HMdb.org THE HISTORICAL
MARKER DATABASE
            “Bite-Size Bits of Local, National, and Global History”
  Home  — My Markers  — Add A Marker  — Marker Series  — Links & Books  — Forum  — About Us
Click First to browse through the results shown on this page.   First >> 
Show DirectionsOmit Marker TextClick to map all markers shown on this page.
California Markers
4882 markers matched your search criteria. The first 250 markers are listed. Next 4632
California (Alameda County), Alameda — 1890 Seawall
This plaque marks the location of an 1890 seawall on the Alameda shoreline. Behind you are the stairs where bathers went down to the beach. The wall was built by architect Joseph A. Leonard, who constructed many homes here during the 1890s. This ironwork fence was erected in 1998 by the Alameda Architectural Preservation Society, an organization dedicated to the preservation and beautification of the historic neighborhoods of our city. — Map (db m62215) HM
California (Alameda County), Alameda — Alameda City Hall
This city hall is one of oldest operating city hall buildings in the State of California. It was constructed in 1895 in the Romanesque style and has been in continual use as a city hall since its completion. Original construction: Building cost - $56,899 Architect – Percy & Hamilton Builder – Thomas Day & Sons — Map (db m62216) HM
California (Alameda County), Alameda — 440 — Alameda Terminus of the 1st Transcontinental Railroad
[Center and Main Marker:] This plaque marks the terminus of the First Transcontinental Passenger train that started in New York City and terminated at Alameda Point Pier On September 6, 1869. Erected by the U.S. Naval Air Station, Alameda in cooperation with the Alameda Historical Society Dedicated Aug. 22, 1953. Wm G. Huff Small Upper Marker:] Ceremonies commemorating the 100th Anniversary of this historical event were . . . — Map (db m29447) HM
California (Alameda County), Alameda — First Presbyterian Church
Organization of the First Presbyterian Church of Alameda began in 1864. By 1865, the church had 12 charter members. Traveling ministers delivered Sunday sermons until 1867 when Reverend Nash was installed as the first pastor. The first sanctuary was erected at what is currently known as Central and Versailles Avenues. The sanctuary was dedicated on March 8, 1869. The final service held there was in late August 1903. The first sanctuary building was dismantled, and the wood was used as the . . . — Map (db m62217) HM
California (Alameda County), Alameda — 968 — Pan Am China Clipper
Pan American World Airways fabled China Clipper (Martin M/130 Flying Boat) left Alameda Marina on November 22, 1935 under the command of Captain Edwin G. Musick. The flight would reach Manila via Honolulu, Midway, Wake, and Guam. The inauguration of ocean airmail service and commercial airflight across the Pacific was a significant event for both California and the world. California Registered Historical Landmark No. 968 — Map (db m31409) HM
California (Alameda County), Alameda — The Jimmy Doolittle Pier – Alameda Naval Air StationPier No. 3
On April 1, 1942, sixteen B-25 bombers were hoisted to the flight deck of the carrier Hornet and parked there, while moored at Pier No. 3 at U.S. Naval Station in Alameda. The B-25 detachment consisted of seventy officers and one hundred thirty enlisted men under the command of Lieutenant Colonel James H. Doolittle, U.S. Army. At 1000 hours, April 2, 1942, Task Force Eighteen consisting of the USS Hornet, Nashville, Vincennes, Cimarron and Destroyer Division 22 departed Alameda Naval Air . . . — Map (db m29431) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — "Annie's Oak"City of Berkeley Landmark — Designated in 1986
Here a venerable oak tree was saved by Annie Maybeck (1867-1956), wife of architect Bernard Maybeck. She is said to have "marched off to city hall" to protest the cutting of native trees during street paving early in the 20th Century. She and other influential women founded the Hillside Club to promote "building with nature". The Club proclaimed that "the few native trees that have survived centuries should be jealously preserved....bend the roads, divide the lots, place the houses to . . . — Map (db m18562) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — “A People’s History of Telegraph Avenue”
Mural designed by Osha Newmann, painted with O’Brien Thiele, Janet Kranzberg, Daniel Galvez and many others Painted in 1976 Restored and enlarged in 1999 City of Berkeley Landmark designated in 1990 The mural on this wall was painted the year of the Bicentennial of the American Revolution to commemorate a more recent revolutionary period. It depicts the social and political movements that defined Berkeley in the Sixties beginning in 1964 with the Free Speech Movement and . . . — Map (db m54696) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Allenoke ManorCoxhead and Coxhead, Architects — 1903
City of Berkeley Landmarks designated in 1986 Allenoke is the only large estate remaining near the northern edge of the University of California campus. It was designed by Ernest Coxhead for Allen Freeman, President of the Bank of Oakland. Coxhead, a major figure in the development of Bay Area architecture, produced a residence that was immediately recognized and widely publicized for its pioneering design. The large clinker brick house features five massive gambrel dormers and surrounded by . . . — Map (db m53888) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — American Baptist Seminary of the West - Hobart HallCity of Berkeley Landmark - designated in 1999 — Julia Morgan, Architect, 1919
This compact complex of buildings linked by a series of arcades and academic quads in the English tradition was created to house one of Berkeley's oldest seminaries. Hobart Hall, designed by Julia Morgan, is notable for its elaborate brickwork, elegant arched north entry, and molded decorative terra cotta detail. In 1953, Walter H. Ratcliff, Jr., continued the Tudor Revival style with Johnson Hall to the east, and the small chapel with a double-gabled roof entry to the south. Additional campus . . . — Map (db m50801) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — American Photoplayer Co.Cooper Woodworking Buildings — 1912-1920
City of Berkeley Landmark designated in 1986 Over the years this complex housed Cooper Woodworking, the Sperry Flour Company, the American Photoplayer Company, and other industrial and manufacturing enterprises. American Photoplayer manufactured a musical instrument that produced mechanical music “like an orchestra” for use in movie theaters. The company went out of business in the late 1920s when “talkies” were introduced. An elevated sawdust hopper (removed in . . . — Map (db m53818) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Annie and Bernard Maybeck HouseBernard Maybeck, Architect — 1933
City of Berkeley Landmarks designated in 1990 In 1901 architect Bernard Maybeck purchased ten acres of land here in La Loma Park. He built a sprawling brown shingle home for his family down the street in 1909 and subdivided the rest of his land into irregularly shaped lots. He sold these to friends and family and then designed their homes, many of which are still standing. After the 1923 Berkeley Fire, Maybeck and his wife Annie – one of the founders of Berkeley’s influential . . . — Map (db m53862) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Armstrong College BuildingWalter H. Ratcliff, Architect — 1923
City of Berkeley Landmark designated in 1994 “To Inculcate the Highest Standards and Ideals in Business.” That lofty aim, incised high on the façade of this graceful Spanish Colonial building, guided Armstrong College for more than 70 years. Known in its early days as the California School for Private Secretaries, the private school met with limited success until classes in penmanship and shorthand gave way to a more academic curriculum. Renamed Armstrong University, its . . . — Map (db m54513) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Barker BuildingA.W. Smith, Architect — 1905
City of Berkeley Landmark designated in 1978 James Loring Baker was an early Berkeley landowner, developer, and civic leader. He was one of the signers of the incorporation papers for the Town of Berkeley and it was he who delivered them to Sacramento in 1878. Baker helped to finance public school buildings and electric lighting for the city, promoted city tree planting, and established the First National Bank of Berkeley. His family home stood nearby on Dwight Way until it was demolished in . . . — Map (db m54332) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Benjamin Ide Wheeler House and GardenEdgar A. Mathew, Architect, 1900 — Louis Hobart, Architect, 1911
City of Berkeley Landmarks designated in 1986 When prominent educator Benjamin Ide Wheeler became president of the University of California in 1899, he and his wife built this spacious home. They entertained many dignitaries here, including President Theodore Roosevelt. Wheeler guided the University of California through two decades of rapid growth in enrollment, academic stature, and new buildings. In 1911, the Wheelers moved to the newly completed “Presidents Mansion” (now . . . — Map (db m53890) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — 908 — Berkeley City Club
The Berkeley City Club, organized in 1927, was one of the area’s earliest attempts by women to social, civic and cultural progress. The building, constructed in 1929, is one of the outstanding works of noted California architect Julia Morgan, whose successful interpretation of Moorish and Gothic elements in this monumental structure created a major landmark of California design. — Map (db m15885) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Berkeley City HallBakewell and Brown, Architects, 1908 — City of Berkeley Landmark, designated in 1975
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places This was Berkeley’s City Hall from 1909 to 1977. It sits on the site of the Town Hall that burned in 1904. It remains a source of civic pride and a symbol of Berkeley. Now commonly known as “Old City Hall,” it is the keystone of Berkeley’s Civic Center where public buildings are grouped around a central park. John Bakewell and Arthur Brown, Jr., the building’s architects – both of whom were graduates of the University of . . . — Map (db m52398) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Berkeley High School Industrial Arts and Science (G and H Buildings)Henry H. Gutterson and William Corlett, Sr., Architects — Jacques Schnier and Robert Howard, Sculptors
1939-1940 City of Berkeley Landmark designated in 1982 These buildings are fine examples of the Art Deco style in the Bay Area. They were designed as an ensemble with the adjacent Berkeley High School Community Theater. Bas-reliefs and other surface decoration accentuate an architecture of simple geometric volumes. The block-long west facade is enlivened by alternating two-and three-story sections, repetitively patterned window groupings, and a subtle asymmetry. The facades are graced . . . — Map (db m54218) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Berkeley Municipal PierBerkeley History — 1926
Berkeley's original shoreline was about where Second Street and the eastern side of Aquatic Park are located today. In 1853 a private wharf was built at the foot of what is now Delaware Street, and a working waterfront with factories and piers developed along the shoreline later in the century. This pier, constructed by the Golden Gate Ferry Company under a 1926 franchise from the City, now extends from the Berkeley Marina, which was built on landfill out into the Bay well beyond the . . . — Map (db m36487) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Berkeley Municipal Rose GardenCity of Berkeley Landmark - Designated in 1995 — Vernon M. Dean, Landscape Architect - 1933-1937
The Rose Garden was a joint creation of the City of Berkeley and the Federal Works Progress Administration (WPA), whose public works provided employment during the Depression. Vernon M. Dean, the City's landscape architect, designed the garden in a rustic style, with a redwood pergola and semi-circular stone-walled terraces facing San Francisco Bay. Hundreds of tons of native rock were quarried by in the Berkeley hills to construct the terraces. The garden was sculpted into the hillsides west . . . — Map (db m18618) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Berkeley Piano ClubWilliam L. Woollett, Architect, 1912
City of Berkeley Landmark designated in 2005 The Berkeley Piano Club, dedicated to the performance and study of music, was founded in 1893 by a group of local women. Early meetings were held in members’ homes and later in a barn at the southwest corner of Piedmont Avenue and Bancroft Way. This clubhouse was built in 1912 to serve as the organization’s permanent home. Architect William L. Woollett, who later designed the Hollywood Bowl, created a building that is domestic in scale and . . . — Map (db m54726) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Berkeley Public LibraryCity of Berkeley Landmark - Designated 1982
James W. Plachek, Architect, 1930 Addition, Ripley/BOORA Architects, 1999 Listed on the National Register of Historic Places Berkeley’s first free public library system was established in 1895, with branches in west and south Berkeley. The Shattuck family gave the land for the construction of the first library on this site, which was made possible by a donation from philanthropist Andrew Carnegie. It was demolished in 1930 to build a new and larger library designed by Berkeley . . . — Map (db m52364) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Berkeley Veterans Memorial Grove
[Marker #1] In Memory of Those Who Made the Supreme Sacrifice in the World War C T Vinther • J T Gimbel • A H Ohman Berkeley Parlor No 210 Native Sons of the Golden West [Marker #2] This Tree Dedicated to the Memory of the Grand Army of the Republic by Lookout Mountain Relief Corp No 35 April, 6, 1924 [Marker #3] In Memory of Cadet Chester F.M. Buchanan United States Army Air Corps 1910-1934 Erected . . . — Map (db m54338) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Berkeley Y.M.C.A.City of Berkeley Landmark - designated in 1990 — Benjamin G. McDougall, Architect - 1910
Originating among working class Englishmen in 1844, the Young Men's Christian Association was brought to North America in 1851 to promote a "full and balanced life" through religious devotion and athletic activity. Berkeley's charter organization was established in 1903. Business and service organizations raised the substantial sum of $118,003 to construct this Georgian Revival style building, designed by the architect of the nearby Shattuck Hotel, on land donated by Rosa M. Shattuck and her . . . — Map (db m50295) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Bowen’s Inn/Higgins GroceryCirca 1854 — City of Berkeley Landmark, designated in 1985
This building, thought to be Berkeley’s oldest remaining structure, originally stood on the Contra Costa Road, now San Pablo Avenue. Built by Captain William J. Bowen when the area was sparsely populated, it served as an inn, saloon, grocery store, and stagecoach stop. Oceanview, Berkeley’s first community, grew up between Bowen’s Inn and a small shipping wharf built by Captain James Jacobs at the foot of what is now Delaware Street. In 1872 the building became Berkeley’s first post . . . — Map (db m53831) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Chamber of Commerce/Wells Fargo BankWalter H. Ratcliff, Jr., Architect, 1925-27 — City of Berkeley Landmark - Designated 1984
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places For nearly a half century, this steel frame and concrete structure, clad in brick and terra cotta, was Berkeley’s only “skyscraper.” Walter Ratcliff, highly respected for his fine residences and public buildings throughout Berkeley, designed this Classic Revival commercial tower at the peak of his career. Six ground floor arches were added soon after construction to replace original storefronts. The west wing was designed to . . . — Map (db m52316) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Charles W. Woodworth House1905
City of Berkeley Landmark designated in 1993 Entomologist, naturalist, physicist, and inventor Charles W. Woodworth designed and built this all-redwood house in the Bay Region style. The three-level, seven-bedroom home has a brown shingle exterior, clinker brick fireplaces, and leaded glass windows. The entrance and main floor were designed for Mrs. Woodworth who used a wheelchair. Woodworth, a professor of entomology, helped develop the University of California’s College of Agriculture . . . — Map (db m54877) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Church of the Good ShepherdCharles L. Bugbee, Architect, 1878 — Listed on the National Register of Historic Places
This is Berkeley's oldest remaining church building and the oldest church in the East Bay still in continuous use by its founding congregation. The one-story Victorian Gothic-style building was built here on what was Bristol Street, before it was renamed Hearst Avenue. The church is distinguished by vertical board-and-batten siding, a 75-foot bell tower, and pointed-arch stained glass windows. The church's thousand-pound Blymer bell was used as a city fire alarm from 1882 until the advent of . . . — Map (db m28503) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — City Hall AnnexJamers W. Plachek, Architect — 1925
