|Australia, Victoria (Mount Alexander (shire)), Maldon — 1 — Maldon Athenaeum Library 1863|
|The Mechanics’ Institute movement began in British urban industrial centres in the early 1800s. A “mechanic” was a person applying skills and technology. During the 19th century, most towns in Victoria established a Mechanics’ Institute or Athenaeum with a library and meeting hall. Common objects were the "spread of useful knowledge” and provision for “rational recreation” in the community.
This plaque, No. 1 in the MIV series, was unveiled on 21 April 2003 . . . — Map (db m71068) HM|
|Austria, Tyrol, Innsbruck — Innsbruck's First School — Alte Stadtschule|
Dieses von innen her an die mittelalterliche Stadtmauer gebaute Wohnhaus diente vermutlich schon im 14. Jh., nachweisbar aber von 1469 bis 1768 als Innsbrucks erstes Schulhaus. Der Durchgang wurde um 1672 als Zugang zum ersten Innsbrucker Universitätsgebäude (Herrengasse 1-3) angelegt. Seit 1939 fungiert die alt Schule als Wohnsitz des Innsbrucker Bischofs.
This residence was built up against the medieval city walls and probably dates from the 14th . . . — Map (db m68369) HM|
|Austria, Tyrol, Innsbruck — The New Seminary — Neues Stift — Universitätsstrasse 2|
Gleichzeitig mit der Hofkirche 1553-63 nach Plänen Andrea Crivellis von Nikolaus Turing d.J. (gest 1558) und Marco della Bolia erbaut und als Stifts-Gebäude für regulierte Chorherren gedacht, diente dieser ursprüngliche Renaissancebau mit seinem gut erhaltenen Kreuzgang von 1562 bis 1784/85 als Franziskanerkloster, hieraufe vorwiegend als Schule. Seit 1929 beherbergte er das Tiroler Volkskunstmuseum. Der Nord- und der vordere Teil des Osttraktes wurden 1719 von Georg Anton Gumpp umgebaut und . . . — Map (db m68442) HM|
|Austria, Tyrol, Innsbruck — The Old University — Alte Universität|
Der ältere, westliche Teil dieses Gebäudes mit Eck-Wappenstein entstand 1562 bei der Erstanlage des Innsbrucker Jesuitenkollegs, wobei eine um 1499 erbaute Salvatorkirche miteingebunden und in die Strasse hinein erweitert worden ist, der jüngere östliche Teil wurde erst 1672/73 nach dem Bau der heutigen Jesuitenkirche errichtet. Nach der vorübergehenden Auflösung des Jesuitenordens 1773, zog hier 1776 – Inschrift am Ostportal – die bis dahin an der Herrengasse . . . — Map (db m68444) HM|
|British Columbia, Colwood — Hatley Park|
|This superb example of an Edwardian park was laid out for James and Laura Dunsmuir in the early 20th century. At its centre stands a Tudor Revival mansion, whose picturesque design is enhanced by a rich array of decoration and fine craftsmanship. The grounds, featuring a variety of native and exotic vegetation, unfold from formal gardens to recreational spaces, farmlands and forests. Acquired by the Canadian armed forces in 1940, Hatley Park evolved to meet the needs of Royal Roads Military . . . — Map (db m70868) HM|
|British Columbia, Victoria — St. Ann's Academy — l'Académie St. Ann|
|For over a century, St. Ann's played an important role in the educational life of Western Canada. It served as the regional motherhouse for the Sisters of St. Ann, the major female Roman Catholic teaching and nursing order in British Columbia, which had opened its first school on the site in 1858. Inspired by convent designs in the Sisters' native Quebec, the Academy was built in three stages between 1871 and 1910. Among its notable features is the chapel, built as Victoria's first Roman . . . — Map (db m70880) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Metchosin — Metchosin Schoolhouse|
|In spring 1872, classes began in Metchosin schoolhouse with Mrs. Elizabeth Fisher teaching 7 girls and 3 boys. On land donated by John Witty and with its $300 cost shared equally by local settlers and the colonial government, it was the first new school building opened in British Columbia after confederation. In regular use to 1914 and reopened in 1942, it finally closed its doors in 1949. — Map (db m70867) HM|
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — First British Columbia School|
|On this site Rev. R.J. Staines and wife opened the first British Columbia School in 1849. In the same building of Fort Victoria the first Legislative Assembly met August 12th 1856.|
This plaque unveiled by Honorable Nancy Hodges, first woman speaker in the British Commonwealth, Speaker of British Columbia Legislature
August 12th, 1950 — Map (db m48521) HM
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — St. Ann’s Pioneer Schoolhouse|
| [English] St. Ann’s schoolhouse was purchased by Bishop Demers for the four sisters of the order of St. Ann who came from Quebec in June, 1858, to teach in Victoria. It is believed to be the oldest building in Victoria which is still in use, possibly built between 1843 and 1853. It was moved to its present site from the grounds of St. Ann’s Academy in 1974.|
Anncienne Ecole Sainte-Anne
En juin, 1858 l’Ecole Sainte-Anne a été achetée par Mgr. Demers pour les quatre . . . — Map (db m48864) HM
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — St. Ann’s Schoolhouse|
|This log cabin is one of the oldest buildings in western Canada. It was built in the French-Canadian fur trade post and sill style between 1843 and 1852.
Bishop Modeste Demers purchased it from carpenter Leon Morel in 1855 and transferred it to the Sisters of St. Ann to use as a schoolhouse. The Sisters arrived in June 5, 1858, living and teaching the children of colonial Victoria in this school which was their first convent.|
The first 12 students included Morel’s young daughter, Emilie, . . . — Map (db m48768) HM
|British Columbia (Capital Regional District), Victoria — The Sisters of St. Ann|
|In 1850, Marie Esther Blondin, now known as Blessed Marie Anne Blondin founded the Congregation of the Sisters of Saint Ann, a Roman Catholic religious order dedicated to education and nursing in Lachine, Quebec.|
Bishop Modeste Demers of Victoria went to the Sisters of St. Ann in Quebec to recruit volunteers to educate children. Her returned via Panama with Sister Mary Conception, Sister Mary Angèle, Sister Mary of the Sacred Heart, and Sister Mary Lumena.
On June 5, 1858, the Bishop . . . — Map (db m48767) HM
|British Columbia (Greater Vancouver Regional District), New Westminster — Carnegie Library — 1905 - 1958|
|This plaque was unveiled on October 21, 2000 as part of the New Westminster Public Libary's celebration of 135 years of service to the community. It commemorates the Carnegie Library which opened on March 5, 1905 on this site and continued to operate until November, 1958.
Industrialist and philanthropist Andrew Carnegie funded the construction of over 2,500 libraries around the world. The New Westminster Library was one of these and stood as a landmark in the community for 53 years. The . . . — Map (db m32130) HM|
|Manitoba, St. Andrews — Twin Oaks|
|Built in the mid-1850s, this house was the residence for a private girls’ school run by Matilda Davis until 1873. The school was supported by families of the Red River Settlement and by officers of the Hudson’s Bay Company from across western Canada who sent their daughters here to be educated as English ladies. The residence could board up to 40 girls. Along with two log classrooms it was used to teach French, music, drawing, dancing, needlework and deportment. The building survives as a fine . . . — Map (db m8450) HM|
|Ontario, Toronto — Mary Ann Shadd Cary — 1823 – 1893|
| Mary Ann Shadd Cary was an anti-slavery activist, an advocate for the rights of women, and a pioneering woman newspaper editor and publisher. The daughter of a free African American shoemaker and abolitionist, Shadd began a life of teaching at age 16 by founding a school for African American children in the slave state of Delaware. Following the passing of the Fugitive Slave act (1850), many escaped and free African Americans (like Shadd) sought refuge in Canada. Shadd moved to Windsor, . . . — Map (db m57756) HM|
|Ontario (Toronto), Toronto — Sir Daniel Wilson — 1816-1892|
A scholar of diverse interests and talents, Daniel Wilson was noted in Britain as the author and illustrator of studies of old Edinburgh and of Scottish prehistory. In 1853 he was appointed to the chair of history and English literature at the University of Toronto. Wilson introduced history, English and anthropology courses at the university and was active in the Canadian Institute, a leading scientific society. He vigorously defended the university's independence . . . — Map (db m37010) HM|
|El Salvador, San Salvador — Three Decades of Alberto Masferrer University|
|[Universidad Alberto Masferrer símbol y lema: Tres decadas formando ganadores]
La junta central de directores de la Universidad Salvadoreña Alberto Masferrer USAM
En conmemoración del trigésimo aniversario de su fundación, y con la colaboración del honorable Concejo Municipal de San Salvador presidido por el Sr. Alcalde Dr. Norman Quijano, erige este monumento como testimonio permanente de gratitud y reconocimiento a uno de los mejores hijos de nuestro querido El Salvador: . . . — Map (db m71225) HM|
|France, Aquitaine (Dordogne), Saint-Léon-sur-Vézère — Georges Grant MacCurdy|
|A la gloire du Professeur American Georges Grant MacCurdy 1865-1947 fondateur de la chaire de prehistoire française de l’Universite de Harvard et de la mission scientifique us des Eyzies et du prehistorien Louis Didon 1865-1927 de Perigueux pour leurs sensationnelles decouvertes dans cette region|
[English translation by Google Translate (with modifications):
In honor of Professor George Grant MacCurdy 1865-1947 American founder of the chair of French prehistory of Harvard University and . . . — Map (db m60389) HM
|Germany, Bavaria, Munich — The Church of Saint Michael — Sankt Michael|
Erbaut 1583 – 1597
Herzog Wilhelm V.
von Friedrich Sustris
German – English translation:
The Church of Saint Michael
by Friedrich Sustris
on behalf of
Duke Wilhelm V.
— Map (db m68740) HM|
|Germany, Bavaria, Nuremberg — Johann Neudörfer|
[Marker text in German:]
Hier stand bis
zum Jahre 1945
des Schreib- und
Geb. 1497, Gest. 1563
[Marker text translated into English:]
Here until 1945 stood the residence of the writing- and computational-master, Johann Neudoerfer. Born 1497, died 1563. — Map (db m58442) HM|
|Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Mansfeld-Südharz District), Lutherstadt Eisleben — Altes Gymnasium|
| 1563-1564 erbaut als „Fürnehme Lateinschule” auf Grund des „Luthervertrags” (1546), neu errichtet 1604
(nach Zerstörung bei Stadtbrand 1601).
Hier wirkte der geistliche Liederdichter Martin Rinckart 1610/11.
1883 Umzug des Königlich-Preußischen Gymnasiums in das neue Schulgebäude am Schloßplatz.
Built 1563-1564 as "Fürnehme Latin School" due to the "Luther Contract" (1546), rebuilt in 1604
(after . . . — Map (db m70314) HM|
|Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Mansfeld-Südharz District), Lutherstadt Eisleben — Martin Luther Quotes|
"For Christ commands us to be baptized and to believe in him. Even if we can believe so strongly not know, as we probably should, but God has patience with us."
(WA 51, 195, 17f)
"There is no poorer, lower, despised student on earth as God. It must be all the disciples. Everyone wants to be his schoolmasters and teachers."
(WA 51, 188, 10f.)
"For there should be true the Christian life because of the faith and friends truly bliss. But little of the sin that will . . . — Map (db m70315) HM|
|Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Mansfeld-Südharz District), Lutherstadt Eisleben — The Eisleber Mining School in the Katharinenstift 1817 - 1844 — Die Eisleber Bergschule im Katharinenstift 1817 – 1844|
• The development of mining in the town of Eisleben is connected closely with the “Bergschule”, or Mining School. At the start of the 18th century new scientific discoveries necessitated the education of specialists to ensure the long-term sustainability of mining in the area.
• In 1719 at a “General Meeting of the Trades of Eisleben and Hettestedt” it is decided that young miners should be taught higher mining and engineering knowledge. This . . . — Map (db m70311) HM|
|Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Mansfeld-Südharz District), Mansfeld-Lutherstadt — Luthers Schule / Luther's School|
Von 1488 - 96 besuchte Martin Luther diese Schule, wo er neben dem Schreiben, dem Singen und etwas Rechnen von allem Latein lernte. Die damals herrschenden Erziehungsmethoden haben sich dem Jungen unauslöslich eingeprägt.
Diese Erlebnisse wurden ein Ausgangspunkt sowohl für eine moderative Erziehung der eigenen Kinder als auch für seine späteren Reformbemühungen im Schulwesen.
From . . . — Map (db m70368) HM|
|Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Mansfeld-Südharz District), Mansfeld-Lutherstadt — Luthers Schule / Luther's School|
In diesem hause hat
Dr. Martin Luther
geboren am 10. November 1483
seiner ersten schulunterricht erhalten.
Gew. von Konsul
Georg Kaiser Berlin
This house is where
Dr. Martin Luther
born on November 10, 1483
received his first schooling
Weight[?] of consul
Georg Kaiser Berlin — Map (db m70371) HM|
|Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Wittenberg District), Lutherstadt Wittenberg — Johann Schneidewin — (1519 - 1568)|
Jurist, kurfürstl. Rat
Lawyer, Electoral Council
University Professor — Map (db m69782) HM|
|Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Wittenberg District), Lutherstadt Wittenberg — Johann von Staupitz — (um 1469 - 1524)|
Gründungsdekan der Theolog. Fakultät
Theologian, Augustinian Prior
Founding dean of the Theological Faculty — Map (db m70003) HM|
|Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Wittenberg District), Lutherstadt Wittenberg — Karl Ludwig Nitzsch — (1751 - 1831)|
Gründungsdirektor des Predigerseminars
Founding director of the Seminary — Map (db m70007) HM|
|Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Wittenberg District), Lutherstadt Wittenberg — Martin Luther House|
Hier lebte und wirkte
Dr. Martin Luther
von 1508 bis 1546.
Here lived and worked
Dr. Martin Luther
from 1508 to 1546. — Map (db m70061) HM|
|Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Wittenberg District), Lutherstadt Wittenberg — Michael Agricola|
Der Finnishe Reformater
studierte von 1536-1539
The Finnish reformer
studied from 1536-1539
in Wittenberg — Map (db m70063) HM|
|Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Wittenberg District), Lutherstadt Wittenberg — Nikolaus Ludwig, Graf v. Zinzendorf — (1700 - 1760)|
gründete Herrnhuter Brüdergemeine
studierte hier von 1716-1719
studied here from 1716-1719 — Map (db m69785) HM|
|Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Wittenberg District), Lutherstadt Wittenberg — Olga Gebauer — (1858 - 1922)|
Gründete deutschen Hebammenverband
studierte hier im Hebammenlehrinstitut
Founded the German
Confederation of Midwives
studied here in the
Midwifery Training Institute — Map (db m69848) HM|
|Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Wittenberg District), Lutherstadt Wittenberg — The Augusteum / Das Augusteum|
The Augusteum was built between 1564 and 1586 under the auspices of August I., Elector of Saxony. This building fulfilled various purposes for the Leucorea, Wittenberg's University. It was used as the medical faculty's institute for anatomy, as university library and for student accommodation, as well as an assembly hall. The Protestant Seminary, established in 1817, has always been located in this building and still today serves the practical education of pastors for their work in the . . . — Map (db m69999) HM|
|Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Wittenberg District), Lutherstadt Wittenberg — The Leucorea University / Die Universität Leucorea|
In 1502 Elector Frederick the Wise founded the old Wittenberg University under the name "Leucorea" as the first sovereign university. The Pope acknowledged it in 1507. Martin Pollich von Mellerstedt, the Elector's personal physician, was the university's first rector.
