HMdb.org THE HISTORICAL
MARKER DATABASE
            “Bite-Size Bits of Local, National, and Global History”
  Home  — My Markers  — Add A Marker  — Marker Series  — Links & Books  — Forum  — About Us
Click First to browse through the results shown on this page.   First >> 
Show DirectionsOmit Marker TextClick to map all markers shown on this page.
Washington Markers
Washington (Chelan County), Cashmere — Old Mission Indian Cemetery
Near this marker is the site of Old Mission Indian Cemetery established in 1867 — Map (db m74464) HM
Washington (Clark County), Camas — 58004 — Camas-Washougal War Memorial
This memorial is dedicated to all servicemen from the Camas-Washougal area who have died as a result of hostile action since the beginning of the Vietnam War. — Map (db m58004) WM
Washington (Clark County), Camas — Crown Zellerbach Employee World War II Memorial
In honor of the employees from this division who gave their lives while serving in the armed forces during World War II. Curtin P Barnett • James F Hagensen • Thelma A Rancore • Jimmie Clark Berg • Wayne A Harwood • Lewis L Ray • Eugene P Brundage • John D Howard • Walter E Resner • Elmer Buskirk • Vernon W Kane • Gordon E Robertson • Chester H Bonde • Laurence C Koplin • Eugene P Shauvin • Leonard B Conway • Mickey B Ludwig • Albert F Tews • Harold D Farris • Joseph R Nash • Robert C Tracy • Clarence E Osborne — Map (db m58851) HM
Washington (Clark County), Camas — The First School in Camas1882
The first school in Camas (La Camas) was built prior to 1882. It was replaced by a four room school (with inside plumbing) in 1886. The first school remained on the school grounds until 1907. In 1907 the then Columbia River Paper Company gave the Boy Scout Organization permission to put the first school on their property where it still stands today. For years it was used as a scout meeting place and referred to as the Scout Hall. In 1934 the new owners of the mill, Crown Willamette Paper . . . — Map (db m57954) HM
Washington (Clark County), Ridgefield — Fort Vancouver
Hudson’s Bay Company established Fort Vancouver in 1824 within the area of present-day Vancouver, 83 nautical miles from the Pacific Ocean. Forty Wooden buildings were enclosed within a 20-foot high log palisade until the treaty of 1846 set the international boundary at the 49th parallel. This fort supplied Hudson’s Bay Company posts west of the Rocky Mountains. The fort became part of the U.S. military system in 1848 as Columbia Barracks, later changed to Vancouver Barracks. Vancouver is recognized as the oldest settlement in the state. — Map (db m8400) HM
Washington (Clark County), Salmon Creek Heights — Harley H. Hall
Navy Captain Harley H. Hall F-4 Phantom Listed P.O.W. 1-27-73 The last pilot shot down in Vietnam just 10 hours before final cease fire was signed. Native of Vancouver, Washington — Map (db m8513) HM
Washington (Clark County), Vancouver — A Busy Place Is This
You are standing on the site of a once-bustling riverfront complex at Fort Vancouver. A boat building operation, blacksmith shop, and tannery filled the air with the sights, sounds, and smells of industry. A busy place is this. The blacksmith is repairing ploughshares ... the tinman is making cups for the Indians ... the wheelwright is making wagons, the cooper is making barrels for pickling salmon and packing furs. Thomas Jefferson Farnham, American visitor, 1839 Vessels . . . — Map (db m12292) HM
Washington (Clark County), Vancouver — A River of Settlers
Before 1846 American immigrants traveling the Oregon Trail to Fort Vancouver had to make a choice at The Dalles (80 miles upriver from here). They could navigate their own handmade raft or take a Hudson's Bay Company boat down the Columbia River to here. Many travelers chose to complete these last 80 miles on a Company boat. Fort Vancouver's manager, Chief Factor John McLoughlin, generously offered food, supplies, and medical treatment to the weary Americans when they arrived here. He then . . . — Map (db m12295) HM
Washington (Clark County), Vancouver — Cannon Replica Project
These Napoleon 12-Poind Light Field Cannons are replicas created by Mountain View High School students during the 1990 to 1992 school years in Vancouver, Washington. They are the property of the City of Vancouver, which supplied materials. This community project involved students from the metalworking and woodworking classes under the leadership of teachers Larry books and Darell Midles. The cannons were dedicated to the four Medal of Honor recipients buried in the Vancouver Barracks Cemetery. . . . — Map (db m8519) HM
Washington (Clark County), Vancouver — Captain George Vancouver MonumentBoat of Discovery
[Panel 1]:Captain George Vancouver Monument October 31, 1792 Lt. William Broughton Named This Area For His Captain Dedicated October 31, 1992 [Panel 2]:Boat of Discovery “…The real story of George Vancouver and other explorers of the Pacific Northwest is not in one great voyage. It is in the hundreds of lesser voyages made by the small boats, thoroughness and unfailing courage with which these tasks were carried out through the long years of . . . — Map (db m8516) HM
Washington (Clark County), Vancouver — Captain George Vancouver Monument Plaza1792 Discovery
[Panel 1]: Capt. George Vancouver, from King’s Lynn, England, at age 35 and with orders from the British Admiralty to explore and chart the West Coast of America, charted hundreds of miles of coast line from California to Alaska. His maps were so accurate that they were later used in establishing boundaries between the Spanish, the English, the Russians and the Americans. During the return voyage of his expedition, Capt. Vancouver commissioned Lt. William Broughton to enter the . . . — Map (db m8515) HM
Washington (Clark County), Vancouver — Carlton Foster Bond1893 - 1980
CO Pearson Field 1929 - 1933 & 1938 - 1940 Honoring Aviation Pioneers — Map (db m8427) HM
Washington (Clark County), Vancouver — Clark County Veterans Memorial
Dedicated in memory of those who died in the defense of our Country Lest We Forget — Map (db m8536) WM
Washington (Clark County), Vancouver — Congressional Medal of Honor Monument
This monument is presented to the city of Vancouver, Washington by the Congressional Medal of Honor Society, in recognition of the spirit and sacrifice shown by the valiant Medal of Honor recipients now at rest in the Vancouver Barracks Cemetery. First Sergeant James M. Hill 5th U.S. Cavalry, The Indian Campaigns, 1873 First Sergeant Moses Williams 9th U.S. Cavalry, The Indian Campaigns, 1876 First Lieutenant William W. McCammon 24th . . . — Map (db m22867) HM
Washington (Clark County), Vancouver — Covington House
Erected 1848 by Richard and Anne Charlotte Covington on Fourth Plain. Boarding school was conducted herein in 1850. This building housed first piano in the Oregon Country and was center of social activity in entire region. — Map (db m8517) HM
Washington (Clark County), Vancouver — Early Aviation History in VancouverPearson Field
Even before the advent of a U.S. Army Air Service field at Vancouver Barracks in 1921 and the eventual dedication of “Pearson Field” in 1925, aviation had early hallmarks at Vancouver Barracks. As part of the 1905 Lewis and Clark Centennial Exposition in Portland, Oregon, eighteen-year-old Lincolnd Beachey piloted 23 controlled flights in an airship named the City of Portland. The flight on September 19, 1905 landed on the parade ground of Vancouver Barracks, where . . . — Map (db m8425) HM
Washington (Clark County), Vancouver — Esther ShortEsther Short Park
After marrying Amos Short in 1829, Esther (Clark) Short set out on the adventure of her life! Originally from Tioga County, Pennsylvania, Esther Short, who was ½ Algonquin Indian, her husband Amos and 10 children traveled west to Linton, Oregon in 1845 and moved again to the present site of downtown Vancouver in 1847. In 1847, this downtown area was under the Treaty of Occupation (1818-1846 England and America shared rights of the territory). The Short’s claim included most of Vancouver . . . — Map (db m64239) HM
Washington (Clark County), Vancouver — First Japanese on the North American Continent
In October 1832, the Japanese cargo ship Hojun Maru set sail from near Nagoya bound for Edo (present day Tokyo). Disabled in a storm off Enshu Nada, the Hojun Maru drifted for fourteen months before running aground on the coast near Cape Flattery, at the northwest tip of what is now Washington State. The three surviving crew members, Iwakichi, Otokichi and Kyukichi lived briefly among the coastal tribes before they were brought here to Fort Vancouver by the Hudson’s Bay Company. They were the . . . — Map (db m8423) HM
Washington (Clark County), Vancouver — Fishers
For centuries Indians used the trail that later became old Evergreen Highway. Where each creek entered the Columbia River the Indians made camp. In 1805 Lewis & Clark and their expedition camped on Government Island, a haven for waterfowl. The Army from Vancouver Barracks later pastured horses on the island. Six families homesteaded and raised cattle there. Solomon Fisher and William Simmons in 1851 filed donation land claims, founded Fishers community, built docks and cut firewood . . . — Map (db m57879) HM
Washington (Clark County), Vancouver — From Military to Municipal Airfield
The history of Pearson Field goes back almost to the origins of mechanized flight itself. The landing site of Lincoln Beachey’s groundbreaking flight across the Columbia River from Portland to Vancouver, during the 1905 Lewis & Clark Exposition, marked the future location of the Vancouver Barracks Aerodrome. Soon after that, a growing number of aviators used the field for aerial exhibitions and experimental flights until the field was transformed into a spruce mill during World War I. At the . . . — Map (db m8406) HM
Washington (Clark County), Vancouver — Heart of a Trading Empire
Look around you. The scenic spot where you now stand was once the heart of one of the busiest shipping ports west of the Rocky Mountains. From 1825 to 1846, Fort Vancouver's waterfront served as the western economic artery of the Hudson's Bay Company, connecting a wilderness of wealth to a powerful trading network. Trading vessels large and small once moored at a wharf here, supplying a variet of goods to distant ports. Company ships exported northwest goods throughout the world: fur to . . . — Map (db m12293) HM
Washington (Clark County), Vancouver — Howard C. French / Alexander Pearson
[Top marker]:In loving memory of Howard C. French Major Air Corps Reserve 1894 – 1938 Dedicated by his comrades of the 321st Observation Squadron United States Army Air Corps Reserve [Bottom marker]: In loving memory of Alexander Pearson. Lieutenant Air Corps 1895 – 1924 Presented by his comrades of the Engineering Division United States Army Air Corps. — Map (db m8962) HM
Washington (Clark County), Vancouver — Ilchee
In Recognition of the People Who Have Inhabited this Region for Thousands of Years. Ilchee Moon Girl History says she was born along the Columbia River about 1800, daughter of Chinook Chief Concomley and, later, wife of Chief Casinos leader in Vancouver area. Lore tells us she had the power of a Shaman and that she paddled her own canoe, the sign of a chief. By both accounts she was remarkable. — Map (db m8422) HM
Washington (Clark County), Vancouver — 66 — Officers RowFort Vancouver Barracks
Registered National Historic Place Washington State Advisory Council on Historic Preservation Under the provisions of the National Historic Preservation Act of October 16, 1966, this property possesses exceptional value in commemorating or illustrating American history. Placed on the National Registry on Nov. 11, 1974 by the National Park Service, U.S. Department of the Interior — Map (db m8523) HM
Washington (Clark County), Vancouver — Officers Row
When the U.S. Army arrived in 1849 to establish a new post on the western frontier, few of the officers could afford to bring their families out to such a remote and lonely command. A thriving community of soldiers, officers, wives, and children grew as the region gained importance. The early log cabin style quarters on Officers Row were eventually replaced with larger and more elegant residences better suited to the status of their occupants. From the last decades of the 19th century . . . — Map (db m8527) HM
Washington (Clark County), Vancouver — Officers Row
Officers Row, a procession of homes for officers and their families, began during the early frontier years when Vancouver Barracks was considered by many to be a remote and lonely assignment. The first officer’s quarters on the Row wer log cabins built in 1850 – the only surviving example is now called the Grant House. By the time the Department Commander’s quarters (now known as the Marshall House) was constructed in 1886, Vancouver Barracks was the headquarters for the Department . . . — Map (db m8529) HM
