HMdb.org THE HISTORICAL
MARKER DATABASE
            “Bite-Size Bits of Local, National, and Global History”
  Home  — My Markers  — Add A Marker  — Marker Series  — Links & Books  — Forum  — About Us
Click First to browse through the results shown on this page.   First >> 
Show DirectionsOmit Marker TextClick to map all markers shown on this page.
Indiana Markers
1422 markers matched your search criteria. The first 250 markers are listed. Next 1172
Indiana (Adams County), Berne — Adams County Veterans Memorial
In loving memory and appreciation for the men and women of Adams County who served our nation. This monument is dedicated to those veterans who made the supreme sacrifice and gave their todays for our tomorrows World War I Apr. 6, 1917 - Nov. 11, 1918 Bixler, David • Bradtmueller, Erhardt • Christen, Jesse F. • Clark, Clarence • Coffelt, Roy • Eley, Clelmer Clayton • Fox, Chester • Heller, Reuben Hugh • Henschen, Frank Oliver • Hirschy, Christian • Huser, Samuel . . . — Map (db m37026) HM
Indiana (Adams County), Decatur — Adams County Peace Monument - Honor Rolls
Left Side Left - Small Plaque Thomas Archibold Pennsylvania Pvt - Capt Bell’s Co Revolutionary War 1755 - ✝ - 1837 Small Plaque James Ball Sgt - Col Bakers MD Regt Revolutionary War 1751 - ✝ - 1834 Right - Small Plaque George Emery Capt - Col Smallwoods Regt Revolutionary War Oct 2, 1752 - ✝ - July 3, 1841 Small Plaque William Shepherd Adam’s Co War of 1812 Aug 18, 1788 - . . . — Map (db m54763) WM
Indiana (Adams County), Decatur — Adams County Veterans Memorial
Honoring the men and women of Adams County who served in the Armed Forces of The United States World War I ——— World War II Korean ————— Vietnam and all other conflicts — Map (db m54629) WM
Indiana (Adams County), Decatur — Gene Stratton-Porter
In Memory of Gene Stratton - Porter Author of The Girl of The Limberlost, The Song of the Cardinal, Freckles and other nature stories. Who came to Decatur as a bride and in this County, at Geneva, on the banks of the Limberlost, her first ten books were written. She taught the Love of Nature Dedicated by the school children of Adams County 1926 Map (db m54643) HM
Indiana (Adams County), Decatur — 01.1977.1 — The Wayne Trace
General Anthony Wayne and the Legion of the United States passed this way on October 30, 1794, in route from Fort Wayne to Fort Greenville, ending the western campaign against the Indian Confederacy. The Legion spent the previous night camped 2.6 miles N.N.W. of here. — Map (db m29620) HM
Indiana (Adams County), Geneva — 01.2006.1 — Geneva Downtown Historic District
(Front Side) Adams County formed 1835. Geneva incorporation 1874 included early towns Alexander and Buffalo. During 1890s oil boom, population and businesses grew. Fire destroyed much of town 1895; Geneva Board of Trustees banned wooden buildings, mandated stone, iron, or brick buildings along part of Line Street. (Back Side) By end of 1895, twenty-four new brick business buildings completed here. District (144-455 East Line Street) retains look of late 1800s . . . — Map (db m63824) HM
Indiana (Allen County), Churubusco — 02.1966.1 — Site of Hardin’s Defeat
Colonel John Hardin, of the Kentucky Militia, with 180 men and Captain John Armstrong, U.S. Army, with 30 men, were routed here on October 19, 1790, by Indians under Miami Chief Little Turtle during General Harmar's Campaign. — Map (db m47459) HM
Indiana (Allen County), Fort Wayne — "Johnny Appleseed" — [ John Chapman ]
Born in Massachusetts, 1776 Died near Fort Wayne, 1843. Buried in the David Archer Cemetery Pioneer apple grower of Indiana and Ohio. The Indiana Horticultural Society and all those who are endeavoring to carry on the work he nobly commenced join in dedicating this monument to the memory of his deeds. — Map (db m59649) HM
Indiana (Allen County), Fort Wayne — Allen County and Fort Wayne W.W. I Memorial — Spirit of the American Doughboy -and- Spirit of American Navy
( Front ) Argonne —— ∮—— Cantigny Allen County and Fort Wayne their Tribute to the Glory of their Sons Loyalty — Courage Sacrifice — Victory 1917 —— 1918 ( Obverse ) Belleau Wood —— ∮—— Soissons Allen County and Fort Wayne their Tribute to the Glory of their Sons Peace — Freedom Democracy — Justice 1917 —— . . . — Map (db m54627) HM
Indiana (Allen County), Fort Wayne — Allen County Revolutionary War Memorial
Dedicated to the Memory Of the Following Revolutionary Soldiers Buried in Allen County Michael Cronts James Ball Charles Weeks, Sr. William Berry Samuel Bird, Sgt. James Saunders Gurdin Burnham, Sgt. David Blair David Bryant — Map (db m73263) WM
Indiana (Allen County), Fort Wayne — 02.1963.1 — Camp Allen 1861-64 — Civil War Mustering-In Camp
Colonel Hugh B. Reed served as first Commandant. Here the 30th, 44th, 74th, 88th, and 100th Indiana Regiments and the 11th Indiana Battery were organized. — Map (db m65185) HM
Indiana (Allen County), Fort Wayne — Cathedral of Immaculate Conception
Oldest church structure in continuous use in Fort Wayne area and seat of Catholicism in Northern Indiana.

Christianity carried to this part of the New World in 1600's by Catholic missionaries. Land formerly part of burial ground for Miami Indians.

Major portion of Cathedral square purchased by Fr. Stephan Baden, 1831. Remaining land acquired by Fr. Julian Benoit, chief architect and first rector of the Cathedral.

Cornerstone laid June 19, 1859. Dedicated December 8, 1860 on . . . — Map (db m45024) HM

