|South Carolina (Abbeville County), Abbeville — "Big Bob"|
|This Alarm Bell Was Acquired
During The Term Of
Robert McGowan Hill
Mayor, 1892 - 1898
And Named For Him. — Map (db m11852) HM|
|South Carolina (Abbeville County), Abbeville — Abbeville County Confederate Monument|
"The world shall yet decide,
In truth's clear, far-off light,
That the soldiers who wore the gray, and died
With Lee were in the right!"
"Brave men may die - right has no death;
Truth never shall pass away."
"Come from the four winds,
O breath and breathe upon these slain,
That they may live."
"On fame's eternal camping ground
Their silent tents are spread
And glory . . . — Map (db m11279) WM|
|South Carolina (Abbeville County), Abbeville — Abbeville County Courthouse (1908)|
|Abbeville's 6th courthouse - designed in beaux arts classical style by Edwards & Walter of Atlanta - dedicated in 1908 with City Hall/Opera House. (Two buildings indirectly financed by profits from Abbeville Dispensary, only one still operating above Columbia.)
• 1st Courthouse - wooden frame building, pulled down in 1825.
• 2nd Courthouse (c. 1825) - two-story brick building demolished after discovery of workmen's fraud (kaolin used instead of lime in mortar).
• 3rd Courthouse (c. . . . — Map (db m14870) HM|
|South Carolina (Abbeville County), Abbeville — Abbeville County Veterans Memorial|
|In Grateful Memory
Of our loves ones from Abbeville County
who stand in the unbroken lines of
patriots who have dared to die that
freedom might live and grow and increase
World War I
Sam Adams, Cleveland Allen, William A. Bobo, Willie A. Bonds, Clarence Boyd, John Bryant, Paul Butler, Jake Childs, Brodas W. Davis, William Donaldson, Edgar E. Eakin, Eugene B. Gary, Jr., Amos Glover, Earl A. Hall, Sam Harkness, William Houston, Claude Eugene Hughes, Eugene . . . — Map (db m11859) WM|
|South Carolina (Abbeville County), Abbeville — Abbeville Opera House (1908)|
Abbeville was a railway stopover for "road companies" traveling eastern seaboard from New York to Atlanta so town included an Opera House in its new municipal building designed by Edwards & Walter of Atlanta.
• Dedicated October 1st, 1908 along with Court House
• October 10th "The Great Divide" opened on its 7500 square foot stage
• Many well known artists appeared in 250 live performances staged by traveling companies including dramas, minstrel shows, vaudeville
• 1910 . . . — Map (db m10354) HM|
|South Carolina (Abbeville County), Abbeville — Abbeville Square — A Stately County Square|
The heart of Abbeville's Historic District is the magnificent tree-shaded Court Square. Located here is the replica of the original Confederate Monument erected in August, 1906 by the Daughters of the Confederacy, an old iron bell once used as the town fire alarm, and the Humane Society Alliance Fountain. We hope you'll take time to visit the many significant historic buildings that stand watch over the Square while in Abbeville.
Opened in 1903 as the Eureka Hotel, . . . — Map (db m12097) HM|
|South Carolina (Abbeville County), Abbeville — 1-4 — Abbeville's Confederate Colonels|
|Augustus J. Lythgoe, 19 S.C. Inf.
Killed Murfreesboro, 1862
J. Foster Marshall, Orr's Rifles
Killed Second Manassas, 1862
George M. Miller, Orr's Rifles
Wounded Spotsylvania, 1864
James M. Perrin, Orr's Rifles
Killed Chancellorsville, 1863
Thomas Thomson, Moore's Rifles
Served Oct. 22, 1861-Dec. 10, 1863 — Map (db m10625) HM|
|South Carolina (Abbeville County), Abbeville — Belmont Inn (1903)|
Opened August 1903 as $30,000 hotel "The Eureka" under management W.T. McFall. Built to cater to "drummers" of the textile trade with 30 rooms and 1 public bath. Banquet rooms used to show their wares while Curtain Call Lounge was a barber shop. Touring theatre companies performing at Opera House also stayed there during railway stopovers in Abbeville. Closed in early 1970s but restored and reopened in 1984 as "Belmont Inn" full service hotel with 25 rooms. — Map (db m7169) HM|
|South Carolina (Abbeville County), Abbeville — 1-5 — Birthplace of Calhoun|
On this land settled by his father Patrick Calhoun in the 1750s, defended against the Indians in the Cherokee War and the enemies of liberty in the American Revolution, John Caldwell Calhoun, American statesman and champion of the old South, was born March 18, 1782, and nurtured to young manhood. — Map (db m10626) HM|
|South Carolina (Abbeville County), Abbeville — Bowie — Christian Pioneers|
| Front (East) Inscription
Abraham Boey came from Sterlingshire, Scotland to Charles County, Md. about 1700. His son John had six sons, one being Rhodi who married Ann Price. Rhodi's six children moved to Abbeville County, S.C. ca. 1802-1815. Four are buried in Old Bowie Burial Ground ½ mile north. They are:
Eli Bowie, Rhodi's oldest son, came to S.C. about 1802. Married Katherine Franklin. Founded Gilgal Methodist Church. Many descendants.
Catherine, Spinster. First . . . — Map (db m43827) HM|
|South Carolina (Abbeville County), Abbeville — 1-3 — Bowie Family Memorial|
Erected by the descendants of
Abraham Bowie, born in Scotland
and settled in Durham Parish,
Charles County, Maryland, about
1700 A.D. The family of his grandson
Rhody Bowie, moved to Abbeville
County, South Carolina about 1800.
Eli Bowie, son of Rhody Bowie,
established Gilgal Church in 1817.
This church is located two miles
east of this memorial and is the
site of the Bowie reunion each year. — Map (db m9338) HM|
|South Carolina (Abbeville County), Abbeville — 1-7 — Burt-Stark House / Jefferson Davis’s Flight|
|Burt-Stark House When Jefferson Davis, President of the Confederacy, left Richmond after its fall in April 1865, he traveled south, trying to reach and rally the remnants of his army. On May 2, he spent the night at the home of Col. Armistead Burt. In 1971, Burt’s grand-niece Mary Stark Davis gave this historic house and all its furnishings to Abbeville's Historic Preservation Commission.
Jefferson Davis’s Flight
Here, at the home of Colonel Burt, President Jefferson Davis held . . . — Map (db m10564) HM|
|South Carolina (Abbeville County), Abbeville — Clarence E. Pressley|
In Memory of
Clarence E. Pressley
A Son of Abbeville, South Carolina
Businessman - Humanitarian - Leader
Friend - Mentor - Family Protector. — Map (db m25197) HM|
|South Carolina (Abbeville County), Abbeville — 1-18 — Colonial Block House/Fort Pickens|
|Colonial Block House
A "block house," a log building on a stone foundation, stood SE on Parker Creek from ca. 1767 into the 1850's. It was built by Andrew Pickens (1759-1817), later a militia general in the American Revolution, a state representative and senator, and a U.S. Congressman. Pickens married Rebecca Calhoun in 1765, moved to the Long Canes settlement, and built his home nearby.
The block house was an outpost near the boundary between Indian lands and white . . . — Map (db m77340) HM|
|South Carolina (Abbeville County), Abbeville — Conservation Cabin|
|Built by James Fell in 1815
in the Cedar Springs area
of old Abbeville District — Map (db m11863) HM|
|South Carolina (Abbeville County), Abbeville — Constitution Tree|
of the Signing of
the United States
1787-1987 — Map (db m43733) HM|
|South Carolina (Abbeville County), Abbeville — First Burial in Long Cane Cemetery|
In memory of the first person, a young girl whose name is unknown. Buried here about 1760. The story goes that she was visiting the Lesly family and died as a result of injuries sustained while they were making lye soap. John Lesly and his brother, Thomas, who lived not far apart, set off walking from their homes and where they met they established this Lesly graveyard that was later renamed Upper Long Cane Cemetery.
This marker is placed on her grave in 2008 by members of the Upper . . . — Map (db m18756) HM|
|South Carolina (Abbeville County), Abbeville — First Secession Meeting Boulder|
marks the spot
were made. — Map (db m25192) HM|
|South Carolina (Abbeville County), Abbeville — First Secession Meeting Columns|
"Lord God of Hosts, Be With Us Yet,
Lest We Forget, Lest We Forget
On the hillside in the rear of this memorial on November 22, 1860, the first organized secession meeting was held.
On that day the ancient artillery company, the Southern Rights Dragoons, and companies of minute-men from Abbeville, Greenwood, Cokesbury, Ninety-Six, Bradley, Due West, Donalds, Wickliffe, and Calhoun's Mill marched in line together with an immence concourse of loyal citizens; . . . — Map (db m11691) HM|
|South Carolina (Abbeville County), Abbeville — Forest Lawn Memory Gardens Veterans Monument|
| West Facade
Seal of the U.S. Army
World War II
to the Glory of God
and to the Men of All
Seal of the U.S. Navy
World War I
In Loving Memory
of Our Sons Who Gave
Seal of the U.S. Marine Corps
to All Men in the
Valhalla Which All
Seal of the U.S. Air Force
and . . . — Map (db m41335) HM|
|South Carolina (Abbeville County), Abbeville — Fort Pickens|
marks the place
where, in 1767,
Gen. Andrew Pickens
as a place of refuge
against the Indians.
It was used as a fort
and was known as
Fort Pickens. — Map (db m18765) HM|
|South Carolina (Abbeville County), Abbeville — Harbison College President's Home|
|The National Register
of Historic Places:
President's Home — Map (db m37607) HM|
|South Carolina (Abbeville County), Abbeville — Henry McNeal Turner|
|Historical Bicentennial marker
in memory of
Henry McNeal Turner
Birthplace: Newberry, South Carolina - Boyhood home: Abbeville, South Carolina
Missionary Pioneer to South Africa, Liberation Theologian, Social and Political Activist, First Black United States Military Chaplain, Consecrated Twelfth Bishop, African Methodist Episcopal Church
-- 1880 --
Henry Wendell Murph
John Hurst Adams, Richard Allen Hildebrand, Samuel . . . — Map (db m20249) HM|
|South Carolina (Abbeville County), Abbeville — Humane Society Alliance Fountain (1912)|
One of 125 watering troughs/fountains presented to communities around the U.S. in early 1900's by National Humane Alliance with endowment from Herman Lee Ensign, founder. Minnie Maddern Fiske (1865-1932), actress/activist (husband president of the Alliance) was instigator of campaign to improve lot of workhorses & donated proceeds from her performances to fund these watering troughs. Abbeville's 5-ton fountain, one of the few still in original location, installed as watering trough in 1912. . . . — Map (db m11856) HM|
|South Carolina (Abbeville County), Abbeville — Last Cabinet Meeting Marker|
|This tablet was placed here
the last meeting of the
Confederate States Cabinet
which was held in the Burt House near by
directly in front of this stone.
The following cabinet members were present:
Jefferson Davis, President
Judah P. Benjamin, Secretary of State
John C. Breckenridge, Secretary of War
S.R. Mallory, Secretary of Navy
John H. Reagan, Post Master Gen'l
A council of war was held at the same
time with the . . . — Map (db m73949) HM|
|South Carolina (Abbeville County), Abbeville — Lebanon Presbyterian Church — 1821-1963|
| [Left Plaque]:
Original building of 1827 replaced by present building in 1963. standing on this rock, the first sermon was preached by Rev. R.B. Carter in 1820. The following ministers have faithfully served this church:
Rev. Richard B. Carter 1821-1831
Rev. Isaac Waddell 1832-1837
Rev. Charles Martin 1837-1838
Rev. James F. Gibert 1838-1882
Dr. J.O. Lindsay 1883-1900
Rev. J.C. Henderson 1903-1904
Rev. L.W. Brown 1904-1906
Rev. J.B. Hilhouse 1907-1924
Rev. J.R. . . . — Map (db m37588) HM|
|South Carolina (Abbeville County), Abbeville — 1-16 — Long Cane Cemetery|
This cemetery, sometimes called Upper Long Cane Cemetery, dates from 1760. It includes the graves of some of the most prominent families of this area from the Colonial era to the present. The first marked grave is the field stone of John Lesly, inscribed "A.D. 1776." The granite entrance pillars and stone wall were built in 1935 as a memorial to veterans of eight wars who are buried here. The cemetery was listed in the National Register of Historic Places in 2010.
. . . — Map (db m50740) HM|
|South Carolina (Abbeville County), Abbeville — 1-8 — Maj. Thomas D. Howie — The Major of St. Lô|
Birthplace of Thomas Dry Howie (1908–1944), World War II hero famous as “The Major of St. Lô,” Abbeville High School, Class of 1925. The Citadel, Class of 1929, where he was an all-state football player and was president of his class. Coach and teacher, Staunton Military Academy, Staunton Va., 1929-1941. Lt., 116th Inf. Va. National Guard, 1941. Promoted to major; served at regimental H.Q. until
July 1944, when he took command of the . . . — Map (db m9344) HM|
|South Carolina (Abbeville County), Abbeville — Major Thomas Dry Howie — Commander, 2nd Battalion, 116th Infantry, 29th Division U.S. Army — 1908–1944|
|Abbeville honors herself in
honoring her son
The Major of St. Lo.
He fell during the liberation of Normandy and was taken by his troops into St. Lo. His flag-draped body was enshrined in the ruins of Ste. Croix Church and was saluted by his passing soldiers.
