3662 markers matched your search criteria. The first 250 markers are listed. Next 3412|
|Georgia (Appling County), Baxley — 001-1 — Pulitzer Prize Winner Caroline Pafford Miller|
|Baxley`s Caroline Pafford Miller (1903-1992) was the first Georgia novelist to be awarded the Pulitzer Prize for Literature. The author was born in Waycross and spent her formative years in the South Georgia wiregrass country. After moving to Baxley she lived in houses on Anthony then Fair Streets. She observed the people of the area and collected many stories about the pioneer life of hardy yeoman farmers south of the Altamaha River.
These stories breathed life into "Carrie" Miller`s . . . — Map (db m10079) HM|
|Georgia (Atkinson County), Pearson — 002-1 — Atkinson Court House — >>>----- >|
|Atkinson County was created by an act of the Georgia legislature in 1917, out of lands previously in Clinch and Coffee Counties.
The county was organized Jan. 1, 1918. The first officers were J.W. Roberts, Ordinary; Wiley M. Sumner, Clerk Superior Court; E.D. Leggett, Sheriff and Charles E. Stewart, Representative in legislature.
Members of the first Board of Commissioners, created in 1919, were Jeff Kirkland, David Weathers and J.M. Roberts Sr. The first Clerk to the Commissioners . . . — Map (db m53177) HM|
|Georgia (Atkinson County), Pearson — 002-2 — Kinnaird Trail|
|Kinnaird Trail, considered the oldest public road in Wiregrass Georgia, follows an Indian trail used before white men came to this country. In Revolutionary days, it was named Kinnaird Trail as the route was used by Indians and traders travelling from St. Marys to an Indian trading post on the Flint River operated by Jack Kinnaird.
After 1820, settlers from North and South Carolina, Tennessee and middle Georgia homesteaded on and along the trail.
0.5 mile from here on Kinnaird Trail is . . . — Map (db m26019) HM|
|Georgia (Atkinson County), Pearson — 002-3 — Minnie F. Corbitt Memorial Museum — >>>----- >|
|Here, about 1873, on Lot No. 1, S.J. Henderson built the first residence in Pearson, then the terminus of the Brunswick and Albany R. R. Successively the home of prominent families in early Pearson history, in 1905 it became the residence of Martin S. Corbitt, Ordinary of Atkinson County 1928 - 1936. In 1955, at the request of Mrs. Corbitt and her sons, the house was dedicated by the City of Pearson and the John Floyd Chapter D.A.R. to the perpetuation of the memory of south Georgia pioneers and their way of life. — Map (db m53174) HM|
|Georgia (Atkinson County), Pearson — Salem Church|
|Salem Church was built in 1889 on the Kinnaird Trail -– an Indian pathway that later became a stagecoach relay station. Martin S. Corbett was born here on 5-12-1840 and married cousin, Leonora Wealtha Pafford on 11-26-1867. Their home was south of the cemetery. He donated materials and 2 acres of land for the church and cemetery and it was built by him, Waver Roberts and other family members.
The pews and benches were built by sons: Wm. Manning and Martin Rayburn. It was used as a . . . — Map (db m53290) HM|
|Georgia (Bacon County), Alma — 3-1 — Bacon County|
|This County, created by Act of the Legislature July 27, 1914, is named for Augustus O. Bacon, four times U.S. Senator, who died in office Feb. 15, 1914. An expert on Mexican affairs, his death was a great loss coming at a time of critical relations with that nation. Born in 1839, Senator Bacon served as Adjutant of the 9th Georgia Regiment during the War of 61-65. Among the first County Officers were: Ordinary T.B. Taylor, Clerk of Superior Court Victor Deen, Sheriff J.S. Googe, Tax Collector . . . — Map (db m24292) HM|
|Georgia (Baker County), Newton — 004-1 — Baker County|
|This County, created by Acts of the Legislature Dec. 12 & 24, 1825, is named for Col. John Baker of Revolutionary fame. The original County Site was at Byron but an Act of Dec. 26, 1831, established a new Site which was named Newton for Sgt. John Newton, a Revolutionary soldier. One of the hardest battles of the Creek Indian War was fought in Baker County at Chickasawhachee Creek in 1836. Among the first County Officers were: Sheriff Stafford Long, Clerk of Superior & Inferior Courts Thomas F. . . . — Map (db m26981) HM|
|Georgia (Baker County), Newton — 004-2 — Battle of Chickasawachee Swamp|
|Near here in Chickasawachee Swamp a decisive battle of the Southern Indian Wars was fought July 3, 1836. About 300 warriors were entrenched on an island in the swamp, after a raid in which they killed several settlers. A force of militia under command of Col. Thomas Beall followed them into the swamp and a fierce battle was fought. A number of Indians were killed, and 13 soldiers wounded, 1 mortally. A large amount of plunder taken on the raid on Roanoke was recovered here. This battle broke . . . — Map (db m26959) HM|
|Georgia (Baldwin County), Milledgeville — Alexis de Tocqueville|
|The 25 year-old French aristocrat
and author of
Democracy in America
visited this area
during his 1831-1832 tour of America — Map (db m13143) HM|
|Georgia (Baldwin County), Milledgeville — 005-10 — Birthplace of Charles Holmes Herty — (1867-1938)|
|Charles Holmes Herty, one of America’s outstanding chemists, was born on this site December 4, 1867. He spent his early life in Milledgeville where he attended the Middle Georgia Agricultural and Military College (now Georgia College). Later he studied at John(sic) Hopkins and at European universities. Aided by his efforts, American chemistry became a giant industrial enterprise, and the Georgia pine became a valuable raw product in this new industry. — Map (db m36294) HM|
|Georgia (Baldwin County), Milledgeville — 5-1 — Brown-Stetson-Sanford House|
|This Milledgeville Federal-style house was built c. 1825 on North Wilkinson Street for George T. Brown by English-born builder-architect John Marlor. It was operated as the U.S. Hotel and then the Beecher-Brown Hotel to serve visitors and legislators during the city's years as capital of Georgia (1807-1868). In 1857 the house was purchased by merchant Daniel B. Stetson. His daughter Elizabeth married Judge Daniel B. Sanford, Clerk of the Secession Convention, in 1868. From 1951-1966 the house . . . — Map (db m13141) HM|
|Georgia (Baldwin County), Milledgeville — 005-14 — Campsite of Union Army — <------<<<<|
|The Union Army of 65,000 men under the command of General Wm. T. Sherman left Atlanta on November 15, 1864. Only the left wing of 30,000 men entered Milledgeville. The advance units arrived here on the 22nd. The right wing marched via Clinton and Gordon and joined the left wing at Sandersville. More than 25,000 soldiers camped at this site on Nov. 22-25. The McKinley house, 500 yards north of this point, served as headquarters for Generals Jackson and Geary. The toll bridge which stood 50 yards . . . — Map (db m35995) HM|
|Georgia (Baldwin County), Milledgeville — Carl Vinson • Mary Green Vinson — Nov.18, 1883 - June 1, 1981 Sept. 19, 1887 - Nov. 16, 1950 |
|Carl Vinson, native son, farmer, lawyer, statesman, served in the United States Congress for 50 years;
Chairman of the Naval Affairs Committee; Chairman of the Armed Services Committee;
an advocate for Military Preparedness; He was credited with being the father of the "Two-Ocean Navy."
He was a Democrat but faithfully served with nine Presidents - From Woodrow Wilson to Lyndon Johnson.
In his first speech to the United States House of Representatives May 27, 1916, He said, "I devoutly hope . . . — Map (db m42626) HM|
|Georgia (Baldwin County), Milledgeville — Cedar Lane Cemetery|
|In 1997 a cemetery restoration began here that triggered a movement to memorialize patients buried at state psychiatric hospitals nationwide. After discovering nearby neglected cemeteries interred some 25,000 people, members of the Georgia Consumer Council pledged to restore the burial grounds and build a memorial. A grassroots campaign raised funds to erect the adjacent gate and display 2,000 numbered iron markers displaced from graves over the years. A life-size bronze angel was placed 175 yards south of here to serve as a perpetual guardian. — Map (db m53826) HM|
|Georgia (Baldwin County), Milledgeville — GHM 005-28 — Cemetery Square|
|This square was reserved for public use in the city's original survey and became the site of early church buildings. One hundred yards south of this point is a stone marking the site of the first Methodist Church erected in Georgia west of the Oconee River, in 1805. The earliest graves date from this period. Near the church site is a lot containing graves of legislators who died during legislative sessions in Milledgeville. None appear after 1845 when rail transportation became available. Those . . . — Map (db m53076) HM|
|Georgia (Baldwin County), Milledgeville — 005-12 — Cobb's Quarter, Sherman's Campsite|
|Marching toward Milledgeville via Covington, Shady Dale and Eatonton Factory, the Union Army's 14th Corps reached this crossroad on the night of November 22, 1864. General Sherman camped at the Howell Cobb place, a few yards north of this point. Commanding his escort was Lieut. David R. Snelling, a native of this community, whose home was six miles southwest of here. The 20th Corps, accompanied by General Henry
W. Slocumb, went into camp five miles east of this point on the old Eatonton Road. — Map (db m13136) HM|
|Georgia (Baldwin County), Milledgeville — 005-30 — De Soto in Georgia|
|In May 1539 Hernando de Soto landed in Florida with over 600 people, 220 horses and mules, and a herd reserved for famine. Fired by his success in
Pizarro's conquest of Peru, De Soto had been granted the rights, by the King of Spain, to explore, then govern, southeastern North America. After wintering in Tallahassee, the De Soto expedition set out on a quest for gold which eventually spanned four years and crossed portions of nine states. This was the first recorded European exploration of . . . — Map (db m27275) HM|
|Georgia (Baldwin County), Milledgeville — Dr Charles Holmes Herty Statesman -Chemist|
|Dr Charles Holmes Herty
Born on this spot
Dec 4 ,1867
By his leadership
He had made America
Chemically self sufficient
He has unselfishly
Given his time and
Talent to develop
Georgia's natural resources
This marker placed
By friends of
His native home
January 25,1934 — Map (db m48108) HM|
|Georgia (Baldwin County), Milledgeville — 5-3 — Flannery O'Connor's Andalusia Farm|
|Andalusia was the home of writer Flannery O’Connor from 1951 until her death in 1964. Born in Savannah in 1925, O’Connor and her family moved to Milledgeville in 1940. O’Connor left Georgia for a time, but returned to Milledgeville in 1951 after being diagnosed with lupus. She then moved with her mother, Regina Cline O’Connor, to the family farm, Andalusia. Here she found inspiration for many of the settings and characters in her stories. While living here, O’Connor completed her two novels, . . . — Map (db m8982) HM|
|Georgia (Baldwin County), Milledgeville — 005-23 — Fort Wilkinson|
|Three hundred yards east of this point stood Ft. Wilkinson, established in 1797 on Georgia's Indian boundary. Garrisoned by soldiers whose families lived outside the stockade, it was an early trading house where Creek Indians were provided agricultural
supplies under the Treaty of New York (1790). Here occurred in 1802 the treaty which extinguished Indian titles to land westward to Commissioner’s Creek, which area was in the first Georgia land lottery in 1805. In 1807, the garrison was moved . . . — Map (db m13140) HM|
|Georgia (Baldwin County), Milledgeville — 5-4 — Georgia's Secession Convention|
|On January 16, 1861, the Georgia Secession Convention met here to consider seceding from the United States. Secession began in response to Abraham Lincoln's election as president the previous November and the belief that his Republican party was "anti-slavery in its mission and its purpose," according to Georgia's secession ordinance. Secession was not a foregone conclusion; initially a slim majority of delegates were opposed to it. After three days of strident rhetoric on both sides of the . . . — Map (db m42603) HM|
|Georgia (Baldwin County), Milledgeville — 005-17 — Howell Cobb Plantation|
|Site of the large Baldwin County plantation of Howell Cobb, one of the 'Great Georgia Triumvirate' of Stephens, Toombs and Cobb, and his wife, the former
Mary Ann Lamar. Born at Cherry Hill in Jefferson County, Georgia Sept. 7, 1815, he graduated cum laude from the University of Georgia in 1834, was
admitted to the Bar in 1836, and then began the distinguished career that was to make him one of Georgia's most illustrious sons. Solicitor General,
1837; Member of Congress, 1842 (four terms); . . . — Map (db m13137) HM|
|Georgia (Baldwin County), Milledgeville — Jarrett Springs|
|Jarrett Springs formerly know as Commissioner Springs,
flows in an enclosed structure about 40 yards on adjacent land.
In 1803 , because of the abundant and clear water supply,
this site was selected by the Georgia Legislature as the location
for the new state capital to be named Milledgeville. — Map (db m43164) HM|
|Georgia (Baldwin County), Milledgeville — 005-13 — Junction of 20th and 14th Corps|
|With the right wing of his army in the vicinity of Clinton and Macon, General Sherman, with the left wing, appeared at this point on November 23, 1864. The left wing, consisting of the 20th and 14th corps, was comprised of 30,000 men, 12,000 horses and mules, 1,300 wagons, and several thousand head of cattle. General Slocum, who accompanied the 20th Corps, approached Milledgeville directly from Eatonton. General Sherman, who rode with the 14th Corps, followed the Old Monticello Road. The two . . . — Map (db m35832) HM|
|Georgia (Baldwin County), Milledgeville — Masonic Temple of Benevolent Lodge No 3, F. & A. M.|
|This is the oldest Masonic building in Georgia with continuous usage since its dedication on June 24, 1834. Funded through a state authorized lottery and constructed by John Marlor (also one of its architects with Samuel Tucker and James Doyle), this Georgian style building was among the more elegant structures in antebellum Georgia. It is also one of the earlier masonry structures west of the Oconee River.
The Grand Lodge of Georgia met here annually from December 1834 through the 1845 . . . — Map (db m36729) HM|
|Georgia (Baldwin County), Milledgeville — Memory Hill Cemetery|
|As part of the Historic District of Milledgeville
has been placed on the
Of Historic Places
By the United States
Department of the Interior — Map (db m42312) HM|
|Georgia (Baldwin County), Milledgeville — 005-24 — Milledgeville State Hospital|
|In 1837, largely through the influence of Tomlinson Fort and William A. White, the legislature appropriated $20,000 for a dormitory near
Milledgeville where the state’s mentally ill could receive custodial care. A four-story building was opened on this site in 1842 and together with various
later additions became known as the Center Building. Originally serving only pauper patients, services were expanded for all bona fide citizens. Dr. David M. Cooper (serving 1843-1846) was the first . . . — Map (db m13135) HM|
|Georgia (Baldwin County), Milledgeville — 005-7 — Montpelier — <------<<<<|
|This church is named Montpelier after Fort Montpelier of 1794, 1/2 mi. below here down the Oconee. This fort & others were built during the Creek Indian troubles. Capt. Jonas Fouche was ordered to guard the Ga. frontier from the mouth of the Tugaloo to Fort Fidius on the Oconee. 200 militia cavalry & infantry raised under Gov. Telfair were placed under the command of Maj. Gaither, Federal commandant. A note on Fouche’s map reads: “As it is 40 mi. from Fort Twiggs to Mount Pelah where Maj. . . . — Map (db m36103) HM|
|Georgia (Baldwin County), Milledgeville — 005-5 — Old Fort Fidius — >>>-- 1793-1797 -->|
|The first settlement in this section was made up of four frame houses, a dozen or more cabins and a fort. It was called Federal town. Many of the soldiers died so a new fort was built several miles up the river and named Fort Fidius. It was located 2 miles below the mouth of Fishing Creek and 4 miles below this point. In 1794 Commander Roberts complained to the Secretary of War that he had only 69 able-bodied men to face 10,000 Indians. In 1797 the U.S. Government replaced Fort Fidius with . . . — Map (db m36323) HM|
|Georgia (Baldwin County), Milledgeville — Old Fort Wilkinson|
|Where treaty of limits took place
between the United States and
Creek Nation of Indians
June 16 1802, ratified June 11 1803
this treaty was signed by James Wilkinson
Benjamin Hawkins, Andrew Pickins. Commissioners
on the part of the United States and
forty chiefs and warriors. — Map (db m43166) HM|
|Georgia (Baldwin County), Milledgeville — 005-1B — Old Governor’s Mansion|
|Completed in 1838, The Executive Mansion was the fifth and last resident occupied by Georgia governors when Milledgeville was the capital of Georgia. The Palladian-inspired structure is considered one of the most perfect examples of Georgian architecture in America. Charles B. Cluskey designed The Mansion and Timothy Porter of Farmington, Connecticut, was the builder.