The Leucorea University attained European significance during the Reformation Movement. Martin Luther lectured here as a professor for biblical exegesis from 1512 onwards; Philipp Melanchthon was appointed in 1518.
An . . . — Map (db m69969) HM|
|Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Wittenberg District), Lutherstadt Wittenberg — The Luther House / Das Lutherhaus|
The Luther House was originally a monastery built for Augustinian Hermits between 1504 and 1507. Martin Luther entered the monastery as a monk in 1508. The monastery was dispersed in 1522 during the course of the Reformation Movement.
The Renaissance building was given to Luther in 1532 by the Elector John the Steadfast. Here Martin Luther, his wife Katharina von Bora and there [sic] children have lived for many years. They gave the students board and lodging.
Until 1816 the building . . . — Map (db m70054) HM|
|Germany, Saxony-Anhalt (Wittenberg District), Lutherstadt Wittenberg — The Melanchthon House / Das Melanchthonhaus|
This building was erected in 1536 for Philipp Schwarzerdt, one of the most significant German humanists and reformers, better known as Philipp Melanchthon. Melanchthon's family owned the house until 1604.
The three-storeyed gabled house has round arched niches as seats on both sides of the entrance; these can also be seen at the door to the Luther House
In 1967 a memorial of Philipp Melanchthon was opened in this house. To Melanchthon's 500th birthday in 1997, the house was restored . . . — Map (db m69974) HM|
|Ireland, Connacht (County Galway), Kinvara — Francis A. Fahy — 1854 - 1935|
Poet, Writer, Life-Long Worker
in the Irish Cause
was born in this house Sept. 29. 1854.
“For peace of mind I'll never find
until my own I call
that little Irish cailín
in her ould plaid shawl” — Map (db m28091) HM|
|Ireland, Connacht (County Mayo), Murrisk — Murrisk Friary / Mainistir Mhuraisce|
Murrisk - from Muraisc (Sea-marsh)
This small house of Augustinian friars, located here on the south shore of Clew Bay in the shadow of Croagh Patrick, was founded in 1457 by Hugh O'Malley. It was dedicated to St Patrick, some of whose relics were preserved here.
The only surviving buildings are the small church and the range of domestic buildings which bordered the cloister on its east side - the chapter house below, where the friars met to . . . — Map (db m27587) HM|
|Ireland, Connacht (County Roscommon), Strokestown — Mahon Dower House|
Mahon Dower House
in 1740's later used as
Scoil Mhuire Secondary
School until 1967 — Map (db m27538) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — Haslam Memorial Seat|
| In 1925 a finely sculptured garden seat of Kilkenny limestone was placed in the park and inscribed on the back - “Anna Marie, 1829 - 1922 and Thomas Haslam, 1825 - 1917. This seat is erected in commemoration [sic - ‘honour’] of their long years of public service, chiefly devoted to the enfranchisement of women." [From Monuments of St. Stephen's Green marker found in the park] — Map (db m22485) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — Margaret Anna Cusack — 1829 - 1899|
| Margaret Anna Cusack was born on this site on May 6th 1829. At the time York Street was a centre of medicine. She was the daughter of Sara and Dr. Samuel Cusack. Her uncle was the interationally renowned surgeon James William Cusack, 3-times President of the Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland.
She became an Anglican Sister but in 1861 converted to Catholicism and moved to Kenmare in County Kerry. Here, under the pseudonym of the “Nun of Kenmare”, she wrote on all aspects of . . . — Map (db m22454) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — Oscar Wilde House|
1854 - 1900
Poet, Dramatist, Wit
1855 to 1878 — Map (db m24754) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Dublin), Dublin — Saint Patrick’s Park — Páirc Naomh Pádraig|
| Tradition has it that Saint Patrick baptised the first Irish Christians in a well, situated here in St. Patrick's Park, with water from the River Poddle, which still flows underground. A small wooden church was erected here to commemorate the event. The parish church on this site was known as Saint Patrick's in Insula (on the island) because it was located on an island between two branches of the River Poddle. In 1191 John Comyn, the first Anglo-Norman Archbishop of Dublin, gave the church the . . . — Map (db m22468) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Fingal), Howth — St Mary's Church / Eaglais Mhuire|
| Howth from Old Norse Hofuth (a promontory);
Binn Éadair (the hill of Éadar) is the Irish name.
This church, dedicated to the Blessed Virgin Mary, was collegiate; that is, it was served by a college or community of clerics, one of whom had responsibility for liturgy within the church as well as for matters of business. The house where the community lived stands to the south of the church.
The earliest church here was built by Sitric, King of Dublin, in 1042. It . . . — Map (db m27183) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Louth), Monasterboice — Monasterboice / Mainistir Bhuithe|
| Monasterboice — from Mainistir Bhuithe (the Monastery of Buithe)
This is the only early Irish monastery whose name incorporates the Irish word mainistir.
Monasterboice was founded by St Buite, who died around 520.
The monastery was an important centre of spirituality and learning for many centuries until the Cistercians arrived at nearby Mellifont in 1142.
The two churches which stand on the site today were probably built no earlier than the end of the 14th . . . — Map (db m24628) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Meath), Bective — Bective Abbey / Mainistir Bheigtí|
| Bective Abbey — from Mainistir Bheigthí (Abbey of Beigtheach)
This Cistercian abbey was founded in 1147 as a “daughter house” of Mellifont Abbey.
The community here was Anglo-Norman. In 1386 men of Irish birth were effectively barred from entering the monastery. The cloister (a covered walkway for contemplation and prayer) and the domestic buildings where the monks lived and worked, were rebuilt on a smaller scale in the 15th century. Two sections of this . . . — Map (db m24752) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Meath), Fordstown — Girley / Fordstown — Meath Villages|
| An introduction to Fordstown
Fordstown is named after the Norman-Irish Ford family, who lived in the area. One part of the townland is sometimes referred to as Ballaghboy. Today, Fordstown is a growing, vibrant community. ‘Fordstown Street Fair’ is an old world fair, hosted by Fordstown in October each year since 2004. Fordrew Rovers
Fordrew Rovers Football Club was formed in 1997 and play in Drewstown. They progressed from Division 4A to Division 1 in four years. They won . . . — Map (db m27318) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Meath), Kells — Catherine Dempsey|
| Here rest the remains of
Silvester O'Dempsey Esq.
Who departed this life the 31 Dec. 1817
In the 70 year of his age
of the most steady Friendship
Unblemished Integrity extensive charity
This frail Memorial of imperishable
regard is inscribed as a record of the
tenderest Affection to his Memory
by his Daughter Catherine ODempsey
died 22nd August 1837
In her charity she bequeathed
her entire property
to further . . . — Map (db m26423) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Meath), Kells — Kells Round Tower — Kells Heritage Trail|
| This tower is located on the grounds of St Columba's church and was built in the 10th century as part of the early Christian monastery. Such towers were referred to as a cloigteach meaning bell tower. Modelled on early Italian belfries, they were used as lookout towers and as places of refuge during attack, particularly from Norse invaders.
The tower is ninety feet high from the original street level to the base of its roof and has six floors but no internal staircase. Access to the upper . . . — Map (db m26440) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Meath), Kells — Market Cross — Kells Heritage Trail|
| This 9th century high cross, the cross of the gate of the Kells monastery, is one of five high crosses still surviving in Kells. The cross of the gate, currently at or near its original site, was a termon cross and signified that a fugitive could claim sanctuary once inside the boundary of the monastic area.
The carved faces of the high crosses depict scenes from the Old and New Testament and were used primarily for the religious instruction of the faithful. These scenes may originally have . . . — Map (db m27341) HM|
|Ireland, Leinster (County Meath), Trim — Newtowntrim Cathedral / Ardeaglais an Bhaile Nua — Cathedral of Saints Peter and Paul — Ardeaglais nPheadair agus nPhóil|
| The priory of Newtowntrim was founded in 1202 by Simon de Rochfort, Bishop of Meath, for a community of Augustinian canons (priests). As well as functioning as part of the monastery, the church became the cathedral for the diocese of Meath after Simon petitioned the Pope to transfer his cathedral from Clonard to this site, where it could be protected by the great Norman castle at Trim.
The Cathedral of Saints Peter and Paul was one of the largest and most sophisticated churches built in . . . — Map (db m27240) HM|
|Ireland, Munster (County Limerick), Abbeyfeale — Reverend William Casey|
| His grateful fellow countrymen at home and beyond the seas have erected this monument to the memory of Rev. William Casey, for a quarter of a century prior to his death, the parish priest of this parish. He found his people struggling in the toils of landlordism: he left them owners of the soil and freemen. By his death, religion lost a shining light; the cause of temperance a strenuous advocate; the poor without distinction of creed, an ever helpful friend; and Ireland a devoted son. But . . . — Map (db m24739) HM|
|Ireland, Ulster (County Donegal), Letterkenny — The Cathedral Square|
St. Eunan's Cathedral
Work began on Saint Eunan and Saint Colmcille's Catholic Cathedral in 1890. It was designed by William Hague. It is built of white stone from Mountcharles and cost £300,000. The ceilings are the work of Amici of Rome, while the wonderful stained glass windows, which illuminate the Sanctuary and the Lady Chapel, are by the Mayer firm of Munich. The carvings show stories from the lives of Saint Eunan and Colmcille. It was dedicated in 1901. The spire stands at 212 . . . — Map (db m71548) HM|
|Philippines, Laguna, Los Baños — Pook ng Bilangguang Kampo sa Los Baños — "Los Baños Internment Camp"|
| Panel 1: Pook ng Bilangguang Kampo sa Los Baños Ginamit ng mga Hapones bilang bilangguang kampo para sa mga bihag na Amerikano at ibang banyaga noong 1943. Nilusob ng pinagsanib na pangkat ng gerilyang Filipino mula sa mga kasapi ng ROTC Hunters, Hukbalahap ika-48 iskwadron tsino. Sariling Pangkat ni Pangulong Quezon, Pangkat Marking, at iba pang di-regular na tropa noong 23 Pebrero 1945. Ang pinagsanib na puwersa ay inorganisa ni Tinyente Koronel Gustavo Ingles na kasapi ng Hunters at . . . — Map (db m63618) HM WM|
|Philippines, Manila, Intramuros — Ateneo de Manila|
|Here once stood the Ateneo de Manila. Founded in 1817 as Escuela Pia de Manila. Administered by government in 1831 and renamed Escuela Municipak de Manila. Turned over to the Jesuits in 1859. Renamed Ateneo Municipak de Manila in 1865. Exclusive ownership given to Jesuits in 1901. Named shortened to Ateneo de Manila. Gutted by fire in 1932. Grade school rebuilt in Intramuros while rest of the campus moved to Ermita, Manila. Destroyed during World War II. Moved to Loyola Heights, Quezon City in 1952. — Map (db m25162) HM|
|Philippines, Manila, Intramuros — Beaterio-Colegio de Santa Catalina|
|Here once stood the Beaterio-Colegio de Santa Catalina. Order founded in 1633 by Mother Francisca del Espiritu Santo. Known as Dominican Sisters of the Tertiary Order. Order recognized by King in 1716. Authorized to offer teacher-training courses in 1863 and confer academic degrees of Maestra Normal 1889.
New building constructed in 1939. Destroyed in 1941. Moved to Legarda Street in Sampaloc in 1942. School in Sampaloc built in 1951. Convent moved to Quezon City in 1962. — Map (db m25275) HM|
|Philippines, Manila, Intramuros — Colegio de Santa Isabel|
|Here once stood the Colegio de Santa Isabel. Founded in 1632 by the Hermandad de la Santa Misericordia. Granted royal patronage in 1733. Administered by Daughters of Charity since 1862. First office of the Monte de Piedad y Caja de Ahoras de Manila opened in 1882. Damaged by earthquake in 1863 and fire in 1932. Destroyed during the Battle of Manila in 1945. School and church transferred to Taft Avenue, Manila after the war. — Map (db m25163) HM|
|Philippines, Manila, Intramuros — Colegio de Santa Rosa|
|Here stands the Colegio de Santa Rosa. Founded in 1750 by Mother Paula de Santissima Trinidad. Formerly called Beaterio y Casa Ensenanza and administered to the needs of the Filipina orphans. Granted royal patronage in 1774. Administration transferred to the Real Audiencia in 1782. Given to the Daughters of Charity in 1866 and renamed Colegio de Santa Rosa.
Building damaged in 1863 and 1880 earthquakes. New three-story building built. Destroyed in 1941. School reopened in Santa Mesa, . . . — Map (db m25282) HM|
|Philippines, Manila, Intramuros — College of San Juan de Letran — Colegio de San Juan de Letran|
|Founded by Diego de Santa Maria, O.P., in 1630. This institution absorbed the school of Juan Geronimo Guerrero in 1638. In 1648, after its building had been detroyed by the earthquake of 1645. The College was removed to the Parian, on which site it has remained since 1669. Its Tercentenary was celebrated in 1930. This remodeled building was blessed on October 31, 1937, by Rev. Martin Guillet, O.P.
A separate marker about the College of San Juan de Letran, seen in the picture below, . . . — Map (db m25274) HM|
|Philippines, Manila, Intramuros — Manila High School|
|In Tagalog: Ang paaralang ito ay naitatag ng mga Kastila sa utos ng Ayuntamiento de Manila sa daang Victoria, Intramuros noong 1892. Pinangalanang "Escuela Municipal de Manila". Dito rin itinatag ng mga Amerikano ang kauna-unahang paaralang bayan sa ilalim ng kanilang pamamahala noong Hunyo 11,1906 sa pangalang "Manila High School". Naging "Manila South" at muling pinagalanang "Manila High School". Ito ang una at tanging mataas ng paaralang bayan isinunod sa pangalan ng Punong Lungsod . . . — Map (db m25235) HM|
|Philippines, Manila, Intramuros — Plazuela de Santa Isabel — Plaza Sampalucan|
|Made part of Santa Isabel College which lacked an open space characteristic of Spanish buildings. Empty lot called Sampalucan along Calle Anda joined to enlarge plazuela in the 18th century.
Restored in 1983. Monument dedicated to the non-combatant victims of the last war erected in 1995 by Memorare Manila 1945. — Map (db m25164) HM|
|Philippines, Manila, Intramuros — University of Santo Tomas — Universidad de Santo Tomas — UST|
|Here once stood the Univerity of Santo Tomas, the oldest university in Asia. Founded in 1611. First called Colegio Seminario de Santo Tomas de Nuestra del Rosario. Authorized to grant academic degrees in 1624. Raised to the rank of University in 1645. Given royal patronage in 1680. Granted the titles Royal in 1785 and Pontifical in 1902. Campus moved to Sampaloc, Manila in 1927. Building destroyed in 1945 during Battle of Manila. Granted the title of The Catholic . . . — Map (db m25286) HM|
|Philippines, Metro Manila, Sampaloc, Manila — University of Santo Tomas — Universidad de Sto. Tomas — Main Building|
| Panel 1: Founded in 1611 by legacy of Archbishop Miguel de Benevides. Authorized to confer degrees in 1624. Granted university privileges in 1645 by Innocent X upon Philip IV’s request. Made a royal university in 1785 by Charles III and a pontifical university in 1902 by Leo XIII. Oldest university under the American flag. This building designed and constructed under the supervision of Rev. Roque Ruaño, O.P., was solemnly inaugurated on July 2, 1927. Panel 2:
Commemorating the . . . — Map (db m63816) HM|
|Switzerland, Lucerne (Lucerne (District)) — The "Donkey Stall" Schoolhouse — Schulhaus Eselstall|
|Das Haus wurde 1662 von den Ursulinen als Schulhaus für den Mädchenunterricht erworben.