Buried in St. Lauren Military Cemetery
Dead in France • Deathless in Fame — Map (db m9732) HM|
|South Carolina (Abbeville County), Abbeville — Marie Cromer Seigler|
In Memory of
Marie Cromer Seigler
Founder of 4-H
1883 - 1964 — Map (db m43653) HM|
|South Carolina (Abbeville County), Abbeville — Marilyn Anne McKinney|
|In Memory of
Marilyn Anne McKinney
President of the Rhodi Bowie
Family Historical Society
from 1989 until her death June 17, 1995. She was an outstanding leader earning our love and support. — Map (db m20781) HM|
|South Carolina (Abbeville County), Abbeville — 1-11 — McGowan-Barksdale-Bundy House|
This 1888 Queen Anne house was the home of Gen. Samuel McGowan (1819-1897) until his death. McGowan, a lawyer, Confederate general, and jurist born in Laurens Co., had moved to Abbeville in 1841. He was an officer during the Mexican War and in the S.C. militia after it. During the Civil War he commanded the 14th S.C. Infantry 1862-63 and commanded a S.C. brigade in the Army of Northern Virginia 1863-65.
After 1865 McGowan bought a house on this lot. . . . — Map (db m21732) HM|
|South Carolina (Abbeville County), Abbeville — Old Bank Building (ca. 1865)|
|Designed by S. Henry James to house first Bank of South Carolina in the Upstate (later became National Bank of Abbeville). One of oldest remaining buildings on the Square after a series of downtown fires in 1870s destroyed much of downtown.
Bank lobby features series of 1922 paintings by Wilbur Kurtz depicting a hundred years of Abbeville's history from Gen. Andrew Pickens to Jefferson Davis' Last War Council Meeting.
(Remained a bank until end of 1995 when donated to the City by Nations Bank.) — Map (db m11918) HM|
|South Carolina (Abbeville County), Abbeville — Operation Desert Shield / Storm Monument — Lest We Forget|
|A Tribute to
the Men and Women of Abbeville County
Who Served in the Military in
Operation Desert Shield
Operation Desert Storm
August 2, 1990 ----- February 28, 1991 — Map (db m11860) WM|
|South Carolina (Abbeville County), Abbeville — Parsons Mountain — Land Renewed|
At 832 feet, Parsons Mountain holds the title of the highest point in the general geographic area surrounding Parsons Mountain. Mr. James Parsons, the mountain's namesake, acquired it through a land grant in 1772. In the mid 1800s, gold was discovered on the mountain, further adding interest to the area.
Long before Mr. Parsons, American Indians lived in and used these rich, productive forests. Settlers in the 1770s worked the land, obtaining what they could from agricultural practices, . . . — Map (db m43727) HM|
|South Carolina (Abbeville County), Abbeville — Parsons Mountain World War II Memorial — In Memoriam|
|This Parson's Mountain
Recreation Center is
Dedicated to the Memory of
the Men of Abbeville County,
Who Gave Their Lives in World
War II, 1941 — 1945, for the
Freedom of Mankind. — Map (db m43732) HM|
|South Carolina (Abbeville County), Abbeville — 1-1 — Patrick Calhoun Burial Grounds|
5.5 miles southeast is the burial ground of Patrick and Martha Caldwell Calhoun, Parents of John C. Calhoun; Deputy Surveyor 1756; First Representative from Up Country to Commons House of Assembly, 1769-1772; Member of First Provincial Congress, 1775; Second, 1775-1776; General Assembly, 1776; and frequently after until his death, 1796. His greatest service to his state was his successful fight for the Circuit Courts Act, 1762. Across the road is his home site. — Map (db m10627) HM|
|South Carolina (Abbeville County), Abbeville — 01-17 — Quay-Wardlaw House|
This house, built ca. 1786, is thought to be the oldest house in Abbeville. It was built as a two-story log building by John Quay, who also ran a tavern here. He sold it ca. 1798 to James Wardlaw (1767-1842) and his wife, Quay's stepdaughter Hannah Clarke (1778-1825). James Wardlaw was the Abbeville postmaster and Abbeville District deputy clerk of court 1796-1800, then clerk of court 1800-1838. Ten of the Wardlaws' eleven children were born in this house.
. . . — Map (db m86812) HM|
|South Carolina (Abbeville County), Abbeville — Secession Hill|
|One of the first organized mass meetings held here on November 22, 1860, to launch South Carolina's secession from the Union. Judge A.G. Magrath of Charleston, urged "immediate action on the part of South Carolina at any & every hazard", followed by Gen. M.L. Bonham, Cong. McGowan, Major Armistead Burt & others. Resolutions unanimously adopted favoring secession of the State. Committee of twenty appointed nominees Edward Noble, John A. Calhoun, Thomas Thompson, John H. Wilson & D.L. Wardlaw to . . . — Map (db m11686) HM|
|South Carolina (Abbeville County), Abbeville — 1-14 — Secession Hill|
On November 22, 1860, a mass meeting on this site was one of the first held in the South after Abraham Lincoln’s election as president on November 6. A procession from the town square, numbering 2,000 to 3,000, made its way to a grove here, near the Greenville & Columbia RR depot. Many in the crowd wore palmetto cockades as bands played, militia and volunteer companies marched with flags and banners, and some units even fired cannon salutes.
Andrew G. . . . — Map (db m41700) HM|
|South Carolina (Abbeville County), Abbeville — The Bundy-Barksdale-McGowan House|
|Queen Anne style Architecture Built in 1888
Once Owned by Confederate Gen. Samuel McGowan and by WWII Gen. W.E. Barksdale
Donated by J.D. Bundy in 1989 to the Abbeville County Historical Society
Now serves as Headquarters for the Society and the Jane Greene Center for the Arts — Map (db m16129) HM|
|South Carolina (Abbeville County), Abbeville — The Law Offices of John C. Calhoun|
Near here, from 1807 to 1817, were
situated the law offices of
John C. Calhoun.
Born in the Long Canes District of Abbeville March 18, 1782.
Died, Washington D.C.
March 31, 1850.
Member of Congress
Secretary of War
Vice President of the United States
United States Senator
Secretary of State
1844-1845 — Map (db m7352) HM|
|South Carolina (Abbeville County), Abbeville — The Old Livery Stable|
|The original livery stable on this site is believed to have been built in the 1840s. It was a wooden structure, and was lost during a devastating fire in 1872 that also destroyed much of downtown Abbeville. The current brick and masonry livery stable was built in the late 1870s on the site of the original building. After the advent of the automobile, the building was used as a warehouse for a number of decades.
In 2002, the building was generously donated by Mrs. Margaret Flynn Bowie and . . . — Map (db m41130) HM|
|South Carolina (Abbeville County), Abbeville — This Water Fountain|
|This Water Fountain
The United States
Abbeville American Legion
Post No. 2
November 11, 1980 — Map (db m11883) HM|
|South Carolina (Abbeville County), Abbeville — 1-10 — Thomas Chiles Perrin House|
The Greek Revival residence of Thomas Chiles Perrin (1805-1878), prominent Abbeville District lawyer, planter, businessman, and politician, stood here from 1858 until it burned in 1877. When completed the house was described as "one of the finest and most commodious mansions in the State." Perrin served as mayor, state representative and senator, and for many years as president of the Greenville & Columbia RR.
In December 1860, as chair of the . . . — Map (db m9358) HM|
|South Carolina (Abbeville County), Abbeville — Trinity Episcopal Church — Abbeville's Gothic Revival Church|
| Trinity Episcopal Church is the oldest standing church in Abbeville. With its classic Gothic architecture and 125-foot steeple, it dominates the Abbeville skyline. Built by a congregation made prosperous by the economy of cotton in the antebellum period, it was constructed in 1859-60 as clouds gathered for a war that would radically change their way of life forever.
Memorial to Colonel and Mrs. J. Foster Marshall. Colonel Marshall is one of three lost colonels of . . . — Map (db m11921) HM|
|South Carolina (Abbeville County), Abbeville — William Bartram Trail — Traced 1773-1777 — South Atlantic Region|
|In 1775, William Bartram visited
several days at "Lough-Abber"
home of A. Cameron, en route
north to the Cherokee country. — Map (db m44723) HM|
|South Carolina (Abbeville County), Calhoun Falls — Calhoun Falls World War I and II Veterans Monument|
In Memory of
those who lost their
lives in World War
I and II
Burton, Harold A.
Clark, Marshall L.
Cox, Clarence W.
Hagood, Martin D.
Norris, E. Boyce
Tucker, David O.
Taggart, George — Map (db m25199) HM|
|South Carolina (Abbeville County), Calhoun Falls — 1-2 — Millwood — Home of James Edward Calhoun|
| Half mile southeast is Millwood, home of James Edward Calhoun, 1796-1898, son of John Ewing and Floride Bonneau Calhoun and brother-in-law of John C. Calhoun. After serving as lieutenant in the U.S. Navy, he developed Millwood, which ultimately included 25,000 acres. Seeing the value of Trotter's Shoals, a part of this estate, he was among the first to encourage the use of Southern water power. — Map (db m9439) HM|
|South Carolina (Abbeville County), Calhoun Falls — Olin D. Johnston Memorial Boulevard|
| . . . — Map (db m9437) HM|
|South Carolina (Abbeville County), Calhoun Falls — Richard B. Russell Dam — Flood Control, Electric Power, and Recreation|
On the upper Savannah River near Elberton, Ga., and Calhoun Falls, S.C. lies the Richard B. Russell Dam and Lake -- authorized for construction by the Flood Control Act of 1966 for the purposes of hydropower generation, recreation and flood control. Originally known as Trotters Shoals, the dam site is situated about midway between the J. Strom Thurmond and Hartwell dams and lake projects of U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, Savannah District.
The Russell Project
Construction of the . . . — Map (db m15876) HM|
|South Carolina (Abbeville County), Calhoun Falls — Welcome to Calhoun Falls State Recreation Area|
Calhoun Falls State Recreation Area is located on Lake Russell, one of South Carolina's most popular and undeveloped large reservoirs. Lake Russell was created in 1984 and the 26,650-acre reservoir is surrounded by another 26,000 acres of public land. Calhoun Falls gets its name form the first settler, James Edward Calhoun, who settled near rocky shoals on the Savannah River that are now under the lake. The lake provides excellent fishing for bass, bluegill, crappie and catfish. The 318-acre . . . — Map (db m41448) HM|
|South Carolina (Abbeville County), Donalds — 1-9 — Boonesborough Township (1763)|
Surveyed in 1762 by Patrick Calhoun and named for Gov. Thomas Boone, this 20,500-acre township was one of four townships laid out west of Ninety-Six as a buffer between white and Cherokee lands. In 1763 Scots-Irish families began to settle in the area near Long Cane, Park's and Chickasaw Creeks. The headwaters of Long Cane Creek are 500 feet south; the Cherokee Path crossed the township boundary one mile south. — Map (db m10605) HM|
|South Carolina (Abbeville County), Donalds — Templeton-Drake Cabin ca. 1764|
Jane Byrd Wilson
Sept. 19,1939 - March 17, 2000
She worked to preserve the valuable
heritage of the Boonesborough Township — Map (db m12103) HM|
|South Carolina (Abbeville County), Donalds — The Donalds Grange No. 497 — Patrons of Husbandry and Literacy|
The Donalds Grange No. 497 is significant for both its architecture and its contribution to the social development of the community and Abbeville County. For these reasons, Donalds Grange No. 497, Patrons of Husbandry, was entered into the National Register of Historic Places on January 9, 1995. Construction in 1935 by local Works Progress Administration (WPA) labor on land donated by W. Maxie Agnew, the building served originally as the home of the town hall, the grange, and the public . . . — Map (db m12112) HM|
|South Carolina (Abbeville County), Due West — Abbeville County — Rich in History and Natural Resources|
Named after the city in France, Abbeville County has a rich historical and cultural heritage. The town of Abbeville, the county seat, is known for its quaint tree-lined square with bricked streets; the famous 1908 historic Opera House and its companion building, the Courthouse; the historic "pink" church, Trinity Episcopal, with its soaring spire; and fine Victorian homes like the Burt-Stark Mansion, a National Historic Landmark. The town of Due West is home to the 19th century Erskine . . . — Map (db m14843) HM|
|South Carolina (Abbeville County), Due West — 1-13 — Action at Pratt's Mill|
The last action of the Revolution in this part of S.C. was at Pratt's Mill, a grist mill on the Little River owned by Joseph Pratt. On October 30, 1781, an outpost of 30 Patriots at the mill, under Capt. John Norwood, was surprised by 30 Loyalists and Cherokees under Col. William "Bloody Bill" Cunningham. Norwood, who was wounded, was the only casualty on either side.
The Patriots fled, leaving behind 30 horses and most of their weapons; the Loyalists . . . — Map (db m20821) HM|
|South Carolina (Abbeville County), Due West — Angela Marlow Newton — Class of 1995|
The initial gift and a substantial contribution toward the construction of this sign were donated by members of the Class of 1995 as a memorial to their classmate, Angela Marlow Newton, whose untimely death in her senior year at Erskine College touched the members of the class and the Erskine community.
