HMdb.org THE HISTORICAL
MARKER DATABASE
            “Bite-Size Bits of Local, National, and Global History”
  Home  — My Markers  — Add A Marker  — Marker Series  — Links & Books  — Forum  — About Us
Click First to browse through the results shown on this page.   First >> 
Show DirectionsOmit Marker TextClick to map all markers shown on this page.
Ohio Markers
2662 markers matched your search criteria. The first 250 markers are listed. Next 2412
Ohio (Adams County), Bentonville — 10-1 — Bentonville Anti-Horse Thief Society
Originally a vigilante group, the Anti-Horse Thief Society was formed here in March 1853 by area landowners to recover stolen horses and prosecute the thieves. Horse theft was a serious offense in the ante-bellum era. Trustees nominated a captain and riders who received a $10 reward upon the capture of a thief or a stolen horse. As horses lost their importance in society in the early 1900's, the organization evolved into a social club. It's annual banquet, held each April, celebrates the continuity of this Adam's County tradition. — Map (db m59584) HM
Ohio (Adams County), Manchester — Buckeye Station
One half mile north of this monument the home of Gen. Nathaniel Massie, founder of Manchester in 1791, first settlement in the Virginia Military District. Residence of Charles Willing Byrd, Secretary and Acting Governor, Northwest Territory and first United States District Judge for Ohio. Israel Donalson, delegate from Adams County to, and last survivor of, the first Constitutional Convention of Ohio, was captured nearby by Indians in 1791. — Map (db m45344) HM
Ohio (Adams County), Rome — 1-8 — Rome(Stout Post Office)
A thriving riverport in the 19th Century founded in 1835 by William Stout. Elisha Stout, son of William, born and raised here, was one of the founding fathers of Omaha, Nebraska and Denver, Colorado. Former site of Adamsville which served as the county seat of Adams County from Dec., 1797 to Dec., 1798. A log courthouse and jail were erected here to serve the public. — Map (db m73138) HM
Ohio (Allen County), Beaverdam — Beaverdam & Vicinity World War II MemorialLiberty
. . . — Map (db m29927) HM
Ohio (Allen County), Delphos — 5-81 — Leslie C. Peltier
A farm boy with a tenth grade education, Leslie Peltier, born near Delphos in 1900, achieved fame as one of the most famous astronomers of the twentieth century. In 1916, he raised $18 dollars by picking 900 quarts of strawberries on his father's farm in order to purchase his first telescope. His stargazing abilities led Harvard Observatory's Dr. Harlow Shapley to proclaim him "the world's greatest non-professional astronomer." During his 65 years of stargazing, Leslie Peltier discovered 12 . . . — Map (db m68980) HM
Ohio (Allen County), Delphos — Miami and Erie CanalLock 24 — Ohio Dept. Natural Resources, Division of Water
Ohio Dept. Natural Resources Division of Water Miami and Erie Canal Lock 24 <- .4 mile to Jennings Creek .8 mile Lock 23 -> — Map (db m29666) HM
Ohio (Allen County), Delphos — Miami and Erie Canal / DelphosAnthony Wayne Parkway
[West Side of Marker]: Miami and Erie Canal This marker is on the right-of-way of the old Miami and Erie Canal. Gov. DeWitt Clinton of New York broke ground for the canal on July 21, 1825 just below Middletown. Built in sections, the canal was opened from end to end in 1845. It was 248.8 miles long and here on the "Loramie Summit," rose to 512 feet above Lake Erie. It included 19 aqueducts, 3 guard locks, 103 lift locks, and 3 reservoirs. Navigation began November 28, 1827 and, . . . — Map (db m30160) HM
Ohio (Allen County), Gomer — Lincoln HighwayHistorical Bridge
This historical bridge was built on this site in 1927 by the Allen County Engineers office. When opened, it carried the Delphos-Upper Sandusky Road, U.S. Route 30, commonly referred to as the Lincoln Highway, over the Ottawa River and served as an important transportation link for area residents, as well as local and regional commerce. The structure was a spandrell filled reinforced concrete arch consisting of three equal 70 foot clear spans supporting a 28 foot wide deck. The decorative . . . — Map (db m78696) HM
Ohio (Allen County), Gomer — Snow Cruiser Crash Site
On October 28, 1939, while being driven to Boston, Admiral Richard Byrd's polar exploration vehicle ran off the Lincoln Highway and crashed into Pike Run, drawing large crowds and putting Gomer in the national spotlight. — Map (db m78695) HM
Ohio (Allen County), Harrod — 1905 Shay EngineSerial No. 1568
Built at the Lima Locomotive Works Lima, Ohio for Tioga Lumber Company Nicholas County, West Virginia Purchased by the Auglaize Township Historical Society in 1996 — Map (db m29730) HM
Ohio (Allen County), Harrod — Harrod Veterans Memorial ParkThe Price of Freedom
[Front] Dedicated to the memory of all veterans of the Armed Forces of the United States of America, who unselfishly served their country in time of peace or war. It is because of this effort that we enjoy the freedom that is ours today. Dedicated June 14, 1997 [Back] Army, est. June 14, 1775 Navy, est. Oct. 13, 1775 Marine, est. Nov. 1775 Coast Guard, est. Aug. 4, 1790 Air Force, est. Sept. 18, 1947 Instruments of war remind us of the price of . . . — Map (db m29732) HM
Ohio (Allen County), Harrod — Workman's Crew Caboose
This caboose spent most of its working years in Lima and northwest Ohio and was renovated by the Auglaize Township Historical Society in 1994 — Map (db m29723) HM
Ohio (Allen County), LaFayette — LaFayette - Jackson Township Civil War Memorialand Veterans Memorial Garden
Erected 1903 by the Citizens of Jackson Tp. and Dedicated to the Memory of her soldiers of 1861. - 1865. [Grand Army of the Republic emblem] Ah! never shall the land forget. How flowed the life blood of her brave Gushed warm with hope and courage yet. Upon the soil they fought to save. Veterans Monument This Civil War monument was erected in 1903 to honor LaFayette-Jackson Township's Civil War soldiers. Over the course of the twentieth century, it became . . . — Map (db m29718) HM
Ohio (Allen County), Lafayette — 2-4 — McKee's Hill
Following the American Revolution, the British Crown sought to retain possession of the Ohio Country by sending chief British Indian Agent Alexander McKee and others to establish trading posts with Native Americans and resist American settlement. In 1786, Colonel Benjamin Logan led an American force against the British posts and tribes. Warned of their approach, McKee and a band of Shawnee, took their possessions, including a large drove of hogs, and fled north from the Mackachack Villages . . . — Map (db m28686) HM
Ohio (Allen County), Lima — Allen County Veterans Memorial
A tribute to honor those who served our country in the armed forces — Map (db m22927) HM
Ohio (Allen County), Lima — Allen County, Ohio
Allen County was originally Indian territory not opened for settlement until 1817, and was formally surveyed in 1820. County government was organized in 1831 and with the improvement of roads, settlers came and established communities in every part of Allen County. The soil was rich and there were natural springs and salt licks. The greatest single factor in its development was the discovery of oil in 1885 and for a time, the Lima oil fields were the nations [sic] most productive. Allen County . . . — Map (db m22930) HM
Ohio (Allen County), Lima — Circular Street
This street follows the course of an Old Indian Trail that joined the Tawa Indian town on the Auglaize River to the Black Swamp Trail near Lafayette. At one time, this corner was the junction of Three Early Roads, Wapakoneta Rd. - Main St. - St. John's Rd. — Map (db m63077) HM
Ohio (Allen County), Lima — D T & I Railroad's Uniopolis, Ohio, StationLincoln Park Train Exhibit
In 1964, the Detroit, Toledo, and Ironton Railroad donated an equipped station to the Lincoln Park Railroad Exhibit. The depot behind you was moved from its original location at Uniopolis, Ohio ten miles to the south. It came complete with signal mast and telegraph equipment. The freight room is on the south end of the station, with the passenger waiting room and ticket office on the north. The Lincoln Park Train Exhibit is maintained by the Lima Parks, Recreation, and Forestry Division and . . . — Map (db m29714) HM
Ohio (Allen County), Lima — 2-5 — Faurot Oil Well
In 1885, 800 feet north of this marker, Benjamin Faurot struck oil after drilling into the Trenton Rock Limestone formation at a depth of 1,251 feet. This event marked the beginning of the great Oil Boom of northwest Ohio. The ensuing rush brought speculators who drilled hundreds of wells in the Trenton Rock (Lima) Oil Field that stretched from Mercer County north through Wood County in Ohio and west to Indiana. By 1886, the Lima field was the nation’s leading producer of oil, and by the . . . — Map (db m22931) HM
Ohio (Allen County), Lima — Founders and Patriots of Allen County, OhioOhio Sesquicentennial marker
In honor of those founders and patriots of the northwest territory who settled in Ohio and Allen County 1803 Ohio Sesquicentennial 1953 — Map (db m77680) HM
Ohio (Allen County), Lima — Historic House
Erected in 1852 of handsome bricks, this house, still occupied in 1976, is one of Lima's oldest landmarks. Situated on part of Outlot No. Two of the original city addition, the residence now fronts Central Ave., known as Tanner Ave., before 1897. Chain of title appears in abstract on record at Allen County Museum. Designated a Bicentennial Landmark by the Lima Board of Realtors. — Map (db m29884) HM
Ohio (Allen County), Lima — In Memory of Chief P-H-T and the Hawg Creek Shawnee
In memory of PHT and the Hawg Creek Shawnee. This area was their home until the 1830's when they were forcibly removed by the U.S. government. Some stayed and their descendants live here to this day. Chief PHT died before the removal and was buried near this site. May we honor these people today and forever. Dedicated by the "People of Turtle Island" October 2000 — Map (db m79664) HM
Ohio (Allen County), Lima — James Daniel's Cabin1828
Built near this site, the cabin of this pioneer Allen County Commissioner was used for the first meetings of the Bath Township Trustees in 1829 and of the Allen County Commissioners June 6, 1831. Daniel's land adjoined the original 160 acre townsite and the name “Lima” was selected at a meeting held here in 1831. — Map (db m29874) HM
Ohio (Allen County), Lima — Johnny Appleseed Tree
This tree has sprouted from the roots of a tree planted by John Chapman around 1830. — Map (db m78884) HM
Ohio (Allen County), Lima — Korean War Memorial
The Korean War June 25, 1950 - July 27, 1953 ————————— To honor those who fought and died to secure the freedom of the People of South Korea Forgotten Nevermore by Dillon Staas On looking back, recalling scenes of those sad days gone by My heartbeat quickens, hands grow cold, a teardrop dims my eye. So long ago, so far away, we traveled to that land Where we were called in freedom’s name to lend a helping . . . — Map (db m22929) WM
Ohio (Allen County), Lima — 1-2 — Lima Locomotive Works
One of America's largest steam locomotive builders, the Lima Locomotive Works, built 7,752 locomotives between 1879 and 1951. It rose to success building the patented Shay geared locomotive, an innovative design that became the standard for railroad logging. In the early 20th century Lima began building mainline locomotives including the classic “Super-Power” 2-8-4 Berkshire. Later models included the Pacific, Mikado, and Allegheny. Diversification of the “Loco Works” . . . — Map (db m22935) HM
Ohio (Allen County), Lima — NKP Berkshire Locomotive No. 779
Locomotive No. 779, built by the Lima Locomotive Works in 1949, is the last steam locomotive manufactured in Lima. As a “Berkshire-type”, it represents the most advanced development of steam power. The Nickel Plate Railroad had a total of 80 such locomotive built between 1934 and 1949 at a cost of approximately $187,000 each. The tender, which was included in each order, carried 22 tons of coal and 22,000 gallons of water. No. 779 was retired in 1958 after logging 677,095 miles. . . . — Map (db m29715) HM
Ohio (Allen County), Lima — NKP Caboose No. 1091
Caboose No. 1091 was built in 1882 by the Lafayette Car Works of Lafayette, IN. It has been completely restored and equipped by the Allen County Historical Society. Although much of the structure has been replaced during its years of service, the corner posts, door posts, and wooden bows which support the roof are original. Inside the caboose are the coal stove used for cooking and heating, a built-in icebox, and bunks for the brakemen. Such wooden cabooses were gradually replaced by steel construction in the 1950' and 60's. — Map (db m29716) HM
Ohio (Allen County), Lima — Ohio's First Electric Street Car Line
Ohio's first electric Street Car Line and one of the first in the U.S. Began operation in Lima, Ohio July 4, 1887. Operated by B.C. Faurot as the Lima Street Rail- way and Power Co. This line served the city until May, 1939. The power plant was located near the rear of this site. Erected by the Allen County Historical Society and Ohio Power Company 1955 — Map (db m79481) HM
Ohio (Allen County), Lima — 6-2 — Servicemen's Free Canteen
The Lima Chapter of the American Women's Voluntary Services Organization established a community-based, free canteen during World War II for troops traveling on the Pennsylvania Railroad and adjacent Baltimore & Ohio-Nickel Plate Railroads. Meeting as many as forty trains a day, the ladies served 2.5 million troops between 1942-1945. Food, coffee, and other items were donated to the canteen from a twelve county area. The "AWVS" disbanded in 1945, but succeeding volunteers continued to provide . . . — Map (db m22951) HM
Ohio (Allen County), Lima — Shawnee Council HouseHeadquarters of Shawnee Indian Reservation
(AAA logo) Headquarters of the Shawnee Indian Reservation Shawnee Indian Council House located 250 feet east — Map (db m77682) HM
Ohio (Allen County), Lima — 3-2 — Solar Refinery
