|Wisconsin (Adams County), Arkdale — East Arkdale Cemetery|
|On July 11, 1859, Mr. Halvor Olson offered this 1/2 acre of his land to be used as a cemetery for the members of the Evangelical Lutheran Church (Hauge Synod) here in the Roche a Cree (Arkdale) settlement. People of the community outside the congregation could also use this cemetery as their burial place.
The cemetery was to be ready for use by April 14, 1860. The poor were to be buried without charge. A fee of $2.00 was asked for the burial of individuals who were not members of the . . . — Map (db m7368) HM|
|Wisconsin (Adams County), Arkdale — Lutheran Church of the Norwegian Synod|
|On this site once stood a Lutheran Church of the Norwegian Synod, from the years 1887 to 1921. This church developed because of a disagreement on some doctrinal points with the United Lutheran Church which stood one half mile south of here.
Because of the merger of the three Norwegian churches in the area in 1919, this building was no longer needed. It was donated to a sister Lutheran congregation that had organized in the city of Adams. It was carefully dismantled and transported to Adams . . . — Map (db m4657) HM|
|Wisconsin (Adams County), Arkdale — 390 — Site of the First Norwegian Evangelical Lutheran Church of Roche-a-Cri|
|In 1850, a group of Norwegian settlers from Koshkonong, the foremost Norwegian settlement colony in the United States at the time, left their southern Wisconsin home and migrated north, settling here in "Roch-a-Cree" or Roche-a-Cri. Imbued with pioneer spirit and a firm faith in Lutheranism, these settlers homesteaded and became successful farmers, growing potatoes as the their staple crop. In 1853, the Rev. H. A. Preus, a university-trained minister of the Norwegian state church, visited . . . — Map (db m36123) HM|
|Wisconsin (Adams County), Arkdale — West Church|
|In 1853, Norwegian immigrants to this area, organized the Norwegian Evangelical Church of Roche-a-Cri, in 1860. A log church was constructed one mile south of this location. It was destroyed by fire in 1866. A frame church was then erected on this site in 1868 but was destroyed by a cyclone in 1872.
With faith undaunted, a larger church was built on this site in 1875, known as the "West Church," it served as the congregation spiritual home for 53 years, until it was struck by lightning and . . . — Map (db m4658) HM|
|Wisconsin (Adams County), Friendship — 260 — Roche-A-Cri State Park|
|This prominent butte, perhaps the steepest hill in Wisconsin, was called La Roche-a-Cri by 17th and 18th century French voyageurs. Rising 300 feet above the surrounding plain, this landmark undoubtedly guided Indians and early pioneers. Indians of an undetermined cultural group left rock carvings, called petroglyphs, at places on Roche-a-Cri. Like many similar formations on Wisconsin's sandy Central Plain, this butte is composed of Cambrian sandstone about 500,000,000 years old. The flat plain . . . — Map (db m19822) HM|
|Wisconsin (Adams County), Friendship — Veterans Memorial / Cpl. Red Cloud Tribute|
POWs – MIAs
Designed by Cpl. Donald E. Hahn
34th and 19th Reg.
Cpl. Mitchell Red Cloud Jr.
Medal of Honor
Red Cloud Post 250
Adams - Friendship, Wisconsin
— Map (db m37091) HM|
|Wisconsin (Adams County), Monroe Center — Monroe Cemetery|
|Ira and Ransom Gleason, father and uncle to Charlotte and Francis Marion Rous set aside the original acre of land for this cemetery, from the land they obtained through the Public Lands Act of 1820. This plaque in memory of Edna Rous Russell and Harry Rous. — Map (db m7534) HM|
|Wisconsin (Adams County), Rome — Spring Branch Cemetery Veterans Memorial|
Duty, Honor, Country
We dedicate this monument to
all our service men and women
in all wars and conflicts.
United States Army
United States Marines
United States Navy
United States Air Force
United States Coast Guard
Killed in Action
Missing in Action
Prisoners of War
Our Lord's Prayer
Our Father, Who art in Heaven,
Hallowed be Thy Name. Thy Kingdom
come. Thy Will be done, on earth
as it is in Heaven. Give us this day
our daily bread. And . . . — Map (db m41686) WM|
|Wisconsin (Ashland County), Ashland — 304 — Fleet Admiral William D. Leahy|
|William Daniel Leahy was born in Iowa in 1875 and his family soon moved to Wisconsin. He graduated from Ashland High School in 1892 and for the rest of his life considered Ashland his home town.
Leahy graduated from the Naval Academy and served in the Spanish-American War. He planned naval operations for U.S. interventions in Nicaragua (1912), Haiti (1916), and Mexico (1916). During World War I, he became friendly with Assistant Secretary of the Navy, Franklin D. Roosevelt. Leahy was made . . . — Map (db m48412) HM|
|Wisconsin (Ashland County), Ashland — 224 — Northland College|
|North Wisconsin Academy, founded in 1892 by the Congregational Churches, provided the first high school education available to young people of the small, isolated lumber camp, sawmill and farm communities in the area known as the Great Lakes Pinery, but commonly referred to as “A God-forsaken Waste.” It stretched across the northern third of Wisconsin, Michigan and Minnesota.
The Academy was to be co-educational, to have a program of classical studies, to train both mind and . . . — Map (db m48411) HM|
|Wisconsin (Ashland County), Ashland — 6 — Radisson-Groseilliers Fort|
|A crude structure of boughs of trees “layed acrosse, one upon an other” was erected near here by Pierre Radisson and Medart Groseilliers in 1659. The two French traders came to Chequamegon Bay from Montreal and Radisson's account of their journey reports “at the end of this bay we landed.”
This very profitable trip resulted in confiscation of their licenses and furs because they refused to share the proceeds with the French Governor of Canada. In anger Radisson and . . . — Map (db m48410) HM|
|Wisconsin (Ashland County), Ashland — Schooner Lucerne — Historic Shipwreck — Wisconsin’s Maritime Trails|
Type; Wooden Schooner, three-masted
Built: 1873, Parsons & Humble, Tonawanda, N.Y.
Sank: November 17, 1886
Length: 195’ Beam: 34’
Cargo: Grain, coal, and iron ore
Lives Lost: 9
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places
About 200 yards off Long Island, in 20 feet of water, lies the wreck of the Lucerne. In her day, the three-masted wooden schooner was one of the largest and sturdiest vessels on the Great Lakes.
The barometer indicated good . . . — Map (db m46920) HM|
|Wisconsin (Ashland County), Glidden — Glidden State Bank|
|Glidden State Bank
has been placed on the
of Historic Places
by the United States
Department of the Interior
Jerry Hellenbrand - 2006 — Map (db m47483) HM|
|Wisconsin (Ashland County), Glidden — 54 — Great Divide|
|You are now on the great divide which seperates the two principal drainage areas of Wisconsin. Water falling to the north of this point finds its way into Lake Superior, then down through the Great Lakes and the St. Lawrence River 2,000 miles into the Atlantic Ocean. Water which falls to the south of here runs down the Chippewa River into the "Father of Waters," and after 1600 miles reaches the Gulf of Mexico. The elevation here is approximately 950 feet above Lake Superior and 1550 feet above . . . — Map (db m47222) HM|
|Wisconsin (Ashland County), Glidden — World's Largest White Pine Log — Biggest & Last Sleigh Hauled Log|
|This white pine log was sleigh hauled to Glidden on Dec. 21, 1984 on the sleigh it sets on. It was cut on State 40 14 miles east of Glidden. Its estimated weight is 7000 lbs. The 20 ft log scaled 1960 [?] board ft. Estimated age 500 to 600 years old. — Map (db m47534) HM|
|Wisconsin (Ashland County), La Pointe — Early Vessels — Wisconsin's Maritime Trails|
|Native American canoes launched North America’s maritime legacy about 12,000 years ago, making them among the world’s oldest watercraft.
The origins of the birchbark canoe are told in the oral traditions of the Ojibwe people. The spirit Winneboujou was searching for his mother. He did not know that she had become a spirit to be with his father, the West Wind. Winneboujou was told that a large fish swallowed his mother while she was walking along Lake Superior. He walked along the shore, . . . — Map (db m57836) HM|
|Wisconsin (Ashland County), La Pointe — 108 — Madeline Island — Known to the Ojibway Indians as Moningwunakauning, "The Home of The Golden Breasted Woodpecker"|
|The largest of the Apostle Islands was one of the earliest areas of Indian settlement, fur trade, missionary activity and commercial fishing in the interior of North America. It was discovered by French explorers in 1659. Trading posts were built here for the French by Le Sueur in 1693 and for the British by Michel Cadotte in 1793. In 1834 this site and present La Pointe dock became headquarters for the Northern Outfit of the American Fur Company. Missionary operations began about 1830 with the . . . — Map (db m57662) HM|
|Wisconsin (Ashland County), Odanah — The Bad River|
|The Mauvaise (Bad) River was so named by the French due to the difficulties of its navigation. The Indians called it Mushkeezeebi or Marsh River. In 1845 the Rev. L.H. Wheeler, Protestant missionary at La Pointe, planned an agricultural settlement near the mouth of the Bad River where the Indians had for many years made their gardens. He named the settlement “Odanah,” a Chippewa word meaning “village.” About 1850 a determined effort was begun to compel the Indians to . . . — Map (db m63661) HM|
|Wisconsin (Barron County), Chetek — 218 — Pine Was King|
|Vast forests of virgin white pine were the treasure which brought the first wave of white settlers to Northern Wisconsin. The farms came later, but for half a century the forests were local history.
In 1847, the Knapp, Stout & Co. purchased thousands of acres of pinelands from the Government for $1.25 per acre. In 1848 they began logging operations in Barron County and by 1870 the company was said to be the greatest lumber corporation in the world and the undisputed lord of the thousands . . . — Map (db m45069) HM|
|Wisconsin (Barron County), Dobie — 469 — Our Lady of Lourdes Catholic Church|
|The congregation for this church traces its roots back to 1870 when people first held services in their homes in what was originally called Stanfold. This community later became Dobie. Their first Catholic church was built in 1876 but was destroyed by fire in 1895. Services were then held in a temporary structure until the present church was completed in 1904. The name of the church reflects the French ancestry of many early parishioners.
Wisconsin Historical Society — Map (db m45151) HM|
|Wisconsin (Bayfield County), Bayfield — Bayfield Historic Waterfront — Eastern Waterfront / Ferry Dock — Wisconsin's Maritime Trails|
|Bayfield’s history has been powerfully shaped by its location. Situated on the shores of a deep, natural harbor, the city is sheltered from Lake Superior’s notorious storms by the outlying Apostle Islands. Lighthouses, shipwrecks, and a historic waterfront still evoke the city’s rich maritime past.
Bayfield’s fresh air and spectacular setting have always attracted tourists. The city’s eastern waterfront and ferry dock have traditionally been a point of departure for tourists and summer . . . — Map (db m57835) HM|
|Wisconsin (Bayfield County), Bayfield — Memorial to Commercial Fishermen of Bayfield — Past—Present—Future|
|Dedicated in 1981 to the hard working commercial fishermen whose indomitable spirits will not be forgotten.
Commissioned by Edwin Erickson,
Mayor of Bayfield, 1970-1976 & 1980-1988
Designed by Harold Kerr (1909-1981)
Constructed by Brian Kerr and Erickson Marine
The pilings were salvaged from the steamer “Ireland” which ran aground at Gull Island. The anchor chain came from the “Pretoria” which sank off Outer Island in 1905. The timbers are part of the . . . — Map (db m57811) HM|
|Wisconsin (Bayfield County), Bayfield — The Booth Cooperage|
|At one time, a local fishery once encompassed this entire block. Early sailing vessels would bring their harvests here to be salt packed in barrels and shipped to market. Here in “The Cooperage,” one of the remaining buildings of that fishery, 5 skilled coopers assembled barrels around a huge open hearth. The coopers turned out a high quality, hand made barrel, that was said to hold a “150 pound pack of salt fish.”
Today, power driven fishing boats still land fish . . . — Map (db m57810) HM|
|Wisconsin (Bayfield County), Cornucopia — 28 — Tragedy of The Siskiwit|
|Once upon a time, according to an old Indian legend, the sand beach on the east side of this bay was a favorite camping ground. One spring a few lodges of Chippewa from La Pointe encamped here. When their chief, Bi-aus-wah, returned from the hunt, he found that a large party of Foxes had murdered all but two of his people. He trailed the enemy to their village and found them preparing to torture his young son. Chief Bi-aus-wah stepped proudly and boldly forward and offered his own life if the . . . — Map (db m30843) HM|
|Wisconsin (Bayfield County), Herbster — 522 — "The Gym"|
|When the community sought funding for a new gymnasium and town hall, they looked to the Work Progress Administration, a depression-era program, which utilized local materials and labor to create jobs for unemployed workers. Architect Roland C. Buck of Superior designed the building in the Rustic Style, a style popular in the north woods because its log construction evoked nostalgia for pioneer and early logging history.
The Federal government granted approval for the project on May 13, . . . — Map (db m36553) HM|
|Wisconsin (Bayfield County), Port Wing — 145 — School Consolidation|
|As the 20th century began, logging operations were in full swing in this area and the small log schoolhouses could not handle the increasing number of students. Some classes were held in churches but additional facilities were needed.
T.N. Okerstrom and James C. Daly conceived the idea of consolidating the rural districts and establishing a larger school with free transportation. It was a new idea and there was resistance but after numerous meetings and much planning, a new school district . . . — Map (db m30845) HM|
|Wisconsin (Bayfield County), Town of Russell — Hokenson Brothers Fishery|
Harvesting the Waters
In 1927, the Hokenson brothers (Leo, Roy, and Eskel) began life as fishermen. For more than 30 years, they met the challenges of fishing the largest lake in the world, relying on their skills, strength, and ingenuity to make a living for their families. Follow the path to find the buildings and tools they used to catch, clean, and market fish. — Map (db m46908) HM|
|Wisconsin (Bayfield County), Town of Russell — Steamer Sevona — Historic Shipwreck — Wisconsin's Maritime Trails|
Type: Steel, bulk and package freighter
Built: 1890, Frank W. Wheeler, Bay City, Mich.
Sank: September 2, 1905
Length: 372’ Beam: 41’
Cargo: Iron ore
Depth of Wreckage: 25’
Lives Lost: 7
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places
About four miles north of here lies the wreck of the Sevona, one of the largest carriers on the Great Lakes when it was launched in 1890. She was originally named the Emily P. Weed.
When the . . . — Map (db m46907) HM|
|Wisconsin (Bayfield County), Washburn — Bank of Washburn — 1890|
|The Bank of Washburn is a unique variation of the Romanesque Revival Style designed by architects Conover & Porter of Ashland, Wisconsin. Built in less than one year, the building was fashioned from brownstone quarried at Houghton Point located north of Washburn.