Erskine College also expresses appreciation to the members of the Class of 1998 and others who gave generously to this project. — Map (db m12098) HM|
|South Carolina (Abbeville County), Due West — Bryson College Memorial — Living Water|
In gratitude for the lasting benefits Bryson College provided for so many students, her Alumni and Friends have provided this Memorial Fountain to perpetuate the "Associate Reformed Presbyterian College in the West." This fountain is dedicated in memory of the first President of Bryson College, Dr. Hunter Bryson Blakely, his successors, faculty, personnel, all Bryson Alumni and Friends of the College. Bryson College was founded in Fayetteville, Tennessee, in 1919 and closed in 1929, merging . . . — Map (db m14782) HM|
|South Carolina (Abbeville County), Due West — Camp-Walker Plaza|
|Given to the
Harry W. Walker
In honor of the
commitment to Erskine. — Map (db m14896) HM|
|South Carolina (Abbeville County), Due West — 1-6 — Due West|
As early as 1765 the site 6 miles NW known to the Indians as Yellow Water, where the Keowee Path crossed the Cherokee line, was called DeWitt's Corner. In 1777 a treaty between S.C. and the Cherokee Indians was signed there. The present town was first called Due West Corner. Here in 1839 Erskine College the state's first 4-year church college was founded by the Associate Reformed Presbyterian Church. — Map (db m10602) HM|
|South Carolina (Abbeville County), Due West — Erskine College — South Carolina's First Four-Year Church-Related College|
Erskine College was founded in 1839 by the Associate Reformed Presbyterian Church as South Carolina's first four-year church-related college. The college grew out of an academy for men established in 1835 and seminary founded two years later at Due West.
In 1859 Due West Woman's College was founded and continued for 70 years until it was merged with Erskine in 1929.
Today Erskine's academic excellence as a liberal arts college continues with consistent ranking among the country's . . . — Map (db m14793) HM|
|South Carolina (Abbeville County), Due West — Rev. J.I. Bonner Monument|
Due West Female College
and for near twenty two years
By the Alumnae and
to the Memory of
Rev. J.I. Bonner D.D. — Map (db m15790) HM|
|South Carolina (Abbeville County), Due West — William Moffatt Grier|
Servant of Christ.
Born Feb. 11, 1843
Died Sept. 3, 1899.
from 1871 to 1899.
His service is
measured not by
years but by results.
He still lives in
hundreds of useful
lives to which he
and guidance -
Life's work well done,
Life's race well run.
Life's crown well won,
Now comes rest. — Map (db m14835) HM|
|South Carolina (Abbeville County), Honea Path — 1-15 — Broadmouth Baptist Church|
This church, named for nearby Broadmouth Creek, was organized in 1837 with nine charter members. Rev. William P. Martin was its first minister, and William Long and Noah Riddle Reeve were its first deacons. This tract was purchased from Jesse Gent in 1838. By 1850 the church had 213 members, both white and black. The present sanctuary, the second on this site, was built in 1954.
After the Civil War, former slaves left to organize New Broadmouth . . . — Map (db m36914) HM|
|South Carolina (Abbeville County), Honea Path — John Callaham - Zachariah Carwile Memorial|
Born in Virginia 1770
Migrated to South Carolina 1790
Died Level Land 1855
First Wife, Nancy Jarrett - Three
of Twelve Children of This Union
Married Sons of Zachariah Carwile.
Second Wife, Nancy Pinson - Eleven
Children by This Marriage. Donated
Land for Little River Church Property.
Born in Goochland County, Virginia 1750
Died, Level Land 1841. Lies in Unmarked
Grave in This Cemetery. Soldier
of Revolutionary War. Fought at . . . — Map (db m49923) HM|
|South Carolina (Abbeville County), Honea Path — Southside Baptist Church — Formerly Goose Creek|
|April 1, 1962
Relocated & Renamed
Rev. Dale Ashley, Pastor
June 2, 1985
Rev. Norton Craig, Pastor
November 22, 1987
Rev. Jimmy Smith, Pastor
On this 25th Anniversary
To God We Give Praise — Map (db m37558) HM|
|South Carolina (Abbeville County), Honea Path — 01-20 — Treaty of DeWitt's Corner|
In May 1777 a delegation of roughly 600 Cherokee and representatives from South Carolina and Georgia met near this spot to engage in negotiations that would end fighting in the Second Cherokee war, 1776-1777. On May 20, 1777 the parties signed the Treaty of DeWitt's Corner, which provided for an end to hostilities, prisoner returns, and large land concessions by the Lower Cherokee.
The territory ceded included present day Anderson, Greenville, . . . — Map (db m87309) HM|
|South Carolina (Abbeville County), Lowndesville — Bartlett Tucker Family Cemetery|
|Forty graves in this cemetery
containing the remains of
Bartlett Tucker (1874-1861)
and members of his family
were relocated to this spot
from 0.22 acres s/w known as
Tract No. 1300 C-2 in 1983.
There were no identifiable marked
graves. The Tucker family moved
from this area in December 1906. — Map (db m58757) HM|
|South Carolina (Abbeville County), Lowndesville — Harpers Ferry Drowning|
April 4, 1920
June 12, 1900
May 23, 1897
Annie L. Manning
March 18, 1904
Dec. 20, 1907
March 14, 1903
W. Lester Waters
Oct. 24, 1855
Lollie S. Waters
Nov. 6, 1899
Aug. 7, 1906
Feb. 4, 1904
June 27, 1964 — Map (db m57903) HM|
|South Carolina (Abbeville County), Lowndesville — 1-12 — Lowndesville|
[Front]: This town, established in 1823, grew up around a store owned by Matthew Young (1803-1876), who was also postmaster 1831-43. It was first called Pressly's Station, for the post office opened in 1823 with David Pressly (1764-1834) as postmaster. The town was renamed Rocky River in 1831 and then Lowndesville in 1836 for William Lowndes (1782-1822), U.S. Congressman 1811-22.
[Reverse]: Lowndesville, incorporated in 1839, had about 150 inhabitants for most of its . . . — Map (db m9397) HM|
|South Carolina (Abbeville County), Lowndesville — Lowndesville Veterans Monument|
|Dedicated to all Veterans of
Abbeville County, S.C.
to the Honor and Memory
of Those Who Bravely
Served to Keep Our Country
a Land of
[East Facing, Left Inscription]
U.S. Air Force Seal / U.S. Marine Corps Seal
Sgt Ray N. "Joe" Adams
Sgt Maj William J. Adams
Maj Mary E. Alexander
Pvt Floyd L. Alewine
Sgt Charles L. Boles
Sgt Singleton S. Boles
Pvt Collis H. Bones
T/Sgt Herman H. Bonds*
Cpl Randolph A. Bonds
Cpl Richard O. Bonds . . . — Map (db m42418) HM|
|South Carolina (Abbeville County), Lowndesville — W.D. Nixon Bridge|
|Named in 1982
in honor of
a dedicated public
ardent supporter of
the construction of
Richard B. Russell Dam
Member, S.C. House
1949 — 1953
Served also as
Abbeville County Council
Democratic Party — Map (db m9442) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), Aiken — 1953 Gas Explosion|
| On January 27, 1953, an explosion caused
by a natural gas leak killed ten people
and destroyed five buildings on the
northern half of this block. The five
buildings destroyed were Platt's Drug Store,
the Jones Electric Company (the site of
the explosion), R.W. McCreary's, the
Diana Shop, and Liles Drug Company (the
former site of Hahn Grocery for many years).
The Holley Building and the others to the
south, sustained damage, but survived the
blast. The ten local citizens (nine . . . — Map (db m28716) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), Aiken — 2-23 — Aiken|
|Aiken, chartered in 1835 and the county seat of Aiken County since its creation in 1871, was an early stop on the railroad line from Charleston to Hamburg. It was named for William Aiken (1779–1831), the first president of the S.C. Canal and Railroad Co. Aiken’s mild climate and accessibility by rail soon made it a health resort for visitors hoping to escape the summer heat or seeking relief from tuberculosis and other lung ailments. On Feb. 11, 1865, Federal and Confederate cavalry clashed . . . — Map (db m9640) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), Aiken — 2–8 — Aiken County|
Aiken County, created in 1871 from parts of Barnwell, Edgefield, Lexington, and Orangeburg counties, was named for William Aiken, first president of the South Carolina Canal and Railroad Company. Older industries in the county today are textiles, and the mining and processing of kaolin. In 1952, the Atomic Energy Commission’s Savannah River Plant began operations. — Map (db m9707) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), Aiken — Aiken County 125th Anniversary|
|In Commemoration Of The
Founding Of Aiken County
March 10, 1871
Celebrating 125 years
Sen. C.D. Hayne, Rep. Gloster Holland,
Rep. William B. Jones, Rep. Sam J. Lee,
William Peel, Rep. Prince Rivers,
S. B. Spencer, F.P. Stoney
Erected March 10, 1996 — Map (db m34610) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), Aiken — Aiken County Confederate Monument|
They gave their all in defense of
Home, Honor, Liberty and the
Independence of their native land
They fought the patriots fight
They kept the faith of their fathers
And forever mourned
Erected July 23, 1901
Ladies Monument Association
Of Aiken S.C.
In loving tribute to the
of Aiken County — Map (db m17047) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), Aiken — Aiken County Courthouse Bell|
|Forged in 1882 at Troy, N.Y., the bell
hung in the courthouse 1882-1981.
In 1931, lightning cracked the bell
and caused a fire that destroyed
the cupola. — Map (db m9850) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), Aiken — 2-32 — Aiken County Farmers' Market|
The Aiken County Farmers’ Market, founded in 1951, was originally an open air market sponsored by the Edisto Grange. This building, which opened on May 21, 1954, was designed by Woodrow Jackson and built by the Aiken County chain gang. Farmers and their families built 45 tables, still used today. This is the oldest county farmers’ market in continuous service in the same location in S.C. — Map (db m28630) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), Aiken — Aiken County Museum|
|Life in Aiken
The coming of the railroad was a major factor
in the birth of Aiken. The all-important cotton
crop and Graniteville fabrics could get to market.
Add to life in Aiken a lady lonesome for her
wealthy friends up North and you have the
beginning of the Winter Colony in the 1930s,
and 40s. With the Winter Colony came hunting
and horseback riding, polo, golf, and tennis -
a lifestyle that changed the area.
(An early photo of Banksia included)
This . . . — Map (db m63263) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), Aiken — 2-29 — Aiken First Baptist Church|
This church, founded in 1805, predates the city of Aiken and was first called Levels Baptist Church. Its first location was a mile south of present-day Aiken. In 1836 the congregation joined with the members of the Wise Creek congregation to build a sanctuary here, on land deeded by the S.C. Railroad and Canal Co. They renamed their congregation Aiken Baptist Church. The frame church burned in 1876 and was replaced in 1878.
The third church, a Gothic Revival . . . — Map (db m10060) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), Aiken — 2-47 — Aiken Hospital / Aiken County Hospital|
The first public hospital in Aiken, at the corner of Richland Ave. and Vaucluse Rd., was built in 1917 for the Aiken Hospital and Relief Society, with donations from members of the “Aiken Winter Colony.” The City of Aiken donated 3 acres of Eustis Park for the hospital and grounds. The hospital, built by local African-American contractor McGhee & McGhee, featured a hexagonal cupola. It closed in 1924 but reopened in 1927 with additional funding.
Aiken County . . . — Map (db m54518) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), Aiken — 2–16 — Aiken Institute|
The Aiken Institute, which gave this area the name of “Institute Hill,” was chartered in 1888. The main building, designed by I.F. Goodrich in 1891, includes a wing added in 1913. All grades attended the Institute until 1937, when a new high school was built and this became Aiken Elementary School. It was the second oldest school in use in the state when it closed in 1986. The 1913 wing became the Aiken County Public Library in 1990. — Map (db m9942) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), Aiken — Aiken Vietnam War Monument|
|In Memory of Those Who
Died in the Vietnam War
Adams, Dwayne Lonnie
Adams, Joseph Boyce
Barton, Jere A.
Callahan, Clifton Eugene
Clark, Allen Howell
Douse, James Louis
Gay, James Nathaniel
Gell, Jack Earl
Hatcher, Kenneth Marvin
Haynes, Jerry C.
Leaphart, Harold Paul
Matthews, Roy Gibson
Parks, Charles H., Jr.
Penn, Franklin . . . — Map (db m86815) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), Aiken — Author Jeff Scott|
|In this building on
October 31, 1898
the author Jeff Scott
began collecting notes for
the Southern novel
Beneath The Glass Door.
Due to unforeseen circumstances
the book was not completed until
much later. Out of the scenic
village of Historic Vaucluse, S.C.
just a few miles from this spot,
Jeff Scott on November 3, 2011
put down his pen as the story
was complete. — Map (db m86818) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), Aiken — Battle of Aiken|
Near this spot on February 11, 1865
was fought one of the final Confederate
victories of the War Between The States.
Federal Cavalry commanded by Major
General Hugh Judson Kirkpatrick were
attacked by Confederate Cavalry
commanded by Major General Joseph
Wheeler when the Federals entered
Aiken from the south east along the
South Carolina Railroad. The Federals
retreated to Montmorenci where their
infantry support was stationed.
Successful defense of Aiken by the
Confederates . . . — Map (db m10061) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), Aiken — Coker Spring|
| The source of water for early settlers.
A stagecoach stop on route from Abbeville to
Charleston, S.C. Deeded to City of Aiken 1844
by Wm. Peronneau Finley. Restored by many
friends in 1972.
The National Register
of Historic Places
Department of Archives
Coker Spring — Map (db m56810) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), Aiken — 2-46 — Coker Spring|
|The freshwater spring 1/2 mi. SE was used by prehistoric Indians. It was deeded to the town of
Aiken in 1844 by William Perroneau Finley (1803-1876) and furnished Aiken´s drinking water
throughout the 19th century. A regular stop on the stagecoach route from Abbeville to Charleston,
it helped make Aiken a popular health resort. William Gilmore Simms described it in 1843 as “a
fountain of delicious water, which is equally cold and unfailing.”