The ten governors who occupied The Mansion were George R. Gilmer, Charles J. McDonald, George W. Crawford, George W. Towns, . . . — Map (db m36124) HM|
|Georgia (Baldwin County), Milledgeville — 005-21 — Old Oglethorpe University|
|This is the site of the antebellum college established in the community of Midway by the Hopewell Presbytery in 1833. Its first president, Carlisle P. Beman, was succeded by Samuel K. Talmage. In 1861, students and faculty entered Confederate service, among them Sidney Lanier. After the college reopened in 1866, it succumbed to economic crisis and closed in 1869. Two noted professors were Joseph LeConte, one of the South`s foremost scientists, and James Woodrow, believed to be the first . . . — Map (db m10803) HM|
|Georgia (Baldwin County), Milledgeville — 005-1A — Old State Capitol — >>>>--- 2 Blocks --->|
|A reproduction of Georgia’s State Capitol 1807-1867 stands on the original site. Wings to the main building were added in 1828 and 1837. Here the Secession Convention met Jan. 16, 1861 and after three days of bitter debate passed the secession act. In 1864 Sherman’s Union soldiers held a mock session of the Georgia legislature and repealed the secession act. Boulder in yard marks spot where General LaFayette was entertained at barbecue in March 1825. Duplicate of old Capitol building now houses ancient Georgia Military College. — Map (db m36405) HM|
|Georgia (Baldwin County), Milledgeville — 005-16 — Provost Guard Campsite|
|The 3rd Wisconsin and the 107th New York Regiments, having been detailed for provost duty, encamped on this square, November 22-25, 1864. The State Arsenal on the north side of the square was burned. The magazine, which stood on the opposite side, was destroyed with explosives. Considerable damage was wrought to the churches and the Statehouse. The State Library was plundered and books were destroyed. Otherwise, little permanent damage was done to Milledgeville's houses and public buildings. — Map (db m13139) HM|
|Georgia (Baldwin County), Milledgeville — Rear Admiral John W. Wilcox|
|To The Memory of
Rear Adm. John W. Wilcox, Jr.
Born Midway Ga. Mar 22, 1882
Commander of Battle Ships
Atlantic Fleet U.S. Navy
Lost at sea from his flagship
the U.S.S. Washington
on Mar 27, 1942
off Sabel Island, N. Atlantic
longitude 60° W. latitude 44° N. — Map (db m52109) HM|
|Georgia (Baldwin County), Milledgeville — 005-11 — Route of the Twentieth Corps|
|On the morning of Nov. 23, 1864, the main body of the 20th Corps of the Union Army, commanded by Gen. A. S. Williams, reached Milledgeville from Eatonton. The Corps marched down Jackson Street to this point where companies were formed into line. With bands playing, the Corps marched by the Capitol Square and camped on the east side of the Oconee River. General Henry W. Slocum, commander of the left wing, occupied the Milledgeville Hotel which stood four blocks east of this point. — Map (db m35712) HM|
|Georgia (Baldwin County), Milledgeville — 005-26 — Sacred Heart Catholic Church|
|The first Catholic mass was celebrated at Milledgeville in April, 1845, at the Hugh Treanor apartment in the Newell Hotel. Bishop Ignatius Reynolds of the diocese of Charleston, accompanied by Father J. F. O’Neill, visited here in 1847. In 1850 this parish was incorporated in the new Diocese of Savannah. The church structure was built in 1874 and Robert Kennedy was the first resident priest, 1889-94.
This site was previously occupied by the elegant La Fayette Hotel which opened in October, . . . — Map (db m36357) HM|
|Georgia (Baldwin County), Milledgeville — Site of Fort Defiance — 1794|
|Rendezvous of followers of General Elijah Clarke in the Trans-Oconee Country. — Map (db m36500) HM|
|Georgia (Baldwin County), Milledgeville — 005-8 — St. Stephens Episcopal Church|
|This Church was organized in 1841 through the efforts of Bishop Stephen Elliott. The church building was completed in 1843 and consecrated Dec. 10. The vestibule, annex and Gothic roof were added later. The handmade chancel furniture was given by an early parishioner, John Wilcox. Rev. Rufus White was probably the first Rector and J.M. Cotting and C.J. Paine the first Wardens. In 1864 the building was damaged when Federal troops dynamited the nearby arsenal. In 1909 a new organ was presented by . . . — Map (db m36104) HM|
|Georgia (Baldwin County), Milledgeville — 005-29 — State College|
|Largely through the efforts of William Y. Atkinson the Georgia Normal and Industrial College was founded in 1889 with J. Harris Chappell as the first president. It became a degree-granting institution in 1917 and included a liberal arts program. The name was changed in 1922 to Georgia State College for Women and in 1961 to the Woman’s College of Georgia. Today it is part of the University System of Georgia. This square of 20 acres, set aside for public use in 1803, was used from 1811 until . . . — Map (db m36361) HM|
|Georgia (Baldwin County), Milledgeville — 005-19 — Statehouse Square|
|On this tract of twenty acres was built the Statehouse, the original wing of which was completed in 1811. Later additions were made until 1835 when it was finished in its present form. Near the Statehouse stood the Arsenal and the Magazine, brick structures which were destroyed by General W.T. Sherman in 1864. On this corner in 1860 stood the public market where slaves were sold and local sentences were executed. Just east of this point, facing Greene Street, stood the Presbyterian Church. The . . . — Map (db m36404) HM|
|Georgia (Baldwin County), Milledgeville — 005-20 — The Great Seal of Georgia — »—→|
|When Federal troops entered Milledgeville in November, 1864, Georgia Secretary of State Nathan C. Barnett hid the Great Seal under a house and the legislative minutes in a pig pen 30 yards east of this point. Later they were returned to the Statehouse.
Again in 1868 Governor Charles J. Jenkins (Governor, 1865-1868) removed the Great Seal to thwart state fund payments which had been ordered by the United States military authority which inaugurated Georgia’s carpetbag regime. Federal . . . — Map (db m36358) HM|
|Georgia (Baldwin County), Milledgeville — 005-18 — The March to the Sea|
|On Nov. 15, 1864, after destroying Atlanta and cutting his communications with the North, Maj. Gen. W.T. Sherman, USA, began his destructive campaign for Savannah -- the March to the Sea. He divided his army [US] into two wings. The Right Wing (15th and 17th Corps), Maj. General O.O. Howard, USA, moved south via McDonough to feint at Macon, crossed the Ocmulgee at Seven Islands (9 miles SE of Jackson), and concentrated around Gordon (17 miles SW), where it would be in communication with the . . . — Map (db m35533) HM|
|Georgia (Baldwin County), Milledgeville — The Methodist Church — (Milledgeville, Georgia)|
|This marks the original site
of the Methodist Church erected
about the year 1805.
Bishop Asbury and Bishop
McKendree in 1815 held here
a conference which James O.
Bishop Capers, Dr. Lovick Pierce,
and many other notable figures
of Methodism served as pastors.
The daughter of Bishop Capers
is buried near this spot.
In gracious appreciation of
the pioneer work done by this
great church this boulder
is erected by
the Robert E. Lee Chapter, U.D.C. . . . — Map (db m42773) HM|
|Georgia (Baldwin County), Milledgeville — 5-2 — The Milledgeville Hotel and Oliver Hardy|
|On this corner stood the Milledgeville Hotel built in 1858 while Milledgeville served as Georgia's capital. In 1903 Emily Norvell Hardy took over management of the hotel. She moved into the hotel with her two youngest children, including eleven-year-old Norvell who would later become known to the world as comedian Oliver Hardy. After his mother left Milledgeville in 1910, Oliver Hardy remained to take a job as a projectionist at the city's first movie theater, the Palace, located across the . . . — Map (db m15373) HM|
|Georgia (Baldwin County), Milledgeville — 005-22 — The Rock Landing — >>>------>|
|Five miles south of this point is the Rock Landing at the head of navigation on the Oconee River and at the junction of the old Indian trading paths leading westward. In 1789 Pres. Washington sent Gen. Benjamin Lincoln here to treat with Chief Alexander McGillivray and 2000 Creek warriors and settle the Georgia-Creek controversy over cession of the trans-Ogeechee lands. Here also was the official residence of James Seagrove, appointed the first U.S. Indian agent to the Creeks in Sept., 1791. He . . . — Map (db m36326) HM|
|Georgia (Baldwin County), Milledgeville — The Unknown Soldiers of Brown Hospital|
|These Confederate soldiers, all serving in the Georgia Militia, died at Brown Hospital in Milledgeville and were buried at
this location. Their names soon became lost, and they were concidered Unknown Soldiers until 2003 when their identies
were discovered. (Left Column)
Marion Adkinson, Pvt., Co. F, 5th Regt., August 23, 1864
James T. Buckner, Pvt., Co. F, 9th Regt., August 31, 1864
Hugh Cannell, Pvt., Co. E, 12th Regt., September 3, 1864
Elisha B. Cape, Pvt., Co. . . . — Map (db m42685) HM|
|Georgia (Baldwin County), Milledgeville — 005-25 — Tomlinson Fort House|
|At this site lived Tomlinson Fort (1787-1859). A leader of the Union Party, he studied medicine and wrote a widely used book on medical practice. A captain in the War of 1812, he served in the Georgia legislature and the U.S. Congress, and on the board of governors of the University of Georgia. He founded the Federal Union in 1830 and was president of the Central Bank of Georgia. As early as 1822 he advocated replacing the Poor School Fund with a public school system. He was instrumental . . . — Map (db m36134) HM|
|Georgia (Baldwin County), Milledgeville — 005-27 — Troup-Clark Political Feud|
|In the street near this site in June 1807, occurred the horse-whipping of Superior Court Judge Charles Tait by his political enemy John Clark, later Governor of Georgia. Clark was fined $2,000 for the assault. The incident illustrates Georgia politics in the 1800-1830 period when family and personal loyalties formed the unifying theme. Pistol duels and other violence were frequent and often fatal. John Clark (Gov., 1819-1823) led the frontier settlers who stood for greater political democracy, . . . — Map (db m36362) HM|
|Georgia (Baldwin County), Scottsboro — 005-4 — John Clark House|
|This house, now the Du Bignon home, was once the home of John Clark, Governor of Georgia. At the age of 16, John Clark fought with his father, General Elijah Clark, distinguished Revolutionary soldier, at the decisive Battle of Kettle Creek.
The original section of the house was the John Scott home. Additions and changes have been made by later owners. Architects have always been interested in the house. Bishop Capers lived here when pastor of the Milledgeville Methodist Church (1823- 24). — Map (db m13138) HM|
|Georgia (Baldwin County), Scottsboro — 5-15 — Route of Gen. Kilpatrick’s Cavalry|
|Gen. Sherman’s Cavalry Corps, commanded by Gen. Judson Kilpatrick, consisted of 5,000 men, 8,000 animals, and 300 wagons. It rode from Gordon to Milledgeville on Nov. 24 to join the left wing of the Union Army. On the 25th, Gen. Kilpatrick moved toward Louisville and Waynesboro on the Sparta Road.
The right wing of the Federal Army, numbering 29,000 men of the 15th and 17th Corps, was commanded by Gen. Oliver O. Howard. It marched south of Milledgeville via Clinton, Gordon, and Irwinton, joining the left wing near Sandersville on Nov. 27. — Map (db m42314) HM|
|Georgia (Banks County), Alto — 006-3 — Line Baptist Church|
|The Line Baptist Church was constituted Sept. 13, 1802, by Rev. Moses Sanders, Thomas Maxwell and Daniel White.
This church was just over the line between Georgia and Cherokee lands. Meetings couldn’t be held at night, because all white people had to be off Indian lands by sundown.
Thirteen churches met here and formed the Tugalo Baptist Association in 1818. This Association met here in 1822 and 1842. The Liberty Baptist Association was formed here in 1867.
This building, about . . . — Map (db m40651) HM|
|Georgia (Banks County), Baldwin — 006-2 — “Hawkins Line”|
|This line, sometimes called “The Four Mile Purchase Line” was the boundary between Georgia and the Cherokee Nation from 1804 to 1818. It was established when Georgia bought a four mile strip from the Indians so as to take in Wofford’s Settlement on Nancytown Creek. James Blair was agent for the government, James Vann and Ketahahee for the Cherokees.
It formed the boundary between Jackson Co. and the Cherokees; later Franklin Co. and the Cherokees, and is now the line between Habersham and Banks Counties. — Map (db m40642) HM|
|Georgia (Banks County), Baldwin — 006-3B — Battle of Narrows — >>>------>|
|This battle was fought Oct. 12, 1864 between Confederate troops and Union cavalry in the nearby mountain pass.
A Confederate victory saved Habersham county from pilaging by Union troops and camp followers and also saved grain fields for Confederate troops. There was a [CS] drill field near the site of the battle.
Some historians have called this the “Battle of Currahee” because it was fought in sight of Currahee mountain. Casualties were small and the wounded were cared for by neighbors. — Map (db m40640) HM|
|Georgia (Banks County), Baldwin — 006-6 — Leatherwood Baptist Church|
|Leatherwood Baptist Church was established in 1801 at Eastanollee in Franklin County. Many members moved near here, organized this church and named it Leatherwood. Members remaining in Eastanollee reorganized and named their church Eastanollee. Land for the first church here was given by Hudson Moss. His granddaughter, wife of Thomas Scales Wells, pastor for many years, gave the land for the present church building. Many landowners and their slaves were members of the church. Near here is the . . . — Map (db m40703) HM|
|Georgia (Banks County), Baldwin — Middle River Volunteers|
|This marker is a memorial to the Middle River Volunteers, March 4, 1862, who drilled on this road for service before entering Civil War.
Donated by descendants of these soldiers.
Orig Capt Wm P Brown +
Combat Capt Jack Ragsdale
Lts John Lane + John E Roe
Wm L Martin + W J Sloan
D S Ragland
Sgts Jas L Acry Jas M Caudell
John C Allred Peter P Chapman
Robt F Ausburn Alvin D Hooper
Jas C Broom Chas H Lane
Hugh M Brown Wm . . . — Map (db m41943) HM|
|Georgia (Banks County), Homer — 006-7B — Banks County|
|Banks County was created by Act of Dec. 11, 1858 from Franklin and Habersham Counties. It was named for Dr. Richard Banks (1784-1850), whose reputation as physician and surgeon extended over north Ga. and S.C. Especially noted for treating Indians for smallpox, he practiced medicine in Gainesville from 1832 until his death. First officers of Banks County, commissioned March 19, 1859, were: William P. Richards, Sheriff; James Anderson, Clk. Sup. Ct.; William H. Means, Clk. Inf. Ct.; Archibald . . . — Map (db m40684) HM|
|Georgia (Banks County), Homer — 006-1 — Indian Boundary|
|The boundary between the State of Georgia and the Cherokee Nation established by the Treaty of Augusta, May 31, 1783, ran along here. The line ran “from the top of Currahee mountain to the head, or source, of the most southern branch of the Oconee river, including all waters of the same.”
This boundary line was re-affirmed by the Treaty of Hopewell, Nov. 28, 1785. It was originally marked by a line of felled trees at least twenty feet wide, which became a sort of No Man’s Land. — Map (db m40659) HM|
|Georgia (Banks County), Homer — 006-7 — Mt. Pleasant Church|
|In 1780 a group of people, Garrisons and Wilmonts, met on the top of the hill behind the church, built a platform between two trees, and held a religious meeting. This small gathering, and the statement that it was pleasant to worship on the mountain, led to the building of the first Mt. Pleasant Church, a log structure. The present one, built in 1883, is on land given by John Wilmont. A large wooden arbor with small cabins around, used until 1885, was erected on the church grounds for annual . . . — Map (db m16995) HM|
|Georgia (Banks County), Homer — 006-5 — Nails Creek Baptist Church|
|Nails Creek Baptist Church, the first Baptist Church in Banks County, was established February 11, 1787. It was the Mother Church of Middle River, Grove Level and Indian Creek. Many descendants of its charter members are active in the work of the church. The first building burned in 1864 and was rebuilt in 1868. In 1881 a larger church was erected and that was replaced by the present brick structure in 1908. From 1836 to 1922 28 ministers filled the pulpit. Membership in 1922 was 457 — Map (db m14473) HM|
|Georgia (Barrow County), Auburn — 1983 — Perry-Rainey Institute|
|Perry-Rainey Institute founded 1892 by Mulberry Baptist Assn. at Appalachee Baptist Church, Auburn.
Predecessors of Perry-Rainey Institute - Harmony Grove Academy, Mulberry High School and Perry-Rainey College.
Named for Reverend Hiram Rainey and Mrs. W.T. Perry, donors. Institute opened 1893, chartered in 1894, first graduation 1896.
