|Alabama (Autauga County), Autaugaville — Albert J. Pickett — 1810-1858 — Scholar-Planter-Trader|
|Alabama's first historian lived on plantation nearby. From traders and Indians he gathered materials for his authentic history of early Alabama and the Southeast. — Map (db m68838) HM|
|Alabama (Autauga County), Autaugaville — Autaugaville — Intersection of Autauga and Academy Streets — "America's First Crossroad"|
|Robert Ripley's world-wide syndicated Believe It Or Not! column for July 31, 1935 read: "C. D. Abbott is the first citizen of the U.S.A. He is first alphabetically in Autaugaville, the first town in Autauga, the first county in Alabama, the first state in the U.S.A." Ripley could have added that Mr. Abbott lived on Autauga Street, which was the first street alphabetically in Autaugaville in 1935. As the town grew, Academy Street was added, crossing the older "first street" and making this "America's First Crossroad." — Map (db m68839) HM|
|Alabama (Autauga County), Prattville — A County Older Than the State, Autauga County|
|Created in 1818 by an act of
Alabama Territorial Legislature.
Autauga Indians lived on creek
from which the county takes its name.
Autaugas were members of the Alibamo tribe.
They sent many warriors to resist
Andrew Jackson's invasion in Creek War.
County was part of the territory ceded
by the Creeks in Treaty of Ft. Jackson, 1814.
Prattville county seat since 1868.
Earlier: Jackson's Mill, Washington, Kingston. — Map (db m27907) HM|
|Alabama (Autauga County), Prattville — Autauga County Korean War Memorial|
|Dedicated to the
Korean War Veterans
of Autauga County — Map (db m70818) WM|
|Alabama (Autauga County), Prattville — Autauga County Viet Nam Memorial|
Conflict — Map (db m70816) WM|
|Alabama (Autauga County), Prattville — Autauga County World War II Memorial|
|Dedicated to the Veterans
of Autauga County who served
their country during WWII — Map (db m70817) WM|
|Alabama (Autauga County), Prattville — Autauga Creek|
Water has always played a significant role in the history of Prattville. Daniel Pratt chose the location for his new town because of the proximity to Autauga Creek and the Alabama River. This area was referred to as an “unhealthy quagmire” in the earliest records; but the location of Prattville proved to be ideal for Daniel Pratt’s new town. He built his gin mill, saw mill, and grist mill on the banks of Autauga Creek in the early 1830’s. In 1847, an article in De . . . — Map (db m70815) HM|
|Alabama (Autauga County), Prattville — Buena Vista — Montgomery-Janes-Wittaker Home — (circa 1830)|
|This antebellum plantation house was completed by Capt. William Montgomery, a contemporary of Prattville's founder, Daniel Pratt.
This “Deep South” architecture reflects the Federal style with the later addition of a Colonial Revival facade that includes a portico with Ionic Columns and a cast ironwork balcony. Interesting features of this structure are the delicately crafted fanlights over the front entrance and in the gable ends. A circular staircase spiraling 24 feet . . . — Map (db m70795) HM|
|Alabama (Autauga County), Prattville — Daniel Pratt Cemetery / George Cooke|
|(Front): Daniel Pratt CemeteryFinal resting place of early Alabama industrialist Daniel Pratt, 1799-1873, and wife Esther Ticknor Pratt, 1803-1875. He was from New Hampshire and she, Connecticut. Married 1827 at Fortville, Jones County, Georgia.
The former carpenter’s apprentice practiced his craft in Milledgeville, Ga. Where he gained skill in building and design. In 1832 Pratt came to Alabama to build cotton gins. Esther encouraged Pratt to remain in Alabama in order for him . . . — Map (db m27957) HM|
|Alabama (Autauga County), Prattville — Daniel Pratt/First United Methodist Church|
Founder of Prattville
Daniel Pratt, a native of New Hampshire, became an industrialist, statesman and philanthropist in Alabama. He was a Methodist in both heart and practice. He encourage the development of the Methodist community in Prattville. As his town grew, Pratt contributed land and money to build schools and churches for its citizens.
Until shortly before his death, Mr. Pratt taught a class in the Union Sunday School that all its citizens . . . — Map (db m70813) HM|
|Alabama (Autauga County), Prattville — Doster Road Artesian Well House|
|Prattville is often referred to as “The Fountain City” for the numerous free-flowing artesian wells found here. A 1933 edition of the Prattville Progress noted that there were more than 400 of these artesian wells in Prattville and its immediate vicinity, some of which supplied the town's water system. Although many of the wells have been capped, or ceased to flow when relocated, quite a few remain, including several public wells in the Daniel Pratt Historic District. . . . — Map (db m70805) HM|
|Alabama (Autauga County), Prattville — First Presbyterian Church of Prattville, Alabama / Original Members|
First Presbyterian Church of Prattville, Alabama
Organized 1846 by Pastor Wm. H. Mitchell, this congregation succeeded Millenium Hope Presbyterian, 2 mi. E. of town. Pastor Jas. K. Hazen (1861-77) married Mary Ticknor, niece of town founder, Daniel Pratt. They led in establishing orphanage, now Presbyterian Home for Children, Talladega. In 1867-68 Poet Sidney Lanier, principal of Prattville Male and Female Academy, was church organist. Original Greek Revival church . . . — Map (db m81479) HM|
|Alabama (Autauga County), Prattville — Happy Hollow|
|Known as Fair Road, Sixth Street from Northington Street to the big curve was called “Happy Hollow”. The road went to the Fair home place but also curved right, into Warren Circle. Here stood a small frame church where the congregation’s enthusiastic preaching, singing, and shouting led to the name Happy Hollow Church. Bethlehem Colored Methodist Episcopal was relocated in 1947 to Chestnut and Sixth, and renamed Bethlehem Christian Methodist Episcopal Church.
Within the Hollow . . . — Map (db m70800) HM|
|Alabama (Autauga County), Prattville — Heritage Park|
|Located within Daniel Pratt Historic District, this park overlooks Autauga Creek and the manufacturing complex around which this New England style village developed. Daniel Pratt founded Prattville in 1839, and patterned the town after those of his native New Hampshire. Pratt chose this site to manufacture cotton gins because of the abundant water power. The many artesian wells gave Prattville the name, "The Fountain City." Some of the buildings in view here have been used continuously since . . . — Map (db m27958) HM|
|Alabama (Autauga County), Prattville — Indian Springs Post Office/Thomas Hill House/Union Baptist Meeting House|
|Indian Springs Post Office
Location of considerable Community activity in the early nineteenth-century Autauga County
Thomas Hill House
Site of first Court after Autauga became a County
Union Baptist Meeting House
1830s forerunner of First Baptist Church
The above sites were located
within ½ mile radius of this spot. — Map (db m70798) HM|
|Alabama (Autauga County), Prattville — Mulbry Grove Cottage — McWilliams - Smith - Rice House|
|Built circa, 1840s by A.K. McWilliams, this story and one-half Federal-style raised cottage with Greek Revival elements was the residence of Amos Smith, who name the town of Prattville.
The west front parlor was the meeting place where the Prattville Dragoons, a Civil War unit, was organized in 1861. Occupied for many years by George L. and Abbie Holt Smith, the house remained in the hands of their descendants until 1995. Charles Rice, a nephew by marriage of George and Abbie Smith’s son, . . . — Map (db m27982) HM|
|Alabama (Autauga County), Prattville — Old Autauga County Courthouse — 1870|
|The county's third courthouse was used until 1906. George Littlefield Smith, an early citizen of Prattville, designed and built the Italianate-style structure. Earlier county seats were Washington, then Kingston.
Marker placed by the Historic Pratville Redevelopment Authority for the City of Pratville. — Map (db m70808) HM|
|Alabama (Autauga County), Prattville — Old Kingston Historical Cemetery|
This cemetery is one of the oldest cemeteries in Autauga County having been established as a burial ground by at least 1841. The land was officially set aside as a burial ground when the county seat was in this area from 1834 to 1868. The area was first know as Kingston and was later renamed Old Kingston. Buried here is Mr. W.N. Thompson who was born in Wilshire, England in 1791 and died in 1851 and also served as the first circuit clerk of Autauga County when the county seat was located in . . . — Map (db m82561) HM|
|Alabama (Autauga County), Prattville — Old Plank Road — Circa 1840's|
|The plank road was constructed of large pine logs, sawed lengthwise and laid round-side down. Daniel Pratt built the road for public benefit and to provide transportation from the Pratt Cotton Gin Factory to Washington on the Alabama River. Over four-miles long, the road cost between eight-and ten-thousand dollars to construct.
Cotton gins from Pratt's factory were shipped all over the globe. Under the name "Continental Eagle," this factory remains the largest cotton gin manufacturer in . . . — Map (db m27983) HM|
|Alabama (Autauga County), Prattville — Pratt Gin Factory — 1 mile|
|Once the world's largest plant manufacturing cotton gins.
Founded 1833 by Daniel Pratt, the greatest industrialist of Alabama prior to 1860. Pratt's many industries were of great aid to Confederacy during Northern blockade. — Map (db m70799) HM|
|Alabama (Autauga County), Prattville — Pratt Homesite — Circa 1842|
|Daniel Pratt, Prattville’s founding father,
constructed an imposing home and garden
within a quarter-mile of this site on
Autauga Creek, near his industrial complex.
The large home was designed and erected by
Pratt himself, a noted architect / builder.
The white frame house featured New England
architectural elements characteristic of
Pratt’s style and incorporated a narrow,
two-story portico and balcony. Pratt also added
An art gallery to the home displaying paintings by
George . . . — Map (db m27985) HM|
|Alabama (Autauga County), Prattville — Saint Mark's Episcopal Church|
|Saint Mark's was organized in 1859 as a mission of the Diocese of Alabama. Services were first held at the Presbyterian Church and in the old Court House. In December 1876, the congregation purchased an old wooden frame chapel from the Methodists and moved it to this site, where it was dedicated by Bishop Richard H. Wilmer on April 29, 1877. The baptismal font, pews, and church bell survive from that chapel. The present church building was completed in June 1909. The first service held in this . . . — Map (db m70801) HM|
|Alabama (Autauga County), Prattville — Sidney Lanier — Musician - Poet - Patriot - Seer|
|Beloved teacher of Prattville Academy
1867 • on this site • 1868
whose memory will be forever
cherished by people of Prattville, Ala.
whom he loved and served — Map (db m70820) HM|
|Alabama (Autauga County), Prattville — Sidney Lanier/Prattville Male and Female Academy Site|
The poet and musician, born in Macon, Georgia, was Academy principal in 1867-68. He married Mary H. Day of Macon in December 1867. In Prattville, they lived at the Mims Hotel and later in Dr. S.P. Smith's home.
Following a brief legal career in Georgia, Lanier became first flutist in 1873 with the Peabody Orchestra in Baltimore and in 1879 was appointed as lecturer in English Literature at Johns Hopkins University.
He wrote the words . . . — Map (db m70802) HM|
|Alabama (Autauga County), Prattville — The Prattville Dragoons|
|This boulder erected by
The Merrill E. Pratt Chapter U.D.C.
April 26, 1916,
marks the spot where
The Prattville Dragoons
assembled in April, 1861,
on the eve of their departure
to the war,
and is commemorative of their
patriotism in the Confederate service. — Map (db m70819) HM WM|
|Alabama (Autauga County), Prattville — Wilson Pickett, Jr. — March 18, 1941 - January 19, 2006|
|A native of Prattville, Wilson Pickett was raised singing gospel in local churches. Upon moving to Detroit as a teenager, he began to blend gospel-style with rhythm and blues, resulting in some of "the deepest, funkiest soul music" to come from the Deep South.
In 1966, he began working with musicians in Muscle Shoals, Alabama, and it was there that he cut some of his biggest hits, including “Land of a Thousand Dances,” “Mustang Sally” and “Funky . . . — Map (db m70804) HM|
|Alabama (Baldwin County), Bon Secour — Stop 3 — Vicinity of Salt Works and Camp Anderson — “Salt Is Eminently Contraband” — Civil War Trail Battle for Mobile Bay|
| Both people and animals need salt to remain healthy. Before the Civil War the people of Alabama consumed about 50 pounds of salt per person per year, most of which came from England and the West Indies. One quarter of all the salt imported into the United States came into the country through the Port of New Orleans.
During the war, though salt was smuggled into Mobile by blockade runners from Havana, the blockade and transportation problems constricted the supply of salt throughout much . . . — Map (db m68503) HM|
|Alabama (Baldwin County), Daphne — Daphne United Methodist Church|
|This church and cemetery have been in continuous service by the citizens of this area since the 1840's. Originally named "Methodist Episcopal Church South." Land donated by William L. Howard. Building built by L. E. Edmondson and a Creole helper, Isaac Alexander, who hand made the pegs used in the framework. Oldest marked grave is 1847. Building still houses the slave gallery, silver- dollar lined bell, original pews and the original chandelier converted to electricity. Many generations have knelt in prayer here. — Map (db m49260) HM|
|Alabama (Baldwin County), Foley — City of Foley|
The City of Foley was founded in 1905 by John B. Foley of Chicago. Mr. foley, who was in the pharmaceutical business, heard about this area from a railroad land agent as they traveled to President William McKinley's funeral in 1901. Mr. Foley came to Alabama the following year and purchased thousands of acres of land. He formed the Magnolia Land Company and began selling acreage to those in Chicago who wanted to move south and take advantage of the rich farmland. The Bay . . . — Map (db m50408) HM|
|Alabama (Baldwin County), Foley — City of Foley Camellia Walk|
|The camellia, is often called the Queen of winter flowers, is the state flower of Alabama. Originally from the Orient, the camellia made its way to Europe in the 1600s, then to America and Australia in the 1700s. It now flourishes in the southern states of the U.S. and in California. Enthusiastic camellia lovers have managed to increase the number of named cultivars from a few hundred in the eighteenth century to over 32,000 in the twenty-first. Now cold-hardy cultivars are being developed and . . . — Map (db m50411) HM|
|Alabama (Baldwin County), Foley — Cobb's Light|
|1942, Benjamin DeWitt Cobb, more affectionately known as “B.D.”, was appointed as the lone police officer for the town of Foley. In 1943, another officer was hired and B.D. was appointed as the first Chief of Police. This marked the founding of the Foley Police Department. B.D. Cobb served as Police Chief until 1971 when he resigned due to failing health. He remained with the Police Department for several more years, serving as a Captain.
Early in Chief Cobb’s tenure, the Town of . . . — Map (db m81581) HM|
|Alabama (Baldwin County), Fort Morgan — Noble Leslie DeVotie|
|(Obverse): First Alabama soldier to lose life in Civil War.
DeVotie graduated in 1856 from University of Alabama; Presbyterian Theological Seminary at Princeton in 1859. In 1856 at the University of Alabama, he was chief founder of Sigma Alpha Epsilon Fraternity, the only national social fraternity founded in the Deep South.
(Reverse): First Alabama soldier to die in Civil War.
Drowned Feb. 12, 1861 while on duty as chaplain of Alabama troops here. Before enlisting he was . . . — Map (db m4219) HM|
|Alabama (Baldwin County), Fort Morgan — The Pride of Seven Flags|
Tribute dedicated to the memory of the soldiers who gave their lives in the defense of our country here at Fort Morgan.
Here lies the pride of seven flags entombed in our ancestor’s worth, who heard the thunder of the fray break o’er the field beneath knew the watchword of the day was “Victory or Death.”
Dates of battles and some events relative to Fort Morgan.
