HMdb.org THE HISTORICAL
MARKER DATABASE
            “Bite-Size Bits of Local, National, and Global History”
  Home  — My Markers  — Add A Marker  — Marker Series  — Links & Books  — Forum  — About Us
Click First to browse through the results shown on this page.   First >> 
Show DirectionsOmit Marker TextClick to map all markers shown on this page.
Maine Markers
279 markers matched your search criteria. The first 250 markers are listed. Next 29
Maine (Androscoggin County), Auburn — Bonney Park
In Memory of Rodney “Rocky” Bonney. Auburn police officer Rodney “Rocky” Bonney died in the line of duty attempting to rescue a youth from these frigid waters. April 06, 1981. “In Valor There is Hope” — Map (db m1048) HM
Maine (Androscoggin County), Auburn — Cities of the Androscoggin — Lewiston-Auburn
The Lewiston-Auburn Railroad Bridge was erected in 1909 and served as a vital link to the downtown. It also provided the connection for thousands of Canadian, Irish, Polish and other immigrants to the area. Recognizing the bridge’s historic significance, the cities undertook a plan for its re-use. In November 1994, after being abandoned for over 25 years, the bridge was opened to the public as one of the most unique bicycle/pedestrian facilities in the United States. The award winning design reflects the railroad and mill history of the area. — Map (db m1050) HM
Maine (Aroostook County), Fort Kent — Fort Kent
Fort Kent has been designated a National Historic Landmark. This site possesses National significance in commemorating the history of the United States. — Map (db m2088) HM
Maine (Aroostook County), Presque Isle — Maine Solar System Model — Scale: 1:93,000,000
You are part of Northern Maine’s Aroostook County 40-mile long scale model of the Solar System. At this scale, one mile along U.S. Route 1 equals the distance from the Earth to the Sun, known as an “astronomical unit”. The Sun is located at the Northern Maine Museum of Science in Folsom Hall on the campus of the University of Maine at Presque Isle; Pluto can be seen at the Houlton Information Center, just north of the Interstate 95 interchange. The remaining eight planets – . . . — Map (db m58942) HM
Maine (Cumberland County), Brunswick — Androscoggin Swinging Bridge — National Register of Historic Places January 2004
Originally designed and built 1892 by John A. Roebling's Sons Co. for mill workers to cross the river from new housing in Topsham to the Cabot Mill in Brunswick. The bridge has served generations of citizens of all ages between Brunswick and Topsham. Rehabilitated by Atlantic Mechanical Inc. in 2006 contracted by Topsham and Brunswick using funds from Federal Enhancement Grant monies. ————— Improved by Works Progress Administration 1935-1936 — Map (db m51968) HM
Maine (Cumberland County), Brunswick — Bowdoin College War Memorial
• Honored Here Are All Bowdoin Generations Who Served When Our Country Called and Those Who Fell • World War II [Honored Dead] Korea [Honored Dead] Vietnam [Honored Dead] I hear even now the infinite fierce chorus, The cries of agony, the endless groan. Which, through the ages that have gone before us, In long reverberations reach our own. Henry Wadsworth Longfellow, Class of 1825 They will come together again under higher bidding and will know their place and . . . — Map (db m55495) HM
Maine (Cumberland County), Brunswick — Bowdoin College World War Memorial
Dedicated to the Sons of Bowdoin who in the World War offered their lives and services for their country and for Freedom 1914 - 1918 [Roll of Honored Dead] Breve tempus aetatis satis longum est ad bene honesteque vivendum — Map (db m55492) HM
Maine (Cumberland County), Brunswick — Brunswick Veterans Memorial — In Grateful Recognition of Valor
Dedicated to the honor and memory of our men and women of Brunswick who served our country in all wars and conflicts — Map (db m51930) HM
Maine (Cumberland County), Brunswick — Company K, 1st Maine Volunteer Infantry
In memory of Company "K" 1st Maine Volunteer Inf. Spanish American War 1898 - 1902 Brunswick Maine — Map (db m51369) HM
Maine (Cumberland County), Brunswick — Founding of the Maine Medical Association
This monument commemorates the founding of the Maine Medical Association on April 28, 1853. On that date, and near this site, at what was then the Tontine Hotel, 27 physicians met to organize the association which has existed continually to this day Dr. James McKeen, Chairman · Dr. Israel Putnam Dr. Stephen Whitmore · Dr. C.W. Whitmore Dr. Richard P. Jenness · Dr. Ashur Ellis Dr. John D. Lincoln · Dr. John Mathews Dr. H.H. Hill · Dr. Joseph W. Ellis Dr. G.S. Palmer · Dr. Cyrus . . . — Map (db m51926) HM
Maine (Cumberland County), Brunswick — Home of Joshua Lawrence Chamberlain — 1828     1914
Major General of United States Volunteers Recipient of Congressional Medal of Honor for gallant conduct at Battle of Gettysburg Governor of Maine     1867 – 1871 President of Bowdoin College   1871 – 1888 Marked by State of Maine Society Daughters of the American Revolution 1934 — Map (db m21398) HM
Maine (Cumberland County), Brunswick — Robinson Memorial Gate
In Memory of Franklin C. Robinson of the class of 1873 for thirty six years teacher of Bowdoin men and in Memory of his wife Ella Maria Tucker Robinson — Map (db m55477) HM
Maine (Cumberland County), Brunswick — Robinson Memorial Gate
In memory of Warren Eastman Robinson 1890 - 1918 ———— Bowdoin '10 First Lieutenant U.S. Army Second Battle of the Marne St. Mihiel Meuse Argonne ———— Killed in Action — Map (db m55509) HM
Maine (Cumberland County), Brunswick — Site of Fort Andross and Fort George
To mark the site of 1688 Fort Andross 1694 and 1715 Fort George 1737 Also the earliest burial place where are buried Benjamin Larrabee Agent of the Pejepscot Proprietors and Commander of Fort George. Also Robert and Andrew Dunning, killed by the Indians — Map (db m51932) HM
Maine (Cumberland County), Cape Elizabeth — A Town Within A Town
The primary purpose of Fort Williams may have been for coastal defense, yet many men, women, and children also called it home. This self-sustaining community featured many of the buildings and services typical of an American town of the time including a chapel, hospital, fire station, and bakery. In addition to the housing, administrative, and utility buildings, residents of Fort Williams enjoyed a theater, gymnasium, swimming pool, bowling alley, and clubs. — Map (db m25389) HM
Maine (Cumberland County), Cape Elizabeth — Battery Blair
Battery Blair was completed in 1903. It was named for Francis P. Blair, Jr., a veteran of the Mexican and Civil Wars who rose to the rank of major general and later represented Missouri in the U.S. Senate. The battery consisted of two twelve-inch guns, the largest in use at the time, which were designed to protect Portland Harbor from attacks by battleships and cruisers. The guns were mounted on disappearing carriages that returned them to shelter below the level of the parapet after firing, . . . — Map (db m25378) HM
Maine (Cumberland County), Cape Elizabeth — CCC Headquarters
One of Franklin Delano Roosevelt's New Deal programs, the Civilian Conservation Corps hired unemployed young men during the Great Depression. The CCC provided training to men between the ages of 18 and 25 for work on conservation projects including tree planting, fighting forest fires, and construction. Fort Williams was the state headquarters and induction center for all new enrollees before their assignment to one of Maine's 28 camps. Throughout the nation, more than 2,000,000 men served in the CCC. — Map (db m25390) HM
Maine (Cumberland County), Cape Elizabeth — Civilian Conservation Corps
This plaque was dedicated by Chapter 111 Alumni by former members of the Civilian Conservation Corps in memory of Franklin Delano Roosevelt and the members, who served at this post and other C.C.C. camps in Maine and throughout the United States between the years of 1933 to 1942. Dedicated August 1986 — Map (db m50361) HM
Maine (Cumberland County), Cape Elizabeth — Fort Williams
This former military installation, begun in 1873 and known as The Battery at Portland Head, was a sub-post of Fort Preble until 1898 when it became a separate independent fort. It was designated Fort Williams in honor of Brevet Major General Seth Williams, a native of Maine, and Assistant Adjutant General, U.S. Army. This coastal defense installation guarded the entrance to Casco Bay and was the headquarters for the harbor defenses of Portland. It remained an active military base until it was closed in 1964. — Map (db m23389) HM
Maine (Cumberland County), Cape Elizabeth — Fort Williams
From the 1750s, Portland Harbor was of economic importance as the closest American harbor to Europe and of strategic importance as a protected anchorage for the navy. As part of an upgrading of the harbor defenses in 1873, construction began on a battery at Portland Head to replace the outmoted granite forts in the inner harbor. This location ultimately contained six modern batteries mounting twelve guns and became headquarters for the harbor defenses. Although the original battery was never . . . — Map (db m25385) HM
Maine (Cumberland County), Cape Elizabeth — Looking East — Casco Bay
[Header Information] Portland Harbor: Ice-free, 25' deep at low tide Export/Import: Paper, Electronics, Foresty Products, Seafood, Oil & Gas Winds: Southerly in Summer, Northerly in Winter Commercial Fishing Fleet: 150 Peaks Island: Most populated island in Casco Bay, located 3 miles from Portland Ragged Island: Poet Edna St. Vincent Millay purchased the island in 1933. Halfway Rock: The Halfway Rock Lighthouse is located in Casco Bay, midway between Cape Elizabeth and Small . . . — Map (db m50382) HM
Maine (Cumberland County), Cape Elizabeth — Looking North — Portland, Maine
[Header Information] Population: 65,000 Surrounding Population: 250,000 Number of Languages Spoken in the Portland Public Schools: 40 Visitors Per Year: 3,750,000 Average Summer Temperature: 82° Miles from Boston: 100 Amount of office space in downtown, in millions of sq ft: 4,000 Arts events each year: 2,000 (over 50% are free) The motto of Portland, Maine's largest city, is "Resurgam" ("I will rise again"), reflecting the city's resilience after four catastrophic fires . . . — Map (db m50362) HM
Maine (Cumberland County), Cape Elizabeth — Looking South — Cape Elizabeth
[Header Information] Hannaford Bros. Co.: The supermarket chain was founded in 1883 to sell the vegetables and fruits grown on a farm in Cape Elizabeth. Farming: Cape Elizabeth-grown cabbage was considered the best in the state, bringing $10 a ton in the late 1880s. Notable Former Residents: Bette Davis, actress; John Ford, film director; Dorothy Bush Koch, daughter of President George H. W. Bush; Gary Merrill, actor Beckett Castle: Formerly owned by Colonel Walter Singles, who, . . . — Map (db m50384) HM
Maine (Cumberland County), Cape Elizabeth — Portland Head Light
Since its commission by George Washington in 1790, Portland Head Light remains an enduring symbol of the rugged, solid characteristics of a magnificent coastline and proud people weathering the challenges of nature and time. In observance of Greater Portland's 350th anniversary, we rededicate this unique landmark to the aspirations and achievements of those who came before us and to present and future generations who will continue its proud heritage. George Bush Vice President of the United States July, 1982 — Map (db m41841) HM
Maine (Cumberland County), Cape Elizabeth — Spurwink Church
Spurwink Church Built, 1802 Rebuilt C.1834 National Register of Historic Sites — Map (db m50331) HM
Maine (Cumberland County), Cape Elizabeth — U.S.S. Eagle-56 (PE-56)
In memory of the officers and crewmen of the U.S. Navy's Eagle Class Sub-Chaser U.S.S. Eagle-56 (PE-56) torpedoed and sunk by the German U-boat U-853 approximately nine miles southeast of this location on Monday, 23 April 1945 with the loss of forty-nine officers and crewmen. Thirteen survivors were rescued. The greatest loss of U.S. Navy personnel in New England waters during World War II. — Map (db m50332) HM
Maine (Cumberland County), Naples — Songo Lock
This lock, originally built of stone masonry in 1830, was a vital link in the 50 mile long waterway from Portland Harbor to Harrison at the head of Long Lake until the advent of the railroad in 1869. At one time 100 “canal boats” were engaged in freighting lumber out and supplies in through the waterway. These boats were 65’ long and were towed by horses and oxen through the canal, sailed across the lakes, and poled up the Songo River. A total of 27 similar locks were constructed in . . . — Map (db m59436) HM
Maine (Cumberland County), Portland — Alonzo P. Stinson
Third Sergeant Company H Fifth Regiment Maine Volunteer Infantry Aged 19 Years Killed First Battle Bull Run July 21st 1861 Sergeant Stinson was the first volunteer soldier from Portland to give his life for the preservation of the Union in the Civil War Presented to the City of Portland July 4th 1908 — Map (db m50433) HM
Maine (Cumberland County), Portland — Charles F. Eastman — Conductor on the Underground Railroad & Entrepreneur — Portland Freedom Trail
Eastman (1821-1880) was barber, second-hand clothing dealer, mariner and hack driver. He was also a financial supporter of the Abyssinian Meeting House and School. He owned and operated several barber shops with his four sons, including one on this site. Barber shops were important centers of communication in the anti-slavery movement and aided freedom seekers in changing their appearance. — Map (db m50425) HM
Maine (Cumberland County), Portland — Christopher Christian Manuel — 1781 - 1845 — Portland Freedom Trail
Activist, Barber and Musician Born in Cape Verde, Africa First President Portland Union Anti-Slavery Society — Map (db m50434) HM
Maine (Cumberland County), Portland — Eastern Cemetery — Chartered 1668
Declared a National Historic Site January 1974 Here lie the hardy courageous early settlers, the men and women who founded and defended this area, who made history in civil life, government, law, the arts, education, religion, in the state and in the nation. 3848 named graves including defenders of the Colonial wars, 150 soldiers of the Revolution, defenders in the War of 1812, the Civil War, and 206 unnamed graves of the early settlers. To them this tablet is dedicated by the Longfellow Garden Club July 1975 — Map (db m50432) HM
Maine (Cumberland County), Portland — Franklin Street Wharf — Portland Freedom Trail
Landing spot for many passengers on the Underground Railroad and embarkation point for their transit to Canada and England. Anti-slavery sympathizers were well-organized to greet stowaways from Southern cargo vessels, find them safe housing in Portland, supply clothing and passes and send them on to Canada. The wharves and ships of Portland employed large numbers of African Americans, providing well paying jobs, thus adding to community stability. — Map (db m20614) HM
Maine (Cumberland County), Portland — George Cleeves Memorial
In honor of George Cleeves Founder of Portland 1633 Deputy President of the Province of Lygonia 1645 - 1659 There landed with George Cleeves, his wife Joan, and daughter Elizabeth, his partner Richard Tucker, and his wife Margaret Erected July 4th, 1883 [Base sides read] Machigonne, Casco, Falmouth and Portland — Map (db m55535) HM
Maine (Cumberland County), Portland — Home of Amos Noλ and Christiana Williams Freeman — Portland Freedom Trail
