|Australia, New South Wales, Lithgow — The Great Zig Zag — Lithgow|
|A railway zig zag is a series of reversing ramps used to avoid very steep grades. John Whitton, Engineer in Chief NSW Government Railways 1856-90, chose this as the economical method for the descent from Clarence to Lithgow. Built during 1866-69 by contractor Patrick Higgins, it involved massive rock excavations, a tunnel and three stone arch viaducts. During its 41 years of operation it accelerated the development of western New South Wales and achieved world renown as a major engineering work. — Map (db m59808) HM|
|Ontario, Chippawa — Niagara River Remedial Action Plan|
|Niagara's beauty has been an inspiration for today's environmental movement. Early conservationists such as George Catlin and Frederick Olmstead, who invented the concept of national parks, came to view its wonders. Nurtured by such visions and encouraged by the leadership of Colonel Casimir Gzowski, The Niagara Parks Commission established the first provincial park in Ontario in 1885.
The Remedial Action Plan (RAP) today unites concerned citizens committed to restoring Niagara's ecosystem . . . — Map (db m64652) HM|
|Ontario, Chippawa — The Destruction of The Caroline, 1837|
|On the night of December 29-30, 1837, some 60 volunteers acting on the orders of Col. Allen Napier MacNab, and commanded by Capt. Andrew Drew, R.N., set out from Chippawa in small boats to capture the American steamer "Caroline". That vessel, which had been supplying William Lyon Mackenzie's rebel forces on Navy Island, was moored at Fort Schlosser, N.Y. There she was boarded by Drew's men, her crew killed or driven ashore, and after an unsuccessful attempt to start the engines, her captors set . . . — Map (db m64651) HM|
|Ontario, Niagara Falls — Ebenezer Community|
|In 1852 this was the site of the Ebenezer religious community of 800 people. It had log houses, a wharf, store, blacksmith shop, sawmill, woolen mill, flour mill, cannery, cabinet shop and a communal dining hall. Their best known product was high quality cotton denim dyed Ebenezer Blue. In 1859 the community moved to Amana, Iowa. — Map (db m64653) HM|
|Ontario, Niagara Falls — On June 15, 2012|
|On June 15, 2012, the world watched as professional tightrope walker Nik Wallenda crossed the Niagara Gorge on a wire. Table Rock complex marked the Canadian end point for this high wire walk, which began at Terrapin Point, directly across the Gorge at the Niagara Falls State Park, in New York.
The Niagara Parks Commission granted one-time permission for this event in order to recognize the role that daredevil performances and stunting have played in the rich history and promotion of . . . — Map (db m64660) HM|
|Ontario, Niagara Falls — Rainbow Bridge|
|The Rainbow Bridge, owned and operated by the Niagara Falls Bridge Commission, was built in 1940-41 to replace the Upper Steel Arch Bridge. Its abutments are 15.1m (50 ft.) above the level of river ice jams. When it was built its 286m (950 ft.) arch was the longest hingeless arch in the world. — Map (db m64661) HM|
|Ontario, Niagara Falls — Table Rock|
|This is the site of the historic landmark, Table Rock, a shelf of bare rock 61 metres (200 feet) long, 18.3 metres (60 feet) wide. Once part of the crest of the Horseshoe Falls it was left isolated when the Falls receded. Rock falls in 1818, 1828, 1829, 1850 and 1934 reduced its size. The remaining overhang was blasted off for safety reasons in 1935. — Map (db m64668) HM|
|Ontario, Niagara Falls — The Boundary Waters Treaty|
|"It is further agreed that the waters herein defined as boundary waters and waters flowing across the boundary shall not be polluted on either side to the injury of health or property of the other."
Widely regarded as the first environmental agreement, the 1909 Boundary Waters Treaty was the first international treaty to articulate principles of boundary water resource development, to address cross-boundary pollution and to prohibit the diversion of boundary waters. Further, in . . . — Map (db m64648) HM|
|Ontario, Niagara Falls — Upper Steel Arch Bridge|
|An abutment of the Upper Steel Arch Bridge built on this site 1897-98, is visible on the U.S. shore of the river. Also known as the Falls View Bridge and the Honeymoon Bridge, it stood until January 27, 1938, when an ice jam pushed the bridge off its abutments and it collapsed onto the ice in the river. — Map (db m64669) HM|
|Ontario, Niagara Falls — Upper Suspension Bridge|
|This plaque marks the entrance to the Upper Suspension Bridge, opened in July 1869, then the longest suspension bridge in the world. The iron cables were hung from timber towers. In 1884-87, this wooden bridge was changed to steel. In 1898, this steel bridge was replaced by the Upper Steel Arch Bridge. — Map (db m64670) HM|
|Ontario, Ottawa — By Ward Market Heritage Conservation District — District de Conservation du Patrimoine du Marché By|
The dense cedar bog that became the site of the By Ward Market was drained and cleared in 1827 by Lieutenant-Colonel John By of the Royal Engineers to accommodate the workers building the Rideau Canal. The area rapidly became the commercial core of Bytown and later served the region's farming communities and the Ottawa Valley lumber industry, whose itinerant lumbermen gave the town its rowdy reputation. Over the next century the By Ward Market housed the businesses and institutions that . . . — Map (db m63692) HM|
|Ontario, Ottawa — Grand Central Hotel / Hôtel Grand Central — 1877|
Built as a grocery store by Thomas Coffey, Sr., this building was the Grand Central Hotel from 1889 to 1907, and a Salvation Army hostel from 1908 to 1949.
Designated Heritage Property
Construit au départ comme l'épicerie de Thomas Coffey, pére. L'immueble a abrite l'hôtel Grand Central de 1889 à 1907, puis d'auberge de l'Armee du Salut de 1908 à 1949.
Classé Monument Historique . . . — Map (db m63693) HM|
|Ontario, Ottawa — Terry Fox 1958 -1981 — The Greatness of the Human Spirit — L'eminence du courage de l'homme|
"I was lucky to do what I did. How many people ever get a chance to do something that they really believe in."
On April 12, 1980, Terry Fox began his dream to run across Canada in support of cancer research by dipping his artificial leg into the Atlantic waters off St. John's, Newfoundland. Terry's run, which he called the 'Marathon of Hope', would do so much more by uniting Canadians in support of his heroic desire to better the lives of others.
On September 1, near . . . — Map (db m63937) HM|
|Ontario, Queenston — Brock Dead House — The first of five places where Sir Isaac Brock's body rested after the Battle of Queenston Heights|
|During the War of 1812, the Brock Dead House was owned by Patrick McCabe. The façade was oriented in an easterly direction, facing the Niagara River.
Courtesy Brock University Library,
Special Collections and Archives
Brock Dead House
On 13th of October 1812, Major-General Sir Isaac Brock was killed at the Battle of Queenston Heights. In the midst of a deadly gunfire, his body was carried off the field and hidden in a nearby house. This improvised mortuary, or dead house. was . . . — Map (db m63493) HM WM|
|Egypt, Governorate of Alexandria, Alexandria — Pompey's Pillar — [Alexandria Serapeum]|
| Pompey’s Pillar is one of the most famous glories of Alexandria. It has been estimated that this pillar was in the middle of a portico containing some 400 columns. The Arabs called it “Amoud el-Sawari”, Column of the Horsemen. The Pillar is the tallest ancient monument in Alexandria.
This column has been admired by all throughout history for its grand scale. A number of stories were related to it. One such story claims 22 people had lunch on its capital!
Another favorite . . . — Map (db m59921) HM|
|France, Île-de-France, Auvers-sur-Oise — Van Gogh at the Ravoux Inn|
Vincent van Gogh
dans cette maison
et y mourut
le 29 juillet 1890
Vincent van Gogh
in this house
and died in it
the 29th of July, 1890 — Map (db m60409) HM|
|Germany, Bavaria, Bamberg — The Old Main Watch — Ehem. Hauptwache|
[Marker text in German:]
1774 unter Fürstbischof
Adam Friedrich von Seinsheim
nach Plänen von J.E. Roppelt erbaut
militärische Embleme von
Johann Bernhard Kamm
Repräsentationsgebäude der fürstbischöfliche Infantrie
[Marker text translated into English, more or less:]
Constructed in 1774 under Prince Bishop Adam Friedrich von Seinsheim according to the plans by J.H. Roppelt. Military emblems by Johann Bernhard Kamm. A representational building of the Prince . . . — Map (db m58812) HM|
|Germany, Bavaria, Gerolzhofen — The Decline of the Jewish Community of Gerolzhofen from January 30, 1933 — Niedergang der Jüdische Gemeinde Gerolzhofen ab 30. Januar 1933|
[Marker text in German:]
Urkundlich nachweisbar genehmigte im Jahr 1425 Fürstbischof Johann II v. Brunn die Ansässigmachung von Juden in Gerolzhofen. Viele jüdische Mitbürger engagierten sich im öffentlichen Leben und genossen Vertrauen und Anerkennung bei Ihren Mitbürgern. Nach ca. 500 Jahren horte die jüdische Gemeinde von Gerolzhofen auf zu existieren.
[Marker text translated into English, more or less:] The first known mention of the presence of Jews in Gerolzhofen is . . . — Map (db m58963) HM|
|Germany, Bavaria, Munich — Maximilian Joseph - Earl of Montgelas — Maximilian Joseph - Graf von Montgelas — 1759-1838|
[Marker text in German:]
Von 1799 bis 1816 lenkte Maximilian Joseph Graf von Montgelas als Minister die Geschicke Bayerns. Nach den Grundsätzen der Aufklärung formte er durch umwälzende Reformen das moderne Bayerische Staatswesen.
Die Skulptur wurde 2005 von Karin Sender nach überlieferten Abbildern digital errechnet und computergesteuert aus Aluminium gefräst.
[Marker text translated into English, more or less:]
As minister from 1799 to 1816, . . . — Map (db m58660) HM|
|Germany, Bavaria, Nuremberg — Schürstab Mansion — Schürstabhaus - Mittelaltlicher Geschlechtersitz|
[Marker text in German:]
Bis 1328 Unholder Ministeriale
1328-1478 Schürstab Patrizierfamilie
1406 Prägende Baugestaltung
durch Erhart d ä Schürstab
1482 Carl Schwerzer baulich Prägung
und Einbau der Hauskapelle
1508-1518 Anton Tetzel Losunger
1645-1791 Fetzer Ratskonsulenten
1943 Zerstörung des Daches
1997 Wiederaufbau u. Restaurierung
[Marker text translated into English, more or less:]
Until 1328 owners as "Unholder Ministeriale"
1328-1478 owned . . . — Map (db m58731) HM|
|Israel, Haifa District, Acre — The Crusaders — Until their arrival at Akko|
|On their way to Jerusalem in 1099, the Crusaders killed the Jewish 'infidels' and destroyed many communities, among which were in the communities of Speyer, Worms and Magenza. In memory of those who perished the prayer "Merciful Father" was composed, which has been recited each Sabbath by the Ashkenazi communities. — Map (db m65446) HM|
|Israel, Haifa District, Caesarea — A Collection of Architectural Artifacts|
|This garden presents a collection of architectural artifacts discovered during the excavation of Caesarea, or found by chance.
The source of much of present day knowledge of the styles and building methods of the classical world of Greece and Rome is the work of the Roman architect and engineer Vitruvius, who wrote his major text, De Architectura, some two thousand years ago.
The architecture of this region combines Hellenistic and Roman traditions with local and . . . — Map (db m64466) HM|
|Israel, Haifa District, Caesarea — Architectural Elements|
|The gable, cornice, frieze and architrave are some of the architectural elements that were typical of the facades and other monumental structures. The ornamentation of these buildings changed according to the adopted style.
In the Roman world, pedestals were not only used as columns supports but also as stands for statues and representative elements. — Map (db m64487) HM|
|Israel, Haifa District, Caesarea — Column Capitals|
|In the Classical World, Planning and Aesthetics principles were clear and unambiguous. The Doric, Ionic, and Corinthian orders were elaborated by the Greeks and later, adopted by the Romans, with some variations. Each order bears its own rules and particular ornamental elements. Columns capitals express these different orders. — Map (db m64499) HM|
|Israel, Haifa District, Caesarea — Dedicatory Inscription|
|"(Po)ntius Pilatus, the prefect of Judaea, (erected) a (building dedicated) to (the emperor) Tiberius".
Replica. The original inscription, found in secondary use during the excavations of the theater, is on display at the Israel Museum in Jerusalem.
Pontius Pilatus was the Roman prefect who presided over the trial of Jesus of Nazareth (Matt. 27: 11-26). The content of the inscription and the use of the Latin language hint at the level of Romanization . . . — Map (db m64520) HM|
|Israel, Haifa District, Caesarea — I Appeal Unto Caesar|
|"For if I be an offender, or have committed any thing worthy of death, I refuse not to die; but if there be none of these things whereof these accuse me, no man may deliver me unto them. I appeal unto Caesar. Then Festus, when he had conferred with the council, answered, Hast thou appealed unto Caesar? Unto Caesar shalt thou go". (Acts 25: 11-12)
"And on the morrow, when Agrippa was come, and Bernice, with great pomp, and was entered into the place of hearing, with the chief . . . — Map (db m64534) HM|
|Israel, Haifa District, Caesarea — King Herod's Hippodrome|
|"Herod built (...) on the south quarter, behind the port, an amphitheater also capable of holding a vast number of men and conveniently situated for a prospect to the sea" Josephus
This edifice, whose location perfectly matches Flavius Josephus's description, was built for the inauguration of the city in 10/9 B.C. This hippodrome (circus, in Latin), was the venue for the Actian Games instituted by King Herod in honor of the Roman emperor Augustus. . . . — Map (db m64538) HM|
|Israel, Haifa District, Caesarea — Sarcophagi|
|Sarcophagi (coffins in Greek) made of stone (granite, marble, limestone) lead or wood were widely used among different people including Jews, throughout he Greco-Roman world. Sarcophagus means "flesh eater".
Stone coffins were made out of two huge blocks - a cavity in which the corpse was placed and a double-slopped roof lid on which a Greek inscription was engraved: "the grave of Prokopios the Deacon". The coffins were decorated with flora, hunting mythological scenes or with geometric . . . — Map (db m64501) HM|
|Israel, Haifa District, Caesarea — The Chariot-Races — The Meta Prima|
|The chariot races thrilled the crowds. The counterclockwise seven-lap race commenced at the starting gates (carceres) (1) and ended at a finishing line situated in front of the dignitaries' tribune (2). At each end of the axial rib (spina) were the two turning points (meta prima and meta secunda). Their sharp curves posed a major challenge to the skilled charioteers and the galloping horses. — Map (db m64537) HM|
|Israel, Haifa District, Caesarea — The Promontory Palace — Herod's Palace & the Roman Praetorium|
|The edifice consists of two main units: the Lower Palace comprising the private wing, and the Upper Palace, housing the public wing. The latter, built around a large peristyle courtyard, was associated with the ruler's judicial and administrative functions, as well as the reception and the entertainment of dignitaries. The Upper Palace was built shortly after the erection of the Lower Palace.
