|Nebraska (Antelope County), Orchard — 296 — The Prairie States Forestry Project|
|The Prairie States Forestry Project was initiated by President Franklin D. Roosevelt in 1935 to combat the severe wind-caused soil erosion of the Dust Bowl days. From 1935 through 1942, the U.S. Forest Service, working with the Works Progress Administration and Civilian Conservation Corps planted windbreaks throughout the Great Plains. Nearly 220 million seedlings were planted creating 18,600 miles of windbreaks occupying 240,000 acres on 30,000 farms.
Nebraskans led this effort planting . . . — Map (db m9633) HM|
|Nebraska (Brown County), Johnstown — 236 — Lakeland Sod High School|
|Lakeland High School was constructed 20 miles south of this site by ranchers from several rural school districts during the summer of 1934. School began that September with 11 students. Constructed of prairie sod, with a sod roof supported by pole rafters, this two-room building housed the classroom and living quarters for the teacher. Outbuildings --two toilets and barn for the students' horses -- were also built of sod. The rooms were heated by "prairie coal" (cow chips) picked up by . . . — Map (db m9623) HM|
|Nebraska (Buffalo County), Elm Creek — Historic Platte Valley|
|Through this valley passed the Oregon Trail, highway for early explorers, fur traders, California-bound gold seekers, freighters, and brave pioneers seeking new homes in the West. Traffic was especially heavy from 1843 to 1866. At times as many as 800 wagons passed this point daily, heading both directions.
The pony Express passed through the valley, followed by the first telegraph lines. This was also the military road to western destinations. Beginning in 1847, the Mormons broke a new trail . . . — Map (db m45521) HM|
|Nebraska (Buffalo County), Gibbon — Nebraska Center-Boyd Ranche|
|James E. Boyd settled near here in 1858 and by 1860 operated a trail ranche supplying travelers on the Platte Valley Overland Route (Mormon Trail). The ranche included 2200 acres of corn and barley. Nebraska Center Post Office was here until it was discontinued in 1868. the Union Pacific Railroad, reaching here in 1866, ended the need for ranches. Soon after, Boyd moved to Omaha, was elected mayor, and in 1891 became governor of Nebraska. — Map (db m45425) HM|
|Nebraska (Buffalo County), Kearney — Baldwin Engine 481|
|Baldwin Built engine 481 in 1903. The original number was 1902, but was later renumbered 841 in 1915. It was used on the main line branch lines of the Union Pacific Railroad in Kansas until the winter of 1954-55, when it was brought to Kearney Branch. It was the last steam locomotive to operate on that branch and completed its last run there on August 2, 1955. In August of 1955, it was taken to Columbus, Nebraska, and used on the branch line there. It was brought back to the Pioneer Park in . . . — Map (db m45428) HM|
|Nebraska (Buffalo County), Kearney — Boyd House|
|The Boyd House, first frame house in Buffalo County, was built just west of present-day Gibbon in 1864 by brothers James E. and Joseph Boyd. It was the family home of James and Ann Boyd and their children. The two brothers came to the area in the early 1850s and built a stopping place for overland travelers heading westward. These stopping places were called road ranches and provided travelers with needed goods and services. The Boyd Ranche consisted of several buildings, including a barn, . . . — Map (db m45468) HM|
|Nebraska (Buffalo County), Kearney — Buffalo County’s Lincoln Highway Seedling Mile|
|The Lincoln Highway Association was founded in 1913 to promote a transcontinental automobile route from new York City to San Francisco. Dedicated on October 31, 1913, the route was marked by the letter “L” within red, white, and blue bands painted on telephone poles or signs.|
The association conceived the Seedling Mile program to demonstrate the use of concrete as a roadway surface, including projects in Buffalo County and Hall County in Nebraska. The Kearney Commercial Club . . . — Map (db m45520) HM
|Nebraska (Buffalo County), Kearney — Dr. Paul Ambrose|
This garden was planted in memory of Dr. Paul Ambrose who died on American Airlines Flight 77 on September 11, 2001.
"Paul dedicated his career to changing the health care system with an emphasis on physician leadership and prevention. Paul was a rare and wonderful man whose life was like a pebble tossed into a pond; the way he lived his life, enjoyed his career and treasured his friends and family had a ripple effect on so many people." — Map (db m58905) HM|
|Nebraska (Buffalo County), Kearney — Empress Theatre — 1914|
has been placed on the
of Historic Places
by the United States
Department of the Interior
Destroyed by fire
Rebuilt 1940 as
Fort Theatre — Map (db m58904) HM|
|Nebraska (Buffalo County), Kearney — German Baptist Church of the Brethren|
|This building was constructed in 1898 by the German Baptist Church of the Brethren to serve as a house of worship. It was originally located on the southwest corner of ? Street and Avenue A in Kearney. This congregation used this building until 1964. From 1968 until 1974 the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints used the building for worship. From 1974 to 1978, the Kearney Baptist Temple used the building for worship. The building sat empty for ten years until the Salvation Army purchased . . . — Map (db m45467) HM|
|Nebraska (Buffalo County), Kearney — Good Samaritan Air Crew|
This gazebo is dedicated to the
memory of the
Good Samaritan Air Crew.
On December 20, 1985, they gave
their lives attempting to save others.
Craig Budden — Map (db m58938) HM|
|Nebraska (Buffalo County), Kearney — Historic Kearney|
|In 1847 Brigham Young led the first migration over the Mormon Trail along the north bank of the Platte River, and in 1866 the Union Pacific Railroad pushed its main line westward to this valley, bringing pioneer settlers. However, it was not until 1871 when the Burlington & Missouri River Railroad fixed the junction point of its line with the Union Pacific that a townsite was established here.|
The village of Kearney Junction was platted in the summer of 1871 and the junction of the two . . . — Map (db m45427) HM
|Nebraska (Buffalo County), Kearney — Hostetler Amphitheatre|
Dedicated in honor and memory
Judge Bruno O. Hostetler
1861 - 1954
Leadership in establishing
college in Kearney
A gift from his daughter
Mrs. Florence H. Raymond
June 19, 1980 — Map (db m58962) HM|
|Nebraska (Buffalo County), Kearney — Kearney Civil War and Spanish-American War Memorial|
|Erected by the City of Kearney, 1910. In honor of the Defenders of our Country, 1861-1865 and 1898-1900. — Map (db m45426) HM|
|Nebraska (Buffalo County), Kearney — Kearney State College Memorial Carillon Tower|
In honor of
George and Venetia Peterson
Elias and Mary Yanney
The carillon tower reflects the early history of Kearney State College and the Administration Building located adjacent to this site.
The four columns of the carillon tower symbolize the columns that adorned the main entry of the Administration Building which was the first building constructed on the campus. The relief sculptures are adapted from replicas of the Partheon sculptures in Athens, Greece, which were . . . — Map (db m58961) HM|
|Nebraska (Buffalo County), Kearney — Kearney: From the Beginning|
| Long before early French explorers named it the Platte River, or "flat waters," this heartland oasis was a crossroads. Migratory birds, abundant wildlife and Native Americans had been in residence for centuries when the confluence of the Oregon and Mormon trails led pioneers to the site that would become Kearney.
Bound for points farther west, some hardy, yet visionary souls saw opportunities and they stayed, laying the foundation for what would become the Midwestern "work ethic."
In . . . — Map (db m58888) HM|
|Nebraska (Buffalo County), Kearney — Loup River Freighter Hotel|
|Loup River Freighters Hotel was built in 1884 by Jerome Lalone, a house painter and wallpaper hanger from Kearney. Mr. Lolone purchased land in the northwestern corner of Buffalo County along the South Loup river in 1883. he built the house along a wagon road between Kearney and Broken Bow. Lolone built extra bedrooms to rent to freight wagon drivers who stopped overnight. These freighters were carrying supplies between Kearney and Broken Bow before railroad lines were completed. |
The house . . . — Map (db m45429) HM
|Nebraska (Buffalo County), Kearney — Old Oregon Trail|
The first stone erected
in Nebraska to mark the
Old Oregon Trail
1811 - 1869
Fort Kearney Chapter
Daughter of the
February 14, 1910. — Map (db m58815) HM|
|Nebraska (Buffalo County), Kearney — Shelton Union Pacific Depot|
|This depot was built in 1898 next to the Union Pacific tracks in Shelton. It was moved to this site in September 1975 and was the first building on the grounds of the Trails and Rails Museum of the Buffalo County Historical Society. It was donated by the Union pacific Railroad.|
The Shelton Depot has three rooms: Waiting Room, Depot Agent’s Office, and Freight Room.
The Waiting Room was used by people purchasing tickets for boarding a train, or by those waiting for someone to arrive by . . . — Map (db m45471) HM
|Nebraska (Buffalo County), Kearney — Site of Bauer Drug — November 1, 1946 - December 1958 — Proprietor, George J. Bauer|
Bauer Sundries & Veterinary Supplies
January 1959 - October 1969
Proprietor, Frances R. Bauer
Home of Kearney's last soda fountain
In honor of
George J. and Frances R. Bauer
for their civic mindedness and years of
dedication to the Old Town business area.
"We exist temporarily through what we take,
but we live forever through what we give."
Plaque given in honor of Frances R. Bauer's
85th birthday - June 9, 2004
and in memory of George J. Bauer . . . — Map (db m58857) HM|
|Nebraska (Buffalo County), Kearney — 364 — The Great Platte River Road|
| The trail which followed the south side of the Platte River was the main route to Oregon and California. Fur traders going to the Rocky Mountains took the first wagons over the trail in 1830. Oregon-bound missionaries followed in the mid-1830s, and the first group of settlers embarked for Oregon in 1841. The number of emigrants reached 40,000 in 1849 after gold was discovered in California.
Most emigrants traveled in ox-drawn wagons averaging about fifteen miles a day. In the 1850s and . . . — Map (db m53268) HM|
|Nebraska (Buffalo County), Kearney — University of Nebraska at Kearney|
|In 1903 the legislature appropriated $50,000 to establish a state normal school in central or western Nebraska. After 111 ballots, the State Board of Education chose Kearney as the site. The city donated twenty acres on the west edge of town for a campus, including one building, Green Terrace Hall, which was used mainly as a dormitory until razed in 1960. Construction of the administration building began in 1904. The first classes at Kearney State Normal School were held in the summer of 1905 . . . — Map (db m45500) HM|
|Nebraska (Buffalo County), Shelton — Shelton Pioneers|
|This Boulder is dedicated to the early pioneers of the community of Shelton, in recognition of their heroic services in establishing and protecting this town and in risking their lives that Shelton might be secure.
In memory of La Belle Whitney Wallace, Organizing Regent. Placed by Shelton Chapter, D.A.R. — Map (db m45283) HM|
|Nebraska (Burt County), Tekamah — Historical Facts of Burt County|
Old block house was built by U.S. War Department on this site in 1855 to protect white colony from Indians.
Crowning achievment of the pioneers was a gold medal award for best agricultural display at World's Fair 1893 in Chicago.
Tekamah founded Oct. 7, 1854. First church organized 1856. First school held in 1857.
Burt County. First settlement in county in Folsom Park at Tekamah in 1854. First church at Decatur 1856. First school at . . . — Map (db m28077) HM|
|Nebraska (Butler County), David City — Shinn's Ferry|
|Moses Shinn and his son Dick began operating Shinn's Ferry across the Platte in 1859. The original site was near Savannah, the first Butler County seat, and a short distance from the present Schuyler bridge. Just above this location the Platte was joined by the Loup River, providing ample water for the operation of a ferry. Farther west, the Platte could be crossed only by fording.|
Between 1859-1872, thousands of wagons and travelers crossed at Shinn's Ferry, some en route to Ft. Kearny via . . . — Map (db m39143) HM
|Nebraska (Cherry County), Bayonne — 4 — Opening the Sandhills|
|The first ranch in this area was set up on the Niobrara River about five miles south of here in 1877. E. S. Newman established his ranch to sell cattle to the government for delivery to the Indians at the Pine Ridge Agency to the north.
The sandhills, later to become the heart of Nebraska's cattle country, were shunned by Newman and his contemporaries who set up ranches on their edge. The cattlemen believed the region of shifting sand dunes, with few streams or other known sources of . . . — Map (db m9622) HM|
|Nebraska (Dawes County), Chadron — 42 — Bordeaux Trading Post|
|From about 1846 until 1872, an Indian "trading house" occupied a site near here. Built by James Bordeaux, the trading station was once attacked and set afire by hostile Crow warriors. Fortunately, some friendly Sioux Indians came to the rescue and drove off the attacking Crow.
James Bordeaux was from a French settlement near St. Louis and while yet a young boy, he went west with fur traders. Bordeaux was active in the fur trade in the vicinity of Fort Laramie from the 1830's until the . . . — Map (db m4529) HM|
|Nebraska (Dawes County), Chadron — 331 — The Chadron-Chicago Cowboy Race|
|America’s longest horse race began here June 13, 1893. The 1,000 mile race ended June 27 in Chicago at Buffalo Bill’s Wild West Show. The race apparently was the idea of Chadron jokester John G. Maher. Seven of nine riders finished, some traveling up to ninety miles a day. Nebraska badman “Doc” Middleton was an entrant. John Berry won, riding Sandy and Poison, but was disqualified for having prior knowledge of the route. Chadron officials declared Joe Gillespie the winner.
Nebraska State Historical Society — Map (db m51693) HM|
|Nebraska (Dawes County), Chadron — 304 — The Fort Pierre-Fort Laramie Trail|
|From about 1837 until 1850, more than a quarter million buffalo robes bought from Indians and 27 tons of fur company trade goods were hauled over the 300 mile long Fort Pierre-Fort Laramie Trail that followed the White River through this area. First used by the American Fur Company, the trail had its origin as part of an earlier Spanish trade route from Santa Fe to the Missouri River in present South Dakota. During the 1840s the Fort Pierre-Fort Laramie Trail was the shortest overland . . . — Map (db m4530) HM|
|Nebraska (Dawes County), Crawford — Crawford|
|Crawford sprang up as a tent city on land owned by homesteader/newspaper correspondent William E. Annin in 1886 when the Fremont, Elkhorn and Missouri Valley Railroad pushed through the Nebraska Panhandle. To Incorporate the town, editor William Edgar supplemented civilian signatures with those of obliging soldiers stationed at nearby Fort Robinson. After the Burlington Railroad passed northward in 1887, Crawford became a supply depot and entertainment center for the Fort. Troops no longer man . . . — Map (db m44254) HM|
|Nebraska (Dawes County), Fort Robinson State Park — 392 — Buffalo Soldiers at Fort Robinson|
|Black soldiers of the Ninth and Tenth Cavalry regiments (called "buffalo soldiers" by the Plains Indians) garrisoned Fort Robinson for eighteen years and played an important role in northwestern Nebraska's history. Organized in 1866, the regiments first served in the Southwest.