First full-time called minister of the Abyssinian Meeting House 1841-1852 Rev. Freeman (1809-1893) was an instructor in the school maintained for African Americans in the Abyssinian Meeting House. As conductors on the Underground Railroad, the Freemans maintained both their home and the Meeting House as safehouses for freedom seekers. After they left Maine, Christiana Freeman (1812-1903) was a director of the Colored Orphans Asylum in New York City. During the Draft Riots of 1863, she was . . . — Map (db m50428) HM
Maine (Cumberland County), Portland — Home of Elias and Elizabeth Widgery Thomas — Portland Freedom Trail
Corner of India and Congress Street, known as a Station House on the Underground Railroad. The home was destroyed in the Great Fire of 1866. The Thomases were prominent in the Portland Anti-Slavery Society, begun in 1833, which also worked to advance women's rights. They provided housing for such notables as Lucy Stone, Susan B. Anthony, William Lloyd Garrison, Charles Lenox Remond and Parker Pillsbury. — Map (db m50429) HM
Maine (Cumberland County), Portland — India Street Terminal
In recognition of Portland's role in Canada's history India Street Terminal at Milepost 0.0. on the Atlantic & St. Lawrence / St. Lawrence & Atlantic RRs. Grand Trunk Railway of Canada Canadian National Railways July 1853 to 19 May 1989 — Map (db m50445) HM
Maine (Cumberland County), Portland — John Ford Memorial
[On the base of the John Ford statue]: John Ford, Director - “I Make Westerns” Born: John Martin Feeney, 2-1-1894 Died: John Ford, 8-31-1973 Portland High School Class of 1914 Married Mary McBride Smith of North Carolina, 1920 - From Laurinburg, NC [inscription here also contains the logo of the Daughters of the American Revolution] Rear Admiral, U.S. Navy Nataninez / Tall Soldier - Navajo Nation The gift of this statue to . . . — Map (db m72521) HM WM
Maine (Cumberland County), Portland — Joseph Coffin Boyd — 1760 - 1823
District Paymaster US Army, War of 1812 First Maine State Treasurer [Served 1820-1823, died in office] — Map (db m50435) HM
Maine (Cumberland County), Portland — Portland Civil War Monument — 1861 - 1865
More than four thousand men were enrolled from Portland in the army and navy for the War of the Rebellion More than three hundred were killed in battle or died in service. Honor and grateful remembrance to the dead, equal honor to those who, daring to die, survived. — Map (db m25392) HM
Maine (Cumberland County), Portland — Portland Observatory
has been designated a National Historic Landmark This site possesses national significance in commemorating the history of the United States of America. The Observatory is the nation's only remaining maritime signal tower. It served as a communication station for Portland's bustling harbor brom 1807 to 1923, announcing the arrival of ships with a unique system of colorful signal flags. National Historic Civil Engineering Landmark Built 1807 One of the earliest marine . . . — Map (db m50418) HM
Maine (Cumberland County), Portland — Rear Admiral James Alden
Panel 1: [rendering of Rear Admiral James Alden] Born in Portland March 31, 1810 Died in San Francisco Feb 6, 1877 Panel 2: [rendering of a mariner's sextant] Intrepid Explorer Skilful Hydrographer Cartographer of the West Coast of the United States Panel 3: [rendering of the Seal of the U. S. Navy] Entered the Navy April 1, 1828 Commissioned Rear Admiral June 19, 1871 Panel 4: [rendering of sail warships in combat] Mexican War [U.S. . . . — Map (db m72995) HM WM
Maine (Cumberland County), Portland — Reverend William I. Reese
[Southwest Face] Erected Dec 1, 1859 By a donation from the HON. FRANCIS O.J. SMITH, to honor and perpetuate the memory of REV. WILLIAM I. REESE who while pastor of the First Universalist Society, founded the Portland Widow’s Wood Society. December 1, 1829; and in testimony of his instinctive benevolence, Christian sympathy for the poor active Humanity for the suffering and self sacrificing nobleness in the relief of the Destitute irrespective of Creeds, Prejudices, Nativities and Races; . . . — Map (db m50436) HM
Maine (Cumberland County), Portland — The Site of Fort Loyal
Erected by the Colonists in 1680 Captured by the French and Indians in 1690. Entire English settlement destroyed ———— To the memory of these brave defenders this tablet placed by The Daughters of the American Colonists November 5, 1936 — Map (db m50448) HM
Maine (Cumberland County), Portland — Wadsworth-Longfellow House
Has been designated a Registered National Historic Landmark Under the provisions of the Historic Sites Act of August 21, 1935 This site possesses exceptional value in commemorating and illustrating the history of the United States U. S. Department of the Interior National Park Service 1963 — Map (db m25391) HM
Maine (Cumberland County), Portland — War of Independence Memorial — 1775 - 1783
To the memory of our historic dead who bore arms in the War of Independence and who were ever the brave defenders of our country who made her foundations so enduring — Map (db m50430) HM
Maine (Cumberland County), Scarborough — Civil War Memorial
Scarboro To her sons who fought for the Union — Map (db m50329) HM
Maine (Cumberland County), South Portland — Civil War Memorial
In honor of our Patriot Soldiers and Sailors. 1861-65 Cape Elizabeth • South Portland — Map (db m55536) HM
Maine (Cumberland County), South Portland — Civilian Conservation Corps
This plaque was dedicated by Chapter 111 Alumni by former members of the Civilian Consservation Corps in memory of Franklin Delano Roosevelt and the members, who served at this post and other C.C.C. camps in Maine and throughout the United States between the years of 1933 to 1942. Dedicated August 1986 — Map (db m55601) HM
Maine (Cumberland County), South Portland — Coast Artillery Corps at Fort Preble
Dedicated to the men and women of the Coast Artillery Corps who defended Portland Harbor at Fort Preble in five wars from 1808 through 1945 — Map (db m55602) HM
Maine (Cumberland County), South Portland — Early Settlement
The largest 17th century settlement in Cape Elizabeth - which included South Portland and Cape Elizabeth prior to 1895 - was established in 1658 near Spring Point. However, the onset of the French and Indian Wars in 1675 necessitated frequent evacuations south to the garrison at Spurwink. After King Philip's War, 1675-1678, this area remained destroyed and deserted. Nine families who resettled at the Point faced a disastrous Indian attack in 1703 in which 25 settlers were killed and 8 captured . . . — Map (db m55673) HM
Maine (Cumberland County), South Portland — First Congregational Church of South Portland
Near this hallowed ground our earliest settlers erected in 1722 a garrison-meeting house for worship and protection. This was the beginning of the First Congregational Church of South Portland, which was established on November 10, 1734. Dedicated November 10, 1984 — Map (db m55603) HM
Maine (Cumberland County), South Portland — Fort Gorges
Built on Hog Island Ledge, Fort Gorges was named after Sir Ferdinando Gorges, colonial proprietor of the Province of Maine. The fort's site allowed it to provide supplemental fire to both Forts Preble and Scammel. Its location at the head of the harbor would also serve as a deterrent to vessels entering through the channels on either side of Peaks Island. Attackers coming around behind Great Diamond Island could be repelled by cannon on the top rear of the fort. Work on Fort Gorges began in . . . — Map (db m55627) HM
Maine (Cumberland County), South Portland — Fort Preble
This area is the site of Fort Preble, also known as Fort Hancock during the Revolutionary War, a temporary fort. Fort Preble was begun in 1808 during the administration of Pres. Jefferson and completed before the War of 1812. It was named for Commodore Edward Preble, native of Portland and prominent naval officer. This fort, later enlarged and renovated, guarded the entrance to Portland Harbor and played a strategic role in coastal defenses until its deactivation in 1950. — Map (db m55568) HM
Maine (Cumberland County), South Portland — Liberty Ship Memorial
This scenic point of land overlooking Portland Harbor, where Bug Light Park stands today, was once home to a sprawling World War II Shipyard that covered 140 acres of land, including over 60 buildings, and had the capacity to build up to 13 ships at one time. Between 1941 and 1945, the South Portland Shipyards built 266 cargo vessels, 236 of which were Liberty Ships, contributing immeasurably to the Allied victory in World War II. When the war ended, so did the need for Liberty Ships and . . . — Map (db m50474) HM
Maine (Cumberland County), South Portland — Morris P. Cates
In memory Morris P. Cates Deputy Commissioner of Education through whose untiring efforts - Maine - Vocational-Technical Institute was established in 1946 — Map (db m55599) HM
Maine (Cumberland County), South Portland — Shipbuilding
Shipbuilding has been an important part of South Portland’s economy since colonial times. Small vessels built prior to the Revolutionary War were used for fishing and the coasting trade which ranged from the Kennebec River to Virginia. During the mid-1700’s, locally built one- and two-masted ships were used in the expanded West Indies trade. Vessels built of native timber carried Maine lumber, barrels, and dried codfish to exchange for molasses and rum. They also carried Southern cotton and . . . — Map (db m55678) HM
Maine (Cumberland County), South Portland — Site of Former Schools
Site of Former Schools District No.6 - Point Village Willard Schools 1867 - 1978 — Map (db m55565) HM
Maine (Cumberland County), South Portland — South Portland and Its Liberty Ships
In the mid-1800s, when South Portland was still a part of Cape Elizabeth, its waterfront appeared to be a continuous line of bustling yards building and repairing ships. From Butler on Turner's Island to Knight and Blanchard in Knightville to Turner and Cahoon, Pickett, and Dyer of Ferry Village, all along the Fore River master craftsmen were producing ships that spread South Portland's name around the world. By the end of the century, with the transition from wooden to steam ships, just a few . . . — Map (db m50413) HM
Maine (Cumberland County), South Portland — South Portland's Ships for Liberty
Todd-Bath Iron Shipbuilding Corp., 1940-1942 South Portland Shipbuilding Corp., 1941-1943 New England Shipbuilding Corp., 1943-1945 This is a complete list of the ships built by the emergency shipyards at South Portland, Maine, between 1941-1945. These companies were joint ventures between Bath Iron Works and Todd Shipbuilding. Todd-Bath Iron Shipbuilding (TBI) was established in 1940 to build 30 Ocean class freighters for Great Britain. The yard has three construction basins: #1 . . . — Map (db m50396) HM
Maine (Cumberland County), South Portland — The Ugly Ducklings
When Rear Admiral Land, U.S. Maritime Commission Chairman showed President Roosevelt the Liberty ship plans, he remarked, "She'll carry a good load. She isn't much to look at though? A real ugly duckling." However, these simple but seaworthy ships were not designed for aesthetics. They were designed as ships of war, to carry huge amounts of cargo to the Allied forces around the world. The standardized design (EC2-S1-C1) was selected for its simplicity and adaptability to mass production. To . . . — Map (db m50508) HM
Maine (Cumberland County), South Portland — The Work Force
We welcome you to our yard. You are now a member of our army of 25,000 men and women building the ships so urgently needed to carry war supplies to the fighting front. New England Shipbuilding Corporation, Employee Handbook With the shipyards in their backyards and world war raging overseas, many men and women did their patriotic duty by reporting to the shipyard’s personnel office for employment. In 1941, when the Todd-Bath shipyard was being built, planners estimated a need for . . . — Map (db m55925) HM
Maine (Cumberland County), South Portland — The Yard
We were all working there for one purpose: to get this country out of trouble. Everyone had one thing in mind: to produce and to win. Bill Walton Worker at New England Shipbuilding Corp. Before there could be any British Ocean class or American Liberty ships - there had to be a shipyard in which to construct them. South Portland's Todd-Bath shipyards, operating as an affiliate of Todd Shipyards of New York, had a two year contract with the British government to build 30 Ocean class . . . — Map (db m55737) HM
Maine (Cumberland County), South Portland — Voyages for Victory
Each new ship strikes a blow at the menace to the Nation and for the Liberty of the Free People of the World… President Franklin Delano Roosevelt September 27, 1941 At the launching of the first Liberty ship, Patrick Henry from Bethlehem-Fairfield Shipyard In 1940, with “blitzkrieg” attacks wrecking havoc on land and “unterseeboat” torpedoes wiping out the British naval fleet, the Germans appeared to be on their way towards conquering Europe. . . . — Map (db m55922) HM
Maine (Cumberland County), South Portland — WWII: On the Home Front
During the war we all did our part to contribute. At first I worked at the shipyard as a welder. Then I served on board the Francis Retka, a Liberty ship we launched from the East Yard. Frank Emery Welder, 1941-1944, New England Shipbuilding Corp. Whether buying war bonds, planting Victory Gardens, rationing, or recycling everything from rubber tires to bacon fat, Americans united in their effort to help their family, friends, and fellow citizens who were fighting to end . . . — Map (db m55765) HM
Maine (Hancock County), Bar Harbor — Acadian Lights
Mount Desert Island's coastal waters have always held dangers for boats and ships - rocky shoreline, hidden ledges, and small islands that hide in the fog. Since 1875, Egg Rock Lighthouse perched on the craggy island before you, has helped guide vessels safely into Frenchman Bay. Among the hardships lighthouse keepers faced was fierce weather. Storm waves periodically swept over the low-lying island, washing away out-buildings, flooding the keeper's quarters, breaking windows, and tearing away . . . — Map (db m25481) HM
Maine (Hancock County), Bar Harbor — Alessandro Fabbri, Lieutenant, U.S.N.R.F. — 1877 - 1922 — In Memory Of
A resident and lover of Mount Desert Island who commanded the United States Naval Radio Station upon this site from its establishment on August 28, 1917 until December 12, 1919. At the end of the World War he was awarded the Navy Cross. His citation stated that under his direction the station became the most important and the most efficient station in the world. This tablet is erected by his friends and fellow townsmen in testimony to his patriotic service, high character and endearing qualities. — Map (db m54436) HM
Maine (Hancock County), Bar Harbor — Cadillac Mountain
Cadillac Mountin is Acadia National Park's highest elevation and most comprehensive viewpoint. It is also the highest point on the United States Atlantic Coast (1,500 feet/466m). If you stood here alone at dawn you might be the first person in the country to see the sun's first rays. The mountain is named for Antoine de la Mothe Cadillac, the Frenchman who was granted possession of this island in the late 1600s by King Louis XIV. Later Cadillac founded Detroit, inspiring the name of the . . . — Map (db m54448) HM
Maine (Hancock County), Bar Harbor — Civil War Memorial
In memory of Eden's Sons who were Defenders of the Union 1861 - 1865 — Map (db m54405) HM
Maine (Hancock County), Bar Harbor — Donald A. Wood Band Stand
In recognition of Community Service as Director of the Town Band for over forty years Dedicated July 4, 2005 — Map (db m54404) HM
Maine (Hancock County), Bar Harbor — Forever Protected
