|Minnesota (Aitkin County), McGregor — Glacial Lake Aitkin / Peat|
Glacial Lake Aitkin
Two million years ago the first of four glaciers covered the surface of Minnesota. They were named for the limit of their southward expansion. The first was the Nebraskan, followed by the Kansan and the Illionian. The last was the Wisconsin. These large masses of snow and ice, thousands of feet thick, advanced and retreated across the face of Minnesota. About 10,000 years ago, the Wisconsin glacier melted and left behind the topography we see . . . — Map (db m43932) HM|
|Minnesota (Anoka County), Anoka — Bridging the Mississippi|
The Mississippi River was an obstacle to overland travelers attempting to cross to the other side. From1855 to 1884 a flat bottomed cable ferry was maintained between Anoka and Champlin. For a time two ferry companies operated at this crossing and the competition was so fierce that sometimes passengers were offered free passage.
In 1884 a steel bridge was constructed with a swinging center section to permit steamboat travel on the river. Mr. Charles G. Jackson of Anoka was the . . . — Map (db m70875) HM|
|Minnesota (Anoka County), Anoka — Circle of Life|
The Dakota and Ojibwa people believed that the confluence of two great rivers was a sacred place.
The Point was used as an encampment and gathering place for several tribes. It was also a meeting place to form hunting parties going north into the game-rich white pine forests on the upper Rum River.
These encampments were in the form of a circle. The Dakota believed that the circles symbolized the universe within which all elements are contained and have equal status.
The . . . — Map (db m70897) HM|
|Minnesota (Anoka County), Anoka — Fireman's Grove|
Fireman's Grove is located here in the area just above the confluence of the Rum River. It was named for the firemen who pastured their horses at The Point. Fireman's Grove became a favorite gathering place for townspeople and visitors who enjoyed picnics and Fourth of July celebrations here under the white pines.
unreadable text ...in 1864... picnics... at The Point. These all day events included the parade and brass band, patriotic speeches... the cool shade of the grove, . . . — Map (db m70973) HM|
|Minnesota (Anoka County), Anoka — Highway of Exploration|
The Rum and the Mississippi were highways for the earliest recorded European explorers of Minnesota. Many explorers traveled past The Point and some may have camped here including Radission, Hennepin, Du Luth, Pike, Faribault and Nicollet.
Father Louis Hennepin canoed by The Point in July of 1680 as a captive of the Dakota and again in August of 1680 in the company of Daniel Sieur Du Lhut.
In November of 1767 Jonathan Carver stopped at The Point. He is credited with naming the . . . — Map (db m70569) HM|
|Minnesota (Anoka County), Anoka — Logbooms Meet Sawmills|
The white pine forests fell to the logger's ax in the northern Rum River pineries, "Seventy mills in seventy years could not exhaust the white pine I have seen on the Rum River" predicted Daniel Stanchfield, a lumber-wise timber cruiser trained on the Penobscot River in Maine. He made his prediction after climbing tall trees and seeing mile after mile of white pine forest.
The first harvest of timber on the upper Rum River took place in 1820 when soldiers cut and rafted logs . . . — Map (db m70937) HM|
|Minnesota (Anoka County), Anoka — Perseverance Needed|
Struggles and hardship are expected in building a community, but Anoka may have had more than its share of disasters. Through each trial, the community rebounded and Anoka continues to be a vital, dynamic community.
Anoka County was organized in 1857 and the town of Anoka named the county seat. The fledgling community was immediately impacted by the grasshopper plaque as clouds of the insects devoured crops. On the heels of the grasshoppers came a financial panic that made banks . . . — Map (db m70953) HM|
|Minnesota (Anoka County), Anoka — River Highways|
The Rum and the Mississippi were river highways for the Dakota, the Ojibwa, European explorers, traders and settlers.
Between 1850 and 1870 the Rum and the Mississippi became "working rivers" for lumbermen. In the fall loggers traveled upstream to the "pineries" and cut logs throughout the winter. In the spring, river drivers living in steamboats and wanningans, rafted logs downstream to the sawmills at Anoka and St. Anthony Falls.
In June of 1850 the Governor Ramsey . . . — Map (db m70914) HM|
|Minnesota (Anoka County), Anoka — Rum River Dam|
|The first dam was built here in 1853 of logs and earth fill by Caleb and W.H. Woodbury. It washed away in high water in the Spring of 1854. A second dam was built in 1854 by James McCann. This dam and its pool provided 5 sluiceways for water power for 5 separate mills located near here but these furnished inadequate power so steam boilers and engines were installed. In 1969 the wooden dam was removed and the concrete dam seen here was built.
Facts compiled by Anoka County Historical Society 1976 — Map (db m70264) HM|
|Minnesota (Anoka County), Anoka — The Gathering Place|
The square of land on the east side of the Rum River just south of Main Street has been a place for Anoka citizens to gather since the town began in the mid-1800's. Known as Bridge Square, it was a place to share news, to hear speeches and concerts, to celebrate special occasions, or just to get together. This shelter, while not in the original location, was built in the image of the old band shell that stood a few hundred yards north of here.
Akin Riverside Historic Promenade — Map (db m70586) HM|
|Minnesota (Anoka County), Anoka — The Stone House / Robert W. Akin|
|The Stone House
Three stone houses were built during the 1920's by Thaddeus P. Giddings (1969-1954). Giddings was the Supervisor of Music for the Minneapolis Schools and founder of the National Music Camp in Interlachen, Michigan. The stone houses were part of the landscaping of Giddings' home and were places for the family to enjoy the river.
One house was located just north of the Eastman (Windego Park) Amphitheater. The other two were located on an island in the Rum River . . . — Map (db m70825) HM|
|Minnesota (Anoka County), Anoka — Where Cultures Meet|
Native peoples and traders met at a trading post constructed across the Rum River from The Point in 1844 by Joseph Bellanger. The Ojibwa brought furs and skins to trade for copper cooking pots, cloth, blankets, decorative beads and iron tools.
The trading post also served as a traveler's rest for settlers and traders using the nearby Red River Oxcart Trail. It was the first building constructed in Anoka and provided a temporary home for traders, missionaries and settlers. — Map (db m70921) HM|
|Minnesota (Anoka County), Anoka — Where Land and Water Meet|
The Mississippi River forms a unique and complex ecosystem spanning 2000 miles. From its origin at Lake Itasca in Northern Minnesota to its outlet in the Gulf of Mexico the river encompasses a diversity of life found only in a very few places on earth.
The river's history spans 750,000 years, having its beginning during the "Great Ice Age," or Pleistocene Epoch. As the glaciers retreated the glacial meltwater formed what is now the Mississippi River Basin. The north/south . . . — Map (db m70908) HM|
|Minnesota (Anoka County), Anoka — Why Settle Here? / Time to Play|
Why Settle Here? Looking for Work
Timber was a resource that drew many west and in 1847, surveyor Daniel Stanchfield noted, "Seventy mills in seventy years couldn't exhaust the white pine I have seen on the Rum River". The rivers provided transportation and power for the lumber industry. Logs were floated down river from the camps to the mills. Milled lumber was shipped by riverboat until the railroad reached Anoka.
Many people with experience in the lumber industry came . . . — Map (db m70982) HM|
|Minnesota (Anoka County), Coon Rapids — Coon Rapids Dam Regional Park — Mississippi National River and Recreation Area-Partner Site — East Visitor Center|
| The Mighty Mississippi River One of the world’s great rivers, the Mississippi trickles from Minnesota’s Lake Itasca, gathering the waters of the nation’s heartland as it flows to the Gulf of Mexico. On its timeless journey, the river weaves together the lives of people from the past, present, and future.
The Mississippi River remains a source of pride and enjoyment, both locally and nationally. Join us at the river! Coon Rapids Dam Hike the walkway behind you---it leads to the dam . . . — Map (db m70952) HM|
|Minnesota (Anoka County), Ramsey — Ice Age Souvenir — Great River Road Minnesota|
Twenty thousand years ago, a great sheet of ice, the Superior lobe, covered this
area. At its farthest advance, it formed the St. Croix moraine, a series of high hills to the
west, south, and east. When it melted, it left behind vast deposits of gravel, sand, and clay.
The Anoka Sand Plain
After the Superior lobe retreated, another glacier, the Grantsburg sublobe, moved in from the southwest, filling the lowlands with ice. Again the climate
warmed, melting the ice and . . . — Map (db m70297) HM|
|Minnesota (Anoka County), Ramsey — AN-RMC-008 — Itasca Village Townsite|
|Itasca grew up around an Indian trading post which was established 800 feet east of here in 1849 by Thomas A. Holmes and James Beatty. At the suggestion of Territorial Governor Alexander Ramsey, the settlement was named in honor of Lake Itasca, the source of the Mississippi River. In 1852 a substantial hotel was built, the village was platted, and Itasca boasted the first post office in present Anoka County. There was even an unsuccessful attempt to locate the territorial capital here.
. . . — Map (db m69908) HM|
|Minnesota (Becker County), Audubon — Cook Homestead|
|This plot marks the site of the home of John Cook, pioneer settler, who with his wife Diantha J., and children Freddie W., Mary E., and John W., were murdered by Indians April 26, 1872. — Map (db m60270) HM|
|Minnesota (Becker County), Tamarac National Wildlife Refuge — Old Government Road|
|This marker locates a part of the original trail which was cut out of the forest by the U.S. Army in 1868 to facilitate travel from Leech Lake to White Earth. Soldiers accompanied the paymasters along this road in the early days to provide protection when periodic payments were made to Chippewa tribal members. All these lands were included in the White Earth Indian Reservation in 1867. In 1889 Congress passed the Rice Treaty which assigned allotments of land within the reservation to individual . . . — Map (db m8537) HM|
|Minnesota (Big Stone County), Brown Valley — Browns Valley Man|
|On October 9, 1933, William H. Jensen, an amateur archaeologist, uncovered the badly broken skeleton of a man in a gravel pit on the plateau visible about ½ mile south of this marker. The plateau was formed as an island in the ancient River Warren, an outlet of Glacial Lake Agassiz.
From flint spear points of the parallel-flaked type found in the grave and from the surrounding geological evidence, University of Minnesota archaeologists estimated that the burial dated to about 6000 B.C. . . . — Map (db m70958) HM|
|Minnesota (Blue Earth County), Lake Crystal — Lake Crystal and the Railroad|
|"Who says we cannot build railroads in the winter?" asked the Mankato Weekly Union on December 10, 1869, in an article announcing that the tracks of the St. Paul & Sioux City Railroad had reached the new town of Lake Crystal.
The decision of the railroad late in 1868 to locate its Sioux City line from Mankato past Crystal Lake led directly to the founding of the town itself. By May of 1869 railroad surveyors were engaged in planning the townsite, which embraced 40 acres of the . . . — Map (db m67364) HM|
|Minnesota (Blue Earth County), Mankato — Amos Owen Garden of American Indian Horticulture|
Amos Owen was a Dakota elder and spiritual leader who wanted to preserve and restore traditional Dakota beliefs and practices. He believed that the suppression of Indian peoples had led to many parts of the culture being almost forgotten, and that this was a loss not only to Native Americans, but also to all people. This garden honors Amos’ commitment to cultural and spiritual renewal, cross-cultural understanding and Native people’s contributions to world food systems.
. . . — Map (db m21588) HM|
|Minnesota (Blue Earth County), Mankato — Civil War Monument|
|In Honor of
Union Veterans of
the Civil War
Erected by the City of Mankato
for Alexander Wilkin Post No. 19
Department of Minnesota
Grand Army of the Republic — Map (db m67086) WM|
|Minnesota (Blue Earth County), Mankato — Dakota (Sioux) Memorial – 1862|
|The last act of the Minnesota Dakota (Sioux) War took place here in Mankato on December 26, 1862 when thirty-eight Dakota Indians died in a mass execution on this site.
The Dakota War was a culmination of years of friction between Dakota and whites as settlement pushed into Indian hunting grounds. Government agents and missionaries hoped the Dakota could be taught to live as farmers and worship as Christians but Chief Big Eagle said many years later, “It seemed too sudden to make a . . . — Map (db m14195) HM|
|Minnesota (Blue Earth County), Mankato — Highland Park — Mankato's "First" City Park|
|This area (Bunker Hill) once served as a Civil War recruitment center, but this was not the primary reason for its acquisition. The Mankato City Council purchased approximately 10.2 acres at 150 dollars an acre on October 15, 1874, with the intention of providing local residents with the first, dependable, free-flowing well. The following year an attempt was made to sink an artesian well into the hillside, but the water level never reached higher than 78 feet from the surface. Despite the . . . — Map (db m68276) HM|
|Minnesota (Blue Earth County), Mankato — Ho-Chunk / Winnebago|
|Through treaty negotiations, the Ho-Chunk or Winnebago moved their homes to Blue Earth County in 1855, and by 1863 they were gone. Parts of what would become Minnesota, Wisconsin and Illinois had been their homeland for centuries. European explorers first contacted the Ho-Chunk near Green Bay, Wisconsin in 1614.
More than 2,000 Ho-Chunk resettled on a reservation located in present-day townships McPherson, Medo, Beauford, Decoria, Lyra, Rapidan and parts of South Bend, Mankato and LeRay. . . . — Map (db m14053) HM|
|Minnesota (Blue Earth County), Mankato — Hubbard House|
|Rensselaer Dean Hubbard, successful entrepreneur and civic leader, built his house on Broad Street in three stages: in 1871, 1888 and 1905. During the
late 19th century, many of Mankato’s captains of industry and commerce established their residences along Third Street (renamed Broad Street). This neighborhood became known as the “Silk Stocking District.” Hubbard’s home was constructed in the French second empire style featuring a mansard roof, brick and wood construction, and a . . . — Map (db m66338) HM|
|Minnesota (Blue Earth County), Mankato — Lincoln Park|
|The desire to honor the memory of Mankato's Civil War dead prompted a citizens' committee headed by John Ray to purchase the triangular parcel of land in the Warren's Addition, bordered by Broad, Lincoln and Grove streets, and dominated by a massive elm tree. On September 1, 1886, Trustees to Lincoln Park turned over the deed to the City of Mankato. In the mid-1880s, the Alexander Wilkin Post of the Grand Army of the Republic erected a bronze monument of a Civil War soldier standing on guard at . . . — Map (db m66655) HM|
|Minnesota (Blue Earth County), Mankato — Ott Cabin|
|Built in 1857 in Mankato Township and was moved to this site, which was once the site of the fur trading post of Henry H. Sibley by the Blue Earth County Historical Society in 1931. — Map (db m66845) HM|
|Minnesota (Blue Earth County), Mankato — Sibley Park|
On October 3, 1887 the City of Mankato purchased 120 acres for $13,088 at the confluence of the Blue Earth and Minnesota Rivers to create Mankato’s first park. Sibley Park was named for Henry Hastings Sibley (later Minnesota’s first Governor) who as early as 1840 had camped on the mound and later had a fur trading post
northwest of the mound. Today Ott’s cabin stands at this site. It was built in 1857 by George Ott and moved to this site in 1931.