In 1885 the Ninth Cavalry arrived at Fort Robinson, which was regimental headquarters from 1887 to 1898. The black troopers helped build the new post during the fort's 1887 expansion and were the first cavalrymen sent . . . — Map (db m4134) HM|
|Nebraska (Dawes County), Fort Robinson State Park — 102 — Fort Robinson|
|In March, 1874, the U.S. Government authorized the establishment of a military camp at the Red Cloud Indian Agency on the White River. Home of some 13,000 Indians, many of whom were hostile, the Agency was one of the most troublesome spots on the Plains. The camp was named Camp Robinson in honor of Lt. Levi H. Robinson, who had been killed by Indians the previous month. In May, the camp was re-located on this site, and in January, 1878, was officially designated Fort Robinson.
Fort . . . — Map (db m4489) HM|
|Nebraska (Dawson County), Cozad — Central Platte Valley|
Here in Dawson county, much of the early history is concerned with the pioneer trails to the west. The Mormon Trail to Utah and the first transcontinental railroad passed through here on the north side of the Platte River; the Oregon Trail and the Pony Express followed the south side of the Platte.
Indian trouble was not uncommon here in the early days of settlement. The Plum Creek Massacre occurred in 1864 when Sioux Indians attacked a wagon train, killing sevral men and taking . . . — Map (db m68060) HM|
|Nebraska (Dawson County), Gotenburg — 350 — Swedish Crosses Cemetery|
|One of the many Swedish settlements in Nebraska during the late nineteenth century was north of Gothenburg in northwestern Dawson County. An enduring symbol of this settlement is Swedish Crosses Cemetery, where three children of Mr. and Mrs. Berg are buried. These unique grave markers were made in a traditional Swedish style between 1885 and 1889 by the children's grandfather, Benjamin Palm. Mr. Palm was the first blacksmith in Gothenburg. — Map (db m62797) HM|
|Nebraska (Deuel County), Big Springs — Big Springs|
The history of Big Springs, northeast of here, has been closely associated with the Union Pacific Railroad since 1867, when a station was established at that point. A nearby spring, from which the station derived its name, provided an abundant water supply for the railroad's steam locomotives.
On the night of September 18, 1877, Nebraska's most famous train robbery occurred at Big Springs. After capturing the station agent and destroying the telegraph, Sam Bass and five . . . — Map (db m68069) HM|
|Nebraska (Deuel County), Big Springs — 382 — Phelps Hotel|
|The Phelps Hotel was built in 1885 by the Edwin A. Phelps family, who were among the first settlers in the Big Springs area. Also known as the “House of Three Chimneys,” the hotel was the most important nineteenth-century landmark in Deuel County. It served as a house of worship when church services were held there, and it became the center of community activities and a haven for early land-seekers, travelers, and pioneers. The hotel is listed in the National Register of Historic Places. — Map (db m51249) HM|
|Nebraska (Deuel County), Big Springs — 37 — Sam Bass and the Big Springs Robbery|
|The first and greatest robbery of a Union Pacific train took place near here on the night of September 18, 1877. The legendary Sam Bass and five companions, after capturing John Barnhart, station-master, and destroying the telegraph, forced Union Pacific express train No. 4 to halt.|
A reported $60,000 in new $20 gold pieces and currency was taken from the express car. While about a thousand dollars and a number of watches were taken from passengers. The accumulated loot from this, the Big . . . — Map (db m51231) HM
|Nebraska (Deuel County), Big Springs — South Platte Station|
|[Pony Express medallion on top]
South Platte Station
1.5 mi. directly south
Erected to the intrepid riders and operators 1932 by Deuel Co. — Map (db m51252) HM|
|Nebraska (Deuel County), Big Springs — The Big Spring|
|Pioneers traveling west on the Oregon Trail discovered this spring that Plains Indians had frequented for centuries. It provided an oasis for man and beast alike in the “Great American Desert.’
In 1867, Union Pacific railroad workers named it “Big Spring”, and the area was officially designated “Big Springs” in 1884. During that era, a pipe was laid from the spring to the tracks. The water was used for steam locomotives until 1907. Meanwhile homesteaders enjoyed . . . — Map (db m51461) HM|
|Nebraska (Deuel County), Big Springs — The Great Platte River Road|
Since 1841, Nebraska's Platte River Valley has been the historic highway of westward migration. In this area, the Overland Trail divided into two branches, one which followed the north and the other the south forks of the river. Emigrants bound for Oregon or California crossed the South Platte near here and proceeded up the North Platte Valley past such milestones as Chimney Rock and Scott's Bluffs. After gold was discovered in the Rocky Mountains in 1859, an increasing number of . . . — Map (db m68070) HM|
|Nebraska (Deuel County), Big Springs — The Lone Tree|
|A replica of [the] cottonwood tree known as the Lone Tree Station ½ mile from this point. 18 feet in diameter over 100 years old. Said to be the largest from Omaha to Denver.|
Landmark for Pony Express, Org. and Calif. Trails, Emigrants Overland Stage and railroads.
Evidence showed that Sam Bass gang after they heldup express train devided [sic] $60,000 and cooked their meal, this took place in 1877.
Known as Lovers Tree, children played under it, hit by lightning 3 times 1 . . . — Map (db m51250) HM
|Nebraska (Deuel County), Big Springs — The Pony Express|
|[Map of the Pony Express route]
From April 1860 until October 1861 the famed Pony Express riders passed along the south side of the Plate River south of Big Springs. Diamond Springs station was to the southeast. Frontz and Julesburg stations were to the southwest.
Erected by George Johnson Post 275, American Legion, Big Springs
[Vertical on left] 1860 - 1861
[Vertical on right] 1960 – 1861
National Pony Express Centennial Association
Dwight D. Eisenhower – Chairman
Waddell F. . . . — Map (db m51247) HM|
|Nebraska (Deuel County), Big Springs — 383 — Waterman Sod House|
|The Wallace W. and Libby King Waterman sod house, located nine miles north of here on the Day Road, was built about 1886. The original dwelling had three rooms. In 1925 it was enlarged and remodeled by Virgil and Helen Burke Waterman, and the sod walls were covered with concrete. The family lived in the house until 1989, and it was donated to the Deuel County Historical Society in 1993. The house is listed in the National Register of Historic Places. — Map (db m51246) HM|
|Nebraska (Dixon County), Maskell — Mulberry Bend Scenic Overlook|
|This short trail leads to two overlooks that offer views of a natural, free-flowing segment of the Missouri River. Here, the river still meanders through the countryside much as it did in Lewis and Clark's day. At the first overlook, exhibits provide information about the Missouri National Recreational River and early American Indians who inhabited the region. At the uppermost overlook, exhibits interpret the river's hydrology, the surrounding forest, and a flood that devastated the town of . . . — Map (db m15114) HM|
|Nebraska (Dixon County), Maskell — The Great Missouri River|
|The Missouri, the continent's longest river, figures prominently in the unfolding of America's saga. Flowing nearby in its 2,341-mile course from the Rocky Mountains to the Mississippi, the Big Muddy is not only loaded with sediment but steeped in stories about American Indians, Lewis and Clark, fur traders and steamboat captains. The Missouri River's role in the settlement of the Great Plains is celebrated in two free-flowing portions that Congress set aside at Missouri National Recreational . . . — Map (db m15113) HM|
|Nebraska (Dodge County), Fremont — Dodge County Veterans Memorial — All Gave Some • Some Gave All|
In honor and memory
of all men and women
who served in the
Armed Forces of the
United States of America
God Bless America
Dodge County Veterans
Dedicated August 15, 1998 — Map (db m58552) WM|
|Nebraska (Dodge County), Fremont — Fremont's First City-Owned Parking Lot — Nov. 14, 1964|
| Dedicated in memory of
George F. Wolz — Map (db m53141) HM|
|Nebraska (Dodge County), Fremont — 117 — Mormon Pioneer Trail|
| The Mormon Pioneer Trail from Nauvoo, Illinois to the Rocky Mountains passed here April 17, 1847. In this vicinity a military-type organization was formed with Brigham Young, Lieutenant General; Stephen Markham, Colonel; John Pack and Shadrach Roundy, Majors, and Captains of Hundreds, Fifties and Tens. In the Company were 143 men, 3 women, and 2 boys.
The pioneers reached the valley of the Great Salt Lake July 24, 1847. Between that date and 1869, when the railroad reached Utah, . . . — Map (db m58566) HM|
|Nebraska (Dodge County), Fremont — Overland Emigrant Trails|
| This boulder marks the
Overland Emigrant Trails
through Fremont to
Oregon, California, Utah
Erected Setp. 23, 1912 — Map (db m58554) HM|
|Nebraska (Dodge County), Fremont — Union Depot — 1886 — Union Pacific Blazes Trail to Future|
| The Union Pacific reached Fremont in 1866. The new Union Depot was erected at a cost of $50,000 and gave the approach to the city a dignified and completed appearance, with its winding gravel walks, grass and flower plots and wide frontage.
As a center for some 23 passenger trains and 36 daily mails, with an even larger number of freights, the necessity of good depot accommodations was readily seen.
When the handsome new Union Depot was erected, the Union Pacific Railroad realized the . . . — Map (db m58553) HM|
|Nebraska (Douglas County), Omaha — "Among the Valiant"|
| American servicemen have displayed exemplary courage in all our nation's wars. They have sacrificed their time, their energy, given their blood and thousands their lives, to help keep America free.
This flag is a special tribute to the Medal of Honor recipients from Omaha and Douglas County, men who have shown uncommon valor in the service of their country.
Parle, John Joseph
Ens., USNR, Sicily • 10 July 1943
PFC, USMCR, Korea • 14 Sept. 1951
Hibbs, Robert . . . — Map (db m35168) WM|
|Nebraska (Douglas County), Omaha — Alfred Sorenson — 1850 - 1939|
| Alfred Sorenson, the doyen of Omaha newspapermen, was a picturesque figure familiar around Omaha. His varied career led him to seek the offices of U.S. Senator twice and Congressman once. He was unsuccessful all three times, but remarked that he did it merely for "the joy of running and advertising."
Mr. Sorenson was born near Milwaukee, Wisconsin, educated at Racine College, and then graduated from Harvard Law School in 1870. He came to Omaha in 1871, joined the Omaha Bee, and in . . . — Map (db m58237) HM|
|Nebraska (Douglas County), Omaha — Andrew Jackson Poppleton — (1830 - 1896)|
| Andrew was born on July 25, 1830, in Oakland County, Michigan, one of seven children, and was reared on a farm. His father, William, had served in the Continental Army during the American Revolution. Andrew attended the University of Michigan, and in 1851 graduated from Union College in Schenectady, New York. He was admitted to the bar in 1852 and practiced law in Detroit until he came to Omaha in October of 1854. He was married in 1855 to Caroline Sears; they had 3 children.
Before 1857, . . . — Map (db m58201) HM|
|Nebraska (Douglas County), Omaha — Anheuser-Busch Beer Depot 1887 — The Old Market Historic Walking Tour|
| Omaha was a rich brew of immigrants, and many brought with them a well-developed taste for hops, giving rise to a half-dozen local breweries in the late 19th century. In 1887, Anheuser-Busch of St. Louis built a distribution complex in Omaha, designed by Henry Voss in the Romanesque style. The existing office building is all that remains of four buildings, which also included a stable, the bottling department, and a combination beer vault and icehouse. The complex had a refrigeration capacity . . . — Map (db m35267) HM|
|Nebraska (Douglas County), Omaha — Baum Iron Company Building 1880 — The Old Market Historic Walking Tour|
| This building has carried the Baum Iron name since the company purchased and occupied the property in 1905. Baum Iron Company was established in 1857 and was originally across the street. At one time this firm was the largest wholesaler of iron products in the Midwest, dealing in iron, steel, and heavy hardware, and doing business in Colorado, Iowa, Kansas, Nebraska, Utah, and Wyoming. The cast iron storefront for the structure in the Italianate style was made in St. Louis and assembled on . . . — Map (db m31368) HM|
|Nebraska (Douglas County), Omaha — Birthsite of Gerald R. Ford|
| 38th President
of the United States
“My fellow Americans, our long national nightmare is over. Our Constitution works. Our Great Republic is a government of laws and not of men.
Here, the People rule…”
President Ford’s Inaugural Address
August 9, 1974
President Gerald R. Ford
visited this site during construction May 7, 1976
dedicated it to the People of Omaha Sept. 21, 1977
[Roll of U.S. Presidents] — Map (db m58089) HM|
|Nebraska (Douglas County), Omaha — Boys Town Veterans Memorial|
Dedicated to Boys Town's
sons & daughters who
have served their country in the
Boys Town Alumni
who gave the
Ask not what your country can do for you
ask what you can do for your country — Map (db m58573) HM|
|Nebraska (Douglas County), Omaha — 447 — Buffalo Bill at the Trans-Mississippi and International Exposition and Indian Congress of 1898|
|William F. “Buffalo Bill” Cody held the first official performance of his Wild West show just half a mile northeast of here on May 19, 1883. Eight thousand people attended the premiere at the Omaha Driving Park near Eighteenth and Sprague streets. That site later featured a local wild west show as part of Omaha's 1898 Trans-Mississippi Exposition. Cody brought his Wild West back to Omaha for the exposition, and August 31 was designated “Cody Day.” Buffalo Bill had become . . . — Map (db m33040) HM|
|Nebraska (Douglas County), Omaha — 30 — Capitol Hill|
|This site on Capitol Hill was for a decade the location of Nebraska's second territorial capitol. The building was erected here in 1857 and 1858 and served until the seat of government was removed to Lincoln in 1868.
Acting-Governor Cuming designated Omaha as the Capital of Nebraska Territory by convening the First Territorial Legislature in Omaha on January 16, 1855. It met in a small two story brick building donated by the Council Bluffs and Nebraska Ferry Company and located on Ninth . . . — Map (db m33415) HM|
|Nebraska (Douglas County), Omaha — 428 — Captain William Clark and Private Reuben Field|
|On July 27, 1804, Lewis and Clark's Corps of Discovery left their “White Catfish” camp and proceeded up the Missouri River. After traveling some distance, Clark “took one man R. Field and walked on Shore with a View of Examoning Som mounds” on the Nebraska side. He found the mounds “of Deffirent hight Shape & Size, Som Composed of Sand Some earth & sand....all of which covered about 200 acres.” The mounds may have been the remains of earthlodges, which served . . . — Map (db m32964) HM|
|Nebraska (Douglas County), Omaha — 220 — Central High School|
|The first session of Omaha High School, now Central High School, was held on November 10, 1859, in Nebraska's territorial capitol on Ninth Street between Douglas and Farnam. Following the removal of the territorial government from Omaha, Nebraska's last territorial capitol at Twentieth and Dodge Streets was donated to the city by the state in 1869 for educational use. The old building, declared unsafe, was razed in 1870 and replaced by a red-brick, four-story structure in 1872. The first class . . . — Map (db m33252) HM|
|Nebraska (Douglas County), Omaha — Congregation of Israel - 1884|
|Jews have been part of Nebraska’s social, economic and political life since the mid 1800’s.
