HMdb.org THE HISTORICAL
MARKER DATABASE
            “Bite-Size Bits of Local, National, and Global History”
  Home  — My Markers  — Add A Marker  — Marker Series  — Links & Books  — Forum  — About Us
Click First to browse through the results shown on this page.   First >> 
Show DirectionsOmit Marker TextClick to map all markers shown on this page.
Tennessee Markers
2649 markers matched your search criteria. The first 250 markers are listed. Next 2399
Tennessee (Anderson County), Clinton — Prelude: The Green McAdoo School
Freedman's Hill, or Foley Hill as it came to be known, has long been an educational site for the African American community, whether in the schoolhouse built by the Freedman's Bureau after the Civil War, later destroyed by fire, or the churches of Asbury Methodist and Mount Sinai Baptist. Built in 1935, as a New Deal project, the present school was first named the Clinton Colored School. It was designed by architect Frank Barber, and bore similarities to schools funded by the Rosenwald Fund. . . . — Map (db m70646) HM
Tennessee (Anderson County), Oak Ridge — Erected in Memory of New Bethel Baptist Church
Opened 1851 - Closed 1942 Church building Stood 47 feet in front of this stone In Memory of our Dead And God shall wipe away all tears from their eyes, and there shall be no more death, neither sorrow nor crying, neither shall there be any more pain, for the former things are passed away. Rev. 21:4 Church Officers Board of Deacons J.F. Diggs, Chairman B.H. McGill J.B. Gamble Elbert Walker W. M. Thacker S.N. Lettrell Trustees S.O. Diggs C.R. Magill W.M. . . . — Map (db m70485) HM
Tennessee (Anderson County), Oak Ridge — I D 23 — Oak Ridge
In 1943, Oak Ridge was created as the residential center for the Clinton Engineering Works. Located on the northeast corner of a 59,000-acre reservation acquired by the government in 1942, the community was designed by Skidmore, Owings, and Merrill. Architects, in 1945. Oak Ridge reached a peak population of 75,000. On January 1, 1947, the Atomic Energy Commission assumed control of the community, in 1959. Oak Ridge became an incorporated municipality. — Map (db m17970) HM
Tennessee (Anderson County), Oak Ridge — 1D 29 — The Scarboro Community
The Scarboro Community was founded by three brothers in the early 1790s. Jonathan, David and James Scarborough traveled from Virginia and settled here. Scarboro was one of four area communities that predated Oak Ridge. The community remained largely unchanged until 1942, when the creation of the secret Oak Ridge facility meant dispersal of the community. — Map (db m32575) HM
Tennessee (Bedford County), Bell Buckle — 3G 27 — The Webb School
Founded 1870, at Culleoka, by William R. ("Sawney") Webb, whose brother John M. ("Old Jack") Webb joined him in 1874. It moved here in 1886. Its curriculum, embracing chiefly Latin, Greek and Mathematics, was designed to give a sound preparatory education. Many of its early graduates have conducted schools of the same type, which were once prominent in the South's educational system. — Map (db m24169) HM
Tennessee (Bedford County), Shelbyville — 3G 16 — Andrew's Raiders
On this knoll, members of the Federal party which attempted to destroy the Western & Atlantic R.R. in 1862, assembled before starting their foray. It started with seizure of the engine "General" and ended with recapture of the engine at the Georgia state line the same day. Several of the party were subsequently hanged. — Map (db m25432) HM
Tennessee (Bedford County), Shelbyville — 3G 6 — Army of the CumberlandJune 27, 1863
The Reserve Corps (Granger) moved south along this road, screened by the Army's Cavalry (D.S. Stanley). Taking Guy's Gap, against minor resistance, they pushed rapidly into Shelbyville, evacuated the same morning by the Corps of Maj. Gen. Leonidas Polk, which withdrew to Tullahoma. — Map (db m26075) HM
Tennessee (Bedford County), Shelbyville — Austin C. Shofner
Because Shofner and his compatriots brought home stark evidence of Japanese atrocities, the United States and their allies were compelled to alter their strategy in WWII. These reports of Japanese atrocities ignited an urgency to resolve the war against Japan more quickly. In response to these reports relayed by Shofner and his men, the allied nations developed operation to take the war directly to the Japanese homeland. Thereafter, the war in the Pacific was fought with the same priority as . . . — Map (db m25051) HM
Tennessee (Bedford County), Shelbyville — 3G 23 — Church of the Redeemer
This was Lot 44 of the original town plan. A log church was built here in 1815. The Presbyterians used it, and built the present church in 1817. In 1856, a Catholic congregation bought the building, selling to the Northern Methodists in 1894. These sold the building at auction in 1934. The Protestant Episcopal Diocese of Tennessee bought it in 1935 and consecrated in in 1936. — Map (db m25049) HM
Tennessee (Bedford County), Shelbyville — 3G 29 — Clement Cannon, Sr.
Born in NC, 1783; veteran of the War of 1812; early Bedford County manufacturer; Whig political leader. In 1810 Cannon provided 100 acres of land for the site of the "Town of Shelbyville" and in 1817 donated 5 acres to Dickson Academy and a lot to a local church. He died in 1860 and is buried in the Cannon Cemetery 400 feet southwest. — Map (db m26807) HM
Tennessee (Bedford County), Shelbyville — 3G 22 — Confederate Cemetery
In the cemetery north of the road are buried Confederate soldiers of the Army of Tennessee, who fell while opposing the advance of Rosecrans' Army of the Cumberland through Liberty Gap and Guy's Gap, in late June, 1863. Also buried here are soldiers of Forrest's Cavalry, killed in minor operations. — Map (db m25864) HM
Tennessee (Bedford County), Shelbyville — 3G 28 — Henry Brevard DavidsonJan. 28, 1831 - March 4, 1898
Born in a house which stood here. Enlisted in the 1st Tenn. Volunteers for the Mexican War; on graduation from US Military Academy in 1853, commissioned in Dragoons. Resigning for the Confederacy and rapidly promoted to colonel, he was captured at Island No. 10; promoted on exchange and given a brigade in Wheeler's Cavalry Corp. Surrendering at Greensboro, N.C., he moved to California, where he was once a deputy Secretary of State. He is buried in Oakland, CA. — Map (db m25050) HM
Tennessee (Bedford County), Shelbyville — Martin Shofner1758 - 1838
Son of Michael, an immigrant from Frankfurt on Main, Germany in 1760. Migrated by covered wagon, horseback and afoot from North Carolina in 1808 with his family and settled this tract of land on Thompson's creek. The land was granted to him by the Continental Congress for military service rendered his country during the Revolutionary war as a cavalryman in a North Carolina regiment under Gen. Green. Near this place in a log cabin the first Lutheran Church in Middle Tennessee was founded in 1808 . . . — Map (db m26812) HM
Tennessee (Bedford County), Shelbyville — 3G 31 — Prentice Cooper1895-1969
Governor of Tennessee for three successive terms 1939-1945. A native of Bedford County and graduate of Webb School, Princeton and Harvard Law School, he was Attorney General of the 8th Judicial Circuit, a member of the 63rd and 70th General Assemblies, U.S. Ambassador to Peru 1946-1948. President of the 1953 Tennessee Constitutional Convention, Veteran of WW I and State Commander of the American Legion. He reactivated the Tennessee Historical Commission and was a member 1941-1969. — Map (db m25868) HM
Tennessee (Bedford County), Shelbyville — 3G 37 — Tennessee Walking Horse National Celebration
This 90-acre tract is home of the Tennessee Walking Horse National Celebration - "The World's Largest Walking Horse Show". On July 17, 1939, a non-profit association was chartered to conduct a national celebration to honor and exhibit the Tennessee Walking Horse. By its 50th anniversary, the show had grown from its initial 3-night competition and an estimated 8,000 spectators to 10 nights and a paid attendance in excess of 231,000. — Map (db m25869) HM
Tennessee (Bedford County), Tullahoma — 2E 24 — Moore County / Bedford County
. . . — Map (db m61915) HM
Tennessee (Bedford County), Wartrace — 3G 42 — Beechwood Plantation
The Beechwood Plantation house, which formerly stood at this site, was an important Confederate headquarters during the Tullahoma Campaign. It was built for Col. Andrew Erwin, Jr. and family in 1826. The Erwins, who were southern sympathizers, lavishly entertained local society and Confederate officers during the Civil War. In 1863, Gen. Braxton Bragg's Army of Tennessee was camped along the Duck River line. Gen William J. Hardee camped at Wartrace and made Beechwood his headquarters. — Map (db m25862) HM
Tennessee (Bedford County), Wartrace — 3G 34 — Strolling Jim
Strolling Jim, the first World's Champion Tennessee Walking Horse, is buried in a pasture directly behind the Walking Horse Hotel. Foaled in 1936, this former work horse was ridden to the championship by Floyd Carothers at the first Walking Horse Celebration at Shelbyville in 1939. Jim died in 1957 in the pasture where he spent his last years. — Map (db m24165) HM
Tennessee (Bedford County), Wartrace — 3G 44 — Wartrace
In 1850, Rice Coffey gave eight acres to the Nashville and Chattanooga Railroad on which the main line would run with a depot and freight house at the junction of the branch line to Shelbyville. In 1851, town lots were laid off. The following year, a post office was established. In 1853, the town was incorporated as Wartrace Depot after Wartrace Creek. Twenty years later, the name was changed to Wartrace after Wartrace Creek, which was named for the War Trace, a buffalo path used by Indians at war with Nashville settlers in the 1790's. — Map (db m25866) HM
Tennessee (Benton County), Camden — David Benton
Born 1779, South Carolina, died 1860, Benton County Tenn. Citizen soldier, War of 1812, member of Benton County's first quarterly court February 1836. Patriot for whom Benton County was named. Presented to the Citizens of Benton.

(Base monument) George Camp Sr., Green Flowers, Ephraim Perkins, Lewis Brewer, John F. Johnston-Commissioners appointed by the legislature to organize Benton County. They met for this purpose, February 7, 1836. — Map (db m74482) HM

Tennessee (Benton County), Camden — Fighting on the Tennessee RiverCavalry versus Navy
During the Civil War, several engagements occurred along the strategically important Tennessee River within about five miles of here. In each one, cavalrymen engaged naval forces. On April 26, 1863 near the mouth of the Duck River east of here, Confederate Maj. Robert M. White with the Texas Rangers and its four-gun battery attacked a Union flotilla from the river bank. The gunboats Autocrat, Diana, and Adams and several transports came under heavy fire. When the . . . — Map (db m74512) HM
Tennessee (Benton County), Camden — 4A 50 — Mary Cordelia Beasley-Hudson
Mary Cordelia Beasley-Hudson, a life-long resident of Benton County, was an advocated for women's suffrage. The Tennessee General Assembly approved an amendment to the state constitution to allow women's suffrage on April 15, 1919. Seven days later Beasley-Hudson was the first female in the state to cast a ballot when voting in the Camden municipal election. In 1920 the nation ratified the 19th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution giving women the right to vote. One month before the 1920 . . . — Map (db m74484) HM
Tennessee (Benton County), Camden — 4A 21 — Thomas Clark Rye
Born June 2, 1863, in a log cabin, about 1/2 mile N., he studied law at Charlotte, later began practice at Camden. Attorney General of the 13th Judicial District, 1908-12, he was the last Tennessee governor to be elected by a convention. Inaugurated Jan. 17, 1915, serving two terms, he was later Chancellor of the 8th Division. He died Sept. 12, 1953, and is buried in Paris. — Map (db m74481) HM
Tennessee (Bledsoe County), Pikeville — 2B 24 — Bragg Invades Kentucky
On Aug. 29, 1862, the Army of Mississippi was enrout to Kentucky: Army Headquarters was near Dunlap; Col. Joseph Wheeler's Cavalry Brigade was moving against Maj. Gen. A McD. McCook's Federal Division at Altamont. Advance elements of Maj. Gen Leonidas Polk's Right Wing were hereabouts; Maj. Gen. William J. Hardee's Left Wing had cleared Chattanooga. — Map (db m4101) HM
Tennessee (Bledsoe County), Pikeville — 2B8 — Rhea County / Bledsoe County
(obverse) Rhea County Established 1807; named in honor of John Rhea Revolutionary veteran, who fought at King's Mountain. Delegate to the North Carolina Convention which ratified the U.S. Constitution; member of the Tennessee Constitutional Convention, 1796. State House of Representatives, 1796-97 & of the U.S. House of Representatives, 1803-15 & 1817-23. One of the early leaders in higher education. (reverse) Bledsoe County Established 1807: named in . . . — Map (db m63645) HM
Tennessee (Bledsoe County), Pikeville — 2B 21 — Sequatchie College
About 500 yds. NW. This school was the outgrowth of a community meeting at Bryant Camp Ground in 1858. War conditions delayed opening until 1865, with Prof. Gerry Rodgers first president. The first student body included both Confederate and Federal veterans. A coeducational school of strict discipline, it operated until 1887. — Map (db m57953) HM
Tennessee (Blount County), Friendsville — The Underground RailroadFriendsville Quakers and Cudjo's Cave
Members of the Religious Society of Friends (Quakers) came to Blount County in the 1790s looking for a place to worship in peace. Hardworking and industrious, opposing war and slavery, they developed the land and founded the prosperous settlements of Unity (now Unitia) and Friendsville. During the Civil War, Friendsville Quakers participated in the Underground Railroad to help conscientious objectors, Unionists, and runaway slaves flee to the North. The Friends raised money at their meetings . . . — Map (db m69444) HM
Tennessee (Blount County), Maryville — 1E 49 — Alleghany Springs
Yellow Sulphur Springs was developed on a modest scale by Jesse Kerr in 1859. In 1885, Nathan McCoy, of Indiana, built an elaborate hotel here. John Hanlon took it over in 1900, and operated it until the outbreak of World War I. It burned in 1933. — Map (db m58503) HM
Tennessee (Blount County), Maryville — 1E 14 — Chilhowee
On Abram’s Creek, near the site of the early Cherokee village, Chilhowee, William and Robert James established a water-powered cotton and woolen spinning and weaving factory. A charter for the business was issued in 1846 and the mill was evidently in operation by 1853. The business closed before the Civil War and was never reopened. — Map (db m58501) HM
Tennessee (Blount County), Maryville — 1 E 104 — Freedman's Institute
A three-story brick building was erected 1872-74 on this site to train blacks as teachers. Institute was begun in 1867, in a log house ½ mile north, and later moved into a new building, financed mainly by friends. By 1879, it had trained 80 teachers. After closing in 1901, it served as a place of quarantine for smallpox victims. as Maryville Polytechnic (1904-26) and as Maryville High School (1927 – 38). — Map (db m58841) HM
Tennessee (Blount County), Maryville — General Sam Houston
March 2, 1793 – July 26, 1863 Born In Rockbridge County VA Moved To TN in 1807 Taught At This Schoolhouse In 1812 Attended Porter Academy In 1813 Joined Army In 1813 In Maryville, TN Studied Law In Nashville, TN In 1818 U.S. Rep. TN 1823–27; U.S. Sen. TX 1846–57 Governor TN 1827–29; TX 1859–61 Resigned As TN Governor, Moved To TX President Of TX 1836–38; 1841–44 Died, Buried In Huntsville, TX Presented by the Sam . . . — Map (db m1733) HM
Tennessee (Blount County), Maryville — 1E 5 — Houston's Station