City of Berkeley Landmark designated in 1984 Constructed in 1925 when Berkeley’s population was growing rapidly, this building accommodated a variety of civic services next to City Hall. The Department of Milk Inspection, which assured the purity of milk produced by dairies that were still located in less developed parts of the City, was located here. A large fire proof safe inside the building, perhaps a legacy of Berkeley’s 1923 fire, once stored City records. — Map (db m54215) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Claremont Court Gate and Street MarkersClaremont Boulevard and Russell Street — John Galen Howard, Architect; 1906
City of Berkeley Landmark designated in 2005 These entry gates help define one of Berkeley’s most gracious residential areas, Claremont Court, which was designed to attract the growing number of prosperous Bay Area professionals in the early 1900s. Developer Mason-McDuffie engaged Howard, the University’s supervising architect, to design the gateway. The elegant red brick pillars heighten the formal ambiance of the area. Their moldings of ivory-colored terra-cotta, Ionic capitals, and . . . — Map (db m54800) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Claremont Public ImprovementsJohn Galen Howard, Architect — 1905
City of Berkeley Landmark designated in 1984 Claremont, a 1905 subdivision, was originally part of the 125-acre Edson Adams ranch. Early advertisements for the tract enticed families to leave the noisy, crowded city behind and head for “sunshine and the hills.” University of California architect John Galen Howard designed the entrance gates and pillars, which are built of native stone quarried in north Berkeley. The plan of the district inspired by American landscape planner . . . — Map (db m54679) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Daley’s Scenic Park Street ImprovenentsBounded by Le Roy Avenue, La Loma Avenue, La Vereda Road and Hilgard Avenue — The Hillside Club and Town Engineers; 1909
City of Berkeley Landmarks designated in 1983 In the late 1890s a group of concerned women formed the Hillside Club to “encourage artistic homes built of materials complementing the natural beauty of the Berkeley Hills.” The Club soon became a major influence in Berkeley and the Bay Area, spreading the concept of “building with nature” and the philosophy of the Arts and Craft movement. One of the Hillside Club’s tenets was that streets in steep hillside locations . . . — Map (db m53886) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Davis-Byrne Building1895 — City of Berkeley Landmark - Designated 1991
This building was originally part of the small commercial district that grew up around Dwight Way Station where Shattuck Avenue commuter trains intersected with the horse-car line that ran up Dwight Way to the California Schools for the Deaf and Blind (now the University of California's Clark Kerr Campus). Owner Glennie Davis constructed the original building which had residential rooms above storefronts. After nearly a century of residential and commercial use, this building was bought . . . — Map (db m29581) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Delaware Street Historic DistrictPeriod of Significance, 1854-1910 — City of Berkeley Landmark - Designated 1979
(Rehabilitated and Partially Reconstructed in 1986. William Coburn, Historic Architectural Consultant) In the 1850s, Gold Rush-era farmers and merchants began settling in this rural bayside area. Delaware Street connected Jacob’s Landing, a freight wharf constructed on the waterfront in 1853, with Bowen’s Inn (1854), which stood on the old stage road that is now San Pablo Avenue. At that time, the bay shoreline was approximately were 2nd Street and the eastern side of Aquatic Park . . . — Map (db m52299) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Don Pedro Fages Expedition
This marker designates the area where on March 27, 1772 a scientific team under the auspices of the Empire of Spain stopped on Strawberry Creek to include an observation of is now known as Golden Gate. According to Juan Crespi, diarist, the first sighting was marked at Mills College, Second at College of Arts and Crafts. Placed September 16, 1978 by District IV California State Society Daughters of the American Revolution — Map (db m42034) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Edward A. Brakenridge HouseIra A. Boynton Designer & Builder (attributed), 1892
City of Berkeley Landmark designated in 1992 Arriving in Berkeley from Massachusetts, Edward Brakenridge bought property that extended to Rose Street for this large Queen Anne-style residence, a stable, and a carriage house. Ira Boynton, like many late nineteenth-century East Bay builders who lacked formal architectural training, created vigorous, sturdy structures without refined ornamentation that followed a “carpenters esthetic.” Parts of the estate were subsequently sold, but . . . — Map (db m54512) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Elks Club BuildingWalter H. Ratcliff, Architect — 1913
City of Berkeley Landmark designated in 1991 Berkeley’s Elks Club, the 1002nd Chapter of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, was founded in 1905, just in time for members to assist those displaced by the 1906 San Francisco Earthquake. Later they helped wartime survivors and needy children. This is one of many Ratcliff buildings in Berkeley. Classical Revival style pilasters at corner bays, the projecting cornice, and oversized oak doors are in the tradition of men’s clubs of . . . — Map (db m54262) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Ennor’s Restaurant BuildingJames W. Plachek, Architect — John P. Brennan, Builder; 1923
City of Berkeley Landmark designated in 2006 This reinforced concrete building with its articulated brick facade and simple classical detailing was built for Harvey and Marie Ennor at a time of energetic downtown development. They expanded a small sandwich shop into an elegant restaurant, banquet room, grocery and butcher shop, bakery, and confectionary. From 1933 onward, the building successively housed the True Blue Cafeteria, World War II government agencies, a furniture store, and the . . . — Map (db m54337) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Everett and Marie Glass HouseWilliam Wilson Wurster, Architect — 1938, 1941
City of Berkeley Landmark designated in 1995 The Glass House is considered one of the best residential works of Wurster, who was the founding dean of UC Berkeley’s College of Environmental Design. This simply detailed, shed roof house was built on a modest budget and sited on a double lot to capture spectacular views. Its design expresses Wurster’s regional approach to modernism that emphasized living in harmony with nature. Everett and Marie Glass both taught a UC Berkeley. Everett Glass . . . — Map (db m53858) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Federal Land BankJames W. Plachek, Architect, 1938 — ELS Architects, 1999
City of Berkeley Landmark designated 1985 The Farm Credit Administration built this structure to house federal agricultural banking and financial agencies, including one of the 12 Federal Land Banks that assisted Depression-era farmers. Features of the Moderne-style building include a gateway and an entrance court at the west elevation and distinctive zigzag stair towers. Inside and out, the structure reflects the era’s focus on creating public buildings that were useful, attractive, and . . . — Map (db m54258) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — First Church of Christ, ScientistBernard Maybeck, Architect, 1910
Roof replacement, accessibility, and seismic improvements: Architectural Resources Group and Degenkolb Engineers, 2007 City of Berkeley Landmark designated 1975 Maybeck’s masterpiece is an Arts & Craft fusion of Romanesque, early Christian Gothic and Japanese architectural influences. Constructed with common industrial materials – metal, concrete, and glass – the design expresses permanence and integrity in design and structure. Massive diagonally crossed wood trusses . . . — Map (db m55032) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Fox CourtCarl Fox, Designer — 1927-30
City of Berkeley Landmark designated in 1977 Listed on the National Register of Historic Places This small-scaled complex of one-and two-story buildings is a surprise on a busy street. Arranged along a brick walkway through a garden court, the buildings feature steep gable roofs, irregular cylindrical chimneys, curved exterior staircases, and small paned windows. Carl Fox, a 1911 graduate in mining engineering form the University of California, and his brothers George and Herman, . . . — Map (db m53829) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Framåt Lodge #405Sanford G. Jackson, Architect 1927 — City of Berkeley Landmark, designated in 1997
Berkeley’s large immigrant population in the late 19th and early 20th centuries included many natives of Sweden. The local chapter of the Swedish-American Vasa Order constructed this building as a lodge hall and cultural center. On November 8, 1927, Prince William of Sweden laid the cornerstone, proclaiming, “Through the magic of the melting pot you are becoming Americans and I can only admonish you to be good Swedes but even better Americans,” Framåt, the name of both the chapter . . . — Map (db m52386) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Frances Albrier(1898-1987) — Champion of Equal Rights and Social Justice
It was just automatic for me to stand up and tell a person, “You’re wrong. You’re mistreating me. You’re discriminatory. Why don’t you give me a chance?” Great generosity coupled with anger at injustice guided the life of Frances Albrier. In 1920 she moved from Alabama to Berkeley. She had left the highly segregated South with a college education, but still faced discrimination in housing and jobs. She worked as a maid and union organizer on the Pullman trains, married and . . . — Map (db m54814) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Francis Kittredge Shattuck BuildingCity of Berkeley Landmark, designated in 1995
Stone and Smith, Architects 1901 Jim Novosel: The Bay Architects 1998 Berkeley’s transit pattern was established in 1876 when Francis Kittredge Shattuck and James L. Barker brought a spur line of the Central Pacific (later Southern Pacific) Railroad from Oakland into downtown Berkeley. By the time Berkeley was incorporated in 1878, Shattuck Avenue was its main street and Berkeley Station, across the street from this site, was the hub of the downtown. This building, on the . . . — Map (db m52378) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Fullen Market BuildingHenry S. Patton, Builder — 1907-08
City of Berkeley Landmark designated in 1985 Built by a real-estate developer during the East Bay building boom that followed the 1906 earthquake, this corner store anchored the southwestern boundary of the neighborhood once known as Regents Park. For over 75 years owners of the grocery, and later owners of the the [sic] Rivoli Delicatessen and Salami Factory, lived upstairs. Tempting aromas lured prospective customers inside, as the waited for the streetcar under the store’s retractable . . . — Map (db m53833) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Gilman HallUniversity of California — Berkeley, California, 1916-1917
Gilman Hall was built in 1916-17 to accomodate an expanded College of Chemistry under the leadership of Gilbert Newton Lewis. This building provided research laboratories and teaching facilities for faculty and students specializing in physical, inorganic, and nuclear chemistry. Work here by G. N. Lewis and K. S. Pitzer helped advance the field of chemical thermodynamics and molecular structure. Research performed in Gilman Hall has resulted in two Nobel Prizes: to William F. Giauque in 1949 . . . — Map (db m15870) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Golden Sheaf Bakery AnnexCity of Berkeley Landmark - designated in 1978 — Clinton Day, Architect, 1905 * Jim Novosel, Architect, 2000
Listed on the National Record of Historic Places In 1877, English immigrant John G. Wright founded the Golden Sheaf, Berkeley's first wholesale/retail bakery. The original bakery, with a public dining room, stood around the corner on Shattuck Avenue. Bakers lived in an on-site dormitory and students boarded in rooms upstairs. The business grew into the region's largest bakery, and this annex was constructed to house its fleet of horse-drawn delivery wagons. Wright helped found a bakers' . . . — Map (db m50360) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Harpoon Cannon(Whaling Gun)
The whaling gun below this plaque came off the ship; “Cody.” Gib Hunter was the Captain of the ship and was the last of the whalers to operate off the West Coast. Captain Hunter presented this whaling gun to Bud Spenger. — Map (db m52297) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Heywood BuildingCity of Berkeley Landmark, designated in 1993
James W. Plachek, Architect 1917 Jim Novesel: The Bay Architects 1994 This small commercial building was built for William Heywood, son of Berkeley pioneer Zimri Brewer Heywood. The upstairs was used as the architectural offices of James W. Plachek, designer of many buildings in downtown Berkeley, including the Berkeley Public Library. The elaborate glazed terra-cotta facade with double rope molding and Gothic was tracery was produced by Gladding, McBean & Co., of Lincoln, California, . . . — Map (db m52382) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Hillside ClubJohn White, Architect, 1924 — Listed on the National Register of Historic Places
City of Berkeley Landmark designated in 2004 The Hillside Club was founded in 1898 by Berkeley women intent on preserving the natural beauty of the hills. It soon became an influential cultural force. North Berkeley’s curved streets with old trees, exposed rocks, numerous parks, and walking paths are among the legacies of the Club’s work. This building replace the original Bernard Maybeck clubhouse that was destroyed by the 1923 North Berkeley Fire. Maybeck’s brother-in-law, John White, . . . — Map (db m54186) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Hillside SchoolWalter H. Ratcliff, Jr., Architect, 1925 — Listed on the National Register of Historic Places
City of Berkeley Landmarks designated in 1982 Berkeley architect and civic leader Walter H. Ratcliff, Jr. designed the Hillside School as one his last public commissions. The school takes its name from the Hillside Club, an early 20th-century Berkeley group that promoted harmony with nature and Arts and Crafts ideals, and helped establish the Bay Region tradition of architecture. Built as a replacement for a rustic shingled school destroyed in the 1923 Berkeley Fire, this Tudor-style . . . — Map (db m53861) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Historic McGee-Spaulding DistrictBerkeley History
The District was part of the land granted by the king of Spain in 1820 to the Luis Peralta Family. The land was later purchased from Jose Domingo Peralta by four San Francisco businessmen. In 1855, James McGee (1814-1899), a newly arrived Irish immigrant, purchased and began farming 115 acres east of California Street. McGee was elected to Berkeley's first Board of Trustees in 1878. In 1876, the Spaulding Tract, west of California Street, was subdivided by the Oakland Land Association and . . . — Map (db m29071) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Howard Automobile CompanyFrederick Reimers, Architect, 1930, Hayashida Architects, 2006 — Renovations for the Buddhist Churches of America, Jodo Shinshu Center
City of Berkeley Landmark designated in 1983 This Zig-Zag Moderne building, designed for the sale and servicing of Buick automobiles, captures the glamour, rising affluence, and sophistication of the post-World War I era. Charles Howard, who rose to prosperity through his successful Bay Area auto dealerships, also owned the famed racehorse Seabiscuit. Architect Frederick Reimers designed many Period Revival houses, as well as schools and other commercial buildings in the Moderne . . . — Map (db m54334) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Indian RockBerkeley History
Outcroppings of weathered rock are a prominent feature of the Berkeley Hills, providing evidence of this area’s complex geological past. Composed of Northbrae rhyolite, Indian Rock is an ancient volcanic remnant. Native Ohlone communities gathered at these outcroppings. Here they ground acorns into meal with stone pestles, eventually wearing bowl-like depressions in the rock. In the early 20th century the Mason-McDuffie Real Estate Company developed the surrounding Northbrae subdivision. . . . — Map (db m53852) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — J. Gorman & Son BuildingConstructed circa 1880 — Additions and renovations 1890, 1906, 1940, 2005