It was not until 1871 that the small Jewish community in Omaha grew large enough to organize and formally found Congregation of Israel.
On Sept. 9, 1884, Congregation of Israel, dedicated the first permanent Jewish house of worship in the State of Nebraska, near this site, at 2320 Harney Str. In 1908, the growing congregation built and moved to a new house of worship at Park Ave. & . . . — Map (db m40743) HM|
|Nebraska (Douglas County), Omaha — 210 — Crook House|
|On April 27, 1875, General George A. Crook assumed command of the Department of the Platte, which then included Iowa, Nebraska, Wyoming, Utah, and part of Montana and Idaho. When the headquarters was shifted from downtown Omaha to Fort Omaha (Omaha Barracks) in 1878, Crook first lived in wooden quarters. An Army authorization for new quarters was approved on June 18, 1878, and this two-story brick structure, Italianate in style, was completed in 1879. The use of troop labor reduced its cost to . . . — Map (db m33113) HM|
|Nebraska (Douglas County), Omaha — Dundee Memorial Park Streetcar Wall|
| Dundee, Omaha's first suburb, was connected to downtown by the streetcar. Dundee was literally the end-of-the-line. The streetcars reversed their course just west of this site. In 1891, a steam driven "trolley" and then a horse-drawn car brought people free of charge to the new neighborhood. In 1892, the line changed to electricity and began to charge a nickel for the ride downtown. The streetcar's reliable transportation to jobs and shopping helped the neighborhood grow. During the 1950s, . . . — Map (db m58356) HM|
|Nebraska (Douglas County), Omaha — Father Flanagan Historic House|
This property has been
placed on the
of Historic Places
by the United States
Department of the Interior — Map (db m58484) HM|
|Nebraska (Douglas County), Omaha — 226 — Father Flanagan's Boys' Home — (The Original "Boys Town")|
| Boys Town was founded as a home and school for homeless, abandoned, neglected or otherwise underprivileged boys, regardless of color or creed, by Father Edward J. Flanagan (1886-1948) on December 10, 1917. The first Father Flanagan's Boy's Home at 25th and Dodge Streets in Omaha, Nebraska, sheltered five boys...three from the Juvenile Court and two homeless newsboys.
On October 17, 1921, Father Flanagan brought Overlook Farm outside Omaha, nucleus of today's Boys Town campus. From here . . . — Map (db m53109) HM|
|Nebraska (Douglas County), Omaha — First Lady Betty Ford|
| Betty Ford
this Rose Garden
to the People of Omaha
July 12, 1980 — Map (db m58062) HM|
|Nebraska (Douglas County), Omaha — First Mass in Omaha|
This plaque commemorates
the First Holy Sacrifice
of the Mass celebrated in
Omaha Nebraska - May 14, 1855
Father William Emonds
Erected May 1959 — Map (db m35184) HM|
|Nebraska (Douglas County), Omaha — Fort Lisa|
|Built near this site in 1807 by Manuel Lisa, trader and indian commissioner, through whose influence the Omaha, Pawnee, Ponca, Otoe and Sioux tribes remained loyal to the United States during the War of 1812. — Map (db m7892) HM|
|Nebraska (Douglas County), Omaha — 75 — Fort Omaha|
|A military post was first established here in 1868 and named Sherman Barracks after the famous Civil War general, William Tecumseh Sherman. The post's name was soon changed to Omaha Barracks and, in 1878, to Fort Omaha. In 1879, General George Crook, noted Indian fighter and head (1875-1882, 1886-1888) of the Army's Department of the Platte, occupied a new brick home here, which is still standing.|
By the late 1880's, the 80-some acres of Fort Omaha had become insufficient for the Army's . . . — Map (db m33057) HM
|Nebraska (Douglas County), Omaha — 4 — Fort Omaha Balloon School — Fort Omaha Walking Tour|
| Until after World War I, no other method equaled a soldier’s ability to send intelligence information directly to the ground by telephone from an observation balloon.
Fort Omaha entered America’s balloon and aviation history in April 1909 when the first free balloon, inflated with hydrogen gas, started a journey with Captain Charles Chandler, pilot, and Lieutenant J. Ware, passenger. They made a good landing in Iowa but lost the bag when a static discharge set it on fire.
The army soon . . . — Map (db m58151) HM|
|Nebraska (Douglas County), Omaha — 10 — Fort Omaha Fire Station — Fort Omaha Walking Tour|
| Originally a filtration plant constructed in 1912, this building was remodeled and enlarged to become the Post Exchange Building in 1923. All incoming or outgoing calls, whether emergency or routine, would pass through the Post switchboard housed here.
The building’s capacity for handling emergencies was enhanced when it became the Post fire station. The framework of a previous double doorway on the south end of the building shows remodeling to accommodate fire equipment. In addition, for . . . — Map (db m58118) HM|
|Nebraska (Douglas County), Omaha — 8 — Fort Omaha Guardhouse — Fort Omaha Walking Tour|
| To maintain discipline among a large garrison, Fort Omaha commanders strictly followed the military code of the frontier era. Facing occasional problems with drunkenness, insubordination, fighting and desertion, officers were quick to punish offenders before disorder spread.
Minor infractions of regulations usually were handled within the company by assigning extra work detail or restricting soldiers to their quarters. More serious offenders were subject to heavy fines, pay stoppages, long . . . — Map (db m58122) HM|
|Nebraska (Douglas County), Omaha — 14 — Fort Omaha Headquarters Building — Fort Omaha Walking Tour|
| Constructed in 1906, this double barracks building housed noncommissioned officers of the U.S. Army Signal Corps, which had reactivated Fort Omaha in 1905. During World War I, this building served as South Post Headquarters for the Army’s first balloon training school. In 1929 it became Staff Officers Headquarters of the Seventh Corps Area. Between 1933 and the end of World War II, the building served the dual roles of barracks and Post Commissary.
In 1947 the Army transferred command of . . . — Map (db m58106) HM|
|Nebraska (Douglas County), Omaha — 13 — Fort Omaha Hospital — Fort Omaha Walking Tour|
| Maintaining the health and well-being of soldiers at Fort Omaha was accomplished only after overcoming serious obstacles.
One such obstacle was the shortage of potable water. By 1869 only two of the Fort’s wells were considered safe for drinking. The failure of newly dug wells resulted in the use of cistern water, and daily fatigue duty included the hauling and distribution of water. Weather permitting, men would bathe in the nearby Missouri River.
The first hospital, constructed on the . . . — Map (db m58090) HM|
|Nebraska (Douglas County), Omaha — 6 — Fort Omaha Knights of Columbus Assembly Hall — Fort Omaha Walking Tour|
| During World War I, citizen participation in relief and aid societies was exceptional across America. Omaha’s Red Cross chapter led all cities in the country in per capita membership.
In addition to the Red Cross providing a canteen at Fort Omaha, the Knights of Columbus and the YMCA both constructed recreation halls for soldiers. The YMCA began its work in 1917, and the Knights of Columbus in 1918. They provided athletic games, educational classes, lectures, musical entertainment, picture . . . — Map (db m58149) HM|
|Nebraska (Douglas County), Omaha — 3 — Fort Omaha Officers Row — Fort Omaha Walking Tour|
| Built in 1906, Fort Omaha’s “Officers Row” typifies the architecture appropriate for officers’ residences on an army post in the early 20th century. Large and impressively formal, the houses lack elaborate exterior decoration characteristic of residences of similar size which prosperous civilians built throughout Omaha.
The simplicity of Officers Row expresses government and taxpayer pressure to keep within budget limitations. The restrained classic lines of each house reflects . . . — Map (db m58156) HM|
|Nebraska (Douglas County), Omaha — 9 — Fort Omaha Post Exchange and Gymnasium — Fort Omaha Walking Tour|
| In 1880, nearly a dozen years after Fort Omaha was established, indoor hot and cold water bathing facilities were installed – three shower rooms for enlisted men and one for officers. By the end of the 19th century a new attitude towards the health and welfare of soldiers prevailed. Men eagerly seized opportunities to compete in gymnastics, baseball, basketball and tennis.
During World War I, community interest in the Balloon School resulted in the construction of a YMCA canteen at . . . — Map (db m58120) HM|
|Nebraska (Douglas County), Omaha — 12 — Fort Omaha Quartermaster Depot — Fort Omaha Walking Tour|
| Even after the 1869 completion of the transcontinental railroad, the Army relied on mules and wagons to outfit its isolated posts. The Department of the Platte, headquartered at Fort Omaha, paid over $700,000 to acquire and transport troops and freight.
Most of the freight, often purchased from Omaha businessmen, passed through the Omaha Quartermaster Depot. Supplies for the 1876 Little Big Horn campaign against the Sioux moved up the Missouri River from Omaha to General Crook in Wyoming. . . . — Map (db m58107) HM|
|Nebraska (Douglas County), Omaha — Gallagher Building — 1888|
has been placed on the
of Historic Places
by the United States
Department of the Interior — Map (db m58000) HM|
|Nebraska (Douglas County), Omaha — 2 — General Crook's Headquarters at Fort Omaha — Fort Omaha Walking Tour|
| Upon the recommendation of Lt. General William T. Sherman, in 1866 the Adjutant General’s office created the Department of the Platte which included present-day Iowa, Nebraska, Wyoming, Utah, Montana and a portion of southeastern Idaho. As departmental headquarters, Fort Omaha presided over supply and administration posts across this territory and coordinated campaigns against the Sioux, Northern Cheyenne, Nez Perce and Ute.
In 1870 the War Department authorized 14 permanent posts under . . . — Map (db m58154) HM|
|Nebraska (Douglas County), Omaha — Hanscom Park Flower Garden|
Land for Hanscom Park was donated in 1872 by Andrew J. Hanscom and James Megeath. Improvements including flower beds, lakes, cascades and fountains greatly changed the site’s rugged character. In time, the park was referred to as “one of the four most beautiful parks in the United States.”
The flower garden and original greenhouse date back to the early 1890’s. The 1892 Park Commissioner’s Report related that “a belt of pine trees was planted on the northwest side of . . . — Map (db m57998) HM|
|Nebraska (Douglas County), Omaha — Hanscom Park Lagoon|
Hanscom Park, Omaha’s oldest remaining park, was designed by landscape architect H.W.S. Cleveland in 1889. Early improvements were described in the 1898 Park Commissioner’s Report: “Two lakes, a cascade, extensive flower beds, two and one-half miles of macadamized roadway, fountains and a magnificent growth of forest trees make this the only finished park in the city.” It was “the most beautiful of our parks located in the center of the most fashionable and highest-priced . . . — Map (db m57979) HM|
|Nebraska (Douglas County), Omaha — 287 — Historic Prospect Hill -- Omaha's Pioneer Cemetery|
| Founded in 1858 by Byron Reed, early Omaha real estate developer and financier, Prospect Hill is the final resting place for over 15,000 citizens. While burial permit #1 was issued for Territorial Legislator Alonzo Salisbury on October 4, 1858, many were already buried here in the Cedar Hills and Omaha City Cemeteries, parts of which are within today's Prospect Hill boundaries.
Many prominent Omahans lie here. They gave their names to Omaha streets, schools and churches, and to many . . . — Map (db m53108) HM|
|Nebraska (Douglas County), Omaha — 1 — History of Fort Omaha — Fort Omaha Walking Tour|
| As a result of a major confrontation from 1866-1868 between the U.S. Army and the Lakota (Sioux), the U.S. government signed a treaty agreeing that the Army would abandon several posts along the Bozeman Trail. By this time, the Union Pacific had also reached the Rockies, so the Army began planning for a single post to replace those abandoned. The new post would be a place where troops could be wintered and sent out by rail whenever needed.
Recognizing the potential for economic growth, . . . — Map (db m58157) HM|
|Nebraska (Douglas County), Omaha — J.P. Cooke Building 1885-1889 — The Old Market Historic Walking Tour|
| Omaha's first municipal swimming pool, "The New Natatorium," originated in the basement of the westernmost of these three buildings; and vestiges of it can still be seen there. The ornamental work at the building's top announces that E. Homan Thayer constructed it in 1889. The cast iron facade is considered a classic, and the immense windows suggest the then-contemporary development of the curtain wall and skyscraper in Chicago. Skinner Manufacturing's first plant was located here briefly in . . . — Map (db m35190) HM|
|Nebraska (Douglas County), Omaha — James G. Megeath — 1824 - 1906|
| Born in Virginia in 1824, James Megeath was the eldest of 10 children. By age 20, he had become a cattle and sheep trader. Struck by gold fever, he went to Calaveras County, California, in 1851, operating a general merchantise store for three years. Enroute back to Virginia in 1854, he visited Omaha and saw its potential for the future. By 1857, he was operating a general merchandise store in Omaha with his brother, Samuel, and his brother-in-law, W. S. Richards, becoming sole owner by 1867. . . . — Map (db m58234) HM|
|Nebraska (Douglas County), Omaha — James M. Woolworth — 1829 - 1906|
| Born in 1829 in Onondaga County, New York, Mr. Woolworth graduated with high honors from Hamilton College in 1849, and took up the study of law. After two years practicing in Syracuse, New York, he determined to go west and locate in the new community of Omaha City, Nebraska Territory, arriving on October 31, 1856.
A successful attorney, he became the first Omaha City attorney in 1859, following the city's incorporation. Also involved in politics, he served in the Nebraska Territorial . . . — Map (db m58345) HM|
|Nebraska (Douglas County), Omaha — Johan and Sophia Ahmanson — (1827 - 1891) and (18? - 1894)|
| Johan Ahmanson was born on April 7, 1827, in Smaland, Sweden. At age six he was taken to live with a farmer, for whom he worked until age eighteen. He became a master bookbinder and emigrated to Denmark in 1849. There he was recruited by the Mormons, who sent him to Norway as a missionary. While in jail there for his religious activities, the jailer's daughter, Greta Sophia Fielstad, fell in love with him. Upon his release from jail, she followed him to Copenhagen, where they married in 1853. . . . — Map (db m58207) HM|
|Nebraska (Douglas County), Omaha — John Pierrre Cabanne's|
|John Pierre Cabanne's pioneer fur-trading post was 385 feet southeast of this spot. — Map (db m7893) HM|
|Nebraska (Douglas County), Omaha — John Wesley Nichols — 1839 - 1910|
| John Wesley Nichols was born January 28, 1839, in Crawford County, Pennsylvania, to Samuel and Katharine Maxwell Nichols. Little is known of his early years. In 1860 he married Sarah Elizabeth Dearborn, also born in Crawford County.