The land has great historical . . . — Map (db m66483) HM|
|Minnesota (Blue Earth County), Mankato — Sibley Park World War I|
|On Flag Day in 1926, two German 105mm howitzer field guns were dedicated at this Sibley Park
site as war trophies and memorials to the sacrifice made by those who served from Blue Earth County in
the First World War. These artillery pieces were captured by the U.S. 1st Division at a battlefield near
Soissons in France on or about July 20, 1918.
Four soldiers from Blue Earth County were in the battle in which these guns were captured and
77 officers and 1,637 enlisted men gave up their . . . — Map (db m66757) HM|
|Minnesota (Blue Earth County), Mankato — Sinclair Lewis House|
|This brick home sheltered the renowned novelist Sinclair Lewis in 1919. A native of Minnesota, Lewis worked on the famed book, "Main Street," while residing here. Lewis was the first American to receive the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1930. — Map (db m66511) HM|
|Minnesota (Blue Earth County), Mankato — The First Mahkato Memorial Wacipi|
| This memorial is to honor those Dakota who created the First Mahkato Wacipi in 1972.
The Wacipi is to remember the thirty-eight Dakota executed in Mankato in 1862 and to create a spirit of reconciliation between the people of Mankato and the Dakota people.
The following Dakota people with members of the Mankato YMCA planned the first Wacipi:
Amos & Ione Owen • Wallace & Gertrude Wells, Sr. • David Larsen, Sr. • Norman & Edith Crooks • Amos & Rosemma Crooks • Hereditary Chief . . . — Map (db m17506) HM|
|Minnesota (Blue Earth County), Mankato — The Lorin & Lulu Cray Home|
Lorin & Lulu Cray Home
was given to the
Young Women's Christian Association
for the women and girls of
Mankato and vicinity
Judge and Mrs. Lorin Cray
This property has been
placed on the
of Historic Places
by the United States
Department of the Interior — Map (db m66783) HM|
|Minnesota (Blue Earth County), Mankato — Washington Park / Fourth Street Route Depot Grounds|
During the summer of 1868, the Minnesota Valley Railway Company contracted more than 500 people to grade and lay ties and tracks from Kasota to Mankato, reaching Mankato October 3, 1868.
The mainline was known as the "Fourth Street Route" and the railroad yard occupied the Fourth Street right-of-way from Madison Avenue to Mulberry Street. The timber-framed depot was the showcase on this route. This plaque is near the center of the old depot. Directly north of the . . . — Map (db m66635) HM|
|Minnesota (Brown County), Cobden — Cobden|
Cobden is a railway village in Prairieville Township. It was originally named North Branch because of its location near Sleepy Eye Creek, the principal north branch of the Cottonwood River. In 1886 its name was changed to Cobden for the English statesman Richard Cobden. It was platted in 1901 and incorporated in 1905. Its first officers were Thomas Peterson, president; A. Newdall, A.C. Klein, and Herman Altermatt, councilmen; and J.F. Brodish, recorder. Christian Emmerich served as the first . . . — Map (db m69835) HM|
|Minnesota (Brown County), Courtland — The Evacuation of New Ulm|
When the Second Battle of New Ulm ended on the morning of August 24, 1862, the city lay nearly in ruins. Fearing that it would surely fall if attacked again, Colonel Charles Flandrau ordered the entire city to evacuate. The next day more than 2,000 people left by caravan, bound for Mankato 30 miles away. When their ordeal was over, many of the evacuees chose to return to New Ulm, ready to rebuild their lives. Others left southern Minnesota, never to return.
Colonel Flandrau . . . — Map (db m73792) HM|
|Minnesota (Brown County), Essig — Essig, Minnesota|
|On April 8, 1885 Chief Engineer Blunt of the Winona & St. Peter Railroad Co. announced that the railroad had decided to build a side track between New Ulm and Sleepy Eye for the purpose of receiving grain. The site was known only as "Siding Number 1". Soon after the siding was established, the Empire Mill Co. of New Ulm erected an elevator. The first shipment of grain was received on September 9, 1885.
The adjoining site of Siding Number 1, owned by the rail line, was platted for a . . . — Map (db m67411) HM|
|Minnesota (Brown County), Essig — Junior Pioneers Tablet — Milford Monument|
|This tablet was erected by the Junior Pioneers in memory of the following men, women and children of the town of Milford who were massacred by the Indians during the Indian outbreak in 1862.
John Martin Fink. • Monika Fink, his wife. • Max Fink, son. • Carl Merkle, grandson. • Florian Hartmann. • John Baptist Zettel. • Barbara Zettel, his wife. • Elizabeth Zettel, daughter. • Stephan Zettel, son. • Anton Zettel, son. • Johanna Zettel, daughter. • Max Zeller. • Lucretia Zeller, his wife. • . . . — Map (db m67952) WM|
|Minnesota (Brown County), Essig — 21 — Milford State Monument|
|Erected by the State of Minnesota in 1929 in the memory of the men, women and children of Milford who were massacred by the Indians, Aug. 18, 1862.
John M. Fink • Monika Fink • Max Fink • Carl Merkle • John B. Zettel • Barbara Zettel • Elizabeth Zettel • Stephan Zettel • Anton Zettel • Johanna Zettel • Max Zeller • Lucretia Zeller • John Zeller • Monica Zeller • Cecelia Zeller • Conrad Zeller • Martin Zeller • Anton Messmer • Mary A. Messmer • Joseph Messmer • Martin Henle • . . . — Map (db m67951) WM|
|Minnesota (Brown County), Essig — Taken by Surprise|
In the summer of 1862, after years of broken treaty promises and late payments that fueled growing tensions and conflict, some Dakota began an attempt to forcibly reclaim their homeland. After attacking the Redwood (Lower Sioux) Agency on August 18 — the beginning of what became known as the U.S.–Dakota War of 1862 — the Dakota moved toward New Ulm. In their path stood a small settlement known as Milford. There, unprepared for battle, 53 of Milford’s residents . . . — Map (db m67915) HM WM|
|Minnesota (Brown County), Evan — Evan|
|On May 24, 1887 Nels Hanson platted the small railroad station point in section 8 of Prairieville township as "Hanson Station". A post office had been established in 1886 named Evan by the first postmaster, Martin Norseth, in honor of Hanson's wife Eva.
The first store was opened in "Evan" by Martin Norseth in 1885. Peter Hansen of Sleepy Eye erected a grain elevator the same year. A creamery association was formed in 1895 and a large creamery plant was constructed.
On March 22, 1904 . . . — Map (db m69831) HM|
|Minnesota (Brown County), Hanska — Asle Sorbel's Ride|
|In 1854 Ole and Guri Sorbel immigrated to Rock County Wisconsin from Hallingdal, Norway. In 1856 they settled to your right on the northwest bank of Lake Linden. On September 21, 1876, Bob, Cole and Jim Younger and Charlie Pitts received breakfast from the Sorbels. Asle (Oscar) Sorbel, age 17, was convinced the visitors were part of the James-Younger Gang that robbed a Northfield Minnesota bank. He mounted a workhorse and rode 13 miles to Madelia, Minnesota to alert authorities. A posse . . . — Map (db m68073) HM|
|Minnesota (Brown County), Hanska — Hanska — 1901 • 2001|
|In 1899, the Iowa and Minnesota Land & Townsite Company circulated a petition to locate a railroad station in Lake Hanska Township. The petition was signed by 77 people and on October 9, 1899 the village of Hanska was platted in section 24 by Harry and Anna Jenkins. It became a station on the Minneapolis and St. Louis Railway. Hanska is a Dakota Indian word meaning long or tall. It was the word they used to describe the long, narrow lake in Lake Hanska and Albin Townships. Hanska was . . . — Map (db m66468) HM|
|Minnesota (Brown County), Hanska — John Armstrong|
|This memorial is dedicated to the memory of John Armstrong pioneer of Linden Township, in 1857 he represented this part of Brown County as its first Territorial County Supervisor (Commissioner) and later became Linden Township's first townclerk.
On Sunday morning Sept. 7, 1862 he was killed by three Sioux Indians due south of this monument on the shore of this Linden Lake. He was buried on the farmstead of his claim, 126 rods south and 20 rods east from this monument.
. . . — Map (db m68083) HM|
|Minnesota (Brown County), Hanska — Lake Hanska|
|The Sioux Indians called this lake "minne hanska," meaning "long water." The basin of the lake was formed 11,000 to 15,000 years ago by the Wisconsin glacier; the original hard clay bottom is now about 50 feet below the present surface of the water.
This area south of the Little Cottonwood River was a favorite with the Indians, and it is rich in legend and history. It has evidence of prehistoric habitation in the form of scattered burial mounds, and an old Indian trail once ran north of . . . — Map (db m66454) HM|
|Minnesota (Brown County), Hanska — Norwegian Stabbur|
|This structure is a replica of many such stabburs found in Norway. There are several variations. "Stabbur" translated means store house.
Benefactors: James & Ferdi Amundson estate.
These Lake Hanska farmers were descendants of Norwegian immigrants, Ole B. & Julia Amundson and Frederick & Marit (Bjorneberg) Frederickson of Romsdalen, Norway.
Sponsor: Hanska Business Association — Map (db m68264) HM|
|Minnesota (Brown County), Hanska — Omsrud Thordson – Torgrimson Log Cabin|
|This log cabin was built about 1857 by the Omsrud/Thordson and Torgrimson families, immigrants from Valdres, Norway. It originally stood on the Thord Omsrud farm on the shores of Omsrud Lake. The cabin was moved to this site in 1986 by the Omsrud-"Kolbrenner" clan, represented by the Levord, Ole, Tiedeman, Guttorm, Iver Thordson, and Torgrim Torgrimson families.
The cabin stands as a memorial to all Norwegian pioneers who were the first Europeans to permanently settle in this part of Brown . . . — Map (db m66437) HM|
|Minnesota (Brown County), Hanska — World War Memorial|
|1917 • 1918
That freedom, law and justice
might be established thruout the Earth
This monument is erected in honor
of the men of Hanska and vicinity who answered
their country's call in the World War.
Oscar O. Haugen • John Thordson • Willie Bakken • Elmer Grotta • Lars Melheim • John Helget
William Greenholz • Theodore N. R. Berge • Wilhelm Johnson • Stanley Anderson • Joseph Bottom • Elvin G. Helling • Albert Vaage • Emil Sletta • Hans Vegum — Map (db m68256) WM|
|Minnesota (Brown County), Leavenworth — Jackson Crossing|
|About 5 blocks north of this marker was the location of a very important river crossing for the early settlers of this area, going from the "Shetek Trail" on the south to "Old Leavenworth" and New Ulm on the north side of the Cottonwood River. It was named after the first settler on this farm, John Jackson, who lived here at the time of the Sioux Indian conflict in August 1862. Jackson also erected the first water powered sawmill about 4 blocks northwest of this point around the . . . — Map (db m67709) HM|
|Minnesota (Brown County), Leavenworth — Leavenworth|
|In 1857, settlers platted a townsite in Section 14 of the Leavenworth area. During the next year, Dr. J. B. Calkins established the post office and became its first postmaster. Leavenworth Township was legally organized on April 16, 1859. Seven officers were elected: Luther Whiton, chair; Isaac Bandy and Seth Henshaw, supervisors; George Charnock, clerk; Peter Kelly, assessor; and G. W. Maffett and C. R. Putnam, constables. During the Dakota Conflict of 1862, the settlers fled the area, . . . — Map (db m68025) HM|
|Minnesota (Brown County), Leavenworth — The Attack on the Brown Family|
|The Joseph Brown family with son Jonathan and daughter Oratia were early settlers on a farm five miles west of here along the Shetek Trail. The family fed and over-nighted guests, operating their home as a traveler's inn. Upon hearing news of Dakota Indian unrest during August 1862, they hitched their oxen and fled eastward along the Shetek Trail seeking safety in New Ulm. Upon reaching the location of this marker, five miles from their home, they were overtaken and killed by Dakota Indians in . . . — Map (db m67825) HM|
|Minnesota (Brown County), New Ulm — 2011 Centennial of The Church of St. Mary|
The Church of St. Mary was incorporated on September 26, 1911 by Archbishop John Ireland of St. Paul. The Parish included Catholics living south of Center Street in New Ulm, plus Cottonwood and Courtland Townships. Because of difficult economic times during World War I, "southsiders" attended their Mother Church, Holy Trinity, until 1923. September 1, 1921, Archbishop Austin Dowling appointed Fr. Anthony Losleben as the first pastor. St. Mary's first church/school (pictured above) and . . . — Map (db m74048) HM|
|Minnesota (Brown County), New Ulm — Adams Park|
|Christian Adam(s) was born circa 1812 in Prussia. He sailed from LeHavre, France aboard the ship Pactolus which arrived in New York City October 12, 1846. The passenger manifest listed his occupation as farmer.
Petronella Keller Adam(s) was born June 15, 1815 in Rhine, Prussia. Apparently she and Christian were married circa 1837 in Prussia where their first two children, Margaretha and John, were born. The family is listed in the 1850 census as living in Theresa, Dodge County, Wisconsin . . . — Map (db m73759) HM|
|Minnesota (Brown County), New Ulm — Arbeiter Hall — 1873 — Historic Downtown New Ulm|
| The town gained a new venue for public events in 1873 with the opening of Arbeiter Hall. The local Arbeiterverein, or Workers' Association, organized in 1871, primarily as a workers' insurance association. The two-story brick building had a large hall on the first floor, meeting rooms upstairs, and a bar in the basement.
The hall became a financial burden to the society, which sold it in December 1877 to five local businessmen, who changed its name to Union Hall. Following a grand . . . — Map (db m67093) HM|
|Minnesota (Brown County), New Ulm — Barricading New Ulm — Historic Downtown New Ulm|
Following the outbreak of hostilities between the Dakota and white settlers on August 18, 1862, hundreds of people fled from nearby farms to New Ulm for safety. Quickly, Brown County Sherriff Charles Roos and Jacob Nix, a citizen with German military experience, organized the men into a militia. Barricades were erected around three blocks on Minnesota Street between Center to Third North Streets. It ran down the alley in front of you, roughly fifty feet behind Friedrich Kiesling's house. . . . — Map (db m73140) HM|
|Minnesota (Brown County), New Ulm — Boesch, Hummel, and Maltzahn Block|
|This property has been
placed on the
of Historic Places
by the United States
Department of the Interior — Map (db m73329) HM|
|Minnesota (Brown County), New Ulm — Brown County — 150 Years — 1856 • 2006|
|Brown County, an historic gateway on the Minnesota River, opened the fertile prairie lands of the Great Plains to the northern hardwoods of a continental divide. The U.S. Territorial Legislature organized the county in 1856 from lands ceded by the Treaty of Traverse de' Sioux (1851), named the county after territorial councilor Joseph R. Brown and designated New Ulm as the county seat.
Originally extending west to the Missouri River, Brown County included lands reserved for Dakota tribes. . . . — Map (db m66749) HM|
|Minnesota (Brown County), New Ulm — Brown County Bank — 1871 — Historic Downtown New Ulm|
The Brown County Bank is among the oldest commercial properties within the district. As the local economy recovered from the devastating effects of the Dakota Conflict, the city found itself without a bank following the demise of the First National Bank in 1867.