1711 – Battle, France – England
1719 – Battle, . . . — Map (db m4649) HM|
|Alabama (Baldwin County), Gulf Shores — 6.4” (100 pounder) Parrott Rifle / 7” Brooke Rifle|
| 6.4” (100 pounder) Parrott Rifle
Designed by Robert Parker Parrott at the outbreak of the Civil War, the Parrott Rifle became one of the most used rifled artillery pieces during the war. With shells that exploded on impact, rifled guns such as the Parrott Rifle spelled the end of masonry fortifications. In the 1870’s, the U.S. Army attempted to modernize Fort Morgan by shipping several 6.4” (100pdr.) Parrott Rifles to the fort to improve its armament.
7” Brooke . . . — Map (db m69898) HM|
|Alabama (Baldwin County), Gulf Shores — Battery Dearborn (1900-1924)|
| Constructed between 1899 and 1900, the battery was named in honor of Major General Henry Dearborn, a Revolutionary War hero. The battery mounted eight 12” breech-loading mortars. Each mortar weighed 13 tons and was 11’ 9” long. The battery’s mortars did not fire directly at a target, but rather into one of eight “zones.” Different weights of projectiles and powder charges were used in each zone. Projectiles weighted between 824 and 1046 pounds and were propelled by . . . — Map (db m69919) HM|
|Alabama (Baldwin County), Gulf Shores — Battery Schenck (1899-1923)|
| Battery Schenck, named for First Lieutenant William Schenck who was killed in action during the Philippine Insurrection, was the second rapid fire battery constructed at Fort Morgan. Completed on June 4, 1900, the battery would sit without guns for three years before finally receiving its armament of two Model 1898, 15-pounder Rapid Fire guns in September of 1903. A third position was added to the battery in 1904 with its Model 1902, 15 pounder Rapid-Fire gun being mounted in December of . . . — Map (db m70058) HM|
|Alabama (Baldwin County), Gulf Shores — Battery Thomas (1898-1917)|
| The first of two rapid fire gun batteries, Battery Thomas was named in honor of Captain Evan Thomas, 4th U.S. Artillery, who was killed in action with the Modoc Indians at Lava Beds, California in 1873.
In March 1898, as the nation moved towards war with Spain, the Army rushed this battery into service. The concrete platforms were completed on April 26th and two 4.7” Rapid Fire Guns were installed on May 9, 1898. Capable of firing a 45 pound projectile six miles, these guns . . . — Map (db m69826) HM|
|Alabama (Baldwin County), Gulf Shores — Citadel (1825-1865)|
| The Citadel, a large ten sided brick and wood structure, once dominated the Fort’s parade ground. Completed in 1825 as a defensive barracks, it was capable of housing 400 soldiers.
During the Union bombardment on August 22, 1864, the pine beams used in the construction of the citadel’s roof caught fire and burned out of control. The fire forced the Confederates to dump approximately 60,000 pounds of cannon powder into the fort’s water cistern to prevent it from exploding. On the morning . . . — Map (db m68751) HM|
|Alabama (Baldwin County), Gulf Shores — Fort Bowyer War of 1812|
|At, or near, this site, the United States, after seizing this point of land from the Spanish in 1813, built Fort Bowyer, a structure of wood and sand.
A small garrison of men courageously fought to defend the fort against two British attacks, one in September, 1814, again in February, 1815. — Map (db m28692) HM|
|Alabama (Baldwin County), Gulf Shores — None — Gulf Shores Community|
|Officially designated “Pleasure Island” in 1949 by Governor Jim Folsom, the 32 miles of white sandy beaches in Gulf Shores has been a prime fishing and golf destination for Alabamians and tourists. Early Alabama Gulf Coast individuals and families were mariners, fishermen, boat builders, salt miners, and turpentine harvesters living off the sea and land. They were largely self-sufficient and often at the mercy of Mother Nature. The diversity of this small marine community influenced . . . — Map (db m52045) HM|
|Alabama (Baldwin County), Gulf Shores — Indian Village Achuse|
| This Shell Banks Baptist Church rests near the location of the first Indian village in America visited by a white man. This was the Indian village of “Achuse” visited by Admiral Maldonado who was one of De Soto’s officers. He scouted the Florida and Alabama coast from Tampa Bay and entered the port of “Achuse” before De Soto started from Tampa Bay on the longest, strangest, boldest adventure in the history of the world. This was in 1539, 81 years before the Pilgrims . . . — Map (db m66295) HM|
|Alabama (Baldwin County), Gulf Shores — Officer’s Row|
| As the U.S. Army modernized at the turn of the 20th century, so too did its military posts. In the stratified society of this period, separate and distinct areas for the various classes of individuals were developed. The Army was little different, officers and their families sat at the top of the ladder. Provided with all possible modern conveniences, including electricity, the officers were quartered in ten large houses facing Mobile Bay. In addition, the Army provided them such diversions as . . . — Map (db m70104) HM|
|Alabama (Baldwin County), Gulf Shores — Panama Mount|
| After World War I, the versatile M1918M1 gun and its M1918A1 carriage were adapted for coast defense. Although the gun could be traversed over a wider range than other large guns of the period, it was still unable to adequately track moving targets. This deficiency was rectified by the development during the 1920’s of circular concrete gun emplacements in the Panama Canal Zone.
When emplaced on these simple, inexpensive, Panama mounts, the 155mm GPF was an effective alternative to older . . . — Map (db m81808) HM|
|Alabama (Baldwin County), Gulf Shores — Peace Magazine (1902-1924)|
| When Fort Morgan was modified between the 1890’s and early 1900’s, an allocation of $7,000.00 was made to build a “Peace” magazine. This building was the central storage area for the powder used by the fort’s guns. If war was expected, the powder was to be moved to the better protected magazines of each gun battery.
Work was begun on the copper-roofed magazine in January 1902 and completed by the end of the year. The building was used until the post was abandoned in 1924. The . . . — Map (db m69917) HM|
|Alabama (Baldwin County), Gulf Shores — The Battery Lincoln — Position of Company “C” of the 20th Iowa Infantry|
| Completed on August 18th, Battery Lincoln was located near the northern end of the Federal siege lines of Fort Morgan. Company “C” of the 20th Iowa Infantry Regiment, under the command of Captain Mark L. Thomson, was detailed to serve as sharpshooters on the siege line.
Near daybreak on August 22nd, the last great bombardment of Fort Morgan commenced. Private Samuel Crawford of the 20th Iowa detailed the accurate shelling of the mortars in a diary he penned during the . . . — Map (db m81809) HM|
|Alabama (Baldwin County), Gulf Shores — Stop C1 — The Battle of Mobile Bay — “A Deadly Rain of Shot and Shell” — Civil War Trail, Battle for Mobile Bay|
| Eager to attack Mobile Bay since 1862, U. S. Admiral David Farragut knew he could not capture control of the lower bay without the support of the army and without a flotilla of ironclad monitors to confront the Confederate ironclad CSS Tennessee. In July 1864, U. S. General Edward Canby sent 1,500 men under General Gordon Granger on army transports from New Orleans. Granger landed on Dauphin Island on August 3. By August 4 all of Farragut’s monitors had joined the fleet. Farragut was . . . — Map (db m68815) HM|
|Alabama (Baldwin County), Gulf Shores — Stop C3 — The Battle of Mobile Bay — “Damn the Torpedoes!” — Civil War Trail, Battle for Mobile Bay|
At 7:25 a.m., August 5, 1864, Admiral Farragut’s lead monitor Tecumseh steered into the torpedo field at the mouth of Mobile Bay. The admiral had ordered Commander Tunis Craven, the Tecumseh’s captain, to engage the ram Tennessee. Then west of the black buoy marking the eastern limit of the torpedo field, the Tennessee was steaming further west. Craven was too close to the black buoy to steer east of it; if he was to catch the Ram, he would have to move west of . . . — Map (db m69412) HM|
|Alabama (Baldwin County), Gulf Shores — Stop C2 — The Battle of Mobile Bay — “Now I Am In The Humor, I Will Have It Out!” — Civil War Trail, Battle for Mobile Bay|
| As the Hartford and Brooklyn steamed into the lower bay, the Tennessee tried to ram both in succession but was too slow and had to let them pass. Admiral Buchanan then exchanged broadsides with the rest of Admiral Farragut’s ships as they ran into the Bay.
At the same time, the Rebel gunboats Selma, Gaines, and Morgan, retreating up the Bay before the advancing ships, imposed a galling fire upon the enemy for fifteen minutes.
When the Federals won . . . — Map (db m69617) HM|
|Alabama (Baldwin County), Gulf Shores — The Overland Campaign — Storm Clouds Gather — Civil War Trail, Battle for Mobile Bay|
| To Wait and Watch
In late August 1864 the Federals controlled Mobile Bay but could not attack Mobile. Admiral Farragut could not reach the city even with his light draft vessels, because the channels in the upper Bay had been obstructed. Nor was U.S. General Edward Canby’s force big enough to take Mobile by an overland route. The soldiers that would otherwise have been available to him were tied down in other places. All Canby could do was make occasional demonstrations from the Bay to . . . — Map (db m69909) HM|
|Alabama (Baldwin County), Gulf Shores — U.S. Model 1918M1 155mm Gun and Model 1918A1 Carriage|
| The U.S. Model 1918M1 155mm Gun, more commonly known as the “G.P.F.”, was a French heavy artillery piece manufactured in the U.S. for use by the U.S. Army during World War I. Due to the gun’s mobility and hitting power, it was used during the 1920’s and 1930’s as a coast defense weapon. By 1944, the M1918M1 gun and the M1918AA carriage with its solid rubber tires were no longer in front line service and had been relegated to a support role. During World War II, Battery F of the . . . — Map (db m69910) HM|
|Alabama (Baldwin County), Josephine — Josephine|
|In 1841, Raphael Semmes acquired farmland at the head of this bayou. The new homestead was named Prospect Hill. Several of Semmes’ colleagues from the Pensacola Navy Yard obtained nearby property and established “a very nice colony of nautical farmers”. The inlet became known as Semmes Bayou.
In 1881, the first post office was established with Amos Ross as postmaster. The settlement was then named for Ross’ daughter, Josephine.
In 1898, the McPherson family acquired the . . . — Map (db m71957) HM|
|Alabama (Baldwin County), Magnolia Springs — Magnolia Springs, Alabama|
Settlement of this area began in the early 1700’s and was expedited by a series of Spanish land grants in the early 1800’s. During the 1819-33 time period a brick factory along the south river bank supplied brick for construction of Fort Morgan at the mouth of Mobile Bay. In 1891 the community of Magnolia Springs was established when the first subdivision was platted. The village’s name was a combination of two local assets - the ever-flowing springs and the towering canopy . . . — Map (db m66271) HM|
|Alabama (Baldwin County), Magnolia Springs — The Springs|
| Old tales have it that early explorers and even pirate vessels obtained potable water from springs scattered throughout the community of Magnolia Springs. This park is located at the largest of dozens of springs in the area.
In 1865 The Springs played a part in history by refreshing and restoring battle worn Federal troops traveling from the fallen Fort Morgan to Spanish Fort and Old Blakeley.
While building a log and timber bridge over Magnolia River, many of the Yankee soldiers . . . — Map (db m68486) HM|
|Alabama (Baldwin County), Orange Beach — Orange Beach Community Cemetery — “Bear Point Cemetery” — Baldwin County|
The property where the cemetery is located was part of a Spanish Land Grant issued to the Suarez family prior to the War of 1812. In 1925, a United States Land Patent was confirmed and issued. The property has been in use since the days of Spanish West Florida and perhaps even before this time. The cemetery was previously known as Bear Point Cemetery because of the bears that inhabited this end of the island. The property changed ownership man times until the Low and . . . — Map (db m71618) HM|
|Alabama (Baldwin County), Orange Beach — Orange Beach, Alabama|
Orange Beach was named for the oranges that were grown here and exported until the hard-freezes of 1916. The orange groves are gone, but the name remained. Drawn here by the game they hunted, the early Indians discovered the seafood bounty of the Gulf of Mexico. The shell mounds and archeological digs give evidence of thousands of years of Indian visits. The Spanish land grants of Samuel Suarez and William Kee were the beginnings of area development. Logging and pine sap . . . — Map (db m81851) HM|
|Alabama (Baldwin County), Spanish Fort — “Damn The Torpedoes!” — The Campaigns for Mobile, 1864-1965|
|“Damn The Torpedoes!” is the familiar battle cry, but there’s much more to the story! The Mobile Bay Civil War Trail is your guide to military movements and the way of life on and around Mobile Bay in the closing two years of the Civil War. Stand in the very spots where the action occurred during the Battle of Mobile Bay (August 1864) and the later overland effort to capture Mobile, called the Campaign for Mobile (March - May, 1865). The complete Trail stretches from the Gulf of . . . — Map (db m81853) HM|
|Alabama (Baldwin County), Spanish Fort — Revolutionary War Battlefield and Burial Ground at Spanish Fort (1780-1781)|
|During the Revolutionary War, France, Spain, Britain, and the United States were interested in the fate of this region. In March 1780, Spanish forces captured Mobile. They established a palisaded fort with trenches (one mile north of here) to protect nearby Frenchtown, also known as The Village from British forces based in Pensacola. Early on the foggy Sunday morning of 7 January 1781, the British, under Col. von Hanxleden, attacked with about 200 German, Swiss, English, loyalist American . . . — Map (db m61451) HM|
|Alabama (Baldwin County), Spanish Fort — Ruins of the original Foundation of Baldwin County's First Courthouse|
| Ruins of the original Foundation of
Baldwin County's First Courthouse
Authorized 1820 • Constructed circa 1833
Preserved by Historic Blakely State Park 2011-12
With support in part of a Save Amerca's Treasures grant by the National Park Service, Department of the Interior, and matching local tax funds — Map (db m82019) HM|
|Alabama (Baldwin County), Spanish Fort — Saluda Hill Cemetery|
|Saluda Hill Cemetery is a private historical cemetery established in 1824. Among the graves here is that of Zachariah Godbold, the only known Revolutionary War veteran buried in Baldwin County. Many Blakeley residents and Confederate soldiers also are buried in the cemetery. — Map (db m81854) HM|
|Alabama (Baldwin County), Spanish Fort — Stop 7 Fort McDermott: — "The Men Dig,Dig,Dig" — Civil War Trail|
|Late on March 26, C.S. General St. John Liddell withdrew into the relative safety of Fort Blakeley and Spanish Fort, Liddell, assisted by General Francis Cockrell, assumed personal responsibility for the defense of Blakeley and put the defense of Spanish Fort in General Randall Gibson's capable hands. On the morning of the 27th, A.J. Smith, leaving an entrenched division at Sibley's Mills, wheeled around and closed in on Spanish Fort's left flank, near Bay Minette. Granger and Bertram . . . — Map (db m50597) HM|
|Alabama (Baldwin County), Spanish Fort — Stop 8 The Eighth Iowa Line: — “The Very Air Was Hot”|
|Canby brought up his heavy guns from Stark’s Landing a process that took several days, beginning on the 28th. Supported by the Federal monitors, Chickasaw and Winnebago, Canby tried to pound the enemy into submission The Confederates naturally attempted to slow the progress of the Federal engineers and artillerists with cannon fire from Spanish Fort, Forts Huger and Tracey, and their gunboats on the river. The most deadly artillery duels occurred on April 2, 4, and 8. At first, Gibson’s command . . . — Map (db m50602) HM|
|Alabama (Baldwin County), Stockton — Bartram’s Trail|
|William Bartram, America’s first native born artist - naturalist, passed through Baldwin County during the Revolutionary era, making the first scientific notations of its flora, fauna and inhabitants. As the appointed botanist of Britain’s King George III, he traveled 2,400 miles in three journeys into the southern colonies in 1775-1776, collecting rare plants and specimens and making detailed drawings of plants and animals.