Sold in 1915 to the Christian Church and became SOUTHEASTERN CHRISTIAN COLLEGE until 1924. Sold to Barrow County in 1928 and Administrative . . . — Map (db m14883) HM|
|Georgia (Barrow County), Bethlehem — Bethlehem United Methodist Church|
|Oldest Methodist Church in Barrow County, organized in the 1780’s. Services first held two miles N.E. in log house. In 1790 a church was built nearby. The present site was originally a camp ground with an arbor, tents & cottages for camp meetings. Arbor used as mobilization center during War Between the States. Exact date church moved to this site unknown. Land deeded by Rev. John W. B. Allen to trustees in 1847. First church here torn down in 1878 and another erected. Present church was built . . . — Map (db m46843) HM|
|Georgia (Barrow County), Hoschton — Bethabra Baptist Church|
|Clayborn Dalton built an arbor for public Worship across Mulberry River in Jackson County in the early 1800’s. It was called “Dalton’s Stand”. In 1813 the church was moved on this side of Mulberry River near the Maynard Cemetery. Rev. Anslem Anthony was the first Pastor serving from 1813 to 1855. He donated 2 1/2 acres of land for the present church with buildings and improvements April 15, 1857. Another building was built about 1880, and stood until the present building was built in 1962. — Map (db m16125) HM|
|Georgia (Barrow County), Jefferson — Jackson Trail|
|This is the same road over witch marched the famous Gen. Andrew Jackson.
This marker erected April 1926
By Georgia Daughters of The American Revolution.
Atlanta Chapter Atlanta and Sunbury Chapter Winder. — Map (db m19769) HM|
|Georgia (Barrow County), Statham — Statham High School — In Honor - Paul T. Barrett|
|Educator; 52 years service in education. Born Feb. 12, 1900 Ila, Ga., Graduate of University of Georgia. Taught: Maysville, Cornelia, Buford 1920-1933. Principal - Coach Statham School 1933 - 1957. Supt. Barrow County Schools 1957 - 1965. Professor of Education Brenau College 1965 - 1973. Barrow County Educator of the Year 1978. Married Weebie Jones Dec. 17, 1922. Baptist: deacon, Sunday School Supt. and teacher 42 years. His influence touched the lives of many students and he will be remembered always with love and profound respect. — Map (db m17364) HM|
|Georgia (Barrow County), Statham — Statham House|
|Built circa 1850. Owned by M. John C. Statham. He provided homes for widows of Civil War Veterans; donated land for right-of-way of railroad; streets for town, and a lot for a Methodist Church -- now the city cemetery. Statham, incorporated Dec. 20, 1892, named in honor of its founder, M.J.C. Statham. First Post Office known as Barber’s Creek, 1846; then DeLay, 1854; and changed to Statham in 1892. Statham was originally known as Calamit Village, part of the Talasee Colony on the Ocoloco Trail, . . . — Map (db m17348) HM|
|Georgia (Barrow County), Wiinder — William Pentecost — Born Nov. 4, 1762 – Died Jan. 27, 1839|
|Served 3 years in Revolutionary War from Dinwiddie Co., Va. in Buford’s Detachment.
Lost an arm at Waxhaws, May 29, 1780.
Remembered as successful business man, educator and civic worker, but most outstanding as devout Methodist minister.
Is credited with establishing five churches.
He established Pentecost Methodist Church in 1785. William and Delilah Pentecost were buried in family plot. In 1909 their bodies were re-interred in a single grave in the Pentecost Church cemetery. — Map (db m19763) HM|
|Georgia (Barrow County), Winder — 007-2 — Barrow County|
|Barrow County was created by Act of July 7, 1914 from Gwinnett, Jackson and Walton Counties. It was named for David Crenshaw Barrow, Chancellor of the University of Georgia for many years. Born in Oglethorpe County, October 18, 1852, he died in Athens January 11, 1929. Affectionately known to thousands as "Uncle Dave," he spent most of his life teaching. First officers of Barrow County, commissioned January 11, 1915 were: H.G. Hill, Ordinary; Geo. N. Bagwell, Clk. Sup. Ct.; H.O. Camp, Sheriff; . . . — Map (db m19070) HM|
|Georgia (Barrow County), Winder — 007-3 — Battle of King's Tanyard|
|On July 31, 1864, at the Battle of Sunshine Church (19 miles NE of Macon), Maj. Gen. Geo. Stoneman [US] surrendered with 600 men to Brig. Gen. Alfred Iverson, Jr., [CS], after covering the escape of Adams’ and Capron’s brigades of his cavalry command. Both units retreated via Athens, intending to resupply their troops there, but were stopped early on August 2nd at the river bridge south of Athens by Home Guard units with artillery. Unable to cross, they turned west; Capron on the Hog Mountain . . . — Map (db m23454) HM|
|Georgia (Barrow County), Winder — Builder of the Nation|
|This steam locomotive was presented to the City of Winder and Barrow County in 1959 by the Seaboard Air Line Railroad Company. It was placed here as a permanent exhibit in memory of the important service engines of this type rendered to the country. Built in
1930, it operated for a number of years on the Gainesville Midland Railroad. At the time of its retirement in 1959, No. 208 was one of the last steam locomotives in service in this section of the country — Map (db m14528) HM|
|Georgia (Barrow County), Winder — Concord Methodist Cemetery|
|In 1836 Byrd Betts, Pioneer Steward of the Concord Methodist Church, later to become the First Methodist Church of Winder, gave 10 acres land for the church and cemetery. Those known buried here.
Susan, Wife of S. E. Beddingfield, 1829 - March 1851 J. B. Betts, Jan. 26, 1847 - June 19, 1886
O. G. Betts, Dec. 23, 1844 - Jan. 1884 - C.S.A.
Margaret Betts, May 4, ----; 1872 - Leila and Wade Bush Malinda F. Coker, Aug. 22, 1859 - Sept. 13, 1871 T. C. Hardegree, May 25, 1825 - May . . . — Map (db m17407) HM|
|Georgia (Barrow County), Winder — 007-1 — Fort Yargo — <------<<<<|
|This remarkably preserved log blockhouse was built in 1793, according to historians. There are several references to Fort Yargo as existing prior to 1800. Its location is given as three miles southwest of “Jug Tavern,” original name for Winder. Early historians say Fort Yargo was one of four forts built by Humphries Brothers to protect early white settlers from Indians. The other three forts were listed as at Talassee, Thomocoggan, now Jefferson, and Groaning Rock, now Commerce. . . . — Map (db m22396) HM|
|Georgia (Barrow County), Winder — 7-1 — Glenwood Elementary and High School|
|Glenwood Elementary and High School was established in 1951 as one of Georgia’s first public consolidated schools for African Americans. Part of a statewide equalization effort to improve school buildings and preserve segregation, Glenwood became the only public school for black students in Barrow County, consolidating several smaller rural schools including Bethlehem, Tanner's Bridge, Fairfield, and Bush Chapel. Through academics and extra-curricular activities like chorus and drama Glenwood . . . — Map (db m56487) HM|
|Georgia (Barrow County), Winder — Rockwell Universalist Church|
|Organized 1839 -- second oldest Universalist Church in Georgia. Located here near original site of Rockwell School, oldest school in this section, and Rockwell Masonic Lodge. Confederate Soldiers enlisted and drilled here 1861-1865. Church reorganized in 1867 by Dr. L. F. W. Andrews as first Universalist Church of then Jackson County, and called Mulberry Church. Voting precinct and Justice Court, known as House’s District, were located here until 1900. Present building erected 1881, and name . . . — Map (db m19548) HM|
|Georgia (Barrow County), Winder — Russell House|
|The Russell House was built in 1912 by Richard Brevard Russell, Sr., B. 1861 - D. 1838, and his wife, Ina Dillard, B. 1868 - D. 1953, who were married June 24, 1891. Fifteen children were born of this marriage. Judge Russell was elected Chief Justice, Supreme Court of Georgia in 1922, and served in this capacity until his death. Mrs. Russell was Georgia’s Mother of the year in 1950. In 1954, the late Senator Richard B. Russell, Jr., the oldest son, became the owner of the house and made it his . . . — Map (db m17288) HM|
|Georgia (Barrow County), Winder — 007-4 — The Stoneman Raid Battle of King's Tanyard|
|Closing in on Atlanta in July, 1864, Maj. Gen. W.T. Sherman found it "too strong to assault and too extensive to invest." To force its evacuation, he sent Maj. Gen. Geo. Stoneman's cavalry [US] to cut the Macon railway by which its defenders were supplied. At the Battle of Sunshine Church (19 miles NE of Macon), Stoneman surrendered with 600 men to Brig. Gen. Alfred Iverson, Jr., [CS], after covering the escape northward of Adams' and Capron’s brigades. Both units retreated via Athens, . . . — Map (db m17307) HM|
|Georgia (Barrow County), Winder — Winder's Most Historical Site|
|For years inestimable the CREEK INDIAN VILLAGE of SNODON stood here. In 1793 ALONZO DRAPER, HOMER JACKSON and HERMAN SCUPEEN and their families became the first white people to establish homes in SNODON. This same year SNODON became JUG TAVERN. In 1862, BRYD BETTS gave a portion of land for JUG TAVERN’S first church, the First Methodist.
In 1880 HILLMAN D. JACKSON, DR. JAMES M. SAUNDERS and REV. D. FRANK RUTHERFORD purchased 11 1/2 acres and built JUG TAVERN`S FIRST SCHOOL on this spot . . . — Map (db m17349) HM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Ackworth — Inside the Star Fort|
|The "Star Fort" was constructed of 6-foot high earthworks or parapets, with a 6-foot deep trench completely surrounding the fort. The earthen walls were topped with interlacing railroad ties forming a multi-pointed star, giving the fort its designation "Star Fort." This war-time photo was taken from the same position as this marker and shows the sally port, the only opening through which artillery, supplies, and troops could pass.
Approximately 700 Federals took refuge inside these walls . . . — Map (db m77959) HM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Ackworth — Rowett's Redoubt|
|Some 200 yards behind this marker was an earthen redoubt that protected the Federal defenses and the Star Fort. The redoubt was commanded by Colonel Richard Rowett and manned by the 39th Iowa, 7th Illinois, five companies of the 93rd Illinois Regiment and one 12 lb. Napoleon cannon. Many of the troops, including the entire 7th Illinois Regiment, were equipped with Henry Repeating rifles.
Confederate Brigadier General Francis M. Cockrell's Missouri Brigade and Brigadier General William H. . . . — Map (db m78099) HM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Adairsville — Adairsville, Georgia|
|Adairsville had its beginning in Oothcaloga Valley, two miles north of the present site. It was named for Cherokee Indian Chief John Adair, the son of a Scottish trader and a Cherokee Princess.
Adairsville moved in 1848 to Adair Station (established 1846 by William Watts) but kept the name Adairsville, honoring the Indian Chief.
The Battle of Adairsville, sometimes known as the "Gravel House Battle" was fought May 17, 1864.
Adairsville was entered in the National Register of . . . — Map (db m20005) HM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Adairsville — 008-30 — Barnsley’s|
|A unique, ante-bellum plantation, established by Godfrey Barnsley in the 1850’s.
Maj. Gen. J. B. McPherson’s H’dq’rs. [US], May 18, 1864.
K. Garrard’s cav. [US], via Hermitage, arrived at noon. A detachment (Minty’s brigade) sent S. toward Kingston was driven back by Ferguson’s cav. [CS]. During the fighting near the house, Col. R. G. Earle, 2d Ala. cav. [CS], was killed. McPherson, and Logan’s 15th A.C., arrived at evening ~ Harrow’s 4th div. camping on the plantation. Midnight, . . . — Map (db m40812) HM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Adairsville — 008-28 — Federal Armies at Adairsville|
|May 18, 1864, The 4th, 14th & 20th Corps (Army of the Cumberland) [US] together with the 15th &16th corps (Army of the Tennessee) [US] reached Adairsville from Resaca, at noon. Sherman convinced that all of Johnston´s forces had gone to Kingston & Etowah River crossings S. of it, directed his forces to converge there. McPherson´s Army of the Tennessee moved to Barnsley´s; the 4th & 14th by direct road to Kingston; the 23rd [US] (at Mosteller´s Mills, 5 mi. E.) & the 20th, were shifted S.W. across the Gravelly Plateau. — Map (db m13235) HM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Adairsville — 008-48 — Historic Trimble House — <—2 mi.—<|
|About 2 miles N. is the plantation home of Augustus Crawford Trimble, pioneer settler, member of the Home Guard, and businessman of Adairsville. A son, serving in the 1st Georgia Cavalry under Gen. Joe Wheeler, engaged the enemy on the plantation. Confederates under Wheeler fought Federals north of the house and many of the wounded were carried to the Trimble house which was used as a hospital by Confederates and Federals. Two members of Wheeler's cavalry died in the house and are buried . . . — Map (db m12419) HM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Adairsville — 008-27 — Johnston's Army at Adairsville|
|May 18, 1864. The three corps of the Confederate Army, on reaching Adairsville from Resaca, moved by two roads to Cassville. Hood´s & Polk´s corps marched S. on old U.S.41 Highway: Hardee´s corps took direct road to Kingston W. & parallel to the R.R. Units of Maj. Gen. S.G. French´s div. & Brig. Gen. W.H. Jackson´s Cavalry joined Polk´s corps [CS] here & at Cassville. The march by 2 roads was the facilitate troop movement & to divide Sherman´s forces [US] during his advance. — Map (db m13233) HM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Adairsville — 008-29 — McPherson’s Troops March to Barnsley’s|
|May 18th, 1864. Logan’s 15th A.C. of the Army of the Tennessee [US] left Adairsville in afternoon, following the 4th & 14th A.C. [US] as far as this point, where it turned S.W. to Barnsley Gardens, where it joined K. Garrard’s Cavalry [US].
Dodge’s 16th A.C. [US] followed the 15th from Adairsville after dark, & reached Barnsley’s at midnight.
The Army of the Tennessee formed the right flank of the Federal Armies moving S. on a wide front toward the Etowah River. — Map (db m40466) HM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Adairsville — 008-2 — Mosteller's Mills|
|Five miles NE on State Highway 140 - a notable plantation and manufacturing center of the 1860´s. The Federal 23rd Corps, left wing of Sherman´s forces [US] marching southward from Resaca, having crossed at Field´s Mill, Coosawattee River, enroute to Cassville, camped at Mosteller´s May 18, 1864.
Butterfield´s Div., of the 20th Corps [US], having crossed at Field´s, also marched by Mosteller´s. Geary´s and William´s Divisions, 20th Corps, were joined at Adairsville by Butterfield. — Map (db m13231) HM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Adairsville — 008-1 — Original Site Adairsville — 1830’s|
|May 17, 1864, Johnston’s forces (CSA) retreated S. From Resaca and paused here on an E. - W. line, the intention being to make a stand against the Federals in close pursuit. Finding the position untenable due to width of Oothcaloga Valley, Johnston withdrew at midnight. Hardee's Corps (CSA) was astride the road at this point. In rear-guard action, detachments from Hardee's Corps held the stone residence of Robert C. Saxon, 0.2 mi. N. of the County Line, until midnight. — Map (db m11779) HM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Allatoona — 008-44 — Allatoona Pass|
|Allatoona was in pioneer days a travel hub, because ridges from east and south met here where it was fairly easy to cross the Allatoona Mountain range by winding over a low ridge, or pass.
The Sandtown or Tennessee Road from the south, and the Old Alabama Road from the east, joined here to cross the pass, then separated, the Sandtown to cross the Etowah and aim for Tennessee, and the Alabama
Road to run west on the south side of the Etowah. — Map (db m13843) HM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Allatoona — Iowa|
|They Died so that our Nation Might Live 39th Iowa Volunteer Infantry Brigadier General John Corse of Iowa commanded victorious Federal forces at Allatoona Pass October 5, 1864 — Map (db m65172) HM WM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Atco — 008-3 — Pettit Creek — Camp Site, Federal 23d Corps.|
|Johnston’s forces [CS] retreated southward from Cassville along this road, to Allatoona Mountains, south of the Etowah, May 20, 1864. They were immediately followed by Schofield’s 23d Corps, [US] which encamped in this vicinity. While here, troops of Cox’s Div. [US] were sent to destroy the Cooper Iron Works, (site of Allatoona Dam), May 21-22. From this camp-site, the corps marched to the Etowah at Milam’s Bridge, on 23rd. — Map (db m21679) HM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Cartersville — Amos T. Akerman|
|Lawyer, U.S. Attorney for District of Georgia, 1869-70; U.S. Attorney General, 1870-71. Born Portsmouth, N.H., February 23, 1821; died in Cartersville, Georgia, December 21, 1880; buried Oak Hill Cemetery. Served as Confederate soldier in Georgia State Guard, 1864. As U.S. Attorney General in cabinet of President Ulysses S. Grant, organized Justice Department and Federal Bureau of Investigation and prosecuted first civil rights violation case. His residence and law office was on this property. — Map (db m60385) HM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Cartersville — 008-43 — Bartow County|
|Originally Cass, Bartow County was created by Act of Dec. 3, 1832 from Cherokee County. The name was changed Dec. 6, 1861 to honor Gen. Francis S. Bartow (1816-1861), Confederate political leader and soldier, who fell mortally wounded at the First Battle of Manassas, while leading the 7th and 8th Ga. Vols. of his brigade. His last words were said to be, “They have killed me, boys, but never give up.” First officers of this county, commissioned March 9, 1833, were: Benjamin F. Adair, . . . — Map (db m40585) HM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Cartersville — 008-41 — Battle of Allatoona|
|After the fall of Atlanta, hoping Sherman would follow, Hood moved his Confederate army north, sending French’s Division to fill the railroad cut at Allatoona, and burn the railroad bridge over the Etowah River, to hamper Sherman’s movement.