Side A: Oil became a valuable resource in Ohio when significant quantities were discovered in Lima in 1885. The discovery brought an economic boom to Lima and northwest Ohio. News of the Lima oil field spread, attracting the attention of John D. Rockefeller, co-founder of Standard Oil. Against the advice of his board, Rockefeller invested heavily in Lima crude, despite its high sulfur content and foul odor. Storage tanks and pipelines for the crude sprung up rapidly. Having great faith in . . . — Map (db m22961) HM
Ohio (Allen County), Lima — The Henry Boose Site
In 1959 this area was discovered to be an almost four thousand year old burial ground of the Glacial Kame People-named for the distinctive gravel elevations in which their dead were buried. The area was once a farm owned by Henry Boose, an early resident of Allen County. — Map (db m78679) HM
Ohio (Allen County), Lima — 2-2 — The Interurban Era
In 1910, the Ohio Electric Railway Company opened this terminal, formerly the Interurban Building, which served interurban passengers until 1937. Along with offices, it contained space for express and baggage handling, ticket windows, a newsstand, a lunch counter, and waiting rooms. Three tracks were laid at the rear of the building. At its peak, Ohio Electric radiated from Lima to Springfield, Toledo (via Ottawa), Defiance, and Fort Wayne. Its competitor, The Western Ohio Railway (“Lima . . . — Map (db m22934) HM
Ohio (Allen County), Lima — The Old Bell
Cast in Cincinnati about 1840, this bell was brought to Lima by way of the Miami Erie Canal and horse drawn wagon, and placed in Allen County's 1842 Courthouse. It rang the hour, announced births and deaths, called citizens to church and town meetings, alerted volunteer firemen, and celebrated national holidays. During the 1876 Centennial of The American Revolution, an extra burst of zeal seriously damaged the bell after which it narrowly escaped the scrap heap. Placed here in 1992 to honor . . . — Map (db m22936) HM
Ohio (Allen County), Lima — The Shawnee Indian Reservation
Northeast corner of The Shawnee Indian Reservation of 25 square miles in present-day Shawnee Township. Home of the Hog Creek Shawnees from 1817 to their removal to Kansas in 1833. Granted to the Shawnees by treaty September 29, 1817. Ceded to the United States in the Treaty of Wapakoneta August 8, 1831. — Map (db m63069) HM
Ohio (Allen County), Lima — Veterans Freedom Flag Monument
The Veterans Freedom Flag Monument dedicated May 22, 2010 to Veterans who made the sacrifice for freedom around the world, those who currently serve in the military and those who will serve in the future. Built entirely through the donations of men and women who understand the true cost of freedom they enjoy every day. — Map (db m63076) WM
Ohio (Allen County), Spencerville — Fort Amanda
Erected by order of General William H. Harrison in October 1812 and became an important depository of army stores during the war. — Map (db m19821) HM
Ohio (Allen County), Spencerville — 1-6 — Fort AmandaOhio Historical Marker
[Marker Front] After Gen. William Hull's surrender at Detroit early in the War of 1812, most of Michigan Territory came under British and Indian control. To prevent a possible invasion of Ohio, Gen. William Henry Harrison, commander of the Northwestern Army, called up the Kentucky and Ohio militia. Rather than moving troops and supplies across the Black Swamp, he chose to use the Auglaize and St. Marys rivers. In November 1812 Harrison ordered Lt. Robert Pogue of the Kentucky . . . — Map (db m19826) HM
Ohio (Allen County), Spencerville — Miami & Erie Canal Deep Cut / Miami & Erie CanalAnthony Wayne Parkway
Miami & Erie Canal, Deep Cut You are on that section of the Miami and Erie Canal where the greatest excavation was made – a section that has been known over the years as “Deep Cut.” The huge ditch, 6,600 feet long and 5 to 52 feet deep, was dug and blasted through the tough blue-clay ridge which separates the St. Marys watershed from that of the Auglaize. Strong-muscled farm boys, brawny Irishmen, and sometimes convicts, sentenced to hard labor, toiled here with . . . — Map (db m22848) HM
Ohio (Allen County), Spencerville — Miami – Erie CanalLock 15
Miami – Erie Canal From 1845 to about 1906 barges pulled by horses provided transportation from the Ohio River to Lake Erie through a system of locks which raised or lowered boats to the next level of the canal. Locks often became sites of towns, beginning with a tender’s house, followed by a stable, tavern and mill. The canal was hand-dug to a minimum width of 26’ at the bottom and 40’ at the waterline. The first boat to Toledo left Cincinnati June 27, 1845, with . . . — Map (db m22933) HM
Ohio (Allen County), Spencerville — Tawa Town
The headwaters of the Auglaize are just south of you. You are on the old Auglaize-Miami portage trail, the most direct canoe route between Lake Erie and the Ohio River. Here, long before white men arrived and until 1817, was an Indian settlement -- Tawa Town -- which, during the Indians Wars, became a rallying point and served as a base of operations for the Indian warriors. — Map (db m20080) HM
Ohio (Allen County), Spencerville, Ohio — "Johnny Appleseed"
In 1829 "Johnny Appleseed" planted an apple nursery 900 feet east of here on a half acre of Jacob Harter;s land leased for forty years in exchange for forty apple trees delivered in 1835. — Map (db m77201) HM
Ohio (Ashland County), Ashland — Ashland County Courthouse Bell
This bell was hung in the old court house in 1853 and for 75 years served Ashland County truly & well. It's vibrant tones rang out the news of Lee's surrender, tolled the passing of the immortal Lincoln, pealed forth the victory of Admiral Dewey, and joined in the glad refrain proclaiming the end of the World War. May its faithful voice, now hushed in silence, echo in our hearts forever. — Map (db m25829) HM
Ohio (Ashland County), Ashland — Ashland County Pioneer Memorial
To the heroic pioneers who braved the perils of the pathless wilderness to establish homes for their loved ones, and who laid the foundation of our commonwealth so broad and deep in this their new homeland that their descendants might freely enjoy the three-fold blessings of religion, liberty and justice. This tablet is reverently dedicated to their memory by a grateful public. — Map (db m25832) HM
Ohio (Ashland County), Ashland — Ashland County Soldiers and Sailors Memorial
To the Soldiers and Sailors of Ashland County, who in times of the nations peril offered their lives in defense of their country, that liberty, equality and justice, might be preserved. This tablet is dedicated by the citizens of this county. — Map (db m25833) HM
Ohio (Ashland County), Ashland — Ashland County Veterans Memorial
We dedicate this memorial in honor of those Ashland County veterans who have served their country and also for all those who in the future will serve their country in the military forces of the United States of America Dedicated November 1987 — Map (db m25808) HM
Ohio (Ashland County), Ashland — Ashland County Veterans Memorial Bridge
To the patriotic men and women of Ashland County who served their country in time of need — Map (db m25831) HM
Ohio (Ashland County), Ashland — Ashland County World War Memorial
To the World War veterans in memory of their deceased comrades and those who remain to serve — Map (db m25834) HM
Ohio (Ashland County), Ashland — Freer Civil War Memorial
Erected by Mr. and Mrs. Jonas Freer to the memory of Our Dead Soldiers — Map (db m25809) HM
Ohio (Ashland County), Ashland — Jones Memorial Terrace
Erected in 1957 by George and Jessie Jones in loving memory of their son, Earl E. Jones, Ashland College student 1920-21, who died in 1921. This terrace is dedicated to the pleasurable growth and development of the young people who attend Ashland College. Located in front of Founders Hall, the terrace features three major events in the history of Ashland College: • A stone engraved “1881” commemorating the first class to graduate from Ashland College • A stone bench . . . — Map (db m25836) HM
Ohio (Ashland County), Ashland — Studebaker
On this site in 1835 John Studebaker erected his home and shop with this legend over the door: "Owe no man anything but love one another" Here were born three of his sons who later founded the Studebaker institution in South Bend, Indiana — Map (db m37726) HM
Ohio (Ashland County), Hayesville — 1-3 — Hayesville Town Hall and Opera House
This building was a center of community life from the time of its construction in 1886 to the late 1930s. Once common, such combinations of governmental offices and commercial and entertainment space are today rare. The second floor opera house retains many original features, including stage backdrops, dressing rooms, and seats. Vaudeville, theater companies, and entertainment of all kinds were hosted here and many performers signed the backstage walls: Buffalo Bill dated his signature October . . . — Map (db m24286) HM
Ohio (Ashland County), Hayesville — PFC Terry L. Schaub
“Remembering a Brother” 18 Nov 47 - 19 Feb 68 CoC 3rd Bn/60th Inf (Riverine) 9th Inf Div. U.S. Army KIA southeast of Can Tho City Phong Dinh Province, Republic of Vietnam — Map (db m25838) HM
Ohio (Ashland County), Loudonville — 7-70 — Clear Fork GorgeA Feature of Ohio's Forests
Clear Fork Gorge was formed when glacial meltwater cut through the sandstone bedrock that forms its steep walls fourteen to twenty-four thousand years ago. The gorge is one thousand feet wide and over three hundred feet deep. Its seclusion has preserved a rare forest community that includes native white pine and towering eastern hemlock. A National Natural Landmark, the gorge displays a wide variety of other tree species more common throughout the state, with sycamore on the bottomlands, . . . — Map (db m24285) HM
Ohio (Ashland County), Loundonville — 3-3 — Charles Franklin Kettering
A pioneer in automotive innovation. Charles Franklin Kettering (1876-1958) was born three miles north of Loudonville. He attended local schools and graduated from Ohio State University in 1904. He organizaed the Dayton Engineering Laboratories Company (Delco) in 1909, which later became a part of General Motors (GM). “Boss Ket” served as vice-president of research for GM until 1920 and held over 140 patents (including four-wheel brakes, safety glass, and ‘ethyl’ gasoline), achieving . . . — Map (db m1341) HM
Ohio (Ashland County), Mifflin — 2-3 — Frontier Violence During the War of 1812
Front Tensions between Native Americans and Euro-American settlers remained high on the Ohio frontier during the War of 1812. Grievances mounted rapidly following the removal of the Greentown Delawares to Piqua in the late summer of 1812. On September 10, British-allied Indians attacked and killed the Frederick Zimmer family and neighbor Martin Ruffner one mile north of here. Five days later, on September 15, Reverend James Copus and three militiamen - George Shipley, John Tedrick, and . . . — Map (db m28800) HM
Ohio (Ashland County), Perrysville — 4-3 — Greentown Delaware Village
A migration of Indians throughout Ohio began due to unstable conditions created by the American Revolution. The massacre of Christian Indians at the Moravian mission of Gnadenhutten in 1782 and Colonel William Crawford’s expedition against Wyandot and Delaware towns along the Sandusky fueled insecurities. Delaware, including a small group of Mingo Indians, abandoned the village of Helltown, five miles southwest of this site, and settled Greentown as early as 1783. Greentown, situated on an . . . — Map (db m1340) HM
Ohio (Ashland County), Perrysville — 7-3 — Johnny “Appleseed” Land Lease and Nursery
John “Appleseed” Chapman (b. September 26, 1774—d. March 18, 1845) was the first lessee of this 160 acre tract (NW ¼, S 20, T 20, R 16), when he secured it for 99 years from the Virginia Military District School Lands on April 10, 1815. This $320 lease complied with the Ordinance of 1785 which stipulated that proceeds from the sale or lease of a 36th of all new land in the Northwest Territory be used to support public education. Perrysville author, Rosella Rice, knew . . . — Map (db m46337) HM
Ohio (Ashland County), Polk — Polk Veterans Monument
Front: To honor our veterans who have served POLK Back: To those who served and returned ... To those who served and were lost ... Your contribution and sacrifice for our freedom is not forgotten. We are eternally grateful. All gave some Some gave all. Army - Navy - Marine Air Force - MIA-POW - Coast Guard National Guard - Reserves — Map (db m38799) HM
Ohio (Ashland County), Sullivan — Sullivan Veterans Monument
Front: Erected 1906. In memory of our dead heroes of Sullivan Township. Back: W.R.C. — Map (db m38955) WM
Ohio (Ashland County), Sullivan — Sullivan Veterans War Memorial
2nd World War Korean War Vietnam War We dedicate this symbol to the men and women of this community who helped preserve the freedoms of humanity to keep forever living the freedom for which they died. Let us forever remember and hold them in honored memory. God bless America. — Map (db m38953) WM
Ohio (Ashtabula County), Conneaut — PA-OH Border Monument
Erected in 1881 by a joint commission appointed by the states of Pennsylvania and Ohio to re-survey and re-mark the boundary line as established in 1786. — Map (db m24070) HM
Ohio (Ashtabula County), Orwell — 9-4 — Adna R. Chaffee
Adna R. Chaffee was born in Orwell on April 14, 1842, and grew up on the family farm. He left home in 1861 to pursue a career in the military, enlisting first in the 6th U.S. Cavalry for service in the Civil War. Distinguishing himself in many battles, including Gettysburg, Chaffee rose to the rank of 1st Lieutenant. He then fought in the Indian Wars of the West from 1867-1888, assisting in the capture of Geronimo and being promoted to the rank of Major. He also saw action in the Spanish . . . — Map (db m7238) HM
Ohio (Athens County), Albany — 2-5 — Albany / Enterprise Academy
Albany (Side A) The village of Albany was established in 1838 as a market center for the surrounding agricultural area, which saw its first white settlement in the early years of the nineteenth century. Education was always a major concern of Albany's citizens. Since public schooling was minimal, private academies provided the community various levels of education from the 1840s to the 1880s. Anti-slavery sentiment also was strong in Albany, and many of its citizens participated in the . . . — Map (db m52872) HM
