|Australia, Victoria, Peterborough — Historic Shipwreck Trail|
| The Newfield
Three masted iron barque 1306 tons gross
Built Dundee Scotland 1889
Wrecked Newfield Bay 29 August 1892
The Newfield", with a crew of 26, left Sharpness, Scotland, on 28 May 1889, with a cargo of fine salt for Brisbane. Near midnight on 29 August, in squally weather, the Captain mistook the Cape Otway light for that of King Island, and headed the ship straight towards the coast.
The vessel struck rocks about 100 metres from shore. Nine men drowned . . . — Map (db m52642) HM|
|Australia, Victoria, Port Fairy — SS Casino|
This memorial was unveiled
July 8 1934 by Mrs. C.A. Melhuish
Captain Thomas Boyd
first master of the S.S. Casino.
Borough of Port Fairy
This commemorative plaque is to mark the 100th anniversary of the registration of the S.S. Casino as part of the Belfast and Koroit Steam Navigation Company and the 50th anniversary of the sinking of the S.S. Casino at Apollo Bay on 1oth July, 1932. Unveiled by his Worship the Mayor . . . — Map (db m52484) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Colwood — Royal Roads|
|To seaward lies an anchorage or roadstead first used in 1790 by the Spanish and named in 1846 for its location between Albert Head and Victoria. Unloading place for large vessels serving Victoria in days of sail, it was once a scene of disaster. On April 1, 1883, a southeasterly gale swept the haven, beaching the ships Southern Chief, Gettysburg, Connaught, and Tiger. — Map (db m72871) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Minnie Victoria Robertson|
[Born] December 7th, 1870,
Drowned Ellice Bridge Disaster
May 26th, 1896 — Map (db m74701) HM|
|New Brunswick (Charlotte County), Welshpool — President Franklin Delano Roosevelt — 1933 - 1945|
| The Great Depression 1929-1941
The depression was world-wide. In the U.S., the banking system collapsed and 12.8 million people were unemployed. Hardest hit were youth, minorities, the elderly, and workers in the consumer durables industries. There was widespread hunger and suffering as communities ran out of charitable and government relief. FDR's "New Deal" programs, some more successful than others, helped to stem national despair and boost public confidence.
La Crise économique . . . — Map (db m54783) HM|
|New Brunswick (Saint John County), Saint John — Prince William Street - Before and After the 1877 Fire — Rue Prince William - Avant et Après le Grand Incendie de 1877|
|This marker has plaques on both sides.
Before the 1877 Fire
The year is 1865, and you are looking across Market Square at the “Imperial Building.” This was the site of the famous “Coffee House” and now the home of Magee Bros., a dry goods store.
Saint John is at the pinnacle of its manufacturing history, “The Golden Age.” The City has reached its peak in shipbuilding and lumber trade and by 1870 Saint John will become one . . . — Map (db m77480) HM|
|New Brunswick (Saint John County), Saint John — The Great Fire of 1877/L’incendie de 1877 — Trinity Royal — Saint John’s First Historic Preservation Area/Premiere de conservation historique de Saint John|
|There are two side to this marker
The Great Fire of 1877
One of the most destructive fires of modern times occurred at Saint John, N.B., on Wednesday, June 20th, 1877. It was more calamitous in its character than the terrible conflagration which plunged portions of Chicago into ruin, and laid waste the great business houses of Boston a few years ago”.The Story of the Great Fire in Saint John, N.B., author George Stewart (1848-1906)
To truly . . . — Map (db m77570) HM|
|Newfoundland and Labrador (Division No. 1 (Avalon Peninsula)), St. John's — 1892: The Great Fire — 1892: Le grand incendie|
|Caption, bottom, left (English / French): The shaded area shows the extent of the 1892 fire. This was the last of several fires that shaped the development of St. John's in the 1800s. / La zone ombrée représente la partie de la ville ravagée par l’incendie de 1892, le dernier d’une série de sinistres qui marquèrent le développement de St. John's au XIXᵉ siècle.
Caption, top, right (English / French): During the night of July 8/9, 1892 more than 1,700 buildings in the . . . — Map (db m79013) HM|
|Newfoundland and Labrador (Division No. 6 (Central Newfoundland)), Gander — Arrow Air Crash — The Silent Witness Memorial — Cross of Sacrifice|
On December 11th, 1985, Arrow Air Flight MF1285R. a Douglas DC-8-63, US registration N95OJW departed Cairo on an international charter flight to Fort Campbell, Kentucky, USA, via Cologne, Germany and Gander, Newfoundland. On board were 8 crew members and 248 passengers. The flight was the return portion of the second in a series of three planned troop rotation flights originating at McChord Air Force Base, Washington, USA and terminating in Fort Campbell. The flight had . . . — Map (db m79477) HM|
|Nova Scotia (Halifax Regional Municipality), Halifax — Fairview Lawn Cemetery — Titanic|
|Established in 1893, this non-denominational burial ground was originally known as the Green Lawn Cemetery. In 1894, the Fairview Lawn Cemetery Ltd. took over management of the cemetery which it operated for 50 years. Unable to fulfill its commitments with regard to the care and upkeep, the company handed over the cemetery responsibilities to the City of Halifax. On January 13, 1944, it was incorporated into the City of Halifax as the Fairview Lawn Cemetery. A number of famous Canadians are . . . — Map (db m77857) HM|
|Nova Scotia (Halifax Regional Municipality), Halifax — Fort Needham Memorial Park — and the Halifax Explosion|
|This marker is composted exclusively pictures and their captions. There is a left side and a right side to the marker. Captions are presented left to right, then top to bottom. Click on the marker image to enlarge it.
• This view from Fort Needham was drawn and engraved by Lieutenant Colonel Edward Hick, a British officier stationed in Halifax with the 70th Regiment of Foot from 1778 to 1782. The fort consisted of wooden buildings, for the defence of the . . . — Map (db m77955) HM|
|Nova Scotia (Halifax Regional Municipality), Halifax — Halifax and RMS Titanic — Halifax et le RMS Titanic|
|English Here, in Halifax, lie the remains of 150 victims of one of history’s most tragic maritime disasters. Just before midnight on 14 April 1912, the White Star liner RMS Titanic struck an iceberg in the North Atlantic. The majestic ship sank in less than three hours with the loss of close to 1,500 lives. In the aftermath of the sinking, White Star chartered three ships from Halifax and one from St. John’s to search for the dead. Of the 328 recovered, many were buried at sea. . . . — Map (db m77852) HM|
|Nova Scotia (Halifax Regional Municipality), Halifax — The View from the Citadel / Le panorama vu de la citadelle — The Halifax Explosion / L’explosion d’Halifax — The Convoys / Les Convois|
|This marker is composed of five plaques on the same mounting. The marker stands on north wall of the Citadel overlooking Halifax Harbor. The markers are presented left to right.
The Halifax Explosion / L’explosion d’Halifax
From where you are standing, you can see Ground Zero for the Halifax Explosion, the largest man-made explosion prior to the first atomic bomb. On December 6, 1917, as the First World War raged around the globe, the Norwegian relief . . . — Map (db m78257) HM|
|Nova Scotia (Lunenburg County), Lunenburg — “…for those in peril on the sea.”|
Seafaring of all kinds, and fishing especially, is one of most dangerous occupations. Lunenburgers have lived with the dangers associated with making a living from the sea. Fishermen in dories would get lost in the fog, unable to make their way back to their schooner, in the face of a sudden squall or storm. The power of the sea would often overwhelm an older, less seaworthy schooner or a vessel laden low with a hold full of fish. A rogue wave or a swinging boom could wash a . . . — Map (db m78204) HM|
|Ontario, Ottawa — Parliament Clocktower Bell|
|This bell was taken from the ruins of the clock tower destroyed by fire February 3, 1916. "The fire raged fiercely for hours. The main tower was not touched until about 11 p.m., and one of the most pathetic incidents of the night, which moved the spectators, was the striking of the midnight hour by the old tower clock. There seemed almost a human touch as its familiar tones boomed out from the mass of flames." From the 1916 report of the deputy minister of public works. — Map (db m39748) HM|
|Ontario (Hastings County), Tweed — The Hungerford Smallpox Epidemic of 1884|
|The viral disease of smallpox - widespread in 19th century Ontario - flared up in a severe epidemic in Hungerford Township in 1884. The outbreak claimed at least 45 lives in 202 reported cases and disrupted economic activity and family life for many more. Local efforts by municipal authorities and private physicians were initially unable to halt the disease, and its wider spread throughout the province seemed likely. The newly established Provincial Board of Health and its hired officers . . . — Map (db m74023) HM|
|Ontario (Ottawa), Carp — The Central Emergency Government Headquarters — Le Siège Central du Gouvernement d'Urgence|
Irreverently known as the "Diefenbunker," this structure is a powerful symbol of Canada's response to the Cold War. Designed in the 1950s to withstand all but a direct his by a nuclear weapon, it was intended to shelter key political and military personnel during a nuclear attack. Fortunately, it never served its intended purpose, although the Diefenbaker government made plans to retreat to its protection during the Cuban missile crisis of 1962. The bunker functioned as the hub of a . . . — Map (db m75715) HM|
|Yukon Territory, Dawson City — 3rd Avenue Complex — Le complexe de la 3e avenue|
| [English] In Dawson City’s history, permafrost ranks second only to fire as the bane of buildings. These three structures, dating from 1901, illustrate what can happen when heated buildings are placed on frozen ground; the frost melts, mixing water with the soil to form a very fluid muck into which the different footings settle at different rates. No restoration measures have been taken with these buildings so that visitors may see history as it naturally unfolds.|
Dans l’histoire . . . — Map (db m49305) HM
|Estonia, Harjumaa MaakondTallinn — Mälestusmärk “Katkenud Liin” / “Broken Line” — M/S Estonia Memorial|
| Malestusmark “Katkenud Liin”
Parvlaeva ESTONIA katastroofis
28. septembril 1994.aastal
Hukkunud 852 inimesele.
“Broken Line” In memory of
the 852 people who lost their
lives in the ESTONIA
passenger ferry catastrophe
on 28 September 1994. — Map (db m61331) HM|
|Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Wittenberg District), Lutherstadt Wittenberg — Thomas Müntzer — (1490 - 1525)|
Theologe und Bauernführer
studierte hier 1518
Theologian and Peasant Leader
studied here in 1518 — Map (db m69780) HM|
|Germany, Thuringia (Weimarer Land Kreis (District)), Buchenwald Memorial — British and Canadian Military Victims of Buchenwald|
In honour of the memory of the members of the British and Canadian Forces murdered in Buchenwald Concentration Camp. The lives of four British patriots were saved by the solidarity of German antifascists.
They were all imprisoned in Block 17.
[German and Russian text not transcribed] — Map (db m76558) HM WM|
|Germany, Thuringia (Weimarer Land Kreis (District)), Buchenwald Memorial — Bulgarian Political Prisoners / Bulgarische politische Häftlinge|
Memorial stone (placed) 1970
The translation of the Cyrillic inscription reads:
Bulgarian political prisoners of the concentration camps. From the Dachau, Radeberg, Buchenwald camps. Former students from Dresden and Bratislava.
Die Übersetzung der kyrillischen Inschrift lautet: Block 45
Bulgarische politische Häftlinge der Konzentrationslager. Aus den Lagern Dachau, Radeberg, Buchenwald. . . . — Map (db m76730) HM|
|Germany, Thuringia (Weimarer Land Kreis (District)), Buchenwald Memorial — Crematorium / Krematorium — built 1940-1942 / erbaut 1940-1942|
In view of the growing numbers of dead, the SS had a crematorium built in 1940 and extended in 1942. The company Topf & Söhne from Erfurt, developed and delivered the crematorium ovens. About 1,110 people were strangled in the Corpse Cellar.
Angesichts wachsender Totenzahlen ließ die SS 1940 ein Krematorium errichten und 1942 ausbauen. Die Erfurter Firma Topf & Söhne entwickelte und lieferte die Verbrennungsöfen. Im Leichenkeller . . . — Map (db m76539) HM WM|
|Germany, Thuringia (Weimarer Land Kreis (District)), Buchenwald Memorial — Female Victims of Buchenwald|
No one said farewell
No one erected a cross or a stone
but they live
as long as people remember
the more than 27,000 women and girls
from over 30 countries who in 1944 and 1945
were detainees in 27 outside
sub-camps of Buchenwald
used as slave labor victims of Nazi violence
and the death marches
Non omnis moriar [Not all die]
Niemand nahm abschied
niemand errichtete ein kreuz oder
einen stein doch ihr . . . — Map (db m76557) HM|
|Germany, Thuringia (Weimarer Land Kreis (District)), Buchenwald Memorial — Inmates’ living quarters / Häftlingsunterkünfte|
photograph, April 1945 / Foto April 1945
[French and Russian text not transcribed] — Map (db m76537) HM WM|
|Germany, Thuringia (Weimarer Land Kreis (District)), Buchenwald Memorial — Jewish Memorial / Jüdisches Mahnmal|
[Title is text - French and Russian text not transcribed]
"So that the generation to come might know, the children yet to be [balance of quote needs transcribed] — Map (db m76808) HM WM|
|Germany, Thuringia (Weimarer Land Kreis (District)), Buchenwald Memorial — Sinti and Roma Memorial / Sinti und Roma Denkmal|
Memorial to murdered Sinti and Romany Gypsies
Denkmal für die ermordete Sinti und Roma
[French and Russian text not transcribed]
In memory of Sinti and Roma victims of Nazi Holocaust
Zum gedenken an die Sinti und Roma, die Opfer des NS-Völkermords wurden — Map (db m76813) HM|
|Germany, Thuringia (Weimarer Land Kreis (District)), Buchenwald Memorial — Soviet Prisoners of War / Sowjetische Kriegsgefangene|
Site of the camp for Soviet prisoners of war, 1941-1945
Gelände des lagers für sowjetische Kriegsgefangene, 1941-1945
[French and Russian text not transcribed] — Map (db m76862) HM WM|
|Germany, Thuringia (Weimarer Land Kreis (District)), Buchenwald Memorial — Soviet Prisoners of War Memorial — Sowjetische Kriegsgefangene Denkmal|
Block 1 • 7 • 13 • 19 • 25 • 30
Lager sowjetischer kriegsgefangener. Allem völkerrecht zum hohn wurden sowjetische soldaten in Buchenwald gefangengehalten. Neben schwerster arbeit wurden sie grausam gequalt und viele starben. trotz solidarischer hilfe durch die politischen gefangenen an erschöpfung und hunger.
Block 1 • 7 • 13 • 19 • 25 • 30
Soviet prisoners of war camp. All international law was scorned for Soviet . . . — Map (db m76865) HM WM|
|Ireland, Connacht (County Mayo), Louisburg — Famine Museum and Granuaile Centre, Louisburgh — Clew Bay Archeaological Trail site 12 — Slí Seandálaíochta Chuan Módh|
| Cluain Cearbhán - Meadow of the Buttercups
The Famine Museum in Louisburgh recounts local memories of the famine, presents coverage of the famine in the media, nationally and locally, and shows how links have been established between Louisburgh and other parts of the world, culminating in the local famine walk along Doo Lough Valley.
