|Louisiana (Acadia Parish), Rayne — Jacques Weil Company|
|Jacques Weil and brothers, Edmond and Gontran, came to Rayne from Paris in 1901 and established a mercantile business that shipped frogs to restaurants and universities across the country. The business became a landmark in the area, expanding the unique frogging industry into gigantic proportions - exporting as much as 10,000 pounds of frog legs in a week. — Map (db m68710) HM|
|Louisiana (Acadia Parish), Richard — Acadamy Baptist Acadamy|
|The Acadiana Baptist Academy once occupied these buildings and grounds. The school was founded in 1917 by the Pilgrim Rest Baptist Church and the Southern Baptist Home Mission Board. Its purpose was to provide Christian Education and training for individuals involved in ministry. In 1922 the control was transferred to the Louisiana Baptist Convention. Hardships caused by fire, inadequate finances and equipment did not deter the Academy from accomplishing its mission. The school closed in 1973, . . . — Map (db m49028) HM|
|Louisiana (Bienville Parish), Gibsland — Clyde Barrow and Bonnie Parker|
|This site May 23 1934
were killed by
law enforcement officials
Bienville Parish Police Jury — Map (db m66943) HM|
|Louisiana (Concordia Parish), Frogmore — Frogmore Mound — Ancient Mounds Trail|
|Frogmore is an Indian mound and village site that dates to about AD 700-1200. The mound is rectangular and was built in two separate episodes. It is 14 feet high, 157 by 190 feet at the base, and 60 by 72 feet at the summit. The mound was built within the village area. — Map (db m10581) HM|
|Louisiana (Concordia Parish), Vidalia — Relocation of Vidalia — 1938–1939|
|"Vidalia, a City on the Move!" is the slogan which has, in recent years, signified a progressive town surging ever forward. But, in 1938, it meant something entirely different to Vidalians as they literally moved their town from the banks of the Mississippi River one mile inland to accomodate navigation and flooding issues on the river.
Two U.S. Corps of Engineers projects, the Giles Point Cut-off in 1935 just north of Vidalia, followed by the need to widen the river between Natchez and . . . — Map (db m10582) HM|
|Louisiana (Concordia Parish), Vidalia — Sidney A. Murray, Jr., Hydroelectric Station — 1990|
|In 1990, construction of the largest prefabricated power plant in the world, the Sidney A. Murray, Jr., Hydroelectric Station, was completed 40 miles south of Vidalia. It was the vision of Mayor Sidney A. Murray, Jr. to harness the power of the Mississippi River and to stabilize energy rates for the citizens of the Town of Vidalia.
The first hydroelectric generating station in the State of Louisiana was developed jointly by the Catalyst-Vidalia Corp. and Dominion Capital, Inc. which . . . — Map (db m10583) HM|
|Louisiana (East Baton Rouge Parish), Baton Rouge — Civil War Battle of Baton Rouge — 1862|
|On August 5, 1862, Confederate Divisions of Generals Charles C. Clark and Donald Ruggles under General John C. Breckinridge attacked Federal forces of General Thomas Williams among the tent camps of the 21st Indiana and 7th Vermont Regiments. Williams was killed near here. His troops fell back to positions nearer the Mississippi River reinforced by Federal gunboats. — Map (db m43075) HM|
|Louisiana (East Baton Rouge Parish), Baton Rouge — USCGC White Alder|
| Panel 1:
USCGC WHITE ALDER/WLM-541
7 December 1968
In memory and honor
of those shipmates who loyally served
the United States Coast Guard
onboard the CGC WHITE ALDER.
They gave they gave the ultimate sacrifice.
On December 7, 1968, the USCGC WHITE ALDER, a
132 foot buoy tender, had finished a long hard day’s
work by successfully decommissioning 22 low water buoys.
At 6:29 pm, bound for her homeport of New Orleans with
a mere 14 hours to go, the WHITE . . . — Map (db m40998) HM|
|Louisiana (Franklin Parish), Winnsboro — Franklin Parish|
|Franklin Parish was created on March 1, 1843, from portions of Ouachita, Catahoula, and Madison Parishes by Act 41 of the State Legislature sponsored by John Winn. Land for the centrally-located Parish Seat, "Winnsborough" was purchased in 1844 and the first courthouse was built here on a favorite site of bear hunters. — Map (db m51634) HM|
|Louisiana (Grant Parish), Colfax — Colfax Riot|
| On this site occurred the Colfax Riot in which three white men and 150 negroes were slain. This event on April 13, 1873, marked the end of carpetbag misrule in the South. — Map (db m34602) HM|
|Louisiana (Iberia Parish), Avery Island — Factory — McIlhenny Company — Tabasco|
|Edmund McIlhenny concocted the now famous TABASCO brand pepper sauce in a wooden frame building called the “Laboratory” on the Homestead grounds of the Avery McIlhenny family. A factory built in the early 1900’s replaced the Laboratory as demand for the pepper sauce grew.
The present 70,000 square-foot factory built in 1978 and its style was based on the old factory. In 1988 another 40,000 square feet was added to the building and the old turn-of-century factory was renovated for office space. — Map (db m62015) HM|
|Louisiana (Iberia Parish), New Iberia — First Rock Salt Mine|
|Salt evaporated from brine springs on Avery Island since 1791. On May 4, 1862, workmen enlarging these springs to produce more salt for the Confederacy hit solid salt at a depth of 16 feet. Mining operations, the first of this type in North America, were begun and continued until destruction of the salt works on April 17, 1863 by Union forces. — Map (db m71628) HM|
|Louisiana (Iberia Parish), New Iberia — Mt. Carmel Academy|
|An educational institution for girls established in 1872 by the Sisters of Mt. Carmel. The order was founded in 1825 in Tours, France. The old building which is nearest Bayou Teche was constructed by Henry F. Duperier in 1826. — Map (db m49066) HM|
|Louisiana (Jefferson Parish), Grand Isle — Cheniere Caminada Cemetery|
|Settled by indians,"Isle of the Chitamichas" was later owned by Francisco Caminada. Known as "Chico Isle", as "Chita", as Caminadaville. It was home to pirates, fishermen and farmers. On Oct. 1,1893, a fast moving, late season hurricane from the southwestern gulf swept in winds, a tidal surge and waves that destroyed all but 13 of over 300 family homes and killed over 750 of the 1500 inhabitants. Some were swept out to sea. Most were buried in mass graves in this cemetery. Some surviving . . . — Map (db m62038) HM|
|Louisiana (Jefferson Parish), Harvey — Harvey Castle Site|
|Built in 1844, Harvey Castle was the Gothic Revival home of Marie Louise Destrehan and her husband Joseph Hale Harvey. It served as the third courthouse of Jefferson Parish, 1874-1884. Located east side of Destrehan Avenue 450 feet north of railroad. Demolished in 1924 to enlarge Harvey Canal and Locks. — Map (db m52725) HM|
|Louisiana (Lafayette Parish), Broussard — St. Cecilia School|
|Dedicated August 25, 1909, by Fr. Arthur Drossaerts, Pastor of Sacred Heart church in Broussard, and opened on September 15, 1909 with an enrollment of seventy students. Accredited ass an elementary and secondary school by the State Department of Education in 1922. The High School department closed in 1964 by order of the Bishop of Lafayette in a movement to consolidate Catholic High Schools in Lafayette Parish. The Sisters of Divine Providence administered the school until 1974. The main . . . — Map (db m49294) HM|
|Louisiana (Lafayette Parish), Lafayette — Bayou Vermilion|
|Battle of Pinhook Bridge April 17, 1863 Battle of Bayou Vermilion October 9, 1863 We honor the memory of those soldiers who valiantly fought on these banks. — Map (db m49059) HM|
|Louisiana (Lafayette Parish), Lafayette — Cathedral-Carmel School|
|Established in 1846. A combination of Mount Carmel Academy and Cathedral School. Operated by the Cathedral of St. John the Evangelist Parish in the Diocese of Lafayette. Affiliated with the Sisters of Our Lady of Mt. Carmel and the De La Salle Christian Brothers. A tradition in excellent Catholic education. — Map (db m49062) HM|
|Louisiana (Lafayette Parish), Lafayette — General Alfred Mouton|
|1829-1864. Confederate Brigadier general from Lafayette who served in Shiloh, Lafourche, Teche, and Red River campaigns. Killed at Mansfield, leading Confederacy to its most important military victory west of the Mississippi. — Map (db m49063) HM|
|Louisiana (Lafayette Parish), Lafayette — Gilbert du Motier, Marquis de La Fayette — 1757 - 1834|
|Sculpture by Charles Correia. Cast by Shidoni Foundry. Erected by the Lafayette Centennial Commission on July 2, 1987 as a gift to the people of Lafayette, Louisiana following the celebration of the centennial of the city's name change in 1884 from Vermilionville to Lafayette.
Hommage des habitants de Lafayette Louisiane, au Marquis de la Fayette, 6 Septembre 2007
A Tribute from the people of Lafayette Louisiana to the Marquis de la Fayette September 6, 2007. — Map (db m68722) HM|
|Louisiana (Lafayette Parish), Lafayette — La Place Des Créoles — Lifting Up The Créole Community|
|Founded March 18, 1991, to preserve and promote the history and culture of the Créoles (African-Americans) of the area. — Map (db m49064) HM|
|Louisiana (Lafayette Parish), Lafayette — Pillars of Progress — Desegregation of SLI|
|On September 15, 1953, Clara Dell Constantine, Martha Jane Conway, Charles Vincent Singleton, and Shirley Taylor attempted to enroll at Southwestern Louisiana Institute, now known as the University of Louisiana at Lafayette. They were denied, due to their race. On their behalf, attorneys Thurgood Marshall, a future appointee to the U.S. Supreme Court, and civil rights pioneer A.P. Tureaud filed a class action complaint in U.S. District Court for the Western District of Louisiana on January 4, . . . — Map (db m66243) HM|
|Louisiana (Lafayette Parish), Lafayette — The Cathedral of Saint John the Evangelist|
|First church in Lafayette Parish was "l'Eglise St Jean de Vermilion." Built on a gift of this site by Jean Mouton, 1821. In 1824 he donated land for a court house and founded Vermilionville (Lafayette).
(Reverse): La premiere eglise de la paroisse de Lafayette fut "I'Eglise St-Jean du Vermilion". Elle fut elevee en 1821 sur ce site offert par Jean Mouton. En 1824, il fit don d'un terrain pour un tribunal et fonda Vermilionville (Lafayette). — Map (db m49293) HM|
|Louisiana (Lincoln Parish), Dubach — Autrey House|
|Autrey House - Built 1849 - Oldest restored dogtrot log house in Lincoln Parish. Built on 200 acres by Absalom Autrey and his wife Elizabeth Norris Autrey after they moved from Selma, Alabama in 1848. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, October 10, 1980. — Map (db m23649) HM|
|Louisiana (Madison Parish), Taliulah — Battle for the Mississippi: The Vicksburg Campaign|
| The fall of New Orleans in April1862,
capped the beginning of an 18-month drive
to control Vicksburg and the Mississippi River.
The fight for this strategic location was arduous.
Vicksburg, sitting high atop bluffs, was protected
by artillery and a maze of bayous. Confederate
river fortifications interrupted the flow of
Northern troops, supplies and commerce.
Driving southward from Tennessee and
northward from the Gulf, Federal troops
forced the surrender of . . . — Map (db m60227) HM|
|Louisiana (Madison Parish), Taliulah — Grant's March Thru Louisiana|
| Grant's March Map included
Winter Quarters, the country home of Haller and Julia
Nutt, is the only plantation home along Lake Saint Joseph
that survived the Vicksburg campaign. The Nutts were
Union sympathizers who offered hospitality to Union
soldiers at Winter Quarters. I return they recieved "letters
of protection" from Ulysses S. Grant, which spared their
home from the devastation levied by advancing Union
troops under the orders . . . — Map (db m60239) HM|
|Louisiana (Madison Parish), Tallulah — Battle of Milliken’s Bend|
|At daybreak on June 7, 1863, Gen. H. E. McCulloch led his Texas Brigade against the Union force which guarded the Union supply depot at Milliken’s Bend. In the savage fighting which ensued, the Confederates drove the Federals from their camp. While many of the Texans stopped to plunder the encampment, the Federals took cover behind a levee fronting the river. Here, supported by fire of the ironclad “Choctaw”, the Federals were able to check the Confederates. McCulloch withdrew. This . . . — Map (db m34798) HM|
|Louisiana (Natchitoches Parish), Natchez — Old Plauche Place / Ducournau Plantation|
This c. 1836 center hill Creole cottage is of poteaux sur sole, (hand-hewn pegged cypress sills on brick piers)and bousillage construction on the 1780s land grand to Claude Pierre Thomas Metoyer. The lower 68 acres given to a free woman of color, Coincoin, mother to his 10 Franco-African children, genesis to Isle Brevelle and builders of Melrose Plantation and St. Augustine Church. Pierre and his French wife, Marie Therese Buard, had three children who intermarried with the . . . — Map (db m70645) HM|
|Louisiana (Natchitoches Parish), Natchitoches — Colonial Gateway Corral|
|First sighted by St. Denis and Bienville in 1700, this hill was later St. Denis' vacherie. Here three paths met. From the Spanish West came cattle and horses; eastward were his home and the route of flatboats to New Orleans. A road wound North to the Fort. — Map (db m66241) HM|
|Louisiana (Natchitoches Parish), Natchitoches — El Camino Real — King's Highway — Old San Antonio Trace|
|Traveled by St. Denis in 1714
from Natchitoches to the Rio Grande
Natchitoches, the oldest town in La.,
was established in 1714 — Map (db m69237) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — "Oven" Vaults|
|To the left, along the aisle, is a row of burial crypts which also served as the wall of the cemetery on Basin Street, Because if their arched shape the were commonly known as “oven” vaults.