As you explore Acadia National Park, you will discover private property interspersed with park lands. Many large national parks, like Yellowstone and Grand Canyon, were carved from the public domain as single, vast tracts of land. Acadia, in contrast, evolved as a patchwork of private lands donated by individuals who loved this landscape. Their generosity created the first national park east of the Mississippi River in 1916, and the first national park derived solely from private property . . . — Map (db m54410) HM
Maine (Hancock County), Bar Harbor — Frenchman Bay
Vessels of all types have plied the waters of Frenchman Bay for centuries. Five thousand years ago, indigenous people may have paddled dugout canoes into the bay to reach fishing grounds or hunt sea mammals and swordfish. More recently, Wabanaki Indians used birch bark canoes. In 1604, the explorer Samuel Champlain charted the bay and named this island "Mount Desert" for its bare-topped mountains. From 1613 to 1760 the French battled the English for possession of North America. French frigates . . . — Map (db m25475) HM
Maine (Hancock County), Bar Harbor — Glacial Freight
When the ice that covered this land slowly melted, it dropped in its tracks great accumulations of gravel and rocks. Boulders transported and deposited by glaciers are called "erratics." Erratics are rounded and noticeably different in composition from local bedrock. Left Text Glaciers carry huge loads of rock. The rocks come to rest where the melting ice crops them. The large boulder perched above on the South Bubble is a striking example. Bottom Text 20,000 years ago . . . — Map (db m25491) HM
Maine (Hancock County), Bar Harbor — Peregrine Falcons Return to Acadia
The recovery of the peregrine falcon is one of the great environmental success stories of our time. Although they once nested on the east face of Champlain Mountain above you, by 1964 peregrines had become extinct throughout the eastern United States. The pesticide DDT prevented them from successfully reproducing, and as individuals aged and died, there were none to replace them. Beginning in the 1970s, coordinated efforts across the country, including a reintroduction project at Acadia . . . — Map (db m54409) HM
Maine (Hancock County), Bar Harbor — Sand Beach
Along Acadia National Park's rocky shores, there is only one sand beach. Over 15,000 years ago glacial ice carved out this valley. Melting glaciers and rising sea waters flooded it, creating a protected cove. A headland and a rock shelf offshore divert and diminish the power of the ocean, allowing fine particles to settle in the cove. Take a look at a handful of beach "sand" and you will discover mostly bits and pieces of crushed shells, an unusual composition for a northern beach. Swimming . . . — Map (db m54411) HM
Maine (Hancock County), Bar Harbor — Satterlee Field
Satterlee Field of approximately 100 acres was donated in 1949 by Eleanor Morgan Satterlee to the United States of America in memory of her mother, Louisa P. Satterlee as part of Acadia National Park — Map (db m54412) HM
Maine (Hancock County), Bar Harbor — Sieur de Monts Spring: The Heart of Acadia National Park
This spring was truly a magnificent one...wonderfully placed, with the mountains rising steeply up beside it, contrasting with the Great and Little Meadow lands on either side. George B. Dorr, 1942 Like others before him, George B. Dorr, the founding father of Acadia National Park and its first superintendent, was impressed by the tranquil beauty of Sieur de Monts Spring. The spring was the setting for social gatherings in the early 1900s, and artists sketched the area's scenic . . . — Map (db m54408) HM
Maine (Hancock County), Bar Harbor — St. Saviour's Episcopal Parish Welcomes You
History The founders of this parish named their congregation in honor of the Holy Saviour, Jesus, and in recognition of the first Christian mission, St. Sauveur, on the island by French Jesuits in 1613. The Heartbeat of Life God gives love and grace to all, calling each community to embody love, truth, and justice for all as signs of God's self-emptying love. We invite you to participate fully as together we worship God, care for creation, and respect the dignity of every human . . . — Map (db m54407) HM
Maine (Hancock County), Bar Harbor — Stephen Tyng Mather — July 4, 1867 - Jan. 22, 1930
He laid the foundation of the National Park Service defining and establishing the policies under which its areas shall be developed and conserved unimpaired for future generations. There will never come an end to the good that he has done. — Map (db m54441) HM
Maine (Hancock County), Bar Harbor — The 1947 Fire
In October 1947 a series of fires lasting 26 days blazed across more than 25 square miles of Mount Desert Island. The fire seriously threatened Bar harbor, and transformed most of the landscape before you into an apparent wasteland. It consumed 170 homes of year-round residents. Over 60 summer mansions burned, leaving only chimneys and garden statues standing. One-third of the park woodlands burned before the flames died at the ocean's edge. A forest of birch, aspen, and other hardwoods . . . — Map (db m25478) HM
Maine (Hancock County), Bar Harbor — The Village Burying Ground
Established before 1790 holds in many unmarked and unknown graves the remains of those courageous men and women pioneers on the frontier of downeast Maine. Sea captains, fishermen and farmers, shipwrights and hotelmen, selectmen and legislators, their wives and children, and the occasional sailor dying far from home also rest here. Strong commitment to the Union is remembered by the monument dedicated in 1897 by the Town of Eden already world-renowned under the later name of Bar Harbor. — Map (db m54389) HM
Maine (Hancock County), Bar Harbor — Thunder Hole
Here you can witness an ageless battle - the surging power of the ocean vs. the steadfastness of rock. Thunder Hole (just below) is a large, partly submerged crevice with vertical granite walls, one of many such chasms along this shore. When waves roll into Thunder Hole, their power is concentrated. The thunder you often feel and hear, and the soaring spray are most dramatic at mid-tide with a rising sea. For your safety, please do not venture beyond the designated walkway and viewing area. Wet . . . — Map (db m25486) HM
Maine (Hancock County), Bar Harbor — Thunder Hole Ranger Station
Built as a ranger residence in 1934, the Thunder Hole ranger station later housed the first interpretive displays in the park. Rangers were stationed here to answer visitor questions and present programs about the park. The Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) built the scenic overlook and walkways along the shore during the 1930s. The construction styles and techniques they employed then are used today to preserve the historic character of the area. — Map (db m54414) HM
Maine (Hancock County), Bar Harbor — Veterans Memorial
This monument is dedicated to the men and women of Bar Harbor who have served their country as members of the Armed Forces — Map (db m54362) HM
Maine (Hancock County), Bass Harbor — Bass Harbor Head Light
Among the best known and most photographed spots in Maine, the Bass Harbor Head Light was built in 1858 to mark the bar across the eastern entrance to Blue Hill Bay. The grounds and residence of this facility now comprise the private residence of the Commander, United States Coast Guard Group Southwest Harbor and are not open to the public. Trails on both sides of the parking lot allow visitors access to excellent views of the lighthouse and the surrounding coastline. — Map (db m3813) HM
Maine (Hancock County), Bucksport — Fort Knox
Construction of Fort Knox began in 1844 and was halted while still unfinished 25 years and $1 million later. The Fort has never seen any military action. The largest of 133 total cannons fired a 315 pound shell 4,680 yards. The granite was quarried locally at Mt. Waldo. Fort Knox was named for the first Secretary of War, Major General Henry Knox, a resident of Thomaston. — Map (db m55114) HM
Maine (Hancock County), Bucksport — Penobscot River
The Penobscot River is a vital resource. In the 1700's it spawned numerous riverside communities, while the 1800's saw Bangor become the "lumber capital of the world", and Bucksport an international port renowned for shipbuilding. Crafted along the Penobscot were the "batteau" and "peavey", two inventions invaluable to the massive log drives that brought timber to the mills. Recently, water quality has improved dramatically fostering increased recreational uses and the return of Atlantic Salmon. — Map (db m55115) HM
Maine (Hancock County), Bucksport — The Phineas Heywood House — Circa 1824
has been placed on the National Register of Historic Places by the United States Department of the Interior — Map (db m55117) HM
Maine (Hancock County), Bucksport — The Town of Bucksport
In 1763 Jonathan Buck settled the area, which was subesequently burned during the Revolutionary War. First incorporated as "Buckstown", the name was changed to "Bucksport" in 1817. In the 1800's Bucksport thrived as an international port. Later industrial activity grew and a foundry, then a tannery stood on the site where in 1929 the Seaboard paper mill was built. Today Bucksport boasts a beautiful waterfront location and a variety of industrial and commercial activities. — Map (db m55112) HM
Maine (Hancock County), Ellsworth — Civil War Memorial
In honor of the men of Ellsworth who served and to the memory of those who fell on land and sea in the war for the Union their grateful townsmen have raised this Memorial 1861 - 1887 — Map (db m54537) HM
Maine (Hancock County), Franklin — Civil War Memorial — 1861 - 1865
In honor of the citizens of the Town of Franklin who served their country in the Civil War [Honor Roll of Veterans] Dedicated May 30, 1923 — Map (db m55094) HM
Maine (Hancock County), Franklin — Franklin Veterans Memorial
[Honor Roll of World War II, Korean Era, and Vietnam Era Veterans] Dedicated Memorial Day 2002 — Map (db m55107) WM
Maine (Hancock County), Franklin — Old Town Hall Site — 1874 - 1975
[Title is inscription] — Map (db m55105) HM
Maine (Hancock County), Franklin — World War Memorial — 1914 - 1918
In honor of the citizens of the Town of Franklin who served their country in the World War [Honor Roll of Veterans] — Map (db m55095) HM
Maine (Hancock County), Hancock — Defenders of the Union
Erected by the Town of Hancock 1912 In memory of her sons who were Defenders of the Union 1861-1865 — Map (db m21473) HM
Maine (Hancock County), Northeast Harbor — Joseph T. Musetti Jr. Veterans Memorial Park — In Honor Of All Who Served — Freedom Is Not Free
. . . — Map (db m54456) WM
Maine (Hancock County), Northeast Harbor — Somes Sound
You are standing beside the only fjord on the east coast of the United States. A fjord is a long, deep, and narrow valley carved by glaciers and flooded by the sea. At this narrow place between Acadia and Norumbega Mountains, a concentrated ice flow cut deep into the granite bedrock - 150 feet (46 m) below the present water level. At the mouth of Somes Sound, where the glacier deposited much gravel and rocky debris, the water is relatively shallow. — Map (db m54484) HM
Maine (Hancock County), Somesville — Linking oceans, rivers and lakes
A Part of History Both Native Americans and early settlers enjoyed abundant harvests along this coastal shore. Each spring, thousands of adult alewives made an upstream pilgrimage, moving from salt water into the Mill Pond and up Somes Brook to Somes Pond and Long Pond to spawn (reproduce) in fresh water. The large populations of diadromous (sea-run) fish were welcomed by all, and the catch was smoked or salted for year-round consumption or used as bait by fishermen. The Mill Pond Dam, . . . — Map (db m54520) HM
Maine (Hancock County), Sullivan — Historic Architecture in Sullivan Harbor
In the 1800s when ship building, quarrying and mining thrived, enterprising businessmen built boarding houses and hotels to house the many laborers. Blacksmith shops, livery stables, grocery and feed stores, and a meat shop flourished as well. The town bustled with many small businesses. The history of the stores in Sullivan mirror its economy. When shipbuilding and fishing gave way to granite quarrying and briefly to mining, we find many new stores in West Sullivan - often company . . . — Map (db m54711) HM
Maine (Hancock County), Sullivan — Summer Rusticators, the Tourist Trade and the Waukeag House Hotel
With the help of steamship & train travel in the late 1800s, summer tourism peaked. But within a few short decades, the age of the auto and better roads to Bar Harbor - plus closing mines and quarries - led to decades of gradual economic decline and population loss for Sullivan. Steamships ferried passengers between trains - to and from Boston, New York, Portland, Bar Harbor and points DownEast. The Waukeag House [1877-1900] was located just to your left "Waukeag House is a . . . — Map (db m54709) HM
Maine (Hancock County), Sullivan — The view of Frenchman Bay
All the mountains that you see are part of Acadia National Park The Age of Sail lingered into the 1900s as sailing ships proved more economical than steamships for carrying heavy cargos such as granite. Generations of watercraft ply the bay for business and pleasure From this hillside, you could once spot passenger steamers ferrying passengers to Bar Harbor; tugs towing great sailing ships carrying granite, ore, lumber and fish; and private yachts headed to the playgrounds . . . — Map (db m54707) HM
Maine (Knox County), Camden — Civil War Memorial
In honor of the Brave Men of Camden who gave their lives in defence of their country during the Great Rebellion 1861 - 65 [Roll of Honored Dead] — Map (db m54674) HM
Maine (Knox County), Camden — Edna St. Vincent Millay — 1892 — 1950
“All I could see from where I stood Was three long mountains and a wood; I turned and looked another way, And saw three islands in a bay. So with my eyes I traced the line Of the horizon, thin and fine, Straight around till I was come Back to where I’d started from; And all I saw from where I stood Was three long mountains and a wood.”    — First stanza “Renascence,” by Edna St. Vincent Millay written in 1910 in the . . . — Map (db m35439) HM
Maine (Knox County), Camden — Mount Battie Memorial Tower
In grateful recognition of the service rendered by the men and women of Camden in the World War 1914 — 1918 the Mount Battie Association has erected this tower for an enduring memorial 1921 — Map (db m35419) HM
Maine (Knox County), Camden — Spanish-American War Memorial — 1898 • In Memoriam • 1902 — Lest We Forget
The men who volunteered their services to the Cause of Liberty in the War with Spain that a nation might enjoy peace and prosperity The Birthright of All Men Honor Roll of Members Past and Present Charles P. Freeman • Ralph L. Higgins Comrades who died in service — Map (db m54676) HM
Maine (Knox County), Camden — The Schooner Grace Bailey / The Schooner Mercantile — Built 1882 and 1916
Has been designated a National Historic Landmark This vessel possesses national significance in commemorating the history of the United States of America 1991 National Park Service United States Department of the Interior — Map (db m54705) HM
Maine (Knox County), Cushing — Lower St. Georges and Cushing Veterans Memorial
Dedicated in honor of those men and women of the Lower St. Georges and Cushing, who defended this plantation, town and country here and abroad [Dedicated] August 13, 1989 — Map (db m54640) HM
Maine (Knox County), Hope — The Boys of Hope
In Memory of the Boys of Hope who served in World War I, and II, Korea and Vietnam giving supreme sacrifice H. Vinal Hardy WW II Eugene C. Dunbar WW II John R. Goderre Vietnam — Map (db m46435) HM