Indiana (Allen County), Fort Wayne — Chief Little Turtle — 1752 - 1812
. . . — Map (db m21066) HM
Indiana (Allen County), Fort Wayne — Duck Creek: Early Industry and Business Development
Fort Wayne business had a start on Duck Street, named for the 19th century Duck Creek that drained the area from the higher ground near Superior Street into the St. Mary’s River. Along Duck Creek in the 1840s and 50s stood the City Mills, one of the largest mills in early Fort Wayne. Like other streams in the area, Duck Creek afforded an ideal opportunity for the beginnings of industry in the frontier community. The first industrial businesses in the city - blacksmithing, brick and tile making, . . . — Map (db m16997) HM
Indiana (Allen County), Fort Wayne — Earliest Railroad
The Wabash & Erie Canal was instrumental in the construction of the first railways in Fort Wayne, which quickly became a railroading center in the Midwest. In 1852, along the canal at the present-day railroad elevation that borders the south edge of Headwaters Park at Lafayette Street, the first locomotive was unloaded from a canal boat. The locomotive was placed on tracks that were laid on Lafayette Street and led to the south side of town where the main line of the new Ohio and Indiana . . . — Map (db m16996) HM
Indiana (Allen County), Fort Wayne — Early Effort To Build A Park
Around the turn of the century, the nationwide “City Beautiful” movement found local expression through the efforts of Charles Mulford Robinson and nationallly known landscape architect George Kessler. Seeking to reclaim the natural beauty of our rivers, Mr. Kessler incorporated them into a sweeping plan of riverside drives and parks that would bring the Indiana landscape into the heart of the city. Proposed in a report presented to the City's Park Board just days before the . . . — Map (db m17034) HM
Indiana (Allen County), Fort Wayne — Emerine Jane Holman Hamilton — 1810 - 1889 — Pioneer in Religion, Education, Philanthropy, Reform
She encouraged local efforts to form First Presbyterian Church, establish a public library, support the national Women's Suffrage Movement, and donated land for Fort Wayne's first African-American church. The Hamilton Estate on Clinton Street abounded in flowers, shrubs, and trees and included the homes in which granddaughters Edith, Alice, and Agnes lived. This gardenscape is a tribute to Emerine's personal elegance and achievements. As it surrounds the plaza, it symbolizes Emerine's . . . — Map (db m16967) HM
Indiana (Allen County), Fort Wayne — First Americans
The confluence area of the Three Rivers was known to the native people since as early as the end of the last Ice Age, more than 10,000 years ago. As the glaciers melted and receded, they paused here creating a high point in the topography of the land. Early native people followed the edge of the glacier taking advantage of the food sources it provided, such as vegetation and wild game. The St. Mary's and St. Joseph Rivers join a few hundred yards east of this point and form the Maumee River . . . — Map (db m17064) HM
Indiana (Allen County), Fort Wayne — Flood Retention Walls
The concrete retention walls at the north end of the plaza will help downtown Fort Wayne withstand future flooding when the rivers rise. They were constructed where sandbaggers and volunteers worked during the flood of 1982 to build a dike to protect the National Guard Armory and other buildings on this site. The flood protection walls, spanning both sides of the Headwaters Park Plaza, are dedicated to the people who helped Fort Wayne become known as the city that saved itself. — Map (db m17061) HM
Indiana (Allen County), Fort Wayne — 02.2000.1 — Fort Miamis
[Marker Front]: French built a palisaded fort on this strategic site in 1722; named Fort Saint Philippe des Miamis. One of three French forts built in what is now Indiana to protect French fur trade from encroaching English. First of five forts built over time within a square mile of the center of present-day Fort Wayne. [Marker Reverse]: Nearby confluence of St. Mary's and St. Joseph's Rivers forms Maumee River, a strategic central part of the waterways system . . . — Map (db m21029) HM
Indiana (Allen County), Fort Wayne — Fort Wayne ~ Fort Dearborn Trail
An ancient Indian trail, through Pottawattomie country, variably called the Dragoon, White Pigeon, Great Northwestern and Fort Dearborn Road. After 1795 used for mail delivery between Fort Wayne and Fort Dearborn. Captain Wells, Wayne spy, was slain along this route. — Map (db m20782) HM
Indiana (Allen County), Fort Wayne — Headwaters Park
Architect Eric R. Kuhne was commissioned to design a flood control plan that would provide for a park and premier festival center. It could also serve as a model for flood control in other sections of the country. The Headwaters Park Commission was formed to implement and fund the plan that is now Headwaters Park. Construction to develop approximately thirty acres in the “Thumb” began in 1994 and was completed in 1999. There are approximately twenty acres of parkland that lie in the . . . — Map (db m17037) HM
Indiana (Allen County), Fort Wayne — 02.1992.1 — Home of Philo T. Farnsworth
Home 1948-1967 of Farnsworth, inventor of television. Farnsworth (1906-1971) was instrumental in perfecting the image formation mechanism which enabled the first effective image transmission in 1927. Farnsworth Radio and Television Corporation in Fort Wayne 1938-1949. — Map (db m65186) HM
Indiana (Allen County), Fort Wayne — Jail Flats
Because of the often soggy conditions that discouraged use as either residential or commercial property, the area of Headwaters Park became known as the Jail Flats. The first jail in Allen County was a two-story hewn-log structure that was enclosed by a board fence, located on the southwest corner of the courthouse square in downtown Fort Wayne. When it burned in 1849, it was promptly replaced. However, after several prisoners escaped, it was determined that a better jail was needed. In 1852, a . . . — Map (db m16998) HM
Indiana (Allen County), Fort Wayne — Johnny Appleseed — 1774-1845
Johnny Appleseed legendary planter of orchards across Ohio, Indiana, and Illinois, was a real person named John Chapman. He was a friend to all God's creatures and a missionary for the Swedenborgian religion, a Christian denomination. He was also a smart businessman. Moving ahead of the waves of westward bound settles, he purchased property, carefully sowed apple seeds, and had seedlings available when the settlers arrived. His seedlings were valuable because apples were highly nutritious . . . — Map (db m21560) HM
Indiana (Allen County), Fort Wayne — Journal Gazette Building
This property has been placed on the National Register of Historic Places by the United States Department of the Interior — Map (db m54648) HM
Indiana (Allen County), Fort Wayne — Kekionga
This area of the Three Rivers was a site of settlement of Native Americans for as much as 10,000 years. The collection of villages known as Kekionga, located in the present-day Lakeside neighborhood, was a center of the Miami nation in historic times. At the time of the Miami confederacy in the 1790s, Kekionga also was the gathering place for the Huron, the Ottawa, and the Shawnee. Tradition holds that Kekionga means "the blackberry patch." To the Miami people this also had the meaning of . . . — Map (db m21501) HM
Indiana (Allen County), Fort Wayne — League Park
The first professional organized league baseball game was played here on May 4, 1871 ending in a victory for the Fort Wayne Kekiongas over the Cleveland Forest Citys by a score of 2-0. A wooden structure was built in 1883 and rebuilt numerous times over the next several decades. In 1908, Claude Varnell, whose Fort Wayne “Billikins” was a minor league team associated with the St. Louis Cardinals, rebuilt the park. This included the then unique idea of a grass infield. The field, . . . — Map (db m59686) HM
Indiana (Allen County), Fort Wayne — Lindenwood Cemetery
Founded 1859 - Dedicated May 30, 1860, was enrolled on the National Register of Historic Places February 17, 1978 by the U.S. Department of Interior. Here in Lindenwood thousands of memorials relate to local, state and national history. — Map (db m44598) HM
Indiana (Allen County), Fort Wayne — Little Turtle
Miami Chief Mishikinakwa or Me-she-kin-no-quah, known to the Euro-Americans as Little Turtle, born circa 1747, played a significant role in the settlement of the area surrounding the confluence of the Three Rivers. He was the most successful Native American resistance leader during the frontier wars of the late 1700s. He was also one of President George Washington's greatest concerns in the development of the young United States. It was important to the new nation to hold control of this area, . . . — Map (db m16976) HM
Indiana (Allen County), Fort Wayne — Maumee - Wabash Portage — "Glorious Gate"
Only land barrier on shortest trade route between Quebec and New Orleans. Eastern landing of eight- mile carry from St. Mary's to Little River. Used by Indians, French, British and American traders. — Map (db m21061) HM
Indiana (Allen County), Fort Wayne — Meshekinnoquah — (Chief Little Turtle)
Chief Little Turtle was one of the most feared and respected leaders during the frontier wars of the 1780s and 1790s when Fort Wayne was born. Known to his people as Meshekinnoquah, Little Turtle is thought to have been born in 1752 in a village along the Eel River a few miles northeast of Columbia City. Little Turtle rose to prominence as a warrior in 1780. As war chief of the Miami nation, he led them in defeat of the united States irregulars of Colonel LaBalme who attacked the Miami . . . — Map (db m21503) HM
Indiana (Allen County), Fort Wayne — Miami Legend of the Sandhill Crane
Long before settlers appeared on the scene, the American Indian people here used the sandhill crane as a symbol for their tribe. Early British and American officials referred to the people we know as Miami as “Twightwees” in various spellings such as the English “Twaatwaa”, “Tweeghtwees” or “Twicktwigs.” A legend about how the name became associated with Miamis extends deep into the early history of its people. It is said that the early Miamis . . . — Map (db m17068) HM
Indiana (Allen County), Fort Wayne — Mother George — Civil War Nurse — 1808-1865
The first Fort Wayne home of Mrs. Eliza E. George was near this spot. At the age of 54 she helped make Civil War nursing history. Mother George, as she was known to thousands of Union soldiers, served with front line troops in Mississippi, Tennessee, Georgia and North Carolina. Time after time, she braved Confederate gunfire to comfort the sick and wounded. Mother George died at her post in Wilmington, N.C. on May 9, 1865, a victim of typhoid fever contracted from returning prisoners. This . . . — Map (db m44085) HM
Indiana (Allen County), Fort Wayne — Old Fort Wayne Well
The "Old Well," an important factor in the existence of the fort and its people, saved the fort from Indian fire brands in 1812. Fort Wayne was first built, near by, in 1794. It was rebuilt, on this site, in 1804, and 1815. - - - - - - - - - - - - - Research by Allen County - Fort Wayne Historical Society Architect: Courtney Robinson — Map (db m21210) HM
Indiana (Allen County), Fort Wayne — Pirogue Landing
Terminal point where French-Canadian boats, hollowed from 30-60 foot poplar logs, brought families and cargo up the Maumee River from Toledo and Detroit, and returned furs to Lake Erie in exchange for traders' supplies, from the late 1700's until the canal era of the 1840's — Map (db m16957) HM
Indiana (Allen County), Fort Wayne — Purple Heart Tribute Memorial
This Purple Heart tribute is provided in remembrance of all combat wounded veterans who have made the supreme sacrifice for their country. May their noble virtues live forever in our memory. Proverbs Erected by members and friends of The Military Order of the Purple Heart 2001 — Map (db m73447) WM
Indiana (Allen County), Fort Wayne — Richardville — 1761 - 1841
Richardville 1761 - 1841 Made Chief of the Miamis for his Daring rescue of a White prisoner from Burning at the Stake — Map (db m52919) HM
Indiana (Allen County), Fort Wayne — Site of Last French Fort
Erected, 1750, by Captain Raimond Surrendered to the British under Lieutenant Butler in 1760. Ensign Richard Holmes and British garrison massacred by Miami Indians in 1763. The most severe engagement of battle between Gen. Josiah Harmar and Miamis under Little Turtle fought here, Oct. 22, 1790. — Map (db m21036) HM
Indiana (Allen County), Fort Wayne — The Battle of Harmar's Ford
To the Memory of Major John Wyllys And His Brave Soldiers Who Were Killed Near this Spot In The Battle of Harmar's Ford Oct. 22, 1790 With the Indians Under Chief Little Turtle — Map (db m21358) HM
Indiana (Allen County), Fort Wayne — The Battle of Kekionga
The Battle of Kekionga in October 1790 was the fist battle fought by the United States Army after the War for Independence. The campaign had been ordered by President Washington against the Miami settlement of Kekionga, the center of Indian resistance to U.S. migration across the Ohio River. On October 17, the U.S. commander, General Josiah Harmar, reached Kekionga with 1,453 regular and militia soldiers and found that the Miami had burned and abandoned their town. General Harmar sent . . . — Map (db m21497) HM
Indiana (Allen County), Fort Wayne — The First French Fort / The First Playground in Fort Wayne
[Left side of marker]:The First French Fort The French lived among the Miami at the Three Rivers as early as 1697 when Jean Baptiste Bissot, Sieur de Vincennes (d. 1719), and Francois Marie Bissot de Vincennes, the son of Jean Baptiste (d. 1736), served as royal agents to the Miamis. The first fort was built in 1722 on this site by Capt. Dubuisson upon the orders of the French governor in Quebec. The fortification was called Fort St. Philippe or Fort Miamis, was garrisoned by . . . — Map (db m26867) HM
Indiana (Allen County), Fort Wayne — The First Police Station
1863 marked the beginning of the first organized Police Force in the city. The council named a captain and three patrolmen to serve from twilight to daybreak. On this site was located the first city Police Station. It contained three iron cages on the first floor devoted to male offenders with the upper floor being reserved for female law violators. — Map (db m44086) HM
Indiana (Allen County), Fort Wayne — The Floods
Most often the rivers here brought prosperity. They are the reason humanbeings settled here; established a land portage to connect with the Wabash River system; and attracted the canal followed by rails, highways, industry, and homes. They brought good, industrious people such as Johnny “Appleseed” Chapman, who was seen in 1830 arriving near this point on the Maumee River with his small boat laden with apple seeds. One significant flood recorded in the Three Rivers area occurred in . . . — Map (db m17030) HM
Indiana (Allen County), Fort Wayne — The Fur Traders and the Military at Fort Wayne
The French built Fort St. Philippe (Fort Miamis) west of this area by 1722, to command the land portage here between the Maumee and Wabash Rivers. It was important to the French to protect the area in their political competition with the British as a strategic location for the potential profit from fur trading with the native people Europeans were ready to supply the goods Native Americans wanted, such as metal tools, utensils, weapons, manufactured cloth materials and decorative items. Because . . . — Map (db m17067) HM
Indiana (Allen County), Fort Wayne — The Last Two American Forts/The Siege of 1812
The Last Two American Forts In 1798, Col. Thomas Hunt began construction on this site of the second American fort at the Three Rivers. this fort, which was completed in 1800, replaced the first, hastily built one erected nearby to the south by Gen. Anthony Wayne in 1794. In 1815, after having withstood a siege three years earlier, this fort was replaced by Maj. John Whistler, who had assisted in the construction of the first two forts. This was the last fort in the Three Rivers . . . — Map (db m21219) HM
Indiana (Allen County), Fort Wayne — The Site of General Wayne's Fort
The Site Of General Anthony Wayne's Fort Dedicated October 22nd 1794 It Was The First United States Fort Near "Three Rivers" This Fort Commanded The Shortest Portage Between The St. Lawrence And Mississippi Systems A Portage Known To The Indians As "Glorious Gate" And A Strategic Cross-Roads In Early Trade and Exploration — Map (db m21020) HM
Indiana (Allen County), Fort Wayne — The Wabash & Erie Canal
Anchoring the southern edge of the Headwaters Park “Thumb” until circa 1874, the Wabash & Erie Canal’s importance to transportation to the western part of the United States and to the growth of Fort Wayne was substantial. Headwaters Park is on the “Summit” or highest elevation of the canal project and dependent upon the waters of the St. Joseph River to function. Ground breaking for the canal was held on February 22, 1832. The grand opening was celebrated here, . . . — Map (db m16985) HM
Indiana (Allen County), Fort Wayne — These are the Hamilton Women of Fort Wayne
Edith (seated), scholar of Greek and Roman mythology, wrote the classic text, The Greek Way. Alice (standing), Edith's sister, influential industrial physician, advanced the reform of unsafe working conditions in our nation's factories. Agnes (with young child), their cousin, accomplished painter and child advocate, worked in settlement houses and founded Fort Wayne's YWCA. The Hamilton women have made lasting contributions to the well being of citizens on both local and national levels. Fort Wayne is proud of them. — Map (db m16956) HM
Indiana (Allen County), Fort Wayne — 02.1992.2 — Wabash and Erie Canal Groundbreaking
On February 22, 1832, ground was broken two blocks north for the canal, which would link Lake Erie at Toledo with the Ohio River at Evansville. Jordan Vigus, Canal Commissioner, Charles W. Ewing, Samuel Hanna, Elias Murray participated in the ceremony. — Map (db m21045) HM
Indiana (Allen County), Fort Wayne — Wayne Trace
Wayne Trace Once the Indian trail to Cincinnati The route Of General Harmer's Army in 1790 Of General Wayne's When leaving the stockade Christened by Major Hamtramck "Fort Wayne" in 1794 Also of General Harrison's Army In 1812. — Map (db m52749) HM
Indiana (Allen County), Fort Wayne — William Wells
A tract of 320 acres of land extending west of the St. Joseph River (the modern Bloomingdale and Spy Run neighborhoods) was set aside by an act of Congress in 1808 for the Indian agent William Wells in recognition of his many services to the U.S. government. This act established Well’s right to occupy and develop the land with an option to buy at $1.25 per acre (rather than having to bid for the land, as was usually the case) when the area was opened for sales by the U.S. Land Office. Wells . . . — Map (db m26863) HM
Indiana (Allen County), New Haven — 02.2003.1 — Gronauer Lock No. 2
