|Missouri, St. Louis — Nimνipuu (Nez Perce)|
[Traveling?] approximately 2,000 miles from present-day Idaho, four Nimνipuu (Nez Perce) came to St. Louis in the fall of 1831 to the home of William Clark. Feeling pressure from an encroaching white presence in their homeland, these men sought information on the white man's culture and a greater understanding of the "Book of Heaven." Knowledge was power - power to assure their families thrived and that their way of life continued. Black Eagle and Speaking Eagle fell ill and died . . . — Map (db m62061) HM|
|Missouri, St. Louis — Aloe Plaza The Meeting of the Waters|
| This fountain by the sculptor Carl Milles symbolizes the union of the Mississippi and Missouri rivers · The two central figures represent the two great rivers while the lesser water creatures suggest the many tributaries and streams · Milles conceived the sculpture as embodiment of the freedom and primeval force of the waterways of the Great Mississippi Valley and he thought of the grouping as a marriage or festival celebrating the coming together of these great waters · The sculptor, Swedish . . . — Map (db m62213) HM|
|Missouri, St. Louis — American Elm Missouri State Champion Tree Treemendous|
This is to certify that the
described below is the largest
known tree of its species in the
state of Missouri recorded by
Missouri Department of Conservation
Species: Ulmus americana
Owner: Bellefontaine Cemetery
Nominator: Margaret McCall
Measured by: Perry Eckhardt & Mark Grueber
Date Measured: July 2, 2010
Circumference: 191 inches
Height: 102 feet
Spread: 122 feet
Score: 324 points
County: St. Louis City . . . — Map (db m62186) HM|
|Missouri, St. Louis — Auguste Chouteau|
Born September 26, 1740
Died February 24, 1829
Founder of St. Louis — Map (db m62017) HM|
|Missouri, St. Louis — Basilica of Saint Louis, King|
|On this location the first church in St. Louis, a small wood structure was blessed on June 24, 1770. Six years later it was replaced by a larger church of white oak timbers blessed and used for divine service for the first time in early summer of 1776. It also served as the Cathedral for the installation of Bishop Louis DuBourg, the Bishop of Louisiana and the Floridas, who took up residence here January 5, 1818. Little more than two months later on March 29, 1818, the cornerstone for a brick . . . — Map (db m62637) HM|
|Missouri, St. Louis — Capture of Camp Jackson|
|The Strength of our Nation is the Union of States
To Commemorate The capture of Camp Jackson - May 10 1861 - By - The Missouri Volunteers:
First Regiment Infantry - Colonel Frank Blair,
Second Regiment Infantry - Colonel Henry Bernsyein,
Third Regiment Infantry - Colonel Franz Sigel,
Fourth Regiment Infantry - Colonel Nicholas Schuettner,
First Reg US Reserve Corps - Col Henry Almstedt,
Second Reg US Reserve Corps - Col Henry Kallman,
Third Reg US . . . — Map (db m51474) HM|
|Missouri, St. Louis — Charles Galloway 1871 - 1931 In Memory Of|
Whose musical genius and
purity of soul are the
inspiration and priceless
heritage of an
"The souls of the righteous
are in the hands of God"
MCMXXXII — Map (db m62119) HM|
|Missouri, St. Louis — Charlotte Taylor Blow Charless 1810 - 1905|
Foundress of the
(Formerly the Home of the Friendless)
1853 — Map (db m62117) HM|
|Missouri, St. Louis — Dred Scott Born About 1799 Died Sept. 17, 1858|
Freed from slavery by his friend Taylor Blow.
Subject of the decision of the Supreme Court of the United States in 1857 which denied citizenship to the Negro, voided the Missouri Compromise Act, became one of the events that resulted in the Civil War.
In memory of a simple man who wanted to be free
Dred Scott — Map (db m61970) HM|
|Missouri, St. Louis — Edward Hempstead|
| . . . — Map (db m62163) HM|
|Missouri, St. Louis — Father Thomas Ambrose Butler|
Born in Dublin, Irl'd
Mar. 21, 1837
Sept. 6, 1897
of St. Cronan's Church
Priest & Poet
Mar. 17, 1864 — Map (db m62045) HM|
|Missouri, St. Louis — Founders of Saint Louis, Missouri In Commemoration|
Buried here are the remains of many men and women who were founders, on 14 February 1764, of the city of St. Louis, including
Nicolas Beaugeneau Jean-Baptiste Bequette (blacksmith) Jean-Baptiest Bequette (miller) Margaret Bequette Joseph Chancellier Louis Chancellier Auguste Chouteau Jean Cote Alexis Cotte Francois Delin Gabriel Dodier Jean-Baptiste Gamache Jean-Baptiste Herieux Paul Kiercereau Joseph Labrosse Theodore Labrosse Pierre LaClede Julian . . . — Map (db m62078) HM|
|Missouri, St. Louis — Harriet Scott ca. 1815 - 1860s|
Wife of Dred Scott
Mother of Eliza and Lizzy
Co-Plaintiff in the historic
Dred Scott Case
Your plea for equality was raised in obscurity, but in time it became the rallying cry of a people determined to abolish slavery. Yours was a strong seed planted in the pursuit of freedom rising.
This stone is set by the Elijah Love Society in gratitue for your life and work, and as a reminder that the vigil for freedom continues. In the course of our history, you . . . — Map (db m61991) HM|
|Missouri, St. Louis — In Memory of Robert E. Lee|
|Engineer, St. Louis Harbor
His engineering genius was responsible for moving the Mississippi River Channel back to the St. Louis shore, preserving the city as a river port.
the Missouri Committee
R. E. Lee Memorial Association
Mrs. William Armstrong
Mrs. Charles Fox
Mrs. Oscar Johnson Jr.
Mrs. H. Norbert Kirchdorfer
Mrs. H. Terrance Kurrus
Mrs. W. Gillespie Moore
Mrs. Leighton Morrili
Director for Missouri
Mrs. Austine P. Leland . . . — Map (db m4946) HM|
|Missouri, St. Louis — James MacCash|
Born Springburn, Glasgow, Scotland
August 16, 1834
Died St. Louis, Missouri
December 27, 1922
Founder of the
Order of Scottish Clans
at St. Louis on
November 30, 1878
To commemorate a noble achievement
and as a reverent tribute to
a worthy Scot
this monument is erected
in his honor and
dedicated to his memory
by the members of the
Order of Scottish Clans
November 30, 1941.
For a'that and a'that
Its coming yet for a'that
That man to man the world . . . — Map (db m62079) HM|
|Missouri, St. Louis — John B. Meachum 1780 [sic - 1789] - 1854|
Founder & Pastor
1817 - 1854
First Baptist Church
west of the
Mississippi River — Map (db m62184) HM|
|Missouri, St. Louis — John Mason Peck Oct. 31, 1789 - Mar. 16, 1858|
Founder of Shurtleff College — Map (db m62185) HM|
|Missouri, St. Louis — Lewis and Clark and St. Louis Riverfront|
| The Return of the Lewis and Clark Expedition
Michael Haynes "We Arrived in Sight of St. Louis"
At about noon on September 23, 1806, five dugout canoes and a larger boat called the "White Pirogue" rounded the bend of the Mississippi River to the north of where you are standing. The citizens of St. Louis, perhaps numbering as many as 1,500, lined the riverbank atop the natural bluff, cheering and firing guns into the air to welcome back Lewis and Clark's "Corps of Discovery." |
After . . . — Map (db m40810) HM
|Missouri, St. Louis — Nathaniel Lyon|
|August 10 1861 Lyon — Map (db m51475) HM|
|Missouri, St. Louis — Presley and Amelia Cordell|
Reinterred July 1868 from an older cemetery, here rest Presley Cordell and wife Amelia Conner. Both died in July 1849. He had been a silversmith and served as mayor of Leesburg, Virginia. His group left there 15 Oct. 1835 and included his mother Catharine Basye, and some Garrett and Humphreys relatives. They went overland to Wheeling, then by boat via Louisville and were met in St. Louis on 9 Nov. 1835 by his cousin Hiram Cordell. — Map (db m62204) HM|
|Missouri, St. Louis — Rev. A. [Aloys] V. Garthoeffner Oct. 17, 1873 - Apr. 27, 1917|
of Catholic Schools
of St. Louis
He helped children
to know and love their God — Map (db m62040) HM|
|Missouri, St. Louis — Rev. Ambrose J. Heim|
Died Jan. 3, 1854
Aged 47 years
The Priest of the Poor
Spiritual Director of the first conference of the St. Vincent de Paul Society. Founded in North America at St. Louis, Mo. Nov. 14, 1845
A tribute to his memory by the St. Louis members, May 1909
R.I.P. — Map (db m62041) HM|
|Missouri, St. Louis — Rev. Constantine P. Smith|
Native of Cavan, Ireland
Born June 2, 1838
Ordained June 29, 1862
Died February 5, 1898
Founder and first pastor
of Saint Agnes Church
R.I.P. — Map (db m62039) HM|
|Missouri, St. Louis — Rev. James J. Toomey Sacred To The Memory Of|
Born May 8, 1852
in Bruff, Co. Limerick, Ireland
Ordained at Montreal, Canada
Dec. 18, 1891
Died Pastor of Farmington, Mo.
Apr. 21, 1906
Burial services at
St. Bridget's Church, City
St. Patrick's Church
St. Louis Jan. 1892
of Farmington, Mo.
Aug. 12, 1897
Founder & First
Teacher of School
And I most gladly will spend
and be spent myself for
your souls although
loving you more I be
II Cor. XII: . . . — Map (db m62044) HM|
|Missouri, St. Louis — Rev. John C. Granville|
Born Dec. 2, 1868
Ordained Dec. 17, 1892
Died Oct. 26 1911
Chaplain of the
14th U.S. Cavalry
Founder of the
Church of the Nativity
1904 - 1911 — Map (db m62042) HM|
|Missouri, St. Louis — Rev. John R. Anderson 1818 - 1863|
Founder Central Baptist Church — Map (db m62183) HM|
|Missouri, St. Louis — Robert A. Barnes|
Who died Apr. 2, 1892.
Aged 84 years.
Robert A. Barnes Hospital — Map (db m62190) HM|
|Missouri, St. Louis — St. Louis Arsenal|
A former U.S. Arsenal established in 1827. It is one of the oldest military reservations in continuous use west of the Mississippi and has played many roles in our national endeavor for peace.
Entered on the National Register of Historical Places - January 1975
American Revolution Bicentenial 1776-1976 — Map (db m77681) HM|
|Missouri, St. Louis — The Gateway Arch Jefferson National Expansion Memorial|
the People of the United States
May 25, 1968
Lyndon B. Johnson
President of the Unites States
The City of St. Louis Missouri
The United States Territorial
Expansion Memorial Committee
United States Department of the Interior
National Park Service
[The Gateway Arch was added to the National Historic Landmark Survey on May 28, 1987] — Map (db m26866) HM|
|Missouri, St. Louis — Thomas Hart Benton Statesman Elizabeth Benton|
By the State of Mo.
In memory of
Thomas Hart Benton
1782 - 1858
U.S. Senator for 30 Years
1821 - 1851
1853 - 1855
[namesake of the D.A.R. chapter] — Map (db m62116) HM|
|Missouri, St. Louis — Union Station|
has been designated a
This site possesses national
significance in commemorating
the history of the
United States of America
[Markers on interior concourse wall,
including an identical
National Historic Landmark plaque]
Civil Engineering Landmark
American Society of Civil Engineers
St. . . . — Map (db m62210) HM|
|Missouri, St. Louis — William Clark Monument|
| Born in Virginia August 1, 1770, Entered into Life Eternal September 1, 1838
Soldier, Explorer, Statesman and Patriot. His life is written in the history of this country. — Map (db m61810) HM|
|Missouri (Andrew County), Savannah — Andrew County|
|Andrew County, organized 1841, is one of 6 counties in the Indian Platte Purchase Territory annexed to Missouri, 1837. Named for Andrew Jackson Davis, St. Louis editor, the county was first settled in the middle 1830s. Pioneers were from Ohio, Ind., Tenn., Ky., Va., and other parts of Missouri.
Savannah, the county seat, was laid out in 1841. First briefly called Union, it was renamed for Savannah, Ga., The Platte Co. R. R. (C. B. & Q.) reached therein 1860, and todays Chicago, Great . . . — Map (db m39756) HM|
|Missouri (Andrew County), Savannah — Conglomerate Rock|
|Formed during the Glacial Period. Weighs about a Ton. Removed from Bethel Church Road east of Highway 71 and North of 48 by County in 1941. Removed and placed here by Andrew County and Fred M Clark of Clark Construction Co. in September 1941 for Andrew County Centennial Celebration 1941. — Map (db m43018) HM|
|Missouri (Atchison County), Fairfax — Veterans Memorial|
To Our Veterans
They Shall Have a Noble Memory — Map (db m47490) HM|
|Missouri (Atchison County), Rock Port — Atchison County Walk of Honor|
Atchison County Citizens
have left and will continue
to leave their footprints
around the world
Dedicated November 11, 2008 — Map (db m48118) HM|
|Missouri (Atchison County), Rock Port — Atchison County War Memorial|
To the men and women
of Atchison County who
offered, and those who
gave their lives in the
cause of peace.
[Roll of Honored Dead]
[War Memorial Building Cornerstone]
To the boys of Atchison County
who gave, and offered their lives.