Nichols joined the Union Army on August 15, 1862, and served as a private in Captain Huidekoper's Company, subsequently Co. K, 150th Regiment Pennsylvania Infantry, also known as "The President's Bodyguard." He was mustered out with the company and honorably . . . — Map (db m58277) HM|
|Nebraska (Douglas County), Omaha — Joseph Francis Bauman — 1822 - 1876|
| Born in Germany, Joseph Francis Bauman came to Omaha in the early 1860s. Like many others, he may have been escaping the wars that plagued Central Europe at that time. In 1863, with his partner John Green, he purchased a brewery from a Mr. McCombe that occupied nearly all the block from 6th to 7th and Leavenworth Streets. Brewing beer to serve the thirsty settlers was big business in the frontier town. In 1864, he sold the company to Metz & Brothers, who later moved their operation to 3rd and . . . — Map (db m58338) HM|
|Nebraska (Douglas County), Omaha — 340 — Lewis and Clark Campsite — July 27, 1804|
|At the camp established very near here Captain Clark wrote about the "butifull Breeze from the N W. this evening which would have been verry agreeable, had the Misquiters been tolerably Pacifick, but thy were rageing all night." Clark may have exaggerated when he noted that the mosquitoes were as big as house flies. They would continue to plague the explorers until winter. That evening Clark and Ruben Fields "walked on Shore with a View of examoning Som mounds." Although the mounds were . . . — Map (db m7886) HM|
|Nebraska (Douglas County), Omaha — 310 — Malcolm “X”|
|El-Hajj Malik El-Shabazz was born Malcolm Little at University Hospital in Omaha, Nebraska, May 19, 1925. He was the son of Earl and Louise Little, 3448 Pinkney Street. Reverend Little helped organize the Universal Negro Improvement Association. After threats by night riders, the family moved to Milwaukee and later to Michigan, where Reverend Little allegedly was murdered. During his mother's illness, Malcolm was sent to Boston, then to New York, where he committed burglary. While serving a six . . . — Map (db m33050) HM|
|Nebraska (Douglas County), Omaha — Millard Block 1880-1881 — The Old Market Historic Walking Tour|
| Omaha capitalist Ezra Millard, a former mayor of Omaha and the man for whom a western suburb was named, erected the four-story Millard Block in 1880-81. The first tenants were Tootle, Maul & Co., wholesale dry goods; Reed, Jones & Co., boots and shoes; and W.L. Parrotte & Co., hats and caps. But by the beginning of the 20th century, the busy factory of the F.P. Kirkendall Boot Company was established here. It was once the world's largest producer of riding boots, supplying them to such . . . — Map (db m35273) HM|
|Nebraska (Douglas County), Omaha — Morse Coe Building — The Old Market Historic Walking Tour|
| Architects Findley and Shields designed this five-story brick, built in 1892-93 for $40,000. Footwear wholesalers W.V. Morse & Co. and Charles A. Coe and Company combined to manufacture a thousand shoes daily here, with sales focused on the western half of the country. By 1900, Morse had taken over the business and used the first three floors for wholesale boot business and rented the upper floors to the Byrne and Hammer Dry Goods Company for the manufacture of textiles. Throughout the years, . . . — Map (db m35266) HM|
|Nebraska (Douglas County), Omaha — Msgr. Edward Joseph Flanagan — Leabeg, Ballymoe — 13 July 1886 - 15 May 1948|
Founder of Boys Town
Omaha, Nebraska, U.S.A.
"The work will continue, you see,
whether I am there or not,
because it is God's work, not mine."
Msgr. Edward J. Flanagan
Mol an oige
agus tiocfaidh si
Ni neart go cur le cheile
Unveiled by Fr. Val Peter
5th October 2002
Sculptor - Fred Hoppe
Nebraska U.S.A. — Map (db m58482) HM|
|Nebraska (Douglas County), Omaha — 5 — Observation Balloon Training at Fort Omaha — Fort Omaha Walking Tour|
| After nine years of inactivity, Fort Omaha reopened in 1905 as a school for noncommissioned Signal Corps officers. A structure to house the army’s only dirigible (balloon airship) was completed in 1908, and the first dirigible flew in April 1909. Four years later all personnel and property were transferred to Fort Leavenworth.
Under threat of world war, Fort Omaha was reactivated in 1916 to house a Balloon School led by Captain Charles Chandler. In 1919 Florence Field, 119 acres about . . . — Map (db m58150) HM|
|Nebraska (Douglas County), Omaha — Omaha|
|Buried here at Ak-Sar-Ben is Omaha, one of the immortals of the American turf. His sire Gallant Fox was the 1930 winner of the Triple Crown, and Omaha succeeded him to this title in 1935. To win the Triple Crown a three-year-old must win the Kentucky Derby, Preakness, and Belmont Stakes. They are the only father-son combination to achieve this honor.
Omaha was foaled March 24, 1932, at Claiborne Breeding Farm in Paris, Kentucky. He was owned by William G. Woodward's famed Belair Stud. The . . . — Map (db m66486) HM|
|Nebraska (Douglas County), Omaha — Omaha Firefighters Memorial — Honor • Tradition|
| As pioneers settled in small towns and villages across Nebraska, the shout of “Fire” summoned fear and panic in every person who heard it. If they were lucky, bucket brigades could save part of a burning building and its surrounding structures.
By 1860, seven years before Nebraska became a state, the Pioneer Hook and Ladder Company was established to keep the City of Omaha safe in case of fire. These dedicated volunteers went from using hand-drawn to horse-drawn fire wagons and . . . — Map (db m58037) HM|
|Nebraska (Douglas County), Omaha — Omaha Firehouse 1903-1904 — The Old Market Historic Walking Tour|
| In 1903, George Fisher and Harry Lawrie designed Fire Substation No. 1 in the then-popular Chateauesque style. The gabled third floor gave the building the look of a French chateau. On April 9, 1917, firefighters were sunning themselves out front when a bystander rushed to tell them that their building was on fire. The two-alarm fire destroyed the third floor, which housed the hayloft for the horse-drawn engines. The top of the building was removed, and it was remodeled with a new maintenance . . . — Map (db m35244) HM|
|Nebraska (Douglas County), Omaha — Omaha Union Station|
No other improvement...can
equal in utility the railroad.
March 9, 1832
Dedicated by the railways of Omaha
to the service, comfort and
convenience of the people — Map (db m35264) HM|
|Nebraska (Douglas County), Omaha — On The Wings of Angels 9/11 Memorial|
Dedicated September 11, 2007
in honor of the
Victims and Heroes
of September 11, 2001
Created by Littleton Alston — Map (db m35166) HM|
|Nebraska (Douglas County), Omaha — 11 — Ordnance Magazine — Fort Omaha Walking Tour|
| This small, tin-roofed building hardly suggests its central role in the mission of the officers and troops once stationed at Fort Omaha. Constructed in 1883-84, the ordnance magazine was the chief storage place for weapons and ammunition.
It was General Crook’s intention to maintain an army of “soldiers fit for combat – not for parade,” and his successors continued to regularly train their men to be accurate marksmen.
Nickel-plated Colt revolvers, Springfield, . . . — Map (db m58117) HM|
|Nebraska (Douglas County), Omaha — People, Places, and Stories|
| The joint efforts of many individuals and groups – among them military men and scientists, a president and an enslaved man, French-speaking boatmen and American Indians, women and men – determined the fate of the Corps of Discovery. Today, more than 100 groups work with the National Park Service to share the stories of the Expedition and to preserve the resources of the Lewis and Clark National Historic Trail. Partners include a diverse group of federal agencies, tribal nations, . . . — Map (db m57978) HM|
|Nebraska (Douglas County), Omaha — Preserving Our Heritage|
The Midwest Regional Office, located in Omaha since 1937, assists NPS sites across the heartland of the United States. Inside this building, more than 200 people – from architects to wildland fire managers – work to sustain the heritage of all Americans: our national park system.
About the Midwest Region
The Midwest Region of the National Park Service includes 13 states: North Dakota, South Dakota, Nebraska, Iowa, Kansas, Arkansas, Missouri, Illinois, Indiana, Ohio, . . . — Map (db m57970) HM|
|Nebraska (Douglas County), Omaha — President Gerald R. Ford|
| The 38th President
of the United States
revisited this site
July 12, 1980 — Map (db m58061) HM|
|Nebraska (Douglas County), Omaha — President's House|
| In August 1905, the Fort Omaha post was reestablished with a new mission. The War Department designated Fort Omaha as a place of instruction for the technical duties in connection with the Signal Corps of the Army. With this change, the War Department allocated funding for new buildings at Fort Omaha to accommodate four [S]ignal [C]orps companies. One of the designated new buildings was a single non-commissioned officers' quarters. The 4,700 sq. ft., three story brick home was completed on . . . — Map (db m58158) HM|
|Nebraska (Douglas County), Omaha — 7 — Quartermaster's Office and Commissary — Fort Omaha Walking Tour|
| Throughout the frontier era, the Quartermaster’s Department oversaw post construction, supply procurement and transportation. It worked closely with the Subsistence Department which purchased and assigned rations. To both agencies, Fort Omaha represented the best distribution site for the Department of the Platte because the nearby city of Omaha provided ample food, livestock and building materials to isolated western posts via three railroad lines.
In 1866 the War Department ordered . . . — Map (db m58131) HM|
|Nebraska (Douglas County), Omaha — Right Reverend Monsignor Edward J. Flanagan — 1886 - 1948|
In memory of
Rt. Rev. Monsignor
Edward J. Flanagan
Founder of Boys Town and
Recipient of Variety Clubs
First Humanitarian Award
"There is no such thing as a bad boy" — Map (db m58481) HM|
|Nebraska (Douglas County), Omaha — Site of Union Pacific's Omaha Shops|
| You are standing at the site of the original Union Pacific Omaha Shops.
From this point a railroad was begun that would fulfill a national destiny.
Even before Union Pacific was an American icon, it was an American dream. It was a dream as big, as bold, as heroic as the American president who envisioned it. In 1862 President Abraham Lincoln signed the Pacific Railroad Act that created Union Pacific Railroad and charged it to bind the nation, east to west, with a ribbon of . . . — Map (db m58038) HM|
|Nebraska (Douglas County), Omaha — Spanish-American War Memorial — erected 1900|
| This beautiful monument to the soldiers of the Spanish-American War was erected in 1900 by the Lee Forby Encampment #1 of the Spanish-American War Veterans.
Captain Lee Forby, born January 3, 1871, was wounded at the Battle of San Francisco del Norte [sic - Monte], and died near Manila, Philippine Islands, on March 28, 1899.
Names of others who died with Captain Forby are engraved on the east side of the monument, which notes their unit's original name, Company L. However, when Company . . . — Map (db m58332) HM|
|Nebraska (Douglas County), Omaha — Territory and State of Nebraska|
Nebraska, originally part of the Louisiana Purchase in 1803, became a territory of the United States Government in 1854 when Congress passed the Kansas-Nebraska Act. The Nebraska Territory included parts of Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, Colorado and Wyoming. Nebraska became the 37th State on March 1, 1867. — Map (db m58063) HM|
|Nebraska (Douglas County), Omaha — The City of Omaha, Nebraska|
The settlement of Omaha began in 1854 with the opening of the Nebraska Territory. The following year Omaha was selected as the Nebraska Territorial capital. Omaha was incorporated as a city in 1857. The capital was moved from Omaha to Lincoln in 1867 when Nebraska became a state. Today, Omaha is the largest city in the State of Nebraska.
Mayors of Omaha
[not transcribed] — Map (db m58060) HM|
|Nebraska (Douglas County), Omaha — The Right Reverend & Mrs Robert Harper Clarkson|
In loving memory of The Right Reverend
Robert Harper Clarkson
(1826 - 1884)
Bishop of Nebraska and Dakota Territories
First Episcopal Bishop of the State of Nebraska
Founder of Trinity Cathedral
Founder and Sponsor of Nebraska's Oldest Hospital,
Bishop Clarkson Memorial Hospital
and his wife
Meliora McPherson Clarkson
(1827 - 1902)
Garden design by
Schlott, Farrington & Associates
Landscape Architects — Map (db m35188) HM|
|Nebraska (Douglas County), Omaha — The Road to Omaha|
College World Series of Omaha, Inc.
to the City of Omaha
June 7, 1999
In Celebration of 50 Years of NCAA
Division I Baseball Championship Games
John Lajba, Sculptor
Moved from its Original Location
At Omaha’s Johnny Rosenblatt Stadium
Rededicated at TD Ameritrade Park Omaha
To Continue the Great Traditions
Of the College World Series
June 15, 2011 — Map (db m57999) HM|
|Nebraska (Douglas County), Omaha — The Securities Building — 1917|
has been placed on the
of Historic Places
by the United States
Department of the Interior
in conjunction with the
City of Omaha
for the betterment
of the community
— Map (db m35140) HM|
|Nebraska (Douglas County), Omaha — 406 — Trans-Mississippi and International Exposition of 1898|
|At this site in 1898, Omaha hosted the Trans-Mississippi and International Exposition.
Following the model of other “world's fairs,” the exposition highlighted the “Progress of the
West,” drawing over 2.5 million admissions.|
The exposition grounds encompassed an area from Ames to Binney, and 13th to 24th Streets.
The Grand Court, from 16th to 24th Streets between Pinkney and Pratt, featured magnificent,
though temporary, buildings around a five-block-long . . . — Map (db m33018) HM
|Nebraska (Douglas County), Omaha — 400 — Trans-Mississippi and International Exposition of 1898|
|In 1898, following the financial panic of 1893 and the droughts of 1894-95, a world-class
exposition was held in Omaha under the guidance of Gurdon W. Wattles and other civic leaders.
The Trans-Mississippi and International Exposition emulated earlier “world's fairs” such as at
Chicago in 1893. Twenty-nine states, three territories, and eleven foreign countries were
Exhibits illustrated the “Progress of the West” after the presumed closing of the . . . — Map (db m33044) HM
|Nebraska (Douglas County), Omaha — Trinity Episcopal Cathedral|
This property has been
placed on the
of Historic Places
by the United States
Department of the Interior — Map (db m35186) HM|
|Nebraska (Douglas County), Omaha — Union Walk|
This Union Walk is a reminder to all of our citizens, as well as a salute to the unionized men and women from all walks of life, who invested their energy, the sweat of their brow, and sometimes even their lives to forge a better life for themselves and their families. The Omaha / Council Bluffs metropolitan community is a better place because of the contributions of every one of the unions whose plaques grace this walk, as well as many of the others that came before us. Let us never . . . — Map (db m63498) HM|
|Nebraska (Douglas County), Omaha — William Davis Brown — 1813 - 1868|
| William Brown is credited as Omaha's founder (although not its first settler). He operated a Missouri River ferry from Council Bluffs and was a principal in the company that first developed the Omaha townsite.
