HMdb.org THE HISTORICAL
MARKER DATABASE
            “Bite-Size Bits of Local, National, and Global History”
  Home  — My Markers  — Add A Marker  — Marker Series  — Links & Books  — Forum  — About Us
Click First to browse through the results shown on this page.   First >> 
Show DirectionsOmit Marker TextClick to map all markers shown on this page.
Illinois Markers
834 markers matched your search criteria. The first 250 markers are listed. Next 584
Illinois (Adams County), Quincy — A Quincy "Copperhead"
Singleton had succumbed "Hook and Line" to the Democrats, stated Lincoln in 1854. He and Quincyan James W. Singleton had been fellow Whigs and disciples of Henry Clay. They had campaigned together in 1848 during Whig Zachary Taylor's successful run for the presidency but parted ways in 1854 over the divisive Kansas-Nebraska Act. Lincoln embraced the Republicans, while Singleton cast his lot with Stephen A. Douglas and the Democrats. In the 1858 debates at Galesburg and Alton, . . . — Map (db m58787) HM
Illinois (Adams County), Quincy — A Victorian Cemetery
Woodland Cemetery---The necropolis that in life (Cornelius Volk) did so much to beaut(ify) and make attractive" (Quincy Daily-Herald, 1898). Among significant historical Woodland memorials are the gravestones of Orville and Eliza Browning. Abraham Lincoln's closest Quincy friends. The couple rest beside their stillborn son and foster daughter Emma Lord Skinner. Foster son Lt. William Shipley, 27th Illinois Infantry, was the first Quincy Civil War soldier lost in battle. . . . — Map (db m58803) HM
Illinois (Adams County), Quincy — Augustine Tolton
Father Tolton, the first negro priest in the United States, was born of slave parents in Brush Creek, Missouri, in 1854. Educated at Quincy schools, he returned to this city after his ordination in Rome, Italy, in 1886. He celebrated his first public mass as St. Boniface Church. He became pastor of St. Joseph Church in Quincy and later established St. Monica's Church for negroes in Chicago. He died in Chicago in 1897, and is buried at St. Peter's Cemetery, Quincy. — Map (db m58799) HM
Illinois (Adams County), Quincy — Douglas' Disciple
"I regard (Richardson) as one of the truest men that ever lived; he 'sticks to judge Douglas through thick and thin" (A. Lincoln, 1860). Douglas composed the 1854 Kansas-Nebraska Act. William A. Richardson, another Quincyan and Douglas' political disciple, facilitated its passage through the turbulent U.S. House of Representatives. This bill opened to slavery an area guaranteed free since the Missouri Compromise, leading to the formation of the Republican Party and Lincoln's return . . . — Map (db m58760) HM
Illinois (Adams County), Quincy — Downtown Quincy in 1858
Sixteen days of rain had laid a coat of mud over the macadam streets that wrapped the city's square. Called the "Model City" because of its beautiful setting on the bluffs, Quincy in 1858 occupied about five square miles within its corporate limits. Its largest manufacturing establishments were built on the shore of Quincy Bay, near the bustling waterfront and the station for the recently completed Quincy and Chicago Railroad. Washington Square was located three blocks . . . — Map (db m58759) HM
Illinois (Adams County), Quincy — His Friends Rest Here
"Here, too, the father of the town, with other men of large renown, are gathered by that reaper stern, who cuts down each and all in turn" (Henry Asbury, Reminiscences of Quincy, Illinois". Referring to the leaders from an earlier time resting on the bluffs overlooking the Mississippi River. Asbury thus addressed in poetry the historical significance of Woodland Cemetery. The cemetery contains the graves of many of Lincoln's personal and political friends, including notables . . . — Map (db m58800) HM
Illinois (Adams County), Quincy — John Wood MansionErected 1835
The home of Governor John Wood Governor State of Illinois 1860-1861 Founder of Quincy, Illinois Dedicated by Dorothy Quincy Chapter NSDAR — Map (db m58738) HM
Illinois (Adams County), Quincy — Lincoln Correspondent
"The points you propose to press upon Douglas, he will be very hard to get up to" ):Lincoln letter to Henry Asbury, 1858). Originally a Kentucky Whig, Henry Asbury was one of the founders of the Republican Party in Illinois along with Abraham Jonas, Archibald Williams, Nehemiah Bushnell, O.H. Browning, and Abraham Lincoln, with whom he was a frequent correspondent. Asbury is credited with framing for Lincoln the four questions posed to Stephen A. Douglas at Freeport during the 1858 . . . — Map (db m58753) HM
Illinois (Adams County), Quincy — Lincoln Promoter
"You are one of my most valued friends" (Lincoln letter to Abraham Jonas, 1860). Their friendship began in 1843 in Springfield when Lincoln and Jonas served together in the Illinois House of Representatives. Jonas became an early and ardent supporter of Lincoln in the newly formed Republican Party. He promoted Lincoln's first Quincy visit in 1854 to speak against Stephen A. Douglas' Nebraska bill and to campaign for Archibald Williams. continuing to promote Lincoln, Jonas in 1858 . . . — Map (db m58764) HM
Illinois (Adams County), Quincy — Lincoln-Douglas Debate
On October 13 1858, two candidates for U.S. Senate met in this public square for a sixth debate. Quincy, in the west-central portion of the state, was a true battleground area where both candidates saw reasonable prospects of victory. Quincy had been Douglas' home district. Lincoln counted key local politicians as allies. Boatloads of Douglas supporters were recruited from Missouri to cheer on their favorite, while boatloads of Iowans traveled downriver to vigorously shout approval . . . — Map (db m58781) HM
Illinois (Adams County), Quincy — Lincoln's 1854 Visit
On November 1, 1854 an incensed Lincoln attached the immorality of slavery in a speech at Kendall Hall. Lincoln was awakened from a five-bear political slumber by Douglas's Kansas-Nebraska Act, attacking it in a series of speeches in central Illinois in late 1854. Lincoln's Quincy friend Abraham Jonas invited him to address the Kansas-Nebraska question here on behalf of the Congressional candidacy of Archibald Williams. Jonas predicted a payoff to Lincoln politically. "Whigs . . . — Map (db m58788) HM
Illinois (Adams County), Quincy — Lincoln's Confidante
Quincy's Eliza Caldwell Browning and Abraham Lincoln first met in 1836. She was a new bride, and he had just received his law license. When Eliza discovered Lincoln's "great merits," the two established an easy rapport. Their nearly thirty-year friendship began when Eliza's husband Orville H. Browning, was elected to the Illinois Senate. Lincoln was a state representative. The friendship lasted until Lincoln's death in 1865. It was Lincoln's longest ongoing female . . . — Map (db m58739) HM
Illinois (Adams County), Quincy — Lincoln's Friend Johnston
Quincy lawyer and newspaper editor Andrew Johnston became acquainted with Abraham Lincoln in the Illinois Legislature when Lincoln served as representative and Johnson as assistant clerk. Like Lincoln, a Whig, Johnston was a law partner of Lincoln favorite Archibald Williams of Quincy. They later became more closely associated through the medium of poetry. Johnston called upon Lincoln's law partner, John Todd Stuart, in 1841 to help Johnston's nephew George Pickett win an . . . — Map (db m58795) HM
Illinois (Adams County), Quincy — Lincoln's Honored Friend
"Archie Williams was one of the strongest-minded and clearest-minded men in Illinois" (A. Lincoln). Lincoln and his friend Archibald Williams had much in common. Both were born in Kentucky and moved to Illinois. Williams coming to Quincy in 1829. Like Lincoln, Williams was self-educated and became a highly successful attorney. The two men served together in the state legislature as dedicated Whig politicians. Williams from 1832 to 1840. Williams was a United States District Attorney . . . — Map (db m58790) HM
Illinois (Adams County), Quincy — Lincoln's Quincy
With a population of nearly 13,000 in 1858, Quincy was the Adams County seat and the third largest city in Illinois. Quincy boasted a strong, growing economy based on its transportation, milling, pork packing, and light industry. In 1853 the city was designated an international port with its own custom house. Its population had migrated from both Northern and Southern states, including an influx of German and Irish immigrants and a small community of African-Americans. This . . . — Map (db m58755) HM
Illinois (Adams County), Quincy — Lorado Taft (1860 - 1936)Sculptor of the Debate Memorial
Best remembered for his spectacular fountains, Lorado Taft was the creator of some of our nation's outstanding monuments. Some of his most significant include Blackhawk (Oregon, IL, 1911), The Columbus Memorial (Washington, D.C., 1912), The Fountain of the Great Lakes (Chicago, 1913), The Fountain of Time (Chicago, 1922), and Alma Mater (Urbana, IL, 1929). Although most of Taft;s works are in Illinois, he also had many commissions for statues, sculptures, and . . . — Map (db m58782) HM
Illinois (Adams County), Quincy — Political Allies
Abraham Lincoln and John Wood shared similar political views, Both were members of the Whig Party and were strongly allied against slavery. Lincoln and Wood worked to establish the Republican Party, and each campaigned for the other's cause during their political careers. Lincoln was a delegate at the 1856 Bloomington Convention, which launched the Republican Party in Illinois and led to Wood's nomination for Lieutenant Governor. In 1857 Lincoln and Wood helped finance publication . . . — Map (db m58737) HM
Illinois (Adams County), Quincy — Political Campaigning in 1858
Quincy was in a festive mood for the all-day event with bands, banners, and thousands of people in attendance. Historian E.B. Long said, "It was a carnival time in Illinois. Mobs of thousands journeyed by wagon, horseback, boat and train to stand for more than three hours to witness the political 'spectacular' of the day." Quincyan Abraham Jonas, an old friend, introduced Lincoln for his opening remarks. A young boy, Ben Miller, jumped to the platform and sold two cigars to . . . — Map (db m58780) HM
Illinois (Adams County), Quincy — Quincy's Judge Douglas
"His name fills the nation; and is not unknown, even in foreign lands" (A. Lincoln, 1856). Stephen A. Douglas, a Jacksonian Democrat, arrived in Quincy in 1841, at twenty-seven the youngest Supreme Court Judge in Illinois history. In 1843 he defeated Quincy Whig Orville H. Browning for the U.S. House of Representatives and became chairman of the powerful House Committee on the Territories. He later held the same post in the U.S. Senate, to which the Illinois legislature elected him . . . — Map (db m58761) HM
Illinois (Adams County), Quincy — Search for Equality
"Who shall say, I am the superior, and you are the inferior?" asked Lincoln in July 1858. The Lincoln-Douglas Debates focused on slavery. During the October 13th Quincy debate Lincoln affirmed: "...in the right to eat the bread without leave of anybody else which his own hands earns, he is my equal and the equal of every other man." As President, Lincoln issued the Emancipation Proclamation and advocated voting rights for African-Americans who fought for the Union. By the . . . — Map (db m58798) HM
Illinois (Adams County), Quincy — Steamboats and Railroads
Lincoln traveled to Quincy by stagecoach in 1854 after crossing the Illinois River at Naples. Lincoln's first documented visit was to support the Congressional candidacy of Archibald Williams and to attack the Kansas- Nebraska Act and its author, Stephen A. Douglas. Yet Lincoln and Douglas held similar views on the importance of transportation. As fellow legislators in the 1836-37 Illinois General Assembly, both had included Quincy in bills to promote transportation in Illinois. . . . — Map (db m57881) HM
Illinois (Adams County), Quincy — Stephen A. Douglas in Quincy
Statesman and politician Stephen A. Douglas began his distinguished national career in Quincy. A resident of the city from 1841-1847, he served as Associate Justice of the Illinois Supreme Court from 1841-1843, then in the U.S. House until he was elevated to the Senate in 1847. Douglas maintained a residence at the Quincy House, located on this site. On October 13, 1858, Judge Douglas returned here, visiting old friends before crossing the street to share the lecture platform with Lincoln for . . . — Map (db m58793) HM
Illinois (Adams County), Quincy — The Mormons in Quincy
Mormons in Missouri were forced to flee their homes or face death because of an "extermination order" issued in 1838 by Governor Lillburn Boggs. Many of them crossed into Illinois at Quincy and were made welcome by the people here. In April 1839 they were joined by their leader Joseph Smith, who had been imprisoned on charges of treason since November 1838. Smith had long envisioned a great Mormon community. In May of 1839 he purchased land upriver from Quincy and set about building his city -- . . . — Map (db m58792) HM
Illinois (Adams County), Quincy — Tri-State Business Center
Quincy's brewers and brick makers, contractors and coopers, foundry and factory workers, and diverse other tradesmen made this Mississippi River community an important center of commerce in Lincoln's day. Quincy's businessmen, whose enterprises attracted business from Missouri, a slave state and Iowa, a free state, had learned discretion in their sentiments about slavery. Their businesses flourished. The demand by other regions for Quincy's produce and products had grown so great by . . . — Map (db m57883) HM
Illinois (Adams County), Quincy — Warm, Sincere Friendship
Quincy's Orville Hickman Browning was Lincoln's friend, advisor, and confidant. According to historian David Donald, Lincoln considered Browning an old friend "whom he could absolutely trust. He knew the Illinois senator would never betray a confidence." The two men seemed very dissimilar. Browning was highly educated, a meticulous dresser, and dignified in manner. Lincoln was not. Nonetheless, Lincoln and Browning had much in common. Both were born in Kentucky and moved to . . . — Map (db m58742) HM
Illinois (Alexander County), Cairo — "Proceeding On"
In November, 1803, Meriwether Lewis and William Clark and their growing contingent of "Corps of Discovery" men, spent five days here teaching each other celestial navigation and surveying skills. Using a sextant, octant, artificial horizon, and reference tables, they successfully obtained the first longitude and latitude data that they would use during the Expedition. Subsequent maps of the northern and western portions of the United States, prepared using Lewis and Clark's data, began at the . . . — Map (db m19393) HM
Illinois (Alexander County), Cairo — Cairo, Illinois
Pierre Francois Xavier de Charlevoix, a French Jesuit, reported as early as 1721 that the land at the confluence of the Mississippi and Ohio Rivers would be a strategic location for settlement and fortification. Nearly a century later, in 1818, the Illinois territorial legislature incorporated the city and the Bank of Cairo. But Cairo was then only a paper city, and plans for its development came to a standstill with the death of John Gleaves Comegys, the leading promoter of the corporation. . . . — Map (db m19398) HM
Illinois (Alexander County), Cairo — Duncan Cannon
William B. Duncan, Chairman of the Mobile & Ohio Railroad, presented this Rodman smooth bore cannon to the city of Cairo as a gift, May 27, 1905. The gun saw action for both sides of the Civil War at Fort Morgan, Mobile, Alabama, in 1861, to protect southern commerce, the Confederacy seized it. Union forces recaptured Fort Morgan in Aug., 1864. The cannon was used then until 1888 as part of the nation's seacoast armament. — Map (db m19423) HM
Illinois (Alexander County), Cairo — Historical Survey Marker
The beginning of the Third Principal Meridian is located in the Ohio River 1,735 feet directly north of this point. In November, 1803, this was the mouth of the Ohio River. At this location, the Lewis and Clark Corps of Discovery encamped for six days. — Map (db m19415) HM
Illinois (Alexander County), Cairo — Lewis & ClarkCorps of Discovery
Charting the Confluence On November 14, 1803, at the confluence of the Ohio and Mississippi Rivers, the Corps of Discovery stayed for six days, one of the longest stops made by the expedition. Here, they saw the Mississippi for the first time, noted the mistletoe on the large timber and to their surprise, caught a 128 pound blue catfish. Their stay allowed Captain Lewis to teach Captain Clark the use of the navigational equipment; a compass and sextant. Because the 3rd Principal Meridian . . . — Map (db m19413) HM