Washington (Clark County), Vancouver — St. James Mission — Officers Row
Many employees of Fort Vancouver were of French-Canadian descent, and had been raised as Roman Catholics. Separated by thousands of miles from their home parishe, these men pleaded with the Bishop of Quebec to send them priests. The Reverend Francis Norbert Blanchet and the Reverend Modeste Demers arrived at Fort Vancouver in 1838 at the official request of Dr. John McLoughlin, and established the first Catholic mission in the Oregon Country. IN 1844, the Hudson’s Bay company donated a . . . — Map (db m8964) HM
Washington (Clark County), Vancouver — The 321st Observation Squadron (1923-1941)
Although the U.S. Army allowed civilian aircraft to land at Vancouver Barracks beginning in 1905, military aircraft began operating here in 1921, when the U.S. Army Air Service established a landing field for an aviation forest patrol. The patrol was a cooperative forest fire spotting effort by the U.S. Army and the U.S. Forest Service. Two years later, the 321st Observation Squadron arrived at Vancouver Barracks, with three biplanes initially stationed at the field. The 321st was a reserve . . . — Map (db m8405) HM
Washington (Clark County), Vancouver — The Artillery Barracks — Officers Row
At the beginning of the 20th century, Vancouver was the headquarters for the Department of the Columbia, a vast administrative unit in the Northwest. The population of the post almost tripled in response to increased military activity both at home and abroad. There were not enough barracks for soldiers stationed here, and men were sleeping in tents. An ambitious building scheme was begun that would enable the post to garrison a regiment of infantry and two batteries of artillery. The gouble . . . — Map (db m8742) HM
Washington (Clark County), Vancouver — The Chkalov Transpolar FlightPearson Field
On June 20, 1937, the world’s attention turned to Pearson Field when a Russian ANT-25 aircraft landed after making the first non-stop flight over the North Pole. The red and gray, single-engined aircraft “Stalin’s Route” carried over 2,000 gallons of fuel, and sported a 112 foot wingspan. It was crewed by three of the Soviet Union’s top airmen: Valery Chkalov, pilot; Georgi Baidukov, co-pilot; and Alexander Belyakov, navigator. Taking off from Moscow on June 17, 1937, and . . . — Map (db m50830) HM
Washington (Clark County), Vancouver — The First Fort Vancouver
In 1824 the Hudson's Bay Company chose this place as the site for a new fort which they named Vancouver in honor of the British explorer, George Vancouver. Little is knowns of this fort as it was moved early in 1829 to its now well-known location one mile west of here. — Map (db m8403) HM
Washington (Clark County), Vancouver — The Grant House — Officers Row
When the U.S. Army arrived at Fort Vancouver in May of 1849, they quickly built nine log cabins for shelter against the upcoming winter. Shown here is the 1850 plan of the two-story post commander’s quarters. It is the only remaining structure built during the initial years of Army occupation at Fort Vancouver. Called the Grant House, it was never the residence of its namesake, though Ulysses S. Grant did serve as a quartermaster at Fort Vancouver from 1852 to 1853. It was the residence of . . . — Map (db m8499) HM
Washington (Clark County), Vancouver — The Infantry Barracks — Officers Row
The Infantry Barracks is the oldest surviving structure in Vancouver Barracks proper. It was constructed in 1887, one of three identical buildings built to house individual companies of the 14th Infantry. Though it was built prior to the standardization of architecture at army posts, the Infantry Barracks shows only slight modifications to an 1872 design issued by Quartermaster General Meigs. It is a simple, Classic Revival style building, and originally had a porch on the second story as well . . . — Map (db m8741) HM
Washington (Clark County), Vancouver — The Marshall House — Officers Row
As part of a natural reorganization, the U.S. Army returned the headquarters of the Department of the Columbia from Portland, Oregon to Fort Vancouver in 1878. As a result, the Army funded construction of several new buildings on Officers Row, including this 1886 Queen Anne style home for the Department Commander. The most famous individual to live in the residence, Brigadier General George Marshall, lived here with his wife, Katherine T. Marshall, from 1936 to 1938 while he was in command . . . — Map (db m8959) HM
Washington (Clark County), Vancouver — The O. O. Howard House — Officers Row
This Italianate-Revival style home was built in 1878 for General Oliver Otis Howard, Commanding General of the Department of the Columbia from 1874 until 1880. This gracious home was considered ”the finest dwelling house north of the Columbia.” It was home to many social events and hosted several famous guests, including Ulysses S. Grant in 1879 and U.S. President Rutherford B. Hayes in 1880. After the Marshall House was built as the new department commander’s home in . . . — Map (db m8572) HM
Washington (Clark County), Vancouver — The Post Hospital — Officers Row
In 1904, the U.S. Army built a new Post Hospital at Vancouver Barracks as a part of a nationwide effort to modernize its forces. Unlike the previous one, the hospital was constructed with brick to enhance sanitation and boasted a spacious floor plan with open verandas to provide light and fresh air to ailing soldiers. Until the end of World War I, the Post Hospital was considered one of the most modern and efficient military hospitals in the nation. During World War I, the hospital staff . . . — Map (db m8739) HM
Washington (Clark County), Vancouver — The Red Cross Convalescent House — Officers Row
Following the nation’s entry into World War I, the American Red Cross was authorized to construct convalescent houses adjacent to military hospitals. These facilities provided recreation away from a hospital atmosphere, and helped boost the morale of recuperating patients. The Red Cross provided writing supplies, books, games, movies, and other diversions, and offered hospitality to visiting family members. The construction of this building, a unique adaptation to standard plans, was . . . — Map (db m8743) HM
Washington (Clark County), Vancouver — The Reservation Monument
[Side one of six]: Under the influence of Dr. John McLaughlin, Manager of the Hudson Bay Co., civilization of Washington started at Vancouver, A.D. 1825. [Side two of six]: The first school in Washington was taught by John Ball, at Vancouver, A.D. 1833. [Side three of six]: The first gospel sermon in Washington was delivered by Jason Lee at Vancouver, Sept. 28, A.D. 1834. [Side four of six]: The first marriage of American Citizens in Washington was Daniel . . . — Map (db m8383) HM
Washington (Clark County), Vancouver — The Soviet Transpolar Flight of 1937Magnificent Triumph of Soviet Aviation
[Monument front]: Near this site at Pearson Airfield on June 20th, 1937, three Soviet aviators completed the first non-stop flight from the U.S.S.R. to the U.S.A. Command Pilot Valeri Chkalov, Co-Pilot Georgi Baidukov, and Navigator Alexander Belyakov, completed the Moscow to Vancouver Flight in 63 hours 16 minutes, covering 5,288 nautical miles. The plaques above and on the reverse side were cast in the Soviet Union and presented to Vancouver by the Soviet People to commemorate . . . — Map (db m50831) HM
Washington (Clark County), Vancouver — The Sutler's Store — Officers Row
Until the late 19th century, the U. S. Army awarded sales commissions to civilian traders, known as sutlers. Each post or regiment was authorized to appoint one. Described as “a combination of saloon keeper and general store operator,” the sutlers supplied troops with goods and food to supplement army rations. The first sutler at Vancouver Barracks was Elisha Camp, who came with the 4th Infantry in 1852. By all accounts, Camp rana profitable enterprise selling diverse items . . . — Map (db m8963) HM
Washington (Clark County), Vancouver — Theodore A. Penland Rose Garden
This rose garden is dedicated to the memory of Theodore A. Penland 1849 – 1950 last Commander-in-Chief of the Grand Army of the Republic Plaque presented by The Daughters of Union Veterans and the Woman’s Relief Corps, Auxiliary to the G.A.R. of Clark County, Washington Map (db m8401) HM
Washington (Clark County), Vancouver — U. S. Grant Memorial1853
General U.S. Grant when a young officer was stationed at Columbia Barracks, Vancouver, Washington. One mile east from here he planted potatoes to reduce the expense of his officer’s mess. — Map (db m8424) HM
Washington (Clark County), Vancouver — United States Army Arrives
On May 13, 1849, the United States steamer Massachusetts arrived off the Hudson's Bay Company wharf and unloaded Batteries L and M of the First Regiment of United States Artillery. The first permanent official American presence in the Pacific Northwest had arrived! The Army quickly rented buildings from the Hudson's Bay Company and constructed quarters on top of the hillside to the north. As the Army's role grew, the available facilities proved inadequate for its needs. Over . . . — Map (db m12289) HM
Washington (Clark County), Vancouver — Vancouver Barracks Parade Ground
On May 13, 1849, from the deck of the USS Massachusetts, the first U.S. Army troops in the Pacific Northwest spotted the Hudson’s Bay Company’s Fort Vancouver. “Mr. Douglas, the resident Governor received us very politely and Major Hatheway [U.S. Army] determined to encamp near Vancouver…” wrote an arriving soldier. The troops soon established themselves on high ground above the fort, beginning their assignment of keeping peace and providing support to Oregon Trail emigrants. . . . — Map (db m8496) HM
Washington (Clark County), Vancouver — Whose Anchor?
This anchor was dredged from the Columbia River in 1960 near Fort Vancouver’s wharf, one-quarter mile east of the Interstate 5 bridge. The anchor gives some answers about its history, but poses many more questions. It is a Rogers Paten Small-Palm anchor, manufactured in England between 1815 and 1850. The chain is wrought iron stud, used by the British Navy, and probably others, beginning in 1808. This size of anchor came from a ship of 1,000 tons or more, a large ship of the period. . . . — Map (db m8691) HM
Washington (Cowlitz County), Castle Rock — Mount St. Helens - You Are Edge of the Blast Zone
The eruption of Mount St. Helens on May 18, 1980 triggered a huge landslide causing a powerful, laterally directed blast. A pyroclastic flow consisting of rock fragments, highly charged gas and super heated steam, devastated almost 150,000 acres of private, state and federal forests. Side Bar: In 1982 Congress established the 110,000 acre Mount St. Helens National Volcanic Monument. Inside the monument no salvage and no tree planting were permitted. — Map (db m50737) HM
Washington (Cowlitz County), Woodland — The Finn Hall
In 1916 Finnish immigrants constructed a hall near this site under the name of a literary association (Kirjallixuus Seura), forming a lending library. Although they brought their diet, language, and saunas with them, some old country beliefs were left behind. These people found it necessary to meet where they could study the social customs of their new country, challenge and question partisan politics, and reflect on new theological insights. At this cultural center were held language classes, . . . — Map (db m8382) HM
Washington (Cowlitz County), Woodland — Woodland Community Veterans Memorial
World War I James A Forbes • Frank L. Gaddis • Walter Kalahan • Alfred Earl Wells • Tom C. Bair • Fred S. Millard World War II Elmer Beebe • Harold R. Chilcoat • Harry A. Lillard, Jr. • Elmer Mattila • Claude M. Miller • Walter E. Modin • Robert E. White • Donald F. Turner • Robert D. Hobert • Harold L. Lutz • Osmo H. Reijonen • Donald D. Robins • Dwight C. Schiffhauer • Jack M. Stilts • James W. Yenne • Daryle Edward Artley • Francis Dick . . . — Map (db m8399) WM
Washington (Franklin County), Pasco — Ainsworth
One of the most colorful of the early Northwest railroad towns once existed near junction of the Snake and Columbia Rivers. Ainsworth was founded, 1879, when the railroad bridge was building over the Snake River.
In its heyday it was a wild, lusty town, noted for brawls, gun fights and hangings. For a while a vital cog in the Northern Pacific Railroad’s extension to Puget Sound. It slowly sank into oblivion after opening of the bridge to traffic in 1884.
The town was named for John C. . . . — Map (db m34519) HM
Washington (Franklin County), Pasco — Sacagawea
The Lewis and Clark Expedition camped nearby on October 16 and 17, 1805 on its way to the Pacific Ocean. One of the members of the Expedition was a young Northern Shoshone, Sacagawea.

