HMdb.org THE HISTORICAL
MARKER DATABASE
            “Bite-Size Bits of Local, National, and Global History”
  Home  — My Markers  — Add A Marker  — Marker Series  — Links & Books  — Forum  — About Us
Click First to browse through the results shown on this page.   First >> 
Show DirectionsOmit Marker TextClick to map all markers shown on this page.
Massachusetts Markers
936 markers matched your search criteria. The first 250 markers are listed. Next 686
Massachusetts (Barnstable County), Buzzards Bay — August Belmont — February 18, 1853 - December 10, 1924
In Memory of August Belmont February 18, 1853 - December 10, 1924 Whose vision, initiative, an indomitable courage made possible the first complete construction of The Cape Cod Canal Connecting Buzzards Bay and Cape Cod Bay which was officially opened for traffic July 29, 1914. From his maternal Grandfather Commodore Matthew Calbraith Perry he inherited a warm allegiance to the interests of New England and his deep concern for those who go down to the sea in ships. — Map (db m57668) HM
Massachusetts (Barnstable County), Buzzards Bay — Bournedale's Yesterdays
You are standing in the center of the Old Nye Estate. Before construction of the canal, this was the finest home in Bournedale, a sleepy Cape Cod village complete with post office, village hall, general store, and its own industry - the Tahanto Iron Works. William Nye, town clerk of Bourne, surrounded his home with orchards and pastures. Notice the occasional apple and hawthorn trees along the way - remnants of this estate displaced by an expanded canal and highway.

At the heart of the . . . — Map (db m57536) HM

Massachusetts (Barnstable County), Buzzards Bay — Cape Cod Canal
Chief of Engineers Award of Excellence US Army Corps of Engineers Cape Cod Canal For exceptional project managemental achievements, and the enhancement of public perception of the corps objectives. — Map (db m57672) HM
Massachusetts (Barnstable County), Buzzards Bay — Comassakumakanit
Long before the first European settlements in the Herring River Valley, a band of Wampanoag Indians lived in this area. The seasonal village called Comassakumakanit, stood beside Megansett Waye, an important trading path linking Cape and the mainland. When the river was dredged to create the canal, logs were found in the streambed, marking the old crossing of Megansett Waye.

Arrowheads found during construction of this trail indicate that the Wampanoag hunted dear and small game in this . . . — Map (db m57534) HM

Massachusetts (Barnstable County), Buzzards Bay — Monica Dickens Stratton — Founder of the Samaritans, USA — 1915-1992
Through her efforts suicide barriers were placed on the canal bridges.

"The Samaritans hope that saving people here will give them time to reconsider, to give themselves another chance at living, and at finding some help." — Map (db m57669) HM

Massachusetts (Barnstable County), Buzzards Bay — Still on Patrol
(Front of Marker) In memory of all U.S. Submarines that are still on patrol.

U.S.S. Trout State Boat of Massachusetts lost in action February 29th 1944

(Rear Marker) U.S. Navy Submarines paid heavily for their success in World War II. A total of 374 officers and 3131 men are on board these 52 U.S. Submarines still on "patrol."

We shall never forget that it was our submarines that held the lines against the enemy while our fleets replaced losses and . . . — Map (db m57398) HM

Massachusetts (Barnstable County), Buzzards Bay — William Barclay Parsons
William Barclay Parsons, Hon.M.ASCE Chief Engineer, Cape Cod Canal, 1906-1914 The original construction of the Cape Cod Canal demonstrated the feasibility of constructing and operating a sea -level canal without locks. — Map (db m57670) HM
Massachusetts (Barnstable County), Chatham — History of Chatham Lighthouse
The waters off Chatham are notoriously dangerous because of the treacherous shoals and currents. The need for lights to warn mariners was recognized in early days of the country, and in 1806, nine years after the erection of the first lighthouse on Cape Cod in Truro, Congress made its first appropriation for a lighthouse in Chatham, with the actual building being completed in 1808. A light on Nantucket displayed a single fixed beam, Chatham two, and Highland Light three lights. The first . . . — Map (db m63403) HM
Massachusetts (Barnstable County), Chatham — In Memory of the Pioneers of Chatham — William Nickerson
He came from Norwich England in 1637. He acquired from the Indians by a series of purchases prior to the year 1683 the greater part of the present Township then known as Monomoyick. He and his sons and sons-in-laws Robert Nickerson • Samuel Nickerson • John Nickerson • William Nickerson • Joseph Nickerson • Robert Eldredge • Tristram Hedges • Nathaniel Covell were with their families the first settlers. They were soon followed by: Edward Cottle • Thomas Crowell • John Doaning • William . . . — Map (db m68997) HM
Massachusetts (Barnstable County), Chatham — Samuel De Champlain
The First White Man on these Shores Landed Here October 1606 — Map (db m71054) HM
Massachusetts (Barnstable County), Chatham — The Mayflower Story
First, the Separatists returned to London to get organized. A prominent merchant agreed to advance the money for their journey. The Virginia Company gave them permission to establish a settlement, or “plantation,” on the East Coast between 38 and 41 degrees north latitude (roughly between the Chesapeake Bay and the mouth of the Hudson River). And the King of England gave them permission to leave the Church of England, “provided they carried themselves peaceably.”

In . . . — Map (db m63402)

Massachusetts (Barnstable County), Chatham — The Rescue of the Pendleton
One of the most spectacular small boat rescues on the east coast of the United States occurred on February 18, 1952. The tanker Pendleton broke in half off the coast of Chatham during a fierce Nor' caster storm. In blinding rain and sixty foot seas, the crew of the Coast Guard motor lifeboat CG36500 responded from the Chatham Fish Pier, traversing the treacherous Chatham Bar and rescuing thirty-two crew members of the doomed ship. They were then able to navigate safely back to the Fish Pier in . . . — Map (db m63406) HM
Massachusetts (Barnstable County), Eastham — Eastham Windmill — Cape Cod's Oldest
Built in Plymouth 1680 by Thomas Paine of Eastham. Moved to Truro, 1770. Moved to Eastham, 1793. Moved to this location, 1808. — Map (db m52648) HM
Massachusetts (Barnstable County), Eastham — First Encounter Monument — Commemorating the Pilgrims' first encounter with Native Americans
On this spot hostile Indians had their first encounter December 8, 1620, old style, with Myles Standish, John Carver, William Bradford, John Tilley, Edward Winslow, John Howland, Edward Tilley, Richard Warren, Stephen Hopkins, Edward Dotey, John Allerton, Thomas English, Master Mate Clark, Master Gunner Copin, and three sailors of the Mayflower Company — Map (db m51139) HM
Massachusetts (Barnstable County), Eastham — First Encounter Plaque — Commemorating the Pilgrims' first encounter with Native Americans
Near this site the Nauset tribe of the Wampanoag nation, seeking to protect themselves and their culture, had their first encounter, 8 december 1620, with Myles Standish, John Carver, William Bradford, Edward Winslow, John Tilley, Edward Tilley, John Howland, Richard Warren, Stephen Hopkins, Edward Dotey, John Allerton, Thomas English, Master Mate Clark, Master Gunner Copin and three sailors of the Mayflower company. — Map (db m51142) HM
Massachusetts (Barnstable County), Eastham — Kettles
A bird's eye view of Cape Cod reveals a landscape dimpled with holes. Most of them are nearly round, and many are filled wit water, like Salt Pond in front of you.

Geologists call these intriguing depressions "kettles." They were formed over 18,000 years ago when the gigantic ice-age glaciers that covered this region began to melt.pSalt Pond is unique among the kettles of the outer Cape because it has been captured by the ocean. A tidal channel from Nauset Marsh has breached the opposite . . . — Map (db m63408) HM

Massachusetts (Barnstable County), Eastham — Workboat of the Marshes
A remnant from Cape Cod's agriculture past, this 1850-era hay barge was a common sight among the working dories, skiffs, and catboats of the area. Wide and flat-bottomed, it was rowed, poled, and sailed throughout the shallow marshes. Salt marsh hay was gathered from the water's edge for livestock, bedding and feed. Many local residents still remember the taste of salty milk.

After 1900, Cape Codders made the move from cows and plows to summer cottages and tourism, the usefulness of hay . . . — Map (db m63407) HM

Massachusetts (Barnstable County), Orleans — Battle of Orleans Massachusetts 1814
Here, Dec. 19, 1814 Orleans Militia repulsed British landing from H.M.S. Newcastle, - intent; burning village and vessels, War of 1812. Town's early commercial and maritime center. Packet's Landing; passengers and freight between here, Plymouth, Boston, Salem, Maine and maritimes. — Map (db m61489) HM
Massachusetts (Barnstable County), Orleans — Jonathan Young Mill
Built circa 1720 in South Orleans, later moved to the center of town. It was moved to Hyannisport in 1897. In 1983, the structure was given to the Orleans Historical Society by the Groves family. The society then donated it to the town. Dismantled and returned to Orleans, the structure was meticulously restored by volunteer labor, donations by local businesses and public contributions. — Map (db m59979) HM
Massachusetts (Barnstable County), Orleans — Pushed Back by the Sea
Both the lighthouse standing here and the cliff in front of you have had to give away to the power of the Atlantic Ocean.

The first lighthouses built here in 1838 were placed over 600 feet east of where you are standing now. As ocean waves ate away at the base of the cliffs, causing erosion rates averaging three feet per year, the original beacons had to be replaced with three wooden towers set father back from the edge.

In less than two decades, the cliffs approached the wooden . . . — Map (db m63398)

Massachusetts (Barnstable County), Orleans — The Long, Black Cable
The long, black cable has carried countless thousands of messages of international finance, personal hope and disaster, and news of war and peace.

Now it lies cold and dormant on the deep floor of the wide Atlantic.

If you stood here on November 16, 1879. you would have joined the thousands who cheered as the steamer CS Faraday delivered from France the last thread of a 3,000-mile transatlantic telegraph cable. It was one of the first cables to connect the United States with Europe. . . . — Map (db m63399)

Massachusetts (Barnstable County), Orleans — The Nauset Lights — Cape Cod National Seashore
In 1838 the United States Government took action to reduce the number of shipwrecks along this dangerous coast by establishing the Nauset Light. To make the signal easily recognizable three separate lanterns were set on small brick towers about 150 feet (45m) apart.

Unfortunately, the brick "Three Sisters" were built too close to the eroding cliff which threatened to undermine them. In 1892 they were replaced by wooden towers built farther back from the edge. Today's Nauset Light is . . . — Map (db m63396)

Massachusetts (Barnstable County), Orleans — Three Sisters Lit the Way
These three lighthouses were part of the Nauset Beach Light Station, which originally stood a quarter mile away, overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Nicknamed the Three Sisters, this trio of lights provided a landmark for sailors making their way along the Outer Cape from 1838 to 1911. Changing lighthouse technology and the steady erosion of the Nauset cliffs eventually forced the removal of the lights from their post. They were reunited here in 1989- a rare surviving example of a triple lighthouse . . . — Map (db m63400)
Massachusetts (Barnstable County), Provincetown — The First Landing Place of the Pilgrims, Nov. 11, 1620, O.S.
The map in Mourt's Relation shows that near this spot the Pilgrims first touched foot on American soil. — Map (db m55594) HM
Massachusetts (Barnstable County), Sandwich — 241st Coast Artillery — Battery C
A siren pierces the air! A German submarine is sighted! Soldiers scramble to their respective positions to defend the eastern entrance of the Cape Cod Canal from enemy attack.

This was only a drill. Enemy vessels were sighted along these shores, yet they never ventured within range of the guns of Sagamore Hill.

The field before you was the site of the 241st Coast Artillery Battery C encampment from late 1941 through WWII. At the end of the war the camp was disassembled and the field . . . — Map (db m57393) HM

Massachusetts (Barnstable County), Sandwich — Changes Through Time
The name Sagamore is defined as "Chief" of an Indian tribe. It was on Sagamore Hill that chiefs of the Wampanoag and Manomet Indians would hold tribal meetings. As you look out toward Cape Cod Bay, the land before you has undergone many changes since the Sagamores last gathered here.

Scusset Creek which flowed westerly around Sagamore Hill into Scusset harbor was permanently altered when the Cape Cod Canal was constructed between 1909 and 1914. The eastern entrance to the Canal is now . . . — Map (db m57397) HM

Massachusetts (Barnstable County), Sandwich — Panama Mount
The 241st Coastal Artillery Battery C used this Panama Gun Mount as a firing base. At the onset of World War II, the United States Army positioned 155 MM Field Artillery pieces at critical coastal locations. The defense of the easterly entrance to the Cape Code Canal was critical to the war effort. Allied shipping used the canal as safe passage way and assemblage area for convoys going overseas.