Four years later, a group of local investors organized the Brown County Bank. In November 1871, it opened for business at this corner location. A newspaper report cryptically stated that the plan was made by a Mankato . . . — Map (db m66879) HM|
|Minnesota (Brown County), New Ulm — Brown County Veterans Memorial|
| Dedicated to All Brown County Veterans
This memorial is a lasting tribute to past, present and future veterans who served during peacetime and the following conflicts: Indian Wars 1817 - 1898 ·
Mexican War 1846 - 1848 ·
American Civil War 1861 - 1865 ·
Spanish American War 1898 - 1902 ·
World War I 1917 - 1918 ·
World War II 1940 - 1947 ·
Korean Conflict Jun 27 1950 - Jan 31 1955 ·
Vietnam Era Aug 5 1964 - May 7 1975 ·
Gulf War Era Aug 2 1990 -
American . . . — Map (db m65526) WM|
|Minnesota (Brown County), New Ulm — Buenger Store — 1892, 1902 — Historic Downtown New Ulm|
This three-story building is a fine example of Queen Anne commercial architecture. The original southern section was erected in 1892 for the Buenger Furniture Store, while the corner building was constructed in 1902.
Louis Buenger Sr. was born in Hanover, Germany, and settled in New Ulm in 1863. He opened his first furniture shop on the corner of Minnesota and 3rd North in 1876. The business proved so successful that he erected a brick building at 225 North Minnesota Street. Ten . . . — Map (db m68117) HM|
|Minnesota (Brown County), New Ulm — City Meat Market — 1927 — Historic Downtown New Ulm|
Rosa Schnobrich opened the City Meat Market in 1907 with the advertising slogan, "Better Meats, Cleaner Meats, and Quicker Service." Her sausages, in particular, proved popular, and soon her shop began supplying a network of wholesale dealers throughout southern Minnesota. The business was first located at 4 North Minnesota Street, moving to 15 South Minnesota Street in 1914.
In 1927, Schnobrich purchased an older building on this site and proceeded to completely rebuild and expand . . . — Map (db m68267) HM|
|Minnesota (Brown County), New Ulm — Clear Lake School — 1864–1971|
|1864 marked the beginning of District 6 (later known as 179), Sigel township's first of four school districts. The first schoolhouse was built on this site in 1868 with the purchase of 1 acre of land for $10. Civil War general Franz Sigel visited here after the war. The school burned to the ground on September 18, 1881 and was immediately rebuilt at a cost of $760. In 1925, the windows were moved to the wall facing the lake. The building was considered one of the best in Brown County due to its . . . — Map (db m74233) HM|
|Minnesota (Brown County), New Ulm — Colonel Wilhelm Pfaender|
|Colonel Wilhelm Pfaender (1826-1905), born in Heilbronn, Wurttemberg, Germany, came to America as a result of the 1848 Revolution. In Germany he helped found the Turner Societies in his birth-city of
Heilbronn and in Ulm. In Cincinnati, Ohio, he co-founded the first American Turner Society, presided over its Settlement Society and, notably, over the German Land Association that pioneered the New Ulm settlement (1856). Besides organizing the New Ulm Turners, Pfaender actively served New Ulm as . . . — Map (db m73673) HM|
|Minnesota (Brown County), New Ulm — Crone Store — 1869, 1876 — Historic Downtown New Ulm|
For years, the Crone store was the largest mercantile establishment in New Ulm. In 1857, Theodore Crone Sr. opened his general store at the corner of Broadway and Center Streets. Twelve years later, he erected this building, adding a substantial two-story addition on the north side in 1876. Crone played an important role in the city's economic growth as a founder of the Citizen's National Bank (1876). The family also owned the New Ulm Vinegar Works, Minnesota's largest vinegar factory, . . . — Map (db m66864) HM|
|Minnesota (Brown County), New Ulm — Dacotah House — 1859 • 1971|
| Helena Erd Seiter • Adolph Seiter
The Dacotah House, located on this site, was built in 1859 by Adolph Seiter and Frank Erd. Adolph's wife, Helena Erd Seiter soon established her fame in the kitchen. During the Dakota Conflict of 1862, Helena fled in a wagon with her children to St. Peter. She is credited with convincing the authorities there of the reality of the outbreak. Military aid was sent to New Ulm. The Dacotah House was a refuge and hospital during the conflict and later military . . . — Map (db m66377) HM|
|Minnesota (Brown County), New Ulm — 5 — Defenders State Monument|
|This monument is erected by the State of Minnesota to commemorate the battles and incidents of the Sioux Indian War of 1862, which particularly relate to the town of New Ulm.
Honored be the memory of the citizens of Blue Earth, Nicollet, Le Sueur and adjacent counties, who so gallantly came to the rescue of their neighbors of Brown County and by their prompt action and bravery aided the inhabitants in defeating the enemy in the two battles of New Ulm, whereby the depredations of the . . . — Map (db m66990) HM WM|
|Minnesota (Brown County), New Ulm — Doughboy Monument|
|Lest we forget.
In sacred memory of the soldiers, sailors, and marines who served their country in time of war. Erected in 1941 by Veterans of Foreign Wars U.S.A. Albert Nagel Post No 1648 and Auxiliary. — Map (db m68739) WM|
|Minnesota (Brown County), New Ulm — Erd Building — 1861 — Historic Downtown New Ulm|
Frank Erd and his wife, Louise, came to New Ulm from Cincinnati. Frank, whose father was an architect, erected a substantial store, one of the few brick buildings in the city. The Brown County supervisors kept their offices in Erd's building, guaranteeing a steady stream of customers as citizens came to file land titles, pay taxes, and hold court sessions.
During the Dakota Conflict, the building became a refuge for women and children. Gathering in the basement, they placed a keg of . . . — Map (db m66897) HM|
|Minnesota (Brown County), New Ulm — Father Valentine Sommereisen — Pioneer Missionary Priest|
|Valentine Sommereisen was the first resident Catholic priest in three large areas of the American West: southwestern Minnesota, the Dakota Territory, and western Kansas. Born 28 May 1829 in Rouffach, Alsace, a German–speaking part of eastern France, he was one of seven theology students who followed the great missionary, Fr. Augustin Ravoux, to Minnesota in 1854.
Sommereisen was ordained by Bishop Joseph Cretin 8 March 1856 in the second Cathedral of St. Paul. His first assignment was to . . . — Map (db m74222) HM|
|Minnesota (Brown County), New Ulm — Flandrau's Charge|
|The second battle of New Ulm took place on August 23, 1862. About 650 Dakota Indians surrounded the town, while over 2,000 people were crowded behind a barricade. The attack began around nine in the morning and the Dakota Indians quickly encircled the town.
The Dakota began moving up Third South Street from the river. A terrace hid their approach along this "sunken road" and the Dakota worked their way from German Street to Minnesota Street. As they began to attack the barricade, it . . . — Map (db m66402) HM|
|Minnesota (Brown County), New Ulm — Forster Building — 1861 — Historic Downtown New Ulm|
Frederick Forster came to the United States in 1850 and taught school in New York. He moved to New Ulm in 1858, where he continued teaching, becoming the city's postmaster in 1861.
In 1860, Forster purchased this lot and the following year, with his partner, Friedrich Gommel, a Cincinnati potter, opened New Ulm's first pottery, selling "all sorts of fine and ordinary dishes."
During the Dakota Conflict, this building, located just outside the barricades, became an important . . . — Map (db m68227) HM|
|Minnesota (Brown County), New Ulm — Gänseviertel (Goosetown)|
|Goosetown began forming around the flour mills, brewery, and railroad tracks circa 1870. Settlers were largely German-Bohemian Catholics of peasant stock who farmed and worked in nearby industries. Inhabitants kept geese which were free to roam, thus the name "Goosetown." Two room houses were common. Cottage industries including gathering clam shells for buttons from the river, and handmaking Klöppel lace developed. Water was secured from a spring-house near the corner of 8th South and Front . . . — Map (db m58435) HM|
|Minnesota (Brown County), New Ulm — German–Bohemian Immigrants Monument|
|This monument was erected in 1991 by the German-Bohemian Heritage Society to commemorate the immigrants to this region from the German speaking western rim of present-day Czechoslovakia. They emigrated from the counties of Bischofteinitz, Mies and Taus in the province of Pilsen, as shown on the European map and settled in the townships sketched on the U.S. map. Around the base in the granite slabs are inscribed the over 350 immigrant family names as they were approximately spelled when the . . . — Map (db m67030) HM|
|Minnesota (Brown County), New Ulm — Grand Hotel|
|The first structure built on this site was the Minnesota Haus, the first hotel in New Ulm, built in 1856 by Phillipp H. Gross. That early structure was destroyed and in 1860, on the same sight, Gross built the Union Hotel, a two and a half story frame building. The upper floor was used as a hall for dances and theatricals.
During the Dakota Conflict, the hotel was used as a hospital. The bodies of those who succumbed to wounds and disease were temporarily buried in the nearby dirt street. . . . — Map (db m67981) HM|
|Minnesota (Brown County), New Ulm — Guardians of the Past|
By the end of the fighting in New Ulm, the U.S.—Dakota War of 1862 had taken a heavy toll on the town. More than 50 settlers had been killed and 36 wounded, along with an unknown number of Dakota. In addition, at least 190 of the town’s 258 buildings had been destroyed, most by fire.
Over time, some of the surviving buildings fell into disrepair, some were demolished to meet changing real estate needs, others suffered damage in natural disasters such as the tornado of . . . — Map (db m74136) HM|
|Minnesota (Brown County), New Ulm — Harkin Store|
|West Newton in 1870 was a thriving town, serving riverboat travel on the Minnesota River. It consisted of a hotel, a livery stable, a brewery, a sawmill, a wagon works, two blacksmith shops, three saloons, and many dwellings that made the town an important shipping center.
In the heart of West Newton sat the Harkin Store, a combination general store and post office operated by Alexander and Janet Harkin. Their store was the social center of the community, where farmers and townsfolk . . . — Map (db m66238) HM|
|Minnesota (Brown County), New Ulm — Hermann Monument — (Hermann Denkmal)|
|Hermann (Arminius) of the Cherusci tribe led several German tribes in battle against their Roman conquerors in 9 A.D., and defeated them in the hills of Teutoburg Forest near present Detmold. To later unified Germany, Hermann symbolized liberty and unity. In 1874 Ernst Von Bandel completed a colossal German Monument dedicated to Hermann near the Teutoburg site.
As a project of the National Sons of Hermann Lodges in the United States, Julius Berndt, New Ulm architect and . . . — Map (db m65467) HM|
|Minnesota (Brown County), New Ulm — Jacob Nix Platz — To a Patriot, Solider, Public Servant|
|Jacob Nix from Bingen Am Rhein in Germany was a key figure in the defense of New Ulm in 1862. Born in 1822, Nix early joined the push for a united Germany under a republican form of government. During the ill-fated 1848 Revolution, Nix served as Captain in the revolutionary "Free Corps." Captured, charged with high treason, and sentenced to be shot as a revolutionary, Nix escaped. Like many German "48ers", he emigrated to America.
In 1855, at a national convention of German-American . . . — Map (db m65455) HM|
|Minnesota (Brown County), New Ulm — John Lind Home|
|This home was built by John Lind in 1887 and was a significant cultural, social and political center built on a prominence above early New Ulm. Swedish born Lind came to America and Minnesota in 1867 at age thirteen. While very young he was a rural teacher in the area until 1874 when he came to read law with a lawyer in New Ulm. He was admitted to the bar here in 1877 and resided here almost continuously until 1901 when he moved to Minneapolis.
During his residence in New Ulm Lind was a . . . — Map (db m65399) HM|
|Minnesota (Brown County), New Ulm — Joseph A. Harman — 1900 – 1979 — Father of the New Ulm Park and Recreation Program|
|The quality of life in New Ulm improved notably after a young teacher-coach accepted a position at New Ulm High School in 1928. During the succeeding 51 years, "Joe" Harman provided the inspiration that left this community a better place in which to live.
As a teacher and as a coach in the public school system, as director of early park and recreation programs, as first coach of local American Legion baseball teams, as Civil Defense director and as a member of innumerable service and . . . — Map (db m66381) HM|
|Minnesota (Brown County), New Ulm — Junior Pioneers of New Ulm and Vicinity|
|In the early 1870's, fourteen settlers purchased this beautiful spot located on the north bank of the Big Cottonwood River and named it Jägers Ruhe (Hunters' Rest). The objectives of this group of hunters was to preserve this property for their children and their children's children, to preserved the natural beauty for posterity, and to accommodate people who wanted to enjoy a day or an afternoon in the open away from the humdrum of everyday life.
The owners of Hunters' Rest had maintained . . . — Map (db m66087) HM|
|Minnesota (Brown County), New Ulm — Kiesling House — (1861)|
|The Kiesling House is one of the three downtown buildings in New Ulm to survive the Dakota War of 1862. Frederick W. Kiesling, blacksmith and ferrier, had built the modest frame house ($125) the year before the outbreak of the war. In August of 1862 New Ulm defenders marked the Kiesling House for torching in the event that the Dakota attack broke through the downtown barriers. The downtown defenses held even though the city lost about 75% of the buildings to fire.
In 1970 the family-owned . . . — Map (db m65497) HM|
|Minnesota (Brown County), New Ulm — Leavenworth Rescue Expedition|
|During the Minnesota Sioux Uprising of 1862, eighteen men left New Ulm early on the morning of August 19, and travelled westward about 20 miles along the Big Cottonwood River to the area of Leavenworth. Searching for relatives and friends, they found dead settlers and wounded children. Two men took the wounded by wagon to New Ulm, and during the day another man left and two more joined the group.
Part of the expedition returned to New Ulm about 3:00 P.M., during the first attack on the . . . — Map (db m65486) HM WM|
|Minnesota (Brown County), New Ulm — Lest We Forget|
|In 1914, two four-inch naval cannon barrels, each with a pyramid of balls, were placed on the courthouse grounds as a tribute to all Brown County citizens who served their nation in time of conflict. The United States Government reclaimed them in 1942, during World War II, for use as scrap iron.
In October, 1977, these five-inch naval cannon barrels, similar to those erected in 1914, were placed here to serve again as a memorial to all men and women of Brown County who served the nation . . . — Map (db m66967) HM WM|
|Minnesota (Brown County), New Ulm — New Ulm|
|In 1851, leaders of the Dakota Nation signed the Treaty of Traverse des Sioux with the United States Government. This treaty opened new lands in Minnesota Territory for settlement. Two years later, German immigrants in Chicago, led by Frederick Beinhorn, formed the Chicago Land Society. They sent Athanasius Henle, Frank Massopust, Christian Ludwig Meyer, and Alois Palmer to search for a suitable site for a town. On Oct. 7, 1854, the scouting party selected an ideal location near the confluence . . . — Map (db m65452) HM|
|Minnesota (Brown County), New Ulm — New Ulm's Glockenspiel|
|Schonlau Park, named in honor of Theodore H. and Clara K. Schonlau, is the setting for the City of New Ulm’s unique Glockenspiel. Local contributors were joined by donors from three foreign countries, 31 States, and 51 other Minnesota cities, in matching a magnanimous gift from Clara Schonlau to provide the funds necessary to construct the first free-standing carillon tower in North America. New Ulm’s 45 feet tall musical clock tower was dedicated on May 25, 1980, with over 1500 people in . . . — Map (db m65492) HM|
|Minnesota (Brown County), New Ulm — Pioneer Founders of New Ulm|
|Frederick Beinhorn and Wilhelm Pfaender, pioneer founders of the prairie colony of New Ulm, were cut of the same cloth. Both came to America from Germany after the 1848 Revolution in Central Europe failed to unite German peoples under a new frame of government. Both sought New World frontiers to realize unfulfilled dreams of freedom and a more ideal social life.
