|Utah (Beaver County), Beaver — N-404 — Beaver Opera House|
|The Beaver Opera House, built between 1908 and 1909, helped mark the beginning of the local citizens’ desire to build a “New Beaver” that would be the envy of other communities. The board of directors of the opera house were quoted as saying “...nothing is too good for the people of Beaver...” It was designed and built by the architectural firm of Liljenberg and Maeser, and is an impressive example of a Classical Renewal Style building constructed of tuff, the pink stone . . . — Map (db m1429) HM|
|Utah (Beaver County), Beaver — N-603 — Beaver Relief Society Hall — Utah Historic Site|
|Built in 1896, the Beaver Relief Society Hall is one of only two buildings in Beaver associated with the Relief Society, the organization for women in the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. The building was used for general gathering purposes by the Relief Society and was later used by the Beaver Board of Education and a feed and grain firm. Today, the building has been renovated and is now the home of the Beaver City Fire Department. — Map (db m75580) HM|
|Utah (Beaver County), Beaver — 64 — Beaver Stake Tabernacle|
|On this site in 1865-66 a tabernacle was erected by the pioneers. Built of local brick, lumber and stone. It was of pioneer architecture with a large assembly hall, gallery, full basement, a tower and large bell. This building was used for church and public gatherings. Later a church school was conducted in the basement. After 76 years of service it was torn down and on this historic spot now stands the home of Daughters of Utah Pioneers. — Map (db m75614) HM|
|Utah (Beaver County), Beaver — 570 — Beaver Territorial Courthouse|
|Beaver Territorial Courthouse is considered one of the finest examples of Pioneer architecture. The architect, K.A. Kletting, designed the building in the Queen Ann style with Victorian overtones. The courthouse was constructed under the direction of William Stokes, a soldier of the Union army, stationed at nearby Fort Cameron. Constructed of local materials, the courthouse was built between 1877 and 1882, twenty-one years after Beaver was settled. The original cost of construction was $10,900. . . . — Map (db m75581) HM|
|Utah (Beaver County), Beaver — Enoch E. Cowdell House — Utah Historic Site|
|The Enoch E. Cowdell house, named after the original owner, was constructed around 1873 with a hall parlor type floor plan. Although the hall parlor was one of the earliest housing types in Utah, it continued to be a popular floor plan (particularly with an "L" addition off the rear) into the twentieth century. The black rock construction materials and the nearly unimpaired architectural integrity of this house make it a good example of pioneer architecture in Beaver. The house has received . . . — Map (db m75572) HM|
|Utah (Beaver County), Beaver — 67 — Fort Cameron — (Located 2 miles east)|
|Established as the post of Beaver, May 15, 1872, by the 8th U.S. Infantry, Major John D. Wilkins, commanding. The military reservation, declared May 12, 1873, comprised two and two-thirds square miles. The name was changed July 1, 1874, to Fort Cameron, in honor of Colonel James Cameron who fell at Bull Run, July 21, 1861. The post was abandoned May 1, 1883, and the improvements sold to John R. Murdock and Philo T. Farnsworth. The L.D.S. Church conducted there the Beaver Branch of the Brigham Young Academy (later University) from 1898 to 1922. — Map (db m75575) HM|
|Utah (Beaver County), Beaver — 327 — Fort Cameron - Murdock Academy|
|In 1872-73 a two and two-thirds mile square, protective military reservation was established following the request of C.M. Hawley, Associate Justice, Utah Territory. Built of native rock and lumber, it received 250 troops Sept. 7, 1873, Major John B. Wilkins, Commander. Fort abandoned May 1883. L.D.S. Church purchased one-half. J.R. Murdock, P.T. Farnsworth gave the other half as a site for the B.Y.U. Beaver Branch. Murdock Academy opened Sept. 26, 1898. Closed 1922. — Map (db m75578) HM|
|Utah (Beaver County), Beaver — Beaver-1 — Grimshaw Home — Utah Historic Homes|
Duckworth Grimshaw, 1877
The Harley Fotheringhams,
Original Portion Built
of Black Volcanic Rock
— Map (db m75574) HM|
|Utah (Beaver County), Beaver — Joseph Tattersall House — Utah Historic Site|
|The house was built c. 1877 for Joseph Tattersall, an early settler of Beaver City. It is a one-and-a-half-story tall building constructed of black rock--a hard, dense volcanic stone that is commonly found in the nearby foothills in small outcroppings; it was a fairly common historic building material used in Beaver. The house features a steeply pitched roof, end-wall chimneys, two dormer windows, center gable with a door, and two bay windows that are located on the main facade. The home is the . . . — Map (db m75573) HM|
|Utah (Beaver County), Beaver — 68 — Lee’s Ranch Indian Raid|
|Hostile Indians raided a small settlement in this vicinity Oct. 27, 1866, centering their attack on the house where Mr. and Mrs. J.P. Lee, their two daughters, and eight year old son, a young Miss Hall and Joseph Lillywhite were barricaded, fighting desperately. During the day long battle, Lillywhite was seriously wounded. Lee killed three Indians, and the house was badly damaged, partly by fire brands. Miss Hall and the eight year old son escaped and secretly journeyed by separate trails to . . . — Map (db m75616) HM|
|Utah (Beaver County), Beaver — Philo T. Farnsworth|
|Philo Taylor Farnsworth was born August 19, 1906 in a log cabin near Beaver, Utah. At an early age, he became familiar with the various components of the telephone and the gramaphone. By age 12, he had a thorough understanding of electronics. In 1922, at age 15, now living in Rigby, Idaho, he developed the concept of the electronic transmission of images, and drew mathmatical diagrams to show how this could be done.
In 1927, in San Francisco, California, after having invented and . . . — Map (db m1421) HM|
|Utah (Beaver County), Beaver — 147 — Pioneer First Camp Ground|
|Near this site, Feb. 6, 1856, in zero weather, Beaver pioneers made their first camp. Prior to this, the land had been rejected as unfit for cultivation, but the amount of water available gave courage. At a mass meeting in Parowan some of the more venturesome families were selected. Led by Captain Simeon F. Howd, Wilson G. Nowers, James P. Anderson, John Henderson, Ross G. Rogers, J.M. Davis, Lorin W. Babbit, William Wanlass and James Low they faced the seemingly impossible and redeemed the valley. — Map (db m75615) HM|
|Utah (Beaver County), Beaver — Pioneer Park|
|Dedicated to the memory of the valiant pioneers who erected the first woolen mills in Southern Utah in 1870. It was a busy mecca, with wagons coming and going from all over the State with their goods to trade. — Map (db m75576) HM|
|Utah (Beaver County), Beaver — 31 — The Beaver Woolen Mills — (Incorporated 1869)|
|On this site in 1870, in a three story building, 60 x 120 feet, the first Woolen Mills in Southern Utah operated. Machinery was brought here from New England by railroad and wagon. John Ashworth and others schooled in England in the art of wool manufacturing formed the corporation. For many years this mill was the main factor in the growth and prosperity of Beaver and surrounding territory. It was destroyed by fire in 1920. — Map (db m75577) HM|
|Utah (Beaver County), Beaver — N-211 — Thomas Frazer House — Utah Historic Site|
|This house was constructed in three sections by Thomas Frazer, the local stonemason, as his own home. The middle section (1870) and the east section (1872) are built of black basalt. The west section (c. 1890) is constructed of pink tuf. Thomas Frazer, born in 1821, was a native of Scotland who came to Utah as a convert to the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. He arrived in Beaver in 1868 with his family, where he and his apprentices built many of the stone structures which are found in the community. — Map (db m75570) HM|
|Utah (Beaver County), Cove Fort — 6 — Cove Fort|
|Completed April 12, 1867, by direction of Brigham Young, with L.D.S. Church funds, as a travelers way station and refuge from Indians. Ira N. Hinckley built and maintained it as a hostelry and residence until 1877. A well within the fort provided culinary water. Cove Creek supplied irrigation. One of its 12 original room
s was used as a telegraph station. Early in 1861 Charles Willden built 3 rooms and a dugout, known as Willden's Fort. This was a convenient campsite for President Young and . . . — Map (db m75519) HM|
|Utah (Beaver County), Cove Fort — Fort Willden — A Farm and Way Station|
|The first settlers in this area were the family of Charles W. and Eleanor Willden. They were English converts to the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints who had come to Utah in 1849. Because Charles was an iron worker, Brigham Young called him to work in the Cedar City iron mission in the 1850s. Willden, like many others, camped here at Cove Creek on the way to his assignment. After the iron works closed down, Charles acquired 160 acres here to establish a farm and way station.
The . . . — Map (db m75518) HM|
|Utah (Box Elder County), Beaver Dam — 334 — Hansen Cooperative Dairy|
|The Box Elder Cooperative Association was established in 1867 -68 by Lorenzo Snow, under direction of Brigham Young. In 1871 a dairy, said to be the first in Utah, was built south of Beaver Dam, near a cold water spring, Christian Hansen, operator. From 600 cows, some butter and 50,000 pounds of cheese was produced yearly. The co-op closed in 1878 and Mr. Hansen purchased the dairy his son, Willard, bought and operated it until 1893. — Map (db m44467) HM|
|Utah (Box Elder County), Brigham City — Chinese Arch — A Monument in Limestone|
Ancient Lake Bonneville once covered this area, including the flanks of Promontory Range. The waves washing against the ancient shore eroded fault-fractured rocks, creating the arch in the 300-million-year-old Oquirrh Formation.
More than likely, Chinese Arch was named in recognition of the presence and contribution made by the Chinese who worked on the transcontinental railroad. While the arch was created by forces of nature, today it stands as a memorial to the Chinese who worked for . . . — Map (db m69125) HM|
|Utah (Box Elder County), Corinne — Corinne - Pioneer Railroad Town|
Looking toward the immediate completion of the first Transcontinental Railroad, Corinne Townsite was laid out in the Spring of 1869.
Railroad Financiers, Real Estate Promoters, Businessmen & Gambling Sharks, launched a boom to make Corinne the shipping, trading & amusement center of the Rocky Mts.
Although Congress had planned the junction of the Union Pacific & Central Pacific Railroads at or near Ogden, the Union Pacific designated Corinne as the Freight Junction for the rich mines of . . . — Map (db m72943) HM|
|Utah (Box Elder County), Promontory — 10 Miles of Track|
In One Day.
April 28th 1869 — Map (db m4289) HM|
|Utah (Box Elder County), Promontory — Golden Spike — National Historic Site|
|" The last rails laid, the spike is driven,
The Pacific Railroad is completed."
Here at Promontory, Utah, at 12:47 P.M.
on May 10, 1869. The driving of a
Golden Spike completed the first
transcontinental railroad. Climax of a
dramatic railroad-building race between
the Union Pacific building from the east
and the Central Pacific building from
the west. This event symbolized
attainment of a long sought goal - a
direct transportation route to the
Pacific Ocean and the China trade. . . . — Map (db m13488) HM|
|Utah (Box Elder County), Promontory — The Southern Pacific Monument — Golden Spike National Historic Site|
An Icon Restored
In 1965, the National Park Service assumed ownership of the aging monument, which had been damaged by years of weathering and vandalism. The interior had also been severely damaged by ground water that had wicked up into the monument through its buried base. Early restoration attempts unintentionally contributed to the damage by using materials that did not allow for evaporation of water trapped inside the monument. Based on state of the art technology, the National . . . — Map (db m67076) HM|
|Utah (Box Elder County), Promontory — The Track that United the States|
|A sharp eye can still pick out the marks of early railroad building along this rugged escarpment, even if the original iron rails and timber ties themselves are gone.
These fading remnants tell the story of a daunting engineering challenge—linking the Western states to the rest of the nation. Inscribed here, amid the sagebrush and bedrock of northern Utah is a tale of grand dreams and brute work, greed and glory.
(US Map Caption)
To join Utah and California to the . . . — Map (db m69108) HM|
|Utah (Cache County), Hyde Park — In Memory Of The Hyde Park Settlers|
|Erected in honor of those pioneers who helped settle Hyde Park. This Settlement was founded in 1860 by the following list.|
William Hyde, William Higgensen, Robert Daines, Lydia Wilkinson, Anthony Metcalf, James Hancey, Armenius Neeley, Thomas Rogers, Elijah Seamons, James Thurston, George Seamons, Niels Nielsen, Henry Ashcroft, James Mack, Michael Molen, George Thomas, Simpson Molen, John Bloomfield, Samuel Seamons, Charles Reese, Mary Seamons, Peter Crough, Patterson Griffite. — Map (db m44498) HM
|Utah (Cache County), Logan — 102 North Main — Logan Historic Site|
|This structure is built with beautiful, gray brick that has been well preserved. The two-story flat roofed building has a classical emphasis. The original front entrance of double doors was crowned with a stone engraving depicting a pioneer scene which emphasized the hometown roots of the original company. The ground on which the building sits was the original location of the second banking institution in Logan. The year 1892 brought “gentile” George H. Champ to Logan to found Utah . . . — Map (db m44420) HM|
|Utah (Cache County), Logan — 141 North Main — S.E. Needham Jewelers — Utah Historic Site|
|This building, constructed in 1904, was first occupied by John H. Anderson who operated a general merchandise store. The store continued to function until the mid - 1960’s and sold shoes, dry goods, groceries, and clothing. The original owner, Louie Thomas, was assistant instructor at the Utah Agricultural College in Logan. S.E. Needham Jewelers, founded in 1896, is Utah’s oldest jewelry store and is known for service, quality, and integrity. This building is S.E. Needham’s fourth location in . . . — Map (db m44448) HM|
|Utah (Cache County), Logan — 160 North Main — Federal Building — Logan Historic Site|
|This large brick structure, built in 1911, is classical in style and virtually unaltered since construction. The top of the building is crowned by a heavy, classic cornice. The front entrance is sided by pilasters and topped with a modified Roman arch. The building’s style and age are it’s main features. It was built for U.S. Government functions including a Post Office, District Court, and the County Clerk’s office. The adjacent east-west street was named Federal Avenue because of this . . . — Map (db m44429) HM|
|Utah (Cache County), Logan — 19 North Main — Bluebird Restaurant — Logan Historic Site|
|Built c. 1890, this two-story, dark brick structure is crowned with a cream colored Federal-Greek cornice. Below the cornice are three French doors with transoms and small, Latin balconies. Large transom windows at the mezzanine have segmented brick. This handsome building once housed a yard goods and clothing store. The Bluebird Restaurant was first begun in 1914 but has been at this location since 1923. Stepping inside takes you back to that era with its dark marble and wood entry, imported . . . — Map (db m44424) HM|
|Utah (Cache County), Logan — 220 West Center — Logan Center Street Historic District|
|Constructed in 1921, this two-story home is an excellent example of the Prairie School style popular between 1901 and 1925. The early of Frank Lloyd Wright gave rise to the Prairie School style by creating forms that were precise and angular with an emphasis on horizontality. The house, designed by architect Fred W. Hodgson (1886-1930), is an interpretation of Wright's 1907 “Fireproof House for $5,000.” Hodgon's four-square design incorporates Prarie School style characteristics . . . — Map (db m44421) HM|
|Utah (Cache County), Logan — 5 South Main — Thatcher Brothers Bank & Opera House — Logan Historic Site|
|Wells Fargo Bank now occupies the site of the Thatcher Brothers Bank & Opera House, which was constructed in 1890. The Thatcher Brothers Bank was the first one to open in the valley. The Opera House was located on the second floor and could seat 800 people. Theater and opera productions as well as political and civic gatherings continued here until the afternoon of April 17, 1912, when fire broke out and progressed until it destroyed the entire structure. This Chicago School style building was . . . — Map (db m44426) HM|
|Utah (Cache County), Logan — 75 South Main — Utah Historic Site|
|This property was owned in the late 1800’s and early 1900’s by Luna Young Thatcher, a daughter of Brigham Young by his first wife. Luna Young Thatcher owned the entire corner and, by all reports, had the area beautifully landscaped. In 1912 the Logan Rapid Transit Company, which was created by David Eccles, was in need of additional space for their Main Street depot. In 1915 L.Y. Thatcher sold this corner of the block to the Ogden-Logan-Idaho Railroad for $12,000. The Ogden-Logan-Idaho Railroad . . . — Map (db m44447) HM|
|Utah (Cache County), Logan — 99 North Main — Logan Historic Site|
This building was one of the earliest general merchandise stores built in Logan, and it continued as such until 1872. The owner sold the building and his merchandise and joined the historically significant ‘cooperative’ movement sponsored by the Mormon Church. From 1872 to 1903, the building housed what was one of the most important businesses in the history of the valley, Zion’s Cooperative Mercantile Institution: The building survived a major fire and was then divided into two. For 70 . . . — Map (db m44481) HM|
|Utah (Cache County), Logan — 1 — Bullen Center — 37 South Main — Utah Historic Site|
|This large, two-story, brick building is one of Logan’s early examples of commercial architecture, with some Victorian embellishments added. The building was constructed in 1902 by George W. Thatcher. KVNU, the first radio station in Logan, got it’s start in the area above the entrance to the theatre; this is also where the local Republican Party held its first few meetings. The building was originally built to house the Studebaker Wagon Company. George W. Thatcher and some associates decided . . . — Map (db m45819) HM|
|Utah (Cache County), Logan — Cache County Court House|
|Restored in honor of pioneer Logan residents David Eccles 1849-1912 Ellen Stoddard Eccles 1867-1957
David Eccles, a Scottish immigrant to Utah became one of the state’s most prominent business leaders. His extensive enterprises laid the foundation for the early economic growth of Cache Valley and the Intermountain West. He and his wife, Ellen Stoddard Eccles of Wellsville, raised their family of nine children at the mansion he built on Center Street in Logan. Following David’s sudden . . . — Map (db m44432) HM|
|Utah (Cache County), Logan — 9 — Cache County Relic Hall|
|Erected in 1861 by Hezekiah Thatcher, assisted by Robert Crookston, Robert Murdock and John Hill, who quarried the building stones in Green Canyon and place them in these walls, hand made shingles covered the roof, the building was originally used as a barn. The lower portion as a livestock stable, and the upper portion as hay loft and carriage room. It was later used as one of the school buildings of the Brigham Young College. In 1926 when the B.Y.C. closed the church leased it to Cache County . . . — Map (db m44436) HM|
|Utah (Cache County), Logan — 2 — Cache Valley|
Known to the Indians as Willow Valley was renamed by fur trappers and traders in the winter of 1825-1826. James Bridger led the first trappers to a winter encampment near here in 1824 towards December 1825. William L. Sublette, in charge of Gen William H. Ashley’s Mountain Men, ordered many of the seasons furs cached in this vicinity.