Illinois (Alexander County), Cairo — Lewis and Clark in Illinois
On November 14, 1803, Meriwether Lewis, William Clark and their party landed at the confluence of the Ohio and Mississippi Rivers, the site of the present day Cairo. They spent nearly a week here, learning how to determine longitude and latitude, a skill they would need on their westward expedition. — Map (db m19419) HM
Illinois (Alexander County), Cairo — The Beginning of the Third Principal Meridian
The beginning of the Third Principal Meridian is located in the Ohio River 1,810 feet directly north of this point. In November, 1803, this was the mouth of the Ohio River. At this location, the Lewis & Clark Corps of Discovery encamped for six days. — Map (db m19420) HM
Illinois (Alexander County), Cairo — The Meeting of the Rivers
Long known to the Indian who used the two great rivers as his highways for trade and war, this junction of the Ohio and the Mississippi was first sighted by Europeans when Marquette and Joliet glided past in 1673. Ten years later La Salle explored the area and established France's claim to the Mississippi Valley. From that time on this confluence was recognized as a strategic site for settlement and fortification. George Rogers Clark, following the capture of Kaskaskia in 1778, stationed armed . . . — Map (db m19390) HM
Illinois (Alexander County), Cairo — The Ohio River BridgeCairo, Illinois - Wickliffe, Kentucky
Completed November 11, 1933 Freed of Tolls November 11, 1948 by The Cairo Bridge Commission The Ohio River Bridge was conceived and built in the public interest by the Cairo Bridge Commission with the cooperation of the Federal Emergency Administration of Public Works and the Highway Departments of Illinois and Kentucky. The Bridge was operated and maintained by the commission and as a result of the untiring efforts of many public spirited citizens, the commission was able to repay all costs . . . — Map (db m19421) HM
Illinois (Alexander County), Cairo — York the Slave
York was the first known African American to cross the American continent. In the company of Lewis and Clark Corps of Discovery, from 1803-1806, he shared equally with them the rigors of the journey, but when the corps was honored, he received no recognition. Whenever the corps came upon American Indian tribes, however, his uniqueness became apparent. To the Crow, York's blackness of skin was viewed as "big medicine," to the Shoshonis and Nez Perce, he was a man of curiosity and strength and . . . — Map (db m41063) HM
Illinois (Alexander County), Olive Branch — London School
This memorial recognizes the 109 year legacy of Rev. Nathan London, born a slave in 1830. Known then as "Nate Lundy", he distinguished himself, attaining the rank of sergeant and assistant paymaster in the Union army during the Civil War. His war-time pact with God found him settling in the "horseshoe district" of Alexander County in 1879. Besides his farming and family duties, Rev. London founded and pastored two Baptist churches and influenced the naming and establishment of the London . . . — Map (db m40405) HM
Illinois (Alexander County), Olive Branch — New Hope Missionary Baptist Church
The church, founded by Rev. Nathan London in 1882, was located near this section of road. The cornerstone, unearthed a few yards west, was donated by his family to the Cairo custom house. — Map (db m40409) HM
Illinois (Alexander County), Olive Branch — Ole London Farm
In 1879, Nathan London, of St. Louis, bought this 20 acre land tract. His son, Filmore, was deeded the land. Now the Jos. Blakemore family owns it. Ruth B. Chambers, only living grandchild, was honored here, Labor Day, 1999. — Map (db m40411) HM
Illinois (Bond County), Greenville — Bond County Civil War Memorial
[East Face] In Memory of All Who Followed the Flag From 1861 to 1865 Living and Dead. Erected 1903 SHILOH [South Face] This monument is erected by the Grand Army of the Republic Women's Relief Corps, Sons of Veterans and Other Patriotic Citizens of Bond County which sent 1200 men, the bravest of the brave many of whom never returned but gave their lives for the land they loved VICKSBURG [West Face] From scattered lands, From . . . — Map (db m34161) HM
Illinois (Bond County), Greenville — Bond County Veterans Memorial
Lest We Forget This memorial is dedicated to the men and women of Bond County who served in the Armed Forces of the United States of America Dedicated Nov. 11, 1997 In memory of those from Bond County who gave their lives while serving their country in Korea Thacker, Roy, Pvt, 8-10-1950 Bone, Zacharia, Pvt, 8-22-1952 Elam, Ivan, PFC, 10-13-1950 Tidwell, Dewey, PFC, 8-30-1950 Stockwell, Jesse, Pvt, 10-4-1951 Vietnam Scott, Michael J., SP4, . . . — Map (db m34189) WM
Illinois (Bond County), Greenville — Bulkley-Buie Storec. 1840
S.B. Bulkley's first business here was in a frame business house in 1833. In 1840, he tore it down and rebuilt in brick. His clerk, Alexander Buie, later became his partner and the store was enlarged. Buie also sold Bibles in his store. When Daniel Grigg joined Buie, the second story was added to the building. In 1885 the store was a harness shop and later became a meat market. — Map (db m34148) HM
Illinois (Bond County), Greenville — F. P. Joy & Company
In 1870, W. S. Dann opened a small one room store at this location. Additions were built in 1880 and 1886. Mr. Dann was one of those most interested in the founding of Greenville College. F. P. Joy joined Dann within a few months of the store's opening and later came to be the store's owner in 1895. F. P. Joy & Co. employed 15-18 clerks in their general store and 3 or 4 more in their clothing department. — Map (db m34147) HM
Illinois (Bond County), Greenville — First City Hall and Fire Housecompleted July 31, 1934
The building cost $15,000 and took 5 months to complete. "For the first time in Greenville's 119 years of history in which great progress was made in every other direction, the city really had its own building in which to conduct its business. In the past they had been compelled to meet in any old house by the side of the road... and many were the places they met to struggle with the city's business." Much of the credit for the building's materialization was due to Mayor Lee Loyd. — Map (db m34183) HM
Illinois (Bond County), Greenville — History of Greenville-Bond County
Illinois Confederacy Indians roamed this prairie land, rich in game, which became Illinois County of Virginia. Ceded in 1784 to the United States it was successively included in the Northwest, Indiana; and in 1809, Illinois Territory. Formed in 1817, Bond County named for Shadrack Bond extended to the Canadian border and was one of 15 counties represented at first State Constitutional Convention. Settlers came in 1806, Jones-Greene Fort was built 1807, Hills' Fort founded 1811 was an anchor . . . — Map (db m34169) HM
Illinois (Bond County), Greenville — J. R. Bennett Building1870
The earliest records show Samuel Colcord's Sorghum Mill once stood here. In 1870 Charles R. Bennett opened his new drugstore. Four drugstores were operating on the square during this time. It was Kate Benneett, Charles' wife, who prevailed on her husband to allow the ladies to place all their books on the second floor, establishing Greenville's first lending library. — Map (db m34176) HM
Illinois (Bond County), Greenville — John PoschShoemaker from Austria
In 1912, at age 24, John Posch came to the United States with a dime in his pocket and a bag of tools. In Austria, he had apprenticed for four years as a shoemaker and passed his test to work the trade. In Greenville, he started up his business in a two room house at the corner of East South and First Streets. In 1947, Posch bought the building at this location and started selling ready-made shoes from the International Shoe Company. John Posch, his sons Carl and Louie, and employee Ed . . . — Map (db m34145) HM
Illinois (Bond County), Greenville — Revolutionary Soldiers Buried in Bond County
In memory fo the soldiers of the War of the American Revolution who are buried in Bond County, Illinois John Diamond • Joseph McAdams James Green • Jacob Neer Peter Hubbard • Williamson Plant Charles Johnson • Hezekiah Rowe James Long • Thomas White Erected June 14, 1929 — Map (db m34126) HM
Illinois (Bond County), Greenville — Ronald Reagan
Dedicated to the memory of Ronald Reagan, who spoke at this intersection on October 18, 1980, while campaigning for the United States Presidency. — Map (db m34158) HM
Illinois (Bond County), Greenville — State Bank of Hoiles & Sons
This bank was established in August, 1869, by Charles Hoiles and Charles D. Hoiles. In December of 1895 the bank was incorporated as the State Bank of Hoiles & Sons with a capital of $25,000. In September, 1903, the capital stock was increased to $50,000. The bank was originally constructed of brick with a corner entrance. Charles Hoiles was a member of the Illinois Legislature at the time of the Lincoln-Douglas contest. — Map (db m34155) HM
Illinois (Bond County), Greenville — Turret Building
This building used to be balanced by another more ornate one at the northern most part of the block. The old Post Office and the Cyclone Hose Company, Greenville's first First Station, were located in what was known as the Demoulin block before the buildings burned. This side of the square suffered large fires in 1891, 1904, and 1913. — Map (db m34174) HM
Illinois (Bond County), Greenville — War of 1812 Soldiers Buried in Bond County
. . . — Map (db m34127) HM
Illinois (Bond County), Greenville — Weise & Bradford Store1879
On this northwest corner of the square, the former Hotel Eureka (better known as the Franklin House) once stood. It served as the old stage coach house and was "the best house in town, two stories high, with a double porch on the front, and withal a fine building for those days." Lincoln stopped at this hotel when he visited Greenville in 1858 during the Lincoln and Douglas campaign. — Map (db m34185) HM
Illinois (Bureau County), Cherry — Cherry Mine Disaster
Just north of town are remnants of the Cherry Coal Mine, where 259 miners lost their lives in one of the worst mine disasters in United States history. The St. Paul Coal Company began mining coal at Cherry in 1905 and by 1909 was mining 300,000 tons annually. The owner and sole customer was the Chicago, Milwaukee, and St. Paul Railroad. On Saturday, November 13, 1909, the mine caught fire. A load of hay, intended for the mule stables at the bottom of the mine, was apparently ignited . . . — Map (db m36734) HM
Illinois (Bureau County), Princeton — Owen Lovejoy Home
This two-story frame structure was the home of abolitionist Owen Lovejoy, who was born in Maine in 1811. Lovejoy moved into the house in 1838, when he became a Congregationalist minister. He was leader in the formation of the Republican Party in Illinois, and he served as a representative in the state legislature, 1855-1857, and in the United States Congress from 1857 until his death in 1864. His home was well known as a shelter for runaway slaves. Owen was a younger brother of Elijah Lovejoy, . . . — Map (db m44351) HM
Illinois (Bureau County), Seatonville — Isam W. Seaton (1823-1903) and James H. Seaton (1828-1913)
In memory of Bureau County Pioneers. Sunk the first third Vein Coal mine in Hall Township in 1879. Sold in 1888 to C.W. & V. Coal Co. Mine closed in 1913. The town of Seatonville located on land owned by Seaton Brothers was named for them. This plaque placed by descendents of J.H. Seaton, 1970. — Map (db m44350) HM
Illinois (Bureau County), Wyanet — The Hennepin Canal
Hennepin Canal Parkway Sign #1 Anatomy of a Canal: Canals like the Hennepin are manmade waterways for boats to travel on. Many canals are built to make shortcuts between two existing bodies of water. The Hennepin Canal was built to carry cargo barges between the Illinois and Mississippi Rivers. It cut out over 400 miles off the river route from Chicago to Rock Island. The Hennepin Canal links up with the Rock River for eight miles between Green Rock and Milan. Vital Features: A . . . — Map (db m44828) HM
Illinois (Bureau County), Wyanet — Thomas History Museum
In memory of Henry Thomas and Family 1800-1843. First permanent white settlers in Bureau County, May 4, 1828. Parents of first while child born within county, Jan. 15, 1830. First county postmaster 1831. Henry Thomas home served as Fort Thomas during Black Hawk War, 1832. Served with Stillman’s Army. Dedicated June 25, 1978. Owned by city of Princeton. Operated by Lovejoy Board of Trustees. Donated by Glenn and Vera Fletcher. — Map (db m44826) HM
Illinois (Bureau County), Wyanet — Wyanet Soldier's Memorial
This tablet erected as a permanent tribute to all who served their flag and country. Mothers of World War II, Wyanet, Illinois, 1955 — Map (db m44827) HM
Illinois (Carroll County), Lanark — A Stone Arch Bridge on the Galena Road
The Stone Arch Bridge that stands to the east of the present highway was on the Galena Road, once the most important trail in northern Illinois. Along this route innumerable people streamed northward to the lead mines near Galena every spring and many returned southward in the fall. The movement was likened to that of the fish called Sucker, from which the State received its nickname. This portion of the road from Dixon was surveyed in 1830 as the road from Woodbine Springs to Ogee's . . . — Map (db m55806) HM
Illinois (Carroll County), Mount Carroll — Lewistown Trail
Lewistown Trail ran from Springfield to Galena via Lewistown. From 1827 to 1837 it was one of the main routes to the Galena lead mines. In general the trail ran in a northerly direction, crossing the Rock River at Prophetstown. It then zigzagged over the glaciated slopes of Carroll County and at this point turned northward again toward Plum River, six miles away. In 1837 when a state road was established to Galena via Savanna, this portion of the old trail became a local wagon road. By the . . . — Map (db m34241) HM
Illinois (Carroll County), Mount Carroll — Shimer College
Mount Carroll Seminary was founded as a coeducational institution in 1853 by Frances Ann Wood (later Mrs. Shimer). After the Civil War, enrollment was limited to women. Rechartered in 1896 as the Frances Shimer Academy of the University of Chicago, the school pioneered a junior college program. It became coeducation again in 1950 and adopted a four-year program in liberal education in 1958. In that year the Chicago affiliation was dissolved and the present name became official. — Map (db m34479) HM
Illinois (Carroll County), Savanna — Grand Army of the Republic PresentationGettysburg Address Plaque
Presented By Grand Army Of The Republic J.P. Plattenberger, Commander (Plaque has the text of the Gettysburg Address on it.) “Four score and seven years ago our fathers brought forth on this continent, a new nation, conceived in Liberty, and dedicated to the proposition that all men are created equal. Now we are engaged in a great civil war, testing whether that nation, or any nation so conceived and so dedicated, can long endure. We are met on a great . . . — Map (db m68359) HM
Illinois (Carroll County), Savanna — Helen Scott Hay
Helen Scott Hay, famous Red Cross nurse, was born near Lanark in this county. She was a graduate of Savanna High School, Northwestern University in Evanston, and the Illinois Training School for Nurses in Chicago, where she was later Superintendent. Before World War I she established a school of nursing in Bulgaria. At the outbreak of war she became Director of American Red Cross Nursing Personnel and was assigned to the Balkans. After America entered the war, she served in Washington. In 1920 . . . — Map (db m55838) HM
Illinois (Carroll County), Savanna — Pierce Wigwam1828 • 1928
On this ground stood the Indian wigwam occupied by Aaron Pierce and his wife, Harriet Bellows Pierce, and their four children, November 4, 1828, first white settlers of Savanna. Erected in honor of his mother, Sila Pierce Bowen, by Frank Pierce Bowen. — Map (db m42660) HM
Illinois (Carroll County), Savanna — Plum River Falls
Steamboats once navigated to this point, where Plum River Falls powered saw, powder, grist, and flour mills at various times between 1836 and 1885. Near here the Rock Island Military and Prophetstown Trails to Galena were intersected as early as the 1830's by roads to Freeport, Rockford, Polo, and Milledgeville. On three occasions during the Black Hawk War, companies of mounted volunteers from Galena scoured this area for hostile Indians. — Map (db m34261) HM
Illinois (Carroll County), Savanna — Savanna Army Depot Activity