Erected by Baldwin County Commission And Alabama Bicentennial Commission — Map (db m81855) HM|
|Alabama (Baldwin County), Stockton — Fort Mims And The Creek Indian War, 1813-14|
In 1813, people on the United State’s southwestern frontier were fearful. The Redstick faction of the Creek Indian Nation opposed growing American influence in the area and had voted for war. However, Creeks living in the Tensaw area had intermarried with the European and American settlers and were close allies.
Early in the summer, local American militia and allied Creeks attacked a group of Redsticks at Burt Corn Creek. Tensions grew and many families along the Tensaw, . . . — Map (db m66394) HM|
|Alabama (Baldwin County), Stockton — Historic Stockton / Old Schoolyard Park|
Modern Stockton is situated on a hill just above the original settlement, which was abandoned around 1840 because of Yellow Fever outbreaks. No verified source for the town name exists. Most likely it was named by the local postmaster. The Indian mounds located near Stockton are witnesses of a prehistoric Indian population in the area. In the latter 1700s, Stockton was the most populous settlement in this area, excepting Mobile. Some records indicate the . . . — Map (db m66390) HM|
|Alabama (Baldwin County), Stockton — Kennedy Mill, c.1811|
|Site of one of Alabama’s first sawmills. In 1811, Joshua Kennedy engaged Jesse Ember to build two water-powered sawmills, convertible to grist mills, for a total of $1400. The mills were operated by Kennedy through 1820; were burned twice, once by Indians. The mill dam and site were late used by Byrne Bros., and then by Hastie & Silver Co., until 1906, when they were abandoned — Map (db m66379) HM|
|Alabama (Baldwin County), Stockton — Major Robert Farmar Plantation|
|Here on the banks of the Tensaw River -- named for the Tensa Indian tribe whose principal village was located at this place -- Major Robert Farmar developed a plantation c. 1772. Farmar was one of the most prominent and controversial Alabamians of the British period, being commander of the regiments at Mobile from 1763-1765. He resigned his commission in 1768 and was elected to every Commons House of Assembly for the District of West Florida from 1769 until his death in 1778. Artist-Naturalist, . . . — Map (db m66380) HM|
|Alabama (Baldwin County), Stockton — Stockton Presbyterian Church — Organized 1847|
|First known as Baldwin Presbyterian Church, members met in 1847, in Old Union Church near John Gallagher Springs. In 1903, the membership was moved to this site and the name was changed to Stockton Presbyterian Church. In 1956, the membership moved into its new church on this same site. The bell in the steeple was housed in all three buildings. May it continue to toll and call all future generations into Thy service. — Map (db m66387) HM|
|Alabama (Baldwin County), Stockton — The Mound Line — (Ellicot Line) — Mile Mound No. 216 located 1200 feet east|
Surveyed in 1799 to mark the 31° North Latitude, this line charted the first southern boundary of the United States, separating the U.S. from Spanish Florida. The line was marked at one-mile intervals by earthen mounds approximately fifteen-feet square and three-feet high with a charred lighter-pine post at the center, hence the name Mound Line.
Jointly surveyed by Major Andrew Ellicott, U.S. Commissioner, and Esteban Minor, Spanish Commissioner, to determine boundaries as agreed in the . . . — Map (db m81856) HM|
|Alabama (Barbour County), Batesville — Fort Browder/15th Alabama Infantry|
Approximately one mile south-southwest of here stood Fort Browder, a small wooden fortification built in 1836 for protection in the last war with the Creek Indians and named for Isham Browder, a prominent local planter. In 1861, the fort witnessed the formation of a Confederate infantry company known as the Fort Browder Roughs initially commanded by Captain Moses Worthington. The Roughs were subsequently enrolled as Company D, 15th Alabama Infantry. Of . . . — Map (db m60895) HM|
|Alabama (Barbour County), Batesville — Providence Methodist Church & Schoolhouse|
In 1828, Reverend John Wesley Norton left his native South Carolina with his family and a wagon train of followers, crossed into the Creek Indian Nation and just into the edge of what was then Pike County, settling near the present town of Clayton, Alabama. He was then in the bounds of, or in proximity to, the Chattahoochee Circuit of the Methodist Episcopal Church and was quite an acquisition to the young and struggling circuit in that newly settled section on the borders . . . — Map (db m78123) HM|
|Alabama (Barbour County), Blue Springs — Blue Springs School 1920-1969|
|The Blue Springs School was first established in 1920. The land was donated by Henry H Shepard. The Plans were drawn by the State School architect. The lumber was donated by citizens of the community and prepared at A.S. Knight’s sawmill. Other financial needs were donated by local citizens, county board of education, and state aid for schoolhouse construction. Old Bethel, Anderson, and Old Blue Springs were consolidated to form the new school. The school was opened in 1921 for the first year . . . — Map (db m60680) HM|
|Alabama (Barbour County), Blue Springs — Pea River Electric Membership Corporation|
|The Pea River Electric Membership Corporation was energized on this site on June 8, 1939. This rural electric cooperative was organized under an executive order signed by President F. D. Roosevelt on May 11, 1935.
Rural members of Barbour, Dale and Henry counties gathered on this bridge to witness the beginning of electric service into their rural areas when 301 homes and businesses received power for the first time. The organizing directors were S.K. Adams, J.G. Sanders, Lloyd Smith, J.Y. . . . — Map (db m71804) HM|
|Alabama (Barbour County), Clayton — Barbour County / Early Barbour County Commissioners|
| Barbour County On this site in 1833 was erected the first Barbour County Court House, a round log building 20 feet square. The first county seat was located at Louisville which had previously served as the county seat of Pike. This old Pike County Court House was temporarily used until the site was changed to Clayton. The first Circuit Court was held in Clayton on September 23, 1833. Barbour County was created by an act of the Legislature meeting in the state capitol of Tuscaloosa on . . . — Map (db m81857) HM|
|Alabama (Barbour County), Clayton — George Corley Wallace, Lurleen Burns Wallace Governors of Alabama|
|George and Lurleen Wallace spent much time at Memorial Hall with their involvement in community events and the education of their children. They served 17 years as Governor and were the only husband and wife to serve as Alabama’s Governor. Wallace served an unprecedented four terms as Governor – Jan. 14, 1963 – Jan. 16, 1967, Jan. 18, 1971 – Jan. 15, 1979, Jan. 17, 1983 – Jan. 19, 1987. When he could not succeed himself Lurleen ran and was inaugurated Jan. 16, 1967. She . . . — Map (db m62807) HM|
|Alabama (Barbour County), Clayton — Grace Episcopal Church|
|This church had its origins in a mission station established by the Rev. J. L. Gay in 1844. On May 10, 1872 the mission was formally accepted in the Diocese of Alabama as Grace Church. Construction of a church building began in 1875 on a lot owned by General Henry Delamar Clayton and his wife Victoria. The Gothic Revival style building was completed on February 26, 1876 at which time the lot was deeded by the Claytons to the Protestant Episcopal Church of the State of Alabama. Bishop Richard J. . . . — Map (db m60756) HM|
|Alabama (Barbour County), Clayton — History of Clayton, Alabama/Clayton’s Architectural Heritage|
County Seat of Barbour County
Clayton, the county seat of Barbour County is located geographically in the center of the county. The town was located at the headwaters of the Pea and Choctawhatchee rivers on the historic road from Hobdy’s Bridge over the Pea River to Eufaula on the Chattahoochee River. By 1818 there were a few settlers in the area around Clayton but settlement began in earnest around 1823. The town was named for Augustine S. Clayton, a Georgia jurist and . . . — Map (db m60772) HM|
|Alabama (Barbour County), Clayton — Jere Locke Beasley — Acting Governor of Alabama June 5 – July 7, 1972|
|Jere Locke Beasley was born in Tyler, Texas on December 12, 1935. At a young age, Beasley and his family moved to Clayton, Alabama very near the Pratt’s Station Community in which his great-great-grandfather had settled in 1819. He served as the 22nd Lieutenant Governor of Alabama from January 18, 1971 to January 15, 1979. Beasley was in his first term when Governor George Wallace was severely wounded in an assassination attempt on May 15, 1972. Since Wallace was out-of-state for more than 20 . . . — Map (db m82871) HM|
|Alabama (Barbour County), Clayton — Miller – Martin Townhouse|
|John H. Miller built this Gothic Revival townhouse in 1859. He and his wife moved from Orangeburg, South Carolina to Barbour County in the early 1830s, settling in an area which would become known as the Tabernacle community. He later purchased a tract of land in Clayton on which this house was constructed. It is noteworthy for the handpainted murals on the entrance hall ceiling which depict The Four Seasons as well as other designs on the parlor and dining room ceilings. This work has been . . . — Map (db m60755) HM|
|Alabama (Barbour County), Clayton — Octagon House|
|This unusual house was built 1859 – 1861 by Benjamin Franklin Petty, a carriage and furniture merchant, who was a native of New York and a pioneer settler of Clayton. It was patterned after a design made popular by Orson S. Fowler’s book A Home for All, or the Gravel Wall and Octagon Mode of Building, which was published in New York in 1854. In April 1865, the house was used as staff headquarters for Union Cavalry Commander General Benjamin H. Grierson. Petty heirs sold the property to . . . — Map (db m39121) HM|
|Alabama (Barbour County), Clayton — Union Baptist Church Cemetery|
|Church founded in 1835 and rebuilt in 1947. Union Baptist Church is the second oldest Baptist church in Barbour County.
In memory of Reverend John L. Dowling.
Loving husband and father. — Map (db m60800) HM|
|Alabama (Barbour County), Clio — Barbour County High School|
|Established under an Act of the Alabama Legislature in 1907, the school was built entirely by local initiative. It was completed in 1910 and occupied initially in September of that year.
Consistently characterized by faculties of dedication and excellence, students were the recipients of vast educational advantages. From its hallowed halls have departed thousands of educated, disciplined students prepared for careers and all blessed by the institution.
Last used as a school in 1961, . . . — Map (db m71798) HM|
|Alabama (Barbour County), Comer — Election Riot of 1874|
|Near here is old Spring Hill, the site of one of the polling places for the November 3, 1874 local, state and national elections. Elias M. Keils, scalawag and judge of the Circuit Court of Eufaula, was United States Supervisor at the Spring Hill ballot box. William, his 16 year old son, was with him. After the polls closed, a mob broke into the building, extinguished the lights, destroyed the poll box and began shooting. During the riot, Willie Keils was mortally wounded. The resulting . . . — Map (db m60894) HM|
|Alabama (Barbour County), Eufaula — Central Railroad of Georgia Freight Depot|
|The Southwestern Railroad of Georgia was the first rail line to connect with Eufaula when the railroad bridge between Georgetown, Georgia and Eufaula was completed in late 1865. In 1867 the Vicksburg & Brunswick Railroad Company was formed to build a line from Eufaula to Meridian, Mississippi. Vicksburg & Brunswick Railroad passenger and freight depot opened in 1872, and that same year, the line was leased by the Southwestern Railroad of Georgia. In 1879 the line was purchased by Central . . . — Map (db m48624) HM|
|Alabama (Barbour County), Eufaula — Confederate Hospital|
1861 - 1865
“Sanctuary for valiant and courageous men”
Built for a river tavern 1836
Placed by Barbour County Chapter United Daughter of the Confederacy. — Map (db m27986) HM|
|Alabama (Barbour County), Eufaula — Eufaula — Incorporated, December 19, 1857 — Bluff City on the Chattahoochee.|
|Lower Creek village of the Eufaula Indians antedating 1733. Early white settlers began moving into the village called Yufala in 1823. Irwinton chartered 1832, and renamed Eufaula in 1843.
Hub of a prosperous plantation region with thriving river trade, many ante bellum homes remain as signs of its wealth and culture.
After becoming an inland port in 1963, industries began locating here. — Map (db m48432) HM|
|Alabama (Barbour County), Eufaula — Eufaula First United Methodist Church|
|The origins of this church date back to 1834 when Methodists, under the leadership of Jesse Burch and others, met to worship and formed a Sunday School. A frame Greek Revival edifice, at the corner of Livingston and Barbour Streets, was completed in 1838 and used until 1873 when it was sold to the Jewish congregation. In 1875 a new brick house of worship was built at the corner of Eufaula and Barbour Streets. It was razed in 1914 and the existing Gothic Revival church building was completed in . . . — Map (db m75188) HM|
|Alabama (Barbour County), Eufaula — Fendall Hall — The Young - Dent Home|
Built between 1856 and 1860 by Edward Brown Young and his wife, Ann Fendall Beall, this was one of the first of the great Italianate style homes constructed in Eufaula. It later became the home of the builders’ daughter, Anna Beall Young, and her husband, Stouten Hubert Dent. The Dents renovated the house in the 1880s in the styles and colors then popular, and hired a Mr. LaFranc to stencil and paint the ceilings and walls of the hall, parlor, and dining room. These three . . . — Map (db m33759) HM|
|Alabama (Barbour County), Eufaula — First Baptist Church of Eufaula|
|Irwinton Baptist Church was constituted on June 24, 1837. The name of the town changed to Eufaula in 1843, and consequently the name of the church became Eufaula Baptist Church. The church assumed its third name in 1869 when it was changed to First Baptist Church of Eufaula. The church met temporarily in the male academy at the Northwest corner of Union and Livingston Streets. In 1841 a new church building was erected at the Northwest corner of Union and Forsyth Streets. The second church was . . . — Map (db m46237) HM|
|Alabama (Barbour County), Eufaula — First Presbyterian Church|
|In 1836 sixteen Eufaula Presbyterians met in a room above William McKenzie’s store to hold worship services. By 1838 the congregation had built their first sanctuary dedicated to worship on the southeast corner of Forsyth Ave. and Union Street. Eufaula’s first church bell rang from the Greek Revival building. By the 1860’s the congregation had begun to grow. In 1869, John McNab paid to have this sanctuary built here at the corner of Randolph Ave. and Church Place. It is a Gothic structure built . . . — Map (db m60560) HM|
|Alabama (Barbour County), Eufaula — General Grierson’s March|
|This road marks the entrance into Eufaula of Federal Troops on April 29, 1865. Lee had surrendered at Appomattox, Virginia on April 9. General Benjamin H. Grierson was advancing with four thousand cavalry from Mobile and was then about at Louisville. He had not heard of Lee’s surrender. Masters Edward Young and Edward Stern, mounted on horses and bearing flags of truce, were at once dispatched out this road, the direct route from Clayton, to meet General Grierson. They met General Grierson at . . . — Map (db m82872) HM|
|Alabama (Barbour County), Eufaula — Hart House|
|Built by John Hart about 1850, the Hart House is recognized as an outstanding example of pure Greek Revival architecture. Hart (c. 1805-1863) moved from New Hampshire and became a prominent merchant and farmer. When constructed, the house was on the western edge of the town. The Hart House was one of only five Eufaula buildings recorded by the Historic American Building Survey in 1935. It was entered on the National Register of Historic Places on December 12, 1973 as part of the Seth Lore . . . — Map (db m48376) HM|
|Alabama (Barbour County), Eufaula — Old Negro Cemetery / Fairview Cemetery|
| Front Interred on this gently sloping hillside are the remains of many of Eufaula’s early black citizens. Their names are known only to God because the wooden grave markers which located the burials have long since vanished. This burying ground was used until about 1870 when black interments were moved to Pine Grove Cemetery. In addition to the “Old Negro Cemetery”, there are at least five other graveyards including the Jewish, Presbyterian, Masonic Odd Fellows and Public . . . — Map (db m27987) HM|
|Alabama (Barbour County), Eufaula — White Oak United Methodist Church|
|(Front): First known as White Oak Chapel this church was dedicated on October, 18, 1859 by Rev. Issac I. Tatum of the Alabama Conference Methodist Episcopal Church South. The Society was organized by Rev. John J. Cassady who served as pastor in 1860. A log schoolhouse, constructed prior to 1859, served as the church building. The church is situated on land donated by Ezekiel Alexander (1803-1879). The grave of his son Asa, who died in 1861, is the earliest marked burial in the cemetery. . . . — Map (db m82873) HM|
|Alabama (Barbour County), Louisville — Louisville|
|One of the oldest towns in southeast Alabama was settled in 1817 by Daniel Lewis who established a trading post and named the community “Louisville” after the first capital of Georgia, his hometown. By 1820 four stores, a Methodist congregation with brush arbor and several families were in the vicinity. Daniel McKenzie operated a tan yard and sawmill at nearby springs. The first courthouse for Pike County (1821) and later Barbour County (1833) was here. Prior to 1860 Captain Patrick . . . — Map (db m60768) HM|
|Alabama (Barbour County), Louisville — The Old County Court House|
|Near this site stood the old Pike County court house which was the county seat of Pike from 1822 to 1827. It also served as the temporary county seat of the newly created Barbour County in 1833, until Clayton was selected. Louisville was settled before 1822 by Daniel Lewis for whom it was named. Two-fifths of the new county of Barbour, including Louisville, was taken from old Pike. The first road in this area led fom Louisville to Williamston to Franklin on the Chattahoochee River. — Map (db m60674) HM|
|Alabama (Bibb County), Brierfield — Absalom Pratt House|
|Absalom Pratt built this house 8 miles west of here circa 1835 though a section was constructed earlier. It was moved to this site in 1994 by the Cahaba Trace Commission, restored by the Alabama Historic Ironworks Commission, 1997-98, and dedicated by both organizations on November 15, 1998.
