant Governor of the
Province of British Columbia
on May 19th, 1959, to mark the official opening of the 10th Government House built to replace the former residence destroyed by fire
April 15th, 1957.
Planned and constructed under the authority of
the Hon. W. N. Chant, Minister of Public Works, Province of British Columbia.
Built by John Laing and Son, (Canada) Limited. — Map (db m74991) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Lorne Lewis — Here Lies|
Born in New Bedford
Massachussets [sic] in 1814
Died in Victoria in 1912
while a resident of
the Old Men's Home
He came to Victoria from California in 1858 and was appointed by Governor James Douglas as a police constable but racial prejudice made his job difficult. Later he served for many years as district constable on the Songhees Indian Reserve and afterwards was a member of the British Columbia Provincial Police. — Map (db m74829) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Order of Canada / Ordre du Canada|
In commemoration of the 25th anniversary of the founding of the Order of Canada and the 125th anniversary of Canada as a nation
this plaque has been erected by the recipients of the Order resident in the Province of British Columbia. The Order recognizes accomplishments that have influenced the economic, cultural, scientific and community life of the nation and are representative of the characteristics and qualities that define a Canadian.
Unveiled October 27th, 1992 by His Excellency . . . — Map (db m75023) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Royal and Distinguished Visitors|
As the representative of the Crown, the Lieutenant Governor plays an important ceremonial role that includes hosting royal visitors, heads of state, the Governor General, and other dignitaries. Members of the royal family have toured Canada since 1860 to maintain close ties between Canadians and the Crown. Canada’s Royal family continues to tour regularly and stays at Government House while in Victoria.
[Photo captions read]
1. Princess Margaret, the younger sister of Queen . . . — Map (db m75026) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Salvation Army|
|At this site
the Salvation Army
began activities in
Victoria, June 26, 1887 — Map (db m48479) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Stone Boundary Marker|
| A stone boundary marker set by the Royal Engineers 1859-60 as part of the original survey of Government House grounds and Fairfield Farm. — Map (db m75001) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Terry Fox — 1958 – 1981|
|Terry Fox was born in Winnipeg, Manitoba, and raised in Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, a community near Vancouver on Canada’s west coast. An active teenage involved in many sports, Terry was only 18 years old when he was diagnosed with osteogenic sarcoma (bone cancer) and forced to have his right leg amputated 15 centimeters (six inches) above the knee in 1977. While in hospital, Terry was so overcome by the suffering of other cancer patients, many of them young children, that he decided to . . . — Map (db m49229) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — The People and the Lieutenant Governor|
In addition to carrying out constitutional responsibilities, the Lieutenant Governor plays an important role in celebrating, inspiring and connecting British Columbians. Many organizations invite the Lieutenant Governor to act as their patron. The Lieutenant Governor travels across the province to meet British Columbians and to recognize their achievements in public service, volunteerism, and bravery.
The Lieutenant Governor has a busy schedule of attending cultural events and . . . — Map (db m74878) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — The Role of the Lieutenant Governor|
The Lieutenant Governor is the Queen's representative in British Columbia, appointed by the Governor General for a term of at least five years. The Lieutenant Governor plays an important constitutional role, opening and closing sessions of the legislature, appointing and swearing-in Cabinet, and giving Royal Assent to all bills passed by the Legislative Assembly.
To ensure that there is always a First Minister, or premier, Lieutenant Governors have, on occasion, had to make the . . . — Map (db m74940) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — The Sisters of St. Ann|
|In 1850, Marie Esther Blondin, now known as Blessed Marie Anne Blondin founded the Congregation of the Sisters of Saint Ann, a Roman Catholic religious order dedicated to education and nursing in Lachine, Quebec.|
Bishop Modeste Demers of Victoria went to the Sisters of St. Ann in Quebec to recruit volunteers to educate children. Her returned via Panama with Sister Mary Conception, Sister Mary Angèle, Sister Mary of the Sacred Heart, and Sister Mary Lumena.
On June 5, 1858, the Bishop . . . — Map (db m48767) HM
|British Columbia (Greater Vancouver Regional District), Semiahmoo — Peace Arch — The Signing of the Columbia River Treaty|
This unfortified boundary line between the
Dominion of Canada
United States of America
should quicken the remembrance of the more than century old friendship between these countries
A lesson of peace to all nations.
In commemoration of
One hundred and fifty years of peace, 1814 - 1864, between Canada and the United States of America.
The signing of the Columbia River Treaty on September 16th, 1964, at this international . . . — Map (db m27450) HM|
|New Brunswick (Charlotte County), Welshpool — President Franklin Delano Roosevelt — 1933 - 1945|
| The Great Depression 1929-1941
The depression was world-wide. In the U.S., the banking system collapsed and 12.8 million people were unemployed. Hardest hit were youth, minorities, the elderly, and workers in the consumer durables industries. There was widespread hunger and suffering as communities ran out of charitable and government relief. FDR's "New Deal" programs, some more successful than others, helped to stem national despair and boost public confidence.
La Crise économique . . . — Map (db m54783) HM|
|New Brunswick (Saint John County), Saint John — Irish Immigrant Memorial|
|This Celtic cross, erected in 1967 by descendants of the Irish settlers, is a half scale replica of a cross which stands on Partridge Island in Saint John Harbour.
A reproduction of the plaque on the original cross is shown below.
This monument was erected in memory of more than 2000 Irish immigrants who died of typhus fever contracted on shipboard during the voyage from Ireland during the famine year 1847, and of whom 600 were buried in this island.
This cross also commemorates . . . — Map (db m78253) HM|
|Nova Scotia (Cape Breton Regional Municipality.), Louisbourg — Kennelly Point|
This point of land is named after Capt. D.J. Kennelly (ca. 1831-1907), who had a house near here during the late 19th century. An Irish-born industrialist who came to Cape Breton during the 1870s, Kennelly was captivated by Louisbourg and its colorful past. In 1903 he established the Louisbourg Memorial Fund, an international society dedicated to the preservation and commemoration of the historic site.
In 1906 he had legislation passed in the Nova Scotia legislature . . . — Map (db m79949) HM|
|Nova Scotia (Halifax Regional Municipality), Halifax — Canadian Corps of Commissionaires|
|The corps was formed in Nova Scotia and elsewhere across Canada in 1937, on the instigation of the Canadian Government, to find employment for worthy older veterans.
Its organization was patterned along military lines of the British Corps of Commissionaires, founded in 1859.
The Black-Binney House was acquired by the Board of Governors in 1965, and was restored as an historic building, for use as Divisional Headquarters.
It is dedicated to the service of veterans as a Centennial project . . . — Map (db m77805) HM|
|Nova Scotia (Inverness County), Margaree Forks — Dr. Moses Coady and Father Jimmy Tompkins — Père Moses Coady, Ph.D., et Père Jimmy Tompkins|
|English: Margaree is the proud birthplace of Dr. Moses Coady (1882-1959) and his double first cousin and mentor, Father Jimmy Tompkins (1870-1853), two men who devoted themselves to improving the minds and lives of the poor and uneducated. Born into large Irish Catholic families, both Coady and Tompkins were influenced from a young age by the dire struggles of the farming and fishing communities.
While working at St. Francis Xavier University, Coady, Tompkins and others developed . . . — Map (db m80070) HM|
|Ontario, Ottawa — Lotta Hitschmanova, C.C. — 1909 • 1990|
Founded USC Canada
10 June 1945
Unitarian Service Committee
Harold Pfeiffer, Sculptor — Map (db m75710) HM|
|Ontario, Ottawa — Nicholas Sparks|
Irish Nicholas Sparks (b.1792) was from Darragh, County Wexford. He came "up river" 1816 to work for the founding Wrights of Hull. In 1826 he acquired Philemon Wright Jr.'s widow (Sarah Olmstead) and her nine children (he and she were to have one son and two daughters): crossed to the south shore, and for £ 95 bought the 200 acres, and log cabin thereon, from the first patentee, John Burrows Honey. His household thus became the first in the swale which Col. John By made his campsite for the . . . — Map (db m75711) HM|
|Ontario (Middlesex County), London — Harold A. Rogers, O.C., O.B.E. — 1899 - 1994|
|The founder of Kinsmen & Kinette Clubs of Canada was born and raised at 324 Dundas Street, directly across from the armouries. Seeking the camaraderie he had experienced in the army during the First World War, “Hal” Rogers began the first Kinsmen Club in Hamilton in 1920. Under his guidance other clubs soon formed, each dedicated to “serving the community's greatest need.” Ongoing contributions from women prompted the formation of the Kinettes in 1942. During the Second . . . — Map (db m18933) HM|
|Ontario (Niagara Region), St. Catharines — City Hall 1937 — St. Catharines Heritage Corridor|
|Built on the site of the previous City Hall, this building was officially opened in August 1937 and was a hallmark of what was hailed as the dawn of a new era. The previous building, known as Benson House, was a former home that had been used as a temporary City Hall. The Old Courthouse was originally built to house only the municipal offices for St. Catharines, however, in 1862 the regional offices also took up residence. The building was therefore too full to house both the regional and . . . — Map (db m76295) HM|
|Quebec (Capitale-Nationale (region)), Québec — Hôtel-Dieu de Québec — L’Hôtel-Dieu de Québec|
Founded on 16 August 1637 by the Duchess of Aiguillon and the religious order of the Augustines Hospitalières of Dieppe, the Hôtel-Dieu de Québec was the first permanent hospital established north of Mexico. As soon as they arrived in Canada in 1639, the sisters dedicated themselves to the relief of human suffering. The stone walls of Hôtel-Dieu still enclose a hospital, a monastery and a church, as well as a garden and a cemetery, all evidence of the life of this once . . . — Map (db m80783) HM|
|Quebec (Capitale-Nationale (region)), Québec — Le premier monastère d’Ursulines|
Le 1er août 1639, Marie de l’Incarnation, Ursuline de Tours en France, et ses deux compagnes fondent à cet emplacement le premier monastère d’Ursulines en Nouvelle-France. Dans une maison concédée par la compagnie des Cent-Associés, elles accueilleront jusqu’à dix-huit enfants pensionnaires.
Après le départ des Ursulines pour la haute-ville en 1742, les Augustines, arrivées en même temps que les Ursulines, occupent à leur tour cette maison.
1639 — 1989 . . . — Map (db m81536) HM|
|Quebec (Capitale-Nationale (region)), Québec — Michel Boisvert, SJ — Fondateur de la Maison Dauphine|
En 1992, le jésuite Michel Boisvert (1944-2006) fonde ici la Maison Dauphine, qui offre un accueil inconditionnel aux jeunes de la rue en leur assurant protection, aide et soutien.
C’est pendant qu’il exerce son ministère au Centre de spiritualité Manrèse que le père Boisvert, appuyé d’un groupe de laïcs, jette les bases de Oeuvres de la Maison Dauphine. Homme de grande écoute et d’action, visionnaire, il développe un fil de ans, avec ses partenaires, une gamme de . . . — Map (db m81335) HM|
|Quebec (Montreal (region)), Montréal — Jeanne Mance — (1606-1673)|
On this site, Jeanne Mance founded the Hôtel-Dieu de Montréal, one of the oldest hospitals in the country. She arrived in Ville-Marie with Paul de Chomedey de Maisonneuve in 1642, and remained the only nurse there until 1659, when she brought the Hospitalières de Saint-Joseph to New France. At a time when there were numerous confrontations with the Iroquois, she cared for the wounded and sick with compassion and diligence, while increasing her efforts to recruit new settlers. . . . — Map (db m82011) WM|
|Quebec (Montréal (region)), Montréal — Joe Beef’s Canteen — Le Cantine de Joe Beef|
“Joe Beef’s may be low, it is certainly dirty on the cellar and ground floors; and the value of such a place to the city may be questioned, but let one thing be remembered - many a tired head has found rest; many a hungry mouth has been filled. Surely, this charity will cover a multitude of sins.” - Unknown - Montréal by Gaslight, 1889
A canteen keeper in the British army in the 1850’s, Charles “Joe Beef” McKiernan was assigned to the canteen on . . . — Map (db m82114) HM|
|Yukon Territory, Dawson City — Rev. William Henry Judge, S.J. — St. Mary's Catholic Church|
|Credited with saving many lives, Father Judge was one of the true heroes of the Klondike, serving the area from May 1897 until his death January 16, 1899. In this short period he built St. Mary’s Hospital, a church and residences, doing much of the work himself. Despite ill health, Dawson’s first priest became known as “The Saint of Dawson” through his untiring efforts in serving God and his fellow man. — Map (db m70916) HM|
|El Salvador, La Libertad, Santa Tecla — Adalberto Guirola Children’s Home — “Hogar del Niño Adalberto Guirola”|
| Como un sincero reconocimiento a todas aquellas personas de corazón noble y humanitario que han hecho posible esta obra, muy especialmente la colaboración brindada por AID, Fundacion Habitat y la iniciativa del Club Rotario de Santa Tecla por haber sido el gestor de este proyecto durante el periodo 1990-1991.
Club Rotario de Santa Tecla
Gobernador Distrito 4240 97-98 Antonio Echeverria
Presidente Periodo 90-91 Manuel Roberto Vieytez
Presidente Periodo 97-98 Benjamin Tenze
Nueva San . . . — Map (db m83574) HM|
|El Salvador, La Libertad, Santa Tecla — Madre Clara Maria de Jesus Quiros — Mother Clara Maria de Jesus Quiros|
|Sierva de Dios
Madre Clara Maria
de Jesus Quiros
Una sonrisa de Dios
Para los pobres
Fundadora de las
Carmelitas de San Jose
Servant of God
Mother Clara Maria
de Jesus Quiros
A smile from God
For the poor
Founder of the
Carmelites of San Jose
1857-1928 — Map (db m80955) HM|
|El Salvador, San Salvador — Thelma Davidson de López|
| San Salvador Nuestra Capital
Plaza Thelma Davidson de López
A sus destacados esfuerzos al desarrollo profesional de la medicina, alto espíritu de humanismo, fundadora de entidades altruistas y de reconocidas empresas a nivel nacional e internacional en beneficio de la población.
“Por su paso en la vida, haciendo el bien”
Doctor Norman Quijano, Alcalde de San Salvador
San Salvador Our Capital . . . — Map (db m83773) HM|
|France, Champagne-Ardenne (Marne Département), Reims — 2 — Palais de Justice|
|Le Palais de Justice fut érigé en 1835 à l'emplacement de l'ancien Hôtel-Dieu, établissement d'accueil pour les malades et les indigents. L'édifice reprend le vocabulaire décoratif de l'Antiquité: colonnes, fronton… dans l'esprit de constructions judiciaires du XIXe siècle. Sur l'arrière, se situaient la prison et la gendarmerie, démolies in 1906. Le Palais de Justice fut en grande partie détruit pendant la Première Guerre mondiale. Aujourd'hui, il abrite le tribunal de Grande Instance, le . . . — Map (db m85699) HM|
|France, Île-de-France (Paris), Paris — L’égoùt de Paris — [The Paris Sewers]|
|Sous le Règne de S.M.