Ohio (Athens County), Amesville — Ames Academy Bell1852 - 1955
Over a century its clear tone carried from valley to hill beckoning all to learn — Map (db m15536) HM
Ohio (Athens County), Amesville — Frank Henry Gifford1880 - 1963 — Farmer, Merchant, A Civic Minded Citizen of Our Community
Over the years he contributed generously for the betterment of the village. His last bequest of land, building and money made the creation of this park possible. — Map (db m15538) HM
Ohio (Athens County), Amesville — Historic Amesville
Pioneers began arriving in Ames Township in 1797, making it one of the earliest settlements in the Northwest Territory. As early as 1804, the village purchased enough books to create a library. It is known today as the Coonskin Library because it was financed through the sale of animal pelts. Amesville was a center for commerce and education and was also an important stop on the Underground Railroad, as residents assisted countless slaves from the South on their way to freedom. — Map (db m15537) HM
Ohio (Athens County), Amesville — 5-5 — Western Library Association1804 — The Coonskin Library
In the years leading to Ohio statehood in 1803, Ames Township citizens decided to establish a stock-owned circulating library. Since cash was scarce during Ohio's frontier era, some citizens paid for their $2.50 shares by the sale of animal pelts, which were taken to Boston for sale in the spring of 1804 by merchant Samuel Brown. There he acquired fifty-one volumes, primarily books on history, religion, travel, and biography, as the first accessions for the Western Library Association. Senator . . . — Map (db m15540) HM
Ohio (Athens County), Athens — Athens County Civil War Soldiers and Sailors Memorial
. . . — Map (db m15558) HM
Ohio (Athens County), Athens — Athens County Revolutionary Soldiers Memorial
To honor and commemorate the Revolutionary Soldiers buried in Athens County, Ohio Daniel Anderson • Thomas Arnold • Isaac Barker • Ebenezer Barrows • Hopson Beebe • Alvan Bingham • Silas Bingham, Sr. • William Bodwell • John Bowman • Abraham Bowers • James Brice • Isaac Brooks • Benjamin Brown • Samuel Brown • Ebenezer Buckingham • Jeremiah Burnham • Nathaniel Burrell • Robert Calvert • Jesse Camp • Samuel Collins • Ashahel Cooley • Louis de la Colombe • Bezaliel . . . — Map (db m15544) HM
Ohio (Athens County), Athens — Athens County Vietnam War Memorial
Dedicated to the memory of the Athens County residents who lost their lives in Vietnam November 1990 Richard A. Anders … 23 Joseph A. Bodnar … 22 Charles L Boling … 22 John W. Boyer … 27 Ronald L. Calentine … 20 Virgil L. Castle … 19 Michael A. Deeter … 23 Richard A. Dotson … 29 Dennis K. Erdos … 22 Baxter R. Erwin … 19 Gary L. Fuller … 21 Lowell R. Groves … 18 Orville W. Heightland, Jr. … 20 Larry. E. Herbert … 19 Danny J. Huddy … 21 Charles W. Jackson . . . — Map (db m15546) HM
Ohio (Athens County), Athens — Athens First Settlement - 1797
In the spring of 1797, Rufus Putnam sent eleven “substantial men ... possessing firmness of character, courage, and discretion” to found a settlement on the bank of the Hockhocking River. In 1800 the territorial legislature named the community Athens and in 1811 the village was incorporated. In 1912 the population exceeded 5,000 and Athens officially became a city. Athens Bicentennial Celebration - 1997 Bicentennial Steering Committee Richard B. Abel, Mayor, City of . . . — Map (db m42163) HM
Ohio (Athens County), Athens — Bicentennial of the Northwest OrdinanceOhio University
[Campus side of the marker] In commemoration of the Bicentennial of the Northwest Ordinance of 1787 Ohio University, the first public university established in the Old Northwest Territory, was founded on the principles of the ordinance. [Street side of the marker] Ohio University 1804 Class Gateway Religion morality and knowledge being necessary to good government and the happiness of mankind schools and the means of education shall forever be encouraged. — Map (db m15635) HM
Ohio (Athens County), Athens — Booker T. Washington
Front: In this house, on 11 August 1886, famed African-American educator Booker T. Washington married Olivia A. Davidson. Residents at the time were Mary Davidson Elliott (sister of Olivia) and her husband Dr. Noah Elliott, a veteran of the 26th United States Colored Infantry in the War of the Rebellion (1861-65). Olivia was a student circa 1870 at the Enterprise Academy in Albany (9 miles west). She was also an alumna of Hampton Normal A & I in Virginia, where she first met Mr. . . . — Map (db m63680) HM
Ohio (Athens County), Athens — Cutler Botanic Gardens1823–1973
On August 20, 1823, the Board of Trustees of Ohio University, of which Judge Ephraim Cutler was a leading member, set aside 300 acres “west of the College green” for a botanical garden and the site of a medical college, in memory of the co-founder of the University, Rev. Dr. Menasseh Cutler, who died July 26, 1823. The great Ginkgo Biloba nearby is a relic of these gardens, which are being commemorated this day August 20, 1973 by the planting of Franklinia Alatamaha by . . . — Map (db m10908) HM
Ohio (Athens County), Athens — First Settlers in Athens County
In Memoriam Honoring the first settlers in Athens Co. from the New England States Alvan Bingman • Silas Bingman • Isaac Barker • William Harper • John Wilkins • Robert Linzee • Edmond Dorr • William Dorr • Barak Dorr • John Chandler • Jonathan Watkins — Map (db m15545) HM
Ohio (Athens County), Athens — Manasseh Cutler HallOhio University — 1816
Oldest building of the first institution for higher education of the Northwest Territory This tablet is dedicated to honor Manassah Cutler 1742 - 1823 Chaplain in the Revolutionary War Minister, Physician, Scentist, Teacher and Statesman. Through his efforts, the Continental Congress by a land grant in 1787, set aside "two complete townships to be given perpetually for the purpose of an university" to the end that "religion, morality and knowledge being necessary to good . . . — Map (db m53820) HM
Ohio (Athens County), Athens — Memorial Auditorium
Memorial Auditorium stands as a testament to the dedication of Ohio University alumni, who raised funds for its construction. Completed in 1928, Memorial Auditorium was erected to honor those who have died serving our country; this includes past and future alumni. — Map (db m53845) HM
Ohio (Athens County), Athens — Normandy ParkAt Ohio University
In honor of the War Correspondents who landed in Normandy, France, on D Day, June 6, 1944, with Allied Invading Forces; and others who joined them to report the Crusade Across Europe to bring freedom to that continent and the eventual end of a worldwide conflict of proportions unmatched. Gathering 37 years later on this campus, where foreign correspondence is taught and historical records on World War II are maintained, some thirty members of this intrepid Press Corps assembled to dedicate . . . — Map (db m53863) HM
Ohio (Athens County), Athens — 4-5 — Ohio University
[Marker front] Manasseh Cutler, Rufus Putnam, Winthrop Sargeant, and Benjamin Tupper of the Ohio Company conceived Ohio University, which was encouraged by the Ordinance of 1787 and the Northwest Territorial Legislature in 1799, incorporated as the American Western University in 1802, and chartered by the Ohio State Legislature on February 18, 1804. The university is the first institution of higher learning in the Northwest Territory, second west of the Allegheny Mountains, and the . . . — Map (db m15564) HM
Ohio (Athens County), Athens — 9-5 — Ohio UniversityPeden Stadium
Ohio University’s Peden Stadium is the oldest of the Mid-American Conference stadiums and one of the oldest of its type in the country. It was dedicated in 1929 with a victory over Miami University. The stadium served as housing for the influx of WWII veterans who enrolled at Ohio University following the war. On October 22, 1960, it was named in honor of former Bobcat head coach Don Peden who coached from 1929 to 1946 and compiled a record of 121 wins, 46 losses, and one tie. — Map (db m42162) HM
Ohio (Athens County), Athens — Ohio University 1915 Alumni Gateway
The Ohio University Alumni Gate was built with funds contributed by many alumni, with the original intent of honoring the class of 1815, which was the first graduating class. The largest contribution, however, came from Edward C. Berry, a black man who owned Athens' largest and grandest hotel - the Hotel Berry on North Court Street. He wanted to honor John Newton Templeton, the first black graduate and a member of the class of 1828. Other major contributions came from Mary Boise Hurt of . . . — Map (db m15562) HM
Ohio (Athens County), Athens — Ohio University Sundial
Site of first Ohio University building erected in 1807 Here Hon. Thomas Ewing was graduated in 1815 One of the first two graduates — Map (db m42164) HM
Ohio (Athens County), Athens — Ohio University's Distinguished Visitors
Susan Brownell Anthony Woman Suffrage Leader Visited October 19, 1878 "To secure both national and 'domestic tranquility,' to 'establish justice,' to carry out the spirit of our Constitution, put into the hands of all women....the ballot." William McKinley President of the United States 1897 to 1901 Visited October 3, 1891 "Honesty, capacity, and industry are nowhere more indispensable than in public employment." William Howard Taft President of the United . . . — Map (db m53838) HM
Ohio (Athens County), Athens — Student Voices
College Green has served as a forum for the voices of Ohio University's students throughout its history. Whether supporting civil rights, advocating for the abolishment of women's curfews, or in protest, students have and will continue to play a vital role in shaping Ohio University. — Map (db m15570) HM
Ohio (Athens County), Athens — The Elms
The elm trees President McGuffey planted near this path in the 1840s stood for over 100 years. Their beauty is recalled each year when the community members gather for the Concerts under the Elms. Dedicated by the Class of 2005 — Map (db m15571) HM
Ohio (Athens County), Athens — The Kissing Circle
The Kissing Circle holds fond memories for decades of Ohio University Alumni, and symbolizes our affection and dedication to one another. May it remind future students, as it has those of the past, of valued friendships formed here and inspire loyalty to our school. — Map (db m53075) HM
Ohio (Athens County), Athens — The Silas Bingham HouseCirca 1805
Silas Bingham arrived in Athens in 1797. His home, originally built on South College Street, is the oldest house in Athens and one of the few remaining examples of a two-story log building in the area. Since the commissioners held meetings in the home as early as 1806, the Bingham House is recognized as the county’s first courthouse. Ohio University’s third president, R. G. Wilson (1824–39), and his family lived here; John Templeton, the University’s first black graduate, . . . — Map (db m10909) HM
Ohio (Athens County), Glouster — Glouster Korea-Vietnam War Memorial
Korea For those who made the Supreme Sacrifice Vietnam For those who made the Supreme Sacrifice “Mankind must put an end to war or war will put an end to mankind” John F. Kennedy, United Nations, 1961. Map (db m15574) WM
Ohio (Athens County), Glouster — 3-5 — Hisylvania Coal Company Mine No. 22
Approximately 150 feet east stood the Hisylvania Coal Company Mine No. 22 tipple, in use from 1912 to 1925. The company name was derived from combining “Ohio” and “Pennsylvania,” home states of its founders. Coal came from the mine portal in small railcars, was cleaned and sized in the tipple, and loaded into gondolas for shipment. The Mine No. 22 tipple had a brick and concrete frame, likely the only one of this type in Ohio. When demolished in 2000, it was one of the . . . — Map (db m15573) HM
Ohio (Athens County), Glouster — Trimble Township War Memorial
In Memory of the men who made the Supreme Sacrifice 1917 World War I 1918 James Cox • Frank McCann • Roy Sampson 1941 World War II 1945 Virgil Brooks • Robert C. Brown • Ernest Burdiss • Paul Byers • Cloyd Clemons • Andrew E. Covella • Joseph Dalton • Lawrence Frederick • Dillon Gill • Ernest Hawkins • Charles W. Hebert • Joseph Hooper • Lewis Jennice • Robert S. Jones • Torrine Kamento • Herman H. Kloh • Clyde L. Lowery • Donald Matyskella • Ernest Meeks . . . — Map (db m15575) WM
Ohio (Athens County), Hamley Run — Snake Ridge Lookout Tower
Reconstructed on this site, this lookout tower once stood off S.R. 278 southwest of Nelsonville in Athens County. Known as the Snake Ridge Lookout Tower this tower was originally built in 1939. Many of the lookout towers were built by the Civilian Conservation Corps. Construction included a 75-100 foot steel tower with either wooden steps or a steel ladder, a log guard station with outhouse and garage to provide housing for the lookout, and telephone lines to the tower. The towers were . . . — Map (db m28511) HM
Ohio (Athens County), Jacksonville — Todd and Tony Carr Memorial
Jacksonville Volunteer Fire Department In memory of Todd Carr Died June 27, 1989 and Tony Carr Died March 21, 1989 Volunteer Firemen Always there when needed — Map (db m15610) HM
Ohio (Athens County), Millfield — Millfield Coal Mine DisasterNovember 5, 1930
Ohio's worst mine disaster occurred in this Sunday Creek Coal Company mine when an explosion killed 82 persons. Among the dead were the company's top executives who were in the mine inspecting new safety equipment. Nine hours after the explosion, rescuers discovered 19 miners alive underground, three miles from the main shaft. The disaster attracted national press coverage and international attention, and it prompted improvement of Ohio's mine safety laws in 1931. — Map (db m15611) HM
Ohio (Athens County), Millfield — Millfield Mine No. 6 - 1205 Disaster
In memory of the Millfield Mine No. 6 - 1205 disaster Nov. 5, 1930 Roy Andrews• J. H. Bergin• Delmar Bower• John Bower• George Brown• Sam Brown• William Brown• Paul Burgess• Alex Burmich• Joe Butsko• John Butsko Michael Clancy• William Clancy• Pr. R. Coen• Andy Cuba Bycofski• Frank Davis• Clyde Dean• Paul Erwin• Phil Erwin• Silas Erwin• Ben Fielder• James Genise• John Green• Charles Grimm• Miles Grimm• Thomas Harley• Walter Hayden• John Hillen• Charles . . . — Map (db m15614) HM
