|Austria, Tyrol, Innsbruck — First Office Building of the Tyrolean Provincial Assembly — Erstes Amtshaus der Tiroler Landstände (Landhaus)|
|Erstes Amtshaus der Tiroler Landstände (Landhaus)
Wohl aus zwei Bürgerhäusern zusammen=gewachsen, trug diese Haus um 1536 die Bezeichnung “Zum guldenen Engl” und wurde 1613 von der “Tiroler Landschaft” als ihr erstes Amtsgebäude angekauft. Dies wurde notwendig, weil Innsbruck-seit 1420 Residenz der Tiroler Landesfürsten-nach und nach auch zum exklusiven Tagungsort des Tiroler Landtages bzw. der Tiroler Landschaft und ihrer Stände geworden ist. Schon bald als zu eng . . . — Map (db m68328) HM|
|Austria, Tyrol, Innsbruck — The Old City Hall / City Tower — Altes Rathaus / Stadtturm|
Innsbrucks altes Rathaus das älteste in Tirol, wurde 1358 mit Landesfürstlicher Hilfe errichtet. Der Laubengang und der Stadtturm wurden 1442/50 vorgebaut. Das ursprünglich einstockige Gebäude 1658 aufgestockt und mit dem barocken Bürgersaal versehen. Von 1897 -1980 stand das haus in Anderer Verwendung und ist seit 1990 wieder Amtssitz des Bürgermeisters.
Dieser weitum einzigartige Turm wurde 1442/50 erbaut. Seine höhe beträgt 51 m. Der ursprünglich . . . — Map (db m68116) HM|
|Brazil, Amazonas, Manaus — Praça São Sebastião — Monumento Comemorativo a Abertura dos Portos — Monument to the Opening of the [Amazon] Ports|
| [Panel 1] Mandado Construir em MDCCCXCIX pelo Exmo Senr. Jose Cardoso Ramalho Júnior, Governador do Estado do Amazonas.
[In English: Construction Ordered, 1899, by His Excellency, Mr. Jose Cardoso Ramalho Junior, Governor of the State of Amazonas.]
15 de Novembro de MDCCCLXXXIX.
[November 15, 1889.]
Monumento Levanta do em substitução ao que foi erguido n’esta praça em XII de Setembro de . . . — Map (db m26407) HM|
|Brazil, Rio de Janeiro — Praça 15 de Novembro — Prefeitura da Cidade do Rio De Janeiro|
| Esta região guarda a memória do período colonial Brasileiro. No Século XVII, o núcleo original da cidade desloca-se do morro do Castelo para a várzea e consolida-se ao longo da Rua Direita, hoje Primeiro de Março. Junto à rua, na praia de N.S. do Ó, aterrado surge o Terreiro do Carmo, depois chamado Largo do Paço, por se ter instalado ali o Paço dos Governadores (1743), atual Paço Imperial.
O velho largo recebe o nome de Praça 15 de Novembro por ocasião da Proclamação da República em 1889, . . . — Map (db m26313) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Boomerang Court and Chancery Lane|
|You are standing in Bastion Square, a public space dating back to the Victorian Era.|
There are many alleys and walkways to explore, connecting Bastion Square to nearby streets to see the heart of Victoria’s Old Town Historical Site.
Chancery Lane warps around The Maritime Museum, linking Bastion Square to Boomerang Court. The Court was the home to the Boomerang Saloon, opened in 1858 by Ben and Adelaide Griffin, an English couple. Like many pioneers, the Griffins arrived in Victoria a the . . . — Map (db m49226) HM
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Customs House|
The 1957 portion of the building was renovated to provide retail space and a heritage facade compatible with the original 1914 section.
This project was completed by Public Works Canada as a contribution to the historical preservation of the City of Victoria, and was commemorated by the Honourable Elmer MacKay, Minister of Public Works, on June 1, 1992.
Public Works Canada
Government of Canada|
Bureau des Douanes
La partie de l’édifice datant de 1957 fut rénovée . . . — Map (db m48544) HM
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Former Victoria Law Courts — L’Ancien Palais de Justice de Victoria|
| [English] Opened in 1889, the Victoria Law Courts was the first major public building constructed by the provincial government after union with Canada. Previously, court sessions had been held in one of the colonial administration buildings located on the site of the present provincial legislature. Removal of the courts to Bastion Square marked an important stage in the evolution of British Columbia’s court system and the start of a programme [sic] to erect permanent court houses in judicial . . . — Map (db m49098) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — In Commemoration of the Treaty Between Great Britain and the Russian Empire — 28 February 1825, Demarcating Canada's Western Boundary|
In Commemoration of the Treaty Between Great Britain and the Russian Empire, 28 February 1825, Demarcating Canada’s Western Boundary
В память Договора между Великобританией и Россия . . . — Map (db m48937) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Old Victoria Custom House — Ancien Édifice de la Douane de Victoria|
| (English) Completed in 1875 in the Second Empire style, Victoria’s original Custom House is a distinguished example of the buildings erected by the new Federal Government after Confederation. It regulated the trade of the West Coast’s busiest port and symbolized the pre-eminence of Victoria as a commercial centre in the late 19th century. Goldseekers from around the world converged on its steps to obtain miners’ licences before embarking for the Klondike in 1898. This elegant structure recalls . . . — Map (db m49077) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Victoria City Hall — Hôtel de Ville de Victoria|
|Victoria’s first city hall was designed in 1875. The building was begun three years later and completed in 1890. The designer was John Teague, an Englishman long resident in Victoria, who was responsible for planning many of the city’s early buildings. His city hall was conceived in the Second Empire style popular at the time, with a typical mansard roof tower and rich ornamentation. The building remains one of the best surviving examples of this style in western Canada.
[French] . . . — Map (db m49126) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — Victoria Fire Department Headquarters — 1899 -1959|
|You are near the site of the Victoria Fire Department Headquarters, which served downtown Victoria from 1899 to 1959.
Victoria’s central business district grew dramatically during the 1880s and 1890s. More “modern’ buildings in size and value signalled [sic] a need for increased fire protection downtown. A decision was made to incorporate a new Fire Department Headquarters into the existing Public Market building – roughly the location of today’s Centennial . . . — Map (db m49128) HM|
|British Columbia (Greater Vancouver Regional District), New Westminster — The New Westminster Court House and Land Registry Office|
The New Westminster Court House
The Court House was designed by architect George William Grant and opened on June 3, 1891 by the first colonial judge and Chief Justice for British Columbia, Sir Matthew Baillie Begbie.
On September 10, 1898, the entire New Westminster downtown business area was destroyed by fire, including the Court House. The Court House was rebuilt within existing walls by G.W. Grant and reopened on June 19, 1899.
The Land Registry Office
The Land Registry . . . — Map (db m33185) HM|
|British Columbia (Greater Vancouver Regional District), Semiahmoo — Peace Arch — The Signing of the Columbia River Treaty|
This unfortified boundary line between the
Dominion of Canada
United States of America
should quicken the remembrance of the more than century old friendship between these countries
A lesson of peace to all nations.
In commemoration of
One hundred and fifty years of peace, 1814 - 1864, between Canada and the United States of America.
The signing of the Columbia River Treaty on September 16th, 1964, at this international . . . — Map (db m27450) HM|
|Ontario (Middlesex County), London — London Armouries|
|Completed in 1905, the London Armouries is attributed to Department of Public Works architect, T. E. Fuller. It was the home of the militia units of the Royal Canadian Regiment, the First Hussars, the Royal Canadian Artillery, Royal Canadian Army Service Corps, the Royal Canadian Engineers and the Army Medical Corps.
Erected by the Historic Sites Committee of the London Public Library Board, April, 1997 — Map (db m18929) HM|
|Ontario (Middlesex County), London — Middlesex Court House — Le Palais de Justice de Middlesex|
Erected in 1830, this building was modelled after Malahide Castle, near Dublin, Ireland, the ancestral home of Colonel Thomas Talbot, founder of the Talbot Settlement. The site was a part of the town plot set aside by Lieutenant-Governor John Graves Simcoe after his visit to The Forks in February, 1793. Here he proposed to locate the provincial capital.
En 1830, le colonel Talbot, fondateur de la colonie Talbot, fit erige cet . . . — Map (db m18962) HM|
|Ontario (Middlesex County), London — The British Garrison in London|
|In one of several concentrations of British troops in Upper Canada various infantry and artillery units were stationed on a military reserve here during the mid-19th century. The garrison, which contributed significantly to the economic growth of London, was first established in 1839 to guard against border raids following the Rebellion of 1837. Although its troops were withdrawn in 1853 to serve in the Crimean War and military duties were assumed by pensioners, it was re-occupied by British . . . — Map (db m18918) HM|
|Ontario (Middlesex County), London — The East London Town Hall|
|Completed in 1884, restored in 1969 as Aeolian Town Hall, served as a centre for political and social life in London East until 1947. — Map (db m18963) HM|
|Ontario (Middlesex County), London — The Founding of London|
|In 1793, here on the River Thames, Lieutenant-Governor John Graves Simcoe selected a site for the capital of Upper Canada. York, however, became the seat of government and the townsite of London lay undeveloped until its selection in 1826 as the judicial and administrative centre of the London District. A court-house and gaol (1829) and homes for the government officials were built, stores and hotels were opened, and by 1834 the community contained over 1100 inhabitants. A British garrison . . . — Map (db m18971) HM|
|Ontario (Middlesex County), London — The Petition of John Ewart|
| The Petition of John Ewart of the Town of York:
That while your Petitioner was performing his contract for building the Court House and Gaol in the town of London, in the London District, he was located by Colonel Talbot upon two lots in the said Town of London liable to settlement Duties and upon which he has made the following...improvements -- that is to say, a framed House, 50 feet long by 30 feet wide, and 23 feet high, with a wing, 30 by 16 feet, and a back Kitchen . . . — Map (db m18974) HM|
|Ontario (the Regional Municipality of Niagara), Niagara on the Lake — Niagara on the Lake Historical District|
|(Left side is in English)
In 1778, Loyalist refugees began crossing from Fort Niagara to settle the west bank of the Niagara River. A town was laid out in a grid pattern of four-acre blocks and grew quickly, gaining prominence as the first capital of Upper Canada from 1792 to 1796. Following Niagara’s destruction during the war of 1812, the citizens rebuilt, mainly in the British Classical architectural tradition, creating a group of structures closely related in design, materials, and . . . — Map (db m24585) HM|
|Yukon Territory, Dawson City — N.W.M.P. Commanding Officer’s Quarters — Le logement du commandant de la P.C.N.O.|
| [English] This handsome residence was built in 1902 for the commanding officer of the North West Mounted Police. It lent dignity, authority and a degree of permanence to the presence of law and order in Dawson City. While the police presence was permanent, the foundation of the building proved less so and was plagued with constant maintenance and repair problems. It was abandoned in 1945, in very poor shape. Restored by the Canadian Parks Service, the building now houses staff.|
[French] . . . — Map (db m49341) HM
|Estonia, Harjumaa MaakondTallinn — Toompea Loss — [Toompea Castle]|
| Aerial photo of the castle and surroundings
Text in Estonian : …
Text in English:
Toompea Castle is the seat of the Parliament of the Republic of Estonia – the Riigikogu
The castle complex is made up of several parts: the west wall and the Tall Hermann tower belongs to the medieval fortress of the Order of the Brothers of the Sword, the Government Administration building represents the Czarist era and is classic in style, and the building of the . . . — Map (db m57027) HM|
|Estonia, Harjumaa MaakondTallinn — Residence of Konstantin Päts — [Finnish Embassy]|
| Text in Finnish: ...
Text in Estonian:... Text in English:
first President of Estonia,
lived in this building from 1922 to 1940.
The Finnish Embassy
was located here from 1923 to 1940,
and has been again since 1996. — Map (db m57227) HM|
|Estonia, Harjumaa MaakondTallinn — Tallinn Town Hall - Anno 1404|
The only surviving Gothic Town Hall in Northern Europe, the Town Hall in Tallinn was first mentioned in 1322. When the present day building was completed in 1402-1404, Tallinn was a flourishing Hanseatic city. The upper floor with its impressive halls, the arcade and the tower were built in that period.
The Town Hall is traditionally the centre of European municipal government from 1248 Tallinn was governed by Lubeck law, according to which the magistracy elected from the Hansa . . . — Map (db m57129) HM|
|France, Languedoc-Roussillon (Hérault), Beziers — La Chapelle des Recollets|
|Ici, dans la chapelle des Recollets s’est tenue, du 16 mars au 6 avril 1789, l’Assemblée des Trois Ordres de la Senechaussée de Béziers pour les Etats Generaux du Rouvaume.
L’Abbe Gouttes et l’abbe Martin ont été deputes du Clerge : M. Gleises de Lablanque et le Marquis de Gayon (suppléant : le Baron de Jesse) on été députés de la Noblésse.
Rey, de Béziers, Rocque, de St. Pons, Mérigeaux, de Pezenas, et Sales de Costebelle, de Lodeve ont été députés du Tiers Estat.
Un hommage a été rendu, à . . . — Map (db m60251) HM|
|Ireland, Connacht (County Mayo), Murrisk — National Famine Memorial — Cuimhneachán Náisiúnta ar an nGorta Mór|
To honour the memory of all who died, suffered and
emigrated due to the Great Famine of 1845 - 1850,
and the victims of all famines.
The Memorial was unveiled by the President of Ireland,
Mary Robinson, on 20 July 1997.
I gcuimhna ar an daoine go léir a fuair bás,
a d'fhulaing agus a chuaigh
ar an imirce de dheasca Ghorta Mór 1845 - 1850
agus ar gach uile dhuine i ngátar de dheasca gorta.
Uachtarán na nÉireann, Máire Mhic Róibín,
a nocht an Cuimhneachán ar an 20 . . . — Map (db m27583) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — Castle Hall — Halla an Chaisleáin|
| Castle Hall
The causeway entrance to the 13th century Dublin Castle lies under this building on the North/South axis. The Bedford Tower was built on the medieval entrance towers. This building, comprising of the former Genealogical Office and Guard House, together with their extension, on the site of the former La Touche Bank, has been renamed Castle Hall.
Halla an Chaisleáin
Tá an cabhsa go dti Calsleán 13ú haois Bhaile Atha Cliath suite faoin bhfoirgneamh seo ar an als . . . — Map (db m22435) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — Leinster House — Malton Trail|
| Since 1924, Leinster House has been the seat of the two houses of the Oireachtas, Dail and Seanad (Irish Parliament and Senate), who meet here a total of 90 days a year.
