HMdb.org THE HISTORICAL
MARKER DATABASE
            “Bite-Size Bits of Local, National, and Global History”
  Home  — My Markers  — Add A Marker  — Marker Series  — Links & Books  — Forum  — About Us
Click First to browse through the results shown on this page.   First >> 
Show DirectionsOmit Marker TextClick to map all markers shown on this page.
Michigan Markers
578 markers matched your search criteria. The first 250 markers are listed. Next 328
Michigan (Alger County), Au Train — S0121 — Lake Superior
Le lac superieur the French called it, meaning only that geographically it lay above Lake Huron. In size, however, Lake Superior stands above all other fresh water lakes in the world. The intrepid Frenchman Brule discovered it around 1622. During the 1650's and 1660's French fur traders, such as Radisson and Groseilliers, and Jesuits, such as Fathers Allouez and Menard, explored this great inland sea. Within 250 years fur-laden canoes had given way to huge boats carrying ore and grain to the world. — Map (db m41968) HM
Michigan (Allegan County), Allegan — Allegan Civil War Monument
Defenders of our Nation 1861. — 1865. — Map (db m69892) WM
Michigan (Allegan County), Allegan — S226 — Allegan County
Allegan County's name was coined by the noted student of the Indians, Henry Schoolcraft. The county was set off in 1831 and organized in 1835. Settlement of the county seat, Allegan, was promoted in 1835 by eastern capitalists who were attracted by the site's sources of water power. For many years steamboats plied the Kalamazoo between here and Saugatuck. Extensive lumbering by the pioneers cleared the way for farm production in which the county has been a leader. — Map (db m69891) HM
Michigan (Allegan County), Allegan — L242 — Episcopal Church of Good Shepherd
On June 15, 1858, the Episcopal Church of the Good Shepherd was organized; its parish was admitted into the Diocese of Michigan two years later. Built in 1866-69, this Gothic structure was designed by Gordon W. Lloyd and first used for Divine Service on Palm Sunday, March 21, 1869. Bishop McCoskry performed the rite of consecration on April 8 of that same year. In 1886 the parishioners purchased the present tracker organ which is still in use and one of the few such organs left in this state today. — Map (db m69890) HM
Michigan (Allegan County), Allegan — James E. Mahan Park
By resolution of the Allegan City Council, this park is dedicated to the memory of JAMES E. MAHAN, M.D. 1895–1984 Dr. Mahan ministered to the needs of the Allegan area -- both in the personal and public health fields -- from 1931 until his retirement in 1978. Instrumental in the establishment of the Allegan County Health Department and what is now Allegan General Hospital, he was tireless in his devotion to patients and community alike. To the detriment of his own health, Dr. . . . — Map (db m69900) HM
Michigan (Allegan County), Allegan — S549A — The Second Street Bridge
This simply ornamented wrought-iron bridge was built in 1886. It replaced an earlier wooden one that had begun to fall into disrepair. Designed by the King Iron Bridge and Manufacturing Company of Cleveland, Ohio, the double-intersection Pratt truss bridge was completed at a cost of $7,532.25. Eighteen feet wide and spanning 225 feet of the Kalamazoo River, it is one of the largest extant bridges designed by the firm. Following a battle by city officials and local citizens to save the bridge . . . — Map (db m69901) HM
Michigan (Allegan County), Allegan — Welcome to Allegan"Steamboat Alley"
"MEET ME AT COOK PARK, ALLEGAN, MICHIGAN" The steamer Mildred carried passengers to and from Cook Park until about the time of W.W.I. The park was located at Cady's Grove, about three miles upriver from the dock behind the bank in Allegan, though the trip was much shorter by land traveling south on M-40 just beyond Thomas Street. Cook Park was "the place to go" at the time, for picnics, family gatherings or just to spend some time listening to the band play in the gazebo. — Map (db m69899) HM
Michigan (Allegan County), Douglas — 1801 — Douglas Union School
Side 1 In 1866, faced with the growth of what were then separate villages of Douglas and Dudleyville, Saugatauk Township District No. 3 and 4 merged to form Union District No. 3. The Douglas Union School opened for classes in September 1866. One male and one female teacher taught 129 pupils that year. Early newspapers reported church services, concerts and social events taking place in the building's second floor hall. When it closed in 1957, the school had four classrooms. They were . . . — Map (db m45325) HM
Michigan (Allegan County), Douglas — 1341 — Dr. Asa Goodrich House — Michigan Historic Site
Dr. Asa Goodrich House Built in 1872 — Map (db m45469) HM
Michigan (Allegan County), Douglas — 1239 — Dutcher Lodge No. 193 / Douglas
Dutcher Lodge No. 193 Masons from Douglas, Fennville, and Saugatauk chartered Dutcher Lodge No. 193 on January 19, 1867. From 1867 to 1870 they held meetings in a building owned by Worshipful Master Thomas Dutcher. In 1875, the western portion of this building was constructed on land cleared of a cemetery. Lodge members used the second floor, leaving the first floor available for government and civic meeting. The building was doubled in size with the construction of the eastern half in . . . — Map (db m45393) HM
Michigan (Allegan County), Douglas — 1472 — Sarah M. Kirby House — Michigan Historic Site
Sarah M. Kirby House Built in 1890 — Map (db m45473) HM
Michigan (Allegan County), Otsego — L2119 — Otsego Methodist Church
The Otsego Methodist Church was organized in 1842 and served by a traveling minister. The first church was built on this site in 1847. On December 22, 1889, over 900 townspeople attended the dedication of the present church. Many donated money toward what remained of the $7,500 construction debt. Civil War mapmaker Charles Prentiss designed the church. Art Stained Glass Works in Chicago made the sanctuary windows. — Map (db m69960) HM
Michigan (Allegan County), Saugatuck — L0908A — All Saints Episcopal Church / Gordon W. Lloyd
All Saints Episcopal Church An Episcopal parish was organized in Saugatauk on All Saints Day, November 1, 1868. Services were held at various locations until 1873. In 1871 the parish purchased property. Detroit architect Gordon W. Lloyd designed the Gothic Revival-style church building. Although services were first held on January 25, 1873, the church was not completed until 1874. After a period of decline that caused the parish to become a diocesan mission, full parish status was restored . . . — Map (db m45324) HM
Michigan (Allegan County), Saugatuck — 1818 — First Congregational Church
On January 11, 1860, eight years before Saugatuck was incorporated as a village, a council of area Congregational leaders met in the Pine Grove schoolhouse and organized a church. During the summer the congregation built a church on this site, which has been incorporated into the present building. It was the first church erected in the village. In 1861, Saugatuck citizens rallied here upon learning of the rebel firing on Fort Sumter and the outbreak of the Civil War. — Map (db m45457) HM
Michigan (Allegan County), Saugatuck — 2172 — Reed's Livery
Roger E. Reed, whose father was a blacksmith and carriage maker, built this structure in 1905. The front of the building housed an office and carriages, while the back was a stable of 25 stalls. Here travelers boarded stages bound for Holland, Grand Rapids, or Allegan, and customers rented horses and wagons. The cement block building was hailed as modern and fireproof, and it served as the village fire station during the 1950s. An Eskimo Pie factory was among the manufacturers once located here. — Map (db m45238) HM
Michigan (Allegan County), Saugatuck — 1762 — Saugatuck Engine House — Michigan Historic Site
Saugatuck Engine House Built 1879-1880 — Map (db m45280) HM
Michigan (Allegan County), Saugatuck — 0191 — Singapore, Michigan
Beneath the sands near the mouth of the Kalamazoo River lies the site of Singapore, one of Michigan's most famous ghost towns. Founded in the 1830's by New York land speculators, who hoped it would rival Chicago or Milwaukee as a lake port, Singapore was in fact, until the 1870's, a busy lumbering town. With three mills, two hotels, several general stores, and a renowned "Wild-cat" bank, it outshone its neighbor to the south, "The Flats," as Saugatauk was then called. When the supply of timber . . . — Map (db m45269) HM
Michigan (Alpena County), Alpena — L746 — Alpena County Courthouse
"Alpena has blazed a new trail in construction," architect William H. Kuni of Detroit declared at the opening of the Alpena County Courthouse on October 21, 1935. Calling it "the first monolithic building erected in a cold climate," Kuni designed the Art Deco structure to be built of local Portland cement. Cement construction during the winter was believed impossible in Alpena: however, cold-weather building projects answered the need for winter employment during the Great Depression. The . . . — Map (db m66795) HM
Michigan (Arenac County), Omer — 444 — Omer Masonic Hall
This churchlike white frame structure with its graceful cupola was built in 1890 as the second Arenac County Courthouse. The first courthouse on this site burned the previous year. Omer had been a part of Bay County until Arenac was organized in 1883 and this city, then a village, became the county seat. Less than a decade later voters made nearby Standish the county seat. The Grand Lodge of Free and Accepted Masons of the State of Michigan purchased this building in 1893 for the Omer Masonic . . . — Map (db m70969) HM
Michigan (Barry County), Hastings — S561C — Hastings Mutual Insurance Company
On April 5, 1885, the Michigan Mutual Tornado, Cyclone, and Windstorm Insurance Company became the first mutual windstorm company incorporated by the state of Michigan. Starting in a one-room office above Grant's store, the company occupied and outgrew five sites in Hastings. Locally the firm was called the Windstorm Company, while out of town it was known as the Hastings Company. In 1920, its name was formally changed to the Michigan Mutual Windstorm Insurance Company. On January 15, 1959, the . . . — Map (db m33250) HM
Michigan (Bay County), Bay City — L1413 — "Ten Hours or No Sawdust"
Side 1 When Bay City's sawmills opened in 1885, mill owners notified workers that wages would be 12 to 25 percent lower than in 1884. On July 6, 1885, Bay City millhands began to walk off the job. Their slogan, "Ten Hours or No Sawdust," represented their demand for a ten-hour workday, higher wages and semimonthly pay. On July 9, 1885, D.C. Blinn, editor of Bay City's Labor Vindicator and a member of the Knights of Labor, held a rally at Bay City's Madison Park. After the rally, . . . — Map (db m33693) HM
Michigan (Bay County), Bay City — L2122 — Center Avenue
Center Avenue presents one of the most spectacular displays of late nineteenth and early twentieth century residential architecture in Michigan. Between 1870 and 1940 Bay City's prominent citizens favored Center Avenue as "the" place to live. Early in this period lumbermen built lavish residences. After 1900 lumbering declined and the city's economy diversified. Leaders in the sugar beet, coal, shipbuilding, and other industries built stylish homes that reflected their substantial fortunes. . . . — Map (db m33961) HM
Michigan (Bay County), Bay City — Charles B. & Geogiana (McGraw) Curtiss Housec. 1892
Charles came to Bay City in 1864 from Ithaca, NY, to work for sawmill owners Henry Sage and John McGraw, eventually buying the Bay City Dredging Co. His home's architecture is Shavian Manorial, a Queen Anne/Tudor Revival style named after the 1860s/70s neo-medieval work of the English architect Richard Norman Shaw. It was designed by William H. Miller, Ithaca's most prominent late 19th/early 20th century architect, who designed many of Cornell's buildings. Detroit architects Scott & Scott . . . — Map (db m33909) HM
Michigan (Bay County), Bay City — L2084 — First Presbyterian Church
Side 1 In 1848, James G. Birney and his wife led Bay City's earliest Presbyterian services in a schoolhouse. Birney, an elder in the church, twice ran unsuccessfully for president on the antislavery ticket. The Reverend Lucius Root organized the First Presbyterian Church of Lower Saginaw on September 5, 1856. Services continued to be held in the schoolhouse and other public buildings until the first church was built in 1863. In 1886 church elder Alexander Folsom donated $50,000 for the . . . — Map (db m33696) HM
Michigan (Bay County), Bay City — L0858 — Trinity Church/Trinity Episcopal Church
(front side): Trinity Church Trinity Church grew from a small group of settlers served by Episcopal missionaries beginning around 1842. Church records credit William and Ann Fitzhugh with founding the church. On March 4, 1854, fourteen people, led by the Reverend Voltaire Spaulding, formally organized the parish in what was then Lower Saginaw (renamed Bay City in 1857). Members worshipped in "the brown school" and "the ball (bowling) alley" until their first church was built in . . . — Map (db m33912) HM
Michigan (Berrien County), Benton Harbor — S717 — Israelite House of David / Mary's City of David
(Obverse Side) Israelite House of David Based on the teachings of the Christian Israelite tradition begun by Joanna Southcott in England in 1792. Benjamin and Mary Purnell founded the House of David communal religious community in Benton Harbor in 1903. At its peak the colony had one thousand members, including artists, businessmen, and inventors. During the 1920s the colony used Michigan's growing auto tourism industry to fund its development. One of the largest landowners in . . . — Map (db m64809) HM
Michigan (Berrien County), Benton Harbor — S155 — The Fruit Belt
Because of Lake Michigan's moderating effect, a narrow coastal strip from Indiana to Grand Traverse Bay, 300 miles north, is blessed by a climate uniquely suited to fruit growing. This fact was observed by the 1840's when peaches already were being shipped from Berrien County to Chicago. Apples, cherries, berries, grapes, pears, and plums added to the fame of the "fruit belt." One of the world's great fruit markets has developed here in Benton Harbor to provide an outlet for these bountiful crops. — Map (db m64812) HM
Michigan (Berrien County), Benton Harbor — L37 — The Morton House
This house built in 1849, by Eleazar Morton and his son Henry, was occupied until 1936 by four generations of Mortons. The oak-framed barn was built in 1840. Members of the Morton family, pioneers in this area, were prominent in Benton Harbor's early development. The porch on the house was often called the "Indian Hotel" because Henry Morton allowed the Potawatami Indians to sleep here on their way to St. Joseph to sell their baskets. J. Stanley Morton, President of the Graham Morton . . . — Map (db m43844) HM
Michigan (Berrien County), Berrien Springs — 1870 Berrien County Jail
A Unique Jail Gilbert B. Avery, architect of the 1839 Courthouse next door, also designed the 1870 Berrien County Jail and Sheriff's Residence. The brick jail appeared from the outside as a conventional square structure with a ventilator atop a glass skylight. Inside, Avery arranged the cells in a circular pattern. Twenty-four triangular cells - sixteen on the first floor and eight on the second - surrounded a central core, where a pump and bathtub let prisoners bathe. The . . . — Map (db m64919) HM
Michigan (Berrien County), Berrien Springs — S250 — Andrews University
This, the oldest Seventh-day Adventist college and the pioneer in a world-wide system of Christian education, was chartered in 1874 at Battle Creek as Battle Creek College. It was moved to Berrien Springs in 1901 where its name was changed to Emmanuel Missionary College. The first classes here were held in tents. The old Berrien County Courthouse served as an administration building. Permanent buildings were erected by student labor. In 1960 the Adventists' Theological Seminary, founded in . . . — Map (db m64917) HM
Michigan (Berrien County), Berrien Springs — 38 — Berrien County CourthouseMichigan's Oldest County Courthouse — Michigan Legal Milestone
The county courthouse is an iconic symbol of the American legal system. Its importance in Michigan is established in the Michigan Constitution of 1835, which authorized county courts and the laws that followed, requiring counties to provide suitable courthouses. The legal precedents that continue to guide Michigan judges arose out of cases that were decided in the state's earliest local courthouses. This courthouse, erected in Berrien Springs in 1839, is Michigan's oldest existing county . . . — Map (db m69920) HM
Michigan (Berrien County), Berrien Springs — HB50 — Berrien Springs Courthouse
This building, a fine example of the Greek Revival style, was designed by Gilbert B. Avery in 1838. James Lewis, the contractor, agreed to complete the building by April, 1839. Built almost entirely of whitewood, the courthouse has hand-hewn timbers almost one foot square and forty feet long. In 1894 the county seat was transferred to St. Joseph, and the courthouse soon passed into private hands. For a number of years it was used as an armory for the Berrien Springs Light Guard and as a center . . . — Map (db m64918) HM