Born in Stokes County, North Carolina, Absalom Pratt settled in River Bend with his brothers, Hopkins, Joab and John, 1816-1818. Parents Richard and Rebecca Pratt soon followed. In 1822, Absalom . . . — Map (db m37078) HM|
|Alabama (Bibb County), Brierfield — Bibb Furnace|
|The Bibb County Iron Company under the direction of C. C. Huckabee of Newbern, Alabama, constructed a furnace here and poured the first iron in November 1862. Within a year, the Confederate government purchased the works and completed a second and larger furnace alongside whose stack exists today. Known as the Bibb Naval Works, the facility was a major contributor of iron used for Confederate ordnance especially the Brooke cannon.
On the morning of 31 March 1865, Union General James H. . . . — Map (db m37090) HM|
|Alabama (Bibb County), Brierfield — Bibb Naval Furnaces Brierfield Furnaces — — ½ mile →|
|Principal iron producer for Confederate foundry at Selma where naval guns and iron-clads were made.
1865 - Furnaces destroyed by Wilson’s Raiders, U. S. A.
1866 - Furnaces rebuilt and operated by Gen. Gorgas, former Ordnance Chief, C. S. A. — Map (db m37055) HM|
|Alabama (Bibb County), Brierfield — Hayes-Morton House|
|Wilson Hayes constructed this typical farm house for his wife and six children just south of Six Mile around 1900. After he moved to Oklahoma c. 1915, his daughter Ollie and her husband Levert Rotenberry lived in the home until 1928. Between 1928 and 1960, several different families occupied the house including the Owens, Reese Eady and R. C. Moore. In 1960, the nephew of Levert Rotenberry, W. R. Rotenberry and his wife Julia purchased the house spending weekends and vacations there until 1983, . . . — Map (db m37136) HM|
|Alabama (Bibb County), Brierfield — Sunshine & Dorothy Morton House — Brierfield Iron Works Historical State Park|
|Originally located off Patton Chapel Road in what is today Hoover, Alabama, the Sunshine and Dorothy Morton house was moved to the Brierfield Park in March 2005 by the Morton family and restored over the next two years by restoration specialist Russell “Rusty Cruthers.
Built as a country home for L. P. Siegel, circa 1931, the dwelling was purchased by Boyette Edgar Morton and wife Dorothy in 1942. Here they reared five children, Steve, Barry, Katha Lee, Lynn and Todd, constructing . . . — Map (db m37177) HM|
|Alabama (Bibb County), Six Mile — Site of Six Mile Male And Female Academy|
|Years before 1859, two acres of land were donated for a school by Mr. and Mrs. Good. A two-story wooden structure was built. Among its first teachers were John Alexander, W. J. Peters, R. M. Humphries, and R. H. Pratt. Under Pratt’s leadership the academy made great progress.
The Academy trained scores of Ministerial students. — Map (db m37054) HM|
|Alabama (Bibb County), Six Mile — Six Mile Male & Female Academy Site — ← 300 Yards|
|Incorporated in 1859 though organized earlier and operated continuously through 1897. First trustees were William P. Thomas, Leroy T. McGuire, Ezekiel C. Smith, Simpson W. Hederick and Pulaski Wallace. This noted center of learning in Bibb County achieved greatest prominence under Capt. Richard H. Pratt who served as headmaster from 1858-1861, when he joined Confederate Army, and from 1872-1896. Original buildings burned in 1897, were replaced following year and name changed to Six Mile Normal . . . — Map (db m37053) HM|
|Alabama (Bibb County), West Blocton — Belle Ellen|
|One and a half miles northeast of here, the mining town of Belle Ellen was established by the Bessemer Coal, Iron and Land Company in the fall of 1895 and named for Henry F. DeBardeleben's daughter, Belle, and wife, Ellen. DeBardeleben was a noted industrialist of the era and principal stockholder in the company.
During its existence, several mines were opened at Belle Ellen. The Welsh mining engineer, Llewellyn Johns, was an early superintendent. The Number Two mine was operated with . . . — Map (db m37226) HM|
|Alabama (Bibb County), West Blocton — Blocton / Blocton Coke Ovens|
Centered around the coke ovens, Blocton, first called Gresham, was the Cahaba Coal Mining Company town founded by Truman H. Aldrich in 1883-84. Other company officers included W. A. Clark of Muscatine, Iowa, and Cornelius Cadle, Jr., the town's first postmaster. The first coal was shipped in February 1884. Ten coal mines were eventually opened, the last in 1915 by the Tennesee Coal, Iron & Railroad Company division of U.S. Steel. In its hayday around 1900, Blocton was the largest . . . — Map (db m37228) HM|
|Alabama (Bibb County), West Blocton — Piper|
|The town of Piper was established in 1901 a half mile northeast of here by the Little Cahaba Coal Company, named for Oliver Hazzard Perry Piper, a partner of industrialist Henry F. DeBardeleben. Two coal mines were opened in 1901 and 1903. The first was sealed in 1935 due to fire. Piper was one of the larger mining towns in the Cahaba Coal Field reaching greatest employment in 1914 with 432 miners and related workers. The Piper-Coleanor High School operated from 1931-1940. After World War II, a . . . — Map (db m83225) HM|
|Alabama (Bibb County), West Blocton — West Blocton, Alabama|
West Blocton began as a business and residential community adjoining the Cahaba Coal Mining Company's town of Blocton in 1883-84. West Blocton incorporated in 1901. Eugene D. Reynolds was the first mayor, 1901-1904, followed by Dr. L.E. Peacock, 1904-1906. A son of Italian Immigrants, Frank T. Ferrire, has been the longest serving mayor, 1965-1984. West Blocton was the commercial center of the southern Cahaba coal field serving the neighboring company towns and mining camps of Belle Ellen, . . . — Map (db m72283) HM|
|Alabama (Bibb County), Woodstock — Town of Woodstock|
|Woodstock was first settled in the 1820’s with a formal land grant to William Houston on Feb. 27, 1826. The settlement was established along the old Tuscaloosa to Huntsville Stage Coach Line. Woodstock got its name when Dr. J.U. Ray named it after the home of his ancestors, Woodstock, England. Dr. Ray’s American ancestors arrived in America from England at Jamestown, Virginia. In 1870, Dr. Ray built the first depot for the newly constructed Alabama-Chattanooga Railroad. After the Alabama Great . . . — Map (db m63697) HM|
|Alabama (Blount County), Blount Springs — Blount Springs|
|Famous Health Resort
Here fashionable ladies and
gentlemen of the South
their families. — Map (db m33782) HM|
|Alabama (Blount County), Blountsville — Battle Royal — May 1, 1863|
|Nathan Bedford Forrest attacked Col. Streight’s column as it crossed Locust’s swift waters, causing the Federals to make tremendous exertions to complete the movement, contributing thereby to Streight’s eventual surrender of his entire command to Forrest some forty hours later and seventy-five miles distant from Battle Royal. — Map (db m28320) HM|
|Alabama (Blount County), Blountsville — Blountsville|
1820-1889 seat of Blount County a county older than the State.
Named for Tennessee Governor W. G. Blount who sent Andrew Jackson to aid Alabama settlers in Creek Indian War, 1812-1814.
Indian Chief Bear Meat lived here at crossing of old Indian trading paths.
1816 - Tennesseans began trading post here and called village Bear Meat Cabin.
1820 - named changed to Blountsville and made county seat.
1889 - County seat moved to Oneonta. — Map (db m28038) HM|
|Alabama (Blount County), Blountsville — None — Blountsville Court Square Timeline|
|1813: Colonel John Coffee and 800 Tennessee Volunteers see Bear Meat Cabin Cherokee Settlement near Blountsville
1816: Town settles around square
1820: Newly named Blountsville becomes county seat
1827: Town incorporated with Trustee System
1833: First courthouse built
1853: Town incorporated with new system; immediately un-incorporated
1863: Forrest-Streight Civil War Raid
1864: Rousseau Civil War Raid
1865-71: Reconstruction unrest
1880: Croquet dominates Court Square . . . — Map (db m49176) HM|
|Alabama (Blount County), Blountsville — Ebenezer Hearn 1794-1862 — Methodist Missionary|
|First minister assigned to Alabama Territory by Tennessee Conference. Preached first sermon two blocks west at Bear Meat Cabin (present Blountsville) April 18, 1818. He later organized churches in Shelby, St. Clair, Jefferson, Tuscaloosa and Cotaco (present Morgan) Counties; the beginning of Methodism in central Alabama. — Map (db m27991) HM|
|Alabama (Blount County), Blountsville — Exploit of Murphree Sisters — Incident of May 1, 1863 during Streight (U.S.A.) - Forrest (C.S.A.) Campaign.|
|Three prowling Union soldiers invaded home of sister-in-law of Celia and Winnie Mae Murphree taking food, drink; killing two colts.
When soldiers fell asleep, these two young girls took rifles, marched soldiers to headquarters of General Forrest, bivouacked at Royal Crossing on Warrior River. — Map (db m83226) HM|
|Alabama (Blount County), Blountsville — Federal Raid — May 1, 1863 — 1 mile south|
|Gen. N.B. Forrest (CSA) Captured wagon train and supplies of Col. Streight's raiders (USA).
Forrest continued his relentless pursuit eastward toward final capture of Streight. — Map (db m24363) HM|
|Alabama (Blount County), Locust Fork — Gabriel Hanby, 1786-1826 — ← Grave and Homesite 300 Yards|
|Member Constitutional Convention 1819
First Senator of Blount County
County road and court
at his house 1820. — Map (db m32484) HM|
|Alabama (Blount County), Locust Fork — None — History of Locust Fork|
|While traveling south with his troops, General Andrew Jackson camped at the fork of the river in 1813. General Jackson carved his name in a locust tree naming this area Locust Fork. In 1817, the Hanby family came from Virginia and settled in this community on a tract of land near the Polly Martin Ford on the Warrior River. They built a three-story log house used as an inn. Gabriel Hanby died in March 1826 and is buried in the Hudson Cemetery. He is credited with being the first Blount County . . . — Map (db m50125) HM|
|Alabama (Blount County), Nectar — None — George Powell|
|Homesite and Grave of George Powell 1794 – 1872
Planter, trader, historian, geologist, surveyor. Gathered authentic data from early settlers and Indians for his history of Blount County published in 1855. Made original survey of Blount County. — Map (db m50123) HM|
|Alabama (Blount County), Oneonta — Bailey School — 1893 - 1951|
|William M. Bailey (born 1859 in Cherokee Co.; died 1909 in Blount Co.) settled 40 acres on what became Co. Rd 36 to the west and New Home Church Rd to the east in 1893. He brought three small sons from Cherokee Co. after the death of his first wife and their mother, Julie Law Bailey. Remarrying in 1887, Bailey had ten more children with Ollie McMillan Bailey. He deeded one acre on SW corner for a school and an adjoining acre on E for a church. The first school on the site, Bailey himself built . . . — Map (db m42599) HM|
|Alabama (Blount County), Oneonta — Blount County — A County Older Than the State|
|Created Feb. 7, 1818 by Alabama Territorial Legislature from lands ceded by the Creek Indian Nation. Named for the Tennessee Governor W. G. Blount, who sent militia under Andrew Jackson to punish the Creeks for Fort Mims massacre. Jackson fought and won the Creek War. Creek gave up half of their lands in Treaty of Ft. Jackson, 1814. Some of Jackson's men were first settlers of Blount. County seat moved here in 1889. — Map (db m24353) HM|
|Alabama (Blount County), Oneonta — Champion Mines|
|John Hanby came in 1817 and found a rich seam of brown iron ore. Named Champion in 1882 when Henry DeBardeleben and James Sloss bought land and brought L&N Railroad causing county seat to be moved from Blountsville to Oneonta in 1889. Most ore was mined by Shook and Fletcher 1925-1967 from Champion & Taits Gap mines under E. N. Vandergrift, superintendent. Ore was shipped to Woodward, T. C. I. & Sloss furnaces in Birmingham and Republic in Gadsden. — Map (db m28362) HM|
|Alabama (Blount County), Oneonta — Historic Oneonta L & N Railroad Depot|
|Starting in 1889, the Louisville and Nashville Railroad, also known as the Birmingham Mineral Railroad, began railroad freight and passenger
service to Oneonta with the completion of the rail line from Boyles Railroad Yard near Birmingham to the Champion Iron Ore Mines. By 1905, the railroad through Oneonta ran to Attalla and Gadsden to the
northeast, connecting with the Alabama Mineral Division of the Louisville and Nashville Railroad. Originally the L&N provided passenger and freight . . . — Map (db m38894) HM|
|Alabama (Blount County), Susan Moore — None — Town of Susan Moore|
|In 1864, traveling in an ox cart, Dr. Robert M. Moore left his family in Walton County, Georgia, and journeyed to Blount County, Alabama. Finding fertile land, he returned to Walton County and persuaded his wife to move to Blount County with him. In 1863, his wife and 10 children: William T., Zachariah C., Robert B., David S., B. Martin, John M., Jimmy H., D. Marion, Nancy C., and Sally, traveled in a covered wagon and settled in Moore’s section of land. All of the children married. As each . . . — Map (db m49251) HM|
|Alabama (Bullock County), Aberfoil — Aberfoil Community|
|The town of Aberfoil was incorporated January 26, 1839, in then Macon County, with the first election for councilors conducted and managed by Lewis Stoudenmire, Charles G. Lynch, Thomas Scott, David Hudson, and A. J. and E. A. Jackson. Aberfoil was the first town incorporated within the present boundaries of Bullock County, and was one of three sites considered for the county seat in 1867.