The Panama Mount, developed by the U.S. Army for the defense of the Panama Canal, gave the 155 . . . — Map (db m57396) HM

Massachusetts (Barnstable County), Sandwich — Ready Rooms
Before you are "Ready Rooms". A series off underground tunnels connected the plotting rooms and ammunition storage rooms behind the hill to the observation and battery command station atop the hill. Side tunnels allowed movement of ammunition to the Ready Rooms where it was stored for use at the gun emplacements which flanked Sagamore Hill.

Diagram of tunnel system. Map (db m57395) HM

Massachusetts (Barnstable County), Sandwich — Sagamore Hill Trail
By looking at the present landscape, one can see into the past. Sagamore Hill is rich in cultural and natural history. What was once a Indian Council gathering place later became a World War II Coastal Military Installation. The land is now a mixture of field, forest, marsh, and swamp.

Come explore the features which comprise the story of Sagamore Hill. The trail to your left leads you to the summit of Sagamore Hill for a view of Cape Cod Bay and the Eastern section of Cape Cod Canal. — Map (db m57307) HM

Massachusetts (Berkshire County), Adams — "A Beacon Standing for Peace"
In 1931, the state set aside funds for a memorial to honor Massachusetts men and women who had died during the World War. Originally designed as a lighthouse for Boston's Charles River estuary, the tower's beacon was intended "to shine each night, perpetually, to honor the memory of fallen heroes and to guide aviators in their lone night-time journeys oer the treacherous mountain range." It stands as a timeless memorial to casualties of all wars.

When it was built, the beacon was the . . . — Map (db m44374) HM

Massachusetts (Berkshire County), Adams — Mount Greylock, elevation 3,491 feet
Take a deep breath, and enjoy the view! You are at the peak of the highest mountain in Massachusetts.

The summit of Mount Greylock features the only subalpine environment in Massachusetts. Because of the high elevation and the westerly winds, there is a wide temperature range from winter to summer and from day to night.

The summit is the centerpiece of the Mount Greylock State Reservation. Designated in 1898, Mount Greylock became the first state reservation in Massachusetts' state . . . — Map (db m44373) HM

Massachusetts (Berkshire County), Egremont — MA-2 — Gen. Henry Knox Trail
Through this place passed General Henry Knox in the winter of 1775 – 1776 to deliver to General George Washington at Cambridge the train of artillery from Fort Ticonderoga used to force the British Army to evacuate Boston. Erected by the Commonwealth of Massachusetts 1927 < Lower Marker: > This monument is dedicated to the thousands of innocent and brave men, women and children killed by terrorist attacks in New York City, Washington D.C. and Pennsylvania on September 11, 2001. . . . — Map (db m24017) HM
Massachusetts (Berkshire County), Great Barrington — First Court House of Berkshire County
Near this spot stood the first court house of Berkshire County erected 1764. Here August 16, 1774 occurred the first open resistance to British rule in America — Map (db m58957) HM
Massachusetts (Berkshire County), Great Barrington — MA-3 — Gen. Henry Knox Trail
Through this place passed General Henry Knox in the winter of 1775 – 1776 to deliver to General George Washington at Cambridge the train of artillery from Fort Ticonderoga used to force the British Army to evacuate Boston. Erected by the Commonwealth of Massachusetts 1927 — Map (db m24013) HM
Massachusetts (Berkshire County), Great Barrington — Great Barrington Civil War Memorial
A Tribute Of honor and Gratitude To Her Citizens Who Fought For Liberty and Union 1861. – 1865. Erected by the Town of Great Barrington. 1876. — Map (db m58955) HM
Massachusetts (Berkshire County), Great Barrington — Great Barrington World War I Monument
Erected November 11th 1936 By the School Children Of Great Barrington and Housatonic In Honor of the 359 Men and Women Who Served Their Country In the World War. Abel, Harrison G. • Ackerman, Arthur P. • Adams, Ernest W. • Alcott, Bruce • Alcott, Darrell • Alcott, Hillard • Ambach, Raymond G. • Andrews, Harry • Arienti, Charles P. • Arienti, Henry L. • Atwood, Wallace E. • Axtell, Edward W. • Axtell, Howard C. • Bailey, Francis A. • Bailly, George A. • Bailly, Henry J. • Banach, . . . — Map (db m58960) HM
Massachusetts (Berkshire County), Great Barrington — IEEE Milestone
IEEE Milestone in Electrical Engineering and Computing Alternating Current Electrification, 1886 On 20 March 1886 William Stanley provided alternating current electrification to offices and stores on Main Street in Great Barrington, Massachusetts. He thus demonstrated the first practical system for providing electrical illumination using alternating current with transformers to adjust voltage levels of the distribution system. October 2004 Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers — Map (db m58988) HM
Massachusetts (Berkshire County), Great Barrington — Memorial Street Light
Memorial Street Light erected by Massachusetts Electric Company June 28, 1986 in recognition of William Stanley and his contributions to the Electric Utility Industry — Map (db m58987) HM
Massachusetts (Berkshire County), Great Barrington — Shays Rebellion
Last Battle of Shays Rebellion was here Feb. 27, 1787. — Map (db m37487) HM
Massachusetts (Berkshire County), Great Barrington — The Mahaiwe Theater
The Mahaiwe Theater has been placed on the National Register Of Historic Places By the United States Department of the Interior Built 1905 — Map (db m58958) HM
Massachusetts (Berkshire County), Great Barrington — William Stanley
William Stanley 1858     1916 Inventor His genius made Great Barrington the first community to be lighted by alternating current in March 1886. Monument erected by the Rotary Club of Great Barrington on its fiftieth anniversary. May 18th 1974 — Map (db m58972) HM
Massachusetts (Berkshire County), Great Barrington — You Stand Free Because They Served
You Stand Free Because They Served In everlasting memory and tribute to the men and women of Great Barrington who, in defense of their country and the human rights of mankind, served with honor and distinction in the armed forces of the United States of America World War I, World War II, Korean, Vietnam May their devotion to duty remain an inspiring legacy to future generations. — Map (db m58896) HM
Massachusetts (Berkshire County), Lenox — Paterson / Egleston
(south face)Paterson (east face) In memory of Major General John Paterson, son of Colonel John Paterson, born 1744, died 1808; and Elizabeth Lee his wife, born 1749, died 1841. He was born in New Britain, Conn. Graduated at Yale College in 1762. He entered the law in his native town. He was married June 2nd, 1766. In 1774 he moved to Lenox and was chosen a member of the Berkshire Convention July 1774. Represented this town in the General Court, which became the first . . . — Map (db m524) HM
Massachusetts (Berkshire County), Monterey — MA-4 — Gen. Henry Knox Trail
Through this place passed General Henry Knox in the winter of 1775 – 1776 to deliver to General George Washington at Cambridge the train of artillery from Fort Ticonderoga used to force the British Army to evacuate Boston. Erected by the Commonwealth of Massachusetts 1927 — Map (db m24007) HM
Massachusetts (Berkshire County), North Adams — North Adams Iron Company — Battle Between the Monitor and Merrimac
On this site in the plant of the North Adams Iron Company, founded 1846 and from 1858 to 1862 operated by John Adam Beckley, the ore was smelted for the plates used in building the Monitor, the famous antagonist of the Merrimac in the first combat of ironclad vessels in March 1862. Sponsored by his granddaughter Clara M. Beckley. Erected by the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, Paul A. Dever, Governor — Map (db m59537) HM
Massachusetts (Berkshire County), Pittsfield — Arrowhead — Home of Herman Melville
Arrowhead For thirteen years (1850-1863) the home of Herman Melville 1819 — 1891 Mariner and Mystic Author of Moby Dick (written in Pittsfield) and other tales of the sea. “Moby Dick is among the few very notable literary achievements of American literature”             Raymond M. Weaver — Map (db m32337) HM
Massachusetts (Berkshire County), Sheffield — American Legion Post 340 Veterans Memorial
In Memory Of Those Who Served — Map (db m58893) HM
Massachusetts (Berkshire County), Sheffield — Barnard Park
Barnard Park Given to Sheffield in 1937 for a Public Park by John Hall Barnard In Memory Of Gen. J.G. Barnard and Dr. F.A.P. Barnard Former President of Columbia University — Map (db m58804) HM
Massachusetts (Berkshire County), Sheffield — Cast Steel Bell
Cast Steel Bell Sheffield, England, 1860 Made by the Naylor Vickers & Co. foundry using E. Riepe’s patent. This bell hung in the steeple of the Methodist Church on Main Street, Sheffield, MA (now a private home). Donated by Tom and Cynthia Dixon to the Town of Sheffield. — Map (db m58802) HM
Massachusetts (Berkshire County), Sheffield — Here Stood the Big Elm
Here Stood the Big Elm For many years the largest in Massachusetts Under its spreading branches historic meetings were held This tablet erected on the Centennial of the planting of the Sheffield Elms June 12, 1946 — Map (db m59327) HM
Massachusetts (Berkshire County), Sheffield — Old Parish Church Clock
The Clock On This Church Was Placed Here By The G.A.R. and W.R.C. Of This Country As A Memorial Of George F. Root Born In Shefffield, August 30 1820 Died August 6, 1895. Musician – Patriot - Christian — Map (db m58801) HM
Massachusetts (Berkshire County), Sheffield — Reconstruction of 1854 Covered Bridge
“THE OLDEST COVERED BRIDGE IN MASSACHUSETTS” was ordered to be built in 1854. At a meeting in late 1853 the Sheffield Selectmen were directed to advertise for proposals. They were voted full power to move forward and make contracts, as they placed ads in the Berkshire Courier for bids from bridge builders. The event that triggered that decision was a lawsuit against the town for damages to cattle passing over the Hubbard Bridge. The Hubbard was a long device, built by the first . . . — Map (db m37504) HM
Massachusetts (Berkshire County), Sheffield — Sheffield World War I Monument
In Memory Of The Citizens of Sheffield Who So Loyally Served In the World War 1917 - 1918 — Map (db m58805) HM
Massachusetts (Berkshire County), Sheffield — Sheffield World War II Monument
In Memory Of The Citizens of Sheffield Who So Loyally Served In the World War 1941 - 1945 — Map (db m58891) HM
Massachusetts (Berkshire County), Sheffield — World War II Memorial Trees
These Trees Have Been Dedicated to the Memory of Our Men of the Town of Sheffield, Who Gave Their Lives in World War II Lieut Herbert W. Small • A/C Paul C. Hogan • Sgt. Robert A. Goeway Jr. • Milton C. McGarry S 2/C • Cpl. William H. Moesley • T/S Richard L. Fairchild Dedicated 1945 — Map (db m58890) HM
Massachusetts (Berkshire County), Stockbridge — A Day In The Life — Norman Rockwell’s Stockbridge Studio
A Day In The Life: Norman Rockwell’s Stockbridge Studio In 1957 Norman Rockwell purchased a home on South Street, near the center of Stockbridge, Massachusetts. The property’s backyard included a dilapidated carriage barn, which he converted into a working studio. Though Rockwell occupied approximately twenty studios throughout his life, it was this last one – seen before you – which he referred to as his “best studio yet.” As old age set in, Rockwell grew . . . — Map (db m59140) HM
Massachusetts (Berkshire County), Stockbridge — Linwood House
Linwood House Charles Butler, a prestigious New York attorney, built Linwood House in 1859. This graceful summer ‘cottage’ was constructed for his family and named for the home in a book titled The Linwoods, by Catherine Sedgwick, a relative. Butter’s residence was among the first of the elegant summer homes that have come to be known as ‘Berkshire Cottages.’ Designed in 1885 by Stanford White, Choate’s Naumkeag can be seen across the Housatonic River valley. Linwood House was . . . — Map (db m59145) HM
Massachusetts (Berkshire County), Stockbridge — Norman Rockwell’s Studio
Norman Rockwell’s Studio Norman Rockwell wanted his studio to be preserved for museum visitors to learn about his working process. In 1976, he placed his studio and all of its furnishings and equipment in trust to The Norman Rockwell Museum at Stockbridge. In 1986, the contents were carefully packed, and the studio building was moved from South Street to its new site. As in its original location, the studio’s large windows face north and the building continues to overlook the Housatonic River. . . . — Map (db m59138) HM
Massachusetts (Berkshire County), Stockbridge — Stockbridge Chime Tower
This Memorial Tower marks the spot where stood the Little Church in the wilderness in which John Sergeant preached to the Stockbridge Indians in 1739. — Map (db m59227) HM
Massachusetts (Berkshire County), Stockbridge — Stockbridge Civil War Monument
[ south side ] To Her Sons Beloved and Honored Who Died for Their Country In the Great War Of the Rebellion Stockbridge In Grateful Remembrance Has Raised This Monument A.D. 1866 [ north side ] To Bravery And Patriotism [ east side ] 2 Mass. Inf. Maj. William E. Sedgwick Adj. General. G.A.C. Joseph Rathbun. Michael Mulany. Thomas Dailey. John Dier. William T. Mix. 27 Mass. Inf. George W. Bradbun. 37 Mass. Inf. Thomas . . . — Map (db m59225) HM
Massachusetts (Berkshire County), Stockbridge — Stockbridge Korean War Monument
Korean War • Donald Carr • Richard J. Clemens • John J. Davis • Elton A. Drummond, Jr. • Robert W. Dunne • George E. Emerson, Jr. • Julian F. Gleize • L. John Green • David L. Gunn, Jr. • Robert A. Hall • Bruce L. Decker • Donald H. Haywood • Michael Homich • Reginald J. Huggins • Victor J. Kulas • Donald W. Lawrence • Chauncey Loomis • John McL. Loomis • Alvin N. McCann • Carlton E. McCormick • Gilbert E. McCormick • Charles R. Mercier • Cornelius J. Obanhein • Stanley J. Osak • Bartlett A. . . . — Map (db m59232) WM
Massachusetts (Berkshire County), Stockbridge — Stockbridge Vietnam War Monument
Vietnam War Peter A. Acly • Donald A. Beebe, Jr. • Bruce J. Brazee • Dighton M. Brazee, III • Gary A. Brazee • Robert J. Brazee • George Brazie • Charles T. Bryden • Barry B. Bunnell • Michael Burow • Paul V. Campbell • Bruce S. Campetti • Donald Carr • Joseph T. Carr • William R. Codwise • Donald W. Coleman • Frederick B. Coleman, II • Joseph J. Czaja • F. James Dolson, III • Kenneth F. Dunne • Raymond Ebbets • Brian J. Flynn • Henry R. Ford, Jr. • Harold P. French, Jr. • William E. French • . . . — Map (db m59326) HM
Massachusetts (Berkshire County), Stockbridge — Stockbridge World War I Monument
1917     1918 Franklin S. Adams • Klaas Akerboom • Albert B. Ames • Edward E. Backus • Nesbit H. Bangs • Louis D. Barnes • James W. Barry • Karl F. Bechtel • William H. Belden • Charles A. Bidwell • Edward W. Bligh • Harold H. Bolton • Edward W. Carey • Charles A. Clapper • Matthew F. Clapper • Walter L. Clark, Jr. • Henry Colleric • Clarence R. Cooper • Richard J. Corbett • Earl Crosby • Albert B. Cummings • Fred J. Cummings • William J. Cusack • John F. Daley • Ernest F. Doherty • Richard G. . . . — Map (db m59231) HM
Massachusetts (Berkshire County), Stockbridge — Stockbridge World War II Monument
[ left tablet ] World War II Charles H. Acton • Rachel T. Adams • Robert E. Adams • George J. Anderson • * Warren Anderson • William J. Anthony • Richard Atherton • John Bergen • Bolton Bangs • Nesbitt H. Bangs, Jr. • William L. Bangs • Adam M. Barenski • Joseph P. Barenski • Sadie Barenski Marcus • George H. Barnes • Hugh L. Barnes, Jr. • Max A. Barnes, Jr. • Henry M. Bartlett • Ernest Beacco • William A. Beacco • John A. Beacco • William T. Belden • Frederick W. Bell • Louis H. . . . — Map (db m59324) HM
Massachusetts (Bristol County), Acushnet — White's Factory — (1831)
A mill dam was first built on this site in 1746. About 1799, William White, Sr. built a stone water-powered cotton mill for himself and three of his sons, Phineas, William and Benjamin. That mill, one of the earliest in the country, burned down around 1830. It was rebuilt in 1831, burned again around 1854, and finally converted to a sawmill whose last operator was James B. Hamlin. The White family still owns the property. — Map (db m16723) HM
Massachusetts (Bristol County), Attleboro — Alfred Johnson and John B. Morin
Erected in Honor of Alfred Johnson, U.S.N. and John B. Morin, U.S.M.C. The first from Attleboro to die in action World War II November 15, 1942 In the South Pacific area December 15, 1942 On Guadalcanal Island Dedicated to their memory by their fellow citizens November 7th 1943 — Map (db m59281) HM
Massachusetts (Bristol County), Attleboro — Angell Park — Cyril M. Angell
Angell Park Cyril M. Angell 2nd Lieutenant U.S. Air Services Killed in action May 14th 1918 in Boucanville, France First Officer from Attleboro to die in WWI — Map (db m58124) HM
Massachusetts (Bristol County), Attleboro — Attleborough's Tribute
"To The Memory of the boys who defended our Union" — Map (db m57021) HM
Massachusetts (Bristol County), Attleboro — Charles O. Fiske Square
Dedicated to the memory of the first member of Company I, 101st infantry 26th Division to give his life for his country. Enlisted May 24 1917 Died Dec 17 1917 — Map (db m57926) HM
Massachusetts (Bristol County), Attleboro — Everett Southworth Horton
Everett Southworth Horton Born June 15th 1836 - Died June 3 1911 Major Everett Southworth Horton was born in Attleborough Mass. on June 15, 1836. He attended public schools until the age of sixteen, when he began working in his father's store, where he eventually became the owner. He operated the business successfully until April of 1862, when he sold it and enlisted in the Army. Horton served in many famous Civil War battles including, The Battle of the Wilderness, The Battle of . . . — Map (db m65896) WM
Massachusetts (Bristol County), Attleboro — Garland - Muccio Square
In Honor of Russell K. Garland Pvt. November 14, 1944 Louis J. Muccio Pfc. September 16th 1944