(Reverse text) . . . — Map (db m63615) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), Aiken — Defense of Aiken|
In Memory of
soldiers who lost
their lives in
defense of Aiken,
Feb. 11, 1865
Erected by the Memorial
— Map (db m88573) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), Aiken — 2-40 — First Presbyterian Church of Aiken|
This church, founded in 1858 with 14 charter members and W. Peronneau Finley and John D. Legare as elders, first met in the Aiken Town Hall on Laurens St. Its first permanent sanctuary, a frame building designed by Charleston architect Edward Brickell White, was completed and dedicated in 1859. It stood at the corner of Laurens Street and Railroad (now Park) Avenue until it was demolished in 1924.
The second sanctuary, a Classical Revival brick building, was . . . — Map (db m29274) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), Aiken — H. Odell Weeks — August 3, 1908 - December 14, 1992|
1946 - 1952
1957 - 1991
His office was our city's sidewalks and storefronts, and from his walks about the downtown he gained the information needed for leadership.
He was an advocate for harmony and teamwork, regardless of political view, and a visionary whose leadership brought our city state-wide recognition.
He was our mayor for more years than many of our citizens have lived, and his long service recommends him as one of those rare people who come along at the right . . . — Map (db m15136) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), Aiken — 2-42 — Highland Park Hotel|
The Highland Park Hotel, Aiken’s first grand tourist hotel, stood atop this plateau. It was built in 1869-70 and opened in 1870. A four-story Second Empire wing built in 1874 doubled its capacity to 350 guests. Open from November to June, it was at first favored by visitors coming to Aiken for their health and later by wealthy Northerners who wintered here and formed the “Aiken Winter Colony” in the 1890s.
Interior features included men’s and . . . — Map (db m29974) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), Aiken — 2-31 — Hitchcock Woods|
Hitchcock Woods, one of the largest urban forests in the United States, is an area consolidated between 1891 and 1898 by Celestine Eustis (d. 1921), Thomas Hitchcock (1860-1941), and William Whitney (1841-1904). Described as "the greatest equine playground in America," this tract of more than 8,000 acres was used for steeplechases, fox hunts and other equestrian recreation by the wealthy Northerners who belonged to the "Aiken Winter Colony."
(Marker reverse text)
The tract, now . . . — Map (db m9776) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), Aiken — Hofmann — 1876 - 1957|
| Josef Casimir Hofmann, internationally
known Polish pianist, resided with his
wife, Aikenite Marie Eustis Hofmann, in
a three~story house located several
hundred feet west of here. Born near
Cracow, Poland, he was recognized as a
gifted pianist at an early age and
considered the finest interpreter of
Chopin. He and his wife were instrumental
in founding the Fermata School for
Girls, which first opened in 1919 on the
upper floor of the Hofmann home. — Map (db m10184) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), Aiken — James F. Byrnes — 1879-1972|
Supreme Court Justice
Secretary of State
Citizen of Aiken, 1900-1926
He gave a lifetime of service to state, nation, and the world. — Map (db m15133) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), Aiken — 2-25 — Millbrook Baptist Church|
This church, formally organized in 1884, had its origins in a Sunday school class organized in 1874. With 16 charter members and Rev. Arthur Buist as its first minister, Millbrook built its first sanctuary here in 1886. The frame church, built by J.V. George, was described as “one of the prettiest and best arranged” churches in this part of the state when it was dedicated.
The original 1886 church was enlarged in 1909 and again in 1952. With the . . . — Map (db m38281) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), Aiken — 2-26 — Original Survey of Aiken|
The town of Aiken, on land donated by Mr. Beverly M. Rodgers to the S.C. Rail Road in 1834, was laid out around a core of 27 city blocks bounded by Edgefield and Park Aves. and Newberry and Williamsburg Sts. This area was surveyed by civil engineers Cyril Ouviere Pascalis (1810-1836?) and Andrew Alfred Dexter (1809-1854), who had also helped survey the route of the new railroad between Hamburg and Charleston in 1832-33. — Map (db m29613) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), Aiken — 2-24 — Pickens - Salley House|
This plantation house, first known as “Edgewood,” is an excellent example of Federal-era architecture. Originally near Edgefield, it was built in 1828 for Francis W. Pickens (1807-1869), state representative and senator, congressman, U.S. Minister to Russia, and governor 1860-62 during the secession crisis and the first two years of the Civil War. Lucy Holcombe Pickens was an ardent Confederate and novelist.
(Reverse text) In 1929 Eulalie Chafee . . . — Map (db m43154) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), Aiken — Robert M. Bell Parkway|
| Named in 1985 by action
of the Aiken County
and Highway Commission
in recognition of an
outstanding citizen and
his many contributions
to the life and well being
of his county, district.
2nd District member,
S.C. State Highways and
1982 - 1986 — Map (db m44725) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), Aiken — 2-19 — Schofield School|
| This school was founded by the Freedmen's Bureau shortly after the Civil War to educate freedmen, women, and children. In 1868 Martha Schofield, a Quaker from Pennsylvania, came to Aiken and began her long career as superintendent. The school soon expanded to this two-block site and combined academics with instruction in industrial, farming, and homemaking skills. The 1897 Schofield School bulletin declared, "Character building is our most important work."
. . . — Map (db m28821) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), Aiken — 2-1 — South Carolina Canal & Rail Road Company — Original Track Location|
Began first successful scheduled steam railroad service in America on December 25, 1830, and by 1833 its 136 miles from Charleston to Hamburg made it the world’s longest railroad. Now part of Southern Railway System. — Map (db m9999) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), Aiken — 2-35 — St. John's Methodist Church|
This church has its origin in 1825 as a Methodist congregation on the Hollow Creek Circuit that predates the city of Aiken. Rev. John Reynolds was the
first circuit rider serving St. John's, which shared a minister with St. John in Graniteville until becoming a seperate congregation in 1856. The first sanctuary here, a frame Greek Revival church designed by Dr. E.J.C. Wood, was built in 1857-58.
The 1858 Greek revival church was demolished in 1961-64 and . . . — Map (db m10163) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), Aiken — 2–12 — St. Thaddeus Church|
This Episcopal Church (cornerstone laid Sept. 5, 1842) was consecrated Aug. 9, 1843. It is the city’s oldest church structure, having retained its Greek revival style through subsequent remodeling. Church purchased bell in 1853, Cornish Memorial Chapel completed in 1888, and Mead Hall School opened 1955. William Gregg (1800–1867), an important figure in the textile industry in SC, was one of the church founders.
Buried in the churchyard are John H. . . . — Map (db m19634) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), Aiken — 2-38 — The Augusta & Aiken Railway|
The Augusta and Aiken Railway, a 26 mile interurban electric trolley line between Augusta, Ga., and Aiken, operated from 1902 to 1929. In Aiken the line began at the corner of Park Ave. & Union St., proceeded west on Park, then north on Laurens St., then west on Hampton Ave., and toward Augusta on what is now Trolley Line Rd. The first passengers paid 25 cents to ride 2 hours one way or 4 hours for a round trip.
In 1906 the railway bought 4 new passenger cars . . . — Map (db m10137) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), Aiken — 2-44 — The Detection of the Neutrino, 1956 / The Nobel Prize In Physics, 1995|
|The Detection of the Neutrino, 1956
On August 27, 1956, at the Savannah River Plant (now Savannah River Site), Drs. Clyde L. Cowan, Jr. (1919-1974) and Frederick Reines (1918-1999) used P Reactor to detect the neutrino, a sub-atomic particle hypothesized in 1930 but unconfirmed until their experiment, one of the most significant in modern physics.
The Nobel Prize In Physics, 1995 In 1995 Dr. Frederick Reines was awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics for his and Dr. Clyde L. Cowan’s . . . — Map (db m43146) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), Aiken — The One Room Schoolhouse|
|Originally located in China Springs, near Aiken, and believed to have been built in the 1890's this schoolhouse was given to the Aiken County Historical Commission by Mrs. Guerin Hermann of Sandersville, Georgia in 1975.
The one room schoolhouse preservation was an Aiken County Bicentennial project of the Aiken County Historical Commission and the Pine Needle Garden Club in 1976. Under the direction of Mrs. Arthur (Nancy N.) Courtney, chairperson on the Aiken County Historical Commission and . . . — Map (db m63475) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), Aiken — 2-1 — The S.C. Railroad|
The tracks of the S.C. Railroad, operated by the S.C. Canal & Railroad Company, ran here from 1833 to the 1850s. The company, chartered in 1827, began constructing a 136-mile long line from Charleston to Hamburg (near North Augusta) in 1830. Completed in 1833, the railroad was the longest in America at the time and the first to carry the United States mails. Aiken, chartered in 1835, was named for William Aiken (1779-1831), the railroad’s first president.
The . . . — Map (db m36676) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), Aiken — Transit Of Venus Observatory Structure, 1882|
Iron heliometer tower, which served as an observatory, and housing for instruments, including powerful telescopes, used in viewing the December 6, 1882 Transit of Venus in Aiken, South Carolina. The
observatory was built in two sections, each twelve feet in diameter, so they could revolve independently of each other. These sections were covered with canvas.
December 6, 1882 is the day the planet Venus was to have transited, or crossed between, the sun and the earth. Scientists had . . . — Map (db m10193) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), Aiken — 2-39 — Whitney Park|
This park, laid out in 1904-05 was named for William Collins Whitney (1841-1904). Whitney, a lawyer, Secretary of the Navy 1885-1889 under Grover Cleveland, and financier, was also an avid sportsman and leading member of the "Aiken Winter Colony." He established the Whitney Trust in 1901 "for the institution and promotion of all kinds of sports and pastimes in the City of Aiken, S.C." Private and public donations alike paid for Whitney Park.
(Marker Reverse) . . . — Map (db m10210) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), Aiken — William Aiken, Sr.|
| URS Corporation on the occasion of the City of Aiken's 175th year, graciously donated this symbolic representation of William Aiken Sr. (1779-1831), for whom the city was named in 1835. Aiken was an entrepreneur and president of the South Carolina Canal and Railroad Company, which in 1833 ran the world's longest railroad, from Charleston to Hamburg, S.C., through land that is now the City of Aiken.
Sculptor, Lynn Haste — Map (db m86825) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), Aiken — Woodmen Of The World|
This Memorial is erected
in the memory of deceased
members of the Woodmen
of the World whose
Individual resting places
could not be marked
Woodmen of the World
(List of Names, Camp Numbers, States)
Dum Tacet Clamat — Map (db m10270) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), Aiken — 2-41 — World War II POW Camp|
German prisoners of war were held in a camp on this site from November 1943 to May 1946. This camp, one of 21 in S.C., was at first a sub-camp of the POW camp at Camp Gordon (now Fort Gordon), in Augusta, Ga. It was later a sub-camp of Fort Jackson, in Columbia. 250 prisoners captured in North Africa were the first held here. Men captured in Italy and France in 1943-44 increased the total to 620 prisoners by January 1945.
German POWS lived in tents with wooden floors, up to five men . . . — Map (db m36396) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), Beech Island — 2-7 — Beech Island Agricultural Club|
On January 5, 1856, Governor James H. Hammond and eleven other farmers of this area organized the Beech Island Agricultural Club for the diffusion of agricultural knowledge and the regulation of illegal slave traffic. Monthly meetings and barbecues have been held almost without interruption since the club's founding.
In 1883 E. Spann Hammond donated to the Beech Island Agricultural Club a four-acre circular tract of land located less than a mile north of this . . . — Map (db m10080) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), Beech Island — 2–14 — Beech Island Baptist Church|
This church was organized in the Beech Island Academy on January 21, 1832, with Rev. Iverson Brooks as its first minister and Mathias Ardis and Randolph Bradford as its first deacons. This sanctuary, built on land donated by James T. Gardner and Abner Whatley, with lumber, other materials, and carpenters donated by Dawson Atkinson, was dedicated in September 1832; the Sunday School was organized in 1839.
Charter members of Beech Island Baptist Church were . . . — Map (db m9992) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), Beech Island — 2–18 — Downer Institute & School / Downer School, 1924–1986|
|Downer Institute & School
Downer Institute, founded in 1843, was originally located 1.5 mi. NE of this site and operated until 1865. It was named for benefactor Alexander Downer (1752–1820), whose will established an orphanage and school at Beech Island. By 1898 the General Assembly, at the request of Aiken County citizens, reestablished Downer School for the community at large; the school reopened in 1899.
Downer School, 1924–1986
Downer Elementary School, successor . . . — Map (db m9994) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), Beech Island — 2-4 — Historic Church|
This church was built in 1836 by Beech Island Presbyterian Church, organized in 1827 with the Rev. Nathan H. Hoyt of Vermont as first pastor. His son-in-law the Rev. Edward Axson, was ordained and served here. His daughter, Ellen, wife of Woodrow Wilson, was baptized here. In 1950 the building was consecrated as All Saints Episcopal Church. — Map (db m9909) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), Beech Island — Redcliffe Plantation — State Historic Site|
About Redcliffe Plantation State Historic Site
Redcliffe Plantation was the home of James Henry Hammond (1807-1864) and three generations of his descendants. Hammond whose political career included terms as a United States Congressman, Governor of South Carolina and United States Senator, was perhaps best known during his lifetime as an outspoken defender of slavery. In an 1858 speech to the United States senate he coined the famous phrase "Cotton is King." Governor Hammond was a . . . — Map (db m9591) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), Beech Island — 2-9 — Savannah Town / Fort Moore|
Forerunner of modern towns and highways and known to the English as early as 1685, this Indian town stood at a major northwestern entrance into S.C. on the trading routes to the Creeks, Choctaws, Chickasaws, and Lower Cherokees. Both town and river were named for the Savannah Indians that lived in the area.