Constructed probably in the middle of the nineteenth century these vaults are historically significant for their efficient use of the land and because they foreshadowed the modern mausoleum which has become popular in the middle of the twentieth century.
The location of these vaults was once . . . — Map (db m51640) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — 700 South Peters|
|Built in 1910-11 for the
Orleans Manufacturing Company.
This historic structure is
architecturally significant to
the Historic Warehouse District,
listed in the National Register
of Historic Places. — Map (db m54330) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — 8 in. Columbaid Cannon|
|This 8 in. Columbaid, cast of Alabama iron by the Confederates at Selma, Ala. was mounted in Spanish Fort, Mobile Bay.
The Fifth Company Slocomb's Battery Battalion Washington Artillery of New Orleans, during the siege of that fort by the U.S. forces under Gen. E. R.S. Canby along served this piece until it was disabled on the tenth day of the siege April 4th, 1865, by the concentrated fire of more than twenty five opposing guns. Thirteen of the company fell dead or wounded around it. . . . — Map (db m38901) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Adams – Jones House|
|Erected for John I. Adams, merchant, who in 1860 purchased this part of the former plantation of Jacques Francois de Livaudais, built this house and made his residence here until 1896.
Subsequent family ownerships were
Ferdinand Reusch – 1889-1921
Mrs. William Preston Johnston – 1921-1926
Woodruff George – 1926-1961
Restored 1961-62 by Mrs. Hamilton Polk Jones — Map (db m51518) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Archbishop Antoine Blanc Memorial|
|This memorial is a complex of private property of the Catholic Church of New Orleans.
Located on the grounds are several buildings of which the most notable is the OLD URSULINE CONVENT – ARCHIEPISCOPAL RESIDENCE erected by order of King Louis XV of France in 1745. It is the oldest building of record in the entire Mississippi Valley.
In 1824 the property was deeded by the Ursuline nuns to the Catholic bishops of New Orleans, the main building to serve as their residence, administrative . . . — Map (db m51313) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Audubon Room|
|This typical creole cottage probably built before 1813, is considered the traditional site of the studio of famed naturalist painter, John James Audubon, and the place in which he completed his classic “Birds of America” series during his residency in New Orleans in 1821-22. — Map (db m51356) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Avart-Peretti House|
|Erected 1842 as a two-story house for Mme. Augustine Eugenie de Lassize widow of Louis Robert Avart. J.N.B. de Pouilly and Ernest Goudchauz architect-builders
From 1906 through 1923 it was the residence and studio of the artist Achille Peretti.
During 1946 and 1947 Tennessee Williams lived here and wrote “A Steetcar Named Desire,” — Map (db m51416) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Bank of Louisiana — Erected 1826|
|Built by Bickle, Hamlet & Fox; the iron fence and gates were make by Sterling & Co. of New York.
In 1840 the building was damaged by fire and repairs were made; another fire occurred in 1861 after which the structure was again restored and the Royal Street entrance, added from the plans of James Gallier, Jr., architect.
The bank was liquidated in 1867 and for a short time the building was used as the conveyance office. In 1868-1869 it served as the state capitol for Louisiana.
In 1870 it . . . — Map (db m51336) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Bank of Louisiana in New Orleans|
|The original Bank of Louisiana in New Orleans was chartered by Governor Claiborne in 1804 and its board included Julien Poydras and John McDonogh. The bank was formed after the Louisiana to provide the currency for the citizens of Louisiana to replace the Spanish silver certificates used in the lower Mississippi Valley before the purchase.
In 1824, another Bank of Louisiana was chartered and included four branch facilities, including one in Baton Rouge. The main office was housed in an . . . — Map (db m51591) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Battle of Liberty Place Monument — "September 14th 1874"|
[ inscriptions, west face, base :]
September 14th 1874
In honor of those Americans on both sides who died in the Battle of Liberty Place
Members of the Metropolitan Police:
John H. H. Camp • John Kennedy • Edward Simon •
J.F. Clermont • J.E. Koehler • William Thornton •
David Fisher • James McManus • Rudolphe Zipple •
Armsted Hill • Michael O’Keefe
A conflict of the past that should teach us lessons for the future.
[inscriptions, west face, . . . — Map (db m34742) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Bernard de Marigny|
|Bernard de Marigny de Mandeville (1785-1868) a wealthy land-owner, served in the U.S. Army, participated in framing the first and second constitutions of Louisiana, and served in the Louisiana Territorial Legislature. He also was elected President of the Louisiana State Senate in 1822. Lost most of his wealth before his death. Mandeville, Louisiana was founded by him in the 1830’s. Two streets of New Orleans, Mandeville and Marigny, carry the family name. — Map (db m51643) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Bienville Monument — Bienville Place|
|[On base of statue]:
Jean Baptiste LeMoyne de Bienville
born Montreal, February 23, 1680
died Paris, March 7, 1767
Founder of New Orleans
with homage of
Louisiana * Canada * France — Map (db m23885) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Birthplace of Danny Barker — January 13, 1909|
|African-American Creole guitar and banjo player, songwriter, composer, singer, author, historian, teacher, storyteller, humorist, actor and painter. Jazz Hall of Fame member. Recipient of National Endowment of the Arts Music Master Award and numerous other honors. Played on more that 1,000 records of Jazz, Swing, Blues, Bebop, and Traditional. Husband of legendary singer Blue Lu Barker. — Map (db m51525) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Boimaré-Macarty House|
|Erected in 1832 by Antoine Louis Boimaré, bookseller and Louisiana historiographer, the building was completed by Louis Bartehelemy Macary who bought the unfinished house in 1835. The granite arcade and lead-ornamented transoms are excellent examples of the refined detail of the period.
In 1722 barracks were erected on this site by the Company of the Indies to house French, Swiss and German workmen engaged in building the City of New Orleans. These wooden buildings, designed by Leblond de la . . . — Map (db m51332) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Bosque House|
|Built in 1795
by Bartholome Bosque, a native of Palma; father of Suzette Bosque, third wife of Louisiana’s first American governor
on this site stood the house of Don Bernardo de Galvez, Spanish Governor of Louisiana 1777-1785
Sold in 1787 to Don Vincente Nunez, Royal Treasurer of the province. Here on Good Friday, March 21, 1788 began the disastrous fire which destroyed most of the colonial city. — Map (db m51412) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Bradish Johnson House — Erected 1872|
|The design of this Post-Civil War mansion of a prominent Louisiana sugar planter, attributed to James Freret, architect, reflects the influence of the French “Ecole des Beaux Arts,” were he studied from 1860 to 1862. Residence of Walter Denegre 1892-1929, Louise S. McGehee School since 1929. — Map (db m51519) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Brevard-Rice House — Built in 1857 for Albert Hamilton Brevard|
|James H. Calrow, architect
Charles Pride, builder
Owned by Brevard heirs until 1869 purchased then by Emory Clapp, who added the library wing on the left. It remained in the Clapp family until 1935.
It was then owned and occupied by the families of Dr. Frank Brostrom from 1935 to 1947, Judge John Minor Wisdom from 1947 to 1972, and John A. Mmahat from 1972 to 1988.
Purchased in 1989 by the novelist Ann Rice and her husband, the poet and painter Stan Rice. — Map (db m51523) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Bringier – Barnett House|
|One of three once identical adjacent houses erected in 1834 by Henry R. Denis, attorney Owned by Michel Douradou Bringier 1837-1850 Owned by Edward Barnett, notary – attorney 1850-1876 Remodeled and enlarged by him in 1859 Elijah Cox, architect – builder — Map (db m51315) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Campanel Cottage|
|Barthelemy Campanel purchased this site in 1806 and likely built this cottage and two adjacent Toulouse Street cottages in 1811 as rental property.
Campanel, a free man of color. Operated a hardware store on North Peters Street, and his family owned this cottage until 1882. After a series of subseqent owners, Leoncio Saulny, Jr. purchased the cottage in 1945 and operated a hardware store here until his death in 1984. — Map (db m51359) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Canal Street Historic District|
|Canal Street, New Orleans’ widest thoroughfare, has long served as the retail heart of the city. With its broad “neutral ground,’ it is the traditional dividing line between uptown and downtown and represents two centuries of American commercial architecture, Initially developed as prestigious residential property, Canal Street evolved into the favored location after 1850 for luxury shops housed in buildings faced in cast-iron and terra cotta. It was also central to the city’s music and . . . — Map (db m51605) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Cathedral of St. Louis, King of France|
|[Cast at the top of the marker is a rendering of the church]Church of St. Louis, 1727-1788
Cathedral of St. Louis, King of France
The first church on this site designed by Adrien De Pauger was erected 1724-1727 and was destroyed in the great fire of 1788.
The second church - a gift of Don Andres Almonester y Roxas designed in Gilberto Guillemard - begun in 1788 and dedicated as a cathedral on Christmas Eve 1994.
The church served until it was enlarged . . . — Map (db m21552) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Claiborone Tomb — Gaines Tomb|
|Burial tomb (right) of second wife of Governor W.C.C. Claiborne, Clarisse Duralde, who died in 1809 at the age of 21.
Myra Clark Gaines (left) was the daughter of Daniel Clark (1769-1813), American consul when Spain ruled city and later territorial delegate to Congress. Her claim to large land tracts resulted in 65 years of litigation. — Map (db m51650) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Closures – Grillwork|
|These are samples of marble slabs used to adorn tombs and crypts after the opening has been sealed with brick and mortar. The tablets were gathered from areas of the cemetery where they has been put aside after falling from neglected or abandoned vaults. The iron-work is typical of many designs used in the construction of fences erected around family tombs. — Map (db m51651) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Colonel Short’s Villa|
|Built in 1859 for
Colonel Robert H. Short
of Kentucky, commission merchant,
Henry Howard, architect,
Robert Huyghe, builder.
In 1832 this property, which was part of the Lavaudais Plantation was subdivided into city squares.
September 1, 1863 the house was seized by the federal forces occupying the city as property of an absent rebel.
In March 1864 the house briefly served as the executive mansion of the newly elected federal governor of Louisiana, Michael Hahn.
It then became the . . . — Map (db m51497) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Commagère – Mercier House|
|Erected about 1995 by Pedro Commgère after an earlier house on this site was destroyed in the great fire of December 8, 1794.
In 1806 it was occupied in part by John Watkins, mayor of New Orleans and by Mr. Forstall’s store.
Sold by Pedro Commagère in 1806 to Mme. Gracieuse Fontenella, wife of Jean Baptiste Mercier, and by her heirs in 1828 to Louis Gally whose family owned it until 1866.
The site was granted by the Company of the Indies to Francois Gallard, called Chamilly, in . . . — Map (db m51417) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Commander’s Palace — Founded in 1880|
|In 1832 this site was part of
the J.F.E. Levaudais Plantation and
was acquired under French grant.
Prior to 1880 the property formed
a part of the City of Lafayette,
Jefferson Parish, Louisiana
To Dining in the Grand Manner
by Frank and Eleanore Moran — Map (db m51662) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Congo Square|
|Congo Square is in the “vicinity” of a spot which Houmas Indians used before the arrival of the French for celebrating their annual corn harvest and was considered sacred ground. The gathering of enslaved African vendors in Congo Square originated as early as the late 1740's during Louisiana’s French colonial period and continued during the Spanish colonial era as one of the city’s public markets. By 1803 Congo Square had become famous for the gathering of enslaved Africans who . . . — Map (db m20954) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Conway’s Court|
|The French crown granted this property in the early 1700’s to the Marquis de Mezieres, whose influential family furnished planters, soldiers, administrators, and Indian Traders to the French and Spanish regimes. Maurice Conway, nephew and aide of Spanish Gov. Count Alexander O’Reilly, owned it in the 1770’s, and sold it to his nephew, William Conway. Fanchonette Robert bought it in 1799. After 1869, it became associated with the celebrated Louisiana painter, Richard Clague. These structures reproduce the buildings of about 1830. — Map (db m51337) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Creole Cottage c. 1810|
|Documented red-cream-green colors
Original terracotta, pantile roof
John E. De Cell, AIA, Restoration 1963 — Map (db m51364) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Cucullu Row|
|Built in 1828 by James Lambert and Louis Lemoyne for Simon Cucullu, these six rowhouses survive as the oldest intact row in the Vieux Carré. Desporte Pharmacy operated here from 1887 to 1970.
On this corner once stood the 1730 celestial observatory of architect-scientist Pierre Baron. It was replaced by the Conde Market in 1782. This was followed by a fish market in 1784, which was enlarged in 1785 and 1786. The great fire of 1788 destroyed the market complex. — Map (db m51542) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — David Bannister Morgan|
|On the eight day of January, 1815
David Bannister Morgan
Brigadier General V.S.A.
with 400 militia, held his position, called in the British official reports, “the flanking battery,” and from which, to employ Gen. Jackson’s own words “Jackson could have been shelled out in ten minutes.” against 1600 veterans of the Peninsula under Col. W.M. Thornton H.B.M.A., until Gen. Jackson had immortally won the Battle of New Orleans.