[Built 1921] — Map (db m48115) WM|
|Missouri (Atchison County), Rock Port — Rock Port|
| Side A:
Here on Rock Creek in Missouri's fertile Glacial Plains, Rock Port was laid out, 1851, by Nathan Meek and succeeded Linden as seat of Atchison County, 1856. A leader in corn production, the county, organized 1845, is named for U.S. Sen. David R. Atchison.
In extreme northwest Missouri, Atchison is one of 6 counties formed from the Platte Indian Purchase annexed to Missouri in 1837. The county's north boundary was unsettled until 1851 when the U.S. Supreme Court had the . . . — Map (db m48107) HM|
|Missouri (Audrain County), Mexico — Audrain County Veterans Memorial|
World War I
World War II
POW's - MIA's Remembered — Map (db m70461) WM|
|Missouri (Audrain County), Mexico — Bean Creek German Evangelical Church and Littleby Methodist Church Bell "Honor the God on high" "Ehre den Gott in der Hφhe"|
[Title is text] — Map (db m70471) HM|
|Missouri (Audrain County), Mexico — Bonnot Combined Brick Machine 1904 1926|
Here rests a faithful servant of our company retired on account of age after twenty two years of continuous loyal service.
It is a Bonnot Combined Brick Machine installed at the East Plant in 1904 and moved to Josephine Plant in 1917. During this time it has made approximately 150,000,000 fire brick which have been shipped to satisfied customers in every states of the Union and to nearly every country in the world. It's splendid work and excellence of output contributed largely to the . . . — Map (db m70494) HM|
|Missouri (Audrain County), Mexico — Diaspore Boulder Weight 10,400 Lbs.|
This is the largest "surface boulder" of Diaspore found in the Missouri Diaspore Fields lying south of the Missouri River. - It was taken from a diaspora pit near Aud, Osage County, Missouri, in 1926. - Diaspore is a high alumina clay occurring in this form with a fusion point above 3300°F. - chemically it consists mainly of alumina and water. Diaspore is a raw material or clay from which the A. P. Green high alumina super refractories are made. — Map (db m70497) HM|
|Missouri (Audrain County), Mexico — Graceland Built 1857|
has been placed on the
of Historic Places
by the United States
Department of the Interior — Map (db m70472) HM|
|Missouri (Audrain County), Mexico — Hardin College Bell June 1873 - May 1932|
| [Title is text]
Hardin College Alumnae
November 1984 — Map (db m70468) HM|
|Missouri (Audrain County), Mexico — John Bingle Morris|
Born in Ky, Dec. 3, 1806
Married Julia Ann Shumate
June 5, 1827
Settled in Mexico, Mo. 1836
Built the first residence
and business house
Post Master 15, County Clerk 18
and County Judge 16 years
Had 18 children
Honest, strong willed, patriotic
and public spirited
Died Dec. 30, 1875
— Map (db m70465) HM|
|Missouri (Audrain County), Mexico — Mexico|
Internationally known for its firebrick industry and famed for its saddle horses, this county seat was laid out by Robert C. Mansfield and James H. Smith not long before Audrain County was organized, 1836. Named for legislator James H. Audrain and settled mainly by Southerners, the county lies in the Little Dixie Region of Missouri.
Rex McDonald, one of the world's greatest saddle horses, whose blood line has played an important part in the development of the easy-gaited, . . . — Map (db m70508) HM|
|Missouri (Audrain County), Mexico — Missouri Military Academy|
Missouri Military Academy
in honor of its
One Hundredth Anniversary
1889 - 1989
Mexico Area Chamber of Commerce
with deep appreciation and grateful
recognition of its 100 continuous years of
outstanding community service
and good citizenship to the
community of Mexico, Missouri
This presentation made to the
Missouri Military Academy
on the occasion of its
Seventy-fifth . . . — Map (db m70509) HM|
|Missouri (Audrain County), Mexico — Old Courthouse Clock Bell 1868 - 1952|
[Title is Text]
January 1976 — Map (db m70470) HM|
|Missouri (Audrain County), Mexico — Old Stones|
Indian Mortar (Grist) Stone
Granite Millstones used in
first Audrain County mill 1850 — Map (db m70507) HM|
|Missouri (Audrain County), Mexico — Rex McDonald 833 The World's Champion Saddle Stallion Born May 20, 1890 Died Nov. 10, 1913|
With his last owner, B. R. Middleton, riding him, defeated every horse ever shown against him. Owned, raised and trained in Audrain County. Sire and Grandsire and Great Grandsire of champions. Most widely known and beloved by saddle horse admirers the world over. — Map (db m70492) HM|
|Missouri (Audrain County), Mexico — The Churchill Gate|
On March 5, 1946, at Westminster College in Fulton, MO, Winston Churchill delivered his renowned "Iron Curtain" Speech. Allen P. Green built this gate in anticipation of a visit to his home by the former British Prime Minister and President Harry S. Truman. Logistical problems, however, prevented their making the visit, but the gate was preserved and became known as the "Churchill Gate" — Map (db m70531) HM|
|Missouri (Audrain County), Mexico — The Green Estate|
Allen P. Green, with his wife and five children, came to Mexico in 1910 to manage a small, struggling brick plant. He soon bought it and founded the A.P. Green Fire Brick Company. It flourished and by 1937 had become the world's largest firebrick plant.
In building the company, Mr. Green bought several thousand acres for mining fireclay and eventually set aside this property for his family, where he and three of his children built homes. The first home, that of Walter G. and Martha Green . . . — Map (db m70530) HM|
|Missouri (Audrain County), Mexico — The Missouri Exercise Tiger Army & Navy Anchor Memorial|
Thomas Creed, Jr.
Ralph T. Earnest
D. Dean Ferguson
Wallace W. Smith
[Additional Honor Roll of Names]
This state memorial honors the men of the United States Army and Navy who fought and died on 28 April 1944 while conducting a large scale training exercise for the D-Day Invasion off Slapton Sands England. During the hour long battle of "Exercise Tiger" 8 US Navy LST's came under sudden attack by German . . . — Map (db m70462) HM WM|
|Missouri (Barry County), Cassville — Butterfield Overland Mail in Missouri - 1858-1861|
Cassville, the last town
on the route of
the Butterfield Mail in Missouri,
was not a relay station
but the coaches stopped
for mail and passengers — Map (db m80212) HM
|Missouri (Barry County), Cassville — Secession Convention in Cassville A State Divided The Civil War in Missouri|
|Between 1855 and 1884, there stood on this square, a two-story brick courthouse that was known as Missouri's "second Confederate capitol." It was here that members of the state legislature gathered between Oct. 29 and Nov. 7, 1861 to complete a legislative agenda that they had begun the preceding week at Neosho. In Neosho, the General Assembly had passed an Ordnance dissolving Missouri's tie to the United States and another bill ratifying the provisional constitution of the Confederate States . . . — Map (db m44605) HM|
|Missouri (Barry County), Cassville — Veterans Memorial|
|Dedicated to men and women who serve in the Armed Forces of the United States, during war and peace. We sincerely appreciate your sacrifice and dedication to preserve the freedom of this great nation. God will one day judge our actions. Until then He will shine on the lives of each Veteran now and forever, more because He was with each one of them always. He is the only one that truly knows what they went through.
American Legion — Map (db m62885)|
|Missouri (Barry County), Hilltop — Roaring River School|
|This valleys bountiful resources, particularly its abundant water, attracted settlers beginning in the 1820s. The constant rapid flowing of spring-fed Roaring River appealed to millwrights, who saw the opportunities such a reliable source of power offered.
In a brief span of time, the water resources and resulting milling industry in the Roaring River Valley attracted sufficient people to create the need for a school. Local tradition suggests a log school dated to the mid 1800s, but no . . . — Map (db m68553) HM|
|Missouri (Barry County), Monett — Christopher G. Stark Memorial|
|Dedicated to a fallen hero and all Armed Forces Serving and Protecting the United States of America.
Greater love hath no man than this, that a man lay down his life for his friends. John 15:13.
Under a picture of Specialist Clark:
18 August 1988 - 28 February 2011
KIA Afghanistan — Map (db m62712) WM|
|Missouri (Barry County), Monett — Veterans Memorial|
|In grateful memory of our Armed Forces Veterans who honored their nation with their service and sacrifices. — Map (db m62806) HM|
|Missouri (Barry County), Monett — War Memorial|
in time of war
They gave their today
for our tomorrow — Map (db m80213) WM
|Missouri (Barry County), Purdy — Purdy Veteran's Memorial|
|This monument is dedicated to those who served our country by the people of Purdy, Missouri. We must always remember that by the sacrifices we enjoy our freedom today. Dedicated 2012. — Map (db m62800) WM|
|Missouri (Barton County), Lamar — Harry S Truman In Memoriam|
Born Lamar, Missouri May 8, 1884
Died Kansas City, Missouri December 26, 1972
Patriot - Statesman - Legionnaire
First Legionnaire President
of the United States
This memorial was erected in May 1984 by
Legionnaires and Friends of the
American Legion Department of Missouri
through efforts of the 15th District. — Map (db m37140) HM|
|Missouri (Barton County), Lamar — Harry S. Truman May 8 1884 - Dec. 26, 1972|
Birthplace: Lamar, Missouri
32nd President, Apr. 12, 1945-Jan.20, 1953
From this spot Mr. Truman
delivered his Vice Presidential
Nomination Acceptance Speech
on August 31, 1944 — Map (db m42287) WM|
|Missouri (Barton County), Lamar — Harry S. Truman Birthplace Memorial|
| This shrine is dedicated to
Harry S. Truman
Thirty second [sic] President
of the United States of America
who was born at this location
May 8, 1884
[died] Dec. 26, 1972
"I ask only to be a good and faithful
servant of my Lord and my People."
County Judge - 1923-1925
Presiding Judge - County Court - 1927-1935
United States Senator - 1935-1945
Vice-President of the United States of America - 1945
President of the United States of America - 1945-1953 . . . — Map (db m37113) HM|
|Missouri (Barton County), Lamar — Lamar|
| Side A
Lamar is distinguished as the birthplace of Harry S. Truman, the 33rd President of the United States. The son of John Anderson Truman and Martha Ellen (Young) Truman, he was born May 8, 1884. The family moved to Harrisonville in Cass County, 1886, and from there to Grandview and Independence in Jackson County. Here in Lamar is the birthplace, and the Truman Library and the home are in Independence.
In Harry S. Truman's national career, he served as U.S. Senator from Mo., . . . — Map (db m42286) HM|
|Missouri (Barton County), Lamar — McCook Post No. 34 G.A.R. Civil War Memorial Barton County War Memorial|
| On October 1st, 1910, this cannon and original memorial presented to Barton County, Missouri by the members of McCook Post No. 34 G.A.R. Department of Missouri. It was dedicated to the memory of the soldiers and sailors of the Civil War 1861-1865.
This cannon was in active service on the Gunboat Benton on the Mississippi and its tributaries, 1861-1865.
This memorial rededicated October 1st, 1985, to the memory of all Barton County, Missouri service men and women of the Civil War, . . . — Map (db m42302) HM|
|Missouri (Barton County), Lamar — Replica of the Statue of Liberty|
With faith in
and loyalty to
The United States
have caused to be
erected this replica
Statue of Liberty
and justice for all. — Map (db m42304) HM|
|Missouri (Barton County), Liberal — Veterans Memorial 1776 1976|
In Memory of
Our Country — Map (db m63675) WM|
|Missouri (Bates County), Adrian — Lt Charles Garrison Veterans Memorial All Gave Some - Some Gave All|
In memory of
World War I
World War II
The Perimeter is a place warriors will always seek- even for eternity. Just gaze out at our National Cemeteries, for out there, on the outer edge, ever so diligent, are those on the Perimeter.
James R. Lawson 1967
Our debt to the heroic men and valiant women in the service of our country can never be repaid. They have earned our undying gratitude. America will . . . — Map (db m81538) WM
|Missouri (Bates County), Butler — “First Kansas Colored Volunteer Infantry” They Fought Like Tigers|
| The 1st Kansas Colored Volunteer Infantry fought and won the Battle of Island Mound, also known as The Battle at Fort Toothman on October 28 & 29, 1862 in Charlotte Township approx. 7.5 miles southwest of Butler. It is said to have been the only battle fought on Bates County soil, in which regular U.S. troops were involved. The First Kansas Colored Volunteer Infantry was the first black unit to fight in the Civil War. Reportedly Southern rebels outnumbered the black troops five to one, . . . — Map (db m54126) HM|
|Missouri (Bates County), Butler — Arnold Post No. 46 Veterans Memorial|
Duty Honor Country
Be Thou At Peace
[Seals of the Five Armed Forces] — Map (db m46149) HM|
|Missouri (Bates County), Butler — Arnold Post No. 46 World War Memorial|
Great World War
1914 - 1918 — Map (db m46144) HM|
|Missouri (Bates County), Butler — Bates County World War I Memorial|
| In Memory of Our
World War Veterans
Unveiled under auspices of
the American Legion Posts
of Bates Co.
May 30, 1927 — Map (db m39870) HM|
|Missouri (Bates County), Butler — Bates County, Missouri in 1862|
Bates County was formed in 1841. Many early settlers came from Kentucky, Virginia and Tennessee. The 1860 census listed a population of 6,765 with a slave population of 442. In 1862, the slave population had dropped greatly.
Most Bates County residents supported the Confederacy. Several groups of guerrilla fighters operated in the area. Using Hog Island, located about nine miles from the town of Butler, Mo., local guerrillas terrorized pro-Union families and led raids into eastern . . . — Map (db m60614) HM|
|Missouri (Bates County), Butler — Battle of Island Mound Memorial|
Here, on October 29, 1862 was the first crucible to test the mettle of formerly enslaved black men during the Civil War.