Who built this palace? Was it King Herod, on the occasion of the inauguration of the . . . — Map (db m64517) HM|
|Israel, Haifa District, Caesarea — The Roman Well|
|Some sixty lead scroll fragments dating to the 4th. c. A.D., probably execrations tablets and binding spells, were recovered from this well, where they had been intentionally thrown as a magical practice. In his address on the dedication of the Holy Sepulchre in 335 A.D., Eusebius, Bishop of Caesarea, firmly condemned these widespread practices and what he called "curse tablets of forbidden sorcery". — Map (db m64532) HM|
|Israel, Haifa District, Caesarea — The Theater — התיאטרון|
|The only remnants left from the Theater of Caesarea are rows of seats, the orchestra, the stage and the scene-frons which is an ornamental wall behind the stage. How did it look like? Comparisons show that it might resemble the facade of a two or three-story building with elegant doorways decorated with columns, niches and sculptures. — Map (db m64498) HM|
|Israel, Haifa District, Megiddo — A Public Grain Silo|
|A public grain silo from the time of King Jeroboam II (8th century BCE). The silo had a capacity of 450 cubic meters. Straw found between the stones attests to the function of the installation. — Map (db m65196) HM|
|Israel, Haifa District, Megiddo — A Unique Continuity|
|[Text on the Left Side of the Marker]:
The deep section dug by the University of Chicago Expedition (1925-1939) provides a unique glimpse into the nearly thirty settlements built one on top of the other at the site. Due to the unique continuity of its occupation from the Neolithic period through the Persian period - and the scope of its excavations, Tel Megiddo is considered the 'cradle' of biblical archaeology and the 'laboratory' of modern research methods.
[Text on the . . . — Map (db m64908) HM|
|Israel, Haifa District, Megiddo — From Megiddo to Armageddon|
|The city of Megiddo played a prominent role in the history of the ancient Near East. Strategically located at the mouth of the Nahal Iron Pass, Megiddo controlled access to the road that linked Egypt with Mesopotamia and Anatolia - the most important trade and military route of that time. Megiddo is the only site in the Land of Israel mentioned in the records of all Near Eastern ancient powers and was one of the most fought-over cities in the region. The first fully-recorded battle in history, . . . — Map (db m64782) HM|
|Israel, Haifa District, Megiddo — Schumaker's Excavations|
|The first excavations at Tel Megiddo were directed by Gottlieb Schumacher on behalf of the Deutscher Palastina-Verein, between 1903 and 1905. After excavating the Tempelburg ('temple-fortress') in the eastern section of the mound, Schumacher dug a 25m. wide trench running north to south across the mound. The remains of several monumental buildings, as well as burial chambers vaulted in fine-stone corbelling, were exposed in the trench. — Map (db m65019) HM|
|Israel, Haifa District, Megiddo — Tel Megiddo National Park — World Heritage Site — The Biblical Tels - Megiddo, Hazor, Beer Sheba|
|The biblical tels of Megiddo, Hazor and Beer Sheba were inscribed in 2005 by the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) as World Heritage Sites with outstanding universal value. They are fitting representatives of the 200 biblical tels in Israel, which were flourishing cities in the past.These cities were established alongside ancient commercial roads and near prosperous agricultural areas, and were ruled by a central government. They made their mark on the . . . — Map (db m64811) HM|
|Israel, Haifa District, Megiddo — The City-Gate — (The Late Bronze Period)|
|[Text on the Left Side of the Marker]:
The Late Bronze period (1550-1150 B.C.) is marked by Egyptian rule of Canaan. At that time, Megiddo was one of the country's major city-states and its king a loyal vassal of the Egyptian pharaoh. The city-gate and the elaborate palace located just inside the are the best-known remains of this period. The city-gate was apparently incorporated into the Middle Bronze (2000-1550 B.C.) fortifications that were still in use at the time.
[Text . . . — Map (db m64821) HM|
|Israel, Haifa District, Megiddo — The City-Gate — (The Iron II Period)|
|[Text on the Left Side of the Marker]:
Megiddo became an Israelite city sometime between the 10th and 9th centuries B.C., and functioned as an administrative center for he fertile Jezreel Valley. Some time later, a massive wall (1) and a monumental city-gate (2-4) were built. According to one opinion, the gate dates to the reign of Solomon (10th c. B.C.). Other scholars postdate the gate to the reign of either Ahab (9th c.) or Jeroboam II (8th c. B.C.).
[Text across the . . . — Map (db m64882) HM|
|Israel, Haifa District, Megiddo — The Northern Palace|
|[Text on the Left Side of the Marker]:
The foundations of this palace, first investigated by Y. Yadin in 1960, are presently being excavated by 'The Megiddo Expedition'. The edifice was apparently laid out as a bit hilani (North Syrian palace) whose architecture included a monumental porticoed entrance and a large central ceremonial hall.
[Text across the Bottom of the Marker]:
"And he made the hall of pillars (...) there was a porch in front with . . . — Map (db m64898) HM|
|Israel, Haifa District, Megiddo — The Northern Stables|
|[Text on the Left Side of the Marker]:
Architectural complexes dating from the same period (9th or 8th c. B.C.) and of similar design were found near the northern and southern edges of the mound. Through the years they variously interpreted as stables, storehouses or marketplaces. Recent research seems to corroborate their identification as horse-stables.
[Text across the Bottom of the Marker]:
"I besieged and conquered Samaria. Led away as booty 27,290 . . . — Map (db m64889) HM|
|Israel, Haifa District, Megiddo — The Sacred Area|
|[Text on the Left Side of the Marker]:
This area served as a focus of worship for over two thousand years, from the Early Bronze through the Iron I periods. The University of Chicago excavation section a series of temples (1, 3-5) built one on top of the other. The Megiddo Expedition, led by a team from Tel Aviv University, uncovered an additional temple (2) unique in the Levant in its monumentality and the thousands of sacrificial animal bones found in and around it.
[Text . . . — Map (db m64985) HM|
|Israel, Haifa District, Megiddo — The Southern Palace|
|[Text on the Left Side of the Marker]:
An elaborate ashlar-built palace (1) stood near the southern edge of the mound. A monumental entrance (2) - the only visible remains still standing - led to the courtyard (3). Like the northern palace, this edifice may have been built along the lines of a North Syrian bit hilani. One interpretation dated its construction to King Solomon (10th c. B.C.), whereas another one postdates it to Ahab's reign (9th c. B.C.).
[Text across . . . — Map (db m65198) HM|
|Israel, Haifa District, Megiddo — The Southern Stables|
|[Text on the Left Side of the Marker]:
The southern stables' five units could accommodate 150 horses. As in the northern complex, each unit consists of a rectangular building divided into three sections by two rows of alternating pillars and troughs. It seems that the Northern Kingdom established a major horse-breeding and training center at Megiddo in the 8th c. B.C., and this was apparently one of the reasons for its prosperity. Assyrian records from the 9th and the 8th c. B.C. . . . — Map (db m65204) HM|
|Israel, Haifa District, Megiddo — The Water System|
|[Text on the Left Side of the Marker]:
The problem of supplying water to large cities, a serious issue even in times of peace, could become acute in times of siege. Megiddo's main water source was located at the foot of the mound, beyond the city's fortifications. In order to ensure access to the spring from within the city, a hidden gallery was built on the slope of the mound in the 10th or 9th c. B.C. This gallery was later blocked and replaced by an elaborate water system, which . . . — Map (db m65215) HM|
|Israel, Jerusalem District, Jerusalem — Absalom's Tomb|
|This splendid burial monument dates to the end of the Second temple period. The lower part of the monument is hewn and the upper part is constructed. The name derives from the biblical verse that tells of Absalom's construction of a monument for himself during his lifetime, which he called Absalom's Monument. However, there is no connection between the Bible story and the structure you see here, which was built 1,000 years later. The style in which it was hewn combines varied architectural . . . — Map (db m63866) HM|
|Israel, Jerusalem District, Jerusalem — Beit Hatzofeh Lookout — A Journey to the Source|
|"Jerusalem, hills enfold it, and the Lord enfolds his people now and forever" (Psalms 125:2)
Jerusalem was first established on the hill on which you are now standing almost 4,000 years ago, during the Canaanite Period (Middle Bronze Age II). Flanking the hill are the Kidron Valley and the Central Valley and Mt. Moriah rises to the north.
A journey to the City of David, the ancient core of Jerusalem, is a journey to the source. The City of David was the . . . — Map (db m63924) HM|
|Israel, Jerusalem District, Jerusalem — Double Gate Monumental Stairs and Observation Plaza|
|The Restoration Project
of the Second Temple Period
Double Gate Monumental Stairs
and Observation Plaza — Map (db m63963) HM|
|Israel, Jerusalem District, Jerusalem — Jehoshaphat's Cave — מערת יהושפט — مغارة يهوشافاط|
|This is a burial complex from the Second Temple period. The facade of the cave features the relief of a gable resembling the roof facade of a sacred building. The decorative style is drawn from Hellenistic art, which influenced Jewish burial architecture at the end of the Second Temple period. The complex contains a number of burial niches; the identity of those interred here is not known. The cave's name comes from the identification of this part of the Kidron Valley as the biblical Valley of Jehoshaphat. — Map (db m63932) HM|
|Israel, Jerusalem District, Jerusalem — Ketef Hinnom|
|The Burial Caves date from the First Temple Period. Throughout many generations, they served affluent Jerusalem families as a location to bury their dead. The deceased was placed on a stone slab with a special indentation for the head. At the end of the twelve-month mourning period, the skeletal remains were transferred to a repository located beneath the stone slabs. This evokes the image of the Biblical phrase "he was gathered unto his forefathers."
The most important and most ancient of . . . — Map (db m63881) HM|
|Israel, Jerusalem District, Jerusalem — Ritual Baths and Water Conduits|
|The Restoration Project of the Second Temple period
Ritual Baths and Water Conduits
in the area south of the Temple Mount Enclosure — Map (db m63951) HM|
|Israel, Jerusalem District, Jerusalem — The Burnt Room and the House of the Bullae — Destruction and Ruin|
|"He burned the House of the Lord, the king's palace, and all the houses of Jerusalem; he burned down the house of every notable person." (II Kings 25: 9)
This residential quarter went up in flames with the rest of the city during the Babylonian during the Babylonian destruction of 586 BCE.
The floors of the houses were covered by a thick layer of ash. Beneath the heap of rubble in one room, Yigal Shiloh uncovered Babylonian and Israelite arrowheads and . . . — Map (db m63933) HM|
|Israel, Jerusalem District, Jerusalem — The House of Ahiel|
|Here Dwells Ahiel in a Four Room House
"He (David) had houses made for himself in the City of David..." (1 Chronicles15: 1)
The name 'Ahiel' appears on potsherds found among the ruins of this house. The House of Ahiel is a 'four-room house' - a typical Israelite dwelling, consisting of three parallel spaces closed off by a fourth. The roof beams were supported by pillars, part of which can be seen here. It is reasonable to assume that this was a two-story . . . — Map (db m65296) HM|
|Israel, Jerusalem District, Jerusalem — The Large Stone Structure — The Remains of King David's Palace? — מבנה האבן הגדול|
|"And Hiram king of Tyre sent messengers to David, and cedar - trees, and carpenters, and masons; and they built David a house" (II Samuel 5: 11)
Excavations in progress at this site since May 2005 conducted by Eilat Mazar, have revealed the remains of a large building, known as the Large Stone Structure. Finds uncovered in relation to the structure indicate that it was built in the early 10th century BCE during the reign of King David. In Mazar's opinion the building can . . . — Map (db m64064) HM|
|Israel, Jerusalem District, Jerusalem — The Pool of Shiloah (Siloam) — Second Temple Splendor|
|"The other events of Hezekiah's reign, and all his exploits, and all his exploits, and how he made the pool and the conduit and brought the water into the city, are recorded in the Annals of the Kings of Judah" (II Kings 20:20)
Remains from the pool that King Hezekiah built in the First temple period have yet to be found. However, in the summer of 2004 remains of a very large pool (covering an area of three dunams, or three-quarters of an acre) from the Second Temple . . . — Map (db m63905) HM|
|Israel, Jerusalem District, Jerusalem — The Royal Quarter (Area G)|
|"...the city shall be rebuilt on its mound, and the fortress in its proper place" (Jeremiah 30:18)
The inhabitants of ancient Jerusalem once built their homes on this hillside. The earliest structure unearthed here was part of an enormous Stepped Stone Structure that supported King David's Palace or the Canaanite fortress that preceded it. In the early First Temple period, stately homes and an official archive were built upon the Stepped Stone Structure. . . . — Map (db m63928) HM|
|Israel, Jerusalem District, Jerusalem — The Water System — (Warren's Shaft) — Into the Depths of the Earth Through the Ancient Water System|
|"And David said on that day: 'Whosoever smiteth the Jebusites, and getteth up to the gutter...'" (II Samuel 5:8)
We are standing at the entrance to a subterranean water system. The Gihon Spring was Jerusalem's main water source from the city's earliest days. However, the spring's location near the bottom of the eastern slope forced the city's builders to leave it outside the city walls and to create a protected passageway that led to the water source.
In . . . — Map (db m63947) HM|
|Israel, Northern District, Capharnaum — The Synagogue of Jesus|
|The Late Fourth Century A.D.
Built Upon the Remains of the
"Synagogue of Jesus" — Map (db m64091) HM|
|Israel, Northern District, Nazareth — Mount of Precipice — The Leaping Mountain|
|Rising above the southern part of the
Nazareth Mountain Mt. of Precipice (397 meters)
Look out over Nazareth, Mt. Tabor and
The Yizrael Valley at its foot.
Mt. of Precipice is also known as "The
Leaping Mountain" - according to old
tradition, Jesus jumped from this mountain
when fleeting his pursuers.
At the foot of the mountain is the "Oafzer"
cave where neolithic remains were found
(7000 - 10000 B.C) into the remains of the
Mosterian Piriod (80000 - 10000 years . . . — Map (db m65395) HM|
|Israel, Southern District (Mehoz HaDarom), Arad — Bathing in Roman Style|
|"The fittings of the interior - apartments, colonnades and baths - were of manifold variety and sumptuous ..."
Beyond the human need for cleanliness, the bathhouse also had a social function. Bathing and the associated physical activities were an important element in Roman social and cultural life, to which Herod aspired. This was where the king and his guests met, bathed and exercised. The sophisticated bathing arrangements, which are reminiscent of a dry . . . — Map (db m64079) HM|
|Israel, Southern District (Mehoz HaDarom), Arad — Columbarium Tower (dovecot)|
|Why did the king raise doves on the mountain?