This tablet is placed here by the . . . — Map (db m51414) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — De La Ronde House|
|Erected about 1807 by Major General Pierre Denis de la Ronde on whose St. Bernard Parish plantation the first engagement of the Battle of New Orleans was fought on December 23, 1814.
This was de la Ronde’s city residence until his death in 1825, owned by his son-in-law Gabriel Villere from 1827 until 1846 and by Philippe Villere until 1861.
Damaged by Hurricane Betsy in 1965, it was repaired and renovated by Dr. and Mrs. E. Ralph Lupin, 1967, S. Stewart Farnet, architect. — Map (db m51541) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — DeDroit Residence|
|John “Johnny” DeDroit (1892-1988) cornetist, and bandleader, lived here at 737 Henry Clay Avenue from 1929 until 1933. He was a cornet soloist at the age 12 at the Winter Garden Theater on Baronne St., and subsequently played every New Orleans theater orchestra. During the 1920’s he led his own jazz band at Kolb’s Restaurant and the Grunewald Hotel Cave, and recorded for the Okeh Record Company label at sessions in New Orleans and New York. He was president of Musician’s Union Local . . . — Map (db m51491) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Denis House|
|One of three once identical row houses erected in 1834 for Henry Raphael Denis, an attorney.
Dr. Jokichi Takamine (1854-1922), Japanese chemist, philanthropist and co-commissioner for the 1884-1885 World’s Cotton Exposition, is said to have resided here during the World’s Fair. Here he met and later married Caroline Field Hitch, daughter of Ebenezer Hitch, a retired Union Officer who lived in the house at that time.
A founder of the American Biotechnology Industry, Takamine is credited . . . — Map (db m55033) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Dominique Bouligny House|
|Erected in 1831 by Dominique Bouligny. Construction was begun by John McLeary and completed by James Crowe. The cast-iron verandah is a later addition.
Bouligny, born in New Orleans in 1773, was a soldier, statesman, and planter. He was a lieutenant in the Spanish Colonial Louisiana Infantry Regiment, a major in the American Louisiana Fourth Regiment, and member of “the Committee for Defense of New Orleans” during the Battle of New Orleans. Bouligny served on the illustrious . . . — Map (db m51317) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Duelling Grounds|
|This site, history tells us was a favorite location for many duels fought by hot blooded young blades in the romantic Antebellum era of the South. Here, mostly young French and Spanish gentlemen settled their differences with sword and pistols. It was the field of satisfaction for wounded pride and honor — Map (db m51296) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Edgar Degas House|
|This house was bequeathed to the artist and his sister by their maternal uncle Michael Musson. The property was at one time held by Wm. Kenner. Kenner was in New Orleans to assist Wm.C.C. Claiborne in the transfer of New Orleans and Louisiana Purchas from French to American Rule. Degas sold the house in 1866.
Designated a National Landmark by the Department of the Interior in 1978. — Map (db m51598) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Edgar Germain Hilaire Degas|
|French “Impressionist” master whose mother and grandmother were born in New Orleans. Painted many famous subjects on a visit here in 1872-1873 at Musson Home on Esplanade. His “Portrait of Estelle” bought by Delgado Museum. — Map (db m51292) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Edison Place|
|This land for more than 60 years a part of the electric distribution system serving New Orleans, was donated to the City of New Orleans by New Orleans Public Service, Inc. and named in honor of Thomas Alva Edison inventor and creative genius, a director of the company which provided the first electric service in New Orleans in 1886.
It is dedicated by the donor to public use in the preservation and promotion of the Vieuz Carre.
Donated March 30, 1973 — Map (db m51380) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Edward A. Davis House|
|The Greek Revival design by architect William A. Freret was built for Edward A. Davis in 1859. Dr. and Mrs Herman de Bachelle Seebold purchased the home in 1944 and donated the mansion, furnishings and art in 1965 to the Women’s Guild of the New Orleans Opera Association.
This property is listed in the National Register of Historic Places. — Map (db m51517) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Eliza Lewis — 1764-1804|
|First wife of Wm.C.C. Claiborne, first American governor of Louisiana. Also memorialized here are her son and her brother, Micajah Green Lewis, who died in a duel defending the honor of his brother-in-law, Benjamin Latrobe, noted architect, designed the memorial. — Map (db m51648) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Erard-Espy House|
By Nicholas Joseph Erard
Native of Luneville, Dept. of La Meurthe, France — Map (db m51363) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Evans Creole Candy Factory — Since 1900|
|An important part
of Louisiana's heritage is the famous
Creole cuisine which produced such
tasty delicacies as the praline, crisp
candy made by adding pecans to boiling
sugar. A similar confection was made
in France with almonds, but when
the Louisiana colonists substituted pecans
for the almonds and used brown sugar rather
than refined sugar, they created an
entirely new candy, a candy that is
distinctively Southern in flavor
and richness. — Map (db m54194) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Fauboug Marigny|
|In 1805 Bernard de Marigny began the subdivision of his plantation, creating the first suburb below the original city. As Americans settled up-river, immigrants and free persons of color settled in Faubourg Marigny.
Faubourg Marigny Improvement Association — Map (db m51600) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Faubourg Tremé|
| Located on a portion of the Morand-Moreau plantation sold by Claude Faubourg Tremé in 1810 to the city of New Orleans, it became the city’s first subdivision and is considered to be America’s oldest existing African American neighborhood. It was home to a diverse mix of residents including free people of color and Europeans that prospered as craftsmen, artists, musicians, entrepreneurs, doctors and teachers. Historical sites within Tremé include Louis Armstrong Park, Congo Square, and St. . . . — Map (db m35124) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Faulkner House|
|Here in 1925 William Faulkner, Nobel Laureate, wrote his first novel “Soldiers Pay.
This building was erected in 1840 by the widow of Jean Baptiste LaBranche on a site formerly occupied by part of the yard and buildings of the French Colonial prison. — Map (db m51418) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Former site of Holy Family Sisters’ Convent|
|The old Orleans Ballroom built in 1817, served a number of purposes over the decades. Its most unique function was as a convent, orphanage, and school for the Sisters of the Holy Family, a religious community of negro nuns, now located on the Chef Menteur Higway. The Society of the Sisters, founded in 1842 in New Orleans by Miss Henriette Delille (1813-1862), a free woman of color, taught the bond and free, cared for the orphans, and administered to the needs of the poor, aged, and sick. This . . . — Map (db m51489) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Fort Pike|
|Historic State Monument 5 miles west on US 90 was completed in 1828 to defend Rigolets Pass approach through Lake Pontchartrain to New Orleans. Named after Brigadier Gen. Zebulon Montgomery Pike. — Map (db m22776) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Fort St. Charles — [Louisiana Rebellion of 1768]|
|On Oct. 25, 1769, under Gen. O’Reilly, Spanish governor of Louisiana, executed French patriots and martyrs: de Lafreniere, Marquis, Noyan Caresse, Milhet; Vilere having died previously.
Erected by the Louisiana Department of Commerce and Industry 1955
[Back, in French]
Le Fort Saint – Charles
Le 25 octobre 1769, sur l’ordre du général O’Reilly, gouverneur espagnol de Louisiane, furent exécuteé ici les patriotes et martyrs français La Frénière, Caresse, Marquis et Milhet. . . . — Map (db m51552) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Frances Benjamin Johnston House|
|This Greek Revival house was erected for Mme. Julie Duralde, widow of John Clay, Henry Clay’s brother who purchased the property in 1835 and owned it until her death in 1861.
From 1940 until 1952 it was the residence of Frances Benjamin Johnston (1864-1952), noted photographer of presidents, national leaders and southern architecture. She was called “the photographer of the American country.” — Map (db m51361) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — French Market|
| In 1991 in celebration of the bicentennial of its first market hall, the French Market rededicates itself to the perpetuation and expansion of the traditional market offerings of the bounty of Louisiana - its land, its waters, its cultures - in endless variety.
Native Americans traded here from ancient times when waterways were the highways of America. The market on the banks of the river liked the Mississippi Valley with the Gulf Coast by way of the Esplanade Ridge to Bayou St. John and . . . — Map (db m21841) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Gallier House|
|Erected 1857 for his own residence by James Gallier, Jr. 1827-1868 architect of the French Opera House and other notable buildings. Here he died on May 16, 1868. Owned by his descendants until 1917. This property was part of the grounds of the Ursuline convent from 1727 until 1825. — Map (db m51318) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Gálvez Monument|
| Bernardo de Gálvez
Governor of Louisiana
1777 to 1785
The government of Spain donates this statue to the city of New Orleans to commemorate the bicentennial year of the independence of the United States to which the Spanish governor so decisively contributed. — Map (db m41111) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Gardette - Le Pretre House|
|Erected 1836 for
Joseph Coulon Gardette, Dentist
Frederic Roy, Builder
The cast iron galleries were added by
Jean Baptiste Le Pretre, Planter
who purchased the house in 1839 and
owned it until 1878.
Here on June 2, 1861 part of
the captured flagstaff of Fort Sumter
sent by Gen. P.G.T. Beauregard C.S.A.
was ceremoniously presented to
The Orleans Guards — Map (db m54175) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Gauche House|
|This handsome Italianate villa notable for its fine cast iron work was erected in 1856 by John Gauche importer and dealer in crockery and chinaware who purchased this part of the former city commons from Henry R. Denis, attorney Acquired fro the Gauche heirs by Patrick R. O’Brien in 1882 whose heirs owned it until 1911. Purchased in 1937, it was restored in 1938 by Matilda Geddings Gray and in 1969 by Matilda Gray Stream. — Map (db m51316) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Gilbert Academy and New Orleans University|
|5318 St. Charles Avenue Marker
The site of Gilbert Academy
New Orleans University
Under the auspices of
The Methodist Church
1873 to 1949 — Map (db m12678) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Gilmour – Parker House|
For Thomas Corse Gilmour,
English Cotten Merchant
Isaac Thayer, Architect-Builder.
Sold by Gilmour heirs in 1882
To John M. Parker,
whose son, John M. Parker, Jr.,
lived here and later served as
Governor of Louisiana
The dining room extension with bay window
was added by Mrs. Sarah Roberta Buckner,
widow of John M. Parker, between
1897 and 1899. — Map (db m51660) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Girod House|
|Erected in 1814 by Nicholas Girod
The two story wing facing St. Louis Street was built by his brother, Claude Francois Girod, about 1797.
Nicholas Girod was the mayor of New Orleans from 1812 to 1815 and it is said that he offered his house as a place of refuge for Napoleon Bonaparte in a plot to rescue him from exile. — Map (db m51386) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Hermann – Grima House|
|Erected in 1831 by Samuel Hermann, William Brand, architect – builder. Purchased 1844 by Felix Grima judge, attorney and notary public. Owned by the Grima family until 1921 – acquired by the Christain Woman’s Exchange 1924. An important example of the American influence on New Orleans architecture. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places 1971 — Map (db m51378) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Higgins Boat (LCVP)|
|On this site at 1755 St. Charles Avenue in May 1941, Andrew Jackson Higgins and Higgins Industries Inc. designed and produced America’s first successful tank landing craft. Here Higgins produced his shallow draft "Eureka" work boats, which evolved into the famed Landing Craft Vehicle Personnel or LCVP. During World War II Higgins Industry produced 20,094 boats for the Allied forces. The Higgins LCVP and larger Landing Craft Mechanized (LCM) boats revolutionized modern warfare by allowing an . . . — Map (db m54114) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Homer Adolph Plessy — 1862-1925|
|On June 7, 1892, Homer Adolph Plessy defied a Louisiana law that segregated railroad trains on the basis of race. He was arrested and became the defendant in the May 18, 1896 United States Supreme Court decision of Plessy v. Ferguson, which condoned "separate but equal" facilities in the United States. Sponsored by a New Orleans group, called the "Comité des Citoyens," Plessy's civil disobedience marked one of the first legal challenges to the separation of races in the south following the . . . — Map (db m13036) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — In Memory of All American Veterans|
|This memorial honors all American veterans who, although separated by generations, shared a common undeniable goal – to valiantly protect our country’s freedoms.
The memories of these American veterans will continue to live on whenever and wherever democracy exists.
The American veteran – forever a symbol of heroism, sacrifice, loyalty and freedom. — Map (db m51294) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — In the Protestant Section — Benjamin Henry Boneval Latrobe — Henry Sellon Boneval Latrobe|
|In the Protestant Section of this cemetery were interred
Benjamin Henry Boneval Latrobe
Born –Fulneck, England, May 1, 1764
Died – New Orleans, September 3, 1820
Founder of the architectural profession in America
Architect of the United States Capitol,
The Baltimore Catherdal.
The Louisiana State Bank,
and other notable buildings.
Henry Sellon Boneval Latrobe
Son of Benjamin Henry Boneval Latrobe and Lydia Sellon, his first wife.
Born – July 19 1792, . . . — Map (db m52070) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Italian Hall — 1020 Esplanade Ave.|
|This imposing complex was assembled out of old buildings (one by architect James Gallier, dating to 1835) and new construction from between 1912 and 1920. As the Unione Italiana, which combined many Italian benevolent societies, it was the home of both the Contessa Entellina Society Band, made up of Albanian-Sicilian Italian-Americans and the Roma Band, of Sicilian Italian-Americans. During their rivalry a musician could be in one, not both. Many jazz bands played here for dances including the . . . — Map (db m51987) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Jack Teagarden|
|played his last stand her one year ago today on 14 January 1964.