Those interested in the furs stored to await General Ashley’s Merchandise caravan of 1826, and similar caravans in subsequent years, were William L. Sublette, . . . — Map (db m44438) HM|
|Utah (Cache County), Logan — S-9 — Caine Lyric Theater — Utah Historic Site|
First used as theatre in 1913.
Original Owner: George W. Thatcher and B.G. Thatcher
Renovation made possible by Utah State University, Thatcher families and community of Logan. — Map (db m44441) HM|
|Utah (Cache County), Logan — S-20 — David Eccles Home — Utah Historic Site|
|Built 1907 of brick and white stone trim for David and Ellen Stoddard Eccles. Architects: Monson & Schaub of Logan. Renovation 1972 by S. Eugene Needham and Christie Smith Needham. — Map (db m44442) HM|
|Utah (Cache County), Logan — First Dawn To Dusk Flight Across America|
|Colonel Russell L Maughan of Logan, Utah, made the first daylight flight across the continent on June 23, 1924. Flying solo in a Curtis PW-8 pursuit aircraft, Maughan, then a Lieutenant in the U.S. Air Service, left Mitchell Field, New York, at dawn and arrived a Crissy Field, San Francisco, at 9:40 p.m., P.S.T., one minute before official dusk.|
Winging his way to destiny, Maughan flew from the Atlantic to the Pacific Ocean in 21 hours 48 minutes and 30 seconds, averaging approximately 150 . . . — Map (db m44451) HM
|Utah (Cache County), Logan — First Hospital — 203 West Center — Utah Historic Site|
This house was built in 1890 for John R. and Bartha Blanchard. In 1903, this building was converted into the first hospital in the Cache Valley with a capacity of seven beds in four rooms. In 1916, it was sold to the Presbyterian Church and used as a boarding house for the female students of the church’s New Jersey Academy.|
Characteristic features of this Victorian eclectic style home include the irregular plan, asymmetrical façade, and varied silhouettes resulting from dormers, gables, . . . — Map (db m44446) HM
|Utah (Cache County), Logan — Julia Budge Nibley House — Logan Historic Site|
|Built in 1914 - 15 by Charles W. Nibley for his third wife, Julia Budge, this two story house is an excellent example of the Prairie School style popular in Utah during 1905-25. The house was reportedly designed by Pope and Burton, architects. C.W. was active in the development of the lumber industry, railroads, and sugar factories in Utah. He had three wives and 24 children. C.W. lived with his first wife in Salt Lake City, and his second wife lived across the street from this house. Born in . . . — Map (db m44427) HM|
|Utah (Cache County), Logan — Merlin J. Olsen|
|Honoring Tradition Securing Our Future
MERLIN J OLSEN
September 15,1940 - March 11, 2010
Utah State University’s football field at Romney Stadium as named the Merlin Olsen Field at Romney Stadium on December 5, 2009 by President Stan L. Albrecht.
The statue was unveiled on October 23, 2010. In attendance were many of Merlin and Susan Olsen’s closest family, friends, and Aggie teammates.
Blair Buswell, the official bust sculptor for the Pro Football Hall . . . — Map (db m44455) HM|
|Utah (Cache County), Logan — N - 41 — Old Main Building — Utah Historic Site|
|Construction began 1889.
First used in 1890 but not
completed until 1902.
Designed by C.L. Thompson.
Modified by Carl C. Schaub 1892.
Oldest continuously used building
at an institution of higher
education in Utah. — Map (db m44418) HM|
|Utah (Cache County), Logan — 174 — Pioneer Mills of Cache Valley|
|In 1860 two grist mills were built and operated in this valley. One at Wellsville by Daniel P. Hill and the other at Millville by Esias Edwards and Leroy Kent. The first burrstones obtained from Black Rock, Utah proved to be too soft for grinding so some were imported from France. The stones embodied in the monument were salvaged from the respective millponds by Nicholas W. Crookston in 1929 and given to the — Map (db m44471) HM|
|Utah (Cache County), Logan — s-40 — St. Johns Episcopal Church — Utah Historic Site|
|Seat of the first Non-Mormon congregation in Cache Valley, 1873. Gothic church and vicarage consecrated 1909. Logan’s first public Library and the Common Room Club housed in the vicarage. — Map (db m44443) HM|
|Utah (Cache County), Logan — Thatcher-Young Mansion|
|The Thatcher - Young Mansion was built in 1878 for the banker and industrialist George W. Thatcher and his wife Eunice Caroline (Luna) Young Thatcher. Her brother Brigham Young Jr. lived in it from 1883 - 1885 while he supervised the Brigham Young College, now Logan High School. In 1923, George W. Thatcher Jr. and his brother Brigham Guy Thatcher constructed the grand theatre that stands directly behind it.
The Cache Valley Center for the Arts purchased and restored the mansion with the help . . . — Map (db m44440) HM|
|Utah (Cache County), Logan — 9 — The First Settlers of Logan|
|The first settlers of Logan encamped near this spot on the bank of the Little Logan early in May 1859
Heads of Families: John R Blanchard, Abraham Caldwell, Griffith Charles, Israel J. Clark, Ann Davis, William Dees, James Demino, Sidney Dibble, Morgan S. Evans, Morgan Evans, John E. Jones, Thomas E. Landers, John Nelson, George Peacock, Jesse Pearson, David Reese, Joel Ricks, Edward W. Smith, Ralph Smith, Benjamin Williams, John P. Wright.|
In memory of these pioneers and others who . . . — Map (db m44437) HM
|Utah (Cache County), Logan — Whittier School — Utah Historic Site|
|The Whittier School, constructed in 1908, is important for its association with the education reform following Utah’s statehood. These reforms included a statewide curriculum and the construction of numerous unified schoolhouses. The Whittier School represents both the early development of the public school system in Utah and the specific evolution and improvement of public school facilities in Logan City. It is also the location of the first kindergarten organized in the state.
The . . . — Map (db m44422) HM|
|Utah (Cache County), Mendon — Restoration of the James G. Willie Home|
|Originally built around 1865, the 1½ story rock home of James G. Willie is typical of the over 40 stone homes that were built in Mendon prior to 1880. Brigham Young encouraged early settlers to use native rocks for home construction as he felt that stone represented a more substantial and better looking material than homes built from logs. Shortly after the Shoshoni Indian massacre on the Bear River in 1863, the fort in Mendon was dismantled and the log homes were slid onto the lots . . . — Map (db m44482) HM|
|Utah (Cache County), Millville — Millville|
In the spring of 1860, Apostle Ezra T. Benson and Peter Maughan advised the people living at the Elkhorn Ranch to locate near a sawmill built by Esais Edwards and Roy Kent. This was done to provide better protection. In that same year, Apostle Benson organized a ward and “Millville” was adopted as the name of the small community of about sixty people. Although the sawmill was the only mill in existence at that time, the name of “Millville” was most appropriate as . . . — Map (db m44456) HM|
|Utah (Cache County), North Logan — Cache - 2 — Nicholas W. Crookston Home — Utah Historic Home|
|Built 1890 - 1900 of logs hauled from Logan Canyon by Nicholas W. Crookston, Sheriff, Bishop, and construction foreman. Registered by Lucille C. Peterson 11-1-72 — Map (db m44462) HM|
|Utah (Cache County), Providence — 110 — Providence Pioneers|
This marker honors the first settlers of Providence, who camped near here early in May 1859, and those who followed in the years 1860,1861,1862. Included in the groups who pioneered this section are the following families: Alder, Bowen, Busenbark, Baer, Campbell, Clifford, Clark, Cranney, Dee, Durfey, Fuhriman, Flemming, Fife, Gates, Gassman, Greenback, Hafter, Hansen, Harmon, Hoth, Hug, Hall, Kresie, Lau, Low, Lane, Loosle, Maddison, Sperry, Sueifel, Theurer, Traber, VanLouevan, Williams, Wright, Zollinger. — Map (db m44477) HM|
|Utah (Cache County), Providence — The Old Rock Church|
|Symbol of Heritage
Listed on the National Register of Historical Places in recognition of its architectural and historical significance, and to encourage its preservation. |
The 1869 completion of the transcontinental railroad ended an era, that of Utah’s overland pioneers. For 23 years Mormon settlers, “gathering to Zion” - a place where they could freely worship - had endured epic journeys of persistence and relentless tribulation, the best organized mass migration in . . . — Map (db m46302) HM
|Utah (Cache County), Providence — 143 — The Providence Players|
|Pioneer dramatic players entertained early Cache Valley audiences in this rock building. When erected, 1868 - 70, the only assembly hall in Providence. It has the finest dance floor, stage, proscenium, paintings, curtain in the valley. Among the players were Chas. And Joan M Johnson, Harry Brown, Jessie Hammer, John Wilson, Alzina Hammond, Jas. Nye, Thos, Priday, Jos. A. Smith, Mary Naef, Lucinda Monroe, Wm. Reading, Jas. Fife, Ammon Harmon, Geo. And Mary Marler, Wm. W. Low, Henry Bullock, . . . — Map (db m44435) HM|
|Utah (Cache County), Richmond — S. Milton and Alba C. Webb House — Utah Historic Site|
The house was designed by Gottlieb Stucki of Logan City in 1936 and is one on only two international Style houses built in Richmond. The Webb family was active in the Richmond community during the mid-century. Mr Webb was postmaster for 37 years and served as the secretary/treasurer of the “Black & White Days’” (an annual event used to promote better quality in dairy cattle) for 51 years. Mrs. Webb was a schoolteacher and served in many church and civic positions within the community. — Map (db m44459) HM|
|Utah (Cache County), Smithfield — In Memory of Ira Elias Merrill|
|First person buried in the Smithfield Cemetery, was born at Alder, Erie County, New York, in 1835, the son of Austin and Laura Wilder Harris Merrill, He was killed in an Indian attack July 29, 1880 as he and his brother Solyman were returning from the hills east of Smithfield with a load of brush to be used on the bowery for the community pioneer day celebration. Hostilities between the pioneers and the Indians began near the site of this marker. A settler from Franklin, Idaho, was also killed . . . — Map (db m44449) HM|
|Utah (Carbon County), Price — Abraham Powell 1877 Cabin|
Vincent Paul Anella Troop 296
Eagle Scout Project
Reestablished marker recognizing the first cabin built in Price by Abraham Powell in 1877. Original marker was at 600 South Carbon Avenue.
December 22, 2011
Price Centennial 1911 – 2011
Chase Greenhalgh, Scoutmaster
original marker (contained within new marker)
About 1000 ft. west of this spot is the site of the first cabin built in this valley in the summer of 1877 by Abraham Powell.
. . . — Map (db m72728) HM|
|Utah (Carbon County), Price — 1900 — The Nine Mile Road|
The road through Nine Mile Canyon was constructed in 1886 by the Buffalo Soldiers of the U.S. 9th Cavalry to connect Fort Duchesne to the railroad in Carbon County. Most of the stagecoaches, mail and freight passed through Nine Mile into the Uintah Basin, which lead to the development of the canyon and the small town of Harper, presently known as Preston Nutter Ranch. Harper’s population peaked by 1910. The arrival of the Uintah railroad rerouted traffic away from the canyon and Harper . . . — Map (db m72729) HM|
|Utah (Duchesne County), Duchesne — 207 — Duchesne|
Explorers, trappers and traders were here before Brigham Young sent a group, in 1861, to prepare the way for Mormon colonization. But in October 1861 the U.S. Government set apart Uintah Valley for Indian Reservation. In 1905 a portion was opened for white settlement. June 6, 1905, A.M. Murdock daughter Dora, and Sogoosie Jack (Indian) with 52 men organized a town called Dora, later Theodore, then Duchesne. This bell was used for school, church, curfew and as a fire alarm for many years. . . . — Map (db m44051) HM|
|Utah (Duchesne County), Duchesne — 16 — Father Escalante|
In commemoration of the Catholic Priest, Father Escalante, who in 1776 came into Utah. He crossed the Green River at Jensen and camped two days at that place. His diary shows that he camped at the junction of the Strawberry and Duchesne rivers one night and then travelled northwest, up through what he called the “Canyon of the Swallows.” This is the canyon in which Ivie’s Ranch is now located.
This became an important intersection in pioneer days, as distances were reckond . . . — Map (db m72764) HM|
|Utah (Duchesne County), Duchesne — Saint Rose Philippine Duchesne — Aug. 29, 1769 – Nov. 18, 1852|
According to one tradition, the Duchesne River was named after Mother Rose Philippine Duchesne.
Mother Duchesne and the Catholic Sisters of the Sacred Heart of Jesus, had started schools in Missouri. The children of many of the early pioneer trappers and explorers had attended her school. Among them was the niece of Gen. William Ashley, Anne Stegar, who became a nun in her community.