Maine (Knox County), Owl's Head — Owl's Head Light
Land purchased from heirs of Nathaniel Merryman by the United States of America November 22, 1824 Contractors - Jeremiah Berry Robert Foster, Ballard Green Beacon Installed - Winslow Lewis 1st Lightkeeper - Isaac Stearns First Lighted - September 10, 1825 Dedicated July 21, 1962 — Map (db m52323) HM
Maine (Knox County), Owl's Head — Owl's Head Light Station
How Did Owl's Head Get Its Name? For centuries, people have wondered how Owl's Head received its name. According to Native American legend, the head of an owl can be identified in this rocky cliff that the Indians called Ko-ko-hass-want'ep-ek. Can you locate the owl's head in the rock face? Hint: it appears below the white, pyramid-shaped bell tower. The base of the tower is centered between its ears and the two cave-like hollows are its eyes. A beak between the eyes has since . . . — Map (db m52332) HM
Maine (Knox County), Owl's Head — Owl's Head Veterans Memorial
To the men and women of Owl's Head who served their country 1776 - 1976 To honor the men buried in the town who bore arms in the Revolution Samuel Bartlett · Benjamin Cooper Thomas Hix · Job Ingraham Job Perry 2d · Joseph Perry Nathan Sherman [Honor Roll of Veterans] World War II Veterans Dec. 7, 1941 · Dec 31, 1946 Korean War Veterans June 27, 1950 · Jan. 31, 1955 Vietnam War Veterans Dec. 22, 1961 · May 7, 1975 Persian Gulf (Desert Storm) Aug. 2, . . . — Map (db m52322) HM
Maine (Knox County), Rockland — Chapman Park
Dedicated to Rockland Patrolman John D. Chapman Law Enforcement Officer Killed in the Line of Duty at this location on February 16, 1938 — Map (db m55395) HM
Maine (Knox County), Rockland — Civil War and Edwin Libby Post No. 16, G.A.R. Memorial
To the memory of those men who claiming Rockland by birth or by adoption as their home served in the Army & Navy of the United States War of 1861-1865 Here stood for many years the home of Edwin Libby Post No. 16 Grand Army of the Republic of the State of Maine This memorial erected by the Municipality, Citizens and Friends The Edwin Libbry Post and Kindred Organizations of Patriotic Men and Women A D 1912 The City of Rockland is forever to protect and maintain . . . — Map (db m55394) HM
Maine (Knox County), Rockland — Civil War Memorial
In memory of the Soldiers and Sailors of Rockland who gave their lives for their country 1861-1865 — Map (db m55368) HM
Maine (Knox County), Rockland — Portland Head Light Bell (1942)
This historic Coast Guard Bell from Portland Head Light is being loaned to the City of Rockland (a Coast Guard City) for their outstanding support of the men and women of the United States Coast Guard — Map (db m55370) HM
Maine (Knox County), Rockland — Rockland Breakwater Lighthouse
Construction of this 4,300-foot long breakwater began in April 1881. Eighteen years, $750,000 and over 732,277 tons of granite later, it was completed on November 24, 1899. The lighthouse dates from 1902 and was placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1981. The City of Rockland accepted ownership of the Rockland Lighthouse on September 14, 1998. — Map (db m55361) HM
Maine (Knox County), Rockland — Rockland Harbor Trail — Snow Marine Park to Rockland Breakwater Light
[Historical Excerpt Transcribed] General Information The Rockland Harbor Trail is easy to follow. Allow you and your imagination enjoy the Harbor sights along the way. The trail is approximately 5.5. mile[s] from beginning to end, linking many of the city's open spaces, parks, downtown and waterfront historical sites. Then The Harbor Park area possesses one of the best views of the Rockland Harbor. The park contains the public landing, Harbormaster office and the . . . — Map (db m52340) HM
Maine (Knox County), Rockland — Rockland Harbor Trail — Snow Marine Park to Rockland Breakwater Light
[Historical Excerpt Transcribed] General Information The Rockland Harbor Trail is easy to follow. Allow you and your imagination enjoy the Harbor sights along the way. The trail is approximately 5.5. mile[s] from beginning to end, linking many of the city's open spaces, parks, downtown and waterfront historical sites. Then The breakwater is a granite barrier which stretches 4,346 feet from Jameson's Point toward Owl's Head. Nearly 700,000 tons of stone was laid between . . . — Map (db m55360) HM
Maine (Knox County), Rockland — Rockland Harbor Trail — Snow Marine Park to Rockland Breakwater Light
[Historical Excerpt Transcribed] General Information The Rockland Harbor Trail is easy to follow. Allow you and your imagination enjoy the Harbor sights along the way. The trail is approximately 5.5. mile[s] from beginning to end, linking many of the city's open spaces, parks, downtown and waterfront historical sites. Then For more than seventy years this area was occupied by multiple lime producing companies. Some were privately owned and some were large companies. East of . . . — Map (db m55393) HM
Maine (Knox County), Rockland — Spanish American War Memorial — 1898 • In Memoriam • 1902
Lest We Forget the Volunteers who gave their services and lives in the Cause of Liberty in the War with Spain — Map (db m55366) HM
Maine (Knox County), Rockland — Walter Hamor Piston — In Commemoration of
Walter H. Piston, a noted American composer, author and music educator, was born in Rockland, Maine on January 20, 1894. His long and distinguished career earned him many awards and honors, including two Pulitzer Prizes in Music in 1948 and 1961. In addition to his compositions, he taught music at Harvard University for 34 years and was the author of three widely used college textbooks on music theory. Piston died on November 12, 1976. — Map (db m52321) HM
Maine (Knox County), Rockland — World Wars Memorial
We, the citizens of this community, enshrine forever the glorious memory of our boys and girls, living and dead who served their country in World Wars I and II Erected Nov. 11, 1948 — Map (db m52320) HM
Maine (Knox County), Thomaston — Civil War Soldiers and Sailors Memorial
In memory of the Soldiers & Sailors of 1861 - 1865 One Country, One Flag — Map (db m54641) HM
Maine (Knox County), Thomaston — 12 — Near the Old Prison / ΐ Cotι de l'Ancienne Prison — The Museum in the Streets / Le Musιe dans le Rue
Near the Old Prison The Georges Hotel stood at the intersection of Main and Georges Street where there now is an empty lot. It burned to the ground leaving the three chimneys standing. On a very windy day several years after the fire, one of the chimneys was blown over on a man who happened to be walking past the site. His absence was realized only when the debris was cleared. Following that tragedy, the other two chimneys were quickly removed. Below, the woman walking across Wadsworth . . . — Map (db m54671) HM
Maine (Knox County), Thomaston — The Builders, the Captains and the Seamen of Thomaston Ships
This flagpole was erected as a memorial to the Builders, the Captains and the Seamen of Thomaston Ships by those who take pride in their accomplishments Dedicated July 4, 1950 — Map (db m55529) HM
Maine (Knox County), Thomaston — The Voyage of Captain George Waymouth
To commemorate the voyage of Captain George Waymouth to the Coast of Maine in 1605 His discovery and exploration of the St. Georges River and planting a Cross on the northerly shore of this harbor where the river "trended westward" The earliest known claim of right of possession by Englishmen on New England soil — Map (db m54665) HM
Maine (Knox County), Thomaston — Thomaston Historical Timeline
1605 Capt. Geo. Waymouth explores and names the St. Georges River 1630 To trade with Indians native to area post built near Wadsworth St. Bridge 1692 St. Georges River is boundary between the French and English territories 1719 Two blockhouses built at foot of Knox Street as first settlement known as Lincoln 1734 1st lime kiln built 1754 1st log schoolhouse on Bank between Knox and Wadsworth Streets 1762 Oliver Robbins builds 1st wood . . . — Map (db m55475) HM
Maine (Knox County), Thomaston — War Memorial — For God and Country
In Memory of Veterans of All Wars and Conflicts — Map (db m54670) HM
Maine (Knox County), Thomaston — Welcome to Thomaston, Maine, the Town That Went to Sea — The Museum in the Streets
Thomaston is known for its historic white houses. Both Main and Knox Streets are on the National Historic Register. Of the slightly more than 700 homes in town, approximately eighty-five percent are more than one hundred years old. Many are closer to two hundred years of age. While we are now a quiet community of small businesses and shops, writers and artists, there was a time in our history when Thomaston was the busiest and most prosperous of Maine towns. • Three major industries kept . . . — Map (db m55531) HM
Maine (Lincoln County), New Harbor — Bell House
The Bell House was built in 1897 to contain the two Shipman fog-signal engines which operated the fog bell. In 1899 these engines were replaced by a Stevens Striking Machine and a wooden tower was built to accommodate the weights which activated the striker. — Map (db m55423) HM
Maine (Lincoln County), New Harbor — Oil House
The Oil House was built in 1896 to hold the oil which fueled the lighthouse lamps. A tender would sail as close to the rocks as possible, send a heavy line ashore and transfer the oil. — Map (db m55449) HM
Maine (Lincoln County), New Harbor — Pemaquid Point Lighthouse
Pemaquid Point Lighthouse 1827-National Register of Historic Places 1985 — Map (db m62471) HM
Maine (Lincoln County), Pemaquid — John Cogswell and Family
Near this site on August 14, 1635, John Cogswell and family from Westbury Leigh, Wiltshire, England, first set foot in America. They arrived on the ship Angel Gabriel, which was wrecked here on the following day in a violent storm. The family settled in Ipswich, Massachusetts. Dedicated on September 28, 1991 at Pemaquid Point, Maine by the Cogswell Family Association. — Map (db m35442) HM
Maine (Lincoln County), Pemaquid — Ralph Blaisdell and Family
Near this site on August 15, 1635 Ralph Blaisdell and family were shipwrecked. The ship was the Angel Gabriel bound from Bristol, England to Pemaquid. From here the family went to York, Maine and later to Salisbury, Massachusetts. — Map (db m35441) HM
Maine (Penobscot County), Bangor — Paul Bunyan of Bangor, Maine
Currently, the marker reads:       This statue, reputed to be the largest of Paul Bunyon in the world, stands facing the Penobscot River. The legendary giant woodsman is a symbol of the great era in the late 1800's when Bangor, Maine was acclaimed to be "The Lumber Capitol of the World" with sailing vessels crowding the river and loaded with lumber for shipment to seaports around the world.       The statue is 31 feet tall and weighs approximately 3700 pounds. It is internally . . . — Map (db m4938) HM
Maine (Penobscot County), Bangor — Site of First Permanent Jewish House of Worship in Maine
Site of First Permanent Jewish House of Worship in Maine Congregation Beth Israel 1897 — Map (db m40493) HM
Maine (Penobscot County), Bangor — World War II Memorial — Cole Land Transportation Museum — 1941-1945
(Front inscription) World War II Memorial 1941-1945---Dedicated to the more that 41,000 Mainers who served in that war. 2,551 gave their lives for our freedom. The jeep was a vehicle of universal to all branches of the U.S. Armed Services. (Side inscription) 4914 Bangor Citizens served our country in World War II-110 lost their lives-The Bangor Public Library displays each day the history of a Bangor Veteran killed during that war. — Map (db m62466) WM
Maine (Penobscot County), Medway — A. J. “Allie” Cole
This scenic overlook named in memory of Maine Highway Pioneer A. J. “Allie” Cole. In 1917 Allie began horse drawn mail, freight and passenger service between Enfield and Burlington, Maine. by the 1920’s he hauled freight in motor trucks north to Houlton. Harassed by the severe snows and lack of public plowing above Lincoln, Allie had to abandon the service every winter until 1928 when he stationed his own plow crews at Silver Ridge (20 miles northeast). In 1935 the State took over Allie’s winter plowing to northern Maine. — Map (db m2087) HM
Maine (Penobscot County), Millinocket — Katahdin
Baxter Peak – elevation- 5267 ft. Northern terminus of the Appalachian Trail A mountain footpath extending over 2000 miles to Springer Mtn. Georgia ← Thoreau Spring         1.0 m. ← Katahdin Stream Campground           5.2 ← Penobscot West Branch at Abol Bridge       15.1 ← Maine-New Hampshire State Line       281.4 ← Mt. Washington, N. H.           332.5 ← Springer Mtn., Georgia           2178.3 Baxter State Park — Map (db m67678) HM
Maine (Penobscot County), Millinocket — Mount Katahdin
This tablet is placed here by the Forest Commissioner of Maine under order of the governor and Executive Council dated March 16, 1932 to record the gift and conveyance to the state on March 3, 1931 and October 7, 1931 by Percival Proctor Baxter, governor 1921-1925, of nine square miles of land in township 3 range 9 Mt. Katahdin, within which area are located this the highest peak of the mountain 5267 ft., named Baxter Peak by the state legislature laws of Maine 1931, South Peak 5240 ft., . . . — Map (db m67677) HM
Maine (Sagadahoc County), Bath — Wyoming Sculpture — Sparred Length (tip of jibboom/bowsprit to stern rail) 426 feet
The white-painted steel structure in front of you is a sculpture representing the bow and stern of the six-mast schooner Wyoming, the largest wooden vessel built in the United States. The sculpture stands where the schooner was built in 1909, but somewhat closer to the street because of wetlands protection regulations. The sculpture is the same size as the original Wyoming. This is the first portion of a sculpture that will eventually show the shape of the entire length of the . . . — Map (db m52033) HM
Maine (Sagadahoc County), Bath — Wyoming Sculpture — Sparred Length (tip of jibboom/bowsprit to stern rail) 426 feet
The white-painted steel structure in front of you is a sculpture representing the six-mast schooner Wyoming, the largest wooden vessel built in the United States. The sculpture stands where the schooner was built in 1909, but somewhat closer to the street because of wetlands protection regulations. The sculpture is the same size as the original Wyoming. The deck level of the stern above you is 40 feet in the air This is the first portion of a sculpture that will eventually . . . — Map (db m52038) HM
Maine (Sagadahoc County), Bath — Bath Civil War Memorial
Honor the Brave Erected by the City of Bath A.D. 1867 and dedicated to the memory of the sons who died that the nation might live [Weathered quote] [Roll of Honored Dead] — Map (db m51969) HM
Maine (Sagadahoc County), Bath — Bath Iron Works — A General Dynamics Company
Known locally as "BIW" or "The Yard," Bath Iron Works has been building ships on the same site since 1890. Over 420 vessels have been built there, including cargo vessels, fishing vessels, yachts, tugs, barges, and naval vessels. Between 1984 and 2009, BIW built naval ships exclusively. The company is one of the largest private employers in the state of Maine. As of May 2009: • Currently building Arleigh Burke-class AEGIS guided missile destroyers, 509'6" long, 9,200 tons full . . . — Map (db m52032) HM
Maine (Sagadahoc County), Bath — Deckhouse from steamer Winapie ca.1909
In 1920, the Percy & Small shipyard did its last significant ship work. The steamer Winapie, built in New Hampshire during World War One, visited for conversion into a tank barge. The shipyard removed this three-compartment deckhouse, which held the wireless-operator's room or "radio shack," an infirmary, and a bunkroom for the wartime gun crew. The deckhouse was used for decades on the grounds of a house in Bath. Its original flat roof was covered with this peaked roof, but it . . . — Map (db m52056) HM