Following the disastrous Yamasee War, Fort Moore, "the most important of South Carolina's early forts," was constructed here in 1716 to protect the . . . — Map (db m28101) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), Clearwater — 2-15 — Storm Branch Baptist Church|
|(Front text) This church had its origins at or near this site in 1772 as a plantation chapel, in what was Edgefield District until after the Civil War. Revs. Iverson L. Brookes and John Trapp, prominent ministers in the Savannah River region, preached here from the 1830s into the 1860s; Brookes died in 1865. (Reverse text)
Storm Branch Baptist Church became a wholly black church in August 1866 when Mrs. Sara Lamar, widow of planter Thomas G. Lamar, deeded this land to trustee . . . — Map (db m31141) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), Eureka — 2-20 — Marie Cromer Seigler House|
This house was for many years the home of Marie Cromer Seigler (1882-1964), educator and national pioneer in agricultural instruction. In 1910, as teacher and principal of Talatha School, she founded a Girls' Tomato Club, the first of many such clubs nationwide and a forerunner, along with the Boys' Corn Clubs, of the national 4-H Clubs, supported by the U.S. Dept. of Agriculture.
Marie Cromer said of her efforts to encourage girls and young women interested in . . . — Map (db m28714) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), Graniteville — 200th Anniversary of the United States|
In memory of the
200th Anniversary of the
United States as an
and American Patriots
who fought for the freedoms
we now enjoy
Erected by the Towns of
Graniteville, Vaucluse and
July 4th 1976 — Map (db m9852) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), Graniteville — 2-30 — Graniteville Cemetery|
This cemetery, established about 1850, is closely associated with the Graniteville Mill, the largest and most
successful textile mill in antebellum S.C. William Gregg (1800-1867), founder of the mill, laid out the mill village and also
helped plan this cemetery. Most of the early wooden grave markers do not survive, and burial records were not kept until
1892, when the Graniteville Cemetery Assn. was founded.
William Gregg was . . . — Map (db m43153) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), Graniteville — 2-22 — Graniteville Mill|
This mill, the largest textile mill in antebellum S.C., was chartered in 1845 and opened in 1847. It was founded by William Gregg (1800–1867), a Virginia native and advocate of industrial development who chose this site for its proximity to waterpower, granite deposits, and the S.C. Railroad. The company provided housing, a school, a store, and land for churches, creating a model mill village. Unlike most early textile mills, it was adequately funded.
(Reverse text): . . . — Map (db m9763) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), Graniteville — Graniteville Train Derailment — January 6, 2005|
(Bottom of Center Panel):
Greater love hath no man than this, that a
man lay down his life for his friends.
(Marker Left Panel):
At 2:39 am on January 6, 2005 a
northbound Norfolk Southern Railway
freight train derailed after encountering an
open switch and collided with a parked
train on a siding track. 16 cars derailed, 1
chlorine car was breached releasing
160,000 pounds of chlorine gas.This
resulted in 9 . . . — Map (db m10798) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), Graniteville — William Gregg|
the founder of Graniteville.
Born February 2, 1800,
Died September 12, 1867 — Map (db m10237) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), Graniteville — WW I Memorial|
|Erected to the Memory of
those who served in the
-- 1917 - - - 1918 --
Valley Post 77
— Map (db m55745) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), Hamburg — 2-3 — Hamburg — [Missing as of 4 July 2004]|
|Situated between this point and the Savannah River, Hamburg was a thriving river port and trading center for cotton and tobacco. Founded in 1821 by Henry Schultz, incorporated December 19, 1827, Hamburg became the most important interior port in South Carolina. With changing times and fortunes, prosperous Hamburg declined. Only ruins remain. — Map (db m41892) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), Hamburg — 2-2 — Western Terminus South Carolina Railroad|
Near the foot of this bluff in the old town of Hamburg stood the western terminus of the S.C. Canal and Rail Road Co. Begun in 1830, it was the first steam operated railroad to offer regular passenger service and to carry U.S. mail. Completed in 1833 to this point 136 miles from Charleston, it was the world's longest railroad. — Map (db m27835) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), Jackson — 2-21 — Silver Bluff Baptist Church|
This church, one of the first black Baptist churches in America, grew out of regular worship services held as early as the 1750s at "Silver Bluff," the plantation of Indian trader George Galphin. At first a non-denominational congregation with both white and black members, it was formally organized as Silver Bluff Baptist Church in 1773 with Rev. David George as its first minister.
The church, dormant for a few years during the American Revolution, was revived . . . — Map (db m31610) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), Jackson — 2-13 — Site of Ellenton|
Post office est. here 1873. Town chartered 1880. Ellenton and surrounding area purchased by US Govt in early 1950s for establishment of Savannah River Plant. — Map (db m9910) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), Montmorenci — 2–10 — Pascalis Plantation / Pascalina|
Elizabeth Pascalis purchased these 790 acres in 1835, settled here with her son Cyril Ouviere, and brought the orphaned children of her daughter, here, to live. Cyril, a civil engineer, was a resident engineer constructing the Charleston-Hamburg railroad (world’s longest when completed in 1833). In 1834 he helped lay
out and survey streets in nearby Aiken.
Elizabeth Pascalis willed this house, once know as Pascalina, to her granddaughter, . . . — Map (db m9797) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), near Aiken — 2-48 — Camp Butler|
| This is the site of Camp Butler, a
Confederate "camp of instruction"
that operated from the spring to
the fall of 1861, in what was then
Barnwell District. New companies,
organized as independent companies,
or in state regiments, were sent
here for training and organization
into Confederate regiments before
being transferred wherever the
(Reverse side text)
This camp was described in a letter
to The Edgefield Advertiser as
"the . . . — Map (db m63281) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), near Jackson — Savannah River Site|
Fifty Years ago today,
November 28, 1950,
President Harry S.Truman
announced that the Savannah
River Plant would be built.
This marker is dedicated to
families who originally
lived on this property and
to the patriotic men and
woman who have made
possible the safe operations
and successful missions of the
Savannah River Site — Map (db m10001) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), New Ellenton — 2-27 — Savannah River Plant|
The Savannah River Plant (SRP) was built 1950–56 by Du Pont for the Atomic Energy Commission. SRP, a nuclear production plant, produced tritium and plutonium for national defense during the Cold War. Creating a 310-sq.-mi. site in three counties meant moving all residents from their homes in Ellenton, Dunbarton, Meyers Mill, Leigh, and other area communities.
The first reactor at SRP went online in 1953 and the free “neutrino,” a subatomic . . . — Map (db m9941) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), North Augusta — Grenada • Panama • Persian Gulf Tribute|
The eyes of the world
were upon you, the
hopes and prayers of
liberty loving people
marched with you to
oppression of people. — Map (db m31507) WM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), North Augusta — 2-17 — Hampton Terrace Hotel|
The Hampton Terrace Hotel, an exclusive winter resort, stood atop this hill from 1903 to 1916. The $536,000, 5-story hotel boasted more than 300 rooms and was the dream of James U. Jackson (1856-1925), founder of North Augusta. A private railway connected the hotel to major railroads. This, and its reputation as one of the finest hotels in the South, made the Hampton Terrace a leading destination for winter visitors.
Guests enjoyed orchestra concerts in the . . . — Map (db m31103) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), North Augusta — 2-5 — James U. Jackson Memorial Bridge / James U. Jackson ( 1856-1925)|
| James U. Jackson Memorial Bridge
The first North Augusta bridge was built in 1891 by James U. Jackson. The present bridge, built in 1939, was formally dedicated as "The James U. Jackson Memorial Bridge." The building of the 1891 bridge, the Augusta-Aiken street car line, and the magnificent Hampton Terrace Hotel earned him the title "Founder of North Augusta."
James U. Jackson
(1856-1925) A native of Augusta, Georgia, he graduated from Richmond Academy and the University of . . . — Map (db m31662) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), North Augusta — James Urquhart Jackson|
James Urquhart Jackson, founder of North Augusta, was born in the village of Harrisonville, near Augusta, Georgia, on June 24, 1856. It was his vision that shaped North Augusta's early years.
In 1890 Jackson acquired 5600 acres of land across the river from Augusta in South Carolina. The following year, he constructed a bridge across the Savannah River at 13th Street. As the city developed, a trolley line was built in 1897 to connect Augusta and North Augusta. In 1902 Jackson . . . — Map (db m10050) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), North Augusta — Korean War Tribute|
1950 — 1953
Dedicated to the men
and woman who bravely
fought in "The Forgotten
War". The first war to
end the spread of
throughout the world. — Map (db m31364) WM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), North Augusta — Meriwether Monument — Hero of the Hamburg Riot|
Dec. 4,1852 - July 8, 1876
In Memory of
Who on 8th July 1876,
gave his life that the
civilization builded by his
fathers might be preserved
for their childrens
In youths clad mourning the
unfinished years of manhood
stretching before him, with
clear knowledge and courageous
accepted death and found
forever the grateful remembrance
of . . . — Map (db m10170) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), North Augusta — Mexican War Tribute|
| Mexican War
1846 — 1848
Dedicated to the brave men of
South Carolina who along with
other Patriots willingly
served that the Nation might
expand its western horizons.
Of these men who willingly
volunteered to fight a war in
a distant land at a time
when travel was primitive
and hazardous, it has truly
been said, "the cowards never
started and the weaklings
never got there." — Map (db m30980) WM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), North Augusta — 2-33 — North Augusta|
North Augusta, chartered in 1906, includes the site of two early towns. Campbell Town was a trading post on the Savannah River before the American Revolution. Hamburg, founded in 1821 as a port on the river, was an early western terminus of the S.C. Rail Road. When the line was completed from Charleston to Hamburg in 1833, it was the longest railroad in the world. In 1890 James U. Jackson (1856–1925) founded the North Augusta Land Co. and bought 5,600 acres here.
(Marker . . . — Map (db m9672) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), North Augusta — Revolutionary War — 1775 — 1783|
| Our fight for Independence
that assured us Freedom of
Speech, Religion, the Press,
Right to Peaceful Assembly
and right to Petition for
Redress of Grievances. We
enjoy our present freedom
because of the willingness
of our forefathers to put
their honor, their freedom, all
their wordly possessions
and their very lives on the
line to bring for a new nation.
— Map (db m30819) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), North Augusta — 2–11 — Samuel Hammond|
Born 1757 in Virginia, this Indian fighter, who later moved to Edgefield District, attained the rank of Lieutenant Colonel of state troops during the American Revolution. Among the engagements he participated in were: Hanging Rock, Musgrove’s Mill, King’s Mountain, Blackstock’s, Cowpens, Guilford Courthouse, Siege of Augusta, and Eutaw Springs. Hammond served in the US Congress and after the Louisiana Purchase in
1803, President Thomas Jefferson appointed . . . — Map (db m9800) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), North Augusta — Spanish American War Tribute|
| Spanish American War
The battle with the
slogan "Remember the
Maine", brought the
United States as a
great power and the
beginning of overseas
recognition. — Map (db m31208) WM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), North Augusta — 2-6 — The Martintown Road|
|In the 1730s, an Indian path from Fort Moore to the Saluda ridge was used by traders going to the Cherokee Nation. Later, a wagon road from Ninety Six to Augusta followed the same route. Named for the Martin family who lived beside it and served well the cause of the Revolution, it was widely used during that conflict by Patriots, Tories, and British. — Map (db m32320) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), North Augusta — Viet Nam War Tribute|
Viet Nam War
1963 — 1975
This monument stands as
a testimonial to the
dedication, devotion and
sacrifice of our men and
women in the defense of
freedom for the South
Vietnamese people. — Map (db m31489) WM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), North Augusta — War Between The States Tribute|
|War Between The States
1861 — 1865
Let the stranger who may in
future times read this
inscription recognize that
these were men whom power
could not corrupt, whom death
could not terrify, whom
defeat could not dishonor,
and let their virtues plead
for just judgement of the
cause in which they perished.
Let the South Carolinian of
another generation remember
that the state taught them
how to live and how to die,
and that from her broken
fortunes she . . . — Map (db m31127) WM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), North Augusta — War of 1812 Tribute|
| War of 1812 1812 — 1815 They bravely fought
and willingly died for
principles they knew
to be right. — Map (db m30869) WM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), North Augusta — World War I Tribute|
|World War I
1914 — 1918
Dedicated to the men
and women who served
in the great war which
was believed to be the
final war of human
liberty and the "war to
end all wars". — Map (db m31243) WM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), North Augusta — World War II Tribute|
|World War II
1941 — 1945
Dedicated to the men and women
who battled globally to
secure a free world for
all mankind. The massive
production war effort caused
many women to enter industry
and changed the American
lifestyle for all time.
The efforts of both citizens
and soldiers are appreciated. — Map (db m31269) WM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), Perry — Commemorative Memorial — ( Perry S. C. )|
In Recognition of those of
Perry serving in the
U.S. Armed Forces
and in memory of those
who lost their lives.
Erected Oct. 8, 1988 — Map (db m50340) WM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), Salley — Capt. Dempsey Hammond Salley — 1838 - 1903|
A patriot and Christian
devoted to his country, his
family and his god.
He served his country well
as a member of Hart's Battery
and died loving the cause
for which he fought.
Dempsey Hammond Salley was
the great, great grandson of one
of the first settlers in the
Orangeburg District with a
land grant from King George II
in 1735. He was the son of
John Allen Salley and Ann
Catherine Hartzog. The Capt.
was born on his fathers . . . — Map (db m47645) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), Salley — The Salley Family|
|( Front ) 1735
The Salley Family
First settlement of
the Salley Family
in the Orangeburg
1690 - 1765
1730 - 1795
Erected 1976 — Map (db m47717) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), Wagener — The Crawfords Memorial|
Herbert Boyd (H.B.) Crawford
April 8, 1946
During World War II with Japan
his back was broken & both
legs were paralyzed when his
cargo ship was torpedoed
Mabel Garvin Tarver Crawford
May 6, 1945
Presented the Exceptional Award
By The National Security Agency
At Washington, D.C.