Wabash and Erie Canal lock was discovered here June 1991 during excavation for highway construction. It was built 1838–1840 by Henry Lotz and named for lock keeper Joseph Gronauer. The rare, well-preserved timber-frame design lock measured 115 by 40 feet; lock chamber was 90 by 15 feet; two-thirds of the total structure was excavated and removed. Numerous artifacts and 750 pieces of timber were recovered. After extensive preservation treatment, approximately 5 percent of total lock . . . — Map (db m2498) HM
Indiana (Bartholomew County), Columbus — 03.2007.2 — Atterbury Army Air Field
(Front Side) Construction begun summer 1942 under Captain Stratton O. Hammon, who used broad authority over laborers, suppliers, and railroad; base in use February 1943. More than 1,000 workers employed during construction. Base was over 2,000 acres, cost over four million dollars, and included more than one hundred buildings, intended to be temporary. (Back Side) WWII uses included training B-25, B-26, and glider pilots; by 1944, wounded from Europe received here for . . . — Map (db m63819) HM
Indiana (Bartholomew County), Columbus — 03.2000.1 — Bartholomew County Courthouse
Side 'One' County formed by Indiana General Assembly 1821. Thirty acres of land were purchased, and John Tipton donated thirty acres, for county seat. State commissioners named county seat Tiptona--after Tipton; local elected commissioners renamed it Columbus. Tipton served as state representative, Indian agent, and United States senator. Side 'Two' Second Empire Style courthouse, designed by Isaac Hodgson, completed 1874, is county's fourth courthouse. Constructed of red brick . . . — Map (db m48105) HM
Indiana (Bartholomew County), Columbus — Bartholomew County Revolutionary War Honor Roll
Revolutionary War Soldiers buried in Bartholomew County 1776 ——— 1976 (Row One) - - William Campbell • John Carney • Joseph Carter • Arthur Chenoweth, Jr. • Thomas Cook • Richard H. Crittenden • Benjamin Ensley • Stephen Goble • Thomas Green (Row Two) - - Joseph Hart • Nicholas Jones • Adam Lash • Thomas McQueen • Jonathan Moore • Henry Passage • Benjamin Redman • John O. Stonebarger • Solomon Tracy Joseph Hart Chapter DAR Donated by Lowell Engelking Map (db m48339) HM
Indiana (Bartholomew County), Columbus — Bartholomew County Veterans Memorial
(( Walk - Way Stones )) Bartholomew County Veterans Memorial Dedicated May 30, 1997 The Bartholomew County Memorial for Veterans is a tribute to those living and dead who answered the Nations Call in the conflicts of the twentieth century. (( Inscribed 1918 Letter )) July. 1918. Mother. dear. Do not worry over me. I’m alright and tell all my friends that I died happy. I just was shot and know that I will die so goodbye all. Let God . . . — Map (db m48474) WM
Indiana (Bartholomew County), Columbus — Bartholomew County Vietnam War Memorial
( Left Side ) - -( Seals )- - Branches of the United States Military ( Right Side ) They shall grow not old as we that are left grow old Age will not worry them nor time condemn But at the going down of the sun and in the morning We will remember them. . . . Veterans of the Vietnam War Map (db m48337) WM
Indiana (Bartholomew County), Columbus — Bartholomew County W.W. I - Veterans Memorial
In Honor of those who served their Country in the World War 1917 — (Seal) — 1918 (American War Mothers) Erected 1929 Bartholomew County War Mothers Map (db m48341) HM
Indiana (Bartholomew County), Columbus — 03.1988.1 — Lowell Mills
From 1830 to 1880 the community of Lowell Mills thrived here along Driftwood River. There were two grist mills, a cooperage, a shoemaker's shop, a distillery, a saw mill, a woolen mill, an inn and general store. When the mills closed, the town was abandoned. — Map (db m63794) HM
Indiana (Bartholomew County), Columbus — 03.2007.1 — Orinoco Furniture Company
(Front Side) Incorporated and its factory built here 1890. Reorganized 1891; William H. Lincoln then led the company to great success, stressing quality and artistic merit in fine, high-grade furniture. By 1895, production included parlor, library, and tea tables and ladies' desks; furniture was sold throughout U.S. Lincoln Chair Company established 1913. (Back Side) The companies were important in Columbus' economy; they were part of Indiana's extensive furniture . . . — Map (db m63818) HM
Indiana (Bartholomew County), Columbus — 03.1998.2 — Second Baptist Church
Congregation was formed in 1879; reorganization in 1882 by the Reverend John R. Miller and a core of determined members. The present building, formerly a theater, was acquired in 1913. This African-American church, like many others, has served its members as an educational and social foundation as well as a religious institution. — Map (db m63815) HM
Indiana (Bartholomew County), Columbus — Veterans of All Wars
In Memory of the Veterans of all wars who served in the defense of our Country ———— They gave their Today for our Tomorrow — Map (db m48379) HM
Indiana (Bartholomew County), Columbus — World War I Honor Roll & Veterans Memorial
((The ‘greatest care’ has been given to get each person’s name correct. If any mistakes are found, please contact me so correction can be made. - - Al Wolf.)) Honor Roll ——— Bartholomew County Citizens who served in the U.S. Army, Navy, Marines and Nurses’ Corps during the World War 1917 - 1918 ——– Erected by Board of County Commissioners 1939 - 1940 ——– ★ . . . — Map (db m48551) WM
Indiana (Bartholomew County), Elizabethtown — 03.1999.1 — Madison and Indianapolis Railroad
Mandated by Indiana's 1836 Internal Improvement Act, construction began in Madison 1836. Completed along this site 1843; Elizabethtown platted 1845 as a result of the railroad. Completed to Indianapolis in 1847. Linked Ohio River and interior of state. — Map (db m63798) HM
Indiana (Bartholomew County), Hartsville — 03.1995.1 — Hartsville College
Original site of coeducational United Brethren school founded 1850 as Hartsville Academy by public act of Indiana General Assembly. Campus moved four blocks south, circa 1865; destroyed by fire, January 1898. Many graduates became distinguished citizens in their communities throughout the state and nation. — Map (db m63805) HM
Indiana (Bartholomew County), Hartsville — Hartsville College
Founded 1847 A.D. by Citizens of Hartsville. It was taken over by the Church of the United Brethren in Christ in 1849 - Opened as a college in 1850 - Burned January 30, 1898 - It was one of the first co-educational colleges in America. Courses of Study Preparatory to College Classical, Scientific and Teachers The purpose of the founders was to establish an institution for higher Christian education This stone erected in the year 1927 by students and teachers in . . . — Map (db m63807) HM
Indiana (Bartholomew County), Hartsville — 03.1992.1 — Private Barton W. Mitchell
Mitchell, Co. F, 27th Indiana Volunteers, is buried in Hartsville Baptist Cemetery. He found Confederate General Lee's "Lost" Special Orders No. 191 near Frederick, MD, September 13, 1862. Union General McClellan then engaged Lee at the Battle of Antietam. — Map (db m63806) HM
Indiana (Benton County), Fowler — 04.1995.1 — Benton County Courthouse
Benton County formed by General Assembly in 1840. Oxford first county seat; Fowler became second, 1874. Designed in Second Empire Style by Gorden P. Randall and built 1874 by Levi L. Leach. Located at geographical center of county on land donated by Moses Fowler family. — Map (db m21487) HM
Indiana (Benton County), Fowler — Indian Boundary Line — 1818 to 1832
(Tablet 1) This boulder marks a boundary line between United States territory and Indian lands which existed for fourteen years. At St. Mary's Ohio on October 2, 1818, a treaty was made and concluded between Jonathan Jennings, Lewis Cass, and Benjamin Parke, Commissioners of the United States, and 35 of the Sachem's Chiefs and Warriors of the Potawatomie Tribe of Indians ceding the following territory,- "Beginning at the mouth of the Tippecanoe River, and running up the . . . — Map (db m71919) HM
Indiana (Benton County), Fowler — 04.1966.1 — New Purchase Boundary — (Treaty of St. Mary's)
In October 1818, Purchasing Commissioners Lewis Cass, Benjamin Parke and Governor Jonathan Jennings acquired Indian claims on the land shown on this marker. About one-third of modern Indiana, was involved in this transaction. — Map (db m21517) HM
Indiana (Benton County), Oxford — 04.1999.1 — Dan Patch
Side One Standard-bred colt (sire Joe Patchen, dam Zelica) foaled 1896 Oxford, Benton County; raised by Daniel A. Messner, Jr. on this farm. A natural pacer, trained for harness racing, a very popular sport in late 1800's and early 1900's. Dan Patch began his racing career at county fairs in 1900; he became famous in Grand Circuit racing and never loast a race. Side Two In 1902, sold to M. E. Sturgis, New York, then to Marion W. Savage, owner of International Stock Food . . . — Map (db m8546) HM
Indiana (Benton County), Oxford — Lest We Not Forget
Those who paid the Supreme Sacrifice Given in their memory by Town of Oxford — Map (db m8558) HM
Indiana (Blackford County), Hartford City — Blackford County Civil War Honor Roll
(( Front (“A - C”) - - Side )) In Honor of All Civil War Veterans of Blackford County ( Row One ) Henry B. Adams • Watson Adams • William W. Adams • David V. Addison • Philip H. Albright • Elijah H. Alexander • James B. Alexander • James T. Alexander • Marcellus Alexander • Marion M. Alexander • James Augustus Alfrey • Aaron Allmon • Samuel Allmon • John Ames • Alexander Anderson • George B. Anderson • Isaac M. Anderson • John Clayton Andrews • Rankin H. . . . — Map (db m54347) WM
Indiana (Blackford County), Hartford City — 05.1994.1 — Blackford County Courthouse
Blackford County's second courthouse, featuring a 165 foot high clock tower, was built on foundation stones from nearby Montpelier quarries. At a cost of $129,337.83, this Richardsonian Romanesque structure was constructed 1893-1895. Listed in National Register of Historic Places, 1980. — Map (db m41465) HM
Indiana (Blackford County), Hartford City — Blackford County Korea & Vietnam Honor Rolls
(( Front Center Panel )) To honor the men and the women of Blackford County who fought in Korea and Vietnam and to the heroes who gave their lives on land, on the sea, and in the sky that mankind might live in freedom we humbly dedicate this memorial (( Left Panel )) - - - § - - - Korea - - - § - - - ( Row One ) Carl Rolland Ames • Karl Norman Anderson • Lloyd Duane Anderson • James L. Applegate • Jerry McClain Armstrong • Clarence Robert . . . — Map (db m54423) WM
Indiana (Blackford County), Hartford City — Blackford County Revolutionary War Heroes
In Memory of the Revolutionary Heroes who rest in Blackford County David Kirkpatrick • John Mills John Saxon • John Twibell • Thomas Miles Erected by The Nancy Knight Chapter Daughters of the American Revolution 1776 —— 1933 Map (db m54624) HM
Indiana (Blackford County), Hartford City — Blackford County W.W. I Honor Roll — Spirit of The American Doughboy
(( Front of Base )) “Lest We Forget” Those from Blackford County who answered their Country’s call in the World War, Apr. 6th 1917 to Nov. 11th 1918. “Our Boys” (( Obverse of Base )) When the Service Flag has faded, and the hands that it caressed have been folded calm and peaceful on each Mother’s loving breast, Then, “the Torch they passed unto us“ we will bear forever on, with our lives we will defend it – . . . — Map (db m54272) WM
Indiana (Blackford County), Hartford City — Blackford County W.W. II Honor Roll
((( Center Panel ))) Dedicated to the Honor and Sacrifice of our men and women of Blackford County who served our Country in World War II ——— 1941 — ★ — 1945 ——— in Honor of those who made the Supreme Sacrifice ( Row One ) E. Maxine Ballenger • Ray L. Bell • Merritt E. Bolner • Wendel W. Brown • Floyd R. Chamberlin • Samuel Chick • Gene M. Constable • Ralph Constable, Jr. • Robert L. Constable • James . . . — Map (db m54607) WM
Indiana (Blackford County), Montpelier — 05.1989.1 — Godfroy Reserve
Reserved by U.S. to Chief Francois Godfroy of the Miami National of Indians by treaty at St. Mary's, Ohio, 6 October 1818, 3,840 acres on Salamonie River at La Petite Prairie, Harrison Township, Blackford County; reserve lands sold 1827, 1836. — Map (db m63825) HM
Indiana (Boone County), Jamestown — Jamestown (Indiana) War Memorial
Jamestown War Memorial Dedicated to the memory of all Veterans of all Wars Great is he who lays down his life for his Country in the name of Freedom. Erected by the people in the year of Our Lord 1968 Map (db m43762) HM
Indiana (Boone County), Lebanon — Abraham Lincoln
Enroute to Washington, D.C., to become 16th President of the U.S., addressed citizens of Lebanon and Boone County from rear of railroad passenger car at this place on the evening of February 11, 1861. — Map (db m3811) HM
Indiana (Boone County), Lebanon — Boone County (Indiana) Veterans
( Center - Engraved in Stone: ) In Memory of our Boone County Veterans who Bravely Served in Our Wars. Erected by The American Legion Brown - Dolson Post 113 Lebanon, Ind. ( Left Bronze Plaque: ) World War I Bunnie R. Airhart • John L. Brindle • Clarence E. Brown • Herdis Brown • Arthur R. Caldwell • Omer J. Coffman • Raymond W. Combs • Grace Copeland • Joseph R. Gregg • Leon L. Hardesty • E. E. Harshbarger • Mason B. Hittle • Loring . . . — Map (db m21359) WM
Indiana (Boone County), Lebanon — Boone County Veterans Memorial
* * * World War I * * * 1917 —— 1918 Battle Deaths: 53,402 * * * World War II * * * 1941 —— 1945 Battle Deaths: 291,557 * * * Korean War * * * 1950 —— 1953 Battle Deaths: 33,741 * * * Vietnam War * * * 1964 —— 1975 Battle Deaths: 47,424 * * * Mid East Wars * * * 1990 —— — Map (db m54898) HM
Indiana (Boone County), Lebanon — Revolutionary War Memorial — Soldiers Buried in Boone County Indiana
In Memory of Revolutionary Soldiers Buried in Boone County Indiana Arthur Andrews 1753 - - 1834 John Ferguson 1759 - - 1839 William Gipson 1753 - - 1835 James Hill 1745 - - 1854 Henry Johns 1757 - - 1833 John Leap 1735 - - 1843 William Pauley 1762 - - 1838 Elias Plew 1762 - - 1843 Jesse Robertson 1758 - - 1846 John Roberts 1760 - - 1840 Abraham Utter 1763 - - 1851 Joseph Wheatley 1761 - - 1844 ( Plates added to Plaque: ) John Aldbridge 1762 - - . . . — Map (db m21353) WM
Indiana (Boone County), Mechanicsburg — 06.1985.1 — Boone County REMC
The Boone County REMC built Indiana's first electric cooperative line to the Clark Woody farm 5 miles west of this site with funds borrowed from the Rural Electrification Administration, July 22, 1935. — Map (db m27673) HM
Indiana (Boone County), Thorntown — 06.1961.1 — Indian Cemetery — Eel River Tribe of Miamis
Ka-wi-a-ki-un-gi Village "Place of Thorns" (Thorntown) was center of 64, 000 acre Thorntown Indian Reserve. Granted to Eel River Miamis in 1818, ceded to U.S. in 1828. — Map (db m21352) HM
Indiana (Boone County), Zionsville — Lincoln's Stop in Zionsville, Indiana
Abraham Lincoln enroute to Washington as President Elect on February ll, 1861 addressed the Citizens of Zionsville at the Railroad Depot which stood on this site. — Map (db m8326) HM
Indiana (Boone County), Zionsville — 06.1966.2 — Michigan Road
With proceeds from the sale of 170,580 acres of Indian land granted by the Federal Government, Indiana built its first north-south road. Surveyed 1829, passable by 1834, "completed" in 1837, its coast was $242,000.00. — Map (db m67191) HM
Indiana (Boone County), Zionsville — 06.1962.1 — Patrick H. Sullivan — 1794 - 1879
was the first white settler in Boone County, 1823, and built the first log cabin. In 1857, he bought this site and lived here until 1872. He served in the War of 1812. — Map (db m67190) HM
Indiana (Boone County), Zionsville — Town of Zionsville Founded in 1852
In the beautiful Eagle Creek valley of southeastern Boone County, a new town was planned on land owned by Elijah and Mary "Polly" Cross. Convinced by Lebanon businessman William Zion, a director of the Lafayette & Indianapolis Railroad, the Crosses determined to locate it along the planned railway. When his wife declined his proposal to name the town Marysville in her honor, Cross asked Zion, who had joined him as proprietor of the town, to lend his name. The site was surveyed and . . . — Map (db m8328) HM
Indiana (Brown County), Belmont — 07.1992.1 — T. C. Steele Home and Studio
Theodore Clement Steele (1847-1926) lived and painted south of here, 1907-1926. Member of Hoosier Group of American impressionists, his landscape paintings captured picturesque panoramas characteristic of area. Property is State Historic Site; listed in National Register of Historic Places, 1973. — Map (db m48106) HM
Indiana (Brown County), Nashville — Brown County (Indiana) Courthouse on National Register
This Property has been placed on the National Register Of Historic Places by the United States Department of the Interior — Map (db m63151) HM
Indiana (Brown County), Nashville — Brown County Veterans Memorial
( West - Plaque ) Lest We Forget From its inception in 1836, Brown County has given freely its sons and daughters to serve in the quest for World Peace. Its sacrifices began in 1846 with the Mexican War, and continued through the Civil War, 1861–1865: Spanish-American War, 1898: World War I, 1917–1918: World War II, 1941–1945: Korean War, 1950–1953: Vietnam War, 1962–1973: The Invasion of Panama, 1990: and the Persian-Gulf War of 1991. Hundreds . . . — Map (db m63223) WM
Indiana (Carroll County), Burlington — Burlington
Laid out in 1828 by David Stipp. Promoted for seat of a new county to be made partly from the Great Miami Reserve, which began two mile east. The Lafayette & Muncie Road crossed the Great Michigan Road here. It was an important stage stop, mill village and trading center for both whites and Indians from the Reservation. Among early families were Ewing, Foster, Gwinn, Harness, Landrum, Rinker, Shinn and Stockton. Incorporated as town in 1967. — Map (db m42709) HM
Indiana (Carroll County), Burnettsville — Burnett's Creek Arch
Built in 1840 for Burnett's Creek to pass under Wabash and Erie Canal — Map (db m35488) HM
Indiana (Carroll County), Camden — Camden / Jackson Township
Side A Camden When the School Section, No. 16, was sold in 1832 Wm. Crooks, School Commissioner, reserved 16 acres and had a town site laid out by John Armstrong, Co. Surveyor. Col. Crooks (1787 - 1861) (War of 1812) kept the first cabin store about 40 yds. South. John E. Snoberger was the first Postmaster 1833. Dr. F. G. Armstrong (1822 - 1903) was pioneer physician and legislator. Jonathan Martin gave land for a church, cemetery and school, 1835. A. J. Thomas, E. C. Rice and . . . — Map (db m42713) HM
Indiana (Carroll County), Cutler — Adams Mill
In 1831 John Adams, Pennsylvania, built a saw mill here. In 1832 he entered land, in 1835-36 added a flouring mill. The present building was erected in 1845, restored by M. & Mrs. Claude Sheets in 1840. Boliver Village was platted around the mill in 1837 and Wild Cat P.O., 1850-1894 was in the mill. Warren Adams ran the mill after 1861. Masonic lodge organized at the mill 1864. The covered bridge built 1872. — Map (db m42694) HM
Indiana (Carroll County), Cutler — Wild Cat Lodge No. 311 — F. & A. M.
Organized June 25, 1864, the Lodge used the third floor of the Adams Mill as meeting place until autumn 1867, one of two known Masonic Lodges in Indiana to have started life in a flour mill. — Map (db m42708) HM
Indiana (Carroll County), Delphi — Carrollton on the Wabash
90 lots platted in 1836 on both sides of Wabash - Erie Canal lock.