Designed in 1745 by the architect Richard Cassels, who also designed the Lying-In Hospital off Parnell Square, it was built as a town residence for the duke of Leinster on what was then known as Molesworth Fields, adding a character to the area that has remained to this day.
This view is one of many superb quality . . . — Map (db m22459) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — National Memorial to members of the Defence Forces — who died in the service of the State — "An Dún Cuimhneacháin"|
| The National Memorial to members of the Defence Forces is a place of contemplation and remembrance, providing a focal point where families, relatives and members of the public can reflect on the contribution and sacrifice made by members of the Defence Forces who died in the service of the State.
The pyramid shape of the memorial, which was designed by Brian King, captures historic references to burial and is a standing testament to the dead. It also reflects the shape of a military tent. . . . — Map (db m26868) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — St. Stephen's Green Bandstand|
| Erected in 1887 from funds subscribed by the Dublin Metropolitan Police to commemorate Queen Victoria's Jubilee. [From the Monuments of St. Stephen's Green marker found in the park.] — Map (db m22483) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — The "Three Fates"|
| This fountain, erected in 1956, is situated near the Leeson Street entrance to the park. It consists of a group of three bronze figures – Nornenbrunnen, representing the Three Fates, who weave and measure the thread of man's destiny.
The monument was the gift of the German Federal Republic to mark its appreciation of the help and generosity of the Irish people during the time of distress and hardship after the Second World War. The work was designed by the Bavarian Sculptor, Professor . . . — Map (db m25306) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Laois), Borris In Ossory — Millenium Fountain|
| The threshold and other rough stone
was salvaged from one of the last
thatched houses in the village.
It was demolished in the year 2000. — Map (db m24721) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Meath), Duleek — Duleek 1916 - 1981 Hunger Strike Monument — and Memorial Garden|
| The Memorial Garden
is named after
Vol. Joe Coombes, Platin Road.
Vol. Noel Gallagher, Mountfield, Co. Tyrone
Vol. Harry McCormick, Prioryland, Duleek
and is in memory of
all those who dedicated their lives
to and for the cause of Irish freedom.
This monument was unveiled by
Paddy Sheils (Snr), Garballagh
and Jimmy Lynch, Kentstown
The Memorial Garden
Was Officially Opened
On 15th June 2008
By Ex-Portlaoise Hungerstriker . . . — Map (db m27220) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Meath), Duleek — Duleek Courthouse — Duleek Heritage Trail|
| Duleek Courthouse was built in 1838 by John Trotter as a sessions house for the Meath Grand Jury. It was designed by Francis Johnston. The main architectural features are the Doric door-case and fanlight, a simplified eaves pediment and corner quoins. The building was used as a courthouse until 1960 when it was converted to a library and environmental offices. Its best-known magistrate was Judge Stephen Trotter who was responsible for the erection of Duleek House. — Map (db m24803) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Meath), Kells — Kells Courthouse|
| The courthouse, built in 1801, was designed by the prominent Irish architect Francis Johnston. Johnston also designed the General Post Office and Nelson's Pillar in Dublin, and Townley Hall, County Louth.
A Vantage Point to the Past
Several important landmarks of Kells recent history can be seen from this vantage point in front of the courthouse. Located to the west of the courthouse we find Headfort Place - a wide, tree-lined avenue of Georgian houses - the Headfort estate agent's . . . — Map (db m27340) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Meath), Loyd — Kells Union Workhouse Paupers' Graveyard|
to the memory of the poor
during the operation
English Poor Law System.
1838 - 1921.
R. I. P.
In the immediate aftermath
of the Great ‘Famine’, this mass
burial place was opened in 1851 for
the poor people of the Kells District.
Their memory challenges us to end the
scandal of hunger in today's world of plenty.
AFrI Great “Famine” Project
Erected 9th October 1993
“Famine is a lie”
Brian . . . — Map (db m27326) HM|
|Italy, Lazio (Rome Province), Castel Gandolfo — World’s First Mailbox|
Città di Castel Gandolfo
Il 23 Novembre 1820
Il Consiglio Comunale di Castel Gandolfo
Paolo Mallozzi - Luogotenente
Marco Troiani - Capo Pretore
Candido Marazzi - Pretore
Filippo Albenzi - Pretore
E dai consiglieri
Stefano Evangelisti · Giuseppe Togni · Giuseppe Bernini
Giuseppe di Lucia · Francesco Marroni · Vincenzo Stazi
Giuseppe Manufelli · Giuseppe Gasperini · Domenico Lolli
Luca Campodonico · Francesco Alberti · Angelo Antonio . . . — Map (db m32347) HM|
|Mexico, Chihuahua, Puerto Palomas de Villa — City Hall|
Siendo Gobernador Del Estado El
C.C.P. Patricio Martinez Garcia
Y Presidente Municipal El
C. Fernando Castañeda Barraza
Fue Construido E Inaugurado
H. Ayuntamiento 2001-2004
Puerto Palomas De Villa
MPIO. De Ascension Chih.
Being governor of the state
C. C. P. Patrician Martinez Garcia
and municipal president
C. Fernando Casteñeda Barraza
built and . . . — Map (db m37822) HM|
|Mexico, Chihuahua, Puerto Palomas de Villa — Presidency Building|
| . . . — Map (db m37823) HM|
|Philippines, Manila, Binondo — Sinilangang Pook ni Heneral Antonio Luna — (1866-1899) — Birthplace of General Antonio Luna|
Sa bahay na ito, 843 Urbiztondo, Isinilang si Antonio Luna noong ika-29 ng Oktubre, 1866. Anak nina Joaquin Luna de San Pedro at Laureana Novicio at kapatid ni Juan Luna, ang pintor. Parmasyutiko at kimiko. Bantog na manunulat ng "La Solidaridad," isang pahayagang Pilipino. Napaghinalaan ng mga Kastilang kasapi sa Katipunan, kaya ipinatapon sa Madrid noong 1897. Sa kanyang pagbabalik sa Pilipinas noong 1898, ay Hinirang siyang Katulong na Kalihim ng Digma; Hinirang na . . . — Map (db m25029) HM|
|Philippines, Manila, Intramuros — Cuartel De Santa Lucia — Santa Lucia Barracks|
|On this site, Cuartel de la Artilleria de Montana was built by Thomas Sanz, Engineer of the army during the Administration of Governor General Jose Basco y Vargas, 1781. Used as barracks by The Philippine Constabulary, 1901. Became The Philippine Officers School, February 17,1905. Here, the newly appointed constabulary officers, studied a three-month course of instruction in law and Spanish language in addition to military drill and constabulary administration transfered to Baguio City, 1908. . . . — Map (db m25227) HM|
|Philippines, Zambales (Subic Bay Metropolitan Authority), Olongapo — Inang Laya Monument — "The Hands That Freed the Nation" — Inang Laya - Mother Country|
| Let the Dozen Hands pay tribute to the Magnificent Twelve Senators of the Republic of the Philippines who on September 16, 1991, stood up and declared “NO” to the RP US Military Bases Treaty, thus finally ending more than four centuries of foreign military presence in the country.
Let the image of INANG LAYA – MOTHER COUNTRY now unbound and standing proudly be the embodiment of the generation of Filipinos who kept the flames of freedom ablaze during the bleakest moments in . . . — Map (db m68214) HM|
|U.S Virgin Islands, St Croix, Frederiksted — Oscar E. Henry Customs House|
|Eighteenth Century Danish Customs House with nineteenth century addition of the 2nd story gallery. Owner is V.I. Government. Little Altered and in good condition.
Placed by St. Croix Historic Preservation Commission
2006 — Map (db m60873) HM|
|Alabama (Autauga County), Prattville — A County Older Than the State, Autauga County|
|Created in 1818 by an act of
Alabama Territorial Legislature.
Autauga Indians lived on creek
from which the county takes its name.
Autaugas were members of the Alibamo tribe.
They sent many warriors to resist
Andrew Jackson's invasion in Creek War.
County was part of the territory ceded
by the Creeks in Treaty of Ft. Jackson, 1814.
Prattville county seat since 1868.
Earlier: Jackson's Mill, Washington, Kingston. — Map (db m27907) HM|
|Alabama (Autauga County), Prattville — Daniel Pratt Cemetery / George Cooke|
|(Front): Daniel Pratt CemeteryFinal resting place of early Alabama industrialist Daniel Pratt, 1799-1873, and wife Esther Ticknor Pratt, 1803-1875. He was from New Hampshire and she, Connecticut. Married 1827 at Fortville, Jones County, Georgia.
The former carpenter’s apprentice practiced his craft in Milledgeville, Ga. Where he gained skill in building and design. In 1832 Pratt came to Alabama to build cotton gins. Esther encouraged Pratt to remain in Alabama in order for him . . . — Map (db m27957) HM|
|Alabama (Barbour County), Clayton — Barbour County / Early Barbour County Commissioners|
| Barbour County On this site in 1833 was erected the first Barbour County Court House, a round log building 20 feet square. The first county seat was located at Louisville which had previously served as the count seat of Pike. This old Pike County Court House was temporarily used until the site was changed to Clayton. The first Circuit Court was held in Clayton on September 23, 1833. Barbour County was created by an act of the Legislature meeting in the state capitol of Tuscaloosa on . . . — Map (db m39119) HM|
|Alabama (Barbour County), Eufaula — Old Negro Cemetery / Fairview Cemetery|
| Front Interred on this gently sloping hillside are the remains of many of Eufaula’s early black citizens. Their names are known only to God because the wooden grave markers which located the burials have long since vanished. This burying ground was used until about 1870 when black interments were moved to Pine Grove Cemetery. In addition to the “Old Negro Cemetery”, there are at least five other graveyards including the Jewish, Presbyterian, Masonic Odd Fellows and Public . . . — Map (db m27987) HM|
|Alabama (Blount County), Blountsville — Blountsville|
1820-1889 seat of Blount County a county older than the State.
Named for Tennessee Governor W. G. Blount who sent Andrew Jackson to aid Alabama settlers in Creek Indian War, 1812-1814.
Indian Chief Bear Meat lived here at crossing of old Indian trading paths.
1816 - Tennesseans began trading post here and called village Bear Meat Cabin.
1820 - named changed to Blountsville and made county seat.
1889 - County seat moved to Oneonta. — Map (db m28038) HM|
|Alabama (Blount County), Blountsville — None — Blountsville Court Square Timeline|
|1813: Colonel John Coffee and 800 Tennessee Volunteers see Bear Meat Cabin Cherokee Settlement near Blountsville
1816: Town settles around square
1820: Newly named Blountsville becomes county seat
1827: Town incorporated with Trustee System
1833: First courthouse built
1853: Town incorporated with new system; immediately un-incorporated
1863: Forrest-Streight Civil War Raid
1864: Rousseau Civil War Raid
1865-71: Reconstruction unrest
1880: Croquet dominates Court Square . . . — Map (db m49176) HM|
|Alabama (Blount County), Locust Fork — Gabriel Hanby, 1786-1826 — ← Grave and Homesite 300 Yards|
|Member Constitutional Convention 1819
First Senator of Blount County
County road and court
at his house 1820. — Map (db m32484) HM|
|Alabama (Blount County), Oneonta — Blount County — A County Older Than the State|
|Created Feb. 7, 1818 by Alabama Territorial Legislature from lands ceded by the Creek Indian Nation. Named for the Tennessee Governor W. G. Blount, who sent militia under Andrew Jackson to punish the Creeks for Fort Mims massacre. Jackson fought and won the Creek War. Creek gave up half of their lands in Treaty of Ft. Jackson, 1814. Some of Jackson's men were first settlers of Blount. County seat moved here in 1889. — Map (db m24353) HM|
|Alabama (Calhoun County), Jacksonville — Intendants and Mayors of Jacksonville|
|From 1836 to 1881 the head of the City Government
carried the title of Intendant. After that
that the office has been filled by the Mayor.
The following have served in this capacity:
William Harrison Fleming,
John D. Hoke, 1850-51
J. R. Clark, 1852-58, 1862-66
Daniel Peter Forney, 1867-73
Horace Lee Stevenson, 1874-80, 1883-84,
1888-93, 1900-02, 1910-11
John M. Crook, 1881-82
W. W. Woodward, 1885-87
J. D. Hammond, 1894-95
J. R. Arnold, 1896-97
S. G. . . . — Map (db m36533) HM|
|Alabama (Calhoun County), Jacksonville — Jacksonville — First County Seat — Calhoun County, 1833-99|
|Town first called Drayton.
Renamed in 1834 to honor
President Andrew Jackson.
Seat moved to Anniston in 1899.
Calhoun Co. originally was Benton Co.,
for Col. T. H. Benton, Creek War officer,
later U. S. Senator from Missouri.
Renamed in 1858 for John C. Calhoun,
champion of South in U. S. Senate.
Benton’s views by then unpopular in South. — Map (db m36471) HM|
|Alabama (Calhoun County), Jacksonville — Thomas A. Walker — 1811-1888|
|Prominent citizen of Jacksonville who served Alabama as Brigadier General, State Militia; member Legislature and Pres. of Senate; Circuit Court Judge; and Pres. Ala. and Tenn. Railroad
He owned extensive cotton plantations and mining interests throughout the state
His home, "The Magnolias", built in 1850, is an outstanding example of Southern architecture — Map (db m29921) HM|
|Alabama (Calhoun County), Piedmont — Cross Plains - Piedmont|
|Cross Plains citizens voted for incorporation March 10, 1871. A second vote was cast for reincorporation May 15, 1882. By the acts of the Alabama Legislature of 1888, Cross Plains became Piedmont September 30, 1888. Mayors for both Cross Plains and Piedmont are Listed.
J. F. Dailey 1871-1874
J. N. Hood 1874-1882
J. A Woolf 1882-1883
John H. Hall 1883-1884
J. A Woolf 1884-1885
S. D. McClelen 1885-1887
J. W. Harris 1887-1888
J. N. Hood 1888-1890
A. D. McCollister . . . — Map (db m27992) HM|
|Alabama (Chambers County), LaFayette — Chambers County|
|Chambers County, created December 18, 1832 from Creek Indian cession. Named for Dr. Henry C. Chambers of Madison County, member of Constitutional Convention 1819, legislature of 1820, elected U.S. Senator 1825 but died enroute to Washington.