Michigan (Berrien County), Berrien Springs — L2130 — Union Church and Cemetery
In 1857 Protestants of different denominations established a church and cemetery on property purchased from Zera and Eliza Wright. They dedicated the Greek Revival-style Union Church on July 4, 1858. The denominations held services on alternating Sundays until 1915. Throughout the years elaborate Memorial Day celebrations have been held at the church. The Ladies Aid Society has maintained the church since 1891. — Map (db m64939) HM
Michigan (Berrien County), Bertrand — S0286 — Bertrand
Nearby French and English trading posts were known as parc aux vaches or “cowpens” for the wild buffalo once found here. Joseph Bertrand, an early trader, married the daughter of a Potawatomi chief and through her acquired land in various Indian treaties. In 1833 this land was platted into the town of Bertrand, which soon included several large hotels and stores and a four-story warehouse—remarkable on the Michigan frontier. Bertrand became a stop for stages on the . . . — Map (db m1604) HM
Michigan (Berrien County), Bertrand — L1363C — Parc Aux VachesMadeline Bertrand Park
Known as Parc aux Vaches, or “cow pasture,” this area was named by the French for the wild buffalo that once grazed here. Two major Indian trails crossed here: the Sauk Trail, also called the old Chicago Trail, which linked Detroit and Chicago; and the Miami Trail, which linked the Grand and the Wabash rivers. About 1808 French fur-trader Joseph Bertrand established a post in this area. Bertrand married Madeline, said to be the daughter of Potawatomi Chief Topenebee. Under the 1821 . . . — Map (db m64552) HM
Michigan (Berrien County), Bertrand — 260 — St. Joseph's Mission
Here, in 1837, in the then flourishing settlement of Bertrand, a fine brick church, dedicated to St. Joseph, was built to serve the Catholics of this area. In this church, on September 8, 1844, the habit of the Sisters of the Holy Cross was given for the first time in America. Those who received the habit were Sister Mary of the Holy Cross, Sister Mary of the Nativity, and Sister Mary of Mount Carmel. The sisterhood opened a school this same year in a dwelling which still stands a thousand feet . . . — Map (db m64931) HM
Michigan (Berrien County), Buchanan — L1466 — Pears Mill
Pears Mill. Built in 1853. — Map (db m1873) HM
Michigan (Berrien County), Buchanan — L1368A — Portage Prairie United Methodist Church
(Side 1) Persuaded by reports of good land from the Reverend John Seybert, Bishop of the Ohio Conference, the Jacob and David Rough families came to Portage Prairie from Pennsylvania in the spring of 1849. In 1851 they organized the Zion Evangelical Church. The denomination merged with the United Evangelical Church in 1922 and with the United Brethren Church in 1946. This church was renamed the Portage Prairie United Methodist Church in 1968. (Side 2) In 1887 the . . . — Map (db m64835) HM
Michigan (Berrien County), Coloma — Baker Park
Dr. William A. Baker, 19th century physician and teacher, a lifetime civic leader and community builder, purchased this land and presented it to Coloma in 1885 for a public park. — Map (db m64892) HM
Michigan (Berrien County), Lakeside — L2134 — Lakeside Inn
Known as Ames Grove, this property served as a picnic ground and recreation area beginning in the 1880s. John Aylesworth purchased the property in 1901 and opened the Lakeside Inn in this building as early as 1915. The hotel once had its own zoo and extensive gardens. During the 1930s and 1940s Chicago orchestras played at the inn. The Lakeside Center for the Arts occupied the premises from 1968 to 1994 and hosted artists from around the world. In 1995 the inn was restored to its 1920s appearance. — Map (db m64830) HM
Michigan (Berrien County), New Buffalo — Eisenhower Interstate System
During the presidency (1953–1961) of Dwight D. Eisenhower, the 34th President of the United States, the National System of Interstate and Defense highways was finalized and signed into law. Gaining support for the Interstate Highway System required foresight and courage by President Eisenhower as he committed the Nation to an intensive program of road building. This unprecedented public works project provided for high-speed highway facilities to connect major population centers . . . — Map (db m1668) HM
Michigan (Berrien County), New Buffalo — L1256 — New Buffalo Welcome Center
The nation’s first Highway Travel Information center opened on May 4, 1935, on US-12 at New Buffalo, not far from here. Other states followed Michigan’s lead, and by 1985 there were 251 travel information centers across the nation. The New Buffalo center was built by the Michigan State Highway Department, now the Michigan Department of Transportation, to welcome motorists entering the state via US-12. It was relocated at this site with its more modern building, on April 6, 1972, after the I-94 . . . — Map (db m1593) HM
Michigan (Berrien County), New Buffalo — The Iron Brigade / The Twenty-Fourth Michigan Volunteer Infantry Regiment
The Iron Brigade The Iron Brigade became one of the most celebrated military units on the American Civil War (1861–1865). Wearing distinctive black hats, they were easily recognised by friend and foe alike. The five volunteer regiments in the brigade were the 2nd, 6th and 7th Wisconsin, the 19th Indiana and the 24th Michigan. These regiments ranked among the most gallant and effective of the Union Army. U.S. 12, which intersects nearby, is named the Iron Brigade Memorial . . . — Map (db m4117) HM
Michigan (Berrien County), New Buffalo — 718 — West Michigan Pike
(side 1) At the turn of the twentieth century, deep ruts and sand made West Michigan roads nearly impassable. In 1911 the West Michigan Lakeshore Highway Association was founded to promote the construction of the first improved highway along Lake Michigan in order to bring auto tourists from Chicago to Michigan to support the new resort industry that developed when logging ended in the region. Completed in 1922, the West Michigan Pike extended from the Indiana state line to Mackinaw . . . — Map (db m60839) HM
Michigan (Berrien County), Niles — Carey Mission
Founded in 1822 by Isaac McCoy Carey Mission This tablet placed in 1922 by Fort St. Joseph Chapter D.A.R. — Map (db m68473) HM
Michigan (Berrien County), Niles — Donavon F. SmithLieutenant General USAF — 1922 - 1974
This Veterans Memorial Park is named in honor of Donavon F. Smith, Lt. General, USAF. General Smith graduated from Niles High School in 1940. After flight training, he was assigned to the 56th Fighter Group in England where he flew 123 combat missions in a P-47 "Thunderbolt" aircraft. General Smith became a fighter Ace when he show down his 5th enemy aircraft, three of these occurring in a single mission over Germany, 11 December 1943. His military career spanned 32 years with combat in World . . . — Map (db m68534) HM
Michigan (Berrien County), Niles — Donavon F. Smith Veterans Memorial Park Monument
Dedicated to all veterans by the people of the greater Niles area "Our country is free only because it is the Home of the Brave" — Map (db m68533) WM
Michigan (Berrien County), Niles — Father Claude Jean Allouez S. J.
To the memory of Father Claude Jean Allouez S. J. Whose intrepid courage won the admiration of the Indians and whose apostolic zeal earned for him the title of the Francis Xavier of the American Missions. Father Allouez was born at St. Didier, France, 1622 and died near this spot August 27th 1689. Erected by the Woman's Progressive League of Niles, Michigan 1918. — Map (db m68554) HM
Michigan (Berrien County), Niles — L0477 — Ferry Street School
Constructed in 1867 at a cost of nearly $3,000, the Ferry Street School opened in January, 1868 as Niles’s school for “colored children.” In 1870 the Niles school system was integrated, and this facility closed. It reopened as an integrated school in 1873. The west wing was added in 1903. From 1956 to 1975 the School for Exceptional Children was located here. In 1975 concerned citizens began restoring the original building to its nineteenth century style. Nineteenth century one-room . . . — Map (db m1635) HM
Michigan (Berrien County), Niles — S0004 — Fort St. Joseph
The French fort built here in 1691 controlled southern Michigan’s principal Indian trade routes. Missionaries and fur traders were here already. The fort became a British outpost in 1761. Two years later it was one of the forts seized by Indians during the uprising of Chief Pontiac. Still later, traders made it their headquarters. In 1781 Spanish raiders ran up the flag of Spain at the fort for a few hours. — Map (db m1628) HM
Michigan (Berrien County), Niles — L1643 — Four Flags Hotel
The Four Flags Hotel opened with much fanfare on July 6, 1926. The newly formed Niles Hotel Corporation had raised $350,000 to build a hotel on the site of the Pike House hostelry. Chicago architect Charles W. Nicol designed the hotel, which was touted as fireproof and modern. The hotel’s name was the first to recall the four nations that asserted sovereignty over the area: France, Great Britain, Spain and the United States. According to local legend, Al Capone stayed at the Four Flags. — Map (db m1629) HM
Michigan (Berrien County), Niles — S0655 — John and Horace Dodge / The Dodge Brothers
John and Horace Dodge. Auto barons John (1864–1920) and Horace (1868–1920) Dodge were born and raised in Niles. During the 1830s, their grandfather, Ezekiel, had migrated from Massachusetts to Niles, where he ran a steam engine shop. John and Horace’s father, Daniel, operated the business during their youth. The Dodges lived in a small house that stood on this site. John once recalled they “were the most destitute kids in town, often going without shoes in cold . . . — Map (db m1707) HM
Michigan (Berrien County), Niles — L1788 — John B. Reddick Building
John B. Reddick Building Built in 1855 — Map (db m70309) HM
Michigan (Berrien County), Niles — L2112 — Johnson Cemetery
John Johnson Sr. donated property for this cemetery in 1838. His son Samuel had been buried on the land in 1835. John Johnson Jr. was among the township's first white settlers. The Johnsons and many pioneers are buried here. All but 20 of the 211 graves, most marked with slabs or tablets, date from the nineteenth century. Nearly one-third are for children younger than ten years old, reflecting the hardship endured by pioneers. — Map (db m64953) HM
Michigan (Berrien County), Niles — L1874 — Michigan Central Railroad Depot / Michigan Central Railroad Company
(Obverse Side) Michigan Central Railroad Depot This Richardsonian Romanesque-style depot was constructed in 1892 by the Michigan Central Railroad Company. Seeking to create a lasting impression of Michigan for passengers traveling to the 1893 Columbian Exposition, the company hired the Detroit firm of Spier and Rohns to design the station. Built mostly of Ohio sandstone, this depot replaced a ramshackle structure that the Niles Daily Star referred to as "the old . . . — Map (db m68480) HM
Michigan (Berrien County), Niles — L1874 — Michigan Central Railroad Niles Depot
Michigan Central Railroad Niles Depot Built in 1892. This Property is listed in the National Register of Historic Places — Map (db m1636) HM
Michigan (Berrien County), Niles — L732A — Morris Chapel Church
The local Methodist Episcopal Society, the oldest Methodist society in Berrien Township, was organized in 1840. In 1846 it voted to name its church in honor of Bishop Thomas A. Morris, then the head of the Methodist Episcopal Church in Michigan. This church, the congregation's second one, was built in 1867. In 1919 the basement was completed for community and social gatherings. Jessie Shilliday and Mattie Barnd bequeathed money for renovating both the exterior and interior of the church. — Map (db m64952) HM
Michigan (Berrien County), Niles — Niles - A Transportation CenterOpening Southwestern Michigan to the World
The St. Joseph River and the Sauk Trail (now U.S. 12) were major transportation routes for Indians, French voyagers, missionaries, military and early settlers through Niles. Nile's first railroad, the Michigan Central Railroad arrived October 1, 1848. Community leaders recognized immediately that Niles was fortunate to have one railroad but to prosper it was imperative to have a second competing railroad to lower passenger and freight fares. Niles representatives promoted the project for the . . . — Map (db m68537) HM
Michigan (Berrien County), Niles — Niles Veterans Memorial
(South Face of Memorial) You a veteran of this Old town or pilgrim From far away looking For some tranquility... Here you may become Silent in honor of those Who have served... No one is a stranger at This revered place where Your God as a loving Father is waiting only for you... (North Face of Memorial) Guardians of peace... Heroes of war... You are the strength Of America... You are the few who Defended the many... The selfless who . . . — Map (db m68541) WM
Michigan (Berrien County), Niles — Parrott Civil War CannonRiverfront Park Historical Trail
Nearly 12,000 memorial cannons were donated by the U.S. Government, between 1872 and 1916, to local Posts of the Grand Army of the Republic (G.A.R.) and other civic and patriotic groups for the purpose of display as a veterans' war memorial. They were formally dedicated by surviving veterans, to serve as "silent-sentinels," in tribute to the memory of all who served and sacrificed during the American Civil War. We have the G.A.R. to thank for our national observance of Memorial Day, which they . . . — Map (db m67883) HM WM
Michigan (Berrien County), Niles — PA-WA-TING(Great Crossing)
Here the Old Sauk Trail forded the O-Sang-E-Wong-Se-Be now known as the Saint Joseph River. — Map (db m68474) HM
Michigan (Berrien County), Niles — S0339 — Ring Lardner
Sportswriter, humorist, sardonic observer of the American scene, Ring Lardner was born in the house across the street on March 6, 1885. Possibly the best-known American author in the 1920s, he began his career writing sketches of sporting events for the Niles Sun and later worked for papers in Chicago and New York, where he wrote a popular syndicated column. Beginning in 1914 the Saturday Evening Post began publication of a series of articles that were to become his best known . . . — Map (db m1632) HM
Michigan (Berrien County), Niles — S0344 — Saint Mary’s
The Roman Catholic Church in Niles traces its origin to the Indian Mission established at nearby Fort St. Joseph in the late 1600’s. Reestablished at Bertrand, three miles south of Niles, in the 1830s, the mission moved into town in 1849 and was renamed St. Francis’s. In 1866 the cornerstone of the present building was laid and on December 11, 1870, the church was dedicated to St. Mary. Designed by Rufus Rose of Niles with later modifications by Father John Cappon, the church was completed in . . . — Map (db m1606) HM
Michigan (Berrien County), Niles — L1902 — Second Baptist Church
In 1851 the Reverends J.W. Hackley and D.G. Lett organized the Second Baptist Church under the Anti-Slavery Baptist Association. The first of four churches—a log building—was erected on the southeast corner of Sixth and Ferry streets. In 1872 the building was moved to the northeast corner, where the present church stands. During the construction of the third church in 1950–51 the congregation was renamed the Mount Calvary Baptist Church. In 1971 a new sanctuary was added to the structure. — Map (db m1607) HM
Michigan (Berrien County), Niles — L0475 — The Chapin House / Henry Austin Chapin
The Chapin House. This Queen Anne style house, completed in 1884, was the Henry A. Chapin family home until 1902. In 1932, when the City of Niles bought the property at auction for $300, the Chapin children stipulated that it be used only for civic purposes. Now serving as the Niles City Hall, the house is built of local brick and terra-cotta tile. The interior is ornamented with leaded glass windows and transoms, handcarved woodwork, and stenciled ceilings. In 1939 the Works Progress . . . — Map (db m1706) HM
Michigan (Berrien County), Niles — L0062 — Trinity Church
This is the oldest existing church structure in Niles, located in the oldest Episcopal parish in the Diocese of Western Michigan. The first Episcopal service in Niles was conducted by Bishop Philander Chase in 1832. The parish was organized in 1834. In that year there were 14 houses in Niles. The first edifice, of frame construction, was built on this site in 1836 under the direction of Rev. James Selkrig, the first rector. The present church was completed in 1858. On May 7, 1876, the Rev. . . . — Map (db m1634) HM
Michigan (Berrien County), Niles — U.S.S. Maine Memorial
In Memoriam U.S.S. Maine Destroyed in Havana Harbor February 15th 1898 This tablet is cast from metal recovered from the U.S.S. Maine — Map (db m68477) WM
Michigan (Berrien County), Niles — L0734 — Wesley United Methodist Church
In 1839 circuit riders from Ohio began preaching in Niles, using the barroom of a local hotel. In 1832 nine worshipers formed the Methodist class that grew to be the Wesley United Methodist Church. They dedicated their first house of worship in 1839, and by 1840 they had organized a Sunday School to teach reading and religion. In 1862 the congregation laid the cornerstone for the present sanctuary. The structure was completed in 1863. The Dodge Brothers of motor car fame attended Sunday School . . . — Map (db m1605) HM