Who died in the service of their country. They stand in th unbroken line of patriots Who have dared to die that freedom may live, and grow, and increase its blessings

Freedom lives and through it they live in a way that humbles the undertakings of most men. — Map (db m59939) HM

Massachusetts (Bristol County), Attleboro — In Memory of Anthony Perry — Died-A.D. 1683
For thirty six years (1647-1683) prominent in the affairs of the town of Rehoboth: representing the town in the house of deputies in the Plymouth Colony: when these lands were bought from Wamsutta Chief Sachem of the Wampanoags (1661) he was active in the town government and was selected by his fellow townsmen to divide the lands into parcels in order that each should share, in a fair and equal distribution by lot. In 1675-6 he gave two sons as soldiers in the great Indian wars and was the . . . — Map (db m57929) HM
Massachusetts (Bristol County), Attleboro — Korean War Memorial
In memory of the citizens of Attleboro who died in service to their country 1950 The Korean War 1953 Donald S. Brander Henry V. Camira John Fernandes Armand A. Frigon Donald F. Givens Arthur J. LaPorte Douglas P. Miner Bradford E. Tyndall You are not forgotten — Map (db m66250) WM
Massachusetts (Bristol County), Attleboro — L.G. Balfour Company WWII Marker
Dedicated In Honor of the Employees of the L.G. Balfour Company Who Served in the Armed Forces of The United States During World War II and In Memory of Those Who Made The Supreme Sacrifice — Map (db m70336) WM
Massachusetts (Bristol County), Attleboro — LaSalette Seminary — Attleboro Springs Sanatorium
Keeping faithful watch, this revered image of Mary has stood at the entrance to LaSalette Seminary (formerly Attleboro Springs Sanatorium),welcoming generations of brothers, priests, seminarians, pilgrims and visitors, inviting all still to submit to Christ's gentle sway as it does today.

On the fateful night of November 4-5, 1999, it witnessed the raging blaze that made of their cherished home a burnt offering of thanksgiving for the haven and hospitality it had, for over a century, . . . — Map (db m55904) HM

Massachusetts (Bristol County), Attleboro — Last Wooden Bridge
These arches replace the last wooden bridge on the main line constructed in 1880 Henry A. Whitney pres't. Albert A. Folsom sup't. George F. Folsom Eng'r. — Map (db m55671) HM
Massachusetts (Bristol County), Attleboro — Major Thomas J. Deegan Memorial Bridge
Major Thomas J. Deegan Memorial Bridge Dedicated November 11, 1963 Major Thomas J Deegan, United States Air Force, Born August 1, 1925 in Attleboro, Massachusetts, who, in the service of his country, sacrificed his life to spare the lives of others at Midwest City, Oklahoma on September 9, 1962, — Map (db m65897) WM
Massachusetts (Bristol County), Attleboro — Memory of the Revolutionary Soldiers
To Perpetuate the memory of the Revolutionary War Soldiers buried in this Old Kirk Yard William Balcom • Jacob Balkom • Hezekiah Bishop • Zephanian Bishop • Zephanian Bishop Jr • Daniel Blanding • Noah Blanding • Darius Briggs • Benjamin Capron • Elijah Capron • Joseph Capron • Daniel Carpenter • Daniel Carpenter Jr. • Josiah Carpenter • Thomas Carpenter • Daniel Claflin • David Cummings • Noah Cooper • Thomas Cooper • Joab Daggett • John Daggett • . . . — Map (db m57933) HM
Massachusetts (Bristol County), Attleboro — POW*MIA 9-11 Memorial
The images carved into the granite represent prisoners of war, armed forces missing in action, and the victims of the attack on America. The granite for the memorial was quarried in PA. The granite was carved and polished in VT. The millwheel weighs 3000 lbs. The millwheel is a metaphor for our responsibility to never forget, to always remember the suffering and sacrifice of those memorialized here. This artifact steel is a spandrel, 5 ft by 7 ft weighing 1726 lbs. It is part of the remains of . . . — Map (db m66252) HM WM
Massachusetts (Bristol County), Attleboro — Revolutionary War Memorial
To perpetuate the memory of all who with unfailing loyalty furthered the cause of American Independence — Map (db m55919) HM
Massachusetts (Bristol County), Attleboro — South Attleboro Memorial Wall — Veterans Memorial Pavilion
South Attleboro Memorial Wall and Veterans Pavilion By the Community For the Community EST. Nov 11, 2012 — Map (db m70335) WM
Massachusetts (Bristol County), Attleboro — Spanish American War Memorial
To the memory of those who faithfully served their country in the war with Spain The Philippine insurrection and the China relief expedition. 1898-1902 All were volunteers — Map (db m57023) HM
Massachusetts (Bristol County), Attleboro — Teixeira-Ruggio Square
Killed in action in World War II John Teixeira in Belgium Dec. 25, 1944 Pasquale Ruggio in Corregidor Feb. 18, 1945 in memoriam — Map (db m59938) HM
Massachusetts (Bristol County), Attleboro — The First Attleborough Towne House
Was erected near here in 1828 the geographic center of the town at that time Committee                   Selectmen Noah Claflin           Elkanah Briggs Abijah M. Ide         Samual Cushman                               Ellis Blackington        Uncle Jacob Capron Builder — Map (db m52405) HM
Massachusetts (Bristol County), Attleboro — The Great War Memorial
Left column In honor of our fallen in the Great War 1914-1918 Ruth Holden Albert H. Allen Cyrill M. Angell Harry Attarian Elmer G. Baker Charlton M. Bliss Peter Boivin Harry L. Boyce Earle I. Brown Percy E. Cobb Arthur N. Crosby Leroy C. Estee Charles O. Fiske Charles Fontneau Jerome F. Gilbert Herbert O. Gilman Charles F. Hall Chester E. Harding D. Emory Holman Edward Quintin Right column Willard B. Hoyt Lloyd C. Inman Harold Jillson Edward J. Kelly Ralph V. Kling Albert LaRose . . . — Map (db m66255) WM
Massachusetts (Bristol County), Attleboro — The Mullaney Twins Memorial Parking Area
Dedicated to the memory of Lewis Harry Mullaney and Harry Lewis Mullaney, twin brothers, who gave their lives in the service of their country in World War II. PFC Lewis Harry Mullaney entered the armed forces on July 18, 1942, he went overseas in April of 1943 and served as a member of the 52nd Army Medical Battalion in North Africa, Sicily and Italy where he made the supreme sacrifice on the battlefield on November 13, 1943. Corp. Harry Lewis Mullaney entered the armed forces on the . . . — Map (db m57928) HM
Massachusetts (Bristol County), Attleboro — The Old Shuttle Shop
Built in 1827 by Col. Willard Blackinton

Stone Placed by Attleboro Historic Commission Given to the city of Attleboro by Mr. and Mrs William A. Nerney 1970 — Map (db m72444) HM

Massachusetts (Bristol County), Attleboro — Veterans Memorial Common
Center podium - Attleboro Veterans Memorial Common Dedicated May 28, 1992 Flagpole - Rededication of the War Memorial Flagpole by the family of Joseph E. Nimiroski in honor of all Attleboro Veterans Column 1 - World War I Column 2 - World War II Column 3 - World War II Column 4 - Korean War Column 5 - Vietnam War — Map (db m66256) WM
Massachusetts (Bristol County), Attleboro — Vietnam Veteran's Memorial
In Memoriam For the men of Attleboro who gave their lives in the service of their country in Vietnam Joseph E. Nimiroski 12/18/65 Richard C. Glidden 02/13/67 Robert E. Burns 05/13/67 Gary F. Flynn 09/13/67 Francis M. Driscoll 02/29/68 Joseph E. Falardeau 08/23/68 Laurence O. Woodson 09/10/68 Hubert D. Sutton 10/05/69 — Map (db m66249) WM
Massachusetts (Bristol County), Attleboro — World War II Memorial
In memory of the Attleboro Veterans who made the supreme sacrifice in World War II Dec. 7th 1941 - Dec 31st 1946

I have fought the good fight, I have finished my course, I have kept the faith. — Map (db m66248) HM

Massachusetts (Bristol County), Dighton — Dighton Community Church
The building of this church began in 1770 on the eastern edge of the Great Cornfield of the Pocanocket Indians. Construction was halted during the American Revolution and the church was used as soldiers farmed and sheepfold. Completion was in 1798. The bell was cast at the Revere Foundry in Canton and purchased by Joseph Revere in 1821. The tower was added three years later. The church was modernized in 1861 and restored in 1930. The Pedo Baptist (Child Baptizing) Congregational Society of Dighton was incorporated June 25th, 1798. — Map (db m66342) HM
Massachusetts (Bristol County), Easton — The Old Bay Road
An ancient Indian trail. The Post Road between Massachusetts Bay and Narragansett Bay. The first highway in Easton.