This plaque is placed in this spot by Y F Minola in deepest respect for his enduring contribution to jazz. — Map (db m51379) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Jackson Square - Vieux Carré — National Historic Landmark|
Jackson Square has been designated a Registered National Historic Landmark under the provisions of the Historic Sites Act of August 21, 1935.
This site possesses exceptional value in commemorating and interpreting the history of the United States.
U.S. Department of the Interior, National Park Service. 1965
[Panel 2:]Vieux Carré has been designated a Registered National Historic Landmark under the provisions of the Historic Sites Act of August 21, . . . — Map (db m21859) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Jean Adrien Delpit House|
|Erected together with the adjacent building at 525 St. Louis Street by Etienne Debon who acquired both properties in 1807 from Jean Etienne Boré, Claude Gerlie and Joseph Guillot, buiders.
This half of the Debon Building was extensively remodeled or rebuilt by Jean Adrien Delpit, tobacconist, who acquired this building in 1840. He established a tobacco and snuff factory in 1808 and operated here from 1840 until the 1880’s, adding the adjacent building at 517 St. Louis Street in 1885. His . . . — Map (db m51548) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Jefferson City|
|Originally a part of Jefferson Parish, this area was incorporated as Jefferson City in 1850. By 1860 its population was 5,107, including 131 free black citizens. It was annexed by the City of New Orleans in 1870. — Map (db m13039) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Jefferson Davis|
|Born at Fairview, KY. June 3, 1808
U.S. Army 1828-1835
Served in Black Hawk War
Congressman U.S. 1845-1846
Colonel Mississippi Volunteers in War with Mexico
Rendered Gallant Service in the taking of Monterey and Buena Vista where he was severely wounded
Senator U.S. 1847-1851
Secretary of War U.S. 1853-1857
Senator U.S. 1857-1861
President C.S.A. 1861-1865
Prisioner, Fortress Monroe 1865-1867
Erected by Ladies Confederate Memorial Association
May 17, 1930 — Map (db m51521) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Judge Fred J. Cassibry Square|
|Fred J. Cassibry (1918-1996), U.S. Navy WWII veteran, served on the New Orleans City Council, Orleans District Court, U.S. District Court, E.D. La., and the Louisiana Economic Development and Gaming Corporation. Throughout his 40 years of public life, Judge Cassibry personified the definition of a dedicated public official. He never forgot he was a servant of the people. Square dedicated by 1999 La. Acts 708. — Map (db m51333) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — LaBranche Buildings|
|On this site in 1734 stood the residence of François Fleuriau, Attorney General of the Superior Council of the French colony of Louisiana, a native of Rennes in Brittany. This building erected in 1840 as one of a group of eleven by Madame Mesasie Trepagnier, widow of Jean Baptiste LaBranche, a planter of St. Charles Parish. — Map (db m51415) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Lafayette Cemetery No. 1|
|Established in 1833 by the City of Lafayette
The square was acquired from Cornelius Hurst and the cemetery laid out by Benjamin Buisson, city surveyor.
This was part of the Livaudais Plantation which had been subdivided into city squares in 1832
The cemetery contains many fine and historic tombs, among them those of Samuel Jarvis Peters, father of the New Orleans public school system, and General Harry T. Hays, distinguished confederate general.
Here are buried many persons of German and . . . — Map (db m51493) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Lafayette Square|
|(Obverse) Planned in 1788 as a public place for Faubourg Ste. Marie, the City's first suburb, this Square honors American Revolutionary War Hero, Marie Joseh Paul Yves Roch Gilbert Du Motier, Marquis de Lafayette. He declined the invitation to become the first Governor when the United States purchased Louisiana. During his April 9-15, 1825, visit to the City of New Orleans, his popularity was evidenced by resounding cheers of "Vive Lafayette, Vive Lafayette!"
Conçue . . . — Map (db m20965) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Lambert-Gallier Inn of Court — Lambert & Lambert, Attorneys at Law|
|In 1836, renowned New Orleans architect James Gallier built these two buildings, 631 & 635 St. Charles Avenue along with the one on the right and the one that was on the corner of Samuel Morse for the sum of $20,000.00.
In 1978-79, after deteriorating to a flophouse known as the Savoy Hotel and two derelict bars, John D. Lambert, Jr. had these two buildings renovated to serve as his and his father’s, John D. Lambert’s law office; plus that of eighteen other attorneys, including reception . . . — Map (db m51595) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Le – Carpentier/Beauregard House|
|Erected 1826 by Joseph Le Carpentier Auctioneer (Grandfather of Paul Morphy, World’s Chess Champion). Francois Correjolles, Architect. James Lambert, Builder.
Sold in 1833 to John A. Merle, who built the adjacent garden which existed until 1865 and was restored in 1954 by the Keyes Foundation.
Residence of General P.G.T. Beauregard C.S.A. 1866-1868
Placed her by the Viewx Carre Commission
1960 — Map (db m51314) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Literary Landmark — 540 St. Peter|
|Residence in the 1920s of Sherwood Anderson, author of “Winesburg, Ohio.” While living here, Anderson hosted literary salons that powered the careers of William Faulkner, Gertrude Stein, Carl Sandburg and John Dos Passos.
Dedicated January 9, 1998 by Friends of Libraries USA and Friends of the New Orleans Public Library. — Map (db m51546) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — London Avenue Canal Floodwall Breach|
|On August 29, 2005, tidal surge from Hurricane Katrina exposed design flaws in the London Avenue Canal foodwall, part of the Federal Flood Protection System. The floodwater killed many Gentilly residents and their beloved pets. The breach was one of 50 in the System that occurred that day.|
In 2008, the US District Court, Eastern District of Louisiana, placed responsibility for this floodwall's collapse squarely on the US Army Corps of Engineers; however, the agency is protected from financial liability in the Flood Control Act of 1928. — Map (db m46064) HM
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Louis "Satchmo" Armstrong — 1901-1971 — Louis Armstrong Park|
| His trumpet and heart brought everlasting joy to the world, embodying jazz as The Pulse of Life.
In appreciation National Park Service/Tourism Cares April 18, 1976. — Map (db m21068) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Louis J. Dufilho — La Pharmacie Francaise — Max Samson|
|In this shop on this site
Louis J. Dufilho
Practiced pharmacy as one of the first of his profession to have been licensed in the United States (no later than 1816). Pharmacist Dufilho symbolizes the beginning of a system of certifying the professional competence of pharmacists and the recognition of the vital significance of that competence for the public health.
Authorized by the American Institute of the History of Pharmacy — Map (db m51419) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Lower Pontalba Building — Pontalba Buildings National Historic Landmark|
| [Logo of the Orleans Parish Landmarks Commission] Erected 1850 - 1851
by Micaela Almonster Baroness De Pontalba
working first with James Gallier, architect, and then with Henry Howard, architect.
Samuel Stewart, builder.
Bequeathed by William Ratcliffe Irby to the Louisiana State Museum in 1927.
This corner was the site of the French colonial Government House, residence of Gov. Etienne De Perier from 1727 until 1731 and of Gov. Jean Baptiste LeMoyne, Sieur de . . . — Map (db m34846) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Maison Hospitalière|
|Maison Hospitalière, or “Hospitality House,” is a non-profit, non sectarian nursing home. It is dedicated to providing quality, individualized assistance in a homelike atmosphere to elderly women and men without regard to their creed, color, gender or financial status.
The home was established in 1893 by La Société des Dames Hospitalières, a group of 30 women first organized in 1879 to provide food, shelter and companionship to needy women living in or near the French Quarter. . . . — Map (db m51360) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Maisonette Creole|
|In 1832 this site was a part of Jefferson Parish and was known as the Livaudais Plantation. In the late 90’s it was occupied as an English Apothecary and owned by R.N. Girland. Restored by Fannie Mae Goldman, 1960 — Map (db m51495) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Margaret's Place and Walk / Lower Garden District|
| Margaret’s Place and Walk
Margaret’s Place and Walk honors Irish Immigrant Margaret Gaffney Haughery (1813-1882), who devoted her life to orphaned children and the needy. An orphan herself, Margaret lost her husband and baby to illness. Although illiterate, Margaret established a dairy and a bakery and became quite wealthy. Her wealth funded seven orphanages which she established with her friend, Sister Regis and the Daughters of Charity. The names of the orphanages are shown in the . . . — Map (db m38640) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Marie Laveau|
|This Greek revival tomb is reputed burial place of this notorious "Voodoo Queen". A mystic cult, Voodooism, of African origin, was brought to this city from Santo Domingo and flourished in 19th century. Marie Laveau was the most widely known of many practitioners of the cult. — Map (db m13699) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Mayor Isaac W. Patton House|
|Described in 1859 as “a handsome cottage residence,” this Greek Revival house was erected for Lothrop Lewis Smith who purchased the site in 1853. It was his residence until he left New Orleans in 1859 and sold the house in 1861 to Mrs. Adolphe Jerome Odier.
From 1873 until his death in 1890, it was the home of Isaac W. Patton, mayor of the City of New Orleans, 1878-1880.
This entire square was sold in 1832 to H.W. Hills and William Lord Roberson by Matthew Morgan, Samuel J. . . . — Map (db m51524) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Merieult House|
|Erected in 1792 on the site of the first barracks forges and workshops of the Company of the Indies, the house was the only building in the area of destruction to escape the Great Fire of 1794.
In 1832 it was remodeled in the style of the period by Manuel J. De Lizardi.
Restored in 1938 by L. Kemper and Leila Williams, Richard Koch, architect
Occupied by the Historic New Orleans Collection since 1966. — Map (db m51331) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Molly Marine — November 10, 1943 — "Free a Marine to Fight"|
|Rededicated July 1, 1966 in honor of Women Marines who serve their country in keeping with the highest traditions of the United States Marine.
[Sculptor: Enrique Alferez] — Map (db m21557) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Multiple Burials|
|One of the oldest burial grounds in the Mississippi Valley, St. Louis Cemetery No. 1 is still in use, from its beginning in 1789 it has been the custom to make multiple burials in the tombs and vaults when space in a tomb is re-used the remains of previous burials are lowered into a receptacle below the ground level or placed in the back or side of the vault. This practice of re-using burial space has become a custom here and in other cemeteries in New Orleans. — Map (db m51653) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — My Bourbon Home|
|New Orleans maps, as early as 1720, all reveal the presence of earlier buildings on this historic site. During the time of Spanish Rule, after the Great Conflagrations of 1788 and 1794, Casa Quinones was erected in 1795 by Don Estevan de Quinones, a Cuban-born Royal Secretary and Notary Public for the city of New Orleans, signing many of the public documents before and after the Louisiana Purchase. He was executive secretary to the Catholic diocese of Louisiana and Florida.
The Mangin Bros. . . . — Map (db m51377) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — New Orleans|
|First sighted as Indian portage to Lake Pontchartrain and Gulf in 1699 by Bienville and Iberville. Founded by Bienville in 1718; named by him in honor of the Duke of Orleans, Regent of France. Called the Crescent City because of location in bend of the Mississppi. — Map (db m12679) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Nicholas Bertoli Building|
|Erected 1842 by Samuel Holden and John Cuminger, builders for Nicholas Bertoli, grocer.
Occupied as the Pacific Concert Salon, 1855-1876.
Owned by the family of Jean Louis Tissot, 1876-1897.
Its granite columns are typical of the 1840’s Greek Revival.
The cast iron gallery was added in 1954. — Map (db m51387) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Old Ursuline Convent — 1749-1753|
|Next to site of first building erected in 1734
Home of Ursuline nuns who came from France “to relieve the poor, sick and provide education for young girls”
First girl’s school in Louisiana
Oldest building in Mississippi Valley — Map (db m51297) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Original Old Absinthe Bar|
| Est. 1806
A tradition in the french quarters. This is the
bar known to travelers the world over. From it
came the famous absinthe drip. The bar where
Jean E Pierre LaFitte, Andrew Jackson,
Mark Twain and other celebrities were served.
If it could talk what stories the bar would tell
of a thousand gone nights crowded into history. — Map (db m54858) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Original Pierre Maspero’s Slave Exchange — Est. – 1788|
|Within this historic structures slaves were sold and Andrew Jackson met with the Lafitte Brothers and planned the defense for the historic and epic Battle of New Orleans. At this monumental battle the British surrendered to American troops commanded by General Jackson.
American independence was finalized and General Jackson went on to become the seventh President of the United States of America. — Map (db m51385) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Orleans Battalion of Artillery|
|Within this burial memorial rest some of the gallant defenders of New Orleans, members of the battalion which fought in honor on the plains of Chalemette on January 8 1815 against the British invaders.
Date of construction is unknown. Restored in 1974 — Map (db m51866) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Pat O’Brien’s|
|This historical building that is home to Pat O’Brien’s Bar was built in 1791 as a private home that became the first Spanish Theater in the United States. It was later purchased by the Deflechie family as their residence until the building was purchased by Pat O’Brien.
Pat O’Brien ran a speakeasy on St. Peter Street until the repeal of Prohibition. He officially opened Pat O’Brien’s Bar on December 3, 1933, located on the corner of Royal and St. Peter Streets. After Charlie Cantrell joined . . . — Map (db m51376) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Pecquet Building|
|In 1835 Louis Pecquet purchased this site and likely replaced the existing Spanish Colonial buildings shortly thereafter with the present Greek Revival shop-residence.