Here, a group of volunteers faced battle with the certainty of only two outcomes - victory or death - for there would be no quarters given to a black man who had taken up arms.
Here, in uniforms issued on behalf of a country that had not yet emancipated them, they revealed courage and tenacity under fire.
Here, the First Kansas Colored Volunteer Infantry defeated . . . — Map (db m60581) HM|
|Missouri (Bates County), Butler — Butler History Murals|
1806 15 Ms. South of Butler
Explorer Zebulon Pike Parley
With Osage Chief
1863 Burning of Butler by Order No. 11
During the Civil War
Where the Civil War Began
Brother Against Brother
Post Civil War Reconstruction
[Mural Depicts Local Civil War Events]
Keep the Pioneer Spirit
1717 Claude Dutisne
1804 Louisiana Purchase
Governor Frederick Bates
1832 Washington Irving
1862 Battle of Fort Toothman
1863 General Order No. 11
Jefferson Highway, . . . — Map (db m39898) HM|
|Missouri (Bates County), Butler — Butler Memorial Airport 1963|
| Dedicated to those who served
our nation in all wars — Map (db m39912) HM|
|Missouri (Bates County), Butler — David Clayton Wolfe 1864 - 1917|
| First Road Dragger in Bates County
He lived for others. He tried to live a humble Christian [life]. The Lord blessed his life and will continue to bless all who trust fully in Him. — Map (db m46088) HM|
|Missouri (Bates County), Butler — Eugene S. Hurt Chapter 67 D.A.V. Veterans Memorial|
In honor and respect
to every veteran
Nov. 11, 1987 — Map (db m39868) HM|
|Missouri (Bates County), Butler — First Kansas Colored Volunteer Infantry Regimental History|
Most of the men of the First Kansas Colored Volunteer Infantry were escaped slaves. Many fled to Kansas from farms and towns in Missouri or Arkansas to find freedom. Some may have been "stolen" in Jayhawk raids. Others in the regiment were free men of color who had moved to Kansas in the hope of a better life. All faced prejudice and bigotry from their white neighbors.
Recruiting the First Kansas Colored
In August 1862, Sen. Jim Lane was appointed Commissioner of Recruiting for . . . — Map (db m65049) HM|
|Missouri (Bates County), Butler — North Field Webster School 1900|
| Webster School was erected on this site in 1900. It was one of 3 schools to serve the East, West, & North neighborhoods. Known as North School, it was razed when the 3 grade schools were consolidated into Butler Elementary. — Map (db m39907) HM|
|Missouri (Bates County), Butler — Order No. 11 August 25, 1863 Forced Evacuation and Burning of Bates County|
By 1863 the Union Armys inability to control Confederate Guerrilla activity in western Missouri exploded. On August 25, 1863, Union General Thomas Ewing issued Order No. 11 four days after Quantrills Raid on Lawrence, Kansas. Residents in Bates County, and parts of Cass, Jackson and Vernon Counties, were forced to evacuate in an effort to disrupt Confederate supply lines of food, horses, and shelter.
The entire population of Bates County was banished. Union soldiers torched homes and . . . — Map (db m74091) HM|
|Missouri (Bates County), Butler — Palace Office Building|
| The Palace Hotel Building was built in 1879 as part of the rebuilding of Butler after it was burned during the Civil War. It is a good example of high style Italianate architecture with elaborate bracketed cornice. It originally had an exterior second story balcony but it collapsed in the early 1900's. The building was constructed for retail business on the first floor, a hotel on the second floor, and a spacious place for entertaining on the third floor. This became the commercial and social . . . — Map (db m39874) HM|
|Missouri (Bates County), Butler — Prairie Fire and the Battle of Island Mound|
In the 1860s, the vast, rolling tallgrass prairies of the Osage Plains stretched for miles. Maintained by periodic fires for approximately 5,000 years before European settlement, prairie once covered approximately 78 percent of Bates County, Mo. Historically, the creeks and rivers in the area harbored stately bur oaks and post oaks, both fire-tolerant species able to withstand the regularly occurring prairie fires that swept through the area. By the mid-1860s, small homesteads and family . . . — Map (db m60613) HM|
|Missouri (Bates County), Butler — The Battle of Island Mound|
During the fall of 1862, Bates County had become a haven for guerrillas and Confederate recruiters. One of their favorite haunts was a marshy tract on the Marais-des-Cygnes River, southwest of Butler, known to locals as "Hog Island." On Oct. 27, approximately 240 members of the First Kansas Colored Volunteer Infantry marched into Bates County to clear out the rebels.
The black troops commandeered the farmstead of local Southern sympathizers, Enoch and Christiana . . . — Map (db m65050) HM|
|Missouri (Bates County), Butler — The Battle of Island Mound: A Demonstration to the Nation|
African Americans saw the Civil War as a fight for their freedom. Early in the war, freed black men who tried to enlist in the Union Army were turned away. A 1792 Federal law still barred blacks from bearing arms for the U.S. Army. The U.S. Navy, on the other hand, allowed African Americans to serve as shipboard firement, stewards, coal heavers and even boat pilots. Abolitionists urged President Abraham Lincoln to both free the slaves and recruit African-American men in defense of the . . . — Map (db m60617) HM|
|Missouri (Bates County), Butler — The Toothman Farm Home to a Notorious Rebel Family|
After the 1854 Kansas-Nebraska Act was passed, pro-slavery Missourians and free-state Kansans fought over whether Kansas should enter the Union as a slave or free state. The fighting was so intense that the conflict was called "Bleeding Kansas."
In 1861, when the Civil War began, most Bates County, Mo. residents supported the Confederacy. Because Bates County bordered Kansas, guerrilla warfare from both states was rampant.
Federal authorities considered the Toothman family, who . . . — Map (db m60584) HM|
|Missouri (Bates County), Hume — Veterans Memorial|
Erected Aug. 1, 1921
in memory of those
who served in the
August 1, 2001
in memory of all
American veterans — Map (db m84539) HM
|Missouri (Bates County), Rich Hill — Harmony Mission American Presbyterian and Reformed Historical Site No. 33|
Historic Harmony Mission, a school for the Indians of Missouri, once stood east of Rich Hill, on the north bank of the Osage River, near the centuries-old camping sites of the Great and Little Osage tribes.
The mission was founded in 1821 by the United Foreign Missionary Society of N.Y., supported by Presbyterian, Congregational, and Dutch Reformed churches. Among the 41 members of the mission family were teachers, mechanics, and farmers, headed by minister Nathaniel B. Dodge. . . . — Map (db m39941) HM|
|Missouri (Bates County), Rich Hill — The Town That Coal Built Rich Hill, Missouri "Big Mouth"|
Marion 8200-5 Walking Dragline
Total Working Weight 6,800,000 Pounds
Boom Length 275 Feet
Boom Angle 35 [degrees]
Maximum Digging Depth 125 Feet
Operation Radius 251 Feet
Bucket Capacity 73 Cubic Yards
Bucket Weight 40 to 44 Tons
Average Length of Step 7.0 Feet
Electrical Requirements 800,000 KWH/Month (normal)
We would like to thank P&M Coal Company for their generous donation of this 73 cubic yard bucket from the "Princess" . . . — Map (db m72041) HM|
|Missouri (Boone County), Columbia — Beetle Bailey|
|Come sit with Beetle Bailey, Mizzou's famous comic-strip character created through the genius of Mort Walker, AB '48 Humanities. Beetle relaxes in the re-creation of a booth from the Shack, a hangout frequented by Walker during his student days. Walker started drawing the laid-back Mizzou student and Army private in 1950. With his son Neal, Walker designed and produced this bronze statue as a gift to MU. It was installed in 1992. The statue was financed by donations from Walker, King Features . . . — Map (db m87609) HM|
|Missouri (Boone County), Columbia — Columbia Cemetery|
This cemetery contains the original six lots established in 1821 as the burial ground for the City of Columbia. Commemorated on the one hundred and seventy-fifth anniversary.
Dedicated May 27, 1996
This property has been
placed on the
of Historic Places
by the United States
Department of the Interior
February 1, 2007
Notable Historic Property
Boone County Historical Society
Historic Site — Map (db m59457) HM|
|Missouri (Boone County), Columbia — Don Faurot / Faurot Field|
Football Coach 1935-42, 1946-56
Athletic Director 1935-67
Here stands the symbol of Ol' Mizzou, famed "Thin Man" from Mountain Grove, a boy who helped build this stadium and a football coach who filled it with victories and fresh hopes. Faurot overcame boyhood mishap that cost him the first two fingers at the middle joint. Gutty, jut-jawed guy lettered in baseball at Missouri, captained the basketball team and punted as a 148-pound linebacker for . . . — Map (db m59512) HM|
|Missouri (Boone County), Columbia — George Clinton Swallow A.M., M.D., L.L.D. 1817 - 1899|
First Professor of Geology, Chemistry, Agriculture, and First Dean of
The College of Agriculture
University of Missouri.
First State Geologist of Missouri. — Map (db m59459) HM|
|Missouri (Boone County), Columbia — James Shannon L.L.D.|
In memory of
James Shannon L.L.D.
Born in Monaghan Co. Ireland
April 23, 1799
Feb. 23, 1859
Second President, University of Missouri,
Columbia, Mo. 1850-1856
Co-Founder of Christian College 1851
(Now Columbia College), Columbia, Mo.
Co-Founder of Christian University 1853, and
First President (Now Culver-Stockton College)
The Christian Philanthropist and Teacher
has gone to receive the Crown of the Faithful — Map (db m59462) HM|
|Missouri (Boone County), Columbia — Jewell Cemetery|
| Jewell Cemetery is located on what was originally the farm of George Jewell. George, his wife, and their children first moved from Virginia to Kentucky, then Franklin, Missouri, and finally Columbia in 1822.
George, his son William, and sons-in-law Charles Hardin and William Hitt were all prominent in the community. All served on road commissions and the county court, and helped shape the early community. William Jewell became one of the founders of the college in Liberty that . . . — Map (db m59646) HM|
|Missouri (Boone County), Columbia — Memorial Union Tower|
In grateful memory
Heroic Sons of Missouri
who in the Great War
- 1917 - 1918 -
paid the full measure
[Roll of Honored Dead]
Tipping of the Hats
When the Memorial Union Tower was completed in 1926, the names of MU's honored 117 men who lost their lives in World War I were inscribed on the inside walls of this archway for all future generations of MU students and Missourians to pay their respects. Tradition has it that whenever men and women walk . . . — Map (db m59474) HM|
|Missouri (Boone County), Columbia — Site of Columbia College|
| On this site stood Columbia College an institution of higher learning for men. First proposed in 1831, chartered by General Assembly in 1833, began its work in 1834. First session of University of Missouri held here in 1841. This college has been called the seed from which grew the University of Missouri.
This marker erected by the
Daughters of the American Colonists
John Corbin Chapter
June 8th, 1933
Mrs. Edward Thurman Smith, State Regent
Mrs. B. J. . . . — Map (db m59463) HM|
|Missouri (Boone County), Columbia — The Mel Carnahan Quadrangle Honoring Leadership in Public Service|
|Dedicated September 12, 2003, in honor of Mel Carnahan, Missouri's 51st Governor and alumnus of the University of Missouri. From his days as a law student at MU to his leadership as Governor of Missouri from 1993 - 2000, Mel Carnahan served his beloved state and its people. He was a loyal and strong supporter of the University of Missouri and public higher education throughout his life. As public service and the University were always close to Mel Carnahan's heart, so this special place in the heart of the campus is named in his honor. — Map (db m87607) HM|
|Missouri (Boone County), Rocheport — Edward D. "Ted" and Pat Jones|
| Katy Trail State Park is one of Missouri's premier attractions, drawing about 400,000 visitors from across the United States and other countries. Stretching 225 miles from St. Charles in the east to Clinton in the west, the trail is the longest developed rails-to-trail project in the nation. Without the support of Edward D. "Ted" and Pat Jones, Katy Trail State Park would not have been possible.
To Be or Not To Be a Trail?
In 1986, the Missouri-Kansas-Texas Railroad (known as the . . . — Map (db m46383) HM|
|Missouri (Boone County), Rocheport — History of Rocheport|
Land Before the Town
Prior to its settlement, American Indians used the area we now call Rocheport. The closeness to the river, fertile soils, both salt and freshwater springs, and the protection given by the huge bluffs, rock overhangs and caves were a natural lure for early travelers. The Rocheport area is noted in the journals of Lewis and Clark during their 1804-1906 expedition.
Birth of a River Town
John Gray operated a horse ferry here after arriving in 1819. In . . . — Map (db m46345) HM|
|Missouri (Boone County), Rocheport — Katy Trail State Park 20th Anniversary 1990 - 2010|
| From its inception and throughout its 20-year history, Katy Trail State Park has been one of the most successful rails-to-trail conversions projects in the United States. As the longest developed rail-trail in the United States, it has been inducted into the national Rail-Trail Hall of Fame.