Maine (Sagadahoc County), Bath — Kennebec River
This major waterway, although in places still undeveloped, remains an important artery for water traffic. The river flows 164 miles from its source at Moosehead Lake to the Atlantic Ocean, 12 miles south of here at Popham. Kennebec is a Wabanaki word for "long, quiet water." From the first settlement in 1607 to the present, the river has seen logging, fishing, shipbuilding, commercial travel, ice cutting, milling, and power generation. Over 5,000 vessels have been built on the shores of . . . — Map (db m52051) HM
Maine (Sagadahoc County), Bath — Launch day!
Launching featured tradtion, ritual, spectators, and celebration. But it also brought technical challenge and danger to workers and vessel alike. In preparation, a launching crew built a pair of sliding (or launching) ways beneath the schooner. These were topped with a cradle, which was "wedged up" to take the vessle's weight as the blocks beneath were removed. Greasing the ways allowed vessel in its cradle to slide into the Kennebec River, always at high tide. All could be ruined if . . . — Map (db m52059) HM
Maine (Sagadahoc County), Bath — Mill & Joiner Shop (1899)
This sturdy industrial building housed a sawmill for cutting and shaping ship timbers and planks, and a joiner shop for the finer woodworking that went into vessels' cabins, deckhouses, railings, and interiors. In 1909, the shed addition on the north side provided more lumber storage and a place for the schooners' small boats to be built. [Background photo caption reads] The mill's lumber ramp and interior can be seen under the bowsprit of the 4-masted schooner Florence M. . . . — Map (db m52084) HM
Maine (Sagadahoc County), Bath — Shipyard Owner's Home — The William T. Donnell House — (1840s, 1892)
William T. Donnell married Henry P. Hitchcock's daughter Clara in 1860, and bought this house and shipyard from Clara's mother in 1869. The proximity of residence to workplace was unusual. From this house, W. T. Donnell overlooked his shipyard, operating as Deering & Donnell from 1866 to 1886 and as the William T. Donnell Shipyard from 1886 until 1901. In the 1880s the Donnells renovated the Italianate house inside and out to later Victorian tastes. In 1892, after Clara's death, William . . . — Map (db m52082) HM
Maine (Sagadahoc County), Bath — Site of the Blacksmith Shop (1897, 1913)
The blacksmith shop was the first building constructed by Percy & Small after they purchased the old Blaisdell shipyard site from William Donnell in 1896. It was furnished with forges, bellows, and anvils for fabricating large quantities of ironwork for the vessels. One section was a machine shop. The boiler for the steam box (used for steam-bending wood) was also located here. The shop had a clay floor for fire resistance, the yard's only water hydrant (to supply the quenching barrels), . . . — Map (db m52095) HM
Maine (Sagadahoc County), Bath — Site of the North Ways (1901)
Two building slips, or ways, were important features of the shipyard. The North Ways were prepared as a second building slip, on land purchased in a 1901 expansion. They measured at least 350' long by 50' wide - the largest wooden shipbuilding slip available in Bath, and possibly in Maine. The ways were built of oak pilings driven into the soil and capped with hard pine logs: a firm foundation to carry the construction supports, the vessel, and the launching ways. [Background photo . . . — Map (db m52053) HM
Maine (Sagadahoc County), Bath — Site of the South Ways (ca. 1867)
A good shipbuilding site has a natural 4° to 12° slope down to deep water. Using this grade, building slips (ways) were constructed on cleared and graded areas. These were wooden foundations to accommodate the hull under construction and the launching ways. From 1867 to 1880, the Daniel O. Blaisdell shipyard built 15 vessels on the South Ways. Percy & Small followed with another 22 vessels between 1897 and 1920. [Background photo caption reads] The Evelyn W. Hinkly takes . . . — Map (db m52036) HM
Maine (Sagadahoc County), Bath — The Caulkers' Shed (1899)
This workshop was built in 1899 for Charles Oliver and his caulking gang. Here they stored their tools and some of the miles of oakum and cotton yard needed to make vessels' seams watertight. From the steps, Mr. Oliver could keep an eagle eye on his crew at work on a vessel on the ways. [Background photo caption reads] In this view of the 1908 launch of the 6-masted schooner Edward B. Winslow, the Caulkers' Shed is prominent at the right. — Map (db m52031) HM
Maine (Sagadahoc County), Bath — The Fitting-Out Pier (1906)
At the fitting-out pier new vessels received their equipment and finishing work. This pier had a ramp built into its southern side, to land the large timbers and spars that were floated down the river from the railroad yards. The original 1898 north wharf was expanded in 1902 and again in 1906, when it grew to about 100 feet square and projected into deeper water. It has been reconstructed to its appearance in the years 1909-1920. [Background diagram caption reads] Plan of the Percy . . . — Map (db m52048) HM
Maine (Sagadahoc County), Bath — The Mould Loft (1917)
Design is the first step in shipbuilding, and it took place in a mould loft. Skilled modelers shaped the schooner's hull in miniature by carving a half-model. They scaled the model's lines full-size on the loft floor, then transferred these lines onto full-sized patterns, or moulds, made of thin wood. The moulds were used to shape the actual shipbuilding timbers. This Mould Loft was added to the Percy & Small plant in 1917. [Background photo caption reads] Schooner Miriam . . . — Map (db m51988) HM
Maine (Sagadahoc County), Bath — The Pitch Oven (1902)
Caulkers used huge quantities of pitch to pay (or seal) the vessels' deck seams. In the kettles set into this freestanding brick oven, they melted crystallized pine resin over scrap-wood fires, which they carried in buckets to the decks of the schooner. Small boys sometimes helped themselves to a free "chaw" of pitch, similar to the spruce gum enjoyed in New England - and cheaper than chewing gum! [Background photo captions read] The pitch oven can be seen at far right in this view . . . — Map (db m52007) HM
Maine (Sagadahoc County), Bath — Transformer House (1909)
The Percy & Small shipyard was electrified from its establishment in 1896. In 1909, the Sagadahoc Power & Light Company began delivering higher-voltage power to the shipyard on a separate industrial line. The transformer stepped down the voltage to match the capacity of shipyard motors. Once this system was set up, residents of Bath's south end no longer saw their lights dimming when Percy & Small's mill came on line in the mornings! [Background photo caption reads] In December 1909, . . . — Map (db m52083) HM
Maine (Sagadahoc County), Phippsburg — Firing a Cannon
Eight soldiers were needed to fire each of the huge cannons that were once here, including a chief of detachment (who gave the commands), a gunner, and six cannoneers. The steps in firing the cannon are shown here. The gunner is indicated by "G" and the other six cannonneers [sic] are shown by numbers "1" through "6". The chief of detachment, who likely would have been standing toward the back of the casemates, is not shown. [Cannon Firing Step Diagram Captions Follow] . . . — Map (db m52117) HM
Maine (Sagadahoc County), Phippsburg — Fort Popham State Historic Site
Since construction commenced in 1861, the entrance to the Kennebec River has been guarded by Fort Popham, a Civil War era fort that was built to protect the shipbuilding interests in the upriver City of Bath, as well as the state capital in Augusta. Over the years since the State of Maine purchased Fort Popham in 1924 from the United States Government, the structure has become unstable and in need of significant renovations to remain safe and reopen currently closed areas of the Fort in an . . . — Map (db m52096) HM
Maine (Sagadahoc County), Phippsburg — Fort Popham: Guardian of the Kennebec
Fort Popham is a Third System style granite fort built by the U.S. War Department beginning in 1862. Modifications were made and the fort was used again in the Spanish American War and in World War 1. Another fort, probably wooden, existed here and protected Kennebec River settlements and industry during the Revolutionary War and the War of 1812. It also served as a base for mining operations that also protected the river from enemy vessels. This fort was designed to house a huge armament . . . — Map (db m52097) HM
Maine (Sagadahoc County), Phippsburg — Forts on the Kennebec River
Since before Columbus discovered the New World, the Kennebec River has been the scene of settlement and conflict. While Fort Halifax represents the most northern military outpost in the region, it is only one of more than twenty forts that have protected some portion of the river. 1. Fort Ancient Augusta (1718), 2. Fort Baldwin (1905), 3. Georgetown Battery (1808)/Fort Popham (1861), 4. Fort Sagadahoc (Stage Island, 1607), 5. Fort St. George (1607), 6. Fort at Cox's Head (1814), 7. Garrison . . . — Map (db m52195) HM
Maine (Sagadahoc County), Phippsburg — Percival P. Baxter
Honorable Percival P. Baxter Governor of Maine who arranged for the purchase of this and other forts from the Federal Government. Fort Popham, with 6,73 acres of land was valued at $6,600. Fort Baldwin, with 45.13 acres of land was valued at $5,000. The transfer was made on September 20, 1924 John W. Weeks was Secretary of War at the time — Map (db m52196) HM
Maine (Sagadahoc County), Phippsburg — Phippsburg Veterans and Mariners Memorial — "All gave some - some gave all"
In Memory of Those Who Served Revolutionary War April 19, 1775 to September 3, 1783 Civil War April 12, 1861 to May 26, 1865 Spanish American War April 25, 1898 to August 12, 1898 Phippsburg Honor Roll Let it be known that they are remembered [Honored Dead] World War 1 Arthur Wyman · Army World War 2 Paul Davis · Army Irving Harrington · Merchant Marine In Memory of Those Who Served Korean War Era June 25, 1950 to January . . . — Map (db m52204) HM
Maine (Sagadahoc County), Phippsburg — Sites of Forts in this Area
1. Joseph Berry's Fort - West Bath; 2. Col. Noble's Fort - Pleasant Cove, built in 1734, a stockade with a guard house at each corner and another within the enclosure. "Without its protection the farmers did not dare work their fields."; 3. Clarke + Lake's Fort - Spring Cove; 4. Arrousic Fort - Manaskoux; 5. John Watt's Fort - Green Point; 6. Samuel Denny's Fort - Butler's Cove; 7. Col. Noble also built a garrison at Georgetown, "the danger from the Indians being extreme."; 8. Fort at Cox's . . . — Map (db m52199) HM
Maine (Sagadahoc County), Phippsburg — The Casemate Key to a Fort's Design
Like most other masonry forts built in the United States during the middle 1800s, Fort Popham is made up of a series of casemates. These are large enclosed spaces with high, arched ceilings and places for cannons to fire through wall openings. All of the nation's major masonry forts built from 1816 to 1867 had at least one level of casements. Casemates were first developed in European forts centuries ago. By enclosing cannons within thick walls, casemates protected cannons and soldiers . . . — Map (db m52116) HM
Maine (Waldo County), Belfast — 5 — A Benevolent Bequest — The Museum in the Streets
The Construction of a public library was made possible in 1888 by a bequest of $20,000 from merchant Paul R. Hazeltine. He directed that a handsome, substantial, fireproof building be erected on a suitable spot. Built of red granite and trimmed with Somerville gray granite, it is the first Belfast structure to be built entirely of stone rather than wood or brick. When the library opened there were 2,033 volumes on the shelves. Joseph Williamson, Jr. (panel #6) served as President of the . . . — Map (db m59389) HM
Maine (Waldo County), Belfast — 15 — Belfast City Hall — The Museum in the Streets
Memorial Hall was built in 1890 by Civil War veterans of the Grand Army of the Republic to honor their fallen leader Colonel Thomas H. Marshall. While in command of the 7th Regiment of Maine Volunteers, Marshall distinguished himself at the first Battle of Bull Run. The GAR Post used the large hall on the second floor for meetings and reunions, while the lower floors were leased to the city for municipal purposes. In 1923 the Post relinquished possession of the hall to the City and placed . . . — Map (db m59497) HM
Maine (Waldo County), Belfast — 6 — Belfast Historian's Home — The Museum in the Streets
The Williamson House was built in 1845 for prominent Belfast lawyer, businessman, and State Senator Joseph Williamson. It was later the house of his son, Joseph Williamson, Jr., who followed in his father's footsteps as a country lawyer. Joseph Williamson, Jr. is best known for writing The History of the City of Belfast, Maine, in two volumes. In 1853, he administered the oath of office to the first mayor, Ralph C. Johnson (panel #19), under the newly adopted City Charter. The . . . — Map (db m59390) HM
Maine (Waldo County), Belfast — 21 — Biggest Little City — The Museum in the Streets
Despite the decline in ship building, the port of Belfast remained busy at the turn of the 20th century. Rapid industrial development took place all along the west side waterfront, and steamships and railroads became the primary movers of goods. Granaries and creameries, clothing and shoe manufacturers, a fuel company and granite works were among the varied industries that formed the economic base of the city. On the east side, ice houses, brickworks, a foundry, and a paper mill were the . . . — Map (db m59508) HM
Maine (Waldo County), Belfast — 28 — Broiler Capital of the World — The Museum in the Streets
Belfast in the mid-20th century was firmly established as "Broiler Capital of the World". Hundreds of thousands of chickens were raised in giant barns throughout Waldo County. At the peak of the industry 22,000 birds per hour were made ready for shipping at two plants situated on the waterfront. When Penobscot Poultry Company opened its state-of-the-art facility on this site in 1956, presidential candidate Adlai Stevenson was present at the opening ceremony. The plant closed in 1988 and was . . . — Map (db m59548) HM
Maine (Waldo County), Belfast — 25 — Captain Albert W. Stevens — The Museum in the Streets
Famed aerial photographer and Belfast native Army Air Corps Captain Albert W. Stevens captured his hometown on film in September 1923. It is interesting to see the newly built Memorial Bridge, the open fields of the east side and the steamboat heading away from the dock. Stevens served in WWI taking aerial photographs of German positions. On November 11, 1935, he commanded the flight of Explorer II, a helium balloon that ascended to a record altitude of 72,395' (13.71 miles). The first to . . . — Map (db m59530) HM
Maine (Waldo County), Belfast — 8 — City Park — The Museum in the Streets
The Belfast Ladies Improvement Society lobbied the city council in April of 1904 to establish a seaside park for the benefit of the public. The purchase price of the 15 acre lot was $3,000 and, once secured, prominent Boston landscape architect E. L. Beard drew up the park plans. Through the next two years volunteers, using donated materials, planted trees and built the roads. In 1936, a WPA project added a sea wall and saltwater swimming pool (photo c. 1915).