[Ordnance Corps U.S.A. insignia] The area that encompasses Savanna Army Depot was acquired in 1917 when the United States Congress authorized the commanding officer of Rock Island Arsenal to purchase certain lands for the test of field artillery. Savanna Proving Ground officially opened on 26 December 1918 and over the next two years increased activities spurred a building expansion which continued until the need for test facilities diminished. Savanna was then redesignated as an . . . — Map (db m67267) HM WM
Illinois (Carroll County), Savanna — Savanna Community Veterans Memorial
In Grateful Tribute To The Men And Women Who Served Our Country To Protect The Cause Of All Freedoms — Map (db m68200) WM
Illinois (Carroll County), Savanna — Savanna Community World War II Honor Roll
In Affectionate Memory Of The Sons & Daughters Who Served Our Community In World War II Roll of Honor — Map (db m68199) WM
Illinois (Carroll County), Savanna — Savanna Public LibraryCarnegie Library
Savanna Public Library — Map (db m68356) HM
Illinois (Cass County), Beardstown — Captain Abraham Lincoln
Rejecting a treaty, Black Hawk, a leader of the Sauk and Fox, led his hungry people back into Illinois from Iowa in early 1832, intending to plant corn. Black Hawk also hoped to form an alliance with the Winnebago and Pottawatomie. Alarmed, Gov. John Reynolds issued a call for volunteers. Lincoln was elected captain of his company in the 31st Regiment of Illinois Militia. Twenty-seven years later, Lincoln recalled his election as "a success which gave me more pleasure than any I . . . — Map (db m57691) HM
Illinois (Cass County), Beardstown — Lincoln and Blackhawk
Abraham Lincoln and his men were among the 1,500 or so volunteers who had poured into Beardstown for basic military drills. These men had answered Gen. John Reynolds' call to drive Black Hawk and his people out of Illinois. The military camp was spread out through this part of Beardstown, now known as Schmoldt Park. During that brief time of military camp, young boys and old men spent their days keenly watching the citizen soldiers train. Young ladies, no doubt, also flirted with . . . — Map (db m57689) HM
Illinois (Cass County), Beardstown — Lincoln and the River
When Abraham Lincoln sought election to the Illinois legislature in 1832, his platform focused on his belief that improvements should be made to the Sangamon River, which he said would be "vastly important and highly desirable to the people of this county." Soon news arrived that the steamboat Talisman was bound for Illinois to demonstrate the Sangamon could be a river of commerce. Accompanied by New Salem and Springfield friends, Lincoln rushed to Beardstown. Armed with . . . — Map (db m57856) HM
Illinois (Cass County), Beardstown — Lincoln in Beardstown
Abraham Lincoln first saw Beardstown in the Spring of 1831 as he, two friends, and Denton Offutt steered Offutt's flatboat laden with merchandise on their way to New Orleans. He returned in 1832, first in March to help get the steamer Talisman up and back down the Sangamon River. In April, Lincoln returned as the captain of a volunteer company in the Black Hawk War. As a surveyor, candidate, state legislator, congressman and lawyer, Lincoln often visited Beardstown and the . . . — Map (db m57693) HM
Illinois (Cass County), Beardstown — Lincoln Photograph
Abraham Lincoln had just won an acquittal for his client William Duff Armstrong in what is now known as the celebrated Almanac Trial of May 7, 1858. At the conclusion of the trial, held on the second floor of the Cass County Courthouse in Beardstown, a young entrepreneur named Abraham Byers invited Lincoln to walk to his nearby studio for a short photography session. No doubt, Lincoln was tired and perhaps looked forward to supper and then retiring to his room at the Dunbaugh House. . . . — Map (db m57858) HM
Illinois (Cass County), Beardstown — Lincoln the Candidate
People in Cass County knew Abraham Lincoln not only as a lawyer but also as a candidate for the Illinois legislature and U.S. Congress. Those earlier campaigns allowed Lincoln to hone his political skills for the 1858 senatorial content that pitted Lincoln and the new Republican Party against Democrat incumbent Stephen A. Douglas. "Mr. Lincoln leaves tomorrow evening for Beardstown, where he will throw some of his hot shot into the Douglas camp, and charge home upon the . . . — Map (db m57861) HM
Illinois (Cass County), Beardstown — Lincoln the Lawyer
It is the celebrated "Almanac Trial" of May 7, 1858 that has forever linked Abraham Lincoln with Beardstown. On that day, Lincoln defended William Duff Armstrong, the son of Lincoln's closest New Salem friends Jack and Hannah Armstrong. Duff Armstrong, with James Norris, was charged in the murder of James Preston Metzker. During the trial, Lincoln carefully cross-examined witnesses, including Charles Allen, who said he saw Norris and Armstrong attack Metzker by the light of the . . . — Map (db m57859) HM
Illinois (Cass County), Beardstown — Site of Abraham Lincoln's SpeechAug. 12, 1858
"A house divided cannot stand." — Map (db m57860) HM
Illinois (Cass County), Beardstown — The Beardstown Women's Club
Erected this tablet February 12, 1909 In memory of Abraham Lincoln who, for the sake of a mother in distress, cleared her son Duff Armstrong of the charge of murder in this hall of justice. May 7 1858 — Map (db m57862) HM
Illinois (Cass County), Beardstown — Traveling to Beardstown
Travel in Abraham Lincoln's time was time-consuming, dirty, and usually downright uncomfortable. On many of his trips, Lincoln traveled by train to Meredosia. From there he had the choice of a steamboat or a bone-jarring ride in a carriage over what passed for roads. Of course, Lincoln also journeyed to this city and other Cass County communities by horseback. Once in Beardstown, Lincoln usually stayed at one of the local hotels. He was for instance, a guest at the Dunbaugh House on . . . — Map (db m57863) HM
Illinois (Cass County), Chandlerville — Chandlerville
Founded 1832 by Dr. Charles Chandler of Rhode Island. — Map (db m58403) HM
Illinois (Champaign County), Champaign — Champaign's Lincoln — Looking for Lincoln
Top Section Until the Illinois Central Railroad rolled into town, geese flocked to a pond in this vicinity. The IC cleared the pond and donated the land to the Congregationalist (today the Community United Church of Christ). Their sanctuary, completed near the corner of University and First Street in 1856 was fondly known as the Goose Pond Church for its first inhabitants. In this yet unfinished church, Abraham Lincoln addressed a crowd in June 1856 (and possibly later that same . . . — Map (db m31113) HM
Illinois (Champaign County), Champaign — The First Congregational ChurchChampaign Historic Site
The First Congregational Church, built in 1855-56, was popularly known as the “Goose Pond” Church, because the site was once a water-filled area, home to flocks of wild geese and ducks. The church became a meeting center for numerous groups aspiring to improve life in the booming “New Town” then rising up along the tracks of the recently completed Illinois Central Railroad. The congregation and its minister were strongly opposed to American slavery, and worked . . . — Map (db m31118) HM
Illinois (Champaign County), Homer — Beginning of the Lincoln Circuit Trail — Abraham Lincoln - Eighth Judicial Circuit
A National Historic trail of the Boy Scouts of America established in 1963 as part of the circuit traveled between Urbana and Danville, Il. By Abraham Lincoln on the Eighth Judicial District in 1847 - 1859. The trail traverses 16 miles easterly from this point, deviating North from U. S. 150 through strip-mine pollywogs to campgrounds in Kickapoo State Park near the intersection of the Middle Fork of the Vermilion River system with Vermilion Co. 32. Dedicated in 1979 to Prof. H. W. . . . — Map (db m23955) HM
Illinois (Champaign County), Homer — On The Bloomington Road / The Clark Neighborhood — Looking for Lincoln
On the Bloomington Road The Fort Clark Road, later known as the Bloomington or State Road, was an important artery for commerce between Danville and Urbana. The road was first approved in 1826 by the Illinois Assembly. It was the first state road into western Vermilion County, which in 1833 became Champaign County. The map at left is the original 1820's survey map from the state line (right) to Big Grove (Urbana). The road was resurveyed by Moses Thomas in 1835, and Prather’s Ford . . . — Map (db m23850) HM
Illinois (Champaign County), Homer — Potawatomi Trail of DeathDavis' Point Encampment — September 20, 1838
Some 800 Potawatomi were forcibly removed by U.S. and Indiana officials from near Plymouth, Indiana and taken to eastern Kansas in 1838. Enroute 39 recorded deaths occurred. This tragic event became known as the “Trail of Death”. The Potawatomi camped here at Davis’ Point, named after Henry Davis, who occupied this site in 1838. This memorial is in honor of all the Potawatomi who suffered during this period of history. — Map (db m32503) HM
Illinois (Champaign County), Mahomet — Champaign County's Lincoln — Looking for Lincoln
(Top Section) Champaign County was always on Lincoln’s circuit. Abraham Lincoln spent nearly 20 years of his life practicing law on the 8th Judicial Circuit, traveling from one county seat to another. Even as the circuit shrank while population grew (from 8 counties in 1841 to 15 counties in 1845 to 8 in 1853 to 5 in 1857) the county seat of Urbana in Champaign County was always on Lincoln’s circuit. Each fall and spring, Lincoln traveled the dusty roads, on horseback or by carriage from . . . — Map (db m24340) HM
Illinois (Champaign County), Mahomet — Lincoln's Mahomet / Mahomet's Lincoln — Looking for Lincoln
Lincoln’s Mahomet Upper Section The village of Middletown-Mahomet was platted by Daniel Porter in 1832 on the west bank of the Sangamon River near its headwaters. The main street of the village was actually a new road, made necessary by the location of the county seat at Urbana. The state road was moved to the south of the old Fort Clark Road. This change made Newcom’s Ford (on the northeast) obsolete and, thus, created a new ford near where the old railroad bridge stands today. . . . — Map (db m24374) HM
Illinois (Champaign County), Ogden — Abraham Lincoln - Eighth Judicial DistrictChampaign / Vermilion Counties — County Line Marker
Abraham Lincoln traveled this way as he rode the Circuit of the Eighth Judicial District 1847 - 1859 — Map (db m10987) HM
Illinois (Champaign County), Sadorus — Henry Sadorus — First White Settler
In memory of Henry Sadorus First White Settler in Champaign County March 7, 1824 — Map (db m33301) HM
Illinois (Champaign County), Sadorus — Potawatomi Trail of DeathSadorus's Grove Encampment — September 22, 1838
Over 800 Potawatomi were forcibly removed from near Plymouth, Indiana by U. S. And Indiana Officials and taken to eastern Kansas in 1838. This historic event was named the “Trail of Death” after the tragic occurrence of 39 recorded deaths. Though no deaths occurred on this day, 3 men were discharged and jailed for drunkenness. This memorial is in honor of all the Potawatomi who suffered during this period of removal. — Map (db m33251) HM
Illinois (Champaign County), Sidney — Potawatomi Trail of DeathSidney Encampment — September 21, 1838
Over 800 Potawatomi encamped at Sidney after their forced removal by U.S. and Indiana officials from near Plymouth, Indiana. They were being marched to eastern Kansas. Two people died at Sidney, including a child. A total of 39 Potawatomi tragically died enroute. This historical event was named the “Trail of Death”. This marker is in memory of all Potawatomi that suffered. — Map (db m33248) HM
Illinois (Champaign County), St. Joseph — Lincoln at Kelley's Tavern — Looking for Lincoln
Kelley’s Tavern was originally called Strong’s Inn after Cyrus Strong, who built a mud-mortar log cabin here in the 1830's. The inn at Strong’s Ford was a stop on the Bloomington or State Road from Danville west to Urbana. Kelley’s Inn was a stop for travelers on the westward migration - - and for local business. Joseph Kelley purchased the cabin from Strong in 1849, expanded it, and also provided a ferry across the Salt Fork. The four-room tavern standing at the spot was demolished in 1914. . . . — Map (db m23803) HM
Illinois (Champaign County), Tolono — Lincoln 1861 Inaugural Train Stop
Abraham Lincoln made his farewell address to the people of Illinois at the Tolono Station February 11, 1861. "I am leaving you on an errand of national importance, attended as you are aware with considerable difficulties. Let us believe as some poet has expressed it 'behind the cloud the sun is still shining.' I bid you an affectionate farewell." — Map (db m4720) HM
Illinois (Champaign County), Tolono — Lincoln in Tolono — Looking for Lincoln
Abraham Lincoln traveled through Tolono by locomotive at least eighteen times. He whiled the time away for his train connections by playing horseshoes and visiting with the Tolono residents. While campaigning in Illinois, Lincoln would frequently play a game of chess with a telegrapher at the Marion house Hotel-Depot. Tolono lies at the junction of the Great Western and Illinois Central Railroads. Tolono is privileged to have at this site an historical stone marker to honor Abraham . . . — Map (db m23816) HM
Illinois (Champaign County), Urbana — Abraham Lincoln - Eighth Judicial DistrictUrbana, Illinois — County-Seat Marker
Abraham Lincoln traveled this way as he rode the Circuit of the Eighth Judicial District ···1847 - 1857 — Map (db m12194) HM
Illinois (Champaign County), Urbana — Lincoln & Photography — Looking for Lincoln
Top Section During the Spring term of the Circuit Court in 1858, Abraham Lincoln sat for a portrait with photographer Samuel Alschuler. Alschuler’s studio was on the second floor of the Lowenstern Building, at the southwest corner of Main and Race streets, where the Busey Bank Building stands today. According to Urbana judge J. O. Cunningham, Mr. Lincoln was wearing a light colored duster (a long open coat worn when traveling by horse to protect clothing from dust). Since light . . . — Map (db m31120) HM
Illinois (Champaign County), Urbana — Urbana's Lincoln — Looking for Lincoln
Top Section Murder, larceny, and even rape- - -the young circuit lawyer Abraham Lincoln, practicing in Urbana, handled cases involving all of these in the courthouse which stood on this city block. Lincoln unsuccessfully defended William Weaver, the first man accused of murder in Champaign County. Lincoln appeared in court here from 1841 to 1860. The cases weren’t all felonies: Lincoln more often represented ordinary citizens with their divorces, land title disputes, and . . . — Map (db m31119) HM
Illinois (Christian County), Mount Auburn — Abraham Lincoln - Eighth Judicial DistrictMacon / Christian Counties — County Line Marker
Abraham Lincoln traveled this way as he rode the Circuit of the Eighth Judicial District 1847 - 1859 — Map (db m12200) HM
Illinois (Christian County), Moweaqua — Moweaqua Coal Mine Disaster
This is the site of the Moweaqua Coal Mine Disaster which on December 24, 1932, took the lives of all 54 miners entering the mine that day. The Moweaqua Coal Mine was Shelby County's largest. An unprecedented drop in barometric pressure allowed methane gas to escape into the mine. The explosion occurred at 8 a.m. when the gas was ignited by open flame carbide lights. Efforts of rescue teams searching for survivors were in vain, although all bodies were recovered. This marked the end of the era of open flame carbide lights. — Map (db m55619) HM
Illinois (Christian County), Moweaqua — Moweaqua Coal Mine Disaster Memorial
Coal was discovered in Moweaqua in 1886 With mining operations beginning in 1891 The method of mining was room and pillar At a depth of 620 feet Haulage was by mule and motor On Christmas Eve 1932 an explosion in the mine Claimed the lives of these men Mining operations ceased in 1935 And since that time all evidence of coal operations In Moweaqua has disappeared James Birley • Michael Krajnack Thomas Birley • Joseph Krall Kenneth Board • Carl McDonald George . . . — Map (db m55635) HM
Illinois (Christian County), Taylorville — Abraham Lincoln - Eighth Judicial DistrictTaylorville, Illinois — County-Seat Marker
Abraham Lincoln traveled this way as he rode the Circuit of the Eighth Judicial District ···1847 - 1857 — Map (db m12204) HM
Illinois (Christian County), Taylorville — Christian County (Illinois) Courthouse1840 - 1856