County government organized 1833 by Judge James Thompson of Jefferson County. First officers were: Nathaniel Greer, Sheriff; William House, Clk. Cir. Ct.; Joseph J. Williams, Clk. Co. Ct.; Booker Lawson, John Wood, William Fannin, John A. Hurst, . . . — Map (db m18162) HM|
|Alabama (Clarke County), Grove Hill — Clarke County Courthouse|
|Clarke County established 1812. Named for General John Clarke of Georgia. County Seat moved here 1832 from Clarksville to Grove Hill, then known as Macon. — Map (db m47655) HM|
|Alabama (Cleburne County), Heflin — Cleburne County|
|Cleburne County was created December 6, 1866, and was named for Confederate Major General Patrick R. Cleburne. He was born March 17, 1828 in Ireland. He was the South's highest ranking foreign born officer and one of one of the best of any nationality. General Cleburne was killed November 30, 1864 in the Battle of Franklin, Tennessee. — Map (db m12322) HM|
|Alabama (Colbert County), Tuscumbia — Belle Mont|
|Built between 1828 and 1832, Belle Mont is a foremost example of Jeffersonian Palladian Architecture in the deep south and one of Alabama's first great plantation houses.
It was build for Dr. Alexander W. Mitchell, a native of Virginia, and a graduate of the University of Edinburgh, Scotland, and one of the first large scale~ planters and slaveholders in this area.
In 1833 this 1,680~ acre plantation was sold by Mitchell to another Virginian Native, Isaac Winston.
Winston, also a . . . — Map (db m29561) HM|
|Alabama (Colbert County), Tuscumbia — Colbert County Courthouse Square District|
22 structures, first Northwest Alabama historic district placed on National Register of Historic Places (1973): Courthouse, erected 1881, shows Italianate and Greek Revival influences. Fifth Street, Commercial Row, seven adjoining brick structures (late 1840's) housed commission merchants and later "The North Alabamian" Railroad Depot (1888,
Tuscumbia Railroad chartered 1830); four churches (Baptist, Episcopal, Methodist, Presbyterian); and eight homes of prominent early citizens ~ some of . . . — Map (db m28584) HM|
|Alabama (Colbert County), Tuscumbia — Howell Thomas Heflin — 1921~2005|
|Howell Thomas Heflin retired from a lifetime of distinguished public service in 1997, having served Alabama in the U.S. Senate for three consecutive terms. There he was known as a national leader on judicial, agricultural, defense, and space issues. As Chief Justice of the Alabama Supreme Court from 1971 to 1977, he modernized the state's court system. Heflin was a Marine Corps officer during World War II, attaining the rank of major and awarded the Silver Star and Purple Heart. Howell T. . . . — Map (db m28586) HM|
|Alabama (Colbert County), Tuscumbia — William Winston Home|
|Construction on the home which became the center building of Deshler High School was begun in 1824 by Clark T. Barton. William Winston purchased and completed the Georgian-style dwelling in 1833. The largest remaining antebellum house in Tuscumbia, it features a winding staircase, eight fireplaces, and ten original closets along with an inscription on the cellar wall written during the Union occupation saying: "It is a damn shame to destroy this mansion." Original log kitchen placed at N.W. . . . — Map (db m28565) HM|
|Alabama (Dale County), Ozark — Historic Bell|
|Erected on this site by the Dale County Commission, this bell is made of brass and hung in the clock tower of the courthouse from its completion in 1902 until it was torn down in 1968. The bell was made in 1902 by McShane Bell Foundry Company of Baltimore Maryland. Dedicated this 9th of December 1974 B.F. Williams Chairman Lewis M. Hayes Member Alex J. White Member R.H. Johnson Member L. Frank Snell Member — Map (db m36565) HM|
|Alabama (Dallas County), Cahaba — Cahaba First State Capital — 1818-1826|
|This stone marks the site of Cahaba, selected November 21, 1818 as the first permanent capital of Alabama. The seat of goverment remaining here until removed to Tuscaloosa by the Legislature, January 1825.
On December 13, 1819, it was fixed as the Seat of Justice of Dallas County, and so continued until December 14, 1865.
As state capital and as county seat, Cahaba was representative of the best in the life of a Great Commonwealth.
Erected by the Alabama Centennial Commission and . . . — Map (db m22609) HM|
|Alabama (Dallas County), Cahaba — Dallas County Courthouse|
|The grassed over mound of brick before you was once Dallas County's courthouse. This courthouse was built in 1834. It was dismantled prior to 1905 by brick salvagers.
Cahawba was the county seat from 1818 to 1866. This brought a lot of people, business and money into town. When the county seat was moved to Selma in 1866, most of Cahaba's residents moved also.
After the Civil War, the abandoned courthouse became a meeting hall for freedman seeking new political power. Cahaba was known . . . — Map (db m23010) HM|
|Alabama (Dallas County), Cahaba — Site of Alabama's Statehouse — 1820 - 1825|
|This structure collapsed in 1833 and its fallen remains were reportedly heaped into a railroad embankment. Consequently, we have no picture of the Statehouse that was drawn by someone who actually saw the building. Any modern picture you see of this structure is pure conjecture.
We can only hope that archaeologists will uncover important clues to the appearance of Cahawba's Statehouse. — Map (db m75909) HM|
|Alabama (Dallas County), Cahaba — The Duke of Cahaba|
|In 1889, Samuel and Sarah Kirkpatrick moved to Selma, leaving their farm and house in the capable hands of their son Clifton (1863-1930). He turned the abandoned remains of Alabama's first capital into a showcase farm of diversified, scientific agriculture, departing from the South's one crop cotton system. In 1902, he began planting the pecan trees you see all around you.
Clifton Kirkpatrick believed in public service and worked to promote the welfare of all farmers. From 1927 until his . . . — Map (db m23005) HM|
|Alabama (Dallas County), Selma — Mabry - Jones Home|
|This Creek Revival dwelling was built c. 1850 by Dr. Albert Gallatin Mabry, a prominent physician and member of the Alabama Legislature. Dr. Mabry was a leader in organizing the Alabama State Medical Association and instrumental in passing legislation which established the State’s first hospital for the insane. This home was the residence during and after the War Between the States of Dr. Mabry’s step-daughter, Gertrude Tartt Jones, and her husband, Captain Catesby ap Roger Jones, a Confederate . . . — Map (db m38490) HM|
|Alabama (Etowah County), Gadsden — Etowah County, Alabama|
|Created by state legislature on December 1, 1868 from territory taken from Cherokee, DeKalb, Marshall, Blount, St. Clair and Calhoun Counties, having originally been formed December 7, 1866 as Baine County in honor of Confederate hero David W. Baine. Etowah is Cherokee.
Area visited by DeSoto in 1541; Andrew Jackson in 1813; Hood’s Army of the Tennessee, CSA, October 1864; center of early steamboat navigation; home of John Wisdom, the “Paul Revere of the South,” 1863; and Emma . . . — Map (db m39138) HM|
|Alabama (Greene County), Eutaw — A County Older Than The State, Greene County|
|Named for Revolutionary hero,
General Nathaniel Greene,
who drove British from Southeast.
Area explored by DeSoto, 1540.
Claimed as French Louisiana, 1699.
Ceded to England, 1763.
Ceded by Choctaw Nation, 1816.
Made a territorial county, 1819.
Eutaw, county seat, is named
for Greene’s victory at
Eutaw Springs, South Carolina. — Map (db m37962) HM|
|Alabama (Greene County), Eutaw — Welcome to Eutaw, Alabama: The Gateway To The Black Belt — County Seat of Greene County|
|In 1838, Greene County citizens voted to change the town seat from Erie to Eutaw. The City of Eutaw, Alabama was incorporated as a town by and act of the State Legislature on January 2, 1841. Greene County had been named for General Nathaniel Green. The name, Eutaw, was chosen to commemorate the Battle of Eutaw Springs fought in South Carolina in 1781, the battle in which General Greene defeated the British. Since the county had been named for him, the people chose to name the town after his . . . — Map (db m37967) HM|
|Alabama (Hale County), Greensboro — Gayle - Tunstall House|
|Built in 1828 by John Gayle,
sixth governor of Alabama.
Amelia Gayle Gorgas,
wife of Gen. Josiah Gorgas,
Chief of Ordnance, CSA,
mother of Wm. Crawford Gorgas,
US Surgeon General who freed
Canal Zone of yellow fever.
For many years was the home
of the Hobson - Tunstall family:
Wiley C. Tunstall, member of
first Alabama R. R. Commission;
his son, Alfred Moore Tunstall,
Alabama legislator for 39 years
and twice Speaker of House. — Map (db m33744) HM|
|Alabama (Hale County), Greensboro — Magnolia Grove|
|Birthplace, ancestral home of
Richard Pearson Hobson
Spanish - American War Hero
Admiral Hobson, as naval officer,
Statesman, lecturer and author,
Urged national preparedness:
Championed human welfare causes.
Alabama made this home a state shrine
to Admiral Hobson in 1943.
House built in 1838 by Col. Isaac Croom. — Map (db m33733) HM|
|Alabama (Houston County), Dothan — 1905 Houston County Courthouse Bell|
|This bell rang over the streets of Dothan from 1905 until 1960 when it was saved from demolition by Dewey Emfinger.
It was loaned to Houston County for display in 2006 by the Emfinger family in honor of Dewey and Beatrice Emfinger.
Thank you to all who mad the display of this piece of history possible.
November 2006 — Map (db m48416) HM|
|Alabama (Jackson County), Scottsboro — Gen. Andrew Jackson — Soldier, Statesman, 7th President U.S.A.|
|Jackson County was created by the State Legislature on December 13, 1819 while in session in Huntsville, Ala. The county was named in honor of Gen. Andrew Jackson who was visiting in Huntsville at the time.
This Statue was presented by the Citizens of Jackson County during the year of the Bicentennial 1776 - 1976 — Map (db m22262) HM|
|Alabama (Jackson County), Scottsboro — Jackson County Courthouse And The Scottsboro Boys|
Constructed in 1911-1912 and designed by architect Richard H. Hunt, the Jackson County Courthouse is a Neo-Classical, brick building situated on a town square in Scottsboro, the county seat of Jackson County. The front, two-story portico is supported by four stone columns of the Doric order. A cupola on the top contains a Seth Thomas clock.
This courthouse was the site of the first of the Scottsboro Boys trials. Two white women accused nine black teenagers of rape on . . . — Map (db m22264) HM|
|Alabama (Jackson County), Scottsboro — Robert Thomas Scott — 1800-1863|
|Planter, tavern operator, newspaper editor, legislator, and land developer, he sought in vain to have the Jackson County seat moved from Bellefont to the settlement that bore his name. After his death in 1863, his widow reached an agreement in 1868 with the county government whereby the site for the courthouse and jail was deeded to Jackson County on condition that Scottsboro become the county seat.
Incorporated by the state legislature on January 20, 1870, the town became an important . . . — Map (db m22260) HM|
|Alabama (Jackson County), Woodville — Decatur County — 1821~1825|
|Created by an Act of the Legislature on December 7, 1821, Decatur County was comprised of portions of Madison and Jackson Counties. "Old Woodville," two miles north along County Highway 7, was designated as the County Seat. An 1823-‘24 completed survey revealed that it did not contain the constitutionally required number of square miles. The county was abolished by an Act of the Legislature on December 28, 1825, and the territory was returned to Madison and Jackson Counties. — Map (db m33314) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — Concord Center — Time Capsule|
|To Be Opened March 1, 2022
Dedicated at the construction completion March 1, 2002
Owners - BLH Group, LLC
Brookmont Investors II, LLC
Spire Holdings, LLC
Developer - Brookmont Realty Group, LLC
General Contractor - B.L. Harbert International, LLC
Architect - Williams-Blackstock Architects, P.C.
Concord Center stands on the site of Birmingham's first County Courthouse, constructed in 1875. The growth of a bustling town demanded the construction of a . . . — Map (db m27010) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — East Lake Community|
|The Creek Indian Cession of 1814 opened this section of Alabama to settlement. At the time of statehood in 1819 many pioneer families had located here in what later became known as Jones Valley. By 1820 the area was called Ruhama Valley as a result of the religious fervor of Hosea Holcomb who preached mercy or "Ruhamah." As early as 1839 a post office named Rockville was established for the local community.
Major growth came in 1886 as a result of the promotion of the East Lake Land . . . — Map (db m26680) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — Jefferson County Courthouse Site|
|The county seat of Jefferson County was moved from Elyton to Birmingham in 1873. On this site stood the first Courthouse in the City of Birmingham. The Italianate style structure was designed by architect W. K. Ball. Completed in 1875, the two-story red brick building cost $30,500. In 1887 it was condemned as unsafe, and a new Courthouse was planned.
In 1889 a second Jefferson County Courthouse was constructed on this site. Charles Wheelock and Sons of Birmingham and . . . — Map (db m27095) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — Jefferson County Courthouses|
|Side A Territorial legislature designated home of Maj. Moses Kelly (in Jones Valley) as site of first court in this area of Alabama, 1818.
After creation of Jefferson County, 1819, court held at Carrollsville (Powderly) until county seat established at Elyton, 1820.
County seat moved to Birmingham, 1873. Two story brick Courthouse completed 1875 on NE corner 3rd Ave. and 21st St., North. Replaced 1887 by elaborate three story structure which served county until 1931. Separate . . . — Map (db m25743) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — Lane Park|
|In 1822 William Pullen, Revolutionary War veteran, acquired this land from the Federal Government for farming. In 1889 his heirs sold the land to the City of Birmingham for use as the New Southside Cemetery which operated from 1889 to 1909 with 4,767 burials. The name changed to Red Mountain Cemetery, then to Red Mountain Park and finally to Lane Park in honor of Birmingham Mayor A.O. Lane. The land was also used for the Allen Gray Fish Hatchery ( fed by Pullen Springs), a stone quarry , a . . . — Map (db m27096) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — North Birmingham|
|On October 1, 1886, the North Birmingham Land Company was formed to develop a planned industrial and residential town on 900 acres of land, formerly part of the Alfred Nathaniel Hawkins plantation north of Village Creek. The plan included sites for houses, parks, businesses and manufacturing plants, and a streetcar line to downtown Birmingham. The community was incorporated in 1902 with a population of 5,000, and annexed by legislative act, into the City of Birmingham, under protest, in 1910. . . . — Map (db m26700) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Trussville — Cahaba Project — "Slagheap Village" — A government project under President Franklin D. Roosevelt|
|A total of 243 houses and 44 duplex units were constructed from 1936 - 1938 at an overall cost of $2,661,981.26. Cahaba residents rented from the government until 1947, when the houses and duplexes were sold to individuals at prices ranging from $4,400 to $9,000 each. — Map (db m26227) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Trussville — Trussville|
|The Town of Trussville was named for the Truss Family who emigrated from North Carolina in the early 1820's.