Mother Duchesne was also the godmother for Gen. William Clark’s daughter. Gen. Clark was from the Lewis & . . . — Map (db m72766) HM|
|Utah (Duchesne County), Myton — 388 — Myton|
In 1866-7, U. S. Army made road to Price and Bridge across Duchesne River. At this point Henderson’s Indian Trading Post, Caldwell’s Stage Station and a blacksmith shop were erected. 1905, Army surveyed townsite named for H. P. Myton, Supt. Indian Affairs. It became a booming frontier gateway including hotels, bank, flower mill, and newspaper, “The Uintah Chiefton”. Homesteaders started churches, school, theater and sports. First town board Pres., Hayden Calvert. Wm. Zowe, Post Master.
Myton Camp — Map (db m72760) HM|
|Utah (Garfield County), Bryce — Bryce Airport|
| Bryce Airport's Vital Role
In this remote region, with major hospitals and airfields hundreds of miles away, Bryce Airport provides critical emergency support. Built in 1936 as an emergency landing strip for commercial airlines, the airport has served that purpose twice since then. In 2005, American Airlines Flight 28, with more than 50 passengers on board, lost all engine power and safely landed here. Bryce Airport is also the main staging area for local search-and-rescue operations and . . . — Map (db m74765) HM|
|Utah (Garfield County), Bryce Canyon National Park — Bryce Amphitheater|
| "Before there were any Indians, the Legend People, To-when-an-ung-wa, lived in that place. There were many of them. They were of many kinds - birds, animals, lizards and such things - but they looked like people....For some reason, the Legend People in that place were bad. Because they were bad, Coyote turned them all into rocks. You can see them in that place now; all turned into rocks; some standing in rows, some sitting down, some holding on to others. You can see their faces, . . . — Map (db m40537) HM|
|Utah (Garfield County), Bryce Canyon National Park — Bryce Canyon Lodge|
| Union Pacific Railroad served Bryce Canyon well as it grew to national park status. The railroad's vision of the site's potential for tourism culminated in the creation of the "Grand Circle Tour", a tour that traveled to several parks in one trip. One of the stops was Bryce Canyon.
A subsidiary of Union Pacific Railroad, Utah Parks Company purchased the property where the lodge sits. In 1923, they asked architect Gilbert Stanley Underwood to survey the site at Bryce Canyon as well as sites . . . — Map (db m40550) HM|
|Utah (Garfield County), Bryce Canyon National Park — Post-War Service Station|
| In 1924, when the park was first established, visitors for that year totaled 17,213. A remote locale, poor access, limited on-site accommodations, and few car owners allowed only the elite and the adventurous to come to Bryce Canyon. Twenty years later, this scenario would be quite different.
This Standard Oil service station, completed in 1948, was Bryce Canyon's response to its growing popularity. Tourists and their cars had increased by a factor of ten. As another twenty years passed, . . . — Map (db m40533) HM|
|Utah (Garfield County), Bryce Canyon National Park — Stephen Tyng Mather — July 4, 1867 - Jan. 22, 1930|
| He laid the foundation of the National Park Service, defining and establishing the policies under which its areas shall be developed and conserved unimpaired for future generations. There will never come an end to the good that he has done. — Map (db m40524) HM|
|Utah (Garfield County), Bryce Canyon National Park — Streetscape|
| In the early 1920s, the Union Pacific Railroad, the National Park Service and the National Forest Service worked together to develop Bryce Canyon as a national park. This collection of cabins and the Bryce Canyon Lodge are a product of that partnership.
Bryce Canyon was relatively unknown before 1917. Roads and lodging were vitually non-existent. Union Pacific Railroad commissioned architect Gilbert Stanley Underwood to work with landscape architect Daniel P. Hull on designing these cabins . . . — Map (db m40558) HM|
|Utah (Garfield County), Bryce Canyon National Park — Wheeling through the Years|
Before Bryce Canyon was a national park, the Union Pacific Railroad conceived the "Grand Circle" of parks; an area that encompassed Zion National Park, Bryce Canyon, Cedar Breaks and the North Rim of the Grand Canyon. In order for the "Circle" to be complete, roads and railroad tracks needed to be built.
Automobile travel rebounded after the close of World War II. The nation's love affair with the automobile eclipsed Union Pacific's shining dream. Traffic on the railways dwindled to . . . — Map (db m40534) HM|
|Utah (Garfield County), Escalante — 94 — Escalante|
|In 1866, a group of Mormon Cavalrymen noted this valley, while in pursuit of Indians during the Black Hawk War.
In February, 1875, a company of men came from Beaver, Utah and explored the valley. The first permanent settlers came from Beaver, Utah and explored the valley. The first permanent settlers arrived November, 1875.
The townsite was surveyed, homes built and a bowery erected.
July 4, 1876, in absence of a better flag, they hoisted a striped Navajo blanket.
The city was named . . . — Map (db m74744) HM|
|Utah (Garfield County), Escalante — 266 — First Public Building|
|In 1876-77 Escalante Pioneers erected a log building, 36 x 18 feet, located 20 feet west of this marker. The logs 18 inches in diameter came from Cyclone Lake Mountain by ox team. They were hewn by hand, fastened with oak pins, morticed ends and chinked with lime mortar. It had white sandstone foundation, one door, three windows on each side and shingled with white pine shingles. Desks were boards hinged to the wall. Seats were split logs, flat side up. No back. Building used for school and all . . . — Map (db m74745) HM|
|Utah (Garfield County), Escalante — 141 — L.D.S. Tithing Office|
|This structure, the second public building in Escalante, was erected in 1884 of native stone by Mormon pioneers under the direction of Bishop Andrew P. Schow, Edwin Twitchell and Thomas Heaps. The stone mason was Morgan Richards. It was used to receive and house the tithing of the people, which was paid in kind and consisted chiefly of produce from the farms and gardens. Potatoes and perishable foods were stored in the basement. The building is now used as a D.U.P. Relic Hall. — Map (db m74746) HM|
|Utah (Garfield County), Escalante — 501 — Old Boulder Mail Trail|
|The isolated trails between Boulder and Escalante, Utah, were important in the history of the two towns. The foot trail, used by Indians for centuries, connected the two areas and was known as the Death Hollow Trail. Mules, horses, or people traversed this steep and dangerous area.
In 1902 a contract at $200 per year by the U.S. Postal Service was given to James Schow for the twice-weekly mail delivery over the shorter Indian trail. He used two to ten mules to carry mail, medicine, and . . . — Map (db m74759) HM|
|Utah (Garfield County), Escalante — Old White Church|
|Escalante's first church stood on or near this spot. It was a two-story building made of white sandstone. The upper floor was used as the LDS Chapel and for recreational purposes; the lower floor provided classrooms for church organizations and at various times for public school classes.
The building was erected in 1885 under the direction of Bishop Andrew P. Schow, with Morgan Richards as the stone mason.
The bell that hung in the belfry called ward members to church and to funerals for nearly sixty years. — Map (db m74748) HM|
|Utah (Garfield County), Hatch — Asay Settlement|
|About 1872 Joseph Asay with his family settled about 3/4 mile west and a little south of this spot. Soon other homesteaders settled in the locality. Tom Jessup and Dan LeRoy erected a water power saw mill. A shingle mill was also placed on the stream. In 1887 a post office was established, Jerome Asay P.M. Here he kept for sale some groceries and hardware items. A log house was built for church services, James Dutton and Isaac Asay served as presiding elders. The building was also used for . . . — Map (db m74676) HM|
|Utah (Garfield County), Hatch — Hatch Ward Building and Bell|
|In 1904 the Hatch L.D.S. Ward building was erected on this lot. A vestibule was added in 1910 and the bell was purchased with donations from ward members. For many years it hung in the tower and rang out for all civic, social and church activities. School was held in the building until 1913. The building was razed March 3, 1983 when the new ward meeting house was built. — Map (db m74679) HM|
|Utah (Garfield County), Hatch — 292 — Settlement of Hatch|
|In 1872 Meltiar Hatch settled at the head of the Sevier River, near the junction of Mammoth and Asay Creeks. He engaged in stock raising and operated a water-power saw mill. Soon other settlers came. Land was surveyed and irrigation ditches dug. Lime was burned by Neils P. Clove. First school was in the Hatch home, Abram Workman teacher. 1888 the Asay post office was transferred to Hatch, Neils Ivor Clove, Postmaster. In 1892 the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints organized Mammoth . . . — Map (db m74677) HM|
|Utah (Garfield County), Henrieville — Second Powell Expedition — Charting New Territory — Last Blank Spot on the Map|
|In 1871, this region was part of the last uncharted territory in the continental United States. That year, Major John Wesley Powell launched the Second Powell Expedition to explore and map this frontier, continuing the work he had begun three years earlier. Powell led the expedition safely through the wild waters of the Green and Colorado rivers to the Paria River. He then instructed his brother-in-law Almon H. Thompson to lead the expedition overland to map what they called "the unknown . . . — Map (db m74763) HM|
|Utah (Garfield County), Panguitch — Butch Cassidy — Legend of the Wild West|
| Outlaw or Hero?
"My father, he carried the mail, and he always stopped and had dinner at a certain place [in Red Canyon]. While he was having dinner, old Butch Cassidy came to his camp. He told about these fellows following him. He got up on this ledge, and when they got pretty close, he shot right between them. Well, those old fellows spurred their horses...and went back. Butch started to eat, then he would just keel over laughing..." -Thomas Richards, Tropic resident, Southern . . . — Map (db m40513) HM|
|Utah (Garfield County), Panguitch — 62 — Panguitch Fort|
|In March, 1864, about fifty pioneers under the leadership of Jens Nielson settled Panguitch. They built a fort of logs, enclosing their homes and a building used for church, school and recreation. The town was abandoned in 1867, because of Indian trouble, the people moving to Beaver, Parowan and Paragonah. In 1870 President Young called George W. Sevy to lead a company and resettle Panguitch. In March, 1871 a small group of people left Paragonah, arriving March 16, 1871. The fort had not been molested. — Map (db m27020) HM|
|Utah (Garfield County), Panguitch — 166 — Panguitch Stake Tabernacle|
|Panguitch stake of the L.D.S. Church was organized in 1877 with James Henrie as president. In March 1880, plans were made for a stake house with George Dodds, architect, and M.M. Steel, Sr., chairman of the building. The following men were prominent in its erection: Frederick Judd, Samuel Worthen & sons, W.R. Riggs, Alfred Riding, W.P. Sargent, John F. Sevy, and John W. Norton. The building served the community until July, 1949, when it was condemned and torn down. — Map (db m27040) HM|
|Utah (Garfield County), Panguitch — 442 — Panguitch Tithing Lot|
|During the first settlement of Panguitch, between 1864 and 1867, members of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints paid tithes with produce and cattle, which were kept on this lot and disbursed as needed. Barns and corrals were constructed on the northeast section. One granary was built in the middle of the lot; another on the south side of the lot, with a wooden step loading dock.
On the northwest corner of the lot the Tithing Office was built of hewn logs covered with shiplap . . . — Map (db m74680) HM|
|Utah (Garfield County), Panguitch — Podunk Guard Station|
| Podunk received its name from a Paiute Indian named Po Dunk, who had become lost in the heavily timbered area near the East Fork of the Sevier River. The area was named after him, and the guard station named after the area in which it was built and used.
Building and Restoration
This building was constructed in 1927 near Podunk Creek. The roof pitch was so steep it was claimed that it could "split a rain drop." By 1950 the guard station was no longer being used and fell into . . . — Map (db m40482) HM|
|Utah (Garfield County), Panguitch — Red Canyon Tunnels — Gateway to Natural Wonders|
| A New Park's Magical Opening
"One little fairy hopped upon the running board and asked Governor Dern if he believed in fairies. 'Yes,' he said. 'Then,' said she, 'enter into Fairyland." - From Golden Nuggets of Pioneer Days, Daughters of Utah Pioneers, 1949
On June 1, 1925, a 315-car caravan, led by Governor George Dean, arrived at the Red Canyon tunnels to celebrate the opening of Utah National Park (later renamed Bryce Canyon National Park). A flower-strewn gate closed the . . . — Map (db m40509) HM|
|Utah (Garfield County), Panguitch — 460 — Social Hall|
|The Panguitch Social Hall was built during the years between 1890-1900. Fredrick Judd made the bricks and slacked the lime for the laying of the brick. The walls were three bricks thick, and the building had wide double-doors on either side of the hall which remained open for ventilation during the hot summer months. A curved roof added interest to the building. It was heated for years by huge pot-bellied wood-burning stoves and lighted by oil lamps. The mayor at the time the building was built . . . — Map (db m74682) HM|
|Utah (Garfield County), Panguitch — 510 — The Panguitch Quilt Walk|
|The first group of pioneers came to Panguitch on March 16, 1864, from Parowan under the leadership of Jens Nielson. They followed the route over the rugged Bear Valley, a part of the Spanish Trail. Crops were planted, but the season was short and they did not mature. The winter of 1864 was extremely cold and the snow was deep. The closest supplies were either in Gunnison, 115 miles to the North, or Parowan, 40 miles to the west over the difficult Bear Valley Road.
Seven men, Alexander . . . — Map (db m27046) HM|
|Utah (Garfield County), Panguitch — The Panguitch Quilt Walk History|
|In 1864 a group of hardy pioneers braved the mountain snows to save their families from starvation. This group of men encountered snows that were impassable. According to their
faith they knelt on a quilt in a prayer circle. The answer to their prayer was to walk on the
quilts. Thus we honor seven men as the Panguitch Quilt Walkers. They are Jessie Louder,
Alexander Matheson, William Talbot, Thomas Jefferson Adair, Thomas Morgan Richards, John Lowe Butler II, and John Paul Smith. — Map (db m74681) HM|
|Utah (Garfield County), Tropic — 477 — Loseeville|
|Clifton (Loseeville) was situated in East Valley one mile east of the Pahreah River and four miles North of Cannonville. The first settlers were Ebenezer Bryce in 1876 and Daniel Goulding in 1878. They built a ditch to bring water to the valley from Pine Creek which rises on the west side of the Escalante Mountain. Within five years both men grew discouraged and moved.
The first permanent settlers came in 1886. Because there was another Clifton in the state, the name of the town was changed . . . — Map (db m74743) HM|
|Utah (Garfield County), Tropic — Tropic Pioneers|
|In Honor of
Tropic Pioneers and
diverting water over rim of Great Basin
May 23, 1892 — Map (db m74741) HM|
|Utah (Grand County), Crescent City — Copper Ridge Dinosaur Trackway|
| Welcome to Copper Ridge. Here, you can see the
tracks of two different dinosaurs. The larger
were probably made by an Allosaurus,
while the smaller three toed tracks were made by
one of a number of smaller bipedal carnivorous
spedies. — Map (db m39259) HM|
|Utah (Grand County), Moab — Balanced Rock|
|The forces of erosion are sculpting more than just arches. Balanced Rock clearly shows the various layers responsible for this amazing defiance of gravity.
The caprock of the hard Slick Rock Member of the Entrada Sandstone is perched upon a pedestal of mudstone. This softer Dewey Bridge Member of the Carmel Formation weathers more quickly than the resistant rock above. Eventually, the faster-eroding Dewey Bridge will cause the collapse of the Balanced Rock.|
Throughout the park you can see . . . — Map (db m52002) HM
|Utah (Grand County), Moab — Dalton Wells|
Civilian Conservation Corps
Camp DG-32 (Co. 234)
During the Great Depression of the 1930s, CCC Camps were scattered all over the USA. They provided gainful employment to youth of the nation with work on public service projects. Between 1933 and 1942, four camps were located near Moab. Each camp worked on various natural resource projects for the Soil Conservation Service, the National Park Service, and the forerunner of the Bureau of Land Management.|
DG-32 was a . . . — Map (db m47587) HM
|Utah (Grand County), Moab — Wolfe Ranch|
John Wesley Wolfe settled here in the late 1800s with his oldest son Fred. A nagging leg injury from the Civil War prompted John to move west from Ohio, looking for a drier climate. He chose this tract of more than 100 acres along Salt Wash for its water and grassland – enough for a few cattle.