Beinhorn (1821-1900), a visionary from the North German province of Braunschweig, founded the Chicago Land Association and . . . — Map (db m65694) HM|
|Minnesota (Brown County), New Ulm — Pioneer Monument — Civil War Monument|
In memory of our honored brave who fell in defence of The Union.
In memory of those who fell in defence of New Ulm 1862.
In memory of those massacred by the Indians in Brown Co. 1862.
Erected by the citizens of Brown Co. 1866. — Map (db m68705) WM|
|Minnesota (Brown County), New Ulm — Ravine Ambush|
|While crossing this ravine a
recruiting party of the Civil War
was ambushed by the Sioux
Indians on August 18th, 1862, at
the noon hour.
The following were killed or
John Schneider • Ernest Dietrich
Julius Fenske • Adolph Steimle — Map (db m73704) HM WM|
|Minnesota (Brown County), New Ulm — Roebbecke Mill|
|On this site in 1859 Frederick Roebbecke built a seventy foot high wooden windmill for grinding corn and grain. Situated on a prominent ridge, it commanded an excellent view of the scattered settlement. Barricaded with sacks of flour and grain, the mill was an important defense outpost in New Ulm during the 1862 Sioux uprising. On Saturday, August 23, intense fighting occurred about the mill, held by a small group of defenders. That evening it was fired and abandoned. Two days later New Ulm was . . . — Map (db m65400) HM|
|Minnesota (Brown County), New Ulm — Somsen Hitching Post|
|The home of Henry N. Somsen, Sr. was once located on this site. Visitors would tie their horses to this hitching post.
Given by Anne & Henry N. Somsen, Jr., generous supporters of the New Ulm Public Library.
October 16, 1985 — Map (db m66706) HM|
|Minnesota (Brown County), New Ulm — The Pioneers of Brown County Monument — 1849 • 1949|
To pay homage to the sturdy pioneers who founded the territory of Minnesota a century ago. And to express veneration for the pioneers of Brown County and members of their families who lost their lives during the Sioux War of 1862 — 1863. This memorial is reverently dedicated by the Brown County Historical Society this 7th day of October, in Minnesota's Territorial Centennial, A.D., 1949. On this day in October 1854, the first white settlers arrived in New Ulm. . . . — Map (db m73642) HM WM|
|Minnesota (Brown County), New Ulm — The Wallachei|
|This neighborhood dates back to the early days of New Ulm. Oral history suggests the borders shown above. The origin of the name “The Wallachei” is obscure. The most likely translation is “low land horse pasture.” Or, legend has it, Mr. Kraus had a horse named Walla. Each morning he would send his son out to the barn with the instruction: “Gibs” du Walla heu” (Give Walla hay). There were a few large families, large gardens, numerous farm animals, flocks . . . — Map (db m65396) HM|
|Minnesota (Brown County), New Ulm — Turner Hall|
|The Turner concept of developing a sound mind and body through discussion of common problems and physical exercise was conceived by Frederick Jahn of Berlin in 1811. It was an effort to strengthen German resolve against the French conqueror, Napoleon.
After the German Social Revolution of 1848, the "Forty-eighters" sought refuge in America and established Turner Societies. The Turner Colonization Society of Cincinnati arrived in New Ulm in 1856 and merged with members of the Chicago Land . . . — Map (db m65426) HM|
|Minnesota (Brown County), New Ulm — Turnverein Founding Site|
|Von hier 717 fuss in der Richtung des Pfeils wurde am 11ten November 1856 der New Ulmer Turnverein gegruendet.
(From here, 717 feet in the direction of the arrow on the 11th of November 1856 the New Ulm Turnverein originated.) — Map (db m66239) HM|
|Minnesota (Brown County), New Ulm — Two Battles of New Ulm|
|The first news of the Sioux Uprising was brought to New Ulm at noon on August 18, 1862, by survivors of a Civil War recruiting party that had been ambushed in Milford Township. Barricades were hastily erected in a three-block area on Minnesota Street under Captain Jacob Nix’s command, and Henry Behnke was sent to St. Peter to ask for help.
The first attack on Tuesday, August 19, by about one hundred Indians was repulsed. By the time of the major attack on August 23, some three hundred . . . — Map (db m65402) HM|
|Minnesota (Brown County), New Ulm — U.S. - Dakota War Memorial|
U.S. - Dakota War
2012 — Map (db m68348) WM|
|Minnesota (Brown County), New Ulm — U.S. Post Office — 1910 — Historic Downtown New Ulm|
The federal government erected the post office building in 1910, designed by James Knox Taylor, the supervising architect of the United States Treasury. Although the city's postal service began in 1856, it had been located in rented space until construction of this building.
Congress approved the funds for a new post office in 1906, and the site was purchased within a few months. However, the project ground to a halt when local residents complained that the initial drawings . . . — Map (db m74074) HM|
|Minnesota (Brown County), New Ulm — Upper Minnesota River Transportation|
|The first river steamboat, WEST NEWTON, passed by here in 1853 going upriver with troops to lay out the site of Fort Ridgely. Two days later TIGER and CLARION followed with men and supplies.
For the next twenty years boats brought settlers, soldiers, freight, Indian supplies and gold to the area; the boat landing near this site was very important to New Ulm, settled in 1855.
Boats varied in size, characteristic and significance. . . . — Map (db m66383) HM|
|Minnesota (Brown County), Searles — Searles|
Searles, a small community in Section 21 of Cottonwood Township, was platted on October 10, 1899, by Harry and Anna Jenkins. It was a railroad station point named by officials of the Minneapolis and St. Louis Railroad.
The original plat included 9 blocks. Lots priced from $50 to $100 were sold by the Iowa and Minnesota Land and Town Site Co. Early businesses included a lumberyard, hardware store, blacksmith shop, general store, creamery, elevator, saloon, and ice house. Searles has . . . — Map (db m67914) HM|
|Minnesota (Brown County), Sleepy Eye — Chief Sleepy Eyes — (Ish-tak-ha-ba)|
|Sleepy Eyes, or Drooping Eyelids, was born about 1780 in a Sisseton Sioux Indian village at Swan Lake in Nicollet County. The Bureau of Indian Affairs commissioned him a chief in 1824. His fame was achieved not as a warrior or hunter but as a friend to explorers, traders, missionaries, and government officials.
Chief Sleepy Eyes signed several treaties - Prairie du Chien in 1825 and 1830, St. Peters (Mendota) in 1836, and finally, reluctantly, Traverse des Sioux in 1851.
Traditionally . . . — Map (db m67658) HM|
|Minnesota (Brown County), Sleepy Eye — Dakota Reservation and the Leavenworth Road|
|In the summer of 1851 the Dakota Indians, a group of Native Americans who lived in Southern Minnesota, sold their land, 35 million acres, to the United States for $3,000,000. The Dakota agreed to move to a reservation which included land ten miles on each side of the Minnesota River. In 1858, the US government purchased the northern half of the reservation.
The eastern part of the reservation was in Brown County with the boundary running south from Little Rock Creek to the Little . . . — Map (db m67983) HM|
|Minnesota (Brown County), Sleepy Eye — Golden Gate|
The village of Golden Gate occupied this area for some years. The town took its name from the U.S. Post Office established in 1868 with Ebenezer Fuller in charge.
Construction of a water-powered grist mill on Spring Creek in 1869 by John Heimerdinger started the growth of the village.
Enterprising neighbors quickly provided other goods and services for customers coming to the mill. Purchases made here saved a long trip to other towns.
Two general stores, a . . . — Map (db m70993) HM|
|Minnesota (Brown County), Sleepy Eye — Golden Gate Mill Stones — Millstones of Golden Gate, Minnesota|
|The mill, built in 1867 by John Heimerdinger, was down 1/4 mile from Golden Gate on the Ruhe-Heim Creek. It was powered by a pond kept full by many wells, dug by hand. Wheat was ground by stones into flour and feed.
The grinding stones were donated by the
E. W. Kolbe Family
Sleepy Eye, Minnesota
November 13, 1999 — Map (db m71062) HM|
|Minnesota (Brown County), Sleepy Eye — Iberia|
|In 1866 the budding village of Iberia had a log school house, four frame buildings and a cemetery. The settlement is the center of Stark Township, organized in 1866.
Iberia crossroads was named for a community in Ohio because many of the first settlers were from that state. Stark was the name of a Revolutionary War
general of Massachusetts.
Eastern Yankees were in the majority of the earliest settlers in this section which was dedicated school land. A great future was anticipated for . . . — Map (db m73752) HM|
|Minnesota (Brown County), Sleepy Eye — Veterans Memorial|
|In honor of the
Brave Service Men & Women
who have defended and
continue to defend the
United States of America.
Sons of John & Mary Broich
Chris USNR, Art USNR, Walter USAF, Joseph USNR
Francis USNR, James USN, Alfred US ARMY, John Jr. USNR
Mayor Jim & Mary Broich
2013 — Map (db m67856) WM|
|Minnesota (Brown County), Springfield — Jonathan Brown and the Shetek Trail|
|In the 1850s there was a land boom in southern Minnesota. Jonathan Brown, 37 years old, filed on land along the Cottonwood River in what is now Burnstown Township. (S 1/2 of SW 1/4, Sec. 15; N 1/2 of NW 1/4 of Sec. 22)
Jonathan picked a good site for farming. The land on the south side of the river was flat ground above the flood plain. His land was protected on both sides from prairie fires and the large trees in the river bottom made excellent building timber and firewood.
Jonathan . . . — Map (db m67820) HM|
|Minnesota (Brown County), Springfield — Springfield, Minnesota|
|John and Daniel Burns were pioneer settlers in this area of brown County. Burnstown Township was named in their honor.
Railroad construction advanced westward and the name of the station stop here in 1873 was "Burns." A small settlement developed around this and a plat of the village was filed in 1877.
Two years later the community had two hundred fifty inhabitants, four stores, over a dozen other businesses - plus a school, two churches and a doctor.
The village was incorporated . . . — Map (db m67542) HM|
|Minnesota (Brown County), Springfield — Veterans Memorial|
|In grateful tribute to all men and women of this area who have or will serve in defense of our country. — Map (db m68206) WM|
|Minnesota (Brown County), Springfield — Veterans Memorial|
|Proudly, we salute our veterans and
pledge eternal gratitude for their sacrifices and
gallant preservation of freedom for all.
seals of the United States Army • Air Force • Navy • Marine Corps • Coast Guard
Dedicated July 4, 1994
by American Legion - John Watson Post 257 — Map (db m71172) WM|
|Minnesota (Carlton County), Carlton — Geology of Minnesota — Jay Cooke State Park|
This point overlooks the St. Louis River Valley. The steeply inclined rocks in the river channel upstream are alternating beds of slates and graywackers of the Thompson Formation thousands of feet thick.
Slates are rocks formed from original deposits of mud which are first compacted into shale and subsequently converted into slate by heat, pressure, and movement in the Earth's crust. Graywackers originate as beds of sand with enough gray and . . . — Map (db m44627) HM|
|Minnesota (Carlton County), Carlton — Henry C. Hornby|
|540 acres of land southwest of this point, embracing Silver Creek in Jay Cooke State Park are dedicated to the memory of this pioneer civic leader who made great contributions to the establishment and development of this park.
Lands donated by Mr. Hornby's daughters in January 1953 in memory of their father.
– 1957 – — Map (db m53599) HM|
|Minnesota (Carlton County), Carlton — Josiah B. Scovell|
|One half mile south of this point lie three islands, known as numbers 1, 2, & 3, in the St. Louis River, which were settled by Josiah Boardman Scovell, original U.S. patentee in 1881, who retained ownership for the balance of his life.
Islands donated as part of Jay Cooke State Park by Edith Scovell on Nov. 18, 1944 in memory of her father.
–1957– — Map (db m53857) HM|
|Minnesota (Carlton County), Kettle River — 1872|
of the Finnish pioneers who arrived here in the western part of Carlton County in 1872 and thereafter, and made their homes with courage and perseverance.
Erected 1952 by Minnesota Finnish American Historical Society Chapter No. 3.
Suomalaisille esiraivaajille jotka saapuivat tanne lansi osaan Carlton Kauntia vuonna 1872 ja sen jalkeen rohkeasti, sitkeydella kotinsa.
Perustivat pystyttanyt 1952 Minnesotan Suomalainen Amerikan Historiallinen Seura Osasto No. 3. — Map (db m3266) HM|
|Minnesota (Carlton County), Kettle River — The 1918 Fire|
|On October 12, 1918, a massive forest fire raced through northeastern Minnesota from Sturgeon Lake to the shores of Lake Superior north of Duluth. When it was over, this region had suffered through one of Minnesota’s worst disasters.
Weather conditions on October l2, 1918, were right for the tragedy which ensued. Hot, dry weather had prevailed for several months. Railroads were determined to have started the fires as sparks from the engines ignited dry brush along the tracks. On this day, . . . — Map (db m3031) HM|
|Minnesota (Carlton County), Mahtowa — The Iron Range|
|One hundred miles north and west of Duluth lies the Iron Range. North America's largest iron ore region consists of three major iron ranges: the Vermillion, the Mesabi, and the Cuyuna. The Vermillion was the first to ship iron ore from Minnesota beginning in 1884 at Tower-Soudan. Extending from Tower to Ely, the Vermillion ore was found in vertical deposits requiring the use of underground mining techniques. The great Mesabi Range, extending for nearly one hundred miles from Grand Rapids to . . . — Map (db m44038) HM|
|Minnesota (Carver County), Carver — Minnesota Valley Oil Co. — 1925|
Carver Historic District
has been placed on the
of Historic Places
by the United States
Department of the Interior
Minnesota Valley Oil Co.
1925 — Map (db m75255) HM|
|Minnesota (Carver County), Chaska — Brinkhaus Livery Stable|
has been placed on the
of Historic Places
by the United States
Department of the Interior
Brinkhaus Livery Stable
1890 — Map (db m59555) HM|
|Minnesota (Carver County), Chaska — City Square Park|
City Square Park
City Square in Chaska has always been a gathering place and the heart of this community. The land was set aside for public purpose in 1852 in the original plat. Early settlers in Chaska found six earthen mounds on this site built by persons known as the Mound Builders, who preceded the Dakota Indians. Originally there were six circular mounds variously thought to be for protection, burial, or worship. Some were removed in creating streets, but the remainder of these . . . — Map (db m63707) HM|
|Minnesota (Carver County), Chaska — Jonathan in Chaska|
|This silo marks the site of the Christian Bender farm, homesteaded in 1854. George Bender, grandson of Christian, sold the farm to Henry McKnight in 1963. This was the first farm to become part of Jonathan.
