|Texas (Anderson County), Elkhart — 8799 — Pilgrim Predestinarian Regular Baptist Church|
|Organized in Illinois in 1833
by Daniel Parker
Members moved to Texas
First meeting in
Stephen F. Austin's Colony
January 20, 1834
Log church built December, 1839
Old graveyard adjoins.
Present church fourth on the same site
Continuous worship since 1834
Daniel Parker, Pastor 1833 - 1844 — Map (db m36924) HM|
|Texas (Anderson County), Palestine — John H. Reagan|
|(Front):John H. Reagan (Right):"The Old Roman's highest ambition was to do his full duty; consciousness of having done it was his ample reward." (Left):"A good name is rather to be chosen than great riches, and loving favor rather than silver or gold." (Bronze Plaque on Back): Probate Judge Henderson County Texas 1846, 1847 Representative Texas Legislature 1847, 1848 District Judge in Texas 1852, 1857 Representative from Texas U.S. Congress 1857, 1861 . . . — Map (db m17496) HM|
|Texas (Anderson County), Palestine — Palestine Salt Works C.S.A.|
|(Front and southwest side): Located 6.5 miles southwest during the Civil War this salt works was assigned to produce salt for the Confederacy at a fixed price of eight dollars for a hundred-pound sack. Private customers from East Texas, Arkansas, and Louisiana often paid twenty dollars for a sack. Producing salt was slow, tedious work. Salt water was taken from wells spread over a distance of three-fourths of a mile. A pump operated by a slave was placed in each well. Gum logs hollowed . . . — Map (db m31881) HM|
|Texas (Andrews County), Andrews — 167 — Andrews County|
|Created August 21, 1876
Organized May 11, 1910
killed at the Battle of
Concepcion, October 28, 1835
the first man to fall
in the Texas Revolution
County seat, Andrews — Map (db m61419) HM|
|Texas (Andrews County), Andrews — 168 — Andrews County Discovery Well — (½ mi. S, & ½ mi. W.)|
|C.E. Ogden No. 1, producing 200 barrels a day from San Andres lime formation was brought in, Dec. 1929, by Deep Rock Oil Co.--The Andrews County discovery well and first of 730 wells in Fuhrman-Masco oil field.
Bought, Feb. 1932, by Tripplehorn brothers, of Fort Worth. Has now pumped for more than 35 years.
Since 1956, Andrews has been top producing county in Texas and U.S. Fuhrman-Masco field has produced 55 million barrels of oil--its contribution to total of more than a billion barrels for Andrews County in May, 1965. — Map (db m61380) HM|
|Texas (Andrews County), Andrews — 407 — Billionth Barrel|
|On May 25, 1965, from one of 7,400 producing oil wells in the county's 196 fields, came the Billionth Barrel of Andrews County crude oil.
In the 35 years and 5 months since oil flowed from the county's discovery well, C.E. Ogden No. 1, in Dec. 1929, Andrews has attained a new place in history.
In 1929, the county had about 400 people. Its wealth, mostly in land and livestock, amounted to $8,109,399. Five persons in the county filed income tax returns. There were fewer than 100 . . . — Map (db m61377) HM|
|Texas (Andrews County), Andrews — 1257 — Dorsie M. Pinnell — (June 25, 1875-July 23, 1939)|
|Descendant of a Virginian who fought in the American Revolution. Came to Texas at 17 for health. Served (1898-1899) in Spanish-American War, Co. K, 1st Texas Inf. Vol. Regt. Later took up ranching in Andrews County. Married Jessie Whitten; had 4 sons.
Recorded - 1968 — Map (db m61373) HM|
|Texas (Andrews County), Andrews — 1350 — Early Settlers — of Andrews County|
|One of last frontiers of Texas. Anglo settlement here lagged 60 years behind rest of state due to Indians and scarcity of water.
In 1886 O.B. Holt became first man to file for county land. First settlers included the Cowden brothers and Peter Von Holebeke.
In 1900 county had 87 people; it was finally organized in 1910. With windmill pumps and drift fences, ranching became feasible, although soil was so dry that a grazing cow crashed through a dugout roof into a bed one day.
In . . . — Map (db m61375) HM|
|Texas (Andrews County), Andrews — 1923 — Florey Park|
|Named for old town of Florey, established as a post office 7 miles to the northeast in 1909, prior to the organization of Andrews County, June 1910.
In heart of the Means Oil Field, opened 1930, this park is at site of a 1934-1958 camp of Humble Oil and Refining Company. In the 24 years of the camp's history, its many residents developed an oasis here. The recreation area, with its lush grass and tall trees, attracted visitors from all parts of the county.
On September 22, 1958, . . . — Map (db m61421) HM|
|Texas (Andrews County), Andrews — 2051 — Frankel City|
|In 1941 the Fullerton Oil Company of California struck oil near this site, and by 1945 more than 100 drilling rigs were in operation. The discovery brought great numbers of workers into the area, resulting in the establishment of the town of Fullerton.
Located approximately one mile north, Fullerton provided newcomers with two churches, two cafes, two filling stations, a grocery store, delicatessen, beauty shop, and Andrews telephone exchange. Buses transported children to and from school . . . — Map (db m61418) HM|
|Texas (Andrews County), Andrews — 3311 — Means Methodist Church — (First church in Andrews County)|
|Organized in 1907 by circuit preacher F.T . Pollard and seven charter members. The group held services in local school until 1912, when a one-room church was built, financed by donations of members, including a generous gift from rancher J.S. Means. All denominations were allowed to worship in this early structure.
In 1944 the church (located 2 blocks W., 4 blocks S. of here, on Main St.) burned and members once again met in the school.
Present building was finished in 1946; . . . — Map (db m61379) HM|
|Texas (Andrews County), Andrews — 166 — Original Townsite of Andrews|
|Founded when Andrews County was organized, in 1910, on land owned by Robert Madison Means (b. 1878). With his father, J.S. Means, "Bob" Means began homesteading here in 1899 and organized an abstract company in 1909. When Andrews battled Shafter City to acquire county seat, Means donated lots to local cowboys so they could vote; helped win election. Married Atwood Wilder, 1910; was county clerk, 1918-1922; civic leader throughout life.
Town has grown through many gifts of real estate and . . . — Map (db m61374) HM|
|Texas (Andrews County), Andrews — 4653 — Shafter Lake Townsite|
|First town in yet-unorganized Andrews County. Platted 1908.
Named for lake charted in 1875 survey of Col. Wm. R. Shafter, whose maps and victories over powerful Indians opened the Permian Basin to settlement.
Water trough built by John Underwood of Shafter Lake Sand and Gravel is on site then set aside for a courthouse. It was stopping place for ranchers and freighters on way from Jal and Monument, N. Mex., into Texas. Town started to grow around trough. But when vote in 1910 county . . . — Map (db m61420) HM|
|Texas (Andrews County), Andrews — 4654 — Shafter's Trail|
|In 1875, Col. Wm. R. Shafter and a company of soldiers traveled from Fort Concho (where San Angelo is today) to Monument Springs, N. Mex., charting the arid plains, mapping all the vital watering places.
This marker is in the only town of today through which Shafter's Trail passes. Here Col. Shafter, defending his party, chased Indians who ran 12 miles to the northwest. Thus he found the salt lake known ever after by his name. His expedition's maps of this formerly unknown land opened the Permian Basin to settlement. — Map (db m61376) HM|
|Texas (Andrews County), Andrews — Two Billionth Barrel|
|Andrews County produced it’s 2nd billionth barrel of crude oil August 21, 1981. Sixteen years and 96 days after its first billionth barrel came from beneath the county’s 1500 square miles.
In producing two billion barrels in 52 years, Andrews became the third county in Texas history to do so. Ector and Gregg counties had entered the record book earlier.
In an energy-starved nation, revitalized multi-pay production zones in Andrews underwent secondary recovery and a few were on the . . . — Map (db m61378) HM|
|Texas (Angelina County), Burke — 6983 — Burke Methodist Church|
|Founded in 1889 by a small group of Methodists, this church has played an integral role in the history of the community. H. and Nannie Belote donated land to the congregation in 1894, and the first church building was completed in 1901. It was moved to another section of church property in 1920 and was remodeled in 1940 to serve the needs of the growing membership. A new brick sanctuary and educational building were completed in 1957. Burke Methodist Church has served the community with a variety of worship, educational, and outreach programs. — Map (db m30331) HM|
|Texas (Angelina County), Burke — 11655 — Burke School|
|The community of Burke was established along the Houston, East and West Texas Railroad in 1882. S.J. and Nancy Arrington conveyed one acre of land adjoining the town on which to establish a public school. The first building, a one-room structure, was enlarged to three rooms within a few years. The 1887 enrollment was about fifty students. Voters approved a bond in 1910 to erect a brick schoolhouse for grades 1 through 7. For many years, Burke was an independent district. The brick edifice was . . . — Map (db m37848) HM|
|Texas (Angelina County), Burke — 6995 — Fairview School|
|The Angelina County School Board created Fairview Common School District Number 69 in the late 1800s. A one-room schoolhouse was built that served students from a wide rural area. The first school term, in 1898, was five months long.
Fairview School students met at Fairview Baptist Church from about 1905 until 1913, when the county school board reorganized the common school districts. In 1915 land was purchased for a school site. A two-room schoolhouse was constructed in 1917 and enlarged . . . — Map (db m79121) HM|
|Texas (Angelina County), Central — 12780 — Central Consolidated School|
|This school traces its origin to five small schools in the Pollok-Central area; Union, Durant, Pollok, Clawson, and Allentown. An effort to solve the problem of inadequate funding for each of these rural schools led to their consolidation in 1929 as the Central Consolidated Common School District.
A new brick building at this site greeted approximately 200 students in grades one through eleven when it opened in September 1929. With J.W. Dunn presiding as superintendent, Central Consolidated . . . — Map (db m29237) HM|
|Texas (Angelina County), Central — 14796 — Gann Memorial Cemetery|
|This burial ground, which contains over 3,000 graves, has served area residents since the mid-1800s. In 1860, Nathan W. Gann, who came to Texas with his family in 1836, donated this property and a church building he constructed to Williams Chapel Methodist Church. The first known burial on this land was of Jacob J. Gann in 1861. In 1893, the church disbanded and this property reverted to Nathan Gann, who then deeded it to the Missionary Baptist Church, which is now known as O'Quinn Baptist . . . — Map (db m28290) HM|
|Texas (Angelina County), Diboll — 6989 — Diboll|
|A sawmill established here in 1894 by T.L.L. Temple gave rise to a town that by 1900 contained a commissary, post office, churches, homes, and schools run by the Southern Pine Lumber Company. The town was named for the Diboll family of New Orleans from whom Temple initially purchased timber rights. Diboll remained a company town until Southern Pine Lumber Company began promoting private ownership of homes and businesses in the 1950s. Diboll was incorporated in 1962 and today boasts a . . . — Map (db m30360) HM|
|Texas (Angelina County), Diboll — 6993 — Emporia|
|Emporia Lumber Company co-owner S.F. Carter and M.T. Jones purchased over 5,000 acres of land in south Angelina County and established a company town named Emporia in 1893. The town included sawmill facilities, a railroad spur to ship lumber, logging camps, company houses, schools, churches, stores, and a cemetery. In 1906 the sawmill burned and was not rebuilt. Although the company ceased operations, people continued to live in Emporia. Eventually the town was absorbed within the city of Diboll. — Map (db m37824) HM|
|Texas (Angelina County), Diboll — 6998 — First Methodist Church of Diboll|
|This congregation was founded about 1897, soon after Diboll was established as a sawmill town. Early worship services were held in a local schoolhouse and in a two-story structure shared with the local Baptist congregation and fraternal organizations. Church leaders acquired this site by lease in 1914 and built their first sanctuary that year. The land was deeded to the congregation in 1922, and additional facilities were later built to accommodate the growing membership. The church still . . . — Map (db m38057) HM|
|Texas (Angelina County), Diboll — 8715 — Old Diboll Library|
|Built about 1908 by T.L.L. Temple for his Southern Pine Lumber Company employees, this building served for many years as a community library and recreation hall. While the lower floor included a reading room and recreational facilities, the upper floor contained living quarters used at various times by the Temple family, single male employees, and schoolteachers. The building was used as a Red Cross sewing room during World War I and as a food distribution point for needy families during the . . . — Map (db m38050) HM|
|Texas (Angelina County), Diboll — 8718 — Prairie Grove|
|The community of Prairie Grove began in 1845 and became a place for early settlers to gather. A cemetery began in 1849 when the young daughter of John M. and Caroline Stovall died. In the 1880s a school/church building was erected near the cemetery, and became the heart of the community. The church became the Prairie Grove Missionary Baptist Church in 1921, and a new schoolhouse was built that served the area until 1948 when the school was disbanded. The church and cemetery continue to serve the area after more than a century — Map (db m79123) HM|
|Texas (Angelina County), Diboll — 8720 — Ryan Chapel|
|Founded 1866, after new settler, Rev. Issac Ryan, had Methodist revival in home before occupying it. His brother John was one of 19 charter members. L.H.D. and Sallie Guinn gave 7.5 acres for church and cemetery. First 16 by 20-ft. church had puncheon seats and floor. First pastor, Rev. Henry Wright, was paid in bacon, corn,syrup. — Map (db m37821) HM|
|Texas (Angelina County), Diboll — 8726 — Thomas Lewis Latane Temple — (1859-1935)|
|Virginia native Thomas Lewis Latane Temple, son of Henry W.L. and Susan (Jones) Temple, moved to Texarkana, Texas, in 1877. He married Georgie D. Fowlkes in 1880. In 1893 Temple organized the Southern Pine Lumber Company in Texarkana and began timber operations on lands he purchased here in Angelina County. Temple founded the town of Diboll in 1894 at the site of the company’s main sawmill. His legacy of conservation and reforestation practices, and philanthropy towards the Diboll community and . . . — Map (db m30374) HM|
|Texas (Angelina County), Huntington — 11713 — Huntington|
|Settlers attempted to form a townsite in this area in the 1890s, but it was not until the arrival of the railroad lines that it attracted a thriving population. Carved from virgin forests in the heyday of the southern pine timber industry and established in 1900, Huntington was named for Collis P. Huntington, chairman of the board of the Southern Pacific Railroad. E.A. Blount and W.J. Townsend, Sr., established a townsite and sold lots at a public auction in June 1900. A post office opened in . . . — Map (db m34882) HM|
|Texas (Angelina County), Huntington — 7003 — Joseph Herrington|
|When Angelina County was organized in 1845, Alabama native Joseph Herrington (1823-89) was one of six men appointed by the legislature who set boundary lines and selected Marion as the first seat of government. That same year, at the age of 22, he was elected the county's first chief justice (county judge). His accomplishments during five terms in the office, including improved trade routes and the establishment of county school districts, were vital to the area's growth. An active Mason, he was buried here in the Herrington Family Cemetery. — Map (db m32054) HM|
|Texas (Angelina County), Huntington — 7008 — Site of the Town of Jonesville|
Site of the town of
Second county seat of
August 22, 1854 ••• May 19,1858 — Map (db m37243) HM|
|Texas (Angelina County), Lufkin — Angelina|
|In 1690, when Spain's Franciscan Fathers founded Mission San Francisco de los Tejas in East Texas, they found a young Indian girl living with her people beside a stream. The priests found her a willing ally for carrying the Catholic Faith to the Indians and named her "Angelina (the Little Angel)," and the stream "the Angelina River."