Empereur des Français
L’égoùt de la rue de Rivoli, de l’Hotel de Ville au Quai de la Conférence,
Commencé en 1851 par M. J.J, Berger, Préfet de la Seine, a été terminé en 1854 par M. G.E. Haussmann, son successeur, la dépense montant a 750,000 F. a été supportée par la Ville de Paris
Ingenieurs M.M. Dupuit, Homberg, Baudart, Rousselle, Vaudrey.
Punte moyenne 0,001
Hauteur maximim 3m, 10
(Translated by Google . . . — Map (db m60922) HM
|France, Île-de-France (Paris), Paris — Libération de Paris — 15 août - 28 août 1944|
|Ce bâtiment, siège de la Préfecture de police, a été, le samedi 19 août 1944, le lieu du déclenchement de l'insurrection des Parisiens contre l'armée d'occupation allemande à l'initiative des mouvements de résistance de la police. Pendant plusieurs jours, des combats meurtriers se déroulent autour de cet immeuble et dans les rues de Paris où policiers, sapeurs-pompiers et gardes républicains, avec leurs camarades FFI et FTP, combattent l'occupant. 167 policiers perdent la vie lors de ces . . . — Map (db m85028) HM|
|France, Île-de-France (Paris), Paris — Square Jean XXIII — Histoire de Paris|
|C'est le plus ancien jardin public de quartier: créé en 1848, il précède les squares d'Haussmann. A son emplacement se trouvait le palais de l'archeveché, splendide édifice construit à partir de 1697 selon les instructions du cardinal de Noailles, et précédé à l'ouest par des vestiges de la demeure de Maurice de Sully, édifiée dans la seconde moitié du XIIe siècle et souvent remaniée. Pillé et incendié le 14 février 1831 lors d'une émeute, ce palais fut démoli et remplacé par un jardin public. . . . — Map (db m85322) HM|
|France, Île-de-France (Paris), Paris — Square Louise-Michel — 1927 — Mairie de Paris|
|Imaginé par Charles Alphand et orchestré par Jean-Camille Formigé, l'aménagement du square date de 1880. L'ouverture fut retardée par des glissements de terrains dus à la présence de carrières de gypse. Il porte le nom de Louise Michel, dite la Vierge Rouge, figure de la Commune de Paris. Il est orné de deux fontaines, l'une du sculpteur Derré: la fontaine des Innocents (1907), l'autre de Paul Gasq, dédiée aux dieux marins (1932). On y trouve pommiers et poiriers à fleurs, érables, . . . — Map (db m85330) HM|
|Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Wittenberg District), Lutherstadt Wittenberg — 1556 Wittenberg Water System|
Wir danken den hier senannten grundern des alten jungfern-rohr wassers fur ihr noch heute bestehendes uneigennutziges werk
Hieronymus Krapp • Christoph Kellner • Christoph Schramm • Lucas Cranach • Kaspar Pfreundt • Konrad Ruehel • Hans Lufft
We thank the mentioned founders for their selfless efforts in developing the old maiden-tube water system existing today
Hieronymus Krapp • Christoph Kellner • . . . — Map (db m69736) HM|
|Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Wittenberg District), Lutherstadt Wittenberg — Johann Schneidewin — (1519 - 1568)|
Jurist, kurfürstl. Rat
Lawyer, Electoral Council
University Professor — Map (db m69782) HM|
|Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Wittenberg District), Lutherstadt Wittenberg — Mains Water Well on the Market Square — Röhrwasserbrunnen auf dem "Marktplatz"|
The members of the union "New Jungfernröhrwasser", including Caspar Pfreundt und Christoff Niemeck, commissioned the construction of this water main in 1559. At the start there were 19 members. The water was taken from the spring area to the individual courtyards along a 2.7 km pipe, which used the natural downwards gradient of the terrain. The pipes were made of hollowed tree trunks, connected to each other using iron joints. Wells were constructed in different forms and using different . . . — Map (db m69874) HM|
|Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Wittenberg District), Lutherstadt Wittenberg — Nikolaus Ludwig, Graf v. Zinzendorf — (1700 - 1760)|
gründete Herrnhuter Brüdergemeine
studierte hier von 1716-1719
studied here from 1716-1719 — Map (db m69785) HM|
|Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Wittenberg District), Lutherstadt Wittenberg — Olga Gebauer — (1858 - 1922)|
Gründete deutschen Hebammenverband
studierte hier im Hebammenlehrinstitut
Founded the German
Confederation of Midwives
studied here in the
Midwifery Training Institute — Map (db m69848) HM|
|Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Wittenberg District), Lutherstadt Wittenberg — Röhrwasserbrunnen in the/im "Lutherhof"|
The members of the union "Old Jungfernröhrwasser", including Lucas Cranach the Younger and Hans Lufft, commissioned the construction of these water mains in 1556.
There were 20 members at the start. The water was taken from the spring area to the individual courtyards along a 2.7 km pipe, which used the natural downwards gradient of the terrain. The pipes were made of hollowed tree trunks, connected to each other using iron joints. Wells were constructed in different forms and using . . . — Map (db m70033) HM|
|Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Wittenberg District), Lutherstadt Wittenberg — Wittenberg's Water-Piping System — Wittenberger Röhrwasser|
Wittenberg's Water-Piping System
a technical monument from the 16th century
1n 1556 a group of distinguished local residents (Hieronymus Krapp, Christoff Kelner, Hans Lufft, Lucas Cranach, Caspar Pfreundt, Conradt Rühel and Christoff Schramm) formed a "Piping Union" in order to have water mains constructed. This water supply system later became known as the "Old Maiden Water Piping System" (Altes Jungfernröhrwasser). The water was piped in hollowed tree trunks connected with iron . . . — Map (db m69913) HM|
|Guatemala, Sacatepéquez, Antigua — Francisco Marroquín and the San Pedro Hospital — 1563 - Abril 18 - 1968|
Homenaje de la Municipalidad de esta Ciudad al 1r Obispo de Guatemala Ilmo Lic. Dn Francisco Marroquín, Fundador del Hospital de San Pedro, en el 4o centenario de su muerte
Tribute from the Municipality of this City to the First Bishop of Guatemala the Illustrious Francisco Marroquín, founder of the Hospital of San Pedro, on the four hundredth anniversary of his death. — Map (db m83536) HM|
|Guatemala, Sacatepéquez, Antigua — Pedro Cortés y Larraz|
|Ilmo. Sr. D.
Pedro Cortes y Larraz
Natural de Belchite, Aragon.
Tercer Arzobispo de Guatemala:
- 1769 – 1779 –
Se opuso con entereza
A la traslacion de la capital.
Fue modelo de caridad cristiana.
Homenaje del Comite del
2o Centenario del Arzobispado.
- 1743 – 1943 – English translation: The esteemed Pedro Cortes y Larraz
Born in Belchite, Aragon, Spain.
Third Archbishop of Guatemala
1769 - 1779
He roundly opposed moving the . . . — Map (db m83498) HM|
|Guatemala, Sacatepéquez, La Antigua Guatemala — Home of Brother Pedro — Casa del Hermano Pedro de San José de Betancourt|
| Aqui vivio
Fray Pedro de San Jose Betancourt
Apostol de la Caridad
Nacio en Tenerife en Marzo de 1626
Murio en Esta el 25 de Abril de 1667
Here lived Father Pedro of Saint Joseph of Betancourt, Apostle of Charity, Born in Tenerife in March 1626, Died here on April 25, 1667. — Map (db m70121) HM|
|Ireland, Connacht (County Mayo), the Doo Lough Valley — 1849 Famine Walk|
| . . . — Map (db m27687) HM|
|Ireland, Connacht (County Roscommon), Rathmoyle — Rathmoyle Cemetery|
| Rathmoyle Cemetery is unique in that it is the property of the parish and is maintained solely by the local population.
The site appeas on the 1st edition of the 6 inch O.S. series of maps for Co. Roscommon as a Mortuary Chapel with surrounding graveyard. It is mentioned in the 1837 O.S. Map.
The site was presented as a gift to the area by the local gentry, the Irwin's, in 1921 and has since been used as a local cemetery.
The surrounding wall was constructed in the 1930's through . . . — Map (db m28204) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — Chris Reid Oral History Artwork Project|
| Chris Reid completed a public artwork
consisting of 20 bronze plaques and a
printed book. The texts are based on
recordings the artist made from
2004 to 2008 with residents and people
associated with Nicholas Street,
Ross Road, Bride Street and Bride
Road. Chris Reid was commissioned
through Dublin City Council's Public
Art programme, arising from the
refurbishment of these buildings
and funded by the Department
of the Environment, Heritage
and Local Government. . . . — Map (db m22480) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — Dublin Millenium Literary Parade — 988 - 1988 — Dublin Corporate Parks Dept.|
| One of Dublin's major contributions to European civilisation has been in the area of literature. It is remarkable that so many writers of world renown were born here including three winners of the Nobel Prize for Literature. This Literary Parade honours some of our distinguished sons of literature.
St. Patrick's Park has been restored thanks to the generosity of Jameson Irish Whiskey, and the Publicans of Dublin. — Map (db m22472) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — Haslam Memorial Seat|
| In 1925 a finely sculptured garden seat of Kilkenny limestone was placed in the park and inscribed on the back - “Anna Marie, 1829 - 1922 and Thomas Haslam, 1825 - 1917. This seat is erected in commemoration [sic - ‘honour’] of their long years of public service, chiefly devoted to the enfranchisement of women." [From Monuments of St. Stephen's Green marker found in the park] — Map (db m22485) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — Lord Ardilaun|
| Prior to 1877 St. Stephen's Green was a private square for the use of the residents of the Green. In that year, through the generosity of Sir Arthur Edward Guinness (Lord Ardilaun) negotiations were concluded for converting it into a public park.
Lord Ardilaun paid off debts against the park and invested an additional £20,000 in laying out the grounds as a park and garden. The bronze statue of Lord Ardilaun was erected by public subscriptions in 1892.
The Right . . . — Map (db m25311) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — Margaret Anna Cusack — 1829 - 1899|
| Margaret Anna Cusack was born on this site on May 6th 1829. At the time York Street was a centre of medicine. She was the daughter of Sara and Dr. Samuel Cusack. Her uncle was the interationally renowned surgeon James William Cusack, 3-times President of the Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland.
She became an Anglican Sister but in 1861 converted to Catholicism and moved to Kenmare in County Kerry. Here, under the pseudonym of the “Nun of Kenmare”, she wrote on all aspects of . . . — Map (db m22454) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — St. Stephen's Green Bandstand|
| Erected in 1887 from funds subscribed by the Dublin Metropolitan Police to commemorate Queen Victoria's Jubilee. [From the Monuments of St. Stephen's Green marker found in the park.] — Map (db m22483) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — The "Three Fates"|
| This fountain, erected in 1956, is situated near the Leeson Street entrance to the park. It consists of a group of three bronze figures – Nornenbrunnen, representing the Three Fates, who weave and measure the thread of man's destiny.
The monument was the gift of the German Federal Republic to mark its appreciation of the help and generosity of the Irish people during the time of distress and hardship after the Second World War. The work was designed by the Bavarian Sculptor, Professor . . . — Map (db m25306) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Fingal), Howth — The Lord Killanin|
Sixth President of the
International Olympic Committee
1972 - 1980
President of the
Olympic Council of Ireland
1950 - 1973
This commemorative bronze bust was unveiled by
Dr. Jacques Rogge
Eight[h] President of the
International Olympic Committee
May 20th 2009
Sculptor - Paul Ferriter 2009 — Map (db m27050) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Fingal), Howth — The Ready Boat Pillar — Sculpted by Seán O'Dwyer|
| Seeing the meaning
When viewing a piece of sculpture one can see many different layers of meaning. The clues given here are only the first layer of meaning and are meant only as a gateway through which you can go on your way to see meanings of your own.
All local stories, myths and legends are preserved to carry a message. Howth has a wonderful past and from it certain themes emerge.... exploration, conflict, healing and preservation. I have depicted figures in the Ready Boat Pillar . . . — Map (db m25301) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Laois), Borris In Ossory — Millenium Fountain|
| The threshold and other rough stone
was salvaged from one of the last
thatched houses in the village.
It was demolished in the year 2000. — Map (db m24721) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Longford), Kenagh — fáilte go Kenagh|
| Brief History of Longford
Longford is a focal point of the northern midlands where the provinces of Leinster, Ulster and Connaught all converge. Longford, where history and literature, tradegy and triumph are all woven together, takes its name from the ancient stronghold of the O'Farrell family (Long Fort - Fort of the O'Farrells) who ruled from the 11th Century. Bordered to the west by the majestic River Shannon, Longford is a county of rolling plains and picturesque stretches of water. . . . — Map (db m27946) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Louth), Monasterboice — Monasterboice / Mainistir Bhuithe|
| Monasterboice — from Mainistir Bhuithe (the Monastery of Buithe)
This is the only early Irish monastery whose name incorporates the Irish word mainistir.
Monasterboice was founded by St Buite, who died around 520.
The monastery was an important centre of spirituality and learning for many centuries until the Cistercians arrived at nearby Mellifont in 1142.
The two churches which stand on the site today were probably built no earlier than the end of the 14th . . . — Map (db m24628) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Meath), Duleek — Duleek Courthouse — Duleek Heritage Trail|
| Duleek Courthouse was built in 1838 by John Trotter as a sessions house for the Meath Grand Jury. It was designed by Francis Johnston. The main architectural features are the Doric door-case and fanlight, a simplified eaves pediment and corner quoins. The building was used as a courthouse until 1960 when it was converted to a library and environmental offices. Its best-known magistrate was Judge Stephen Trotter who was responsible for the erection of Duleek House. — Map (db m24803) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Meath), Duleek — Parochial House — Duleek Heritage Trail|
| The original house was built in 1795. It was built in three stages and was acquired by Fr John Kearney to accommodate the parish priest and the curate. It was re-roofed in 1993 and presides over the very elegant village green.
At the back of the house are substantial stables and other outoffices which in earlier times were used for parish animals. These were built in 1898 and in more recent times have been refurbished as meeting rooms for parish groups and community activity. — Map (db m24801) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Meath), Kells — Catherine Dempsey|
| Here rest the remains of
Silvester O'Dempsey Esq.
Who departed this life the 31 Dec. 1817
In the 70 year of his age
of the most steady Friendship
Unblemished Integrity extensive charity
This frail Memorial of imperishable
regard is inscribed as a record of the
tenderest Affection to his Memory
by his Daughter Catherine ODempsey
died 22nd August 1837
In her charity she bequeathed
her entire property
to further . . . — Map (db m26423) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Meath), Kells — Headfort Place — Kells Heritage Trail|
| Headfort Place was purposely widened and lined with trees in the 18th century to make it a suitable setting for its attractive Georgian houses. It is also here that a site for a parish church was donated to the Roman Catholic community by Lord Bective. The original site of the church is in the area near the present church's carpark. — Map (db m27339) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Meath), Kells — Kells Courthouse|
| The courthouse, built in 1801, was designed by the prominent Irish architect Francis Johnston. Johnston also designed the General Post Office and Nelson's Pillar in Dublin, and Townley Hall, County Louth.