1739 teilweise neu errichtet. Im Erdgeschoss am Löwengraben Stallungen, welche dem Haus wahrscheinlich den Namen gegeben haben.
Das Haus dient noch heute als Schulhaus.
Fussgängerverbindung zum Löwengraben,
genannt << Eseltritt >>, erstellt 1966.
Unter Denkmalschutz seit 1964
The building was purchased in 1662 by the Ursuline Sisters as a school . . . — Map (db m67701) HM|
|Switzerland, Valais (Visp (District)), Zermatt — Rudolf Taugwalder|
|Rudolf Taugwalder 1867 – 1953
Betreuer des Alpinen Museums
1909 – 1944 und Bergfuehrer
Ararat 1893 Himalaya 1898 Nord-
Gipfel Hlascaran 1908
In Dankbarkeit Seiler Hotels, Zermatt
Rudolf Taugwalder 1867 - 1953
Supervisor of the Alpine Museum
1909 - 1944 and Mountain Guide
Ararat 1893 Himalaya 1898
North Summit Hlascaran 1908
In gratitude Seiler Hotels, Zermatt — Map (db m68003) HM|
|United Kingdom, Northern Ireland (County Londonderry), Derry-Londonderry — George Farquhar — c. 1677 - 1707 — Ulster History Circle|
attended the Free School
near this site — Map (db m70992) HM|
|United Kingdom, Northern Ireland (County Londonderry), Derry-Londonderry — Shipquay Street|
Living above the 'shop'
Many banks and offices started life as 18th and 19th century family houses. The building at the corner of Shipquay Street and Bank Place was both home and place of business for the manager of the Belfast Bank. On 7th December 1888 there was much excitement when the manager's daughter gave birth to a son in one of the bedrooms. The son became the famous 20th century novelist Joyce Cary. Childhood holidays in Inishowen inspired his prize-winning 'House of . . . — Map (db m71140) HM|
|United Kingdom, Northern Ireland (County Londonderry), Derry-Londonderry — Verbal Arts Centre|
The Former First Derry Primary School was established on the city walls as a Blue Coat School in 1773 and moved to this site in 1894. The (listed) building was purchased in 1996 and then renovated by the Verbal Arts Centre: it has been designed to provide Ireland's first home for the literary arts.
The Centre offers a range of unique resources in its support of verbal creativity - library; children's storytelling theatre; debating chamber; exhibition, lecture and performance spaces; . . . — Map (db m70998) HM|
|Alabama (Autauga County), Prattville — Daniel Pratt Cemetery / George Cooke|
|(Front): Daniel Pratt CemeteryFinal resting place of early Alabama industrialist Daniel Pratt, 1799-1873, and wife Esther Ticknor Pratt, 1803-1875. He was from New Hampshire and she, Connecticut. Married 1827 at Fortville, Jones County, Georgia.
The former carpenter’s apprentice practiced his craft in Milledgeville, Ga. Where he gained skill in building and design. In 1832 Pratt came to Alabama to build cotton gins. Esther encouraged Pratt to remain in Alabama in order for him . . . — Map (db m27957) HM|
|Alabama (Autauga County), Prattville — Sidney Lanier — Musician - Poet - Patriot - Seer|
|Beloved teacher of Prattville Academy
1867 • on this site • 1868
whose memory will be forever
cherished by people of Prattville, Ala.
whom he loved and served — Map (db m70820) HM|
|Alabama (Autauga County), Prattville — Sidney Lanier/Prattville Male and Female Academy Site|
The poet and musician, born in Macon, Georgia, was Academy principal in 1867-68. He married Mary H. Day of Macon in December 1867. In Prattville, they lived at the Mims Hotel and later in Dr. S.P. Smith's home.
Following a brief legal career in Georgia, Lanier became first flutist in 1873 with the Peabody Orchestra in Baltimore and in 1879 was appointed as lecturer in English Literature at Johns Hopkins University.
He wrote the words . . . — Map (db m70802) HM|
|Alabama (Baldwin County), Stockton — Historic Stockton / Old Schoolyard Park|
Modern Stockton is situated on a hill just above the original settlement, which was abandoned around 1840 because of Yellow Fever outbreaks. No verified source for the town name exists. Most likely it was named by the local postmaster. The Indian mounds located near Stockton are witnesses of a prehistoric Indian population in the area. In the latter 1700s, Stockton was the most populous settlement in this area, excepting Mobile. Some records indicate the . . . — Map (db m66390) HM|
|Alabama (Barbour County), Blue Springs — Blue Springs School 1920-1969|
|The Blue Springs School was first established in 1920. The land was donated by Henry H Shepard. The Plans were drawn by the State School architect. The lumber was donated by citizens of the community and prepared at A.S. Knight’s sawmill. Other financial needs were donated by local citizens, county board of education, and state aid for schoolhouse construction. Old Bethel, Anderson, and Old Blue Springs were consolidated to form the new school. The school was opened in 1921 for the first year . . . — Map (db m60680) HM|
|Alabama (Barbour County), Clio — Barbour County High School|
|Established under an Act of the Alabama Legislature in 1907, the school was built entirely by local initiative. It was completed in 1910 and occupied initially in September of that year.
Consistently characterized by faculties of dedication and excellence, students were the recipients of vast educational advantages. From its hallowed halls have departed thousands of educated, disciplined students prepared for careers and all blessed by the institution.
Last used as a school in 1961, . . . — Map (db m71798) HM|
|Alabama (Barbour County), Eufaula — Fendall Hall — The Young - Dent Home|
Built between 1856 and 1860 by Edward Brown Young and his wife, Ann Fendall Beall, this was one of the first of the great Italianate style homes constructed in Eufaula. It later became the home of the builders’ daughter, Anna Beall Young, and her husband, Stouten Hubert Dent. The Dents renovated the house in the 1880s in the styles and colors then popular, and hired a Mr. LaFranc to stencil and paint the ceilings and walls of the hall, parlor, and dining room. These three . . . — Map (db m33759) HM|
|Alabama (Barbour County), Eufaula — Old Negro Cemetery / Fairview Cemetery|
| Front Interred on this gently sloping hillside are the remains of many of Eufaula’s early black citizens. Their names are known only to God because the wooden grave markers which located the burials have long since vanished. This burying ground was used until about 1870 when black interments were moved to Pine Grove Cemetery. In addition to the “Old Negro Cemetery”, there are at least five other graveyards including the Jewish, Presbyterian, Masonic Odd Fellows and Public . . . — Map (db m27987) HM|
|Alabama (Bibb County), Six Mile — Site of Six Mile Male And Female Academy|
|Years before 1859, two acres of land were donated for a school by Mr. and Mrs. Good. A two-story wooden structure was built. Among its first teachers were John Alexander, W. J. Peters, R. M. Humphries, and R. H. Pratt. Under Pratt’s leadership the academy made great progress.
The Academy trained scores of Ministerial students. — Map (db m37054) HM|
|Alabama (Bibb County), Six Mile — Six Mile Male & Female Academy Site — ← 300 Yards|
|Incorporated in 1859 though organized earlier and operated continuously through 1897. First trustees were William P. Thomas, Leroy T. McGuire, Ezekiel C. Smith, Simpson W. Hederick and Pulaski Wallace. This noted center of learning in Bibb County achieved greatest prominence under Capt. Richard H. Pratt who served as headmaster from 1858-1861, when he joined Confederate Army, and from 1872-1896. Original buildings burned in 1897, were replaced following year and name changed to Six Mile Normal . . . — Map (db m37053) HM|
|Alabama (Blount County), Oneonta — Bailey School — 1893 - 1951|
|William M. Bailey (born 1859 in Cherokee Co.; died 1909 in Blount Co.) settled 40 acres on what became Co. Rd 36 to the west and New Home Church Rd to the east in 1893. He brought three small sons from Cherokee Co. after the death of his first wife and their mother, Julie Law Bailey. Remarrying in 1887, Bailey had ten more children with Ollie McMillan Bailey. He deeded one acre on SW corner for a school and an adjoining acre on E for a church. The first school on the site, Bailey himself built . . . — Map (db m42599) HM|
|Alabama (Bullock County), Midway — Old Merritt School Midway Community Center|
|Margaret Elizabeth Merritt of Midway sold two acres for $5 to the state of Alabama in 1921 as a site for an elementary school for African-American children. Built in 1922 with matching Rosenwald funds, the Midway Colored Public School featured oak and pine construction and two classrooms divided by a partition. The building is one of the few surviving of the more than 5,000 rural black schools built with contributions from the Julius Rosenwald Fund. Enlarged twice, then renovated in 1978, it is . . . — Map (db m60910) HM|
|Alabama (Bullock County), Union Springs — Sardis Baptist Church, Cemetery, and School|
Settlers from the Edgefield District, South Carolina, organized the Sardis Baptist Church on June 10, 1837. The first building, a log cabin, was constructed in 1841 after John M. and his wife Amy Youngblood Dozier deeded four and one-half acres to the church for a building and cemetery. The present building, constructed in the 1850s, is an exceptionally fine example of rural antebellum church architecture of Greek Revival style. Relatively unaltered since construction, its . . . — Map (db m67552) HM|
|Alabama (Butler County), Greenville — Confederate Park/Greenville City Hall-Site of Public School|
Confederate Park was created in 1897 as a joint effort of the Father Ryan Chapter of the United Daughters of the Confederacy and the City of Greenville, with First United Methodist Church providing the Park site. The sixteen-foot marble statue of a Confederate soldier was erected in the center of the park in 1903 and is a well known landmark. The Park serves the community as an outdoor center for concerts and festivals. Sponsored by the Sasanqua Garden . . . — Map (db m70749) HM|
|Alabama (Calhoun County), Jacksonville — "The Magnolias" — Home of Clarence William Daugette — B. Sc., M. Sc., LL. D. 1873-1942|
|Dean of American College Presidents
President of Jacksonville State Normal-State Teachers College 1899-1942
During an Educational Renascence in the South he was in the forefront of the Alabama Educational System
President 1st National Bank 1934-1942
He married Anne Rowan Forney (1897) Daughter of General John H. Forney and Septima Sexta Middleton Rutledge — Map (db m29922) HM|
|Alabama (Calhoun County), Jacksonville — Jacksonville State University|
| This Educational Center of
Northeast Alabama Traces its Origin to
Jacksonville Male Academy 1836
Jacksonville Female Academy 1837
Calhoun College 1871
Calhoun Grange College 1878
State Normal School 1883
State Teachers College 1929
Jacksonville State College 1957
Jacksonville State University 1966
Erected February 22, 1983 in observance of the Institution’s Centennial Celebration — Map (db m36426) HM|
|Alabama (Calhoun County), Jacksonville — Jacksonville, Alabama — “Gem of the Hills”|
|Life here has long centered on education beginning in 1834 when a one-acre plot of land was reserved for a schoolhouse. Through the years, various institutions of higher learning developed that culminated into present-day Jacksonville State University. Land that was to become Jacksonville was purchased from Creek Indian Chief Ladiga in 1833. Originally called Drayton, its name was changed to Jacksonville in 1836. Jacksonville experienced a rich heritage as the county seat of Calhoun County. Its . . . — Map (db m36429) HM|
|Alabama (Calhoun County), Jacksonville — Presidents of Jacksonville State|
| James G. Ryals, Jr. 1883-1885
J. Harris Chappell 1885-1886
Carleton B. Gibson 1886-1892
J. B. Jarrett 1892-1893
Jacob Forney, IV 1893-1899
Clarence William Daugette 1899-1942
Houston Cole 1942-1971
Ernest Stone 1971-1981
Theron E. Montgomery 1981-1986
Harold J. McGee 1986-1999
William A. Meehan 1999 — Map (db m36427) HM|
|Alabama (Chambers County), Valley — Fairfax Kindergarten|
|Built in 1916, the kindergarten was one of five original public buildings in the Fairfax Mill Village. Each mill village had an efficient, attractive, and well kept kindergarten for children ages four to six. LaFayette Lanier, Sr. was the inspiration for the kindergarten system that was put into operation. In his newsletter of July 16, 1917, William Teagin, Alabama Superintendent of Education, commended West Point Manufacturing Company for its commitment to education. The kindergarten was in operation until 1983 and is now privately owned. — Map (db m71634) HM|
|Alabama (Chambers County), Valley — Lanier High School|
The school was located at three different sites on Cherry Drive. Its beginning was in The Blue Hall Building adjacent to Goodsell Methodist Church. Later it was moved to the Dallas/Jackson Home and became the Jackson Hill School. In 1921, George H. Lanier provided funds to annex high school space. It became a part of Lanett City Schools, and the name changed to Lanier High. Lanier High was accredited in 1935 and six students constituted the first graduating class. The Darden . . . — Map (db m71638) HM|
|Alabama (Chilton County), Clanton — Chilton County Training School 1924-1969|
|The Chilton County Training School (CCTS) was the only facility in the county that provided a secondary education for black boys and girls until the mid-1960s. In 1924 black landowners donated five acres for the school to the Board of Education who later purchased an additional five acres. A fire in 1949 mostly destroyed the original building, which had been constructed with assistance from the Rosenwald School Fund. The building was rebuilt in 1951 and upgraded in the early 1960s. Students . . . — Map (db m54656) HM|
|Alabama (Coffee County), Clintonville — Clintonville Academy — January 11, 1860|
|Chartered as Clintonville Male and Female Academy. Building erected 1860: occupied January, 1861. The first school in Coffee County to teach beyond the sixth grade. Clintonville, for many years, was recognized as the cultural and educational center of the county.
This area was first known as Indigo Head. In 1845 one of the first voting precincts was located here. Clintonville post office established June 16, 1849.
Some of pioneer families were – Fleming, Brooks, Hutchison, . . . — Map (db m54787) HM|
|Alabama (Coffee County), Elba — Site of Curtis School — Early 1900’s to 1967|
|Curtis School was organized in the early 1900’s and was originally located ½ mile south, where New Ebenezer Baptist Church now stands. A new school was built on this site in 1929 when Curtis, Mt. Zion, and Rhodes Schools were consolidated. Danley’s Crossroads School joined Curtis School in 1931. The building burned in 1940 and was rebuilt in 1941. After the school closed in 1967, it was vacant for a few years until it was destroyed by fire.
E. C. Griffin served as the last principal. . . . — Map (db m54741) HM|
|Alabama (Coffee County), Enterprise — Enterprise Academy — Founded 1904|
Beloved leader and principal of this institution, later known as Carroll Street School, was William M. Donald (1870-1941)
His philosophy of education: "Apply yourself. Excellence is attained through self discipline and hard work. Learn the rules. Gain knowledge. Knowledge is power. No one can take it away from you." — Map (db m71880) HM|
|Alabama (Colbert County), Leighton — LaGrange College|
|This is the site of LaGrange College Chartered in 1830 by act of the Legislature of Alabama An Institution of High Order for men attending chiefly by students from the southern states.