Ohio (Athens County), Nelsonville — Camp Site of Lord Dunmore1774
Rock weights were in drawbridge at Harper Street crossing of Hocking Canal. — Map (db m10892) HM
Ohio (Athens County), Nelsonville — Daniel Nelson
This tablet is erected in honor of Daniel Nelson founder of Nelsonville who donated the ground for the Fort Street Cemetery the Public Square and this lot for School and Meeting House purposes This stone was a part of the doorway of the first school building Placed by the Elizabeth Zane Dew Chapter Daughters of the American Revolution — Map (db m37040) HM
Ohio (Athens County), Nelsonville — E. M. Poston1862-1931 — A Native of Nelsonville
Built the first A.C. electric generator, west of the Allegheny Mountains, on Myers Street in Nelsonville, Ohio, in 1888. — Map (db m37037) HM
Ohio (Athens County), Nelsonville — Fort Street CemeteryHistorical Site
Land donated by Daniel Nelson founder of Nelsonville for a public burial ground Earliest known interment was Feb. 9, 1835 for Ruth Bason Bellows followed by Daniel Nelson May 27, 1835 Last known burial was in 1953 — Map (db m37283) HM
Ohio (Athens County), Nelsonville — Hocking Canal Site1840–1940
This section of Route 33 in the City of Nelsonville is constructed on the site of the former Hocking Canal. This early waterway, a tremendous factor in the industrial development of the Hocking Coal District of Ohio, was completed to this point in September, 1840, when the first boatload of “stone coal” was shipped by canal to market. Although succeeded by the railroad in 1869, the canal served a full half-century of usefulness before abandonment. This section of the . . . — Map (db m34217) HM
Ohio (Athens County), Nelsonville — O-257 — Hocking Valley Railway
The arrival of the Columbus and Hocking Valley Railroad in 1869 led to the decline of the Hocking Canal and assured Nelsonville's prominence as a major shipping point of coal and industrial products. The portion of the railway from Logan in Nelsonville was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1988, along with steam locomotive #33 and caboose #90704. — Map (db m43240) HM
Ohio (Athens County), Nelsonville — 6-5 — The Hocking Valley Coal Strike1884-1885
Side A: Following a wage reduction from 70 to 60 cents per ton after many Hocking Valley coal mines consolidated in 1883, the Ohio Miners' Amalgamated Association struck on June 23, 1884. The operators responded by offering an even smaller tonnage rate and a requirement for returning miners to sign no-strike contracts. The strike idled three thousand miners in 46 mines at Nelsonville, Murray City, New Straitsville, Carbon Hill, Buchtel, Longstreth, and Shawnee. (Continued on other . . . — Map (db m37019) HM
Ohio (Athens County), Nelsonville — Unknown Soldier Monument
In Memorial to all Unknown Dead in all Wars Known Only to God — Map (db m37282) HM
Ohio (Athens County), Nelsonville — Veterans' Memorial
Center marker: In Honor and Tribute To All Veterans of All Wars Aug. 20, 1972 Presented by Parade of the Hills Left marker: In Honor and Memory of the Vietnam Conflict Veterans Presented by Parade of the Hills Committee May 18, 1991 Right marker: In Honor and Memory of the Korean Conflict Veterans Presented by Parade of the Hills Committee May 18, 1991 — Map (db m37021) WM
Ohio (Auglaize County), Buckland — White Feather's TownShawnee Village on the Auglaize River
The Shawnee chief Na-Wa-Ba-She-Ka or White Feather resided here- in the town which was located on both sides of the Auglaize River. A North- South trail paralleled the river and ran through the town on the east bank. The same trail went through an Indian field, considered old in 1832, which lay across the river from present Buckland. Buckland, platted in 1872, was originally called White Feather because of the proximity to the Indian town. On May 14, 1891 the name was changed to Buckland. . . . — Map (db m74880) HM
Ohio (Auglaize County), Cridersville — 4-6 — Town Pond Reservoir Cridersville's Great Fire of 1918
Side A: The Village of Cridersville was founded in 1856. With the discovery of oil in 1885 the village prospered and grew quickly. Its business district developed along Main Street in the first block east of the railroad. The Town Pond Reservoir was constructed here in the 1890s to provide water in the event of fire. At 3:00 p.m. on May 2, 1918, a rubbish fire was started across the street from this pond and blew out of control. The fire ignited a nearby barn, and, with the aid of strong . . . — Map (db m28668) HM
Ohio (Auglaize County), New Bremen — Bowstring Girder
Constructed in 1864, this is the oldest cast iron "bowstring girder" bridge in Ohio. Originally part of a three-span structure over the Auglaize River in Wapakoneta, the bridge was moved to Moulton Angle Road north of New Knoxville in 1904. In 1984, through the efforts of local citizens and business, the bridge was brought to New Bremen where it was restored and placed over the Miami and Erie Canal. It was built by David H. Morrison, founder of the Columbia Bridge Works in Dayton. — Map (db m22947) HM
Ohio (Auglaize County), New Bremen — Loramie Summit
The Miami Erie Canal, built 1825-1845, 244.5 miles long, was a transporter of passengers and freight between Lake Erie and the Ohio River. This section is Loramie Summit., a 21 mile plateau of water retained by Lock 1-N (this marker) and Lock 1-S at Lockington: water supplied by summit feeders from reservoirs Loramie and Lewiston (Indian Lake). Lock 1-N was one of 105 locks which lifted boats 513’ from Cincinnati to the summit, lowered 395’ to Toledo. Lock chambers of wood and stone were 90’ by . . . — Map (db m22946) HM
Ohio (Auglaize County), New Bremen — Miami and Erie Canal, New Bremen
Lockkeeper's House The Lockkeeper's House was the residence of the Lockkeeper and his family. The Lockkeeper was on duty 24 hours a day, seven days per week, and was responsible for operating the lock as needed to move boats through the lock. This photograph is oriented to duplicate the view one would have had in 1910 of Lock One and the Lockkeeper's House while facing south at this location. Impact of the Canal New Bremen became a prosperous community due to the canal. . . . — Map (db m22781) HM
Ohio (Auglaize County), New Bremen — Miami and Erie Canal, New Bremen
Locking Through Lock One North is one of 105 locks used to raise and lower boats traveling between Lake Erie and the Ohio River. Large wooden gates were built at each end of the lock to hold water in the lock. A boat, pulled by a team of mules would enter through an open gate, which was closed when the boat was fully in the lock. A wicket gate, or opening in one of the gates, would be opened and allow the water in the lock to raise or lower to the same level as the next stretch of . . . — Map (db m23062) HM
Ohio (Auglaize County), New Bremen — 2-6 — The Miami & Erie Canal and New Bremen
Begun in 1833, the Miami Extension linked the Miami Canal in Dayton to the Wabash & Erie Canal at Junction. Engineering difficulties, epidemics and the Panic of 1837 delayed completion of the Extension until June 1845, when the packet boat Banner first navigated the almost 250 mile distance from Cincinnati to Toledo in three days. New Bremen was the northern terminus for a period while work continued northward on the Extension. Designated the Miami & Erie in 1849, it served as the . . . — Map (db m20023) HM
Ohio (Auglaize County), Saint Johns — CatahecassaBlackhoof Memorial
Nearby sleeps Chief (Blackhoof) Catahecassa, last principle chief of the Shawnees prior to their removal to Kansas in 1832. This was Blackhoofs town where he lived and died in Sept. 1831, at the age of 109. He fought with the French against Braddock at Ft. Pitt in 1755, opposed Col. Lewis at the Battle of Point Pleasant in 1774, served under British Capt. Bird in 1780. He lead his people against the campaigns of Harmer 1790, Saint Clair 1791, and Wayne in 1794. He signed the Greenville Treaty . . . — Map (db m16971) HM
Ohio (Auglaize County), Saint Marys — Saint Marys River
To the right is the Saint Marys River. This waterway was used by the Indians for generations as a route to hunting grounds in Kentucky. French, and later English traders traversed its course with trade goods in exchange for furs. James Girty, a British trader, had a station near here until he fled in advance of Mad Anthony Wayne. This settlement became known as "Girty's Town." Following the Saint Marys Treaty with the Indians in 1818, this area was opened to settlers. The town of Saint Marys . . . — Map (db m30258) HM
Ohio (Auglaize County), St Marys — The "Short Level" of the Miami and Erie Canal
To the left is the "Short Level" of the Miami and Erie Canal. The canal extension from Dayton to Toledo was completed in 1837. Linking the Great Lakes to the Ohio River. Travel took only five days to Toledo and six days to Cincinnati. The canal quickly became an important line of transportation. It led to the development of the wilderness and to many prosperous towns along its course. The huge Grand Lake Saint Marys was constructed as a reservoir of water to float the boats to their . . . — Map (db m29673) HM
Ohio (Auglaize County), St. Johns — Blackhoof's Last Home
Blackhoof: Born in Florida about 1721. Arriving in this vicinity 1783 - Surnames: Cut-The-We-Ka-Saw or Catahecassa - Principal Chief of Shawnee Indian Nation - erected here in 1822. In a clearing of the vast forest a two story 18'x24' log house - His body lay in state here before removal to a nearby ridge for burial - Outside the house were placed many deer and wild game for the funeral feast. Saint Johns: Site of a former Indian Village was initially called Blackhoofs Town. — Map (db m29631) HM
Ohio (Auglaize County), St. Marys — Fort St. Marys
Erected here in 1795 by General "Mad" Anthony Wayne, probably after the signing of the Greenville Treaty, on land ceded by the Indians. This area was also the site of the signing of the Treaty of St. Marys in 1818 (the Indian campsites being to the south and west of this spot). Located here prior to, and a little south of the fort, was the dugout and cabin of James Girty, of the notorious Girty Brothers, giving rise to the area's original name "Girty's Town." — Map (db m19855) HM
Ohio (Auglaize County), St. Marys — C 18 — Fort St. Marys / Fort Barbee / Girty Town
Near here were located Fort St. Marys Built by Gen. Wayne-1794 — • — Fort Barbee Built by Gen. Harrison-1812 — • — Girty Town So named for the renegade Girtys, whose home it was. — Map (db m29605) HM
Ohio (Auglaize County), St. Marys — Miami and Erie CanalLock 13 — Ohio Dept. Natural Resources, Division of Water
Ohio Dept. Natural Resources Division of Water Miami and Erie Canal Lock 13 <- .1 mile Canal Tumble .1 mile Lock 12 -> — Map (db m30260) HM
Ohio (Auglaize County), Wapakoneta — Apollo Command Module and Gemini Spacecraft Mock-ups
Apollo Command Module Mock-up The command module carried the three astronauts to the moon and back during the Apollo missions 1969-1972. The spacecraft is 10 ft. 7 in. tall and 12 ft. 10 in. diameter. It weighed 13,000 lbs. Gemini Spacecraft Mock-up The Gemini spacecraft carried two astronauts into earth orbit. This is the type of craft that carried Neil Armstrong and David Scott into space in 1966. The spacecraft is 19 ft. long and 10 ft. in diameter. It weighed 8360 lbs. . . . — Map (db m20930) HM
Ohio (Auglaize County), Wapakoneta — Congressional Medal of Honor RecipientsState of Ohio, Auglaize County
United States of America Congressional Medal of Honor Recipients State of Ohio, Auglaize County Civil War Cpl Christian Schnell Mississippi 1863 — Map (db m12416) HM
Ohio (Auglaize County), Wapakoneta — 5-6 — Dayton and Michigan Railroad
Side A The Dayton and Michigan Railroad provided the single most important impetus to the growth and development of Wapakoneta. Although Wapakoneta had been platted in 1833, at the time of incorporation (1848), "the town was still without any material improvement worth the name of enterprise, save in the erection of residences and opening of small retail stores and shops." On March 15, 1854, in its first ordinance, the village council of Wapakoneta voted unanimously to grant a . . . — Map (db m12406) HM
Ohio (Auglaize County), Wapakoneta — F5D Skylancer
This Douglas F5D Skylancer was one of four originally constructed, and is the only example still in existence. It was flown by Neil A. Armstrong from September 1960 to September 1962 to simulate the flight characteristics of the space vehicle planned for use in Project Dyna-Soar. The Dyna-Soar program called for the launch of a winged craft which could re-enter the atmosphere and glide to a conventional landing following a mission in space. — Map (db m20920) HM
Ohio (Auglaize County), Wapakoneta — Plank RoadWapakoneta to St. Mary’s — Original Route 33
Site of St. Marys – Wapakoneta plank road built 1850- 1852 of Burr and White Oak timber 3 to 5 ft in diam. cut and milled at Moulton financed by Wapakoneta – St Marys businessmen who charged toll for profit and maintenance. Replaced in 1882 by a gravel pike. - - Toll - - 1 horse 4 wheel cart .15 --- each horse or mule .03 / 2 horse 4 wheel wagon .20 --- cattle each .01 / 1 horse sled --- .05 / sheep each .0 ½ 2 horse sled --- .10 / stage coach 2 horses .30 — Map (db m77612) HM
Ohio (Auglaize County), Wapakoneta — 6-6 — The Shannon Stock Company
Side A: The Shannon Stock Company, also known as Shannon's Famous Players, was a traveling theatre company based in Wapakoneta from 1913 until the Great Depression. Founded by Harry Shannon, the group included his wife Adelaide, their children, Harry Jr. and Hazel, and a company of twenty people or more. The Company performed in theatres in southern states during the winter and in a tent in Ohio, Indiana, and other Midwest states during the summer. When not performing, the Shannons . . . — Map (db m29924) HM
Ohio (Auglaize County), Wapakoneta — Wapaghonetta Reservationthe Shawnee Reservation at Wapakoneta — the Eastern Boundary marker
By the Treaties at the Maumee Rapids in 1817, and 1818 at St. Mary’s, the Shawnee Indians were given a reservation of ten miles by twelve miles. This being the eastern boundary line. Indian Towns within this area were Blackhoof’s (now St. Johns), Wapaghonetta (now Wapakoneta), where the Council House once stood and White Feather’s Town (now Buckland). In 1832 the Shawnee were removed to the Indian Territory in Kansas. — Map (db m75195) HM