During the winter of 1804-05 at Fort Mandan, in present-day North Dakota , Captains Meriwether Lewis and William Clark hired Sacagawea’s French-Canadian husband, Toussaint Charbonneau, as an interpreter. Sacagawea would accompany him as the Expedition’s “interpretess,” as termed in the . . . — Map (db m38587) HM
Washington (Grays Harbor County), Hoquiam — 7th Street TheatreHoquiam WA
An atmospheric-style theatre built in 1928 This property has been placed on the National Register of Historic Places By the United States Department of Interior 1987 and the Hoquiam Register of Historic Places 2008 — Map (db m73008) HM
Washington (Grays Harbor County), Hoquiam — F. Arnold Polson House and Alex Polson Grounds
Registered National Historic Place F. Arnold Polson House and Alex Polson Grounds Under the provisions of the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, this property possesses exceptional value in illustrating American history and culture. Entered in the National Register of Historic Places June 19, 1979 by the U.S. Department of the Interior. Dixy Lee Ray, Governor. — Map (db m72802) HM
Washington (Island County), Coupeville — Col. Isaac Neff Ebey – Rebecca Whitey Ebey
In honor of the founder of Island County and his wife Col. Isaac Neff Ebey – Rebecca Whitey Ebey 1818 – 1857 1822-1858 Whidbey Island’s first permanent settler 1850. Proposed the separation of Island County from Thurston County which was adopted on January 5, 1853. Killed by the Haidah Indians Aug. 10, 1857 — Map (db m61038) HM
Washington (Island County), Coupeville — Davis Blockhouse
This Blockhouse Erected in 1855 Restored in 1930 By the Ladies of the Round Table In honor of the Pioneer Mothers — Map (db m60980) HM
Washington (Island County), Coupeville — Ebey Blockhouse
One of four on this site Built 1854 — Map (db m60978) HM
Washington (Island County), Coupeville — Guarding the Entrance to Puget Sound – Coast Artillery CorpsFort Casey State Park — Admiralty Head Lighthouse
A Glimpse In Time Like the majority of the coastal forts built in the United States, Fort Casey never fired its guns in warfare. Fort Casey is one of three coastal forts constructed in the late 1890s to defend the entrance to Puget Sound and the United States Naval Shipyard in Bremerton. Prior to this time, the coastal communities of Puget Sound, as well as much of the western coast, were left unprotected and vulnerable to invasion by foreign warships. At the height of its military . . . — Map (db m61063) HM
Washington (Island County), Coupeville — Keeping the Alexander Blockhouse alive!!!Preserving Alexander Blockhouse over time
History The Alexander Block house is one of four blockhouses remaining in Central Whidbey Island. Few original blockhouses of this type remain throughout the United States. John Alexander, Sr. built this blockhouse on his donation land claim in about 1855 to guard against Native American attack during the wars of 1855-1857. It may have been used instead as a “root cellar”. The exact original location is unknown – during the 1930s, the structure was purchased by . . . — Map (db m60986) HM
Washington (Island County), Coupeville — Mary Barrett
Left side of marker is written in Gaelic and right side is in English Died here. April, 9 AD 1861 One year ten and twenty (years) of age Born at Mineth, Ireland Gentle wife (of) Sam’l Maylor They married in Liverpool At the Church of (St.) Pat(rick), Dec. 21, 1856 She had three sons Paul, Thomas B. & Marion S. Her father was John Barrett Tralee Her mother (was) Clara Page Limerick RIP — Map (db m60979) HM
Washington (Island County), Coupeville — Original Home of Seattle’s Best Coffee
“I bought a small old fashion coffee roaster and I plan to roast my own coffee. Front Street will never smell the same!” – Jim Stewart 1969 Jim and Dave Stewart, coffee pioneers and founders of Seattle’s Best Coffee, opened their first shop here in 1969. They initially called their business the Wet Whisker. The business became known as Seattle’s Best Coffee in 1991 when Jim and Dave won a contest for the best coffee in Seattle. — Map (db m60942) HM
Washington (Island County), Coupeville — Remaining Blockhouses of Central Whidbey
Saved Blockhouse In 1921 a local civic group, the Ladies of the Round Table (LORT) began a ten year effort to restore the decaying Davis Blockhouse. Local carpenter Fred Krueger handled the project carefully replacing rotting beams while preserving the “fireplace built of clay and sticks”. The group persuaded the Island County Commissioners to assume ownership and long-term care of the structure. The Commissioners then expanded Sunnyside Cemetery with a new . . . — Map (db m60991) HM
Washington (Island County), Coupeville — Sunnyside
Donation claim of Jacob Ebey. Served in War of 1812, the Black Hawk War and the Mexican War. When 61 yrs old led company across plains with covered wagons. Settled on Whidbey Island and built this home, four blockhouses and stockade in 1856 Given in honor of Co. Ebey, his descendants and early settlers. — Map (db m60977) HM
Washington (Island County), Coupeville — The Crockett Blockhouse
Sudden Indian attacks at Seattle and Bellingham in 1855 caused consternation among the small pioneering settlements on Puget Sound. The tradition of blockhouse defense was well known to American settlers, dating from the earliest English colonies. Several Island families built blockhouses, none of which saw any fighting. Colonel Walter Crockett was responsible for this one completed in 1857. Blockhouses on Whidbey Island remained well preserved over the years, cherished as heirlooms by the desendents of the founding families. — Map (db m61040) HM
Washington (Island County), Coupeville — The Jolly Boat
In celebration of Joseph Whidbey arriving at Penn Cove Saturday June 2nd 1792 1792 – 1992 National History Day of Washington Historical Marker Competition Winner Ken Beegle Donated by Quring Monuments, Inc. Map (db m61036) HM
Washington (Island County), Coupeville — Zylstra Law Office1904 — Coupeville Historical Building
The cottage was actually built as two separate buildings. The eastern half was built as a law office for James Zylstra. The western half was added and the building became the medical office for Dr. Chas. White. In 1998 Rev. Barry Burton & Capt. Mike Williams completely refurbished and opened *Cottage on the Cove* for lodging. — Map (db m61037) HM
Washington (Island County), Deception Pass State Park — Deception PassA Mysterious Channel — Welcome to Deception Pass State Park
The swirling waters that pass in and out of the narrow channels between Whidbey Island and Fidalgo Island have captivated visitors to this area for thousands of years. Salish Native American tribes were the first human inhabitants of these islands and navigated the waters in cedar canoes as they traveled westward to the San Juans to fish. The first European explorers to chart the islands in the late 1700s mistakenly assumed Whidbey and Fidalgo to be part of the mainland and thought the . . . — Map (db m74012) HM
Washington (Island County), Deception Pass State Park — Deception PassBefore the Bridge — Welcome to Deception Pass State Park
It's hard to imagine Deception Pass without the bridge. But until 1935, the gap between Fidalgo Island and Whidbey Island could only be crossed by boat. In 1924 a small ferry called the Deception Pass began running between Yokeko Point and Hoypus Point. It was owned and operated by Berte Olson, the first female captain in the state of Washington. Service was, by most accounts, infrequent, and the route was often canceled due to turbulent water conditions. Patrons summoned the ferry . . . — Map (db m74083) HM
Washington (Island County), Deception Pass State Park — Deception PassA Park Divided — Welcome to Deception Pass State Park
When the federal government transferred 1,700 acres of land on Fidalgo Island and Whidbey Island to the State of Washington in 1925, Deception Pass State Park was barely an idea. For decades, the land had been a military reservation set aside for costal [sic] defense purposes, although little development ever occurred. The bridge had not been built yet, and the two main areas of the future park were divided by the treacherous waters of Deception Pass. Locals used Cranberry Lake and Rosario . . . — Map (db m74085) HM
Washington (Island County), Naval Air Station Whidbey Island — U.S. Navy Patrol and Reconnaissance Memorial
Dedicated to all U.S. Navy Patrol and Reconnaissance Naval Aviators, Naval Flight Officers and Aircrewmen who, for the cause of freedom, have made the ultimate sacrifice. Special thanks to Mr. John Christiansen for his many contributions to the development and testing of the P-3. ———————— Lockheed P-3 Orion Missions: Patrol, Antisubmarine Warfare, Electronic Warfare and Reconnaissance. Stores: Sonobuoys, Torpedoes, Missiles, . . . — Map (db m74000) HM WM
Washington (Island County), Oak Harbor — Beeksma’s CornerCity of Oak Harbor
Family Origins This park is named after the family of Egbert and Betty Beeksma in recognition of the business they started on the site of park and their contribution to the development of Oak Harbor. Egbert Beeksma was born the Netherlands on April 10, 1905, and moved to Whidbey Island in 1911. The Beesma family originally settled in what is now Ault Field (north of Oak Harbor and part of the Naval Air Station) and later moved into Oak Harbor. Egbert married Elizabeth . . . — Map (db m60940) HM
Washington (Island County), Oak Harbor — Crossing the PassPast to Present
Before the bridge was completed in 1935, the only way to cross Deception Pass was by boat. If you wanted to take your car from Whidbey to Fidalgo Island in 1929 your crossing would look like this, aboard the MV Acorn. Your captain could have been Berte Olson, the first female ferry captain on Puget Sound. The ferry made several runs daily from Hoypus Point on Whidbey Island to Yokeko Point on Fidalgo Island. Today you can still see evidence on the ferry landing at each site. . . . — Map (db m61465) HM
Washington (Island County), Oak Harbor — Deception Pass
To the north of this narrow passage is Fidalgo Island, so named for the Spanish explorer, Lieutenant Salvador Fidalgo. To the south is Whidbey Island, second largest island in the contiguous 48 states, which Captain George Vancouver, while exploring this region in 1792, first thought to be a peninsula. Further exploration conducted by him disclosed the existence of this intricate channel. Upon realization that he had been deceived as to the character of the large island, Vancouver gave to this . . . — Map (db m60903) HM
Washington (Island County), Oak Harbor — Deception Pass
Named by Captain George Vancouver 10 June 1792. Feeling that he had been “Deceived” as to the nature of the inner waterway,Port Gardner (now Saratoga Passage) he wrote on his chart “Deception Pass”. He honored Master Joseph Whidbey, who found the passage while commanding a small-boat or explorers, by naming the island “Whidbey”. Historical Data by Edmond S. Meany Velocity of currents in Deception Pass 5 to 8 knots per . . . — Map (db m60904) HM
Washington (Island County), Oak Harbor — Flintstone Park Flagpole
This Navy flagstaff is placed here to honor all those Navy people who have served aboard the Naval Air Station on Whidbey Island, their families, and the people of Oak Harbor who have long supported the Navy mission. Our National Ensign was flown from this flagstaff aboard the Naval Air Station for more than 45 years, and was erected here through joint efforts of the City and the Navy. It is dedicated this Armed Forces Day, 18 May 1991. — Map (db m73990) HM WM
Washington (Island County), Oak Harbor — Oak Harbor’s Early “Town”
Oak Harbor’s early “town” was built along the waterfront, and stretched from Maylor’s store along Pioneer Way to about a block east of the junction of Flintstone Freeway and Midway and Pioneer. The east end of the town burned in a disastrous fire that started from a spark from Gil Kennedy’s blacksmith shop on a hot day in July 1920. A good half the town went, Byrne’s hotel, Byrne’s store, the blacksmith shop, creamery, “Cap” Sill’s garage, and Dad Smith’s little . . . — Map (db m60938) HM
Washington (Island County), Oak Harbor — Oak Harbor's Ties to the Sea