Established by James Houston in 1785, it stood about 300 yards east on Little Nine Mile Creek. From here, in 1786, John Sevier led 160 horsemen against the Cherokee towns. In 1788, the Kirk family was massacred about three miles south; shortly thereafter, 31 men from the fort were killed in nearby Citico apple orchard, by the Cherokee, whose later attack on the fort was repulsed by troops stationed there. The Great War Path was close by. — Map (db m58500) HM
Tennessee (Blount County), Maryville — 1 E 100 — John Craig's Fort
Site of the original settlement of Maryville. Here Captain John Craig in 1785 erected a fort on Pistol Creek to protect settlers from Indian raids. In 1793 as many as 280 men, women, and children lived within its walls for several months, surviving an attack by 500 Indians. New Providence Presbyterian Church was organized here in 1786 by the Reverend Archibald Scott. — Map (db m58839) HM
Tennessee (Blount County), Maryville — 1E 42 — Maryville College
Founded in 1819 by the Synod of Tennessee, Presbyterian Church in the USA, as The Southern and Western Theological Seminary, its first president was Rev. Isaac Anderson, D.D. Its original buildings were on Broadway at College Street. Receiving its present name in 1842, it was moved to its present location in 1871. — Map (db m36993) HM
Tennessee (Blount County), Maryville — Maryville During the Civil War"A shameful...fire"
During the antebellum period, Blount County supported abolitionism. In 1822, local Quakers and other residents formed an abolitionist society, and in the decades following, local clergymen preached against the evils of slavery. When the county considered secession in 1861, residents voted to remain with the Union, 1,766 to 414. Fighting directly touched Maryville, the county seat, in August 1864. Confederate Gen. Joseph Wheeler’s cavalrymen attacked a small detachment of the 2nd Tennessee . . . — Map (db m69452) HM
Tennessee (Blount County), Maryville — 1 E 56 — Montvale Springs
7 ½ mi. S, this resort was termed the Saratoga of the South in stagecoach days. First advertized in 1832; Daniel Foute, built a log hotel there in 1837. In 1853, Asa Watson, of Mississippi, built the Seven Gable Hotel. Sidney Lanier spent much of his boyhood there. The hotel burned in 1896, rebuilt in 1898, burned again in 1933. A boy’s summer camp is there now. — Map (db m58837) HM
Tennessee (Blount County), Maryville — 1E46 — New Providence Church
This Presbyterian church was founded in 1786 by Rev. Archibald Scott, of Virginia. In 1792, Rev. Gideon Blackburn built a log church here; the stones in the present wall are from a church which replaced it in 1829; the brick church replaced it in 1858. In its cemetery, which was closed to burials in 1905, are 13 known veterans of the Revolution and War of 1812. — Map (db m28733) HM
Tennessee (Blount County), Maryville — 1E 55 — Pride Mansion
Dr. Samuel Pride, first Worthy Master of the New Providence Masonic Lodge, built his house here. Maj. Gen. W. T. Sherman, enroute to the relief of Burnside at Knoxville, billeted himself here. From 1878 to 1900 it was the Friends’ Normal Institute. Becoming the Maryville Public School in 1900, it was replaced by West Side School in 1910: this was razed in 1955. — Map (db m58509) HM
Tennessee (Blount County), Maryville — 1 E 75 — Relief of Knoxville
Maj. Gen. W. T. Sherman, U.S.A., arrived in Blount County with 25,000 men, Dec. 5, 1863, to relieve Gen. Ambrose Burnside besieged at Knoxville by Gen. James Longstreet. The 15th Corps camped around Maryville, the 11th around Louisville and the 4th s.w. toward Morgantown. — Map (db m58836) HM
Tennessee (Blount County), Maryville — 1E 51 — Samuel Henry's Station
On the hill to the south, beside the Great War and Trading Path, later the Federal Road, Samuel Henry, Sr., built a fort by 1792. The half-breed John Watts and 200 followers attacked it in August, 1793. Henry’s first mill was authorized in 1795. He also built the brick mill ½ mile southwest about 1815; it operated well into the twentieth century. — Map (db m58508) HM
Tennessee (Blount County), Maryville — 1E16 — Where Houston Enlisted
Here, where Blount County's first courthouse stood, Sam Houston "took a dollar from the drum", thus marking his first enlistment in the United States Army, March 24, 1813. This culminated in his command of the Army of Texas, which decisively defeated the Mexicans at San Jacinto in 1836. — Map (db m28579) HM
Tennessee (Blount County), Maryville — 1 E 109 — William Bennett Scott, Sr.ca. 1821 - 1885
William B. Scott, Sr., a free Black, migrated to East Tennessee in 1847 after increased racial tension in North Carolina. He made harnesses and saddles in Blount County’s Quaker community of Friendsville until the Civil War. In Knoxville, during the War, Scott learned the trade of printing. Later moving to Nashville, in April 1865 he founded The Colored Tennessean, the first newspaper for African Americans in Tennessee. In 867, he moved his press to Maryville. — Map (db m58840) HM
Tennessee (Blount County), Seymour — 1E 19 — Eusesbia Church
Early settlers coming down the Great War & Trading Path in 1784-85 camped here; it was the scene of their first death and burial. In 1786 the Rev. Archibald Scott of Virginia organized a Presbyterian congregation in the area; the church was built near where the cemetery has been started. — Map (db m61475) HM
Tennessee (Blount County), Townsend — An Early Mountain Community
In the early 1900s family farms covered the valley. Self-sufficiency was the rule in those days, but most people made use of the mill, the country store, and the blacksmith shop. The buildings assembled here represent part of a typical mountain community. Cable Mill is the only building on its original site. The Park Service constructed the blacksmith shop. Other buildings came from sites within the park. — Map (db m58475) HM
Tennessee (Blount County), Townsend — Civilian Conservation Corps
In Honor of the Civilian Conservation Corps 1933 – 1942 whose hands built roads, trails, bridges, buildings, campgrounds, and picnic areas in Great Smoky Mountains National Park for the benefit and enjoyment of the people. “If you seek their monument, look about you. — Map (db m58440) HM
Tennessee (Blount County), Townsend — 1E 13 — John Mitchel
This Irish patriot, exiled from his homeland for revolutionary newspaper activities, settled in the cove about two miles from here in 1855. After a short stay he moved to Knoxville. The rest of his life was taken up with lecture tours and newspaper work. — Map (db m56818) HM
Tennessee (Blount County), Townsend — 1E 110 — The Little River Lumber Company
This is the former site of the Little River Lumber Company mill complex. Founded in 1901 by Col. W.B. Townsend for whom this community is named, the company was one of the largest commercial lumber operations in the Smokies. From 1901 to 1939, the company's Little River Railroad Company built over 150 miles of railroads in the Smoky Mountains and the company sawed over 560 million board feet of timber. Its lands are now part of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. — Map (db m36995) HM
Tennessee (Blount County), Townsend — 1E 15 — Tuckaleechee Villages
Near here was one of these three Cherokee villages, unoccupied when settlers arrived about 1791. A branch of the Great War and Trading Path forked here, one to North Carolina, the other to villages on the Little Tennessee. The Virginia trader, Vaughn used it in 1740. — Map (db m46477) HM
Tennessee (Blount County), Walland — 1E 48 — Gamble's Station
A mile north, on Little River, Josias Gamble built a fort in 1740. Gov. William Blount came here in 1790, to pacify and disperse a gathering of settlers about to attack the Indians to recover stolen horses. The fort was never attacked, but was a frequent haven for Cove settlers during Indian attacks. — Map (db m46479) HM
Tennessee (Bradley County), Charleston — Charleston on the HiwasseeA Strategic Crossing
Charleston, formerly Fort Cass during the “Trail of Tears” (Indian removal of 1838), was strategically important in the military struggle for East Tennessee. The East Tennessee and Georgia Railroad bridge here, the line’s only crossing on the Hiwassee River, made it a tempting target. Union loyalists burned it on November 8, 1861, and Union and Confederate forces later damaged it numerous times after it was rebuilt. The 1861 bridge burnings prompted Confederate authorities to . . . — Map (db m69343) HM
Tennessee (Bradley County), Charleston — The Henegar House"A bird can't live here!"
During the war, Henegar House’s occupants, as in many other Tennessee homes, were divided in their loyalties. Henry Benton Henegar, the owner, was a Unionist while his wife, Margaret Lea Henegar, was a secessionist. Whenever Confederates occupied Charleston, Benton Henegar left, but Margaret Henegar stayed no matter which army occupied the town. She later stated that “she never met with anything but courteous treatment from either side.” At various times, the house served as . . . — Map (db m69346) HM
Tennessee (Bradley County), Cleveland — 2A 71 — "Chief Jack" Walker
Here stood the home of John Walker, Junior, known as “Chief Jack”. A grandson of Nancy Ward, he was prominent in the affairs of the Cherokee nation, belonging to the party advocating a voluntary treaty of removal of the Cherokees to the West. His murder by James Foreman in 1834 resulted in one of the most famous criminal trails of the early Tennessee history. He married Emily Meigs, granddaughter of Return Jonathan Meigs. He is buried here. — Map (db m50197) HM
Tennessee (Bradley County), Cleveland — Cleveland During the Civil WarStruggle for Control
When the Civil War began, Cleveland was a divided community with most residents being sympathetic to the Union. Confederate troops occupied the area in 1861 to control the East Tennessee and Georgia Railroad and to protect the vitally important Hiwassee River bridge. President Abraham Lincoln worried about the future of the railroad junction at Cleveland, but the town remained under Confederate occupation until 1863. The first engagements between Confederate and Union troops in Bradley . . . — Map (db m69342) HM
Tennessee (Bradley County), Cleveland — 2A-92 — Cooper Cemetery
In 1873, Bennet Cooper (1797-1886) gave one-quarter of an acre of land for a family burying ground. His first wife, Lydia, was buried there along with several other family members. The cemetery is located on a ridge behind the Cooper Homeplace which was built by Hair Conrad, a Cherokee Indian, who lead the Trail of Tears. In 1930, Pearson Blythe Mayfield purchased the property. Mrs. David H. Neil obtained the land known as Blythewood Farms from her father and preserved Cooper Cemetery. — Map (db m73927) HM
Tennessee (Bradley County), Cleveland — Lee College
Since 1885 this campus has been dedicated to the purposes of Christian higher education. Lee College was founded by the Church of God as Bible Training School on January 1, 1918, on Caut Avenue in Cleveland. The school relocated in Sevierville in 1938, returning to this Cleveland site in 1947. Named for Flavius J. Lee, early president and church leader, Lee College remains in the vanguard of Pentecostal higher education and stands as a monument to religious freedom and to the contributions of alumni and friends around the world. — Map (db m49558) HM
Tennessee (Bradley County), Cleveland — 2A 41 — Oak Grove Male Academy
Chartered Dec. 16, 1837, this was the first such institution in the Ocoee Purchase; here was its home during its entire existence. An early teacher (1843) was Henry von Aldehoff, a native of Prussia and graduate of Bonn University. This building was used for school purposes until 1903. — Map (db m49559) HM
Tennessee (Bradley County), Cleveland — 2A 44 — Red Clay Council Ground
One mile west was this Cherokee council ground. Here was held the last council between the United States and the Cherokee nation, preceding the removal of the Indians to Indian Territory, now Oklahoma. John Howard Payne, author of “Home, Sweet Home,” and a champion of Indian rights, attended this council — Map (db m49722) HM
Tennessee (Campbell County), Caryville — 1D 37 — Stone Millcirca 1900-1934
1.5 miles to the southeast on Cove Creek. Joel E. Stone built a dam, grist mill and a saw mill, which he and his family operated until 1934 when Norris Lake was raised. The mill served the surrounding area as a community center and whistle-stop for the old Southern Railway. Meal, flour, and wood products were produced using local raw materials. The Stones used the mill as a base for building local houses and churches. — Map (db m74243) HM
Tennessee (Campbell County), Jellico — All Veterans Memorial
Tennessee Amvets dedicates this memorial to all veterans living or deceased who have honorably served their country that freedman may reign. Governor Don Sandquist — Map (db m74228) WM
Tennessee (Campbell County), Jellico — Civil War in TennesseeWar in the Mountains
Tennessee’s mountain residents were bitterly divided about secession in 1861, although most were Unionist. In Huntsville (Exit 141), Scott County residents voted to secede and join Kentucky if Tennessee joined the Confederacy. Confederate commanders struggled to defend Tennessee’s lengthy border with Kentucky and western Virginia. A confederate fort in LaFollette (Exit 134) overlooked Big Creek Gap, a mountain pass, in case a Federal advance came that way. Other gaps were similarly . . . — Map (db m74227) HM
Tennessee (Campbell County), LaFollette — Big Creek GapNatural Opening
The road in front of you winds through Big Creek Gap, one of the few natural openings through the Cumberland Mountains in the region. During the Civil War, this corridor was much narrower and steeper, and even lightly loaded wagons found travel extremely hazardous. Cumberland Gap, one the main migration route from the eastern states to the west and a strategic gateway during the Civil War, is about thirty miles northeast of here. Early in the conflict, Confederate military engineers ringed . . . — Map (db m74229) HM
Tennessee (Cannon County), Woodbury — 2E 63 — "Mister Jim" Cummings
Born in Cannon County in 1890, James Harvey Cummings, known as “Mr. Jim”, was a farmer, attorney, politician, and statesman. Having served in the Tennessee General Assembly from 1928 to 1972, except for 1949 – 1953 when he was Secretary of State, he was often referred to as the “Dean of the Legislature”. He was married to the former “Miss Hesta” McBroom. He died in 1979 and is buried in the family cemetery just west of here. — Map (db m60422) HM
Tennessee (Cannon County), Woodbury — 2E 1 — Cannon County/Warren County
Cannon County Established 1836; named in honor of Newton Cannon Governor of Tennessee, 1835–39; Member of Congress, 1814–17 and 1821–27; Served in Creek War and War of 1812. Warren County Established 1807; names in honor of General Joseph Warren of Massachusetts; Revolutionary War patriot; killed at the Battle of Bunker Hill, 1775. — Map (db m60421) HM
Tennessee (Cannon County), Woodbury — 2E 14 — Early Industry
On Short Mountain, 7.1 mi., Henry Hoover & John Beeson established a millstone and grindstone factory in 1806. An inscription on a bluff of the mountain, and discarded fragments of stone mark the spot. — Map (db m60423) HM
Tennessee (Cannon County), Woodbury — 2E 16 — Forrest Rested HereJuly 12, 1862
Here Forrest, with his newly organized brigade of about 1400 cavalrymen, halted for a short rest before making his successful raid on Federal forces at Murfreesboro under Gen. T.L. Crittenden. He freed a number of hostages from this locality and captured about 1200 prisoners and a quantity of munitions and stores. — Map (db m76173) HM
Tennessee (Cannon County), Woodbury — 2E 22 — The Trail of Tears