A Vantage Point to the Past
Several important landmarks of Kells recent history can be seen from this vantage point in front of the courthouse. Located to the west of the courthouse we find Headfort Place - a wide, tree-lined avenue of Georgian houses - the Headfort estate agent's . . . — Map (db m27340) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Meath), Loyd — Kells Union Workhouse Paupers' Graveyard|
to the memory of the poor
during the operation
English Poor Law System.
1838 - 1921.
R. I. P.
In the immediate aftermath
of the Great ‘Famine’, this mass
burial place was opened in 1851 for
the poor people of the Kells District.
Their memory challenges us to end the
scandal of hunger in today's world of plenty.
AFrI Great “Famine” Project
Erected 9th October 1993
“Famine is a lie”
Brian . . . — Map (db m27326) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Meath), Loyd — Spire of Loyd — Kells Heritage Trail|
| The tower, a mock lighthouse, was erected in 1791 by the First Earl of Bective in memory of his father Sir Thomas Taylor. The architect was Henry Baker who completed the design of the Kings Inns in Dublin after Gandon. The tower has an internal spiral stone staircase and was used in the 19th century to view the horseracing and the hunt.
A section of land adjoining the tower was given to the Kells Union Workhouse in 1851 to be used as a paupers' graveyard. A famine road existed between the . . . — Map (db m27324) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Meath), Slane — Saint Patrick on the Hill of Slane|
| Long established tradition tells that St. Patrick lit the Easter Fire on this Hill of Slane in 433. In doing so, he unwittingly disobeyed King Laoghaire at nearby Tara.
The inevitable confrontation had a happy outcome: Laoghaire's druid, Erk, became a Christian (later, first Bishop of Slane) and the King was pacified.
The Easter Fire is still lighted, each year, on the Hill of Slane. — Map (db m22538) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Meath), Trim — Newtowntrim Cathedral / Ardeaglais an Bhaile Nua — Cathedral of Saints Peter and Paul — Ardeaglais nPheadair agus nPhóil|
| The priory of Newtowntrim was founded in 1202 by Simon de Rochfort, Bishop of Meath, for a community of Augustinian canons (priests). As well as functioning as part of the monastery, the church became the cathedral for the diocese of Meath after Simon petitioned the Pope to transfer his cathedral from Clonard to this site, where it could be protected by the great Norman castle at Trim.
The Cathedral of Saints Peter and Paul was one of the largest and most sophisticated churches built in . . . — Map (db m27240) HM|
|Ireland, Munster (County Limerick), Abbeyfeale — Reverend William Casey|
| His grateful fellow countrymen at home and beyond the seas have erected this monument to the memory of Rev. William Casey, for a quarter of a century prior to his death, the parish priest of this parish. He found his people struggling in the toils of landlordism: he left them owners of the soil and freemen. By his death, religion lost a shining light; the cause of temperance a strenuous advocate; the poor without distinction of creed, an ever helpful friend; and Ireland a devoted son. But . . . — Map (db m24739) HM|
|Liechtenstein, Schaan — City Hall / Former School — Rathaus / Ehemaliges Schulhaus — Kulturweg Schaan - Station 21|
|In Liechtenstein erfolgte die allgemeine Einführung der Schulpflicht 1805. Der älteste Hinweis auf eine schulische Tätigkeit in Schaan geht aus einer «Instruction» für den Schulvogt Rudolph Walser aus dem Jahr 1700 hervor. Im 18. Jahrhun- dert wurden die Kinder in Privathäusern an der Obergass und später an der Feldkircher Strasse unterrichtet. Um 1800 stand an der Schaaner Landstrasse ein «Kauff- und Schulhaus», das 1807 zu einem Schulhaus umgebaut wurde. 1838 fiel der Be- schluss, einen . . . — Map (db m78072) HM|
|Netherlands Antilles, Sint Maarten, Philipsburg — Sint Rose Hospital — Gone but not Forgotten — Sint Rose Arcade|
|On November 9, 1908, Father B. Gijlswijk of the Roman Catholic Church opened the Sint Rose Hospital on Backstreet. It consisted of 2 tiny wooden houses and it comprised a room for patients, an operating room and space for the doctor. All patients of the islands Sint Maarten, Sint Eustatius and Saba, without discrimination of religion, were admitted to the hospital.
The name of the hospital was taken from Sint Rose of Lima, recognized by the Vatican as the first saint of the New World to be . . . — Map (db m13836) HM|
|Philippines, Manila, Ermita — Associacion Feminista Filipina — Philippine Feminist Association|
|Founded on 30 June 1905 in Manila at the Initiative Concepcion Felix and with the collaboration of Trinidad Rizal, Clemencia Lopez, Bonifacia Delgado de Barretto, Maria Arevalo, Sofia Reyes, Helen C. Wilson, Paz Natividad VDA. de Zulueta, Maria F. de Villamor, Teresa Solis and Agueda and Jacoba Paterno. It was the first woman's club in the Philippines dedicated to the promotion of social welfare and the encouragement of the participation of women in public affairs. The first president was . . . — Map (db m25095) HM|
|Philippines, Manila, Ermita — Philippine Post Office|
|In Tagalog: Itinatag bilang tanggapan ng koreo sa Maynila 1767; Itinaas bilang distritong Pangkoreo ng Espanya, 1779; Nag panibagong tatag, 5 Disyembere 1837; Naging pangunahing sentrong pangkoreo, 1838, naging kasapi ng Universal Postal Union, 1877. Itinatag bilang lingkurang pangkoreo sa bisa ng Kautusan ng Pangulong Emilio Aguinaldo, 1898. Muling itinatag bilang kawanihan sa ilalim ng Kagawaran ng Pangangalakal sa bisa ng batas ng Komisyon ng Pilipinas Blg. 426, 15 Setyembre 1902. . . . — Map (db m25080) HM|
|Philippines, Manila, Intramuros — Hospital de San Juan de Dios|
|Here once stood the Hospital de San Juan de Dios. First known as the "Hospitalito de Santa Ana". Built in 1578 by Franciscan lay brother, Juan Clemente. Managed by the Hermandad de la Santa Misecordia with spiritual administration handled by Franciscan Order from 1596 to 1656. Became known as "Hospital de la Misericordia del Padres Franciscanos".
Supervised by Brothers of San Juan de Dios from 1656 to 1865. Became popularly known by present name. Administerd by the Daughters of Charity in . . . — Map (db m25243) HM|
|Turkey, Istanbul Province (Beyoğlu district), Istanbul — Maksem Taksim — Taksim Maksem|
The settlement increased on the shores of the Bosphorus in the period of (1703-1730) Ahmed III and brought the problem of water supply. To solve this problem, development activities were initiated but these development activities could not go beyond an early stage due to the Patrona Halil revolt. In 1730, Mahmud I who passed to throne continued these undertakings and completed Taksim Water Plants in 1731. With some additions and corrections made then, the plant had taken its . . . — Map (db m84831) HM|
|Turkey, Istanbul Province (Fatih district), Istanbul — Basilica Cistern — Yerbatan Sarnıcı|
The Basilica Cistern was constructed by Eastern Roman Emperor I. Justinianus (527-565) in 542 A.D. to provide water requirement of the Great Palace. Due to the brilliance among the marble columns arising within the water, it was called as Yerebatan Cistern by the public. The name Basilica in foreign sources was said to come from the Ilius Basilica being close to the cistern.
Basilica Cistern is a huge building covering the area of 9.800 m2. Here there are 336 columns . . . — Map (db m84740) HM|
|Turkey, Istanbul Province (Fatih district), Istanbul — German Fountain — Alman Çeşmesi|
|English: German Fountain is a monument dedicated to the second visit of the Prussian King and German Emperor Wilhelm II in 1898. The monument, which was presented in the name of Turkish-German friendship, extending its function of being a fountain with its political meaning and content, is today mostly known for its monumental value.
The plans for the fountain were drawn by the private consultant of the Kaiser, Architect Spitta and its construction was overseen by the architect . . . — Map (db m84692) HM|
|Turkey, Istanbul Province (Fatih district), Istanbul — Suleymaniye Mosque and Social Complex — Süleymaniye Camii ve Külliyesi|
This building is a social complex constructed by Mimar Sinan (Sinan the Architect) on the order of Suleiman the Magnificent (1550-1557). The Süleymaniye Mosque is at the center of the social complex constructed on a high hill facing Bosphorus and the Golden Horn.
The social complex includes a mosque, dâruttıb (medical school), madrasas, dârulkurrâ (Quran recitation school), elementary school, Turkish bath, imaret (public soup kitchen), bîmârhâne (asylum), bazaar, . . . — Map (db m84862) HM|
|Turkey, Istanbul Province (Fatih district), Istanbul — The Basilica Cistern — Yerbatan Sarnıcı|
Constructed in the 6th century during the reign of Emperor Justinianus, the most prosperous period of the East Roman Empire, the cistern Basilica is 70m. in width and 140m. in length. The dome, covering an area of 9800 m2, is supported by 336 marble columns arrenged (sic) in 12 rows each consisting of 28 columns placed at a distance of 4m 90cm. from one another. The capitals of these 9 m. high columns are a blend of the Ionic and corinthian styles with a few exceptions which . . . — Map (db m84745) HM|
|Turkey, Istanbul Province (Fatih district), Istanbul — The Fountain of Ahmed III — III. Ahmed Çeşmesi|
|English: The Fountain was constructed by Mimar Ahmed Aga on the order of Ahmed III following the recommendation of Nevsehirii Damat
Ibrahim Pasha, replacing a Byzantine fountain named Perayton. The fountain which is one of the most beautiful samples of Turkish rococo style was constructed in 1729.
The fountain had a square plan with rounded edges.The fountain with its taps at the edges was covered by a timber canopied roof. The domes that were seen from the outside on the upper . . . — Map (db m84610) HM|
|U.S Virgin Islands, St John, Cruz Bay — Laurance Rockefeller — Philanthropist|
|In 1956 Laurance S. Rockefeller, financier and conservationist, donated over 5,000 acres through the Jackson Hole Preserve for the establishment of Virgin Islands National Park. While sailing the Caribbean in 1952, he became enchanted with the people and the unspoiled beauty of St. John. The unique natural, cultural and historic resources of the park are protected in perpetuity, thanks to his vision and generosity. — Map (db m60713) HM|
|U.S Virgin Islands, St John, Cruz Bay — Philanthropy in the National Park Service|
|Private philanthropy has a long history and important role in the development of America’s National Park system.|
Charitable donations by the Rockefeller family, notably by Laurance S. Rockefeller, helped to establish, enlarge or improve national parks across the United States. From Maine to Hawaii and Alaska to the Virgin Islands, over two dozen national park sites, including Acadia, Great Smokies, Grand Teton and Yosemite have benefited from his generosity and conservation ethic.
The . . . — Map (db m60716) HM
|United Kingdom, Northern Ireland (County Fermanagh), Irvinestown — Memorials to the Great Irish Famine in County Fermanagh — In Memory of All Buried Here — 1845 • The Great Famine • 1850|
In 1836 the Poor Law Enquiry found that over one third of people in Ireland were dependent on the potato as their main source of food. The population had grown to 8.2 million by 1841, and was vulnerable to any failure of the potato crop. The Great Famine (1845-1849), caused by potato blight, resulted in a national catastrophe.
The Poor Law
In an attempt to alleviate the problems arising from widespread poverty in early 19th century Ireland a new Poor Law was enacted in 1838. . . . — Map (db m72600) HM|
|Alabama (Baldwin County), Foley — Cobb's Light|
|1942, Benjamin DeWitt Cobb, more affectionately known as “B.D.”, was appointed as the lone police officer for the town of Foley. In 1943, another officer was hired and B.D. was appointed as the first Chief of Police. This marked the founding of the Foley Police Department. B.D. Cobb served as Police Chief until 1971 when he resigned due to failing health. He remained with the Police Department for several more years, serving as a Captain.
Early in Chief Cobb’s tenure, the Town of . . . — Map (db m81581) HM|
|Alabama (Colbert County), Tuscumbia — Ethel Davis Plaza — In Memory of — Ethel Davis, Artist|
Ethel Davis' vision and determination to enhance the quality of life in the Shoals through support and encouragement of the arts led to the foundation of the Tennessee Valley Art Association in 1963.
The following year the City of Tuscumbia Board of Commissioners offered the site between Water and Indian Streets on the Commons for the construction of a museum. The Art Association accepted this land, raised funds and opened the Tennessee Valley Art Center in 1972. The spirit of Ethel . . . — Map (db m83395) HM|
|Alabama (Colbert County), Tuscumbia — Ivy Green — Birthplace of Helen Keller|
|The Family Home of Captain Arthur M. & Kate Adams Keller was build 1820, being the second house erected in Tuscumbia.
Here on June 27, 1880 was born America's First Lady of Courage
Helen Adams Keller — Map (db m29089) HM|
|Alabama (Colbert County), Tuscumbia — Yellow Fever Epidemic 1878 / The 31 Victims of Yellow Fever Who died in Tuscumbia|
| Side AYellow Fever Epidemic 1878
Taking 31 Lives in Tuscumbia Citizen's Relief Committee:
F.H. Aydlett, H.M. Finley, J.J. Davis, James Jackson, Chm.
J.W. Rand Jr., F.A. Ross, J.N. Sampson, Sec. and C. A. Womble.
This committee, together with volunteers of both white and black~~ assisted by trained nurses brought from Memphis~~ nursed the sick, carried supplies, prepared the bodies, dug graves, and buried the dead.
Doctors, Serving around the . . . — Map (db m29263) HM|
|Alabama (Cullman County), Cullman — Johann Gottfried Cullmann|
|Born Frankwetler, Bavarta, Germany July 2, 1823
Died Cullman, Alabama December 3, 1895
Colonel Cullmann Founded the City of Cullman, Alabama, in 1873.
Later, in 1877, he founded Cullman County. He also established the Alabama Towns of Bangor, Berlin, Bremen, Garden City and Vinemont.