A Post office in 1838 - 39. The lock passed canal boats into the river on the pool of the Great Dam at Pittsburg five miles below. The mules carried the towline across the covered bridge to the towpath on the south bank and rehitched. The Mentzer Tavern stood here until 1915. Speece Bros. Warehouse and the Fort Dearborn Trail were ½ mile east. — Map (db m35413) HM
Indiana (Carroll County), Delphi — Civil War Memorial - Carroll County Indiana — In Memory of Her Soldiers and Sailors
(Bronze Plaque - East Side): Erected by Carroll County Indiana In Memory of her Soldiers and Sailors ( Battles Listed on Upper Shaft ): South Side -- Shiloh / Stone River East Side -- Antietam / Gettysburg North Side -- Vicksburg / Champions Hill West Side -- Wilderness / Cedar Creek — Map (db m20798) WM
Indiana (Carroll County), Delphi — Delphi
Named and platted in 1828 by Gen. Samuel Milroy, on 100 acres donated by Wm. Wilson for the seat of Carroll Co., named for Charles Carroll, last surviving signer of the Declaration of Independence. Henry Robinson was the first settler. Transportation provided by Wabash & Erie Canal in 1840, Wabash RR in 1856, Monon in 1882. City first chartered in 1866. Products now include furniture, lime, plumbing fixtures and truck bodies. — Map (db m1154) HM
Indiana (Carroll County), Delphi — Mentzer Tavern — Grantham's Overlook
Carrollton on the Wabash The Mentzer Tavern was built in 1840 at the north end of the Carrollton Towing Path Bridge that crossed the Wabash River. Erected by Ignatius Mentzer and George Friday, it opened as a cooper shop where barrels were made and later the building was converted to an inn. Packet or passenger boats served meals and were equipped with sleeping berths. Other canal travelers, on Line Boats or anyone who had reached their destination, needed a hotel or inn often called a . . . — Map (db m35438) HM
Indiana (Carroll County), Delphi — 08.1966.1 — New Purchase Boundary — (Treaty of St. Mary’s)
In October 1818, Purchasing Commissioners Lewis Cass, Benjamin Parke and Governor Johnathan Jennings acquired Indian claims on the land shown on this marker. About one-third of modern Indiana was involved in this transaction. — Map (db m1152) HM
Indiana (Carroll County), Delphi — Samuel Milroy — Child of the American Revolution
[front of marker] Samuel Milroy was born 1780 in Pennsylvania and is a "Child of the American Revolution". His father served as a Patriot in the war for Independence. In 1826, at the age of 46, Samuel moved to Carroll County and built a cabin, which was located on this site. In 1827, he presented the petition to the Legislature to form the County. He also laid out the streets and public square of Delphi in 1828. Milroy was a friend of President Jackson, a Brigadier-General serving on . . . — Map (db m7538) HM
Indiana (Carroll County), Delphi — Site of Cabin Home Gen. Samuel Milroy
Site of Cabin Home Gen. Samuel Milroy 1826 On the banks o' Deer Crick — Map (db m7539) HM
Indiana (Carroll County), Delphi — Spanish American War Veterans Gave Their Cannon
In appreciation of the Spanish American War Veterans who gave their cannon from this Site for World War II Harry Bohannon Post No. 75 American Legion installs and dedicates this field piece in their honor. — Map (db m20803) HM
Indiana (Carroll County), Delphi — The Carrollton Bridge
Front The Wabash & Erie Canal meets the Wabash River Carroll County Wabash & Erie Canal Delphi, Indiana See Photo #2: 1844 Timber Truss Bridge The Wabash and Erie Canal authorities built the first bridge here in 1844 to accommodate the Canal’s only main line crossing of the Wabash River. The bridge superstructure consisted of five fixed and one draw timber spans. A walkway on the west side carried a track for a small mule-powered tramcar which towed canal . . . — Map (db m35445) HM
Indiana (Carroll County), Delphi — The Wabash & Erie Canal — Operating The Canal
Front The Longest Canal in North America Carroll County Wabash & Erie Canal Delphi, Indiana The Wabash & Erie Canal extended 468 miles from Toledo, Ohio to Evansville, Indiana On March 2, 1827, a Congressional land grant made possible a continuous waterway connecting the Eastern Seaboard through Lake Erie to the Gulf of Mexico. The grant provided for the construction of a 168 mile long canal from the mouth of Ohio’s Auglaize River on the Maumee River across a land portage . . . — Map (db m35449) HM
Indiana (Carroll County), Delphi — Trail of Death — September 10, 1838 — "Winnemac's" Old Village
Here at Chief Winamac's old village, about 900 Potawatomi Indians camped on their forced removal from Indiana to Kansas. A child and a man died here during the encampment. They also left behind 24 too sick to continue. — Map (db m35399) HM
Indiana (Carroll County), Delphi — 08.1992.1 — Wabash and Erie Canal
Constructed 1832-1853, canal was nation's longest, connecting Lake Erie at Toledo with Ohio River at Evansville. Key portion in Carroll County included Deer Creek Lake Dam, constructed 1838-1840 (1 mile west). Various canal structures are still in evidence. — Map (db m7540) HM
Indiana (Carroll County), Flora — Flora — The Garden Spot of Indiana
Flora’s Station, on the Logansport, Crawfordsville and Southwestern Ry., was platted in 1872 for John Flora on land entered by him in 1829. Ino Post Office established 1872, changed to Flora in 1873. Also called Fountain City from flowing wells. Pikes Peak, ½ mile south and east had sawmill and shops until 1889. Near here was located a log cabin school, and in 1876 the first church, St. Paul’s Lutheran, was built. — Map (db m42711) HM
Indiana (Carroll County), Flora — Flora War Memorials
( Memorial Tree Plaque ) This tree planted in memory of Earl R. Albaugh Joseph K. Clark Roscoe C. Kirkpatrick Clarence A. Wiles “Who died in Service” ( World War II - Plaque ) For God and Country Dedicated to The sons and daughters of our Community who served in World War II ( American Legion - Plaque ) In Honor of All Veterans of the Korean War June 25, 1950 - - July 27, 1953 and Vietnam . . . — Map (db m42749) WM
Indiana (Carroll County), Pittsburg — Trail of Death — Pleasant Run
On September 11, 1838, about 850 Potawatomi Indians camped at Pleasant Run, having traveled 17 miles that day on the forced removal from Indiana to Kansas. — Map (db m35400) HM
Indiana (Carroll County), Pyrmont — Pyrmont / 1812 Hopkins’ Expedition
Pyrmont. John Wagner built a dam, race and sqw mill about a mile South in 1833 and added a grist mill. He sold to John Fisher who sold to John Fetterhoff who built a large frame mill. Joel Wagoner, James Allen, Elias Morkert, J. J. Cripe, Wm. Gardner, Bert Smoker were later operators. It burned December 7, 1929. Fetterhoff’s Mill Post Office established 1851, was changed to Pyrmont in 1866. 1812 Hopkins’ Expedition. On November 22nd 60 mounted scouts were ambushed and 18 killed . . . — Map (db m40455) HM
Indiana (Carroll County), Wheeling — 08.1963.1 — Sycamore Row
This row of sycamores sprouted from freshly cut logs used in the 1830's to corduroy a swampy section of the historic Michigan Road, the first state road in Indiana, running from Madison to Michigan City. — Map (db m42664) HM
Indiana (Cass County), Logansport — Clock Tower — In Honor of the Military Veterans
( Clock Tower - Plaque ) This tower was erected in honor of the military veterans of Cass County. The clock and bell were salvaged from the old Cass County Court House, originally built in 1844, subsequently added to in 1888, and finally demolished in 1979 to make way for the new Cass County Government Building. ( Honor Roll Korean Conflict - Plaque ) Cass County honor list of Dead and missing Korean Conflict James Marlin Baber ● Donald L. Barker ● . . . — Map (db m35574) WM
Indiana (Cass County), Logansport — Early Masonic Temple
Site of first Masonic Temple in northern Indiana. Of brick construction, cornerstone of two-story building was laid 1829 by General John Tipton, P.G.M.,completed 1837. Ground floor used for school purposes many years. Razed 1895. — Map (db m35489) HM
Indiana (Cass County), Logansport — Potawatomi Encampment — Trail of Death
On this site in the Fall of 1838 they celebrated a Mass, received aid for the sick, and buried their dead. — Map (db m35398) HM
Indiana (Cass County), Logansport — W. W. I War Memorial - Cass County Indiana
( Front Section ) This memorial erected by Gold Star American War Mothers of Cass County Ind. To commemorate the valor of those who made the Supreme Sacrifice During the World War ( Right Section ) CPL. Frederick C. Banta ● PVT. Charles J. Butler ● SERGT. J. Ralph Cookson ● PVT. Charles W. Cramer ● PVT. Alva E. Diver ● SERGT. Cornelius Donohue ● PVT. Joseph A. Finnegan ● PVT. Arch M. Dunn ● PVT. William F. Fogarty . . . — Map (db m35537) WM
Indiana (Cass County), Logansport — 09.1966.1 — Wabash & Erie Canal
Trade and emigration route from Lake Erie to Evansville. Completed through Logansport 1840. Followed Erie Avenue and 5th Street, crossing Eel River by wooden aqueduct. Abandoned about 1876. — Map (db m35409) HM
Indiana (Clark County), Borden — 10.1995.1 — Borden Institute Site
Coeducational school founded 1884 by William W. Borden primarily to serve children of southern Indiana farmers. Low-cost, progressive program included teacher preparation and laboratory-based scientific studies. School closed 1906. Borden also established library and museum with extensive geological collections. — Map (db m74115) HM
Indiana (Clark County), Borden — Old Borden Tavern / Borden Museum
Old Borden Tavern Here William W. Borden’s mother kept a tavern 1824 to 1851. As a memorial to his parents, the Old Tavern, which was built in 1819, was incorporated into the buildings of the Borden Museum. Borden Museum Erected by William W. Borden in 1900. Here for some years was housed one of the rarest and most valuable collections in the state. Building now used by Borden High School. — Map (db m74116) HM
Indiana (Clark County), Henryville — 10.1987.1 — Birthplace and Childhood Home of Col. Harland Sanders
Founder of Kentucky Fried Chicken Erected 1987 by these Local Franchisees: Mr. & Mrs. Robert Bagshaw Mr. & Mrs. William Bridges Mr. & Mrs. William Bright Mr. & Mrs. Roy Burchel Mr. & Mrs. Lee Cummings Mr. & Mrs. Ralph Fordyce Mr. & Mrs. Henry Gilley Mr. & Mrs. Robert Heil Mr. & Mrs. Everitt Houchen Pauline Houchen & Joe Ann Mr. & Mrs. Charles Howser Mr. & Mrs. William Mullins Mr. & Mrs. Marvin Payne Mr. & Mrs. Raymond Popp Mr. & Mrs. . . . — Map (db m55017) HM
Indiana (Clark County), Jeffersonville — 10.1962.1 — Civil War Hospital
Site of Jefferson General Hospital, the third largest hospital in the United States during the Civil War. Under Dr. Middleton Goldsmith's command it served over 16, 000 patients. — Map (db m46647) HM
Indiana (Clark County), Jeffersonville — Civil War Memorial
( Top Section ) Civil War Cemetery On this site, 1861 - 1865, are buried several hundred Union and Confederate Soldiers. Killed in the Western Campaign. Lack of interest from distant families allowed deterioration of the wood grave markers and heavy overgrowth. In 1927, the Jeffersonville Council determined “Better the sound of children’s footsteps at play than the silent stride of the nearly forgotten Great Spirit Army here at rest”. The only intact stone marker was . . . — Map (db m46670) WM
Indiana (Clark County), Jeffersonville — Clark County All Veterans Memorial
In Memory of All Veterans who have Honorably Served our Country. — Map (db m46695) HM
Indiana (Clark County), Jeffersonville — General LaFayette — Visit to Jeffersonville
(General LaFayette) was the official guest of the State of Indiana at Jeffersonville on May 12, 1825 at the house of Former Governor Posey on the West corner of Front and Fort Streets. He was welcomed by the Governor of the the State, by a Committee of the General Assembly, by Citizens of Jeffersonville, and by Veterans of The War of The Revolution. As commemorative of that visit and in enduring gratitude for the services in that war, as an American General in the Field, and in . . . — Map (db m46696) HM
Indiana (Clark County), Jeffersonville — Veterans Memorial
In Honor of those who Served ( Bronze Plaque ) United Spanish War Veterans Veterans of Foreign Wars The American Legion Dedicated May 30, 1955 Map (db m46730) HM
Indiana (Clark County), Jeffersonville — Warder Park
Named in honor of Luther Fairfax Warder Mayor of Jeffersonville, six (6) terms (1875 – 1883 ) – • – (1887 – 1891) He converted the small town into a prosperous, progressive city, was foremost in bringing the County Seat here. As a youth, he commanded the Company he created, Co.B. 16th. Kentucky, Volunteers Infantry Through the Kentucky Campaign. Receiving incurable injuries. He was a lawyer, executive, farmer, and stock breeder. Courtly . . . — Map (db m46767) HM
Indiana (Clark County), Sellersburg — Korean Veterans Memorial — 1950 - 1953 — Sellersburg Community
“Lest We Forget” In honor of the courageous men and women who served their country in the Korean War and in memory of those who Sacrificed All. PVT Robert E. Landreth, Jr. Oct. 4, 1951 PFC Thomas K. Jenkins July 24, 1953 Dedicated July 4, 1998 Map (db m46699) WM
Indiana (Clark County), Sellersburg — Vietnam Veterans Memorial — Sellersburg Community
Dedicated to those from this community who so courageously served and gave their lives. They did so with unselfish Honor and Patriotism. May God bless them. PFC Wm. Gary Smith • USMC 02/21/68 SGT. Willard Skaggs, Jr. • USA 03/02/68 L/CPL C. Thomas Hammack • USMC 01/29/69 SGT. Raymond Baumgarner • USA 03/14/69 SGT. David R. Beyl • USA 07/18/70 W.O. Thomas M. Barnett • USA 09/26/70 — Map (db m46698) HM
Indiana (Clark County), Sellersburg — World War II Memorial — Sellersburg Community
( Upper Section ) They lived to bear their Country’s arms and died to save it’s Honor. Sgt Charles W. Snider • 11-4-43 Pfc Lester J. Beyl • 1-31-44 S/Sgt William J. Summers, AAF • 3-8-44 Sgt Kenneth N. Broady • 7-1-44 Sgt Kenneth Jarrell, Jr., USMC • 7-8-44 Pvt Norman R. Langford • 7-26-44 Pfc Arthur H. Cortner, Jr. • 9-14-44 Sm2 Harold E. Guernsey, USN • 10-21-44 Cpl Arthur E. Trout, AAF • 1-10-45 Pvt Loren Elliott • 1-29-45 Pfc Woodrow W. . . . — Map (db m46721) WM
Indiana (Clay County), Brazil — Civil War Cannons Rededicated - Restoration — Brazil - Clay County, Indiana