Mr. Brown came west as a young man with California gold in mind. Born in Kentucky, he migrated to Iowa, where he served as a town sheriff and met his wife, Martha. They arrived in Council Bluffs in 1850, expecting to continue west. But Brown had a practical side, and he could see . . . — Map (db m58275) HM|
|Nebraska (Douglas County), Omaha — William Henry Jackson — 1843 - 1942|
| From 1867 to 1869 the first photography studio of William Henry Jackson, renowned photographer, artist, and explorer of the Old West, stood on the northwest corner of this block. His autobiography, Time Exposure, reports that in 1869 Omaha had the vitality of "a boom town."
Jackson first crossed Nebraska in 1866 on the Oregon Trail, working as a bullwhacker with a freighting outfit. His sketches of the trip vividly depicted the trail experience. In 1870 he joined the Hayden . . . — Map (db m35193) HM|
|Nebraska (Douglas County), Omaha — Windsor Hotel — The Old Market Historic Walking Tour|
| The Windsor Hotel, designed in the Italianate style, was constructed in two phases – the east wing was completed in 1885, and an addition to the west was finished by 1887. It was designed to be a workingman’s hotel, and with the proximity to both the Union and Burlington train stations, it became known as a railroader’s hotel. Railroad passengers stopped at its restaurant and bar during layovers. The Windsor overlooked the stalls of the noisy open-air public market to its west from 1903 . . . — Map (db m35254) HM|
|Nebraska (Douglas County), Omaha — Woodmen of the World|
| On this site
Woodmen of the World
Life Insurance Society
June 6, 1890 — Map (db m30790) HM|
|Nebraska (Franklin County), Franklin — Dupee Hall of Music — Franklin Academy — 1901|
has been placed on the
of the Interior — Map (db m59004) HM|
|Nebraska (Franklin County), Franklin — 329 — Franklin Academy|
The Franklin Academy occupied this site from 1881 until 1922. It was one of six Congregational Church-affiliated academies in Nebraska. Others were located at Crete, York, Neligh, Weeping Water, and Chadron.
Over 2,500 students in college preparatory studies attended the Franklin Academy. Distinguished alumni include author Adah Patterson, Federal Judge Robert Van Pelt, and Dr. Frank Cyr of Columbia University, under whose leadership the standard yellow school bus was developed.
There . . . — Map (db m58998) HM|
|Nebraska (Franklin County), Franklin — 140 — Franklin County|
Present Franklin County was formerly a part of the buffalo hunting range of the Pawnee Indians, whose villages were at one time located further down the valley of the Republican River. Cheyenne and Sioux hunting parties also frequented the area prior to 1869, when Genral Carr's Republican River Expedition cleared the valley of hostiles, opening the region to white settlement.
In September 1870, the Thompson Colony founded Riverton in the eastern part of the county, and the Republican . . . — Map (db m59005) HM|
|Nebraska (Franklin County), Franklin — Franklin County Veterans Memorial — Freedom Is Not Free|
World War I
They Died for Freedom
[Roll of Honored Dead]
World War II
The Supreme Sacrifice
[Roll of Honored Dead]
They Died for Freedom
[Roll of Honored Dead]
[Roll of Honored Dead]
Dedicated May 31, 2002 — Map (db m59000) WM|
|Nebraska (Franklin County), Franklin — Lockheed F-80 — (P-80 & T-33) — Shooting Star|
• XP-80 Maiden Flight January 8, 1944
• F80-C Fighter Bomber in Korean Conflict
• Nov. 8, 1950 Lt. Russell J. Brown
shot down a Russian MiG-15
The First All Jet Air Battle
Spans 38 feet 10 inches
Weight 16,856 pounds
Cost $93,456 — Map (db m59001) HM|
|Nebraska (Franklin County), Franklin — The Old Franklin Congregational Academy|
erected on the site of
The Old Franklin
Pioneer Founders and Educators were:
E. B. James · A. E. Rice · W. S. Phipps
Rev. Amos Dresser · Rev. C. S. Harrison
Reve. W. S. Hampton · Prin. A. C. Hart
Rev. G. W. Mitchell
Total enrollment 2670
Total graduates 477
At Left - Corner stone of native rock
laid Aug. 9, 1881.
At Right - Bell which called all
classes for 41 years
Center - Petrified log a prominent
object on . . . — Map (db m59003) HM|
|Nebraska (Furnas County), Oxford — The Republican River Flood Of 1935|
|On May 30, 1935, torrential rains fell in eastern Colorado and southwestern Nebraska; by early morning of the 31st, the usually peaceful Republican River was running bluff-to-bluff along its upper reaches. When the waters subsided two days later, over 100 lives had been lost and many millions of dollars of damage had been done. A number of persons from this community were drowned.|
After the prolonged drouth of the early 30's, the wet spring of 1935 had brought welcome relief to the . . . — Map (db m48549) HM
|Nebraska (Gage County), Beatrice — Beatrice Veterans Memorial Wall of Honor|
| I Pledge Allegiance to the Flag
We Answered the Call
United We Stand
Keepers of Freedom
[And Other Mottos]
Dedicated May 30, 2005 — Map (db m48227) HM|
|Nebraska (Gage County), Beatrice — Beatrice's Own - Civil War and the Spanish-American War — We Answered the Call — 1861 - Today|
| April 12, 1861: Fort Sumter, South Carolina was fired on by Rebel forces. On the 18th of May, Nebraska Territory Governor Alvin Saunders issued a proclamation calling for volunteers to either answer the call from President Lincoln for service in the United States Army or to protect the citizens of the state from Indians.
During June 1861, Beatrice residents, Frederick Elwood, 23 and Jonathan Potts, 27 and other Gage County volunteers went to Nebraska City and joined the First Regiment . . . — Map (db m48286) HM|
|Nebraska (Gage County), Beatrice — Beatrice's Own - Company C 134th Infantry Regiment Nebraska National Guard — We Answered the Call — 1861 - Today|
| Organized as a local militia, the Paddock Guards were named in honor of Nebraska Senator Algernon S. Paddock. Established June 9, 1875 to protect Beatrice from outlaws and bandits, the Guard furnished their own equipment; city residents furnished the required ammunition.
In 1879, the Paddock Guards were mustered to the newly organized State Militia as Company C of the First Nebraska Regiment. Personnel of Company C served overseas in the Spanish-American War, in World War I and World War . . . — Map (db m48375) HM|
|Nebraska (Gage County), Beatrice — Civil War and Spanish War Memorial|
of the Civil War 1861-1865
Spanish War, 1898-1901.
[Honor Roll of Names]
Rawlins Post No. 35.
Department of Nebraska
Grand Army of the Republic
Fraternity, Charity & Loyalty
Rawlins Relief Corps No. 92
Grand Army of the Republic
Fraternity, Charity & Loyalty
A.D. 1889 — Map (db m47656) HM|
|Nebraska (Gage County), Beatrice — Containing Communism - The Berlin and Cuban Crises and Vietnam — We Answered the Call — 1861 - Today|
| President Harry S. Truman established a policy of containing Communism that was followed by succeeding presidents until the fall of the Berlin Wall in 1989. Beatrice's residents served in Germany, protected the U.S. borders, and fought in the jungles of Vietnam during this period.
The most serious challenge to this policy came when Communist Ho Chi Minh tried to overtake the Republic of Vietnam. In his 1960 inaugural address, President John Kennedy pledged to pay any price...in order to . . . — Map (db m48231) HM|
|Nebraska (Gage County), Beatrice — Fighting Communism - Korea and the Cold War — We Answered the Call — 1861 - Today|
| June 25, 1950, Communist North Korea invades South Korea and the Korean War begins. The United Nations asks member nations to aid South Korea. President Truman sends U.S. air and naval forces to South Korean defense. Regular Army troops move from Germany and Japan to Korea and many Veterans of WWII continue to serve. The fighting is over in 1953 when the U.N. and North Korea sign a truce.
It was clear from the Korean conflict that the United States had become the leader of the free world, . . . — Map (db m48232) HM|
|Nebraska (Gage County), Beatrice — Founding of Beatrice, Nebraska Territory|
Dedicated to the Citizens of Beatrice
for all their efforts put forth in the
Beatrice Centennial Celebrations of 2007
Beatrice, Nebraska Territory
Founded on this site July 4, 1857
Time Capsule to be opened on July 4, 2057
200 years to the date
the founders celebrated on this very site — Map (db m47616) HM|
|Nebraska (Gage County), Beatrice — Freedom Fighters — We Answered the Call — 1861 - Today|
| The United States Congress officially ended the draft in September 28, 1971. Since then, volunteer armed forces have been called to protect freedom throughout the world.
In 2001, the Beatrice National Guard was deployed to Kuwait with the 1-167 Cavalry, the first deployment of Company C since the end of World War II. Our Guard Unit continues to "Answer the Call": in Bosnia in 2003 and in Iraq in 2006 and 2007.
For the last 60 years, because of our success as a super power, American . . . — Map (db m48228) HM|
|Nebraska (Gage County), Beatrice — Gage County Veterans Memorial|
To honor all men and
women who honorably
served their country
in the Armed Forces
of the United States
November 11, 1995 — Map (db m47654) HM|
|Nebraska (Gage County), Beatrice — Homesteading: The Cry was Free Land!!!|
| The Homestead Act of 1862 was one of the most significant and enduring events in the westward expansion of the United States. By granting 160 acres of free land to claimants, it allowed nearly any man or woman the chance to live the American dream. The Homestead National Monument of America is located on one of the first claims filed under the Homestead Act four miles west of Heritage Highway on State Highway 4.
There were 2 millioin claims filed under the Homestead Act of 1862 in 30 . . . — Map (db m47619) HM|
|Nebraska (Gage County), Beatrice — Railroads: Union Pacific & Burlington Northern|
| Railroads played a key role in the development of the Heritage Highway corridor. Trains brought settlers and goods west to the new towns and took farm products back to market. As times have changed and transportation has evolved, many railroad depots in the Heritage Highway corridor have been converted to historical museums or have been torn down completely. The 1906 Burlington Northern Depot now houses the Gage County Historical Society Museum, while the Union Pacific Depot that once faced it . . . — Map (db m47620) HM|
|Nebraska (Gage County), Beatrice — Replica of the Statue of Liberty|
With the faith and courage of
their forefathers who made
possible the freedom of these
The Boy Scouts of America
dedicate this copy of the
Statue of Liberty as a pledge
of everlasting fidelity and
The Crusade to Strengthen Liberty — Map (db m47617) HM|
|Nebraska (Gage County), Beatrice — River Town Development|
| Many Heritage Highway communities began as river settlements. Beatrice was founded in 1857 near the bend of the Big Blue River. The first building, known as Pap Towle's cabin, was constructed just north of the present Gage County Historical Society Museum. This walnut log cabin served as a home, post office, courthouse and city hall for the new river town. The location of Premium Mills at Hebron in 1873 was an important event in the settlement of the town, as it was the "farthest west" mill in . . . — Map (db m47627) HM|
|Nebraska (Gage County), Beatrice — The De Roin & Oregon Trails|
| Byway 136 was designated the Heritage Highway in part because of the many historic trails that are now part of it. You are standing on the historic De Roin Trail. The De Roin Trail began at the Missouri River port town of Brownville on the eastern edge of Heritage Highway and passed through Beatrice to Alexandria where it connected with the Oregon Trail. The Oregon Trail and Pony Express route intersect near Fairbury and both are commemorated at Rock Creek Station State Historical Park just south of Jansen. — Map (db m47623) HM|
|Nebraska (Gage County), Beatrice — Veterans Memorial Drive — Dedicated to All Veterans|
Originally dedicated 1934
Symbolism of the Mural
Just as our own Nebraska natives left their homes to fight wars on foreign soil, the use of Endicott brick represents native earth that brings all of us back to our roots. Our dedication to service, our view of the world, our appreciation for life is rooted in home soil.
The tones of the brick may appear modest and lacking the glitter of bronze or gold, but it is symbolic of our veterans who selflessly did what . . . — Map (db m48234) HM|
|Nebraska (Gage County), Beatrice — War Efforts at Home — We Answered the Call — 1861 - Today|
| In Beatrice, industries pooled resources to obtain defense contracts by creating Homestead Industries, Inc. This "war production pool of industries" included Dempster Industries, Store Kraft Manufacturing, W.M. Haith Tank Works, Beatrice Steel Tank, Petersen and F.D. Kees Manufacturing Companies.
One thing the war did is that it brought everyone together.....
Beatrice Resident Betty Aksamit
April 25, 2005
[Photo captions follow]
1. Dempster Mill Manufacturing Company, producer of . . . — Map (db m48270) HM|
|Nebraska (Gage County), Beatrice — World War I — We Answered the Call — 1861 - Today|
| World War I began in Europe in 1914. The United States stayed neutral for the first three years. Only after German submarines sank a record number of U.S. merchant ships did the U.S. enter the war.
Called up for duty on the Mexican Border in 1916, the personnel of Company C 134th Infantry were trained and ready for service. Many were sent to France as replacements for combat troops. When the call came, other Gage County residents volunteered in the Army and the Navy, and others were drafted. — Map (db m48267) HM|
|Nebraska (Gage County), Beatrice — World War II — We Answered the Call — 1861 - Today|
| December 7, 1941, Japan bombed Pearl Harbor and the United States declared war. On December 11, 1941, the United States declared war on Germany and Italy. Gage County residents served in Europe and in the Pacific. They fought in major battles, received honors, became prisoners of war, were wounded or killed in action. Some served behind the lines as nurses, clerks, cooks, truck drivers, and airplane mechanics; others worked with communications and intelligence.
We were young and you just . . . — Map (db m48279) HM|
|Nebraska (Gage County), Filley — Robert Taylor|
| Robert Taylor was born Spangler Arlington Brugh in Filley on August 5, 1911 and was raised in Beatrice. He appeared in 80 films from the 1930’s to the 1960’s and hosted the television series “Death Valley Days” in the 1960’s. Taylor died on June 8, 1969. — Map (db m47510) HM|
|Nebraska (Gage County), Homestead National Monument of America — A Legacy of Change|
| Across this footbridge you can walk through 100 acres of restored tallgrass prairie. As each year passes, this piece of ground will look more and more like what Daniel Freeman saw when he laid claim to a 160-acre homestead here in 1863.
As you explore ahead, keep in mind the brutal challenges of this prairie. How could simple tools and hard work overcome blizzards, prairie fires, tornadoes, plagues of grasshoppers, and a host of other calamities?
Yet despite these harsh realities, . . . — Map (db m47586) HM|
|Nebraska (Gage County), Homestead National Monument of America — A Prairie Reborn|
| These rambling acres of grass and greenery might not look like a carefully planned landscape. Yet they are part of an ongoing restoration effort begun in 1939 to undo the effects of 76 years of farming, restoring agricultural fields to a diverse collection of native plant species that represent the vegetation the first homesteaders encountered.
Prairie ecosystems once spanned 140,000,000 acres. Today, less than one percent remains. Restoration and research at Homestead National Monument of . . . — Map (db m47519) HM|
|Nebraska (Gage County), Homestead National Monument of America — Boundaries of Freedom|
| The fenceless plains were vast and open when early homesteaders first came here. But the very nature of homesteading - the possibility of an individual owning 160 acres - meant that somebody had to legally divide and define limits for the land.