Ohio (Auglaize County), Wapakoneta — Wapakoneta (Wapaughkonnetta)
Council House (Capital) of the Shawnee from c.1798 until their forced removal to Kansas in 1832 — Map (db m12413) HM
Ohio (Auglaize County), Wapakoneta — Wapakoneta All Wars Memorial
Erected by the Disabled American Veterans Chapter 73 Wapakoneta, Ohio to their departed comrades and in memory of all veterans of all wars — Map (db m12414) HM
Ohio (Auglaize County), Waynesfield — Headwaters of Scioto RiverReference Point of Ohio Land Surveys — The Ellusive Source of One of Ohio's Major Rivers
Scioto River This is where the river starts and flowing southeast past Columbus, Circleville, and Chillicothe, joining the Ohio River at Portsmouth after a course of some 230 miles. Manchester Farm — Map (db m76598)
Ohio (Auglaize County), Waynesfield — Headwaters of the Auglaize RiverThe Flat Wet Praire where three major rivers begin
On the headwaters of the Auglaize River The watershed of Three Rivers originates within a distance of 1/2 mile from this point West- Miami East- Scioto North-Auglaize Susannah Russell Chapter DAR — Map (db m76609) HM
Ohio (Belmont County), Barnesville — American Legion Post 168 Veterans Memorial
In Memory of All American Veterans Lest We Forget — Map (db m26745) HM
Ohio (Belmont County), Barnesville — B&O Railroad Tunnel
You are standing over a 423 foot man-made sandstone tunnel built by the railroad between 1864 and 1870. Located on the Pittsburgh-Columbus main line, up to 37 trains a day passed under East Main Street during the railroad’s heyday. The station, rail, tunnel, and grounds were purchased by the community in 1991 after the line was abandoned. They are on the National Register of Historic Places. — Map (db m21012) HM
Ohio (Belmont County), Barnesville — Barnesville Veterans Memorial
To honor those who have served to preserve this nation — Map (db m26752) HM
Ohio (Belmont County), Barnesville — Barnesville War Memorial
Lest We Forget Those Who Gave Their All For Our Country Our Honored W.W. I K.I.A. Wm. S. Bowen • Mansel E. Kaiser • George R. Higgins Our Honored W.W. II K.I.A. Edmund Bradfield • Wayne A. Thomas Wm. O. Cordner • Lewis Wade Paul Orwig • Clare Burbacher Wm. G. Burcher • George Hilles H. R. Collins • Kenneth Yannacci Paul Hunkler • Roy E. Mann John W. Heaney • Harold Burkhart Charles Marmie • Donald Skinner Eugene Morton • Ray Nichols Charles McBride • Harold . . . — Map (db m26864) WM
Ohio (Belmont County), Barnesville — 8-7 — Captina African Methodist Episcopal Cemetery
This cemetery stands as evidence of a once thriving African American farming community established in the 1820s. With the aid of community leader, Alexander "Sandy" Harper (c.1804-1889), Captina, originally called Guinea, became a stop on the Underground Railroad, a national network, shrouded in secrecy, of volunteers who directed slaves northward. Harper is buried in this cemetery, along with Benjamin Oliver McMichael (1865-1941), an educator who taught for twelve years in Captina/ Flatrock at . . . — Map (db m79263) HM
Ohio (Belmont County), Barnesville — 7-7 — Governor Wilson Shannon 1802-1877 / Barnesville’s Shannon Family
Governor Wilson Shannon (1802–1877), Ohio, first native-born governor, Wilson Shannon was born in February 1802 in the Mt. Olivet area near Barnesville. After attending Ohio University and studying law in Kentucky, he returned to Belmont County to practice and was elected county attorney in 1833. Shannon served two terms as governor of Ohio, from 1838 to 1840 and again from 1842 to 1844, resigning to accept a presidential appointment as minister to Mexico. After participating in the . . . — Map (db m21055) HM
Ohio (Belmont County), Barnesville — Roby Cigar Museum
This small, backyard cigar company operated from 1900 to 1943. Mr. Roby's hand-made stogies or cigars were made here in this building by family members, with the help of 2 or 3 employees daily. It was located in Belmont, Ohio. This shop has about 90% of its original equipment. When it started up there was no electricity in Belmont. Electricity came to Belmont about 1918-20; before that most all shops relied on natural light through glass windows. This shop got electric power by 1925. . . . — Map (db m79272) HM
Ohio (Belmont County), Barnesville — September 11, 2001
We will never forget the tragic events of September 11, 2001 nor the lives that were lost Dedicated May 30, 2005 — Map (db m26862) HM
Ohio (Belmont County), Barnesville — The Village Bell
Dedicated to all veterans with appreciation for your service and sacrifice 2 August 2008 Home of the Free Because of the Brave — Map (db m26860) HM
Ohio (Belmont County), Barnesville — VFW Post 2792 Veterans Memorial
For God and Country in honor of those who served in all wars Lest We Forget Memorial Day 1979 — Map (db m26749) HM
Ohio (Belmont County), Barnesville — 19-9 — Watt Car and Wheel Company
Joseph Watt and son James H. started a small foundry in 1862 making plow points, window sash weights, and heating stoves. Later, brothers Stewart, Ross, and John W. joined and the name became J.H. Watt and Brothers. Securing a patent for a self-oiling mine car wheel, the business expanded to this 27-acre site. In 1891, Ohio gubernatorial candidate, and later U.S. president, William McKinley, dedicated the buildings. By 1901, over 135 were employed by Watt Mining Car Wheel Company producing . . . — Map (db m26750) HM
Ohio (Belmont County), Bellaire — 16-7 — Bellaire High School Clock Tower / Central School Clock Tower and Bell
Side 1 Bellaire High School Clock Tower The Bellaire High School Clock Tower was erected in 1925 as the second town clock to be mounted on Bellaire’s public schools. C.W. Bates of Wheeling designed this tower, built by C.D. Keyser & Co. of Bellaire. The school building stretches 256 feet along 35th Street, and the tower rises 40 feet above the 3rd floor parapet of the roof. The clock faces are 6 feet, 7 inches in diameter. At the exterior corners of the bell room are 11 foot . . . — Map (db m78492) HM
Ohio (Belmont County), Bellaire — 18-7 — Cornelius D. Battelle, Methodist Circuit Rider / The First United Methodist Church, Bellaire
Side 1 Cornelius D. Battelle, Methodist Circuit Rider Cornelius D. Battelle was born July 13, 1807 in Washington County, Ohio. He entered the Methodist Episcopal Church on October 30, 1825 and the Pittsburgh Methodist Conference in 1833. He was assigned pastoral circuit duties in rural eastern Ohio and the small river settlement of “Belle Aire” where he delivered his first sermon in a warehouse during the winter of 1838. He established the first Methodist class of . . . — Map (db m78493) HM
Ohio (Belmont County), Bellaire — Dedicated to the Life and Memory ofColonel John H. Sullivan
The Father of Bellaire, Ohio who "could hear more distinctly than other men, the footsteps of coming generations" In November 1854, Colonel Sullivan platted the Harris Farm for a community incorporated in 1860 as Bellaire City, and in 1872 as the City of Bellaire. His life was devoted with invincible spirit in promotion of the prosperity and growth of Bellaire, Ohio. President and Promoter of the Central Ohio R.R. and the Bellaire & Southwestern R.R., western agent of the . . . — Map (db m78495) HM
Ohio (Belmont County), Bellaire — 9-7 — Imperial GlassGem of "The Glass City"
With ready access to raw materials, fuel, skilled labor, and transportation, the Ohio Valley became the center of the American glass industry during the late 1800s. Among dozens of local manufacturers, the Imperial Glass Company, founded in 1901 by river man and financier Edward Muhleman, first made glass in 1904 and distinguished itself for mass production of attractive and affordable pressed glass tableware using continuous-feed melting tanks. One of the largest American handmade glass . . . — Map (db m28439) HM
Ohio (Belmont County), Bellaire — 14-7 — The Great Stone Viaduct
Construction of this Great Stone Viaduct began in 1870 at Union Street as an Ohio approach to the railroad bridge spanning the Ohio River. It was completed to Rose Hill in April 1871, and the entire bridge span connecting Ohio to West Virginia, of which the Viaduct is a part, was opened to rail traffic on June 21, 1871. Jointly constructed by the Baltimore & Ohio Railroad and the Central Ohio Railroad, its sandstone piers rise in varying heights 10 to 20 feet above the streets, from which are . . . — Map (db m28436) HM
Ohio (Belmont County), Bellaire — 15-7 — Union Square and its Uses / The Question of Ownership
Side 1 Union Square and Its Uses Labeled "Union Square" on the first village maps, block 12 of the City of Bellaire was formed by joining portions of the Harris and Rodefer Farms in 1857. Used for tent shows, circuses, political meetings, and playing baseball, the land during the Civil War was used as a canteen for feeding Union recruits from nearby Camp Jefferson. Stonemasons cut sandstone blocks here that make up "Great Stone Viaduct" railroad bridge. A steam derrick and stable . . . — Map (db m78494) HM
Ohio (Belmont County), Bellaire — Willow Grove Mine
Hanna Coal Company's #10 Mine March 16, 1940 An explosion ripped through the Willow Grove Mine resulting in the death of 72 Ohio Valley men — Map (db m78503) HM
Ohio (Belmont County), Belmont — 5-7 — Harley E. Warrick(1924–2000)
The last barn painter for the Bloch Brothers Tobacco Company of Wheeling, West Virginia, Harley Warrick painted thousands of barns with the familiar Mail Pouch Tobacco logo over his 48-year career. Mail Pouch transcended advertising to become a fixture of nostalgic Americana, emblazoning barns across fifteen states with the “Midwestern imperative,” Chew Mail Pouch Tobacco — Treat Yourself to the Best. Once a common form of advertising through the early 20th century, . . . — Map (db m1035) HM
Ohio (Belmont County), Belmont — 2-7 — Mile Marker
The earliest highway signs along the National Road (Route 40) in Ohio were milestones located at one-mile intervals along the north side of the roadway. Each stone indicated the distance to Cumberland, Maryland, the eastern terminus of the National Road, and to the nearest cities and villages for both east and westbound travlers. — Map (db m78496) HM
Ohio (Belmont County), Blaine — 11-7 — Blaine Hill "S" Bridge / Blaine Hill Viaduct
Blaine Hill "S" Bridge The first Blaine Hill Bridge was constructed in 1828 as part of the National Road, the nation's first federally funded highway. This three-arch S-shaped structure, 345 feet in length, spans Wheeling Creek (a tributary of the Ohio River) and is the longest original "S" bridge in existence on the old National Road. At a gradient of approximately 6.3 percent from east to west, it significantly eased, for the first time, the arduous 500-foot western climb out of the . . . — Map (db m12618) HM
Ohio (Belmont County), Bridgeport — 4-7 — Historic Bridgeport
Colonel Ebenezer Zane, one of the founders of Wheeling, laid out the village that became Bridgeport in 1806 on the site of Fort Kirkwood (1789). Originally named Canton, it acquired its present name after the bridge to Wheeling Island was built. The arrival of the National Road in 1818 made the growing town a major portal into the state of Ohio for westbound emigrants, adding to its importance as a port for Ohio River traffic. With the advent of railroads and, later, transcontinental highways, . . . — Map (db m515) HM
Ohio (Belmont County), Bridgeport — The National Historic Road in OhioThe Road That Helped Build The Nation — An All-American Road - National Scenic Highway
Welcome to the National Road The National Road crosses six states from Baltimore, Maryland, to East St. Louis, Illinois. The road fulfilled the dreams of George Washington and Thomas Jefferson to build an all-weather route across the Allegheny Mountains to connect the Eastern Seaboard with the Midwest. The road was conceived by Albert Gallatin, Secretary of the Treasury under Thomas Jefferson, and was authorized by Congress in 1806. The road the nation's first federally funded interstate . . . — Map (db m78502) HM
Ohio (Belmont County), Elizabethtown — 1-7 — Mile Marker
The earliest highway signs along the National Road (Route 40) in Ohio were milestones located at one-mile intervals along the north side of the roadway. Each stone indicated the distance to Cumberland, Maryland, the eastern terminus of the National Road, and to the nearest cities and villages for both east and westbound travelers. Visit the National Road Museum at the Norwich exit (65), Interstate 70. — Map (db m21058) HM
Ohio (Belmont County), Elizabethtown — State of OhioDepartment of Transportation Memorial
Dedicated to the men and women of the Ohio Department of Transportation who gave their lives to provide a safe and transportation system for Ohio travelers. — Map (db m70343) HM
Ohio (Belmont County), Martins Ferry — Elizabeth Zane
In memory of Elizabeth Zane whose heroic deed saved Fort Henry in 1782 Erected May 30, 1928 — Map (db m28446) HM
Ohio (Belmont County), Martins Ferry — Martins Ferry Pioneers
To the sturdy pioneers who made their homes here as early as 1785 giving to Ohio it's first organized government and to the city of Martins Ferry the honor of being the oldest in the state — Map (db m28447) HM
Ohio (Belmont County), Martins Ferry — 3-7 — Walnut Grove Cemetery
Side A: The Walnut Grove Cemetery is the burial place of members of the Zane and Martin families. Their graves lie within the brick enclosure. The cemetery is also the resting-place of many early Martins Ferry residents, including veterans of the Revolutionary War, the War of 1812, the Mexican War, and the Civil War. The Zane and Martin families were significant in the pioneer history of the region. Betty Zane's legendary heroism at Fort Henry (now Wheeling, West Virginia) helped . . . — Map (db m28444) HM
Ohio (Belmont County), Martins Ferry — 12-7 — William Dean Howells / James Arlington Wright