Dedicated October 13, 2001 — Map (db m60394) HM|
|Minnesota (Carver County), Chaska — CR-CKC-057 — Little Rapids Fur Post|
|By 1804 Jean B. Faribault was trading in furs for the Northwest Company near the "Little Rapids" of the Minnesota River, 5 miles south of this point, and in this vicinity. His fur post of 1824 on the site of Chaska became the nucleus for the first Catholic mission in Carver County under Father Ravous.
[Seals of the Minnesota Department of Highways and the Minnesota Historical Society] — Map (db m41051) HM|
|Minnesota (Carver County), Waconia — Civil War Monument|
|To the Memory
Defenders of the
1861 to 1865.
Erected by the Citizens
Carver County in 1892.
F. Anthony, S.M. Alexander, Ch. All, A. Arneson, L. Anderson, C.F. Anderson, S. Anderson, A.G. Anderson, J. Anderson, J.H. Abbott, Th. Anderson, A. Anderson, D. Alexander, A. Arndt, G. Arndt, C. Arndt, B. Aslakson, J.E. Allen, T. Armitage, S. Arvidson, A. Arnold, A.S. Alderman, J. Aspen, E. Aldritt, N. Anderson, E. Anderson, A. Aretz, P. Aasfeld, E.G. Anderson, P.D. . . . — Map (db m71715) WM|
|Minnesota (Carver County), Waconia — Veterans Memorial|
World War II
Battle of the Atlantic -
Pearl Harbor -
Coral Sea -
North Africa -
Bismarck Sea -
Southern France -
The Rhine -
Leyte Gulf -
Iwo Jima -
(Military Service Emblems)
(Veterans of Foreign Wars Emblem)
World War II
1 September 1939 - 2 September 1945
Dedicated . . . — Map (db m72282) WM|
|Minnesota (Carver County), Waconia — World War I Monument|
|Erected in Memory
of Those Who Served
During the World War
1914 —— 1918
Allmann Andrew •
Bade Ed. •
Bade Henry •
Beck Walter •
Beiersdorf O.H. •
Boettcher Otto •
Boehmke Herb •
Brandenburg Henry ☆ •
Burfield Thom. •
Buechner H. C. •
Buelow George E. •
Buelow Ben •
Braun Gust. H. •
Claesgens Geo. F. •
Claesgens A. M. •
Dallmann Will. •
Dircks Frank ☆ •
Eggers Arth. H. •
Ehrenberg Will. • . . . — Map (db m71520) WM|
|Minnesota (Cass County), Whipholt — Sugar Point Battle|
|When a federal marshal with about 100 troops of the 3rd Infantry tried to arrest the Chippewa Chief Bugonaygeshig at Sugar Point opposite here on the northeast shore of the lake, a sharp fight occurred October 5, 1898. The whites lost 7 killed and 16 wounded and the arrest was never accomplished. — Map (db m59807) HM|
|Minnesota (Chippewa County), Granite Falls — A Witness to Time|
|The Minnesota River Valley is a witness to time. Rocks formed 3.8 billion years ago — some of the oldest in the world — lie exposed on the valley floor. These grey, pink and red granite rocks are memorials to a fiery young earth when molten rocks in the planet's interior pushed against the earth's crust, deforming it, creating mountains four miles high. For eons, water and ice relentlessly eroded the mountains, eventually leaving a subdued plain.
At the close of the last ice . . . — Map (db m69039) HM|
|Minnesota (Chisago County), Harris — Minnesota's Arrowhead Region: A Tourist Mecca|
|"The North Country is a siren Who can resist her song of intricate and rich counterpoint?"
(Grace Lee Nute, The Voyageur's Highway, 1941)
Lured by America's premier wilderness canoe region, Lake Superior's rugged shoreline and cascading streams, and Duluth's reputation as America's great inland seaport, tourists have been coming to the northeastern Minnesota since the 1890s. In recognition of this great natural treasure, President Theodore Roosevelt established the Superior . . . — Map (db m4948) HM|
|Minnesota (Chisago County), Taylors Falls — Folsom House|
|William Henry Carmen Folsom, St. Croix River Valley lumberman and land speculator, chose this imposing site for his home in 1854. He, his wife Mary Jane, and their two small sons lived in an open barn on this property to prove up the claim while the five-bedroom home, reflecting both Federal and Greek Revival styles, was constructed. In 1855, after the family moved in, Mary Jane wrote to relatives in Maine, "We shall have plenty of room for as many as will come."
W.H.C. Folsom arrived in . . . — Map (db m44027) HM|
|Minnesota (Chisago County), Taylors Falls — Geology of the Taylors Falls Region|
|About 1.1 billion years ago, a great rift valley formed across the North American continent from the Lake Superior region southwest to Kansas. As this rift valley opened, basaltic lavas erupted into it, accumulating to a thickness of up to 20 kilometers in the Lake Superior region. The dark-grey basalt rock that form the St. Croix River gorge are made from these rift lava flows. Continental rifting with volcanism is common in the geological record and often leads to the breakup of continents . . . — Map (db m45814) HM|
|Minnesota (Chisago County), Taylors Falls — Glacial Potholes|
|The potholes at the St. Croix Dalles have their origins in a tale of fire and ice. They are carved in a dark volcanic rock called basalt, which erupted as lava 1.1 billion years ago. This basalt is related to lava flows that line the North Shore of Lake Superior. About 500 million years ago, when shallow tropical seas covered this area, the basalt was buried beneath a thick blanket of sand, which later became sandstone.
During the last two million years, glaciers have advanced from the . . . — Map (db m46434) HM|
|Minnesota (Chisago County), Taylors Falls — Taylors Falls United Methodist Church|
|This is the oldest Methodist Church building in continuous use in Minnesota. Methodist circuit riders of the Sunrise Mission served the Taylors Falls area 1852-59. On March 27, 1859, the Rev. Sias Bolles organized the Taylors Falls Methodist Episcopal Church with 35 members. Services were held in the Town House School as the church was erected 1860-61. It was dedicated January 1, 1862 by the Rev. Cyrus Brooks, Presiding Elder. The church served as an enlisting site for those who went . . . — Map (db m44571) HM|
|Minnesota (Clay County), Moorhead — Douglas House|
|Built by James and Wilhelmina Douglas in 1873 and occupied until 1887, James Douglas ran a steam ship line along the Red River and served as Moorhead's first Post Master. — Map (db m43831) HM|
|Minnesota (Clay County), Moorhead — Red River Transportation / A Busy Port|
| Red River Transportation The Red River Trails were a set of overland routes linking the cities of Winnipeg and St. Paul and the small forts and settlements between them.|
From 1820 to the 1870s, the trails were used by Metis freight drivers who hauled cargo in wooded ox-drawn carts. The Metis were people of native American and European descent, many of whom lived along the Red River near the U.S.-Canadian border.
Metis carts left Canada each spring laden with furs, buffalo skins, beaded . . . — Map (db m43832) HM
|Minnesota (Clay County), Moorhead — St, John's Episcopal Church|
|St. John's Episcopal Church was designed on an Elizabethan model by the noted architect, Cass Gilbert, among whose other significant buildings is the present Minnesota State Capitol. Construction of St. John's began on August 1, 1898.On February 12, 1899 the church was consecrated and the first confirmation held.|
Episcopal church services in Moorhead date from 1872 when the Reverend James A. Gilfillan conducted a service in a Northern Pacific Railroad passenger coach. With the arrival of . . . — Map (db m43829) HM
|Minnesota (Clay County), Moorhead — Veterans Memorial Bridge — Moorhead, MN and Fargo, ND|
|Red River of the North — Map (db m43835) HM|
|Minnesota (Clearwater County), Shevlin — Itasca State Park Centennial — 1891 - 1991|
|The name "Itasca" was coined specifically from the Latin words "Veritas caput" -- literally meaning "true head" -- by Henry Rowe Schoolcraft in 1832. Led by Ozawindib, an Ojibwe guide who knew the upper reaches of the Mississippi River and its headwaters lakes. Schoolcraft was able to document the true source of America's greatest river, a feat that had eluded many previous explorers, including Zebulon Pike, Lewis Cass, and Giacomo Beltrami.
More than a half century passed before surveyor . . . — Map (db m71470) HM|
|Minnesota (Cook County), Grand Portage — The Grand Portage|
|The Grand Portage, or Great Carrying Place, was a key 18th century link between the Pigeon River and Lake Superior, making it also a vital connection between Montreal and the rich fur-bearing lands far to the northwest. Traveled for centuries before by Native peoples, the 8.5 mile portage bypassed the unnavigable rapids and waterfalls on the lower 21 miles of the Pigeon River. Beginning about 1731, thousands of tons of furs and traded goods were carried across the Grand Portage on the backs of . . . — Map (db m62049) HM|
|Minnesota (Crow Wing County), Brainerd — All Veterans Memorial|
In Honor and Memory
of all men and women
who served in the
Armed Forces of the
United States of America,
in war and peace
Vietnam 1964-1973 — Map (db m78407) WM|
|Minnesota (Crow Wing County), Brainerd — Carnegie Library|
was presented to the
City of Brainerd
Anno Domini, 1904. — Map (db m78408) HM|
|Minnesota (Crow Wing County), Brainerd — First N. P. Depot — 1871 Historic Site 1971|
[Title is text] — Map (db m78409) HM|
|Minnesota (Crow Wing County), Brainerd — Former Northern Pacific Railway Water Tower|
Official Minnesota Historic Site
Dedication July 4, 1974 — Map (db m78410) HM|
|Minnesota (Crow Wing County), Deerwood — The Cuyuna Range|
|Named for entrepreneur Cuyler Adams and his faithful dog Una, the Cuyuna Ranges lies at the westernmost edge of a ring of iron ore that circles Lake Superior. The smallest of Minnesota’s three northern iron ranges, the Cuyuna was also the last to be opened. By the time ore was shipped from the first Cuyuna mine to Duluth in 1911, Minnesota had already become the leading iron ore producer in the country.
In many ways, this range differs from Minnesota’s other two great ranges. Here the ore . . . — Map (db m43934) HM|
|Minnesota (Crow Wing County), Fort Ripley — Fort Ripley|
|The establishment of Fort Ripley in 1848 represents the U.S. government’s effort to establish control on the northern frontier. Construction began on the west bank of the Mississippi River across from this point a year before Minnesota became a territory. The government intended it to be a buffer between lands of the Dakota and the Ojibwe and to protect the Ho-Chunk (Winnebago) who had been unwillingly moved from their land in Wisconsin Territory as part of the buffer.
Originally known as . . . — Map (db m43935) HM|
|Minnesota (Crow Wing County), Garrison — Lake Mille Lacs Walleye|
Legend has it this walleye was caught by Paul Bunyan and Babe the Blue Ox after a three day struggle. Paul finally wrapped his line around Babe's horns and Babe pulled the fish out of Lake Mille Lacs and up onto Garrison Beach. — Map (db m78403) HM|
|Minnesota (Crow Wing County), Garrison — Mille Lacs Lake|
Names from the fur traders' phrase "The Thousand Lakes Region." This lake is 1250 feet above sea level and covers about 200 square miles. It formerly included much low ground and several adjacent lakes. When visited by Du Luth in 1679, Sioux villages, now indicated by numerous burial mounds, lined the lake shore. — Map (db m78405) HM|
|Minnesota (Crow Wing County), Garrison — William A. Tauer|
This memorial erected
in honor of
William A. Tauer
who sacrificed his life
to save others
during the storm on
Mille Lacs Lake
June 10, 1927 — Map (db m78406) HM|
|Minnesota (Dakota County), Hastings — Downtown Develops|
|As Hastings quickly grew and settlement in the area increased, this port city soon became the commercial center for Dakota County farmers.
Farmers brought wagons full of crops to the Hastings market, and then returned home driving wagons full of goods purchased from the city's growing number of merchants. The thriving community soon attracted numerous industries and skilled workers.
A Landmark Remembered
In 1895, the city erected the Spiral Bridge which deposited traffic at the . . . — Map (db m47843) HM|
|Minnesota (Dakota County), Hastings — Enjoying the River|
|The Mississippi River has been a source of recreation for many generations. People have long enjoyed its beauty and marveled at its power.
This is more true than ever today. Boating, hiking, and bird watching all draw people to the river. In 1988, the federal government recognized the importance of the river's recreational appeal by designating a 72-mile stretch of the river as the Mississippi River and Recreational Area.
Safety and Stewardship
The Mississippi is a large and . . . — Map (db m48510) HM|
|Minnesota (Dakota County), Hastings — Geology of the Dakota County Region|
|Hasting lies just south and East of the last glaciation. About 20,000 years ago a lobe of ice, called the Superior lobe, advanced from the Lake Superior basin and crossed the ancient bedrock valley of the Mississippi River between St. Paul and Hastings. There it filled the valley with ice and sediment (silt, sand, gravel and boulders). Glacial ice trapped in the valley was then covered by more sediment as the ice lobe slowly receded. The melting lobe then deposited a large amount of sediment . . . — Map (db m42199) HM|
|Minnesota (Dakota County), Hastings — Going with the Flow|
|A dynamic force, the Mississippi River changes constantly. Humans have also changed the river, dramatically altering its flow and levels — sometimes with unintended results.
In its natural state, the river once flowed freely across a large floodplain — which included the trail that you are standing on now. The river habitat relied on this seasonal flooding, a key feature of a river's natural system.
Shaping the Land
Much of the Upper Mississippi River Valley was . . . — Map (db m48570) HM|
|Minnesota (Dakota County), Hastings — Hastings Grows|
|From 1856 to 1865, in its first decade of existence, the city of Hastings grew by 2,500 people, enjoying a boom of settlement also experienced by other cities along the Mississippi.
A steady flow of settlers, including many immigrants, contributed to a rapid growth of farming and industry in the region — and Hastings became a hub of commercial activity.
The Arrival of Immigrants
The treaties of 1851 relocated the Dakota to reservations, opening abundant land west of the . . . — Map (db m48361) HM|
|Minnesota (Dakota County), Hastings — Hastings Spiral Bridge — Erected 1895 • Demolished 1951|
|Hastings Spiral Bridge Only One of Its Kind in America
April 27 1895 eight thousand people commemorated the opening of the new "High Wagon Bridge" across the Mississippi River.
It was built in seven months at a cost of $39,050 by the Wisconsin Bridge and Iron Works of Milwaukee, replacing the inadequate rope ferry which served the city of 3,848 people and its trade area.
Four men claim credit for its design. The traditional straight approach by-passed the business area, thus . . . — Map (db m49690) HM|
|Minnesota (Dakota County), Hastings — Ignatius Donnelly's Nininger City Home|
Just northwest of here, at the bottom of the hill, stood the home of Ignatius Donnelly, author, orator, politician, reformer, and prophet who was easily the best known Minnesotan of his time, both in the state and throughout the world.
Donnelly, a lawyer from Philadelphia, moved west to Minnesota and launched a national campaign to attract settlers to Nininger City, a promising village of more than 500 residents when it was laid out around 1856. After the town melted away during the . . . — Map (db m65584) HM|
|Minnesota (Dakota County), Hastings — Living in the Water|
|The Mississippi River has provided a habitat for many species of fish and other aquatic creatures for millions of years. Human modifications of the river have had both positive and negative effects on fish populations here. Many types of fish thrive in the oxygen-rich waters just below the dam, but backwater areas, which used to provide important breeding grounds, have disappeared.