Angelina accompanied the priests to Mexico for further studies, but eventually returned to East Texas to keep Christianity alive among the Indians. She also . . . — Map (db m27249) HM|
|Texas (Angelina County), Lufkin — 12377 — Angelina & Neches River Railroad|
|Chartered in August 1900 and headquartered in the sawmill town of Keltys, the Angelina and Neches River (A&NR) Railroad began as a small short line railroad to move logs from the woods of East Texas to the mills of the Angelina County Lumber Company. Principal founding fathers Joseph H. Kurth, Sr.; S.W. Henderson, Sr.; Eli Wiener and Sam Wiener, all officers in the Angelina County Lumber Company, joined the growing trend of lumber company industrialists who branched out into the railroad . . . — Map (db m29735) HM|
|Texas (Angelina County), Lufkin — 6981 — Angelina County|
|Created and organized in 1846. Originally a part of Nacogdoches County. Bears the name of the river traversing the region. The following towns have served as the county seat; Marion,1846-1854; Jonesville,1854-1858; Homer, Feb. 3 - May 17, 1858, when its name was changed to Angelina, 1858 - 1890; Lufkin 1890. — Map (db m29862) HM|
|Texas (Angelina County), Lufkin — 14367 — Berry Cemetery|
|In 1850, Samuel and Elizabeth Berry brought their family and slaves here from Limestone Co., Alabama. Samuel's plantation covered hundreds of acres and included a cotton gin and gristmill. Berry Cemetery began in 1863 when Samuel's grandson and namesake died. He and his twin sister Elizabeth, who died in 1869, were buried on the crest of a hill on the Berry plantation. A low red rock wall encloses the family plot, with an adjoining section set aside for Samuel's slaves. The land later became a . . . — Map (db m36110) HM|
|Texas (Angelina County), Lufkin — 8722 — Birthplace of Allan Shivers — Governor of Texas (1949-1957)|
|Born here, in now-razed house, Oct. 5,1907, to Robert and Easter C. Shivers, pioneer East Texas family. As youth, worked at odd jobs to earn own pocket money. Was State Senator 12 years; Lieutenant Governor for two. A strong, progressive Governor, his term (longest in state history) was marked by reforms in state hospitals and special schools, prison and highway improvement, protection of natural resources and historic sites, and creation of agencies on alcoholism and for higher education.
. . . — Map (db m58855) HM|
|Texas (Angelina County), Lufkin — 6984 — Calder (Cotton) Square|
|City's hub, 1882-early 1900s, teeming with cotton buying, horse trades, band concerts, political rallies, switching railroad trains. Site of fire station, standpipe, 1933 memorial library named for lumberman J.HG. Kurth (1857-1930), square was renamed 1961 for Kurth family friend, Louis Calder (1879-1963) of New York. — Map (db m29199) HM|
|Texas (Angelina County), Lufkin — Charles "Charlie" Wilson|
| June 1, 1933 - February 10, 2010
United States Naval Officer and
12-Term United States Representative, 2nd District of Texas
A Sonnet to Charlie
Now before us in bronze, he once again stands tall:
Beloved Texan, who heard his clarion call.
Henry W. Gurley — Map (db m39781) HM|
|Texas (Angelina County), Lufkin — 8709 — City of Lufkin|
|Founded 1882. Soon became a thriving sawmill community. Named for E.P. Lufkin, chief of crew that surveyed railroad through town. Has been county seat of Angelina County since 1892. Now a regional manufacturing and commerce center. Products include paper and wood products, oilfield pumps, trailers, and foundry castings. — Map (db m28715) HM|
|Texas (Angelina County), Lufkin — 6994 — Ewing|
|The boom town of Ewing stood for two decades on the west bank of the Angelina River. Named for plantation owner James A. Ewing, the town was located near a rail line and virgin hardwood forests. In 1919 H.G. Bohissen purchased a 100-acre tract of land and built a saw-mill. A company town, Ewing grew rapidly and at its peak contained a post office, commissary, church/school, boarding house, and a population of 850. After many men left to serve in World War II or in war-related industries, the mill closed in December 1944. — Map (db m32058) HM|
|Texas (Angelina County), Lufkin — First Baptist Church of Lufkin|
|Chartered with nine members, the Lufkin Baptist Church began conducting worship services soon after rail lines reached the townsite in the early 1880s. The Houston, East & West Texas Railroad donated land at this site to Joesph Kerr, E.H.F. McMullen, and W.L. Denman, church trustees. The first sanctuary was built in 1893, during the pastorate of the Rev. W.C. Manning. A leader in mission development and in the support of Christian education, the First Baptist Church has played an important role . . . — Map (db m27247) HM|
|Texas (Angelina County), Lufkin — 6997 — First Christian Church of Lufkin|
|A Christian church was organized in Angelina County about 1884 in Homer, the county seat. When the railroad line from Houston to Shreveport was built about 5 miles from Homer, the town of Lufkin was built around the depot. Many citizens of Homer moved to Lufkin, including a majority of the church members. The Lufkin Christian Church was formerly organized by the Rev. R.E. Jackson in 1894.
Visiting ministers served the congregation for many years. Worship services were held in local halls . . . — Map (db m57551) HM|
|Texas (Angelina County), Lufkin — First United Methodist Church of Lufkin|
|Margaret (Fullerton) Abney, born in Alabama in 1829, joined the Methodist church with her family at a camp meeting held at nearby McKendree campground in 1863. Because the nearest Methodist church was ten miles away, Mrs. Abney held bible study meetings in her home on Sunday afternoons.
This group of Abney family and friends formed the nucleus of the membership of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, when it organized a Lufkin congregation in 1882. One of eight churches in the Homer . . . — Map (db m28482) HM|
|Texas (Angelina County), Lufkin — 13709 — German POWs in the East Texas Timber Industry|
|The U.S. Army began building POW camps in the United States in early 1942 for captured Axis prisoners. During World War II, the Army shipped almost 425,000 military prisoners to 511 camps in the U.S. Approximately 50,000 of those POWs, primarily Germans, were housed in 70 Texas facilities ranging from 9000-prisoner base camps to small branch camps for 250. The POWs filled American labor shortages brought on by the war's strain on available stateside man power. In Texas almost half of the camps . . . — Map (db m29450) HM|
|Texas (Angelina County), Lufkin — 7006 — Homer Cemetery|
|In 1854 W.W. Manning established a drugstore and sawmill in this area, and named the community after his former home in Homer, Louisiana. In 1856 Homer was chosen as Angelina County seat, following a mandate from the Texas Legislature to locate a permanent seat of government near the geographic center of each county.
County surveyor William G. Lang platted the town of Homer in 1857. The town included a central courthouse surrounded by 24 blocks and 132 lots. Homer Cemetery was located . . . — Map (db m31713) HM|
|Texas (Angelina County), Lufkin — 7007 — Hoshall|
|The Houston East and West Texas (HE&WT) Railroad came through Angelina County in 1882 and a community named Bitterweed Flat developed here. In 1913 W.E. Hoshall purchased land and timber rights in the area and began shipping logs from Hoshall Switch on the HE&WT in Bitterweed Flat. In 1917 Luke E. Wright established a sawmill and town with churches, schools, and a commissary at the switch site. The company town was named Hoshall and consisted of Anglo and African American citizens. The sawmills . . . — Map (db m36108) HM|
|Texas (Angelina County), Lufkin — 7009 — Kerr's Inc.|
|Regarded as the oldest Angelina County business in continuous operation, Kerr's began in 1870 as a general store in the early county seat of Homer (5 mi. SE). It was started by Civil War veteran Capt. Joseph Kerr (B. 1828), a native of South Carolina. The operation was moved to Lufkin in the 1880s, soon after the railroad town was founded. An active business, civic, and political leader, Kerr was later succeeded in the firm by his sons. Started in the early days of the county and later operated . . . — Map (db m29153) HM|
|Texas (Angelina County), Lufkin — 16011 — KRBA-AM Radio Station|
|By the 1930s, radio has become an established medium for commercial advertising. In 1938, commercial radio came to Angelina County when Redland Broadcasting Association received the first license in the area. Station manager Darrell Yates financed, built, and launched KRBA-AM on May 3, 1938 with the understanding that he would assume full ownership from investors in five years. Programs were initially only broadcast during the day and the station operated at a frequency of 130 kilocycles at a . . . — Map (db m38722) HM|
|Texas (Angelina County), Lufkin — Lindsey Springs Logging Camp|
|The naturally occurring Lindsey Springs, located approximately 3/4 of a mile northeast of this location, became the site in 1899 of the Southern Pine Lumber Company's first logging camp. The springs provided an important water source for this vital camp, which by 1900 included company housing for about 110 people, a store, school, and church. A narrow gauge railroad transported logs from Lindsey Springs to the mill in nearby Diboll. The area's marketable timber had been cut by 1906, resulting . . . — Map (db m79122) HM|
|Texas (Angelina County), Lufkin — 8711 — Lufkin Foundry and Machine Company|
|Chartered in 1902 as a repair shop and parts supply house for local sawmills, Lufkin Foundry & Machine Company was begun by J.H. Kurth, Frank Kavanaugh, Sr., Frank Kavanaugh, Jr., Eli Wiener and Simon Henderson. Later, under the leadership of W.C. Trout, the company ventured into the oil industry and manufactured the first enclosed geared pumping unit. In 1926, Trout patented a counterbalanced crank that improved the pumping unit and made a name for the company worldwide. In 1939 the company . . . — Map (db m29845) HM|
|Texas (Angelina County), Lufkin — 11657 — Lufkin Telephone Exchange|
|Telephone service in Lufkin began 1898 when Dr. Alexander Madison Denman and his friend Judge Edwin James Mantooth strung telephone wires between their offices. The system was so popular that the pair soon formed the Lufkin Telephone Exchange with partner Eli Wiener, operating from offices on this site. In 1908 they contracted with the Southwestern Telegraph and Telephone Company to provide long distance service. The company grew as rapidly as telephone technology itself, eventually acquiring . . . — Map (db m29355) HM|
|Texas (Angelina County), Lufkin — 6992 — Machinery from early East Texas Logging Railroads|
|Steam locomotive and tender No. 3 were bought 1908 by Carter-Kelley Lumber Co., for use in building a sawmill at Manning(about 18 mi. south); then in railroad building, logging, and passenger and freight hauling schedules.
The 1906 wood-burning steam loader was also used by Carter-Kelley in building Manning Mill, and later served on "portable" logging railroads. Its cables could skid logs to tracks from distances of 300 to 500 feet.
Carter-Kelley merged (1930s) with W.T. Carter & Brother. This equipment was retired in 1950s. — Map (db m28803) HM|
|Texas (Angelina County), Lufkin — Mantooth Farm|
|Members of the Mantooth family came to Angelina County in 1858. Albert Edwin (Eddie) Mantooth (1874-1969) was born in Homer, Angelina County, to Albert and Mary Richard Hall Mantooth. In 1897, Eddie married Sarah Annie Atkinson Mantooth (1879-1914). In 1909, they bought an 11-acre farm on the outskirts of the original Lufkin townsite. The farm produced crops, cows, chickens, mules, and horses that provided an income from trade in Lufkin. In addition to agricultural responsibilities, Eddie also . . . — Map (db m58779) HM|
|Texas (Angelina County), Lufkin — 8721 — Original site of St. Cyprian's Episcopal Church|
|The first Episcopal service in Lufkin was held in 1893 by the Rev. George L. Crocket for the W.G. Barron and R.B. Shearer families. St. Mary's Mission was established in 1895 by the Rev. C.M. Beckwith, but the congregation did not have a permanent church building until 1906 when the structure on this site was erected and the name St. Cyprian's was adopted. The building was bricked in 1929 and later gutted by fire, after which the congregation moved to location. St. Cyprian's original sanctuary . . . — Map (db m26886) HM|
|Texas (Angelina County), Lufkin — Redland Baptist Church|
|Liberty Baptist Church, established in the Redland community in 1859, became Redland Baptist Church after reorganizing in 1895. Worship services were held in a local schoolhouse until 1924 when the congregation built its first sanctuary. A new church building was erected in 1939, and in 1942 the first full-time pastor was called. Growth in church membership resulted in the construction of new facilities in 1960 and a larger sanctuary at this site in 1976. Redland Baptist serves the community . . . — Map (db m28483) HM|
|Texas (Angelina County), Lufkin — Site of Martin Wagon Company|
|David Webster Martin (d. 1916) and his two sons opened a small wagon shop here in 1908. An inventor and designer, Martin developed various wagons for use in the lumber industry. In partnership with B.L. Zeagler, he incorporated the operation as the Martin Wagon Company in 1910. The business continued to prosper until the 1930s, when the depression caused decreases in demand for timber related products. Later acquired by the Lufkin Foundry and Machine Co., Renamed Lufkin Industries in 1970, it became the basis of the company's trailer division. — Map (db m27228) HM|
|Texas (Angelina County), Lufkin — 7005 — Site of Rehearsal Hall for the The Hoo Hoo Band|
|At the turn of the century, a group of Lufkin men organized a town brass band. It later became known as the Hoo Hoo Band after representing Texas at a national convention of the Order of Hoo Hoo, an organization of American and Canadian lumbermen. In addition to concerts in nearby Cotton (Calder) Square, the band performed at various events and also directed such civic projects as the formation of the town's fire department. Inactive by the 1920s when school bands became popular, the Hoo Hoo . . . — Map (db m29146) HM|
|Texas (Angelina County), Lufkin — 7004 — Site of the town of Homer|
|Also known as Angelina
Third county seat of Angelina County,
1858 - 1890 — Map (db m31629) HM|
|Texas (Angelina County), Lufkin — 8724 — Southland Paper Mills, Inc|
|First plant to turn southern pines into newsprint. Mill here revolutionized paper industry in the southern United States. Seeking local paper rather than foreign supplies, Southland was incorporated in 1938 and began operations, 1940. Its mills made possible use of southern pine (earlier rejected for newsprint because of its high resin content).
In 1942, additional facilities were built to supply bleached pulp.
Success of this pioneer complex gave Texas an avenue for aiding world in supply of vital paper. — Map (db m28963) HM|
|Texas (Angelina County), Lufkin — 14638 — The Civilian Conservation Corps and Forestry in Texas|
|Continuing efforts started in the 1920s by the Texas Forest Service (TFS),the Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC), established through the Emergency Conservation Work Act (1933) during the Great Depression, aided in efforts to preserve Texas forests. CCC enrollees offered fire protection by stringing telephone lines, constructing bridges, culverts, fire lookout towers and fire roads, performing timber stand improvements, and surveying and mapping East Texas forests. The CCC also conducted an . . . — Map (db m29427) HM|
|Texas (Angelina County), Lufkin — 6988 — The Depot Explosion and Mystery|
|On the evening of March 2, 1913, an explosion destroyed the Houston, East & West Texas Railroad depot at this site, disrupting the town's vital source of transportation and trade. Although a body was not discovered, it was presumed a railroad employee had been killed in the mishap. He was later declared legally dead and his stepmother collected on his insurance. In 1916, however, he was returned to Lufkin by Judge E.J. Mantooth, a local attorney acting on behalf of the insurance firms. The . . . — Map (db m29203) HM|
|Texas (Angelina County), Lufkin — 12821 — W.C. Trout and the Counter-Balanced Pumping Unit|
|The son of an early industrial engineer, W.C. Trout (1874-1947) came to Lufkin in 1905 and joined Lufkin Foundry & Machine Co. as a shareholder and company secretary. Already a successful inventor, Trout led the diversification of the shop from equipment repair to production and sales. In 1926, he patented a design for a counter-balanced pumping unit that became a standard in the oil business worldwide and contributed significantly to the success of the Texas oil and gas industry. Eventually . . . — Map (db m29852) HM|
|Texas (Angelina County), Lufkin — 12819 — Whitehouse Cemetery|
|According to local tradition, this cemetery may take its name from the 19th-century Cole family home, a structure whose whitewashed exterior stood out from the majority of other log houses and frame buildings in the area. It lies on what was once a thoroughfare from the former Angelina County Seat of Homer to Crockett, the county seat of neighboring Houston County. Although the oldest marked grave-that of Catherine Wheat Wideman-is from 1893, there are earlier burial sites on the property.
. . . — Map (db m29713) HM|
|Texas (Angelina County), Pollok — 8717 — Pollok Baptist Church|
|Founded as Warren Chapel Baptist Church in 1891, this congregation became known as Pollok Baptist Church in 1896. The first meeting place was shared by the Methodist and Presbyterian churches. Land acquired in 1906 by the Baptists was the site of the first church building. Early baptisms were performed in the Angelina River. Services were held once or twice monthly until 1945 when the first full-time pastor was called. Fire destroyed three church buildings in 1932, 195, and 1960; the . . . — Map (db m29228) HM|
|Texas (Angelina County), Pollok — 13518 — Pollok Cemetery|
|Since the late 1800s, this cemetery has served the residents of the town of Pollok. Before the end of the 19th century, the Pollok community was established near a railroad. Here, Richard Blair built the settlement's first sawmill, setting Pollok's vital lumber industry in motion. By 1899, Bodan Lumber Company established itself in the area. The output of lumber increased, stimulating the area's economy. Louis Lipsitz, a local sawmill owner, donated land for the original cemetery plot and over . . . — Map (db m29229) HM|
|Texas (Angelina County), Redland — 14371 — Walker Cemetery|
|This part of Angelina County has long been called Red Land, or Redland, for the red soil ridge that forms the center of the community. In 1846, Thomas R. Walker moved into the area from North Carolina. In 1851, he wed Emily Z. Briscoe, and the couple farmed and reared their children on their homestead. Walker served as county sheriff and county judge, and was a member of the local masonic lodge.