In the valley to the south, that part of the Cherokee nation which took part in the enforced overland migration to Indian Territory rested for about three weeks in 1839. About 15,000 persons of various ages took part in the march. Several who died here were buried in this area. — Map (db m76174) HM
Tennessee (Carroll County), Atwood — 4A 17 — Carroll County
Established 1822: Named in honor of William Carroll An officer in the War of 1812; governor of Tennessee, 1821-27 and 1829-35; Served as governor longer than any other man. — Map (db m52132) HM
Tennessee (Carroll County), Atwood — 4A 17 — Gibson County
Established 1823; Named in honor of Colonel John Gibson who served with distinction under General Andrew Jackson in the Natchez Expedition, 1812 - 13, and in the Creek Wars. — Map (db m52134) HM
Tennessee (Carroll County), Atwood — 4A 34 — Gordon Browning1889 - 1976
Governor Browning was born in Carroll County. After graduating from Cumberland Law School in 1915, he began practicing in Huntingdon. He commanded Battery D, 114th Field Artillery in France in World War I. In 1922 he was elected to Congress and served six terms, and in 1937 he was inaugurated as governor. During World War II Colonel Browning served in Military Government in the Belgrum - Luxembourg Mission and in Germany. Reelected governor of Tennessee in 1948, he held office until 1953. — Map (db m51404) HM
Tennessee (Carroll County), Clarksburg — ClarksburgPrelude, Battle of Parker's Crossroads — Forrest's First West Tennessee Raid
(preface) Gen. Nathan Bedford Forrest led his cavalry brigade on a raid through West Tennessee, Dec 15, 1862-Jan 3, 1863, destroying railroads and severing Gen. Ulysses S. Grant’s supply line between Columbus, Kentucky, and Vicksburg, Mississippi. Forrest crossed the Tennessee River at Clifton, defeated Union Col. Robert G. Ingersoll’s cavalry at Lexington, captured Trenton and Union City, and ranged briefly into Kentucky. He raided back through Tennessee, evaded defeat at Parker’s . . . — Map (db m74967) HM
Tennessee (Carroll County), Hollow Rock — 4A 53 — Alexis de Tocqueville At Sandy Bridge
Alexis de Tocqueville (1805-1859), author of the classic Democracy in America, and Gustave de Beaumont (1802-1866) spent four frigid days and nights, December 12-16, 1831 at Sandy Bridge, now Hollow Rock. The postmaster, Zephaniah Harris, and his wife, Martha, lodged them in a primitive log inn. The Frenchmen's observations at Sandy Bridge informed what Tocqueville wrote in Democracy in America (1835-1840), notably about the effects of slavery upon Southern life. — Map (db m52647) HM
Tennessee (Carroll County), Hollow Rock — 4A 14 — Hollowrock Church
Founded in 1822, this Primitive Baptist Church has been in constant use. It holds an annual foot-washing ceremony the first Sunday in May, which is attended by communicants and witnesses from many parts of this and neighboring states. — Map (db m52585) HM
Tennessee (Carroll County), Huntingdon — 4A 27 — Isaac R. Hawkins
Born in Maury Co., he was an officer of volunteers in the Mexican War. A lifelong staunch Unionist, he was a delegate to the Constitutional Union Party convention of 1860, later an officer in the Federal Army. A delegate to the Republican convention of 1868 he was later a member of the 39th, 40th & 41st Congresses of the United States. He is buried here. — Map (db m52608) HM
Tennessee (Carroll County), Huntingdon — 4A 9 — Nathan Nesbitt
Lived and is buried about 3½ miles southeast. On December 9, 1822, he made a trail through the woods to the new county seat, carrying a crosscut saw. Arrived at Huntingdon, he sawed a door in the new log courthouse and thus, as Chairman of the Court of Pleas and Quarter Sessions, opened the first session of the court. — Map (db m52609) HM
Tennessee (Carroll County), Huntingdon — 4A 28 — Oak Hill Cemetery
Established in 1822, this cemetery contains the remains of soldiers from every major American war since the establishment of the state. Among those buried here are two from the War of 1812, three from the Mexican War, and thirty-eight from the Civil War. There are also men from the Spanish American War and from World Wars I and II. — Map (db m51407) HM
Tennessee (Carroll County), Huntingdon — 4A 8 — Old Racetrack
Built about 1818 in the area to the east. Here also were held barbecues, barn dances, prize fights and cockfights. Here, according to court records, David Crockett “participated in an affray,” while attending the races. He was fined six coonskins. — Map (db m52584) HM
Tennessee (Carroll County), McKenzie — 4A 22 — Bethel College
Founded as Bethel Seminary at McLemoresville in 1842 by the West Tennessee Synod, Cumberland Presbyterian Church, with Rev. Ruben Burrow principal. Incorporated in 1847, it became Bethel College in 1850 and moved here in 1872. It was presented to the General Assembly, Cumberland Presbyterian Church in 1919. — Map (db m52842) HM
Tennessee (Carroll County), McKenzie — 4A 16 — Clear Lake
About 3 miles SE, the lake was discovered in 1785 by Henry Rutherford, who surveyed the majority of west Tennessee. It was orginally named Boyd's Lake, for the Rev. Adam Boyd, chaplin of the North Carolina Regiment in the Revolution, who later held extensive grants in this area. — Map (db m52182) HM
Tennessee (Carroll County), McKenzie — 4A 11 — Forrest's RaidDec. 24, 1862
Moving to McKenzie, Forrest's Brigade captured the 100 - man garrison. Here they spent Christmas Eve, while working parties completed destruction of 4 miles of trestles and bridge between the forks of the Obion River. Other parties completed destruction of the railroad running to Dresden. — Map (db m52174) HM
Tennessee (Carroll County), McKenzie — Harris-Collier-Holland FarmOne Family's Story
Albert Gallatin Harris purchased this farm in 1829 and built the present house in 1857. After camping on the land during the Civil War, Union troops ransacked the farm, killing or stealing all the livestock. They did not burn the house because the Harris family had cared for a sick Union officer and nursed him back to health. When Union soldiers stole Harris’s nine-year old daughter Ada’s pony, she angrily shouted after them, “I hope he throws you and breaks your damn neck!” . . . — Map (db m74514) HM
Tennessee (Carroll County), McKenzie — 4A 46 — James Monroe McKenzie1818 - 1873
James Monroe McKenzie, entrepreneur and philanthropist, was born in February 12, 1818. In 1860 he donated land for the depot and freight office where the Nashville and Northwestern Railroad crossed the Memphis and Ohio Railroad, resulting in the town being named McKenzie. He gave land for Bethal College in 1872 and for the Masonic Lodge. McKenzie died on October 9, 1873. — Map (db m52183) HM
Tennessee (Carroll County), McKenzie — McKenzie's StationA Strategic Junction — Forrest's First West Tennessee Raid
(preface) Gen. Nathan Bedford Forrest led his cavalry brigade on a raid through West Tennessee, Dec. 15, 1862-Jan. 3, 1863, destroying railroads and severing Gen. Ulysses S. Grant's supply line between Columbus, Kentucky, and Vicksburg, Mississippi. Forrest crossed the Tennessee River at Clifton, defeated Union Col. Robert G. Ingersoll's cavalry at Lexington, captured Trent and Union City, and ranged briefly into Kentucky. He raided back through Tennessee, evaded defeat at Parker's . . . — Map (db m74532) HM
Tennessee (Carroll County), McKenzie — 4A 43 — Webb School
Originally founded in 1923 as the black "County Training School" at Smyrna, Tennessee. It was moved to McKenzie in 1927, and named "Webb High School" in honor of John L. Webb. With over 1900 alumni, this school, under the leadership of J. L. Seets and T. A. Warford has had a national impact in developing black leadership. In 1965, Webb High School, the only Negro school in Carroll County, merged with McKenzie High School. "We entered to learn and left prepared to serve." Map (db m52177) HM
Tennessee (Carroll County), McLemoresville — 4 A 13 — First County Court
The home of R.E.C. Dougherty stood on the foundations of the house to the north. Here, as Chairman, he held the first meeting of the Carroll County Court, March 11, 1822. Members were, Daniel Barcroft, John Bone, Banks W. Burrow, Edward Gwin, John Gwin, Thomas Hamilton, Samuel Ingram, Samuel A. McClary, Mark R. Roberts & John Stockard. — Map (db m51405) HM
Tennessee (Carroll County), McLemoresville — 4 A12 — Forrest's RaidDec. 29, 1862
Forrest's Brigade, re-armed, and re-equipped with material and horses captured from the Federal storehouses which they had plundered, passed through here enroute to Lexington and their re-crossing of the Tennessee River at Clifton. — Map (db m51406) HM
Tennessee (Carroll County), Trezevant — 4A 33 — Christmasville
First used as Post No. 2 by the 1785 surveyors, a town was later established on November 14, 1823, at John Christmas McLemore's Bluff, on the South Fork of the Obion River. Goods were shipped down the river until 1854. Buckeye Point, 1 mile east, was an Indian campsite. The town spring furnished water for the inhabitants and a tanyard, and a post office operated here from 1827 to 1902. — Map (db m52130) HM
Tennessee (Carroll County), Trezevant — 4A 35 — Hillsman House
On the old McKenzie Road one mile north stands the historic home of Major Jack Hillsman, Civil War veteran, son of pioneer Reddick Hillsman from North Carolina who helped organize Carroll County in 1821. The two-story house, completed in 1869, was constructed of hand-planed lumber. Three generations of Hillsmans, all farmers, have lived in this house. — Map (db m52192) HM
Tennessee (Carter County), Elizabethton — 1A 123 — Carter County's Train History
Carter County’s railroad history is the story of three trains – the East Tennessee and Western North Carolina, better known as Tweetsie (1881-1951); the Southern Railroad (1911-1940); and the North American Rayon Steam Engine (1936-1992). The glory days of the railroads have ended, The memories are captured in this exhibit: an original Tweetsie boxcar, a Southern caboose, and the NAR Steam Engine, which was believed to be the last active steam locomotive in the United States in commercial use. — Map (db m46561) HM
Tennessee (Carter County), Elizabethton — 1A 119 — Cedar Grove Cemetery
Cedar Grove Cemetery was originally established as a "colored cemetery" in the early nineteenth century on a tract of land adjacent to a trail that became known as Gap Creek Road. The remote and rocky terrain often required the use of dynamit to clear the area for burials. Resting today at Cedar Grove are some of Carter County's early African-American families, war veterans, church leaders, and Carter County's last known slave, the beloved Josephine "Aunt Jo" Taylor, a slave of Nat Taylor, the . . . — Map (db m21297) HM
Tennessee (Carter County), Elizabethton — 1A 62 — Covered Bridge
This bridge over Doe River was built early in 1882 at a cost to the county of $3000 for the bridge and $300 for the approaches. The site was chosen by J.J. McCorkle, Wiley Christian and H.M. Rentfro. The committee were Thomas E. Matson, Engineer, W.M. Folsom, J.C. Folson, J.C. Smith, Dr. James M. Cameron and J.M. Simmerly. Dr. E.E. Hunter was contractor and George Lindamood supervisor. — Map (db m46706) HM
Tennessee (Carter County), Elizabethton — 1A 54 — Duffield Academy
These stones are from the foundation of the academy established Sept. 13, 1806, with Maj. George Duffield, Chairman, Nathaniel Taylor, George Williams, Alexander Doran & John Greer, Trustees. In 1807, Andrew Taylor, Abraham Henry and Reuben Thornton were added. The first brick building was erected near Doe River about 1809. — Map (db m46607) HM
Tennessee (Carter County), Elizabethton — 1A 61 — Green Hill Cemetery
The Tipton family cemetery, it stood near the homesite of Samuel Tipton (1752-1833) and Susannah Reneau (1767-1853). Col. John Tipton, father of Samuel, deeded it to him in 1784. The house was later the home of a nephew, Issac P. Tipton, who father, Issac, died in 1827. Soldiers of all wars from the Revolution to World War I are buried here — Map (db m46458) HM
Tennessee (Carter County), Elizabethton — 1 A 15 — Sabine Hill
Built about 1818 by Mary (“Polly”) Patton Taylor, widow of Gen. Nathaniel Taylor, of the War of 1812. Both are buried in the cemetery nearby. Among their great-grandsons were Governors Alfred A. and Robert L. Taylor, of Tennessee, and Nathaniel Harris, of Georgia. — Map (db m46387) HM
Tennessee (Carter County), Elizabethton — 1A 72 — Samuel Powhatan CarterAug 6, 1819 – May 26, 1891
Born in this house. After attending Washington College and Princeton, graduated from U.S. Naval Academy; serving in the Navy until May 1, 1862, he was appointed brigadier general, U.S. Volunteers. His most conspicuous service was a raid into East Tennessee with a cavalry brigade late in 1862. Brevetted major general, he returned to the Navy as a commander, retired as a commodore in 1881, and was named a rear admiral on the retired list in 1882. He is buried in Oak Hill Cemetery, Washington, D.C. — Map (db m46749) HM
Tennessee (Carter County), Elizabethton — 1A 16 — Sycamore Shoals of the Watauga
In this neighborhood, on Sept. 26, 1780, Rev. Samuel Doak conducted religious services for the frontiersmen from Virginia and North Carolina, including the Watauga and other settlements in what is now Tennessee, upon the start of their decisive victory of King’s Mountain on Oct. 7, 1780. — Map (db m47152) HM
Tennessee (Carter County), Elizabethton — 1A 19 — The Mansion
“The Mansion” was built before 1780 by John Carter and his son Landon. John Carter was chairman of the Watauga Association, a court of five men elected by the settlers of the Watauga Count in May 1772, “to govern and direct for the common good of all the people.” Carter County is named for Landon and Elizabethton is named for his wife Elizabeth MacLin. The family cemetery is located to the east of the house. — Map (db m47102) HM
Tennessee (Carter County), Elizabethton — 1A 52 — Transylvania Purchase
In this valley, March 17, 1775, the Transylvania Company, led by Richard Henderson, John Williams and Nathaniel Hart, bought from the Cherokee, led by Chief Oconostota, all the lands between the Kentucky and Cumberland Rivers. Over 20 million acres sold for 2000 Pounds Sterling and goods worth 8000 Pounds. — Map (db m47196) HM
Tennessee (Carter County), Elizabethton — 1A 8 — Watauga Fort
400 yards northward and ½ mile northeast of the mouth of Gap Creek, stood Watauga Fort. Here, July 21, 1776, the settlers under Captain James Robertson repulsed the Cherokees under Old Abraham of Chilhowee, and Lt. John Sevier rescued “Bonny Kate” Sherrell. — Map (db m47187) HM
Tennessee (Carter County), Elizabethton — 1A 53 — Watauga Purchase
Here, March 19, 1775, at the Sycamore Shoals, the Watauga Association, Charles Robertson, Trustee, bought from the Cherokee, with Oconostota as chief, lands along the Watauga, Holston and Great Canaway (now New) Rivers. The consideration for the purchase was 2000 Pounds Sterling. — Map (db m47180) HM
Tennessee (Carter County), Johnson City — 1A 31 — Carter County / Washington County
[Front]
Established 1796 named in honor of Landon Carter Treasurer of Washington and Hamilton Districts. Speaker of the first State of Franklin Senate, later its Secretary of State, also Lieutenant Colonel of the Washington District Militia. [Reverse] Established 1777 named in honor George Washington Colonel in the Colonial Army; Commander-in-Chief of the Revolutionary Army and first President of the United States of America. — Map (db m45948) HM
Tennessee (Carter County), Johnson City — 1A 17 — Dungan’s Mill
6.5 miles northwest, at the mouth of Brush Creek, is a mill built by Jeremiah Dungan in 1779, and continuously operated since then. East of it was a stone fort erected by pioneers of the Watauga Settlement.
