Marker Logo HMdb.org THE HISTORICAL
MARKER DATABASE
“Bite-Size Bits of Local, National, and Global History”
“Bite-Size Bits of Local, National, and Global History”
Mardela Springs in Wicomico County, Maryland — The American Northeast (Mid-Atlantic)
 

Young's Purchase Home

 
 
Young's Purchase Home Marker image. Click for full size.
By F. Robby, November 19, 2007
1. Young's Purchase Home Marker
Inscription. Young's Purchase Home 1724. Gravenor-English School 1857. Presented by Maryland Society, John Waller Chapter, National Society, Colonial Dames XVII Century.
 
Erected by Maryland Society, John Waller Chapter, National Society, Colonial Dames XVII Century.
 
Location. 38° 27.735′ N, 75° 45.295′ W. Marker is in Mardela Springs, Maryland, in Wicomico County. Marker is at the intersection of Railroad Avenue and Bratten Street, on the left when traveling east on Railroad Avenue. Click for map. Marker is in this post office area: Mardela Springs MD 21837, United States of America.
 
Other nearby markers. At least 8 other markers are within 4 miles of this marker, measured as the crow flies. Mason-Dixon Stone (approx. 0.2 miles away); Native Americans (approx. 0.2 miles away); Trans-Peninsular Line Midpoint Marker (approx. 3.3 miles away); San Domingo School (approx. 3.6 miles away); San Domingo School Community & Cultural Center (approx. 3.8 miles away); Discover: Vienna (approx. 4 miles away); Discover: The Nanticoke (approx. 4 miles away); John Smith Explores the Chesapeake (approx. 4.1 miles away). Click for a list of all markers in Mardela Springs.
 
Categories. Colonial EraEducationSettlements & Settlers
 
Young's Purchase Home image. Click for full size.
By F. Robby, November 19, 2007
2. Young's Purchase Home
The Youngs Purchase Farmhouse was built by William Young c.1724 and was used through the 1960s. continuously occupied until the mid 1960's, and moved to its current location in 1983.
Gravenor-English School image. Click for full size.
By F. Robby, November 19, 2007
3. Gravenor-English School
The Gravenor-English School was built in 1857 and deeded to Somerset County by Thomas Gravenor. It was used through the early 1920s and moved to its present location in 1983.
Brattan-Taylor Store image. Click for full size.
By F. Robby, November 19, 2007
4. Brattan-Taylor Store
Adjacent to the home and school is this building built in 1838.
Revolutionary War Soldier Grave image. Click for full size.
By F. Robby, November 19, 2007
5. Revolutionary War Soldier Grave
Also adjacent to the home and store is the grave of Revolutionary War soldier William McDaniel.
 
 
Credits. This page originally submitted on , by F. Robby of Baltimore, Maryland. This page has been viewed 976 times since then and 2 times this year. Photos:   1, 2. submitted on , by F. Robby of Baltimore, Maryland.   3. submitted on , by F. Robby of Baltimore, Maryland.   4, 5. submitted on , by F. Robby of Baltimore, Maryland. This page was last revised on June 16, 2016.
Paid Advertisement