The Bank of Washburn was founded by A.C. Probert, one of Washburn's most colorful characters. Probert also served as Chairman of the town but was ultimately convicted of embezzlement and sentenced to the Waupan Penitentiary. . . . — Map (db m48439) HM|
|Wisconsin (Bayfield County), Washburn — 49 — Madeline Island|
|To the east is Madeline Island, known to the Ojibway as Moning-wunakauning, “The Home of the Golden Breasted Woodpecker.” The French soldier Pierre le Sueur built his post there in 1693. In 1718 a fort was erected which remained France’s principal fur-trading post on Lake Superior until New France fell to England. In 1793 Michel Cadotte established a trading post and began permanent settlement. When Equaysayway, daughter of Chief White Crane and a member of the Ojibway aristocracy, . . . — Map (db m30844) HM|
|Wisconsin (Bayfield County), Washburn — The Sprague Well — Historical Landmark|
|The Sprague Well, believed to be the first drilled artesian well in Bayfield County, was completed at 119 feet 8 inches in April, 1903 by Monroe H. Sprague at the mill office of the Akeley–Sprague Lumber Co. Flow from the 4 inch casing was rated at 224 gal. min. – “so free of minerals it was piped directly to the saw mill boilers.” In 1956 the flow was measured at 54 gal. min. from a one inch pipe and tested 104 ppm total mineral content. Long a fresh water treat for . . . — Map (db m57812) HM|
|Wisconsin (Bayfield County), Washburn — Washburn Historic Waterfront — Bigelow / Hines Railroad Trestle — Wisconsin's Maritime Trails|
|In the early days of Washburn, the waterfront was filled with saw mills. The A.A. Bigelow Mill (1887-1902), later to become the Hines Mill, was the largest of three major sawmills in Washburn. It rested on pilings that ran directly out from the present 6th Avenue West. Logs were hauled to the mill by the Washburn & Northwestern Railroad, a narrow gauge system that was owned by the mill. Once the logs reached the lake, they were fed into the mill ponds at log dumps. To handle the massive amount . . . — Map (db m57839) HM|
|Wisconsin (Bayfield County), Washburn — Washburn Lumbering Days / The Hines Lumber Company|
Washburn Lumbering Days
Washburn begins on the shoreline of Chequamegon Bay. The city rises gradually 75 ft. above level of the water. In 1884, the town was created, born of the necessity of the railway (Chicago, St. Paul, Minneapolis and Omaha) which required not only ample depth of water at the docks, but sufficient flat land, able to handle its cars and shipping. The work of obtaining the town site began in 1883 (prior to that time a small lumber camp was the . . . — Map (db m57824) HM|
|Wisconsin (Bayfield County), Washburn — Washburn, The Monolith City|
|This title was given back in 1892 when Frederick Prentice, president of the Prentice Brownstone Co. of Wisconsin, offered to supply a huge brownstone monolith for the Wisconsin Exhibit at the 1893 World’s Fair in Chicago. He proposed to furnish this impressive one-piece structure at a size of 110 feet high, 10 feet wide at the base and coming to an apex of 2½ feet, which, according to Mr. Prentice, would eclipse the Egyptian Obelisk that measured 105 feet, 7 inches high. The stone was to . . . — Map (db m48441) HM|
|Wisconsin (Brown County), Allouez — First Episcopal Mission in Wisconsin|
|Near this site stood the first Episcopal Mission in Wisconsin
Founded in 1827 by the Reverend Richard Fish-Cadle
Later first director of Nashotah House — Map (db m68040) HM|
|Wisconsin (Brown County), Allouez — First Redemptorist Church in America|
|The church of St. John the Evangelist, the first church of the Redemptorists in this hemisphere, stood 215 feet east of this marker. It was begun by Rev. S. Mazzuchelli, O. P. and completed by Redemptorist missionaries sent from Europe by Rev. Joseph Passerat, C. SS. R. They arrived here on August 31, 1832, the first resident priests in Wisconsin in over a hundred years. Called St. Francis Xavier by the Redemptorists, it was the only Catholic church in Wisconsin. The Redemptorists left in 1837. . . . — Map (db m66522) HM|
|Wisconsin (Brown County), Allouez — 239 — Heritage Hill State Park|
|This park, built to portray and preserve Wisconsin's beginnings, is located on a site that is itself a part of history. On this 40-acre site stood Camp Smith--a temporary location of Fort Howard--part of the pioneer settlement known as Shantytown, and Wisconsin's first courthouse. Through the site passed the military road linking Fort Howard with Fort Winnebago at Portage and Fort Crawford at Prairie du Chien.
Many of the buildings at Heritage Hill are original structures that were saved . . . — Map (db m10544) HM|
|Wisconsin (Brown County), Allouez — The Catholic Bark Chapel|
|Built by the Indians for Father Claude Allouez in 1671, this is a replica of Wisconsin's first Catholic Church. The original was part of Mission St. Francis Xavior, about one mile south of this site. — Map (db m68048) HM|
|Wisconsin (Brown County), De Pere — Address by President Lincoln — At The dedication Of — The Gettysburg National Cemetery|
|Four score and seven years ago our fathers brought forth on this continent, a new nation, conceived in Liberty, and dedicated to the proposition that all men are created equal.
Now we are engaged in a great civil war, testing whether that nation, or any nation so conceived and so dedicated, can long endure. We are met on a great battle-field of that war. We have come to dedicate a portion of that field, as a final resting place for those who here gave their lives that that nation might . . . — Map (db m60509) HM|
|Wisconsin (Brown County), De Pere — Brown County Court House 1838 to 1854|
|The site of the Brown County Court House from 1838 to 1854.|
Erected by Jean Nicolet Chapter,
Daughters of the American Revolution,
1930 — Map (db m38984) HM
|Wisconsin (Brown County), De Pere — 189 — Marquette–Jolliet|
|Here in June, 1673, an expedition headed by Jesuit priest Jacques Marquette and his companion Louis Jolliet departed from St. Francis Xavier Mission to find and explore the upper Mississippi River. In September they returned here to record their discoveries in their journals. The next spring Jolliet left for Quebec but the ailing Marquette remained at the mission until October. The mission stood on the bank of Fox River directly west of this spot. — Map (db m10393) HM|
|Wisconsin (Brown County), De Pere — 266 — Rapides des Peres — Voyageur Park|
|The rapids at De Pere were well known to all early travelers along the Fox and Wisconsin rivers, which provided the best access to the Mississippi. Despite Indian domination, the waterway served explorers, fur traders and voyageurs, missionaries, and soldiers -- principally from France and from Canada (New France).
Beginning in the late 1600s, the French sent various emissaries to maintain good relations with the Indians and to Christianize them; to seek a water route to the Pacific; and . . . — Map (db m11053) HM|
|Wisconsin (Brown County), De Pere — St. Norbert College & The Packers — Packers Heritage Trail — Lambeau-Lombardi Spur|
|St. Norbert College became the training camp of the Packers in 1958 in an agreement that would become the longest such partnership in NFL history. Father Dennis M. Burke, then president of the college, suggested the arrangement to the team that year and solidified the relationship by forming a close bond with coaching legend Vince Lombardi.
Lombardi was hired by the Packers in 1959, and it was here during the summer months that he molded his great teams of the 1960s.
Renowned for his . . . — Map (db m56440) HM|
|Wisconsin (Brown County), De Pere — 262 — White Pillars|
|This building was erected in 1836 to serve as the office of the Fox River Hydraulic Company, which was chartered by Wisconsin's first Territorial Legislature to construct a dam at Rapides des Peres. Following the 1837 financial crisis, notes issued by the company circulated as currency, making it one of the first de facto banks in Wisconsin. In subsequent years the building served as a barber shop, newspaper office, cabinet shop, private school, church and residence. — Map (db m10887) HM|
|Wisconsin (Brown County), Denmark — 373 — Denmark|
|In 1848, immigrants from Langeland, Denmark, seeking economic opportunity and plentiful farmland, settled in this vicinity. The Danes purchased land here and called their early settlement "Copenhagen," later changed to Denmark. In subsequent years, German, Irish and Czech immigrants joined the Danes, and Denmark grew to be a prosperous farming and trading community. After a railroad line reached Denmark in 1906, the area became an important center for Wisconsin cheese and dairy production. — Map (db m22453) HM|
|Wisconsin (Brown County), Green Bay — 11 — 1634 • 1909|
|Commemorating the discovery of Wisconsin in 1634 by Jean Nicolet, emissary of Governor Champlain of New France. In this vicinity Nicolet first met the Winnebago Indians.
Unveiled August 12, 1909, by members of the State Historical Society of Wisconsin and the Green Bay Historical Society. — Map (db m15786) HM|
|Wisconsin (Brown County), Green Bay — Alexis De Tocqueville|
|Alexis De Tocqueville
The 25 year-old French aristocrat
and author of Democracy In America
visited this area
during his 1831 - 1832 tour of America
Placed by C-Span and the cable television industry
while retracing the tour in 1997 - 1998 — Map (db m39543) HM|
|Wisconsin (Brown County), Green Bay — Augustin de Langlade|
|On the river shore
Block 3 Astor directly west of this
marker stood about the year 1745 the
home and trading house of
Augustin de Langlade
and his distinguished son Charles,
the first permanent settlers of Wisconsin.
Charles Michel de Langlade
"Bravest of the Brave"
led his Indian bands in ninety-nine battles.
His tact and diplomacy brought peace to the warring tribes along the Fox River. He was held in high esteem by French, English and Americans. His death . . . — Map (db m39145) HM|
|Wisconsin (Brown County), Green Bay — Bank Of Wisconsin|
|On this site stood the
Bank Of Wisconsin
The first bank west
of Lake Michigan
The building was erected by
The American Fur Trading Co.
and was a part of John Jacob Astor
Trading House & office — Map (db m39144) HM|
|Wisconsin (Brown County), Green Bay — Bellevue Park — Packers Heritage Trail — Packing Plant Spur|
|Bellevue Park served as the Packers' home field from 1923 to 1924 and was the site of the first Packers-Bears game played in Green Bay.
Bellevue Park was built in less than three weeks in the spring of 1923 with wood salvaged from the stands at Hagemeister Park, where the Packers had previously played. Bellevue was built for baseball and reconfigured for the Packers later that year.
Capacity was listed at a little more than 3,300, but nearly 4,500 fans squeezed into the park's cramped . . . — Map (db m56414) HM|
|Wisconsin (Brown County), Green Bay — Bellin Building — Packers Heritage Trail|
|Gerald Clifford and Dr. W. W. Kelly, two members of the "Hungry Five," a group of local men critical to the survival of the Packers over their first three decades, had offices here. Kelly was a physician with an office on the fourth floor. Clifford was a partner in a law firm on the sixth floor, although he occupied suite 313 for a period in the 1930's.
The other members of the "Hungry Five" were Andrew Turnbull, Lee Joannes and Curly Lambeau.
The Bellin Building was completed in 1916 . . . — Map (db m56344) HM|
|Wisconsin (Brown County), Green Bay — Birthplace Of The Packers — Packers Heritage Trail|
|The Green Bay Packers were organized on Aug. 11, 1919, in the old Green Bay Press-Gazette building that stood here at 315 Cherry Street. The meeting took place in the editorial department on the second floor.
Two days later, the paper briefly mentioned the meeting in a story headlined: "Indian Packing Plant Squad To Represent City." It was noted that the packing company would supply uniforms, and the team would play its games at Hagemeister Park. On Aug. 14, a second meeting was held here . . . — Map (db m56385) HM|
|Wisconsin (Brown County), Green Bay — Brown County Civil War Memorial — 61 Heroes 65|
|Dedicated To The Memory of the
brave men of
who fought to preserve the union.
Erected by the
Woman's Relief Corps
Auxiliary to the
Grand Army of the Republic
1934 — Map (db m43396) HM|
|Wisconsin (Brown County), Green Bay — Brown County Courthouse — Packers Heritage Trail|
|The imposing Brown County Courthouse was where the first stockholders meeting of the newly formed non-profit Green Bay Football Corporation was held on Sept. 17, 1923. It was the first of many important Packer meetings held here over the next four decades.
When the franchise was recognized in 1935 under a new name, Green Bay Packers, Inc, the meeting was again held here. So was the meeting in 1950 when shareholders finalized plans for a third stock sale to save the franchise.
This . . . — Map (db m60522) HM|
|Wisconsin (Brown County), Green Bay — Bryan Bartlett Starr — "Bart" No. 15|
| Quarterback 1956 to 1971
Head Coach 1975 to 1983
6 Conference Championships
5 NFL Championships
Pro Bowl Team 1961,62,63,67
All Pro Selection 1961,62,64,66
MVP Super Bowl 1
MVP Super Bowl 2
NFL MVP 1966
Elected to Pro Football
Hall of Fame 1977
One of the most reknowned champions
& humanitarians to ever play the
game. Admired by his teammates,
respected by his opponents,
beloved by the citizens of Green Bay,
the people of Wisconsin and fans
from . . . — Map (db m39251) HM|
|Wisconsin (Brown County), Green Bay — Chicago & North Western Depot — Packers Heritage Trail|
|The Chicago & North Western Depot was the Packer's usual port of call for road trips over nearly four decades. And often those trips started or ended, or both, with a party thrown by the team's ever-faithful fans.
They threw impromptu homecoming parties following exhilarating victories and also pre-planned farewell parties to cheer up the players when times were tough.
The Packers left from here on their first road trip ever, to Ishpeming, Mich., on Oct. 19, 1919, and they continued . . . — Map (db m56341) HM|
|Wisconsin (Brown County), Green Bay — City Stadium — Packers Heritage Trail|
|City Stadium is one of the last remaining relics from the early days of the National Football League. Although its appearance has greatly changed from the time when the Packers played here, it stands as a monument to the team's humble, hardscrabble roots.
In its heyday, City Stadium was made mostly of wood and held about 25,000 people.
It was home to the Packers for 32 years. They played here for the first time on Sept. 13, 1925, in an exhibition game against the Iron Mountain . . . — Map (db m56388) HM|
|Wisconsin (Brown County), Green Bay — 494 — Cnesses Israel Synagogue|
|Upon this site stood Cnesses Israel Synagogue, the first Jewish congregation in Brown County dedicated September 4, 1904 (24 Elul 5664). Designed by local architect Henry A. Foeller, the synagogue was Moorish in design and had two octagonal towers flanking a central arched entry. — Map (db m51362) HM|
|Wisconsin (Brown County), Green Bay — Columbus Community Club — Packers Heritage Trail|
|The Columbus Community Club, which opened in 1925 as a recreational and social center, played many roles in Packer history.
In the 1920s, before radio broadcasts of Packer games, large crowds gathered on Sunday afternoons when the team was playing on the road. A play-by-play was transmitted by telegraph wire from the site of the game, and the results were posted here on a large board built in the shape of a football field.
From 1927 until the mid-1930s, the Packers used the top floor . . . — Map (db m60523) HM|
|Wisconsin (Brown County), Green Bay — Curly Lambeau's Birthplace Home — Packers Heritage Trail|
|Earl Louis “Curly” Lambeau is Green Bay's most famous native son and the driving force behind the city's most treasured jewel. The storied Green Bay Packers were largely his creation, and they've become his lasting legacy.
Born in 1898, Lambeau first attracted attention when he starred in football at Green Bay East High School. When he graduated from the school in 1917, his senior class prophecy read: "When I get thru (sic) with athletics I'm going out and conquer the rest of . . . — Map (db m56336) HM|
|Wisconsin (Brown County), Green Bay — Curly Lambeau's Office Northern Building — Packers Heritage Trail|
|Curly Lambeau occupied an office in the Northern Building for nearly 20 years while he was coaching the Packers, but visitors might have been taken aback by the sign on his door. It read: Massachusetts Mutual Life Insurance Co.
Lambeau was an original tenant in the Northern Building when it opened in 1930. He occupied room 303 and doubled as district manager of the insurance company. Lambeau would move twice over the years, first to the fourth floor in the early 1930s and then to the . . . — Map (db m56362) HM|
|Wisconsin (Brown County), Green Bay — Downtown Green Bay — Packers Heritage Trail|
|The Packers were founded in downtown Green Bay in 1919 and have had a presence here ever since.