French found Corse with 2,000 men entrenched on the ridge guarding military stores, and with his 3,000 he attacked on October 5, 1864. The fight was costly but indecisive. French lost 799, Corse 706 men. French, not risking an all-out attack, withdrew before aid reached Corse. — Map (db m21843) HM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Cartersville — Etowah|
|Four miles east, in the gorge of the Etowah River, are the picturesque ruins of the once flourishing town of Etowah, developed by Mark Cooper around his iron furnace and rolling mill. The furnace was built in 1844, following one built in 1837 on Stamp Creek. Later five others operated nearby.
In 1864, Etowah reached its peak with 2,000 inhabitants, iron furnace, foundry, and rolling mill, flour mill, corn mills and saw mills, and was destroyed for its munitions importance by Sherman’s Army. — Map (db m56315) HM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Cartersville — 008-54 — Etowah (Tumlin) Mounds|
|For over 100 years Etowah Indian Mounds were the Tumlin Mounds. In 1832 Col. Lewis Tumlin came to Cass County (Bartow) and drew the land lot that contained the mounds. Col. Tumlin served as county sheriff from 1834 to 1840. As young soldiers, Gen. William
T. Sherman and Col. Tumlin became friends. First visiting the mounds in 1844, Sherman returned in 1864 and spared Col. Tumlin´s home. In 1887, the Tumlins allowed the Smithsonian Institute´s Bureau of American Ethnology to survey and . . . — Map (db m13471) HM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Cartersville — 008-47 — Etowah and the War|
|The Confederacy sought iron and munitions eagerly, which quickly brought prosperity to Etowah. Patriotic key workers, though exempt from army duty, enlisted, and loss of their skill hampered production.
Mark Cooper sold the works in 1862. In the 1863, the Confederacy took over the firm seeking to increase production. As Sherman marched by in 1864, mindful of the war value of iron, he sent troops, who, after a brisk skirmish, burned the plant on May 22. This ended an era -- the works were not . . . — Map (db m56318) HM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Cartersville — Etowah Valley Plantation|
|On this site from 1844-1879 stood the plantation of Maj. John Sharpe Rowland and Frances Lewis Rowland. The plantation comprised some 2,500 acres. Rowland’s Ferry was located just northeast of here at the mouth of Pettit’s Creek. The Rowlands also owned Rowland Springs which was approximately 9.5 miles northeast of here. It was the most exclusive resort in the State of Georgia in the mid 19th century.
John Rowland was a veteran of the War of 1812 and served as Superintendent of the Western . . . — Map (db m68747) HM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Cartersville — 008-45 — Federal Fort|
|Atop the hill to the east was a fort that protected the river bridge, part of the rail line which enabled Sherman to supply his army during the Atlanta Campaign. The rail line has been moved downstream, but piers in the river mark the site of the bridge in 1864. Troops here passed much time in swimming, hiking, picking berries, and they played baseball in the field to the west -- doubtless some of the first games in this section. Often the men went out seeking food, and sometimes were fired . . . — Map (db m10894) HM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Cartersville — 008-14 — Felton Home|
|Dr. William H. Felton and his wife, Rebecca Latimer, lived from 1853 until 1905 in the house east of this marker.
A physician, minister and noted orator, Dr. Felton was the leader of the Independent Revolt from the State Democratic Party in the 1870´s and won three spectacular Congressional campaigns.
Mrs. Felton´s appointment in 1922 at the age of 87, as the first woman U.S. Senator climaxed a long career in which she had gained wide recognition as an author, newspaper columnist, and crusader for women´s rights. — Map (db m13483) HM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Cartersville — Friendship Cemetery|
|This site was donated by Arnold Milner, owner of a farm on the Etowah River, to be used for a church and cemetery for his family and friends. Friendship Presbyterian Church held its first services here on February 26, 1843. The church met here until 1853 when it moved to its present location in Cartersville where it became known as the First Presbyterian Church. Burials in the cemetery continued for more than 100 years. — Map (db m56367) HM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Cartersville — 008-51 — Friendship Monument|
|The nearby marble shaft has the unique distinction of having been erected by a debtor in honor of his creditors. Losses during the panic of 1857 forced Mark A. Cooper, proprietor of the Etowah Iron Works, to offer this property for sale to satisfy a $100,000 debt. Thirty-eight friends signed notes totaling that amount to save the enterprise. When the debt was repaid in 1860, Cooper erected this monument on which the names of his benefactors are inscribed. — Map (db m11627) HM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Cartersville — God Bless America — September 11, 2001 — We Will Never Forget|
|In Memory & In Honor
of Those Who Serve And Protect Our Great Country
This memorial given by Frank Perkins, Cartersville Monument Co & Steve Owen, Owen Funeral Home
9-11-2003 — Map (db m65822) WM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Cartersville — Home of Sam P Jones|
|Sam P. Jones was born October 16, 1847, in Oak Bowery, Alabama; he moved to Cartersville with his parents in 1856. After his admission to the Georgia Bar in 1868 he married Laura McElwain. In 1872 he was licensed as a Methodist Minister. His national career of evangelism begun in 1864, covered the U.S. and Canada. Dedicated on Christmas Day, 1865, this house was occupied for twenty-one years by Sam Jones. His public speaking was famous for its pathos and humor while his gospel was loved for its appeal. He died on October 15, 1906. — Map (db m21695) HM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Cartersville — John W. Akin — 1850 - 1907|
|Initiated in Cartersville Lodge No. 63 on June 2, 1891, passed on June 30, & raised on
Aug. 4, 1891. Was W.M. 1893, 1894, 1899 & 1901. Jr. Grand Warden of the Grand Lodge of GA in 1897 & 1898. Judge of Cartersville City Court, President of City School Board. President & Secretary of Georgia Bar Association. Representative and State Senator for Bartow county. President of the Georgia Senate. A Lawyer, Politician, Farmer , Miner, Railroad Builder, Writer & devoted member of the Methodist . . . — Map (db m53015) HM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Cartersville — 008-50 — Mark Anthony Cooper's Iron Works|
|These ruins of an old iron furnace built by Moses Stroup are all that remain of Cooper's Iron Works, developed by Mark Anthony Cooper, pioneer industrialist, politician, and farmer. Cooper was born in 1800 near Powelton, Ga. Graduating from S.C. College (now the University of S.C.) in 1819, he was admitted to the bar in 1821 and opened a law office in Eatonton. A member of the Ga. Legislature in 1855, he later served in the 26th Congress, filled a vacancy in the 27th, and was reelected to the . . . — Map (db m56319) HM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Cartersville — 003-8 — Milam's Bridge|
|The covered structure over the Etowah here, was burned by Jackson´s [CS] Cav. May 21, 1864, the day after Johnston´s [CS] passage of the river at State R.R. Bridge. May 23rd, the 2 pontoon bridges intended for the passage of Schofield´s 23d A.C. [US] were usurped by the 20th A.C. [US] (mistakenly diverted from Gillem´s bridge) and the 23d A.C. did not cross until the 24th. This and crossings lower down were on Federal routes from Kingston & Cassville toward Dallas, Paulding Co. Sherman [US] . . . — Map (db m13840) HM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Cartersville — Old Bartow County Courthouse — Circa 1873|
|Has been placed on the
National Register of Historic Places
By the United States Department of the Interior — Map (db m60407) HM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Cartersville — Pierce Manning Butler Young, (1836-1896)|
|PMB Young was born in Spartanburg, S.C., on November 15, 1836. His parents were Dr. Robert Maxwell and Elizabeth Caroline (Jones) Young. The Young family came to Georgia in 1839. He graduated from Georgia Military Institute at Marietta in 1856; studied law; entered the USMA, West Point, N.Y., in 1857 and resigned two months before graduation to enter the Confederate Army. He became the youngest Major General in both Armies. After the war, he came home to Cartersville. Was elected to fill the . . . — Map (db m21680) HM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Cartersville — Private First Class Jerry Wayne Gentry — In Memory of — United States Army|
|Killed in Action - 9 November 1967 - Republic of Vietnam
PFC Gentry was a crew member of an M113 Armored Personnel Carrier assigned to B Troop, 1st Squadron, 1st Cavalry, of the Americal Division in the Republic of Vietnam. While engaged in an assault west of the city of Que Son, his APC was disabled by enemy fire, injuring four of the crew. As the only uninjured member of the crew, PFC Gentry, in the face of enemy automatic weapons fire and with complete disregard for his own safety, . . . — Map (db m67110) WM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Cartersville — 008-25 — Raccoon Creek|
|Geary´s (2d) Div., 20th A.C. [US], having crossed the Etowah, May 23, drove Ross´ cavalry [CS] beyond the creek, May 24, 1864. This covered the march of
the rest of the corps S. to Burnt Hickory P.O., in which Geary´s troops joined - being relieved here by Schofield´s 23d A.C. [US] at noon.
Schofield moved E. on this, the Alabama rd., enroute to Sligh´s Mill - these troops being the left of Sherman´s [US] flanking March around the Allatoona
Mountains. The 20th A.C. route to Hickory was the road next W. of Raccoon Creek. — Map (db m13946) HM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Cartersville — Rowland Springs|
|On this site from 1844–1872 stood the most exclusive resort in Georgia. In 1843 Maj. John Sharpe Rowland and his wife Frances Machen Lewis Rowland purchased 2,400 acres and built a health resort which included such amenities as a ten pin alley, pistol gallery, fountain, swans, nature trails, fruit orchards, fishing, and abundant wildlife. Over 27 cool and refreshing mineral springs provided medicinal treatment and refreshment to visitors. The hotel and cabins accommodated up to 600 . . . — Map (db m70986) HM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Cartersville — 008-12B — Site of Sam Jones' Tabernacle|
|For 20 years, thousands came annually to this site, attracted by the magnetic personality and forceful eloquence of Sam Jones, renowned Evangelist and Christian crusader.
Here he built, in 1886, at his own expense, a large open-air structure, called “The Tabernacle,” for the inter-faith meetings begun in 1884.
Until his death in 1906, he held services here each September, bringing to his hometown the co-workers who assisted him in the great revivals he held throughout the country. — Map (db m40571) HM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Cartersville — Taylorsville High School — 1900 - 1966|
|In 1900, while Georgia was struggling to organize a system of schools, Taylorsville citizens founded the first free high school in Bartow County. Leaders included W. D. Trippe, Sr.; W. M Dorsey; W. P Harris, Sr.; W. m Trippe; E. O. Davis; L. W. Jolly; P. M. Rhodes and John Dorsey. In 1922, seven years before Bartow County established high schools, the first of over 660 diplomas was awarded. In 1926, a $10,000 bond built a 5 room brick building to replace the original 3 room frame structure that . . . — Map (db m70985) HM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Cartersville — Tribute on Monument / 38 Names on Monument|
|Side 1 This monument is erected by Mark A. Cooper, Proprietor at Etowah, as a Grateful tribute to the Friendship and Liberality of those whose names are hereon inscribed, which prompted them to aid him in the prosecution and development of the interests at Etowah. Side 2 West Side Wade S. Cochran • John Banks • William L. Mitchell • J.E. Hart • Pleasant Stovall • John M. Flournoy • James R. Jones • H.S. Smith • Wareham Cromwell • Hon. M.J. Wellborn • John W. Lewis • Lewis Tumlin . . . — Map (db m11630) HM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Cassville — Affair at Cassville|
|1. On May 19, 1864, Confederate General Joseph E. Johnston tricked Union General William T. Sherman into dividing his forces at Adairsville and sending the XXIII corps under John M. Schofield across the Gravelly Plateau to Cassville. 2. Johnston placed Leonidas Polk's corps behind Two Run Creek northwest of Cassville to oppose Schofield in front as he began crossing the creek. 3. Johnston then sent John B. Hood's corps northward along the Spring Place Road, to ambush Schofield in the left . . . — Map (db m13484) HM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Cassville — Atlanta Campaign — Cassville|
|National Historic Site Atlanta Campaign Cassville On May 19, 1864, Johnston, entrenched on the ridge east of this marker, planned to give battle but Sherman threatened his flank and his corps commanders objected to the position. He therefore withdrew to Allatoona Pass. Rather than attack this strong position Sherman moved past it toward New Hope Church. — Map (db m12368) HM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Cassville — 008-20 — Confederate Army of Tenn. at Cassville|
|Gen. Joseph E. Johnston’s forces [CS], reaching Cassville May 18, 1864 from Resaca, 30 m. N., took positions on ridge W. of the town & prepared to
withstand the advancing Federals. May 19th: Pursuant to this intention, Hood´s corps [CS] moved N. of the town to oppose the Federal 20th & 23rd corps marching S. from Adairsville. But Hood´s corp. diverted by an attack on its right by McCook´s cavalry [US], changed front & was ordered with the rest of the Army [CS] to withdraw to ridge E. & S. of the town. — Map (db m13940) HM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Cassville — 008-39B — Confederate Dead|
|In this cemetery are buried about 300 unknown Confederate soldiers who died of wounds or disease in the several Confederate hospitals located in Cassville. These hospitals operated from late 1861 until May 18, 1864, then moved south out of the path of the invading Federal forces. In May 1899, the Cassville Chapter of the United Daughters of the Confederacy, to honor these unknown soldiers, placed headstones at each of their graves. — Map (db m13978) HM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Cassville — 008-23 — Confederate Line — 5 P.M. May 19, 1864|
|The three corps of Gen. Joseph E. Johnston’s Army [CS] were withdrawn from N. & W. of Cassville to this ridge, E. & S. of the town.
Hardee was posted astride the R.R. near Cass Station on the S.; Polk centered here & Hood’s line skirted the cemetery N. This shift from an aggressive to a defensive position resulted in a Council of War at Polk’s h’dq’rs. where it was claimed the line was untenable, whereupon Johnson ordered a retreat to the Etowah River that night. — Map (db m30561) HM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Cassville — 008-38 — Gen. Leonidas Polk's Headquarters|
|The William Neal McKelvey residence - 1864. A Council of War held here May 19, discussed the advisability of holding the position E. & S. of Cassville by the Confederate army. Present were: Gen. Joseph E. Johnston; Lt. Gen. Polk; Lt. Gen. John B. Hood;
Maj. Gen. S. C. French; & Capt. W.J. Morris, Chief Engineer, Polk´s A.C. After hearing the statements of the Council Johnston ordered the withdrawal of the army at midnight. This decision stemmed from a failure to make an opportune attack on . . . — Map (db m15457) HM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Cassville — 008-40 — Grave of Gen. William Tatum Wofford|
|Gen. William Tatum Wofford (June 28, 1824 - May 22, 1884), Cav. Capt. in the Mexican War, Col. and Brig. Gen. in the Confederate Army, is buried here. After Fredericksburg he succeeded to the command of Gen. Thomas R. R. Cobb, who was mortally wounded there. He served with distinction at Manassas, South Mountain, Antietam, Fredericksburg, Chancellorsville and the Wilderness. Jan. 23, 1865, the Confederate War Department placed him in charge of forces in North Georgia to protect citizens against . . . — Map (db m30569) HM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Cassville — 008-19 — Gravelly Plateau & Two Run Creek|
|May 19, 1864: Butterfield´s (3d) Div., 20th A.C. [US], moving S.E., from McDow´s, left the road here & marched to the Hawkins Price house, enroute to
Kingston. The 1st & 2nd Divs. [US], on roads W., had the same objective - an erratic move by Sherman who assumed that Johnston´s Army [CS] had retreated on Kingston. Butterfield´s march disclosed that Johnston´s Army was at Cassville , not Kingston. The 23rd A.C. (Schofield) [US] marched on this road from McDow´s, reaching Cassville at dark. — Map (db m13929) HM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Cassville — Historic McKelvey House — Polk's HQRS.-May 19, 1864|
|Here the night of May 19, 1864, the Confederate Generals Joe Johnston, Leonidas Polk and John B. Hood, held a conference, the results of which caused the Confederates to abandon Cassville and to move south of the Etowah. Although Johnston intended to fight here.
Marker erected 1948
By Patriots Of Bartow County
Inscription by Col. Thomas Spencer — Map (db m15454) HM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Cassville — 008-52 — Noble Hill Rosenwald School|
|Noble Hill Rosenwald School, now known as Noble Hill-Wheeler Memorial Center, built in 1923 as the first standard school for Black children in Bartow County School System. The school closed in 1955 when all schools for Black Children in Bartow County were
consolidated to form Bartow Elementary School at a central location.