The first courthouse of Christian County (originally Dane County) was built in 1840 for $2,350. It was located in the center of Taylorville’s Public Square. Court was held on the lower level with County Officers sharing the upstairs floor. Since the Circuit Court came to town only twice each year, the courtroom was available at other times for use by County Commissioners or for public functions. Until 1853, Christian County was part of the Eighth Judicial Circuit. A Judge would travel to . . . — Map (db m29091) HM
Illinois (Christian County), Taylorville — Christian County Coal Miners — Taylorville, Illinois
In Memory and Honor of Christian County Coal Miners — Map (db m12399) HM
Illinois (Christian County), Taylorville — The Last Stop — "Looking for Lincoln"
“I had pleasant accommodations at Taylorville in company with Mr. Lincoln & Mr. Thorton,” Circuit Judge David Davis once wrote from here. He found this town–the last county seat on his circuit route–to be “prettily laid out, & tastefully arranged with trees & shrubs.” But pigs rummaging underneath the floor boards of the courthouse sometimes disrupted the Judge’s courtroom. Once, it was so noisy that attorney Lincoln reportedly rose to his feet to . . . — Map (db m12208) HM
Illinois (Clark County), Marshall — Fancher Pony Truss Bridge
Hiram B. Trout and his brother, Everett Trout, were born on a farm about five miles north of this location. They operated a machine shop in Shelbyville, Illinois in the late 1800’s at which in time they invented and patented the unique design for this Pony Truss bridge. They built about 150 of these bridges between 1892 and 1897 which were erected in Shelby and neighboring counties. The design feature which makes this bridge unique is the use of round pipe in the top chords, end posts, and . . . — Map (db m59336) HM
Illinois (Clark County), Marshall — James Jones 1921 - 77 — The Handy Writers' Colony
From Here to Eternity author James Jones co-founded The Handy Writers’ Colony (1949-1964) at the West edge of Marshall with his mentor Lowney Turner Handy and her husband, Harry. Jones wrote Some Came Running here before moving to New York and later to Paris and writing other books. Several other Colony writers completed and published novels during those years. The house Jones built at the edge of the Colony Grounds in 1953 still stands. The house and Colony Grounds are . . . — Map (db m23336) HM
Illinois (Clark County), Marshall — Old Stone Arch Bridge
This Bridge was completed by Army Engineers sometime between 1834 and 1837 as part of the Old National Road, between Cumberland, Maryland and Vandalia, Illinois, was authorized by the enabling act of 1803 and was the Nation's first federally financed highway. The Bridge is a prime example of the Stone-building art and early American Engineering. Stones were precisely cut and fitted together without bond or mortar. Many stone arch bridges were built along the Cumberland Road, but this was the . . . — Map (db m71127) HM
Illinois (Coles County), Charleston — Abraham Lincoln - Eighth Judicial DistrictCharleston, Illinois — County-Seat Marker
Abraham Lincoln traveled this way as he rode the Circuit of the Eighth Judicial District ···1847 - 1857 — Map (db m10938) HM
Illinois (Coles County), Charleston — Coles County - - Civil War Memorial
(Upper Portion):Tribute of Coles County in Honor of her Sons who fought for The Union 1775 - - 1781 1812 - - 1815 1846 - - 1848 1861 - - 1865 1898 - - 1898 (Lower Portion):A house divided against its self cannot stand. I believe this government cannot endure permanently half slave and half free. — Map (db m11122) HM
Illinois (Coles County), Charleston — Coles County War Memorial
This Memorial is dedicated to the men and women of the Armed Forces in all wars for the United States of America. — Map (db m11000) HM
Illinois (Coles County), Charleston — Rally After the Debate / Lincoln in Coles County — Looking for Lincoln
Side One Top Section Nineteenth-century Illinois political campaigns and rallies were raucous affairs, part entertainment and part serious politics. The candidates were often accompanied or preceded by marchers, fireworks, flag bearers, musicians, and- - -in the case of Stephen A. Douglas- - -volleys of cannon fire. This photo shows a procession of oxen in a political rally in 1860 and in the only known photo of Charleston square of this time period. The drum (below) is a . . . — Map (db m30866) HM
Illinois (Coles County), Lerna — Lincoln's Care for His Family — Looking for Lincoln
Left Section Abraham Lincoln was a frequent visitor to Cole County in the 1840's, traveling on the judicial circuit. In Charleston, according to Amanda Hanks Poorman (the daughter of Dennis Hanks), Lincoln would use the Hanks’s horse and wagon, and, with some of the Hanks children, visit his father’s farm. Amanda recalled: “He was very generous with us, and was also to his father and stepmother, giving them $10 or $15 every time we went down there with him.” In the . . . — Map (db m30847) HM
Illinois (Coles County), Lerna — Moore House
Here on January 31, 1861, President-Elect Abraham Lincoln visited his stepmother, Mrs. Sarah Bush Lincoln and her daughter Mrs. Reuben Moore (Matilda Johnston). This was his last visit to Coles County before leaving Illinois for his inauguration. Mrs. Lincoln returned with him to Charleston that night and their farewells were said the next morning. — Map (db m30888) HM
Illinois (Coles County), Lerna — The Last Lincoln Farm
In 1837 Thomas Lincoln erected a cabin on a tract of land situated one-half mile to the east. Here he resided until his death in 1851. Abraham Lincoln visited here frequently, and after 1841 held title to forty acres of land on which his parents lived. The State of Illinois now owns most of the Lincoln Farm. — Map (db m30933) HM
Illinois (Coles County), Lerna — The Reuben Moore Home
Left Panel: “This will certify that the foregoing plot of the town of Farmington laid by me as proprietor is correct. Witness my hand and seal this 30th day of April 1852.” J. J. Adams John Adams laid out this land in Pleasant Grove Township in 1852 hoping to build a town. Lots were available to anyone who could afford them. First named Farmington after Mrs.Adams’ Tennessee birthplace, this name was not officially . . . — Map (db m30979) HM
Illinois (Coles County), Mattoon — Abraham Lincoln - Eighth Judicial DistrictShelby / Coles Counties — County Line Marker
Abraham Lincoln traveled this way as he rode the Circuit of the Eighth Judicial District 1847 - 1859 — Map (db m10989) HM
Illinois (Coles County), Mattoon — General U. S Grant took Command
General U. S Grant near this spot on June 15, 1861 took command of his first troops in the Civil War 21st Ill. Inf. — Map (db m30903) HM
Illinois (Coles County), Mattoon — Lincoln's Last Visit / The Debaters in Mattoon — Looking for Lincoln
Side One Top Section Abraham Lincoln’s last visit to Cole County was indeed of a personal nature. Lincoln was described as he left Springfield by Henry C. Whitney, who accompanied him part of the way on the train: “. . . [Lincoln wore] a faded hat, innocent of nap; and his coat was extremely short, more like a sailors pea-jacket than any other describable garment. It was the same outer garment that he wore from Harrisburg to Washington when he went to be . . . — Map (db m30840) HM
Illinois (Coles County), Mattoon — Site of The Village of RichmondFounded August 27, 1836
On this spot stood the Clapboard Inn, General Store, and Post Office of the early settlers, including the Lincoln family. The survey of the Village shows thirty-seven lots. Main Street, sixty feet wide, ran immediately with the State Road and was crossed by Mulberry, Sycamore, and Cottenwood streets. The State Road extended from Paris via Charleston to Shelbyville, and on to Vandalia, Illinois, the Old State Capitol. A conch shell blown at a distance announced the arrival of the . . . — Map (db m10991) HM
Illinois (Coles County), Oakland — Civil War Memorial
1861 - - - - 1865 In Grateful remembrance of the Civil War Veterans — Map (db m30880) HM
Illinois (Coles County), Oakland — Gristmill Stone Recovered from the Little Embarras River
Gristmill Stone Recovered from the Little Embarras River South of Oakland about 1936. Donated to the City of Oakland by the Curtis Family in memory of Walter A. and Georgia (Swinford) Curtis. Mill was in use about 1850. — Map (db m30885) HM
Illinois (Coles County), Oakland — Home of Dr. Hiram Rutherford
This was the home of Dr. Hiram Rutherford, who was involved in 1847 in a case in which Abraham Lincoln represented a slaveholder. Rutherford and Gideon Ashmore harbored a family of slaves who had sought their help. The slaves belonged to Robert Matson, a Kentuckian, who had brought them north to work on his farm. While the slaves were being sheltered in Ashmore’s Tavern, Matson obtained a Court Order to have the slaves jailed. Rutherford and Ashmore sued out a Writ of Habeas Corpus for their . . . — Map (db m30877) HM
Illinois (Coles County), Oakland — Oakland, Illinois Community W. W. I War Memorial
Front Section Lucy M. Reeds Red Cross Nurse Overseas Soldiers Overseas Column One George L. Adams • Samuel Adams • Floyd Annin • Harry Annin • Archie Ashmore • Frank Ashmore • Logan W. Blevins, Sergt. • Frank Brandt • George A. Brown • Paul Buckler • Barton O. Burns • Elbert Butcher • Clarence Campbell • Ray Campbell • John Chesley • Harry L. Clapp • Omer F. Clement, 1st Sergt. • Cyrus Covalt • Oharles Cossins • Don Daniels • Roy E. Daniels Column Two . . . — Map (db m30995) HM
Illinois (Coles County), Oakland — The Matson Slave Trial — Looking for Lincoln
Top Section Dr. Hiram Rutherford was a key person involved in Abraham Lincoln’s famous slave case, the only instance in his career where Lincoln represented the rights of a slave owner. Robert Matson brought slaves from Kentucky to work his farm north of Independence each year until after the harvest. By doing so, Matson was taking advantage of a common loophole in Illinois law, which allowed slaves to be held here while in transit. In 1847, one of Matson’s slaves, Jane Bryant, argued . . . — Map (db m30867) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — “Hubbard’s Folly”
On this site about 1834, Gurdon S. Hubbard built Chicago’s first warehouse for storing pork and other pioneer produce. Because of its size and substantial construction early skeptics called the building "Hubbard’s Folly." Erected by Chicago’s Charter Jubilee Authenticated by Chicago Historical Society 1937 City of Chicago Incorporated 4th March 1837 — Map (db m47692) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — “Rites of Spring”Milton Horn (1906-1995) — Sculptor
This terra-cotta work of art by Milton Horn depicts a ram and an image of Pan, who in Greek mythology was the god of fields, forests, wild animals flock and shepherds. The sculpture is one of two identical pieces created in 1952 for the now-demolished Seneca-Walton Building in Chicago. They were reclaimed from a neighborhood streetscape on the city’s Near North Side. Horn was born in Russia in 1906, emigrated to the United States in 1913 and became a naturalized citizen in 1917. He moved . . . — Map (db m47842) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — (Former) Marshfield Trust and Savings Bank
This terra-cotta-clad flat-iron building makes the most of its triangular building lot. Like many neighborhood banks from the 1920s, the Marshfield Trust and Savings Bank employed the Classical Revival style of architecture to convey a sense of permanence and security. Arcaded two-story arched-windows extend across both street facades. The building contractor was Avery Brundage, who went on to be president of the international Olympic Committee. Designated on October 8, 2008 Richard M. Daley, Mayor Commission on Chicago Landmarks — Map (db m47457) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — 1877 Keystone from City Hall Building
This keystone, taken from the arch of the Washington Street entrance, in the City Hall Building Chicago, which was erected in 1877, replaced by the present building in 1909. — Map (db m68563) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — 910 South MichiganBuilt 1911 — Architect: Marshall and Fox
The Karpen Furniture Company commissioned Marshal and Fox to design a 12-story showroom and company office. The building’s simple ornament contrasted with the exuberant facades of Marshall and Fox’s other work, including the Blackstone and Drake Hotels, and the South Shore Country Club. Date of Addition: 1927 Architect: Graham, Anderson, Probst & White The Standard Oil Company took over the building and added seven stories. — Map (db m47884) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — Aaron Montgomery Ward GardensIn Grant Park — “Forever Open, Clear and Free”
Aaron Montgomery Ward had a vision for Chicago’s lakefront that set him apart from most of his contemporaries. For two decades (1890-1910),he fought tirelessly to preserve Chicago’s lake shore as an open space and assure the city’s “front yard” would remain free and clear, providing magnificent views and recreational opportunities to all of its citizens. Grant Park is his legacy to the city he loved... his gift to the future. Dedicated October, 14, 1993 — Map (db m47782) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — Abandoned Shoreline of Lake Michigan
This ridge is an ancient beach or sand bar of Lake Michigan whose waters reached this point 8,000 years ago when the lake level was 20 feet higher than now. Clark Street runs north atop this ridge. The park ponds lie between such old beaches, abandoned by the shrinking lake. The outer boundary of Diversey Harbor and the boat slip running south of it to North Avenue are man-made land. — Map (db m47816) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — Abraham Lincoln MonumentAugustus Saint-Gaudens, sculptor Stanford White, architect — 1887
Chicago Landmark One of the oldest and most important public sculptures in Chicago, this monument to America’s sixteenth president influenced a generation of sculptors due to its innovative combination of a natural-looking Lincoln-–depicted deep in thought as he is about to begin a speech-–with a Classical style architectural setting. It is the work of two nationally-important American designers and is widely considered to be the most significant nineteenth-century . . . — Map (db m47815) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — Alexander Robinson
(Chee Chee Pin Quay) Chief of the Potawatomi, Chippewa, and Ottawa Indians Who died April 22, 1872 Catherine (Chevalier) his wife who died August 7, 1860 and other members of their family are buried on this spot - Part of the Reservation granted him By the Treaty of Prairie Du Chien July 29, 1829 In gratitude for his aid to the family of John Kinzie and to Capt. and Mrs. Heald at the time of the Fort Dearborn Massacre — Map (db m55451) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — Alfred Caldwell Lily Pool
“Water has cut deeply into prairie soil. The clays and gravels of the Middle West are merely a thread on stone floors. In this loam, oak trees grass and corn take root.” Alfred Caldwell, 1943 A peaceful oasis surrounded by bustling Lincoln Park, the Alfred Caldwell Lily Pool is one of Chicago’s beloved landmarks. A Victorian garden and lily pool had existed on this site since 1889, but fell into disrepair. In 1937, utilizing funds from the Works Progress Administration, the . . . — Map (db m47844) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — Alfred Caldwell Lily PoolAlfred Caldwell, landscape architect — 1936-38
Chicago Landmark One of the most important historic landscapes in Chicago, this “hidden garden” in Lincoln Park was designed by note landscape architect Alfred Caldwell in the Prairie style. Inspired by his mentor Jens Jensen and the work of architect Frank Lloyd Wright, Caldwell poetically interpreted the Midwestern landscape through the use of native plants, stratified stonework, and a natural-looking “prairie river,” with a waterfall that symbolizes it . . . — Map (db m47845) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — Alfred Caldwell Lily Pool
has been designated a National Historic Landmark This site is a premier example of the Prairie style of landscape architecture. Alfred Caldwell, a landscape designer, architect, teacher and poet, transformed an old Victorian lily pool in Lincoln Park into a “sanctuary of the native landscape.” Funded by the Works Progress Administration and completed in 1938, it possesses national significance in commemorating the cultural history of the United States. — Map (db m47846) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — Allan PinkertonGraceland Cemetery, Chicago IL
In memory of Allan Pinkerton, born in Glascow, Scotland, August 25th 1819. Died in Chicago, Illinois July 1st 1884. Aged 65 years.