Inset: Edgar F. . . . — Map (db m59392) HM

Maine (Waldo County), Belfast — 9 — Civil War Hero — The Museum in the Streets
Colonel Philo Hersey, born in Canton, Maine, came to Belfast in 1861. He entered Civil War service as a captain in the 26th Maine Regiment. Severely wounded at the battle of Irish Bend, Louisiana, he returned to Belfast and in 1865 married Arabella Johnson. He and his family lived in this house for 20 years. Hersey was a man of many talents--teacher, soldier, merchant, lawyer, commander of the GAR post, state representative--and in 1875 built the shoe factory (panel #1). He left Belfast for . . . — Map (db m59395) HM
Maine (Waldo County), Belfast — 13 — Downtown Main Street — The Museum in the Streets
The Downtown Historic District is recognized as a 19th century architectural gem that is included in the National Register of Historic Places. Main Street provided an early route through the dense forests, allowing the farmers and woodsmen to bring their goods from the outlying regions to the merchants and waiting ships. The neo-Gothic Belfast National Bank (right) built in 1879, and its new bank offices built in 1909 across the street are two of Belfast's most recognized buildings. Note . . . — Map (db m59495) HM
Maine (Waldo County), Belfast — 10 — Education First and Foremost — The Museum in the Streets
The Original Town Hall (left) and Academy (right) were both built in the early 1800s on the Town Common and served as schools into the 20th century. As student enrollment increased, the buildings became over-crowded and out-dated (photo c. 1900). The school committee, recognizing the need for improved facilities, voted to build a new school and in August of 1923 construction of the William G. Crosby School began.

Inset: The new school was named for Crosby, who served as Maine . . . — Map (db m59398) HM

Maine (Waldo County), Belfast — 11 — First Church — The Museum in the Streets
The First Church congregation built this meeting house and dedicated it on November 15, 1818. The frame was raised by men from Belfast and neighboring towns. The parish committee provided a barrel of punch for the workers. Notable features include a Paul Revere bell, the first church bell in Belfast, hung the following year, and the town-owned clock built in 1836 by Phineas Quimby and Major Timothy Chase. Over the years the church has been lovingly maintained by its congregation. In 1975 . . . — Map (db m59493) HM
Maine (Waldo County), Belfast — 29 — Five-Masted Beauty — The Museum in the Streets
A brief shipbuilding boom following WWI put the shipyard owned by the Mathews Brothers woodworking mill back in business. The building of the Jennie Flood Kreger, Belfast's largest and only five-masted ship, was overseen by company president Orlando Frost. Frost's eleven-year-old daughter, Katherine, recorded in her diary the events leading up to the festivities of launch day. On Wednesday March 5, 1919 with a large crowd in attendance, Katherine wrote, "All of a sudden we heard a . . . — Map (db m59549) HM
Maine (Waldo County), Belfast — 4 — Main and High — The Museum in the Streets
The intersection of Main and High Streets formed the commercial crossroads of Belfast and in 1799 it was the site of the first store. Sometimes known as City Block in honor of the impending new city charter, the James Y. McClintock Block was built in 1850. It housed City Hall (a large social hall), the print-works of the Republican Journal newspaper, and street level storefronts. The cupola, removed in 1955, was used by Civil Defense plane spotters during World War II.

. . . — Map (db m59388) HM

Maine (Waldo County), Belfast — 1 — Making a Living — The Museum in the Streets
Colonel Philo Hersey (panel #9) and two business partners built this imposing shoe factory during the post Civil War period of industrial expansion. At peak production, over 500 workers stood side by side producing several thousand pairs of shoes and boots every day. Making shoes was the economic mainstay of Belfast industry prior to the opening of the chicken processing plants in the 1940s. Plagued with an aging building and continuing labor difficulties, this factory was closed in 1962 . . . — Map (db m59382) HM
Maine (Waldo County), Belfast — 22 — Memorial Bridge — The Museum in the Streets
The first bridge to span the Passagassawakeag River at this site was built by private investors in 1806. Known as the Lower Bridge and made of wood, it featured a drawbridge which allowed schooners to travel up the river as far as the wharfs at City Point. In June 1920, three days before construction was to begin on a new concrete and granite bridge, a truck carrying movie films broke through the draw (see inset). The new bridge, known as the Veterans Memorial Bridge was dedicated to the . . . — Map (db m59527) HM
Maine (Waldo County), Belfast — On this site — (Belfast Commons)
On this site generations of workers made windows, built ships, and processed poultry. Passengers and freight were carried by sailing ships and steamships to the four corners of the world. In 1999 Belfast Commons was generously given to the citizens of Belfast by the people of MBNA. — Map (db m59658) HM
Maine (Waldo County), Belfast — 12 — Post Office Square — The Museum in the Streets
The Post Office and Customs House was built in 1857. Until then offices were housed in various businesses around town. The building still has many original features, including ornate fireplaces and iron fireproof shutters. Post Office Square became a central gathering place for Fourth of July celebrations, orations and parades. The Crosby Inn, seen behind the Post Office, was built by a group of investors in 1889. On the bitterly cold night of January 4, 1896 the inn was destroyed by fire . . . — Map (db m59494) HM
Maine (Waldo County), Belfast — 30 — Regal Passenger Steamer — The Museum in the Streets
Steamboats first made scheduled stops in Belfast in 1824, carrying passengers and freight along the coast. The Eastern Steam Ship Company of Boston built the wharf pictured here in 1888. The "Great White Flyer" steamer Belfast plied the waters of Penobscot Bay carrying passengers overnight to and from Boston. Built in Bath, Maine, in 1909 she was 320' in length and boasted a steel hull, triple screws and speed of 17 knots. Carrie Greenlaw, winner of a "Prettiest Girl in Belfast" . . . — Map (db m59550) HM
Maine (Waldo County), Belfast — 18 — Stylish Lodging — The Museum in the Streets
The Thomas Whittier house was built in 1803 as both a house and tavern. It was long considered the finest inn in eastern Maine, popular for drinking, dining and dancing. Famous for the abundant produce from her gardens, Whittier's wife was known as "Lady Bountiful." At the close of the War of 1812, the Whittier Tavern was the site of a grand ball hosted by the British general whose troops had occupied Belfast. In 1839, the building was purchased by Judge Alfred Johnson as his home. For the . . . — Map (db m59502) HM
Maine (Waldo County), Belfast — 17 — The Belfast Historical Society Museum — The Museum in the Streets
When James Langworthy built this Federal style structure in 1835, Market Street, which the building faces, was little more than a cow path leading to a watering hole. But as both a home and store, it was one of more than thirty businesses in Belfast in the 1830s and over the years has housed a variety of commercial establishments and residential apartments (photo c. 1920). In 1975 the building was acquired by the Belfast Historical Society and is now home to the Belfast Museum. The Museum, . . . — Map (db m59501) HM
Maine (Waldo County), Belfast — 2 — The Circus Comes to Town — The Museum in the Streets
Circuses and Caravans of wild animals appeared in Belfast as early as 1816. In 1885, Barnum's "Greatest Show on Earth," featuring 16 elephants including Jumbo, pitched its tent on Congress Street where over 8,000 people enjoyed the spectacle, despite ankle-deep mud. Six locomotives pulled the circus train into the station where it was met with fanfare. In recent history, when the circus came to town, it was not unusual to see elephants strolling through downtown on their way to a refreshing . . . — Map (db m59384) HM
Maine (Waldo County), Belfast — 26 — The Finest and the Fastest — The Museum in the Streets
The abundant lumber, steam-powered sawmills and stretches of wide, flat beach, Belfast became a ship building center with shipyards lining the waterfront. In 1793, Robert and James Miller built the schooner Jenny Miller, the first of many ships to be built here. Over the years, more than 600 vessels, known for their size, speed and beauty were launched by Belfast area shipyards, and as many as one-third of the local men were employed as sailors or shipwrights. The largest of the . . . — Map (db m59531) HM
Maine (Waldo County), Belfast — 19 — The First Mayor — The Museum in the Streets
Ralph Cross Johnson built this house just as the War of 1812 was beginning. He and his brother, Judge Alfred Johnson, were active in all manner of Belfast's businesses and politics. Ralph Johnson was a representative in Maine's first legislature and later served as Belfast's first mayor in 1853. Alfred Johnson's granddaughter, Louise, married Belfast native Admiral William V. Pratt, who served as Chief of Naval Operations from 1930-1933. The family used the house as a summer retreat, well . . . — Map (db m59503) HM
Maine (Waldo County), Belfast — 24 — The Great Conflagration — The Museum in the Streets
Belfast artist William M. Hall's drawing of the "Great Conflagration" was published in Harper's Weekly magazine a week after the fire. At 10:30 on the night of October 12, 1865 a fire that started on the waterfront rapidly spread. Despite valiant efforts by the fire department, by next morning the inferno had leveled one hundred twenty-five buildings in a twenty-acre section of downtown. The following year, the City passed an ordinance prohibiting the building of wooden structures in . . . — Map (db m59528) HM
Maine (Waldo County), Belfast — 7 — The James P. White House — The Museum in the Streets
Designed by Architect Calvin Ryder and built in 1840, the James Patterson White House is considered the finest example of domestic Greek Revival architecture in Maine. Born in 1800 in a log house not far from this site, James White enjoyed considerable success as a merchant, with interests in ship building, a paper-mill and banking. During the Civil War he served as Mayor of Belfast and later as state senator. The house is listed on the National Register of Historic Places, and in the yard . . . — Map (db m59391) HM
Maine (Waldo County), Belfast — 20 — The Nut House — The Museum in the Streets
Originally a cigar making factory, the building shown became Perry's Tropical Nut House when owner Irving Perry started selling pecans in 1926. The business flourished as automobile traffic along Route 1 grew and it soon became Maine's #1 tourist destination. The reverse of this card reads "Most Interesting Place on the Maine Coast." Many travelers, including First Lady Eleanor Roosevelt, have stopped to purchase nuts, homemade fudge, jams, jellies and souvenir trinkets. A nut museum and . . . — Map (db m59506) HM
Maine (Waldo County), Belfast — 27 — The Oldest Manufacturer — The Museum in the Streets
Mathews Brothers Company, started in 1854 by Spencer Mathews and his two brothers, is the oldest manufacturing company in Belfast. After fire destroyed the original factory in 1873 (panel #24), the company reopened just 70 days later on this site. The mill produced doors, windows, and sashes, as well as custom ordered mouldings and trim, for a wide variety of customers. In 1899, after the deaths of the brothers, female members of the family took charge, making it the largest business owned . . . — Map (db m59547) HM
Maine (Waldo County), Belfast — 14 — The Opera House — The Museum in the Streets
Hayford Hall was built between 1866 and 1868 by Axel Hayford, a local contractor and businessman. It housed businesses on the lower level and a ballroom/theater with a balcony on the second level. Renamed the Belfast Opera House in 1883, it was the social center of Belfast. Entertainment included fancy dress balls, concerts, orators, amateur and professional theater, and public meetings. The first movies were shown here when the building was among the first in Belfast to add electric power . . . — Map (db m59496) HM
Maine (Waldo County), Belfast — 16 — The Silver Screen — The Museum in the Streets
The burgeoning appeal of the silver screen led to the construction of the Colonial Theatre which opened the night the Titanic set sail from England in April 1912. A fire in 1923 following a showing of the film "Way Down East" leveled the building and a new theater (inset) rose from the ashes. In 1927, the introduction of "talkies" led to a widely expanding audience for movies. The Colonial Theatre also featured vaudeville acts, political rallies, concerts and boxing matches. In the . . . — Map (db m59500) HM
Maine (Waldo County), Belfast — 3 — The Windsor Hotel — The Museum in the Streets
By the mid-19th Century Belfast was becoming a popular destination for travelers. The Windsor Hotel, originally built as a private home in 1807, was enlarged to accommodate the influx of guests and lodgers. First known as the New England House, it was renamed the Windsor Hotel in 1885. In 1935, the Colonial Inn, far right, served the first legalized liquor in its "cocktail room" at the repeal of Prohibition. The entire complex was destroyed by two separate fires in 1958 and 1960.