There were three columbarium towers on Masada. The one in front of us was used as a dovecot in its ground floor, and as a watchtower in its upper story. In the walls of the dovecot are several hundred niches in which the doves roosted. They supplied meat for Masada's inhabitants and guests, and probably also fertilizer for agricultural crops. — Map (db m64068) HM|
|Israel, Southern District (Mehoz HaDarom), Arad — The "Casemate of the Scrolls"|
|A large and rare concentration of finds from the time of the revolt was found in a corner of the room of the wall in which we stand: inscribed sheets of papyrus, fragments of scrolls, silver shekel coins, textiles, sandals, and glass vessels and bone implements. Among the finds was the pay record of a Roman cavalryman in the Tenth Legion. The most interesting finds were the scroll fragments, some of which show that during the siege there were members of different sects on the mountain. The . . . — Map (db m64071) HM|
|Israel, Southern District (Mehoz HaDarom), Arad — The Breaching Point — נקודת הפריצה|
|Here the siege of Masada ended. The ramp that the Romans had built up to the summit of the mountain reached to below this point. At the top of the ramp rose the siege tower, and in it was the battering ram with which the Romans assaulted the casemate wall. However, the rebels had built a wall of earth and wood, against which the battering ram was ineffective:
"Observing this, Silva, thinking it easier to destroy this wall by fire, ordered his soldiers to hurl at it showers of burning . . . — Map (db m64069) HM|
|Israel, Southern District (Mehoz HaDarom), Arad — The Discovery Location of the "Lots"|
|"...then, having chosen by lot ten of their number to dispatch the rest... these, having unswervingly slaughtered all, ordained the same rule of the lot for one another, that he on whom it fell should slay first the nine nd then himself last of all."
Here several hundred inscribed pottery shards (ostraca) were found. Outstanding among them was a group consisting of names and nicknames, including the name "Ben Ya'ir." Yigael Yadin, the most distinguished of . . . — Map (db m64101) HM|
|Israel, Southern District (Mehoz HaDarom), Arad — The Rebel's Community Life|
|How to organize community life under siege?
Near the western entrance square were discovered large concentrations of inscribed pottery shards (ostraca) from the period of the revolt. They bear names, combinations of letters or single letters in Hebrew. These shards were apparently used as food-rationing coupons, as a substitute for money, or to register fighting units or the families that lived on the mountain. Both types demonstrate the community life of the rebels in Masada. It is probable . . . — Map (db m64077) HM|
|Israel, Southern District (Mehoz HaDarom), Arad — The Synagogue|
|"Long since, my brave men, we determined neither to serve the Romans nor any other save God ..."
The rebels' way of life on Masada required a building suitable for community meetings and Torah readings. This building, which became a synagogue during the revolt, was built in Herod's time, most likely as a stable.
The rebels changed its internal structure and even closed off a small room in the corner of the hall, which apparently served for storage of Torah . . . — Map (db m64076) HM|
|Israel, Southern District (Mehoz HaDarom), Arad — The Water Gate — שער המים|
|The path that climbed to Masada from the west via the cisterns terminated at this gate. Visitors to the mountain and the beasts of burden that carried water took this path to the summit of Masada. A channel starting at the gate carried to some of the cisterns on the mountain.
The stone paving of the gate was intended to prevent damage to the surface from the animals' hooves. — Map (db m64148) HM|
|New Zealand, Auckland, Auckland CBD — Lord Freyberg Statue|
|Lieutenant-General Bernard Cyril Freyberg, 1st Baron Freyberg VC, GCMG, KCB, KBE, DSO & Three Bars, was a British-born New Zealand Victoria Cross recipient and soldier who later served as the seventh Governor-General of New Zealand. — Map (db m61296) HM|
|Philippines, Cavite Province, Corregidor Island — "For the Repose of Souls" — Japanese Memorial Garden — 鎮魂|
| [Text in Japanese Kanji:]
This monument is dedicated to the souls of the Filipino, American and Japanese, soldiers whose lives were given in a battle which occurred here on May 5, 1942, when our regiment of the 4th Division landed on this island. We ardently pray for the eternal repose of their souls and everlasting peace throughout the world. May 5, 1991.
Wakayama 61st Infantry Regiment War Comrades Union, Japan. — Map (db m64111) HM WM|
|Philippines, Cavite Province, Corregidor Island — "Tribute to the Brave Heroes" — Japanese Memorial Garden|
| [Text in Japanese Kanji]
In remembrance of the 4,500 fallen comrades in arms of the Japanese defense battalion commanded by Captain Akira Tagaki, the senior commander, composed of : 0-4 Squadron Troop 330 31st Naval Special Resistance Combat Team 1st Special Infantry Battalion 17th Volunteer Naval Battalion 10th Aerial Information Regiment 32nd Field Artillery Regiment
And in tribute to the gallantry of the Filipinos, Americans, and Japanese soldiers who fought and died for a . . . — Map (db m64039) HM WM|
|Philippines, Cavite Province, Corregidor Island — 503rd Airborne- "The Rock Force" -Memorial|
| Marker panel 1 on top of monument:
”I see the old flagpole still stands. Have your troops hoist the colors to its peak, and let no enemy ever haul them down.”
These historic words were spoken by General Douglas MacArthur near the site of this memorial on 2 March 1945 after the recapture of Corregidor by the 503rd Parachute Regimental Combat Team. The “Rock Force” commander, Colonel George M. Jones in the presence of his regiment saluted and said in a clear . . . — Map (db m63695) WM|
|Philippines, Cavite Province, Corregidor Island — Corregidor — Monument to Peace, Human Valor and International Understanding|
| Corregidor derived its name from Corregimiento or “Municipal District”. About 1225 the island became a stronghold for Chinese pirates until the latter were driven by the Moros. Became Spanish possession, 1570, when Spaniards arrived in Manila from Panay. Occupied by the Dutch, 1600. Recaptured by the Spaniards as a fortification besides being used as lighthouse, dockyard, naval convalescent hospital, penal colony, and checking point for ships to have their papers corrected. . . . — Map (db m63652) HM WM|
|Philippines, Cavite Province, Corregidor Island — Corregidor Lighthouse|
| Corregidor Lighthouse is a functioning historic lighthouse located 6,972 miles west-southwest of San Francisco, 3,044 miles north-northeast of Sydney, Australia, 692 miles south of Hong Kong and 628 feet above sea level, on the topside of Corregidor Island, Philippines.
Delight in the breathtaking view of the Manila Bay, the South China Sea, Bataan and a bird’s eye-view of the island from atop the lighthouse.
The tower is 14.5 m (48 ft.) high. It consists of an octagonal whitewashed . . . — Map (db m64518) HM|
|Philippines, Cavite Province, Corregidor Island — General Jonathan M. Wainwright Memorial|
[Portrait of General Wainwright]
General Jonathan M. Wainwright
1883 to 1953
HERO OF BATAAN
Medal of Honor Citation
“General Jonathan M. Wainwright, 02131, commanding United States
Army Forces in the Philippines from 12 March to 7 May 1942.
He distinguished himself by intrepid and determined leadership against greatly
superior enemy forces. At the repeated risk of life above and beyond the call of duty
in his position he frequented . . . — Map (db m63575) WM|
|Philippines, Cavite Province, Corregidor Island — Malinta Tunnel|
| Begun in 1922 and substantially completed in 1932, the tunnel complex consisted of east-west passage measuring 836 ft. long by 24 ft. wide 13 laterals on its north side and 11 laterals on the south side. Reinforced with concrete walls. Floor and overhead arches with blowers to furnish fresh air and a double-track electric car line along the main tunnel, Malinta provided bombproof shelter for the 1000 bed hospital, MacArthur’s USAFFE headquarters, shops and vast labyrinth storehouse during the . . . — Map (db m63648) HM WM|
|Philippines, Cavite Province, Corregidor Island — Spanish Historical Marker — Corregidor Island|
| Spanish text:
La isla de Corregidor paso a formar parte de la Corona de España el 19 de Mayo de 1571, al ser ocupada por el intrépido navegante Miguel López de Legaspi, fundador de la Ciudad de Manila.
Debido a su posición estratégica, Corregidor sivió como Fortaleza protectora guardian de la Bahía de Manila durante 327 años, hasta el 2 de Mayo de 1898. Durante esos años presenció gloriosas escenas de heroism, en las que la historia de Filipinas y la de España se . . . — Map (db m64787) HM|
|Philippines, Cavite Province, Corregidor Island — To the Angels — U.S. Army Nurse Corps – U.S. Navy Nurse Corps — THE ANGELS OF BATAAN AND CORREGIDOR|
In honor of the valiant American military women who gave so much of themselves in the early days of World War II, they provided care and comfort to the gallant defenders of Bataan and Corregidor, they lived on a starvation diet, shared the bombing, strafing, sniping, sickness and disease while working endless hours of heartbreaking duty, these nurses always had a smile, a tender touch and a kind word for their patients, they truly earned the name:
THE ANGELS OF BATAAN AND CORREGIDOR . . . — Map (db m64032) HM WM|
|Philippines, Cebú Province, Cebu City — 400 Years of Continuing OAR Presence — in the Philippines and Asia — 1696 to 2006|
| Panel 1: Fray Rodrigo de San Miguel
Indistinctly known in history books as Fr. Rodrigo Aganduru (1584-1626), the intrepid missionary from Villadolid, Spain, arrived with the first Recollects in 1606. Bataan and Zambales – where he founded the towns of Bagac, Morong, Mariveles and Subic - witnessed his initial apostolic endeavors. As vicar provincial, he sent missions to Palawan and northern Mindanao and canonically erected in 1621 the convents of Cebu . . . — Map (db m64224) HM|
|Philippines, Cebú Province, Cebu City — Antonio Pigafetta — 1496 - 1535|
| Patrician of Vicenza, Italy and Knight of Malta chronicler of the Magellan expedition that first circumnavigated the globe from 1519 to 1522. He fought in Mactan and was one of the 22 survivors who returned to Spain. This tribute was erected by the Philippine-Italian Association. — Map (db m64200) HM|
|Philippines, Cebú Province, Cebu City — Fort San Pedro|
| The Fort of San Pedro, described in an official report of 1739, is triangular in shape and made of stone and mortar. The three bastions are La Concepcion, San Ignacio de Loyola, and San Miguel - Powder Magazine.
[Inscriptions in the stone above the fort’s main [west side] gateway:]
Fuerza de San Pedro, 1565
Sereformo, Año, 1833
[Coat of Arms of the Spanish monarch]
Note also, a statuette of the Santo . . . — Map (db m64435) HM|
|Philippines, Laguna, Calamba — José Rizal Monument|
| Panel 1: (Text in Tagalog/Pilipino:) José Rizal (1861-1896)
Pambansang Bayani ng Pilipinas, doctor, agrimensor, dalubwika, manunulat, makata, eskultor at pintor. Isinilang sa Calamba, Laguna, 19 Hunyo 1861. May-akda ng Noli Me Tangere (1887) at El Filibusterismo (1887), mga nobelang higit pang nagpaalab sa mga Filipino na maghimagsik laban sa Espanya. Dinakip at ipinatapon sa Dapitan, hilagang Mindanao, 6 Hulyo 1892. Nagboluntaryo bilang manggagamot ng puwersang Espanyol sa Cuba, 1896, . . . — Map (db m63619) HM|
|Philippines, Laguna, Los Baños — Pook ng Bilangguang Kampo sa Los Baños — "Los Baños Internment Camp"|
| Panel 1: Pook ng Bilangguang Kampo sa Los Baños Ginamit ng mga Hapones bilang bilangguang kampo para sa mga bihag na Amerikano at ibang banyaga noong 1943. Nilusob ng pinagsanib na pangkat ng gerilyang Filipino mula sa mga kasapi ng ROTC Hunters, Hukbalahap ika-48 iskwadron tsino. Sariling Pangkat ni Pangulong Quezon, Pangkat Marking, at iba pang di-regular na tropa noong 23 Pebrero 1945. Ang pinagsanib na puwersa ay inorganisa ni Tinyente Koronel Gustavo Ingles na kasapi ng Hunters at . . . — Map (db m63618) HM WM|
|Philippines, Manila, Ermita — In Memory of the Victims of Military Sexual Slavery during the Second World War|
|This historical marker is being offered in memory of the Filipina victims of Japanese Military sexual slavery during the Second World War.
During the Japanese occupation of the Philippines approximately 1,000 women became victims of military sexual slavery by the Japanese imperial army.
All over the country, in these "Comfort Stations" or sites were the institutional and organized rape and abuse of women by the Japanese military were committed.
Through this historical marker. A . . . — Map (db m62969) HM|
|Philippines, Metro Manila, Binondo — Filipino-Chinese World War II Martyrs Memorial|
| Marker Panels 1 and 2: on the north face of the memorial's base with text in Chinese and English [portions illegible] - listed units include: “Phil-Chinese Volunteer Corps”, “Anti-Jap[anese] & Puppets,"
"... Grand League, Squadrons", etc. Marker Panel 3: This memorial was erected on June 12, 1995 by Confederation of Filipino Chinese Veterans in remembering and honoring the anti-Japanese heroes who died in defense of our country during the Second World War . . . — Map (db m64666) WM|
|Philippines, Metro Manila, Binondo — Our Lady of the Most Holy Rosary Parish Church — Pilipino Parish — Plaza San Lorenzo Ruiz, Binondo, Manila|
| His Eminence, Jaime Cardinal Sin. D.D. Archbishop of Manila commissioned Very Rev. Msgr. Federico V. Navarro to start the restoration and reconstruction of this church on January 1977, which was finished in January 1984.
In May 9, 1985, the Cardinal blessed this church together with the new 3 story concrete parish center building and convent at the back of this church at Ongpin Street.
The restoration of this grand and beautiful antique church was made possible through the courage and . . . — Map (db m64588) HM|
|Philippines, Metro Manila, Binondo — The New Plaza San Lorenzo Ruiz|
| The new Plaza San Lorenzo Ruiz was formerly known as Plaza Calderon de la Barca, a noted Spanish playwright. In 1981 it was renamed after the first Filipino saint, Lorenzo Ruiz, where his statue stands, in honor of this Binondo native who was executed on September 27, 1637 for refusing to renounce his Catholic faith.