A friend to honesty and a foe to crime, devoting himself for a generation to the prevention and detection of crime in many countries. He was the founder in America of a noble profession. In the house of the nation’s peril, he conducted Abraham Lincoln safely through the ranks of treason to the scene of his first inauguration as President. He sympathized with, . . . — Map (db m61986) HM

Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — American Book Company BuildingNelson Max Dunning, architect — 1912
This handsome building originally served as the Midwest office, warehouse and distribution center of the American Book Company, a nationally-prominent textbook publisher. Typical of industrial architecture of its time, this reinforced-concrete building features a distinctive tower and large window openings that give the facade its grid-like appearance. The red-brick exterior is embellished with terra-cotta ornament, including the publishing company's colorful crest and a torch, wings, and a wreath representing the pursuit of knowledge. — Map (db m69594) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — Auditorium BuildingAdler and Sullivan, architects — 1889
The extraordinary engineering talent of Dankmar Adler and the architectural genius of Louis Sullivan created this building to reflect the cultural maturity of Chicago. Combining hotel and office space with a splendid theater, the Auditorium was a turning point in Sullivan's career and a milestone in the development of modern architecture. Designated a Chicago Landmark on September 15, 1976 by the City Council of Chicago. Richard J. Daley, Mayor — Map (db m34975) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — Battle of Fort DearbornAugust 15 ,1812
From roughly 1620 to 1820 the territory of the Potawatomi extended from what is now Green Bay Wisconsin, to Detroit Michigan, and included the Chicago area. In 1803 the United States Government built Fort Dearborn at what today is Michigan Avenue and Wacker Drive.As part of a strategic effort to protect lucrative trading in the area from the British. During the War of 1812 between the United States and Great Britain, some Indian tribes allied with the British to stop the westward expansion of . . . — Map (db m67806) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — Carbide and Carbon BuildingBurnham Brothers Inc., architect — 1929
Chicago Landmark According to popular legend, the architects chose this building’s dark green and gold colors based on a gold-foiled champagne bottle seen at an office holiday party. Whether true of not, the building is one of the most-distinctive features on the Chicago skyline. The lobby also is a classic of Art Deco design, with exceptionally fine bronzework and black marble. The building was designed by Daniel and Herbert Burnham, sons of the legendary architect and city planner Daniel . . . — Map (db m51698) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — Catholic CemeteryHidden Truths — The Chicago City Cemetery and Lincoln Park, Then and Now
Chicago's early Catholic Cemetery ran from North Av. south to Schiller St., and Dearborn St. to the lake, now Astor St. Established in 1845, it existed until the 1871 Chicago Fire charred the grounds. Like the City Cemetery to the north, not all remains were exhumed as had been assumed. Skeletal fragments have been unearthed during construction projects in nearly every decade since the 1890's. This two-part project by Pamela Bannos continues on the Internet: http://hiddentruths.northwestern.edu — Map (db m10665) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — Charles N. Loucks HouseClarence H. Tabor, architect 1889 — Chicago Landmark
Designed as a "model home," this Queen Anne-style house was built for Irving Park land developer Charles N. Loucks. It is a fine example of "pattern book architecture,", building designs sold through the mail--a popular method used to keep pace with housing demands in the rapidly-growing railroad suburbs of the time. The house is noteworthy for its colored beveled-glass windows, verandah with beaded spindle-work, applied metal ornament and its distinctive turret. — Map (db m66329) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — Chicago & North Western Railway PowerhouseFoster & Granger, architects — 1909-1911
Chicago Landmark The Powerhouse is the best-surviving building associated with the Chicago and North Western Railway, one of the city’s most prominent historic railroads. While a utilitarian building, this grandly-scaled example of the Beaux-Arts architectural style is noteworthy for its giant round-arched windows and fine cream-colored brick walls laid to resemble rusticated stone. The powerhouse provided electricity and steam heat to the original terminal (demolished), standing . . . — Map (db m47726) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — Chicago River
This river originally flowing eastward from the prairie home lands of the Potawatomi and other Indian tribes into Lack Michigan, linked the waters of the Atlantic, the St. Lawrence and the Great Lakes with those of the Illinois, the Mississippi and the Gulf of Mexico. From 1673, commerce and civilization followed this natural waterway from the seaboard to the heart of the continent.