Dungan and other pioneers are buried in the vicinity. — Map (db m45997) HM
Tennessee (Carter County), Watauga — 1A 108 — Range School
Range School was in operation prior to Oct. 29, 1843. It began as a common school with classes held in a log sheep barn donated by Jonathan Range. In 1901, a one-room frame building was constructed near the original site. A brick building was constructed near the 1901 site in 1914. The current building was completed in 1963. The property for the last two buildings was purchased from George and Hattie Range Snodgrass. Range School is still serving the community. — Map (db m53528) HM
Tennessee (Cheatham County), Kingston Springs — Connection To JohnsonvilleU.S. Military Railroad
In November 1863, Federal troops occupied Kingston Springs to serve as headquarters for the supervisors of the U.S. Military Railroad Construction Corps. They oversaw the construction of this section of the Nashville and Northwestern Railroad. When it was completed, the rail line connected Nashville to the major Union depot at Johnsonville on the Tennessee River. Federal commanders impressed both free blacks and escaped slaves to build the railroad, side-by-side with Irish immigrants. Together . . . — Map (db m69365) HM
Tennessee (Claiborne County), Harrogate — Lincoln And Cumberland GapPassage to the West
Cumberland Gap became the principal passage between the eastern and western theaters of operation in the Upper South during the war. Whichever side held the high ground here held the Gap. In 1861, Confederate Gen. Felix K. Zollicoffer's men occupied Cumberland Gap and began erecting fortifications, some of which still exist today. The work was backbreaking and the terrain unforgiving. "It is the roughest place in the world," a soldier wrote, "but we are going to stick the mountain full of . . . — Map (db m35761) HM
Tennessee (Claiborne County), Harrogate — 1D 36 — Lincoln Memorial University
"If you come through this misery alive... I want you to do something for all those mountain people who have been shut out of the world all these years." These words of President Abraham Lincoln to General O. O. Howard in 1863 proved to be the catalyst for the founding of LMU. Chartered on February 12, 1897, as a liberal arts university and the home of the Abraham Lincoln Museum. LMU continues its mission of providing an advanced education to people of this region. — Map (db m35760) HM
Tennessee (Clay County), Celina — 2D 42 — Butler's Landing / Bailey Butler
Butler's Landing Daniel Boone, on his trip to the Western Territory in 1773, followed the old game and Indian trail to where two creeks flowed into the Cumberland River. He referred to them as the Twin or Double Creeks in his journal. On this trip, he spent the winter on the bluff (now known as the "Seven Sisters") down the river below what is now Butler's Landing at the mouth of the Twin Creeks-Mill Creek and Dry Fork Creek. Congress, in 1820, established the fourth post road at Butler's . . . — Map (db m74336) HM WM
Tennessee (Clay County), Celina — Celina During the Civil WarHamilton's Tennessee Cavalry Battalion
During the Civil War, the residents of the eastern and Cumberland River sections of present-day Clay County (then part of Jackson and Overton Counties) were usually Confederate sympathizers, while those in the western section supported the Union. Men from this area enlisted in both armies. Oliver P. Hamilton organized one of the first local Confederate regiments in December 1862. He was elected major (and later became lieutenant colonel) of Hamilton’s Tennessee Cavalry Battalion. This . . . — Map (db m74297) HM
Tennessee (Clay County), Celina — 2D 31 — Free Hill(s) Community
Free Hill(s), a historic Black community, was established northeast of Celina before the Civil War by former slaves of Virginia Hill. Hill brought her slaves from North Carolina to then Overton County, purchased 2,000 hilly and rough acres, settled and freed them. The freed Blacks took the surname Hill, thus the name Free Hill(s). After 1865, other Clay County Blacks also settled in the area. — Map (db m74274) HM
Tennessee (Cocke County), Del Rio — 1C 22 — Grace Moore
Born in a house which stood just across the creek, on Dec. 5, 1901, she was educated at Ward Belmont College, in Nashville, and after further musical study in Washington and New York, she became one of the outstanding operatic sopranos of her day. She was killed in an airplane accident near Copenhagen, Denmark, Jan 26, 1947. — Map (db m40736) HM
Tennessee (Cocke County), Del Rio — 1C 73 — John Floyd Arrowood1891-1925
Born two miles west April 1891, Arrowood was one of the first American soldiers to be decorated for bravery in World War I. The French government, on Nov. 14, 1917, awarded him the Croix de Guerre for the rescue of several men under his command from a raid of German soldiers on the trenches. Newspapers all over the world carried accounts of his bravery. He died in Denver, Colorado. — Map (db m40735) HM
Tennessee (Cocke County), Del Rio — 1C2 — Tennessee / North Carolina
(obverse) Tennessee Cocke County Established 1797, named in honor of SENATOR WILLIAM COCKE (1796, 1797, 1799 to 1805) An officer of the Revolutionary Army; one of the leaders of the State of Franklin and member of the Legislature of the Territory South of the Ohio River. (reverse) North Carolina One of the original 13 colonies, named reportedly for England's Charles II. Virginia Dare, first child born of white parents on the North American . . . — Map (db m40739) HM
Tennessee (Cocke County), Newport — 1C 57 — Governor Ben Walter Hooper
Born in Newport on October 13, 1870, Hooper was a successful Cocke County attorney. He was elected governor and served two terms, 1911-15. His election is attributed to the influence of fusion, the coalition of the prohibition factions of both major political parties. He later served as chairman of the U.S. Railroad Labor Board, 1921-26. Governor Hooper died on April 18, 1957 and is buried in the Union Cemetery. — Map (db m61778) HM
Tennessee (Cocke County), Newport — 1C34 — Jefferson County / Cocke County
Side A * Jefferson County * Established 1792: named in honor of Thomas Jefferson Secretary of State; formerly member of the Continental Congress; principal author of the Declaration of Independence; later Governor of Virginia; Vice-President and President of the United States. Side B * Cocke County * Established 1797: named in honor of Senator William Cocke (1796, 1797, 1799 TO 1805) An officer of the Revolutionary Army; one of the leaders . . . — Map (db m28734) HM
Tennessee (Cocke County), Newport — 1C20 — Kiffin Yates Rockwell
Born in a house 500 yards south, he attended W & L University and V.M.I. Enlisted in the French Foreign Legion, August, 1914: incapacitated for infantry service by wounds, May 1915. Transferring to the French Air Force, he helped found the Escadrille Lafayette. The first American aviator to down an enemy plane, May 18, 1916. Killed in aerial combat over Alsace, Sept. 23, 1916. He is buried in France. — Map (db m28228) HM
Tennessee (Cocke County), Newport — 1C 66 — The War Ford
Located .2 mi. east on the Big Pigeon River is a strategic crossing used by the Cherokees. In Aug. 1782, Gen. Charles McDowell of Burke Co., North Carolina, raised an army of five hundred mounted militia from Morgan District to cross the mountains, join Col. John Sevier's army of the same number from Washington District, and subdue the Indians who sided with the British. During this three month campaign, one of the final skirmishes of the Revolutionary War was fought at this site. — Map (db m61779) HM
Tennessee (Cocke County), Newport — 1C 19 — Whitson’s Fort
About 2 miles northeast, south of the mouth of Cosby’s Creek, William Whitson, Jr., established a fort on the east bank of Pigeon River in 1783. It was an important frontier outpost, since there was a ford there, and the west bank of the river was then Indian territory. — Map (db m58404) HM
Tennessee (Cocke County), Parrottsville — 1C 64 — Swaggerty Fort
This fort, one of only two known remaining blockhouses in Tennessee, was built about 1787 by James Swaggerty for protection from the Indians. Located on land of his Uncle Abraham Swaggerty, it consists of three levels. The cantilevered structure was built over a stream which provided water supply. — Map (db m61780) HM
Tennessee (Coffee County), Beech Grove — 18th Indiana Battery
Hoover's Gap, TN, June 24, 1863. The 18th Indiana Battery, commanded by Capt. Eli Lilly, dislodged one Confederate artillery piece and forced the Confederate batteries to change position. The battery, along with Wilder's Brigade, did considerable damage to the advancing Confederate infantry with double rounds of canister. This battle opened middle TN to the Union forces, resulting in the advance of the Union Army to Chattanooga and Georgia. The battery was formed in Indianapolis, IN. In . . . — Map (db m24166) HM
Tennessee (Coffee County), Beech Grove — 20th Tennessee Volunteer Infantry
A regiment of many heroes including Tod Carter Dewitt S. Jobe William Shy Thomas B. Smith Their bravery will never die Dedicated November 1, 2008 Tennessee Division Sons of Confederate Veterans — Map (db m30694) HM
Tennessee (Coffee County), Beech Grove — 2E 40 — Beech Grove Engagement
On June 24, 1863, Union forces under Rosecrans overpowered Confederate defenders on Hoover's Gap, commanded by Stewart, Bate, and Bushrod Johnson. This was the beginning of Bragg's withdrawal to Chattanooga. Unknown soldiers who fell in the battle are buried in the cemetery to the southeast. — Map (db m26052) HM
Tennessee (Coffee County), Beech Grove — Confederate Cemetery
Originally the site of a pioneer cemetery, many early residents are buried here. In 1866, returned Confederate soldiers, under the leadership of Maj. William Hume and David Lawrence, collected and reinterred here the bodies of soldiers who fell at isolated places in the Beech Grove - Hoover's Gap engagement. June 24-26, 1863. — Map (db m24162) HM
Tennessee (Coffee County), Beech Grove — 2E 6 — Fort Nash
Near here, on Garrison Fork, this fort was established, about 1793, for the protection of settlers and travelers to and from the southwest. Until its abandonment, about 1804, it was an important stopping place and administrative center. — Map (db m26050) HM
Tennessee (Coffee County), Beech Grove — General A. P. Stewart's DivisionMonument at Beech Grove, Tennessee
(Front):General A.P. Stewart Stewart's Division 2nd Army Corps (Hardee) Army of Tennessee CSA Dedicated 24th Day of April 2010 By Benjamin F. Cheatham Camp 72 Sons of Confederate Veterans Manchester, Tennessee (Reverse):Battle of Hoover's Gap June 24 - 26, 1863 Stewart's Division Bates' Brigade 4th Ga. Inf. Bn SS. - 15th Tenn. Inf. Reg't. 37th Ga. Inf. Reg't. - 20th Tenn. Inf. Reg't. 2nd 9th Ala. Inf. Btn. - Ala. Eufala Art'y. Btry. Brown's Brigade 14th Ga. . . . — Map (db m30698) HM
Tennessee (Coffee County), Beech Grove — General Forrest's Farewell Order MemorialUnknown Confederate Soldiers Memorial
Forrest's Farewell Order to his Cavalry Corps ExtractGainesville, Ala., May 9, 1865 Civil war, such as you have passed through, naturally engenders feelings of animosity, hatred, and revenge. It is our duty to divest ourselves of all such feelings, and, so far as it is in our power to do so, to cultivate friendly feelings toward those with whom we have so long contested and heretofore so widely but honestly differed. Neighborhood feuds, personal animosities and private differences should be . . . — Map (db m30715) HM
Tennessee (Coffee County), Beech Grove — 2E 41 — Henry Watterson
Born in Washington, Feb. 16, 1840, where his father, Harvey Magee Watterson, was in congress, he spent most of his boyhood in a house 100 ft.W. Subsequently Confederate soldier, journalist and political leader, he founded the Louisville courier-Journal in 1868 and swa its editor in chief until 1918. He died in 1921. — Map (db m26051) HM
Tennessee (Coffee County), Beech Grove — Pledge to the South
The South is a land that has known sorrows; it is a land that has broken the ashen crust and moistened it with tears; a land scarred and riven by the plowshare of war and billowed with the graves of her dead; but a land of legend, a land of song, a land of hallowed and heroic memories. To that land every drop of my blood, every fibre of my being, every pulsation of my heart, is consecrated forever. I was born of her womb; I was nurtured at her breast; and when my last hour shall come, I . . . — Map (db m24167) HM
Tennessee (Coffee County), Manchester — Corporal Brian James Schoff
Nov. 27, 1983 to Jan. 28, 2006, 2nd Battalion, 506th Infantry Regiment, 101st Airborne Division "Operation Iraqi Freedom." "Only two defining forces have ever offered to die for you, Jesus Christ, and the American Soldier. One died for your soul, and the other for your freedom. What we do for our ourselves dies with us--what we do for others lives on forever." — Map (db m75337) WM
Tennessee (Coffee County), Manchester — 2E 45 — Experiment in Armor
Hereabouts, on June 20, 1941, Maj. Gen. George S. Patton, Jr., personally led his 2nd Armored Division across several fords of Duck River, quickly surrounding and defeating his maneuver opponents in the Manchester vicinity, thus proving that modern armor, by its speed and power, can be employed in battle with decisive effect. — Map (db m24968) HM
Tennessee (Coffee County), Manchester — 2E 47 — General Henry H. "Hap" Arnold
General "Hap" Arnold, WW II Commander of the Army Air Forces, is commemorated by the Air Force research and development installation bearing his name. In 1944, he directed long range planning for air research and development to maintain this Nation's air power in the forefront of a new era of flight. The Arnold Engineering Development Center with its facilities for testing advanced aircraft, missiles and space weapons, is a significant result of his vision and foresight. — Map (db m25920) HM
Tennessee (Coffee County), Manchester — Granny Hickerson Cemetery
This cemetery was established in the early 1800's, by the burial on this spot of David Hickerson and his wife Nancy Hickerson. It has been known throughout the years as the Granny Hickerson Cemetery, though members of other families are also known to have been buried here in unmarked graves. It is currently maintained by the Hickerson National Reunion Assn. This marker erected in 1968. — Map (db m69657) HM
Tennessee (Coffee County), Manchester — 2E 5 — Old Stone Fort
About 1/2 mi. S.W. are remains of stone fortification and moat of ancient and unknown origin. One theory is that it was built by a party of 12th Century Welch voyagers who entered the country via the Gulf of Mexico. Near here also was the capital of the Indian province of Chisca, to which DeSoto sent scouts, in 1540. — Map (db m24967) HM
Tennessee (Coffee County), Manchester — 2E 46 — Pioneer Armored Maneuvers
Maneuvering in this vicinity, June, 1941, the 2nd Armored Division, USA, commanded by Mag. Gen. George Smith Patton, Jr., gave the first demonstration in America of the mobility and decisive power of armor in large-scale combat operations. Maneuver headquarters were in the school building. — Map (db m24969) HM
Tennessee (Coffee County), Manchester — The Civilian Conservaton Corps