Side A: William Dean Howells "The Dean of American Letters" Author, editor, and social critic William Dean Howells (1837-1920) was born in Martins Ferry, the son of an itinerant printer and publisher. Self-educated, Howells learned the printer's craft early and took up journalism, rising to city editor of the Ohio State Journal (Columbus) in 1858. From 1871 to 1881, he was editor of the Atlantic Monthly magazine, a position of enormous influence in American literary . . . — Map (db m28477) HM
Ohio (Belmont County), Morristown — 10-7 — Morristown
Platted in 1802 by John Zane and William Chapline along the old Wheeling Road. Morristown was named for Duncan Morrison, an early settler, innkeeper, and Justice of the Peace. Older than the state itself. Morristown prospered into the mid-1800s, nurtured by trade along the National Road, the first federally funded highway project in the United States. The National Road was a major overland route to the West in the second quarter of the nineteenth century. Federal style brick and frame . . . — Map (db m287) HM
Ohio (Belmont County), Powhatan Point — George Washington
On his journey down the Ohio River, Wednesday, October 24, 1770 noted in his diary "at the mouth of it (Captina Creek) we came abt 3 o'clock in the afternoon, and finding nobody there, we agreed to camp." Camped on return trip November 14 just above the creek. — Map (db m78500) HM
Ohio (Belmont County), Powhatan Point — 13-7 — Powhatan Point
First surveyed in 1849, Powhatan Point was laid out by Franklin Knox. The "point" is the confluence of Captina Creek and the Ohio River. The small but thriving river and farming community served York Township and the rich Captina Valley as a shipping center for its first 75 years. Given impetus by the construction of the Powhatan Enterprise Flouring Mill and Woolen Factory in 1850, local businesses shipped grain, fruit, lumber, cheese, whiskey, livestock, wool, and tobacco to northern and . . . — Map (db m78499) HM
Ohio (Belmont County), Powhatan Point — 6-7 — The Coal Industry at Powhatan Point / Powhatan Disaster, 1944
Side 1 The Coal Industry at Powhatan Point The Pittsburgh No. 8 coal seam, located 100 feet below river level at Powhatan Point, extends across much of eastern Ohio, western Pennsylvania, and northern West Virginia. The Cleveland and Western Coal Company, founded by Cleveland industrialist Frank E. Taplin, opened the Powhatan No. 1 mine here in 1922 to take advantage of both river and rail transportation. It became the largest deep mine in Ohio and was the first mine in the state . . . — Map (db m78501) HM
Ohio (Belmont County), St. Clairsville — Belmont County Revolutionary War Veterans
This memorial plaque was placed by the Zane's Trace Chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution in grateful memory of those buried in the soil of Belmont County who loved country more than life and served in the American Revolution - 1775 - 1783. Dedicated July 4, 1976 — Map (db m26739) HM
Ohio (Belmont County), St. Clairsville — Belmont County Veterans Memorial
This memorial erected by the people of Belmont County dedicated to the veterans of all wars — Map (db m26742) HM
Ohio (Belmont County), St. Clairsville — Benjamin Lundy Champion of Freedom
On January 4, 1816, the date of his 27th birthday, Benjamin Lundy invited several friends to his home in St. Clairsville to lay the groundwork for a national anti-slavery society. St. Clairsville served as an Underground Railroad headquarters, operated by local resident, Jonathan Judkins. On April 20, 1816, the constitution of the Union Humane Society was adopted in Mount Pleasant, Ohio. The purpose of the society was to end racial prejudice and assist freed slaves to become productive members . . . — Map (db m76508) HM
Ohio (Belmont County), St. Clairsville — 17-7 — Governor Arthur St. Clair 1734-1818
Born in Scotland. From 1787-1802, was first governor of the Northwest Territory, which included Ohio, Indiana, Illinois, Michigan, Wisconsin and part of Minnesota. St. Clair established territorial court system and Ohio’s first nine counties including Belmont in 1801 and named St. Clairsville its county seat. St. Clair’s promotion to major general in 1777 recognized his exemplary service to Washington in New Jersey during American victories at the battles of Trenton and Princeton. St. Clair was . . . — Map (db m76511) HM
Ohio (Belmont County), St. Clairsville — Home of Benjamin Lundy
Here in 1815 he organized the Union Human Society, the first abolitionist society in the U.S. Born 1789 N.J. Died 1839 Illinois. Edited The Genius of Universal Emancipation 1821-1838. Devoted his life to the abolition of slavery. — Map (db m4955) HM
Ohio (Belmont County), St. Clairsville — Milestone Marks where Extension of National Road...
Milestone marks where extension of National Road west of Ohio River was started July 4, 1825. Stone relocated 1964 — Map (db m5027) HM
Ohio (Brown County), Georgetown — 3-30 — General Thomas Lyon Hamer1800-1846 — Teacher-Lawyer-Congressman-Soldier
Master Mason (1824), Georgetown Lodge No. 72, Free and Accepted Masons. "...Hamer was one of the ablest men Ohio ever produced. I have always believed that had his life been spared, he would have been President of the United States..." Ulysses S. Grant, Memoirs Vol. 1 — Map (db m70909) HM WM
Ohio (Brown County), Georgetown — 1-8 — Ulysses S. Grant Boyhood Home
U.S. Grant, general-in-chief of the Armies of the United States, 18th president and first native Ohioan to be elected chief executive, lived in this house from 1824 to 1839. Jesse R. Grant, his father, built the original part fronting Water Street in 1824 and later built an addition fronting Main Cross Street, now Grant Avenue. "This place remained my home, until at the age of seventeen, in 1839, I went to West Point." Map (db m70910) HM WM
Ohio (Brown County), Ripley — Rankin House
Home of Reverend John Rankin, Underground Railroad Station 1828-1863 A State Memorial of the Ohio Historical Society — Map (db m70904) HM WM
Ohio (Butler County), Bethany — 45-31 — First Jain Temple in Ohio / History of Jainism in Ohio
Side A: First Jain Temple in Ohio "Souls render service to one another" The Jain Center of Cincinnati and Dayton was established on April 22, 1979 as a non-profit tax-exempt organization under the laws of the United States and the State of Ohio. The foundation stone of the Jain temple, the first of its kind in Ohio, was laid down on August 21-22, 1994. The temple was dedicated on September 2-4, 1995 when more than one thousand people from all over Ohio and many other states . . . — Map (db m24073) HM
Ohio (Butler County), Busenbark — 8-9 — Busenbark / Dr. Charles F. Richter1900 - 1985 — An originator of the Richter Scale
Side A: Busenbark In 1833, Robert Busenbark deeded land to the directors of School District No. 6 for Busenbark School. Twenty years later, Robert and son David granted a right-of-way on their property for a station on the Cincinnati, Hamilton & Dayton Railroad (CH&D). One of eleven depots in Butler County, Busenbark station attracted the Kinsinger-Augspurger Warehouse and the Kennel Grain Elevator to the area in the 1860s. The railroad also enabled the cross-roads settlement to host an . . . — Map (db m28533) HM
Ohio (Butler County), Hamilton — A Pioneer Family
The Stewart family lived constantly in Butler County for over 200 years. 1802 to Present Gift to City of Hamilton by: John Antenen Stewart, M.D. Marian Vail Stewart, M.T. September 1, 2002 — Map (db m73637) HM
Ohio (Butler County), Hamilton — 22-9 — Butler County Courthouse
Side A: Butler County was created on March 24, 1803, about three weeks after Ohio became a state. Hamilton won the competition for the county seat, thanks to Israel Ludlow, Hamilton's founder. Ludlow's donation of the public square secured the county seat. The first Butler County trial court met in July 1803 in a tavern before moving to a two-story military building located at what had been Fort Hamilton (1791-1796). The county built the first courthouse on this public square in 1810. . . . — Map (db m28546) HM
Ohio (Butler County), Hamilton — 3-9 — Champion Hamilton Mill
Side A: The Champion Coated Paper Company began production here April 15, 1894, with nine employees under the direction of Peter G. Thomson (1851-1931), a Cincinnati businessman, who had incorporated the firm in November 1893. Thomson, previously a bookseller and publisher, recognized that recent progress in half-tone printing would increase the demand for coated paper. In 1891 he purchased 187 acres west of the Great Miami River to develop into subdivisions. When a recession contributed . . . — Map (db m28547) HM
Ohio (Butler County), Hamilton — Earliest Industry
Mills were essential in the settlers' struggle to convert their land from a debt to an asset. Financial survival depended on access to grist mills, saw mills and carding mills - the trading complexes and community centers on the Ohio frontier. The most coveted tracts were those suitable for water-powered mills along the banks of the Great Miami River and its tributaries. — Map (db m73595) HM
Ohio (Butler County), Hamilton — Flatboats and Early Trade
Because water was the most efficient way to transport goods, most early Ohio roads led to a navigable stream, such as the Great Miami River. Through the 1820s, much of Butler County's abundant agriculture output found its way to market on flatboats that traveled the Great Miami, Ohio and Mississippi rivers to New Orleans and other southern ports. — Map (db m73593) HM
Ohio (Butler County), Hamilton — Flood & Recovery
March 25, 1913, a record Great Miami River flood hit Hamilton, claiming more than 200 lives, leaving about 10,000 homeless and causing more than $10 million in property damage. Local survivors helped create the Miami Conservancy District - a 65-mile protection system - designed to prevent floods. The 1913 flood is considered "Ohio's Greatest Weather Disaster." — Map (db m73594) HM
Ohio (Butler County), Hamilton — C9 — Fort Hamilton
Built by General St. Clair in 1791, on his campaign against the Indians. It was enlarged in 1792 and used by General Wayne in 1793, on his march to Fallen Timbers. — Map (db m30661) HM
Ohio (Butler County), Hamilton — Founding of Fort Hamilton
On this spot in the year of our Lord 1791 General Arthur St. Clair founded Fort Hamilton. Here, in 1793 General Anthony Wayne organized his expedition against the Indians which gave to this Republic five great states. Here our forefathers first bridged the Great Miami River. Here in the year of 1914 the People of Butler County builded this bridge of enduring materials and dedicated it to the use and enjoyment of future generations. Esto Perptua — Map (db m30657) HM
Ohio (Butler County), Hamilton — French Exploration
Pierre-Joseph Celron, sieur de Bienville, with 200 to 250 French soldiers and some Indians, was sent in 1749 to renew and strengthen France's claim to the Ohio country and drive out the British. During navigation of the Allegheny, Ohio and Great Miami rivers, he buried lead plates with the text declaring the French land claim. He also sought Indian cooperation in the fur trade. — Map (db m73591) HM
Ohio (Butler County), Hamilton — Grand Army of the Republic Memorial
To Honor Our Fathers The Grand Army Of the Republic [Dedicated] May 30, 1941 — Map (db m73636) WM
Ohio (Butler County), Hamilton — Hamilton
Immortalized by William Dean Howells in his book "A Boy's Town" — Map (db m73627) HM
Ohio (Butler County), Hamilton — Hamilton Hydraulic
The privately developed Hamilton Hydraulic opened Jan. 27, 1845, providing cheap, reliable water power and starting Hamilton's era of industrial growth and diversification. Water was diverted into the hydraulic canal system from the Great Miami River north of Hamilton. The water level fell 29 feet in about five miles before returning to the river at the foot of Market Street. — Map (db m73598) HM
Ohio (Butler County), Hamilton — Heritage Hall
Heritage Hall features rotating historical exhibits highlighting Hamilton's rich industrial and business heritage. It is the home of the Robert McCloskey Museum which honors the famous children's author and artist. Three of his books reflect his early years in Hamilton. — Map (db m73633) HM
Ohio (Butler County), Hamilton — High-Main Street Bridge
The filled Spandrel concrete arch bridge previously located at this crossing was constructed by A.J. Yawger & Company in 1914 after the Flood of 1913. It was the fourth structure to cross the Great Miami River at this location. The bridge consisted of five equal concrete arch spans that extended ninety-five feet from span to span. The structure was considered eligible for the National Register of Historic Places individually in 1994 for its engineering design and construction, and later as . . . — Map (db m73596) HM
Ohio (Butler County), Hamilton — 7-9 — Lane-Hooven House
Side A: James Elrick, a local carpenter, built the Lane-Hooven House in 1863 for Clark Lane (1823-1907), a Hamilton industrialist and philanthropist. Lane, who first came to the area at age twenty-one as a blacksmith, resided in the house for more than eleven years. In 1866, Lane built the library, also originally an octagon, across the street. In 1868, he conveyed the library to the city. The C. Earl Hooven family resided in the house from 1895 to 1942. In 1943, Bertrand Kahn purchased . . . — Map (db m28775) HM
Ohio (Butler County), Hamilton — Lentil Park
This park was established by the Hamilton Community Foundation on land owned by the city. It was one of several major legacy gifts to Hamilton by the Foundation in celebration of its 50th Anniversary. The Foundation wished to honor Hamilton's famous native son, Robert McCloskey, award-winning author and illustrator of children's books. Nancy Schön, internationally renowned Boston sculptor and close friend of Mr. McCloskey, was commissioned to create a large bronze likeness of Lentil and . . . — Map (db m73638) HM
Ohio (Butler County), Hamilton — Native American Trail
The site for Fort Hamilton was chosen because of a ford on the Great Miami River at the approximate site of the High - Main Street Bridge. That shallow crossing was believed to have been on an ancient Indian trail known as the Wabash Trail. The U. S. Army used the ford Oct. 4, 1791, as it began a campaign from Fort Hamilton against the Indians. — Map (db m73615) HM
Ohio (Butler County), Hamilton — Old Log Building