These Civil War Cannons were Rededicated after Restoration by the American Legion Post #2 Brazil, Indiana on May 30th, 1998 by Commander Thomas W. Owen — Map (db m18910) HM
Indiana (Clay County), Brazil — 11.2001.1 — Clay County (Indiana) Courthouse
Side one County formed by Indiana General Assembly 1825; named for national statesman Henry Clay. First county seat at Bowling Green; had three courthouses: first built 1827 was two-story log structure; second and third built 1839-1840 and 1852-1853 were two-story brick. County seat moved to Brazil 1877 after fourth courthouse completed there in 1876. Side two This fifth courthouse designed by John W. Gaddis of Vincennes in Classical Revival Style. Built 1912- 1914 . . . — Map (db m18883) HM
Indiana (Clay County), Brazil — Memorial Building — Clay County (Indiana) Honor Roll
MEMORIAL BUILDING Erected and Dedicated 1945 Clay County Post No. 2 American Legion Honor Roll Committee David W. Henry, Chairman Leo J. Murphy, Leo E. Dubois, Victor P. George, Claude Reese, Albert R. Morgan — Map (db m18894) WM
Indiana (Clay County), Brazil — Vietnam War Memorial — Clay County / Brazil, Indiana
(On Stone Bench) To Keep forever living the freedom for which they served we dedicate this symbol to those men and women who served in vietnam. (Left - Bronze Plaque) Dedicated to the memory of these men who gave their lives in Vietnam: LT. CHARLES BRENT ROSS Sept. 11, 1969 HT2 GARY LEE BOYCE Jan. 1, 1973 SGT. MAX WAYNE BATCHELOR Oct. 4, 1967 SP4 DOM E. LEE March 14, 1968 SP4 ZETTIE ‘ZEB’ J. C. DULIN April 27, 1970 (Right - Bronze . . . — Map (db m18912) WM
Indiana (Clinton County), Frankfort — Clinton County (Indiana) War Memorial
( Center Panel ) Clinton County War Memorial All Gave Some. Some Gave All. Dedicated to All Clinton County Veterans ( Left - Large Panel ) Civil War * 1861 - - 1865 ( Row One ) Wm. H. Abbott • Alfred R. Alexander • Galen Alexander • James Alexander • James W. Alexander • Samuel Alexander • Ashbrook J. Allen • John L. Benjamin • A. J. Arthur • George E. Armer • Benjamin A. Ashba • William Atwood • Darlington Aughe • Joel M. Bacon • William Bailess • . . . — Map (db m21436) WM
Indiana (Clinton County), Frankfort — Memory of Our Departed Shipmates — Navy Club U. S. A.
( Top has Insignia of the "Navy Club U.S.A." ) This memorial is erected to revere, honor, and perpetuate the memory of our departed Shipmates Roy E. Boggess Ship No. 11 — Map (db m21430) WM
Indiana (Clinton County), Frankfort — Revolutionary War Memorial — Soldiers Buried in Clinton County Indiana
(Upper - Bronze Plaque:) This Tablet Is Dedicated To The Memory Of The Revolution Soldiers Buried in Clinton County Captain Harmon Aughe • John Applegate • William Carter • Thomas Harris • John Reed • Frederick Shaffer • Robert Wright • Matthias Young (Lower - Etched in Stone) 1775 - - 1783 — Map (db m21438) WM
Indiana (Clinton County), Frankfort — To The Unknown Dead — Civil War Memorial - Clinton County Indiana
To The Unknown Dead 1861 - - 1865 By The W. R. C. — Map (db m21397) HM
Indiana (Crawford County), Marengo, Crawford County — Marengo Cave National Landmark
Discovered September 6, 1883 by Blanche & Orris Hiestand who descended into the first room. The following Sunday, Mitch Stewart and friends explored the main passageways. The next day, local residents descended in mass on the cave. Owner Samuel Stewart, recognizing the commercial potential, secured the entrance and immediately opened the cave to the public. The Marengo Cave Company was formed in 1900 to operate the cave. The cave became a popular destination for railroad excursions prior to the . . . — Map (db m70554) HM
Indiana (Daviess County), Elnora — 14.2007.1 — Wabash and Erie Canal
Side A A canal from Terre Haute to Evansville authorized 1846. Maysville Division along White River was over 23 miles long from Newberry through Owl Prairie (now Elnora) to Maysville; part of it paralleled what is now S.R. 57. Contracts were let June 1849. Construction was delayed by cholera outbreaks among workers, many of whom were Irish immigrants. Side B Navigation between Newberry and Maysville opened June 1852. By 1853, Wabash and Erie Canal, America's longest . . . — Map (db m23203) HM
Indiana (Daviess County), Washington — 14.1992.1 — Baltimore & Ohio Southwestern Railroad Depot
Mission Revival Style depot, built 1906, restored 1990; part of Washington Commercial Historic District. Link to city's trading and industrial history, with substantial railroad machine shops and car works. Indiana stop of former President Dwight D. Eisenhower's funeral train, April 1, 1969. — Map (db m23214) HM
Indiana (Daviess County), Washington — Civil War Memorial - Daviess County Indiana
( Front - Center Panel ) This memorial is the tribute of the people of Daviess County to the memory of her Brave Soldiers who endured the hardships and fought the battles of 1861 to 1865 that the Union might be preserved ( Front Right Panel ) Daviess County furnished 2,312 men for the Union Army from 1861 to 1865 ( Obverse - Center Panel ) This panel is Dedicated To the memory of the pioneers who blazed the way and cleared the fields: To the . . . — Map (db m23352) WM
Indiana (Daviess County), Washington — 14.1999.1 — Fort Flora
Built on this site by civilians to protect approximately ten families during War of 1812. Named for landowner David Flora. Ten such forts were built circa 1811-1813 in area that became Daviess County. Area was Knox County, part of Indiana Territory 1800-1816. Daviess County was carved out of Knox County 1817, following Indiana's statehood 1816. — Map (db m23211) HM
Indiana (Daviess County), Washington — 14.1999.2 — Homer E. Capehart / GOP Cornfield Conference
Side A Homer E. Capehart Born into Indiana farming family 1897. Manufactured and pioneered sales of automatic phonographs, creating Capehart Corporation. Executive of Rudolph Wurlitzer Company 1933-1944. Organized 1938 Republican Party "Cornfield Conference" on Capehart farm land across the road. Became influential in party; served as U.S. senator 1945-1963. Died 1979. Side B GOP Cornfield Conference Republican Party rally organized by Homer E. Capehart . . . — Map (db m23206) HM
Indiana (Daviess County), Washington — 14.1989.1 — Mimi's House — Robert C. Graham
Residence of Robert C. Graham (1885-1967), pioneer glass, truck and auto manufacturer. Placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1983 by the U.S. Department of the Interior because of its history and Prairie Style architecture. — Map (db m23208) HM
Indiana (Dearborn County), Aurora — Aurora
Aurora was laid out by Jesse L. Holman, trustee for the “Aurora Association for Internal Improvements” in 1819. Judge Holman was an early statesman, preacher, educator, and Federal Justice. His son, U.S. Congressman William S. Holman served this district many years and was called “the Watchdog of the Treasury”. — Map (db m22105) HM
Indiana (Dearborn County), Aurora — Hillforest — Thomas Gaff House — A National Historic Landmark
Originally called Forest Hill, Hillforest was completed in 1855 for local industrialist and steamboat owner Thomas Gaff and his family. Emigrants from Scotland in 1811, the six Gaff children moved with their mother to Aurora in the 1840s and became civic and professional leaders locally and in the Greater Cincinnati area. Thomas Gaff and his brothers participated in local politics and maintained diverse business interests including brewing, distilling, mining, banking, farming and milling. . . . — Map (db m22125) HM
Indiana (Dearborn County), Aurora — History of the Aurora Ferry Co., Inc.
Legend has it that a ferry has operated near this location close to the mouth of Hogan Creek since 1802. The early ferries were powered by two horses walking on treadmills connected to a paddle wheel. The relationship between the small town of Petersburg, KY and Aurora was made possible by the ferry. It was so strong that in 1861 at the outbreak of the Civil War the two communities penned a non-aggression pact. In the 20th century the "Etta Belle", a side wheel wooden boat, was purchased . . . — Map (db m66904) HM
Indiana (Dearborn County), Dillsboro — A Voice of the Community — The Dillsboro Bell
From atop the schoolhouse, built in 1905, my voice has rung out - beckoning boys and girls to school: clanged out the call for help to fight fires: peeled forth joyous tunes of victory at wars ends: tolled the old year out and rung in the new. Now I stand silent - dedicated to the memory of all who have served the Dillsboro Community. — Map (db m45993) HM
Indiana (Dearborn County), Dillsboro — Dillsboro
The town was laid out by Mathias Whetstone in 1830, and named for General James Dill, soldier in the War of 1812, first county recorder, a member of the Indiana 1816 Constitutional Convention, military associate and friend of Generals William Henry Harrison, Arthur St. Clair and Captain Samuel C. Vance. — Map (db m45884) HM
Indiana (Dearborn County), Lawrenceburg — Abraham Lincoln
Abraham Lincoln made a famous pre-inaugural speech from his train platform near here Feb. 12, 1861, placing emphasis on the people's part in justice and good government. — Map (db m20600) HM
Indiana (Dearborn County), Lawrenceburg — Captain Samuel C. Vance — 1802 - 2002 Bicentennial Memorial to The Common Man — " The Flatboat " - Mode of River travel in 1802
Plaque One Captain Samuel C. Vance Our Founder Plaque Two In memory of Captain Vance and the pioneer families who endured the hardships of flatboat travel to reach this place in the wilderness. They lived in log cabins with dirt or puncheon floors, cat-in-clay chimneys, wooden hinged split wood doors, and greased paper windows. They persevered to give us this historic city. Plaque Three "The Flatboat" A mode of river travel 1802 — Map (db m20604) HM
Indiana (Dearborn County), Lawrenceburg — Dearborn County
Formed by proclamation of Indiana Territorial Governor William Henry Harrison March 7, 1803. Named in honor of Major General Henry Dearborn, Secretary of War. The third county to be formed, it was originally much larger. Its present boundaries were established January 7, 1845. First courthouse built 1810, second built 1828, present limestone courthouse built 1870 - 1871. — Map (db m22103) HM
Indiana (Dearborn County), Lawrenceburg — Dearborn County American Revolution War Memorial — 1775 — 1783
In Honor of the Soldiers of the American Revolution buried in Dearborn County Their names are recorded in the County Auditor's Office Book 29 - Page 250. — Map (db m22174) HM
Indiana (Dearborn County), Lawrenceburg — Dearborn County Korean War Memorial
KOREAN WAR This plaque is dedicated in grateful remembrance of the men of Dearborn County who served their Country in the Korean War. In God we trust — Map (db m22173) WM
Indiana (Dearborn County), Lawrenceburg — Dearborn County World War I War Memorial
Honor Roll In Grateful remembrance of the boys of Dearborn County who gave their lives in the World War 1917 - 1918. Erected by the Citizens of Dearborn County, Indiana Walter Ahrens • Henry Fred Amm • Elmer Andrews • Hobart S. Bailey • Harry Bales • Louis A. Bartels • Raymond F. Beard • Floyd Becker • Charles H. Bildner • John V. Bildner • John R. Boyd • Bernard H. Burke • Harvey J. Clarke • Millard Dennerline • Edwin F. Engelking • Edwin M. Fox • William J. Haske • Dewey H. . . . — Map (db m22203) HM
Indiana (Dearborn County), Lawrenceburg — Dearborn County World War II War Memorial
WORLD WAR II For God and Country This tablet is erected in honor of the men who answered their country's call and gave their lives for freedom — Map (db m22175) HM
Indiana (Dearborn County), Lawrenceburg — Hunt House Hotel — Federal Style — 1819
1812 • Jacob Horner buys lot #157, builds log tavern on corner. 1817 • Jesse Hunt leases Horner’s Tavern. 1818 • Hunt purchases and removes log tavern. 1819 • Hunt builds first 3-story brick building in Indiana, Benj. Stockman, brick mason. Livestock drovers enter tavern through cellar. c.1825 • Hunt buys lot #158; 3-story additions to east & south. Hunt House operates over 50 years. c.1885 • Known as Grand Hotel; remodeled after floods of 1882-83-84, pressed metal . . . — Map (db m22033) HM
Indiana (Dearborn County), Lawrenceburg — James Buchanan Eads
Born in Lawrenceburg, became a famous engineer who built the Eads Bridge arched over the Mississippi at St. Louis and jetties at New Orleans. During the Civil War President Lincoln commissioned him to design and build ironclad gunboats for the Union forces. He is the only Hoosier and the only engineer in the Hall of Fame in New York. Born May 23, 1828 Died March 8, 1887 — Map (db m66910) HM
Indiana (Dearborn County), Lawrenceburg — Lawrenceburg — Founded 1802
Birthplace of two Indiana Governors. Albert Gallatin Porter, eighteenth Governor (1881-1885), born here April 20, 1824, died Indianapolis, May 3, 1897; and Winfield Taylor Durbin, twenty-fourth Governor (1901-1905), born here May 4, 1847, died Anderson, December 18, 1928. — Map (db m66907) HM
Indiana (Dearborn County), Lawrenceburg — Lawrenceburgh — First in New Modes of Transportation
1802 Lawrenceburgh First in New Modes of Transportation 1802 - - Village of Lawrenceburgh founded in the Wilderness by Capt. Samuel C. Vance Commerce and travel are via the Ohio River. Pioneers constructed flatboats to carry goods to New Orleans Markets. The “Kaintucks” walked back to the Ohio Valley through hostile Indian Territory. 1832 - - George H. Dunn, Whig congressman from Lawrenceburg convinced the state to charter Indiana’s . . . — Map (db m22029) HM
Indiana (Dearborn County), Lawrenceburg — Medal of Honor Citations — Civil War — Dearborn County (Indiana)
Dearborn County Medal of Honor Citations Civil War Name Awarded Pvt. William Shepherd - - May 3, 1865 Pvt. Frank Stolz - - July 9, 1894 Pvt. David H. Helms - - - July 26, 1894 Pvt. Thomas A. Blasdel - - - August 11, 1894 Pvt. John W. Conaway - - - - August 11, 1894 Pvt. William W. Chisman - - - August 15, 1894 — Map (db m22171) HM
Indiana (Dearborn County), Lawrenceburg — The Price of Freedom