The Wolfes built a one-room cabin, a corral, and a small dam across Salt Wash. For more than a decade they lived alone on the remote ranch.
In 1906, John’s daughter Flora Stanley, her . . . — Map (db m72715) HM|
|Utah (Iron County), Cedar City — Cedar City Historic Pioneer Cemetery Wall|
|The reconstruction of the historic pioneer cemetery wall was completed in August 1994 as a memorial to the stalwart Mormon pioneers who settled this part of the American West and who originally built and dedicated the wall in the year 1886. It was rededicated to their memory on August 9, 1994. — Map (db m75618) HM|
|Utah (Iron County), Cedar City — Cedar City Railroad Depot — Utah Historic Site|
|Built in 1923, the Cedar City Railroad Depot is historically significant for its direct association with the railroad and its impact on Cedar City. In addition to stimulating the local iron ore and livestock industries, the railroad connection to Cedar City greatly contributed to the expansion of the tourism industry in southern Utah. As roads to scenic areas were developed, Cedar City became a strategic center for travel to national parks and monuments. The first official train arrived at the . . . — Map (db m59566) HM|
|Utah (Iron County), Cedar City — 452 — Cedar City Tabernacle|
|A tabernacle was erected in 1885 on the adjoining corner of Main and Center Streets and was demolished in the spring of 1932. In 1872 Bishop Christopher J. Arthur suggested that this Tabernacle be built to replace the Social Hall.
Mayhew Dalley drew the plans for a building 72 x 41-1/2 feet with a tower 110 feet high. Edward J. Ashton of Salt Lake City was engaged as architect and Bengt Nelson was appointed director. The excavation was dug in 1872, but because labor was needed on the St. . . . — Map (db m59540) HM|
|Utah (Iron County), Cedar City — 402 — Chaffin Grist Mill|
|In 1866 Louis R. Chaffin, at the request of Apostle Erastus Snow, placed a gristmill in Cedar City. His son, Henry, ran it until 1868 when Louis returned from "The Muddy." Adjoining land was purchased in 1875. Excavation by Alva Matheson proved the dirt floor basement to be 20 x 24 feet. Lava rock walls had an opening in east end. Upper walls were adobe with wood roof. Joseph Walker's history states he was working in mill in 1881. Later it was destroyed by fire. — Map (db m59538) HM|
|Utah (Iron County), Cedar City — Cinder Cone - Lava Flows|
The cinder cone developed from a series of continuous mild volcanic explosions piling the debris on the surface surronding a volcanic vent. There are numerous cinder cones on the Cedar City Ranger District, many visible from the highway.
These lava flows are very young 1,000-5,000 years. They come from vents not a central volcano. There are many land forms associated with the lava flows: lava tubes, cinder cones, sink holes and craters. — Map (db m68762)|
|Utah (Iron County), Cedar City — Deseret Iron Works|
|This monument marks the spot where on Sept. 30, 1852 the first iron was manufactured west of the Mississippi River by the Mormon Iron Missionaries sent by Brigham Young.
This 5½ ton ore body was obtained from the iron deposits used by iron workers located about seven miles west of Cedar City in the Three Peaks area; it is about 16% Fe. The smaller specimens are some that were actually hauled by horse-drawn vehicles to this site and were found during excavation. The blast furnace, . . . — Map (db m1288) HM|
|Utah (Iron County), Cedar City — Ellen (Nellie) Purcell Unthank|
|Ellen (Nellie) Purcell was born November 6, 1846 in Tintwhistle, England. At 9 she, with her parents and sister Margaret (Maggie), 14, began the trek from Iowa to Salt Lake Valley in 1856 with the Edward Martin Handcart Company.
Early snows overtook the company, both Nellie's parents died on the trail. Nellie's feet were frozen.
On arrival in Salt Lake Valley, she was strapped to a board. No anesthetics were available. Both her legs were amputated just below the knee with a butcher's knife . . . — Map (db m59517) HM|
|Utah (Iron County), Cedar City — Escalante Trail|
|Father Silvestre Velez de Escalante with Father Dominguez and eight others, first white men to enter the Great Basin, left Santa Fe July 29, 1776 in attempt to reach Monterey. Abandoning attempt, party passed through Cedar Valley October 12 on return to Santa Fe. — Map (db m1440) HM|
|Utah (Iron County), Cedar City — 418 — First Cedar Encampment|
|Iron ore having been discovered at Iron Springs, Brigham Young called missionaries to Iron County to make iron. A militia of 35 men was organized in Parowan, Nov. 5, 1851, under Captain Henry Lunt. Part of the company left Nov. 10th in 11 wagons and camped overnight in Summit Creek. Late in the afternoon of Nov. 11th, after driving in a snowstorm, they took refuge in the cove of this knoll. They set their wagon boxes on the ground in a line, protected them with brush enclosures, and began . . . — Map (db m59546) HM|
|Utah (Iron County), Cedar City — 222 — Fort Cedar|
|In November 1851, thirty-five men from Parowan settled Cedar City. A unique temporary encampment, composed of their wagon boxes and sage brush walls, sheltered them through the first winter. In 1853, a fort 100 rods square was built on this site. Its walls were 3 feet wide at the base, nine feet high and one foot wide on top. It covered 63 acres of ground. A city plat of 120 lots was laid out inside the walls. This monument stands on the south west corner of the fort, beside the John D. Lee Gate. — Map (db m59515) HM|
|Utah (Iron County), Cedar City — 309 — Hamilton Fort|
|In 1852 Peter Shirts located a ranch on Sidon Creek, later known as Shirts Creek. He offered John Hamilton half the water to come and settle there. Hamilton came with his family and Peter Fife. When Walker Indian War broke out they moved to Cedar City but returned in 1855. The three families built an adobe fort enclosing ¼ acre, 95 feet square, walls three feet thick; houses formed part of wall. Soon Jonathan Pugmire, Samuel White and others came. In 1869 a new location for Hamilton Fort was selected on the main thoroughfare. — Map (db m59513) HM|
|Utah (Iron County), Cedar City — Heroine of China — Helen Foster Snow — 1907 – 1997|
|Born and raised in Cedar City, Helen Foster Snow was a journalist, traveler, thinker, and activist who was present during the revolutionary period leading up to the establishment of the People's Republic of China and became a heroine to the people of the war-torn land. She was and still is revered as one who played an important role in rallying the Chinese people to oppose the occupation of the country by the Japanese in the 1930s and as one who helped organize support for the Chinese cause in . . . — Map (db m59565) HM|
|Utah (Iron County), Cedar City — Old Brickyards|
|It is believed that the first fired bricks in Utah were made in Cedar City in connection with the attempt of the Deseret Iron Company to manufacture iron in 1852. The blast furnace was located in the vicinity of 400 North 100 East. Fired brick was made near there for use in the lining of the blast furnace and construction of some brick homes and some public buildings.
By the turn of the century, most of the brickmaking operations had moved to the southern outskirts of the city. These were . . . — Map (db m1381) HM|
|Utah (Iron County), Cedar City — S-89 — Pioneer Iron Works Blast Furnace — Utah Historic Site|
|To satisfy an urgent need for manufactured iron products, a small group of English, Welch, Scotch, Irish and American pioneers answered a call from Brigham Young to become "Iron Missionaries" to settle Iron County and to make iron. They arrived in Parowan on January 13, 1851 and produced the first iron west of the Mississippi on September 30, 1852 on this site. Due to economic, social, environmental and technical problems the Iron Works was closed down in October 1858. — Map (db m59545) HM|
|Utah (Iron County), Cedar City — Pioneer Stockman — Francis Webster — 1830-1906|
|Born in England, Francis Webster traveled to Utah in 1856 and played an important role in the early development of Cedar City. A leader in the sheep industry, he was among the first to begin shipping sheep and wool to the Chicago markets. An early merchant in Cedar City, he had a small store that sold candles, soap, saddles and other supplies that he brought back from his Chicago trips. One of the stalwarts in the monumental effort to build the first building (Old Main) at what is now Southern . . . — Map (db m75620) HM|
|Utah (Iron County), Cedar City — The Casting of the Lots|
|On July 29, 1776, Fathers Francisco Atanasio Dominguez and Silvestre Velez de Escalante led an exploration party of ten horsemen from Santa Fe, New Mexico, to establish an overland route to Monterey, California, while spreading the Catholic faith to the native peoples they hoped to meet along the way.
As the Padres traveled along the Beaver River in early October, they became increasingly discouraged about reaching Monterey. Their Indian guide had been frightened and had deserted them to . . . — Map (db m59514) HM|
|Utah (Iron County), Cedar City — The Founding of Southern Utah University|
|There are five plaques across the base of the statue
In the annals of American higher education, there is no more dramatic founding of a school than that accorded Southern Utah University, nor a more striking example of the extent of the commitment of Utah's early pioneers to the cause of education.
The first State Legislature following Utah's statehood authorized a branch of the state's teacher training school to be located in Southern Utah, but the community so selected would . . . — Map (db m59516) HM|
|Utah (Iron County), Cedar City — 446 — The Social Hall|
|The Cedar City Pioneers had made their homes in the Old Fort and had built an adobe schoolhouse 28 feet by 60 feet when, in May 1855, President Brigham Young advised them to move to higher ground. By 1859, the majority of the people had moved to the new Cedar City site and had a small, adobe room available for school, church and civic affairs. As more and more people occupied the new Cedar Site, it became apparent that the small building was not adequate.
On January 6, 1861, a committee was . . . — Map (db m59542) HM|
|Utah (Iron County), Cedar City — Ward Hall — Erected 1897|
|Site of Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints recreation building known as the Ward Hall. Rushed to completion in the fall of 1897 and deeded to the State of Utah so the Branch Normal School of the University of Utah could be legally operated for its first year. The building was the first home of Southern Utah State College. The Ward Hall was returned to the LDS Church in the fall of 1898 on completion of the Old Main on the Temple Knoll.
The Cedar City National Guard Armory stood on this site from 1937-1978. — Map (db m59543) HM|
|Utah (Iron County), Enoch — 480 — Enoch Schoolhouse and Tithing Office|
|Schoolhouse - The second schoolhouse in Enoch was a two-story structure built on this site in 1917-1918. It was a brick building containing two classrooms, two libraries, two bathrooms and a furnace room. Only one room served as a classroom, and one was sometimes used as a playroom during the winter. Between twenty and thirty students a year attended this school in grades one through six. The building was used until Iron County bussed the students from Enoch to Cedar City. It was torn down . . . — Map (db m59568) HM|
|Utah (Iron County), Enoch — 461 — Johnson's Fort|
|During the summer of 1851, a small company of men was exploring this area and discovered the springs on the bench one-fourth mile to the east. Joel H. Johnson was so impressed with the spot, that he sought and received permission from George A. Smith to build a house and corral at the springs and care for the cattle belonging to the settlers of Iron County. In 1854, Brigham Young called other families to assist in this endeavor and to help build a fort for protection. The fort was named after . . . — Map (db m59571) HM|
|Utah (Iron County), Enoch — Jones Iron Works Park|
|In 1869, John P. Jones and sons moved from the fort at Johnson Springs and purchased land and springs on the east bench of the community. Jones, who was an iron worker, built a coke oven and blast furnace where scrap iron was melted and molded to make fire grates, dog irons, cogwheels, and even a 500 pound hammer to drive the piles for irrigation dams in southern Utah. The name Johnson Springs was changed to Enoch in 1890. Descendants of John P. Jones donated the land to Enoch. The coke oven . . . — Map (db m59960) HM|
|Utah (Iron County), Kanarraville — Fort Kanarra|
|Old Kanarra, as it was called by early inhabitants, was founded in the spring of 1861 by settlers who moved from Fort Harmony. The town was situated on Kanarra Creek about one mile north and east of the present location. Later, a group from Toquerville built on the present site in the spring town fashion shown. This settlement became known as Fort Kanarra.
In 1866 the present townsite of Kanarraville was surveyed by settlers from Kanab. During the same year this aggregate of settlements . . . — Map (db m59472) HM|
|Utah (Iron County), Kanarraville — South Rim of the Great Basin|
|The low ridge at the south end of this valley forms the south rim of the Great Basin, which in prehistoric times was the bed of a vast body of water now referred to as Lake Bonneville. It was so named in honor of Captain Benjamin L. E. Bonneville, who in 1833 directed the first scientific exploration of its largest remnant—Great Salt Lake.
Lake Bonneville extended 350 miles to the north and was in places 145 miles wide, with a maximum depth of 1050 ft. Its shoreline is clearly . . . — Map (db m1382) HM|
|Utah (Iron County), Paragonah — Henry W. Lunt — Roadside Park|
|This Park is dedicated to the memory of Henry W. Lunt, Jan. 25 1863-Dec. 26, 1926, in recognition of his contribution to the scenic, economic and spiritual development of Southern Utah. Mr. Lunt served as Vice Chairman of the State Road Commission and, "did more than any other individual in the history of Southern Utah to promote the development of the highway system to these rural areas and to open the road system to scenic parks of Southern Utah."(Governor Henry Blood)
Henry Lunt . . . — Map (db m75617) HM|
|Utah (Iron County), Paragonah — 61 — Paragonah Fort|
|Paragonah was founded in 1852. Indian trouble caused abandonment a year later until 1855 when the pioneer fort was built. The site was selected and dedicated by President Brigham Young.
The fort was 105 feet square with walls 3 feet thick at the base. A second story was added in 1857. A large room served as church, school and amusement hall. Homes were built around the inside of the wall. The public square includes the site of the fort which was town down in 1879. — Map (db m59617) HM|
|Utah (Iron County), Paragonah — Paragonah Town Square|
|This area, a part of the Great Basin, has evolved from the time of Lake Bonneville. It has known Anasazi Indian civilizations as evidenced by nearby ruins. It has seen the Dominguez-Escalante expedition of 1776 which passed west of this valley. It has hosted explorers and traders on the Old Spanish Trail which came through Bear Valley and entered the Parowan Valley at Little Creek. It knew the Jedediah S Smith expedition in 1826. Even Parley P Pratt and his company explored here in 1849 to . . . — Map (db m59620) HM|
|Utah (Iron County), Paragonah — 475 — The Tithing Lot and Relief Society Hall|
|Tithing Lot - Pioneer William Robb Jr. built a rock house, consisting of two rooms with a cellar, diagonally across the street from this location. It was later sold to the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints and became a Tithing Office about 1890. In addition to the collection of tithes and offerings, the building was used for Thursday night prayer meetings and the monthly Thursday Fast Day meeting. Two granaries were built on the lot to store grain turned in as tithing. A large . . . — Map (db m59622) HM|
|Utah (Iron County), Parowan — Birthplace of Southern Utah|
to the Birthplace of Southern Utah
January 13, 1851 — Map (db m59581) HM|
|Utah (Iron County), Parowan — 168 — D.U.P. Relic Hall|
|This building, erected in 1866, served the community of Parowan for 52 years as a religious and cultural center. Later it was given by the L.D.S. Church to the Daughters of Utah Pioneers, who in 1939-40 restored the old edifice and in 1949-50 improved the basement. This Pioneer Church is now the meeting place and Pioneer Relic Hall of the Daughters. — Map (db m59614) HM|
|Utah (Iron County), Parowan — 135 — First School House and Council House in Iron County|
|"I commenced a grammar school in my wickiup by the light of the fire and only one grammar book." Diary of George A. Smith, February 25, 1851.