Trussville was incorporated in 1947.
The present City Hall was constructed in 1959 on land patented in 1821 by Warren Truss. — Map (db m26225) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — Edward Asbury O'Neal, III|
|Serving 16 years as president of the American Farm Bureau Federation (1931-1947), Mr. O'Neal developed major New Deal farm policies in the Franklin D. Roosevelt Administration.
City of Florence
Walk of Honor — Map (db m28906) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — General Arthur E. Brown, Jr.|
|A 1953 graduate of West Point, Gen. Brown culminated a 36-year military career as Director of the Army Staff (1983-1987) and Vice-Chief of Staff of the U.S. Army (1987-1989).
City of Florence Walk of Honor — Map (db m29267) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — James Thomas Rapier|
|Lawyer and statesman James T. Rapier, a son of free African-American parents in Florence, holds the distinction of being just the second African-American from Alabama to be elected, in 1873, to the U.S. Congress.
City of Florence Walk of Honor — Map (db m28887) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — John McKinley Associate Justice, U.S. Supreme Court|
|John McKinley (1780~1852), native of Virginia, prominent attorney, member of Cypress Land Company, built a large three story mansion near this site in 1820's which later burned. McKinley served in Alabama Legislature, U.S. Senate (1826~31); was appointed Associate Justice, United States Supreme Court, by President Van Buren; served 1837~52. Died in Louisville, Ky. — Map (db m28926) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — Justice John A. McKinley|
|First serving as a member of the U.S. Senate (1826-1830), John McKinley was appointed to the U.S. Supreme Court by President Van Buren, becoming the first justice from Alabama. — Map (db m29265) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — Justice John McKinley Federal Building|
| Side A
Named for Alabama's first United States Supreme Court Justice, John McKinley made his home in Florence, Alabama from about 1821 to 1842. Born May 1, 1780 in Culpepper County, Virginia, he died July 19, 1852 and is buried in Louisville, Kentucky. McKinley was an early setter of Huntsville, Alabama and resided in the Howard Weeden Home. As a member of the Cypress Land Company, he was one of the seven founders of Florence in 1818. McKinley helped establish one of Florence's first . . . — Map (db m28930) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — Ronnie Gene Flippo|
|In his 14 years in the U.S. House of Representatives (1977-1991), Ronnie Flippo held such important post as the chairmanship of the Space Science Subcommittee during the development of the space shuttle, Columbia.
City of Florence Walk of Honor — Map (db m29098) HM|
|Alabama (Lawrence County), Courtland — American Legion - Post 58|
| Side A
On April 20, 1934, a temporary charter was issued for Gen. Joe Wheeler Post 58, Courtland, Alabama.
On November 12, 1946, a permanent charter was granted and the name changed to Wiley Horton Post 58 in honor of the deceased son of State Department Commander C.C. Horton.
(Continued on other side)
(Continued from the side)
The American Legion is the largest veterans' organization in the United States. It seeks to advance the aims and interest of all . . . — Map (db m29055) HM|
|Alabama (Lawrence County), Courtland — The African ~ American Experience|
African~Americans played a very significant role in the early history of Courtland. Most came as slaves from the older southern states to help clear the land, to plant crops of cotton and corn, and to serve as household domestics. President Thomas Jefferson’s great~grandson, William S. Bankhead, brought his personal servant and valet, Jupiter, from Monticello when he settled near Courtland in the 1840s. Skilled slave craftsmen also assisted in constructing many Courtland . . . — Map (db m29009) HM|
|Alabama (Lawrence County), Wheeler — Home of Gen. Joseph Wheeler — 1836~1906|
|"Fighting Joe Wheeler"
Confederate Cavalry Commander of Army of Tennessee.
Major~General, Cavalry,U.S.A. in Spanish American War
One of Alabama's representatives in the Statuary Hall in Washington. — Map (db m76952) HM|
|Alabama (Lee County), Opelika — Lee County Courthouse / Lee County Probate Judges|
Lee County Courthouse
Lee County was created from portions of Russell, Macon, Chambers and Tallapoosa by act of the Alabama Legislature, approved December 5, 1866. The County’s first election was held January 21, 1867.
An early courthouse stood across the street from the present structure. In 1896, when W. C. Robinson was Probate Judge, erection of today’s courthouse got underway: low bid. $23,000; architect’s fee, $1,000; total bond issue, including jail, . . . — Map (db m68121) HM|
|Alabama (Limestone County), Belle Mina — Belle Mina / Woodside|
| Marker Front Thomas Bibb built this grand house in 1826 and named it Belle Manor beautiful home but local pronunciation altered it to Belle Mina.
The home which stayed in the Bibb family until 1940 was the seat of Bibb's large plantation and furnished the name of the small town nearby.
The town of Belle Mina developed around a railroad station intended for the nearby town of Mooresville, the residents of which didn't want it built too close to their homes and business.
While . . . — Map (db m29283) HM|
|Alabama (Limestone County), Capshaw — Nicholas Davis|
|Born April 23, 1781 in Hanover Co. Virginia, married there to Martha Hargrave of a wealthy Quaker family. He served as U.S. Marshall and in other positions. Moved to Kentucky in 1808. Was a Captain in the WAR OF 1812 and became a political and personal ally of Henry Clay.
He settled here on several hundred acres and built his large log home "WALNUT GROVE" in 1817. Here he entertained large numbers of guests for days at a time, raced his blooded horses and lived the life of a much admired . . . — Map (db m29284) HM|
|Alabama (Limestone County), Tanner — Harris-Pryor House — (Flower Hill Farm)|
| Side A
Build abt. 1858 by Schuyler Harris on land once owned by Henry Augustine Washington, a distant relative of the first president. Through purchases, marriages, and inheritance between the Washington, Harris and Pryor families, all from Virginia, a large plantation of over 3,000 acres was established. Long after the demise of slavery, approx. 60 tenant families lived on the land.
Schuyler Harris gave this house to his daughter, Ida Maria and her husband Wm. Richard Pryor, a son . . . — Map (db m29103) HM|
|Alabama (Lowndes County), Hayneville — Town of Hayneville|
|In the 1820s, Hayneville was known as "Big Swamp." In 1830, after being chosen as the county seat of Lowndes County, it was named Hayneville for Robert Y. Hayne, governor of South Carolina and a U.S. senator. The incorporation of Hayneville as a town began with the desire and vision of 25 qualified electors of the county and residents of the Hayneville community in July 1967. Two subsequent attempts were made in incorporation, the last resulting in favor of incorporation. Only one person filed . . . — Map (db m68002) HM|
|Alabama (Madison County), Brownsboro — Trail of Tears — Drane/Hood Overland Route|
|In May 1838 soldiers, under the command of U.S. Army General Winfield Scott, began rounding up Cherokee Indians in this area who had refused to move to Indian Territory in Oklahoma. About 16,000 Cherokees were placed in stockades in Tennessee and Alabama until their removal. Roughly 3,000 were sent by boat down the Tennessee River and the rest were marched overland in the fall and winter of 1838-1839. This forced-removal under harsh conditions resulted in the deaths of about 4,000 Cherokees. . . . — Map (db m33318) HM|
|Alabama (Madison County), Huntsville — Alabama’s Constitution And Statehood|
|Before statehood, the Alabama Territory had only limited rights of self government. Between July 5 and August 2, 1819, forty-four delegates from across the Territory convened in Huntsville to draft a constitution for statehood. Lawyers, merchants, ministers, planters, farmers, and physicians gathered here to produce a legal framework for self-government to protect the sovereignty of the people. A firm belief in the separation of powers among the legislative, executive, and judicial branches led . . . — Map (db m26592) HM|
|Alabama (Madison County), Huntsville — Calhoun House|
|On this site stood the Calhoun House, used as a Federal Courthouse, where desperado Frank James was tried and found not guilty, by jury trial, on April 25, 1884, for robbery of a government payroll near Muscle Shoals, Alabama, March 11, 1881. One of his defense attorneys was Huntsville’s LeRoy Pope Walker, first secretary of war of the Confederate States of America. — Map (db m27771) HM|
|Alabama (Madison County), Huntsville — First Bank In Alabama — Planters And Merchants Bank of Huntsville — Housed on this site in brick building|
|Housed on this site in brick building
44 ft. x 54 ft
Chartered by Mississippi Territorial Legislature December 11, 1816
Commenced operations October 17, 1817, shortly thereafter made depository for Huntsville Federal Land Office funds.
Charter voided by Proclamation of Governor Pickens on February 1, 1825.
LeRoy Pope, first and only president. — Map (db m27785) HM|
|Alabama (Madison County), Huntsville — Howard Weeden Home|
|Built 1819 by H. C. Bradford, this home was later owned by John Read, John McKinley, Associate Justice of the Supreme Court (1837-1852), Bartley M. Lowe, M. C. Betts and Marie Howard Weeden (1846-1905) whose poetry and paintings preserve nineteenth century Southern Culture.
Marker by D.A.R. 1910; H.A.B.S. 1935
National Register of Historic Places, 1973 — Map (db m27841) HM|
|Alabama (Madison County), Huntsville — Huntsville|
|City was scene of these "firsts" in Alabama:
1811 first town incorporated
1812 first Masonic Lodge chartered
1816 first bank incorporated
1819 first state constitution drafted
1819 first Governor inaugurated
1819 first session of state legislature held
1824 first cotton mill erected. — Map (db m27843) HM|
|Alabama (Madison County), Huntsville — Madison County|
|Made a county in 1808 by order of Governor of Mississippi Territory.
Area ceded 1805, 1806 by Cherokees, Chickasaws.
This was the first land in Alabama ceded by these great civilized tribes. — Map (db m27848) HM|
|Alabama (Madison County), Huntsville — Site - Alabama’s First Constitutional Convention|
|Here, on July 5, 1819 forty-four delegates from twenty-two Counties in the Alabama Territory met to frame a State Constitution which was accepted and signed August 2, 1819.
Convention leadership was furnished by two Huntsvillians, John Williams Walker, president, and Clement Comer Clay, chairman of a committee appointed to draft the document. — Map (db m27902) HM|
|Alabama (Madison County), Huntsville — Site The Huntsville Inn — A three-story brick building erected before 1817|
|Here, President James Monroe was honored at a public dinner on June 2, 1819, while on a three-day visit to the Alabama Territory. Here, also, the First Alabama Legislature convened on October 25, 1819, while Huntsville was the first Capital. — Map (db m27851) HM|
|Alabama (Madison County), Huntsville — Tallulah Bankhead / I. Schiffman Building — 1902-1968 / Birthplace of Tallulah Bankhead — Alabama’s Best-Known Actress|
Tallulah Bankhead was the toast of the London theatre in the 1920's, and nationally renowned for her dramatic roles in “The Little Foxes” (1939), “The Skin of Our Teeth” (1942), the movie “Lifeboat” (1944), and as emcee of the “The Big Show“ (NBC Radio, 1950-52). She was born in Huntsville on January 31, 1902, in an apartment of the I. Schiffman Building (see other side). Her father, then Huntsville City Attorney, was later Speaker . . . — Map (db m27850) HM|
|Alabama (Madison County), Madison — "The Roundhouse"|
|This building is a replica of Madison's first city hall and is constructed on the original site of the Madison Depot, it was build in the late 1800's while Capt. John Buchanan Floyd, a Confederate veteran was mayor.
"The Roundhouse" served as the official city hall for town meetings, elections, and town activities such as weddings, hair cutting ( when the barber made his weekly visit), and frequent card games. The original "Roundhouse" was dismantled in approximately 1938. The foundation is . . . — Map (db m28787) HM|
|Alabama (Madison County), Madison — Trail of Tears — Drane Overland Route|
|Early in the 1800's gold was found from Virginia to Alabama including a rich belt on Cherokee Indian land in what is now Dahlonega, GA.
causing a huge influx of miners and a land grab by new settlers.
Pressure and greed from politicians led to the removal of Indians from their homeland by force, fraudulent treaties, and settler hostilities. The U.S. Government sanctioned forced removal by passing the Indian Removal Act of 1830 affecting Cherokee from AL, GA, FL, MS, TN and the Carolina's. . . . — Map (db m28784) HM|
|Alabama (Monroe County), Monroeville — A County Older Than The State — Monroe County|
| Created in 1815 by proclamation of Governor of Mississippi Territory from lands ceded by Creek Indians in Treaty of Ft. Jackson, 1814.
Named for President James Monroe, fifth President of U.S.., 1817-25, who purchased Florida from Spain, proclaimed the "Monroe Doctrine."
First county seat at Ft. Claiborne, 1815-32.
Gen. F. L. Claiborne built fort in 1813 as base of operations against Creek Indians.