. . . — Map (db m59385) HM

Maine (Waldo County), Bucksport — The Penobscot Expedition — 1779
The largest combined infantry-naval operation undertaken by the American colonists during the Revolution met with disaster along this waterway. Two thousand colonials failed to capture Fort George at Castine with its contingent of 750 British land troops, 3 sloops and 4 transports. The Americans burned or sank almost 40 of their own vessels as far north as the City of Bangor as they fled the site of their attack. Placed in commemoration by Penobscot Expedition Chapter, Daughters of . . . — Map (db m21458) HM
Maine (Waldo County), Burnham — Cpl. Clair Goodblood Memorial — Korean War Congressional Medal of Honor Recipient
(Black Granite) Medal of Honor-Cpl Clair Goodblood, born September 18, 1929-Killed in Action April 25, 1951 --(Gray Granite) Korean War Hero-Cpl Goodblood was a member of Company D, 7th Infantry Regiment, 3rd Infantry Division. While serving as a machine gunner defending Company B’s perimeter, he voluntarily remained to cover the unit’s withdrawal. When a grenade fell nearby, he fell upon his assistant to protect him. Both men were wounded. He had his assistant evacuated and remained to defend . . . — Map (db m62470) WM
Maine (Waldo County), Lincolnville — French's Beach
Eunice & Hezekiah French came here from Billerica, Massachusetts in 1799 built a log cabin nearby and ten children were born there — Map (db m59657) HM
Maine (Waldo County), Lincolnville — Lincolnville Center
Lincolnville Center was a busy place in the 19th Century with three general stores, two blacksmith shops, a couple of sawmills, several shoemaking shops, a one-room school, two churches and a wheelwright shop. In 1904 the Lincolnville Telephone Company was founded near this site. — Map (db m55827) HM
Maine (Waldo County), Lincolnville — Lincolnville War of 1812 Cannon
This cannon was stationed at Lincolnville beach for the protection of this village during the War of 1812 Restored to this original location on May 18, 1957 by Edwin W. Kibbe who gave it to the people of the Town of Lincolnville — Map (db m55342) HM
Maine (Waldo County), Lincolnville — Lincolnville's Town House
Erected in 1820 by George Ulmer the building served as the town's meeting place In 1899 High School was held here — Map (db m55828) HM
Maine (Waldo County), Lincolnville — Near this Site in 1770
Nathan & Lydia Knight built a log cabin and became the First Settlers of Canaan Plantation which in 1802 was incorporated as Lincolnville — Map (db m55825) HM
Maine (Waldo County), Prospect — A Grand Plan
The idea of a fort on the Penobscot was not new when the U.S. government purchased land for Fort Knox in 1844. The Board of Engineers, established and charged by the Secretary of War to make a plan for the defense of the United States, had listed a fort on the Penobscot as necessary, but a low priority, in 1821. Four years later, the board specifically identified the Narrows as the most effective site for the Penobscot's fort. A fort on the Penobscot, along with more than 40 others on the . . . — Map (db m55135) HM
Maine (Waldo County), Prospect — A Question of Boundaries
The United States planned Fort Knox to prevent another attempt by the English to control Maine lands east of the Penobscot, as they had successfully done in the American Revolution and War of 1812. Fort Knox's construction had not yet begun when a conflict over the location of Maine's border with Canada briefly brought England and the U.S. to war again in 1839 (the so-called "Bloodless" Aroostook War). The boundary dispute was finally settled three years later. The new boundary placed . . . — Map (db m55136) HM
Maine (Waldo County), Prospect — Conflict and Prosperity on the River
Today's peaceful view of the Penobscot River and the community of Bucksport holds few hints of the early conflicts that plagued the area. For nearly two centuries, the river served as a border between clashing interests - French and English, Native American and English, and English and American. Jonathan Buck moved here from Haverhill, Massachusetts in 1764. He built a sawmill and established the roots of today's Bucksport. Life in the new settlement was anything but secure, however. During . . . — Map (db m55132) HM
Maine (Waldo County), Prospect — Digging Down and Building Up
People, machines, and animals all played a part in the slow process of raising the walls that shaped Fort Knox. But before these walls could be built, people, machines, and animals also worked to prepare the site by earth, blasting ledge, and removing rocks and soil. Isaac Stevens, the first engineer in charge of Fort Knox's construction, reported that rock excavation began on site in 1846 with a "full force" (more than 75 men and several ox and horse teams) worked four months. The next . . . — Map (db m55239) HM
Maine (Waldo County), Prospect — Firing a Cannon
Eight soldiers were needed to fire a 10-inch Rodman, including a chief of detachment (who gave the commands), a gunner, and six cannoneers. The steps in firing the cannon are shown here. The gunner is indicated by "G" and the other six cannonneers [sic] are shown by numbers "1" through "6". The chief of detachment, who likely would have been standing toward the back of the casemate, is not shown. [Cannon Firing Step Diagram Captions Follow] One The cannon is . . . — Map (db m55337) HM
Maine (Waldo County), Prospect — Fort Knox
has been designated a Registered National Historic Landmark under the provisions of the Historic Sites Act of August 21, 1935 This site possesses exceptional value in commemorating or illustrating the history of the United States U.S. Department of the Interior National Park Service 1971 ————— In Grateful Appreciation to the People of Maine and the Friends of Fort Knox for the restoration of the roof Maine Department of . . . — Map (db m55157) HM
Maine (Waldo County), Prospect — Pemtegwacook
Native Americans first paddled dug-out canoes up and down the Penobscot River about 8,000 years ago. Seeking rich hunting and fishing grounds, these people had come to live on the wooded shores of the river and bay. Archaeology has revealed traces of early Native American settlements from Bangor downriver to Penobscot Bay. A site on the bay's North Haven Island is among the most intensely studied. There, between 4,500 and 4,000 years ago, a sizable group of people lived year-round and . . . — Map (db m55129) HM
Maine (Waldo County), Prospect — Terreplein
Fort Knox's roof, or terreplein, has emplacements for thirty cannons. These cannons would have been smaller than the guns planned for the casemates on the main level below. The 30 gun circles on the terreplein were all laid and ready for guns in September 1864. The fort was not fully armed, however, and the terreplein's cannon emplacements never received guns. Other areas, such as the batteries and the main level's casemates, proved of higher priority for the fort's defense and received . . . — Map (db m55338) HM
Maine (Waldo County), Prospect — The Architecture of Defense
The nation's Third System forts, including Fort Knox, all shared similar design features. These features combined to guard against attack by ships, make it impossible for the fort to be taken quickly, [and] provide protection from a land-based, long-term siege. To fulfill these purposes, forts like Fort Knox provided a variety of places where cannons could fire and be protected. Fort Knox was planned for 135 cannons. With these cannons in the main structure and outworks, or batteries, Fort . . . — Map (db m55137) HM
Maine (Waldo County), Prospect — The Casemate - Key to Fort Design
If you were to visit the nation's masonry forts built during the Fort Knox era, you would see many features common to most of them. One such feature is the casemate, a large enclosed space with a high, arched ceiling and places for cannons to fire through wall openings. All of the nation's major masonry forts built from 1816 to 1867 had at least one level of casemates. Casemates were first developed in European forts centuries ago. By enclosing cannons within thick walls, casemates . . . — Map (db m55278) HM
Maine (Waldo County), Prospect — The Heart of the Fort
Fort Knox's thick granite walls were designed to deflect cannon fire from ships passing through the Narrows of the Penobscot River. These walls also enclosed a pentagon-shaped center that contained the heart and soul of the fort. All of the fort's essential functions were protected at this center. Here, soldiers would have had access to cannons, cannonballs, guns and related tools that they could use to defend enemy approaches from the river and the land. In addition to shaping its military . . . — Map (db m55237) HM
Maine (Waldo County), Prospect — Where Did the Soldiers Sleep?
Fort Knox never had soldiers living within its walls, except for a few weeks during the Spanish American War (1898) when some Connecticut Volunteers probably camped on the parade ground or in adjacent rooms. During the Civil War, when the largest number of soldiers were assigned to Fort Knox, the fort was still under construction and not fit for occupation. As a result, when 30 soldiers arrived here in 1863 and found no place to live, they asked the quartermaster's office in Augusta for funds . . . — Map (db m55210) HM
Maine (Waldo County), Prospect — Whitcomb-Baker VFW Post 4633 Veterans Memorial
In Memory Of All Veterans — Map (db m55126) HM
Maine (Waldo County), Searsport — 4 — Carver Memorial Library — The Museum in the Streets
Captain George A. Carver was born in 1836. He was, in turn, a ship's carpenter, builder, owner and master. Later Carver helped found a successful New York ship chandlery business.Retiring in 1893, Carver returned to Searsport, living where Moose Point State Park is today. His wish to construct a library for the town was carried out by his family upon his death. Boston architects designed the building, built of granite and pressed brick with exterior field stones from Moose Point, at a cost . . . — Map (db m46646) HM
Maine (Waldo County), Searsport — 1 — Civil War Soldiers' Monument
Originally erected in 1870 between Mt. Ephraim and Goodall Streets, this monument displays the names of 18 fallen Searsport men. It was dismantled in 1896 and moved to the current location in front of the new Masonic and Odd Fellows building, where a hall had been reserved for veterans of the Grand Old Republic. When reassembled the two marble tablets, inscribed with the names of 18 Searsport soldiers who died in the war, were turned inward. Local legend claimed that one of the tablets had . . . — Map (db m46641) HM
Maine (Waldo County), Searsport — 8 — Early Banking — The Museum in the Streets
Early financial business in Searsport was transacted in Counting Houses. The growth of commerce and industry in the mid 19th Century created the need for a bank. On August 1, 1853, Jeremiah Merithew organized the Searsport Bank which was probably located on the second floor of the Merithew Block on the corner of Leach Street. It issued its own paper notes until the bank closed. The picture shows a note and Mr. Merithew. The next bank, the Searsport National Bank, was organized in 1891 and . . . — Map (db m46652) HM
Maine (Waldo County), Searsport — 2 — First Day at Central School: Circa 1900 — (as told by Cecil Card for the Oral History Project) — The Museum in the Streets
"First came the short white undershirt and underpants. Next came the vest with two rows of buttons the first of which held up the underpants, then the white blouse with a large Buster Brown collar tied with a very wide bow. The second row of buttons on the vest held up the little straight-legged pants. The stockings were long black cotton ones supported by long garters fastened at the top to the undervest. Most of the time about two inches of the garters showed below the pant legs. The . . . — Map (db m46642) HM
Maine (Waldo County), Searsport — 15 — Home of Clara Pendleton Blanchard — 1843-1931 — The Museum in the Streets
For 40 years Clara sailed, first with her father at age nine, then with her husband, Captain William Blanchard, aboard 13 vessels in all. She enjoyed one of the longest documented lives at sea and sailed to all parts of the world. Clara was one of five sisters to marry sea captains. Over the next 19 years this seafaring couple had eight children with only one born on land. Four of her sons would go on to become masters of their own vessels. After "coming ashore" in 1904, Captain Blanchard . . . — Map (db m59280) HM
Maine (Waldo County), Searsport — Liberty Tree Memorial
Planted in honor of those who lost their lives in the tragic events on September 11, 2001 The American Liberty elm was named after "The Liberty Tree": Our Country's first Symbol of Freedom. On the morning of August 14, 1765, the people of Boston awakened to discover two effigies suspended from an elm tree in protest of the hated Stamp Act. From that day forward, that elm became known as the "Liberty Tree". For the next ten years, it stood in silent witness to countless meetings, speeches . . . — Map (db m55341) HM
Maine (Waldo County), Searsport — 6 — Main Street, 1875 — The Museum in the Streets