The first school house, 18 x 24 feet, was built west of the Council House and dedicated December 25, 1851. This log Council House, 22 x 45 feet was erected in 1851 with a large stage, and it served as a social center for Iron County until the Rock Church was completed in 1867. — Map (db m59611) HM|
|Utah (Iron County), Parowan — Jesse N. Smith Home|
|Dedicated to the memory of
Mary Aikens Smith
and her sons
Jesse Nathaniel and Silas Sanford
and to the memory of
All the pioneer settlers
who founded Parowan in 1851
Constructed 1856-58 by Jesse N. Smith
Restored 1967 by Jesse N. Smith Family Assn. — Map (db m59602) HM|
|Utah (Iron County), Parowan — Iron-1 — Jesse N. Smith Home — Utah Historic Homes — Century Register|
Jesse N. Smith, 1856-57
Jesse N. Smith Family, 2/3/71
Original portion made of
adobe brick. — Map (db m59603) HM|
|Utah (Iron County), Parowan — John C. Freemont Memorial|
|Seeking a suitable railroad route through the central Rockies, John C. Freemont and Company reached Parowan February 6, 1854.
These are Freemont's own words, "We were all so feeble we could barely drag ourselves down the trail, but the Mormons took us in, one or two in each home, fed us, and nursed us back to health."
On this spot Freemont himself was nursed back to health by Mrs. John C. L. Smith who later became Mrs. Wm. C. McGregor.
This location was donated to the Sons of The Utah . . . — Map (db m59610) HM|
|Utah (Iron County), Parowan — Memorial to Horace and Hannah Leavitt Fish|
|Early Settlers of Parowan. Horace Fish born 6 Jan 1799 Hatley, Stanstead, Quebec, Son of joseph and Sally Spear Fish. Married Hannah Leavitt on 18 July 1825. Hannah Leavitt born 26 Dec 1850 in Johnsbury, Caledonia County, Vermont, daughter of Jeremiah and Sarah Shannon Leavitt. Hannah was baptized in the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints in 1836. Horace was baptized in 1839.
20 July 1837 left Hatley and traveled to Twelve Mile Grove near Joliet, Illinois, staying for three . . . — Map (db m2253) HM|
|Utah (Iron County), Parowan — 125 — Old Comedy Hall|
|The Parowan Dramatic Association was organized in 1851 with Edward Dalton president, Jessie V. Smith, Joseph, Jane and Annie Fish, David and Wm. Cluff, Wm. C. McGregor and Ed Ward, members. Plays were produced in Log Council House and Rock Church until in 1870, when Comedy Hall was erected. In 1897 the Parowan Dramatic Association built a brick Opera House on the site of Comedy Hall. Plays were given in the old building while the new walls were built around it. Some of the outstanding plays of the day were presented. — Map (db m59615) HM|
|Utah (Iron County), Parowan — Parley P. Pratt|
|1807–1857. As a young man, Parley P. Pratt left his farming roots to become a traveling preacher, during which time he was converted and baptized into the Mormon Church. As a faithful saint, Pratt went on a number of Church missions, served as a member of the Quorum of Twelve Apostles, spent time in prison with Mormon Prophet Joseph Smith, edited the Latter-day Saints Millennial Star, helped form the constitution for the Provisional Government of the Territory of Deseret, and . . . — Map (db m1424) HM|
|Utah (Iron County), Parowan — Parowan Cotton Factory|
|On this site, in 1862 the first Cotton Factory was erected in the west. Designed and operated by William Marsden and owned by Ebenezer Hanks. Here the first ball of Cotton Yarn was made west of the Mississippi River.
Girls That Worked in the Cotton Factory
Caroline Newman (Mitchell) • Laura Marsden (Benson) •
Maria Coombs (Taylor) • Caroline Mortenson (Durham) •
Ellen Newman • Elizabeth Lewis (Fish) •
Mary Mortenson (Wardell) • Amanda Dalton (Mortenson) • Annie Lewis (Whitney) • . . . — Map (db m59601) HM|
|Utah (Iron County), Parowan — Paulina Eliza Phelps Lyman — "Aunt Pliny" — 1856 – 1912|
|Wife of apostle Amasa Mason Lyman "Aunt Pliny" was Parowan's first doctor and midwife. She was sent by Brigham Young to care for the Parowan pioneers. "Aunt Pliny" was a woman of great faith, one whose testimony and resolve blessed the lives of thousands. Under the direction of a living prophet, she dedicated her life in service to her fellow beings. This beautiful statue also honors all the other brave pioneer women who helped settle this area.
Commissioned by the Parowan Heritage . . . — Map (db m59579) HM|
|Utah (Iron County), Parowan — 122 — Pioneer Rock Church|
|This church built of sandstone brought from Parowan Canyon, started in 1863 and completed about 1876, was the religious center of Parowan Valley. The large amusement hall in the basement was used for school and dances. A stage was erected in the south end where Pioneer Dramatic Association presented plays. In 1918 church activities ceased. By 1826 it had deteriorated. The Daughters of Utah Pioneers asked permission to recondition the building for a Memorial Hall which was granted. — Map (db m59613) HM|
|Utah (Iron County), Parowan — 62 — Pioneer Sundial|
|Parowan was founded January 13, 1851 by settlers from northern communities under the leadership of George A. Smith. Among the early structures were a large liberty pole and a sundial.
This marker designates the site of the community sundial placed here in 1852. The base of this structure is a burr from the Pioneer Grist Mill.
This sundial is a reproduction of the original made by the pioneers of Parowan. The Liberty Pole was one block south. — Map (db m59612) HM|
|Utah (Iron County), Parowan — 121 — Public Works|
|At Parowan, a pioneer industrial center was settled in 1851. Water for manufacturing and industry was carried by wooden flume from the canyon to the fort. Along this water line industries were established known as the Public Works. Among these were cabinet shop, tannery, gun and machine shop, blacksmith shop, wooden tub and bucket factory, pottery factory, saddle and harness shop and shoe shop. Located inside the fort was a grist burr mill. Monument erected on grist mill site. — Map (db m59574) HM|
|Utah (Iron County), Parowan — Southern Expedition, 1849-1850|
|In 1849, the Southern Expedition led by Parley P. Pratt, left Salt Lake City with instructions from Mormon President Brigham Young to search for colonization sites and iron ore deposits. Pratt, a Mormon explorer, led 50 men on an extensive exploration of southern Utah. The exploration concluded on this spot in 1850, with a feast and celebration. During the celebration, Pratt designated the Parowan Valley as the site from which future colonization of southern Utah would be made, and dedicated . . . — Map (db m1423) HM|
|Utah (Iron County), Parowan — Southern Utah Expedition of 1849 — Parley P Pratt|
|Southern Utah Expedition of 1849
Realizing the limited resources for pioneer settlements in the Salt Lake Valley and surrounding settlements in 1849, and the potential of many more immigrants arriving in the next few years, Brigham Young began to search out possible new settlements. Based on reports of Jefferson Hunt, who had traveled through southern Utah in 1847 and 1848, one of the regions which seemed promising was the valleys along the Spanish Trail in southern Utah Territory. The . . . — Map (db m59582) HM|
|Utah (Iron County), Parowan — The Spanish Trail|
|Between 1829 and 1848, traders from Santa Fe used the Spanish Trail which passed through Parowan to transfer dry goods and captured Indian slaves to Los Angles, where they were exchanged for horses.
The trail was pioneered between 1776 and 1831 by four groups: The Dominguez-Escalante expedition, Antonio Armijo, Jedidiah Smith and William Woflskill. The opening of other routes to California brought trade to an end by 1848. Many modern hiways still follow the trail.
The route from here, . . . — Map (db m59580) HM|
|Utah (Iron County), Parowan — William and Julia Lyman House — Utah Historic Site|
|Constructed c. 1895, the William and Julia Lyman House is a type known as a central passage, where a central hallway divides the two equally sized main-floor rooms. The Lyman House is one of only a few of this type remaining in Parowan. The central passage plan is important because of its link to eighteenth-century American building traditions in the northeastern and midwestern regions, as well as for its symbolism of individual prominence within this early Mormon community.
Both William and . . . — Map (db m59600) HM|
|Utah (Iron County), Summit — Sylvanus Cyrus Hulet — 1826 – 1901|
A convert of 1831
Utah Pioneer 1850
Settled in Springville
Called to the Dixie Mission 1861
Moved to Summit 1872
Children by Catherine Stoker
John Riley - Sarah Ann
Barbara Adlinda - Sylvanus Cyrus
Sylvester Silas - Cathryn Melissa
Emma Tryphenia - Charles Franklin
Luella - Oscar Willard
Children by Eliza R. Miller
Nora Dean - Eliza Ellen
Minni Elzina - Theresa
Daughter by Elizabeth Dalley
— Map (db m59572) HM|
|Utah (Juab County), Eureka — N-236-9 — “Old” L.D.S. Church Meetinghouse — Utah Historic Site|
|This building, designed by architect Richard C. Watkins, served as the Eureka L.D.S. Ward Meetinghouse from its construction in 1902 until 1976. It was dedicated in 1903 by Apostle Reed Smoot. The Gothic Revival Style building has been an important part of the religious history of the Tintic mining area. This structure, including windows and the tower, which has been changed, was restored by the Farrell Thomas family in 1988. — Map (db m75369) HM|
|Utah (Juab County), Eureka — N-236-4 — B.P.O.E. Block, Elk Lodge #711 — Eureka Historic District|
|Constructed in 1909-1910 by the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, Tintic Lodge #711 was designed by architects, Richard C. Watkins and John F. Birch and built by contractor, Martin E. Anderson, a Logan contractor. Cost of the building was $30,000. The meeting hall for the Elks Lodge was on the upper floor, the rooms rented to doctors, lawyers, etc., and the lower floor was rented initially to Hefferman-Thompson, (general merchandise) Company. Later it was occupied by Norman and Jenson . . . — Map (db m75428) HM|
|Utah (Juab County), Eureka — N-236-2 — Eureka City Hall — Utah Historic Site|
|The Eureka City Hall was built in 1899 by the Eureka City government and functioned as the offices for city court, mayor, sheriff, recorder, treasurer, council chamber and city volunteer fire department. John J. Pilgrim, a city official, drew the plans and specifications for $100 and Adams and Sons of Eureka, built it for $4,400. Eureka City Hall still serves the same function except the courtroom and most of the second floor now house the Tintic Mining Museum, sponsored by the Tintic . . . — Map (db m75426) HM|
|Utah (Juab County), Eureka — N-236-10 — Eureka Post Office — Eureka Historic District|
|The Eureka Post Office was constructed in 1922 by the United States Government for the commercial center of the Tintic Mining District. James A. Wetmore served as “Acting Supervisory Architect.” The structure represents the only example of the Spanish Colonial Revival style in the Tintic area. It continues to serve its original function. Listed in the National Register of Historical Places on March 14, 1979. — Map (db m75371) HM|
|Utah (Juab County), Eureka — N-236 — Eureka United Methodist Church — Utah Historic Site|
|Constructed in 1891 with funds secured from the local Methodists and the Mission Conference of 1890, this building is important in documenting the religious life of Eureka and Tintic. Methodism began in Tintic when Dr. Thomas C. Iliff visited and preached on June 18, 1890. Reverend W.A. Hunt was appointed first Pastor and succeeded by Dr. D.J. Gilliand, who finished the church structure. The Gothic-style tower houses the original bell. It was listed in the National Register of Historical Places . . . — Map (db m75370) HM|
|Utah (Juab County), Eureka — N-236-3 — Juab County Courthouse — Utah Historic Site|
|The Juab County Courthouse, built in 1891 for $5,000, served as the City Hall until 1899 when Eureka City Hall was built. This courthouse served as a jail for the county and much of the time for the city. It still functions as a County Courthouse and City Jail. It was listed in the National Register of Historical Places on March 14, 1979 as part of the Eureka Historical District. — Map (db m75431) HM|
|Utah (Juab County), Eureka — N-236-6 — McCornick and Company Bank — Eureka Historic District|
|This building was constructed in 1909 to serve as the new home of McCornick and Company bankers and has continued to the present to serve as a bank. McCornick and Company first came to Eureka in 1898, when they moved their bank, fixtures and all, from the mining town of Mercur, apparently with the intent of replacing the George Arthur Rice Bank, which had folded in 1897. Around 1917, Eureka Banking Company took over the building, which gave way to the Commercial Service Company in the 1960s. . . . — Map (db m75430) HM|
|Utah (Juab County), Eureka — N-236-7 — Old Eureka Post Office — Eureka Historic District|
|Built circa 1894, this building served as the town post office until 1922, when a new post office building was constructed. In 1926 a merchandising company, known as "Everybody's" occupied the building. It is a good example of the commercial architecture in Eureka and is one of at least three commercial buildings in town that are of similar size, construction of stone, and have brick facades. — Map (db m75429) HM|
|Utah (Juab County), Eureka — N-236-1 — St. Patrick's Catholic Church — Utah Historic Site|
|St. Patrick's Catholic Church, built in 1885, remains as one of the oldest Catholic Churches in Utah. Constructed under the direction of Reverend Denis Keily, the building represents both importance of Irish settlement in Tintic, as well as the early Catholic missionary efforts of Bishop Lawrence Scanlan. The church was listed in the National Register of Historical Places on May 14, 1979, as part of the Eureka Historical District. — Map (db m75432) HM|
|Utah (Juab County), Eureka — N-236-1 — The Bullion Beck & Champion Mining Company Headframe|
|This monument has two markers
Plaque A: (Side of monument)
Bullion Beck and Champion Mining Company Headframe
This massive sixty-five foot Montana-type headframe is the only remnant of the Bullion Beck and Champion Mining Company. Discovered in 1871 by John Beck, the Bullion Beck became one of Eureka's Big Four mines. The others, all visible from the Beck, were: the Gemini, the Eureka Hill, and the Centennial Eureka (Blue Rock). Constructed in about 1890, these . . . — Map (db m75433) HM|
|Utah (Juab County), Eureka — 512 — Tintic Mining District|
|The discovery of the outcrop of the Sunbeam Lode and the subsequent organization of the Tintic Mining District on December 13, 1869, was the beginning of a mining district which ultimately became world-famous. The name is in honor of the Ute Indian Chief Tintic who roamed this area with his braves. This district survives as the best physical reminder of Utah's mining heritage. Towns include Eureka, Silver City, Diamond, Knightsville, and Homansville. Gold, silver, lead, and copper were the . . . — Map (db m75338) HM|
|Utah (Juab County), Eureka — Union Pacific Railroad Depot — Eureka Train Depot|
has been placed on the
of Historic Places
By the United States
Department of the Interior — Map (db m75372) HM|
|Utah (Juab County), Levan — 407 — Levan|
|Spring 1867, Church leader Erastus Snow helped select a new site for Chicken Creek Settlement, relocated due to unfavorable living conditions. Brigham Young named it Levan. Snow appointed Wm. Morgan and James Wilson as supervisors. Early in 1868, Wm. Dye built a dug-out home. Other first families to move were Jabes Broadhead and Jacob Hofheins. James Wilson, first schoolteacher, taught in one room of the Seth Ollorton home. Wm. Tunbridge, town physician.
(Small plaque above marker:) . . . — Map (db m75457) HM|
|Utah (Juab County), Levan — Rolling Out Of The Past|
|In 1902, construction began on a dam to
supply much needed irrigation water to
a very dry western Millard County. Fifteen
exhausting years later, Yuba Dam was
The water share holders were assessed $5 per
share to pay for building the dam, but many
did not have enough cash. Instead, they paid
for their shares by working on the dam. They
used horse-drawn equipment including this
compactor wheel to do the job.
The men working on the dam called it U.B.