Early Fishing Practices
For the Dakota and Ojibwe peoples who lived in the vicinity of the Mississippi, . . . — Map (db m49277) HM|
|Minnesota (Dakota County), Hastings — Mississippi|
|The Father of Waters
The Mighty Miss
The Great River
Source: Lake Itasca MN 552 River Miles
Mouth: Gulf of Mexico 1788 River Miles
This natural water highway made possible many of man's experiences on the North American continent. The Hastings Levee served as a port when people and commerce relied on water transport. This mooring ring is a reminder of the River's golden era.
Hazel Jacobsen Theel
1999 — Map (db m47809) HM|
|Minnesota (Dakota County), Hastings — Native Cultures|
|For more than 10,000 years, people have lived near the Mississippi River. The first cultures relied on hunting, fishing, and gathering for survival. As early as 1,000 years ago, however, Indian peoples were farming portions of the river valley near here, growing corn, beans, squash, and sunflowers.
Many early cultures used the river as a major transportation route. The river enabled the development of extensive trade networks between groups for items such as copper, lead ore, and shells . . . — Map (db m49801) HM|
|Minnesota (Dakota County), Hastings — Nininger Historic Site|
|On this historic site, the SW corner of Block 67 of the Nininger City plat, was located a building that served the citizens for a century and a half. Construction began in March, 1858, when the Nininger Chapter of the Independent Order of Good Templars, founded in New York to promote total abstinence of intoxicating liquors, established a two story Good Templars' Hall here. However, membership faltered and the first floor became a school in 1859.
Decay destroyed the first floor of the 20' . . . — Map (db m65618) HM|
|Minnesota (Dakota County), Hastings — River Habitats|
|The Mississippi River and its backwaters are home to a vast and diverse array of fish and wildlife. The river's natural fluctuations help create an environment rich in vegetation — providing food and habitat for nesting birds, fish, and numerous other creatures.
But modifications such as dams and levees, while helpful to navigation and agriculture, threaten the river's ability to sustain this critical habitat. Water level management is one tool for restoring river habitat.
. . . — Map (db m50358) HM|
|Minnesota (Dakota County), Hastings — Roadside Park Veterans Memorial|
In Honor and Memory
of All Men and Women
Who Served Our Country
During War and Peace in
the Armed Forces of the
United States of America
Duty · Honor · Country — Map (db m42213) HM|
|Minnesota (Dakota County), Hastings — Shaping the River|
|The natural river above Hastings was treacherous for steamboats, with a depth that reached only three and one-half feet in some places. The first efforts of the federal government to improve navigation of the river were wing dams (piles of rock and brush) to direct the river's flow, and closing dams that constricted alternate water channels, thereby scouring a deeper river bottom.
Finally, in the late 1920s, in order to create a nine-foot navigable channel, the federal . . . — Map (db m48475) HM|
|Minnesota (Dakota County), Hastings — Spiral Bridge — 1895 – 1951|
This footing is all that
remains of the unique
bridge that once spanned
Historical Preservation Commission
1982 — Map (db m49747) HM|
|Minnesota (Dakota County), Hastings — Steamboats, Trains, and Barges|
|The Mississippi River has long been a major artery for trade and transportation.
For thousands of years, Indians traveled on the river by canoe. By the 1850s, rivertowns like Hastings boomed as steamboats brought settlers into the region. The steamboat era was colorful but short, coming to an end with the expansion of railroads.
With the construction of the lock and dam system in the 1930s, the Mississippi again became an important shipping thoroughfare — and it remains so . . . — Map (db m48589) HM|
|Minnesota (Dakota County), Hastings — Veterans Memorial Levee|
|This levee honors all who served in our nation's armed forces and is dedicated to the eternal memory of those who gave their lives.
25 July 1981 — Map (db m47790) HM|
|Minnesota (Dakota County), Inver Grove Heights — B-52 Crash Site — Cold War Veterans Memorial|
|On this spot on September 16, 1958, a U.S. Air force B-52D bomber crashed while on a Cold War training mission originating from Loring Air Force Base, Limestone, Maine. Seven crewmen gave their lives for their country. They were:
Captain Wm. C. Horstman, pilot, Kansas City, MO
Captain Richard J. Cantwell, navigator, Phoenix, AZ
Major S. O. Gillespie, Jr., radar observer, Atlanta, GA
1st Lt. Wm. F. Huskey, engineer, Norman, OK
T/Sgt. Leon R. Lew, tail gunner, . . . — Map (db m45193) HM|
|Minnesota (Dakota County), Inver Grove Heights — The Salem Evangelical Church|
|The first congregation in Minnesota of the Evangelical Association of North America was organized here on March 2, 1857 by the Reverend Andrew Tarnutzer. The first small frame building was replaced in 1875 by a church measuring 20 by 32 feet and having a spire reaching upward 30 feet. The first camp meeting of the Evangelical Association in Minnesota was held here from July 1 to 6, 1857. The last annual meeting recorded in the book of minutes is dated January 8, 1910.
After its closing, . . . — Map (db m67319) HM|
|Minnesota (Dakota County), Mendota — "Where the Waters Meet"|
|Called M'Dote or "the place where waters meet" by the Dakota, this area is central to many Dakota creation stories and is significant to Dakota people today. Just west of this site is Pilot Knob, which was used extensively for burials by the Dakota up to the 1850s.
Archaeological research has uncovered evidence of habitation at this location going back at least 9,000 years. Artifacts such as French gunflints and other trade goods clearly show this was one of the earliest fur-trading . . . — Map (db m37659) HM|
|Minnesota (Dakota County), Mendota — Faribault House|
|In front of you stands the Faribault House, built by long-time fur trader Jean-Baptiste in 1839. Faribault was originally from the Montreal area, and had been associated with the British and American fur traders since the late 1790s. He built this spacious home for his wife, Pelagie, and their children. In 1853, after Pelagie died, he and his son Alexander moved to what is now the town of Faribault
After Jean-Baptiste left, a series of owners tried to make a living as hoteliers. By the . . . — Map (db m37618) HM|
|Minnesota (Dakota County), Mendota — General Henry Hastings Sibley|
[symbol of the Daughters of the American Revolution; image of the Sibley House]
To the glory of God and in memory of General Henry Hastings Sibley. Born February 20, 1811, died February 18, 1891. A great patriot - soldier - statesman. This historic marker is built
of the only remaining stone from the pioneer church erected by General Sibley in 1847 as a place of worship; "for Christians of all denominations." The church stood upon a high hill opposite this site.
. . . — Map (db m37573) HM|
|Minnesota (Dakota County), Mendota — Henry Sibley and Old Mendota|
|The Sibley House was built in 1836 for Henry Hastings Sibley, regional manager for the American Fur Company. The first floor was designed for business operations, and the second floor was his bachelor's residence. Two additions were made to the house after 1843, when Sibley married Sarah Jane Steele. The rear addition expanded the living space and added a kitchen and dining area, while the office on the left served as his business headquarters. Sibley also lived here when he served as the first . . . — Map (db m41358) HM|
|Minnesota (Dakota County), Mendota — Mendota / Sibley House|
| [symbol of the Daughters of the American Revolution]
In the language of the Sioux means the mouth of a river. Was the earliest
permanent white settlement in southern Minnesota. A pioneer center of the fur trade. Near
here were signed treaties with the Indians in 1805 · 1837 · 1851, ceding to the whites most
of the land in Minnesota. Fort Snelling was established on this side of the river in 1819.
This region was long known as Saint Peters.
Sibley House . . . — Map (db m37534) HM|
|Minnesota (Dakota County), Mendota — Mendota / Sibley House Association|
This wide valley intersection between the two rivers known today as the Minnesota and Mississippi has been a meeting place for people for thousands of years.
The Dakota people lived on these prairielands by the 1700s. They knew this place as Mdo'-te or "the junction of one river with another." French explorers and traders who were here in the late 1600s named the Minnesota river Sans Pierres because the river was silty but had few rocks. British . . . — Map (db m38269) HM|
|Minnesota (Dakota County), Mendota — Sibley House Historic Site|
|Welcome to the Sibley House Historic Site! This area had long been the center of travel and trade for the Dakota when it became the center for American Fur Company operations on the Upper Mississippi. It was also home to Minnesota's first governor, Henry Sibley.
The stone houses you see below are the remnants of the vibrant operation of the fur trade centered here from the late 1700s to the 1850s. When 23-year-old Henry Sibley arrived to take over operations in 1834, he came roughly to . . . — Map (db m41238) HM|
|Minnesota (Dakota County), Mendota — St. Peter's Church|
|Here at Mendota (where the rivers meet) missionaries ministered to both Indians and settlers, enduring the hardships of a sprawling wilderness that was the Minnesota country. In 1842, Father Lucien Galtier built a small, log chapel with only two windows, where the Catholics of St. Peter's Parish worshipped for nearly eleven years.
In 1844 Father Augustin Ravoux, who had already spent three years in the area, arrived at Mendota to assist Father Galtier. When Father Galtier left to serve . . . — Map (db m37714) HM|
|Minnesota (Dakota County), Mendota — The First Stone House|
|1835 • 1916
[symbol of the D.A.R.]
The first stone house erected in the State
of Minnesota by its first Governor,
Gen. Henry Hastings Sibley.
Secured in 1910 for the St. Paul Chapter, Daughters of the American Revolution
from St. Peter's Parish of Mendota
— by —
Mrs. Lucy Shepard MacCourt.
Presented to the State Society D.A.R.
April 19, 1910. — Map (db m37594) HM|
|Minnesota (Dakota County), Mendota Heights — Mendota Work Camp No. 1|
The "New Deal"
During the Great Depression of the early 1930's, more than 25 percent of the nations' workforce was unemployed. One of President Franklin Roosevelt's New Deal programs was the Works Progress Administration (WPA). The WPA employed 8.5 million people during its eight years of existence. Projects completed by the WPA included the construction of 650,000 miles of roadways, 125,000 public buildings, 13,000 playgrounds and 8,000 . . . — Map (db m40481) HM|
|Minnesota (Dakota County), Mendota Heights — Pilot Knob|
1851 • 1922
[symbol of the D.A.R.]
To Commemorate The Treaty at Mendota
Whereby the Sioux Indians ceded their lands
in the Territory of Minnesota and State of Iowa
to the United States Government.
Mendota Chapter, Daughters American Revolution
St. Paul, Minn. — Map (db m37430) HM|
|Minnesota (Dakota County), Mendota Heights — United States War Veterans Memorial|
to the memory of all
United States War Veterans
June 25, 1939
United Spanish War Veterans
Veterans of Foreign Wars
American Legion — Map (db m37739) HM|
|Minnesota (Dakota County), South Saint Paul — Armour & Company — 1919 – 1979|
|With the establishment of the stockyards, meat buyers were quick to congregate in South St. Paul. In 1897, Armour had buyers here. Cattle, hogs and sheep were purchased and then shipped to Chicago for processing. Nearby the Swift & Company plant was already operational. The St. Paul Union Stockyards offered Armour land and financing to build a plant but Armour declined. In 1915, after the start of World War I, subsidies, free land and the lure of an established public livestock market provided . . . — Map (db m31247) HM|
|Minnesota (Dakota County), South Saint Paul — Kaposia Village|
|Here on the Mendota Trail from 1839 to 1852 stood the Sioux village of the Little Crow family. An attempted Chippewa attack in 1842 precipitated the Battle of Kaposia across the river. After the Treaty of Mendota in 1851 the band moved up the Minnesota River to the Lower Sioux Agency region near Redwood.
[seal of the Minnesota Historical Society] [seal of the State of Minnesota, Department of Highways] — Map (db m31186) HM|
|Minnesota (Dakota County), South Saint Paul — Swift & Company — 1897 – 1969|
|On this site stood Swift & Company’s slaughterhouse and meat packing plant. It eventually became the company’s largest plant in the United States. The area covered 28 acres, with 30.5 acres of floor space in multi-storied buildings.
Swift & Company, founded in Chicago in 1869, came to this location in 1897 when Alpheus B. Stickney, a prominent businessman and President of the Chicago Great Western Railroad, negotiated a 999 year lease with Gustavus Swift of Chicago to take over a small . . . — Map (db m40768) HM|
|Minnesota (Dakota County), South Saint Paul — The Stockyards|
|The idea to create a livestock market and meat packing center at South St. Paul was conceived by Alpheus B. Stickney, a prominent railroad businessman. After meetings with western livestock ranchers and producers, the need to locally slaughter and process the cattle, hogs, and sheep passing through the area en route to Chicago became apparent. Stickney discussed the situation with livestock organizations and business leaders of St. Paul. The St. Paul Union Stockyards was organized June 30, . . . — Map (db m31274) HM|
|Minnesota (Faribault County), Blue Earth — A Golden Dedication for I-90|
|The nation celebrated completion of Interstate 90 after contractors paved the last four-miles of freeway near Blue Earth in 1978. Reminiscent of the "Golden Spike" that symbolized completion of the nation's first transcontinental railroad in 1869, officials arranged to tint a small section of I-90's pavement gold. Also, like the two locomotives that met at the juncture of the transcontinental railroad to represent east meeting west, two Minnesota National Guard trucks met at the union of I-90, . . . — Map (db m34405) HM|
|Minnesota (Fillmore County), Lanesboro — Minnesota's Norwegian Americans|
|Like immigrants from many European nations in the mid-19th century, Norwegians left their homeland to escape overpopulation, food shortages, and farm foreclosures. They began arriving in Minnesota in the 1850s, drawn by rich farmland and job opportunities. Eventually they grew to become the state's third largest ethnic group, and Minnesota became a national cultural center for Norwegian Americans. Among the first to arrive were immigrants who had first settled in Wisconsin and then migrated . . . — Map (db m31323) HM|
|Minnesota (Freeborn County), Albert Lea — Minnesota’s Roads / Welcome to Minnesota|
|Minnesota's Roads. "A perfect highway is a thing of beauty and joy forever," enthused a speaker at Minnesota's first "Good Roads" convention in 1893. "It blesses every home by which it passes."
Early in the 1890s, even before the automobile age, bicycling Minnesotans and those interested in improved mail delivery and farm marketing were clamoring for better roads. But Minnesota's constitution, adopted with statehood in 1858, expressly prohibited the state from engaging in "works of . . . — Map (db m9911) HM|
|Minnesota (Goodhue County), Cannon Falls — "We Must Have a Gun"|
|The Grand Army of the Republic (the GAR) was organized by Civil War veterans. The Cannon Falls George McKinley GAR Post #92 closed its minutes on February 1, 1897, with this note: "We Must Have a Gun." Its members were determined to acquire a Civil War cannon for Cannon Falls as a symbol of their shared sacrifice and to honor Colonel William Colvill, hero at the battle of Gettysburg. It took more than 10 years, but in 1910, a Civil War cannon was shipped from the . . . — Map (db m46821) HM|
|Minnesota (Goodhue County), Cannon Falls — 1888 Cannon Falls Fire Hall|
|This property has been
placed on the
of Historic Places
by the United States
Department of the Interior — Map (db m46837) HM|
|Minnesota (Goodhue County), Cannon Falls — 20 — Colonel William Colvill Monument|
Col. 1st Regt. Minn. Vols.
Born April 5, 1830.
Died June 12, 1905.