The Aberoil post office was established with Alfred Spaulding appointed postmaster on September 3, . . . — Map (db m61027) HM
|Alabama (Bullock County), Blues Old Stand — Samuel Sellers Cemetery|
|Samuel Sellers (1788-1857) of North Carolina arrived with his large family at Three Notch Road on January 29, 1835. Here, in what was then the Missouri Beat, Pike County, the first post office in the area was established, 2.5 miles west of present-day Perote, Bullock County. Sellers served as Postmaster between 1846-1850. Sellers’ original home was located on land near this cemetery.
Placed on the Alabama Register of Landmarks and Heritage by the Alabama Historical Commission, November 2, 1976. — Map (db m61061) HM
|Alabama (Bullock County), Fitzpatrick — Fitzpatrick United Methodist Church — (Church of the Seven Sisters) — 1858|
|Lacking an established church nearby, pioneer families of the Fitzpatrick community into the mid-19th century took turns hosting worship services in their homes on Sunday mornings. "The Church of the Seven Sisters" was established in 1858 by seven women of the community - Mrs. Phillips Bernard Baldwin (Martha Ann Thompson), Mrs. David Graves Fitzpatrick (Sara Ann Hooks), Mrs. John Campbell (Catherine Celia Hooks) Mrs. William Cicero Hufham (Nancy Henry Gholston), Mrs. Gordon Sanford Bunkley . . . — Map (db m67158) HM|
|Alabama (Bullock County), Midway — First Baptist Missionary Church 1875|
|The Macedonia Baptist Church, located between the communities of Midway and Mt. Coney, was constructed by freedmen after the American Civil War, replacing the brush arbors used by the area’s antebellum slaves as sites for religious worship. Four separate congregations grew out of the original church: Antioch Baptist Church; Oak Grove Baptist Church; Mt. Coney Baptist Church; and Second Baptist Colored Church of Midway. |
First organized in 1875, Second Baptist was built on a one-acre site . . . — Map (db m60947) HM
|Alabama (Bullock County), Midway — Midway Baptist Church — Organized July 28, 1852|
|Midway, a part of Barbour County in the mid-19th century, was also known as Five Points, a small community of a handful of dwellings, two stores, and a Methodist church of logs. In this Methodist church, Joel Willis, J.M. Thornton, Robert G. Hall, M.B. Johnston, W.J. Coleman, and Lorenzo Faulk met in the summer of 1852 to organize the Baptist Church of Five Points. Articles of Faith and Decorum were approved August 31 and Joel Sims was called as the first pastor. By April 1855, the Five points . . . — Map (db m60908) HM|
|Alabama (Bullock County), Midway — Old Merritt School Midway Community Center|
|Margaret Elizabeth Merritt of Midway sold two acres for $5 to the state of Alabama in 1921 as a site for an elementary school for African-American children. Built in 1922 with matching Rosenwald funds, the Midway Colored Public School featured oak and pine construction and two classrooms divided by a partition. The building is one of the few surviving of the more than 5,000 rural black schools built with contributions from the Julius Rosenwald Fund. Enlarged twice, then renovated in 1978, it is . . . — Map (db m60910) HM|
|Alabama (Bullock County), Midway — 1998 — St. James C.M.E. Church — Railroad Street Midway, Alabama|
|St. James Christian Methodist Episcopal Church founded by Reverend Jack McMillan, a former slave of Midway’s Daniel McMillan. Initially meeting outdoors under a brush arbor, ex-slaves and their children constructed a wood-frame church building soon after this lot was purchased in December 1882. A storm subsequently damaged the building which was rebuilt in 1896. Gable-roofed, the structure’s original steeple church bell was enclosed in a cupola. Additional rooms have been added and the main . . . — Map (db m60909) HM|
|Alabama (Bullock County), Midway — Town of Midway|
|Pioneer Samuel Feagin Sr. settled the Village of Midway in 1836. He came from Jones County, Georgia and established his residence at what is still called “The Old Feagin Place.” Samuel purchased a large acreage of land and sold it to incoming settlers. He built a log cabin with rooms above where travelers were accommodated overnight. It was also used as a stagecoach stop for those traveling from Eufaula to Tuskegee. On July 11, 1813 the Midway Post Office was established and Samuel . . . — Map (db m61854) HM|
|Alabama (Bullock County), Perote — Perote Bullock County|
| This community, settled during the mid-1830s, was first called Fulford’s Cross Roads, then Missouri Cross Roads when a post office was established here in 1846. The name Perote, adopted in 1850 was suggested by veterans returning from the Mexican War (1846-48), who remembered a citadel in Mexico by that name. Incorporation followed in 1858.
Early settlers in the area, who came primarily from the Carolinas and Georgia, included the following families: Sellers, Crossley, Blue, Locke, Peach, . . . — Map (db m83256) HM
|Alabama (Bullock County), Union Springs — Bullock County Courthouse Historic District|
|The Bullock County Courthouse Historic District in Union Springs consists of 47 structures along three blocks of Prairie Street. Focal point of the district is the 1871 courthouse which is one of the finest post-bellum courthouses in the state and the only representative of the Second Empire Style. Most of the buildings were constructed from the 1860s to 1910, during which time the town became the political, commercial and social center of Bullock County. Although several buildings have been . . . — Map (db m83257) HM|
|Alabama (Bullock County), Union Springs — Indian Treaty Boundary Line|
|The Treaty of Fort Jackson of August 9, 1814, by Major General Andrew Jackson on behalf of the President of the United States of America and the Chiefs, Deputies and Warriors of the Creek Nation, established a boundary line between the Mississippi Territory and the Creek Nation. The line began at a point ten miles from the mouth of the Ofucshee Creek directly to the mouth of the Summochico Creek on the Chatahouchie River. The Creek Treaty of Washington, signed on March 24, 1832, ceded the . . . — Map (db m61025) HM|
|Alabama (Bullock County), Union Springs — Indian Treaty Boundary Line|
|The Treaty of Fort Jackson of August 9, 1814, by Major General Andrew Jackson on behalf of the President of the United States of America and the Chiefs, Deputies and Warriors of the Creek Nation, established a boundary line between the Mississippi Territory and the Creek Nation. The line began at a point ten miles from the mouth of the Ofucshee Creek directly to the mouth of the Summochico Creek on the Chatahouchie River. The Creek Treaty of Washington, signed on March 24, 1832, ceded the . . . — Map (db m61026) HM|
|Alabama (Bullock County), Union Springs — Log Cabin Museum/Old City Cemetery|
| Log Cabin Museum
Early settlers of this area cleared land and built their first homes of logs in the early 1830s. This cabin was built by Reuben Rice Kirkland (1829-1915) about 1850. He and his first wife had ten children while living in the log home.|
At one time an additional bedroom and chimney were on the right side, and the back porch was closed in for cooking and eating. A small log kitchen stood a few feet from the back and was later converted to a smoke house. The milk . . . — Map (db m60969) HM
|Alabama (Bullock County), Union Springs — Mt. Hilliard Methodist Church — Organized 1835|
|Founded by settlers from Virginia, Georgia, and Carolinas. Building erected 1856. It was the central feature of the village of Mount Hilliard. Named in honor of Henry W. Hilliard -- who debated William L. Yancey in the 1850's. Revivals held at church inspired ministers who went west to establish churches and colleges in Texas. — Map (db m67553) HM|
|Alabama (Bullock County), Union Springs — Sardis Baptist Church, Cemetery, and School|
Settlers from the Edgefield District, South Carolina, organized the Sardis Baptist Church on June 10, 1837. The first building, a log cabin, was constructed in 1841 after John M. and his wife Amy Youngblood Dozier deeded four and one-half acres to the church for a building and cemetery. The present building, constructed in the 1850s, is an exceptionally fine example of rural antebellum church architecture of Greek Revival style. Relatively unaltered since construction, its . . . — Map (db m67552) HM|
|Alabama (Bullock County), Union Springs — Trinity Episcopal Church/Red Door Theater|
|Trinity Episcopal Church was established in Union Springs by Rev. DeBerniere Waddell in 1872 as a parish of the Episcopal Diocese of Alabama with seventeen communicants and an annual budget of $412.50. Until 1879 services were held monthly in the County Courthouse or in churches of other denominations.|
In 1879 the congregation purchased a small wooden store building diagonally across Prairie Street from this site. Remodeled as a church, services were held there until completion of the . . . — Map (db m60973) HM
|Alabama (Bullock County), Union Springs — Union Springs, Alabama|
| In the early 1800s, settlers coming from the Carolinas and Georgia received land grants and some purchased land from the Indians. They settled and cleared the forest for new farms and plantations in what would become a newly formed State of Alabama (1819). This same area would become Macon County in 1832. African men, women, and children were brought in as slaves tending fields, doing carpentry work, becoming brick masons, and serving in the homes of their owners in various capacities. . . . — Map (db m83258) HM|
|Alabama (Butler County), Forest Home — The Butler Massacre / Fort Bibb|
The Butler Massacre
On March 20, 1818, Capt. William Butler, Capt. James Saffold, William Gardener, Daniel Shaw and John Hinson left Fort Bibb to meet Col. Sam Dale. They were attacked near Pine Barren Creek by Savannah Jack and his warriors. Gardener and Shaw were shot dead; Butler and Hinson wounded. Saffold and Hinson escaped on horseback to Fort Bibb, but Capt. Butler, thrown from his horse and left on foot, was killed by the Indians. Butler County was named in . . . — Map (db m83259) HM|
|Alabama (Butler County), Fort Deposit — Oak Bowery|
|In March 1863 Francis and Sarah Sheppard gave 3 acres of land to Methodist Episcopal Church South as a place for worship and burial. 2 more acres given by Alexander and Mary Sheppard Oct. 1868. Property sold to County Line Primitive Baptist Church May 1907, with cemeteries excepted. This church relocated to Fort Deposit in early 1920's and building was then used by a black congregation. Vacant for many years, structure was destroyed by strong winds in 1981. Cemeteries are still tended by . . . — Map (db m70838) HM|
|Alabama (Butler County), Georgiana — Hank Williams' Boyhood Home / Thigpen’s Log Cabin Popular Dance Hall|
Hank Williams' Boyhood Home
Hiram Williams lived in Georgiana from age 7 to 11. In 1931, Mrs. Lillie Williams moved Hiram and his sister Irene from rural Wilcox County to this house owned by Thaddeus B. Rose. When he was 8, his mother bought him a guitar for $3.50. Black street musician Rufus (Tee-Tot) Payne became his teacher. Hiram practiced guitar under the raised-cottage house and sang on the streets for tips. The family moved to Greenville in the fall of 1934 . . . — Map (db m81276) HM|
|Alabama (Butler County), Greenville — Butler County — A County Older Than The State|
Created in 1819 by Act of Alabama Territorial Legislature from lands ceded by the Creek Indian Nation by the Treaty of Fort Jackson, 1814.
Named for Captain William Butler, soldier of Creek Indian War, 1813-14, early settler killed in Creek Uprising, 1818.
Early settlers from Georgia and South Carolina came by Federal Road built by U.S. Army.
County seat first at Fort Dale in 1819, here at Greenville since 1821.
Flow of settlers was . . . — Map (db m70755) HM|
|Alabama (Butler County), Greenville — Butler County Vietnam War Memorial|
Killed in Action
Likely, James T. • 10-2-1967
Taylor, Clarence • 5-28-1969
Rutherford, Michael T. • 11-5-1969
Cooper, William Morris • 9-7-1968
Johnson, Johnny L. • 10-19-1968
McCormick, Luther O'Neal • 10-28-1968
Stinson, Wm. Sherrill • 9-1-78 — Map (db m70771) WM|
|Alabama (Butler County), Greenville — Butler County World War I Memorial|
|In Memory of
World War I
1917-1918 — Map (db m70772) WM|
|Alabama (Butler County), Greenville — Confederate Park/Greenville City Hall-Site of Public School|
Confederate Park was created in 1897 as a joint effort of the Father Ryan Chapter of the United Daughters of the Confederacy and the City of Greenville, with First United Methodist Church providing the Park site. The sixteen-foot marble statue of a Confederate soldier was erected in the center of the park in 1903 and is a well known landmark. The Park serves the community as an outdoor center for concerts and festivals. Sponsored by the Sasanqua Garden . . . — Map (db m70749) HM|
|Alabama (Butler County), Greenville — Operation Desert Storm|
With gratitude for the faithful service of
our men and women and for God's care
and guidance. — Map (db m70770) WM|
|Alabama (Butler County), Greenville — Our Confederate Dead|
| Front: Our Confederate Dead
Back: To the memory of Butler Co's Confederate Soldiers
West: Erected 1903 by the Father Ryan Chapter of the United Daughters of the Confederacy.
East: Dead, but his spirit breathes;
Dead, but his heart is ours;
Dead, but his sunny and sad land wreathes
His crown with tears for flowers.
Father Ryan — Map (db m70768) WM|
|Alabama (Butler County), Greenville — Pioneer Cemetery|
|Greenville's oldest, established 1819. Captain William Butler, for whom the county was named, buried here. He was killed fighting Indians led by Savannah Jack in March, 1818. Greenville's oldest church, a community church established in 1822, formerly stood near eastern boundary. — Map (db m70751) HM|
|Alabama (Butler County), Greenville — Pioneer Electric Cooperative|
|The Butler County Electric Membership Corporation was formed as a rural electric cooperative in Greenville in July 1938. The first home receiving electricity from the cooperative was located near here.
The Cooperative's original Board of Directors included Dr. C. Wall, president, W.M. Harrison, Dr. R.L. Jernigan, Arthur Bennett, E.L. Cunningham, D.P. Robbins, P.E. Youngblood, H.M. Hardy and T.J. Middleton. Edwin Wallace was first manager.
In 1940, the Cooperative's name was changed . . . — Map (db m70756) HM|
|Alabama (Butler County), Greenville — The Camellia City/Greenville|
The Camellia City
Mr. J. Glenn Stanley, an ardent camellia enthusiast, dreamed of Greenville becoming “The Camellia City” and loyally promoted this slogan as editor of The Greenville Advocate. The city’s first Camellia Show was held at his antebellum Henry-Beeland-Stanley home in 1937. City officials, civic groups, garden clubs and individuals joined Mr. Glenn’s campaign by planting camellias in abundance. Local gardeners including Stanley, . . . — Map (db m70754) HM|
|Alabama (Butler County), Greenville — West Commerce Street Historic District/Historic Greenville Depot|
West Commerce Street Historic District
The completion of the railroad in the late 1850s brought this District into being. The District grew into a major trade center between Montgomery and Mobile. The capital accumulated from this trade allowed the construction of brick commercial buildings, most of them completed by 1890. The downtown area was revitalized in the spring of 1997.
Historic Greenville Depot
The Depot highlights the West . . . — Map (db m70753) HM|
|Alabama (Butler County), Greenville — World War II Memorial|
to the glory of God
and in grateful memory
of all those Butler Countians
who served their country
in the cause of freedom.