Michigan (Berrien County), Sodus Township — L1923 — The Hogue House
In 1854 Robert Hogue (1846-1905) migrated from Pennsylvania to Pipestone Township with his family. At age seventeen, he began teaching in a local school. He attended Adrian College, later graduating from the University of Michigan before he resumed teaching in Berrien County. Soon after purchasing 170 acres of land in 1874, Hogue married Mary Rector. The Hogues built this house in the late nineteenth century. Modernized around 1940, the house retains many Victorian details. Robert Hogue held . . . — Map (db m64868) HM
Michigan (Berrien County), St. Joseph — Boatbuilding Industry
St. Joseph and Benton Harbor once ranked among the nation's leading boatbuilding centers. From 1892 to 1955, waterfront facilities of the Truscott Boat Manufacturing Company, Dachel-Carter Shipbuilding Corporation, and Robinson Marine Construction Company collectively employed hundreds of craftsmen to building thousands of recreational watercraft. All three businesses prospered during the 1920s, survived the national depression of the 1930s, and then worked double shifts building military . . . — Map (db m68202) HM
Michigan (Berrien County), St. Joseph — S234 — Burnett's Post
William Burnett, an American patriot from New Jersey, established a trading post on the bank of the St. Joseph River immediately east of this point between 1775 and 1782. He was the first permanent white resident of this area. He married Kakima, daughter of Chief Aniquiba and sister of Topenebee, principal chief of the Potawatomi nation. Burnett built a warehouse at the mouth of the St. Joseph on the site of the old Fort Miami, another at the site of Chicago, and a third on the Kankakee River. . . . — Map (db m64855) HM
Michigan (Berrien County), St. Joseph — Commercial Fishing
Commercial fishing was one of St. Joseph's earliest maritime trades. Native Americans and the settlers who followed found the river and lake full of trout, whitefish, sturgeon, and perch. By the 1900s, family-run fisheries became major contributors to the local economy. In 1960, twenty-six local fish tugs were hauling in over 10,000 pounds of fish daily. Just 10 years later, the combined challenges of predatory sea lampreys, depleted fish populations, and increasing government regulations . . . — Map (db m68224) HM
Michigan (Berrien County), St. Joseph — Commercial Shipping
Schooners rigged for sailing and steam-driven freighters were once common sights at St. Joseph and Benton Harbor. Fruit, lumber, and manufactured goods made up much of the port's early trade. By the 1870s, vessels were regularly carrying thousands of summer "day trippers" from Chicago. These visitors came to enjoy the community's beaches, orchards, and amusement parks, giving rise to a thriving tourist industry. In the early 20th century, goods increasingly moved by rail and truck, and . . . — Map (db m68217) HM
Michigan (Berrien County), St. Joseph — Creating a Harbor
The meeting of river and lake provided a natural setting for a harbor at St. Joseph. Human engineering would ultimately develop the port into one of the busiest on Lake Michigan. In the 1830s, at the urging of local merchants, the U.S. Corps of Engineers removed a large sandbar and built protective piers on either side of the river mouth. By 1838, the swampy river entrance was transformed into a thriving port, rivaling the maritime trade of Chicago. Regular dredging, pier maintenance . . . — Map (db m68195) HM
Michigan (Berrien County), St. Joseph — Eleven Inch Dahlgren
On July 5, 1897 with great pride and effort the A.W. Chapman Post of the Grand Army of the Republic dedicated this gun and grounds to the memories of those who fought in the Civil War in defense of the flag. This 11 inch bore Dahlgren was built in 1864 at Hinkley, Williams & Co., Boston, Massachusetts for service in the Civil War. Cast hollow and bored out on a lathe this gun has a finished weight of 15,890 lbs. Using 15 lbs. of gunpowder this smoothbore cannon can hurl a 130 lb. exploding . . . — Map (db m64869) HM WM
Michigan (Berrien County), St. Joseph — 6 — Fort Miami
Here in November 1679, on the Miami River, as the St. Joseph was then called, La Salle, the French explorer built a fort as a base for his western explorations. Here he awaited the Griffin, the upper lakes' first ship. When the ill-fated vessel did not come he made his way on foot to Canada through lower Michigan's uncharted wilderness. He returned in 1681 to prepare his great push down the Mississippi. A decade later the French built Fort St. Joseph, some 20 miles upriver near Niles. — Map (db m64837) HM
Michigan (Berrien County), St. Joseph — La Salle MemorialFort Miamis
This Glacial Boulder found in the bed of the St. Joseph River was erected in 1902 by the Algonquin Chapter Daughters - American Revolution to commemorate the landing of Rene Robert Cavelier Sieur de La Salle and the building on this point. Fort Miamis 1679. — Map (db m43962) HM
Michigan (Berrien County), St. Joseph — Lighthouses on the Bluff
The Great Lakes region is one of the nation's most important centers of maritime commerce. Lighthouses helped mariners navigate these vast inland seas. In 1832, the U.S. Government built the first lights on Lake Michigan at two of its busiest harbors: Chicago and St. Joseph. Five lighthouses have guided ships to St. Joseph: three on the pier and two on the bluff near this site. The bluff lights included a 40-foot stone structure and its replacement, a tower and keeper's house built in . . . — Map (db m68176) HM
Michigan (Berrien County), St. Joseph — Lighthouses on the Pier
The north pier lighthouses, built in 1907, guide ships to this port. The inner light replaced a smaller, wooden lighthouse in use since 1847. The north pier was then extended and the outer light tower was added, allowing mariners to find the harbor entrance by aligning the two lights. St. Joseph is one of only two Great Lakes harbors with such a range light system. The inner lighthouse contained foghorn equipment that sent out a distinctive signal, further aiding navigation. During periods . . . — Map (db m68152) HM
Michigan (Berrien County), St. Joseph — L1019A — Old St. Joseph Neighborhood
During the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, local river captains, mill owners, merchants and other professionals built homes in this neighborhood. Over one hundred of their homes remain. They exemplify popular architectural styles ranging from Spanish Colonial Revival to American Foursquare. Of particular interest are the elegant Queen Anne style homes. The Old St. Joseph Neighborhood is recognized as a state historic district. — Map (db m64856) HM
Michigan (Berrien County), St. Joseph — Recreational Boating
Whether paddling a canoe, riding a riverboat, or sailing a yacht, pleasure boating has always been a favorite St. Joseph activity. Recreational boating has remained popular due to well-stocked fishing grounds and accessible private and city marinas. Harbor dredging and the safety provided by the Coast Guard further benefit boaters. Canoeists and kayakers, motor boaters and sailors continue to enjoy the river and lake. The St. Joseph River Yacht Club, founded in 1913, hosts social and . . . — Map (db m68216) HM
Michigan (Berrien County), St. Joseph — Shipbuilding in the Twin Cities
With a ready supply of lumber and a thriving port, St. Joseph and Benton Harbor offered a natural setting for shipbuilding. As early as the 1830s, sailing and steam-powered vessels were built here for lake and river navigation. Shipbuilders were specialized woodworkers who used limited machinery to produce highly crafted vessels. One prominent local shipwright, James H. Randall, directed the construction of the steamships Lora (1882), City of St. Joseph (1883), and . . . — Map (db m68204) HM
Michigan (Berrien County), St. Joseph — Silver Beach Amusement Park
From its opening in 1891, the Silver Beach Amusement Park made St. Joseph a prime destination for tourists. Huge crowds enjoyed the park's many attractions, which included a carousel, roller rink, indoor swimming pool, bowling alley, beer garden, and penny arcade. Young couples danced to big bands at the famous Shadowland Ballroom, families crowded the beach, and thrill-seekers rode the "Comet" rollercoaster. The park prospered through the 1950s, but faltered when attendance fell in the . . . — Map (db m68177) HM
Michigan (Berrien County), St. Joseph — St. Joseph Maritime Heritage
Two historic waterways, Lake Michigan and the St. Joseph River, meet here. Opportunities for maritime trade, transportation, industry and recreation led to the founding of St. Joseph and Benton Harbor. Explore the Maritime Heritage Trail and discover how these waters have shaped the "Twin Cities." The Maritime Heritage Trail is a collaboration of the City of St. Joseph, The Heritage Museum and Cultural Center, and the Public History Program at Western Michigan University. Financial . . . — Map (db m68151) HM
Michigan (Berrien County), St. Joseph — St. Joseph Maritime Heritage
Two historic waterways, Lake Michigan and the St. Joseph River, meet here. Opportunities for maritime trade, transportation, industry and recreation led to the founding of St. Joseph and Benton Harbor. Explore the Maritime Heritage Trail and discover how these waters have shaped the "Twin Cities." The Maritime Heritage Trail is a collaboration of the City of St. Joseph, The Heritage Museum and Cultural Center, and the Public History Program at Western Michigan University. Financial . . . — Map (db m68203) HM
Michigan (Berrien County), St. Joseph — St. Joseph River Swing Bridge
St. Joseph's swing bridge allows passage for both maritime and railroad commerce. An alternative to a drawbridge, the swing bridge pivots open for vessels to pass and closes for trains to cross. St. Joseph's swing bridge is typically left open until a train approaches. Three swing bridges have crossed the St. Joseph River at this location. The first swing bridge opened in 1870 when the Chicago & Michigan Lake Shore Railroad expanded. The second bridge was built by the Chicago & West . . . — Map (db m68223) HM
Michigan (Berrien County), St. Joseph — St. Joseph's Firemen1898
In Memoriam Erected to commemorate the bravery of those who heroically gave up their lives in the performance of duty at the burning of York's Opera House, Benton Harbor, Michigan, Sunday, September 8, 1896. Edward H. Gange Silas F. Watson Frank M. Seaver Arthur C. Hill Robert L. Rofe "Theirs, not to make reply. Theirs, not to reason why. Theirs, but to do and die." — Map (db m64893) HM
Michigan (Berrien County), St. Joseph — U.S. Lighthouse Supply Depot
A U.S. lighthouse supply depot was built at St. Joseph in 1893. For a quarter century, this depot equipped all of Lake Michigan's lights with materials ranging from lenses to lamp oil. Operations of the St. Joseph Depot were transferred to Milwaukee in 1917. In later years, the site housed branches of the military. Following this service, the site operated as a restaurant in the 1990s. Two buildings, the lens repair shop and workers barracks, were torn down. A main storage structure and an . . . — Map (db m68218) HM
Michigan (Berrien County), St. Joseph — United States Life Saving Service
The waters off St. Joseph and Benton Harbor have long served as an active and frequently dangerous avenue of maritime trade. High winds and hazardous waves made shipwrecks a common occurrence. To assist mariners, a U.S. Life Saving Service Station was established at St. Joseph in 1877—one of the first on the Great Lakes. The government commissioned buildings, boats, rescue equipment, and a lifesaving crew. The Station's skilled "surfmen" performed many daring rescues. In 1915, . . . — Map (db m68194) HM
Michigan (Berrien County), Three Oaks — S0239 — The Dewey Cannon
This cannon, captured in the Spanish-American War by Admiral Dewey, was presented to Three Oaks when its citizens raised $1,400 for a memorial to the men of the battleship Maine. This was the largest contribution, per capita, of any community in the nation. “Three Oaks Against the World,” a local paper proudly boasted. This park was dedicated October 17, 1899, by President William McKinley, and others. Presentation of the cannon took place on June 28, 1900. Guest of honor was Helen . . . — Map (db m1603) HM
Michigan (Berrien County), Union Pier — L2179 — Gordon Beach Inn
Built in 1924 by Louis and Lena Gordon, and expanded four years later, Gordon Beach Inn was the centerpiece of the Jewish resort subdivision of the same name. The Gordons operated the inn for a decade before losing it during the Great Depression. Robert Miller, an African American and a former Chicago alderman, purchased the property in the 1960s as Gordon Beach was integrating. The inn was restored in 1991 to its 1920s appearance. — Map (db m64829) HM
Michigan (Branch County), Bronson — L2090 — Bronson Public Library
The Bronson library originated in the early 1880s as the Ladies Library Association. In 1888 the township assumed ownership. Built with funds donated by steel tycoon Andrew Carnegie, the Classical Revival Bronson Public Library opened on May 23, 1912. This structure typifies Carnegie libraries. Between 1889 and 1923, Carnegie generated community support for free libraries across the country with his generous donations. — Map (db m64550) HM
Michigan (Branch County), Bronson — S162 — The Chicago Road
One of the great routes for the pioneers coming west was the Chicago Road. The survey of the road began at Detroit in 1825 and followed closely the Sauk Trail which Indians had marked and traveled for centuries before the coming of the white man. Because of its many curves the road was likened to “a huge serpent, lazily pursuing its onward course, utterly unconcerned as to its destination.” Originally designed as a military highway linking the forts at Detroit and Chicago, the road . . . — Map (db m64549) HM
Michigan (Branch County), Coldwater — Branch Cemetery
The plat for the Village of Branch was signed the 16th day of March 1832 in Detroit by Sol. Sibley a Supreme Court judge for the Territory of Michigan. The proprietors Elisha Warren, De Gormo Jones, and Ebenezer S. Sibley also signed.    The plat is recorded on Page Eight of Liber #1 Register of Deeds.    The lots, 77 thru 80 in the southwest section were designated for a burial ground. This location was evidently never used, as the existing Branch cemetery is . . . — Map (db m66771) HM
Michigan (Branch County), Coldwater — L1642C — Branch County / Branch County Courthouse Site
(Obverse Side) Branch County Branch County, named for John Branch, President Andrew Jackson's secretary of the navy, was one of thirteen counties established by the Michigan Territorial Legislature in 1829. The village of Branch, located three miles southwest of Coldwater, was the original county seat, but in 1842 county commissioners decreed that the seat be moved to Coldwater. In 1848 a courthouse was erected on this site. The Chicago Road (now US-12) and the coming of the . . . — Map (db m66759) HM
Michigan (Branch County), Coldwater — Branch County Korean and Vietnam Wars Memorial
In honor of the men and women who served their God and Country during the Korean and Vietnam Wars — Map (db m66770) WM
Michigan (Branch County), Coldwater — Branch County World War I Memorial1917 1919
A tribute to the men of Branch County who served in the spirit of loyalty served their country in the World War and in loving memory of those inscribed below who made the supreme sacrifice. Adams, George R. • Alderman, Claude W. • Berger, Harold • Bennett, Edwin R. • Bohacz, Joe W. • Boley, Charles D. • Burr, Charles R. • Carr, Ralph R. • Clinefelter, Clyde G. • Cockle, C. Morris • Conant, John • Demorest, Joseph A. • Dunn, Edward C. • Gilchrist, George B. • Grinnell, Harry • Greely, . . . — Map (db m66692) WM
Michigan (Branch County), Coldwater — Branch County World War II Memorial
Memorial To honor those valiant men and women of World War II who gave their lives for God and Country Paul Keller • Richard Symons • Donald Perry • Rollin Johnson • Marion Nutt • Donald Russell • Sidney Palmateer • Harold Van Patten • David Fuller • Robert Hall • Frank Stansell • Starr Filley • Emery Worthington • Alphonso Tyler • Lloyd Wendorf • C.W. Chatfield • Benedict Lemanski • Donald Keesler • Barney O'Neil • Anson Dorrance • Warren Higley • George Allen Jr. • John Brown • . . . — Map (db m66769) WM
Michigan (Branch County), Coldwater — Coldwater Michigan National Guard Armory Memorial
The Michigan National Guard Armory was dedicated in 1917 and was the major information and gathering facility for Branch County's Military, Company A-32. These guns, known as the Maxim-Nordenfeldt Automatics, are anti-aircraft weapons, and they fired a one pound shot. They were mounted upon the deck of a battleship and used in combat. These guns are a gift to the citizens of Branch County and are to stand as a small memorial to our soldiers that served and the ones that give their lives on our behalf for our country. — Map (db m66694) WM
Michigan (Branch County), Coldwater — Coldwater War Memorial
(Front Panel) To the memory of the soldier dead Erected by Butterworth Woman's Relief Corps No. 31 and the Citizens of Coldwater Dec 1906 (Right Side Panel) To the memory of the soliders of the Spanish-American and Philippine Wars who gave their lives in defence of the flag in foreign lands (Back Panel) Butterworth Post No. 109 Grand Army Republic organized in the City of Coldwater March 9, 1883 Butterworth . . . — Map (db m66718) WM