City of Berkeley Landmark designated in 1982 John and Margaret Gorman moved their furniture and upholstery shop to this location in 1880. It is one of Berkeley's oldest commercial buildings and a surviving example of the Victorian-era "corner store." The original two-story structure fronts Telegraph Avenue. The Parker Street wing, diagonal corner entrance, and turret were added in 1906. The entire structure was renovated in 2005. Gorman's inventory became known for the . . . — Map (db m29371) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Jensen HouseGeorge Jensen, Builder — 1891
City of Berkeley Landmarks designated in 1996 This is one of the earliest houses built in the north Berkeley hills. George Jensen came from Denmark and was a contractor in Los Angeles before moving to Berkeley. Members of the Jensen family lived in the house for nearly a century. In 1912, following the influence of Berkeley’s Hillside Club and its advocacy that homes should blend with nature, the Victorian-style house was clad in wooden shingles. The Jensen House is one of only 50 . . . — Map (db m53887) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — John Hinkel ParkClubhouse: John Gregg, Designer, 1918 — Amphitheater: Vernon Dean, Designer, 1934
City of Berkeley Landmark designated in 2001 In 1919 John and Ada Hinkel donated seven hillside areas to the City of Berkeley in appreciation of the Boy Scouts’ service to the nation during the First World War. Before making their gift, the Hinkels added a playground, trails, a massive stone fireplace, and clubhouse. John Gregg, University of California landscape professor and president of the city’s park commission, contributed to the park design and designed the rustic redwood . . . — Map (db m53849) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — John Muir SchoolJames W. Plachek, Architect, 1915, — Collins-Byrens & Gerson-Overstreet, 1976 & Baker/Vilar Architects, 1998
City of Berkeley Landmark designated in 1983 John Muir School was built beside Harwood Creek on land once part of a 19th-century country estate. The half-timbered style reflects the scale and architecture of the neighborhood and the nearby Claremont Hotel. A remodeling project undertaken in 1976, in part for earthquake safety, rebuilt the interior but the exterior was preserved with the help of strong community support. The auditorium, preserved in its original condition, expresses the . . . — Map (db m54682) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Jos. H. McCourt / Bruno L. Putzker
In Memoriam Jos. H. McCourt 1877 – 1900 Co. F. 8th Cal Inf. U.S.V. – Co. I. 35th Inf. U.S.V. ——— Bruno L. Putzker 1880 – 1899 Btry. K. 3rd U.S. Army Berkeley men killed in action in Philippines Insurrection — Map (db m52400) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — La Loma StepsCirca 1910-1916
City of Berkeley Landmarks designated in 1995 When the La Loma Park subdivision was created in 1900, the streets were laid out in harmony with the natural contours of the land as advocated by Berkeley’s Hillside Club. The rustic quality of the stone walls, brick paving pergola, and benches along the steps reflects the Club’s philosophy of building with nature. Adjacent property owners donated land to create this public pathway, one of many in the Berkeley hills. These new steps allowed easy . . . — Map (db m53884) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Live Oak Park1914 — Berkeley History
Live Oak Park was created in 1914 when the City of Berkeley purchased four acres from landowners R.S. Penniman and Michael O’Toole. Mr. Penniman’s brown shingle house served as the park clubhouse and also, from 1916-1936, as Berkeley’s North Branch Public Library. The Walnut Street bridge over Codornices Creek was constructed in 1915 and an aviary featuring “a nice assortment of rare birds” was added a few years later. Also built at about this time, the tennis courts and the park’s . . . — Map (db m54190) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Longfellow SchoolCity of Berkeley Landmark — designated in 1995
William C. Hays, Architect, 1922 James W. Plachek, Architect, 1930 John Reid, Jr., Architect, 1935 ELS/Elbasani & Logan Architects, 1998 As electric streetcar transportation improved and expanded in the early 20th-century, this section of Berkeley became a desirable residential area. In 1905 a wood frame school with four classrooms was moved to this site to meet the needs of a growing population. A larger brick-faced building was constructed in 1922 and enlarged in 1930. In the . . . — Map (db m53873) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Lorin Theater(Philips Temple C. M. E. Church) — City of Berkeley Landmark, designated in 1982
Hiram Lovell, Architect, 1910, 1914 James W. Plachek, Architect, 1921 The popularity of early movies created a demand for new spaces to accommodate eager audiences. South Berkeley’s first neighborhood theater with 144 stools for seats was established across Adeline Street in a storefront. In 1910 this building was constructed with 400 seats. It was soon enlarged to 800 seats. The owners advertised that “every foot of film’ that was shown has passed their own “personal . . . — Map (db m53816) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — McCreary-Greer House1901 — City of Berkeley Landmark - Designated 1986
The McCreary-Greer House and neighboring turn-of-the-century houses on this block are survivors of one of the first residential districts developed around the University campus. This house, with its original garden area and carriage house, represents a highly decorative version of Colonial Revival architecture. Ruth Alice Greer, who was long associated with the University of California Education Department, grew up in the neighborhood and purchased this property in 1961. In 1986 she . . . — Map (db m52300) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Morse BlockDickey and Reed, Architects — 1906
Charles Dickey, whose firm designed the Claremont Hotel and who practiced architecture extensively in California and Hawaii, designed this building with two residential floors above commercial storefronts. From 1921 to 1935 the ground floor was occupied by Donogh Drygoods, one of Berkeley’s leading downtown retailers and a competitor of Hink’s department store one block to the north. The store was a “daylight store,” lighted by windows, skylights, and french doors that opened onto . . . — Map (db m52313) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Mortar Rock
Mortar Rock takes its name from the many holes worn in these hard lavas by Native American women pounding and grinding acorns and other seeds into meal. This staple food could be stored and later cooked into cakes or porridge. Native Americans also used many of the other plants in this park. California bay trees (Umbellularia californica), relatives of avocados, provided oily, nutritious nuts. Their pungent leaves, like those of mugwort (Artemisia californica) helped keep . . . — Map (db m53850) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Mrs. E.P. (Stella) King BuildingAlbert Dodge Coplin, Architect — 1901
City of Berkeley Landmark designated in 2005 This corner store was built for Stella King’s dry goods business and upstairs residence. Until the shop closed in 1923, it was a gathering place where neighbors could find everything from sewing supplies to baled hay. Self-taught designer A.D. Coplin used narrow shiplap siding and scroll-sawn eave details, adapting Colonial Revival and Craftsman styles into his eclectic design. Although modified for different uses over the years, the E.P. . . . — Map (db m54722) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — North Berkeley Congregational (Grace North) ChurchJames W. Plachek, Architect, 1913
City of Berkeley Landmark designated in 1999 When architect James Plachek was hired at the age of 29 to design this church, it was his first major commission in Berkeley. He later designed many public and commercial buildings, including the Berkeley Public Library. Because of its similarity to many Arts and Crafts-style homes of the same era, the church was nicknamed the “Berkeley Bungalow Church.” Although nearly half its parishioners lost their homes in the 1923 Berkeley Fire, . . . — Map (db m54187) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — North Branch Berkeley Public LibraryJames W. Plachek, Architect, 1936
City of Berkeley Landmark Designated in 2001 North Branch Berkeley Public Library James W. Plachek, Architect, 1936 North Branch Library is one of Berkeley’s many civic buildings by James Plachek, including the Central Library (1930), the Claremont Branch Library (1924), and John Muir School (1919). Well sited in a triangular park, the building offers a harmonious gateway to the surrounding Northbrae neighborhood. It was designed in the Spanish Revival style with a low-pitched red . . . — Map (db m15868) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Northbrae Public ImprovementsJohn Galen Howard, Architect; R.A. Mansell, Landscape Architect 1907 — City of Berkeley Landmark - designated in 1992
Berkeley's Northbrae residential subdivision was opened in 1907 by the Mason-McDuffie Company, John Galen Howard - then Supervising Architect of the University of California - designed the Circle and the stairways, benches, and stone pillars used as streetmarkers. The landscape of broad, curving streets and a network of pathways and staircases that connected with streetcars and a commuter train was designed by the University of California professor and landscape architect R.E. Mansell. Many of . . . — Map (db m36674) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Orchard LaneHenry Atkins, Designer — 1909
City of Berkeley Landmark designated in 1991 One of Berkeley’s romantic treasures, Orchard Lane is the formal pedestrian entrance to the Panoramic Hill residential neighborhood. The walk and grand Classical staircase, complete with pillars, balustrades, concrete benches, and an overhanging bower of trees, was built by Warren Cheney, who developed Panoramic Hill. In 1904 Cheney, the former editor of the literary magazine The Californian, purchased the land. In 1909 he commissioned . . . — Map (db m54692) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Panoramic HillListed on the National Register of Historic Places — A National Historic District
Berkeley History The Panoramic Hill Historic District typifies Berkeley’s early hillside neighborhoods. Steep and narrow Panoramic Way, carved out in 1888, opened the hill to residential development. University professors and early Sierra Club members were among the first residents. They engaged such influential architects as Ernest Coxhead, Bernard Maybeck, Julia Morgan, Walter H. Ratcliff, Jr., Walter Steilberg, and William Wurster, whose work collectively span several eras of Bay Region . . . — Map (db m54694) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Peet’s Coffee & TeaBerkeley History
A revolution began here in 1966 when Alfred H. Peet (1920-2007) opened his first coffee roastery and store. Arriving in San Francisco in 1955, “Mr. Peet” was dismayed by the poor quality of coffee in his adopted country. He had learned about coffee roasting from his father in Holland and had further refined his tastes working in the tea business in Indonesia. Seeking a place for his specialty coffee business, Mr. Peet took the advice of a prophetic friend who suggested this spot, . . . — Map (db m54188) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Philadelphia Quartz CompanyFurnace Room #1 and Mixing Room — Constructed 1917-1918
Berkeley History Reflecting West Berkeley’s early industrial heritage, this plant remains one of the city’s largest brick buildings. Once used to produce chemicals for a cluster of nearby industries that manufactured soaps, cleaning agents, paper products, and adhesives, the plant employed 124 workers at the peak of activity in 1960. The Furnace Room housed “the Mammoth,” a large revolving heated steel drum that combined sand and soda ash to produce molten silica. Constructed . . . — Map (db m53812) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Roos Bros. BuildingMiller and Pflueger, Architects, 1926 — City of Berkeley Landmark, designated in 1984
In 1876 the Central Pacific (later Southern Pacific) Railroad expanded into downtown Berkeley. What is now Shattuck Square was the site of freight yards; Berkeley Station was located on the smaller block to the south. By 1903, as the business district grew, the existence of freight yards in the downtown was no longer considered appropriate. A small park with palm trees, lawns, and benches replaced the eastern side of the yards. The block was subsequently sold for development. This . . . — Map (db m52384) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Rose WalkBernard Maybeck, Designer and Architect; 1913 — Henry Higby Gutterson, Architect, 1924-36
City of Berkeley Landmark designated in 1991 Rose Walk was designed by Bernard Maybeck and completed in 1913 with donations from the neighbors. The walkway linked the Euclid Avenue streetcar line with residences higher on the hill. After the 1923 Berkeley Fire swept through the neighborhood, the property bordering the walk was developed by Dr. Frank Gray and his wife, Florence Dickens Gray. The complex of houses, duplexes and cottages, built between 1924 and 1936, was designed by Henry . . . — Map (db m53859) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — S.H. Kress Co. StoreEdward f. Sibbert, Architect 1933 — City of Berkeley Landmark, designated in 1981
Samuel H. Kress began his chain of retail stores around 1900 and soon these “five and dime” variety stores dotted downtowns across America. Kress’s own company architects designed stores of high quality and adapted them to fit into the context and scale of each city’s main street. The Moderne-style building designed for Berkeley was built to withstand earthquakes. It features light-brown bricks, terracotta ornamentation, and decorative metalwork on the fire escapes. The marquee is . . . — Map (db m52380) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Santa Fe Railway DepotCharles Frederick Whittlesey, Architect — 1904
City of Berkeley Landmark designated in 2001 During the early 20th century, the Santa Fe Railroad provided three-day passenger and freight service between Chicago and the Bay Area. This depot was one of three major rail stations in Berkeley. It was closed in 1964 and converted to a restaurant. In 2003, the Berkeley Montessori School renovated the building. Charles Whittlesey, an innovator in reinforced concrete design, was chief architect for the Santa Fe Railroad and designer of . . . — Map (db m53828) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Shattuck SquareJames Miller and Timothy Pfleuger, Architects 1926 — City of Berkeley Landmark, designated in 1984
Shattuck Square is a group of three buildings constructed on the site of a former railroad freight yard, as a northern anchor to Berkeley’s historic downtown commercial district. It is the city’s only work by the San Francisco architectural firm that also designed 450 Sutter Street in San Francisco and the Paramount Theater in Oakland. This striking complex displays varied and elaborate cast-concrete ornamentation and window detail in a Spanish Colonial style. Over the years, this building has . . . — Map (db m52391) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Site of David Park’s StudioBerkeley History
In the 1940s painter David Park (1911-1960) had a studio in a brick building that once occupied this site. Despite a well-received exhibition of his abstract expressionist works at the San Francisco Museum of Art in 1948, Park rejected abstraction and took many of his paintings of the previous three years to the city dump. Discovering a new freedom in “the natural development of the painting,” Park began creating richly colored and textured works depicting the human figure and . . . — Map (db m52388) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Site of Hunrick Grocery Store1908
City of Berkeley Structure of Merit designated in 1988 German immigrant George Hunrick built one of Berkeley’s many neighborhood groceries on this site when the north Berkeley hills were in an early stage of development. In those days before home refrigeration, customers gave their orders to the grocer in the morning for afternoon delivery by horse and wagon. In the early 1920s the business changed hands and, under various owners, continued in operation as the Rose Grocery until 1966. The . . . — Map (db m54189) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Site of John Hinkel Livery Stable, 1900Berkeley Farm Creamery Complex — F.E. Armstrong, Contractor, 1910
City of Berkeley Landmark designated in 1998 By 1900, downtown Berkeley had developed around Shattuck Avenue, its main street. On this site, owned by John Hinkel, stood a brick livery stable run by John Fitzpatrick, the early operator of the Ocean View Trolley. In an era of horse-drawn transportation, the centrally located livery stable was advertised to Furnish at all hours Hack, Carriages and Coupes.” The stable had 16-foot-high brick walls and an arched entry. A complex of . . . — Map (db m54346) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Site of Napoleon Bonaparte Byrne House1868 — City of Berkeley Landmark
In 1858, prosperous farmer Napoleon Bryne sold his Missouri land and journeyed west with his wife Mary Tanner Byrne, four children and other relatives. Two freed slaves, Pete and Hannah Byrnes, came with the family and became Berkeley’s first known African-American residents.