Dam. As they worked . . . — Map (db m75458) HM|
|Utah (Juab County), Levan — 387 — The Walker War|
|In July 1853, a trade of fish for flour between an Indian and Mrs. James Ivie, ended in a skirmish; one Indian died, Chief Walker refused peace offer of ponies, beef, flour and blankets unless Mr. Ivie stood trial by Indians; raids began. Colonel George A. Smith supervised defense. War cost lives of many Indians, 19 settlers and the massacre of Captain Gunnison's military exploring party. May 1854, Pres. Brigham Young and Chief Walker signed peace treaty at Chicken Creek, 3 miles S.W. Levan. — Map (db m75456) HM|
|Utah (Juab County), Mammoth — N-236-8 — Mammoth Fire Station — Utah Historic Site|
|This structure, constructed c. 1930, is significant for it's association with the history of firefighting in Mammoth. In August 1912, the Mammoth City Council organized a volunteer firefighting unit, and on August 27, 1912, the first meeting of the Mammoth City Volunteer Fire Department, Number 1 was held. In December 1930, their name changed to the Juab County Fire Department. This building, built of brick, remains an example of the commercial style architecture of Mammoth. It continues to . . . — Map (db m75443) HM|
|Utah (Juab County), Mammoth — Site of the Tintic Hospital — (1902 - 1933)|
|Built as a boarding house in 1893 and converted to a hospital in 1902. The Tintic Hospital served the people of the Tintic mining district until 1933.
Originally operated by Drs. Mott, Townsend and Stephens, it was purchased by Dr. Steele Bailey Sr. and Dr. Charles Harvielle in 1904. Dr. Steele Bailey Jr., who at that time was attending medical school, later joined his father and brother-in-law in the practice of medicine in 1904. He continued to operate the hospital until 1933 when he . . . — Map (db m75442) HM|
|Utah (Juab County), Mona — Mona Bicentennial Memorial Park|
|In memory of our Mona School and the dedicated teachers, board members, custodians, students and citizens who made it great; we have built this monument from sandstone and brick recovered therefrom. The bell hereon, signaled the beginning of school from its erection in 1907 until its termination in 1971.
This Bicentennial Park now situated on these grounds commemorates our devotion to and appreciation of our pioneer heritage. — Map (db m75280) HM|
|Utah (Juab County), Mona — 29 — Old Pioneer Cemetery|
|This monument is erected in memory of the pioneers buried here. There are about 20, whose resting place surrounds this monument.
The first grave was that of Nancy Maria Biglow Love, who died November 27, and was buried November 28, 1852.
In 1852 there were only three pioneer ranchers and their families living here. In 1853 Indian trouble forced them to move to Nephi.
After Mona was settled in 1859, it served for a burial ground until 1869. — Map (db m75292) HM|
|Utah (Juab County), Nephi — 434 — Burraston Ponds|
|Burraston Ponds was the campsite of the Escalante Expedition, 27 September 1776, from Santa Fe to the Utah Basin. Father Escalante mapped this area and named this spring "Ojo de San Pablo" or Eye of Saint Paul.
The great Indian chiefs before and during the Walker and Black Hawk Indian Wars used this campsite as a meeting place. They called it Punjun Spring and said it was without bottom and that in the still of the evening a baby's cry could be heard from its depths.
Richard James . . . — Map (db m75277) HM|
|Utah (Juab County), Nephi — 196 — Early Schools|
|The first settlers arrived here in 1851. A one room building was erected and used for Church and School in 1852. Candice Smith and George Spencer and wife were teachers. In 1855 a schoolhouse was erected inside the fort and early teachers were: Martha Hayward, Thomas Ord, Andrew Love, Mary Ellen Love, John Chapman, Amy Bigler, and Martha Schofield. Later school was held in the Social Hall, and in 1894 Central School was completed. The bell on this marker was installed and used as curfew and to call the children to school. — Map (db m75271) HM|
|Utah (Juab County), Nephi — 459 — Juab Co. Jail|
|This building has two markers
Daughters of Utah Pioneers Marker
Prisoners from Juab county were first held in the basement of the Social Hall that stood on the corner of Center Street and Second East in Nephi. The next jail was a sturdy frame building built of thick heavy planks painted red located directly south and west of the old courthouse.
This Juab County Jail was built in the Territory of Utah four years before Utah became a state. The contract for . . . — Map (db m75270) HM|
|Utah (Juab County), Nephi — Oscar M. Booth House|
|Constructed in 1893 by Oscar M. Booth, this house is an excellent example of the Queen Anne architectural style in Utah. Some identifying features of the home include its side-hall plan, asymmetrical massing, long wrap-around porch, and the octagonal tower with conical roof. Mr. Booth was a local carpenter and builder who is best known in the Nephi area for his design of the Whitmore Mansion, listed on the National Register. It is also reported that in addition to the work Booth did in Nephi, . . . — Map (db m75268) HM|
|Utah (Juab County), Nephi — 11 — Salt Creek Canyon Massacre|
|This monument replaces one previously erected (that crumbled through weather conditions) by Langley A. Bailey, Sr., Jacob Bowers and Henry Knowles in memory of the following pioneers: Jens Jergensen and wife, Jens Terkelsen and Christian E. Kjerulf who were massacred by Indians, June 4, 1858, near this spot while traveling unarmed on their way to Sanpete Valley. — Map (db m75247) HM|
|Utah (Juab County), Nephi — 2 — Salt Creek Fort|
|Completed in November 1854 by the Pioneers of Salt Creek (Nephi) for protection against Indians. The inclosure was 3 blocks square, from 1st West to 2nd East and from 1st North to 2nd South Streets. Markers have been placed at the corners. The original wall, composed of gravel, mud and straw, was 12 feet high, 6 feet wide at bottom and 2 1/2 feet wide at top, 420 rods in length. Gates were provided in the north and the south walls. This section of the original wall was removed to this site for preservation, November 7, 1933. — Map (db m75272) HM|
|Utah (Juab County), Nephi — 499 — The Old Mill Wheel|
|In 1859, John Hoile established a flour gristmill at First South between First and Second East. The mill consisted of a small one-story frame building. On June 20, 1870, the mill was bought by John Hague who operated it until he died in 1900. The mill sat idle until 1907 when it was purchased by the Juab Mill and Elevator Company. They immediately enlarged the mill's manufacturing capacity by adding a three-story brick structure.
This wheel is the third and last wheel used at the . . . — Map (db m75269) HM|
|Utah (Kane County), Glendale — 206 — Glendale|
|In 1864 John, Joseph and Robert Berry, their families and others settled in Berryville. The church called more families in 1865. The town was abandoned because of Indian depredations in 1886 when Robert, his wife, Isabell, and Joseph Berry were killed by Indians. In 1871 settlers from the Muddy Mission came. The name was changed to Glendale. Each family received land in proportion to their number. A grist mill, sawmill, and public buildings were erected. James Leithead was first bishop, Warren M. Johnson first schoolteacher. — Map (db m74644) HM|
|Utah (Kane County), Glendale — Glendale Orientation Center — Grand Staircase-Escalante National Monument|
| In the late 1800s, travelers who wanted to go to Kanab or Panguitch accompanied the mail carrier. In the early years, they traveled with him on horseback; in later years, they hitched a ride in his two-wheeled mailcart.
"No one who traveled...[this route] will forget Ned Walker and the 'sand.' He took new routes every other day through the sage brush so that the sand could be traversed more easily by his poor horses. This meant more bounce for his passenger if he happened to be riding . . . — Map (db m40467) HM|
|Utah (Kane County), Glendale — Millstones — A Precious Commodity|
| These millstones were used to grind wheat and corn into flour. Glendale oral histories tell us that in 1870 these burrs, as they were called, were brought here from Toquerville, Utah, 100 miles away.
Histories written about this area report that when James Leithead refounded Glendale in 1872, he brought with him "the gristmill machinery he had used on the Muddy River," about 175 miles southwest. Considering the effort needed to transport these heavy objects, they must have been very important to hungry settlers. — Map (db m40475) HM|
|Utah (Kane County), Glendale — The Berry Family|
|Four early Church pioneers, sons of Jesse Woods and Amelia Shanks Berry, were the founders of Berryville, now Glendale, Utah. Joseph S. and Robert M. and his wife Isabelle Hale Berry, were killed by Indians April 2, 1856. They are burried in Grafton, near Rockville. A mob shot and killed William Shanks Berry while on a mission in Tennessee in 1884. John William, while carrying mail for Brigham Young, was shot by an Indian and carried the bullet until his death.
A large and faithful posterity live to honor them. — Map (db m74646) HM|
|Utah (Kane County), Glendale — 451 — United Order Woolen Mill|
|Built in the spring of 1882, the woolen factory was in operation until 1890. It was built under the direction of the United Order Board. Thomas Chamberlain, Bishop and President of the Board.
The machinery was run by waterpower. Yarn, batting and cloth were made with the best wool selected for the yarn. More yarn was made than cloth. Three thousand one hundred and sixty-four yards of cloth were woven during 1889. The women's clothes were made mostly of linsey, which is part wool and part . . . — Map (db m74675) HM|
|Utah (Kane County), Kanab — Adrian Booth — Utah's Little Hollywood — Kanab Utah "Walk of Fame"|
| Filmed "Oh, Susannah" for
Republic Studios in Kanab in 1950.
Co-Stars were Rod Cameron
and Chill Wills. — Map (db m41390) HM|
|Utah (Kane County), Kanab — Andrew Prine — Utah's Little Hollywood — Kanab Utah "Walk of Fame"|
| Veteran actor Andrew Prine has guest starred in almost every television series on the air and he starred in two shows of his own "Wide Country" and "The Road West". His feature film credits include "Chisum", "Bandolero" and "Advance to the Rear". Andrew came to Kanab for his roles in "Donner Pass" and "One Little Indian". Mr. Prine is active today and is a popular guest at film festivals across America along with hosting "Conversations with Andrew Prine" on the westerns channel. — Map (db m41546) HM|
|Utah (Kane County), Kanab — Audie Murphy — Utah's Little Hollywood — Kanab Utah "Walk of Fame"|
| Before becoming a motion picture star Audie Murphy was the most decorated soldier of World War II winning the Congressional Medal of Honor and 12 other citations. Audie liked Southern Utah and filmed “Six Black Horses”, “Bullet For a Badman” and “Gunpoint” all in St. George. One of his early films “Sierra”, co-starring Wanda Hendrix and Burl Ives, was shot in Kanab and Cedar Breaks in 1949 for Universal Studios. Audie Murphy was sadly killed in a plane crash in 1971. — Map (db m41209) HM|
|Utah (Kane County), Kanab — Ben Cooper — Utah's Little Hollywood — Kanab Utah "Walk of Fame"|
| Actor Ben Cooper is known world wide for his appearances in such films as “Johnny Guitar”, “The Last Command”, and “Arizona Raiders,” An expert horseman and fast draw artist, Ben also worked in Kanab on “Death Valley Days” and is still active today. — Map (db m41212) HM|
|Utah (Kane County), Kanab — Ben Johnson — Utah's Little Hollywood — Kanab Utah "Walk of Fame"|
| Movie making around Kanab, Utah
Fort Bowie 1958
How The West Was Won 1976 — Map (db m41217) HM|
|Utah (Kane County), Kanab — Bob Hoy — Utah's Little Hollywood — Kanab Utah "Walk of Fame"|
| A veteran actor and stuntman, Bob Hoy was often in Kanab doubling for such actors as Robert Taylor, Lloyd Nolan and Tony Curtis, to name a few. In the 60's and 70's Bob co-starred in the hit television series "The High Chaparral", and the movie "The Dutchess and The Dirt Water Fox". Being a close friend of Clint Eastwood he was often cast in his films, including "The Enforcer", and the well respected western, "The Outlaw Josey Wales" filmed right here in Kanab in 1976 by Warner Brothers . . . — Map (db m41538) HM|
|Utah (Kane County), Kanab — Bruce Boxleitner — Utah's Little Hollywood — Kanab Utah "Walk of Fame"|
| Bruce starred in the hit television series “How The West Was Won” with James Arness and Eva Marie Saint, for the A.B.C. T.V. Network. Many of the show’s episodes were filmed on Kanab and Cedar Breaks locations. — Map (db m41261) HM|
|Utah (Kane County), Kanab — Buck Taylor — Utah's Little Hollywood — Kanab Utah "Walk of Fame"|
| Portrayed “Newly O’Brien” for eight seasons on the legendary T.V. series “Gunsmoke,” Bucks recent credits include “Tombstone”, “Gettysburg”, “The Alamo”, and “Trail to Hope Rose.” Buck is a well respected artist who paints western scenes reflecting the romance and reality of the west. — Map (db m41288) HM|
|Utah (Kane County), Kanab — Charlton Heston — Utah's Little Hollywood — Kanab Utah "Walk of Fame"|
Filmed in Kanab 1953 starring
Charlton Heston, Rhonda Fleming,
Forrest Tucker, Jan Sterling.