This log building, which was erected while this part of the country was still a wilderness, is a silent tribute to the courageous and hardy Americans who preceded you who read this. This tribute symbolizes the strength and character of which we are all so proud. The building was erected sometime about 1804 on the west side of Hamilton then called Rossville. It sat on the south side of Boudinot Street between Second and Third Streets, since renamed “C” and “D” . . . — Map (db m30660) HM
Ohio (Butler County), Hamilton — 10-9 — Rossville Historic District
Side A: Rossville was settled in April 1801 shortly after the U.S. Government initiated land sales west of the Great Miami River. Its original proprietors--John Sutherland, Henry Brown, Jacob Burnet, James Smith and William Ruffin--named the town in honor of Pennsylvania Senator James Ross (1762-1847), who favored Ohio statehood and advocated free navigation of inland rivers. These founders envisioned Rossville as a shipping port for the rapidly growing population of farmers settling . . . — Map (db m28790) HM
Ohio (Butler County), Hamilton — Site of Fort Hamilton
Fort Hamilton was completed Sept. 30, 1791, and occupied by the U. S. Army commanded by Gen. Arthur St. Clair. The supply base was the first in a chain of outposts north of Cincinnati (Fort Washington) in the Northwest Territory. The log structure also supplied the victorious army of Gen. Anthony Wayne, 1792-1795. Completion of the fort is considered Hamilton's founding date. — Map (db m73600) HM
Ohio (Butler County), Hamilton — 25-9 — Soldiers, Sailors, and Pioneers Monument"Victory, the Jewel of the Soul"
Side A: Soldiers, Sailors, and Pioneers Monument The Soldiers, Sailors, and Pioneers Monument was planned and promoted by Butler County Civil War veterans and financed by a county levy in 1899. The monument, built of Indiana Limestone, is near the center of the site of Fort Hamilton, built in 1791 and named in honor of Alexander Hamilton, Secretary of the Treasury in President George Washington's cabinet. Featured, are two large, colorful windows that recognize the contributions of . . . — Map (db m30705) HM
Ohio (Butler County), Hamilton — The Dream of Hamiltonia
Relaxing by the Great Miami, Hamiltonia dreams. She dreams of children presenting her with the Helmet of Hope, a symbol for a bright future. - Norikazu T. Tsuchiya, Sculptor — Map (db m73597) HM
Ohio (Butler County), Hamilton — The High-Main Street Bridge
Dedicated on May 6, 2007 to the Citizens and Visitors of Hamilton, as the fifth bridge in this location since 1819. The major link of the east and west sides of Hamilton, formerly towns of Rossville and Hamilton. [List of officials] — Map (db m73624) HM
Ohio (Butler County), Hamilton — The Old Well
of the original Fort Hamilton was located 31 feet west of this marker In memory of Carl E. Margedant — Map (db m30662) HM
Ohio (Butler County), Hamilton — Veterans Memorial
May all who pause and are refreshed here reflect on those who went forth from their homes to defend American freedom ———————— This fountain, erected 1949, was conceived and sponsored by the Mothers' & Dads' Service Club and erected by the People of Hamilton, Ohio — Map (db m73622) WM
Ohio (Butler County), Hamilton — 12-9 — William Dean Howells
Author William Dean Howells (1837-1920) spent his boyhood from 1840 to 1848 in Hamilton. Called the "Dean of American Letters," Howells wrote 35 novels, 35 plays, 34 miscellaneous books, 6 books of literary criticism, 4 books of poetry, and hundreds of newspaper and magazine articles. He shaped the destiny of fellow writers by editing their works for Atlantic Monthly and Harper's. His autobiography entitled A Boy's Town fondly recalls growing up in Hamilton. Throughout . . . — Map (db m28772) HM
Ohio (Butler County), Middletown — Butler County Civil War Memorial
In memory of our Soldiers and Sailors by the People of Butler Co. Statue the gift of Hon. Paul J. Sorg — Map (db m29977) HM
Ohio (Butler County), Middletown — Canal BoatsPort Middletown Plaza
Canal boats were designed to haul freight up to 80 tons. Pulled usually by mules, they traveled at approximately three miles per hour. [Photos] Left, freighters on the Miami & Erie Canal just south of Third Street (now Central Avenue) in 1910. Below, the line boat Ohio at Woodsdale in 1900. — Map (db m30422) HM
Ohio (Butler County), Middletown — Canal LocksPort Middletown Plaza
Canal locks were built to raise and lower boats as the elevation of the land changed. There were 106 locks on the Miami & Erie Canal to overcome a difference in elevation of 512 feet. The Excello Lock, left, was the first lock completed on the original Miami Canal in 1826. The Doty Lock, below, was the original Lock #1. — Map (db m30423) HM
Ohio (Butler County), Middletown — Middletown Korean Conflict Memorial
This memorial is dedicated in memory of those men and women who served so gallantly for their country during the Korean Conflict, may this living memorial serve as a constant reminder for their struggle for freedom and to the ones who never came home. May they never be forgotten. Dedicated 25th day of May, 1987 Korean Conflict June 25, 1950-July 27, 1953 [U.S.] Casualties 140,546 U.S. Servicemen MIA 8,100 Middletown Men KIA Robert Tibbs • Robert Williams . . . — Map (db m29990) WM
Ohio (Butler County), Middletown — Middletown Veterans Memorial
Honoring all Veterans in times of peace and war [Includes an Honor Roll of] Area Veterans Who Died in the Service of Their Country Dedicated July 4, 2004 — Map (db m29991) HM
Ohio (Butler County), Middletown — Middletown War Memorial Flagpole
Honoring Middletown's Veterans who gave their lives in the nation's wars Dedicated June 14, 1995 — Map (db m29668) HM
Ohio (Butler County), Middletown — Middletown World War II Memorial Chapel & Plaza
Dedicated by the grateful citizens of Middletown to the members of the armed services who gave their lives to preserve the American ideals of liberty justice and democracy World War II Memorial This plot contains a cross for each service man or woman who died while serving his country during World War II Dec. 7, 1941 - Sept. 2, 1945 — Map (db m29979) HM
Ohio (Butler County), Middletown — Ohio CanalsPort Middletown Plaza
Canals were built in Ohio to provide a better way to transport goods to the eastern markets. Two major canals were built connecting the Ohio River to Lake Erie - the Ohio Erie & [sic Ohio & Erie] Canal running from Portsmouth to Cleveland and the Miami & Erie Canal from Cincinnati to Toledo. On July 21, 1825, Governor DeWitt Clinton of New York State broke ground in Middletown for the Miami Canal. Two years later on July 1, 1827, water from the Great Miami River was let into the canal and . . . — Map (db m30375) HM
Ohio (Butler County), Middletown — Port MiddletownPort Middletown Plaza
Port Middletown, located at Third St. (Central Ave.), was the main port along the Miami & Erie Canal. A scale was located there and tolls were collected. [Photos] Left, a fire in 1881 at the Ben Smith Livery at Port Middletown has just been extinguished. Below, a line boat docked at Port Middletown in 1881. — Map (db m30418) HM
Ohio (Butler County), Middletown — Remembrance Rock
About 20,000 years ago this pink granite boulder was brought from Canada by the Wisconsin Glacier and deposited near here, along the Great Miami River. — Map (db m29625) HM
Ohio (Butler County), Middletown — Start of the Miami and Erie Canal1825 - 1929
In emulation of those who, July 21, 1825, here began the building of the Miami & Erie Canal, this Ohio property was rededicated November 2, 1929, to its original purpose - transportation, with the confident hope that a super-highway soon would follow — Map (db m29665) HM
Ohio (Butler County), Middletown — The Miami & Erie Canal in MiddletownPort Middletown Plaza
Ohio's canal system was the most effective between 1827 and 1850, before the introduction of the railroads. In Middletown, the canal was still used well into the 20th century but in 1913 a devastating flood destroyed much of the canal. In 1929 water was drained from the canal and the canal bed was filled in, paved and dedicated in 1938 as Verity Parkway. [Photo] Left, in 1906 the line boat Excello, captained by Earl Winter, was the last regular canal boat taken out of Middletown. — Map (db m30430) HM
Ohio (Butler County), Middletown — The Miami & Erie Canal Lift Bridge
The lift bridge built in 1899 across the Miami & Erie Canal at Third Street (now Central Ave.), was the third bridge at this site since the canal began in 1825. An electric motor was used to raise the west portion of the floor of the bridge up the iron superstructure to allow canal boats to pass. The total cost was $8,450 and the lift bridge was recognized as one of the finest in the state. The bridge ws removed in 1914. [Photo] Left, Spanish-American War troops from Company L, First . . . — Map (db m30431) HM
Ohio (Butler County), Middletown — Underground Railroad Route1830 - 1860
Verity Pkw. once Miami-Erie Canal an Underground Railroad route 1830 - 1860 Those traveling along Underground Railroad found safe stations in N. Main St. homes of African-Americans listed on other side Rice • Hawkins • Colston Burget • Miller • Hardy Edwards • Nutter • Davis Smith • Robison • Merrit Armstead • Mitchell Census 1830--1860 — Map (db m29667) HM
Ohio (Butler County), Middletown — World War II Veterans Memorial BenchDedicated to All Veterans
Lest we forget their generation Honoring the men and women who have served But let us be glad that such heroes have lived and mourn those who gave the ultimate sacrifice “Battle of the Bulge” 800,000 soldiers fought, 12,000 were killed 62,000 were wounded, captured or missing in action. The greatest land battle in history of the US Army — Map (db m29669) HM
Ohio (Butler County), Miltonville — Bambo Harris Grist Mill
In c1795 Bambo Harris a freed black slave built and operated the first Water Driven gristmill in the area on Elk Creek. For fifty years his Millstones ground wheat and corn. A member of the Prairie Baptist Church, he was highly respected in the community. Bambo Harris lies at Rest in the Miltonville Cemetery. Millstones donated by Charles Wesco & Family — Map (db m28779) HM
Ohio (Butler County), Miltonville — 5-9 — Village of Miltonville
The village of Miltonville, located along the banks of Elk Creek, was platted in 1816 by George Bennett, Theophilus Eaglesfield, and Richard V. V. Crane. The creek served two grist mills, one built around 1804 and operated by a free black, Bambo Harris, and the second built by George Bennett in 1815. An Indian burial ground was located on the east bank of Elk Creek near the site of Huff's Ferry. Eagle Tavern, the area's first three-story brick inn, was a stopover for stagecoach lines . . . — Map (db m28776) HM
Ohio (Butler County), Okeana — 26-9 — 1858 Morgan Township House / Copperheadism in Butler County
Side A: 1858 Morgan Township House On April 20, 1857, the trustees of Morgan Township met in Okeana to obtain a lot for the township house. From a quarter mill tax levy, $850 was budgeted for a house and lot. Money expended on the project included $50 for the lot, $650 for the construction of the building, $41 for fencing, $12.60 for twelve chairs, and $10.25 for a table. Since its completion in 1858, this meeting house has been used for trustee meetings, a voting precinct, village . . . — Map (db m24000) HM
Ohio (Butler County), Okeana — 1-31 — Birthplace of William BebbGovernor of Ohio — 1846-1848
Edward Bebb, father of William Bebb and first Welshman to settle in Paddy's Run, Morgan Township, Butler County purchased this cabin in 1801. Originally the cabin stood four miles southeast of this site on the Dry Fork of the Whitewater River. It was here that William Bebb was born on December 8, 1802, the first white child born in Butler County west of the Great Miami River. At the age of twenty, after attending district schools, William Bebb became a teacher. In 1826 he became the first . . . — Map (db m24001) HM
Ohio (Butler County), Okeana — Founding Members of the Morgan Township Fire Department
Our Founding Members Earl Bennett Zelotes Brown Homer Davis Leonard Fagaly Robert L. Kimball Fred Mabis Eli Parkhurst Stanley Scheering Carl Skjoldager Frank L. Tompkins This Fire Station is dedicated in memory of Chief Frank L. Tompkins For his 34 years of dedicated service to the community of Morgan Township Served 1948 - 1982 — Map (db m24782) HM
Ohio (Butler County), Oxford — 15-9 — Langstroth Cottage / Lorenzo Langstroth"The Bee-Man of Oxford"
Side A: Langstroth Cottage Reverend Lorenzo Langstroth, renowned as "The Father of American Beekeeping," lived in this simple two-story, eight-room house with his wife, Anne, and their three children from 1858 to 1887. Unchanged externally, the Greek Revival cottage features brick pilasters and pediments and a fan-shaped front window. In his garden workshop, Langstroth made experimental beehives, established an apiary, and on the ten acres that surrounded his home, grew buckwheat, clover, . . . — Map (db m24009) HM
Ohio (Butler County), Oxford — Oxford Veterans Memorial
In honor of all veterans who proudly served our country and flag Gratefully dedicated to those who offered their lives in the cause of freedom Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial Park “When people get caught up with that which is right and they are willing to sacrifice for it, there is no stopping point short of victory.” Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. — Map (db m24783) HM
Ohio (Butler County), Oxford — 13-9 — The DeWitt Family / The DeWitt Log Homestead
Side A: The DeWitt Family Zachariah Price DeWitt was born of a Dutch family in New Jersey in 1768. With brothers Jacob and Peter, he migrated to Kentucky where, in 1790, he married Elizabeth Teets, who was born in Pennsylvania in 1774. By 1805 all three brothers had settled in Ohio near Four Mile (Talawanda) Creek. Here Zachariah and Elizabeth raised corn, hogs, and eventually, nine children. Zachariah became a prominent community leader, operating a sawmill, building houses in Oxford, . . . — Map (db m24064) HM
Ohio (Butler County), Oxford — 27-9 — The Doty Settlement / The Pioneer Farmstead