The Civilian Conservation Corps was launched by President Franklin D. Roosevelt April 5, 1933 as a lifeline for undernourished sons of the great depression. Each company consisted of about 200 men who were housed in Tennessee barracks under the management of army personnel. They were paid $30 per month of which $25 was sent home. They did conservation work and the corps lasted until America entered World War II. The full story of the CCC participation is this war will never be fully known. We . . . — Map (db m75335) HM
Tennessee (Coffee County), Manchester — Tullahoma CampaignJune 24-July 4, 1863 — Anatomy of a Campaign
In late June of 1863, Union Major General William S. Rosecrans launched a massive offensive from his base in Murfreesboro in an attempt to drive Confederate General Braxton Bragg’s 43,000-man Army of Tennessee from its entrenchments at Shelbyville and Wartrace, and possibly out of the state. The Union commander planned to capture Chattanooga and, in his words, “rescue loyal East Tennessee from the hands of the rebels.” The campaign was bold and swift, with relatively few . . . — Map (db m75354) HM
Tennessee (Coffee County), Manchester — Tullahoma CampaignJune 24-July 4, 1862 — The Confederate War Industry
When Manchester was founded in the late 18th century, local lore has it that the town, named for Manchester, England, was destined to become an American version of this powerful industrial city. The Duck River falls, it was noted, would provide an excellent source of water power for milling. When the war began it 1861 the South faced blockade and invasion. Already inferior to the North in manufacturing resources, the Confederacy nonetheless became self-sufficient in arms production by . . . — Map (db m75355) HM
Tennessee (Coffee County), Tullahoma — 2E 12 — Army of Tennessee
Withdrawing to this area after the Battle of Murfreesboro, Ben. Braxton Bragg established his command post near here. Other units went into defensive winter quarters at Bell Buckle, Shelbyville & Wartrace. Here they remained until late June, 1863, when maneuvers by Rosecrans, commanding the Army of the Cumberland forced withdrawal southward. — Map (db m24302) HM
Tennessee (Coffee County), Tullahoma — 2E 72 — Baillet Sisters
Jane (Jennie) Baillet 1834 - 1918 Emma Adell Baillet 1838 - 1926 Affa Ann Baillet 1850 - 1934 This house was the home of Jane, Emma, and Affa Baillet whose family purchased the property in 1868. From around 1870 to 1913 the sisters, businesswomen and artists, owned and operated J. & E.A. Baillet Millinary Shop where they created original fashionable ladies wear and hats. Their legacy of Tennessee landscape and genre paintings date . . . — Map (db m24618) HM
Tennessee (Coffee County), Tullahoma — 2E 34 — Camp Forrest
Originally established in 1926 for training the Tennessee National Guard, this became a Federal training area, Jan. 10, 1941. It was named for Lt. Gen. N.B. Forrest, CSA. Units training here included the 8th, 33rd, 79th & 80th Inf. Divs., 17th Airborne Div., 75th FA Brig., & 107th Ca. Regt. It was deactivated June 30, 1946. — Map (db m24446) HM
Tennessee (Coffee County), Tullahoma — Camp Forrest Monument
Camp Peay 1926 - 1940 Camp Forrest 1940-1946 Arnold Center 1949 Tullahoma, Tenn A tribute to the men and women who trained and worked at Camp Forrest and contributed significantly to victory in World War II. — Map (db m24430) HM
Tennessee (Coffee County), Tullahoma — 2 E 19 — Coffee County / Franklin County
Coffee County Establised 1836; named in honor of Major General John Coffee Soldier, surveyor and close friend of Andrew Jackson. Tennessee troops under his command took a decisive part in the New Orleans Campaign, December 23, 1814 to January 8, 1815. Franklin County Established 1807; named in honor of Benjamin Franklin Printer, publisher, diplomat, author, philosopher, scientist and statesman. Most notable achievements in statecraft were his representation of the . . . — Map (db m24189) HM
Tennessee (Coffee County), Tullahoma — 2E 44 — Confederate Cemetery
1 mile SW are buried 407 unknown Confederates. Many of these died in one of the hospitals established here when Tullahoma was headquarters for the Army of Tennessee during the first six months of 1863, following the Battle of Murfreesboro and preceding the withdrawal of the Army of Chattanooga. — Map (db m24296) HM
Tennessee (Coffee County), Tullahoma — Confederate Memorial
On this ground are buried 407 unknown Confederates. Many of these died in one of the hospitals established here when Tullahoma was headquarter for the Army of Tennessee during the first six months of 1863. Following the Battle of Murfreesboro and preceding the withdrawal of the army to Chattanooga. — Map (db m75311) HM WM
Tennessee (Coffee County), Tullahoma — Fortress TullahomaStrategic Rail Center — Tullahoma Campaign
(preface) After the Battle of Stones River ended on January 2, 1863, Union Gen. William S. Rosecrans occupied Murfreesboro. Confederate Gen. Braxton Bragg withdrew south to the Highland Rim to protect the rail junction at Tullahoma, Bragg’s headquarters, and the roads to Chattanooga. Bragg fortified Shelbyville and Wartrace behind lightly defended mountain gaps. After months of delay, Rosecrans fainted toward Shelbyville on June 23 and then captured Hoovers and Liberty Gaps the next . . . — Map (db m75320) HM
Tennessee (Coffee County), Tullahoma — 2E 11 — Isham G. Harris
Born near here, 1818. Was the only governor of Confederate State of Tennessee. In Congress 1849-51; elected governor, 1857-59-61. When U.S. forces captured Nashville, joined staff of Army of Tennessee for remainder of War. Fled to Mexico, 1865; returned 1867. Was U.S. Senator from 1877 until his death in 1897. — Map (db m61914) HM
Tennessee (Coffee County), Tullahoma — 2E 56 — James W. Starnes
South of here, at Bobo's Crossroads, Col. Starnes, 4th Tennessee Cavalry, CSA, then commanding Forrest's Old Brigade, was killed in a skirmish while his brigade was screening the withdrawal of the Army of Tennessee from Tullahoma to the Chattanooga area. — Map (db m24188) HM
Tennessee (Coffee County), Tullahoma — Maplewood Confederate CemeteryHallowed Ground
Tullahoma was the headquarters and logistics center of the Confederate Army of Tennessee for the first six months of 1863 after the Battle of Murfreesboro. At least three hospitals here treated soldiers wounded during Gen. Braxton Bragg’s 1862 and 1863 engagements or who suffered from disease, illness or injury. More than 500 soldiers from virtually every state in the Confederacy who were killed or died near Tullahoma are buried here. At first, wooden headboard marked the graves, but soon . . . — Map (db m75310) HM
Tennessee (Coffee County), Tullahoma — Rangers2nd Ranger Bn         5th Ranger Bn
On January 8, 1943 2nd Army commenced an intensive training course to train Rangers at Camp Forrest. Tennessee. The 2nd Ranger Battalion was formed on April 1, 1943 by Lt. Col. W. C. Saffrans. Later these Rangers were trained and led by Major J. E. Rudder. The 5th Ranger Bn was activated September 1, 1943 under Lt. Col O. H. Carter. Later the unit was trained and led by Major Max Schneider. Both Battalions were later trained at Fort Pierce, Fla, in New Jersey and Great Britain. On . . . — Map (db m24433) HM
Tennessee (Coffee County), Tullahoma — The Red Caboose
The car displayed here is a side bay window model caboose built in 1964 by the Louisville & Nashville Railroad at the company’s South Louisville yards. The exterior is restored to the original L & N red. The purpose of a caboose was to provide crewman a better view of potential problems with the train. Some of the earliest cabooses were designed with a cupola or “crow’s nest.” As train cars became taller, however, the side bay window was introduced. The early wooden L & N cabooses . . . — Map (db m75318) HM
Tennessee (Coffee County), Tullahoma — Tullahoma CampaignJune 24-July 4, 1863 — From Contraband to United States Colored Troops
No sooner did the North begin its invasion than slaves fled to Union lines seeking freedom. This presented problems for military commanders and President Lincoln. The political aims of the war did not initially include emancipation. Before Lincoln’s Emancipation Proclamation took effect in January of 1863, slaves belonging to Union supporters were actually returned to their masters. But enslaved African Americans would not be denied the opportunity the war presented. Refugee camps quickly . . . — Map (db m75324) HM
Tennessee (Coffee County), Tullahoma — Tullahoma CampaignJune 24-July 4, 1863 — Anatomy of a Campaign
In late June of 1863, Union Major General William S. Rosecrans launched a massive offensive from his base in Murfreesboro in an attempt to drive Confederate General Braxton Bragg’s 43,000-man Army of Tennessee from its entrenchments at Shelbyville and Wartrace, and possibly out of the state. The Union commander planned to capture Chattanooga and, in his words, “rescue loyal East Tennessee from the hands of the rebels.” The campaign was bold and swift, with relatively few . . . — Map (db m75325) HM
Tennessee (Coffee County), Tullahoma — Tullahoma CampaignJune 24-July 4, 1863 — Race to Tullahoma
When the Union Army of the Cumberland captured Manchester on June 27th, Braxton Bragg’s Confederate forces retreated here to Tullahoma - a supply base and Army of Tennessee headquarters since January, 1863. Tullahoma, however, was tactically a vulnerable position. Lieutenant General Leonidas Polk insisted the army retreat to Chattanooga because the swollen Elk River to the south would give Rosecrans the opportunity to cross the Tennessee River in northern Alabama region barren of supplies and . . . — Map (db m75331) HM
Tennessee (Crockett County), Alamo — 4D 38 — Robert H. White, Ph. D.(1883 - 1970)
Robert H. "Bob" White was born in Crockett County 10 miles west of this site. He served 15 years as Tennessee's first official State Historian. He had previously served as a college teacher and a consultant to many departments of state government as well as to the Tennessee Valley Authority. He was a distinguished author and a recognized humorous lecturer. — Map (db m52977) HM
Tennessee (Crockett County), Bells — 4D 29 — Cherryville
3½ miles west, this town, first called Harris' Bluff, later Harrisburg, was the first to be incorporated (Oct. 18, 1821) in west Tennessee. In 1833, the electors for the surrounding four counties delivered their returns here. Industries included a grist mill, tailor shop and toll bridge. A prehistoric mound is at the site. — Map (db m52999) HM
Tennessee (Crockett County), Gadsden — 4D 30 — First Strawberries
Coming to this region from his native Maryland in 1867, David Brandenburg established here the first large-scale strawberry-growing operation in Tennessee. The industry has now become an important factor in the produce economy of the mid-South. — Map (db m53032) HM
Tennessee (Crockett County), Maury City — 4D 36 — Thomas Conyers, Sr.1757 - 1847
One mile due north is the grave of this veteran of the Revolutionary War who enlisted in 1776, wintered at Valley Forge, served in numerous battles, afterwards fought Indians, and was honorably discharged at Pittsburgh. He moved to what is now Wilson County, Tennessee in 1784; migrated in 1845 to the northern border of Haywood County which later was included within the boundaries of Crockett County. He Died in 1847. — Map (db m56291) HM
Tennessee (Cumberland County), Crossville — Cumberland County at WarDivided by Conflict
Divided loyalties in Tennessee produced a bitter and violent Civil War experience in Cumberland County, the only county that did not report a vote either for or against secession. Confederate supporters joined Co. B, Lt. Col. Oliver P. Hamilton’s Tennessee Cavalry Battalion, and Cos. A and B, 28th Tennessee Infantry, among others. Unionist Robert C. Swan formed Co. D, 2nd Tennessee Infantry (USA). Polly Hand and Richard “Red Fox” Flynn conducted Unionists to Federal units in . . . — Map (db m69232) HM
Tennessee (Cumberland County), Crossville — Cumberland County's First Steam Engine
This engine was brought to Cumberland County from Indianna by Samuel Cline about 1872. It powered a sawmill and grist mill at what was then Northville. Donated to Cumberland County by Mason Hatfield in 1956. — Map (db m69300) HM
Tennessee (Cumberland County), Crossville — 2 C 20 — Kemmer Stand / Tavern
In 1817, John Kemmer purchased land here and built Kemmer Stand, a wayside inn, at the intersection of Burke Road. It was two-story, two-section structure that housed many travelers traversing the Cumberland Plateau. At the crest of this hill lies Walton or Great Stage Road. Built in 1800, it was the first federal road across the Plateau. — Map (db m18194) HM
Tennessee (Cumberland County), Pleasant Hill — Affair at Cumberland MountainA Brief Fight
Less than half a mile west of here, on the Lewis Whitaker farm, the only engagement of the war in Cumberland County between regular Union and Confederate troops took place on December 9, 1863. Several companies of Col. Thomas J. Jordan’s 9th Pennsylvania Cavalry bivouacked there after Confederate forces dislodged them from Sparta. Ascending the Cumberland Plateau on the road to Crossville earlier that day, Jordan intended to cross the mountains and join forces with Gen. Ambrose E. Burnside . . . — Map (db m69228) HM
Tennessee (Cumberland County), Pleasant Hill — 2C 11 — Pleasant Hill
Pleasant Hill Was incorporated in 1903. Pleasant Hill Academy, a secondary school, was founded here in 1884 by the American Missionary Association of the Congregational Churches to provide an education for the young people of the Cumberland Plateau. Its contribution enriched the quality of living throughout the region. Improved public schools caused the academy to close its doors in 1947. — Map (db m69229) HM
Tennessee (Cumberland County), Pleasant Hill — The Journey of the BellPioneer Hall Museum — Revere and Sons Bell
1817 Cast by Revere and Sons, Boston, Massachusetts 1817-1824 Hung in steeple of 2nd Congressional Church, Marblehead, Massachusetts 1825-1886 Placed in Old North Congregational Church, Marblehead 1886 Purchased by J.J,H. Gregory and sent to Pleasant Hill Academy 1886-1918 Hung in belfry of Pleasant Hill Academy’s first building 1922 Broken bell was placed on site of Dodge Hall which had burned 1959 Hung in bell tower of Pleasant Hill Community Church, United . . . — Map (db m69230) HM
Tennessee (Davidson), Nashville — 152 — Jack Clement Recording Studios
After success in Memphis with Sun Records, "Cowboy" Jack Clement founded Jack Clement Recording Studios in 1969, producing and writing for artists such as Johnny Cash and Charley Pride. It was the first facility of its kind in Nashville, with interiors designed by Jim Tilton. Sold in 1979 and renamed Sound Emporium, artists such as Kenny Rogers, Dottie West, Ray Stevens, Don Williams, John Denver, R.E.M., Robert Plant & Alison Krauss have recorded here. — Map (db m76355) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Brentwood — 3A 21 — Hood's RetreatDec. 16, 1864
In this neighborhood, late in the evening of his decisive defeat at Nashville, Hood reorganized his army for withdrawal southward. Lt. Gen. Stephen D. Lee's Corps, supported by Chalmers' Cavalry Division, covered the withdrawal, fighting continuously until the army bivouacked near Spring Hill, 21 mil. S., the night of Dec. 17th. — Map (db m54043) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Goodlettsville — 3B 23 — Casper Mansker1746–1820