During the late 1830s, the shop housed a dry goods store, then a milliner and a hatter during the 1850s. Zaeringer Bros. jewelers operated here for fifty years, and Four Seasons Pastry Shop for twenty-four years.
During the early 1900s, writer Mary Evelyn (Mollie) Moore Davis and her husband, Thomas E. Davis, New Orleans . . . — Map (db m51599) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Pedesclaux-Lemonnier House|
|Pierre Pedesclaux, prominent notary purchased this site in 1795 and began construction of this house. Its design is attributed to Barthelemy Lafon architect, whose office was here in 1805. Purchased in 1811 by Dr. Yves Réné Lemonnier and François Grandchamps, pharmacist. The house was then completed by architects Latour and Laclotte and owned by the Lenonnier family until 1860. This house became famous as the setting of George Washington Cable’s 1873 story “Sieur George.” — Map (db m51323) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Pierre Maspero’s Exchange|
|where defenses of New Orleans were planned, 1814-15. — Map (db m51549) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Plique – La Branche House|
|Erected about 1825 by Jean Felix Pinson and Maurice Pizetta, builder, sold by them in 1827 to Giraud M. Plique. Acquired in 1829 by Jean Baptiste La Branche, planter of St. Charles Parish, and occupied as his city residence until his death in 1837.
On this site in 1791 was erected Le Spectacle de la Rue St. Pierre, the St. Peter Street Theatre, the first theatre in New Orleans. Built by Louis Alexandre Henry and destroyed in the great fire of September 28, 1816. — Map (db m51365) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Protestant Section|
|In 1805 an area at the rear of the cemetery was assigned to Christ Church (Episcopal) for the burial of non-Catholics. More extensive originally, all that remains of the protestant section is the area between these wall vaults, the brick walls to the right and left. Between 1822-38 all burials in the other part of the Protestant Section which was beyond the back wall were transferred to the Girod Street Cemetery to allow for a residential development and the extension of Tremé Street. . . . — Map (db m51644) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Provincial Motel (site)|
|Land grant from King Louis XV of France to Bienville’s Lieutenant, Louis Boucher de Granpré circa, 1725. In 1775 the tract was sold to Chevalier Jean Lavillebeuvre, “Sieur de Garrios”, Indian agent for the Colony from 1780 to 1797. Acquired and developed by the Laurans and Rocque families in 1825. Sold to the French Market Ice co. in 1903. In 1959 the tract was restored into the present motel by the Dupépé family. — Map (db m51526) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Quartier General de la Garde Municipale|
|Site Quartier General de la Garde Municipale 1726 Site & Walls &
El Calabozo 1770
Donated to the Louisiana State Museum
W. Ratcliffe Irby 1922 — Map (db m51487) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — R.N. Girling’s “English Apothecary”|
|In this building Robert Nash Girling established his “Engish Apothecary” which he operated from the 1880s-1890s. An Englishman by birth, Girling studied pharmacy in England and at the Ecole de Pharmacie in Paris. In the early 1870s he immigrated with his wife to New Orleans, where he soon advertised as a “Druggist and Chemist”. His embossed glass bottles read “R.N. Girling, Accuracy and Purity, Pharmacist and Chemist, New Orleans”. A founder of the Louisiana . . . — Map (db m51661) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Residence of Don Manuel Lanzos — Captain of the Spanish Army — Madam John’s Legacy|
|Erected 1788 in the French colonial style Robert Jones, an American, builder. Site of the birthplace of Renato Beluche (1781-1860) a lieutenant of Jean Lafitte’s Baratarians who participated in the Battle of New Orleans Later Admiral of the Venezuelan Navy. The house was refferred to as ‘Madam John’s Legacy’ in Geo. W. Cable’s story ‘Tite Poulette’ in 1879 An earlier house was erected on part of this site about 1726 by Jean Pascal, a sailor killed in the Natchez Massacre in 1729, and occupied . . . — Map (db m51319) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Rillieux – Waldhorn House|
For Vincent Rillieux – 1740-1800
New Orleans merchant and great-grandfather of Edgar Degas, noted French artist
The design of the house is attributed to Barthelemy Lafon – 1769-1820 architect, builder, surveyor and town planner.
The wrought iron balconies of the building are notable examples of Spanish Colonial craftsmanship.
Paul LaNuse, 1800-1807 – Thomas Elmes, 1807-1810 – John Grieve, 1810-1811 – Planters’ Bank, . . . — Map (db m51335) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Robert E. Lee — 1807 – 1870|
|Commander in Chief
Confederate States of America
1861 – 1865
Julia Jackson Chapter No. 4
Children of the Confederacy — Map (db m51593) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Saint Augustine Church, New Orleans — Louisiana African American Heritage Trail|
| In 1841, this parish was established for the inhabitants of Faubourg Tremé. The joint beneficence of Bishop Antoine Blanc and the Ursuline nuns made possible acquisition of property and erection of the church. Until 1925, the buildings of the Collége d’Orléans and the motherhouse of the Sisters of Mount Carmel stood in this square. In 1842, the Sisters of the Holy Family began their apostolate for Blacks within this parish under the guidance of Abbé Étienne Rousselon, founding pastor. . . . — Map (db m35056) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Saint Patrick's Church|
by Bishop Leo De Neckere, C.M.
This church, completed in 1840
during the pastorate of
Father James I. Mullon,
is the oldest parish church
outside the French Quarter.
St. Patrick's served
while the St. Louis Cathedral
was undergoing reconstruction.
Here Bishop Antoine Blanc
received the pallium as
first Archbishop of New Orleans
on February 16, 1851.
St. Patrick's is
reguarded as the mother church of
uptown New . . . — Map (db m55702) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Shangarai Chasset - Gates of Mercy|
|Site of the first permanent Jewish house of worship in the State of Louisiana, Gates of Mercy Synagogue, 1845; located at 410-420 N. Rampart St. Gates of Mercy, chartered by the State in 1827, confirmed the abolition of the Code Noir, which had denied Jews the right to live and worship in Louisiana and by so doing affirmed American Freedom of Religion and Assembly. — Map (db m13167) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Sidney Joseph Bechet — 1897-1959|
This bronze bust of Sidney Bechet is a faithful copy of the original by French sculptor Abel Chrétien. The original erected in 1960, a year after Bechet’s death in Juan-Les-Fins, France. This town was named in 1994 as a “Twin City” to New Orleans’ Vieux Carre. Chretien’s Bechet sculpture in France is thought to be the first public monument to a jazz musician erected anywhere in the world. This fine copy was executed by the Fonderie De Coubertin in St. . . . — Map (db m21987) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Site of First Louisiana School — 1725|
|On this site Father Raphael de Luxembourg Capuchin Pastor of the parish Church of St. Louis (later the Cathedral) opened the first school in French Colonial Louisiana. Classes in reading, writing, music, French, Latin and religion were conducted for beginners: in liberal arts for the more advanced students. The original house, which served as school, was purchased from Augustin Langlois. Among early teachers in this school for boys were Pierre Fleurtet A. Layman and the Capuchin Brothers St. Julien and Cyril. — Map (db m51321) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Site of Kolly Townhouse — First Ursuline Convent and Charity Hospital|
|Jean-Daniel Kolly, banking councillor to the Elector of Bavaria and large investor in the Company of the Indies, had a townhouse built on this site shortly after the founding of New Orleans in 1718. The Sainte-Reyne, concession upriver, controlled by Kolly, leased the residence for use as a provisional convent by the Ursuline nuns. After arriving at the port from the balize by piroque on August 6, 1727, the religious established themselves and remained here until July 17, 1734. The building was . . . — Map (db m51381) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Site of the St. Charles Theaters — 1835-1967|
|The first St. Charles Theater, built by James Caldwell with Antonio Mondelli as architect, opened on this site November 30, 1835. It seated over 4,000 and was one of the largest theaters in the world. The American premieres of Bellini’s Norma took place here in 1836 and Rossini;s Semiramide in 1837. It burned March 13, 1842.
The second St. Charles opened January 18, 1843 and seated over 1,500. Some of the greatest actors of the 19th century played here; Joe Jefferson, Edwin Booth and Charles . . . — Map (db m51592) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — St. Charles Line|
|The New Orleans & Carrollton R.R. Co. began passenger train service on September 26, 1835. Steam-powered trains and mule drawn cars transported New Orleaniane between Canal and Carrollton via St. Charles Avenue.
Improved technology led t the development of electric traction streetcars. The St. Charles Line was the first electrified route, opened 1, 1893. By 1900, the single line had grown to 28 lines, running over 178 miles. New Orleans first and last streetcar route, the St. Charles Avenue line is the world’s oldest operating streetcar line. — Map (db m51594) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — St. Louis Cemetery No. 1|
|The oldest extant cemetery in New Orleans. Established by Royal Spanish land grant August 14, 1789. Originally outside city limits and double its present size this sacred ground reflects the early culture and history of the Crescent City. A small area in the rear was once part of a larger section for Protestant burials. The Varney tomb to right was once center of cemetery. — Map (db m13501) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — St. Patrick's|
| Parish was the second
established in New Orleans
The first church on this
site was dedicated April 21,
1833 The cornerstone of the
present edifice was laid
July 1, 1838, by Bishop Antoine
Blanc. During the pastorate
of Father James I. Mullon
the first service in the
completed church was held
February 23, 1840 The
building was designed by
Dankin and Dankin, architect
and completed under the
direction of the architect
James Galler who designed
most of the . . . — Map (db m55572) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — 74000936 — St. Patrick's Church|
|Has Been Designated A
This Site Possesses National Significance
in Commemorating the History of the
United States of America
National Park Service
United States Department of the Interior — Map (db m55149) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Starting Point of the First Traditional New Orleans Mardi Gras Parade|
|From this corner on February 24, 1857, the Mistick Krewe of Comus began its first parade, heading up Julia Street toward St. Charles Avenue. With that parade, Mardi Gras was solidified as a New Orleans tradition that ultimately influnced Carnival celebrations throughout the continent. Comus would introduce the continuing custom of "krewes" staging annual parades and would influence the New Orleans style of Carnival, including floats,the word "krewe" and the playful element of mystery. . . . — Map (db m54937) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — The 747 — 741-747 Magazine Street 1867 - 2004|
|Constructed in 1867 as the Old Iron Works and Machine Shop. In 1886 a new factory was built for the Consumer's Ice Company, incorporating the earlier walls of the original building. In 1891 an explosion partially destroyed the building. It was re-built by the Haubtman & Loab Machine Co. In the 1920s it housed La Belle Creole Cigar Factory (later known as the Irby Tobacco Factory). From 1943 to 1975 Universal Merchandise called it home; from 1976 to 1986 International Muffler leased the . . . — Map (db m54133) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — The Birthplace of “Dixie”|
|On this site from 1835 to 1924 stood the Citizens State Bank, originator of the “Dixie.” In its early days, the bank issued its own $10 bank note, with the French work “Dix” for “ten” printed on the note’s face. As the currency became widespread, people referred to its place of origin as “the land of the Dix,” which was eventually shortened to “Dixieland.” Through the song and legend, the word became synonymous with America’s Southland. — Map (db m51354) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — The Cabildo — National Historic Landmark — Louisiana State Museum|
Don Gilberto Guillemard, architect.
Constructed financed and directed by Don Andres Almonester y Roxas.
The mansard roof was added in 1847.
The illustrious Cabildo (Spanish colonial city council) held its sessions here in the Sala Capitular from May 10, 1799 until Nov. 30, 1803. The building housed the city hall of New Orleans, 1803-1853, and the supreme court of Louisiana, 1853-1910.
Until 1914, the prison at the rear was used as a jail . . . — Map (db m21508) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — The Croatian Benevolent Association of Louisiana|
|Erected by The Croatian Benevolent Association of Louisiana in memory of those members who gave their lives in service of their country, the United States of America, during the wars.
Army Cpl. George Petrovich killed in action at Gettysburg, Penn. July 2, 1863
Army Pvt. Dimitry Vidocovich killed in action at Le Croix, France. July 26, 1918
Army Cpl. Vincent Jurisich died in France July 12, 1944 from wounds received in Normandy Invasion
Air Force Lt. Matthew Barbier B24 pilot killed on . . . — Map (db m51293) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — The Dufour-Baldwin House|
|A classic example of the late Greek Revival-Italianate style. Designed by noted architects Henry Howard and Albert Diettel, constructedf in 1859 by Wing and Muir for Louise Donnet and Cyprien Dufour, a prominent attorney, author, and state senator. Dufour sold their home in 1870 to Arthemise Bouligny and Albert Baldwin, a leading businessman and philanthropist, who retained the property until 1912. Prior to 1859 the frontage was owned by free persons of color, Auguste Reynal and Bernard Crokin. . . . — Map (db m51291) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — The French Market — Rebuilt 1936-1938|
Ancient French Market dates its legal birth from September 10, 1784, when the “Authorities of Justice and Administration” decided that all retailers in the city should conduct their businesses on this spot.