The Missouri-Kansas-Texas Railroad (MKT)
Begun in the 1870s, the Missouri-Kansas-Texas Railroad, also known as the Katy, ran through much of the Missouri River valley by the 1890s. With the . . . — Map (db m46403) HM|
|Missouri (Boone County), Rocheport — Steamboating on the Missouri|
| First Steamboats
Early steamboat trips on the Missouri River tested boats, crews and passengers. Between 1820 and 1900, several hundred steamboats on the Missouri were destroyed by fire or boiler explosions, crushed by ice, or sunk by snags. The first steamboat to navigate a significant distance on this untamed river was the Independence. In May 1819, the Independence set out from St. Louis loaded with flour, whiskey, iron, sugar and passengers. After 13 days and 150 miles, . . . — Map (db m46353) HM|
|Missouri (Buchanan County), Iatan — Wetland Habitats of the Past Little Bean Marsh Conservation Area The Journey of Lewis & Clark|
| July 4th Wednesday (1804)
...proceeded on, passed the mouth of a Bayeau lading from a large Lake on the S.S. which has the appearance of being once the bed of the river & reaches parrelel for several Miles...
Traveling up the Missouri River, Lewis and Clark found a complex river snaking its way from bluff to bluff. The river overflowed into backwaters and sloughs and refreshed the miles of marshes and wetlands bordering its path.
Little Bean Marsh is an example of . . . — Map (db m44569) HM|
|Missouri (Buchanan County), Lewis and Clark State Park — Lewis and Clark in Missouri|
| Missouri was a beginning and end for the Lewis and Clark Expedition. Planned by President Thomas Jefferson and carried out by the two captains and a large crew, the expedition is a keystone American event. When the United States took ownership of the Louisiana Territory - during a ceremony in St. Louis in March 1804 probably attended by Meriwether Lewis and William Clark - the country doubled in size, and expansion to the Pacific Ocean seemed possible. Two months later, the "Corps of . . . — Map (db m44590) HM|
|Missouri (Buchanan County), Lewis and Clark State Park — The Lewis and Clark Expedition Across Missouri|
| The land that would become Missouri and 14 other western states was acquired by the United States in the greatest land acquisition in American history: the Louisiana Purchase. By the stroke of a pen, President Thomas Jefferson ensured the country would be a continental power, reaching from the Atlantic toward the Pacific Ocean. For about three cents an acre, the United States nearly doubled its size, gaining almost 830,000 square miles from the Mississippi River to the Rocky Mountains, and . . . — Map (db m44615) HM|
|Missouri (Buchanan County), Lewis and Clark State Park — The Lewis and Clark Expedition Across Missouri|
| "Groops of Shrubs covered with the most delicious froot is to be seen in every direction, and nature appears to have exerted herself to butify the Senery by the variety of flours [flowers] Delicately and highly flavered raised above the Grass, which Strikes & profumes the Sensation, and amuses the mind."
William Clark, July 4, 1804
Although the boats were past the hardest stretch of the Missouri River - between the Grand and Kansas rivers - travel was by no means easy, thanks to the . . . — Map (db m44624) HM|
|Missouri (Buchanan County), Saint Joseph — "Queen of the River Towns King of the Trails" St. Joseph, Missouri Great America VI|
[Mural depicting St. Joe's history]
August 24, 2014
Sam Welty, Artist — Map (db m79252) HM|
|Missouri (Buchanan County), Saint Joseph — "Saddle and Mochila"|
| On April 3, 1860 the eastern Pony Express mail arrived by train and it was late. To save time the Pony Express Company which was located in the Patee House at 12th and Penn Streets had the mail taken directly to the post office. The post office was closer to the ferry landing and was located on the east side of Second Street 120 feet north of Francis St.
The mail was first put into the four castinas (pockets of the "Mochila" (mo-che-la). The mail consisted of a few newspapers printed on . . . — Map (db m47480) HM|
|Missouri (Buchanan County), Saint Joseph — A Path To Freedom Finding refuge across the river|
Just south of Fort Smith hundreds of slaves escaped by crossing the frozen Missouri River during the winter of 1862-1863. Once in eastern Kansas, the slaves would move on to Iowa, Chicago, and other points north.
Slavery in Missouri generally followed along the Mississippi and Missouri Rivers. In 1860, only 9.7% of the state's population, or 114,931 individuals were slaves. In contrast to Southern states, the number of slaves working a Missouri farm was very small. The average Missouri . . . — Map (db m79287) HM|
|Missouri (Buchanan County), Saint Joseph — Ballinger Building Queen Ann[e] 1889|
Designed by Joseph H. Bennett.
Constructed by Isaac Ballinger.
Walter Cronkite's father had
his dentistry office here. — Map (db m66384) HM|
|Missouri (Buchanan County), Saint Joseph — Brian Jay Bradbury May 1, 1984 - June 21, 2006|
Fire Support Specialist
71st Calvary [sic] Regiment
3rd Brigade Combat Team
10th Mountain Division
Operation Enduring Freedom in Afghanistan
The Littlest Soldier with the Biggest Heart
Greater love hath no [man] than this,
that he lay down his life for his friends — Map (db m55835) WM|
|Missouri (Buchanan County), Saint Joseph — Buchanan County Courthouse Neo-Classical 1876|
Situated on "Council Hill". In 1882 Bob and Charlie Ford were tried here and sentenced to hang for the shooting of Jesse James.
Saint Joseph Landmark — Map (db m66417) HM|
|Missouri (Buchanan County), Saint Joseph — C. B. & Q. 5614 Steam Locomotive|
Built July, 1937 in West Burlington,
Iowa by C.B.&Q. at a cost of $99,285.00
Weight 288 Tons or 576,000 lbs.
Class 0-5-B Northern Type
Used in Passenger and Freight Service
Later Improvements Totaled $107,525.00
Retired from Active Service September, 1957
Donated to the City of St. Joseph
April 27, 1962 by Burlington Northern Rail Road
Corporation formed and stock sold to
raise money to pay for moving the Locomotive
into it's [sic] present . . . — Map (db m47491) HM|
|Missouri (Buchanan County), Saint Joseph — Christ Episcopal Church Gothic Revival 1877|
The west window was given in memory of Virginia Motter Davis by her husband and sons.
Saint Joseph Landmark — Map (db m66392) HM|
|Missouri (Buchanan County), Saint Joseph — Coleman Randolph "Hawk" Hawkins November 21, 1904 - May 19, 1969 "Body and Soul"|
Born in St. Joseph, Missouri, Coleman Hawkins got his first saxophone at age nine and was traveling coast to coast, recording with Mamie Smith and the Jazz Hounds while still in his teens. Credited with making the sax a solo jazz instrument, "Hawk" was the dominant jazz saxophonist for four decades, through the periods of hot jazz, swing and bop, fronting his own bands and working with all the greats including Duke Ellington, Louis Armstrong, Thelonious Monk and Miles Davis. With his . . . — Map (db m66410) HM|
|Missouri (Buchanan County), Saint Joseph — David Johnson Heaton|
Born in Phil. Pa. Dec. 6, 1808,
Died in St. Joseph Mo.
Apr. 28, 1898
Aged 89 years.
United with the M. E. Church
A member of the I.O.O.F.
from 1850 till death.
In June 1827, became a professional undertaker and funeral director, being the first in the U.S. for which he was presented in 1890, over 190 contestants with a gold headed cane by the 'Sunny Side', the oldest undertaker's journal in the world and pronounced the "first undertaker and veteran of veteran's." . . . — Map (db m66453) HM|
|Missouri (Buchanan County), Saint Joseph — Donnell Court Building Neo-Classical 1902|
Robert Washington Donnell, one of the first settlers of the Platte Purchase, was instrumental in organizing the Bank of the State of Missouri and securing St. Joseph's position as the eastern terminus of the Pony Express. — Map (db m66385) HM|
|Missouri (Buchanan County), Saint Joseph — Eugene Field's Lovers Lane|
"... a proper horse goes slow
In those leafy aisles
where Cupid smiles
In Lover's Lane, Saint Jo."
- Eugene Field
Lovers Lane, beginning where 18th Street meets Grand Avenue and extending a mile and a half to the northeast until it joins Ashland Avenue, began as a shady country road lined with stately trees and edged by farmland fences. A favorite with romantic couples seeking solitude, and earlier known as Rochester Road, Lovers Lane was designated a city street in 1897 and . . . — Map (db m66457) HM|
|Missouri (Buchanan County), Saint Joseph — Fort Smith The Union's hope to hold St. Joseph|
Fort Smith was erected in September 1861 as a Union fortification. St. Joseph was of great importance to preservation of the United States and the security of the goldfields of California for the war effort.
A military presence in St. Joseph became essential. St. Joseph was evenly split in its sentiments between the Union and Confederacy. The city had been controlled several times by Union and Confederate forces up to and during the early part of 1861.
A riot in May 1861 led by former . . . — Map (db m79280) HM|
|Missouri (Buchanan County), Saint Joseph — German-American Bank Richarsonian Romanesque 1889|
Designed by Eckel and Mann.
The bank's owners were members of the German Krug family who were noted for their philanthropy.
This property has been
placed on the
of Historic Places
by the United States
Department of the Interior
Saint Joseph Landmark — Map (db m66416) HM|
|Missouri (Buchanan County), Saint Joseph — Jesse James Home|
|Outlaw Jesse James was shot and killed in this house April 3, 1882. It was then at 1318 Lafayette on the hill above Patee House. It was moved here in 1977. — Map (db m58835) HM|
|Missouri (Buchanan County), Saint Joseph — Joseph Robidoux City Founder 1783 - 1868|
| Near this site the French fur trader Joseph Robidoux established a trading post in 1826 while it was still Indian territory. Robidoux and his family oversaw a far-ranging fur trading empire.
The Platte Purchase of 1837 added the six county northwest corner to the state of Missouri. With the opening of the area to settlers, Robidoux incorporated the town of St. Joseph in 1843, naming it for his patron saint. — Map (db m47468) HM|
|Missouri (Buchanan County), Saint Joseph — Kirkpatrick Building Beaux Arts 1923|
Built by W. F. Kirkpatrick whose jewelry company was known for its fine silver. — Map (db m66391) HM|
|Missouri (Buchanan County), Saint Joseph — Krug Building Queen Anne 1904|
Upper floors were originally leased to dentists and physicians while Krumm Florist and Haefli Real Estate occupied the main floor. — Map (db m66393) HM|
|Missouri (Buchanan County), Saint Joseph — Missouri Valley Trust Company Commercial Italianate 1859|
Oldest building west of the
Mississippi River to function
continuously as a bank
This property has been placed on the
of Historic Places
by the United States
Department of the Interior
Saint Joseph Landmark — Map (db m47475) HM|
|Missouri (Buchanan County), Saint Joseph — Mount Mora Cemetery|
On April 1, 1846, Simeon Kemper obtained a United States government patent for one hundred sixty acres at $1.25 per acre. Four years later, Kemper took two partners, Israel Landis and Reuben Middleton, who paid him almost $200 per acre for their share of 20 acres destined to become a cemetary [sic]. On February 22, 1851, the men received approval of the Articles of Incorporation for Mount Mora Cemetery; four days later, they placed this advertisement in The Saint Joseph Gazette:
"To . . . — Map (db m66373) HM|
|Missouri (Buchanan County), Saint Joseph — No Turning Back|
Too young and naοve
to think they could fail
Too full of visions
for the end of the trail
They stored their silk dresses
and donned calico
To join in the cry
of Westward Ho
Their diaries tell
of the endless hours
The vast sea of grass
and bounty of wildflowers
They tell of the children
conceived and born
and of those who were buried
in the gray, silent morn
Still, the wagons rolled on
and the ruts got deeper
The column moved westward
as the . . . — Map (db m55832) HM|
|Missouri (Buchanan County), Saint Joseph — Our Confederate Dead 1861 - 1865|
[Title is text] — Map (db m66375) WM|
|Missouri (Buchanan County), Saint Joseph — Patee House Company & Division Headquarters, Original Home Station Apr. 3 1860 - Sep. 13, 1861|
The Patee House was the Pony Express Company's Eastern Headquarters from April 3, 1860 to September 13, 1861. The company's official name was "The Central Overland California and Pike's Peak Express Company."
John Patee built the hotel from 1855-1858 at a cost of $180,000. The four-story building when new was the largest hotel west of the Mississippi River and one of the finest in the world. It boasted of such features as gas lights, running water and flush toilets. The main entrance was . . . — Map (db m47398) HM|
|Missouri (Buchanan County), Saint Joseph — Patee House - 1858 The Pony Express|
| Patee House – 1858
In this National Historic Landmark were located the offices of the Pony Express, founded by Russell, Majors & Waddell; the Hannibal & St. Joseph Railroad and the Civil War offices of the U.S. Provost Marshall. [sic]
Preserved by the Pony Express Historical Association, Inc.
National Pony Express Centennial Association
Dwight D. Eisenhower – Chairman
Waddell F. Smith – President
1860 The Pony Express 1960
Russell, Majors, Waddell . . . — Map (db m47444) HM|
|Missouri (Buchanan County), Saint Joseph — Patee Park Baptist Church|
| Patee Park Baptist Church is the second oldest Baptist Church in St. Joseph. It began as a Sunday School in 1881 under the leadership of H.G. Walker, an active leader in the First Baptist Church of St. Joseph.
It was organized as a church February 14, 1882, in the home of W.T. Payne. Dr. E.S. Dulin, who founded William Jewell College at Liberty, Missouri and served as President of the Baptist Female College at St. Joseph, was called as the first pastor. The new church was called the South . . . — Map (db m48080) HM|
|Missouri (Buchanan County), Saint Joseph — Peace Officers Memorial|
[Numerous memorials to
fallen officers, including]
Joseph H. Killion
Patrolman - SJPD
Crushed By A Train In The
Line of Duty
Died June 14, 1917
Greater Love Hath No Man Than This,
That a Man Lay Down His Life For His Friends
— Map (db m55836) HM|
|Missouri (Buchanan County), Saint Joseph — Pioneer Building Georgian Revival 1872, Facade Rebuilt 1929|
Originally known as the Tootle Opera House. Once regarded as the finest theater west of the Mississippi River. — Map (db m66389) HM|
|Missouri (Buchanan County), Saint Joseph — Pony Express 1860 - 1861|
| On this site, April 3, 1860, a ferry carrying a horse and rider crossed the Missouri River to start a 10 day journey of 1,966 miles to deliver mail to Sacramento, California.