The Granuaile Centre recounts the life and times of the 16th century O'Malley Chief and Sea Captain, Granuail (Grace O'Malley or Gráinne . . . — Map (db m28044) HM|
|Ireland, Connacht (County Mayo), Murrisk — Murrisk Abbey / National Famine Monument / Statue of St Patrick — Clew Bay Archaeological Trail sites 6, 7, 8 — Slí Seandálaíochta Chuan Módh|
Murrisk Abbey • site 6
Muraisc - Sea Marsh
Murrisk Abbey was founded circa 1456 by the Augustinian Friars because “the inhabitants of those parts have not hitherto been instructed in their faith.” It quickly became the preferred starting point for pilgrimages up Croagh Patrick. Before then, pilgrims approached the mountain from AnTóchar Phádraig, which starts in Aughagower.
The ruins consist of an L-shaped building representing the long and narrow . . . — Map (db m27757) HM|
|Ireland, Connacht (County Mayo), Murrisk — Murrisk Fisherman's Monument|
Ag Criost an muir
Ag Criost an t-iasc
_liontaib de go gcastar sinn
This monument was erected to honour the
contributions of the traditional seafaring
fishing community in Murrisk.
We celebrate their memory and ask you to remember
all those who lost their lives in Clew Bay
Names of boats associated with sea fishing in Murrisk up to mid 1960's
Officially unveiled by
Cathaoirleach of Mayo County Council
Gerry Coyle &
Most Rev. Michael Neary DD
Archbishop of . . . — Map (db m27575) HM|
|Ireland, Connacht (County Mayo), Murrisk — National Famine Memorial — Cuimhneachán Náisiúnta ar an nGorta Mór|
To honour the memory of all who died, suffered and
emigrated due to the Great Famine of 1845 - 1850,
and the victims of all famines.
The Memorial was unveiled by the President of Ireland,
Mary Robinson, on 20 July 1997.
I gcuimhna ar an daoine go léir a fuair bás,
a d'fhulaing agus a chuaigh
ar an imirce de dheasca Ghorta Mór 1845 - 1850
agus ar gach uile dhuine i ngátar de dheasca gorta.
Uachtarán na nÉireann, Máire Mhic Róibín,
a nocht an Cuimhneachán ar an 20 . . . — Map (db m27583) HM|
|Ireland, Connacht (County Mayo), the Doo Lough Valley — 1849 Famine Walk|
| . . . — Map (db m27687) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Meath), Loyd — Kells Union Workhouse Paupers' Graveyard|
to the memory of the poor
during the operation
English Poor Law System.
1838 - 1921.
R. I. P.
In the immediate aftermath
of the Great ‘Famine’, this mass
burial place was opened in 1851 for
the poor people of the Kells District.
Their memory challenges us to end the
scandal of hunger in today's world of plenty.
AFrI Great “Famine” Project
Erected 9th October 1993
“Famine is a lie”
Brian . . . — Map (db m27326) HM|
|Ireland, Munster (County Kerry), Listowel — Teampaillín Bán — (The Little White Churchyard)|
| Where very many
nameless victims of the
Irish Famine of 1845-47
Also buried here are others
in the nearby workhouse
Saibhreas na bhflaitheas dóibh! — Map (db m23042) HM|
|Ireland, Ulster (County Donegal), Donegal Town — Donegal Friary / Mainistir Dhún na nGall|
Donegal Friary was founded for the Franciscan Friars in 1474 by the first Red Hugh O'Donnell and his wife Nuala O'Brien. It survived until it was plundered by the English in 1588. Four years later, they in turn were driven out by the second Red Hugh (who left Ireland shortly after the battle of Kinsale in 1602), and the friars repaired the buildings. In 1601, during a siege of the friary by English forces - commanded by the renegade Niall Garbh O'Donnell - gunpowder stores exploded and . . . — Map (db m71608) HM|
|Israel, Haifa District, Acre — The Crusaders — Until their arrival at Akko|
|On their way to Jerusalem in 1099, the Crusaders killed the Jewish 'infidels' and destroyed many communities, among which were in the communities of Speyer, Worms and Magenza. In memory of those who perished the prayer "Merciful Father" was composed, which has been recited each Sabbath by the Ashkenazi communities. — Map (db m65446) HM|
|Israel, Jerusalem District, Jerusalem — The Burnt Room and the House of the Bullae — Destruction and Ruin|
|"He burned the House of the Lord, the king's palace, and all the houses of Jerusalem; he burned down the house of every notable person." (II Kings 25: 9)
This residential quarter went up in flames with the rest of the city during the Babylonian during the Babylonian destruction of 586 BCE.
The floors of the houses were covered by a thick layer of ash. Beneath the heap of rubble in one room, Yigal Shiloh uncovered Babylonian and Israelite arrowheads and . . . — Map (db m63933) HM|
|Israel, Jerusalem District, Jerusalem — The House of Ahiel|
|Here Dwells Ahiel in a Four Room House
"He (David) had houses made for himself in the City of David..." (1 Chronicles15: 1)
The name 'Ahiel' appears on potsherds found among the ruins of this house. The House of Ahiel is a 'four-room house' - a typical Israelite dwelling, consisting of three parallel spaces closed off by a fourth. The roof beams were supported by pillars, part of which can be seen here. It is reasonable to assume that this was a two-story . . . — Map (db m65296) HM|
|Italy, Campania (Naples Province), Pompei — Pompei Giubileo [Pompeii Jubilee] 2000 — Edifici Privati/Private Buildings|
| [Text in Italian …]
Text in English:
The destructive fury of Vesuvius raged the 24th August in 79 a.C. Buried under three metres of ash, Pompeii suddenly stopped living. From the Forum to the Temple of Iside; from the House of the Faun to the Barracks of the Gladiators; thousands of bodies lay on the ground: slaves and merchants, women, children and rich landowners. After sleeping for centuries, the buried city sees light again: the dawning of the most exciting archaeological . . . — Map (db m48081) HM|
|Italy, Campania (Naples Province), Pompei — Teatro Grande e Quadriportico/ — Great Theatre and Quadriporticus — Pompeiviva|
| Il Teatro Grande fu costruito nel II secolo II a.C., addossando la struttura ad una collina lavica e ristrutturato in epoca augustea. La cavea costituita da gradini in tufo o calcare, ospitava circa 5000 persone in tre zone separate da corridoi anulari: l’inferiore (ima cavea), l’intermia (media cavea) e la superior (suma cavea). Alle estremita della gradinata vi erano I palchi d’onore, I tribunalia; al centro l’orchestra e alle spalle il proskenion (podio del palcoscenico) con sullo sfondo . . . — Map (db m47980) HM|
|Philippines, Zambales (Subic Bay Metropolitan Authority), Olongapo City — Subic Bay Metropolitan Authority|
| Five years ago today, this 24th day of November 1997, the U.S. Navy in solemn ceremonies relinquished administration, control and possession of the former Subic Naval Base, after 94 years to the sovereign Philippine government. Presiding over the ceremony was his excellency, President Fidel V. Ramos, Present in the historic turnover were:
For the Philippine Government:
Hon. Roberio R. Romulo, Secretary of Foreign Affairs
Hon. Richard J. Gordon, Mayor, City of . . . — Map (db m68150) HM|
|Sweden, Södermanland Province (Stockholm County), Stockholm — The Zetterström Fountain — Vasa Museum|
| Text in Swedish: Zetterström-Fontänen
Mustycke som användes för att spola tunnlar
under Vasa vid bargningen 1961.
Konstructör: Dykarpionjären Arne Zetterstöm (1917-1945)
Donatorer: Flygt AB och Marinen
Text in English: The Zetterström Fountain Nozzle used for making tunnels under the warship Vasa
when it was salvaged in 1961.
Constructor: The Swedish diving pioneer Arne Zetterström (1917-1945)
Fountain sponsors: Flygr . . . — Map (db m56837) HM|
|United Kingdom, Lancashire, Fleetwood — S T Goth Memorial|
|This is the funnel of the trawler Goth which disappeared in a fierce storm off the North Cape of Iceland in December, 1948. There were 21 men onboard who had hoped to return from the fishing grounds to spend Christmas with their families.
Deckhand Ernest Parker had been married for just two weeks. His best man, John Tandy left behind a wife and baby. Many of the young crewmen had survived wartime service and so had the Goth. Built in 1925, the ship was a coal-fired steam trawler. After . . . — Map (db m73282) HM|
|United Kingdom, Northern Ireland (Castle Londonderry), Derry-Londonderry — Bishop's Gate|
It was here that James II demanded entry to the city during the 1689 siege. The present gate was built at the suggestion of Bishop Hervey in 1789 to celebrate the centenary of the siege. The head facing Bishop Street represents the river Boyne crowned by a laurel wreath: the date refers to the Battle of the Boyne in 1690. The head facing outwards is the river Foyle: the date 1689 and the ship breaking the boom recall the relief of the 1689 siege. — Map (db m71021) HM|
|United Kingdom, Northern Ireland (County Antrim), Bushmills — Bushmills History & Heritage|
The natural life cycle of a salmon is one of nature's wonders. A salmon begins its life in the shallow water and gravel beds of the river as eggs then fry. These small fry stay in the river until they mature into par. The next stage of their life is when they mature into smolts and take on the colouring of the mature salmon.
The smolts move downstream around May or June to begin their epic migration to feeding grounds in the north Atlantic. Here, they feed on fish, such . . . — Map (db m70892) HM|
|United Kingdom, Northern Ireland (County Fermanagh), Irvinestown — Memorials to the Great Irish Famine in County Fermanagh — In Memory of All Buried Here — 1845 • The Great Famine • 1850|
In 1836 the Poor Law Enquiry found that over one third of people in Ireland were dependent on the potato as their main source of food. The population had grown to 8.2 million by 1841, and was vulnerable to any failure of the potato crop. The Great Famine (1845-1849), caused by potato blight, resulted in a national catastrophe.
The Poor Law
In an attempt to alleviate the problems arising from widespread poverty in early 19th century Ireland a new Poor Law was enacted in 1838. . . . — Map (db m72600) HM|
|United Kingdom, Northern Ireland (County Londonderry), Derry-Londonderry — Battle of the Bogside — The Guide to Free Derry|
On 12 August 1969, as the Apprentice Boys Parade passed the edge of the Bogside, nationalists clashed with parade followers and police. The police and loyalists followed the nationalists back into the Bogside, where defences had been prepared. For the next three days this community held off a sustained attack from the police, who couldn’t pass the defenders on the roof of Rossville Flats. On 14 August the British army was brought in to replace the defeated and exhausted . . . — Map (db m71441) HM|
|United Kingdom, Northern Ireland (County Londonderry), Derry-Londonderry — Bernadette|
|The Artists' first coloured mural is a tribute to the women of Derry and their role in the civil rights campaign. Bernadette Devlin, Britain's youngest MP, addresses the crowd during the Battle of the Bogside: her actions resulted in a six month jail sentence for inciting and taking part in a riot. The woman to her left bangs a dustbin lid on the ground to alert neighbours to the arrival of the authorities. The triangle motif inspired by the gable end is repeated throughout the painting. . . . — Map (db m71187) HM|
|United Kingdom, Northern Ireland (County Londonderry), Derry-Londonderry — Bloody Sunday|
This mural depicts the events of 30th January 1972 when the British Army opened fire on a civil rights demonstration, killing 14 people. A local priest waves a bloodstained handkerchief at the soldiers as he leads a group of men, carry the body of the youngest victim, away from the scene of the shooting. A soldier stands on a civil rights banner: this speaks of the price that people pay for democratic freedom.
What makes our work unique is that, both as artists and as citizens, we are . . . — Map (db m71215) HM WM|
|United Kingdom, Northern Ireland (County Londonderry), Derry-Londonderry — Bloody Sunday — 30 January 1972|
On 30 January 1972, a massive British military operation in Derry's Bogside ended in the murder of thirteen unarmed civil rights demonstrators and the wounding of fifteen others - one of whom died later of his injuries on 16 June 1972.
The British army labelled the victims gunmen and bombers. They claimed their soldiers had met a "fusillade of fire". No soldier or vehicle was hit.
Derry Coroner Hubert O'Neill later declared the killings "sheer unadulterated murder". The hundreds of . . . — Map (db m71306) HM|
|United Kingdom, Northern Ireland (County Londonderry), Derry-Londonderry — Bloody Sunday — The Guide to Free Derry|
On 30 January 1972 the ‘elite’ British Parachute Regiment opened fire on a peaceful civil rights march along this street, killing 14 unarmed marchers and wounding 14 more. The dead and wounded were labelled gunmen and bombers by a partisan British judicial inquiry, and it was to be another 38 years before a second public inquiry forced the British government to admit what everyone else already knew, that all those killed and injured were innocent, and the shootings were “unjustified . . . — Map (db m71435) HM|
|United Kingdom, Northern Ireland (County Londonderry), Derry-Londonderry — Castle Gate|
Demolish the walls
The Maiden City withstood two sieges without its walls being breached. In the 18th century the city grew too big for its walls and increasingly houses and factories were built on the slopes below. Castle Gate (1803) was the second breach in the walls to deal with increased traffic. Thirty years later businessmen campaigned to demolish the walls entirely to solve the traffic problems. They failed and traffic continued to clog the city's streets.
The . . . — Map (db m70960) HM|
|United Kingdom, Northern Ireland (County Londonderry), Derry-Londonderry — Death of Innocence — Annette McGavigan|
Shot dead by the British Army
6 September 1971
Here the innocence of a child's world contrasts vividly with the chaotic violence with which others have surrounded her. The mural commemorates fourteen year old Annette McGavigan who was shot by a British soldier in 1971, the 100th victim of the Troubles and one of the first children to be killed. The little coloured stones at her feet are objects that . . . — Map (db m71155) HM WM|
|United Kingdom, Northern Ireland (County Londonderry), Derry-Londonderry — Demi-culverin Cannon|
Livery Companies of the
City of London
Bore 4.92," Length 90,"
Sent to the city in May-June 1642 by the
Worshipful Company of Salters.
Probably cast by John Browne at one of his works in Kent. — Map (db m71083) HM|
|United Kingdom, Northern Ireland (County Londonderry), Derry-Londonderry — Double Bastion|
The city has always expressed its soul in verse.
Derry mine! My small oak grove
Little cell, my home, my love!
Attributed to St. Colmcille
The saint's story is told as St Columb in the Cathedral and as St Colmcille in Long Tower Church.
The purple headed mountains,
The river running by,
The sunset and the morning
That brightens up the sky.'
Mrs Cecil Frances Alexander
The 19th century hymn writer was inspired by the view of the Creggan Hills.