The plaza also includes the monument of Joaquin Santa Marina who founded the La Insular Cigar and Cigarette factory in 1863. In 1979, the monument of the . . . — Map (db m64771) HM|
|Republic of the Philippines, Cebú Province, Cebu City — The Cross of Magellan — Santo Niño de Cebú — Sinulog|
| Panel 1:
From time immemorial this spot has been set aside to commemorate the erection of a Cross in Cebu by the expedition of Magellan. When King Humabon of Cebu and his Queen, son and daughters, together with some 800 of their subjects were baptized by Father Pedro Valderrama. This hallowed site was improved in 1735 by Rev. Juan Albarran. Prior of San Agustin and in 1834 by Rt. Rev. Santos Gomez Maroñon, Bishop of Cebu. The image of the Santo Niño found by the expedition of Legaspi . . . — Map (db m63964) HM|
|South Africa, Eastern Cape, Grahamstown — Andrew Geddes Bain, Road Builder and Geologist — 1797 - 1864|
|Bain built the queen's road to Fort Beaufort via the Ecca Pass and the road through Pluto's Vale as military roads in 1837-45. His house was then near here on the Ecca Heights. He became interested in Geology in 1837 during the construction of the Queen's Road and in the area visible from this spot he worked out the stratigraphy of the Karoo System, and discovered that fossil reptiles occur in it. Bain was the father of South African Geology. — Map (db m62618) HM|
|South Africa, Eastern Cape, Grahamstown — Drostdy Gateway|
|Built about 1842 as the main entrance to the military establishment. — Map (db m62648) HM|
|South Africa, Eastern Cape, Grahamstown — Schönland Building|
|Originally a military hospital, this building was used for the sitting of the house of assembly when the Cape parliament met in Grahamstown in 1864. — Map (db m62646) HM|
|South Africa, Eastern Cape, Grahamstown — The Bible|
|In this vicinity - at that time an outspan - in April 1837, Thomas Philipps, J. P. on behalf of the British Settlers of 1820 presented a bible to a party of Voortrekkers led by Jacobus Uys encamped here on their way to the North.|
The bible was taken out to the encampment by a deputation of gentlemen accompanied by about 100 of the inhabitants of Grahamstown who were received with much respect by the assembled farmers and their families in front of their wagons. William Rowland Thompson . . . — Map (db m62619) HM
|South Africa, Eastern Cape, Grahamstown — The Old Provost|
|Constructed as a military prison in 1838. — Map (db m62647) HM|
|South Africa, Eastern Cape, Grahamstown — The Yellow House|
|The erection of this building - the oldest in this town, was commenced in 1813 or 1814. It served as a gaol until 1824. Later it became the Grahamstown Public School, and subsequently the first public library (1842 - 1863). The north wall was taken as the line of the High Street when the town was laid out in 1814. — Map (db m62649) HM|
|South Africa, Western Cape, Aurora — B.S 1838 — Arc of the Meridian|
|This is the site of the Maclear beacon positioned in 1838 Near the original North terminal of the Arc of Meridian positioned by Abbe de la Caille, the first surveyor to introduce Geodetic Surveying into South Africa. — Map (db m63632) HM|
|U.S Virgin Islands, St Croix, Christansted — Danish Customs House|
|This building was the third stop in the local chain of commerce. After conducting business at the Scales and Guinea Company Warehouse, merchants and planters paid import and export taxes to Danish customs officials here in the ground-floor offices.|
The Customs House is linked in other ways to the historic structures. Most have been neoclassical architecture modified for the tropics. Note the louvered windows to regulate light and air flow, the outer shutters, for hurricane protection and . . . — Map (db m60709) HM
|U.S Virgin Islands, St Croix, Christansted — Steeple Building|
|This building was the first Danish Lutheran church on the island—one of the few government buildings not directly involved in international trade. From 1754 to 1831 the Steeple Building was the embodiment of the Danish state religion. All government administrators as well as the fort’s garrison were required to worship there. Official proclamations, such as the abolition of the Danish slave trade, were read from the pulpit.|
Like the Scale House and Guinea Company Warehouse, the . . . — Map (db m60711) HM
|U.S Virgin Islands, St Croix, Christiansted — 12 King Street|
|Two story, masonry, residence and shop, with 4 arcades on lower floor and gingerbread trim on second story balcony. Studio of photographer Alex Ovesen and birthplace of Evelyn Richardson. Owners include Samuel Wescott’s children 1864-1950, Wenona de Castro 1950-1979.|
Placed by St. Croix Historic Preservation Committee 2007 — Map (db m60817) HM
|U.S Virgin Islands, St Croix, Christiansted — Christiansted Wharf — 1830s-1850s|
|Along the wharf you would have heard the creaking of rigging and pulleys as ships unloaded foodstuffs, plantation supplies, and building materials. The scent of sugar and molasses sweetened the air. Down the street plodded oxen, snorting with effort, as they delivered cartloads of rum barrels.|
This was the music of international commerce. Sailors from Denmark, Great Britain, France, and the United States contributed to the blend of languages. Above the clipped Danish of customs officials . . . — Map (db m60815) HM
|U.S Virgin Islands, St Croix, Christiansted — Fort Christiansvaern|
|This fort played a vital role in Christiansted’s international trade. Built at harbor’s edge to protect commercial shipping from pirates and privateers, the fort embodied colonists’ fears as well as economic strength. Here were quartered Danish troops whose primary duty was internal security…to safeguard the island against slave insurrections.|
Completed in 1749, the fort was named Christiansvaern (“Christian’s Defense”) in honor of King Christian VI of Denmark-Norway. This . . . — Map (db m60707) HM
|U.S Virgin Islands, St Croix, Christiansted — Millennium Monument — United States Virgin Islands — January 1, 2000|
|Since the dawn of consciousness, time has been measured by the movement of the sun. This marker, in the year 2000, is a continuum between all who have come before and all who are yet to come. The design concept starts with the Roman numeral “M”= 1000, “MM”=2000. The stone piers represent the abstraction of the two “M”s crossing at 90 degrees to each other. The alignment of the shadow pole and marker pin designates the azimuth of the sun on January 1, 2000. . . . — Map (db m60837) HM|
|U.S Virgin Islands, St Croix, Christiansted — Native American Village and Ceremonial Site — Columbus Landing Site — National Historic Landmark|
|This site marks the only point on the United States Territory where members of the crew of Christopher Columbus came ashore on his second voyage to the New World in November 1493. It also relates to the first recorded altercation between Europeans and the native people of the western hemisphere, at a point on the other side of the bay, known as “Cape of Arrows”. The site on which you stand was a Native American village and ceremonial site, and includes the site of the only known . . . — Map (db m60782) HM|
|U.S Virgin Islands, St Croix, Christiansted — The Jacob Lindberg House — 1768|
|Known later as the Larsen House is a certified historic structure listed in the National Register of Historic Places. — Map (db m60816) HM|
|U.S Virgin Islands, St Croix, Frederiksted — Fort Frederik — National Historic Landmark|
|This site possesses national significance in commemorating the history of the United States of America — Map (db m60871) HM|
|U.S Virgin Islands, St Croix, Frederiksted — Oscar E. Henry Customs House|
|Eighteenth Century Danish Customs House with nineteenth century addition of the 2nd story gallery. Owner is V.I. Government. Little Altered and in good condition.
Placed by St. Croix Historic Preservation Commission
2006 — Map (db m60873) HM|
|U.S Virgin Islands, St John, Cruz Bay — Establishment of Virgin Islands National Park — A Grassroots Contribution|
|The Virgin Islands government had proposed a territorial park for the Reef Bay region of St. John as early as 1937. This led to feasibility studies by the U.S. Department of the Interior to determine if the resources of St. John warranted the inclusion of the island in the National Park system. After World War II, both a National Recreation Area and National Park were considered.|
While Laurance Rockefeller provided the necessary funding for the purchase of the land that would eventually . . . — Map (db m60712) HM
|U.S Virgin Islands, St John, Cruz Bay — Laurance Rockefeller — Philanthropist|
|In 1956 Laurance S. Rockefeller, financier and conservationist, donated over 5,000 acres through the Jackson Hole Preserve for the establishment of Virgin Islands National Park. While sailing the Caribbean in 1952, he became enchanted with the people and the unspoiled beauty of St. John. The unique natural, cultural and historic resources of the park are protected in perpetuity, thanks to his vision and generosity. — Map (db m60713) HM|
|U.S Virgin Islands, St John, Cruz Bay — Philanthropy in the National Park Service|
|Private philanthropy has a long history and important role in the development of America’s National Park system.|
Charitable donations by the Rockefeller family, notably by Laurance S. Rockefeller, helped to establish, enlarge or improve national parks across the United States. From Maine to Hawaii and Alaska to the Virgin Islands, over two dozen national park sites, including Acadia, Great Smokies, Grand Teton and Yosemite have benefited from his generosity and conservation ethic.
The . . . — Map (db m60716) HM
|District of Columbia, Downtown — Alexander Robey Shepherd|
| Governor, Territory of the District of Columbia (1873-1874) born Washington, D.C. January 31, 1835 died Batopilas, Mexico, September 12, 1902
buried Rock Creek Cemetery, Washington, D.C. Civil War Union veteran, entrepreneur, civil leader advanced L'Enfant's plan through public works Introduced modern silver mining in Mexico statue dedicated 1909, removed 1979, returned 2005 Plaque placed by The Association of Oldest Inhabitants of the District of Columbia — Map (db m65158) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — 1017 - 1021 East Baltimore Street|
|This structure,built around 1808, was home to the Colvin family for several generations. In 1874 it served temporarily as the Hebrew Orphan Asylum, whose original building had burned. The Presbyterian Eye, Ear and Throat Charity Hospital opened here in 1877 and remained for more than a century, gradually acquiring adjoining properties. The building's facade dates from 1884, when the hospital was renovated and enlarged. A rear wing was added in 1898.
The 65-bed hospital served "all poor . . . — Map (db m61897) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — A Pivotal Battle|
|British ships launched an attack on Fort McHenry early on September 13, 1814. The fort defended the water approach to the city of Baltimore. The future of the city and possibly the United States depended on the outcome. After the American defeat at Bladensburg, and the British capture and partial burning of Washington, D.C. a loss here would be devastating.
Francis Scott Key witnessed the 25-hour bombardment. At "dawn's early light" on September 14th, the shelling stopped; the British . . . — Map (db m61551) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — A Star Spangled Centennial|
|The Francis Scott Key Tablet above was dedicated as part of the National Star Spangled Banner Centennial celebration in 1914. Designed by Hans Schuler, the bronze shield depicts and American flag and myrtle (symbolic of love and immortality) surrounding a portrait of Francis Scott Key.|
The city of Baltimore adopted Schuler's design as the official logo of the centennial celebration. This Week-long commemoration boasted visiting warships, regatta races, parades, fireworks, a general . . . — Map (db m60400) HM
|Maryland, Baltimore — Army "Sailors," Navy "Soldiers" — "Not a man shrunk from conflict" Major George Armistead, Commander Fort McHenry September 1814|
|The defenders who manned the heavy cannons in front of you represented a unique combination of soldiers and sailors. One unit, the U.S. Sea Fencibles, included civilian sailors. Wearing the clothing of their trade, they were issued muskets, drilled as soldiers and considered part of the U.S. Army.
The United States Chesapeake Flotilla served as part of the U.S. Navy. Most of these men were sailors and included free African-Americans. During the summer of 1814 they fought several . . . — Map (db m61147) WM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Baltimore & Ohio Railroad — The Mount Clare Shops|
|You are standing on the site of the Baltimore and Ohio Railroad’s Mount Clare Shops, a large industrial complex critical to maintaining every aspect of the railroad’s daily operations. Because of their strategic importance, the shops were among the first sites in Baltimore that the U.S. Army secured when the Civil War began. From this heavily guarded location the B&O supported the Northern war effort. Thousands of troops, tons of supplies and munitions, and material essential to rebuild damaged . . . — Map (db m60965) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Baltimore Public Works Museum|
|Completed in 1912, the majestic Eastern Avenue Pumping Station was the architectural crown jewel in the City of Baltimore’s ambitious plan to provide its citizens with a service largely taken for granted today, a sanitary sewage system.|
Designed by architect Henry Brauns and Chief Engineer Calvin Hendricks, the Station’s grand exterior incorporates a mansard slate roof, classical pediment and ornamental copper turrets that convey the sense of civic pride the people of Baltimore associated . . . — Map (db m60939) HM
|Maryland, Baltimore — Captain John O'Donnell — 1749-1805|
|Captain John O’Donnell, the founder of the Canton Community, was a man of great vision and accomplishment. He initiated trade between Canton, China and Baltimore in 1785 operating his own merchant sailing vessels. This public square once the site of the Canton Market is dedicated in his honor.
— Map (db m62256) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Confederate Women of Maryland|
|To the Confederate Women of Maryland
The Brave at Home In difficulty and danger regardless of self they fed the hungry, clothed the needy, nursed the wounded and comforted the dying. — Map (db m62307) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Exodus 1947: "The ship That Launched a Nation"|
|Near this spot, the Baltimore steamer President Warfield began her epic voyage into history. Built in 1928 as the flagship of the Old Bay Line, she ran nightly cruises between Baltimore and Norfolk. In 1943 she was given to Britain under the wartime lend-lease program, but joined the U.S. Navy in 1944 as a harbor control vessel off Omaha Beach after the D-day landings.