In Memory Of
Colonel William Colvill and the 1st Reg. Minn. Vols. which he commanded at the Battle of Gettysburg on July 2nd, 1863.
This was the first regiment tendered to President Lincoln at the outbreak of the Civil War; and it served three years in the Army of the Potomac, during which time it engaged in the following battles and operations:
. . . — Map (db m46813) HM|
|Minnesota (Goodhue County), Frontenac — Christ Episcopal Church|
|Built to the Glory of God
by Gen. Nathaniel C. McLean
and Consecrated October 27th
by Bishop Henry Whipple.
This church has been placed on the
National Register of Historic Places
by the United States
Department of the Interior. — Map (db m45602) HM|
|Minnesota (Goodhue County), Frontenac — GD-FLC-056 — Fort Beauharnois|
|On the shore of Lake Pepin just north of here a French expedition commanded by LaPerriere and accompanied by two Jesuits in September 1727 built a substantial log fort and the mission of St. Michael the Archangel. The post was occupied periodically until about 1756.
[seals of the Minnesota Department of Highways and Minnesota Historical Society]
2010 Replica of Original 1940 Plaque — Map (db m45242) HM|
|Minnesota (Goodhue County), Frontenac — Frontenac|
|This scenic Mississippi River site provided Native Americans food, shelter, and transportation for over 9,000 years. Count Frontenac, the Governor of New France, sponsored the first European explorers to this area in 1680. James (Bully) Wells established a fur trading post in 1840. In 1854, Evert Westervelt opened the first store in “Western Landing.” Israel and Lewis Garrard brought resources and craftsmen to build an aristocratic frontier city and, in 1857 platted the town . . . — Map (db m47158) HM|
|Minnesota (Goodhue County), Frontenac — GD-FLC-054 — Lake Pepin's Shell Game / In Search of Summer — Great River Road Minnesota|
| Lake Pepin's Shell Game
Celebrated today as a resort area, Lake Pepin had an earlier fame as a clamming center. In the late 1800s and early 1900s, more than 500 clammers worked the lake from their flat-bottomed johnboats, using giant combs called crowfoot bars to rake the abundant mussel beds. In this way, they gathered mussel shells to sell to the button factories at Lake City.
With thirty-two species in its waters, Lake Pepin
was unusually rich in mussels. Many bore colorful . . . — Map (db m51948) HM|
|Minnesota (Goodhue County), Frontenac — Wakondiota Park|
|In the 1857 town plat of Frontenac (then called Westervelt), Wakondiota Park was designated as two blocks long, one block wide, and located at what is now the Christ Episcopal Church site. When the town was renamed in 1859, the park was moved one block east, quadrupled in length, and merged with Delta Park.
[Frontenac street map]
The Dakota Native American word "Wakondiota" means "a sacred space created by the cutting of many trees". The park's name befits the spirit and intent . . . — Map (db m47877) HM|
|Minnesota (Goodhue County), Red Wing — Barn Bluff|
|"The most beautiful prospect that imagination can form," wrote 18th century explorer Jonathan Carver about the view from Barn Bluff. "Verdant plains, fruitful meadows, and numerous islands abound with the most varied trees.... But above all, reaching as far as the eye can extend, is the majestic, softly flowing river.”
Composed of various Paleozoic rocks, including sandstone, siltstone, and dolomite, and capped by some 35 feet of sand, gravel, and loess deposited by glaciation, Barn . . . — Map (db m24816) HM|
|Minnesota (Goodhue County), Red Wing — Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul Railroad Depot — Completed: 1905|
|The construction of this building began in 1904 following an agreement in which the city of Red Wing provided trackage concessions and the railroad agreed to construct this depot and donate money toward construction of Levee Park. This building was designed by the railroad company architect, J.M. Nettenstrom, in a style influenced by the neoclassical revival of the 1893 Chicago Columbian Exposition.
Located in the Red Wing Historic Mall District and listed in the National Register of . . . — Map (db m49097) HM|
|Minnesota (Goodhue County), Red Wing — Civil War Memorial|
1861–1865 — Map (db m45492) HM|
|Minnesota (Goodhue County), Red Wing — Geology of Minnesota — Red Wing Region|
During the great ice ages the landscape of Minnesota was profoundly altered by continental glaciers in four major epochs of glaciation. In this area, as elsewhere, the closing stage of each epoch was characterized by the release of floods of meltwater which eroded the broad valley of the Mississippi River 200 feet deeper than the present channel. Because the tributary streams carried less water than the main river they were unable to cut down so rapidly, and consequently their valley . . . — Map (db m45869) HM|
|Minnesota (Goodhue County), Red Wing — Goodhue County Veterans Memorial|
|Dedicated to those who gave their lives in service to their country.
[outline of Goodhue County]
Goodhue County Veterans Memorial · May 21, 1988 — Map (db m52985) HM|
|Minnesota (Goodhue County), Red Wing — Kiwanis Stairway|
|Citizens of Red Wing have long sought convenient access to the summit of Mt. La Grange (Barn Bluff) to enjoy the impressive view of the Mississippi valley.
In 1889 local civic leader C.C. Webster promoted the construction of a path up the west face of the bluff. Built with volunteer labor, it became known as Webster's Way.
In 1908 members of the Civic League under the leadership of A.W. Pratt, organized a community group to rebuild the then long-neglected pathway. For several years . . . — Map (db m24890) HM|
|Minnesota (Goodhue County), Red Wing — Mt. La Grange – Barn Bluff|
|This bold bluff was a landmark for French explorers who named it Mt. La Grange for its resemblance to a large barn.
Some 10,000 years ago meltwater from the glaciers carved a deep channel in this area. Barn Bluff became an island in the five-mile wide river that then filled the valley.
The rock layers are shown at the left. The nearly vertical fault line visible at the bluff's southwest edge indicates a crack which developed millions of years ago. As a result the greater part of the . . . — Map (db m24982) HM|
|Minnesota (Goodhue County), Red Wing — National Newspaper Association|
|Launched from Red Wing, the National Newspaper Association has been the voice and vehicle of grassroots American journalism for 100 years.
NNA was founded as the National Editorial Assn. but was renamed in 1965. Today it embraces approximately 5,000 community weeklies and 700 dailies going into 45 million U. S. homes. NNA nurtures press freedom, upholds journalistic standards, and defends First Amendment rights.
Benjamin Briggs Herbert, then editing the . . . — Map (db m46972) HM|
|Minnesota (Goodhue County), Red Wing — Remember the Maine — 1898 • 1902|
In Memory of the Soldiers, Sailors and Marines
Spanish American War, who Volunteered in the Cause of
Freedom, Patriotism, and Humanity.
Dedicated by the
Department of Minnesota Auxiliary
United Spanish War Veterans
June 19, 1943 — Map (db m52401) HM|
|Minnesota (Goodhue County), Red Wing — T.B. Sheldon Memorial Auditorium|
|Theodore B. Sheldon, prominent local grain merchant and business leader, bequeathed to the City of Red Wing half of his estate to be used for a public purpose. After his death in 1900, his trustees chose to construct the T.B. Sheldon Memorial Auditorium.
Built in 1904, it is believed to be the first municipally owned playhouse in the United States.
The gray brick building of Renaissance style, designed by Lowell Lamoreaux, originally had a triple doorway at the entrance and . . . — Map (db m47739) HM|
|Minnesota (Goodhue County), Red Wing — The G.A. Carlson Lime Kiln|
|The G.A. Carlson Lime Kiln, built in 1882 on the northeast end of Barn Bluff (Mt. LaGrange), is typical of approximately thirty such kilns in use in the Red Wing area during the period from 1870 to 1908. Gustavus Adolphus Carlson at one time operated 12 lime kilns in Red Wing.
Limestone taken from the many quarries in and around Red Wing provided a significant source of building materials for the city and surrounding areas as far as St. Paul and Minneapolis. Quarry products included cut . . . — Map (db m39722) HM|
|Minnesota (Goodhue County), Red Wing — The Sea Wing Disaster / Victims of the Sea Wing Disaster|
|On July 13, 1890 the steamer Sea Wing, heavily loaded with 215 passengers and crew, left the steamboat landing here for a Sunday excursion down the Mississippi River to Lake City.
The Sea Wing, based in Diamond Bluff, Wisconsin, was usually employed as a log-rafter, but for this trip captain and co-owner David Wethern had lashed a barge to his ship to increase its passenger capacity. Citizens of Red Wing were interested in the excursion since Lake City was the site of the . . . — Map (db m49445) HM|
|Minnesota (Goodhue County), Red Wing — William Colvill|
|William Colvill was born in New York state on April 5, 1830. As a young lawyer he moved to Red Wing in 1854, becoming the town's first city attorney.
On April 19, 1861 — one week after the Confederates fired on Fort Sumter — a citizens' meeting was held at the courthouse in Red Wing in response to a call for Union soldiers. Colvill and 49 others eagerly enlisted as members of the "Goodhue Volunteers." Colvill is said to have leaped over the backs of others attending the . . . — Map (db m48890) HM|
|Minnesota (Goodhue County), Vasa — Vasa: Mattson's Settlement|
|Founded in 1853 and called “Mattson’s Settlement” after its first resident, Hans Mattson, the community was renamed Vasa in 1856 in honor of Swedish King Gustav Vasa. Once called “the most Swedish colony in America,” the town prospered as an agricultural community until its two general stores, creamery, and post office were closed in the 1950s. It has continued to serve as a religious center, and its ethnic heritage has been carefully preserved.
Two men . . . — Map (db m45380) HM|
|Minnesota (Goodhue County), Zumbrota — First Congregational Church|
This property has been placed on the
by the United States
Department of the Interior
In memory of Laura Schlasner — Map (db m49215) HM|
|Minnesota (Goodhue County), Zumbrota — Zumbrota Covered Bridge|
|Constructed over Zumbro River in 1869 · cost $5,800. Original site Highway 58 about 1,000 feet from present location.
120 feet long town lattice truss design plans by A.J. Thatcher · construction supervised by E.L. Kingsbury.
Served as stagecoach route between St. Paul and Dubuque.
Transported by horses to fairgrounds in 1932 · moved to present site in 1970.
Placed on National Register of Historic Places.
Plaque by Zumbrota Covered Bridge Society. — Map (db m49209) HM|
|Minnesota (Hennepin County), Bloomington — Bloomington Town Hall|
|The Bloomington Town Hall was built twenty feet from this site in 1892 on land given to the Township by the Baillif family. The building was moved to the current location in the 1930's in the first of a number of remodelings the building has experienced.
The Town Hall served as a meeting place, church, school, and municipal building until 1964, when it became the Town Hall Museum and headquarters of the Bloomington Historical Society.
The 2008 restoration returned the exterior . . . — Map (db m15357) HM|
|Minnesota (Hennepin County), Bloomington — Civil War Monument|
Erected by the Citizens of Bloomington,
Memorial Day, 1890,
In honor and memory of our country's defenders
1861, - 1865.
Sever Ellingson, Chairman. •
Wm. Oxborough, Jr. •
H.H. Pond, Treas. •
J.N. Kelly. •
E.B. Miller, Sec't'y.
Died In The Service.
John McClay, Co. B, 1st Minn. Vol. Inf. •
Orville Ames, Co. B, 1st Minn. Vol. Inf. •
Martin S. Whalen, Co. B, 1st Minn. Vol. Inf. • . . . — Map (db m56933) HM|
|Minnesota (Hennepin County), Bloomington — Fallen Heroes Memorial|
SPC Benjamin J. Slaven June 9, 2006 ·
SGT Brent W. Koch June 16, 2006 ·
SPC Kyle R. Miller June 29, 2006 ·
SSG Jeffery J. Hansen Aug. 21, 2006 ·
SSG Joshua R. Hanson Aug. 30, 2006 ·
SGT Germaine L. Debro Sept. 4, 2006 ·
SPC Kampha B. Sourivong Sept. 30, 2006 ·
SFC Scott E. Nisely Sept. 30, 2006 ·
SGT Bryan T. McDonough Dec. 2, . . . — Map (db m42804) WM|
|Minnesota (Hennepin County), Bloomington — Rodney J. Putz — 1939 – 1994|
|In memory of
Rodney J. Putz
1939 – 1994
This living garden has been
planted in memory of
Rodney J. Putz.
Leader, Teacher, Mentor,
Friend, Brother, Father,
Husband, Great Human
Being, and key to the success
Mall of America. — Map (db m17287) HM|
|Minnesota (Hennepin County), Bloomington — Samuel W. and Gideon H. Pond|
|1834 – 1934
To honor Samuel W. and Gideon H. Pond
Volunteer missionaries to the Dakotas who arrived at Ft. Snelling May 6, 1834.
This tablet is placed on the house built in 1856 by Gideon H. Pond. Near-by is the site of the old mission house built of logs in 1843.
Placed June 1934 by Keewaydin Chapter D. A. R. — Map (db m4894) HM|
|Minnesota (Hennepin County), Brooklyn Center — Earle Brown and the Brooklyn Farm|
|Although this site is known today as the Earl Brown farm, it originally belonged to Captain John Martin, who was involved in steamboating, lumbering, banking, flour milling and railroading. In the mid-1880s, he purchased 420 acres of rich Hennepin County farmland. Martin sold the farm to his grandson, Earle Brown in 1901. Brown gradually increased the size of the farm to about 750 acres.
Aspiring to be a gentlemen farmer, Brown initially used the land to breed award-winning Belgian . . . — Map (db m69931) HM|
|Minnesota (Hennepin County), Brooklyn Park — How the Dam Works|
|The original dam was built in 1913 and had 28 steel gates. The gates moved up and down to allow different amounts of water to flow under them. The current dam was completed in 1997 and is fitted with five crest gates. These gates maintain levels by allowing different amounts of water to flow over them. Four of the new gates are made of rubber and can be inflated with air. The gate on the west end of the dam is a steel crest gate.
The steel gate on the west side is . . . — Map (db m74833) HM|
|Minnesota (Hennepin County), Champlin — Louis Hennepin|
left this place
to discover the
St Anthony Falls
Marked by the Daughters
of the American Colonists
– 1929 – — Map (db m69738) HM|
|Minnesota (Hennepin County), Champlin — World War II Monument|
|Honoring the Men and Women of this Community who Served in the Armed Forces of the United States in the Global War.
In memory of neighborhood boys who made the supreme sacrifice in World War II • Kenneth Adcock • Robert L. Goodrich • Robert Herrboldt • Theodore Keniston • Orvis Senear • Orvin Thorson • Walter W. Wagner, Jr. • George L. Johnson.
This monument was erected in 1956 by the Champlin Women's Club to honor those Champlin residents who served to help protect the freedom of the . . . — Map (db m70546) WM|
|Minnesota (Hennepin County), Edina — Minnehaha Grange Hall|
| [west side]
Minnehaha Grange No. 398 was organized on December 12, 1873. Its members came from Edina Mills, Richfield Mills, St. Louis Park and the surrounding area.
At first, the Grange met in the homes of its members. Then in the summer of 1879, the Grangers started construction of a meeting hall near Edina Mills. The site was at the southeast corner of Wooddale Avenue and West 50th Street (now the site of St. Stephen's Episcopal Church).