In 1921, their inaugural season in what is now the NFL, they held their first practice at the Old Courthouse Grounds at the southwest corner of Cherry and Jefferson Streets. Later that year, before the first-ever Packer-Bears game, the Lumberjack Band gathered at DeLair's Cafe on Washington Street and paraded in hunting caps, mackinaws, corduroy pants and high boots en route to catching a . . . — Map (db m56346) HM|
|Wisconsin (Brown County), Green Bay — Earl L. (Curly) Lambeau — Founder/V.P./Head Coach/Player 1919–49|
|Curly Lambeau founded the Green Bay Packers in 1919 and was a driving force in the team's early years, including the 1921 decision to join what is now the NFL. He served as head coach for the franchise's first 31 seasons, leading the Packers to six league championships (1929-30-31, 1936, 1939, 1944) and posting a 212-106-21 NFL record (.656). Inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1963. City Stadium renamed in his honor two years later. Was an outstanding prep athlete at Green Bay East . . . — Map (db m39122) HM|
|Wisconsin (Brown County), Green Bay — Elks Club — Packers Heritage Trail|
|The Elks Club was the site of an annual sports banquet that honored many of the biggest names in Packer history from the Curly Lambeau and Vince Lombardi eras.
The first was billed as the "Lombardi Testimonial Banquet" and was held in April 1962, four months after the Packers won their first NFL title under Lombardi. League Commissioner Pete Rozelle attended and presented Lombardi with the Ed Thorp Trophy, given each year to the NFL champion.
Later in 1962, Lambeau was honored here . . . — Map (db m56377) HM|
|Wisconsin (Brown County), Green Bay — Elvis Favorite Ride — The Zippin Pippin|
|The Zippin Pippin was Elvis Presley's favorite ride. The "King" rented Libertyland August 8, 1977 from 1:15 a.m. to 7 a.m. to entertain a group of about 10 guests. Decked in a blue jumpsuit with black leather belt, huge belt buckle with turquoise studs and gold chains, the "King" rode the Zippin Pippin repeatedly during a two-hour period. He lost his belt buckle on the ride that morning, and it was found and returned the next day. Elvis's Libertyland rental became his last public appearance. He died August 16. — Map (db m66565) HM|
|Wisconsin (Brown County), Green Bay — First Catholic Church In Green Bay|
| Near this site stood the first Catholic church in Green Bay begun in the year of our Lord 1823 by Father Gabriel Richard Vicar Apostolic of the Northwest and finished by Father Stephen Badin first resident pastor and missionary.
A short distance north of this was located the first Catholic cemetery, used for nearly a century. It was abandoned in 1835. Erected by the Marquette Club of Green Bay
1924 — Map (db m39394) HM|
|Wisconsin (Brown County), Green Bay — Fort Howard Stockade|
| 853 degrees north 45 degrees, 7 minutes east, from this tablet, stands a flag pole, marking the southeast corner of the stockade of Fort Howard; occupied by United States troops August 1816, and almost continuously until 1852. On this site also stood the French fort, St. Francis, built prior to 1718, and rebuilt by the British in 1761, as Fort Edward Augustus. — Map (db m39257) HM|
|Wisconsin (Brown County), Green Bay — Freimann Hotel Building|
|In 1896, Michael Freimann built a large three story hotel building on what had previously been a vacant lot. The building first served as the O'Neil Hotel but was soon renamed the New Freimann Hotel in 1898. The building typically housed about ten tenants, many of whom worked on the railroad that traversed the east side of the Fox River. The railroad track is now a bike & walking path that lies between the building and the Fox River.
In 1937, after changing its name to the Hofman Hotel, . . . — Map (db m39058) HM|
|Wisconsin (Brown County), Green Bay — 237 — Green Bay Packers|
|The Green Bay Packers, an institution and a legend, are unique.
The only publicly-owned club in professional sports, they were founded as a town team in 1919 by E. L. "Curly" Lambeau, who coached them to six world championships. They acquired their first jerseys by persuading a packing company to put up money for equipment and, originally, played their games in an open field, where fans "passed the hat."
Nurtured into a professional football power that has left a lasting imprint on . . . — Map (db m37200) HM|
|Wisconsin (Brown County), Green Bay — Green Bay Press-Gazette — Packers Heritage Trail|
|The Packers might have been born in the old Press-Gazette building five years before this one was completed, but the close ties between the team and the newspaper carried on here. Had it not been for the Press-Gazette, and particularly Andrew Turnbull and George Whitney Calhoun, the Packers probably wouldn't have survived.
Turnbull's business sense and generosity helped keep the team financially afloat. Calhoun's tireless work kept it relevant. And the two regularly conducted team business . . . — Map (db m56358) HM|
|Wisconsin (Brown County), Green Bay — Hagemeister Park — Packers Heritage Trail|
|Hagemeister Park was the home of the Packers from 1919, their inaugural season as a semipro team, through 1922, their second year in the NFL.
Before East High School and City Stadium were built, Hagemeister Park included the tract of land from Baird Street east and Walnut Street north to the East River.
In 1919 the Packers played on a sandlot with no fence or seating. In 1920 they enclosed he field with a wooden fence so they could charge admission. But after the season ended, the . . . — Map (db m56395) HM|
|Wisconsin (Brown County), Green Bay — 156 — Hazelwood|
|On this site Morgan L. Martin (1805-87) built this home in 1837, after his marriage to Elizabeth Smith of Plattsburgh, N.Y. It was a center of social, literary and political accomplishment for nearly a century. Coming here in 1827 as a young attorney, he began to lay the foundation for Statehood. A member of the Michigan Territorial Council 1831-35, he returned in 1838-44 to serve on the Wisconsin Territorial Council. From 1845-47 he represented the Territory in Congress, at which time he . . . — Map (db m37202) HM|
|Wisconsin (Brown County), Green Bay — Hazelwood — Hazelwood was the home... — Fox River Trail|
of the Morgan L. Martin family for 100 years (1837-1937). Martin was a prominent Green Bay attorney, civic leader, Indian agent and entrepreneur, originally from upstate New York, who helped lay the foundation for Wisconsin's statehood. In 1848, Martin was elected president of the state convention, which drafted Wisconsin's constitution. President Polk signed the Act of Admission on May 29, 1848, making Wisconsin the 30th state to enter the union.
Martin risked his considerable fortune . . . — Map (db m37204) HM|
|Wisconsin (Brown County), Green Bay — 540 — Historic Green Bay Road|
| In 1829, citizens of the Green Bay area petitioned Congress to build a road to Chicago. Following an ancient Indian trail, the military road to connect Fort Howard at Green Bay with Fort Dearborn at Chicago was surveyed by the U.S. War Department in 1835. Construction began in 1838, but after completion the road was little used by the military and soon became known as the Green Bay Road. This is the north end of the 200 mile historic road that many immigrant settlers used to reach their new homes in Wisconsin. — Map (db m68166) HM|
|Wisconsin (Brown County), Green Bay — Hotel Northland — Packers Heritage Trail|
|The Hotel Northland was the social hub of Green Bay and more specifically the city's nerve center during football weekends and other Packer events from shortly after it opened in 1924 through the 1960s.
Vince Lombardi's introductory press conference was held here. The hotel was the site of the NFL meeting held in Green Bay in 1927. It was the base for the Packers' training camp in 1950. And when Green Bay played host to NFL championship games in 1961, 1965 and 1967, the Northland served as . . . — Map (db m60521) HM|
|Wisconsin (Brown County), Green Bay — Indian Packing Plant & Acme Packing Plant — Packers Heritage Trail — Packing Plant Spur|
|The Indian Packing Corp. was the original sponsor of the Packers. Curly Lambeau was working at the packing plant in 1919 when he took the lead in organizing the team. Frank Peck, the company's president at the time, gave Lambeau $500 in cash to buy uniforms.
The Acme Packing Co. bought out Indian Packing in December 1920 and sponsored the Packers the following fall in their first season in what became the NFL.
Two buildings that were part of the plant back then are still standing, and . . . — Map (db m60562) HM|
|Wisconsin (Brown County), Green Bay — Influence of the Fur Trade — Green Bay was home... — Fox River Trail|
to many people for thousands of years before the first Europeans arrived. The rich waters of the bay attracted a number of American Indian Tribes - all members of a large and complex trading network stretching throughout North America.
Green Bay's first European visitors also wanted to trade, but they were only interested in one item: beaver furs. From the 1600s to the 1830s, no fashion
accessory was more important for the well-dressed European man than a hat made from beaver fur. The . . . — Map (db m43813) HM|
|Wisconsin (Brown County), Green Bay — 32 — La Baye Burial Place — "La Baye Cemetery"|
| La Baye burial place 1720 - 1835 Land donated by Domitille de Langlade Grignon - Langevin — Map (db m39398) HM|
|Wisconsin (Brown County), Green Bay — Menomineeville, Seat of Justice — In 1823, James Doty... — Fox River Trail|
was appointed by President Monroe as a district judge for the northern and western Michigan Territory, which included what is now the state of Wisconsin. Doty set up the region's new court in an empty log building.
Three years later, prominent fur trader John Lawe platted a town in the area that included the courthouse. Lawe, who had enormous influence with the Menominee Indians, recorded the town as "Munnomonee." In later years known as Menomineeville, the town became the seat of . . . — Map (db m43822) HM|
|Wisconsin (Brown County), Green Bay — Milwaukee Road Depot — Packers Heritage Trail|
|Back when The Packers traveled exclusively by train, they were welcomed home here at the Milwaukee Road Depot by throngs of joyous fans after clinching three of the six NFL championships they won under Curly Lambeau. The celebrations took place after the Packers captured league titles in 1931, 1936 and 1939.
The Legion Band entertained the gathering in 1931 by playing "On Wisconsin" and "Go You Packers." In 1936, the crowd was estimated at 10,000. The 1939 homecoming was followed by a . . . — Map (db m56337) HM|
|Wisconsin (Brown County), Green Bay — Milwaukee Road Passenger Depot — Fox River Trail|
| The Chicago, Milwaukee and St. Paul Railroad…
later known as the Milwaukee Road came to Green Bay in 1873.
This depot was built in 1898 and was the only passenger depot located on the east side of the river. It served as a passenger depot from 1898 to 1938 (approximately 10 passenger trains per day) and again from 1945 to 1946 (about 12 passenger trains per day). After the decline of passenger railway service, the passenger depot closed but continued as a freight depot. . . . — Map (db m43821) HM|
|Wisconsin (Brown County), Green Bay — Minahan's Tomb — Overlooking Riverside Drive... — Fox River Trail|
and the Fox River Trail is the tomb of Dr. William Edward Minahan, who died in the sinking of the Titanic. William had four brothers who were also doctors, and his oldest brother, Robert, was also a lawyer who served as mayor of Green Bay from 1904 through 1907.
William Minahan was a native of Chilton, Wisconsin, where he graduated from high school. He briefly pursued teaching but decided to become a doctor instead. He attended medical school in Chicago and graduated with high honors. . . . — Map (db m43818) HM|
|Wisconsin (Brown County), Green Bay — Naval Veterans Monument|
|Dedicated to the Glory of God
and in Memory to All Men and
Women Who Served in the Naval
Forces of the United States
Erected by the Navy Club, Ship 18
Rededicated June 1996 — Map (db m66600) WM|
|Wisconsin (Brown County), Green Bay — Nicolet Landing — 1634-1909|
|Commemorating the discovery of Wisconsin in 1634 by Jean Nicolet, Emissary of Governor Champlain of New France. In this vicinity Nicolet first met the
Winnebago Indians. — Map (db m39541) HM|
|Wisconsin (Brown County), Green Bay — Packers Heritage Trail — Packers Heritage Trail|
|The Packers Heritage Trail was designed as a self-guided walking tour past a treasure trove of landmarks that played a big part in the history of the Green Bay Packers from Curly Lambeau's era through Vince Lombardi's.
During those 50 years, from 1919 to 1968, the Packers cut their teeth as a sandlot football team, joined what became the National Football League, and not only miraculously survived in its smallest city but won a record 11 league championships.
That period in their . . . — Map (db m56310) HM|
|Wisconsin (Brown County), Green Bay — Packers Office Building — Packers Heritage Trail|
|The Packers moved into the south side of this building, located at 349 S. Washington St., in 1949 and occupied it until a new administration building was completed next to what is now Lambeau Field in 1963.
Curly Lambeau was the first coach to have his office here in what was his final season with the Packers, and Vince Lombardi was the last. Lombardi worked here during his first four seasons as coach.
The Packers' ticket office occupied the front part of the first floor while the . . . — Map (db m60579) HM|
|Wisconsin (Brown County), Green Bay — Packers Practice Fields — Packers Heritage Trail — Packing Plant Spur|
|During the 32 seasons that the Packers played at City Stadium, they mostly practiced on nearby fields. As early as 1923, when East High was under construction, the Packers practiced in front of the school in Joannes Park.
In 1937, they created a practice field east of the high school and covered much of the large open area that can be seen just ahead. Two years later, they built a fence around it that bordered Walnut Street and stretched to the East River. It remained the Packers' regular . . . — Map (db m56411) HM|
|Wisconsin (Brown County), Green Bay — Port of Green Bay's Economic Impact — A Critical Link... — Fox River Trail|
in Wisconsin’s transportation system is the Port of Green Bay. It serves as a multi-modal distribution center connecting waterborne vessels with an extensive network of highways and railroads. The Port of Green Bay provides Northeast Wisconsin manufacturers a cost-effective way to receive raw materials from suppliers and to ship high-valued finished goods to customers.
Each year the Port of Green Bay transports more than 2 million metric tons of coal, limestone, cement, salt, pig iron, . . . — Map (db m43812) HM|
|Wisconsin (Brown County), Green Bay — 62 — Red Banks|
|Many of the explorers who followed Columbus were more interested in finding an easy route to Asia than they were in exploring and settling this continent. In 1634 Jean Nicolet, emissary of Gov. Samuel de Champlain of New France, landed at Red Banks on the shore of Green Bay about a mile west of here. His mission was to arrange peace with the "People of the Sea" and to ally them with France. Nicolet half expected to meet Asiatics on his voyage and had with him an elaborate Oriental robe which he . . . — Map (db m22457) HM|
|Wisconsin (Brown County), Green Bay — Riverside Ballroom — Packers Heritage Trail — Packing Plant Spur|
|The Packers used the Riverside as indoor practice facility when there were no such luxuries. Before their final game in 1940, Coach Curly Lambeau held practice here over two days due to snow, ice and sub-freezing temperatures. The Packers worked out here again following a snowstorm in 1942.
In 1959, nearly 1,000 guests filled the Riverside for the Packers' kickoff dinner before Vince Lombardi's first season as coach. "This is your team," Lombardi told the crowd. "It belongs to the City of . . . — Map (db m56408) HM|
|Wisconsin (Brown County), Green Bay — Robert E. Harlan Plaza|
|Robert E. (Bob) Harlan, the ninth president in Packers history, played a central role in orchestrating the $295 million Lambeau Field redevelopment, first unveiled in 2000 and completed at the start of the 2003 season. Harlan's unwavering leadership and vision for the project helped ensure the club's long-term financial viability while persevering the hallowed history and tradition of the Packers' storied venue. The transformation of Lambeau Field into a year-round destination venue also was in . . . — Map (db m39149) HM|
|Wisconsin (Brown County), Green Bay — September 11, 2001 Memorial — In Loving Memory Of The Known And Unknown, The Found And The Unfound|
The World Trade Center - American Airlines Flight 11 - American Airlines Flight 175 - United Airlines Flight 93 - United Airlines Flight 77 - The Pentagon
Kevin F. Cleary
Ramzi A. Doany
Andrea L. Haberman
John P. Hart
Lt. Col. Dennis M. Johnson
Scott M. Johnson
Lt. Col. Deane E. Mattson
Pastor Jeffrey P. Mladenik
Ann N. Nelson
Barbara K. Olson
Jason D. Oswald
Michell L. Robotham
Cmdr. Dan Frederic Shanower
Daniel W. Song
Patricia J. . . . — Map (db m43283) HM|
|Wisconsin (Brown County), Green Bay — Shantytown — In 1820, as a defensive move, — Fox River Trail|
Fort Howard commander Colonel Joseph Smith moved the garrison to near this location, about a half-mile back from the shore. The high ridge on which the camp,
dubbed “Camp Smith,” was located provided good visibility and protection from disease - both advantages over the prior location of the fort (on the west side of the Fox River and three miles to the north). The new establishment was short-lived: in 1822, Colonel Pinkney took command of the fort, and the War Department . . . — Map (db m43820) HM|
|Wisconsin (Brown County), Green Bay — St. Willebrord Catholic Church — Packers Heritage Trail|
|St. Willebrord Catholic Church was where Vince Lombardi faithfully attended Mass during his 10 years in Green Bay. A devout Catholic, Lombardi would invariably arrive minutes before 8 a.m. on weekdays, park in the back lot and enter the church through a side door.