The strategic importance to early American development of the junction of the Chicago River and Lake Michigan . . . — Map (db m47685) HM

Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — Chicago Water Tower1869 – 1969
In this its centennial year the Chicago Water Tower has been designated the first American Water Landmark “because of its significance in the development of Chicago’s water resources and its symbolic identity with the spirit of Chicago.” Richard J. Daley, Mayor City of Chicago James W. Jardine Commissoner Department of Water & Sewer An American Water Landmark Water Tower Chicago, Illinois Significant in the History of Public Water Supply Designated by American Water Works Association — Map (db m47575) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — Churchill Corner
A crossroads in the development of Oekology (Ecology) at the turn of the century. Named for Dr. Frank Spooner Churchill an early pediatrician, medical inspector of Chicago;s Board of Health who pioneered reforms in pure food, water, air and sanitation; physician to the Juvenile Court who advance psychology for the rehabilitation of children; and his wife, great-grand daughter of Lucretia Mott, Lucretia Mott Hallowell Churchill, a courageous worker for women's rights, child health and labor . . . — Map (db m47604) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — City CemeteryHidden Truths — The Chicago City Cemetery and Lincoln Park, Then and Now
This was the site of the City Cemetery, Chicago's only public graveyard from 1843-1859. Extending from North Av. to Wisconsin St., there were more than 20,000 burials here. For nearly twenty years beginning in 1866, as the grounds were converted to Lincoln Park, bodies were being exhumed and carried to new private cemeteries outside city limits. Since the 1890's construction projects have been revealing skeletal remains. For various reasons, many bones likely still remain here beneath the soil. . . . — Map (db m10660) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — Columbia Yacht ClubFounded 1892
During the winter of 1891, a group of Chicago sailors gathered at the home of a bridge tender to discuss the formation of a club dedicated to the sport of sailing. Their idea was to create on the lakefront, a facility where men and women could enjoy the art and skill of recreational boating. In 1892, the State of Illinois granted these Chicago pioneers a charter for their organization and helped with the site selection at the foot of Randolph Street. The new club would adopt the name . . . — Map (db m47651) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — Confederate Mound Monument
Confederate Dead Erected to the memory of the six thousand southern soldiers here buried, who died in Camp Douglas Prison 1862-5. These men suffered all, sacrificed all, dared all, and died. — Map (db m63605) WM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — Continental and Commercial Bank BuildingD.H. Burnham & Co. ; Graham, Anderson Probst & White, architects — 1914
Chicago Landmark This massive block-long office building was built to house one of Chicago’s leading banks and exemplifies the large commercial buildings that define the distinctive LaSalle Street “canyon.” Architect Daniel Burnham personally supervised its design just before his death in 1912, and the building was completed by his successor firm. Designed in Burnham’s preferred Classical Revival style, the building is detailed with giant columns, pilasters, lion’s heads, . . . — Map (db m47757) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — Couch TombHidden Truths — The Chicago City Cemetery and Lincoln Park, Then and Now
This stone vault is the oldest structure standing within the Chicago Fire zone. It was erected in 1858 for Ira Couch, a wealthy hotelier who died at age 50 while wintering in Cuba. Though some theories exist, there is no official answer as to why this tomb was left behind on the site of the Chicago City Cemetery. Varying accounts of the number entombed suggest 7 to 13 or merely Ira alone. This two-part project by Pamela Bannos continues on the Internet: http:/hiddentruths.northwestern.edu — Map (db m10664) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — Couch Tomb
In 1857, the Couch Brothers, owner’s of Chicago’s Tremont Hotel, built this mausoleum in what was then a public cemetery on the edge of Lake Michigan. Designed by John Van Osdel, Chicago’s first professional architect, the classically-inspired structure is composed of limestone block masonry. The remains of the six Couch family members and one family friend are in the tomb. In the 1850s, less than twenty years after the creation of the City Cemetery, citizens became concerned that cholera, . . . — Map (db m47814) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — Dearborn StreetChicago Cultural Walk
[Side A] Dearborn Street showcases some of Chicago’s best architecture, art, and urban design dating from the late 19th century. Great names in architecture include Chicago School architects William LeBaron Jenney, Burnham & Root, and Holabird & Roche, as well as highly regarded modern architects, Mies van der Rohe, Skidmore Owings and Merrill C.F. Murphy, and Perkins and Will. Sculptures by world famous artists line the street, including those by Pablo Picasso, Joan Miro, Henry Moore, . . . — Map (db m47885) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — DeWitt Clinton Cregier
This tablet is erected in recognition of the outstanding services to the city of Chicago given by DeWitt Clinton Cregier Engineer of Chicago Ave. Pumping Station 1853-1879 City Engineer 1879-1883 Commissioner of Public Works 1882-1886 Mayor of Chicago 1889-1891 — Map (db m47579) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — 2 — Early Prominent Residents of Old Town (#2)
In the early 1800s and 1900s, Old Town was a thriving community of immigrants, laborers, brewers and civic leaders who contributed to the early success of Chicago. William B. Ogden – resident of Old Town and first mayor of Chicago from 1837-38. Stephen F. Gale – resident of Old Town and first fire chief of Chicago – 1845. Michael Diversey – prosperous German brewer and landowner – 1810-1869. Charles H. Wacker – successful 1900s brewer and civic . . . — Map (db m47607) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — Emil Bach HouseFrank Lloyd Wright, Architect — 1915
One of the last of Wright's small urban houses, the Bach House combines elements of the Prairie Style with a compact plan well suited for an interior lot. The inward orientation of the house ensures the privacy of its residents and reflects Wright's idea of the importance of family life. — Map (db m59980) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — First Post Office
Near this site in 1833, the log store of John S.C. Hogan, was this section’s only post office, serving settler from miles around. Eastern mail was delivered once a week from Niles, Michigan. Erected by Chicago’s Charter Jubilee Authenticated by Chicago Historical Society 1937 City of Chicago Incorporated 4th March 1837 Map (db m47724) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — Fort Dearborn
Defense Fort Dearborn stood almost on this spot. After an heroic defense in eighteen hundred and twelve, the garrison together with women and children was forced to evacuate the fort. Led by Captain Wells, they were brutally massacred by the Indians. They will be cherished as martyrs in our early history. — Map (db m47670) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — Gauler Twin HousesWalter Burley Griffin, Architect — 1906
Built as speculative housing by John Gauler, this pair of wood-and-stucco residences is a rare example of a "twin" Prairie School design. Their architect is internationally recognized for his distinctive designs and for his early contributions to the field of "land planning." The vertical composition of these houses, a hallmark of Griffin's work, shows his skill in adapting Prairie-style principles to a relatively small, narrow urban site. — Map (db m68556) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — Grant ParkBuckingham Fountain — Architect: Bennett, Parsons and Frost • Engineer: Jacques Lambert • Sculptor: Marcel François Layau
[Decorative features listed left to right; click on marker to enlarge] Console Size: 7’-0” high 3’-6” wide 6’-0” deep Material Pink Marble The console is a decorative bracket carved as a vertical scroll and projecting from the wall to support the water sculpture. There are 16 total with 8 on the two lower basins. Shell Size 2’-9” high 2’-3” wide 1’-10” deep Material: Pink Marble The shells are part of the sea life decorative motif and . . . — Map (db m47659) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — Great World War1917 – 1918
In Memoriam Erected by the Harold A. Taylor Post No. 47 American Legion In honor and grateful recognition of the gallant and meritorious services of the soldiers, sailors, and marines of the North Central District who sacrificed their lives in the Great World War 1917 – 1918 — Map (db m47581) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — Green Bay Road
From this point, the Green Bay Road ran northwesterly to Clark Street and North Avenue, and followed Clark Street’s present route to the vicinity of Peterson Avenue. This road connected Fort Dearborn with Fort Howard, Green Bay, Wisconsin. Erected by Chicago’s Charter Jubilee Authenticated by Chicago Historical Society 1937 City of Chicago Incorporated 4th March 1837 — Map (db m66624) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — Henry B. Clarke House1836
Known as the widow Clarke's house, this is Chicago's oldest building and its only surviving example of the Greek Revival style fashionable in the early 1800s. — Map (db m69587) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — Henry Gerber House1885 — Chicago Landmark
This house is nationally significant as the earliest known site associated with the gay and lesbian civil rights movement in the United States. It was the home of pioneering activist Henry Gerber from 1924 to 1925, during which time he organized the Society for Human Rights, the nation’s first gay civil-rights organization. The house was the location of Society meetings and the place where Gerber write at least the first of the two issues published of “Friendship and Freedom,” the . . . — Map (db m47813) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — Hidden TruthsThe Chicago City Cemetery and Lincoln Park, Then and Now
The 1852 funeral for David Kennison was the most elaborate Chicago had ever seen. The City paid all expenses, and donated 2 cemetery lots, intending to erect a monument on his grave. That never happened. The legend of his exploits grew to unfeasible proportions. His Boston Tea Party fame, military achievements, and his claim to have lived to the age of 115 years are disputed today. This boulder, installed 50 years after Kennison's death, is likely two blocks north of his actual burial site in . . . — Map (db m10657) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — Hotel St. Benedict FlatsJames J. Egan, architect — 1882-83
This rare surviving example of Victorian Gothic design is also one of the city's best late-19th century apartment buildings. Because early luxury apartments were viewed with skepticism, this building was designed to look like a series of four separate townhouses. It was named for the Benedictines, a religious order that had operated a church on the site before the Fire of 1871. — Map (db m66612) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — Indian Boundary Park1916
This 13.06 acre park commemorates the treaty of 1816 which established the land boundaries of the Pottawatomie Indians. — Map (db m68559) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — Indian Boundary Village
Long ago, Native American Indians lived on this land. Before recorded history, the Mound Builders traveled the area, perhaps along the nearby Ridge. Later the Illinois Tribe hunted game and planted maize. Last it was the Ottawa, the Chippewa, and especially the Pottawatomie who lived here. The Pottawatomie, which means "People of the Place of the Fire", lived in villages on the Indian Boundary Line which runs through this Park. — Map (db m68560) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — Jack BrickhouseHall of Fame Broadcaster — 1917-1998
[Front:] [Artwork motif of Wrigley Field, Soldier Field and Comiskey Park.] 'Hey Hey' [Left Side:] Inducted into Media Wing of Baseball Hall of Fame, Cooperstown, NY, in 1983, and 13 other Halls of Fame throughout the nation. Broadcasted for Chicago Cubs – 40 years; Chicago White Sox – 27 years; Chicago Bears - 24 years; 1st TV voice for Chicago Bulls. 1962 – play by play announcer for 1st satellite telecast. Recipient of . . . — Map (db m47668) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — Jane Addams' Hull-House and Dining HallSettlement active from 1889 to 1963
Here, in 1899, Jane Addams and Ellen Gates Starr started what became the most influential social settlement in America. It eventually consisted of several buildings around this house which had been built in 1856 by Charles Hull. The Dining Hall and Hull-House itself, reconstructed in 1967, remain as a memorial to the work of these women. Designated a Chicago Landmark on June 12, 1974 by the City Council of Chicago. Richard J. Daley, Mayor Commission on Chicago Historical and Architectural Landmarks — Map (db m61819) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — Jean Baptiste Beaubien
On this site, then the lake shore, Jean Baptiste Beaubien, Chicago's second civilian, in 1817, built a “mansion” to which he brought his bride, Josette LaFramboise. It remained their home until 1845. — Map (db m72205) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — John J. Glessner HouseHenry Hobson Richardson, Architect — 1887
A mature Richardsonian design, Glessner House is famous for its site development, innovative floor plan and rugged Romanesque facade. Glessner House, a reminder of the fabulous Prairie Avenue era, is the only remaining Chicago building by this renowned architect. — Map (db m69586) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — Kennison Boulder Monument
In Memory of David Kennison The Last Survivor of the "Boston Tea Party" who died in Chicago, February 24, 1852, aged 115 yrs, 3 mos, 17 da, and is buried near this spot. This stone is erected by the Sons of the Revolution, the Sons of the American Revolution, and the Daughters of the American Revolution. — Map (db m10656) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — Lake View High School
Here in 1874, was built Lake View High School, one of the first township schools in Illinois. Erected in accordance with legislation enacted by General Assembly of 1872 Erected by Chicago’s Charter Jubilee Authenticated by Chicago Historical Society 1937 City of Chicago Incorporated 4th March 1837 — Map (db m47456) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — Landmark Landings
Along with the South Pond and Lincoln Park Zoo, the landmark buildings of Café Brauer and Carlson Cottage have served Chicago for more than 100 years. Their history parallels the growth of the pond—and the city around it. Timeless Elegance—Café Brauer A beautiful example of prairie-style architecture, Café Brauer overlooks the pond’s northwest end. Designed by Dwight Perkins, a contemporary of Frank Lloyd Wright, the building was built in 1908. While Café Brauer . . . — Map (db m47818) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — Lincoln Park TransitionsHidden Truths — The Chicago City Cemetery and Lincoln Park, Then and Now
Lincoln Park, named in 1865 for the assassinated President, gradually replaced the 22 year old City Cemetery. This urban cemetery land, already desired for park grounds, was first deemed a health hazard in 1859. That same year officials began transferring remains to a private cemetery for the first time. In 1866, a civil lawsuit forced exhumations in a 12 acre tract. The 1871 Chicago Fire disfigured the remaining grounds. In 1874, unclaimed cemetery lots were condemned for the expansion of . . . — Map (db m10659) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — Lion House, Lincoln Park ZooPerkins, Fellows & Hamilton, architects — 1912
Located in one of the country's oldest municipal zoological parks, the Lion House blends both the grandly-scaled public architecture of the Classical style with the innovative Prarie style developed by Chicago architects in the early 20th century. The building was designed by important architect Dwight H. Perkins, an advocate of park and school reform. The building has excellent brickwork and terra-cotta ornament, unique lion mosaic, and a grand interior with a vaulted Guastavino-tile ceiling, . . . — Map (db m10653) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — Ludington BuildingWilliam Le Baron Jenney, architect — 1891
Chicago Landmark The city’s earliest surviving steal-frame building, a type of construction that changed commercial architecture. As one of the first structures clad in terra cotta, it marked an important step in the development of the architectural terra cotta industry. It was built by Mary Ludington to house the American Book Company, and it represents one of the high points of its architect, who is widely considered to be the “father of the skyscraper.” Designated . . . — Map (db m47781) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — Monument of the Millennium
[Text on the right] The ASCE presented only ten such awards worldwide, each representing the most outstanding example of Civil engineering in a particular area of infrastructure over the past century.