These made the
Barnes Dunn Marines ∙ Thomas H. Fail Air Corps ∙ Dorsey Jordan Marines ∙ Horace M. Kent Air Corps ∙ Thurston M. Lipham Navy ∙ Albert H. Price Army ∙ Ben C. Shavers Army ∙Houston Stinson Army
Jack C. . . . — Map (db m83260) WM|
|Alabama (Butler County), Oakey Streak — Oakey Streak/Oakey Streak Methodist Church|
The community of Oakey Streak was so named for the abundance of oak trees in the immediate vicinity. From 1829-1843 the post office here was known as Middletown and from 1853-1935 Oakey Streak. Nearby was the Dawson Masonic Lodge which housed the Oakey Streak Normal School. Pioneer settlers were: W.D. Stallings, I.R. Smith, James Lane, Susannah Stallings Reid Lane, Prudence Blalock, David Simmons, George Tillman, Joe Jones, John Crittenden, Edward Nix, . . . — Map (db m70757) HM|
|Alabama (Calhoun County), Alexandria — Crook Cemetery|
|James Crook established this cemetery in
1837 on land he purchased from Creek
Indians. In 1834, he and his family moved
to this area from South Carolina.
In Nov. 1837, Samuel M. Crook, grandson
of James Crook, was the first person buried
here. Although Crook Cemetery was
established as a family burying ground, it
was later opened for community burials.
In the mid-1900s, W. L. McCullars donated
additional land for the cemetery. State
officials acknowledged the historical
significance . . . — Map (db m36552) HM|
|Alabama (Calhoun County), Alexandria — Lincoyer — and The Battle of Tallasehatchee|
|At this site, on Nov. 3, 1813, after the Battle of
Tallasehatchee, known then as Talluschatches,
during the Creek Indian War,
Gen. Andrew Jackson found a dead
Creek Indian woman embracing her living
infant son. Gen. Jackson, upon hearing that the
other Creek Indian women were planning to kill
the infant, as was their custom when all relations
were dead, became himself the protector
and guardian of the child.
Because of his compassion, Gen. Jackson took
the infant to Fort . . . — Map (db m36551) HM|
|Alabama (Calhoun County), Alexandria — Tallasseehatchee — Creek Indian War 1813-14 — Nov. 3, 1813|
|Gen. John Coffee, commanding 900 Tennessee Volunteers, surrounded Indians nearby; killed some 200 warriors. This was first American victory. It avenged earlier massacre of 517 at Ft. Mims by Indians. — Map (db m27610) HM|
|Alabama (Calhoun County), Alexandria — The Tallasahatchie Battle Field|
|This Stone Marks The Site Of The Tallasahatchie Battle Field. On this spot
Lieut. Gen. John Coffee with
Gen. Andrew Jackson’s men
won a victory over the
Creek Indians, Nov. 3, 1813.
Erected by the
Frederick Wm. Gray Chapt.
Daughters of the American
Revolution. Nov. 3, 1913.
Anniston Ala. — Map (db m36554) HM|
|Alabama (Calhoun County), Anniston — Anniston World War|
|Erected by the Anniston Post American Legion to the Calhoun County Men who served in the World War — Map (db m53334) HM|
|Alabama (Calhoun County), Anniston — Freedom Riders|
|On May 14, 1961, a Greyhound bus left Atlanta, GA carrying among its passengers seven members of the Congress of Racial Equality (CORE), a.k.a. the “Freedom Riders,” on a journey to test interstate bus segregation. The bus was met by an angry mob at the bus station in Anniston, AL where tires were slashed and windows broken. Upon leaving Anniston, the bus was followed by the mob to this site where the driver stopped to change the tire. The crowd set the bus on fire and attacked . . . — Map (db m35737) HM|
|Alabama (Calhoun County), Anniston — Governor Thomas E. Kilby — 1865-1943|
|Outstanding local industrialist as President, Kilby Steel Company; Chairman, Board of Directors, Alabama Pipe Company; President, City National and Anniston National Banks. Served as Mayor of Anniston (1905-09); State Senator (1911-15); Lieutenant Governor (1915-19); Governor of Alabama (1919-23).
His administration as Governor of Alabama notable for sound business principles, for prison reform, for advancement and expansion of charitable institutions, and for constitutional amendments . . . — Map (db m35758) HM|
|Alabama (Calhoun County), Anniston — Grace Episcopal Church|
|Called “A poem in cedar & stone,” its history is intimately related to that of Anniston: Town Founders, Daniel Tyler & Samuel Noble, inspired its conception, funded its construction & caused Woodstock Iron Co. to donate the land on which it was built. Geo. Upjohn, Architect, and Master Stonemason, Wm. Jewell, used native pink sandstone and Tennessee knotty cedar to emulate Solomon’s Temple. The Gothic Revival edifice, the oldest church in town, was organized on April 8, 1881, built . . . — Map (db m35759) HM|
|Alabama (Calhoun County), Anniston — Major John Pelham — Was born here → — September 7, 1838|
|Commanded Horse Artillery of
Army of Northern Virginia, C.S.A.
Killed at Kelly’s Ford, Va.
March 17, 1863
Styled “The Gallant Pelham”
By Robert E. Lee — Map (db m36546) HM|
|Alabama (Calhoun County), Anniston — Parker Memorial Baptist Church|
|On July 3, 1887, a congregation of 45 people met at the Opera House on Noble Street to organize a new church. Originally called Second Baptist Church, the name soon was changed to Twelfth Street Baptist Church.
In 1889, it became Parker Memorial Baptist Church in memory of Mrs. Cornelia A. Parker, whose husband gave the money for a new building that was dedicated in March of 1891.
The mission was and continues to be “Ministering to the World…Beginning at Our Own Front Door.” — Map (db m36545) HM|
|Alabama (Calhoun County), Anniston — Saint Michael and All Angels — ← 12 Blocks West|
|Built by John Ward Noble, one of Anniston’s founders. Consecrated on September 29, 1890. Widely acclaimed for unique and beautiful Norman Gothic architecture. The church dominated by imposing 95 foot bell tower.
Open Daily — Map (db m36540) HM|
|Alabama (Calhoun County), Anniston — Temple Beth El|
|Temple Beth El is the oldest building continuously used for Jewish worship in Alabama. Anniston’s Reform Jewish congregation was established in 1888. Its women’s organization, the Ladies Hebrew Benevolent Society, directed the construction of the building in 1893. They raised the money, purchased the lot, organized the building committee of men in the congregation, and named the house of worship Beth El or House of God. Sales of handiwork enabled the women to purchase the stained glass windows. . . . — Map (db m36543) HM|
|Alabama (Calhoun County), Anniston — Temple Beth El Section Hillside Cemetery|
|In April 1888, the founder of a newly established Reform Jewish congregation purchased twenty-three lots in Hillside Cemetery to bury their deceased members.
In 1987, the City of Anniston vacated right-of-way that allowed the Temple to expand the Jewish section. Among those interred here are the first Jewish citizens to settle in Anniston as well as the congregation's Holocaust survivors.
The Temple Beth El section of Hillside Cemetery has been placed in the Alabama Historical Cemetery . . . — Map (db m53163) HM|
|Alabama (Calhoun County), Anniston — The Birthplace of the “Gallant Pelham”|
|Major John Pelham C.S.A.
Born September 14, 1838
at the home of his Grand Parents
William McGehee and Elizabeth Clay McGehee
Erected by Forney District U.D.C.
May 5, 1937 — Map (db m36547) HM|
|Alabama (Calhoun County), Jacksonville — "The Magnolias" — Home of Clarence William Daugette — B. Sc., M. Sc., LL. D. 1873-1942|
|Dean of American College Presidents
President of Jacksonville State Normal-State Teachers College 1899-1942
During an Educational Renascence in the South he was in the forefront of the Alabama Educational System
President 1st National Bank 1934-1942
He married Anne Rowan Forney (1897) Daughter of General John H. Forney and Septima Sexta Middleton Rutledge — Map (db m29922) HM|
|Alabama (Calhoun County), Jacksonville — 10th Alabama Volunteers — Army of Northern Virginia, C.S.A.|
|This regiment took part for four years in major battles of Virginia theater. It served with distinction for dash and courage, suffering heavy casualties.
Officers at regiment’s organization June 4, 1861 at Montgomery, Alabama;
Colonel John H. Forney Jacksonville
Lt. Col. James B. Martin Jacksonville
Major Taul Bradford Talladega
Co. Captain County
A John H. Caldwell St. Clair
B Alburto Martin Jefferson
C Rufus W. Cobb Shelby
D Franklin Woodruff . . . — Map (db m36465) HM|
|Alabama (Calhoun County), Jacksonville — Beauregard's Headquarters|
|This house, "Ten Oaks", was headquarters for Gen. P.G.T. Beauregard, Oct. 15-23, 1864, when he coordinated the movement of Gen. J.B. Hood's army, then marching across northeast Alabama enroute to Nashville. He and his retinue, including Gov. I.G. Harris of Tenn. and Gen. M.L. Smith, were the guests of Mr. and Mrs. James Crook who erected "Ten Oaks" in 1850, the largest house in Calhoun County. Beauregard stood on the front balcony to be serenaded by the townspeople who were assembled in the . . . — Map (db m29919) HM|
|Alabama (Calhoun County), Jacksonville — Chief Ladiga Trail - Jacksonville|
|The Chief Ladiga Trail was named for a Creek Indian leader who signed the Cusseta Treaty in 1832. Under the terms of that agreement, the Creeks gave up claim to their remaining lands in northeast Alabama. Because he had signed the treaty, Ladiga was allowed to select some land in Benton County for his wife and himself. A year after the treaty, he sold part of his holdings for $2,000 to a group of speculators headed by Charles White Peters. That land later became Jacksonville. After selling the . . . — Map (db m36438) HM|
|Alabama (Calhoun County), Jacksonville — Confederate Hospital|
|This Church was used for a
During the War
Between The States
General John H. Forney
Chapter U.D.C. Sept 27, 1937 — Map (db m36539) HM|
|Alabama (Calhoun County), Jacksonville — Doctor Francis' Office|
|This general practitioner's office is the only remaining structure of its type in northeast Alabama. It was built on the court-house square about 1850 by Dr. J. C. Francis, a beloved family doctor who served Jacksonville for more than 50 years. He provided an apothecary in the front portion of his office. Associated with him in this office was Dr. C. J. Clark, a well known Confederate army surgeon and director of the Alabama Hospital in Richmond. John M. Francis, a grandson of Dr. Francis, also . . . — Map (db m23350) HM|
|Alabama (Calhoun County), Jacksonville — Downtown Jacksonville Historic District|
|Selected as a landmark contributing to a deeper
understanding of our American Heritage.
The National Register of Historic Places
United States Department of the Interior
May 13, 1986
Centered around Jacksonville’s historic Public
Square, the district is bounded by Thomas Avenue,
Vann Street, Spring Avenue, and College Street. — Map (db m36479) HM|
|Alabama (Calhoun County), Jacksonville — Forney’s Corner|
|Jacob Forney III lived and operated a thriving mercantile establishment at Jacksonville from 1835-56 on the south-east corner of the square. He and his wife Sabina Swope Hoke were the parents of nine children.
1. Daniel Peter - b. Feb. 24, 1819, d. Sept. 10, 1880.
2. Joseph Bartlett - b. Feb. 19, 1821, d. Aug. 14, 1881.
3. William Henry - b. Nov. 9, 1823, d. Jan. 18, 1894.
4. Barbara Ann - b. Dec. 11, 1826, d. Dec. 26, 1907.
5. John Horace - b. Aug. 12, 1829, d. Sept. 13, 1902.
6. . . . — Map (db m36450) HM|
|Alabama (Calhoun County), Jacksonville — General Leonidas Polk C.S.A.|
|Bishop of Louisiana
Held service in this church 1864
Erected by General John H. Forney
April 26, 1937 — Map (db m36535) HM|
|Alabama (Calhoun County), Jacksonville — Intendants and Mayors of Jacksonville|
|From 1836 to 1881 the head of the City Government
carried the title of Intendant. After that
that the office has been filled by the Mayor.
The following have served in this capacity:
William Harrison Fleming,
John D. Hoke, 1850-51
J. R. Clark, 1852-58, 1862-66
Daniel Peter Forney, 1867-73
Horace Lee Stevenson, 1874-80, 1883-84,
1888-93, 1900-02, 1910-11
John M. Crook, 1881-82
W. W. Woodward, 1885-87
J. D. Hammond, 1894-95
J. R. Arnold, 1896-97
S. G. . . . — Map (db m36533) HM|
|Alabama (Calhoun County), Jacksonville — Jacksonville — Calhoun County, Alabama|
|Postoffice established July 20, 1833 as Drayton, Benton County, Alabama. Name changed to Jacksonville Aug. 6, 1834 and county changed to Calhoun Jan. 29, 1858. Office maintained by Confederate Government 1861-1865.
Postmasters and dates of appointment are:
James Lawson July 20, 1833
John Lawson May 30, 1834
John Lawson Aug. 6, 1834
John D. Hoke Sept. 9, 1836
Anderson Wilkins July 1, 1841
Edward L. Woodward Nov. 11, 1841
George Hoke Nov. 2, 1842
John . . . — Map (db m36449) HM|
|Alabama (Calhoun County), Jacksonville — Jacksonville — First County Seat — Calhoun County, 1833-99|
|Town first called Drayton.
Renamed in 1834 to honor
President Andrew Jackson.
Seat moved to Anniston in 1899.
Calhoun Co. originally was Benton Co.,
for Col. T. H. Benton, Creek War officer,
later U. S. Senator from Missouri.
Renamed in 1858 for John C. Calhoun,
champion of South in U. S. Senate.
Benton’s views by then unpopular in South. — Map (db m36471) HM|
|Alabama (Calhoun County), Jacksonville — Jacksonville State University|
| This Educational Center of
Northeast Alabama Traces its Origin to
Jacksonville Male Academy 1836
Jacksonville Female Academy 1837
Calhoun College 1871
Calhoun Grange College 1878
State Normal School 1883
State Teachers College 1929
Jacksonville State College 1957
Jacksonville State University 1966
Erected February 22, 1983 in observance of the Institution’s Centennial Celebration — Map (db m36426) HM|
|Alabama (Calhoun County), Jacksonville — Jacksonville, Alabama — “Gem of the Hills”|
|Life here has long centered on education beginning in 1834 when a one-acre plot of land was reserved for a schoolhouse. Through the years, various institutions of higher learning developed that culminated into present-day Jacksonville State University. Land that was to become Jacksonville was purchased from Creek Indian Chief Ladiga in 1833. Originally called Drayton, its name was changed to Jacksonville in 1836. Jacksonville experienced a rich heritage as the county seat of Calhoun County. Its . . . — Map (db m36429) HM|
|Alabama (Calhoun County), Jacksonville — John Horace Forney — 1829-1902 — Major General, C.S.A.|
|Graduate of West Point,
resigned from U.S. Army
to volunteer services
to State of Alabama.
Ably led Confederate forces
at Manassas, Pensacola,
Vicksburg, Mobile, Texas. — Map (db m36482) HM|
|Alabama (Calhoun County), Jacksonville — John Tyler Morgan — 1824-1907|
| Lawyer, Soldier, Senator
← Lived here in 1838
1862-63 Colonel of
51st Alabama Cavalry
Raised by him in this county
1863-65 Brigadier General C.S.A.
with Wheeler’s Cavalry
1876-1907 United States Senator
of Alabama. — Map (db m36468) HM|
|Alabama (Calhoun County), Jacksonville — Joseph William Burke — 1835-1900|
| Lawyer, Industrialist, Patriot
Brigadier General, U.S.A.