Bryne bought 827 acres of hillside land here beside Codornices Creek for $25 to #35 an acre and built a formal Italianate-style house. The land proved unproductive for farming, so the Byrnes moved to the Sacramento . . . — Map (db m54728) HM

California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Site of Pump House - Peet Brothers/Colgate PalmoliveBerkeley History
In the early 20th century, a thriving manufacturing district grew up in southwest Berkeley. This is the site of a former saltwater pump house, located on what was once the east shoreline of San Francisco Bay. The pumps supplied water used in the production of soap at the Peet Brothers Soap Company plant located a quarter of a mile from here. Remnants of the saltwater pipelines are visible on the west embankment of the Southern Pacific railway track. The Peet Company, which began in 1916, later . . . — Map (db m54669) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Site of the Kellogg SchoolBerkeley History
An apple orchard, two houses, and a tailor shop once occupied this block. In 1879, six local businessmen and a university professor financed the purchase of part of the block near Oxford Street as the site for one of the city’s first public schools. The building was named for Board of Education president Martin Kellogg, the University of California’s seventh president. The wood frame Victorian-style Kellogg School had three classrooms and separate entrances for girls and boys. Students ate . . . — Map (db m54336) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Site of Thousand Oaks School(Demolished in 1998) — William C. Hays, Architect, 1919; Stone and de Sanno, Architects, 1928
City of Berkeley Landmark designated in 1993 The residential subdivision of Thousand Oaks was incorporated into Berkeley in 1920. On this site, one year earlier, a new school building overlooking Blackberry Creek was built to replace wooden bungalows which had served as an elementary school. This school, designed by William C. Hays, Professor of Architecture at the University of California, had a third floor added in 1928. It was modified again in 1935 for earthquake safety. Designed in a . . . — Map (db m53847) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Soda Works BuildingE.A. Spalding, Contractor 1888
Robert Agers constructed this building to manufacture "the very best soda water" for customers throughout California. The recessed storefronts, second-floor oriel windows, and high false front are all largely unchanged from a 1904 expansion. The building evokes Berkeley's early small-town character when Telegraph Avenue was lined with wood frame houses and small shops. In 1969, during the People's Park protests, Alameda County sheriff's deputies fired at spectators, mortally wounding James . . . — Map (db m29383) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — South Berkeley BankWells Fargo Bank, South Berkeley Branch — John Galen Howard, Architect, 1906
City of Berkeley Landmark designated in 1982 In the early 20th century, this was one of two banks anchoring the busy Lorin business district’s streetcar intersection. The building remained a bank until the 1980s. Its architecture combines a restrained Mission Revival façade with Beaux-Arts classical details and a modified Renaissance tempietto corner entrance. These features evoke a serious, solid edifice typical of financial institutions of that time. Howard is noted for his many . . . — Map (db m53815) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Spenger’s Fish Grottoc. 1890 — City of Berkeley Landmark - Designated in 2001
Clam chowder, baked beans and 10¢ beer – these and fish dinners drew crowds to fabled Spenger’s. It all began in the 1860s when Johann Spenger from Bavaria started fishing in the Bay. The gabled structure he built here housed his business and family. In the 1930s, son Frank opened a ground floor restaurant, gradually adding dining rooms and bars as the establishment’s popularity grew. Celebrities from Ernest Hemingway and Clack Gable to Jack Dempsey and Joe DiMaggio rubbed elbows with . . . — Map (db m52303) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Strand (Elmwood) TheaterAlbert W. Cornelius, Architect — 1914
City of Berkeley Landmark designated in 1982 Built as the Strand Theater in the Art Nouveau architectural style, this was one of the neighborhood’s first commercial structures. Admission was ten cents for adults, five for children and the theater advertised as “catering to the family.” After closing in 1941, it reopened as the Elmwood in 1947, with a new zigzag Moderne decor. The opening movies were “The Macomber Affair,” starring UC Berkeley alumnus Gregory Peck, and . . . — Map (db m54813) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — 22 — Studio Building 1905-06City of Berkeley Landmark No. 22 — National Register of Historic Places
First home of the California College of Arts and Crafts — Map (db m52397) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Temple of WingsBernard Maybeck/A. Randolph Monroe, Architects; 1911 — Edna Deakin/Clarence Dakin, Architects; 1924
City of Berkeley Landmarks designated in 1992 In one of Berkeley’s more eccentric experiments in living, Charles and Florence Boynton built their family residence as a version of a Greco-Roman temple with no walls. Two circular, open-air porches were ringed by 34 concrete Corinthian columns. Canvas shades were hung between the columns in bad weather. A curving roof formed the building’s “wings.” And a central open-terrace served as a stage where Mrs. Boynton, a girlhood friend of . . . — Map (db m53864) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — The 1923 Berkeley Fire
On the morning of September 17, 1923, a grass fire spread from Wildcat Canyon over the hills into Berkeley. Driven by hot, dry winds, the fire spread rapidly across the northeast residential districts of the city, burning as far south and west as this downtown block. In just a few hours, nearly 600 homes and dozens of entire blocks burned north of the University of California campus and east of Shattuck Avenue. Downwind, a rain of blowing embers started small fires and endangered buildings . . . — Map (db m54213) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — The Kelsey RanchBerkeley History
On a once rural site now bordered by Russell Street, College Avenue, and Stuart Street, the Kelsey family planted orchards and grew ornamental plants on land they purchased in 1860. The 24-acre Kelsey Ranch supplied trees and plants for the grounds of the new University of California campus as well as the elms which later gave the Elmwood neighborhood its name. The land was subdivided after John Kelsey’s death in 1880 and new streets, including Cherry, Kelsey, and Hazel (now a part of . . . — Map (db m54691) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — The Poetry GardenBerkeley Garden
This garden honors Berkeley’s many innovative poets, poetry presses and publications, and their creative legacy. It was dedicated in 1999 on the second anniversary of “Beat” poet Allen Ginsberg’s death. Through their writings, the nonconformist Beat poets sought liberation from traditional social, political, artistic, and personal conventions. Ginsberg lived across the street in a now-demolished house at 1624 Milvia Street while writing, among other poems, parts on his once-banned . . . — Map (db m54191) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — The Shuman BlockMcDougall Brothers, Architects — 1906
Berkeley History Horse-drawn wagons once carried goods to the Berkeley Free Market housed here. In 1952 the structure was modernized to accommodate automobile showrooms, with artist studios above. Richard Diebenkorn, Elmer Biscoff, William Theophilus Brown, and Paul Wonner are among the prominent Bay Area painters who rented studios here. Together with David Park, who had a studio in downtown Berkeley, Bischoff and Diedenkorn founded the Bay Area Figurative style. While here, in 1955-1956, . . . — Map (db m54333) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Thousand Oaks Neighborhood and UrnsCirca 1909-1910 — Mark Daniels, Landscape Engineer
Berkeley History In the early 1900s, the natural beauty of this undeveloped district, with dramatic rock outcroppings and ancient oaks made it a favorite destination for picnickers and hikers. After a campaign to make the area a city park failed, real estate promoter John Hopkins Spring subdivided the land in 1909. He advertised: “We are touching this, nature’s masterpiece, with a reverent hand.” Landscape engineer Mark Daniels laid out building lots and winding roads . . . — Map (db m53848) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Toveri Tupa – Finnish HallAugust Trille, Designer, 1908 — Listed on the National Register of Historic Places
City of Berkeley Landmark designated in 1979 Toward the end of the 19th-century, a large Finnish immigrant community was located in west Berkeley. Together they constructed this wooden building which integrates traditional Finnish and American vernacular elements. An auditorium with stage, a kitchen and dining hall, a library, and a sewing room helped make Toveri Tupa (“Comrades’ Lodge”) a center of community life. Vigilante mobs vandalized the building after striking . . . — Map (db m53834) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Tupper & Reed BuildingWilliam Raymond Yelland, Architect; 1925 — Listed on the National Register of Historic Places
City of Berkeley Landmark designated in 1984 John Tupper and Lawrence Reed constructed this building for their music store, which they had established in Berkeley in 1906. University of California art professor Eugen Neuhaus complimented them as businessmen whose commissioned design rose above “the dreadful boredom of the commonplace that so often makes of architecture a stupid business and not a stimulating art!” Architect W.R. Yelland (1891-1966), a UC graduate, designed . . . — Map (db m54507) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — United States Post OfficeOscar Wenderoth, Architect; 1914 — Listed on the National Register of Historic Places
City of Berkeley Landmark designated in 1980 Berkeley’s elegant Main Post Office is representative of the Second Renaissance Revival style, also called Neo-Classical Revival. Government buildings constructed in this era were designed to “educate and develop the public taste and eventually elevate it to a higher plane.” Classical motifs decorate the building’s exterior and interior. The exterior terra cotta arches that are supported by plain tuscan columns are repeated on the . . . — Map (db m54260) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Veterans Memorial BuildingHenry H. Meyers, Architect, 1928 — City of Berkeley Landmark,designated in 1985
In the early 1920s Alameda County voters approved a special tax to construct buildings that would honor war veterans and provide a meeting place for their organizations. The City of Berkeley contributed the land for this building. Designed in the Classic Moderne style by county architect Henry Meyers, it is an important part of the large and harmonious array of civic facilities around the park in Berkeley’s Civic Center. Display cases in the lobby contain mementos of veterans’ organizations. . . . — Map (db m52399) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Whittier SchoolDragon, Schmidts, Hardman and Officer, Associated Architects, 1939 — Chester Bowles, Jr. and Associates, 1994
City of Berkeley Landmark designated in 1984 This reinforced concrete Moderne-style building replaced an 1892 wood frame school. Faculty of the original school planted the five Coast Redwoods at the southwestern edge of the school grounds. The structure is notable for its molded detailing, fluted columns, curve balconies, and rooftop sun deck. Spacious classrooms with large operable windows expressed an early 20th-century emphasis on the healthful benefits of sunlight and fresh air. . . . — Map (db m54192) HM
California (Alameda County), Berkeley — Workingman’s Hall1879 — Berkeley History
Originally located at Sixth and Delaware streets, this simple wooden building was constructed by volunteers from the Workingman’s Club, a west Berkeley political organization. Built as a reading room for laborers, it was used briefly as Berkeley’s town hall shortly after completion. In 1882, a Methodist congregation moved the building to this location. It later was home to a succession of churches, schools, and fraternal organizations. The rustic gabled structure without ornamentation is . . . — Map (db m53836) HM
California (Alameda County), Castro Valley — 776 — Site of the First Public School in Castro Valley
This site was part of the original Don Castro Land Grant. In 1866 pioneer settler Josiah Grover Brickell made a land grant of this site for “educational purposes only” and paid the teacher’s salary, who taught children by day, in a one room school house, and farm hands at night by candlelight. — Map (db m52091) HM
California (Alameda County), Dublin — Amador Valley Hotel(Later the Dublin Hotel)
For 86 years a favorite congregating spot. Built by John Green in 1860, with a balcony over the porch and a gabled roof. A famous cross-roads stop and transfer point on the Oakland-Stockton and Martinez-San Jose stagecoach routes intil the 1890's and then for buses until demolished in January 1946. This marker stands on the site of the front doors. — Map (db m59944) HM
California (Alameda County), Dublin — Dobbel Family
Margaret Tehan Dobbel, the granddaughter of Jeremiah and Ellen Fallon. She was born in Jeremiah Fallon’s home, Dublin, 1874. She married Julius Dobbel and had 13 children. They raised cattle and sheep at Rice, Camel, Dougherty and Donlon Ranches. — Map (db m26822) HM
California (Alameda County), Dublin — Don Jose Maria AmadorSoldier - Explorer - Pioneer - Rancher
Jose Maria Amador, born 1794 at San Francisco Presidio, spent his early years in the Mexican Army, as soldier, explorer, Indian fighter, and was later administrator at Mission San Jose. Amador was paid for his service with land, a grant stretching from Danville on the north to Pleasanton, and from the crest of the western ridge to the crest of the east. In 1826 Amador built his home about 800 ft. west of this marker on the site of Alamilla Spring. He was the first settler in this valley . . . — Map (db m69727) HM
California (Alameda County), Dublin — Flanagan Family
John & Katherine Donlon Flanagan from Longford, Ireland came to Dublin in 1868. In 1896 John was blinded, but continued to raise sheep and farm with the help of his wife and 3 girls, Eva, Katherine (Murphy), and Elizabeth (Nevin), who was a teacher at Murray School. — Map (db m26785) HM
California (Alameda County), Dublin — Heritage Park & Museums
This seven acre park is on the site of Dublin's original settlement that was established in 1850. Within the park are the 1856 Murray Schoolhouse, the 1859 St. Raymond Church, the 1880 Kolb Old House, the 1911 Kolb Craftsman Bungalow, the 1870 Sunday School Barn, and the 1900 Hay Barn. — Map (db m59946) HM
California (Alameda County), Dublin — Mape Memorial Park
Commander John "Jack" Clement Mape USN, was Dublin's first casualty of the Vietnam War. A 40-year old father of seven, Mape lived in Dublin and was stationed in Alameda, CA. He was assigned to Squadron VA-52 of the USS Ticonderoga in September, 1965. As commander, Mape led the VA-52 on a mission over Hanoi. On that day, April 13, 1966, his plane was hit by a Sam missile. There were no survivors. Jack Mape was a true American hero, one of Dublin's Finest. — Map (db m69725) HM WM
California (Alameda County), Dublin — Norris Family
It took 6 months for Leo and Mary Jane Norris to come to California by covered wagon. In 1852 Leo purchased 10,000 acres from Don Jose Maria Amador for $20,000 and one white horse. Their lands include most of present day San Ramon Valley. Later, the Harlan and Glass families bought land from Leo Norris. — Map (db m27669) HM
California (Alameda County), Dublin — Old St. Raymond’s Church1860
The Oldest Extant Catholic Church Building In Alameda and Contra Costa Counties This land was donated as a Catholic site by Michael Murray and Jeremiah Fallon, who was one of the rescuers of the ill fated Donner Party in the Sierra. Tom Donlan was killed during construction of the old church. All three are buried in the adjoining pioneer cemetery. This plaque Donated and Dedicated September 9, 1967 — Map (db m26701) HM
California (Alameda County), Dublin — Rod R. Fallon
Son of Jeremiah and Ellen Fallon. Regarded with great respect by people of the area for his honesty and integrity. Renowned for his fine horsemanship and proficiency with the riata (rawhide rope), which sometimes was up to 70 feet in length. He always rode excellent horses and was a fine rifle shot. He was superintendent of Dougherty Ranch. He died Feb. 21, 1932. — Map (db m26722) HM
California (Alameda County), Dublin — Site of the Dougherty Station Hotel
Built at the crossroads in 1862 by James Witt Dougherty where it served travelers going by stagecoach from Oakland to Stockton and from San Jose to Martinez and Sacramento. This area was named Dougherty Station from 1862 until 1878, and the hotel alternated with the Green Store as Post Office. John Bonde owned and operated the hotel from 1895 until the early 1920's. Henry Bevilaqua, Charlie Mayo, the Bertola Family and others operated a restaurant here from the early 1920's until destroyed by fire on July 5, 1955. — Map (db m69726) HM
California (Alameda County), Dublin — Tehan Family