'My heart . . . — Map (db m71005) HM|
|United Kingdom, Northern Ireland (County Londonderry), Derry-Londonderry — Double Bastion|
Roaring Meg is the most famous of the city's cannon. She weighs a mighty 1794 kilograms. The Fishmongers' Company of London presented her to the city in 1642. She saw action in the 1689 siege, probably from this bastion. It could take up to six men to fire a large cannon. Two packed the gunpowder into the barrel and inserted the cannon ball. A third lit the fuse while the fourth aimed the cannon at the target. The force of the explosion could cause the gun carriage to roll . . . — Map (db m71007) HM|
|United Kingdom, Northern Ireland (County Londonderry), Derry-Londonderry — Ferryquay Gate|
Locking the gates
In 1688 James II proposed to replace the Protestant garrison in the city with Catholic troops. Rumours were rife that the citizens were to be massacred. Meeting in the Diamond, the city leaders could not make up their minds whether to admit the new garrison. Fourteen young men - the 13 Apprentice Boys and their look-out - lost patience. They drew their swords, ran to the guard house, seized the keys to the city, raised the drawbridge of Ferryquay Gate, and shut and . . . — Map (db m71097) HM|
|United Kingdom, Northern Ireland (County Londonderry), Derry-Londonderry — Ferryquay Gate|
This gate was built in 1865 on the site of one of the four original entrances to the city. Like Bishop's Gate it had a drawbridge, which could be pulled up in times of troubles, to allow people to cross the dry moat. This was the gate that the Apprentice Boys locked in December, 1688. The carved heads are of Governor George Walker and Rev James Gordon who urged the citizens to refuse to admit James II's troops. — Map (db m71104) HM|
|United Kingdom, Northern Ireland (County Londonderry), Derry-Londonderry — Free Derry Corner — You Are Now Entering Free Derry — The Guide to Free Derry|
On 5 January 1969, after a night of rioting and sustained police attacks on the Bogside, the words "You Are Now Entering Free Derry" were painted on the gable wall of 33 Lecky Road. This simple graffiti became the defining symbol of the civil rights era and an internationally recognised symbol of resistance to state injustice. The wall remains today, though the rest of the street was demolished in 1975.
Binn Dhoire Saor
Ar an 5 Eanáir 1969, tar éis oíche círéibe agus ionsaithe . . . — Map (db m71204) HM|
|United Kingdom, Northern Ireland (County Londonderry), Derry-Londonderry — H Block Hunger Strike Memorial|
IRA. Vol. Bobby Sands,
Born 9th March 1954
Died 5th May 1981
Age: 27 (66 Days).
IRA. Vol. Francis Hughes,
Born 28th Feb 1956
Died 12th May 1981
Age: 25 (59 Days)
INLA. Vol. Patsy O'Hara,
Born 11th July 1957
Died 21st May 1981
Age: 23 (61 Days)
IRA. Vol. Raymond McCreesh,
Born 25th Feb 1957
Died 21st May 1981
Age: 24 (61 Days)
IRA. Vol. Joe McDonnell,
Born 14th Step 1951
Died 8th July 1981
Age: 30 [sic - 29] (61 Days)
Let Our Revenge Be The . . . — Map (db m71219) WM|
|United Kingdom, Northern Ireland (County Londonderry), Derry-Londonderry — Hangman's Bastion|
Bulwarks and bastions
When first built, the bastions were known as bulwarks, each called after a person associated with the city from King James I to the Governor of the Plantation. They were renamed during the 1689 siege. This is Hangman's Bastion where a man nearly killed himself when he became entangled in the rope which he was using to escape. The nearby Coward's Bastion, one of the three bastions that have been demolished, was the safest place in the city.
Defending the . . . — Map (db m70957) HM|
|United Kingdom, Northern Ireland (County Londonderry), Derry-Londonderry — Hunger Strike|
This mural depicts one of the surviving hunger strikers as he looked after 53 days without food. He was one of seven men who went on hunger strike at the Maze prison in Belfast from 28th October, 1980 in protest against loss of their rights as political prisoners. His image was beamed around the world on television. He is joined by one of the women from Armagh jail who went on strike in sympathy. Both are wrapped in blankets marking their refusal to wear prison uniform.
Ours is a . . . — Map (db m71436) HM|
|United Kingdom, Northern Ireland (County Londonderry), Derry-Londonderry — Magazine Gate|
Magazine Gate takes its name from the Plantation city's gunpowder store. The mixture of saltpetre, sulphur and fine charcoal had to be kept very dry as it easily absorbed water. A barrel of gunpowder and a pile of shot was placed beside each cannon when in use. The powder was carefully weighed and scooped into cloth or paper bags with a shovel before being packed inside the barrel of the cannon.
Ramrods, linstocks and wadhooks
Tools helped the team of gunners to . . . — Map (db m70956) HM|
|United Kingdom, Northern Ireland (County Londonderry), Derry-Londonderry — Motorman|
Free Derry ended at 4am on 30th July 1972 when thousands of British troops in tanks and armoured cars invaded the Bogside and Creggan 'no-go' areas. During Operation Motorman, they tore down the barricades with bulldozers. The Artists chose the image of a soldier battering down a door to express the sheer ferocity of the onslaught. With its contrasting light and shadow, the mural becomes a powerful statement against war.
Our work commemorates the real price paid by a naïve and . . . — Map (db m71284) HM|
|United Kingdom, Northern Ireland (County Londonderry), Derry-Londonderry — Newgate Bastion|
The first shot
On 13th April, 1689 the first shot of the siege was fired. Citizens on the walls spotted the vanguard of the Jacobite army approaching under Lieutenant General Richard Hamilton. To make his presence known, Hamilton fired a shot which hit Newgate Bastion. The defenders could not retaliate as they had not yet been issued with arms.
Goods to market
Markets were always a feature of life in the city which served a large agricultural area. Over the centuries there . . . — Map (db m71098) HM|
|United Kingdom, Northern Ireland (County Londonderry), Derry-Londonderry — Royal Bastion|
The siege governors
The Royal Bastion is associated with the city's four governors during the 1689 siege. Professional soldier Robert Lundy was unconvinced that the city could be defended against Jacobite attack. His indecisiveness and refusal to admit additional troops into the overcrowded city led to his overthrow and flight. Major Henry Baker and Rev George Walker replaced him as joint governors. When Baker died of fever, Colonel John Mitchelburne took over his military duties. . . . — Map (db m70987) HM|
|United Kingdom, Northern Ireland (County Londonderry), Derry-Londonderry — The Bloody Sunday Commemoration|
This mural was painted to commemorate the 25th anniversary of Bloody Sunday. A circle frames the faces of the 14 victims with the youngest in the centre. The circle is the symbol of wholeness, the goal of the healing process. Fourteen oak leaves, the symbol of the city, surround the circle. The soft red colours convey sadness rather than anger.
In the evening light with the sun shining directly on it, it can be very moving, even for us who painted it. — Map (db m71158) HM WM|
|United Kingdom, Northern Ireland (County Londonderry), Derry-Londonderry — The Petrol Bomber|
For two days in August, 1969 local people resisted attempts by the Royal Ulster Constabulary to break down the barricades which they had erected to defend their community. The Battle of the Bogside ended when the British government sent in the Army. The mural depicts a young boy wearing a gas mask to protect himself from CS gas: he is holding a petrol bomb made from a milk bottle.
This was our first mural and thought to be our best. As soon as the three of us painted it we knew we had . . . — Map (db m71168) HM WM|
|United Kingdom, Northern Ireland (County Londonderry), Derry-Londonderry — The Walled City|
If 'stones could speak', what a story they would have to tell. Their voices still echo on the walls and in the city streets.
According to tradition St. Colm Cille chose the oak grove on top of the hill for his monastery in 546 AD. His community became a beacon of light and learning throughout Europe. Around it grew a settlement with a stronghold, cathedral and port.
In 1610 the City of London Companies agreed to build a new city on the Foyle in return for land in King James I's . . . — Map (db m71026) HM|
|United Kingdom, Northern Ireland (County Londonderry), Derry-Londonderry — The Walled City|
If 'stones could speak', what a story they would have to tell. Their voices still echo on the walls and in the city streets.
According to tradition St. Colm Cille chose the oak grove on top of the hill for his monastery in 546 AD. His community became a beacon of light and learning throughout Europe. Around it grew a settlement with a stronghold, cathedral and port.
In 1610 the City of London Companies agreed to build a new city on the Foyle in return for land in King James I's . . . — Map (db m71121) HM|
|United Kingdom, Northern Ireland (County Londonderry), Derry-Londonderry — Walker Memorial Pillar|
This monument was erected to perpetuate the memory of the Rev. George Walker, who, aided by the garrison and brave inhabitants of this City, most gallantly defended it through a protracted siege, viz., from the 7th Dec. 1688 O.S. to the 12th of August following against an arbitrary and bigoted Monarch, heading an army of upwards of 20,000 men, many of whom were foreign mercenaries, and by such valiant conduct in numerous sorties, and by patiently enduring extreme privations and . . . — Map (db m70988) HM|
|Alabama (Dale County), Daleville — 1840's Split Log Cabin|
| Side 1
Double-pen split log cabin built in 1840's by early settlers who fled disease carrying mosquitoes along Claybank Creek, the first permanent location in this area. This house was the gathering place for many families. The logs tell of many happy occasions and the sad events endured by the people as they weathered the storms of their lives. The settlers have gone on to eternity but the structure still stands as a legacy to remind future generations of a time gone by.
Restored . . . — Map (db m74202) HM|
|Alabama (Elmore County), Wetumpka — Wetumpka Impact Crater|
|The ridges located here are the remnants of a six-mile diameter circular feature created some 85 million years ago by an estimated 1,000-foot diameter asteroid. The area at the time of impact was a shallow sea. The ridges consist of a variety of metamorphic rocks and surround a central area comprised of large jumbled blocks of younger geologic strata. Drilling in the central area of the crater recovered fragments of rocks showing characteristic mineral alteration only associated with impact . . . — Map (db m67939) HM|
|Alabama (Houston County), Cowarts — Cowarts Baptist Church/Cowarts School|
|(Front): Cowarts Baptist Church
Cowarts Baptist Church was founded in 1885 when dissension arose in the Congregation of Smyrna. Originally located beside the cemetery, the church was destroyed by fire during the 1890s. It was rebuilt and dedicated on this site May 1, 1903 in front of the existing Cowarts School. A cyclone destroyed both the church and school on Friday, January 10, 1918 about 2 p.m. Beginning in March 1918, Cowarts Baptist Church was rebuilt and has remained on . . . — Map (db m64865) HM|
|Alabama (Lawrence County), Oakville — Town of Oakville|
|Based on the large number of local mounds and artifacts, this site shows evidence of Indian occupation over 2000 years ago. According to tradition about 1780, Oakville became a Cherokee town located on Black Warriors' Path. By the early 1820's, Celtic people of Scots~Irish ancestry had moved here in large numbers often intermarrying with the local Indians. Prominent names of this era included Irwin, Hodges, McNutt, McWhorter and McDaniel. Wiley Galloway was a teacher of the first known school . . . — Map (db m36036) HM|
|Alabama (Lee County), Auburn — Founders' Oak|
|This post oak started growth in 1850 and was 6 years old when East Alabama Male College was established. It was 33 years old when the Alabama Agricultural Station was established, 91 when the nation entered World War II, and over 100 when this site was made an arboretum. In 1975, Hurricane Eloise wreaked havoc in the arboretum but the Founders’ Oak withstood the storm. It was 150 years old at the start of the twenty-first century and is expected to be here at the start of the next century. — Map (db m74430) HM|
|Alabama (Limestone County), French Mill — Limestone County Tornado Memorial|
The bricks in these walls were once part of the homes of Limestone Countians. Each one represents a dream, and the loss of that dream on April 27, 2011, when seven tornadoes hit Limestone County and 62 struck in Alabama, killing 247 people, including four locally.
Here, these bricks represent hope and the resilience of a community that came together to help one another recover that day, and in the wake of all tornadoes in Limestone County's history.
This . . . — Map (db m72495) HM|
|Alabama (Madison County), Huntsville — Grissom • White • Chaffee — Date of Incident: January 27, 1967 • Intended Launch Date: February 21, 1967 — "Fire in the Cockpit!"|
|These were among the last words from Apollo 1.
On January 27, 1967, the first scheduled Apollo flight, Apollo/Saturn 204, was undergoing routine launch pad tests. Soon after the crew was sealed inside the command module, a deadly fire exploded inside the cabin. Despite frantic attempts to rescue them, the astronauts succumbed in a matter of seconds. Following the tragedy, the Apollo program was shut down for almost two years. Although efforts to find the cause of the disaster didn't . . . — Map (db m69677) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — Augusta and the Old Augusta Cemetery — Circa 1819|
|Augusta, home of Old Augusta Cemetery, was built on the site of a former Indian village, “Sawanogi,” on high ground close to the Tallapoosa River. In 1824 a disastrous flood swept over the plateau, invading shops and residences. A year later a deadly form of malarial fever took half the population to their graves, killing the town as well. The cemetery, burial place for the Ross, Charles, and Taylor families, continued to be used until the early 20th century. The iron fence . . . — Map (db m68260) HM|
|Alabama (Shelby County), Helena — Harmony Graveyard — Shelby County|
|This site began as the burying ground for Harmony Presbyterian Church, the first church built in the area that would become Helena. The earliest marked grave is Jones Griffin (died 1836), one of Andrew Jackson's Tennessee volunteers who was credited as the first soldier to mount the breastworks at the Battle of Horseshoe Bend. The cemetery contains the graves of Helena's earliest physicians, ministers, educators, and public officials including C. I. Hinds, the city's first mayor. Early family . . . — Map (db m76237) HM|
|Alabama (Shelby County), Helena — Helena Freight House & Depot|
The South and North Alabama Railroad Company constructed the Helena Freight House & Depot about 1872 while repairing damage inflicted by Union raiders in 1865. The original location of the structure was just north of the present railroad crossing. When a new depot was constructed around 1905, the building was moved by C.T. “Tom” Davidson to a site behind his house where he used it for storage and a work shop.
From 1872 to 1905, this building served as the hub of activity . . . — Map (db m76262) HM|
|Alabama (Shelby County), Helena — Helena, Alabama|
At a crossroads, one mile south of Helena, a post office called Cove was established in 1849 and renamed Hillsboro in 1857. During the Civil War the South & North Railroad (the Louisville & Nashville Railroad) was constructed to just north of Hillsboro on Buck Creek to facilitate the shipping of coal and iron from nearby mines and iron works. The construction engineer, Peter Boyle, married Helen Lee, the daughter of early settler Needham Lee Jr., and named the railhead Helena . . . — Map (db m76243) HM|
|Alabama (Talladega County), Oak Grove — Stars Fell On Alabama / Hodges Meteorite|
Stars Fell On Alabama
November 30, 1954. It was cold, clear early afternoon when Dr. Moody Jacobs left his office for lunch, in the sky, he saw a trail of dark smoke and heard an explosion before white smoke shot out in several directions. “I thought a plane had exploded,” Moody said. Back by 1 p.m. he received a call to an Oak Grove home to treat Mrs. Ann Hodges who’d been struck by a “comet.” The descending fireball had actually been seen by many people across . . . — Map (db m44229) HM|
|Alaska (Anchorage Borough), Anchorage — Measuring the Magnitude of Damage|
| Measuring the Magnitude of Damage
The Good Friday Earthquake destroyed or severely restricted all forms of transportation, utilities and communications over a large part of south-central Alaska.
Communications and Utilities
The complete or partial loss of necessary services greatly affected Alaskan’s emotional and physical well-being. Telephone, water, sewer, electricity and gas systems were disrupted throughout Southcentral Alaska. Despite wide-spread damage, the telephone . . . — Map (db m69766) HM|
|Alaska (Anchorage Borough), Anchorage — The Earth Did Quake|
|“And, behold … The earth did quake and the rocks rent;”
A description of the first Good Friday
The gruesome dance of the earth finally stopped, leaving much of downtown Anchorage in ruins.