'Why do we love the sea? Because she has the power to make us think things we like to think.' - Robert Henry The Old Wharf and Steamships Look offshore toward Maylor's Point and you will see a concrete block that remains from Oak Harbor's historic Maylor Wharf, built in 1893 and destroyed by fire in 1966. In the 1800s logging was big business, with tall ships transporting the island's logs worldwide. By the 1900s, steamships of the Puget Sound Mosquito Fleet visited daily to load . . . — Map (db m73991) HM
Washington (Island County), Oak Harbor — The Skagit, a stately society
The Skagit Indians maintained several villages on Penn Cove. The paramount Skagit chief lived at Snakelum Point, southeast across the cove. The village at Monroe’s Landing was called cokwol’a. Cokwol’a was a major village of the Skwdabs, a subgroup of the Skagit, who occupied an area that included Oak Harbor, Dugulla Bay, and the lower portion of the Sakgit River. The people here hunted deer and ducks with nets, farmed edible camas, maintained fields of wild berries, and dug horse clams in . . . — Map (db m61074) HM
Washington (King County), Ballard — Ballard Avenue Landmark District Historic Marker Project
The Ballard Avenue Landmark District holds a significant place in Seattle history. The uniquely-preserved state of Ballard Avenue provides visitors with a window into the heyday of Ballard’s industrial and commercial era. The City of Ballard was incorporated in 1889 and functioned as an independent municipality for the next 16 years. The city’s early economy was driven by lumber mills. By 1896, Ballard was known as the “Shingle Mill Capital of the World.” The Salmon Bay . . . — Map (db m27976) HM
Washington (King County), Kent — The Saar Pioneer Cemetery
The Saar Pioneer Cemetery is named for former King County Councilman Peter Saar, who in 1873 buried his wife on a small hill on their homestead. Since that time the cemetery has been known by many names. Kent Cemetery • Kent Methodist Cemetery • M.E. Cemetery • Nelsons • O’Brien Cemetery • Peter Saar Cemetery • Peter Saar Memorial Cemetery • Pioneer Methodist Cemetery • Springbrook Wilson’s Corner — Map (db m52568) HM
Washington (King County), Seattle — "This Market Is Yours"Public Market Center/Pike Place Market — U.S. Historical District
“This market is yours. I dedicate it to you, and may it prove a benefit to you and your children. It is for you to defend, to protect and to uphold; and it is for you to see that those who occupy it treat you fairly, that no extortion be permitted and that the purpose for which it is created be religiously adhered to. This is one of the greatest days in the history of Seattle, but is only a beginning, for soon this city will have one of the greatest markets in the world. *** It is here . . . — Map (db m69997) HM
Washington (King County), Seattle — "Ton of Gold"Historical Point of Interest
The famous “Ton of Gold” that started the Alaska Gold Rush was unloaded here in 1897. The SS Portland landed the valuable cargo at this pier then known as Scwabacher Dock. Ereceted National Maritime Day 1957 — Map (db m47998) HM
Washington (King County), Seattle — “Great White Fleet”Historical Point of Interest
The U.S. Navy’s “Great White Fleet” arrived Seattle May 23 and departed May 27, 1908 to continue their famous 46,000 mile round the world cruise. Part of the fleet anchored in Elliot Bay near this site and the crews disembarked here at the foot of Lenor and Virginia Streets – then known as Piers 9 & 10. Erected National Maritime Day 1961 — Map (db m48001) HM
Washington (King County), Seattle — ‘Miike Maru’Historical Point of Interest
At this site on August 31, 1896, the Nippon Yusen Kaisha Steamer ‘Miike Maru’ arrived with her cargo of tea. This was the first regularly scheduled steamer service between the Orient and Seattle and marked the birth of Seattle as an international port Erected National Maritime Day – 1968 — Map (db m47996) HM
Washington (King County), Seattle — 1919.551.1 — 1890 Seattle Fire Department Bell
This bell is the remaining symbol of the leap made by city leaders to establish and equip a professional firefighting force after the Great Seattle Fire of June 6, 1889. On that day, the young metropolis of Seattle was devastated by flames in spite of the efforts of its heroic volunteer firefighters. Purchased in 1890 from the Gardiner C. Campbell & Sons Centennial Bell and Iron Works in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, the 5,000 pound bell hung above Seattle's first professional fire station at . . . — Map (db m27187) HM
Washington (King County), Seattle — 103 — Ballard Avenue Historic District / Ballard City Hall Bell
Multiple markers on and near the Ballard Centennial Bell identify the Ballard Avenue Historic District. Marker 1: Be it remembered that at this place on the eleventh day of April, Nineteen Hundred and Seventy Six, the Ballard Avenue Landmark District was officially designed by a city ordinance signed by Wesley C. Uhlman, May or the City of Seattle and through the proclamation of his majesty, King Carl XVI Gustuf of Sweden, created in the bicentennial spirit of preserving the . . . — Map (db m27797) HM
Washington (King County), Seattle — Ballast IslandHistorical Point of Interest
In this area once part of the bay, vessels from ports all over the world dumped their ballast. Untold thousands of tons were unloaded into the water by ship’s crews including 40,000 tons from San Francisco’s Telegraph Hill. The island, long a gathering place for Indians on their annual migrations, was covered in the 1890’s by construction of Railroad Avenue (now called Alaskan Way). — Map (db m48122) HM
Washington (King County), Seattle — Bell Street Terminal, Pier 66Historical Point of Interest
The site of the Indian camping place called Muck-Muck-Wum. In 1911 the headquarters of Washington’s first public port was established here by commissioners H.M. Chittenden, C.E. Remsberg and Robert Bridges. This tablet dedicated May 19, during National Maritime Week 1986 to the honor of the 75th anniversary of the Port of Seattle. — Map (db m48002) HM
Washington (King County), Seattle — Birthplace of United Parcel Service
In August 1907, in a 6 by 17 foot office under the original sidewalk here, a few messenger boys began the business which their many thousand successors extended throughout the vast regions of our country covered by United Parcel Service today. Exemplifying the opportunities open to private citizens under the Constitution of the United States of America, this plaque was placed in January 1967, with the cooperation and appreciation of the Seattle Historical Society. — Map (db m70736) HM
Washington (King County), Seattle — Carson D. Boren
Built here the first cabin home of white man in the City of Seattle in April 1852. It was made of split cedar puncheons. — Map (db m48051) HM
Washington (King County), Seattle — Chief Seattle
[Right side of the monument] Kitsap sights Vancouver’s vessel 1792 – First vessel on Puget Sound [Left side of the monument] Seattle Chief of the Suquamish A firm friend of the whites For him the city of Seattle was named by its founders — Map (db m47938) HM
Washington (King County), Seattle — Chinese American Soldiers MemorialSeattle
Dedicated to American Soldiers of Chinese Ancestry in Seattle and vicinity who died in the service of their country during World War II, 1941 - 1945 [Translation in Chinese calligraphy] Yeu Louie Lee Hong Chew Bak Hong Chin John Chinn Bing Poy Wong Henry Ferren Goon Chris Y. Chen Lawrence Lew Kay Thick Yuen Look Lock Moon Kwong — Map (db m26934) HM
Washington (King County), Seattle — First Avenue
A main north-south artery of Seattle, stretching north from the original Pioneer Square business district, First Avenue was lined with offices, leading hotels, banks and even a few residences. Until the mid-20th century, the street was also home to boarding houses, wholesale firms, and small factories located inside old buildings. Second Avenue, paralleling First, also had a broad range of businesses and formed an integral part of the downtown. Today, with a different commercial blend that . . . — Map (db m47941) HM
Washington (King County), Seattle — Grand Central Hotel1889
Originally known as the Squire-Latimer Building, this structure served as office space until 1897. At that time the influx of miners on their way to the Klondike Gold Rush brought about its conversion to the Grand Central Hotel. After years of decline, the building was restored in 1973. Site of Squire Opera House. — Map (db m48126) HM
Washington (King County), Seattle — Great Northern Tunnel
Completed in 1905, this one mile long railroad tunnel provided access to the new passenger depot and the expanded freight yards south of King Street. The tunnel was built at the suggestion of City Engineer R.H. Thomson to relieve growing street congestion in downtown Seattle. — Map (db m48167) HM
Washington (King County), Seattle — Indians Attack Seattle! Jan. 26, 1856Historical Point of Interest
The settlement would have been destroyed but for the presence of the U.S. Sloop of War “Decatur”. Anchored off this point, she fired a volley at the attackers, frightening them into hasty retreat. Erected National Maritime Day 1959 — Map (db m48120) HM
Washington (King County), Seattle — Information Booth1897- 1977
Dedicated June 16, 1977, the Pioneer Square information booth was constructed from portions of an ornate elevator cab from the Maynard Building. Idle for years, the cab was donated by Strand, Inc., and now continues in service to visitor’s to Pioneer Square and Seattle. — Map (db m48163) HM
Washington (King County), Seattle — Interurban Building
Originally known as the Pacific Block, this building was designed by John Parkinson, a noteworthy Seattle-Los Angeles architect. Built in 1890, it housed the office of the Puget Sound Electric Railway Interurban Line, which served Seattle and Tacoma. Beginning service in 1902, the Interurban Railway operated until 1928 when it was abandoned, due to increased use of the automobile. — Map (db m48025) HM
Washington (King County), Seattle — Interurban Building1890
This romanesque revival building, with outstanding brick masonry and exceptional stone carving and terra cotta trim, is one of the finest in Pioneer Square. The building served as an interurban railroad depot and ticket office until 1920, and was occupied during World War II by the Boeing Company. Restoration was begun in 1975. — Map (db m48036) HM
Washington (King County), Seattle — John Harte McGraw
. . . — Map (db m47940) HM
Washington (King County), Seattle — King Street Station — 1989 Washington State Centennial
The station was completed in 1906 for James J. Hill and his Great Northern Railroad. The depot and the vast freight yards were built on the reclaimed tide flats adjacent to a newly developing warehouse and industrial district near Pioneer Square. Designed by the St. Paul firm of Reed and Stem, the depot’s modest Neo-classical style is in dramatic contrast to the 245 ft. clock tower modeled after the campanile of the Piazza San Marco in Venice. [Seal of the City of Seattle, 1869] — Map (db m22490) HM
Washington (King County), Seattle — Kings St. Coal Wharf - Skinner & Eddy Shipyards - Site of Hooverville
A coal wharf was located at the waterfront during the late 19th century. Coal was transported here by railroad from Newcastle and Renton. Abandoned in the early 1900’s, the wharf soon became the Skinner & Eddy Shipyard. During World War I, the shipyard set records in ship construction, building 75 vessels – one-tenth of the nation’s total wartime shipping tonnage. Following the war, an attempt to reduce wages at the shipyard resulted in the first city-wide strike in the country, . . . — Map (db m48123) HM
Washington (King County), Seattle — Lou Graham’s Sporting House — 1989 Washington State Centennial
Lou Graham, Seattle’s best known madam, opened her establishment on this site in 1888. Rebuilt in brick and expanded after the Great Fire in 1889, Graham’s parlor became the most elegant of Seattle’s bordellos during the city’s rough pioneer era. Graham catered to the “carriage trade,” entertaining government officials and members of Seattle’s first families. Her many land holdings made her one of the most prosperous women of her time. On her death in 1903, her estate was . . . — Map (db m22499) HM
Washington (King County), Seattle — Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial Park — The Life of Martin Luther King, Jr.