The college was burned April 28, 1863 by Federal Cavalry Commanded by Colonel Florence M. Cornyn under General Grandville Dodge.
Bishop Robert Paine 1830-1846
Dr. Edward Wadsworth 1846-1852
James W. Hardy 1852-1853
Rev. Smith Moore 3 months 1853
Dr. R. H. Rivers 1854-1855
Rev. Felix . . . — Map (db m35762) HM|
|Alabama (Colbert County), Muscle Shoals — Howell & Graves School|
Muscle Shoals City was incorporated on April 24, 1923. Among the leading developers were New York realtors A.L. Howell and C.T. Graves. Their interest in Muscle Shoals was inspired by the vision of Henry Ford to use power from Wilson Dam and the Nitrate Plants to "employ one million workers and build a city 75 miles wide." Although Ford's vision remained unfulfilled, Howell & Graves helped develop the town by building the first City Hall, bungalows, a service station, and . . . — Map (db m28580) HM|
|Alabama (Colbert County), Sheffield — Village One|
| Front In 1918, during World War I, the U.S. Government built this unique village of 85 bungalows, school, and officers barracks to house personnel at nearby Nitrate Plant No. 1. Prefabricated and standard size materials were used in construction along with red tile roofs and stucco exteriors. Streets were laid out in an unusual "Liberty Bell" design.
Reverse The Village was owned by TVA from 1933~1949. Its employees occupied the houses and their children attended a . . . — Map (db m28577) HM|
|Alabama (Colbert County), Tuscumbia — Ivy Green — Birthplace of Helen Keller|
|The Family Home of Captain Arthur M. & Kate Adams Keller was build 1820, being the second house erected in Tuscumbia.
Here on June 27, 1880 was born America's First Lady of Courage
Helen Adams Keller — Map (db m29089) HM|
|Alabama (Colbert County), Tuscumbia — William Winston Home|
|Construction on the home which became the center building of Deshler High School was begun in 1824 by Clark T. Barton. William Winston purchased and completed the Georgian-style dwelling in 1833. The largest remaining antebellum house in Tuscumbia, it features a winding staircase, eight fireplaces, and ten original closets along with an inscription on the cellar wall written during the Union occupation saying: "It is a damn shame to destroy this mansion." Original log kitchen placed at N.W. . . . — Map (db m28565) HM|
|Alabama (Crenshaw County), Highland Home — Site of Highland Home College|
|A pioneer institution organized in 1889 by Justus M. Barnes, Samuel Jordan and Milton L. Kirkpatrick. This was an extension of Strata Academy, founded in 1856 by Barnes six miles north in Strata. In 1881 Strata Academy was moved to Highland Home and the name changed to Highland Home Institute.
From its inception, the school was coeducational. It brought culture to pioneer Alabama—music, foreign languages, science, literature and drama as well as “The Three R’s.” Although . . . — Map (db m72058) HM|
|Alabama (Dallas County), Beloit — The Beloit Industrial Institute|
|Marker Front: The Beloit Industrial Institute was founded in 1888 by Industrial Missionary Association, an area subdivision of the American Missionary Associations. The President of the Association, Dr. Charles B. Curtis, was a Presbyterian missionary and educator from Wisconsin who established the school and founded the Beloit community. Dr. Curtis named the community for his Alma Mater, Beloit College in Wisconsin. The Beloit Industrial Institute gained recognition as the first . . . — Map (db m22142) HM|
|Alabama (DeKalb County), Fort Payne — Sequoyah — (1760-1843)|
|Born in Tennessee, Sequoyah moved to Wills Town (DeKalb County, Alabama) area of the Cherokee Nation in 1818.
Here, in 1821, he invented an 86 symbol alphabet providing the Cherokees with the only written Indian language in the United States.
(Sequoyah, Maker Cherokee Alphabet) — Map (db m28033) HM|
|Alabama (DeKalb County), Fort Payne — Wills Town Mission|
|The mission was established in 1823 by the American Board of Missions to further education and Christianity among the Cherokee Indians. Mission operated until the Indian removal in 1838.
Grave site of Reverend Ard Hoyt, first superintendent, marks the location of the mission near the corner of 38th Street and Godfrey Avenue. — Map (db m28035) HM|
|Alabama (DeKalb County), Valley Head — Site of Cherokee Council Tree|
The giant Black Spanish Oak
Taught his newly invented
Tree felled by a storm
1934 — Map (db m28036) HM|
|Alabama (Elmore County), Holtville — Holtville School|
|In the late 1930's and early 1940's Holtville School won national acclaim as one the foremost examples of the progressive education movement in the U.S. It was one of 33 southern schools in 1938 chosen to receive financial support in developing new educational methods. Under the direction of Mr. James Chrietzberg, principal, new educational practices were developed largely by local participants. A commitment to progressive reform was established which continued throughout the 1940's to focus on . . . — Map (db m19737) HM|
|Alabama (Elmore County), Wetumpka — Elmore County Training School|
|Constructed in 1924 on five acres, this building was one of nine schools constructed in Elmore County with funding assistance from the Julius Rosenwald Fund. Between 1912-32, Julius Rosenwald, a Jewish philanthropist and CEO of Sears, Roebuck and Company teamed up with Booker T. Washington and Tuskegee Institute to provide matching grants for the construction of school buildings for African Americans in mostly rural areas of the South. This collaborative effort produced more than 5,000 of these . . . — Map (db m70548) HM|
|Alabama (Etowah County), Gadsden — Eleventh Street School|
|The Eleventh Street School, built in 1907, was one of the earliest elementary schools in Gadsden. It is the only local surviving school building of that era.
This two-story red brick structure has solid masonry exterior walls and an entrance which feature limestone columns, an entablature of the Ionic order, and a Palladian-style window.
In 1926 the original architect, Alexander Duncan Simpson, designed an addition of eight classrooms and a lunchroom.
After closing in December 1962, the . . . — Map (db m39133) HM|
|Alabama (Franklin County), Red Bay — Red Bay School|
|The first school building was built around 1900 by local citizens. The building was located just across from the Methodist Church. The building was a one-room structure & there were 2 teachers who taught at the school. All pupils walked to school & had to walk to a spring to get their water. The next Red Bay School was located where our Bay Tree Park is now. That school was also a white frame building. The school was described as having four rooms downstairs, three rooms upstairs, & an . . . — Map (db m68985) HM|
|Alabama (Hale County), Greensboro — Southern University|
|Merged in 1918 as part of
Birmingham Southern College.
Founded here in 1856
by Methodist Church.
Weathered War and Reconstruction
to prosper in late 1800’s.
Moved to Birmingham in 1918
on merger with Birmingham College,
founded in 1896 by Methodist. — Map (db m33748) HM|
|Alabama (Henry County), Abbeville — Henry County Training School — Established 1914|
|Founded by Laura L. Ward. Building designed and constructed by Jim McCauley on land given by Glass Maybin. Classes began Sept., 1917. Principals who served school were: J. H. Jackson, W. R. Rosser, Felix Blackwood, Sr., and William B. Ward, Sr. First teachers were: Laura L. Ward, Bertha Matthews and Mattie Belle.
School operated for 53 years until closed June 30, 1970. During this time it served as principal educational center for black citizens of Henry County, graduating a total of 1297 students. — Map (db m71809) HM|
|Alabama (Henry County), Abbeville — The Southeast Alabama Agricultural School / First Free Secondary School|
| Side 1
The Southeast Alabama Agricultural School
This school and experiment station was created by Alabama Legislative Act No. 579, February 28, 1889. This was the first school in Alabama to offer free secondary education. SAAS was also the state's and Auburn’s first junior college. Probate Judge John B. Ward is known as the "father of the college". He lobbied for a two story brick building which finally was completed in 1898. The first 1889 classes were held at The . . . — Map (db m71808) HM|
|Alabama (Henry County), Lawrenceville — Lawrenceville / Lawrenceville Academy|
This early cultural, educational and religious center was settled in 1823 and named for Joseph Lawrence, prominent pioneer, farmer, and extensive land owner. A Baptist and a Methodist Church were established here prior to 1830. The first settlers of this area came from the Carolinas and Georgia, crossing the Chattahoochee River at Franklin and squatting here until land could be purchased in 1828.
The first and foremost educational . . . — Map (db m71825) HM|
|Alabama (Henry County), Newville — Newville High School / Newville Rosenwald School|
| Side 1
Newville High School
The first known school in Newville was at Center Church in 1881. When Grange Hall was built in 1891, church services and school were held on the first floor. In 1913, Grange Hall was torn down and the wood was used to build a school. Newville Public School became Newville Jr. High in 1920. In 1923, it was decided to build an up-to-date modern brick school. Newville High School was opened in 1929. The school building at Concord was moved to . . . — Map (db m71812) HM|
|Alabama (Houston County), Cowarts — Cowarts Baptist Church/Cowarts School|
|(Front): Cowarts Baptist Church
Cowarts Baptist Church was founded in 1885 when dissension arose in the Congregation of Smyrna. Originally located beside the cemetery, the church was destroyed by fire during the 1890s. It was rebuilt and dedicated on this site May 1, 1903 in front of the existing Cowarts School. A cyclone destroyed both the church and school on Friday, January 10, 1918 about 2 p.m. Beginning in March 1918, Cowarts Baptist Church was rebuilt and has remained on . . . — Map (db m64865) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — Birmingham - Southern College|
|Created in 1918 on this site
by merger of two colleges:
a Methodist college
founded in 1856 at Greensboro.
founded by Methodist as
N. Alabama Conference College
on this site in 1898. — Map (db m37711) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — Carrie A. Tuggle — 1858 - 1924|
|In Tribute to
Carrie A. Tuggle
1858 - 1924
Scholar, Teacher and Christian.
A life of unselfish service
to the troubled and the
homeless black boys and girls.
In 1903, she founded
a school and orphanage,
the Tuggle Institute. — Map (db m27391) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — Dr. Ruth J. Jackson — 1898 - 1982|
Dr. Ruth J. Jackson
This woman of strength and vision graduated from the Poro School of Cosmetology, the first black registered school in the State of Alabama. At the vanguard of the Civil Rights Movement, she was unwavering in her devotion to the Birmingham Community. She inspired both children and adults to complete their education. Members of the Southern Beauty Congress and the Alabama Association of Modern Beauticians, Organizations to which she rendered . . . — Map (db m27090) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — Howard College — (Now Samford University)|
|Founded in 1841 at Marion in Perry County by Alabama Baptists, Howard College was named for British prison reformer John Howard.
The liberal arts college moved to this site in 1887 and relocated to its present campus in Homewood, Alabama in 1957. It was renamed Samford University in 1965. — Map (db m26693) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — Pauline Bray Fletcher — 1878 - 1970|
|In Tribute to
Pauline Bray Fletcher
1878 - 1970
The First Black Registered Nurse of Alabama
Through self-sacrifice, perseverance founded in 1926 Camp Pauline Bray Fletcher.
Renewing the faith and the good health of all black children. — Map (db m27393) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — Powell School|
|Birmingham's first public school was named for Colonel James R. Powell, the city's first elected Mayor. This energetic promoter also served as the first President of the Elyton Land Company (now Birmingham Realty). which founded the city in 1871. Two years later, Colonel John T. Terry led the fund raising to establish a "free school for white children." The school was "free" only of ties to a religious institution for fees were charged according to grade level. Mayor Powell donated his salary, . . . — Map (db m26675) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — Roebuck Spring|
|In 1850 George James Roebuck and his wife Ann Hawkins Roebuck built a log cabin at the mouth of Roebuck Spring. His Influence and leadership led to the area around it to be known as Roebuck. In 1900 Alabama Boys Industrial School was located adjacent to the spring, and the spring water was used for the school until city water became available. In 1910 George Miller, a leading landscape architect and industrial town planner, developed the first planned golf course and club house close to the . . . — Map (db m26688) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — School of Medicine|
| Front of Marker:
Opened as Alabama Medical College in 1859 in Mobile by Josiah C. Nott and other physicians as part of the University of Alabama. Closed by the Civil War in 1861 it reopened in 1868. Reorganized in 1897, it became the Medical Department and in 1907 the School of Medicine of the University of Alabama. The Mobile School was closed and moved to Tuscaloosa in 1920 as a two year basic medical science program, which was offered through 1941
Reverse Side: . . . — Map (db m34052) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Birmingham — The Birmingham Public Library / The Linn - Henley Research Library|
|Birmingham’s first library was organized in 1886 and in 1891 became a subscription library for the general public. In 1908 the Birmingham Public Library Association established a free public library, and the City created an independent Library Board in 1913. For decades the library was housed in various locations including the old City Hall where it was destroyed by fire in 1925. Libraries throughout the U. S. sent books and local citizens contributed for a new building. It opened April 11, . . . — Map (db m26677) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Homewood — Samford University|
|Multiple purpose Christian university founded 1841 as Howard College by Alabama Baptists at Marion.
Moved to East Lake, Birmingham, 1887. Established on this campus 1957.
Acquired Cumberland School of Law, Lebanon, Tennessee 1961.
College rechartered 1965 as Samford University in honor of Frank Park Samford and his family. — Map (db m27296) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Homewood — Shades Valley High School — Original Site (1949-2000)|
|Nationally acclaimed Jefferson County School which originally served students from Homewood, Mountain Brook, Vestavia, Oak Grove, Irondale, Cahaba Heights, Hoover, Rocky Ridge, etc.
Opened Fall 1949, closed 1996, demolished 2000. Designed by E.B. Van Keuren and Charles F. Davis, Jr. Built by Daniel Construction. First principal, who served from 1949 to 1970, was Frank A. Peake. — Map (db m47786) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Homewood — Union Hill Cemetery, Union Hill Methodist Episcopal Church, Union Hill School|
|This cemetery is the final resting place of many of Shades Valley's pioneer residents. A few of the earliest headstones date from the mid-1850s. Descendants of these settlers helped mold the cities of Mountain Brook and Homewood. Located on property to the east of the cemetery was the Union Hill Methodist Episcopal Church building which was completed in 1874 on property donated by Pleasant H. Watkins. This church was founded in 1867 near the Irondale Furnace and moved to Union Hill in 1873. . . . — Map (db m26294) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Hoover — Bluff Park Elementary School / Hoover Community Education|
|Summit/Hale Sps., a one-room school, opened on the mountain in 1898. It moved to this site and was named Bluff Park Elementary School with 50 students and funded with community support in 1923. From two-rooms, it expanded to 32 classrooms in 1988. Used now by many groups, it houses the office and archives of the Hoover Historical Society. — Map (db m28486) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Hoover — Patton Chapel Church 1866|
|Just after the War Between the States Robert Berry Patton gave seven acres of land, logs from his sawmill to build a church, school and cemetery. He served as the first pastor. Fire destroyed the church in 1908 and 1938. The school served the area until 1924. Many early settlers are buried here and the site is still in use. As a city landmark and after several names changes, it is now Hoover First United Methodist Church. — Map (db m29043) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Hoover — Rocky Ridge Elementary School — First School in Hoover Area|
|A subscription school organized in the 1850’s in Rocky Ridge Cumberland Presbyterian Church. Land deeded by church in 1881 to build a log school. In 1912, Professor E. D. Watkins taught all classes to the 30 students. In 1918, his 15 year old daughter, Mary, hired as a sub, taught for the next 48 years. More facilities were added in 1966. The current modern school opened with 35 rooms and a kindergarten in 1997. — Map (db m52187) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Hoover — Shades Crest Road Historical District|
|Indian, Wagon Trail, now Shades Crest Road, led to popular chalybeate springs. Summit, now Bluff Park, was a resort known for its view, cool air and healing mineral water. In 1899 school / church was built. In 1909 Bluff Park Hotel, built on land settled by Hale Family, lost to fire in 1925. In 1996 Alabama Register of Landmarks and Heritage. — Map (db m27311) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Hoover — Shades Crest Road Historical District|
|Indian, Wagon Trail, now Shades Crest Road, led to popular chalybeate springs. Summit, now Bluff Park, was a resort known for its view, cool air and healing mineral water. In 1899 school / church was built. In 1909 Bluff
Park Hotel, built on land settled by Hale Family, lost to fire in 1925. In 1996 Alabama Register of Landmarks and Heritage. — Map (db m28517) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Leeds — Mt. Hebron School|
In 1915, the men of the Mt. Hebron Community cleared the land donated by Bess Simmons for school. Trees donated by Mitch Poole were placed on Rufus Brasher’s wagon and taken to Will Scott’s sawmill. The school opened in the fall of 1916 and closed in 1942. The Jefferson County Board of Education provided heating fuel, maintenance, and teacher’s salaries. The school building also served as a voting site, a church, and hosted community meetings, such as the home extension club.