The Old Bay Road Historical District Recorded in the National Register of Historic Places U.S. Department of Interior National Park Service May 22nd 1972 — Map (db m56302) HM

Massachusetts (Bristol County), Fairhaven — Fort Phoenix
Built for harbor defense in 1775 Destroyed by the British September 6th 1778 Later rebuilt and now the property of the town of Fairhaven — Map (db m52383) HM
Massachusetts (Bristol County), Fall River — Prince Henry the Navigator of Portugal
1394 – 1460. His explorations and scientific accomplishments dispelled the legend of the tenebrous sea, beaconed the ocean route to India and opened the gateway of the Atlantic to the American continent. • This monument in his honor marks the eighth centennial of Portuguese national organization in 1140. Erected by the people of Portuguese descent of New England and their friends on June 30, 1940. (plaque on back of statue is the same inscription in Portuguese) D. . . . — Map (db m1617) HM
Massachusetts (Bristol County), Fall River — USS Massachusetts Propeller
This 38,030 pound manganese-bronze propeller was manufactured at Philadelphia Navy Yard and was removed from Battleship Massachusetts during her 1998-1999 drydocking. It is one of four. When turning at 185 revolutions per minute, they propelled the 35,000 ton ship at speeds up to 29 knots. USS Massachusetts was built at the Bethlehem Steel Fore River Shipyard in Quincy, Massachusetts and was commissioned May 12, 1942. She received 11 battle stars and a Philippine Republic Presidential Unit . . . — Map (db m33075) HM
Massachusetts (Bristol County), Mansfield — Mansfield Orthodox Congregational Church
Here in the old red brick school house was held the first service of worship by the Mansfield Congregational Church May 20, 1828 This tablet was placed in memory of that service May 20, 1963 — Map (db m58178) HM
Massachusetts (Bristol County), New Bedford — Centre Street — Utility over Elegance
The view down Centre Street has changed little over the years, and no street in New Bedford served the whaling industry longer. Little finery can be seen in the facades of these buildings, for this was a working waterfront, where utility overrode the need for elegance.

Where Centre meets Front Street, town founder Joseph Russell built the first candleworks around 1768 to further his investment in the growing whaling industry. The brick warehouses at the bottom of the street at left, built . . . — Map (db m58182) HM

Massachusetts (Bristol County), New Bedford — Commonwealth of Toil
Longshoremen’s Union. On this site in 1936, Cape Verdean and Portuguese dockworkers formed Locals 1413 and 1465 of the International Longshoremen’s Association (ILA). Prior to organizing, these dockworkers were chosen daily, based only on their physical ability, and had none of the benefits, security, or decent wages that came with the union. — Map (db m1614) HM
Massachusetts (Bristol County), New Bedford — Double Bank
Seeing Double As you gaze across Water Street toward the eight-pillar institution, compare closely what you see in the photograph with what stands here today. Built in 1831, the building was designed by architect Russell Warren. For 61 years the building housed two banks-Merchants Bank on the right and Mechanics Bank on the left. The prosperous whaling elite walked their money through the right door, while humble shopkeepers and skilled tradespeople marched their money through the left. — Map (db m58192) HM
Massachusetts (Bristol County), New Bedford — Frederick Douglass
1818–1895 “For my part, I should prefer death to hopeless bondage.” New Bedford 1838-1841. — Map (db m1615) HM
Massachusetts (Bristol County), New Bedford — Lewis Temple — Blacksmith — Inventor of the Iron Toggle Harpoon Tip
Born in Richmond, Virginia, in 1800, Lewis Temple established himself as a blacksmith on the New Bedford waterfront by 1836. Temple manufactured his first toggle-iron in 1848. Its fastening power revolutionized the catching of whales. The invention was never patented, therefore the only royalty was the name that clung to it. He died in New Bedford in 1854. Millions were made in the whaling industry because of Temple’s toggles. After business debts were cleared, there was no legacy left for his family. — Map (db m1616) HM
Massachusetts (Bristol County), New Bedford — Making Room-Johnny Cake Hill — New Bedford Whaling National Historic Park — National Park Service, U.S. Department of the Interior
Making Room-During the days when New Bedford dominated the whaling trade, 10,000 seamen were required to sail the fleet. Pacific islanders, New England farm boys, Cape Verdeans, Portuguese from the Azores, Wampanoag Indians, and immigrants from Europe found their way to this neighborhood.

All of the buildings featured in this 1907 photograph--on what then was called Bethel Street—stood here and catered to roving seamen.

The “floating population” of this whaling . . . — Map (db m62365) HM

Massachusetts (Bristol County), New Bedford — New Bedford Historic District
Has been designated a registered National Historic Landmark Under the provisions of the historic sites act of August 21, 1935 this site possesses exceptional value in commemorating or illustrating the history of the United States — Map (db m58196) HM
Massachusetts (Bristol County), New Bedford — Signs of the Time — New Bedford Whaling National Historic Park — National Park Service, U.S. Department of the Interior
The outward appearance of the brick and brownstone building diagonally in front of you has changed little over the years. However, the signs identifying the ownership and use of the structure have changed repeatedly. It was originally built as a bank in 1854, created to hold the savings of “industrious mechanics, laborers, seamen, widows, minors and others in moderate circumstances.”

In 1899 the Third District Court of Bristol County took over the space and used it until 1914. . . . — Map (db m62358) HM

Massachusetts (Bristol County), New Bedford — The Andrew Robeson House
Change of Address Andrew Robeson, whaling merchant and steadfast abolitionist, built this Federal-style house in 1821 on a lot on North Second Street, diagonally behind you. The estate, with its conservatory, gardens, surrounding elm trees, and white picket fence, occupied two city blocks. The brick mansion stood then and now as a testament to the profits of the New Bedford whaling industry.

During the mid-19th century many of the whaling elite built homes in this neighborhood to be . . . — Map (db m58195) HM

Massachusetts (Bristol County), New Bedford — The Benjamin Rodman House
Wealth with a Conscience Early whaling merchants lived in elegant houses along this street. But by the time Benjamin Rodman built this Federal style home in 1821, many of his wealthy friends were moving uphill away from this shoreside neighborhood.

Though born into a prosperous whaling family, Rodman committed himself to the city's working poor. He and his wife Susan were founding members of the New Bedford Benevolent Society, created "to devise some means for the relief of the physical . . . — Map (db m58193) HM

Massachusetts (Bristol County), New Bedford — The Dartmouth
Near this spot in 1767 the first ship built in New Bedford was launched. The Dartmouth Francis Rotch, Owner She was one of the vessels boarded by the Boston Tea Party in 1773 — Map (db m58183) HM
Massachusetts (Bristol County), New Bedford — The Mariner's Home
Home Away from the Sea Whaling men spent much of their lives at sea. The ship was their home. Back in port, most of the poor, unskilled sailors knew no one in New Bedford and were essentially homeless until the next voyage.

In 1850 the daughter of William Rotch, Jr., one of New Bedford's leading whaling merchants, donated her father's house to shelter and feed needy seamen. After the whaling industry declined, retired whalemen, merchant seamen, and fishermen lived here. The Mariners' . . . — Map (db m58197) HM

Massachusetts (Bristol County), New Bedford — The Seamen's Bethel
Saving Mariners' Souls After months at sea, many whaling men were unable to resist the temptations of this port city. In 1832, the New Bedford Port Society for the Moral Improvement of Seamen opened this mariners' chapel "to protect the rights and interests of Seamen, and to furnish them with moral, intellectual and religious instruction." By supplying Bibles and nondenominational services, the Bethel (chapel) hoped to combat all those influences to which the port's mariners fell . . . — Map (db m58199) HM
Massachusetts (Bristol County), New Bedford — Trial by Fire — New Bedford Whaling National Historic Park — National Park Service, U.S. Department of the Interior
Trial by Fire-During the early hours of January 18, 1977, gas leaked from a cracked main into the cellar of O’Malley’s Tavern, located near where you are now standing. New Bedford had suffered two straight days of record-setting cold in an overall frigid winter. When thermostats clicked on that morning the gas exploded, leveling four buildings and shooting flames and debris throughout the area.

Lost were the three-story tavern, built about 1820, and the Macomber-Sylvia building next to it, . . . — Map (db m62389) HM

Massachusetts (Bristol County), New Bedford — Twentieth-Century Whaling — New Bedford Whaling National Historic Park — National Park Service, U.S. Department of the Interior
Twentieth-Century Whaling-As New Bedford’s whaling industry declined in the 19th century, more than a dozen other nations began hunting whales using “modern” Norwegian methods, with fast, steam-powered vessels and heavy-gauge harpoon cannon. More whales were caught in just a few decades than had been captured during the previous 200 years. Concern for the survival of whales lead to an international ban on whaling in 1986.

Before the claw was introduced, whalemen who worked . . . — Map (db m62387) HM

Massachusetts (Bristol County), New Bedford — U.S. Custom House-Customary Duty — New Bedford Whaling National Historic Park — National Park Service, U.S. Department of the Interior
Customary Duty-Replacing a makeshift operation closer to the waterfront, the U.S. Custom House at Bedford opened on this site in 1836. Here ship captains walked up the granite steps to register their crews and declare their cargoes before they were granted clearance to leave or enter the port.

The custom house was built at a time when the nation was flush with customs-generated income. Duties collected on imported goods paid for roads, railroads, lighthouses, and countless public . . . — Map (db m62364) HM

Massachusetts (Bristol County), New Bedford — Viking
On this toro rests a capstan from the American clipper ship Viking which was wrecked on this island on June 4,1863. Being bound for San Francisco, U.S.A. from Hong Kong, China. Through the intervention of the local authorities and hospitality of the islanders, the lives of the 23 crew and 460 Chinese passengers were saved.

In recognition of the many acts of friendship, this plaque was sponsored by the Old Dartmouth Historical Society and Whaling Museum in New Bedford . . . — Map (db m58179) HM

Massachusetts (Bristol County), New Bedford — Whaleman’s Memorial
“A Dead Whale or a Stove Boat” (inscription on back) In honor of the whalemen whose skill, hardihood and daring brought fame and fortune to New Bedford and made its name known to every seaport on the globe. • Gift of W.W. Crapo • 1913 — Map (db m1626) HM
Massachusetts (Bristol County), New Bedford — Whaling Capital — New Bedford Whaling National Historic Park — National Park Service, U.S. Department of the Interior
Whaling Capital-In 1857, ninety-five ships and barks left these wharves on whaling voyages. In that year the industry reached its peak, and half of the worldwide whaling was conducted from the New Bedford customs district. Before petroleum was discovered in 1859, whaling was the nation’s fifth most valuable industry. Nothing cast a brighter light than sperm whale oil; nothing lubricated high-speed or delicate machinery better.

The city’s whaling agents, who managed voyages for vessel . . . — Map (db m62411) HM

Massachusetts (Bristol County), New Bedford — Working Waterfront — New Bedford Whaling National Historic Park — National Park Service, U.S. Department of the Interior
Working Waterfront-Standing here during the heyday of whaling you would have seen and heard the bustling of a whaling port preparing for sea: ship carpenters building vessels from great white oak timbers, and caulkers hammering oakum---hemp mixed with tar---into the ships’ seams. Coopers shaped staves for casks that would hold whale oil. And packers packed barrels with hard tack for whalemen to eat at sea.