This park honoring Martin Luther King, Jr. was inspired by Dr. King’s last speech entitled “I’ve Been to the Mountaintop.” He delivered the speech in Memphis, Tennessee the night before he was assassinated. He was there in support of striking sanitation workers. Dr. King’s legacy embodied in this memorial will give everyone regardless of racial or ethnic background an opportunity to remember him personally and to reflect on his teachings. Our children and their children will always . . . — Map (db m22557) HM
Washington (King County), Seattle — Maynard Building1892
Solid grey brick and stone, and fully restored interior paneling mark this romanesque revival building as one of Pioneer Square’s most handsome. Site of Seattle’s first bank, operated by pioneer merchant Dexter Horton. This building was restored in 1974-75. — Map (db m48127) HM
Washington (King County), Seattle — Merchant’s Cafe1889
Seattle’s oldest continuously-used restaurant retains most of its original interior. Its 30-foot bar was brought “around the horn” in a sailing vessel during the 1860s, and much Klondike gold passed across it during the 1890s. The restaurant was operated by the Schreiner family for 74 years. The building was restored in 1972. [Lower Plaque:] Merchants Cafe Established 1890 — Map (db m48021) HM
Washington (King County), Seattle — Mural at Bergen Place
The Ballard Historical Society and the Seattle-Bergen Sister City Association joined together to create this mural in 1995 to commemorate our community’s rich and prosperous history, and to celebrate our economic and cultural ties to other nations. The Sister City relationship between Seattle and Bergen, Norway established in 1957, is illustrated by the young Norwegian and American women holding hands in the panel to the left. Behind them are shown the totem pole presented to . . . — Map (db m27794) HM
Washington (King County), Seattle — Mutual Life Building1897
This modified Romanesque Revival building of brick and terra cotta complements the nearby Pioneer Building. It has been home to such varied businesses as a speakeasy (1920s), elegant cigar store (1930s), and ice cream parlor. Site of Henry Yesler’s Cookhouse (1854-66) and First National Bank (1882). — Map (db m47995) HM
Washington (King County), Seattle — Pioneer Building — 1989 Washington State Centennial
The Pioneer Building is one of the finest and most ornate buildings in the District, characteristic of the Richardsonian Romanesque style prevalent throughout Pioneer Square. Constructed in 1889 on the site of Henry Yesler’s first home. This building is the most authentic existing example of the work of architect Elmer Fisher. The heavy rough stone arch at the building entrance is a distinctive trademark of Fisher’s work in the square. Fisher designed over fifty other buildings in the two . . . — Map (db m22495) HM
Washington (King County), Seattle — Pioneer Square Historic District
[This marker is consists of seven panels and a map which deal with various aspects to the history of Pioneer Square. The panels are clustered together in Occidental Park in the heart of Seattle’s Pioneer Square Historic District.] [Panel 1] [Click on photo #1 to view photos described in Panel 1 marker text.] Birth of a City On November 13, 1851, friendly Duwamish natives watched as families in the Denny Party came ashore on a windswept West Seattle beach. . . . — Map (db m69830) HM
Washington (King County), Seattle — Schwabacher’s Store
This 1890 building once housed Schwabacher’s Store, a leading mercantile outfitter for prospectors passing through Seattle en route to the Klondike Gold Rush. The firm was managed by Bailey Gatzert, who married into the Schwabacher family, becoming a prominent civic and business leader. He later became mayor of Seattle. — Map (db m48128) HM
Washington (King County), Seattle — Seattle Fisherman's Memorial
Dedicated on October 8, 1988 as a tribute to the men women, their families, and the members of the fishing community who have suffered the loss of life at sea. — Map (db m70739) HM
Washington (King County), Seattle — Seattle’s First PierHistorical Point of Interest
Seattle’s first pier lies buried beneath your feet. The famous Yesler sawmill and wharf, constructed in 1853m marked the birth of Seattle’s great lumber and shipping industries. For many years it was the center of Seattle’s business district. Erected National Maritime Week – 1964 — Map (db m48117) HM
Washington (King County), Seattle — Site of the Smaller Fort
Site of the smaller fort to protect the whites in the Indian War of 1855. A Stockade stretched from here to the main blockhouse at the foot of Cherry Street. — Map (db m48164) HM
Washington (King County), Seattle — Site of Yesler's Pavillion
This was the site of Seattle’s first civic and entertainment center. Built by Henry Yesler in 1865, in a corner of his private orchard, the Pavilion hosted town meetings, musicals, and theatrical performances. Remodeled into offices in 1887, it was destroyed by the Great Fire of 1889. The present building was erected in 1907 by James Lowman, Henry Yesler’s nephew. — Map (db m48049) HM
Washington (King County), Seattle — Smith and Squire Buildings
Smith and Squire Buildings, designed by Max Umbrecht and C.H. Webb, were built in 1900, and combined in a later renovation. The Steinberg Clothing Company occupied the original premises, which were redesigned as residential lofts in 1982 by Hewitt Daly, Architects. — Map (db m48124) HM
Washington (King County), Seattle — Smith Tower — 1989 Washington State Centennial
Seattle’s first skyscraper opened on July 4, 1914. The 42 story Smith Tower was the tallest building outside of New York City and Seattle’s tallest for nearly fifty years. It was built by Lyman Smith of Smith-Corona and Smith and Wesson fame, from Syracuse, New York. Sheathed entirely in terra cotta, the building was designed by the Syracuse firm of Gaggin and Gaggin. In a race to construct Seattle’s tallest building, Smith also hoped to anchor the “Second Avenue Canyon” area as . . . — Map (db m22481) HM
Washington (King County), Seattle — The First Commercial Monorail in the United States
In commemoration of service and honor to the Seattle World’s Fair April 21 – October 21 1962 and the City of Seattle Placed in tribute this 19th day of October 1962 at the site of the Northern Termius of the first commercial Monorail in America — Map (db m47939) HM
Washington (King County), Seattle — The Goldsmith Building
Built in 1907 as The Crane Building Is part of the Pioneer Square Historic District Which was entered in the National Register of Historic Places By the United States Department of the Interior — Map (db m48170) HM
Washington (King County), Seattle — The Pioneer Square Pergola
1909 This ornamental glass and cast iron pergola provided shelter at the northwest’s first comfort station, a place featuring modern conveniences such as public restrooms. 2002 The pergola was extensively damage when a truck failed to safely navigate its turn. Rebuilt out of the original fragments, the pergola has been restored to its original splendor. — Map (db m47992) HM
Washington (King County), Seattle — The St. Charles ApartmentsBuilt 1913 — Renovated 2004 by Plymouth Housing Group
The St. Charles Apartments, originally called the Rector Hotel was built to provide accommodations for the patrons of the Grand Seattle Opera. The St Charles Apartments is listed in the Washington Heritage Register, and the National Register of Historic Places. — Map (db m48052) HM
Washington (King County), Seattle — The Visit of President Theodore Roosevelt’s “Great White Fleet”Centennial Celebration
In Commemoration of The Visit of President Theodore Roosevelt’s “Great White Fleet” to Seattle in May of 1908. From here The Fleet Continued on Their Famous Round the World Cruise. Dedicated May 20, 2008 by Mayor Greg Nickels — Map (db m47999) HM
Washington (King County), Seattle — The White Chapel District
The White Chapel District: In the depression of 1893 there stood on opposite corners of Washington Street and Third Avenue, at the foot of “profanity hill,” what was referred to as the most financially solvent institution in Seattle: The first Catholic Church of Seattle “Our Lady of Good Help,” built in 1869 by Father P.I. Prefontaine, (#1) and Lou Gramham’s Brothel (#2). This area of the tenderloin district extending to Jackson Street, was referred to as the . . . — Map (db m48169) HM
Washington (King County), Seattle — Union StationDesigned by Daniel J. Patterson — Dedicated on May 20, 1911
Restored and rededicated by Sound Transit on October 16, 1999 to link the past and future of public transportation and serve the Central Puget Sound community. Union Station served as the Seattle passenger terminal for the Oregon - Washington Railroad and Navigation Company, Union Pacific Railroad, and Milwaukee Roads lines from 1911 until 1971. It was listed in the National Register of Historic Places on August 30, 1974, and is included in the City of Seattle’s International Special Review . . . — Map (db m48168) HM
Washington (King County), Seattle — UPS - Celebrating 100 years of ServiceAugust 28, 2007
To celebrate the 100th anniversary of UPS, employees gathered here at the company’s birthplace to honor, celebrate and reaffirm UPS’s commitment to serving communities around the world. — Map (db m48165) HM
Washington (King County), Seattle — Waterfront History
The Seattle waterfront played and exciting role in the early days of pioneer Seattle. Where you are now standing once was tidal flats, edged by forests. Salish natives traveled up and down the coast in intricately carved cedar dugout canoes and fished, hunted and gathered shellfish. In the early 1800’s the first Seattle pioneers made friends with the Salish natives and built a town and waterfront on a peninsula extending into the tidelands south of today’s Pioneer Square. In the 1850’s . . . — Map (db m48003) HM
Washington (King County), Seattle — Welcome to The Public MarketPike Place Market
Welcome to downtown Seattle's neighborhood market. Pike Place Market is the city's center for fresh, local produce, specialty food and small independent businesses. Established in 1907 to connect citizens and farmers, the Market continues its "Meet the Producer" tradition with a year-round farmers market, owner-operated bakeries, fish markets, butcher shops, produce stands and specialty food stores. The nine-acre historic district is also home to more than 200 craftspeople, a wide range of . . . — Map (db m75521) HM
Washington (Kittitas County), Cle Elum — Douglas A. MunroWorld War II Congressional Medal of Honor Recipient — United States Coast Guard
Signalman First Class Douglas A. Munro U.S. Coast Guard Cle Elum, Washington On September 22, 1942 Coast Guard Signalman First Class Douglas A. Munro was in charge of Landing Craft evacuating 500 besieged Marines from the beaches of Guadalcanal. Near the completion of the mission, the few marines remaining on the beach were pinned down by Japanese gunfire. Munro used his boat to cover the marines escape. Within minutes after the last marine was safe, Munro was fatally wounded. . . . — Map (db m62785) WM
Washington (Kittitas County), Ellensburg — Beck Memorial
Fiery Floods
Twenty-five million years ago, this area was a land of meandering streams and lush, rolling hills. Then came the first lave flow. Long cracks or vents opened in the earth and lava flooded the land spreading like water. The lava cooled and solidified into basalt. Lakes, swamps and streams reformed on the new, relatively flat surface. Then lava again flooded the land. The time between lava flows was sometimes only months; sometimes hundreds, even thousands of years. Each . . . — Map (db m38486) HM
Washington (Kittitas County), Ellensburg — Lava Flows
Imagine standing here millions of years ago on the edge of a huge plain fringed by distant mountains. Cypress trees grow in the swamps. Maple, sycamore, ginkgo, sequoia, and fir cover the nearby hills and mountains. Ancestors of rhinoceroses and camels feed on the lush vegetation.

Then, this peaceful scene is disturbed by lava welling up from within the earth and rushing across the land. The flow covers tens of thousands of square miles, burying forests, rivers, and swamps. As it . . . — Map (db m38446) HM
Washington (Kittitas County), Ellensburg — The Olmstead Place
It’s hard to imagine, but you are about to enter a fertile valley. Named for the Indians who lived here time immemorial, the Kittitas Valley was the destination of many American settlers who came to the Washington Territory in the 1860s. Rich, natural grasslands attracted Americans, who built prosperous farms and ranches. Traditional uses, even the people themselves, were eventually displaced.

Among the pioneer families were the Olmsteads from Illinois. Samuel, Sarah, and their three . . . — Map (db m38448) HM
Washington (Kittitas County), Roslyn — Roslyn Coal Mining
In 1886, Northern Pacific Railroad mining engineers located large seams of coal and the town of Roslyn was founded.
Coal mining, though dirty and dangerous work, attracted large numbers of immigrants to Roslyn – Serbians, Croatians, Poles, Italians, Lithuanians, and others. During an 1888 strike, the Northern Pacific Coal Company brought in hundreds of African Americans as strikebreakers. Despite the rough reception, many made Roslyn their home.