While on assignment to the United States Naval Intelligence OP-20-G;
Rendered . . . — Map (db m56751) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), Wagener — 2-43 — Wagener|
|Wagener, established after the Blackville, Alston, & Newberry RR built its line from Blackville to Seivern in 1887-88, was originally known as Guntersville or Gunter´s Crossroads. When incorporated in 1888 it was renamed for George A. Wagener (1846-1908), a Charleston merchant and president of the B. A. & N. RR. In 1891 the B. A. & N. merged with the Barnwell Railway to form Carolina Midland Railway, which would be absorbed by the Southern Railway in 1900.
George . . . — Map (db m67342) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), Wagener — Wagener Memorial Monument|
In Honor and Memory of Heroes of Wagener Past and Present
Seals of: United States Army; United States Marine Corps; United States Navy; United States Air Force; United States Coast Guard; POW * MIA
Blue Star Memorial
A tribute to the Armed Forces that have defended the United States of America
Sponsored by Wagener Garden Club
Seals of: Wagener Chief Police Department; District 16 Fire & Rescue; Medical; Wagener, SC Police
. . . — Map (db m54850) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), Wagener — Wagener Museum|
|Prior to 1887 the area now known as the Wagener
Community was called Guntersville, and its residents
were primarily engaged in agriculture, for their
livelihood. The coming of the railroad, "The Swamp
Rabbit", in 1887 drew farmers, timberjacks, and
entrepreneurs into town and connected their society to
other towns along the route.
The principal motivation for the railroad,
the kaolin industry, opened Wagener to
the outside world. Timber could then . . . — Map (db m40428) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), Warrenville — 2-28 — Jacksonville School / Jacksonville Lodge|
Jacksonville School, built by the Jacksonville Lodge in 1895, taught the black children of this community until 1936. Grades 1-7, with two teachers, met in two classrooms on the first floor, without electricity or running water. The Jacksonville Community Commission acquired and renovated the building in 1991-92.
Jacksonville Lodge This building was constructed in 1895 by the Jacksonville Lodge, Grand United Order of Odd Fellows, a black fraternal organization. . . . — Map (db m31175) HM|
|South Carolina (Aiken County), Warrenville — 2-34 — Jefferson High School / Rev. Austin Jefferson, Sr.|
|Jefferson High School Jefferson High School opened in 1956 as a junior high and high school for African-American students of Beech Island, Belvedere, Graniteville, Jackson, Langley-Bath-Clearwater, and North Augusta, with Herman W.W. Fennell (1910-1996) as principal. After county schools desegregated in 1970 it became Jefferson Junior High School, and in 1980 it became Jefferson Elementary School.
Rev. Austin Jefferson, Sr.
This was one of three African-American schools in Aiken . . . — Map (db m31675) HM|
|South Carolina (Allendale County), Allendale — 3-3 — Antioch Christian Church|
Organized in 1833 by Dr. and Mrs.
W.R. Erwin and Mrs. U.M. Robert,
this was the second Christian
Church (Disciples Of Christ)
founded in South Carolina.
Dr. J.D. Erwin, II, served
as minister for forty years.
The present building was used
as a court house in 1865. — Map (db m19635) HM|
|South Carolina (Allendale County), Allendale — 3-2 — Beech Branch Baptist Church|
Constituted September 12, 1759
as Coosawhatchie Church, this
church became in 1882 Beech
Branch Baptist Church. The
present lot was granted in 1796
and occupied by 1815. The building
was remodeled in 1908 and in 1960,
electricity having been installed and
the porch added in 1959, when
weekly morning services began.
The annex was built in 1962. — Map (db m15466) HM|
|South Carolina (Allendale County), Allendale — 3-14 — Happy Home Baptist Church|
| (Front text)
This church, founded soon after the Civil War, held its first services in a brush arbor in the Woods community of what was then Barnwell County. It built its first permanent church, a frame building, in the Zion Branch community near Old Allendale, and adopted the name Zion Branch Baptist Church. The church bought this site in 1875, built a new frame sanctuary here, and was renamed Happy Home Baptist Church. |
Rev. Jacob S. Daniels served the . . . — Map (db m49489) HM
|South Carolina (Allendale County), Allendale — 3-7 — Old Allendale|
Original site of Allendale, named
for its first postmaster, Paul Allen,
in 1849. Sherman's troops under
Gen. Kilpatrick camped here.
Town moved to present site by
1873. — Map (db m15914) HM|
|South Carolina (Allendale County), Allendale — 3-1 — Smyrna Baptist Church|
|Organized in 1827 as Kirkland Church, the name was changed in 1836 to Smyrna Baptist Church. Title to the site was conveyed in 1849 by William I. Mixon.
Additional land was given by Thomas H. Willingham in 1882 to extend the church property to the Matthew's Bluff Road. — Map (db m15581) HM|
|South Carolina (Allendale County), Allendale — 3-5 — Town of Allendale|
In 1810, pursuant to an Act of the South Carolina General Assembly, the state conveyed a 1000 acre landgrant signed by governor John Drayton to Benjamin and G. Washington Allen. The acreage included the present town of Allendale, which is presumed to have derived its name from the Allen family.
(Reverse) Allendale post office was established here July 11, 1849; Paul H. Allen was the first postmaster. By 1873 the Port Royal Railroad had completed a line through . . . — Map (db m6537) HM|
|South Carolina (Allendale County), Fairfax — Allendale County War Memorial|
Dedicated June 1954
to the memory of
brave men, who died
that their country
might live — Map (db m16900) HM|
|South Carolina (Allendale County), Fairfax — 3-4 — Bethlehem Church|
|This Baptist Church, organized by 1854, built its first house of worship near here on land purchased in 1859 from A.R. Stokes. The congregation obtained the land for its present location in 1910 from G.D. Sanders and completed by 1914. In 1944 the name was changed to the First Baptist Church. — Map (db m9960) HM|
|South Carolina (Allendale County), Fairfax — 3-11 — Fairfax|
Fairfax, chartered in 1893 and
incorporated in 1896, grew out of
an early community centered around
Owens' Crossroads, where a store
was established in 1814, and later
including Bethlehem Baptist Church
( now First Baptist Church ), founded
in 1852. When Port Royal RR was
completed through this area in 1873
a depot and post office were built
1½ mi. E and named Cambellton
By 1881 W.J. and J.F. Sanders ran a
store and post office . . . — Map (db m7082) HM|
|South Carolina (Allendale County), Fairfax — 3-8 — Harmony Baptist Church|
|This church had its origins in a brush arbor as early as 1830 but was formally organized in 1878 with Rev. H. C. Smart as its first pastor and W. H. Cone and R. H. Mixon as its first deacons. Named Harmony Baptist Church by charter member Sarah Gooding, it affiliated with the Savannah River Association. This sanctuary, on land donated by Josiah Loadholt, was built in 1880. — Map (db m25859) HM|
|South Carolina (Allendale County), Martin — Concord Baptist Church|
1855 — 1948 — Map (db m31543) HM|
|South Carolina (Allendale County), Millett — 3-13 — Speedwell Methodist Church|
|(Front text) This church, founded in 1885, was named Speedwell for a stagecoach stop and the first post office in the vicinity, now Millett. In 1884-85 Ogreta Brabham Dunbar and Savannah Barker Bates raised funds for a new congregation, in what was then Barnwell County. In 1885 Mary Dunbar Lafitte and her husband John H. Lafitte donated a five-acre tract here for the church.
The first church on this site, built about 1885, was replaced by the present church, . . . — Map (db m37789) HM|
|South Carolina (Allendale County), Sycamore — 3-12 — Barker's Mill / Skirmish at Barker's Mill|
|(Barker's Mill side of marker):
Barker's Mill, which stood here on
Jackson Branch, was a grist mill
owned by William Ransome Barker
(1816-1869), a planter in what was
then Barnwell District. Barker moved
to this are in the 1850s,built a house
about 2 mi. N. and established
a cotton plantation of 2,000~3,000
acres which he named "Sycamore."
The town of Sycamore, chartered in
1891, was named for the plantation.
(Skirmish at Barker's Mill side of marker):
On . . . — Map (db m7176) HM|
|South Carolina (Allendale County), Sycamore — 3-10 — Bethel Baptist Church|
|(Front Text )
This church was organized in 1851 by Revs.
Lewis Parker and John Hoover, with twelve
charter members and Rev. Hoover as its
first minister. The congregation has
worshipped on this site, on land donated
by Mathias Mathis, since it was organized.
It first met under a brush arbor, then in a
log church built in 1852. The second
sanctuary here, a frame church, was built
( Reverse Text )
The present sanctuary here, built in 1949,
is attached . . . — Map (db m7771) HM|
|South Carolina (Allendale County), Sycamore — 3-9 — Old St. Nicholas Cemetery|
|The original cemetery associated with St.
Nicholas Lutheran Church is 1/3 mile S off
SC Hwy 641. The church, originally located
nearby, was founded about 1804 in what was
then Barnwell District, and the cemetery
includes family plots of the Platts, Harter,
and other area families. The present St.
Nicholas Lutheran Church, 2 mi. S, was
built in 1910. — Map (db m7855) HM|
|South Carolina (Allendale County), Sycamore — 3-6 — St. Nicholas Church|
Lutheran church, org. by 1804, has occupied
several sites. Today's structure, built in 1910,
incorporates material from the 1884 church and
stands about 2 mi south. — Map (db m7842) HM|
|South Carolina (Anderson County), Anderson — "Old Reformer" Cannon — ca. 1764|
The history of the brass cannon reflects the history of the Upstate of South Carolina during some of its most critical eras of conflict and change. The "Old Reformer" is also one of the oldest artifacts in the Upstate, since it arrived here before the town of Anderson Court House or the County existed. The artillery arrived in the Upstate in 1814, when the cannon was transported from Charleston to the Upstate to protect the settlers during the War of 1812. The cannon was thought to have been . . . — Map (db m42194) HM|
|South Carolina (Anderson County), Anderson — A Living Tribute|
|This area planted in appreciation of
Mr. & Mrs. Wilton E. Hall
who since April 7, 1955 have contributed the facilities of radio stations WAIM & WCAC-FM to carry the ministry of this class to many thousands of people each Sunday morning.
Mr. Hall was ordained a deacon in 1945 and Mrs. Hall served for twenty years as president of the Brock Philathea Class. — Map (db m65189) HM|
|South Carolina (Anderson County), Anderson — Abney Athletic Center|
|This building was made possible by the
generous support of
The Abney Foundation
John R. Fulp, Jr.
It will forever serve as a tribute to the dedication and work of the many thousands of men and women who are a part of the textile industry throughout South Carolina. — Map (db m19810) HM|
|South Carolina (Anderson County), Anderson — Anderson Boys' High School|
formerly stood at the
"Home of the Yellow Jackets"
Anderson Boys' High School
was located on this site.
The school educated many of
our city's young men from
the year 1923 until its close in
1962. The hopes, dreams and
aspirations of thousands of
young Anderson males
passed through this entryway
on the way to their futures. — Map (db m59359) HM|
|South Carolina (Anderson County), Anderson — Anderson College Infirmary|
Mr. & Mrs. Rex Rice
Belton, South Carolina
for the Advancement of Christian Education and to the Glory of God. — Map (db m19812) HM|
|South Carolina (Anderson County), Anderson — Anderson County Confederate Monument|
(Crossed swords in scabbards with a laurel wreath - representing the cavalry.)
(Confederate Battle Flag)
"Though conquered, we adore it!
Love the cold dead hands that bore it!"
(Furled Stainless Banner)
(Cannon wheel, cannon balls, cannon swabs - representing the artillery.)
1st Battle Manassas, Williamsburg, Seven Pines, Caines' Mill, Frazier's Farm, Chickamauga, Wilderness, Spottsylvania, Chancellorsville, . . . — Map (db m10732) HM|
|South Carolina (Anderson County), Anderson — Anderson County Court House -- 1898|
This is Anderson County's second court house. It stands on the site of the first small brick court house where the first court session in Anderson was held on the third Monday in October, 1820. The present building of pronounced Victorian architecture was dedicated June 27, 1898, with elaborate explosives opened with a procession from the Hotel Chiquola (Plaza Hotel Building). The Court House addition was erected in 1939. The clock face and bell in the tower are the same ones used in the . . . — Map (db m10692) HM|
|South Carolina (Anderson County), Anderson — Anderson County Courthouse Annex Park|
| The location of the Anderson County Courthouse Annex on the corner of Fant and River Street has unique significance to Anderson's history. The site is the location of the 1865 federal encampment of the First Maine, 33rd Regiment, United States Colored Troops (USCT), a military unit composed of African American soldiers. The encampment included the terrain where historic McCant's Middle School now stands, continuing to the corner of Fant and River Streets. The First Marine troops, 33rd Regiment . . . — Map (db m19838) HM|
|South Carolina (Anderson County), Anderson — Anderson County Farmers Market Pavilion|
|This Building was originally constructed in the 1930's for use as the Anderson Petroleum Company. It was renovated in the fall of 2005 to be the new home of the Anderson County Farmers Market Pavilion.