Today the restored building is a cultural heritage museum with emphasis on Black life in Bartow from the early 1900´s to the present. Historical information on all . . . — Map (db m13456) HM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Cassville — 008-21 — Site - Cassville Female College|
|A large brick structure erected 1853. May 19, 1864: Skirmishers of Polk´s A.C. [CS] withdrew from this ridge E. to Cassville when pressed back by Butterfield´s (3d) Div., 20th A.C. [US], from the Hawkins Price house. Battery C, 1st Ohio Lt. Art., supported by 73d Ohio, 19th Mich. & 20th Conn. Reg’ts. [US] occupied ridge & shelled the town as Johnson´s Army [CS] withdrew to ridge E. of it.
At night Cassville was seized by the 19th Mich. & 20th Conn. Female College & town were burned by . . . — Map (db m13941) HM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Cassville — 008-22 — Site - Cherokee Baptist College|
|On Chapman Hill; a school for boys established Jan. 1854. A large three-story brick bldg. flanked by two-story wings. Burned 1856; rebuilt 1857, destroyed by
Federal forces Oct. 12, 1864. This, & the Methodist Female College 3/4 mi. N.E., were the first chartered institutions of higher education in Cherokee Georgia. Their destruction, together with the burning of Cassville, marked the passing of a notable educational center in this section of the state. — Map (db m13942) HM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Cassville — Site of Cassville — Named For Lewis Cass|
|County seat Cass County 1832-1861. First decision Supreme Court of Georgia, 1846. Name changed to Manassas 1861. Town burned by Sherman 1864 and never rebuilt. — Map (db m12359) HM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Cassville — 008-17 — Town Of Cassville|
| In this valley was once situated the proud town of Cassville, begun in July 1833, as the seat of justice for Cass County and soon the center of trade and travel in the region recently comprising the Cherokee Nation. Both the county and town where named in the honor of Gen. Lewis Cass Michigan statesman and Secretary of War in the Cabinet of President Andrew Jackson.
A decade after its founding Cassville lost its preeminence as a trading center due to the location of the state owned . . . — Map (db m12371) HM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Emerson — 008-5 — Battle of Allatoona — October 5, 1864|
|Lt. Gen. John B. Hood, Army of Tenn. [CS], while enroute N. from Palmetto, Ga., sent Lt. Gen. A.P. Stewart´s Corps to destroy the State R.R. from Big
Shanty to the Etowah River. Stewart seized Big Shanty and Acworth on the 3d, and French´s Div. was sent on the 4th, to capture Allatoona. Daylight, the 5th,
French [CS] deployed his troops around the Federal garrison, commanded by Gen. John M. Corse [US], posted on high ground E., and W. of the rock cut. — Map (db m13935) HM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Emerson — 008-6 — Battle of Allatoona — October 5, 1864|
|After artillery firing and repeated assaults by French´s troops, [CS] the Federals made a final stand in the star fort W. of rock cut. Failing to dislodge
the defenders, French retreated to New Hope Church in Paulding County. French´s division consisted of Young´s, Cockrell´s, & Sear´s Brigades, [CS] 3,276; losses 799. Corse´s command: Alexander´s & Rowett´s Brigades, [US] 2137; losses, 706. This battle inspired the gospel hymn, "Hold the fort for I am coming". — Map (db m13936) HM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Emerson — 008-4 — Emerson|
|Named for Joseph Emerson Brown, Gov. of Ga., 1857-1865, U.S. Senator, 1880-1891. Known as Stegall`s Station prior to 1889; site of the Bartow Iron Works. May 20, 1864: Gen. Joseph E. Johnston`s forces camped here after retreating from Cassville and burning the highway and R.R. bridges over the Etowah. Having heard that Sherman`s forces had moved southward from Kingston toward Dallas, Johnston resumed his march on roads that converged there, May 23d, 24th. Allatoona, scene of Oct. 5, 1864, battle, is 2 mi. E. — Map (db m10907) HM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Emerson — 008-7 — Railroad Block-house|
|On Allatoona Creek in this vicinity, a Federal block-house, guarding State R.R. bridge, was garrisoned by Companies E, F, and I, of the 18th Wisconsin Regt. Oct. 5, 1864, while retreating from Allatoona, 2 mi. N., French’s Div. of Stewart’s A.C. [CS] burned the bridge and block-house, capturing 84 officers and men. The State R.R. was shifted north in 1949 and in 1950, Allatoona Creek was flooded by the impounded waters of Allatoona Dam. — Map (db m21677) HM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Euharlee — Black Pioneers Cemetery — Circa 1830 – 1900|
|333 marked graves in 2001
Jim Scott 1871
Hett Powell 1890 — Map (db m56364) HM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Euharlee — 8-1 — Euharlee Creek Covered Bridge|
|In 1886 the county contracted with Washington W. King, son of freed slave and noted bridge builder Horace King, and Jonathan H. Burke for the construction of this 138-foot bridge. It was adjacent to a mill owned by Daniel Lowry, of which the foundation is still evident. This bridge replaced several previous structures, the last having been built two years prior. Constructed in the Town lattice design, the bridge’s web of planks
crisscrossing at 45-to 60-degree angles are fastened with wooden pegs, or trunnels, at each intersection. — Map (db m8478) HM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Kingston — 008-31 — 4th & 14th A.C. March to Kingston|
|May 18, 1864. Howard’s 4th Corps leading, & two divs. of Palmer’s 14th [US], moved from Adairsville on this direct road to Kingston. They were halted just outside of Adairsville to await the support of the 15th A. C. of McPherson’s Army of the Tennessee, [US] which had not yet arrived.
The 4th & 14th began the march at 1 p.m. They traveled both the wagon road & R.R. right-of-way, reaching this point on E. fork of Conesena Creek at 6 p.m.
May 19. The march was resumed at 5 a.m.. Kingston was reached at 8 a.m. — Map (db m40581) HM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Kingston — 008-39 — Confederate Memorial Day|
|First Decoration, or Memorial Day, was observed in Kingston in late April of 1865, and has been a continuous observance here since that day, the only such record held by any community in this Nation. The first Memorial, or Decoration Day, was observed while Federals still occupied this town, flowers being placed on both Confederate and Federal graves that day. Much credit is due the Dardens and other patriotic citizens of this town for their untiring efforts to keep alive memories of the gallant Confederates - greatest fighting men of all time. — Map (db m13976) HM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Kingston — 008-37 — Hardee's Corps at Kingston|
|May 18, 1864. Lt. Gen. Wm. J. Hardee´s A. C. marched from Adairsville on the road parallel to the State R.R. -- turning E. on this rd. to join Polk´s & Hood´s corps [CS] at Cassville, which had moved on the direct Adairsville - Cassville road. Sherman´s [US] error in assuming that all of Johnston´s army [CS] had marched from Adairsville, as Hardee had, to Kingston, caused him to order his forces concentrated here -- discovering later that the Confederate Army was 5.5 miles E. at Cassville & not at the river S. of Kingston. — Map (db m13962) HM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Kingston — 008-8 — Historic Price House|
|2.5 mi. N.E. is the antebellum house of Col. Hawkins F. Price; State Senator 1857-1865; Mem. Ga. Secession Convention. A landmark of military operations near Cassville, where both Gen. Daniel Butterfield & Gen. Hooker (20th A.C.) [US] had headquarters May 19, 1864. Hooker had been ordered from Adairsville to Kingston, on false reports that Johnston [CS] had retreated there. S. of the price house Hooker discovered that Johnston had gone to Cassville. — Map (db m13497) HM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Kingston — 008-35 — House - Site Thomas V. B. Hargis|
|Maj. Gen. W.T. Sherman´s Headquarters
May 19-23, 1864
Sherman [US] occupied the Hargis house for three days of reorganization of forces in the campaign that ended at Atlanta.
Assuming the Johnston´s army [CS] had moved, from Adairsville, directly on Kingston & the river crossings S., May 18, led Sherman to concentrate his forces here -- only to discover that Johnston had gone directly to Cassville where, without making a stand, he retreated to Allatoona, May 20th. Sherman countered May 23, by moving due S. — Map (db m13965) HM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Kingston — 008-49 — Kingston Methodist Church|
|The original church, with another name and at another location, was built in 1845, rebuilt in Kingston in 1854, and dedicated by Rev. Lovick Pierce, a leading preacher of the nation and father of Bishop George F. Pierce. The only church remaining after Sherman´s
march through here, it opened its doors freely to all denominations, creating such a spirit of fellowship that children of the generation grew up feeling there was only one church. It was Kingston´s schoolhouse, too. For many years . . . — Map (db m13537) HM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Kingston — 008-12A — Old Macedonia Church Organized 1847|
|In 1864, a road southward from Wooley´s Bridge (Etowah River) crossed the road near this point and ran to Van Wert (Rockmart) and Dallas. This was the route of McPherson´s Army of the Tennessee (15th and 16th Corps.), [US] right wing of forces under Sherman moving from Kingston to the Dallas front, May 23, 24.
The church stood at the N.W. angle of the crossroads until another edifice was erected on site of the present structure, 3/4 mile eastward. — Map (db m13926) HM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Kingston — Original Hospital Site of Wayside Home|
|This is the site of Kingston Wayside Home, the first Confederate hospital, established in August, 1861 by the Soldier’s Aid Society and other citizens of this vicinity. More than 10,000 sick and wounded Confederate soldiers received necessary medical attention within its walls during the three years it was operated. — Map (db m26156) HM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Kingston — Rome Railroad|
|Incorporated on Dec. 21, 1839 as the Memphis Branch Railroad and Steamboat Co. of Georgia, this was the first railroad in the South designed to connect steamboat traffic to railroads. In Dec., 1849 the 18 mile track from Kingston to Rome was completed. From Rome, cotton and other commodities were shipped downriver on the Coosa to Gadsden, Alabama, and other points.
In April, 1862 the “William R. Smith” on the Rome Railroad picked up the chase in Kingston to pursue the Andrew . . . — Map (db m35010) HM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Kingston — Sherman’s March to the Sea|
|Near this site on November 7, 1864 General Sherman received orders from President Lincoln and General Grant to proceed with his plans to march his army from Atlanta to the sea. Thus, the infamous March to the Sea originated in Kingston. This action resulted in a new type of warfare known as total war, where cities, towns, farms, plantations, and civilians were considered targets to end the war. — Map (db m35011) HM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Kingston — 008-32 — Spring Bank|
|Ante-bellum plantation and residence of the Rev. Charles Wallace Howard, where he established a private school. May 18, 1864. Hardee´s A.C. [CS] moved from Adairsville to Kingston on this road enroute to Cass Station. May 19, the 4th and 14th A.C. [US] followed, occupying Kingston, to which point all the rest of the army had been directed by Sherman under the false impression that Johnston´s forces had retreated there. The stirring events of locality are ably set forth by Frances Thomas . . . — Map (db m13195) HM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Kingston — 008-36 — Surrender of Confederate Troops|
|May 12, 1865
Brig. Gen. Wm. T. Wofford [CS] arranged with Brig. Gen. Henry M. Judah, U.S.A. for the surrender of some 3000 to 4000 Confederate soldiers, mostly Georgians, not paroled in Virginia, N. Carolina, and elsewhere.
During final negotiations, Gen. Wofford´s h´dq´rs were at the McCravey - Johnson res. on Church St. Gen. Judah´s h´dq´rs were at Spring Bank, the home of the Rev. Charles Wallace Howard, 2 mi. N. of Kingston.
Rations were supplied to the Confederate soldiery by the Federal Commissary. — Map (db m13967) HM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Kingston — 008-34 — The Andrews Raiders at Kingston|
|Apr. 12, 1862. James J. Andrews with 18 Ohio soldiers [US] in disguise, & 1 civilian, having seized the locomotive "GENERAL" at Big Shanty (KENNESAW) intending to wreck the State R.R., were forced to side track here & wait for the S. bound freights. After a long delay the "GENERAL" continued N.. Pursuing from Big Shanty, Capt. W. A. Fuller (Conductor), Jeff Cain (Engineer), & Anthony Murphy [CS], -- using a push-car -- reached the Etowah, where the . . . — Map (db m13963) HM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Kingston — 008-33 — The Federal Army at Kingston|
|May 19, 1864. The 4th, followed by the 14th A.C. [US] reached Kingston, 8 a.m. The 4th turned E. to Cassville; a div. of the 14th sent to Gillem´s bridge, Etowah River, finding no retreating Confederates, Johnston´s forces [CS] were at Cassville, 5.5 mi. E. McPherson´s 15th and 16th A.C. [US], moving S. from Barnsley´s, camped on Woolley´s plantation 2 mi. W; 4th, 20th & 23d A.C. at Cassville. Sherman´s forces in camp to May 23, when advance across the Etowah began. Of the 3 bridges, . . . — Map (db m13961) HM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Kingston — 008-40 — Unknown Confederate Dead|
|Here sleep, known but to God, 250 Confederate and two Federal soldiers, most of whom died of wounds, disease and sickness in the Confederate hospitals located here - 1862-1864. These men were wounded in the battles of Perryville, Chickamauga, Missionary Ridge, and in the Dalton-Kingston Campaign. Surgeon B.W. Avent was in charge of these hospitals. Hospitals were moved to Atlanta in May of 1864 to avoid capture by Federals. These hospitals later used by the Federals. — Map (db m13980) HM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Kingston — 008-11 — Woolley's Bridge|
|In 1864, this covered structure spanned the Etowah River on the plantation of Andrew F. Woolley, 0.5 mi. S. Next to the river was the Rome - Kingston R.R. discontinued, 1943. May 19, McPherson´s Army of the Tenn. (15th & 16th Corps) [US] arched from Barnsley´s and camped on the Woolley Plantation. This right wing of Sherman´s advance, Kingston to Dallas, -- crossed the river, May 23d. October 11, while encamped on the Woolley Plantation, the Ohio soldiers of the 23d [US] Corps, voted in a State Election. — Map (db m13925) HM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Pine Log — 008-13 — Corra Harris|
|Author of "A Circuit Rider´s Wife" and many other books and articles, lived from 1913 until her death in 1935. The most productive years of her career were spent in a picturesque log cabin, which, according to legend, was once the home of a Cherokee Indian chief. Born at Elberton in 1869, she married the Rev. Lundy Howard Harris at the age of 17. From her experiences as the wife of an itinerant Methodist minister she later drew her literary material. — Map (db m13230) HM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Rydal — Historic Pine Log Methodist Church|
|250´ west of this marker stands, Historic Pine Log Methodist Church, Cemetery, tabernacle, and Camp Grounds, established in 1834. The oldest Church in continuous use in Cass/Bartow County. This Church area is on the national Register for Historic District. This sign erected by the Pine Log Historical Society and the Men´s Club of Historic Pine Log United Methodist Church, dedicated to the Glory of God and the Early Settlers of Pine Log Georgia. — Map (db m44782) HM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Rydal — Old Pine Log Indian Town|
|Pine Log Town, located on Pine Log Creek in the flat fields slightly over a half mile east of Oak Hill Church north of GA 140, (in Pine Log, Georgia), extended almost a mile along the creek. The lots were 293, 294, 295,296, 317, 318, 284,and 283, in the 23rd District and 2nd Section of the new organized Cass County (now Bartow) in 1832. The Ridge, or Major Ridge, brought his aged parents from Hiawassee (now Tennessee) to Pine Log (now Georgia) because of the tranquility of the place. It was . . . — Map (db m13190) HM|
|Georgia (Bartow County), Taylorsville — 008-24 — The Army of the Cumberland at Stilesboro|
|May 23-24, 1864: The 4th, 20th & two divisions of the 14th corps [US] converged here, from Etowah River crossings at Island Ford, Gillem’s & Milam’s bridges, & moved S.E. up the valley of Raccoon Cr. to Burnt Hickory P.O. (Huntsville).
The Army of the Ohio (23d A.C. & Stoneman’s Cavalry) [US], crossing at Milam’s, moved E. & S. to Burnt Hickory, via Sligh’s Mill.
These troops composed center & left of Sherman’s advance to New Hope Church. — Map (db m46621) HM|
|Georgia (Ben Hill County), Fitzgerald — 009-2 — Ben Hill County|
|Ben Hill County, created by Act of July 31, 1906 from Irwin and Wilcox Counties, was named for Benjamin Harvey Hill (1823-1882), “one of America’s greatest orators.” A staunch supporter of the administration in the Confederate Senate, after the War Between the States he was an influential member of the U.S. House of Representatives and Senate. First officers of Ben Hill County, commissioned Jan. 5, 1907, were: C.M. Wise, Ordinary; D.W.M. Whitley, Clerk Superior Court; W.H. Fountain, . . . — Map (db m40263) HM|
|Georgia (Ben Hill County), Fitzgerald — Dedicated to the Veterans of 1898 - 1902|
|“You triumphed over obstacles which would have overcome men less brave and determined”
Hiker of ‘98 (on base of soldier)
Dedicated to the Veterans of 1898 -1902
By the Camps and Auxiliaries of the Department of Georgia, United Spanish War Veterans, at the 18th Encampment
May 26-28, 1940 — Map (db m62952) WM|
|Georgia (Ben Hill County), Fitzgerald — First Baptist Church Bell|
|This bell was awarded to the First Baptist Church by Governor William J. Northen (1833-1913) to honor the first church built in the Colony City of Fitzgerald. Governor Northen was an outstanding Baptist layman who graduated from Mercer University at the age of 18 and was president of the Georgia Baptist Convention for 14 years. He was president of the Southern Baptist Convention during 1899-1901 and served as a Mercer trustee for 44 years.