Two blocks west is the grave of this renowned frontiersman and Goodlettsville’s first citizen. Coming first to the Cumberland Settlements in 1770, he returned in 1780 and built his fort one-half mile north on Mansker’s creek. He repeatedly fought marauding Indians to protect the first white settlers of this region and was made colonel in the frontier militia. He lived the remainder of his life at his fort which was called Mansker’s Station. — Map (db m2428) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Goodlettsville — 3A 204 — Goodlettsville Cumberland Presbyterian Church
In 1843, Goodlettsville Cumberland Presbyterian Church was organized near Mansker Creek and was originally known as Mansker Creek Congregation. In January 1848, the church moved to the present location and burned in 1901. The present edifice was built in 1902. The congregation has remained active for more than 150 years. — Map (db m2583) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Goodlettsville — 72 — Mansker’s First Fort
Here on west bank of the creek that he discovered in 1772, Kasper Mansker and other first settlers built a log fort in 1779. John Donelson’s family fled here in 1780 for safety from Indians. Mansker abandoned the fort in 1781 and moved to Fort Nashborough. He returned in 1783, built a stronger stockade on east bank of the creek a half mile upstream, and lived there until he died in 1820. — Map (db m2586) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Goodlettsville — 3A 14 — Mansker’s Station
Here, near Mansker’s Lick, Casper Mansker established a station of the Cumberland Settlements in 1780. The road connecting with Nashboro was built in 1781. John Donelson and his family moved here after abandoning his Clover Bottom Station, following the 1780 massacre. A great game trail ran northeast from the Lick. — Map (db m2375) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Goodlettsville — 3A 146 — William Bowen HouseCirca 1787
Near Mansker’s Creek stands a rare example of Federal architecture built by Capt. William Bowen and Mary Henley Russell. Bowen, an early pioneer and Indian fighter had served in the French & Indian and Revolutionary wars before moving his family to the Cumberland Settlements. The house was restored and placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1976. A grandson, William Bowen Campbell, served as fifteenth governor of Tennessee. — Map (db m2585) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Hendersonville — Davidson County/Sumner County
Davidson County. Established 1783; named in honor of Brig. Gen. William Lee Davidson of North Carolina. Distinguished officer in the revolutionary War. Served with the Army at Valley Forge. Killed in action at Cowan’s Ford, N.C., 1781. Sumner County. Established 1786; named in honor of Major Gen. Jethro Sumner. Officer in French and Indian War; in the Battles of Brandywine and Germantown; and in the Army at Valley Forge. His last service was in the defense of North Carolina against Cornwallis. — Map (db m2374) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Hermitage — “A Being so Gentle And Yet So Virtuous”Rachel and Andrew’s Tombs
Rachel Jackson quietly suffered through Jackson’s bid for the White House, as his enemies attacked the circumstances of their marriage. Although Jackson easily won the presidency, Rachel dreaded the gossiping whispers of Washington’s social circles. Whether this stress contributed to her death on December 22, 1828 is not known, but Jackson believed that it did. Jackson buried his Rachel in her beloved garden, erecting a temporary shelter over her grave until a more suitable monument could . . . — Map (db m52363) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Hermitage — A Future President's HomeFrom Adversity, Strength
Andrew Jackson took on life with grit and determination. Both served him well. Through persistence, ambition, and luck, the boy born into a struggling immigrant family and orphaned at age fourteen, would become a respected lawyer, judge, businessman, politician, military officer, farmer- and president. Success marked Jackson’s early years in Tennessee from 1788, until the early 1800s, when fell on hard times. In order to pay his debts, he sold his fine riverfront farm, Hunter’s . . . — Map (db m52422) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Hermitage — A home for Jackson’s Slaves1821-1865
Andrew Jackson arrived at the Hermitage in 1804 with nine slaves. By 1821, that number had risen to fifty. In 1823, Jackson brought another thirty enslaved African American here from his recently sold Alabama plantation. Faced with pressing need for additional slave housing, he built several new cabins and converted his long farmhouse into a one-story slave cabin. Over the next thirty years, Jackson’s slave population continued to grow, peaking to 150. When Jackson retired from the . . . — Map (db m52454) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Hermitage — A Landscape Of InequalityEnslaved Life at The Hermitage
The idyllic planter’s life presented to white visitors by the Jackson family was based on the unpaid labor of over 150 enslaved black men, women, and children. Without the grueling labor of these individuals, the Jackson family could not have lived so lavishly. Of the enslaved workers that Andrew Jackson owned at the end of his life, only about ten worked in and around the mansion. A few more, such as the blacksmith and carpenter, had special skills. The majority of the enslaved, however, . . . — Map (db m52407) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Hermitage — Abandonment and PreservationStories Lost, Then Found Again
In the years after Andrew Jackson’s death, the Jackson’s financial situation changed for the worse. The log farmhouse/slave cabin slowly fell into ruin. In 1889, the state of Tennessee entrusted the property to the Ladies’ Hermitage Association. They immediately restored the one-story remains of the farmhouse as a monument to Andrew Jackson. Because the history of this building as a slave cabin went untold, visitors to The Hermitage for many years mistakenly believed that the Jackson lived in a . . . — Map (db m52453) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Hermitage — Alfred’s CabinA Life of Toil
While the bold and dramatic claim center stage, history is also written in the quite, humble ways...and lives. Alfred Jackson was unique among the enslaved at The Hermitage. Born at The Hermitage to Betty, the cook, and Ned, the carpenter, Alfred became the wagoner in charge of Hermitage vehicles and horses. He married Gracy Bradley, Sarah Jackson’s personal maid, with whom he had two children, Augustus, and Sara. Alfred lived nearly his entire life here. He witnessed the growth of The . . . — Map (db m52409) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Hermitage — Civil War at The HermitageA President's Home in Wartime
Although no Civil War battles were fought here, the war touched Andrew Jackson's farm in other ways. Jackson had been a firm Unionist, putting down Nullification and its potential for civil war during his presidency. However, after his death, his adopted son Andrew Jackson Jr., and his wife, Sarah supported the South. When Tennessee seceded, the president's grandsons joined the Confederate army, as did two of Sarah Jackson's nephews who also were reared here. Three of the young men died, and . . . — Map (db m52329) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Hermitage — Explore The Hermitage Grounds
From this point, you have many tour options inviting you to think about another time here at this 1120–acre National Historic Landmark. Use the map guide you to any of the many points of interest you’ll find throughout Andrew Jackson’s plantation. Visit the President’s tomb, the Jackson Family Cemetery, the First Hermitage, the Hermitage Church, and many sites that tell the stories of those enslaved at The Hermitage. Stroll the mansion grounds, or hike our 1.5-mile nature trail. Do . . . — Map (db m52406) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Hermitage — Filed Quarter Trail
This path leads to the Field Quarter, an area that was once home to at least eighty enslaved African–Americans. A series of illustrated signs near expose building foundations at the site help you to “see” what life was like for this part of the Hermitage plantation community. The trail will also lead you past other features of nineteenth century life as well as take you along a wooded stream. The trail makes a circuit of a little less than half a mile, returning you to the . . . — Map (db m52415) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Hermitage — Growing CottonA risky Venture
Andrew Jackson called it his farm, but in reality, The Hermitage was a large cotton plantation dependent upon enslaved labor. All the agricultural actives on Jackson’s 1000 – acre plantation supported his cotton. On average, Jackson’s slaves planted and tended about 200 acres of cotton each year. Of the remaining acreage, portions were wooded or laid fallow, but much of it produced crops that supported his family, slaves, and livestock. Jackson wanted his plantation to be as . . . — Map (db m52456) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Hermitage — Icehouse
The Hermitage icehouse, a common feature on larger farms and plantations during the nineteenth century, stood on the north side of the smokehouse. Archaeological excavation at this site in 1993 uncovered a portion of a 20 by 20 foot rectangular hole at least fifteen feet deep, the only remnant of the facility. The pit was used to store and insulate winter ice and snow for use in cooling food and drink during the warm spring and summer months. The icehouse was completed in January of . . . — Map (db m52411) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Hermitage — Land Conservation at The HermitagePrescribed Grazing Plan
Prescribed Grazing at the Hermitage improves forage, animal, soil, and water resources. Animal resources are improved by striving to maintain quality forge 3” to 8” tall. This height allows graze animals to have optimum intake. When animal graze lower than 3” they expend more energy in search of forage and grain less weight. Forage taller than 8” is typically steamy and lower quality. Plant resources are more vigorous and resilient when plants are not grazed . . . — Map (db m52455) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Hermitage — Property, Family, Humanity
For the Jackson family, the enslaved were property and the foundation of their wealth. The monetary value of the enslaved far exceeded the combined worth of the Hermitage land, mansion and other improvements. Andrew Jackson himself had no qualms about owning slaves. Yet, the Jacksons called the enslaved their “black family.” Jackson treated everyone in his life paternally—his family, his soldiers, his political associates, and his slaves. When they behaved as Jackson . . . — Map (db m52412) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Hermitage — The Architectural Evolution Of The HermitageA Matter of Style and Substance
Like its landscape, so too have the homes of the Hermitage been touched by time and circumstance. Andrew and Rachel Jackson's first Hermitage home was a substantial and well-furnished two-story log farmhouse, where they lived from 1804 until well after Jackson's rise to national fame at the Battle of New Orleans in 1815. After his victory, the First Hermitage reflected neither Jackson's status as a national hero, nor the fashions of the time. In 1819, he began construction of a Federal-style . . . — Map (db m52357) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Hermitage — The Belted Galloway
The Belted Galloway is an heirloom breed of beef cattle originating in the mountainous region of Galloway in southwestern Scotland. A hardy breed, they are naturally polled (hornless) and are distinguished by their thick heavy coats and white belt banding their middle. Their unique hair coat is an inner downy layer called the undercoat and an outer layer called the overcoat. The long hair of the overcoat gives the Belted Galloway its shaggy appearance. This double coat provides the animal a . . . — Map (db m52458) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Hermitage — The First HermitageWorlds Apart, Side by Side
These log buildings tell a remarkable American story unlike any other. From 1804 to 1821, as a two-story farmhouse and kitchen outbuilding, the First Hermitage housed future United States President Andrew Jackson and his family. Here, Jackson lived out, and became a symbol of, the American Dream—the belief that anyone can rise to great success. After Jackson moved to his new brick mansion in 1821, he reconfigured his old log farmhouse to a one-story slave cabin. Until the Civil War, . . . — Map (db m52420) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Hermitage — 3A 13 — The Hermitage
Home of Andrew Jackson (1767~1845), Major General in the Army, hero of the Battle of New Orleans, and seventh President of the United States. It was originally built in 1819; partially burned in 1834, during Jackson's second term, replaced by the present building in 1835. He died here, and is buried in the garden. — Map (db m36280) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Hermitage — The Hermitage GardenAn Ever Changing Delight
As with all living things, the Hermitage Garden cannot be wholly defined by any particular moment in time. Gardens grow and change. Few records tell us about the appearance of the garden Andrew Jackson enjoyed. Jackson hired gardener William Frost to establish the garden at the same time he began construction of the Hermitage mansion in 1819. The first garden may have extended closer to the mansion. The garden evolved over many years, and the family made many changes in the late 1840s. The . . . — Map (db m52358) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Hermitage — The Hermitage LandscapeFrontier Farm to Cotton Plantation to Shrine
At first glance, The Hermitage Landscape may seem largely untouched by time. Look more closely, however, and discover the changes brought by over 200 years of labor...living...and a changing America. White Americans and their slave first settled this property around 1798—attracted, as were generations of Indians before them, by two natural springs that still provide water today. The Indians farmed and hunted this land for thousands of years. With the coming of white settlers, a rapid . . . — Map (db m52327) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Hermitage — The Hermitage Landscape1804-1821
At a time when limited resources led to smaller dwellings, the distinctions between indoor and outdoor life blurred. When Jackson lived in the log farmhouse, this area buzzed with dawn-to dusk activity, sounds and smells. Cramped housing for white and blacks forced the outdoors for work and relaxation. Here the enslaved workers cooked and stored food, did chores, and socialized. Archaeological evidence shows that the enslaved kept the work yard between the farmhouse and kitchen swept clean of . . . — Map (db m52459) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Hermitage — The Hermitage MansionSymbol of Democracy?