Purchased as war surplus in 1946, she was outfitted in Baltimore as part of a secret fleet to transport Holocaust survivors . . . — Map (db m59809) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Ferdinand Clairborne Latrobe|
Seven Times Mayor of Baltimore
In grateful acknowledgment of his eminent services the City has erected this monument
AD 1914 — Map (db m60936) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Garrett Jacobs Mansion — 7, 9 & 11 West Mount Vernon Place|
|The Garrett Jacobs Mansion is an architectural treasure that provides an historic window to Baltimore’s 19th century elegance. The mansion combines the work of two of America’s most distinguished architects: Stanford White and John Russell Pope. The Garrett-Jacobs Mansion comprises three original houses, measuring 39,200 square feet, and containing approximately 40 rooms, 100 windows and 16 fireplaces.|
Both White and Pope first came to Baltimore to work on the Mansion. White went on to . . . — Map (db m62424) HM
|Maryland, Baltimore — General Casimir Pulaski|
|Casimir Pulaski (Kazimierz Pulaski) was born in the late 1740’s in Warsaw, Poland. In his native country he fought against Imperial Russia, winning fame and respect for his brilliant and daring attacks on the Russian forces attacking his country.|
With recommendations from Benjamin Franklin and the Marquis de Lafayette, in 1777 Pulaski joined the American War for Independence. On September 15, 1777, he was commissioned a Brigadier General and made “Commander of the Horse.” He is . . . — Map (db m60996) HM
|Maryland, Baltimore — Gloria Victis|
|Gloria Victis-To the Soldiers and Sailors of Maryland in the service of the Confederate States of America. 1861-1865 (The front of the base of the monument) — Map (db m62306) WM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Great Railroad Strike of 1877|
|The first national strike began July 16, 1877, with Baltimore and Ohio Railroad workers in Martinsburg, West Virginia, and Baltimore Maryland. It spread across the nation halting rail traffic and closing factories in reaction to widespread worker discontent over wage cuts and conditions during a national depression. Broken by Federal troops in early August, the strike energized the labor movement and was precursor to labor unrest in the 1880s and 1890s. — Map (db m63862) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Green Mount Cemetery|
|Green Mount Cemetery was dedicated in 1839 on the site of the former country estate of Robert Oliver. This was the beginning of the “rural cemetery movement”; Green Mount was Baltimore’s first such rural cemetery and one of the first in the U.S. The movement began both as a response to the health hazard posed by overcrowded church graveyards, and as a part of the large Romantic movement of the mid-1800’s which glorified nature and appealed to emotions. By combining the natural . . . — Map (db m62629) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Gwynns Falls Trail — Middle Branch Park at Waterview Avenue|
|The Gwynns Falls Trail at Middle Branch Park is a splendid place to do some birdwatching, learn to row, try your luck fishing, and relax while enjoying views of the city’s skyline and harbor activities. To the north, under I-95, the Gwynns Falls for which the trail is named flows into the Middle Branch of the Patapsco River and eventually to the Chesapeake Bay. The Middle Branch is a stopover for birds migrating on the Atlantic Flyway, so spend some time on the wildlife observatory boardwalks . . . — Map (db m65304) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Heritage Walk — Discover The Jones Falls — Powering America's Industrial Revolution|
|Baltimore’s industry and trade grew concurrently, a partnership that fueled the city’s tremendous 18th and 19th century growth. You are standing at the mouth of the Jones Falls, a river that flows through Baltimore into the Inner Harbor’s Patapsco River, which in turn flows into the Chesapeake Bay. The Jones Falls provided cheap, reliable energy---waterpower—to Baltimore’s burgeoning industry. The first merchant flour mill was constructed upstream in 1711, and by 1800, the river powered . . . — Map (db m60944) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — In Full Glory Reflected|
|9:00 a.m., September 14, 1814
The bombardment has ended; the battle is over. As the rain clouds pass and the rays of the sun shine on the fort, the garrison, tired and relieved, stands upon the parade ground. All eyes stare at the large 30 x 42-foot American flag. Carefully kept dry throughout the stormy night, it is now hoisted as a special act of defiance and symbol of perseverance.|
Seeing this flag from miles away inspires Francis Scott Key to write "The Star Spangled . . . — Map (db m60567) HM
|Maryland, Baltimore — Joseph Gans — Mount Auburn Cemetery|
|Joseph, Nov. 25, 1874-Aug. 10, 1910. World’s Lightweight Champion 1902-1904 1906-1908-Inducted into IBHOF 1990
(Bronze plaque at bottom of the marker) Grave site restored 2005-Veteran Boxers Association, Inc. International Ring 101-Baltimore, Maryland — Map (db m65295) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — King Gambrinus, 1879|
|King Gambrinus originally stood in a niche above the door at John Frederick Wiessner and Sons’ Baltimore brewery. It is the earliest surviving zinc sculpture of this popular icon of the brewing industry in the United States.|
In the second half of the 19th century most of the immigrants coming to Baltimore on the new steamship lines were German-speaking. This German-American community supported several German-language newspapers, joined German clubs, held masquerade balls, picnics, sporting . . . — Map (db m60959) HM
|Maryland, Baltimore — Lee and Jackson Memorial|
|The parting of General Lee and Stonewall Jackson on the eve of Chancellorsville.
They were great Generals and Christian Soldiers and waged war like gentlemen. — Map (db m62314) WM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — M551A1 Sheridan AR/AAV|
|Armored Reconnaissance/Airborne Assault Vehicle-Turret Armament 152mm Gun/Launcher-M-219 7.62 cal. Machine Gun (Coaxially Mounted)-M-2 .50 Cal. Machine Gun-M-176 Grenade Launchers (8)-Weight 36,000 lbs. Combat Loaded-Cruising Range 373 miles, Maximum Speed 43 mph-Amphibious-Air Dropable-Crew (4) Driver, Loader, Gunner, Tank Commander. — Map (db m65324) HM WM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Maryland Vietnam Veterans Memorial|
| (Panel on the left) This Memorial honors the men and women of the State of Maryland who served in the Armed Forces of our nation in the Vietnam War, with special tribute to those who lost their lives or who remain missing in action. Their names are joined in this place in everlasting remembrance.
(Panel on the right) Marylanders, while in this place, pause to recall our nation’s ideals, its promise, its abundance, and our continuing responsibilities toward the shared fulfillment of our . . . — Map (db m65317) WM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Mount Clare — Freedom Seekers at Georgia Plantation — National Underground Railroad-Network to Freedom|
|In 1760, Mount Clare was built as the summer home of Charles Carroll, Barrister. Mount Clare was the center of Georgia, Charles Carroll’s 800-acre Patapsco River Plantation. The estate supported grain fields and grist mills along the Gwynn’s Falls, an orchard and vineyard, racing stables, brick kilns, and a shipyard on the Middle Branch of the Patapsco River.|
When it first went into operation, the Baltimore Iron Works had a labor force of eighty-nine individuals. . . . — Map (db m61209) HM
|Maryland, Baltimore — Mount Vernon Cultural Walk-Celebrating Culture — The Heart of the City|
|Mount Vernon Place celebrates Baltimore’s rich cultural heritage, offering an extraordinary array of historic architecture, monuments, sculpture and cultural Institutions. The Washington Monument set the stage for this area in 1829, becoming the first public monument to Washington in the United States. Designed by Robert Mills ((1781-1855), it memorializes Washington resigning his commission as commander of the Continental Army. Built in 1815 and 1829, the 178-foot monument has become an icon . . . — Map (db m62437) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Mount Vernon Cultural Walk-Contributing to Society — Baltimore's Best Address|
|In the mansions surrounding the Mount Vernon squares, prominent Baltimoreans made major political, artistic and cultural contributions to the world. One such person was John Pendleton Kennedy (1795-1870), who lived on the site of the Peabody Institute in the 1830s and 1840s. He, along with James Fenimore Cooper and Washington Irving, helped to create and define American literature. He was also a U.S. Congressman, the Secretary of the Navy, a patron of Edgar Allan Poe, and a donor of land for . . . — Map (db m62443) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — O'er the Ramparts We Watch! — Which Flag Flies Today?|
|The forts walls are called ramparts. An American flag flies over Fort McHenry twenty four hours a day by Presidential Proclamation.
The size of the flag varies. On clear days with the right amount of wind, a full-size replica of the Star-Spangled Banner measuring 30 X 42 feet with fifteen stars and stripes waves. The fort also flies smaller versions of this flag. On rainy days and at night, a small, modern 50-star American flag is flown.
In 1948, a proclamation . . . — Map (db m61434) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — On To Yorktown — Washington-Rochambeau Revolutionary Route — National Historic Trail|
|Our nation never had more at risk than it did in September 1781. The American Revolutionary War—the War for independence—had raged for nearly six years.
More than 4,000 American and French troops, allied in their fight against the British, had marched from New York and inundated Baltimore for four days before advancing toward Yorktown, Virginia. At that time, Baltimore was a city of less than 10,000 residents.
One regiment, the Soissonnais of French forces, was encamped at this . . . — Map (db m60958) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — On to Yorktown — Washington-Rochambeau Revolutionary Route National Historic Trail|
|Our nation never had more at risk than it did in September 1781. The American Revolutionary War—the War for Independence—had raged for nearly six years.
More than 4,000 American and French troops, allied in their fight against the British, had marched from New York and inundated Baltimore for four days before advancing toward Yorktown, Virginia. At that time, Baltimore was a city of less than 10,000 residents.
One regiment, the Soissonnais of French forces, was encamped at this . . . — Map (db m63885) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Orianda House|
|Orianda House, built in 1857 at a cost of $9,170.69, was designed by Niernsee and Neilson, architects. This country mansion was the summer home of Thomas de Kay Winans, a wealthy railroad entrepreneur, and his Russian-born wife, Celeste Louise Revillon. Thomas, son of Baltimore & Ohio Railroad industrialist Ross Winans, purchased several farms to create the Crimea estate. Tenants raised cattle, wheat, corn, and other crops and maintained Winans’ greenhouse and horse racetrack. The Chesapeake . . . — Map (db m61050) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Orpheus... Hero of Music and Poetry|
|In 1916 the Fine Arts Commission sponsored a national competition for a statue to honor Francis Scott Key and the defenders who protected Baltimore during the War of 1812. It chose "Orpheus" by Charles Niehaus.|
America's involvement in World War I delayed the completion of the statue. Dedicated on Flag Day, June 14, 1922, and originally placed in the middle of the entrance road, it was moved to its current location in 1962.
Orpheus and the surrounding grove of Flowering crabapple . . . — Map (db m60452) HM
|Maryland, Baltimore — Patterson Park — Civil War Camp and Hospital|
|During the Civil War Patterson Park served as a U.S. Army camp, one of several established as part of the Federal occupation of Baltimore. In 1861 the 10th Maine Infantry Regiment occupied Camp Washburn (named for Maine Gov. Israel Washburn) in the southern part of the park. Soon the camp was expanded and renamed Camp Patterson. In 1862, U.S. Army General Hospital Patterson Park was established here as Baltimore became a hospital town, with similar facilities filling other city parks and open . . . — Map (db m61888) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Platt and Company Oyster Packers — Baltimore Museum of Industry|
|Founded Baltimore 1849, original structure built 1865-Present home of Baltimore Museum of Industry founded 1981 William Donald Schaefer, Mayor; Harriet G. Bank, Chairman; Dennis M. Zembala, Executive Director; Ann E. Steele, Curator — Map (db m62931) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — President Street Station — Erected 1842 A.D.|
| Here on April 19, 1861 at 11 A.M. the Sixth Regiment of Massachusetts Infantry commanded by Colonel Edward F. Jones, detrained on its way to the relief of Washington City. The first nine cars were safely drawn to the Camden Street Station of the B&O Railroad.|
Due to failure of the brakes of the tenth car; and the growing unrest of the citizens of the area, it was decided to march the remaining companies to the Camden Station. Captain A. S. Follansbee assumed command of this column. The . . . — Map (db m60937) HM
|Maryland, Baltimore — Salvation Army|
|The Salvation Army-“While women weep, as they do now, I’ll fight. While men go to prison, in and out, in and out, as they do now, I’ll fight. While there is a drunkard left, while there remains one dark soul, without the light of God, I’ll fight. I’ll fight to the very end.” –General William Booth, Founder, The Salvation Army.
On this Spot the Salvation Army Commenced its work in Baltimore October 17, 1880 — Map (db m62434) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Seven-Foot Knoll Lighthouse|
|Seven-foot knoll lighthouse was the second screwpile structure to be built by the U.S. Lighthouse Service. It was originally located 15 miles southeast of this location. The 42 foot high round screwpile lighthouse was completed by the Baltimore "ironfounders" firm of Murray and Hazelhurst in 1856 at a cost of more than $30,000. It was constructed of rolled-iron plates, drilled and riveted together and supported on nine cast-iron screwpiles. The screwpiles eliminated the need for an underwater . . . — Map (db m64732) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — St. Leo The Great Church — 1881|
|Has been placed on the National Register of Historic Places by the United States Department of the Interior — Map (db m60982) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — The Chesapeake Campaign & The War of 1812 — Fell's Point National Register Historic District and Ft. McHenry National Monument|
|A “nest of pirates”—that’s what the British admiralty once dubbed Baltimore’s historic Fell’s Point, then one of the most important shipbuilding centers in the nation and the home port of courageous privateers who sailed speed Chesapeake Bay pilot boat schooners, to assure American freedom on the seas.|
Privateers had government licenses called “Letters of Marque and Reprisal,” authorizing the capture of enemy merchant ships as “prizes” for their . . . — Map (db m61039) HM
|Maryland, Baltimore — The Chessie's Famous "Big Mike" — C&O NO. 2705 — Built by American Locomotive Co., 1943-C&O Class K-4, 2-8-4 type|
|“Steam’s finest hour” was one railroad writer’s summation of the superb locomotives built on the eve of the diesel era---and this sophisticated brute was one of the reasons why. An excellent example of “superpower” design, it was capable of turning out high horsepower at sustained speed without running out of steam. Big but flexible, No. 2705 and 89 identical C&O 2-8-4 locomotives were equally comfortable with coal drags, merchandisers, and main line passenger . . . — Map (db m60966) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — The Guns that Won the Battle|
|The gun deck in front of you is a partial representation of the forts 1814 Water Battery. Made up of 26 cannons in two tiers, the Water Battery comprised the fort's primary means of defense.|
The Cannons that stood here fired shot weighing 18 and 36 pounds almost a mile and a half. Heated cannonballs known as "hot shot" proved especially devastating to wooden ships.