Upon his death in 1877, Walker was buried in this cemetery, which had been established before he . . . — Map (db m26869) HM|
|Texas (Angelina County), Zavalla — Camp Nancy|
|Camp Nancy began as one of the many logging camps established in the piney woods of East Texas during the early 20th century. The camp was first created in Nacogdoches County, but was moved to the Angelina County community of Dunkin ca. 1918. Once the camp was relocated, the Angelina County Lumber Company constructed offices, a commissary, a school and tenant homes and boxcar homes for workers and their families. In 1922, the MacMillan Naval Stores Company contracted to harvest pine resin from . . . — Map (db m37285) HM|
|Texas (Angelina County), Zavalla — 8727 — U.S. Forest Service in Texas|
|This area-heart of the Piney Woods and the East Texas forest industry--was, in 1933, cutover forests and worked-out farms. That year the Texas Legislature authorized the establishment of national forests in the state.
Today Angelina, Davy Crockett, Sabine and Sam Houston forests (the 4 national forests in Texas) include over 658,000 acres.
Under management, net growth exceeds 175,000,000 board feet with a value of over $7,000,000 yearly. In addition, forests offer extensive recreation . . . — Map (db m37302) HM|
|Texas (Aransas County), Aransas Pass — 11686 — Cementerio San Antonio de Padua|
|According to local lore, George Lewis (1859–1895) donated one-half acre of land at this site to the Hispanic citizens of the area for use as a cemetery, provided that he be buried in the center of the land. Handmade stones indicate burials dating from the 19th century; the first recorded deed was signed in 1933. Years of wind and rain have rendered many stones illegible. A number of children who died in an influenza epidemic in 1940 and many veterans of U.S. and international conflicts . . . — Map (db m53744) HM|
|Texas (Aransas County), Fulton — 12429 — Aransas County Airport|
|This aviation facility developed out of a need during World War II for additional air training sites for U.S. Navy Pilots. In 1942 the Aransas County Commissioners Court offered the Civil Aeronautics Administration the use of land in the county for an auxiliary military landing field. Voters approved a bond issue and accompanying tax to build the airport, and the county subsequently purchased 700 acres of land for that purpose. For the duration of the war, the site was leased to the Navy, which . . . — Map (db m53707) HM|
|Texas (Aransas County), Fulton — 2080 — Fulton|
|Located on Aransas Bay, the city of Fulton has a history closely associated with the fishing and shipping industry. The town was founded in 1867 by Geroge Ware Fulton, whose mansion is an important local landmark. Schools, churches, and businesses were quickly established in the town. A one-room schoolhouse built in 1886, was relocated and adapted for use as a city hall. In recent years tourism and commercial fishing and shrimping have become the city’s most important economic pursuits. The City of Fulton was incorporated in 1978.
(1988) — Map (db m53694) HM|
|Texas (Aransas County), Fulton — 2081 — Fulton Cemetery|
|Land for this community graveyard was set aside when the town of Fulton was platted by George Ware Fulton in 1868. The earliest documented burial is that of a child, Louis L. I. Greenough (1868-1869). The large number of childrens’ graves attests to the often harsh conditions of pioneer life. Also interred here are European immigrant settlers, prominent local citizens, and veterans of the Civil War, World War I, World War II, Korea, and Vietnam. A brush fire in 1947 destroyed many of the early wooden markers, leaving some unmarked graves. — Map (db m53697) HM|
|Texas (Aransas County), Fulton — Fulton Community Church|
|Before the growth of fishing and tourism industries, Fulton was a community of only about 200 settlers. Although Sunday schools met in town, residents had to travel to Rockport for worship services. In 1943, Frank Walker, visiting the area on a fishing trip, preached to a gathering in Fulton; he resigned a position in Fort Worth and moved here to organize a church. The next year, members erected a sanctuary. This nondenominational congregation grew and became a vital community institution. In . . . — Map (db m53695) HM|
|Texas (Aransas County), Fulton — 14 — Fulton Harbor|
|Fulton’s natural shoreline attracted a flourishing beef processing and distribution industry in the 1860s and 1870s. Piers and docks were built by landowners to facilitate the turtle, fishing, oyster, and shrimping industries. A steady growth began and flourished until silting prevented heavy draft vessels from entering the harbor area.
The Navigation District began planning significant improvements to the Fulton Harbor area in 1946 to alleviate the silting. First called the Little Bay . . . — Map (db m58917) HM|
|Texas (Aransas County), Fulton — 2083 — Fulton Mansion|
|Built between 1874 and 1877 by George Ware Fulton (1810 – 1893) and his wife, Harriet Smith Fulton (1823 – 1910), this imposing residence was named “Oakhurst”. The three-story French second empire style home is of plank wall construction, with a shell aggregate concrete basement and characteristic Mansard roof. The house featured modern heating, ventilation, and plumbing systems and gas lighting. The Fulton family lived here until 1895.
Recorded Texas Historic Landmark - 1964 — Map (db m53698) HM|
|Texas (Aransas County), Fulton — 13 — Fulton Packeries|
|Because early Fulton was surrounded by ranches and could be accessed by water, the town became a leading packing center on the Texas coast. The industry flourished from 1868 to 1882. Initially, the packeries rendered cattle hides and tallow only and dumped the carcasses in the bay. Later, as demand for beef as a food increased, the packeries literally “packed” meat—pickled, salted, or dried—in barrels which were shipped by steamer to New Orleans and other ports.
At . . . — Map (db m58918) HM|
|Texas (Aransas County), Fulton — 11 — Fulton Seafood Industry|
|Seafood has always been a Fulton staple. As early as the 1880s, commercial fishing for trout, redfish, sheepshead, turtles, and oysters had become significant for Fulton’s economy. About 1888, David Rockport Scrivner opened Miller Brothers Fish Company at Broadway on the waterfront, and utilized sailing scows whose nets captured up to 2,000 pounds in a catch.
In the early 1900s, local fishermen began harvesting shrimp and building boats in their home yards. By the 1950s, the Fulton harbor . . . — Map (db m58913) HM|
|Texas (Aransas County), Fulton — Home of George W. Fulton|
George W. Fulton
Born at Philadelphia, June 8, 1810
Served in the Texan Army in 1836
A pioneer resident of Refugio County
After an engineering career
of distinction elsewhere,
he returned to Texas and
became a cattle baron
Died October 31, 1893
The town of Fulton bears his name — Map (db m53700) HM|
|Texas (Aransas County), Fulton — 3213 — Site of Marion Packing Co.|
|The ruins of this rendering vat mark the location of the Marion Packing Co. (spelled “Meriam” in some records), one of the dozen or more meat packing plants built in the Rockport-Fulton area in the 1860s and 1870s to process the huge herds of range cattle that roamed Texas after the Civil War. Here beef was dried, salted, or pickled before shipping. The by-products such as tallow, hides, horns, and bones were sent to eastern factories. Like most of the coastal plants, Marion Packing . . . — Map (db m53701) HM|
|Texas (Aransas County), Fulton — Site of One of the Homes of James Power|
|Site of one of the homes of
Born in Ireland, 1789
Died in Live Oak Point, Texas, 1852
With James Hewetson
he was granted authority
January 11, 1828
to settle 200 families in Texas
Served Texas under three flags as
Empresario, Soldier, Statesman
Signed the Texas Declaration of Independence
Ever a loyal son
of his adopted country
Honored and Loved by his people — Map (db m53708) HM|
|Texas (Aransas County), Fulton — 12 — Tourist Courts and Cottages|
|In the mid-1920s, a camp known as the “Cool Coast Camp,” located just north of Fulton, was promoted as a resort. It boasted tree-shaded cabins and tents, with a 500-foot wharf with an open-air pavilion over the water. In the 1930s, the Village of Fulton became a major tourist destination.
The construction of the Copano Bay Causeway and the “Hug the Coast Highway” in 1931 provided excellent automobile – and tourist – access to Fulton.
In 1934, the . . . — Map (db m58916) HM|
|Texas (Aransas County), Lamar — 1547 — John Fagan|
Soldier in the Texas
War for Independence
at Goliad, 1835-1836 — Map (db m53825) HM|
|Texas (Aransas County), Lamar — Mills Wharf|
|Mills Wharf, built by John Howard Mills in 1932, was a renowned center for waterfowl hunting and fishing from the 1930s until it was sold in 1960. It consisted of cottages, a cook house, a guide service office, a store, a tackle shop, and a unique wildlife museum with a famous duck, featured in “Ripley’s Believe It Or Not,” which had an oyster permanently attached to its foot. The new “Hug the Coast” Highway 35 made the wharf accessible, thereby aiding the growth of the . . . — Map (db m63716) HM|
|Texas (Aransas County), Lamar — Site of the Town of Lamar|
|Site of the town of
Mirabeau B. Lamar
1798 – 1859
President of the
Republic of Texas
1838 – 1841
Established in 1838
Made a Port of Entry in 1839
Sacked by Union Troops
Feb. 11, 1864
Survived until 1914
but never flourished. — Map (db m53711) HM|
|Texas (Aransas County), Lamar — 5103 — Stella Maris Chapel|
|Irish immigrant James W. Byrne (1787 – 1865), a veteran of the Texas Revolution, was an early settler of this area. He established the town of Lamar and with his wife Harriet, sold land on Aransas Bay to the Catholic Church for a chapel site. Byrne engaged a French architect to design the structure, which was completed in 1858. Called Stella Maris (Star of the Sea) Chapel, it was built of shellcrete, a shell-aggregate masonry. An important link with the area’s early Roman Catholic . . . — Map (db m53717) HM|
|Texas (Aransas County), Lamar — 5368 — The Lamar Cemetery|
|This burial ground originally served pioneer settlers of the Lamar community. Founded by James W. Byrne (d. 1865), a native of Ireland and a veteran of the Texas Revolution, it was named for his friend Mirabeau B. Lamar, former President of the Republic of Texas. The earliest grave is that of Patrick O’Connor (1822 – 54), a bookkeeper for Byrne’s business operations in New Orleans. The town of Lamar ceased to exist by 1915 and the cemetery was neglected until the 1940s when it was . . . — Map (db m53713) HM|
|Texas (Aransas County), Rockport — 179 — Aransas County|
|Created out of the coastal portion of Refugio County in 1871, Aransas County is the second smallest county in Texas. Within its boundaries are three bays of the Gulf of Mexico: Copano, St. Charles, and Aransas. The area was the site of early Indian inhabitation and Spanish exploration, as well as Anglo colonization efforts of the 1830s and 1840s. Aransas County communities are supported by such industries as fishing, agriculture, off-shore oil production, bird watching, and tourism. The county . . . — Map (db m53582) HM|
|Texas (Aransas County), Rockport — Aransas County|
|Created September 18, 1871
from Refugio County;
Organized in 1871 with
Rockport as the County Seat.
Named for the River
Nuestra Señora de Aranzazu — Map (db m53705) HM|
|Texas (Aransas County), Rockport — Aransas County Veterans Memorial|
Some gave some • Some gave all
In loving memory
of our fallen heroes
of Aransas County
Erected Nov. 11, 1984
the Rockport American G. I. Forum
Chapter 324-F, Texas
Jose “Pepe” Zambrano, Chairman
Santiago Martinez, vice-Chairman
Candelario Torres, Secrety
Richard L. Dominguez, Treasurer
Emanuel Cabano, Sgt. at Arms
Lupe Montez, Chaplain
Rockport Ladies Auxiliary
Olivia Zambrano, Chairperson
Anita Dominguez, Vice . . . — Map (db m53745) WM|
|Texas (Aransas County), Rockport — Baldwin-Brundrett House|
|Aransas County Judge W.H. Baldwin, who promoted Rockport as a deep water port, lived in this house in the 1890s. George A. Brundrett, Jr., was a Confederate veteran and cattle rancher on 15,000 acres on Matagorda Island; his family lived here from 1917-1942. Brundrett’s second wife, Flavilla, often turned the parlor into a makeshift hospital, and it is said that 200 people took shelter here during the 1919 hurricane. This one-story house retains its basic design from the 1880s and exemplifies . . . — Map (db m61067) HM|
|Texas (Aransas County), Rockport — 343 — Baylor-Norvell House|
|Located on the waterfront in a community that has survived many hurricanes, this house was built about 1868 by Dr. John W. Baylor. In addition to his medical practice Dr. Baylor owned a local meat packing business, ranched, and worked to bring a railroad to the county. School-teachers Elisha (1857-1933) and Irene (1865-1944) Norvell moved to Rockport from Goliad in 1888 and rented the house before buying it in 1890. Elisha also worked as an agent for the San Antonio and Aransas Pass Railroad . . . — Map (db m53593) HM|
|Texas (Aransas County), Rockport — Bracht House|
|Adolph L. Bracht (1872-1961) was born in Rockport and worked at lumber and grocery stores before establishing his own wholesale and retail grocery in 1899. He was a charter member of the Intracoastal Canal Association and active in the Chamber of Commerce and Sacred Heart Catholic Church. For many years he shipped vegetables raised by growers in this area and the Rio Grande Valley. He ran his grocery business until his retirement in 1947. Adolph and his wife Gertrude (Prophet) had nine . . . — Map (db m53746) HM|
|Texas (Aransas County), Rockport — 1041 — Connie Hagar — (June 14, 1886–November 29, 1973)|
|Born Conger Neblett in Corsicana, and married to Jack Hagar in 1926, Connie Hagar received early training as a musician. She and her sister became interested in birds and worked as volunteers with the U.S. Biological Survey. The Hagars moved to Rockport in 1935, shortly after Connie made her first visit here. She became a self-taught authority on Texas birds, and her expertise was sought by professional and amateur ornithologists from around the world. In 1945 the Texas legislature designated . . . — Map (db m53706) HM|
|Texas (Aransas County), Rockport — 1669 — First Baptist Church of Rockport|
|Organized in 1873, the First Baptist Church of Rockport originally was located on S. Church Street. L.D. Young served as the first pastor. The hurricane of 1919 destroyed the first church building, but the members built a new structure at the corner of Live Oak and Main Streets the following year. They joined with Rockport’s Methodist and Episcopal congregations to form an Ecumenical Sunday School. Throughout its history, the First Baptist Church of Rockport has served the community with a variety of worship, educational, and outreach programs. — Map (db m53703) HM|
|Texas (Aransas County), Rockport — 1767 — First Methodist Church of Rockport|
|The Methodist Church has been in existence in Rockport since about 1870. The Rev. H.G. Horton was assigned as pastor of the Rockport Church in 1872. The original Methodist Church building, erected at the corner of Live Oak and Bay Streets, was used by a number of other congregations until their own facilities were completed. The Methodists relocated to this site in 1914 and later built new structures to meet the needs of the growing membership. With an emphasis on educational programs, this . . . — Map (db m53590) HM|
|Texas (Aransas County), Rockport — 1799 — First National Bank of Rockport|
|Chartered on October 8, 1890, the First National Bank of Aransas Pass (now Rockport) was organized by a group of businessmen led by John H. Traylor, James M. Hoopes, George W. Fulton, Jr., James C. Fulton, and Richard H. Wood. Located at Main and Water Streets, the bank played a vital role in Rockport’s growth and development. Its name was changed to First National Bank of Rockport in 1903. After surviving both the 1919 storm and the Great Depression, the bank moved to new quarters across the . . . — Map (db m53748) HM|
|Texas (Aransas County), Rockport — 1846 — First Presbyterian Church of Rockport|
|This congregation traces its history to 1869. Although deactivated in 1879, it was reorganized with twenty charter members in 1889. The members met in facilities provided by other churches until their first house of worship was completed at Market and S. Magnolia Streets about 1906-07. After surviving several hurricanes, the church moved to this site in 1949. An integral part of local history for over a century, First Presbyterian Church counts among its members many community leaders and descendants of its founding families. — Map (db m53580) HM|
|Texas (Aransas County), Rockport — 11685 — Frandolig Island|
|Dubbed “Nine Mile Point” by early settlers, this island was first used commercially by the Cushman Meat Packing Company in the late 1860s. Austrian Franz Joseph Frandolig, a horseman who had delivered cattle to Cushman & Co., homesteaded property at this site when the company vacated the land in 1878. Frandolig and his family established a large fig orchard. They sold the fruits and vegetables in Rockport and Fulton. Frandolig also kept a vineyard, where he produced and sold wine by . . . — Map (db m53760) HM|
|Texas (Aransas County), Rockport — 2084 — Fulton-Bruhl House|
|Built about 1868, this vernacular early Texas home was purchased in 1872 by James C. Fulton, a noted early business and civic leader. Fulton sold the home in 1907 to his son-in-law, Albert L. Bruhl, a pharmacist and civic leader who served three terms as mayor of Rockport. The home exhibits Greek revival elements and features Italianate porch supports, a five-bay entrance, and oversized dormers. It has remained in the Bruhl family for over eight decades.