Elegant as it is, The Hermitage Mansion is also a prime example that, indeed, beauty sometimes does lie “in the eye of the beholder.” Andrew Jackson's visitors got their first good look at his home as they rounded the graceful curves of its cedar-lined carriage drive. Jackson seems to have carefully staged visitors' impressions of his mansion and farm. The direct frontal view disguised the fact that the Greek revival facade does not continue around the sides of the house. For family . . . — Map (db m52333) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Hermitage — The Hunter’s Hill Farm Building
This log building was not part of Andrew Jackson’s Hermitage. In 1929, a fire destroyed one of Jackson’s original barns. To help replace it, The Ladies’ Hermitage Association purchased and moved this log building from the nearby Hunter's Hill property. Little is known about the history of this building, but construction techniques and material suggest that it was originally built between 1820 and 1850. — Map (db m52416) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Hermitage — The Jackson Family Cemetery
Andrew Jackson's strong sense of family extended beyond those he embraced during his lifetime. Reaching into the future to touch generations yet to come, he deeded a small portion of the garden in trust to serve as a family cemetery. Stones mark the graves of sixteen family members, and one family friend. This diagram shows the stones in the same order as they stand before you. — Map (db m52362) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Hermitage — The SpringhouseWater for The Hermitage
Of all the enticements Tennessee offered settlers, one promised both survival and a future: Water. Falling from above, bubbling up from below, flowing in broad river “highways”: Water. Two natural free-flowing springs made The Hermitage a fine site for a farm, even without a coveted riverside location. This “Gravelly Spring” provided abundant water for the Jacksons' simple log farmhouse and, later, the brick mansion. Jackson had the limestone springhouse built to . . . — Map (db m52414) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Hermitage — The TriplexReclaiming the Past
Rarely do facts alone uncover the past. Scholarship, judgment, and analysis all have roles in interpreting evidence, and hints, of long-ago lives. So it is with these stones marking the location of a building that Hermitage archaeologists have named the Triplex. Likely built in the1820s or 1830s during construction of the mansion, its limestone foundation and brick walls echo those of Jackson’s home. Along with its location and division of space, uncovered artifacts suggest that the Triplex was . . . — Map (db m52410) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Hermitage — The War Road
In 1915, The Ladies' Hermitage Association planted this double line of trees to serve as the border for a new entryway intended for visitors arriving by automobile. Each tree came from a battlefield where Andrew Jackson fought, such as the Plain of Chalmette near New Orleans and Horseshoe Bend and Talladega in Alabama. For this reason, the LHA originally named the drive the “War Path” but over the years it has become known as the “War Road.” The tree species include, . . . — Map (db m52328) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Hermitage — The Work YardThe World Behind the Mansion
The stately trees and park-like grounds of today’s Hermitage bear scant resemblance to the working plantation of Andrew Jackson’s time. As the farm developed, trees were cleared to make room for fields and pastures. By the time the first photographs of The Hermitage were taken after the Civil War, few trees remained on the landscape. In Andrew Jackson’s day, the yard behind the mansion hummed with activity and contained a mismatched assortment of log, frame, and brick buildings. These . . . — Map (db m52408) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Nashville — 3A 122 — Academic Building At Fisk University
The Academic Building at Fisk University was designed by Nashville architect Moses McKissack and was made possible by a gift from philanthropist Andrew Carnegie. On May 22, 1908, William H. Taft, later 27th President of the United States, laid the cornerstone. This building served as the first library at Fisk. — Map (db m4511) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Nashville — 64 — Adolphus Heiman1809 - 1862
Born Potsdam, Prussia. Came to Nashville 1838. Lived in home on this site. Architect, Engineer & Builder; Designed Univ. of Nash. Main Bldg., Central State Hosp. Main Bldg., Suspension Bridge over Cumberland River. Masonic Leader; Adj. U.S. Army Mexican War; Col. 10th Tenn. Inf. Reg. C.S.A. Civil War. Buried in Confederate Circle, Mount Olivet Cemetery. — Map (db m4512) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Nashville — 122 — Albertine Maxwell
Regarded as the symbol of dance in her adopted hometown of Nashville, Ellen Albertine Chaiser Maxwell (1902-96) operated the Albertine School of the Dance (1936-80). She had danced with Chicago Opera, Adolf Baum Dance Co., and Ruth St. Denis Dance Co. Founder and director of the Les Ballets Intimes with Nashville Ballet Society (1945-80), Maxwell was also a founding member of the Southeastern Regional Ballet Assn. (1955). Her studio in her home, 3325 West End, no longer stands. — Map (db m24195) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Nashville — 3A 108 — Anne Dallas Dudley
1876-1955 Anne Dudley played a significant role in the ratification of the Nineteenth Amendment by the State of Tennessee. A native of Nashville, she served as president of the Nashville Equal Suffrage League, 1911-15; president of the Tennessee Equal Suffrage Association, Incorporated, 1915-17; and as vice president of the National American Woman Suffrage Association, 1917. May 1, 1916, Anne Dudley walked from downtown Nashville to Centennial Park to demonstrate her support for the right of women to vote. — Map (db m4524) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Nashville — 3A 153 — Arna Wendell Bontemps1902 - 1973
At this site lived Arna W. Bontemps, one of the most prolific contributors to the Harlem or Negro Renaissance. From 1943 to 1965, Bontemps, an award-winning poet, playwright, novelist, biographer, historian, editor, and author of children's books, was head librarian of Fisk University. During his tenure, the Fisk University Library became a rich repository for the study of African-American culture and history. — Map (db m4959) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Nashville — N1 10 — Assault on Montgomery HillDec. 15, 1864
500 yards east of here, Maj. Gen. T. J. Wood led an assault by his IV Corps against the Confederate skirmish line on the hill, eventually carrying it. Attacking the main line about 600 yards south, Wood was unable to take it by direct assault, the divisions of Loring and Walthall holding fast until the XVI Corps, moving past their left, forced withdrawal. — Map (db m52302) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Nashville — 73 — Assumption Church / Cardinal Stritch
(Assumption Church side): Nashville’s second oldest Catholic church, dedicated Aug. 14, 1859, its rectory on right was added in 1874, school on left in 1879. The present altar, windows, and steeple were added later. The Germantown neighborhood grew around it; sermons were often in German until World War I. The parish has produced many nuns and priests, including Archbishop John Floersh and Cardinal Stritch. (Cardinal Stritch side): Samuel Stritch, born Aug. 17, 1887, . . . — Map (db m4517) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Nashville — N1 3 — Battle of NashvilleFederal Defenses
The hill to the west was a strong point in the system of permanent Federal defenses, started in 1862, which extended to the river on both sides of the town. Artillery was emplaced here from time to time. — Map (db m4145) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Nashville — 37 — Battle of NashvillePeach Orchard Hill
On Dec. 16, 1864, Gen. S.D. Lee's Corps, Army of Tennessee, held this right flank of Hood's defense line which ran south along the crest of this ridge. Violent artillery fire and infantry attacks by the corps of Wood and Steedman failed to dislodge the defenders who withdrew only after the collapse of the Confederate left and center in late afternoon. The Historical Commission of Metropolitan Nashville and Davidson County No. 37 Erected 1970 — Map (db m25651) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Nashville — N1 12 — Battle of NashvilleOuter Federal Defenses - Dec. 2, 1864
Here the outer Federal Defensive line, which stretched 7 mi. around the city, crossed Hillsboro Pike. It was used at the commencement of the battle on Dec. 15 by Wood's IV Corps as a line of departure for the main attack. Faint traces of the old entrenchments are visible a few yards west. — Map (db m28420) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Nashville — N1 11 — Battle of NashvilleIV Corps Jump-off Line - Dec. 15, 1864
Using the defensive salient 500 yards east, Wood's Corps, with the XVI Corps on its right, swung southwest to envelop the left of the Confederate line, 1 1/2 miles south, and pushed it back in spite of determined resistance. The XXIII Corps (Schofield) followed in support. — Map (db m28423) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Nashville — N1 4 — Battle of NashvilleDefense by Ector's Brigade — Dec. 15, 1864
In position from here northward along high ground, Ector's Brigade of French's Confederate Division commanded by Col. Daniel Coleman, outposted the left of Hood's line. Attacked by the Federal XVI Corps, supported by artillery and part of the Cavalry Corps, it was overwhelmed. It withdrew southeast to Hillsboro Pike. — Map (db m52597) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Nashville — N1 17 — Battle of NashvilleLee's Position — Dec. 15, 1864
Here, Stephen D. Lee's Corps, Army of Tennessee, bestrode the highway and railroad. Cheatham's Corps held the right of the line, which ran northeast about 2 miles to Rain's Hill. After the Confederate left was broken in the afternoon's fighting, Lee's Corps fell back to high ground about 1 1/2 miles south. — Map (db m52849) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Nashville — N1 15 — Battle of NashvilleConfederate Defenses — Dec. 15, 1864
Stewart's Corps, Army of Tennessee, held this part of Hood's original line, extending east about 1500 yards, and west and south about 1 mile to Hillsboro Pike. After the turning of his left, about 4:00 P.M., Stewart established a new position extending southward, to the west of Granny White Pike — Map (db m53345) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Nashville — N2 2 — Battle of NashvilleSmith's Assault — Dec. 16, 1864
The Federal XVI Corps attacked southward along this road. After violent artillery bombardment, McArthur's Division took the hill to the west about 4:00 p.m., precipitating the rout of Hood's Army. This hill is named for Col. W. M. Shy, 20th Tenn. Inf., killed in the desperate defense which he commanded. — Map (db m53351) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Nashville — N2 1 — Battle of NashvilleConfederate Position — Dec. 16, 1864
Stewart's Corps, badly mauled during the first day, withdrew at night to a line extending eastward. Lee's Corps, forming the right wing, extended the line across Franklin Pike. Cheatham's Corps, on Stewart's left, extended the line westward, and following the hills, curved south. Chalmers' Cavalry Division covered the left flank. — Map (db m53352) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Nashville — N1 6 — Battle of NashvilleTaking of Redoubt No. 5 — Dec. 15, 1864
Hood's Redoubt No. 5 was on this hill. Couch's Division of the XXIII Corps, sweeping to the south of the route of Smith's XVI, captured it and the hills to the east late in the afternoon. Wilson's cavalry, crossing the highway about 2 miles south, advanced rapidly eastward, flanking the Confederate defenses. — Map (db m53357) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Nashville — N1 8 — Battle of NashvilleConfederate Outpost — Dec. 15, 1864
100 yards west was Redoubt No. 3 in the Confederate system of detached works beyond the main line. It was overrun by the enveloping attack of Wood's IV Corps from the northwest. — Map (db m53360) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Nashville — 5 — Battle of NashvilleShy's Hill
On this hill was fought the decisive encounter of the Battle of Nashville December 16, 1864. At 4:15 P.M. a Federal assault at the angle on top of the hill broke the Confederate line. Col. W. M. Shy 20th Tenn. Inf. was killed and Gen. T. B. Smith was captured. The Confederates retreated over the Overton Hills to the Franklin Pike — Map (db m53393) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Nashville — 134 — Battle of Nashville(December 16, 1864) — Confederate Final Stand
After the withdrawal from the main Confederate line at Peach Orchard Hill, Lt. Gen. Stephen D. Lee formed a battle line across Franklin Pike 400 yards east of here with 200 men from the remnants of Brig. Gen. Henry Clayton's division and two cannons from the Eufaula Light Artillery. This last line of defense halted the Federal pursuit for the night as the Confederate army retreated through the hills to the southwest. — Map (db m53394) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Nashville — N2 4 — Battle of NashvilleConfederate Defenses - Dec. 16, 1864
Lee's Corps held the right flank of the line in the final stages of the battle, linking with Stewart to the west. Here is extended east, then south around Peach Orchard Hill. Violent attacks by Steedman's brigades were repulsed bloodily: Lee did not withdraw until the left and center of the Confederate line had collapsed. — Map (db m54044) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Nashville — 126 — Battle of Nashville(December 16, 1864) — Assault on the Barricade
During the retreat from Nashville, Colonel Edmund Rucker's brigade attempted to block the Union pursuit by erecting a barricade of fence rails and logs across Granny White Pike, 1/2 mile south of this spot. During the ensuing night attack by Union cavalry, fierce hand-to-hand fighting took place until the position finally was overrun around midnight, with Rucker wounded and then captured. — Map (db m60230) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Nashville — 89 — Battle of Nashville Confederate Line
Trenches about 20 ft. N of this point, held by Loring's Division, were the center of the confederate main line before the Battle of Nashville. On Dec. 15, 1864, Redoubt No. 1, a key artillery salient 200 yds. NW, fired on Federal forces until overrun by General Wood's troops late in the day, when Confederates retreated toward Granny White Pike. — Map (db m52850) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Nashville — Battle of Nashville Monument
Battle of Nashville 1864 Oh, valorous gray, in the grave of your fate, Oh, glorious blue, in the long dead years, You were sown in sorrow and harrowed in hate, But your harvest is a Nation's tears, For the message you left through the land has sped, From the lips of God to the heart of man: Let the past be past, let the dead be dead,- Now and forever, American — Map (db m76476) WM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Nashville — Battle of the Bluffs
Raged around this point April 2, 1781 between Cherokee Indians and settlers. Loosed by Mrs. James Robertson, dogs from the Fort attacked the Indians allowing settlers to escape to the Fort. Many were killed including Captian James Leiper. — Map (db m72268) HM WM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Nashville — Belle Meade Farm Freedom
In 1865 one hundred thirty six (136) enslaved men, women, and children at Belle Meade Farm gained their freedom. With this freedom they gained the right to choose where they would live and work. Seventy-two (72) farm workers continued under the employ of General Will Giles Harding, with 4 families continuing to live on the grounds and many others commuting to work each day from various neighborhoods around Nashville. (Inscription under the photo in the lower left) The living . . . — Map (db m68986) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Nashville — Belle Meade PlantationThe Battle of Nashville — Hood's Campaign
(overview) In September 1864, after Union Gen. William T. Sherman defeated Confederate Gen. John Bell Hood at Atlanta, Hood led the Army of Tennessee northwest against Sherman’s supply lines. Rather than contest Sherman’s “March to the Sea,” Hood moved north into Tennessee. Gen. John M. Schofield, detached from Sherman’s army, delayed Hood at Columbia and Spring Hill before falling back to Franklin. The bloodbath there on November 30 crippled the Confederates, but they . . . — Map (db m68971) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Nashville — Belle Meade PlantationChange of Ownership
Confederate Gen. William Hicks “Billy” Jackson (1835–1903), who acquired Belle Meade Plantation after the war, served with distinction throughout the Western Theater of the Civil War. He was an excellent horseman, a skill that served him well during the war and afterward. He graduated from West Point in 1856 and was sent to fight in the Indian wars in New Mexico territory. In May 1861, he resigned his commission and enrolled as a Confederate artillery captain. In November . . . — Map (db m68973) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Nashville — 16 — Belmont Mansion
This mansion was built in 1853 as a summer home for Joseph and Adelicia Acklen. An 1860 addition by architect Adolphus Heiman expanded the mansion's size to 36 rooms. The entrance to the 177 acre estate, which featured gardens decorated with marble statues and cast iron gazebos, was on Hillsboro Pike. Also on the grounds were greenhouses, a water tower, bowling alley, zoo, art gallery and deer park. — Map (db m52143) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Nashville — 142 — Belmont-Hillsboro Neighborhood
When Adelicia Acklen's estate was sold in 1890, the Belmont Mansion and its ground became Belmont College. Other portions, and parts of the neighboring Sunnyside Mansion property, were subdivided into residential lots by the Belmont Land Co. In 1900-1910, streetcar lines were built running to Cedar Lane on Belmont Boulevard and to Blair Boulevard on 21st Ave. The neighborhood became a National Register Historic District in 1980. — Map (db m52304) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Nashville — 3A 209 — Birth of Bluegrass
In December 1945, Grand Ole Opry star Bill Monroe and his mandolin brought to the Ryman Auditorium stage a band that created a new American musical form. With the banjo style of Earl Scruggs and the guitar of Lester Flatt, the new musical genre became known at "Bluegrass." Augmented by the fiddle of Chubby Wise and the bass of Howard Watts (also known as Cedric Rainwater), this ensemble became known as "The Original Bluegrass Band," which became the prototype for groups that followed. — Map (db m24069) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Nashville — 144 — BMIBroadcast Music, Inc.