In the first decades of the . . . — Map (db m38422) HM
Washington (Klickitat County), Goldendale — Sam Hill Country
In 1908 Samuel Hill (1857-1931) bought 7,000 acres on these slopes. He planned a Quaker farming colony, surveyed a 34-block tounsite and built a church, hotel, store, offices, garage and shops. His engineers built ten miles of experimental roads; as Washington’s first rural paved roads they proved Hill’s zeal as a promoter of highways. Three miles to the west he began construction of an old-world chateau, which in 1940 was completed as the Maryhill Museum of Art. In 1918-1929 Hill constructed . . . — Map (db m34471) HM
Washington (Klickitat County), Goldendale — Stonehenge
The structure before you is the first monument in our nation to military personnel who gave their lives in World War I. (unreadable) 13 young Klickitat County men, it also serves as lasting reminder of the works of Samuel Hill, patron of this region. He established a townsite here, with postoffice, hotel, general store, nearly 10 miles of experimental paved roads, and the Maryhill Museum three miles to the west—all on his own land. His tomb is 50 yards distant, on the opposite side . . . — Map (db m64447) HM WM
Washington (Lewis County), Packwood — The Palisades are Clues to the Past
The rock before you is a clue to a geologic mystery. Between 110,000 and 20,000 years ago, a volcano erupted about nine miles away. Dacite lava flowed here and stopped, forming an unusually deep pool. Geologists don’t know for sure what blocked the lava. It may have been a glacier or a cliff. The edge of the lava flow cooled much faster than the rest of the flows. This made fractures in the columns. (Map Caption) Map showing the general path of the dacite lava flow from a . . . — Map (db m71658)
Washington (Lewis County), Packwood — Traveling Over the Cascades: Past and Present
Before Euro-Americans arrived, Native people crossed the mountains on rugged trails to visit relatives, trade with other tribes, and gather food for winter. Later, prospectors, sheepherders, settlers and early Forest Service rangers used the same trails on foot or horseback. In the late 1800's, engineers explored this area to find a route for the Northern Pacific Railroad. The mountains were too steep. Not until 1951 was Highway 12 completed across the mountains. Present: Travel through a . . . — Map (db m71657) HM
Washington (Okanogan County), Winthrop — Winthrop
Here at the forks of the rushing Methow, Boston-bred Guy Waring founded Winthrop in 1891. Trappers, prospectors and homesteaders tramped into his frontier store. In '95 Colonel Thomas Hart came through to carve a narrow-gauge wagon road across the Cascades, linking this valley with the Slate Creek Mining District. Meanwhile Waring, who hated liquor, opened his Duck Brand Saloon to keep worse ones out. Anyone who started getting drunk was given the boot -- A policy which must have greatly . . . — Map (db m36497) HM
Washington (Pend Oreille County), Newport — Corliss Steam Engine"The Big Wheel"
Engine Data 478 Horsepower 22 in. cylinder – 42 in. stroke 120 lbs. PSI steam pressure 63,000 lbs. in weight Wheel Data 16 Ft. in diameter 100 RPM 42 in. face 20,000 lbs. in weight The Big Wheel was manufactured by Allis Chalmers in 1909 and moved to Newport by the Fidelity Lumber Co. It was in continuous service for 55 yrs. cutting over 1 billion feet of lumber. In 1964 the engine was donated to the Newport JC’s by the . . . — Map (db m73497) HM
Washington (Pierce County), Carbonado — The Historical Carbonado Saloon
This structure was a close relative to the Carbon Hill Coal Company’s brick store that sat directly across from it on Pershing Avenue. Right around 1880, this building held Carbonado’s first Post Office. It’s known that a barber shop once inhabited a corner and a dentist hung his shingle here. The “Company” owned the whole shebang, including all the homes and the “Canteen,” which was the first watering hole in town. Miners’ paychecks came in the form of script. Your rent . . . — Map (db m54791) HM
Washington (Pierce County), DuPont — Global War on Terrorism MemorialCity of DuPont
Tablet #1 On September 11, 2001, nineteen Al-Qaeda terrorists attacked the United States homeland. In less than 4 hours they killed nearly 3,000 men, women and children. Countless extraordinary Americans answered the call to defend this great nation, many of whom made DuPont their home. They committed their lives to hunt down the enemy and dismantle the network of terrorists across the globe and keep America safe. When a soldier goes to war, the family at home bears a heavy burden. . . . — Map (db m40169) WM
Washington (Pierce County), DuPont — Ross Memorial
Named in honor of M/Sgt Wilburn K. Ross who was awarded the Medal of Honor for conspicuous gallantry at the risk of life above and beyond the call of duty on 30 October 1944 near St. Jacques, France. After his unit, Company G, 30th Infantry, 3rd Infantry Division had lost 55 of 88 men in an attack on an entrenched German company of elite mountain troops, Pvt. Ross placed his light machine gun 10 yards in advance of the foremost supporting riflemen in order to absorb the impact of an enemy . . . — Map (db m40170) HM
Washington (Pierce County), Lakewood — Lakewood Veterans MemorialDedicated on Memorial Day, May 26, 2003
In honor of the men and women who served in the armed forces of the United States of America. They served, and many sacrificed their lives, not only to preserve the freedoms which we enjoy today, but to bring freedom to people and nations throughout the world. — Map (db m41552) HM
Washington (Pierce County), Lakewood — Military Road
Side A 1852Congress appropriated $20,000 for a military road from Fort Steilacoom to Fort Walla Walla. The road was made passable 1885. Side B Supplementing the appropriation made by congress citizens helped build the military road through the Nachess pass to Walla Walla 1853 Side C 1857Congress appropriated $88,000 for a military road from Steilacoom to Bellingham — Map (db m28032) HM
Washington (Pierce County), Lakewood — Western State Hospital Historical Cemetery, 1876-1953
Over 3,200 psychiatric patients from Western State Hospital were buried here from 1876 to 1953. Since then, burial has been elsewhere. The graves are marked with numbers for privacy reasons and the stigma of mental illness. These people worked on the award winning hospital farm and in other hospital areas and called the hospital "home". They were mothers, fathers, grandparents, aunts and uncles, children and many were veterans. May they rest in peace, with dignity and respect. — Map (db m28029) HM
Washington (Pierce County), McChord AFB — 36th Airlift Squadron Memorial
36 ALS In memory of our thirteen airmen who lost their lives 30 November 1992 65-0255 Capt Edward D Parent Jr • Capt Banks E Wilkinson • Capt Kevin M Maquire 8ALS • 1st Lt Edward H Hoyle III • TSgt Peter L Osterfeld • SSgt Monte L Bissett • A1C George A Moreland 66-0142 Capt David J Sielewicz • Capt Jimmy Lee Jenkins • Capt Mark A Elster 4ALS • TSgt David R Young • SSgt Terrence J Miyoshi • SrA Wilbert T Brown III — Map (db m44249) HM
Washington (Pierce County), McChord AFB — Beechcraft UC-45J ExpeditorBu. No. 89484 — "Twin Beech"
The C-45 was developed from the Beech Model 18 civil transport which first flew on 15 January 1937. The USAAF placed orders for its first aircraft in 1940, acquiring nearly 1300 of the Beech 18s modified for various missions. These included light transport (UC/C-45), trainers (AT-11) for navigation, bombing and gunnery, photo survey (F-2) and a naval version (JRB series). In the early 1950s, 900 surviving USAF AT-11s and C-45s were rebuilt into C-45Hs, with the last aircraft retired in 1963. . . . — Map (db m43924) HM
Washington (Pierce County), McChord AFB — Convair F-102A Delta DaggerS/N 56-1515 — "Duce"
On 13 December 1956, McChord's 325th FW's 317th FIS upon receiving their first F-102, was the base's first fighter squadron to go "supersonic". the 325th's other squadron, the 318th FIS would receive their first F-102 one year later. In an effort to reinforce airspace over the northern approaches of North America, F-102s of the 317th FIS were reassigned to Elmendorf AFB, Alaska in 1957. That year, the 64th FIS moved to McChord replacing the 317th FIS. F-102's were flown by the 317th FIS . . . — Map (db m42735) HM
Washington (Pierce County), McChord AFB — Convair F-106A Delta DartS/N 56-0459 — "Six"
F-106A S/N 56-0459 was the primary aircraft flown during USAF's World Speed Record operation named "Project Firewall". Piloting another F-106, Capt. Joe Rogers set the record of 1595.95 MPH on 15 December 1959, a record that stands today for a single engine aircraft. In the 60's and 70's, the 318th FIS was the first F-106 unit to deploy to reinforce Alaskan (with the 498th FIS) and Korean airspace. In 1974, the "Green Dragons" were named as the USAF's Best Interceptor Squadron. F-106's flew . . . — Map (db m42731) HM
Washington (Pierce County), McChord AFB — Douglas B-18A BoloS/N 37-505 — First McChord Based Aircraft Type
The Douglas B-18 was a military adaptation of the company's DC-2 airliner sharing a similar powerplant, wing and tail designs. Although obsolete by the end of 1941, the number of aircraft available made B-18s the most important long-range bomber in service with the USAAF at the time of America's entry into WW II. with the reassignment of the 17th Bombardment Group (Medium) from March AAF to McChord AAF in 1940, B-18s became the first aircraft assigned to McChord. Squadrons of the 12th and 47th . . . — Map (db m43914) HM
Washington (Pierce County), McChord AFB — Douglas B-23 DragonS/N 39-036
In 1938, the Douglas Aircraft Co. developed the B-23 Dragon to rectify the shortcomings of its B-18 Bolo. the B-23 Dragon featured upgraded engines, a considerably refined fuselage, and a tail gun position not found in the B-18. Beginning in early 1940, McChord's 17th Bombardment Group and the 89th Reconnaissance Squadron received their first factory fresh B-23 Dragon Bombers along side B-18 Bolos stationed at the base. McChord based B-23s were flown by the 89th RS (1940-1941), and other . . . — Map (db m43915) HM
Washington (Pierce County), McChord AFB — Douglas C-124C Globemaster II"Old Shakey" — S/N 52-0994
The C-124 on display completed the last flight of a Globemaster II on its delivery from Willow Run Airport, MI to McChord AFB on 09 October 1986. C-124's were assigned to the base from 1951 - 1969. Proudly maintained by the McChord Air Museum — Map (db m43918) HM
Washington (Pierce County), McChord AFB — Douglas TC-47D SkytrainS/N 44-76502 — "Gooney Bird"
The C-47 first entered service in 1941 and became the backbone of the U.S. Army Air Forces airlift capability during World War II. Between 1942-1945, C-47s helped the 62d Troop Carrier Group make their mark on the front lines of North Africa and European theater. In conducting their main mission, the delivery of troops, the 62d TCG also utilized CG-4 Hardrian Gliders. At the conclusion of the war, Gen. Dwight D. Eisenhower called the Skytrain one of the four weapons, along with the bazooka, . . . — Map (db m43916) HM
Washington (Pierce County), McChord AFB — F-16 Fighting Falcon
This F-16 protected our nation's capitol on September 11, 2001 Dedicated to the men and women who defend America's skies May 21, 2008 — Map (db m43921) HM
Washington (Pierce County), McChord AFB — Fairchild C-82A PacketS/N 48-57574
In 1946, the 62d Troop Carrier Group received their first C-82s while stationed at Bergstrom TX in 1946. The unit would later move to McChord AFB on August 15, 1947. The 62d gained valuable experience during "Project Yukon" as operation that involved airlifting an Army infantry company and their equipment between McChord to Alaska. Between 1948-1949 The 62d TCG delivered flood relief supplies to several locations in Washington and Oregon, and in "Operation Hayride", airdropped tons of hay to . . . — Map (db m43917) HM
Washington (Pierce County), McChord AFB — Fairchild Republic A-10A Thunderbolt IIS/N 75-0270 — "Warthog"
On 05 January 1993, the 354th Fighter Squadron "Bulldogs" activated at McChord AFB, geographically separated from their parent unit, the 355th Wing, Davis-Monthan AFB, AZ. While at McChord, the 354th flew over 15,000 sorties in 11 deployments to operations and exercises in Argentina, Chile, Italy, Japan, Turkey, and the Persian Gulf. The 354th was also tasked to support troops at Fort Lewis, and the Yakima Training Center. The 354th FS deactivated at McChord AFB on 01 October 1994. Proudly maintained by the McChord Air Museum — Map (db m42734) HM
Washington (Pierce County), McChord AFB — Loadmasters Memorial
In Memory of all Loadmasters — Map (db m44247) HM
Washington (Pierce County), McChord AFB — Lockheed T-33A Shooting StarS/N 58-2106 — "T-Bird"
The T-33 was a familiar sight at McChord for almost 40 years, flying lastly with the 318th FIS until the T-33 retirement on 04 February 1988. T-33's were used for instrument training, certification or requalification of pilots, simulated targets for interceptor training and aggressors for air defense radar sites. Upon their retirement, the 318ths nine T-33's had been flown more than 10,000 hours each. T-33A S/N 58-2106, the last “T-Bird” built for the U.S. Air Force, completed its . . . — Map (db m42954) HM
Washington (Pierce County), McChord AFB — Lockheed-Georgia C-141B Starlifter"Tacoma Starlifter" — S/N 65-000277
The "Tacoma Starlifter" was the first C-141 assigned to 62d Military Airlift Wing on 05 August 1966. McChord AFB active and reserve units flew the C-141's from the base between 1966-2001. Proudly maintained by the McChord Air Museum — Map (db m43919) HM