Recorded Texas Historic Landmark – 1988 — Map (db m53749) HM|
|Texas (Aransas County), Rockport — 9 — Historic Shellcrete Square — Leadership Aransas County XIV Class Project – June 2010|
|Between 1935 and 1939, the Texas Highway Department constructed several roadside parks along Highway 35 in Aransas County. Local residents ~ Mrs. J.L. Bell, Harry Hertzberg, Mrs. Eli Hertzberg, Joe S. Sheldon, Arnold K. Sheldon, Harry Traylor, and W.W. Wendell ~ donated the land for these parks.
You are standing at one of those parks that overlooked a spectacular lake, as shown in the photo to the left, now referred to as Tule Creek West.
The park photograph, shown to the right, was . . . — Map (db m53774) HM|
|Texas (Aransas County), Rockport — 2557 — Hoopes-Smith House|
|Prominent local businessman and land developer James M. Hoopes (1839-1931) had this home built between 1890 and 1892. The home later served as a hotel and boardinghouse between 1894 and 1930. It was sold in 1934 to T. Noah Smith, Sr. (1881-1955), a prominent oilman and shipbuilder. Features of the late Victorian Queen Anne home include milled woodwork, roof cresting, a turret, and stained glass windows. It is regarded as a local landmark.
Recorded Texas Historic Landmark - 1989 — Map (db m53587) HM|
|Texas (Aransas County), Rockport — 3256 — Mathis House|
|John M. Mathis (1831-1922) had this home built for his family in 1868-1869. Instrumental in platting the town of Rockport, he served as its first mayor in 1870. In 1880 he deeded the house to his cousin, Thomas H. Mathis (1834-1899), a leading rancher, shipper, and banker. Exhibiting Italianate, Classical, and Greek Revival details, the raised cottage features center passage plan, arcaded basement, and entry portico with paired flutted columns.
Recorded Texas Historic Landmark – 1989 — Map (db m53594) HM|
|Texas (Aransas County), Rockport — 13692 — Moore House|
|Built in 1906, this house was the vision of James Edward (J. Ed) and Josephine Kennedy Moore. The two were married from 1903 until 1915, when Josephine passed away. J. Ed was a business owner who served several terms as Rockport’s mayor between the 1920s and 1940s. He was instrumental in establishing a yacht basin and a a public beach park, both of which are still in use today. Moore also helped plan a modern sewer system for the town. He sold the house to family in 1943 and passed away in . . . — Map (db m53743) HM|
|Texas (Aransas County), Rockport — 4073 — Port Bay Hunting and Fishing Club|
|Danish native Andrew Sorenson (1864-1941), established a reputation as a hunting and fishing guide in this area in the early 20th century. He bought 240 acres of land (.5 mi. W) in 1909 and in 1912 incorporated the private Port Bay Hunting and Fishing Club. Charter members included prominent citizens from Texas and the U.S. Adjacent waters teem with ducks and geese in season. Despite hurricane damage to club structures over the years and a reduction in size to 46 acres of land, the club . . . — Map (db m53761) HM|
|Texas (Aransas County), Rockport — 4325 — Rockport|
|The town of Rockport was founded by cattlemen J.M. and T.H. Mathis in 1867. Originally a part of Refugio County, it became county seat of newly formed Aransas County in 1871. Shipping and fishing provided the primary economic base of the town in its early years. The railroad arrived in 1888 and with it came a decline in the shipping industry, although shipyards were in operation during World War I and World War II. Rockport has been a popular recreation center over years, and tourism continues to be important to the local economy. — Map (db m53704) HM|
|Texas (Aransas County), Rockport — 4326 — Rockport Cemetery|
|This cemetery has served the citizens of Rockport and Fulton for over a century. The oldest marked grave is that of Emma Fulton (d. 1876), granddaughter of George Ware Fulton, who was instrumental in the development of the area and was interred in the cemetery in 1893. A large number of burials took place here in 1918, the year of a devastating influenza epidemic. The cemetery contains the graves of veterans of the Texas Revolution, Civil War, World War I, World War II, Korea, and Vietnam. The . . . — Map (db m53596) HM|
|Texas (Aransas County), Rockport — Rockport Marine Laboratory|
|In 1935, Rockport Marine Lab was set up aboard the houseboat “Vivian” in Rockport Harbor to assist the Texas Game, Fish and Oyster Commission with Fisheries management. In 1947, a permanent lab was built on the harbor, a state of the art facility including a public aquarium. When the Commission merged into the Texas Parks and Wildlife Dept., the lab began support of its Coastal Fisheries Division in long-term management of fisheries populations to ensure sustainable stocks of . . . — Map (db m64468) HM|
|Texas (Aransas County), Rockport — 13653 — Rockport School|
|Rockport School has served the town of Rockport for many years as both an educational and community institution. It dates to 1935, during the era of the Great Depression. One of President Franklin D. Roosevelt’s New Deal programs to combat the Depression was the Federal Emergency Administration of Public works, later the Public Works Administration (PWA), part of the National Industrial Recovery Act. Workers completed construction on the Rockport School, labeled project number 2813, under the . . . — Map (db m53578) HM|
|Texas (Aransas County), Rockport — 4 — Rockport’s Grand Hotels|
|Before the arrival of the railroad in 1888, hotels in Rockport generally served clientele of the several local packeries. The Congdon Hotel was the leading hostelry of early Rockport and once served as a boarding home to the prominent Robert Driscoll family in the 1880s.
Rail service changed Rockport from a cattle town to a tourist resort. The Congdon became the Orleans Hotel, and the Bruhl Hotel, located on South Water Street, became the Bay Side Inn. This two-story exclusive hotel was . . . — Map (db m53769) HM|
|Texas (Aransas County), Rockport — 8 — Rockport’s Harbor|
|In 1866, James Doughty and Richard H. Wood, searching for a safe harbor location to ship cattle, built pens and a livestock-shipping wharf on “Rocky Point,” a prominent limestone protrusion that extended into Aransas Bay near present-day Wharf Street. Other wharves and pens followed. Soon, a regular schedule of Morgan Line shallow-draft steamboats arrived with merchandise for distribution inland, and then departed with cattle and packer products.
The arrival of the railroad in . . . — Map (db m53787) HM|
|Texas (Aransas County), Rockport — 7 — Rockport’s Seafood Industry|
|Rockport’s commercial seafood companies have been operating for more than one hundred years. By 1903, David Rockport Scrivner had opened a fish house. In 1907, he sold to Roy Jackson who named the operation the Jackson Fish Company. A few years later, Luis Cobilini and a Mr. Gentry began the Union Fish Company. Cobilini later sold the firm to Ernest Camehl. The 1919 hurricane destroyed the Union Fish building, but Camehl rebuilt and, in 1932, the building became a ship’s chandlery.
About . . . — Map (db m53772) HM|
|Texas (Aransas County), Rockport — 5 — Rockport’s Wharves and Pavilions|
|Since 1866, wharves and piers have been a part of Rockport’s shores. The first wharf, constructed to ship cattle, was at Rocky Point. Other wharves handled commercial shipping and passenger traffic. Sorenson’s Wharf extended into the bay behind the Sorenson & Hooper mercantile and ship’s chandlery store (1406 South Austin Street), which was established in 1887. Cargo was carried to and from ships on carts that rolled on rails on the wharf.
When the San Antonio & Aransas Pass Railroad came . . . — Map (db m53770) HM|
|Texas (Aransas County), Rockport — 4428 — Sacred Heart Catholic Church|
|Roman Catholic priests visited the Rockport area as early as 1838. The first mass in the town of Rockport was celebrated in the home of County Judge John Hynes in 1860, and services continued there for a number of years. Although property was deeded to the church in 1871, the first church building was not erected until 1889. It was destroyed in a storm that same year and was replaced by another structure which served the congregation until 1954 in addition to its parochial school, Sacred Heart . . . — Map (db m53585) HM|
|Texas (Aransas County), Rockport — Shipyards in Rockport|
|Shipbuilding was a natural industry for Rockport. The earliest recorded ship built here was the Connie, constructed in 1880 by Bludworth & Company. The Bludworth family specialized in building pleasure craft and scows.
In 1917, World War I prompted construction of a large shipyard at the south end of Water Street by Fred and C.A. Heldenfels. With over 900 employees, the Heldenfels company built four 281-foot wooden cargo vessels for use in the war effort, but these were not . . . — Map (db m58824) HM|
|Texas (Aransas County), Rockport — 183 — Site of Aransas Hotel|
|Built in 1889 by civic leader and politician John H. Traylor, the Aransas Hotel covered this city block. The three-story structure, a major tourist attraction in Rockport had about 100 rooms and a massive open dining room with a 200 person capacity. Guests were entertained by orchestras, plays, a mounted bird display, and beach facilities. They could also cruise in Traylor’s yacht, or tour in surreys from the livery stable. Remodeled and named the Del Mar in the mid-1890s, it was sold in 1910. . . . — Map (db m53583) HM|
|Texas (Aransas County), Rockport — 2427 — Site of Heldenfels Shipyard|
|Shipping industries flourished on the Rockport waterfront by the 1880s. Heldenfels Shipyard was established here on 12.9 acres in October 1917. Four 281-foot wooden cargo vessels were to be built for military use in World War I; the “Baychester” was launched on July 31, 1919, and the “Zuniga” on September 9, 1919. At the height of construction, over 900 men were employed at the shipyard. The need for ships fell as the war ended. Despite hurricane damage to the shipyard . . . — Map (db m53595) HM|
|Texas (Aransas County), Rockport — 15535 — Sorenson-Stair Building|
|Simon Sorenson, a native of Denmark, bought Brunner’s Mercantile at this site in 1886. The building was originally two stories, rebuilt after an 1895 fire. The Sorensons received weather reports by telegraph, posted updates in the display windows and raised warning flags as necessary. Hurricane Celia damaged the building and stock in 1970. In 1978 the Estelle Stair Gallery and the Rockport Art Association were housed here. Stair nurtured the growing art community. The load-bearing masonry . . . — Map (db m53592) HM|
|Texas (Aransas County), Rockport — 5078 — St. Peter’s Episcopal Church|
|The Rt. Rev. Alexander Gregg, Bishop of the Diocese of Texas, officiated at the dedication of St. Peter’s Episcopal Church in Rockport on November 30, 1871. Led by lay ministers for much of its early history, St. Peter’s first was located at the corner of Live Oak and Wharf Streets near the railroad depot, where services often were halted due to the noise of arriving and departing trains. Relocated to this site in 1954, St. Peter’s became a self-sustaining parish ten years later. It continues to serve the community with a variety of programs. — Map (db m53581) HM|
|Texas (Aransas County), Rockport — The Big Blue Crab|
|Rockport’s original Big Blue Crab started out on the Del Mar Grill on Austin Street. In 1957, the Grill was run by Dorothy and Sal Silverman, and the specialty was Dorothy’s famous crab cakes. The Big Crab was 18 feet wide and 22 feet deep and was made of rebar, chicken wire, and papier mache’.
The Crab weathered both hurricanes Carla in 1961 and Beulah in 1967. In 1965, the Grill closed and the Chamber of Commerce bought the Crab for $200. It was to be used as a background for photographs . . . — Map (db m63660) HM|
|Texas (Aransas County), Rockport — The Cedars|
|Tourism has been a major part of the Rockport economy for generations, but in the 1920s and 1930s with the rise of the automobile, more visitors began to travel to the area. The Cedars, built in 1928 by Dr. Joe and Mabel Bryant, became a popular tourist destination with seven “resort houses” on the property. The property was sold to H.M. Daggett in 1929. Stanley Daggett, his son, and his wife, Flossie, gained the property in 1930 and added two cottages. Annual gatherings of fishing . . . — Map (db m60573) HM|
|Texas (Aransas County), Rockport — The Hagar’s Rockport Cottages|
|This property was the site of the famous Rockport Cottages purchased in 1934 by Connie and Jack Hagar from Corsicana, Texas. Jack managed the cottages while Connie (1886–1973) pursued her passion for nature. Birds were Connie’s major interest, which ultimately gained her international recognition and the nickname, “The Bird Lady from Texas.”
When Connie began reporting her bird findings in Aransas county, she was looked upon with suspicion by ornithologists and serious . . . — Map (db m63659) HM|
|Texas (Aransas County), Rockport — 1 — The Old Beach Road|
|In early Rockport, many prominent families lived on what was called the Old Beach Road, now Water Street. Paved with white crushed shell, the road was lined with huisache, anacua, wild persimmon, prickly ash trees, dewberry vines, and stately homes. Before the 1919 hurricane, its residents included the Evans, Thrall, Peelers, Bartell, Myers, Westies, James, Kurtell, Clearman, Sedan, Sorenson, Norvell, Hanks, Perrenot, Stevens, Mason, Gruey, Herring, and Soule families. Edgar A. Stevens served . . . — Map (db m53767) HM|
|Texas (Aransas County), Rockport — 3 — The Old Courthouse|
|For more than 60 years, Rockport’s skyline was dominated by an imposing, three-story Moorish-inspired courthouse. It was the first major building designed by J. Riely Gordon, who would become one of Texas’ most famous architects. Born in Virginia in 1863, Gordon moved with his family to San Antonio in 1874, where he started his career. He subsequently designed 18 Texas courthouses, 12 of which are still standing. His unique Aransas County Courthouse was demolished in 1955.
Constructed from . . . — Map (db m53768) HM|
|Texas (Aransas County), Rockport — 6 — The Packeries of Rockport|
|After the Civil War, Rockport became an important cattle ranching and shipping center. In 1866, James Doughty, T.H. Mathis, and John M. Mathis constructed cattle pens, with a long wharf that extended out into Aransas Bay from “Rocky Point” (the landmark from which Rockport gets its name). Cattle were shipped to New Orleans on the Morgan line. The painting below, “The Last to Load,” illustrates the first shipment from Rocky Point in 1866.