The race against time, elements and a hostile land captured the spirit of Americans, helped hold California for the Union and proved a central overland route was possible.
Operators William Russell, Alexander Majors and William Waddell went broke without a government mail contract, and the telegraph replaced the . . . — Map (db m47470) HM|
|Missouri (Buchanan County), Saint Joseph — Replica of the Statue of Liberty|
With the faith and courage of
their forefathers who made
possible the freedom of these
The Boy Scouts of America
dedicate this copy of the
Statue of Liberty as a pledge
of everlasting fidelity and
40th Anniversary Crusade to
stengthen the arm of liberty — Map (db m55726) HM|
|Missouri (Buchanan County), Saint Joseph — Saint Joseph|
|(Front): Renowned city of the Pony Express, St. Joseph was first settled as a trading post for the American Fur Company by Joseph Robidoux, 1826. Later he acquired the site and laid out a town in 1843. St. Joseph became an outfitting point for settlers in
northwest Missouri and travelers on the Oregon-California trail. It was also a supply base for army posts and western gold mining camps. Here was the terminus of the first railroad to cross Missouri, the Hannibal and St. Joseph in . . . — Map (db m4989) HM|
|Missouri (Buchanan County), Saint Joseph — SPC Edward "Eddie" Lee Myers June 12, 1984 - July 27, 2005|
| Killed in Action
Operation Iraqi Freedom
United States Army
69th Armor Regiment,
3rd Infantry Division,
Fort Stewart, Ga
“I made the ultimate sacrifice for you” — Map (db m55833) WM|
|Missouri (Buchanan County), Saint Joseph — SPC Joshua James "Josh" Munger May 6, 1983 - November 2, 2005|
| Killed in Action
Operation Iraqi Freedom
United States Army
1st Battalion, 502nd Infantry Regiment,
2nd Brigade, 101 Airborne Div.
“Freedom Isnt Free”
Dedicated to the Memory of Our Fallen Hero — Map (db m55834) WM|
|Missouri (Buchanan County), Saint Joseph — St. Joseph The Union's Linchpin to the West|
In 1860, the United States stood on the brink of Civil War. Following the election of Abraham Lincoln as America's 16th President, states began seceding from the United States to form a new nation, the Confederate States of America.
In April 1861, St. Joseph, as the "Gateway to the West" was the central point of the nation's transportation and communications networks. As part of the modern technology to wage war. St. Joseph became singularly important to the North as the western . . . — Map (db m79274) HM|
|Missouri (Buchanan County), Saint Joseph — St. Michael's Prairie / The Lewis and Clark Expedition|
| St. Michael's Prairie
St. Michaels Prairie, the site where St. Joseph would be established, was identified on maps at least as early as 1792. French explorers and trappers had been traveling up and down the Missouri River since the early 1700s, and many areas along the river had been used as camps or temporary settlements. St. Michael was the name of a French family whose history is linked with the Mississippi and Missouri Rivers, so it is possible that during the 18th century this area . . . — Map (db m47472) HM|
|Missouri (Buchanan County), Saint Joseph — The Boder Building|
This property has been placed on the
of Historic Places
by the United States
Department of the Interior — Map (db m47476) HM|
|Missouri (Buchanan County), Saint Joseph — The California - Oregon Trail 1840s & 1850s|
| Each spring thousands of emigrants camped in these hills and meadows waiting for new grass to support their teams along the trail. Wagons lined St. Joseph streets to the east waiting for two to three days to be ferried from this point. The settlers faced up to five months of hardships, sickness and danger in a trip beyond the protection of the U.S. Government. In the 1840s and 50s, hundreds of thousands of emigrants followed the St. Joe Road west seeking homesteads or gold on the California . . . — Map (db m47467) HM|
|Missouri (Buchanan County), Saint Joseph — The Civil War in St. Joseph A State Divided: The Civil War in Missouri|
| On April 3, 1860, the Pony Express started from this neighborhood on its historic run to the West. Eight months after the Pony Express joined East and West, the country split North to South when South Carolina seceded. Missouri, including St. Joseph, was as divided as the nation. Almost 2,000 men from Buchanan County fought for the Union. Roughly the same number joined the Confederates. Union troops occupied St. Joseph throughout most of the war to protect the strategically important western . . . — Map (db m48063) HM|
|Missouri (Buchanan County), Saint Joseph — The First Pony Express|
This monument erected by the
Daughters of the American Revolution
The City of St. Joseph
marks the place where the first
Pony Express started on April 3, 1860 — Map (db m47492) HM|
|Missouri (Buchanan County), Saint Joseph — The Journey West|
| After the 1848 discovery of gold in California, more than 100,000 sturdy Americans passed through St. Joseph on their way west in quest of wealth, opportunity and better lives. The "Gold Rush" began and those who followed the "Star of Empire" became part of one of the world's largest-known human migrations. Most of the pioneers came to St. Joseph, outfitted their wagon trains, and then ferried the swift-running waters to start their 2,000-mile journey to California.
This monument is a . . . — Map (db m47479) HM|
|Missouri (Buchanan County), Saint Joseph — The Lewis and Clark Expedition|
In 1804-06, Captains Meriwether Lewis and William Clark led about 40 soldiers and boatmen on an epic journey. President Thomas Jefferson commissioned this "Corps of Discovery" to find a route to the Pacific Ocean through the newly acquired Louisiana territory. Along the way, they mapped the land, recorded its resources, and contacted its native inhabitants.
The landscape has changed since Lewis and Clark explored it: rivers have been dammed, forests cut over, prairies plowed under, . . . — Map (db m89212) HM
|Missouri (Buchanan County), Saint Joseph — The Men of the Corps of Discovery / The Lewis and Clark Expedition|
The Men of the Corps of Discovery
During the winter of 1803, Lewis and Clark set up camp opposite the mouth of the Missouri River. Here they drilled and trained their men to prepare them for the task ahead. All of the men had been selected for their special talents and experiences as backwoodsmen. They were chosen to be "capable of bearing bodily fatigue in a pretty considerable way." Several were considered too undisciplined to serve under a military command and were . . . — Map (db m79291) HM|
|Missouri (Buchanan County), Saint Joseph — The Patee House|
| The Patee House
has been designated a
Registered National Historic Landmark
under the provisions of the
Historic Sites Act of August 21, 1935
This site posseses exceptional value in commemorating and illustrating the history of the United States
U.S. Department of the Interior
National Park Service
Patee House Hotel
Restoration of this front portico was
a 1976 Bicentennial project. Mrs. William
J. Bingham, great-granddaughter of John
Patee, . . . — Map (db m47443) HM|
|Missouri (Buchanan County), Saint Joseph — The Patee House In The Civil War A State Divided: The Civil War in Missouri|
The Hotel Patee House opened in 1858 as St. Josephs finest hotel. It later served as the national Pony Express headquarters, the local Union Army headquarters, a womens college and a factory. The building is now a National Historic Landmark.
The Opening of the Hotel Patee House
St. Joseph was a thriving community on the western border in 1856 when John Patee began construction on his Hotel Patee House. He equipped his hotel with the latest technology and a lavish interior at a . . . — Map (db m47441) HM|
|Missouri (Buchanan County), Saint Joseph — The Pony Express by Albert Fales|
A stone from the U.S. Post Office
1898 - 1940 — Map (db m47466) HM|
|Missouri (Buchanan County), Saint Joseph — The Pony Express St. Joseph, Missouri|
The National Significance of the Pony Express
The Pony Express ran from April 3, 1860, until the transcontinental telegraph was completed in October, 1861. The Pony Express proved that the Central Route to California could be traveled all year. Part of this route would later be used by the transcontinental railroad. By keeping government lines of communication open, the Pony Express also helped keep gold-rich California in the Union during the Civil War. The legend of the Pony Express . . . — Map (db m79289) HM|
|Missouri (Buchanan County), Saint Joseph — Transcontinental Telegraph Electrical Engineering Milestone|
Between July 4 and October 24, 1861, a telegraph line was constructed by the Western Union Company between St. Joseph, Missouri, and Sacramento, California, thereby completing the first high-speed communications line between the Atlantic and Pacific Coasts. This service met the critical demand for fast communications between these areas. The telegraph line operated until May 1869, when it was replaced by a multi-wire system constructed with the Union Pacific and Central Pacific railway lines.
September 1992 — Map (db m47465) HM|
|Missouri (Buchanan County), Saint Joseph — War Memorial|
Dedicated to those
who gave their lives
in behalf of their country
They gave their tomorrow
for our today
Spanish American War World War I
World War II Korean War
Vietnam Persian Gulf War — Map (db m55771) HM|
|Missouri (Buchanan County), Saint Joseph — William Mitchelhill August 27th 1870 - May 7th 1915 In Memoriam|
Lost at sea, in the
sinking of the "S.S. Lusitania"
off the Old Head of
on May 7th 1915 — Map (db m66455) HM|
|Missouri (Buchanan County), Saint Joseph — World War Memorial|
In honor of
those who answered
their country's call
The Great World War
1917 - 1918 — Map (db m66376) WM|
|Missouri (Buchanan County), St Joseph — Patee Town|
|John Patee came to St. Joseph in 1845 and opened the city's first drugstore at the corner of of Main and Francis Streets. He purchased 320 acres, platted what was known as "Patee Town" and began selling building lots in 1849. He later built the Patee House Hotel on the corner of 12th and Penn Streets in 1856. The city contributed money in 1860 to open Patee Market House on South 10th Street between Olive and Lafayette Streets.
Construction of the Hannibal and St. Joseph Railroad in 1859 . . . — Map (db m22072) HM|
|Missouri (Butler County), Poplar Bluff — First Presbyterian Church USA|
|A church building occupied by First Presbyterian Church has stood at this northwest corner of Main and Oak Streets since 1884, the longest period of time one denomination has occupied one site in Poplar Bluff's history. Founded in 1879, first church built in 1884. Remodeled in 1900; destroyed by fire, 1925. Rebuilt in 1929, education building added in 1967. — Map (db m36142) HM|
|Missouri (Butler County), Poplar Bluff — Historic Brick Streets|
|In 1913 the city completed 3-1/3 miles of brick streets along Main & Vine at the cost of $86,645 following specifications established for brick streets in New York City. These historic streets have served the city for nearly a century. — Map (db m36140) HM|
|Missouri (Butler County), Poplar Bluff — Original Town Poplar Bluff|
|This site marks northwest corner of original town platted in 1849. Poplar Bluff, named for beautiful tulip poplars on bluffs overlooking Black River, became county seat of Butler County in 1849 and was incorporated on February 9, 1870. — Map (db m36126) HM|
|Missouri (Butler County), Poplar Bluff — Poplar Bluff|
|(Front): Butler County chose this bluff and the surrounding area as the county seat in 1849 and named it Poplar Bluff. The beautiful trees growing on the natural bluff were tulip poplars. (Reverse): According to legend, early travelers on Black River called it the poplar bluff. The tree is one of Missouri's most valuable trees. It is native to this area and is also called yellow poplar. Though known as a poplar, the tree is a member of the magnolia family. Early in May it is . . . — Map (db m36127) HM|
|Missouri (Butler County), Poplar Bluff — Poplar Bluff|
|(Front): In the Ozark perimeter, above Missouri's Southeast Lowland Region, Poplar Bluff was laid out in 1849 as seat of newly organized Butler County. The town was named for its location in a forest of yellow poplars on the bluffs above Black River. Called L'eau Noire by French trappers, Black River flows clear and swift above Poplar Bluff, murky and slow below. The county is named for Mexican War General W.O. Butler. Almost destroyed by guerrilla and troop foragers during the Civil . . . — Map (db m36128) HM|
|Missouri (Butler County), Poplar Bluff — Pvt. Billie Gene Kanell|
|Dedicated to the memory of Pvt. Billie Gene Kanell 35th Infantry Regiment 25th Infantry Division - Company I Korean War Awarded the Congressional Medal of Honor and to all the servicemen of Butler County Missouri who made the supreme sacrifice for democracy — Map (db m36139) HM|
|Missouri (Caldwell County), Braymer — Haun's Mill|
Southwest of here
on October 30th, 1838,
occurred the incident generally
known as the Haun's Mill Massacre.
This site located by
Wm. R. Pemberton.