New Bedford’s wharves were alive with sail riggers crawling about ship decks and . . . — Map (db m62410) HM

Massachusetts (Bristol County), North Attleboro — Draper Farm Historic Site
Circa 4000BC Natives of this area made tools from red felsite rock. 1669-1771 The Allen, Capron and Mann families owned this property. The Mann family burial ground still remains close by. 1772 Stephan Draper built a homestead and farmed fifty acres of this land where its descendants continued to live for 150 years. 1859 His son Gamaliel B. Draper, having made a fortune in the gold rush of the west, built a new home on the original site and became a gentleman . . . — Map (db m57747) HM
Massachusetts (Bristol County), North Attleboro — Old Powder House 1768
Built to store gun powder and ammunition used during the Revolutionary War and the War of 1812 — Map (db m55681) HM
Massachusetts (Bristol County), North Attleboro — Woodcock-Hatch-Maxcy House
Top PlaqueThis marker is given by Massachusetts Society Daughters of the American Colonists in recognition of The role this historic building played in the area's early growth presented: September 13 1969 Bottom Plaque Woodcock-Hatch-Maxcy House Historic District has been place on the National Register of Historic Places by the United States Department of the Interior Circa 1720 — Map (db m55680) HM
Massachusetts (Bristol County), Norton — First Burial Ground
The First Burial Ground is the presumed buying place of Norton's pioneer settler's.

William Witherell, who died in September 1691, is buried in the West end of the burial ground. When the land was passed to Nathaniel Witherell by his father,the deed stated that the pioneer William Witherell was buried in that place.

In an unmarked grave lies the body of Daniel Woodward, a Revolutionary War soldier.

Originally located in an open field,the burial ground was not fenced in until . . . — Map (db m52379) HM

Massachusetts (Bristol County), Norton — King Philip's Cave
The Native American Sachem, Metacomet of Pokonoket, called King Philip by the English, Sachem or chief of the Wampanoag people is reported to have used this area as a stopping place. It provided a natural fortress for his many visits to the settlements of Plimouth and Taunton, both part of the Plimouth colony. Numerous Native American villages have been discovered along Winnecunnit Pond, which were then visible from this natural great hill, as was the Old Bay Path, and all of the surrounding . . . — Map (db m56217) HM
Massachusetts (Bristol County), Norton — Norton Common Burial Ground
The land which comprises this cemetery dates back to June 1702, and is the original town common. Originally called "The Common," this land consisting of approximately five acres, is the first land set apart for common use in Norton. Situated on the Main Road to George Leonard's iron works, called "Chartley" the common has seen numerous uses. During the early eighteenth century, a portion of this common was designated as a burying place. This is believed to be the first burying ground formally . . . — Map (db m56462) HM
Massachusetts (Bristol County), Norton — Site of First Church in Norton
Site of First Church in Norton Built 1710 This post ordered by the town in 1889 — Map (db m56627) HM
Massachusetts (Bristol County), Norton — Stony Brook — Chartley Pond Area
This historic area along Stony Brook was named Chartley before 1700. The name is thought to be related to the iron business, which thrived in this area. In 1695, the Taunton North Purchase granted to Thomas and James Leonard land along the Stony Brook on which to establish a bloomery and to manufacture iron. They excavated bog iron along Stony Brook. Later, Chartley Pond was formed when the excavated land along Stony Brook was flooded. Major George Leonard, son of Thomas, is credited with . . . — Map (db m55989) HM
Massachusetts (Bristol County), Norton — The Site of the First House in Norton
The Site of the First House in Norton Built by William Witherell A.D. 1669 — Map (db m56216) HM
Massachusetts (Bristol County), Norton — Winneccunnett Pond Area
Winneccunnett Pond is the only sizable, natural body of water in Norton, Massachusetts. Winneccunnett is a Native American word meaning "the place of the black geese." A Native American village was established on the north end of the pond long before Plymouth Colony was settled.

Metacomet, chief sachem of the Wampanoags and called "King Philip" by the English, came to these shores to hunt and fish. A cave on Great Rocky Hill, not far from the pond is designated, as "King Philip's cave" it . . . — Map (db m56459) HM

Massachusetts (Bristol County), Rehoboth — Anawan House
Site of Anawan House formerly Lewis Tavern. A haven for travelers between Taunton and Providence Plantations — Map (db m55682) HM
Massachusetts (Bristol County), Rehoboth — Anawan House-Inn
Former site of the Anawan House, once called the Lewis Tavern built ca. 1835 as a rest stop for travelers between Taunton and Providence Plantations.

The Anawan House and inn served the public until July 1970.

In February 1971 the building was demolished and replaced with a modern business here today. — Map (db m55683) HM

Massachusetts (Bristol County), Rehoboth — Anawan Rock — 1676
Site of capture of the Wamponoag Indian Chief Anawan by Captain Benjamin Church on August 28th 1676, thus ending King Philip's war — Map (db m44921) HM
Massachusetts (Bristol County), Rehoboth — Bad Luck Pond
The name "Bad Luck" (origin unknown) has been associated with this area since the early 1700's. The Beverly and Kelton families operated a water powered saw mill for many years on the North side of the pond beginning in the 18th century.

Bad Luck Pond, as it exists today, was formed by the construction of a dam across Bad Luck Brook, on the far side of the pond in 1911, on a site of an earlier dam built in 1838, through neglect, the earlier dam had deteriorated and washed away with a roar . . . — Map (db m56246) HM

Massachusetts (Bristol County), Rehoboth — Bliss-Carpenter Saw & Shingle Mill — 1729-1870
In 1720, Jonathan Bliss moved here from South Rehoboth and established a sawmill on the East Branch of the Palmer River with a homestead nearby. This homestead was one of the first in the area, and Bliss called it " my farm in the woods" the mill ruins can still be seen a short distance north of here and his house stood where the Latham House is presently situated.

In the 19th century, Francis H. Carpenter converted the mill into a shingle mill which he operated until after the Civil War. . . . — Map (db m56247) HM

Massachusetts (Bristol County), Rehoboth — Cole-Perry Turning Mill — 1780-1830
The ruins of the old dam are all that remain of the once busy Perry Turning Mill. This mill originally operated as a saw mill in a joint venture by Aaron Cole and Ezra Perry. Perry bought out Cole's share in he early 1800's, and raised the dam, and added a "tub wheel." in addition to the sawmill, a blacksmith shop was set up in the cellar, and a turning mill on the second floor, Here lathes operated by water power produced bobbins, butter moulds, tool handles, etc. In 1820 a flood in the river . . . — Map (db m56249) HM
Massachusetts (Bristol County), Rehoboth — Daniel Bullock- Samuel Baker Sawmill site 1750-1850
Plain St. now crosses what was once sawmill pond.

On a cold New Years day in 1830, 14 new converts to the nearby Oak Swamp Baptist Church were baptized by being immersed in the pond through a hole cut in 14" of ice — Map (db m55905) HM

Massachusetts (Bristol County), Rehoboth — Hornbine School
This one room school built in the 1840's and used by the town of Rehoboth until 1937. An extension of 14 feet at the rear was made in the 1920's. During Rehoboth's 325 anniversary in 1968 the school was restored and donated to the preservation of One Room School Heritage of the town. It is open to the public on the second and fourth Sunday of each month during the summer, and by appointment — Map (db m44925) HM
Massachusetts (Bristol County), Rehoboth — Horton Signal — 1777 - 1779
When the British occupied Newport, RI. during the Revolution they often threatened the surrounding towns with raids or "alarums" as they were called. When a raid began a system of beacon fires were lit to warn the militia in neighboring towns to turn out. The gathering place for Rehoboth's militia was the "Liberty Tree" near the monument at the foot of the hill on Brook Street. From here the town kept a continual watch for beacon fires from the direction of Barrington R.I. — Map (db m55911) HM
Massachusetts (Bristol County), Rehoboth — Indian Oven Rock
About 200 feet south of this spot is a natural oven shaped hole in a rock. According to local tradition, Indians used this as a bake oven and to parch their corn. — Map (db m55684) HM
Massachusetts (Bristol County), Rehoboth — Leonard Iron Mine — 1696 - 1802
Nearby runs Mine Brook named after an iron mine established here in 1696 by the Leonards, a famous iron monger family from Norton and Taunton.

The ore dug at this site called bog iron, was found in the swamp and brook. The Leonards hauled the ore off in ox carts to their forge at Chartly village in Norton where it was rendered into iron products.

In 1720, when the town relocated Tremont Street, the Leonards were allowed to remove any ore found beneath the new road as long as the bridge . . . — Map (db m55679) HM

Massachusetts (Bristol County), Rehoboth — Liberty Tree
During the American Revolution, a large white oak called "the Liberty Tree" stood near this place, which was then near the edge of a field. Beacons warning of trouble in Rhode Island could be seen by watchers at nearby Horton's Signal. After receiving an alarm from watchmen, Rehoboth's minutemen assembled here before responding to British attacks. — Map (db m55918) HM
Massachusetts (Bristol County), Rehoboth — Old Yellow Meeting House
Rehoboth's second Meeting House,built in 1773,was located in the present cemetery. It replaced the Lake St Meeting House, and was used for town meetings and church services. The site included a stable, a cemetery west of the meeting house, a militia training field where Pond St and Redway Plain are located,and a powder house at the southwest corner of the cemetery. The Meeting House was torn down in 1840 after the present Congregational Church was built in the Rehoboth Village. — Map (db m55656) HM
Massachusetts (Bristol County), Rehoboth — Orleans Manufacturing Co. — 1810-1884 — Also known as Shad Factory
in 1810 a group of Rehoboth Citizens established Palmer River Manufacturing Company. A cotton spinning mill on the site of the old Joshua Smith grist and saw mill the mill was enlarged about 1826 and began manufacturing fine cotton cloth, as the Orleans Manufacturing Company. The mill was totally destroyed by fire in 1831 rebuilt but burnt out again in 1884 the mill ceased operation. Some of the old mill ruins can still be seen. The dam was rebuilt in 1911 and since then has supplied Bristol-Warren Water Works through the aqueduct — Map (db m44924) HM
Massachusetts (Bristol County), Rehoboth — Palmer River Pound — "Old Pot Ash Neighborhood" — Circa 1750
This town pound maintained by Col. Frederick Drown for many years. Stray cattle were kept here until retrieved by their owners. The Wheeler family ran a pot ash business nearby. — Map (db m55912) HM
Massachusetts (Bristol County), Rehoboth — Perryville Dam — 1740 - 1935
It was known as Butterworth Falls in the colonial days. Deacon Thomas Carpenter and later the Perry family maintained the saw-gristmill-turning shop here for almost 200 years — Map (db m55686) HM
Massachusetts (Bristol County), Rehoboth — Redway Plain
Redway Plain is named after James Redway, who settled here in the early 1700's. Originally the plain included this field, The Faxon Farm Field,and the Village Cemetery. Neither Winthrop Street or Pond Street existed before 1828.

From colonial times, and for many years after, the local militia used it as a training field. During Indian days, and up to the present. The field has been used to grow a variety of crops including Timothy hay, corn, alfalfa, and vegetables.

Purchased by . . . — Map (db m56243) HM

Massachusetts (Bristol County), Rehoboth — Sabin Sawmill
Site of Sabin Sawmill circa 1695 one of the first sawmills built in Rehoboth — Map (db m55685) HM
Massachusetts (Bristol County), Rehoboth — Samual Baker Grist & Sawmill Site — 1810-1870
Founded by Josiah Millerd in 1731. For over 140 years neighborhood farmers had their corn ground into meal and their logs sawn into lumber at this mill. — Map (db m55917) HM
Massachusetts (Bristol County), Rehoboth — Site of Original Oak Swamp Church — (Baptist) — Circa 1750
Framing for this church had begun at Peckham Street, when disgruntled Oak Swamp people took away the timbers in the night and raised the church here. — Map (db m55913) HM
Massachusetts (Bristol County), Rehoboth — The Palmer's River Meeting House
Site of "The Palmer's River Meeting House" The first meeting house in the second precinct of Rehoboth.

Construction started in 1717 and completed November 29th 1721, with Reverend David Turner as pastor. Fifty pounds was donated towards the cost of the building by the Newman church, the first meeting house built when the town was established in 1643, in present day Rumford.

On March 8th 1773 the church voted that the meeting house should be pulled down, and a new one built near Timothy . . . — Map (db m55662) HM

Massachusetts (Bristol County), Sharon — Borderland
The former estate of two remarkable people, Oakes and Blanche Ames. Within this park are several eighteenth and nineteenth century industries, a bog iron operation, a reservoir for Easton Furnace, early Easton homes and a stone mansion. — Map (db m57390) HM
Massachusetts (Bristol County), Swansea — Miles (Myles) Bridge
Miles (Myles) Bridge -1997- The first known bridge at this crossing of the Palmer River ca. 1736 — Map (db m56244) HM
Massachusetts (Bristol County), Swansea — Myles Garrison House Site
Near this spot stood the John Myles Garrison House. The place of meeting of the troops of Massachusetts Bay and Plymouth colonies.