Initially, packeries were . . . — Map (db m53771) HM|
|Texas (Aransas County), Rockport — 4327 — The Rockport Pilot|
|The earliest newspaper in this area was “The Vaquero”, published by Charles F. Bailey and Geraldo A. Beeman in St. Mary’s in 1868. In 1869 Bailey moved to Rockport and founded “The Transcript”, which continued in operation until 1886. Two years later “The Rockport Enterprise” began, and in 1916 it merged with the new “Rockport Pilot”. Other local newspapers existed for short periods, but since its beginning “The Pilot” has been the . . . — Map (db m53588) HM|
|Texas (Aransas County), Rockport — 4522 — The San Antonio and Aransas Pass Railroad in Rockport|
|During its early years Rockport relied on Gulf shipping for goods and services. After the arrival of the San Antonio and Aransas Pass Railroad in 1888, however, the town’s economic focus changed to include rail shipping and a burgeoning tourism industry. The town’s population grew from 600 in 1888 to 2,500 by 1890. Businesses and hotels were built to serve the new tourism trade, and four trains arrived at the Rockport Depot daily. By the 1940s passenger rail service to Rockport ended. Freight . . . — Map (db m53589) HM|
|Texas (Aransas County), Rockport — 15786 — Woman’s Club of Aransas County Building|
|In March 1948, Mrs. Fred B. Hunt issued a call to organize the Woman’s Civic Club. One of the club’s major early activities was financing a permanent building for the organization. Later that year the recreation building for Humble Oil Company employees at Ingleside went up for auction, and the club put in a bid that was accepted. The building was then brought to Rockport in three sections by barge. The hip roof, rectangular plan building features a five-bay entrance porch with stone columns, . . . — Map (db m53586) HM|
|Texas (Archer County), Archer City — TX190 — Archer County Copper Mines — (¼ mile northeast and 5 miles to the south southeast)|
|The civilized world first heard of copper in this area from Texas Rangers after an 1860 campaign against Comanches on the Pease River, about 100 miles to the northwest. The Ranger Captain, Lawrence S. ("Sul") Ross, later to serve Texas as Governor, had nuggets picked off the surface of the ground and hauled to Austin. In 1861, Assistant State Geologist S.B. Buckley charted the mineral site. The Rangers' ore haul was processed and used in gun caps for Confederate forces during the Civil War. To . . . — Map (db m17912) HM|
|Texas (Armstrong County), Claude — 817 — Charles H. Roan — Marine Private First Class — (Aug. 16, 1923 - Sept. 18, 1944)|
|Winner, Congressional Medal of Honor for heroism during the Allied Forces’ invasion of Peleliu in the western Pacific in World War II. On July 21, 1945, he was decorated posthumously by presentation of his medal to his mother, Armstrong County Treasurer, Mrs. Lillabel Roan, in Claude. A navy destroyer in 1946 was christened with his name. Private Roan’s grave is in the Marine Cemetery, Peleliu Island. — Map (db m62834) HM|
|Texas (Armstrong County), Claude — Roadside Park on Hamblen Drive|
|Named for Will H. Hamblen (1878 - 1952), who in 1890's pioneered a crude road (about 6 mi. N) into Palo Duro Canyon along old Indian trails. This cut 120 mi off the settlers' trips to courthouse in Claude, but was steep and dangerous.
Hamblen and his wife Ada (1883 - 1955) ranched near Wayside after 1905. He worked unceasingly to get a passable road through Palo Duro. Elected county commissioner in 1928, he at last had a graded road built. By decision of the commissioners' court, road was . . . — Map (db m23982) HM|
|Texas (Armstrong County), Claude — The S.P. Hamblen Family|
|Pioneered at this site, in dugout to the west. S.P. Hamblen (1846-1930) and wife Virginia (1861-1950) settled in Lakeview area (9 mi. S of Claude) in 1889. Hamblen helped establish Lakeview School, 1890. He engaged in farming and stockraising, and also dealt in cedar posts cut in Palo Duro Canyon and sold in Amarillo at 3¢ each. Hauls over the old Indian trail were made with such great effort that W. H. Hamblen (oldest son, who helped his father) longed for good roads and later was designer of . . . — Map (db m23990) HM|
|Texas (Armstrong County), Goodnight — Charles Goodnight — (1836 - 1929)|
|Texas Ranger, Indian fighter. At age 19, on way to California gold fields, saw ranching possibilities. Settled and started ranch in Palo Pinto county, 230 miles southeast of here.
In civil war, scout, guide and hunter for frontier regiment, Texas Cavalry, protecting settlers from Indian raids and Federal invasion.
With Oliver Loving, moved herds across arid west Texas and New Mexico lands dominated by Comanche Indians, establishing Goodnight-Loving trail northeast to U.S. forts
Founded old Goodnight College. — Map (db m49323) HM|
|Texas (Armstrong County), Goodnight — 4850 — Site of Old Goodnight Ranch|
|First ranch in the Texas panhandle
Established in 1876 by
Noted scout, Indian fighter, trail blazer
The Burbank of the range — Map (db m49328) HM|
|Texas (Atascosa County), Charlotte — 13619 — Chilipitin Cemetery|
|Early settlers Dario and Manuelita Douglas Tober acquired land here in 1877 and later set aside this site for a family cemetery. The oldest marked grave, that of teenager Nieves Douglas Tober, dates to 1903. The Tober family deeded the original tract to the Chilipitin Cemetery Association in 1910, and the site has been enlarged and used as a burial ground for the Miguel community and surrounding areas of Atascosa and Frio counties. The cemetery features curbed plots, highly decorated graves, . . . — Map (db m56664) HM|
|Texas (Atascosa County), Fashing — 1576 — Town of Fashing|
|Near the Old San Patricio Trail, leading from San Antonio to McMullen and McGloin colony, in area of Gulf of Mexico. In this vicinity were stage stops at Belle Branch, Rock Spring, Rountree's, and Tordilla. Land was part of the Butler, Hickok, Tom and Rountree ranches. Town was platted in 1915 as “Hickok.” However, after the U.S. Post Office Department disapproved that name, the tag on a popular tobacco—“Fashion”—inspired adoption of the name . . . — Map (db m56591) HM|
|Texas (Atascosa County), Jourdanton — 223 — Atascosa County|
|As early as 1722 El Camino Real (The King's Highway) from the Rio Grande to San Antonio was well established in this area. The Spanish word "Atascosa," denoting boggy ground that hindered travel, gave region its name. The county was created in 1856 from land formerly in Bexar County. Jose Antonio Navarro, whose 1831 claim was the first grant recorded in area, gave land in 1857 for first county seat, Navatasco. County seat moved to Pleasanton in 1858, to Jourdanton in 1911.
Livestock, oil, . . . — Map (db m56663) HM|
|Texas (Atascosa County), Jourdanton — 224 — Atascosa County Courthouse|
|Atascosa County was created from Bexar County in 1856. The first county seat was at Navatasco, on land donated by Jose Antonio Navarro, and the county's first courthouse was a log cabin. The county seat was moved to Pleasanton in 1858, and a frame courthouse was erected. A second courthouse was built in 1868, followed by a third, a red rock structure in 1885. When a special election resulted in the relocation of the county seat to Jourdanton in 1910, the county officers were first housed in . . . — Map (db m56584) HM|
|Texas (Atascosa County), Jourdanton — 225 — Atascosa County Courthouse|
|This log cabin is a replica of first courthouse built 1856 near Amphion (Navatasco) 9 miles to the northwest, on site given by Jose Antonio Navarro out of his 1828 grant from Coahuila and Texas. A signer of the Texas Declaration of Independence, he helped organize this county.
First court term, 1857. First officials:
Sheriff, James H. French
Chief Justice, Marcellus French
District Clerk, Edward Walker
County Clerk, Daniel Tobin
Tax Assessor-Collector, Thomas R. Brite
County . . . — Map (db m56636) HM|
|Texas (Atascosa County), Jourdanton — 15743 — Jourdanton|
|In 1909, Jourdan Campbell (1867-1938) and Theodore H. Zanderson (1854-1927) established the Jourdanton community, named for Campbell, on the eastern edge of their Toby Ranch property. Jourdan Campbell was born in Atascosa County, and was a merchant and county commissioner. He first met Zanderson, a Dane whose significant business interests centered on wool and mohair, in San Antonio. The two entrepreneurs convinced Dr. Charles Franklin Simmons, a land speculator who had previously worked with . . . — Map (db m56595) HM|
|Texas (Atascosa County), Jourdanton — 15165 — Jourdanton City Cemetery|
|T.H. Zanderson and city namesake Jourdan Campbell bought the 40,000-acre Toby Ranch in 1907 and laid out the town of Jourdanton. The original plat included two blocks designated for use as a cemetery. The Artesian Belt Railroad built through the site and the town grew quickly, with a lumberyard, cotton gin, grocery stores, bank, restaurants, hotels, churches and a school among the early establishments. The railroad improved shipping of livestock and produce to San Antonio and other points. In . . . — Map (db m56665) HM|
|Texas (Atascosa County), Jourdanton — 15704 — Jourdanton United Methodist Church|
|The Methodist church in Jourdanton formally organized in 1909, the same year that the City of Jourdanton was founded. The church began as the Jourdanton Methodist Episcopal Church, South, and was a member of the Uvalde District in the West Texas Conference. Founding members included Mr. and Mrs. W. T. Billingsley, Mr. and Mrs. Murphy, Mr. and Mrs. Easterling, The W. H. Purgason family, the Carter family, Mr. and Mrs. B. B. Daughtrey, the Richardson family, and Mr. and Mrs. Lewis Ernst. During . . . — Map (db m56666) HM|
|Texas (Atascosa County), Jourdanton — 15990 — Martin Abstract Company|
|By the early 20th century the ranching industry that spurred the growth of Atascosa County had begun to wane, with many large ranches split into smaller ranches, farms and town lots. George M. Martin realized the importance of a company to research title in relation to the resulting real estate transactions, and he founded Martin Abstract Company in 1909. After Martin's death in 1917, the company was purchased in 1919 by A. N. Steinle, a Jourdanton attorney. His son, Glenn N. Steinle, owned and . . . — Map (db m56667) HM|
|Texas (Atascosa County), Jourdanton — 3687 — Old Atascosa County Jail|
|County officials rented a small Jourdanton house for a jail in 1911 after the county seat was moved here from Pleasanton in 1910. A proposal to build a new jail with cells from the old Pleasanton structure was rejected and this reinforced-concrete, brick-clad building with new steel cells was authorized in 1915. This site was purchased that year from W.M. Abernethy (1851-1931), who had served as County Judge from 1901 to 1912. The architect of the 1912 Courthouse, Henry T. Phelps (1881-1945) . . . — Map (db m56585) HM|
|Texas (Atascosa County), Jourdanton — 15835 — Ralph Roy Smith|
|R. R. "Railroad" Smith (1880-1944) was born in Gonzales County to Alexander Frohock and Mary McGill (Mathews) Smith. Around 1907, Smith moved to Atascosa County where he opened up a law practice and entered into the newspaper business with a cousin. Smith successfully ran for the Texas House of Representatives in 1908, and during the Thirty-First Legislative session he solely sponsored a bill creating the Texas State Library and Historical Commission. Smith served later terms in 1911 and 1921. . . . — Map (db m56668) HM|
|Texas (Atascosa County), Jourdanton — 15888 — St. John Evangelical Lutheran Church|
|St. John Evangelical Lutheran Church has served this area of Atascosa County since 1918. Around that time, the now-dispersed farming settlement of Dobrowolski was growing, and the mostly Lutheran population needed a place of worship. At first, the congregation met at homes in Dobrowolski and Jourdanton, and at G.A. Schroeder's lumber yard. They then began meeting at the Dobrosolski schoolhouse until 1922, when members completed construction of a church building on property donated by the Wagner . . . — Map (db m56670) HM|
|Texas (Atascosa County), Leming — 13310 — Battle of Medina|
|Texas' bloodiest military engagement -- the Battle of Medina -- may have taken place in this general vicinity in 1813. The early 19th century was a time of political upheaval, and in 1812, while the U.S. was at war with England, Spain faced revolts throughout Latin America, including Mexico. In this revolutionary climate, Americans and others began efforts to influence the fate of Mexico, of which Texas was a province. Bernardo Gutiérrez and Lt. A.W. Magee marched from Louisiana to Texas in . . . — Map (db m56597) HM|
|Texas (Atascosa County), Leming — 13779 — Brite Cemetery|
|Brite Cemetery has served citizens of Atascosa County since the 1850s. It was formally set aside when Thomas Ransdele Brite passed away in 1859, though the earliest marked burial is that of his infant son, Dan (d. 1854). Thomas Brite was born in 1824 and came to Texas with his parents, Henry and Elizabeth (Moore), in 1839. He joined the Republic of Texas Army in the 1840s and participated in the Vasquez Campaign, Woll Campaign and Somervell Expedition, where he was one of the Texans who . . . — Map (db m56588) HM|
|Texas (Atascosa County), Leming — 4681 — Shiloh Cemetery|
|The first burial in this graveyard, that of fourteen-year-old John Uzell, took place in 1857. The land at that time belonged to Isaac H. Cavender, Sr., who was related to Uzell. Cavender allowed other burials on his property and soon the graveyard became known as the Shiloh Cemetery, taking its name from the surrounding community.
For many years the cemetery was associated with an adjacent schoolhouse that also was used for Baptist church services. The log cabin, built in 1868, served the . . . — Map (db m56610) HM|
|Texas (Atascosa County), Lytle — 61 — Atascosa Lodge No. 379, A.F. and A.M.|
|Organized by eleven Master Masons in Benton City in 1872 and chartered June 9, 1873, by Grand Lodge of Texas. First hall, erected of stone in 1876, provided space for public school. The lodge, which has furnished social and cultural leadership to this locality, was moved to Lytle on May 20, 1909. (1970) Marker in appreciation for Masons past and present. — Map (db m56586) HM|
|Texas (Atascosa County), Lytle — 373 — Benton City Cemetery — (Established 1870)|
|First public cemetery in this community, which was famous in early days for its outstanding school, aggressive businesses, and newspaper, the Benton City "Era." Site was given by James M. Jones, farmer-livestock raiser and leading citizen, whose rock house stood nearby. Jones and family moved here in 1869, when Atascosa County (with Amphion the county seat) was a frontier region of south Texas. Interred here are pioneers and veterans of Indian warfare, the Civil War, World War I, World War II, and other conflicts. — Map (db m56587) HM|
|Texas (Atascosa County), Lytle — 1650 — First Baptist Church of Lytle|
|Dr. J.V.E. Covey and 16 charter members organized this church in April 1893 and held their first meeting under a stand of oak trees. A small frame building was later built, becoming their first permanent church building. Early baptisms were performed in the Medina River. Over the years the church has erected new and larger buildings to serve its growing congregation. The church has been instrumental in initiating additional congregations in Natalia, Atascosa, LaCoste, and Castroville. The . . . — Map (db m56593) HM|
|Texas (Atascosa County), Lytle — 3158 — Lytle Methodist Church|
|According to oral history, the Lytle Methodist Episcopal Church, South, was founded in 1889. W.C. Newton, a local farmer and preacher, became known as "The Father of the Lytle Methodist Church" due to his efforts to establish a permanent place of worship. Newton also provided land for the Lytle Community Cemetery, cared for by church trustees. The Rev. Jerome P. Garrett served as the first appointed pastor from 1891-1893. The congregation built their first sanctuary in 1892. After the . . . — Map (db m56596) HM|
|Texas (Atascosa County), Pleasanton — 1056 — Cooper Chapter No. 101, Royal Arch Masons|
|Chartered March 27, 1871, on petition of Master Masons of Pleasanton Lodge No. 283, A.F. and A.M., and the surrounding area. Met in upper floor of the Isaac Cooper home until 1891; over Cooper Brothers store until Masonic Hall was built in 1961. Marker in Appreciation for Royal Arch Masons past and present, 1971. — Map (db m56589) HM|
|Texas (Atascosa County), Pleasanton — 11698 — Coughran|
|Established on land purchased in 1901, the town of Coughran was named for founder and early settler W. A. "Abe" Coughran. He persuaded the San Antonio, Uvalde and Gulf Raildroad to build tracks through his property. The town was platted in 1913; by 1914, Coughran boasted a cotton gin, a post office, a school and creamery, a general store, a hotel, a bank, a weekly newspaper, and a railroad station. The town thrived until about 1918. Coughran's fortunes dwindled in the early 1920s but the town . . . — Map (db m56590) HM|
|Texas (Atascosa County), Pleasanton — 1666 — First Baptist Church of Pleasanton|
|On December 16, 1866, seven charter members met together to organize the First Baptist Church of Pleasanton. They met for worship in a variety of places, including the county courthouse in 1867, a schoolhouse south of town in 1870, and the Rock Schoolhouse beginning in 1875. In 1879, Mildred Mansfield (1816-1892) and her son F. M. (1836-1902) donated land at this site, and the congregation's first sanctuary was completed in 1883. In addition to offering worship and educational programs to its . . . — Map (db m56594) HM|
|Texas (Atascosa County), Pleasanton — 3797 — Old Rock Schoolhouse|
|Constructed of locally quarried red sandstone, the Old Rock Schoolhouse was built in 1874 with funds pledged by citizens of Pleasanton. Once completed, the building was deeded to the county for free public school purposes. In addition to its educational function, the schoolhouse also served as a place of worship for the First Baptist Church from 1875 to 1883.
A storm cellar in the school yard served as a sanctuary against Comanche Indian raids on many occasions. Children attended classes . . . — Map (db m56605) HM|
|Texas (Atascosa County), Pleasanton — 4056 — Pleasanton — (Founded 1858)|
|Named for early Texas settler John Pleasants, by John Bowen (d.1867), San Antonio's first Anglo-American postmaster. Bowen, assisted financially by associate Henry L. Radaz, in Sept. 1858 founded this town at the juncture of Atascosa River and Bonita Creek as the county seat of Atascosa County. The first courthouse in Pleasanton (second in county) stood on this site.