In 1791 the first market structure was completed. Destroyed by a hurricane in 1812, it was replaced in 1813 by the building now housing the meat and retail fish markets. Although the interior was modernized in 1936 – 1938, the walls and supporting . . . — Map (db m51556) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — The French Opera House|
| The INN ON BOURBON on the corner of Toulouse and Bourbon Streets, rests on the site of the Old French Opera House, for 60 years, the cultural center of New Orleans Creole society, and the first opera house in the United States. Erected in 1859 at a cost of $118,000.00, it was opened to the public on December 1, 1859. The opera house was one of the most famous masterpieces designed by noted architect James Gallier, architect of Gallier Hall and many other classic [19th] Century buildings. — Map (db m21548) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — The Manse|
|Erected 1859 for Hannah Killingley Walford, widow of Edmund W. Briggs, agent for London Unity Insurance Company, William A. Freret, architect.
Purchased 1871 by the Prytania Street Presbyterian Church for use as the minister’s residence. The bay containing the minister’s study was added at that time.
The last minister to live here was the Rev. Dr. William McFadden Alexander. His widow, Ceneilla Bower Alexander, artist noted for designing Rex Carnival parade floats, purchased the house from the church in 1947. — Map (db m51520) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — The Old Mortuary Chapel|
|Built in 1826 as a burial church for victims of yellow fever, the chapel is the oldest surviving church in the city. Now Our Lady of Guadelupe, the chapel is the official chapel of the New Orleans Police and Fire Departments. — Map (db m21456) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — The Old Portage|
|Short trail from Lake Pontchartrain to River shown by Indians to Iberville and Bienville, 1699. Winding trail used by early travelers to city. From Bayou St. John it led to N. Broad, Bayou Roads, Vieux Carre to Mississippi River at site between Dumaine and Gov. Nicholls Sts. — Map (db m56026) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — The Presbytère|
|[Logo of the New Orleans Landmarks Commission on top]
Designed in 1791 by Gilberto Guillemard, architect, as the rectory of the Church of St. Louis. Construction, begun through the generosity of Don Andres Almonester Y Roxas, was halted when he died in 1796. The building remained unfinished, only one story high, until it was completed by the wardens of St. Louis Cathedral in 1813, Gurlie and Guillot , builders.|
Never used for its intended purpose as a rectory or . . . — Map (db m51544) HM
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — The St. Charles Line|
|Began service in 1835 as the Carrollton Line of the N.O. & Carrollton Railroad. Powered by steam engine, horse, and mule prior to electrification in 1893. It is the oldest continuously operated street railway line in the world. — Map (db m13502) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — The Steamer New Orleans|
|On January 10, 1812, the steamer "New Orleans" commanded by Nicholas Roosevelt, arrived on this spot. It was the first steamboat to successfully navigate the Ohio and Mississippi rivers. Steamboats were a major factor in the growth of New Orleans as a world port. — Map (db m13504) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — The Washington Artillery Park — American Revolution Bicentennial: 1776-1976|
On and near this site since 1718 has centered the military activities of both regular and citizen soldiers of France, Spain, the Confederacy and the United States. On either side were the redoubts forming the “Great Battery” which crisscrossed its fires with those of Fort San Carlos (Ft. St. Charles) at the foot of Esplanade Ave. and of Fort San Luis (Ft. St. Louis) at the river end of Canal Street. One block down river is the lot used as an artillery park for . . . — Map (db m24684) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — The Xiques House|
|This Greek Revival residence was built in 1852 for Angel Xiques, and native of Cadiz, Spain, who was a partner in Laborde & Xiques, importers of Cuban products.
This was the Spanish Consulate from 1871 to 1877. In 1884 a gambling house operated here, followed by a cigar factory from 1885 to 1890.
In 1905 the house was to be demolished for a mineral water plant. Instead, it continued as a residence, with bottle storage on the ground floor and a new bottling building in the rear yard.
By . . . — Map (db m51357) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — These Three Townhouse|
|were designed and built in 1847 for merchant James Dick by renowned architect James Gallier, Sr. while he was designing the old New Orleans City Hall, now called Gallier Hall. Restored in 1971 by August Perez and Associates — Map (db m51355) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Thomas House|
|Built in 1827 by John Mitchell and Isaac Lambert for Dr. Pierre Thomas, who acquired the site from the city.
The house was remodeled and a new kitchen constructed for Dr. Thomas by Joseph Desjardin in 1844.
The Federal-style townhouse remained in the Thomas family until Jean Schwitzer purchased it in 1867 and operated a book and stationary ship here.
The cast iron balcony was likely added by Schweitzer. — Map (db m51420) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Thomas Poree House|
|The ground floor of this building was erected for Juan Laporte in 1789 during the Spanish colonial period. It replaced an earlier, French colonial residence.
The second floor was added in 1807 when Louis D’Aquin expanded his adjacent bakery into this building.
Following D’Aquin’s bankruptcy in 1808 it became the residence of the Thomas Poree family. Mrs. Poree was an aunt of the historian Charles Gayarre who as a child stood on this balcony and cheered General Andrew Jackson’s army on its way to defend the city against the British in 1814. — Map (db m51320) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Tomb of the Unknown Slave — St. Augustine Catholic Church, New Orleans|
| On this October 30, 2004, we, the faith community of St. Augustine Catholic Church, dedicate this shrine consisting of grave crosses, chains and shackles to the memory of the nameless, faceless, turfless Africans who met an untimely death in Faubourg Tremé. The Tomb of the Unknown Slave is commemorated here in this garden plot of St. Augustine Church, the only parish in the United States whose Free People of Color bought two outer rows of pews exclusively for slaves to use for worship. This . . . — Map (db m35067) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Tortorici’s|
|Three generations of Tortorici’s have owned The Nationally Famous Tortorici Restaurant.
Louis Tortorici left his native Italy for New Orleans and founded the Contessa Entllina Society, and on September 8, 1886 he became its first president.
His son Anthony opened Tortorici’s Restaurant in 1900 with his Father.
His sons Anthony & Joseph became the proprietors in 1946. — Map (db m51334) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Touro Infirmary — 1852|
|On this site in 1852, Jewish American philanthropist, Judah Touro, a distinguished veteran of the Battle of New Orleans, established Touro Infirmary to care for seamen, immigrants, slaves, and the indigents of all races and religions. Touro Infirmary relocated to Prytania Street in 1882. As a full service hospital, Touro Infirmary continues to provide health care to all of New Orleans. — Map (db m40487) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Town of Carrollton|
|Laid out by Charles Zimpel in 1833 on site of Macarty Plantation, formerly uppermost part of Bienvilles's 1719 land grant. Jefferson Parish seat 1852-1874. Annexed 1874 by New Orleans. 1854 courthouse designed by Henry Howard. — Map (db m13503) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — U.S. Branch Bank|
First home & domicile of
on arrival from France
1727 — Map (db m51470) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — United States Customhouse|
|United States Customhouse Has been designated a National Historic Landmark This site possesses national significance in commemorating the history of the United States of America — Map (db m28113) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — United States Mint — Erected 1835|
William Strickland, Architect.
John Mitchell and Benjamin F. Fox. Builders.
The building was renovated and fireproofed
1856-59 under the supervision of
Captain Johnson K. Dunkin
On this site stood Fort San Carlos
erected in 1792 by Spanish Governor
François Louis Hector, Baron De Carondelet.
As Fort St. Charles, it was demolished
in 1821 and the site named Jackson Square
In honor of Major General Andrew Jackson who had reviewed
his troops here before . . . — Map (db m54153) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Upper Pontabla Building — Pontabla Buildings National Historic Landmark|
[Logo of the Orleans Parrish Landmarks Commission]
by Michela Almonester, Baroness Pontabla,
working first with James Gallier, architect
and then with Henry Howard, architect
Samuel Stewart, builder.
In 1724 this corner was the site of
an officers’ barracks which was
later used as a temporary church,
a warehouse, and ultimately as
the residence of M. De Loubois,
major of the town.
On the remainder of the block,
barracks . . . — Map (db m21499) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Veterans Memorial|
|Among burials in this area are William P. Canby, U.S.N. and other Americans who died in the defense of the city in the Battle of New Orleans and the defeat of the British Army, January 8, 1815 — Map (db m51649) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Victor David House|
|Erected in 1838 for Victor David, a native of Gascony, France, and his wife Ann Rabassa. David Sidle and Samuel Stewart, builders.
Purchased and restored in 1925 as its clubhouse by Le Petit Salon, a ladies' literary group, one of the first to recognize and preserve the cultural traditions of the Vieux Carré
This plaque dedicated on April 28, 1988 — Map (db m51413) HM|
|Louisiana (Orleans Parish), New Orleans — Woldenberg Riverfront Park — Malcolm Woldenberg 1896-1982|
|Malcolm Woldenberg, one of Louisiana’s greatest philanthropists of the 20th century, dedicated his wealth to helping local, national, and international charities in aid of the elderly, children’s health, education, the worldwide Jewish community, and the arts. Mal was a charismatic yet humble man who also gave his love and time to many. He had a particular fondness for New Orleans where he was a successful entrepreneur leaving a legacy of caring and confidence to the City of New Orleans. — Map (db m51288) HM|
|Louisiana (Plaquemines Parish), Belle Chasse — Plaquemines Parish|
|Plaquemines Parish was founded on March 31, 1807 stretching from English Turn south 100 miles along both banks of the Mississippi River. The name originates from piakamin, the Mobile Indian word for persimmon. Fort St. Philip at Plaquemines Bend was first center of government for the parish. — Map (db m62355) HM|
|Louisiana (Plaquemines Parish), Braithwaite — English Turn|
|So named because in this bend, Sept. 1699, Bienville, coming down stream, met the British who had come up river to choose site for a settlement. Bienville convinced Captain Lewis Banks that the territory was in possession of the French. Early concessions were established in the vicinity. — Map (db m42679) HM|
|Louisiana (Plaquemines Parish), Buras-Triumph — Fort Jackson|
| Built 1822-32 to protect the lower river. Named for Andrew Jackson. 1862 - Fort withstood 10-day siege by Farragut and surrendered after city fell. In 1898 and 1917-18 used as training base. 1961 - Fort was declared a national monument. — Map (db m35091) HM|
|Louisiana (Plaquemines Parish), Point A La Hache — Plaquemines Parish|
|Plaquemines Parish was founded on March 13, 1807 stretching from English Turn south 100 miles along both banks of the Mississippi River. The name originates from piakamin, the Mobile Indian word for persimmon. Fort St. Philip at Plaquemines Bend was the first center of government for the parish. — Map (db m42681) HM|
|Louisiana (Rapides Parish), Alexandria — Alexandria|
| Side A Unnamed during the colonial period, Alexandria's beginnings as the major city in central Louisiana are traced to ca. 1797, when the "seat of justice" for Rapides Post was transferred from the north to the south bank of Red River. By 1799, the greater percentage of the population was located here. Growth was rapid, spurred by the introduction of the cotton gin in 1800, by Alexander Fulton. within two years, Fulton had begun clearing land, opening roads and, in 1805, Frederick . . . — Map (db m38290) HM|
|Louisiana (Rapides Parish), Alexandria — Alexandria Library|
|This site, located in the town's center square, was set aside for public use on the original town plat commissioned by Alexander Fulton in 1805. The building was constructed solely for advancement of culture and learning in 1907 by Caldwell Brothers, Contractors, and Crosby + Henkel of New Orleans, Architects. It replaced an earlier library burned by Gen. Nathaniel Banks' federal troops May 13, 1864. Area businessman S.S. Bryan matched a $10,000.00 grant from Pittsburgh philanthropist Andrew . . . — Map (db m38292) HM|
|Louisiana (Rapides Parish), Alexandria — Alexandria's Oldest Hospital|
|The Alexandria Sanitarium, founded by six area physicians, was opened January 1, 1903 in a former hotel at Second and Lee streets "to provide for a skillful treatment of medical and surgical cases of any nature." In 1905 the first building at Third and Scott streets, one block northeast, was built by the Scott Street Land and Development Co., Dr. John L. Wilson, president. In 1917 the property was given to the Louisiana Baptist Convention and the name changed in 1919 to The Baptist Hospital. . . . — Map (db m38294) HM|
|Louisiana (Rapides Parish), Alexandria — Commercial Building — Built c. 1915|
|Has been placed on the National Register of Historic Places by the United States Department of the Interior — Map (db m38319) HM|
|Louisiana (Rapides Parish), Alexandria — Emmanuel Baptist Church|
|The Alexandria and Pineville Baptist Church was organized in Pineville, Louisiana, on September 6, 1881, with twelve charter members. The name of the Church was changed to Emmanuel Baptist Church on March 30, 1892. In 1897, a wooden Sanctuary at Fourth and Jackson Streets in Alexandria was erected. A brick Education Building was completed in 1920. On September 10, 1950, the present brick Sanctuary was dedicated. In 1960, the Education Building was renovated and expanded educational facilities . . . — Map (db m38320) HM|
|Louisiana (Rapides Parish), Alexandria — England AFB Heritage Park|
|A symbol of all airmen past, present, and future, the England Air Force Base Heritage Park is a proud reminder of the Air Force's role in our nation's military history. Each of the five aircraft displayed here valiantly contributed to the defense of our country. They are suspended in simulated flight as a permanent reminder of the courage, dedication and sacrifice of the men and women who have served their country as members of the finest air force in the world. — Map (db m10104) HM|
|Louisiana (Rapides Parish), Alexandria — England Air Force Base History|
|England Air Force Base, which officially closed on December 15, 1992, began as the Alexandria Army Air Base on October 16, 1942 and was formally activated on February 12, 1943, was comprised of 2,604 acres and had two runways -- one north-south 7,000 feet long, and one northwest-southeast 9,350 feet long. Its capital assets were valued at more than $600 million.