During most of the battle the British kept their distance to avoid the return fire of the fort.As a result, most of . . . — Map (db m60411) HM
|Maryland, Baltimore — The Star-Spangled Banner Centennial Monument|
|To Commemorate the
Centennial of the Writing of
the "Star Spangled Banner,"
the Pupils of the Public
Schools of Baltimore
have erected this Memorial
upon Hampstead Hill *
where, in September, 1814
the Citizen Soldiers
of Maryland stood ready
to Sacrifice their Lives
in Defense of their Homes
and their Country. - 1914 - — Map (db m61891) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — This Cannon Marks Rodgers Bastion — 1814-1914|
|This cannon marks Rodgers Bastion which formed part of a chain of fortifications extending from the river front to and beyond the site of the present Johns Hopkins Hospital, manned in part by an auxiliary naval force, under immediate command of Commodore John Rodgers. These, with other troops, amounting in all to some 12000 men, with 100 guns were under General Samuel Smith, Commander-in-Chief of all forces in the field. — Map (db m61887) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Weiskittel Mausoleum|
|The Weiskettel Mausoleum has been placed on the National Register of Historic Places by the United States Department of the Interior. — Map (db m61045) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Working Point — By David Hess — 1997|
|A “Working Point” is a point designated on an architectural construction drawing that is used as a reference for measurements and calculations. This sculpture is composed of 90 tons of obsolete machinery and equipment from a number of Baltimore’s industries, donated to create something new from pieces of the past. In grateful recognition to the Municipal Art Society of Baltimore City which provided funding and the Whiting-Turner Contracting Company, the Cambridge Iron and Metal . . . — Map (db m62932) HM|
|Maryland, Baltimore — Wrestling in Maryland|
|Wrestling was a popular sport in Maryland in the early 20th century. Baltimore was the base for nationally known professionals Gus “Americus” Schoenlein, Frank “Shad” Link, Frank Lynch, Harry Scroggs, “Kid” Taylor and Anthony “Columbus” Wallnoefer, the sports superstars of their day. Wrestlers from Maryland and around the world held multiple professional, semi-pro and amateur matches weekly in athletic clubs, gyms and theaters around the city. — Map (db m60957) HM|
|New York, Irondequoit — Irondequoit Bay — Historic New York|
|From Irondequoit Bay, Indian trails led southward to Seneca villages and on to the Ohio country. LaSalle abd French missionaries arrived in 1669. In 1687, Marquis de Denonville, governor of New France, landed with soldiers and Indian allies to subdue the Iroquois. The expedition devastated Seneca villages but had no permanent effect. The French in 1717 established Fort des Sables, and in 1721 the English built Fort Schuyler to keep watch over their rivals. During the French and Indian War and . . . — Map (db m65238) HM|
|New York, Queens — Fort Totten Park — 59.5 acres|
|History This park takes its name from the Civil War era fortress on the property. Originally referred to by its location on Willets Point, the Army officially named it for General Joseph Totten (1788-1864), following his demise in the Battle of the Wilderness, in Virginia. Although Robert E. Lee, it is believed, prepared the fort’s plans in 1857, construction did not begin until 1862. Built at the mouth of the Long Island Sound, across from its counterpart Fort Schuyler, the . . . — Map (db m65125) HM|
|New York, Queens — Fort Totten Park — 59.5 acres|
|History This park takes its name from the Civil War era fortress on the property. Originally referred to by its location on Willets Point, the Army officially named it for General Joseph Totten (1788-1864), following his demise in the Battle of the Wilderness, in Virginia. Although Robert E. Lee, it is believed, prepared the fort’s plans in 1857, construction did not begin until 1862. Built at the mouth of the Long Island Sound, across from its counterpart Fort Schuyler, the . . . — Map (db m65126) HM|
|New York, Queens — Main Magazine of Fort Totten|
| Within the northeast corner of the Fort Totten Water Battery lies the “Main Magazine”. The Main Magazine consists of three vaulted rooms. The two larger rooms, numbers two and three, were used to store gun powder, while room number one was used to fill packets for cannons. Construction for the foundation of the Main Magazine began 1868 and was completed in 1873. Upon completion, the Main Magazine was covered with earth. The Main Magazine is constructed of re-enforced concrete and . . . — Map (db m65129) HM|
|North Carolina, Goldsboro — F-59 — Seymour Johnson Air Force Base|
| Field used, 1942-46, for
flight training by Army
Air Forces; reopened in
1956. Named for Seymour Johnson, naval aviator
and Goldsboro native. — Map (db m65448) HM|
|Pennsylvania, Pittsburgh — Calvary United Methodist Church|
Calvary United Methodist Church
Vrydaugh & Shepherd and T.B. Wolfe, Architects — Map (db m65165) HM|
|Pennsylvania, Pittsburgh — Pittsburgh's Grand Hall at the Priory — (Formerly St. Mary's German Catholic Church)|
Pittsburgh's Grand Hall at the Priory
(formerly St. Mary's German Catholic Church)
Father John Stibiel, designer; Sidney F. Heckert, architect for vestibule 1854; vestibule 1906 — Map (db m65227) HM|
|Virginia, Alexandria — A Tale of Three Jurisdictions|
|Did you know that you traverse the District of Columbia, Maryland, and Virginia when you cross this bridge? The brass lines in the walkway mark the boundaries. They also commemorate the cooperation required to build this bridge.
Follow the numbers to find out how this intersection came to be...
1. Virginia was the first colony.
The first British land grant in the new world was extended by the King to the Virginia Company of London, a collection of court favorites that had . . . — Map (db m60241) HM|
|Virginia, Alexandria — D.C.'s First Building Block — Jones Point Park|
|In 1791, surveyors on Jones Point began to lay out the ten-mile square that would become Washington, D.C. The first marker for the survey—the south cornerstone—was set in place on this spot. Although the stone within this protective enclosure may be a replacement dating from 1794, it is nonetheless among the oldest existing physical monuments associated with the federal city of Washington, D.C.
With water levels steadily rising, the cornerstone on Jones Point . . . — Map (db m60162) HM|
|Virginia, Alexandria — First Original Federal Boundary Stone — District of Columbia|
|Placed April 15, 1791. Protected by Mount Vernon Chapter, Daughters of the American Revolution, April 30, 1926. — Map (db m60178) HM|
|Virginia, Alexandria — E-109 — Freedmen’s Cemetery|
|Federal authorities established a cemetery here for newly freed African Americans during the Civil War. In January 1864, the military governor of Alexandria confiscated for use as a burying ground an abandoned pasture from a family with Confederate sympathies. About 1,700 freed people, including infants and black Union soldiers, were interred here before the last recorded burial in January 1869. Most of the deceased had resided in what was known as Old Town and in nearby rural settlements. . . . — Map (db m59519) HM|
|Virginia, Alexandria — Mistress Margaret Brent — (c1601–c1671)|
|On September 6, 1654, this site was included in a patent of 700 acres granted by the Colony of Virginia to Mistress Margaret Brent (c1601–c1671). An extraordinary woman, she spent most of her adult life fighting discrimination of her sex, she was the first private owner of the rectangular tract of land on the Potomac River above Hunting Creek that became the nucleus of Alexandria. — Map (db m62020) HM|
|Virginia, Alexandria — Mountains of Materials and Massive Manpower — Fighting World War I|
|The concrete foundations you see here were part of a craneway servicing two shipways and launch sites -- elements of an enormous World War I-era shipyard. To speed delivery of cargo ships needed for the war effort, the Virginia Shipbuilding Corporation hired thousands of workers and ordered tens of thousands of tons of steel. The yard's 7,000 workers and support staff used mass production techniques developed by the auto industry to move materials and speed assembly of simple, pre-fabricated . . . — Map (db m62323) HM|
|Virginia, Alexandria — Prehistory to Colonial Settlement|
|Jones Point was once a wooded wilderness, ringed by marshes and periodically cut off from the mainland during high tide. American Indians made use of both woodland and wetland for food, tools and supplies. By the 17th century, Europeans had displaced the native peoples, felled the trees and planted row upon row of tobacco.
Attracted to the seasonal resources of the river, woods and marsh made available by the warming climates that followed the last Ice Age, a small group of native peoples . . . — Map (db m62028) HM|
|Virginia, Alexandria — The Emerging Nation|
|From the late 1700s into the 1800s, the pastoral calm of the Point was interrupted repeatedly—by soldiers manning cannon emplacements, by surveyors laying out the boundaries of the nation's capital, by workers at a ropewalk and the lighthouse, and by Union troops constructing a gun battery to defend the federal city during the Civil War.
During the Revolutionary War, cannon positions were established on Jones Point. These defenses were enlarged during and following the War, but . . . — Map (db m62029) HM|
|Virginia, Alexandria — The Fitting-Out Dock — Shipshape and Cargo-Ready — 1918-1921|
|This dock, constructed of reinforced concrete on concrete and wood pilings, was once the last stop for cargo ships under construction at Jones Point's World War I shipyard. Here, ships received final fittings before heading out for service. The dock featured a derrick—a crane-like device—to move construction materials, equipment, instruments and fittings on and off ships. The U.S. Government contracted the Virginia Shipbuilding Corporation to build 12 vessels, but only 9 of these . . . — Map (db m62201) HM|
|Virginia, Alexandria — The Jones Point Lighthouse — Shedding Light on a Landmark — Jones Point Park|
|In the 1850's, Alexandria was one of the busiest seaports in the Chesapeake region. To help guide Potomac River ship traffic, the federal government built the Jones Point lighthouse, illuminating the beacon for the first time on May 1, 1856. It was one of the first lighthouses designed to use a new "unified" plan, combining the beacon and keeper's house into a single structure.
Among the duties listed in the manual for the keeper were to keep a journal and log of expenditures, maintain the . . . — Map (db m60242) HM|
|Virginia, Alexandria — The Lost Village of Cameron at Great Hunting Creek|
|Three hundred years ago, a river as wide as the Capital Beltway—Great Hunting Creek—emptied into the Potomac River at this spot. In the absence of good roads, this river and its tributaries were vital corridors for travel and trade. Great Hunting Creek linked inland tobacco farms to inspection stations and warehouses where tobacco was monitored and stored before heading to markets overseas. With a lucrative tobacco trade established, settlements soon grew into hamlets and villages, . . . — Map (db m62000) HM|
|Virginia, Alexandria — The Nations Capital Begins Here 1791-1793 — Jones Point Park|
|After the Revolutionary War, the new nation searched fora permanent seat of government. President George Washington favored a 10-mile square territory along the Potomac River that encompassed the economically important ports of Georgetown and Alexandria. In 1791, the first boundary stone for the federal district—the south cornerstone—was laid with great fanfare right here on Jones Point. The District of Columbia was incorporated ten years later. Alexandria remained within the . . . — Map (db m60165) HM|
|Virginia, Alexandria — The Race to Build Ships on Jones Point — Alexandria Goes to War — 1918 - 1921|
|In response to a shortage of ships and shipbuilding facilities at the start of World War I, the U.S. government decided to enter the shipbuilding business. In 1917, the U.S. Emergency Fleet Corporation was created and eventually oversaw construction of 218 shipyards, including one here on Jones Point. The first piling for the Virginia Shipbuilding Corporation's shipyard was driven in February 1918. The massive facility was up and running just 85 days later—a reported world record. . . . — Map (db m62022) HM|
|Virginia, Alexandria — The Remarkable Margaret Brent — Landowner, Lawyer, Suffragette — 1601 - 1671|
|Despite occasional conflicts between European settlers and local Indians, Mistress Margaret Brent of Saint Mary’s City, Maryland, was granted the first land patent on Piper’s Island (later known as Jones Point) in 1654. An extraordinary woman for her time, Brent appears here before the Maryland Assembly requesting not only the right to vote, but the right to two votes—one for herself as a landowner and one as Lord Baltimore’s attorney.
Brents undertaking and medling with your . . . — Map (db m62026) HM|
|Virginia, Alexandria — Who Owns the River?|
|According to Lord Baltimore's land grant from King Charles I in 1632, Maryland owns the "River of Pattowmack...unto the further Bank of said River." But with Virginia's shoreline constantly shifting how could the border be fixed? In 1929, a survey to establish the boundary placed 58 markers including this one on Jones Point, helping to resolve almost three centuries of dispute. When Maryland ceded land to create the nation's capital in 1788, the District of Columbia gained ownership of the river within its newly created bounds. — Map (db m60179) HM|
|Virginia, Alexandria — World War I-Era Rudder — Evidence of the Shipyard at Jones Point|
|In May 2000, this rudder was recovered along the banks of the Potomac River near Jones Point. Measuring over 22 feet high and 4.5 feet wide, the rudder is of the variety used to outfit steel cargo ships constructed between 1918 and 1920 at the Virginia Shipbuilding Corporation site. Except for concrete building foundations and the finishing pier, the rudder is the last remnant of the shipbuilding industry at Jones Point.
Why put a wood rudder on a steel ship?
The answer is . . . — Map (db m61952) HM|
|Virginia, Alexandria — World Wars to the Present|
|In the 20th century, Jones Point continued to be shaped by the changing needs of the federal government. With proximity to the capital and access to land and river transportation, the peninsula was chosen as the site for several military installations and a vital bridge linking Virginia and Maryland. In this century, the federal government, through the National Park Service, plays a stewardship role. By joining forces with the City of Alexandria, the Daughters of the American Revolution and . . . — Map (db m62030) HM|
|Virginia, Bedford — Robey W. Estes Sr. Plaza|
|Robey W. Estes Sr. served with the United States Army in the European Theater of Operations. A platoon sergeant in Company E of the 116th Infantry Regiment on D-Day, he was part of the first wave of the attack on Omaha Beach. Wounded during the assault, he was evacuated to England, where he recovered from his injuries. After rejoining his regiment in Germany, he was wounded two more times, and was finally transferred out of the war zone and back to the United States. Mr. Estes returned to his . . . — Map (db m61339) HM WM|
|Virginia, Charlottesville — Ash Lawn - Highland|
|Ash Lawn - Highland
Home of James Monroe from 1799-1823
Dedicated on July 20, 1985
Virginia Daughters of the American Revolution
Mrs. G.E. Honts, Jr. — Map (db m63671) HM|
|Virginia, Charlottesville — W-200 — Monticello|
|Three miles to the southeast, Thomas Jefferson began the house in 1770 and finished it in 1802. He brought his bride to it in 1772. Lafayette visited it in 1825. Jefferson spent his last years there and died there, July 4, 1826. His tomb is there. The place was raided by British cavalry, June 4, 1781. — Map (db m61100) HM|
|Virginia, Charlottesville — Triumph of “The Charlottesville Twelve”|
| Lane High School. French Jackson, Donald Martin, John Martin.
Venable Elementary School. Charles E. Alexander, Raymond Dixon, Regina Dixon, Maurice Henry, Marvin Townsend, William Townsend, Sandra Wicks, Roland T. Woodfolk, Ronald E. Woodfolk.
On September 8, 1959, three African American children bravely entered Lane High School by order of U.S. District Court Judge John Paul. With the assistance of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People, the . . . — Map (db m64024) HM|
|Virginia, Charlottesville — Triumph of “The Charlottesville Twelve”|
| Venable Elementary School.
Charles E. Alexander, Raymond Dixon, Regina Dixon, Maurice Henry, Marvin Townsend, William Townsend, Sandra Wicks, Roland T. Woodfolk, Ronald E. Woodfolk.
Lane High School.
French Jackson, Donald Martin, John Martin.