Men from this and surrounding counties met here in Civil War (1862) to form Co. E, 32nd Texas Volunteer Cavalry, Confederate . . . — Map (db m56599) HM|
|Texas (Atascosa County), Pleasanton — 12533 — Pleasanton City Cemetery|
|Begun in 1865 as a family burial ground, the Pleasanton City Cemetery is a reflection of the history of the community from its earliest days. The first burial was that of three-year-old Gustave B. Doak, whose parents, Jonathan and Mary Elizabeth (Zumwalt) Doak, buried him on their property, which was then on the western outskirts of Pleasanton. Friends and relatives of the Doak family came to use the cemetery, which first appeared in county deed records when Jonathan Doak sold his property in . . . — Map (db m56600) HM|
|Texas (Atascosa County), Pleasanton — 4057 — Pleasanton First United Methodist Church|
|This congregation was organized in 1857, one year before the city of Pleasanton was founded. The church was established largely through the efforts of early Methodist circuit preachers such as John Wesley DeVilbliss and Augustus C. Fairman, who later was elected County Judge and settled in Pleasanton. The Rev. Thomas B. Ferguson was appointed first pastor to the Methodist congregation in 1858. Early worship services were held outdoors, in private homes, in the log courthouse, and in the first . . . — Map (db m56601) HM|
|Texas (Atascosa County), Pleasanton — 16243 — Pleasanton School Integration|
|Pleasanton School District began educating African American children in 1913 with the creation of the Abraham Lincoln School. By 1955, students from the Lincoln School and white students were participating in football workouts together and scheduling basketball games. However, in 1956 the African American citizens felt that the Lincoln School was inadequate and petitioned for improvements. In 1957, Pleasanton School officials and residents considered the cost of building a new school for . . . — Map (db m56602) HM|
|Texas (Atascosa County), Pleasanton — 4882 — Site of San Augustine Church|
|Between 1850 and 1860, Manuel, Enrique, and Francisco Esparza brought their families to settle in what is now Atascosa County. The brothers, along with their sister and mother, were within the walls of the Alamo when it fell to the Mexicans in March 1836. Their father, Gregorio, died in that battle.
The Esparza brothers farmed and ranched the open land near this site. Almost immediately after arriving, Enrique and Manuel constructed a small chapel for family worship. In 1869, Enrique and . . . — Map (db m56608) HM|
|Texas (Atascosa County), Pleasanton — 11697 — Verdi|
|By 1855, settlers primarily from Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, Mississippi, Missouri and Tennessee, as well as some of Spanish origin, were making their homes in this area and calling themselves Lucas Community because of their proximity to Lucas Creek. In 1858 a Church of Christ was organized, followed by a Methodist church in 1859. Lucas Schoolhouse, located on this site, became a county polling place in 1860. A Roman Catholic congregation established St. Augustine Church in 1870. St. Augustine . . . — Map (db m56611) HM|
|Texas (Atascosa County), Poteet — 155 — Amphion and Amphion Cemetery|
|Amphion traces its beginning to the establishment of Atascosa County's first courthouse which is believed to have been constructed near this site at the county seat of Navatasco in 1857. Amphion, thought to have been named after a figure in Greek mythology, was located within the 17,000-acre ranch of Jose Antonio Navarro, a prominent local rancher and signer of the Texas Declaration of Independence. Amphion was at one time a thriving community with several general stores, a hotel, post . . . — Map (db m56582) HM|
|Texas (Atascosa County), Poteet — 13595 — Anchorage Cemetery|
|The family of William and Mary Allen Stiggins emigrated here from Prince Edward Island, Canada, in 1882. Included in the group were their daughter Mary Jane (1855-1935), who had studied medicine, and her fiancé Thomas Whittet (1838-1913), a former sea captain. Whittet is credited with naming this place Anchorage, declaring that this spot would be where the former seafarer would drop anchor.
Thomas and Mary Jane married in the early 1880s, and in 1896 they deeded land for a church and . . . — Map (db m56633) HM|
|Texas (Atascosa County), Poteet — 4092 — Poteet|
|The town of Poteet traces its history to the 1880s, when Francis Marion Poteet (1833-1907) established a mercantile store northeast of this area. A blacksmith and farmer as well as a merchant, Poteet began providing mail service to his customers.
Poteet sold his business to Henry T. Mumme (1870-1947) before 1900. Mumme continued to offer postal service at the store, and in 1910 he and his wife Ida (1869-1942) donated 400 acres of land for a new townsite. Since the area had been referred to . . . — Map (db m56603) HM|
|Texas (Atascosa County), Poteet — 4819 — Site of Jose Antonio Navarro Ranch Headquarters — (2.3 Mi. SSE)|
|This land had once been allocated in the 1700s as a ranch for Mission San Jose in San Antonio (20 mi. N), but in the 1820s was left unsettled. In 1828 prominent San Antonio resident Jose Antonio Navarro (1795-1871) beseeched the Governor of the Mexican state to grant him four leagues of land for pasture. Navarro officially received his grant for this land on the Atascosa River in 1831, though he might have occupied the ranch earlier.
In 1836, Navarro signed the Texas Declaration of . . . — Map (db m56598) HM|
|Texas (Atascosa County), Rossville — 4355 — Rossville|
|First Scottish community in southwest Texas. Founded 1873 by brothers William F.M. Ross and John C. Ross. Born in north Scotland, they came to Texas in 1867. Here they were awarded a contract to carry U.S. Mail. On the route, they noticed fertile soil and plentiful game of this region. They soon settled here and persuaded other Scottish families to join them.
Rossville came to have a one-room school, cotton gin, post office (established 1877), two grocery stores, a bakery and a saloon; but . . . — Map (db m56606) HM|
|Texas (Atascosa County), Rossville — 4356 — Rossville Cemetery|
|Texas statesman Jose Antonio Navarro (1795-1871) transferred land here along the Atascosa River to his eldest son Jose Antonio George Navarro. J.A.G. Navarro (b.1819) then gave 160 acres here to his daughter Maria Antonia Navarro (1845-1922) in 1870, on the occasion of her marriage in San Antonio to Scotsman John C. Ross (1839-1925). One acre at this site was reserved for a cemetery. Ross and his brother William subsequently founded the community of Rossville here after 1873.
The first . . . — Map (db m63703) HM|
|Texas (Atascosa County), Rossville — 4559 — Sand Branch Baptist Church|
|Organized under a tree near this site on August 27, 1882, the pioneer Sand Branch Baptist Church began with twelve members from the surrounding rural area. Elder C.B. Hukill served as the congregation's first pastor. Early worship services, conducted once a month, were held under a brush arbor and later in the community schoolhouse, located nearby.
By the early 1900s the schoolhouse was no longer adequate for the growing congregation and plans were initiated for the construction of a . . . — Map (db m56609) HM|
|Texas (Atascosa County), Somerset — 3795 — Old Rock Baptist Church|
|Organized as Medina Baptist Church in April 1857 at Mann's Crossing, near Macdona. Until 1866, when members built an arbor here near Old Somerset, the services were held in homes or in a schoolhouse.
Site for meetinghouse and cemetery (2.5 acres here) was bought for ten dollars in 1867 by committeemen F.M. Avent, Elisha A. Briggs, and W.D. Johnson on behalf of Medina Church. This committee also drew the plans; Briggs, a settler from Massachusetts and a stonemason, did much of the . . . — Map (db m56604) HM|
|Texas (Austin County), Industry — Charles Fordtran — May 7, 1801-Nov. 1, 1900|
|In Jan. 1831 Charles Fordtran, a German of Huguenot descent, joined the colony of Stephen F. Austin. His first work was to survey land for Austin's partner, Samuel May Williams. He was given a league (4,428.4 acres) as his fee. Soon he brought in two families of settlers who worked for him for a time, then obtained their own land in present Fayette county.
On July 4, 1834, he married Almeida Brookfield (1817-1887), daughter of a noted Indian-fighting family. Fordtran also fought Indians who . . . — Map (db m30780) HM|
|Texas (Austin County), New Ulm — Frnka Family Cemetery|
|In 1926, Jan Jindrich Frnka (d. 1935) and his wife, Cecilie (Kroulik) (d. 1933), conveyed property to three trustees for use as a family burial ground. J.J. and Cecilie Frnka were parents of thirteen children; all of the children, with the exception of one daughter, are interred here, along with most of their spouses. Distinctive features of the burial ground include obelisks, unmarked graves, curbing and grave slabs. Frnka Family Cemetery is still used today. It continues to serve descendants . . . — Map (db m30737) HM|
|Texas (Austin County), New Ulm — New Ulm Cemetery|
|The town of New Ulm was originally called Duff's Settlement at the time of its founding, and was named for James C. Duff, who in 1841 acquired title to the site upon which the settlement was founded. A post office began operation in 1853. At that time, the town's name was changed to New Ulm in honor of Ulm, a city in the province of Wurttemberg, Germany, which was the homeland of many early settlers. The original town was established near the site of New Ulm Cemetery, one mile North of the . . . — Map (db m30726) HM|
|Texas (Austin County), San Felipe — A Town Hall|
| . . . — Map (db m43759) HM|
|Texas (Austin County), San Felipe — 11707 — Early Roads To San Felipe|
|During the mid-1820's, When Stephen F. Austin was founding this town, the only roads in the area were wagon ruts or beaten trails marked by notched trees. Within a decade, however, the village of San Felipe, one of the first Anglo settlements in Texas, had become a hub from which 8 or more roads projected.
Many of these were small, intra-colony routes, but the main trails extended to major towns of joined “highways”, such as the San Antonio Road (El Camino Real). A main route . . . — Map (db m43718) HM|
|Texas (Austin County), San Felipe — 2678 — J.J. Josey General Store|
|Built by John Crutcher in 1847 on the Plaza de Commercio in San Felipe, this was the last store built in the town after its 1836 burning by military order. Purchased in 1867 by Dr. J.J. Josey, it was in continuous operation as a store until 1942. The building has been relocated a number of times. Josey, in 1880, moved the store one mile east to a new location on the Texas Western Narrow Gauge Railroad. In 1962 the structure was returned to its original site and restored for use as a museum. It . . . — Map (db m43760) HM|
|Texas (Austin County), San Felipe — John Bricker|
|In memory of
a private in Captain Mosley Baker’s
company, who was killed just
across the river from this site
April 7th 1836 by a shot from a
Mexican cannon, and was buried
where he fell. He was born in
Cumberland County, Penn.
January 30th 1791
This tablet was erected
by his kinsmen
April 7th 1935 — Map (db m43758) HM|
|Texas (Austin County), San Felipe — 249 — Stephen F. Austin's Cabin|
Stephen F. Austin's Cabin
This structure is a replica of the only Texas home of Stephen F. Austin, “Father of Texas.” The chimney contains bricks from original (1828) cabin. Other materials were made as authentically as possible.
Austin (1793-1836) opened the Anglo-American colonization of Texas. His cabin, located in capital city of San Felipe, welcomed pioneers and statesmen of era; witnessed many crucial events leading to Texas Revolution. — Map (db m43761) HM|
|Texas (Austin County), Sealy — 11967 — Liedertafel|
|Sealy's German immigrants were famous for their love of music. A group of men, some of them Sealy's pioneer settlers, had formed a singing society, called Liedertafel, by 1899. They met primarily in the home of Ferdinand Lux. Lux and Fritz Kinkler, Jr., gave land for the establishment of a permanent building in 1912-1914. One of a number of round frame dance halls built in German communities in Texas, this structure was erected beginning in 1914. The eight-sided hall was built from materials . . . — Map (db m71567) HM|
|Texas (Austin County), Wallis — 6344 — Martin Allen — (November 28, 1780 - December 30, 1837)|
|As a young man Martin Allen assisted his father, Benjamin, in surveying roads in their native state of Kentucky. He married Elizabeth Vice in 1804 and by 1810 they and their three children were living in Louisiana.
Martin joined the Gutierrez-Magee Expedition's bid to rid Texas of Spanish rule in 1812-1813. His father and nephew were killed at the decisive Battle of Medina. Martin, on a recruiting mission at the time, survived.
After a brief stay in Arkansas territory, the Allens . . . — Map (db m61299) HM|
|Texas (Bailey County), Enochs — 14145 — Enochs Cemetery|
|This burial ground has served the community of Enochs since the early 20th century. In 1924, Isaac C. Enochs, Jr. (d. 1958), a land speculator and sheep rancher, donated land for the settlement, including a site for a cemetery. The oldest interment here is of Julia M. Brown (d. 1936); three others were buried before residents organized a cemetery association in 1947 to care for the property in the growing trading community. Shortly afterwards, the cemetery association and other local . . . — Map (db m73661) HM|
|Texas (Bailey County), Enochs — 14460 — La Pista de Vida Agua|
|La Pista de Vida Agua (Trail of Living Water) crossed the Llano Estacado, linking several lakes in the region. Three lakes in Bailey County lie along the trail: Coyote Lake, where the Mackenzie Expedition camped; Monument Lake; and White Lake in Muleshoe National Wildlife Refuge. By the late 1700s, a trading route, known as the Comanchero Trail, developed along the road. In the late 1800s, the Ft. Sumner Wagon Road, leading from Colorado City (Mitchell Co.) to Ft. Sumner, New Mexico, . . . — Map (db m73662) HM|
|Texas (Bailey County), Muleshoe — 276 — Bailey County|
A part of Bexar Territory
Created August 21, 1876
Organized November 5, 1918
Named in honor of
Peter James Bailey
A Kentucky lawyer
killed in defending the Alamo
Muleshoe, the County Seat — Map (db m73669) HM|
|Texas (Bailey County), Muleshoe — 11719 — Bailey County Cemetery|
|When Mariah “Aunt Rye” Long died in 1918, Emil and Anna Wellsandt offered a parcel of their land on this site for use as a public burial ground. Several others were buried in 1918, most of them victims of the influenza epidemic. The Bailey County Cemetery Association was formed that year. The cemetery served primarily the northern part of the county. The “hill-top” area of the cemetery was established in 1950 for the burial of indigents. Many early Bailey County settlers . . . — Map (db m73698) HM|
|Texas (Bailey County), Muleshoe — 3530 — Muleshoe National Wildlife Refuge|
|Founded in 1935 as a wintering area for migratory waterfowl, Muleshoe Wildlife Refuge is on the “central flyway” in a chain of refuges from Mexico to Canada. Migrating birds begin arriving in August and remain until April. The largest wintering concentration of sandhill cranes in North America is most noticeable here from October through March. The site, covering over 5,000 acres, provides habitat for many other species of birds and wildlife. Muleshoe is one of several national . . . — Map (db m73667) HM|
|Texas (Bailey County), Muleshoe — 3752 — Old Hurley — one-half mile west to townsite of|
|First town in Bailey County. Promoted in 1907 by land company of Stevens A. Coldren (d. 1924). He had a townsite surveyed and named it for Patrick J. Hurley (1883-1963), New Mexico political leader. Company built general store, hotel and livery stable. Wide plowed furrows indicated future streets. In August 1907 a post office was established.
Settlers came in and a church and school were begun.
In 1913, however, the railroad bypassed town. Efforts to start “New . . . — Map (db m73697) HM|
|Texas (Bailey County), Muleshoe — 3531 — Old Muleshoe Ranch Cookhouse|
Built in Parmer County about 1897. Bought and moved here about 1902.
Dodge City couple moving to Texas found shoe thrown by mule. Used it for good luck and as branding iron on ranch to which this old cookhouse belonged.
Recorded Texas Historic Landmark - 1965 — Map (db m73671) HM|
|Texas (Bailey County), Muleshoe — 5337 — The Founding of Bailey County|
|Bailey County was created August 21, 1876, and named for Peter James Bailey, a Kentucky lawyer killed at the Alamo during the Texas War for Independence.
This was thinly settled cattle country; Bailey was attached for judicial purposes to Baylor County in 1876-1891, and to Castro County, 1892-1918.
In Nov. 1918, Bailey County was finally organized. Its first officials were W.M. Wilterding, Judge; H.A. Douglass, Sheriff and Tax Assessor-Collector; C.C. Mardis, Clerk; G.P. Kuykendall, . . . — Map (db m73670) HM|
|Texas (Bailey County), Muleshoe — 5456 — The XIT Ranch South Line — (About 100 feet south of this marker)|
|One of most famous boundaries in Texas. Marked edge of XIT — ranch empire bartered away by Texas for its Capitol building.