In four minutes of violent shaking, many buildings, roads, and waterfront structures were destroyed. On 4th Avenue, Anchorage's Main Street, commercial buildings and pavement dropped as much is 15 feet. Some multi-story structures were able to withstand the . . . — Map (db m69795) HM|
|Alaska (Anchorage Borough), Anchorage — Tsunami!|
|More devastating than the Good Friday Earthquake itself, the seismic sea waves or tsunamis, that followed caused the major loss of life and property in Alaska.
Tsunamis are generated by the sudden upward movement of the seafloor along the rupturing fault. These waves can travel thousands of miles and can strike low-lying coastal areas hours after an earthquake with violent force. In the Good Friday Earthquake, some areas like Anchorage were barely affected by tsunamis. Other coastal . . . — Map (db m69769) HM|
|Alaska (Anchorage Borough), Anchorage — Turnagain Heights Slide|
|You are standing on the edge of the Turnagain Heights Slide, the largest and most destructive landslide in Anchorage.
Ninety seconds into the Good Friday Earthquake, an 8,000-foot strip of bluff, 1,200 feet wide began cracking apart into larger blocks which slid toward Cook Inlet. With a savage and grinding roll, the slide transported some homes 500 feet seaward, and broke apart or crushed other homes. Residents rushed outside their homes only to be thrown to the ground as the blocks . . . — Map (db m69770) HM|
|Alaska (Anchorage Borough), Girdwood — 1964 Earthquake|
|This cabin was part of the original Portage town site. The small coastal towns of Girdwood and Portage located on Turnagain Arm were destroyed in the 1964 earthquake. Girdwood was later relocated a few miles inland, while Portage, which subsided below the high-water level, was abandoned entirely. — Map (db m70719) HM|
|Alaska (Juneau Borough), Juneau — USS Juneau (CL-52) Memorial — 'Lest We Forget'|
| Center Marker Panel: [Rendering of the cruiser USS Juneau(CL-52)]
'Lest We Forget'
The Naval Battle of Guadalcanal was as ferocious and decisive as any battle of World War II. It was not won cheaply. The night action of Friday the thirteenth of November, 1942 was the last day of life for eight ships and hundreds of sailors including the USS Juneau CL-52. Juneau was in the thick of the battle until an enemy torpedo knocked her out of action. Retiring from . . . — Map (db m77160) WM|
|Arizona (Coconino County), Sunset Crater Volcano National Monument — Changes to Come|
| Buried under Sunset Crater's lava and cinders are perhaps dozens of pithouses. Those excavated revealed few artifacts; even building timbers had been removed. This suggests people had ample warning of the impending eruption.
The changed environment forced new adaptations, which included migration from the area. Those who stayed nearby had to adapt their traditional agricultural technology to lower elevations and cinder-covered land.
Wherever we live, changes occur around us. Some changes . . . — Map (db m41693) HM|
|Arizona (Coconino County), Walnut Canyon National Monument — A Time of Change|
When a volcanic eruption occurred near what is now Flagstaff, Arizona, people lost homes and lands they had cultivated for at least 400 years. A major life events for locals, the eruption was also visible to large population centers across the Southwest. Many people knew something significant had happened.
In the decades that followed, sparsely inhabited areas like Walnut Canyon and nearby Wupatki became densely settled.
By 1150, clustered communities replaced scattered farming . . . — Map (db m61325) HM|
|Arizona (Gila County), Globe — Globe Mine Rescue Station|
has been placed on the
of Historic Places
By the United States
Department of the Interior
Circa 1919 — Map (db m67462) HM|
|Arizona (Gila County), Payson — The Dude Fire|
|On June 25, 1990 a lightning caused fire entrapped ten members of the Perryville fire crew in this canyon. Resulting in six fatalities. Before the fire was contained it had burned more than 24,000 acres and destroyed over 70 structures.
This tragic event inspired Paul Gleason to formulate L.C.E.S. (Lookout, Communication, Escape Route, Safety Zones) now a minimum safety standard for wildland firefighting. Lessons learned from this incident continue to influence fire suppression around the world today. — Map (db m28210) HM|
|Arizona (Navajo County), Lakeside — Rodeo-Chediski Fire — June 18th 2002 – July 7 2002|
|The White Mountain communities dedicate this memorial to the
courageous men and women who voluntarily put themselves in harm's way to protect
from imminent destruction by the Rodeo-Chediski Fire.
By the Grace of God, and through the courageous, heroic efforts of firefighters
and support personnel, our community survived the most devastating wildfire
in Arizona history.
In particular, the burnout operation, led by Rick Lupe, was performed by a
team of 4 hotshot crews that worked . . . — Map (db m36745) HM|
|Arizona (Pima County), Summerhaven — Lemmon Rock Lookout Tower — Coronado National Forest|
|Lemmon Rock Lookout Tower was erected in 1928. It is the oldest lookout still in use on the Forest. This general locale has been used as a fire lookout since the Coronado Forest Reserve was established in 1902. The current lookout structure was constructed according to 1920's standard plans. It contains a work area, kitchen, sleeping area, and fire finder in the same room. This lookout played a role in the first aerial fire patrols which flew over the Santa Catalinas beginning in 1921.
The . . . — Map (db m55554) HM|
|Arizona (Santa Cruz County), Madera Canyon — Boy Scout Memorial|
|Troup 301 and Venture Crew 301 cautions you to
before you hike to the summit.
In memory of the 50th anniversary of the
Boy Scouts lost on
November 15, 1958
David Greenberg – 12 years old
Mike Early – 16 years old
Michael J. La Noue – 13 years old
— Map (db m73898) HM|
|Arkansas (Benton County), Lowell — Original Site of Bloomington (Mudtown) Arkansas|
|Front Mar. 20, 1839 Trail of Tears Mar. 8, 1847 Robinson's Crossroads First Post Office Feb. 5, 1858 Name changed to Bloomington Sept. 18, 1858 Butterfield Stage Stop to 1861 Dec. 9, 1862 Civil War Skirmishes Aug. 24, 1864 "Camp Mudtown" Mar. 9, 1881 Moved near railroad after village destroyed by tornado Known now as Lowell Back Lowell Sesquicentennial 1836-1986 Committee Chairperson Vera Lou Goree Fowler Committee Members Helen Nail Bolen Jo Vantine Elza Tucker Alma . . . — Map (db m33712) HM|
|California (Alameda County), Berkeley — The 1923 Berkeley Fire|
|On the morning of September 17, 1923, a grass fire spread from Wildcat Canyon over the hills into Berkeley. Driven by hot, dry winds, the fire spread rapidly across the northeast residential districts of the city, burning as far south and west as this downtown block.
In just a few hours, nearly 600 homes and dozens of entire blocks burned north of the University of California campus and east of Shattuck Avenue. Downwind, a rain of blowing embers started small fires and endangered buildings . . . — Map (db m54213) HM|
|California (Alameda County), San Leandro — Memorial to the Chinese Laborers — Lake Chabot Historical Walk|
|The Alameda County Historical Society dedicates this panel to:
Ah Bing – 41, Kim Yuen – 29, Toy Sing – 31, and Lock Sing – 33, who died outside this tunnel. This panel is also dedicated to the countless unnamed and unsung Chinese laborers who worked on Lake Chabot Dam from 1874 to 1892.
In 1888 and 1889 Chinese laborers dug and dynamited 1,438 feet through rock hillside to make this spillway tunnel. Overflow water from the lake passes through the tunnel, . . . — Map (db m71651) HM|
|California (Amador County), Jackson — 786 — Argonaut and Kennedy Mines|
|Argonaut Mine, discovered 1850, and Kennedy Mine, discovered 1856, played dramatic roles in the economic development of California, producing $105,268,760 in gold. Kennedy Mine has a vertical shaft of 5,912 feet, the deepest in the United States and changed mining methods in the Mother Lode. The Argonaut Mine was the scene of the Mother Lode's most tragic mine disaster. Forty eight miners were trapped in a fire at the 3,500-foot level on August 27, 1922 – A few survived. Both mines closed in 1942. — Map (db m72063) HM|
|California (Amador County), Jackson — Argonaut Mine|
| On the hill to your right stand the remains of the Argonaut Mine gallus (headframe), beneath which 47 miners were lost when a fire broke out deep in the main shaft on August 27, 1922. At that time the Argonaut was one of the deepest gold mines in North America. The disaster that occurred on that fateful day is noted as the largest gold mine disaster in North America. These brave men were from California, Texas, Austria, Italy, Yugoslavia, Germany, Switzerland, Spain, Montenegro, Portugal, . . . — Map (db m72068) HM|
|California (Amador County), Jackson — The Kennedy Mine / The Argonaut Mine|
|- The Kennedy Mine -
You are standing on property that once belonged to the Kennedy Mine. The Kennedy Mine is named for Andrew Kennedy, who reportedly discovered a quartz ledge in the late 1850s. The Kennedy Mining Company was formed in 1860 when he and three partners began digging shafts near today’s mine property entrance. The mine operated sporadically until it closed in 1878. In 1886, fifteen people invested $97,000 to reopen the mine as the Kennedy Mine and Milling Co. There are many . . . — Map (db m72070) HM|
|California (Fresno County), Clovis — September 11th California Memorial|
| In Memory of the victims of September 11, 2011 and in honor of our fallen heroes America's bravest - New York City Firefighters Port Authority of NY and NY Police Officers America's Finest - New York City Police Officers The Passengers and crew - United Flight 93 Forever In Our Hearts — Map (db m61130) HM|
|California (Fresno County), Coalinga — Row of Store Buildings Destroyed By Earthquake in 1983 — 1904|
|In 1909 Dominique Bordagaray purchased six lots on 5th and “C’ Streets and built row stores on them as Coalinga began to grow. The row stores included a French laundry, cigar shop, and liquor store, bicycle shop and confectionery shop.
The French laundry was destroyed by fire and was replaced with the Liberty Airdome Theatre. The open air theatre was later replaced with a J.C. Penney store and new Liberty Theatre with Audio Sound. — Map (db m63917) HM|
|California (Fresno County), Coalinga — The Earthquake of 1983|
|On May 2nd, 1983 at 4:42 P.M. a major earthquake of 6.7 magnitude lasting 45 seconds destroyed 54 buildings in downtown Coalinga. Only 31 people were injured and miraculously there were no deaths.
The earthquake also destroyed over 300 homes and caused major damage to schools and utilities. Every home suffered damage – every person suffered loss. Heirlooms, pictures, crystal, antiques...
This plaza was reconstructed through the efforts of the community and its neighbors. This plaque . . . — Map (db m63914) HM|
|California (Inyo County), Lone Pine — 507 — Disaster in 1872 — Grave of 1872 Earthquake Victims|
|On the date of March 26, 1872, an earthquake of major proportions shook Owens Valley and nearly destroyed the town of Lone Pine.
Twenty seven persons were killed.
In addition to single burials, 16 of the victims were interred in a common grave enclosed by this fence. — Map (db m34157) HM|
|California (Kern County), Tehachapi — 27 — Tehachapi Loop Mural|
|The Tehchapi Loop put Tehachapi on the map when it was completed in 1876. Before that time there was no rail access across the Tehachapi Mountains. The historic Loop is pictured here, circa 1952, with a trompe l'oeil effect showing damage to the building due to the historic 1952 earthquake. The wall upon which the mural is painted appears to be cracking open from the force of the earthquake. The Loop is pictured in late summer colors, rather than the usual greens that are only seen for a short . . . — Map (db m53117) HM|
|California (Kern County), Tehachapi — The Great Flood of 1932 and Engine No. 3834|
|On September 30th torrential rains flooded Tehachapi Creek, undermining the tracks under Santa Fe Engine No. 3834 which was waiting out the storm about ½ mile east of Woodward Station. The engine disappeared into the raging water below. It remained “lost” for two weeks, hidden under 10 feet of mud. It took one month to free the severely damaged engine. Its bell was never found. Almost three years after the flood the newly refurbished engine was returned to service with people . . . — Map (db m11912) HM|
|California (Lake County), Upper Lake — League's Store|
|League's Store, destroyed in the fire of 1924, housed the beginnings of both the Odd Fellows Hall and the Harriet Lee Hammond Library. The post office moved here when the library opened in 1916. The Griner Brothers eventually built and relocated their general store at this location in the 1930's.
Also destroyed in the fire of 1924 was the Justice Court of Upper Lake. Originally located on the east side of town it also served as the practice hall for the Upper Lake Concert Band. Renowned as . . . — Map (db m61079) HM|
|California (Los Angeles County), Cerritos — Cerritos Air Disaster Memorial|
|On August 31, 1986 at 11:56 A.M., two planes collided above a Cerritos neighborhood in the vicinity of Carmenita Road and 18rd Street. The tragic accident claimed 82 lives, destroyed 11 homes and severely damaged seven others. The collison was partially caused by inadequate airport approach and departure controls.
This tragedy became known as the Cerritos Air Disaster and resulted in implementation of safer procedures for airport approaches and departures.
The people of Cerritos offer . . . — Map (db m73108) HM|
|California (Los Angeles County), Saugus — 919 — St. Francis Dam Disaster Site|
|The 185-foot concrete St. Francis Dam, part of the Los Angeles aqueduct system, stood 1½ miles north of this site. On March 12, 1928, the 185-foot high concrete dam collapsed just before midnight, sending 12½ billion gallons of water roaring down the Santa Clara River Valley 54 miles to the ocean. This was one of California’s greatest disasters: Over 450 lives were lost. — Map (db m30666) HM|
|California (Los Angeles County), Sylmar — Loop Fire|
|This park and memorial stand as a tribute to the young men who lost their lives on the Loop Fire, to those who survived, and to firefighters everywhere.
Forever Honored - Those Who Lost Their Lives
Raymond Chee - Age 23
• James Moreland - Age 22
• Michael White - Age 20
• John Figlo - Age 18
• William Waller - Age 21
• Joel Hill - Age 19
• Steven White - Age 18
• Carl Shilcutt - Age 26
• John Verdugo - Age 19
• Daniel Moore - Age 21
• Kenneth Barnhill - Age 19 . . . — Map (db m79155) HM|
|California (Mono County), Lee Vining — Avalanche of 1911|
|Not far from this site, in the early morning hours of March 7, 1911, a massive avalanche roared down the east slop of Copper Mountain and wiped out the town of Jordan. Eight people were killed including Robert Mason, the chief engineer of the power plant. Only his wife and dog survived.
This snow slide was the worst of several occurring, in and around, Mono County during the winter of 1910-11. Rescuers coming from Bodie and Lee Vining were forced to travel by snowshoes or skis as all roads . . . — Map (db m50074) HM|
|California (Mono County), Walker — The C-130 Crew — Lost During the Cannon Fire - June 17, 2002|
|In Loving and Grateful Memory of
The C-130 Crew
Steve Wass, Craig Labare and Mike Davis
Who gave their lives to save
our community on June 17, 2002 — Map (db m23036) HM|
|California (Monterey County), Big Sur — End of an Era — U.S.S. Macon ZRS-5|
|To commemorate the loss of the
U.S.S. Macon ZRS-5
12 February 1935
Plaque donated by the
Moffett Field Historical Society — Map (db m68505) HM|
|California (Monterey County), Monterey — Associated Oil Fire – 1924 — Historic Cannery Row|
|In 1904 the Coalinga Oil Transportation Company laid 168 miles of six-inch pipeline from the Belridge Field in San Joaquin Valley to the Tidewater-Associated Marine Terminal on Monterey Bay (top). Its purpose was to deliver heavy fuel oil for use in oceangoing steamers. The terminal and fuel-storage farm were located where the breakwater and U.S. Coast Guard pier now stand.