Because of his inspirational leadership and humanitarian influence, approximately 20,000 Bavarian and German immigrants settled in this area. — Map (db m83459) HM|
|Alabama (Etowah County), Gadsden — Sisters Missionary Servants Of The Most Blessed Trinity|
|On January 25, 1925 the Sisters acquired the 25 - bed Gadsden General Hospital on Chestnut Street and renamed it Holy Name of Jesus Hospital. The Hospital grew under the leadership of the Founders, Father Thomas A. Judge, C. M. and Mother Mary Boniface Keasey, M. S. B. T. In 1931 a new 120 - bed hospital was constructed on this site on land purchased from the Moragne family. Other additions were made during the 1960s and 1970s and the capacity was increased to 281 beds. In 1991 the Sisters . . . — Map (db m39141) HM|
|Alabama (Franklin County), Red Bay — Red Bay School|
|The first school building was built around 1900 by local citizens. The building was located just across from the Methodist Church. The building was a one-room structure & there were 2 teachers who taught at the school. All pupils walked to school & had to walk to a spring to get their water. The next Red Bay School was located where our Bay Tree Park is now. That school was also a white frame building. The school was described as having four rooms downstairs, three rooms upstairs, & an . . . — Map (db m83748) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — Donnelly House|
|This neoclassical structure was built in 1905 for James W. Donnelly, "the father of the Birmingham Library System."
Donnelly moved to Birmingham from his native Cincinnati, Ohio after retiring from Proctor and Gamble. A much respected manufacturer, industrialist, real-estate developer and civic leader, he is best remembered for his efforts to organize, fund and develop the Birmingham Public Library System -- one of the finest in the southeast.
The Donnelly house, included in the . . . — Map (db m26740) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — St. Vincent’s Hospital — Birmingham’s Oldest Hospital|
|Named for St. Vincent de Paul, founder of the Daughters of Charity in France in 1633, the hospital opened December 20, 1898 in the temporarily rented Henry F. DeBardelaben mansion at 206 15th Street South. Father Patrick A. O’Reilly founded the hospital together with Sisters Antonia, Benedicta, Patricia and Placida. Filling Birmingham’s desperate need for a hospital, the magnificent original building was dedicated on this site on November 29, 1900 at a cost of $223,000. The State’s first School . . . — Map (db m27523) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — Temple Wilson Tutwiler, II / Tutwiler Hotel — March 22, 1923 - March 1, 1982|
|Temple Wilson Tutwiler, II
“Tutwiler Green”, this section of Birmingham Green was so named in a resolution passed by the Birmingham City Council to honor the life and work of Temple Tutwiler II, who contributed greatly to the welfare and progress of this City. Mr. Tutwiler was a driving force in greening of Twentieth Street and through his leadership and determination saw this significant landmark to fruition.
This prestigious hotel was erected on this . . . — Map (db m27525) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — The Cascade|
|One popular element of the park’s original design was a water feature known as the cascade. Cascading fountains were important features in formal European gardens. Their terraced pools and waterfalls animated the landscape with the sounds and movement of water. Unfortunately, the cascade was removed in the 1969-71 park renovation. No remnants or original technical drawings of the fountain remain.
WPA records tell us that the Singing Tower, built in 1928 at Historic Bok . . . — Map (db m83857) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — The Works Progress Administration|
|The WPA (Works Progress Administration) funded the design and construction of Vulcan Park in the late 1930s. This was done in conjunction with the Alabama Highway Department’s improvement of U.S. Highway 31, the major north/south route that runs along the east side of the park. — Map (db m69022) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Mountain Brook — First Tuberculosis Sanatorium|
|1,000 feet East a small group of tents erected May, 1910 by the
Anti Tuberculosis Association of Jefferson County
constituted the first effort to aid victims of tuberculosis in North Alabama. — Map (db m26964) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — Deibert Park — -dedicated May 25, 2000-|
|This park was donated to the people of Florence by Dr. Kirk R. and Lillian Cook Deibert who initially acquired this property in 1952. The acreage was once a part of a large ante-bellum plantation owned by Judge Sidney Cherry Posey. In 1875 his heirs sold this farm to Charles Posey who had worked these same fields as a slave. Later, Charles and his wife Amcy, began dividing the land among their heirs, and this settlement became known as Posey. According to tradition, Charles Posey built a . . . — Map (db m33086) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — Sculpture Relief Books and Learning — 1921|
|This sculpture relief was created by James W. Stoves and placed above the entrance to Gilbert Elementary School in 1921. In 1980, following the demolition of Gilbert school, it was moved to Hibbett Middle School. Because of its theme which relates to the teaching of children, it is now a part of the Florence/Lauderdale Public Library. Stoves left the Birmingham, Alabama coal mines to become a stoneworker and sculptor. He moved to Florence in 1913 and purchased the Florence Marble Works. Many of . . . — Map (db m84048) HM|
|Alabama (Lawrence County), Hillsboro — Home of Annie Wheeler|
Born July 31, 1868 ~ Died April 10, 1955
Daughter of General Joseph Wheeler
Gallantly served her country three times on foreign soil.
Volunteer nurse, Santiago, Cuba~1898.
Spanish~American War and Manila, P.I. ~1899
during Philippine Insurrection.
Red Cross Worker with A.E.F. France, World War I ~1918.
Beloved as a humanitarian and benefactor of mankind. — Map (db m29558) HM|
|Alabama (Lee County), Auburn — Chewacla State Park — (CCC)|
Under President Franklin D. Roosevelt's New Deal (1933-1942), the Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) was established to provide work for single young men. The CCC's Company 4448, Camp Alabama SP-12, began work in September 1935 to construct Chewacla Park. By March 1941, they had built a dam and 26-acre lake, roads, trails, cabins, bathhouse, manager's house, arch bridge, and office. Barracks, mess hall, and canteen were also built on site to house the men who were from Alabama . . . — Map (db m85164) HM|
|Alabama (Lee County), Loachapoka — Dr. Alexandar Nunn / Lee County Historical Society|
Dr. Alexandar Nunn
Dr. Nunn was born in Loachapoka on September 17, 1904. Beginning in 1924 he contributed to and edited the Progressive Farmer Magazine for 43 years. He helped to start Southern Living Magazine, retiring in 1967 as executive editor and executive vice president. In 1968 he was a founding member of the Lee County Historical Society and was appointed Lee County's first official historian. He wrote two books and numerous articles about . . . — Map (db m73537) HM|
|Alabama (Limestone County), Athens — Courthouse and Poor Farm Fence|
|A section of the fence that surrounded the 'Court House' grounds until 1916. When construction of the present building was planned, the fence was moved to the County Poor Farm on Elkton Rd. This section donated to the people of Limestone County by the estate of John H. McCurry. — Map (db m85390) HM|
|Alabama (Macon County), Notasulga — Camp Watts — Named for Thomas H. Watts — CSA Attorney General (1862-63) and Alabama Governor (1863-65)|
|The camp on this site served as a military hospital, a camp of conscription and instruction, a supply depot, and a cemetery during the War Between the States. At one time, there were hundreds of headstones and rocks marking the final resting place of soldiers who were buried here. The Camp Watts conscription camp was ordered closed after the fall of Vicksburg on July 4, 1863. The hospital remained open, staffed by volunteers under the guidance of Juliet Opie Hopkins who relied on charitable . . . — Map (db m73529) HM|
|Alabama (Madison County), Huntsville — Civilian Conservation Corps (C. C. C.) Camp 1935~1940|
|This rock entrance is all that remains of Camp Ala. SP-16, 3486 and Camp Ala. TVA-7, 3483 which were built here due to available water. They were part of President Franklin D. Roosevelt's conservation projects. When WW II started the men enlisted in the army.
The boundaries were Wildwood Avenue north to Hutchens Avenue and Monte Sano Blvd east to Panorama Drive. For more information go north on Monte Sano Blvd, right on Nolen Avenue into their legacy; 2,340 acre Monte Sano State Park. . . . — Map (db m55607) HM|
|Alabama (Mobile County), Mobile — Mobile City Hospital|
Built in 1830 by Thomas S. James, Mobile's third hospital has been preserved in its original design except for additions at each end, serving without interruption through disastrous fires, yellow fever epidemics, and war. For 83 years between 1861 and 1959 it was ad-ministered for the City by the Sisters of Charity. — Map (db m86404) HM|
|Alabama (Mobile County), Mobile — The Salvation Army in Mobile|
|At the corner of Conception and St. Francis Streets, Captain Edward Justus Parker, Staff-Captain Charles Miles and a Salvation Army lieutenant conducted an open air meeting on the night of their arrival in March 1887. In contrast to earlier Salvation Army openings in other cities, the Mobile audience was polite. Men removed their hats as prayer was offered and those in attendance respectfully participated in singing and dropped coins into the collection plate.
Mobile became an official . . . — Map (db m86337) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Hope Hull — Tankersley Rosenwald School — Erected in 1923|
|This building was one of fourteen schools constructed in Montgomery County with funding assistance from the Julius Rosenwald Fund. Between 1912-32, Julius Rosenwald, a Jewish philanthropist and CEO of Sears, Roebuck and Company teamed up with Booker T. Washington and Tuskegee Institute to provide matching grants for the construction of school buildings for African Americans in mostly rural areas of the South. This collaborative effort produced more than 5,000 of these buildings in 15 southern . . . — Map (db m71427) HM|
|Alabama (Morgan County), Decatur — Beauty and Hope — Restoring the Vision...Preserving The Legacy|
|"This section lying between Sixth Avenue and Eight Avenue will provide the central beautification theme as it will evolve into a beautiful elevated rose garden with 2,000 selected roses planted at vantage points... the color ensemble, when complete is expected to be one of rare beauty."
The Decatur Daily December 30, 1933
During the difficult years of the Great Depression, Franklin Delano Roosevelt used park projects to provide a vision of hope in the future. As part of the New Deal . . . — Map (db m53664) HM|
|Alabama (Saint Clair County), Eden — None — Camp Winnataska|
|Dr. Elwyn Ballard, Commissioner of Boy Scouts in the Birmingham, and his wife, Florence Aye Ballard, discovered this site in 1914, and became vital forces in the founding and growth of the camp. Boy Scouts and Boys Club members from the area first camped here in tents in 1916. Through Dr. Ballard, the Interdenominational Birmingham Sunday School Association acquired the camp in 1918 and offered sessions not only for boys but for girls as well – the first organization-sponsored camping for . . . — Map (db m49659) HM|
|Alabama (Talladega County), Talladega — Presbyterian Home For Children — Synod Of Alabama — Presbyterian Church In The United States|
|Originally conceived 1864 as a home for children of Confederate dead by Synod in session at Selma.
Opened at Tuskegee 1868 - relocated in Talladega 1891. A haven for dependent youth of Alabama providing training, education, and worship in a Christian atmosphere. — Map (db m28206) HM|
|Alaska (Juneau Borough), Juneau — Patsy Ann: her statue|
|Fifty years after Patsy Ann met her last ship, admirers led by June Dawson organized the Friends of Patsy Ann. The group raised funds and commissioned a statue so Patsy Ann could once again greet visitors on the dock.
Sculpted by Ann Burke Harris of Albuquerque, New Mexico, the statue was cast at the Shidoni Foundry in New Mexico. Bits of their own hair and pets’ fur were sent from all over the globe by those who fondly remembered Patsy Ann. Those tokens were pressed into the wax before . . . — Map (db m69663) HM|
|Arizona (Coconino County), Grand Canyon National Park — Albright Training Center History|
| The Horace M. Albright Training Center is a National Park Service facility for employee development. Established in 1963 and named for the National Park Service's second director, the training center serves as an educational program center for employees throughout the nation. — Map (db m39602) HM|
|Arizona (Coconino County), Grand Canyon National Park — CCC Legacy|
| The nearby plaque commemorates an amazing feat achieved by members of the Civilian Conservation Corp (CCC) in the 1930s - construction of a telephone line spanning the entire width of Grand Canyon. One of the poles still stands behind this wall. Beginning in 1934, CCC enrollees worked through winter snow and summer heat to survey and clear a right-of-way roughly following the Bright Angel and North Kaibab trails. Supplied by pack mules, they set 592 galvanized pipe telephone poles and . . . — Map (db m78836) HM|
|Arizona (Coconino County), Grand Canyon National Park — Mission 66|
| Responding to mounting political and public pressure, Congress authorized a ten-year program in 1955 to regenerate and modernize the national parks dubbed "Mission 66" for the target date of 1966, the National Park Service's 50th anniversary. The Albright Training Center is among the hundreds of new facilities built to accomodate the needs of the public and the National Park Service in the post World War II years.
[Drawing below text is of the Fort Necessity National Battlefield visitor center, 1964] — Map (db m39587) HM|
|Arizona (Coconino County), Page — Colorado River Storage Project / Glen Canyon Dam — Reclamation: Managing Water in the West|
| Colorado River Storage Project
In recognition of the vision of the Colorado River Storage Project Act of 1956 and the significant contributions the act has made to the development of the Upper Colorado River Basin states, this plaque commemorates the 50th anniversary of the start of construction of the Colorado River Storage Project. Construction of the project has been a key factor in the development and management of water and hydropower generation in the Upper Colorado River Basin . . . — Map (db m40350) HM|
|Arizona (Coconino County), Page — Concrete Bucket / Concrete Core Sample — Reclamation: Managing Water in the West|
| Concrete Bucket
This is one of several concrete buckets that poured the concrete in Glen Canyon Dam. Each bucket held 24 tons (22 metric tons) of concrete and it took over 400,000 buckets to complete the dam. The first pour of concrete occurred on June 17, 1960, the start of an around-the-clock process that continued uninterrupted until September of 1963.
Concrete Core Sample
The polished core cylinder shows the kind of materials that make up the dam. The imbedded rocks are . . . — Map (db m40342) HM|
|Arizona (Coconino County), Page — Glen Canyon Dam — Colorado River Storage Project|
the First Lady
Mrs. Lyndon B. Johnson
September 22, 1966
United States Department of the Interior
Stewart L. Udall, Secretary
Bureau of Reclamation
Floyd E. Dominy, Commissioner
[The following marker is inside the
Powerplant Gallery area]
Major John Wesley Powell led scientific exploration parties down the Green and Colorado Rivers in 1869 and in 1871-72. Years later Powell became a leader in government science programs, headed the U.S. . . . — Map (db m40370) HM|
|Arizona (Coconino County), Page — Hydroelectric Power - A Green and Renewable Energy Source — Reclamation: Managing Water in the West|
| Glen Canyon Dam and other dams along the Colorado River provide critical water and power resources for millions of Americans in the Southwest. Recreation at the reservoirs is enjoyed by visitors from around the world.
This turbine runner was one of the original eight installed in Glen Canyon Powerplant. It was replaced as part of an efficiency upgrade in 2007. Less water is now needed to produce the same amount of energy. Water that flowed through this turbine came from . . . — Map (db m40344) HM|
|Arizona (Coconino County), Page — Intake Structures — Reclamation: Managing Water in the West|
| The eight small "buildings" on the upstream face of the dam contain equipment to operate the penstock gates. Each penstock is 15 feet (4.6 meters) in diameter and carries water to one of the turbine generators in the powerplant. — Map (db m40349) HM|
|Arizona (Coconino County), Page — Rock Bolts / High Scaling — Reclamation: Managing Water in the West|
| Rock Bolts
Since Navajo sandstone tends to fracture vertically, rock bolts lock rock slabs together, thereby minimizing rock falls into the canyon. These bolts extend from 45 to 75 feet (14-23 meters) into the canyon wall. They are assembled in 10 foot (3 meter) sections. An expansion device on the end ties the bolt solidly to the wall. The plate is 14 inches (36 centimeters) square and 2 inches (5 centimeters) thick. The bolts are cement grouted into the wall.