The 16th Legislature in 1879 designated a 3,000,000-acre tract to be used in payment for the Capitol. The grant extended 200 miles north from line here. Besides portion in this county, it included lands in counties of Castro, Cochran, Dallam, Deaf Smith, Hartley, Hockley, Lamb, Oldham, and Parmer. Heading the investors who built the Capitol were wealthy Chicago . . . — Map (db m73668) HM|
|Texas (Bandera County), Bandera — Bandera Pass|
|Celebrated Indian pass known from the earliest days of Spanish settlement · Identified with many a frontier fight and many a hostile inroad · Old ranger trail from the Medina to the Guadalupe River and the United States Army route between frontier posts followed this route through the mountains — Map (db m24384) HM|
|Texas (Bastrop County), Bastrop — 9151 — Early History of the City of Bastrop|
|Long before white men arrived, this region was inhabited by Tonkawa and Comanche Indians. In 1691 the first Spanish explorers crossed this territory en route to east Texas. From their route, parts of “El Camino Real” (the King's Highway) were blazed, thus placing Bastrop on a major early travel artery.
Because El Camino Real crossed the Colorado River here, this was a strategic spot. In 1805 the Fort “Puesta del Colorado” and accompanying community were founded here . . . — Map (db m76149) HM|
|Texas (Bastrop County), Bastrop — 12528 — First Baptist Church of Bastrop|
|On August 3, 1850, Elder G.G. Baggerly, pastor at the First Baptist Church of Austin, organized the Missionary Baptist Church of Bastrop with eleven members. On September 5, 1850, the new church sent its first messengers to the Colorado Baptist Association's fourth annual session in Seguin. Membership grew to 34 by 1853, and the church, in cooperation with two other organizations, shared a two-story frame structure at the corner of Pecan and Chestnut streets. The congregation met only once a . . . — Map (db m65220) HM|
|Texas (Bastrop County), Bastrop — 9188 — First National Bank of Bastrop|
|First bank in county. In early days, money for safekeeping was placed with mercantile firms.
Organized as "Bank of Bastrop County," in March 1889; became a national bank on Aug. 10, 1889.
Presidents of this bank have been J.C. Buchanan, B.D. Orgain, W.A. McCord, W.B. Ransome, Earl C. Erhard and Gates B. Mack.
Present Structure built 1950. Is on site of 1860's law office of Geo. W. Jones and J.D. Sayers; each served Texas as Lieutenant Governor and U. S. Congressman. Sayers was . . . — Map (db m65150) HM|
|Texas (Bastrop County), Bastrop — H. P. Luckett House|
|In 1892 the city sold the old Bastrop Academy lot to Dr. Humphrey Powell Luckett (1847-1925) and his wife, Frances "Fannie" (Haynie) (1849-1930). The couple married and moved to Bastrop in 1869, raising five sons. By late 1893, their home designed by La Grange architect Lewis G. Mauer was under construction. Dr. Luckett, an authority on Yellow Fever, was named City Health Officer in 1897. In 1936, heirs sold the house to Alex and Lucille Waugh, who live downstairs while renting apartments . . . — Map (db m65121) HM|
|Texas (Bastrop County), Bastrop — 15947 — Primera Baptist Church|
|On March 1, 1903, Primera Iglesia Bautista organized as the culmination of mission work carried out by Primera Iglesia Bautista of Welder. By 1907, the congregation constructed their first church building. Led by the Rev. Paul C. Bell, the growing membership was active in the community, opening a primary and secondary school for the area's unschooled Hispanic children (1920), an orphanage (1920), and a Baptist Bible Institute (1924). Some of the orphans and students later became ministers and . . . — Map (db m65155) HM|
|Texas (Bastrop County), Bastrop — 9156 — Site of Bastrop Military Institute|
|A Methodist Institution · Chartered January 24, 1852 as Bastrop Academy · · Rechartered under the Auspices of the Methodist Episcopal Church South in 1853 · In 1856 became the Bastrop Military Institute — Map (db m65159) HM|
|Texas (Bastrop County), Bastrop — 13123 — The Bastrop Advertiser|
|In June 1852, Bastrop's Colorado Reveille newspaper ended its brief run. In December of that year, William J. Cain, a young printer from Mississippi, bought the press and printing materials and started the Bastrop Advertiser. The newspaper began as a weekly publication from a shop on Main Street in March 1853. Thomas C. Cain tool over the business when his brother retired, and his son, T.W. Cain, followed him as owner and editor. In 1920, Cain sold the paper, which was later owned by the . . . — Map (db m65157) HM|
|Texas (Bastrop County), Bastrop — 13114 — Thomas H. Mays|
|Thomas H. Mays was born in 1802 in Virginia and emigrated to Texas from Tennessee in 1830. In 1834, he became Bastrop's first municipal surveyor and platted the city's new streets. Two years later, he was wounded in the leg at the Battle of San Jacinto while serving in the Texian Army with the "Mina Volunteers" led by Col. Edward Burleson. Upon his return to Bastrop, he became deputy surveyor for Bastrop County. He also held political office in Bastrop as city alderman (1838) and associate . . . — Map (db m65221) HM|
|Texas (Bastrop County), Cedar Creek — Bluff Trail Overlook|
|The bluff stands 80 feet above the Colorado River at Wilbarger Bend. Josiah Wilbarger was an early settler whose family owned the land on the opposite side of the river during the 1800s. Josiah was one of a few Texans who were scalped and lived to tell the story. There was also a lumber mill just east (downstream) of this overlook, known as McKinney's Mill. The mill was located on the Colorado River to transport pine, cedar and cottonwood lumber to surrounding communities along the river. The . . . — Map (db m79096) HM|
|Texas (Bastrop County), Smithville — Smithville|
|In 1691 missionaries on the expedition of Don Domingo Teran De Los Rios sighted a lagoon which the Indians called Nenocadda. The lagoon, known today as Shipp's Lake, is on the southern edge of present Smithville. Frederick W. Grasmeyer operated a ferry here on the Colorado River in 1836. Steamboats plied the river from 1845 to about 1865.|
The village of "old Smithville" was laid out on 640 acres of land granted to Thomas J. Gazley and Lewis Lomas. The town was located on the Colorado . . . — Map (db m41902) HM
|Texas (Bee County), Beeville — 12317 — Bee County Courthouse|
|Bee County was created in 1857 from parts of five neighboring counties. The first county seat was located seven miles east of this site, and the first commissioners court was held on the banks of Medio Creek in February 1858. The city's earliest courthouse consisted of a box frame structure. In 1912, local architect W.C. Stephenson designed this, the county's fourth courthouse. A native of Buffalo, New York, Stephenson aided in the design of the death mask of President William McKinley. He was . . . — Map (db m32200) HM|
|Texas (Bee County), Beeville — 354 — Beeville on the Poesta|
|Long before Mexico granted land (1834) on Poesta Creek to the first settlers, Anne Burke and James Heffernan, savage Indians roamed this valley at will.
Their colony, although successful at first, soon met disaster. In 1836 James Heffernan, his brother John, and John Ryan, who had planned to join Texas patriots at Goliad, were planting a crop in a field at this site when they were massacred by Comanches. Also killed was James' family, in his picket house upcreek.
Bee County was . . . — Map (db m32211) HM|
|Texas (Bee County), Beeville — 7146 — Commercial National Bank|
|The Commercial National Bank of Beeville traces its history to January 1893 when several prominent citizens met to organize a financial institution. Elected as officers were Dr. L.B. Creath, A.G. Kennedy, John I. Clare, and D.C. Stone. The bank opened in May 1893 with a capital stock of $50,000. Housed on the northwest corner of the courthouse square in a two-story brick edifice, the bank was successful from the beginning. Profits were posted from its first quarter of business, and by 1895 . . . — Map (db m32293) HM|
|Texas (Bee County), Beeville — Douglas A4 Skyhawk — Carrier Based Jet Attack Aircraft designed for the U.S. Navy and Marine Corps|
|Early models of the A4 entered service in 1956 and were produced over a longer time than any other jet in the world. Its simplicity and effectiveness allowed numerous improved models to be developed. The A4 series was used extensively in Vietnam and is still in wide use by the Navy, Marines and several foreign nations. The TA 4J trainer, a two part version is used for advanced jet training of Navy and Marine Corps aviators at training Air Wing Three NAS Chase Field. Wing span 27 feet, 5 inches. . . . — Map (db m32265) HM|
|Texas (Bee County), Beeville — 1790 — First National Bank of Beeville|
|Beeville, the county seat of the Bee County since 1860, did not have a secure bank until 1890, when the First National Bank of Beeville opened for business. Prior to that year, the town's only banking facility was A.C. Jones' general store, where some area residents stored money under a loose floorboard behind the counter. The increases in population and trade volume brought by the arrival of the San Antonio & Aransas Pass and the Gulf,Western Texas & Pacific Railways in the late 1880s made . . . — Map (db m32296) HM|
|Texas (Bee County), Beeville — 3840 — McClanahan House|
|Oldest business structure in Beeville, erected about 1867 on east side of courthouse square, near Poesta Creek. General store, lodging house, post office. Pioneer western style, with southern porches.
Built by G.W. McClanahan, Beeville's first merchant, school teacher, postmaster, county clerk, inn keeper, Sunday School superintendent.
Recorded Texas Historic Landmark. — Map (db m32242) HM|
|Texas (Bee County), Beeville — 3315 — Medio Creek — Significant natural landmark|
|Named by the Spaniards about 1800 because of its midway position between the San Antonio and Nueces Rivers. Rises in Karnes County; empties into Mission River. Crossed by explorers, padres, soldiers, settlers who traveled on three early ox-cart roads that led from Mexico to Mission La Bahia at Goliad.
The Cart War of 1857, between Texas and Mexican teamsters on the freight route between San Antonio and Gulf ports, originated along San Patricio Road, southernmost of the three roads. The . . . — Map (db m32271) HM|
|Texas (Bee County), Beeville — 14265 — St. Rose Cemetery|
|This historic African American burial ground is associated with two congregations organized in the 1880s. Many buried here were members of Bethlehem Missionary Baptist Church or Jones Chapel United Methodist Church. Some burials took place prior to the site's official dedication as a cemetery. The earliest known burial, of former slave Nancy Williams, dates from 1901. Land for a community cemetery for African Americans was officially deeded in 1921. Among the prominent individuals interred here . . . — Map (db m32235) HM|
|Texas (Bee County), Skidmore — 198 — Aransas Creek Settlers|
|Earliest known residents were Karankawa Indians who named creek. On this stream was one of the most famous ranches in early Texas, occupied in 1805 by Don Martin de Leon, who in 1824 founded Victoria.
In 1830's Irish colonists came by way of Copano Bay, settling downcreek. Anglo-Americans from older settlements, came by road and trail, stopping mainly upcreek. Stockraising,trucking, and freighting provided livelihoods in the rich, new prairie land.
In 1850 Patrick Fadden sold to Ft. . . . — Map (db m32334) HM|
|Texas (Bee County), Skidmore — 3934 — Papalote Creek|
|A few yards south passes Papalote Creek, crossed by the fierce Karankawa Indians who found kite-shaped pebbles and named it Papalote, which means,"kite-shaped" or "wing-shaped". Along its banks came the leaders of the Power and Hewetson colonists, holding Mexican land grants in the 1830's. On its Rata tributary there is evidence the Mexican Army camped on its way to suppress the Texas Revolution.
By 1857 the town of Papalote had emerged. It was the center of entertainment for the county, . . . — Map (db m32345) HM|
|Texas (Bell County), Bartlett — 313 — Bartlett Electric Cooperative|
|Although the town of Bartlett had regular electric service by 1905, farmers in the surrounding rural area were not supplied with electricity until thirty years later. On May 11, 1935, President Franklin Delano Roosevelt signed an executive order establishing the Rural Electrification Administration (REA) as part of his New Deal emergency relief program. Designed to bring electricity to the rural areas of America, the REA also became a lending agency to help finance such projects.
In 1935, . . . — Map (db m28816) HM|
|Texas (Bell County), Bartlett — 314 — Bartlett Grammar School|
|By the early 1900s Bartlett had become the railroad center of a prosperous cotton growing region. In 1903 the Bartlett Independent School district was created. By 1906-07 the 5-room schoolhouse here proved inadequate to house the district's expanding student enrollment. Bartlett enlarged the districts tax base and passed a bond election. And in 1908-09 a new multi-wing brick building, designed by noted Austin architect A.O. Watson, was built here. When a new high school was erected in 1919, the . . . — Map (db m29035) HM|
|Texas (Bell County), Bartlett — 315 — City of Bartlett|
|Settlers began moving to this area in the 1830s, when Texas was a Republic, but the town of Bartlett was not established until the 1870s. The founders were J. Edward Pietzsch and Capt. John T. Bartlett, for whom the community was named. In 1882 the railroad was extended to Bartlett, making the city a major regional cotton center. Incorporated in 1890, the city is located on the Williamson-Bell County line which divides several homes and commercial buildings, today Bartlett continues to serve as . . . — Map (db m29040) HM|
|Texas (Bell County), Bartlett — 12393 — Donahoe Community|
|Colonists settled in the late 1840s along the fertile Donahoe Creek. Samuel Gibbs Leatherman (1799-1888) arrived in 1854 and opened the first mercantile store. He gave land for the cemetery and brought in the first doctor. In 1880 Leatherman donated land for the schoolhouse. It also served as a church until 1911 when Thomas Jefferson Jones and his wife gave this site for the Baptist church. Donahoe boasted a town square, post office, telephone system and voting precinct. With the coming of good . . . — Map (db m29073) HM|
|Texas (Bell County), Bartlett — 1613 — First Baptist Church of Bartlett|
|Originally known as Pecan Grove Baptist Church, this fellowship was organized in 1873 by the Rev. M.V. Smith, The Rev. H.I. Kimball, and the Rev. G.W. Baines, great-grandfather of United States President Lyndon Baines Johnson. In 1884 the church was moved to Bartlett from the Pecan Grove community (3 mi. W) and the congregational name was changed. Members built a one-room frame sanctuary which was shared with a local Methodist fellowship during the 1890s.
When the membership outgrew the . . . — Map (db m29036) HM|
|Texas (Bell County), Bartlett — 12974 — Site of Booker T. Washington School|
|With overcrowded buildings at the African American school in southwestern Bartlett, the Bartlett trustees bought four buildings from Camp Swift in Bastrop to enlarge the facilities. A bond issue passed in 1948, and plans began for a U-shaped building. Otto Lange served as contractor for the schoolhouse, built here, on the former site of the Bartlett Civilian Conservation Corps Camp.
Gentry "Prof" Powell, Sr., and his wife, who had both served at the original Bartlett Colored School, moved . . . — Map (db m29037) HM|
|Texas (Bell County), Bartlett — 2177 — Site of German-English School — (50 Yards West)|
|Established by German immigrants in 1880, the German-English School was an early school in the Bartlett area. First called Indian Creek School, the name was changed due to popular usage and the nature of instruction, which was in English during the winter and German during the summer. Closely associated with St. John's Lutheran Church, the school shared facilities with the church until 1896, when a church sanctuary was built. The school was closed in 1948, but the building remained in use for community functions until the early 1960s. — Map (db m29039) HM|
|Texas (Bell County), Bartlett — 5038 — St. John Lutheran Church|
|The first Lutheran worship services in this area were held at the home of early German settler J.E. Pietzsch, who had moved from Austin County. In 1880 a small school and church building was erected on land donated by John Bartlett, for whom the nearby town of Bartlett was named.
St. John Lutheran Church was formally organized on December 16, 1883. A year later the Rev. Immanuel Glatzle arrived to become the first resident pastor. By 1896 the congregation had acquired more land and erected a . . . — Map (db m29038) HM|
|Texas (Bell County), Bartlett — 5126 — Stockton Family Cemetery|
|The Stockton Family Cemetery is located on land originally granted in 1859 by Texas governor Hardin R. Runnels to Moses Allen, a veteran of the Siege of Bexar. Douglas Hayden Stockton and his wife Mary Elizabeth (White) brought their family to Bell County in 1870. With partner J.O. Darby, the Stocktons purchased over 1,200 acres of the Moses Allen land grant that year. The Stocktons soon built a residence near this site.