The building was completed . . . — Map (db m55450) HM|
|Minnesota (Hennepin County), Edina — Old Cahill School|
The Cahill Settlement was one of the early communities in the western half of Richfield Township. It was established in the 1850s by Irish immigrants fleeing famine in their native Ireland.
During the years of 1846, 1847 and 1848, the entire potato crop failed in Ireland. An estimated 1.5 million people died of starvation during the famine years. The pioneer families of the Cahill Settlement were among the 750,000 Irish emigrants that came to the United States . . . — Map (db m55813) HM|
|Minnesota (Hennepin County), Excelsior — Geology of Lake Minnetonka|
|Like most lakes in Minnesota, Lake Minnetonka was formed during the Ice Age of the last two million years. During several separate glacial periods, ice advanced along different routes across the state. The glaciers, along with large volumes of sediment (clay, silt, sand, gravel, and boulders) trapped in the ice, altered the pre-existing terrain and created the landscape we see today.
Before glacial action, the surface of this region consisted of sandstones and limestones, which formed . . . — Map (db m59925) HM|
|Minnesota (Hennepin County), Excelsior — In Honor of All Who Served and Those Who Died|
| Army • Navy • Air Force
Marines • Coast Guard • Merchant Marines
World War I
Grant Lorenz US Army
Donald Gray US Army
Blanchard West US Army
Mervin Grover US Army
Guy R. Forbes US Army
J. Jay Vietz US Army
John W. Crabtree US Army
Roger Kennedy US Army
Herbert L. Schmidt US Air Force
World War II
Alfred Bottke US Marines ·
Omer E. Huntington US Army Air Force ·
Paul B. Johnsen US Army ·
William R. Olson US Army ·
Donald . . . — Map (db m63784) WM|
|Minnesota (Hennepin County), Excelsior — Peter M. Gideon|
|This Tablet Commemorates
Peter M. Gideon
Who Grew The Original
Wealthy Apple Tree
From seed, on this his homestead
— in 1868 —
The Native Sons of Minnesota
— June 1912 — — Map (db m59217) HM|
|Minnesota (Hennepin County), Excelsior — Peter M. Gideon and the Wealthy Apple|
|In 1853, Peter Miller Gideon and his wife, Wealthy, arrived in Minnesota from Ohio and settled on the shores of Lake Minnetonka. Long interested in fruitgrowing, Peter Gideon determined to satisfy the craving of pioneer families for apples and other fruits although all previous efforts to grow them had failed.
In 1854, he recorded that he planted one bushel of apple seed and a peck of peach seed. For fourteen years he planted, seeded, and grafted more than 10,000 apple, cherry, peach, . . . — Map (db m59213) HM|
|Minnesota (Hennepin County), Excelsior — Soldiers Memorial|
[The Grand Army of the Republic Badge]
In memory of our soldier dead. — Map (db m60849) HM|
|Minnesota (Hennepin County), Minneapolis — 1 — 1–Main Entrance Minnehaha Lower Glen|
|The Minneapolis Park and Recreation Board welcomes you to Minnehaha Park. The park consists of two levels: The upper level is maintained as an open picnicking area. Many of the city's traditional festivals such as Svenskarnas Dag are held here. The lower level – Minnehaha Glen – is maintained in a natural state to preserve the natural and cultural history of the city. The combination and the contrast of the two provide you, the user, a variety of experience while in the park.
. . . — Map (db m40787) HM|
|Minnesota (Hennepin County), Minneapolis — 1st Infantry Division — United States Army|
|The heart of the U.S. Army is its regular infantry, with lineage going back to 1808. The First Infantry Division is America’s oldest division. In 1918 the soldiers of the 1st won America’s first major battle of WWI at Cantigy. In WWII the 1st started on the offensive in North Africa in 1942 and led the way on Omaha Beach on D-Day June 6, 1944. In 1964 the 1st became the first regular army division ordered to Vietnam. This Memorial is dedicated to all soldiers who wore the patch of the Big . . . — Map (db m70951) WM|
|Minnesota (Hennepin County), Minneapolis — 3 — 3 – Master Map|
1 Main Glen Entrance
2 Abandoned Falls Marker
3 Master Map
4 Ecological Marker
5 Spring-fed Wetland
6 Old Godfrey Mill Site
7 Lower Glen Geology
8 Camp Fire Area
9 Springs Marker
10 St. Peter Limestone Marker
11 Mississippi Confluence
12 Stone Quarry
13 Lower Glen Entrance
At this point you are near the original mouth of Minnehaha Creek where it formerly emptied into the Mississippi River at a level equal to the top of the falls. Close . . . — Map (db m43665) HM|
|Minnesota (Hennepin County), Minneapolis — Beneath the Surface — Saint Anthony Falls Heritage Trail|
|This 1893 map shows the system of tunnels that ran under the West Side Milling District–part of the complex waterworks that brought energy from the 50-foot drop of the falls into the mills. Water from the
river above the falls flowed through gates into a man-made canal. Next, the water streamed through headraces to turn the turbines that drove the machinery, eventually returning to the river through
tailraces to complete the circuit of energy without combustion.
marker . . . — Map (db m28081) HM|
|Minnesota (Hennepin County), Minneapolis — Bridging the Stream — Saint Anthony Falls Heritage Trail|
|People have long crossed the river at about this point. This was a natural fording place, used by Native Americans and also by soldiers from Fort Snelling. The first documented ferry service was provided by a Dakota Indian woman with her canoe in the 1840s. In 1850 John H. Stevens received permission to operate a ferry for the army and later that year built the first frame house on the west side. Danger lurked, however. Row boats and rafts were always at risk of being swept over the falls by . . . — Map (db m50228) HM|
|Minnesota (Hennepin County), Minneapolis — Changing the Shape of the Falls — Saint Anthony Falls Heritage Trail|
|When Europeans first saw the falls, the crest was well below Hennepin Island. Natural erosion caused the line of the falls to move steadily upriver at about four feet a year. By the 1850s, the cataract was approaching the upper limit of the limestone ledge that sustained it. In the course of time, without human intervention, the falls would soon have become a rapids.
The pace of erosion increased after lumbering and milling began. Logs floating downriver crashed against the limestone and . . . — Map (db m28025) HM|
|Minnesota (Hennepin County), Minneapolis — Christ Church Lutheran — National Register of Historic Places — June 20, 2001|
|Christ Church Lutheran was founded on 1911. This building, designed by world famous Finnish architect, Eliel Saarinen, was completed in 1949. Immediately the building received international acclaim as one of the earliest examples of modernist design of places of worship. The education wing designed by Saarinen’s son, Eero, was completed in 1962. In 1977 the American Institute of Architects awarded the worship space the Twenty-Five Year Award, an award recognizing buildings of enduring . . . — Map (db m50066) HM|
|Minnesota (Hennepin County), Minneapolis — Col. John H. Stevens|
| Born June .13. 1820
Died May .28. 1900
First settler in the City of Minneapolis. — Map (db m17234) HM|
|Minnesota (Hennepin County), Minneapolis — Como–Harriet Streetcar Line|
|For 74 years this transit railway carried passengers to downtown jobs, to University of Minnesota classes, and to picnics and concerts on the shores of Lake Harriet.
Steam passenger trains of the Minneapolis, Lyndale & Minnetonka Railway first reached this station from downtown Minneapolis in 1880. Called the "motor line," the railway was extended to Excelsior in 1882.
The Minneapolis Street Railway Company, organized by Thomas Lowry in 1875, purchased the line in 1887 and converted . . . — Map (db m38850) HM|
|Minnesota (Hennepin County), Minneapolis — Eliza Winston — Saint Anthony Falls Heritage Trail|
|By 1860 St. Anthony had become a favorite summer resort for wealthy southerners who traveled on steamboats up the Mississippi. Often they and their black slaves stayed at the Winslow House. One such slave was Eliza Winston. Slavery was illegal in Minnesota, and a local free black woman named Emily Grey persuaded her to leave her owner. A court sustained Winston's right to freedom, but a proslavery crowd threatened harm. Antislavery people in the town hid her, and she later made her way to Canada. — Map (db m42714) HM|
|Minnesota (Hennepin County), Minneapolis — Father Hennepin Bluffs|
|This was the site from which Father Louis Hennepin, the Franciscan Priest, first viewed the Falls of St. Anthony in June of 1680. He named the falls after his patron saint St. Anthony of Padua.
The famous waterfall was responsible for the birth of Minneapolis. The cataract is the most abrupt drop in the 2,200 mile course of the Mississippi River.
This immediate ground, which commemorates St. Anthony Falls, was the former Lucy Wilder Morris Park. The original size of the area was . . . — Map (db m21030) HM|
|Minnesota (Hennepin County), Minneapolis — First School House|
|This tablet marks the
site of the
First School House
Revs. J. D. Stevens
and Gideon H. Pond
July 5, 1911 — Map (db m65803) HM|
|Minnesota (Hennepin County), Minneapolis — Geology of Minnesota — Lake Harriet Region|
The continental glaciers spreading over Minnesota during the great ice ages brought vast quantities of rock material from the north to be dumped indiscriminately during the recession of the ice. Old river valleys were filled and belts of hills were formed as conditions changed. The Lake Harriet landscape has such an origin.
Leaving the present channel of the Mississippi River at the Plymouth Avenue Bridge, a preglacial valley runs almost directly south beneath Lake of the . . . — Map (db m37863) HM|
|Minnesota (Hennepin County), Minneapolis — Geology of Minnesota — Minnehaha Falls|
Near Fort Snelling, 10,000 years ago, melt water from the Wisconsin glacier was discharged through the Mississippi River and plunged over a ledge of Platteville limestone into a gorge cut chiefly in the white St. Peter sandstone. The undercutting action in the soft sandstone caused the limestone ledge to break off with a vertical face, thus maintaining the falls, while causing them to retreat upstream. When the falls in the main channel passed the upper end of the island–where the . . . — Map (db m40765) HM|
|Minnesota (Hennepin County), Minneapolis — George Washington Bi-Centennial Tree|
|Planted April 27 1932
This tablet placed
April 27 1934
By Halvarson-Bowers Aux' 187
Veterans of Foreign Wars — Map (db m17227) HM|
|Minnesota (Hennepin County), Minneapolis — Gunnar Wennerberg — Swedish Poet, Composer, Educator and Statesman — 1817 – 1901|
|[In Swedish and English, English version follows]:
Oh God, who rulest fate of nations,
Almighty thou in every land;
Who holdest life and death’s privations.
Within the hollow of thy hand,
Whatever punishment thou wieldest
For Svea’s sin of yore ‘gainst thee,
Endure she will, if thou but shieldest
Her immemorial liberty.
Statue presented to the City of Minneapolis
June 24, 1915 by
Wennerberg Memorial Association. — Map (db m17235) HM|
|Minnesota (Hennepin County), Minneapolis — Historic Milling District|
|This aerial view shows the gatehouse, water power canal and adjacent mills as they appeared in 1945. They, together with similar structures on the east bank, made Minneapolis the milling capital of the nation from 1880-1930. Changes in marketing and technology led to its decline.
In the near future, the parkway and related park facilities will be developed in this area. The gatehouse will be uncovered, the canal reopened, and the mill ruins developed as an historic interpretive park. Plans . . . — Map (db m27169) HM|
|Minnesota (Hennepin County), Minneapolis — Indians at the Falls — Saint Anthony Falls Heritage Trail|
|For Native American people, the Falls of St. Anthony was a landmark and sacred place. The river was a major highway for trade and travel. Although no Indian villages have been recorded here, oral traditions suggest frequent visits for fishing and maple sugaring. When white settlers started arriving from the east in the 1840s, Dakota Indians still lived across the prairies to the west and along the Mississippi to the south. The Ojibway Indians lived by the rivers and lakes in the vast white pine forests to the north. — Map (db m43661) HM|
|Minnesota (Hennepin County), Minneapolis — John Harrington Stevens House|
|Built in 1850, this was the first house on the west bank of the Mississippi, located at Saint Anthony Falls near the present-day Minneapolis Post Office.
John H. Stevens received permission to occupy the site, a part of the Fort Snelling military reservation in exchange for providing ferry service at Saint Anthony Falls. Steven's house and claim were originally known as the "ferry farm."
In the years 1850 – 1855, this house became the civic and social hub of the west bank . . . — Map (db m17264) HM|
|Minnesota (Hennepin County), Minneapolis — Joseph N. Nicollet — Saint Anthony Falls Heritage Trail|
|Nicollet Island bears the name of a French scholar and scientist who explored the headwaters of the Mississippi for the US government in 1836. Accompanied by some Ojibway friends and two hired voyageurs, Joseph Nicollet camped by the falls for several days, then canoed up the river with his barometer, sextant, chronometer, charts, and notebooks. From his measurements he created the first reliable map of the region. — Map (db m38455) HM|
|Minnesota (Hennepin County), Minneapolis — Minnehaha Depot|
|Milwaukee Road station agents affectionately referred to the quaint little Minnehaha Depot as "the Princess." Its delicate gingerbread architecture is reminiscent of the Victorian era when ladies in bustles and gentlemen in high collars traveled largely by train.
The first track connecting Minneapolis with Mendota was laid in 1865 by the Minnesota Central Railway, the predecessor of the Chicago, Milwaukee and St. Paul Railway. The Princess was built in the mid-1870s to replace a smaller . . . — Map (db m17233) HM|
|Minnesota (Hennepin County), Minneapolis — New Uses for Old Mills — Saint Anthony Falls Heritage Trail|
|The square seven-story building with a sloping mansard roof at First Street and Fifth Avenue was built in 1879 as the Crown Roller Mill. It was then one of the largest and most modern flour mills at the falls, although its daily capacity of 2,400 barrels was soon surpassed by others.
Because of the heavy machinery they held, flour mills had thick stone or brick walls and massive foundations, making them good candidates for remodeling and re-use. In 1988, with a combination of public and . . . — Map (db m43004) HM|
|Minnesota (Hennepin County), Minneapolis — Peavey Fountain|
|Given to the people of Minneapolis in 1891 by F.H. Peavey as a drinking fountain for horses. This monument was rededicated as a memorial to the horses of the 151st Field Artillery Minnesota National Guard killed in action in the First World War. — Map (db m76192) HM WM|
|Minnesota (Hennepin County), Minneapolis — Pettingill's Wonderful Water — Saint Anthony Falls Heritage Trail|
|A natural spring flows from the rock at the base of Hennepin Bluff below this spot. According to tradition the iron-red mud at the spring provided pigment for Native Americans. White settlers of the 1850s believed the water had medicinal qualities. In 1875 the enterprising M.P.Pettingill capitalized on the popularity of the falls as a tourist mecca and health resort by building a spa and selling the water. The business was abandoned in the early 1880s when the source of the spring was traced to a dirty swamp some distance away. — Map (db m21033) HM|
|Minnesota (Hennepin County), Minneapolis — Portaging Around the Falls — Saint Anthony Falls Heritage Trail|
|For untold generations of Indian people the Mississippi River was an important canoe route. To pass around the falls, the Dakota (Sioux) and Ojibway (Chippewa) used a well-established portage trail. Starting at a landing below the site now occupied by the steam plant, the trail climbed the bluff to this spot. From here it followed the east bank along what is now Main Street to a point well above the falls. — Map (db m21032) HM|