High . . . — Map (db m40346) HM|
|Arizona (Coconino County), Page — Turbine Runner|
| This stainless steel turbine runner was removed in 1989 from the Bureau of Reclamation's Crystal Dam Powerplant in Montrose, Colorado. Weighing about 8½ metric tons, it is the rotating part of a Francis-type reaction turbine (named after its invenor James B. Francis) and is the type most widely used by Reclamation. Although this runner is five times smaller than the runners inside the Glen Canyon Powerplant, it operates in the same way.
To generate hydropower, Glen Canyon Dam creates a . . . — Map (db m40371) HM|
|Arizona (Maricopa County), Phoenix — Father Albert Braun O.F.M. — Born September 5, 1889 Died March 6, 1983|
|Father Albert was a young missionary and teacher to the Mescalero Apaches in New Mexico and other tribes in Arizona.
Father Braun was an Army chaplain in World War I and World War II receiving the Purple Heart and two Silver Stars for his heroic service. He was a prisoner of war for 40 months in the Phillipines.
He came to Arizona in 1949 and assisted the poor in McNary, Parker on the Colorado River and St. John's Indian Mission. He was also a teacher at St. Mary's
High School in . . . — Map (db m26830) HM|
|Arkansas (Benton County), Rogers — War Eagle Mills Farm|
|The Ozark Arts and Crafts Fair was founded on War Eagle Mills Farm by Lester and Blanche Elliott and friends in October 1954 for the purpose of giving recognition to Ozark artists and craftsment who work with their hands and hearts to preserve the rich Ozark heritage. Dedicated to the memory of Lester and Blanche Elliott. The fair was made possible through their devotion to each other and the people they loved. They gave freely of their time, labor and the use of this historic farm for the . . . — Map (db m52066) HM|
|Arkansas (Carroll County), Eureka Springs — A Timeless Place — Upper Spring|
The buildings, the bluffs, the spring and The Boulevard all make this a special place in Eureka Springs which has kept a peaceful beauty of earlier times.
The front of the McLaughlin Block has changed little since it was built in 1900 to house a very modern grocery and meat market. Stone to construct the building was blasted out of the bluff and cut on-site. Congress Spring flows behind the building. An early writer describes the store: "The grocery store was as clean, polished . . . — Map (db m80138) HM
|Arkansas (Carroll County), Eureka Springs — Carnegie Library|
This is one of only four free public libraries in Arkansas funded by philanthropist Andrew Carnegie. It was built of native limestone and completed in 1912 on this site which was donated by Eureka Springs resident Richard C. Kerens. The architect was George W. Hellmuth of St. Louis. — Map (db m80137) HM
|Arkansas (Carroll County), Eureka Springs — Grotto Spring|
The words "esto perpetua" emblazoned upon a stone above the entrance to Grotto Spring declare the prevailing belief that these healing waters would flow forth forever. Early townspeople discovered the spring under an overhanging rock ledge, a short distance from the well-known Dairy Spring.
Extensive street construction on "The Boulevard", as Spring Street was then called, began in 1890. This necessitated construction of an enclosure of limestone and ornamental stonework hand-worked by . . . — Map (db m80121) HM
|Arkansas (Carroll County), Eureka Springs — Law Offices of F. O. Butt|
Festus Orestes Butt was born in 1875 in Illinois just before his family moved to Carroll County, Arkansas. He became a licensed attorney before he was of legal age. The Arkansas General Assembly set aside his "disability of minority", and he set up a practice in Eureka Springs in 1894. Elected to the legislature, Butt served four years, then two successive terms in the state senate before 1910. He was elected mayor of Eureka Springs in 1911, 1916 and 1920. During a second term in the . . . — Map (db m79735) HM
|Arkansas (Carroll County), Eureka Springs — Sweet Spring|
This spring derived its name from early townspeople who declared the water to have a pleasant, sweet taste. The spring was originally located in the deep ravine below the present site. A long wooden stairway led from the spring to the narrow wagon road then known as Rice Street, which is now called Spring Street. Sweet Spring was also referred to as Spout Spring.
Around 1885 workmen dug into the mountainside above the street to locate the stream of water in a more accessible location. . . . — Map (db m80115) HM
|Arkansas (Carroll County), Eureka Springs — The Stone Walls|
| Eureka Springs claims an estimated fifty-six miles of stone walls. Skilled stonemasons constructed most of the walls between 1885 and 1910. The limestone used was sometimes quarried on site but the majority was transported to the town site by horse drawn wagons or railroad flatcars from the quarry near Beaver, six miles away and the railroad junction 2 miles north of Eureka Springs.
In the first census of Eureka Springs in 1880, thirty men gave "stonemason" as their occupation. They were . . . — Map (db m63299) HM|
|Arkansas (Washington County), Fayetteville — James William Fulbright|
President of University of Arkansas 1939-1941.
U.S. Representative 1943-1944.
U.S. Senator 1945.
Delegate to the United Nations 1954.
Author of Fulbright Resolution for International Cooperation 1943.
Originator of Fulbright International Exchange Scholarship Program.
Attended University Training School Primary through High School.
Student in University of Arkansas 1921-1925.
B.A. 1925. Letterman 1921, 22, 23, 24.
Rhodes Scholar Oxford U. B.A. M.A. 1928.
L.L.B. George . . . — Map (db m59915) HM|
|Arkansas (Washington County), Fayetteville — Significant Dates in Fayetteville History|
Significant dates in Fayetteville history include: Incorporated town in 1836; Old Wire road from Jefferson City, Mo. to Ft. Smith cut in 1835; Washington County Fair first held on the Square in 1856; first telegraph installed around 1860; Butterfield Stage Coach Lines served from 1836 until the first passenger train arrived on July 4, 1882, then the coaches were used for local transportation until the early 1900’s; oil lights illuminated the Square until 1888 when electricity was installed; . . . — Map (db m59877) HM|
|Arkansas (Washington County), Fayetteville — Will Rogers — To The Memory Of|
| Whose heartfelt understanding
of his fellowman
made possible the planning
of this avenue
February 1931 — Map (db m59914) HM|
|California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Berkeley Y.M.C.A. — City of Berkeley Landmark - designated in 1990 — Benjamin G. McDougall, Architect - 1910|
|Originating among working class Englishmen in 1844, the Young Men's Christian Association was brought to North America in 1851 to promote a "full and balanced life" through religious devotion and athletic activity. Berkeley's charter organization was established in 1903.
Business and service organizations raised the substantial sum of $118,003 to construct this Georgian Revival style building, designed by the architect of the nearby Shattuck Hotel, on land donated by Rosa M. Shattuck and her . . . — Map (db m50295) HM|
|California (Alameda County), Oakland — Black Panther Party Stoplight|
|Text for this marker is found on both sides of the panel. Side 1
On August 1, 1987
This stoplight was
installed as a result of
a community initiative
spearheaded by the
Black Panther Party Side 2
After several children attending the nearby Santa Fe Elementary School were killed and many injured by motorists at this intersection, the demand for a traffic signal by the Anti-Poverty Center and the Black Panther Party began in June, 1967. However, the Oakland City . . . — Map (db m72395) HM|
|California (Alameda County), Oakland — John "Alex" Alexander — 1924-1993|
|John "Alex" Alexander spent his entire working life at Naval Supply Center Oakland. Symbolic of the many dedicated civilians who worked on the base, Alex inspired others through his tireless work on behalf of the community at large and promoted public service among his coworkers. He received many awards and citations, including Father of the Year Award from the Institute of Black Studies in Oakland and the Civilian Meritorious Service Medal, the United States Navy's highest civilian award. Alex . . . — Map (db m63171) HM|
|California (Alameda County), Oakland — Lafayette Square Timeline|
|This marker consists of a number of inscribed metal strips embedded in the walkway. 1853 - Map of Oakland is laid out by J. Kellersberg showing seven public squares, including Lafayette Square. Six are symmetrical around Broadway, the seventh is City Hall Square.
1879 – “The City hasn’t duly considered the importance of these squares. As the City becomes more densely developed, open space will become priceless” – Mayor Washburn Andrus.
1883 - Anthony . . . — Map (db m72733) HM|
|California (Alameda County), Oakland — Oakland’s Chinatowns — Wa Sung Community Service Club|
|This marker is made up of two markers and two plaques on the same monument.
One Community, Many Locations
Chinese first settled in Oakland in the 18502 during the California Gold Rush. Unlike San Francisco’s Chinatown, Oakland’s Chinese community remained relatively small in the 1800s. Faced with the same challenges and obstacles as other Chinese settlements of the time, the Chinese were constantly being relocated outside of desirable neighborhoods. In 1880, the site of . . . — Map (db m72762) HM|
|California (Alameda County), San Leandro — Chabot Dam|
|Chabot Dam, originally called San Leandro Dam, was built by Anthony Chabot who started Contra Coast Water Company in 1868. When artesian wells and Temescal and Sausal Creeks failed to bring Oakland and surrounding cities enough water he decided to dam San Leandro Creek. In 1874 some 800 Chinese laborers were imported to sluice in 682,000 cubic yards of earth fill. Wild horses brought from Oregon trampled successive layers of San Leandro Dam’s clay center. The reservoir’s water first flowed into . . . — Map (db m71714) HM|
|California (Butte County), Oroville — Oroville Carnegie Library — Built 1912|
|has been placed on
of Historic Places
by the United States
Department of the Interior
In 1911, Andrew Carnegie, Scottish industrialist, businessman, and major philanthropist, endowed upon City of Oroville $10,000 for the construction of a public library building. The building was constructed and the Oroville Public Library was ready for public use in 1912.
Oroville Public Library is one of the thirty-six Temple-Style Classical Revival California Carnegie . . . — Map (db m17229) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Georgetown — Georgetown Volunteer Firemen|
|This monument is dedicated to the Georgetown Volunteer Firemen past and present who have served this community for 125 years.
This bell had served as the fire alarm for many years until retired in 1965 when the new station was built. Material and labor was donated by community and firemen.
Commissioners: Robert Brookins • William Butts • Richard Smith
Fire Chief Jack Anderson
Designed by Associate Member Herm Kinney — Map (db m11376) HM|
|California (Fresno County), Fresno — George M. Bowman — 1891 - 1984|
| This Water Tower is dedicated to George M. Bowman in recognition for thirty-six years of dedicated service to the City of Fresno and for his accomplishments as a naval officer. He was the city's first chief engineer and became general manager of the Water Department. He designed innovative electrical systems for street lighting, several well known public buildings and Chandler Air Field. Attaining the rank of rear admiral in the Navy, his career was distinguished by courage, leadership and . . . — Map (db m41071) HM|
|California (Fresno County), Fresno — The Fresno Water Tower — An American Water Landmark|
| Designed by architect George S. Mayer of Chicago, Illinois. It was completed in November 1894, replacing two wooden tanks erected on this site in 1887. The Tower stands 100 feet high with a tank capacity of 250,000 gallons. This facility, modeled after the Chicago Water Tower of 1867, was designed to house the Fresno City Library on the 2nd and 3rd levels. The brick walls are of double construction, from one to two feet thick, with a space of three feet between them.
An American Water . . . — Map (db m41069) HM|
|California (Inyo County), Furnace Creek — Stephen Tyng Mather — July 4, 1867 - Jan. 22, 1930|
|He laid the foundation of the National Park Service, defining and establishing the policies under which its areas shall be developed and conserved unimpaired for future generations. There will never come an end to the good that he has done. — Map (db m71148) HM|
|California (Lassen County), Westwood — Westwood Firehouse|
|Built in 1913, this building has been the home of the Westwood Fire Department since its beginning. O.L. Lunt was the 1st Chief until 1918. Maurice Hertzig was appointed Chief in 1946 and served for 32 years, he was the last official chief. Once the home of horse drawn fire wagons & sleds, it is now the home of state of the art equipment. As in the beginning, its still manned by the bravest & most loyal men and women of Westwood. — Map (db m56708) HM|
|California (Los Angeles County), Los Angeles — 730 — Plaza Fire House|
|Dedicated to the firemen of the Los Angeles Fire Department - past, present and future - who, since 1871, by their courage and faithful devotion to duty have protected the lives and property of the citizens of Los Angeles from the ravages of fire. — Map (db m51301) HM|
|California (Merced County), Los Banos — Henry Miller — July 21, 1827 - October 14, 1916|
| There is one description of Henry Miller, California's cattle king, that sums up his contributions to this community: Henry Miller - Founding Father of Los Banos.
Born 1827 in Brackenheim, Kingdom of Wurtemberg, Germany, Miller left the family farm at age 14 to make his way in the world. He arrived in New York City in 1847, just as California's Gold Rush was getting underway. Lured by the promise of treasure, Miller joined a myriad of others heading West, arriving in San Francisco in 1850 . . . — Map (db m41164) HM|
|California (Mono County), Bodie — Return to Bodie|
|During the California gold rush, E Clampus Vitus was a fraternal order and benevolence society for miners. It was rumored to be one of the secret societies in the town of Bodie during its heyday.
Today, ECV is dedicated to the preservation of California history and accordingly, members of the present day Bodie chapter were instrumental in preserving the town as a historical landmark. With their help in 1956, legislation was drafted to add Bodie to the state park system. By 1962 the process . . . — Map (db m8493) HM|
|California (Mono County), Bridgeport — Poor Farm|
|It began as the county hospital in Bodie in 1879. With the decline of Bodie in the mid 1880’s, the hospital was moved eventually to a site east of this monument and Highway 395 to the rear of the small meadow that you see. At that time it became known as the “Poor Farm”, a refuge for the aged, ill, and penniless. It continued to operate for several years, but the high cost of maintaining the facility forced its closure and the building and property were put up for bid and sold to a local rancher. — Map (db m11347) HM|
|California (Nevada County), Grass Valley — 855 — Mount Saint Mary’s Convent and Academy|
|Built by the Reverend Thomas J. Dalton and dedicated May 2, 1865 by Bishop Eugene O’Connell as Sacred Heart Convent and Holy Angels Orphanage. Under the Sisters of Mercy it served from 1866 to 1932 as the first orphanage of the Northern Mines. It functioned as an Academy (1868 – 1965) and a convent (1866 – 1968). — Map (db m12898) HM|
|California (Nevada County), Nevada City — Pennsylvania Engine Co. No. 2 — January 14, 1861|
|Fire Company formed June 18, 1860 as Eureka Hose No.2 with 34 volunteers. Name changed in August of that year to ‘Pennsylvania Engine’. Construction money raised in 1859 by popular subscription and a grand ball staged by the town’s women. This firehouse has been in continuous use since 1861. — Map (db m10832) HM|
|California (Orange County), Anaheim — Helena Modjeska|
|This statue is the oldest public works of art project of its type in Orange County. Sponsored by the State Emergency Relief Administration, the Anaheim Rotary Club and the City of Anaheim, it was originally dedicated on September 15, 1935.