Commanded by Majors Thomas Savage and James Cudworth, who marched to the relief of Swansea at the opening of King Philips War A.D. 1675 There fell in Swansea, slain by the Indians Nehemiah Allin • William Hammond • William Cahoone • John Jones • Gershom Cobb • Robert Jones • John Druce • Joseph Lewis • John Fall • John Salisbury • William . . . — Map (db m56215) HM

Massachusetts (Bristol County), Swansea — Site of Jonathan Barney - Mason Barney Shipyard — 1782-1861
Here were built about 200 ships from small sloops to vessels of 1060 tons which sailed from the Atlantic coast to the China seas. Dedicated to their memory by Algernon H Bell • Carolyn Bell Fenley • Constance Bell Falconer — Map (db m56214) HM
Massachusetts (Bristol County), Taunton — First School House
Near this elm tree stood the first school house build 1637 Tree Planted and tablet place by the Lydia Cobb Chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution Tercentenary of Taunton 1639-1939 — Map (db m55658) HM
Massachusetts (Bristol County), Taunton — Memorial for Soldiers against Terrorism
For Those Who Served in the Global War on Terrorism — Map (db m66341) WM
Massachusetts (Bristol County), Westport — Legend of the Turnips
The saga of the Macomber Turnip began on Main Road. Aiden and Elihu Macomber returned to Westport from the Philadelphia Exposition of 1876 with a prize in their pockets: exposition turnip seed. Planted in these fertile fields, the crop developed with the years and became famous from Boston to Providence. There had never been a better turnip! Westport farmers still take pride in growing their pure Bristol Whites descended from Swedish and Russian rutabagas with seed passed down from that trip to . . . — Map (db m23178) HM
Massachusetts (Dukes County), Oak Bluff — Soldiers' Memorial Fountain
This monument depicting a Union Soldier was erected in 1891 by Charles Strahan, a former Confederate who relocated to Martha's Vineyard after the Civil War. Due to lingering bitterness over the conflict, local Union veterans first excluded him from their gatherings. In a gesture of conciliation, Strahan established this memorial in honor of their organization, the Grand Army of the Republic. As its dedication he professed his loyalty to the restored Union and gave thanks for the abolition of . . . — Map (db m60226) HM
Massachusetts (Essex), Gloucester — Gloucester Spanish American War Memorial
North facing, front side G. Co. Eighth Regiment Massachusetts Infantry, U.S. Vols. Reviewed by General Maximo Gomez at Matanzas, Cuba, February 20, 1899 Gloucester's sons, one hundred strong answered the nation's call to arms in the war for the liberation of Cuba. Bravely they endured in camp and field South Facing back side U.S.S. Gloucester sinking the Spanish destroyers Pluton and Furor off Santiago, Cuba, July 3, 1898 Inspired by the deeds . . . — Map (db m75261) WM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Amesbury — Macy-Colby House — 1630 - 1930
Thomas Macy, first town clerk of Amesbury, erected this house prior to 1654. Persecuted for harboring Quakers he sold the house and fled to Nantucket, becoming the first white settler as related in Whittier's poem "The Exiles." — Map (db m48772) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Beverly — Balch House — 1630 - 1930
Built in 1638 by John Balch, who came over in 1623 with Captain Robert Gorges. The "Old Planters" received this land in exchange for their settlement at Salem. — Map (db m47949) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Beverly — Beverly Korean War Memorial
Korean War 1950 – 1953 Dedicated to Honor the Sacrifice of Our Servicemen and Women of Beverly Who Served and Those Who Gave Their Lives. "For Those Who Have Had to Fight For It, Life Has a Flavor the Protected Will Never Know." "You Have Never Lived: "Til You Have Nearly Died" [ back ] Kenneth B. Blake • Guilford A. Hopkins • Donald R. Richards • Robert G. Scott • Roger Wallis Cpl. Joseph R. Vittori * Medal of Honor — Map (db m36463) WM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Beverly — Beverly Vietnam War Memorial
Vietnam War Memorial The Citizens of Beverly Dedicate This Memorial to All Her Men and Women Who Served America in the Vietnam War. We Honor the Courage and Sacrifice of Those Who Fought and Died. We Remember Them For Their Bravery and Thank Them For Their Loyal Service. May God Make His Face To Shine Upon Them [ back ] Beverly Men Who Died in the Service of Their Country Donald A. Contarino • Stephen H. Doane • Frank J. Gallant • Richard W. Hellard Jr. • Brian A. . . . — Map (db m36462) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Beverly — Beverly World War I Memorial
World War I Memorial Beverly Remembers With Pride Her Sons and Daughters Who Served Their Country in World War I. The Glorious Ones Who Died Gave Their Lives As a Sacrifice For The Cause of peace. They Fought For Us; For Us They Fell. We Remember, We Mourn and We Honor All Veterans of World War I. [ back ] Beverly Men Who Died in the Service of Their Country Arthur E. Baker • Ray F. Brown • Edward O. Burchstead • Michael J. Cadigan Jr. • Robert J. Cooney • William . . . — Map (db m36461) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Beverly — Beverly World War II Memorial
World War II Memorial The Citizens of Beverly Dedicate This Memorial To All Beverly Men and Women Who Served in America's Armed Forces in World War II Thus Becoming "Veterans". Beverly Honors With Heartfelt Love and Deep Sense Of Loss for All Their Comrades In Arms Who Made the Supreme Sacrifice in the Name of Freedom. [ back ] Beverly Men Who Died in the Service of Their Country Earle T. Allison • Arthur Audesse • David M. Baker • Roy W. Baldwin • John J. . . . — Map (db m36459) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Beverly — Conant House — 1630 - 1930
Roger Conant was a prudent and religious man who led the old planters from Gloucester to Salem in 1626, and held them together until the Bay Colony was founded. This house was built on land given by him to his son Exercise Conant in 1666 — Map (db m47357) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Beverly — Hale Farm — 1630 - 1930
This house was built in 1694 by the Rev. John Hale, first minister of the first church in Beverly. A charge of witchcraft made against his wife convinced the minister of the folly and wickedness of the crusade and ended all witch-hunting in Beverly. — Map (db m48760) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Beverly — Hospital Point Light / Honor the Valiant Men
[Bottom (larger) Marker] Hospital Point Light was established in 1871 and marks the deep-water channel to Beverly, Salem, and Marblehead. A smallpox hospital once stood on the hill to the rear, where there is also evidence of ramparts dug during the Revolutionary War. [Top (smaller) Marker] The Colonel Ebenezer Francis Chapter NSDAR of Beverly honor the valiant men who manned this fort during the Revolutionary War. — Map (db m21441) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Beverly — Hospital Point Lighthouse — Established 1872
Hospital Point Light was constructed and first lighted in 1872 to help guide vessels into Salem and Beverly Harbors. The original two-story keeper's house and oil house are still being used. The name Hospital Point stems from a smallpox hospital built on this site in 1801. The hospital, used as a barracks in the War of 1812, burned down in 1849. A watch house was built on these grounds as early as 1711. The "J" Shaped earth-work fort, which still stands, was built on the upper grounds in . . . — Map (db m21429) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Beverly — Planters Path to their Landing Place — 1630 - 1930
The old planters, Roger Conant, John Woodbery and John Balch used this path from their homesteads to the cove at the head of Bass river. — Map (db m47401) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Beverly — Roger Conant
Roger Conant Leader of the Old Planters And Founder in 1626 Of Naumkeag (Salem) Built His House Here in 1636 In the Southern Angle Of A Two Hundred Acre Grant He Lived Here Until His Death November 19, 1679 Erected by the Roger Conant Family Association 1926 — Map (db m36444) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Beverly — The Memorial Bell
The Memorial Bell The Very Generous Gift Of Mr. Robert Hagopian of Hamilton To be Used at Beverly Memorial Day And Veterans' Day Observances In This Park to Honor All Those Who Sacrificed Their Lives For Our Great Country May God Make His Face To Shine Upon Them 11 Nov 05 Constructed by North Shore Technical High School — Map (db m36458) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Billerica — Danforth Homestead — 1630 - 1930
Site of homestead of Captain Jonathan Danforth, pioneer of Billerica and famous surveyor. "He rode the circuit, chain'd great towns and farms to good behavior; and by well worked stations he fixed their bounds for many generations. " — Map (db m48837) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Danvers — Danversport
From 1632-1754 a few farms and native American habitations dotted the woodlands among this land originally granted to pioneer settlers Gov. John Endecott and Rev. Samuel Skelton. On the road to Salem lay the farm of George Jacobs, Sr., a victim of the witchcraft hysteria of 1692. By the mid 18th century Archelaus Putnam, Israel Hutchinson and others, realizing the potential of the Danvers river system, began its industrial development. Tidal powered grist, saw and other mills were . . . — Map (db m43938) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Danvers — Deacon Nathaniel Ingersoll — 1634 - 1719
gave this land to the inhabitants of Salem Village as A Training Place Forever. To the memory of him and of the brave men who have gone hence to pro- tect their homes and to serve their country, this stone is erected by the town. 1894. — Map (db m17994) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Danvers — Endicott Pear Tree — 1630 - 1930
One-eighth of a mile distant. On a part of the 300 acres granted to Governor John Endecott, is the pear tree planted by the Governor in 1632. This tree still bears fruit. — Map (db m46192) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Danvers — In Commemoration of Arnold's Expedition to Quebec
One of the most strategic and daring exploits of the patriot cause during the revolution. Part of the troops encamped in the Town of Danvers on the night of September 14, 1775 on their way to Newburyport where they embarked for the Kennebeck and their famous march through the pathless wilds of Maine successfully accomplished in spite of formidable obstacles and excessive privations. — Map (db m48470) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Danvers — Rebecca Nurse Homestead — 1678
In 1636 Francis Weston was granted this land upon which he laid out a farm. This property was purchased by Governor John Endicott in 1648, and in 1678 Francis and Rebecca Nurse moved here and built a house. In March, 1692, 71-year-old Rebecca was accused by children of Salem Village of practicing witchcraft. Nurse, upon hearing of the accusation, exclaimed, “I am innocent as the child unborn, but surely what sin hath God found out in me unrepented of that He should lay such an affliction . . . — Map (db m48724) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Danvers — Salem Village Meeting House — 1672
Directly across from this site was located the original Salem Village Meeting House where civil and military meetings were held, and ministers including George Burroughs, Deodat Lawson, and Samuel Parris preached. The infamous 1692 witchcraft hysteria began in this neighborhood. On March 1 accused witches Sarah Good, Sarah Osburn, and Tituba were interrogated in the Meeting House amidst the horrific fits of the “afflicted ones.” Thereafter numerous others were examined including . . . — Map (db m48726) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Danvers — Salem Village Parsonage — 1681
In 1681 the Salem village inhabitants built a home for their minister at this site. Ministers residing here were George Burroughs (1681-83), Accused in 1692 of being a witch and hanged; Deodat Lawson (1684-88), Author of the first volume about Salem village witchcraft; Samuel Parris (1689-96), Minister during the witchcraft hysteria; Joseph Green (1698-1715), noted diarist and area peacemaker, Peter Clark (1717-68), famed theological author, and Benjamin Wadsworth (1772-1826), who tore down . . . — Map (db m48720) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Danvers — Salem Village Witchcraft Victims’ Memorial
In memory of those innocents who died during the Salem Village Witchcraft Hysteria of 1692 Back Monument: “I am an innocent person. I never had to do with witchcraft since I was born. I am a Gosple woman.” Martha Cory “The Lord above knows my innocencye . . . as att the great day will be known to men and Angells. I Petition to your honours not for my own life for I know I must die and my appointed time is sett but the Lord he knows it is that if it be possible no more . . . — Map (db m48725) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Danvers — Samuel Holten House — 1670
A fine example of chronological and architectural house development, this was the 1692 home of Sarah Holton, who gave damaging testimony against Rebecca Nurse during the witchcraft hysteria. Here during revolutionary period lived Samuel Holten – physician, statesman, and judge. A member of the Provincial Congress of 1774-75, member of the Committee of Safety, member of the Continental Congress from 1778-80, 1782-87 and temporary president in 1785, signer of the Articles of Confederation, . . . — Map (db m17988) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Danvers — Samuel Parris Archaeological Site
Samuel Parris Archaeological Site 1681-1784 — Map (db m48719) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Danvers — Site of Israel Hutchinson's Home / Israel Hutchinson
Site of Israel Hutchinson's Home — Here were brought Danvers Soldiers slain at the battle of Lexington — This memorial is a tribute to his memory, from lineal decendants, and the town of Danvers. — 1896 Israel Hutchinson 1727-1811 Served his country as Sergt. Co. of Rangers 1757 Lt. Lake George and Ticonderoga 1758 Capt. Quebec 1759 — Capt. battle of Lexington 1775 Col. Siege of Boston - New York - New Jersey - . . . — Map (db m47197) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Danvers — The 1681 Salem Village Parsonage
{Not all of the text on this marker can be transcribed.} In February, 1681, the Salem village inhabitants voted, "We will build a house for the Ministry and provid convenient Land for that end. The Dementions of the House are as followeth: 42 foot long; twenty foot Broad; thirteen foot stude: Fouer chimleis no gable ends." The house faced south and included a half-cellar on its west side which was composed of dry laid fieldstones, and which was entered by means of a . . . — Map (db m48721) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Danvers — The 1734 Addition
{Not all text on marker is transcribed here.} In 1717 Rev. Peter Clark became minister at Salem Village. The 1681 parsonage was in poor condition, so that by the early 1730's Clark asked the inhabitants to come to a decision either to build a new house or renovate the old one. In January, 1734 the inhabitants voted to remove the leanto and to build an addition on the back west side of the parsonage. ... This new addition was two and one-half stories high, included a side door . . . — Map (db m48722) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Danvers — The Church in Salem Village — 1630 – 1930
To this church, rent by the witchcraft frenzy, came in 1697 the Reverend Joseph Green, aged twenty-two. He induced the mischief makers to confess, reconciled the factions, established the first public school, and became noted for his skill at hunting game and his generous hospitality. — Map (db m48723) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Danvers — The Plains
Called "Porter's Plain" after 17th century settler John Porter, this level expanse of about one square mile was sparsely inhabited into the mid-18th century.