On September 8, 1959, nine African American children bravely entered Venable Elementary School by order of U.S. District Court Judge John Paul. With the assistance of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People, the . . . — Map (db m65187) HM|
|Virginia, Charlottesville — I-3 — University of Virginia|
|Thomas Jefferson founded the University of Virginia. The cornerstone of its first building was laid on October 6, 1817, in the presence of three presidents of the United States—Jefferson, James Madison, and James Monroe. In 1825, the university admitted its first scholars, who were educated in what Jefferson called “useful sciences.” Following Jefferson’s beliefs, the university was nonsectarian and allowed its students to choose their own courses of study. The honor system . . . — Map (db m61101) HM|
|Virginia, Charlottesville — Walter “Rock” Greene Albert “AP” Moore Gymnasium — Architects of Success|
|Washington, DC native, Walter “Rock” Greene, began his coaching
career in 1957 as an assistant football and basketball coach under
legendary Coach “Bob” Smith. Coach Greene became head coach to
the Burley Bears basketball team in 1960. That year the team
became Western District Runner-up, followed by the Western District
Championship in 1961. In 1963, Coach Greene received an invitation
from his alma mater, Phelps High School, in Washington, DC to
become head . . . — Map (db m65229) HM|
|Virginia, Danville — Q-5B — Wreck of the Old 97|
|Here, on September 27, 1908, occurred the railroad wreck that inspired the popular ballad, "The Wreck of the Old 97". The southbound mail express train on the Southern Railroad left the tracks on a trestle and plunged into the ravine below. Nine persons were killed and seven injured, one of the worst train wrecks in Virginia history. — Map (db m63397) HM|
|Virginia, Emporia — U-91 — Brunswick County, Virginia — "The Original Home of Brunswick Stew"|
|According to local tradition, while Dr. Creed Haskins and several friends were on a hunting trip in Brunswick County in 1828, his camp cook, Jimmy Matthews, hunted squirrels for a stew. Matthews simmered the squirrels with butter, onions, stale bread, and seasoning, thus creating the dish known as Brunswick stew. Recipes for Brunswick stew have changed over time as chicken has replaced squirrel and vegetables have been added, but the stew remains thick and rich. Other states have made similar claims but Virginia's is the first. — Map (db m60633) HM|
|Virginia, Emporia — S-72 — Meherrin Indians|
|The Meherrin Indians lived in the coastal plain of Virginia and North Carolina along the Meherrin River. They farmed and hunted and spoke a language, Meherrin, that belonged to the Iroquoian language family. The Meherrin remained relatively undisturbed by the English settlements, until about 1650 when trading in furs increased their contact with settlers. By 1680 the Meherrin had become official tribute-paying subjects of the Virginia colony that temporarily gave them a protected land base . . . — Map (db m60634) HM|
|Virginia, Falls Church — Falls Church Home Front — Cherry Hill Farm in the Civil War|
|Although soldiers repeatedly overran and raided Cherry Hill Farm during the Civil War, this ca. 1845 farmhouse and the ca. 1856 barn behind it survived almost intact. William Blaisdell, of Massachusetts paid $4,000 for the 66-acre property in 1856. The migration of Northerners to this area resulted in a populace of mixed loyalties on the eve of the Civil War. Blaisdell and twenty-five others in the Falls Church District voted against secession in the statewide referendum held on May 23, 1861, . . . — Map (db m63878) HM|
|Virginia, Falls Church — Living in Fear — Mosby's Falls Church Raid|
|Confederate Col. John Singleton Mosby's Partisan Rangers (43rd Battalion Virginia Cavalry) conducted raids on Falls Church through the summer and fall of 1864. On the night of October 17, a detachment of Mosby's command rode through the village down the Middle Turnpike (Broad Street) near where you are standing.
Mosby's men killed Frank Brooks, an African American member of the highly unusual interracial Falls Church Home Guard, after he sounded the alarm. The horsemen then stopped at the . . . — Map (db m63930) HM|
|Virginia, Fredericksburg — A Memorial Landscape|
|On this site, the Fredericksburg Area Veteran's Council honors the local men and women who gave their lives in wars and military actions during the twentieth and twenty-first centuries.
The extension of George Street to a new high school cut through several lots to create this island of green. The flagpole comprised the first memorial and lists the names of local men killed in France during World War I. The 40mm anti-aircraft gun is a reminder of World War II. The large granite panels were . . . — Map (db m64223) HM|
|Virginia, Fredericksburg — Confederate Cemetery|
|The Ladies Memorial Association of Fredericksburg, organized May 10, 1866, cares for the graves and honors those Confederate soldiers who died in this area’s four battles. The Cemetery was dedicated May, 1870 to 3,553 men from 14 States reinterred here. — Map (db m60375) HM|
|Virginia, Hampton — 91-WY — Camp Hamilton|
|In this vicinity was situated Camp Hamilton. A large camp of Union troops first occupied in May, 1861. A great military hospital, Hampton Hospital was here. — Map (db m59625) HM|
|Virginia, Lexington — Barracks The Virginia Military Institute|
|has been designated a Registered National Historic Landmark Under the provisions of the Historic Sites Act of August 21, 1935 this site possesses exceptional value in commemorating or illustrating the history of the United States. U. S. Department of the Interior National Park Service 1966 — Map (db m58620) HM|
|Virginia, Lexington — Campbell House, ca. 1845 — Historic Lexington|
| Andrew Reid purchased this lot in 1784 from the town’s trustees. Later, between 1844 and 1845, Alexander T. Sloan, a local hotel owner and businessman, built this house. His wife reported that the site was a “rough and unsightly piece of ground” when they purchased it, but they transformed it into their “mansion house.” The building is referred to as an “I” house, a vernacular building tradition with origins in England. Distinguished by elegant Federal . . . — Map (db m58734) HM|
|Virginia, Lexington — Cincinnatus Citizen-Soldier|
| VMI and the Citizen – Soldier The Virginia Military Institute program is based on the concept of the citizen - soldier, a man prepared to take his place in civilian life but trained and ready for military leadership in time of national need. It is this philosophy of higher education that has distinguished the Institute since 1839 when J. T. L. Preston, who championed the founding of the college, envisioned its graduates as “fair specimens of citizen – soldiers.” It . . . — Map (db m58850) HM|
|Virginia, Lexington — Colonel Claudius Crozet|
|Born in France Dec. 31, 1789 Died in Virginia Jan. 29, 1864 Soldier Scholar Educator Engineer Chairman of the first Board of Visitors V. M. I. 1837 1845 — Map (db m58849) HM|
|Virginia, Lexington — Cyrus Hall McCormick — 1809 • • • 1884|
|Native of RockBridge County Virginia He liberated agriculture befriended education and advanced the cause of religion Trustee and benefactor of Washington and Lee University — Map (db m58713) HM|
|Virginia, Lexington — General Lee’s Beloved Traveller|
| In Memory of General Lee’s Beloved Traveller Rarely has an animal captured so much affection. Traveller, first called Jeff Davis and later Greenbrier, was born in 1857 near Blue Sulphur Springs (now in West Virginia). In 1862, Lee purchased him and renamed him after one of George Washington’s horses. This sturdy American saddlebred, sixteen hands high, iron gray with black mane and tail, carried Lee through many of the Civil War’s major campaigns, and later on pleasant late afternoon rides . . . — Map (db m58695) HM|
|Virginia, Lexington — General Lemuel C. Shepherd Jr.|
|U.S.M.C. VMI 1917 Combat Veteran World Wars I and II – Korea Commandant U.S. Marine Corps Chairman VMI Foundation Presented by Bruce B. Cameron VMI 1938 — Map (db m58743) HM|
|Virginia, Lexington — George C. Marshall — V.M.I. Class of 1901|
| General of the Army George Catlett Marshall was born December 31, 1880, at Uniontown, Pennsylvania. After graduating from the Virginia Military Institute in 1901 as First Captain of the Corps of Cadets, he spent fifty years in the active service of his country. He died October 16, 1959, at Washington, D.C., and is buried in Arlington National Cemetery. Chief of Staff, United States Army 1939 – 1945 Secretary of State 1947 – 1949 President, American Red Cross 1949 – 1950 . . . — Map (db m58740) HM|
|Virginia, Lexington — George Catlett Marshall|
| The Virginia Military Institute is a school that has given to the United States and to the armed services many of its most distinguished members. Among these is a man who in World War II stood out as one of the great soldiers and later as one of the great statesmen of our time.George Catlett MarshallHe is a patriot, a distinguished soldier, and the most selfless public servant I have ever met. Any school that can boast graduates like General Marshall – and all his associates who have . . . — Map (db m58704) HM|
|Virginia, Lexington — George Washington|
| The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Virginia have caused this Statue to be erected as a monument of affection and gratitude toGeorge Washingtonwho uniting to the endowments of the Hero, the virtues of the Patriot, and exerting both in establishing the Liberties of his Country, has rendered his name dear to his Fellow Citizens, and given the world an immortal example of true Glory. Done in the year of Christ one thousand seven hundred and eighty eight and in the year of the Commonwealth the twelfth. — Map (db m58708) HM|
|Virginia, Lexington — Hotchkiss House|
| Farris P. Hotchkiss received his B.A. from Washington and Lee University in 1958. He was a member of Beta Theta Pi, Phi Eta Sigma, the freshman honorary society and Omicron Delta Kappa leadership fraternity; editor of the Calyx yearbook; and president of the Student Service Society. Farris began 35 years of exemplary service to W&L in 1966 as Assistant Dean of Students and Director of Financial Aid. In 1968 he became the University’s first Director of Development, presiding over the first . . . — Map (db m58745) HM|
|Virginia, Lexington — Jackson’s Classroom|
|This second story room and those immediately to the right and left of this plaque composed the classroom used by Major Thomas Jonathan Jackson when he served as Professor of Natural and Experimental Philosophy at the Virginia Military Institute 1851 – 1861 — Map (db m58619) HM|
|Virginia, Lexington — I 24 — John Chavis|
| John Chavis (1763 – 1838), a free-born African-American veteran of the American Revolution was a native of Granville County, North Carolina. He was also one of the first college-educated men of color in the United States. Chavis studied at the College of New Jersey (now Princeton University) in 1792 and attended Liberty Hall Academy (present-day Washington and Lee University) in 1796. The Lexington Presbytery licensed him to preach in 1800. Chavis returned to North Carolina where he . . . — Map (db m58608) HM|
|Virginia, Lexington — John Robinson|
|Honor to whom honor Sacred to the memory of John Robinson a native of Ireland, a soldier of Washington, and a magnificent benefactor of Washington College Born A.D. 1754 Died A.D. 1826 Erected 1855 Restored 1939 — Map (db m58744) HM|
|Virginia, Lexington — Korean War — * Roll of Honor * — 25 July 1950 – 27 July 1953|
| In remembrance of VMI alumni who made the ultimate sacrifice while serving their country. First Lieutenant John Olin Bates, Jr., ’47, USA • First Lieutenant James Desmond Carey, ’51, USAF • First Lieutenant John Adam Dille, Jr., ‘48B, USA • Major William Edwin Dressler, ’38, USA • Lieutenant Patterson Gilliam, ’47, USAF • Colonel Douglas Hampton Hatfield, ’40, USA • Captain William Harris Hickman, ’40, USA • Major Clarence Ames Martin, Jr. ’44, USA • Lieutenant Irvin Edgar Nachman, ‘49A, USA • . . . — Map (db m58860) HM|
|Virginia, Lexington — Last Home of Traveller|
|The last home of Traveller Through war and peace the faithful, devoted and beloved horse of General Robert E. Lee Placed by the Virginia Division United Daughters of Confederacy — Map (db m58609) HM|
|Virginia, Lexington — Lee-Jackson House|
| Here lived Margaret Junkin Preston 1848 – 1857 Poetess of the Confederacy Thomas J. (Stonewall) Jackson 1853 – 1857 Robert E. Lee 1865 – 1869 Placed by The Rockbridge Historical Society 1957 — Map (db m58692) HM|
|Virginia, Lexington — Little Sorrel|
|War horse of Gen. T. J. Jackson Placed by Virginia Division United Daughters of the Confederacy July 30, 1997 — Map (db m58697) HM|
|Virginia, Lexington — Morris House|
|The Joella & Stewart Morris House of Washington and Lee University Built 1842 as a faculty home. Restored 1986 as the University guest center by Mr. & Mrs. Morris of Houston, Texas — Map (db m58711) HM|
|Virginia, Lexington — Sigma Nu Fraternity|
|Founded at Virginia Military Institute January 1, 1869 on a rock ledge formerly located 65 yards north west of this spot Cadet Founders James Frank Hopkins Greenfield Quarles James McIlvaine Riley Erected August 25, 1935 during the Twenty-seventh Biennial Grand Chapter — Map (db m58710) HM|
|Virginia, Lexington — Stonewall Jackson|
|The Virginia Military Institute will be heard from today. General Jackson at Chancellorsville May 3, 1863 [ Lower Marker: ] The 1990 restoration of the Jackson statue was made possible by the descendants of William Bradford Ryland, Class of 1924, Alexander Fleet Ryland, Class of 1897, and Josiah Ryland, Class of 1859, who studied under Jackson at the Institute. — Map (db m58698) HM|
|Virginia, Lexington — The Alexander-Withrow House, ca. 1793 — Historic Lexington|
| The Alexander-Withrow House is one of the oldest surviving structures in Lexington. Dating from ca. 1793, it was built by William Alexander one of the area’s first settlers and the town’s first postmaster. A large and distinctive building, with unusually fine brickwork, it has undergone several renovations. It was badly damaged in the 1796 fire that destroyed much of the town, but it survived. In 1851, when the city lowered its streets, this house received a whole story underpinning it. The . . . — Map (db m58736) HM|
|Virginia, Lexington — The Cabell House|
|Dedicated to the memory of William Henry Cabell Cadet First Sergeant, Co. D. VMI Class of 1865 killed at the Battle of New Market May 15, 1864 Established by his descendants — Map (db m58749) HM|
|Virginia, Lexington — The Fame of Stonewall Jackson|
|Field Marshal the Right Honorable Viscount Wolseley, K.P., G.C.B., G.M., G.C.M.G. British soldier of the highest rank, says: “The fame of Stonewall Jackson is no longer the exclusive property of Virginia and the South; it has become the birthright of every man privileged to call himself an American.” This tablet placed by the Camp Frank Paxton, S.C.V., and the Mary Custis Lee Chapter, U.D.C. — Map (db m58730) HM|
|Virginia, Lexington — The Jacob Ruff House, ca. 1829 — Historic Lexington|
| This house is a fine example of the Valley Federal style with elegant detailing including the fanlight over the front door and a molded brick cornice. When the streets were lowered in 1851, the entrance was reoriented to the side. The Ruff Family had a hat factory next door in the early 1800s, but used this house as a showroom and living space. In 1850 John Ruff deeded the property to his son, Jacob Ruff, with permission to build a future house between the two properties. That may explain the . . . — Map (db m58732) HM|
|Virginia, Lexington — The Sloan House, ca. 1844-45 — Historic Lexington|
| Alexander T. Sloan and his wife, prominent local hotel keepers, bought the land at the corner of Randolph and Washington Streets in 1844 and proceeded to build their “mansion house” and several “tenements.” This house, at 107 is one of the tenements. Typical of early nineteenth century houses in the valley, it is two stories with central passage dividing two rooms on each floor. What is unusual about the house is its site. The ground was described by Mrs. Sloan as . . . — Map (db m58735) HM|
|Virginia, Lexington — Traveller’s Grave|
|Traveller Horse of Gen. Robert E. Lee Placed by Virginia Div UDC May 8, 1971 [ Second Marker : ] Traveller’s Grave This renovation and landscaping honors Anne Wilson in appreciation for her service to Washington and Lee as the University’s first lady from 1983 to 1995. Like General Lee, Anne Wilson is a lover of animals who believes that their company and care enhance the human condition. The Alumni Board of Directors Washington and Lee University 1995 Additional support for . . . — Map (db m58611) HM|
|Virginia, Lexington — Virginia Military Institute — The Nation’s First State-Sponsored Military College|
| Virginia Military Institute was founded in 1839, becoming the nation’s first state-sponsored military college. Consistently ranked among America’s best undergraduate colleges, VMI educates the citizen-soldier by offering a rigorous academic program set within a military framework and governed by an unparalleled honor code. All cadets participate in the Reserve Officer Training Corps, choosing Army, Marine Corps, Navy, or Air Force. Over half of the graduating class accepts a commission. . . . — Map (db m58864) HM|
|Virginia, Lexington — Virginia Military Institute Historic District|
|has been designated a National Historic Landmark This site possesses national significance in commemorating the history of the United States of America 1975 National Park Service United States Department of the Interior — Map (db m58621) HM|
|Virginia, Lexington — Virginia Mourning Her Dead|
|Company A Henry A. Wise, Jr., Captain Commanding C. H. Minge, Cadet Captain W. C. Hardy, Lieutenant • W. Morson, Lieutenant • E. M. Ross, Sergeant • W. B. Shaw, Sergeant • W. T. Duncan, Sergeant • J. Douglass, Sergeant • H. Wood, Sergeant • L. Royster, Corporal • G. K. Macon, Corporal • R. L. Brockenbrough, Corporal • S. F. Atwill, Corporal Privates Adams, R. A. • Allen, D. • Anderson, C. J. • Ashley, C. G. • Bagnall, J. S. • Binford, R. J. • Bowen, H. C. • . . . — Map (db m58845) HM|
|Virginia, Lexington — VMI World War II Memorial|
|Men of the Virginia Military Institute who died in the Armed Services in World War II 1941 – 1946 Reid Stanley Aaron Va. 1940 • Hawes Netherlands Adams N.J. 1943 • James Rivers Adams Va. 1931 • George David Akers Va. 1948 – A • James Granville Allen, Jr. Tenn. 1944 • James Pleasant Allen, Jr. Ga. 1933 • Marvin Judson Anderson, Jr. Va. 1943 • Charles Castro Arms N.C. 1939 • Charles Harwood Augustine Va. 1945 • John Richard Banks N.J. 1942 • Joseph X. Bell Va. . . . — Map (db m63836) HM WM|
|Virginia, Lexington — Washington and Lee University|
|has been designated a Registered National Historic Landmark Under the provisions of the Historic Sites Act of August 21, 1935 this site possesses exceptional value in commemorating or illustrating the history of the United States. U. S. Department of the Interior National Park Service 1972 — Map (db m58613) HM|
|Virginia, Lexington — William Graham — 1746 - 1799|
|Was the founder and first rector of Liberty Hall Academy which was later to become Washington and Lee University. He was first buried in the churchyard of St. John’s Church, Richmond, VA. In 1911 his remains were brought to Lexington and now lie here beneath the original tombstone, near the grave of his friend and classmate, “Lighthorse Harry” Lee, on the campus of the school he administered and loved. — Map (db m58696) HM|
|Virginia, Lynchburg — Q-6-13 — Lynchburg College|
|Lynchburg College was founded in 1903 as Virginia
Christian College by Dr. Josephus Hopwood and
a group of Christian Church (Disciples of Christ)
clergymen and lay leaders. It is one of the
earliest colleges in Virginia to be founded as a
coeducational institution. Its name was changed
to Lynchburg College in 1919. The former Westover Hotel served as the college’s original building.