Michigan (Branch County), Coldwater — L657A — First Presbyterian Church
Organized in 1837, the same year that Coldwater became a village, the local Presbyterian society held services in various quarters until 1844 when it erected its first church. It completed the present Romanesque Revival-style brick church in 1869 at a cost of $40,104. The 185-foot steeple, one of the highest in southern Michigan and the chief landmark of the city, was made possible by a gift from S.M. Seely. The Meneely bell came from West Troy, New York, in 1853. In early times, the church . . . — Map (db m66767) HM
Michigan (Branch County), Coldwater — Frank D. NewberryVolunteer Soldier
Born at Rochester, Michigan, June 23, 1840 Died at San Jose, California, December 28, 1912 Civil War 1861-1863 Private Duryees Zouaves, 5th N.Y. Inf. Michigan National Guard Enlisted 1876 Commissioned Capt. Co. A, 2nd Regt. 1878 Lieut. Col., 2nd Regt. 1886 Inspector Gen. 1887-1891 Spanish-American War 1898 Capt. Co. A, 32nd Mich. Vol. Inf. Philippine Insurrection 1899-1901 Capt. Co. A, 30th U.S. Vol. Inf. — Map (db m66691) HM WM
Michigan (Branch County), Coldwater — S489 — Governor Cyrus Gray Luce
On this site lived Cyrus Gray Luce, twenty-seventh Governor of Michigan. Born in Ohio in 1824, he moved to Branch County about 1849. He soon became involved in township, local and state politics, serving on the Board of Agriculture, in the legislature, and as a member of the 1867 constitutional convention. In 1886 and 1888 he was elected Governor on the Republican ticket. He remained active in the farmer's Grange till his death in Coldwater in 1905. — Map (db m66760) HM
Michigan (Branch County), Coldwater — L1490C — Harriet Quimby
(Front Side) According to a long-standing Quimby family tradition, early aviatrix Harriet Quimby was born in the Coldwater area on May 1, 1875, to Ursula (Cook) and William Quimby. She spent her childhood in Arcadia, Michigan, and Arroyo Grande, California. In 1902, Harriet became a journalist for the San Francisco Dramatic Review. She later wrote features for the San Francisco Chronicle and worked for the Call-Bulletin. In 1903 she went to New York where whe . . . — Map (db m67528) HM
Michigan (Branch County), Coldwater — Loomis' BatteryBattery A First Michigan Light Artillery Organized in Coldwater and Known as
This is one of the six ten pounder Parrott guns sent to Loomis Battery by General McClellan at Rich Mountain, West Virginia, to replace the old six pounder brass gun originally supplied the battery, and was in service in West Virginia from July 1st until December 16th, 1861 when the battery was ordered to report to General Buell at Louisville, Ky. In addition to its service in West Virginia, it was in action at Bowling Green, Ky., Feb. 14, 1862; Huntsville, Ala., April, 1862; Bridgeport, . . . — Map (db m66690) HM
Michigan (Branch County), Coldwater — S275 — Michigan Library Association
The first formal step toward the founding of a state library association was taken by Mary A. Eddy, of the Coldwater Free Public Library, in a letter to Henry M. Utley of the Detroit Public Library on January 13, 1891. They had discussed this matter at the 1890 meeting of the American Library Association in New Hampshire. A state association, they believed, would be helpful to Michigan librarians unable to attend national library conferences. Working closely with Lucy Ball, Grand Rapids Public . . . — Map (db m66717) HM
Michigan (Branch County), Coldwater — Old SamBorn April 4, 1849 Died November 8, 1876
Hero of the Civil War, a beautiful, powerfully built draft horse, was the only survivor of the two hundred horses assigned to the Loomis battery of Michigan, after having been engaged in many battles and skirmishes. Old Sam was wounded several times and half-starved most of the time, yet he endured four years of battle fatigue, hunger, and pain. (The average life span of a war horse was three to five months.) On July 28, 1865, after the War, Old Sam and his War comrades were shipped . . . — Map (db m66693) HM
Michigan (Branch County), Coldwater — S530B — State Public School at Coldwater / Coldwater Regional Center
State Public School at Coldwater In 1871 the Michigan legislature authorized the building of a special state public school to furnish temporary support and instruction for dependent and neglected children between the ages of four and sixteen until they could be placed in homes or returned to their families. The school was opened in Coldwater on May 21, 1874. Once admitted, children participated in "family-like" life in cottages and a placing-out program. A third of each day was used . . . — Map (db m68976) HM
Michigan (Branch County), Coldwater — L19 — The City of Coldwater, 1861-1961
Potawatomie Indians ceded Coldwater Prairie to the United States in 1827. The Indians called it “Chuck-sew-ya-bish,” meaning “cold spring water.” Coldwater is located at the junction of Old Sauk and Fort Wayne Indian trails. The settlement's first house was built near this site in 1830 by Hugh Campbell. The first school was organized in 1832. Coldwater became a village in 1837, the county seat of Branch County in 1842, and a city on February 28, 1861. The State Home and . . . — Map (db m65858) HM
Michigan (Branch County), Coldwater — S445 — Wing House Museum
(Front Side) This impressive Second Empire style home with mansard roof was constructed in 1875 for Jay M. Chandler (1850-1884) and his young bride Frances. On this site from 1847-1871 had stood the Parrish flouring mill. Jay, the fourth son of locally prominent Albert Chandler, followed his brothers into the family hardware business. Albert founded the Coldwater Sentinel and served as the city's first mayor. Jay Chandler sold his home to Lucius Wing in 1882. (Back . . . — Map (db m66761) HM
Michigan (Branch County), Girard Township — L2015 — Methodist Episcopal Church
Methodists held the first religious services in Girard Township. Organized in 1832 by the Reverend Ezekiel Gavit, a circuit rider, the congregation met in homes and a school until a church was built in 1844. When that structure burned in 1887 it was replaced with the present one, constructed by J.R. Simmons of Union City, who used native hard maple and stones gathered from nearby fields. The building was dedicated on August 31, 1888. — Map (db m65812) HM
Michigan (Branch County), Quincy — L1508A — Quincy Public Library
(Front Side) In 1906 Quincy businessman Charles W. Bennett and steel entrepreneur Andrew Carnegie both offered to build a library in Quincy Township. Carnegie required that the township provide the land and name the building after him. Bennett's only stipulation was that his name not appear on the building. He agreed to provide in his will both land and funds for a library. Upon the sudden death of Bennett's son construction of the library began ahead of schedule in March 1910. . . . — Map (db m66774) HM
Michigan (Branch County), Union City — L2190 — First Congregational Church
On March 7, 1837, the Reverend Calvin Clark of Homer led sixteen people in organizing the First Congregational Church of Union City. The congregation is likely the oldest of this denomination in the state. This Romanesque Revival building dates from 1862. Additions and renovations occurred over the years to accommodate a growing membership. The original pipe organ and stained glass windows were replaced during a major remodeling in 1917. — Map (db m65805) HM
Michigan (Branch County), Union City — Union City Civil War Monument
(West Side) To the Memory of Our Fallen Heroes 1861 - 1865 Erected May 30th, 1884 (South Side) Franklin Pitssburg Landing (sic) Nashville (East Side) Atlanta Mission Ridge Vicksburg (North Side) Gettysburg Malvern Hill Appomatox (sic) — Map (db m65840) WM
Michigan (Branch County), Union City — L28 — Union City Iron Furnace
On March 17, 1847, the Union City Iron Company was incorporated with leading citizens of the town as stockholders. The company was formed to produce iron from the bog and kidney iron ore deposits in Union and neighboring townships. A furnace was built, and in May, 1847, it produced what was apparently the first iron made from Michigan ores. Earlier Michigan iron furnaces used imported pig iron. The percentage of iron in southern Michigan's ores was too small, however, to maker their use . . . — Map (db m65808) HM
Michigan (Branch County), Union City — L1835 — Union City Methodist Episcopal Church
(Side One) During 1836-37, cabinetmaker David Hull led the organization of the township's first religious society. Circuit-riding ministers held services for Union City's fledgling Methodist congregation on alternate Sundays. The group me in several places until a "New and Commodious" church was built in 1848, one-half block west of here. In 1880 the Coldwater Republican announced that the Methodists would "build a new brick church next season." The present church was . . . — Map (db m65806) HM
Michigan (Calhoun County), Albion — 212 — Albion College
Methodists obtained a charter for Spring Arbor Seminary from the Territorial Council of Michigan in March, 1835. Later the institution was established in Albion on land donated by Jesse Crowell, a leading Albion pioneer and benefactor. In 1841 the cornerstone was laid for the first building, and in 1843, the institution opened as the Wesleyan Seminary. In 1861 the power to confer degrees was obtained and school named Albion College. Support from the Methodist Church, a large endowment, and . . . — Map (db m27744) HM
Michigan (Calhoun County), Albion — 215 — Birthplace of "Old Rugged Cross"
"The Old Rugged Cross," one of the world's best-loved hymns, was composed here in 1912 by the Rev. George Bennard (1873-1958). The son of an Ohio coal miner, Bennard was a lifelong servant of God, chiefly in the Methodist ministry. He wrote the words and music of over 300 other hymns. None achieved the fame of "The Old Rugged Cross," the moving summation of his faith. "I'll cherish the Old Rugged Cross,      Till my trophies at last I lay down; I will cling to the Old Rugged . . . — Map (db m27745) HM
Michigan (Calhoun County), Albion — 216 — Birthplace of Famed Song
It was in the spring of 1911 that two freshmen at Albion College, Byron D. Stokes and F. Dudleigh Vernor, wrote the words and music for a song they called "The Sweetheart of Sigma Chi." The song made a hit with their fraternity brothers, and requests for copies came in from other chapters. Within a few years the melody and lyrics of "The Sweetheart of Sigma Chi" had become familiar to people around the world. — Map (db m27742) HM
Michigan (Calhoun County), Albion — 1695 — First Presbyterian Church
(Front) In February 1837 the Reverend Calvin Clark, a circuit riding pastor sent by the American Home Missionary Society, met with twenty-four persons and organized the Albion Presbyterian Church. The first church was built in 1840 on the corner of Clinton and Erie streets. In 1857 the congregation erected a new church on this site; it burned in 1873. The third church, completed in 1879, also burned, and the present one was built in 1884. (Reverse) The First Presbyterian . . . — Map (db m28378) HM
Michigan (Calhoun County), Albion — 97 — Gardner House Museum
Augustus P. Gardner (1817-1905), a wealthy hardware merchant, built this Victorian style house in 1975. A three-story, thirteen-room mansion with a mansard roof, it was Gardner's home until his death in 1905. In 1966, after decades of neglect, the house was purchased by the Albion Historical Society. Restored, it houses a local museum. Five of the rooms are furnished as a nineteenth-century home, and the remainder feature permanent and rotating exhibits. This house is among the last of its type in this area. — Map (db m28379) HM
Michigan (Calhoun County), Albion — 1723 — Mother's Day In Albion / Mother's Day
Marker Front: On May 13, 1877, the second Sunday of the month, Juliet Calhoun Blakeley stepped into the pulpit of the Methodist-Episcopal Church and completed the sermon for the Reverend Myron Daugherty. According to local legend, Daugherty was distraught because an antitemperance group had forced his son to spend the night in a saloon. Proud of the mother's achievement, Charles and Moses Blakeley encouraged others to pay tribute to their mothers. In the 1880s the Albion Methodist . . . — Map (db m27817) HM
Michigan (Calhoun County), Albion — 13 — The First Home
The first house at what was then known as the "Forks of the Kalamazoo" was erected near this site by Tenney Peabody, a New Yorker. To this cabin with its thatched roof of grass from the banks of the nearby Kalamazoo River, Albion's first settler brought his wife and seven children on March 4, 1833. This courageous pioneer used three yoke of oxen and two wagons to bring his family from New York. He helped form the company organized to build the town, named Albion after a town in New York. — Map (db m27815) HM
Michigan (Calhoun County), Albion — 566 — The Observatory
The Albion College Astronomical Observatory was built in 1883-84 at the urging of Dr. Samuel Dickie, who later became president of the college. Dickie helped raise $10,000 to build and equip the facility. The observatory still harbors its original telescope, transit circle, side-real clock and chronograph. The building has housed classrooms, a bookstore, faculty offices and the West Michigan Methodist Conference archives. In 1984, it was refurbished as the college Ethics Center. — Map (db m27743) HM
Michigan (Calhoun County), Batttle Creek — U.S.S. Maine Memorial Plaque
Memorium U.S.S. Maine Destroyed in Havana Harbor February 15th 1898 This tablet cast from metal recovered from the U.S.S. Maine — Map (db m70051) HM
Michigan (Calhoun County), Marengo — 1 — Marengo Pioneer Cemetery
This site on Territorial Road was a gift of Seeley Neal (1778-1862) from 640 acres acquired from the government in 1831. Neal, a veteran of the War of 1812, built the first log house in the township. His was the first family to locate in the settlement later named by him Marengo. He built a sawmill on the Kalamazoo River, and was a member of the commission that helped locate and survey the Territorial Road. — Map (db m28398) HM
Michigan (Calhoun County), Marshall — 1240 — American Museum of Magic
Presto-Change-O! From saloon to billiard parlor, to clothing store, to bakery, to museum, this edifice, built in 1868, has known many transformations. Since April Fools' Day 1978 it has housed a unique collection that celebrates the magician's arts of wonder and delight. Michigan's link to magic is no illusion for nearby Colon, a center of magic manufacturing, was once home to famed magician Harry Blackstone, Sr., (1885-1965), whose memorabilia is displayed here. — Map (db m28371) HM
Michigan (Calhoun County), Marshall — 491 — Charles T. Gorham
Gorham (1812-1901) came to Marshall in 1836 from New York State. First a merchant, he became a banker and in 1865 organized the First National Bank of Marshall, now the Michigan National Bank. He was a defendant in the famous Crosswhite fugitive slave case. A vice-president of the first Republican Convention at Jackson in 1854, Gorham later was a state senator. During the 1870s he served the United States as Minister to the Netherlands and then as Assistant Secretary of the Interior. — Map (db m28375) HM
Michigan (Calhoun County), Marshall — 1226 — First Baptist Church
The Reverend Thomas Z.R. Jones, a traveling missionary, began visiting the Marshall area in 1838. On January 16, 1840, he helped organize the First Baptist Church of Marshall with eight members. The group erected this church in 1850-51. They enlarged and remodeled it in 1876 with plans provided by Benjamin J. Bartlett of Chicago. The handsome Romanesque church, now the oldest church edifice in the city, features rounded-arch stained glass windows and an early example of a modified Akron (semicircular) seating plan. — Map (db m28377) HM
Michigan (Calhoun County), Marshall — 1051 — Grand Army of the Republic / The G.A.R. Hall
(Front): In 1866 northern Civil War veterans organized the Grand Army of the Republic to fight for veterans' pensions and other benefits. Michigan's first chapter was formed the next year. National membership peaked in 1890 with 409,489 men, while Michigan's rolls crested in 1889 with more than 21,000 members. In its heyday, the G.A.R. was a powerful political pressure group. The society also provided food and clothing for indigent widows and orphans. The last state encampment was held . . . — Map (db m28380) HM
Michigan (Calhoun County), Marshall — 512 — Harold C. Brooks / Fitch-Gorham-Brooks House
(Front) Harold Craig Brooks (1885-1978) was Marshall's mayor from 1925 to 1931, patron, and philanthropist. His interest in city beautification set a standard for preservation and adaptive use as early as 1921. He owned and protected more than a dozen Marshall buildings. Brooks is responsible for the design of the Marshall Post Office, the conversion of the Old Stone Barn in Town Hall, and presentation of the Brooks Memorial Fountain to the city. He donated land for veterans, the . . . — Map (db m28382) HM
Michigan (Calhoun County), Marshall — 42 — Honolulu House