- - -( Center Section )- - - ( Center - Memorial ) + + + THE PRICE OF FREEDOM + + + Dedicated in Honor of All men and women who have served in the Armed Forces and Sacrificed Unselfishly for the Freedom of the United States of America ( Left - Memorial ) Serving those who served ( Seals of ::) American Legion Disabled American Veterans Vietnam Veterans of America ( Right - Memorial ) Serving those who served ( . . . — Map (db m22301) WM
Indiana (Dearborn County), Lawrenceburg — The Spirits of Lawrenceburg
Army Captain Samuel Colville Vance was a surveyor for the United States government living in Cincinnati, Ohio. In 1802 he purchased all the land comprising the original town of "Lawrenceburgh." At that time the land was part of Hamilton County, Ohio. Soon, settlers made their homes near the Ohio River and surrounding creeks. Like many Ohio River towns, Lawrenceburg's economy centered on the Ohio River, and the shipping and related industries it enabled. But some unusual industries thrived. In . . . — Map (db m66906) HM
Indiana (Dearborn County), Lawrenceburg — Vietnam War Memorial — Dearborn County Indiana
In God We Trust In Grateful remembrance of the men of Dearborn County who gave their lives in the Vietnam War, erected by the Citizens of Dearborn County, Indiana. Honor Roll, first column: William Omer Burkett • Thomas Denning • Larry Arthur Diefenbach • Larry Fogle • Harvey D. Gray • David Hemphill • Donald Ray Henry • Clabe Herald, Jr. • Neil Philip Farmer Honor Roll, second column: Ronald A. Hoff • Kenneth Wayne Lozier • Dale K. McLanahan • Ronald W. . . . — Map (db m22202) HM
Indiana (Dearborn County), Lawrenceburg — Vietnam War Memorial - - Dearborn County Lawrenceburg Indiana
In Memory of our Vietnam Veterans Killed in Action Vietnam War 1959 - 1975 Dedicated July 4, 2000 Lary Dale Fogle • U.S. Army PFC - - Killed in Action December 20, 1965 - Saigon, South Vietnam Thomas George Denning • U.S.M.C. LCPL Killed in Action March 2, 1967 - Quang Tri, South Vietnam Robert Joe Williamson • U.S. Army Sgt. Killed in Action January 31, 1968 - Gia Dinh, South Vietnam Ronald Alvin Hoff • U.S. Army SP4 Killed in Action July 16, 1969 - Biuh Dinh, South Vietnam — Map (db m22037) HM
Indiana (Dearborn County), West Harrison — 15.1999.1 — Canal Junction
(Front Side) The Whitewater Canal and the Cincinnati and Whitewater Canal joined in Harrison to provide better access to Cincinnati markets and Ohio River. Indiana Internal Improvement Act 1836 authorized Whitewater Canal; completed from Brookville to Lawrenceburg 1839. Nearby Dam No. 1 on Whitewater River created a pool for canal boats to cross the river. (Back Side) Cincinnati and Whitewater Canal incorporated by Ohio General Assembly 1837. Completed seven miles from . . . — Map (db m66869) HM
Indiana (Dearborn County), West Harrison — Morgan's Great Raid — Six Days of Terror — John Hunt Morgan Heritage Trail
July 8, 1863. Confederate General John Hunt Morgan and 2,000 cavalrymen crossed the Ohio River into Indiana. They were transported from Brandenburg, Kentucky, on two captured steamboats. For six days, the Raiders rode through Southern Indiana. Morgan and his men had conducted earlier raids, but this would be remembered as his Great Raid of 1863. It also was the only major military activity in Indiana during the Civil War. July 9, 1863. The Battle of Corydon occurred as . . . — Map (db m66873) HM
Indiana (Dearborn County), West Harrison — Morgan's Raiders Enter Ohio — and Burn the Bridge Behind Them — John Hunt Morgan Heritage Trail
During the afternoon of July 13, 1863, General John Hunt Morgan crossed the Whitewater River a few hundred yards north of this point. His exhausted men were strung out behind him, but managed to burn the wooden bridge once the straggling ranks were closed. They moved through West Harrison, Indiana, and into Ohio. Just as in Indiana, the Harrison, Ohio, stores were pillaged. The advanced units of the Union cavalry reached this point one hour later, but were too exhausted to pursue further. — Map (db m66875) HM
Indiana (Dearborn County), West Harrison — When the Civil War Came to Indiana — John Hunt Morgan Heritage Trail
By July 1863, the American Civil War had entered its third brutal summer. In the East, Confederate forces commanded by Robert E. Lee successfully turned back repeated Union attempts to capture the Southern capital at Richmond. General Lee even managed to carry the war northward to the banks of Antietam Creek, Maryland — a battle famous today as the single "bloodiest" day of the entire war. Ferocious battles had been fought in Virginia at places like Gaines' Mill, Malvern Hill, . . . — Map (db m66872) HM
Indiana (Decatur County), Greensburg — 16.2001.1 — Civil War General John T. Wilder
Side one Wilder (1830-1917), resident of Greensburg circa 1858-1869, built this home 1865-1866. He was millwright and inventor; provided major employment in the area. Enlisted in Civil War; appointed lieutenant colonel of Seventeenth Indiana Volunteer Infantry 1861 by Indiana Governor Oliver P. Morton. Side two In 1863, Wilder commanded a brigade which included mounted infantry equipped with new Spencer repeating rifles. Use of rifles helped troops defeat . . . — Map (db m44744) HM
Indiana (Decatur County), Greensburg — Colonel Thomas Hendricks / Elizabeth Trimble Hendricks
1822 - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - 1922 Colonel Thomas Hendricks Veteran of the War of 1812 Founded this Town in 1821 He built the first cabin and donated one hundred acres of ground to the new town - - - + - + - - - On June 14, 1822 Elizabeth Trimble Hendricks wife of Colonel Thomas Hendricks named Greensburg for Her Native town in Pennsylvania — Map (db m44769) HM
Indiana (Decatur County), Greensburg — Decatur County (Indiana) Bridge 140 — Bridge Moved
Built by the Pan-American Bridge Company of New Castle, Indiana, in 1915. This bridge originally carried County Road 700 South over Sand Creek, 2.5 miles East of Letts, Indiana. This bridge was disassembled, rehabilitated, and reconstructed at this location in 2006. Below is a Plaque that was mounted on the bridge when it was at its oribinal location. Reconstructed by: Force Construction Company, Inc. Columbus, Indiana Decatur County Commissioners: Charles Buell Jerome . . . — Map (db m22028) HM
Indiana (Decatur County), Greensburg — Decatur County All Wars Memorial
Note: When this Memorial was documented and photographed (Sunday: 7-17-2011), it was being yet constructed (and/or reconstructed.) There were skids of building material setting about in the parking lot, ground opened, concrete just finished, and other work in evidence. (( Up-right - Panel )) ( On both sides - only One Word ) ““ sacrifice ”“ (( Side-walk Inlays )) ( From Up-right Panel to Flag Pole Display ) ( See Photos - ‘Wars . . . — Map (db m45063) WM
Indiana (Decatur County), Greensburg — Decatur County Civil War Memorial
( Front Plaque ) In Honor of the Civil War Soldiers of Decatur County. “This monument cannot disclose. Nor can the skill of mortal make a record of the countless woes they suffered for their Country’s sake.” ( Obverse Plaque ) - - - + ( “Relief” - of the Rifle ) + - - - Spencer Repeating Rifle Decatur County provided more than 2,500 officers and men for the Union Armies during the Civil War. These soldiers . . . — Map (db m44943) WM
Indiana (Decatur County), Greensburg — 16.1980.1 — Decatur County Court House
Site of the original court house built in 1827 and occupied until 1854. Present building completed in 1860. Large tooth aspen tree appeared in 1870 on the roof of the 115 foot clock tower. In July, 1863, it became a temporary armory while troops bivouacked on the lawn. The treasurer's office held provisions to feed 10 regiments. The 7th Regimental Band had played weekly on the square before being militarized. Many political figures have given speeches from the steps. It was placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1973. — Map (db m44757) HM
Indiana (Decatur County), Greensburg — 16.2007.1 — Donnell -V.- State, 1852
Side one: Luther Donnell was convicted in Decatur Circuit Court (1849) of aiding fugitive slaves, Caroline and her four children, to escape to Canada. In Donnell v. State, Indiana Supreme Court reversed the conviction, claiming that under U.S. Supreme Court decision in Prigg v. Pennsylvania federal law superseded a state law regarding aid to fugitive slaves. Side two: Prigg, a pro-slavery decision, was used in this case and elsewhere to benefit the anti-slavery cause. The . . . — Map (db m44752) HM
Indiana (Decatur County), Greensburg — 16.2008.1 — Escape of Caroline, 1847
Side one: Caroline and her four children escaped Kentucky slave owner October 31, 1847; they crossed Ohio River near Madison. After passing near here, Fugit Township black and white residents hid family close to Clarksburg. While hidden, family seized by a white resident, but escaped before owner claimed them. Residents separated family to avoid another capture. Side two: Family members safely escorted from Decatur County and reunited in Union County. Family reached Canada. . . . — Map (db m44743) HM
Indiana (Decatur County), Greensburg — Spanish American War Veterans
( Front Plaque ) ( Bronze “Crest” of the “Spanish War Veterans 1898 - 1902" ) ( Obverse Plaque ) ( Likeness of the Original Memorial ) Original Spanish American War Memorial On 24 August 1921, the surviving Veterans of the Spanish American War organized Greensburg Camp Number 63 - United Spanish American War Veterans. The members held a patriotic program on February 15 each year in observance of the sinking of the U.S.S. Maine until . . . — Map (db m44798) WM
Indiana (Decatur County), Greensburg — The Naegel Building
In 1893 Robert Naegel built this two-story structure featuring an elaborate metal facade that reflects a combination of Italianate and Queen Anne architecture. The Capital Finance Corporation was located here for nearly 40 years, beginning in the late 20's. The Greensburg Engineering Company shared the back of the store until 1960. Over time the second floor provided residences for many individuals including Mr. Naegel. - - - - - + -+ - + - - - - - Made Possible By: The . . . — Map (db m44947) HM
Indiana (Decatur County), Westport — Westport Covered Bridge
A Single Span Burr Arch Bridge Built by A.M. Kennedy & Sons in 1880 Clear Span 111 ft. 6 in. Overall Length 130 ft. Entered on the National Register of Historic Places June 25, 1982 — Map (db m73979) HM
Indiana (DeKalb County), Auburn — "It All Started Here" — 1874
The Eckhart Carriage Company was established in 1874 in Auburn, Indiana. It was the direct ancestor of the Auburn Automobile Company as both were owned by the Eckhart family in the early days. This is the last remaining building of the carriage factory that was located at East Seventh Street. This building was actually a part of the paint shop for the company. Buggies and surreys were painted in this building and later, possibly some of the very first Auburn automobiles. The . . . — Map (db m73297) HM
Indiana (DeKalb County), Auburn — 17.1992.1 — Auburn Automobile Company
Auburn Automobile Company (1900-1937) Art Deco Style Administration building, built 1929-1930. Housed departments of Cord Corporation, manufacturer of Auburn, Cord, and Duesenberg automobiles. Became Auburn-Cord-Duesenberg Museum, 1974; listed in National Register of Historic Places, 1978. — Map (db m53934) HM
Indiana (DeKalb County), Auburn — DeKalb County Veterans Memorial
Dedicated to the Memory of DeKalb County Soldiers — Map (db m53948) HM
Indiana (DeKalb County), Auburn — Site Of Wesley Park's Home
On this site stood the log home of Wesley Park, co-founder with John Howe of the City of Auburn in 1836. Park's cabin was an important social and government center, serving as a tavern, resting place, and courthouse for early settlers and westbound travelers. In 1841, after a fire destroyed the cabin, Park arranged for the construction of a two story frame dwelling at the same site. In the early 20th century, that home was moved to the northwest corner of Union and Second streets, where it . . . — Map (db m60238) HM
Indiana (DeKalb County), Spencerville — First Settlement in DeKalb County Indiana 1828
First Settlement in DeKalb County Indiana 1828 — Map (db m62801) HM
Indiana (DeKalb County), Spencerville — 17.1996.1 — Spencerville Covered Bridge
Built 1873, by John A. McKay, spanning Saint Joseph River; a Smith Truss, Variant Four, by Smith Bridge Company, Toledo, Ohio; has remained in use with regular maintenance, repairs, and extensive 1981 restoration. Listed in National Register of Historic Places, 1981. — Map (db m52971) HM
Indiana (Delaware County), Eaton — 18.1981.1 — First Indiana Gas Well
The first significant commercial gas well came in Sept. 15, 1886, near here south of the Mississinewa River and East of the railroad, ushering in the gas boom era. Almeron H. Crannell, a Civil War veteran and later resident of Hartford City, drilled the well. — Map (db m63797) HM
Indiana (Delaware County), Gaston — 18.1996.2 — Slickville Tile Works
Site of production mill and three beehive kilns, first fueled by wood and then by natural gas, circa 1883-1910, owned & operated by Manassa Myers, Sr. family. Produced drainage tiles (hollow cylinder-shaped sections) from adjacent clay pit for local use. Drainage tiles have been used throughout Indiana to develop and maintain farmland. — Map (db m63796) HM
Indiana (Delaware County), Muncie — 18.2008.1 — Ball Brothers Glass Manufacturing Company
Side - A Company incorporated in New York 1886 to manufacture glassware (particularly fruit jars). Brothers Edmund, Frank, George, William, and Lucius Ball all were trustees. Company - promised money, land, and free natural gas - came to Muncie; first glassware produced here 1888. Led nation in production of fruit jars by 1900. Side - B Ball Brothers expanded its operations in Muncie and into other states. Company diversified holdings into plastics, rubber, and . . . — Map (db m31345) HM
Indiana (Delaware County), Muncie — 18.2011.1 — Hemingray Glass Company
Side A Founded as Gray & Hemingray in Cincinnati, Ohio in 1848. Incorporated 1870 in Covington, Kentucky; company produced glass bottles, jars, oil lamps, light globes, tableware and insulators. After discovery of natural gas in east-central Indiana, Hemingray Glass Co. located factory here, 1888, and contributed to significant industrial growth of Muncie and state.