Renamed Westover Hall, it was dismantled in
1970. Hopwood Hall, designed in the Classical
Revival style . . . — Map (db m65389) HM|
|Virginia, Manassas — Sudley Springs Ford — First Battle of Manassas — July 21, 1861 - 9:30 a.m.|
|Soon after crossing Bull Run, the Union flanking column splashed across Catharpin Run here at Sudley Springs Ford. More than 13,000 soldiers passed this spot over a six-hour period. The lengthy march over dusty roads had taken its toll. Exhausted men fell out of ranks to replenish canteens with muddy water. Soldiers threw away unnecessary equipment to lighten loads. Muffled sounds of combat could now be heard in the distance. From this point forward, the sense of anticipation and excitement grew – battle was close at hand. — Map (db m62053) HM|
|Virginia, Martinsville — A 94 — Martinsville|
|Named for Joseph Martin, pioneer who settled here in 1773. In 1793 the courthouse of Henry County was moved here and the town was established, Patric Henry, for whom the county was named, lived near here once. In 1865, Stoneman, moving south to join Sherman, captured Martinsville. It was incorporated as a town in 1873 and as a city in 1929. — Map (db m64658) HM|
|Virginia, Newport News — W-65 — Denbigh Parish|
|Denbigh Parish was established about 1635 and took its name from the nearby Denbigh plantation. During colonial times, the Anglican parish administered ecclesiastical and some civil affairs for the upper portion of Elizabeth City Corporation, later Warwick County and present-day Newport News. Nearby on the banks of the Warwick River stood the first Denbigh Parish Church constructed before 1635. By 1686, a new structure near here replaced the former building. The Denbigh Parish and other local . . . — Map (db m62565) HM|
|Virginia, Newport News — W 230 — Endview|
|This traditional farmhouse was probably built for William Harwood around 1769. His great grandson, Dr. Humphrey Harwood Curtis, acquired the plantation in 1858. In May 1861, Dr. Curtis organized the Warwick Beauregards (Company H, 32d Virginia Volunteer Infantry Regiment) and commanded them until May 1862. Confederate Generals Lafayette McLaws and Robert Tombs used Endview as their headquarters during the early stages of the 1862 Peninsula Campaign. Union regiments camped here as part of the . . . — Map (db m59727) HM|
|Virginia, Newport News — First Baptist Church Morrison — 1933 - 2003|
|Born as Oak Grove Baptist Church under the pastoral leadership of the Rev. John Corbin in 1882, First Baptist Church Morrison moved to this site in 1933 and for over seven decades served faithful members of this community and offered a sacred place for prayer and worship.
This site is dedicated to the memory of all the members of the congrgation of First Baptist Church Morrison and to th epastors that led this church from the Rev. John Corbin to the Rev. Dr. Marcellus Lee Harris, Jr. — Map (db m62927) HM|
|Virginia, Norfolk — Willoughby-Baylor House, 1794|
|This site was in the original Crown grant of 200 acres to Colonel Thomas Willoughby in 1636. Located on Freemason Street, so called because the Norfolk Royal Exchange Lodge of Masons erected the "Mason's Hall" on this site in 1764 as America's first Masonic Hall. The building subsequently was destroyed in the bombardment and burning of Norfolk in 1776. William Willoughby (1758-1800), a descendant of Thomas, purchased the property from the Masons in 1794 and built this Federal style town house. . . . — Map (db m64974) HM|
|Virginia, Petersburg — A.P. Hill Death Site|
|Spot where A. P. Hill was killed. — Map (db m63392) HM|
|Virginia, Portsmouth — Portsmouth Naval Hospital — "Naval Medical Center Portsmouth" — Fort Nelson Park • Path of History • Portsmouth, VA|
|Naval Medical Center Portsmouth is known as the “First and Finest.” It was the nation’s first Naval Hospital and has served the military since 1830. The hospital complex is 112 acres and serves approximately 430,000 active duty service members, military retirees and dependents. Portsmouth is one of three navy teaching hospitals with a Graduate Medical Education program. It is professionally staffed with more than 4,000 doctors, nurses, dentists, corpsman, medical officers and . . . — Map (db m62263) HM|
|Virginia, Portsmouth — Portsmouth Naval Hospital — "Charette Health Care Center 1999" — Fort Nelson Park • Path of History • Portsmouth, VA|
|The Charette Health Care Center was dedicated in April 1999 and it is the third naval hospital built in Portsmouth. The 1 million square foot, five story, state-of-the-art hospital contains 17 operating rooms, 300 exam rooms, 120 beds, 140 special treatment rooms and 26 elevators. All major surgery can be conducted here. The center is named for Master Chief Corpsman William R. Charette who served with the 1st Marine Division during the Korean Conflict. Charette came under hostile fire while . . . — Map (db m62279) HM|
|Virginia, Richmond — Belle Isle Hydro Plant|
|In front of you are the remains of a hydroelectric power plant. It powered the trolley system on the south of the river and the steel company at the east end of the island.
To your left and up are the remains of the Transformer Building. Here the flow of electricity from the different generators was evened-out and the voltage increased. Higher voltage allowed the use of thinner transportation wires.
To your right is the canal (“mill race”) that brought . . . — Map (db m64046) HM|
|Virginia, Richmond — Belle Isle Prison Camp Monument|
|During the Civil War over 1,000 Union soldiers perished in the 6 acre prison site before you. Of those who survived, in bothe Northern and Southern camps, many were exchanged in such wretched condition that they were often unfit to return to duty.
In gratitude for the perseverance of these Union soldiers who sacrificed much to preserve the Union we dedicate this monument
Col. James D. Brady Camp #63
Irish Brigade Camp #4
Sons . . . — Map (db m64035) HM WM|
|Virginia, Richmond — Belle Isle Rolling Milling and Slitting Manufactory — Approx. 1815-1900|
|Through the arched doorway mules pulled carts of scrap iron from England. Water powered the machinery. European immigrants and black slaves provided the labor. The nails, wire and horseshoes were famous throughput the South.
Sign donated by St. Catherine's School — Map (db m64045) HM|
|Virginia, Richmond — Cannon over the Camp|
|The Belle Isle prisoner-of-war camp that stood before you here was a prison without walls. Federal soldiers were confined by the James River and by the low earthen "dead line," such as the one replicated in front of you, surrounding the camp. About a hundred Confederate guards were assigned here and were authorized to shoot any prisoner crossing the dead line.
On the hill behind you, artillery pieces were positioned above the camp to intimidate the captives further. Gilbert E. Sabre, a . . . — Map (db m64041) HM|
|Virginia, Richmond — City Locks River Gauge|
|The building before you holds equipment that measures the level of the James River leaving Richmond
How it works:
The gauge is a tube of air with a standard amount of pressure inside. How much the river water rises up the tube determines how much more the air is compressed. That increased pressure can be scaled to indicate the river level.
In the beginning, people just read a numbered gauge, but it was hard to read when there were waves and impossible to observe when there was a . . . — Map (db m61821) HM|
|Virginia, Richmond — Civil War POW Camp|
|You are looking at the nationally significant site of the notorious Belle Isle prisoner-of-war camp where during the Civil War thousands of captured U.S. soldiers were confined.
After the war began in 1861, military prisoners jammed Richmond’s jails and warehouses, until North and South signed a formal agreement on July 22, 1862, for prisoner exchanges. That month, Confederate authorities constructed a camp here on Belle Isle, and by the end of July 5,000 enlisted men were packed into it. . . . — Map (db m64034) HM|
|Virginia, Richmond — Coffer Dams|
|The large wood and steel rectangles before you are the walls of temporary dams.
They are designed to be placed by crane at either end of the stone locks to your right. --- This allows the locks to be closed off, the water pumped out, and repairs made to the lock doors.
In the past, mud built up at the base of the doors, wood rotted, and metal control pieces bent. At the moment, repairs are needed to the “wicket gates”. -- These are the small metal louvers at the bottom of . . . — Map (db m61822) HM|
|Virginia, Richmond — SA 101 — Confederate Ordnance Lab Explosion|
|In 1862, during the Civil War, Confederates established an ordnance laboratory and complex on the western part of nearby Brown’s Island. Workers there, many of them women and children who were forced to find employment because of the economic disruption occasioned by the war, assembled cartridges and other ammunition. Despite Col. Josiah Gorgas’s stringent safety guidelines, on 13 Mar. 1863, worker Mary Ryan accidentally ignited a friction primer, resulting in a massive explosion that destroyed . . . — Map (db m64016) HM|
|Virginia, Richmond — First Break Rapids|
|In 1969 Hurricane Camille punched a hole in this dam that once funneled water to power plants on Belle Isle and below Hollywood Cemetery. It's now a popular boating site. Notice how a small current on the far side goes back upstream offering an opportunity to continually re-run the rapids.
Sign funded by: Sierra Club — Map (db m64050) HM|
|Virginia, Richmond — First Lieutenant Jimmie W. Monteith, Jr.|
| Commemorating the beautiful life of
First Lieutenant Jimmie W. Monteith, Jr.
He died June 6, 1944 on the shores of Normandy and lies buried at St. Laurent, France. Age 26 years. A Virginia by birth, descending from a long line of her patriots, he kept the Faith. “Tall men, sun crowned who live above the fog.” So beloved. — Map (db m61634) WM|
|Virginia, Richmond — SA 76 — Giles Beecher Jackson — ca. 1852-1924|
|The first African American to practice law before the Supreme Court of Virginia, Jackson lived and worked in Jackson Ward. Although local tradition holds that Jackson Ward was named for him, in fact, the ward’s name first appeared during his childhood. In 1903 Jackson secured a charter from the Commonwealth of Virginia for the Negro Development and Exposition Company to facilitate the Negro Exhibit at the Jamestown Ter-Centennial Exposition in 1907. He helped organize the Southern Negro . . . — Map (db m64017) HM|
|Virginia, Richmond — Gun Emplacement|
|To large pits on top of this hill were intended for cannons to guard this prison island from northern attack. Rapids actually protected the island, there was never an attack, and no guns were ever installed.
Sign funded by: Blue Ridge Mt. Sports — Map (db m64049) HM|
|Virginia, Richmond — Headgate|
|The river brings logs and debris with every flood, but clear water is needed to push the turbine blades that turn electric generators. Logs were floated away through the gate in the dam straight ahead. (Look under the wheel.) Small debris was caught on the steel slats ("rack") under the walkway and cleaned off with the "rolling rake" to your right. (Note the steel rails in the walkway to which the handrails are now attached.)
The water went through this strainer, into the canal and to the . . . — Map (db m64047) HM|
|Virginia, Richmond — Headgate Cleaner|
|Water leading to the power plant was kept clean by passing it through slats in the headgate called trash racks. Bits of wood can wear away the edges of turbine blades and make them unbalanced. Repair was complicated and expensive.
This "mechanical rake" kept the trash racks clean of leaves and small debris. Notice how the steel teeth fit between the metal slats and could slide up and down. The wheels rode on the rails which now have handrails attached.
The log jam is now a home for . . . — Map (db m64048) HM|
|Virginia, Richmond — Historic Belle Isle — James River Park System|
| Early History
Belle Isle, at 54 acres, is the largest island in the James River at Richmond, and also one of the most historic sites in the city. Virginia’s native tribes, including the Powhatans, fished in the river here for thousands of years before the English arrived.
Captain John Smith was among the first Europeans to visit this site in 1607, and the island was acquired by William Byrd I in 1676. William Byrd II, Richmond’s founder, called it “the broad rock . . . — Map (db m64038) HM|