Fitzgerald was settled during the summer of 1895 . . . — Map (db m11705) HM|
|Georgia (Ben Hill County), Fitzgerald — 009-4 — Fitzgerald — The Colony City|
|Founded at Swan in 1895 by Mr. Philander H. Fitzgerald, lawyer, veteran and publisher of the AMERICAN TRIBUNE of Indianapolis, as a soldiers’ colony in the South. Fitzgerald was settled by Union veterans who, tired of Northern winters, flocked from 38 states and 2 territories to this benign and fertile land, which, only 30 years before, had been deep in enemy territory.
In the early 90’s, devastating droughts had impoverished the farmers of the Mid-West and Georgians had sent trainloads of . . . — Map (db m40377) HM|
|Georgia (Ben Hill County), Fitzgerald — 009-1 — Gen. Bush's Home — ←——«|
|This was the home of General William Jordan Bush, last survivor of the 125,000 heroes from Georgia who fought for the South. Gen. Bush was born near Gordon, Ga. July 10, 1845, and died here Nov. 11, 1952. In the War Between the States he was a private in Co. B., 14th Ga. Infantry, under Capt. Tom Wilcox and Gen. John B. Gordon. His title of General was won through offices held in the United Confederate Veterans.
Active until a few weeks before his death at 107, Gen. Bush attended all UCV reunions and danced at public functions. — Map (db m40168) HM|
|Georgia (Ben Hill County), Fitzgerald — 009-3 — Jefferson Davis Memorial State Park|
|On May 4, 1865, Jefferson Davis arrived in Washington, Georgia (178 miles NE of the Park), where he performed his last duties as President of the Confederate States of America. Shortly thereafter, with a small staff and escort, he departed enroute to the trans-Mississippi Department where, supported by those Confederate forces not yet surrendered, he hoped to negotiate a just peace.
After a difficult journey via Sandersville, Dublin and Abbeville, he camped a mile north or Irwinville (9 . . . — Map (db m40378) HM|
|Georgia (Ben Hill County), Fitzgerald — 077-8 — Ozias Church Bethlehem Church|
|Ozias Primitive Baptist Church was constituted July 14, 1832. Elders Wilson Conner and John Martial were the Presbytery. Members were John McDonald, Randall McDonald, Elijah Hunter, Penelope Hunter, Catherine McCall, Mary McDonald, Elizabeth McDonald. The Rev. Randall McDonald was pastor, and Redding Hunter was clerk.
On March 11, 1854, it was agreed to change the name to Bethlehem Church. The Rev. Hardy McGlawn and the Rev. W.F. Willis served as first pastors after Bethlehem Church was constituted. — Map (db m57153) HM|
|Georgia (Berrien County), Nashville — 010-3 — Berrien County|
|Berrien County, created by Act of Feb. 25, 1856, was named for John MacPherson Berrien, “the American Cicero,” who was born Aug. 23, 1781 and died Jan. 1, 1856. He was Judge of the Eastern Circuit, U.S. Senator and U.S. Attorney General. The county seat, Nashville, was named for Gen. Francis Nash of N.C., distinguished soldier of the Revolution. First county officers, commissioned April 21, 1856, were: Sher., John Studstill; Clk. of Courts, Richard A. Peeples; Tax Rec., John A. . . . — Map (db m40122) HM|
|Georgia (Berrien County), Nashville — 010-1 — Flat Creek Mills|
|Flat Creek Mills was a trading Post and election precinct many years before the present Berrien County was created in 1856. Officers of the new county were sworn in here, and there being no court house, the first Inferior Court was held here in the unfinished barn of W.D. Griffin, owner of the Mills at that time. The next year the barn was finished and in use so court was held across the Creek in the home of Mr. Ham who moved his beds and other furniture out for the purpose. — Map (db m50534) HM|
|Georgia (Berrien County), Nashville — 010-4 — Indian Fights|
|In the summer of 1836, a company of militia under Capt. Levi J. Knight of near Ray City was sent to protect the settlers from marauding Indians on their way to join the Seminoles in Florida. When a party of Indians plundered the plantation of William Parker, near Milltown, the militia pursued them N.E. across the county overtaking them near Gaskins Pond not far from the Alapaha River. Several were killed and some injured as Indians fled across the river. A few days later the militia encountered . . . — Map (db m40123) HM|
|Georgia (Berrien County), Nashville — 010-2 — Old Coffee Road|
|The Old Coffee Road, earliest vehicular and postal route of this section, running southwestward from the Ocmulgee River to the Florida Line, passed through today’s Lax, Nashville, Cecil, Barwick and Thomasville. The thoroughfare was opened by direction of the State in 1823 under supervision of Gen. John Coffee and Thomas Swain. Over this pioneer route the products of the region were carried to the coast to be sold and imported goods brought back. Sections of the original route are in use today. — Map (db m40124) HM|
|Georgia (Bibb County), Macon — 011-10 — Alfred Holt Colquitt|
|Governor of Georgia (1877-1882), U.S. Congressman (1853-1855), U.S. Senator (1883-1894), Major U.S. Army in the Mexican War, Brigadier-General in the Confederate Army, Alfred Holt Colquitt is buried here. Born in Walton County, Georgia, April 20, 1824, he died in Washington, D.C., March 26, 1894. In the Confederate Army he served first as Colonel of the famous 6th Ga. Regiment of Infantry. On September 1, 1862, he was appointed Brigadier-General.
Until May 1863 he was commander of . . . — Map (db m25393) HM|
|Georgia (Bibb County), Macon — 11-3 — Ballard-Hudson Senior High School|
|Ballard-Hudson Senior High School was built in 1949 as the only high school in Macon for African Americans in grades nine through twelve. The school
represents the merger of two schools: Ballard High School, a private school with roots in Lewis High School, established in 1868 by the American Missionary
Association, and Hudson High School, a public industrial high school. In 1970,the same year a federal court required the integration of all public schools in Georgia, Ballard-Hudson Senior . . . — Map (db m38198) HM|
|Georgia (Bibb County), Macon — Ballard-Hudson Senior High School — 1070 Anthony Road — 1949-1970|
|This marker represents the establishment of a comprehensive high school for black people in Macon-Bibb County. The name is a merger of the Ballard High School and the Hudson High School. This public high school was supported by the Bibb County Board of Education and accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools. The curriculum included academic, vocational and commercial studies in grades nine through twelve. The Federal Court ordered desegregation of school in Macon-Bibb . . . — Map (db m61189) HM|
|Georgia (Bibb County), Macon — 011-5 — Battles of Dunlap Farm — <-----<<<|
|On July 30, 1864, Gen. Stoneman with 2,500 cavalry crossed Walnut Creek & placed his cannon on a ridge on the Dunlap farm. He attacked Macon to capture the gold in the Confederate Depository; to destroy the Armory, Arsenal & Laboratories, the bridges & railroads; and to free the prisoners at Camp Oglethorpe & later at Andersonville. He was unsuccessful, being forced to retreat by forces under Gens. Howell Cobb and Joseph E. Johnston. These forces comprised 1,000 State Militia, 600 Tennesseans, . . . — Map (db m44593) HM|
|Georgia (Bibb County), Macon — 011-9 — Bibb County|
|Bibb County was created by Act of Dec. 9, 1822 from Houston, Jones, Monroe and Twiggs Counties. It was named for Dr. William Wyatt Bibb (1781-1820) of Elbert County. Dr. Bibb, physician, legislator, Congressman, Senator, was appointed Governor of the Territory of Alabama by Pres. Madison and was the first elective Governor of the State of Alabama. First officers of Bibb County, commissioned Feb. 12, 1823, were: Nicholas W. Wells, Clerk of Superior Court; James Flewellen, Clerk of Inferior . . . — Map (db m44892) HM|
|Georgia (Bibb County), Macon — 011-6 — Birthplace of Sidney Lanier|
|Sidney Lanier, poet, linguist, musician, mathematician & lawyer, was born in this cottage, Feb. 3, 1842. He graduated from Oglethorpe Univ. then at Milledgeville, served as a private in the Confederate Army and was captured while commanding a blockade runner. Lanier was married in 1867 to Mary Day of Macon where he practiced law with his father. Moving to Maryland he lectured at Johns Hopkins while carrying on his writing. He died at Lynn, N.C. Sept 7, 1881. Among his best known works are "The Marshes of Glynn" & "Song of the Chattahoochee". — Map (db m664) HM|
|Georgia (Bibb County), Macon — 011-21 — Camp Wheeler|
|Camp Wheeler was an army training camp during 1917-19 and 1940-46. It was named for Joseph Wheeler (1836-1906), Confederate Lt. Gen. who was born in Augusta, Ga. The tent camp was established in 1917 after efforts of local businessmen brought Gen. Leonard Wood to Macon to inspect proposed sites. The 21,480 acre site chosen included Holly Bluff, the home of writer Harry Stillwell Edwards and formerly the plantation of Col. Andrew Jackson Lane, C.S.A., father of Mrs. Edwards. Major General F.J. . . . — Map (db m12415) HM|
|Georgia (Bibb County), Macon — 11-2 — Central City College/Georgia Baptist College|
|Founded in October 1899 by the Reverend E. K. Love under the auspices of the Missionary Baptist Convention of Georgia, Central City College served as a co-educational institution of learning for African-American students at both the high school and college levels. The College represented a pioneering effort at African-American education during the Jim Crow era. Beset by financial woes, Central City College lost its property to foreclosure in 1937 to white businessman and philanthropist James H. . . . — Map (db m23065) HM|
|Georgia (Bibb County), Macon — 011-19 — Christ Church — Episcopal|
|The Reverend Lot Jones, while on a missionary tour of Georgia, founded Christ Episcopal Church on March 5, 1825. It was the first congregation organized in Macon. On December 26, 1826, the Georgia General Assembly enacted, “that Christopher B. Strong, Edward D. Tracy, Albert G. Clopton, Addison Mandell and Reuben Burroughs are hereby declared to be a body corporate, by the name and style of the Protestant Episcopal Church in the town of Macon and the County of Bibb.” Under the . . . — Map (db m49579) HM|
|Georgia (Bibb County), Macon — 011-2 — City Hall & Old Capitol|
|The Macon City Hall, built in 1837 for the Monroe Railroad & Banking Co. and since remodeled, served from Nov. 18, 1864 till March 11, 1865 as temporary Capitol of Ga. Here Gov. Brown had his office and convened the last session of the Ga. legislature under the Confederacy. Here the March session of the Supreme Court was held in 1865. The building was also used as a military hospital from the battle of Chickamauga in 1863 until the close of the war. A picket on guard at the portico was shot . . . — Map (db m60529) HM|
|Georgia (Bibb County), Macon — 011-7 — Colonial Trading Path|
|Colonial Trading Path or “Lower Path” joined the heart of the Creek Nation on the Chattahoochee River to the English Trading Post in Ocmulgee Old Fields, now Ocmulgee National Monument. Here the chief towns of the ancient Creek Confederacy stretched fifteen miles on the east side of the Ocmulgee River. This path was originally the old Sand Hill Path, across west Georgia from the Chattahoochee River, across the Flint River, and across the Ocmulgee River, eastward. The Indians . . . — Map (db m49624) HM|
|Georgia (Bibb County), Macon — 011-8 — Confederate Memorial Day in Macon|
|On Thursday, April 26, 1866, the graves of Confederate soldiers in Rose Hill Cemetery and in the cemetery at 7th and Cherry Streets were decorated with flowers by the members of the Ladies’ Memorial Association, organized in March 1866 with Mrs. Thomas Hardeman, Jr. (Jane Lumsden), the first president. The women were assisted by 56 young men with hoes, rakes and spades, and children with flowers.
The Memorial Day addresses were delivered by the Rev. David Wills at Rose Hill and by the . . . — Map (db m37572) HM|
|Georgia (Bibb County), Macon — 011-24 — Confederate States Central Laboratory|
|Approximately 100 feet south of the this point stood the Confederate States Central Laboratory. Erected between 1862 and 1865, this laboratory-factory complex spread over 145 acres purchased December 2, 1862. It was intended as permanent facility and center
of Confederate States Ordinance testing and production. Its main building was a two storied brick and granite structure 600 feet long. Superintendent of all C.S. Laboratories Lt. Col. John W. Mallet selected this site and had his . . . — Map (db m12290) HM|
|Georgia (Bibb County), Macon — 011-22 — De Soto in Georgia|
|In May 1539 Hernando De Soto landed in Florida with over 600 people, 220 horses and mules, and a herd reserved for famine. Fired by his success in
Pizarro's conquest of Peru, De Soto had been granted the rights, by the King of Spain, to explore, then govern, southeastern North America.
After wintering in Tallahassee, the de Soto expedition set out on a quest for gold which eventually spanned four years and crossed portions of nine states. This was the first recorded European exploration . . . — Map (db m27272) HM|
|Georgia (Bibb County), Macon — 011-11 — First Public Camellia Show|
|After a revival of interest in camellias, the first public Camellia Show in the U.S. was held Feb. 5, 1932 at Burden-Smith & Co. At the suggestion of Henry T. Conner, immediately after the show, the Azalea and Camellia Soc. of America, forerunner of the American Camellia Soc., was formed with 48 charter members. Maconites serving as officers -- all of whom, with the Vineville Garden Club, directed the show -- were T. J. Stewart, James H. Porter. Dr. W. G. Lee, Henry T. Conner. J. G. Bailie of . . . — Map (db m49669) HM|
|Georgia (Bibb County), Macon — 11-5 — Fort Hawkins|
|Fort Hawkins was established at this site in 1806 on the eastern bank of the Ocmulgee River at the border of the Muskogee Creek Nation. The location was chosen by the fort’s namesake, Benjamin Hawkins, who served as the U.S. Agent for Indian Affairs South of the Ohio River from 1796-1816. Located along the old Federal Road linking the Georgia interior to ports at Mobile and New Orleans, the fort served as a military supply point and a frontier trading post. The fort was decommissioned in 1828 . . . — Map (db m59564) HM|
|Georgia (Bibb County), Macon — Freemasonry in Macon|
|Freemasonry came to Macon in 1824 when the city was in its infancy. Macon Lodge No. 5, F. &A.M., was organized in 1824 and chartered by the Grand Lodge of Georgia in 1825. Historians have referred to Macon lodge as being the “First society in the town of Macon.” In 1846 the Grand Lodge of Georgia, F. &A.M., moved its seat from Milledgeville to Macon and for many years held its annual communications in the hall of Macon Lodge No. 5.
Dr. Ambrose Baber, M.D., a physician and . . . — Map (db m54733) HM|
|Georgia (Bibb County), Macon — Gen. James Edward Oglethorpe|
|In Ocmulgee Fields camped Gen. James Edward Oglethorpe and his men on their way to Coweta Town for the purpose of making the treaty with the Creek Confederacy in 1739 — Map (db m59596) HM|
|Georgia (Bibb County), Macon — 011-20 — General Edward Dorr Tracy, Jr. — -- 1833 – 1863 –-|
|Edward D. Tracy, Jr., was born in Macon, Georgia, on Nov. 5, 1833. His father served as Macon’s second Mayor (1826-1828), a Judge of Superior Court, and hosted General Lafayette during his visit to Macon in 1825. The younger Tracy graduated from the University of Georgia in 1851, studied law, and was admitted to the bar in 1853. He was a member and deacon of First Presbyterian Church, and Macon Lodge No. 5, F.&A.M. In 1857, Tracy moved to Huntsville, Alabama. He was a Delegate to the 1860 . . . — Map (db m25388) HM|
|Georgia (Bibb County), Macon — In Memory of J. Wilson Parker|
|In Memory of J. Wilson Parker
June 26, 1895 ------ July 27, 1966
Grand Master 1940
Chairman of the Board of Trustees, Masonic Home of Georgia, 1946-1966
Raised in Fairburn Lodge No. 180, F. & A. M., 1920; Worshipful Master 1923 and 1943; High Priest, Fairburn Chapter No. 24, R. A. M., 1926; Illustrious Master, Fairburn Council No 45, R. & S. M., 1926; Eminent Commander, Constantine Commandery No. 26, 1939, E. Grand Captain General, Grand Commandery; Past Sovereign Red Cross of . . . — Map (db m49146) HM|
|Georgia (Bibb County), Macon — In Memory of Max Meyerhardt — October 18, 1855 – March 2, 1923 — Founder of the Masonic Home of Georgia|
|Worshipful Master of Cherokee Lodge No. 66, F. & A. M., Rome, 1885-1923; Worshipful Master of the Seventh District Masonic Convention, 1897-1923; Grand Master of the Grand Lodge of Georgia 1900-1907; High Priest Rome Chapter No. 26, R.A.M; 1893-1896; thrice Illustrious Master of Rome Council No. 15, R. & S. M.; Grand Master, Grand Council, 1917; 32° Scottish Rite Mason; Shriner.