On the morning of September 14, 1924, a bolt of lighting ignited a fire in the Associated Oil Company tank farm . . . — Map (db m55215) HM|
|California (Monterey County), Monterey — Monterey Breakwater — Historic Cannery Row|
|Recurring winter storms wreaked havoc on the Monterey fishing fleet every few years (top). On April 29, 1915, such a storm, with 60-mile-per-hour winds, destroyed or damaged nearly 50 boats. On Thanksgiving morning 1919, more than 93 vessels were tossed onto the beach, and the offices of the Pacific Steamship Company was blown off the wharf and into the bay.
Monterey businessman and civic activist Harry Ashland Greene, “Breakwater Harry,” was an early and staunch advocate for . . . — Map (db m55214) HM|
|California (Monterey County), Pacific Grove — John Denver — Henry John Deutschendorf, Jr.|
|In Commemoration of
Henry John Deutschendorf, Jr.
Dedicated September 23, 2007
at the site of crash of John’s plane, Long EZ N555JD
“... So welcome the wind and the wisdom she offers,
Follow her summons when she calls again,
In your heart and your spirit let the breezes surround you,
Lift your heart and your spirit then sing with the wind ...”
- “Windsong” by John Denver and Joe Henry –
Love from the . . . — Map (db m63662) HM|
|California (Nevada County), Truckee — Donner Camp Site|
|On October 28, 1846 the six covered wagons brought west by George and Jacob Donner and their families halted here for repairs. By March of 1847 one half of the party of 22 adults and children had died of starvation and cold. They came west seeking a new life and found misery and death. — Map (db m60507) HM|
|California (Nevada County), Truckee — Donner Party Camp at Alder Creek Valley / Tamsen and Elizabeth Donner|
| Donner Party Camp at Alder Creek Valley
In the Fall of 1846, 25 Members of The Donner Party became Trapped by an Early Snowstorm here at Alder Creek Valley. The George and Jacob Donner Families, their Teamsters, and Fellow Travelers Suffered Extreme Hardship and Starvation. They Spent the Winter Here Cut Off from the Rest of Their Party who Camped at Donner Lake. Only 11 Survived the Ordeal. Their Survival, Against Desperate Odds, Stands as a Testament to the Enduring Pioneer Spirit the . . . — Map (db m60303) HM|
|California (San Benito County), San Juan Bautista — The San Andreas Fault Exhibit & El Camino Real Earthquake Walk|
|In Celebration of the
U.S.Geological Survey's Centennial
1879 - 1979
Dedicated July 4, 1979
SAN JUAN BAUTISTA CHAMBER OF COMMERCE
In Cooperation With
Old Mission San Juan Bautista-Diocese of Monterey,
U.S.Geological Survey-Department of the Interior,
California State Historical Park-San Juan Bautista
and the Citizens of San Juan Bautista, California — Map (db m15340) HM|
|California (San Bernardino County), Lake Arrowhead — Memorial to Pauliena LaFuze|
|"I never thought I would outlive the trees"
A century old herself in 2005, and seeing many of her beloved trees bow to beetle and flame, Pauliena Lafuze had done just that. She has been a Lake Arrowhead Woman's Club member since the 1930's, and has helped restore Switzer Park many times after fires and other natural events. She planted trees on April 9, 2005, to help Switzer Park recover from the 2003 Old Fire. This plaque recognizes her inspiring, lifelong efforts to conserve and restore this forest. — Map (db m30409) HM|
|California (San Francisco City and County), San Francisco — Hotaling Building|
|Built in 1866 and occupied by A.P. Hotaling & Co., this building housed the largest liquor repository on the West Coast. It survived the 1906 earthquake and fire due to a mile long fire hose laid from Fisherman's Wharf over Telegraph Hill by the U.S. Navy. This prompted the famous doggerel by Charles Field:
"If, as they say, God spanked the town
for being over frisky,
why did he burn the churches down
and save Hotaling's Whiskey?" — Map (db m40165) HM|
|California (San Francisco City and County), San Francisco — Russian Navy Heroes|
|In memory of the selfless and courageous actions of the Russian Imperial Navy sailors while saving the lives of many city residents in suppressing the great fire in San Francisco on October 23, 1863.
A close Russian translation on the right:
В память о самоотверженных и смелых . . . — Map (db m73087) HM|
|California (San Francisco City and County), San Francisco — Unsung Heros|
| San Francisco’s firemen were the unsung heroes of 1906. Leaderless because Chief Dennis Sullivan had been fatally injured by the quake, with indomitable courage they battled for three days and nights the flames that were consuming the city. — Map (db m72079) HM|
|California (San Mateo County), Half Moon Bay — SMA 038 — "The Determination of One Man"|
|In October of 1906, Joseph Debenedetti constructed this two story mission revival commercial style building, which immediately became the center of commerce for Half Moon Bay and the surrounding area. Rising from the ashes of the devastating 1906 earthquake, it was the first concrete reinforced building in San Mateo County and symbolized the determination of one man to recover from a natural disaster and lead the way to resurgence of the San Mateo Coastline. Despite the absence of good roads . . . — Map (db m10715) HM|
|California (San Mateo County), Milbrae — The San Andreas Fault|
|The San Andreas Fault is the largest earthquake fault in North America. It passes through this point and alongside the tip of the small peninsula straight ahead.
In this area, during the 1906 San Francisco earthquake, the west side of the fault moved nine feet northwestward. — Map (db m17165) HM|
|California (San Mateo County), Woodside — In Memoriam The Aircraft "Resolution"|
|The Australian company British Commonwealth Pacific Airlines DC-6B, VH-BPE, on a scheduled flight from Sydney to San Francisco with a final destination of Vancouver, Canada, crashed on Kings Mountain in San Mateo County during the morning hours of October 29, 1953.
This is the worst aviation accident in county history, claiming the lives of all on board, eight crew members and eleven passengers. The cause of this disaster remains a mystery but is a testament to modern day aviation safety . . . — Map (db m70332) HM|
|California (Santa Barbara County), Lompoc — Tragedy of Point Pedernales / Honda Point|
In memory of the tragedy of
Point Pedernales / Honda Point
8 September 1923
USS S.P. Lee
Dedicated 8 September 1983
by the American Legion
William Proud Post 211
Monument donated by
Ernest and Carson Porter — Map (db m70358) HM|
|California (Santa Clara County), Alviso — The Steamboat Jenny Lind Disaster|
|Beginning in the 1840s, the dock at Alviso served as Santa Clara County’s access to the San Francisco Bay. From this port, passengers boarded steamboats loaded with goods and produce bound for San Francisco and points beyond. In the early days of the California gold rush San Jose provided hay, lumber and large amounts of food through this port.
During the height of its shipping activity, Alviso experienced a devastating maritime disaster. On the eleventh of April in 1852, the steamer Jenny . . . — Map (db m64389) HM|
|California (Shasta County), Burney — Fountain Fire Vista Point|
| . . . — Map (db m13741) HM|
|California (Shasta County), Shingletown — Devastated Area|
[Two markers, side-by-side, describe the events that created the Devastated Area.]
A Night to Remember
May 19, 1915
You are standing in the aftermath of the volcanic destruction known as the Devastated Area. Late on the evening of May 19, 1915, a large steam explosion shattered the lava that filled Lassen Peak’s crater the previous days. Glowing blocks of hot lava fell on the summit and snow-covered upper flanks of the volcano. The impact touched off an . . . — Map (db m58113) HM|
|California (Shasta County), Shingletown — Hot Rock|
|Following the May 1915 Lassen Peak eruptions, B.F. Loomis and other local residents discovered several massive hot rocks resting in the valley miles from the volcano. This hot rock is a piece of dacite lava that filled Lassen Peak’s crater. On May 14, 1915, lava began welling up and plugged the volcano’s crater. Pent-up gases within the volcano blasted and shattered the lava cap on May 19.
Careening down the mountainside, hot lava rocks touched off a snow avalanche. The avalanche carried . . . — Map (db m58114) HM|
|California (Ventura County), Santa Paula — Saint Francis Dam Disaster Memorial|
|Minutes before midnight on the chilly evening of March 12, 1928, the St. Francis Dam failed. The dam's 200-foot high concrete wall crumpled and collapsed, sending billions of gallons of raging flood waters down San Francisquito Canyon, about five miles northeast of what is now the city of Santa Clarita. The avalanche of water swept 54 miles down the Santa Clara River to the sea. No one knows the exact death toll but more than 450 people perished in the disaster.
Shortly before 1:30 a.m. on . . . — Map (db m54568) HM|
|California (Yolo County), West Sacramento — Flood Control — West Sacramento River Walk|
|On January 15, 1850, the fledging City of Sacramento, consisting mostly of tents and simple wooden buildings, stood in 6 feet of water. Two weeks later, the community pledged $200,000 to levee construction. But before the levee system could be completely developed, the city was inundated 3 more times – In 1852-3, 1861-2, and 1867-8. Eventually, the levee construction was completed and the low-lying areas along the waterfront were filled in, resulting in the city’s downtown streets being . . . — Map (db m15720) HM|
|California (Yolo County), Winters — Cradwick Building|
|Between 1889 and 1891, John Cradwick developed this large two-story block, possibly utilizing prior one story structures already present on the three-lot site.
Born in England in 1829, John Cradwick settled in the Winters area in 1875 where he farmed and established a brick-making business. Teaming with local contractor, Alex Ritchie, Cradwick utilized his brick masonry skills to erect this building.
Early businesses occupying the building included the Winters Bakery, the Phoenix General . . . — Map (db m40145) HM|
|California (Yuba County), Marysville — River Pumps|
|In 1895 pumps were installed at the confluence of the Yuba and Feather Rivers to protect the City of Marysville from the danger of flooding.
These pumps with a capacity to pump 18,265 gallons per minute, helped to keep Marysville dry during the Great Floods of 1955.
Dedicated the 4th Day of April, 1990
The Rotary Club of Marysville — Map (db m17741) HM|
|Colorado (La Plata County), Durango — Lime Creek Burn 1879|
|This man-caused forest fire burned 26,000 acres consuming approximately 150,000,000 board-feet of timber. Reforestation by direct seeding and planting of seedling trees was started in 1911 and continues today.
The project was financed by federal funds and contributions from the conservation-minded Colorado Federation of Women's Clubs. — Map (db m58966) HM|
|Colorado (Teller County), Victor — Fire!|
| Up In Flames
Victor was founded in 1893 at the foot of Battle Mountain – a stone’s throw from where the richest gold mines in the Gold Camp were eventually located. Underground mining was very labor intensive so, like many gold rush boom towns, Victor grew almost overnight from a crude mining camp with a haphazard collection of tents and shacks, to one of the most prosperous and populous cities in Colorado. For a short time, Victor was the fifth largest city in the State.|
In . . . — Map (db m46798) HM
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), Danbury — 9 — Danbury Disasters — – The Museum in the Streets – — Danbury, Connecticut|
| When the Kohanza Reservoir Dam gave way on the night of February 20, 1869, sixty acres of water, ice, lumber and debris roared down north Main Street. It took shops, homes, bridges and factories with it and several lives were lost. A combination of heavy frost and a neglected earlier break were cited as the cause.
Tropical storms in August and October of 1955 brought continuous, torrential downpours to the area. In October, the resulting flood paralyzed the city for days. Utilities were cut . . . — Map (db m72857) HM|
|Connecticut (Fairfield County), Trumbull — In Memory of Lt. Rodney L. Stokes and Sgt. Julius G. Skyberg|
|In Memory of Lt. Rodney L. Stokes of Liberty, Mississippi, and Sgt. Julius G. Skyberg of DeSmet, South Dakota Who Lost Their Lives While Fulfilling Their Duties When Their Airplane Crashed on This Spot on Sunday January 23, 1944. Placed Here by Another Airman — Map (db m77504) HM WM|
|Connecticut (Litchfield County), Bantam — Site of Methodist Church|
|On This Site Stood
The Methodist Church
Which Was Destroyed
By The Tornado Of
July 10, 1989 — Map (db m58645) HM|
|Connecticut (Litchfield County), Cornwall — This Tree|
| This tree is dedicated to the people and community spirit that helped Cornwall recover from the July 10, 1989 tornado. Town leaders at that time were:
Richard Dakin First Selectman
Patsy Van Doren Selectman
Steve Hedden Selectman
Barbara Dakin Town Clerk
Cary Hepprich Fire Chief
Rick Washburn Assistant Fire Chief
David Williamson Civil Preparedness Director
Joe Matyas Highway Foreman
July 10, 1999 — Map (db m41830) HM|
|Connecticut (Litchfield County), Torrington — The Flood of August 19, 1955|
| "So numerous were the many acts of heroism, rescue of the sick and invalid, neighbors' concern for neighbors, that it would be impossible to chronicle them with slighting someone deserving of great credit." - Torrington Register, August 26, 1955 It was the worst natural disaster in Torrington's history, as two tropical storms dropped 23 inches of rain on Torrington within a period of one week. Some low-lying areas were flooded on August 18, 1955, but later that night and into the . . . — Map (db m54559) HM|
|Connecticut (New Haven County), Madison — Dianne Bullis Snyder Memorial|
|In memory for the life of Dianne Bullis Snyder, Flight Attendant American Airlines Flight 11, Sept 11, 2001-February 12, 1959-September 11, 2001.To live in the hearts of those we leave behind is not to die. — Map (db m66473) HM|
|Delaware (Sussex County), Lewes — SC221 — The Blizzard of 1888|
|Known as the “Great White Hurricane,” the Blizzard of 1888 was one of the most devastating weather events in recorded history. Affecting coastal states from Virginia to Maine, this paralyzing storm resulted in widespread death and destruction. With its large stone Breakwater providing a buffer from heavy seas, the harbor at Lewes was considered to be one of the safest on the Atlantic seaboard at the time. For the ships that sought shelter here during the blizzard, it would be the . . . — Map (db m19316) HM|
|District of Columbia (Washington), National Mall — Washington Monument — Earthquake of August 23, 2011|
| On August 23, 2011, a 5.8 magnitude earthquake occurred 84 miles southwest of Washington, D.C. As the earth shook, the Washington Monument sustained significant damage to many of its marble and granite blocks.
Although the monument remains structurally sound, internal and external stone damage was discovered in many areas. Most occurred in the top fifty feet of the monument, the pyramidion, which suffered cracks to marble panels, tie beams, and rib bearing haunches, as well as displacement . . . — Map (db m70930) HM|
|District of Columbia (Washington), Northwest — Why Are These Stones Here? — [Washington National Cathedral]|
| The limestone pinnacles were damaged in the August 23, 2011, earthquake here. The ground shook for less than a minute but caused the 301-foot central tower of Washington National Cathedral to whip back and forth. Some of the 50-ton pinnacles (decorative points on the tower) spun like tops and others fell onto the roof. Stone masons Joe Alonso and Andy Uhl relocated the stones to the ground level with the help of a multi-ton crane (above).