Until 1945, the facility was used as a B-17 bomber combat crew training school. After cessation of hostilities in Europe in . . . — Map (db m37973) WM|
|Louisiana (Rapides Parish), Alexandria — Fairchild Republic A-10 Thunderbolt II|
|The 23D Tactical Fighter Wing accepted its first A-10 Thunderbolt II in December 1980. Nicknamed the warthog by its pilots, the A-10 was designed to provide close air support for ground forces. One of the most advanced features of the A-10 was its deadly tank-killing 30mm Gau-8 cannon. Built to survive, the A-10's ability to take and deliver punishment was indeed a threat to those who would unsheathe the sword of aggression.
— Map (db m10110) HM|
|Louisiana (Rapides Parish), Alexandria — Kent Plantation House|
|Kent House, the oldest known standing structure in Rapides Parish, was built by Pierre Baillio, completed in 1800. Baillio constructed the house on land received through a Spanish land grant circa 1794. — Map (db m38288) HM|
|Louisiana (Rapides Parish), Alexandria — Louisiana Maneuvers|
|In 1940 Lt. Gen. Stanley D. Embrick of the U.S. Army Fourth Corps Area, Atlanta, Ga., selected central Louisiana as site of training maneuvers to prepare American forces for possible involvement in war in Europe. Louisiana's 1941 maneuvers were the Army's largest peacetime training exercise. Approximately 400,000 troops were divided into armies of two imaginary countries: "Kotmk" (Kansas, Oklahoma, Texas, Missouri and Kentucky) and "Almat" (Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Alabama and . . . — Map (db m38321) HM|
|Louisiana (Rapides Parish), Alexandria — LTV Aerospace Vought A-7D Corsair II|
|When the 23D Tactical Fighter Wing came to England AFB in 1972, the Flying Tigers flew the A-7D Corsair II attack aircraft. For seven months in 1973, A-7 aircraft from the 74th Tactical Fighter Squadron of the 23 TFW deployed to Thailand to support the air war in Southeast Asia. The Flying Tigers flew the A-7 until 1980. This aircraft is painted to duplicate a past 23 TFW commander's aircraft.
— Map (db m10111) HM|
|Louisiana (Rapides Parish), Alexandria — North American F-86 Sabre|
|The Flying Tigers flew the F-86, one of the first swept-wing jet fighters, in the early 1950s. Known as the 23rd Fighter Interceptor Group, the unit provided air defense for the Northeastern United States while stationed at Presque Isle AFB, Maine. This F-86 has been painted to duplicate the aircraft flow by Lt Col John England, for whom England AFB is named. — Map (db m10112) HM|
|Louisiana (Rapides Parish), Alexandria — Old Rapides Bank Building|
|This structure was built on property that once belonged to Alexander Fulton. He had acquired it at the end of the 18th century from Marguerite Cecile Christophe Varrangue. Various persons occupied this site until it was acquired by Rapides Bank in two purchases dated February 26, 1897 and February 5, 1898. The Bank moved to this new location when it was ten years old, in September, 1898, under the leadership of its first president, Col. George Washington Bolton. The original building featured . . . — Map (db m38324) HM|
|Louisiana (Rapides Parish), Alexandria — Post-Civil War Alexandria|
| Side A After having been ravaged by fire during the Civil War, Alexandria was rebuilt and, with the building of railroads after Reconstruction, regained its place as the commercial, financial, medical and transportation center of central Louisiana. By the early 1900s the city was connected by mainline railways to northern and midwestern markets. Roads from all sections of Louisiana intersected here, making the town the state's crossroads. Telephone services began in 1895; the . . . — Map (db m38287) HM|
|Louisiana (Rapides Parish), Alexandria — Rapides Parish Governors|
|Four 19th century Rapides Parish residents served Louisiana as governor. Joseph Marshall Walker (1784-1856), a Bayou Rapides cotton planter, was governor 1850-53 -- the first to be installed in the newly-designated Baton Rouge capital. During his administration improvements were made in water and railway transportation, telegraph lines built, levees and drainage improved and a state banking system established. Thomas Overton Moore (1804-1877), a Bayou Robert planter, was governor 1860-64, . . . — Map (db m38325) HM|
|Louisiana (Rapides Parish), Alexandria — Red River|
| Side A Twenty-seven miles southeast of Tucumcari, New Mexico, Red River originates in the watershed of the Frio Draw on the Llano Estacado at an elevation of about 5000 feet. Flowing eastward through Palo Duro Canyon, it subsequently forms the border between Texas and Oklahoma, then turns southeast across Louisiana joining the Mississippi River at the northern boundary of the Florida Parishes. Its distinctive red color and rich alluvial valley have been noted since the earliest European . . . — Map (db m38326) HM|
|Louisiana (Rapides Parish), Alexandria — Republic F-105 Thunderchief|
|From 1964 to 1972 the Flying Tigers flew the F-105 tactical fighter bomber at McConnell AFB, Kansas, where the tigers functioned as both an operational unit and a training unit. Two of its squadrons served in Vietnam. While at McConnell, the Flying Tiger Unit received its current designation, 23D Tactical Fighter Wing. The aircraft displayed is an F-105G "Wild Weasel" with a paint scheme similar to ones flown by the 23 TFW.
— Map (db m10109) HM|
|Louisiana (Rapides Parish), Alexandria — Republic F-84F Thunderstreak|
|Relocated from Bringhurst Park and unveiled on 25 April 1992 during a 391st FBS homecoming, it has that squadron's markings, its operations officer as pilot, its weapons NCOIC as crew chief.
This airplane is dedicated to all the ‘cold warriors’ of the 366th and 401st fighter-bomber wings who flew from this base in support of National objectives during the post-Korean, pre-Vietnam War era.
— Map (db m10107) HM|
|Louisiana (Rapides Parish), Alexandria — St. Francis Xavier Cathedral Complex|
|When Poste du Rapides was established in Pineville the Catholic mission of St. Louis des Apalachees was founded. Mass was said in private homes in the new town of Alexandria. A chapel built in 1817 was the first church of any denomination in this city. St. Francis Xavier Church was built in 1834 on Front Street. Rev. Leonard Menard envisioned a larger place of worship. The cornerstone of the present edifice was laid on the Feast of St. Francis Xavier, December 3, 1895. A few weeks later the . . . — Map (db m38327) HM|
|Louisiana (Rapides Parish), Alexandria — The Guaranty Eagles|
|Carved of Indiana limestone, originally a part of the Guaranty Bank Building constructed in 1921. Salvaged in 1965 during a major building remodeling, and returned to Guaranty in 1981. — Map (db m38328) HM|
|Louisiana (Rapides Parish), Alexandria — The Hotel Bentley|
|The hotel was built in 1907-1908 by Joseph A. Bentley, prominent lumberman and businessman. Bentley came to Central Louisiana from Pennsylvania to engage in the sawmill business and the cutting of the virgin pine forest which was the first serious economic activity since the devastation of the Civil War and Reconstruction. Architect for the hotel project was George R. Mann of Little Rock and contractor was Hull Construction Company of Jackson, Mississippi. The hotel opened August 10, 1908. In . . . — Map (db m38323) HM|
|Louisiana (Rapides Parish), Alexandria — Thomas Courtland Manning — 1825-1887|
| Side No. 1 On this site in 1906, the City Library known as the Manning Memorial Library was opened, named in honor o a 19th century resident who served his State and his Nation. Hundreds of his personal volumes were donated to this library, which ceased operation a year or so later. Born in Edenton, North Carolina, he became an attorney by "reading-for-the-law", Albemarle Sentinel editor, educator at Edenton Academy and Master of the Equity Court, Chowan County. In 1855, he . . . — Map (db m38291) HM|
|Louisiana (Rapides Parish), Pineville — Bailey's Dam|
| If damming would get the fleet off, it would have been afloat long before." Rear Admiral David D. Porter Lieutenant Colonel Joseph Bailey While Union officers surveyed the situation and discussed the possible loss of the boats trapped in the river, Lieutenant Colonel Joseph Bailey, a West Point graduate with the Fourth Wisconsin Cavalry and Acting Engineer of the 19th Army Corps, came forward with a plan. Born in Ashtabula County, Ohio, in 1827, Bailey grew up in Illinois and moved . . . — Map (db m38532) HM|
|Louisiana (Rapides Parish), Pineville — Fort Buhlow and Fort Randolph|
|Fort Buhlow and Fort Randolph were earthwork/moat fortifications constructed beginning October 1864 by Confederate forces anticipating a repetition of Union Gen. Nathaniel Banks’ Summer 1864 Red River
Expedition. Construction, completed March 1865, was under the command of Capt. C.M. Randolph and supervised by a military engineer, Lieut. A. Buhlow, for whom the forts are named. The work was performed
by about 1500 soldiers and civilian workers and 500 black slaves. A third and larger fort, . . . — Map (db m7848) HM|
|Louisiana (Rapides Parish), Pineville — The Dam Works|
| The Lexington is freed By May 8, the water level had risen five feet four inches, allowing the lighter draft gunboats, the Fort Hindman, Neosho, and Osage, to cross the upper rapids and wait behind the dams. Fearing that the structure would not hold, General Banks informed Admiral Porter to put his boats "in readiness to take advantage of the higher water." Porter paid little heed to the concerns of Banks and made no effort to reduce the weight of his vessels, many of . . . — Map (db m38534) HM|
|Louisiana (Rapides Parish), Pineville — The Jewish Cemetery|
|The earliest known Jewish settler in the Alexandria-Pineville area was Henry Michael Hyams, whose name appears in the 1830 census. The earliest grave marker identifiable on this site tells that Augusta Bernstein, daughter of Samuel Bernstein, was buried here after her death on September 19, 1852. At least six other early burials were of victims of the 1853 yellow fever epidemic. The Hebrew Benevolent Association of Rapides, also known as Congregation Gemiluth Chassodim, was chartered October 2, . . . — Map (db m38329) HM|
|Louisiana (Rapides Parish), Pineville — The Red River Campaign — March 1864|
| "I trust some future historian will treat this matter as it deserves to be treated, because it is a subject in which the whole country should feel an interest..."Rear Admiral David D. Porter May 16, 1864 Assembling the Troops In March of 1864, nearly 30,000 troops converged on the city of Alexandria, Louisiana. Their objective was to move up the Red River and gain control of Texas in hopes of preventing Mexico from entering the war for the Confederacy. Union leaders also hoped to . . . — Map (db m38368) HM|
|Louisiana (Red River Parish), Lake End — C.S.A. Brigadier General Tom Green|
|April 12, 1864, C.S.A. Brig. Gen. Tom
Green was killed near here leading his
Texas cavalry in a duel against the Union
monitor Osage, gunboat Lexington,
and the transport Black Hawk at the
Battle of Blair's Landing. Of his passing Lt. Gen. Richard Taylor, said Green was "upright, modest, and with the simplicity of a child, danger seemed to be his element, and he rejoiced in combat... His death was a public calamity and mourned as such by the people of Texas and Louisiana." — Map (db m7575) HM|
|Louisiana (Sabine Parish), Many — El Camino Real — King's Highway — San Antonio Trace|
|Sabine River was the western
boundary of the neutral strip
from 1806 to 1820
Marked by the State of Louisiana
and the Daughters of the
A.D. 1951 — Map (db m30753) HM|
|Louisiana (Saint Charles Parish), Boutte — Skirmish of Boutte Station|
|Union train with sixty men ambushed by Confederate force of Louisiana militia and volunteers on September 4, 1862. Train escaped to New Orleans. Fourteen Union soldiers killed and twenty-two wounded in the skirmish. — Map (db m58214) HM|
|Louisiana (Saint Charles Parish), Des Allemands — Battle of des Allemands|
|Le district des Allemands, settled by Germans about 1720, the scene of numerous skirmishes between Confederate guerillas and Union forces, 1862-63. Most famous skirmish resulted in capture of an entire detachment of Union soldiers on September 4, 1862. — Map (db m58213) HM|
|Louisiana (Saint Charles Parish), Destrehan — Destrehan Manor House|
|Constructed 1787-1790 for Robert de Logny, Inherited by Jean Noel d’Estrehan 1800. Bought form heirs of Pierre A. Rost in 1914 by Mexican Petroleum Co. Donated 1972 to River Road Historical Society by American Oil Co. — Map (db m51607) HM|
|Louisiana (Saint Charles Parish), Destrehan — Mule Barn|
|Originally erected in 1830 at Glendale Plantation, Lucy, Louisiana. Donated by the Lanaux family, moved and reassembled at Destrehan Plantation in 1997.
Dedicated by the River Road Historical Society March 28, 1999. — Map (db m51606) HM|
|Louisiana (Saint Charles Parish), Hahnville — Fashion Plantation|
|Home of General Richard Taylor, son of Zachary Taylor, Louisiana statesman and member of the 1861 Secession Convention. Commanded Louisiana District, 1862-64; defeated Banks at Battle of Mansfield, 1864. Federals plundered home in 1862. — Map (db m58215) HM|
|Louisiana (Saint Charles Parish), Hahnville — Flagville|
|Named for O.J. Flagg in 1870; now a part of Hahnville. Letter left here by Tonti in 1686 with Quinipissa chief for LaSalle. Taensa Village, 1713. De Veuve, French Concession, 1718. Site included grant to Joseph Roi de Villere, 1765. — Map (db m58216) HM|
|Louisiana (Saint Charles Parish), Hahnville — Home Place|
|Built in 1790s, this French Colonial raised cottage is of West Indies bousillage construction. Owners included LaBranche, Fortier, and Gaillaire, with the Keller family ownership since 1885. (Note: A National Historic Landmark and is listed on National Register of Historic Places.) — Map (db m58211) HM|
|Louisiana (Saint James Parish), Gramercy — Gramercy|
|Incorporated November, 1947, located partly on Indian-French settlement & trading post site. In 1739 much of this area was sold to Joseph Delille Dupart, a Commissioner of Indian Nations under Bienville. Today area is location of various industries.