William born in Kilkenny, Ireland, 1845. Ellen Fallon Tehan, daughter of Ellen and Jeremiah Fallon, was a year old when she came west by covered wagon from St. Joseph, Mo., in 1846. William and Ellen’s marriage was the first in Old St. Raymond’s Jan 1, 1866. They operated the Dublin Hotel in 1873. It was an important crossroads stagecoach stop. — Map (db m28612) HM
California (Alameda County), Dublin — The Green Store
Built in 1860 by John Green this building has been in constant use as a business building. It began as a general store, changed into a neighborhood pub, and now is a restaurant. From 1914 – 1948 the northeast corner of the building was the Dublin branch of the Alameda County Library. In 1980 it was saved from destruction through the efforts of the Dublin Historical Preservation Association and was restored and expanded in 1984 by the Star Foods Corporation. — Map (db m28578) HM
California (Alameda County), Emeryville — California & Nevada Railroad1884 – 1903
A 3 foot narrow gauge railroad starting on land owned by Joseph E. Emery, later president and founder of the City of Emeryville. The line started at 40th and San Pablo, extended through Berkeley and up San Pablo Creek to Bryant (Orinda) 23 miles hauling farm products and passengers mostly on picnic specials. The Santa Fe Railway purchased the C&N RR on March 17, 1903. The first through train ran into Emeryville May 16, 1904, completing the Santa Fe line to Chicago. Passenger service . . . — Map (db m72398) HM
California (Alameda County), Emeryville — Key Route Terminal
This was the main terminal for the Key System Railway during World War II. The Shipyard Railway – also known as the “Pass the Ammunition” Railway – was built by the Key System for the United States Maritime Commission. In operation from 1943 through 1945, the railway was crucial in transporting workers to Richmond’s Kaiser Shipyard during wartime gasoline and tire rationing. — Map (db m72396) HM
California (Alameda County), Emeryville — Oakland Ball Park
This plaque marks the site of Oakland Ball Park From 1913 to 1955 the home of four time Pacific Coast League Champions The Oakland Oaks Whose ranks included baseball legends Casey Stengel and Billy Martin — Map (db m72399) HM
California (Alameda County), Fremont — Ardenwood Historic Farm / George Washington Patterson Ranch
This Property The George Washington Patterson Ranch Has been placed on the National Register of Historic Places By the United States Department of the Interior November 29, 1985 — Map (db m28825) HM
California (Alameda County), Fremont — De Anza Expedition 1775 - 1776
Lt. Colonel Juan Bautista de Anza by decree of Carlos III of Spain led an expedition to this site – The mission being to colonize the San Francisco Bay Area. In the center of the marker is a circular motif, designed by Doris Birkland Beezley, of a rider superimposed upon a sun-like set of compass points, with the "De Anza Expedition 1775 1776" written above the rider. Map (db m26666) HM
California (Alameda County), Fremont — D26 — Ehrman General Store
With the discovery of gold in California, the town around the Mission San Jose became the gateway and provision center for the “49er” on his way to the Southern Mines. To meet these demands, the firm of Strauss and Co. was founded by S. Strauss, Leon Kerman and S. Bachman in an old adobe on this site. After a succession of partnerships with A. Lebrecht and brother Max Ehrman, Solomon Ehrman built this brick structure in 1894. The Ehrman General Store served for years as the . . . — Map (db m64904) HM
California (Alameda County), Fremont — Essanay Film Studio
The western branch studio of the Essanay Film Manufacturing Company stood on this site from 1913 to 1933. It was the first movie studio built for that purpose in Northern California. The Essanay company of 52 people led by movie star cowboy Gilbert M. “Broncho Billy” Anderson arrived in Niles in April 1912, attracted to this community by its favorable weather and Niles Canyon scenery. Over 100 films were made from their headquarters in a barn on Second Street by the time the . . . — Map (db m63811) HM
California (Alameda County), Fremont — Essanay Studio SiteAmerica’s First Hollywood
Francis X. Bushman, Charlie Chaplin, Wallace Beery, Marie Dressler, Ben Turpin, Vic “Slippery Sam” Pottel and “Alkalie (sic) Ike” starred here 1910/1912. Earliest films starred Gilbert Anderson (Max Aronson) alias “Bronco Billy,” 1958 Oscar winner. What colorful secrets echo thru Niles Canyon, these streets and bungalows of Niles glorious past. — Map (db m64009) HM
California (Alameda County), Fremont — Leal Tank House
Joseph Silviera Leal and Julia Perry Leal built this tank house on their ranch in the Mission San Jose area of Fremont in 1925. The lower floor was a storage room and the upper floor a bedroom. The tank on top stored 5,000 gallons of water pumped from a 100' deep well. It was the only source of water for the Leal home and livestock for 57 years. The tank house was reconstructed at Ardenwood in 2004 by community volunteers from local Rotary Clubs and spearheaded by members of Mission San . . . — Map (db m29090) HM
California (Alameda County), Fremont — 642 — Leland Stanford Winery
This winery was founded in 1869 by Leland Stanford. Railroad builder, Governor of California, United States Senator, and founder of Stanford University. The vineyard, planted by his brother Josiah Stanford, helped to prove that wines equal to any in the world could be produced in California. The restored buildings and winery are now occupied and operated by Weibel Champagne Vineyards. California Registered Historical Landmark No. 642 — Map (db m31398) HM
California (Alameda County), Fremont — 334 — Mission San José
At the Ohlone Indian village of Oroysom, Padre Fermín Francisco de Lasuén founded this fourteenth of twenty-one Franciscan missions June 11, 1797. Taught by Padre Narcisco Durán, the Ohlone Orchestra and Choir became famous. By 1830 almost 2,000 Indians were living at the mission. The mission was secularized in 1836 and its lands divided into ranchos. During the Gold Rush, a store in the west wing outfitted miners. The 1868 earthquake destroyed the adobe church and most other mission buildings. . . . — Map (db m31411) HM
California (Alameda County), Fremont — 490 — Mormon Pioneers / Mormon Pioneer Adobes
[Side A:] Mormon Pioneers Mormon pioneers traveled far in search of a land where they could worship God in an environment of religious tolerance. Named below are some of the pioneers who settled in Washington Township. They sailed here aboard the ship Brooklyn (1846), trekked west with the Mormon Battalion (1847), or came shortly thereafter by land or by sea. Many of these settlers became prominent citizens. Local streets, schools, and landmarks bear some of their names. . . . — Map (db m28707) HM
California (Alameda County), Fremont — 246 — Pioneer Schoolhouse & Chapel
Approximately one mile west John M. Horner built the first American schoolhouse non-Catholic chapel in Centerville, Alameda County, 1850. Said to be the first Latter Day Saint Chapel in California. A small structure with three windows in the side and a door in front. Later it was moved to Irvington. Harvey Green was the first teacher. Horner operated the first stage line and steamboat in the county and built the first road, bridge and fences. His son William was the first white American born in . . . — Map (db m26629) HM
California (Alameda County), Fremont — Site of First Post Office
Site of the First Post Office In Niles Established 1873 William Synder Postmaster Annual Salary $12.00 — Map (db m63809) HM
California (Alameda County), Fremont — The Chadbourne Carriage House
Thomas Jefferson Chadbourne and his wife Nettie built this Victorian carriage house in the 1870’s. He owned fine racing horses and stock horses and wanted them housed in suitable surroundings. They purchased the property in 1872 from Charles C. Breyfogle, one of the first assessors in Alameda County and his wife Hannah, who signed the petition to establish the First Presbyterian Church here. The residence built by Breyfogle in 1851, was a humble adobe dwelling compared to the carriage . . . — Map (db m28826) HM
California (Alameda County), Fremont — 46 — Vallejo Flour Mill
Site of flour mill, Niles, built 1853 by Don Jose De Vallejo, brother of General Vallejo, on his Rancho Arroyo De La Alameda. Niles was once called "Vallejo Mills". Stone aqueduct carrying water for mill parallels Niles Canyon Road. — Map (db m14801) HM
California (Alameda County), Fremont — Washington Hotel
Washington Hotel originally located across the street as a two story adobe building. Destroyed by the 1868 earthquake. Rebuilt on the present site in the same year. The building has served as a hotel, stage stop, state library, and present day bed and breakfast inn. — Map (db m54668) HM
California (Alameda County), Fremont — World War II War Memorial
In Memory of War Heros World War II 1941 Ernest A. Azevedo Joseph T. Silveira Tony Carodza, Jr. — Map (db m26636) HM
California (Alameda County), Hayward — Hayward Public Library
Don Guillermo Castro, founder of the city, preserved the plaza for the enjoyment of the citizens, and in 1856 conveyed to them ownership of the land forever. This library, originally constructed on the plaza in 1951, and enlarged in 1958, was extensively remodeled, expanded, and rededicated to the people of the City of Hayward, June 7, 1981. City Council Julio J. Bras • Shirley J. Campbell • Alex Giuliani • George P. Oaks • Lawrence J. Ratto • Gail Steele • Ilene Weinreb, Mayor Library . . . — Map (db m28774) HM
California (Alameda County), Hayward — 1025 — Honcharenko’s Sanctuary
Along the ridge behind this panel lies a 52-acre parcel of historical significance. This farmstead known as “Ukraina” was the home of Ukrainian patriot, writer, and publisher Father Agapius Honcharenko. He and his wife Albina lived here for 43 years during their exile from Ukraine. Born in Kiev in 1832, Honcharenko attended Kiev Theological Seminary and entered a monastery at 21. He was appalled by the Church’s suppression of peasants while the monks lived in luxury. This lead him . . . — Map (db m26499) HM
California (Alameda County), Hayward — Juan Bautista de Anza Expedition Campsite #98
Lt. Colonel Juan Bautista de Anza by decree of Carlos III of Spain led an expedition to this site – The mission being to colonize the San Francisco Bay Area In the center of the marker is a circular motif, designed by Doris Birkland Beezley, of a rider superimposed upon a sun-like set of compass points, with the "De Anza Expedition 1775 1776" written above the rider. Monument Dedication: This monument was erected on this location where Lt. Colonel Juan Bautista de . . . — Map (db m28815) HM
California (Alameda County), Hayward — Rancho San Lorenzo
Original site of corrals of Don Guillermo Castro and part of 26,722 acre grant of Rancho San Lorenzo made by Governor Michaeltorena, 1842. Rancho adobe stood on present site of City Hall. Castro’s wife was Marie Luisa Peralta, daughter of grantee of Rancho San Antonio. His cousin was Juan Bautista Alvarado. Governor, 1836 – 1842. — Map (db m41629) HM
California (Alameda County), Hayward — The Palmtag Building
This building replaces the two-story Palmtag Building, originally constructed by Leopold Palmtag in 1892. He settled in Hayward in 1860 and served as a town trustee. The building housed various businesses, including a radio station and a drug store. The original brick, flat-roofed structure was a vernacular Italianate design. He building was damaged by the 1906 Earthquake. Subsequent changes to the building included the removal of the original architectural detailing. An arched doorway in . . . — Map (db m28907) HM
California (Alameda County), Livermore — Bank of Italy Building
This granite faced building was designed in the Classic Renaissance Revival Style for the Bank of Italy in 1921. It later became the thirteenth branch of the Bank of America. From 1957-1978, this building served as Livermore's city hall. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places May 1978 Plaque designated by Livermore Heritage Preservation Commission July 1987 — Map (db m17878) HM
California (Alameda County), Livermore — Carnegie LibraryBuilt 1911
Livermore Public City Library 1911 to 1966 City of Livermore Historic Preservation Landmark Site Dedicated July 1996 Operated by Livermore Area Recreation and Park District Nearby Rededication Plaque reads: Andrew J. Carnegie Building Constructed 1911 Beautified and rededicated in the spirit of our American Revolution July 4th 1977 Livermore Bicentennial Organization L.A.R.P.D. and the citizens of Livermore — Map (db m17754) HM
California (Alameda County), Livermore — 641 — Concannon Vineyards
Here, in 1883, James Concannon founded the Concannon Vineyard. The quality it achieved in Sacramental and commercial wines helped establish Livermore Valley as one of America’s select wine growing districts. Grape cuttings from this vineyard were introduced to Mexico between 1889 and 1904 for the improvement of its commercial viticulture. — Map (db m31397) HM
California (Alameda County), Livermore — 586 — Cresta Blanca Winery
Here, Charles A. Wetmore planted his vineyard in 1882. The Cresta Blanca wine he made from its fruit won for California the first international award. The highest honor at the 1889 Paris Exposition. First bringing assurance to California wine growers that they could grow wines comparable to the finest in the world. — Map (db m52090) HM
California (Alameda County), Livermore — D. F. Bernal BuildingBuilt Circa 1910
Constructed with bricks salvaged from the Livermore Brewery, built 1874, destroyed by fire 1908 City of Livermore Historic Preservation Landmark Site Dedicated July 1996 — Map (db m17870) HM
California (Alameda County), Livermore — Duarte GarageBuilt 1915
Service Station and Car Dealership Situated on the Original Route of the Lincoln Highway ———————— City of Livermore Historic Preservation Site Dedicated July 1996 Operated by The Livermore Heritage Guild — Map (db m19994) HM
California (Alameda County), Livermore — First Presbyterian Church Memorial ChapelBuilt 1874
The First Presbyterian Church was the City's first Protestant church and an early significant religious institution of the City. Commemorated by City of Livermore Historic Preservation Commission May 2007 — Map (db m17843) HM
California (Alameda County), Livermore — Joaquin Murrieta and Murrieta's Well
The legend of Joaquin Murrieta is one of the most enduring and fascinating of chapters in California history. Facts, fiction and romantic tales entangle to create a legend of unique aura that had become part of California's folklore, especially in the Livermore Valley where Joaquin was a frequent visitor. In the early 1850's Joaquin Murrieta roamed this land. Most famous as an avenging outlaw or a Robin Hood, Joaquin Murrieta and his men were above everything else horsemen, and of the best . . . — Map (db m17944) HM
California (Alameda County), Livermore — Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
The Laboratory opened September 2, 1952 at this site, initially as a branch of the University of California Radiation Laboratory. Prior to the Lab's opening, this 630-acre parcel was the site of Livermore Naval Air Station, a World War II pilot training facility. Founded by Ernest O. Lawrence and Edward Teller, the Atomic Energy Commission opened the Laboratory to help maintain America's superiority in nuclear deterrence and ensure national security. Throughout its history, the Lab has . . . — Map (db m25251) HM
California (Alameda County), Livermore — Livermore Flagpole
A flagpole has anchored this site since 1905. On July 4, 2005, the citizens of this community dedicated a new flagpole. Sixty feet of the original flagpole stand in nearby Carnegie Park. Both symbolize the strength of our nation and its people. Commemorated by the City of Livermore Historic Preservation Commission May 2008 — Map (db m17872) HM
California (Alameda County), Livermore — Livermore Southern Pacific Depot
This railroad station having been located about half a mile west of the old town of Laddsville, on land owned by Wm. M. Mendenhall. Established the location of the town Livermore. The first depot was a freight car that was soon replaced by a building. In 1891 this building burned, and by August 1892 a combination passenger and freight depot was built. Dedicated April 13, 1991 by Joaquin Murrieta Chapter 13 E Clampus Vitus — Map (db m19993) HM
California (Alameda County), Livermore — Livermore Town Hall Jail and Firehouse
[Upper Marker:] Built 1875, this building was first a hotel then the Livermore Valley Bank. It was the Livermore Town Hall from 1905 to 1957. The jail was in the rear, and to the left the firehouse. It was here a light bulb was lit and continues to burn to this day. Dedicated by Joaquin Murrieta Chapter 13 E Clampus Vitus October 5, 1985 [Lower Marker:] Old City Hall and Firehouse Built 1882 On this site: Wooden Boarding House, c.1874 Bank of . . . — Map (db m19982) HM
California (Alameda County), Livermore — Mills Square Flag PoleRaised September 9, 1905
Made from one log, originally 126 feet in length. 18 inch diameter at base, 5,300 pounds Shortened 14 feet in 1959 City of Livermore Historic Preservation Landmark Site Dedicated July 1998 — Map (db m17785) HM
California (Alameda County), Livermore — 241 — Robert LivermoreFirst Settler of Livermore Valley