In 1832 County seat moved to Monroeville,
earlier called Walker's Mill for . . . — Map (db m47695) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — Alabama Governor's Mansion — Built 1907|
|For almost the first century of statehood, Alabama's governors lived in private homes or hotels while in office. In 1911 the state acquired the Moses Sable home on South Perry Street for the governor's residence. Lined with fine houses, Perry was regarded as "the Fifth Avenue" of the Capital City. In 1950, Gov. Jim Folsom favored buying a Neo-Classical Revival mansion six blocks south. This residence, designed by architect Weatherly Carter in 1907 for Adjutant General Robert Fulwood Ligon, was . . . — Map (db m25413) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — Alabama Highway Patrol|
|At this location the Alabama Highway Patrol was commissioned by Governor Bibb Graves Jan. 10, 1936 — Map (db m36638) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — Montgomery’s Slave Markets / First Emancipation Observance - 1866|
| Side A The city’s slave market was at the Artesian Basin (Court Square). Slaves of all ages were auctioned, along with land and livestock, standing in line to be inspected. Public posters advertised sales and included gender, approximate age, first name (slaves did not have last names), skill, price, complexion and owner’s name. In the 1850s, able field hands brought $1,500; skilled artisans $3,000. In 1859, the city had seven auctioneers and four slave depots: one at Market Street . . . — Map (db m28187) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — Rosa Parks Montgomery Bus Boycott / Hank Williams Alabama Troubadour|
| Side A
At the bus stop on this site on December 1, 1955, Mrs. Rosa Parks refused to give up her seat to boarding whites. This brought about her arrest, conviction, and fine. The Boycott began December 5, the day of Parks’ trial, as a protest by African - Americans for unequal treatment they received on the bus line. Refusing to ride the buses, they maintained the Boycott until the U. S. Supreme Court ordered integration of public transportation one year later. Dr. Martin Luther . . . — Map (db m28176) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — The Frank M. Johnson, Jr. Federal Building and US Courthouse|
Named in honor of Judge Frank M. Johnson, Jr. (1918-1999), who served here as U.S. District Judge from 1955-1979, as U.S. Circuit Judge of the United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit July 12, 1979 - October 1, 1981, and as U.S. Circuit Judge of the United States Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit October 1, 1981 - July 23, 1999. Nationally renowned as a fearless, uncompromising jurist who rendered numerous landmark decisions upholding equality under the law, . . . — Map (db m71266) HM|
|Alabama (Morgan County), Decatur — A County Older Than The State, Morgan County|
|Alabama Territorial Legislature created this county in 1818 from lands ceded by Cherokee Indians in 1816. County first named Cotaco, for large creek in county. Named Morgan County in 1821 for Maj. Gen. Daniel Morgan, Revolutionary hero, winner over British at Battle of Cowpens. County was often invaded by both armies in War between the States. Until 1891 county seat at Somerville. Then county seat moved to Decatur. Named for Stephen Decatur, naval hero against Tripoli pirates and in War of 1812. — Map (db m27759) HM|
|Alabama (Morgan County), Somerville — First Permanent Court House, Morgan County|
|Built circa 1837 with special taxes levied for that purpose by Alabama Legislature, 1836.
Replaced first court house, built circa 1825.
Somerville was incorporated, 1819, county seat 1819-1891. Cotaco County created February 8, 1818, renamed Morgan County, June 14, 1821. — Map (db m27758) HM|
|Alabama (Pickens County), Carrollton — Pickens County Courthouse — Erected 1877-78|
|Pickens County, named for General Andrew Pickens of South Carolina, was established December 19, 1820. First County Site was Pickensville. On March 5, 1830, the government awarded 80 acres of land at Carrollton for the County Site. The first courthouse erected at Carrollton was burned on April 5, 1865, by troops of Union General John T. Croxton. A freedman, Henry Wells, was accused of burning the second on November 16, 1876. He was arrested in January, 1878, and held in the garret of this . . . — Map (db m22178) HM|
|Alabama (Randolph County), Wedowee — Site of the Home of William Hugh Smith — Legislator, Governor|
|An opponent of secession, he fled north in 1862. Returning after the Civil War, he was elected first governor under the Constitution of 1868 and served one two-year term. He was one of three Republican governors. — Map (db m19015) HM|
|Alabama (Russell County), Crawford — Crockettsville — Crawford, Alabama|
|The community of Crockettsville was settled at about the time Russell County was formed in 1832. Among the first settlers were Jerry Segar and Green Sewell. It was named in honor of David "Davy" Crockett who served as a scout in Andrew Jackson's Tennessee Militia at the Battle of Horseshoe Bend in 1814. The name of the city was changed to Crawford in 1843 by Act of the Alabama Legislature. This was done to honor the family of William Harris Crawford (1772-1834), a distinguished Georgia teacher, . . . — Map (db m33541) HM|
|Alabama (Russell County), Fort Mitchell — James Cantey|
|Near here was the home of Confederate Brigadier General James Cantey who arrived in 1849 to operate a plantation owned by his father. Prior to coming to Russell County he had practiced law at his birthplace, Camden, South Carolina, and had represented his district in the State Legislature there for two terms. Cantey fought n the Mexican War and received near mortal wounds. He was left among the dead but was rescued by his body servant whose plans were to bear him home for burial. The slave's . . . — Map (db m26103) HM|
|Alabama (Russell County), Fort Mitchell — John Crowell|
Near here is the site where John Crowell lived, died, and is interred. Colonel Crowell was born in Halifax County, North Carolina, on September 18, 1780; moved to Alabama in 1815, having been appointed as Agent of the United States to the Muscogee Indians. In 1817, he was elected as Alabama's first and only Territorial Delegate to the 15th Congress, where he served from January 29, 1818, until March 3, 1819. Upon Alabama's admission as a State, he was elected its first . . . — Map (db m26116) HM|
|Alabama (Russell County), Seale — Old Russell County Courthouse|
|During the Federal occupation of the former Confederate States of America, the Alabama Legislature created Lee County primarily from the northern half of Russell County in 1866 and ordered the selection of the county seat "more centrally located." Government in Russell County was practically non-existent at the time; few records were kept and taxes levied only for favored political purposes. An election was called; Seale won. Simeon O'Neal and Cicero McBride selected this commanding site. John . . . — Map (db m53160) HM|
|Alabama (Saint Clair County), Ashville — A County Older Than The State, St. Clair County — Created in 1818 in first session of Alabama Territorial Legislature|
|from lands ceded by Creek Indian Nation in Treaty of Ft. Jackson, 1814.
Named for Gen. Arthur St. Clair, hero of Revolution, governor of Northwest Territory.
First settlers from Tennessee, Georgia - veterans of Creek Indian War, 1813-14.
County seat since 1822 here at Ashville, named for John Ash, prominent settler.
Growing population south of Backbone Mt. led to Pell City branch county seat, 1902. — Map (db m28143) HM|
|Alabama (Saint Clair County), Ashville — The Dean / Inzer House — Home of Lt. Col. / Judge John Washington Inzer|
|Greek revival antebellum home built by Moses Dean in 1852, acquired by John W. Inzer in 1866. Home occupied by Inzer family from 1866 to 1987. In July 1987 home and its contents, including extensive law library, deeded by family heirs to St. Clair Camp 308, Sons of Confederate Veterans, to become museum in honor of Lt. Col. & Judge John W. Inzer. Museum is maintained for educational purposes and public awareness. Museum incorporated December 1988 as a non-profit corporation.
John . . . — Map (db m28092) HM|
|Alabama (Saint Clair County), Margaret — None — Town of Margaret|
|Margaret traces its roots to the Alabama Fuel & Iron Company, which organized in the early 1900s and developed Margaret coal mines under the leadership of its president Henry F. DeBardeleben. Named after DeBardeleben’;s wife Margaret, the town was incorporated in 1959. Margaret’s history includes a school system led by Superintendent C. C. Garrison. Principals of the system included Mr. S. J. Dillard and Mrs. Eddie Lee Turnbough Franks. Margaret’s first mayor was F. B. Carroll followed L. B. . . . — Map (db m50759) HM|
|Alabama (Shelby County), Columbiana — Shelby County Courthouse — 1854-1908|
|Original seat of government of Shelby County established 1818 at Shelbyville (Pelham).
Moved to Columbiana 1826. First courthouse a small wooden building located on this site. Replaced 1854 by two-story brick structure which forms central portion of this building. Later major alterations undertaken. Front and rear extensions added. Renovated structure designed in classical Jefferson style.
Continued to serve as seat of county government until 1908 when new courthouse completed two blocks north. — Map (db m24203) HM|
|Alabama (Shelby County), Pelham — Shelbyville, A. T.|
|Near this site stood Shelbyville, A. T., first county seat of Shelby County; named for Isaac Shelby, governor of Tennessee. Shelby County was established February 7, 1818 by an act of the Alabama Territorial legislature. The first orphans’ court was held April 4, 1818. Justices were: George Phillips, Patrick Hays, Bennet Ware, Needham Lee and James Walker. — Map (db m28441) HM|
|Alabama (Talladega County), Talladega — Auburn University And Birmingham-Southern College Began In Talladega, 1854|
|By action of the Alabama Conference of The Methodist Episcopal Church, South in session at Talladega, December 13-18, 1854, Auburn University and Birmingham - Southern College were born. The delegation resolved to “have a college within the bounds of our Conference.” While the intent was to start a single college by and for the Methodist Church, intense rivalry between eastern and western sections of the state over the location of the school resulted in two institutions: the East . . . — Map (db m28202) HM|
|Alabama (Tallapoosa County), Dadeville — Johnson J. Hooper — 1815 - 1861|
|Author, Editor, Lawyer
Secretary of Congress, C.S.A.
As a writer he created
Captain Simon Suggs
of the Tallapoosa Volunteers,
fictional character whose
humorous, rascally escapades
of pioneer days in Alabama
became world famous. — Map (db m28745) HM|
|Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — “The Indian Fires Are Going Out”|
|The Trail of Tears led thousands of Creek Indians through Tuscaloosa, capital of Alabama in 1836. Chief Eufaula addressed the legislature with these words:
"I come here, brothers, to see the great house of Alabama and the men who make laws and say farewell in brotherly kindness before I go to the far west, where my people are now going. In time gone by I have thought that the white men wanted to bring burden and ache of heart among my people in driving them from their homes and yoking them . . . — Map (db m28995) HM|
|Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — Alabama Central Female College|
|After the seat of government was moved to Montgomery in 1847, the Tuscaloosa Capitol and its furnishings were deeded to the University of Alabama to be used for educational purposes.
In 1857, the University Board of Trustees leased the building for ninety-nine years to the newly formed Baptist affiliated Alabama Central Female College. At this time, a large brick four story dormitory was constructed at the west of the building.
On August 22, 1923, the historic building was totally . . . — Map (db m29064) HM|
|Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — Arthur P. Bagby — Governor 1837 - 1841|
|He inherited the financial woes brought on by the collapse of the "Flush Times". Despite chaotic banking conditions during the Panic of 1837, chancery courts and a penitentiary system were both created, and Alabama settled its boundary dispute with Georgia. — Map (db m29030) HM|
|Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — Benjamin Fitzpatrick — Governor 1841 - 1845|
|He oversaw the closing of the unstable State Bank. In 1845 the legislature amended the constitution to allow the removal of the capital from Tuscaloosa. The growing wealth and population of the Black Belt brought the seat of government to Montgomery. — Map (db m29033) HM|
|Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — Clement Comer Clay — Governor 1835 - 1837|
|He served during Alabama's years of great prosperity known as the "Flush Times." With the economy booming, the legislature abolished all state taxes. — Map (db m29029) HM|
|Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — Gabriel Moore — Governor 1829 - 1831|
|During his term our state moved from frontier to urbanity. The University of Alabama was officially opened. Construction was begun on our first canals and railroads, supplementing existing steamboats and unpaved roads. The Choctaws exchanged their territory in West Alabama for lands west of the Mississippi. — Map (db m29023) HM|
|Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — Gorgas House|
|Built 1829 as University dining hall.
Remodeled as a residence 1840.
Occupied by Gorgas family 1879-1953
Preserved as a memorial to:
General Josiah Gorgas (1818-1883)
Chief of Ordnance, C. S. A. 1861-1865
President of the University 1878-1879
Mrs. Amelia Gayle Gorgas (1826-1913)
University Librarian 1883-1906
General William Crawford Gorgas (1854-1920)
Surgeon General, United States Army
Sanitary engineer whose work in eliminating Yellow . . . — Map (db m29301) HM|
|Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — Horace King|
|Born a slave in South Carolina in 1807, Horace King became a master bridge builder while working with John Godwin. With the aid of Tuscaloosa Robert Jemison, King was freed by act of the Alabama legislature in 1846. He went on to build many bridges and other structures across the South. Revered and respected for his organizational abilities, building skills and personal integrity, he formed the King Brothers Bridge Company with his family after the Civil War. After serving two terms in the . . . — Map (db m28913) HM|
|Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — Hugh McVay — Governor 1837|
|As president of the state senate, he became governor when Clay resigned to succeed Gabriel Moore in the U. S. Senate. He remained in office for only four months. — Map (db m29031) HM|
|Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — John Gayle — Governor 1831 - 1835|
|He extended state laws into Indian lands and actively encouraged illegal white settlement there. A treaty with the Creek Indians in 1832 forced them to leave the state and resulted in nine new counties in east Alabama. Their "Trail of Tears" took the Indians through Tuscaloosa. — Map (db m29028) HM|
|Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — John Murphy — Governor 1825 - 1829|
|He initiated construction of the Capitol, the University of Alabama, and the State Bank. The legislature passed laws, known as slave codes, to severely restrict the rights of slaves, while citizens began to press for the removal of Alabama's remaining Indians. — Map (db m29020) HM|
|Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — Joshua L. Martin — Governor 1845 - 1847|
|He presided over the transfer of the capital from Tuscaloosa to Montgomery in 1847. When the United States invaded Mexico Alabamians readily joined to fight, just as they would in 1861. — Map (db m29034) HM|
|Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — Morgan Hall, 1910|
|Named for John Tyler Morgan (1824-1907).
As U.S. Senator, Morgan led the 1882 campaign to obtain federal funds in reparation for the destruction of the University of Alabama campus by Union Troops in 1865.
A member of the Alabama Secession Convention and a Brigadier General in the Confederate Army, Morgan was later (1876) elected to the U.S. Senate, where he became known as "Canal Morgan" for his strong support of a canal across Central America. — Map (db m29223) HM|
|Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — Old Tavern|
|Built in 1827 three blocks east on Broad Street. Stage stop and inn frequented by many political leaders while Tuscaloosa was State Capital. Moved to Capitol Park, 1966. — Map (db m29119) HM|
|Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — Samuel B. Moore — Governor 1831|
|As President of the state senate, he briefly served as Governor when Gabriel Moore resigned to serve in the U.S. Senate. — Map (db m29026) HM|
|Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — The Architect|
|The Capitol in Tuscaloosa was designed by English-born architect, William Nichols, who served as State Architect from 1826 - 1832. Nichols also designed and built the campus of The University of Alabama.
Before coming to Alabama he had remodeled the North Carolina Capitol and Governor's Palace in Raleigh. He also designed and built several structures at The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
After leaving Alabama, Nichols served as assistant state engineer for Louisiana where . . . — Map (db m29117) HM|
|Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — The University of Alabama School of Law|
|Founded in 1872 as the first law school in Alabama. Henderson M. Somerville was the first professor and later an Alabama Supreme Court Justice. The first dean was William L. Thorington (1897-1908). The school occupied, in turn, parts of Woods, Manly, Barnard, and Morgan Halls, and all of Farrah Hall, named for Albert J. Farrah, Law Dean, 1913 to 1944. The present Law Center, designed by Edward Durrell Stone, was completed in 1978. In the year 2000, the Law School had graduated more than 8,300 . . . — Map (db m35471) HM|
|Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — The Warrior-Tombigbee Waterway|
|From 1887-1915, seventeen locks and dams were constructed on the Warrior - Tombigbee Rivers. The first 3 were built on the fall line in Tuscaloosa. This was the site of No. 3, later No. 12.