The Land Ordinance of 1785 determined that land should be surveyed before settlement in a rectangular survey system. The basic unit was a township, a 36-square-mile area, that is further subdivided into sections and acres.
The Freemans . . . — Map (db m47577) HM|
|Nebraska (Gage County), Homestead National Monument of America — Close Quarters|
| George W. Palmer built this log cabin in 1867 in Logan Township, Nebraska, some 14 miles from Beatrice. He used oak, ash, and other hardwoods cut from the banks of Bear Creek for his cabin walls. He made the brick in the gable ends by hand.
Palmer proved up on his homestead claim in 1875. Along with his wife and five children, he had built a home, planted crops, and lived on the land for five years as required by the Homestead Act.
In 1880 Palmer added a lean-to kitchen. The family had . . . — Map (db m47527) HM|
|Nebraska (Gage County), Homestead National Monument of America — Daniel and Agnes Freeman|
Born Preble Co. Ohio Apr. 25, 1826
Filed on First Homestead in U.S.A.
Jan. 1, 1863 and lived on it until
his death Dec. 30, 1908
Soldier, Doctor, Sheriff & Farmer
A True Pioneer.
Agnes S. Freeman
A True Pioneer Mother
Nov. 16, 1843 - Apr. 9, 1931 — Map (db m47585) HM|
|Nebraska (Gage County), Homestead National Monument of America — Deep Roots in the Earth|
| The most important part of a living prairie is something you can't see without taking a shovel in hand. The dense, interlocking roots of prairie grasses make an underground structure unlike anything seen in the woodlands of the East. The insects, birds, and grazing animals homesteaders first saw on these prairies all depended on the flowering plants and grasses grown in this native plant display and that unseen mat of deep roots.
Beside sod for building homes, how did homesteaders adapt prairie plants for their use? — Map (db m47596) HM|
|Nebraska (Gage County), Homestead National Monument of America — Do You Live Near a Homestead?|
| There’s a good chance you do – Homesteading reached three of every five states. Is yours among them?
The Homestead Act of 1862 offered people 160 acres of free land – if they were willing to live on it, farm it, and build a home. This map shows the 30 homesteading states in which the government gave away 270 million acres. On the wall each state has a cutout that represents the proportion of homesteading land in that state. Can you see where homesteading was most important? . . . — Map (db m47512) HM|
|Nebraska (Gage County), Homestead National Monument of America — Homesteading's Legacy is Written on the Land|
| Look around you. The impact of the Homestead Act is clearly visible. Grain elevators, fertilizer plants, housing developments, state highways, modern farms – these and other features are tangible evidence of the Homestead Act’s success in settling the West. — Map (db m47518) HM|
|Nebraska (Gage County), Homestead National Monument of America — Is All Barbed Wire the Same?|
| Barbed wire proved invaluable for marking boundaries on the open prairie. Soon after its invention in 1874 there were over 570 different patents and thousands of variations. You can examine dozens of them on the fence nearby.
Why so many? Early inventors tried to improve the basic idea, most notably Joseph F. Glidden's 1874 innovation of a simple barb on a strong, double-stranded wire. Later entrepreneurs tried to cash in on barbed wire's potential. Those versions that could be produced . . . — Map (db m47523) HM|
|Nebraska (Gage County), Homestead National Monument of America — Roads to Success|
| You are standing on an old road trace, lined with cottonwood trees, where freight was hauled by wagon. The ability to get goods to market is yet another reason Daniel Freeman homesteaded here, four miles from the town of Beatrice.
Freight roads helped homesteaders get their harvests to towns with rail depots. Trains could move goods cheaply and quickly over the vast distances of the Great Plains. Freight that took four days to haul by road was delivered by rail in four hours. Easy access to . . . — Map (db m47584) HM|
|Nebraska (Gage County), Homestead National Monument of America — Success Was Only Natural|
| Here, in the middle of this restored prairie, you can imagine what homesteaders experienced when they first came to their land - listen to the birds and insects, smell cottonwood in the air, feel the richness of the soil, see the variety nature has to offer.
Daniel Freeman had a claim that other homesteaders would envy. Legend says that Freeman, a Civil War soldier, found this plot of land while scouting for the Union Army in Nebraska in 1862. He chose land rich with resources - a creek for . . . — Map (db m47580) HM|
|Nebraska (Gage County), Homestead National Monument of America — The Homestead Heritage Center|
| The Homestead Act of 1862 affected millions of lives in the United States and across the world. Homestead National Monument of America exists to document and present these powerful stories of transformation.
The Homestead Heritage Center keeps these stories relevant in our ever-changing world. The building represents the Homestead Act with its unique roofline pointing westward, designed to resemble a single bottom plow moving through the sod. Just as sustainability was a way of life for . . . — Map (db m47513) HM|
|Nebraska (Gage County), Homestead National Monument of America — Walk in Their Shoes|
| What was it like to be a homesteaders? To get an idea, take a walk. The flags around the parking lot enclose an acre.
It may not seem huge. But plowing an acre meant walking about 10 miles. Over uneven soil. Driving a team of oxen. In sun or rain. Walk that acre. Then multiple it by 160, the size of a typical homestead.
There seemed to be nothing to see; no fences, no creeks or trees, no hills or fields…There was nothing but land; not a country at all, but the material out of which . . . — Map (db m47514) HM|
|Nebraska (Garden County), Lewellen — Ash Hollow|
|Ash Hollow was famous on the Oregon Trail. A branch of the trail ran northwestward from the Lower California Crossing of the South Platte River a few miles west of Brule, and descended here into the North Platte Valley. The hollow, named for a growth of ash trees, was entered by Windlass Hill to the south. Wagons had to be eased down its steep slope by ropes.
Ash Hollow with its water, wood and grass was a welcome relief after the arduous trip from the South Platte and the travelers . . . — Map (db m2503) HM|
|Nebraska (Garden County), Lewellen — Ash Hollow Geology|
|Ash Hollow is a focal point for understanding the geologic history of the Central Great Plains prior to the onset of the Great Ice Age. It is the type locality of the Ash Hollow Formation, named by Henry Engelmann after a visit in 1858–1859. These sediments were deposited in ancient valley-systems that drained east from the Rocky Mountains.
Much of the ancient valley-fill is exposed in cross section in the cliff faces along the roof of Ash Hollow Cave, in the exhibit area. Some of . . . — Map (db m2505) HM|
|Nebraska (Garden County), Lewellen — 403 — The Battle of Blue Water — Nebraska Historical Marker|
|On September 3, 1855, the U.S. Army’s 600-man Sioux Expedition, commanded by Col William S. Harney, attacked and destroyed a Lakota village located three miles north on Blue Creek. The fight became known as the Battle of Blue Water, sometimes the Battle of Ash Hollow after the nearby landmark or the Harney Massacre.
The army’s attack avenged the Indian annihilation of Lt. John Grattan’s command near Fort Laramie in 1854. Harney concluded the more than 250 Brules and Ogalalas camped on Blue . . . — Map (db m51218) HM|
|Nebraska (Garden County), Lewellen — Windlass Hill Pioneer Homestead|
|The stones surrounding this marker are the remains of the homestead dwelling of Reverend Dennis B. Clary, a pioneer Methodist Minister, who received final patent for his homestead Mar 22, 1899. Mr. Clary was born September 1st 1822, in Maryland and immigrated to Nebraska in 1885. Using a horse drawn cart fashioned from available materials he hauled stone to this site for a two room home. For years this was a land mark in Ash Hollow and marked the location of Windlass Hill. It was a popular . . . — Map (db m2501) HM|
|Nebraska (Garden County), Lisco — The Mormon Pioneer Trail|
|Fleeing heated religious and political hostility and persecution, many members of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints (widely known as Mormons) abruptly fled their homes in Nauvoo, Illinois in February 1846. Unprepared for the cold of winter, these pioneers traveled 265 agonizing miles in four months. Heavy spring rains that year turned the rolling plains of southern Iowa into quagmire of axle-deep mud. Sheer exhaustion and a lack of provisions continually hampered their efforts . . . — Map (db m3705) HM|
|Nebraska (Hall County), Doniphan — Martin Brothers Historic Memorial — Erected to commemorate the Martin Brothers Incident of August 1864|
|Nathaniel Martin, age 15, and Robert O. Martin, age 12, while fleeing from a war party of Sioux Indians were struck by two Indian arrows, one of which pinned the two boys together. They fell from their horse and were left for dead, but survived.
Incident happened approximately 800 feet from this point.
Martinville post office and stage station was located about a half a mile southwest from here.
May 22, 1928 Nov 22, 1848
Robert O. Martin
Dec . . . — Map (db m30408) HM|
|Nebraska (Hall County), Grand Island — 6th Bomb Group — 24 Bomb Sqd. • 39 Bomb Sqd. • 40 Bomb Sqd. — 1944 • B-29 C.B.I.-Guam-Saipan-Tinian • 1945|
| The men and women of the 6th Bomb Group Association thank the people of Grand Island for their warm hospitality when we trained here in 1944/1945 before leaving for the Pacific Theatre of War to fly 1,750 World War II B-29 combat missions over Japan.
We of the 20th Air Force were the first to use air power to end a major war without an invasion of the enemy's homeland.
This 16' 7" propellor [sic] is just one of the four which pulled each giant B-29 into the sky!
Designed by Ed Allgor — Map (db m59854) HM|
|Nebraska (Hall County), Grand Island — Amiel Whipple W.R.C. Civil War Memorial|
In memory of the
Heroes of 1861-65
who lie in unknown graves
on Southern battle fields.
Sleep on brave boys though
your graves are unmarked
You are not forgotten
Dedicated May 30, 1908 — Map (db m53256) HM|
|Nebraska (Hall County), Grand Island — Civil War and Spanish-American War Memorial|
In memory of the
defenders of our country
1861-1865 — 1898-1900
Committee of Lyon Post No. 11
G. C. Humphrey
C. B. Norris
G. F. Ryan — Map (db m53249) HM|
|Nebraska (Hall County), Grand Island — Earth Lodge Design and Construction|
|Beneath the earthen exterior is an intricate structure of Cottonwood tree trunks and Willow branches. This is a moderate-sized earth lodge—thirty eight feet in diameter and eighteen feet high at the central fire hole. |
Responsible for the construction of the lodge and several families shared the home. One multi-family lodge might house thirty to fifty people.
Beds were placed around the walls as were various storage areas. Food storage pits were dug into the floor. The central area . . . — Map (db m45188) HM
|Nebraska (Hall County), Grand Island — Federal Building|
| Originally designed as a U.S. Post Office and Court House, the Grand Island Federal Building opened on November 26, 1910. It was designed by James Knox Taylor and cost $108,000. The 1935 west-wing addition was designed by local architect, Charles W. Steinbaugh. In 1968, the Post Office moved, and the first floor was renovated into office space for federal agencies. The Federal Building was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2006. — Map (db m53250) HM|
|Nebraska (Hall County), Grand Island — Fort O. K. Cannon|
left at Fort O. K.
August 22, 1865
Major J. R. Curtis
for protection of the
settlement against attack
by hostile Indians.
March 1, 1897
under Act of Congress,
May 22, 1896. — Map (db m53248) HM|
|Nebraska (Hall County), Grand Island — Grand Island Public School Bell|
Grand Island Public School. Erected 1878.
I proclaim unceasing warfare against
ignorance, fanatacism and intolerance.
School Board, 1879
O A Abbott, Moderator
W H Platt, Director
H A Koenig, Treasurer
T J Hurford · C E Lykke · R C Jordan
Wm Anyan · John Wallich · B C Howard
VanDuzen & Tift Cincinnati
Buckeye Bell Foundry 1879 — Map (db m53252) HM|
|Nebraska (Hall County), Grand Island — 480 — Hall County Courthouse|
| Designed by Omaha architect Thomas Rogers Kimball (1862-1934), the Hall County Courthouse is an exceptional example of Beaux-Arts classicism and borrows on Germanic design sources. Constructed of brick accented with limestone, the building features a domed interior rotunda with a central skylight. It was completed in 1904 at a cost of $131,793. Originally housing all county offices, the courthouse is now used by the district and county courts. It is listed in the National Register of Historic Places. — Map (db m53239) HM|
|Nebraska (Hall County), Grand Island — Hall County Veterans Memorial Park|
In memory of the deceased
men and women
of all wars — Map (db m59852) WM|
|Nebraska (Hall County), Grand Island — 55 — La Grande Isle|
| Grand Island, in the Platte River, has given its name to the city of Grand Island. The island was formed by a narrow channel branching off the Platte River approximately 28 miles upstream from the present city of Grand Island and rejoining the main river about 12 miles downstream from the city.
The name "Grand Island" came from the French name "La Grande Isle", meaning the large or great island. The island probably was discovered and named by French fur traders in the late 1700's. Grand . . . — Map (db m53258) HM|
|Nebraska (Hall County), Grand Island — Martin Building|
| The Martin building was designed for J.D. Martin by local architect, Oscar Kirschke. The building was completed in 1914 for approximately $55,000. One of the first occupants was the funeral chapel and morgue of the Buchheit-O'Loughlin Furniture and Undertaking company. Other notable businesses that occupied the building include: The Singer Sewing Co., Mode O'Day Frock Shop, and the Lucern Rooms on the 2nd floor. — Map (db m53255) HM|
|Nebraska (Hall County), Grand Island — Mormon Trail|
|Religious freedom, An American ideal, has on occasion been denied certain sects because of prejudice. Mormons were once persecuted and forced from their homes. The north bank of the Platte River served as the exodus route for thousands of members of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints (Mormons). Driven from Nauvoo, Illinois, Mormon leader Brigham young led the first migration up this valley in 1847 to found the proposed states of Deseret, now Utah.|
During the following two . . . — Map (db m45171) HM
|Nebraska (Hall County), Grand Island — Old California Overland Trail|
|Extensively traveled by immigrants during the Gold Rush to California in 1849 and by the pioneers of this locality in 1857. — Map (db m45186) HM|
|Nebraska (Hall County), Grand Island — 490 — Old Dodge School — World War II POW Branch Camp|
| Old Dodge School served as one of two branch camps in Hall County housing German prisoners of war. On July 9, 1944, Leo B. Stuhr, president of the county Non-Stock Labor Association, announced plans to use the school for this purpose. About one hundred German POWs lived at this site while working in construction and agriculture. The POWs were repatriated to Germany in 1946, and the school briefly served as Grand Island YMCA headquarters before it was demolished in 1948. — Map (db m53254) HM|
|Nebraska (Hall County), Grand Island — Oldest Remaining School House|
This building is the authorized
public school house built in
District No1 Hall County Nebr.