. . . — Map (db m49329) HM|
|Alabama (Jefferson County), Mountain Brook — Mountain Brook|
|In 1821 the first settlers came to this area, later called Waddell. Large numbers of people first migrated here in 1863 with the construction of the Irondale Furnace. Destroyed in the Civil War, the furnace was rebuilt and operated from 1867 to 1873. The first school was established in 1857 and the first church in 1867. The area later became known for its many dairies. In 1926 Robert Jemison, Jr. began development of modern day Mountain Brook, which became one of the most beautiful residential . . . — Map (db m26769) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — Burrell Normal School — Burrell High School — Burrell-Slater High School 1903~1969|
|This school named Burrell Academy,formerly in Selma, Alabama, was given to Florence by the American Missionary Association. In 1903, Burrell Normal School opened and served African ~American students in grades 1-12. In 1937, the Florence City Board of Education assumed its operation and changed the name to Burrell High School. In 1951, it was moved to the Slater Elementary School Building on South Court Street and its name was changed to Burrell Slater High School. That building burned in 1958. . . . — Map (db m56356) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — Courtview, Rogers Hall 1855|
|George Washington Foster, planter, built this Greek Revival Mansion. An Act of the legislature was required to close Court Street, In fall of 1864 it was headquarters of Nathan B. Forrest, General, CSA. Foster's daughter, Sarah Independence McDonald and her family, lived here until 1900 when it became the home of Governor Emmet O'Neal. In 1922 it was acquired by Thomas M. Rogers Sr., and in 1948 by the University of North Alabama.
Listed Historic American Buildings Survey National Resister of Historic Places. — Map (db m28868) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — Dr. Ethelbert Brinkley Norton|
|Dr. E. B. Norton was a member of the U.S. Education Mission sent to Japan after World War II to advise Gen. McArthur on the complete reorganization of the Japanese School System, which is still in place today. — Map (db m29266) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — Florence State Teachers College|
|Oldest state~supported teacher college south of Ohio R.
1830 ~opened as LaGrange College (Methodist) at nearby Leighton.
First charted college in state.
1855 ~ moved here and re~named
Florence Wesleyan University.
Flourished untiled closed by war 1865.
1872~deeded to State by church;
became Florence State Normal School
1926~present name adopted — Map (db m28865) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — Florence Synodical Female College — (1855~1893)|
| Side A The Cypress Land Company reserved this block for education purposes. In 1847 the Florence Female Academy, consisting of two buildings, was established. The Academy was soon in financial trouble Despite a $20,000 contribution from the City of Florence. the Academy ceased operation in the early 1850's.|
At the request of the City, the Academy Board of Trustees turned the land and building over to the Presbyterian Synod of Nashville on November 25, 1854.
The Florence Synodical . . . — Map (db m45803) HM
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — George H. Carroll Lion Habitat|
|The lion habitat is named in honor of George H. Carroll (1926-1998), a long-standing friend and supporter of the University of North Alabama (UNA). Mr. Carroll was the loving husband of Virginia Sego Carroll and father of Steven, Judy, and George Jr., and David. He was a prominent and successful businessman, community leader and philanthropist. Mr. Carroll loved the UNA lions and it is only fitting that this facility bears his name. — Map (db m35658) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — Gilbert Elementary School|
|Gilbert School, named in honor of Henry C Gilbert, school superintendent 1892-1904 and long time member of Board of Education was built in 1920, costing $79,000. The structure was planned by George D Waller, architect. A relief sculpture portraying a teacher Henry Grady Richard's served as Principal from 1921 to 1964.
The original building and 14 classrooms, library, cafeteria auditorium and supporting facilities. later a three classroom annex and private dwelling made into three classroom . . . — Map (db m28149) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — Locust Dell Academy — 1834~1843|
|On this site Nicholas Marcellus Hentz conducted a girls school,
Native of Metz, France.
Hentz was a painter, entomologist, author, and was once a professor at University of North Alabama. Experimenting with silkworms, he planted groves of mulberry trees around this section of town. His wife, Caroline Lee Whiting Hentz, native of Massachusetts, assisted in the academy. She also wrote plays, poems, stories, popular novels, and a significant diary of her years in Florence. — Map (db m28866) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — Maud McKnight Lindsay — May 13, 1874-May 30, 1941|
|Born in Tuscumbia, Lived in Sheffield Daughter of Robert Burns Lindsay, Governor of Alabama 1870-72.
Teacher of Alabama first kindergarten-1898.
Ranks as one of the greatest kindergarten teachers in the world. Author of 18 books for children.
Maud Lindsay was close friend of Helen Keller.
The Florence Free Kindergarten
Established September 3, 1898
Founded through the efforts of
Miss Loulie Johnes,
Mrs John R. Price,
Mr. Frank Jackson,
Mr. Thomas Phillip,
Miss Maud . . . — Map (db m45806) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — Patton Elementary School — (1891-1958)|
|First school in Florence Public school system built 1890 on land given by Governor Robert M. Patton. It was occupied in 1891. Designed originally to serve all white elementary school children of Florence. Usually served six grades divided into nine sections. The building was remodeled several times and also housed the Superintendents Offices. Cloakrooms, safety doors, fire escapes were added, and the third floor was removed in 1921.
Ada Coffee, leading Alabama educator, joined the facility . . . — Map (db m29272) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — Sculpture Relief Books and Learning — 1921|
|This sculpture relief was created by James W. Stoves and placed above the entrance to Gilbert Elementary School in 1921. In 1980, following the demolition of Gilbert school, it was moved to Hibbet Middle School. Because of its theme which relates to the teaching of children. it is now a part of the Florence/Lauderdale Public Library. Stoves left the Birmingham, Alabama coal mines to become a stoneworker and sculptor. He moved to Florence in 1913 and purchased the Florence Marble Works. Many of . . . — Map (db m45804) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — Simpson House~Irvine Place~Coby Hall|
|Built by John Simpson in 1843, on the site of his earlier home, this residence was occupied at various times by both armies during the Civil War. Purchased in 1867 by George W. Foster, builder of Courtview, for his daughter, Virginia, and her husband, James B. Irvine. Their daughter, Virginia, left the home to her great-niece Harriett Rogers King in 1939. Mrs. King and her husband, Madding restored Irvine Place in 1948. Acquired in 1990 by David Brubaker, and donated to the University of North . . . — Map (db m45808) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — St Paul African Methodist Episcopal Church — (Organized 1879 from earlier 1840 Congregation)|
|In early 1840s about 14 African-American members from First Methodist formed own congregation “Church Springs” near South Court Street. In 1857, a nearby brick cow shed was converted for its use under Rev. Robin Lightfoot who became a martyr during the Civil War. Site of American Missionary School after Emancipation. Organized as St. Paul AME in 1879. Relocated to Court and Alabama Streets in 1895. Charles B. Handy was early pastor and William W. Handy was early leader (father and . . . — Map (db m56357) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — Wesleyan Bell|
|The Wesleyan Bell was manufactured by the C.S. Bell Company in Hillsboro, Ohio, it is made of alloy steel, has a diameter of 38 inches, and is 24 inches high (not including its yoke). The weight of the bell is 660 pounds. When 350- pounds mountings are added, the total weight is 1,010 pounds.
The bell was mounted atop Wesleyan Hall after the school was donated to the state by the Methodist Church in 1873, at which time the school became State Normal College. The bell was used to call . . . — Map (db m28881) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Florence — Wesleyan Hall 1855|
|Chartered 1856 as Florence Wesleyan University, R.H. Rivers, President. Regarded as North Alabama's most eminent landmark, this Gothic Revival Structure was designed by Adolphus Heiman, Nashville, And built by Zebulon Pike Morrison, Florence, as new home for LaGrange College (organized 1830 by Methodists). Used by both armies at various times during Civil War. Deeded to State of Alabama, 1872, as first coeducational teacher training institution south of Ohio River. School expanded to become . . . — Map (db m28864) HM|
|Alabama (Lauderdale County), Rogersville — Lauderdale County High School 1912|
Prior to 1912, a private school, Rogersville High School, was housed in a two-story wooden frame building located in this vicinity. On August 7, 1907, an act was passed by the Alabama Legislature to establish a state high school in each county. Communities desiring a high school were required to submit plans for a building, equipment and five acres of land, with a total value of at least $5,000. The property was to be deeded to the state. Governor Emmet O’Neal visited . . . — Map (db m69103) HM|
|Alabama (Lawrence County), Moulton — Gallagher Hill/Science Hill|
|The elevation to the northeast was known as Gallagher Hill. It was owned by John Gallagher who was born 1784 in Donegal County, Ireland. Coming to America 12 Aug 1812, he was a Lawrence County official by 1822. Later known as Science Hill, the Moulton Male High School, incorporated 2 Feb 1858, was built on the site. Thomas M. Peters was President of the Board, and school trustees included Asa Hodges, William McKelvy, Henry Warren, and W.F. Owen. On 22 Apr 1858, the trustees advertised for bids . . . — Map (db m69668) HM|
|Alabama (Lawrence County), Moulton — Judge Thomas M. Peters|
|A scientist of national fame, Peters (1810-1888) lived for many years in Moulton with his wife Naomi (Leetch), a relative of President James K. Polk, who possibly visited here. A man of many talents, Peters was a noted linguist, early civil rights and women's suffrage activist, and lawyer. At various times, he was a newspaper publisher, educator, state representative and senator, Alabama Supreme Court Chief Justice, Alabama Constitutional Convention delegate, and a pro-Union Republican leader. . . . — Map (db m69670) HM|
|Alabama (Lee County), Auburn — Auburn University — Alabama’s Land-Grant University|
|This title given by Legislature in 1960 followed start of second century of growth in diverse services to state, nation. This act confirmed name “Auburn” used popularly from its founding by Methodists as East Alabama Male College in 1856. Methodists deeded college to State in 1872 to become under the Land Grant Act, Agricultural & Mechanical College of Alabama. In 1899, with growth, name changed to Alabama Polytechnic Institute. “Owing much to the past, Auburn’s mission makes its greater debt ever to the future.” — Map (db m39814) HM|
|Alabama (Lee County), Auburn — Auburn University Chapel|
| Side A:
The University Chapel is the oldest public building in the city of Auburn. Built as a Presbyterian Church, the first service was held in the original Greek Revival-style building on September 13, 1851. Edwin Reese, spiritual leader of the tiny congregation, had the bricks made by slaves on his plantation. The founder of the town, Judge John J. Harper, gave the land. The first minister was the Rev. Albert Shotwell. The small church has seen several renovations over the years, . . . — Map (db m39831) HM|
|Alabama (Lee County), Auburn — Noble Hall|
The Greek Revival rock and mortar house was built by Addison Frazer (1809-1873) between 1852 and 1854 and served as the center for a 2,000 acre cotton plantation. Frazer owned 100 slaves and was on the Board of Trustees of Auburn Masonic Female College and East Alabama Male College. The contractor from Kentucky used slave labor to build the eight rooms with 12 foot high ceilings and 18 inch exterior walls, two cantilever balconies and eight Doric columns. In the rear . . . — Map (db m25988) HM|
|Alabama (Lee County), Auburn — Sigma Alpha Epsilon|
|The Alpha Mu chapter of Sigma Alpha Epsilon was founded on June 15, 1878 at the Agricultural & Mechanical College of Alabama (now Auburn University). John E.D. Shipp came to Auburn as a student determined to organize a chapter at a time when fraternities were forbidden on campus. Working in secrecy with SAE brothers in Georgia, Shipp had two members of Mercer University's chapter, William H. Felton and Frank H. Greaves, travel to Auburn to install the chapter behind Old Main in a cornfield . . . — Map (db m66726) HM|
|Alabama (Lee County), Auburn — Wittel Dormitory|
|Wittel Dormitory has long been admired as one of Auburn’s most significant examples of classic nineteenth-century design. Built in the early 1900’s by Samuel S. Wittel to house professional women, it also served as a home for three generations of the Wittel family. After World War II enrollment at the Polytechnic Institute, which is now Auburn University, rose dramatically and Wittel became Auburn’s first dormitory for college women. The original structure features copper roof details, wood . . . — Map (db m66725) HM|
|Alabama (Limestone County), Athens — Athens College — a liberal arts college — 1822|
|Athens Female Academy
founded by patriotic citizens
Raised to college level
under Methodist patronage
First college building,
Founders Hall (1842-3),
still used for classes
Unbroken service since 1822 — Map (db m29111) HM|
|Alabama (Limestone County), Athens — Athens, Alabama|
| (Side A): Athens was incorporated in 1818, one year prior to the admission of Alabama as the 22nd state. It is the seat of Limestone County, created by an act of the Alabama Territorial Legislature. Athens has a legacy of providing quality education for residents. In 1822, citizens purchased land for the establishment of the Athens Female Academy. Now Athens State University, the campus continues to serve the community. The fertile lands around the town were cleared by early settlers . . . — Map (db m37909) HM|
|Alabama (Limestone County), Athens — Fort Henderson / Trinity School - 1865-1970|
| Fort Henderson Built on this site in 1863 by federal forces occupying Athens. It was a five-sided earthen fort with some frame buildings and underground bomb-proofs. Abatis lined the fifteen-foot deep perimeter ditch, a small portion of which is still visible. On September 24, 1864 after a brief fight and a clever ruse orchestrated by Confederate General Nathan B. Forrest, the fort and its 900 man garrison of mostly the 110th U.S. colored infantry were surrendered. After moving the . . . — Map (db m41787) HM|
|Alabama (Limestone County), Athens — Old Town Cemetery|
|This is the earliest known cemetery in the town of Athens, and the final resting place for many of its first citizens. The earliest burials date from the 1820’s and continue through the mid-1800’s, with an occasional burial past 1900. Through the markers are now sunken below ground, others have been destroyed or removed.