Side A: The Doty Settlement As Oxford Township was developing in the mid-1800s, a cluster of farmsteads near its northern border was designated the "Doty Settlement." As was the custom, the community took its name from a prominent family in the area. In or near the settlement were a church and cemetery, a school, a blacksmith shop, a sawmill, a distillery, a furniture shop, and a fulling mill for cleansing, shrinking, and thickening cloth. With the frontier spirit of self-reliance, it . . . — Map (db m24015) HM
Ohio (Butler County), Oxford — The Legend of the Baby in the Well
This original dug well relates to one of the several fascinating legends of Zachariah and Elizabeth DeWitt. As reported by Ralph McGinnis in The History of Oxford, Ohio, from the Earliest Days to the Present, Zachariah heard Elizabeth's screams as she discovered that their baby was gone: “Finally, when the despairing mother had about given up hope, a thin, but indignant wail was heard proceeding from the vicinity of the open well in the cabin yard. Mrs. DeWitt knew the voice . . . — Map (db m24072) HM
Ohio (Butler County), Oxford — 23-9 — The Restoration Movement / Doty Settlement Cemetery
Side A: The Restoration Movement In the early years of the nineteenth century, a religious unrest known as the Second Great Awakening spread across much of the American frontier. Among the most influential of the evolving religious organizations were the Campbellites, or Disciples of Christ, founded in the 1820s by Thomas and Alexander Campbell. The Campbellite movement sought to "restore" New Testament Christianity by calling for a return to the primitive church revealed in the gospels. . . . — Map (db m24051) HM
Ohio (Butler County), Oxford — The Verlin L. Pulley Tower
The life of Verlin L. Pulley was long intertwined with Miami University. A member of the class of 1925 A trustee from 1959 to 1965 A resident orf Oxford since graduation and mayor of Oxford from 1936-1940 The founder of Capitol Varsity Cleaning Company one of the largest dry-cleaning companies in the United States. Verlin and his wife, Corola Wood Pulley '25, were the parents of three Miami graduates: William W. Pulley, MBA '58 Robert W. Pulley '52 Thomas W. Pulley . . . — Map (db m25006) HM
Ohio (Butler County), Oxford — William Holmes McGuffey1800 - 1873
Who, while professor in Miami University compiled the famous McGuffey Readers which established the social standards of the Great Middle West of the United States for three-quarters of a century. Professor of Miami University 1825-36 President of Ohio University 1839-43 Professor of University of Virginia 1845-73 Eminent Divine and Philosopher Peer of Great College Teachers Inspirer of Young Men The First Lesson of The First McGuffey First Reader 1836 . . . — Map (db m24781) HM
Ohio (Butler County), Oxford — 14-9 — William Holmes McGuffey House
Side A: William Holmes McGuffey (1800-1873) was a Miami University faculty member in 1836 when he compiled the first edition of the McGuffey Eclectic Reader in this house. His Reader taught lessons in reading, spelling, and civic education by using memorable stories of honesty, hard work, thrift, personal respect, and moral and ethical standards alongside illustrative selections from literary works. The six-edition series increased in difficulty and was developed with the help of . . . — Map (db m24012) HM
Ohio (Butler County), Shandon — 17-9 — Paddy's Run
Side A: The foundation for the first Welsh settlement in Ohio was laid on June 29, 1801, when William and Morgan Gwilym purchased land in what is now Morgan Township at the Cincinnati Land Office. The Welsh, who settled in Pennsylvania beginning in the late eighteenth century, moved westward and settled here in 1802. This area was also the major terminus for the 1818 migration from Montgomeryshire and Cardiganshire in Wales. In 1803 a Congregational Church was organized and services were . . . — Map (db m23991) HM
Ohio (Butler County), Trenton — Founder's Park
Site of the home of Trenton's founder, Michael Pearce, and his wife, Phebe Squier Pearce. The family migrated from New Jersey in 1801, purchased 1,500 acres, and settled in this location. Michael Pearce and David Enyeart platted the village of 33 lots in 1816 under the name of Bloomfield. The name was changed to Trenton in 1820 upon application for a Post Office. — Map (db m29681) HM
Ohio (Butler County), Trenton — 18-9 — The Village of Trenton / The Elk Creek Baptist Church and Cemetery
Side A: The Village of Trenton Platted 1816. Incorporated as Village 1895. Became a city 1971 Trenton's founder, Michael Pearce, came to the area in 1801. The original village of 33 lots was named Bloomfield. When the post office was established in 1820, it was named Trenton to honor the founder's home state of New Jersey. Pearce's son-in-law, Squier Littell, was the first resident doctor in Butler County. Originally settled by the English, Trenton saw a migration of Germans by . . . — Map (db m28792) HM
Ohio (Butler County), West Chester — 20-9 — The Voice of America Bethany Station
During the height of World War II, President Franklin Roosevelt turned to the innovative engineers of the Crosley Broadcasting Corporation to build powerful short wave radio transmitters capable of delivering broadcasts overseas. On farm fields near Crosley's WLW facility, six 200 kilowatt transmitters and 24 directional reentrant rhombic antennas were built and on September 23, 1944, the Voice of America Bethany Station was dedicated. The first broadcast was directed at Nazi Germany and began . . . — Map (db m23994) HM
Ohio (Carroll County), Carrollton — “Fighting McCook” Home
Build 1830 by Maj. Daniel McCook, Sr. Birthplace of four younger of his nine sons, eight of whom with the father served in the Civil War. All commissioned officers except one. Surg'n Latimer A.; Gen. George W.; Maj.-Gen. Robert L.; Maj.-Gen A. McDowell; Brig.-Gen. Daniel, Jr.; Maj.-Gen. Edwin S.;'Priv. Charles M.; Col. John J. — Map (db m291) HM
Ohio (Carroll County), Carrollton — 1-10 — The Fighting McCooks and the Civil War
Major Daniel McCook of Carrollton and his 9 sons and their cousins, the 5 sons of Dr. John McCook of Steubenville, won popular acclaim for their outstanding service in the United States Army an Navy. “TRIBE OF DAN” Maj. Daniel: mortally wounded at Buffington Island. Maj Latimer: a surgeon. Brig. Gen. George: early regimental commander Midshipman John: died at sea. Brig. Gen. Alexander: commander of the 20th Corps. Brig. Gen. Daniel Jr.: mortally wounded at Kennesaw . . . — Map (db m290) HM
Ohio (Carroll County), Carrollton — The First Courthouse
Site of Carroll County's first courthouse, built in 1835. Bricks were burned one block west in the Atkinson-McCook brickyard and laid in "Flemish Bond" style. The bell was cast in Pittsburgh in 1842, shipped by boat to Wellsville, and brought to Carrollton by ox-cart. George Y. Hampson, contractor; Peter Herold, Sr., carpenter. First elected commissioners were John Shober, William Davis and James Ferrall. — Map (db m289) HM
Ohio (Carroll County), Salineville — Morgan’s Raid
Here on July 26, 1863 occurred the northernmost engagement of Confederate forces during the Civil War. In this immediate area, troops under Major General John H. Morgan, C.S.A., and General James Shackelford, U.S.A., met in full engagement. After evading Union troops, Morgan’s forces were re-formed at Norristown, from whence they proceeded to West Point, where Morgan surrendered his command. — Map (db m243) HM
Ohio (Champaign County), Christianburg — 2-11 — Marion A. RossIn Memory of
Born here October 9, 1832. Attended Antioch College. Member of Mt. Olivet Masonic Lodge. Enlisted in the 2nd Ohio Volunteer Infantry Regiment and volunteered for the famous Andrews Raid. The raiders seized "The General" locomotive at Big Shanty, Georgia, April 12, 1862. Captured and executed, Ross is buried in the National Cemetery, Chattanooga, Tenn. Awarded posthumously the Medal of Honor, September 1863. — Map (db m76518) HM
Ohio (Champaign County), Mechanicsburg — 16-11 — Addison White
Side A: Congress passed Fugitive Slave Laws in 1793 and 1850, allowing federal marshals to arrest slaves that had escaped to the North and take them back to their southern owners. They could also arrest northerners suspected of aiding runaway slaves. These laws were contested throughout the North, including Ohio where one case received national press. It involved escaped slave Addison White who arrived in Mechanicsburg in August 1856. There he met abolitionist Udney Hyde and stayed at . . . — Map (db m13760) HM
Ohio (Champaign County), Mechanicsburg — 23-11 — James Roy Hopkins
Side A: James R. Hopkins was born May 17, 1877, in Irwin and graduated from Mechanicsburg High School in 1895. As a child, he gained exposure to art through his mother, Nettie, an accomplished self-taught water colorist. Hopkins enrolled at The Ohio State University to study electrical engineering, but realized a strong desire to study art. In 1898, Hopkins entered the Art Institute of Cincinnati, studying under noted artist Frank Duveneck and acquiring the academic draftsmanship that . . . — Map (db m13729) HM
Ohio (Champaign County), Mechanicsburg — 9-11 — Joseph E. Wing
Joseph E. Wing was one of the first persons to identify, promote, and grow alfalfa as a forage crop east of the Mississippi River. He developed his interest in alfalfa while in Utah, where he worked on a cattle ranch. When he returned, Wing began promoting the alfalfa culture, traveling among farmers in Champaign County and neighboring counties. Eventually, his travels, lectures, and study of soils, crops, and animals took him around the world. Wing also worked on the staff of the Breeders . . . — Map (db m13761) HM
Ohio (Champaign County), Mechanicsburg — 25-11 — Mechanicsburg United Methodist Church
The Mechanicsburg United Methodist congregation was founded in the early nineteenth century and met first in open-air camp meetings before moving into a small log school building. In 1820 the congregation built a wood framed church on East Sandusky Street and that building was replaced with a brick structure in 1838. The congregation split in 1853 into Trinity Methodist and First Methodist with both groups serving the village of Mechanicsburg for 103 years before coming back together in 1956. . . . — Map (db m13730) HM
Ohio (Champaign County), Mechanicsburg — 19-11 — Second Baptist Church
Side A: This site has long served the religious, education, and public interests of the residents of Mechanicsburg. A local Methodist congregation built its first church here in 1820, and the townspeople also used the structure as its village school. The Methodists replaced their original structure in 1837, using brick as the main building material. As the Methodist congregation grew, however, it was determined that a larger, more permanent structure was needed. As a result, the . . . — Map (db m13731) HM
Ohio (Champaign County), Mechanicsburg — W.W. I Veterans Memorial
first plaque- Center of Intersection Site of World War I Veterans Memorial 1919 - 1934 plaque placed by Donald Cannon Post 238 of the American Legion — Map (db m77271) HM
Ohio (Champaign County), St. Paris — 22-11 — A. B. Graham
Albert B. “A. B.” Graham was born in Champaign County on March 13, 1868, the son of Joseph and Esther Graham. He was raised in a small rural home, but a fire destroyed the house in 1879, and the family moved to Lena where Graham attended local schools, graduating at age 17. After attending the National Normal University in Lebanon, he returned to Champaign County where he taught, then became principal, and later an innovative superintendent. Graham also was enthusiastic about . . . — Map (db m13789) HM
Ohio (Champaign County), St. Paris — 24-11 — Lincoln Funeral Train
President Abraham Lincoln's assassination on April 14, 1865, created a national tragedy, and the nation mourned as his body was transported by rail from Washington D.C. back to Springfield, Illinois, where he would be buried. In Champaign County, Ohio, the train passed through Urbana and Westville late at night April 29 and traveled through the Blue Hills for eight miles of dangerous curves and hills to arrive in St. Paris. Reaching the summit in St. Paris, the train paused near Springfield . . . — Map (db m13790) HM
Ohio (Champaign County), St. Paris — Site of Walborn & Riker Co.
This company was known world wide for quality pony pleasure vehicles, 1881 - 1914 — Map (db m13803) HM
Ohio (Champaign County), St. Paris — St. Paris and Johnson Township World War I Memorial
In grateful remembrance of “Our Boys” who answered their Country's call in the World War Apr. 6. 1917-Nov. 11. 1918 Saint Paris Johnson Twp. Reverse When the service flag has faded, and the hands that it caressed have been folded calm and peaceful on each Mother's loving breast, then the torch they passed unto us, we will bear forever on. With our lives we will defend it, we like they will carry on. — Map (db m13807) HM
Ohio (Champaign County), St. Paris — St. Paris and Johnson Township World War II Memorial
In memory of those who died for us in World War II: Niece, Robert • Richeson, Herman • Rush, Ralph M. • Cretors, Robert K. • Leasure, Karl • Mott, Garner • Peacock, Eldon D. To the memory of those who served in World War II this symbol is erected to immortalize the honor, respect and gratitude of a people. Through their sacrifices our world has once again been assured of freedom of speech, freedom of want, freedom of fear, and freedom of worship. Dedicated this . . . — Map (db m13806) HM
Ohio (Champaign County), St. Paris — St. Paris Korea and Vietnam Veterans Memorial
Dedicated to the men and women of this community who helped preserve the freedom of all humanity for all ages to come. Killed in Action Korea Kermit E. Jenkins Nelson A. Biddle Vietnam Philip L. Grieser William M. Short — Map (db m13805) WM
250 markers matched your search criteria.
Click to map all markers shown on this page.
Click First to browse through the results shown on this page.   First >> 


•••
More Search Options
 
Markers
Near You

 
Categories

 
States & Provinces

 
Counties
Click to List


 
Countries

Page composed
in 266 ms.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
To search within this page, hold down the Ctrl key and press F.
On an Apple computer,
hold down the Apple key and press F.