Sponsored by Stonewall Jackson Chapter No. 1135, United Daughters of the Confederacy — Map (db m71147) HM|
|Louisiana (Saint Landry Parish), Grand Coteau — Academy of the Sacred Heart|
|Second oldest institution of learning in Louisiana, opened in 1821 by Mother Audé and Sister Layton, Religious of the Sacred Heart. The Society was brought to America in 1818 by Blessed Philippine Duchesne. — Map (db m20027) HM|
|Louisiana (Saint Landry Parish), Grand Coteau — Grand Coteau|
|Early and important center of Catholic education. Noted for its Creole architecture. Town developed around Academy of Sacred Heart, founded in 1821, and St. Charles Jesuit College, founded in 1837. — Map (db m69329) HM|
|Louisiana (Saint Landry Parish), Sunset — Confederate Mass Grave|
|"While Texas will mourn the loss of her brave sons, she will treasure the memory as the glorious martyrs of our common country's independence." The above words echo from the report of Colonel O. M. Roberts regarding men of the 11th, 15th & 18th Tx. Inf. buried in a grave near here. The men died in the Battle of Bayou Borbeux in 1863. — Map (db m20025) HM|
|Louisiana (Saint Martin Parish), Breaux Bridge — Mulate's|
|This world famous institution is recognized for its role in the preservation and restoration of our cajun culture and heritage. It ranks today as one of Breaux Bridge's most prominent landmarks — Map (db m49067) HM|
|Louisiana (Saint Martin Parish), Cade — Site of Camp Pratt|
|From 1862-1863 Camp Pratt was official Confederate camp of conscription and instruction for South Louisiana. At one as many as 3,000 conscripts here. A small compound for Union Prisoners of war also located at the camp. — Map (db m49295) HM|
|Louisiana (Saint Martin Parish), St. Martinville — Attakapa Indian|
|Roving savage tribe who settled here prior to the French, partly Christianized and civilized by missionaries. Dedicated November 5, 1961. — Map (db m66369) HM|
|Louisiana (Saint Martin Parish), St. Martinville — Evangeline Oak|
|Longfellow's poem "Evangeline" immortalized the tragedy of the Acadian exile from Nova Scotia in 1755. This oak marks the legendary meeting place of Emmeline Labiche and Louis Arceneaux, the counterparts of Evangeline and Gabriel. — Map (db m66354) HM|
|Louisiana (Saint Martin Parish), St. Martinville — Judge Emile Edouard (Edward) Simon — 1824-1914|
|A native of St. Martinville, Simon studied law at Harvard under Joseph Story and Simon Greenleaf, earning his degree in 1846. As 14th Judicial District Judge from 1853 to 1865, Simon was to become the second of four generations of judges. While Henry Wadsworth Longfellow was writing the epic poem Evangeline and teaching at Harvard, Simon was a student there. Family tradition holds that Simon told Longfellow about the establishment of Acadian exiles here in 1765 and described for him the . . . — Map (db m66359) HM|
|Louisiana (Saint Martin Parish), St. Martinville — St. Martin Catholic Church|
|One of the oldest in the state. Established in 1765 by Rev. Jean Francois, Capuchin priest and missionary. It is just the same as when it was built having been repaired but not changed. — Map (db m71584) HM|
|Louisiana (St. Bernard Parish), Chalmette — “Where Has Our Equipment Gone?”|
|When the assault on the American rampart reached its height, the main British attack force found itself in front of the 44th Regiment which should have been in lead. Discovering that Colonel Mullens and the 44th Regiment had advanced 500 yards beyond the sugar can bundles (fascines) and ladders stored for their use. Major General Gibbs immediately ordered Mullens to return with his men to the rear and retrieve their equipment. Mullens disappeared, and only some of his regiment returned to the . . . — Map (db m6248) HM|
|Louisiana (St. Bernard Parish), Chalmette — Batteries 2 and 3|
|On January 8, 1815, the guns positioned here fired at British counter batteries located almost ½ mile in front of you. During the battle, these guns caused heavy casualties as the British advanced along the levee road.
The troops attacking to the right of this position numbered about 1200 men commanded by Colonel Robert Rennie of the 93rd Regiment. To the left were 355 men of Major Jean Baptiest Plauche’s Battalion of Uniformed Companies and 282 members of Major Lacoste’s Battalion of . . . — Map (db m6218) HM|
|Louisiana (St. Bernard Parish), Chalmette — Batteries 5 and 6|
|Fire from these positions played an important role in stopping the British attack on January 8, 1815. The cannons displayed hers represent batteries 5 and 6, which defended the center of Major general Jackson’s line. The field carriages were painted in U.S. Army regulation colors- sky blue and black.
Battery 6 contained guns mounted on a more compact mobile naval carriage. These carriages were painted in U.S Navy regulation “Spanish red” and black.
Artillery at New Orleans . . . — Map (db m6271) HM|
|Louisiana (St. Bernard Parish), Chalmette — Battery 4|
|The largest artillery piece on the battlefield was a 32-pounder commanded by Navy Lt. John Crawley and served by 24 men from the U.S.S. Carolina. It was removed from the Carolina in early December and was in action here during the January 1, 1815 artillery duel. Struck by British artillery fire, the cannon was quickly repaired and ready for action on January 8. This gun, firing grapeshot and landiage (scrap metal), tore gaping holes in the 93rd Highlanders as they moved across the . . . — Map (db m6273) HM|
|Louisiana (St. Bernard Parish), Chalmette — British Strategy|
|Major general Edward Pakenham’s final plan was to charge Major General Jackson’s position before daylight, to reduce the effectiveness of American artillery fire. The plan was complicated and depended on split-second timing and coordination. The British attack force was divided into four major groups: Lt. Colonel Thornton would take the 85th Regiment across the Mississippi River and capture David Morgan’s line on the West Bank. Major General Samuel Gidds would attack near the cypress swamp, . . . — Map (db m6243) HM|
|Louisiana (St. Bernard Parish), Chalmette — Chalmette Monument|
This monument was erected by the State of Louisiana and the United States to commemorate the memorable victory won here by General Andrew Jackson and the men under his command in the Battle of New Orleans, January 8, 1815. The cornerstone was laid on January 8, 1840. Construction of the monument began in 1855 and was carried to a height of 55 feet with funds provided by the State of Louisiana. In 1908 the monument was completed with funds provided by Congress.
In . . . — Map (db m59218) HM|
|Louisiana (St. Bernard Parish), Chalmette — In Memory of Major Samuel Spotts U.S.A.|
|Who shot the first gun at the Battle of New Orleans Jan 8, 1815. Third Regiment Seventh Battery Artillery Corp. Born Nov 30, 1788 in New Orleans Louisiana. — Map (db m6222) HM|
|Louisiana (St. Bernard Parish), Chalmette — Lethal Exposure|
|The January 8 British plan proved easier conceived than to execute. Due to numerous delays, the attack did not start on time. About dawn, a rocket soared above the British lines near the woods on you right, followed by another rocket from their position near the river. These signals to attack were answered almost instantly by a shot from the American artillery. Major general Gibbs column gave three cheers, and the advance guard on both flanks moved in close order toward the rampart. When the . . . — Map (db m6244) HM|
|Louisiana (St. Bernard Parish), Chalmette — Redoubt and Battery 1|
|The main American Position was nearing completion when a redoubt was constructed at the extreme right of the American line. It contained two artillery pieces that could rake the levee and canal. On the morning of January 5, 1815, 2000 British troops under the command of Colonel Robert Rennie attacked the redoubt and forced the Americans to retire. They quickly counterattacked and the British retreated after a brief fight. Failure to penetrate the American Flank contributed to the overall British defeat. — Map (db m6219) HM|
|Louisiana (St. Bernard Parish), Chalmette — Rodriguez Canal|
|This depression is the trace of an early mill race that divided the Chalmette and Macarty plantations, by the time of the Battle of New Orleans it was no longer in use and its banks had fallen in. Jackson’s men built their mud rampart behind the canal. Partly filled with water, it added to the strength of the American line. This is the only man-made feature dating back to the battle of January 8, 1815. — Map (db m6223) HM|
|Louisiana (St. Bernard Parish), Chalmette — The Battle Ends|
|Seeing the massive disorder in Major General Gibbs’ column, Major General Pakenham rode forward. While attempting to rally his troops and get the stalled attack underway, Pakenham was mortally wounded a few yards from this site. Major General Keane, commanding the British near the river; sent the 93rd Highlanders to lead a second assault. They crossed the field, moving towards Gibbs’ troops on the British right.This regiment was decimated with grapeshot and musket fire. A few men reached the . . . — Map (db m6251) HM|
|Louisiana (St. Bernard Parish), Chalmette — The Battle on the West Bank|
|Discovering American militia and artillery on the west bank of the Mississippi River, British General Pakenham ordered Lieutenant Colonel William B. Thornton to lead an attack force across the river. Thorton was to capture the American guns and turn them against Major General Andrew Jackson’s line here on the East Bank.
The Americans under Brigadier General David B. Morgan made a stand, but they were routed, pursued, and their guns were taken. Fortunately for the Americans the British . . . — Map (db m6221) HM|
|Louisiana (St. Martin Parish), St. Martinville — Henry Wadsworth Longfellow — (1807 - 1882) — "Poet of the People"|
|He was a man of great social consciousness.
In works like Evangeline and Hiawatha
and his collection of anti-slavery poems
Longfellow helped to preserve cultural memory.
From remarks by Dr. Layne Longfellow at the unveiling in Evangeline Oak Park, of the Longfellow bust sculpted by Fred DeCourt, Jr. for the St. Martinville Rotary Club.
3 March 2005 — Map (db m66363) HM|
|Louisiana (St. Martin Parish), St. Martinville — St. Martinville|
|City developed c.1795 ~ c.1890 through unusual semi-feudal arrangement where town property holders paid an "annual and perpetual" rent to the congregation of St. Martin of Tours Catholic Church. — Map (db m66367) HM|
|Louisiana (St. Mary's Parish), Morgan City — First Offshore Oil Well|
| First producing offshore oil
well out of site of land
was completed Nov. 14, 1947
in the Gulf of Mexico
forty-three miles South of
Morgan City, Louisiana
25th Offshore Anniversary, Inc.
Chamber of Commerce
Morgan City, Berwick, Patterson Area — Map (db m36116) HM|
|Louisiana (Tangipahoa Parish), Amite City — Blythewood Plantation|
|This turn-of-the-century home is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Daniel Hardy Sanders built this Colonial Revival style masterpiece to overlook his 400 acre plantation. From the columned porch, guest enter into the elegance of a bygone era. Blythewood today stands as a proud tribute to the dedication of two sisters, Otys Merle Roberts Kennedy and Mamie Roberts Goldsby. — Map (db m49692) HM|
|Louisiana (Tangipahoa Parish), Amite City — Church of the Incarnation — Protestant Episcopal|
|Incorporated in 1871.church was admitted into union. Heirs of John Bach donated the present site. In 1872, the Rev. Herman Cope Duncan, missionary to the area, made first rector. — Map (db m49683) HM|
|Louisiana (Tangipahoa Parish), Hammond — Hammond Junior College|
|Original site of Hammond Junior College, predecessor of Southeastern La. Univ. Funded by S. Tangipahoa tax. Opened Sept. 14, 1925 w/40 students and a facilty of 5. Linus A. Sims was the first president. — Map (db m49772) HM|
|Louisiana (Tangipahoa Parish), Hammond — Mt. Vernon Walnut|
|This tree grew from a seed of a walnut tree at Geo. Washington's home at Mt. Vernon.
Planted February 22, 1932 by the American Legion Auxillary and Boy Scouts of Hammond in celebration of Washington's bicentennial. Was transplanted in this location on February 22, 1938 by Hammond Garden Club. — Map (db m49776) HM|
|Louisiana (Tangipahoa Parish), Hammond — Peter Hammond — 1798 - 1870|
|Under this oak is buried Peter Hammond, of Sweden, who founded Hammond, La., about 1818. Nearby are the graves of his wife, three daughters, and a favorite slave boy — Map (db m49774) HM|
|Louisiana (Tangipahoa Parish), Independence — Indepeneance|
|Known as Uncle Sam when settled in 1830's, Italian families began to arrive in early 1880's. Because of this heritage, the town has become known as "Little Italy". Downtown historic district created by city in 1982. — Map (db m49704) HM|
|Louisiana (Tangipahoa Parish), Loranger — Loranger High Shool|
|Original structure, 1912. Present structure 1930. A community, civic and educational center. Built under the direction of W. G. Cory, School Board Member ~ J. F. Corkern Principal. Marker donated by Loranger High School Alumni Association, organized 1922, one of the oldest in Louisiana. — Map (db m50379) HM|