Gen. Burke helped rebuild
Alabama’s mining & manufacturing
interests after the Civil War.
He helped establish the Catholic
Church at Jacksonville.
His home, “Bellevue,”
occupied the present site of
Jacksonville State College. — Map (db m36424) HM|
|Alabama (Calhoun County), Jacksonville — Maj. John Pelham — 1838-1863|
|"The Gallant Pelham" as called by Robert E. Lee Commanded Artillery, Army of Northern Virginia. Cited for conspicuous valor many times. Killed in action in Virginia. — Map (db m29920) HM|
|Alabama (Calhoun County), Jacksonville — Pelham|
Maj. John Pelham
killed at the battle of Kelly's Ford
March 17, 1863
Erected by the General John H. Forney Chapter U.D.C. Jacksonville, Alabama 1905.
How shall we rank thee upon glory's page than more than soldier — Map (db m23588) HM|
|Alabama (Calhoun County), Jacksonville — Presidents of Jacksonville State|
| James G. Ryals, Jr. 1883-1885
J. Harris Chappell 1885-1886
Carleton B. Gibson 1886-1892
J. B. Jarrett 1892-1893
Jacob Forney, IV 1893-1899
Clarence William Daugette 1899-1942
Houston Cole 1942-1971
Ernest Stone 1971-1981
Theron E. Montgomery 1981-1986
Harold J. McGee 1986-1999
William A. Meehan 1999 — Map (db m36427) HM|
|Alabama (Calhoun County), Jacksonville — Site of Indian Trading Post|
|This is the place
where one of the
Indian Trading Posts
stood in 1830.
Ladiga was Chief
of the tribe. — Map (db m36483) HM|
|Alabama (Calhoun County), Jacksonville — The Depot — Chief Ladiga Trail|
|The Depot was constructed in 1860 by the Selma, Rome and Dalton (GA) Railroad. It was used as a transfer and storage point for Confederate troops and materials during the War Between the States. — Map (db m36443) HM|
|Alabama (Calhoun County), Jacksonville — The First National Bank of Jacksonville|
|Since 1890 the financial interests of this area have been served by The First National Bank and its predecessor The Tredagar National Bank (an institution of the "Boom" days of Jacksonville)
Organizers were Peyton Rowan, President, Jos. W. Burke (Brig. Gen. USA), Vice Pres., and George P. Ide, Cashier. Horace Lee Stevenson, Pres. 1900-1913.
Name changed to First National Bank March 25, 1913
Maximillian Bethune Wellborn, 1913-1914
Henry A. Young, 1914-1918 . . . — Map (db m29480) HM|
|Alabama (Calhoun County), Jacksonville — Thomas A. Walker — 1811-1888|
|Prominent citizen of Jacksonville who served Alabama as Brigadier General, State Militia; member Legislature and Pres. of Senate; Circuit Court Judge; and Pres. Ala. and Tenn. Railroad
He owned extensive cotton plantations and mining interests throughout the state
His home, "The Magnolias", built in 1850, is an outstanding example of Southern architecture — Map (db m29921) HM|
|Alabama (Calhoun County), Jacksonville — William Henry Forney — 1823-1894|
|Brigadier General C.S.A.
With Army of Virginia 1861-1865.
Wounded in battle five times.
He was one of four distinguished sons
of Jacob Forney and Sabina Swope Hoke
of Jacksonville who held commissions
in the Confederate Army.
Member U.S. Congress 1875-1893
National Military Park Commission
Veteran Mexican War 1846. — Map (db m36480) HM|
|Alabama (Calhoun County), Ohatchee — Janney Furnace|
|The furnace was constructed by Montgomery businessman Alfred A. Janney, reportedly using slaves brought from Tennessee by a "Dr. Smith." The furnace was completed and ready to produce pig iron when, on July 14, 1864, a Union cavalry raiding force of 2,300 men, led by Major General Louvell H. Rousseau, crossed the Coosa River at Ten Islands Ford in route to destroying the railroad between Montgomery and West Point, Georgia. Learning of the location of the furnace, Rousseau dispatched his . . . — Map (db m25544) HM|
|Alabama (Calhoun County), Piedmont — Cross Plains - Piedmont|
|Cross Plains citizens voted for incorporation March 10, 1871. A second vote was cast for reincorporation May 15, 1882. By the acts of the Alabama Legislature of 1888, Cross Plains became Piedmont September 30, 1888. Mayors for both Cross Plains and Piedmont are Listed.
J. F. Dailey 1871-1874
J. N. Hood 1874-1882
J. A Woolf 1882-1883
John H. Hall 1883-1884
J. A Woolf 1884-1885
S. D. McClelen 1885-1887
J. W. Harris 1887-1888
J. N. Hood 1888-1890
A. D. McCollister . . . — Map (db m27992) HM|
|Alabama (Calhoun County), Piedmont — First Presbyterian Church|
|The First Presbyterian Church of Piedmont was organized March 18, 1890, with seventeen charter members, by Rev. B. F. Bedinger, Presbyterian evangelist. Rev. J. E. McLean was the first minister. First elders were C. W. McMahon and Stephen Ferguson; first deacons were John Turk and William Turk. A frame building was erected west of South Main Street, which the congregation occupied June 21, 1891. Rev W. J. Sinnott, the congregation's second minister and Supt. of the Presbyterian Orphanage in . . . — Map (db m27993) HM|
|Alabama (Calhoun County), Piedmont — Piedmont First United Methodist Church|
|Beginning as a Methodist mission in the 1850's, the Piedmont First United Methodist Church was organized in 1867 as the Cross Plains Methodist Episcopal Church, South, by Wilson Johnson and a small band of local Methodists. In 1868 a small church was built on North Church Street. Neill Ferguson, W. P. Harbor, and Wilson Johnson were trustees. The Rev. Theophilus Moody was appointed the pastor in 1868. In 1898 a more commodious church was erected on the same site, and the Rev. I. Q. Melton was . . . — Map (db m83261) HM|
|Alabama (Calhoun County), Piedmont — The Alabama Tennessee River Railroad|
|The Alabama Tennessee River Railroad was chartered by the Alabama legislature in the session of 1836-1837. Work was begun at Selma in 1851 and the rails reached Blue Mountain in 1861. Work was terminated during the War Between the States.
In 1867 a contract was let to complete the road to Dalton, Georgia. Three corporations merged to form the Selma, Rome and Dalton Railroad, which reached Dalton in 1869.
On June 20, 1868, the first train arrived in Cross Plains from Jacksonville. . . . — Map (db m27995) HM|
|Alabama (Calhoun County), Saks — 27th. Division Veterans Memorial|
|Dedicated Oct. 15, 1980 and given in memory of those members who gave their lives in World War I & II by the 27th. Division Association whose members trained on this ground 1940-1941 — Map (db m53009) HM|
|Alabama (Chambers County), Cusseta — Pat Garrett and Billy the Kid / Pat Garrett, "The Man Who Shot Billy the Kid"|
Pat Garrett and Billy the Kid
As sheriff of Lincoln County, Pat Garrett was charged with tracking down and arresting Billy the Kid, a friend from Garrett's saloon keeping days in Fort Sumner, New Mexico. He was captured in December 1880 and was subsequently convicted of murder. However Billy the Kid escaped from jail on April 18, 1881. Garrett tracked him to Fort Sumner on July 14 where he was shot and killed. In 1889 Garrett moved to Uvalde, Texas where he was . . . — Map (db m83262) HM|
|Alabama (Chambers County), LaFayette — Chambers County|
|Chambers County, created December 18, 1832 from Creek Indian cession. Named for Dr. Henry C. Chambers of Madison County, member of Constitutional Convention 1819, legislature of 1820, elected U.S. Senator 1825 but died enroute to Washington.
County government organized 1833 by Judge James Thompson of Jefferson County. First officers were: Nathaniel Greer, Sheriff; William House, Clk. Cir. Ct.; Joseph J. Williams, Clk. Co. Ct.; Booker Lawson, John Wood, William Fannin, John A. Hurst, . . . — Map (db m18162) HM|
|Alabama (Chambers County), LaFayette — Chambers County War Memorial|
In Memory of
Chambers Co. Veterans
Who Gave Their Lives
In Following Wars
World War II
Askew, Arthur L. Pvt. • Austin, George L. Jr. 1st Lt. • Baker, Edwin H. Sgt. • Bassett, Wilma M. Pvt. • Belcher, Guy E. PFC. • Bishop, Ulysses H. Tec. 4 • Brown, John T. Sgt. • Brown, William A. Cpl. • Butler, Cecil C. Pvt. • Crowder, Robert L. Pvt. • Dardy, James Jr. Pvt. • Davis, Charles W. Sgt. • Farrar, James L. PFC. • Fitzpatrick, John W. PFC. • Floyd, Wilbur Pvt. • Ford, Dwight H. . . . — Map (db m18163) WM|
|Alabama (Chambers County), Lafayette — LaFayette Cemetery — Chambers County|
|LaFayette Cemetery, also known as Westview, began in 1934 with the death of Miss Sarah Gipson. Many early pioneers and veterans of East Alabama are buried here including Revolutionary War Patriot Capt. Alexander Dunn, Col. Charles McLemore, Confederate soldier Elliott H. Muse, Senator Thomas Heflin, and Edmonia, a servant to the Allen family. The pavilion was constructed in 1903 in the oldest section of the cemetery for the Confederate Memorial Day programs. The Owen K. McLemore Chapter of the . . . — Map (db m83263) HM|
|Alabama (Chambers County), Lafayette — Muscogee Indians|
Indian villages nearby
were affiliated with either
Upper or Lower Confederacies
of the Creek Nation.
In colonial times
Spain, France and England
contended for this section.
Indian title ceded in 1832. — Map (db m71639) HM|
|Alabama (Chambers County), Lafayette — The Lafayette Presbyterian Church — Organized 1835|
|This structure was built by early settlers from Virginia, Tennessee, and the Carolinas, and subsequently modified. The original building has stood since 1836.
Union Sunday School begun here in 1891. Many eminent ministers have filled the pulpit. — Map (db m83264) HM|
|Alabama (Chambers County), Lanett — 141-10 — Ocfuskooche Tallauhassee|
|A flourishing, ancient town of the Muscogee Indians known as Ocfuskooche Tallahassee (Old Town) stood on this site. English traders from Charles Town visited it about 1685. A trail known as "Old Horse Path" led from this village to the Tallapoosa. Ocfuskooche
is known to have existed through Colonial and Revolutionary times but, soon after 1790, the town was abandoned and its inhabitants moved westward to settle on the Tallapoosa River. The westward surge of settlers and bitter frontier fighting forced the move. — Map (db m36315) HM|
|Alabama (Chambers County), Lanett — Providence Baptist Church — Chambers County, Alabama|
Providence Baptist Church was organized before 1836 by Elder Francis Calloway. It was one of the ten charter churches of the East Liberty Baptist Association. The small white frame church was built during the ministry of Reverend George E. Brewer, who served Providence 1883-1889. It has served some of the best known families in all this section including the: Askews, Harringtons, Wolfes, Calloways, Barrows, Meadors, Slaughters, Shealeys, Wallaces, Lancasters, Burdetts, . . . — Map (db m83265) HM|
|Alabama (Chambers County), Valley — Armed Forces Tribute|
to the men
Lest We Forget — Map (db m71652) WM|
|Alabama (Chambers County), Valley — Fairfax First Christian Church|
Built 1916 by West Point Mfg. Co. and called Fairfax “Union” Church as it was shared by Disciples of Christ, Methodist, & Baptist groups. It was purchased by the Disciples of Christ after the others left to build their own churches and renamed Fairfax First Christian Church. White clapboard exterior built in shape of cross. Windows-hammered glass in shape of Moses' tablets. Original features in use: pews designed to match windows, windows, pulpit, exposed . . . — Map (db m83266) HM|
|Alabama (Chambers County), Valley — Fairfax Kindergarten|
|Built in 1916, the kindergarten was one of five original public buildings in the Fairfax Mill Village. Each mill village had an efficient, attractive, and well kept kindergarten for children ages four to six. LaFayette Lanier, Sr. was the inspiration for the kindergarten system that was put into operation. In his newsletter of July 16, 1917, William Teagin, Alabama Superintendent of Education, commended West Point Manufacturing Company for its commitment to education. The kindergarten was in operation until 1983 and is now privately owned. — Map (db m71634) HM|
|Alabama (Chambers County), Valley — Langdale Veterans Memorial|
| In Honor of All Langdale Veterans
World War II
To those who gave
the ultimate sacrifice — Map (db m71654) WM|
|Alabama (Chambers County), Valley — Lanier High School|
The school was located at three different sites on Cherry Drive. Its beginning was in The Blue Hall Building adjacent to Goodsell Methodist Church. Later it was moved to the Dallas/Jackson Home and became the Jackson Hill School. In 1921, George H. Lanier provided funds to annex high school space. It became a part of Lanett City Schools, and the name changed to Lanier High. Lanier High was accredited in 1935 and six students constituted the first graduating class. The Darden . . . — Map (db m71638) HM|
|Alabama (Chambers County), Valley — West Point Manufacturing Company|
|Cornerstones of Chattahoochee Mfg. Co., Langdale, Ala., and Alabama & Georgia Mfg. Co., River View, Ala., were laid on August 1, 1866. Mills used Chattahoochee River water power for operation of spindles and looms. Planters and businessmen of Chambers County, Ala., and West Point, Ga., invested the capital for these ventures, providing a new way of life to a war stricken people.
In 1880, West Point Manufacturing Company was organized from the Chattahoochee mill. The business genius, . . . — Map (db m71637) HM|
|Alabama (Cherokee County), Cedar Bluff — Cornwall Furnace|
|The Confederate States of America in 1862 commissioned the Noble Brothers of Rome, Georgia to erect a cold blast furnace to produce needed pig iron for the war effort.
The skilled labor was detailed from Confederate army personnel. It is estimated that 1000 laborers were employed in building the canal, tunnel and mining brown hematite rock used in building the furnace in less than a year.