Abner Pratt settled in Marshall in 1839 and in the 1850s became Chief Justice of the State Supreme Court. In 1857-59 he was United States Consul to the Sandwich (Hawaiian) Islands. Returning home, he built this house in 1860 to recreate the island atmosphere. Teak and ebony were used, and murals on the walls depicted tropical plants and animals. In 1887 the interior was changed but the opulent style of the exterior, unique in the Midwest, has survived. — Map (db m28384) HM
Michigan (Calhoun County), Marshall — 989 — Howard F. Young / Postmasters
(Front) Howard F. Young (1889-1934), a native of Allegan, designed this Marshall post office building in 1932. Young studied engineering at the University of Michigan and was involved in construction work in Albany, New York, Detroit and Kalamazoo. His interest in restoring Greek Revival architecture is evident in his Marshall projects, which include the restoration of the Harold C. Brooks and other homes and the conversion of Marshall's livery stable into a town hall. Young also . . . — Map (db m28390) HM
Michigan (Calhoun County), Marshall — 503 — Isaac E. Crary and John D. Pierce / State School System
(Front) When attorney Isaac E. Crary came to Marshall in 1832 from Connecticut, he became fast friends with another transplanted easterner, the Reverend John D. Pierce. Interested in government and education, these two men in 1834-35 planned Michigan's public school system. The proposed system became law in 1835 when Crary headed the education committee of the state's inaugural constitutional convention. The following year Pierce was appointed state superintendent of education -- the . . . — Map (db m28391) HM
Michigan (Calhoun County), Marshall — 397 — Isaac E. Crary House
Michigan's first congressman lived here from the early 1840s until his death in 1854. Located on lots one and two, original plat, lower village, the house was a wedding gift from his father-in-law, Judge Abner Pratt. Arriving here in 1831, Crary was a member of Michigan's first constitutional convention. He was three times elected to congress, and twice to the legislature. In 1961 the building became the office of Marshall Savings and Loan Assn. — Map (db m28392) HM
Michigan (Calhoun County), Marshall — 888 — James A. Miner
James A. Miner, born in Marshall in 1842, began studying law in Clinton, Iowa, in 1860. Completing his studies in Marshall, he was admitted to the Calhoun County bar in 1863. There he was circuit court commissioner (1866-1870) and prosecuting attorney (1870-1874). His office was in this building from 1869 to 1873. His 1876 partnership with Francis A. Stace created one of the county's largest law firms. President Benjamin Harrison appointed him a Utah territorial justice in 1890, and he was . . . — Map (db m28393) HM
Michigan (Calhoun County), Marshall — 454 — John D. Pierce Homesite
On this foundation stood the log house of the Reverend John D. Pierce. Born in New Hampshire, Pierce moved to Marshall in 1831, where he founded the Congregational church. In 1834 he and Isaac Crary designed Michigan's school system, and from 1836 to 1841, he served as the state's and the nation's first superintendent of public instruction. Pierce died in 1882 and is buried in Marshall's Oakridge Cemetery, honored by a monument erected by Michigan schoolteachers. — Map (db m28394) HM
Michigan (Calhoun County), Marshall — 654 — Lieutenant George A. Woodruff
(Front): Lieutenant George A. Woodruff (1840-1863) graduated early from West Point because of the start of the Civil War. Young Woodruff served valiantly with the Army of the Potomac. At Gettysburg he was mortally wounded while defending the center of the Union line with his First U.S. Field Artillery (Battery I) against General George Pickett's Confederate charge on July 3, 1863. Lingering through the night, George Woodruff died the following day. (Reverse): After . . . — Map (db m28395) HM
Michigan (Calhoun County), Marshall — 375 — Marshall
Founded in 1831 by Sidney Ketchum and settles from New York and New England, the town was named in honor of Chief Justice John Marshall. Townsmen Isaac Crary and the Rev. John Pierce planned in 1834 the innovative Michigan public school system. Marshall's early hopes of becoming state capital were not rewarded, but the coming of the Michigan Central Railroad in 1844 increased prosperity, and the town remained a rail center until the 1870s. In 1863 the Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers was . . . — Map (db m28450) HM
Michigan (Calhoun County), Marshall — 2161 — Mary Miller / Hillside
(Front) This house, built for local attorney Henry W. Taylor and long owned by the Schuyler family, was also home to Mary "Mazie" Miller (1871-1941) and her husband, Craig. An outspoken suffragette and Republican political activist, Miller was an early president of the Michigan League of Women Voters. She resided here from 1905 until her death. During that time, Miller hosted many political luminaries, including future U.S. president William Howard Taft, as well as state legislators . . . — Map (db m28451) HM
Michigan (Cass County), Cassopolis — L487 — Cass County Courthouse
Completed in 1899, this wooden frame building with limestone veneer is the third courthouse to serve Cass County. The Territorial Government of Michigan established the county in 1829 and named it after then Governor Lewis Cass. Two years later Cassopolis became the county seat. The Board of Supervisors built the first courthouse in 1835 away from the Public Square. The area's rapid growth necessitated the erection of a second courthouse on the Public Square in 1841. Nineteen years later some . . . — Map (db m64729) HM
Michigan (Cass County), Cassopolis — L1352 — Chain Lake Baptist Church and Cemetery
In the 1830s southern runaway slaves bound for freedom in Canada came into Michigan near Cassopolis. In 1840, Cass County's Quaker community, which provided a haven for the fugitives, became an integral part of the Underground Railroad. Many free African-Americans also settled permanently in Calvin Township. In 1838, Cass County's first African-American church was organized here. In 1853 the Michigan Antislavery Baptist Association, later renamed the Chain Lake Baptist Association, was formed. . . . — Map (db m64712) HM
Michigan (Cass County), Cassopolis — 30 — Freedom RoadMichigan Legal Milestone
Beginning in 1829, Penn, Calvin, and Porter townships in Cass County were settled by Quakers who migrated there. Free Blacks also settled there, and both groups lived in harmony. Blacks in Cass County enjoyed many rights, such as the right to own land, the right to trial by jury, and the right to vote in elections—rights not available to all Blacks in the nation until the passage of the 14th and 15th Amendments to the U.S. Constitution. The free Blacks and Quakers in this area were the . . . — Map (db m62361) HM
Michigan (Cass County), Cassopolis — L367 — Newton House
Designed by Christian Haefner in the 1860s, this house belonged to George Newton, a state legislator. The cupola, projecting eaves, and symmetrically grouped windows distinguish its architecture. This building is located in the 580 acre densely timbered Fred Russ Experimental Forest, which Michigan State University used as a forestry school after receiving it as a gift in 1942. The Cass County Historical Commission has restored this elegant structure. — Map (db m64730) HM
Michigan (Cass County), Dowagiac — Dowagiac Civil War Monument
(South Side) Erected by H.C. Gilbert Post No. 47 G.A.R. Comrs. Fred E. Lee, Prest. J. Edwards, 1st Vice Prest. H. Goddings, 2nd Vice Prest. H.S. McMaster, Sec. Willis M. Farr, Tres. 1861-1865 (North Side) Cass Countie's Tribute to the soldiers and sailors of the Civil War Erected 1907-8 — Map (db m64761) WM
Michigan (Cass County), Dowagiac — L1977 — First Methodist Episcopal Church
Circuit-riding ministers established a Methodist class in Silver Creek Township in 1843. Five families attended the earliest meetings, held in the home of Leroy L. Curtis, the first class leader. In 1844 the Reverend David Whitlock was appointed minister to the group and conducted services in the Indian Lake schoolhouse. During the ministry of the Reverend John R. Richards, church members used lumber from nearby farms to build this Greek Revival style church in 1869. Two local men, Enos . . . — Map (db m64737) HM
Michigan (Cass County), Dowagiac — L348 — Sacred Heart of Mary Catholic Church
Chief Leopold Pokagon and his tribe of Potawatomi Indians built a log church here in 1838 and deeded the forty acres of land on which it stood to the Catholic Bishop of Detroit. Pokagon, who came to Silver Creek Township from his village outside of nearby Niles, was buried on this site in 1841. During the early 1840s the Holy Cross Fathers of Notre Dame in Indiana ministered to the Indians. In 1844 Father Theophile Marivault became the church's permanent priest; he was followed by Father Louis . . . — Map (db m64735) HM
Michigan (Cass County), Dowagiac — L1028A — St. Paul's Church / Episcopal Church
(Obverse Side) St. Paul's Church Under the leadership of Justus Gage (1805-1875), this structure was built as a Universalist church. Completed at a cost of $3,000, it is Dowagiac's oldest public building. At the time of completion, it was the town's only auditorium. Women's rights advocates Victoria Woodhull, Belva Lockwood, Anna Shaw, Mary Livermore and Susan B. Anthony spoke here, as did black civil rights supporter Sojourner Truth. Performers appearing in the auditorium . . . — Map (db m64731) HM
Michigan (Cass County), Edwardsburg — L821A — District Schoolhouse
This late-Victorian schoolhouse was built in 1874-75. Constructed at a cost of $3,000, it is made of locally manufactured yellow and red brick. The 1882 Cass County History described it as "the best rural schoolhouse in the State." Its two classrooms could accommodate 110 pupils. The school was used until the local district was absorbed into the Constantine School District in 1959. In 1964 the building became the township hall; and in 1972, the Mason Union Branch of the Cass County Library. — Map (db m64644) HM
Michigan (Cass County), Edwardsburg — Schoolhouse Bell
The District No. 5 bell was originally installed in 1875. The Bell was removed from the building in 1964, during remodeling, and sold to a local farmer. It was later sold to James Loop, who took it to his home in Wichita, Kansas. In 1996, the bell was purchased by Bill and Jean Hoffman and brought back to its original site. The bell was cast at the Gould Mfg. Co. in Seneca Falls, New York in 1870, at a cost of $40. It weighs 390 pounds. — Map (db m64646) HM
Michigan (Cass County), Edwardsburg — L652A — Smith's Chapel
The first Methodist church in Milton Township was organized in 1839. The following year, this church was built and named Smith's Chapel to honor Canon Smith, who had contributed generously to the construction of the church. Smith, a native of Delaware, bought land here in 1829 and settled on it in 1831. The chapel is one of the oldest Methodist churches in southwestern Michigan. In 1967 regular church services were discontinued. Milton Township purchased the structure in 1972. It now serves as a wedding and funeral chapel. — Map (db m64740) HM
Michigan (Cass County), Edwardsburg — L2079 — The Presbyterian Church
In 1831, Luther Humphrey of the American Home Missionary Society organized the Presbyterian Church of Edwardsburg. He described the village as "a few log cabins...standing amongst the bushes and brush." Members worshipped in homes until the chapel was built in 1856. In 1923, Emily Coolidge Chapin of Chicago donated money to renovate the church. The former Edwardsburg resident was the widow of iron entrepreneur Charles Chapin. — Map (db m64739) HM
Michigan (Cass County), Howard — Howard Township Hall
The first white settlers located in this vicinity about 1826. The first school was held in an abandoned log cabin in the northwest part of the township in 1833. Howard Township was organized by an Act of the Territorial Legislature on March 7, 1834. The population was 366 in 1837. This TOWN HALL, originally 24 ft. by 36 ft., then called a "Town House," was built in 1883 at a cost of $775. — Map (db m64741) HM
Michigan (Cass County), Jones — L1817C — Poe's Corners
In 1835, George Poe (1779-1851) emigrated from Crawford County, Ohio, and settled on land deeded to him by the U.S. government. Within two years he acquired 520 acres of land in Newberg Township. Many members of the Poe family settled in this vicinity, and it became known as the Poe Neighborhood and Poe's Corners. In 1838 the first recorded burial, that of Rachel Everhart, occurred in Poe's Cemetery, located on one corner of George Poe's farm. The First Regular Baptist Church of Newberg, also . . . — Map (db m64546) HM
Michigan (Cass County), Pokagon — L668 — Methodist Episcopal Church / The Old Rugged Cross
(Obverse Side) Methodist Episcopal Church Circuit-riding Methodist ministers held religious services in Pokagon Township during the 1830s and 1840s. A class was organized in Sumnerville in 1840. In 1876 the Methodists purchased this building, which had been built in 1862 as a hops barn, and renovated it as a church. They constructed a belfry and installed pews and stained glass windows in pointed frames. In this church, in 1913, "The Old Rugged Cross" was sung in its entirety . . . — Map (db m64747) HM
Michigan (Cass County), Sumnerville — S666/L667 — Sumnerville Mounds / Sumnerville Cemetery
(Obverse Side) Sumnerville Mounds Between the first and fourth centuries A.D. Hopewell Indians built nine burial mounds near here. The six remaining earthen mounds reflect the Hopewellian culture, which flourished in the Eastern Woodlands of North America, primarily in Illinois and Ohio. Sumnerville is one of the few places in Michigan where Hopewellian mounds have survived into the twentieth century. While most mounds have been destroyed by plowing or construction, the . . . — Map (db m64742) HM
Michigan (Cass County), Vandalia — Birch Lake Meeting House
Quakers from the mid-Atlantic region settled here during the 1830's. This is the site of the meeting house, built in 1856, which replaced a log cabin dating from 1837. The congregation contained many active Abolitionists, and this area soon became an important link in the Underground Railroad. In 1927 the property was deeded to the Birch Lake Cemetery Association to be used "for the spiritual betterment of the community." — Map (db m68407) HM
Michigan (Cass County), Vandalia — S137 — The Underground Railroad
Vandalia, prior to the Civil War, was the junction of two important "lines" of the "Underground Railroad." Slaves fleeing through Indiana and Illinois came to Cass County, where Quakers and others gave them shelter. Fugitives seeking a refuge in Canada were guided to "stations" to the east. Many stayed here and built a unique Negro rural colony. Slave-hunting by Kentuckians in 1847 led to legal action and increased North-South tensions. — Map (db m64724) HM
Michigan (Cass County), Vandalia — The Underground Railway
This boulder commemorates a station of the Underground Railway used from 1840 to 1850. It was the home of Stephen Bogue who aided runaway slaves on their way to freedom. — Map (db m68754) HM
Michigan (Cheboygan County), Indian River — 127 — Inland Waterway
The glaciers of the last Ice Age retreated to the north some 25,000 years ago, leaving behind the lakes that rank as Michigan's most notable geographical feature. Among the state's largest inland lakes is Burt Lake, named after William A. Burt, who, together with John Mullett, made a federal survey of the area from 1840 to 1843. By following the Cheboygan River, Mullett Lake, and Indian River to Burt Lake, Indians and fur traders had only a short portage to Little Traverse Bay. Thus they . . . — Map (db m33247) HM
Michigan (Cheboygan County), Mackinaw City — Island-Hopping the Straits
In 1920 the need for extensive highways in Michigan was becoming evident and Horatio S. Earle, highway commissioner, suggested a submerged, floating tunnel. A counter-proposal was made by C. E. Fowler, a consulting engineer from New York City. The Fowler proposal suggested a series of causeways and bridges starting near Cheboygen and proceeding via Bois Blanc Island, Round Island and Mackinac Island to St. Ignace. In 1934 the Mackinac Straits Bridge Authority engaged Fowler to further . . . — Map (db m1987) HM
Michigan (Cheboygan County), Mackinaw City — 377 — Old Mackinac Point Lighthouse
This light is opposite the turning point for ships making the difficult passage through the Straits of Mackinac, one of the busiest crossroads of the Great Lakes. McGulpin's Point light, two miles to the west, had been established in 1856, but it was not visible from all directions. In 1889 Congress appropriated funds for the construction of a steam-powered fog signal here, which went into operation on November 5, 1890. Construction of the light tower and attached lightkeeper's dwelling began, . . . — Map (db m40053) HM
Michigan (Cheboygan County), Mackinaw City — 1154 — Old Mill Creek
In 1780 the British garrison at Fort Michilimackinac moved to Mackinac Island as a safer location during the American Revolution. Robert Campbell built a sawmill on this site to furnish lumber for the new fort and settlement. His sawmill and dam were one of the earliest industrial enterprises in northern Michigan.