Eminent Lawyer – Eloquent Orator – Distinguished Scholar – Defender of the Helpless – . . . — Map (db m49193) HM|
|Georgia (Bibb County), Macon — 011-16 — Jefferson Davis at the Lanier House|
|On May 4, 1865, Jefferson Davis arrived in Washington, Georgia (100 miles NE), where he performed what proved to be his last duties as President of the Confederate States of America. Shortly thereafter, with a small staff and escort, he departed enroute to the trans-Mississippi Department where, supported by those Confederate forces not yet surrendered, he hoped to negotiate a just peace.
After a difficult journey via Sandersville, Dublin and Abbeville, he camped a mile north of Irwinville . . . — Map (db m25409) HM|
|Georgia (Bibb County), Macon — John Basil Lamar|
|Col. John Basil Lamer, aide-de-camp of General Howell Cobb, his brother-in-law and close friend, was mortally wounded on September 14, 1862 while vainly trying to rally Cobb’s Brigade at Crampton’s Gap, Maryland. After temporary burial in Charles Town, Virginia, he was later reinterred here at Rose Hill. His adult life was identified with Macon, where he settled in 1830. He resided on Walnut Street in the Abner house, known as “The Bear’s Den”. He was master of a great cotton . . . — Map (db m25121) HM|
|Georgia (Bibb County), Macon — 011-4 — Judge Asa Holt House|
|This house, built in 1853 by Judge Asa Holt, was struck by a cannon ball from Gen. Stoneman´s guns in East Macon during the Battle of Dunlap´s Hill. July 30, 1864, when the Union army tried unsuccessfully to take Macon. The ball, now in the possession of the Macon Volunteers, struck the sand sidewalk, passed through the second column from the left, entered the parlor over a window and landed unexploded in the hall. Its course may may be traced by the mended column, a patch in the parlor . . . — Map (db m23376) HM|
|Georgia (Bibb County), Macon — M. W. Grand Lodge of Georgia — Free and Accepted Masons|
|The first Masonic meeting in Georgia was held in 1734 at the town of Sunbury in what is now Liberty County, with General James Edward Oglethorpe serving as Worshipful Master. This was just seventeen years after the formation of the Grand Lodge of England, on February 21, 1734. “The Lodge at Savannah in ye Province of Georgia,” which is now Solomon’s Lodge No. 1, was organized with General Oglethorpe as the first Worshipful Master. The Grand Lodge of Georgia was organized in 1735 by . . . — Map (db m49663) HM|
|Georgia (Bibb County), Macon — Macon History — 1839 - 1910|
|The Reform Medical College of Georgia, Middle Georgia’s first medical school was founded in Forsyth, in 1839. The School moved to Macon in 1845 and remained here for 50 years before moving to Atlanta. Scores of physicians received their medical education at the Reform Medical College including Georgia’s first female physician, Cassandra Pickett Durham in 1870.
C. Jack Ellis, Mayor
City of Macon
Anita Ponder, President
Macon City Council — Map (db m54940) HM|
|Georgia (Bibb County), Macon — Medal of Honor|
|Medal of Honor — Map (db m53214) HM|
|Georgia (Bibb County), Macon — 011-18 — Mercer University|
|Founded in Pensfield, Georgia, January 14, 1833, as Mercer Institute, Mercer University, the “oldest child” of the Georgia Baptist Convention, has been the chief source of Baptist ministerial and lay leaders through the years. Among the many notable Baptists who established this institution, three stand out: Josiah Penfield, whose legacy launched the movement; Jesse Mercer, who nurtured and supported the project; Billington M. Sanders, who, which Cynthia Holiday Sanders (Old Miss), . . . — Map (db m44946) HM|
|Georgia (Bibb County), Macon — 011-23 — Mulberry Street Methodist Church|
|This church, organized in 1826, is on land deeded to it by the Georgia Legislature in the same year. In 1828, the first church building in Macon was erected on this site. The first appointed pastor was Thomas Darley, who had been ordained by Bishop Francis Asbury.
Because the Georgia Conference was organized on this site in 1831 the church is known as the Mother Church of Georgia Methodism. Originally known as the Macon Church, the name was changed in 1847, to Mulberry Street Church. . . . — Map (db m29210) HM|
|Georgia (Bibb County), Macon — Post 3 Macon|
|We of the American Legion honor those men who lost their lives in the Viet-Nam Conflict Aug. 5, 1964 to Aug. 15, 1973 from Bibb County, GA.
* ARMY * *MARINES* *AIR FORCE*
Baker, J. W.
Betleyoun, G. C.
Cannady, W. M.
Cochran, W. S.
Dixon, C. L.
Felts, E. Jr.
Fields, W. S.
Fouche, P. J.
Furney, W. L.
Green. S. N.
Hardison, A. C.
Haze, H. . . . — Map (db m53432) HM|
|Georgia (Bibb County), Macon — 011-12 — Site: Wesleyan College — World’s First College Chartered to Grant Degrees to Women|
|On December 23, 1836, the Legislature of the State of Georgia chartered The Georgia Female College. The first class graduated July 26, 1840. In 1843, the name was changed to Wesleyan Female College; in 1919 to Wesleyan College.
The oldest sororities in the world were founded at Wesleyan: The Adelphean Society, now Alpha Delta Pi Sorority, 1851, and the Philomathean Society, now Phi Mu Fraternity, 1852. The world’s first alumnae association for a women’s college was organized at Wesleyan . . . — Map (db m54616) HM|
|Georgia (Bibb County), Macon — 11-4 — St. Joseph's Catholic Church|
|The history of Roman Catholicism in Macon dates to a visit in 1829 by Bishop John England of the Diocese of Charleston and the subsequent migration of Irish Catholic families in the 1830s. In 1841 Macon's Catholics received their first pastor, Father James Graham. A succession of buildings and sites was purchased and used by Macon's Catholics during the nineteenth century, until the construction of St. Joseph's Catholic Church at this location from 1889-1903. This Gothic Revival structure, . . . — Map (db m22189) HM|
|Georgia (Bibb County), Macon — 11-6 — St. Peter Claver Catholic Church and School|
|This African-American parish began in 1888 and was named St. Peter Claver in 1903, in honor of the Patron Saint of Negro Missions. The current school, convent, and rectory were built here after the parish moved from Pio Nono Avenue in 1913. The church was built in 1928. This was one of two campuses in Georgia funded by Mother Katherine Drexel (later canonized Saint Katherine Drexel), staffed by her Sisters of the Blessed Sacrament (SBS), and built by Father Ignatius Lissner and the Society of . . . — Map (db m25123) HM|
|Georgia (Bibb County), Macon — 011-3 — The Dunlap House — >>>—→|
|The only battles fought at Macon took place here. Twice the Federals attacked Macon, emplanting their cannon on this farm, and twice they were repulsed. In the first attack under Gen. Stoneman on July 30, 1864, they shelled Macon from 10 A.M. until the late afternoon. “The residence of Mrs. Dunlap was occupied by the Federals who tore down her stabling and erected a temporary entrenchment across her yard.” The second attack was made Nov. 20, 1864 by General Kilpatrick who also crossed Walnut Creek and attacked from the same point. — Map (db m44995) HM|
|Georgia (Bibb County), Macon — 11-1 — The First Baptist Church of Christ — at Macon|
|This church was founded in 1826 as the city’s first Baptist congregation. It was first located at the site of the present Bibb County Courthouse. The fourth and final move, to this site, occurred in 1883 and the current building was dedicated in 1887. The church was instrumental in the formation of several local congregations including Mabel White Memorial Baptist Church. In 1903 the congregation funded construction of the first Southern Baptist hospital in a foreign land, the Warren Memorial . . . — Map (db m23046) HM|
|Georgia (Bibb County), Macon — 011-17 — The First Presbyterian Church|
|Organized as the Presbyterian Church of Macon on June 18, 1826, by the Rev. Benjamin Gildersleeve and the Rev. Joseph C. Stiles, the church dedicated this house of worship, its third, on September 19, 1858, at the close of the ministry of the Rev. Robert L. Breck. Mr. Stiles was the first pastor; Matthew Robertson and Samuel B. Hunter, ordained October 14, 1827, the first elders.
This church was host for formation of the Synod of Georgia in 1844 with Dr. Thomas Goulding, founder and first . . . — Map (db m44944) HM|
|Georgia (Bibb County), Macon — 011-14 — The March to the Sea|
|On Nov. 15, 1864, after destroying Atlanta, Maj. Gen. W.T. Sherman, USA, began his March to the Sea. His army (650,000 infantry and 5,500 cavalry) moved in two widely separated wings. The Right Wing (15th and 17th Corps), Maj. Gen. O. O. Howard, USA, moved via Jackson toward Gordon (20 miles E), feinting on Macon. The left Wing (14th and 20th Corps), Maj. Gen. Henry W. Slocum, USA, moved via Decatur and Eatonton toward Milledgeville (34 miles NE), feinting on Augusta. The 3rd Cavalry Division, . . . — Map (db m25408) HM|
|Georgia (Bibb County), Macon — 011-13 — The Stoneman Raid|
|In July, 1864, Union forces under Maj. Gen. W.T. Sherman, USA, closed in on Atlanta. Finding its fortifications “too strong to assault and too extensive to invest,” Sherman sought to force its evacuation by sending Maj. Gen. Geo. Stoneman, with three cavalry brigades (2112 men and 2 guns), to destroy enough of the railroad to Macon to shut off the flow of supplies. On the 27th, Stoneman moved south through Decatur, crossed the Ocmulgee (Yellow) River near Covington, and marched down . . . — Map (db m44555) HM|
|Georgia (Bibb County), Macon — Vineville United Methodist Church — South Georgia Conference — February 12, 2006|
|Vineville United Methodist Church, the oldest daughter of Mulberry Street United Methodist Church, was begun in 1846 to serve wealthy planners of the village of Vineville, just outside Macon. It has been located on this site since 1897. The current sanctuary was completed in 1926, and additional structures have been erected since then. Devoted to evangelism, Vineville has been instrumental in the establishment of numerous other United Methodist churches in the city. Home to three former bishops . . . — Map (db m44570) HM|
|Georgia (Bibb County), Macon — War of 1812 Bicentennial Celebration|
|As U.S. Army and Georgia Militia Headquarters, Fort Hawkins played a significant role in the War of 1812. The fort supplied all command and logistics support for the Southern Theatre and fort personnel participated directly in the Creek War and The Battle of New Orleans. Although a military stalemate, our Second War of Independence settled America’s freedom from British rule. During the burning of Washington, D.C., the plans and records of Fort Hawkins were presumably destroyed. Fort Hawkins is . . . — Map (db m59575) HM|
|Georgia (Bibb County), Macon — 226 — Wesleyan College — First College Chartered to Grant Degrees to Women — December 23, 1836|
|Led by the Methodist Community, a citizens’ committee in the city of Macon founded Wesleyan as the first baccalaureate college for women. The Georgia Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church accepted the college from the committee, appointed a Board of Trustees with Bishop James O. Andrew as Chairman, and named the Reverend George Foster Pierce as first President.
From that beginning, Wesleyan has maintained close ties with the church. Bishops, ministers, laywomen and laymen have . . . — Map (db m55010) HM|
|Georgia (Bibb County), Macon — William Arthur Fickling, Sr. — Father of Cherry Blossoms|
|In grateful memory of William Arthur Fickling, Sr. (1903 - 1990), a long time resident of Macon and Bibb County and leader in numerous civic, governmental, religious and charitable organizations and activities.
Mr. Fickling’s broad ranging interests included Wesleyan College, Macon Chamber of Commerce, Bibb County Commission, a number of charitable organizations and Mulberry Street United Methodist Church.
Recipient of numerous awards for his service and contributions, Mr. Fickling . . . — Map (db m49768) HM|
|Georgia (Bibb County), Macon — William Bartram Trail — Traced 1773–1777 — Deep South Region|
|In 1775 William Bartram wrote of viewing “Old Okmulgee Fields” and remains of the power and grandeur of ancients of area. — Map (db m419) HM|
|Georgia (Bibb County), Macon — William Bartram Trail — Traced 1773-1777|
|During his 1775 visit, Bartram noted this area “exhibited a delightful diversified rural scene and promises a happy, fruitful, and salubrious region.” — Map (db m49588) HM|
|Georgia (Bibb County), Macon — 011-15 — Wilson's Raid To Macon|
|On March 22, 1865, the Cavalry Corps, Military Division of the Mississippi [US], Bvt. Maj. Gen. James H. Wilson, USA, left the Tennessee River near Florence, Ala., and marched south to Selma to destroy its arsenals and foundries. On April 10th, after defeating Lt. Gen. N. B. Forrest’s cavalry corps [CS] and wrecking Selma, he marched east through Montgomery to Columbus, Georgia, where he destroyed the arsenal, foundries, navy-yard, small-arms factory, mills, railway facilities and large stores . . . — Map (db m25380) HM|
|Georgia (Bleckley County), Cochran — GHM012-1 — Bleckley County|
|This County, created by an act of the Georgia Legislature
July 30, 1912, is named for Chief Justice Logan E. Bleckley, of
the Georgia Supreme Court, one of the greatest jurists in the
history of this State. Born in Rabun County in 1827, he served
as a Confederate soldier, resumed his law practice after the
war, was an Associate Justice of the Supreme Court 1875-1880
and Chief Justice 1887-1894. Among the first Bleckley County
officers were Sheriff J.A. Floyd, Superior Court Clerk J.T. . . . — Map (db m47553) HM|
|Georgia (Bleckley County), Cochran — Dedicated to the Memory of James (Jim) Earnest Cook — 1884 – 1955|
|Beloved lifelong citizen of Cochran and Bleckley County, he was a banker, farmer, mayor, Rotarian, Mason, Shriner and a never failing friend to all. His example to do all men good helped shape the lives and destiny of this county. His Christian tolerance, his consideration of the rights and opinions of others, his unselfish service to this community will always be remembered. To thus honor his memory, his friends with deep affection pay this tribute. — Map (db m57925) HM|
|Georgia (Bleckley County), Cochran — 012-3 — Evergreen Baptist Church — »—→|
|Evergreen Baptist Church, built in 1844, was split off from old Mt. Horeb Baptist Church, constituted October 15, 1809, which stood at or near the site of the Centenary Methodist Church. On February 14, 1844, the congregation and pastor found themselves locked out of the church by a Brother Burkhalter. Most of the congregation, considered “Mission-minded,” formed a new church, called it Evergreen and constructed this building in 1844. In slavery days Negroes walked for miles to . . . — Map (db m40312) HM|
|Georgia (Bleckley County), Cochran — In Memory of Perry L. Johnson|
|July 21, 1908 – October 8, 1986
In memory of Perry L. Johnson, of Bleckley County, Georgia who at age 36 while serving as a Corporal in the United States Army during WW II, single handedly captured fifteen German soldiers at St. Malo, France on August 10, 1944. His extraordinary heroism displayed courage in the face of enemy fire. His conduct was in keeping with the highest traditions of the United States Army. — Map (db m57624) HM|
|Georgia (Bleckley County), Cochran — 012-2 — Longstreet Methodist Church — ←|
|Longstreet Methodist Church was organized around 1812 and the original building is still in use. Land for the church was given by Charles Walker, one of the five sons of George Walker, Revolutionary soldier and early settler. The sons built on a three and a half mile stretch of the “Federal Stage and Post Road” that became known as “Longstreet.” Two acres of land were given by Mr. Walker, one for a church and one for a school. The school was abandoned and its land . . . — Map (db m40313) HM|
|Georgia (Bleckley County), Cochran — Lucian A. Whipple|
|Attorney, Statesman, and Educator of Cochran, Bleckley County, for more than seventy years. This plaque is erected to commemorate the 100th birthday of Col. Whipple and his contributions to this community. — Map (db m57948) HM|
|Georgia (Bleckley County), Cochran — Sgt. John F. Conner, Sr.|
In Memory of Sgt. John F. Conner, Sr.
Who gave his life in line of duty.
“Greater love hath no man than this that a man lay down his life for his friends.”
St. John 15:13 — Map (db m57947) HM|
|Georgia (Bleckley County), Cochran — 012-4 — Uchee Path|
|This highway coincides closely with a segment of a noted east-west Indian route called the Lower Uchee Path. Beginning at Old Town on the Ogeechee, the trail led this way by Carr’s Shoals, on the Oconee, above Dublin, thence via Cochran, Hawkinsville and Montezuma to Uchee Town on the Chattahoochee River, in Russell County, Alabama.