When Lombardi first arrived in Green Bay in 1959, the Packers' office building on Washington Street was located within two blocks of St. Willebrord. But even after the team moved its offices to Lambeau Field, Lombardi maintained . . . — Map (db m56359) HM|
|Wisconsin (Brown County), Green Bay — The Birthplace Home of Earl "Curly" Lambeau|
|Built in 1868, this example of mid-19th century architecture is one of the oldest homes on its original foundation with its original exterior.
On April 9, 1898, two residents of this home, Marcel and Mary Lambeau, gave birth to their first child, Earl "Curly" Lambeau. Curly went on to star in football at Green Bay East High School, located just 5 blocks from this spot. He then briefly attended Notre Dame University in 1918, scoring the first touchdown ever for Motre Dame's first year . . . — Map (db m39007) HM|
|Wisconsin (Brown County), Green Bay — The Fort Howard Story — Green Bay's Fort Howard, — Fox River Trail|
as well as Fort Crawford at Prairie du Chien, was built following the War of 1812 to establish a U.S. presence in the Wisconsin territory and strategically cut off British access to trade routes. The forts were also used to construct Wisconsin's military roads and to negotiate treaties with the American Indian populations.
Augustin Grignon guided U.S. troops down through the Great Lakes and into the Bay in 1816 to the location where Fort Howard was to be built, directly across the river . . . — Map (db m43816) HM|
|Wisconsin (Brown County), Green Bay — The Little House with a Big History — The Roi-Porlier-Tank Cottage... — Fox River Trail|
has an extraordinary rich history in Green Bay, as it was home to a fur trader, schoolmaster, judge
In 1803, a French Canadian fur trader by the name of Joseph Roi built the small cottage along the
west bank of the Fox River directly across from here. Two years later the cottage was sold to Judge
Jacques Porlier. Porlier was the first schoolmaster in the early 1790s and by 1820 had been named chief justice of the Brown County Court.
Nils Otto Tank was a . . . — Map (db m43823) HM|
|Wisconsin (Brown County), Green Bay — The Port & the Environment — Waterborne transportation... — Fox River Trail|
is the most cost-effective mode of transportation when compared to truck or rail. Ships quietly move cargo farther (per ton mile) and more efficiently than trucks or trains. Most importantly, ships move cargo more safely than trucks and trains.
Consider that a ship destined for the Port of Green Bay carrying 18,000 tons of coal from Sandusky, Ohio, through the Great Lakes will burn more than 7,000 gallons of fuel. However, if that same amount of coal was delivered to Green Bay by rail, . . . — Map (db m43814) HM|
|Wisconsin (Brown County), Green Bay — The Port of Today — The Port of Green Bay... — Fox River Trail|
is a vital part of our local economy, our history and our lives. It plays an important role in the transportation of goods and commodities that are critical to the economic health of the region. The Port of Green Bay receives and/or sends commodities as far south as Sheboygan, Wisconsin, west to Wausau, Wisconsin, and north into the the Upper Peninsula of Michigan. Waterborne transportation provides an efficient and environmentally friendly mode of transportation.
Thirteen port . . . — Map (db m43817) HM|
|Wisconsin (Brown County), Green Bay — The Significance of the Port — Waterways are transportation... — Fox River Trail|
and geographic location is everything. The sparkling waters of Green Bay and sweeping rivers feeding into it
have attracted numerous industries over the past few hundred years. The French fur-trading empire of the
early 1700s gave way to harvesting the thick surrounding forests for lumber and shingles in the 1800s. Rapid agriculture growth followed on the cleared lands while sawmills, smelting furnaces, paper
mills and other factories needing water in their processes hugged the river by . . . — Map (db m43819) HM|
|Wisconsin (Brown County), Green Bay — The Spirit of the Northwest|
| This statue, designed by Suamico native, Sydney Bedore, and dedicated on June 10, 1931 with Governor Phillip Lafollette among the speakers, represents a Fox Indian, Claude Allouez and Nicholas Perrot. Native Americans lived in Wisconsin for about ten thousand years before the arrival of Europeans. These original settlers were ancestors of the Winnebago, Menominee and Santee Dakota. Other tribes, such as the Fox, Sauk, Mascouten, Kickapoo, Miami, and Chippewa moved into this region during the . . . — Map (db m39250) HM|
|Wisconsin (Brown County), Green Bay — Vice Admiral James H. Flatley Jr. — "Reaper Leader"|
June 17, 1906
July 9, 1958
Navy Cross May
7 - 8, 1942
Distinguished Service Medal
July 1953 - June 1958
Legion of Merit W/Combat "V"
Dec. 1944 - May 1945
Distinguished Flying Cross W/Two Gold Stars
Nov 1942 - Aug 1943
Bronze Star W/Combat "V"
Sept - Oct 1944
Navy Commendation Ribbon W/Combat "V"
May 11, 1945
Presidential Unit Citation W/5 Blue Stars
1941 - 1945 American Defense Service Medal
Asistic - Pacific Campaign Medal . . . — Map (db m39232) HM|
|Wisconsin (Brown County), Green Bay — Vincent T. (Vince) Lombardi — Head Coach/G.M. 1959-67; General Manager 1968|
|Vince Lombardi directed the Green Bay Packers to five NFL championships in seven years (1961-62, 1965-66-67) – a feat without parallel in pro football history. His 1966 and '67 teams also won the first two Super Bowls. Lombardi forged an impressive .758 winning percentage in Green Bay (98-30-4), including a remarkable 9-1 playoff mark, and never had a losing season. Inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1971, a year after the Super Bowl trophy was renamed in his honor. Played . . . — Map (db m10558) HM|
|Wisconsin (Brown County), Green Bay — Zachary Taylor — "Old Rough and Ready"|
| Major Zachary Taylor served as commandant of Fort Howard for nearly three years, arriving in the spring of 1817 with 500 men of the fifth United States Infantry.
He would become the twelfth president of the United States on the fifth of March, 1849 and die in office on the ninth of July, 1850. — Map (db m57539) HM|
|Wisconsin (Brown County), Lawrence — 105 — Eleazer Williams|
| This site is part of a 4800-acre tract patented to Eleazer Williams by the United States. In 1882 Williams led a delegation of New York Indians to the Fox River Valley, hoping to set up an Indian Empire in the West. A year later he married the daughter of a pioneer French-Canadian blacksmith, Joseph Jourdain and his Menominee-French wife. The couple settled in a cabin on the bank of the river but the building of the De Pere dam forced them to rebuild it on higher ground. In 1841 the French . . . — Map (db m57219) HM|
|Wisconsin (Brown County), Oneida — 502 — Revolutionary War Veteran|
|James Powlis, whose Oneida name Tewakatelyλ·thale! means "I'm Worried", was born around 1750, probably in New York State. In 1777, after the disintegration of the Iroquois Confederacy's neutrality, Congress sought to offset the allegiance of four of the six Confederacy tribes to the British by winning the allegiance of the remaining two, the Oneida and Tuscarora.
Powlis, an Oneida Chief, enlisted in the Continental Army also in 1777. Congress preceded the offer of army commissions . . . — Map (db m11097) HM|
|Wisconsin (Buffalo County), Alma — 230 — Beef Slough|
|The Beef Slough was a sluggish branch of the Chippewa River that provided an excellent storage pond for the logs floated downstream by numerous logging companies. Here loggers were employed to arrange the mixed-up logs into orderly rafts to be towed by steamboats to sawmills down the Mississippi.
The Chippewa Falls and Eau Claire sawmills felt threatened when the Beef Slough Manufacturing, Booming, Log Driving and Transportation Company was organized near here in 1867. Camp No. 1 built . . . — Map (db m10103) HM|
|Wisconsin (Buffalo County), Alma — Lock & Dam No. 4|
|Designed by and constructed under the direction of
The Corps of Engineers, United States Army
1932 – 1935
Contractor for lock – Ouilmette Construction & Engineering Co.
Contractor for dam – United Construction Co.
Contractor for electrical work – S. C. Sachs, Inc. — Map (db m17300) HM|
|Wisconsin (Buffalo County), Alma — Veterans Memorial|
|This site and memorial is forever dedicated to the memories, valor, courage and ideals of those Buffalo County residents that have given their all and rest in burial sites at home, abroad and at sea. It is also dedicated to those that have endured all so that all mankind may enjoy peace and freedom.
(Military Service Emblems)
Total Cost of U.S. Lives for Freedom
Revolutionary War · 4,435
War of 1812 · 2,260
Mexican War · 1,733
Civil War · 364,511
Spanish American . . . — Map (db m73314) WM|
|Wisconsin (Buffalo County), Fountain City — Fountain City|
|Thomas A. Holmes (1804-1888) established the first permanent settlement in Buffalo County in 1839 at the present site of Fountain City. In the fall of that year Holmes and a party of twelve including his wife came up the Mississippi River to barter with the Indians and fur traders using goods he had obtained in Dubuque. He landed on these shores, built a cabin and spent the winter hunting, trading, and cutting cordwood which was sold in the spring as fuel to the passing steamboats. The . . . — Map (db m43205) HM|
|Wisconsin (Buffalo County), Fountain City — Fountain City|
|Before the white man came to this area Indians of the Chippewa, Winnebago and other tribes roamed freely along the Mississippi River. Recorded history tells of an Indian tribal battle that took place on these river banks which was witnessed by some of the earliest settlers who first came here in 1839. Adventurous pioneers, never less, continued to arrive in greater numbers bringing farming, river commerce and small industries to this wilderness site, and soon the community of Fountain City was . . . — Map (db m43206) HM|
|Wisconsin (Buffalo County), Mondovi — Civil War Monument|
In Memory Of
Erected by W.R.C. No. 124
1914 — Map (db m73511) WM|
|Wisconsin (Buffalo County), Nelson — Veterans Memorial|
|In Memory of Those Who
Served Our Country — Map (db m73348) WM|
|Wisconsin (Burnett County), Grantsburg — 1980 Ekdall Church Fire|
|The weather on April 21, 1980 was unseasonably hot and dry. On that day a temperature of 91 degrees combined with a humidity of 18 percent to set the stage for a catastrophic fire. At approximately 12:20 pm. that sweltering afternoon, the historic Ekdall Church Fire began. Fueled by tinder dry conditions and a strong southwest wind, the Ekdall Church Fire consumed acre upon acre on its march to the Saint Croix River. At its peak, the Ekdall Church Fire was estimated to have been traveling . . . — Map (db m68642) HM|
|Wisconsin (Burnett County), Grantsburg — Canute Anderson — Father of Burnett County — April 14, 1830 - July 31, 1893|
|Canute Anderson was born Canute Ingverson Eggum in Laerdal, Norway. He arrived in the Grantsburg area in 1854, establishing a stopping place and trading post where the buildings southeast of this marker stand. Opening the first post office in his home, he was appointed Postmaster. He married Catherine Nelson, a Swedish immigrant, and to this union twelve children were born. Establishing the Village of Grantsburg, he built a saw and flour mill, store, and hotel. When Burnett County was . . . — Map (db m68715) HM|
|Wisconsin (Burnett County), Grantsburg — 241 — Crex Meadows|
|During the last Wisconsin glaciation the advance of the Grantsburg sublobe blocked drainage, resulting in the formation of Glacial Lake Grantsburg. Natural succession eventually formed the extensive peat marshes known today as Crex Meadows.
Prior to white settlement in the mid-1800’s, the Fox, Dakota and Chippewa Indians used Crex extensively. Large scale commercial drainage, begun about 1890, upset the entire ecological pattern. The vast operations of the Crex Carpet Company, started in . . . — Map (db m68641) HM|
|Wisconsin (Burnett County), Grantsburg — Governor Knowles State Forest|
|The St. Croix River winds its way through wild and scenic countryside from its origin in a Spruce-Tamarack swamp near Upper St. Croix Lake. The waters of the Namekagon join the St. Croix 45 miles upstream from this sign. The river system varies from swift and rocky whitewater to placid flowages enroute to the dam 36 miles south, at St. Croix Falls.
Historically, the river system was a major highway to native Americans, voyageurs, explorers, missionaries, and loggers. The Santee Sioux and . . . — Map (db m44547) HM|
|Wisconsin (Burnett County), Siren — Burnett County Tornado — Memorial|
|On Monday, June 18, 2001, at 8:20 p.m. an F3 tornado with gale-force winds of over 200 miles per hour blew through southern Burnett County and eastern Washburn County leaving in its wake a path of destruction through the townships of Bashaw, Daniels, Dewey, La Follette, Siren, Wood River and Village of Siren, shattered lives and broken dreams...but more than that a desire to rebuild and began again.
Lives lost: 3 · Number injured: 14 · Total time on ground: 69 minutes · Total distance . . . — Map (db m43504) HM|
|Wisconsin (Calumet County), Brothertown — 425 — The Brothertown Indians of Wisconsin|
|The Brothertown (Brotherton) are descendants of the Pequot and Mohegan (Algonquin-speaking) tribes in southern New England. They became a tribe in 1769 when seven Christian and English-speaking communities organized and moved to land in upstate New York. They cleared the land, planted fields and built houses while under intense pressure to again move west. The Brothertown joined their neighbors, the Oneida and the Stockbridge, and planned a move to Wisconsin. The Brothertown purchased land near . . . — Map (db m31792) HM|
|Wisconsin (Calumet County), New Holstein — Civic Park|
|This wooded site of 4.77 acres was purchased from Rudolph Puchner in 1915 for $2,500.00 by an organization of 12 women called the New Holstein Civic Society. Their purpose was to improve and beautify the city. Through diligent work and numerous fund-raising projects the cost was paid in full in 1921. The property was deeded to the city in 1941 for the benefit and pleasure of the public.
New Holstein Civic Society
1914 - 1989 — Map (db m46940) HM|
|Wisconsin (Calumet County), New Holstein — Gewidmet Unseren Kriegern 1861 - 65. — [Our Dedicated Soldiers 1861 - 65.]|
|B. Kuehl ·
J. Tams ·
J. Muenster ·
H. Banderob ·
L. Loewenhagen ·
H. Bock ·
H. Jensen ·
A. Ramm ·
G. Larsen ·
F. Roehr ·
D. Dammann ·
F. Temke ·
R. Luethge ·
J. Staube ·
J. Schilling ·
G. Bock ·
P. Heldt ·
P. Westphalen ·
D. Fries ·
C. Heidler ·
C. Tedens ·
A. Eichmeier ·
H. Russmann ·
J. Zech ·
E. L. Rietz ·
H. Lindemuth ·
J. Wieting ·
J. D. Schoer ·
H. Abraham ·
P. Schwarz ·
L. Weiler ·
A. Friedrichsen ·
N. Ketelsen ·
G. Jensen . . . — Map (db m47107) HM|
|Wisconsin (Calumet County), New Holstein — H. C. Timm House — 1873|
|Built for Hermann Christian Timm and his wife, Augusta (Muenster) Timm, the house was erected in two sections. A frame, Greek Revival-influenced residence was built for the Timm family in 1873. In 1892, a large stick style house was constructed onto the front of the earlier house. August F. Neuman, a contractor from Kiel, built the new plan and carried out the remodeling of the original home. Herman C. Timm arrived in New Holstein in the summer of 1848, and in 1864 married Augusta Muenster. The . . . — Map (db m31977) HM|
|Wisconsin (Calumet County), New Holstein — 419 — New Holstein|
|"If I cannot be the citizen of free Germany,
then I would at least be a citizen of free America"
--Carl Schurz, German Revolutionary Leader, 1848
In 1848, a small group of immigrants from the Schleswig-Holstein area of Germany arrived here, then a remote wilderness, to found New Holstein. Seeking political freedom and economic opportunity, the group left Germany because of the failing struggle for democracy and opportunity in the new land. In 1847, Calumetville hotel . . . — Map (db m46184) HM|
|Wisconsin (Calumet County), New Holstein — New Holstein Veterans Memorial|
|Here We Honor
The Price of Freedom
Dedicated to the men and women of the New Holstein area who haved served their country in the armed services.