This marker placed here by
Glenn M. Setzer
1941 — Map (db m22502) HM|
|Missouri (Caldwell County), Breckenridge — Haun's Millstone Commemorative Marker|
|Mill Stone believed to be from Haun's Mill (1836- ca. 1845)
This relic represents a tragic episode in American Religious history. A testament to an enduring need for greater understanding and tolerance between peoples of differing ideologies, including religious beliefs and cultural backgrounds. As a result of miscommunication and feelings of powerlessness to effect change in the wake of what they saw as offensive Mormon military actions in Daviess County, Livingston County Regulators and . . . — Map (db m22564) HM|
|Missouri (Caldwell County), Hamilton — "Richey" and Harden Stone Millstones|
"Richey" Mill Stones
Salem, Caldwell County
Harden Stone Millstones
Chapter DAR 1912
Replaced by Major Molly - 2003 — Map (db m66984) HM|
|Missouri (Caldwell County), Hamilton — Boyhood Home of J. C. Penney|
[Title is text] — Map (db m66989) HM|
|Missouri (Caldwell County), Hamilton — Hamilton|
Founded in 1855 and named for Alexander Hamilton and Joseph Hamilton. First incorporated in 1868. Ten miles southwest the Mormons in 1836 established the town of Far West, the county seat from 1836 to 1843. — Map (db m66996) HM|
|Missouri (Caldwell County), Hamilton — Welcome to Hamilton|
J.C. Penney 1875-1971 500th J.C. Penney Store opened in 1924 Frank Clark's Mill 1867 Sam McBrayer's Livery Stable 1898 Caldwell County Courthouse in Kingston Built 1898 J.C. Penney Farms Far West Memorial Hamilton Holiday Street Scene 1930's Hamilton Original City Hall 1911 Home of North Missouri Steam and Gas Engine Show Burlington Northern Railroad Depot Zach Wheat Baseball Hall of Famer 1959
[Mural by Ted] Stillwell . . . — Map (db m66988) HM|
|Missouri (Callaway County), Fulton — Boone's Rock|
Originally located on a bluff on Stinson Creek in northwest Fulton, about 200 yards north of the Boone's Lick Trail, this rock bears the name D. Boone with the date 1801 and an arrow pointing due west.
The gift of Mr. & Mrs. Harry McIntire to the Kingdom of Callaway Historical Society, it was placed here and dedicated November 4, 1967 — Map (db m69693) HM|
|Missouri (Callaway County), Fulton — Callaway County Men at War Missouri's Civil War|
The Civil War divided Missouri, but in Callaway County more soldiers served with the pro-Southern Missouri State Guard (MSG), the Confederate Army or irregular partisans. The MSG was a state-sanctioned force, organized in May 1861 to defend Missouri against potential aggressive action by Union military authorities in St. Louis. This followed President Lincoln's order for volunteers after the firing on Fort Sumter in South Carolina.
Callaway County quickly raised several companies for the . . . — Map (db m70386) HM|
|Missouri (Callaway County), Fulton — Captain James Callaway|
Sacred to the memory of
Captain James Callaway,
who sacrificed his life in the defense of his
country, and who fell in the same battle in which
McMullin, McDermid and Houchins were killed.
Captain James Callaway,
raised and commanded a company of one hundred Rangers during the War of 1812-14. He is said to have fought the Indians in more than 100 engagements and was finally killed in the last battle of the war. He was shot by an Indian from ambush as he was swimming in . . . — Map (db m70383) HM WM|
|Missouri (Callaway County), Fulton — Fulton|
|This is a two sided marker
Fulton was founded here in the Little Dixie Region of Missouri, 1825, to replace the poorly located Elizabeth as seat of Callaway County. Named for a grandson of Daniel Boone and War of 1812 Ranger, Capt. James Callaway, the county was organized, 1820. The town name honors Robert Fulton.
Callaway County is popularly called the Kingdom of Callaway in memory of a War Between the States incident in 1861 when "Col." Jefferson Franklin . . . — Map (db m78757) HM|
|Missouri (Callaway County), Fulton — Memorial Park|
Dedicated in 1922 to the Soldiers, Sailors & Marines of Callaway Co. who served their country in the World War of 1917-1918 and whose names now appear on bronze tablets in the Callaway Co. Court House.
This ground was acquired in 1921, through public subscriptions of the Citizens of Fulton and Callaway County. — Map (db m69665) HM|
|Missouri (Callaway County), Fulton — President Robert L. D. Davidson 1909 - 1998|
Dedicated to the highest principles, President Robert L. D. "Larry" Davidson was a leader of character during times of both prosperity and adversity. As the 15th president of Westminster College, Davidson passionately invested in students, encouraged colleagues, and relished the challenges of higher education. Davidson was responsible for establishing the Winston Churchill Memorial and Library and bringing Ch[r]istopher Wren's Church of St. Mary, the Virgin, Aldermanbury, to the Westminster . . . — Map (db m70395) HM|
|Missouri (Callaway County), Fulton — Robertson Historic District Historic Fulton Missouri|
Rev. William W. Robertson, (1807-1894), Presbyterian minister and educator, established Fulton Female Seminary (1850) on W 7th Street, originally known as Seminary Street. Rev. Robertson founded Westminster College in 1853. — Map (db m70423) HM|
|Missouri (Callaway County), Fulton — The Berlin Wall|
|Following the defeat of Nazi Germany in 1945, the country was divided into four zones of occupation by the World War II Allies. The United States, Great Britain, France and the Soviet Union. Berlin, located deep within the Soviet zone also was subjected to four-power control. Three years later, the Soviets tried to force the Western presence out of the city by severing highway, rail and water links between West Berlin and the rest of Germany. After an eleven-month Airlift organized by the . . . — Map (db m59080) HM|
|Missouri (Callaway County), Fulton — The National Winston Churchill Museum|
|Commemorates Churchill's "Iron Curtain" speech delivered at Westminster College, Fulton, Missouri on March 5, 1946, in which he warned:|
"From Stettin in the Baltic to Trieste in the Adriatic an IRON CURTAIN has descended across the Continent. Behind that line lie all the capitals of the ancient states of Central and Eastern Europe.
Warsaw, Berlin, Prague, Vienna, Budapest, Belgrade, Bucharest and Sofia, all these famous cities and the populations around them lie in what I must call the . . . — Map (db m59085) HM
|Missouri (Callaway County), Fulton — The Winston Churchill Memorial and Library|
|The Church of St. Mary Aldermanbury first mentioned in 1181, destroyed by the Great Fire of London in 1666, rebuilt by Christopher Wren, destroyed by bombing in 1940. The remaining fabric removed to Westminster College in 1966 and restored as this memorial. — Map (db m59087) HM|
|Missouri (Callaway County), Fulton — War Comes to Westminster College Missouri's Civil War|
"The Columns" atop this hill are the venerated remains of Westminster College's original academic building, Westminster Hall, destroyed by fire in 1909. Founded in 1851, Westminster was one of the few Missouri colleges to function in some fashion throughout the Civil War.
Anticipating an invasion by Federal troops, at the outset of the war in May 1861 the Missouri legislature reconfigured the militia as the Missouri State Guard. Almost immediately eight companies enrolled volunteers from . . . — Map (db m70437) HM|
|Missouri (Callaway County), Fulton — War Memorial|
This gun was placed here by Callaway Post 2657, Veterans of Foreign Wars of the United States, and the City of Fulton, in honor of the Callaway men and women who served their country in all of its wars.
Dedicated May 26, 1997 — Map (db m69667) WM|
|Missouri (Callaway County), Fulton — War Memorial|
In honored memory of those from Callaway County who gave their lives in the service of our country. They joined an unbroken line of patriots who died, that liberty, freedom and justice might live and grow.
Erected May 29, 1989
[Rolls of Honored Dead]
World War I World War II
Korea Vietnam — Map (db m69691) WM|
|Missouri (Callaway County), Fulton — Westminster College Columns|
"A reminder of the historic past and a symbol of strength for the future."
The Columns of Old Westminster Hall, built in 1858, preserved after the Fire of 1909, repaired by the Class of 1927 and rebuilt in 1972 by many loyal alumni.
John Epple Construction Co. — Map (db m70419) HM|
|Missouri (Callaway County), Fulton — Westminster Hall Threshold 1911 - 1974|
Stepping stone to knowledge for more than 8,000 Westminster men — Map (db m70415) HM|
|Missouri (Callaway County), Fulton — William Chrisman Swope Memorial Chapel Erected A.D. 1917-1918|
In memory of
William Chrisman Swope
1878 - 1909
Graduated from Westminster 1900
Faithful to every duty, self-sacrificing and helpful. A loyal officer in his church, a sincere and devout Christian
This building has been erected by his mother in his memory
"And by it, he being dead yet speaketh"
————————————— In memory of
Mrs. Margaret . . . — Map (db m70421) HM|
|Missouri (Callaway County), Fulton — Winston Churchill's "Iron Curtain" Speech Westminster College Gymnasium|
In this building
5 March 1946
the Right Honorable
Wartime Prime Minister of
"Iron Curtain" Speech
having been introduced by
Harry S. Truman
President of the
United States of America
Westminster College Gymnasium
has been designated a
under the provisions of the . . . — Map (db m70417) HM|
|Missouri (Camden County), Lake Ozark — Bagnell Dam|
|This is a two sided marker
The historic Osage River, impounded here by Bagnell Dam, flows east and north some 82 miles to join the Missouri. At the river's mouth, the 1804 Lewis and Clark Expedition camped several days and in 1806 Zebulon M. Pike's Southwest Expedition traveled by here on the way to visit the Osage Indian villages near the Kansas border where the river's name changes to Marias des Cygnes.
Named for the Osage Indians (the French name for Wazhazhe . . . — Map (db m78759) HM|
|Missouri (Cape Girardeau County), Burfordville — Bollinger Mill/Burfordville Covered Bridge|
|(Front): Bollinger Mill
Maj. George Frederick Bollinger built the first mill here in 1800, on a 640-acre grant from Louis Lorimier, Spanish Commandant of Cape Girardeau district of Upper Louisiana. A German Swiss from North Carolina, Bollinger visited this area 1796, and returned with 20 families. His mill became the largest and best in the district.
The mill, damaged in the Civil War, later rebuilt, operated until 1950, and is now owned by the Cape Girardeau County . . . — Map (db m35367) HM|
|Missouri (Cape Girardeau County), Cape Girardeau — "Red Rover, Red Rover" Did you know?|
|"Red Rover" was the first hospital ship of the United States Navy, the first Navy ship that women served on and the apparent namesake of the popular children's game. It was also build and launched in Cape Girardeau in 1859.
"Red Rover" was a steamer brought by the Confederate Navy a the beginning of the Civil War and used as a transport. At the Battle of Island #10 near New Madrid, MO, it was captured by Union forces in April 1862. The Union Navy outfitted it as a military Hospital ship, . . . — Map (db m58928) HM|
|Missouri (Cape Girardeau County), Cape Girardeau — Cape Girardeau and the Railroad|
|After the golden age of the steamboat, port cities like Cape Girardeau suffered as railroads provided alternate means of transportation.
Responding to the post-Civil War railroad boom, a syndicated of local business leaders formed the Cape Girardeau and State Line Railroad Company in 1869 and sold bonds to capitalize the enterprise. However, no track was ever laid, the funds disappeared, and the company went bankrupt leaving the City in great debt.
In 1880 Louis Houck, a local lawyer and . . . — Map (db m58672) HM|
|Missouri (Cape Girardeau County), Cape Girardeau — Cape Girardeau River Crossings|
|In the 1790s, the Spanish governor granted Louis Lorimier permission to operate a ferry service at Cape Girardeau.
Thereafter, ferry operators continued to shuttle people and products across the Mississippi River until 1928 when a new, privately built bridge ended the ferryboat era. Captain A.C. Jaynes was the last of these operators.
Located at the north end of the River Campus Terrace Park, the 1928 bridge operated first as a toll bridge and later as a state roadway. The bridge closed . . . — Map (db m58667) HM|
|Missouri (Cape Girardeau County), Cape Girardeau — Cape La Croix Creek|
|In 1699, fathers Montigny, Davion, and St. Cosme, French missionaries erected a cross where this stream entered the Mississippi and prayed that this might be the beginning of Christianity among the Indians.
The stream has ever since been known as Cape La Croix Creek.
Originally dedicated October 12, 1947 LaCroix Creek site on N. Kings Highway.
Relocated to this site on
Good Friday, April 10, 2009
Easter Sunday, April 4, 2010 — Map (db m58683) HM|
|Missouri (Cape Girardeau County), Cape Girardeau — Champion Beech Tree|
|This stately Beech is one of the largest and oldest trees in the State of Missouri. A registered "champion" tree, it is approximately 200 years old. Quite possibly it was alive at the time of the Louisiana Purchase in 1803.
The American Beech (Fagus grandifolia) is the only native North American species of beech.
A slow growing hardwood, beaches may live 300-400 years and attain heights of 70-120 feet.
Beech trees are typically found in the hardwood forests of eastern United States. . . . — Map (db m58665) HM|
|Missouri (Cape Girardeau County), Cape Girardeau — Don Louis Lorimier / El Camino Real|
| Don Louis Lorimier On this site stood the home of Don Louis Lorimier first commandant of the Spanish Military Post established here in 1793|
Erected by the Nancy Hunter Chapter Daughters of the American Revolution 1917
El Camino Real
Erected by the Missouri
Daughters of the American Revolution
A. D. 1917 — Map (db m52042) HM
|Missouri (Cape Girardeau County), Cape Girardeau — George Drouillard|
|George Drouillard was cheif hunter and interpreter on the Lewis and Clark Expedition Corps of Discovery. He was the son of a Frenchman and Shawnee woman as well as nephew of Louis Lorimier, Commandant of the Cape Girardeau District. Drouillard lived and bred horses in the Cape Girardeau area. Meriwether Lewis described him as: "A man of much merit; he has been peculiarly usefull from his knowledge of the common language of gesticulation, and his uncommon skill as a hunter and woodsman: Those . . . — Map (db m51818) HM|
|Missouri (Cape Girardeau County), Cape Girardeau — Manitowoc Shipbuilding Company|
|Manitowoc Shipbuilding Company
One of the most unusual WWI Mississippi River transportation stories concerns the Manitowoc [Wisconsin] Shipbuilding Co., the nation's only inland builder of submarines.