By the time of the American Revolution, patriot Captain Jeremiah Page had settled here, establishing a prosperous brick-making business. An important crossroads developed at what is now Elm and High Streets, where the 1643 Ipswich road bisected the 1760's "New Road" to Salem. A popular tavern catered to the many travelers passing . . . — Map (db m38341) HM

Massachusetts (Essex County), Danvers — Village Training Field — 1671
Defense was a prime necessity to the early settlers of Salem Village, and as early as 1671 the male inhabitants began meeting here for military drill. This preparation was heightened in 1675 during the King Philip War in which many villagers took part. In 1709 Deacon Nathaniel Ingersoll willed this field “to the inhabitants of Salem Village for a training place forever.” In the 1770s Danvers alarm companies began training here in anticipation of troubles with Britain, and it was . . . — Map (db m17991) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Essex — Free School — 1630 - 1930
A free school for Chebacco parish was opened in an upper room of this house in 1695 by the appointed master, Nathaniel Rust, Junior. The town gave "Six acres of pasture land for the benefit of the school and one-quarter acre for Mr. Rust's house." — Map (db m47496) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Essex — John Wise House — 1630 - 1930
Erected in 1701 by John Wise, pastor of the Chebacco parish of Ipswich, now Essex. Son of a laborer, Harvard graduate, army chaplain, protestant against taxation without representation and against the witchcraft delusion, defender of democracy in the church, and a brilliant prose writer. — Map (db m47955) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Essex — Shipyard of 1668 — 1630 - 1930
In 1668 the town granted the adjacent acre of land "To the inhabitants of Ipswich for a yard to build vessels and to employ workmen for that end." The shipbuilding industry has continued uninterruptedly in Essex since that date. — Map (db m47495) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Georgetown — Goodrich Massacre — 1630 - 1930
Ten rods east stood the house of Benjamin Goodrich who, with his wife and two children, was slain by the Indians on October 23, 1692 — Map (db m47864) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Gloucester — Blynman Bridge
Blynman Bridge 1907 In Honor Of Richard Blynman First Minister and Leading Citizen Of Gloucester Who in 1643 Dug This Canal Uniting River and Bay G.H.S. — Map (db m36363) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Gloucester — Chester H. Grant Circle
This Circle Erected by The Commonwealth of Massachusetts 1956 Is Dedicated to Honor Chester H. Grant 1897 – 1954 A soldier and devoted citizen who faithfully served his community, state and nation in war and in peace. A member of the Yankee Division 104th U.S. Infantry. Served in World War I in France 1917 – 1919. He was cited three times for meritorious conduct under fire and received the silver star with palm. As a public official for the city of . . . — Map (db m36316) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Gloucester — Coast Guard Aviation Monument
In Honor of the Men Who Established Coast Guard Aviation In May of 1925 On Ten Pound Island in Gloucester Harbor Home of the First Continuously Operating Coast Guard Air Station Growth in Operations and Aircraft Size Forced a Move To Salem Massachussetts in 1935 and again to Cape Cod in 1970 That, "They who go down to the sea in ships," shall not perish. — Map (db m36437) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Gloucester — Gloucester Fishermen's Memorial
Gloucester Fishermen's Memorial For nearly four centuries the history of Gloucester has been the story of America's greatest fishing port. With this memorial we commemorate the lives and the legacy of those who died at sea while fishing. The first settlers came from England in 1623 to harvest the ocean's bounty. They concentrated on the rich fishing banks between Gloucester and Newfoundland, and later ventured throughout the Atlantic. During the 1800s, immigrants from many lands joined in . . . — Map (db m36364) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Gloucester — Gloucester Fishermen's Wives Memorial
Gloucester Fisherman's Wives Memorial Dedicated By The Gloucester Fisherman's Wives Association August 5, 2001 [ inscription around the base of the sculpture ] The Wives, Mothers, Daughters and Sisters of Gloucester Fisherman Honor the Wives and Families of Fisherman and Mariners Everywhere for Their Faith, Diligence and Fortitude. — Map (db m36359) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Gloucester — Gloucester Korean – Vietnam Veterans Monument
[ bay side ] In Memory Of Korean Veterans June 27 1950 – Jan 31 1955 Dedicated In 1980 By The Citizens Of Gloucester [ land side ] In Memory Of Vietnam Veterans Aug 5 1964 – May 7 1975 Dedicated In 1980 By A Grateful City — Map (db m36435) WM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Gloucester — Gloucester World War II Merchant Marine Monument
With Thanks From The People of Gloucester To Our Sons Who Served As Merchant Mariners 1941 – 1945 — Map (db m36317) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Gloucester — Gloucester World War II Monument
[ inscribed around the base of the globe ] We Fought For Freedom Around The World [ plaque on central column ] Gloucester Remembers 1941 – World War II – 1945 The people of Gloucester proudly dedicate this memorial to our citizens who served and sacrificed in that most devestating war. They valiantly faced the perils of battle to restore freedom around the globe. Dedicated july 4, 2006 [ plaque on central column ] Legacy of Veterans Of . . . — Map (db m36768) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Gloucester — In Honor of Nathaniel Haraden
In Honor Of An Intrepid Son of Gloucester Nathaniel Haraden Sailing Master of The U.S. Frigate Constitution Commended for Gallantry in Action At the Seige of Tripoli, August 3, 1804 Placed by the City of Gloucester - 1932 — Map (db m36318) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Gloucester — James Babson Farm
James Babson Farm Granted by Special Town Act December 23, 1658 James and his mother Isabel were the first Babsons to reach America, arriving in 1632. James' father died on shipboard while crossong. ----------------- Town records show that Isabel was a very active kindly and beloved member of the community. She died in 1661. James was a cooper who made barrels etc. from lumber obtained from the adjoining mill on Cape Pond Brook. He married Elinor Hill and they had ten children. He died in 1683. — Map (db m36302) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Gloucester — Nathaniel Warner Company Monument
[ upper plaque ] In Memory of those who fought in the Revolutionary War with the Nathaniel Warner Company and those men and women who helped make this a free and independent nation. Placed by the reactivated Nathaniel Warner Company May 1, 1975 [ lower plaque ] Nathaniel Warner, Capt. • John Burnham, Lt. • Daniel Collins, Ens. • Jona Woodman, Sgt. • William Kinsman, Sgt. • Alex Parran, Sgt. • Jarus Lincoln, Sgt. • Richard Simson, Cprl. • Nathan Glover, Cprl. • . . . — Map (db m36354) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Gloucester — Planters Neck — 1630-1930
Here in 1630-31 a company from Plymouth, under Abraham Robinson, established a fishing station and built curing stages. For nearly two centuries and a half Annisquam was a fishing and ship-building center. — Map (db m48615) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Gloucester — Revolutionary War Memorial
In Memory Of The Soldiers and Sailors And All Others Who Rendered Aid to the Cause Of American Independence During the Revolutionary War Erected by Lucy Knox Chapter Daughters of the American Revolution Of Gloucester June 17, 1913 — Map (db m36356) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Gloucester — Riverdale Martyrs
[South Side of Marker] Riverdale Martyrs In the War Of the Rebellion. 1861-1865 [East Side of Marker] Serg – Benj. H. Griffin, C. 23d Mass. Addison Griffin, I. 23d Mass. Abraham Day, Jr. G. 23d Mass. Charles Day, C. 23d Mass. Levi Brackett, C. 23d Mass. Alph – M. Laroque. C. 23d Mass. Benj. Riggs, G. 8th Mass. [North Side of Marker] Joseph S. Hodgkins. K. 30th Mass. John Tucker, K. 30th Mass. John Lane, D. 24th . . . — Map (db m24020) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Gloucester — Riverdale World War II Monument
[ front ] Honor Roll ----------- In Honor Of Those Who Answered Their Country's Call [ plaque on back ] Riverdale Honors Her Sons and Daughters Who Served In World War II Meyer Abrahams • Sidney Abrahams • George D Allen • Kenneth D Allen • Walter J Allen • Warren W Allen • Herbert A Anstess • Dr. W Warren Babson • Charles R Baker • Maxwell S Ball • Melvin R Barratt • Richard H Barratt • * Robert S Beeman • William G Beeman, Jr. • Ernest A Bennett • . . . — Map (db m36441) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Gloucester — Samuel de Champlain — 1630 - 1930
In September, 1606, Samuel de Champlain landed at Rocky Neck in what is now Gloucester Harbor, to caulk his shallop, and made an accurate chart of the harbor which he called Le Beauport. — Map (db m48686) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Gloucester — Settlement of Cape Ann — 1630-1930
On this site in 1623 the Dorchester Adventurers founded the nucleus of the Massachusetts Bay Colony, and fishing industry. Here Roger Conant averted bloodshed between two factions contending for a fishing stage, a notable ex- ample of arbitration in the beginning of New England. — Map (db m48614) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Gloucester — Stacy Esplanade
Stacy Esplanade Is the Result of a Wish Conceived By His Parents and Fulfilled by Their Son George O. Stacy Keenly Alive to the Beauty Of Gloucester Harbor He Desired to Bring to Its Shores A Corresponding Beauty This Tablet is a Loving Tribute From His Friends Of The Hawthorne Inn 1930 — Map (db m36360) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Gloucester — Stage Fort Fisherman's Field
Stage Fort Fisherman's Field Oldest Defenses in the Mass. Bay Colony. Thrown up in 1625 by Capt. John Hewest. Occupied in King Philips War 1675 and in King Georges War 1743. Companies under Capt. John McCaw and Capt. John Lane stationed here during War for Independence 1775-82. Garrisoned and enlarged in War of 1812 by Commands Capt. Benj Haskell and Capt. Widgert. The 11th Unattached Company Capt. Thomas Herbert on duty here during the Civil War 1861 to 1865 Fort Conant Battery K 1st . . . — Map (db m36355) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Gloucester — Ten Pound Island Lighthouse
Ten Pound Island Lighthouse Before you stretches Ten Pound Island. In 1821 a lighthouse was built on the island to safely direct sailing ships into Gloucester Harbor. Some of America's greatest works of art were painted by Winslow Homer while staying at the keeper's house in 1880. The lighthouse station was rebuilt in 1881 and continued to serve the maritime community until 1965 when the keeper's house was razed and the tower abandoned. Under the leadership of the Lighthouse Preservation . . . — Map (db m36436) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Gloucester — Ward Seven World War II Monument
In Honor Of Those Who Served In World War II From Ward Seven These Our Dead From Ward 7, WW II Robert J. Hodgen   A.F. • Robert W. Seppala   A.F. • William Lee   M.M. • John A. Filfalt   M.M. • James M. Tarr   M.M. • Roy M. Nickerson   M.M. • Albert R. Cardini   U.S.A. — Map (db m36440) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Hamilton — The Covered Wagon — 1630 - 1930
On December 3, 1787, the first covered wagon to leave Massachusetts for the west set forth from this spot arriving the next spring in the northwest territory and founding Marietta, Ohio. — Map (db m47272) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Haverhill — Pentucket-Haverhill — 1630 - 1930
On this spot the Indians signed a deed granting Pentucket, now Haverhill, to the white settlers for three pounds ten shillings. The original deed dated November 15, 1642, is now in possession of the Haverhill Historical Society. — Map (db m47862) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Ipswich — Agawam - Ipswich — 1630 - 1930
Among the founders and early residents of Ipswich - 1630 - were John Winthrop, Junior, scientist and industrial pioneer; Nathaniel Ward, lawmaker and wit; Richard Bellingham and Richard Saltonstall, magistrates who defended popular rights; Simon Bradstreet and his wife Anne, who wrote poetry of enduring beauty. — Map (db m47556) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Ipswich — Masconomet Sagamore of the Agawams
Traditional Grave Site Indians of Agawam Masconomet Sagamore of the Agawams Died March 6 1658 — Map (db m37259) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Ipswich — Pillow Lace — 1630 - 1930
From the date of its settlement by John Winthrop and twelve associates, 1630, Agawam (Ipswich) was the seat of pillow lace making, by 1790 the annual production was 41,979 yards. This craft continued until the introduction of lace machinery. — Map (db m47920) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Ipswich — Revolution of 1689 — 1630 - 1930
Here on August 23, 1687, the citizens of Ipswich, led by the Reverend John Wise, denounced the levey of taxes by the arbirary government of Sir Edmund Andros, and from their protest sprang the American revolution of 1689 — Map (db m47594) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Lowell — Debating Slavery