Side B By 1900, Hemingray had become a world leader of glass insulator manufacturing. . . . — Map (db m65208) HM

Indiana (Delaware County), Muncie — 18.1996.1 — Shaffer Chapel African Methodist Episcopal Church
Structure, circa 1893, is Muncie's oldest standing public school building. Purchased by church congregation, circa 1928. Rallying point in August 1930 when bodies of two African-American men, lynched in Marion, were brought to Muncie for embalmment by church's pastor J.E. Johnson, a mortician. — Map (db m31346) HM
Indiana (Delaware County), Muncie — World War I War Memorial — The Spirit of the American Doughboy
The Elizabeth Sears Memorial to Deceased Veterans of the World War 1917 - 18 — Map (db m31347) HM
Indiana (Dubois County), Jasper — Dubois County Civil War Memorial
( Battle Names - Around Top of Memorial ) Antietam • Chickamauga • Gettysburg • Vicksburg ( Front Panel ) Yield not to grief the tribute of a tear, But ‘neath the fore-front of a specious sky, Smile all exultant, as they smiled at fear, who dare to do, where doing meant to die So best may comrades prove remembrance dear, So best be hallowed earth where soldier lie. Dubois County Soldiers and Sailors Monument 1861 — 1865 ( . . . — Map (db m47458) WM
Indiana (Dubois County), Jasper — Dubois County Honor Roll Memorial
(( Left ‘Small Book’ )) ( Left ‘Page’ ) * * * Mexican War * * * James Green • Pleasant Horton • James McElvaine • Hiram Main • David L. Matthews • Joseph Orinder * * * Spanish American War * * * Jesse K. Stork * * * Civil War * * * Peter Altmeyer • John Andry • Cornelius Anspach • Carl Arckenoe • Andrew Armstrong • Marcus L. Banta • John Baudendistel • Thomas Beare • Frederick Beck • Theodore E. Bissey • William Bockman • George F. Carter • . . . — Map (db m47497) WM
Indiana (Dubois County), Jasper — Site of First Court House - School
From 1830 until it burned in 1839, a log building on this site served as the first Court house in Jasper and as the first school, which was taught by Simon Morgan, the County Clerk. — Map (db m47410) HM
Indiana (Elkhart County), Benton — Jackson Cemetery — Cemetery Heritage
Jackson Cemetery Established 1827 A Historic Cemetery Listed in Indiana's Cemetery and Burial Grounds Registry of the Indiana Department of Natural Resources Installed 2005 Indiana Historical Bureau and William Tuffs Chapter Daughters of the American Revolution and Elkhart County Genealogical Society Map (db m68575) HM
Indiana (Elkhart County), Benton — Site Of The First School House In Elkhart County
This stone marks the site of the first school house in Elkhart County built of oak logs in 1830 — Map (db m44809) HM
Indiana (Elkhart County), Bristol — Bonneyville Cemetery — Cemetery Heritage
Bonneyville Cemetery Established 1848 A Historic Cemetery Listed in Indiana's Cemetery and Burial Grounds Registry of the Indiana Department of Natural Resources Installed 2005 Indiana Historical Bureau and William Tuffs Chapter, Daughters of the American Revolution Map (db m68707) HM
Indiana (Elkhart County), Bristol — Cathcart Cemetery — Cemetery Heritage
Cathcart Cemetery Established circa 1834 A Historic Cemetery Listed in Indiana's Cemetery and Burial Grounds Registry of the Indiana Department of Natural Resources Installed 2005 Indiana Historical Bureau and William Tuffs Chapter Daughters of the American Revolution and Elkhart County Historical Society, Inc. Map (db m68706) HM
Indiana (Elkhart County), Bristol — Cathcart Memorial / Nicholson Memorial
(Side One) Buried in this cemetery were two soldiers. Befitting the honor due and so that future generations will always know this marker was dedicated July 4th 1956 by Charles W. Harker Post 143, American Legion, Bristol, Indiana. Robert Cathcart Revolutionary War Solider Died after 31 March 1834 Age 86 James Cathcart Died April 1839 Prenina Leonard Cathcart 1791 - 1877 (Side Two) Nicholson Buried in this cemetery were many persons, . . . — Map (db m68708) HM
Indiana (Elkhart County), Bristol — 20.2007.1 — Graves et al v. Indiana
Side One: In 1847, three Kentucky men tried to capture Thomas Harris, fugitive slave in Bristol; a justice of the peace ruling freed Harris, who fled. In 1848, the Elkhart Circuit Court convicted the three men of causing a riot in 1847. In 1849, Indiana Supreme Court reversed Circuit Court based on 1842 Prigg v. Pennsylvania decision of U.S. Supreme Court. Side Two: This incident is an example of local judicial officers countering a pro-slavery federal decision. The . . . — Map (db m30744) HM
Indiana (Elkhart County), Bristol — Trout Creek Cemetery — Cemetery Heritage
Trout Creek Cemetery Established circa 1850 A Historic Cemetery Listed in Indiana's Cemetery and Burial Grounds Registry of the Indiana Department of Natural Resources Installed 2005 Indiana Historical Bureau and Elkhart County Genealogical Society and Joyce A. Bellows Map (db m68638) HM
Indiana (Elkhart County), Bristol — William Tuffs Memorial
. . . — Map (db m68709) HM
Indiana (Elkhart County), Elkhart — 20.1998.2 — Ambrose G. Bierce
Born in Ohio 1842; family moved to Kosciusko County, Indiana 1846. Bierce lived and worked in Elkhart 1860-1861. Union officer wounded in Civil War. Moved to California 1866; became nationally prominent as journalist, short story writer, and critic. Assumed dead, circa 1914, on a trip to Mexico. This property purchased 1870 by his parents. — Map (db m44852) HM
Indiana (Elkhart County), Elkhart — Bucklen Opera House — 1884 - 1986 — Elkhart, Heritage of the City With a Heart
Bucklen Opera House 1884 - 1986 Main and Harrison Streets Commissioned by: Herbert E. Bucklen Architect: Unknown General Contractor: Unknown The Bucklen Opera House, built in 1884 on the northwest corner of Main and Harrison streets, had a seating capacity of 1,200, and was the scene of many memorable events. In addition to featuring such famous stars as Houdini and singer Jenny Lind (the Swedish nightingale), the Opera House was frequently used by dramatic, vaudeville, . . . — Map (db m64642) HM
Indiana (Elkhart County), Elkhart — 20.2006.1 — C.G. Conn Company
Side One: Charles Gerard Conn began the musical instrument industry in Elkhart; city has been called the Band Industry Capital of the World. By 1874 producing rubber mouthpiece; was granted patent 1875; began producing musical instruments 1875. Factory here until 1910. C.G. Conn Company incorporated 1904. Conn sold business to Carl D. Greenleaf 1915. Continued on other side Side Two: Continued from other side Innovations by C.G. Conn, . . . — Map (db m30747) HM
Indiana (Elkhart County), Elkhart — 20.2009.1 — Charles Gordone
Born in Ohio, 1925, Gordone grew up in Elkhart and graduated from Elkhart High School in 1944. In the 1950s, he moved to New York City where he worked as an actor, director, and playwright. During the 1960s, he acted in the award-winning off-Broadway play, The Blacks, and worked to ensure more opportunities for blacks in the entertainment industry. (Continued on other side) (Continued from other side) In 1970, Gordone won national acclaim as the first African American to win the . . . — Map (db m32734) HM
Indiana (Elkhart County), Elkhart — Development of Diagnostic Test Strips — Elkhart, Indiana - 1956
A Miles Laboratories research team led by Alfred and Helen Free developed the first diagnostic test strip, Clinistix(R), for detecting glucose in urine. Reagent-impregnated strips changed color based on the concentration of glucose. This breakthrough led to additional dip-and-read tests for proteins and other substances. Subsequently, researchers devised a method to combine several tests on one strip to provide healthcare professionals with simple, immediate tools to aid in the detection of . . . — Map (db m64643) HM
Indiana (Elkhart County), Elkhart — 20.2007.2 — Dr. Franklin L. Miles
Side one: Born circa 1845 in Ohio. Graduated from Rush Medical College 1874. Moved medical practice from Chicago to Elkhart 1875. Began The Dr. Miles Medical Company 1885 to sell Dr. Miles' Nervine, Restorative Nerve and Liver pills, and other medicines; Miles was a Director and President of company. Purchased land here, on corner of Fourth and Franklin, 1900.