US Flag Pole Donated In Memory Of Elmer E Abrahamson Jr. · Husband, Father, Friend · True Patriot · Man Of History & Law · Man Of God · 12/06/40 To 03/18/07 — Map (db m46953) HM|
|Wisconsin (Calumet County), New Holstein — 525 — St. Martin’s Church|
|In 1853, a group of German Catholics from Silesia, Prussia, emigrated to the Charlestown area. By 1866, the congregation had built a log church where they could assemble for services. They erected the current church in 1875, using limestone from a local quarry. Residents salvaged some of the logs from its predecessor to construct a school. From 1866 to 1899, visiting pastors services the parish.
In 1899, the Salvatorian Fathers of St. Nazianz took charge of the parish, continuing services . . . — Map (db m53326) HM|
|Wisconsin (Calumet County), Stockbridge — 416 — Stockbridge Harbor|
|Around A.D. 1100, there was a large Native American village on the north side of Stockbridge Harbor. The pottery recovered from archaeological excavations at this site indicates that the villagers came from two formerly distinct cultural groups. Perhaps for protection from outsiders, people of the Effigy Mound tradition joined a group of Late Woodland agriculturalists. They surrounded their village with a palisade. By A.D. 1200, both Late Woodland societies were gone from the shores of Lake . . . — Map (db m31799) HM|
|Wisconsin (Chippewa County), Bloomer — 11 — First Congregational United Church of Christ|
|The First Congregational Church was organized in the Public Hall at Vanville (later renamed Bloomer) Chippewa County on November 20, 1868. In 1870, lots 4 and 5 of block 4 of the Town of Bloomer were donated by Mr. Samuel Gilbert of Gilberstville, New York as a site for the church and the 24 X 40 building was constructed by Mr. H.M. Stearns and dedicated on December 7, 1871.
Chippewa County Historical Society
11 — Map (db m55654) HM|
|Wisconsin (Chippewa County), Boyd — 36 — Edson Union Cemetery|
Edson Union Cemetery was dedicated in 1887 by Maria and Edson Chubb, as a memorial to their only child Joseph. Buried here are Civil War veterans, victims of the 1880 diphtheria epidemic, and soldiers of the Spanish and American War.
Edson Chubb (1819-1912) was the founder of the Chippewa County town of Edson. He selected this area as a homestead in 1857 and established a settlement which grew to include a sawmill, school, stores, church and a post office. The community vanished when . . . — Map (db m42597) HM|
|Wisconsin (Chippewa County), Cadott — 33 — Cadott Hub and Spoke Factory|
|In 1880, Captain Ellery Clark of DePere, Wisconsin moved his hub and spoke factory to Cadott. Clark had been a steam boat operator moving logs on the Fox River. He was drawn to the Cadott area because of the high quality and abundant supply of white oak timber. With a capital of $100,000, he established his hub and spoke factory at a site one quarter of a mile south of this museum. At times he employed between 150 - 300 men.
The capacity of his plant rose from 8,000 sets each of hub and . . . — Map (db m48931) HM|
|Wisconsin (Chippewa County), Cadott — 121 — Cadotte Trading Post Site|
|In 1787, Michel Cadotte, famous Madeline Island fur trader, had a trading post nearby on the Yellow River. Here Michel Jr. was born, and another son, Jean Baptiste, is said to be buried on the river's bank. Robert Marriner built a dam at "Cadotte Falls" in 1865 and later named the village Cadott to honor the French-Indian fur traders. — Map (db m31159) HM|
|Wisconsin (Chippewa County), Cadott — Citizen Soldier Monument|
|America Will Never Forget
Sept. 11, 2001 · Cadott, WI
"Whether we bring our enemies to justice, or bring justice to our enemies, justice will be done."
George W. Bush
Sept. 20, 2001
Stairway to Heaven
In Memory of the New York Firefighters
They were on their way to Heaven as they hurried up the stairs,
Not only were they heroes, they were angels unaware.
Just going about their duties as . . . — Map (db m43068) HM|
|Wisconsin (Chippewa County), Cadott — Introduction to the Geology of the Cadott Region|
|The block diagram right depicts in simple format the major geological components of the Cadott region. The time scale [below right] shows that the geologic history at any one place on Earth represents only a miniscule part of the Earth's long and diverse history.
Earth's history has been pieced together by scientists over the last 200 years by studying rocks and landscapes of the continents and ocean basins and the active Earth processes such as sea level changes, volcanism, earthquakes, . . . — Map (db m42006) HM|
|Wisconsin (Chippewa County), Cadott — 73 — The Gravesite of Lansing A. Wilcox|
|Lansing A. Wilcox, last surviving Wisconsin veteran of the Civil War, was born in Kenosha March 3, 1846. In February 1864 he enlisted from Chippewa County in F Company, Fourth Wisconsin Cavalry, returning to the Cadott community in 1866. A farmer, schoolteacher and postmaster, he retired in 1912. On September 29, 1951 Corporal Wilcox died at the age of 105 years, 6 months and 26 days. — Map (db m30758) HM|
|Wisconsin (Chippewa County), Cadott — The Precambrian Rocks|
|From here you can see Precambrian rocks exposed along the river below the dam. Although mostly covered by a dark gray coating of carbon, their fresh pinkish gray colors show where they have been scoured off by floodwaters. We are looking at rocks which were intruded, deformed and re-crystallized [metamorphosed] deep within continental crust between 1850 and 1800 mya. Erosion removed several miles of Precambrian rocks before sands were deposited on them during Cambrian time about 500 million . . . — Map (db m49997) HM|
|Wisconsin (Chippewa County), Cadott — The Yellowstone Trail — 1912–1930|
|The first coast-to-coast auto route across the northern tier of states.
"A Good Road from Plymouth Rock to Puget Sound"
Before 1912 Railroads dominated long distance transportation. Local roads were dust and mud. There was little help from government so owners of the newly arrived autos rose to the challenge.
1912 Small town businessmen from South Dakota formed the Yellowstone Trail Association to "get out of the mud" and to pressure counties to build usable automobile . . . — Map (db m40098) HM|
|Wisconsin (Chippewa County), Cadott — 32 — Western Bohemian-Fraternal Association — Zapadni Ceska-Bratrska Jednota|
|The ZCBJ Lodge Hall which 45 charter members built in 1907 is a tangible symbol of the ethnic heritage – social, fraternal and philosophical ideals of the Czech immigrants settling 7 miles north of Cadott.
SOKOL, a gymnastic organization, performed at the 1933 Chicago World's Fair.
A unique, itinerant artist-painted curtain depicting Karlstein Castle near Prague highlights the stage added in 1922 to serve the active drama-music group.
The . . . — Map (db m47505) HM|
|Wisconsin (Chippewa County), Cadott — Wisconsin Veterans Tribute|
In reverent memory of the men and
women who served their country
in peace and war.
Dedicated May 18, 1991 by
grateful citizens of
Chippewa County Veterans Marker
Army · Navy · Marines · Coast Guard · Air Force
— Map (db m42843) HM|
|Wisconsin (Chippewa County), Chippewa Falls — 44 — Badger State Planing Mill At Lake Hallie — Badger State Lumber Company|
|This site is near the location of the first sawmill called the "Blue Mills" built just north of Lake Hallie, built over a two year period 1842-1843 by Steven McCann and the brothers Simon and George Randall. In 1867 it was sold to T.S. Schoefield. The flood of 1870 destroyed the mill and dam, and the property was sold to H. Clay Williams and John Barron who replaced the mill and dam and were able to saw 40,000 feet per day. They operated under the name of "Badger Mills". Williams sold his share . . . — Map (db m56289) HM|
|Wisconsin (Chippewa County), Chippewa Falls — 49 — Bear Den Road Bridge|
|The Bear Den Road Bridge was an example of a Pratt bridge construction, which was a design used in Wisconsin from 1895-1910. The Milwaukee Bridge and Iron Company fabricated the bridge, and it was moved to this site in 1940. The original site and fabrication date are unknown. The bridge was replaced by the current structure in 2004.
Chippewa County Historical Society
Marker Sign #49 — Map (db m43065) HM|
|Wisconsin (Chippewa County), Chippewa Falls — 15 — Chippewa Springs|
|Millions of years ago the Midwest area of North America was covered by a great inland sea that laid down virgin white Cambrian sandstone. As the sea filled in, most of this sandstone became buried thousands of feet below the surface. The rim however, remained exposed for thousands of years. Little by little, the rim was scraped away by glaciers until a single outcropping remained. This outcropping is the source of the Chippewa Spring ... a hillside pouring forth crystal clear, naturally pure . . . — Map (db m42326) HM|
|Wisconsin (Chippewa County), Chippewa Falls — 14 — Cook-Rutledge Mansion|
|In September of 1873 James Monroe Bingham, a local attorney, State Assemblyman, and future lieutenant governor of the State of Wisconsin, purchased this land which had just been plotted as Block 14 of the Western Addition to the City of Chippewa Falls for $2,500. Bingham immediately began construction of a house completing the original structure in 1874 at a cost of $7,600.
Bingham died in January 1885, but his wife continued to live in the house until August 1887 when the property was . . . — Map (db m42667) HM|
|Wisconsin (Chippewa County), Chippewa Falls — 26 — Edward Rutledge Charity|
|This building was built in 1917 in memory of Edward Rutledge.
Mr. Rutledge was born in northern Ireland on March 6, 1834. As a child he moved with his parents to South Mountain, Ontario, Canada where they farmed. At age 16 Edward and his two brothers, Robert and John, headed for the United States and the Michigan woods to learn the lumberjack trade.
Rutledge came to Wisconsin as a timber cruiser, meaning he went out into the woods and marked the trees to be cut down. He soon became a . . . — Map (db m39426) HM|
|Wisconsin (Chippewa County), Chippewa Falls — 1 — First Presbyterian Church|
|First Presbyterian Church is the oldest Protestant Church in the City of Chippewa Falls.
It was organized in 1855 by Rev. W. W. McNair. The first services were held in a log cabin 12 x 14 feet located on the east bank of Duncan Creek, just above its junction with the Chippewa River.
In 1858, under the direction of Rev. Bradley Phillips, a new church was built on the present site. The land and lumber were donated by Hiram S. Allen.
Due to growth, Rev. Samuel Brown felt a new . . . — Map (db m42611) HM|
|Wisconsin (Chippewa County), Chippewa Falls — 28 — Hiram Stores Allen — September 18, 1806 - March 6, 1886|
|Hiram S. Allen was born in Chelsea, Vermont and came to the Chippewa Valley of Wisconsin in 1834. Here he began a long and flourishing career and an active business life. He built the first grist-mill, the first flour-mill, and the first hotel in Chippewa Falls. In 1846 he operated the Allen and Bass Sawmill on the Chippewa River. He also built keel boats to navigate the Chippewa and Mississippi Rivers.
In 1838, Hiram married Marie De Marie, a daughter of Louis De Marie, one of the . . . — Map (db m42343) HM|
|Wisconsin (Chippewa County), Chippewa Falls — In Memory of All Veterans — Both Living and Dead — These are the Dead|
|Sergeant Charles E. Mower, Company A, 34th Infantry, on November 3, 1944, was an assistant squad leader in an attack against strongly defended enemy positions on both sides of a stream running through a wooded gulch near Capoocan, Leyte, Philippine Islands..
As the squad advanced through concentrated fire, the leader was killed and Sergeant Mower assumed command. In order to bring direct fire upon the enemy, he had started to lead his men across the stream, which by this time was churned . . . — Map (db m41559) HM|
|Wisconsin (Chippewa County), Chippewa Falls — In Memory of Old Abe — 1861 • 1881|
|The soldier bird who was captured in Chippewa County by Chief Sky and taken to Eau Claire by Daniel McCann of Eagle Point. With Company "C" of the Eighth Wisconsin Regiment, he participated in twenty-five battles of the Civil War and was afterwards presented to the State of Wisconsin.
Erected by the Chippewa County Federation of Women's Clubs in the year 1927.
Donated in memory of Juanita E. (McCann) Cutsforth granddaughter of Dan McCann of "Old Abe" fame and her husband Vallie D. Cutsforth. — Map (db m38223) HM|
|Wisconsin (Chippewa County), Chippewa Falls — 48 — Irvine Park Drive Bridge|
|The Irvine Park Drive Bridge was an example of a Pratt bridge construction, which was a design used in Wisconsin from 1895-1910. The Milwaukee Bridge and Iron Company fabricated the bridge in 1907. The structure originally crossed Duncan Creek on Grand Avenue in downtown Chippewa Falls and moved to this location in 1935. The bridge was replaced by the current structure in 2004.
Chippewa County Historical Society
Marker Sign #48 — Map (db m38734) HM|
|Wisconsin (Chippewa County), Chippewa Falls — 222 — Nation's First Cooperative Generating Station|
|On Sunday, May 2, 1937, Wisconsin Power Cooperative was organized by an assembly of farmers for the purpose of developing a generating and transmission facility to provide low-cost electric service for the rural areas of Buffalo, Chippewa, Clark, Dunn, Pierce, St. Croix, Taylor, and Trempealeau counties.
Loans from the Rural Electrification Administration financed construction of the original station and transmission lines. Ground was broken on November 8, 1937, and on March 12, 1938, the . . . — Map (db m13798) HM|
|Wisconsin (Chippewa County), Chippewa Falls — 330 — Northern Wisconsin Center for the Developmentally Disabled|
|Before the 19th-century social reform movement, developmentally disabled people were relegated to almshouses and county poor farms where the “indigent, insane, epileptic and “idiotic” were housed together without regard to individual condition. Reformists advocated more humane treatment of the socially-dependent and by the mid-19th century had demonstrated the educability of the “mentally deficient” and opened homes for their care and training. In 1895, Wisconsin . . . — Map (db m13297) HM|
|Wisconsin (Chippewa County), Chippewa Falls — 427 — Northern Wisconsin State Fair|
|Primarily rural in the 19th century, Wisconsin promoted the state fair to advance better state farming practices. Since 1851 to the present, this fair has been held in southern Wisconsin. Recognizing the impracticality of entering or attending the Southern Wisconsin State Fair, Chippewa Falls area citizens drafted a charter to create the Northern Wisconsin State Fair. Enacted in 1897 by the State of Wisconsin, the fair was to "improve agriculture, horticulture and mechanical and household . . . — Map (db m13318) HM|
|Wisconsin (Chippewa County), Chippewa Falls — 2 — Notre Dame Church|
|Notre Dame was Chippewa County’s first church, the Mother church of all area Catholic Churches. Originally called St. Mary’s (“Our Lady of the Pines”) was a 16' x 18' foot log structure erected in 1856. A carpenter’s bench served as the first altar. The church served a small parish of Indians, half-breeds, Irish, French, Scots, Poles, and Germans.