2005 Anderson County
Farmers Market Board
Clifford Newton - Farmers Marker Manager
Bill Lloyd - Project Engineer
2005 Anderson County
Council . . . — Map (db m42257) HM|
|South Carolina (Anderson County), Anderson — Anderson County Fire Fighters Memorial|
|Remembering those that gave
their lives protecting people
"...We are the defenders from fire, of the art which has beautified the world, the product of the genius of man and the means of refinement of mankind. But, above all, our proudest endeavor is to save lives of men, a work of God himself." -- Excerpt from The Firemen's Creed
Firefighters That Have Died in the Line of Duty in Anderson County
William E. Campbell, 1913, City of Anderson
Robert . . . — Map (db m19915) HM|
|South Carolina (Anderson County), Anderson — Anderson County Law Enforcement Officers Memorial|
A memorial to the Memory of the law enforcement officers of Anderson County South Carolina who gave their lives in the line of duty. Their valor and sacrifice will be long remembered.
William Gibson Anderson Police Dept. 1924
James Wilson Sheriff Dept. 1926
Luther Martin Sheriff Dept. 1928
Ed Sanders Anderson Police Dept. 1947
W.L. Bill Acker . . . — Map (db m11399) HM|
|South Carolina (Anderson County), Anderson — Anderson County Library|
|For over a decade, the Board of Trustees, the staff, and Friends of the Anderson County Library have pursued a dream of building a library adequate in size and scope to meet the needs of the community. Today, the original Carnegie-endowed Anderson Public Library is celebrated as Anderson County Library in a new 96,000 square-foot facility.
Dedicated September 24, 2000
List of Dignitaries — Map (db m81274) HM|
|South Carolina (Anderson County), Anderson — Anderson County Veterans Monument|
This monument is dedicated to the war veterans of Anderson County. On its walls are listed the names of our natives who served in World War I, World War II, the Korean War, the Vietnam War, and the Persian Gulf War. In addition, the monument lists the names of out local men and women who lost their lives during peacetime service in the United States Armed Forces.
Each section of the monument is dedicated to veterans form the different wars. In each section, the names of the veterans who . . . — Map (db m21367) WM|
|South Carolina (Anderson County), Anderson — 4-18 — Anderson Mills|
| Founded in 1888, Anderson Cotton Mills, later a division of Abney Mills, was the first textile plant established in the town of Anderson. It is said to be the first textile mill in the United States powered by electricity transmitted over long distance power lines. Electricity for the plant was generated at Portman Shoals, located on the Seneca River. — Map (db m52093) HM|
|South Carolina (Anderson County), Anderson — Anderson Presbyterian Church Cemetery|
Land Given by
Judge J.N. Whitner
Used as the First
Public Burial Ground
For the Village — Map (db m49496) HM|
|South Carolina (Anderson County), Anderson — Anderson Regional Airport|
The first municipal airport in Anderson was just a grassy field located near where the Civic Center now stands. An historical marker notes the site where Amelia Earhart landed there on November 14, 1931.
In the early 1930s land was purchased from J. Roy Pennell to create the current airport During World War II the grass airship was paved and served pilots learning tactical bombing techniques. Samuel L. "Dean" Prince, a former Dean of the University of South Carolina School of Law, . . . — Map (db m53938) HM|
|South Carolina (Anderson County), Anderson — Anderson, S.C. — The Electric City — Founded in 1827|
|Named in Honor of
Gen. Robert Anderson
A Revolutionary Hero — Map (db m10671) HM|
|South Carolina (Anderson County), Anderson — 4-25 — Anderson: "The Electric City"|
Anderson was dubbed "The Electric City" in 1895 when William C. Whitner, an engineer and native of Anderson, built a hydroelectric power plant which was the first in the South to transmit electricity over long distances. The plant, in McFall's Mill at High Shoals on the Rocky River 6 mi. E, supplied power to light the city and also operated several small industries in Anderson. In 1897 Whitner replaced the
experimental plant with a larger generating . . . — Map (db m10693) HM|
|South Carolina (Anderson County), Anderson — Bank of Anderson Building - ca. 1891|
This building was erected as the home of the Bank of Anderson, an outgrowth of the Anderson National Bank founded in 1872 with Col. Joseph Newton Brown as president. The early bank was located on the west side of the square. It was the second banking institution established in the city. In 1891 the Anderson National Bank was reorganized and renamed the Bank of Anderson. Its first president was B.F. Mauldin. The bank continued in operation until 1925. The original entrance to this building . . . — Map (db m21221) HM|
|South Carolina (Anderson County), Anderson — Blue Ridge Railroad Passenger Station -- c. 1913|
This building was erected as a passenger station or the Blue Ridge Railroad. It bridges the railroad cut under North Main Street which was excavated by the Blue Ridge Railroad Company as part of a project to build a line over the mountains to Knoxville, Tennessee, where it would connect with other railroads to the mid-west. The excavation work was done by Drawford Keys with the help of slave labor beginning in 1854. The project was abandoned in 1869, and the railroad was completed only as . . . — Map (db m94745) HM|
|South Carolina (Anderson County), Anderson — Boy High School|
The original Anderson High School sat on the corner of North Fant and East Calhoun Streets. All grade levels were taught despite being called a high school. This school burned down in 1904 and was rebuilt the following year. Due to overcrowding, students of Anderson High School continued to be placed in several different school locations. To alleviate the problem, the school board contracted architect J.M. Baldwin to draw plans for a new school. The school board purchased two lots of land on . . . — Map (db m65305) HM|
|South Carolina (Anderson County), Anderson — Building History / Major Frank R Thompson (1903-1977)|
Built in the 1930s by Frank R. Thompson, this building was the main street depot for the Anderson Petroleum Company and Dixie Distributors, Inc., both successful petroleum distributors in Anderson, Oconee, Pickens, Greenwood, Abbeville, and McCormick counties. Thompson's companies imported petroleum products from the adjacent P&N rail depot. This building's distinctive "stone and red mortar" facade was the architectural signature of Thompson's Dixie Petroleum . . . — Map (db m42762) HM|
|South Carolina (Anderson County), Anderson — Denmark Hall|
|This building constructed in 1912
is named in honor of
Dr. Annie Dove Denmark
associated with Anderson College for
36 years, serving as President of the
college from 1928-1953. Dr. Denmark
was a resident of this dormitory
during her tenure. — Map (db m19738) HM|
|South Carolina (Anderson County), Anderson — Dr. Samuel Marshall Orr House|
Department of Archives
of Historic Places — Map (db m54790) HM|
|South Carolina (Anderson County), Anderson — 4-39 — Ebenezer Methodist Church|
This church, formally organized by about 1800, is thought to be the oldest Methodist congregation in Anderson County. Circuit riders and other itinerant ministers held early services in a nearby brush arbor. Its first and second churches were small log buildings. A frame sanctuary, built by church members Samuel Emerson before the Civil War, was the first built on this site.
Church trustees acquired this site in 1839, purchasing 3 acres from Amaziah . . . — Map (db m55621) HM|
|South Carolina (Anderson County), Anderson — Fant's Book Store -- 1851|
| This store is the oldest business firm in Anderson. It has been owned and operated consistently by the same family for 175 years. Established by George W. Fant and originally named G.W. Fant & Son the store is an outgrowth of Dr. Edmund Webb's Drug and Book store, one of Anderson's first business establishments. Prior to 1851 Mr. Fant was associated with the Webb firm and assisted in conducting the business of the Post Office which was located in the store on the west side of the square. The . . . — Map (db m21292) HM|
|South Carolina (Anderson County), Anderson — First Lady of the Skies|
Famous aviator Amelia Earhart landed on an airfield near here on November 14, 1931. She was piloting a Beechnut Autogiro on a nation wide tour promoting Beechnut Products. It was shortly after completing this tour that she made her famous solo flight across the Atlantic, flying from Harbour Grace, Newfoundland to Londonberry, Ireland on May 20, 1932. The airfield where Earhart landed was the original Anderson County Airport, founded in 1928 on the highest land Anderson County owned, this . . . — Map (db m21250) HM|
|South Carolina (Anderson County), Anderson — First Presbyterian Church|
Organized Sept. 23, 1837 on land given by J. N. Whitner. First frame structure was built in 1839. Anderson's first cemetery is here, and city's first Sunday School was organized here about 1855. Present sanctuary's cornerstone was laid in 1879. Kirk was built in 1922 on the site of the first sanctuary. Education building and Gallant Chapel were built in 1968. — Map (db m10727) HM|
|South Carolina (Anderson County), Anderson — Flat Rock Cemetery Veterans Monument|
Veterans Who Are buried
in Flat Rock Cemetery
Harry Drake, Daniel Y. Culbertson, J.C. Culbertson, Luther M. Borders, John T Neims, Charles A. Thornton, Berry Faine, Edward Graham, Charles A. Smith, Robert Lee Coker, Russell W. Adams, Fred Walter Hall, Walter C. Telford, Benjamin F. Culbertson, Albert L. Poindexter, Zack D. Bannister, Lucius D. Clinkscales, Fred Johnson Tucker, Lewis Charles Elrod, Joseph Edgar Cheek, Frank . . . — Map (db m54779) HM|
|South Carolina (Anderson County), Anderson — Frierson School House — ca. 1886|
Miss Sarah Jane (Janie) Frierson was a well known educator and the daughter of Dr. David Frierson, an early pastor of the First Presbyterian Church of Anderson. Miss Frierson opened her one room school in the late 1880s. One room schools of this type were common throughout Anderson County, with potbelly stoves for heat, natural light for illumination, and outhouses. All grades were taught in the same room at the same time. Books were shared, discipline was severe, and oral repetitions of . . . — Map (db m42189) HM|
|South Carolina (Anderson County), Anderson — G. Ross Anderson Jr. Federal Building and United States Courthouse|
|Entered on the National Register
of Historic Places
December 13, 1971
Federal Postal Station
Anderson, South Carolina
Thomas Harlan Ellett
This property significantly contributes to the Nation's cultural heritage.
Commemorated June 1976
Gerald R. Ford
President of the United States
Administrator of General Services — Map (db m19912) HM|
|South Carolina (Anderson County), Anderson — G.F. Tolly Building -- c. 1910|
This building was erected as the home of G.F. Tolly Furniture Company, an outgrowth of Anderson's first cabinet shop established at this site by Ezekiel George. George F. Tolly entered business with Mr. George in 1856. Later married George's daughter and eventually inherited the business. The G.F. Tolly Company also operated as a funeral home. Was carried on for many years by Tolly descendants and became one of the largest furniture dealers in the state. The business moved elsewhere when . . . — Map (db m42725) HM|
|South Carolina (Anderson County), Anderson — Girls High School|
The Anderson County Museum is situated on the former site of Anderson Girls High School. The original structure, an imposing multi-story brick building, was built in 1918. At that time, both boys and girls attended the school known as Anderson High School. In 1921, a fire swept through the building requiring extensive repairs. In 1923, the school administration decided to split the student body along gender lines. Girls attended the newly named Anderson Girls High School, and the boys . . . — Map (db m42249) HM|
|South Carolina (Anderson County), Anderson — 4-30 — Grace Episcopal Church|
This Parish, organized in 1851 with the Rev. Benjamin Webb as its first vicar, grew out of occasional Episcopal services held in Anderson as early as 1844. The first church here, a frame Carpenter Gothic building, was completed in 1860 on land donated by Daniel Brown. Housing Anderson's first pipe organ, a tower was added in 1883, and stained glass windows in 1888. An 1890 fire did moderate damage.
The second church, a brick Gothic Revival building first . . . — Map (db m10417) HM|
|South Carolina (Anderson County), Anderson — 4-2 — High Shoals|
|2.9 miles south on Rocky River
Anderson Water, Light, & Power Co.,
organized in 1894 by
William C. Whitner,
was successful the next year
in transmitting electricity over
the distance of six miles
This achievement was a herald
of the industrial revolution
in the South. — Map (db m88441) HM|
|South Carolina (Anderson County), Anderson — Historic Wilhite House — Antebellum|
Dr. P.A. Wilhite
Discoverer Of Ether — Map (db m10737) HM|
|South Carolina (Anderson County), Anderson — 4-13 — Hopewell Church|
This Baptist church, which was first located about 1.5 miles northwest, was constituted in 1803. The congregation moved to the present 4.4 acre site after it was surveyed December 14, 1822. Two houses of worship were built here before 1891, when a third was erected. It was replaced by the present 1949 structure. — Map (db m10668) HM|
|South Carolina (Anderson County), Anderson — In Commemoration of Black Pioneers|
Dr. N.H. Jenkins, M.D.
Dr. Moses Jenkins, Pharmacist
Stewart Anderson, Merchant
E.J. Thomas, Tailor
W.I. Peek, Mortician
Arfelton Adger, Taxicab
East Church Street
What Was Once Can Never
Be Again; Records Will
Show We Were Here
City of Anderson, S.C.
Darwin H. Wright
Francis E. . . . — Map (db m19914) HM|
|South Carolina (Anderson County), Anderson — In Honor and Remembrance|
|In Honor and Remembrance
heroes and victims of September 11, 2001
and to celebrate
the enduring spirit of all Americans. — Map (db m19891) HM|
|South Carolina (Anderson County), Anderson — In This Burial Ground|
|In this burial ground
the first public burial ground
in the City of Anderson, S.C.,
rest fifty or more persons
known only to God.
This plaque is in honor of
those unnamed persons who
lived and died as a part
of the Anderson community. — Map (db m54638) HM|
|South Carolina (Anderson County), Anderson — James Lawrence Orr|
|Born August 29, 1852
Died February 26, 1905
Founder and President
Orr Cotton Mills
Honest and Fearless in the
Discharge of Every Duty.
Rest in Peace. — Map (db m15269) HM|
|South Carolina (Anderson County), Anderson — Korean War / Viet Nam Veterans|
In honor of the
Korean War veterans of
In honor of the
Viet Nam veterans of
1964-1975 — Map (db m10674) WM|
|South Carolina (Anderson County), Anderson — Lebanon Baptist Church — est. 1815|
|At the Site of the
Old Lebanon Church Cemetery.