Created in 1889, the District built canals that reversed the flow of the Chicago River away from Lake Michigan, protecting the public drinking water supply and eliminating waterborne diseases prevalent at the time. The District later built wastewater treatment plants to collect and treat . . . — Map (db m47658) HM

Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — Office and Studio of Perkins, Fellows & Hamilton, architects1917 — Chicago Landmark
Finely detailed with tapestry brick and carved stone ornament, this Arts & Crafts-influenced facade is an excellent example of the type of designs for which this architectural firm was noted. "Towertown," as the area surrounding the Chicago Water Tower was referred to, was a bohemian enclave of artists' studios, galleries, coffee houses, and nightclubs. — Map (db m66729) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — 3 — Old Town and The Great Fire (#3)
On October 7, 1871, the Great Fire of Chicago started on the south side of the city and continued north. As the fire approached Old Town, the bells of St. Michael’s Church began to toll. The walls of church survived, but the interior was destroyed. The church bells melted in the intense heat. Much of the Old Town neighborhood was destroyed. As Chicago began to rebuild, wealthy families from the south and west sides of the city began moving into the area. With the neighborhood’s population and . . . — Map (db m47605) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — Old Town TriangleChicago Landmark District
Settled in the 1850s by German immigrants, this area was virtually destroyed by the Fire of 1871. Most of these wood cottages and brick and stone townhouses date to the last decades of the 19th century. After World War II, this area became the focus of one of the city’s earliest neighborhood conservation efforts. — Map (db m47626) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — 1 — Old Town’s Entrepreneur Spirit (#1)
From 1870 through the 1800s, Henry Piper, one of Old Town’s early entrepreneurs, operated a successful bakery in a narrow alley. Today, the building at Wells and North is known as Piper’s Alley. The existing house located at 1546 North Wells was built in 1874 and was the site of a coal yard. Farmers returning home from doing business downtown would stop and water their horses at a trough provided in the yard. In the 1920s, German carpenter Louis Seipp, operated his wood working business from . . . — Map (db m47609) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — Old Treaty Elm
The tree which stood here until 1933, marked the Northern Boundary of the Fort Dearborn Reservation, the trail to Lake Geneva, the center of Billy Caldwell’s (Chief Sauganash) Reservation, and the site of the Indian Treaty of 1835. — Map (db m55577) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — Old Water Tower
This water tower, completed in 1869[,] marks establishment of Chicago’s second water works. Although most other buildings of pumping system were burned it stands as a principal memorial of 18 71’s great fire. Erected by Chicago’s Charter Jubilee Authenticated by Chicago Historical Society 1937 City of Chicago Incorporated 4th March 1837 — Map (db m47576) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — Oz Park
Oz Park was created in 1974, as part of an renewal program for the Lincoln Park area. Historically, the neighborhood underwent numerous population shifts and by the 1950s home ownership was declining and many buildings were in sub-standard condition. The Lincoln Park Conservation Association approached the City of Chicago, and a large section of the community was designated as the Lincoln Park Urban Renewal Area. As part of the Urban Renewal Plan, a 13 acre site was identified for a new park. . . . — Map (db m47629) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — Philip Rogers Home Site
Philip Rogers, born in Ireland, came to Rogers Park about 1834 and bought 1600 acres from the government. First lived in a log house at Lunt and Western Avenues. Died in 1856. Village named after him in 1844. — Map (db m68565) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — Potter's FieldHidden Truths — The Chicago City Cemetery and Lincoln Park, Then and Now
From 1843 to 1871, this area was the City Cemetery potter's field, a graveyard for the poor and disenfranchised. More that 15,000 people, including 4,000 Civil War Rebels, were buried here on marshy land near the water's edge. Within six days in July 1854, over 200 cholera victims were laid to rest. Chicago's first Jewish cemetery, established in 1846, was located on what is today's furthest north baseball diamond. Baseball fields have occupied these grounds since 1877. Due to various . . . — Map (db m10663) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — Q.S.M.V. Abegweit“Queen of The Northumberland Strait” — Prince Edward Island Service
Builder: Marine Industries Limited, Sorel, Quebec, Canada Launched on June 28, 1947 Hull Number: 144 Length: 372.6 ft. Width: 62 ft. Gross Tons: 7,600 Service: Operated by Canadian National Railway for service from Cape Tormentine, New Brunswick to Borden, Prince Edward Island, August 14, 1947 until March 2, 1983 Compliment: 65 crew, One complete passenger train, 60 autos and 960 passengers. Ship’s name: Pronounced (a-beg-wit), meaning “Cradled on The Waves”. . . . — Map (db m47648) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — Rene Robert Cavalier Sieur de La Salle
In honor of Rene Robert Cavalier Sieur de La Salle & Henry de Tonti who passed through this river on their way to the Mississippi December 1681