On May 27, 1869 Father Charles F.X. Goldsmith came to Chippewa Falls. He immediately began to work for the erection of a new . . . — Map (db m39975) HM|
|Wisconsin (Chippewa County), Chippewa Falls — Old McDonell High School|
has been placed on the
of Historic Places
by the United States
Department of the Interior — Map (db m41964) HM|
|Wisconsin (Chippewa County), Chippewa Falls — 37 — Oldest Commercial Building in Chippewa Falls|
|The building to your right is the oldest commercial building in Chippewa Falls. It was built (Circa 1859) by Peter Morie (Morey) and was used originally as a Saloon and Boarding House for lumberjacks and others. In 1861 at the start of the Civil War, the young men who enlisted for service in the war did so in the basement of this building. At the time, it had an open stairway to the basement where the covered porch is now located.
Local historian, Thomas McBean, reported that "Old Abe," . . . — Map (db m55299) HM|
|Wisconsin (Chippewa County), Chippewa Falls — 24 — Pioneer Norwegian Log Home|
|This log house, constructed of hand-hewn White Pine logs, was built by Norwegian immigrant Ole Pederson Bjerke about 1881. Ole and his wife Mari had three sons: Gus, John, and Charles.
Around 1880, Ole had applied for a Homestead in the Chippewa County township of Colburn, nine miles east of Cornell. The log home was built at that site and lived in by Ole and Mari until their deaths in 1905 and 1908. Their descendants occupied it until 1953.
In February of 1979 the Clement Bayerl . . . — Map (db m43658) HM|
|Wisconsin (Chippewa County), Chippewa Falls — 29 — Reverend Charles F.X. Goldsmith — December 22, 1845 - November 24, 1890|
|Charles was born in Rochester, New York. At the early age of thirteen he entered the provincial seminary of St. Francis near Milwaukee. He graduated in 1864 and then entered the American College at Louvain, Belgium. There he earned two divinity degrees and was ordained a priest on July 25, 1868. After returning to the United States, he spent the winter as assistant to St. Mary's in Milwaukee.
The "Boy Priest" as he was called, arrived in Chippewa Falls on May 25, 1869 and two days later . . . — Map (db m39937) HM|
|Wisconsin (Chippewa County), Chippewa Falls — Ronald P. Anders — 1943 to 1973|
|He gave his life to the Jaycees and to his community, in the belief that service to humanity is the best work of life. We shall not forget...
Ronald P. Anders Memorial Pure Water Fountain was constructed by the Chippewa Falls Jaycees and Jaycettes from 1973-1976 and the 397th Engineer Battalion of the U.S. Army Reserve.
The Purest Water in the world is found in Chippewa Falls and the creation of this fountain was originally begun by the local Jaycees chapter to . . . — Map (db m41525) HM|
|Wisconsin (Chippewa County), Chippewa Falls — 43 — Site of the Chippewa Sugar Beet Factory|
|In 1904 on this 25 acre site between the Chippewa River and the Soo Line Railroad tracks, sugar processing became a new industry in the Chippewa Valley. The Chippewa Sugar Company was incorporated and a huge six-story sugar beet factory was constructed at a cost of $700,000. Sugar beets were advertised as a crop especially adapted to growing conditions in Northern Wisconsin and naturally goes hand in hand with dairy farming.
Local farmers experiment growing sugar beets by planting rows. . . . — Map (db m42693) HM|
|Wisconsin (Chippewa County), Chippewa Falls — 38 — Site of the Hiram S. Allen Home|
|This Columbia Street site was the location of the ornate pioneer mansion built by Hiram Stores Allen. Called the founder of Chippewa Falls, Hiram built the first grist-mill, the first flour-mill, and the first hotel in Chippewa Falls. He operated the Allen & Bass Sawmill on the Chippewa River and also built keel boats to navigate the Chippewa and Mississippi Rivers.
In 1838 Hiram married Marie De Marie, a beautiful young Indian maiden of the Chippewa Tribe. She was the daughter of Louis De . . . — Map (db m38891) HM|
|Wisconsin (Chippewa County), Chippewa Falls — 16 — Site of the Mason Shoe Factory|
|Chippewa Falls was born with the logging era and with it came support industries such as shoe factories. One of the most important tools for the loggers was strong boots. In 1869, Colliche Vinette was the first shoemaker to come to town. The area soon began to draw many boot makers and by 1893 at least 25 were located in Chippewa Falls.
By 1902 as the vast stands of white timber were becoming depleted, several local businessmen including J.B. Kehl became concerned about the business . . . — Map (db m38822) HM|
|Wisconsin (Chippewa County), Chippewa Falls — 51 — Sokup's Market|
|Joseph Sokup opened Sokup’s Market in Downtown Chippewa Falls around 1891 on the northwest corner of Bay and Willow Streets. He built the current grocery store at 624 N. Bridge Street in 1894. The market is one of the oldest family owned businesses in the city and is one of the few remaining small grocery stores in the Chippewa Valley.
Joseph’s son Peter, was born in the residence located above the grocery. As a boy he hitched up horses to the wagon, drove to area homes to pick up their . . . — Map (db m55380) HM|
|Wisconsin (Chippewa County), Chippewa Falls — 39 — Sunny Valley School|
|Sunny Valley School, originally called Goethel School was built in 1903 approximately eight miles west of Chippewa Falls on State Highway 29 where it crosses County Highway T. The one room schoolhouse served the north half of School District No. 5, Southwestern Township of Wheaton. It was heated with cord wood and slabs in a box stove and lighted with four kerosene wall bracket lamps.
The first classes began in January of 1904 with Louise Small as the teacher. The standard pay at the time . . . — Map (db m43255) HM|
|Wisconsin (Chippewa County), Chippewa Falls — 22 — The Chippewa Valley Electric Railway Co.|
|This waiting shelter at the northern most point of service is the only physical structure remaining of what was once the 12½ mile long Eau Claire/Chippewa Falls interurban electric streetcar line.
In 1897, Boston financier Arthur Appleyard arrived in the Chippewa Valley and purchased the Eau Claire Street Railway Company. Wishing to expand the Eau Claire system which had been operating since 1879 (updated to electric streetcars in 1889), he convinced the owners of the Chippewa Falls . . . — Map (db m39822) HM|
|Wisconsin (Chippewa County), Chippewa Falls — 10 — The Federal Building & Early Mail Service|
|This Federal Post Office Building was built in 1910 at a cost of $90,000. The property was purchased from the Thornton estate for $10,000. The Neo-Classical design style was often used by governmental architects of the Treasury Department during the period of 1895 and 1930.
Regular mail service and the first post office was established at Chippewa Falls in 1851. Hiram S. Allen received a commission as the first postmaster and received what little mail there was at the Company Store. Since . . . — Map (db m39009) HM|
|Wisconsin (Chippewa County), Chippewa Falls — 21 — The Jacob Leinenkugel Brewing Company|
|Chippewa Fall's oldest industry. In 1867, Jacob Leinenkugel, the son of a Bavarian brewmaster, came to Northern Wisconsin searching for a promising location to build a brewery. He settled on this spot purchasing the land from lumberman Hiram S. Allen. Forming a partnership with John Miller, they founded what was then called the Spring Brewery.
Here is where Jacob Leinenkugel found the essentials for brewing truly exceptional beers; pure spring water from the Big Eddy Springs and access to . . . — Map (db m42360) HM|
|Wisconsin (Chippewa County), Chippewa Falls — 9 — The Marsh Rainbow Arch Bridge|
|The City of Chippewa Falls was organized around two moving bodies of water, the Chippewa River and its tributary Duncan Creek. Bridges soon became necessary with rapid expansion of the transportation system in the late 19th and early 20th century. By 1891, within the city limits, seven bridges crossed Duncan Creek and one crossed the Chippewa River.
This architecturally significant "Rainbow Arch Bridge" is a classic example of the small reinforced concrete . . . — Map (db m38806) HM|
|Wisconsin (Chippewa County), Chippewa Falls — 27 — The Norway House & the Birthplace of Alexander Wiley|
|Built in 1871 by Alexander Wiley Sr. and Nels Elikson, the rooming house over the years was home for hundreds of immigrants, lumber jacks, mill workers, farm hands and log drivers (known as river pigs). In 1887 Wiley Sr. became the sole owner and operated it until 1895 when he sold it to Erick and Johanna Myrman. The Myrmans operated the Norway House until 1915 after which it was rented to various other operators until 1939 when the building was razed.
In its heyday, room and board was $4 . . . — Map (db m42697) HM|
|Wisconsin (Chippewa County), Chippewa Falls — 45 — The Yellowstone Trail|
|Before there were numbered highways in the United States there were names attached to roads to help motorists navigate from town to town or from county to county. In 1912 no one thought in terms of an inter-state highway. However, a small band of men including J.W. Parmley of Ipswitch, South Dakota, envisioned a road from Plymouth Rock, Massachusetts to Puget Sound, Washington and called it the Yellowstone trail. They wanted good roads to travel on and formed the Yellowstone Trail Association . . . — Map (db m42158) HM|
|Wisconsin (Chippewa County), Chippewa Falls — 5 — Trinity United Methodist Church|
As early as 1846, Methodists were meeting in Chippewa Falls, with Thomas Randall preaching to his neighbors in a boarding house owned by the Chippewa Lumber and Boom Company. On March 10, 1860, Reverend Thomas Harwood, the first assigned minister, organized the Chippewa City Circuit which included Chippewa City, Bloomer Prairie, Green Prairie, Wolf Prairie, and Chippewa Falls. It became the West Wisconsin Conference and at the close of the first year there were 33 members.
In 1864, when . . . — Map (db m42615) HM|
|Wisconsin (Chippewa County), Chippewa Falls — 23 — William Irvine — October 28, 1851 – December 26, 1927|
|William Irvine was born in Mount Carroll, Illinois of Scotch-Irish ancestry. He came to the Chippewa Valley when he was 14 years old to work for his brother-in-law, who was captain of a raft boat towing lumber from Chippewa Falls to Mississippi River points. He worked as a watchman, clerk, scaler and lumber salesman until 1885 when he became manager of Frederick Weyerhaeuser's Chippewa Lumber & Boom Company. In its time it was the largest sawmill under one roof in the world.
William Irvine . . . — Map (db m38788) HM|
|Wisconsin (Chippewa County), Cobban — 278 — The Cobban Bridge|
|The Cobban Bridge, constructed in 1908 by the Modern Steel Structural Company of Waukesha, is a two-span Pennsylvania overhead truss type bridge and is the oldest of its kind in Wisconsin. Originally it crossed the Chippewa River just upstream from its junction with the Yellow River. The bridge was dismantled during the construction of the Wissota Dam in 1916, and through the efforts of Oscar Anderson, a Cobban store owner, the bridge was acquired to be placed on land donated by S.C.F. Cobban. . . . — Map (db m12761) HM|
|Wisconsin (Chippewa County), Cornell — 429 — Cornell Pulpwood Stacker|
|In 1912, after a permanent dam was built across the Chippewa River near this location, the Cornell Wood Products Company, a large paper milling operation, began production here. The company manufactured paper products, cardboard and wallboard. The original complex consisted of a log pond, slasher building, stacker, stacker pit building, sluice locker/tool building, office and garage. Although the operations ceased here in 1972, the 175 foot tall Cornell Pulpwood Stacker remains as an impressive . . . — Map (db m45015) HM|
|Wisconsin (Chippewa County), Cornell — Cornell Women's Club Tablet|
|This tablet was erected in 1931
by The Women's Club of
and serves a twofold purpose.
On the hillside below, unmarked and obliterated, are many Indian graves of days long past. At a later period this plot became the burial ground of pioneers of white or mixed blood.
Below this cemetery near the river bank can be traced the foundation stones of the old Brunet home. Jean Brunet, the most interesting historical character in the Chippewa Valley, was . . . — Map (db m46047) HM|
|Wisconsin (Chippewa County), Cornell — 42 — Ezra Cornell|
|Ezra Cornell was the man who founded the City of Cornell, Wisconsin, but actually never lived here. Cornell was born in 1807 in New York State of Quaker parents. He was a farmer, inventor, businessman, statesman, and a philanthropist. He became a line building contractor and invested his earnings in the Western Union telegraph system, which he helped organize.
Ezra Cornell was the founder and benefactor of Cornell University located in Ithica, New York. While looking for lands . . . — Map (db m46026) HM|
|Wisconsin (Chippewa County), Cornell — 41 — Jean Brunet|
|Jean Brunet is one of the most noteworthy pioneers of the Chippewa Valley. Born in France in 1791, Brunet immigrated to this country in 1818 and moved to Chippewa Falls in 1828. He built the first dams on the Chippewa River at Chippewa Falls and Brunet Falls which is now the City of Cornell. He was our first Judge and member of the legislature for Chippewa County when it met at what is called Burlington, Iowa. Brunet piloted the first raft of lumber from the Falls to Prairie du Chien . . . — Map (db m46018) HM|
|Wisconsin (Chippewa County), Cornell — 40 — Pulpwood Stacker|
|The Cornell Pulpwood Stacker is believed to be the last of its kind in the world and is listed in the State and National Register of Public Places. Designed and constructed in 1911-12 by the Joors Manufacturing Co., of England for the Cornell Wood Products Co., the Stacker represented a change in the storage and handling of pulpwood. The mechanical conveyor was used to stack the wood after the logs were slashed into smaller pieces. The wood was later floated down a sluice to the grinder . . . — Map (db m46068) HM|
|Wisconsin (Chippewa County), Drywood — 31 — Bohemian National Cemetery|
|This cemetery with original records written in Czech dated October 22, 1905, nestles in the heart of the Bohemian farm settlement ¼ mile north of their Fraternal Hall on Highway 27.
The 33 families who cleared the land and plotted it into 10' x 20' lots drew numbers to determine their burial plots. A double-paged ledger documents each grave site with many pioneer names continuing.
Commemorative services are held each year to honor and preserve the unique and precious Czech heritage as . . . — Map (db m45268) HM|
|Wisconsin (Chippewa County), Eagleton — 8 — Stanley's Mill|
|This is the former site of a dam, a grindstone and an electrical power plant, locally known as "Stanley's Mill." It was also used as a log sluiceway and popular recreation area. First used on December 26, 1877, the electrical plant furnished power for the city of Bloomer.
The entire site was destroyed by a major flood of the O'Neil Creek on April 3, 1934.
Chippewa County Historical Society
Marker Sign #8 — Map (db m48998) HM|
|Wisconsin (Chippewa County), Holcombe — 4 — Holcombe Logging Disaster|
|On July 7, 1905, sixteen loggers of the Chippewa Lumber and Boom Company attempted to break a log jam on the Chippewa River at Holcombe below Little Falls dam, one of the largest wooden dams in the world. The batteau boat they were riding in reached the log jam but got beyond the mens control in the wild current of the rapids. At 10:30 in the morning the boat capsized.
The following eleven men drowned:
Oscar Barquest - Cadott •
Max Billard - Drywood •
Saul Brackett - Eau Claire • . . . — Map (db m45434) HM|
|Wisconsin (Chippewa County), Holcombe — 3 — The Holcombe Indian|
|The Holcombe Indian was known to river men along the Chippewa since 1876. Called the King of the Chippewa River, he stood guard on the old Holcombe (Little Falls) Dam and was a most welcome site to lumberjacks driving their logs down the river to be sawed into lumber at the local mill, or held and sluiced through the log-way in the dam to be cut at the big mills at Chippewa Falls or Eau Claire.