The Warrior - Tombigbee Development Association, founded in Tuscaloosa in 1950 by leaders from Birmingham, Mobile and Tuscaloosa, led the effort to modernize the waterway. Six modern locks and dams, replacing the original 17, have been built by the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers between Mobile and Port . . . — Map (db m28786) HM|
|Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — Tuscaloosa City Hall|
|Constructed in 1909 as US Post Office. First occupied April 1910, with Mrs. Maggie Miller as Postmistress. Federal courtroom, now City Council Chamber, with magnificent design and detail, on second floor, 1910-1968 Thomas A. Jones first Federal presiding judge.
Acquired by City of Tuscaloosa in 1968 and renovated as City Hall with George M. Van Tassel, Mayor, C. Snow Hinton and George K. Ryan, Commissioners. — Map (db m35376) HM|
|Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — Tuscaloosa Second State Capital — 1826-1846|
|This stone commemorates the City of Tuscaloosa as the second state capital, January 1826 to January 1846.
Erected by the Alabama Centennial Commission and the Citizens of Tuscaloosa, and dedicated December 14, 1919. On the occasion of the one hundredth anniversary of Alabama's admission to the Union of States. — Map (db m28996) HM|
|Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — University Club|
|Built 1834 by James Dearing. Purchased by Arthur P. Bagby who occupied the house 1837-41 while Governor of Alabama and since known as the Governor's Mansion. Presented to the University of Alabama 1944 by Herbert David Warner and Mildred Westervelt Warner. — Map (db m29120) HM|
|Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — University of Alabama|
|Endowed by Congress 1819
Ordained by State constitution 1819
And established by General Assembly 1820
Instruction Begun 1831
Unofficial Training School Confederate Officers 1861-65
Destroyed by Federal Army April 4, 1865, Rebuilding Begun 1867 and Reopened 1868. — Map (db m29612) HM|
|Alabama (Walker County), Jasper — First United Methodist Church Jasper/President Franklin Delano Roosevelt — Attends Funeral of William Brockman Bankhead — Speaker of the U.S. House of Representatives|
|Side 1 Methodism came to Jasper with the city's founder, Dr. Edward Gordon Musgrove, who donated land for the courthouse and for most of downtown Jasper. In 1826, he and others constructed a building of large hewn logs that was used as both a Methodist church and a school. Around 1858, a two-story frame church building was constructed. Unsubstantiated local accounts state the church was burned to the ground in March of 1865 by General James H. Wilson's cavalry corps. Another frame . . . — Map (db m29981) HM|
|Alabama (Walker County), Jasper — Walker County|
|Created December 26, 1823
Named for John W. Walker
of Madison County, Alabama
Chairman, State Constitutional Convention, July 5, 1819
Alabama's first United State Senator, 1819~1823 — Map (db m29982) HM|
|Alabama (Walker County), Jasper — William Brockman Bankhead Home — 1874-1940 — Speaker of the United States House of Representatives|
|William Brockman Bankhead served Alabama in the U.S. Congress from 1917 until 1940.
For the last four years of his life, during Franklin D. Roosevelt's presidency, he served as the 47th Speaker of the House.
He was the son of U.S. Senator John Hollis Bankhead, and the brother of U.S. Senator John Hollis Bankhead, Jr. An 1893 graduate of the University of Alabama, where he played fullback on the school's first football team. Bankhead earned his law degree from Georgetown University. He was . . . — Map (db m29980) HM|
|Alaska (Fairbanks North Star Borough), Faribanks — Harding Car|
|Used by President Warren G. Harding on his trip to Alaska in 1923 to drive the Golden Spike for the Alaska Railroad. “Denali is the Indian name fro Mt. McKinley, the “Great One.” — Map (db m47352) HM|
|Alaska (Fairbanks North Star Borough), Faribanks — Wickersham Cabin|
|This is the site of the original cabin of James J. Wickersham. He was an author, pioneer judge, congressional delegate and Alaska Visionary.
Alaska Centennial 1867-1967
State of Alaska
Governor Walter J. Hickel
Alaska Centennial Commission — Map (db m47384) HM|
|Alaska (Skagway Borough), Skagway — Inspector Charles Constantine — and Staff Sergeant Charles Brown — Northwest Mounted Police|
| [Seal of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police] In Commemoration of Inspector Charles Constantine and Staff Sergeant Charles Brown North West Mounted Police First members of this historic Canadian police force who landed at Skagway, Alaska on June 29th, 1894. These two men entered Canada by the Chilkoot Pass and traveled over 500 miles down the Yukon River to the area of Forty Mile. Their orders were to establish Canadian sovereignty and determine law enforcement requirements in view . . . — Map (db m69014) HM|
|Arizona (Apache County), Navajo — At Navajo Springs|
|December 29, 1863 Arizona's Territorial officials took the oath of office during a snowstorm. Governor John N. Goodwin and other officials arriving from the east by wagon train, took their oaths of office and raised the U.S. flag "to establish a government whereby the security of life and property will be maintained throughout its limits, and its varied resources be rapidly and successfully developed". — Map (db m36334) HM|
|Arizona (Cochise County), Douglas — Douglas Police Headquarters — Douglas, Arizona|
Elizabeth W. Ames, Mayor
Hector M. Salinas, Ward 1
Richard A. Arzate, Ward 2
Ramon H. Jordan, Ward 3
Harry F. Ames , Ward 4
Margaret Shannon, Ward 5
Rudy Quinonez, Ward 6
R. Delbert Self, City Manager
Charles E. Austin, Chief of Police
Albert N Hooper, Jr., Architect
Price Woods, Inc., Contractor
Paul Heidel, Superintendent
Building listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Built as the El Paso & Southwestern Railroad . . . — Map (db m28295) HM|
|Arizona (Cochise County), Tombstone — Tombstone City Hall — Opened in 1882|
|Architect Frank Walker designed this building in Victorian style adapted to Western Territorial. It is constructed of fired red brick. It has been in continuous service since 1882 for Mayors, Marshals and official city offices. In the 1880's it housed the fire department's Rescue Hose Company #2. It was placed on the National Register of Historic places in 1972. — Map (db m27918) HM|
|Arizona (Gila County), Globe — Hon. George W. P. Hunt — 1859 – 1934|
Globe, Gila County, Arizona
Apache Warrior Stronghold
and Pioneer Home of
Hon. George W. P. Hunt
1859 – 1934
Member various Territorial Legislatures, President Arizona Constitutional Convention, Arizona's 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 6th, 7th, 8th and 10th Governor. Elected Governor more times than any person of any state.
United States Ambassador to Siam. — Map (db m28047) HM|
|Arizona (Gila County), Globe — In Honor of John W. Wentworth — Born 1858 – Died 1954|
|Colorful Arizona pioneer and faithful Gila County public servant. At intervals from 1885 to 1947. Within the walls of three courthouses erected on this spot, he occupied various offices. His last office was Clerk of the Superior Court.1912 to 1947.
He set a national Public Service Record. — Map (db m28046) HM|
|Arizona (Graham county), Safford — Graham County Courthouse — 1916|
|Since Graham County's formation in 1881 the courthouse had been relocated four times. It had been housed in an adobe structure in Safford, two sites in Solomonville, and the Rig's Building on Main Street when the county seat was returned to Safford. A fifth site was offered by the D.E. Welker estate at what was then I and Tenth Streets. In December 1915, the Board of Supervisors accepted the site and approved plans submitted by Architects Lecher & Kibble of Phoenix. The cost was estimated to be . . . — Map (db m36370) HM|
|Arizona (Graham County), Safford — Safford City Hall — 1898|
|Safford City Hall started life as a school building. Safford School System bids for the North Ward School were opened in February 1898. The contract was awarded to R. A. Smith Jr. and John Morris. The new building was ready for the fall term in September. The cost was $5,400.
The brick walls are 18 inch on the lower level and 13 inch on the top floor. It featured a galvanized roof with iron detailing and a large bell tower. There were two 24 by 35 foot rooms on each floor with a wide . . . — Map (db m36369) HM|
|Arizona (Maricopa County), Phoenix — Arizona’s Liberty Bell Monument|
Dedicated To You, A Free Citizen In A Free Land
This reproduction of the Liberty Bell was presented to the people of
by direction of
The Honorable John W. Snyder
Secretary of the Treasury
As the inspirational symbol of the United States savings bonds independence drive from May 15 to July 4, 1950. It was displayed in every part of this state.
The dimension and tone are identical with those of the original Liberty Bell when it rang out our independence in . . . — Map (db m27632) HM|
|Arizona (Maricopa County), Phoenix — Arizona's U.S.S. Arizona Memorial - In Memory of the Gallant Men — Who Gave Their Lives on December 7, 1941 on the Battleship U.S.S. Arizona — During the Attack on Pearl Harbor|
In memory of the gallant men who gave their lives on December 7, 1941 on the Battleship U.S.S.
Arizona during the attack on Pearl Harbor
Dedicated December 7, 1976
The Honorable Raul H. Castro, Governor of Arizona
The contributions of thousands of school children, The Arizona Republic, many leaders of business and
industry and patriotic citizens made this bicentennial memorial possible. The anchor (A-277) was forged in Chester, PA in 1911. Weight 19,555 pounds and has a full . . . — Map (db m26425) HM|
|Arizona (Maricopa County), Phoenix — The Capitol|
|Completed in 1900 at the cost of approximately $136,000, was designed by James Riley Gordon of San Antonio, Texas, and served as the First Arizona owned seat of government during the late territorial days and its transition to statehood in 1912. The original structure is 184 ft. long and 84 ft. deep. The exterior is constructed entirely of Arizona products – grey granite from the Salt River Mountains Tufa from Yavapai County and the foundation is of Malapia rock from Camelback Mountain. — Map (db m27671) HM|
|Arizona (Maricopa County), Phoenix — U.S.S. Arizona Signal Mast — In Memory of the Crew of the U.S.S. Arizona (BB39)|
|The upper 26 feet of the mast before you is the top
portion of the main mast of the USS Arizona and is
known as the signal mast or "pigsticker"
The battleship USS Arizona (BB 39) was sunk at Pearl
Harbor on December 7, 1941. The superstructure above
the waterline was removed soon after the attack.
Admiral Earnest H. King, Chief of Naval Opertations,
sent the signal mast to his hometown of Lorain, Ohio.
Commander Edwin C. Keyes, a close friend of Adm. King
commanded tht naval . . . — Map (db m26610) HM|
|Arizona (Maricopa County), Phoenix — United States Indian Vocational Training School|
This fountain and building erected 1922
Charles H. Burke
Commissioner of Indian
"The Indian will become an asset or a liability as we cultivate or fail to cultivate his body, mind and soul with a view to fitting him for an honorable place in our social and economic structure."
"The purpose of this school is to introduce Indian youth to the opportunities and responsibilities of civilization and to acquaint his Causasian brother with the . . . — Map (db m62608) HM|
|Arizona (Mohave County), Kingman — Cerbat|
|Site of Cerbat third historical Mohave County seat. Three miles from this highway in Cerbat Mountains and in canyon of the same name. It came to existence in 1860's as mining camp, and had mill, smelter, post-office, school, stores and saloons. Only mine sites remain now. — Map (db m20808) HM|
|Arizona (Mohave County), Kingman — Mohave County Courthouse — Built 1915|
|This building has been placed on
The National Register of
By the United States Department of the Interior
Mohave County Courthouse
Built of locally quarried tufa stone, the Mohave County Courthouse has been the center of county government since 1915. It is the best example of Neo-Classical Revival style in Kingman. Its distinguishing features are a pedimented portico supported by four tapered Doric columns, a small iron-railed balcony over the . . . — Map (db m29401) HM|
|Arizona (Mohave County), Kingman — U. S. Post Office — Built 1935|
|This building has been placed on
The National Register of
By the United States Department of the Interior.
U.S. Post Office
A monument to massive federal building programs during the 1930's, construction of the post office represents the first major Federal construction project in Kingman. Its completion was a major event in the town. The building is constructed of concrete and stucco with arched windows, a Period Revival style with Italianate influences. — Map (db m29409) HM|
|Arizona (Navajo County), Holbrook — Navajo County Courthouse|
|Navajo County Courthouse
In 1896, the U.S. Congress passed enabling legislation
to provide a permanent courthouse at Holbrook.
Construction was delayed until Frank A. Zuck donated
land in April of 1898. Plans submitted by Phoenix
architects D.W. Millard and George G. Grosvenor were
accepted by the Board of Supervisors, and on May 5,
1898, the building contract was awarded to M.J.