Authorized & constructed in
1869 - 1870
Restored in 1982 by the members
Central Nebr. Home Builders Assn. — Map (db m53263) HM|
|Nebraska (Hall County), Grand Island — Original Home of the Stolley Family — Stolley State Park|
April 6, 1831 - May 17, 1911
Wilhelmine F. Hagge Stolley
April 21, 1837 - Jan. 31, 1923
Born in Schleswig Holstein, Germany
Friederich, March 26, 1857 - Sept. 25, 1938
Anna H., June 123, 1859 - Apr. 15, 1929
Born in Davenport, Iowa
Minna M., Sept. 12, 1861 - June 26, 1942
William A., Aug. 17, 1863 - Oct. 16, 1952
Emil G., Sept. 17, 1865 - Nov. 30, 1962
Richard, Feb. 10, 1868 - Dec. 30, 1908
M. Augusta, Oct. 10, 1870 - Oct. 7, 1882
Clara A., March . . . — Map (db m53264) HM|
|Nebraska (Hall County), Grand Island — Pioneer Park|
|Pioneer Park, site of the first Hall County courthouse, honors the courageous settlers who peacefully inhabited this area in 1857 when only Pawnee lived here. In 1866 the Union Pacific reached Grad Island and in 1868 the railroad donated Block 19 for the construction of county buildings. Three years later the county commissioners requested that General Grenville M. Dodge, agent and trustee of the railroad, exchange the property for Block 84 where this park is located.|
Special elections were . . . — Map (db m45189) HM
|Nebraska (Hall County), Grand Island — Sinclair Tank Wagon, 1917|
| This horse drawn tank wagon was used by Sinclair Oil beginning in 1917. The tank had an amazing 300 gallons of fuel or gasoline that was delivered to farmers and homesteads for numerous uses. In comparison, today's transport trucks hold 7,000 to 12,000 gallons of fuel or gasoline. — Map (db m53267) HM|
|Nebraska (Hall County), Grand Island — The Lincoln Memorial Highway|
|The Lincoln Highway association, formed in 1913 to build a New York to San Francisco highway, sold “highway memberships” to raise funds for the project. In Nebraska the road, which traversed twelve states, extended westward from Iowa along the Platte Valley route earlier used by emigrants, and followed the mainline Union Pacific Railroad into Wyoming.
The section of highway east of Grand Island was started in December, 1914 and an experimental paved mile was completed in 1915. . . . — Map (db m45203) HM|
|Nebraska (Hall County), Grand Island — The Pawnee: Prairie Town Builders, Pawnee History|
|The Pawnee: Prairie Town Builders, Pawnee History
The Pawnee migrated from the Southwest and lived in the Platte and Loup Village areas for more than seven centuries.|
The Pawnee were the most influential and populous of the native peoples of Nebraska. They dwelt mainly in a group of “Permanent” but frequently moved earth-lodge villages around the confluence of the Platte and Loup Rivers in East Central Nebraska. Village sites are located from about fifteen miles below Fremont . . . — Map (db m45187) HM
|Nebraska (Hall County), Grand Island — 482 — The Seedling Mile|
| Here is a section of an original Seedling Mile on the Lincoln Highway. It was completed November 3, 1915. Grand Island was the second city in the United States to build such an example of concrete roadway. The original Seedling Mile extended from the corner of Willow Street one mile east, ending near the Seedling Mile School.
By 1913 the route of the Lincoln Highway had been chosen and dedicated nationwide by the newly formed Lincoln Highway Association. The association's main goal was to . . . — Map (db m53234) HM|
|Nebraska (Hall County), Grand Island — The Yancey|
| This building has been placed on the National Register of Historic Places of the United States Department of the Interior. Orginally constructed to be part of the American Hotel chain for the Bankers Realty Investment Company of Omaha, the structure is recognized as a fine example of Renaissance Revival architecture and of early twentieth century high-rise design.
Construction began on the building in 1917, but due to shortages of building materials and available manpower caused by World . . . — Map (db m53251) HM|
|Nebraska (Hall County), Grand Island — Vietnam War Memorial — All Gave Some - Some Gave All|
We dedicate this monument
to those from Nebraska
who served, died or
remain missing in the
1959 - 1975
and in doing so, honor all
the men and women who
served during that war — Map (db m59853) HM|
|Nebraska (Hall County), Wood River — Joseph E. Johnson and the Huntsman’s Echo|
|In April 1860 Joseph E. Johnson, a Mormon, established a road ranche at Wood River Center, today’s Shelton, and began publishing The Huntsman’s Echo, the first newspaper in Nebraska west of Omaha. He had earlier edited papers in Council Bluffs, Iowa, and Omaha. Johnson was a keen observer of the Nebraska scene, which he discussed in a vigorous and breeze style suggested by his paper’s motto, “Independent in Everything, Neutral in Nothing.”
Johnson’s Ranch was an important supply . . . — Map (db m45423) HM|
|Nebraska (Hall County), Wood River — Original Townsite of Wood River|
|Between 1844 and 1866 thousands of emigrants, gold seekers, and Mormons moved west through the Platte Valley. The first settlers along Wood River 1858-60 operated road ranches to serve travelers. They included Patrick, Richard, and Anthony Moore; James Jackson; and a Mormon, Joseph E. Johnson. In this immediate vicinity was Jackson’s store, opened about 1864, and Moore’s Ranch. Johnson’s Ranch, also known as Wood River Center, was at the present site of Shelton, Nebraska.|
The Original town . . . — Map (db m45282) HM
|Nebraska (Hall County), Wood River — Wood River Veterans Memorial — Connor-Benson Post #314 American Legion - Wood River, NE|
|This memorial is presented in honor of the men and women, past, present and future, of the Armed Forces of the United States of America in remembrance of their efforts and sacrifices to preserve our freedom.
We thank, also, our many friends and customers for over 54 years of support. — Map (db m45204) HM|
|Nebraska (Harlan County), Alma — Fish-Eating Birds|
|Large reservoirs like Harlan County Lake provide habitat for aquatic birds. Many of these birds eat fish like small gizzard shad and carp. To avoid competing for food and territory, these fish-eating birds forage in different parts of the reservoir, in different depths of water, and in different seasons.|
Great Blue Heron Great blue herons are wading birds that forage for small fish, insects, and frogs in shallow water. These herons nest in colonies or “rookeries” in trees. . . . — Map (db m45524) HM
|Nebraska (Harlan County), Alma — The Changing Shoreline — The Irrigation System|
Like most reservoirs in Nebraska, Harlan County Reservoir was created to store water for flood control and irrigation. In the fall, winter, and spring water flowing down the Republican River is stored, to be used during the summer to water croplands. From spring to the end of irrigation season, the level of the lake can drop several feet. As the lake is drawn down, the value of the reservoir for wildlife changes.|
Spring In spring the lake is full. Water might be up to the bank. The . . . — Map (db m45523) HM
|Nebraska (Holt County), O’Neill — 129 — O’Neill|
|The Irish were a major immigrant group contributing to the settlement of Nebraska. Speaking the English language, they blended into the population and were found in many communities. However, due to ancient animosities with Britain, some of them colonized in America. Foremost colony in this state is O'Neill, proclaimed the Irish Capital of Nebraska by the Governor in 1969.
O’Neill, county seat of Holt County, was founded by General John
O’Neill, a native of Ireland and veteran of the . . . — Map (db m9632) HM|
|Nebraska (Johnson County), Tecumseh — Civil War Soldiers and Sailors Memorial|
In memory of all
Soldiers and Sailors
of Johnson County — Map (db m48211) HM|
|Nebraska (Johnson County), Tecumseh — Johnson County Veterans Memorial|
Dedicated To All Who Served — Map (db m48204) WM|
|Nebraska (Johnson County), Tecumseh — Johnson County World War II Memorial — 1941 - 1945|
| Dedicated to the memory of those who gave their lives in the service of their country
[Roll of Honored Dead] — Map (db m48208) HM|
|Nebraska (Johnson County), Tecumseh — Johnson County World War Roll of Honor|
| Dedicated to those of Johnson County Nebraska who in the spirit of self sacrifice enrolled in the service of their country in the Great World War of 1914-1918.
[Roll of Honor] — Map (db m48210) HM|
|Nebraska (Johnson County), Tecumseh — Rural Free Delivery|
Site of the
First Rural Free Delivery
Mail Route In Nebraska
On November 7, 1896 — Map (db m48212) HM|
|Nebraska (Johnson County), Tecumseh — 203 — Tecumseh — Nebraska Historical Marker|
| Tecumseh, the county seat of Johnson County, was incorporated in 1856. It was first called Frances in honor of the wife of Colonel Richard M. Johnson, for whom the county is named. In 1857 the town was renamed for the famous Shawnee Indian chief, Tecumseh, whom Johnson fought during the War of 1812.
This historic marker is one the original townsite on the old Brownville-Fort Kearny trail. Growth was slow until the mid-1860s when the lucrative freighting traffic along these trails was . . . — Map (db m48209) HM|
|Nebraska (Johnson County), Tecumseh — U.S.S. Maine|
Destroyed in Havana Harbor
February 15th 1893
This tablet is cast from
metal recovered from the
U.S.S. Maine — Map (db m48206) HM|
|Nebraska (Kearney County), Dobytown — 96 — Dobytown|
| Following the 1848 establishment of Fort Kearny two miles east of here and the later expansion of overland commerce and emigration, the small commercial center of Kearney City was established here in 1859. The town's more common name, Dobytown, was derived from the resemblance of its twelve to fifteen earthen buildings to adobe structures.
Dobytown itself developed in response to the thousands of soldiers, freighters and travelers whose "needs" could not be met within the fort. Gambling, . . . — Map (db m58979) HM|
|Nebraska (Kearney County), Kearney — Fort Kearny|
|The growth of overland emigration to Oregon after 1842 resulted in the establishment of military posts across the West to protect travelers. The first post, Fort Kearny, was established in the spring of 1848 “near the head of the Grand Island” along the Platte River by Lieutenant Daniel P. Woodbury. It was first called Fort Childs, but in 1848 the post was renamed Fort Kearny in honor of General Stephen Watts Kearny.
Despite its lack of fortifications, Fort Kearny served as a . . . — Map (db m43237) HM|
|Nebraska (Kearney County), Minden — Civil and Spanish-American Wars Memorial|
of the Civil and
[Honor Roll of Veterans]
Gettysburg · Vicksburg
Antietam · Monitor&Merrimac — Map (db m58986) HM|
|Nebraska (Kearney County), Minden — Kearney County Courthouse — Erected 1906 — Nebraska Historic Site|
This property is listed in
the National Register of Historic Places
Nebraska State Historical Society — Map (db m58984) HM|
|Nebraska (Kearney County), Minden — Kearney County Pioneers|
To the Pioneers
Kearney County, Nebr.
Dedicated Sept. 23, 1933 — Map (db m58985) HM|
|Nebraska (Kearney County), Minden — World War Memorial — 1917 - 1919|
of the World War
Kearney County, Nebraska
[Roll of Honored Dead]
Hilmer Anderson · Leo Robert Atwater
William D. Brainard · Thomas J. Geren
Harry A. Hetrick · Reuben N. D. Jensen
Segfred O. Johnson · Frank Leafstedt
Jasper Madsen · Harry E. Nielsen
[Roll of Veterans]
[Not transcribed] — Map (db m58982) HM|
|Nebraska (Kearney County), Newark — 239 — The Burlington & Missouri River Railroad|
| The Burlington & Missouri River Railroad entered Nebraska at Plattsmouth in 1870 and built west to join the Union Pacific at Kearney Junction (now Kearney city) on September 3, 1872. The railroad bridge into Kearney was used for 104 years. It linked southern Nebraska traffic with the transcontinental Union Pacific. In 1872-73, thousands of trailed-in Texas Longhorns were shipped from Lowell, 5 1/2 miles east of here. Sugar beets and prairie hay were once primary freight items. During World . . . — Map (db m58980) HM|
|Nebraska (Keith County), Brule — 313 — California Hill — Nebraska Historical Marker|
|The large hill to the north, which became known as “California Hill,” was climbed by thousands of covered wagon emigrants heading west between 1841 and 1860. Many were bound for Oregon. California became the destination of the majority of travelers after gold was discovered there in 1848.|
The most important crossing of the South Platte River during this period was south and a little east of here. After fording the river and ascending California Hill, the emigrants traveled . . . — Map (db m51229) HM
|Nebraska (Keith County), Brule — Diamond Springs Station|
|[Pony Express medallion on the top]
0.8 miles to southward
Erected to the intrepid riders and operators 1962 by Keith Co. — Map (db m51227) HM|
|Nebraska (Keith County), Brule — Oregon Trail|
|Marked by the State of Nebraska
Old California River Crossing
South 14 Degrees East — Map (db m51230) HM|
|Nebraska (Keith County), Ogallala — 98 — Ash Hollow — Gateway to the Northern Platte Valley|
|Although some wagon trains continued to follow the South Platte, most crossed at one of several fords in this area and took a northwesterly route toward the North Platte River. The trail then followed the North Platte Valley through the remainder of Nebraska. Today’s traveler, by following U.S. Highway 26 northwest of Ogallala, will encounter several noted landmarks along this portion of the Platte River Road.
On of these is Ash Hollow, a picturesque canyon, near present-day Lewellen. Because . . . — Map (db m61967) HM|
|Nebraska (Keith County), Ogallala — 24 — Boot Hill — Nebraska Historical Marker|
|Boot Hill was the final resting place for many early westerners who helped make Ogallala a booming cowtown in the 1870’s and 1880’s. These people, the cowboys, settlers, and drifters, came to Ogallala when the railroad and the Texas Trail opened a new market for the Texas Longhorn.|
Although one of the first burials here was a mother and child, many came by running afoul of the law - - some for stealing another man’s horse. Others were killed by re-fighting the Civil War or for questioning . . . — Map (db m51223) HM
|Nebraska (Keith County), Ogallala — Boot Hill Kiosk|
|[The Boot Hill Kiosk contains 5 panels each dealing with an aspect of the history of Boot Hill.]
Boot Hill Chronicles
1803 – The United States buys land from France known as the Louisiana Purchase including the future state of Nebraska
1813 – Fur trader Robert Stuart is the first white man down the river valley, coming from Astoria, Ore. to St. Louis.