The Indian brave was created by Luke Lyons using an axe, drawshave and a pocket knife. Lyons, a . . . — Map (db m45431) HM|
|Wisconsin (Chippewa County), Jim Falls — Old Abe the War Eagle|
|In the Spring of 1861 a band of hungry Chippewa Indians came to the McCann farm just across the river from here and traded a young eagle for corn. The eagle became a family pet. When Company C, 8th Wisconsin was organized at Eau Claire for Civil War duty, the crippled Dan McCann offered his eagle's services as a mascot saying "someone from the family ought to go." On October 12, 1861 the eagle regiment headed for battle. In action Old Abe spread his wings and screamed encouragement to his men. . . . — Map (db m49313) HM|
|Wisconsin (Chippewa County), Jim Falls — 14 — Old Abe, the War Eagle|
|This wayside is part of the old McCann farm, childhood home of Old Abe, the War Eagle. In the Spring of 1861 a band of hungry Chippewa came to the McCann farm and traded a young eagle for corn. The eagle became a family pet. When Company C, Eighth Wisconsin was organized at Eau Claire for Civil War duty, the crippled Dan McCann offered his eagle’s services as mascot, feeling that “someone from the family ought to go.” On October 12, 1861, the Eagle Regiment started for the front. In . . . — Map (db m13984) HM|
|Wisconsin (Chippewa County), Lake Hallie — G. A. R. Monument|
G. A. R.
In Memory of
From '61 to '65
Erected by the
W. R. C. No. 113. — Map (db m62219) WM|
|Wisconsin (Chippewa County), New Auburn — 6 — Cartwright Mill|
|The present Village of New Auburn approximates the site of Cartwright Mill, founded in 1875 by David J. and Paul W. Cartwright. To the original sawmill, powered by steam, they added a lath, shingle, and planing mill. Some buildings were of brick manufactured in the local brickyard. The second of these buildings was constructed by C.M. Tarr and still stands. Cartwright had five stores, a post office, the Omaha Railroad and a population of 336. When incorporated in 1902, the name was changed from Cartwright to Auburn and later to New Auburn. — Map (db m45182) HM|
|Wisconsin (Chippewa County), Stanley — D.R. Moon Memorial Library|
This property has been
placed on the
of Historic Places
by the United States
Department of the Interior — Map (db m42274) HM|
|Wisconsin (Chippewa County), Stanley — M-1900 Seacoast Ordnance|
|A 1928 act of Congress made obsolete World War I weapons available to municipalities and veteran's organizations for commemorative purposes. The Stanley American Legion Post requested this 5-inch bore artillery piece and it was dedicated on Memorial Day in 1931. This gun was originally used in a coastline defensive fortification.
Wisconsin Historical Society
Victory Post No. 112 American Legion Post
World War I
Sea Coast . . . — Map (db m42131) HM|
|Wisconsin (Chippewa County), Stanley — 12 — The Yellowstone Trail|
|Before there were numbered highways in the United States there were names attached to roads to help motorists navigate from town to town or from county to county. In 1912 no one thought in terms of an inter-state highway. However, a small band of men including J.W. Parmley of Ipswitch, South Dakota, envisioned a road from Plymouth Rock, Massachusetts to Puget Sound, Washington and called it the Yellowstone trail. They wanted good roads to travel on and formed the Yellowstone Trail Association . . . — Map (db m42144) HM|
|Wisconsin (Chippewa County), Stanley — Veteran's Memorial|
|"May Their Sacrifice
Never Be Forgotten"
Victory Post 112
Dedicated on Memorial Day
May 31, 2010 — Map (db m46474) HM|
|Wisconsin (Chippewa County), Tilden — 17 — First Farm in Chippewa County — (Located directly southwest of this Tilden Fire Station)|
|In 1847, a German by the name of George Myers arrived in Chippewa Falls looking for a tract of land for farming purposes. Prior to that time no one had attempted to cultivate any larger spot of ground than a garden patch. He chose this tract of land about six miles northwest of the "Falls" in what was then the town of Eagle Point and since becoming a part of the town of Tilden in 1883. The mercantile firm of Allen and Bass transported for him by boat, his farming implements and other . . . — Map (db m55590) HM|
|Wisconsin (Chippewa County), Tilden — 30 — Saint Peter's Catholic Church|
|In the early 1850's, settlers from Rhine, Bavaria, Bohemia, and Luxembourg came to this part of Wisconsin now known as Tilden Township. They vowed to build a church in honor of the "Blessed Virgin Mother of God" giving thanks for their safe voyage to the new country.
The first priest to the settlers in Tilden was Father Migneault in 1857. The next year he was succeeded by Father Smedding, who organized St. Peter's congregation. In 1860 he laid the foundation for a new church building.
. . . — Map (db m55397) HM|
|Wisconsin (Clark County), Colby — 161 — The Home of Colby Cheese|
|At his father's cheese factory about one mile south and one mile west of here, Joseph F. Steinwand in 1885 developed a new and unique type of cheese. He named it for the township in which his father, Ambrose Steinwand, Sr., had built northern Clark County's first cheese factory three years before. The town had taken its name from Gardner Colby, whose company built the Wisconsin Central railroad through here.
Colby is a mild, soft, moist cheese. Its taste became known in the neighboring . . . — Map (db m9189) HM|
|Wisconsin (Clark County), Curtiss — History of The Big White Pine|
|This tree was a landmark near the Iron-Ashland Co. line northeast of Glidden, Wis. The first section of 20 ft. is in Glidden. Les got the next cut of 12 ft.
The tree measured 6 ft. on the stump. The tree was 144 ft. high. The first limb was 65 ft. up. The age of the tree is over 400 years.
This tree was located in the area where the Les Bowen family and friends have hunted since 1939.
Dec. of 1985 — Map (db m22327) HM|
|Wisconsin (Clark County), Curtiss — The Yellowstone Trail — 1912–1930|
|The first coast-to-coast auto route across the northern tier of states.
"A Good Road from Plymouth Rock to Puget Sound"
Before 1912 Railroads dominated long distance transportation. Local roads were dust and mud. There was little help from government so owners of the newly arrived autos rose to the challenge.
1912 Small town businessmen from South Dakota formed the Yellowstone Trail Association to "get out of the mud" and to pressure counties to build usable automobile . . . — Map (db m43262) HM|
|Wisconsin (Clark County), Curtiss — Veterans Memorial|
This memorial is solemnly
dedicated to our living war
veterans and to those who
made the supreme sacrifice. — Map (db m50289) HM|
|Wisconsin (Clark County), Dorchester — Dorchester Veterans Memorial|
all men and women
who fought to gain
and maintain our
great American freedom.
American Legion Auxiliary
— Map (db m47677) HM|
|Wisconsin (Clark County), Dorchester — S.S. Dorchester Memorial|
Length overall · 368'
Beam · 52'
Draft · 19'
Gross tons · 5,649
Speed (knots) · 12
Radius (miles) · 5,500
Propulsion · Recip. eng.
Passengers · 788
Cargo (cu. ft.) · 187,250
Jan. 24, 1942 Became U.S. Warship USAT
Jan. 22, 1943 Departed N.Y. to Greenland (6th trip)
Feb. 3, 1943 Torpedoed in the North Atlantic (by U-223)
Lat. 59° 23' N Long. 48° 42' W
[number On Board, Saved, Lost] . . . — Map (db m29648) HM|
|Wisconsin (Clark County), Greenwood — 23 — Mormon Settlements|
|The Mormons, Clark County's first loggers, came in 1844 and established camps between Wedge's Creek and Greenwood to cut timber for their Illinois city of Nauvoo. After the murder of their leader Joseph Smith at Carthage, Illinois in mid-1844, the Mormons soon left. The sole legacy of their Clark County settlements is Cunningham Creek, named for Jonathan Cunningham who drowned in it while running logs. — Map (db m21953) HM|
|Wisconsin (Clark County), Loyal — Castner–Mack Cemetery — Est. 1855|
1st Cemetery in the Loyal Township
Child of Daniel & Mary Mack 1858
Daniel Mack 1866
13th child of Erastus & Maria Mack 1860
Mary Benedict Mack 1874
Frank Castner 1877
Infant child of John & Lydia Castner 1880
Twin infants of John & Lydia Castner 1880
Mr. King 1880
An Indian Baby — Map (db m21947) HM|
|Wisconsin (Clark County), Loyal — Loyal Veterans Memorial|
|All Gave Some
Some Gave All
This memorial is dedicated to our Loyal area veterans of the past and present for their bravery, service, and sacrifice in times of peace and war while protecting the principles of our United States of America.
August 2003 — Map (db m49534) HM|
|Wisconsin (Clark County), Loyal — Samuel Hartford — Soldier of 1812 — 1798 – 1884|
|When a lad of 14 he went as a substitute for his brother in law that his sister and her 7 little ones might not be deprived of a husband and father’s care.
Served as Private in N. Y. Militia.
Was in Battle of Niagara.
Honorably discharged Sept. 30, 1818. — Map (db m9691) HM|
|Wisconsin (Clark County), Neillsville — 1897 Clark County Jail|
The Clark County Historical Society
1897 Jail Museum
has been placed on the
of Historic Places
by the United States
Department of the Interior
December 8, 1978
Wisconsin Historical Marker
This property is listed in the
State Register of
The State Historical Society of Wisconsin
has been recognized as a . . . — Map (db m41452) HM|
|Wisconsin (Clark County), Neillsville — 1919 Case Steam Engine|
|Originally used for threshing grain in the area by William Neville, this steam engine was owned by Martin "Max" Feuerstein from the 1930s through the 1960s to power a sawmill along 18th Street on Neillsville's northside. This sawmill produced lumber used by the B & F (Bruhn and Feuerstein) Machine Shop for framing truck bodies used for hauling milk cans, as well as lumber for other local uses. Since 1969 this steam engine has been on display as a memorial to the life and times of threshers and . . . — Map (db m41389) HM|
|Wisconsin (Clark County), Neillsville — 42 — Clark County Moraines|
|Most of the topographical features to be seen here can probably be attributed to deposits or moraines left when the glacier receded. The castellated hills or mounds northwest of Neillsville are of greater geological significance and interest, however. These are believed to be nunataks -- hills which projected through the ice sheet so that their tops were left untouched by the glacier. — Map (db m9851) HM|
|Wisconsin (Clark County), Neillsville — Fragments — Wisconsin Vietnam Veterans Memorial|
|Honoring the men and women from Wisconsin who served in Vietnam.
We left pieces of ourselves in Vietnam. We brought parts of Vietnam home.
Each fragmented figure supports the others. A close inspection of the figure with the helmet reveals the long hair of a woman – the first depicted on a U.S. veterans memorial. Her poncho supports 1244 rods engraved with the names of those who didn't return.
Their chimes hang among the rod clusters allowing them to speak to us.
The rifle . . . — Map (db m25146) HM|
|Wisconsin (Clark County), Neillsville — Kilroy Was Here|
|During World War II this was a symbol for the American serviceman. Any place in the world where one of them went he would see it. It was found in restrooms, on trucks, tanks, ships, bombed out walls, and almost any place it could be painted, penned, scratched, or chalked. Even during an invasion or battle, someone would leave this symbol where those following would see it. It was a symbol of courage, pride, encouragement, and very definitely a morale booster. That is why it was selected to . . . — Map (db m18637) HM|
|Wisconsin (Clark County), Neillsville — 41 — Major General Clarence L. Sturdevant — 1885 – 1958|
|General Sturdevant, chief architect and father of the Alcan Highway, was born in Neillsville and married Beth Youmans of this city. During forty years of devoted service General Sturdevant was awarded the Distinguished Service Cross, the Bronze Star, and for his Alcan Highway feat, the Legion of Merit. Sturdevant was characterized by General Douglas MacArthur as "great soldier, great engineer, great American." — Map (db m30863) HM|
|Wisconsin (Clark County), Neillsville — National Native American Vietnam Veterans Memorial — "The Forgotten Warrior"|
|This memorial statue was envisioned to serve as a touchstone where the quiet tears of unresolved grief from mothers, fathers, brothers, sisters, relatives and friends could be shed in an honorific setting and be strengthened by the groundswell of pride that their departed loved ones stand in an elite company of Native American warriors who fought in America's longest and costliest undeclared war. "The Forgotten Warrior" stands forth symbolically to uphold an memorialize the honor of those . . . — Map (db m29599) HM|
|Wisconsin (Clark County), Neillsville — Neillsville Civil War Memorial|
1861–1865 — Map (db m38763) HM|
|Wisconsin (Clark County), Neillsville — Neillsville Post Office|
has been placed on the
of Historic Places
by the United States
Department of the Interior
Henry Morgenthau Jr
Secretary of the Treasury
James A Farley
Post Master General
Louis A Simon
Neal A Melick
1937 — Map (db m47630) HM|
|Wisconsin (Clark County), Stanley — The Worden Church of the Brethren|
|Site of The Worden Church
of the Brethren
Erected in 1904
Destroyed by tornado in 1958
Dedicated Sept. 28, 1975
by members and friends — Map (db m22324) HM|
|Wisconsin (Clark County), Thorp — Liberty Tree Memorial|
|Planted in honor of those who lost
their lives in the tragic events on
September 11, 2001
The American Liberty elm was named after "The Liberty Tree": Our Country's first Symbol of Freedom. On the morning of August 14, 1765, the people of Boston awakened to discover two effigies suspended from an elm tree in protest of the hated Stamp Act. From that day forward, that elm became known as the "Liberty Tree". For the next ten years, it stood in silent witness to countless meetings, . . . — Map (db m47912) HM|
|Wisconsin (Clark County), Thorp — 537 — St. Hedwig's / Poznan Colony|
In 1891, a wooden church was built and named St. Hedwig's for a queen of Poland. In 1904, the present-day structure was built and accommodated the growing congregation with seating for 700 people. Members of the congregation furnished labor and contributed artistic talent. Some families took out second mortgages on their farms to help pay for the cost of the new building.
As the lumber industry waned in the late 1880s, Polish land agents hoped to . . . — Map (db m48771) HM|
|Wisconsin (Columbia County), Baraboo — St. Mary's of the Pines|
| Built by B.I. Durward & Neighbors 1866 Damaged by fire 1923 Restored by Madison Council Knights of Columbus 1929 — Map (db m41612) HM|
|Wisconsin (Columbia County), Cambria — David J. Jones|
|This memorial is dedicated to the life of David J. Jones Born in Cambria, WI, June 20, 1880. Davy grew up in Cambria playing baseball with well known local players such as the Dodge Brothers, Willard and Ben. Davy was an aggressive leadoff hitter, known for his quickness. His major league career spanned from 1901 to 1915. On Sept. 15, 1901 he made his major league debut with the Milwaukee Brewers of the newly formed American League. Davy also played for the St. Louis Browns, Chicago Cubs, . . . — Map (db m66065) HM|
|Wisconsin (Columbia County), Cambria — Historical Site|
|On this site in 1844, John Langdon & his four sons erected a sawmill, a dam & gristmill. Other early settlers by the names of McConochie, Dodge, Torbert, & Williams joined in construction. The original place name of Langdon's Mill, later became Florence, Belleville and finally Cambria. The name Cambria is derived from the Welsh word Cymrie (meaning Wales) in honor of early settlement of the area by Welsh immigrants. The first group of Welsh people to come to this area left Liverpool, England . . . — Map (db m66352) HM|
|Wisconsin (Columbia County), Columbus — Columbus City Hall|
|This 1892 Richardsonian Romanesque building was designed by T.D. Allen of Minneapolis using local materials. It originally housed the Library, Kindergarten and Fire Station in addition to the City Offices, Police Departments and Auditorium. The Annex was added in 1998. — Map (db m67231) HM|
|Wisconsin (Columbia County), Columbus — Columbus Public Library|
|The Prairie Style Library was designed by Louis W. Claude (former associate of Louis Sullivan) and Edward F. Starck of Madison, Wisconsin, and built with funding from Andrew Carnegie and the Columbus Women's Club. The library was dedicated November 1, 1912. In 1990, it was placed on the National Register of Historic Places and became handicapped accessible with a new entrance. — Map (db m28344) HM|
|Wisconsin (Columbia County), Columbus — Farmers & Merchants Union Bank — Established 1861|
|In 1919, Bank President J. Russell Wheeler and his wife, Anna May Wheeler, retained Architect Louis Sullivan. Known as the father of the skyscraper, Sullivan was to design a building that would give the bank an image of financial security, civic monumentality, and community activity. This building is the result of that endeavor. Sullivan referred to it as his “Jewel Box”. It was the last of eight mid-western banks that he designed and it was his last building commission. — Map (db m67230) HM|
|Wisconsin (Columbia County), Columbus — 324 — Governor James Taylor Lewis / Governor Lewis: Civil War Era|
Governor James Taylor Lewis · 1819 – 1904
Governor James T. Lewis, the ninth Governor of Wisconsin (1864-66), led the state through the tumultuous conclusion of the Civil War. He was born in New Your State and in 1845 settled in Columbus where he practiced law. In 1854-56 he built this house in the Italianate style of architecture. Lewis began his political career as a Democrat, serving in the Assembly, state Senate and as lieutenant governor. He joined the new Republican party . . . — Map (db m22918) HM|
|Wisconsin (Columbia County), Columbus — Grand Army of the Republic Memorial|
H. M. Brown Post No. 146.
G. A. R.
In memory of our comrades
formerly residents of
Columbus, Otsego, Hampden,
York, Elba & Calamus,
who now fill unknown graves.