Kennedy and John C. Grim of Flagstaff. The brick and
native-stone structure was completed . . . — Map (db m30158) HM|
|Arizona (Pima County), Tucson — Pima County Courthouse — Historic Site|
|The first Pima County Courthouse, a single-story adobe structure built in 1868, was replaced in 1881 by a large two-story stone and red brick victorian building which, in turn, was removed in 1928 to make way for the present structure. This distinctive building, designed by Tucsonian Roy Place and completed in 1929, reflects the Spanish colonial and Moorish influences on the architectural heritage of the southwest. It is listed in the National Register of Historic Places. — Map (db m55222) HM|
|Arizona (Pima County), Tucson — The Tucson Plant Materials Center|
|The Tucson Plant Materials Center
Has been placed on the
National Register of Historic Places
By the United States
Department of Agriculture
1997 — Map (db m31525) HM|
|Arizona (Pinal County), Florence — Granville H. Oury|
|March 12 1825 - Jan 11 1891
Judge- District court of New Mexico
Delegate to Confederate Congress
Arizona Mounted Volunteers CSA
Pioneer- Soldier- Statesman — Map (db m32394) HM|
|Arizona (Yavapai County), Chino Valley — Del Rio Springs|
|Site of original Camp Whipple established December 1863
From January 22 to May 18, 1864 the offices of the Territorial Government of Arizona were operated from tents and log cabins here, before being moved to Prescott the first permanent capital. — Map (db m33444) HM|
|Arizona (Yavapai County), Prescott — Prescott|
|Prescott, Yavapai County Seat, founded 1864 on Granite Creek, source of Placer gold. Named for William Hickling Prescott, Historian, first Gov. JN. N. Goodwin, Appointee of Abraham Lincoln. Established first territorial capital of Arizona here. At Governor's Mansion, two blocks west, the first legislature met July 18, 1864. Site of first graded school in Arizona. Disastrous fire started by miner's candle destroyed four blocks about this square in 1900. — Map (db m18805) HM|
|Arizona (Yavapai County), Prescott — Prescott|
Founded 1864 on Granite Creek, early source of placer gold. Former territorial capital of Arizona. Now a center for ranching, mining, health, especially asthma relief. Located here on site of old Ft. Whipple is Whipple Veterans Hospital. Seat of First Governor's Mansion, and Arizona Pioneer's Home. Frontier Days, oldest rodeo in the west, began here. — Map (db m20298) HM|
|Arizona (Yavapai County), Prescott — Site of Territorial Courthouse|
|The courthouse you see today, constructed in 1916 and listed in the National Register of Historic Places, is not th original one on this site. The first courthouse construted on the Plaza, one of two city blocks set aside in 1864 for government use, was a smaller, but more elaborate brick structure built in 1878. It was an impressive structure that immediately became the symbolic focal point of young Yavapai County. Many important cases were heard here in the day when Prescott served as the . . . — Map (db m18132) HM|
|Arizona (Yavapai County), Prescott — Site of the O'Neill/Munds House|
|A beautiful Victorian Cottage which faced East Sheldon Street was built on this site by W.B. Jones. On November 15, 1893, William Owen (Buckey) O'Neill and his wife Pauline moved into the house. O'Neill used a portion of the upstairs as his office where he published his livestock newspaper, "Hoof and Horn".
O'Neill, who came to Arizona in 1879 at the age of 19, met his future wife, Pauline Marie Schindler, in Prescott in 1885. They were married on April 27, 1886. Two days later, "Buckey" . . . — Map (db m20619) HM|
|Arizona (Yuma County), Yuma — Commanding Officer's Quarters & Kitchen|
|In 1859, steamboat entrepreneur George Alonzo Johnson built a riverside home for his bride, Estefana Alvarado. Now known as the Commanding Officer's Quarters, the home is believed to be Arizona's oldest Anglo-built adobe building. In the devastating Colorado River flood of 1862, this building and the nearby Hooper residence, now the detached kitchen, were unharmed because they were built on high ground. Quartermaster personnel used the buildings from the mid-1860's until the military abandoned . . . — Map (db m28999) HM|
|Arizona (Yuma County), Yuma — In Memory of Senator Harold C. Giss|
|Senator Giss was born February, 1906, in Minneapolis, Minn. and moved to Arizona in 1937. Being a concerned individual for Arizona's future, Senator Giss entered politics. He served as a member of the Arizona House of Representatives for two years and then became one of Arizona's most prominent Senators for 29 years. Senator Giss was a man of action and had a list of accomplishments too numerous to mention. He died, serving the public in March, 1973. — Map (db m28986) HM|
|Arkansas (Benton County), Bentonville — 1 — Benton County First Court House|
|The first court house in Benton County, built of hewed logs was erected on this site (at Bentonville) in 1837, the year after the county was created. It was named for Thomas H Benton. — Map (db m19880) HM|
|Arkansas (Independence County), Batesville — F 2 No. 1 — Independence County First County Court House|
|The town of Batesville was selected as the county seat and the first county court house built in 1821. A year after the county was organized. — Map (db m66720) HM|
|Arkansas (Jefferson County), Pine Bluff — 1 F 6 — Jefferson County First Court House|
|The first court house in Jefferson County created in 1829 and named for President Thomas Jefferson was erected on this site at (Pine Bluff) in 1833. Meanwhile, sessions of the county court had been held first at the house of Joseph Bonne and second at the home of Antoine Barraque. Three miles below Pine Bluff and on the same side of the Arkansas River. — Map (db m30580) HM|
|Arkansas (Mississippi County), Osceola — Mark Twain's Plum Point Landing & Overlook|
|Mark Twain referred to Osceola as "the famous and formidable Plum Point" in his book, Life on the Mississippi, as well as other writings. First established in 1837 as Plum Point, Osceola was incorporated in 1853. From this vantage point, one could view steamboats hauling cotton and other goods along the Mississippi River. — Map (db m36301) HM|
|Arkansas (Mississippi County), Osceola — J 2 — Mississippi County Court House|
|The county seat of Mississippi County, created in 1833, was located at Osceola in 1836. Since about 1900 the county has maintained another court house at Blytheville for the northern district. The county was named for the great river which flows along its eastern border. — Map (db m36489) HM|
|Arkansas (Mississippi County), Osceola — Mississippi County Courthouse — Osceola|
|This Neoclassical Courthouse was built in 1912 on land donated by Judge W.J. Driver. Constructed of unusual brick, the building features a flat roof supporting a copper dome with large concrete terra cotta decorations and round polished inserts on the face. The columns on the front and the moldings at the top contribute to the beauty of this building. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the building houses much of the history of Mississippi County, including contentious, . . . — Map (db m36434) HM|
|Arkansas (Mississippi County), Osceola — U.S. Post Office Building|
|Constructed in 1915, this building served as the post office on the Cotton Highway until 1936. County Judge S.L. Gladish made sure that the Post Office contained European tiles like those used in the then-new courthouse. The building later housed a pool hall where men congregated while their wives shopped downtown. — Map (db m36454) HM|
|Arkansas (Mississippi County), Osceola — William J. Driver|
|In memory of the honorable William J. Driver.Former Circuit Judge and Congressman, a lifelong citizen of Osceola, Arkansas. Born March 2, 1873. Died October 1, 1948. As a member of the Rivers and Harbors and Flood Control Committees of the Congress of the United States, he shaped and, by his superb leadership, caused the enactment of laws which curbed the mighty Mississippi, the St. Francis, and the other rivers of this area and minimized the danger of devastating floods. Recognized as the . . . — Map (db m36532) HM|
|Arkansas (Phillips County), Helena — 5 — Phillips County Court House|
|The First County Seat of Phillips county was ordered in the Act of 1820 which created the county, to be located in the Town of Monticello, which place has since been identified as the original name of the present Town of Helena. — Map (db m51918) HM|
|Arkansas (Sebastian County), Fort Smith — Barracks, Courthouse, Jail|
|The building in front of you is very much as it appeared in the 1890s. First built as military barracks, it was later converted for use as a courthouse and jail. Over time its appearance changed to accommodate different needs of the people using it.
Compare these photographs to the building you see today. Notice clues of its former appearance by examining bricked-in-windows, remnants of porch foundations, changing rooflines, and brick color variations. — Map (db m59026) HM|
|Arkansas (Sebastian County), Fort Smith — The Gallows|
|With the largest criminal jurisdiction of any federal court at the time, the Western District of Arkansas handled an extraordinary number of murder and rape cases. When a jury found defendants guilty in these capital cases, federal law mandated the death penalty. In Fort Smith, that meant an execution by hanging on a “crude and unsightly” gallows.
A visitor to the city in 1893 recommended constructing a new gallows to evoke the “sacredness and majesty of the law.” . . . — Map (db m59022) HM|
|Arkansas (Sebastian County), Fort Smith — The Women’s Jail, 1872-1888|
|After the U.S. Army closed Fort Smith in 1871, the guardhouse served the Federal Court for the Western District of Arkansas. It remained in use as a jail, detaining primarily women suspected or convicted of federal crimes until 1888. At that time, the court moved quarters for female prisoners into the courthouse/jail building. Although not as numerous as their male counterparts, female prisoners were no novelty in Fort Smith. They committed the same crimes as men in the Indian Territory, . . . — Map (db m58128) HM|
|Arkansas (Sharp County), Evening Shade — F. 1-1 — Sharp County Court House|
|The first court house in Sharp County was erected at Evening Shade in 1868. About 1890 another court house was built at Hardy, in the Northern end of the county. And since then the county has maintained two seats of justice. — Map (db m59179) HM|
|Arkansas (Sharp County), Hardy — F 1 No. 2 — Sharp County Court House No 2|
|The first court house in Sharp County was erected at evening shade in 1868. About 1890 another court house was built at Hardy in the northern end of the county and since then the county has maintained two seats of justice. — Map (db m65507) HM|
|California (Alameda County), Berkeley — City Hall Annex — Jamers W. Plachek, Architect — 1925|
|City of Berkeley Landmark
designated in 1984
Constructed in 1925 when Berkeley’s population was growing rapidly, this building accommodated a variety of civic services next to City Hall. The Department of Milk Inspection, which assured the purity of milk produced by dairies that were still located in less developed parts of the City, was located here. A large fire proof safe inside the building, perhaps a legacy of Berkeley’s 1923 fire, once stored City records. — Map (db m54215) HM|
|California (Alameda County), Livermore — Livermore Town Hall Jail and Firehouse|
Built 1875, this building was first a hotel then the Livermore Valley Bank. It was the Livermore Town Hall from 1905 to 1957. The jail was in the rear, and to the left the firehouse. It was here a light bulb was lit and continues to burn to this day.
Joaquin Murrieta Chapter 13
E Clampus Vitus
October 5, 1985
Old City Hall
On this site:
Wooden Boarding House, c.1874
Bank of . . . — Map (db m19982) HM|
|California (Alameda County), Livermore — Sister City Program|
“The Sister City Program is an important resource to the negotiations of
governments in letting the people themselves give expression of their common desire for friendship, goodwill and cooperation for a better world for all”
President Dwight D. Eisenhower (circa 1956)
On Monday, August 23, 1999, the City of Livermore’s City Council dedicated
Sister City Park as a gesture of friendship and goodwill to its sister cities.
“The flags from our sister cities . . . — Map (db m19970) HM|
|California (Alameda County), Oakland — Alameda County Courthouses|
|These five panels tell the stories of Alameda County's five courthouses.
Alameda County’s 1st Courthouse
Alvarado • 1853-1855
Alameda County’s first courthouse was a converted loft space above a general store in the frontier town of Alvarado, near where Alameda Creek flowed into San Francisco Bay.
The building, demolished many years ago, was located on what is now the northwest corner of Union City Boulevard and Smith Street in Union City. Henry Clay Smith, a State . . . — Map (db m72064) HM|
|California (Alameda County), Oakland — 28 — Oakland City Hall|
|Begun in 1911 and completed in 1914, this is Oakland’s fifth City Hall. Its construction was funded with a $1.15 million bond issue passed in 1909. The Beaux Arts design was by the New York firm of Palmer and Hornbostel, winners of a national design competition for a building that would reflect Oakland’s arrival as a major metropolis.
For many years the tallest building in Oakland, it was reputedly the first city hall in the United States to combine the ceremonial aspects of government . . . — Map (db m72702) HM|
|California (Alameda County), Pleasanton — J. W. Kottinger’s Barn — Pleasanton Heritage Site - 1852|
|John W. Kottinger (1819 – 1892) was Murray Township Justice of the Peace from 1853 to 1870. His home was the Seat of Justice for the township; The northwest corner of this adobe barn was used to jail prisoners. A frequent visitor was Joaquin Murrieta. On one occasion he was distracted by Mrs. Kottinger’s bountiful table, thus allowing Kottinger to make a hasty trip to a San Francisco bank. The bandit was deprived of the pleasure of relieving Kottinger of a large gold deposit. — Map (db m24507) HM|
|California (Alameda County), Pleasanton — Kottinger’s Barn|
|John W. Kottinger one of pioneer founders and first Justice of the Peace of Pleasanton constructed this adobe brick barn about 1852. So built that part of it could house prisoners brought to justice in his court. Thus serving as Pleasanton’s first jail.
Restored by Robert and Elaine Koopman
Dedicated this 11th day of September 1987
Grand Parlor Native Sons of the Golden West
Robert R. Souza Grand President
Plaque funded by James D. Phelan Trust — Map (db m24592) HM|
|California (Alameda County), San Leandro — County Courthouse — 1868|
|The Alameda County Courthouse stood here between 1856 and 1868. In 1853 Alameda County was carved out of Contra Costa and Santa Clara Counties. New Haven was its first county seat. The 1854 legislative session moved the county seat to more centrally-located San Leandro. Property for the courthouse was one of four parcels donated by the Estudillo family for public purposes. The building was constructed in 1856, with bricks made of clay taken from the site.
A major earthquake on the Hayward . . . — Map (db m26418) HM|
|California (Alameda County), San Leandro — San Leandro Courthouse Site|
| Courthouse of Alameda County on this site early months of 1855. Moved here officially on March 10, 1856 by act of Legislature February 8, 1856. Site donated for county purposes by Jose Joaquin Estudillo. Courthouse moved to Oakland 1835. — Map (db m26411) HM|
|California (Alameda County), Union City — 503 — First County Courthouse|
|The first court house where Alameda County government began, June 6, 1853. Officials met in two-story wooden building erected by Henry C. Smith and A. M. Church as merchandise store. Seat of government moved to San Leandro in 1856 following vote of people of county in December 1854.
State Registered Landmark No. 503 — Map (db m28910) HM|
|California (Alpine County), Kirkwood — 315 — Kit Carson|
|On this spot, which marks the summit of the Kit Carson Pass stood what was known as the Kit Carson Tree on which the famous scout Kit Carson inscribed his name in 1844 when he guided the then Captain John C. Fremont, head of a government exploring expedition over the Sierra Nevada Mountains. Above is a replica of the original inscription cut from the tree in 1888 and now is in Sutter’s Fort, Sacramento. — Map (db m12032) HM|
|California (Amador County), Jackson — - Jackson - — The Jumping Seat of Calaveras County|
|Judge Smith proclaimed Jackson the Seat of Justice after Clerk Collier canvassed the votes of the May 1851 election in which 1224 votes were cast for Moquelumne Hill and 1014 for Jackson. An armed party from Moquelumne Hill pursued Judge Smith to lynch him. Another party stole the records from the clerk’s office. Later Judge Smith shot and killed Collier on Main Street over another disputed election count. A perfect example of Mother Lode politics.
- Erected by -
Chapter No.49 – E . . . — Map (db m27499) HM|
|California (Amador County), Jackson — Sesquicentennial Court House Site|
|Voters on July 17, 1854, selected Jackson as the county seat of the new County of Amador, born that June 14 after a spirited election. Fulfilling their promise, the Jackson town trustees, at no county expense, financed construction of the first court house at this site. By year’s end, a 2-story wooden court house stood here. You see its sketch nearby.