"Planet of the Apes"
Filmed in 1968 starring
Charlton Heston, Roddy McDowall,
Kim Hunter, Linda Harrison. — Map (db m41318) HM|
|Utah (Kane County), Kanab — Chauncey "Chance" Parry — Utah's Little Hollywood — Kanab Utah "Walk of Fame"|
| Chauncey Parry was one of the great early boosters for Southern Utah tourism. With his transportation company, he was often called upon to escort visiting Heads of State to Zion, Bryce, and the Grand Canyon. He was even knighted by the King of Sweden for his service. "Chance" Parry was the guiding force in the building of Parry Lodge. He oversaw it's [sic] design and building prior to the opening in June of 1931. It was his idea to try and attract more Hollywood film makers to the area. As a . . . — Map (db m41347) HM|
|Utah (Kane County), Kanab — Clint Eastwood — Utah's Little Hollywood — Kanab Utah "Walk of Fame"|
| Academy award winning director and actor Clint Eastwood rose to prominence as the star of the “Rawhide” T.V. series on C.B.S. Television. Clint’s so called Spaghetti Westerns elevated him to major stardom and such films as “Hang Em High”, “Dirty Harry”, “High Plains Drifter” and “Unforgiven” only added to his fame. One of Clint’s most respected films, “The Outlaw Josey Wales” was made in Kanab in 1975 by Warner Brothers . . . — Map (db m41214) HM|
|Utah (Kane County), Kanab — Coleen Gray — Utah's Little Hollywood — Kanab Utah "Walk of Fame"|
| Lovely Actress Coleen Gray rose to Hollywood prominence as leading lady to Victor Mature in "Kiss of Death", Rory Calhoun in "Sand" and as John Wayne's girl friend in the classic "Red River". Miss Gray spent part of her career in Kanab where she starred in "Fury at Furnace Creek" for the 20th Century Fox Studios and "Copper Sky" also filmed in Kanab co-starring Jeff Morrow. A familiar face for three decades on television and the big screen Coleen did it all, film noir, drama, comedies and westerns which brought her to "Little Hollywood". — Map (db m41394) HM|
|Utah (Kane County), Kanab — Dale Evans — Utah's Little Hollywood — Kanab Utah "Walk of Fame"|
Filmed in Kanab
"In Old Oklahoma" starring
John Wayne, Martha Scott, Dale Evans
1943 — Map (db m41363) HM|
|Utah (Kane County), Kanab — Dale Robertson — Utah's Little Hollywood — Kanab Utah "Walk of Fame"|
"Death Valley Day's" [sic]
1950's and 1960's — Map (db m41542) HM|
|Utah (Kane County), Kanab — Dean Smith — Utah's Little Hollywood — Kanab Utah "Walk of Fame"|
| One of Hollywood’s most respected stuntmen, Dean Smith has had a 50 year career making top actors look good. Dean was a gold medalist winner in the 1952 Olympic Games and beginning with “The Alamo” he appeared in 10 films with superstar John Wayne. Dean often performed his action feats in Kanab on such projects as “How the West Was Won” and “Gunsmoke”. Dean Smith is a member of “The Stuntmen’s Hall of Fame”, “Texas Sports Hall of . . . — Map (db m72494) HM|
|Utah (Kane County), Kanab — Dennis Weaver — Utah's Little Hollywood — Kanab Utah "Walk of Fame"|
| Emmy award winning actor, Dennis Weaver appeared for 9 years as "Chester" on "Gunsmoke" and starred in "McCloud" and "Kentucky Jones" T.V. series. Dennis made the action filled film "Duel at Diablo" here in Kanab in 1966 for United Artists Productions. James Garner and BiBi Andersson co-starred for Director Ralph Nelson. — Map (db m41545) HM|
|Utah (Kane County), Kanab — Denny Miller — Utah's Little Hollywood — Kanab Utah "Walk of Fame"|
| Rugged and handsome actor, Denny Miller’s many film and television credits include “Gunsmoke”, “Murder She Wrote”, “Bordertown”, “The Party” and “Young Maverick”. Denny came to Kanab as co-star of the hit T.V. series “Wagon Train” produced for A.B.C. Television in the 1970’s, and often returns as a guest star at “Western Legends” annual film festival. Besides Denny’s varied roles in westerns, dramas, and . . . — Map (db m41219) HM|
|Utah (Kane County), Kanab — Dick Jones — Utah's Little Hollywood — Kanab Utah "Walk of Fame"|
| Beginning his career as a child actor and stuntman, Dick Jones would gain worldwide fame for his starring roles in two hit television series, "The Range Rider" and "Buffalo Bill Jr.". Dick first came to Kanab in 1936 to co-star with "Wild" Bill Elliott in the Columbia Studios serial "The Great Adventures of Wild Bill Hickok". One of Dick's fondest achievements is being the voice of "Pinnochio" for the Walt Disney Studios. — Map (db m41310) HM|
|Utah (Kane County), Kanab — Don Collier — Utah's Little Hollywood — Kanab Utah "Walk of Fame"|
| Actor Don Collier has appeared in many television shows and feature films in his long varied career. Titles including "Bonanza", "The War Wagon" and "The Undefeated" and gained world wide recognition for his three hit television series, "The Outlaws", "The Young Riders" and the international favorite "The High Chaparral". Many of these were filmed on location and Don was often in Kanab working on such television fare as the long running "Death Valley Days" which filmed here constantly in the 50's, 60's, and 70's. — Map (db m41540) HM|
|Utah (Kane County), Kanab — Don Knotts — Utah's Little Hollywood — Kanab Utah "Walk of Fame"|
| Comedian Don Knotts won 5 consecutive Emmy awards for his impeccable role as Deputy Barney Fife on the long running “Andy Griffith” T.V. series. When Don branched out into such feature films as “The Ghost and Mr. Chicken”, “The Shakiest Gun in the West” and “The Incredible Mr. Limpet” he found added fame. In 1979 Don along with his co-stars Tim Conway, Ruth Buzzi and Jack Elam worked at the fort set here in Kanab for scenes in the Walt Disney . . . — Map (db m41295) HM|
|Utah (Kane County), Kanab — Don Shanks — Utah's Little Hollywood — Kanab Utah "Walk of Fame"|
| An all around talent in the film industry is Don Shanks, who is an accomplished director, actor, stuntman and stunt coordinator. Don's career often brought him on location to Kanab for work in T.V. series, television movies and feature films including "How the West was Won", "Hawkeye and the Last of the Mohicans", "Frontier Fremont", "In Search of Noah's Ark", and his co-starring role as "Nakuma" in the hit T.V. series "The Life and Times of Grizzly Adams". Don directed the film "Grizzly and . . . — Map (db m41541) HM|
|Utah (Kane County), Kanab — Earl Bellamy — Utah's Little Hollywood — Kanab Utah "Walk of Fame"|
Filmaking In Kanab
Adventures of Rin-Tin-Tin • Daniel Boone
The Lone Ranger • The Six Million Dollar Man
Tales of Wells Fargo • Wagon Train — Map (db m41381) HM|
|Utah (Kane County), Kanab — Edward Faulkner — Utah's Little Hollywood — Kanab Utah "Walk of Fame"|
| A familiar face to legions of movie and television fans, Edward Faulkner has appeared in over 30 feature films and 250 television productions. Ed’s illustrious career often brought him to Kanab where he worked on “Gunsmoke”, “Have Gun Will Travel”, “Laramie”, “The Loner”, “Rawhide” and “The Virginian”. A favorite actor of John Wayne’s, Mr. Faulkner would go on to appear in 6 of Mr. Wayne’s films including . . . — Map (db m41291) HM|
|Utah (Kane County), Kanab — Exploration and Colonization — The Early Settlers|
| The Ancient Ones
Evidence of the Anasazi's footsteps across the high plateaus of the area date back 2000 years. They were cliff dwellers who hunted deer and mountain sheep, and farmed the land. The Anasazi reached the peak of their culture from about 700 A.D. to 1000 A.D. In 1300 A.D., they abandoned their homes and moved southward. The cause of their departure is unclear, but it is believed that a severe drought or invasion by the Navajos precipitated their move out of the area. . . . — Map (db m41366) HM|
|Utah (Kane County), Kanab — Fay Hamblin — Utah's Little Hollywood — Kanab Utah "Walk of Fame"|
Kanab Location Scout
1938 – 1976 — Map (db m41258) HM|
|Utah (Kane County), Kanab — 115 — Fort Kanab|
| On June 14, 1870 Levi Stewart, who had been called from Salt Lake County by President Brigham Young to head a group of pioneers in settling this area, brought a party with seven wagons from Pipe Springs, where they had camped temporarily, to Fort Kanab which had been built a year before by Jacob Hamblin and Indian missionaries.
Kanab Ward was organized September 11, 1870 with Elder Stewart as Bishop. Other settlers arrived, homes were built and plans made for a permanent community. A fire . . . — Map (db m41252) HM|
|Utah (Kane County), Kanab — George "Gabby" Hayes — Utah's Little Hollywood — Kanab Utah "Walk of Fame"|
| One of Hollywood’s top character actors and one of the screen’s most beloved sidekicks was George “Gabby” Hayes. His career spanned more than 50 years starting in silent films as a heavy and continuing as a gruff but loveable pal to such cowboy stars as Roy Rogers, Randolph Scott, Dale Robertson, William Boyd and Wild Bill Elliott. “Gabby” came to Kanab in 1943 to co-star for Republic Studios in their epic film, “In Old Oklahoma” starring John Wayne, Albert . . . — Map (db m41216) HM|
|Utah (Kane County), Kanab — Glenn Ford — Utah's Little Hollywood — Kanab Utah "Walk of Fame"|
| Hollywood legend, Glenn Ford, appeared in over 100 feature films, many of them western including "3:10 to Yuma", "Jubal", "Redhead and The Cowboy" and "The Sheepman". One of his favorite locations was Kanab and Mr. Ford worked here on "The Desperadoes" for Columbia Pictures in 1943 and "The Long Ride Home" also for Columbia Studios in 1967. Along with his many military honors, Glenn Ford was also inducted into The Cowboy Hall of Fame in Oklahoma City, acknowledging his many fine performances as a stalwart western hero. — Map (db m41278) HM|
|Utah (Kane County), Kanab — Gregg Palmer — Utah's Little Hollywood — Kanab Utah "Walk of Fame"|
| Veteran actor Gregg Palmer worked on episodes of "Death Valley Days" and "Gunsmoke" and starred in "Revolt At Fort Laramie" for United Artists Productions in 1957. All filmed in the Kanab area. — Map (db m41553) HM|
|Utah (Kane County), Kanab — Gronway "Gron" Parry — Utah's Little Hollywood — Kanab Utah "Walk of Fame"|
| "Gron" Parry was the eldest of the three Parry Brothers. In 1917, he and his brother "Chance" pioneered early tourism in Southern Utah, when they established a bus transportation company. They would pick up passengers at the train station in Cedar City and transport them to Zion, Bryce, and the Grand Canyon. Making his home in Cedar City, he started several businesses there that helped to finance the brother's [sic] tourism and movie efforts. Gron was also instrumental in assisting movie . . . — Map (db m41344) HM|
|Utah (Kane County), Kanab — Howard W. Koch — Utah's Little Hollywood — Kanab Utah "Walk of Fame"|
Producer - Director
Yellow Tomahawk 1953
Fort Bowie 1957
Ghost Town 1956
War Drums 1956
Sergeants Three 1961
Fort Yuma 1955
Quincannon Frontier Scout 1955
Revolt At Fort Laramie 1957
The Girl In Black Stockings 1956
The Dalton Girls 1957 — Map (db m41373) HM|
|Utah (Kane County), Kanab — Jackie Hamblin Rife — Utah's Little Hollywood — Kanab Utah "Walk of Fame"|
Movie Historian • Stunt Woman
The Yellow Tomahawk • War Drums • Buffalo Bill • Westward The Women • Drums Along The Mohawk • Fort Yuma • Sargents Three [sic] • Red Canyon • The Outriders • Pony Express • Fort Bowie • The Badlanders • Green Grass of Wyoming • Calamity Jan & Sam Bass • Revolt at Fort Laramie — Map (db m41543) HM|
|Utah (Kane County), Kanab — 21 — Jacob Hamblin — Born April 2, 1819 Died August 21, 1886|
|The great Mormon frontiersman and Indian missionary settled in Tooele Valley, Utah in 1850 and began peaceful negotiations with the Red Men. He was so successful that the officials of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints sent him to establish residence among the Indians at Santa Clara, Utah, in 1854.
A fort was erected on this site in 1865 into which he moved in 1869. He assisted Maj. J. W. Powell and party 1869-72. He was transferred in 1878 to Arizona, and later to New Mexico. . . . — Map (db m41254) HM|
|Utah (Kane County), Kanab — James Drury — Utah's Little Hollywood — Kanab Utah "Walk of Fame"|
| Mr. Drury starred as "The Virginian" in the long running hit T.V. series. "Ten Who Dared", which also starred James was filmed along the nearby Colorado River. His many appearances include "Gunsmoke", "Have Gun-Will Travel", "The Last Wagon", "Walker Texas Ranger", "The Young Warriors", and many more. — Map (db m41382) HM|
|Utah (Kane County), Kanab — James Garner — Utah's Little Hollywood — Kanab Utah "Walk of Fame"|
| Reaching international fame as the star of the hit T.V. series "Maverick", James Garner is still entertaining us six decades later. His list of classic film titles are too numerous to list but they include "Cash McCall", "The Great Escape", "Support Your Local Sheriff" and "The Americanization of Emily". Two of Jim's most popular and well regarded films, "Duel at Diablo" and "One Little Indian" were filmed right here in Kanab. "Maverick" the feature film co-starring Mel Gibson was shot in . . . — Map (db m41273) HM|
|Utah (Kane County), Kanab — James Hampton — Utah's Little Hollywood — Kanab Utah "Walk of Fame"|
| Actor and comedian, James Hampton was raised and educated in Dallas, Texas. In a career that spans 50 years, James credits are extremely impressive with roles in "Sling Blade", "Macintosh and T.J.", "Cimarron Strip", "The Longest Yard" and "Hawmps", to name a few. James has found T.V. immortality as the Bungling Bugler in the ever popular television series "F Troop". It is a safe bet that on any given day, James Hampton is on T.V. somewhere in the world in the endless reruns of "F Troop" and his other appearances. — Map (db m41283) HM|
|Utah (Kane County), Kanab — Jim Davis — Utah's Little Hollywood — Kanab Utah "Walk of Fame"|
|One of the most frequent visitors to Kanab during it’s [sic] filming heyday was actor Jim Davis. Jim first worked in Kanab in 1949 on “The Big Cat” and subsequently appeared here in 1951 on “Oh Susannah” followed by “The Badge of Marshal Brennan” and “Raiders of Old California” both made in 1957. Jim also made many episodes of “Death Valley Days” and “Gunsmoke” here in Kanab, before his starring role as the patriarch, . . . — Map (db m41246) HM|
|Utah (Kane County), Kanab — Joel McCrea — Utah's Little Hollywood — Kanab Utah "Walk of Fame"|
| Actor Joel McCrea made more films in Kanab than any other major star. “Union Pacific” in 1939, “Buffalo Bill” in 1944, “Ramrod” in 1947, “The Outsiders” in 1950 and “Trooper Hook” in 1957. Mr. McCrea was considered one of Hollywood’s best riders and along with his wife, actress Frances Dee they were one of the town’s favorite couples, living the western lifestyle when off camera. — Map (db m41218) HM|
|Utah (Kane County), Kanab — John Ford — Utah's Little Hollywood — Kanab Utah "Walk of Fame"|
| This photo of John Wayne (left) and Director John Ford was taken in 1950 when they were filming “Rio Grande”, near Moab, Utah. Ten years earlier Ford and his co-stars Henry Fonda and Claudette Colbert made “Drums Along The Mohawk”, on Cedar Mountain just north of Kanab for 20th Century Fox Studios. John Ford is the most honored director in film history with a record 5 Academy Awards on his mantle. — Map (db m72537) HM|
|Utah (Kane County), Kanab — John Wayne — Utah's Little Hollywood — Kanab Utah "Walk of Fame"|
Starred in "In Old Oklahoma"
for Republic Studios in Kanab in 1943.