When Searsport was incorporated in 1845, Main Street consisted of 2 rows of shops and homes. The first brick building, Leach Block, built in 1834, is in center right of the photograph. To the left of that building is the tall three story structure built in 1849 known as the Smart Block. It appears that the people on the street are looking at the horse and buggy rounding the corner, perhaps too sharply, with a wheel collapsing. Standing on this corner today we can imagine the sound of . . . — Map (db m46650) HM
Maine (Waldo County), Searsport — 5 — Making a Living — The Museum in the Streets
In the 19th Century, Searsport was a busy prosperous town. Although best known for shipbuilding and its supporting industries, there was a barrel factory, a spool factory and grain and lumber mills. In one block on Main Street there was a dry goods shop, a hat shop, a hardware store and a grocery store. In another block there was a sign in a restaurant, "Don't kick our coffee. You may be old and weak someday." Visible in the photograph is the interior of Whitcomb's Grocery c. 1929. This . . . — Map (db m46648) HM
Maine (Waldo County), Searsport — 7 — Peter Ward, Ship Carpenter — Living and Working in a Neighborhood of Artisans — The Museum in the Streets
For the better part of the 19th Century Searsport shores were busy with shipbuilding and supporting industries. Close to the yards were steam sheds for bending timbers and planking, blacksmith shops, oakum shops, an iron foundry and a sail loft. The vessels were Searsport built and owned, often with the captain, the builder and local citizens owning shares. Peter Ward arrived in Searsport from Ireland in 1850 and found work as a ship carpenter in the Carver Shipyard. He built the house at 7 . . . — Map (db m46651) HM
Maine (Waldo County), Searsport — 9 — Raising the Flag
In 1850, 216 Searsport men listed their occupations as sailor. This work was what they knew; it was traditional in this and other maritime communities. The men were often gone for years at a time. Young men also left Searsport to go to war, beginning with the Civil War. Less than 50 years after Appomattox young people left again to go to war: this time World War I, the "war to end all wars." The photograph shows a service flag with 41 stars being carried down Main Street on August 16, 1918. . . . — Map (db m46653) HM
Maine (Waldo County), Searsport — 14 — Searsport Cyclone — May 22, 1921 — The Museum in the Streets
It was about 1:30 PM - a hot still afternoon. Thunder clouds built up rapidly. A black funnel cloud appeared northwest of town. The air was full of dust and flying debris. The 1859 Phineas Pendleton House across the street was lifted 8 inches into the air and dropped back on the foundation. The cyclone took the steeple off the Methodist Church, threw a cow into the bay and picked up a barn, leaving the car inside. All this among other strange happenings before moving out to sea and causing . . . — Map (db m46658) HM
Maine (Waldo County), Searsport — 10 — Searsport House — The Museum in the Streets
Searsport House was one of the best hotels to be found outside the larger cities, according to The Industrial Journal, Dec. 1909. Built in 1831, the original building was occupied as a private dwelling until 1835 when it was converted into a hotel. By 1873 the structure had been raised, another story placed under it, and a large commodious stable and carriage house added. It burned in 1892 and was rebuilt with 30 guest rooms, enjoying good patronage from the traveling public. In the . . . — Map (db m46654) HM
Maine (Waldo County), Searsport — 16 — The Growth of Ship Building — Isaac Carver — The Museum in the Streets
Until 1800, Settlers in the area were occupied in establishing themselves on the land. At the same time trade up and down the coast and with Massachusetts was by water in sloops and small schooners. These coastal farmers were as much coastwise sailors as they were farmers. The trade in fish and wood and the surplus of their farms would soon show them the value of building, owning and operating their own vessels. Isaac and Hannah Carver had 11 children. All seven of the male children, with . . . — Map (db m46659) HM
Maine (Waldo County), Searsport — 17 — The Home of a Hero
Captain Freeman McGilvery (1824-1864) captained two ships prior to the Civil War. At age 38, at sea, he learned of the "Southern Insurrection" and returned to Maine to offer his services to the governor. Assigned to command the 6th Maine Battery, McGilvery participated in five battles. When promoted to Lt. Col., he was assigned to command the reserve Brigade of Artillery of the Army of the Potomac. After skillful handling of the artillery at Gettysburg, causing the Confederates to retreat, . . . — Map (db m46661) HM
Maine (Waldo County), Searsport — 12 — The Site of a Lumber Mill 1890 — The Museum in the Streets
On the site across the stream, there was first a grain and then a lumber mill. The dammed up stream provided power to turn the wheel to grind the grain or saw the logs. The stream also provided a conduit for logs floated down to the mill. Note the unpaved road and cribwork construction of the bridge in the photograph, the granite no doubt from nearby quarries in Frankfort. On November 2, 1912, Sally E. Dow wrote, "I recall as a young child watching True Green, lamp-lighter, climb his ladder . . . — Map (db m46657) HM
Maine (Waldo County), Searsport — 3 — Union Hall — The Museum in the Streets
Local entrepreneur Frank Lane constructed this building in 1860. A Boston architect, George Harding, designed it as a venue for traveling and local theater productions and community receptions. It was also used for basketball in the 1940s and 50s before the school had a court. The Town Office located here in 1964. The photographs show the original interior and the exterior with tennis court. One can see the hose tower in the fire house in the upper right corner. Fire hoses were made of . . . — Map (db m46644) HM
Maine (Waldo County), Searsport — 11 — Union School — The Museum in the Streets
In the 1850s, with no public transportation, children had to walk to school or ride in a wagon. If Searsport families wanted to educate their children, facilities had to be provided within walking distance of their homes. There were 14 school houses or rooms in other buildings for the relatively few children in the widespread rural area. Build in the 1850s, the Union School still stands. One of the larger of the schools in the village, it was built by "Tarpaulin Muster" or, in landlubber . . . — Map (db m46655) HM
Maine (Washington County), Columbia Falls — Columbia Falls Town Hall
The Union Church was built in 1840 by the Union Meetinghouse Association to be used for non-denominational worship. In 1898 the bell was donated to the church by the Columbia Falls Women's Society. In 1903 the Church was deeded to the Town to be used as the Town Hall. This plaque presented to the Town of Columbia Falls by the Recreation Committee. — Map (db m55073) HM
Maine (Washington County), Columbia Falls — Early Settlers of the Pleasant River — American Revolution Bicentennial 1776-1976
Early Settlers of the Pleasant River Known to Have Been in Action Against the British During the Revolution of 1775 to 1783 [Honor Roll of Veterans] — Map (db m55088) HM
Maine (Washington County), Columbia Falls — The Ruggles House — Columbia Falls — Washington County
The Ruggles House, built for Thomas Ruggles, a prominent citizen of Columbia. Architect and builder was Aaron Simmons Sherman. Restored 1950-1951 by the Ruggles House Society. A notable example of nineteenth century Adam style architecture and hand carving. — Map (db m55090) HM
Maine (Washington County), Columbia Falls — Veterans Memorial — In Loving Memory Of All
This monument erected by Greenwood Cemetery Society July 4, 1958 to honor the brave youth of Columbia Falls, who so unselfishly entered our Armed Force to help Keep America Free They left their families and their friends to fight for their country dear We salute this valiant band the noble saviours of our land They shall be honored for many a year Whittier — Map (db m55089) WM
Maine (Washington County), Harrington — World War Memorial — 1917 - 1918
This tablet commemorates the names of those who served in the World War [Honor Roll of Veterans] — Map (db m55092) HM
Maine (Washington County), Lubec — Civil War Memorial — Lubec — 1861 - 1865
[North face] To her loyal sons who on land and water, imperiled their lives for the Union Appomattox • Antietam Stars and Stripes Shield Emblem [West face] "On fames eternal camping ground their silent tents are spread And glory guards with solemn round the bivouac of the dead." New Orleans • Marie's Heights Navy Emblem [South face] Fort Fisher • Rappahannock Station Cavalry Emblem [East face] W. H. Brawn Post No. 33 G.A.R. Petersburg • . . . — Map (db m54889) HM
Maine (Washington County), Lubec — Dawn's First Light Shines on Free Masonry
This cryptic marker placed here by the Grand Council of Royal and Select Masters of Maine, to commemorate dawns [sic] first light shines on Free Masonry on the East Coast of the United States of America — Map (db m54891) HM
Maine (Washington County), Lubec — Easternmost Point in the U.S.A.
West Quoddy Head 44°48"9'N 66°57"1'W Erected by the WQHLKA Inc. Spring 2005 with permission of the Maine Department of Conservation — Map (db m54818) HM
Maine (Washington County), Lubec — First Meeting Place of Washington Lodge No. 37 F.&A.M.
This tablet marks the site of the first meeting place of Washington Lodge No. 37 F.&A.M. 1822 --- 1922 — Map (db m54855) HM
Maine (Washington County), Lubec — Lubec Veterans Honor Roll — Lest We Forget
[Honor Roll of Veterans] Revolutionary War • Civil War World War I • World War II Korean War • Vietnam War Peace Time Service — Map (db m54888) HM
Maine (Washington County), Lubec — War Memorial — Lubec, Maine — Incorporated June 21, 1811
We dedicate this memorial to the Glory of Almighty God, in memory of the men and women of Lubec who served in all wars and by their unselfish patriotism have advanced the American Ideals of Liberty and the Universal Brotherhood of Man — Map (db m54887) HM
Maine (Washington County), Machias — Burnham Tavern — Built in 1770
Home of Hannah Weston Chapter Daughters of the American Revolution — Map (db m54731) HM
Maine (Washington County), Machias — First Naval Battle of the American Revolution
This anchor symbolizes the historic ties that Machias people have with the sea, and their commitment to liberty as exemplified in the first naval battle of the American Revolution fought in Machias Bay between the British ship Margaretta and the Machias sloop Unity June 12, 1775. Dedicated June 13, 1975 — Map (db m55066) HM
Maine (Washington County), Machias — First Permanent English Settlement in Machias Bay — 1763 - 1904
This tablet marks the landing place of the company which made the first permanent English settlement in this town, May 20, 1763. The little band consisted of Samuel and Sylvanus Scott, Timothy George, and David Libby, John and Solomon Stone, Daniel and Japhet Hill, DanielFogg, Isaiah Foster, Westbrook Berry, wife and three children, Isaac Larrabee, wife and three children, Joel Bonney, Wooden Foster, all of Scarborough, Thomas Buck of Plymouth and Jonathan Carlton of Sheepscot. — Map (db m54739) HM
Maine (Washington County), Machias — The Machias River — Downeast Fisheries Trail
Native Americans called the falls next to this sign Machias, the popular translation of which is "bad little falls." The name Machias now applies to the nearby towns and rivers. South of Bad Little Falls, river water mixes with sea water brought in by each tide, making an environment called an estuary. Eagles, osprey, softshell clams, migratory fish, shorebirds and seabirds find the varying conditions of the estuary suitable habitat. Upstream, a vast array of tributary streams, lakes, ponds, . . . — Map (db m54743) HM
Maine (Washington County), Machias — Veterans Memorial — To Those Who Know War Best
In honor of those men and women of Machias who served God and Country that this flag might wave Erected 1958 to the memory of all servicemen of the town of Machias — Map (db m55070) HM
Maine (Washington County), Machias — World War I Memorial
To the men of Machias Valley who gave their lives in the Great War 1917 - 1918 — Map (db m55062) HM
Maine (York County), Biddleford — A Stone Fort
was built in 1693 rear of this place near the banks of the Saco River as a refuge from the Indians — Map (db m55700) HM
Maine (York County), Biddleford — 4 — Fort Saco in 1693 / Le Fort Saco en 1693 — The Museum in the Streets
The Indians burned the township of Saco in 1688. Fort Saco was built on the future site of the Laconia Mills to protect the settlers in 1693. The fort served as stables during the construction of the Laconia mills in 1841. Yo Cat Gully in the north and the Saco river in the east protected the fort. Further north of the fort was Ram-Cat Hill, the future site of the Pepperell Mills. Opposite the fort on Factory Island, walls built by the French and the Indians laying siege to the fort persisted . . . — Map (db m55718) HM
250 markers matched your search criteria.
Click to map all markers shown on this page.
Click First to browse through the results shown on this page.   First >> 


•••
More Search Options
 
Markers
Near You

 
Categories

 
States & Provinces

 
Counties
Click to List


 
Countries

Page composed
in 367 ms.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
To search within this page, hold down the Ctrl key and press F.
On an Apple computer,
hold down the Apple key and press F.