In the “great fire” of August, 1862, the first court house and much of Jackson were destroyed. County Judge Marion Gordon urged . . . — Map (db m27910) HM|
|California (Amador County), Jackson — V. S. Garbarini, Sr. — Mechanical Engineer — 1859 – 1931|
|Prominent in the mining world through his work at the Zeile, Kennedy, Argonaut & other Mother Lode mines, 1881 – 1929. His public spirit and mechanical skills led to many improvements in Jackson’s streets and bridges.
First Mayor of Jackson, 1905 – 1916.
Amador County Supervisor, 1920 – 1931
City of Jackson
Amador County Board of Supervisors
In Amador County’s
125th Anniversary Year, 1979 — Map (db m27978) HM|
|California (Amador County), Sutter Creek — 1854 · Amador County · 1954|
|Amador County, carved from Calaveras and El Dorado, was organized July 3, 1854, at the crossroads of Sutter Hill.
Act of Legislature, May 11, 1854, set June 17, 1854, as election date for people to vote on such a division, and appointed five organization commissioners:
W.L. McKimm, Chairman; E.W. Gemmill; A.J. Sneath; A.Boileau; and A. Platt, Secretary.
They transacted business at Tucker’s Ranch as follows:
1. Established election precincts;
2. Set July 17, 1854, as election . . . — Map (db m11222) HM|
|California (Amador County), Sutter Creek — Sutter Creek Jail|
|The jail was built in 1908 to replace the original jail that was destroyed by a fire started when an unidentified inmate set his mattress on fire and burned to death. Sutter Creek and Amador County shared the cost of the new cement jail built by the Levaggi brothers. The two cell jail was actually built over the Sutter Creek. Each cell had one bed and the plumbing was a hole in the floor, that drained into the creek. Used until the 1940’s, the jail was torn down in 1970. — Map (db m57980) HM|
|California (Calaveras County), Mokelumne Hill — 663 — Calaveras County Courthouse and Leger Hotel|
|A portion of this building served as the Calaveras County Courthouse from 1852 to 1866, when the county seat was removed to San Andreas. George W. Leger then acquired the court building and made it a part of his adjoining hotel, which has been operating since early gold mining days. It was known as the Grand Hotel in 1874 when fire damaged it and destroyed its dance hall. Restored in 1879, it has since been known as the Leger Hotel. — Map (db m11537) HM|
|California (Calaveras County), Mokelumne Hill — 269 — Mokelumne Hill|
|Mokelumne is an Indian word, first applied to the nearby river. Earliest settlement was at Happy Valley by French trappers. Gold was discovered by discharged members of Stevenson's Regiment in 1848. Center of the richest placer mining section of Calaveras County and one of the principal mining towns of California. Corral Flat produced over thirty millions in gold. Sixteen feet square constituted a claim. The so-called 'French War' for possession of gold mines occurred in 1851. 'Calaveras . . . — Map (db m12996) HM|
|California (Calaveras County), West Point — 253 — Sandy Gulch|
|This site, in 1849, was a trading center for pioneer miners of Northwestern Calaveras County. It was named after the gulch where William and Dan Carsner found large nuggets imbedded in the course sand.
Water for mining was brought from the Middle Fork of the Mokelumne River. Through the Sandy Gulch and Kadish Ditches. Quartz mining began in the early fifties. The first custom stamp mill was at the head of Sandy Gulch.
The school and elections precincts were established early. Hangman’s . . . — Map (db m11975) HM|
|California (Colusa County), Colusa — 890 — Colusa County Courthouse|
|Erected in 1861, this Federal/Classic Revival style building is the oldest remaining courthouse in the Sacramento Valley. The “Southern” style reflects the county’s heritage from the Ante-Bellum South and states-rights sympathies during the Civil War. In its early years, the courthouse also served as the County’s center of cultural, social and religious activities. California Registered Historical Landmark No. 890 — Map (db m57626) HM|
|California (Colusa County), Colusa — 1 — Judge H. M. Albery House|
|Judge H. M. Albery House
Colusa Heritage Marker 1
Dedicated May 6, 1977 — Map (db m26238) HM|
|California (Contra Costa County), Martinez — I — Contra Costa County Courthouse — 1901|
Since April 25, 1851
I — Map (db m24318) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Coloma — Capt. William E. Shannon|
|First Alcade of Coloma
Delegate from this area to First
State Constitutional Convention Convention
at Monterey. September 1849 — Map (db m17467) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Coloma — Coloma’s Law Offices — Site of|
|In the 1850s, the law offices of Thomas Robertson and the firm of Sanderson and Hews were at this site. The town alcalde also had his office here. Borrowed from Mexican government, the position of alcalde combined the roles of mayor, justice of the peace, and as needed, sheriff. — Map (db m17572) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Coloma — El Dorado County Jails|
|Coloma’s first jail was made of logs and was located around the corner on High Street. The second jail, built in 1855, quickly proved to be too small, and this stone-block prison was erected. It was used from 1857 until 1862. The metal cell that stands nearby came from the county courthouse in Placerville. — Map (db m12228) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Georgetown — Georgetown Firehouse|
|This firehouse, completed in 1965, was built to replace one on the opposite side of Main Street which was inadequate to house modern equipment. Headquarters of the Georgetown Fire District, now in this building, were formerly on Church Street. — Map (db m54929) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Placerville — Confidence Engine Company — City Hill|
|Erected in 1860, this part of City Hall housed the Confidence Engine Company which was originally formed as The Mountaineer Engine Company. When flames engulfed most of the town in 1856, concerned citizens of Placerville realized that even the best organized fire company would be lost fighting another major conflagration without a fire engine. In 1857, the group of volunteers solicited the funds to purchase a used engine and 250 feet of fire hose from Sacramento’s Engine Company No.1. Finding . . . — Map (db m35540) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Placerville — County of El Dorado Courthouse Restoration|
|Board of Supervisors
John M. Caswell – District 1, William V.D. Johnson – District 2, Thomas M. Goodloe, Jr. – District 3, Raymond E. Lawyer, Chairman – District 4, Gerald E. Martin – District 5.
Robert Mason, Architect
Buettner-Carter, Denton & Assoc., General Contractor — Map (db m12755) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Placerville — Joseph M. Staples|
|Re-Dedicated July 1, 1986
To The Memory of
JOSEPH M. STAPLES
El Dorado County Deputy Sheriff
Who Was Killed In The Line
Of Duty July 1, 1864 — Map (db m13970) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Placerville — Thomas Maul — Superior Judge — 1885 – 1954|
This plaque is a memorial
To our beloved citizen
Who sponsored this park
and many other civic improvements — Map (db m13172) HM|
|California (El Dorado County), Pollack Pines — In Memory of the Bravery of Our Pioneer Officers|
|Scene of the robbery of two coaches of the Pioneer Stage Line running between Virginia City, Nevada, and Sacramento, California, on the night of June 30, 1864, at about ten o’clock. Perpetrated by a gang of fourteen men, eight sacks of bullion and treasure box were taken. The leader of the gang represented that the money was to be used for the purpose of recruiting for the Confederate Service. In attempting to capture the bandits a battle took place at Somerset in which Deputy Sheriff Joseph . . . — Map (db m13922) HM|
|California (Fresno County), Fresno — 18 — Fresno County Courthouse|
|A temporary rough board building, containing county offices, was erected near the spot in the fall of 1874, about the time the cornerstone was laid for the original permanent courthouse. Fresno was selected by the voters in a previous spring election to replace Millerton as the county seat.
This plaque commemorates the 100th anniversary of the move from the gold mining foothill community to the new railroad town on the valley plains.
Jim Savage Chapter 1852
E Clampus Vitus
September 28, 1974 — Map (db m27940) HM|
|California (Kern County), Bakersfield — Court House and Jail|
From the 1850s to the 1890s, the lure of gold brought people to the mountains and deserts of Kern County. Mining towns such as Claraville, Havilah and Randsburg sprang up almost overnight.
Although most of the residents of these towns were law abiding citizens, some unsavory characters came to the bustling towns of Kern’s mining districts.
In 1866, Havilah became Kern County’s first center of government due to the city’s growing population.
This building, representing . . . — Map (db m25994) HM|
|California (Los Angeles County), Culver City — 1 — Culver City — Site of City Hall — Dedicated 1928|
|The city of Culver City incorporated in 1912, built its first permanent City Hall on this site in 1926. This is a portion of the original Spanish landgrant, Rancho La Ballona. — Map (db m49949) HM|
|California (Los Angeles County), Los Angeles — First Mayor of Los Angeles Under United States Rule — Los Pobladores — The Founders of the City of Los Angeles|
|The Founders of the City of Los Angeles: Vanegas, Quintero, Rodriguez, Villavicencio, Navarro, Rosas, Camero, Rosas, Moreno, Mesa,
Before 1850, the chief executive of the pueblo was the alcalde, who sat on the ayuntamiento (council) and served as both mayor and judge. The office of the Mayor and the Common Council were established when the city was incorporated in 1850. Alpheus P. Hodges, a physician, was elected the first Mayor of Los Angeles, serving from 1850-51. He . . . — Map (db m55296) HM|
|California (Marin County), San Rafael — 999 — Marin County Civic Center|
|The Civic Center Complex was designed by Frank Lloyd Wright (1869-1959) near the end of his long career. The Administration Building was completed in 1962 and the Hall of Justice in 1970. They are the only government buildings designed by the distinguished architect that were ever actually constructed. The project fully embodied Wright's ideal of organic architecture--a synthesis of buildings and landscape, in Wright's words, the structures were planned to "melt into the sunburnt . . . — Map (db m32748) HM|
|California (Mariposa County), Mariposa — A Shrine to Justice in California|
|In honor of the sesquincentennial of the Mariposa County Courthouse and recognition of its continuous use since 1855.
In June 1857 Biddle Boggs vs. Merced Mining Company made legal mining history and the 1861 cases of Moore vs. Smaw and Fremont vs. Flower opened the door for Congress to pass the first Federal Mining Act in 1866. — Map (db m46739) HM|
|California (Mariposa County), Mariposa — 518 — Agua Fria|
|One fourth mile north of Carson Creek, tributary of Agua Fria, was located Agua Fria, first county seat of Mariposa County in 1850-1851 one of original 27 counties in California. Until 1852, while mining was main industry of region, Mariposa County comprised 1/6 of the state and included all of what is now Merced, Madera, Fresno, Tulare, Kings, and Kern Counties. Town of Mariposa became seat of government in 1852 & the courthouse was completed in 1854. — Map (db m51554) HM|
|California (Mariposa County), Mariposa — Mariposa County Court House|
|California’s oldest seat of justice still in use. The front half, the original building, completed in 1854, cost $9.200. The lumber was sash-sawed from nearby forests; framework fastened with mortised joints and wooden pegs. Finished lumber was hand-planed and nailed with square-cut nails. A fire-proof brick vault to protect records, added in 1861, was later enlarged. The English-make clock with its 267 lb. bell in the cupola, was installed in 1866 and has been faithfully tolling each hour . . . — Map (db m46734) HM|
|California (Mariposa County), Mariposa — Mariposa County Court House — Erected 1854|
|In Continuous Use Since Erection
This marker placed|
Map (db m46737) HM
|California (Mariposa County), Mariposa — 670 — Mariposa County Courthouse|
|This mortise and tenon Greek Revival courthouse, erected in 1854, is California’s oldest court of law and has served continuously as the seat of county government since 1854. During the 19th century landmark mining cases setting legal precedent were tried here and much United States mining law is based on decisions emanating from this historic courthouse. — Map (db m46733) HM|
|California (Merced County), Snelling — First Court House — in Merced County|
|Erected 1857 This monument commemorates the Seventy-fifth anniversary of the organization of Merced County and is dedicated to the memory our pioneers by Yosemite Parlor No. 24, N.S.G.W. Merced May 20, 1930 — Map (db m7325) HM|
|California (Mono County), Benton — Aurora and Owens River Wagon Road|
Established by the Nevada
February 20, 1864
Rates of Toll
Wagon with two animals $1.00
Carriage and one animal $.75
Each additional animal $.25
Empty teams returning half price
Saddle animals each $.25
Pack do do $.15
Loose do do $.10 — Map (db m20732) HM|
|California (Mono County), Bridgeport — Mono County Court House|
|Since April 1, 1881 with the trial of Morton, indicted for theft of gold bullion from the Standard Co. of Bodie, the scales of justice in this building have continuously weighed the problems of Mono County from infancy to this present day. This impressive building remains a classic example of the artisans of yesterday. — Map (db m10322) HM|
|California (Mono County), Bridgeport — Old County Jail|
|Since the formation of Mono County in 1861, six facilities have served as the county jail. This stone building was placed into service by Sheriff C.F. McKinney, Dec. 5, 1883, and became the 5th Mono County Jail. It replaced the wooden jail facility partially destroyed, December 16, 1882, during an escape attempt by prisoners. This replacement jailhouse, larger than its predecessor, contained – an office, dining area, 6 cells, 2 wash and storage rooms. The walls were two feet thick and . . . — Map (db m10364) HM|
|California (Monterey County), Monterey — Colton Hall – Site of California’s Original Constitution|
|Forty-eight men of diverse education and cultural backgrounds from throughout California converged upon Monterey in September in 1849 to frame a constitutional government for California. Working together as Californians, they created this important cornerstone of government. The deliberations conducted in English and Spanish, took place in Colton Hall. On October 13, 1849, the delegates signed and submitted a state constitution to the people of California. It was ratified by popular vote . . . — Map (db m63348) HM|
|California (Monterey County), Monterey — 348 — Home of Juan Bautista Alvarado — State Registered Landmark No. 348|
|Native of Monterey, Governor of California under Mexican rule December 20,1836 - December 20,1842. During his administration the increasing influx of Americans, and the Russian settlement at Fort Ross, began to be regarded as serious problems. Russians withdrew in 1841. — Map (db m25055) HM|
|California (Monterey County), Monterey — Monterey Customhouse|
|Constructed by the Mexican government during 1927 and 1841 to collect customs duties from foreign shipping when Monterey was the capital of this northern province, and customs duties were Alta California’s principal source of revenue. United States Customhouse from 1848 until 1867. This plaque is dedicated to all customs officers who have served in this building, and in honor and recognition of the U.S. Custom Service Bicentennial.
Quintin L. Villanueva, Jr.
Regional . . . — Map (db m63307) HM|