Captions connected to diagram of the . . . — Map (db m71202) HM|
|District of Columbia (Washington), The National Mall — Why is the Washington Monument Temporarily Closed?|
| On August 23, 2011, a magnitude 5.8 earthquake centered in Virginia sent tremors throughout eastern North America. This seismic activity affected a number of Washington, D.C. landmarks, including the Washington Monument. National Park Service engineers and experts in historic preservation and earthquake engineering immediately assessed the physical impact in order to determine the best way to repair this national treasure and restore public access. Completed by the U.S. Army Corps of . . . — Map (db m49459) HM|
|District of Columbia (Washington), The National Mall — Why is the Washington Monument Temporarily Closed?|
| On August 23, 2011, a magnitude 5.8 earthquake centered in Virginia sent tremors throughout eastern North America. This seismic activity affected a number of Washington, D.C. landmarks, including the Washington Monument. National Park Service engineers and experts in historic preservation and earthquake engineering immediately assessed the physical impact in order to determine the best way to repair this national treasure and restore public access. Completed by the U.S. Army Corps of . . . — Map (db m49521) HM|
|District of Columbia (Washington), The National Mall — Why is the Washington Monument Temporarily Closed?|
| On August 23, 2011, a magnitude 5.8 earthquake centered in Virginia sent tremors throughout eastern North America. This seismic activity affected a number of Washington, D.C. Landmarks, including the Washington Monument. National Park Service engineers and experts in historic preservation and earthquake engineering immediately assessed the physical impact in order to determine the best way to repair this national treasure and restore public access. Completed by the U.S. Army Corps of . . . — Map (db m53727) HM|
|Florida (Duval County), Jacksonville — F-433 — Jacksonville's 1901 Fire — "The Great Fire"|
|On May 3, 1901 at 12:30 p.m., a fire began at the Cleaveland Fibre Factory, ten blocks northwest of this site. Chimney embers ignited sun-dried moss to be used as mattress stuffing. Fueled by wind and dry weather, the fire roared east destroying most structures in its path. By 3:30 p.m., the fire reached this site, then called Hemming Park. The park and its renowned live oaks were devoured by the flames and only the Confederate Monument survived, its base glowing red from heat. The fire . . . — Map (db m58013) HM|
|Florida (Escambia County), Pensacola — F-733 — Firefighter Vista S. Lowe|
|At this site on September 30, 1962, Firefighter Vista Spencer Lowe, age 23, died in the line of duty while responding to a house fire at 409 East Zarragossa Street. Upon arrival at the scene, Firefighter Lowe stepped from the rear tailboard of the pumper he was riding (Engine 5, a 1957, 1,000-gallon Seagrave Pumper Truck), tripped and fell to the ground. Unaware of Lowe’s location, the pumper’s driver began backing his truck, trapping Lowe under the truck and crushing him. Lowe was the third . . . — Map (db m72249) HM|
|Florida (Highlands County), Sebring — Dedicated to the Memory of Emil Billitz Sr.|
Dedicated to the Memory of Emil Billitz Sr. and countless other C.C.C. enrollees who were injured, disabled or lost their lives in performance of their duty. We especially remember the 228 C.C.C. members who perished September 2, 1935 during a hurricane at three camps, Upper Keys, Florida. — Map (db m72742) HM|
|Florida (Indian River County), Orchid — F-222 — Site of Survivors’ and Salvagers’ Camp — The 1715 Fleet|
|Late in July, 1715, a hurricane destroyed a fleet of eleven or possibly twelve homeward bound merchant ships carrying cargoes of gold and silver coinage and other valuable items from the American colonies to Spain. About 1500 men, women, and children who survived the disaster and reached the shore made their camp along the barrier island near the place where the fleet’s flagship had sunk. Governor General Corcoles sent a relief party composed chiefly of Indian auxiliaries from St. Augustine to . . . — Map (db m14306) HM|
|Florida (Lake County), Groveland — F-354 — Villa City|
|On this site in 1885, George Thomas King, founder of Villa City, built an estate that was the showplace of the area. By 1895, the town had a post office, school, church, hotel, photographic studio, dispensary and 35 homes. The citrus based community flourished until the Big Freeze of 1894-95. A small warm spell after a devastating Dec. 29 freeze, filled the trees with sap. Snow then fell in the evening of Feb. 7, 1895. The frozen trees exploded when the warming sun returned. Their hopes and . . . — Map (db m67024) HM|
|Florida (Marion County), Ocala — Brick City Fever — by artist Cliff Fink|
On Thanksgiving Day, November 29th, 1883 fire broke out in Ocala. All of the buildings on the east side of today’s SE 1st Avenue from Silver Springs Boulevard to Fort King Street were destroyed. Five blocks of the business district were left in ashes and numerous records were lost, including files containing a great deal of Ocala and Marion County’s early history. The rebuilding of the town began almost immediately. Frame buildings were replaced utilizing brick, granite and metal. Within . . . — Map (db m72921) HM|
|Florida (Miami-Dade County), Miami — Naval Air Station Richmond — WWII L.T.A. Facility|
|At this site, on 15 September 1942, the United States Navy established a 2,000 acre (810 hectare) lighter-than-air facility. The Navy constructed 3 huge hangers, each 17 stories (175 feet/54 meters) high, 297 feet (110.5 meters) wide, and 1,088 feet (404.8 meters) in length. Among the largest wooden structures in the world, each covered about 7 acres (2.8 hectares). This base was home to Fleet Airship Wing 2 and Airship Patrol Squadron ZP-21, consisting of 25 “K” class blimps. . . . — Map (db m73415) HM|
|Florida (Miami-Dade County), Miami Beach — Biscayne House of Refuge|
|Near this site stood the Biscayne House of Refuge to save survivors of shipwrecks from the perils of the desolate shore. After every storm, the keeper and his family searched the beach for castaways to furnish them food, clothing, shelter, and a safe return to civilization.
The Biscayne House of Refuge was constructed in 1876 through an executive order from President Ulysses S. Grant. It was one of five stations erected along Florida's southeast coast by the United States Life Saving . . . — Map (db m75990) HM|
|Florida (Monroe County), Islamadora — The Florida Keys Memorial|
|The Florida Keys Memorial, known locally as the “Hurricane Monument,” was built to honor hundreds of American veterans and local civilians who perished in the “Great Hurricane” on Labor Day, September 2, 1935. Islamadora sustained winds of 200 miles per hour and a barometer reading of 26.35 inches for several hours on that fateful holiday; most local buildings and the Florida East Coast Railway were destroyed by what remains the most savage hurricane on record. Hundreds . . . — Map (db m3251) HM|
|Florida (Sarasota County), Longboat Key — Corey's Landing and Farming Community|
Byron Corey was one of the first homesteaders to be awarded land by the U.S. Government on Longboat Key. He was given 154 acres of land on Sarasota Bay in 1895. Until 1921, he had some of the finest tomatoes, guavas, limes and other produce for miles around. The first post office was built on Corey’s dock in 1907, and the steamer Mistletoe and others stopped to pick up vegetables for the Tampa market. The October 12th hurricane of 1921 covered most of Longboat Key with salt water which ended . . . — Map (db m79430) HM|
|Florida (Volusia County), Ponce Inlet — Hotel Inlet Terrace — Bob Pacetti's Dream|
|This terra cotta wall is all that remains of what was to be a grandiose hotel and resort. It was started during the great land boom of the 1920's. The developer, Robert (Bob) Pacetti was a native of this area. His ancestors first came to this country with the British Turnbull colony of New Smyrna in 1768. His grandfather, Bartola Clemente Pacetti, settled on the A. Pons (Ponce) Spanish land grant near here in 1840. Portions of the grant were sold in the 1870's, but this area, (Lighthouse Point . . . — Map (db m52457) HM|
|Florida (Walton County), DeFuniak Springs — F-741 — Cosson Family Tragedy|
|In 1936, James Marvin Cosson Sr. moved his family to this location about one-half mile east of the Eglin Army Airfield to have more land to farm and to provide for his wife, Annie Bell Cosson, and their four children. During World War II, Eglin Airfield served as a major testing and training ground for bombing missions. The Army Air Corps regularly performed training missions at the Eglin bombing range, located about three miles west of the Cosson home. On the evening of August 11, 1944, as . . . — Map (db m73290) HM|
|Georgia (Catoosa County), Fort Oglethorpe — Mix-up in the Union Command — An unwise order created a perilous gap in the Union line|
|Shortly before 11:00 a.m. on September 20, Maj. Gen. William S. Rosecrans, the Union commander, received an erroneous report that Brig. Gen. John M. Brannan's division was out of position, which would have created a gap in the Union battle line. In fact, Brannan's men were concealed in the woods behind you - right where they should have been. Brannan's line is marked along this road today by monuments and cannon.
In a move to close the supposed gap, Rosecrans dispatched an order to . . . — Map (db m65628) HM|
|Georgia (Catoosa County), Ringgold — Trail of Tears Memorial|
|In 1838 federal soldiers forced the Cherokee to march from Georgia to the Indian Territory. That area would later be known as Oklahoma.
Thousands died on the march, which began in the midst of a drought and continued into a harsh winter. This march would later be known as the Trail of Tears.
Many Cherokee and their families from our community were forced to leave their homes and join the march. They would have traveled along the old federal road which passed by this church.
This . . . — Map (db m76042) HM|
|Georgia (Chatham County), Pooler — Base Air Depot No. 2 Station 582 USAAF — Warton, England|
BAD 2 Warton, England, was established under the 8th Air Force Service Command, September 5, 1942. Its mission: the modification and repair of military aircraft. War planes coming from the United States would be adapted to meet special requirements of the European Theater of Operations. Battle damaged aircraft would have to be repaired, perhaps whole sections rebuilt. A ferrying squadron was needed to get planes to Warton (from fields where they originally landed) and . . . — Map (db m17126) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — Shotgun Houses — 472 - 488 Auburn Avenue|
These duplexes are typical of the houses where Atlanta's blue-collar laborers lived in the early 1900s. The Empire Textile Co. built them for its white mill workers, but they moved out after the 1906 Atlanta race riot, and blacks began renting them. The houses generally are one room wide and up to four rooms deep. They are called "shotgun" houses because the interior and exterior doorways are aligned, so a shot supposedly could be fired through them from front to back. Another theory is . . . — Map (db m64774) HM|
|Georgia (Fulton County), Atlanta — 060-175 — The Winecoff Fire|
|This is the site of the worst hotel fire in U.S. history. In the predawn hours of December 7, 1946, the Winecoff Hotel fire killed 119 people. The 15-story building still stands adjacent to this marker. At the time, this building had neither fire escapes, fire doors, nor sprinklers. For two and a half hours, Atlanta fire fighters and others from nearby towns battled valiantly in the cold to save the majority of the 280 guests. But their ladders reached only to the eighth floor and their nets . . . — Map (db m59667) HM|
|Georgia (McIntosh County), Crescent — 095-12 — Baisden's Bluff Academy|
|Located a short distance East of here, near the River, Baisden`s Bluff Academy was the main educational institution in McIntosh County in the early years of the 19th century. A Boarding School, operating the year round, its roll held the names of prominent families of this county and from the adjoining areas. "Mr. Linder" was Principal. General Francis Hopkins, Wm. A. Dunham, James Dunwoody, James Smith and Jacob Wood were Commissioners. In 1823 torrential rains washed the dormitory into the . . . — Map (db m60298) HM|
|Georgia (Paulding County), New Hope — The Worst Aircraft Disaster in Georgia History — April 4, 1977|
On April 4, 1977 a DC-9 Southern Airways Flight 242 flying from Huntsville, AL to Atlanta encountered a dangerous thunderstorm over Rome, GA. The hail and rain the aircraft endured was so severe that both engines flamed out and the aircraft quickly lost altitude. The flight crew desperately attempted to land the DC-9 on GA 92 Spur, now known as GA 381 which runs through the community of New Hope.
The result was the worst aircraft disaster in GA history claiming 72 lives . . . — Map (db m62977) HM|
|Georgia (Stephens County), Toccoa — In Loving Remembrance|
|In loving remembrance
of those who lost
their lives in the Flood
November 6, 1977
William L. Ehrensberger
Peggy Ann Ehrensberger
David Fledder Johann
Mary Jo Ginther
Cary E. Hanna
Ruth Moore . . . — Map (db m63462) HM|
|Georgia (Stephens County), Toccoa — Kelly Barnes Dam Break Monument|
|Toccoa Falls College presents
this memorial marker to
the Toccoa-Stephens County
Community, and to our friends
everywhere, in order to
our eternal gratitude.
We most gratefully acknowledge
the generosity of the people
of Toccoa and Stephens County,
and countless others, who gave
personal, material, and financial
aid at the time of the tragic
flood of November 6, 1977,
which took 39 lives and
devastated the college campus.
Your sacrifices and support . . . — Map (db m63332) HM|
|Georgia (Stephens County), Toccoa — Kelly Dam Disaster|
On the morning of Nov. 6, 1977, the dam holding back the lake above the falls broke. The forty acres of water surged down over the falls, through the park, down the valley through the campus, leaving in its wake 39 dead and 60 injured. All of the dead and injured were connected in some way with Toccoa Falls College. When the tragedy occurred, thousands of people from all over the world rose to the aid of the college and surrounding community. Over three million dollars in public and private . . . — Map (db m63465) HM|
|Georgia (Stephens County), Toccoa — The Tents — Life After the Fire|
| Following the Haddock Inn fire, the battle for the school's survival began. The immediate need was housing. God provided the perfect answer by bringing to Dr. Forrest's mind the idea of using tents. He contacted a tent company in Atlanta, Georgia, and purchased enough tents for students, faculty, and classrooms. With the kitchen and dining room set up in Miss Staley's home, the school was ready to continue.
Dr. Forrest explained, "The tents were far more durable and comfortable than most . . . — Map (db m64344) HM|
|Hawaii (Honolulu County), Honolulu — This Sacred Site — World War II Valor in the Pacific National Monument|
|This memorial honors the fallen crew of USS Arizona and all those who died in the attack on December 7, 1941. The remains of over 900 Arizona crewman rest beneath you within the sunken battleship. Just ahead is an open area where you can look down onto the ship. The Shrine Room beyond displays the names of the 1,177 Arizona crewmen lost in the attack. Another list honors Arizona survivors who have rejoined their shipmates in the waters below.
Photo caption: A National . . . — Map (db m73230) HM WM|
|Idaho (Bonner County), Hope — Hope & East Hope — Meet Traders and Merchants in Their Railroad and Timber Communities|
Tugboat for Hope Lumber
Original Thornton School
Spring Creek ca 1909
1894 Flood Changed Landscape
Destroyed buildings along the tracks
Floodwaters at level of present highway
Hope Lumber Company, East Hope
Fueled the economy of a new community
Map Showing Historic Locations
Harry and Ella Dreisbach
Fires . . . — Map (db m73480) HM|
|Idaho (Lemhi County), North Fork — In memory of Jeff Allen and Shane Heath|
|In memory of
Jeff Allen and Shane Heath,
Indianola Helitack Crew members,
lost in the Cramer Fire near here on July 22, 2003.
This will be a lasting place of remembrance and gratitude for their lives and service, a place for wildland firefighters to reflect in their memory, and a reminder to all who are involved with firefighting -from those on the line to those up the line - to find a way to bring everyone back safely from every fire.
Jeff "Phro" Allen
January 17, . . . — Map (db m59865) HM|
|Idaho (Shoshone County), Avery — A Changing Landscape|
“Change is inevitable. Change is constant.” Benjamin Disraeli
At the beginning of the 20th century, majestic western white pine, western larch and western red cedar, some over 400 years old, along with Douglas-fir and grand fir carpeted the Bitterroots.