Born in England 1799 – Died Rancho Las Positas 1858; Arrived in Monterey 1822. Married Josepa Hicutera y Puentas 1830. Settled on Rancho Las Positas 1835. “Next to the Mission Padres, he was the first man to engage himself in the culture of grapes, fruit and grain.” The Livermore Hacienda was a short distance north of this spot. — Map (db m31410) HM
California (Alameda County), Livermore — Sister City Program
“The Sister City Program is an important resource to the negotiations of governments in letting the people themselves give expression of their common desire for friendship, goodwill and cooperation for a better world for all” President Dwight D. Eisenhower (circa 1956) On Monday, August 23, 1999, the City of Livermore’s City Council dedicated Sister City Park as a gesture of friendship and goodwill to its sister cities. “The flags from our sister cities . . . — Map (db m19970) HM
California (Alameda County), Livermore — Tolliver Airship
Eight miles southwest of this location, in the Spring of 1904, Charles Tolliver built an airship. With an aluminum superstructure covered with 6,000 yards of rongee silk, the craft was to be 250 feet long, 40 feet wide and 44 feet high. Four gasoline powered engines and six propellers - two on each side, one in the front, one rear. There was no need for rudders with this type of construction. Mrs. Phoebe Hearst was the main financial backer, contributing 72,000 dollars to the project. . . . — Map (db m19968) HM
California (Alameda County), Livermore — Veteran's Memorial BuildingBuilt 1931
Donated to Alameda County by Livermore Post, American Legion City of Livermore Historic Preservation Heritage Site Dedicated July 1996 Operated by Livermore Area Recreation and Park District — Map (db m17768) HM
California (Alameda County), Livermore — 957 — Wente Bros. Winery
Here the first Wente Vineyards of 47 acres was established by C.H. Wente in 1883. In 1935 his sons, Ernest and Herman, introduced California’s first varietal wine label, Sauvignon Blanc. The efforts of the Wente family have helped to establish the Livermore Valley as one of the premier wine-growing areas of California. In their centennial year, Wente Bros. is the oldest continuously operating, family-owned winery in California. California Registered Historical Landmark No.957 Plaque . . . — Map (db m31408) HM
California (Alameda County), Livermore — William M. Mendenhall 1823 – 1911 / DeAnza Expedition Campsite
[Located at the Livermore Civic Center is a two-sided monument. Side 1 is a marker dedicated to William M. Mendenhall, founder of the town of Livermore. Side 2 is a marker marking this site as a campsite of the Juan Bautista de Anza Expedition of 1975 -76] [Side 1:] William M. Mendenhall 1823 – 1911 Pioneer settler, a descendant of Quakers who emigrated from England with William Penn. He crossed the plains on horseback in 1845. Was a member of Fremont’s . . . — Map (db m19981) HM
California (Alameda County), Mountain House — Mountain House SchoolEstablished 1893
Current site constructed 1923 Alameda County, California For the purpose of providing a continuation of essential education and learning Angelita Parlor No. 32, N.D.G.W, Livermore, California Donner Parlor No. 193, N.S.G.W., Byron, California May 18, 2002 — Map (db m25298) HM
California (Alameda County), Newark — Wind-Powered Archimedes Screw-Pump
Regional Historic Mechanical Engineering Landmark Wind-Powered Archimedes Screw-Pump ca. 1890 Newark, California This late example of the wind-driven Archimedes screw-pump shifted brine from on salt concentrating pond to one of next higher salinity in the age-old process of recovering salt by solar evaporation. The screw-pump concept was attributed to Archimedes (287 – 212 B.C.). The windmill drive on the pump shaft originated in Holland before 1600. Andrew . . . — Map (db m71365) HM
California (Alameda County), Niles — “The Bankers Building”A Fremont Bank Building
This building was originally constructed as the Niles Branch of the Bank of Alameda County. Its doors opened on Monday, September 23, 1929. The construction was considered a “new modern building” that would be “a model of banking efficiency.” Great pride was taken in selecting the materials. The bricks, made of mulberry clay, were fabricated in San Francisco. The interior designers would “endeavor to make this bank the most striking in this township.” . . . — Map (db m24455) HM
California (Alameda County), Niles — Completion of the Transcontinental RailroadNiles, California
“May God continue the unity of our country as this railroad unites the two great oceans of the world.” The gold spike ceremony at Promontory, Utah in May of 1869 united the tracks of the Central Pacific and Union Pacific Railroads. However the trails did not span the United States from ocean to ocean until some months later. In September the final link between San Francisco and Sacramento was completed near the Flour Mill of Jesus Vallejo, a short distance east of this location. — Map (db m24473) HM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — USS Oakland Mast
The ship’s mast in front of you is salvaged from the USS Oakland, an anti-aircraft cruiser – typical of many ships that received supplies sent from the Oakland Naval Supply Depot during World War II. The Oakland was assigned to the fast carrier strike force. The force was a self-defending convoy of aircraft carriers, battleships, destroyers, submarines and cruisers, equipped to travel at speeds over 30 knots. The Oakland participated in many of the war’s major battles and . . . — Map (db m72102) WM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — 1946 General Strike
Site of the 1946 General Strike when Woman Retail Clerks fought For the Right to Organize a Union — Map (db m72701) HM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — 442nd Regimental Combat Team Memorial
Dedicated on August 7, 1992, by E Company Veterans of the 442nd Regimental Combat Team, the most decorated United States Army Unit of World War II. The all volunteer 442nd Combat Team was composed of Americans of Japanese ancestry, from the Territory of Hawaii, and the United States, many that volunteered from American concentration camps, into which these citizens had been forcefully evacuated by the United States Government in 1942. — Map (db m64182) HM WM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — A Haven for Artists
In the late 1800s, Joaquin Miller hosted gatherings of such notables as authors Jack London, Ambrose Bierce, Mark Twain, Bret Harte and Prentice Mulford; English humorist and playwright Tom Hood; illustrator/engraver Frank Leslie; poet Walt Whitman, Ina Coolbrith, and George Sterling; English statesman and writer Lord Houghton; actress Lillie Langtry. — Map (db m71761) HM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — Alameda County Courthouses
These five panels tell the stories of Alameda County's five courthouses. Alameda County’s 1st Courthouse Alvarado • 1853-1855 Alameda County’s first courthouse was a converted loft space above a general store in the frontier town of Alvarado, near where Alameda Creek flowed into San Francisco Bay. The building, demolished many years ago, was located on what is now the northwest corner of Union City Boulevard and Smith Street in Union City. Henry Clay Smith, a State . . . — Map (db m72064) HM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — Antonio Bras Columns
These granite columns are all that remain of 4460 Howe Street, built in 1898. This residence was the home of various families connected to St. Mary's and Mountain View Cemeteries and their supporting business. 4460 Howe Street originally belonged to Angus McIsaac, superintendent of St. Mary's Cemetery, and later to his daughter and sons, at least one of whom worked for the cemetery. The property was also associated with Percy and June Hassard, florists here in the 1930's. By about 1936, the . . . — Map (db m18600) HM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — Anza Expedition of 1776La Expedición de Anza de 1776
This marker consists of two duplicate plaques, one in English and the other in Spanish. The Peralta Family Legacy Luis Maria Peralta was just 17 when he and his family set off for the Bay Area in September 1775m from the town of Tubac, Mexico (then in New Spain, now in Arizona near the Mexican border). His family joined other military families on an expedition sent north to strengthen Spain’s claim to Upper California, under the command of Juan Bautista de Anza. The group . . . — Map (db m71330) HM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — Asian Resource Center
1922 A neo-gothic Code Machine Factory never realized On the top floor Women of Chinatown sewed parachutes for WWII — Map (db m72763) HM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — Australian Aviators
To the memory of the Australian Aviators Sir Charles Kingsford-Smith and Captain Charles T. P. Ulm This plaque is dedicated by the Board of Port Commissioners of the City of Oakland as a permanent tribute to the courage and foresight of these gallant airmen. Their aeronautical exploits – starting in 1928 with the pioneering flight of the Southern Cross from Oakland to Australia and thence continued around the globe by Kingsford-Smith to complete at Oakland the . . . — Map (db m71201) HM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — Black Panther Party Stoplight
Text for this marker is found on both sides of the panel. Side 1 On August 1, 1987 This stoplight was installed as a result of a community initiative spearheaded by the Black Panther Party Side 2 After several children attending the nearby Santa Fe Elementary School were killed and many injured by motorists at this intersection, the demand for a traffic signal by the Anti-Poverty Center and the Black Panther Party began in June, 1967. However, the Oakland City . . . — Map (db m72395) HM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — C. L. DellumsJanuary 3, 1900 – December 6, 1989
I am the Master of my fate / I am the Captain of my soul Sculptor: Carol Tarzier Funded by Federal Transportation Enhancement Activities Grant Commissioned by City of Oakland Public Works Agency encircling the base 1923 - Arrives in Oakland 1925 - Organizes Brotherhood of Sleeping Car Porters on the West Coast 1929 - Vice President of Brotherhood of Sleeping Car Porters until 1958 1941 - Begins Battle for Fair Employment Practices 1948 - Chairman of the West . . . — Map (db m71326) HM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — California Cotton MillBuilt in 1883 — Fruitvale History Tour Site
The California Cotton Mill was one of Oakland’s earliest and largest industries. Jingletown was named for the mill workers’ habit of jingling coins in their pockets on payday. At its height, the mill had 600 to 700 employees and 20 to 30 buildings. I closed in 1956. — Map (db m71211) HM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — Chabot ObservatoryFounded 1883
This marker, dedicated June 21, 2008, celebrates Chabot Space & Science Center's 125 years of inspiring Bay Area star gazers and curious minds of all ages. From 1883-1915, an observatory on this site housed Chabot's first telescope, "Leah," an 8-inch refractor donated by Anthony Chabot. {Marker continues on next tile:} Chabot Observatory Today "Leah," Chabot's original 8-inch refractor, is still in use today at the new Space & Science Center, located in Joaquin Miller . . . — Map (db m18875) HM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — Chappell Roland Hayes1948 – 1994
Community activist and environmentalist, Chappell Hayes was the driving force behind the Clean Air Alternative Coalition which successfully convinced CalTrans to re-route the new Cypress freeway away from West Oakland neighborhoods. Mr. Hayes developed programs for at-risk youth and helped to redefine environmental issues to include broader urban concerns, such as poverty and racism. As an entrepreneur, community leader, member of many boards and commissions, and devoted community builder, Mr. . . . — Map (db m72223) HM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — Charles P. Howard Terminal
The marine terminal you are facing is the easternmost of the Port of Oakland’s container shipping facilities. Howard Terminal is operated as a joint venture of SSA Terminals and Matson Navigation Company, the principal carrier of containerized freight and automobiles between the West Coast and Hawaii, Guam, and the Mid-Pacific. Equipped with three articulated boom cranes and one low-profile crane, the terminal can accommodate two containerships. It covers 50.3 acres and can handle . . . — Map (db m71327) HM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — 48 — Charles S. Greene LibraryAfrican-American Museum and Library at Oakland — Oakland Landmark Number 48
Dedicated in 1902 as the Oakland Public Library, this was the first Carnegie Library built in Oakland. Designed in the American Beaux Arts style by architects Bliss and Faville (who later designed the Hotel Oakland), it was Oakland's main library until 1951. Oakland had outgrown its first public library, a wooden structure built in 1878 on the site of today's City Hall. Charles S. Greene, City Librarian from 1889 tp 1926, began a campaign to construct a new one. Andrew Carnegie's . . . — Map (db m18670) HM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — CHL 694 — Church of St. James the Apostle
This church founded under authority of Bishop Kip, first Episcopal Bishop for California, has given uninterrupted service to this community since June 27, 1858 — Map (db m72140) HM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — Commemoration of Old Redwood Road from Redwood Canyon
Commemoration of Old Redwood Road from Redwood Canyon 1859 – 1867 Peralta Adobe Chapel incorporated In the home of George and Mary Coonan McCrea Oakland Chapter Sons of the American Revolution 7 October 1976 — Map (db m71735) HM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — Cryer & Sons
In operation on the Oakland waterfront from 1907 to 1989, Cryer was one of the best-known builders of small boats in the Bay Area. Founded in San Francisco in the 1890s by English-born William Cryer, the yard was later taken over by his son William James Cryer, and finally his grandsons William J, Cryer III and Robert R. Cryer. Originally William Cryer & Son, later W.J. Cryer & Sons, the yard occupied two sites on Brooklyn Basin – at 11th Avenue (1907-1912) and Dennison Street (1912-1989) . . . — Map (db m71421) HM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — Dunsmuir House
Within this crescent shaped valley is the beautiful 37-room Dunsmuir House, an example of colonial revival Victorian architecture. Built in 1899 on a 415 acre estate by Alexander Dunsmuir, heir to a Canadian coal and lumber fortune, for his bride Mrs. Josephine Wallace. He died in 1900 and she in 1901. In 1906, her daughter Edna Wallace Hooper, sold it to the I.W. Hellman, Jr. family who used it as a summer residence for over 50 years. Now located on a 49 acre site, it belongs to the City of . . . — Map (db m72061) HM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — Early Harbor
Creating the Cove The transformation of the estuary from industrial harbor to recreational waterway is a major trend in Oakland’s history. The change began at this spot. The Oakland Municipal Yacht Harbor – the city’s first public marina – opened here in 1930. Developed by the Port of Oakland, the marina adjoined the moorage of the Oakland Yacht Club, founded in 1913 with Jack London as one of its early members. In the 1970s and 1980s, the Port redeveloped the shoreline of . . . — Map (db m71420) HM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — El Camino Rancho San Antonio
About 1820, along this route ran the earliest known road from Mission San Jose over Rancho San Antonio to the ranchos north. Erected by Oakland Chapter, Daughters of the American Revolution, 1939 — Map (db m54112) HM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — El Campanil
El Campanil is the first concrete reinforced structure built west of the Mississippi — Map (db m40071) HM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — Evolution of a Marine Terminal
Oakland’s waterfront has been rebuilt many times in response to changes in marine technology. In 1900 coal-laden schooners discharged their cargo into bunkers on Howard Terminal’s pier. Dockside warehouses, known as transit sheds, held break-bulk cargo (such as bags of wheat) for the return trip. Longshoremen moved cargo between shore and vessels with hand trucks, shipboard derricks, and cargo nets. Finger piers reached out from the shore to deeper water. When shipbuilding transitioned from . . . — Map (db m71328) HM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — First Latitude Sighting of the Golden Gate27 March 1772
Capt. Don Pedro, Father Fray Juan Crespi, fourteen soldiers, and a Christian Indian, camped here and took a latitude sighting of the Golden Gate. Agalanes • John Rutledge • Ann Loucks • Mount Diablo • Berkeley Hills • Oakland Campanile • Peralta • Copa de Oro • Sierra • Edmund Randolph • Toison de Oro • Esperanza • Piedmont — Map (db m72138) HM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — First Successful Non-stop Trans-Pacific Air Flight
On Tuesday, June 28, 1927, at 7:08 a.m. Lieutenant Lester J. Maitland and Lieutenant Albert F. Hegenberger, Air Corps United States Army, took off from Oakland Municipal Airport on the first successful non-stop trans-Pacific air flight arriving at Wheeler Field, Schofield Barracks, Island of Oahu, Territory of Hawaii, on Wednesday, June 29, at 6:29 a.m., (Honolulu Time) covering a distance of 2416 miles. — Map (db m71200) HM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — 896 — First Unitarian Church of Oakland