Washington (Pierce County), McChord AFB — McDonnell CF-101F VoodooS/N 101022 — "One-Oh-Wonder"
The Royal Canadian Air Forces 409th Fighter Squadron based at Comox B.C. began replacing their worn CF-100s with CF-101s in mid 1961. While assigned to the 25th NORAD Region, the 409th FS "Nighthawks" commitment in the defense of the Pacific Northwest spanned 30 years until the unit's last CF-101 alert on 30 June 1984. In its last days with the 409th, CF-101F S/N 101022 participated in history's last Voodoo formation, a nine ship, from CFB Comox to CFB Cold Lake on 6 July 1984. Proudly maintained by the McChord Air Museum — Map (db m42733) HM
Washington (Pierce County), McChord AFB — McDonnell Douglas F-15A EagleS/N 76-0048 — "Eagle"
On 10 June 1983 McChord's 318th FIS received its first F-15 replacing the units venerable F-106. The 318th "Green Dragons" captured the 1984 Hughes Achievement Trophy, presented to USAF's Top Fighter Squadron. In 1989, plans to convert the 318th FIS into the F-16 were canceled and the unit was slated to close with their F-15s replacing F-4's from Oregon Air National Guard's 123rd FIS. On 07 December 1989 the 318th FIS disbanded, leaving McChord without a fighter mission since the 1940's. Proudly maintained by the McChord Air Museum — Map (db m42732) HM
Washington (Pierce County), McChord AFB — North American F-86D SabreS/N 52-3669 — "Sabre Dog"
The first operational F-86D entered USAF Squadron service in March of 1951, with McChord's 317th FIS, and the 465th FIS receiving their first aircraft in 1953. The 465th FIS was later redesignated as the 318th FIS on 18 August 1955 under “Project Arrow” an effort that returned squadrons back to their WWII wings and/or groups. During the early 1950's, F-86D's became the most prominent interceptor in the 25th AD arsenal, flying from five bases and fourteen squadrons. McChord based . . . — Map (db m42953) HM
Washington (Pierce County), McChord AFB — POW/MIA Memorial
Sculpture plaque Dedicated to All Former Prisoners of War by Christmastown U.S.A. Chapter American Ex-Prisoners of War Shelton, Washington 1999 Left Tablet Code of Conduct {This tablet was not transcribed or photographed, but can be seen in Picture #1} Middle Tablet POW*MIA Missing But Not Forgotten It is the Soldier, not the reporter, who has given us freedom of the press. It is the soldier, not the poet, who has given us the freedom of speech. It is the soldier, . . . — Map (db m44246) HM
Washington (Pierce County), Paradise — An Ancient CommunityMount Ranier National Park
Enter an ancient forest and find yourself sheltered by giant trees reaching more than 200 feet into the sky. Western hemlock and western red-cedar, some as old as 850 years, are the dominant trees in Mount Rainier’s old-growth lowland forests. These large, old trees live together with others of different ages. This diversity creates a rich understory and canopy of vegetation, which provides habitat for a variety of animals. Some of the last extensive stands of old-growth forest left in the . . . — Map (db m62156) HM
Washington (Pierce County), Paridise Inn — A Recovering ForestMount Rainier National Park
Does this forest look different than the forest on the other side of the river? Multiple mudflows have raced down Mount Rainier’s slopes snapping off trees like toothpicks. When the mud stopped flowing, it set like concrete over tree roots, suffocating them. The younger trees here are beginning to heal the scar left by many mudflows. Look at the different species of trees in this forest. Many are Douglas-fir, western hemlock, and alder, some of the first to sprout through the thick . . . — Map (db m70743) HM
Washington (Pierce County), Paridise Inn — Changing CourseMount Rainier National Park
Not long ago, the waters of Kautz Creek filled this creek bed. Today only a small stream flows here. Kautz Creek has moved. Along with record rainfall, early November 2006 brought debris flows to several areas of the park. Not far from here, one of these flows rerouted Kautz Creek: coming to a stop at a high and narrow point in the creek bed, the debris flow dammed the creek. Diverted by this barrier, the rain-swollen creek carved a new course through the forest. Do the changes at . . . — Map (db m70744) HM
Washington (Pierce County), Paridise Inn — Inspired to PreserveMount Rainier National Park
Since the early 1900s people have parked at this site to get an exceptional view of Mount Rainier. The park road was designed to harmonize with the landscape and take advantage of spectacular vistas like this one. The surrounding scenery has the power to inspire. In the timeless presence of the mountain, people have been motivated to explore, to recreate, to connect with our heritage, and to fight for the preservation of wilderness. This view---and others like it---have inspired a deep . . . — Map (db m70745) HM
Washington (Pierce County), Paridise Inn — Kautz Creek Nature TrailMount Rainier National Park
Along this short trail, discover clues to one of the most powerful geologic forces that has shaped Mount Rainier. Mudflows have thundered down this valley, topping trees, damaging bridges and leaving behind thick layers of mud and debris. Stroll along this boardwalk to see the effects of these mudflows and to experience the recovery of this one dense forest. — Map (db m70742) HM
Washington (Pierce County), Puyallup — Old Oregon Trail
Front of Marker: Monument Expedition Camp One 29 Jan 1906 Left Side of Marker: This stone is donated by Gregory L. Meeker Cousin to Ezra In honor of Bobby and Helen Meeker who taught their son the love of family and community. Also donated by Raymond L. Kanter and Janet L. Kanter-Purcell Direct descendants of Ezra
Rear of Marker: Centennial Reenactment July - August 2006 Right Side of Marker: Seventy five year old . . . — Map (db m39786) HM
Washington (Pierce County), Steilacoom — Two-Story Log HouseJust South — Erected 1852
First School Session North of Columbia (River) -1854 Refuge During Indian War 1855-56 Occupied by families of Rev. J.F. Devore 1853 Abram Woolery 1854 Sherwood Bonney 1854-1856 — Map (db m28031) HM
Washington (Pierce County), Tacoma — Ten Inch Shell From U.S.S. Maine
The Property of John R. Thompson Camp Number One United Spanish War Veterans Tacoma — Map (db m56347) HM
Washington (Pierce County), Wilkeson — Wilkeson Eagles Building 100th Anniversary
On this Hundredth year of the Wilkeson Eagles Building we dedicate this plaque to all the Fraternal Orders that have called it home. We also want to recognize the past and present members of these groups that have helped preserve it in posterity. Fraternal Order of Eagles Ladies Auxiliary Knights of Pythias Pythian Sisters Improved Order of Red Men Degree of Pocahontas Independent Order of Odd Fellows Rebekah Sisters United Ancient Order of Druids . . . — Map (db m48994) HM
Washington (Skagit County), Anacortes — "Anne Curtis Bowman"
Wife of City of Anacortes founder, Amos Bowman Lisa Liedgren, Artist Mural based on image courtesy of Anacortes Museum (Wallie Funk Collection - 1890) Map (db m74001) HM
Washington (Skagit County), Anacortes — Andrew Carnegie
The late, great, rich & powerful Andrew Carnegie: A real man of steel Born 1835 in Scotland came to USA 1848. Was a bobbin-boy, clerk telegraph & newspaper guy, built bridges, made iron, near monopolized steel. Wrote books & became a philanthropist. He helped build 3000 librarys [sic] world-wide, including ours. Anacortes paid half & opened these doors, 1910. Carnegie d. [died] 1919. — Map (db m74358) HM
Washington (Skagit County), Anacortes — Causland Memorial ParkNamed In Honor Of — Harry Leon Causland
One of the one hundred immortals D.S.C. 6795. This park is dedicated to the honored memory of the brave sons of Fidalgo, Guemes, Decatur and Cypress Islands who at the call of their country entered the service and gave their lives in the Great War for world wide liberty 1917 - 1919 Irving Henry Barbee • Leo Steve Bruett • Charles E. Burch • Arthur Edven Carlson • Harry Leon Causland • Harry Lewis Grimes • Nathaniel Inman Hudson • Thomas Tell Huntley • Earl Chester Jenkins • Carl Harry . . . — Map (db m74363) WM
Washington (Skagit County), Anacortes — Causland ParkRegistered National Historic Place
John Bapiste LePage (1857-1939), the French-Canadian artist and architect, designed this unique memorial park and supervised its construction by local volunteers. Great Northern Railroad donated the park site, and costs were paid by contributors and the City of Anacortes. Construction took place from 1919 to 1921. May 7, 1981 — Map (db m74362) HM
Washington (Skagit County), Anacortes — Charles Pinson, USN
USS Chabaulip [sic], 1917 Our Last WWI Vet, '95 — Map (db m74101) HM
Washington (Skagit County), Anacortes — Depot, circa 1915
The Great Northern Depot was built in 1911 at 7th & R & served as a depot until 1973. This photo of the north side shows a steam engine, people on the platform, horse-&-buggy "hacks" for hire &, in the background, the original Methodist Episcopal Church (1892-1965). Several railways served Anacortes in the early years. The Seattle & Northern Railroad provided the first passenger service in 1890; passenger service remained strong until the 1920s. But by 1930, railroads could no longer . . . — Map (db m74122) HM
Washington (Skagit County), Anacortes — Douglas Fir
Specie: Douglas Fir Origin: Olympic Forest Age: 970 yrs. Height: 242 ft. Board Ft: 51000 Donated by Anacortes Veneer 25th Anniversary 1964 — Map (db m74103) HM
Washington (Skagit County), Anacortes — Island Flyer
Captain Blackwood's Handsome Launch. Plying Between Bellingham and Anacortes. Two Trips Daily. The Handsomest and Most Commodius and Sea Worthy Boat of the Kind on Puget Sound. 1907 — Map (db m74360) HM
Washington (Skagit County), Anacortes — Life Aboard a Snagboat
A skipper and crew of up to 14 lived and worked on the W.T. Preston. River maintenance skills were cultivated and passed to the next generation. A diligent fireman could earn a license and work up to engineer. Deckhands were promoted to mate and eventually to captain - if the post became available. In 97 years of operations, Puget Sound's snagboats had only 7 captains. Except for the firemen, who ran the boilers around the clock, the crew kept regular hours. When men weren't . . . — Map (db m74110) HM
Washington (Skagit County), Anacortes — Miss Carrie M. White
Dedicated to the public in memory of Miss Carrie M. White, Third President of W.C.T.U. of Washington Territory, and First President of Anacortes W.C.T.U., by the members thereof. — Map (db m74317) HM
Washington (Skagit County), Anacortes — Mrs. Luella Howard
Born 1864 • Maine to Washington 1890 A Teacher • 1st Librarian at Anacortes Public Library, 1910 Mrs. Howard lived in the neighborhood & walked to work • Retired '39 — Map (db m74316) HM
Washington (Skagit County), Anacortes — Paul & Nicolo Luvera
had a market here 1922-57 —————————— Paul Luvera Sr. Memorial Highway An Italian immigrant who exemplified the fulfillment of the American dream, Paul N. Luvera, Sr.'s life was dedicated to public service. He was an Anacortes grocer, a community activist, a state senator, and, in later years, a totem pole carver. He served numerous civic organizations and committees and spearheaded the drive to build a community swimming . . . — Map (db m74088) HM
Washington (Skagit County), Anacortes — Powered by Steam
The W.T. Preston's steam-powered engines were first installed on the Swinomish in 1914, then transferred with most of the machinery to the new wood-hulled W.T. Preston in 1929, and to her steel-hulled replacement in 1939. Originally fired with cordwood, the steam boiler was later converted to burn heavy fuel oil. Modern burners, installed in 1967, used lighter diesel fuel, greatly improving combustion and reducing air pollution. Typical operating speed in smooth . . . — Map (db m74112) HM
Washington (Skagit County), Anacortes — Ship Harbor
THE NATURAL DYNAMIC Ship Harbor was formed by natural forces over thousands of years. It is maintained as a natural landform by the continued dynamic balance of these same forces. Preservation of this area requires that physical, chemical, and biological interactions continue uninterrupted. Beach Dynamics The beach is composed primarily of sand, silt, and mud, which is characteristic of a semiprotected bay. The currents and wave activity in the area result in a net . . . — Map (db m74126) HM
Washington (Skagit County), Anacortes — Snagging
By 1882, Puget Sound's rivers were served by hundreds of steam paddlewheelers with such shallow drafts people joked they could "float on a heavy dew." Because their flat-bottomed hulls were easily punctured by submerged stumps and debris, Congress allocated $20,000 for a snagboat and, under the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, three steam-powered sternwheelers kept the region's tributaries cleared for 97 years - the Skagit (launched in 1885), the Swinomish (1914) and finally the . . . — Map (db m74108) HM
Washington (Skagit County), Anacortes — War MemorialIn Memoriam — Lest We Forget
World War II Barney Marvin Allen • Phillip Olander Allen • Robert Lee Allen • Rodger D. Andrews • John Walter Barber • Arthur D. Blackrud • Archie Eugene Brown • Kenneth G. Detwiler • William J. Dwelley • Patrick H. George • Albert James Gray • Robert Hammarlund • Clayton G. Kingston • Herbert O. Leckman • Roy Robert McKinley • Kenneth E. Mitchell • Lloyd J. Rodin • Oakley A. Simon • Harding A. Smith • Jay V. Thomson • Richard Bliss White • Lloyd A Wilson Korea George Duane . . . — Map (db m74364) WM
Washington (Skagit County), Mount Vernon — Grandpa and MeJasper Gates (1840-1923) and John Knox (1895-1977)