Depicted is Polish actress Madame Helena Modjeska, who established an artist's colony in Anaheim in 1876. On the reverse side are four vineyard workers representing the agricultural nature of the original Anaheim colony. — Map (db m51967) HM|
|California (Plumas County), Cromberg — Vardanega Spring|
|John Vardanega, first owner of Mt. Tomba Inn, (1933-1944) designed and built this cement tank with the help of the CCC on or about 1938 for water supply in the immediate vicinity. — Map (db m56612) HM|
|California (Riverside County), Banning — 60 — Banning Woman's Club Clubhouse|
|Built in 1915, the Banning Woman's Club Clubhouse is a frame building in the classical revival style with a plain entablature, simple doric columns, and palladian windows, as well as providing a meeting place for the woman's club, the socal and civic life of the growing Banning Community centered around the clubhouse for over 50 years.
This marker is dedicated to club founders Mrs. Ida Bird, Mrs. French Gilman, Mrs. Samina Carpenter, Mrs. Mary Ellis, Mrs. Joseph Fountain, Mrs. Floretta . . . — Map (db m50710) HM|
|California (Riverside County), Indio — 116 — Dr. June Robertson McCarroll|
|Dr. June Robertson McCarroll was born June 30, 1867 in the Adirondacks and began her medical career in Chicago. She left a promising practice for Indio in 1904. Becoming the sole practicing physician for the entire Coachella Valley. She traveled by horseback, horse and buggy, and automobile to provide medical care throughout the valley under very primitive conditions.
An encounter with a large truck on a narrow road in 1917 resulted in her Model T abandoning the road for a sandy ditch. . . . — Map (db m78540) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — 614 — Leland Stanford House|
|The house originally designed in 1857 by Seth Babson and was purchased by Leland Stanford in 1861. It served as the State Executive Office from 1861 to 1867, before the completion of the State Capital. It was later extensively remodeled and enlarged. In 1900 Jane Lathrop Stanford gave the house to the Roman Catholic Diocese of Sacramento to create the Stanford-Lathrop Memorial Home for Friendless Children. — Map (db m11842) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — Margaret Rhodes Crocker — 1822 – 1901 — Wife of Edwin Bryant Crocker|
|The donation of her late husband’s art collection to the city in 1885 gave Sacramento the first and finest art gallery west of the Mississippi. Other philanthropic gestures during her lifetime, which included generous support of the Protestant Orphan Asylum, founding of the Marguerite Home for Aged and Homeless Women (1884), Women’s Aid Society and other numerous charities, earned her the title of “Lady Bountiful”. — Map (db m10769) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — Old Masonic Cemetery|
|Plot Size: 67” by 68’
In purchasing this site from the Board of Trustees, Sacramento City Cemetery, July 30, 1859, the Order of Free and Accepted Masons became the first fraternal organization in Sacramento to provide a private burial plot for its members – a cemetery within a cemetery. The Old Masonic was acquired in two sections, the last of which was purchased April 30, 1860, increased the plot to its present size and brought the total cost to the Masonic . . . — Map (db m14075) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — Old Odd Fellows Plot — The Independent Order of Odd Fellows|
|They were an order that inscribed upon their banners, “Visit the sick, relieve the distressed, and bury the dead.”
“To the benevolent – If there is any of that commodity called charity in this community, we earnestly call upon those possessing it to exercise it forthwith.”
So went out the plea to the Brotherhood in an editorial appeal that appeared in the Placer Times, August 18, 1849.
General Albert V. Winn was the first to move in this . . . — Map (db m12489) HM|
|California (Sacramento County), Sacramento — Sisters of Mercy — Arrival in Sacramento, October 2, 1857|
|This sculpture commemorates the 150th anniversary of the Sisters of Mercy caring for those in need to the greater Sacramento region. Mary Baptist Russell, California Foundress of the Sisters of Mercy, is depicted here as a woman of vision, courage and compassion, blazing the trail for her companions and followers as they bring hope and healing to those is need.
The works of the Sisters of Mercy are based on the vision of their Irish Foundress, Catherine McAuley, who sought to connect the . . . — Map (db m14840) HM|
|California (San Bernardino County), Arrowhead — Donald S. Wieman — 1900 - 1977|
|In 1932, during the Great Depression, California launched a large public works project to aid recovery. A major component was the construction of masonry walls, parapets and fountains along the historic "Rim of the World" highway. This work, widely acclaimed for its beauty and craftsmanship, was the handiwork of Donald S. Wieman. This vista point is dedicated to his memory. — Map (db m51261) HM|
|California (San Bernardino County), Redlands — 994 — A.K. Smiley Public Library|
|Albert K. Smiley, a leader of the city's library movement, donated this building and park to the citizens of Redlands in 1898. Through his generosity, Redlands was given one of California's few privately funded libraries of that era. In 1906, he also contributed a wing, built to blend with the original design for this outstanding Mission Revival library. — Map (db m51029) HM|
|California (San Bernardino County), Twentynine Palms — 23 — Minerva Hamilton Hoyt|
|Her tireless efforts to establish Joshua Tree National Monument contributed to a heightened appreciation, not only of the Joshua Tree, but of the total desert environment. — Map (db m78588) HM|
|California (San Diego County), Carlsbad — 1020 — Leo Carrillo Ranch — (Rancho de Los Kiotes)|
|Between 1937 and 1940, these adobe and wood buildings were built by actor Leo Carrillo as a retreat, working ranch, and tribute to old California culture and architecture. The Leo Carrillo Ranch, with its Flying "LC" brand, originally covered 2,538 acres and was frequented by Carrillo and his friends until 1960. Leo Carrillo was a strong, positive, and well-loved role model who sought to celebrate California's early Spanish heritage, through a life of good deeds and charitable causes. — Map (db m51105) HM|
|California (San Diego County), Ramona — Ramona Town Hall|
|Dedicated on Washington's birthday, February 22, 1894, this building was given to the townspeople of Nuevo (as Ramona was then known) by a rancher and financier Augustus Barnett and his wife Martha. Feeling that the local schoolhouse was not a proper place to hold dances and other social events, Barnett donated $17,000 in gold coin to erect a building that could serve as the social center for the community as well as host a library.
Romona Town Hall was designed by noted San Diego architect . . . — Map (db m82350) HM|
|California (San Diego County), San Diego — Don Antonio Aguirre — San Diego Merchant and Ranchero — 1799 – 1860|
|Don Jose Antonio Aguirre built his adobe mansion on this site on or just prior to 1868. Because the Casa de Aguirre was one of the first houses in Old Town, the Aguirre – Antonio, his wife Rosaria and their many children – are considered to be one of San Diego’s founding families. Don Antonio was a wealthy merchant and rancher who contributed greatly to the development of San Diego. Locally, he owned several ships and warehouses and imported goods from Peru and China in trade for . . . — Map (db m11648) HM|
|California (San Diego County), San Diego — Father Antonio Ubach — Last of the Padres — 1835 – 1907|
|Antonio Dominic Ubach, passionate advocate for California Native Americans, and defender of Indian rights, ran St. Anthony’s Indian School on this site from 1856 to 1891. Father Ubach, created programs to help hundreds of Indian children adapt to an American society. He lobbied government to protect the Indians and their lands and was appointed by President Ulysses S. Grant to lead official missions of State. Father Ubach was immortalized in Helen Hunt Jackson’s 1884 novel Ramona as the . . . — Map (db m11647) HM|
|California (San Francisco City and County), San Francisco — History of Union Square|
|1839 Jean Vioget laid out the first plan of Yerba Buena (later San Francisco), showing the Union Square site as a future park.
1847 Jasper O’Farrell created a second, more accurate plan for the blocks of San Francisco, designating this site as a public square. The site was a sand dune called O’Farrell’s Mountain.
1850 Colonel John Geary deeded the block to the City to be held in perpetuity for park use.
1860 (circa) The sand dune was removed and the first . . . — Map (db m71915) HM|
|California (San Francisco City and County), San Francisco — Officer Jane Warner|
|Jane Warner spent two decades keeping the peace in the city's Castro, Noe Valley and Mission neighborhoods as a San Francisco Patrol Special Police Officer. To her many friends, she was simply known as "Officer Jane".
She was dedicated not only to the business owners who contracted with her for her neighborbood safety services, but also to protecting the residents and visitors in the area she patrolled. She was a long time columnist for the Bay Area Reporter, penning the LGBT crime column. . . . — Map (db m64229) HM|
|California (San Francisco City and County), San Francisco — The Frank J. Portman Memorial Diorama — 1939 - 1995|
|Frank J. Portman, president of the Frank Portman Company and our Restoration Project contractor was called to God one week before our celebration to mark the completion of the Old Mission Dolores Restoration Project. From the inception of the Project in 1991 through the last weeks of his life, Frank Portman dedicated himself to the success of every aspect of the effort to restore Mission Dolores and preserve it for the future.
Like his grandfather and father, Frank Portman and other . . . — Map (db m72505) HM|
|California (San Francisco City and County), San Francisco — The Salvation Army|
On this site the work of
The Salvation Army
on the Pacific Coast
was started by Major Alfred Wells
July 22nd, 1883
July 21st, 1939 — Map (db m40816) HM|
|California (San Francisco City and County), San Francisco — The San Francisco Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals|
Near this site occurred
the incident which led to the formation of
The San Francisco
Society for the Prevention
of Cruelty to Animals
on April 8, 1868
James Sloan Hutchinson, a pioneer banker witnessing nearby an act of cruelty to animals
a condition all too common at that time,
was aroused to put a stop to the offense.
This also lead him to gather a number of leading citizens to form the first . . . — Map (db m33538) HM|
|California (San Francisco City and County), San Francisco — White Angel|
|It was westering and westering. And then the old men came to edge of the continent and saw they could go no further, they broke down and wept. Down and out on the waterfront in Frisco. The end of the line. Out of work. Out of food. And out of hope. San Francisco – at the end of the line – had always had more than its share of transient men, on the move, looking for work. During the Great Depression of the 1930s, the sheer number of people without homes and without food overwhelmed . . . — Map (db m70843) HM|
|California (Santa Clara County), San Jose — Camp Mt. Madonna|
| [Side-bar on left:]
At New Almaden
During the Depression (1933-1942) and after most mining activity had ceased, New Almaden once again gave jobs, hope and future to young men through a program created by Franklin D. Roosevelt called the Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC). The CCC was a group of hearty young men who provided community services such as fire fighting, road construction, and building construction. In return they received experience, money and an education.
Artist . . . — Map (db m52778) HM|
|California (Santa Clara County), San Jose — Site of English Town * CCC Camp Mt. Madonna|
|The Civilian Conservation Corps, established in 1933 by the Federal Government for nine years became one of the most constructive national service programs. CCC Companies: 1917-V, 1235, 3341, 3325, 739, 4500 occupied this camp between 1933 and 1939.
Projects directed by California Department of Forestry: service and fire road building, fire lookout towers, fire fighting crews, telephone lines, ranger station facilities.
Dedicated October 10, 1992 by John Muir Chapter 45
National . . . — Map (db m52774) HM|
|California (Shasta County), Anderson — Anderson Historic Fire Station|
|Originally constructed in 1903 on this site as a two-story building, the Anderson Fire Station was completed for a cost of $90 for used lumber and nails.
Initial firefighting equipment included twelve buckets, four axes, three sections of hose and a hand drawn hose cart. The first motorized fire equipment purchased for the station was a 1924 Dodge chemical truck, which was sold for scrap for the war effort in 1943. This was replaced by the 1941 and 1946 Van Pelt trucks, which are still housed in the station. — Map (db m70345) HM|
|California (Shasta County), Castella — 4 — CCC Camp (1934-1939)|
|For just six short years Sims was the location of a bustling Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) camp...
With its wooded valley and beautiful river setting, Sims was a haven to the boys from Company 978 who came from the busy cities of San Francisco, Oakland, and other Bay Area communities. Camp Sims, like other CCC camps, was administered and built by the U.S. Army. But it was the Forest Service who was in charge of the actual work projects.
Besides firefighting, the boys from Camp . . . — Map (db m69843) HM|
|California (Shasta County), Castella — 1 — Sims Bridge: A CCC First|
|It took a bit of grit and determination for the Forest Service and Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) crew to build this sturdy bridge...
Raymond Huber, who supervised the project remembers... “I was given a pickup and a plan of a 160-foot suspension bridge... and no real book of regulations... Well, we made our regulations as we went along. We finally worried our way through a completed bridge in September 1933.”
Sims Bridge was renowned as the first major construction . . . — Map (db m69821) HM|
|California (Shasta County), Lassen Volcanic National Park — Stephen Tyng Mather — July 4, 1867 - Jan. 22, 1930|
|He laid the foundation of the National Park Service, defining and establishing the policies under which its areas shall be developed and conserved unimpaired for future generations. There will never come an end to the good that he has done. — Map (db m71149) HM|
|California (Tuolumne County), Big Oak Flat — Joseph E. Lemos — 1892 – 1961|
Ione Lodge 51 & Ione Rebeka Lodge 270 – 1931
Yosemite Lodge 97 – 1941
Big Oak Rebeka Lodge 259 – 1947
District Deputy Grand Master
1943 & 1958
District Deputy Grand Marshall
1948 & 1953
Appointed Grand Herald of Grand Lodge
Appointed to Grand Lodge Youth Committee
1941 & 1961
Past Chief Patriarch Amador Emcampment No.17
Bald Mountain Encampment No.4 Sonora -1944
Captain (R) Sacramento Canton No.1
Yosemite . . . — Map (db m14265) HM|
|California (Tuolumne County), Sonora — 6007 — Rother's Corner|
|The corner property was originally called Patrick’s Corner, after George Washington Patrick, an early settler of Sonora and one of its first mayors. At the outbreak of the Civil War in 1861, Patrick left Sonora to volunteer his services to the Confederate Army. Although he was refused a commission and did not serve in the army, he remained in the south until his death in 1886.