At the Ogeechee, the trail connected with various paths leading from former Uchee settlements on the middle Savannah River.
The route was opened around . . . — Map (db m40267) HM|
|Georgia (Brantley County), Hoboken — 84 B-7 — Trail Ridge|
|This ridge, interrupted only by major streams, extends south from the Altamaha River in Georgia to the Santa Fe River in Florida, a distance of 130 miles. It is an ancient barrier beach formerly many miles off-shore in the sea which covered this area during the Pleistocene, or last Ice Age. The top of the ridge is now about 160 feet above sea level and formed a natural trail way for the Indians and early white settlers through the coastal lowlands. — Map (db m12423) HM|
|Georgia (Brantley County), Nahunta — 013-1 — Brantley County|
|This County, created by Act of the Legislature Aug. 14, 1920, is named for Benjamin D. Brantley. It is said that the old B. & W. Railroad, which was partly destroyed, marked the most southern point of advance of Sherman`s Army. Among the first County Officers were: Sheriff W.H. Howard, Ordinary Wm. M. Roberson, Clerk of Superior Court John R. James, Tax Receiver Isaac E. Highsmith, Tax Collector M.H. Robinson, Treasurer W.T. Purdom, Coroner Dr. D.L. Moore and Surveyor D.H. Raulerson. — Map (db m24045) HM|
|Georgia (Brooks County), Grooverville — 014-10 — Grooverville Methodist Church|
|This church had its beginning in 1832, on the plantation of William H. Ramsey, about 4 1/2 miles Southwest of here. There being no Methodist services in the vicinity at the time he and his family moved to this area. Mr. Ramsey built a brush-arbor near his home and there held Bible study and worship services. Later he joined with other Methodist families and built a long church 3 1/2 miles South on the road to St. Mark. They named this church, Lebanon, and some time during the 1840’s it was made . . . — Map (db m10025) HM|
|Georgia (Brooks County), Grooverville — 014-4 — Liberty Baptist Church|
|Between 1837 and 1841 the Baptists in this section were stirred on Missions, Sunday Schools and ministerial support. In 1841 the Ocklochnee anti-Missionary Baptist Assn. passed a ruling to dismiss members believing in the “new fangled institutions of the day.” Disagreeing, Sister Nancy Hagen asked for her letter from Mt. Moriah Church and, at her request, was excommunicated. With Elisha Pack Smith, R. T. Stanaland, James I. Baker, Mrs. Sarah Ann Groover, Mrs. Mary Smith, Mrs. Amanda . . . — Map (db m10172) HM|
|Georgia (Brooks County), Morven — 014-3 — Mount Zion Camp Ground|
|The first Camp Meeting was held on this site in 1828 by a "few scattered Methodists" before any Methodist Church in the area was organized. William Hendry, William Blair and Hamilton W. Sharpe, as a committee, selected the site. Rev. Adam Wyrick was the first visiting preacher. In 1831 Sion and Enoch Hall deeded the land on which the Camp Ground stood to the Methodist Episcopal Church. Housed first in a brush~arbor, the weeklong meetings were held without interruption until 1881. Then the camp . . . — Map (db m14761) HM|
|Georgia (Brooks County), Morven — 014-6 — Old Coffee Road — <–––– ––––>|
|The Old Coffee Road, first vehicular and postal route of this area, passed here running southwestward from the Ocmulgee River via today´s Lax, Nashville, Cecil, Barwick, and Thomasville to the Florida line above Tallahassee. The thoroughfare was opened by direction of the State in 1823 under the superintendence of General John Coffee and Thomas Swain. This early way provided a short route from the older middle and eastern sections of the State into Southwest Georgia. Much of the former course remains in daily use. — Map (db m14751) HM|
|Georgia (Brooks County), Nankin — 014-7 — Columbia Primitive Baptist Church|
|Columbia Primitive Baptist Church was formally constituted on the first Sunday in October, 1833, after serving as an arm of Bethany Church more than a year. Moses Dees was the first delegate from Columbia to the annual meeting of the mother church, Union on the Alapaha River, late in October 1833. On May 3,
1833, while Columbia was still an arm of Bethany Church, Thomas Newbern made a deed to the church property to Samuel T. Henderson, Moses Dees, and
Jarvis T. Frier as Trustees for Columbia . . . — Map (db m14749) HM|
|Georgia (Brooks County), Pavo — 014-8 — Bethel Primitive Baptist Church|
|Bethel Primitive Baptist Church, the second Baptist Church to be organized in the area of old Lowndes County, was constituted September 2, 1826. The
organizing Presbytery were: Elders Benjamin Manning. Matthew Albritton and Henry Melton, with Deacon William A. Knight. Charter members of Bethel Church were: Elder Melus Thigpen and his wife, Sarah; Archibald Strickland and his wife, Luander; Henry C. Tucker and his wife, Sarah.
Elder Thigpen served as supply pastor until 1828, when the Rev. . . . — Map (db m51514) HM|
|Georgia (Brooks County), Quitman — 014-9 — Bethlehem Primitive Baptist Church|
|Bethlehem Primitive Baptist Church about 4 miles Southwest of here, was constituted November 29, 1834. The charter members included: William T.
Rushing, his wife, Belinda; Asa Geiger, his wife, Nancy; William Jones, his wife, Elizabeth; James McLeod, his wife. Jemima; Jared Johnson; John
Turner, his wife, Lucy; Emily Turner; Henry Rowell; Cynthia Rowell; James Rowell, his wife, Sarah; William C. Goff, his wife, Jincy; Rebecca Beasley; Nellie Goff. The Rev. Ryan Frier was the first pastor; . . . — Map (db m14747) HM|
|Georgia (Brooks County), Quitman — 14-1 — Brooks County|
|This county created by Act of the Legislature Dec. 11, 1858, is named for Preston Smith Brooks, zealous defender of States Rights. Born in S.C. Aug. 6, 1819, Brooks served in the Mexican War & in Congress. He died June 27, 1857. The first County Officers included: Ordinary Angus Morrison, Sheriff Enoch Hall Pike, Clerk of Superior & Inferior Courts D.W. McRae. Tax Collector George Alderman, Tax Receiver John Delk, Treasurer William F. Speight, Surveyor Jeremiah Wilson, Coroner John T. Devane, . . . — Map (db m26977) HM|
|Georgia (Brooks County), Quitman — 14-1 — Civil War Slave Conspiracy|
|In August 1864, during the American Civil War, four men were executed in Brooks County, Georgia, for conspiring to plot a slave insurrection. The conspirators – led by a local white man, John Vickery, and three slaves named Nelson, George, and Sam – planned to seize weapons and take control of the town of Quitman, securing it for the U.S. Army in nearby Florida. Local authorities discovered the plot before it could be carried out. All four conspirators were convicted of insurrection . . . — Map (db m40368) HM|
|Georgia (Brooks County), Quitman — 014-5 — Old Coffee Road — <–––– ––––>|
|The Old Coffee Road, earliest vehicular and postal route of this area, crossed here, leading southwestward from the Ocmulgee River via today´s Lax,
Nashville, Cecil, Barwick and Thomasville to the Florida Line. The thoroughfare was opened by direction of the State in 1823 under the
superintendence of General John Coffee and Thomas Swain. As a pioneer way this route played a significant part in the settlement and development of
Southwest Georgia. Much of the former course remains in daily use. — Map (db m14763) HM|
|Georgia (Brooks County), Quitman — 014-2 — West End Cemetery|
|In this cemetery, during the last year of the War Between the States, a number of Confederate soldiers, 17 of them unknown, were buried. Memorial services for these soldiers were held as early as 1869. In 1871, on Memorial Day, April 26, a group of orphans from the Confederate Home, Lauderdale, Miss., attended the services. One child, by chance, found the grave of her father. In 1873 the Ladies Memorial Association was formed. This became the Quitman Memorial Association and is now the Quitman . . . — Map (db m26978) HM|
|Georgia (Bryan County), Blitchton — 015-10 — Jencks Bridge|
|On Nov. 15, 1864, after destroying Atlanta and cutting his communications with the North, Maj. Gen. W. T. Sherman, USA, began his destructive Campaign for Savannah -- the March to the Sea. He divided his army [US] into two wings. The Left Wing (14th and 20th Corps), Maj. Gen. H.W. Slocum, USA, moved east from Atlanta in two columns which converged on Milledgeville, crossed the Ogeechee River near Louisville, then marched toward Savannah by two routes: the 14th Corps (Davis) on the old road near . . . — Map (db m11957) HM|
|Georgia (Bryan County), Blitchton — 015-5B — Old River Road|
|The highway northward is the Old River Road, one of the earliest routes west of the Ogeechee and a leading way from Savannah to Georgia`s western frontier. It followed an old Indian trial [sic] along the Ogeechee to a point west of Bartow, thence to the Rock Landing on the Oconee River below Milledgeville. There the trace intersected the main trail of the Lower Creek Trading Path from Augusta to the Creek Indians of western Georgia and eastern Alabama.
Opening of this part of the . . . — Map (db m12474) HM|
|Georgia (Bryan County), Ellabell — 015-11 — Sherman's Right Wing|
|On Dec. 6, 1864, the 15th Corps (US), the extreme right of Gen. Sherman's army on its destructive March to the Sea, camped near Jenk`s Bridge on Great Ogeechee River, east of Blitchton. On the 7th, Oliver's brigade was sent in advance of Hazen's division to seize the bridge over Canoochee River east of Bryan Court House (Clyde). Beginning at Black Creek, his advance was resisted by Confederate cavalry. After continual skirmishing, Oliver's superior force reached the bridge only to find it in . . . — Map (db m11939) HM|
|Georgia (Bryan County), Keller — 15-1 — Bryan Neck Presbyterian Church|
|This church, the oldest congregation in lower Bryan County, was certified by the Presbytery of Georgia in 1830. Its founders included rice planters on Bryan Neck, among them Thomas Savage Clay, Richard James Arnold and George Washington McAllister. The first meeting house was constructed in 1839 three miles north of this site on the Bryan Neck Road. The current sanctuary, the oldest public building in Bryan County, was built in 1885 after the first building burned. The cemetery, known as
. . . — Map (db m18648) HM|
|Georgia (Bryan County), Pembroke — 015-1 — Bryan County|
|This County created by Act of the Legislature
Dec. 19, 1793, is named for Jonathan Bryan,
Revolutionary patriot and member of the
Executive Council in 1777. The `lost town`
of Hardwick on the Ogeechee River was the
first temporary County Site. Laid out in
1755, it was named for Lord Hardwick, Lord
Chancellor of England, a relative of the
then Gov. Reynolds. Two Royal Governors
recommended that it be the Capital of
Georgia. An Act of 1797 designated a new
County Site at . . . — Map (db m14952) HM|
|Georgia (Bryan County), Pembroke — Bryan County|
the Honorable Jonathan Bryan, Esq.
Founder, Father, and Patriot of Georgia. — Map (db m14954) HM|
|Georgia (Bryan County), Pembroke — Old City Jail|
|Built in 1912, this structure was originally
a simple one-room brick cube with barred
windows an an armored door. It was used
to house offenders for short periods for
fighting, public drunkenness and similar
In 1928, the City of Pembroke purchased
an 1897- vintage two-unit prefabrication
cell from the old Bryan County Seat of
Clyde, Georgia when that town was
demolished to make way for the development
of Camp Stewart by the U.S. Army. The
iron cell was dismantled, . . . — Map (db m15816) HM|
|Georgia (Bryan County), Richmond Hill — 015-8 — "Dead Town" of Hardwicke — »—8 mi.—→|
|On May 10, 1754 GEORGE TOWN was established at the "Elbow" of Great Ogeechee River, eight miles east. In February, 1755, Gov. Reynolds, dissatisfied with Savannah as a capital and as a port, chose this new site because it has a charming situation, the winding of the river making it a peninsula; and it is the only fit lofty bluff, the more central location in the province, and the greater distance from the rival
port of Charleston. He renamed it HARDWICKE in honor . . . — Map (db m8364) HM|
|Georgia (Bryan County), Richmond Hill — Bryan Neck Missionary Baptist Church|
|Organized in 1869, this is the oldest African-American church congregation in lower Bryan County. The first structure for the church, a Prayer House, was built in 1870 on this site near the white Presbyterian Church (Burnt Church). London Harris, a freedman and spiritual leader of the local black community, was one of the organizers and first pastors for this church. The church was renovated and enlarged at the time the nearby Carver school was built in 1939. — Map (db m54193) HM|
|Georgia (Bryan County), Richmond Hill — Burnt Church Cemetery|
|Near this site in 1830 the Bryan Neck Presbyterian Church was established, being the oldest organized congregation in Bryan County. The church served the numerous planter families of lower Bryan, which had become one of the most productive agricultural sections on the south Atlantic coast. The church burial ground was adjacent to the wood-frame sanctuary. On these grounds are interred members of some of Bryan County’s most prominent early families, including those of Clay, McAllister and . . . — Map (db m54354) HM|
|Georgia (Bryan County), Richmond Hill — C.S.S. Nashville|
| Built by William Collyer in New York City. She was
ordered by New York merchants and launched September
22, 1853. Her maiden voyage was from New York to
Charleston, South Carolina, under the name United States
Mail Steamship Nashville, with a cargo of mail and
passengers. The bottom of the vessel was sheathed in
copper in 1854 to prevent marine growth. She was overhauled
in 1859, and received new boilers in June 1860.
The Nashville entered Charleston Harbor April . . . — Map (db m12868) HM|
|Georgia (Bryan County), Richmond Hill — Canaan Church|
|The congregation of the Canaan Baptist Church, primarily African-American, was organized in 1913 by Rev. David Boles, Sr., who was pastor, and Brother Fred Gilbert, Deacon. It was the only organized denominational church in what is now Richmond Hill during the early 20th century. The present sanctuary was built with support from Henry Ford. Many of the original congregants of the church were descendants of the antebellum rice plantation slaves of nearby Cherry Hill and Silk Hope plantations. — Map (db m59957) HM|
|Georgia (Bryan County), Richmond Hill — Capt. John McCrady — Designer of Fort McAllister|
|Charlestonian, a student of Agassiz at Harvard, then professor of mathematics at the College of Charleston, he resigned his position at the outbreak of the war and became an officer in the Confederate engineers. Transferred to Savannah he spent his efforts surrounding that city with an extensive ring of defenses.
The rest of his life was academic. He returned to his old professorship in Charleston, later became assistant to Agassiz, then professor of biology at the University of the South, Sewannee, Tennessee. — Map (db m12711) HM|
|Georgia (Bryan County), Richmond Hill — Capt. Nicholas Clinch|
|When called upon by a Union officer to surrender during Sherman`s assault, December 13, 1864, Clinch responded with a blow of his sword. After three sabre, six bayonet, and two gunshot wounds, he was taken. — Map (db m13075) HM|
|Georgia (Bryan County), Richmond Hill — Cheves' Rice Mill|
|From the roof of Cheves' rice mill (2 1/2 miles across the Ogeechee in the direction of the arrow) General Sherman and his staff watched the reduction of Fort McAllister, sunset, December 13, 1864. — Map (db m12914) HM|
|Georgia (Bryan County), Richmond Hill — Columbiad|
|This replica of a coast defense cannon known as the columbiad was manufactured, 1964, by Savannah Machine and Foundry Company as a public service. A similar cannon was positioned here during Union naval attacks, 1863. The columbiad fired 87-lb. shells; its range was 2,500 yds. — Map (db m12776) HM|
|Georgia (Bryan County), Richmond Hill — Community House|
|Outside of their expansive home on the Ogeechee River, this is the single most imposing structure built by Henry and Clara Ford during their sojourn in Richmond Hill from 1926 to 1951. Built by local labor in 1936 near the Ways Station School, the Community House served residents in the enhancement of their educational, social and cultural development. Cooking, home economics, sewing, dancing and other activities were taught at no cost to adults and children alike. Local social activities were held here, many attended by the Fords themselves. — Map (db m54221) HM|
|Georgia (Bryan County), Richmond Hill — Confederate Land Mines|
|Land mines or torpedoes buried along the western approaches to the fort caused most of the casualties to the Union troops in the assault on December 13, 1864. After the taking of the fort, General Sherman personally gave orders that the captured Confederate garrison be required to remove the unexploded mines. — Map (db m13071) HM|
|Georgia (Bryan County), Richmond Hill — Courthouse Annex|
|This wood-frame structure, situated on a site known since the creation of Bryan County in 1793 as “the Crossroads”, was built in 1939 with funding provided by Henry Ford. The building came to be familiarly called “the Courthouse” by local citizens. For many years it was used for civic meetings and as the official Richmond Hill voting site. The local Masonic Lodge and Order of the Eastern Star organizations held their meetings in this facility. Later, city and county governmental offices were housed here. — Map (db m54142) HM|