1819 – Lt. Stephen Long exploring the South Platte, calls the area “The Great American . . . — Map (db m51394) HM|
|Nebraska (Keith County), Ogallala — 7 — California Hill|
|Many emigrants to Oregon or California had to ford the South Platte River to continue their trek up the North Platte River to South Pass. The most important ford, known as the Old California Crossing, was a few miles west of present-day Ogallala. The South Platte was the most formidable obstacle overland emigrants had yet faced. Some lost wagons or supplies and a few lost their lives to its swift water and shifting sands.|
After fording the South Platte the emigrants face a steep climb up a . . . — Map (db m50790) HM
|Nebraska (Keith County), Ogallala — Chain – O – Lakes|
|For the 215 miles from the Nebraska-Colorado Line to Grand Island. Interstate 80 parallels the Platte River. This broad flat valley is underlain by deposits of sand and gravel washing in from the Rock Mountains. These deposits contain large quantities of ground water. The upper surface of this ground water reservoir or water table is exposed at river level. This water table is relatively flat and is usually encountered at depths of less than 10 feet throughout the valley.|
The sand and . . . — Map (db m51255) HM
|Nebraska (Keith County), Ogallala — 99 — Court House Rock, Chimney Rock and Scott’s Bluffs|
|Traveling northwest from Ash Hollow, the emigrants encountered three natural features of the North Platte Valley which became well-known milestones. First was Court House Rock, rising abruptly from the plains as the vanguard of the bluffs farther on. Observers likened this gigantic formation to some great public building or medieval castle.|
However, no single sight along the trail attracted as much attention as Chimney Rock. The tower, which could be seen for miles, served as a beacon for . . . — Map (db m61968) HM
|Nebraska (Keith County), Ogallala — 5 — Cowboy Capital — Nebraska Historical Marker|
|Named for the Oglala band of Dakota Sioux and located on the Union Pacific Railroad, Ogallala was a lusty cowtown of the Old West. From 1875 to 1886 it was a wild and woolly cowboy capital where gold flowed across the gaming tables, liquor across the bar, and often blood across the floor.
As farmers settled eastern Oklahoma ad Kansas they destroyed the famous Chisholm Trail, forcing the herds westward, and the Western or Texas Trail through Dodge City and Ogallala was established. From . . . — Map (db m51222) HM|
|Nebraska (Keith County), Ogallala — 3 — End of the Texas Trail — 1875-1885|
|An etching of Ogallala appeared in an 1878 issue of American Agriculturalist magazine, depicting the town as the terminus of Texas cattle drives. It shows cattle being driven up the trail, across the South Platte River, and into Union Pacific cattle pens. Trains then carried the cattle to markets in the East, or ranches in the West. Some herds were also trailed north to provide beef for Indian reservations.
The cattle drives had a major impact on Ogallala’s early history and growth. Their . . . — Map (db m50784) HM|
|Nebraska (Keith County), Ogallala — 10 — Highways 26 and 92 — The Western Trails Scenic and Historic Byway|
|U.S. Highway 26 and Nebraska Highway 92 were designated as Nebraska’s first scenic and historic byway in 1998. The byway begins in Ogallala and goes north and west past Lake McConaughy to Scottsbluff-Gering and the Wyoming border.|
Through the Nebraska Panhandle, Highways 26 and 92 follow portions of the historic emigrant and Pony Express trails of the Great Platte River Road. The Western Trails Scenic and Historic Byway links such noted trail landmarks as Ash Hollow, Courthouse and Jail Rocks, Chimney Rock, and Scott’s Bluff. — Map (db m50802) HM
|Nebraska (Keith County), Ogallala — 9 — Interstate 80|
|Mayors from ten towns, along with Governor Norbert Tiemann and the Ogallala High School band, participated in a ribbon-cutting ceremony in Ogallala in December 11, 1968, to open the Sutherland to Big Springs segment of Interstate 80. The completion of Interstate 80 to Ogallala, the most recent transportation route to follow the Great Platte River Road corridor, brought increased visitation and economic development to the community and surrounding area.|
Facts of 2000 . . . — Map (db m50800) HM
|Nebraska (Keith County), Ogallala — Keith County Veterans Memorial — Dedicated to all Keith County Veterans|
|[Torch and medallions of the five service branches]
Dedicated to all Keith County Veterans
Inscribed are the names of those veterans from Keith County who made the supreme sacrifice in the defense of the freedom we hold so dear.|
World War I
Daniel Hankins • Harold Miller • William Kilgore
Jack Canfield • Raymond Daubendick • Cynthia Dickey • Darrell Gehrke • Leonard Hultquist • Kenneth Johoner • William Kildare • Rodger McQuay • Roy Mohr • Robert . . . — Map (db m51256) WM
|Nebraska (Keith County), Ogallala — 97 — Ogallala and the Platte Valley|
|This region holds much that is significant to the history of the West. At this point, I-80 follows the route of the Overland Trail, along the South Platte River. Leaving the South Platte near here, the trail continued up the North Platte Valley, today route of U.S Highway 26. Beginning in 1841, an estimated quarter of a million travelers crossed the plains over this great natural highway. Oregon and California were early goals, and the Platte Valley later became an important freighting and . . . — Map (db m61966) HM|
|Nebraska (Keith County), Ogallala — Purple Heart|
|The Purple Heart medal was originated by General George Washington on August 7, 1782 for distinguished valor and now awarded only to members of the armed forces of the United States who have been wounded in combat against an armed enemy.|
Recipients of this unique award have been specifically honored by the U.S. Congress as a chartered fraternal organization known as the Military Order of the Purple Heart and have active members in chapters throughout the United States and the world.
Nebraska Chapters. — Map (db m51253) HM
|Nebraska (Keith County), Ogallala — Samuel David “Lep” Sanders|
|One of the earliest cowboys of the many who rode the long trail north from Texas to Ogallala behind a herd of longhorns. Sanders first arrived here about 1869. He rode for William Paxton during the turbulent open range period of Western Nebraska. He later filed on land on the North Platte River Valley at Cedar Point. He married Mary Kelly, and lived out his life in Keith County.
Sculpture created by Dr. Burdett Gansforth, Ogallala dentist and orthodontist, 1955-1985. Presented as Boot Hill . . . — Map (db m51225) HM|
|Nebraska (Keith County), Ogallala — 1 — The Great Platte River Road — 1813 - 1840|
|For generations Nebraska’s Platte Valley provided a natural east-west travel route for native peoples, fur traders, explorers, emigrants, and the military. The first known passage by white men along the Great Platte River Road in the Keith County vicinity was in 1813. Robert Stuart and a party of fur hunters were returning east from Astoria on the Pacific Northwest Coast.|
The Astorians were followed in 1820 by Major Stephen Long’s exploring party that ascended the Platte and South Plate to . . . — Map (db m50782) HM
|Nebraska (Keith County), Ogallala — 2 — The Great Platte River Road — 1841- 1866|
|When gold was discovered in 1848, California became the main destination. After 1849 many emigrants and gold seekers began traveling the trail on the north side of the Platte. Throughout the peak migration years, the trail to Oregon or California was not a single clearly-defined pathway, but varied depending on weather and destination. Historian Merrill Mattes has estimated that as many as 500,000 people went west on various branches of the Great Platte River Road between 1841 and . . . — Map (db m50783) HM|
|Nebraska (Keith County), Ogallala — 8 — The Lincoln Highway|
|The Lincoln Highway was proclaimed the nation’s first coast-to-coast highway in 1913. It connected New York City with San Francisco, crossing twelve states and spanning 2,300 miles. The Lincoln Highway was created by an association of automobile enthusiasts and manufacturers who mapped connecting roadways across the country. Through much of Nebraska the Lincoln Highway followed the Great Platte River Road used by fur traders, overland emigrants, and the Union Pacific Railroad. In Keith County, . . . — Map (db m50799) HM|
|Nebraska (Keith County), Ogallala — 5 — The Mormon Trail|
|Mormons traveled the Great Platte River Road to fulfill a religious mission. In the 1840s members of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints.(Mormons) moved westward to escape religious persecution. Beginning in 1847 they crossed the Plains to establish their New Zion in Utah’s Salt Lake Valley. To avoid contact with those who did not share their faith, the earliest Mormon emigrants followed the north bank of the Platte, which is often called the Mormon Trail. By the 1850’s and 1860s, . . . — Map (db m50787) HM|
|Nebraska (Keith County), Ogallala — 4 — The Pony Express|
|The Pony Express operated for only eighteen months, from April 1860 until October, 1861, delivering mail between St. Joseph, Missouri and Sacramento, California. It ceased operating when the transcontinental telegraph line was completed. During its brief existence, the Pony Express helped connect the rest of the nation with the distant West Coast, carrying news about the war clouds gathering between North and South and the election of President Abraham Lincoln.|
The Pony Express route . . . — Map (db m50785) HM
|Nebraska (Keith County), Ogallala — The Trail Boss|
|This statue pays tribute to those courageous men who came up the Texas Trail and recognizes the role of the trail drives played in establishing the beef industry in the northern plains.|
Boot Hill, Ogallala’s Pioneer Cemetery, established in the 1870s, was restored by the Ogallala Jaycees in 1963 in cooperation with the Keith County Historical Society.
Although the bodies were removed to the “new” Ogallala cemetery in the early 1900s, three coffins and bodies were discovered . . . — Map (db m51224) HM
|Nebraska (Keith County), Ogallala — 6 — The Union Pacific|
|When the Union Pacific laid track west from Omaha in 1865 the rails also followed the Great Platte River Road. The Union Pacific linked up with the Central Pacific at Promontory, Utah in 1869 to complete the nation’s first transcontinental railroad. The railroad provided a faster and more comfortable way for settlers, miners and adventurer to go West, and the trains also transported cattle, grain, gold and mail. The Union Pacific reached the Ogallala vicinity in 1867, and the town soon became . . . — Map (db m50788) HM|
|Nebraska (Lancaster County), Lincoln — Lincoln Army Air Field - Lincoln Air Force Base|
Lincoln Army Air Field was constructed in 1942 on the former Lincoln Municipal Airport. The 2,750-acre property was leased to the army by the City of Lincoln. The base provided technical training for aircraft mechanics, basic training for army aviation cadets, and served as an overseas deployment staging area for bombardment groups and fighter squadrons. It was one of eleven U.S. Army Air Forces training centers built in Nebraska during World War II.
At war's end the airfield served as . . . — Map (db m66966) HM|
|Nebraska (Lancaster County), Lincoln — Lincoln Army Air Field Regimental Chapel|
Nebraska Historic Site
Lincoln Army Air Field
This property is listed in
the National Register of Historic Places — Map (db m66968) HM|
|Nebraska (Lancaster County), Lincoln — 254 — Lincoln's Founding Block|
The Territorial Legislature at Omaha drew the boundaries of Lancaster County in 1855. Settlers first arrived in 1856 and a county government was established "on paper" in 1859. Methodist Elder John M. Young arrived at the head of a colony in 1863, staked out claims, and laid out the townsite of Lancaster centered on this block the following year. Young erected on the block a two-story female seminary which served as a school and religious-governmental meeting hall before burning in 1867. . . . — Map (db m66883) HM|
|Nebraska (Lancaster County), Lincoln — Mammuthus Columbi|
| Mammoths roamed Nebraska's grasslands for more than one million years before mysteriously disappearing between 11,000 and 10,000 years ago. These extinct relatives of today's elephants were the largest mammals ever to walk the Great Plains. Adult males stood more than 13 feet tall at the shoulder and had a weight of over 24,000 pounds. Mammoth bones and teeth have been found in Ice Age deposits in all but three of Nebraska's 93 counties. Bones and tusks were uncovered just 100 yards east of . . . — Map (db m54358) HM|
|Nebraska (Lancaster County), Lincoln — Mueller Tower at University of Nebraska-Lincoln|
This bell tower was given
to the university by
Class of 1898,
in grateful appreciation
of the free education
given him by the State
Dedicated Nov. 4, 1949.
was designed in 1948
while a senior in the
Department of Architecture
U. of N. — Map (db m54357) HM|
|Nebraska (Lancaster County), Lincoln — Original Site of St. Paul Methodist Church — 1867|
First Church in Lincoln — Map (db m66882) HM|
|Nebraska (Lancaster County), Lincoln — 290 — Pershing Rifles|
| General John J. Pershing, commander of the American Expeditionary Forces to Europe in World War I, was Professor of Military Science at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln between September 1891 and June 1895. Upon his arrival in Lincoln, which was to become his family's home, Pershing found the morale of the Reserve Officers Training Corps at low ebb. To infuse life into the corps, Pershing built an elite drill team which eventually became known as the Society of Pershing Rifles.
The . . . — Map (db m54351) HM|
|Nebraska (Lancaster County), Lincoln — The Nebraska State Historical Society|
|In 1878 public-spirited citizens, led by former governor Robert W. Furnas, organized the Nebraska State Historical Society. The legislature designated the Society a state institution in 1883 and began providing financial support.|
The Society's offices, library, and museum occupied various Lincoln locations until 1953, including the old university library (present Architecture Hall) and the state capitol. This building, designed by Lincoln architect Ellery Davis and funded by a special tax . . . — Map (db m47377) HM
|Nebraska (Lancaster County), Lincoln — 441 — U.S. Post Office and Courthouse (Old City Hall)|
In 1874 construction began on Lincoln's first U.S. Post Office and Courthouse on a block originally intended as a market square. The building was completed by 1879 at a cost of about. $200,000. Alfred B. Mullet, supervising architect of the U.S. Treasury and his successor, William Appleton Potter, prepared the design. The building is of brick, faced with Nebraska limestone, and blends Gothic Revival and French Second Empire styles.
In 1906, when a new post office and courthouse was . . . — Map (db m66884) HM|
|Nebraska (Lancaster County), University of Nebraska - Lincoln — "America's Mission"|
On February 22, 1899, William Jennings Bryan gave one of the most renowned speeches in American History. The presentation, given in Washington, D.C., was entitle, "America's Mission". He spoke of purpose and direction and challenge, and proclaimed that Destiny is not a matter of chance, it is a matter of choice."
While the substance of his speech focused on issues that are not perhaps relevant today, the fundamental principles he outlined certainly ring true in any era; destiny is not a . . . — Map (db m66848) HM|
|Nebraska (Lancaster County), University of Nebraska - Lincoln — Institute of Agriculture and Natural Resources|
The Institute of Agriculture and Natural Resources fulfills the land-grant university mission of the University of Nebraska as mandated by the Morrill Act of 1862 by offering academic degrees through the College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources, conducting research through the Nebraska Agricultural Experiment Station created by the Hatch Act of 1887, and educating Nebraska citizens in all 93 counties through Cooperative Extension as required by the Smith-Lever Act of 1914. — Map (db m66846) HM|
|Nebraska (Lancaster County), University of Nebraska - Lincoln — Osborne Athletic Complex|
The Osborne Athletic Complex is named in honor of Tom and Nancy Osborne. Coach Osborne led the nation in winning percentage upon his retirement in 1997 after three national championships in a four year period (1994, 1995, 1997). He served as Nebraska Head Football Coach for 25 years posting a 255-43-3 record.
Bronze completed by Fred Hoppe in 2006 — Map (db m66849) HM|
|Nebraska (Lancaster County), University of Nebraska - Lincoln — Paul A. "Doc" Downs — 1891 - 1979|
This area dedicated to the memory of...
Beloved friend, teacher, dairy products judge and coach, creator of Husker Cheese and a pioneer of the Nebraska Dairy Industry. — Map (db m66847) HM|