By the late 1840’s, slavery was a defining political issue in northern cities. The topic was hotly debated in Lowell and created unlikely political alliances. Abolitionists like William Lloyd Garrison visited Lowell as early as the 1830’s and labor reformers drew uncomfortable parallels between working conditions in the mills and slavery in the South. Many labor reformers, however, strongly opposed the abolitionists. Yet several of Lowell’s most prominent investors, such as Amos . . . — Map (db m66046) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Lowell — St. Anne's Church
Shortly after the Merrimac Mills opened in 1823, the owners built this church to help attract young women workers from rural New England villages, and farms. Mill agent Kirk Boott oversaw the church's construction. Its Gothic style was derived from the English churches of his youth. Workers used stones dug from the Merrimack Canal to build its walls. An Episcopalian, Boott ignored that most of the workers were Congregationalists or Baptists and hired a young clergymen of this . . . — Map (db m66199) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Lynn — Lynn — 1630-1930
The Indian region called Saugus, settled 1629 by people from the Puritan colony at Salem, named for Lynn Regis in England, 1637. First place in North America to make boots and shoes for export. — Map (db m48071) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Marblehead — Agnes Surriage Well — 1630 - 1930
Belonging to the Fountain Inn, where Sir Harry Frankland, collector of the Port of Boston, while supervising the erection of Fort Sewall, met Agnes Surriage in 1742. Agnes, a poor fisherman's daughter, later became Lady Frankland and returned with her husband to England. — Map (db m47951) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Marblehead — Bailey's Head
This hill was formerly known as Bailey's Head. During the Revolution and the War of 1812, it was used as a fortification, Fort Washington, manned by local citizens with help if needed from the Lafayette Guards and the Marblehead Light Infantry. On July 22, 1888, "The Ramparts" were conveyed to "the inhabitants of Marblehead" by the Honorable James J.H. Gregory "said gift subject to conditions (1) that the ancient headland shall be forever open free for any religious exercises by any person . . . — Map (db m36617) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Marblehead — Fort Sewall
[ left panel ] Welcome – You Are Entering Fort Sewall Marblehead Massachusetts Fort Sewall is a unique earthwork fortification positioned to defend Marblehead for over three centuries. In 1644 the provincial government granted permission to build an earthwork fort at Gale's Head and provided two guns. Several later modifications were in response to rapid colonial developments in New England. The fort's location at the tip of the northern headland served a strategic . . . — Map (db m36601) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Marblehead — Fort Sewall
Fort Sewall Marblehead Massachusetts Marblehead, founded in 1629, has always been a famous seaport – for fishing, foreign trade, boat building, sail making and yachting. Local sailors have been champions in world competitions, the America's Cup and the Olympics. Many had their early training at the world's first junior yacht club, the Pleon (1887). Several yacht clubs are located on both sides of the harbor. There are more than 2, 000 boat moorings along the shores of Marblehead. — Map (db m36608) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Marblehead — Fort Sewall — 1630 - 1930
Built in 1742 for defence against French cruisers. U.S.S. "Constitution" sought shelter under the fort's guns when chased by H.M.S. "Tenedos" and "Endymion" April 3, 1814. Named after Samuel Sewall of Marblehead, Chief Justice of Massachusetts in 1814. — Map (db m47952) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Marblehead — Fort Sewall Site Plan
Fort Sewall Site Plan Legend A   Kitchen B   Guard Room C   Store Room D   Dungeon E   Magazine F   Temporary Magazine The bomb-proof headquarters, covered with several feet of earth, consists of four rooms (left to right): Room A – a kitchen with fireplace and well. Rooms B & C – guard rooms with for officers on duty. Room D – a small windowless dungeon entered from Room C. A few British or French prisoners were held here briefly. In the rear . . . — Map (db m36603) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Marblehead — Gen. Casimir Pulaski
Gen. Casimir Pulaski Arrived in Salem Harbor at Fort Sewall Marblehead July 23, 1777 Revolutionary War Hero Polish and American Patriot Died in Battle at Savannah, GA October 11, 1779 Erected 1989 Polish American Congress Eastern Massachusetts Renovated 2009 Polonia of New England — Map (db m36605) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Marblehead — Huzzah! for "Old Ironsides"
Huzzah! For "Old Ironsides" Marblehead citizens have embraced USS Constitution on three historic visits: 3 April 1814 when beneath the guns of Fort Sewall she found refuge from an overwhelming British force 29-31 July 1931 when under tow on the nationwide pennies campaign tour to assure her preservation 20-21 July 1997 when during her Bicentennial she sailed from Boston and moored here to the cheers of thousands A safe and welcoming harbor — Map (db m36606) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Marblehead — In Memory of Those Who Have Died
In Memory of Those Who Have Died War on Terror Christopher N. Piper Christopher B. Shay Acts of Terror AA Flight 11 AA Flight 77 UA Flight 175 UA Flight 93 September 11, 2001 Never Forget Dedicated 2006 — Map (db m36550) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Marblehead — Marblehead Light — Latitude 42 Degrees 30' 20" N Longitude 70 Degrees 50' 03" W
[Top Marker] In July of 1789, Representative Elbridge Gerry, native of Marblehead, signer of the Declaration of Independence, and Vice President of the United States under President James Madison, filed H.R. Bill 12 in Congress, officially launching the United States Lighthouse and Navigational Aid System. The Bill passed the House of Representatives on July 20, 1789, and passed the Senate on July 31, 1789. It was signed into law by President George Washington on August 7, 1789. . . . — Map (db m21453) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Marblehead — Marblehead Soldiers Memorial
[ north side ] In Memory of Our Country's Defenders 1776 – 1812 – 1861 Erected by the Citizens of Marblehead Dedicated July 4, 1876 Our Patriots Who Fell In Defense Of The Union 1861 • M. Hennessy • S.J. Goodwin • W. Blaney • J.H. Collyer • 1862 • J. Shaw • J. Hines • M. McCoy • W. O'Neill • A.B. Coss • R.C. Cahill • J. Donovan • W. Donovan • J. Goodwin Jr. • J.W. Stonhull • A.S. Standley Jr. • T. Brown • C.H. Flint • J.H. Alley • P. Collins • R. Grieve • . . . — Map (db m36542) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Marblehead — Marblehead Vietnam Veterans Memorial
[ right panel ] Vietnam Veterans Memorial This memorial Erected by Vietnam Veterans, Families, Friends, and Town of Marblehead [ left panel ] John C. Archbold Warren W. Boles Edgar S. Doliber Tristan W. Hayes Gerald E. Issaacson Henry E. Mac Cann Duncan B. Sleigh Warren P. Smith, Jr. Remembered   1986 — Map (db m36548) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Marblehead — Marblehead World War I Memorial
This Memorial Dedicated By The Citizens of Marblehead To The Memory Of Charles H. Evans   Killed in Action – July 20, 1918 Irving E. Brown   Died in France – October 13, 1918 William F. Farry   Died in France – February 6, 1919 John A. Roundy   Killed in Action – October 12, 1918 John McGee   Died in France – February 5, 1919 Christian S. Christensen nbsp Died in France – February 5, 1919 Who Gave Their Lives For Their Country During the . . . — Map (db m36599) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Marblehead — Marblehead World War I Monument
This Tablet Is Dedicated To The Sons And Daughters of Marblehead Who Served In The World War 1917 – 1919 Live Wire Committee — Map (db m36544) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Marblehead — Marblehead World War II – Korean War Monument
[ left panel ] World War II 1941 – 1946 Richard W. Ahlman Jr. • James S. Baily Jr. • Clifford G. Barry • Sidney A. Benson • James E. Brophy • Charles L. Carlson • John W. Clark Jr. • Frederick T. Clive • John F. Connors • Laurence M. Couttis • Lawrence W. Crozier • John J. Cudihy • Benjamin Cunningham • Charles A. Dana • Roger W. Dennis • Willard W. Fader • Azor O. Goodwin • Pembroke T. Hamilton • Nornam E. Henderson • Wallace F. Hooper • Donald E. Howie • Paul L. Jacobson • . . . — Map (db m36598) WM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Marblehead — Old Burial Hill — 1630 - 1930
Established in 1638, one of the oldest graveyards in New England. Site of first meetinghouse. Six hundred Revolutionary heroes and several early pastors were interred at the top of the hill. — Map (db m48005) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Middleton — First Town Meeting
Under a giant oak near this spot on July 9, 1728, Middleton held its first town meeting & received its charter from the province of Massachusetts Bay — Map (db m48472) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Newbury — Landing Place of First Settlers — 1630 - 1930
Landing place on River Parker of the men and women who settled in Newbury between 1635 and 1650. — Map (db m48219) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Newbury — Newbury — 1630 - 1930
Indian region called Quascacunquen, settled 1635 under leadership of the puritan clergyman Thomas Parker — Map (db m47986) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Newbury — Newbury — 1630 - 1930
Indian region called Quascacunquen. Settled 1635 under leadership of the puritan clergyman Thomas Parker. — Map (db m48593) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Newburyport — Approach to Carr's Ferry — 1630 - 1930
First ferry across the Merrimack river from Newbury to Salisbury, established about 1639, and the only route from Boston to the eastern frontier. In 1641 George Carr was appointed ferryman with rights which continued in his family for generations. — Map (db m47972) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Newburyport — Dalton House — 1630-1930
Built in 1746 by Michael Dalton, later the residence of his son, Tristram Dalton, one of the first two United States Senators from Massachusetts. Here were entertained George Washington and other distinguished men. — Map (db m49452) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Newburyport — Edward Rawson — 1630 - 1930
On this site dwelt Edward Rawson, secretary of the bay colony for thirty-six years, deputy to the General Court for twelve years, elected clerk of the House of Deputies in 1645, he died in Boston 1693. — Map (db m47984) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Newburyport — Watts' Cellar — 1630 - 1930
Near this spot was "Watts Cellar," a landmark before the settlement of Newbury in 1635. An excavation used for the storage of fish by fishermen who visited the New England coast. — Map (db m47985) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Peabody — Birthplace of George Peabody
Birthplace of George Peabody February, 18, 1795 Placed by The Peabody Historical Society June 16, 1902 — Map (db m36247) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Rockport — Bear Skin Neck — 1630 - 1930
Named from a bear caught by the tide and killed in 1700. Commercial and shipbuilding center of Rockport for 160 years. First dock built here 1743. Sandy Bay Pier Company organized 1809. Site of Stone Fort and Sea Fencibles Barrack during War of 1812. — Map (db m48007) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Rockport — Benjamin Tarr House
1630 - 1930 Benjamin Tarr House -- Answering a sudden alarm to meet at the house of Lieutenant Benjamin Tarr, grandson of Richard Tarr the first settler, sixty-six men from this village under Captain John Rowe, marched to Charlestown and fought in the Battle of Bunker Hill. — Map (db m73109) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Rockport — Cannon from the U.S.S. Constitution
This Cannon from The U.S.S. Constitution "Old Ironsides" Was Presented to the Sandy Bay Historical Society By Descendants of The First Settler, Richard Tarr, and Dedicated August 20, 1931 — Map (db m36255) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Rockport — First Settler — 1630 - 1930
Here stood the cabin of Richard Tarr founder of the Tarr Family on Cape Ann. He came to Marblehead in 1680, then settled in Sacco, Maine. Driven thence by Indians, he became the first settler of Sandy Bay (Rockport) in 1690. — Map (db m48008) HM
Massachusetts (Essex County), Rockport — Harvey Park
Town of Rockport This Park Was Made Possible by the Generosity and Public Spirit of George W. Harvey Her Native Son 1924 — Map (db m36283) HM
250 markers matched your search criteria.
Click to map all markers shown on this page.
Click First to browse through the results shown on this page.   First >> 


•••
More Search Options
 
Markers
Near You

 
Categories

 
States & Provinces

 
Counties
Click to List


 
Countries

Page composed
in 215 ms.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
To search within this page, hold down the Ctrl key and press F.
On an Apple computer,
hold down the Apple key and press F.