BMI (Broadcast Music, Inc.), an organization that collects performance royalties for songwriters and music publishers in all genres of music, opened its doors in New York in 1940. BMI was the first performance rights organization to represent what was then commonly referred to as rural and race music in the forms of country, gospel, blues, and jazz. In 1958, BMI established a permanent Nashville office and hired Frances William Preston as manager. BMI constructed the first wing of this building . . . — Map (db m60229) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Nashville — 140 — Bradley Studios
In 1955, brothers Owen and Harold Bradley built a recording studio in the basement of a house on this site. They added another studio here in an army Quonset Hut, producing hits by Patsy Cline, Red Foley, Brenda Lee, Marty Robbins, Sonny James, and others. Columbia Records purchased the studios in 1962. The studio established its reputation in the music industry with hits by stars including Johnny Cash, Bob Dylan, Roger Miller, George Jones, and Tammy Wynette. — Map (db m59523) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Nashville — 3A 136 — Carl Van Vechten Art Gallery
This building, completed in 1889, was the first gymnasium built at any predominantly black college in the United States. In 1949, it was rededicated as an art gallery and named in honor of Carl Van Vechten, a New York music critic, author, photographer, and art collector who encouraged Georgia O'Keefe to donate to Fisk University part of the art collection of her late husband, Alfred Stieglitz. — Map (db m4507) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Nashville — Christ Church Cathedral/Old Christ Church (1831~1890)
Front Organized in 1829, Christ Church was Nashville's first Episcopal parish. The present Victorian Gothic church designed by Francis Hatch Kimball of New York, opened for service on Dec. 16, 1894; the tower , by local architect Russell E. Hart was added in 1947. Designate the Cathedral for the Diocese of Tennessee at the 1995 Diocesan Convention. Reverse (Image of Church) Sixth Avenue N. & Church Street Hugh Roland, Architect — Map (db m28793) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Nashville — 3A 197 — Citizens Savings Bank and Trust Company
(Obverse) Citizens Savings Bank and Trust Company is the oldest, continuously operated African-American bank in the United States. Formerly known as the One-cent Savings Bank and Trust Company and organized for the uplift of African Americans, it opened on January 16, 1904. African-American Nashville leaders Richard H. Boyd (president), James C. Napier (cashier-manager), and Preston Taylor(chairman) were among the bank's principal founders and officers. (Reverse) Other . . . — Map (db m4222) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Nashville — 3A 35 — City Cemetery
First established in 1822, the remains of many early settlers were then brought here for permanent burial. Among the more than 20,000 persons buried here are Gen. James Robertson, Gov. William Carroll, Sec. of Treasury George W. Campbell, Lt. Gen. Richard S Ewell, Brig. Gen. Felix K Zollicoffer and Capt. William Driver. — Map (db m74357) HM WM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Nashville — 3A-36 — Cockrill Spring
The house of John Cockrill, an early settler, stood about 60 yards north, near a large spring, whose waters ran northeast into Lick Branch, which emptied Great Salt Lick, around which Nashville was founded. A blacksmith shop stood under the great oak tree nearby. The spring was a stopping place for travelers along Natchez Trace. — Map (db m12765) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Nashville — Colonel James Robertson
In honor of Colonel James Robertson Born 1742 in Virginia Died 1814 in Tennessee He came from eastern North Carolina to the Watauga Settlement in what is now eastern Tennessee 1769-1770, where he was a leader in Civil and Indian Affairs. Conducted the "Land Party" of settlers to the French Lick in 1779-1780, built this fort Nashborough and defended it in all the various Indian attacks. Remained with the colony when many had forsaken it during a period of great stress, suffering . . . — Map (db m24240) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Nashville — Colonel John Donelson
In appreciation of the services of Colonel John Donelson Born in Delaware, 1718. Died in Kentucky 1786. Distinguished in early life in Virginia as a civil, industrial and military leader. Member of the House of Burgesses, iron manufacturer, Lieutenant Colonel of Pittsylvania County and devoted vestryman of Camden Parish. Noted surveyor of state boundaries, maker of treaties with the Indians, and revolutionary patriot. Emigrated west in 1779-1780. A leader and "Diarist" of . . . — Map (db m59376) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Nashville — Colonel Richard HendersonFounder and Promoter of the noted "Transylvania Land Company"
In recognition of Colonel Richard Henderson Born in Virginia 1735 Died in North Carolina 1785 ————— Founder and Promoter of the noted "Transylvania Land Company" Whose purchase from the Cherokee Indians covered the territory from the waters of Kentucky River to that of Cumberland. His first settlement was made at Boonesborough, which failed in loss of title by action of Virginia. His second attempt at settlement was made in 1779-1780, . . . — Map (db m24373) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Nashville — 3A 144 — Confederate Circle at Mount Olivet
After the War Between the States, the women of Nashville bought land at Mount Olivet, and formed Confederate Circle. The remains of about 1,500 Confederate soldiers were moved here from area battlefields. Seven Confederate generals were buried in or around the circle. They are William B. Bate, William N.R. Bealle, Benjamin Franklin Cheatham, William H. Jackson, George E. Maney, James E. Rains, and Thomas Benton Smith. Other prominent Nashville Confederates, Colonels Adolphus Heiman and Randall . . . — Map (db m76477) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Nashville — N1 14 — Confederate DefensesDec. 15, 1864
After being outflanked by the advance of the Federal XVI Corps (Smith), Loring and Walthall put their divisions in a defensive line west of this road, facing westward. Here, their determined defense brought Federal advances against the Confederate left to a close for the day. — Map (db m53348) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Nashville — 3A 154 — Cravath Hall
This neo-Gothic structure first served as the Erastus M. Cravath Memorial Library. Named for Cravath, the university's first president (1875-1900), it was designed by Nashville architect Henry Hibbs and built in 1929-30. The interior walls depict several murals by Aaron Douglas, the leading Harlem or Negro Renaissance painter and founder of the Fisk Art Department. — Map (db m4502) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Nashville — 3A 138 — DeFord Bailey1899-1982
Bailey, a pioneer of the Grand Old Opry and its first black musician, lived in the Edgehill neighborhood for nearly 60 years. His shoe-shine shop was on 12th Ave., South, near this intersection. His harmonica performance of the "Pan American Blues" inspired Judge George D. Hay to dub WSM's Barn Dance the "Grand Ole Opry." Traveling extensively with Opry musicians, he entertained audiences throughout the South and Midwest. In 1928, he recorded eight sides for RCA Victor during Nashville's first recording session. — Map (db m74369) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Nashville — 3A 32 — Demonbreum's Cave
Jaques-Timothe De Montbrun, French Canadian fur trader and later lieutenant governor of the Illinois Country, visited in this area as early as 1769. On at least one occasion he took refuge in the cave 0.9 mile N. when attacked by Indians. He settled in Nashville in 1790, living there until his death in 1826. — Map (db m24221) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Nashville — 3A 157 — Desegregating Nashville's Lunch Counters
After the pre-dawn bombing of atty. Z. Alexander Looby's home, approx. 3000 civil rights leaders and students from Tenn. St., Fisk, Meharry, American Baptist College, and Pearl High School marched along this route on April 19, 1960, to meet with Mayor Ben West at the courthouse. In response to Diane Nash, a leader of the student sit-ins, the mayor recommended that store owners end segregated lunch counters. On May 10th, under an agreement between black leaders and city merchants, Nashville . . . — Map (db m4226) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Nashville — 71 — Disciples of Christ Historical Society
Library and archives of the 19th c. American religious unity movement which became: the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ); Christian Churches; and Churches of Christ. Located here, 1958, in the Thomas W. Phillips Memorial. Architects: Hoffman & Crumpton; Hart, Freeland & Roberts. Sculptor: Puryear Mims. Stained glass artist: Gus Baker. — Map (db m52367) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Nashville — 3A 181 — Donley Harold Turpin, D. D. S.
1892-1948 Turpin, a 1918 alumnus, was appointed Professor in 1937 and acting dean of the Dental School in 1938. Attesting to his profound devotion to Meharry's School of Dentistry, which was founded in 1886, Turpin gave his personal finances to keep the school open during the Great Depression of the 1930s. In 1942, he resigned as acting dean. Two years later, he was elected president of the National Dental Association. Turpin died on Good Friday in 1948. To commemorate his life, the Meharry . . . — Map (db m4225) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Nashville — 3A 78 — Downtown Presbyterian Church
From 1814 to 1955 this was the site of the First Presbyterian Church. President Andrew Jackson was received into the church in 1838. James K. Polk was inaugurated governor here in 1839. The building designed in the Egyptian style by William Strickland, architect of the State Capitol, was dedicated in 1851. When the First Church moved, the Downtown Church was organized. — Map (db m24071) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Nashville — 3A 173 — Dr. Harold Dadford West, Sr.
1904-1974 In 1927, Dr. West came to Meharry Medical College as Associate Professor of Chemistry. A 1930 Julius Rosenwald Fellowship Recipient and a 1935 Fellow of the General Education Board, he returned to Meharry to serve as the first Ph. D on faculty as Professor and Chairman of the Biochemistry Department. In 1952, Dr. West was elected Meharry's first Black American President. At that time, more than 50 percent of the Black American physicians and dentists practicing in the U.S. were . . . — Map (db m4519) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Nashville — 132 — Dry-Stack Stone Walls
Dry-stack stone walls, a Scots-Irish building tradition adapted by slaves in the early 19th century, were common throughout middle Tennessee. During the 1864 Battle of Nashville, Brigadier General Henry Jackson was captured at this wall on the Middle Franklin turnpike after the Confederate line collapsed at Shy's Hill. — Map (db m53354) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Nashville — 105 — Duncan College Preparatory School for Boys
Marvin T. Duncan, a graduate of Webb School (Bell Buckle) and Vanderbilt University, founded Duncan School in 1908 at this site on 25th Avenue S. He and his wife, Pauline, taught at the school until it closed in 1952. The Duncans dedicated their lives to training boys in high principles of honor and scholarship. The school graduated some 752 men and 6 women, including many community leaders. — Map (db m52171) HM
Tennessee (Davidson County), Nashville — 128 — Dutchman's Curve Train Wreck
The deadliest train wreck in US history occurred on July 9, 1918, when two crowded trains collided head-on at Dutchman's Curve. The impact caused passenger cars to derail into surrounding cornfields, and fires broke out throughout the wreckage. Over 100 died, including many African-American workers journeying to work at the munitions plant near Old Hickory. — Map (db m52596) HM
250 markers matched your search criteria.
Click to map all markers shown on this page.
Click First to browse through the results shown on this page.   First >> 


•••
More Search Options
 
Markers
Near You

 
Categories

 
States & Provinces

 
Counties
Click to List


 
Countries

Page composed
in 250 ms.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
To search within this page, hold down the Ctrl key and press F.
On an Apple computer,
hold down the Apple key and press F.