As the railroad built their mainline over these mountains in 1907-09 the Forest Service began harvesting white pine seeds from the lush hills to re-seed other forests. But the devastating 1910 fire killed most . . . — Map (db m45563) HM|
|Idaho (Shoshone County), Avery — Man’s Mark on the Land|
|If you stood on this spot with a railroad surveyor in 1906, you would have gazed across a lush patchwork forest of large trees. The super hot 1910 fires burned the valley below and for years afterward the area presented travelers with a bleak view of black snags and thick brush. Today it takes a trained eye to recognize all of the changes caused by man in this valley.
The newly formed Forest Service had a lot to learn about planting trees in 1910. The foresters experimented on this ravaged . . . — Map (db m45567) HM|
|Idaho (Shoshone County), Avery — The 1910 Fires|
One of the largest forest fires in the history of the United States
...swept over Idaho and Montana on August 20 and 21, 1910, including the area where you now stand. The fire burned three million acres, destroyed eight billion board feet of timber and killed 86 people. Hurricane-force winds shot fireballs for miles across the mountains. The sky turned dark as far east as Colorado. An army of 10,000 firefighters made dramatic, but ultimately futile efforts to stop the blaze. . . . — Map (db m45615) HM|
|Idaho (Shoshone County), Avery — The Big Blowup|
|The forest fires of August, 1910, burned millions of acres in Idaho, Montana and Washington. On the night of August 20, engineer Johnnie Mackedon, returning from a trip to St. Paul Pass, found the Falcon siding on fire. Over one hundred terrified men, women and children were gathered on the platform of the smoldering depot. He coupled to a flatcar on the adjoining siding and everyone scrambled on board for a harrowing ride to the safety of Tunnel 27.
“Why, all that you could see . . . — Map (db m45617) HM|
|Idaho (Shoshone County), Avery — World Class Workers|
Who’s Been Working On The Railroad?
If you stood here sometime between 1907 and 1911, you would have heard a multitude of languages.
The hundreds of people employed during the construction of the Milwaukee Road included; Italians, Bulgarians, Japanese, Serbs, Croatians, Montenegrins, Austrians, Swedes, Irish, English, French Canadians, Hungarians, Belgians, Norwegians, Russian, Greeks, Germans, Polish, Spanish, Scotch, Dutch, Finnish, and still others.
The railroad’s . . . — Map (db m45637) HM|
|Idaho (Shoshone County), Avery — You want to be a Ranger?|
Do you have the right stuff to be a FOREST RANGER?!
Forest Service District Rangers today are resource professionals. She/he could be a forester, fish or wildlife biologist, hydrologist, botanist, landscape architect or other professional.
Teams of specialists with expertise in public participation, forestry, recreation, scenic quality, engineering, fire, hydrology, wildlife and botany participate in land management planning for large areas on the National Forest.
The . . . — Map (db m45643) HM|
|Illinois (Alexander County), Cairo — The Meeting of the Rivers|
|Long known to the Indian who used the two great rivers as his highways for trade and war, this junction of the Ohio and the Mississippi was first sighted by Europeans when Marquette and Joliet glided past in 1673. Ten years later La Salle explored the area and established France's claim to the Mississippi Valley. From that time on this confluence was recognized as a strategic site for settlement and fortification. George Rogers Clark, following the capture of Kaskaskia in 1778, stationed armed . . . — Map (db m19390) HM|
|Illinois (Christian County), Moweaqua — Moweaqua Coal Mine Disaster|
|This is the site of the Moweaqua Coal Mine Disaster which on December 24, 1932, took the lives of all 54 miners entering the mine that day. The Moweaqua Coal Mine was Shelby County's largest. An unprecedented drop in barometric pressure allowed methane gas to escape into the mine. The explosion occurred at 8 a.m. when the gas was ignited by open flame carbide lights. Efforts of rescue teams searching for survivors were in vain, although all bodies were recovered. This marked the end of the era of open flame carbide lights. — Map (db m55619) HM|
|Illinois (Christian County), Moweaqua — Moweaqua Coal Mine Disaster Memorial|
Coal was discovered in Moweaqua in 1886
With mining operations beginning in 1891
The method of mining was room and pillar
At a depth of 620 feet
Haulage was by mule and motor
On Christmas Eve 1932 an explosion in the mine
Claimed the lives of these men
Mining operations ceased in 1935
And since that time all evidence of coal operations
In Moweaqua has disappeared
James Birley • Michael Krajnack
Thomas Birley • Joseph Krall
Kenneth Board • Carl McDonald
George . . . — Map (db m55635) HM|
|Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — Catholic Cemetery — Hidden Truths — The Chicago City Cemetery and Lincoln Park, Then and Now|
|Chicago's early Catholic Cemetery ran from North Av. south to Schiller St., and Dearborn St. to the lake, now Astor St. Established in 1845, it existed until the 1871 Chicago Fire charred the grounds. Like the City Cemetery to the north, not all remains were exhumed as had been assumed. Skeletal fragments have been unearthed during construction projects in nearly every decade since the 1890's.
This two-part project by Pamela Bannos continues on the Internet: http://hiddentruths.northwestern.edu — Map (db m10665) HM|
|Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — Couch Tomb — Hidden Truths — The Chicago City Cemetery and Lincoln Park, Then and Now|
|This stone vault is the oldest structure standing within the Chicago Fire zone. It was erected in 1858 for Ira Couch, a wealthy hotelier who died at age 50 while wintering in Cuba. Though some theories exist, there is no official answer as to why this tomb was left behind on the site of the Chicago City Cemetery. Varying accounts of the number entombed suggest 7 to 13 or merely Ira alone.
This two-part project by Pamela Bannos continues on the Internet: http:/hiddentruths.northwestern.edu — Map (db m10664) HM|
|Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — 3 — Old Town and The Great Fire (#3)|
|On October 7, 1871, the Great Fire of Chicago started on the south side of the city and continued north. As the fire approached Old Town, the bells of St. Michael’s Church began to toll. The walls of church survived, but the interior was destroyed. The church bells melted in the intense heat. Much of the Old Town neighborhood was destroyed. As Chicago began to rebuild, wealthy families from the south and west sides of the city began moving into the area. With the neighborhood’s population and . . . — Map (db m47605) HM|
|Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — Regeneration|
|The Great Chicago Fire in October eighteen hundred and seventy-one devastated the city. From its ashes the people of Chicago caused a new and greater city to rise imbued with that indomitable spirit and energy by which they have ever been guided.
Erected by trustees of the B.F. Ferguson Monument Fund, 1928. — Map (db m79609) HM|
|Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — The 1992 River West Gas Fires|
|At 4 P.M. on January 17, 1992, a series of explosions and fires ravaged the River West community. The fires were in an area bounded by the Chicago River, the Kennedy Expressway, and Kinzie and Division Streets. The devastation was caused by over-pressurization in the natural gas pipelines leading to homes and businesses.
Two-hundred and twenty-five fire fighters responded to the emergency. The disaster resulted in 4 fatalities and 18 buildings destroyed or damaged.
Initially the . . . — Map (db m61460) HM|
|Illinois (Sangamon County), Springfield — Lincoln-Era Fire Companies|
| Lincoln's Springfield was vulnerable to fire, Crowded wood-frame buildings, open flames in stoves, fireplaces, candles, and primitive gas lighting ineffective alarms, muddy streets, and inadequate water supplies---all combined to make fires potentially devastating. Springfield had its share of fires. In 1855 a portion of the block west of the statehouse burned down, prompting citizens to become more serious about fire threats. Still, it took two more years to collect subscriptions . . . — Map (db m57167) HM|
|Illinois (White County), Grayville — "Empire Corner"|
The first trading post was established here in 1830 by James Gray and Robert Walden. A post office was opened here in 1836. Later, a two-story frame building was erected here by the Empire Milling Company and this corner was known as 'Empire Corner.' That building burned in 1884, was re-built in 1886 and burned again in 1888. Another building was erected in 1895, but was destroyed by fire in 2003.
— Map (db m61809) HM|
|Indiana (Allen County), Fort Wayne — First Americans|
|The confluence area of the Three Rivers was known to the native people since as early as the end of the last Ice Age, more than 10,000 years ago. As the glaciers melted and receded, they paused here creating a high point in the topography of the land. Early native people followed the edge of the glacier taking advantage of the food sources it provided, such as vegetation and wild game. The St. Mary's and St. Joseph Rivers join a few hundred yards east of this point and form the Maumee River . . . — Map (db m17064) HM|
|Indiana (Allen County), Fort Wayne — Flood Retention Walls|
|The concrete retention walls at the north end of the plaza will help downtown Fort Wayne withstand future flooding when the rivers rise. They were constructed where sandbaggers and volunteers worked during the flood of 1982 to build a dike to protect the National Guard Armory and other buildings on this site. The flood protection walls, spanning both sides of the Headwaters Park Plaza, are dedicated to the people who helped Fort Wayne become known as the city that saved itself. — Map (db m17061) HM|
|Indiana (Allen County), Fort Wayne — The Floods|
|Most often the rivers here brought prosperity. They are the reason humanbeings settled here; established a land portage to connect with the Wabash River system; and attracted the canal followed by rails, highways, industry, and homes. They brought good, industrious people such as Johnny “Appleseed” Chapman, who was seen in 1830 arriving near this point on the Maumee River with his small boat laden with apple seeds. One significant flood recorded in the Three Rivers area occurred in . . . — Map (db m17030) HM|
|Indiana (Pike County), Petersburg — June 2, 1990 Tornado Memorial|
|In memory of those who were
killed by the June 2, 1990 Tornado which
Devastated Petersburg, In.
Frank P. Mallott • Albin Harper • Emma Willis •
Marjorie P. Mallott •
Giles Evans •
Billie Minniear •
Sarah E. Hilgeman — Map (db m23563) HM|
|Indiana (Pulaski County), Winamac — Indiana's Fire Towers|
|This fire tower was part of a network of towers that once protected Indiana.
In 1930, Indiana began constructing a series of fire towers with the goal of having no visibility gap. By 1952, Indiana had 33 towers, most of them in the southern half of the state.
Tools of the Trade
Fire towers were generally equipped with:
Communication equipment (radio and telephone)
Psychrometer to measure humidity and determine fire danger
Alidade to determine the exact . . . — Map (db m71666) HM|
|Indiana (Wells County), Bluffton — Pickett's Run|
Neither Pickett's Run nor any other stream appears in the Original Plat Map of Bluffton of 1839. The only known map of early Bluffton depicting a stream, reproduced here, was printed in the 1876 ILLUSTRATED HISTORICAL ATLAS OF THE STATE OF INDIANA.
This natural waterway proved too convenient as an open sewer. By the late 1800s, newspaper accounts referred to Pickett's Run as "The old eyesore." A City Council tour of the stream in the summer of 1891 "found it in a . . . — Map (db m63936) HM|
|Kansas (Allen County), Humboldt — Colonel Irvine|
| Confederate Col. Irvine invited himself to supper at the Wakefield's, sparing the house from burning. — Map (db m57480) HM|
|Kansas (Allen County), Humboldt — Kate Burnett|
| Kate Burnett saved $25,000 in land warrants by hiding them in tall grass behind Land Office. — Map (db m57463) HM|
|Kansas (Allen County), Humboldt — Sad Saga of Vegetarian Creek — .7M South Turn Left|
| In Mid-March, 1856, the first emigrants of the Vegetarian Settlement Company set out for the Neosho River Valley in Kansas Territory. Henry S. Clubb promoted Kans. Terr. as a permanent home for believers in Vegetarianism, hydropahty, and abstinence from alcohol, tobacco, tea, coffee, and fowl and dairy products. Farms of 102 acres, radiating from an Octagon-shaped center were planned. Clubb's promises of streets, grist-mill, sawmill, and temporary housing for the 60 families (some 150 . . . — Map (db m57499) HM|
|Kansas (Allen County), Humboldt — Sophia Fussman|
| During burning of Humboldt, Sophia Fussman saved valuables on a feather bed thrown down her well. — Map (db m57470) HM|
|Kansas (Atchison County), Atchison — Frank R. Firth|
Born in Leicester, Mass.
May 25, 1847
Died June 19, 1872
from the effect of a
Faithful unto death
Wisdom is the gray hair unto men
and an unspotted life is old age.
Erected by the men in the
service of the Atchison and
Nebraska Rail Road Co. in
memory of their beloved and
respected superintendent. — Map (db m77749) HM|
|Kansas (Barber County), Medicine Lodge — The First National Bank|
The Merchants' and Drovers' Bank was the first bank in Medicine Lodge, established in October, 1880, by H.M. Hickman from Wellington. It closed on January 10, 1882. Two days later the Medicine Valley Bank was formed with Wylie Payne, President; George Geppert, Cashier; and Frank Chapin, Assistant Cashier. In August, 1882, construction was begun on the southwest corner of Main Street and Kansas Avenue. A fine bank building was completed in March 1883. Tragedy struck on April 30, 1884, when . . . — Map (db m65130) HM|
|Kansas (Bourbon County), Marmaton — Site of Marmaton Massacre — Oct. 22, 1864|
[Title is text] — Map (db m79765) HM
|Kansas (Butler County), Andover — 1991 Tornado Victims|
Dedicated to the memory of
those who lost their lives
in the tornado of April 26, 1991,
and those who volunteered
their services in the
Gladys Maness • Robert Maness
Robert Meninger • Besse Temple
Kathy Sargent • Denise Peterson
Joseph Marks • Joseph Bobbitt
Ron Kanavy, Sr. • Ronnie Kanavy, Jr.
Elsie Kemper • Ruby Crawford • Betty Sanders — Map (db m79200) HM|
|Kansas (Douglas County), Lawrence — Kansas River Flood Levels|
July 13 '51
June 5 '35 — Map (db m77155) HM|
|Kansas (Douglas County), Lawrence — South Park — Established 1854|
Historic South Park was the first park of Lawrence and part of the original townsite that was founded in 1854. The park was originally used as a public area to grow crops and graze livestock for the City's residents. It is the most historic park in Lawrence not only because it's the oldest park but also was the staging site for Quantrill's infamous August 21, 1863, pre-dawn raid on Lawrence that left over 150 male inhabitants dead and a large portion of Lawrence in ashes.
South Park is . . . — Map (db m76603) HM|
|Kansas (Franklin County), Ottawa — 1951 Marais des Cygnes Flood High-Water Line|
Marais des Cygnes River Flood
Crest of July 11-12, 1951
Surveyed by the U.S. Geologic Survey — Map (db m67732) HM|
|Kansas (Franklin County), Ottawa — Marais de Cygnes River — Historic Ottawa Tour Stop 2|
"The Marsh of the Swans" is the meaning of the river's French name. In 1828, Baptist missionary Isaac McCoy brought a group of Indians on a journey to examine this area as a possible relocation site for eastern and Great Lakes tribes. McCoy called the river "Miry Desein" or "Miry Swan".
The poet Longfellow has his heroine, Evangeline, travel to this area in search of her sweetheart, Gabriel La Jeunesse. She camped near the Marsh of the Swans river in the area that would later become . . . — Map (db m67727) HM|
|Kansas (Harper County), Anthony — September 11, 2001 Memorial|
The day dawned clear and bright. But September 11, 2001 quickly became one of the darkest days in America's history. As the people of Anthony, Kansas went about their morning business, 19 men steeped in hatred and anger, carried out the evil preached to them by a terrorist who corrupted his own religion to justify his evil acts.