William Rother, Sr., acquired the property in 1870 at a sheriff’s sale. Rother was born in Germany in 1809, later . . . — Map (db m6968) HM|
|California (Tuolumne County), Tuolumne — Hose Cart House|
|This hose cart house restored March 1974, by Tuolumne Hose Co. No. 1, in memory of those who fought fire and originated the first volunteer fire dept. in the townsite of Summerville in 1885. — Map (db m6814) HM|
|California (Yolo County), Winters — J. Robert Chapman Memorial Bridge|
|The Vaca Valley Railroad built a rail and wagon trestle bridge across Putah Creek into Yolo County at this site in 1875, bringing about the birth of the town of Winters. The bridge was built with the financial assistance of prospective businessmen and landowners, including Theodore Winters and D.P. Edwards. Growth of the area's first town, Buckeye, ended that year. Many of Buckeye's residents moved to Winters, in some instances hauling their homes with them, pulled by horses over a distance of . . . — Map (db m72905) HM|
|Colorado (Adams County), Westminster — WFD Volunteers 1934 - 2000|
|The value of one's life can be measured by how he or she has added value to the lives of others. In 2003 this statue was dedicated to those who gave freely of their time to serve Westminster Citizens through the fire service and community activities. — Map (db m4648) HM|
|Colorado (Jefferson County), Golden — Billy Drew Bridge|
| (left side)
Bridging Our History
This bridge is the second Billy Drew Bridge erected on this site. The original Billy Drew Bridge was built in 1976 as part of Golden’s celebration of the Centennial-Bicentennial, the nation’s 200th anniversary and Colorado’s 100th anniversary as a State. A few Golden citizens, led by Billy Drew, called for the building of a bridge to provide an essential pedestrian and bikeway link between Golden and the city offices, parks, and residential . . . — Map (db m70396) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), Danbury — 17 — Elmwood Park — – The Museum in the Streets – — Danbury, Connecticut|
| In 1801, Mr. Major Starr donated the land necessary to take a large curve out of Main Street on condition that it serve as a permanent common. To this end, residents from the southern end of the street raised their own funds and created Elmwood Park in 1853, planting the first elm trees and a hay crop.
On Training Days, the park became the center for the Artillery and Cavalry Companies’ maneuvers and celebrations. It was the site of early fairs held by the Fairfield County Agricultural . . . — Map (db m71476) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), New Fairfield — New Fairfield Fire Department Memorial|
The New Fairfield
Volunteer Fire Department
Dedicated To All Members
Past and Present 2003
The New Fairfield Volunteer Fire Company, Inc. was formed in 1934 consisting of seven districts – Center, New Fairfield bay, Squantz Pond, Balls pond, Pine Hill, Haviland Hollow and Wood Creek each district was given an allotment of pails, ladders, hooks, rope and salt.
In 1935 land next to the town cemetery was given to the company to build . . . — Map (db m23061) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), Stamford — Michael F. Lione Memorial Park|
|Michael F. Lione
Large, soft-brown eyes, reverently expressing the simple faith of a little boy; determined countenance and rugged body that bespoke the athlete who never quit; tenderness and compassion without softness and indulgence; fiery enthusiasm for victory with equal dedication to honor, that was "Mickey" Lione, to whom this field is dedicated that all who play hereon may learn that only evil is flabby and that manliness is goodness, here and everywhere.
Dedicated September 26, 1954 — Map (db m38769) HM|
|Connecticut (Hartford County), Bristol — Albert F. Rockwell|
|Albert F. Rockwell
1862 – 1925
Inventor, manufacturer, public-
spirited citizen. He gave to the
city this park and contributed
liberally to its development.
His initiave and counsel were
of great value in the civic
and industrial life of Bristol.
In appreciation, the people by
voluntary contribution have
erected this memorial.
Bristol, Connecticut 1926 — Map (db m34281) HM|
|Connecticut (Hartford County), Bristol — John Christopher Mack|
This Tablet is to Perpetuate the Memory Of
John Christopher Mack
A public spirited citizen who truly loved Bristol
the place of his birth.
His declining years were spent in California
yet his interest in his native town never lessened.
His great love for children
found fitting expression in his will
by which a substantial sum was provided
for the development of recreational facilities
for them in the parks and playgrounds
of the city.
1852 1926 — Map (db m34282) HM|
|Connecticut (Hartford County), Farmington — "American Board"|
|Here Was Founded the
Oldest U. S. Society
For Foreign Missions — Map (db m33014) HM|
|Connecticut (Hartford County), Farmington — American Board of Commissioners For Foreign Missions|
| American Board of Commissioners
For Foreign Missions
Here, on September 5, 1810, in the parsonage of the Reverend Noah Porter, minister of the Congregational Church of Farmington, Connecticut, the American Board Of Commissioners for Foreign Missions held its first annual meeting, elected officers and a prudential committee, adopted rules of action and issued an appeal for support to the Christian public, initiating the first Christian foreign missionary program in the United States.
October 12, 1960 — Map (db m33015) HM|
|Connecticut (Hartford County), Hartford — Recapture of the Connecticut River|
|Recapture of the
1981 – 1999
Dedicated September 3, 1999
On the occasion of the opening of
Riverfront Plaza and Terraces
Founders Bridge Promenade and
State Street Landing
[ left plaque ]
A Historic Connection
Riverfront Plaza restores Hartford's historic connection to the "Quinnehticut" – the long tidal river – where Algonkian speaking peoples thrived along its banks.
In 1614 Dutch explorers mapped the river and established a . . . — Map (db m52601) HM|
|Connecticut (Hartford County), Hartford — Theodore Wirth|
Superintendent Hartford Parks
1896 - 1905
Elizabeth Park Rose Garden
To whom this rose bed is dedicated
and for whom it will be maintained
as long as the park is here and people
love roses . . . forever
Conrad L. Wirth 1992 — Map (db m44111) HM|
|Connecticut (Hartford County), New Britain — City of New Britain Sesquicentennial Anniversary|
|City of New Britain Sesquicentennial Anniversary
1850 – 2000
Tree Planting Legacy Project
Mayor Lucian J. Pawlak • Honarary Chair
Thomas G. Ronalter • Sesquicentennial Chair
Aime Brochu • Common Council Majority Leader
Geoffrey G. Bray • Legacy Project Chair
Robert McGlone • Parks & Recreation Department
Dr. Bruce Fletcher • Committee Member
Fifteen American Birch trees were planted as part of New Britain's
150th Anniversary as a town. Fourteen of the trees are planted . . . — Map (db m41309) HM|
|Connecticut (Hartford County), New Britain — Cornelius B. Erwin|
|Cornelius B. Erwin 1811 – 1885
Cornelius Erwin was one of New Britain's greatest benefactors and an original shareholder in the Walnut Hill Park Company. He built several successful businesses including Russell & Erwin Manufacturing Company, and was heavily involved in the development of New Britain. Erwin, the son of a shoemaker, arrived in New Britain at the age of 21 with five dollars in his pocket. He left an estate of 1.1 million dollars. Erwin bequeathed his estate to four . . . — Map (db m41763) HM|
|Connecticut (Hartford County), New Britain — Darius Miller|
A frugal dry goods merchant who died in 1919 as a multi-millionaire, Miller bequeathed funds to local institutions, including a seventy-five thousand dollar trust to the City of New Britain. He asked that "the income be used and applied under the direction of the Park Committee to best promote the interest, prosperity and objects of Walnut Hill Park."
The Park Board decided to allow the interest in the Miller Fund to accumulate to an amount from which permanent improvements . . . — Map (db m41758) HM|
|Connecticut (Hartford County), New Britain — Elise Traut|
Born in Gotha, Germany, in 1855, Elise Traut started one of New Britain's best traditions – the Christmas Tree in Central Park. Active in community organizations and an avid writer, she resided on Arch Street. In 1912, she observed five children decorating a bush near her home. Upon speaking with them she discovered this was their only Christmas Tree. Thereafter, she funded a municipal tree in the heart of the city and bequeathed funds to perpetuate the annual custom. — Map (db m41756) HM|
|Connecticut (Hartford County), New Britain — Frederick H. North|
|Frederick H. North
1824 – 1907
Frederick North was born in New Britain on August 10, 1824. After graduating from Yale University in 1846, he entered the manufacturing business with his father and later joined with Oliver Stanley and John B. Talcott to form North, Stanley and Company. The company, which produced hooks and eyes, manufactured union soldiers uniforms during the Civil War. He was later engaged in the manufacture of knit goods with the New Britain Knitting Company. North . . . — Map (db m41765) HM|
|Connecticut (Hartford County), New Britain — Frederick Law Olmstead|
|Frederick Law Olmstead 1822 – 1903
Landscape architect Frederick Law Olmstead, the nineteenth century visionary who founded the profession of landscape architecture, is responsible for the overall design of Walnut Hill Park. Influenced by the parks of Europe and his native New England landscape, the design for Walnut Hill Park was typical of his work, creating a rural experience in the city. Although many components of the design were not carried out, the park owes its overall character . . . — Map (db m41759) HM|
|Connecticut (Hartford County), New Britain — Frederick T. Stanley|
|Frederick T. Stanley 1802 – 1883
Frederick Trenck Stanley was an early civic leader and a successful industrialist. The development of Walnut Hill Park arose from one of Stanley's visionary projects, the development of a water works. Stanley organized the Walnut Hill Park Company and, in 1857, contacted Frederick Law Olmstead, the leading landscape architect of the day, to persuade him to design the park.
In addition to founding the Stanley Works in 1843, Stanley had been the driving . . . — Map (db m41767) HM|
|Connecticut (Hartford County), New Britain — George M. Landers|
|George M. Landers 1813 – 1895
George Landers, another member of the Walnut Hill Park Company, was a giant among nineteenth century industrialists. Born in Lenox, Massachusetts, he came to New Britain at the age of sixteen and learned the carpentry trade. In 1842 he built a shop on East Main Street and started to manufacture hardware. The company was later renamed Landers, Frary and Clark.
Landers served the city in many ways. He was a director of the New Britain Gas Company and New . . . — Map (db m41764) HM|
|Connecticut (Hartford County), New Britain — Henry E. Russell|
|Henry E. Russell 1816 – 1893
A member of the Walnut Hill Park Company, Henry Russell was one of New Britain's leading industrialists of the nineteenth century. He is primarily remembered for his partnership in the Russell and Erwin Manufacturing Company, which produced builders' hardware. The original company was established in 1839 when Russell and Erwin became the sole partners, they established consistent procedures and policies, which enabled the company to become a giant of the . . . — Map (db m41766) HM|
|Connecticut (Hartford County), New Britain — Original Design of Walnut Hill Park|
|Original Design of Walnut Hill Park
By Olmstead Vaux & Co. Landscape Architects – 1870
On July 18, 1867 Frederick T. Stanley sent the following letter to Frederick Law Olmstead
A Public park is proposed to be laid out in our village on a very beautiful hill comprising some 36 acres now belonging to a company of individuals, who (purchased) it in 1856 for the purpose of locating the reservoir for the water works, ultimately to appropriate it for Public Grounds. A . . . — Map (db m41374) HM|
|Connecticut (Hartford County), New Britain — Seth E. Case|
|Seth E. Case
1825 - 1864
Seth Case was born in Simsbury, Connecticut in 1825 and graduated from Yale College in 1847. he was a successful lawyer in New Britain, was one of the shareholders of the Walnut Hill Park Company, and later became a Judge of Probate for the District of Berlin. Case was involved in many church and civic causes and was president of "The New Britain Young Men's Christian Soacial Union". He died suddenly at the age of thirty-nine in 1864. — Map (db m41761) HM|
|Connecticut (Hartford County), New Britain — William A. Churchill|
|William A. Churchill
William Churchill was one of the ten shareholders in the Walnut Hill Park Company, which was incorporated in 1857 for the purpose of developing a public park. He was one of New Britain's early philanthropists. In addition to his efforts with the Walnut Hill Park Company, he contributed his time and money to the establishment of the New Britain Gaslight Company and the New Britain Educational Trust Fund – the fund utilized to establish the state Normal School. In his . . . — Map (db m41762) HM|
|Connecticut (Hartford County), New Britain — William B. Stanley|
|William B. Stanley
William Stanley was one of New Britain's earliest and most progressive manufacturers. Stanley, in partnership with his brother, Frederick Stanley, began the manufacture of door locks in New Britain in 1831 – the first manufactured in this country. In 1830 the Stanley brothers purchased and installed the first steam engine in New Britain and probably the entire state. William Stanley later joined with brother Frederick and other investors to incorporate The Stanley . . . — Map (db m41755) HM|
|Connecticut (Hartford County), Plantsville — Southington Recreation Park|
Site Purchased 1929
A Civic Project Proposed
By Members of The
Southington Exchange Club
Financed by Voluntary Contribution
Of The Citizens of Southington
Swimming Pool, Athletic Field
Ready For Public Use 1930 — Map (db m35971) HM|
|Connecticut (Litchfield County), Morris — White Memorial Foundation|
|In Memory Of
Margaret Whitlock White 1869-1941
Alain Campbell White 1880-1951
Through whose generosity and foresight the White Memorial Foundation was created to hold in trust for the benefit and enjoyment of present and future generations nature’s gifts and resources in the Bantam Lake area
1953 — Map (db m58644) HM|
|Connecticut (Litchfield County), Watertown — Marion A. Munson Memorial Park|
|This tablet is erected in grateful recognition of the generosity and public spirit of William J. Munson who gave this park to Watertown in memory of his wife. — Map (db m18856) HM|
|Connecticut (New Haven County), Meriden — Hubbard Park|
Hubbard Park was a gift to the City of Meriden from industrialist and philanthropist Walter Hubbard in 1901. Consulting with landscape architect John Olmstead, son of Frederick law Olmstead, designer of New York's Central Park, Mr. Hubbard relied heavily on Olmstead's penchant for the rustic style which is the hallmark design of this premier open space. Mr. Hubbard's vision created a legacy still enjoyed today with Hubbard Park being a preferred location for social, recreational . . . — Map (db m33632) HM|
|Connecticut (New Haven County), New Haven — East Shore Park|
|East Shore Park
New Haven, Connecticut
This 90 acre tract was once part of the land the Townsend family purchased in 1798 from the Quinnipiac Indian Tribe. The Townsends harvested salt hay from the tidal marsh, selling it for packing material to the Sargent Hardware Company.
In 1923 Mayor David E. Fitzgerald wrote to the Townsend brothers, hy, Sr. and Dr. Raynham, imploring them to deed the property to the City of New Haven for a park. The brothers agreed to a sale at the assessed value . . . — Map (db m35725) HM|
|Connecticut (New Haven County), Waterbury — Hamilton Park|
Given in Memory Of
David Boughton Hamilton
1824 – 1898
Manufacturer Banker State Senator
Captain 5th Regiment
This land adjacent to Rogers and Brothers Silver
Factory of which he was president from 1878 to
1898 was givn to the City of Waterbury in 1899 by his wife.