Designed in 1889 by Walter J. Mathews, this solid masonry Romanesque church departed radically from California's traditional Gothic wood frame construction. Noted for its world famous stained glass windows produced by Goodhue of Boston, and for arching redwood spans, the widest at that time west of the Rockies, the church remains a significant cultural and architectural landmark. California Registered Historical Landmark No. 896 Plaque placed by the State Department of Parks and . . . — Map (db m18736) HM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — Francis Marion “Borax” Smith1846 - 1931
The West was pioneered by remarkable men, one of whom was Francis Marion “Borax” Smith. A Wisconsin farm boy, he became one of the great entrepreneurs of California and Nevada. By 1890 he dominated the borax industry and his trademark, the 20-Mule Team, was known across America. Borax Smith’s life shows how a person with a lively imagination, a willingness to take risks on a large scale, and a strong will to succeed and can accomplish great things. Mules in Oakland? In . . . — Map (db m72139) HM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — Heinolds’ First and Last Chance Saloon
Two plaques are placed on Heinold's First & Last Chance Saloon. above National Register of Historic Places Heinolds’ First and Last Chance Saloon in continuous operation on this site since 1883 and closely associated with the famous author Jack London was listed on the National Register of Historic Places On September 1, 2000 below Friends of Libraries USA Literary Landmarks Register designates Heinold’s First and Last . . . — Map (db m71296) HM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — History of the Transbay Ferry
Ferry service between Oakland and San Francisco has played a vital role over 145 years. The earliest licensed operator was Captain Thomas Gray who started his stern-wheeler river boat, the “General Sutter”, from a landing at the foot of Broadway in the Fall of 1851. As the demand for transportation of mail, horses, wagons, passengers and cargo grew, so did the number of ferry boat services (many of “questionable reliability”). Ferry transit reached its peak in the . . . — Map (db m71255) HM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — In Memory of Col. John Coffee Hays1-28-1817 • 4-21-1883
Born near Little Cedar Lick, Wilson County, Tennessee. Lived in Mississippi, where he learned surveying. Joined Republic of Texas Army in May, 1836, and served 3 years in ranger/spy companies. Gained fame as an Indian fighter while surveyor for Bexar County, Texas. In 1840, age 23, appointed Captain of Rangers, later a Major. Was in more than 40 Indian/Mexican fights, including Plum Creek, Bandera Pass, Battle of Salado, Enchanted Rock and Painted Rocks. As Colonel of 1st Regiment, Texas . . . — Map (db m55204) HM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — Jack London1876-1916
In 1886, ten year old Jack London traveled to Oakland with his family and led the rough and ready life of countless other working class lads of that era. Though he labored at menial jobs, the world of books captured his imagination at an early age and his mind remained open to new ideas and learning. Jack London’s life and career were influenced by the colorful yarns from hard-drinking sailors and risk-taking oyster pirates that he heard in Heinold’s Saloon. A year in the frozen Yukon provided . . . — Map (db m71230) HM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — Jack LondonJanuary 12, 1876 – November 22, 1916
Oakland’s famed native son was the noted author of “The Call of the Wild”, “The Sea Wolf” and “South Sea Tales”. He was at various times a sailor, Alaskan gold miner, salmon fisher and longshoreman. For a time he was politically involved in making socialist speeches and served as a war correspondent at different periods in the Far East and Mexico. — Map (db m71295) HM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — Jack London Square Development
The building behind you was the Port of Oakland headquarters from late 1961 until 1990. An aluminum skin now covers what was a 1920s cold storage building, the Haslett Warehouse. One third of the original building was demolished to allow construction of a second tunnel to Alameda, the Webster Street Tube, which was completed in 1963. The former warehouse was remodeled in 1960, and port employees moved their offices from the Grove Street Pier to their new home in late 1961. The area around . . . — Map (db m71272) HM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — Jack London’s Cabin
In 1968 Russ Kingman, an area businessman with a passion for Jack London, headed an expedition to the Alaskan wilderness to authenticate a tiny cabin discovered in the woods on the north fork of Henderson Creek. The cabin was said to be the location where Jack London wintered in 1897-98 when he was prospecting during the Yukon gold rush. Kingman brought Sgt. Ralph Godfrey, handwriting expert from the Oakland Police Department’s forgery detail, along to verify London’s signature which was . . . — Map (db m71293) HM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — Jefferson Square Park
1853 Oakland was shaped by seven GREEN SQUARES Downtown’s living rooms now only five Parks bring out the Goodness of good people — Map (db m72832) HM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — Joaquin Miller’s Abbey
The tiny cottage known as “The Abbey” was built by the 19th century poet and environmentalist Joaquin Miller as part of a inspirational artists’ retreat. He purchased 70 grassy acres, parcel-by-parcel, in “The Hights” above the “City of the Oaks” in 1886 and erected monuments, structures for his mother and daughter, and coordinated the planting of 75,000 trees – Monterey pine, Monterey cypress, olive and eucalyptus. Below the photograph of . . . — Map (db m71759) HM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — John "Alex" Alexander1924-1993
John "Alex" Alexander spent his entire working life at Naval Supply Center Oakland. Symbolic of the many dedicated civilians who worked on the base, Alex inspired others through his tireless work on behalf of the community at large and promoted public service among his coworkers. He received many awards and citations, including Father of the Year Award from the Institute of Black Studies in Oakland and the Civilian Meritorious Service Medal, the United States Navy's highest civilian award. Alex . . . — Map (db m63171) HM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — Kennedy Tunnel
Opened in 1903, the timber-lined Kennedy Tunnel was the fast route between Oakland and Lafayette, saving four hours of driving around the San Pablo Reservoir. In 1914, it was wired for lights and renamed the Broadway Tunnel. In 1937, after the completion of the Caldecott Tunnel, the Kennedy Tunnel was closed to motor cars, allowing only foot, horses and two-wheeled traffic. In 1947, the timber lined tunnel was permanently closed due to repeated cave-ins and rising maintenance costs. It finally . . . — Map (db m71764) HM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — Key Route Train Station
On this spot on June 1, 1904, the first Key Route electric train arrived to be welcomed by a crowd of excited residents. From a new ferry pier on the bay off Emeryville it had brought officials and guests to a dedication ceremony here. Key founder and president, “Borax” Smith welcomed the crowd to the latest form of rapid transit. In 1937 a new station was built for streamlined trains which started running over the Bay Bridge in 1939. Train time from here to First and Mission St. in . . . — Map (db m72279) HM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — Lafayette Square Timeline
This marker consists of a number of inscribed metal strips embedded in the walkway. 1853 - Map of Oakland is laid out by J. Kellersberg showing seven public squares, including Lafayette Square. Six are symmetrical around Broadway, the seventh is City Hall Square. 1879 – “The City hasn’t duly considered the importance of these squares. As the City becomes more densely developed, open space will become priceless” – Mayor Washburn Andrus. 1883 - Anthony . . . — Map (db m72733) HM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — Latham Memorial Fountain Unveiled
Edith Latham and her brother Milton had been gathering the memory of their parents in drawers, cabinets and living rooms until there was no longer space. Their need for a permanent storage site and longing to share the memories led them to imagine a memorial fountain in the center of Oakland, the city James and Henrietta Latham had pioneered. The children wrote a letter to Mayor Mott requesting his assistance in exchange for the resources required and the Society for the Prevention of Cruelty . . . — Map (db m72711) HM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — 40 — Leimert Bridge
The Sausal Creek Arch Bridge, commonly known as the Leimert Bridge since its completion in 1926, is a graceful example of a fixed arch bridge. George Posey, Alameda County Surveyor and engineer of the Posey Tunnel connecting Alameda and Oakland, designed the concrete and steel bridge, which is 357 feet long and 117 feet high. The Park Boulevard Company, owned by Walter and Harry Leimert, was responsible for building the bridge and running the Key System streetcar line across it, so that . . . — Map (db m71767) HM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — 107 — Liberty Hall
Built in 1877, Liberty Hall embodies the many layers of West Oakland history. It is an outstanding example of mid-Victorian commercial architecture, with octagonal turrets, ornamental brackets and window hoods. It was operated as the Western Market by its original owner Harry A. Zeiss, who lived upstairs, and later by another German family, that of Johan Breiling. Early West Oakland was famed as a “melting pot” with large, strong ethnic communities, among them German, Irish, . . . — Map (db m72100) HM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — Live Oak Lodge U.D
This Monument marks the approximate location of a building in the loft of which Live Oak Lodge U.D. Free and Accepted Masons of Calif. was instituted on Aug. 19. 1854 That meeting was the beginning of Masonic activities in Alameda County — Map (db m71213) HM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — 28 — Oakland City Hall
Begun in 1911 and completed in 1914, this is Oakland’s fifth City Hall. Its construction was funded with a $1.15 million bond issue passed in 1909. The Beaux Arts design was by the New York firm of Palmer and Hornbostel, winners of a national design competition for a building that would reflect Oakland’s arrival as a major metropolis. For many years the tallest building in Oakland, it was reputedly the first city hall in the United States to combine the ceremonial aspects of government . . . — Map (db m72702) HM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — Oakland Railroad History
The railroad industry transformed Oakland from an oak forest to a thriving city. Rapid growth began when the Central Pacific Railroad absorbed local rail lines in 1868 and was granted right-of-way to build a freight and ferry pier. The Oakland Long Wharf, which extended into the bay off the end of Seventh Street, was completed in 1871 and became California's principal rail terminus. Central Pacific reorganized as Southern Pacific and sustained a waterfront monopoly for decades until a series of . . . — Map (db m19209) HM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — Oakland Rails
Railroad Heritage The opening of the transcontinental railroad in 1869 reduced travel time between the East and West Coats from as much as four months by sea to just six days. The Central Pacific made Oakland its western terminus. In 1871, the railroad completed the two-mile-long Long Wharf off the city’s western shoreline, where the trains and ocean-going cargo ships. The railroad stimulated Oakland’s rapid growth as a shipping and population center, giving birth to the modern city. . . . — Map (db m71297) HM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — Oakland War Memorial
In memory of the heroes of the Civil War, Spanish War and the World War who gave their lives that liberty shall not perish June 14, 1920 — Map (db m72915) WM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — Oakland’s ChinatownsWa Sung Community Service Club
This marker is made up of two markers and two plaques on the same monument. One Community, Many Locations Chinese first settled in Oakland in the 18502 during the California Gold Rush. Unlike San Francisco’s Chinatown, Oakland’s Chinese community remained relatively small in the 1800s. Faced with the same challenges and obstacles as other Chinese settlements of the time, the Chinese were constantly being relocated outside of desirable neighborhoods. In 1880, the site of . . . — Map (db m72762) HM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — Oakland's First Public School
Map (db m18541) HM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — Oakland's First Wharf
This is the approximate site of the first wharf authorized by the town of Oakland and constructed by Horace W. Carpenter at the foot of Main Street (now Broadway) in 1852. The wharf was used for shipping lumber and supplies. — Map (db m71235) HM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — Origins of Oakland
In 1850, a twenty-six year old New Englander named Edson Adams set his sights on 480 acres of oak covered shore at the foot of what is now Broadway, on the banks of San Antonio Creek. Although the land was part of the Peralta family rancho he and fellow speculators, Horace Carpenter and Andrew Moon, laid out lots and planned a town. The legality of their actions would be discussed in the courts for years to come. In 1852 the State Legislature incorporated the township of Oakland. The . . . — Map (db m71271) HM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — 884 — Paramount Theatre
This is a superior rendering of the "Art Deco" or "Moderne" style of movie palace built during the rise of the motion picture industry. The Paramount, which opened on December 16, 1931, is the most ambitious theatre design of architect Timothy L. Pflueger. Restored in 1973, it has retained an exceptional unity of style. California Registered Historical Landmark No. 884 Plaque placed by State Department of Parks and Recreation in cooperation with the Theatre Historical Society, December 16, 1976 — Map (db m54073) HM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — 925 — Peralta HaciendaBegun in 1821 — Fruitvale History Tour Site
The first known inhabitants of Fruitvale were the Ohlone. In 1820 the Spanish crown gave this land to Luis Peralta, making Peralta Hacienda the first non-native settlement in Oakland. From 1820 to 1897, the family had a rancho at this site. Until the 1850’s it stretched from El Cerrito to San Leandro. Antonio Peralta built the adobes, living with his first wife, Maria Antonio Galindo, and later his second wife, Maria Dolores Archuleta. He built the surviving house after being widowed in 1870. — Map (db m28960) HM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — CHL 107 — Poet of the Sierras
Joaquin Miller, “Poet of the Sierras,” resided on these acres, named by him “The Hights,” from 1886 to 1913. In this building known as The Abbey, he wrote “Columbus” and other poems. The surrounding trees were planted by him and he personally built, on the eminence to the north, the funeral pyre and monuments dedicated to Moses, General John C. Fremont and Robert Browning. “The Hights” was purchased by the City of Oakland in 1991. Tablet . . . — Map (db m71763) HM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — Pony Express Ferry "Oakland"
Dedicated April 23, 1999 Jack London Square By Port of Oakland, William Campbell Family, Dreyers Grand Ice Cream, Alameda/Oakland Ferry Service, Waterfront Plaza Hotel & Jacks, Sportsman's Hall - Pollock Pines Pony Express Home Station, Pony Express Trail Association Sponsors: Walter R. Harmon • Miller Packing Company • Dealey, Renton and Associates • Piedmont Grocery Company • Employees of Scotts Seafood • Oakland Association of Realtors • Oakland Metropolitan Chamber of . . . — Map (db m19017) HM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — Preservation ParkAn Overview
Oakland in the late 19th century was a thriving waterfront city, the second largest in the state. A center of commerce and industry, it was also known for advanced notions of civic improvement. Public schools and academies, convenient transit, and an oak-studded, parklike landscape made Oakland a very desirable place to live. Pictures of early Oakland neighborhoods are immensely appealing. Larger homes were set in sumptuous gardens, and even ordinary cottages are built along handsome . . . — Map (db m18771) HM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — CHL 970 — Rainbow Trout Species Identified
The naming of the Rainbow Trout species was based on fish taken from the San Leandro Creek drainage. In 1855, Dr. W.P. Gibbons, founder of the California Academy of Sciences, was given three specimens obtained from the creek. He described and assigned them the scientific name Salmo iridia. Rainbow trout are now worldwide in distribution and are highly prized game fish. — Map (db m71766) HM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — Rear Admiral R.J. "Bear" Arnold, U.S.N.