In December 1940, the U.S. Navy contracted with the company to construct 10 Gato class submarines.
Subsequently, the Navy increased the order to 41 boats of which 28 were ultimately produced prior to the end of the war.
The typical Gato submarine was 312 feet long, with 27-foot beams and a . . . — Map (db m58664) HM|
|Missouri (Cape Girardeau County), Cape Girardeau — Old Lorimier Cemetery|
Earliest Inscription 1808
In this old cemetery
Don Louis Lorimier
lie pioneers, founders, builders and defenders of our country. — Map (db m58684) HM|
|Missouri (Cape Girardeau County), Cape Girardeau — Old St. Vincent's Church 1838 ------ 1982|
|On this site in 1833, Father John Timon, a Vincention Priest, celebrated mass in a warehouse of Don Louis Lorimier.
The first St. Vincent's Church, constructed in 1838, was destroyed by a tornado in 1850. Re-built a year later, the foundation of the present English Gothic church is stone from the original building.
Declared a Chapel of Ease in 1977, Old St. Vincent's Church was placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1982 and has remained a place of worship since Father Timon came to this spot in 1833. — Map (db m52039) HM|
|Missouri (Cape Girardeau County), Cape Girardeau — Pook's Turtles Did you Know?|
|An ironclad was a wooden warship of the 19-century having iron or steel armor plating. The Confederate's ironclad ,"Monitor" (formerly Merrimack"), and the Union's ironclad, "Virginia" fought off the coast of Virginia in March of 1862. However, these were not the first ironclads that fought in the Civil War.
Between August 1861 and January 1862, a series of seven gunboats were designed by Samuel Pook and built by James Eads at a cost of more than $100,000 each.
Four gunboats were built . . . — Map (db m58930) HM|
|Missouri (Cape Girardeau County), Cape Girardeau — River Commerce|
Known to Native Americans as "Messipi" ("Big River") or "Mee-zee-see-bee" ("Father of Waters"), the Mississippi River originates in Minnesota and terminates 2,348 miles later at the Gulf of Mexico.
The river played an integral part in the establishment and growth of Cape Girardeau, whose port has welcomed skiffs, canoes, Keelboats, steamboats, and modern day passenger paddle wheelers. Barge traffic continues to utilize the river.
Risk has always been a part of life on the river. In the . . . — Map (db m58669) HM|
|Missouri (Cape Girardeau County), Cape Girardeau — St Vincent's Seminary and Southeast Missouri State University|
|Terrace Park is located on the site where Father Odin of the Congregation of the Mission (Vincentian Fathers) established St. Vincent's Male Academy in 1838, which was followed shortly thereafter by St. Vincent's Seminary.
Often affectionately called "The Cape", St. Vincent's remained open as a minor seminary for high school aged boys until 1979.
Joseph Lansmann designed and constructed the original main building (1843) in the Colonial Revival style. A red brick structure with rectangular . . . — Map (db m58663) HM|
|Missouri (Cape Girardeau County), Cape Girardeau — Telephone Service 1877 - 1896|
The first long distance telephone line in Missouri was completed December 18, 1877 between Cape Girardeau and Jackson.
Here in a 10' by 12' second floor room the city's first telephone exchange was established by A.R. Ponder, L.J. Albert, J.F. Brooks, and M.A. Dennison doing business as the Cape Girardeau Telephone Company. — Map (db m38443) HM|
|Missouri (Cape Girardeau County), Cape Girardeau — The Lewis and Clark Expedition Across Missouri|
|On Nov. 23, 1803, Meriwether Lewis and William Clark arrived at Cape Girardeau, a trading post established in 1795 by Louis Lorimier, the Spanish-appointed Commandant of the Cape Girardeau District. Here, Lewis, co-commander of the expedition, left the keelboat to pay and official visit to Commandant Lorimier. The remaining party, under the command of Clark, who was feeling ill, continued upstream about two miles and camped on a point of land that was the site of Lorimier's original post, which . . . — Map (db m58675) HM|
|Missouri (Cape Girardeau County), Cape Girardeau — The Mississippi River|
|"The Father of Water" has provided means of travel and commerce since early days. Indians, explorers, priests, traders, and settlers plied its current in canoes, dugouts, flatboats, keelboats, packets, and towboats.
Until the Civil War, Cape Girardeau thrived as a river port for the district. It shipped out furs, pork and beef products, cotton, grain and lumber, and tools, and entertainment by the showboat and races on the river. — Map (db m52040) HM|
|Missouri (Cape Girardeau County), Cape Girardeau — The Red House|
|Pierre-Louis de Lorimier, French-Canadian fur trader, Indian agent, and founder of Cape Girardeau, built the Red House in the late 1790s west of this location on what is now the parking lot of St. Vincent's Church.
The Red House served as the family home for Louis, his wife Charlotte Pemanpieh Bougainville, and their children- Guillaume ( as son from a previous marriage), Louis, Jr., Marie Louise, Augustus Bougainville, Agatha, Vernieul Raphael, and Victor. It also served as a fur-trading . . . — Map (db m58678) HM|
|Missouri (Cape Girardeau County), Cape Girardeau — The Red House Interpretive Center|
|The Red House Interpretive Center, under construction from 2002-2004, is a cooperative effort of the Cape Girardeau Lewis and Clark Bicentennial Commission and the City of Cape Girardeau. The project was funded in part through grants from the Missouri Department of Transportation and the Missouri Lewis and Clark Bicentennial Commission. Over 200 individuals, businesses, and civic clubs donated money, labor, and materials to complete the project.
Integrating the architectural style of the . . . — Map (db m58674) HM|
|Missouri (Cape Girardeau County), Hartle Ford — "Historical Marker"|
|The Niswonger family came to this area from Lincoln Co. N.C. in a caravan of 20 families, they crossed the river on ice near Ste. Genevieve Jan. 1, 1800, then came south to the Whitewater creeks along which they settled. The family consisted of 3 generations: George Christopher, the imigrant from Switzerland, died in 1802 age 110 yrs. His son Joseph married Catharina Seabaugh. They had 3 children; Jos. Jr. who was 12 yrs. old, Catherine, who married Jos. Baker, Elizabeth, who married Martin . . . — Map (db m33791) HM|
|Missouri (Cape Girardeau County), Oriole — Father Jacques Marquette 1673-1973|
|In 1672 Louis Joliet and Father Jacques Marquette were commissioned by King Louis XIV to discover the course of the Mississippi River. On June 17, 1673, the expedition entered the Mississippi from the Wisconsin River and began its descent by canoe.
On July 4, 1673, the seven-man expedition passed the mouth of the turbulent Missouri River and later observed the confluence of the Ohio and the Mississippi. Upon reaching an Arkansas Indian village near present Helena, July 17, they were . . . — Map (db m61828) HM|
|Missouri (Carroll County), Carrollton — Court House Bell|
Presented and placed atop the
Carroll County Courthouse
when building was erected 1902-1903
Removed in 1953 -- Erected this location
as a historical landmark in 1970
by the County Court. — Map (db m90892) HM
|Missouri (Carroll County), Carrollton — General James Shields|
Born in County Tyrone · Ireland
Died in Ottumwa · Iowa
Soldier · Jurist · Statesman
United States Senator from
Illinois · Minnesota and Missouri
Cerro Gordo · Chapultepec
Winchester · Port Republic
Erected by the United States
under an Act of the Congress
Approved March 15-1910 — Map (db m90874) HM
|Missouri (Carroll County), Carrollton — General James Shields|
Born in County Tyrone, Ireland
May 10, 1810
Died June 1, 1879
Rests in St. Mary's Cemetery near
Soldier · Statesman
Jurist · Patriot
Mexican War · Civil War
Cerro Gordo · Winchester
Chapultepec · Port Republic
United States Senator from
Illinois - Missouri - Minnesota
Governor Oregon Territory
Commissioner U.S. Land Office
Justice Supreme Court of Illinois — Map (db m90890) HM WM
|Missouri (Carroll County), Carrollton — Veterans Memorial|
Erected in memory of
All Departed Veterans
by American Legion Post No. 239 — Map (db m90761) HM
|Missouri (Carter County), Van Buren — Big Spring Ozark National Scenic Riverways National Park Service-U.S.Department of the Interior|
|Big Spring rises through a jumble of giant boulders causing a dramatic “boil” at the spring surface. On an average day 288 million gallons of water flow from the spring, enough to fill Busch Stadium in St. Louis in only 33 hours.|
Springs are unique and specialized habitats, primarily due to cool temperatures and flowing water. Many species found in Big Spring prefer springs over other aquatic habitats.
Aquatic Snail Mayfly Watercress Water Buttercups — Map (db m61738) HM
|Missouri (Carter County), Van Buren — Big Spring-A Karst Topography Ozark National Scenic Riverways National Park Service, U.S. Department of the Interior|
|Karst is a special type of landscape that is formed by the dissolution of soluble rocks, including limestone and dolomite.|
A karst topography is characterized by rolling hills, deep hollows springs, caves, sinkholes and tunnels.
Rain water, seeping through soil, becomes slightly acidic. Water penetrates cracks and joints, slowly dissolving porous limestone bedrock. Through time, cracks and joints enlarge, creating a vast underground drainage system.
Big Spring carries 173 tons of . . . — Map (db m61739) HM
|Missouri (Carter County), Van Buren — Building Human Happiness|
|"We are definitely in an era of building; the best kind of building - the building of great public projects for the benefit of the public and with the definite objective of building human happiness." Franklin Delano Roosevelt Growing out of the hillside overlooking the river and spring branch, the dining lodge still offers visitors a beautiful view and a peaceful meal. It took nearly 11 months for the CCC boys to hew the beams and to quarry, cut and haul the stone needed to raise the . . . — Map (db m36208) HM|
|Missouri (Carter County), Van Buren — Camp Hains - 1710|
|"Company 1710 was organized at Fort Leavenworth, Kansas, June 3, 1933...The company was made up of approximately 200 Missouri boys, 96 from three north Missouri counties (Putnam, Caldwell, Lynn) and the remainder from Jasper County.... On June seventeenth, an advanced detail of fifty men... was sent to Big Spring State Park. This detail hurriedly made the necessary preparations for the arrival of the remainder of the Company three days later." Memories of Camp Hains March 30, 1934 For . . . — Map (db m36195) HM|
|Missouri (Carter County), Van Buren — Carter County Veterans Memorial|
|(Front):Erected by the citizens of Carter County in memory of our soldier boys who lost their lives in World War of 1917William Thomas Main Charles O. Marchbank Oscar Marchbank George L. Shiffler Ed. Morler J.L. Kinnard Charles E. McSpadden Leslie Morlan Walter Stucker Charles A. Bounds (Left Side):Veterans of World War IIAsie Boyer David L. Strucker Robert L. Randolph Donald Davis Chester F. Rodgers John Lane Leon A. Bollinger Gilbert L. Farris Gordon Rose (Right . . . — Map (db m36150) WM|
|Missouri (Carter County), Van Buren — CCC - A Peace-Time Army|
|During the 1930s, a depression slowly strangled the nation. By 1933, nearly 13 million people suffered unemployment. In March, newly elected president Franklin D. Roosevelt responded with a bill creating the Civilian Conservation Corps. Its purpose - to provide work for needy young men while promoting conservation of America's resources. Within a few months, over 250,000 men enrolled. Recruiting CCC enrollees became the responsibility of the Department of Labor. Between 1933 and termination of . . . — Map (db m36191) HM|
|Missouri (Carter County), Van Buren — There Was Work To Be Done|
|The CCC worked within state and national parks and forest areas across the nation combating soil erosion, fighting forest fires and building park facilities. At Big Spring, boys from 3 separate camps (Co. 1710, 734 and 1740) kept busy with a variety of projects through cooperation with the Missouri state parks system in work phases from June 1933 through April 1937. Working largely by hand, the CCC used raw materials from the area to protect natural resources and enhance recreational . . . — Map (db m36196) HM|
|Missouri (Carter County), Van Buren — Van Buren|
|(Front): Van Buren, settled as the seat of Ripley County, organized, 1833, became the seat of Carter County when it was organized from parts of Ripley and Shannon counties, 1859. Nearby Big Spring State Park, 4582 acres of Ozark grandeur, founded 1924, features the natural beauty of the largest single-orifice, fresh water spring in the U.S. Big Spring has a maximum flow of 840 million gallons every 24 hours and a daily average of 250 million gallons. The spring discharges about 175 . . . — Map (db m36143) HM|
|Missouri (Cass County), Belton — Smoot Peace Park and Veterans Memorial|
Love + Labor + Leisure + Light + Law=
A memorial to
Mr. & Mrs. G. W. Smoot
given to City of Belton by daughter
Cynthia Smoot Jones
Dedicated to those who served
Dedicated Veteran's Day
Nov. 11, 2004
We salute the courage, honor,
patriotism, and sacrifice of
all men and women who serve in the
Armed Forces of the United States
We mourn the loss of those who have
given their lives to preserve and
defend our precious liberty . . . — Map (db m50860) HM|
|Missouri (Cass County), Harrisonville — Burnt District Monument The Heart of the Burnt District Missouri's Civil War|
|Missouri's Civil War
The Civil War on the Missouri-Kansas border was an extension of the raiding and looting that took place during the Bleeding Kansas era of 1854 to 1860. Early in the war, Kansas Jayhawkers and Redlegs dressed in blue Union uniforms looted and burned towns such as Osceola, Dayton, Pleasant Hill, Columbus and Butler as well as farms dotting the countryside. In response, guerrillas known as bushwackers rose up to harass the Federals and protect local interests and . . . — Map (db m20318) HM|
|Missouri (Cass County), Harrisonville — Cass County|
|(Front): Midway on Missouri's western border, Cass County was organized in 1835 and named Van Buren. The Free-Soil Party affiliation of Martin Van Buren led to name change, in 1849 for Democrat Lewis Cass. In territory ceded by Osage tribes 1825, the county was first settled 1828, by David Creek. Early pioneers were mainly from Ky., Tenn., Va. Harrisonville, the county seat, was laid out 1837, and named for Albert G. Harrison, Mo. Congressman. The 1897 courthouse is the county's . . . — Map (db m20267) HM|
|Missouri (Cass County), Harrisonville — General Order No. 11 Aug. 25, 1863 Brig. Gen. Thomas Ewing|
(No inscription except for the title and portraits of significant personalities. This historical marker tells its story pictorially.)