Trustees for the town purchased this entire block in 1827 for ten dollars from Robert Beaty and John Carriel. It was originally designated school property and a school did . . . — Map (db m71525) HM|
|Alabama (Limestone County), Decatur — Southeast Air Forces Training Center — (Pryor Field)|
|The Southeast Air Forces Training Center operated by Southern Aviation Training School, also known as Pryor Field, was constructed in 1941. These two aircraft hangars and beacon tower are the remaining artifacts of one of only a few World War II Army Air Forces Training Centers that have remained in continuous use as airplanes hangars since 1941. The school provided primary flight training for Army Air Forces pilots. The facility was deactivated on December 28, 1944 and turned over to the Army . . . — Map (db m70521) HM|
|Alabama (Macon County), Franklin — Franklin's Educational Legacy|
Franklin School, originally constructed on this lot, was in operation as early as the 1890s teaching grades 1-11. By the mid 1930s, it was downsized to grades 1-6. There were northern and southern classrooms adjoined by a common auditorium. The school's original water source was a spring near the building, later a dug well in the front yard with a hand pump provided water. Heat was provided by a wood-burning pot belly stove. Each student brought a stick of wood every morning . . . — Map (db m68028) HM|
|Alabama (Macon County), Shorter — George Stiggins — 1788-1845|
|Unmarked grave in Cubahatchie Baptist Church Cemetery. Half-blooded Creek Indian, planter, soldier, Indian agent,
and historian, Stiggins lived on a nearby farm fronting the Federal Road from 1831 until his death. There he wrote "A
Historical Narrative of the Genealogy, Traditions, and Downfall of the Ispocoga or Creek Indian Tribe of Indians"
from his firsthand knowledge of the Creeks, their leaders, and the Creek War of 1813-14. His sister, Mary, was
married to William Weatherford (Red Eagle). — Map (db m60534) HM|
|Alabama (Macon County), Tuskegee — Booker T. Washington|
|On this site stood
the "shanty" where
first opened school,
July 4 1881.
Later it became
"State Normal School", next
"Tuskegee Normal and Industrial Institute",
now "Tuskegee Institute". — Map (db m69096) HM|
|Alabama (Macon County), Tuskegee Institute — The Tuskegee Airmen's Plaza|
|This plaza is dedicated to the memory of the Tuskegee Airmen, including General Daniel "Chappie" James, whose training at Tuskegee University and the Tuskegee Army Air Field enabled them to prove for all time the competence and bravery of Black Americans in the U.S. Air Force.
This plaza commemorates their courageous service in the air and on the ground--both women and men--in defense of the United States of America. Without their commitment and daring, America's victories over her enemies would have been much more difficult. — Map (db m20076) HM|
|Alabama (Madison County), Gurley — Town of Gurley|
|Located on land owned by John Gurley, pioneer settler, and named for him. His son, Capt. Frank B. Gurley, became a Confederate hero as a member of the 4th Ala. Cavalry. The settlement that developed around the water tank on Memphis and Charleston R.R. was known as Gurley's Tank. Post office established in 1866 as Gurleysville and town incorporated as Gurley in 1891. Madison County High School located here in 1907. Last hometown of Senator and Mrs. C.C. Clay, Jr. — Map (db m30574) HM|
|Alabama (Madison County), Huntsville — Alabama’s Constitution And Statehood|
|Before statehood, the Alabama Territory had only limited rights of self government. Between July 5 and August 2, 1819, forty-four delegates from across the Territory convened in Huntsville to draft a constitution for statehood. Lawyers, merchants, ministers, planters, farmers, and physicians gathered here to produce a legal framework for self-government to protect the sovereignty of the people. A firm belief in the separation of powers among the legislative, executive, and judicial branches led . . . — Map (db m26592) HM|
|Alabama (Madison County), Huntsville — Fifth Avenue School — Site of Alabama's First Public School Integration|
|Opened in 1944, the Fifth Avenue School became the focal point for major educational change on September 9, 1963, when Sonnie Hereford IV became the first African-American student to integrate public schools in Alabama. Following a lengthy court battle, Dr. Sonnie Hereford III enrolled his son in the first grade at the school. Veronica Pearson (Rison School), David (Piggee) Osman (Terry Heights School) and John Anthony Brewton (East Clinton School) enrolled in other Huntsville City Schools . . . — Map (db m55722) HM|
|Alabama (Madison County), Huntsville — Lincoln School and Village|
|In 1918 William Lincoln Barrell of Lowell MA. purchased Abingdon Mill and transformed it into a large textile center of all concrete construction named Lincoln Mill Village. Phillip Peeler served as its superintendent from 1934-1953. Built in 1929 this school became the central core of community life until 1956 when Lincoln Village was annexed into the city of Huntsville. Edward W. Anderson served as its principal for 27 years. Many graduates became local and state leaders. The mill stopped operation in 1957 and burned in 1980. — Map (db m39758) HM|
|Alabama (Madison County), Huntsville — Merrimack Mfg. Co. & Village / Joseph J. Bradley School — 1900-1992 / 1919-1967|
| Merrimack Mfg. Co. & Village In 1899, construction started on Merrimack Mill and village. The mill began operation in 1900. A second mill building, added in 1903, made it one of the largest in the South. Under Joseph J. Bradley, Sr., managing agent (1905-1922), the village grew to 279 houses, a hospital, school, company store, and other small businesses. In 1920, the steam-operated mills converted to electricity. Lowenstein Fabrics bought the mill (1946), changed its name to . . . — Map (db m38805) HM|
|Alabama (Madison County), Huntsville — Oakwood College — Founded 1896|
|Oakwood College, which began as an industrial school, was founded by the Seventh-day Adventist Church in 1896 to educate African Americans in the South. The school was erected on 380 acres purchased during the previous year for $6,700. Additional property secured in 1918 nearly tripled its land holdings. The school underwent several name changes over its history: 1896: Oakwood Industrial School 1904: Oakwood Manual Training School 1917: Oakwood Junior College 1943: Oakwood College In 1958, . . . — Map (db m34953) HM|
|Alabama (Madison County), Huntsville — Oakwood College — Founded 1896|
|Oakwood College, which began as an industrial school, was founded by the Seventh-day Adventist Church in 1896 to educate African Americans in the South. The school was erected on 380 acres purchased during the previous year for $6,700. Additional property secured in 1918 nearly tripled its land holdings. The school underwent several name changes over its history: 1896: Oakwood Industrial School 1904: Oakwood Manual Training School 1917: Oakwood Junior College 1943: Oakwood College In 1958, . . . — Map (db m34955) HM|
|Alabama (Madison County), Huntsville — Original Site of Alabama Agricultural and Mechanical University|
| (Front) Original site of Alabama Agricultural and Mechanical University (now located at Normal, Alabama) Legislature approved 9 December 1873 "a normal school for the education of colored teachers" in Huntsville. Ex-slave William Hooper Councill founder and first president. Classes began May 1875 with sixty-one pupils and two teachers; held in rented buildings until moved 1891 to this site - the first school-owned property. Land-grant funds received 1891 for training of Negroes in . . . — Map (db m39825) HM|
|Alabama (Madison County), Huntsville — Randolph Street Church Of Christ|
|Organized as a Christian Church, this is the original congregation of what is now the Church of Christ in Huntsville. A gospel meeting was held in the Courthouse in 1883, conducted by James A. Harding, evangelist and founder of Harding College and David Lipscomb College. This meeting marked the beginning of the church in this community and resulted in the donation of $1,800 for the purchase of the lot. In late 1886, 100,000 bricks were delivered to this site and construction began. The first . . . — Map (db m27899) HM|
|Alabama (Madison County), Huntsville — Rev. Dr. Joseph E. Lowery Boyhood Home Site — (Dean of Civil Rights Movement)|
| Side A
Dr. Joseph Echols Lowery was born in Huntsville on Oct 6, 1921, to Dora and Leroy Lowery. He grew up in Lakeside (Methodist) church. He began his education in Huntsville, spent his middle school years in Chicago, and returned to complete high school. He attended Alabama A&M University. Knoxville College, Payne College and Theological Seminary. He served as pastor of United Methodist churches in Mobile, Birmingham and Atlanta for 45 years, retiring from the pulpit in 1997. He . . . — Map (db m27901) HM|
|Alabama (Madison County), Huntsville — Site of Green Academy|
|Chartered in 1812. Leading educational Institution. Long prominent in training leaders of North Alabama. Occupied by Federal troops, 1862. Building burned, 1864. Site of city schools since 1882. Location used only for school purposes. Alabama Historical Association 1955 — Map (db m55724) HM|
|Alabama (Madison County), Huntsville — Site of Huntsville Female College — 1851-1895|
|Organized in 1851 under the direction of the Methodist Episcopal Church, so this institution became one of the finest of its kind in the South in the education of girls from the primary through the college level. Its aim was to "secure the symmetrical development of body, mind, and soul." Destroyed by fire January 4, 1895. Architect George Steele. — Map (db m37842) HM|
|Alabama (Madison County), Huntsville — Thrasher Memorial Fountain|
|Tom Goodman Thrasher
August 4, 1916
-Grew up in Birmingham, Alabama
-Studied Engineering at the University of Alabama in Tuscalossa
-Married the former Dorothy Wright of Belmont, Mississippi
-Served in the Army in North Africa and European Theater during WWII and was discharge as a Lieutenant Colonel in March 1946
-Opened Thrasher Oil Company in Huntsville under a Shell Oil company Franchise in 1946
-Served as Executive Officer at Redstone Arsenal from May 1951 . . . — Map (db m30379) HM|
|Alabama (Madison County), Huntsville — William Hooper Councill High School Site — 1892-1966|
|The first public school for African-Americans in the city of Huntsville was named for the founder of the Alabama A&M University. The site, selected by a committee headed by the Rev. W.E. Gaston, was donated by the Davis-Lowe family. Founded in 1867 in the basement of Lakeside Methodist Episcopal Church on Jefferson Street, the school was moved to a frame building on this site in 1892. The first diplomas were granted in 1912. A brick structure replaced the original building in 1927. The school . . . — Map (db m36065) HM|
|Alabama (Madison County), Normal — Alabama A&M University former names / Alabama Agricultural and Mechanical University — Normal, Alabama|
| Alabama A&M University former names 1873 - Colored Normal School at Huntsville 1885 - The Huntsville State Colored Normal and Industrial School 1896 - The State Agricultural and Mechanical College for Negroes 1919 - The State Agricultural and mechanical Institute for Negroes 1948 - Alabama Agricultural and Mechanical College 1969 - University status achieved Alabama Agricultural and Mechanical University Legislature approved 9 December 1873 "a normal school for the education of . . . — Map (db m39760) HM|
|Alabama (Madison County), Normal — Councill Training School — (1919 - 1970)|
| Side A In 1919, the first building was erected nearby with funds provided locally and supplemented with a Julius Rosenwald Foundation grant. Named for William H. Councill, Alabama A&M University founder, the three-room structure was built for black students in grades 1-6. Traditionally county black students were taught in churches and lodge halls. Many would continue their education at the University's Laboratory School. The second school was erected on this site in 1948. This structure . . . — Map (db m39761) HM|
|Alabama (Madison County), Normal — William Hooper Councill — Founder — Alabama A&M University|
| "...A tower of knowledge, of strength, of power ...Let us build..." Dr. William Hooper Councill served as President of Alabama A&M University and was the catalyst for its early development from its founding in 1875 until his death in 1909. Born a slave, Dr. Councill emerged as a man of vision, conviction, and stamina, driven by a quest to further others through the promise of education. The Founder's Memorial Project was conceived and executed through the leadership of Dr. Dorothy . . . — Map (db m39763) HM|
|Alabama (Madison County), Ryland — Shiloh United Methodist Church — Organized 1808|
|In October, 1808, the Western Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church sent James Gwinn, a circuit rider, to the "great bend" of the Tennessee River to formalize existing Methodist Societies. He organized the Flint Circuit to serve frontier settlers in southern Tennessee and Madison County, Mississippi Territory. The first meetings of the Shiloh Methodist Episcopal Church were held in a private home. In late 1819 legislation was enacted which permitted churches to own land and, in 1820, a . . . — Map (db m39767) HM|
|Alabama (Marshall County), Arab — First Arab High School|
|In the early 1900s, students from Arab enrolled at Albertville High School because Arab didn’t have a high school. On group, called the “Brindlee Mountain Boys”, would travel to Guntersville by buggy and then by train to Albertville to attend school. Since the journey to and from school was so difficult, they were often away from home for months. Because so many more students yearned for an education, residents decided to build a high school in Arab. Many of them mortgaged their . . . — Map (db m40629) HM|
|Alabama (Marshall County), Grant — Becker Hall|
|Constructed in 1937, the Florence H. Becker Recreation Hall was named in honor of Florence Hague Becker, President General of the National Society Daughters of the American Revolution from 1935 to 1938. The vertically placed pine logs used in the construction of the building were cut from the forests of Gunter Mountain. Mr. A.M. Alred was the contractor for the original building. Thomas Hampton Smith was the contractor for the restoration of the building in 2004-2005. Becker Hall was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2003. — Map (db m33312) HM|
|Alabama (Marshall County), Grant — Kate Duncan Smith - Daughters of the American Revolution School|
|(Side A) In 1924, the Alabama Society of the Daughters of the American Revolution (DAR) established Kate Duncan Smith School to provide a patriotic education dedicated to academic achievement and service to "God, Home, and Country" for the people of Gunter Mountain. The National Society of the Daughters of the American Revolution (NSDAR) designated the school as a nationally recognized DAR school in 1928. Now a collaborative effort between the DAR, the Marshall County Board of . . . — Map (db m33308) HM|
|Alabama (Monroe County), Perdue Hill — Perdue Hill Industrial School|
|The Perdue Hill Industrial School was founded by Patrick J. Carmichael after he moved to this area in 1918. Carmichael acted as both the principal and teacher during the early years of the school, which was originally a one-room structure serving eleven students. The State of Alabama provided $75 annually towards school operating costs, and students paid a tuition of $.25 each year. When money ran short for the African-American children that the school served, tuition was often paid with . . . — Map (db m47643) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Hope Hull — Tankersley Rosenwald School — Erected in 1923|
|This building was one of fourteen schools constructed in Montgomery County with funding assistance from the Julius Rosenwald Fund. Between 1912-32, Julius Rosenwald, a Jewish philanthropist and CEO of Sears, Roebuck and Company teamed up with Booker T. Washington and Tuskegee Institute to provide matching grants for the construction of school buildings for African Americans in mostly rural areas of the South. This collaborative effort produced more than 5,000 of these buildings in 15 southern . . . — Map (db m71427) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Maxwell Air Force Base — Air University / Maxwell Air Force Base|
The Air Corps Tactical School moved to Maxwell in 1931. Brilliant young officers like Chennault, Eaker, Fairchild, Hansell, Kuter, LeMay, Quesada, and Vandenberg formulated the aerial strategies and tactics employed in World War II. In 1940, Maxwell became the home of HQ Southeast Air Corps Training Center responsible for pilot, Navigator and bombardier training, producing over 100,000 aviation cadets. Air University was established in 1946 as the USAF . . . — Map (db m64437) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Maxwell Air Force Base — AU "Thinks War"|
Post-Vietnam Era marked a turning point for AU. Lt Gen Furlong, AU commander, launched a three year campaign to overhaul the curriculum which became known as “Putting the ‘War’ back into War College.” Between 1975 and 1976 AU gained five new functions, greatly expanding its mission.