Point Arnold is named after Rear Admiral R.J. "Bear" Arnold, U.S.N.. During World War II, Arnold earned the Navy Cross for extraordinary heroism as the supply officer on the USS YORKTOWN at the Battle of Midway. Chief of the Bureau of Supplies and Accounts from 1954 to 1958, Arnold served as commanding officer of the Naval Supply Center, Oakland, from October 1958 until he retired in June 1960. — Map (db m62994) HM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — 962 — Site of Blossom Rock Navigation Trees
Until at least 1851, redwood trees on this site were used as landmarks to avoid striking the treacherous submerged Blossom Rock in San Francisco Bay west of Yerba Buena Island. Although by 1855 the original stems had been logged, today's trees are sprouts from their stumps. California Registered Historical Landmark No. 962 Plaque placed by the State Department of Parks and Recreation in cooperation with the East Bay Regional Park District, August 23, 1986. — Map (db m64485) HM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — 45 — Site of College of CaliforniaOriginal Campus of University of California
University of California, chartered March 23, 1868. Located between Franklin and Harrison, 12th and 14th Streets, from 1869 to 1873. Using buildings of former College of California, successor to Contra Costa Academy founded by Henry Durant, June 1853. He was elected first university president in June 1870. University moved to present Berkeley site September 1873. California Registered Historical Landmark No. 45 Plaque placed by State Department of Parks and Recreation in cooperation with the . . . — Map (db m19208) HM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — 676 — Site of Saint Mary's College
Site of St. Mary's College "The Old Brickpile" 1889-1928 Saint Mary's College Alumni April 25, 1959 California Registered Historical Landmark No. 676 — Map (db m18960) HM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — St. Augustine's Episcopal ChurchOakland Landmark Number 29
St. Augustine's, originally Trinity Episcopal Church, is one of the oldest Episcopal church buildings in continual use in the city of Oakland today. It was built on land donated by Reverend John Bakewell, D.D., beginning in 1892 and was consecrated on Easter Sunday in 1893. Dr. Bakewell went on to become the first rector of the church, and his name is commemorated by John Bakewell Memorial Hall. constructed in the rear of the church on 29th Street in 1925 for recreational activities. Designed . . . — Map (db m50215) HM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — The Black Panther's First Office
On January 2, 1967 The Black Panther Party for Self-Defense 0pened the Party’s first office at this location — Map (db m72382) HM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — The Creation of a Park
Joaquin Miller Park was formed in 1917 when the City of Oakland and its citizens – led by The California Writers Club – purchased 68 acres from the estate of Joaquin Miller, the noted 19th century “Poet of the Sierras” and environmentalist. By 1929, when developers began building nearby, the Save the Redwoods League purchased and later gifted (to the City of Oakland) the adjacent groves, known as Sequoia Park. Members of the California Writers Club created the . . . — Map (db m71737) HM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — The History of the Site of the Shade Tree
This bay front site originally bordered Ohlone Indian settlements. In 1820 the Spanish crown granted it to Luis Maria Peralta. In 1842 it was given to his son Antonio Maria Peralta. The area was acquired by Horace Carpenter (first mayor of Oakland), in 1852. He then founded the Oakland Waterfront Company. In 1892 Carpenter sold the site. Beginning with the Pacific Carbonic Gas Company in 1893, this site has been occupied by several important industries. In 1979, fortuitously, it was acquired by the Hon. Robert A. Schultz. — Map (db m71212) HM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — The Monument Loop: A Legacy
This 50-minute walk through the park features five rustic monuments. Four of them were hand-made by Joaquin Miller between 1892 and 1913. The walk is steep in places, but provides exhilarating views of the Bay and a visit to the Cascade. ”...maybe he was erecting some of the monuments or stone terraces; and did he point to the older trees, saying “Why! these trees, these very stones could tell how long I’ve loved them and how well, and in after years maybe I will . . . — Map (db m71736) HM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — The Pardee House
Built in 1868 by Enoch H, Pardee (1827-96), physician, Mayor of Oakland, State Assemblyman, and Senator, it was the home of the families E. H. Pardee and his son, George C. Pardee (1857- 1941) physician, Mayor of Oakland, Governor of California (1903-07), and President of the East Bay Municipal Utility District. — Map (db m71298) HM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — The Port of Oakland
The Port of Oakland was formed on November 10, 1925 when citizen passed bonds for the development of port facilities. On February 12, 1927, the first permanent Board of Port Commissioners was sworn in by Mayor John L. Davie, The Port’s headquarters were moved in 1931 from a downtown office building to the Grove Street Pier at the foot of what is now Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd. The Port office relocated to 66 Jack London Square in 1961 and to this current headquarters in 1990. A . . . — Map (db m71270) HM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — Training Wall
This stone wall you see before you is a partial replica of the north training wall, one of two historic jetties called “training walls” because they were designed to direct the forces of the ebb tide to scour Oakland’s shipping channel and keep it open. Before training walls were built, vessels often had to wait until high tide before they could sail through the shallow waters off of Oakland. The training walls were designed by the U.S. Army Corp of Engineers in 1874. Twenty years . . . — Map (db m72206) HM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — Union Point
Creating a Harbor Spreading before you is the Oakland Estuary. This sheltered inlet of San Francisco Bay was once fringed by broad marshes and shallow tidelands which became mud flats at low tide. A rich wildlife habitat, the estuary was a plentiful source of food for Native Americans. The Ohlone Indians established a village near this spot. A long-vanished shellmound was located near the village, marking the location of discarded shells from oysters, clams, and mussels. Beginning . . . — Map (db m72098) HM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — USS Oakland CL-AA 95Commissioned: 17 July 1943 Decommissioned: 1 July 1949
Commanding Officers Captain William K. Phillips, USN • Captain Kendall S. Reed, USN • Captain Allen P. Calvert, USN • Captain Thomas J. Casey, USN • Captain John N. Opie III, USN • Captain Hugh J. Martin, USN • Commander E.B. Ellsworth, USN The U.S.S. Oakland CL-AA 95 earned 9 Battle Stars * Gilbert Islands Operation: 13 Nov. to 8 Dec. 1943 * Marshall Islands Operations: 29 Jan. to 8 Feb. 1944 * Hollandia Operation: 21 April to 1 June 1944 * Asiatic – Pacific . . . — Map (db m72101) WM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — USS Potomac
Completed in 1934, the Coast Guard Cutter Electra was converted to the presidential yacht and commissioned as a U.S. Navy Vessel, USS Potomac, in 1936. The 165-foot ship, which weighs 376 gross tons and has a cruising speed of 10-13 knots, and served as Franklin Delano Roosevelt's "Floating White House" until the time of his death in 1945. USS Potomac endured a long decline, with many adventures and many owners, until 1981, when she was purchased by the Port of . . . — Map (db m19056) HM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — Water & Rails / Brooklyn Basin
There are two plaques, mounted back-to-back, on the same support for this marker. Water & Rails Rancho Heritage Under Spanish and Mexican rule, much of the East Bay, including all of present-day Oakland, lay within the boundaries of Rancho San Antonio. Granted in 1820 to Luis Maria Peralta, this 45,000 acre cattle ranch was one of the largest ranchos on San Francisco Bay. The Peraltas shipped out cattle hides and tallow from the Embarcadero de San Antonio, a . . . — Map (db m71422) HM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — Western Pacific Mole
On a January morning in 1906, two hundred workmen from Western Pacific Railway and thirty armed “company soldiers” landed on the north training wall and began laying track. Although the City of Oakland had invited this action, it was considered a brazen challenge to the Southern Pacific’s long standing monopoly of the waterfront. Southern Pacific promptly sued, claiming ownership of all land along the waterfront. In 1907, the court ruled against Southern Pacific in its suit. The . . . — Map (db m72207) HM
California (Alameda County), Oakland — Western Union Railroad Depot1910 – 1975 — Oakland Landmark
First Western Pacific transcontinental passenger train drawn by Engine No. 94 arrived in Oakland via Scenic Feather River Route August 22, 1910. Famed California Zephyr began operation in 1949. Adapted to restaurant in 1975. — Map (db m72109) HM
California (Alameda County), Piedmont — Eucalyptus AmphitheaterSummer Theater in the Park
“Loves Labor Lost,” a comedy by William Shakespeare, was the first play performed in the Eucalyptus Amphitheater in the spring of 1908. Set in a grove of trees for which it was named, the theater had a unique stage from which some of the giant trees burst through the floorboards. Miss Florence Nace, the first superintendent of the park, planned her open air venue in a rustic style. She echoed design elements from other areas of the park but included swings and hobby horses for the . . . — Map (db m72377) HM
California (Alameda County), Piedmont — Faux Bois BenchesStickwork Style a Tradition since 1877
In 1877, a prospectus for home sites in Piedmont Park showed a rustic wooden bench near the Piedmont Springs grotto. This bench began a tradition which was continued when Frank C. Havens renovated the park in 1890s, installing not only rustic benches but bridges, fences and other decorative elements made of natural materials. Although the benches were harmonious with the park setting, they were not durable. By the 1920’s, the stickwork versions were replaced by “faux bois” . . . — Map (db m72298) HM
California (Alameda County), Piedmont — Honor Roll
World War I Egbert Williams Beach • Henry Augustus Butters • Otto Julius Carlsen • Frank Jay Field • Thomas Edward Graves • Carl Castlemayne Jones • Hunter McClure World War II George David Anderson • John R. Anderson, Jr. • James M. Aver • Joseph G. Baker • John A. Beidman, Jr. • Geary Bundshu • Estiban B. Calbite • Thomas W. Carlson • Arthur Chamberlin, Jr. • Winslow K. Chase • William H. Chickering II • William A. Cluthe • Gordon H. Craig • Joseph DeGraftenreid • Theodore . . . — Map (db m72281) WM
California (Alameda County), Piedmont — Piedmont Art GalleryWorld Class Art Museum in the Park
In May 1907, patrons of the arts from around the Bay Area descended on Piedmont Park for the opening of the Piedmont Art Gallery. On display were 375 oil, pastel and watercolor paintings in four separate galleries. Under the guidance of curator Richard Partington, the emerging California impressionists were well represented. William Keith’s massive painting “The California Alps” was located in the main gallery. Works by Xavier Martinez, R.D. Yelland, Thaddeus Welch, James . . . — Map (db m72320) HM
California (Alameda County), Piedmont — Piedmont Park History TrailA Special Gift for Piedmont’s 100th Anniversary
In 1867 the pink mineral springs which oozed from Bushy Dell Canyon began to attract visitors to Piedmont Park and the surrounding community. Generation after generation the park has changed to reflect the community that surrounds it, creating layers of history. As the City of Piedmont neared its 100th birthday, a public/private partnership was developed to preserve the history of Piedmont Park through a two-part project. First the historic sulfur springs grotto which had fallen into . . . — Map (db m72297) HM
California (Alameda County), Piedmont — Piedmont Springs Clubhouse & Cafe
On Saturday, May 5, 1898, a gala benefit for the Ladies’ Relief Society marked the opening of the Piedmont Springs Park by Frank C. Havens. Musicians played in a thatched bandstand while partygoers strolled through lighted pathways. Many guest dined in an elegant palm-filled room at the new Piedmont Springs Cafe while others sipped libations on the veranda overlooking the park. ”Two or three hundred incandescent electric lights have been placed among the trees. The effect is . . . — Map (db m72317) HM
California (Alameda County), Piedmont — Piedmont Springs HotelExclusive Resort Destination from 1872 to 1892
The Piedmont Springs Hotel was built by Walter Blair in 1872. The two-story white clapboard building had 20 bedrooms, two suites and five dining rooms, and the Grand Saloon. The 1887 cottages were added to increase capacity. At 9:15 a.m. on November 17, 1892 the hotel came to a sudden end when a fire in the chimney expanded to the roof. It was not until 11:30 a.m. that Chemical Engine #1 arrived from Oakland to contain the fire. The papers reported that, ”The absence of any water . . . — Map (db m72299) HM
California (Alameda County), Piedmont — Sulphur Springs GrottoThe Healing Powers of Mineral Springs
The first recorded visitor to the sulphur springs grotto is Isaac Holmes, a retired U.S. Senator from South Carolina, who reportedly installed a bathtub in Bushy Dell canyon in the early 1860s in order to take alfresco baths for his rheumatism. Walter Blair hoped to capitalize on the curative powers of the water when he bought the park property. According to the newspaper, ”The waters of these springs contain sulphur, magnesia, iodine and iron and are claimed by those who have . . . — Map (db m72378) HM
California (Alameda County), Piedmont — The CascadeCreating a Lush Tropical Paradise in Piedmont
In her memoir about life in Piedmont, Elsie Whitaker Martinez remembered fishing with her brothers in the Piedmont Heights in the 1880s. A myriad of streams found their way from Alta, Scenic, Pacific and Mountain Avenues. Most fed into the city’s largest waterway, Bushy Dell Creek. Today asphalt, cement and modern landscaping have forced water flow underground or into manmade culverts and Bushy Dell Creek is a shadow of its former self. Even in 1890, the Piedmont Springs canyon was never . . . — Map (db m72321) HM
California (Alameda County), Piedmont — The Japanese TeahouseCultural Connection Since 1907
Look carefully. Comparing today’s Japanese Tea House with early pictures, you will notice many differences. The first tea house in Piedmont Park was built by Frank C. Havens and opened on June 30, 1907. It was a replica of the late-fifteenth century Silver Pavilion in Kyoto, Japan and was the largest of its kind in the United States. To the rear of the tea house were a koi pond, moon bridge and Japanese style garden. When the City of Piedmont acquired the park in the 1920s, it tore down . . . — Map (db m72318) HM
250 markers matched your search criteria.
Click to map all markers shown on this page.
Click First to browse through the results shown on this page.   First >> 


•••
More Search Options
 
Markers
Near You

 
Categories

 
States & Provinces

 
Counties
Click to List


 
Countries

Page composed
in 313 ms.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
To search within this page, hold down the Ctrl key and press F.
On an Apple computer,
hold down the Apple key and press F.