The Complex later included a grist mill, an orchard, a blacksmith shop, a warehouse and several homes. Michael Dousman purchased the site in 1819 and continued to operate the . . . — Map (db m59978) HM

Michigan (Chippewa County), Brimley — Point Iroquois
This point of land is the historic battleground where the westward invasion by the Iroquois Indians was halted by the victorious Chippewa. Off the point colorful French-Canadian voyageurs paddled canoes heavily laden with furs. The 18th century fur traders were forerunners of commercial shipping on Lake Superior. On June 27, 1831 Henry Rowe Schoolcraft led an expedition from this point to assist trade and to gain favor with the warring bands of Chippewa and Sioux Indians in the Upper . . . — Map (db m4452) HM
Michigan (Chippewa County), DeTour Village — 2252 — DeTour Reef Light Station
Side One: Located where the St. Mary’s River enters Lake Huron from Lake Superior, DeTour Passage separates the Upper Peninsula from Drummond Island. It has long been a choke point for Great Lakes shipping. Anticipating increased traffic as a result of the locks planned at Sault Ste. Marie, the U.S. Lighthouse Service built an onshore light station on Point DeTour in 1848. As vessels grew in size, DeTour Reef, which extends a mile from Point DeTour in twenty feet of water, became a . . . — Map (db m70781) HM
Michigan (Chippewa County), Paradise — 725 — Emerson
Once a thriving hub of pine lumbering, Emerson is now a fishing hamlet. Just one mile south of the mouth of the Tahquamenon River (immortalized in Longfellows poem “Hiawatha”), this settlement overlooks picturesque Whitefish Bay. The village was founded by Kurt Emerson, a lumberman from the Saginaw Bay area, in the 1880's. Emerson erected a sawmill and in 1884 sold his establishment to the Chesbrough Lumber Company. Milling and lumbering operations ceased in 1912, at which time . . . — Map (db m44588) HM
Michigan (Chippewa County), Paradise — 272 — Whitefish Point Lighthouse
This light, the oldest active on Lake Superior, began operating in 1849, though the present tower was constructed later. Early a stopping place for Indians, voyageurs, and Jesuit missionaries, the point marks a course change for ore boats and other ships navigating this treacherous coastline to and from Saint Mary's Canal. Since 1971 the light, fog signal, and radio beacon have been automated and controlled from Sault Sainte Marie. — Map (db m40054) HM
Michigan (Clinton County), St. Johns — L765 — Paine-Gillam-Scott House
Lured by the railroad, John W. Paine (1821-1870) moved from the nearby Rochester Colony to St. Johns. In 1860 he built the town's first brick store and this house. The office was later added to this site. Dr. Samuel Gillam (1845-1908) remodeled the house in 1883. In 1904 he was joined by Dr. Walter M. Scott (1875-1934), who practiced here until his death. The Clinton County Historical Society restored the house in 1978 and the office in 1986. — Map (db m68222) HM
Michigan (Crawford County), Grayling — S0709 — The Return of Kirtland's Warbler
The Kirtland's Warbler was first identified in 1851 from a specimen collected on Dr. Jared Kirtland's Ohio farm. The birds originally depended on fire-created young jack pine forests for summer nesting. Such forests in northern Michigan became their prime global summer breeding habitat. Kirtland's Warbler faced extinction due to the loss of habitat and the invasion of parasitic brown-headed cowbirds, which lay eggs in warbler nests and whose young survive at the expense of warbler nestlings. . . . — Map (db m33239) HM
Michigan (Emmet County), Mackinaw City — S0011 — Fort Michilimackinac
This fort, built about 1715, put French soldiers at the Straits for the first time since 1701. French authority ceased in 1761 when the British troops entered the fort. On June 2, 1763, during Pontiac's uprising, Chippewa Indians seized the fort, killing most of the small force, and held it a year. When the British moved to Mackinac Island in 1781, this old fort soon reverted to the wilderness. — Map (db m7670) HM
Michigan (Emmet County), Mackinaw City — Mackinac BridgeCourageous Members of Organized Labor
1954 – 1958 State of Michigan Hon. G. Mennen Williams · Governor Mackinac Bridge Authority Prentiss M. Brown · Chairman Charles T. Fisher, Jr. · Deceased; George A. Osborn Mead L. Bricker; Murray D. Van Wagoner William J. Cochran; Fred M. Zeder · Deceased Charles M. Ziegler · St Highway Commissioner · 1950-57 John C. Mackie · State Highway Commissioner · 1957- Lawrence A. Rubin · Executive Secretary Sanford A. Brown · Treasurer D. B. Steinman · . . . — Map (db m1995) HM
Michigan (Emmet County), Petoskey — 166 — Little Traverse Bay
For centuries this region has been the home of Ottawa Indians, whose warriors and orators fought bravely to retain their land. Around 1700 a mission was built by French Jesuits at the famous L'Arbre Croche villages which stretched from Cross Village to Harbor Springs. Petoskey, named for Chief Pe-to-se-ga of the Bear River Band, was first settled in 1852 by Andrew Porter, a Presbyterian missionary. With the coming of the railroad in 1873 it changed rapidly from primitive settlement to one of . . . — Map (db m55405) HM
Michigan (Genesee County), Otisville — L2180 — E. S. Swayze Drugstore
E. S. Swayze opened a drugstore on this site prior to 1870. When the store burned in 1874, Swayze built this one. Members of the Free Methodist Church used the second-floor meeting hall for services from 1887 to 1890. In 1903 Masonic Lodge #401 and the Order of the Eastern Star bought the building, which they owned until 1970. This intact commercial building is listed in the National Register of Historic Places. — Map (db m33728) HM
Michigan (Genesee County), Otisville — L2191 — Laing-Mason House
This house was built in stages between the 1860s and the 1930s. In 1889 Dr. John B. Laing and his wife, Harriet, purchased the house. Raised in Vermont, Laing (1846-1908) came to Otisville in 1871 as one of the village's earliest physicians, and became one of Otisville's most important citizens. At his death Laing owned 120 acres of land. The property changed hands six time before being purchased in 1935 by George W. and Frances Mason. George Mason (1887-1978) owned the Mason Tackle Company of . . . — Map (db m33731) HM
Michigan (Gogebic County), Bessemer — 292 — Copper Peak Chippewa Hill
At an altitude of more than 1500 feet, 300 feet above the surrounding terrain, this location was the southernmost area in Michigan to offer a prospect of producing copper in commercial amounts. The Chippewa Copper Mining Company began work here in 1845, sinking a still-visible tunnel into the granite rock. No copper was ever produced, although around 1900 the Old Peak Company made further explorations. In 1970 a 280-foot ski slide, the highest in the world, was completed on the peak in time for . . . — Map (db m45043) HM
Michigan (Gogebic County), Bessemer — 89 — Gogebic Iron Range
The Gogebic was the last of the three great iron ore fields opened in the Upper Peninsula and northern Wisconsin. Beginning in 1848 with Dr. A. Randall, federal and state geologists had mapped the ore formations almost perfectly long before any ore was mined. One geologist, Raphael Pumpelly, on the basis of his studies in 1871, picked out lands for purchase which years later became the sites of the wealthy Newport and Geneva mines. The first mine to go into production was the Colby. In 1884 it . . . — Map (db m45035) HM
Michigan (Gogebic County), Bessemer — Memory Lane Highway
Honoring the men and women from this community who served their country. Sponsored jointly by the Bessemer Woman’s Club and the Michigan State Highway Department Dedicated May 30, 1949 — Map (db m45037) HM
Michigan (Gogebic County), Ironwood — 560 — Curry House
Here lived Solomon S. Curry, pioneer in the mining industry of the Ironwood area. Curry, a progressive, broad-minded man, was also instrumental in the building of the city of Ironwood, which through his efforts, grew from a wilderness to one of the major cities in northern Michigan. A Democrat, Curry was elected State Representative in 1874 and was a candidate for lieutenant governor in 1896. Restored to its original appearance, the Curry House has Tiffany windows, nineteenth century light fixtures, and ornate woodwork. — Map (db m45047) HM
Michigan (Gogebic County), Ironwood — 523 — Newport Hill
On this site, on October 8, 1871, geologist Raphael Pumpelly of Harvard University discovered one of the iron ore formations that created Gogebic County’s “boom era”. The Newport Mine, named for Pumpelly’s home in Rhode Island, began operations in 1884; the Geneva Mine in 1887. By the closing of mines in 1966, 255 million tons of iron ore had been shipped from Gogebic County, and 67 million from adjoining Iron County Wisconsin.