This Tablet is placed by the Illinois Society of Colonial Dames of America under the auspices of the Chicago Historical Society 1925 — Map (db m47683) HM

Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — Rookery BuildingBurnham and Root, architects — 1886
Chicago Landmark Its powerful exterior softened by John Root’s lively ornament, the Rookery typifies the 1880s’ lingering picturesque attitude toward commercial architecture. A transitional structure in the evolution of modern architecture, it employs both masonry wall-bearing and skeletal frame construction techniques. Designated a Chicago Landmark on July 5, 1972 by the City Council of Chicago. Richard J. Daley, Mayor Commission of Chicago Historical and Architectural Landmarks — Map (db m47758) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — Rowe Building
Attributed to famed architect William Le Baron Jenney, the Rowe Building, a printing arts factory built in 1892, typifies the late nineteenth century Romanesque Revival style. Renovated in 1980, the Rowe Building is a distinguished member of the Printers Row family of residential and commercial loft buildings. — Map (db m47780) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — Second City50th Anniversary — December 2009
Congratulations to The Second City on Serving up Chicago-style humor in this Old Town neighborhood for 50 years and to all who have helped make The Second City an institution that has been copied but never equaled. Vi Daley, Alderman Chicago’s 43rd Ward — Map (db m47624) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — Second Presbyterian ChurchJames Renwick, Architect, 1874 — Rebuilt in 1900 by Howard Van Doren Shaw
When this neo-Gothic church was designed by a prominent New York architect, the surrounding streets, including Prairie Avenue one block east, were lined with the homes of wealthy Chicagoans. The fine interior decorations recall the congregation that built and, after a fire, rebuilt the church. — Map (db m69590) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — Senator William J. ConnorsJuly 26, 1891 – June 24, 1961
Supt. of Chicago License Bureau – 1923 Member of the Sanitary District – 1924 Member – Bd. of City Improvements – 1925 Dem. Ward Committeeman 42nd Ward – 1930-1961 State Representative – 1932 to 1934 State Senator – 1934 to 1961 “The Senator” A big man Loyal always to the little guy, Large of heart and spirit, Generous and genuine. Never did he lose sight of who he was whence he came and whose side he was on. . . . — Map (db m47602) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — Shelter Building
Serving as a connection between the Terminal Building to the west and the Recreation Building to the east, the Shelter Building was part of the original Pier construction of 1916. As such, it served the tens of thousands of city residents who would flock to the Pier each summer to picnic and to escape the heat of the city. The building was also well named. While its northern and southern exposures were open to the elements, the roof structure provided valuable shelter from the summer sun . . . — Map (db m47850) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — Site of Fort Dearborn1803
Chicago Landmark Fort Dearborn served as the major western garrison of the United States until destroyed during an Indian uprising in August of 1812. A second fort, erected on the same site in 1816, was demolished in 1858. Designated a Chicago Landmark on September 15, 1971, by the City Council of Chicago. Richard J. Daley, Mayor — Map (db m47681) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — Site of the First Self-sustaining Controlled Nuclear Chain ReactionDecember 2, 1942
Physicist Enrico Fermi and his colleagues established the first self-sustaining controlled nuclear reaction in makeshift laboratories constructed under the grandstands of Stagg Field Stadium on December 2, 1942. The success of this experiment ushered in the atomic age, opening tremendous potential to modern science. — Map (db m69608) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — Site of the Haymarket Tragedy
(plaque 1) On the evening of May 4th, 1886, a tragedy of international significance unfolded on this site in Chicago’s Haymarket produce district. An outdoor meeting had been hastily organized by anarchist activists to protest the violent death of workers during a labor lockout the previous day in another area of the city. Spectators gathered in the street as speakers addressed political, social, and labor issues from atop a wagon that stood at the location of this monument. When . . . — Map (db m47728) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — Site of the Sauganash Hotel/WigwamChicago Landmark
On this site stood the Sauganash Hotel, built in 1831 by pioneer Mark Beaubien, which was location of the frontier town’s first village board election in 1833. The Wigwam, an assembly hall built in 1860 (destroyed c. 1867) on the site of the hotel, was home to the 1860 Republican Convention which nominated Abraham Lincoln as a candidate for president. Lincoln’s nomination and subsequent election set in motion a series of events that ultimately lead the United States into Civil War and brought . . . — Map (db m47725) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — South Water Street
This was Chicago’s main business street in 1834, connecting the village with Fort Dearborn. Years before this also was the site of a trading post with the Indians. Erected by Chicago’s Charter Jubilee Authenticated by Chicago Historical Society 1937 City of Chicago Incorporated 4th March 1837 — Map (db m47691) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — Terminal Building
Still withstanding the test of time, the Terminal Building has hosted numerous receptions, parties and shows since it was constructed in 1916. Originally named the Terminal Building due to its function as a streetcar terminal, the structure also housed restrooms, a first-aid station, restaurant, and rooftop garden. Throughout the years, this building has served a myriad of uses... as a mess hall for sailors who trained at the Pier during World War II, and as a classroom for students attending . . . — Map (db m47848) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — The Eastland Disaster
While still partially tied to its dock at the river’s edge, the excursion steamer Eastland rolled over on the morning of July 24, 1915. The result was one of the worst maritime disasters in American history. More than eight hundred people lost their lives within a few feet of the shore. The Eastland was filled to overflowing with picnic-bound Western Electric Company employees and their families when the tragedy occurred. Investigations following the disaster raised questions . . . — Map (db m61452) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — The 1992 River West Gas Fires
At 4 P.M. on January 17, 1992, a series of explosions and fires ravaged the River West community. The fires were in an area bounded by the Chicago River, the Kennedy Expressway, and Kinzie and Division Streets. The devastation was caused by over-pressurization in the natural gas pipelines leading to homes and businesses. Two-hundred and twenty-five fire fighters responded to the emergency. The disaster resulted in 4 fatalities and 18 buildings destroyed or damaged. Initially the . . . — Map (db m61460) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — 77 — The Blues TrailMississippi to Chicago
[Side A:] The "Great Migration" from the South to "the Promised Land" of Chicago brought more African Americans here from Mississippi than any other state, especially during and after World War II. With the migrants came the Delta blues that was the foundation of the classic postwar Chicago blues style. Muddy Waters, who became the king of Chicago blues, was among the thousands of Mississippians who arrived on Illinois Central trains at Central Station, which stood across the street . . . — Map (db m47901) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — The Chicago Board of Trade's StatuesSymbolizing Agriculture and Industry
These two statues, one symbolizing agriculture and the other industry, once stood over the main entrance of the Board of Trade Building built in 1885. The statues greeted commodity traders and the public for 45 years. Thought lost forever when the building was demolished in 1929 to make way for the exchange’s current Art Deco structure, in 2005 they were graciously returned to their origins through the generosity and good will of the DuPage County Forest Preserve District. Forest Preserve . . . — Map (db m47760) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — The Donohue Building
Built in 1883, the Donohue Building was the first large printing factory in historic Printing House Row. The Annex was added in 1913. The Donohue Buildings served until 1971 as the headquarters of the M.A. Donohue Publishing Company, a well known publisher of classic children’s literature. The building achieved another first in Chicago’s history in 1979, becoming the first of the city’s factory lofts to undergo conversion into a residential condominium. — Map (db m47779) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — The Honorable Joanne H. Alter
Joanne H. Alter was elected Commissioner of the Metropolitan Water Reclamation District of Greater Chicago, and served with distinction from 1972 until 1990. Commissioner Alter’s vision for improvement in the Chicago River led to the revitalization of the entire river system. She, Commissioner Gloria Alitto Majewski and a Centennial Committee helped organize the District’s Centennial Anniversary Celebration, which included the creation of the Centennial Fountain on the north bank of the Chicago . . . — Map (db m47665) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — The Platt Luggage BuildingFormerly the Ginn & Company Publishers Building — Howard Van Doren Shaw, architect
The Platt Luggage Building, originally located at 2301 South Prairie Avenue, was designed by Howard Van Doren Shaw for the publishing company originally owned by H. H. Forsythe. Howard Van Doren Shaw was one of the region's most successful and popular architects. The Platt Luggage Building is a wonderful example of the masonry craftsmanship prevalent at the turn of the 20th century. The building was designed in the classical Beaux Arts style with many elements of the building following the . . . — Map (db m69593) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — The Standard Time System in the United StatesAdopted on this Site – October 11, 1883
Chicago’s famous Grand Pacific Hotel, then on the site of the present Continental Bank building, was the location of the General Time Convention of 1883 which, on October 11 of that year, adopted the current Standard Time System in the United States. The Convention was called by the nation’s railroads. Delegates were asked to develop a better and more uniform time system to govern railroad operations. Previously, time had been determined by the position of the sun, with high noon as the . . . — Map (db m47759) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — Tribune TowerChicago Landmark
Tribune Tower John Mead Howells and Raymond Hood, architects 1925 This design was the result of an international competition for ‘the most beautiful office building in the world,” held in 1922 by the Chicago Tribune. The competition proved extremely influential for the development of skyscraper architecture in the 1920s. The crowning tower, with its flying buttresses, is derived from the design of the French cathedral of Rouen and gives the building a striking silhouette. — Map (db m47666) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — Victory, World War I Black Soldiers’ Memorial
Victory St. Mihiel, Argonne Forest, Mont de Signes, Oise-Aisne Offensive. In memory of the heroes of the old 8th Infantry, Illinois National Guard, redesignated during the World War as the 370th Infantry of the United States Army who died in France. [Honor Roll of the Dead. Names of 137 members of the Eighth Infantry, Illinois National Guard, who lost their lives during World War I] — Map (db m4683) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — Wacker Drive
South Water Street 183[?] South Water Street 1924 Wacker Drive Begun 1924 Completed 1926 Built by the City of Chicago Wm. E. Dever Mayor Francis X. Busch Corporation Counsel Board of Local Improvement John J. Sloan President Frank X. Rydzewski, V. Pres. • Edw. J. Denemark • Edward J. Glackin, Sec’y • T. Arthur Evans, Chief Engineer • Mitchell C. Robin • Wm. G. Legner • C.D. Hill, Engr. • Arthur Engh, Ass’t Chief Engineer Chicago Plan Commission . . . — Map (db m47696) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Chicago — Wheeler–Kohn HouseOtis L. Wheelock, architect — 1870
A rare survivor of the stately mansions built on the Near South Side prior to the Great Chicago Fire of 1871, this also ranks as one of the city's best examples of Second Empire architecture. Built by banker Calvin Wheeler, it was remodeled in the mid–1880s by clothier Joseph Kohn, who added the window bay and elaborate front-porch in order to compete with the newer mansions on nearby Prairie Avenue. — Map (db m69591) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Elk Grove Village — Reverend J. Ward Morrison Boulevard
In Recognition of The Reverend J. Ward Morrison Pastor Emeritus Queen of the Rosary Parish Elk Grove Village, Illinois This Boulevard is named in honor of the Reverend J. Ward Morrison. He devoted much of his time, energies and talents not only to his church but to the benefit of many of the people of Elk Grove Village. He especially demonstrated an affection for children and a concern for those in need. Father Morrison, a priest for over 50 years, was the first Pastor of Queen . . . — Map (db m10672) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Evanston — Archange Ouilmette
Lake Shore Chapter Daughters of the American Colonists marks the S.E. corner of the two sections of land given by the Federal government to Archange Ouilmette, Pottowatomie Indian, in gratitude for her fathers aid in helping with a treaty between the United States and the Pottowatomie, Chippewa, and Ottawa Tribes. This treaty was made at Prairie Du Chien in 1829. “This tract to have and to hold for Archange and children, never to be leased or conveyed unless by permission of the President of the United States.” — Map (db m55578) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Evanston — Grosse Point Light Station
has been designated a National Historic Landmark This site possesses national significance in commemorating the history of the United States of America 1999 National Park Service United States Department of the Interior — Map (db m55579) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Franklin Park — Burial Site of Josette Beaubien
Josette Beaubien, a survivor of the Fort Dearborn Massacre, was buried here in 1845. She was married to Jean Baptiste Beaubien, one of Chicago's first settlers. Her brother was Claude LaFramboise, a chief of the Potawatomi Indians. Chief Alexander Robinson and Claude LaFramboise, local Native-Americans, were rewarded with large tracts of land after the War of 1812. These properties composed much of present-day Franklin Park and Schiller Park. Eventually this site was sold to the Schultz family. . . . — Map (db m55452) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Glenview — Kennicott House
Kennicott House was built in 1856 by John A. Kennicott, a prominent Illinois physician, horticulturist, and educational and agricultural leader. Kennicott moved to the Grove from New Orleans with his family in 1836 shortly after the birth of his son, Robert, in 1835. He devoted much of his time to the study and promotion of horticulture and agriculture, developing the Grove into the first major nursery in northern Illinois. Robert Kennicott developed an interest in nature at an early age, . . . — Map (db m55575) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Glenview — The Grove
has been designated a National Historic Landmark This site possesses national significance in commemorating the history of the United States of America 1976 National Park Service United States Department of the Interior — Map (db m55576) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Schaumburg — Wise RoadDesignated a Historic Roadway
Wise Road is named for the Wiese Family, who once farmed nearly 80 acres of land at the corner of Wise Road and Spring Cove Drive. The road was named "Wiese Road" for many years. It is unknown whether the "e" was dropped accidentally by the Cook County Highway Department, or in the interest of simplification when the street was paved in the mid-1940s. Henry Wiese (November 24, 1845-May 7, 1915) and his wife, Caroline (December 17, 1848-January 15, 1918), raised corn, oats, alfalfa and . . . — Map (db m68495) HM
Illinois (Cook County), Winnetka — The Green Bay Trail
One branch of the Green Bay Trail traversed this region. Originally an Indian trail, after 1816 the route connected Fort Dearborn at Chicago with Fort Howard at Green Bay. Couriers faced hunger, cold and Indians to carry dispatches on a round trip which took a month. — Map (db m66618) HM
Illinois (Crawford County), Palestine — Auntie Gogin's Store
On this block Mary Ann (Elwell) Gogin operated a General Merchandise Store in the late nineteenth century. One of the first women in Illinois to own and manage her own store. Mrs. Gogin was affectionately known as "Auntie" to the residents of Palestine. — Map (db m23315) HM
Illinois (Crawford County), Palestine — Cullom Homestead
Here stood the home of Edward N. Cullom who with Joseph Kitchell platted the Village of Palestine in 1818. They donated to the county the land including the Public Square for the County Seat. Early court sessions were held in the Cullom home. — Map (db m23311) HM
Illinois (Crawford County), Palestine — Dubois Tavern
Here stood the Dubois Tavern. Jesse K. Dubois, a close friend of Abraham Lincoln, was an official in the United States Land Office in Palestine from 1849-1853 and later became the Auditor of Public Accounts for Illinois. His son, Fred T. Dubois, became a Senator from Idaho. — Map (db m23309) HM
Illinois (Crawford County), Palestine — Fort Foot
About 1813 the William Eaton family and other restless pioneers considered Fort LaMotte too crowded and therefore constructed a new stockade on a site several hundred yards North of here. A family trait of the Eatons, large feet, led to the name "Fort Foot". — Map (db m23319) HM
Illinois (Crawford County), Palestine — Fort LaMotte
About 1812 the settlers in this area built Fort LaMotte for protection from hostile indians. The pioneers farmed the adjoining land but stayed within easy reach of the protective walls. After the War of 1812 the Indian threat diminished and the inhabitants of the Fort became the nucleus of Palestine. — Map (db m23308) HM
Illinois (Crawford County), Palestine — Gov. Augustus C. French
On this site stood the home of Augustus C. French (1808-1864) when he was elected the ninth Governor of Illinois. The early settlers in Illinois came mostly from Southern States so that French, a native of New Hampshire, was the first "Yankee" to be elected Governor. — Map (db m23318) HM
Illinois (Crawford County), Palestine — Houston - Dickson Store
Two early residents of Palestine, John Houston and Francis Dickson, purchased this lot as the site for a combination dwelling and store about 1818. By 1820 their stock of merchandise provided nearby settlers with goods which they previously had to bring from Indiana. — Map (db m23313) HM
Illinois (Crawford County), Palestine — Kitchell Grist Mill
In this area Joseph Kitchell who settled here in 1817 erected a Grist Mill and Distillery which eliminated the trip to Shakertown, Indiana where the farmers had previously taken their grain. Horses were used for power, grain was taken in pay, converted to whiskey and sold to the settlers. — Map (db m23307) HM
Illinois (Crawford County), Palestine — Palestine, Illinois
This area reminded Frenchman John LaMotte of the land of milk and honey, Palestine. While a member of the LaSalle exploring party, he became separated from the group, traveled down the Wabash River, and first gazed upon the region in 1678. Other French settlers came during the 18th Century. Then, by 1812, the Westward moving Americans began constructing Fort LaMotte. As the palisade filled with settlers, those desiring more room moved a few miles to the Northwest and established Fort Foot. . . . — Map (db m23328) HM
Illinois (Crawford County), Palestine — Rousch Brothers - - Aviation Pioneers
Usher - October13, 1891 - - April 4, 1941. Built his first airplane in 1909. From 1913-1927 he learned to fly, barnstormed, and did stunt flying. Pilot and instructor for Interstate Airline and American Airways 1928-1930 and American Airlines 1930-1939. In 1931 he helped organize air line pilots’ association and was secretary from 1934-1939. He was Captain on American Airlines 1930-1931. From 1939-1941 he was a pilot with TACA in Central America. Charles - March 4, 1896 - January 21, . . . — Map (db m23331) HM
Illinois (Crawford County), Palestine — The Fife Opera House
The Fife Opera House, located on the second floor of the Fife Hardware Store, was built by David Fife. It operated from 1901-1912. It seated 700 people on red leather seats, had electric fans and was heated with a coal furnace. There were five sets of scenery, some of which are still visible today. Such entertainments as local talent shows, stock theatrical companies, band concerts, a lyceum series, special speakers, and commencements drew crowds from Hutsonville, Robinson, Flat Rock and . . . — Map (db m23314) HM
Illinois (Crawford County), Palestine — United States Land Office
A United States Land Office was located at this site in 1820 and operated until 1855. Settlers from as far as Chicago came here to file on homesteads. Young Abraham Lincoln passing through Palestine in 1830 with his family in emigrant wagons noticed a crowd before this land office. — Map (db m23316) HM
Illinois (DeKalb County), Rockford — Shabbona
In the early 1800's Shabbona was a principal chief of the Ottowa, Potawatomi, and Chippewa group of tribes which banded together to form "The Three Fires." Shabbona camped briefly in a large grove one-half mile south of here. He fought with the British in the War of 1812 and later helped the settlers of Northern Illinois by warning of Indian uprisings during the Winnebago outbreak. In the Black Hawk War, Shabbona alerted pioneers to impending Indian raids and offered to lead an attack against the Sauk and Fox tribes. — Map (db m31672) HM
Illinois (Dewitt County), Clinton — “You can fool all the people part of the time . . .”Lincoln Speech, July 27, 1858
“You can fool all the people part of the time and part of the people all the time, but you can not fool all the people all the time.” Spoken in an address in Clinton July 27, 1858 by           Abraham Lincoln “I must stand with anybody that stands right. Stand with him while he is right, and part with him when he goes wrong.”           Abraham Lincoln (Back of Base) That it may not be forgotten that here for nineteen years as a lawyer . . . — Map (db m11030) HM
Illinois (Dewitt County), Clinton — Abraham Lincoln - Eighth Judicial DistrictClinton, Illinois — County-Seat Marker
Abraham Lincoln traveled this way as he rode the Circuit of the Eighth Judicial District ···1847 - 1857 — Map (db m10959) HM
Illinois (Dewitt County), Clinton — DeWitt County War MemorialDeWitt, Illinois
In Memoriam Dedicated to the men and women of DeWitt County who served in the Cause of Freedom. — Map (db m10961) HM
Illinois (Dewitt County), Clinton — Friends To The End — Looking for Lincoln
Top Section During the twenty years Abraham Lincoln attended the DeWitt County Court on the Eighth Judicial Circuit, he and Clifton H. Moore, Clinton’s first resident attorney, developed a deep friendship as well as a mutual law practice. The two men shared many similarities, each achieving his law degree through diligent independent study rather than university education. Both had abilities for surveying land. Lincoln used his skills in New Salem days; Moore used his . . . — Map (db m24298) HM
Illinois (Dewitt County), Clinton — Humorous Moments — Looking for Lincoln
Barnett Tavern, owned and operated by Alvin and Rebecca Barnett, stood at 200 South Center Street. The two-story home was a stopping-place for weary travelers, circuit lawyers, and judges journeying across the Illinois prairie. When in Clinton, Lincoln and his associates were often guests. Lincoln once jokingly commented on Mrs. Barnett’s custard. Having overheard, she never served him custard again. One day, a farm boy sat on the ‘rascal bench’ outside the Barnett Tavern. On . . . — Map (db m24236) HM
Illinois (Dewitt County), Clinton — Lincoln and The Law — Looking for Lincoln
During his twenty years on the Eighth Judicial Circuit, Abraham Lincoln tried numerous cases in the DeWitt County courthouses, including a slander case involving William Dungey. Dungey, “a dark skinned man of Portuguese descent,” married Joseph Spencer’s sister. The brothers-in-law had a dispute that became so bitter that by 1855, Spencer was making a serious accusation: “Black Bill" Dungey, as Spencer was calling him, was a “negro.” In . . . — Map (db m24237) HM
Illinois (Dewitt County), Clinton — Lincoln at Work and PlayYou Can't Fool the People — Looking for Lincoln
Top Section DeWitt County was part of the Eighth Judicial Circuit from its beginning, and so was Abraham Lincoln, who attended the first session of DeWitt Circuit Court in Clinton on October 24, 1839. Court sessions were held each spring and fall. For the locals, court week was like a carnival, and people came from miles around to pack the court and participate in the accompanying social activities. For twenty years, Lincoln was a part of the Clinton community, practicing law . . . — Map (db m24321) HM
Illinois (Dewitt County), Clinton — Lincoln's Friends and Foes — Looking for Lincoln
Top Section This satirical February 1863 editorial illustration, titled “The Copperhead Party, “ depicts three Copperheads advancing on Columbia. Copperheads were Southern sympathizers who saw themselves as “Peace Democrats,” opposed to Lincoln and the forced preservation of the Union. Many Copperheads resided in DeWitt County, which is not surprising, considering so many DeWitt County settlers had deep Southern roots. Middle Section Not . . . — Map (db m24235) HM
Illinois (Dewitt County), Clinton — Lincoln's Hat — Looking for Lincoln
A proper Presbyterian Church was under construction in the summer of 1859. A floor was laid, walls, roof, and belfry nearly completed, when “a halt due to lack of funds” occurred. In October 1859, money was urgently needed to complete construction. The view from the building site to the DeWitt County Courthouse on the public square was unobstructed. Recognizing opportunity, the church ladies held a festival during court week to take maximum advantage of the generosity of . . . — Map (db m24247) HM
Illinois (Dewitt County), Clinton — On The Campaign Trail — Looking for Lincoln
Top Section Clifton H. Moore, DeWitt County’s first resident attorney, built this stately brick home in 1857-58 on an eighty-acre tract of land purchased from Judge David Davis. The original house suffered damage from a windstorm and now lacks the west wing as pictured. In 1880, Moore purchased and moved into another large Clinton home known as “The Homestead.” Middle Section Lincoln and Douglas had numerous speaking engagements other than their scheduled . . . — Map (db m24301) HM
Illinois (Dewitt County), Clinton — War on the Horizon — Looking for Lincoln
Left Section When Lincoln called for troops to defend the Union, the men and boys of DeWitt County heeded his urgent request. Some who volunteered were from families who had know and befriended Lincoln during his days as a prairie lawyer and politician, for Lincoln practiced both occupations here. Others, like German-born twenty-eight-year-old shoemaker Martin Mohrle, were foreign-born DeWitt County residents who answered the call just the same. Some lost their lives on the . . . — Map (db m24253) HM
Illinois (Dewitt County), Clinton — Warner's Memories / Lawyers and Book Lovers — Looking for Lincoln
Warner's Memories Top Section Lincoln traveled the Eighth Judicial Circuit six months a year, becoming close friends with his fellow lawyers, with whom he shared, not only courtroom, but also meals, an easy camaraderie, and often a room. “In my opinion, Lincoln was happy - - as happy as he could be, when on this Circuit - - and happy no other place. This was his place of enjoyment, “sad David Davis, the judge who presided over the circuit. Davis; also Lincoln’s . . . — Map (db m24325) HM
Illinois (Dewitt County), DeWitt — The Law and Lodging / Whiskey Mayhem — Looking for Lincoln
The Law and Lodging Top Section During his years traveling the Eighth Judicial Circuit, Abraham Lincoln was the overnight guest of many DeWitt County residents. As a frontier lawyer, he spent several months per year away from home while making his legal rounds. For travelers spending the night in various DeWitt County private homes, taverns, and hotels, the accommodations varied considerably. The structures ranged from the palatial Argo House to the rustic log . . . — Map (db m24371) HM
Illinois (Dewitt County), Kenney — Abraham Lincoln - Eighth Judicial DistrictLogan / DeWitt Counties — County Line Marker
Abraham Lincoln traveled this way as he rode the Circuit of the Eighth Judicial District 1847 - 1859 — Map (db m12193) HM
250 markers matched your search criteria.
Click to map all markers shown on this page.
Click First to browse through the results shown on this page.   First >> 


•••
More Search Options
 
Markers
Near You

 
Categories

 
States & Provinces

 
Counties
Click to List


 
Countries

Page composed
in 220 ms.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
To search within this page, hold down the Ctrl key and press F.
On an Apple computer,
hold down the Apple key and press F.