”Air University epitomizes all that we have fought for in our efforts to build a strong defense structure that will always meet the requirements of the hour.”
Honorable Lister Hill, Alabama Senator, 2 Sep 1947 — Map (db m64375) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Maxwell Air Force Base — British and Commonwealth Pilots Trained in the U.S.A.|
In 1941, before Pearl Harbour, President Franklin D. Roosevelt agreed with Prime Minister Winston S. Churchill, to provide flight training for British and Commonwealth pilots in the U.S.A. by the U.S. Army Air Corps.
Over 4,000 pilots were trained, some of them at this airfield, and many of them lost their lives in air operations against our common enemies.
This plaque is placed in remembrance by those who by the grace of God survived.
September 1996 — Map (db m64476) HM WM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Maxwell Air Force Base — Cessna T-41A "Mescalero"|
The Cessna T-41 was derived from a standard Cessna Model 172 light aviation aircraft. Between 1965 and 1969 the USAF purchased 211 T-41A variants "off the shelf" for the preliminary flight screening of pilot candidates; another 52 T-41C variants were obtained in 1968-69 for use by the Air Force Academy. The T-41 also saw service in the U.S. Army, and large numbers were exported to friendly nations under the Military Assistance Program.
This T-41A aircraft (AF Ser. 67-14977) was built in . . . — Map (db m64482) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Maxwell Air Force Base — Changing Roles of AU|
Charged with developing doctrines and concepts for the employment of air power, AU produced the first basic doctrine manuals for the Air Force. AU also gained notoriety with projects such as Corona Harvest, which studied and developed lessons learned during the Vietnam Conflict – the first time a study was conducted while a conflict was in progress.
”We must not only be prepared for the peace to come, we must be prepared to preserve it.”
General Hap Arnold, 1 Aug 1945 — Map (db m64374) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Maxwell Air Force Base — Chennault Circle|
To accommodate expansion of programs, a five million dollar construction project began in 1954 to give AU a modern, integrated academic center with a collegiate atmosphere and facilities in keeping with its educational mission.
We’re entrusting to General Kuter the future of the Air Force for it is here at Air University that we either make or break the Air Force.”
General Hoyt S. Vandenberg, 28 Feb 1953 — Map (db m64372) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Maxwell Air Force Base — Establishment of Air University 1946|
The Army Air Forces school was assigned its first commander, Major General Muir S. Fairchild, in February 1946, and renamed Air University in March. The dedication ceremony occurred 3 Sep 1946. The first classes at the Air War College and the Air Command and Staff School began 4 Sep 1946.
”We conceive it to be the high and noble goal of Air University to educate and to aid in producing the planners and future leaders of that Air Force.”
General Muir S. Fairchild, 3 Sep 1946 — Map (db m64370) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Maxwell Air Force Base — Expansion of Air University|
During the early 1950’s, Air Force leaders decided to consolidate and relocate professional military and continuing education activities, as well as commissioning and specialized schools to Maxwell and Gunter Air Force Bases.
”(Air University’s) anticipated influence is measured only by the reach of Air Power. Its horizon is unlimited.”
General Carl Spaatz, 3 Sep 1946 — Map (db m64371) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Maxwell Air Force Base — Joint Programs|
Air University began new Air War College and Air Command and Staff College programs in 1987 which met newly mandated “Joint” education requirements. These programs emphasized joint war fighting.
”The basic reason for the essentiality of Air University lies in the fact that it trains, prepares, and inspires the future leaders of all our commands.”
Lieutenant General Ira C. Eaker, 17 Mar 1961 — Map (db m64378) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Maxwell Air Force Base — Lt. William C. Maxwell / Air Force ROTC|
Lt. William C. Maxwell (Side A)
William Calvin Maxwell was born Nov. 9, 1892 in Natchez, Ala. An Army ROTC student at the University of Alabama, he left in 1917 to enlist in the Army. He received his commission in April 1918, after completing flight training at Kelly Field, Texas. In 1919, he was assigned to 3rd Aero Squadron, Philippines. On August 12, 1920, engine trouble forced Lt. Maxwell to attempt to land his DH-4 in a sugarcane field. Maneuvering to avoid a group of children . . . — Map (db m64367) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Maxwell Air Force Base — Northrop T-38A "Talon"|
In the mid-1950s, the USAF required a trainer with higher performance than the T-33 to better prepare student pilots for the latest tactical aircraft that were then coming into service. The aircraft chosen was the T-38A which offered high performance with low maintenance and operating costs. Destined to become the USAF's first supersonic trainer, the T-38A prototype first flew on April 10, 1959, and production continued until 1972. A total of 1,189 T-38As were built. Some were later . . . — Map (db m64433) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Maxwell Air Force Base — Reorganization|
During the late 1950’s three courses at Air Command and Staff College: the Weapons course, the Squadron Officer course, and the Academic Instructor course, became separate schools under the AU umbrella.
”…It is regrettable that what is being done at the Air University is not known by the millions of our citizens; they would worry less and sleep better.”
Lieutenant General Harold L. George, 5 Feb 1954 — Map (db m64373) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Maxwell Air Force Base — Reorganization|
HQ USAF realigned AU under Air Training Command (ATC) in 1978. For five years AU remained a part of ATC. On 1 July 1983, AU regained its major command status. ROTC was reassigned to ATC. The College of Aerospace Doctrine, Research and Education, was born to research and analyze current and future issues of concern to the USAF.
”Air University turns out tomorrow’s leaders.”
Army Times Headlines, 1 Mar 1947 — Map (db m64376) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Maxwell Air Force Base — The Air Power Legacy|
In 1931 Maxwell Field began its mission to educate Army Air Corps officers in strategy, tactics, and techniques of air power. Many early Air Force leaders attended Air Corps Tactical School here including Generals Vandenberg, Twining, White, and LeMay.
”If we should have to fight, we should be prepared to do so from the neck up instead of the neck down.”
General Jimmy Doolittle — Map (db m64369) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Maxwell Air Force Base — The Next Fifty Years|
The tradition of excellence established by Air University pioneers will continue throughout the next fifty years… AU’s ability to educate people and develop critical thinkers is a mission that continues today. Now, more than ever, the United States needs dedicated leaders and visionaries to guide us successfully through an uncertain future. Air University has always produced such men and women and will continue to do so well into the twenty-first century.
The founding of Air . . . — Map (db m64427) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Maxwell Air Force Base — The Thunderbirds — The Epitome of Teamwork|
All discipline for the moment seems not to be joyful, but sorrowful, yet, for those who are trained by it, afterwards, it yields the peaceful fruit of righteousness.
Maj. Norman L. Lowry III
Capt. Willie T. Mays
Capt. Joseph "Pete" Peterson
Capt. Mark E. Melancon
We salute your commitment to duty, honor, and country. — Map (db m64484) WM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Maxwell Air Force Base — Year of Training|
Deva vu, once again, 1993, AU was aligned with ATC but this time to form Air Education and Training Command. Enlisted professional military education was consolidated, Officers Training School moved to Maxwell, and ROTC and CCAF were again part of AU. Warfighting courses for flag officers and staff officers increased and mandatory commanders courses began.
”Smart systems, smaller forces, and an uncertain future require Brilliant Warriors.”
Lieutenant General Jay Kelley, 16 Aug 96 — Map (db m64425) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — Alabama State University / Tatum Street|
Alabama State University
The Early Years
Founded in 1867, the Lincoln School in Marion, Alabama became the first state-assisted normal school for African Americans in 1874. The school prospered in that location for 13 years, training teachers, preachers, and scholars. Following a racial incident in Marion in 1887 the main building was burned down and the school was moved to Montgomery where it would become the State Normal School for Colored Students. The state . . . — Map (db m71345) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — Alabama State University / Tullibody|
| Side A Founded 1866 as the Abraham Lincoln Normal School in Marion. Alabama by nine former slaves. Operated from 1868 until 1874 by the American Missionary Association. The school began to receive state funding in 1874, making it the first state-assisted normal school and university for blacks in Alabama. Moving from Marion to Montgomery in 1887, the school's classes initially were held in black churches. The institution had several name changes. Finally becoming Alabama State . . . — Map (db m28638) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — Beulah Baptist Church — Organized 1880|
|Beulah Baptist Church was organized in the home of Monday and Dora Duvall, on the corner of Hull and Winnie Streets. Rev. William (Billy) Jenkins served as the pastor when the first church building was erected on Norton Street. Beulah served as the first classroom for the Alabama Colored People's University, which later became State Normal College, then Alabama State University. During the Church's centennial celebration, the University's president, Dr. Levi Watkins, who was a member of Beulah, . . . — Map (db m71377) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — Centennial Hill|
|This neighborhood evolved around historic First Congregational Church established through the American Missionary Association (AMA) October 6, 1872, by Pastor George Whitfield Andrews. In 1867 the AMA and the Freedmen's Bureau, headed by General Wager Swayne, opened Swayne Primary School, Montgomery's first school for blacks, just two blocks south of here. Alabama State University, begun in 1867 as the "Lincoln School of Marion" by nine ex-slaves and taken over by the AMA in 1868, was relocated . . . — Map (db m71238) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — City of St. Jude/The Selma to Montgomery March|
City of St. Jude
Founded by Father Harold Purcell in the 1930s, the City of St. Jude included church, school, medical facilities, social center and rectory. Its mission was to provide spiritual, educational, social and health services for Montgomery's black citizens. Distinguished for its Romanesque architecture and landscaping, site was designed by architects William Calham and Joseph Maschi. Leading the way in nondiscriminatory health care, the institution helped . . . — Map (db m71091) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — Civil War Barnes-School / Figh-Pickett House|
| (side 1)
Civil War-Barnes School
In April 1865, the Union Army command made this house its headquarters. Mrs. Pickett hid her silver on an inside ledge of cupola. Later, former Confederate Generals Hood, Bragg, and Walker visited here. In 1906, Professor Elly Barnes bought the house for use as a private school for boys, which rapidly achieved fame for its quality. The Barnes School closed in 1942. In 1996, the house was rescued from demolition with the help of the Alabama . . . — Map (db m71252) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — Elijah Cook / City of Montgomery v. Rosa Parks|
Born a slave in Wetumpka in 1833, Elijah Cook became a leader in Montgomery’s African American community. Credited with helping to establish the city’s first school for blacks in the basement of the Old Ship AME Zion Church in 1865, he also selected the site for Swayne College (later Booker T. Washington School) that opened in 1868. In 1887, he assisted in posting the $10,000 surety bond to relocate the Lincoln School of Marion (later Alabama State University) to . . . — Map (db m69222) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — Governor Jones House|
|Thomas Goode Jones, governor of Alabama from 1890-1894, occupied this house during his long political career which took him from the Montgomery City Council to a federal judgeship. During his two terms as governor, his home was the Executive Mansion and later frequently used as a federal courtroom. Originally a four room cottage, the house was enlarged by Jones in the early '90s. His son, the noted jurist Walter B. Jones, continued to live in his family home and inaugurated Jones Law School in . . . — Map (db m36585) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — Huntingdon College|
| Coeducational liberal arts college of the United Methodist Church
1854: Founded as Tuskegee Female College
1872: Acquired by the Methodist Church, renamed Alabama Conference Female College
1909: Moved to this site as Woman's College of Alabama
1935: Renamed Huntingdon College for patron of British Methodism
Motto: Enter to grow in wWisdom; go forth to apply wisdom in service — Map (db m71375) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — Johnnie R. and Arlam Carr, Sr. Home|
|This home was originally owned in 1901 by Emily V. Semple. It changed hands several times until purchased by Flora K. Daniels and Arlam and Johnnie R. Carr, Sr. The Carrs moved into this residence in 1943. They resided here during the 1955 Montgomery Bus Boycott. Johnnie Carr was an active member of the Montgomery Improvement Association (MIA) under the leadership of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., at that time. In 1964, Johnnie and Arlam Carr, Sr. became the lead plaintiffs on behalf of their . . . — Map (db m71265) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — Loveless School/Henry Allen Loveless|
Montgomery's first junior and senior high schools for African American students began in Loveless School. Built in 1923 and enlarged in 1930, this building first housed seven grades; the opening of Carver Elementary School and the reduction in enrollment made possible additional classes at Loveless. Under Principal T.H. Randall, the first seniors graduated in May, 1940. In 1948, George Washington Carver Senior High organized and had first classes here, . . . — Map (db m71082) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — Marshall J. Moore House|
|In 1900, Marshall Moore and his wife, Agnes V. McClain commissioned Joseph G. Nesbitt,Sr., an African- American contractor/builder, to construct this Victorian period cottage. The Moores, among the first graduates and early faculty members of Lincoln Normal School in Marion (Perry County), moved to Montgomery in 1887 when the school was relocated here. It was re-named the State Normal School for Colored Students (now Alabama State University).
From 1936 until 1993, the house remained in the . . . — Map (db m38918) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — Professor John Metcalfe Starke / Starke University School|
| Side A Professor John Metcalfe Starke "Fessor Starke" 1860-1941A native of Virginia, John Metcalfe Starke received his early education in Petersburg and graduated from the University of Virginia in 1882, earning diplomas in Latin and mathematics. He taught in Virginia and North Carolina before coming to Montgomery in 1887 as headmaster for a boys' school organized by prominent local men. Its success caused him to start a school of his own at Hamner Hall. In 1897 he built a building . . . — Map (db m36590) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — Sidney Lanier High School|
|Established in 1910 on South McDonough Street, this school was named for the well-known southern poet, Sidney Lanier, who resided in Montgomery 1866-67.
This late Gothic Revival building was constructed 1928-29 to consolidate the original Lanier & Montgomery County (Cloverdale) High Schools. The name of the new school was decided by the outcome of the football game between the two schools in the fall of 1929. Frederick Ausfeld was the architect, Algernon Blair the contractor & consultants . . . — Map (db m71376) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Montgomery — Swayne College / Booker T. Washington School|
| Side A Named for Union General and Freemen’s Bureau Agent Wager Swayne, Swayne College was dedicated 21 April 1869. The Bureau appropriated $10,000 for the building and the local black community purchased 3.5 acres for the site. Future officeholder Elijah Cook submitted the winning location of Union and Grove Streets. The building stood three stories high and was constructed by Henry Duncan with ventilation by Isaac Frazier. George Stanley Pope became the first principal of the school . . . — Map (db m28171) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Pike Road — Georgia Washington School|
|Miss Georgia Washington founded the Peoples Village School for black students on this site in 1893. Georgia Washington was born a slave November 23, 1851 in Virginia. As a student at Hampton Institute, Virginia, she met Dr. Booker T. Washington who later recruited her to teach here in Mt. Meigs. The first year the enrollment grew from four to 100 students. She retired in 1936, after 43 years of service, and the school was deeded to Montgomery County. A new school building was dedicated in . . . — Map (db m72010) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Pike Road — Pike Road School|
|Montgomery County's first school to consolidate rural, one-room school houses into grades one through twelve opened November 11, 1918. The school was built by the Montgomery County Board of Education on 30 acres of land at a cost of $40,000 with monies loaned and donated by families from surrounding settlements. Hailed by the U.S. Commissioner of Education when it was featured in the Alabama Exhibit at the 1926 Sesquicentennial International Exposition in Philadelphia, the school subsequently . . . — Map (db m72017) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Pintlala — Pintlala Grange Hall / Grange Hall School|
| (Side 1)
Pintlala Grange Hall
The National Grange of the Patrons of Husbandry was organized in 1867 to provide economic, social and cultural improvements for farmers and their families. Pintlala's Grange Hall was erected circa 1875 on land adjacent to this marker. By the 1890s the popularity of the Grange began to wane. On July 21-23, 1891 the last meeting of the Alabama Granges took place in Pintlala. The Federal Land Bank was organized as the National Farm Loan Association . . . — Map (db m71433) HM|
|Alabama (Montgomery County), Pintlala — Pintlala School|
|Opened in 1923 to consolidate a number of one-, two-, and three-teacher institutions in southwestern Montgomery County including Hope Hull, LeGrand, Mt. Carmel, Grange Hall, Snowdoun, Bethlehem, Fleta, Sankey, and Tabernacle. W.F. Feagin served as County School Superintendent during the planning phase, succeeded by Dr. A.F. Harmon by the time the school opened.