Lewis Cass L.O. Kunze
Henry & Bursheba Younger
[William] Quantrill Cole Younger
Major Deant Jennison's [Jayhawks]
[Mural by Daniel Brewer] — Map (db m50871) HM|
|Missouri (Cass County), Harrisonville — Harrisonville WWI Memorial|
of our World War
Veterans — Map (db m20702) HM|
|Missouri (Cass County), Harrisonville — Jennisons Jayhawks raid Harrisonville Square July 1861|
| (No inscription except for the title. This historical marker tells its story pictorially.) — Map (db m50870) HM|
|Missouri (Cass County), Harrisonville — Lest We Forget|
Stylized Eagle facing right perched on 3 arrows
Lest we forget
map of Korea
Stylized Eagle facing left perched on 3 arrows
Lest we forget
map of Vietnam
base of marker
Dedicated to the brave men and women of Cass County who served that Freedom and Justice should not perish from the Earth.
Blue Star Marker
Blue Star By Way marker program established by the Federation of Garden . . . — Map (db m21314) WM|
|Missouri (Cass County), Harrisonville — The Burnt District Monument|
|(Left Side Plaque)
The Burnt District / Jennison's Tombstones
When the Civil War began, Cass County was home to over 1,700 families. The population of 8,900 free whites and 1,000 slaves reflected widely diverse origins. Many had migrated from Kentucky, Tennessee,and Virginia, bringing a distinctly southern culture. The county was growing and prosperous.
The Civil War forced residents to choose sides. Too often, neighbors and family members found themselves on opposing sides . . . — Map (db m22089) HM|
|Missouri (Cass County), Harrisonville — United We Stand Divided We Fall|
|The Cass Co. Judges who suffered imprisionment by the U.S. Federal Courts rather than make a tax levy to pay fradulent Co. and Township Railroad Bonds.
Sept 1 1883 to Jan 1 1884
Mar 21 1892 to Jan 1 1893.
This inscription made by order of Cass Co. Court Sept.9, 1897 in compliance with a petition presented by
J.N. Haddock — Map (db m20268) HM|
|Missouri (Cass County), Pleasant Hill — 100 Veterans Parkway Historic Building circa 1880|
Operated as a grocery store/meat market until 1981 when a delicatessen was added. Building was destroyed by fire in 1891 and rebuilt at that time. From 1984 until 2006 various tenants operated out of the building. In 2006 the building was renovated as you see it today functioning as a not for profit thrift store to benefit the residents of Pleasant Hill. Renovation was made possible by a grant thru the Goppert Foundation. Current owner is Pleasant Hill Lay/Clergy Council — Map (db m88326) HM
|Missouri (Cass County), Pleasant Hill — 105 First Street Historic Building 1881|
In 1858 John Armstrong purchased this and surrounding land from the U.S. knowing the Pacific Railroad would site its station here. Armstrong sold some land to the railroad for $1.00. By 1865, when the railroad began construction, business men from 'Old Town' wanted to relocate here. Portions of the site sold for as much as $5500. This building erected in 1881 has had many businesses, including a Western Auto Store (1983-90) operated by Phil and Delores Crotty, the present owners. — Map (db m88421) HM
|Missouri (Cass County), Pleasant Hill — 110 South Lake Street Historic Building circa 1909|
This building has housed a theatre since 1909. In 1915 free Sat. matinees were sponsored by the merchants for country people. Nov. 7, 1916 it was packed with people waiting to hear the national election results coming in over a telephone line installed for that purpose, and by messenger from the office. The bulletins were read from the stage complete with a six piece orchestra. Finally news was received that Woodrow Wilson was the 28th President. In 1924 the town was divided whether Sunday . . . — Map (db m88328) HM
|Missouri (Cass County), Pleasant Hill — 111 First Street Historic Building 1870|
This building was the post office from 1874-90. Other tenants included an insurance agency, a variety store, a shoe shop. and the Commercial Bank (1912). Since 1955 it has been a radio and TV shop, photo shop, telephone office, watch repair shop, tile and linoleum store and a fruit store. Businesses upstairs have been a bookstore, the office of the local Dispatch newspaper, the Pleasant Hill Township office, a building and loan co. and living quarters.
Current owners are Jim and Katrina Waltz. — Map (db m88423) HM
|Missouri (Cass County), Pleasant Hill — 113 Wyoming Street Historic Building 1891|
Until 1977 this building was always a drug store. Some space was rented to the Mo. Kan. Telephone System (Bell) for their central office. A veterinarian also leased space. A church leased the building from 1977 to 1986 at which time Randy and Bettie Miller purchased it for their computer and office supply store. — Map (db m88417) HM
|Missouri (Cass County), Pleasant Hill — 117 First Street Historic Building circa 1895|
From 1895 to 1913 Rolly Brothers restaurant was here. They had a waiting room for ladies in front and a dining room being cut off by a row of palms. In 1904 the rear half was added facing the Mo. Pacific Depot enabling the restaurant to cater to the railroad traffic. In 1915 it had something new in town "a mechanical phonograph." Arched openings from 113 to 117 gave Pleasant Hill one of the country's first enclosed malls. It has been an ice cream parlor, cigar store, confectionary, bus . . . — Map (db m88569) HM
|Missouri (Cass County), Pleasant Hill — 118 First Street Historic Building circa 1903|
First housed a funeral parlor until 1906. For the next 52 years O.L. Beasley and his heirs the Woodmancys operated a clothing store. From 1962-77, it was a sporting goods and liquor store. Later a pawn shop. After extensive remodeling it became a wood carving shop and supply store. Paintings are also done here.
Current owners are
the Storms and Andersons. — Map (db m88425) HM
|Missouri (Cass County), Pleasant Hill — 119 First Street Historic Building circa 1907|
The first building was destroyed by fire in 1893. In 1907 the present building was erected for a pool hall. It was constructed to hold a second story that was never built on. The pool hall is believed to be the oldest in the state of Missouri still in operation. Signs were discovered under old wallpaper stating "Kelly Pool 5 cents per que".
Jeffery Johnson is the current owner. — Map (db m88567) HM
|Missouri (Cass County), Pleasant Hill — 120 First Street Historic Building|
No record available of when 120 First St. was built. From 1902 to 1907 it was a post office. From 1907 to 1930 a grocery store. On July 26, 1909 Carrie Nation gave a lecture in front about the evils of alcohol. It has been an electrical shop, candy shop, bus station (1936-45), sporting goods and liquor store and later a wood carving shop.
Current owners are
the Storms and Andersons. — Map (db m88428) HM
|Missouri (Cass County), Pleasant Hill — 121 First Street Historic Building 1894|
In June 1894, the new building was the home of a drug store. The upstairs was occupied by a savings & loan co and a real estate co. In 1904 the upstairs became the offices of a doctor and a lawyer. In 1929 a bakery was opened downstairs, then a grocery. The Sharp Grocery was here from 1939-1958, followed by various businesses. Bob and Karen Morris bought and restored this building in 1989, for their antique shop.
Current owners are
Terry and Debbie Decker — Map (db m88485) HM
|Missouri (Cass County), Pleasant Hill — 124 First Street Historic Building 1893|
This building was the home of the Citizens State Bank from 1893-1943. The assets were purchased and incorporated into the Pleasant Hill Bank. From 1943-58 it was a shoe and dress shop. In 1958 it became a liquor store for several years. Later it was a small convenience store, then an antique shop. The dates on the building 1884-1913 are believed to be the dates of the founding of the bank (which had relocated here.) and the remodeling in 1913.
Current owners are
Fred and Connie Simmons. — Map (db m88429) HM
|Missouri (Cass County), Pleasant Hill — 126 First Street Historic Building 1900|
From 1900 until 1915 this building was the home of various jewelry businesses, then the Bargain Spot and in 1917 a shoe shop. From 1919-1921 it was a millinery store. Early 1921 it was a feed store. Later that year Pleasant Hill Times Publisher Roy T. Cloud moved into the remodeled building and continued printing the newspaper until 1961. After several owners, Jan & Kirk Powell purchased the business in 1989. It has been a newspaper office continually since 1921. — Map (db m88460) HM
|Missouri (Cass County), Pleasant Hill — 129 Wyoming Street Historic Building 1920|
The first frame building was built in 1868 as a home for boots and shoes. It was a shoe repair shop until 1916. In 1920 Jones Lumber Co. was moved to this location after the original building was razed. Later it was a shoe repair and store until 1941 when it became a carpenter shop. The V.F.W. held meetings here until 1945. At that time it was purchased for a shoe store. Current owner Thomas Johnson has had his shoe shop here since 1948. It is the only wood frame business building in Pleasant Hill today. — Map (db m88419) HM
|Missouri (Cass County), Pleasant Hill — 134 First Street Historic Building circa 1890|
Since 1890 this location has been a barber shop. Half the building has been an insurance agency and jewelry store. A new barber pole was installed in 1908. It is now in Miller's Museum.
Current owner is
Joan Mitchell — Map (db m88462) HM
|Missouri (Cass County), Pleasant Hill — 135 First Street Historic Building 1884|
Constructed for $11,000 by John C. Knorpp, the second floor became the Knorpp Opera House, featuring vaudeville, drama and community functions. The ground floor became a grocery. In 1893 the opera hall was leased to the Masonic Lodge then, in 1904 to the IOOF Lodge. In 1909 the building sold to the IOOF which used the upper floor for many years. After 1921 the ground floor housed variety stores. In 1929, natural gas was piped from Lone Jack. The gas company occupied these premises for nine . . . — Map (db m88479) HM
|Missouri (Cass County), Pleasant Hill — 136 First Street Historic Building circa 1868|
A bakery was here 1867-95. In 1891 a fire started up the street. Men were on top of 136 pouring on water from a line of buckets. A restaurant here in 1905 with sleeping rooms upstairs advertised "25 cents gets a square meal." In 1920 a cleaning and tailor shop was on the ground floor, while it was rumored that the "Ladies of the Night" entertained local gentry on the second floor. On July 4, 1934 a nightwatchman shot and killed Robert Dolley a local baseball player. After 1934 restaurants, . . . — Map (db m88469) HM
|Missouri (Cass County), Pleasant Hill — 140 First Street Historic Building 1868|
Was first used as a savings bank and housed banks until 1908. By 1890 the upper floors were used as lodge halls. Other occupants were dentists, real estate, loan, insurance, lawyers, telephone office and living quarters. The first floor has been a jewelry store, harness shop, garage and machine shop, feed, produce and cream buying station. Later, it became Van's Furniture Store. The town's only three story building is now a bed and breakfast. Current owners are Randy and Marie Tarry. — Map (db m88474) HM
|Missouri (Cass County), Pleasant Hill — 400 Cedar St. Historic Building circa 1860|
This was the original site of the stone mill owned by F.H. Marshal and Son. Here they operated a corn mill, saw mill, a turning lathe and repair shop. In 1898, the top was removed so the red brick Kellogg Opera House could be built on the two-foot stone foundation. The Methodist Church purchased it and held services here from 1917-67. The building then became the Hope Baptist Church, with this congregation still occupying it in 1992. — Map (db m88321) HM
|Missouri (Cass County), Pleasant Hill — Civil War Dead|
These Hallowed Grounds hold the remains of George W. Armstead, Ira W. Crouse, W. H. Darling, J. L. Warren and 23 other Civil War Soldiers known but to God, who lost their lives on July 11, 1862 and May 15, 1863. — Map (db m88292) HM
|Missouri (Cass County), Pleasant Hill — Col. Hiram Bledsoe Apr. 25. 1825 - Feb. 5. 1899 Bledsoe's Battery|
One of the finest artillery units of the Civil War was Bledsoe's Battery, commanded by Col. Hiriam [sic] Bledsoe, a resident of Pleasant Hill.
Born in Kentucky, he moved at age 14 to Lexington, Mo. In 1846 he joined the U. S. Army, Missouri Volunteers, to fight in the Mexican War.
When the Civil War broke out in 1861, Bledsoe formed an artillery battery and offered it for service in the Missouri State Guard commanded by Major General Sterling Price. The pride of the battery was . . . — Map (db m88348) HM WM
|Missouri (Cass County), Pleasant Hill — Defenders of Freedom Veterans Memorial "Some Gave All, All Gave Some"|
"I see that the old flagpole still stands. Have your troops hoist the Colors to its peak, and let no enemy ever haul them down."
Gen. Douglas MacArthur
"To be prepared for war is one of the most effectual means of preserving peace."
"That this nation, under God, shall have a new birth of freedom, and that government of the people, by the people, and for the people, shall not perish from the earth."
"Uncommon valor was a common . . . — Map (db m88344) HM WM