Relocated to Present Site in 1860.
Present Sanctuary Built in 1911. — Map (db m52076) HM|
|South Carolina (Anderson County), Anderson — M42A1 "Duster"|
• A mobile, full tracked, lightly armored antiaircraft & ground support weapon system.
• Manufactured by Cadillac at the Cleveland Tank Arsenal in the 1950s.
• Weight of 49,500 pounds and a crew of six.
• Powered by a continental air cooled supercharged engine with 895 cubic inches and 500 horsepower.
• A GM Allison automatic transmission.
• Armament included twin 40mm automatic guns, Swedish design by Bofors (240 rounds per minute) and an air cooled 30 caliber flexible machine . . . — Map (db m19918) HM|
|South Carolina (Anderson County), Anderson — Masonic Temple -- 1889|
| This is the second Masonic Temple to occupy this location. After its organization in 1848, Hiram Lodge No. 68 met in the second story of a store building on the east side of the square for several years. The first temple was erected at this location in 1866. Its small auditorium was Anderson's first theater. The building also was used to house Anderson first hospital established during the Civil War as the Ladies Hospital Association. The present temple, once topped by a cupola, was dedicated . . . — Map (db m38438) HM|
|South Carolina (Anderson County), Anderson — McDuffie High School — "Home of the Fighting Scots"|
|McDuffie High School stood
proudly at this location from
1964 until 1996. Serving
Anderson as a comprehensive
vocational high school,
McDuffie enrollment averaged
1000 students each year it was
open. Many of Anderson's
current business and
community leaders are placed
McDuffie High School graduates. — Map (db m59360) HM|
|South Carolina (Anderson County), Anderson — McGee Harness Shop|
The McGee Harness Shop was located on the corner of West Benson Street in downtown Anderson. Mr. James L. McGee was listed in the 1905 Anderson City Directory as a dealer in stock, buggies, wagons, and harnesses. By 1910, the small shop located at 131 West Benson Street was part of the Davis Brothers Livery and Boarding Stables which provided horses, mules, vehicles and harnesses, and was open 2 hours a day.
By 1925, Elias and Willis McGee became owners of the Davis and McGee Mule . . . — Map (db m42151) HM|
|South Carolina (Anderson County), Anderson — Mountain Creek Baptist Church|
|Organized in 1789 initially as an Arm
of the Shockley Ferry Church.
Known for a time as Bethesda.
Cooper Bennett was its first pastor.
The oldest church in the Saluda Baptist
Association, it has been a Lighthouse
for the lost and a place for all to
worship God and continue to move on
Forward Through the Ages — Map (db m10132) HM|
|South Carolina (Anderson County), Anderson — Mrs. J.D. Chapman|
|In Memory of
Mrs. J.D. Chapman
First President of Woman's Missionary Union
Auxiliary to South Carolina Baptist Convention
Dedicated Christian Missions Leader
of Vision and Ability
Honored by Name of WMU State Mission Offering
Her Watchword: "Be Ye Steadfast." — Map (db m19867) HM|
|South Carolina (Anderson County), Anderson — New Silver Brook Veterans Monument|
To All Veterans
Who Have Served Their Country
Honorably and Bravely.
May They Rest in Peace. — Map (db m57675) HM|
|South Carolina (Anderson County), Anderson — 4-14 — Old Hopewell Cemetery|
Located 1.09 miles northwest, this cemetery marks the original site of Hopewell Baptist Church which was constituted in 1803. The cemetery contains graves of Revolutionary and Confederate veterans. Some graves are marked by field stones with hand-chiseled initials. — Map (db m10724) HM|
|South Carolina (Anderson County), Anderson — Old Silverbrook Veterans Memorial|
To All Veterans
Who Have Served Their Country
Honorably and Bravely.
May They Rest in Peace. — Map (db m19886) HM|
|South Carolina (Anderson County), Anderson — 4-26 — Oliver Bolt's Cotton Gin|
The first cotton gin to be powered by electricity transmitted over a long distance stood near this site on the farm of Oliver "Duck" Bolt (1847-1922). In 1897 Bolt, whose gin had previously been powered by a steam engine, contracted with the Anderson Water, Light, and Power Company to furnish electricity for a 20-horsepower electric motor from its new plant at Portman Shoals, 7 mi. W on the Seneca River. — Map (db m15161) HM|
|South Carolina (Anderson County), Anderson — Orr Mill Cemetery — Preserving Our Cemeteries|
Deeded to the City in 1992, these humble grounds are the final resting place for some Orr Mill employees and family members dating to the 1800s. Numerous graves are here, marked and unmarked, including infants.
Help us improve these unique memorial grounds as a tribute to our past and to welcome visitors for generations to come. — Map (db m50102) HM|
|South Carolina (Anderson County), Anderson — Orr Monument|
The Orr Monument was never a tombstone, but a cenotaph, or memorial, to Colonel James L. Orr, son of South Carolina Governor James L. Orr. Colonel Orr was an Anderson native, the founder and president of Orr Cotton Mills, and a well known philanthropist of his era. Colonel Orr supported the building of an experimental hydro-electric plant at High Shoals. With the success of the first ever long distance transmission of electricity from this plant, Colonel Orr continued to support the effort . . . — Map (db m42246) HM|
|South Carolina (Anderson County), Anderson — Portman Dam and Power Plant|
In 1889, the City of Anderson contracted with a 26 year old native son, an engineering graduate of the University of South Carolina, to build a steam power plant and water system for the city. Keeping up with the engineering achievements of the day, William Church Whitner became convinced that the long distance transmission of electric energy using hydropower would be developed in Anderson. On May 1, 1895, a group of Anderson's business and community leaders ventured . . . — Map (db m10697) HM|
|South Carolina (Anderson County), Anderson — 4-1 — Portman Shoals|
|Half mile West on Seneca River
the Portman Shoals Power Plant,
built by William C. Whitner,
began in 1897 the transmission
of high-voltage electricity over
the longest lines then in use for
that purpose in the United States.
The success of this plant,
now owned by Duke Power Company,
caused Anderson to be called
"The Electric City." — Map (db m10696) HM|
|South Carolina (Anderson County), Anderson — Pratt Hall|
|This building constructed in 1912
is named in honor of
Dr. and Mrs. R.N. Pratt
at Anderson College
Dr. Pratt - 1922-1927
Mrs. Pratt - 1922-1946 — Map (db m19745) HM|
|South Carolina (Anderson County), Anderson — Robert Anderson Memorial Fountain|
The idea for a memorial fountain to honor General Robert Anderson, the American Revolutionary hero for whom our county is named, was part of an overall plan to beautify downtown Anderson. Through the efforts of Mrs. Rufus Fant and the Anderson Civic Association, a small park was designed to surround the fountain, replacing the old hitching post area. Along the base of the fountain are the names of the officers of the Anderson Civic Association, the casting date "1905", and the dedication to . . . — Map (db m42186) HM|
|South Carolina (Anderson County), Anderson — 4-23 — Roberts Church|
Organized in 1789 and sometimes called Simpson's Meetinghouse, this church is one of Anderson County's oldest Presbyterian churches. The Reverend John Simpson was the first minister, and the Reverend David Humphreys served here for 39 years until his death in 1869. Both men are buried in the church sanctuary. The present sanctuary was built in 1937. — Map (db m31002) HM|
|South Carolina (Anderson County), Anderson — Site of First African American High School in Anderson County — Reed Street High School|
|After another high school was built, Reed Street High was renamed Perry Elementary School.
Perry Elementary later became known as
Perry Child Development Center.
This memorial is dedicated to the students teachers and principals who were a part of these historic institutions.
Presented to the Citizens of the City of
Anderson and Anderson County by the
Reed High School Alumni, July 9, 2004 — Map (db m60542) HM|
|South Carolina (Anderson County), Anderson — Site of Rose Hill -- 1794|
| The home of Judge Joseph N. Whitner, Anderson County's founding father, was located at the crest of this will. It stood until recent years when it was torn down. Judge Whitner was a South Carolina House of Representative from Pendleton District when the act dividing Pendleton District into Anderson and Pickens Counties was passed on December 20, 1826. He was the chief supporter of the bill and did most of the work involved in setting up Anderson County. In 1830 he was elected Anderson County's . . . — Map (db m59361) HM|
|South Carolina (Anderson County), Anderson — 4-7 — St. John's Methodist Church|
|Organized in 1828, this
was the first church in
Anderson. A log meeting
house built in 1830 on
West Benson Street served
the church until 1858
when a frame building
was erected on this site.
A brick church replaced
it in 1888. The present
sanctuary was completed
in 1912, the Educational
Building in 1928 and
the Activities Building
in 1956. The church was
named St. John's in 1897. — Map (db m10733) HM|
|South Carolina (Anderson County), Anderson — St. Paul's Baptist Church -- 1865|
This is the first Negro church established in Anderson County. It was founded immediately after emancipation and incorporated in 1873. The Rev. Philip Morris was its first pastor. The present edifice, built in 1903, replaced two earlier frame sanctuaries and is the first brick church for blacks erected in South Carolina. St. Paul's is the mother church of Wilson Calvary and Royal Baptist Churches. Plans for establishing Morris College, named for the first pastor of St. Paul's were made at a . . . — Map (db m60543) HM|
|South Carolina (Anderson County), Anderson — Sullivan Hardware Co. -- 1875|
This building was erected in 1891 and has been the home of Sullivan Hardware Company since 1903. In earlier years it was occupied by the Alliance Store operated by Rufus Hill. The Sullivan Firm was founded as a general merchandise store by J.M. Sullivan and C.S. Mattison in 1875. Originally it was located in the Centennial House (Old Christopher Orr Hotel Building) on E. Benson Street. When a Sullivan brother, H.K. Sullivan, bought Mr. Mattison's interest the name was changed from Sullivan & . . . — Map (db m42745) HM|
|South Carolina (Anderson County), Anderson — Sullivan Music Building|
|This building was donated to
Anderson College in 1914 by
Mr. Charles S. Sullivan, Sr.
to be used as the President's Home.
In 1965 it was renovated to serve
as the music building. — Map (db m19804) HM|
|South Carolina (Anderson County), Anderson — 4-41 — Temple B'Nai Isreal|
Anderson's Jewish Community dates to the antebellum era but grew significantly after 1900 with the arrival of several families from Eastern Europe. This congregation founded as Temple B'nai Israel (Sons of Israel) as early as 1911. It held services in the Masonic Temple on the square and a number of other buildings in downtown Anderson before the construction of this synagogue in 1948.
After World War II, with the Jewish population of Anderson almost . . . — Map (db m77333) HM|
|South Carolina (Anderson County), Anderson — The Anderson Sports and Entertainment Complex|
Civic Center of Anderson - 1992
Chris Taylor Memorial Park - Dedicated 1998
Anderson Sports Complex - 1999
Anderson County Amphitheater - 1999
The Anderson County Sports and Entertainment Center
was designed to improve the quality of life for all
citizens of Anderson County. Although created for the
enjoyment of residents and visitors alike, special
consideration was given to the needs of our children
and to their development as . . . — Map (db m36170) HM|
|South Carolina (Anderson County), Anderson — The First Baptist Church Bell|
Originally mounted in the church tower during the alterations to the building in the year 1892, and removed in 1976 when the old tower was razed.
The bell is mounted here as a symbol of the influence on the community of this church for the last one hundred and fifty-five years, and as a challenge for those who follow to work diligently for the advancement of the kingdom of God throughout the world.
May it still be used to mark significant events so that all who hear the clear tones . . . — Map (db m11248) HM|
|South Carolina (Anderson County), Anderson — The Four Way Test — Rotary International|
| In 1932, Rotarian Herbey Taylor created The Four Way Test, a code of ethics adopted by Rotary 11 years later. The test, which has been translated into more than 100 languages, asks the following questions:
Of the things we think, say or do
1. Is it the Truth?
2. Is it Fair to all concerned?
3. Will it build Goodwill and Better Friendships?
4. Will be be Beneficial to all concerned? — Map (db m62432) HM|
|South Carolina (Anderson County), Anderson — The Greeley Institute — 1870 - 1954|
| The Horace Greeley Institute Trust was established in 1870 in the name of abolitionist Horace Greeley. Because the trust was to be used for the advancement of the education of "Freedmen and their Children," a school, known as the Greeley Institute, was built and operated by the trustees until 1913.
In 1913, the Greeley Institute became part of the public school system and was relocated to a new building on this site on South Fant Street.
The building remained a public school of . . . — Map (db m61078) HM|
|South Carolina (Anderson County), Anderson — The H.H. Watkins Teaching Center|
|In Memory of
Henry Hitt Watkins
Maude Wakefield Watkins
This building was made possible through the generosity of Judge and Mrs. Watkins, the South Carolina Baptist Convention, and other dedicated friends of Anderson College.
Mr. Watkins, teacher, excellent lawyer and outstanding judge was chairman of the Committee of Forty selected by the citizens of Anderson to raise the first large gift presented toward the building of Anderson College. Mr. . . . — Map (db m19816) HM|
|South Carolina (Anderson County), Anderson — The Hole|
| This structure is called a "sweatbox" and was commonly used throughout the United States as a government-recommended method of disciplining prisoners during the mid-1900s. It was very much despised and feared by the prisoners, who referred to it as "the hole." This sweatbox is located on the site of the camp used to house prisoners of African-American descent. The camp for the white prisoners was located across the street where the Civil Center now stands. This sweatbox is the one that was . . . — Map (db m19917) HM|