Board of Education members in 1923 were Jesse B. Hearin (Chairman), P.M. McIntyre, Simon Gassenheimer, Dr. William Tankersley, and . . . — Map (db m71432) HM|
|Alabama (Morgan County), Decatur — Schaudies - Banks Cottage|
|During the 1870s, Samuel Schaudies and Abbie Robinson Schaudies moved to this site from Huntsville and purchased this five-room cottage in 1881 for $800.00. The deed lists this site as part of Lot 84, “Old Town” Decatur. In 1875, their daughter, Tulie Ophelia, was born and, in 1898, she married H. J. Banks in the parlor. He was a descendant of a pioneer Decatur family, notary public, businessman, and son of a city alderman. Their daughter, Athelyne Celest, was born and lived in this . . . — Map (db m27763) HM|
|Alabama (Perry County), Marion — Judson College|
Milo P. Jewett, President
Deeded in 1843 to
The Alabama Baptist Convention
One of the nation's first colleges to offer higher education for women, it has served, since its founding, as a liberal and fine arts college for young women. — Map (db m70071) HM|
|Alabama (Perry County), Marion — Lincoln Normal School|
On July 17, 1867, nine ex-slaves (James Childs, Alexander H. Curtis, Nicholas Dale, John Freeman, David Harris, Thomas Lee, Nathan Levert, Ivey Pharish and Thomas Speed) formed and incorporated the “Lincoln School of Marion.” They soon found it difficult to recruit and pay teachers. On September 10, 1868, the trustees entered into an agreement with the American Missionary Association (AMA), an auxiliary of the Congregational Churches. The Reverend A. W. Steward, the . . . — Map (db m70096) HM|
|Alabama (Perry County), Marion — Marion Military Institute|
|Founded in 1842 as Howard English & Classical School by the Alabama Baptist Convention, with Dr. S. S. Sherman as President, it later became Howard College. Lovelace Hall (Old South Barracks), built 1854, & the Chapel, built 1857, served the Confederacy as Breckenridge Military Hospital 1863-65 & along with the President's House, built 1912, are listed on the National Register of Historic Places. With the removal of Howard (now Samford University) to Birmingham in 1887, the remaining faculty & . . . — Map (db m70091) HM|
|Alabama (Perry County), Marion — The Marion Female Seminary|
|One of the earliest colleges for women in America. Founded in 1835, was the first of four colleges established in Marion,“The Athens of Alabama.”
This building, erected in 1850, contained the art studio of Nicola Marschall, who designed here in 1861, the first Confederate flag, the “Stars and Bars,” as well as the grey uniform of the Confederate Army. From 1916 to 1970 the building served as a local public school.
Entered National Register of Historic Places 1973. — Map (db m70068) HM|
|Alabama (Pike County), Goshen — Rodgers School|
|Built ca. 1860 on land donated by transplanted Georgians Hugh Ross and Tabitha Miller Rodgers, this school educated Pike County youths until consolidations closed its doors in 1935. Between 1923 and 1935, it was under the direction of H. M. Curry who labored with short terms, limited facilities, and scarce funds. Despite issuing neither report cards nor diplomas, Curry and fellow instructor Sue Edwards Carter were responsible for successfully preparing more than twenty of its graduates for . . . — Map (db m38945) HM|
|Alabama (Pike County), Orion — Orion Institute|
|Founded 1848 by legislative act and donations of citizens. Excellent instruction made it only school of kind for youth in area. Later used as public school until 1929 school consolidation.
Orion settled about 1815, by 1830 saw arrival of wealthy planters. Here on Chunnenuggee Ridge they built homes and cultivated valley plantations. — Map (db m71791) HM|
|Alabama (Pike County), Troy — “The Thinker”|
|Donated to Troy University by Huo Bao Zhu During the visit of Chancellor Jack Hawkins, Jr. to Xian, China in April 2002.
The gift was made in celebration of the Sino-American 1-2-1 Joint Degree Program and as a lasting symbol of friendship between China and the United States. — Map (db m38930) HM|
|Alabama (Pike County), Troy — Bibb Graves Hall|
|Built in 1929, Bibb Graves Hall opened in September, 1930. It was named for Alabama Governor Bibb Graves (1927-31, 1935-39) who was known as the “education governor.” Bibb Graves Hall served as the original administration building for this campus until the Ralph W. Adams Administration Building was completed in 1989. In 2004, the quad renovations was completed reflecting the intentions of the Olmsted Brothers design as the campus centerpiece. The quad project was accomplished as a . . . — Map (db m38940) HM|
|Alabama (Pike County), Troy — Cowart Hall|
|Named for Fletcher Thomas Cowart, a Troy University professor of natural science from 1890 to 1919. Cowart Hall was constructed in 1950. Originally a men’s dormitory, it was later used to house junior and senior women students. The structure was made necessary because the heavy influx of male students using the G. I. Bill following the end of World War II more than tripled the enrollment of the campus over pre-war totals. — Map (db m38933) HM|
|Alabama (Pike County), Troy — Cowart Hall — Renovated 1993|
|Born in Henderson, Alabama in 1850, Fletcher Jackson Cowart began his working career as a public school teacher. He later served superintendencies for both the Pike County and the Troy City schools. He was editor of the Troy Messenger and a member of the Alabama Legislature. He came to Troy Normal School (now TSU) as Chair of Science, a position he held for twenty years until his retirement in 1919.
Board of Trustees
Jim Folsom, Jr., Governor
Wayne Teague, Ed.D.
Gerald O. . . . — Map (db m38934) HM|
|Alabama (Pike County), Troy — Green Davis Tailgate Terrace|
|“Tailgating" on the Troy campus was initiated during the 1990’s through the example and leadership of Green Davis. In 1993 the area outside of Memorial Stadium was named in honor of Green Davis for his enduring efforts to boost Trojan spirit and promote enthusiastic pre-game activities and camaraderie. Green Davis was a Troy University alumnus and career officer in the U.S. Marine Corps. — Map (db m38929) HM|
|Alabama (Pike County), Troy — McCall Hall|
|The original structure was named for Charles Roderick McCall, Professor of Languages at Troy Normal School from 1890 to 1898. It was constructed in 1960-1961 to house the various sciences. In 1999, the structure was renovated and enlarged to house the expanded mathematics and science programs. — Map (db m38938) HM|
|Alabama (Pike County), Troy — Pace Hall|
|Built in 1946 as a men’s dorm. Named for Matthew Downer Pace, who served Troy University from 1891 to 1941 as Professor of Mathematics, Dean and President. The building was made necessary by the heavy influx of male students enrolling immediately following World War II. It now serves as the “home away from home” for many international students from around the world. Renovations of the building and support of the international efforts have been supported by the Troy Rotary Club. — Map (db m38931) HM|
|Alabama (Pike County), Troy — Riddle-Pace Field|
|Originally constructed as the home field for the university’s football and baseball teams. Pace field, home of the Troy Trojans and the Troy baseball team in the late 1930s and 1940s, stood at the location of the current Riddle - Pace Field. It is one of the original locations were the Alabama-Florida Class D Deep South Baseball League teams played. They provided players to the Cleveland Indians (1939), the Cincinnati Reds (1940) and the Detroit Tigers (1947-49). — Map (db m38935) HM|
|Alabama (Pike County), Troy — Shackelford Hall|
|Built during 1929, Shackelford Hall opened to students in September 1930. It was named for the institution’s president Edward Madison Shackelford, who served from 1899 to 1936. Adjoining this building was the original dining facility for the campus. The magnolia-lined quad is also part of the original plan for the Troy campus designed by the Olmsted Brothers of Brookline, Massachusetts. — Map (db m38932) HM|
|Alabama (Pike County), Troy — Troy University|
|Troy State Normal School was established by the Alabama General Assembly in 1887. Land and the first building for the original downtown campus and land for the present site were provided by the City of Troy. The College was moved to the present site in 1930. The State Board of Education authorized the College to grant the bachelor’s degree in 1929 and the master’s degree in 1956.
The College was placed under a separate Board of Trustees in 1967. The Board of Trustees approved the name change . . . — Map (db m38937) HM|
|Alabama (Russell County), Fort Mitchell — Asbury School and Mission — 1 Mile North of Fort Mitchell|
|In September 1821 Rev. William Capers was sent to Fort Mitchell, by the South Carolina Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church, to negotiate with the chiefs of the Creek Indian Nations for a mission which would teach their children reading, writing and other white-man skills. In 1822 Asbury Manual Labor School was established with Rev. Isaac Smith, Superintendent; 33 resident students; 3 teachers; houses; school; and farm. The school closed in 1830 following the removal to the West of a . . . — Map (db m26121) HM|
|Alabama (Russell County), Glennville — Glennville|
|(Front): One of the earliest white settlements in the Old Creek Indian Nation. James Elizabeth Glenn, who named the town, and his brother Thompson Glenn, arrived here in 1835 only to have to evacuate during the Indian uprisings of 1836, at which time all buildings were destroyed and the remaining settlers killed. Thompson Glenn is credited with effecting the removal, to Columbus Georgia, of the entrapped white citizens of nearby Roanoke, Georgia, during the same uprising. Glennville was . . . — Map (db m37451) HM|
|Alabama (Russell County), Phenix City — Albert Love Patterson — January 27, 1891 - June 18, 1954|
Born at New Site, Alabama, he grew up working on his parents’ farm. In 1916 he worked in the oil fields in Texas and joined the Texas National Guard. He married Agnes Benson of Alabama in 1917. In 1918 he was commissioned an officer in the 36th Infantry Division. He was wounded by machine gun fire at St. Etienne, France, during World War I and awarded the French Croix de Guerre with gilt star for bravery. He later received the Purple Heart. His wounds left him crippled for . . . — Map (db m69114) HM|
|Alabama (Saint Clair County), Ashville — The Dean / Inzer House — Home of Lt. Col. / Judge John Washington Inzer|
|Greek revival antebellum home built by Moses Dean in 1852, acquired by John W. Inzer in 1866. Home occupied by Inzer family from 1866 to 1987. In July 1987 home and its contents, including extensive law library, deeded by family heirs to St. Clair Camp 308, Sons of Confederate Veterans, to become museum in honor of Lt. Col. & Judge John W. Inzer. Museum is maintained for educational purposes and public awareness. Museum incorporated December 1988 as a non-profit corporation.
John . . . — Map (db m28092) HM|
|Alabama (Shelby County), Montevallo — Montevallo High School|
|Known as the Alabama College Laboratory School, Montevallo High School was housed in Reynolds’ Hall on the University of Montevallo campus from 1922 until January 1930 when the central portion of this building was completed. The original structure contained 9 classrooms and housed grades 7-12. The class of 1933 had 35 graduates. Around 1940, the Works Progress Administration constructed the building’s wings. The structure was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1990. In 1964, . . . — Map (db m37428) HM|
|Alabama (Shelby County), Montevallo — University Of Montevallo National Historic District|
|Originally named Alabama Girl’s Industrial School and later Alabama College, this institution was founded Oct. 12, 1896, by the Alabama Legislature. It was the state college for women until 1956, when it became coeducational. In 1969 the name was changed to the University of Montevallo. In Dec., 1978, the central portion of the campus was listed in the National Register of Historic Places. The oldest buildings are King House (1823) and Reynolds Hall (1851) — Map (db m37289) HM|
|Alabama (Talladega County), Talladega — Auburn University And Birmingham-Southern College Began In Talladega, 1854|
|By action of the Alabama Conference of The Methodist Episcopal Church, South in session at Talladega, December 13-18, 1854, Auburn University and Birmingham - Southern College were born. The delegation resolved to “have a college within the bounds of our Conference.” While the intent was to start a single college by and for the Methodist Church, intense rivalry between eastern and western sections of the state over the location of the school resulted in two institutions: the East . . . — Map (db m28202) HM|
|Alabama (Talladega County), Talladega — Presbyterian Home For Children — Synod Of Alabama — Presbyterian Church In The United States|
|Originally conceived 1864 as a home for children of Confederate dead by Synod in session at Selma.
Opened at Tuskegee 1868 - relocated in Talladega 1891. A haven for dependent youth of Alabama providing training, education, and worship in a Christian atmosphere. — Map (db m28206) HM|
|Alabama (Tallapoosa County), Camp Hill — Lyman Ward Military Academy|
|Lyman Ward Military Academy was founded in 1898 as the Southern Industrial Institute by Dr. Lyman Ward, a Universalist minister from New York. Dr. Ward established SII to educate the poor children of Alabama, many of whom had few opportunities due to the devastation caused by the Civil War and subsequent Reconstruction. With donations received from the citizens of Camp Hill and assistance from fellow reformers like Booker T. Washington, founder of Tuskegee Institute, Ward began his school with . . . — Map (db m25501) HM|
|Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — Alabama Central Female College|
|After the seat of government was moved to Montgomery in 1847, the Tuscaloosa Capitol and its furnishings were deeded to the University of Alabama to be used for educational purposes.
In 1857, the University Board of Trustees leased the building for ninety-nine years to the newly formed Baptist affiliated Alabama Central Female College. At this time, a large brick four story dormitory was constructed at the west of the building.
On August 22, 1923, the historic building was totally . . . — Map (db m29064) HM|
|Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — Alpha Delta Pi — Organized May 15, 1851 — ETA Chapter March 21, 1907|
|Alpha Delta Pi, the first college secret sisterhood, was organized at Wesleyan Female College, Macon, Georgia, the first women's college to grant academic degrees. Originally identified as Adelpheans, the group had three thousand alumnae and sixty active members in 1905 when it change its name to Alpha Delta Phi (Pi in 1913) and began to expand nationally. Eta Chapter at the University of Alabama was the first chapter established in the state. Pi Kappa Kappa, the first local sorority at the . . . — Map (db m28783) HM|
|Alabama (Tuscaloosa County), Tuscaloosa — Amelia Gayle Gorgas — 1826-1913|
|Daughter of John Gayle, Governor of Alabama.
Wife of Josiah Gorgas, Brigadier General, C. S. A.
Mother of William Crawford Gorgas, Surgeon General, U. S. A.
Untiring nurse in Confederate Hospitals, 1861-1865.
First Historian Alabama Division, U. D. C. 1897-1899.
Matron of University Hospital, 1879-1907.
Librarian, University of Alabama, 1883-1907.
In commemoration of this noble record, and of her exalted personal character, this memorial tribute is erected by the Alabama Division, . . . — Map (db m33653) HM|