From Dick Fallis, Historian, Skagit County Pioneer Association Jasper Gates was born April 9, 1840, in Adair County, Missouri. He grew to manhood at the family farm there, married Clarinda Kimble in 1860, served in the Union Army during the Civil War, after which he moved with his growing family to find peace and fulfillment in the newly developing, open country of the Pacific Northwest. With his wife, children, wifowed [sic] mother-in-law and other members of the Kimble Family, they . . . — Map (db m75484) HM
Washington (Skamania County), Skamania — Beacon RockLewis and Clark - The Biddle Family
Beacon Rock was first described and named by Captains Lewis and Clark October 31, 1805, enroute to the Pacific Ocean. Henry J. Biddle purchased Beacon Rock in 1915 to preserve it for posterity and completed the trail in 1918. His son Spencer and Daughter Rebecca Biddle Wood gave this historic landmark to the State of Washington in 1935 to create Beacon Rock State Park. An ancestor, Nicholas Biddle of Philadelphia, edited the first (1814) edition of the Lewis and Clark Journals. — Map (db m58810) HM
Washington (Snohomish County), Edmonds — The Olympic Mountains
The Olympic Mountains began life 35 million years ago as part of the ancient sea floor that thrust against the North American plate. Inexorable geologic forces fractured and folded these layers of rock and lifted them high into the air. Erosion and glaciers carved the valleys and peaks visible today. Rising directly out of the Pacific Ocean on the west, the mountains rise to their highest point, 7,969 foot tall Mount Olympus, 61 miles from this marker. The Olympics are bordered by the . . . — Map (db m75486) HM
Washington (Snohomish County), Lynnwood — Alderwood Manor Heritage Cottage
This cottage was built in 1917 by the Puget Mill Company as a residence for the superintendent of the 33-acre Alderwood Manor Demonstration Farm. F.C. McClane was the superintendent until the Company closed the Demonstration Farm in 1933. The property was then leased to Norman Collins who established the Washington Breeders Hatchery on the central five acres. Norman and his wife, Vera, lived in the cottage for several years, later using it as a residence for the managers of the hatchery. The . . . — Map (db m60021) HM
Washington (Snohomish County), Lynnwood — Humble House
The park site’s original residence was built in 1919 by the Puget Mill Company, and first owned by Joseph R. and Harriet B. Holt. In 1934, wanting to “live in the country,” Mildred and Albert Humble and their two daughters, Janice and Mary, traded their Seattle home for the Holt’s 2-room house on a five acre tract. The Humble family’s furnishings filled the little house to capacity, forcing them to sleep in the well house, which used to stand behind the main house. Renovations . . . — Map (db m60022) HM
Washington (Snohomish County), Lynnwood — Interurban Trolley
Trolley Car 55 is a 1907 Interurban single-ended, wood framed electric rail car that was constructed by the Niles Carbody Works and delivered to the Seattle-Everett Traction Company in 1910. The Interurban Rail Line provided commuter service from the newly established community of Alderwood Manor (now Lynnwood) to Seattle and Everett. The Interurban was a key element used to encourage people in the cities to relocate to ranchettes in Alderwood Manor that were created by the subdivision of . . . — Map (db m60023) HM
Washington (Snohomish County), Lynnwood — Wickers Building
Built by the Puget Mill Company in 1919, this grocery and supply store was located on the North Trunk Road in Alderwood Manor (now 196th Street SW in Lynnwood). The Main Store was a familiar landmark half-way between Seattle and Everett to passengers on the Interurban Rail Line which ran behind the store. In 1920, the post office was established in the building with the store keeper as postmaster, and mail was delivered daily by the Interurban. In the mid-Twenties the store was sold to Guy . . . — Map (db m60020) HM
Washington (Snohomish County), Mukilteo — Early ExplorersEarly Explorers of the Mukilteo Region
We do not know the name of the first man or women to venture into the Mukilteo area, but we do know that the ancestors of today’s Native Americans migrated from Asia to North America at least 12,000 years ago. Evidence of the next explorers is also fragmented, as scholars debate the possibility of visits to the Washington coast by early Polynesians, a Chinese navigator in 458, Sir Francis Drake in 1579, and Juan de Fuca (a Greek mariner employed by the Spanish) in 1592. The historical record is . . . — Map (db m61041) HM
Washington (Snohomish County), Snohomish — Ferguson Cottage
The cottage you see on the bluff above was Snohomish County's first courthouse, first post office and our first city hall. Originally built in Steilacoom and delivered by steamship in 1859. It was also the home of city founder, Emory Canda Ferguson (1833-1911) — Map (db m72646) HM
Washington (Spokane County), Deep Creek Community — Camp Washington
Commemorating the establishing of Camp Washington by Governor Isaac I. Stevens on the site in front of this monument where he and Gen'l then Captain George B McClellan and their military and engineering forces met and camped from October 17th to 30th 1853 — Map (db m45328) HM
Washington (Spokane County), Fairchild — The Battle of Spokane Plains
was fought near this spot on September 5, 1858 in which U.S. troops under command of Col. George Wright defeated the allied — Coeur d'Alene Palouse, and Spokane Indians — Map (db m3817) HM
Washington (Spokane County), Four Lakes — Battle of Four Lakes
On this historic ground, Sept. 1, 1858, 700 soldiers under Col Geo. Wright, U.S.A. routed 5,000 allied indians. Four days later, the rallied hostiles were decisively defeated in a running battle. They sued for mercy, and have ever since maintained lasting peace. — Map (db m3816) HM
Washington (Spokane County), Hite — Colville - Walla Walla Road
Erected to the Explorers, Fur Traders Missionaries Soldiers and Pioneers who made an Indian Trail the Colville - Walla Walla Road 1811 — Map (db m3734) HM
Washington (Thurston County), Littlerock — Ecological Connections
Grasses, flowers and other plants support the food web of prairies. Butterflies thrive on flower nectar and may use just one plant species to host their caterpillars. Bees pollinate the flowers. Ground-nesting birds hide their nests among the grasses and forage for plentiful bugs. Townsend’s voles feast on prairie plants and insects, and build runways in the soil duff. The abundance of small mammals, birds and insects draws predators like hawks, falcons and coyotes. — Map (db m71781)
Washington (Thurston County), Littlerock — Mima Mounds: A Special Prairie
What Makes a Prairie Grasslands thrive where dry soil and frequent drought or fires limit or exclude trees and shurbs. The soils and climate in each of North America’s grasslands support a unique mix of native grasses, flowers, and other plants. What Does the Word “Prairie” Mean? Prairie is the word used to describe level or gently rolling grasslands in North America. The name probably comes from early French explorers—prairie means meadow in . . . — Map (db m71780)
Washington (Thurston County), Littlerock — Mima Mounds: The Mysterious Work of Nature
Early Encounters, Early Hypotheses The Mima Mounds intrigues travelers and explorers in the 1800s as described in their journal entries. MAY 20, 1841 Charles Wilkes, commander of the United States Exploring Expedition from 1838 to 1842, thought the Mima mounds might be burial sites: “Being anxious to ascertain if they contained any relics, I subsequently visited these prairies, and opened three of the mounds, but nothing was found in them but a pavement of round . . . — Map (db m71769) HM
Washington (Thurston County), Littlerock — Scientists Still Search for an Answer
More than 30 explanation have been proposed for the origin of the Mima Mounds, but none has been proven. Were the Mounds Created by Glacial Ice? In 1913 glacial geologist J Harlan Bretz completed the first detailed study of the Mima Mounds. Bretz suggested that gravel, stones and soil washed onto the melting ice age glacier might have collected in pits, called suncups. As the ice melted, the sediment pits would have settled in mounded shapes. Created by Earthquakes? Andrew . . . — Map (db m71779)
Washington (Thurston County), Littlerock — What We Know for Sure
The Mima Mounds were formed some time after ice age glaciers began receding 16,500 years ago. Their origin has puzzled scientists and curious visitors since the mid-1800s. Research has revealed what we know so far about the glacial history of this area and the structure and pattern of the mounds. Evidence of Ice Ages Beneath the Mounds About 2.2 million years ago as earth’s climate cooled, massive ice sheets formed far to the north. These glaciers advanced southward and melted . . . — Map (db m71778)
Washington (Thurston County), Olympia — The Lone Tree
A seedling from the Gray's Harbor "Lone Tree" which served as a maritime beacon since it guided Captain Robert Gray into the harbor in 1792. Placed in honor of Charles Tallmadge Conover patriot, historian and writer, who dedicated his life to the development of Washington which he named "The Evergreen State." Albert D. Rosellini, Governor — Map (db m58662) HM
Washington (Walla Walla County), Walla Walla — Wai-i-lat-pu
A short distance to the south, near the Walla Walla River, is Wai-i-lat-pu, "The Place of the People of the Rye Grass,” a mission founded among the Cayuse Indians of the Walla Walla Valley in 1836 by Dr. Marcus Whitman and his wife, Narcissa. As increasing numbers of emigrants moved into the Oregon Country during the 1840’s, Whitman Mission became an important station on the Oregon Trail. Cultural differences, climaxed by a measles epidemic that killed many Cayuse, ended the missionary . . . — Map (db m3766) HM
Washington (Walla Walla County), Wallula — Fort Walla Walla
To the west, at the junction of the Walla Walla and Columbia Rivers, is the site of a trading post built in 1818.
Fort Walla Walla was a vital link in the region’s fur trade, and helped open up the Northwest to the white man. From this post traders and trappers pushed into the rich Snake River basin.
Pioneers on the overland trek to the Oregon country in the 1840’s found its farms a source of supply, and employees were among the area’s first permanent settlers.
The fort was . . . — Map (db m34559) HM
Washington (Walla Walla County), Wallula — Here Stood Fort Nez Perce
Here Stood Fort Nez Perce Also Called Fort Walla Walla Fur Trading Post of Hudson's Bay Company 1818 — 1856 — Map (db m71508) HM
Washington (Whatcom County), Bellingham — Old Telegraph Road
Penetrating northward through this point, toward wilderness areas of British Columbia and Alaska, a telegraph line was partially built in 1865-1867 to connect New York with London via the Bering Strait Cable and a line across Russia. A single-wire pole line followed a fifty-foot clearing through heavy forests and across frozen tundra. Western Union Telegraph Company dropped project abruptly in 1867 when satisfactory trans-Atlantic cable service was established. Russian-American co-operation in . . . — Map (db m60818) HM
Washington (Whatcom County), Bellingham — Pickett Bridge
First built in 1857 as a Military Bridge by Captain George E. Pickett — Map (db m53921) HM
Washington (Whatcom County), Bellingham — Washington State's Oldest Brick BuildingWashington Territorial Court House — 1308 E Street
Washington Territorial Court House 1308 E Street Bellingham Washington Washington State's oldest brick building, built in 1858 with bricks made in Philadelphia and shipped around Cape Horn. Erected as a combination store, commission house and bank during the Fraser River Gold Rush. Acquired as territorial court house and jail for Whatcom, Skagit, San Juan, and the Island Counties in 1863. Served as Whatcom County Court House until 1891 Owner Carl L. Aker — Map (db m53542) HM
Washington (Whatcom County), Point Roberts — Point Roberts Boundary MarkerThe Evergreen State
One mile west stands a granite obelisk, the first of a series of similar markers along the 49th parallel, defining the Canadian-American line from the Strait of Georgia to the summit of the Rocky Mountains. The official survey, begun at Point Roberts in 1857, was a joint venture by American and British boundary commissions. Completed in 1862, it carried out provisions of the treaty of Washington (June, 15, 1846), and virtually ended the old dispute between Great Britain and the United States over sovereignty in the Pacific Northwest. — Map (db m60819) HM
Washington (Yakima County), Tieton — The Story of Kloochman Rock
Kloochman Rock is a volcanic "intrusion" composed of what is called a "pyroxene-rich andesite." Intrusions are created when molten volcanic material is pushed up into a fissure or crack where it cools and hardens. Andesite is a relatively hard fine grained material and the pyroxenes are seen as crystals within the andesitic rock. Over time – in this case millions of years – the surrounding softer material eroded away, leaving the feature you see today. There is a local . . . — Map (db m71522)
212 markers matched your search criteria.
Click to map all markers shown on this page.
Click First to browse through the results shown on this page.   First >> 


•••
More Search Options
 
Markers
Near You

 
Categories

 
States & Provinces

 
Counties
Click to List


 
Countries

Page composed
in 236 ms.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
To search within this page, hold down the Ctrl key and press F.
On an Apple computer,
hold down the Apple key and press F.