The furnace output was small (6 tons daily) but an important asset to the Confederacy in building . . . — Map (db m83267) HM|
|Alabama (Cherokee County), Lawrence — Gen. N.B. Forrest Captured Col. A.D. Streight Monument|
|This marks the place where Gen. N.B. Forrest with 322 men captured Col. A.D. Streight with 466 men May 3, 1863. Erected by Forney District Ala. United Daughters of The Confederacy June 3, 1939 — Map (db m12306) HM|
|Alabama (Chilton County), Clanton — Chilton County Training School 1924-1969|
|The Chilton County Training School (CCTS) was the only facility in the county that provided a secondary education for black boys and girls until the mid-1960s. In 1924 black landowners donated five acres for the school to the Board of Education who later purchased an additional five acres. A fire in 1949 mostly destroyed the original building, which had been constructed with assistance from the Rosenwald School Fund. The building was rebuilt in 1951 and upgraded in the early 1960s. Students . . . — Map (db m54656) HM|
|Alabama (Chilton County), Clanton — City of Clanton|
|Clanton, originally named Goose Pond, was founded in 1867 by Alfred Baker Sr. Goose Pond was renamed Clanton in honor of Confederate hero General James Holt Clanton. The city limits cover approximately 18 square miles. Clanton is located near the geographical center of Alabama, halfway between the cities of Birmingham and Montgomery, and is nestled between two major thoroughfares, Interstate 65 and U. S. Highway 31. In honor of the peach industry that thrives in the area, the city of Clanton . . . — Map (db m54979) HM|
|Alabama (Chilton County), Clanton — Walnut Creek United Methodist Church — Established 1820|
|Arthur Love, a charter member, was first pastor. Organized as a Methodist Episcopal Church. Became Methodist Protestant, 1828. Changed to Methodist Church, 1939. Affiliated with United Methodist, 1968. In the original church built of logs, Judge James Q. Smith, Montgomery, in 1869 presided at first court held in Baker Co. (now Chilton). Cir. 1875, a frame building replaced log church. Present brick building erected, 1935. Walnut Creek U. M. C. has always maintained a progressive Sunday School. — Map (db m83268) HM|
|Alabama (Chilton County), Maplesville — Maplesville United Methodist Church|
|This structure is an excellent example of the one-room Gothic Revival - style church buildings which once were built throughout the South. It was originally located on a three-acre site that was deeded to trustees W. A. D. Ramsey, G. W. Brand, and D. J. Waterworth, on September 15, 1871, by Mr. and Mrs. G. V. Dansby for the benefit of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South. The Methodist Cemetery now occupies that site. In 1888 the church was dismantled and moved to this location to be more . . . — Map (db m37615) HM|
|Alabama (Chilton County), Stanton — Ebenezer Church — April 1, 1865|
|Cavalry engagement here among fiercest of war.
To defend arsenal at Selma Forrest (CSA) charged with 1500 into Wilson (USA) moving south with 7500.
Forrest was seeking to delay Wilson pending arrival of scattered (CSA) units.
Forrest in heavy fighting to inspire men suffered sabre wound but killed opponent.
Swollen streams and intercepted orders blocked aid for Forrest, forced his retreat. — Map (db m37617) HM|
|Alabama (Chilton County), Thorsby — Scandinavian Cemetery|
|In 1896 Swedish settlers organized the Concordia Methodist Church and acquired this land for the Concordia Cemetery, later known as the Lutheran Cemetery. This is the former site of Strassburg School. In the 1980s it became known as the Scandinavian Cemetery since most of those laid to rest here were Lutherans, not only of Swedish descent, but of Norwegian, Danish and Finnish. They were primarily from the upper mid-western United States and desired a better climate and living conditions to work . . . — Map (db m83269) HM|
|Alabama (Chilton County), Thorsby — Thorsby Remembers Our Veterans|
|For the men and women
of all branches of the military
Thank you for your service
God Bless you all — Map (db m73233) WM|
|Alabama (Chilton County), Thorsby — Thorsby: A Scandinavian Colony in the South|
| Side 1:
Founded in 1895, the Town of Thorsby was the first planned community in Chilton County. The original settlers were people of Scandinavian origin seeking a favorable climate to locate for farming, fruit growing and better health. The original founders of Thorsby were three Swedes, Theodore T. Thorson, John F. Peterson, John E. Hedberg, and a Norwegian, K. G. Faegre. Advertisements were placed in northern newspapers declaring the discovery of a southern utopia, one that promised . . . — Map (db m73231) HM|
|Alabama (Chilton County), Verbena — Mitchell Dam|
| Named by the Board of Directors
Alabama Power Company
Major modifications to this project were completed
in 1985. Three new generating units with a total
capacity of 150,000 kilowatts were installed in a
new powerhouse on the west bank. In addition, the
three additional units installed in 1923 with a total
capacity of 52,500 kilowatts were removed from
service. Unit 4 with a capacity of 20,000 kilowatts
that was . . . — Map (db m72486) HM|
|Alabama (Chilton County), Verbena — Verbena, Alabama|
|The only community in the U.S. so designated, Verbena was named for the profuse wild flowers growing in the area. Settlers arrived in the area as early as 1832. Completion of the North-South Railroad and a train depot at Verbena in 1870 enabled Montgomery citizens to escape yellow fever epidemics, the worst being in 1873. Because of the healthier climate, many prominent citizens built summer homes here and the village grew to include two hotels, doctor's offices, a bank, general stores, mineral . . . — Map (db m68286) HM|
|Alabama (Choctaw County), Gilbertown — First Oil Well In Alabama|
|On January 2, 1944, the State of Alabama granted Hunt Oil Company a permit to drill the A.R. Jackson Well No. 1 at this location near Gilbertown. Hunt Oil Company was owned by the famous oil man, H.L. Hunt of Dallas, Texas. Drilling commenced on January 10, 1944, and was completed approximately one month later. The well struck oil at a depth of 2,580 feet in fractured Selma chalk. The discovery of this well led to the creation of the State Oil and Gas Board of Alabama in 1945, and to the . . . — Map (db m80351) HM|
|Alabama (Clarke County), Claiborne — 93001517 — Dellet-Bedsole Plantation — C. 1850 — National Register of Historic Places|
|This 4000 acre complex has been recognized for its contribution to our understanding of the history of Monroe County and the State of Alabama. Originally developed as a cotton plantation during the Antebellum period, this farm has been in continuous operation from the early 1800's and reflects the changes in rural agrarian Alabama from that period to the present time. The plantation retains 16 building and sites of historic significance and shows evidence of occupation for long periods of time . . . — Map (db m80345) HM|
|Alabama (Clarke County), Coffeeville — Clarke-Washington Electric Membership Corporation|
|The Clarke-Washington Electric Membership Corporation was organized near this site on March 2, 1936, by some 83 members from Clarke and Washington Counties. This was the first rural electric cooperative organized in Alabama under an executive order signed by President Franklin D. Roosevelt on May 11, 1935. The co-op's original board of directors included Joe C. McCorquodale, Sr., Ben Glover, C. R. Myrick, R. S. McNeill, and H. E. Langlois. The co-op's first attorney was C. B. Gilmore of Grove . . . — Map (db m80356) HM|
|Alabama (Clarke County), Gosport — John Murphy — Fourth Governor of Alabama|
| Born 1785 in Robeson County, N.C.
Came in 1818 to Monroe County, Alabama. Represented Monroe County in Alabama Constitutional Convention in 1819 and in State Legislature 1819-1822. Served as Governor of Alabama 1825-1829. Elected 1833 to Congress for one term. Died 1841 and is buried in Gosport 2 miles from here on his Clarke County Plantation. — Map (db m47637) HM|
|Alabama (Clarke County), Grove Hill — Clarke County Courthouse|
|Clarke County established 1812. Named for General John Clarke of Georgia. County Seat moved here 1832 from Clarksville to Grove Hill, then known as Macon. — Map (db m47655) HM|
|Alabama (Clarke County), Grove Hill — Clarke County Soldiers Of The American Revolution|
|Lemuel Alston, William Armistead, Thomas Bradford, John Bradley, William Cochran, John Cox, John Creighton, Benjamin Darby, John Dean, Sr., Matthew Gayle, John Giles, William Goode, John Harvey, Aaron Lewis, Axom Lewis, Thomas Moody, Elijah Pugh, Joel Rivers, Elias Scarborough, Robert Tobias, Joseph Varner, Tandy Walker, Joshua Wilson. — Map (db m47748) HM|
|Alabama (Clarke County), Grove Hill — Colored and White Soldiers of World War I|
| This is a replica of the original tablet from the 1924 World War I monument located in front of the Clarke County Courthouse. The monument was the first memorial ever erected to honor county war dead. It cost $1,650 and was paid for with donations.
This tablet has historical significance. It is unique in that it shows racial tolerance for the time by honoring Blacks and Whites on the same stone. Tolerant though it may have been, it is a relic of a segregation era and a reminder that all . . . — Map (db m57385) HM|
|Alabama (Clarke County), Grove Hill — Creagh Law Office — circa 1834|
|Built by Judge John Gates Creagh, attorney, commissioner, county treasurer, judge of county orphans court and state legislator. It was originally located on lot 15 Court Street, facing the county court house, and was moved in the mid 1930's to Clarke Street for use as a residence. In 1990 it was given to the Clarke County Historical Society by the Gilmore family, in memory of the late Attorney Wyman Gilmore, and moved here to the museum complex. In past years it served as office to Attorneys . . . — Map (db m47652) HM|
|Alabama (Clarke County), Grove Hill — Elijah & Issac Pugh|
| Side 1
Near this spot are the graves of American Revolution soldier Elijah Pugh and his son Issac, a War of 1812 veteran. Elijah, born in Guilford Co., N.C. in 1760, was 18 when he joined a patriot band led by Col. Elijah Clarke at the end of 1778. He saw fierce fighting for three years, most notably at Kettle Creek in Georgia where his life was spared when a pewter flask on his body deflected a bullet. In 1784, he married Ruth Julian, a fellow patriot who as a teenager carried . . . — Map (db m83270) HM|
|Alabama (Clarke County), Grove Hill — Grove Hill, Alabama|
Grove Hill, first inhabited by Choctaw Indians, was settled by pioneers in the early 1800s. The settlement was called Magoffin's Store after James Magoffin whose shop, two miles from the present courthouse, opened in 1815. Grove Hill has also been known as Smithville and Macon. There was little activity in Grove Hill prior to 1832 when the county seat moved from Clarksville to its present site, and a one-story frame courthouse was constructed. During the 1830s, Grove Hill was . . . — Map (db m47653) HM|
|Alabama (Clarke County), Jackson — Kimbell House|
|Built circa 1848 by Isham Kimbell on Lower Commerce Street. Given to city by Woodson family and moved
to this site in 1977 by Jackson Historical Commission, successors to Jackson Bi-Centennial Committee, with a grant from the M. W. Smith, Jr.
Foundation. Restored with funds from public subscription, local civic organizations, and the City
of Jackson. — Map (db m39202) HM|
|Alabama (Clarke County), Thomasville — Airmount Grave Shelter And Cemetery|
This Greek Revival style brick structure is known as the Hope Family Grave Shelter. Constructed in 1853, it is listed on the National Register of Historical places. The unusual splayed eaves and vaulted or “compass” interior ceiling can be traced to Eastern Seaboard church yards in Delaware and Virginia, and this is believed to the only grave shelter of its type in Alabama. The shelter covers graves of six members of the family of John Hope, who donated the fenced . . . — Map (db m47621) HM|
|Alabama (Clarke County), Thomasville — Choctaw Corner|
|Established by Choctaw and Creek Indians about 1808 as the northern limit of boundary line between their lands. This line begins at the cut-off in South Clarke County, follows the watershed between Alabama and Tombigbee Rivers without crossing water.
The disputed territory boundary was settled by two ball games, one between the warriors and one between the squaws of each tribe. The Choctaws won both games clearing forever their title to the lands.
Actual site of corner is 1.7 miles North, N.E.. — Map (db m83271) HM|
|Alabama (Clarke County), Whatley — Fort Sinquefield|
Kimbell - James Massacre
Creek War 1812-13
Erected by Clarke County School Children 1931
Lest we forget Hayden and his dogs. — Map (db m47701) HM|
|Alabama (Clarke County), Whatley — Kimbell - James Massacre — ←½ mile—|
| Sept. 1, 1813
Creek Indian War. 1813-14
Part of War of 1812. British used Pensacola as base to arm, incite Indians against U.S..
Prophet Francis led Indians in this raid on Kimbell home. They Killed and scalped 12 of 14 (two survivors left for dead); pillaged house, Killed livestock. — Map (db m47635) HM|
|Alabama (Clarke County), Whatley — Old Indian Trail|
|Here passed the Old Indian Trail used as a dividing line between the Choctaw and Creek Tribes.
General Andrew Jackson and his troops rested here for the night in 1813. — Map (db m47633) HM|
|Alabama (Clarke County), Whatley — Old Line Road|
|Commences at the Cut-Off, or the first high ground in that vicinity, follows the watershed between the Alabama and Tombigbee Rivers, and ends at Choctaw Corner. Established in 1808 by the Creek and Choctaw Indians as the dividing line between their lands. — Map (db m47628) HM|
|Alabama (Clarke County), Whatley — Reverend Timothy Horton Ball, A. M.|
| February 16, 1826, November 8, 1913.
Minister, Teacher, Historian, Author.
His love of history, natural resources and mankind led him to record events, past and present, writing many of his notes on the pommel of his saddle and also walking County in search of information. He preserved for future generations, the history of Clarke County in written form, a vital resource record for the present and future. He is buried in the Creighton Cemetery one quarter mile north west. — Map (db m83272) HM|
|Alabama (Clarke County), Whatley — Suggsville|
|Town laid out in 1819 at crossing of Old Line and Old Federal Roads. Named for Wm. Suggs, storekeeper. Site of Clarke County's first newspaper, cotton gin, carriage, shoe and silk factory. Site of extensive aviation experiments by Dr. Denny 100 years before Wright Bros. Early religious & educational center. — Map (db m47698) HM|
|Alabama (Clay County), Ashland — Clay County Veterans Memorial|
|Dedicated to the veterans of Clay County who so unselfishly served and to those who died in defense of their country Let it be said “We will never forget” Left Panel List of World War I, World War II and Korean War veterans Right Panel List of World War II and Vietnam War veterans — Map (db m14302) WM|
|Alabama (Cleburne County), Heflin — Cleburne County|
|Cleburne County was created December 6, 1866, and was named for Confederate Major General Patrick R. Cleburne. He was born March 17, 1828 in Ireland. He was the South's highest-ranking foreign-born officer and one of the best of any nationality. General Cleburne was killed November 30, 1864 in the Battle of Franklin, Tennessee. — Map (db m83273) HM|
|Alabama (Coffee County), Clintonville — Clintonville Academy — January 11, 1860|
|Chartered as Clintonville Male and Female Academy. Building erected 1860: occupied January, 1861. The first school in Coffee County to teach beyond the sixth grade. Clintonville, for many years, was recognized as the cultural and educational center of the county.
This area was first known as Indigo Head. In 1845 one of the first voting precincts was located here. Clintonville post office established June 16, 1849.
Some of pioneer families were – Fleming, Brooks, Hutchison, . . . — Map (db m54787) HM|
|Alabama (Coffee County), Elba — City of Elba|
|Elba began circa 1840. A ferry had been started across Pea River, thus beginning the town’s first name, Bridgeville. In 1850, the town’s name was changed to Bentonville in honor of a Missourian who had distinguished himself in service to Alabama in the Creek Indian War of 1814. A town meeting was held in December 1851 and all present were allowed to put their idea for a name in a large top hat. One Mr. Simmons had been reading a biography of Napoleon Bonaparte, who was exiled to the island of . . . — Map (db m54201) HM|
|Alabama (Coffee County), Elba — First United Methodist Church — Earliest Church in Elba|
|A congregation of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South existed in Elba even before Rev. Robert Shaw Rabb was assigned as the first minister to the Elba Circuit on December 15, 1853. This site was purchased in 1909 and the Church officially opened on February 12, 1911. Large panels of stained glass windows are a memorial to Confederate soldiers from Coffee County. The historic Church bell was cast on February 21, 1908 in Hillsboro, Ohio. — Map (db m83274) HM|
|Alabama (Coffee County), Elba — Historic Court Square|
|The first Coffee County Courthouse was at Wellborn and burned in 1851. This site given by John B. Simmons when Elba was selected the county seat polling 58 more votes than Indigo Head (Clintonville) in a county election on October 5, 1852. The first building erected on this site was a two story frame structure burned by Ward’s Raiders, September 3, 1863. A new courthouse was completed in 1867. This building served Coffee County until 1881 and was sold at auction. A third building completed in . . . — Map (db m54804) HM|