Side two: Began Dr. Miles New U.S. Weather Almanac and Handbook of Valuable Information 1902. Incorporated . . . — Map (db m44877) HM

Indiana (Elkhart County), Elkhart — 20.2006.2 — E. Hill Turnock
(Side one): Added many buildings to the architectural significance of Elkhart, Goshen, and Nappanee. Born mid-1850s in England; his family moved to Elkhart early 1870s. In mid-1880s he moved to Chicago; worked until 1890 with architect William Le Baron Jenney. Began private practice 1890; Chicago designs include noted apartment building, Lincoln Park Palace. (Side two): He returned to Elkhart 1907; until his death 1926, designed public and private buildings here and . . . — Map (db m32728) HM
Indiana (Elkhart county), Elkhart — Elkhart Carnegie Public Library — 1903 - 1963 — Elkhart, Heritage of the City With a Heart
Elkhart Carnegie Public Library 1903-1963 Second and High Streets Local Financial Supporters: A.H. Beardsley, G.B. Pratt, Sr. And the City of Elkhart Head Librarian: Katherine Sage In February 1901, backed by a promise from the Elkhart City Council of property and on going financial support, two Elkhart businessmen, A.H. Beardsley and G.B. Pratt, Sr. secured a promise of $30,000 from New York industrialist Andrew Carnegie to construct the first Elkhart public library. Mr. . . . — Map (db m75445) HM
Indiana (Elkhart County), Elkhart — Elkhart County Revolutionary Soldiers Memorial
Erected by The William Tuffs Chapter National Society Daughters of the American Revolution In Honor of the Revolutionary Soldiers Buried in Elkhart County William Tuffs • Walter Denny • John Proctor • Jacob Leer • John R. Cathcart Dedicated July 4, 1932 Rededicated July 4, 2004 — Map (db m75444) WM
Indiana (Elkhart County), Elkhart — Elkhart High School — 1910 - 1972 — Elkhart, Heritage of the City With a Heart
Elkhart High School 1910-1972 Second and High Streets Architect: E. Hill Turnock Superintendent: E.H. Drake Principal: S.B. McCracken Elkhart High School was designed and built to match the existing Central School Building (bottom photo), creating a unified pair of buildings covering the whole block of High St. between Second and Third Streets. Central School became a junior high school in 1911 and remained until 1952 when Northside Junior High opened. The building . . . — Map (db m75446) HM
Indiana (Elkhart County), Elkhart — Elkhart River Wharves
East from this point, along the "Elkheart" River were located the wharves where produce and merchandise to and from the village of "Elkheart", 1835 to 1851, was carried by Keel and Steamboat. — Map (db m61185) HM
Indiana (Elkhart County), Elkhart — Havilah Beardsley — 1795 – 1856
In Honor of Havilah Beardsley. 1795 – 1856 First physician of this township who purchased Section five of the Indians in 1829, and in 1832 laid out the original plat of Elkhart. Built the first saw mill in 1831; the first flour mill in 1832; the first carding mill in 1835; the second flour mill in 1845; the first paper mill in 1847. Erected by his nephew Albert R. Beardsley 1913 — Map (db m73147) HM
Indiana (Elkhart County), Elkhart — Island Park
Island Park was given to the City of Elkhart in the Year 1887 by James Rufus Beardsley It has been passed down through early Indian legions that the form of this island resembled an elk's heart - it is very probable, that from this source our city derived its name — Map (db m69774) HM
Indiana (Elkhart County), Elkhart — Lou Criger
This memorial is dedicated to the life of Lou Criger Born in Elkhart, Ind., Feb. 6, 1872 to Charles J. and Lovina Stutsman Criger, the city's first major leaguer was known as one of the best catchers of his day and caught most of Cy Young's 511 victories from 1897-1908. Criger led the American League in assists in 1903 and 1905. He led the AL in games caught, double plays, and total fielding chances. Lou was on the winning side for Boston (AL) in the first World Series in 1903. The . . . — Map (db m67096) HM
Indiana (Elkhart County), Elkhart — Main St. Memorial Bridge
Main St. Memorial Bridge 1917   • Dedicated •   1918 To the Sons of Elkhart County Who Died in the World War Fravel Edward Alleman • Charles O. Anderson • Eugene J. Badina • John H. Berkey • Fred Leroy Bloom • Merrill Charles Bloss • Forrest F. Blough • Arthur D. Buss • Delbert Francis Callender • Guy L. Caton • George F. Coggan • James Raymond Conley • Ferris Cunningham • John W. Davidhizer • Harry James Davis • Harold E. Densmore • John L. Dykstra • Louis Enders • George . . . — Map (db m73150) WM
Indiana (Elkhart County), Elkhart — The History of Boot Lake
An Icy Beginning Millions of years ago Elkhart was covered by glaciers. The Glaciers moved south, eroding the land collecting glacial drift. 9,000 BC The glaciers eventually began to retreat north, leaving behind their glacial drift. Elkhart is covered in 122 feet of this drift. 9,000 BC - Kettle Lakes Some parts of the glacier took longer to retreat, settling into clay and forming lakes known as kettle lakes. These lakes have no inlets and are only fed by . . . — Map (db m68532) HM
Indiana (Elkhart County), Elkhart — The Rivers and the Native Americans — Our Rivers' Story
The Early Inhabitants of the Valley Centuries before the area was settled by whites, at least two different native tribes inhabited the St Joseph Valley. The Miami The Miami were the first recorded tribe known to have lived in the valley before 1668. The main village was located east of the St. Joseph River at the present day site of Niles, Michigan. Other villages were recorded in present day South Bend and Waterford Mills, Indiana. The Miami were present when, in . . . — Map (db m69777) HM
Indiana (Elkhart County), Elkhart — The Rivers for Industry — Our Rivers' Story
The Hydraulics      Elkhart's early development as an industrial city can be attributed to its proximity to several waterways. Before the advent of electric power, the early industry pioneers harnessed the power of the river flow to provide the energy to their machinery. By using a system called "Hydraulics" the mills would open gates to the headrace allowing water to flow into penstocks which housed turbines.. The turbine's fins were opened allowing water to pass through the fins . . . — Map (db m69752) HM
Indiana (Elkhart County), Elkhart — The Rivers for Recreation — Our Rivers' Story
Island Park      The island formed by the confluence of the Elkhart and St. Joseph Rivers could be said to be the birthplace of our community. According to folklore, the Native Americans living in the area named the Elkhart River, Mishiwa-Teki-Sipiwi (Heart of a Stag) because the island resembled an Elk's heart. No matter if the tale is true, what is most important is the island's beautiful setting between these graceful flowing rivers.      When the village of Elkhart was first . . . — Map (db m69775) HM
Indiana (Elkhart County), Elkhart — Village of Pulaski
Pulaski post office established here 1829. Fort Wayne Road, to Chicago-Detroit Road and Niles, forded the river at this point. Village of Elkhart was laid out in 1832 and post office name changed to Elkhart in 1839. — Map (db m69729) HM
Indiana (Elkhart County), Goshen — A History of the Winona — Winona Railway Trail
In the early 1900's, Indiana had more miles of electric train lines than any other state in the United States. The lines blossomed primarily at Indianapolis, radiating out to transport people and goods to and from the bustling city. Indianapolis lines ran only as far north as Peru and northern Indiana lines ran only as far south as Goshen. A link between the two quickly became necessary. In 1910, the link was created: the Winona Interurban Railway Company connected Goshen, Warsaw and Peru . . . — Map (db m74203) HM
Indiana (Elkhart County), Goshen — A History of the Winona / Bethany Christian Schools — Winona Railway Trail
(Side One) A History of the Winona In the early 1900's, Indiana had more miles of electric train lines than any other state in the United States. The lines blossomed primarily at Indianapolis, radiating out to transport people and goods to and from the bustling city. Indianapolis lines ran only as far north as Peru and northern Indiana lines ran only as far south as Goshen. A link between the two quickly became necessary. In 1910, the link was created: the Winona . . . — Map (db m70504) HM
Indiana (Elkhart County), Goshen — 20.1997.1 — A. E. Kunderd Gladiolus Farm
Amos E. Kunderd (1866 - 1965) owned and resided on a 100-acre farm on this site. Respected internationally for hybridization of varieties of gladioli which were exhibited, and grown in gardens, throughout the world. Originated the ruffled and laciniated types. His floricultural business, operated 1911-1971, was important to the area economy. — Map (db m30161) HM
Indiana (Elkhart County), Goshen — Buffalo & Mississippi Railroad — Pumpkinvine Nature Trail
On February 21st, 1837, the Buffalo & Mississippi Railroad first met in South Bend, Indiana to discuss the development of a rail system that would connect the county seats between Chicago, Illinois and Toledo, Ohio. After the State of Indiana denied the funding, the project was delayed for many years. When the Buffalo & Mississippi Railroad merged with the Michigan Southern Railroad in 1850, a round house was built in Goshen to accommodate the railroad's scheduled one train per week. The . . . — Map (db m72700) HM
Indiana (Elkhart County), Goshen — 20.2001.2 — Elkhart County Courthouse
Side 1: Elkhart County was formed by the Indiana General Assembly 1830; the first county seat was located in Concord Township. County commissioners relocated the county seat to Goshen 1831. Jacob Studebaker, Goshen, designed first brick courthouse, completed 1833. Barrows and Garnsey, Chicago, designed second brick courthouse, completed 1870. (Continued on other side) Side 2: (Continued from other side) Patton and Miller, Chicago, . . . — Map (db m30157) HM
Indiana (Elkhart County), Goshen — Elkhart County Courthouse — Millrace Canal Trail
Considered to be one of the most attractive county buildings in the State of Indiana, the Elkhart County Courthouse is also one of the oldest buildings in Goshen. The original courthouse was built in 1831 by Jacob Studebaker, who (it is said) walked to Dayton, Ohio from Goshen to copy plans of the Dayton Courthouse, which he remembered admiring previously. In 1868, the original courthouse was razed to make room for a new structure, which was grander in scale and featured a clock tower on . . . — Map (db m64233) HM
Indiana (Elkhart County), Goshen — Elkhart County Home Cemetery — Cemetery Heritage
Elkhart County Home Cemetery Established 1887 A Historic Cemetery listed in Indiana's Cemetery and Burial Grounds Registry of the Indiana Department of Natural Resources Installed 2004 Indiana Historical Bureau, Elkhart County Genealogical Society, and Patricia K. Johnson Map (db m68362) HM
Indiana (Elkhart County), Goshen — Elkhart County Honor Roll
(( Center Plaque )) This Memorial Dedicated by The Citizens of Elkhart County to perpetuate the memory of our Valiant Citizens who sacrificed their lives for God and Country and Honoring those who served in our Armed Forces * * * World War I * * * ( Row One ) Fravel E. Alleman ▫ Charles D. Anderson ▫ Eugene J. Badine ▫ ~ ▫ Merrill C. Bloss ▫ Merrill C. Bloss ▫ Forrest F. Blough ▫ Guy L. Caton ▫ . . . — Map (db m68805) WM
Indiana (Elkhart County), Goshen — Fort Wayne Street Bridge
This property has been placed on the National Register of Historic Places by the United States Department of the Interior September 15, 2005 Fort Wayne Street Bridge c. 1896 — Map (db m72673) HM
Indiana (Elkhart County), Goshen — Goshen College — Winona Railway Trail
Goshen College began as the Elkhart Institute of Science, Industry and the Arts on Elkhart's South Main Street in 1894, but moved to the Maple City and changed its name in 1903; the location chosen was easily accessible to rail transportation. The college has expanded from two buildings to twenty and annually enrolls more than one thousand students in over seventy fields of study. In the Anabaptist-Mennonite peace church tradition, the National Liberal Arts College is known for academic . . . — Map (db m72592) HM
Indiana (Elkhart County), Goshen — Goshen World War I Memorial
In Memory of the
Heroes of Goshen Who died in the World War — Map (db m72591) WM
Indiana (Elkhart County), Goshen — 20.2003.1 — Goshen’s Carnegie Library
Side A Indiana's first Carnegie library opened here 1903 with 3, 000 volumes. Goshen Library Association received $25, 000 in Carnegie grants 1901. Public donations, land purchase, and tax levy met Carnegie grant conditions. Architects Patton & Miller, Chicago, designed Beaux-Arts style structure. Library moved 1968; commercial and nonprofit uses followed. Side B Listed in National Register of Historic Places 1983. Renovated building reopened 2001housing city offices. . . . — Map (db m32724) HM
Indiana (Elkhart County), Goshen — 20.1998.1 — Howard W. Hawks
Born 1896 in house on this site into locally prominent family. Moved with parents to Neenah, Wisconsin 1899 and to Pasadena, California 1906. Hawks - director, producer, screenwriter - is recognized as one of Hollywood's greatest filmmakers. His more than forty-six movies include fine examples of traditional film genres, both comedy and drama. Died 1977. — Map (db m30407) HM
Indiana (Elkhart County), Goshen — 20.1966.1 — Indiana Territory Line
The boundary between Indiana and Michigan territories was established in 1805. Just before Indiana became a state in 1816, the line was moved ten miles north to give Indiana frontage on Lake Michigan. — Map (db m44849) HM
Indiana (Elkhart County), Goshen — Madison Street School and Chandler School — Central City Trail
The current Chandler School is located on the site of the former Madison Street School, one of Goshen's first schools, opened in 1849. Miss Emma Chandler was the first principal from 1871 to 1898. In 1874, a four room addition was completed, but the school burned to the ground the next year. A new high school was rebuilt on the site in 1875 for $20,000. The new Chandler School was constructed in 1948 and a new addition and renovation was completed in 1992. The area surrounding the school . . . — Map (db m69804) HM
Indiana (Elkhart County), Goshen — Millrace Hydraulic Canal - Hawks Electric Company — Millrace Canal Trail
Built as a source of hydraulic power for Goshen's industries, the Millrace Canal gave rise to a new form of energy in the late 1890's - electricity. In 1898 the energy of the canal was harnessed by the Hawks Electric Company's central generating station, located on this site. The plant supplied electricity for Goshen, Middlebury, Millersburg, Benton, New Paris, Wakarusa, Bremen, Syracuse, and Milford. Also containing an auxiliary steam plant to generate electricity when water power was . . . — Map (db m64232) HM
Indiana (Elkhart County), Goshen — Oakridge Cemetery
The earliest known burials at Oakridge date to 1832. The trustees of First Church founded the cemetery in 1839. It was ceded to the City of Goshen in 1859. — Map (db m72699) HM
Indiana (Elkhart County), Goshen — Pioneer Dierdorff Cemetery Folk Lore
The folk lore concerning this cemetery has been handed down through generations by word of mouth. Most of it has proved to be factual through the efforts of Gordon Treesh, who researched old records and diaries. This is not a family cemetery, all but nine members of the Dierdorff family are buried here. Mrs. mary Dierdorff Treesh is the last person to carry the Dierdorff name; and since the cemetery has been located on her family land for six generations, it has come to be known as . . . — Map (db m74217) HM
Indiana (Elkhart County), Goshen — Shanklin Park — Millrace Canal Trail
Established in 1958, Shanklin Park was named after respected Goshen High School English teacher, Merle Shanklin. Formerly serving as the site of Goshen's landfill, the park has grown into the city's largest and most popular park. Located within the floodplain of the Elkhart River between the river and the Millrace Canal, the 90 acre park contains a diverse mixture of open areas, wetlands, and wet woodlands. As the centerpiece of the Goshen parks system, Shanklin Park provides a wide . . . — Map (db m68836) HM
Indiana (Elkhart County), Goshen — St. John's Lutheran Church
St. John's Lutheran Church Built 1852 Has been placed on the National Register of Historic Places By the United States Department of the Interior — Map (db m74199) HM
Indiana (Elkhart County), Goshen — The County Farm
Ox Bow Park was once the site of the County Farm. The farm provided a residence for those who could not support themselves. Residents helped run the farm, grew food and generated income. The Elkhart County Farm The Elkhart County Farm was built in 1886. The facility included the home, two barns, a hog lot, corncrib, implement storage buildings, pastures and agricultural fields. Residents helped with the farm, livestock and garden operations. In return, those living at the home . . . — Map (db m73482) HM
Indiana (Elkhart County), Goshen — The Engines of the Winona — Winona Railway Trail
The Winona Interurban Railway once ran along this corridor. The passenger and freight service was initially powered by electricity and later by internal-combustion engines until its demise. The Winona Interurban Railway was created just as electric trains were replacing steam engine trains throughout the United States. Electricity could now be generated in a power house by either a steam-powered or hydro-powered turbine. It could then be transferred through wires to either an overhead . . . — Map (db m69803) HM
Indiana (Elkhart County), Goshen — The Goshen Dam and Millrace Hydraulic Canal — Millrace Canal Trail
Construction of the Goshen Dam and Millrace Canal began in March of 1867 and was completed on April 18, 1868, the same day Goshen was incorporated as a city. The project was built by a 40 man crew using horses and plows to excavate the canal bed. The west bank was formed with the dirt from the excavation. The project cost a total of $100,000. The building on the canal ushered in a new era of industrialization in Goshen and a number of firms sprang up along the canal's banks to take . . . — Map (db m64230) HM
250 markers matched your search criteria.
Click to map all markers shown on this page.
Click First to browse through the results shown on this page.   First >> 


•••
More Search Options
 
Markers
Near You

 
Categories

 
States & Provinces

 
Counties
Click to List


 
Countries

Page composed
in 328 ms.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
To search within this page, hold down the Ctrl key and press F.
On an Apple computer,
hold down the Apple key and press F.