Marker donated by the Gogebic Chapter of the . . . — Map (db m45048) HM

Michigan (Gogebic County), Ironwood — 12 — Norrie Park
This recreational area was named in honor of A. Lanfear Norrie, who in 1882 began to explore for iron ore on the Gogebic Range. His discovery resulted in the opening of the Norrie Mine in Ironwood. Soon other mines, such as the Ashland, Aurora, Pabst, and Newport were booming in these bustling locations. Ironwood is said to have been named after the mining “captain,” James Wood, who was nicknamed “Iron” Wood. After a destructive fire in 1887, the community was rebuilt. — Map (db m45038) HM
Michigan (Gogebic County), Ironwood — Pabst Mine "H" Shaft
On Friday, September 24th, 1926, a disaster occurred at the Pabst Mine. "G" Shaft, located approximately 300 yards southwest of this spot, collapsed. 3 men riding in the cage freefell 2,600 feet. 43 men were trapped on the 8th level, 727 feet below the surface. Five days later, 7,000 people were gathered here to watch the rescue of all 43 men from the "Worst mine disaster of the century." — Map (db m45051) HM
Michigan (Hillsdale County), Allen — Allen Civil War Monument
Forty two years after the surrender at Appomattox, this monument is dedicated to the memory of heroic men who imperilled their lives for the preservation of the Union Erected by a comrade who, by the fortunes of war, was permitted to return home and enjoy the blessings of peace May 30, 1907 — Map (db m66786) WM
Michigan (Hillsdale County), Allen — Allens' Own Congressional Medal of Honor Recipients
Civil War Captain William G. Whitney 1840 - 1915 Born: Allen, Michigan Company B Eleventh Michigan Infantry Medal of Honor Award: September 20, 1863 Chickamauga, Georgia Vietnam War Staff Sergeant James Leroy Bondsteel 1947 - 1987 Born: Jackson, Michigan Company A, 2nd Battalion, 2nd Infantry, 1st Infantry Div. Medal of Honor Award: May 24, 1969 An Loc Province, Republic of Vietnam — Map (db m66785) HM WM
Michigan (Hillsdale County), Allen — L1899C — Captain Moses Allen
Moses Allen fought in the War of 1812, later serving as a captain in the Michigan militia. He became the first "white settler" in present-day Hillsdale County, settling here in April 1827, two years after working on the Chicago Road (present-day US-12) survey. The area once known as Allen's Prairie now constitutes the village of Allen. When the Allens built their cabin, their closest neighbor was fifty miles away. Soon, more settlers moved to the prairie. Allen had claimed his tract, but it was . . . — Map (db m66775) HM
Michigan (Hillsdale County), Camden — Where Indiana, Michigan, and Ohio Meet
130 feet south is the point where Indiana, Michigan, and Ohio meet. — Map (db m62129) HM
Michigan (Hillsdale County), Hillsdale — L1275 — College Baptist Church
This church was incorporated as the First Free Will Baptist Church on November 24, 1855. The congregation met at the Hillsdale College Chapel until the present church was constructed in 1867-68. This Romanesque building was designed by a Chicago architect using sketches of European cathedrals prepared by Wayland Dunn. Wayland was the son of Professor Ransom Dunn, the pastor at the time of construction. The only alteration of the exterior has been the loss of the southeast spire, which was toppled by the wind in 1871. — Map (db m32250) HM
Michigan (Hillsdale County), Hillsdale — S0294 — Hillsdale
The plat for the village of Hillsdale was filed in July, 1839, though the first settlement probably occurred a few years previously. Before that time this area had been inhabited mainly by a band of Potawatomi Indians led by their chief, Baw Beese. Jonesville was the first county seat, but Hillsdale gained this distinction in 1843 due to its more central location and the completion of the Michigan Southern Railroad to the town. The first Hillsdale County Fair was held on this site in 1851. . . . — Map (db m33598) HM
Michigan (Hillsdale County), Hillsdale — 230 — Hillsdale College
In 1844 a group of Freewill Baptists organized Michigan Central College at Spring Arbor. This college was the first in Michigan to grant degrees to women. Moved to Hillsdale in 1853 and chartered by the legislature in 1855, the school was renamed Hillsdale College under an independent board of trustees, its only controlling organization. The charter opened the institution "to all persons ... irrespective of nationality, color, or sex." — Map (db m34216) HM
Michigan (Hillsdale County), Hillsdale — L1985 — Saint Peter's Episcopal Church
In 1839 Episcopalians held the first church service in Hillsdale. Saint Peter's Church was organized in 1844. The original Gothic Revival church dates from 1859 and forms the sanctuary of the present church. Saint Peter's housed the first pipe organ and church bell in Hillsdale. In 1881 the steeple, vestibules and transept were added. Following fires in 1935 and 1965 that destroyed most of the interior, the building was restored. — Map (db m33602) HM
Michigan (Hillsdale County), Hillsdale — L1645 — St. Anthony's Catholic Church
The origins of Catholicism in Hillsdale County date to the 1840s when Irishmen who worked for the Southern Railroad settled here. In 1853 the Reverend Joseph Kindekens of Adrian and eighty-five people organized St. Anthony's parish. The former Presbyterian church, which was located on this site, became the first house of worship. In 1858 the Reverend Charles Ryckaert became the first pastor and built a rectory. After the Reverend Peter Slane arrived in 1878, the old church was razed to make way . . . — Map (db m33601) HM
Michigan (Hillsdale County), Hillsdale — Sultana
Dedicated to the memory of the 280 Michigan Civil War soldiers who lost their lives in America's worst maritime disaster, the sinking of the steamship "Sultana." These men were among more than 2,200 Union soldiers returning home from Confederate prison camps on April 27, 1865, when the vessel's boilers exploded at 2:00 a.m. on the Mississippi River near Memphis, Tennessee. The 18th Michigan Infantry, organized July 1862 in Hillsdale, lost 75 men, more than half of their number who were . . . — Map (db m33960) HM
Michigan (Hillsdale County), Hillsdale — The Will Carleton Poor House
This stone building is a part of the poorhouse that inspired Will Carleton's well-known poem "Over the Hill to the Poorhouse." — Map (db m32361) HM
Michigan (Hillsdale County), Jonesville — Father Gabriel Richard
Priest Educator-Statesman Secured funds in 1825 through the United States Congress for the survey of the Great Sauk Trail now U.S. Highway 112 thus opening this artery of civilization into the west — Map (db m32219) HM
Michigan (Hillsdale County), Jonesville — 84 — Grace Episcopal Church
William N. Lyster, Irish-born missionary, preached in Jonesville in 1836, and Darius Barker organized the parish in 1838. A church featuring Classical and Gothic styling was begun in 1844 and consecrated by Bishop Samuel McCoskry in 1848. Panelling and furniture made from black walnut are still in place. William Walton Murphy, a founder and vestryman, was Abraham Lincoln's consul-general to the German city of Frankfort. — Map (db m32190) HM
Michigan (Hillsdale County), Jonesville — 500 — Grosvenor House
Side 1 Completed in 1874, this structure of High Victorian Italianate design is one of the most magnificent residences in Michigan. The interior, an excellent example of a living museum of the 1870s, contains thirty-two rooms with twelve-foot ceilings. Other striking features are eight Italian marble fireplaces each of a different color, walnut window valances with carved Egyptian heads, and a sweeping balustrade staircase. Despite the fact that electricity was installed in 1915, this . . . — Map (db m33656) HM
Michigan (Hillsdale County), Litchfield — L814 — Congregational Church of Litchfield
Twenty charter members, led by the Reverend Elisha Buck, established this church on July 14, 1839. Founded as a Presbyterian mission, it was reorganized under the congregational polity by the Reverend J.J. Bliss in 1844. At first, worship services were held in a local school, which was also used by the Baptists and Methodists of Litchfield. This red brick, Gothic style structure was the second building erected by the congregation. Completed in 1870, it is the oldest extant church in Litchfield. . . . — Map (db m63316) HM
Michigan (Hillsdale County), Moscow — L1310 — Michigan and Ohio Railroad Depot
A grand celebration and a baseball game greeted the Michigan and Ohio Railroad when its track reached Moscow on September 4, 1883. This Stick Style station, completed the following month, was "quite an ornament to the place," according to the Hillsdale Standard. The two-room depot serviced mail, freight, and passengers for the two freight and two passenger trains passing through Moscow each day on the Michigan and Ohio's Allegan-Toledo line. In 1887 the Cincinnati, Jackson and Mackinaw . . . — Map (db m66791) HM
Michigan (Hillsdale County), Mosherville — L653A — Mosherville Church / Mosherville School
(Obverse Side) Mosherville Church The Mosherville Church was built in 1861-62 on land donated by Joseph and Mary Riggs. Originally part of the Litchfield circuit of the Methodist Episcopal Church, it became the home church of a separate circuit in 1870. The Ladies Aid Society was organized in 1891. In 1893 a bequest from Kate C. Brower allowed the society to enlarge the church, adding the Kate C. Brower Memorial Chapel. The church has held weekly non-denominational services . . . — Map (db m66790) HM
Michigan (Hillsdale County), Somerset Center — S0624 — W. H. L. McCourtie / W. H. L. McCourtie Estate
W. H. L. McCourtie Somerset Center native W. H. L. McCourtie (1872-1933) was introduced to the cement industry by W. F. Cowham of Jackson in 1897. McCourtie soon went to Dallas, Texas, where he made a fortune speculating in oil and established the Trinity Portland Cement Company. During the 1920s McCourtie returned to Somerset Center. In 1924 he acquired his family's home and turned it into a community showplace. McCourtie sought to create a model town, giving free white paint to any . . . — Map (db m33416) HM
Michigan (Huron County), Harbor Beach — "White Rock": The History, Oral Traditions, and Tales
"White Rock" is steeped in history and oral traditions. Henry Schoolcraft, in his Travels of 1820, speaks of the White Rock and its prominence. He says, "White Rock, an enormous detached mass of transition limestone standing in the lake at the distance of half a mile from the shore. This is an object looked upon as a kind of milestone by the voyageurs and is known to all canoe and boat travelers of the region." According to Anishinabeg oral tradition, the White Rock was once much larger . . . — Map (db m68867) HM
Michigan (Huron County), Harbor Beach — The Territory of Michigan and "White Rock"
In the early 1800s, "White Rock", a point well known to the Indians and early voyagers, played a significant role in defining settlements. The Act establishing the Territory of Michigan was passed January 11, 1805, and took effect June 30th of the same year. In order to facilitate the settlement of the territory, and in accordance with the policy adopted by the United States, a treaty was made November 17, 1807. Governor William Hull, (Michigan's first governor) acting for the . . . — Map (db m68866) HM
Michigan (Huron County), Huron City — S0369 — Pointe Aux Barques Lighthouse
The Pointe aux Barques Lighthouse and Lifesaving Station aided mariners for over a century, beginning in 1847. That year the United States Lighthouse Service built the first lighthouse on this site to mark the turning point of Lake Huron into Saginaw Bay and to warn of shallow waters. Catherine Shook became Michigan's first female light keeper when she took over for her husband, Peter, after he drowned in 1849. In 1857 the lighthouse and dwelling were replaced with the present 89-foot tower and . . . — Map (db m41201) HM
Michigan (Huron County), Port Hope — L0021 — Port Hope Chimney
This chimney was built in 1858 by John Geltz. It is all that remains of the lumber mill established that year by William R. Stafford. Port Hope grew up around the mill. For a score of years this town was a center of lumbering in the Thumb. It also became an important producer of salt. In 1871 and again in 1881 the mill, the docks, and possessions of hundreds of people were destroyed by fire. This chimney is a monument to those pioneers who by their courage and industry developed this area. — Map (db m41202) HM
Michigan (Ingham County), Lansing — First Michigan Sharpshooters
First Michigan Sharpshooters. [There follows a list of the regiment's officers.] The regiment was organized during the winter of 1862 and 1863 at Kalamazoo, Michigan. Disbanded at Jackson, Michigan, August 7th, 1865. The entire enrollment of the regiment that saw active service: 981. Officers and men killed and died of wounds: 113. Men died while prisoners of war: 41. Men died of disease: 109. Discharged account of wounds and disability: 353. Mustered out at close of war: 365. [There . . . — Map (db m26786) HM
Michigan (Ionia County), Belding — 816 — Alvah N. Belding Library
Alvah N. Belding erected this library in 1917/18 as a memorial to his parents, Hiram and Mary Wilson Belding. Alvah and his brother Hiram began peddling silk around Belding (then Patterson's Mills) in 1858. With the help of their brother Milo they began the internationally known Belding Bros. & Company in 1863. Michigan's first silk mill was erected here in 1886 and operated until 1932. This library, which cost $50,000, was dedicated and presented to the City of Belding on May 14, 1918. It is . . . — Map (db m55243) HM
Michigan (Ionia County), Belding — 1747 — Belrockton Dormitory
Built in 1906, the Belrockton is the last remaining boardinghouse of the three provided by the Belding Brothers and Company for its single female workers. A major silk manufacturer in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, the company employed hundreds of young women and earned Belding the title of “Silk City of the World.” Providing accom[m]odations for one hundred residents and staff, the Belrockton Dormitory, a Classical Revival-inspired building, was erected at a . . . — Map (db m55242) HM
Michigan (Ionia County), Belding — 2050 — Pere Marquette Railway Depot
Completed in 1923 for the Pere Marquette Railway, this depot is typical of the railroad stations that served Michigan towns during the early decades of the twentieth century. The depot replaced an earlier, wood frame station built during the 1880s when passenger service was introduced by the Detroit, Lansing, and Northern Railroad. By 1900 nineteen passenger trains passed through Belding each day except Sunday. Passenger service ceased in 1941. In 1994 the city of Belding purchased the . . . — Map (db m55241) HM
Michigan (Ionia County), Belding — 42 — White's Bridge
This picturesque covered bridge, one of the last of its kind in Michigan, was built in 1867 by Jared N. Brazee and J.N. Walker, builders of several covered bridges in this area. The name of the bridge derives from the White family, a prominent pioneer family. The crossing of the Flat River here was known an White's Crossing before the first primitive bridge was built. In 1840, a bridge of log corduroy construction was erected. It was replaced by this covered bridge, costing $1700. It is of the . . . — Map (db m55246) HM
Michigan (Ionia County), Saranac — 76 — Saranac
In 1836, when Saranac was settled, the upper Grand River Valley was a promising but undeveloped area. The soil was fertile; Lake Creek provided water power; and the river was navigable to Grand Rapids. The town grew slowly until 1857, when the coming of the Detroit and Milwaukee Railroad made Saranac a shipping center. Local products included such items as flour, lumber, hides, felloes, barrels, and staves. As the forest disappeared, manufacturing declined, and agriculture gradually became the dominant industry. — Map (db m55248) HM
Michigan (Ionia County), Saranac — 253 — The Roadside Table
Here on old U.S. 16 in Boston Township, Ionia County, the first picnic table along a highway right-of-way was placed in 1929 through the initiative of Allan Williams, county engineer. The table was built of salvage planks formerly used as guardrails. The idea immediately caught on and was adopted by the State Highway Department. The Ionia County Road Commission made the state's tables until the work became too great. The roadside table became an emblem of Michigan's hospitality, one which has been widely emulated by states the nation over. — Map (db m55249) HM
Michigan (Ionia County), Smyrna — 1063 — Smyrna
In 1843 Calvin Smith became the first white settler in the area. N.G. Chase opened a store here the following year. When Dr. Wilbur Fisher, the area's pioneer physician, began operating a rural post office in 1848, he named the community Smyrna after a Greek city. The village, platted as Mount Vernon was also called Mount Vernon Mills. In the 1880s, with a population of 300, Smyrna had a hotel on this site, plus saw and flour mills, a foundry, three blacksmiths shops, two churches and a wagon shop. — Map (db m55244) HM
Michigan (Iosco County), Tawas — Lumberman’s Monument
Erected to perpetuate the memory of the pioneer lumbermen of Michigan through whose labors was made possible the development of the prairie states. — Map (db m33032) HM
Michigan (Isabella County), Mount Pleasant — 133 — Central Michigan University
Privately organized by citizens of Mt. Pleasant in 1892, Central became Michigan's second state-supported normal school in 1895. This met a long-felt need for a state school in this region. At first the college was designed to prepare rural and grade school teachers. In the next three decades, however, the school grew into a four-year teachers college. Progress and growth since then have been even more notable in terms of standards, enrollment, facilities, and educational goals. Central had . . . — Map (db m45876) HM
Michigan (Jackson County), Grass Lake — L1854 — Grass Lake / Michigan Central Railroad Depot
(side 1) Grass Lake The first settlers arrived in Grass Lake in 1829. Two years later a post office, the second in Jackson County, opened at the settlement. In 1832 Grass Lake Township was created; the current boundaries were established in 1836. The village, which took its name from the nearby lake, was incorporated in 1871. The original village, Grass Lake Center, developed along Michigan Avenue about one and one-half miles east of here. However, in 1842 the Central Railraod . . . — Map (db m55223) HM
Michigan (Jackson County), Jackson — S0559 — Austin Blair
Austin Blair began his political career in Eaton Rapids, where he was elected Eaton County clerk in 1842. As a member of the Michigan House of Representatives (1846-1849), he served in the Judiciary Committee and was a leading supporter or the 1846 law to abolish capital punishment. He also introduced legislation to enfranchise black citizens. He was elected Jackson County prosecutor in 1852 and served in the state senate from 1855 to 1856. Elected governor in 1860 and in 1862, Blair personally . . . — Map (db m54275) HM