Isabel Ely Hamilton — Map (db m35979) HM|
|Connecticut (New Haven County), Waterbury — John Prince Elton|
|John Prince Elton
1865 – 1948
Mayor of the City of Waterbury 1903 – 1905
Bequeathed to the city this site on which
was the home of the Elton Family. True to
the tradition of hid forebears, he devoted
his lifetime to the industrial, civic, and
cultural advancement of Waterbury. — Map (db m35978) HM|
|Connecticut (New Haven County), Waterbury — Reverend Michael Joseph McGivney|
| Reverend Michael Joseph McGivney 1852 – 1890
Founder of The Knights of Columbus New Haven, Conn. March 29, 1882
[ back ]
Erected March 29, 1957 by the Supreme Council Knights of Columbus at the Birthplace of its Founder — Map (db m24039) HM|
|Connecticut (New Haven County), Waterbury — UNICO National|
Commemorating The 50th Anniversary
Of The Founding Of
Hotel Elton, Waterbury, Connecticut
October 10, 1922
"Service Above Self" — Map (db m36067) HM|
|Delaware (Kent County), Cheswold — KC-83 — Cheswold Volunteer Fire Company|
|This company was organized on February 2, 1928, when a group of interested citizens met at C. H. Pearson’s Store for the purpose of electing officers. William S. Scarborough was chosen to be the President of the organization, and Willard D. Boyce was selected to serve as the first Chief. Funds to support the company were raised through subscriptions, suppers, and carnivals. The first fire truck purchased was a used Ford Model T Chemical Wagon. The Cheswold Volunteer Fire Company was formally . . . — Map (db m39050) HM|
|Delaware (Kent County), Smyrna — KC-67 — "First in the World" — Post # 14 American Legion Ambulance Service|
|In 1924, the members of the David C. Harrison American Legion Post # 14 initiated the first American Legion ambulance service in the world. Its eighteen founding members were veterans of World War I who volunteered their time to transport the sick and injured to hospitals in Wilmington, Dover, Milford, and beyond. Prior to this time, persons needing medical assistance were transported by train. This practice was often time-consuming and thereby dangerous to patients who were seriously ill and . . . — Map (db m39026) HM|
|Delaware (New Castle County), New Castle — In Memory of Philip and Lydia Laird|
|Former owners of the Read House, their home for fifty-five years. They were longtime benefactors of New Castle doing much to encourage and promote the preservation and architectural beauty of this colonial town. — Map (db m54697) HM|
|Delaware (New Castle County), Newark — Iron Hill School #112C — Preserving History: The African-American Community of Iron Hill|
|The Iron Hill Museum is dedicated to the study of human and natural history of the Iron Hill Area. The Museum is currently engaged in a project to restore the Iron Hill School #112C and document the experiences of African-American students who attended the school between 1923 and 1965.
In order to achieve this, the Museum has embarked on an oral history project to formally interview and record the memories of former students who are now between the ages of 40 and 80. Oral historian Roberta . . . — Map (db m10053) HM|
|Delaware (New Castle County), Newark — NC-130 — New Century Club|
|In 1893 a group of Newark women established a literary and social organization known as the Tuesday Club. Later renamed the New Century Club, the organization became part of the General Federation of Women's Clubs. Committed to matters of civic responsibility, the Club's adoption of the motto "Not for ourselves alone" reflected its deep interest in social service. Throughout its history the New Century Club of Newark has played a key role in advancing education, healthcare, environmental . . . — Map (db m9969) HM|
|Delaware (New Castle County), Newark — NC-139 — Oriental Lodge #12, I.O.O.F.|
|The origins of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows can be traced to the creation of beneficial trade societies in England. Composed of craftsmen who practiced a variety of different or "odd" occupations, the purpose of these organizations was to support the needs of members and improve the communities in which they lived. The I.O.O.F. was formally established in this country in 1819. In 1834, the Odd Follows of North America separated from the English Order. Some years later, a group of Newark . . . — Map (db m9898) HM|
|Delaware (New Castle County), Newark — NC-129 — Pride of Delaware Lodge #349 IBPOEW|
|The Improved Benevolent Protective Order of Elks of the World was formally organized in 1898. Designed to promote civic improvements, the IBPOEW is one of the largest fraternal organizations of its type in the world. Responding to the request of a group of Newark citizens, the IBPOEW issued a charter for Pride of Delaware Lodge #349 on March 29, 1923. The first Exalted Ruler of the new lodge was W. G. Saunders, a long-time leader in Newark's African-American community. The present Lodge Hall . . . — Map (db m9974) HM|
|Delaware (New Castle County), Newark — The Judge Morris Estate — The Former Home of a Delaware Attorney and Judge|
|Built in the 1790s, this 2½ story gray fieldstone house is the former home of Judge Hugh M. Morris. Morris was a Delaware native, respected attorney and distinguished federal judge. He purchased the house and a large parcel of land here in 1933.|
Besides serving as a federal judge, Morris built one of the most important law practices in the state and kept closely involved with the University of Delaware. Yet, he still found time to run his farm, buy more land, and turn the farmhouse . . . — Map (db m39506) HM
|Delaware (New Castle County), Townsend — NC-93 — Taylor's Bridge School — (District No. 66)|
|On April 5, 1923 a frame schoolhouse located nearby was destroyed by a storm. Within two weeks the General Assemble appropriated $5,000 to construct a new school. Although the amount proved to be inadequate, P.S. duPont, through the Delaware School Auxiliary Association, provided the balance necessary to complete the project. On October 27, 1923 the State of Delaware purchased three acres on this site to build the new brick on-room structure. Construction began shortly thereafter. In 1949 the . . . — Map (db m10596) HM|
|Delaware (New Castle County), Wilmington — NC-121 — Cool Spring Park|
|With the completion of Cool Spring Reservoir in 1877, an adjoining parcel of unused land was reserved for park purposes. Formally designated as Cool Spring Park, the grounds were managed by the Wilmington Water Department until 1967, when the City Parks Department assumed responsibility. The reservoir and park were named for the natural springs of the area. Cool Spring was also the name of the nearby home of Caesar A. Rodney, a member of Congress and United States Attorney General in the . . . — Map (db m10917) HM|
|Delaware (New Castle County), Wilmington — NC-128 — Freedom Lost|
|By the late 1700s the institution of slavery was declining in Delaware. A changing economy and the active efforts of Quakers and Methodists had led to the manumission of many slaves and dramatic growth of the state’s free black population. Though Congress outlawed importation of slaves in 1808, demand for slave labor in the expanding states of the Deep South continued to grow. A nefarious criminal element sought to fill this need by kidnapping free blacks for sale into slavery. Such was the . . . — Map (db m10950) HM|
|Delaware (New Castle County), Wilmington — NC-110 — Rockford Tower|
|In 1895, Theodore Leisen, engineer for the Wilmington Board of Park Commissioners, recommended that "a large pavilion and observatory" be built in Rockford Park on what was called Mt. Salem Hill, the highest point in the city at 330 feet above sea level. His proposal coincided with the Board of Water Commissioners' conclusion that Wilmington was in need of a new water tower in that neighborhood. The two boards merged their projects in Rockford Tower. Built between 1899 and 1902, the . . . — Map (db m13590) HM|
|Delaware (New Castle County), Wilmington — Willingtown Square|
|Willingtown Square honors Thomas Willing and the original name of the town he helped found in 1731. The four brick structures, built between 1748 and 1801, represent the types of houses common in early Willingtown. Buildings like these often served as both businesses and residences. Each has only one or two rooms per floor. Large families both lived and worked in these small spaces. By the 1960s and 1970s the older neighborhoods in which these houses originally stood had decayed and were slated . . . — Map (db m10948) HM|
|Delaware (Sussex County), Georgetown — SC-170 — Georgetown Fire Company|
|On April 11, 1903, the commissioners of the
Town of Georgetown held a public meeting to
organize a fire company for the community.
The effort was in response to the demands of
businessmen and homeowners who had experienced
rising insurance costs due to the many
destructive fires which had plagued Georgetown
and other neighboring communities. An 1883
Charles T. Holloway hand drawn ladder wagon
was obtained and stored in the company’s first
fire station, a frame structure on . . . — Map (db m48860) HM|
|Delaware (Sussex County), Milton — SC-153 — Milton Fire Department, Inc.|
|Like many local communities, Milton was plagued by numerous destructive fires during the 19th century. By the 1890s, citizens were calling for the establishment of a fire department to protect the town and surrounding area. The effort was ultimately successful, and on November 14, 1901, the Volunteer Fire Company of Milton was organized with Chief Charles H. Davidson and 26 men. Milton’s first motorized piece was purchased in 1926, and was housed on the corner of Union & Magnolia Street in a . . . — Map (db m37395) HM|
|Delaware (Sussex County), Milton — SC-215 — Rising Sun Lodge #4, F. & A.M., P.H.A.|
|The roots of African-American Masonry in this country
can be traced to the period of the American Revolution,
when founder Prince Hall and others established the
first Masonic Lodge for men of color in Boston,
Massachusetts. By the early 19th century organizational
growth had extended to the port cities of Philadelphia
and Wilmington. where residents of southern Delaware
who were engaged in maritime and other commercial
occupations were exposed to the Masonic Order. In
March 1852, a . . . — Map (db m69807) HM|
|Delaware (Sussex County), Seaford — SC-164 — Seaford Fire Department|
|On November 14, 1901, a group of concerned citizens met in the Seaford town conncil room for the purpose of discussing the organization of a fire company. By the end of the month, over 50 person had volunteered. The company was formally named the Seaford Volunteer Fire Department. W. H. Miller was elected president, and T. H. Scott was chose to be the first chief. During the early years, the Department's equipment consisted mainly of ladder trailers and hand-drawn hose reels. The first . . . — Map (db m4819) HM|
|Delaware (Sussex County), Slaughter Beach — The Memorial Vol. Fire Co.|
Founded in 1954 after a fire had
destroyed a business on Bay Ave.
Re-incorporated in 1958 and the
original two bay station was
constructed in the fall of 1959
Named the Memorial Fire Co.
by the charter members in honor
of those who have served
our country in time of war. — Map (db m61501) HM|
|District of Columbia, Washington — 255 — All the Row Houses — Dupont Circle — Diverse Visions / One Neighborhood|
|All the row houses in the 1700 block of Q St. (north and south pictured above) were built in the mid-1880s by one of Washington's most prolific architects/builders, Thomas Franklin Schneider. The prosperity and growth during the 1880s in DC resulted from the enlarged role of the Federal Government after the Civil War and general prosperity of the nation.
The next major builders were Harry Wardman, 1920s, and Morris Cafritz, 1940s. Schneider's dual expertise contributed to quality housing for . . . — Map (db m80020) HM|
|District of Columbia, Washington — Merriweather Home for Children — African American Heritage Trail, Washington, D.C. — 733 Euclid Street, NW|
|The National Association for the Relief of Destitute Colored Women and Children was established by an 1863 Act of Congress. Elizabeth Keckley (ca. 1818-1907), former slave and seamstress for Mary Todd Lincoln, was a founding member and spent her last days at the association's home. After Congress withdrew its support for the home in 1892, Mary Robinson Meriwether, a teacher at the Preparatory High School for Negro Youth, saved the facility. In 1930 it moved to this location and shifted its . . . — Map (db m84629) HM|
|District of Columbia, Washington — The Former Engine Co 24 of the District of Columbia Fire Department|
|The facade of the original house for Engine Company 24 was located at 3702 Georgia Avenue, N.W. just north of this site. Built in 1911, the firehouse was designed by Luther Leisenring and Charles Gregg. It originally housed horses and horse-drawn equipment. Within one year of its opening, it became the first station in the city to be fully motorized. Engine Company 24 relocated to a new facility in July 1994. The facade of the original building was relocated and integrated into the chiller . . . — Map (db m65515) HM|
|District of Columbia (Washington), American University Park — 15 — For the Children — Top of the Town — Tenleytown Heritage Trail|
|From 1927 until the late 1950s, the landscaped grounds across the street were the Hillcrest Children’s Center. It was founded downtown in 1814 as the Washington City Orphan Asylum by Marcia Burnes Van
Ness and President Madison’s wife Dolley. The center’s Tudor style stone cottages created a village environment. In the 1960s changing social conditions led Hillcrest to move back downtown, this time in service to disabled children and their families.
The National Presbyterian Church and . . . — Map (db m80468) HM|
|District of Columbia (Washington), Anacostia — The World’s Largest Chair|
|Presented to Curtis Bros. for their outstanding leadership and service to the public by the Basset Furniture Industries.
The chair made of solid Honduras mahogany is 19½ feet tall and weighs 4600 pounds.
Designer: Leo M. Jiranek
Builder: J.E. Bassett, Jr. — Map (db m5459) HM|
|District of Columbia (Washington), Capitol Hill — Ebenezer United Methodist Church — 400 D Street, SE — African American Heritage Trail, Washington, DC|
Ebenezer United Methodist Church is Capitol Hill’s oldest independent Black congregation.
Ebenezer UMC was founded in 1827 by African Americans who left a biracial church on Capitol Hill because the White congregants practiced segregation. The neew congregation purchased land here and built a small frame structure. In 1864 Ebenezer UMC gained its first African American minister, Reverend Noah Jones, and housed the city’s first publicly financed school for Black children. Emma V. Brown, an . . . — Map (db m30053) HM|
|District of Columbia (Washington), Downtown — Carnegie Endowment for International Peace|
|700 Jackson Place has been designated a National Historic Landmark This site possesses national significance in commemorating the history of the United States of America National Park Service 1974 From 1910 to 1948 it served as the first headquarters of The Carnegie Endowment for International Peace. It was endowed by Andrew Carnegie to "Hasten the abolition of international war." The townhouse was built in 1860 for Dr. Peter Parker founder of medical missions in China who occupied the . . . — Map (db m32879) HM|
|District of Columbia (Washington), Downtown — .3 — Clara Barton, Angel of the Battlefield at Home — Civil War to Civil Rights — Downtown Heritage Trail|
| “I have paid the rent of a room in Washington ... retaining it merely as a shelter to which I might return when my strength should fail me under exposure and labor at the field.” Clara Barton, December 1863.
In November 1997, Richard Lyons peered into the dark clutter in the attic of 437 Seventh Street, inspecting the building in preparation for its planned demolition. His eyes settled on a sign, “Missing Soldiers Office, Clara Barton, 3rd Story, Room 9.” . . . — Map (db m36174) HM|
|District of Columbia (Washington), Downtown — Jacqueline Bouvier Kennedy|
| When the historic character of Lafayette Square was severely threatened during her husband’s administration, it was preserved with the vision and dedicated efforts of Jacqueline Bouvier Kennedy. This view from Decatur House is dedicated to her memory. — Map (db m32135) HM|
|District of Columbia (Washington), Downtown — Missing Soldiers|
| Missing Soldiers.
Office, 3rd Floor, Room 9
Miss Clara Barton
Clara Barton is famous for her fierce determination and courage to save lives on the Civil War battlefields, and later for founding the American Red Cross.
1861-1865: During the Civil War, Clara Barton lived, worked stored medical supplies on the third story of this building when she was not on Civil War battlefields.
1865-1868: After the Civil War, Clara Barton created the Missing Soldiers Office on the third . . . — Map (db m36172) HM|
|District of Columbia (Washington), Near Northeast — 3 — Swampoodle — Hub, Home, Heart — — Greater H Street NE Heritage Trail —|
|This is the western edge of what once was the rough, working-class Swampoodle neighborhood. In the early days the marshy Tiber Creek ran between what are now North Capitol and First Streets, NE. Legend has it that lingering rain puddles ("poodles") led to the neighborhood's nickname. Swampoodle's earliest residents, mostly Irish immigrants and free African Americans, helped build this city. Their hands crafted the White House and the Capitol, among other buildings. Swampoodle grew during the . . . — Map (db m71501) HM|