Co-Stars were Martha Scott
George "Gabby" Hayes, and Dale Evans. — Map (db m72496) HM|
|Utah (Kane County), Kanab — Johnny Western — Utah's Little Hollywood — Kanab Utah "Walk of Fame"|
| Singer and actor Johnny Western has appeared in thirty-seven features, including "Boots and Saddles", "The Dalton Girls", "Fort Bowie", and "Have Gun-Will Travel" (for which he wrote the theme song) all filmed in Kanab. Johnny was recently inducted into the D.J. Hall of Fame. — Map (db m41342) HM|
|Utah (Kane County), Kanab — Kanab's All-Women Council and Mayor — 1912 - 1914|
Luelle Atkin McAllister
Blanche Robinson Hamblin
Mary E. Wooley Chamberlain
Tamar Stewart Hamblin
Ada Pratt Seegmiller
Councilwoman — Map (db m41571) HM|
|Utah (Kane County), Kanab — Maureen O'Hara — Utah's Little Hollywood — Kanab Utah "Walk of Fame"|
| Affectionately called "The Queen of Technicolor", lovely actress Maureen O'Hara appeared in such films as "The Quiet Man", "Rio Grande" and "McLintock" and co-starred with Joel McCrea in one of her most important films "Buffalo Bill" filmed in Kanab in 1944 by 20th Century Fox Studios. — Map (db m41316) HM|
|Utah (Kane County), Kanab — Morgan Woodward — Utah's Little Hollywood — Kanab Utah "Walk of Fame"|
| Morgan often worked in Kanab on such films and T.V. shows as “Gunsmoke” (he has the record for most guest appearances). Also, “How The West Was Won”, “One Little Indian”, and “Daniel Boone.” Notable guest appearances also include “Dallas”, “Bonanza”, “High Chaparral”, “Wagon Train”, and “Tales of Wells Fargo.” — Map (db m41294) HM|
|Utah (Kane County), Kanab — Neil Summers — Utah's Little Hollywood — Kanab Utah "Walk of Fame"|
| Kanab Films:
Greatest Story Ever Told “1964"
Ride The Whirlwind “1965”
Duel At Diablo “1966”
The Plainsman “1966”
Rough Night In Jericho “1967”
The Long Ride Home “1967”
Makenna’s Gold “1968”
One Little Indian “1971”
Outlaw Josey Wales “1976”
Death Valley Days
How the West Was Won
Gunsmoke — Map (db m41215) HM|
|Utah (Kane County), Kanab — Peggie Castle — Utah's Little Hollywood — Kanab Utah "Walk of Fame"|
| Lovely and popular actress, Peggie Castle worked opposite most of the stalwart western leading men, including Rod Cameron, John Ireland, Randolph Scott and Jock Mahoney. She often found herself on location in Kanab co-starring with Rory Calhoun in United Artists 1954 film "The Yellow Tomahawk" and two years later Peggie was back in "Little Hollywod" appearing opposite Tony Martin in another United Artists western 1956's "Quincannon, Frontier Scout". Peggie found lasting fame along with Peter . . . — Map (db m41536) HM|
|Utah (Kane County), Kanab — Penny Edwards — Utah's Little Hollywood — Kanab Utah "Walk of Fame"|
| Penny Edwards was a frequent visitor to Kanab. She appeared in many “Death Valley Days” episodes and starred in “Ride A Violent Mile” and “The Dalton Girls” both filmed in Kanab for United Artists. In early television Penny was famous as “The Tiparrilo [sic - Tiparillo] Girl” in a series of long running commercials. — Map (db m41249) HM|
|Utah (Kane County), Kanab — Peter Brown — Utah's Little Hollywood — Kanab Utah "Walk of Fame"|
| Handsome actor, Peter Brown, star of the "Lawman" and "Laredo" television series has always been an ardent supporter of Kanab City's activities and Peter has been a popular guest star at many of the "Western Legends" film festivals. His many roles in such films and T.V. shows as "Cheyenne", "Maverick", "A Tiger Walks", "Ride the Wild Surf" and "Darby's Rangers" have made Peter instantly recognizable wherever he travels. Peter still acts and also now writes and produces western screenplays. — Map (db m41286) HM|
|Utah (Kane County), Kanab — Randolph Scott — Utah's Little Hollywood — Kanab Utah "Walk of Fame"|
| The Virginia gentleman, Randolph Scott had a 50 year career in motion pictures. He starred in comedies, war films, mysteries and his most popular genre, westerns. Mr. Scott made two of his best westerns here in Kanab when he starred in “Western Union” in 1941 for 20th Century Fox Studios and “The Desperadoes” in 1943 for Columbia Pictures. His screen image of the no nonsense loner made him one of the most popular cowboy stars ever in films. — Map (db m41221) HM|
|Utah (Kane County), Kanab — Richard Boone — Utah's Little Hollywood — Kanab Utah "Walk of Fame"|
| Richard Boone had been around Hollywood for years before achieving international stardom as “Paladin”, the fast gun for hire in the hit C.B.S. Television Series, “Have Gun Will Travel”. The show lasted 6 years, always in the top of the ratings with many episodes filmed right here in Kanab. — Map (db m41290) HM|
|Utah (Kane County), Kanab — Robert Fuller — Utah's Little Hollywood — Kanab Utah "Walk of Fame"|
| Films made in Kanab
Death Valley Days
Laramie — Map (db m41245) HM|
|Utah (Kane County), Kanab — Robert Horton — Utah's Little Hollywood — Kanab Utah "Walk of Fame"|
| Broadway, film and television star Robert Horton starred in the highly popular “Wagon Train” television series for N.B.C. Network. Numerous episodes were filmed around Kanab in the 1960’s and 1970’s. — Map (db m41289) HM|
|Utah (Kane County), Kanab — Robert Taylor — Utah's Little Hollywood — Kanab Utah "Walk of Fame"|
| One of the most handsome and popular leading men of Hollywood’s so called Golden Era, Robert Taylor often stated that westerns were his favorite type of film to make. Robert was one of Kanab’s most frequent visitors as he starred here in M.G.M.’s 1941 film “Billy the Kid” then “Westward the Women” again for M.G.M. in 1951. Two years later Robert was back with Ava Gardner and Anthony Quinn in M.G.M.’s 1952 classic, “Ride Vaquero”. In his later years Robert . . . — Map (db m41403) HM|
|Utah (Kane County), Kanab — Roydon Clark — Utah's Little Hollywood — Kanab Utah "Walk of Fame"|
| Stuntman, Stunt Coordinator and Actor, Roydon Clark has had a career that has spanned five decades. Roydon has been an associate and friend of Actor James Garner since the original "Maverick" T.V. series and was in charge of all the action on Jim's long running hit series "The Rockford Files". He often worked in Kanab on such films as "Bugles in the Afternoon", "Ride the Man Down", "Duel at Diablo", "One Little Indian", and was in "Gunsmoke", "Lawman", "The Lone Ranger", "Zorro", "Bonanza", . . . — Map (db m41274) HM|
|Utah (Kane County), Kanab — Ted Markland — Utah's Little Hollywood — Kanab Utah "Walk of Fame"|
| Veteran actor, Ted Markland has graced every genre of film from biker movies to westerns. His roles in "Bat Masterson", "Ulzana's Raid" and his part as "Reno" in the hit television series "The High Chaparral" have brought Ted much deserved recognition. Working with Brooke Shields and Peter Fonda in "Wanda Nevada" brought Ted to the Kanab area where scenes were filmed at the North Rim of the Grand Canyon and actually down in the canyon. Ted has often stated how much he enjoys being on location here in "Little Hollywood". — Map (db m41539) HM|
|Utah (Kane County), Kanab — The Academy Bell|
| For the people of Kanab, this bell represents schools and the importance of learning. From its founding in 1870, Kanab citizens have been encouraged to obtain as much education as possible and to use it for the benefit of all. For the first two decades, school classes were held in temporary buildings and even in homes. In 1890 a proper school was built on the northeast corner of Main and 1st North. The original one story structure had walls of hewn stone gathered from the surrounding hills. . . . — Map (db m41304) HM|
|Utah (Kane County), Kanab — The Lone Ranger — Utah's Little Hollywood — Kanab Utah "Walk of Fame"|
| Clayton Moore and Jay Silverheels exemplified what heroes were supposed to be. They started their roles as "The Lone Ranger" and "Tonto" on the T.V. series in 1949 and would continue until 1957. Two feature films were also produced during the long run of the series, "The Lone Ranger and The Lost City of Gold" in 1958 for United Artists Productions and the highly regarded Warner Bros. film "The Lone Ranger" filmed right here in Kanab in 1956. Both Clayton and Jay were honored with their stars . . . — Map (db m41313) HM|
|Utah (Kane County), Kanab — Tom Mix — Utah's Little Hollywood — Kanab Utah "Walk of Fame"|
First Western Movie
Made Around The Kanab Area — Map (db m41372) HM|
|Utah (Kane County), Kanab — Whitney "Whit" Parry — Utah's Little Hollywood — Kanab Utah "Walk of Fame"|
| Along with brothers, Gronway and Chauncey, founded Parry Lodge in 1931. Whit's skill in working with movie companies and his excellent hospitality kept film makers coming back to Kanab for nearly 40 years. He operated Parry Lodge until shortly before his death in 1967. — Map (db m41346) HM|
|Utah (Kane County), Kanab — William A. Wellman — Utah's Little Hollywood — Kanab Utah "Walk of Fame"|
| Director William A. Wellman, known to Hollywood as “Wild Bill”, was a man who sprinted through life. A director for over thirty-five years, Wellman’s versatility was hard to match. “Wild Bill” was part of the Golden Age of tough gangster films, with James Cagney and Jean Harlow, adventure films with Gary Cooper and Ray Milland, comedies with Ginger Rogers and Carole Lombard, musicals with Barbara Stanwyck, aviaition films with John Wayne and hero westerns with Gregory . . . — Map (db m41537) HM|
|Utah (Kane County), Mount Carmel — Isaac Behunin — Meribah Morton Behunin and Elmina Tyler Behunin|
| In memory of Isaac Behunin,
Mormon Pioneer, Early Utah Settler and
Credited with the naming of Zion Canyon
Early Mormon Pioneer
Isaac Behunin was born October 20, 1803 in Richland, New York to Albert and Nancy Lord Bohanan (Bohannon). He was involved in the thrust westward, frontierism and the religious revival of early America. In addition to being a farmer, he helped build the Erie Canal as well as other canals during the "Canal Craze" of the 1800s. He married Meribah Morton in . . . — Map (db m40465) HM|
|Utah (Kane County), Mount Carmel — 485 — Settlement of Long Valley and Mt. Carmel / Dr. Priddy Meeks|
| Settlement of Long Valley and Mt. Carmel
The first written account of the exploration of Long Valley was given by John D. Lee in 1852. Coming from Parowan, the explorers were under the direction of Bishop John R. Smith. James Lewis kept the records. The others were John D. Lee, John Steel, John Dart, Solomon Chamberlain, Francis T. Whitney and Dr. Priddy Meeks.
The party entered the Sevier Valley, followed the Sevier River south, over the divide and down the east fork of the Virgin . . . — Map (db m40584) HM|
|Utah (Kane County), Mt Carmel Junction — 120 — The Historic Dixie-Long Valley, Utah Pioneer Trail|
|Segments of the old Indian trails between St. George and Long Valley were used by Mormon pioneers to settle Long Valley in 1864 and for its resettlement in 1871 following Indian conflicts. The trail divided just east of present-day Colorado City, Arizona, the Elephant Trail took a northeasterly route while the alternate Cottonwood Canyon-Sand Ridge trail went more easterly before joining the Elephant Trail after it descended into Parunuweap Canyon/Long Valley. The desert trail, about 85 miles . . . — Map (db m74733) HM|
|Utah (Kane County), Orderville — 28 — Cemetery at Orderville|
|In memory of
buried in the
Founded in 1875. — Map (db m74641) HM|
|Utah (Kane County), Orderville — 258 — Old Rock Schoolhouse|
|In 1886-1887 after the United Order terminated, a public building was erected of native limestone and lumber from the canyon sawmill. It was used for school and church purposes. In 1938 a new schoolhouse was built and the Old Rock Building given to the Daughters of Utah Pioneers for a relic hall. When the school board purchased the ground in March, 1955 the building was torn down. This building is a replica and was erected from the same rocks and other materials. The United Order blacksmith shop was located on this site. — Map (db m74642) HM|
|Utah (Kane County), Orderville — Orderville Bell|
|On December 17, 1901, the first church in Orderville was dedicated by Apostle A. O. Woodruff of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. This bell hung in the tower and was used each Sunday to call people to church. It was also used to warn people of fires until the building was torn down in 1956. — Map (db m74643) HM|
|Utah (Kane County), Orderville — 290 — United Order Industries|
|On March 20, 1874, the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints organized a modern Order of Enoch, called the United Order, Israel Hoyt, first president. A community dining hall with bakery was constructed, also a garden house for seeds and tools. They built a carpenter, blacksmith and shoe shop, tannery, gristmill, sawmill, molasses mill, bucket factory, a woolen and cotton factory; engaged in the silk industry, dairying, broom and hat making. The people planted farms, orchards and gardens, . . . — Map (db m74640) HM|
|Utah (Kane County), Pahreah — 347 — Pahreah|
| In 1865 Peter Shirts made the first settlement in this area. Other pioneers followed but were forced to vacate because of Indian raids. The town was resettled upstream in 1870; church and school buildings were erected under the direction of William Meeks, presiding elder of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. The post office was established prior to 1893. Considerable progress was made in farming and stock raising until repeated floods destroyed property, forcing the inhabitants to leave. — Map (db m40379) HM|
|Utah (Kane County), Pahreah — Paria Movie Set and Pahreah Town Site|
| What you can do here
Down this rough road, you'll find breathtaking scenery, a re-built movie set, picnic area and toilet. This is a great place to stretch your legs, reenact your favorite Westerns and capture the incredible rock formations on film.
A pioneer cemetery is a short walk away, and about a mile and a half further on lie the few remains of Pahreah, a pioneer town that grew from 1870 to 1883, then faded away by the 1930s. Just downstream of the town are signs of a mining . . . — Map (db m40407) HM|
|Utah (Millard County), Delta — “All Gave Some - Some Gave All”|
|442nd Regimental Combat Team, 100th Infantry Battalion, Military Intelligence Service (MIS)
Formed during World War II, these three US Military units were comprised of Japanese-American young men from the US mainland, Hawaii and from ten internment camps such as Topaz. Despite heated racial attitudes, many young men volunteered to show their loyalty to their country. Their valor and fighting spirit became known throughout the US military. The rescue of the Lost Battalion in France . . . — Map (db m1332) HM|
|Utah (Millard County), Delta — 553 — Deseret Relief Society Hall|
|The Relief Society in Deseret was first organized in September of 1877. This group of women met in each other's homes until 1878, when they had a large, one-room adobe hall built. In 1894 the members of the Relief Society decided they should construct a new Relief Society Hall. They began raising money for this building by donating and saving what they could. The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints General Relief Society Board called for contributions to the building of the new General . . . — Map (db m69541) HM|
|Utah (Millard County), Delta — 218 — Escalante Trail|
|Father Escalante camped here October 2, 1776. His exploring party of ten men headed by Father Francisco Dominguez and map-maker Pacheco preached to the Indians and charted a northern route between Santa Fe, New Mexico and Monterey, California. They named this valley “Valle Salado” (Valley of Salt). They traveled west near Clear Lake then east to a hillock, (Pahvant Butte). Here they found marshes and much pasturage, but salt water.
— Map (db m1439) HM|
|Utah (Millard County), Delta — 23 — Fort Deseret|
|Erected as a defense against Pahvant Indians in the Black Hawk War, completed in 18 days by 98 men. Wm. S. Hawley and Isaac W. Pierce, foremen; John W. Radford, Supt. Opening celebration July 25, 1865. The fort was 550 feet square, bastions at Northeast and Southwest corners and gates in the middle of each wall. Made of adobe mud and straw mixed by the feet of oxen, when completed were 10 feet high, 3 feet wide at base and 1 1/2 feet at top, resting only on a stone foundation. — Map (db m69542) HM|
|Utah (Millard County), Delta — N-12 — Fort Deseret — Utah Historic Site|
|Built in 1866 of Adobe mud by two teams of 98 men to protect the settlers during Black Hawk Indian Wars. — Map (db m69544) HM|
|Utah (Millard County), Delta — 447 — Gunnison Massacre Site|
|In 1853, Captain John W. Gunnison was selected to lead an expedition to find a trans-continental railroad route. He followed the Old Spanish Trail through Salina Canyon, over the mountains to Pahvant Valley, and upon reaching Fillmore, visited his friend, Bishop Anson V. Call. Gunnison made friends in Utah while serving with Howard Stansbury's mapping expedition in 1851. Bishop Call warned him of Indians near the Sevier River because an old Indian brave in the Kanosh Tribe had been killed by . . . — Map (db m69536) HM|
|Utah (Millard County), Delta — S-27 — McCullough Log House and Post Office — Utah Historic Site|
|Constructed November 1907 – January 1908 by Henry McCullough, his two sons and son-in-law, of logs hauled 30 miles from Fillmore. Delta's first Post Office -- January 1908 - March 1912. — Map (db m69545) HM|
|Utah (Millard County), Delta — 119 — Pioneer Cabin|
|This pioneer cabin was built in December 1907 by Henry J. McCullough and was the second house in the town of Melville. One month later January 18, 1908, the first Post Office was established and the name changed to Burtner. Adjoining this cabin, on March 5, 1908, the first store was opened for business. The first Sunday School of the vicinity was organized in this building on September 6, 1908. — Map (db m69546) HM|
|Utah (Millard County), Delta — Topaz 1942–1946 — Central Utah WRA Relocation Center|
|Fifteen miles west at Abraham is the location of the bleak desert site of a concentration camp, one of ten in Western America, in which 110,000 persons of Japanese ancestry were interned against their will during World War II. They were the victims of wartime hysteria, racial animosity, and economic opportunism on the West Coast. Confined behind barbed wire fence and guarded by armed sentries and held for no justifiable reason, the internees, two-thirds of whom were American citizens, and the . . . — Map (db m1438) HM|