Michigan (Jackson County), Jackson — S0703 — Camp Blair
During the the American Civil War (1861-1865) one of Michigan's military headquarters was In Jackson. Camp Blair was planned 1863 as a draft rendezvous point and as a center for convalescing troops. Named for incumbent governor Austin Blair, a Jackson resident, it was built on this site to house 2,500 soilders. The 11-acre camp comprised offices, a hospital, barracks, and store-houses. The first troops arrived during the spring of 1864. In the year following the war over 22,000 Michigan troops . . . — Map (db m54315) HM
Michigan (Jackson County), Jackson — L147 — Ella Sharp Museum
In 1855 Abraham Wing purchased this farm for his widowed daughter, Mary. Within a year she married Dwight Merriman, and under their guidance, “Hillside” became a model farm, with over 600 acres of orchards and cultivated fields. In 1881 their first and only surviving child, Ella, married John C. Sharp, attorney and later state senator. Ella died in 1912, leaving the farm to the city of Jackson as a park. The house was opened as a museum in 1965. — Map (db m63843) HM
Michigan (Jackson County), Jackson — L1171 — First Baptist Church
In 1834 thirteen Jackson pioneers established the Barry-Jackson Baptist Church in Sandstone Township. Five years later the Reverend David Hendee and seventeen members of that church formed the First Baptist Church in Jackson. Meetings were held in several locations until 1868, when construction began on the present church. J.R. Lewis provided the plans and specifications for this Romanesque Revival-style structure. When a lack of funds resulted in repeated construction delays, “Uncle . . . — Map (db m54348) HM
Michigan (Jackson County), Jackson — L1410 — First Congregational Church
This monumental Romanesque Revival church was erected in 1859 according to plans by architect Horatio N. White of Syracuse, New York. It is this congregation's third church. In 1871 the building was raised eight feet to accommodate lower-level classrooms. In September 1861, on the eve of departing for duty in the Civil War, the "Jackson Blair Cadets" and the Jackson County Rifles gathered with their families in the crowded sanctuary. At Detroit's Fort Wayne the troops joined the Eighth and . . . — Map (db m54349) HM
Michigan (Jackson County), Jackson — L2166 — First Methodist Episcopal Church
The origins of the First United Methodist Church can be traced to 1831 when preacher Elijah Pilcher arrived in “Jacksonburgh” to serve the town's growing Methodist community. Services were held around town until a small church was erected in 1850. The congregation built a larger church at the present site in 1868. In 1922 Detroit architect W.E.N. Hunter designed the current Neo-Gothic structure around the 1868 church, which is still visible in the sanctuary. A larger pipe organ and . . . — Map (db m54374) HM
Michigan (Jackson County), Jackson — S0178 — First State Prison
This was the original site of Michigan's first state prison, approved by the legislature in 1838. A temporary wooden prison, enclosed by a fence of tamarack poles, was built on sixty acres donated for that purpose here. In 1839 the first 35 prisoners were received. A permanent prison was built three years later. Beginning in the 1880's under Warden H. F. Hatch a greater emphasis was placed on education and rehabilitation of prisoners. After 1934 the inmates were housed in the new prison north of Jackson. — Map (db m54645) HM
Michigan (Jackson County), Jackson — L2025 — Horace Ismon / Ismon Building
(side a) Horace Ismon This building was erected for Jackson dry goods merchant Horace Ismon in 1853. Ismon had begun his mercantile career in Paw Paw during the 1840s. Although established in Jackson, he continued his Paw Paw ventures, engaging in the woolen trade, building a tannery and grist and saw mills, and financing the Paw Paw Railroad. Ismon was a founding director of the Jackson County Bank in 1872. Having no children of their own, Ismon and his wife Clara, mentored . . . — Map (db m54647) HM
Michigan (Jackson County), Jackson — L1852 — Jacksonburg Public Square
On March 30, 1830, a commission appointed to choose Jackson County's seat of government reported: "A territorial road, call the St. Joseph's road, was last winter laid.... Where this road crosses the Grand river... a flourishing village is commenced." Named Jacksonburg, the village was surveyed and platted that year. Residents proclaimed the town the future site of the new state capital. The plat included a public square at the intersection of Jackson Street and the Territorial Road . . . — Map (db m54313) HM
Michigan (Jackson County), Jackson — Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument
To tbe soldiers and sailors of Jackson County who gave their services and many their lives to their country in the war for the Union, 1861-1865. Erected as a tribute of love and admiration by one of their companions-in-arms. May 30, 1903. Presented by General William H. Withington to the City of Jackson. Jackson County contributed to the Army and Navy in tbe War for the Union 3232 men. Aloft in the din of the battle Calls the flag when the bugle sounds dumb Now bidding give life but . . . — Map (db m53464) HM
Michigan (Jackson County), Jackson — L0587 — St. John's Church
Constructed in 1857, St. John's is the oldest Catholic Church in Jackson and was the only church of this denomination in this city until 1901. Bishop Peter Paul Lefevre laid the cornerstone for this structure in 1856. St. John's began as a mission in 1836 and officially became a parish twenty years later. At that time Father Charles Moutard, the first resident pastor, led the congregation, then predominately Irish in origin. The potato famine of 1845 in Ireland forced thousands of Irish to the . . . — Map (db m55417) HM
Michigan (Jackson County), Jackson — L0885 — St. Mary Star of the Sea Church
In 1880 Bishop Casper Henry Borgess of the Detroit Diocese approved the establishment of a second Catholic parish in the city of Jackson. The cornerstone ceremony for the parish church was held July 4, 1881. The present limestone Romanesque structure, erected in 1923/26 was designed by Frederick Spier of Detroit. One of the towers houses the 2,700-pound 1902 bell from the parish's first church. The edifice also features stained-glass windows imported from Innsbruck, Austria, and Italian Carrara . . . — Map (db m55220) HM
Michigan (Jackson County), Jackson — L1221 — St. Paul's Episcopal Church
On December 8, 1838, the founders of St. Paul's Parish met and began the task of drafting the Articles of Organization for a “new Protestant society.” The Parish of St. Paul's Church was officially established with the signing by twenty-two person of the Articles of Organization on January 12, 1839. Its first house of worship, a small frame church completed at a cost of $2,500 by vestry member Lemuel S. House, was consecrated on October 20, 1840. By 1859 the group had outgrown its . . . — Map (db m54646) HM
Michigan (Jackson County), Jackson — S0015 — Under the Oaks
On July 6, 1854, a state convention of anti-slavery men was held in Jackson to found a new political party. Uncle Tom's Cabin had been published two years earlier, causing increased resentment against slavery, and the Kansas-Nebraska Act of May, 1854 threatened to make slave states out of previously free territories. Since the convention day was hot and the huge crowd could not be accommodated in the hall, the meeting adjourned to an oakgrove on "Morgan's Forty" on the outskirts of town. Here a . . . — Map (db m55195) HM
Michigan (Jackson County), Springport — Springport (MI) and Vicinity Civl War Memorial
In memory of our soldiers and sailors of Springport and vicinity 1861 - 1865 Erected A.D. 1915 Vicksburg Shiloh Antietam — Map (db m56269) HM
Michigan (Kalamazoo County), Augusta — 1107 — Barn Theatre
The Barn Theatre, originally constructed in 1943 by Robert M. Cook as a dairy barn, is the home of Michigan's oldest resident summer stock theatre. Such theatres use a group of actors who perform consecutive productions of different shows. Founded in 1946 as the Village Players, the company first used the Community Hall in Richland. The company was incorporated as The Barn Theatre Inc. on July 12, 1949. It became an Equity (union of professional stage actors) theatre in 1951. The company has . . . — Map (db m44945) HM
Michigan (Kalamazoo County), Augusta — L2060 — Park Theatre
Built in 1949 by D. Eli and Dorothy Frank, this was one of the last single-screen theaters built in Kalamazoo County. The Art Moderne-inspired structure is a Quonset hut attached to a masonry lobby. Eli and Dorothy also operated a theater in Galesburg. Eli came from a family of small-town theater entrepreneurs. In 1911 his mother, Lena, opened the Frank Opera House in Wayland. His brothers wre also theater owners. The Park Theatre closed in 1996, but remained in use for special events. — Map (db m68816) HM
Michigan (Kalamazoo County), Climax — Climax World War II Memorial
In memoriam World War II Max Bailey    Loyd Puffer Amos Force    Wesley Simmonds Wilford Gibson    Carrol Smoke Dallas Malone    Fred Truby — Map (db m68800) WM
Michigan (Kalamazoo County), Climax — L1681B — Daniel B. Eldred House
In 1835, New York native Daniel B. Eldred built this house, which is believed to be the earliest frame dwelling in Climax. Eldred's house, with its delicate Federal entrance, was the site of the first Climax Township meeting in 1838. Eldred first came to the area in 1831 with his father, Judge Caleb Eldred, to found a new settlement. He is credited with naming the area Climax Prairie because he said it "climaxed" the end of their search. — Map (db m68801) HM
Michigan (Kalamazoo County), Climax — First Rural Free Delivery Carriers
(Tablet facing East) First rural free delivery carriers starting out from Climax post office. (From photo taken by Frank Hoogman) This tablet erected by Michigan Rural Letter Carriers' Association, 1917. (Tablet facing South)      Climax was discovered by Col. John Mullet, a government surveyor, in November, 1825. The name was selected by Daniel B. Eldred, in May, 1831. The first permanent settlers were Judge Caleb Eldred and sons, who located on Section 3, in . . . — Map (db m68799) HM
Michigan (Kalamazoo County), Cooper Township — L1445B — Cooper Congregational Church
(Side One) In 1843 the Reverends Mason Knappen and Ova Hoyt organized the Cooper Congregational Church with families from New York and Vermont. Church founders included Laura Blanchard, John and Betsy Borden, Mace, Nancy and John Borden, Matilda Delano, David Deming, Eliza Earl, Lydia Hart, Fidelia Pratt, William and Susan Lyman and Almon and Phoebe Monroe. These members first worshipped in a log schoolhouse at Cooper Centre. The present church was erected in 1856. (Side . . . — Map (db m68817) HM
Michigan (Kalamazoo County), Cooper Township — L432 — DeLano Homestead
William Smith DeLano (1819-1901) was a southwestern Michigan pioneer settler. He built this modest Greek Revival style house in 1858. A native of western New York State, DeLano came to the area with an uncle in 1837. He first worked clearing farms for neighbors. In 1843, at the age of twenty-three, he purchased forty acres and began the family farmstead. By 1854 DeLano owned over one hundred acres; by 1880 he had 235 acres. Over the years, DeLano's sons continued to purchase neighboring lands. . . . — Map (db m68820) HM
Michigan (Kalamazoo County), Galesburg — L767A — Congregational United Church of Christ
This congregation has held services continually since 1832. In 1852 it was formally organized as an offshoot of the First Presbyterian Church of nearby Comstock. Later that year the church's name was changed to the First Congregational Church. It became the Congregational United Church of Christ in 1960. This Greek Revival / Italianate structure, one of the oldest church buildings in Kalamazoo County, has been altered only slightly since it was built in 1861. — Map (db m68813) HM
Michigan (Kalamazoo County), Galesburg — S222 — The Kalamazoo Region
Kalamazoo is an Indian word said to mean "boiling water." Originally it was applied to the river that flows northwesterly to Lake Michigan. A trickle of settlers in the late 1820's became a torrent in the 1830's as the region's fertile prairies, oak openings, bottom lands, and ample sources of water power became known. The village of Bronson, founded in 1829 by Titus Bronson, is now the city of Kalamazoo. Here Lincoln made his only known Michigan speech. J. Fenimore Cooper wrote about the area . . . — Map (db m68803) HM
Michigan (Kalamazoo County), Galesburg — U.S.S. Maine Memorial
In Memoriam U.S.S. Maine Destroyed in Havana Harbor February 15th 1898 This tablet is cast from metal recovered from the U.S.S. Maine — Map (db m68811) WM
Michigan (Kalamazoo County), Galesburg — William Rufus Shafter Memorial
(Left Side Tablet) William Rufus Shafter A Michigan solider whose valorous conduct in the Rebellion, in the Indian Wars and in the Spanish-American War, added glory to the military annals of the United States. Born in this community on October 16, 1835. He grew to manhood in the pioneer life of Michigan, enlisting as a lieutenant in the Seventh Michigan Infantry on August 22, 1861, he won promotion by gallant and meritorious service, and was mustered out a . . . — Map (db m68812) HM WM
Michigan (Kalamazoo County), Hickory Corners — S605A — W.K. Kellogg House
W.K. Kellogg (1860-1951) founded the Toasted Corn Flake Company of Battle Creek in 1906. In 1925, Kellogg and his second wife, Dr. Carrie Staines, a physician at the Battle Creek Sanitarium, commissioned Benjamin and Benjamin of Grand Rapids to design a summer house here. Their picturesque estate included this Neo-Tudor manor house, a windmill, a greenhouse, a stable, a boathouse, a combined guest house, garage and chauffeur's residence and a caretaker's house. Marshall Field and Company of . . . — Map (db m68818) HM
Michigan (Kalamazoo County), Kalamazoo — L245A — Harris Family
Among the earliest pioneers of Oshtemo Township was a Black family, that of Enoch and Deborah Harris. Born in the East in the late 1700's, they settled in the Ohio wilderness about 1810. Moving westward with the advancing frontier, they claimed land near here in 1831. Early accounts agree that Harris planted the first apple orchard in the area, and their daughter was said to be the township's first bride. Farming over two hundred acres, Harris won the respect of his fellow settlers. He died in . . . — Map (db m23059) HM
Michigan (Kalamazoo County), Kalamazoo — In Memoriam U.S.S Maine
Upper Plaque: In Memoriam U.S.S. Maine Destroyed in Havana Harbor February 15th, 1898 This tablet is cast from metal recovered from the U.S.S. Maine Lower Plaque: Tablet secured for Richard Westnedge Camp No-16, United Spanish War Veterans by past Commander Gus L. Stein August 15-1913. Boulder presented by Holland Simmons of Orcutt Post No-79, G.A.R. — Map (db m30387) HM
Michigan (Kalamazoo County), Kalamazoo — S0153 — Kalamazoo School Case
Near here, in 1858, Kalamazoo's first high school was opened. Fifteen years later the right of the school board to levy taxes to support a high school was challenged. A unanimous decision of the Michigan Supreme Court, rendered by Justice Thomas M. Cooley in 1874, affirmed an opinion of Kalamazoo Circuit Judge Charles R. Brown that upheld this right. As a result the way opened for free high schools in Michigan and also in other states. — Map (db m43675) HM
Michigan (Kalamazoo County), Kalamazoo — 44 — Lincoln at Kalamazoo
On August 27, 1856, here in this park, Abraham Lincoln, then an obscure lawyer, spoke to a rally for John Frémont, the Republican presidential nominee. This was the only time that Lincoln addressed an audience in Michigan. The event was almost unnoticed in the press. Some Republicans felt the speaker was too conservative on the antislavery issue. Four years later Michigan's vote helped put Lincoln into the White House. — Map (db m26760) HM
Michigan (Kalamazoo County), Kalamazoo — Lincoln's August 1856 Speech in Kalamazoo
1861 - 1865 This tablet is placed here by Sarah E. Fuller - Tent No. 8 Daughters of Union Veterans of the Civil War Dept. of Michigan in memory of Orcutt Post No. 79 Kalamazoo, Dept. Of Mich. Grand Army of the Republic the veterans of the Civil War This boulder is placed on the spot where Abraham Lincoln stood when he gave an anti- slavery address in August, 1856. — Map (db m30396) HM
Michigan (Kalamazoo County), Kalamazoo — Spanish War Veterans Monument1898-1902
Erected by the citizens of Kalamazoo city and county to commemorate the valor and patriotism of those who served in the war with Spain, the Philippine insurrection, and the China relief expedition. Dedicated May 30th, A.D. 1924 under the auspices of Richard Westnedge Camp No. 16, United Spanish War Veterans, Department of Michigan. — Map (db m30386) HM
Michigan (Kalamazoo County), Kalamazoo — 565 — Stuart Neighborhood
Wealthy merchants and businessmen, seeking an escape from the hurried life of downtown living, built this prosperous neighborhood in the latter half of the nineteenth century. Movement to the suburbs gained in popularity after the 1850s, but lack of transportation hindered rapid development. The early suburbanites were mostly well-to-do and could afford to be a few minutes late to work if their buggies got stuck in the mud or snow. With the installation of horse-drawn trolleys in the 1880s, the middle class began to move here. — Map (db m64116) HM
Michigan (Kalamazoo County), Kalamazoo — 222 — The Kalamazoo Region
Kalamazoo is an Indian word said to mean "boiling water." Originally it was applied to the river that flows northwesterly to Lake Michigan. A trickle of settlers in the late 1820's became a torrent in the 1830's as the region's fertile prairies, oak openings, bottom lands, and ample sources of water power became known. The village of Bronson, founded in 1829 by Titus Bronson, is now the city of Kalamazoo. Here Lincoln made his only known Michigan speech. J. Fenimore Cooper wrote about the area . . . — Map (db m68804) HM
Michigan (Kalamazoo County), Portage — For A Pal
This sculpture is dedicated to all my Navy shipmates, Marine, Army and Coast Guard buddies, and allies of all faiths who served in the Guadalcanal Campaign from August 7, 1942 to February 17, 1943. These brave men and women were part of the first landing in World War II pertaining to the Pacific Theatre of Operations. Turner, O.L. EM 1/C Co. "D" - Platoon 2 26th Seabees Battalion, U.S.N. — Map (db m68828) WM
250 markers matched your search criteria.
Click to map all markers shown on this page.
Click First to browse through the results shown on this page.   First >> 


•••
More Search Options
 
Markers
Near You

 
Categories

 
States & Provinces

 
Counties
Click to List


 
Countries

Page composed
in 203 ms.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
To search within this page, hold down the Ctrl key and press F.
On an Apple computer,
hold down the Apple key and press F.