This cemetery was established in April 1890 upon the death of the . . . — Map (db m28455) HM|
|Texas (Bell County), Bartlett — 5891 — Woman's Wednesday Club|
|What began in 1902 as an idea to organize a women's club with a focus on literature and history became a reality in April 1903, with formation of Woman's Study Club. Chartered with nineteen members under the leadership of Mrs. Vena (Holzgraf) Hightower, the Woman's Wednesday Club of Bartlett was federated with the state organization in 1903. Over the years, the group has sponsored numerous community programs. Among its accomplishments are sponsorship of early Red Cross efforts and establishment of the town's first public library. — Map (db m29041) HM|
|Texas (Bell County), Belton — 357 — Bell County|
|Settlement began on Lampasas River, 1847. Created Jan. 22, organized Aug. 1, 1850. Named for Peter Hansbrough Bell (1812-1898), native of Virginia; veteran of Battle of San Jacinto; served in Somervell expedition to stop Mexico's Raids into Texas; officer in Mexican War; Governor of Texas 1849-1853; U.S. Congressman, 1853-1857. First county seat Nolanville. Moved Dec. 16, 1851, to Belton. By 1860 population was 4,799. Sent 12 troop companies into Civil War. Furnished goods from flour mills, hat . . . — Map (db m29379) HM|
|Texas (Bell County), Belton — 12575 — Gulf, Colorado and Santa Fe Railway Planing Mill|
|Built in 1912 at the Santa Fe rail yards in Temple, this planing mill was part of a complex of buildings that housed repair facilities for the railroad. Workers at the mill manufactured replacement parts for wooden elements of the Santa Fe's boxcars and early wooden passenger cars. Heavy timbers used in the building's construction were assembled in such a manner to handle the pounding of heavy machinery inside. In use until the late 1940s, the mill was moved to this location in 1989 to save it . . . — Map (db m29380) HM|
|Texas (Bell County), Belton — 3100 — Little River Fort|
|A stockade and blockhouse of the Republic of Texas. Built in November, 1836, by a unit of some 20 Rangers under Lt. George B. Erath (soldier-statesman for whom Erath County was named).
By Christmas they had erected 7 or 8 cabins, a blockhouse and a picket stockade, which enclosed about 1/2 acre of land. A spring nearby supplied water. Rations included an ear of corn daily, game, honey and a little coffee.
The Rangers withdrew about May, 1837. Later the fort was used by settlers, hunters . . . — Map (db m29378) HM|
|Texas (Bell County), Belton — 5859 — Wilson Van Dyke — (Dec 25, 1817 - Aug. 3, 1881)|
|A native of South Carolina, Wilson Van Dyke served as a member of the Somervell Expedition, which was organized in 1842 to expel the Mexican Army from Texas. Under command of Col. W.S. Fisher, he crossed the Rio Grande and was captured. A survivor of the "Black Bean Episode", Van Dyke was imprisoned near Mexico City until Sept. 1844. He later participated in muster activities during the Civil War and died at his home in Bell County. — Map (db m29382) HM|
|Texas (Bell County), Holland — 15915 — Holland Community|
|Present-day Holland has its origins in three different settlements. Settlers first came here during the 1830s to farm the area’s fertile soil. A community named Mountain Home (0.5 mi SE) formed along Darrs Creek and included a school, church, businesses and a cotton gin. A post office opened in 1870, with James Shaw serving as postmaster.
In 1874, James R. “Rube” Holland (1847-1912), a Civil War veteran, came to Bell county from Arkansas. In 1878, he built a steam-powered . . . — Map (db m75700) HM|
|Texas (Bell County), Salado — 113 — Alexander's Distillery|
|On this site in 1861-65, the William R. Alexander Distillery met a wartime need in Texas.
May 28, 1862, Governor Francis R. Lubbock closed all Texas distilleries, to save grain. Army calls for medicinal liquor (for opiate and stimulant purposes) soon caused him to order a few, including Alexander's, re-opened.
In drastic medical shortages, Texans throughout the Civil War gave such help as they could. Bandages, sewing silk, lint, polk weed, peach bark, barilla and other home medical aids went to various military units. — Map (db m29344) HM|
|Texas (Bell County), Salado — 205 — Armstrong-Adams House|
|Dr. David H. Armstrong, who served as one of the first trustees of the Salado public free schools, and his wife, Julia, built this home between 1869 and 1872. It later became the residence of a succession of Salado doctors, including Dr. D.G. Adams and Dr. J.E. Guthrie. The central cottage plan residence features elements of the Greek Revival style, such as the Classical portico with Doric piers over the entryway. — Map (db m29257) HM|
|Texas (Bell County), Salado — 3237 — Birthplace of White House Aide Mary Elizabeth Carpenter|
|Great-granddaughter of builders. Daughter of Thomas S. and Mary Elizabeth (Robertson) Sutherland.
First woman vice president of student body, University of Texas. Married Leslie Carpenter; has 2 children. In 1954 was president Women's National Press Club.
First woman ever to serve as Executive Assistant to the Vice President of the United States, 1961. First newswoman to be staff director and Press Secretary to a First Lady, Mrs. Lyndon B. Johnson.
Outstanding Women of Texas Series — Map (db m29311) HM|
|Texas (Bell County), Salado — 13676 — Capt. Milton Wesley Damron|
|Milton Wesley Damron (1825-1887), an early settler and Salado public servant, was born in Tennessee and came to Texas as part of the Mercer Colony. He arrived in the 1840s and shortly afterwards married Sarah Pennington. When original settlement plans in the colony failed to materialize, he moved to the Milam District in what is now Bell County. Damron served as the county's first tax assessor and joined the Confederate Army. As a captain, he led a cavalry unit that served in the Indian . . . — Map (db m29350) HM|
|Texas (Bell County), Salado — 11722 — Dodd's Creek Bridge|
|One of many patented truss designs developed by American inventors and engineers in the mid- to late-19th century, this 87-foot lenticular truss bridge represents an unusual truss type in the United States. The lenticular design features a curved top and bottom chord which forms a lens shape. The patent, issued to William O. Douglas of Connecticut in 1878, was the only one given for a lenticular truss bridge in the United States. Most were constructed in the New England area and in New York . . . — Map (db m29256) HM|
|Texas (Bell County), Salado — 12600 — Dr. Samuel J. and Charlotte H. Jones|
|Educators Samuel Jackson (1858-1918) and Charlotte Hallaran (d. 1904) Jones taught at Salado College in 1884-1885. In 1890, the Joneses opened Thomas Arnold High School in the former Salado College buildings. Charlotte died in 1904, leaving five young children, but S. J. Jones remained as head of the private school until 1913. In 1915, Gov. James E. Ferguson, a former student at Salado College, appointed Jones to the University of Texas Board of Regents. Embroiled in the governor's controversy . . . — Map (db m29375) HM|
|Texas (Bell County), Salado — 13331 — Dr. Welborn Barton and Louisa Adeline Barton|
|A graduate of the medical department of Kentucky's Transylvania University, South Carolina native Dr. Wellborn Barton (1821-1883) came to Texas in the late 1840s. After two years of practicing medicine in Bastrop County, he returned to South Carolina to wed Louisa Adeline Cox (1835-1920). They came with other South Carolinians to Burnet County in 1854 and moved to Salado in 1865 after he served in the Confederate Army. He was a doctor, a trustee of Salado College and a mason. Louisa served as . . . — Map (db m29349) HM|
|Texas (Bell County), Salado — 11723 — First Baptist Church of Salado|
|A Baptist revival was held on the banks of Salado Creek as early as 1854. By about 1860, members of area Baptist, Methodist, Presbyterian and Church of Christ denominations were meeting in an ecumenical house of worship. Each group held an all-day service on successive Sundays.
On May 25, 1864, eleven men and women organized the Salado Baptist Church of Christ in the chapel of Salado College. Charter members of this group, later renamed First Baptist Church of Salado, were James L. Smith, . . . — Map (db m29083) HM|
|Texas (Bell County), Salado — 2044 — Fowler House|
|Built 1872 by Josiah Fowler, a settler from Tennessee, Confederate veteran, co-editor of "Fowler's Arithmetic", and a college teacher. — Map (db m29307) HM|
|Texas (Bell County), Salado — 279 — George Washington Baines House|
|Built in the 1860s, this house was the residence of the Rev. George Washington Baines (1809-83) from 1870 to 1883. A pioneer Baptist preacher, missionary, editor, and educator, the Rev. Baines was the great-grandfather of United States President Lyndon Baines Johnson. The one-and-one-half-story frame house features characteristics of the Greek Revival style, including the distinctive front porch with square columns, transoms, and delicate ornamentation. — Map (db m29313) HM|
|Texas (Bell County), Salado — 14567 — Hermon and Margaret L. Aiken|
|New Hampshire native Hermon (Herman) Aiken worked in Illinois and Tennessee before moving to New Orleans. There, he served as a ship’s captain taking supplies to Galveston in support of the Texas Revolution. He lived in Texas by 1840. In 1846, with five children from his marriage to Mary Ann (Taylor), he wed German-born Margaret E. (Louchious) and in 1851 settled near Belton on Cedar Creek. The couple had seven children, and Hermon worked as a surveyor. The family moved to Salado in 1859, and . . . — Map (db m29351) HM|
|Texas (Bell County), Salado — 2535 — Home of Elijah Sterling Clack Robertson|
|This house was built 1856-1860 by Elijah Sterling Clack Robertson
1820-1879 Texas pioneer, patriot, soldier and jurist, and one of the founders of Salado College. — Map (db m29312) HM|
|Texas (Bell County), Salado — 5586 — Home of Orville Thomas Tyler|
|Pioneer Texan--County Judge
Member of the legislature
President of the board of
trustees of Salado College
Built in 1857 — Map (db m29250) HM|
|Texas (Bell County), Salado — Home of Wellborn Barton|
|Home of Wellborn Barton 1821-1883; Pioneer physician of this region. For many years a trustee of Salado College, built 1866. (John Hendrickson, Contractor)
Old military road and Chisholm cattle trail passed here. — Map (db m29255) HM|
|Texas (Bell County), Salado — 13500 — Louisa Adeline (Addie) Barton|
|When Addie Barton (1858-1921) was seven years old, her parents, Dr. Welborn and Louisa Barton, moved to Salado so their children could attend Salado College. Upon graduation, Addie became a teacher. She felt called to become a missionary in 1883 and went to Saltillo, Mexico the next year. Her home church, then called Salado Baptist Church of Christ, commissioned her. She taught at the Madero Institute and other day and boarding schools for girls. Due to the unstable conditions of the Mexican . . . — Map (db m29249) HM|
|Texas (Bell County), Salado — 3161 — M. H. Denman Cabin|
|M.H. Denman built cabin 1867 (15 mi. NW), of handhewn, square cedar logs joined by wooden pegs; has fireplace of native stone; restored 1955. — Map (db m29259) HM|
|Texas (Bell County), Salado — 3189 — Main Street Bridges|
|A number of bridges have been built over Salado Creek on Main Street since 1870. After the town of Salado was laid out in 1859, citizens crossed the creek using various combinations of rocks and logs. When local citizens and students at Salado College began to demand that a proper bridge be constructed across the creek, town officials voted to issue bonds to fund the project.
The first bridge, built in 1868-69, was constructed by local volunteers. The cable wire suspension footbridge, with . . . — Map (db m29081) HM|
|Texas (Bell County), Salado — 4348 — Major Archibald Johnson Rose — 1830 - 1903|
|Before migrating to Texas, A. J. Rose made a fortune in the 1849 California Gold Rush. In 1857 he and his wife Sallie (Austin) brought their family from Missouri to Travis County, Texas. Later they settled in San Saba County, where Rose ran a mill and started a school. He served in the local militia, took part in frontier Indian battles, and was a Confederate Army Major.
In 1870 Rose moved to Salado. At this site he built a two-story home where his 11 children grew up. A successful and . . . — Map (db m29345) HM|
|Texas (Bell County), Salado — 3614 — Norton-Orgain House|
|Built about 1872 by Edward R.A. Buckles, this I-plan vernacular house exhibits Classical and Victorian detailing. Its two-story gallery features Doric columns on the ground level, which contrast with the Victorian turned wood columns and balusters located above.
Residing here only a short time, Edward Buckles sold the house in 1873 to Colonel Nimrod Lindsay Norton (d. 1903) and his wife Mary (Hall). Colonel Norton, a Confederate veteran, was active in agricultural activities during his . . . — Map (db m29254) HM|
|Texas (Bell County), Salado — 159 — Old Anderson Place|
|Built 1860 at edge of an old Indian campground, by James B. Anderson, one of town’s founders and a school trustee in Salado. Community leaders, lawyers and doctors have lived here.
Boarding here in 1883 while a student at Old Salado College was James E. Ferguson, 1915-1917 Governor of Texas—and husband of the first woman Governor.
Under paneling are cedar walls. Window glass is hand blown. — Map (db m29252) HM|
|Texas (Bell County), Salado — Old Salado Graveyard|
|This burial ground was likely in use about the time a U.S. Post Office was established in Salado Springs in 1852. In 1854 Col. Elijah Sterling C. Robertson purchased a large tract of land north and south of the springs that included the cemetery. It is generally accepted that the original 2.5 acre graveyard was part of 100 acres that he donated in 1859 for the creation of Salado College and the town of Salado. Additional land was acquired through purchase and donation over the years and a . . . — Map (db m29348) HM|
|Texas (Bell County), Salado — 2344 — Robert Bonner Halley — (May 14, 1823 - October 4, 1875)|
|A native of Georgia, Robert B. Halley brought his family to this area about 1853. With partner T.J. Eubanks, he operated a liquor distillery and a flour and grist mill on the Lampasas River. Halley served as Bell County Commissioner in 1859 and as a delegate to the State Democratic Party Convention the following year. He recruited and served as captain of a volunteer cavalry unit during the Civil War. Elected Bell County Sheriff in 1874, he died while in office in 1875. Halley and his wife Lydia (1831-1928) were the parents of eight children. — Map (db m29374) HM|
|Texas (Bell County), Salado — 4305 — Robertson Home|
|Built by Col. E.S.C. Robertson and wife, Mary Elizabeth (Dickey).
Rare ante-bellum plantation complex, comprising home, servant quarters, land, family cemetery, stables. Still a working ranch.
The house, occupied by fifth generation of Robertsons, is an example of Classical Revival style. Shows Palladian influence in its recessed porches and gallery rooms forming terminal pavillions balancing a central gabled portico. — Map (db m29310) HM|
|Texas (Bell County), Salado — 4491 — Salado Cemetery|
|Established 1856 on 2.5-acre site given by E.S.C. Robertson.
Distinguished Texans interred here include the Rev. G.W. Baines, great-grandfather of President Lyndon B. Johnson; the Rev. and Mrs. J.E. Ferguson, parents of Governor James E. Ferguson; A.J. Rose, Grand Master of A.F.&A.M. of Texas and trustee of Texas A.&M. College; J.L. Smith and S.J. Jones, both presidents of Salado College (1859-1885).
Other graves here are for veterans of U.S.-Mexican War, Civil War, Spanish-American War, World War I and World War II. — Map (db m29376) HM|
|Texas (Bell County), Salado — 4492 — Salado Church of Christ|
|Founded in March 1859, this congregation first met in a brush arbor on the north bank of Salado Creek. The first two elders were James Anderson and J.W. Vickrey, both of whom were instrumental in the organization of Salado College. A frame sanctuary, erected on North Main Street in 1875, was destroyed by fire in 1908. A second frame structure served the congregation until 1961, when it was replaced by a brick sanctuary. A new building was erected in 1988. This church has served the people of Salado for over a century. — Map (db m29258) HM|
|Texas (Bell County), Salado — 4493 — Salado Creek|
|Gushing limestone springs, abundant fish, flowers, and trees have long made the banks of Salado Creek a good home site.
Indians camped beside stream; Spanish explorers named it; the first Anglo-American settler was Archibald Willingham, 1851.
College and town of Salado were built on creek, 1860. Stream once had 8 mills, thus was county industrial center. Chisholm Cattle Trail crossed it, as did Dallas-San Antonio Stage Line.
The 35-mile creek is one of many which rise at the Balcones . . . — Map (db m29082) HM|