At 7:46 AM Anthony time, American Airlines Flight 11, hijacked by 5 terrorists, flew into the North Tower of the World Trade Center in New York City, killing all . . . — Map (db m62856) HM WM|
|Kansas (Johnson County), Stilwell — Quantrill's Raids and the Military Road — 1862|
In Spring, 1862, William Clarke Quantrill, confederate guerrilla, led raids in and about Aubry, taking an uncounted toll of lives and property. Union troops seeking the raiders camped often along the military road (now Metcalf) from Fort Leavenworth to Fort Scott. Union retaliation provoked Bill Anderson of Aubry to join Quantrill. Later he became known as Blood Bill. — Map (db m64012) HM|
|Kansas (Kingman County), Kingman — Land of the Buffalo|
Before this became a great agricultural country its most important product was the buffalo. Millions of these animals grazed over the prairies, moving in great herds that stretched from horizon to horizon. They were life itself to the Plains Indians who ate their meat, dressed in their hides and used their bones and sinews for countless purposes. Indians killed only what they needed, but wasteful white hunters slaughtered indiscriminately, sometimes using only the tongues of the dead . . . — Map (db m62657) HM|
|Kansas (Kingman County), Norwich — City of Norwich Fire Bell|
This bell was purchased from the C and S Bell Co. by the City of Norwich in 1912 for use as a firebell. It was used until it was replaced by an electric siren in 1939. This monument was erected in 1985 by the Norwich Jaycees in honor of Norwichs [sic] progress in the first 100 years. — Map (db m62699) HM|
|Kansas (Kiowa County), Greensburg — 2007 Greensburg EF5 Tornado|
Memorialized are the names of
Our Friends, Neighbors, and Relatives
That perished in the Tornado of
May 4, 2007, Greensburg, Kansas
In Loving Memory
Claude Hopkins, 79 • Larry Hoskins, 51
Evelyn Kelly, 75 • David Lyon, 48
Colleen Panzer, 77 • Ron Rediger, 57
Harold Schmidt, 77 • Sarah Tackett, 72
Beverly Volz, 52 • Richard Fry, 62
On the night of May 4, 2007, 95 percent of our homes and . . . — Map (db m65232) HM|
|Kansas (Kiowa County), Greensburg — Ball from Big Well of Greensburg|
[Destroyed in the]
2007 — Map (db m65256) HM|
|Kansas (Kiowa County), Greensburg — S. D. Robinett Building — 1915|
has been placed on the
of Historic Places
by the United States
Department of the Interior
Respectfully restored by
Gary and Erica Goodman 2009
Dedicated to the Pioneers of
yesterday, today, and tomorrow — Map (db m65262) HM|
|Kansas (Linn County), Centerville — [Potawatomi] Trail of Death — Indiana to Kansas|
Sept. 4 - Nov. 5, 1838
61 Day March
(Map showing path) — Map (db m70608) HM|
|Kansas (Linn County), Centerville — [Potawatomi] Trail of Death|
The removal of the Potawatomi Indians from northern Indiana to Kansas took place Sept. - Nov. 1838. Nearly 900 Indians were rounded up by soldiers and marched at gun point for 61 days. So many died on the way and were buried by the roadside that it is called the Trail of Death.
The First Week
Thursday 30th Aug. - Monday 3rd Sept. Twin Lakes, Plymouth Indiana. Gen. John Tipton captured Menominee's village, closed Father Petit's chapel, send squads of soldiers in all directions to . . . — Map (db m70609) HM|
|Kansas (Linn County), Centerville — Father Petit and the Potawatomi 'Trail of Death' — (Indiana to Kansas, September 4 - November 4, 1838)|
Rev. Benjamin Marie Petit, of the City of Rennes, France, arrived as the Catholic missionary to the Potawatomi Indians in northern Indiana in November 1837. By June 1838, he had learned much of their difficult language and their culture, and had instructed and baptized many. "'We were orphans,' they said to me, 'and as if in darkness, but you appeared among us like a great light, and we live'," Father Petit wrote to his mother in France. The Indians begged their "Father Black Robe" . . . — Map (db m70652) HM|
|Kansas (Linn County), Centerville — Father Petit and the Trail of Death|
Father Benjamin Marie Petit, a missionary to the Potawatomi in northern Indiana, accompanied them on the forced removal in 1838. He ministered to their needs, both spiritual and physical. He baptized the dying children, "whose first step was from the land of exile to the bliss of heaven." Petit's letters to Bishop Brute of Vincennes were published by the Indiana Historical Society in 1941. His letters vividly describe the hardships of the trek as they "marched in line and surrounded by . . . — Map (db m70635) HM|
|Kansas (Linn County), Centerville — Potawatomi "Trail of Death" march & death of Fr. Petit|
[Map] Designates 1838 'Trail of Death' route from Indiana to present day Osawatomie, Kans.
In September 1838 over 850 Potawatomi Indian people were rounded up and marched at gunpoint from their Indiana homeland. Many walked the 600-mile distance, which took two months. More than 40 died, mostly children, of typhoid fever and the stress of the forced removal. Their young priest, Rev. Benjamin M. Petit, also became ill on the trail and died shortly thereafter near this location in St. . . . — Map (db m70654) HM|
|Kansas (Linn County), Centerville — Potawatomi Burial Ground — Memorial|
This place is in memory of more than 600 Catholic Potawatomi Indians buried in this field and down by the river far from their ancestral home of the Great Lakes Area.
Their names are incribed [sic] on the crosses
May they rest in peace — Map (db m70655) HM|
|Kansas (Marshall County), Frankfort — Memory of Battleship Maine — 2-15-1898|
In remembrance of the
officers and men who
lost their lives in the
destruction of the
USS Maine at
Havana Cuba harbor,
MDCCCXCVIII — Map (db m79146) HM|
|Kansas (McPherson County), Lindsborg — 9/11 Memorial|
To The Heroes of 9/11
May we students in life
have such courage
to be leaders for peace
Class of 1893 — Map (db m57000) WM|
|Kansas (Miami County), Osawatomie — 50 — John Brown Country|
Osawatomie - the name derives from a combination of Osage and Pottawatomie - was settled in 1854 by Free-State families from the Ohio Valley and New England. John Brown, soon to become famous for his militant abolitionism, joined five of his sons at their homes near the new town in October 1855. By the spring of 1856, local defiance of Proslavery laws and officials was so notorious that 170 Missourians "punished" the area by looting Osawatomie. Two months later Free-State men destroyed a . . . — Map (db m69325) HM|
|Kansas (Miami County), Osawatomie — The Potawatomi Trail of Death — Indiana to Kansas — September 3, 1838 to November 4, 1838|
[Map Showing Trail of Death] — Map (db m69323) HM|
|Kansas (Montgomery County), Coffeyville — Charles Brown — In Memory Of|
Who gave his life
at this spot
October 5, 1892 — Map (db m60826) HM|
|Kansas (Montgomery County), Coffeyville — Charles T. Connelly — In Memory Of|
Who gave his life
at this spot
October 5, 1892 — Map (db m60830) HM|
|Kansas (Montgomery County), Coffeyville — Dalton Gang and Defenders Graves|
On October 5, 1892, the five-member Dalton Gang rode into Coffeyville planning to rob the two banks. George Cubine and Charles Brown, two of Coffeyville's citizens killed while defending their town against the notorious gang, are buried here in Elmwood Cemetery.
Other defenders killed were City Marshal Charles Connelly, buried in Independence, KS, and Lucius Baldwin, buried in Burlington, KS. Three other citizens were wounded.
The family of Dick Broadwell, the remaining gang member, . . . — Map (db m60835) HM|
|Kansas (Montgomery County), Coffeyville — George B. Cubine — In Memory Of|
Who gave his life
at this spot
October 5, 1892 — Map (db m60823) HM|
|Kansas (Montgomery County), Coffeyville — Lucius M. Baldwin — In Memory Of|
Who gave his life
at this spot
October 5, 1892 — Map (db m60812) HM|
|Kansas (Nemaha County), Corning — Asa Clark — In Honor Of|
Born: February 15, 1873
Died: Janaury 9, 1934
Asa gave his life and service
to the City of Corning
while fulfilling his duties
as night marshall — Map (db m63831) HM|
|Kansas (Pratt County), Pratt — Heroic Efforts of B-26 Aircrew|
Lt. Jack G. Shriver, Lt. Robert W. Cunard & Sgt. Clyde M. Stephenson's heroic efforts on Sept. 23, 1943 kept their crippled B-26 bomber flying over downtown Pratt until crashing one mile south of the city.
[They were killed in the crash] — Map (db m65083) HM WM|
|Kansas (Pratt County), Pratt — Training Fatalities - Pratt Army Air Field|
| Sgt. Allen, Warren G.
South Gate, Calif.
Lt. Barnett, Irwin L.
PFC Baumgartner, Carl D.
Major Boren, William T.
Sgt. Calhoun, Benjamin P.
Lt. Cannon Jr., Earl F.
Capt. Christman, Luther D.
Sgt. Cushman, Robert A.
Sgt. De Stefano, Domenic
F/O Di Benedetto, Henry
Sgt. Duncanson Jr., Wm. M.
Sgt. Ford, . . . — Map (db m65071) WM|
|Kansas (Reno County), Hutchinson — Hutchinson Gas Crisis|
Gas escaping under pressure from storage facilities 4 miles away traveled underground and emerged through the open well inside the building. The gas ignited, producing a large explosion and initiating the Hutchinson Gas Crisis on January 17, 2001. City employees, public safety officials, and non-profit organizations worked tirelessly to determine the nature and source of the gas, and to ensure the safety of Hutchinson residents. The land for this parking lot was donated to the city by . . . — Map (db m63473) HM|
|Kansas (Scott County), Scott State Park — Pueblo Floor Plan|
Stone from the surrounding hills was used to build El Cuartelejo pueblo. The walls were plastered inside and out with adobe and the roof was made of willow poles or brush covered with mud. When first excavated in [sic] abundant charcoal, burned tools and adobe and quantities of charred corn were found, all evidences that the pueblo had been destroyed by fire. There were no indications of doors or windows, and small paired post holes in the corners of most rooms suggested entrance by ladders . . . — Map (db m65953) HM|
|Kansas (Sedgwick County), Wichita — Engine House #6 — Kansas Firefighters Museum — Wichita Fire Department|
This property has been placed on the
National Register of Historic Places
by the United States
Department of the Interior
Kansas Preservation Alliance Award for Excellence
The benches on the Memorial Plaza
have been placed here in memory of
loved ones lost. These benches are
the result of many very generous
donations. Our sincere appreciation and
thanks to all who made this possible.
When you rest on the benches, take a
moment and think kindly of all the . . . — Map (db m56429) HM|
|Kansas (Sedgwick County), Wichita — Memorial '70 — To Those Who Died in Colorado October 2, 1970|
Marvin G. Brown, Jr. • Donald E. Christian • John W. Duren • Martin E. Harrison • Ronald G. Johnson • Randall B. Kiesau • Malory W. Kimmel • Carl R. Krueger • Stephan A. Moore • Thomas B. Owen, Jr. • Eugene Robinson • Thomas T. Shedden • Richard N. Stines • John R. Taylor • Jack R. Vetter
Carl G. Fahrbach • Floyd W. Farmer • Albert C. and Marion Katzenmeyer • Thomas A. Reeves • Ben and Helen Wilson • Ramon P. and Maxine Coleman • John W. and Etta Mae Grooms • Raymond E. and Yvonne King • . . . — Map (db m56277) HM|
|Kansas (Sedgwick County), Wichita — Remember Pearl Harbor — A Day That Will Live In Infamy — Dec. 7, 1941|
Casualties United States
Army - 218 Killed • 364 Wounded
Navy - 2008 Killed • 710 Wounded
Marine - 109 Killed • 69 Wounded
Civilian - 68 Killed • 36 Wounded
Lest We Forget — Map (db m56621) HM|
|Kansas (Seward County), Liberal — War Memorial|
Dedicated to the memory of
those who offered their lives
in the service of our country
In memory of
Maidenhead, Berkshire, England;
New York City Fire Department;
New York City Police Department;
and all those who gave
their lives on behalf of our
Country on September 11, 2001 — Map (db m65687) WM|
|Kansas (Shawnee County), Topeka — Topeka Tornado Victims — In Memory|
This memorial is given as a
tribute for those who worked
unselfishly in restoring our
city to normalcy, and as
a memorial to those who
lost their lives in the
tornado of June 8, 1966.
Lisle Grauer • Mary Beasley
Craig Beymer • Calvin Wolfe
John Wells • John Scheibe
W. R. Crouch • Gereford Lee
John D. Culver • Sterling Taylor
Edward J. Lyons • Hattie Anderson
Mrs. Calvin Wolfe • George A. Sklenicka
Oliver J. Milton • Mrs. Bertha Whitney
Donated to the citizens . . . — Map (db m47334) HM|
|Kentucky (Clark County), Winchester — 1399 — East Broadway Cemetery|
|In 1833 town trustees bought about an acre for $45 for public burial ground. First cholera epidemic in U.S. reached here. Seventy-five victims were buried here in 1833. John Ward, town trustee and a leader in forming cemetery, and his wife were both plague victims. The cemetery used until 1854. Maintained as a memorial of that terrible tragedy. — Map (db m67786) HM|
|Kentucky (Fulton County), Hickman — 688 — New Madrid Earthquake|
|The greatest earthquake recorded in North America centered in this area Dec. 16, 1811 to Feb. 7, 1812. 1,874 quakes felt at Louisville, 250 miles away. Tremors also felt at Boston, Detroit, New Orleans. Reelfoot Lake, covering 25,000 acres, formed when some streams changed courses. New Madrid, Mo., destroyed; very few persons died, as population of area was sparse. — Map (db m18409) HM|
|Kentucky (Hickman County), Columbus — 1398 — Columbus|
|First entire town in Kentucky to be moved from one site to another. In 1927, after the most severe flood in its history, Columbus was moved from the banks of the river to this bluff, 200 feet above, by the American Red Cross at a cost of $100,000. The relocation was under the supervision of Marion Rust, national Red Cross representative. — Map (db m18466) HM|
|Kentucky (Hickman County), Columbus — Earthquakes Along the Mississippi|
|Why are there quakes along the Mississippi River? Geologists have many theories but do not know why quakes occur around New Madrid, Missouri. They do agree that the geology of the Mississippi valley is unique because of Reelfoot rift and the Mississippi embayment area. Reelfoot rift developed 1.2 billion years ago. A rift is a system of fractures or faults in the earth's crust that develop when crustal plates pull apart. When Reelfoot rift formed, semi-molten material from the earth's . . . — Map (db m37170) HM|
|Kentucky (Hickman County), Columbus — The History of Columbus, Kentucky|
|Settlement and Early Growth The French explorers Marquette and Joliet first explored the area around Columbus in 1673. The French gave Columbus the name "Iron Banks," believing the color of the banks indicated the presence of iron. In 1783, the Virginia legislature authorized a town to be laid out on Iron Banks. This eventually became Columbus. The survey began in 1784, but only the corners were set because of Chickasaw attacks. Thirty years passed before another effort was made to settle . . . — Map (db m37014) HM|