1861—1865 — Map (db m28289) HM|
|Wisconsin (Columbia County), Columbus — World War II Memorial|
|The citizens of the
Township of Elba
purchased this land
in 1947 as a memorial
to the men and women
who served their country
in World War II.
1995 — Map (db m65642) WM|
|Wisconsin (Columbia County), Friesland — Inglehart Church|
|A congregation of German settlers had been worshipping in a log cabin about 200 feet north of this sign, on property homesteaded by James Inglehart in 1846.
In 1867 the congregation decided to build a church.
James Inglehart offered this site as a gift, but the congregation insisted on a legal land purchase. They offered Inglehart $25 but he would only accept $10. The land deed is dated April 6, 1867.
Inglehart hauled lumber and stone for the church, for which he charged nothing, . . . — Map (db m74235) HM|
|Wisconsin (Columbia County), Lodi — Historic Tree|
|The Palmer Tree, a stately burr oak was a mere acorn in front of the Palmer Family log cabin, when Lodi was settled in 1848. Its testimony to a peaceful community continues, as it stands proudly to welcome all who enter the Lodi Valley Historical Society Dedicated on Arbor Day - April 26, 1997 Lodi, Wisconsin USA — Map (db m33882) HM|
|Wisconsin (Columbia County), Merrimac — 187 — The Merrimac Ferry|
|Merrimac’s first permanent settler, Chester Mattson, obtained a territorial charter in 1848 to provide ferry service across the Wisconsin River. The State Legislature of 1851 authorized a road, subsequently to become State Trunk Highway 113, to connect settlements at Madison and Baraboo via Matt’s Ferry. Today, the Merrimac Ferry is the lone survivor of upwards of 500 ferries chartered by territorial and state legislatures before the turn of the century.
The fee charged by early ferrymen . . . — Map (db m1932) HM|
|Wisconsin (Columbia County), Pardeeville — Angie Williams Cox Public Library|
Angie Williams Cox
is listed in the
State Register of
Historic Places — Map (db m22869) HM|
|Wisconsin (Columbia County), Pardeeville — 423 — Historic Pardeeville / Belmont Hotel|
In 1848, New York native and Milwaukee merchant, John S. Pardee hired agents to oversee his Fox River land holdings and to establish business operations from this location. Yates Ashley, the most notable of Pardee's agents, managed the on-site operations and surveyed and platted the town in 1850. Although railroad tracks were laid here 1857, real growth did not begin until after the 1870s. By 1899, Pardeeville boasted of two hotels, a flour mill, a grain elevator, . . . — Map (db m22896) HM|
|Wisconsin (Columbia County), Pardeeville — Pardeeville World War I Memorial|
Dedicated to those of this
community who served in
the World War and to the
memory of those who gave
their last full measure of
American Legion Auxiliary to
Harry D. Jerred Post No. 215 — Map (db m39566) HM|
|Wisconsin (Columbia County), Portage — 61 — Fort Winnebago|
|In the autumn of 1828 a permanent fort was built on this site by the First Regiment of the United States Infantry under the command of Maj. David E. Twiggs, later a general in the Confederate Army. The fort was constructed primarily to control the important Fox-Wisconsin portage and to protect American traders from interference by the Winnebago Indians. Lieut. Jefferson Davis, later president of the Confederacy, served here after graduating from West Point. The fort was garrisoned until 1845 . . . — Map (db m2364) HM|
|Wisconsin (Columbia County), Portage — Fort Winnebago Surgeons' Quarters|
|Home of Army Surgeons 1834 - 1845 Occupied by Francis LeRoy before 1828 Restored by Wisconsin Society, Daughters of the American Revolution 1954 — Map (db m42904) HM|
|Wisconsin (Columbia County), Portage — 317 — Frederick Jackson Turner — 1861 – 1932|
|Considered the most important historian of the United States in the twentieth century, Frederick Jackson Turner brought a new understanding to the meaning of the American experience. He was born in Portage; his father was Andrew Jackson Turner, a longtime local newspaper editor and activist. Young Turner left Portage to study at the University of Wisconsin in Madison (B.A. 1884, M.A. 1888) and John Hopkins University in Baltimore (Ph. D 1890). He taught at the University of Wisconsin . . . — Map (db m20029) HM|
|Wisconsin (Columbia County), Portage — Historic Indian Agency House — Built in 1832|
|The Indian Agency House was built in 1832 by the United States Government for John Harris Kinzie and his wife Juliette Magill Kinzie. John Kinzie was the Indian Agent to the Ho-Chunk (Winnebago) Indians. He had been assigned by the Government to protect the interest of the Ho-Chunk and pay them their stipend of silver.
Juliette Magill Kinzie wrote Wau-Bun, the Early Day in the Northwest about her life at Fort Winnebago and the Agency House. Wau-Bun means early day in . . . — Map (db m42998) HM|
|Wisconsin (Columbia County), Portage — Jacques Marquette and Louis Joliet|
|This tablet marks the place near which Jacques Marquette and Louis Joliet entered the Wisconsin River June 14, 1673
Erected by Wau-Bun Chapter D. A. R. 1905 — Map (db m2342) HM|
|Wisconsin (Columbia County), Portage — 451 — Ketchum’s Point|
|Ketchum’s Point, named for a local family, stands above the low, marshy Portage connecting the Fox River and Great Lakes with the Wisconsin and Mississippi rivers. This waterway served as a vital thoroughfare for supplies and furs during the fur trade era. Used in times of flooding, the fork in the portage trail began at this landmark. The trail ascended this bluff, following the Cook Street ridge to the Wisconsin River. The 1827 Ho-Chunk Uprising, begun by the rapid expansion of the lead . . . — Map (db m2407) HM|
|Wisconsin (Columbia County), Portage — 63 — Marquette|
|On June 14, 1673 Jacques Marquette and Louis Jolliet started the portage (1.28 miles) from here to the Wisconsin River, which led to their discovery of the Upper Mississippi June 17, 1673 at Prairie du Chien. The expedition, in two birch bark canoes, traveled south to the mouth of the Arkansas River and returned to St. Ignace, a trip of nearly 3000 miles. Thus a new era of exploration, settlement and commerce began for the Great Lakes region, the Mississippi Valley and the Far West. . . . — Map (db m2341) HM|
|Wisconsin (Columbia County), Portage — Pierre Pauquette Ferry|
|Landing place of the ferry built by Pierre Pauquette and operated by him from about 1828 until his death in 1836. This ferry was in use until the first bridge was built across the Wisconsin River in 1857. — Map (db m74344) HM|
|Wisconsin (Columbia County), Portage — 106 — Potters' Emigration Society|
|Near here in 1849 Thomas Twiggs began a settlement of unemployed potters from Staffordshire, England. To help farmers on both sides of the Fox River reach his store and blacksmith shop at Twiggs' Landing, he operated Emancipation Ferry, named to express his hope that here they would find freedom from the poverty of the Old World. — Map (db m20084) HM|
|Wisconsin (Columbia County), Portage — Revolutionary War Veteran|
|Patriots Cooper Pixley and Alexander Porter served the cause of gaining our nation's independence while dedicated members of the military. Both are buried in Section 33 of this National Soldiers Rest. Cooper Pixley, born in Great Barrington, Berkshire County, Massachusetts on July 16, 1763, enlisted at the age of 15 and served three years in Captain Joseph Troop's Company of Colonel Marius Willett's Regiment of New York Militia. He was present at the famed battle of Monmouth in New Jersey . . . — Map (db m42899) HM|
|Wisconsin (Columbia County), Portage — Site of Fort Winnebago|
|1828 — 1845
Surrender of Red Bird
Noted Winnebago Chief
Erected by Wau-Bun Chapter Daughters of the American Revolution 1924 — Map (db m4609) HM|
|Wisconsin (Columbia County), Portage — 480 — Society Hill Historic District|
|This 137 building district is bounded, in part, by Emmett, Cass, Wisconsin and MacFarlane streets. Most of the houses were constructed between 1870 and 1910 and are in the Italianate and Queen Anne architectural styles.
Society Hill reflects the wealth and prestige of Portage's early prominent families who lived here because of its convenience to the downtown and the railroad. Located just south of the large Chicago, Milwaukee, and St. Paul Railroad complex, the district housed many . . . — Map (db m20042) HM|
|Wisconsin (Columbia County), Portage — The Indian Agency House|
|Built by the United States First occupied by John Harris Kinzie Indian Agent and Juliette Magill his wife Purchased and restored by the National Society of the Colonial Dames of America in the State of Wisconsin 1832 1932 — Map (db m42997) HM|
|Wisconsin (Columbia County), Portage — 513 — Zona Gale|
|Zona Gale was born August 26, 1874, in Portage. She graduated in 1899 from the University of Wisconsin-Madison with a Masters in Literature. Gale then spent six years as a journalist in Milwaukee and New York.
Her visits to Portage proved a turning point, when Gale discovered that the people of her hometown were a source of literary material. She traveled frequently, returning to Portage and living with her parents in a home at 506 W. Edgewater that included a study of her own . . . — Map (db m20009) HM|
|Wisconsin (Columbia County), Poynette — 29 — John Muir View|
|John Muir (1838-1914), world famous naturalist and "father of the national park system," often stopped to rest and admire this view as he walked from his home in Marquette County to the University of Wisconsin. Muir loved the wilderness from which his parents carved a farm and home, first at Fountain Lake, later at Hickory Hill, about 20 miles north from here (south of Montello). When he left Hickory Hill to enroll at the University, Muir's love for nature was matched only by his genius for . . . — Map (db m20148) HM|
|Wisconsin (Columbia County), Poynette — 259 — Rest Areas on the I-Roads|
|Early roadside rest areas were rural school grounds and country churchyards with their two little houses in back.
In Wisconsin, by 1920, curves were built to eliminate sharp road corners. Local garden clubs, with the American Legion and Auxiliary, began to beautify many of the resulting triangles with flowers and shrubs. Motorists used these places to relax and picnic.
In 1931 the Wisconsin Legislature authorized highway beautification, and later the familiar waysides - small . . . — Map (db m22690) HM|
|Wisconsin (Columbia County), Poynette — 178 — The Circus|
|Wisconsin has a unique heritage as the birthplace of circuses. More than a hundred had their beginnings in Wisconsin, with Delavan providing winter-quarters for twenty-six between 1847 and 1894. New York brothers Edmund and Jeremiah Mabie brought their United States Olympic Circus to Delavan in 1847, and the idea for P.T. Barnum's Asiatic Caravan was developed in Delavan by William Cameron Coup in 1871. In Baraboo the Ringling Brothers' World Greatest Shows began in 1884, followed by the five . . . — Map (db m41793) HM|
|Wisconsin (Columbia County), Poynette — Veterans of the American Revolution Memorial Bridge|
|A living memorial to and in honor of veterans who are buried in Wisconsin who served this nation in the American Revolution and who, by their efforts, were responsible for the founding of our country.|
Veterans of the American Revolution After the American Revolution, some of the patriots moved west and settled in Wisconsin. This I-39/90/94 bridge, crossing the Wisconsin river 1.7 miles northwest, is in honor of those veterans and patriots. — Map (db m43824) HM
|Wisconsin (Columbia County), Poynette — 545 — Wallis Rowan and His Cabin|
|Wallis/Wallace Rowan (1800-1847) was born in Kentucky of Scotch Irish descent. He was a lead miner, trader, innkeeper, land speculator, farmer, and mill owner. In 1818 he married Elizabeth “Betsy” Metcalf in Illinois. By 1828 Rowan was in Blue Mounds, working at Ebenezer Brigham’s lead mine and store. He then began trading with the Indians, first on the north side of Lake Mendota and later at Winnequah Point on Lake Monona, at Cross Plains, and at this spot.
This marker is . . . — Map (db m67233) HM|
|Wisconsin (Columbia County), Poynette — Wisconsin Veterans Memorial Highway|
|A living memorial to and in honor of all Wisconsin veterans living and deat, of all wars in which the United States of America has engaged.|
Color guard of the 8th Wisconsin Infranty Regiment with Old Abe at Vicksburg, Mississippi, 1863 The contribution of Wisconsin veterans date to the Civil War, when over 90,000 men took up arms to preserve the Union at places like Antietam, Vicksburg and Gettysburg. Since then, numerous Wisconsin men and women have served in our nation's military during times of peace and war. — Map (db m43825) HM
|Wisconsin (Columbia County), Rio — Samuel & Chloe Leonard Doud — 1793 – 1860 · 1791 – 1874|
In memory of
Samuel & Chloe Leonard Doud
1793 – 1860 · 1791 – 1874
Donors of Ohio Cemetery
First burial their grandson
Winfield Doud 1848
– 1955 – — Map (db m25656) HM|
|Wisconsin (Columbia County), Wisconsin Dells — Bailey’s Eddy – Municipal Dock — Kilbourn Landmark|
|This natural harbor is named for Gen. Joseph Bailey, original owner of the property. It has been the gateway to the magnificent dells of Wisconsin for millions of visitors for over 100 years. Sight-seeing boats have developed from spoon-oared rowboats of the 1850’s, through steamboats, wooden naptha, and gasoline launches to the present steel fleet. — Map (db m7757) HM|
|Wisconsin (Columbia County), Wisconsin Dells — Bailey's Landing — (A Landmark Store)|
|This building was constructed on the home site of General Joseph Bailey Civil War hero and a founder of Kilbourn City (now Wisconsin Dells) in 1856. Bailey became a national Civil War hero in 1864 when Porter's Red River Fleet was stranded in low water. Using raftsmen's techniques learned in this area, Bailey freed the fleet, saving the Union two million dollars and shortening the war by two years.
This property was leased from Jack and Ben Olson by Arnold Borcher Co. in 1978, remodeled . . . — Map (db m7966) HM|
|Wisconsin (Columbia County), Wisconsin Dells — Belle Boyd — Kilbourn Landmark|
Born May 9, 1844 in Martinsburg, VA.
Died June 11, 1900 at Kilbourn, WI.
On May 23, 1862 at the Battle of Front Royal, VA., Belle Boyd, then 18, ran across the battlefield between the firing lines with information for Gen. Stonewall Jackson on the disposition of Union troops. With this information Jackson broke through and captured Front Royal, Union forces under Gen. Banks were driven from the Shenandoah Valley.
"One God, One Flag, One People – Forever" – Belle Boyd — Map (db m8023) HM|